View Full Version : Rugby
Pages :
[
3]
Just_Jimmy
12-10-2019, 07:03 PM
Any action taken from the SRU is going to be seen as nothing but negative. If it doesn't go ahead then we should keep quiet. It's galling to go out of two world cups in a row on circumstances outside of how we played.
I hope it's played but the world press won't paint a pretty picture of Scotland if we complain given that there has been fatalities.
It's just bloody typical of Scotland.What would be typical is to lie down and take it.
The whole thing is utter BS.
Same as the qatar world cup. These decisions to award these competitions to countries that have issues for different reasons should be challenged and ridiculed for what they are, ridiculous.
Japan has typhoons at this time of year every year... It should never have been award the world cup.
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
12-10-2019, 07:08 PM
So make an official complaint?
Obviously the best scenario is for the game to go ahead.
We'll get slaughtered as being crass if we complain.
Just_Jimmy
12-10-2019, 07:11 PM
So make an official complaint?
Obviously the best scenario is for the game to go ahead.
We'll get slaughtered as being crass if we complain.I'm not worried how it looks. I'm worried it's fair. I'm sick to the back teeth of the corruption in every single sport. This is just another example. Sure the circumstances are less than ideal but you can get your bottom dollar, if a 0-0 draw had binned Japan then the game would be on no questions.
We just happen to be a smaller nation playing the hosts.
12-10-2019, 07:26 PM
It is the rules but at the same time if this was NZ ,England, Australia, South Africa ,Japan and possibly the French the game would have been moved on Wednesday. Absolutely no chance New Zealand for example are put out a world cup in this fashion.
Just_Jimmy
12-10-2019, 07:32 PM
It is the rules but at the same time if this was NZ ,England, Australia, South Africa ,Japan and possibly the French the game would have been moved on Wednesday. Absolutely no chance New Zealand for example are put out a world cup in this fashion.Exactly. Corruption.
12-10-2019, 07:39 PM
Exactly. Corruption.
But your both missing the point. We make any sort of grumblings, we're the bad guys.
Just_Jimmy
12-10-2019, 07:44 PM
But your both missing the point. We make any sort of grumblings, we're the bad guys.I'm not missing any point. If we lie down and take it we're cowards. That's what they want... Sweep it under the carpet.
Kick up **** cos it's corrupt as *#&)
12-10-2019, 09:03 PM
I'm not missing any point. If we lie down and take it we're cowards. That's what they want... Sweep it under the carpet.
Kick up **** cos it's corrupt as *#&)
So you're happy to kick up **** despite a natural disaster?
That's just daft Jimmy, I'm as fervent a Scotland fan as yourself but a wee bit perspective mate.
Just_Jimmy
12-10-2019, 09:17 PM
So you're happy to kick up **** despite a natural disaster?
That's just daft Jimmy, I'm as fervent a Scotland fan as yourself but a wee bit perspective mate.No. The natural disaster is very sad. However is completely predictable at this time of year
I'm saying a) why was Japan awarded it when this happens on some level every year? B) why isn't a proper contingency built in? C) why is it only "smaller" Nations impacted in terms of the rugby world cup?
It's a complete and utter farce.
12-10-2019, 10:42 PM
The first leak, or the first chancer that the game is going ahead? 🤞🏾
https://mobile.twitter.com/Scotsmac/status/1183142594383110146
Only Namibia vs Canada has been officially called off.
12-10-2019, 10:45 PM
The first leak, or the first chancer that the game is going ahead? [emoji1692]
https://mobile.twitter.com/Scotsmac/status/1183142594383110146
Only Namibia vs Canada has been officially called off.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191012/e44025cfd9b7d91e10aa0b5513880cb7.jpg
12-10-2019, 10:49 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191012/e44025cfd9b7d91e10aa0b5513880cb7.jpg
After everything that has happened with the potential postponement and the legal case from the SRU, we surely have to win now
12-10-2019, 11:05 PM
Didn’t see the Ireland vs Samoa game today but looked like Ireland comfortably swept the Samoans away with 14 men after Aki’s red in the 1st half. Was it a red?
Tomorrow (this morning) the group games finally conclude and so far the only game to officially been called off is Namibia vs Canada. 3 games to hopefully go ahead are:
USA vs Tonga
Wales vs Uruguay
Japan vs Scotland - C’MON Scotland!!!!
12-10-2019, 11:09 PM
Didn’t see the Ireland vs Samoa game today but looked like Ireland comfortably swept the Samoans away with 14 men after Aki’s red in the 1st half. Was it a red?
I thought it was a red - shoulder straight to the head.
12-10-2019, 11:26 PM
I thought it was a red - shoulder straight to the head.
Agreed - I initially thought there might have been mitigation, as I thought the Samoan chap was falling a little as Aki hit him, but the replay was quite clear. Red all day.
I wish they'd put us out of our misery already - I'm fed up refreshing Twitter! :greengrin
13-10-2019, 02:29 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/scotland/50028137
Scotland's World Cup game with Japan will go ahead on Sunday, World Rugby has confirmed.
Gregor Townsend's men would have been eliminated from the World Cup had the Pool A finale been cancelled.
pity the Namibia v Canada game was called off, was looking forward to it as both teams would be desperate to get at least one win under their belt
13-10-2019, 08:06 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/scotland/50028137
Scotland's World Cup game with Japan will go ahead on Sunday, World Rugby has confirmed.
Gregor Townsend's men would have been eliminated from the World Cup had the Pool A finale been cancelled.
pity the Namibia v Canada game was called off, was looking forward to it as both teams would be desperate to get at least one win under their belt
It's Namibia and Canada's world Cup final gone. I wonder if they're pointing fingers at Scotland and complaining about favours and corruption for the big, established nations?
13-10-2019, 10:19 AM
It's Namibia and Canada's world Cup final gone. I wonder if they're pointing fingers at Scotland and complaining about favours and corruption for the big, established nations?
they should have threatened legal action as well :)
13-10-2019, 10:23 AM
they should have threatened legal action as well :)
The SRU done well to get the pre-emptive complaint in. No point complaining when it’s too late.
13-10-2019, 10:27 AM
i can feel it in my water this is going to be a cracking game, both sides can win it
mon Scotland
13-10-2019, 10:29 AM
I would hope they do. Mismanagement on an epic scale by world rugby. Easy to ignore the feelings of Namibia and Canada.
13-10-2019, 10:29 AM
Both teams were already eliminated from the competition so would have been going home regardless.
Similarly if Scotland were already knocked out then I don't imagine many folk on the Scotland camp would be too fussed either.
13-10-2019, 10:40 AM
The SRU done well to get the pre-emptive complaint in. No point complaining when it’s too late.
we planted a seed :) if we get beat eddie jones will laugh the loudest
13-10-2019, 10:41 AM
Nerves proper kicking in now! It feels like a final.
Come on Scotland!
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 10:45 AM
The whole thing was a farce and other teams can rightly feel hard done by.
Credit is due for getting this game on but let's not pretend pressure from the SRU didn't play a part.
At least we can now get knocked out properly [emoji23]
Seriously, now it's time to play. Come on SCOTLAND!
13-10-2019, 10:54 AM
yasss :greengrin
13-10-2019, 10:55 AM
Try Scotland.
13-10-2019, 10:56 AM
:7: mins :0:-:7:
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 10:57 AM
Excellent start.
13-10-2019, 10:57 AM
Come on Scotland!! Never thought I would care about rugby more than football :greengrin
13-10-2019, 10:58 AM
Yass!
That will do for starters
Not going to get excited just yet. Still a long way to go
13-10-2019, 10:59 AM
great turnover for scotland right on our try line
penalty japan...missed
13-10-2019, 11:04 AM
Come on Scotland!! Never thought I would care about rugby more than football :greengrin
I was saying that last night. Paying more attention to rugby and someone running a marathon than I am football, and by some distance too.
Game has started out as lively an affair as predicted. Hopefully we can do what's required.
13-10-2019, 11:06 AM
Let off there. Tamura is usually good from the kicking tee
13-10-2019, 11:07 AM
nice try japan
we've not done much since scoring :greengrin
13-10-2019, 11:07 AM
Try Japan.
13-10-2019, 11:08 AM
Very nice try
13-10-2019, 11:08 AM
That was high quality from Japan. Not a country you imemdiately associate with rugby, but they can really play. Have to say a few of their players are about as Japanese as I am :greengrin
13-10-2019, 11:10 AM
brilliant holding up
13-10-2019, 11:12 AM
Poor lad
13-10-2019, 11:16 AM
Another fantastic try Japan
13-10-2019, 11:16 AM
great try japan again, we've done fizz all since scoring
13-10-2019, 11:17 AM
A second try for Japan. They are excellent with ball in hand. We have a real battle here.
13-10-2019, 11:17 AM
Japan are going to win this match easily, unfortunately.
13-10-2019, 11:19 AM
glad i got 6/4 before they scored that 2nd try
13-10-2019, 11:21 AM
jonny gray will be lucky not to get a yellow
13-10-2019, 11:21 AM
Japan are a breath of fresh air in this tournament.
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 11:23 AM
That's excellent refereeing. There's no way that was a penalty
13-10-2019, 11:24 AM
Not a chance we’re going through unless we go up 2 gears. They’re so up for it and we’re constantly defending.
Scotland need to score next or they are getting beat here.
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 11:26 AM
Not a chance we’re going through unless we go up 2 gears. They’re so up for it and we’re constantly defending.Agreed. It's backs to the wall stuff.
Japan are a breath of fresh air in this tournament.
Yes, exciting to watch and also have good game management.
Since we scored, it’s just been one way attack.
Need to step it up a couple of gears otherwise I fear this is going to be a hammering
They make a fuss about the line-out ball going in straight but it's a different matter with the scrums. Why is that?
13-10-2019, 11:29 AM
In big trouble now like.
bringbackbenny
13-10-2019, 11:29 AM
I can't fathom why we are kicking at every possession? It's constant and handing the initiative to Japan almost every occasion
13-10-2019, 11:31 AM
They make a fuss about the line-out ball going in straight but it's a different matter with the scrums. Why is that?
Scrums are farce in RU. They’d be as well awarding a non scorable penalty to the team putting the ball in.
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 11:31 AM
This is really poor.
13-10-2019, 11:32 AM
our scrums ****** here
hopefully we can at least contest the 2nd half
13-10-2019, 11:34 AM
21-7 Japan.
13-10-2019, 11:35 AM
Big left off with the penalty then another great try. We are in massive trouble now.
Mr Grieves
This is piss poor from Scotland
Game over already
Game over
Well done Japan
Just_Jimmy
We're beat. It's utterly garbage. Our kicking is pathetic and we're just giving it back every time.
Scots leaden-footed on the right side.
FFS.
Game over.
outfought/outsmarted
Tournament over. We are not winning this game with a bonus point.
13-10-2019, 11:36 AM
Every time Japan miss a penalty, they score a try!
I'm sick and fed up of watching Scotland get beaten at everything.
I’d take a draw now like.
No complaints. Japan are light years ahead of us in skill and determination. They’ll give every team a fright.
just abandon the game, please
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 11:37 AM
I’d take a draw now like.[emoji23]
13-10-2019, 11:37 AM
Should have accepted the draw.....
13-10-2019, 11:38 AM
Hats off to Japan. They’ve been terrific!
Look the fittest team in the competition. Their energy levels are just insane!
13-10-2019, 11:43 AM
21-7 is more than fair: 79 per cent possession to Japan. Our only hope is they run out of steam.
13-10-2019, 11:44 AM
We should try and stop the Japanese guys getting the ball so much because they just keep scoring points.
13-10-2019, 11:47 AM
Losing 3 converted tries in a row takes away the fear of, well, you know.
13-10-2019, 11:51 AM
Losing 3 converted tries in a row takes away the fear of, well, you know.
Aye, they've walked right into our trap :greengrin
13-10-2019, 11:54 AM
now it's embarrassing how far we are behind the japanese at rugby
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 11:55 AM
No changes at HT. Cos the first half went so well ...
13-10-2019, 11:55 AM
we should sue the rugby authorities for forcing us to play this game
CloudSquall
13-10-2019, 11:56 AM
How are we this bad at team sports??
Apart from occasional individuals (Hoy, Murray) our teams are absolutely honking when compared to similiar sized countries.
Just_Jimmy
Japan deserve this. They've been sensational.
At least we're being knocked out on the field.
Get Townsend out the door as soon as the final whistle goes. He’s been treading water for far too long in games where it matters, and he’s being found out big time here. Japan are playing great rugby but we’re all over the place.
13-10-2019, 11:57 AM
Japan are playing like the Barbarians. So damn good
13-10-2019, 11:57 AM
every single time we kick away possession it just keeps coming right on back
13-10-2019, 11:59 AM
This must be the biggest crowd Hamilton Accies have ever had!
13-10-2019, 12:00 PM
How are we this bad at team sports??
Apart from occasional individuals (Hoy, Murray) our teams are absolutely honking when compared to similiar sized countries.
I think we are still good at curling...
13-10-2019, 12:00 PM
Scotland are attacking :eek:
only taken 40 minutes
try, what a team :thumbsup:
13-10-2019, 12:02 PM
Scotland are attacking :eek:
Don’t panic. We’ll concede a penalty imminently.
Wow. Try Scotland!
28-12
Try. :saltireflag
13-10-2019, 12:03 PM
Repeat of Twickenham 😁
13-10-2019, 12:03 PM
28-14
Only another 22 points needed.
13-10-2019, 12:04 PM
Maybe it's time we just accept our place in the hierarchy when it comes to football and rugby. One of those nations that sees an opposition coach from a half decent team say 'it's always a tough game' which translates as 'anything less than a convincing win could see me sacked'.
13-10-2019, 12:04 PM
I actually think it's a case that Japan are very very good as opposed to Scotland being that bad. I fancy Japan to beat South Africa.
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 12:05 PM
Get Townsend out the door as soon as the final whistle goes. He’s been treading water for far too long in games where it matters, and he’s being found out big time here. Japan are playing great rugby but we’re all over the place.We've had this convo before but I agree entirely.
13-10-2019, 12:06 PM
Maybe it's time we just accept our place in the hierarchy when it comes to football and rugby. One of those nations that sees an opposition coach from a half decent team say 'it's always a tough game' which translates as 'anything less than a convincing win could see me sacked'.
Yes, it's sad the way have slipped down the pecking order. We are much better at rugby than football, but it's hardly great.
13-10-2019, 12:06 PM
I actually think it's a case that Japan are very very good as opposed to Scotland being that bad. I fancy Japan to beat South Africa.
So far from what I’ve seen, they look the most fittest team in the competition.
13-10-2019, 12:07 PM
I was beginning to think that Japan had the game to beat the bigger teams but when you see them let Scotland score a try against the run of play you can see they have weaknesses after all and this could be their cup final. They won’t have it so easy against the likes of NZ.
13-10-2019, 12:09 PM
another try oooooooh :greengrin
Japan might just be tiring here.
Get in there :greengrin
TRY
It’s the hope that kills you...
Try Scotland!
28-19
Well, well, well.....
13-10-2019, 12:10 PM
The spirit of Twickenham lives!
Hang on a minute....
28-21
15 needed.
13-10-2019, 12:11 PM
Twickenham deja vu here
CloudSquall
13-10-2019, 12:12 PM
Why do they do this to us :boo hoo:
13-10-2019, 12:12 PM
Clever game management is essential now. Try to deny Japan their running game and make it attritional with the big forwards.
13-10-2019, 12:13 PM
i wish they would at least knock-on every so often
13-10-2019, 12:15 PM
That big Nakagima is a mountain of a man who coould easily be sumo wrestler. Immense.
Fantastic defending by Scotland there
great turnover ritchie
CloudSquall
13-10-2019, 12:16 PM
I think with them getting the 4 try bonus point we're screwed.
13-10-2019, 12:18 PM
20 yard forward pass, what a ****** mess of a pass fgs
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 12:18 PM
That's garbage.
13-10-2019, 12:24 PM
I don't see it happening now.
13-10-2019, 12:24 PM
basics eh :rolleyes:
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 12:26 PM
No way we're getting 15 without reply now.
13-10-2019, 12:26 PM
ran out of time, japan should consolidate here now
ooooh poor lineout
13-10-2019, 12:29 PM
horne ffs get stuck in and pick it up
13-10-2019, 12:32 PM
michael leitch, guid japanese name :greengrin
13-10-2019, 12:32 PM
oh look, a forward scottish pass
and yet another one
we seriously struggle with the basics
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 12:34 PM
Townsend should go. It's the same basic errors everytime.
13-10-2019, 12:34 PM
Handling error again as we get into their 22. Congratulations Japan: what a great story for them.
13-10-2019, 12:35 PM
:doh:
japan managed to turn things around, why could we not in the first 40
oh look, a forward scottish pass
and yet another one
we seriously struggle with the basics
I was just saying the same - all very well being able to chuck it about like the Harlem globetrotters but not if you can’t do the simple stuff.
Japan haven’t made a costly mistake all day.
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 12:39 PM
This will end up 28-28 and we'll have watched a great game of rugby and still ended up with a draw putting us out.
13-10-2019, 12:40 PM
Congratulations Japan.
Yet another Scottish sporting failure.
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 12:41 PM
Only Scotland...
13-10-2019, 12:41 PM
Congratulations Japan
Well deserved winners
13-10-2019, 12:42 PM
well done japan, yet another woeful first 40 from our team, i've felt throughout the group games Japan would give South Africa a better challenge than Scotland would :agree: at least i made £50 out of our ineptness
CloudSquall
Get Townsend tae...
All credit to Japan though, to top the group above Ireland and go 4 for 4 is a tremendous achievement, they must fancy their chances against South Africa.
What a noise. Like 21/5/2016 all over again
At least we showed some pride second half, after being battered first half. Both teams gave everything in a great game. We could have nicked it with fifteen minutes to go; just a shame a number of very silly errors denied us the chance to really put them under pressure.
Well done to Japan, they were outstanding; great skills and fitness. They deserved to win it.
13-10-2019, 12:43 PM
Disappointing result but a great game.
Japan are a very decent outfit.
13-10-2019, 12:43 PM
Great stuff. Nothing like rugby for stirring the senses.
13-10-2019, 12:44 PM
Not even a glorious failure ....... a massive failure in the first half followed by a half decent performance in the second. Still nowhere near good enough overall. As I said earlier, I don’t think Japan won’t do much more in the coming games that really count.
Just_Jimmy
13-10-2019, 12:44 PM
Japan were well worth their win. Good luck to them.
I'm sick of how pish we are at everything.
13-10-2019, 12:45 PM
At least we showed some pride second half, after being battered first half. Both teams gave everything in a great game. We could have nicked it with fifteen minutes to go; just a shame a number of very silly errors denied us the chance to really put them under pressure.
Well done to Japan, they were outstanding; great skills and fitness. They deserved to win it.
a VERY Scottish Rugby Trait, and has been since the beginning of time
13-10-2019, 12:46 PM
Not even a glorious failure ....... a massive failure in the first half followed by a half decent performance in the second. Still nowhere near good enough overall. As I said earlier, I don’t think Japan won’t do much more in the coming games that really count.
they beat SA in 2015 and they can do so again
13-10-2019, 12:48 PM
I wouldn’t instantly write them off. They’ve been the most impressive team in the tournament so far. Their fitness levels are just incredible!
13-10-2019, 12:51 PM
Ireland with the short straw in the quarter-finals. Nobody wants to play thr All Blacks in a knockout match.
13-10-2019, 12:51 PM
A great game of rugby, the better team won. Japan are excellent to watch, no errors, great handling, accurate, aggressive, fit as ****, well coached. Get Townsend out and ask if big Been wants to come back.
Well done Japan
13-10-2019, 12:53 PM
A great game of rugby, the better team won. Japan are excellent to watch, no errors, great handling, accurate, aggressive, fit as ****, well coached. Get Townsend out and ask if big Been wants to come back.
Well done Japan
What about Jamie Joseph? If we were to get rid of Townsend (unfortunately can’t see it), he has to be on that shortlist. His Japan team is just incredible!
13-10-2019, 12:56 PM
What about Jamie Joseph? If we were to get rid of Townsend (unfortunately can’t see it), he has to be on that shortlist. His Japan team is just incredible!
I agree, probably earning more in Japan than he would with the SRU. Japan is very well funded. Japan look very very well coached. Sadly we were very insular and lost one of the top coaches in the world just so the Scottish laddie who was doing ok at club level got the job
13-10-2019, 12:59 PM
I agree, probably earning more in Japan than he would with the SRU. Japan is very well funded. Japan look very very well coached. Sadly we were very insular and lost one of the top coaches in the world just so the Scottish laddie who was doing ok at club level got the job
Was an absolute criminal decision getting rid of Vern
13-10-2019, 01:01 PM
Totally agree, that's who I meant when I typed big Been!! One of the top coaches in the world and we let him go just so Townsend could walk in. Terrible, short sighted decision
13-10-2019, 01:01 PM
at least we're holding on to 9th in the world rankings, just ahead of argentina, if georgia continue upwards we will be outside the top 10 in the next couple of years
13-10-2019, 01:02 PM
Disappointing result but a great game.
Japan are a very decent outfit.
:agree: great game. Japan were excellent.
And ranked above us in the world rankings.
13-10-2019, 01:03 PM
According to the guys in the studio they’re on a fraction of what the “tier 1” nations are so maybe not the case.
pontius pilate
13-10-2019, 01:03 PM
So Japan top a group containing both scotland and Ireland and progress to face a SA team who the beat in 2015. The handling running offload and fitness levels of this Japanese team makes me think they could well progress to the final
13-10-2019, 01:05 PM
So Japan top a group containing both scotland and Ireland and progress to face a SA team who the beat in 2015. The handling running offload and fitness levels of this Japanese team makes me think they could well progress to the final
They could definitely make the semi. I’m not sure if they’ve got enough to do it 3 weeks on the spin.
13-10-2019, 01:07 PM
Totally agree, that's who I meant when I typed big Been!! One of the top coaches in the world and we let him go just so Townsend could walk in. Terrible, short sighted decision
Exactly what it was. An abysmal decision by the SRU. We were on an upwards spiral under Vern. The progress was there for all to see.
When Townsend won the championship with Glasgow, he was being monitored by a couple of English Premiership clubs and the SRU didn’t want to lose him down south as they knew the money down there is far greater than it is up here. Hence why they got rid of Vern, just so they didn’t lose out on Townsend to a club down south.
13-10-2019, 01:09 PM
According to the guys in the studio they’re on a fraction of what the “tier 1” nations are so maybe not the case.
If that’s the case then start making contact with his agent now or someone else is going to get him.
Then again, unfortunately I think Townsend will still be at the wheel.
Torto7
13-10-2019, 01:09 PM
Japan were worthy winners. I'm sorry for tooney but its the same flaws over and over again. He needs to go. Jamie Ritchie was immense.
40 million watched the Japanese group games god knows what the rating will be for this one. They're now an established tier 1 team and will only go from strength to strength. I actually worry about Scotland long term and falling out of the top tier. The Americans are getting their domestic set up sorted as well.
13-10-2019, 01:10 PM
Japan were worthy winners. I'm sorry for tooney but its the same flaws over and over again. He needs to go. Jamie Ritchie was immense.
40 million watched the Japanese group games god knows what the rating will be for this one. They're now an established tier 1 team and will only go from strength to strength. I actually worry about Scotland long term and falling out of the top tier. The Americans are getting their domestic set up sorted as well.
Yes, there are nations improving well. We might end up in the same position as the football.
13-10-2019, 01:13 PM
If that’s the case then start making contact with his agent now or someone else is going to get him.
Then again, unfortunately I think Townsend will still be at the wheel.
Could maybe give some of their players a passport and ship them over.
13-10-2019, 01:16 PM
Japan should play in the southern hemisphere championship . Make it five nations.
13-10-2019, 01:16 PM
it's perfectly possible this WC might just be the last Scotland could possibly have a good chance of going through as a group runner-up, imo
13-10-2019, 01:18 PM
Yeah, they are "part time" most of them play for works teams and have VERY well paid jobs in the corporation that also allows them to have 240 days in training camp earning a further sum from the JRU. I would be willing to bet that they will all round be earning just as much if not more than the Edinburgh or Glasgow players. Scotland do not pay very high wages. The guys you saw playing today will be earning for their clubs about the same as Hibs players plus the top up of national appearance money.
13-10-2019, 01:23 PM
Yeah, they are "part time" most of them play for works teams and have VERY well paid jobs in the corporation that also allows them to have 240 days in training camp earning a further sum from the JRU. I would be willing to bet that they will all round be earning just as much if not more than the Edinburgh or Glasgow players. Scotland do not pay very high wages. The guys you saw playing today will be earning for their clubs about the same as Hibs players plus the top up of national appearance money.
Apparently Edinburgh Rugby's salary cost per year is 3.8 million and Glasgow's is 4.2 million. I can't remember what Hibs is.
Obviously guys like Hogg and Russell will be the exception, I think Finn Russell is on 10k a week at Racing.
nellio
13-10-2019, 01:24 PM
Japan should play in the southern hemisphere championship . Make it five nations.
Definitely. Should have happened already but hasn't for whatever reason.
13-10-2019, 01:27 PM
Apparently Edinburgh Rugby's salary cost per year is 3.8 million and Glasgow's is 4.2 million. I can't remember what Hibs is.
Obviously guys like Hogg and Russell will be the exception, I think Finn Russell is on 10k a week at Racing.
Bear in mind that the squads at Edinburgh and Glasgow are about 50 players each. It is one of the reasons that players leave to go to France and England, we cannot compete with the wages on offer
13-10-2019, 01:29 PM
Bear in mind that the squads at Edinburgh and Glasgow are about 50 players each. It is one of the reasons that players leave to go to France and England, we cannot compete with the wages on offer
Yip , losing guys like Hogg and Gray to English clubs definitely doesn't help the national team.
13-10-2019, 01:46 PM
They're in the Northern Hemisphere though. Should they not be added to the Six Nations?
13-10-2019, 01:58 PM
They're in the Northern Hemisphere though. Should they not be added to the Six Nations?
Georgia will be an addition to the six nations before japan are, it's a shame for the japanese as there would be a helluva travelling involved whatever group they joined, 11 hours to both the UK and New Zealand for them, having said that it's 12 hours Argentina to New Zealand in the championship, i simply cannot see six nations countries overly keen to include Japan....
Torto7
13-10-2019, 03:20 PM
Yes, there are nations improving well. We might end up in the same position as the football.
I think that's likely in the mid to long term. I can see a situation in 30/40 years were all the best players play in 4 competitions. The U.S, France, Asia and the U.k. I think the Celtic teams will join a U.k league. It wouldn't even surprise me if the big rugby league clubs end up involved after 50 or so years and the game is some form of hybrid.
The southern Hemisphere teams will become like Brazil in football all the best players playing overseas. That's already happening tbf.
Townsend is the establishment coach but he's never an international level one. He wants to play the game as open as possible but his team lacks discipline in the defensive side, the ball needs played through the forwards and you have to gain control and suck in the opponents back line before you can have the expansive game. His players go all out for it as soon as the whistle goes, this works against lesser teams but generally against good organised sides we'll get humped, against England was perfect example, hammered in the 1st half and only allowed back into it when they took their foot off the pedal. Ireland and Japan did the same, sucked us in and hit our gaps with pace and great handling.
Vern Cotter was treated disgracefully by the SRU, he had the team playing very well with the players all loving him as a coach but the SRU had Townsend learning his trade at Glasgow just waiting in the wings, he's a poor coach with poor tactics.
13-10-2019, 04:35 PM
Townsend is the establishment coach but he's never an international level one. He wants to play the game as open as possible but his team lacks discipline in the defensive side, the ball needs played through the forwards and you have to gain control and suck in the opponents back line before you can have the expansive game. His players go all out for it as soon as the whistle goes, this works against lesser teams but generally against good organised sides we'll get humped, against England was perfect example, hammered in the 1st half and only allowed back into it when they took their foot off the pedal. Ireland and Japan did the same, sucked us in and hit our gaps with pace and great handling.
Vern Cotter was treated disgracefully by the SRU, he had the team playing very well with the players all loving him as a coach but the SRU had Townsend learning his trade at Glasgow just waiting in the wings, he's a poor coach with poor tactics.
It was the wrong decision to get rid of Cotter but to say he was treated disgracefuly is not right. His contract had ended and it was not renewed. It was the wrong decision on hindsight, but it's not as if they ended it early, so to say he was treated disgracefuly is wrong.
13-10-2019, 05:00 PM
Mea culpa! Oh well, you know what I mean. I doubt the Aussies etc would be too strict about that. They'd be a big draw.
It was the wrong decision to get rid of Cotter but to say he was treated disgracefuly is not right. His contract had ended and it was not renewed. It was the wrong decision on hindsight, but it's not as if they ended it early, so to say he was treated disgracefuly is wrong.
He was under the assumption his contract would be extended, it wasn't and Townsend took over, if you get a chance to see his interview when he left you'll see him shed a ear talking about it. Townsend is the wrong man for Scotland, decent coach but never an international one, he's the SRU choice and was earmarked for the job when at Glasgow.
14-10-2019, 07:41 AM
He was under the assumption his contract would be extended, it wasn't and Townsend took over, if you get a chance to see his interview when he left you'll see him shed a ear talking about it. Townsend is the wrong man for Scotland, decent coach but never an international one, he's the SRU choice and was earmarked for the job when at Glasgow.
Some of the games under Townsend have been amazing however some have been atrocious such as Ireland first up where we never laid a glove on them which immediately put us on the back foot. Too much onus on Russell who is either famine or feast capable of brilliance but also basic mistakes. Russell's kicking game yesterday was woeful continually gave the ball away especially in the final 22 with 50/50 chips which never came off. Like the style that Townsend tries to play but defensively not good enough against the power teams. Yesterday was a great game to watch but again we gave ourselves a mountain to climb.
The Pointer
14-10-2019, 08:12 AM
I read a few months ago that a lot of Saffie players are expected to move to European teams after the World Cup because of the increasing lawlessness in the country.
14-10-2019, 10:52 AM
I read a few months ago that a lot of Saffie players are expected to move to European teams after the World Cup because of the increasing lawlessness in the country.
Wow. An old school fried of mine lives in Cape Town, and though she mentioned there are big problems in the country just now, she didn't say things were that bad. I will need to catch with her and find out what it's like.
14-10-2019, 02:57 PM
Townsend’s contract runs out in 2021. I reckon the 6 Nations is do or die. He needs a massive improvement not just in terms of pulling off a result or two but performances as well, particularly defensively. Otherwise the unrest amongst the fans is going to make the SRU act much sooner than 2021. Although very unlikely, just hope Jamie Joseph hasn’t been snapped up by then!
Sergio sledge
14-10-2019, 04:09 PM
Townsend’s contract runs out in 2021. I reckon the 6 Nations is do or die. He needs a massive improvement not just in terms of pulling off a result or two but performances as well, particularly defensively. Otherwise the unrest amongst the fans is going to make the SRU act much sooner than 2021. Although very unlikely, just hope Jamie Joseph hasn’t been snapped up by then!
Yeah, the next 6 Nations has to be an improvement or he'll be gone I reckon. We're not far off being a really good team and I like the style of play in attack that we are trying to play, but the team is so open that we just leak tries at an alarming rate.
One of the problems is that we can't seem to hold on to the ball for any great length of time. Japan actually play a very similar style of rugby to the one Scotland are trying to play, but they accuracy they do it with is so much better than ours which means they hold onto the ball longer and build up momentum and pressure on the opposition. We just always seem to make that one mistake or bad decision which means the ball is handed back to the opposition.
We need to be able to be more accurate and not kick the ball away so much, play some possession rugby. Townsend and the players need to be a bit more pragmatic.
Townsend still has the best win rate of any of the Scotland coaches in my lifetime (including the 1990 grand slam side) and has turned us into an exciting attacking team scoring more than 3 tries a match on average. I still have nightmares about the bad old days under Andy Robinson where we were scoring less than a try a game.
We're capable of beating anyone on our day, but equally capable of losing, Townsend needs a to get some consistency into the team and, I think, win 3 games in this years 6 Nations. Winning at home vs France (on current inconsistent form) should be do-able, and England at home has got to be targeted for a win. Then beating Italy away is expected. Do that and he'll buy some time.
Despite the maddening play sometimes, I'd still rather watch us playing this way and sometimes losing than some of the dross we have been subjected to in the last 19 years.
The Pointer
14-10-2019, 05:13 PM
Wow. An old school fried of mine lives in Cape Town, and though she mentioned there are big problems in the country just now, she didn't say things were that bad. I will need to catch with her and find out what it's like.
Unfortunately going down the Zimbabwe route as the SA parliament passed a law permitting seizure of white owned land without compensation. There have been many murders carried out on farms and security is one of the biggest issues for families.
Planning on going there but will have to be sooner rather than later.
14-10-2019, 07:01 PM
the irish guy red carded has been banned for 3 games, WC over for him
15-10-2019, 12:44 AM
I think Wales will be finalists
15-10-2019, 06:08 AM
Looks like it - I can’t see Japan managing to raise themselves that many weeks in a row.
England v NZ in the other semi final is looking likely as well.
If it’s an England v Wales final I’d be struggling to want anyone to win.
The Pointer
15-10-2019, 07:02 AM
Scotland are at their best when they play an offloading, expansive style of game but we always try to force it resulting in knock-ons ( knocks-on??) and dropped passes. Hogg didn't get a chance to impose himself and Russell was 'suffocated' by the Jap defence. Also, thanks Greig for your fantastic service over the years but there are younger, hungrier, faster 9s out there.
I see where Toony wants to go with the high tempo stuff but I'm not sure we have the players to do it yet at a high enough standard. This is what the Japs did very well and showed us up as a result and they could go far.
15-10-2019, 07:09 AM
This can't be a coincidence on the back of our defeat:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-business-50041728
15-10-2019, 07:53 AM
Think South Africa will in that side of the draw also wouldn't rule out France in one off match against wales given their World Cup record.
Peter Wright summed it up perfectly, he criticised the defence coach saying the forwards, particularly the front 3 weren't nasty or hard enough. The initial hits are not driving players backwards, as I said in another post, you have to win the game in the forwards 1st before playing your expansive game.
15-10-2019, 02:17 PM
Peter Wright summed it up perfectly, he criticised the defence coach saying the forwards, particularly the front 3 weren't nasty or hard enough. The initial hits are not driving players backwards, as I said in another post, you have to win the game in the forwards 1st before playing your expansive game.
Correct, it's a very old saying that in rugby it's forwards that win matches the backs decide by how much. You can have the best set if backs in the world but without ball they can't do a thing. Except our backs like to kick the ball away when they have it. And that is 100% a tactic that has been deployed by Townsend. We even kick the ball away inside the opposition 22!!
15-10-2019, 03:08 PM
Yeah, the next 6 Nations has to be an improvement or he'll be gone I reckon. We're not far off being a really good team and I like the style of play in attack that we are trying to play, but the team is so open that we just leak tries at an alarming rate.
One of the problems is that we can't seem to hold on to the ball for any great length of time. Japan actually play a very similar style of rugby to the one Scotland are trying to play, but they accuracy they do it with is so much better than ours which means they hold onto the ball longer and build up momentum and pressure on the opposition. We just always seem to make that one mistake or bad decision which means the ball is handed back to the opposition.
We need to be able to be more accurate and not kick the ball away so much, play some possession rugby. Townsend and the players need to be a bit more pragmatic.
Townsend still has the best win rate of any of the Scotland coaches in my lifetime (including the 1990 grand slam side) and has turned us into an exciting attacking team scoring more than 3 tries a match on average. I still have nightmares about the bad old days under Andy Robinson where we were scoring less than a try a game.
We're capable of beating anyone on our day, but equally capable of losing, Townsend needs a to get some consistency into the team and, I think, win 3 games in this years 6 Nations. Winning at home vs France (on current inconsistent form) should be do-able, and England at home has got to be targeted for a win. Then beating Italy away is expected. Do that and he'll buy some time.
Despite the maddening play sometimes, I'd still rather watch us playing this way and sometimes losing than some of the dross we have been subjected to in the last 19 years.
You make some very good points and I agree with majority of what you are saying.
However, it’s been pointed out massively that we don’t have a plan B when we come up against nations that are going to prove a big challenge to Scotland and that the expansive style of rugby isn’t going to work. Playing the expansive style of rugby is definitely great on the eye and works so well against the smaller rugby nations like Canada, Georgia & Russia etc but when he deploys it against nations that are better than us i.e. Ireland, Wales etc we get battered as they know how to work round it.
Will see what happens at this upcoming 6 Nations. As mentioned not only does he need results but also good performances that make you feel at the end of the game, we were fantastic and deservedly won/unlucky to have lost. Bring that positive feel good factor back that we had under Vern Cotter. Make us more solid defensively and cut out those silly errors. Show us that he can make us compete away from home as other than the 2nd half at Twickenham earlier this year, we have been brutal on the road for a very long time.
15-10-2019, 09:08 PM
This can't be a coincidence on the back of our defeat:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-business-50041728
And yet folk slagged off Theresa May :greengrin
18-10-2019, 11:01 AM
I'm going for England, South Africa, Wales and New Zealand.
18-10-2019, 11:03 AM
England, SA, France and NZ for me
18-10-2019, 08:54 PM
Correct, it's a very old saying that in rugby it's forwards that win matches the backs decide by how much. You can have the best set if backs in the world but without ball they can't do a thing. Except our backs like to kick the ball away when they have it. And that is 100% a tactic that has been deployed by Townsend. We even kick the ball away inside the opposition 22!!
I’m no rugby expert having only really started watching in 2011, but is that kicking game as inexplicable to folk who know the game as it is to me? Absolutely baffling how often we quite literally gift the ball back to the opposition.
18-10-2019, 09:16 PM
I’m no rugby expert having only really started watching in 2011, but is that kicking game as inexplicable to folk who know the game as it is to me? Absolutely baffling how often we quite literally gift the ball back to the opposition.
the best team running it from the back is,unsurprisingly, the all blacks, i love watching them running it from the back they're so good they don't need to kick possession away, other teams that are confident they won't muck-up going forward will run it, and the others teams not so confident just want to clear the decks even if only briefly, having said that i confess to not knowing enough about rugby tactics to understand if there's other reasons for kicking away possession so often at the back
18-10-2019, 09:17 PM
I'm going for England, South Africa, Wales and New Zealand.
ditto :agree: get a wee ££ on it but with odds of that 4-fold @ 1/3 it's going to have to be handicaps
i'l skip the 8:15 am ko for england v australia as i suspect australia will start slowly again and not be able to claw it back
NZ v ireland a respectable northern hemisphere ko time @ 11:15 am
i'l get up for the wales v france game on sunday @ 8:15 tho
18-10-2019, 09:22 PM
Looking forward to the quarters this weekend.
England vs Australia - Going for an England win
New Zealand vs Ireland - All Blacks to win
Wales vs France - You could flip a coin with this one. Either side could win it. I didn’t see Wales’ game last week against Uruguay, in fact didn’t see any of the Sunday matches other than Scotland’s disappointing defeat to Japan. Heard Uruguay gave them a decent game. France always are the dark horses in RWC’s and I’m predicting them to narrowly nick it.
Japan vs South Africa - Would love Japan to repeat a 2nd miracle of Brighton again. Been an absolute joy to watch and my favourite team of the tournament so far. You’d expect South Africa to win but I’m not going to write this Japanese team off. Head says South Africa win but heart says Japan to shock the world again. It’s set up to be a fantastic match and the one I’m most looking forward to watching!
18-10-2019, 10:21 PM
the best team running it from the back is,unsurprisingly, the all blacks, i love watching them running it from the back they're so good they don't need to kick possession away, other teams that are confident they won't muck-up going forward will run it, and the others teams not so confident just want to clear the decks even if only briefly, having said that i confess to not knowing enough about rugby tactics to understand if there's other reasons for kicking away possession so often at the back
I’m sure I read somewhere that NZ kick the ball more than any of the other top teams. They just kick it at the right times and in the right positions more often as well.
19-10-2019, 07:47 AM
14-3 down and australia take the penalty in front of goal, i don't understand why they didn't kick for a line-out and try get more points...they need them :confused:
19-10-2019, 07:49 AM
14-3 down and australia take the penalty in front of goal, i don't understand why they didn't kick for a line-out and try get more points...they need them :confused:
Plenty time left - no need to panic and throw away the easiest 3 points they could get.
Decent game so far though.
19-10-2019, 07:52 AM
Plenty time left - no need to panic and throw away the easiest 3 points they could get.
Decent game so far though.
and then they give away a penalty straight away, i still think they should have went for more points as they're not going to be down the english try-line very often :greengrin
yes it's been pretty decent
19-10-2019, 07:53 AM
and then they give away a penalty straight away, i still think they should have went for more points as they're not going to be down the english try-line very often :greengrin
I know - I was typing as Farrell was lining it up!
Kick was the right choice at the time I reckon.
19-10-2019, 08:20 AM
That was an excellent try. Back in it.
19-10-2019, 08:23 AM
if we get what has been the normal australian 2nd half performances this could get very interesting
and then england score another try, australia need to stop giving away points after just getting points themselves :)
19-10-2019, 08:24 AM
As a former prop, I love seeing a prop running a try in from that far out - even if he is playing for England. :greengrin
19-10-2019, 08:26 AM
I can’t stick Itoje - all his squealing and shouting irritates me.
19-10-2019, 08:28 AM
england to win this 15+
19-10-2019, 08:32 AM
england to win this 15+
I was hoping their extra weeks rest would work against them but at the moment it looks like the opposite.
Still if they win it it’s tainted. :greengrin
19-10-2019, 08:35 AM
I was hoping their extra weeks rest would work against them but at the moment it looks like the opposite.
Still if they win it it’s tainted. :greengrin
19-10-2019, 08:37 AM
i didn't notice australia taking off the gadgy who's silly pass led to that last english penalty
19-10-2019, 08:38 AM
aussies muck up
CloudSquall
19-10-2019, 08:39 AM
That defensive play by England could be the key point in the match.
19-10-2019, 08:47 AM
sensible decision taking the penalty, 30-16 this should be enough to win it
the aussies like their risky long passes huh
40-16 it's a romp now
CloudSquall
19-10-2019, 09:06 AM
Very impressive from England, fitness looks fantastic, very strong contenders.
19-10-2019, 09:13 AM
Very impressive from England, fitness looks fantastic, very strong contenders.
They do. Getting a mini break at the end of the group stage has really set them up for the knockouts.
19-10-2019, 09:28 AM
England were very good excellent defensively and took their chances well. Australia was a lot like watching Scotland so many simple errors and shot themselves in the foot.
19-10-2019, 10:18 AM
Cmon Ireland.
Bored of the Haka now - far too choreographed.
19-10-2019, 10:26 AM
England were very good excellent defensively and took their chances well. Australia was a lot like watching Scotland so many simple errors and shot themselves in the foot.
Yip, England played well, did what they had to do but the Aussies were very poor today, in fact even we might have beaten them.
19-10-2019, 10:27 AM
Cmon Ireland.
Bored of the Haka now - far too choreographed.
Of course it is but it is a terrific spectacle and part of rugby history. Google the Haka and you'll get a laugh at it when it wasn't choreographed. Hope NZ pump Ireland
19-10-2019, 10:28 AM
game over after 6 mins :wink:
19-10-2019, 10:43 AM
the all blacks are an absolute joy to watch
the harlem globetrotters of Rugby
19-10-2019, 10:52 AM
I didn't get up early enough to see England V Australia. Great win for England.
So far New Zealand have been fautless; Ireland just can't get hold of the ball.
19-10-2019, 10:53 AM
As a side issue, do Scotland have any top flight referees? I cant think of any, in fact I can't even think of any Scottish refs at Pro fourteen level.
19-10-2019, 11:08 AM
Of course it is but it is a terrific spectacle and part of rugby history. Google the Haka and you'll get a laugh at it when it wasn't choreographed. Hope NZ pump Ireland
I’ve seen it before - I remember watching it vs The Lions in 1993 and loved it.
Past its sell by date now.
19-10-2019, 11:10 AM
the all blacks are an absolute joy to watch
the harlem globetrotters of Rugby
And Ireland have been shan - loads of errors. Making it even easier for NZ.
19-10-2019, 11:11 AM
All Blacks are forcing errors from Ireland via constant pressure. The Irish aren't given a moment on the ball.
HT - NZ 22 - 0 Ireland
19-10-2019, 11:15 AM
I’ve seen it before - I remember watching it vs The Lions in 1993 and loved it.
Past its sell by date now.
Go even further back, get some of the old black and white ones from the early seventies.
19-10-2019, 11:18 AM
Go even further back, get some of the old black and white ones from the early seventies.
I know looks amateurish and ridiculous- which kind of contradicts the part of rugby history argument?
19-10-2019, 11:19 AM
NZ doing what you do better than any other sports team in the world. Execute the basics perfectly, put pressure on the opposition, force errors, score off those errors, work harder than the others. They are superb. Still think England might beat them though
19-10-2019, 11:19 AM
Teaching the so called world number ones a lesson.
CloudSquall
19-10-2019, 11:28 AM
Trust their one performance to be against us in the opening match.
19-10-2019, 11:28 AM
Teaching the so called world number ones a lesson.
They were - down to 4th though I think.
Ireland have been poor in this tournament - and I include the game vs us in that.
19-10-2019, 11:29 AM
Trust their one performance to be against us in the opening match.
I genuinely don’t think they were that good in that game either. We were dreadful.
CloudSquall
19-10-2019, 11:31 AM
I genuinely don’t think they were that good in that game either. We were dreadful.
Yeah upon reflection that's more accurate.
19-10-2019, 11:37 AM
This could become a very long second half for Ireland.
CloudSquall
19-10-2019, 11:40 AM
England vs New Zealand will be a cracker.
19-10-2019, 11:44 AM
Thank goodness we are not playing the all blacks here.
19-10-2019, 11:49 AM
that was shocking missing touch from the penalty
19-10-2019, 11:53 AM
Awesome! Ireland have been just about as bad as Scotland. Poor decision making, poor execution, no idea how to defend against or attack NZ
19-10-2019, 11:53 AM
NZ have been awesome today, they are playing a different sport to Ireland today.
Good performance from England earlier, Australia have talent but they just arent pulling it together as a team presently.
Should be a great Semi final between England and NZ but you would have to make the All Blacks favourites.
Pre tournament I put my fiver on South Africa to win it and Im still quietly confident despite a good performance from England and a mega display from NZ today.
19-10-2019, 11:54 AM
three barrett's on the field, all blacks are as safe as houses
still time for another two tries
yet another kick fails to find touch, ouch
19-10-2019, 11:59 AM
Oh dear, Ireland have lost the plot. It was easier to ground the try than miss it.
19-10-2019, 11:59 AM
game on
19-10-2019, 12:00 PM
Over this time, and beneath the posts. Game on :greengrin
19-10-2019, 12:03 PM
superb support play from the all blacks
19-10-2019, 12:08 PM
i feel i should be paying ITV for the privilege of watching this