View Full Version : Boxing!

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17

18-05-2022, 07:57 PM
Deontay Wilder returning, will probably be first in line to face the winner of Joshua/Usyk

Stairway 2 7
18-05-2022, 11:50 PM
Deontay Wilder returning, will probably be first in line to face the winner of Joshua/Usyk

Unified gets priority so tysons if he wants it, I'm sure he will when the time actually comes

29-05-2022, 06:28 AM
Some knock out by gervonta davis last night, was a good fight as well

29-05-2022, 09:55 PM
Some knock out by gervonta davis last night, was a good fight as well

Great ko.

Looked to me like the other boy was going for the ko and one sharp punch later he's down.

04-06-2022, 09:47 PM
Absolute peach of a knock out by Joe Cordina to become World Champion

05-06-2022, 09:43 PM
Absolute peach of a knock out by Joe Cordina to become World Champion
Aye it was a cracker. The boy never seen it coming.

07-06-2022, 10:53 AM
Inoue v Donaire about to start. Got it on my IPTV. Their last fight was a cracker.

07-06-2022, 11:15 AM
Inoue v Donaire about to start. Got it on my IPTV. Their last fight was a cracker.

It’s on YouTube on top ranks channel.

07-06-2022, 11:58 AM
Timed that perfect for my lunch break, hopefully another classic

07-06-2022, 12:25 PM
The monster is one very scary wee dude

Wow

Some fighter that guy

01-07-2022, 06:39 PM
Josh vacates the WBC belt. Looks like he’s gunning for Catterall before stepping up.

MagicSwirlingShip
04-07-2022, 08:30 AM
Josh vacates the WBC belt. Looks like he’s gunning for Catterall before stepping up.

Biggest fight out there for him. Hopefully another away trip, Manchester Arena perhaps? Not sure JC would want to come back to Scotland

04-07-2022, 05:53 PM
Biggest fight out there for him. Hopefully another away trip, Manchester Arena perhaps? Not sure JC would want to come back to Scotland

Was saying yo my pals that I’d love it to be in Manchester. Atmosphere would be electric. Recon Josh would thrive on it too.

26-07-2022, 08:23 AM
Taylor v Catterall 2 looking like 26th November at The Hydro.

28-07-2022, 07:29 AM
Taylor v Catterall 2 looking like 26th November at The Hydro.

I was convinced he'd go for Manchester to wind them up even more but more than happy to go to the Hydro again, canny wait

28-07-2022, 01:52 PM
I was convinced he'd go for Manchester to wind them up even more but more than happy to go to the Hydro again, canny wait

Aye I was hoping for Manchester. Would’ve been a toxic atmosphere.

MagicSwirlingShip
09-08-2022, 11:28 PM
Eubank Jr V Benn confirmed. Massive

10-08-2022, 01:32 AM

Hotels booked a few weeks ago. Hoping my Matchroom fight pass will get me tickets. I was in Old Trafford for the Dads’ 2nd fight…..I need to be at this. I’m a total sucker for the hype!

Stairway 2 7
10-08-2022, 05:51 AM
Should be good, will be a good build up. Fury chisora on the other hand is the trilogy no one asked for.

10-08-2022, 05:56 AM
Should be good, will be a good build up. Fury chisora on the other hand is the trilogy no one asked for.

I can’t help but laugh at the “fury’s come out of retirement” chat. Was there 1 person alive that believed he had retired? [emoji1787]

10-08-2022, 06:25 AM

Be interesting when we find out what the catch weight is, Eubank doesn't have an ounce of fat on him at 160 so coming down further than that won't be easy for him, i have no clue what to make of it all, Benn has been managed to perfection so far, right fights and fighters at the right time, so you don't really know how good he actually is, Will earn an absolute ****load from this fight and if he loses then there is a ready made excuse about moving up weights and daring to be great

I'm all aboard the hype train, Benn Eubank 1 is my first boxing memory when I really took notice

MagicSwirlingShip
11-08-2022, 11:38 AM
Be interesting when we find out what the catch weight is, Eubank doesn't have an ounce of fat on him at 160 so coming down further than that won't be easy for him, i have no clue what to make of it all, Benn has been managed to perfection so far, right fights and fighters at the right time, so you don't really know how good he actually is, Will earn an absolute ****load from this fight and if he loses then there is a ready made excuse about moving up weights and daring to be great

I'm all aboard the hype train, Benn Eubank 1 is my first boxing memory when I really took notice

There’s chat of a 100k per pound fine, catchweight of 157. If I was Eubank I’d take the 300k fine and weigh in at 160 lol, will still be making a packet

11-08-2022, 02:53 PM
There’s chat of a 100k per pound fine, catchweight of 157. If I was Eubank I’d take the 300k fine and weigh in at 160 lol, will still be making a packet

Aye I would too, not sure how much of a size difference there will be, I've seen JT stood next to Eubank and JT actually looked better built and bigger than him, that was walking about weight though, not sure how big Benn(***** pun) is in comparison

MagicSwirlingShip
11-08-2022, 03:24 PM
Just seen an interview with Ben’s trainer, fight apparently won’t go ahead if Eubank weighs in more than 158.5lbs!

12-08-2022, 03:39 PM
After hours of web sites crashing, finally managed to bag 4 tickets for Benn v Eubank. 💪💪

14-08-2022, 05:27 PM
Ken Buchanan statue unveiled in Leith Walk.

14-08-2022, 09:51 PM
Ken Buchanan statue unveiled in Leith Walk.

Was a great event and long over due. Well done to all those who made it possible.

Stairway 2 7
16-08-2022, 01:36 PM
What are people fancying for Saturday. Massive for Joshua I think. Lose this and probable record breaking uk fight vs fury loses much of its appeal

16-08-2022, 01:47 PM
What are people fancying for Saturday. Massive for Joshua I think. Lose this and probable record breaking uk fight vs fury loses much of its appeal

Yeah 3 losses out of his last 5 fights doesn’t look great. I think he’d need to go and beat Whyte & Wilder to bring himself back up there.

I like AJ and have supported him since he went pro, but I’m struggling to see him win this. I think he’s become fairly timid since the Ruiz loss. Scared of being caught. I also am baffled as to how he thought he’d outbox Usyk in the first fight. That’s either bad coaching or pure stubbornness from him. He needs to walk Usyk down and get him into a scrap to have a chance of winning. Use his size and strength. Hopefully the new coach helps him get it right.

Stairway 2 7
16-08-2022, 02:09 PM
Yeah 3 losses out of his last 5 fights doesn’t look great. I think he’d need to go and beat Whyte & Wilder to bring himself back up there.

I like AJ and have supported him since he went pro, but I’m struggling to see him win this. I think he’s become fairly timid since the Ruiz loss. Scared of being caught. I also am baffled as to how he thought he’d outbox Usyk in the first fight. That’s either bad coaching or pure stubbornness from him. He needs to walk Usyk down and get him into a scrap to have a chance of winning. Use his size and strength. Hopefully the new coach helps him get it right.

It was madness, trying to outdance usyk!! Use his power and strength and go for a scrap. The problem is usyk has had more time to get used to heavyweight and looks a bit of a beast now.

cameronw-hfc
16-08-2022, 05:17 PM

I think the fact Fury tried his best to avoid Usyk says a hell of a lot. I watched him come up and remember telling everyone when he fought AJ the first time he would make him look silly, I only see it happening that way again. He's superior to AJ in every way besides size and power.

16-08-2022, 05:42 PM
If Usyk wins think we'll get the unification bout with Fury? If so really hope Usyk wins.

Stairway 2 7
16-08-2022, 06:21 PM
Only thing is fury is even bigger than aj. Also he can dance almost as much as usyk. Usyk wouldn't be able to stand off fury like he did with aj.

cameronw-hfc
16-08-2022, 06:38 PM
Only thing is fury is even bigger than aj. Also he can dance almost as much as usyk. Usyk wouldn't be able to stand off fury like he did with aj.

I think the size is Usyks biggest issue vs Fury. Fury is a good boxer for Heavyweight standards, but Usyk is levels ahead, I just don't know if that's enough given the massive size difference between them. Fury is pretty decent at using his size so it would be interesting to see if Usyk could get inside or if Fury would just keep him at range.

Stairway 2 7
16-08-2022, 07:09 PM
I think the size is Usyks biggest issue vs Fury. Fury is a good boxer for Heavyweight standards, but Usyk is levels ahead, I just don't know if that's enough given the massive size difference between them. Fury is pretty decent at using his size so it would be interesting to see if Usyk could get inside or if Fury would just keep him at range.

Would be a brilliant event. Saying that can't discount aj on Saturday. It's heavyweight boxing so one punch can change everything, change of trainer also

16-08-2022, 08:46 PM
I can see ways for both of them to win, Usyk is by far the better boxer but AJ is no mug and is capable of knocking anyone out if he lands flush, I'd say I'm about 65/35 in favour of Usyk but I wouldn't be surprised and it wouldn't be an upset if AJ does it

As for AJ Fury if he loses, I don't think it loses any of the appeal, would still sell out Wembley 3 times over and do record PPV sales in the UK if it ever happened

cameronw-hfc
16-08-2022, 08:53 PM
I can see ways for both of them to win, Usyk is by far the better boxer but AJ is no mug and is capable of knocking anyone out if he lands flush, I'd say I'm about 65/35 in favour of Usyk but I wouldn't be surprised and it wouldn't be an upset if AJ does it

As for AJ Fury if he loses, I don't think it loses any of the appeal, would still sell out Wembley 3 times over and do record PPV sales in the UK if it ever happened

It's just a shame that's the fight that will sell out Wembley. It wouldn't be competitive and there's so many better UK based boxers at the smaller weight classes with considerable amounts more skill than those two, add in without the baggage Fury brings.

Heavyweight boxing is a shadow of it's former self nowadays. Even the best in Fury, his resume is kinda meh. His best wins are Wallin, Wilder and Whyte. AJ best win is an ageing Klitschko, Ruiz and Whyte.

Usyk is cool because he's got a higher skill level than the test, but im not sure if he's big enough to make that count enough against other Heavyweights. If AJ plods forward again for 12 rounds he'll get worked.

Stairway 2 7
16-08-2022, 09:11 PM
It's just a shame that's the fight that will sell out Wembley. It wouldn't be competitive and there's so many better UK based boxers at the smaller weight classes with considerable amounts more skill than those two, add in without the baggage Fury brings.

Heavyweight boxing is a shadow of it's former self nowadays. Even the best in Fury, his resume is kinda meh. His best wins are Wallin, Wilder and Whyte. AJ best win is an ageing Klitschko, Ruiz and Whyte.

Usyk is cool because he's got a higher skill level than the test, but im not sure if he's big enough to make that count enough against other Heavyweights. If AJ plods forward again for 12 rounds he'll get worked.

Usyk is still 6 foot 3 so not a midget. Just aj 6"6 and Fury 6"9 are unbelievably tall.

Joe frazer was 6', tyson 5'10, Liston 6', povetkin 6'2, Roy Jones 5'11, ruiz 6'2, holyfield 6'1

cameronw-hfc
16-08-2022, 11:55 PM
Usyk is still 6 foot 3 so not a midget. Just aj 6"6 and Fury 6"9 are unbelievably tall.

Joe frazer was 6', tyson 5'10, Liston 6', povetkin 6'2, Roy Jones 5'11, ruiz 6'2, holyfield 6'1

I know, I mean in terms of him fighting Fury. Fury being that much taller and decent at using his size is where I have my worries. In terms of technical ability Usyk is the man at HW, but Fury is the next best and has a considerable height difference. If they were an inch or two apart id pick Usyk 99 times out of 100, but the size if Fury and him being a surprisingly good boxer for today's HW standards makes me think the fight will be a tricky one.

AJ doesn't tend to use his size or body well, he got away with out-fighting with no set ups vs Ruiz because Ruiz is a more limited fighter, Usyk has entries and the in-fighting ability that pretty much nobody else in the division has. He's got the skill of a little guy in a big guys body. If his coaches comments are anything to go buy, bet the house on Usyk. Last I seen his coach was talking about his heart and making it a fight, when in reality he needs to brush up on his footwork, his hand fighting and positioning and entries/exits into/out of the pocket. Usyk has him beat everywhere besides reach and power, Joshua needs to work the jab and use long shots to stop Usyk entering, nothing to do with his heart/wanting it more.

I will say, if it's not obvious I'm not bought on Fury being one of the HW greats. He's the best about right now, but the HW division is scarily weak in terms of depth currently so that doesn't say all that much.

Guys like Inoue, Donnaire etc all deserve 20x the promotion Fury AJ and Wilder get, but because of the "little guys are boring" stigma they don't get it. Find it hard to get excited about the current HW division when most fights are pretty obvious as to who wins/loses right now. Needs some fresh talent.

Stairway 2 7
17-08-2022, 05:56 AM
I know, I mean in terms of him fighting Fury. Fury being that much taller and decent at using his size is where I have my worries. In terms of technical ability Usyk is the man at HW, but Fury is the next best and has a considerable height difference. If they were an inch or two apart id pick Usyk 99 times out of 100, but the size if Fury and him being a surprisingly good boxer for today's HW standards makes me think the fight will be a tricky one.

AJ doesn't tend to use his size or body well, he got away with out-fighting with no set ups vs Ruiz because Ruiz is a more limited fighter, Usyk has entries and the in-fighting ability that pretty much nobody else in the division has. He's got the skill of a little guy in a big guys body. If his coaches comments are anything to go buy, bet the house on Usyk. Last I seen his coach was talking about his heart and making it a fight, when in reality he needs to brush up on his footwork, his hand fighting and positioning and entries/exits into/out of the pocket. Usyk has him beat everywhere besides reach and power, Joshua needs to work the jab and use long shots to stop Usyk entering, nothing to do with his heart/wanting it more.

I will say, if it's not obvious I'm not bought on Fury being one of the HW greats. He's the best about right now, but the HW division is scarily weak in terms of depth currently so that doesn't say all that much.

Guys like Inoue, Donnaire etc all deserve 20x the promotion Fury AJ and Wilder get, but because of the "little guys are boring" stigma they don't get it. Find it hard to get excited about the current HW division when most fights are pretty obvious as to who wins/loses right now. Needs some fresh talent.

Good post and agree particularly on inoue an absolute master. I would argue that Fury would be one of the greats if he beat usyk. Yes it's been a weak field but you can only beat what's there. At 6'9 and with good movement I'm not sure which heavyweight from history beats him.

cameronw-hfc
17-08-2022, 06:11 AM
Good post and agree particularly on inoue an absolute master. I would argue that Fury would be one of the greats if he beat usyk. Yes it's been a weak field but you can only beat what's there. At 6'9 and with good movement I'm not sure which heavyweight from history beats him.

I agree, but because of him being a deplorable person ill never let my bias fully allow me to class him as a great lol. Won't even pretend it's because I have valid reasons, if he beats Usyk he's up there, I just can't stand the man for his homophobic, misogynistic and other mental things he's said.

Inoue is special. As special as it gets, to go toe-to-toe with an all time legend in Nonito, win ESPN fight of the year and then rematch him and demolish him, that's a rare level of talent. He ate Nonitos left hooks as if it was a joke, and that's probably the scariest left hook in boxing currently.

MagicSwirlingShip
20-08-2022, 07:13 AM
I agree, but because of him being a deplorable person ill never let my bias fully allow me to class him as a great lol. Won't even pretend it's because I have valid reasons, if he beats Usyk he's up there, I just can't stand the man for his homophobic, misogynistic and other mental things he's said.

Inoue is special. As special as it gets, to go toe-to-toe with an all time legend in Nonito, win ESPN fight of the year and then rematch him and demolish him, that's a rare level of talent. He ate Nonitos left hooks as if it was a joke, and that's probably the scariest left hook in boxing currently.

Seen him live demolishing Rodriguez on the Taylor v Baranchyk support. Devastingly fast, scary power, so precise with his work. The monster!

20-08-2022, 05:35 PM
I know why he did it but Hearn has sold his soul here, dead

20-08-2022, 06:36 PM
Usyk will win.

20-08-2022, 08:11 PM
Usyk will win.

Definitely the favourite.

Anyone watch the Badou Jack fight? How they judged that is mental. Rivera had the fight won hands down. Shades of the Taylor fight.

LunasBoots
20-08-2022, 08:15 PM
Should be a decent fight, looking forward to it.

Helensburghhibs
20-08-2022, 08:23 PM
Atmosphere is horrendous

20-08-2022, 08:27 PM
i think AJ will win this one

20-08-2022, 08:40 PM
What time are the ring walks

cameronw-hfc
20-08-2022, 08:50 PM
Usyk via however he wants.

20-08-2022, 10:01 PM
ofgs do away with the nonsense/cringey build-up to boxers coming out nowayears

20-08-2022, 10:03 PM
What time are the ring walks

Now

20-08-2022, 10:06 PM
Atmosphere is horrendous

Arabs dinnae sing 🤣

20-08-2022, 10:07 PM
Usyk looks like he means business . AJs getting his ass handed to him tonight

20-08-2022, 10:07 PM
Atmosphere is horrendous

As brutal as Sweet Caroline is, it gets the crowd pumped

This is garbage

20-08-2022, 10:11 PM
The fight may be great but it all reaks of cash and its not quite got that 'feel' that all big sporting events have.

20-08-2022, 10:12 PM
Even Buffer seems like he canny be arsed haha

LunasBoots
20-08-2022, 10:36 PM
AJ is like a plank of wood, so one dimensional, very boring fighter, Usyk oozes class

LunasBoots
20-08-2022, 10:50 PM
Joshua let's off a few flurrys here and there but it's just not enough or kept up consistenly enough to win these rounds

20-08-2022, 10:50 PM
AJ's gonna KO him

LunasBoots
20-08-2022, 10:54 PM
Usyk hurt from a body punch, doesn't look the same

20-08-2022, 10:54 PM
great fight

cameronw-hfc
20-08-2022, 10:58 PM
Usyk absolutely strolling this, I've got him up 8-3 here.

LunasBoots
20-08-2022, 11:00 PM
Usyk putting on a show, Joshua needs a KO

cameronw-hfc
20-08-2022, 11:01 PM
Commentators a disgrace. Watching a master at his craft and all they're doing is talking about how well the loser is fighting. Give the man his dues

20-08-2022, 11:03 PM
just wasn't to be joshua

20-08-2022, 11:03 PM
Arguably the best Joshua has fought. Just not enough. Usyk was incredible.

20-08-2022, 11:05 PM
nice touch joshua

20-08-2022, 11:07 PM
That judge though... Wow.

i really thought AJ would have got that :greengrin

Judge that gave it to AJ wants a word with himself

20-08-2022, 11:08 PM
after saying nice touch joshua

i take that back

now he's wanting to fight the crowd

LunasBoots
20-08-2022, 11:09 PM
That judge who gave Joshua on scorecard needs investigated 😄

20-08-2022, 11:10 PM
joshua's lost it

shut up joshua :greengrin

OldEast
The judge who gave that to Joshua could referee Scottish games in his spare time.

Judge that gave it to AJ wants a word with himself

Easy to know which one took the bung.

WTF is Joshua doing?

LunasBoots
The judge who gave that to Joshua could referee Scottish games in his spare time.

As soon as I heard UK judges scoring it I thought here we go....

LunasBoots
20-08-2022, 11:12 PM
Now Joshua loses all respect, lost his nut

20-08-2022, 11:12 PM
I’m absolutely cringing here. “What is happening in his country… well I don’t know what’s happening there”

20-08-2022, 11:14 PM
I’m absolutely cringing here. “What is happening in his country… well I don’t know what’s happening there”

🤣🤣🤣

i heard joshua saying to Usyk 'how'd you beat me huh' before taking the mic

Someone got battered about the heid a bit too much there, cringe

LunasBoots
20-08-2022, 11:16 PM
Sounded like a right prick

20-08-2022, 11:18 PM
don't fight Fury Mr Usyk

cameronw-hfc
20-08-2022, 11:19 PM
Usyk is the only heavyweight that can give Fury issues. He's the better technical boxer, but Fury is so much larger it gets interesting especially given Fury is a better boxer than AJ.

20-08-2022, 11:24 PM
Fury would do the exact same to Uysk as he done to Wilder, keep flattening him against the ropes using his 45 stane weight, 8ft height and 4ft long arms

i'd rather watch they two tonight than fury v anyone

no doubt fury will play even more games now, i'm retired, no i'm not, i'm retired forever i really mean it this time honest

NC1875
20-08-2022, 11:26 PM
Joshua’s a prick, always been a prick, always will be a prick.

Had every fight picked for him to make him look something he’s not.

Should be the end of him as a boxer. Donkey

OldEast
20-08-2022, 11:28 PM
As good a boxer as Usyk is, taking on Fury would be a step too far. Fury too big and skillful.

LunasBoots

Fine example as to why his team don't let him do interviews, he's a nasty piece of work in real life always has been, has been duisgused as a poster boy by Hearn and Co.

MagicSwirlingShip

Nonsense

OldEast
20-08-2022, 11:29 PM

Couldn't agree more. Hope we never see him again.

NC1875
20-08-2022, 11:32 PM
Nonsense

Explain please ?

Hes a dick, acts the reformed gang member because Hearn tells him to.

He was a prick when he was a “gangster”

And he’s still a prick now

Shown his true colours tonight. Embarrassing

20-08-2022, 11:41 PM
i'd like to see Wilder v Joshua, after he's fought the big Fin Robert Helenius

MagicSwirlingShip
20-08-2022, 11:48 PM
Explain please ?

Hes a dick, acts the reformed gang member because Hearn tells him to.

He was a prick when he was a “gangster”

And he’s still a prick now

Shown his true colours tonight. Embarrassing

You’ve never met him, probably never will.

To say he’s had his fights picked for him - is frankly nonsense.

camthebam
20-08-2022, 11:51 PM
Commentators a disgrace. Watching a master at his craft and all they're doing is talking about how well the loser is fighting. Give the man his dues

Agree entirely.

Sky are to Anthony Joshua what The Daily Mail are to the tories. They’re to blame for that utter embarrassment at the end there, utterly disgraceful narcissistic attempt at making that about him as Usyk waited to talk. What on earth was he on about Ukraine there?! Completely tarnished the very good things, and lets face it his career has some impressive highlights even if it was obvious to most of us he was never being a great, he’s done with that shameful nonsense at the end.

We’ve all had kickings. What matters most is how well you walk through the fire. And you embarrassed yourself there Anthony lad.

camthebam
20-08-2022, 11:55 PM

Harsh.

He won a few battles and was very exciting on his way up.

Hugely overrated by Sky and their commentators are disgracefully biased toward him. And he disgraced himself tonight. But it’s a lonely sport, he’s achieved a lot and deserved it.

21-08-2022, 12:01 AM
the multi-retirer has his say

Tyson Fury, who holds the WBC heavyweight belt, has given his reaction on Instagram to Oleksandr Usyk's win and it's fair to say he isn't impressed with what he saw.
"After watching that, I can say that's one of the worst heavyweight fights I've ever seen," he put on his Instagram story.
"I would annihilate both of them on the same night.
"Get your chequebook out because the Gypsy King is here to stay forever."

camthebam
21-08-2022, 12:17 AM
the multi-retirer has his say

Tyson Fury, who holds the WBC heavyweight belt, has given his reaction on Instagram to Oleksandr Usyk's win and it's fair to say he isn't impressed with what he saw.
"After watching that, I can say that's one of the worst heavyweight fights I've ever seen," he put on his Instagram story.
"I would annihilate both of them on the same night.
"Get your chequebook out because the Gypsy King is here to stay forever."

lol

He’s entirely correct. **** the belts, Tyson Fury is the Heavyweight Champion of our generation. I get whoever it was above that questioned his beliefs and I agree they’re somewhat objectionable to put it mildly. But in terms of pure boxing ability, never mind character of will, Tyson rules that division. They want to be king, they have to beat him. And I just didn’t see enough in Usyk tonight to think he takes TF. Fury can dance like him but hit harder. Subjective, I know, all talk of future is. But Tyson Fury is a phenomenal boxer in my eyes.

cameronw-hfc
21-08-2022, 12:30 AM
lol

He’s entirely correct. **** the belts, Tyson Fury is the Heavyweight Champion of our generation. I get whoever it was above that questioned his beliefs and I agree they’re somewhat objectionable to put it mildly. But in terms of pure boxing ability, never mind character of will, Tyson rules that division. They want to be king, they have to beat him. And I just didn’t see enough in Usyk tonight to think he takes TF. Fury can dance like him but hit harder. Subjective, I know, all talk of future is. But Tyson Fury is a phenomenal boxer in my eyes.

If we're talking P4P skill, Fury can't hold a torch to Usyk.if we're talking a mix of skill, fight IQ and ability to utilise weapons, Fury might be better, but if we're talking boxing fundamentals, Usyk is the man, by a large, large margin as well.

camthebam
21-08-2022, 12:43 AM
If we're talking P4P skill, Fury can't hold a torch to Usyk.if we're talking a mix of skill, fight IQ and ability to utilise weapons, Fury might be better, but if we're talking boxing fundamentals, Usyk is the man, by a large, large margin as well.

Opinions mate.

I disagree. I think Fury is hugely underrated still.

We won’t know unless they fight but cameronw-hfc, I’ll happily take £10 of your money. Shall PM you my BACS details when it, inevitably, happens. Cheers bud.

cameronw-hfc
21-08-2022, 01:00 AM
Opinions mate.

I disagree. I think Fury is hugely underrated still.

We won’t know unless they fight but cameronw-hfc, I’ll happily take £10 of your money. Shall PM you my BACS details when it, inevitably, happens. Cheers bud.

I don't know who I'd pick for that fight, my point is if you put Fury in Usyks body does he have the same success? That's the whole p4p argument, regardless of size, does the skill carry over? Usyk has now done it at 2 weight classes, one where hes usually the smaller guy but a decent bit, so p4p, Usyk is the better guy, in terms of who wins a Heavyweight fight, there's more than just skill alone that factors into that so I'll openly say I don't know.

Stairway 2 7
21-08-2022, 08:55 AM
It will take Fury to outbox usyk for him to get the credit he deserves. An unbelievable mover for his height, his head work is incredible. Really looking forward to it

Joshua has been a very good fighter yes overhyped, but you'd sack his promotion team if he wasn't. Usyk simply fantastic 👏

21-08-2022, 10:12 AM
Fell asleep after the first round and woke after AJ’s speech and wondered what the pundits were talking about. Did he take some heavy blows to the head? The guys ****ed up!!

LustForLeith
21-08-2022, 12:25 PM
Feel quite sorry for AJ. Needs to take some time away from the spotlight

I don’t think Hearn covers himself in glory. He’s going on about the calibre of boxers AJ has fought. Surely that’s the point of him being champ?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/boxing/62621501

21-08-2022, 04:03 PM
cousin of Tyson Fury stabbed to death early this morning, stabbed in the neck outside a bar in Altrincham and some other bloke attacked at same time

Tyson Fury reveals his cousin has been stabbed to death (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/tyson-fury-reveals-his-cousin-has-been-stabbed-to-death/ar-AA10TViL?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=48497d1b526249b8b26186dada0a3331)

21-08-2022, 07:01 PM
What happened to the scantily clad ring girls last night https://www.hibs.net/image/gif;base64,R0lGODlhDwAPALMNAEVFRf/qAAAAAP/OAP/JAP////6dAP 0AP/ k///x//9E//lAP//6wAAAAAAAAAAACH/C05FVFNDQVBFMi4wAwEAAAAh QQFCgANACwAAAAADwAPAAAEXrBJCWqduFWWEBoXBnCKEpyDAUx AJwhn8KarhghFAeM6qCW8XFCnAtx0uGTyUEHIXjsogQkwPWOvw LQyiHlPC4JK0/2eCD7yYAGAAtBjymBAqNdpmcphfyhmWBY1ExEAIfkEBQoADQAs BAAFAAgAAwAABAqwiFnkvFbYoGcEACH5BAUKAA0ALAQABAAHAA QAAAQLsIlG5ayz1Kb5LhEAIfkEBTIADQAsBAAEAAgAAwAABApQ tNkkLbThgiePACH5BAUUAA0ALAkACgACAAIAAAQEsAnRIgAh QQFCgANACwEAAQABwAEAAAEDbCURmUBtIErMOhahkUAIfkEBQA ADQAsAgACAAsABwAABB2wSSEbrTJUXVX4zQcqQikEpkBMTdFaW FnJGxdyEQAh QQFAAANACwCAAIACwAGAAAEFrBJJVuoOFehG7dBCIrKJwQmMV6 hGAEAIfkEBQAADQAsAgACAAsABgAABBawSSEbrThLpVuYQmiFl FBIhYmW5ChGADs=

Hope they weren't stoned :cb

22-08-2022, 10:41 AM
Fell asleep after the first round and woke after AJ’s speech and wondered what the pundits were talking about. Did he take some heavy blows to the head? The guys ****ed up!!

Aye he made a right James Hunt of himself.

03-09-2022, 09:36 PM
The standard of show on the Boxxer stuff sky is putting out is verging on horrendous.

04-09-2022, 01:15 PM
The standard of show on the Boxxer stuff sky is putting out is verging on horrendous.

Dreadful show last night. Some exciting fighters but the level of opposition was a disgrace.

04-09-2022, 09:32 PM
I’m not a big fan of Frank Warren shows either and I’ve no intention of taking a DAZN subscription so losing some enthusiasm for boxing.

12-09-2022, 05:43 PM
Eubank Snr claiming he’s pulled Jnr out the Benn fight.

12-09-2022, 06:25 PM
Eubank Snr claiming he’s pulled Jnr out the Benn fight.

Headgames or angling for more money, he could never live it down if he pulled out of this one imo

12-09-2022, 08:43 PM
Headgames or angling for more money, he could never live it down if he pulled out of this one imo

Looking to get a couple of pounds added to the weight or slight relaxation of the rehydration clause. No way the fight isn’t happening. Too much money up for grabs.

12-09-2022, 08:46 PM
Looking to get a couple of pounds added to the weight or slight relaxation of the rehydration clause. No way the fight isn’t happening. Too much money up for grabs.

He fights at 160 anyway. No way can they add anything to the 157. Think it’s Eubank Snr just wanting to be the centre of attention as usual

cameronw-hfc
16-09-2022, 05:15 AM
Bud vs Spence looks to be booked. Probably the best fight in boxing currently possible.

Inoue vs Butler soon as well, although that's as much as a gimme fight as you're ever gonna get to unify a division. Where does everyone think Naoya should aim next? Outside of Casmeiro, there doesn't really seem to be anyone at all that could touch him at BW. Would have loved the 115 fight vs Choco or Estrada, but again, I think they would have been sizeable decision wins for Naoya, albeit brilliant fights no doubt.

Seems to be in a weird position, can't ever remember a boxer having such an easy fight to unify a division, Butler might be the worst fighter to ever fight for unified titles, and Naoya is one of, if not the most skilled boxer on the planet currently, and that's not even considering the fact his punches sound like gunshots. Seems to be a victim of his own success and talent. I remember seeing videos of him at 20 and thinking he'd be a world star, but he seems to good to promote fights being competitive at BW, so nobody takes interest in it.

MagicSwirlingShip
16-09-2022, 07:05 PM
Inoue will move up and fight Stephen Fulton after disposing of Butler.

16-09-2022, 09:18 PM
Bud vs Spence looks to be booked. Probably the best fight in boxing currently possible.

Inoue vs Butler soon as well, although that's as much as a gimme fight as you're ever gonna get to unify a division. Where does everyone think Naoya should aim next? Outside of Casmeiro, there doesn't really seem to be anyone at all that could touch him at BW. Would have loved the 115 fight vs Choco or Estrada, but again, I think they would have been sizeable decision wins for Naoya, albeit brilliant fights no doubt.

Seems to be in a weird position, can't ever remember a boxer having such an easy fight to unify a division, Butler might be the worst fighter to ever fight for unified titles, and Naoya is one of, if not the most skilled boxer on the planet currently, and that's not even considering the fact his punches sound like gunshots. Seems to be a victim of his own success and talent. I remember seeing videos of him at 20 and thinking he'd be a world star, but he seems to good to promote fights being competitive at BW, so nobody takes interest in it.

It was brilliant see Inoue in Glasgow. He was tremendous that night.

cameronw-hfc
18-09-2022, 04:48 AM
GGG vs Canelo was as sad as it gets. He looked shot after the Murata performance, and he was the same tonight. He looks so gun-shy now. The judges being corrupt as usual scoring it 115-113, being nice to GGG you could score it 9-3 in terms of rounds, but even giving GGG 3 rounds is a push. I gave him 3 based on looking semi-competitive in the last 3, but otherwise it was a domination.

I will say, Canelo won pretty easily, but there was next to no improvements from the Bivol fight, and I don't think he looked great, despite cruising.

MagicSwirlingShip
21-09-2022, 09:20 PM
Spence vs Crawford incoming 💪🏻

cameronw-hfc
22-09-2022, 06:25 PM
Fury blatantly running from Usyk at this point chasing an AJ fight. One of the worst things about Boxing is the ducking and avoiding. It's the obvious fight to make for anyone interested in boxing, yet he's out here fighting the guy Usyk just schooled twice.

Yet another reason why Fury isn't, and won't be a great in boxing. Poor resume that could be salvaged by beating Usyk, won't happen though.

Stairway 2 7
22-09-2022, 06:44 PM
Fury blatantly running from Usyk at this point chasing an AJ fight. One of the worst things about Boxing is the ducking and avoiding. It's the obvious fight to make for anyone interested in boxing, yet he's out here fighting the guy Usyk just schooled twice.

Yet another reason why Fury isn't, and won't be a great in boxing. Poor resume that could be salvaged by beating Usyk, won't happen though.

Usyk has said he doesn't want to fight until late spring. Fury and Saudi Arabia want a fight in December. That's why Fury is trying to build up excitement for a Joshua fight. It's the second biggest draw in the Heavyweights and he doesn't want to wait until May for Usyk

24-09-2022, 10:09 PM
Joyce Parker has been a good fight so far. Can’t see it going the 12. Both have taken a few big hits.

24-09-2022, 10:11 PM
Joe Joyce appears to have a chin of steel ffs.

24-09-2022, 10:23 PM
Joe Joyce appears to have a chin of steel ffs.

Both men do, Joyce is an instrument of blunt force trauma, not the prettiest but gets the job done

hibbycraig
24-09-2022, 10:25 PM
I know they are big guys but Parker has been gassed from about 7 minutes in. Decent brawl tho

24-09-2022, 10:33 PM
**** getting hit by Joyce

24-09-2022, 10:40 PM
I reckon Joyce is now the most serious contender to Usyk and Fury. He is durable, fit, powerful and has reach like an orangutan. He just doesn’t seem to fight very often though. Surely his next fight is a title shot.

24-09-2022, 10:41 PM

Not even that. He took heavy shots and he barely has a mark on him ffs.

Willis1875
24-09-2022, 10:46 PM
That woman doing the interviews at the end was a pain in the rectum

cameronw-hfc
26-09-2022, 11:17 PM
Fury yet again running from any competition. Withdraws the Joshua offer, ignores the Joyce fight and is fighting Mahmoud Charr. Waiting for folk to come along and tell me he's an all time great with a resume and best wins consisting of Wilder, Klitchko, Otto Wallin, Whyte and Chisora😂

29-09-2022, 11:31 AM
Fury yet again running from any competition. Withdraws the Joshua offer, ignores the Joyce fight and is fighting Mahmoud Charr. Waiting for folk to come along and tell me he's an all time great with a resume and best wins consisting of Wilder, Klitchko, Otto Wallin, Whyte and Chisora😂

Doesn't appear to be running from anything to me?

Other than Klitchko, Wilder, Whyte and Chisora who else could Fury have fought? Looks like he's trying to fight AJ and Usyk has already said he's not fighting again this year.

It's absolutely fine to not like the guy but think it's daft to say he's running form any competition.

03-10-2022, 09:57 AM
Eubank v Benn fight week. Bit disappointed that Snr is nowhere to be seen. I was looking forward to some nonsense between the dads.

05-10-2022, 11:23 AM
Benn tests positive for a banned substance allegedly

05-10-2022, 11:26 AM
FFS I’ve spent a fortune on tickets, flights, digs etc.

05-10-2022, 11:36 AM
FFS I’ve spent a fortune on tickets, flights, digs etc.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221005/d307158b4b99bce89e45d7ebac2a63f2.jpg

05-10-2022, 12:18 PM
The press conference tomorrow just got even more interesting, Eubank is going to run riot with this

05-10-2022, 01:14 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221005/05547001a374da74622f6e45cc962716.jpg
Uh oh

05-10-2022, 01:29 PM
They will try and get it under a Luxembourg license or something, the whole thing is shady as ****

05-10-2022, 01:41 PM
Surely there can't be any legitimate reason for Benn to have Clomifene in his system?

I can understand why a female athlete might legitimately claim for a therapeutic use exemption but for a man it can only really be an attempt to boost testosterone. Absolutely stinks.

Stairway 2 7
05-10-2022, 01:58 PM
Bbbc cancel fight.

He shouldn't have been fighting if he was trying to get pregnant and had a problem with his ovaries tbf.

MagicSwirlingShip
05-10-2022, 05:46 PM
Surely there can't be any legitimate reason for Benn to have Clomifene in his system?

I can understand why a female athlete might legitimately claim for a therapeutic use exemption but for a man it can only really be an attempt to boost testosterone. Absolutely stinks.

Can also be used as a masking agent for other banned substances

Stairway 2 7
05-10-2022, 05:56 PM
Can also be used as a masking agent for other banned substances

It's used after taking steroids to increase testosterone, he should be banned for years if proven. He'll always have a question mark now

06-10-2022, 10:57 AM
It's used after taking steroids to increase testosterone, he should be banned for years if proven. He'll always have a question mark now

Just like Billy Joe Saunders, Tyson Fury, Canello Alvares…….and Nigel Benn. Didn’t do them any harm.

Stairway 2 7
06-10-2022, 11:28 AM
Just like Billy Joe Saunders, Tyson Fury, Canello Alvares…….and Nigel Benn. Didn’t do them any harm.

Tyson had a great lawyer and it was before he was in his massive fights, the Charlie no one is bothered about. Their drugs were easier to explain away, in meat ect. How do you explain a female fertility drug, the usual excuse of it was in my supplement won't work.

All athletes are at it, it depends how good your doctor is

06-10-2022, 02:09 PM
Fight now off according to various media outlets

06-10-2022, 03:28 PM
Fight now off according to various media outlets

Now confirmed

Jakhog1
15-10-2022, 05:54 PM
Looking forward to Shields v Marshall later, hoping for a Marshall win, already beat her in the amateurs but that means nothing really and that could have went either way.

15-10-2022, 06:21 PM
Looking forward to Shields v Marshall later, hoping for a Marshall win, already beat her in the amateurs but that means nothing really and that could have went either way.
Yes I'm looking forward to it too. Cant take to Shields. I hope Marshall knocks her out but I think Shields will prove to be too fast and mobile.

15-10-2022, 08:25 PM
WTF are sky thinking interrupting the boxing for a concert?

15-10-2022, 09:18 PM
Thought Mayer won that myself

15-10-2022, 10:00 PM
Thought Mayer won that myself

So did I!

Shields is well in control of this fight! At least 3 rounds ahead for me!

15-10-2022, 10:24 PM
I never seen that decision. From the 4th round on Marshall dominated.

15-10-2022, 11:49 PM
Thought Shields by 2-3 rounds was about right. Was a good fight but I just find 2 minute rounds far too short.

The judges scorecards were absolutely mental tho. All over the shop.

17-10-2022, 09:33 PM
Taylor v Catterall now reported as being February 4th.

02-12-2022, 08:41 PM
Williamson Kelly about to start on C5, should be a good fight hopefully

03-12-2022, 08:35 PM
Fury will win this :agree:

but good luck chisora :greengrin

Fury can pick his round here

Chisora has taken a heck of a hard shots, go on hang in there

lol fury struggling to keep his shorts up

i thought chisora's eye had fallen in the bucket there

ref stops it rd 10, he's taken some battering

03-12-2022, 09:24 PM
Would ****ing love it if Usyk beats Fury, great boxer but a dick of a man and pure cringefest

Stairway 2 7
03-12-2022, 09:41 PM
Some damage chisora took, a bit worrying. Fury very good even if expected. Hopefully usyk at Wembley with an atmosphere, probably Saudi for the money

04-12-2022, 08:39 AM
Didn't even know this was on 😅

04-12-2022, 11:47 AM
Time for Chisora to retire.

Guy was a good boxer and top notch at domestic level and there or thereabouts at European level. Gave a decent account of himself when he fought Kiltschko all those years ago and has never ducked a fight in his entire career.

He's at that stage where is taking bad beatings now though. I get retirement is a daunting prospect for a lot of fighters but he needs to retire so he is still around and has a few marbles left in a decades time.

Stairway 2 7
04-12-2022, 12:47 PM
Whilst I didn't want the fight due to the previous 2 clear victories and it went the expected way, huge disrespect shown to chisora by many.

Fury entitled to take an easier fight before a unification. Chisora just beat pulev, last year had a split decision with Parker and was recently competitive against Usyk, with scores of 117-112, 115-113 and 115-113.

Hopefully made a wedge and retires now

06-12-2022, 01:23 PM
Purely to give Chisora a big payday courtesy of his mate Fury. Shows all that is wrong with boxing.

06-12-2022, 08:53 PM
Sad to read of Mills Lane's passing today. He was a real character in the ring and took no ****!

Stairway 2 7
08-12-2022, 04:25 PM
Should be a cracker

MichaelBensonn
·
‼️ Tyson Fury vs Oleksandr Usyk for the undisputed heavyweight world titles is "almost done", Usyk's manager Egis Klimas has declared. Camps have been in negotiations for weeks prior to the Derek Chisora fight. Target dates of Feb 18th - March 4th in Middle East. [@talkSPORT]

10-12-2022, 10:49 AM
Should be a cracker

MichaelBensonn
·
‼️ Tyson Fury vs Oleksandr Usyk for the undisputed heavyweight world titles is "almost done", Usyk's manager Egis Klimas has declared. Camps have been in negotiations for weeks prior to the Derek Chisora fight. Target dates of Feb 18th - March 4th in Middle East. [@talkSPORT]

Shame it'll be in Saudi. This should be in England or Vegas.

10-12-2022, 09:54 PM
Warrington fight about to start

11-12-2022, 07:16 AM
Warrington fight about to start

Watched it this morning.

He took far too long to get going and the damage was done by the time he really came alive in the 9th. He done some nice work inside but Lopez being the aggressor and constantly coming forward will have seen him pick up a majority of the close rounds.

Tough to see where he goes from here. A win tonight opened up at least one big payday.

13-12-2022, 10:53 AM
All knew it was going to happen but Inoue is a wrecking ball, time for him to move up and see how he does

MagicSwirlingShip
17-12-2022, 12:46 PM
Watched it this morning.

He took far too long to get going and the damage was done by the time he really came alive in the 9th. He done some nice work inside but Lopez being the aggressor and constantly coming forward will have seen him pick up a majority of the close rounds.

Tough to see where he goes from here. A win tonight opened up at least one big payday.

Leigh Woods comes through against Lara (by no means an easy task) and him v Warrington is a shoe in

17-12-2022, 07:29 PM
Gibbs v First on the Boxxer card was brutal. 41 year old First wins because Gibbs’ gum shield didn’t fit.

17-12-2022, 07:36 PM
Gibbs v First on the Boxxer card was brutal. 41 year old First wins because Gibbs’ gum shield didn’t fit.

Went to school with First and he used to live in the same village.

Knew he took up fighting but never seen him box before.

Good to see him win.

18-12-2022, 08:53 AM

3 points deducted because of it. Was an absolute shambles.

luxrebecca
22-12-2022, 05:34 PM
I completely agree with you on this one! It was an absolute travesty that a fight as big as Gibbs v First on the Boxxer card ended the way it did. After all the hype and anticipation leading up to the fight, it was a real shame that it ended in such an anti-climactic way. It's a real shame that 41-year-old First won just because Gibbs' gum shield didn't fit. It's hard to believe that something as simple as a gum shield would be the deciding factor in a fight of this magnitude. It was clear that Gibbs was the more experienced fighter and was the favorite going into the fight. Anyway, the coach of my kid told me that another important factor is the boxing equipment. Maybe this also played a role in that fight. That's why my kiddo got the best boxing gloves for beginners (https://mmaground.net/best-boxing-gloves-for-beginners-reviewed/). I want him to grow into a real professional. :)

20-01-2023, 01:18 PM
I don't really like Eubank but he he smashes Smith face in

https://twitter.com/ChrisEubankJr/status/1616138543226568704?t=jC1QbVcNm3qic6O18NEm4Q&s=19

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

OldEast
20-01-2023, 01:57 PM
I don't really like Eubank but he he smashes Smith face in

https://twitter.com/ChrisEubankJr/status/1616138543226568704?t=jC1QbVcNm3qic6O18NEm4Q&s=19

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Not a fan of Eubank but he's right. Both Bellew and Smith are ********s.

20-01-2023, 02:32 PM

What a nob Smith is.

20-01-2023, 02:33 PM

If comparing ********-ness, neither in the same league as Eubank. I have him as favourite, like most folk but I really hope he gets smashed and he can **** off back to Dubai and leave the sport for good.

OldEast
20-01-2023, 03:10 PM
If comparing ********-ness, neither in the same league as Eubank. I have him as favourite, like most folk but I really hope he gets smashed and he can **** off back to Dubai and leave the sport for good.

Yes but I wasn't comparing. Just agreeing Bellew and Smith are pricks

Stairway 2 7
20-01-2023, 03:41 PM
Eubank weighs in wearing a rainbow flag band. Smiths comments seem like from another era, absolute stupid clown

https://mobile.twitter.com/MichaelBensonn/status/1616435376398241792

21-01-2023, 12:18 PM
Eubank weighs in wearing a rainbow flag band. Smiths comments seem like from another era, absolute stupid clown

https://mobile.twitter.com/MichaelBensonn/status/1616435376398241792

Such a weird train of thought from Smith here. I agree with Eubank, why on earth does someone’s sexuality matter in sport.

21-01-2023, 06:03 PM
Rumours that Taylor v Catterall is postponed. Josh injured his foot in training…….

21-01-2023, 06:07 PM
Rumours that Taylor v Catterall is postponed. Josh injured his foot in training…….

As far is I know it's true, 6-12 week recovery, he will be in a stoater of a mood the night and with Catterall and McGuigan all in the same place I could easily see it all kicking off :faf:

21-01-2023, 06:09 PM
I can take or leaving boxing for the most part but I'm watching this tonight and like the rest of you, for the same reasons, hope Eubank smashes this little ****'s face in - a horrible bigot from another era that really should be fined, or at the very least, forced to do some outreach work.

Enjoyed the undercard so far too, but felt the ref stopped that last fight a little too quickly.

21-01-2023, 06:42 PM
As far is I know it's true, 6-12 week recovery, he will be in a stoater of a mood the night and with Catterall and McGuigan all in the same place I could easily see it all kicking off :faf:

Josh & Jack already had to be separated at ringside. Footage kicking about the boxing socials.

21-01-2023, 06:57 PM
Josh & Jack already had to be separated at ringside. Footage kicking about the boxing socials.

Didn't take a genius to work out it was always going to be a silly move sitting them a few seats apart

21-01-2023, 09:16 PM
Didn't take a genius to work out it was always going to be a silly move sitting them a few seats apart

You'd almost think it was planned lol

Willis1875
21-01-2023, 09:42 PM
I chucked it on,heard the announcer was called Big Mo and switched it off.
Can’t be arsed

21-01-2023, 09:52 PM
Unlike most on here, the crowd definitely for Smith.

Benny Brazil
21-01-2023, 09:56 PM
Think Smith will take it on points but hopefully Eubank is fired up and takes the fight to him - if it goes past 7 or 8 rounds then Smith should be stronger

21-01-2023, 10:01 PM
Unlike most on here, the crowd definitely for Smith.

I want Smith to win as well

Just edged the first for me there

21-01-2023, 10:11 PM
Boom, cheerio

Benny Brazil
21-01-2023, 10:11 PM
Didn't see it finishing like that

21-01-2023, 10:12 PM
Get in

21-01-2023, 10:13 PM
pity

Eubank has a rematch clause

21-01-2023, 10:15 PM
Sky, the only TV station in the world you need to wait half an hour for a replay

Benny Brazil
21-01-2023, 10:18 PM
That upper cut did the damage then followed up with a left - ref could have stopped it after the 1st knockdown

21-01-2023, 10:19 PM
3 losses now. Hopefully the last we see of this Eubank.

21-01-2023, 10:21 PM
That upper cut did the damage then followed up with a left - ref could have stopped it after the 1st knockdown

i thought the same straight away :agree:

Stairway 2 7
21-01-2023, 10:29 PM
Don't like eubank but would have been happy if he one as homophobes deserved black eyes. Both pretty poor fighters to be honest and utterly ridiculous that is a pay per view. They shouldn't be in a ring with triple G

28-01-2023, 10:09 PM
Half way through Beterbiev Yarde

Good fighting, trading heavy blows. Beterbiev probably 4-2 but not much in it

28-01-2023, 10:12 PM
Been a good war so far, commentary is doing my nut in though

28-01-2023, 10:16 PM
Beterbiev is an animal, don't think Yarde ever had him seriously hurt, he was being clever and setting traps for him

28-01-2023, 10:17 PM
What a fight. Berbetiev was worried but he is some fighter.

28-01-2023, 10:18 PM
That was brilliant, Beterbiev is nails

28-01-2023, 10:19 PM
Oh judges had Yarde up on 2. Thought it was probably 4-3 Beterbiev tbh

28-01-2023, 10:22 PM
Oh judges had Yarde up on 2. Thought it was probably 4-3 Beterbiev tbh

Judges being judges mainly, I think Beterbiev was a round or two up as well

28-01-2023, 10:23 PM
Corner saved him from a hiding there. Great old school scrap.

11-02-2023, 07:05 PM
Talk of them trying to do JT against Teofimo Lopez at Easter Road in May or June, give me some of that

11-02-2023, 07:16 PM
Talk of them trying to do JT against Teofimo Lopez at Easter Road in May or June, give me some of that

Absolutely. Got me excited on this quiet Saturday night [emoji23]

MagicSwirlingShip
11-02-2023, 07:55 PM

A much better fight than the proposed Caterrall rematch. Fully expect JT to launch a full on heel turn. Here for it

Stairway 2 7
11-02-2023, 07:55 PM
Take my money

MichaelBensonn
‼️ Josh Taylor vs Teofimo Lopez is reportedly now “close” to a done deal and being targeted for May 27th or June 3rd at Hibernian FC’s Easter Road stadium in Edinburgh. [According to
@MikeCoppinger
]

14-02-2023, 10:42 PM
Eubank triggers rematch with Smith Chris Eubank Jr triggers rematch with Liam Smith after stoppage loss - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/boxing/64637901)

Stairway 2 7
15-02-2023, 03:53 PM
Taylor ordered to fight Lopez, so a no brainer to keep his belt

Michael Benson
@MichaelBensonn
·
The WBO have now officially ordered Josh Taylor to defend his WBO super-lightweight world title vs Teofimo Lopez next. It's already been reported that the pair are in negotiations and close to a deal for May 27th or June 3rd in Scotland

22-02-2023, 07:57 PM
4/6 Jake Paul
6/5 Tommy Fury

i was about to put a bet on Fury winning but as the saying goes, the bookies are seldom wrong, so.... for the more knowledgeabe than i about this sport on .net, these odds fairy nuff ?

Stairway 2 7
22-02-2023, 08:10 PM
4/6 Jake Paul
6/5 Tommy Fury

i was about to put a bet on Fury winning but as the saying goes, the bookies are seldom wrong, so.... for the more knowledgeabe than i about this sport on .net, these odds fairy nuff ?

God knows, both of them haven't thought a decent boxer. Paul's opponents are a higher level probably although not boxers. Both pretty poor fighters really, hard to call with so little boxing history between them

22-02-2023, 08:23 PM
God knows, both of them haven't thought a decent boxer. Paul's opponents are a higher level probably although not boxers. Both pretty poor fighters really, hard to call with so little boxing history between them

i must admit i've only watched either of them box once, and i can't even remember who it was against :faf:

Jake Paul has vowed to "Decapitate" Fury

i just can't take him seriously :greengrin

p.s. i've now decided not to have any monetary interest :(

22-02-2023, 08:42 PM

Have there not been suggestions Paul’s previous fights were fixed? Or was that his brother?

Stairway 2 7
22-02-2023, 08:55 PM
Have there not been suggestions Paul’s previous fights were fixed? Or was that his brother?

It's him, but I don't think there is any proof so far. He's only fought youtubers or mma fighters for some reason.

K-Zazu
22-02-2023, 11:45 PM
It's him, but I don't think there is any proof so far. He's only fought youtubers or mma fighters for some reason.

Because he is a YouTuber

Stairway 2 7
23-02-2023, 05:31 AM
Because he is a YouTuber

Yes he is but to be fair his last 3 fights were against top fighters but not boxers and past their best. He's been training with some of the best trainers in the world the last 3 years full time so will have gained something from osmosis. Most professional fighters are fighting fall guys for their first 10 fights so he's not unusual in that. What is unusual is he's been given the limelight, paper views and shockingly wbc saying they will give him a world ranking with the win. He's fighting a catch weight and fought nobody but gets cruiserweight world ranking, farce but money talks

MagicSwirlingShip
23-02-2023, 10:18 PM

The knockdown against Anderson Silva was suspect. And Woodley having him on the ropes and refusing to throw.

Stairway 2 7
24-02-2023, 05:16 AM
The knockdown against Anderson Silva was suspect. And Woodley having him on the ropes and refusing to throw.

I'm not saying it isn't, but there is no real proof. They were sanctioned fights so it would be against the law if it was true.

24-02-2023, 05:19 PM
Meh.

It's hardly some big victory for boxing if Fury wins. Using his brothers name as a meal ticket, prancing about with guys paid to lose every bit as much much as Paul has been with no attempt to improve the quality of the opposition and suspending his career to piss about on reality TV. Reading interviews with people with access to both camps the consensus seems to be Paul is more willing than Fury to put the work in.

It's not some big slander to say Fury has been in with guys paid to lose, read or listen to interviews with 50+ loss journeymen and they'll be quite open about what their role is when put in with a fighter who can sell tickets and there is money invested in. If the journeyman wins then it's the last time his phone will ring offering work. They are both in with someone trying to win for the 1st time.

25-02-2023, 06:23 AM
As much as both aren't very good fighters fury knows boxing basics, he knows how to take a hit, how to move out the way of a hit, Paul has never been a fighter and having seen his previous fights gets caught very easy, his head movement is almost non existent. Fury should in theory be able to pick him off quite easily, but who knows when money is involved

25-02-2023, 09:27 PM
I’ve just turned on the undercard on the Mayweather fight. WTF did I just watch? Apparently two female “celebrities” “boxing”. One of them looked drunk. Bunch of cackling weirdos on commentary. Absolute joke these exhibition cards.

MagicSwirlingShip
26-02-2023, 01:56 PM
Meh.

It's hardly some big victory for boxing if Fury wins. Using his brothers name as a meal ticket, prancing about with guys paid to lose every bit as much much as Paul has been with no attempt to improve the quality of the opposition and suspending his career to piss about on reality TV. Reading interviews with people with access to both camps the consensus seems to be Paul is more willing than Fury to put the work in.

It's not some big slander to say Fury has been in with guys paid to lose, read or listen to interviews with 50+ loss journeymen and they'll be quite open about what their role is when put in with a fighter who can sell tickets and there is money invested in. If the journeyman wins then it's the last time his phone will ring offering work. They are both in with someone trying to win for the 1st time.

I feel Fury gets a bit of a rough time for his padded record. Compare it with any of the Olympians that came through the last round, they are all fighting nobodies up until at least their 10th fight.

26-02-2023, 10:08 PM
Fury correctly wins.

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2023, 10:21 PM
Can't believe I actually watched that. Much poorer quality than I expected. Fury so nervous and got tired, but levels above

26-02-2023, 10:31 PM
Can't believe I actually watched that. Much poorer quality than I expected. Fury so nervous and got tired, but levels above

Aye feeling the same. Carl Froch couldn't hide his disdain for Paul, but he was spot on. Novice level fighters albeit Fury was levels above.

Credit to anyone willing to get in a ring and fight, but not doing the sport much favours imo

26-02-2023, 10:36 PM
And to think folk paid money to watch that Tom kite, watched all the fights tonight, utterly embarrassing from start to finish.

27-02-2023, 08:40 AM
I didn't think it was a bad fight all things considered. The issue was it was a main event PPV when it really should have been just about scraping into the 'on air' section of a big fight card. For that level I thought it was entertaining enough.

The ref was determined to have his moment in the sun and was far too involved, never letting them work out the clinches and both points deductions were farcical, that kind of thing was pantomime and adds weight to the suspicion at least some of what went on was staged.

Hopefully Paul disappears back to the Disney Channel or whatever, he's had a decent run at it and made a lot of money. It's time for Fury to step up his quality of opponent. He's had his pay day, time to have a career. I take the point above about all fighters having padded records up to a point but in his 8th fight Anthony Joshua fought Denis Bahktov who had a 38 win, 9 loss record at the time. In his 9th fight Jame DeGale fought Paul Smith who was 29-1 at the time, in his 8th fight Josh Taylor fought Alfonso Oliviera who was 8-2-1 at the time and topically Tyson Fury fought (and was very lucky to beat ) John McDermott in his 8th fight, McDermott was 25-5 at the time. If he has aspirations ot reach even European level he needs a few fighters with decent winning records on his CV and quickly.

Keyser Sauzee
27-02-2023, 11:31 AM
Sure I read Jake Paul has a rematch clause and can see Tommy Fury being all over that so expect another bout soon

27-02-2023, 11:59 AM
Fury would be off his heid to carry on with normal boxing just now, rematch Paul for millions, then fight KSI which could probably fill Wembley, lots more money than doing it the tradition route

27-02-2023, 04:27 PM
Fury would be off his heid to carry on with normal boxing just now, rematch Paul for millions, then fight KSI which could probably fill Wembley, lots more money than doing it the tradition route

Already been called out by KSI, John Fury saying they want it in Saudi, so I think you're right. There's little to no chance Tommy Fury will be doing any proper boxing any time soon.

27-02-2023, 06:15 PM
I thought the fight before was a decent fight, forget their names, but it was stopped i think in the last round by the challenger.

An even fight all the way through, they did seem to be fighting in slow motion at times, but it did entertain me, certainly a better fight than the main event.:greengrin

27-02-2023, 08:32 PM
I thought the fight before was a decent fight, forget their names, but it was stopped i think in the last round by the challenger.

An even fight all the way through, they did seem to be fighting in slow motion at times, but it did entertain me, certainly a better fight than the main event.:greengrin

Fight before was Makubu (fought Tony Bellew at Goodison and was cruiserweight world champion) and Badou Jack (3 weight world champion) so was always the most interesting fight on the card.

01-04-2023, 07:00 PM
Joshua vs Franklin tonight

Who's watching and how do we see it going?

Stairway 2 7
01-04-2023, 08:30 PM
Joshua vs Franklin tonight

Who's watching and how do we see it going?

Not watching. Would be a huge upset if Joshua doesn't win comfortably

01-04-2023, 10:08 PM
Aj probably won 7 or more of the 9.

But he's not looking good

01-04-2023, 10:13 PM
Not a great fight. Too much hugging going on and being allowed to do so :greengrin

01-04-2023, 10:24 PM
Not watching. Would be a huge upset if Joshua doesn't win comfortably

He clearly won comfortably, he's just not a great boxer. Job done though I suppose

LunasBoots
01-04-2023, 10:29 PM
Back to body builder Joshua, very one dimensional, pretty clear he's not the best in the division, Joshua and wilder should get it on...

10-04-2023, 06:58 AM
Flight booked for Josh in NYC. Just need tickets now……..

10-04-2023, 07:41 AM
Flight booked for Josh in NYC. Just need tickets now……..

You can register now for presale of tickets.

10-04-2023, 04:48 PM
You can register now for presale of tickets.

Aye, registered yesterday. Looks like Danielle isn't getting any this time. Got a mate in NYC who regularly attends fight at MSG and he recons tickets are never a problem. You going?

MagicSwirlingShip
10-04-2023, 07:45 PM
It’s in the Theater so tickets will be more limited. Don’t think it will be an issue though. Shame I’m off on holiday to Lanzarote over that weekend 😢

11-04-2023, 05:34 PM
Pre-sale is live.....code is MSGBOX

15-04-2023, 09:43 PM
Joe Joyce the night.

Thought he'd been good last few times I saw him, but lost that first round there.