View Full Version : Women’s World Cup
Pages :
[
2]
StevesFamau5
09-06-2019, 05:40 PM
Scotland have been far better second half. They deserve something out of this game
09-06-2019, 05:41 PM
Little, Cuthbert , weir have all been excellent today.
The keeper has been superb as well. 3 really good saves and has looked pretty composed overall.
09-06-2019, 05:42 PM
lol@ that shot of a wee lassie rather excited when we scored :greengrin
Was she even Scottish. Thought she had an England flag painted on her cheek.
09-06-2019, 05:42 PM
Aim for their hands! :greengrin
:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag
09-06-2019, 05:43 PM
The keeper has been superb as well. 3 really good saves and has looked pretty composed overall.
Yep. The one where she had to change direction middive was the best. Eye on the ball all the time.
09-06-2019, 05:46 PM
Was she even Scottish. Thought she had an England flag painted on her cheek.
i thought at first she was maybe just a local neutral, the folk she ran to didn't have colours on...i think
09-06-2019, 05:48 PM
the english squad will be pretty happy to hear the fina
09-06-2019, 05:49 PM
get SJM on for the last 2 mins
Beattie is just ****ing hopeless, tried to clear and hit the side of her foot and out for a throw.
09-06-2019, 05:52 PM
Great effort. Won the second half. Shelley a better coach than that Neville creatur, got more out of a weaker squad.
09-06-2019, 05:52 PM
Beattie is just ****ing hopeless, tried to clear and hit the side of her foot and out for a throw.
Sorry to say you're right on that evidence.
09-06-2019, 05:53 PM
well i didn't expect that, well done our ladies, hold the heads up high :applause:
Leitherhibs
09-06-2019, 05:55 PM
Should have won. England look like a typical english side at a world cup unimaginative and passive.
09-06-2019, 05:59 PM
Gave them a game and played very well second half. No reason they can't get out of this group.
09-06-2019, 06:00 PM
Thought she was excellent along with Corsie.
09-06-2019, 06:01 PM
lol phil neville saying 'he's the biggest problem'
09-06-2019, 06:02 PM
F sake. Thought it was a 7.45 kick off
09-06-2019, 06:03 PM
lol phil neville saying 'he's the biggest problem'
Shelley speaks much better than him. He's a complete slaver.
09-06-2019, 06:04 PM
Shelley speaks much better than him. He's a complete slaver.
she did speak very well, job for life if she keeps this progress up
09-06-2019, 06:05 PM
If we play like we did in the second half there’s a great chance to qualify.
09-06-2019, 06:06 PM
I really enjoyed that and thought it was a good effort by the ladies against a team that are very experienced at this level. Today will definitely stand them in good stead for the rest of the tournament.
09-06-2019, 06:06 PM
Alex Scott is an absulute slaver. Dreadful pundit.
09-06-2019, 06:11 PM
Very impressed with Hope Solo though 😉
09-06-2019, 06:12 PM
I'm not watching it but, I quite like her for numerous reasons.
09-06-2019, 06:32 PM
I'm not watching it but, I quite like her for numerous reasons.
Her looks have decieved a lot of people into thinking she is a decent pundit.
HFC93
09-06-2019, 06:46 PM
Incredible how much Scotland Women had improved in recent years. Regularity holding our own against the top teams these days.
Erin Cuthbert is fantastic player.
09-06-2019, 06:46 PM
Very impressed with Hope Solo though 😉
I heard Hope Solo battered someone.
I would let her batter me, but I’m thinking about trying veganism so provided there were no animal products in the mix then it could be a wonderful wet experience.
09-06-2019, 06:47 PM
Her looks have decieved a lot of people into thinking she is a decent pundit.
Not that bothered about her punditry tbh.
09-06-2019, 06:55 PM
Not that bothered about her punditry tbh.
Just watch Love Island then.
09-06-2019, 07:05 PM
For me, the defence - with Beattie being the biggest culprit - was poor, holding off the England players and letting them run considerable lengths without even trying to tackle , mis-placed passes and just a general lack of urgency were the worst offences. With 10mins still to play they were still strolling about, passing the ball back and forward which had no effect. Overall though, thanks to the 2nd half, and had we had just a wee bit more luck/urgency, a point each would've been the right result. Plus points were Cuthbert - it's no small wonder she's so popular as she's the type of player who just never gives up !. That and the fact she's also very, very talented makes her a fan's and manager's favourite ! Second plus-point was Emslie - she's the kind of player I could watch all day long, a never-ending array of nifty wee tricks,, runs and like Cuthbert, a never-say-die attitude !
I am disappointed but not too down as there's definitley grounds for optimism with this team. Also have to say, after watching 4 games so far I'm thorougly enjoying this tournament -though I just wish FIFA would consult people who've actually played the game as this new handball-law is a joke ! Being extremely sarcastic, I wonder if FIFA purposely introduced it to piss people off with VAR as they (via Blatter admittedly) fought against it for so long all so they can say - 'We told you so !!' !. Certatinly the majority of commentary-team didn't agree with the penalty !
09-06-2019, 07:09 PM
Or her brother :agree:
Her brother was a decent footballer. He was on Oldco’s books until he decided to pick rugby (similar situation to Andy Murray, I guess).
mayo hibee
09-06-2019, 08:29 PM
It's the unofficial anthem and gets played prior to every game, even the crowd sing it during the game, I always thought GSTQ was the British anthem and not purely England's, she is the Queen of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
As far as I know GSTQ is available to any of the constituent countries of the UK to use it if they want to. NI use it for their football team and the Scottish Rugby team used it for years and only switched to FoS in the 1990s. Why any Scottish team would choose to use it is beyond me but thats how it was.
09-06-2019, 08:35 PM
As far as I know GSTQ is available to any of the constituent countries of the UK to use it if they want to. NI use it for their football team and the Scottish Rugby team used it for years and only switched to FoS in the 1990s. Why any Scottish team would choose to use it is beyond me but thats how it was.
i remember FoS used at scotland rugby internationals in the mid 70's, after a quick google.....
The one most often considered as the unofficial national anthem (and most often presented as Scotland’s anthem at sporting matches) is “Flower of Scotland”, written by Roy Williamson in 1965 for the popular folk group The Corries. It was first used in a sporting match in 1974 by the Scottish national rugby team in 1974, sung by the team. When the British “God Save the Queen” (http://www.nationalanthems.info/gb.htm) was sung before a rugby match in 1988 to represent Scotland, and was met by derision from the crowd, “Flower of Scotland” was adopted as Scotland’s pregame anthem. “Flower of Scotland”, however, has not been adopted in any official basis as the Scottish anthem.
i have no idea why on earth the dirge that is gstq was used in 88 though
09-06-2019, 08:47 PM
GTSQ was consistently played at Murrayfield through the 80s.
mayo hibee
09-06-2019, 08:48 PM
I believe FoS only became the permanent Scottish rugby anthem from the 1990 grand slam game onwards, although there may have been some usage before then. Up to 1990 GSTQ was more commonly used.
09-06-2019, 09:07 PM
i remember FoS used at scotland rugby internationals in the mid 70's, after a quick google.....
The one most often considered as the unofficial national anthem (and most often presented as Scotland’s anthem at sporting matches) is “Flower of Scotland”, written by Roy Williamson in 1965 for the popular folk group The Corries. It was first used in a sporting match in 1974 by the Scottish national rugby team in 1974, sung by the team. When the British “God Save the Queen” (http://www.nationalanthems.info/gb.htm) was sung before a rugby match in 1988 to represent Scotland, and was met by derision from the crowd, “Flower of Scotland” was adopted as Scotland’s pregame anthem. “Flower of Scotland”, however, has not been adopted in any official basis as the Scottish anthem.
To be fair FoS is a horrible dirge as well. How about Chelsea Dagger as the National Anthem?
Here’s Lucy!
09-06-2019, 09:17 PM
To be fair FoS is a horrible dirge as well. How about Chelsea Dagger as the National Anthem?
Good to see you’ve come out of the Holy Ground and back to the main forum mate. :aok:
Missed you.
09-06-2019, 09:27 PM
FoS is a detestable, twee, slow-motion, shortbread-tin piece of dirge crap. Perfect for both 'see you Jimmy' Nationalists and 90 Minute nationalists alike. Bloody awful.
I'd take virtually anything, including Mull of Kintyre, over that dross - and I ****ing loathe both Mull of Kintyre and Paul McCartney.
All IMHO.
09-06-2019, 09:48 PM
FoS is a detestable, twee, slow-motion, shortbread-tin piece of dirge crap. Perfect for both 'see you Jimmy' Nationalists and 90 Minute nationalists alike. Bloody awful.
I'd take virtually anything, including Mull of Kintyre, over that dross - and I ****ing loathe both Mull of Kintyre and Paul McCartney.
All IMHO.
National anthems don't have to be good. They have to be recognisable and FOS is certainly that.
I don't like it either but it'll do.
09-06-2019, 10:14 PM
Think that is all a load o' p15h. Pretty certain the 1990 Grand Slam year was the first official pre-match playing of FoS.
09-06-2019, 10:15 PM
I believe FoS only became the permanent Scottish rugby anthem from the 1990 grand slam game onwards, although there may have been some usage before then. Up to 1990 GSTQ was more commonly used.
Seconded
Bangkok Hibby
10-06-2019, 04:57 AM
All IMHO.
Amazing how forums work. These are my thoughts EXACTLY and said as much a few months ago...didn't go down well then. Glad to see I'm not the only one who can't stand FoS
10-06-2019, 06:00 AM
All IMHO.
Sacrilege a wonderful emotive tune when played and sung at the right pace. Murrayfield do it very well while Hampden not so much though Saturday it was very good.
10-06-2019, 07:04 AM
I prefer Flower of Scotland at away games. I sounds better when being played by a ramshackle local band on the pitch and being sung by folk who love their country enough to travel abroad to see their sports teams play.
I'm trying to fight the urge to express my true feelings on 60 odd thousands predominantly No voters singing about "Being a Nation Again" before rugby internationals at Murrayfield.
I'd started work on an alternative national anthem for them but decided it wasn't worth the risk after being told I couldnae use the bagpipes and that there was no guarantee Scotland would be allowed to take part in the Six Nations competition.
10-06-2019, 07:21 AM
Have to say the Rugby lads have Flower of Scotland spot on. Killing the pipes half way through and letting the crowd sing the rest is lump in the throat/hairs on the back of the neck stuff. Wonderful.
Clarence
10-06-2019, 07:22 AM
Funny how the big manly rugby lads have turned a thread about women’s football into a discussion about singing.
10-06-2019, 07:33 AM
I prefer Flower of Scotland at away games. I sounds better when being played by a ramshackle local band on the pitch and being sung by folk who love their country enough to travel abroad to see their sports teams play.
Possibly because they are massively pished at the time? A bit like enjoying the away atmosphere in the Hibs end more at Tynie...
I'm trying to fight the urge to express my true feelings on 60 odd thousands predominantly No voters singing about "Being a Nation Again" before rugby internationals at Murrayfield.
That's a big assumption. How do you know?
I'd started work on an alternative national anthem for them but decided it wasn't worth the risk after being told I couldnae use the bagpipes and that there was no guarantee Scotland would be allowed to take part in the Six Nations competition.
Is it: 'We are Scotland, we are great, we have England on the run'?
10-06-2019, 08:00 AM
Argentina v Japan
Today Kick Off 1700hrs
BBC 2
10-06-2019, 08:05 AM
Is it: 'We are Scotland, we are great, we have England on the run'
As good a suggestion as any. And better than Corries' songs.
Is it not a fairly reasonable assumption based on what we know of the demographics of the voting patterns in the referendum? Social class, geography etc. Also the fact that many high profile rugby figures came out publicly against independence?
That's why I used the word "predominantly".
10-06-2019, 08:21 AM
Is it: 'We are Scotland, we are great, we have England on the run'
As good a suggestion as any. And better than Corries' songs.
Is it not a fairly reasonable assumption based on what we know of the demographics of the voting patterns in the referendum? Social class, geography etc. Also the fact that many high profile rugby figures came out publicly against independence?
That's why I used the word "predominantly".
I don't think so. Political homogeneity is rapidly disappearing up its own jacksie these days so if, like you, you want independence or if, like me, you don't - it's dangerous to make assumptions about the predominantly bloc voting behaviour of any group.
In that respect I encourage you to get wired into these traitorous mostly unionist rugby filth. :greengrin
10-06-2019, 10:06 AM
Can we get back to the Women's World Cup, or more specifically the honey that is Alex Scott. On mute if you prefer.
10-06-2019, 12:27 PM
All IMHO.
Auld Lang syne would be my choice. Probably the best known tune composed in Scotland and the lyrics are reconciliatory.
10-06-2019, 01:11 PM
Auld Lang syne would be my choice. Probably the best known tune composed in Scotland and the lyrics are reconciliatory.
It does have its merits, but think of the ridiculous linked arm pitch invasions that would inevitably go with it as soon as you reach 'For Auld Lang Syne my dear...' It's practically an involuntary reaction for most Scots.
A sort of Tartan Haka would ensue, which might not be a bad thing, except that we'd end up only intimidating ourselves in a gigantic circle.
Actually, I'm warming to the idea...
10-06-2019, 01:34 PM
May as well go for Donald Where's your Troosers.
10-06-2019, 01:43 PM
Can we get back to the Women's World Cup, or more specifically the honey that is Alex Scott. On mute if you prefer.
Must say I thought the same wasn’t really listening to her but an absolute darling! :greengrin
10-06-2019, 02:09 PM
Must say I thought the same wasn’t really listening to her but an absolute darling! :greengrin
Disappointed but not surprised to see prehistoric comments like this are still making appearances. No doubt a couple of older gentlemen who spend their time reminiscing about the glory days when a woman was seen and not heard and only spoke when she was spoken to...
Dinosaurs.
10-06-2019, 02:24 PM
It does have its merits, but think of the ridiculous linked arm pitch invasions that would inevitably go with it as soon as you reach 'For Auld Lang Syne my dear...' It's practically an involuntary reaction for most Scots.
A sort of Tartan Haka would ensue, which might not be a bad thing, except that we'd end up only intimidating ourselves in a gigantic circle.
Actually, I'm warming to the idea...
Maybe as recognition to our long standing relationship to France we could adopt the Can Can? No wait a minute I've just remembered........kilts.
10-06-2019, 02:36 PM
[QUOTE=My_Wife_Camille;5809134]Disappointed but not surprised to see prehistoric comments like this are still making appearances. No doubt a couple of older gentlemen who spend their time reminiscing about the glory days when a woman was seen and not heard and only spoke when she was spoken to...
Dinosaurs.[/QUOTE
Nothing wrong with a dinosaur that appreciates beauty 🦖
😁
10-06-2019, 04:48 PM
Argentina v Japan, good game.
No10 Banini for Argentina is a great wee player.
10-06-2019, 05:09 PM
Argentina v Japan, good game.
No10 Banini for Argentina is a great wee player.
I doubt either of these two will trouble England.
10-06-2019, 05:14 PM
That Japanese girl clearly unable to hit an elephant in an alleyway with a rocket launcher.
SJNB Hibby
10-06-2019, 05:16 PM
I imagine a goalless draw here would suit us best
10-06-2019, 05:47 PM
think i'l reassess my Scotland v Japan prediction, instead of a loss i'l go for at least a point
england will beat both these teams
FT 0-0
10-06-2019, 05:49 PM
[QUOTE=My_Wife_Camille;5809134]Disappointed but not surprised to see prehistoric comments like this are still making appearances. No doubt a couple of older gentlemen who spend their time reminiscing about the glory days when a woman was seen and not heard and only spoke when she was spoken to...
Dinosaurs.[/QUOTE
Nothing wrong with a dinosaur that appreciates beauty 🦖
😁
Seconded Billy. Nor to comment on it in a non-vulgar way (says he typing away with the fur-lined pink marigolds on while taking a break from cleaning the house and making the tea in time for Mrs T-Rex getting home).
10-06-2019, 05:52 PM
Canada v Cameroon @8pm
10-06-2019, 05:53 PM
Absolutely scandalous there's no males in the studio.
10-06-2019, 05:58 PM
Absolutely scandalous there's no males in the studio.
Where is Mark Lawrenson when you need him.
SJNB Hibby
10-06-2019, 06:42 PM
Canada v Cameroon @8pm
Would like to see Christine Sinclair overtake Abby Wombat in this game---little bit of Karma for 2012
10-06-2019, 06:52 PM
Would like to see Christine Sinclair overtake Abby Wombat in this game---little bit of Karma for 2012
any idea what channel it's on ? i've flicked through a load and can't find it, including bbc iplayer
spain v sweden
poland v israel
ireland v Gibraltar
are all on sky
SJNB Hibby
10-06-2019, 06:57 PM
any idea what channel it's on ? i've flicked through a load and can't find it, including bbc iplayer
spain v sweden
poland v israel
ireland v Gibraltar
are all on sky
Sorry i'm in Canada
10-06-2019, 06:58 PM
Sorry i'm in Canada
ah, ok :greengrin
found it at last, it is indeed on bbc iplayer
SJNB Hibby
10-06-2019, 07:16 PM
Cameroon looking a bit dangerous here
SJNB Hibby
10-06-2019, 07:45 PM
Yesss!!!!
10-06-2019, 08:08 PM
If Scotland can draw on Friday i think they will go through :aok:
SJNB Hibby
10-06-2019, 08:17 PM
If they can draw with Japan, they should beat Argentina, who will likely be well beat by England, and Scotland should finish 2nd
10-06-2019, 08:22 PM
If they can draw with Japan, they should beat Argentina, who will likely be well beat by England, and Scotland should finish 2nd
Don’t the best 3rd place teams qualify as well
SJNB Hibby
10-06-2019, 09:01 PM
Don’t the best 3rd place teams qualify as well
Yes, but thats a bit of a lottery, best to finish 2nd
11-06-2019, 09:52 AM
Think the referees will have a bit to say about that!
The Japan V Argentina game had 4 extra minutes at the end, twice during the 4 minutes the lines woman stopped the Japanese player taking a quick throw eating up time, then the ref blows full time with still 3 seconds to play of the at least 4 minutes???
Its as if it was to give some other team an advantage????
11-06-2019, 10:56 AM
Think the referees will have a bit to say about that!
The Japan V Argentina game had 4 extra minutes at the end, twice during the 4 minutes the lines woman stopped the Japanese player taking a quick throw eating up time, then the ref blows full time with still 3 seconds to play of the at least 4 minutes???
Its as if it was to give some other team an advantage????
Which team would that be? I think it was a French referee.
11-06-2019, 08:17 PM
USA :7: Thailand :0: after 56 mins
four goals in 6 mins(two in one min)
11-06-2019, 08:20 PM
USA :7: Thailand :0: after 56 mins
Switched on at 3-0 at which point USA scored one a minute justabout. Tiny Thai goalie played in goals before?
11-06-2019, 08:25 PM
Switched on at 3-0 at which point USA scored one a minute justabout. Tiny Thai goalie played in goals before?
only just tuned in online to see the 7th go in
USA 10 Thailand 0 after 80 mins
11-0 84 mins
12-0 87 mins
5 goals for Alex Morgan.....surely she's really Scottish :)
unlucky for some, Thailand that is.... 13-0
11-06-2019, 08:54 PM
13-0 in the world cup...not sure how I feel about that. Pretty ridiculous disparity.
11-06-2019, 08:55 PM
Thailand were useless. Can only remember them putting in one tackle. USA were good but were helped a lot by the Thailand team who couldn't string two passes together.
11-06-2019, 08:55 PM
only just tuned in online to see the 7th go in
USA 10 Thailand 0 after 80 mins
11-0 84 mins
12-0 87 mins
5 goals for Alex Morgan.....surely she's really Scottish :)
unlucky for some, Thailand that is.... 13-0
4 goals in 6 mins.
11-06-2019, 08:56 PM
4 goals in 6 mins.
Who do they think they are, Livi playing hearts?
11-06-2019, 08:57 PM
Thailand were useless. Can only remember them putting in one tackle. USA were good but were helped a lot by the Thailand team who couldn't string two passes together.
Think the Thai goalie is in Primary 5
11-06-2019, 08:58 PM
:thumbsup::not worth
Who do they think they are, Livi playing hearts?
11-06-2019, 09:02 PM
13-0 in the world cup...not sure how I feel about that. Pretty ridiculous disparity.
Probably not unexpected as the women’s game develops around the world. Remember Yugoslavia beating Zaire 9-0 and Hungary beating El Salvador 10-1 in 1974 and 1982. Wouldn’t happen now as these “lesser” nations have developed their football structures.
11-06-2019, 09:24 PM
Poor show from the US. Makes a bit of a mockery of the tournament as well.
I remember hearing that the Germans were discussing at HT in the semi vs. Brazil that they should ease off and not embarrass them. I think 7-1 did the trick tbf.
plhibs
11-06-2019, 09:52 PM
I thought it was a lack of class by the Americans, celebrating every goal the way they did, the coach should have told them to cool it.
11-06-2019, 10:24 PM
Don't really think it's the US at fault. You don't lose 13-0 if you're actually trying and have a proper game plan to combat the opposition.
12-06-2019, 06:53 AM
I thought it was a lack of class by the Americans, celebrating every goal the way they did, the coach should have told them to cool it.
That’s what losers do. This is now a professional game Kill or be killed.
12-06-2019, 07:56 AM
It’s not a kids development game. It would show a lack of respect to not be clinical. The Thai girls will learn from the game. Massive jump in class to play at that level.
12-06-2019, 01:00 PM
Nigeria v Korea Republic
BBC1 red button
Kick off 2.00pm
12-06-2019, 01:33 PM
Nigeria 1 v 0 Korean Republic
OG
AugustaHibs
12-06-2019, 01:39 PM
Watched the USA game last night got me thinking? If hibs played that side what would the score be? I reckon it’d be quite close
12-06-2019, 01:47 PM
Watched the USA game last night got me thinking? If hibs played that side what would the score be? I reckon it’d be quite close
No, I am not convinced it would be.
I have really enjoyed watching the woman's world cup, and I think the men's game could learn from it in places i.e. no diving .But at present, there is still a considerable difference between the two levels.
That being said, I think this world cup really has shown how much the game has grown and I hope off the back of it they can attract more money into the game, thus affording more women professional opportunities within football.
12-06-2019, 01:48 PM
IMO you would be wrong.
12-06-2019, 01:48 PM
They lost 5-2 to a Texas boys side (like u16s I think)
Hibs would win by a similar score to USA last night.
12-06-2019, 01:52 PM
I assume you mean the Hibs ladies team?
Gordy M
12-06-2019, 01:54 PM
They lost 5-2 to a Texas boys side (like u16s I think)
Hibs would win by a similar score to USA last night.
Yep Dallas Acedemy under 15s beat them 5-2 in 2017.
12-06-2019, 02:00 PM
Nope. There is no comparison between mens and womens football. Hibs would batter them. As would the majority of fit adult male teams.
12-06-2019, 02:00 PM
Imagine one of Dazs’ mistimed high octane tackles on that Alex Morgan at 100 mph ? 😂
12-06-2019, 02:34 PM
Nigeria 2 v 0 Korean Republic
Northern Hibby
12-06-2019, 03:42 PM
Nah we'd beat Thailand, surely 😬
12-06-2019, 04:05 PM
Germany v Spain
BBC1 Red button
Kick off 1700 hrs
12-06-2019, 04:19 PM
Germany v Spain
BBC1 Red button
Kick off 1700 hrs
Or online
12-06-2019, 06:37 PM
Norway a very good price this evening.
12-06-2019, 07:10 PM
Do you mean if Hibs ladies played them, or the Hibs mens team?
The USA would beat the ladies team but wouldn't come close to beating the mens team.
12-06-2019, 07:12 PM
That can't be a serious question surely?
12-06-2019, 07:32 PM
France with all of the ball but unable to convert any of their chances yet.
Norway look dreadful.
12-06-2019, 07:36 PM
France with all of the ball but unable to convert any of their chances yet.
Norway look dreadful.
Counter attack - it’s on 👍
12-06-2019, 08:11 PM
Comical own goal from France.
1-1.
12-06-2019, 08:28 PM
That's a ****ing disgraceful penalty award by VAR. NEVER a penalty.
12-06-2019, 08:29 PM
Var penalty for France. Horrendous decision!
12-06-2019, 08:29 PM
that's never a penalty fgs, get that VAR away from the game
12-06-2019, 08:30 PM
That's a ****ing disgraceful penalty award by VAR. NEVER a penalty.
Amazingly the commentators agreed with the ref. Astonishingly clueless.
12-06-2019, 08:31 PM
I’ve switched off in disgust. Was quite enjoying the game as well. Abysmal decision.
12-06-2019, 08:32 PM
What was that dozy mare of a ref looking at to give a penalty
12-06-2019, 08:32 PM
Amazingly the commentators agreed with the ref. Astonishingly clueless.
I'm sitting here questioning whether it's just me that's missing something.
If this is what VAR is going to add to the game, I'm less keen on seeing it implemented. It SHOULD eradicate injustice, not perpetrate it.
Ricky Bobby
12-06-2019, 08:33 PM
If this is where VAR is taking the game we dont want it. Absolutely ridiculous decision.
12-06-2019, 08:37 PM
I’ve switched off in disgust. Was quite enjoying the game as well. Abysmal decision.
😂😂 Ironic username.
12-06-2019, 08:40 PM
you've just missed two goals in a minute for norway
12-06-2019, 08:53 PM
stokesy's on fire sung all around the world now
12-06-2019, 08:55 PM
VAR doesn't make decisions, the ref does after watching a video. Nothing to do with VAR
12-06-2019, 09:02 PM
I thought it was a penalty. :dunno:
If that had been in the middle of the park, it would be a free kick.
12-06-2019, 09:11 PM
I think that by the letter of the law you are right.
An argument could certainly be made that "excessive force" was used.
We're used to rules that allowed you to follow through and hammer a player as long as you got the ball. You can't really do that any more.
I thought it was soft and personally probably wouldn't have given it.
VAR here isn't the problem - it allowed the ref to have a good look at it. It's not VAR's fault if folk disagree with the ref's decision.
I wonder if refs feel more inclined to give a decision that is referred to VAR? You don't often see them view something and then say "nah".
12-06-2019, 09:39 PM
I have to say I enjoyed tonight's match better than Belgium v Scotland. It was exciting.
Watching the Belgians camped in our half and poking it about wasn't great viewing.
In fact, this World Cup is restoring my faith in football as entertainment.
12-06-2019, 10:55 PM
Aye but against the French lassie for jumping in two-footed - which the ref did not appear to be shown on her screen, just repeats of the accidental contact on the natural follow through which was after contact with the ball. There was no excessive force either. In fact you see her trying to pull out of it. Shocker of a decision.
13-06-2019, 07:45 AM
Correct. It was a pen. The old they got the ball excuse doesn't wash anymore. It was a tackle out of control and reckless. Mind you the other player went in with two feet.
13-06-2019, 07:49 AM
Aye but against the French lassie for jumping in two-footed - which the ref did not appear to be shown on her screen, just repeats of the accidental contact on the natural follow through which was after contact with the ball. There was no excessive force either. In fact you see her trying to pull out of it. Shocker of a decision.
:agree: Can't belive anyone seriously thinks that should be a penalty.
13-06-2019, 08:37 AM
Mark Milligan has visited the Matildas training camp in France today to show support.
They are due to play Brazil in a must win tie tonight.
13-06-2019, 08:51 AM
Mark Milligan has visited the Matildas training camp in France today to show support.
They are due to play Brazil in a must win tie tonight.
did he just Waltz in
13-06-2019, 03:51 PM
Australia v Brazil
Kick off 1700 hrs
BBC red button and online
13-06-2019, 03:54 PM
Australia v Brazil
Kick off 1700 hrs
BBC red button and online
Fancy the Aussies after MMs inspirational words to them.
13-06-2019, 03:57 PM
Fancy the Aussies after MMs inspirational words to them.
On Cristiane first goal 😁
13-06-2019, 04:08 PM
:agree: Can't belive anyone seriously thinks that should be a penalty.
Not so sure the follow through looked reckless.
13-06-2019, 04:09 PM
That can't be a serious question surely?
Wind up material I am assuming. We all know we would lose that game. :greengrin
13-06-2019, 04:26 PM
aw c'mon that's not a penalty either
13-06-2019, 04:27 PM
Australia 0 v 1 Brazil
13-06-2019, 04:35 PM
What's wrong with the female commentators mic? Awful sound. Can barely hear her. Decent game so far though. Still fancy Australia.
13-06-2019, 04:39 PM
Australia 0 v 2 Brazil
13-06-2019, 04:46 PM
Australia 1 v 2 Brazil
13-06-2019, 05:16 PM
Australia 2 v 2 Brazil
13-06-2019, 05:18 PM
Mon the Aussies.
On BBC2 by the way.
13-06-2019, 05:18 PM
On Cristiane first goal 😁
Unlucky Bill.
13-06-2019, 05:25 PM
Unlucky Bill.
Normally I go back on but didnae
13-06-2019, 05:27 PM
i think i would give that
13-06-2019, 05:28 PM
i think i would give that
Same. Correct call for me.
13-06-2019, 05:29 PM
Same. Correct call for me.yup. me too
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
13-06-2019, 05:30 PM
big picture it's time we went back to the old rule. off side is offside no phases. handball is ball plays player not handball. player plays ball then hand ball
no grey area.
13-06-2019, 05:38 PM
Australia seem to have confidence/fitness issues come the final quarter. I should probably cash out because the Hampden is staring in the puss. Because it looked down and out at two zip I won’t, regrettably, probably.
13-06-2019, 05:56 PM
Australia seem to have confidence/fitness issues come the final quarter. I should probably cash out because the Hampden is staring in the puss. Because it looked down and out at two zip I won’t, regrettably, probably.
Well done!
Good game
Did ye cash oot?
13-06-2019, 08:59 PM
She jumped with two feet onto the turf, she didn't jump in with two feet onto her leg. The Norwegian player didn't intentionally make contact with the French player but she did. It doesn't have to be intentional for it to be a foul.
I would be looking for that to be given as a penalty every day of the week.
13-06-2019, 09:05 PM
that's never a penalty fgs, get that VAR away from the game
My sentiments exactly but your view (and mine) will not be popular in some quaters
13-06-2019, 09:23 PM
Australian winner was an awful decision clearly offside and interfering also pen for Brazil late on ignored.
13-06-2019, 09:42 PM
My sentiments exactly but your view (and mine) will not be popular in some quaters
VAR doesn't make decisions, it did not award a penalty.
It's like blaming goal line technology for you conceding a goal. Not really the technologies fault.
13-06-2019, 11:42 PM
Australian winner was an awful decision clearly offside and interfering also pen for Brazil late on ignored.
Usually agree with your comments Jim, but not this time!
Watching from my kip (2am kick off) I immediately shouted goal!
All to do with the second player who came from in front of Sam Kerr and headed the ball.
Had she not needlessly headed the ball, it would have been offside as you say.
I’m no expert, but I think there will be much discussion on these pages in coming months on offside and Var.
14-06-2019, 05:09 AM
All to do with the second player who came from in front of Sam Kerr and headed the ball.
I’m no expert, but I think there will be much discussion on these pages in coming months on offside and Var.
Remarkable comeback
Australia seemed to want it more
Cmon Scotland!
:saltireflag
14-06-2019, 05:24 AM
The bottom line is though she wouldn't have needed to head the ball if the offside Kerr wasn't there. The presence of Kerr meant the defender had to make the decision to head it. I may be totally wrong and there has been a change in the rules but seemed to me a clear offside. Huge goal for Australia that is for sure.
14-06-2019, 09:56 AM
The bottom line is though she wouldn't have needed to head the ball if the offside Kerr wasn't there. The presence of Kerr meant the defender had to make the decision to head it. I may be totally wrong and there has been a change in the rules but seemed to me a clear offside. Huge goal for Australia that is for sure.
Guess the reasoning was that the Brazil player who headed the ball did so in front of Kerr and the ball sailed over Kerr’s head and the defender who was beside Kerr, meaning that Kerr was not interfering with play with the player who scored the goal.
No doubt in my mind that the offside rule was much simpler when Ronnie Ferguson used to cross them over for me to head them in for Carlton Hibs😂
14-06-2019, 10:21 AM
Guess the reasoning was that the Brazil player who headed the ball did so in front of Kerr and the ball sailed over Kerr’s head and the defender who was beside Kerr, meaning that Kerr was not interfering with play with the player who scored the goal.
No doubt in my mind that the offside rule was much simpler when Ronnie Ferguson used to cross them over for me to head them in for Carlton Hibs😂
Yes was certainly a simpler time. :greengrin
14-06-2019, 12:21 PM
Better line up for Scotland today. Howard drops to the bench Smith starts. Arnott in for Emslie. Jane Ross starts also... looks a 442. Or maybe cuthbert just behind Ross.
14-06-2019, 12:23 PM
Better line up for Scotland today. Howard drops to the bench Smith starts. Arnott in for Emslie. Jane Ross starts also... looks a 442. Or maybe cuthbert just behind Ross.
Thought Emslie did well wee bit unlucky to drop out. Good to see Ross in and personally may have put Howard in for Beattie who thought was poor Sunday.
14-06-2019, 12:30 PM
Thought Emslie did well wee bit unlucky to drop out. Good to see Ross in and personally may have put Howard in for Beattie who thought was poor Sunday.
Howard really poor at CH also. We just dont have any!
SJNB Hibby
14-06-2019, 12:57 PM
Good support at the match:saltireflag
14-06-2019, 12:57 PM
Come on Scotland. Fancy them today.
14-06-2019, 01:01 PM
mon our bonnie lassies :saltireflag
14-06-2019, 01:15 PM
Oor wummens team are playing like the guys, come on get some friggin players up the park, this is a must win game.
14-06-2019, 01:17 PM
Oor wummens team are playing like the guys, come on get some friggin players up the park, this is a must win game.it isn't and Japan are a good side.
a draw here and a win against Argentina with England winning their games will see us through.
that said we need to get up the park and squeeze the game more. were missing out the midfield too much with long balls that are doing nothing. little needs to be on the ball more.
14-06-2019, 01:22 PM
fgs how on earth is that offside, then they go up and score :rolleyes:
SJNB Hibby
14-06-2019, 01:22 PM
ouch!!!
14-06-2019, 01:23 PM
awfy poor header out from the lassie corsie
14-06-2019, 01:24 PM
Poor from both CHs. Failure to clear by Corsie, and not closing down by Beattie.
14-06-2019, 01:25 PM
Andy McNeil in goal for Scotland? Dreadful goal is so many aspects.
14-06-2019, 01:26 PM
Andy McNeil in goal for Scotland? Dreadful goal is so many aspects.
Keeper doesn't it see it till late due to Beattie standing in front.
the standard of refereeing has been appalling. the offside was about 15 mins late and a terrible decision.
looking like a rather comfortable afternoon for the japanese defence
one will soon be two me thinks
Green Badger
14-06-2019, 01:28 PM
the standard of refereeing has been appalling. the offside was about 15 mins late and a terrible decision.
That is one of the worst offfside decisions I've ever seen.
14-06-2019, 01:28 PM
Shot went clean over Alexander's head.
The goals are just too big. It's a large area for a big bloke to defend let alone someone of smaller frame.
14-06-2019, 01:29 PM
The Japanese defence will mop up those long balls all day.
14-06-2019, 01:29 PM
Scotland are really poor defensively. Thus far we have been the architects of our own downfall in both games.
14-06-2019, 01:31 PM
make sure you get the ball when yi come out miss keeper
14-06-2019, 01:34 PM
Scotland are really poor defensively. Thus far we have been the architects of our own downfall in both games.standard. it's our worse area of the park. makes it even stranger why we don't push up and get out good players on the ball. the decision to drop emslie was ridiculous as we dont have an out ball atm
14-06-2019, 01:35 PM
Penalty to Japan.
14-06-2019, 01:35 PM
Jesus the CHs are having a mare. Game over already.
14-06-2019, 01:36 PM
Referee is absolutely ganting!!!!
14-06-2019, 01:36 PM
nightmare game for the lassie corsie, very soft penalty, game over after 36 mins
14-06-2019, 01:37 PM
Never a pen in a million miles
That was like an Andrew Dallas award for the Huns.
How does VAR no kick in to check the penalty claim? That was a joke.
14-06-2019, 01:38 PM
Games up the pole.
14-06-2019, 01:38 PM
How does VAR no kick in to check the penalty claim? That was a joke.
Exactly.
davhibby
14-06-2019, 01:39 PM
Hopefully somebody comes out and absolutely roasts the ref after this game. Embarrassing
14-06-2019, 01:39 PM
the standard of refereeing in this tournament has been appalling
both penalties against us have been nonsense and that offside today was joke. the ref today has been a disgrace.
why wasn't that reviewed? it was never a penalty
Green Badger
14-06-2019, 01:43 PM
Our CH's and the referee are equally culpable for the current 2-0 scoreline.
14-06-2019, 01:43 PM
That is up there with the worst penalty decisions you will ever see. Why was it not reviewed on VAR?
14-06-2019, 01:44 PM
I argued vociferously against VAR before it was introduced, and was far from convinced after last year's World Cup. I was slightly more persuaded after this year's CL, but decisions like that being awarded when VAR is available do its existence no favours at all.
14-06-2019, 01:44 PM
I am so fed up with refs giving pens for nothing these days. It's the ruination of football for me.
If I were a ref I wouldn't give a penalty unless it was stick-on. The forwards are all at it.
davhibby
14-06-2019, 01:47 PM
Is it possible that var isn't working and they've just not told anyone to save face? That's the only reason I can think of for no check at all on that penalty
Scotland are *****
japanese defenders want to stay on at HT so they can get a wee touch of the ball amongst themselves
Scotland need to buck their ideas up here. Hopefully see a more attacking second half. Shelley Kerr needs to leave them in no confusion about how bad they were in that half.
14-06-2019, 01:48 PM
2 brutal penalty decisions against us.
Is Elmslie injured ?
Bangkok Hibby
14-06-2019, 01:49 PM
I am so fed up with refs giving pens for nothing these days. It's the ruination of football for me.
If I were a ref I wouldn't give a penalty unless it was stick-on. The forwards are all at it.
Totally agree, the game is being destroyed by cheats.
On VAR...its here to stay so lets make it work. Give the captain 3 claims per half. Get them right you dont lose a claim. It works in tennis and takes seconds. If the Scotland captain could have called for VAR there the score would still be 1-0
Green Badger
14-06-2019, 01:50 PM
Scotland need to buck their ideas up here. Hopefully see a more attacking second half. Shelley Kerr needs to leave them in no confusion about how bad they were in that half.
Agreed, but Shelley Kerr also needs to have a word with herself, tactics and team selection both shocking based on that first half.
14-06-2019, 01:50 PM
the wee japanese striker should have a wee look at herself with her artistic dive
14-06-2019, 01:51 PM
That last offside looked ropey, too.
14-06-2019, 01:53 PM
Agreed, but Shelley Kerr also needs to have a word with herself, tactics and team selection both shocking based on that first half.
Hope Solo just slaughtered her. Said that she's meant to be a tactical genius but the jury is out! Only saw the last 19 mins of the first half but nothing looked positive for us
14-06-2019, 01:53 PM
Agreed, but Shelley Kerr also needs to have a word with herself, tactics and team selection both shocking based on that first half.agree. I thought she got it wrong against England with the full backs too. dropping emslie and Arthur today was daft.
I'm not sold on kerr as a tactician tbh. I know it's not great to say after the campaign but I'm just not
14-06-2019, 01:58 PM
Poor from both CHs. Failure to clear by Corsie, and not closing down by Beattie.
Absolutely hate defenders that don't close down and arms behind the back. McTominay did it on Tuesday also. A joke goal.
14-06-2019, 01:59 PM
Absolutely hate defenders that don't close down and arms behind the back. McTominay did it on Tuesday also. A joke goal.that's the new penalty rules for handball already though.
the games bust with this nonsense.
14-06-2019, 01:59 PM
Its 100% a pen. You cant put your hand on the players shoulder if you are the defending player. Its just really poor defending from Corsie and shes normally much better.
14-06-2019, 02:00 PM
Absolutely hate defenders that don't close down and arms behind the back. McTominay did it on Tuesday also. A joke goal.
You should get used to the arms behind the back thing - the rules on handball have changed so much that it's forcing players to do that.....
100/1 half time for the comeback.
the wee japanese striker should have a wee look at herself with her artistic dive
Honestly that is where VAR should come in to tell the ref not to be an erse and book the player for diving.
14-06-2019, 02:01 PM
You should get used to the arms behind the back thing - the rules on handball have changed so much that it's forcing players to do that.....
Doesn't stop them closing the player with the ball down.
14-06-2019, 02:01 PM
no subs, we must be doing ok
14-06-2019, 02:02 PM
Its 100% a pen. You cant put your hand on the players shoulder if you are the defending player. Its just really poor defending from Corsie and shes normally much better.
Nah not buying that she had her hand on her shoulder not pulling her back, complete dive.
14-06-2019, 02:04 PM
Honestly that is where VAR should come in to tell the ref not to be an erse and book the player for diving.
ethiopian referee didn't even think it worthy of having a wee look at least
14-06-2019, 02:04 PM
why o why did corsie have to kick that straight out the park, was she not given a shout from the other lassie
flippin heck now the keeper is at it
14-06-2019, 02:05 PM
The Japanese team look fitter, faster, stronger, more skilful and better organised . Apart from that we've been poor.
ethiopian referee didn't even think it worthy of having a wee look at least
Don’t they get buzzed in their ear from the video team?
The Japanese team look fitter, faster, stronger, more skilful and better organised . Apart from that we've been poor.
Was just thinking the same. They played rubbish the first game as well.
14-06-2019, 02:08 PM
The ref did in the game v England. I'm sure of it.
hhibs
14-06-2019, 02:09 PM
Again,same in England game.
14-06-2019, 02:09 PM
whatever the procedure is someone didn't do their job, a precedent has now been set with VAR...just get the ball in to the box and there's a great chance of getting a penalty
14-06-2019, 02:10 PM
Was just thinking the same. They played rubbish the first game as well.they've won a world cup. Argentina played well in the first game. took away the middle of the park and made them play wide. but we just decide to let them play through.
14-06-2019, 02:10 PM
They only get spoken to from the VAR room if they think the ref has missed something clear and obvious. The room must have thought it was a penalty as well.
Arnot has been so bad so far from us. Gutted for her.
14-06-2019, 02:12 PM
Scotland are *****
14-06-2019, 02:13 PM
the lassie got touched in the box, penalty surely ?
14-06-2019, 02:14 PM
beattie doing the same again with her arms
14-06-2019, 02:15 PM
Scots need to get it out to the wings. They're poking it about at the back hoping to build from there and getting pressed.
I'd say Route One might be the only answer ultimately.
14-06-2019, 02:15 PM
a player now coming on that should have started
14-06-2019, 02:20 PM
Weir and Little far too deep today. Disappointing from Shelly Kerr. Both players are dynamic and need to be in the final third.
14-06-2019, 02:21 PM
a corner :thumbsup:
14-06-2019, 02:24 PM
Scotland are *****
I wish our men were so s***e that they would qualify for a world cup......
14-06-2019, 02:25 PM
Emislie the major threat going forward and Keeper again making crucial saves
More urgency now in thier play but don’t see lots of intricate passing movements that other teams seem capable of
The fresh players brought in to start the game didn’t really work out and when the Japanese press is they cause problems
14-06-2019, 02:26 PM
The team always seem to end games stronger I’ve noticed. Fingers crossed there’s still something in this.
Someone on here suggested Scotland women would give Hibs a good game :crazy: Quality is no better than decent standard Under 14 laddies. Never worth paying money to watch.
Officiating is also sub-standard, esp for a World Cup.
82 passbacks
14-06-2019, 02:27 PM
I wish our men were so s***e that they would qualify for a world cup......
whats the mens side got to do with how **** scotland have been in this game?
14-06-2019, 02:28 PM
Someone on here suggested Scotland women would give Hibs a good game :crazy: Quality is no better than decent standard Under 14 laddies. Never worth paying money to watch.
Officiating is also sub-standard, esp for a World Cup.
I wasn't sure if they were meaning Hibs ladies, rather than Hibs men.
davhibby
14-06-2019, 02:29 PM
The biggest disappointment for me has been how poor the midfield 3 have been. Our 3 best players and they’ve been so ineffective on the ball, far too many back passes and none of them have looked to carry the ball.
14-06-2019, 02:30 PM
another muck-up from beattie
14-06-2019, 02:30 PM
82 passbacks
Agree first thought is back. No way Elmslie shouldn't have started. Disappointing from Little to be honest.
14-06-2019, 02:31 PM
i wonder if the coach realises now she should have started emslie
14-06-2019, 02:32 PM
whats the mens side got to do with how **** scotland have been in this game?
It's the meaningless statements such as "we are *****" that I was being sarcastic about. I confess that I struggle to reach that intellectual level.
14-06-2019, 02:32 PM
Absolute dross but anyone who has ever watched womens fitba would have known that it would be.