View Full Version : LC Final Tickets

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12

30-11-2021, 05:59 PM
Stolen from Twitter
Celtics run to the League Cup Final -

Round of 16 - Refused to give Hearts any tickets
Quarter Final - Refused to give Raith any tickets - 30k empty seats.
Semi final - played St Johnstone enough said
Final - refused to half the stadium as terrified of the hibs.

30-11-2021, 06:08 PM
Stolen from Twitter
Celtics run to the League Cup Final -

Round of 16 - Refused to give Hearts any tickets
Quarter Final - Refused to give Raith any tickets - 30k empty seats.
Semi final - played St Johnstone enough said
Final - refused to half the stadium as terrified of the hibs.

Celtic fans have got to be the most thick in Scotland and that is saying something. 35k empty seats in the quarter final and coming out with their entitled pish about the final.

Hibees1973
30-11-2021, 06:10 PM
I already have a couple of tickets for the final.

I was looking at the buses Hibs are arranging on their website. I was wanting the bus from the stadium, however it seems all that is available is pick ups from Straiton or Edinburgh West.

Has anyone booked a bus from ER, that is not part of a package.

JJP
30-11-2021, 06:43 PM
I forgot all about this. Just managed to get a ticket. Not many left by the looks of things.

30-11-2021, 06:48 PM
I forgot all about this. Just managed to get a ticket. Not many left by the looks of things.

Jeez you were lucky! Looks like there's only one left now.

30-11-2021, 06:49 PM
I forgot all about this. Just managed to get a ticket. Not many left by the looks of things.Hahha playing that cool

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Pans Hibby
30-11-2021, 06:52 PM
I already have a couple of tickets for the final.

I was looking at the buses Hibs are arranging on their website. I was wanting the bus from the stadium, however it seems all that is available is pick ups from Straiton or Edinburgh West.

Has anyone booked a bus from ER, that is not part of a package.

I Was able to book 2 on Friday at the same time as the tickets.

30-11-2021, 07:03 PM
I Was able to book 2 on Friday at the same time as the tickets.

Club are hoping to get another bus onto the system leaving from Easter Road. Just received an email from them.

Chorley Hibee
30-11-2021, 07:09 PM
There's 1 seat left in the South stand.

Sell that and it will be about the 25th time today we've sold out. 🤣

30-11-2021, 07:09 PM
One ticket left.

30-11-2021, 07:11 PM
There's 1 seat left in the South stand.

Sell that and it will be about the 25th time today we've sold out. 🤣

Hibs should announce that not only have they sold out, they've now sold out 25 times

BS44
30-11-2021, 07:25 PM
I'm now worried that there will now be thousands of Hibs supporters going into the Celtic end.

Steven79
30-11-2021, 07:26 PM
I'm now worried that there will now be thousands of Hibs supporters going into the Celtic end.[emoji16]

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

30-11-2021, 07:29 PM
Hibs should announce that not only have they sold out, they've now sold out 25 times

Waiting patiently for a cracker of a Hibs statement here. I'd like another update video from RG seems to have been a while.

30-11-2021, 07:42 PM
I'm now worried that there will now be thousands of Hibs supporters going into the Celtic end.

Should all wear colours to stand out and prove a point :)

St.Kristopher
30-11-2021, 07:48 PM
Sporting integrity argument aside.

Yes, some of our tickets are going go people who don't usually get along go games. If we had more tickets that number would be higher. Though if they enjoy the experience, there is a good chance they may come along more often. Increasing our future attendances. Giving Celtic fans the tickets keeps the status quo.

30-11-2021, 07:57 PM
Sporting integrity argument aside.

Yes, some of our tickets are going go people who don't usually get along go games. If we had more tickets that number would be higher. Though if they enjoy the experience, there is a good chance they may come along more often. Increasing our future attendances. Giving Celtic fans the tickets keeps the status quo.

Still think it can be just as simple as Scotland's game is notorious for two teams dominating, and we pass up the chance of a final showcasing there's more to it by panderimg to the bigger sides.

If one good thing comes of it we might take bigger crowds to semi-finals now. But if this is just the start where does it end - are we in the same bracket as Hearts and Aberdeen? Do the Dundee clubs only get 12k and Motherwell 10k? If an Inverness get to their first final does their big day out get limited to 5k?

Blurhibee
30-11-2021, 08:02 PM
That’s it sold out again lol

30-11-2021, 08:03 PM
I was really close to the fence in the North stand next to the rangers fans in 2016

I guess us losing that section is where our allocation reduction comes from?

How many in the first 4 or 5 blocks of the North stand?

30-11-2021, 08:04 PM
Still think it can be just as simple as Scotland's game is notorious for two teams dominating, and we pass up the chance of a final showcasing there's more to it by panderimg to the bigger sides.

If one good thing comes of it we might take bigger crowds to semi-finals now. But if this is just the start where does it end - are we in the same bracket as Hearts and Aberdeen? Do the Dundee clubs only get 12k and Motherwell 10k? If an Inverness get to their first final does their big day out get limited to 5k?

Inverness? First final you say? Yogi will be chapping you’re door.

30-11-2021, 08:24 PM
It looks like you can still get tickets by booking the £75 ticket, hospitality and bus option

30-11-2021, 08:54 PM
[QUOTE=Broken Gnome;6764715]Still think it can be just as simple as Scotland's game is notorious for two teams dominating, and we pass up the chance of a final showcasing there's more to it by panderimg to the bigger sides.
[/QUO

The decision is designed to enhance and continue the dominance of the Uglies. Scottish football seems incapable of even thinking about any team outside those two

30-11-2021, 09:22 PM
[QUOTE=Broken Gnome;6764715]Still think it can be just as simple as Scotland's game is notorious for two teams dominating, and we pass up the chance of a final showcasing there's more to it by panderimg to the bigger sides.
[/QUO

The decision is designed to enhance and continue the dominance of the Uglies. Scottish football seems incapable of even thinking about any team outside those two

Had Doncaster emailing back today regarding the allocation - additional tickets will be in the south stand - he didn’t like when I mentioned that we had proved there would be no empty seats ‘I never said there would be’ was his answer, yet he got ratty and said now the stadium will be full and clubs will maximise revenue. Had to tell him finals aren’t about revenue and it’s about sporting integrity on the field and level playing fields. He also states that having their own end isn’t the spfl pandering to them also, but wouldn’t state why it happens if that was the case when it’s far easier for Hibs fans to get to the east side of the stadium.

Sooner that trumpet is binned the better.

30-11-2021, 09:31 PM
[QUOTE=wookie70;6764770]

Had Doncaster emailing back today regarding the allocation - additional tickets will be in the south stand - he didn’t like when I mentioned that we had proved there would be no empty seats ‘I never said there would be’ was his answer, yet he got ratty and said now the stadium will be full and clubs will maximise revenue. Had to tell him finals aren’t about revenue and it’s about sporting integrity on the field and level playing fields. He also states that having their own end isn’t the spfl pandering to them also, but wouldn’t state why it happens if that was the case when it’s far easier for Hibs fans to get to the east side of the stadium.

30-11-2021, 09:32 PM
[QUOTE=wookie70;6764770]

Has anyone asked how they reached the decision? A committee or himself or Ange wanted more fans?

30-11-2021, 09:36 PM
[QUOTE=wookie70;6764770]

Surely we could still have had a full stadium with a 50/50 split - which maximises sporting integrity

They should just admit they got this wrong

Selling out day 1 of general sale 3 weeks out shows theres plenty chance Hibs would have sold the tickets on a 50/50 split

30-11-2021, 09:38 PM
[QUOTE=wookie70;6764770]

Doncaster is not fit for purpose, actually the whole SPFL setup isn't fit for purpose. He'll no doubt pat himself on the back for the sponsorship deals and the sky TV deal but the running of the game up here is amateur hour. The cup final ticketing proves it.

30-11-2021, 09:59 PM
Ron needs to organise a vote of no confidence in Doncaster. Club need to come out with a statement about this and pull no punches.

30-11-2021, 10:01 PM
[QUOTE=hibbysam;6764793]

Has anyone asked how they reached the decision? A committee or himself or Ange wanted more fans?

Its almost guaranteed its been done because it's easier fob us off as opposed to one of the OF who will threaten all sorts against them and the fans will protest yadda yadda yadda. Both cheeks of the same erse run Scottish football, Hearts have the balls to stand up to them and we are slowly getting into that frame of mind as well.

30-11-2021, 10:02 PM
Ron needs to organise a vote of no confidence in Doncaster. Club need to come out with a statement about this and pull no punches.

Not a chance that would get voted through.

30-11-2021, 10:34 PM
Right, so now we have totally sold out our 'initial allocation'

Where and when does they extra tickets Neil Doncaster spoke about over email come into play?

30-11-2021, 10:36 PM
The problem with that is we as a club love that Doncaster is the focus of everyone’s hate, the same as every other club keep him in a job. It’s not a case of getting rid of him, it’s a case of limiting his remit. There should be rules set out that he doesn’t have any influence on, he’s an administrator. Cup final allocation should be something that’s set in stone and not open to interpretation from this ****in idiot.

30-11-2021, 10:38 PM
Right, so now we have totally sold out our 'initial allocation'

Where and when does they extra tickets Neil Doncaster spoke about over email come into play?
Another cup final I’m presuming.

30-11-2021, 10:59 PM
[QUOTE=hibbysam;6764793]

Surely we could still have had a full stadium with a 50/50 split - which maximises sporting integrity

Selling out day 1 of general sale 3 weeks out shows theres plenty chance Hibs would have sold the tickets on a 50/50 split

Correct, said he could have held the north stand tickets back until he seen how sales were going to which he replied :

‘ An early decision needed to be made on the split of the stadium and the SPFL took the decision to allocate the North Stand to Celtic. We did so based on all the circumstances and with a view to the fairest possible outcome. I hope that this decision will lead to a fully sold-out Hampden Park, for the equal financial benefit of both teams in the final.’

Nobody gives a hoot about finances, and in what world is 67-33 split fair?

The most arrogant man in Scottish football and it’s no wonder the Huns despise him.

gaz1875
30-11-2021, 11:07 PM
[QUOTE=Callum_62;6764800]

Correct, said he could have held the north stand tickets back until he seen how sales were going to which he replied :

‘ An early decision needed to be made on the split of the stadium and the SPFL took the decision to allocate the North Stand to Celtic. We did so based on all the circumstances and with a view to the fairest possible outcome. I hope that this decision will lead to a fully sold-out Hampden Park, for the equal financial benefit of both teams in the final.’

The most arrogant man in Scottish football and it’s no wonder the Huns despise him.

You encouraged me to follow up on my email. Unbelievably he replied straight away. He said he wasn't aware of the tickets being sold out and he would speak to Hibs regarding extra tickets for the South Stand. Shameless is the most polite way I can describe him.

30-11-2021, 11:10 PM
[QUOTE=hibbysam;6764846]

You encouraged me to follow up on my email. Unbelievably he replied straight away. He said he wasn't aware of the tickets being sold out and he would speak to Hibs regarding extra tickets for the South Stand. Shameless is the most polite way I can describe him.

What a complete shambles.

gaz1875
30-11-2021, 11:12 PM
[QUOTE=gaz1875;6764851]

What a complete shambles.

He's hiding behind lies. I really hope there is some kind of backlash from other SPFL clubs in support of us.

30-11-2021, 11:13 PM
[QUOTE=hibbysam;6764846]

You encouraged me to follow up on my email. Unbelievably he replied straight away. He said he wasn't aware of the tickets being sold out and he would speak to Hibs regarding extra tickets for the South Stand. Shameless is the most polite way I can describe him.We're they being held for celtic perchance?

30-11-2021, 11:18 PM
Sold out hours after the general sale started ... or to put it another way, the whole lot in 4 days given that sales started at 2pm on Friday.

History had already shown we were well capable of selling 23,000 and now we have shown it would almost certainly have happened for this final. Time for a statement from Hibs to include the following:

1) .... Doncaster has been proved totally wrong in his assertion that Hibs couldn't sell 23,000 tickets, especially in the face of the historical evidence that we could, which he chose to ignore.

2) .... On that basis it has been proved he had no grounds whatsoever not to give Hibs the chance to sell 23,000 tickets.

3) .... His decision to give Celtic 2/3 of the allocation without even giving Hibs the chance to sell 50% has now without a shadow of a doubt resulted in the cup final venue no longer being a neutral venue. This is utterly unacceptable from the tournament organiser whose responsibility it is to ensure a neutral final venue in the fullest sense of that term, it is not the SPFL's or Neil Doncaster's job to disadvantage Hibs in order to satisfy Celtic or their supporters.

We need to get this done, we owe it not only to ourselves but to every other club in Scotland.

30-11-2021, 11:20 PM
[QUOTE=Callum_62;6764800]

The most arrogant man in Scottish football and it’s no wonder the Huns despise him.Why couldn't they just have held back the 4 or so blocks that celtic took from us in the north

Released them to hibs tomorrow or if sales were poor pass them to celtic

I can't see how that wasn't possible (and fair)

JammyDoidger
30-11-2021, 11:20 PM
See that wee song celtic sing 'this is the day, that we win away' Id love to hear 17,500 hibbys belting that out as we are beating them at hampden in the dying minutes. Siege mentality, get out and bring that cup home!

30-11-2021, 11:26 PM
The problem with that is we as a club love that Doncaster is the focus of everyone’s hate, the same as every other club keep him in a job. It’s not a case of getting rid of him, it’s a case of limiting his remit. There should be rules set out that he doesn’t have any influence on, he’s an administrator. Cup final allocation should be something that’s set in stone and not open to interpretation from this ****in idiot.
Agree these rules should be set in stone and the he liaises with the clubs involved he does not dictate to the clubs who does he think he is.

The Baldmans Comb
30-11-2021, 11:54 PM
Hibs will be all over this scandalous and unprecedented unfair ticket split tomorrow and I expect major repercussions for Doncaster when Hibs release an aggressive statement demanding answers and explanation backed up by an on line press conference with Ron and the Chief Executive very much to the front.

Nah me neither though you know Aberdeen and Hearts would.

davhibby
01-12-2021, 12:00 AM
[QUOTE=hibbysam;6764846]Why couldn't they just have held back the 4 or so blocks that celtic took from us in the north

Released them to hibs tomorrow or if sales were poor pass them to celtic

I can't see how that wasn't possible (and fair)

That isn’t fair either though as it would be holding back the best seats from our fans. There was zero evidence to suggest we wouldn’t sell out in a 50/50 split and hopefully the club make sure nobody forgets about it

01-12-2021, 12:05 AM
[QUOTE=wookie70;6764770]

I will never get my head around why anyone would sanction 100’s of cars and coaches travelling all the way through Glasgow, over the Kingston Bridge and back to the west end of Hampden. This pisses me off more than the ticket allocation. It’s a deliberately biased and completely illogical way to populate Hampden when a new motorway and junction, built with tax payers money, takes supporters coming along from the East straight into the East end of Hampden. It’s also less than a week before Christmas to add to the problem. How can anyone justify this other than pandering and bias?

There needs to be a look into how these Glasgow teams can rule the roost and view every other team with contempt. A stance from somewhere needs to be taken.

01-12-2021, 12:17 AM
[QUOTE=wookie70;6764770]

I will never get my head around why anyone would sanction 100’s of cars and coaches travelling all the way through Glasgow, over the Kingston Bridge and back to the west end of Hampden. This pisses me off more than the ticket allocation. It’s a deliberately biased and completely illogical way to populate Hampden when a new motorway and junction, built with tax payers money, takes supporters coming along from the East straight into the East end of Hampden. It’s also less than a week before Christmas to add to the problem. How can anyone justify this other than pandering and bias?

There needs to be a look into how these Glasgow teams can rule the roost and view every other team with contempt. A stance from somewhere needs to be taken.

01-12-2021, 01:03 AM
[QUOTE=hibbysam;6764793]

They've completely ballsed up and made a rod for their backs. They have no idea ho much grief they are going to get once Hearts, Aberdeen and others start reaching finals against the OF. Hibs are an easy target as we're generally compliant and professional in most of what we do. SPFL are going to get a kick-in if Hearts or Aberdeen get to the final against the OF.

Can you ever imagine the SPFL giving say The Rangers more tickets for a final than Celtic, based on some nebulous criteria that only they could fathom up ? Nope, never going to happen. Hibs are a soft and easy target.

If Hibs do nothing else, they should mark the SPFL's card for the future by insisting that any team reaching a LC Final against either of the Bigoted Brothers receive a reduced allocation of tickets. That's where we are now.

01-12-2021, 05:29 AM
A part of me wants Hibs to release a statement showing our anger at this for the world to see. Another part wants Hibs to keep quiet and use it as motivation in house then say something after we skelp this lot on the 19th.

01-12-2021, 05:35 AM
The problem is that Doncaster is just the mouthpiece for the board. He didn’t take this decision all by himself. The SPFL Board have some explaining to do how they came to this decision. Hibs fans have shown this up for the disgrace that it is. If we hadn’t stepped up to the plate they were vindicated. Hibs should be all over this and sharp.

01-12-2021, 05:36 AM
Inverness? First final you say? Yogi will be chapping you’re door.

AN Inverness, as in similar sized club repeating their 2015 final, y'see...

01-12-2021, 05:43 AM
Seems like everyone got tickets who wanted them?

Let's make some noise at the game and hopefully Hibs can use this joke allocation to inspire them to a cup win.

01-12-2021, 05:47 AM

Agree he is tying himself in knots and making no sense. Why did an early decision need to be made? Hibs have sold out their allocation 20 days before the game. Fairest possible outcome what a crock that is. Hibs being punished for that Celtic league cup semi where we didn't sell out and we had the north stand. A compromise of giving us time to sell the 50 per cent was the obvious fairest possible out come.

01-12-2021, 06:00 AM
Agree he is tying himself in knots and making no sense. Why did an early decision need to be made? Hibs have sold out their allocation 20 days before the game. Fairest possible outcome what a crock that is. Hibs being punished for that Celtic league cup semi where we didn't sell out and we had the north stand. A compromise of giving us time to sell the 50 per cent was the obvious fairest possible out come.

What about Celtic being punished for banning Raith Rovers fans from attending the quarter final then having 35k empty seas? Whole thing is a farce.

01-12-2021, 06:03 AM
What about Celtic being punished for banning Raith Rovers fans from attending the quarter final then having 35k empty seas? Whole thing is a farce.

Punish Celtic never going to happen :greengrin

01-12-2021, 06:10 AM
People need to realise Celtic were nothing in the early 90s finishing 5th and nearly not existing. Why are they now so entitled?

01-12-2021, 07:03 AM
What is Doncaster's email?

01-12-2021, 07:07 AM
Doncaster's hardly going to come out with an announcement now where he says...

"Hands up, guys, I made a total ar5e of it"

Much better to keep digging a deeper hole by coming out with total nonsense

GRA
01-12-2021, 07:13 AM
[QUOTE=hibbysam;6764793]

I've said this all along. No question we would have sold out our allocation if we had an even split of tickets. Past cup final attendances have shown that.

What other country in world football would refuse an equal split of tickets if they knew that both sides could sell half the stadium? Imagine the uproar if Southampton or Watford had been given less than half the tickets in their fairly recent finals against the Manchester teams!

No wonder the SPFL/SFA are viewed as a joke in this country when they continually stack the odds against the smaller teams in favour of the two Old Firm *rse cheeks.

01-12-2021, 07:16 AM

Let's make some noise at the game and hopefully Hibs can use this joke allocation to inspire them to a cup win.I'm sure theres folk outside hibs.net that missed out our couldn't get seats together so flagged it

01-12-2021, 07:41 AM

[email protected]

01-12-2021, 07:47 AM
So is this going to be the case for all cup finals now with only the old firm being the teams that won’t lose out ?if not what criteria are they using to make this decision
It seems like we are being penalised for only taking 10 thousand fans to the semi Final
But history tells you we sell out fir Finals
We shouldn’t be letting this issue go away

01-12-2021, 07:52 AM
So is this going to be the case for all cup finals now with only the old firm being the teams that won’t lose out ?if not what criteria are they using to make this decision
It seems like we are being penalised for only taking 10 thousand fans to the semi Final
But history tells you we sell out fir Finals
We shouldn’t be letting this issue go away

Are you Celtic or Rangers?

If no, please select "diddy club" option, take the tickets you're given and **** off.

01-12-2021, 07:55 AM

When you write to him ask him how many finals we have been in where we didn't sell our full allocation?

01-12-2021, 08:01 AM

[email protected]

01-12-2021, 08:05 AM
I notived someone said Doncaster wrote that allocating a rangers and celtic side wasn't pandering

I'd love to hear the rationale for it then

Why us (or hearts) need to go to the west side of the stadium whenever we play celtic at hampden

Why they have there own sides of the stadium to begin with

If it's because it would cause trouble - well punish them

Don't say here's more tickets and your own side

In what way doesn't the optics of that show pandering?

01-12-2021, 08:06 AM

Let's make some noise at the game and hopefully Hibs can use this joke allocation to inspire them to a cup win.

I would guess that there are hundreds who did not get a ticket or who would want a ticket

dchibs
01-12-2021, 08:23 AM

Good post but I t hink the SPFL and the SFA make up a lot of the rules as they go along, as we have seen in the past.

01-12-2021, 08:25 AM
There is no justification for the allocations for this game. Sold out signs up 3 weeks before the final after 1 days general sale.

The fact ND mentioned the number of celtic fans at the semi unable attend spoke volumes to me, to even mention that irrelevant information gives you an insight into th3 mindset and how they could come under influence to make this poor decision.

JR was also right early on to mention our record historically of selling out Cup finals.

Farcical. Disgraceful. No justification for this. Setting a 50/50 split aligned with reasonable timescale to release any unsold tickets ahead of the game - only the SPFL could go a different way. It's a ****ing joke.

01-12-2021, 08:28 AM
There is no justification for the allocations for this game. Sold out signs up 3 weeks before the final after 1 days general sale.

The fact ND mentioned the number of celtic fans at the semi unable attend spoke volumes to me, to even mention that irrelevant information gives you an insight into th3 mindset and how they could come under influence to make this poor decision.

JR was also right early on to mention our record historically of selling out Cup finals.

Farcical. Disgraceful. No justification for this. Setting a 50/50 split aligned with reasonable timescale to release any unsold tickets ahead of the game - only the SPFL could go a different way. It's a ****ing joke.I'd love to hear him explain why they couldn't have kept C1 to C5 back which would still allow a 50/50 or 0/100 split of the North

An early decision is just a cop out

01-12-2021, 08:35 AM
Someone should ask him directly if we get to the cup final next year vs celtic in the final again, what will our allocation be?

Is it a case of hands up they admit they got it wrong on this individual basis and go 50/50, or go same again?

Because nothing will have changed. Our support will be the same. Our support will still sell out Cup finals. The facts will be the same, his justification will be the same. That's an important question that needs to be asked.

It's amazing how many times in this country we give fans the opportunity to say **** this what's the point I've had enough.

01-12-2021, 08:35 AM
It’s probably already been said but this action by the SPFL is straight forward punishment for the 2017 semi final. That was when we demanded a significant proportion of the stadium then failed to sell the allocation. The result was that all four semi finalists took a significant cut in what should have been a large payout.
It should justifiably have an influence on the allocation of tickets for semi finals but it is ridiculous that they are taking this punitive action for a final.

01-12-2021, 08:36 AM

Doncaster was right :agree: :dunno:

01-12-2021, 08:50 AM
Celtic fans are so entitled. I've resorted to blocking them when they appear on my social media pages

So much evidence over the last 30 years of their hypocrisy

01-12-2021, 08:59 AM
Have Hibs announced Sold Out yet?

01-12-2021, 09:00 AM
I have emailed the below query to Doncaster:

Hi Neil,

A Hibs fan, I was happy to see that our allocation of tickets for the League Cup final sold quickly. Perhaps this will lead to rethinking the allocation of finals in the future, making sure neutrality is maintained.

The reason for me contacting you is in relation to Hibs being given the west end of Hampden and the operational reasons for this. As you may be aware, Hibernian fans are overwhelmingly based in the East of Scotland. In contrast, Celtic have a much broader geographical support, including fans from West Glasgow, Ayrshire, and Renfrewshire ect. Hibernian being given the west end of the stadium was, therefore, a surprise.

If a significant number of Hibs supporters are travelling by road to this match, wouldn't it have made more sense for the club to have been put in the east stand? Supporters will now need to travel further to the opposite end of the group. Car journeys will be longer, people will be stuck in traffic for longer, and fans will have to travel around Hampden in order to reach their desired destination.

In light of the joint statement released by both the SFA and SPFL on 31st October concerning sustainability commitments, how was this decision reached? As a result of increased travel, this decision will result in more emissions from vehicles, so I am curious to know how this decision has been made. In light of the fact that COP just took place in the same city as the final, the governing body of the national sport should be transparent about these kinds of decisions.

I have posted this letter to the Hibs.net and Pie and Bovril forums in the interest of openness, as I am sure a lot of supporters will be interested in your response.

01-12-2021, 09:09 AM
I imagine the division of Hampden between Celtic and what was Rangers will be a decision reached for policing purposes rather than SPFL or SFA needs.

01-12-2021, 09:10 AM

Hi Neil,

A Hibs fan, I was happy to see that our allocation of tickets for the League Cup final sold quickly. Perhaps this will lead to rethinking the allocation of finals in the future, making sure neutrality is maintained.

The reason for me contacting you is in relation to Hibs being given the west end of Hampden and the operational reasons for this. As you may be aware, Hibernian fans are overwhelmingly based in the East of Scotland. In contrast, Celtic have a much broader geographical support, including fans from West Glasgow, Ayrshire, and Renfrewshire ect. Hibernian being given the west end of the stadium was, therefore, a surprise.

If a significant number of Hibs supporters are travelling by road to this match, wouldn't it have made more sense for the club to have been put in the east stand? Supporters will now need to travel further to the opposite end of the group. Car journeys will be longer, people will be stuck in traffic for longer, and fans will have to travel around Hampden in order to reach their desired destination.

In light of the joint statement released by both the SFA and SPFL on 31st October concerning sustainability commitments, how was this decision reached? As a result of increased travel, this decision will result in more emissions from vehicles, so I am curious to know how this decision has been made. In light of the fact that COP just took place in the same city as the final, the governing body of the national sport should be transparent about these kinds of decisions.

I have posted this letter to the Hibs.net and Pie and Bovril forums in the interest of openness, as I am sure a lot of supporters will be interested in your response.I'll be amazed if they can conjure up a genuine reason for this. There is only one reason and we all know what it is, he'll not admit to it though.

01-12-2021, 09:14 AM
Does anyone agree that this decision could be a positive for Hibs? It’s been discussed on here a lot that some of the best atmospheres we create is when we are outnumbered; the Rangers semi a recent proud example. That core 17k could be a more impactful support than a 25k made up of a few thousand daytrippers (sorry). And more importantly, the allocation has fostered a ‘righteous anger’ among the support that could translate to a ‘f youse’ attitude. I’m looking forward to pumping them and out singing them too.

01-12-2021, 09:26 AM
It’s probably already been said but this action by the SPFL is straight forward punishment for the 2017 semi final. That was when we demanded a significant proportion of the stadium then failed to sell the allocation. The result was that all four semi finalists took a significant cut in what should have been a large payout.
It should justifiably have an influence on the allocation of tickets for semi finals but it is ridiculous that they are taking this punitive action for a final.

yes I remember this but what I can’t remember is why the tickets that we failed to sell for that semi final weren’t given back to Celtic?

Steven79
01-12-2021, 09:34 AM
yes I remember this but what I can’t remember is why the tickets that we failed to sell for that semi final weren’t given back to Celtic?Because we opened up too many blocks so bad people sitting in sections that could have went back to Celtic.

jonny
01-12-2021, 09:39 AM

Absolutely not pal. If you have a look at this morning's social media pages there's loads of folk looking for tickets.
I agree with the sentiment in your second point - I'll be there and can't wait to get one over on Celtic

01-12-2021, 09:39 AM
I imagine the division of Hampden between Celtic and what was Rangers will be a decision reached for policing purposes rather than SPFL or SFA needs.

It’s a “traditional” thing based on the fact the old Rangers paid for the roof on the west stand, hence why that was the “Rangers end”. Obviously when they play each other the setup makes sense however when Celtc play anybody travelling from the East, it, the current setup makes no sense

01-12-2021, 09:59 AM
Because we opened up too many blocks so bad people sitting in sections that could have went back to Celtic.

ok so we made an arse of it that time.

01-12-2021, 09:59 AM
Sent to Doncaster-
Good evening
Now that Hibernian FC have sold out their allocation leaving thousands of our fans unable to attend a League Cup final, are you going to apologise for your unfair ticket allocation and ensure that this does not happen to other clubs who just happen to be not based in Glasgow?

Your organisation has lost all credibility by not ensuring a 50/50 split, allowing Celtic to dictate the allocation and also which end of Hampden they get. You also had the audacity to reduce our seating in section G8, I take it for segregation. Why were the seats not taken from C1?
Hibernian are from the East of Scotland and should have been allocated the East side of the stadium, why did this not happen?

I await your comments with interest

01-12-2021, 10:00 AM
And the reply
Morning Brian,

I can confirm that a double line of segregation has been taken from BOTH blocks G8 and C1.

Kind regards, Neil

01-12-2021, 10:02 AM
Because we opened up too many blocks so bad people sitting in sections that could have went back to Celtic.

Surely clubs need to sign up to a “method of sale” for all games like this.

Sell the blocks that are furthest away and work our way round. That way if we can’t sell them they can be handed back easily.

Conversely Celtic could have been told you are not selling this section of the North but if Hibs can sell them they are yours.

01-12-2021, 10:04 AM
And the reply
Morning Brian,

I can confirm that a double line of segregation has been taken from BOTH blocks G8 and C1.

Kind regards, Neil

Interestingly he's not responded to the reasoning behind us getting the west. If he thinks he can just bury his head in the sand, he's wrong.

01-12-2021, 10:08 AM
Interestingly he's not responded to the reasoning behind us getting the west. If he thinks he can just bury his head in the sand, he's wrong.

He is ignoring everything, he is an arrogant sod who thinks he and his organisation are right and we are annoying, irritating plebs

01-12-2021, 10:09 AM

Hi Neil,

I have posted this letter to the Hibs.net and Pie and Bovril forums in the interest of openness, as I am sure a lot of supporters will be interested in your response.

Superbly put :aok:

01-12-2021, 11:13 AM
2 together in B4 if anyone still looking just came back on

EDIT quite a few appeared in B4 now :aok:

01-12-2021, 11:16 AM
It’s a “traditional” thing based on the fact the old Rangers paid for the roof on the west stand, hence why that was the “Rangers end”. Obviously when they play each other the setup makes sense however when Celtc play anybody travelling from the East, it, the current setup makes no sense

The arrangement was fair enough (Rangers always getting the covered terracing) 50 years ago given that Rangers may have assisted with finance into covering some of Hampden, but to maintain club “ends” in the National Stadium nowadays is simply preposterous, and I’m surprised such “tradition” is unchallenged.

Stadiums evolve, and you can use Tynecastle as one example where when I started going we always received the Gorgie Road end until stadium improvements saw us and all other visiting fans relocated to The Roseburn end, probably because it was more logistical to do so.

Football in the West of Scotland has its traditions too deeply ingrained now to see common sense. It just leaves you with the feeling that being a non old firm club getting to a final is just a damn nuisance to them.

Chorley Hibee
01-12-2021, 11:51 AM
24 tickets available in the West stand.

01-12-2021, 11:53 AM
24 tickets available in the West stand.

Yeah, beat me to it...:aok:

evy
01-12-2021, 12:33 PM
The arrangement was fair enough (Rangers always getting the covered terracing) 50 years ago given that Rangers may have assisted with finance into covering some of Hampden, but to maintain club “ends” in the National Stadium nowadays is simply preposterous, and I’m surprised such “tradition” is unchallenged.

Stadiums evolve, and you can use Tynecastle as one example where when I started going we always received the Gorgie Road end until stadium improvements saw us and all over visiting fans relocated to The Roseburn end, probably because it was more logistical to do so.

Football in the West of Scotland has its traditions too deeply ingrained now to see common sense. It just leaves you with the feeling that being a non old firm club getting to a final is just a damn nuisance to them.

I even remember being house is half of the main stand whilst the improvements (loose term for Tynecastle) were happening. I've sat in all 4 stands there supporting Hibs, CIS semi '07 I was in the Wheatfield.

01-12-2021, 12:47 PM
I even remember being house is half of the main stand whilst the improvements (loose term for Tynecastle) were happening. I've sat in all 4 stands there supporting Hibs, CIS semi '07 I was in the Wheatfield.

Away fans used to get the enclosure and wing stand next to the away terrace in the main stands at both ER and Tincastle.

01-12-2021, 12:53 PM
If going by the latest reasoning its not possible to arrange the national stadium to provide a 50/50 split which can be reviewed closer to the time depending on changing demands for segregation then that's a fundamental issue that needs resolved, it should not be that an irreversible decision is taken over initial allocations at expense of clubs playing in a neutral venue for a cup final.

01-12-2021, 01:04 PM
Dear Mr Donkeycaster,

When you were appointed to your current position, were you told then that you must favour either of the OF firm when making these major decisions in Scottish football or is this just something that you feel you need to because of pressure from the OF? These decisions are always to the detriment of all other clubs in Scotland. No you say? Well why do you do it then?

Its about time time you and your outfit stopped ****ting yourselves from the OF and grew a pair.

Fairness for all.

Regards,
Then non OF clubs

01-12-2021, 01:13 PM
I swear the SPFL are releasing wee trickles of seats one bit at a time just so we can't say we've sold out.

01-12-2021, 01:16 PM
I swear the SPFL are releasing wee trickles of seats one bit at a time just so we can't say we've sold out.

I think they're returns mate, they were on sale from day 1 in B4

01-12-2021, 01:21 PM
I think they're returns mate, they were on sale from day 1 in B4

How do you return tickets that you have already bought? I can't see that being possible but I may be wrong.

Causewayside PR
01-12-2021, 01:27 PM
How do you return tickets that you have already bought? I can't see that being possible but I may be wrong.

I did this by emailing the ticket office. To my surprise they did it all same day- no problems. I was not able to get through on the phone as all lines rang out. I would email asap otherwise will have paid for delivery and ticket which will complicate things

01-12-2021, 01:31 PM

It's all on Hibs ticket system so I think it's all down to the club. They are still advertising:

Easter Road Hospitality
from £50.00 including VAT

The full package includes:

Match ticket in West Stand A4
Cash bar
Breakfast buffet
Travel to and from Hampden

So they must be holding on to some of the allocation to sell this way, maybe releasing some back to general sale as they go?

01-12-2021, 01:31 PM

You just contact the ticket office and explain your situation. Tickets won't be getting sent out until the 8th of December so there is plenty time to cancel tickets should folk no longer require them.

01-12-2021, 01:32 PM
Only 1 ticket left.

01-12-2021, 01:34 PM
You just contact the ticket office and explain your situation. Tickets won't be getting sent out until the 8th of December so there is plenty time to cancel tickets should folk no longer require them.

Thanks. I presume that it is people buying the first tickets to ensure that they have some then buying better seats making the first ones no longer required.

01-12-2021, 01:35 PM
Dear Mr Donkeycaster,

When you were appointed to your current position, were you told then that you must favour either of the OF firm when making these major decisions in Scottish football or is this just something that you feel you need to because of pressure from the OF? These decisions are always to the detriment of all other clubs in Scotland. No you say? Well why do you do it then?

Its about time time you and your outfit stopped ****ting yourselves from the OF and grew a pair.

Fairness for all.

Regards,
Then non OF clubs

No need to be told, it is taken as read.

Causewayside PR
01-12-2021, 01:36 PM
Apologies, I am sure this has been covered elsewhere but have more seats that the 17.5k originally allocated been given to Hibs? Find this hard to believe if Celtic and then corporate and debentures been given their share too. Not like ND will take tickets away from Celtic (or corporate/debentures) and give to Hibs fans. Guess it is possible if some sections of seats were initially not allocated and now been given to Hibs. IF so, ND dropped the ball here as he could have said that to negate some of the issues/concerns from the Hibs contingent.

Can't help but think, Rangers are literally taking him (more or less) and Cinch to court so if he cosies up to Celtic that will be a strategic and popularist move. I think it will not work but he certainly has the misplaced ego for it.

01-12-2021, 01:40 PM
Apologies, I am sure this has been covered elsewhere but have more seats that the 17.5k originally allocated been given to Hibs? ....

01-12-2021, 01:42 PM
From Donkey
Dear Brian,

We will have to agree to disagree regarding your suggestion that the allocation was unfair.

The allocation of the North Stand to Celtic was done with all relevant factors in mind, including the fact that Hibernian sold just 9,323 tickets for the Premier Sports Cup semi-finals - whilst Celtic sold 37,483 tickets.

The initial allocations will ensure that all Hibernian fans at the semi-final will be able to attend the final - with more than 8,000 additional seats being made available. However, clearly many thousands of Celtic fans who attended their semi-final will not be able to buy a ticket for the final.

Hampden Park as the venue for the Premier Sports Cup final on 19 December will remain a neutral venue - just as it was when the 2016 Scottish League Cup final took place, which saw Hibernian receive an initial allocation of 25,800 tickets (with Ross County getting 7,000). In 2004, Hibernian had around 37,000 fans in a crowd of 45,000 for their CIS Cup final against Livingston.

Kind regards, Neil

01-12-2021, 01:47 PM
From Donkey
Dear Brian,

We will have to agree to disagree regarding your suggestion that the allocation was unfair.

The allocation of the North Stand to Celtic was done with all relevant factors in mind, including the fact that Hibernian sold just 9,323 tickets for the Premier Sports Cup semi-finals - whilst Celtic sold 37,483 tickets.

The initial allocations will ensure that all Hibernian fans at the semi-final will be able to attend the final - with more than 8,000 additional seats being made available. However, clearly many thousands of Celtic fans who attended their semi-final will not be able to buy a ticket for the final.

Hampden Park as the venue for the Premier Sports Cup final on 19 December will remain a neutral venue - just as it was when the 2016 Scottish League Cup final took place, which saw Hibernian receive an initial allocation of 25,800 tickets (with Ross County getting 7,000). In 2004, Hibernian had around 37,000 fans in a crowd of 45,000 for their CIS Cup final against Livingston.

Kind regards, Neil

He's just a prick of the highest order, you cant argue with an idiot.:rolleyes:

From Donkey
Dear Brian,

Kind regards, Neil

Absolute gibberish from the clown.

From Donkey
Dear Brian,

Kind regards, Neil

He is so far out of touch with reality. Trying to justify our reduction by stating what happened in those other finals is ridiculous

01-12-2021, 01:48 PM
From Donkey
Dear Brian,

Kind regards, NeilHe's really not getting the point is he

Yes hibs took more than both they teams - only because they couldn't sell them

Here we have a team that probably would sell them being denied the chance to do so

And again, since when was a semi final attendance anything to do with a final attendance?

01-12-2021, 01:49 PM
From Donkey
Dear Brian,

Kind regards, Neil

What is it he doesn't understand about a final needing to be a neutral venue whenever possible,?

Chorley Hibee
From Donkey
Dear Brian,

Kind regards, Neil

Clearly taking the piss now and using false equivalence as a shield.

Ask him when the extra tickets he promised become available!

So his argument is because we sold more than 22,500 for other finals we somehow get less?

What is he not understanding here. Finals should always be played on the basis of neutrality. It makes no difference how many tickets were sold in rounds before the final.

If a club fan sell 50% of tickets, as he himself has shown we can in his response, then that's what they should get.

It's really not difficult.

Steven79
He is so far out of touch with reality. Trying to justify our reduction by stating what happened in those other finals is ridiculous

He's also proved our point that we could easily sell half the stadium...

01-12-2021, 01:50 PM
Living here in England, nobody i speak to can understand why the final is not 50/50, only in Scotland eh. :rolleyes:

01-12-2021, 01:51 PM
Plus there is still going to be c12k Celtc fans who were at the semi going to miss the final so what’s the issue with making it a bit more?

01-12-2021, 01:56 PM
Boy dropped this into the chat.
Must be doing the rounds also.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211201/4de3230dd594f65b389ecaa8d74b716a.jpg

01-12-2021, 01:57 PM
Plus there is still going to be c12k Celtc fans who were at the semi going to miss the final so what’s the issue with making it a bit more?

The semi final crowds are a complete red herring - we shouldn't even entertain it as a factor. Totally irrelevant.

Celtic are being rewarded for having a much bigger support than us by being given an advantage at a neutral venue which we could have sold 50% of the tickets. It's utterly disgraceful.

01-12-2021, 01:58 PM
Thanks. I presume that it is people buying the first tickets to ensure that they have some then buying better seats making the first ones no longer required.

Cant be. How are they getting round the client referenceing restrictions?

01-12-2021, 02:00 PM
Cant be. How are they getting round the client referenceing restrictions?

Person A buys two tickets with their client ref, person B then buys two better seats when they appear with their client ref, person A returns the original two tickets.

01-12-2021, 02:13 PM
The semi final crowds are a complete red herring - we shouldn't even entertain it as a factor. Totally irrelevant.

Celtic are being rewarded for having a much bigger support than us by being given an advantage at a neutral venue which we could have sold 50% of the tickets. It's utterly disgraceful.

100% :agree:

I think Doncaster now knows he’s had a nightmare here, and his arguments to back up his decision are paper thin.

If he was completely comfortable and satisfied he’s made the right call he wouldn’t even be replying to emails from fans. He’s just fire fighting his reputation.

01-12-2021, 02:14 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI get Doncaster point there re the North stand but holding back c1-5 would mean that its possible to have either 50/50 or 100/0

01-12-2021, 02:18 PM
Imagine building a stadium that can’t be segregated.

01-12-2021, 02:24 PM
Absolute gibberish from the clown.

Virtually the same as I received last week. Basically he is pandering to the old firm and tournament sponsors and nobody is allowed to question his decision. He wanted an old firm final but will not admit it.

01-12-2021, 02:32 PM

Thats not quite true though is it? It can segregated.

The old Hampden was split in the middled of the North as well wasn't it? Essentially the rebuild was a removal of terraces and seats and a roof placed on top of what was the terracing. Terrible job they made of it as well.

aljo7-0
01-12-2021, 02:36 PM
Virtually the same as I received last week. Basically he is pandering to the old firm and tournament sponsors and nobody is allowed to question his decision. He wanted an old firm final but will not admit it.
That's possibly the most relevant point. He is harping on about poor wee Celtic fans at the semi final missing out.
If it had been an Old Firm Final it would be 50:50 but both sets of supporters would get a reduced ticket allocation from the semi-final - the same number of poor wee Celtic fans would miss out.
He completely ignores that we would sell 50% of tickets - but quotes that we have sold more than 50% in the past as proof for part of his dream argument- (just as Rangers would) but justifies this on the poor wee Celtic fans not missing out. the same poor wee Celtic fans who would miss out if the other cheek of the Old Firm a**e had won the semi.
Madness

01-12-2021, 02:36 PM

They want an old firm final in both comps every year as it drives TV audiences up and increases sponsorship etc. For a good few years as well they were getting their wish with OF finals, I haven't checked this out for definite but it seemed to to be every season for about 10 years from about 2000 on wards that at least one of the finals was purely the OF facing off against each other. Its maybe all in my head but thats what it seems like to me.

EDIT> Or at the very least the finals seem to have featured at least one of the OF. Its what the SFA want though.

LunasBoots
01-12-2021, 02:43 PM
Doncaster and his buddies care nothing about other clubs outside the OF, to him the OF is Scottish football, guy should be given the boot and take his years of brown envelopes with him. If it was Celtc vs Rangers it would of been 50:50 split, the whole thing is not on, no wonder the guy is widely disliked within Scottish Football.

01-12-2021, 02:43 PM
So his argument that cup final allocations are based on semi final ticket uptake against the old firm when supporters have to travel to Glasgow. I am afraid his arguments have more holes in them than a colander.

01-12-2021, 02:45 PM
4 tickets in B4, 2 sets of doubles.

01-12-2021, 02:46 PM

The old Hampden was split in the middled of the North as well wasn't it? Essentially the rebuild was a removal of terraces and seats and a roof placed on top of what was the terracing. Terrible job they made of it as well.

The cost of the refurb was £54m, the millennium stadium cost £121m. I wonder which was value for money

Steven79
01-12-2021, 02:49 PM
The cost of the refurb was £54m, the millennium stadium cost £121m. I wonder which was value for money

Wasn't that just for the South Stand?

01-12-2021, 02:51 PM

I've been to both and the differences are night and day. Hampden is by far the worst 'national' stadium, neutral venue I've been to. Needs complete demolished and rebuild with four 2 tiered stands squared off and close to the pitch.

01-12-2021, 02:53 PM
Absolutely infuriating reading these responses from Doncaster. It's a shame there is no media outlet available where someone would argue Hibs POV with him face to face. Complete clown.

I've been to both and the differences are night and day. Hampden is by far the worst 'national' stadium, neutral venue I've been to. Needs complete demolished and rebuild with four 2 tiered stands squared off and close to the pitch.

Yes I have been to both. The Welsh stadium is excellent but to be fair Hampden is not that bad. Just an average stadium.

Bobo

Hampden is a dump, a tarted up relic of the past that is barely fit for purpose.

The stadium should have been sold off and a new purpose-built replacement located elsewhere (anywhere other than Glasgow) the fact it wasn't was merely to pander to the Old Firm clubs and their support and to maintain the bias and unsporting advantage they have held for decades and which result in totally indefensible decisions being made like the fiasco surrounding our allocation of tickets for a supposedly "neutral" national cup final.

Scottish football's governing authorities are inept at best and only exist to pander to the two Glasgow parasites who blight our game! Sadly we won't see any change to the blatant corruption until such times that Scottish football can be governed from outside Glasgow.

I wont hold my breath!

01-12-2021, 02:56 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1466060376072765444?t=kBG_bpxbpFBJLwhbzrjRTQ&s=19

01-12-2021, 02:57 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-renew-pressure-on-spfl-over-premier-sports-cup-final-tickets-after-selling-out-initial-allocation-for-celtic-clash-3478604?amp

01-12-2021, 03:04 PM
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1466060376072765444?t=kBG_bpxbpFBJLwhbzrjRTQ&s=19

Except theres one for sale in B8. :greengrin

01-12-2021, 03:06 PM
Unbelievable that he still keeps spouting “aye but you got most of the stadium against Ross county and Livingston” as if it’s some kind of trump card…

has anyone actually pointed out to the clueless clown that those allocations were because RC and Livy actually asked for less?!

01-12-2021, 03:09 PM
Unbelievable that he still keeps spouting “aye but you got most of the stadium against Ross county and Livingston” as if it’s some kind of trump card…

has anyone actually pointed out to the clueless clown that those allocations were because RC and Livy actually asked for less?!

Kilmarnock as well, did they not actually hand tickets back in 2007 or am I making it up?

01-12-2021, 03:11 PM

I don't understand why this gives them leverage to give us less tickets for this one under some law of equivalent exchange. Surely, rather:

1. We should get at least half because we have a track record of selling out finals
2. By the same logic, given that Celtic always get loads of tickets this time they should get less than us to even things up.

01-12-2021, 03:16 PM
3 available in B4

01-12-2021, 03:18 PM

He's missing the point that we would have sold 50% of Hampden for the final.

01-12-2021, 03:35 PM

It can be split in the middle or not at all. Brilliant design.

01-12-2021, 03:46 PM
It can be split in the middle or not at all. Brilliant design.

I would love to see the proof from Donkey. The segregation at both semi finals were a bit random and not in any way 50% of any stand. There are walkways around the back of the stadium, presumably closed by barrier and Stewards, which are movable.

01-12-2021, 03:47 PM
As a national stadium it's useless, wrong place, out dated design leading to poor viewing and poor facilities, scrap it and move.

01-12-2021, 03:48 PM
As a national stadium it's useless, wrong place, out dated design leading to poor viewing and poor facilities, scrap it and move.

Why is the national stadium of Scotland set in slum side Glasgow anyways? Embarrassing.

01-12-2021, 03:53 PM
Why is the national stadium of Scotland set in slum side Glasgow anyways? Embarrassing.

That is a pretty decent part of Glasgow

01-12-2021, 03:55 PM
I would love to see the proof from Donkey. The segregation at both semi finals were a bit random and not in any way 50% of any stand. There are walkways around the back of the stadium, presumably closed by barrier and Stewards, which are movable.

Yep surely the north could easily be split other than down the middle a line of stewards and a few seats given up would fix.

01-12-2021, 03:55 PM
That is a pretty decent part of Glasgow

No such thing 😁

Hibdan12
01-12-2021, 03:56 PM

Not the best part in Glasgow but generally decent area

01-12-2021, 03:57 PM
No such thing 😁

01-12-2021, 04:07 PM
No such thing 😁
The M8 Road to Edinburgh is rather fetching.😁
The area around Hampden is much improved from years ago.

01-12-2021, 04:11 PM
Yep surely the north could easily be split other than down the middle a line of stewards and a few seats given up would fix.

Plus barrier and Stewards on the walkways. Allow for toilets and catering for both sets of fans

01-12-2021, 04:12 PM

5 minutes from a motorway?

01-12-2021, 04:14 PM

Slum ?? Have you spent any time in Cathcart , langside, kings park ? Shawlands …they are great areas ….

01-12-2021, 04:15 PM
Tickets still available at £75
The full package includes:
Match ticket in West Stand A4
Cash bar
Breakfast buffet
Travel to and from Hampden

01-12-2021, 04:24 PM

I think the problem is the entry/exits.

01-12-2021, 04:25 PM

There are some very nice properties not 5 minutes walk from Hampden Park.

I suspect that you may have been coming to it from one direction only.

It is not in a slum...............

Renfrew_Hibby
01-12-2021, 04:26 PM
I actually think Hampdens location is not too bad, yes if you were to build a stadium now it wouldn't be there but the set ups not too bad 5 mins from the motorway and with train stops either side of the ground that's within walking distance and really by UK standards that's not bad at all.
Hampden needs a total rebuild though. The footprint that the stadium occupies you could easily have a 60,000+ stadium in its place.
I would quite like the idea of lowering the pitch and extending the stands down towards the pitch. This would raise capacity to around 60,000, and really ramp up the atmosphere.
The North, West and East terraces would need a slight adjustment to make them slightly steeper and improve the viewing experience.
Finnish the job off with a new wrap around outer shell/roof and it would be right up there with many a great stadium.

01-12-2021, 04:26 PM

The actual location isn't the end of the world, especially with the new M74. There's plenty of room on the site to tear it down and rebuild. The annoying thing is the fancy new expensive S stand was built to blend into the existing totally ***** E & W stands.

gaz1875
01-12-2021, 04:30 PM

I did but he never responded to that part of my email which is in bold below;

Your reasoning doesn't really stand up. This is not a semi final so your excuse is not acceptable and should not be used to compare with a final.

Maybe you can tell me the ticket sales by Hibernian for the previous number of finals they have been in to justify your reasoning. With the final against Ross County, as you noted Hibs sold over 25k. Are you suggesting they can't now sell 22k? I can give you the approximate figures, but I assume you must have them, as surely this was also taken into consideration before this blatantly biased decision on an unequal split was taken. Aside from that, you are not exactly comparing like for like. Ross County would have received more if required which they did not do.

01-12-2021, 04:45 PM
I think the problem is the entry/exits.

Again, barriers and Stewards division in the road outside, plenty of turnstiles at the North Stand

01-12-2021, 05:20 PM
Again, barriers and Stewards division in the road outside, plenty of turnstiles at the North Stand

There are, but I think there's just one big exit stair out of each of C & D?

01-12-2021, 05:21 PM

But we all get to Mount Florida station with no segregation.

01-12-2021, 05:30 PM
No it isn’t. There’s no slums left in Glasgow, it’s a fantastic vibrant city nowadays. The area around Hampden is a pretty decent area.

01-12-2021, 05:40 PM

Should always be in the capital city of the country.

01-12-2021, 05:42 PM

Hate the place. Want to get in and away as quickly as possible.

Steven79
01-12-2021, 05:43 PM
Hate the place. Want to get in and away as quickly as possible.Ibrox and Celtic Park are also in slum areas.

Might be something about Glasgow rather than just the area around Hampden...

01-12-2021, 05:45 PM
Ibrox and Celtic Park are also in slum areas.

Might be something about Glasgow rather than just the area around Hampden...

Can't stand Glasgow or the nippy accents. Why do they end a sentence with "but"?

01-12-2021, 05:55 PM
Can't stand Glasgow or the nippy accents. Why do they end a sentence with "but"?

Makes a change from every sentence ending in 'ken'.

01-12-2021, 06:04 PM

Or "eh" pronounced "A".

01-12-2021, 06:08 PM
A ken eh.

01-12-2021, 06:13 PM
Or "eh" pronounced "A".

Or people that say Musselburry, or Edinburry

OtleyHibs
01-12-2021, 06:29 PM

😁 I'm glaswegian and my English Mrs used to wind me up about that so much it's been drilled out of me.....it might come back when I'm home for the final but

01-12-2021, 06:32 PM
😁 I'm glaswegian and my English Mrs used to wind me up about that so much it's been drilled out of me.....it might come back when I'm home for the final but

Are you saying you've been 'gentrified'?

01-12-2021, 06:33 PM

In Ayrshire they say Ken, was funny when I lived there, thought it was only an East Coast thing.

OtleyHibs
01-12-2021, 06:34 PM
Are you saying you've been 'gentrified'?

Been made more socially acceptable is what I'm told, bit rich coming from Yorkshire folk 😁

01-12-2021, 06:36 PM

Father in law is Glaswegian and he had told me when he went to work in South East of England, one of the locals said "if you want to fit in here you better lose that accent" fast forward 30 odd years he has a very clear Glaawegian accent due to his Mrs being English. It figures.

01-12-2021, 06:48 PM
Or people that say Musselburry, or Edinburry

Americans say musselboro, which really annoys me.

I know this because there is a very popular knitted hat pattern with this name and I watch a lot of knitting podcasts from across the pond.

Hibi
01-12-2021, 07:37 PM
I presume the queue for the final tickets is still busy since everyone is missing the game tonight?

01-12-2021, 07:43 PM
I presume the queue for the final tickets is still busy since everyone is missing the game tonight?

Midweek December games are probably not going to be sold out. Add into the £35.00 ticket costs and games on TV.

AliboyFC
01-12-2021, 07:44 PM
Been made more socially acceptable is what I'm told, bit rich coming from Yorkshire folk 😁

U live in otley I've been there before 😁

Hibi
01-12-2021, 08:45 PM
Midweek December games are probably not going to be sold out. Add into the £35.00 ticket costs and games on TV.

I can understand a bit of that but it’s the same line that’s trotted out a lot. Our gates have been very poor post lockdown which is a shame. Big game tonight off the back of a good win and having recently beat them at hampden I just felt a bit disappointed and embarrassed by the empty seats. Not long ago that would have sold out

01-12-2021, 08:53 PM
I can understand a bit of that but it’s the same line that’s trotted out a lot. Our gates have been very poor post lockdown which is a shame. Big game tonight off the back of a good win and having recently beat them at hampden I just felt a bit disappointed and embarrassed by the empty seats. Not long ago that would have sold out
A lot of people are still apprehensive about going to games with the Covid situation atm. Disappointed maybe with the attendance but embarrassed never.

Hibi
01-12-2021, 09:02 PM
A lot of people are still apprehensive about going to games with the Covid situation atm. Disappointed maybe with the attendance but embarrassed never.

You could be right about disappointed, angry from the game. Felt the team needs more support but it’s just not there. It doesn’t feel like other teams are having the same drop off. To think lots of fans were making noise about us not selling tickets for the rangers end.

OtleyHibs
01-12-2021, 09:04 PM
U live in otley I've been there before 😁

Well if you're ever back I'll buy you a pint 😁

01-12-2021, 09:29 PM
You could be right about disappointed, angry from the game. Felt the team needs more support but it’s just not there. It doesn’t feel like other teams are having the same drop off. To think lots of fans were making noise about us not selling tickets for the rangers end.U seen Aberdeen attendances?

02-12-2021, 02:07 AM
From Donkey
Dear Brian,

Kind regards, Neil

Where do you even begin with that pile of nonsense ...... thrashing false equivalence to death and the very definition of being deliberately obtuse. I don't know what's worse, the utter disregard for sporting fairness when it comes to the neutrality of the venue, or the fact that Doncaster is so happy to talk to the games customers as if we were all morons. The man's arrogance is off the scale.

02-12-2021, 05:57 AM
U seen Aberdeen attendances?

Aberdeen had 6k at Pittodrie last night. Saw some of their fans blame it on last Friday's storm.

02-12-2021, 05:59 AM

Agree never embarrassed the crowd is what it is.

LeithMike
02-12-2021, 01:29 PM
A friend just cancelled 3 single tickets for Hampden as we got ER hospitality with seats together. They are roughy in the same area - blocks b6 and b7 if anyone still looking.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

02-12-2021, 02:28 PM
Does anyone know how Celtc are getting on with their tickets? I believe there is a deadline of tomorrow before they end the first stage of sales.

Could it be that Hibs have sold out our allocation before the bestest fans in the world?

02-12-2021, 04:03 PM
BREAKING: Hibs set to be backed by around 20,000 fans at Premier Sports Cup final as club emerges victorious from ticket talks with SPFL

https://t.co/7UCA3Tckv5 https://t.co/FKNpzDCoag

02-12-2021, 04:04 PM
BREAKING: Hibs set to be backed by around 20,000 fans at Premier Sports Cup final as club emerges victorious from ticket talks with SPFL

https://t.co/7UCA3Tckv5 https://t.co/FKNpzDCoag

Still not 50/50 though.

02-12-2021, 04:05 PM
Good result bu the club. Yes it’s not 50/50 but they have done everything they can. 20k fans will make some noise.

02-12-2021, 04:06 PM
Still not 50/50 though.

Thank you Steven Hawking.

02-12-2021, 04:08 PM
2000 more tickets given to the club

02-12-2021, 04:09 PM
2000 more tickets given to the club

Let’s get them sold

02-12-2021, 04:10 PM
Club shouldn't give up on this IMO. Still not a 50/50 split and I wonder if they were expecting us to roll over and be grateful for that.

There's not been any good argument from Donkey as to why we don't have 50% of the tickets to sell and he shouldn't be off the hook for that.

02-12-2021, 04:10 PM
Let’s sell em out.

02-12-2021, 04:14 PM
Upper tier, those who arrive late to the party get the best seats. :stirrer:

02-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Still not 50/50 though.

Nope whilst this additional allocation is, of course, welcome it's not the 50/50 split we deserved and the SPFL should not be allowed to forget that.

02-12-2021, 04:20 PM

As much as the extra allocation is welcome, you’re bang on though. Feel for those who had to purchase poor seats down the front and what not while the fans who weren’t that fussed one or another now get the pick of the best seats in the house if they fancy a day out the final.

Bizarre way to sell tickets.

02-12-2021, 04:25 PM
As much as the extra allocation is welcome, you’re bang on though. Feel for those who had to purchase poor seats down the front and what not while the fans who weren’t that fussed one or another now get the pick of the best seats in the house if they fancy a day out the final.

Yeah, its a tricky one though, we had to sell out the first batch to ensure we got more and I'm guessing we had no way of knowing where the additional tickets were going to be located. At least we got more but it is annoying that the once a year fan will have prime seats with an unobstructed view near enough on the halfway line.

loanheadhibby
02-12-2021, 04:36 PM

Exactly! I was in south upper for semi but behind goals for final. I’d have held of buying if I knew there was a slight chance of getting in south upper.

Shambles from whoever has organised the sale of tickets.

02-12-2021, 04:37 PM
Exactly! I was in south upper for semi but behind goals for final. I’d have held of buying if I knew there was a slight chance of getting in south upper.

Are you a ST holder because there was definitely 2 or 3 upper tier sections on sale on Friday last week, albeit the far end sections right enough.

02-12-2021, 04:41 PM
Can’t imagine we will sell them with our football being so boring these days. 😂

02-12-2021, 04:41 PM
Yeah, its a tricky one though, we had to sell out the first batch to ensure we got more and I'm guessing we had no way of knowing where the additional tickets were going to be located. At least we got more but it is annoying that the once a year fan will have prime seats with an unobstructed view near enough on the halfway line.

I'm guessing that there will be a few 'returns' in the west stand once people buy the new ones tomorrow.

02-12-2021, 04:48 PM
I'm guessing that there will be a few 'returns' in the west stand once people buy the new ones tomorrow.

I think there should be an opportunity for fans to “upgrade” to the newly released sections. Not sure of the practicalities of it of course.

02-12-2021, 05:05 PM

I appreciate you may not have meant this, but just to be clear - its not Hibs fault.

This is entirely on the SPFL, Doncaster and his "fair allocation of tickets" crap.

02-12-2021, 05:11 PM

Hilarious isn’t it. Fantastic trolling as per though.

02-12-2021, 05:15 PM
The season ticket holders!! Won't somebody please think of the Celtic season ticket holders?!

02-12-2021, 05:18 PM

Buy the good seats, wait a few hours for the sell out then sell the crap seats.

02-12-2021, 05:24 PM
Buy the good seats, wait a few hours for the sell out then sell the crap seats.

I'm happy with my seats but that's what I would be looking to do if I'd ended up in a less ideal seat. Though I'm not sure, going by posts earlier in thread that you can use same client reference if already purchased.

02-12-2021, 05:28 PM
What a shambles from Doncaster. I would have bought seats in that area but I am behind the goals. These seats were clearly the ones that he mentioned in his email to me but did not give any details. He wanted to ensure that the TV cameras were looking at a full stadium. These seats are more expensive so him wetting himself on maximising revenues for the clubs is completely blown out of the water. As CEO of the SPFL he is paid by all clubs not just two clubs. Is he fit for the job? we all have an opinion on that. He will no doubt be selling this as he has listened to the club and the fans and acted accordingly. Let's sell out this allocation.

02-12-2021, 05:29 PM
Absolutely bonkers they weren’t given to Hibs first.

02-12-2021, 05:30 PM
I'm happy with my seats but that's what I would be looking to do if I'd ended up in a less ideal seat. Though I'm not sure, going by posts earlier in thread that you can use same client reference if already purchased.

I think you are right, but each CRN can buy two no? Or was that just STHs?

02-12-2021, 05:30 PM

No pitch invasion for you! 😜

02-12-2021, 05:32 PM
The season ticket holders!! Won't somebody please think of the Celtic season ticket holders?!

Check the official release from the club and some of the comments from so called Hibs fans. Astonishing stuff

https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1466453579166855182?s=20

02-12-2021, 05:33 PM

Do you ever give it a rest? Every single thread digs at those who have different opinions.

02-12-2021, 05:33 PM
No pitch invasion for you! 😜

I was in the upper for the 2016 final. My conscience is clear. :greengrin

02-12-2021, 05:34 PM
Also, we were always going to get the extra 2000 tickets as that section had been siphoned off.

Hibs need to keep pushing and pushing and not accept this as a victory of any kind.

02-12-2021, 05:49 PM

You could argue the South Upper has the least atmosphere given its cut off from the main sections.

Better view, but quite a few might well prefer to be in a bigger and noisier section?

02-12-2021, 05:51 PM
I think Hibs should lift the 2 per client ref number for this added allocation to get it sold quickly.

02-12-2021, 06:00 PM
So the best seats that Hibs fans will occupy will not go to ST holders or those who made the effort to get a ticket in a public sale. It is utterly bizarre how ticket sales in Scotland are organised and while this helps it still isn't a neutral stadium for a final

02-12-2021, 06:01 PM
I think Hibs should lift the 2 per client ref number for this added allocation to get it sold quickly.

Think season ticket holders got opportunity to make sure they got a ticket, any season ticket holder could have logged on at any point on friday night through to Monday and purchased a ticket easy enough..

Get them put on general sale and hopefully brings a ticket for some more supporters who attend regularly but arent able to commit to buying a season ticket

02-12-2021, 06:04 PM
So the best seats that Hibs fans will occupy will not go to ST holders or those who made the effort to get a ticket in a public sale. It is utterly bizarre how ticket sales in Scotland are organised and while this helps it still isn't a neutral stadium for a final

Not Hibs fault. Blame Neil Doncaster and the SPFL.

Put it this way, I’d rather walk up Hibs fans there rather than Celtic fans.

02-12-2021, 06:08 PM
Does this mean that Hibs fans will now be above Celtc fans? :wink:

02-12-2021, 06:08 PM
Not Hibs fault. Blame Neil Doncaster and the SPFL.

Put it this way, I’d rather walk up Hibs fans there rather than Celtic fans.

Not blaming Hibs but ridiculous way to do it. If Hibs win the fans closest to the players getting their medals are likely to be fans who rarely go to games. I'll be tempted to buy another 3 and sell my originals on and hope I will have the opportunity to do so but from earlier posts won't as my client numbers have been used.

Glad we got more tickets but these should have been first to be on sale and there is still loads of time to the final so no reason the sale couldn't have started when it was known these seats were available from debenture holders etc

02-12-2021, 06:09 PM

No i don't think so

02-12-2021, 06:56 PM
Not blaming Hibs but ridiculous way to do it. If Hibs win the fans closest to the players getting their medals are likely to be fans who rarely go to games. I'll be tempted to buy another 3 and sell my originals on and hope I will have the opportunity to do so but from earlier posts won't as my client numbers have been used.

Glad we got more tickets but these should have been first to be on sale and there is still loads of time to the final so no reason the sale couldn't have started when it was known these seats were available from debenture holders etc

Hibs only got them today. We had no way to sell them first.

The real point is we should have had them to sell from the start.

Like I said, I’d rather a walk up Hibs fan was there close to the cup than a Celtic ST holder.

tmb1875
02-12-2021, 07:08 PM
Would just like to say a massive thanks and well done to all who not only kept up the buzz to sell tickets but put the heat on the spfl, wrote emails to whoever would listen got on radio talk shows etc.. outstanding work from fellow hibs fans [emoji1433][emoji1433][emoji1433] now let’s get the rest of these tickets sold [emoji1544]

02-12-2021, 07:10 PM
Think season ticket holders got opportunity to make sure they got a ticket, any season ticket holder could have logged on at any point on friday night through to Monday and purchased a ticket easy enough..

Get them put on general sale and hopefully brings a ticket for some more supporters who attend regularly but arent able to commit to buying a season ticket
Which is exactly what I’m saying. Database free for all please.

02-12-2021, 07:28 PM
What are the prices for the newly allocated sections?

davhibby
02-12-2021, 08:30 PM

Think so. I think this will mean we’ll have the majority of the upper. The centre section is all debentures so at least some of these new tickets will be for the east side

02-12-2021, 08:31 PM

Hibs fans are always above Celtic fans

02-12-2021, 08:59 PM
Which is exactly what I’m saying. Database free for all please.

I know, i was agreeing with you

Daniel 1875
02-12-2021, 09:05 PM
What are the prices for the newly allocated sections?

£40/£22

Largshibby
02-12-2021, 09:23 PM

I don't understand why you can't buy more tickets on your client number. Its a long story but I got 7 tickets (subsequently returned 2 to the club as surplus to requirements which have been resold) by purchasing one at a time and logging out of the ticket site after each purchase. By pure luck and ridiculous stress levels I ended up with 5 together but I don't see why you can't go back in and buy more.

02-12-2021, 09:34 PM
I don't understand why you can't buy more tickets on your client number. Its a long story but I got 7 tickets (subsequently returned 2 to the club as surplus to requirements which have been resold) by purchasing one at a time and logging out of the ticket site after each purchase. By pure luck and ridiculous stress levels I ended up with 5 together but I don't see why you can't go back in and buy more.

Limited to 2 per reference number.

02-12-2021, 10:06 PM

Each to their own but I def wouldn't consider those upper tier seats the best in the house - too high up.

02-12-2021, 11:17 PM
I know, i was agreeing with you

I know and I’m now with you.😂😂

02-12-2021, 11:44 PM
This just seems utterly bizarre ... on what planet for any event are the best seats in the house and the most expensive tickets held back until the cheaper tickets have gone, am I just being naive or is it not the case that the most expensive tickets are the first to go on sale for the likes of concerts etc, or at the very least put on sale in conjunction with the cheaper tickets.

Irrespective of that, as others are saying Hibs can't treat this as any sort of reason to be grateful to the SPFL, the bottom line is that we should have been given the chance to sell half the tickets from the word go and far from this being a concession from the SPFL it is nothing less than a tacit admission that they got this badly wrong from the outset and no amount of rubbish about being fair to Celtic fans can hide it .... Doncaster cant be allowed to worm his way out of this.

The upshot of the whole thing should be that in future both clubs no matter their size should be offered the chance to sell half the stadium for a cup final be that Scottish or League cup and only when it is shown that isn't possible should extra tickets be offered to the bigger club ..... The fact is most clubs in Scotland outwith the ugly sisters would decline the chance to sell 23,000 tickets from the outset, with only us, Hearts, Aberdeen, Dundee United and perhaps a couple of others on a good day likely to take up the offer ... if Doncaster / the SPFL had realised that perhaps they would have thought twice before making their stupid decision and creating this mess.

03-12-2021, 03:34 AM
These seats are owned by Debenture holders who have s period of time to decide if they will take up Their seat and if demand isn’t there they can apply for other seats
I say this as have watched several semi finals from up there with my son and the tickets were bought fir me by a Celtic Debenture Holder who didn’t want to go to hibs Aberdeen semi final for eg
Clearly these are in the main owned by old firm fans who were used to getting to finals year on year
Not sure of exact time scale for that to happen but assume the extra seats we are getting are debenture seats that haven’t been taken up

houstonhibbee
03-12-2021, 04:24 AM
These seats are owned by Debenture holders who have s period of time to decide if they will take up Their seat and if demand isn’t there they can apply for other seats
I say this as have watched several semi finals from up there with my son and the tickets were bought fir me by a Celtic Debenture Holder who didn’t want to go to hibs Aberdeen semi final for eg
Clearly these are in the main owned by old firm fans who were used to getting to finals year on year
Not sure of exact time scale for that to happen but assume the extra seats we are getting are debenture seats that haven’t been taken up

So we will have hibs fans mixed in with old firm fans
that should be interesting