View Full Version : Rugby

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17

25-02-2024, 05:24 PM

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/428705143_10230759648390362_5915092035900804713_n. jpg?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=c42490&_nc_ohc=PMg1JVnEYGoAX9eTr8v&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfBueI_XkLvp8WGdBWs9eDxb3yAG-c14nYnqe1hH62OwNg&oe=65E08FBE

25-02-2024, 08:17 PM

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/428705143_10230759648390362_5915092035900804713_n. jpg?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=c42490&_nc_ohc=PMg1JVnEYGoAX9eTr8v&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfBueI_XkLvp8WGdBWs9eDxb3yAG-c14nYnqe1hH62OwNg&oe=65E08FBE

Mcbizz1998
26-02-2024, 11:32 AM
Italian penalty and the clocks in the red with a shot at the sticks

aw man hits the post, that's a real bummer for Italy, coulda woulda been a first win for them in France

French players advancing towards the kicker, not once but twice and the ref does nothing? It’s a penalty not a conversion they are supposed to be 10m back with their hands at their side, standing still. Should have been retaken, French lucky, again!!

01-03-2024, 01:39 PM
French players advancing towards the kicker, not once but twice and the ref does nothing? It’s a penalty not a conversion they are supposed to be 10m back with their hands at their side, standing still. Should have been retaken, French lucky, again!!

i didn't notice that at the time, couple of errors startong to creep in in recent times.

elsewhere i read stuart hogg was arrested and charged last sunday evening in hawick after a "disturbance"

01-03-2024, 01:48 PM
Darcy graham out for the season

01-03-2024, 01:48 PM
i didn't notice that at the time, couple of errors startong to creep in in recent times.

elsewhere i read stuart hogg was arrested and charged last sunday evening in hawick after a "disturbance"

He's been a bit of a tabloid tart recently. I think that's the second "disturbance" this year, and then there's the shenanigans of his private life.... :rolleyes:

01-03-2024, 04:02 PM
He's been a bit of a tabloid tart recently. I think that's the second "disturbance" this year, and then there's the shenanigans of his private life.... :rolleyes:

Fair chance he was likely provoked given his personal life but no excuse he more than anyone would likely expect it. Bit odd the way it has worked out for him in terms of both career and private life. Assume has had a fair number of injuries to make him retire sooner than most would have expected.

01-03-2024, 04:11 PM
Fair chance he was likely provoked given his personal life but no excuse he more than anyone would likely expect it. Bit odd the way it has worked out for him in terms of both career and private life. Assume has had a fair number of injuries to make him retire sooner than most would have expected.

The press are saying the disturbance was outside his ex-wife's house. Read into that what you will.

01-03-2024, 09:57 PM
A turgid performance in less than great conditions at The Hive tonight, but a 19-15 win for Edinburgh against Ospreys. Thank goodness for the boot of Ben Healy!

02-03-2024, 04:16 PM

though the article didn't say where i did immediately think it would be something to do with his estranged wife

02-03-2024, 04:17 PM
good win for Glasgow at Benetton FT 9-19, Glasgow top at least until Leinster play later this evening at Cardiff

Mcbizz1998
08-03-2024, 01:36 PM
Looking forward to tomorrow. Really like the look of the team, few changes but still strong. Horne, Christie and Redpath are all exciting options to bring in.

2 tries from Duhan tomorrow will break the record, 15/4 with Bet365.

08-03-2024, 03:00 PM
Looking forward to tomorrow. Really like the look of the team, few changes but still strong. Horne, Christie and Redpath are all exciting options to bring in.

2 tries from Duhan tomorrow will break the record, 15/4 with Bet365.

I have a feeling it's going to be a disappointing day tomorrow. We really need a BP win, and that Italian team look bloody good on paper. We also realistically need to hope England do us a favour, or it's competition over by 7pm tomorrow...

08-03-2024, 09:34 PM
Italy u20's clobber Scotland 47-14 Scotland bottom of the table with just one point, a bonus point, we really are so far behind at that level

no doubt another hammering awaits against an Ireland side next week going for the title after they scored an injury time Try against England for the draw 32-32

09-03-2024, 08:27 AM
Italy u20's clobber Scotland 47-14 Scotland bottom of the table with just one point, a bonus point, we really are so far behind at that level

no doubt another hammering awaits against an Ireland side next week going for the title after they scored an injury time Try against England for the draw 32-32

Pretty shameful result for Scotland that. Obviously something seriously wrong with the development path.

He's here!
09-03-2024, 08:30 AM

Watched the game last night. Alarming how easily we were overrun.

09-03-2024, 10:38 AM
Scotland age groups have been pish for years now. And it's all down to the SRU ignoring grass roots club rugby. I say this constantly but club rugby is gubbed in Scotland because growing grass roots is not one of Dodsons main KPIs. Anyway, Rome is full of Scots fans today. Between 15 to 20 thousand apparently

09-03-2024, 01:29 PM
Good start from Scotland, 3-14.

09-03-2024, 01:29 PM
Easy peasy for Scotland here. Playing it perfectly. 3-14

09-03-2024, 01:32 PM
Great response from the Italians, 14-10.

09-03-2024, 01:45 PM
Great drive there for another Scottish try, 10-22.

09-03-2024, 01:51 PM
13-22.

09-03-2024, 01:56 PM
couple of mistakes from Redpath within 90 seconds, this one costs us 3 points

another huge error almost costs us a try

HT 16-22

09-03-2024, 01:59 PM
Been poor last 5 minutes or so. VDM finally getting a mention holding the Italian player up as he crossed the try line.

He's here!
09-03-2024, 02:05 PM
The Italy game never seems to carry the same intensity as the others and can get a bit sloppy. Scotland looking pretty decent overall tho.

09-03-2024, 02:19 PM
nice Try Italy 16 Scotland 27 simple con to come

oh oh TMO checking try

schu obstructing chalked off :rolleyes:

09-03-2024, 02:21 PM
Kinghorn WTF are you doing?

09-03-2024, 02:22 PM
right up the other end Try Italy

we've collapsed 21-22 reprieve with that missed con

individual error count rising

09-03-2024, 02:23 PM
right up the other end Try Italy

we've collapsed 21-22 reprieve with that missed con

I just don’t understand the reasoning for Kinghorn kicking at the poor Italian penalty!

We really need to get Jone and VDM into this game

09-03-2024, 02:26 PM
Another penalty conceded.

We need to step this up

09-03-2024, 02:29 PM
wee lick o paint needed for the stadium

09-03-2024, 02:31 PM
and another penalty given away in the scrum

stadium announcer yelling away during play

He's here!
09-03-2024, 02:32 PM
This is getting unnecessarily difficult.

09-03-2024, 02:36 PM
ah well Try Italy

totally out of it this half

Fuuuuuuck sake, Italy try.

Can't believe this after the first 30 minutes. 😥

Barring first few minutes of second half it’s all Italy. Very poor from Scotland so far.

09-03-2024, 02:37 PM
Falling apart here. Not sure what was in scotlands half time drink

09-03-2024, 02:37 PM
28-22

wonder if townsend will finally try change the flow

09-03-2024, 02:38 PM
Blown it big time, we’re very poor.

09-03-2024, 02:39 PM
Back to the bad old crappy sloppy Scotland performance here, shocking performance and game management.

09-03-2024, 02:40 PM
Falling apart here. Not sure what was in scotlands half time drink

the decline started 10-15 mins before the HT drink

Only one team looks like scoring further and it’s not Scotland. Zero fluency from Scotland

Just like Cardiff all over again, hopefully escape at the end.

09-03-2024, 02:44 PM
at least we're winning on handling errors 10-8

09-03-2024, 02:44 PM
Error after error from Scotland.

Hoping the chat about Townsend resting players with one eye on next week isn’t true. Win what’s in front of you first.

09-03-2024, 02:48 PM
can't do the basics now

09-03-2024, 02:49 PM
can't do the basics now

Why did VDM not attacking the line there instead of turning inside. Took out Prices run.

09-03-2024, 02:50 PM
VDM was far too greedy there and a wee close pass would have been a certain try.

09-03-2024, 02:51 PM
Kick this and it’s game over Scotland.

09-03-2024, 02:52 PM
not one point after 30 mins in the 2nd half

penalty Italy 31-22 quite embarrassing 2nd half performance, Italy deserve this lead

09-03-2024, 02:55 PM
bloddy heck vdm

09-03-2024, 02:55 PM
Not been a huge Townsend fan and this lacklustre performance does nothing to change my mind on him, a real top coach makes these players even better, look at Farrell at Ireland.

09-03-2024, 02:56 PM
Italy are very good but Scotland are Scotland.

09-03-2024, 02:59 PM
at last Scotland try with easy con to come 31-29

2 mins+ need that ball down the other end and hope for the penalty

09-03-2024, 03:04 PM

poor pass from kinghorn and that's that, well deserved win for the Italians, long time since i've saw a Scotland performance like that

a weekend double over Scotland, Italian Rugby progressing

09-03-2024, 03:05 PM
at last Scotland try with easy con to come 31-29

2 mins+ need that ball down the other end and hope for the penalty

Poor 30 plus minutes there from Scotland.
Poor tactics and poor second half showing.

09-03-2024, 03:06 PM
Gregor get your bags packed and **** off back to pail land. You have constantly failed when it matters.

09-03-2024, 03:07 PM
still got a hammering in Ireland to come

09-03-2024, 03:10 PM
first home win for Italy in the six nations for 11 years

well done Scotland

the manner of that defeat was absolutely awful, i'm not sure we can blame townsend too much for the players performance

He's here!
09-03-2024, 03:46 PM
Italy are very good but Scotland are Scotland.

Scotland should have had enough about them to win but yes Italy are much improved and ended up deserved winners.

09-03-2024, 04:10 PM
Great game at Twickenham so far, 8-6 England.

09-03-2024, 04:31 PM
8-12 half time.

09-03-2024, 05:20 PM
Was it a genuine knock on in the last play in Rome? Didn’t see one. Also thought the Italy player should had got yellow

09-03-2024, 05:35 PM
England beat Ireland. So annoying Scotland lost as there would have been the championship to play for next week.

09-03-2024, 05:36 PM
Brilliant from England to win the game.

We had our chances today in Rome and were found out wanting again when the pressure was on.

Oh next weeks game in Dublin could have been so so different.

On a side note I think some of the officiating has been horrendous this championship. Big calls called wrongly.

09-03-2024, 05:36 PM
ireland got what they deserved there i was amazed instead of holding on to the ball they kicked out to touch with just over a minute remaining, if i could have been bothered getting to the PC quicker i would have put a few quid on England getting at least a penalty to win it

still chin up ireland you have a very easy task next weekend

just waiting on Wales +6 tomorrow for the rugby weekend treble bet up

09-03-2024, 05:48 PM
next season

Round 1
31 January
France v Wales (20:15)
1 February
Scotland v Italy (14:15)....... very early prediction, loser favourite for the wooden spoon :agree:
Ireland v England (16:45)

Round 2
8 February
Italy v Wales (14:15)
England v France (16:45)
9 February
Scotland v Ireland (15:00)

Round 3
22 February
Wales v Ireland (14:15)
England v Scotland (16:45)
23 February
Italy v France (15:00)

Round 4
8 March
Ireland v France (14:15)
Scotland v Wales (16:45)
9 March
England v Italy (15:00)

Round 5
16 March
Italy v Ireland (14:15)
Wales v England (16:45)
France v Scotland (20:00)

1st & 8th of February, that'll be two home games for Hibs then huh :hmmm:

09-03-2024, 06:03 PM
England beat Ireland. So annoying Scotland lost as there would have been the championship to play for next week.

Yes nightmare

09-03-2024, 06:31 PM

We can still win it, no? Like, insane outside chance, but a BP win in Dublin wins it, no?

He's here!
09-03-2024, 07:52 PM

Yep, could have been going for the Grand Slam too had that try against France been allowed.

Deserved win for England incidentally.

Mcbizz1998
09-03-2024, 09:05 PM
I’m pretty gutted going to be honest.

Time for change I reckon? Toonie needs to go.

10-03-2024, 07:02 AM
We can still win it, no? Like, insane outside chance, but a BP win in Dublin wins it, no?

It does you’re right but could’ve been a lot simpler !

10-03-2024, 07:25 AM
Scotland lack a character to hold everyone together and maintain the discipline. They gave away too many penalties.

10-03-2024, 07:41 AM
Why is it when England win at rugby all the papers basically have full colour supplements and it feels like a national holiday will be called? ‘A game for the ages’. FFS. Why wasnt the previous umpteen times Ireland beat them similarly described? :faf:

10-03-2024, 07:54 AM
Gregor get your bags packed and **** off back to pail land. You have constantly failed when it matters.
Utter nonsense

10-03-2024, 07:56 AM
Was it a genuine knock on in the last play in Rome? Didn’t see one. Also thought the Italy player should had got yellow
Ball went backwards. Should have been "play on" and VDM had possession. Huge gaff from the ref to then blow for time. Another one.

10-03-2024, 08:01 AM
Utter nonsense
Explain then why it’s utter nonsense!!!

Mcbizz1998
10-03-2024, 08:08 AM
Utter nonsense

It’s really not. He has the best generation of players and had failed to win anything. We have gone sideways and with yesterday’s result, have gone backwards.

Time for change as if we don’t then we will continue to tread water.

10-03-2024, 08:19 AM
Ball went backwards. Should have been "play on" and VDM had possession. Huge gaff from the ref to then blow for time. Another one.

That's what I thought and was a bit out of kilter from how he reffed knocks ons as he was lenient earlier in the game. The penalty count for second half would be interesting however Italy were good though Scotland performance second half was poor and defensively looked all over the shop. Lynagh try he had so much space did we actually play with a full back. A sore one especially with England winning.

10-03-2024, 08:22 AM
It’s really not. He has the best generation of players and had failed to win anything. We have gone sideways and with yesterday’s result, have gone backwards.

Time for change as if we don’t then we will continue to tread water.

So none of that yesterday was on the players. Think we have been good this six nations however no doubt we play in spells. Were absolutely cheated v France also.

10-03-2024, 08:24 AM

Harsh :greengrin

Mcbizz1998
10-03-2024, 09:59 AM
So none of that yesterday was on the players. Think we have been good this six nations however no doubt we play in spells. Were absolutely cheated v France also.

Players shoulder some of the responsibility of course but the fact of the matter is this group have the talent to win something but manage to fail when it matters. That is ultimately the fault of the head coach. I can’t believe that someone like Joe Schmidt or Gatland wouldn’t have done better. We need better before the chance for this group is gone.

10-03-2024, 10:32 AM
That's what I thought and was a bit out of kilter from how he reffed knocks ons as he was lenient earlier in the game. The penalty count for second half would be interesting however Italy were good though Scotland performance second half was poor and defensively looked all over the shop. Lynagh try he had so much space did we actually play with a full back. A sore one especially with England winning.

Kinghorn had a poor match, the Italian try where they cut through the middle of our back line round about our 22, Kinghorn was miles out of position, I’ve no idea why he was lined up between our outside centre and wing when we were defending, madness

10-03-2024, 02:02 PM
Harsh :greengrin
No really Jim have you ever been to Gala :wink:

Mcbizz1998
10-03-2024, 03:08 PM
If Wales v France continues like this then - We are going to either end up behind Ireland, England and (somehow) Wales or we are going to hand England the championship next weekend.

It’s difficult to put into words what an unmitigated disaster yesterday was. Probably the worst of the Townsend era, maybe even worse than the Japan loss at RWC 2019?!

10-03-2024, 03:18 PM
Good game for the neutrals in Cardiff.

10-03-2024, 04:46 PM
Explain then why it’s utter nonsense!!!
Yesterday's loss, as with other losses over the last few seasons, was not Townsend's fault. Let down by those on the park.
The only thing I'd question, with hindsight, was not involving White yesterday. Price is past it.
Maybe you'd prefer Gatlandball to try and grind out wins?

10-03-2024, 08:46 PM

Yes was at Uni there 😂

10-03-2024, 10:42 PM
Yes was at Uni there 😂
Ya poor bugger. Did they supply you wi portiloos :wink:

Hope you enjoyed your time there. The good people of Gala are certainly an odd bunch but I guess aren't we all to a degree :aok:

10-03-2024, 10:59 PM
Yesterday's loss, as with other losses over the last few seasons, was not Townsend's fault. Let down by those on the park.
The only thing I'd question, with hindsight, was not involving White yesterday. Price is past it.
Maybe you'd prefer Gatlandball to try and grind out wins?

Would you not question why his team consistently gives away penalty after penalty with indiscipline. Was it 27 penalties in a row in the second half in Cardiff followed by straight 8 yesterday against Italy ?

This is where top notch coaches earn their corn. You don't see teams like SA, New Zealand & Ireland giving away those ridiculous numbers of penalties. This is because their coaches can see when things need changing by getting instructions onto the players quicker. GT sits there at these crucial moments and does nothing.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over & over again and expecting different results. ( Gregor Townsend in a nutshell ) for me.

11-03-2024, 11:48 AM
Ya poor bugger. Did they supply you wi portiloos :wink:

Hope you enjoyed your time there. The good people of Gala are certainly an odd bunch but I guess aren't we all to a degree :aok:

Yes had a great time. Guid auld Gala. :greengrin

11-03-2024, 03:54 PM
https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/1862477/happiest-place-to-live-uk
Two years running, voted the happiest place to live in Scotland.
Something in the water?

11-03-2024, 04:05 PM
Would you not question why his team consistently gives away penalty after penalty with indiscipline. Was it 27 penalties in a row in the second half in Cardiff followed by straight 8 yesterday against Italy ?

This is where top notch coaches earn their corn. You don't see teams like SA, New Zealand & Ireland giving away those ridiculous numbers of penalties. This is because their coaches can see when things need changing by getting instructions onto the players quicker. GT sits there at these crucial moments and does nothing.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over & over again and expecting different results. ( Gregor Townsend in a nutshell ) for me.
Totally agree indiscipline cost us. But whose fault is that? Elite professional players don't need to be reminded during a game by their coach not to give a way silly penalties. If anything, if such a reminder is required, that is a job for the captain on the field of play. That's not to say Gregor is not communicating and getting messages onto the park when required. Don't base your allegation of Gregor's non-communication on two or three fleeting tv shots of him in the coaches' box.
You clearly don't rate him. I do.

11-03-2024, 07:52 PM
Totally agree indiscipline cost us. But whose fault is that? Elite professional players don't need to be reminded during a game by their coach not to give a way silly penalties. If anything, if such a reminder is required, that is a job for the captain on the field of play. That's not to say Gregor is not communicating and getting messages onto the park when required. Don't base your allegation of Gregor's non-communication on two or three fleeting tv shots of him in the coaches' box.
You clearly don't rate him. I do.
I was unfortunate enough to play against Gregor right through school to youth level and let me tell you he was a very very special player. We were on many a beatings from him & his teams at 15s & 7s. You couldn’t get anywhere near him. His brain was what felt like minutes not seconds before ours. Even played him regularly at golf over Ladhope & Tordwardlee and again he was that much better than most of us. He was a great golfer also.

I do rate him very highly but when you make the same mistakes every other test match questions need to be asked about your head coach and his assistants as well as the players. Test rugby is fine margins now and anyone can beat anyone on a chosen day so you can’t be continually throwing away leads through poor decisions on & off the field.

Of coarse These are not allegations I’ve made but observations :greengrin

Dont take it to heart mate we can have different opinions & still get on :hug:

11-03-2024, 07:58 PM
https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/1862477/happiest-place-to-live-uk
Two years running, voted the happiest place to live in Scotland.
Something in the water?
Yes sewage :greengrin

12-03-2024, 09:17 AM
Yes sewage :greengrin
That's beyond the pail that comment. :wink:

12-03-2024, 09:22 AM
I was unfortunate enough to play against Gregor right through school to youth level and let me tell you he was a very very special player. We were on many a beatings from him & his teams at 15s & 7s. You couldn’t get anywhere near him. His brain was what felt like minutes not seconds before ours. Even played him regularly at golf over Ladhope & Tordwardlee and again he was that much better than most of us. He was a great golfer also.

I do rate him very highly but when you make the same mistakes every other test match questions need to be asked about your head coach and his assistants as well as the players. Test rugby is fine margins now and anyone can beat anyone on a chosen day so you can’t be continually throwing away leads through poor decisions on & off the field.

Of coarse These are not allegations I’ve made but observations :greengrin

Dont take it to heart mate we can have different opinions & still get on :hug:
Yip, which often accounted for some of his "errors" as a player because his teammates, even at International level, just weren't on the same wavelength.
His game analysis as a player always signposted him as a potential top notch coach and that's what he is.

16-03-2024, 09:14 AM
four game tour of the Americas

Sat July 6th: Canada v Scotland, TD place, Ottawa
Friday July 12th, USA v Scotland, Audi Field, Washington DC
Sat July 20th; Chile v Scotland, Estadio Nacional, Santiago
Sat July 27th: Uruguay v Scotland, Estadio Charrua, Montevideo

maybe make amends for that shocking defeat against USA in Houston six years ago 30-29

16-03-2024, 03:17 PM
Italy hold on for the win in Cardiff 24-21, five defeats for Wales and first wooden spoon for 21 years

Italy stop the run of eight straight wooden spoons

Just_Jimmy
16-03-2024, 04:00 PM
More amateur stuff from Townsends Scotland

Surely see the back of him after this.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

16-03-2024, 04:57 PM
he's not got control of that

they desperately wanted to give them it though :greengrin inc the co-commentator

still 10-6

fgs do the basics

16-03-2024, 05:17 PM
valiant defensive effort

just can't get out

16-03-2024, 05:20 PM
Kinghorn gives it away ffs

advantage after advantage

someone had to go to the sin-bin, Ashman

followed by the try

all the way back from the irish half and a poor offload by kinghorn

16-03-2024, 05:26 PM
So many examples tonight of the difference in quality.

16-03-2024, 05:42 PM
woohoo Try :thumbsup: con good 17-13

17-18 would be lovely ;)

well that knock-on knocks that on the head :rolleyes: FT 17-13

just pleased it wasn't the hammering i fully expected

16-03-2024, 05:47 PM
Only 2 wins though, pretty poor. That may be it for Townsend

16-03-2024, 05:55 PM
Not convinced at all that Porters try should have be given, considering the buggering about over the grounding for the previous penalty.

16-03-2024, 06:01 PM
biggest smile probably went to the Irish TMO that screwed Scotland in the game v France, free Guinness for him for a while i would think

16-03-2024, 06:03 PM
Excellent defensive performance today from the boys just that little bit short again. Ireland put the foot to the floor in the first 20 minutes of the second half and that ultimately was the difference.

If Townsend is to continue in his post he needs to find a way to turn these 1-4 point deficits into wins & to bring through youth as we are severely lacking there unfortunately.

16-03-2024, 06:06 PM
elsewhere WRU Chief Executive Abi Tierney turns down Warren Gatlands resignation offer

16-03-2024, 08:06 PM
Not convinced at all that Porters try should have be given, considering the buggering about over the grounding for the previous penalty.

:agree: it was even less a try than the first one. Looked like the ref was going to give it regardless, he didnt have a clear view either.

Just_Jimmy
16-03-2024, 08:59 PM
4th behind a terrible England side.

Really poor campaign all things considered. Townsends position really should be under consideration.

16-03-2024, 10:29 PM
:agree: it was even less a try than the first one. Looked like the ref was going to give it regardless, he didnt have a clear view either.
Yep. Just because you power over the line at speed doesn't mean it's always a try. Absolutely no way the ref could see the "grounding", and on one (brief) replay it looked like there was a hand under the ball. Scotland done again by a bad ref decision. But for that, the France "no try" call, and the ref blowing for time in Rome when there was clearly no knock-on, then Scotland could have been 5 from 5.

16-03-2024, 10:30 PM

Really poor campaign all things considered. Townsends position really should be under consideration.

Nonsense. Hugely unlucky with the results.

Sloop67
17-03-2024, 05:16 AM
It doesn't matter who the coach is if the players can't do the basics, the first try yesterday was shocking.

17-03-2024, 07:24 AM
he's not got control of that

they desperately wanted to give them it though :greengrin inc the co-commentator

still 10-6

fgs do the basics

The Irish co-commentator gets the prize for biggest hypocrite. Throughout the match was asking for every decision for Ireland, then when Scott Hastings commented saying he didn’t think the disallowed try was grounded, the Irish guy immediately snaps ‘of course you don’t’.

He was almost as bad as Jonathan Davies is for the Welsh on bbc

17-03-2024, 07:26 AM

The ref gave the try from behind the Irish players, who had piled in with the ball carrier, must have been at lest 6 bodies between the ref and the ball, yet he blew up instantly for the try. He had less of a view than the one prior that was eventually proven to be held up, to which he claimed he lost sight of.

Just_Jimmy
17-03-2024, 03:23 PM
Nonsense. Hugely unlucky with the results.How long is it bad luck?

We're often under prepared. We play one half or often play well for 10 mins and look awful the rest. We never win big games.

You can blame refs (and I don't think they've been up to anything) as much as you want. Townsend has taken scotland as far as he can.

17-03-2024, 03:49 PM
How long is it bad luck?

We're often under prepared. We play one half or often play well for 10 mins and look awful the rest. We never win big games.

You can blame refs (and I don't think they've been up to anything) as much as you want. Townsend has taken scotland as far as he can.

Im not the most knowledgeable, but ive watched every game this campaign and we deserved to beat France and did beat England, the teams immediately above us in the table. The only team clearly better than us in the northern hemisphere is Ireland, who are having the best success of their entire history in the sport! So he must be doing something right surely?

Just_Jimmy
17-03-2024, 03:57 PM
Im not the most knowledgeable, but ive watched every game this campaign and we deserved to beat France and did beat England, the teams immediately above us in the table. The only team clearly better than us in the northern hemisphere is Ireland, who are having the best success of their entire history in the sport! So he must be doing something right surely?We didn't beat France.
We failed to beat Italy
We scraped a win after being up 27 points on Wales.

We were unlucky with the decision against France. I accept that.

He's done a lot right. However, he's taken us as far as he can. Yet again it's a 4th place finish.

17-03-2024, 07:38 PM
We didn't beat France.
We failed to beat Italy
We scraped a win after being up 27 points on Wales.

We were unlucky with the decision against France. I accept that.

He's done a lot right. However, he's taken us as far as he can. Yet again it's a 4th place finish.

There’s a lot to be positive about, when we are switched on, we are excellent at attacking, our broken play attacks are outstanding generally, when we need to we can dig in in defence and shut a team out.

However, we also have frequent lapses in concentration and execution, we are prone to periods of conceding penalty after penalty, and we rarely play for 80+ minutes.

I wonder if the answer may be to bring in assistant coaches to address the shortcomings, whilst still maintaining GT’s positive aspects - or finding a top class coach who will take this team on and push into the next level

Just_Jimmy
17-03-2024, 09:20 PM
There’s a lot to be positive about, when we are switched on, we are excellent at attacking, our broken play attacks are outstanding generally, when we need to we can dig in in defence and shut a team out.

However, we also have frequent lapses in concentration and execution, we are prone to periods of conceding penalty after penalty, and we rarely play for 80+ minutes.

I wonder if the answer may be to bring in assistant coaches to address the shortcomings, whilst still maintaining GT’s positive aspects - or finding a top class coach who will take this team on and push into the next levelI think it's time to move on. He's brought in different coaches and he's tried various players in different roles. I just think it's time to try a new voice.

We've under achieved with this squad. 1999 is a long time ago. Worryingly, the future doesn't look bright with the 20s. We're relying on more and more foreign born players.

The games not in a great condition in Scotland.

17-03-2024, 10:08 PM

I wonder if the answer may be to bring in assistant coaches to address the shortcomings, whilst still maintaining GT’s positive aspects - or finding a top class coach who will take this team on and push into the next level
We have one already.
Who is on your long list of better top class coaches who have a proven record at International level? Or do you want to take a gamble on an inexperienced coach with potential who can talk a good game at an interview, as Hibs have done more times than we all care to remember these last few years?

17-03-2024, 10:09 PM
I think it's time to move on. He's brought in different coaches and he's tried various players in different roles. I just think it's time to try a new voice.

We've under achieved with this squad. 1999 is a long time ago. Worryingly, the future doesn't look bright with the 20s. We're relying on more and more foreign born players.

The games not in a great condition in Scotland.

That's one thing you've said that I won't disagree with.

17-03-2024, 10:10 PM
Im not the most knowledgeable, but ive watched every game this campaign and we deserved to beat France and did beat England, the teams immediately above us in the table. The only team clearly better than us in the northern hemisphere is Ireland, who are having the best success of their entire history in the sport! So he must be doing something right surely?
Knowledgeable enough.

18-03-2024, 06:31 AM
Yep. Just because you power over the line at speed doesn't mean it's always a try. Absolutely no way the ref could see the "grounding", and on one (brief) replay it looked like there was a hand under the ball. Scotland done again by a bad ref decision. But for that, the France "no try" call, and the ref blowing for time in Rome when there was clearly no knock-on, then Scotland could have been 5 from 5.

Yes fine margins and competitive in every game

18-03-2024, 06:31 AM

Totally agree

18-03-2024, 06:35 AM
How long is it bad luck?

You can't blame refs? We were cheated out of a winning try v France where there was clear footage showing the grounding.

18-03-2024, 10:17 AM
We have one already.
Who is on your long list of better top class coaches who have a proven record at International level? Or do you want to take a gamble on an inexperienced coach with potential who can talk a good game at an interview, as Hibs have done more times than we all care to remember these last few years?

Easy, I was asking a question, I didn’t advocate for moving on or for keeping Townsend, and I’m still not doing either.

As others have said, there are a number of problems with rugby in Scotland, the lack of success at senior international level is just one. We have had the best group of players in a long time over the last 5 or so years, but have continually struggled to take the next step in achieving something tangible. I don’t think it’s unreasonable that a conversation about the coaching and leadership of that group happens. You feel differently, fair enough

He's here!
18-03-2024, 11:15 AM

England aren't terrible. They beat Ireland and were unlucky not to beat France. As Italy have shown, there's less between most of the sides now. Had we been awarded the try we should have been against France we'd have been right in the mix.

Just_Jimmy
18-03-2024, 02:34 PM
You can't blame refs? We were cheated out of a winning try v France where there was clear footage showing the grounding.Not every time.

The France game was disgraceful. However, prior to that it was a pathetic game of rugby.

18-03-2024, 09:17 PM
Not every time.

The France game was disgraceful. However, prior to that it was a pathetic game of rugby.

I thought this report has some good analysis. 10 of the 15 games having points decided by 4 points or fewer is a good stat as testament to how close it all was.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2024/mar/18/six-nations-rugby-union-ireland-france-england-scotland-wales-italy

19-03-2024, 10:55 AM
#

Team

South Africa

Ireland

New Zealand

France
(+0.60)

England
(-0.60)

Scotland

Argentina

(↑9)
Italy
(+1.36)

(↑10)
Australia

(↓8)
Wales
(-1.36)

Fiji

Japan

Georgia
(+1.34)

Samoa

(↑16)
Tonga

(↓15)
Portugal
(-1.34)

USA

Uruguay

Spain
(+0.91)

Romania
(-0.91)

19-03-2024, 02:40 PM
Autumn nations fixtures starting in Nov..

v Fiji
v South Africa
v Portugal
v Australia

19-03-2024, 05:10 PM
So post 6NC, if a Lions squad was being picked now, which Scots would make it?
In my eyes:
DEFINITES
Kinghorn as a utility back with his versatility to cover 15, 11, 10
VDM
Tuipoluto
Russell
Turner

PROBABLE
Jones
Z Fagerson

POSSIBLE
White
Schooo
Dempsey/Christie

19-03-2024, 05:55 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GJBVL4aXMAAuBGy?format=jpg&name=small

On March 19th 1938, 83 years ago, the BBC broadcast the first ‘Six Nations (https://www.swlondoner.co.uk/?s=six+nations)’ game in which Scotland, captained by Wilson Shaw, beat Herbert Toft’s English side 21-16.
Then known as the Home Nations Championships, before France and Italy made it the Six Nations, Scotland were poised to win the Calcutta Cup and Triple Crown along with the trophy.
And whilst the audience was limited, with under 10,000 television sets in the UK and transmission confined to London, it caused a landslide of sporting firsts.

Just_Jimmy
19-03-2024, 07:57 PM
So post 6NC, if a Lions squad was being picked now, which Scots would make it?
In my eyes:
DEFINITES
Kinghorn as a utility back with his versatility to cover 15, 11, 10
VDM
Tuipoluto
Russell
Turner

PROBABLE
Jones
Z Fagerson

POSSIBLE
White
Schooo
Dempsey/Christie

Finn
Jones
Toup
VDM
White
Zander Fagerson

Not sure they will but they'd be my picks. Ben White is outstanding.

20-03-2024, 08:28 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/68609875

Following on from the thread on the main forum about law changes folk would like to see in football, what's the one change you'd like to see introduced in rugby?
For me it's the laws around the "use it" call at rucks - with the purpose of speeding things up.
The ref to call "use it" as soon as the ball is visible and playable; once called, no-one else (from either side) can join the ruck; referee the 5-second use time strictly, or reduce it to 3-seconds if refs are going to continue to be lenient on the count.
Doing this would not only make rucks quicker, but also more competitive, with counter rucking becoming more of an opportunity to regain possession, or at least disrupt your opponents, rather than not committing players to a ruck, and just letting the opposition take their time to set themselves for a kick from the often double-extended base.

20-03-2024, 10:01 AM

Following on from the thread on the main forum about law changes folk would like to see in football, what's the one change you'd like to see introduced in rugby?
For me it's the laws around the "use it" call at rucks - with the purpose of speeding things up.
The ref to call "use it" as soon as the ball is visible and playable; once called, no-one else (from either side) can join the ruck; referee the 5-second use time strictly, or reduce it to 3-seconds if refs are going to continue to be lenient on the count.
Doing this would not only make rucks quicker, but also more competitive, with counter rucking becoming more of an opportunity to regain possession, or at least disrupt your opponents, rather than not committing players to a ruck, and just letting the opposition take their time to set themselves for a kick from the often double-extended base.

Interesting post, I like your change.

I think I would change scrum penalties to free kicks. It feels in certain situations that teams aren’t actually trying to restart the game, but just trying to get the ref to give a penalty, which can take minutes off the clock, and be boring to watch. The free kick still gives a team the opportunity to get things going again.

Sergio sledge
20-03-2024, 02:58 PM

Yeah that's super frustrating. I'd go as far as to rule that you can't have more than 1 "layer" of players from either side in the ruck, so no binding onto a player in front of you from your own team.

I'm not a forward so I've no idea if this would work or not.

Also, get rid of the "dupont law" and make the kick chase team retreat until the kicker or someone who was behind the kicker is past them before they can engage the receiving team. This 5m or 5 steps stuff is silly and just means the kick chase team don't have to make any effort to retreat and gives too much of an advantage to the kicking team.

Just_Jimmy
21-03-2024, 10:18 AM
Advantage. It goes on far too long

21-03-2024, 04:50 PM
Advantage. It goes on far too long

It does, and very often the defending side gives away another penalty to stop the “free ball” attack. I’d make it an automatic yellow card for any penalty offence during the playing of advantage.

Just_Jimmy
22-03-2024, 05:18 PM
It does, and very often the defending side gives away another penalty to stop the “free ball” attack. I’d make it an automatic yellow card for any penalty offence during the playing of advantage.I agree that's an issue, but I'm not sure more yellow cards is the answer tbh. I don't know what is correct for this.

Maybe, once you move the ball x yards it's over or x number of passes. As it is you have teams having endless time to score then pulled back for a penalty. Double advantage.

Maybe for the penalty within advantage move the penalty forward 10 yards or something.

Either way, you're right, both need looked at.

22-03-2024, 07:25 PM
flicked over to see the HT score between Glasgow and Cardiff, 13-0 Cardiff

FT 17-13 not a very good Glasgow line-out tonight

02-04-2024, 08:41 PM
Sam Whitelock retiring in june, great career he's had and New Zealand's most capped player played in a few great all-black sides

Sloop67
20-04-2024, 08:10 PM
The Crusaders beaten again this morning, they've been absolutely awful this season , the departure of Scott Robertson to the ABs jobs seems to have been a big loss

20-04-2024, 08:35 PM
went to make a 10-min phone call with Edinburgh getting beat by scarlets 17-18 came back and it was 38-18 :greengrin FT 43-18

Ospreys unfortunately got a great result @ Stormers winning 27-21

Glasgow 2nd top behind Leinster

Scottish women put another bad record right this season by winning for the first time in Italy for 25 years 17-10,along with winning in Wales for the first time in 20 years

England beat Ireland 88-10

Scotland 3rd two points ahead of Ireland and Italy, huge incentive to beat Ireland next week as 3rd joins England and France at the 2025 WC in England

unfortunately it's another away game, the two home games were against the top two :(

11-05-2024, 06:47 AM
Edinburgh just about staying in the hunt for a top 8 place here. Lacklustre at times against Zebre but comfortable in the end.

Tough one for Glasgow today as they start their SA tour. Hopefully they can hold on to top spot!

12-05-2024, 07:48 AM
Glasgow fight back well, but not enough as they lose to the Bulls. Leinster win too, cuts the gap to 1 point.

What about Gloucester though...beaten 90-0 by Northampton yesterday!

16-05-2024, 04:17 PM
Edinburgh will most likely have to win one of the remaining two games to make top eight

H- Munster....doubt it
A- Benetton...Level on points with Edinburgh in 8th in the penultimate round

lack of Bonus points have been the problem for Edinburgh, lowest equal

17-05-2024, 10:54 AM
Edinburgh will most likely have to win one of the remaining two games to make top eight

H- Munster....doubt it
A- Benetton...Level on points with Edinburgh in 8th in the penultimate round

lack of Bonus points have been the problem for Edinburgh, lowest equal

Yep - recent matches have been a bit better at getting tries over the line! Injuries haven't helped us this season, but a lot of missed opportunities.

I certainly don't expect much tonight but The Hive is sold out, Munster are missing O'Mahoney and Donoghue, so I'm hoping we surprise me! The atmosphere should be good at least!

17-05-2024, 01:50 PM
Yep - recent matches have been a bit better at getting tries over the line! Injuries haven't helped us this season, but a lot of missed opportunities.

I certainly don't expect much tonight but The Hive is sold out, Munster are missing O'Mahoney and Donoghue, so I'm hoping we surprise me! The atmosphere should be good at least!
i see Boffelli out for rest of season with that back injury needing an op

Mata will be a big loss,leaving for Bristol

17-05-2024, 02:54 PM
i see Boffelli out for rest of season with that back injury needing an op

Mata will be a big loss,leaving for Bristol

Mata will be a big loss, but we've recruited quite well so far ahead of next season - Magnus Bradbury returning to take on Mata's role, for example.

Boffeli's not really played much at all since the World Cup to be honest. It's a real shame Harry Patterson has been out at the same time!

17-05-2024, 08:58 PM
dammit dammit dammit forgot this game, turned over as soon as footy finished just to see the scoreline 26-29 :(

Munster go top

18-05-2024, 10:50 AM
That was a tough one to swallow last night. We played as well as we have all season, but a few small errors and an abysmal refereeing performance contributed to a narrow defeat - the Irish and Saffas really do play every foul trick in the book, and they do it well.

Hopefully Glasgow manage a win down in South Africa today to regain top spot!

18-05-2024, 03:39 PM
Glasgow are all over the place here at Lions, 29-14 after an hour Lions down to 14 at the moment and two converted tries in as many minutes

doesn't help Edinburgh either

make that three converted tries in several minutes, awful from Glasgow 36-14 and they still have a player in the sin bin deary me

69' one back for Glasgow 36-21

74' 39-21

FT what a hammering for the Warriors 44-21

all on 49 points now

6th Edinburgh
7th Ulster...play Leinster tonight
8th Benetton....Lost 56-35 at 2nd placed Bulls
9th Lions

18-05-2024, 06:02 PM
I was hoping Ulster might have helped Glasgow, but seeing as Glasgow couldn't help themselves and Leinster winning keeps Ulster behind us, I'm hoping (yuck) for a Leinster win and no BPs for Ulster...

19-05-2024, 12:24 AM
Ulster 23 Leinster 21, didn't see that one coming, helped with Leinster concentrating more on their final next week

Ulster up to 6th and four points ahead of Edinburgh

Ulster booked a top eight place

25-05-2024, 04:36 PM
only saw the 2nd half of ET in the champions cup final but what a game apparently, wish i watched this instead of the SC final :rolleyes:

anyway FT Leinster 22 Toulouse 31 with Toulouse red card in 1st half of ET, Leinster now lost the last three finals and four in the last seven

great for Blair Kinghorn kicking four penalties

01-06-2024, 01:27 PM
Edinburgh have been Humpty in this game, knock-on after knock-on, error after error

oh boy three tries in 6 mins 31-6

QF

Munster v Ospreys
Bulls v Benetton
Leinster v Ulster
Glasgow v Stormers

SF

Munster/Ospreys v Glasgow/Stormers
Bulls/Benetton v Leinster/Ulster

15-06-2024, 08:27 PM
Darn it ! i completely forgot the URC SF's today :( brilliant win for Glasgow away to defending champions Munster winning 17-10

and a very good win for Bulls v Leinster 25-20

Bulls v Glasgow final next Saturday, unfortunately in Pretoria

BS44
16-06-2024, 12:13 AM
Darn it ! i completely forgot the URC SF's today :( brilliant win for Glasgow away to defending champions Munster winning 17-10

I'm in Limerick this weekend, but I couldn't give a sit about rugby so I've no idea how the locals are about yesterday's result

16-06-2024, 07:56 PM
I'm in Limerick this weekend, but I couldn't give a sit about rugby so I've no idea how the locals are about yesterday's result

enjoy yer break :greengrin

20-06-2024, 11:48 AM

Some win for Glasgow that

22-06-2024, 11:56 AM
52-17 victory for England v Japan earlier today.

22-06-2024, 11:57 AM
South Africa v Wales on S4C & iPlayer, 1400 kick off.

Sloop67
22-06-2024, 02:40 PM
The Blues defeated the Chiefs 41-10 in a fairly one sided final of this years Supe Rugby competition

Mcbizz1998
22-06-2024, 03:40 PM
The Blues defeated the Chiefs 41-10 in a fairly one sided final of this years Supe Rugby competition

Cotter still in charge at the Blues? Bring him home!!!

22-06-2024, 05:51 PM
that was daft by jones trying to kick it over the guy, should have brought it back inside

hope it doesn't cost them

lineout bulls 4 secs remaining

get in well done Glasgow :thumbsup: fantastic

Yes Sir, they can boogie

FT Barbarians 43 Fiji 32

FT SA 41 Wales 13

22-06-2024, 06:14 PM
Fantastic win by the Warriors!! What a great comeback after going 13-0 down in the first half.

Warriors indeed !!! ✊️🏉

22-06-2024, 06:20 PM
A brilliant performance by Glasgow. Let’s hope Scottish rugby pushes on now

22-06-2024, 10:34 PM
Done it the hardest way possible. Going via Munster, having a week to recover and travel thousands of miles to play at altitude, and going 13-0 down.

Some steel and grit in that Glasgow side - that final stand before the whistle blew was exceptional.

I hope Edinburgh were taking notes!

He's here!
23-06-2024, 10:42 AM
Fantastic win by the Warriors!! What a great comeback after going 13-0 down in the first half.

Warriors indeed !!! ✊️🏉

Terrific win.

02-07-2024, 09:11 PM
Champions cup draw

Pool Four: Glasgow Warriors, Racing 92, Sale Sharks, Stormers, RC Toulon, Harlequins

Challenge cup draw

Pool Three: FC Vannes, Black Lion, Bayonne, Scarlets, Edinburgh, Gloucester

that's the newly promoted side Vunipola has joined

03-07-2024, 10:05 PM
Stuart Hogg in court again today after being arrested for breaching bail conditions

04-07-2024, 02:22 PM
Champions cup draw

Pool Four: Glasgow Warriors, Racing 92, Sale Sharks, Stormers, RC Toulon, Harlequins

Challenge cup draw

Pool Three: FC Vannes, Black Lion, Bayonne, Scarlets, Edinburgh, Gloucester

that's the newly promoted side Vunipola has joined

That's quite a draw for the Warriors. They'll do well to emerge from that lot. 🫰

04-07-2024, 02:27 PM
Good day of matches on the telly on Saturday.

New Zealand v England
Australia v Wales
Argentina v South Africa
Canada v Scotland

06-07-2024, 07:08 AM
Good day of matches on the telly on Saturday.

New Zealand v England
Australia v Wales
Argentina v South Africa
Canada v Scotland

Not quite:

South Africa vs Ireland
Argentina vs France

Currently sat with a coffee in the back garden and the All Blacks game on. Hopefully a winning start to the Scott Robertson era!

06-07-2024, 07:32 AM
Not quite:

South Africa vs Ireland
Argentina vs France

Currently sat with a coffee in the back garden and the All Blacks game on. Hopefully a winning start to the Scott Robertson era!

Strange, I'm sure that's what it said on the rugby on TV website. Not to worry, it reads as you say now.

06-07-2024, 07:39 AM
Strange, I'm sure that's what it said on the rugby on TV website. Not to worry, it reads as you say now.

Argentina did play South Africa in the U20 competition yesterday (I think)?

All Blacks leading England - good game so far!

06-07-2024, 10:14 AM
Narrow win for the All Blacks in the end, 16-15.

Wallabies currently leading Offside 6-3.

06-07-2024, 10:49 AM
HT: 13-10 Wallabies - Wales putting up a decent fight though!

Sloop67
06-07-2024, 07:44 PM
With the amount of forward passes there's been in today's games I think Tom Brady and Dan Marino must be coaching these teams

06-07-2024, 11:04 PM
long day of Rugby

New Zealand 16 England 15
Australia 25 Wales 16
South Africa 27 Ireland 20
Argentina 13 France 28
Canada 12 Scotland 73

07-07-2024, 07:11 AM
long day of Rugby

New Zealand 16 England 15
Australia 25 Wales 16
South Africa 27 Ireland 20
Argentina 13 France 28
Canada 12 Scotland 73

A very convincing and professional win from a young, inexperienced team last night. I know, Canada aren't exactly a big power in world rugby, but to see some of the rising stars put in such a comprehensive performance was encouraging - Richardson, Reed, Warr, Patterson in particular - all very impressive.

Tougher tests to come but a good start.

07-07-2024, 05:45 PM
A very convincing and professional win from a young, inexperienced team last night. I know, Canada aren't exactly a big power in world rugby, but to see some of the rising stars put in such a comprehensive performance was encouraging - Richardson, Reed, Warr, Patterson in particular - all very impressive.

Tougher tests to come but a good start.

and it all started off very badly :) much stronger test next friday, i still remember that shocker against U.S.A. in 2018 though i don't think our players handled the heat in Houston very well.

11-07-2024, 11:44 AM
entirely different line-up v USA

Adam Hastings back
Jamie Ritchie earns his 50th cap
Van der Merwe, one try short of equalling the Scotland record

11-07-2024, 12:36 PM
I have a feeling some of the 'big name' players will be released after this game and not travel down to Uruguay/Chile.

Certainly not taking the USA lightly. The practice conditions have been insanely hot, so hopefully the players are adjusting ahead of tomorrow night.

12-07-2024, 07:32 PM
USA v Scotland 2330 on TNT Sports tonight.

12-07-2024, 10:24 PM
80F just now :) , coulda been worse

mid 90's the next few days

12-07-2024, 10:38 PM
Good score, 0-7! 🤭

12-07-2024, 10:52 PM
0-14

David_D
12-07-2024, 11:02 PM
The pitch is absolutely shocking. Turf flying everywhere.

12-07-2024, 11:02 PM
Yellow card USA.

0-21

12-07-2024, 11:08 PM
7-21

12-07-2024, 11:20 PM
7-28 ht

12-07-2024, 11:46 PM
7-35

13-07-2024, 12:16 AM
7-42

13-07-2024, 11:10 AM
48 mins Try + con Wales, 23-21 Australia

54 mins Try Australia 28-21

66 mins Try Australia, 33-21 what another huge mistake by a welsh player

69 mins once again Australia concede almost straight away after scoring, 33-28

77 mins pen 36-28

FT

13-07-2024, 03:57 PM
SA 6 Ireland 16 HT

13-07-2024, 04:51 PM
24-22 after 72 mins.

13-07-2024, 05:00 PM
24-25 drop kick in injury time, game over. 👏

13-07-2024, 05:01 PM
well done ireland with a drop goal right on time, i thought SA made some silly mistakes allowing Ireland to get up the park, serves them right they blew it

13-07-2024, 09:05 PM
good game and a great win for the pumas v France 33-25

bad week for the French, player sent home for a racist tweet and two players charged with aggravated sexual assault, alleged rape and prevented from leaving the room.

14-07-2024, 06:44 PM
well done ireland with a drop goal right on time, i thought SA made some silly mistakes allowing Ireland to get up the park, serves them right they blew it

I rarely enjoy an Irish win, but I always enjoy a Saffa defeat :greengrin

17-07-2024, 08:38 PM
as expected Scotland beat USA in the U20 World Trophy final played at the Hive FT 48-10, big step-up back with the big boys again

Sloop67
20-07-2024, 06:14 AM
Chile v Scotland game live on the BBC Scotland channel 8 pm KO

20-07-2024, 06:37 AM
Aus 19 Georgia 10 after 35 minutes, Aus down to 14 men, could be upgraded to a red.

26-10 HT.

NZ 47 Fiji 5 FT.

20-07-2024, 05:01 PM
FT's New Zealand 45 Fiji 5, disappointed with that Fiji performance, Australia 40 Georgia 29, SA 64 Portugal 21

20-07-2024, 05:29 PM
Thought Hollie Davidson was outstanding as ref in the Springboks game today. Saffa fans disagree, which affirms she had a great game!

20-07-2024, 06:16 PM
shame the Uruguay v Argentina game is on at the same time as Chile/Scotland, would have liked to have watched that one

20-07-2024, 08:58 PM
FT Chile 11 Scotland 52, Uruguay 5 Argentina 79 ooft

21-07-2024, 08:59 AM
shame the Uruguay v Argentina game is on at the same time as Chile/Scotland, would have liked to have watched that one

It was on the BBC Scotland channel last night at 8pm

21-07-2024, 05:14 PM
It was on the BBC Scotland channel last night at 8pm

I think he meant they were both on at the same time, so had to puck over the other rather watch both live

21-07-2024, 11:22 PM
It was on the BBC Scotland channel last night at 8pmMmm i saw it was on Sky and the Chile/Sco game was on TNT, with my IPTV i could only watch one or the other so chose the Latter, as McD rightly points out :greengrin

22-07-2024, 11:01 AM
Mmm i saw it was on Sky and the Chile/Sco game was on TNT, with my IPTV i could only watch one or the other so chose the Latter, as McD rightly points out :greengrin

Just as a heads up, the Uruguay game this weekend is also on BBC Scotland.

22-07-2024, 06:15 PM
Just as a heads up, the Uruguay game this weekend is also on BBC Scotland.that's a long way away, i'll look in on Saturday for a reminder :whistle: elsewhere, SRU in discussion with the Chilean Rugby Federation for a return 'A' meeting at Murrayfield later this year

27-07-2024, 07:25 PM
Uruguay 0 Scotland 14 after 23 minutes.

27-07-2024, 07:31 PM
Uruguay 0 Scotland 14 after 23 minutes.

7-19

27-07-2024, 07:43 PM
14-19

27-07-2024, 08:15 PM
dreadful penalty kick again from uruguay, thankfully,

27-07-2024, 08:18 PM
A home nation fighting tooth and nail for a victory vs a Tier 1 side, vs XV guys in dark blue who's minds are already on the beach after an incredibly long season.

27-07-2024, 08:29 PM
great off-load from jamie ritchie there

27-07-2024, 08:34 PM
kick the ball up the field, we've been bloody hopeless taking the ball in and not releasing

27-07-2024, 08:42 PM
try ruled out for obstruction, think mr TMO dude got that wrong, anyway, that would have been a lot closer if the boy kicking for uruguay wore his kicking boot, one to forget FT 19-31

MartinfaePorty
27-07-2024, 09:01 PM
Good to see the Peebles lad scoring a try and doing well when he came on

29-07-2024, 09:45 PM
Arnold Clark will replace Peter Vardy as new Shirt Sponsor

09-08-2024, 11:16 AM
Twickenham will be known as the Allianz Stadium from next month after the RFU have sold the naming rights for £100m

09-08-2024, 11:40 AM
Rugby Championship starts tomorrow, early start, 0530 then 0805 I think.

10-08-2024, 03:35 PM
Australia 7 South Africa 33

New Zealand 30 Argentina 38, most points the All blacks have conceded at home

10-08-2024, 05:09 PM
All Blacks have some kind of mental block playing at Sky stadium. Haven’t won there since 2018!

11-08-2024, 04:31 PM
Australia 7 South Africa 33

New Zealand 30 Argentina 38, most points the All blacks have conceded at home

That was a fine performance from Argentina.

17-08-2024, 07:39 AM
Some performance from The All Blacks so far, 28-3 after 30 mins.

17-08-2024, 07:47 AM
They're cooking today - 35-3.

So aggressive up front - Argentina getting no time on the ball whatsoever. Conditions are awful, but ABs putting on a clinic.

17-08-2024, 08:10 AM
42-10

17-08-2024, 11:09 AM
Aus 12 SA 30 FT

17-08-2024, 07:43 PM
Aus 12 SA 30 FT

There’s something so inherently unlikeable about the Springboks just now. But there’s no getting away from how damned effective they are. Particularly in those conditions!

17-08-2024, 07:57 PM
There’s something so inherently unlikeable about the Springboks just now. But there’s no getting away from how damned effective they are. Particularly in those conditions!

Aye, effective sums them up nicely.

01-09-2024, 12:02 AM
feel for Argentina, Australia penalty with literally seconds remaining FT 19-20, they didn't deserve that

earlier SA 31 New Zealand 27

07-09-2024, 09:12 PM
Predictably, South Africa see off the All Blacks again (18-12) - dreadful game to watch.

Much more enjoyable was watching Argentina put a record defeat on Australia - 67-27. It was 17-20 at half time to the Wallabies!

08-09-2024, 04:21 PM
Predictably, South Africa see off the All Blacks again (18-12) - dreadful game to watch.

Much more enjoyable was watching Argentina put a record defeat on Australia - 67-27. It was 17-20 at half time to the Wallabies!

Some performance from The Argies!

10-09-2024, 05:13 PM
Stuart Hogg arrested again.

11-09-2024, 08:02 AM

Very strange what he has become including bombing his career where looked like he retired early plus probably killing any future media career.

Sloop67
11-09-2024, 05:19 PM
He was very lucky to make bail , the PF wasn't keen due his past behaviour , I'm guessing that it's only because he's playing in France that it was granted , if he'd been a normal Teri from Hawick then I imagine he'd be back in custody until the trail

21-09-2024, 03:16 PM
Edinburgh unlucky last night against a very under strength Leinster 31-33

Good 2nd half by Australia wasn't enough against the all blacks 28-31

23-09-2024, 10:53 AM
Just finished watching the Argentina v South Africa game, SA missed a penalty in the 80th minute to win The Championship, 29-28 Argentina, fine entertainment.

27-09-2024, 08:48 PM
FT Glasgow 42 Benetton 10, Benetton red card just before HT

Eben Etzebeth will become SA's most capped player tomorrow with his 128th appearance, brilliant player and still only 32

28-09-2024, 07:42 AM
What a game this has been so far, NZ 12 OZ 10, non stop action, brilliant.