View Full Version : Women’s World Cup
Pages :
[
3]
14-06-2019, 02:32 PM
Someone on here suggested Scotland women would give Hibs a good game :crazy: Quality is no better than decent standard Under 14 laddies. Never worth paying money to watch.
Officiating is also sub-standard, esp for a World Cup.
No need for this.
14-06-2019, 02:33 PM
Get it forward!
It's too late to build from the back and they end up losing the ball anyway. Man City have a lot to answer for!
14-06-2019, 02:34 PM
off the post from erin cuthbert, tight angle
14-06-2019, 02:36 PM
Clear pen IMO
davhibby
14-06-2019, 02:37 PM
More contact in that than the one they got
14-06-2019, 02:37 PM
There’s definitely another goal in this. Either get caught or get back in it the next five mins.
Mantis Toboggan
14-06-2019, 02:39 PM
Good to see the usual bollocks comments about womens football coming out, guessing you guys have been waiting for this moment to post that - congratulations.
Scotland have got nothing from the referees in the tournament at all.
SJNB Hibby
14-06-2019, 02:39 PM
Jeez, dont they talk to each other?? That was an appaling pass
14-06-2019, 02:41 PM
that's hand ball :confused:
Going from what I've seen so far then surely that's a penalty?
A few penalty shouts for Scotland. That was clear handball from the number 22.
The performance has not lived up to the big build up. And of course being Scottish, circumstances always contrive against us on the park.
14-06-2019, 02:42 PM
Scotland are getting shafted she actually plays the ball with her arm, unbelievable.
14-06-2019, 02:42 PM
I have no idea what the hell is a hand ball now. :confused:
Mantis Toboggan
14-06-2019, 02:44 PM
How is VAR not getting used here? Is there something they are not telling us?
I have no idea what the hell is a hand ball now. :confused:
Neither have the officials. I blame Brexit myself.
at last :greengrin
There’s definitely another goal in this. Either get caught or get back in it the next five mins.
👍
SJNB Hibby
14-06-2019, 02:45 PM
Bloody hell, out of nothing!!
Goal. But too little too late.
Great goal.
lovely goal
Cleland!! Great shot.
Great finish emphasises how done over we have been
14-06-2019, 02:47 PM
Great finish. too little too late.
14-06-2019, 02:48 PM
lol@that throw-in
14-06-2019, 02:49 PM
Great save. A right Andy Goram one with the leading arm.
14-06-2019, 02:49 PM
alas too little too late
14-06-2019, 02:50 PM
try playing emslie from the start next game shelly...go on
14-06-2019, 02:51 PM
That us out then?
14-06-2019, 02:51 PM
That us out then?
Not sure, think the 4 best placed 3rd teams go through, haven’t looked at the other groups yet
14-06-2019, 02:52 PM
try playing emslie from the start next game shelly...go on
Yes totally different when she was on. Been mugged though. What is the point of the VAR when it seems like it didn't get used?
Clearly cheated out of at least one penalty, if that useless ref didn't see them then she shouldn't get another game.
The Japanese are a better team and thats the gist of it.
14-06-2019, 02:53 PM
That us out then?
I think a win against Argentina, if they lose by 2 or more against England, will enough.
14-06-2019, 02:55 PM
Had both teams to score from outside the penalty area at 18's with Hills Yourodds. Surely that's in as both teams scored from outside the box?
14-06-2019, 02:55 PM
The Japanese are a better team and thats the gist of it.
Agree though helps if you get a joke pen and get away with a stonewaller.
14-06-2019, 02:57 PM
3rd could see us face either France/Norway or Germany
StevesFamau5
14-06-2019, 02:58 PM
Absolute dross but anyone who has ever watched womens fitba would have known that it would be.
Should be back in the kitchen making sandwiches or cleaning eh?
Utterly crap comment. Don't like it, don't watch it.. Simple
14-06-2019, 02:58 PM
Had both teams to score from outside the penalty area at 18's with Hills Yourodds. Surely that's in as both teams scored from outside the box?
Definitely did.
14-06-2019, 03:00 PM
Not the best Scottish performance but easily could have nicked a draw there
I fail to see how England got a penalty for handball vs Scotland, when the ball hit the arm when the defenders arm was deemed to be in an unnatural position, yet we didn't get a penalty (no VAR to ask the ref to review) for that handball by the Japanese defender
14-06-2019, 03:07 PM
I mean the pen was a joke tbh but coach has to take the blame, tactics were wrong for me.
14-06-2019, 03:08 PM
bit of perspective from shelly kerr, losing by one goal to both the 3rd and 7th ranked teams in the world...no shame really :agree:
14-06-2019, 03:08 PM
Definitely did.
They settled the bet as lost! Then 5 minutes later changed it to won. Was fuming for 5 minutes haha.
14-06-2019, 03:09 PM
Not sure, think the 4 best placed 3rd teams go through, haven’t looked at the other groups yet
Thanks! Would need to give Argentina a hiding then probably. Glorious failure by a goal or something coming up then.
14-06-2019, 03:10 PM
I think a win against Argentina, if they lose by 2 or more against England, will enough.
Thanks! Erm come on England 😁
hhibs
14-06-2019, 03:14 PM
bit of perspective from shelly kerr, losing by one goal to both the 3rd and 7th ranked teams in the world...no shame really :agree:
Certainly one point of view,another would be she has failed in her tactics in both games and seems totally unaware.
hhibs
14-06-2019, 03:15 PM
They settled the bet as lost! Then 5 minutes later changed it to won. Was fuming for 5 minutes haha.
Mine's a pint !
14-06-2019, 03:15 PM
Certainly one point of view,another would be she has failed in her tactics in both games and seems totally unaware.
Agree with that. Left it far too late in both games and not starting Emslie was a baffling choice. Still hope if we beat Argentina though! Hope we can put in a good 90 minutes
Alan62
14-06-2019, 03:16 PM
Dreadful officiating throughout the game. Offside against Scotland called in the first half immediately before Japan's first goal when the Scottish girl was at least a metre and a half onside. They go straight up the park and score.
Two clear penalty calls for Scotland in the second half - neither reviewed by the VAR team. That's either incompetent or cheating. You decide.
hibIBZ
14-06-2019, 03:18 PM
Tactically the coach got that all wrong, especially in the first half. Defensively we looked all over the place at times.
The officiating was a joke for me. The offside call against Scotland right before the first goal was a complete joke. It would be laughable if Japan hadnt scored less than a minute later. Japan's penalty was as soft as you get. Cuthbert goes down under a similar challenge and nothing. The ball hits a Japanese arm in the box and not even a look on VAR.
hhibs
14-06-2019, 03:20 PM
Dreadful officiating throughout the game. Offside against Scotland called in the first half immediately before Japan's first goal when the Scottish girl was at least a metre and a half onside. They go straight up the park and score.
Two clear penalty calls for Scotland in the second half - neither reviewed by the VAR team. That's either incompetent or cheating. You decide.
Hmm,money from the Japanese market is huge,not that could possibly have anything to do with it !
14-06-2019, 03:26 PM
Tactically the coach got that all wrong, especially in the first half. Defensively we looked all over the place at times.
The officiating was a joke for me. The offside call against Scotland right before the first goal was a complete joke. It would be laughable if Japan hadnt scored less than a minute later. Japan's penalty was as soft as you get. Cuthbert goes down under a similar challenge and nothing. The ball hits a Japanese arm in the box and not even a look on VAR.
Heard a lot of chat about tactically however how much was that down to the players not starting well. Not sure there was much different in both games other than we started playing in the second half with the energy we should have had in the first. Individual errors in first half with a very soft pen against. Can certainly argue about selection as Elmslie was terrific when she came on. Thought Hope Solo was a bit out of order at half time calling out Kerr so publically. Seems a bit of a gob.
ruthven_raiders
14-06-2019, 03:29 PM
There was also another late flag up for offside and Scottish player was yards onside, horrendous from the assistant referee, cheating is a strong word but they were definitely favouring Japan for some reason. They have England in next game so maybe they are making sure they qualify for the knockout stages.
Alan62
14-06-2019, 03:32 PM
There was also another late flag up for offside and Scottish player was yards onside, horrendous from the assistant referee, cheating is a strong word but they were definitely favouring Japan for some reason. They have England in next game so maybe they are making sure they qualify for the knockout stages.
Cheating is a strong word. That's what it looked like to me.
ruthven_raiders
14-06-2019, 03:34 PM
Yup I tend to agree with you, they wanted Japan in knockout stages and being former world champions and with their fan base fifa didn't want to chance it..
14-06-2019, 03:52 PM
To me it was worrying when the officials all came from non-obvious football countries. I think the VAR guy in the van had a couple of pints at lunchtime and fell asleep during the game as he had no involvement whatsoever which was strange given three penalty incidents during the game. Wonder what that wee clown McRae was saying to Infantino during the game. Absolutely done over and as for only 2 mins injury time very odd given the number of subs and a goal in that half.
14-06-2019, 05:57 PM
I notice none of the TV channels mentioned the clear hand ball incident, funny that because if it was england we would have never heard the end of it.
Just sayin...:wink:
14-06-2019, 06:05 PM
Now on main page of BBC. First time I’ve seen it. Absolutely brutal decision. Clearly the Scots show that they expect VAR. Japan is a massive market for FIFA and it is very hard not to see this as a corrupt decision.
Not that a major footballing organisation could possibly be corrupt...
14-06-2019, 06:10 PM
That's as maybe, but with different tactics the Scots could have done much better. 2nd half against England and last 20 mins against Japan showed how these teams struggled when put under pressure. Would be sad for the Scots to go out of the WC with regrets and pride in Glorious Defeat.
14-06-2019, 06:12 PM
I notice none of the TV channels mentioned the clear hand ball incident, funny that because if it was england we would have never heard the end of it.
Just sayin...:wink:
BBC Sport has a clip with the excellent (and ever lovely) Eilidh Barbour, Gemma Faye (where?) and Hans Solo all saying it was a def pen. Another shocker of a decision. It crossed my mind that the communication link from the VAR van to the ref must have been down. Also agree on the injury time, which should have been a minimum of 2.30 for 5 subs, so at least 3 mins. I usually don't go along with all this subterfuge and alleged favouritism by corrupt officials but on this occasion I can't help but think that someone (the four-fingered mob?) have got at someone.
14-06-2019, 06:15 PM
Need the English to thrash the Argies.
C'mon Ingerland.............!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
wallpaperman
14-06-2019, 07:50 PM
England dominant at half time, without being able to break through.
The Argentinian goalkeeper has been magnificent, not just the penalty save, her other work as well.
14-06-2019, 08:04 PM
Jonathan Pearce is just torture to listen to. Seems to be getting worse as the years go on.
14-06-2019, 08:10 PM
'We've seen those given!' away and get to France ya slaver!
14-06-2019, 08:10 PM
Sign the Argy goalie up. Some massive saves !:not worth
14-06-2019, 08:15 PM
Regarding Scotland - agree Shelly got it wrong again.
Wrong line up - why was Emslie not starting ? Fatigue ?!! Surely not dropped ?
Scotland don’t produce enough good defenders - both games the back 4 has been dodgy on and off the ball.
The long ball wasn’t working and the slow build up was similar to England - Japan just set traps to turn the ball over.
Yes England and Japan are higher ranked but Scotland know they could have done better both games.
14-06-2019, 08:25 PM
Jonathan Pearce is just torture to listen to. Seems to be getting worse as the years go on.
can't stand the shouty man's biased style.
14-06-2019, 08:27 PM
Goal for Englandshire......
14-06-2019, 09:48 PM
Regarding Scotland - agree Shelly got it wrong again.
Wrong line up - why was Emslie not starting ? Fatigue ?!! Surely not dropped ?
Scotland don’t produce enough good defenders - both games the back 4 has been dodgy on and off the ball.
The long ball wasn’t working and the slow build up was similar to England - Japan just set traps to turn the ball over.
Yes England and Japan are higher ranked but Scotland know they could have done better both games.
Scotland have some great potential at youth level in the defensive area. Hopefully see them coming in over the next 4 years or so.
14-06-2019, 09:58 PM
What do we need to do to qualify apart from pump the Argies *
* Sorry if Argies is offensive. Cannae see why.
14-06-2019, 10:26 PM
Our midfield is pretty hopeless.
15-06-2019, 12:47 AM
Our midfield is pretty hopeless.
Our midfield is the best it’s ever been. Little is a world known star who can pick her club, and weir could go and play in the states as soon as she likes. Unfortunately both played far too deep until the last 20 mins of both games.
The Baldmans Comb
15-06-2019, 04:18 AM
A dodgy goalkeeper, poor defenders and a misfiring midfield due to them being asked to play holding roles rather than attacking have been the features of a very disappointing campaign.
Its been very rigid and predictable so far from Scotland who really don't seem capable of breaking down what will be a very strong and stuffy Argentina team.
As always the manager takes the plaudits and the blame and it comes down to the last game.
Win and qualify and Kerr is redeemed. Lose or draw and she should be considering her position.
Mainstandman
15-06-2019, 06:43 AM
I’m over her for the games and lots of us can’t believe the how deep the midfield are. They looked good the last 20 when they pushed forward.
Was in the pub last night and the SFA boys came in, Mackay and all that lot, not a single acknowledgement of the fans , including players families that where in there.
15-06-2019, 06:50 AM
I’m over her for the games and lots of us can’t believe the how deep the midfield are. They looked good the last 20 when they pushed forward.
Was in the pub last night and the SFA boys came in, Mackay and all that lot, not a single acknowledgement of the fans , including players families that where in there.
Malky Mackay, that well known promoter of inclusivity and tolerance, not speaking to ordinary fans? Surely not...
15-06-2019, 06:53 AM
A dodgy goalkeeper, poor defenders and a misfiring midfield due to them being asked to play holding roles rather than attacking have been the features of a very disappointing campaign.
Its been very rigid and predictable so far from Scotland who really don't seem capable of breaking down what will be a very strong and stuffy Argentina team.
As always the manager takes the plaudits and the blame and it comes down to the last game.
Win and qualify and Kerr is redeemed. Lose or draw and she should be considering her position.
Alexander was excellent against England.
15-06-2019, 07:50 AM
I agree.
Alexander was solid against England but last night she should have saved that shot.
Scotland doesn’t have enough good goalkeepers.
Even 2nd and 3rd choice Shannon and Jenna while nice people aren’t International standard.
Lee probably should have played last Euros ahead of Gemma Fay but Gemma was undroppable as she was Captain.
Having watched Argentina it will be a tough game for Scotland. Not sure they would get rid of Kerr if they lose though as she seems untouchable right now. But so far the performances haven’t been good enough for the players we have.
ben johnson
15-06-2019, 08:55 AM
It seems the equality the women rightly seek is beginning to drip down to off field matters. Being blanked by SFA officials is a sure sign that you are catching up with the men.
The Baldmans Comb
15-06-2019, 09:19 AM
And poor v Japan.
This is the World Cup not a kickabout at the Meadows and Scotland's goalkeeper was distinctly average when it really mattered but can't be dropped as the back ups are out their depth.
Obviously the manager can only pick the best available and while the defensive set up v England was an understandable tactic it wasn't as necessary v Japan resulting in a dismal 1st half and constant pressure on a weak defensive set up.
No evidence so far that the manager is playing to the strengths of this team which should be the dynamic midfield feeding the forwards.
Every chance to rectify this v Argentina who by nature are a cautious defensive team.
15-06-2019, 09:23 AM
It seems the equality the women rightly seek is beginning to drip down to off field matters. Being blanked by SFA officials is a sure sign that you are catching up with the men.
Scenario 1
SFA officials, faceless to most folk, go into a bar and proceed to introduce themselves to all and sundry "we're from the SFA" blah blah.
Aye very good ya pompous pr1ck, gonnae let us watch the game in peace.
Scenario 2
SFA officials, faceless to most folk, go into a bar and proceed to have a quiet drink, keeping themselves to themselves.
See yon SFA pr1ck5, willnae even say hello.
15-06-2019, 10:02 AM
She also had no chance with the first Japanese goal yesterday. How can anyone put that down as a fault?! She just isnt tall enough.
ben johnson
15-06-2019, 11:23 AM
Scenario 1
SFA officials, faceless to most folk, go into a bar and proceed to introduce themselves to all and sundry "we're from the SFA" blah blah.
Aye very good ya pompous pr1ck, gonnae let us watch the game in peace.
Scenario 2
SFA officials, faceless to most folk, go into a bar and proceed to have a quiet drink, keeping themselves to themselves.
See yon SFA pr1ck5, willnae even say hello.
Malky Mackay isn’t exactly faceless. In fact he was never out the media when he was asking for forgiveness for his indiscretion
It’s a celebration of football and the first time the womens team have been involved at this level. Surely a wee chat for 5 minutes is not beyond them.
SonOfDavidFrancey
15-06-2019, 11:32 AM
It was A very safety first approach to both games . Reading Kerr’s statements she expected to lose both the first two games and hope to get through in 3rd. In fairness both England and Japan were considerably stronger and the women’s teams are so well drilled it might well have been disastrous if Scotland had gone up and at them. But I was disappointed about how much the ball went backwards, especially from right back, and how unwilling they were to take a risk. Hope Solo’s criticism about the positioning of Cuthbert and Little needs to be taken seriously.
15-06-2019, 12:12 PM
She also had no chance with the first Japanese goal yesterday. How can anyone put that down as a fault?! She just isnt tall enough.
Even in a world of utterly horrendous female goalkeepers, she should have done better there.
Aye she’s short. But she can jump. She can stick her arm up straight. She did neither. It was poor.
15-06-2019, 12:40 PM
Even in a world of utterly horrendous female goalkeepers, she should have done better there.
Aye she’s short. But she can jump. She can stick her arm up straight. She did neither. It was poor.
The goals are too big for most of the women goalies. It makes for more goals and thus more entertainment but it's a bit deflating to see the ball sailing over the keeper's head and into the net.
ruthven_raiders
15-06-2019, 12:47 PM
The goals are too big for most of the women goalies. It makes for more goals and thus more entertainment but it's a bit deflating to see the ball sailing over the keeper's head and into the net.
Yeh a fair few are too small, but as the women's game progresses I'm sure eventually most teams will have goalkeepers at least 6ft, just needs more women to take part I guess.
15-06-2019, 01:38 PM
That was some tackle from the Cameroon lassie. They know how to tackle.
15-06-2019, 01:41 PM
Disagree.
15-06-2019, 01:47 PM
Ive been impressed technically with a lot of the players and with some of their pace and athleticism, crossing and shooting. And some goalkeeping.
The biggest weakness Ive seen without a doubt has been decision making though - choosing the wrong option far too often, - not getting the head, up playing the wrong pass or backing off too much.
Some of that might be down to coaching, some of it is uncoachable.
15-06-2019, 01:47 PM
Two well taken goals. Dutch goalie was a bit hesitant.
15-06-2019, 01:52 PM
That was some tackle from the Cameroon lassie. They know how to tackle.
Caught the Dutch lass clean on the arm and she goes down clutching her face , Cheating even exists in Womans football
15-06-2019, 02:25 PM
She can touch the bar. So she is tall enough. Problem was she couldnt see it as a huge CH was static in front of her. Jenna Fife is a better keeper over all imo.
15-06-2019, 02:39 PM
what's with all the classless booing of the cameroon player that was injured earlier, then cheers if she loses the ball, stay classy orange ones
15-06-2019, 02:57 PM
Eilidh barbour is an excellent presenter
15-06-2019, 03:08 PM
Caught the Dutch lass clean on the arm and she goes down clutching her face , Cheating even exists in Womans football
Same with the Japan penalty against us.
Minimal contact and their player went to ground. It was a penalty because that is always given, but you'd be embarrassed to do that in a kickabout with your mates.
15-06-2019, 04:00 PM
what's with all the classless booing of the cameroon player that was injured earlier, then cheers if she loses the ball, stay classy orange ones
Was wondering that myself however they showed at half time a Dutch player tried to give her a drink in a break of play and the Cameroon player smacked the bottle out of her hand spraying the water everywhere. Totally unnecessary and seen by most of the dutch fans.
15-06-2019, 04:22 PM
She can touch the bar. So she is tall enough. Problem was she couldnt see it as a huge CH was static in front of her. Jenna Fife is a better keeper over all imo.
Disagree
15-06-2019, 04:26 PM
Disagree
That’s fine. 👍
15-06-2019, 04:30 PM
That’s fine. 👍
Dont think anyone of her height has a chance with a shot hit at that pace. Unfair criticism i feel.
15-06-2019, 05:18 PM
Eilidh barbour is an excellent presenter
Comes across as a natural but clearly does her homework, whether football or golf. Was a very decent golfer herself I gather. Bonny too. (Cue criticism from MWC.) Gabs is good, but I think Eilidh will soon take over as the top female sports presenter.
15-06-2019, 08:18 PM
Scotland have some great potential at youth level in the defensive area. Hopefully see them coming in over the next 4 years or so.
Not having a go..
But are you sure ??
From what I’ve seen and coaches I’ve spoken too the lack of decent defenders is a major concern.
15-06-2019, 08:25 PM
Not having a go..
But are you sure ??
From what I’ve seen and coaches I’ve spoken too the lack of decent defenders is a major concern.
There are some quality CH at 15/16. A few of them already playing first team football. I’m not a huge fan of the FT SFA coaches and their ability to bring them into the National squads. SFA seems to have an obsession with putting meat onto players rather than making them more physical athletes.
15-06-2019, 08:27 PM
Never a big fan of this statement.
The goal size is fine.
Same with tennis net size etc.
The issue I feel is that there isn’t really enough goalkeepers playing football.
More needs to be done to increase the number playing that position and over time you will get a higher level.
The keepers have certainly improved over the last few years at major competitions but I’m sure if Shelly was asked she would privately say we aren’t producing enough and her hands are tied with what she is picking.
15-06-2019, 08:30 PM
Never a big fan of this statement.
The goal size is fine.
Same with tennis net size etc.
The issue I feel is that there isn’t really enough goalkeepers playing football.
More needs to be done to increase the number playing that position and over time you will get a higher level.
The keepers have certainly improved over the last few years at major competitions but I’m sure if Shelly was asked she would privately say we aren’t producing enough and her hands are tied with what she is picking.
Agree with this. Not a lot of goalies out there.
15-06-2019, 08:33 PM
There are some quality CH at 15/16. A few of them already playing first team football. I’m not a huge fan of the FT SFA coaches and their ability to bring them into the National squads. SFA seems to have an obsession with putting meat onto players rather than making them more physical athletes.
Not sure..having watched some of the youth international games recently at Oriam etc we are still far behind when it comes to the level of other nations.
I know Glasgow City, Hibs, Spartans and Celtic (who seem to hover up lots of youth talent) have some decent defenders for Scottish level but like Corsie and Beattie we need a Kim Little level standard player at the back of we are to improve / continue qualifying for tournaments.
I think we continue to produce midfield and attackers but we will concede if defenders aren’t coached better / keepers aren’t recruited.
15-06-2019, 08:35 PM
Going to be raging if Canada don’t win this. Commentator is getting on my nerves too.
15-06-2019, 08:38 PM
Not sure..having watched some of the youth international games recently at Oriam etc we are still far behind when it comes to the level of other nations.
I know Glasgow City, Hibs, Spartans and Celtic (who seem to hover up lots of youth talent) have some decent defenders for Scottish level but like Corsie and Beattie we need a Kim Little level standard player at the back of we are to improve / continue qualifying for tournaments.
I think we continue to produce midfield and attackers but we will concede if defenders aren’t coached better / keepers aren’t recruited.
I think we continue to miss some great players at international level. At regional level they often don’t even pick natural defenders.
15-06-2019, 08:39 PM
Back on topic 2-0 Canada.
15-06-2019, 08:56 PM
I think we continue to miss some great players at international level. At regional level they often don’t even pick natural defenders.
SJNB Hibby
15-06-2019, 09:24 PM
Back on topic 2-0 Canada.
15-06-2019, 09:47 PM
Was wondering that myself however they showed at half time a Dutch player tried to give her a drink in a break of play and the Cameroon player smacked the bottle out of her hand spraying the water everywhere. Totally unnecessary and seen by most of the dutch fans.
ta for explaining what happened :aok: i'l take them off my 'dislike' list again, for the time being :)
Comes across as a natural but clearly does her homework, whether football or golf. Was a very decent golfer herself I gather. Bonny too. (Cue criticism from MWC.) Gabs is good, but I think Eilidh will soon take over as the top female sports presenter.
very knowledgeable :agree: it's nice having two scots girls as very decent sports presenters...Hazel Irvine being the other
15-06-2019, 10:30 PM
Eilidh is a player herself. Was turning out for thistle prior to a recent injury.
16-06-2019, 09:39 AM
the lassie got touched in the box, penalty surely ?
I'm biting my tongue here.
The dalmeny
16-06-2019, 11:21 AM
Shot went clean over Alexander's head.
The goals are just too big. It's a large area for a big bloke to defend let alone someone of smaller frame.
I have an acquaintance who plays college soccer in the state and is pretty good this is her take on it
The reality is that the quality of women's goalkeeping isn't as good as it could be or should be. This could be because of lack of coaching, improper coaching, not learning the necessary fundamentals of the position, lack of athleticism, etc. There is no reason to play in smaller goals just because some of the goalkeepers are missing the mark. I stand at around 171cm but do not struggle with shots over my head very often because I trained the proper technique and established a strong plyometric base in order to be athletic enough to reach the higher shots. As well as this, women in many of these foreign countries have not had access to quality coaching, nor have they been playing the game for very long. Many are only recently being granted permission to play the game even. Take Argentina for example; the women's team ceased to exist in 2016 due to lack of their country's support, then only played a few friendly games against U.S. universities (including my own) in order to prepare for the world stage. This is because they did not have equal OPPORTUNITY, not equal compensation for their play. Playing in smaller goals would hinder the necessary progress that the women's game needs. Until the women's game garners the support and viewership, and until more countries begin to reach a standard of play that is comparable to that of the U.S., Japan, England, etc., we should all be advocating for equal opportunity to play the game, rather than equal pay. We should advocate for the women's teams to get a chance to represent their country with financial backing for the programs themselves first, and let the players establish their worth for a decent salary. But this would all come with time, and downgrading the women to smaller goals would stretch this timeline significantly. Just my two cents.
From what I see of age group girls football here The standard of goalkeeping coming through unfortunately isn't great
16-06-2019, 02:54 PM
The last few results, where the bottom two teams in the other groups have been well beaten, is potentially good news for Scotland. I think if USA hammer Chile later on, and we beat Argentina by a couple of goals, we now have good chance of qualifying as one of the best 3rd place teams.
16-06-2019, 02:59 PM
**** sake the Thais scored. There goes my bet. 😂😂
16-06-2019, 02:59 PM
The last few results, where the bottom two teams in the other groups have been well beaten, is potentially good news for Scotland. I think if USA hammer Chile later on, and we beat Argentina by a couple of goals, we now have good chance of qualifying as one of the best 3rd place teams.depending on France v Nigeria we might only need a win.
Argentina will need to beat us too so hopefully can't sit too deep.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
16-06-2019, 04:21 PM
Not even a yellow card there for the US midfielder planting her knee right into the Chileans ribs. Looked like she was going for the ball but in the current climate that's a red card for dangerous play. And I suggest it would have been in most instances against a big nation. Again, lack of consistency.
16-06-2019, 04:27 PM
More horrendous officiating: never a bloody corner!
16-06-2019, 04:36 PM
3-0 USA.
I can’t decide if they’re just THAT good, or if Chile are just awful.
16-06-2019, 04:41 PM
we want the US to run up the score here. chiles last game is Thailand which they'll win so a massive dent to their goal difference helps us.
16-06-2019, 04:46 PM
More horrendous officiating: never a bloody corner!
VAR is engendering a climate of complacency among the officials IMO.
16-06-2019, 04:48 PM
I'm biting my tongue here.
:hilarious woopsy
16-06-2019, 05:24 PM
dammit, this chilean keeper could quite possibly keep her team in the cup
16-06-2019, 05:41 PM
This VAR carry on is becoming farcical.
USA just awarded a penalty that actually got reviewed, despite the foul being committed about 2 yards outside the box.
Thankfully justice was done and it was put wide but someone really needs to get a grip of this as it's starting to get out of hand.
AugustaHibs
16-06-2019, 05:47 PM
I don’t want to be a downer but why does it seem like 80% of players in this competition can only kick the ball the way they’re facing?
16-06-2019, 05:50 PM
Nothing to do with VAR. The ref made the decision.
It was never inside the box so I’m not sure why the ref interpreted it otherwise. Also still no explanation or understanding of why the Japan handball v Scotland wasn’t looked at. That is a VAR issue. And a bit of a mystery.
17-06-2019, 05:50 AM
It was never inside the box so I’m not sure why the ref interpreted it otherwise. Also still no explanation or understanding of why the Japan handball v Scotland wasn’t looked at. That is a VAR issue. And a bit of a mystery.
Agree surprisingly little said about the officiating in that game Scotland should have made much more of it. Arguably 2 pens should have been given in second half one an utter stonewaller the other less obvious but still a penalty.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/world-cup-could-lead-to-fully-professional-scottish-league-sfa-s-ian-maxwell-1-4948180
I’d like to see Hibs building on the success if its women’s team and tradition of nurturing talent
17-06-2019, 06:58 AM
3-0 USA.
I can’t decide if they’re just THAT good, or if Chile are just awful.
Lucky the USA don't have to play an U15 boys team in this tournament
17-06-2019, 07:34 AM
Did VAR not highlight it as possible penalty so they would have had some influence. Staggering decision.
IMO get used to bigger nations getting decisions. Can remember when Canada were beating US in2012 Olympics and some of the decisions to turn that game around were corrupt imo.
17-06-2019, 08:28 AM
This VAR carry on is becoming farcical.
USA just awarded a penalty that actually got reviewed, despite the foul being committed about 2 yards outside the box.
Thankfully justice was done and it was put wide but someone really needs to get a grip of this as it's starting to get out of hand.
It starts outside but continues inside. Again its the rules that are the issue. VAR just allows the ref to look at it again and if she sees continued interference in the box she will give a pen.
17-06-2019, 08:37 AM
Lucky the USA don't have to play an U15 boys team in this tournament
Are people actually aware that the "defeat" to the u15s boys team was just a friendly kick about the day before they were actually playing Russia in a tournament?
17-06-2019, 09:04 AM
No need for this.
So, the mens team are fair game on here for dogs abuse but, the women are not to be criticised, seems fair.
17-06-2019, 10:36 AM
So, the mens team are fair game on here for dogs abuse but, the women are not to be criticised, seems fair.
17-06-2019, 11:04 AM
If the criticism is blatantly sexist then yes it should be picked up on. Or if its just blindly wrong. Same goes for the mens game. Saying things like people shouldn't be paying to watch this is just nonsense. People are paying to watch it and are enjoying it.
Mantis Toboggan
17-06-2019, 11:50 AM
Mens team aren't fair for 'dogs abuse' either
Ozymandias
17-06-2019, 12:08 PM
The SFA do a lot of really good work in the womens game, but some of the national team coaches at age groups are, basically, lazy. The composition of the squads at u14 are seldom much different in the names involved as the players age. I know many girls who are stars at 13 but, as with boys, drop away in standard for any number of reasons. The coaches are visible by their absence at games. I know for a fact that a current age group manager never attended the schools fa finals at toryglen, featuring almost all of her squad for the three years when the players would have been relevant. Laziness.
17-06-2019, 01:13 PM
The SFA do a lot of really good work in the womens game, but some of the national team coaches at age groups are, basically, lazy. The composition of the squads at u14 are seldom much different in the names involved as the players age. I know many girls who are stars at 13 but, as with boys, drop away in standard for any number of reasons. The coaches are visible by their absence at games. I know for a fact that a current age group manager never attended the schools fa finals at toryglen, featuring almost all of her squad for the three years when the players would have been relevant. Laziness.
Yep - and you never see them at league games.
17-06-2019, 01:49 PM
so, groups that will concern Scotland
tonight
Group A....3rd probably through
Group B....Spain v China...both on 3 points but we prefer China to win
tuesday
Group C...3rd almost certainly through
Wednesday...us
Thursday
Group E..Cameroon v New Zealand..both on 0 points and -3 goals
Group F...Chile v Thailand...both on 0 points, Chile -5 and Thailand -280
two 3rd places up for grabs i reckon
17-06-2019, 02:09 PM
We need to do better than 2 of the teams don't we? The Thursday groups would be the ones to watch out for I would imagine, if we can do enough on Wednesday.
Group A would be likely as well actually. Nigeria play France and already on -1. So long as France win and we win then we'd be above them in the pecking order.
For group B would we not prefer a Spain win? That would make China 3rd and they would have a worse GD?
17-06-2019, 02:33 PM
We need to do better than 2 of the teams don't we? The Thursday groups would be the ones to watch out for I would imagine, if we can do enough on Wednesday.
Group A would be likely as well actually. Nigeria play France and already on -1. So long as France win and we win then we'd be above them in the pecking order.
For group B would we not prefer a Spain win? That would make China 3rd and they would have a worse GD?
you're right with that, if spain and us both won 1-0 we would be -1 along with china, if china won 1-0 spain would be 0, so yep :agree: what we do NOT want is them playing out a draw and both ending on 4 points, i wonder if they realise that :greengrin runners-up in group B play USA/Sweden...maybe one of them will prefer to get beat :)
17-06-2019, 04:49 PM
HT
South Africa 0 Germany 3
China 0 Spain 0............................................... Fix :wink:
17-06-2019, 05:20 PM
you're right with that, if spain and us both won 1-0 we would be -1 along with china, if china won 1-0 spain would be 0, so yep :agree: what we do NOT want is them playing out a draw and both ending on 4 points, i wonder if they realise that :greengrin runners-up in group B play USA/Sweden...maybe one of them will prefer to get beat :)
If Spain V China stays 0v0 that really doesn’t help Scotland does it ?
17-06-2019, 05:26 PM
No, because we can only get 3 points
Need Spain to win around 2-0
17-06-2019, 05:27 PM
nope, they would both be on four points
17-06-2019, 05:34 PM
spain should just take their keeper off, the chinese have no intentions of scoring, they know a point takes them through
i hope trump hits them with more Tariffs
:)
17-06-2019, 05:44 PM
it's between us/Argentina. chile, Nigeria and Cameroon.
as I said further up the thread.
hopefully France pump Nigeria later, but a win will be enough. as long as we win and Cameroon don't win or Chile don't score 4+ against Thailand we'll be fine.
17-06-2019, 05:46 PM
it's between us/Argentina. chile, Nigeria and Cameroon.
as I said further up the thread.
hopefully France pump Nigeria later, but a win will be enough. as long as we win and Cameroon don't win or Chile don't score 4+ against Thailand we'll be fine.
Jimmy, think you should go on Countdown
17-06-2019, 05:47 PM
Jimmy, think you should go on CountdownI work during the day Billy. [emoji23]
17-06-2019, 05:52 PM
the great wall of china
for 94 mins
17-06-2019, 06:03 PM
Mens team aren't fair for 'dogs abuse' either
On here the Scottish men's team certainly is.
17-06-2019, 07:35 PM
Still trying to work out if Spain and China were just s##t or if it was a carve up?
17-06-2019, 07:43 PM
Still trying to work out if Spain and China were just s##t or if it was a carve up?
:dunno:100% fixed.
this France game is going same way.
17-06-2019, 07:49 PM
100% fixed.
this France game is going same way.
Can’t see France not wanting to win at home, Jimmy
17-06-2019, 07:58 PM
Can’t see France not wanting to win at home, JimmyMaybe but a draw suits both and they've left Le Sommer on the bench who is their best player.
17-06-2019, 08:17 PM
Well I could have netted that one. Sitter.
17-06-2019, 08:18 PM
how on gods great earth can she miss that...maybe she just really didn't want to score :(
17-06-2019, 08:21 PM
Come on, France
17-06-2019, 08:27 PM
Come on, France
It's been a bad night for Scotland so far. Even a 1-0 France win is sufficient to put Nigeria out.
17-06-2019, 08:29 PM
It's been a bad night for Scotland so far. Even a 1-0 France win is sufficient to put Nigeria out.it's been howling. France win and a Cameroon draw will mean a win puts us through. this is a dead rubber. they're not arsed
17-06-2019, 08:30 PM
It's been a bad night for Scotland so far. Even a 1-0 France win is sufficient to put Nigeria out.
It's got the makings of a horror story if France don't win..
VAR....
Ozymandias
17-06-2019, 08:34 PM
Gies a break
Edit - break given...
17-06-2019, 08:35 PM
She'll miss again!!!
Probably devastated it has to be retaken!
17-06-2019, 08:35 PM
We've maybe just got one!
17-06-2019, 08:37 PM
BUT!!!!!! Allez l'Ecosse!!!!!!
Ozymandias
17-06-2019, 08:37 PM
Get in.
17-06-2019, 08:38 PM
VAR is mental...
Fine penalty the second time tho!
17-06-2019, 08:38 PM
:sauzee:
I'll take it but that was very dodgy officiating.
17-06-2019, 08:41 PM
I think it was a penalty. but the standard has been awful the whole competition.
we've got to go win our game though.
17-06-2019, 08:42 PM
I am going to be in Nice this weekend. Notice there is a game there on Saturday night. Can't work out who it is that will be playing? Anyone help?
17-06-2019, 08:42 PM
i wonder how strictly a keepers foot being on the line at a penalty will be adhered to
17-06-2019, 08:45 PM
easier to score that header
17-06-2019, 08:45 PM
I am going to be in Nice this weekend. Notice there is a game there on Saturday night. Can't work out who it is that will be playing? Anyone help?
Just Jimmy is your man😄
17-06-2019, 08:48 PM
One of the things about tournament football is boring draws where teams are happy to get through.
If they ranked the teams based on points scored etc rather than having it pre-planned I think fewer games would end up like that. Then 1v16, 2v15 etc.
Alternative would be seeding the ties 1-8 and drawing the 9-16 out of the hat.
In that scenario both Spain and China would be in the bottom 8.
Saturday Boy
17-06-2019, 08:51 PM
Looking like Norway v. Runner up in the Australia/ Italy group.
The stadium is 12km out of town, but there were free shuttle buses from the fan zone at the Scotland v. England game. Have a great time. Expect to pay around €8 for a large beer.
17-06-2019, 08:56 PM
What's the rule there...
Keeper bounced the ball then missed it and it bounced twice before she touched it again.
Should she have been allowed to gather it again in her hands??
Saturday Boy
17-06-2019, 09:06 PM
i wonder how strictly a keepers foot being on the line at a penalty will be adhered to
Latest info (from one of the Scotland keepers), is that they have all been made aware of the new interpretation of the laws.
This tournament is a dry run for the season ahead.
That’s Aberdeen’s cup form finished.
17-06-2019, 09:13 PM
Latest info (from one of the Scotland keepers), is that they have all been made aware of the new interpretation of the laws.
This tournament is a dry run for the season ahead.
That’s Aberdeen’s cup form finished.
surely that will only be games using VAR yep ? it's impossible for a referee to watch for everything going on at a penalty, keepers foot on the line, players encroaching into the box, he can't watch out for everything
17-06-2019, 09:14 PM
surely that will only be games using VAR yep ? it's impossible for a referee to watch for everything at a penalty, keepers foot on the line, players encroaching in to the box, he can't watch out for everything
Should lino not be watching goalie?
Saturday Boy
surely that will only be games using VAR yep ? it's impossible for a referee to watch for everything going on at a penalty, keepers foot on the line, players encroaching in to the box, he can't watch out for everything
Have you ever wondered what the assistant referee is looking at?
surely that will only be games using VAR yep ? it's impossible for a referee to watch for everything going on at a penalty, keepers foot on the line, players encroaching into the box, he can't watch out for everything
Is that not why the assistant is there for penalties?
17-06-2019, 09:17 PM
Have you ever wondered what the assistant referee is looking at?
but that would mean them actually having to do some work :greengrin
i've always just watched for the keeper saving it..or not ;)
17-06-2019, 09:22 PM
Looking like Norway v. Runner up in the Australia/ Italy group.
The stadium is 12km out of town, but there were free shuttle buses from the fan zone at the Scotland v. England game. Have a great time. Expect to pay around €8 for a large beer.
Thanks for the information.
Saturday Boy
17-06-2019, 09:46 PM
Thanks for the information.
No problem.
Match tickets are still available on the FIFA website, print at home only .
Link attached. I’m on my phone so you may need to copy and paste.
https://tickets.fwwc19.fr/?tkn=16-7t4Q0z2U0Tb15p2Q0naM501N505g0A0GvNLP0DPat5o=&tkn=16-7t7j0L1d048N0B8F0S0o0g0R5z4I0p19mbMnmetqpmE=&token=vruWfJj54xuH7t9GCA0xKw-iEM7JwmoMOAKUpaOpHsI
The website is a bit of pain to navigate, but you’ll get there.
Have a great time, whether you get to the football or not.
17-06-2019, 10:08 PM
No problem.
Match tickets are still available on the FIFA website, print at home only .
Link attached. I’m on my phone so you may need to copy and paste.
https://tickets.fwwc19.fr/?tkn=16-7t4Q0z2U0Tb15p2Q0naM501N505g0A0GvNLP0DPat5o=&tkn=16-7t7j0L1d048N0B8F0S0o0g0R5z4I0p19mbMnmetqpmE=&token=vruWfJj54xuH7t9GCA0xKw-iEM7JwmoMOAKUpaOpHsI
The website is a bit of pain to navigate, but you’ll get there.
Have a great time, whether you get to the football or not.
Thanks. I will definitely look into it.
18-06-2019, 06:18 PM
I would say it is just a bit of officialdom backing the tournament holders, its not as if the keeper saved it, it went by the post, so did nothing to hamper the course of the ball???
Can't wait to see it here in Scotland, it will be worse than manic!!!!!
18-06-2019, 06:59 PM
A big Italy win would put Brazil 3rd and catchable (they're on +2 as it stands) if anyone is looking for Scottish interest in tonight's games.
18-06-2019, 07:29 PM
Pretty full on game so far...clearly the Brazilians and the Italians don’t particularly like each other!
No goals so far but a half decent game to watch [emoji736]
18-06-2019, 08:14 PM
A big Italy win would put Brazil 3rd and catchable (they're on +2 as it stands) if anyone is looking for Scottish interest in tonight's games.
If Scotland win tomorrow then I think they'll qualify as long as Chile don't beat Thailand by something like 5 or 6 goals on Thursday.
18-06-2019, 08:27 PM
Yes - except when we play Aberdeen
18-06-2019, 08:30 PM
not looking so good for us now
only one 3rd spot left i think
18-06-2019, 08:35 PM
Cameroon and Chile are both on nil points with worse goal difference than us.
Have faith. :agree:
18-06-2019, 08:39 PM
Cameroon and Chile are both on nil points with worse goal difference that us.
Have faith. :agree:Cameroon play new Zealand so we really need a draw or a 1-0 win in that for new Zealand. if Chile score enough to fix the GD even with us winning then they'll replace us on goals scored.
winning our game will be the hardest part so I wouldn't count our chickens yet.
I've always said it would come down to us/Argentina, Nigeria, Cameroon and Chile.
18-06-2019, 08:41 PM
If we win we go above Nigeria on goal difference, as long as Chile don't hammer Thailand then we'll go through as one of the top 4 3rd placed sides.
18-06-2019, 08:42 PM
Yes - except when we play Aberdeen
So glad I didn't go to that one :-(
18-06-2019, 08:44 PM
Cameroon and Chile are both on nil points with worse goal difference than us.
Have faith. :agree:
i think chile will take 5 off of thailand leaving them 0 GD, and i don't think we will score two against Argentina, neither england or japan could
18-06-2019, 08:47 PM
If we win we go above Nigeria on goal difference, as long as Chile don't hammer Thailand then we'll go through as one of the top 4 3rd placed sides.
i think they will :(
18-06-2019, 08:47 PM
The trusting anyone not to hammer Thailand bit is the weakness in that scenario. This has sadly got glorious failure written all over it.
18-06-2019, 08:50 PM
If Scotland win tomorrow then I think they'll qualify as long as Chile don't beat Thailand by something like 5 or 6 goals on Thursday.
I wouldn't bet against that happening to be fair. :dunno:
We would need to hope whoever wins between Cameroon and NZ only win by 2 goals as well.
Edit: forgot France scored at the end and we'd be above Nigeria. So only need 1 eventuality to come true
.. and Scotland to win. :greengrin
Saturday Boy
18-06-2019, 09:00 PM
I wouldn't bet against that happening to be fair. :dunno:
We would need to hope whoever wins between Cameroon and NZ only win by 2 goals as well.
Edit: forgot France scored at the end and we'd be above Nigeria. So only need 1 eventuality to come true
.. and Scotland to win. :greengrin
It’s okay for you guys watching at home, but you wouldn’t believe how expensive it is in France for the World Cup.
I could have been on a Hawaiian cruise for this money , but there’s no football there 🏴
A pizza and two beers for €30 in Nice.
And don’t get me started on proper restaurants 😂
Still been a great time supporting SWNT 🏴🏴
18-06-2019, 09:00 PM
So Australia v Norway in Nice this weekend.
18-06-2019, 09:04 PM
The trusting anyone not to hammer Thailand bit is the weakness in that scenario. This has sadly got glorious failure written all over it.
If Argentina win then it will have been inglorious failure.
Saturday Boy
18-06-2019, 09:09 PM
So Australia v Norway in Nice this weekend.
Enjoy, even if you can’t make the game.
They don’t call it Nice for no reason 😂😂😂
I’m sure that they will still be talking about the Scots.
No Scotland no party 🏴🏴🏴
18-06-2019, 10:28 PM
Matildas still not firing on all cylinders, but the predatory Sam Kerr is always a possible match winner, as she showed with her 4 goals.
Jamaica were full of athletic prowess, and had a few players who were more than a match for their rivals.
4 am kick off not the best though..even if I did watch it from my kip!
19-06-2019, 02:37 AM
4 best 3rd placed teams go through.
Brazil and China have already claimed 2 of the spots.
The last 2 are between, providing we win against Argentina,- us, Nigeria, Cameroon, New Zealand,Chile, Thailand
Fixtures:
Nigeria none left to play, on 3 points, -2 GD
Us - 0 points -2 GD
Cameron & New Zealand 0 points both on -3 (last game is vs each other)
Chile & Thailand both 0 points, -5 & -17 GD (play each other last game)
So. We can safely count of Thailand. One of Cameroon and New Zealand will miss out so as long as one doesnt win by a huge difference. Its not much but we are 1 goal difference better off than both of them.
We are 2 goals better off than Chile, but that might not count for much seeing as they're going to be playing Thailand.
So by my reckoning, provided we of course beat Argentina, I think we have a great chance of going through and I think it'll be along with Chile making up the last two 3rd place spots.
🤞
19-06-2019, 06:02 AM
If Argentina win then it will have been inglorious failure.
Oh, yeah. There’s that possibility too :boo hoo:
Thanks for leaving that cold, sharp fact out to smack me in the face first thing in the morning!:greengrin
19-06-2019, 09:36 AM
Scotland are on zero points with only one game left.
If it's true, as some have suggested, that they could still qualify for the next round by winning their remaining match, then the rules really need to be changed.
19-06-2019, 09:38 AM
If it's true, as some have suggested, that they could still qualify for the next round by winning their remaining match, then the rules really need to be changed.
Why?
19-06-2019, 10:05 AM
I think it's the same as the Euros were last time around. Possibly also the next Men's World cup too actually.
I'd agree generally though - I don't think 3rd placed teams out of 4 should qualify for the next stages.
patlowe
19-06-2019, 10:17 AM
At the end of the day, if Scotland get through then they would be in the top 16 teams at the tournament, so if you want a knockout round with 16 teams then they deserve to be there.
If the tournament had started with 16 teams then Scotland would still likely be there as group winners in qualifying. And if it was 32 teams then it's likely the group would be easier to get out of anyway.
I guess the notion of seeing a 3rd place team qualify is a bit odd but we need to get used to this debate given the expansion of the Euros and World Cup in the men's game.
19-06-2019, 01:18 PM
I think it's the same as the Euros were last time around. Possibly also the next Men's World cup too actually.
I'd agree generally though - I don't think 3rd placed teams out of 4 should qualify for the next stages.
Is the Scotland game on TV tonight ? engerland are on the ex BBC now called EBC.
19-06-2019, 01:22 PM
is the scotland game on tv tonight ? Engerland are on the ex bbc now called ebc.
bbc4
19-06-2019, 01:31 PM
bbc4
Cheers Billy
19-06-2019, 01:50 PM
And BBC Alba.
19-06-2019, 04:25 PM
Why?
There shouldn't be any kind of reward for winning one game and losing the other two. That's three points out of a possible nine.
Any team in any tournament should be packing for home, as they would have been in most World Cup and Euro Tournaments.
No rewards for failure.
19-06-2019, 04:31 PM
so what would the format be for the 12 teams that have qualified from the 6 groups :dunno: it needs to go 4,8,16
6 group winners and the best 2 runners-up ?
19-06-2019, 04:37 PM
There shouldn't be any kind of reward for winning one game and losing the other two. That's three points out of a possible nine.
Any team in any tournament should be packing for home, as they would have been in most World Cup and Euro Tournaments.
No rewards for failure.
It wouldnt be failure they are the rules.
19-06-2019, 04:41 PM
It wouldnt be failure they are the rules.
You can change the rules to suit any situation, but I'd view that as failure.
19-06-2019, 04:51 PM
So having qualified for the World Cup for the first time in their history and qualifying from their group (something the men's team have never done) would be failure?
I think I have heard everything now
You can only play by the rules in force
If they say you qualify then you do
No if's but's or maybe's
19-06-2019, 04:55 PM
The same format was in place at Euro 2016.
Qualifying for the knockout rounds in a major international tournament is never a failure, regardless of how you have done it.
19-06-2019, 05:07 PM
Ok give Shelley a phone tell the girls not to bother tonight. 😄
19-06-2019, 05:08 PM
The same format was in place at Euro 2016.
Qualifying for the knockout rounds in a major international tournament is never a failure, regardless of how you have done it.
Also been used in previous World cups.
LeithMike
19-06-2019, 05:14 PM
If it's true, as some have suggested, that they could still qualify for the next round by winning their remaining match, then the rules really need to be changed.It's not how you start but how you finish. . . .
Belgium finished 3rd in their group in Mexico '86 and got to the semi-finals while Argentina finished 3rd in their group in Italia 90 and got to the final. While finishing 2nd in their group in Espana '82 , Italy went on to win it having not won a game in their group.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Here’s Lucy!
19-06-2019, 05:19 PM
To progress further tonight would be a tremendous achievement, and something that the Nancy boys can only dream of!
Come on Scotland, do us proud.
Here’s Lucy!
19-06-2019, 05:21 PM
Ok give Shelley a phone tell the girls not to bother tonight. 😄
I laughed at that!
You're right though, that's almost what the post you quoted sounded like.
19-06-2019, 05:26 PM
we'll need a bit of luck and to play really well, neither which have happened for us so far.
I would love it (Keegan style) if we do it but I'll take a win and ole for the best.
ben johnson
19-06-2019, 05:39 PM
It’s one of the changes FIFA and UEFA have brought in that can be termed a success imo. No dead rubbers just games that mean something if you win. Tonight’s game will be avidly watched in Scotland and Argentina and that can only be good for the Women’s game. It’s about growing the game not watching the usual suspects hogging the limelight and if we go through
tonight it will enthuse a lot of viewers in Scotland and they may just take up the game.
19-06-2019, 06:26 PM
If Scotland are drawing at half time they will win. They always seem to play with more freedom(pardon pun) last half hour.
19-06-2019, 06:29 PM
It’s one of the changes FIFA and UEFA have brought in that can be termed a success imo. No dead rubbers just games that mean something if you win. Tonight’s game will be avidly watched in Scotland and Argentina and that can only be good for the Women’s game. It’s about growing the game not watching the usual suspects hogging the limelight and if we go through
tonight it will enthuse a lot of viewers in Scotland and they may just take up the game.
Indeed, 'mon the Ladies...:thumbsup:
19-06-2019, 06:36 PM
i'm liking the 3-4-3
19-06-2019, 06:38 PM
Emslie starts , Good stuff , You got that one wrong leaving her on the bench last game Shelley
19-06-2019, 06:40 PM
Fingers crossed for the girls tonight. Really hope they can make it
19-06-2019, 06:44 PM
If you had told me a year ago that not only would I know most of the names of the Scottish wimmen's fitba team but also that I would be looking forward to watching them I would have said that you were :crazy:
:saltireflag
19-06-2019, 06:45 PM
BBC 4 HD or Alba - ko in 15 mins
Huge game - Kerr needs to make sure we deliver as we have under performed so far.
19-06-2019, 06:50 PM
wonder where that fan got that yellow and blue top
19-06-2019, 06:53 PM
hope it's not that ethiopian referee again
19-06-2019, 06:55 PM
BBC 4 HD or Alba - ko in 15 mins
Huge game - Kerr needs to make sure we deliver as we have under performed so far.
Let's hope there's a Henderson in there somewhere...
19-06-2019, 06:57 PM
I feel they banged their national anthem out a bit more emotionally than we managed there.
19-06-2019, 06:58 PM
The BBC censoring flower of Scotland.
****ing disgrace of a national broadcaster.
19-06-2019, 06:58 PM
The BBC censoring flower of Scotland.
****ing disgrace of a national broadcaster.
19-06-2019, 07:01 PM
Sure they muted the ‘we can still rise now’ line.
19-06-2019, 07:01 PM
Sure they muted the ‘we can still rise as a nation’ line.
That's an impressive level of paranoia.
19-06-2019, 07:08 PM
That's an impressive level of paranoia.
Especially from someone who doesn't know the words. :greengrin
19-06-2019, 07:10 PM
If Scotland win do they qualify for knockout stages?
19-06-2019, 07:11 PM
Sure they muted the ‘we can still rise now’ line.
Listening to scouse accents for years is bound to make you deaf.......
IrnBru22
19-06-2019, 07:13 PM
Argentina penalised for a foul throw. First time I’ve seen that given in years.
19-06-2019, 07:15 PM
If Scotland win do they qualify for knockout stages?
It's a possibility depending on results in other groups. We could do with scoring a few.
19-06-2019, 07:16 PM
our passing has been pretty poor, argentina have been attacking more in the first 14 mins than they have done in the previous 180
our number 3 docherty didn't even jump there