View Full Version : Women’s World Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

24-06-2019, 05:29 PM
hopefully but nah, refs and VAR will make sure the favourites go through.

Sent from my SM-A520F using TapatalkI am.... SHOCKED! [emoji849]

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

24-06-2019, 05:30 PM
I am.... SHOCKED! [emoji849]

You shouldn't be, stonewall penalty.

24-06-2019, 05:33 PM

It is not a stonewall penalty. Very difficult to see if there was slight contact even after countless video runs.

You shouldn't be, stonewall penalty.when you say stonewall you mean probably a pen but soft?

Never a penalty.

I hate VAR

24-06-2019, 05:34 PM
I hate VARjust a tool to ensure the big teams get richer.

ruined the game.

24-06-2019, 05:41 PM
VAR is the pits. Not remotely a penalty viewed live. VAR didn’t even give any real confirmation. I think the referee felt obliged to confirm her first reaction which was a mistake. I would rather see a ref’s decision, albeit a wrong one, stand, rather than see it replayed over and over on a screen and the mistake compounded by the ref standing by the wrong first reaction.

24-06-2019, 05:43 PM
just a tool to ensure the big teams get richer.

ruined the game.

Such baseless nonsense, as if you never saw a soft penalty before VAR

Was definitely a penalty, VAR or not. The ref gave it without any help initially.

24-06-2019, 05:45 PM

I think you are in a huge minority here. To call it ‘stonewall’ is ludicrous. At most it was mildly debatable. .

24-06-2019, 05:47 PM
It’s now the trendy in thing to slag var then?

24-06-2019, 05:50 PM
It’s now the trendy in thing to slag var then?

Yeah, as if its video replays that are awarding penalties.

24-06-2019, 05:52 PM

Such baseless nonsense, as if you never saw a soft penalty before VAR

Was definitely a penalty, VAR or not. The ref gave it without any help initially.I was being facieous. I've previously said VAR isn't the issue, but the new rules and the piss poor refereeing.

as others have said, you're the only one who thinks it was stone wall. even watching the video you couldn't say for sure.

of course you saw bad decisions before. however, now the pathetic decisions go in the big teams favour and they don't even hide it. where was VAR when Cuthbert was fouled? or the Japan handball as just two examples against us. both these exact circumstances have been reviewed and given to other teams since.

it's used wrongly and it's a pish introduction.

24-06-2019, 06:21 PM
Pretty clear that refs are petrified of not giving decisions to the corporate machine Team USA.

Offside goal last game and now apparently a penalty where the player felt the need to run 3 yards before going down.

24-06-2019, 07:44 PM
I fail to see how the worst dive ever in the history of the game can be a stone waller. Maybe it's just me?

24-06-2019, 07:50 PM
never ever EVER a penalty...NEVER

shameful dive

24-06-2019, 08:00 PM
All the dodgy decisions going the way of the "big" teams - maybe the SFA are running this.

24-06-2019, 08:16 PM
All the dodgy decisions going the way of the "big" teams - maybe the SFA are running this.it must be cos only the SFA could be behind it and still end up with Scotland out after dodgy decisions.

24-06-2019, 08:23 PM
The second USA penalty was as much a penalty as Japan's against us, so at least it was consistent.

Hang on, VAR now looking at handball by Sweden that was as much a handball as the Japan one that was ignored, so I take it back!

24-06-2019, 08:24 PM
Dearie me!

24-06-2019, 08:27 PM
I'm done with watching football that has this farcical set up.

Saturday Boy
24-06-2019, 08:27 PM
My personal favourite was when a NZ defender was taken off with her wrist in a splint after blocking a cross in the box. No penalty, no VAR.

I really have no idea what is it penalty and what isn’t.

24-06-2019, 08:29 PM
never ever EVER a penalty...NEVER

shameful dive

Shh. In this upside down brave new world its apparently a 'Stonewaller' :faf:

24-06-2019, 08:30 PM
My personal favourite was when a NZ defender was taken off with her wrist in a splint after blocking a cross in the box. No penalty, no VAR.

I really have no idea what is it penalty and what isn’t.

Yes, the handball rule is a mess now, as is offside.

24-06-2019, 08:39 PM
Shh. In this upside down brave new world its apparently a 'Stonewaller' :faf:

over 200 replays and still no one can see any touch, well except the referee/VAR whoever that is

p.s. what a crazy challenge by the canadian for another penalty, saved by offside

24-06-2019, 08:40 PM
Penalty awarded

No

offside in the build up that naebody spotted

😳

24-06-2019, 08:43 PM
Yeah, as if its video replays that are awarding penalties.

As long as the correct decision is made I couldn’t care how it is.

24-06-2019, 08:44 PM
over 200 replays and still no one can see any touch, well except the referee/VAR whoever that is

p.s. what a crazy challenge by the canadian for another penalty, saved by offside

I wouldn't know, I'm watching Grand Designs now. That's what VAR has done to this previously red blooded male :boo hoo:

Saturday Boy
24-06-2019, 08:51 PM
When did they start actually playing the stoppage time?

We could have done with some of that on Wednesday..

24-06-2019, 08:53 PM
I
Penalty awarded

No

offside in the build up that naebody spotted

😳 eh I kinda spotted it 👍

24-06-2019, 09:12 PM
I eh I kinda spotted it 👍

Thats because your over in the East

25-06-2019, 05:31 AM
I was being facieous. I've previously said VAR isn't the issue, but the new rules and the piss poor refereeing.

as others have said, you're the only one who thinks it was stone wall. even watching the video you couldn't say for sure.

of course you saw bad decisions before. however, now the pathetic decisions go in the big teams favour and they don't even hide it. where was VAR when Cuthbert was fouled? or the Japan handball as just two examples against us. both these exact circumstances have been reviewed and given to other teams since.

it's used wrongly and it's a pish introduction.

Spot on it is very selective and you just know that nothing is going to be missed with the US in this tournament. Scotland were done over in that game and think they didn't moan about it enough at the time. To me you need to put pressure on to try and get your rights on occasion. FIFA don't care about wee Scotland they do care about the massive tv audiences in US and Japan. How the VAR people didn't speak to the North Korean ref at the end of the Argentina game and tell her she was blowing up 7 or 8 mins early is another genuine mistake I suppose. That killed both teams chances and the odds would have been with Argentina given they had just scored 3 goals but it would have been good for both teams to get the opportunity of a winning goal.

25-06-2019, 05:59 AM
Spot on it is very selective and you just know that nothing is going to be missed with the US in this tournament. Scotland were done over in that game and think they didn't moan about it enough at the time. To me you need to put pressure on to try and get your rights on occasion. FIFA don't care about wee Scotland they do care about the massive tv audiences in US and Japan. How the VAR people didn't speak to the North Korean ref at the end of the Argentina game and tell her she was blowing up 7 or 8 mins early is another genuine mistake I suppose. That killed both teams chances and the odds would have been with Argentina given they had just scored 3 goals but it would have been good for both teams to get the opportunity of a winning goal.

Indeed. Its hardly a 'conspiracy theory' to doubt the evidence of your own eyes. The refereeing in this tournament has been sometimes decent, sometimes absolutely embrassingly bad, but it has consistently favoured the big nations. And Fifa don't exactly have an unblemished record in regard to institutionalised cheating and inducements.

25-06-2019, 06:16 AM
Indeed. Its hardly a 'conspiracy theory' to doubt the evidence of your own eyes. The refereeing in this tournament has been sometimes decent, sometimes absolutely embrassingly bad, but it has consistently favoured the big nations. And Fifa don't exactly have an unblemished record in regard to institutionalised cheating and inducements.

That comment is giving them way more credit than they deserve. :greengrin

25-06-2019, 07:00 AM
That comment is giving them way more credit than they deserve. :greengrin

I like a bit of understatement :greengrin

25-06-2019, 03:46 PM
Italy v China

Kick off 5.00pm

BBC2

25-06-2019, 03:52 PM
Italy v China

Kick off 5.00pm

BBC2

Should be a comfortable Italy win as they are good though awaiting a shocker for China re VAR to keep their 3bn tv audience happy. :greengrin

25-06-2019, 04:11 PM
Italy 1 v 0 China

VAR

Offside

Italy 0 v 0 China

Billions heave a sigh of relief

25-06-2019, 04:26 PM
Italy 1 v 0 China

No VAR

Been 5 minutes now so safe to celebrate

The dalmeny
25-06-2019, 04:29 PM
Alexander take note

25-06-2019, 04:44 PM
Italy 1 v 0 China

No VAR

25-06-2019, 05:08 PM
Italy 2 v 0 China

25-06-2019, 07:05 PM
Come on Holland.

25-06-2019, 07:20 PM
Come on Holland.

1 zip Netherlands.

25-06-2019, 07:43 PM
Holland 1 v 1 Japan

25-06-2019, 07:48 PM
I noticed during yesterdays games that when Alex Morgan had got subbed that her max speed was slightly over 26kmp/h. Now I know we've been told numerous times it's not to be compared with the mens game, but I wonder what the mens top speeds are usually around? Don't think it's a statistic we ever see in the mens game. Made me wonder how far off the speed of the pro men I'd be :greengrin

25-06-2019, 07:53 PM
I noticed during yesterdays games that when Alex Morgan had got subbed that her max speed was slightly over 26kmp/h. Now I know we've been told numerous times it's not to be compared with the mens game, but I wonder what the mens top speeds are usually around? Don't think it's a statistic we ever see in the mens game. Made me wonder how far off the speed of the pro men I'd be :greengrin
Aubameyang at Arsenal has clocked speeds of just under 22 mph, about 35kmp/h

25-06-2019, 07:56 PM
I find it hilarious that people are prepared to believe there is a FIFA organised refereeing conspiracy. I wonder how they organise their briefing meetings for the referees, is it one-to-one do you think or is it all done in seminar format?

“Right, here’s the result we’re looking for in this game...”

25-06-2019, 07:57 PM
Italy 1 v 0 China

No VAR

Tee hee

25-06-2019, 07:58 PM
Aubameyang at Arsenal has clocked speeds of just under 22 mph, about 35kmp/h

No that close would be the answer then :greengrin

That is an absolutely frightening speed.

Edit:

If anyone has any interest here's a list of some players and their top speeds/distances covered over a 7 game period:

https://uk.runningheroes.com/en/blog/outrun-international-footballer

25-06-2019, 08:19 PM
This is the best game so far?

25-06-2019, 08:20 PM
This is the best game so far?

Aussie Brazil for me. Scotland match if you’re no from Scotland.

25-06-2019, 08:39 PM
that one that hit the bar probably would have been in the running for goal of the tournament,whatever if it had went in obviously

how on earth is this still 1-1

25-06-2019, 08:42 PM
Another great game - BBC 4 if you aren’t watching.

25-06-2019, 08:46 PM
Penalty

25-06-2019, 08:46 PM
what a bummer for the japanese

25-06-2019, 08:47 PM

Karma.

25-06-2019, 08:48 PM
Boooooo

The dalmeny
25-06-2019, 08:48 PM
Pearce is a ****

25-06-2019, 08:50 PM
Boooooo

They got the luck against Scotland.

25-06-2019, 08:51 PM
Karma.

no really, the blame for our non-penalty lies fairly and squarely with the referee and the VAR operator that was having a sleep

25-06-2019, 08:52 PM
no really, the blame for our non-penalty lies fairly and squarely with the referee and the VAR operator that was having a sleep

We lost felt hard done by because of dodgy decisions, they are out because of correct decisions.

25-06-2019, 08:58 PM
pleasing. handball in the box cost them eventually!

25-06-2019, 09:00 PM
ah well, my preference for a USA v Netherlands final is still on, both quite fortunate to still have the chance

25-06-2019, 09:11 PM
Penalty

Karma.

:faf: I was wondering what the hell you boys were wittering about, then remembered I’d paused the game for a bit in the first half to get the washing out the machine. :doh:

25-06-2019, 09:55 PM
:faf: I was wondering what the hell you boys were wittering about, then remembered I’d paused the game for a bit in the first half to get the washing out the machine. :doh:

:greengrin amazing 😂

27-06-2019, 07:03 PM
Norway 0 v 1 England

27-06-2019, 07:04 PM
I want England to win this, I've warmed to them.

27-06-2019, 07:04 PM
2 min 30 seconds they lasted, just stop the game now and put a clint eastwood film on

27-06-2019, 07:16 PM
2 min 30 seconds they lasted, just stop the game now and put a clint eastwood film on

I think its over as well. Was reading that Norway have run 6k further than England in the tournament and they haven't rotated players, England have rotated players, they're all fresh and the heat in France at the moment is ridiculous. I'll be near Marseille on Saturday and the forecast is 41 degrees.

27-06-2019, 07:24 PM
England not passing the ball well so far. What they do have though is a 2 very strong CBs. Norway must try and get to them out wide.

27-06-2019, 07:34 PM
That was a penalty for Norway ! Why didn't they go to Var ??

27-06-2019, 07:35 PM
That was a penalty for Norway ! Why didn't they go to Var ??

came over another part of body first.... its in the rules.

27-06-2019, 07:39 PM
The non-penalty there for handball. Once again I don't see why there should even be a debate; it hit her foot and bounced up. You can't be giving penalties for those. At least VAR didn't get involved in that one; it would have been a ludicrous penalty. The handball law is all over the place.

27-06-2019, 07:40 PM
2-0 England. Nice move.

27-06-2019, 07:40 PM
I think its over as well. Was reading that Norway have run 6k further than England in the tournament and they haven't rotated players, England have rotated players, they're all fresh and the heat in France at the moment is ridiculous. I'll be near Marseille on Saturday and the forecast is 41 degrees.

i'm away indoors at 21c :shocked: brilliant effort by the ladies though, plus they had an extra 30 mins and penalties in their previous game, very muchos looking forward to USA v France tomorrow with england playing the winner

and as i type, we thought it was all over, it is now

27-06-2019, 07:42 PM
i'm away indoors at 21c :shocked: brilliant effort by the ladies though, plus they had an extra 30 mins and penalties in their previous game

and as i type, we thought it was all over, it is now

A friend of mine is in Monte Carlo just now. He sent me a photo of an electronic board in the town showing 40 degrees today!

27-06-2019, 07:45 PM
A friend of mine is in Monte Carlo just now. He sent me a photo of an electronic board in the town showing 40 degrees today!

104F, my pale white skin just simply couldn't take that

27-06-2019, 07:48 PM
104F, my pale white skin just simply couldn't take that

Aye, a bit uncomfortable for the Scottish :greengrin

27-06-2019, 07:51 PM
Beckham, stop pretending you give a ****, it's embarrassing. 😔

27-06-2019, 07:55 PM

He’s taking his daughter to the football. Why wouldnt he care. Ffs

27-06-2019, 07:56 PM
Is Gabby Logan on stilts or is she huge? She's the same height as Dion Dublin here!

27-06-2019, 08:13 PM
3-0. Brilliantly worked free kick.

Seekyit
27-06-2019, 08:14 PM
3-0 England. That's that then.

27-06-2019, 08:52 PM
Well done to the English lassies. That's was a comfortable win against a good team.

27-06-2019, 08:53 PM
Aye well done. England Holland final

27-06-2019, 08:55 PM
Norway 0 v 3 England

Jonathan what’s his face thinks the World Cup is in the bag as Billyhibs reaches for the remote control

USA USA USA USA !!!!

Salisbury Hibby
27-06-2019, 09:04 PM
Norway keeper looked off her line at the penalty.

27-06-2019, 09:07 PM
Norway keeper looked off her line at the penalty.

Naw! Kept her left foot on the line

Not a great pen tbh

Good save though

Edit:

PM your mobile and I will send you the image 😁

27-06-2019, 09:08 PM
No surprises really tonight. Notable that English defence made a few unforced mistakes again, having done that against Cameroon, too.

27-06-2019, 09:21 PM
I want England to win this, I've warmed to them.

Struggle to warm to Nevilles attention seeking.

27-06-2019, 09:23 PM

You are just embarrassing yourself - time for your bed.

27-06-2019, 09:31 PM
Struggle to warm to Nevilles attention seeking.

He is a prick, without a doubt. I thought his post Cameroon game rant was pathetic.

27-06-2019, 09:35 PM
I have to admit I did not think his squad rotation would work but seems to be working a treat as all seem fresh though some fitter than others 😁

27-06-2019, 10:20 PM
He is a prick, without a doubt. I thought his post Cameroon game rant was pathetic.

His style is perfect for that England squad. He's built unity and respect whilst still ensuring they are all enjoying it. He's done a great job.

27-06-2019, 10:29 PM
Aye well done. England Holland final

I think the winner will come from the France-USA game.

As an aside, the improvement in the women’s game since the last world cup is remarkable.

28-06-2019, 05:14 AM
I think the winner will come from the France-USA game.

As an aside, the improvement in the women’s game since the last world cup is remarkable.

Agree it has improved

Some of the games have been enjoyable and I am very much looking forward to some of the stronger teams coming up against each other but I have to admit watching it I do get frustrated and the overall standard is still miles away from the men’s game

I know that sounds harsh but just imho

Things can only get better

HibbyDave
28-06-2019, 06:59 PM
C’mon France

28-06-2019, 07:03 PM
Abe

28-06-2019, 07:11 PM
I usually want France to win any game but im delighted at that goal. The Donald will be spewing. 1-0 USA. Rapino, who else.

28-06-2019, 07:11 PM
Worth a watch if you want a good game on BBC 1 - never going to finish 1-0.

28-06-2019, 07:14 PM
Worth a watch if you want a good game on BBC 1 - never going to finish 1-0.

It's excellent, the USA passing is top notch.

28-06-2019, 07:16 PM
It's excellent, the USA passing is top notch.

Agree

It will be very interesting USA v England

If that comes to pass

28-06-2019, 07:18 PM
listen to that tw@t pearce, clear dive, referee needs to have a word....just as well no england players fall down, then it would be 'she clearly slipped' :rolleyes:

28-06-2019, 07:39 PM
O'Hara hard as nails, get her in between hanlon and Daz

Renfrew_Hibby
28-06-2019, 07:45 PM
O'Hara hard as nails, get her in between hanlon and Daz

Oh aye

28-06-2019, 07:51 PM
Geez oh that panel look like a girl band, thought they were going to burst into song. 😂

28-06-2019, 07:57 PM
Geez oh that panel look like a girl band, thought they were going to burst into song. 😂

Not Hope. She’s definitely Solo 😉

28-06-2019, 08:01 PM
Not Hope. She’s definitely Solo 😉

Thinks she's the lead singer.:agree:

28-06-2019, 08:17 PM
You are just embarrassing yourself - time for your bed.

You'll be glad to know I made it to my bed last night, not embarrassed in the slightest.

28-06-2019, 08:22 PM
Great stuff now, Rapinoe double, France caught on the break, 2-0 Trump absolutely heartbroken.

28-06-2019, 08:31 PM
i do wish the commentator and co-commentator would stop saying that 2nd goal was 'easy' 'can't miss that', it was very well placed and would have been just as easy to miss with both the keeper and a defender at that side of the goals

28-06-2019, 08:32 PM
shame, that was a lovely move to

her toenail was offside :rolleyes:

28-06-2019, 08:33 PM
Third goal offside, this'll be var.
Great move.

28-06-2019, 08:38 PM
Un-Deux

The dalmeny
VVD header again

Get in! Come on you frogs.

28-06-2019, 08:39 PM
Keeper wasn't in her set position, got no spring at all. 1-2, what a game this has been.

28-06-2019, 08:40 PM
This is proper exciting. Cracking game.

johncrobertson@
28-06-2019, 08:41 PM
Commentary is embarrassing- England can hurt this defence etc. So negative!!

28-06-2019, 08:42 PM
awk STFU pearce ffs man, england will love this

28-06-2019, 08:43 PM
I think that's a pen these days.

now he's wanting a penalty for france

Does England winning the semi still help the coefficient for the GB women's Olympic team or was that only for their last game?

28-06-2019, 08:46 PM
French striker channelling her inner Colin Nish.

Dan Sarf
28-06-2019, 08:48 PM
Is the TV director besotted with Morgan?

28-06-2019, 08:50 PM
Is the TV director besotted with Morgan?That'll make 2 of us

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

28-06-2019, 08:52 PM
Is the TV director besotted with Morgan?aren't we all? [emoji16]

28-06-2019, 08:53 PM
Will be an immense semi final.

28-06-2019, 08:53 PM
Aw naw. Baws.

28-06-2019, 08:55 PM
So much for there not being any diving/rolling around like you’ve been shot in the women’s game. Worst example of it I’ve saw so far tonight.

28-06-2019, 08:57 PM
Good news for Team GB in Tokyo. Plenty of strong Scottish candidates for inclusion in that.

28-06-2019, 08:58 PM
So much for there not being any diving/rolling around like you’ve been shot in the women’s game. Worst example of it I’ve saw so far tonight.

In general its still much rarer than the mens game. I'd imagine you saw it tonight because there was so much at stake.

28-06-2019, 08:59 PM

I think it's very noticeably less prevalent. As is the attempting to get players booked and the 'card her ref' gesture.

28-06-2019, 09:00 PM
I take it that England play the eventual winner in the semi final

28-06-2019, 09:02 PM
I think it's very noticeably less prevalent. As is the attempting to get players booked and the 'card her ref' gesture.Absolutely. Infact it took me by surprise seeing USA take it into the corner

To be honest its been a thoroughly enjoyable tournament to watch

28-06-2019, 09:02 PM
In general its still much rarer than the mens game. I'd imagine you saw it tonight because there was so much at stake.

There was no Neymar-esque theatrics but I didn’t think it was much different from a run of the mill men’s game.

I agree it most likely was because of how much was at stake tonight, but then I suppose that excuse could be trotted out for the men’s game where there’s so much money in every single point played for.

America’s tournament to lose now I reckon. :agree:

Oh, and how the hell do commentators get work? The replay of the France goal and the commentator is watching it while saying “she doesn’t even need to jump, nobody is near her”.. while the goal scorer is about 2 feet in the air jumping to win the header. It’s been a gripe of mine all season from listening to Steve Macmanaman mainly who is the worst of the lot by a country mile.

28-06-2019, 09:03 PM
I take it that England play the eventual winner in the semi final

:confused: Is there some kind of interplanetary delay in your posting? And yes

28-06-2019, 09:05 PM
:confused: Is there some kind of interplanetary delay in your posting? And yes

No, I just haven't been following the games and checked the result.

28-06-2019, 09:06 PM
Absolutely. Infact it took me by surprise seeing USA take it into the corner

We see it so much in the mens game you just take it for granted, I don't see it as unsporting anymore. If you don't practice it I guess it's not as easy as it looks.

Mr Grieves
28-06-2019, 09:08 PM
Great stuff now, Rapinoe double, France caught on the break, 2-0 Trump absolutely heartbroken.

"I'm not going to the ****ing White House." Yas, love it.

28-06-2019, 09:10 PM
"I'm not going to the ****ing White House." Yas, love it.

I can't wait to see his next tweet :greengrin

28-06-2019, 09:14 PM
No, I just haven't been following the games and checked the result.

It was a cracking game. Great pity the French are out, the atmosphere would have been something else in the semi.

28-06-2019, 09:15 PM
Absolutely. Infact it took me by surprise seeing USA take it into the corner

The USA do look much closer to a hard bitten pro team than anyone else.

28-06-2019, 09:17 PM
awk STFU pearce ffs man, england will love this

Squealing like a stuck pig for a penalty and one replay later the ref has made the correct decision.

Pearce is so one sided he's likely to fall over.

England keeper has made a few decent saves in the tournament but her kicking is shocking. Can't wait to hear JP and Wee Sue offer up a balanced commentary for the England v USA game

28-06-2019, 09:20 PM
Agree

It will be very interesting USA v England

If that comes to pass

Got my wish

28-06-2019, 09:33 PM
If the English women won the WWC which they won't, the English media would lap it up. There are about 4 genuinely good womens teams. The rest are cannon fodder making up the numbers.

Groathillgrump
28-06-2019, 09:36 PM
Shame France are out as Amandine Henry has been the player of the tournament for me. Defensive midfielder but was all over the park looking for the ball and dictating play in every game I've watched her in. Her work rate is immense.

If Hecky can find us a male version of her, that would be the final piece in our midfield jigsaw. :greengrin

Mr Grieves
28-06-2019, 09:51 PM
I can't wait to see his next tweet :greengrin

Is Japan 8 hours ahead? Not much longer to wait :greengrin

28-06-2019, 09:56 PM
Squealing like a stuck pig for a penalty and one replay later the ref has made the correct decision.

England keeper has made a few decent saves in the tournament but her kicking is shocking. Can't wait to hear JP and Wee Sue offer up a balanced commentary for the England v USA game

stop it man :faf:

If the English women won the WWC which they won't, the English media would lap it up. There are about 4 genuinely good womens teams. The rest are cannon fodder making up the numbers.

is that not wrestling/toilets or sommit

:)

28-06-2019, 10:24 PM

I think he's a great commentator. A Scottish commentator would get equally excited in the same circumstances, no doubt. He'd maybe only be on the BBC Scotland feed, right enough!

28-06-2019, 10:43 PM
stop it man :faf:

is that not wrestling/toilets or sommit

:)

28-06-2019, 10:44 PM
I think he's a great commentator. A Scottish commentator would get equally excited in the same circumstances, no doubt. He'd maybe only be on the BBC Scotland feed, right enough!

Each to their own, GL :aok:

28-06-2019, 10:50 PM
Each to their own, GL :aok:

:-) What I particularly like about him is that when there is a political background to a stadium, country or player, including relations with the governing fa, so not just governmental politics, he'll often mention it. Of course, there is an argument that commentators need to be judged on how they describe the game they're watching but surely that'll never catch on! I should get out more!

28-06-2019, 11:09 PM
Good news for Team GB in Tokyo. Plenty of strong Scottish candidates for inclusion in that.

I think you'll ffind that England would be the GB representative - it had been previously agreed by all parties that the team that progressed furthest in the WC would be the entrant team for the Olympics, so no "GB" team as such.

29-06-2019, 12:36 AM
I think you'll ffind that England would be the GB representative - it had been previously agreed by all parties that the team that progressed furthest in the WC would be the entrant team for the Olympics, so no "GB" team as such.

I'm not sure that is correct GH. I think as far as the womens game is concerned the various FAs of GB got to together and agreed for the continued growth of the womens game in Britain as a whole it would be beneficial to send a GB team (selected from alll the relevent FAs) to the Olympics.

Just as an aside in the Olympics unlike the mens tournament where its for under 23s the womens tournament is for the "full" age group.

29-06-2019, 06:34 AM

Generally ok but soon lapses into full engerland mode at every opportunity. Will only get worse as competition goes on. Some of the female commentators have been good Robyn Cowen e.g and would much prefer she was doing the big games from now on. Thought last night too critical at times with some of his comments in what was a very watchable game.

29-06-2019, 07:52 AM
I'm not sure that is correct GH. I think as far as the womens game is concerned the various FAs of GB got to together and agreed for the continued growth of the womens game in Britain as a whole it would be beneficial to send a GB team (selected from alll the relevent FAs) to the Olympics.

Just as an aside in the Olympics unlike the mens tournament where its for under 23s the womens tournament is for the "full" age group.

It will be an English only GB team. The other FAs are against it.

29-06-2019, 08:04 AM
I used to like Jonathan Pearce

I remember his excitable commentaries from far off foreign lands where it sounded as if he was commentating with a megaphone from the back of a cupboard somewhere on Channel 5

Now I find myself more and more reaching for my remote to either turn down the volume or switch off

USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA USA. 🇺🇸

29-06-2019, 08:06 AM

Not for the women's team they're not.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45712449

The Baldmans Comb
29-06-2019, 08:08 AM
Generally ok but soon lapses into full engerland mode at every opportunity. Will only get worse as competition goes on. Some of the female commentators have been good Robyn Cowen e.g and would much prefer she was doing the big games from now on. Thought last night too critical at times with some of his comments in what was a very watchable game.

I think he lapses into "full English mode" because he is English and wants his country to win the World Cup.

The same applies to his co commentator, the analysts in the studio, the news anchors, the sports reporters and the weather girls.

English people want their country to win the world cup and as it gets closer and closer they get then the more and more excited they become.

English people are no different to any other country in the world and it all seems very normal.

I never understand why some Scottish people get all uptight about English TV and their sports broadcasters who just go along with the moments as England progress further in sports tournaments.

29-06-2019, 08:08 AM

Pretty sure Kim Little played in 2012 and they mentioned Scottish players possibly playing last night.

29-06-2019, 08:11 AM
I think he lapses into "full English mode" because he is English and wants his country to win the World Cup.

The same applies to his co commentator, the analysts in the studio, the news anchors, the sports reporters and the weather girls.

English people want their country to win the world cup and as it gets closer and closer they get then the more and more excited they become.

English people are no different to any other country in the world and it all seems very normal.

I never understand why some Scottish people get all uptight about English TV and their sports broadcasters who just go along with the moments as England progress further in sports tournaments.

Bottom line is because it is meant to be British tv. He can still be objective and maintain a balance. As I said get a female commentator to do it.

29-06-2019, 08:13 AM
Pretty sure Kim Little played in 2012 and they mentioned Scottish players possibly playing last night.

Defo said they want Erin Cuthbert upfront for team GB

29-06-2019, 08:27 AM

Does it even still apply to the men's team at the Olympics? Was there not something about Ramsay and Bale playing last time?

I've never got my head around it. I don't see why football should be at the Olympics, but happy for anyone to play who can get into the squad safe from it jeopradising our status as 4 separate football nations.

29-06-2019, 08:28 AM

You're right to say the English commentators are no different to other nations' commentators in terms of supporting their team but the difference between English commentators and (for example) Scottish commentators is that English games tend to be broadcast on national TV channels meaning it's being shown to the whole of the UK whereas Scottish games are just broadcast to a Scottish audience.

The same applies further afield, I'm sure German commentaries aren't shown in Spain etc.

The Baldmans Comb
29-06-2019, 08:32 AM
Bottom line is because it is meant to be British tv. He can still be objective and maintain a balance. As I said get a female commentator to do it.

I occasionally watch BBC TV and sometimes SKY and there is no doubt in my mind this is English TV.

Professional and informed but in no doubt whatsoever that 90% of its audience are English hence the stories and comment reflect an English perspective.

I really don't know what "balance" Scottish people are looking for in commentary.

English people want their team to win the World Cup and will cheer lead as they progress and so they should.

29-06-2019, 08:33 AM

Scotland are not encouraging the players but won’t stop them. Scottish and Welsh FA will not actively support it. Erin’s family are staunch Huns. So I imagine they will be bang up for playing for the Queen.

29-06-2019, 08:33 AM
Does it even still apply to the men's team at the Olympics? Was there not something about Ramsay and Bale playing last time?

I've never got my head around it. I don't see why football should be at the Olympics, but happy for anyone to play who can get into the squad safe from it jeopradising our status as 4 separate football nations.

Men’s team didn’t qualify so they are safe.

The Baldmans Comb
29-06-2019, 08:48 AM
You're right to say the English commentators are no different to other nations' commentators in terms of supporting their team but the difference between English commentators and (for example) Scottish commentators is that English games tend to be broadcast on national TV channels meaning it's being shown to the whole of the UK whereas Scottish games are just broadcast to a Scottish audience.

The same applies further afield, I'm sure German commentaries aren't shown in Spain etc.

Why would it make any difference if English games are broadcast in Scotland?

You cant seriously be expecting that English TV companies and commentators should moderate their comments and excitement just because a few people from outside their borders might be watching.

There broadcasting base will be 90% English people and 10% others and hopefully if England can proceed to the final then I would fully expect a further increase in the decible level and a total lack of objectivity.

Its all just very normal and everywhere you go in the world its how national broadcasters behave towards their national sports teams.

29-06-2019, 08:53 AM
It would be very weird if English commentators didn’t favour England. Every single commentator in internationals does this.

29-06-2019, 09:00 AM

You cant seriously be expecting that English TV companies and commentators should moderate their comments and excitement just because a few people from outside their borders might be watching.

There broadcasting base will be 90% English people and 10% others and hopefully if England can proceed to the final then I would fully expect a further increase in the decible level and a total lack of objectivity.

Its all just very normal and everywhere you go in the world its how national broadcasters behave towards their national sports teams.

I'm not blaming the commentators I'm simply pointing out the difference between an English commentator getting right behind their team and a Scottish one.

Any English person exposed to a Scottish broadcast of a Scotland game would either need to live in Scotland or would need to deliberately retune their TV to pick up BBC Scotland or STV. In either of these circumstances, they don't really have any grounds for complaint.

A Scottish person just needs to tune in to normal TV to get an English commentary.

That's the difference.

The Baldmans Comb
29-06-2019, 09:17 AM
I'm not blaming the commentators I'm simply pointing out the difference between an English commentator getting right behind their team and a Scottish one.

Any English person exposed to a Scottish broadcast of a Scotland game would either need to live in Scotland or would need to deliberately retune their TV to pick up BBC Scotland or STV. In either of these circumstances, they don't really have any grounds for complaint.

A Scottish person just needs to tune in to normal TV to get an English commentary.

That's the difference.

I agree totally with your analysis though why would it bother anyone listening to an English sports commentator on an English TV channel getting all excited as the team he supports progresses in a football tournament.

Its very normal worldwide and exactly what I expect to happen when I reach for the remote control.

29-06-2019, 09:22 AM
English commentators get right behind their team, our lot seem to berate them at every avenue. Of course a winning team is easier to get behind, but we have a mentality of putting our game down, not trying to encourage it.

And that does not stop with the media, the tossers that run the show are culpable too.

29-06-2019, 09:22 AM

No problem with English commentators, just don’t want them in my house in the same way I wouldn’t choose to listen to Hun TV commentators for a Hun v Hibs game. Don’t expect or want any faux neutrality, just a choice of commentaries. Digital tech should easily provide a choice of commentary for sports events and allow viewers to choose.

29-06-2019, 09:24 AM
No problem with English commentators, just don’t want them in my house in the same way I wouldn’t choose to listen to Hun TV commentators for a Hun v Hibs game. Don’t expect or want any faux neutrality, just a choice of commentaries. Digital tech should easily provide a choice of commentary for sports events and allow viewers to choose.
Try watching Eng v USA with the American comms. 😂😂

The Baldmans Comb
29-06-2019, 09:32 AM

I would agree with that as it would be great to pick a commentary of choice. It shouldn't be that difficult technically to tap into another feed.

Virgin,Sky and Fox never seem to go down these routes though they sometimes give options on pictures.

BBC tends to be very English centred in its outlook understandably so given its monetary and population base so wouldn't hold out much hope there.

I agree totally with your analysis though why would it bother anyone listening to an English sports commentator on an English TV channel getting all excited as the team he supports progresses in a football tournament.

Its very normal worldwide and exactly what I expect to happen when I reach for the remote control.

The point is, it's not being shown on an English TV channel, it's on a UK-wide one.

everytime an international tournament thread is on this forum it starts by discussing the football and decends into moaning about England and English commentary.

it's dull.

29-06-2019, 09:50 AM
The point is, it's not being shown on an English TV channel, it's on a UK-wide one.

For a predominately English audience.

One sided commentary annoys me, but I accept the reasoning behind it. I can cope with the commentators being pro-Ugly Sister in a European match in a way that I can't when we're playing one of them in the league.

Maybe BBC Scotland should show England games with Scottish commentators as the solution?

29-06-2019, 09:51 AM
I'm not English and I choose not to watch England games at any time unless they're playing Scotland. And the BBC, Sky, BT, ITV etc are UK-wide networks not just English channels. If they were just English channels, Scottish people would have little cause to complain. Some people regard Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish opinions regarding football commentary as irrelevant just because there's more English people. I don't.

The Baldmans Comb
29-06-2019, 10:10 AM

The BBC is an English TV channel in my opinion as you switch on any news programne and they talk about English NHS or the English Education system both of which are nothing to do with Scotland as entirely separate.

Arts and comedy and drama with a few exceptions are also entirely English.

Without being to political Scotland have negligibe influence on the English political system hence the BBC just reflects that in its political coverage and how English people see the world.

Even if we were to accept that the BBC was an all encompassing British channel then what is anyone's problem with English commentators going Tonto at their team doing well.

Seems very normal and entirely to be expected and I wouldn't want it to be any different.

29-06-2019, 10:13 AM
For a predominately English audience.

One sided commentary annoys me, but I accept the reasoning behind it. I can cope with the commentators being pro-Ugly Sister in a European match in a way that I can't when we're playing one of them in the league.

Maybe BBC Scotland should show England games with Scottish commentators as the solution?

How do you explain England games being shown on STV? You can only pick up STV if you are either resident in Scotland or you retune your TV to pick it up. The STV audience will be almost exclusively Scottish and yet they still broadcast England matches with English commentators.

29-06-2019, 02:14 PM
How do you explain England games being shown on STV? You can only pick up STV if you are either resident in Scotland or you retune your TV to pick it up. The STV audience will be almost exclusively Scottish and yet they still broadcast England matches with English commentators.

To say the STV audience will be almost exclusively be Scottish is well wide of the mark. The STV franchise of ITV broadcast England games in Scotland because they know there is a massive audience for it.

29-06-2019, 02:17 PM
To say the STV audience will be almost exclusively be Scottish is well wide of the mark. The STV franchise of ITV broadcast England games in Scotland because they know there is a massive audience for it.

You're surely not saying that the majority of people who watch STV (Scottish Televison) aren't Scottish?

To say that there's an audience for England matches in Scotland isn't quite the point I was making.

29-06-2019, 02:23 PM
You're surely not saying that the majority of people who watch STV (Scottish Televison) aren't Scottish?

To say that there's an audience for England matches in Scotland isn't quite the point I was making.

You never said the majority you said almost exclusively Scottish which is a totally different thing. And the fact there is an audience exactly explains your point as to why it is broadcast!

29-06-2019, 02:42 PM
Netherlands 2 Italy 0, two great headers

29-06-2019, 02:52 PM
Watching Scotland is murder. But we can now cheer on Wales as we might have 3 Hibs players in the squad.

29-06-2019, 03:17 PM
So what, there's lots of stuff shown on UK TV that I don't enjoy because of certain aspects of content, I then don't watch it.

29-06-2019, 03:49 PM
You never said the majority you said almost exclusively Scottish which is a totally different thing. And the fact there is an audience exactly explains your point as to why it is broadcast!

83% of the people living in Scotland, at the time of the 2011 census, were born in Scotland. I would say that more than 8 in every 10 people being born in Scotland relates to the population being almost exclusively Scottish.

As for the audience argument, there's almost 1 million Scots living in England, why aren't Scotland games shown on English TV when there's also an audience for it?

29-06-2019, 04:00 PM
83% of the people living in Scotland, at the time of the 2011 census, were born in Scotland. I would say that more than 8 in every 10 people being born in Scotland relates to the population being almost exclusively Scottish.

As for the audience argument, there's almost 1 million Scots living in England, why aren't Scotland games shown on English TV when there's also an audience for it?

I knew you would go away to google to get some information to back up your post but there was really no need. STV is a commercial channel that generates much of its revenue from commercial ad breaks, the interest in England and Scotland for watching England is massive hence it makes absolute commercial sense to broadcast England games in Scotland to increase that revenue, it really is that simple.

Maybe the Scots loving to see England get beat after being so hyped by the press in major tournaments contributes to that interest. The same interest in England generally isn’t generated by the Scottish national team, probably because most English folk consider Scottish football to be like some lower league rubbish and therefore the Scottish national team would not grab the audiences.

29-06-2019, 04:20 PM
Germany v Sweden should be another good knock out game.

About to start on BBC 1

29-06-2019, 04:45 PM
I knew you would go away to google to get some information to back up your post but there was really no need. STV is a commercial channel that generates much of its revenue from commercial ad breaks, the interest in England and Scotland for watching England is massive hence it makes absolute commercial sense to broadcast England games in Scotland to increase that revenue, it really is that simple.

Maybe the Scots loving to see England get beat after being so hyped by the press in major tournaments contributes to that interest. The same interest in England generally isn’t generated by the Scottish national team, probably because most English folk consider Scottish football to be like some lower league rubbish and therefore the Scottish national team would not grab the audiences.

Google wasn't needed, I already knew those stats actually! :na na: :greengrin

29-06-2019, 05:27 PM
The BBC is an English TV channel in my opinion as you switch on any news programne and they talk about English NHS or the English Education system both of which are nothing to do with Scotland as entirely separate.

Arts and comedy and drama with a few exceptions are also entirely English.

Without being to political Scotland have negligibe influence on the English political system hence the BBC just reflects that in its political coverage and how English people see the world.

Even if we were to accept that the BBC was an all encompassing British channel then what is anyone's problem with English commentators going Tonto at their team doing well.

Seems very normal and entirely to be expected and I wouldn't want it to be any different.

If the BBC is an English TV channel why do we, as in residents of Scotland pay the licence fee?

29-06-2019, 05:30 PM
If the BBC is an English TV channel why do we, as in residents of Scotland pay the licence fee?

Because we don't have our own TV channels. like say Denmark, Sweden, Austria and other similar countries? :dunno:

29-06-2019, 06:17 PM
Because we don't have our own TV channels. like say Denmark, Sweden, Austria and other similar countries? :dunno:

Yes we do, the BBC Scotland Channel, you obviously liked the majority in Scotland don't watch it because it's rank rotten.
Plus BBC Alba.

29-06-2019, 06:43 PM

You'd need to ask STV why they choose to show a game that doesn't involve Scotland.

But all they are doing is using a feed from England. It's like watching the Rugby Championship when Sky will simply use the home feed (except Argentina) so I hear commentary from Australia, New Zealand or South Africa. Sky don't provide their own commentators for those games as there is no UK involvement.

The Baldmans Comb
29-06-2019, 07:01 PM

I have no idea why Scottish people choose to do that as it feels a complete waste of money for such little proper Scottish content.

I pay once every 4 years for the world cup and the Scottish football and some news programmes I occasionally watch as that sees fair.

BBC Alba and BBC Scotland aren't independent as their funding is controlled in London by English people as is the general ethos of programming.

While both do occasionally produce some good programmes you do feel you are watching a sideshow unlike say Irish TV which is very much akin to Irish language and culture and Ireland's place in Europe and the world.

Don't want to hijack this thread off topic so won't say anything more as its been a very enjoyable Women's World cup.

29-06-2019, 07:04 PM
Fabulous result fro Sweden.

29-06-2019, 07:30 PM
I have no idea why Scottish people choose to do that as it feels a complete waste of money for such little proper Scottish content.

I pay once every 4 years for the world cup and the Scottish football and some news programmes I occasionally watch as that sees fair.

BBC Alba and BBC Scotland aren't independent as their funding is controlled in London by English people as is the general ethos of programming.

While both do occasionally produce some good programmes you do feel you are watching a sideshow unlike say Irish TV which is very much akin to Irish language and culture and Ireland's place in Europe and the world.

Don't want to hijack this thread off topic so won't say anything more as its been a very enjoyable Women's World cup.

The English commentators and pundits were trying to will the ball into the net for France last night. It was desperate and of course impartial.

30-06-2019, 07:54 AM
Yes we do, the BBC Scotland Channel, you obviously liked the majority in Scotland don't watch it because it's rank rotten.
Plus BBC Alba.

I have quite enjoyed the new BBC Scotland Channel thank you very much!

BBC Alba football coverage better than nothing at all

I am even starting to pick up the lingo “ Hibernian nonny”

:cb

02-07-2019, 06:04 PM
With the announcement of our new owner today, I just wanted to say c'mon the good old USA. Yeeee Haaaa. It's no coming home either.

02-07-2019, 06:06 PM
With the announcement of our new owner today, I just wanted to say c'mon the good old USA. Yeeee Haaaa. It's no coming home either.

Yup. We are all USA tonight.

Going on hols on Monday to the states. Today’s announcement makes me closer to our Kentucky fried friends more than ever 🇺🇸

02-07-2019, 06:10 PM
Go USA.

Sadly, power cuts in my wee corner of France tonight so I can't watch it.

02-07-2019, 06:24 PM
C’MON Ronald Gordon’s country! 🇺🇸

02-07-2019, 06:26 PM
C’MON Ronald Gordon’s country! 🇺🇸

He’s from 🇵🇪

England to win, England Holland final, Holland win me gutted no money on them.

02-07-2019, 06:26 PM
Go USA.

Sadly, power cuts in my wee corner of France tonight so I can't watch it.

Online?

02-07-2019, 06:34 PM
Go USA, get it right up those ironesses.

02-07-2019, 06:45 PM
Rapinoe on the bench, wtf.

02-07-2019, 06:56 PM
USA USA. USA USA USA USA USA USA

Our new American cousins 🇺🇸

SJNB Hibby
02-07-2019, 06:57 PM
Normally a pox on both their houses , USA bc of 2012 Olympics, but Abby Wombat has retired, and I'd love to see Rapinoe stick it right to Trump, so gonna back the Yanks on this one occasion

02-07-2019, 06:58 PM
Rapinoe

:wtf:

02-07-2019, 06:58 PM
Mon the Septic Tanks!

SJNB Hibby
02-07-2019, 07:01 PM
Rapinoe

:wtf:

Took no part in the warm-up apparently---injured or punished?

02-07-2019, 07:02 PM
Certainly caught the public's imagination, full house.

02-07-2019, 07:04 PM
Yanks putting the lionesses under the cosh early on.

02-07-2019, 07:05 PM
A good strong hand my erse. :faf:

Nasty challenge by Scott there, no card, no comment from Johnno Pearce.

Dishing out megs like Paul Cairney

Saturday Boy
02-07-2019, 07:06 PM
Certainly caught the public's imagination, full house.

Both semi-finals and the final were sold out months ago. March or earlier.

02-07-2019, 07:07 PM
Dishing out megs like Paul Cairney

Alex Morgan has a hint of Boozy about her, just with more lustrous hair.

02-07-2019, 07:08 PM
Nasty challenge by Scott there, no card, no comment from Johnno Pearce.

He is the worst commentator ever. Some might find him hilarious but I take football too seriously.

02-07-2019, 07:09 PM
If all for the USA. Just a nod to our new owner

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

one day maybe...
That'll do

Alex Morgan has a hint of Boozy about her, just with more lustrous hair.

Great goal, girl on the right is like Ivan with a better cross

What a fabulous cross, 1-0

Yee Ha.

02-07-2019, 07:10 PM
Was coming.

It’s been one way traffic so far.

Fantastic header!

Great goal - as good a cross and header as you could see in the men's game.

Pick that out!

02-07-2019, 07:12 PM
He is the worst commentator ever. Some might find him hilarious but I take football too seriously.

He was tragic on bt sport doing Ligue 1 last season, replaced a friend of mine on the commentary, he actually advised British people not to visit the stade velodrome because it was so dangerous :dunno:

02-07-2019, 07:14 PM
damn, missed the first 11 mins, soon as i heard the tone of pearce's voice i knew things weren't going great for his team...i then knew it was safe to look at the scoreline

still, long way to go

Saturday Boy
02-07-2019, 07:14 PM
I’m disappointed that the world’s best defender (according to pre match build up) lost her player.

They’re really not as good as the BBC would have us believe.

02-07-2019, 07:15 PM
Haha England

hopefully they get pumped oot,

He was tragic on bt sport doing Ligue 1 last season, replaced a friend of mine on the commentary, he actually advised British people not to visit the stade velodrome because it was so dangerous :dunno:

Oh dear...that's unreal.

He should have been punted after the last World Cup when it was clear that he was the only person in Britain who didn't understand goal-line technology...a commentator...

02-07-2019, 07:16 PM
good finish likes

02-07-2019, 07:16 PM
I’m disappointed that the world’s best defender (according to pre match build up) lost her player.

They’re really not as good as the BBC would have us believe.

Lucy Bronze had had a fantastic tournament, but nobody is perfect. Even Bobby Moore made mistakes for England.

02-07-2019, 07:19 PM
1-1 lovely move.

Another quality move. Classgoal.

Did not see that coming at all

Great finish

Saturday Boy
02-07-2019, 07:20 PM
Good goal. Ellen White is having a great tournament. Man City will be delighted to have signed her for next season.

Great ball in the box again

Good goal out of nowhere.

SJNB Hibby
cracking finish, very composed

Boooooooo......