View Full Version : Boxing!

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17

29-11-2021, 05:51 PM
I had very little interest in this fight, it’s come far too late. Just watched the presser though and I’ve been sucked right in lol.

They certainly dont have much love for each other

06-12-2021, 02:45 PM
Tommy Fury has pulled out the Jake or Logan Paul fight.

AliboyFC
06-12-2021, 04:21 PM
Tommy Fury has pulled out the Jake or Logan Paul fight.

Quite embarrassing for Fury that like. Don't rate tommy that much tbf.

07-12-2021, 10:27 PM
Tyson Fury: WBC heavyweight champion to face Dillian Whyte in title defence - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/boxing/59568202)

Tyson Fury has been ordered to defend his heavyweight title against British rival Dillian Whyte.
The World Boxing Council has named Whyte as Fury's mandatory challenger and the two parties have 30 days to agree a deal.

12-12-2021, 07:57 AM
Rather enjoying the Sky Sports deal with Top Rank, god knows how it took so long for American fights to be broadcast here.

Decent watch last night, bit one sided but always good to see Loma in action. Fair play to Commey aswell, looked gone after the 6th/7th when he wobbled but dug in and seen it through.

Never seen the Benn fight as don't have Dazn. Anyone know how Eddie boys doing number wise with DAZN? Had the radio on yesterday driving to Paisley and in the hour or so that it took they must've had 3 adverts on. Good value for money with 3 fights this month for your 8 quid but can't help but think he'll be struggling compared to the Sky Sports days.

12-12-2021, 07:30 PM
Rather enjoying the Sky Sports deal with Top Rank, god knows how it took so long for American fights to be broadcast here.

Decent watch last night, bit one sided but always good to see Loma in action. Fair play to Commey aswell, looked gone after the 6th/7th when he wobbled but dug in and seen it through.

Never seen the Benn fight as don't have Dazn. Anyone know how Eddie boys doing number wise with DAZN? Had the radio on yesterday driving to Paisley and in the hour or so that it took they must've had 3 adverts on. Good value for money with 3 fights this month for your 8 quid but can't help but think he'll be struggling compared to the Sky Sports days.

Watched Benn via IPTV. The DAZN production is very similar to Sky, surprisingly. No idea what their numbers are like though.

Thought Benn was very impressive incidentally. The improvement he’s shown over the last year or so is incredible. Would love to see him against Broner next, or the Khan/Brook winner.

MagicSwirlingShip
12-12-2021, 11:28 PM
Watched Benn via IPTV. The DAZN production is very similar to Sky, surprisingly. No idea what their numbers are like though.

Thought Benn was very impressive incidentally. The improvement he’s shown over the last year or so is incredible. Would love to see him against Broner next, or the Khan/Brook winner.

Production on DAZN is orchestrated by Katie Hearn, Eddies sister, ex Sky Sports. Highly recommend the service, had some brilliant fights since it’s UK launch for a snip.

Benn is vastly improved, but yet to come up against a live dog who can crack. Broner , Khan or Brook ain’t that guy but would certainly continue to build his profile - which seems to be the aim of the game. A Uk Gervonta Davis almost, has been in with alot of over matched opponents and built up a decent highlight reel.

A real test of his level would be Avenesyan, but can’t see it happening.

camthebam
15-12-2021, 12:15 PM
Taylor - Catterall tickets available for pre-sale.

https://www.ticketmaster.co.uk/event/36005B89B408242F?did=fanpre

15-12-2021, 02:23 PM
Taylor - Catterall tickets available for pre-sale.

https://www.ticketmaster.co.uk/event/36005B89B408242F?did=fanpre

Very few sections available. I’ll wait til Friday.

16-12-2021, 07:28 AM
Very few sections available. I’ll wait til Friday.

Happy with the seats I bagged on the SSE customer pre-sale. One thing though, 7-8 quid per ticket on booking fee's and you can't select you're actual seat is pretty poor from Ticketmaster.

hibeesjoe
16-12-2021, 12:38 PM
I got tickets as soon as the pre-release started yesterday lunchtime. The only opinion I got then was seats up in the heavens so bought them. I had a look a couple of times again later in the afternoon and there seemed to be more choice.

I was a bit disappointed as what's the point in pre-release if the tickets offered are some of the furthest away. I've never been to live boxing before, but I'm sure the atmosphere will make up for the view and just happy to get tickets.

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

17-12-2021, 11:39 AM
I got tickets as soon as the pre-release started yesterday lunchtime. The only opinion I got then was seats up in the heavens so bought them. I had a look a couple of times again later in the afternoon and there seemed to be more choice.

I was a bit disappointed as what's the point in pre-release if the tickets offered are some of the furthest away. I've never been to live boxing before, but I'm sure the atmosphere will make up for the view and just happy to get tickets.

Saturday night in Glasgow with an Edinburgh/Scottish fighter it will definitely be this.

It's funny with live boxing, MMA and darts. When we go there's usually a split, some lads will opt for the cheapest seats and others will opt for the ones 2-3 times the price. However back in the pub afterwards talking about it, more often than not both groups just ended up watching it on the same big screens anyway. Maybe my eyesight but unless you're ringside, with the distances and viewing angles you'll be watching alot of it on the screens.

18-12-2021, 01:30 PM
Is it sold out already? I can't seem to get any

18-12-2021, 09:18 PM
10/10 to Sadjo for doing press ups in the ring after finishing off Jack Cullen, total ****housery that I'm in for haha

18-12-2021, 09:47 PM
10/10 to Sadjo for doing press ups in the ring after finishing off Jack Cullen, total ****housery that I'm in for haha

Was great patter.

18-12-2021, 09:59 PM
Chisora probably took that round there. His first out of 5.

18-12-2021, 10:06 PM
What a fight this is, so much better than the first one

18-12-2021, 10:26 PM
Good fight, Chisora is hard as nails but Parker is too nice and lacks the killer instinct, should have had him out of there at least 4 times

Willis1875
18-12-2021, 10:33 PM
Both left it all out there,very good fight

David_D
18-12-2021, 10:34 PM
Deserved winner but how did one judge give it 114-112.

Stairway 2 7
18-12-2021, 10:49 PM
Deserved winner but how did one judge give it 114-112.

Shocking from the judges

19-12-2021, 10:07 AM
Shocking from the judges

I had chisora winning about 4 rounds at most, so was amazed when I heard those scores. Especially when there was 3 knockdowns ffs!

20-12-2021, 10:23 AM
Any news on josh Taylor tickets for the 26th Feb?

hibeesjoe
20-12-2021, 10:34 AM
Any news on josh Taylor tickets for the 26th Feb?I think it's sold out through Ticketmaster. I seen his fiance was selling tickets on twitter though, so she might have some left.

20-12-2021, 11:25 AM
I think it's sold out through Ticketmaster. I seen his fiance was selling tickets on twitter though, so she might have some left.

Thanks

David_D
01-01-2022, 07:17 PM
The British Boxing board of Control have suspended all boxing in January so doctors can prioritise work with nhs.

04-01-2022, 09:12 PM
Anyone aware of any spares for Taylor Catterall? Needing 4. Can’t get any anywhere by the looks of it and sold out online within minutes other than the odd single ticket.

06-01-2022, 03:48 PM
Been reading Kash Farooq has had to retire, what a shame, bags of ability and always a great watch

06-01-2022, 03:58 PM
Been reading Kash Farooq has had to retire, what a shame, bags of ability and always a great watch

Just read that. Wonder what the story is. Feel for the guy.

06-01-2022, 06:07 PM

Such a shame. Always felt he deserved the win against McGregor

12-01-2022, 05:14 PM
Josh tickets arrived today. Any whispers about the undercard doing the rounds?

05-02-2022, 09:02 PM
Can’t take to Clarissa Shields.

David_D
05-02-2022, 09:17 PM
Can’t take to Clarissa Shields.

I’m the same. No doubt a very good fighter but something about her I just can’t take to either.

05-02-2022, 09:41 PM
Yoooooooobank!!!

Love both them.

05-02-2022, 09:42 PM

Ricky Burns is meant to be fighting one last time and some wee jambo fae sighthill.

05-02-2022, 09:50 PM
2 knock downs in 2 rounds for eubank

05-02-2022, 09:50 PM
Eubank Jnr is different gravy. :agree:

05-02-2022, 09:56 PM
3 knockdowns in 4 now

David_D
05-02-2022, 09:57 PM
Eubank could end this at any point you feel. I Get the feeling after all the agro in the build up Eubank wants to embarrass him.

05-02-2022, 10:00 PM
Eubank could end this at any point you feel. I Get the feeling after all the agro in the build up Eubank wants to embarrass him.

He's doing exactly that.

Fantastic attitude.

07-02-2022, 12:47 PM

https://www.skysports.com/amp/boxing/news/12183/12520934/nick-campbell-and-jay-mcfarlane-to-clash-in-historic-scottish-heavyweight-title-fight-on-february-26-live-on-sky-sports

hibeesjoe
11-02-2022, 11:06 AM
Are undercards normally left so late to sort out? 2 weeks away and sky only has one name

11-02-2022, 05:46 PM
Are undercards normally left so late to sort out? 2 weeks away and sky only has one name

This article has full details, although some opponents are TBC.

https://www.skysports.com/boxing/news/12183/12520934/nick-campbell-and-jay-mcfarlane-to-clash-in-historic-scottish-heavyweight-title-fight-on-february-26-live-on-sky-sports

11-02-2022, 05:47 PM
Lee McGregor on IFL TV on YouTube around 8.30pm tonight.

11-02-2022, 08:39 PM
Thought McGregor did the better work there, didn't really see it a draw even though it was fairly close

11-02-2022, 08:49 PM
I thought McGregor had that tae. It wasn’t an exciting fight to watch though, I was pretty bored by the end.

11-02-2022, 08:54 PM
I thought McGregor had that tae. It wasn’t an exciting fight to watch though, I was pretty bored by the end.

He seemed a bit flat to me, he's either amazing or average, there never seems to be an inbetween with him

Stairway 2 7
11-02-2022, 08:54 PM
Thought mcgregor was deserved there but uninspired. He's obviously quality but he had trouble last fight and got beat by farooq

25-02-2022, 12:46 PM
JT bang on 10 stone, canny wait for this now

Stairway 2 7
25-02-2022, 04:40 PM
Whyte fury Wembley 23rd of April confirmed

26-02-2022, 08:11 PM
How bad was that heavyweight fight, cant believe these 2 guys are professional

26-02-2022, 08:16 PM
I enjoyed it. Thought it was an interesting fight with both giving their all. Seen many hyped up fights that were nowhere near as enjoyable as that. It was low level though.

davy67 +
26-02-2022, 08:22 PM

I know we've a reputation for producing some fantastic wee guys when it comes to boxing, but it's hard to believe that there isn't a decent heavyweight somewhere in who can claim that title. That fight was a farce

26-02-2022, 08:23 PM
I enjoyed it. Thought it was an interesting fight with both giving their all. Seen many hyped up fights that were nowhere near as enjoyable as that. It was low level though.

That’s fair enough. But there was absolutely no skill Involved. It was dreadful.

26-02-2022, 08:53 PM
That’s fair enough. But there was absolutely no skill Involved. It was dreadful.

I don’t disagree but it doesn’t have to be to make it enjoyable or interesting.

26-02-2022, 08:53 PM
I wasn’t going to watch it but I can’t help myself, come on Taylor.

26-02-2022, 08:54 PM
I don’t disagree but it doesn’t have to be to make it enjoyable or interesting.

Fair. Mon JT

26-02-2022, 09:01 PM
JT bang on 10 stone, canny wait for this now

I vaguely remember 10 stone

26-02-2022, 09:02 PM
I vaguely remember 10 stone

Aye when I was 12!

26-02-2022, 09:08 PM
1-0 Catterall for me, Josh threw next to nothing.

26-02-2022, 09:08 PM
1-0 catterall

26-02-2022, 09:11 PM
1-1 for me (tight round 2 tho)

JXM73
26-02-2022, 09:12 PM
Typical hyped tae **** scottish star failing to turn up ......

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2022, 09:16 PM
Typical hyped tae **** scottish star failing to turn up ......

He's one every belt, this this first one you've watched

JXM73
26-02-2022, 09:19 PM
Have nae belts in a few minutes... catterall bossing it...

26-02-2022, 09:20 PM
Struggling a bit here Josh. Great so far Catterall

LunasBoots
Taylor struggling, doesn't know what to do

Chorley Hibee
Split loyalties for me between the Hibee and the man from Chorley.

26-02-2022, 09:22 PM
This is beginning to look ominous.

JXM73
26-02-2022, 09:24 PM
Belts all going south...

26-02-2022, 09:24 PM
Best case scenario is Taylor down 4-1 in rounds.

Callyballybe
26-02-2022, 09:25 PM
Taylor really struggling here. Looks tired and not at the races.
Catterall almost picking his shots at will.

26-02-2022, 09:25 PM
Boxing a really smart game plan here Catterall. Fought really well to date, Josh frustrated just cant get going.

26-02-2022, 09:26 PM
Only takes a bang fellas.

LunasBoots
26-02-2022, 09:27 PM
Anytime Taylor gets a shot or two off Caterall holds and disrupts Taylor needs to box smarter

26-02-2022, 09:28 PM
one way traffic to date.

26-02-2022, 09:33 PM
Taylor needs a KO me thinks

JXM73
26-02-2022, 09:34 PM
Job done, taylor been out boxed from 1st bell

26-02-2022, 09:35 PM
Josh taking a beating here. Only takes a punch tho

LunasBoots
26-02-2022, 09:37 PM
Taylor needs to wake up, absolute mince

LunasBoots
26-02-2022, 09:39 PM
I'd also get rid of Davidson after this fight,guys a phoney

26-02-2022, 09:43 PM
losing a point won't make any difference here

26-02-2022, 09:44 PM
2 southpaws never make a good fight, but this really poor.

JXM73
26-02-2022, 09:45 PM
Too ****ing late for the fist pumping to the crowd, blew it...

26-02-2022, 09:45 PM
With Caterralls style Taylor should switch to orthodox, it would open him right up.

26-02-2022, 09:50 PM
needs a knock out. Catterall fought very well.

26-02-2022, 09:52 PM
McDonell is a dick. It's hardly a classic anyway but his constant time off for warnings about things the fighters are happy to work out is ridiculous. He wants to be the star.

Andre Ward on commentary sounds like he wants to go in and batter him. Just called him incapable at this level.

Not sure if Ward is doing UK commentary, I'm watching an American broadcast but he has Taylor 2 up which I find a bit bizarre.

26-02-2022, 09:53 PM
not often you see a boxer give up a couple of his belts so meekly

absolutely dire the first 6 rounds

26-02-2022, 09:53 PM
No even close. Taylor was *****.

26-02-2022, 09:54 PM
Taylor barely landed a blow there, he clearly needs to step up in weight. Taylor looked really drawn there.

LunasBoots
26-02-2022, 09:55 PM
Why's Taylor even putting his hand up haha you've been humped mate

he's celebrating the boy didn't knock him oot

Why is Taylor going about with his fist in the air? Embarrassing.

26-02-2022, 09:56 PM
catteralls's wife would have beaten taylor tonight :(

26-02-2022, 09:57 PM
McDonell is a dick. It's hardly a classic anyway but his constant time off for warnings about things the fighters are happy to work out is ridiculous. He wants to be the star.

Andre Ward on commentary sounds like he wants to go in and batter him. Just called him incapable at this level.

Not sure if Ward is doing UK commentary, I'm watching an American broadcast but he has Taylor 2 up which I find a bit bizarre.

Not that surprised at that to be honest In the US its more important to go forward than actually land shots.

26-02-2022, 09:58 PM
That’s a disgrace

That’s the biggest farce I’ve ver seen, shocking decision.

Wow, no way did Taylor win that fight, and never by 3 rounds

catterall been robbed here

114-111 taylor ? how on gods earth did he get that jeezo

JXM73
What the **** do i know, ha ha ha

Staggering.

26-02-2022, 09:59 PM
Hahahaha.joke

What a ****ing joke that is

Em what 😂

No wonder I don't watch boxing very much - what a disgrace that is. 🤣🤣🤣

that's no right

LunasBoots
Hahahaha Caterell robbed

😂 that's ridiculous. Obviously I wanted Taylor to win, but that's nothing short of a fix. Carterall won that fight!

26-02-2022, 10:00 PM
What a farce! 😲

26-02-2022, 10:00 PM
That’s a disgrace

It is.

As I said above Andre Ward had it for Taylor though. I think the fact he was walking forward a lot has stolen him 2 or 3 rounds.

Home town decision though for me. I'd call it that if it was anyone else so not going to be a hypocrite just because it's a guy I like.

26-02-2022, 10:01 PM
catterall knows he won that

we know he won that

cammy1969
Embarrassing decision

David_D
That’s an absolute joke. It wasn’t even close.

Boxing is corrupt surprise. Makes you wonder what the point is.

Callyballybe
26-02-2022, 10:02 PM
Mental result. As much as I wanted him to win, that's a shocking decision.

Mr Grieves
That's a shocker :faf:

Big boxing fan but im about to give up on it. So many big decsions over the years but tonight jesus.

One thing is certain, there won’t be a rematch.

26-02-2022, 10:03 PM
two English judges and one Scottish, i don't think it would be the Scottish judge that gave the 114-111

Kidding yersel Josh, no danger did you win it

Boxing is corrupt surprise. Makes you wonder what the point is.

Agree embarrassment of a decision. Shameful

26-02-2022, 10:04 PM
He might be a Hibby but that was a scandalous decision.
Tell you what, he’d make a great Tory MP with that “I totally won that” speech.

Callyballybe
26-02-2022, 10:05 PM
It is.

As I said above Andre Ward had it for Taylor though. I think the fact he was walking forward a lot has stolen him 2 or 3 rounds.

Home town decision though for me. I'd call it that if it was anyone else so not going to be a hypocrite just because it's a guy I like.

If Ward is scoring it that way then maybe I don't know what I'm taking about. lol. Interesting other people's take on it.

26-02-2022, 10:06 PM
two English judges and one Scottish, i don't think it would be the Scottish judge that gave the 114-111

Scottish one was 113 112. The 114 111 scoreline was horrific

26-02-2022, 10:07 PM
Catterall not giving an interview

don't blame him he will be pretty angry

26-02-2022, 10:08 PM

Ian John Lewis was that judge, he has history of watching a completely different fight to 99.9% of the world

26-02-2022, 10:09 PM

some english boxing fans will hunt him down if he's on twitter :dizzy:

taylor would certainly do well to stay off it for a day or so

Mr Grieves
26-02-2022, 10:09 PM
I don't watch boxing often, is it always like this? How can anyone take it seriously?

26-02-2022, 10:15 PM
wow, i honestly think they dudes want this to go all the way to Westminster

worzel Johnson will get the final decision

Chorley Hibee
26-02-2022, 10:31 PM
CompuBox saw Catterall land 120 of 525 (23%) total punches, and 81 of 267 (30%) of his power punches. Taylor was at 73 of 306 (24%) overall, and 57 of 179 (32%) on power shots. Catterall out-worked and out-landed Taylor on the punch stats.

If that was a role reversal, and Taylor had been on the end of that decision in England, people on here saying Taylor won that tonight would have been screaming fix.

As for the judge who had Taylor 114-111, what a farce!

Callyballybe
26-02-2022, 10:51 PM
CompuBox saw Catterall land 120 of 525 (23%) total punches, and 81 of 267 (30%) of his power punches. Taylor was at 73 of 306 (24%) overall, and 57 of 179 (32%) on power shots. Catterall out-worked and out-landed Taylor on the punch stats.

If that was a role reversal, and Taylor had been on the end of that decision in England, people on here saying Taylor won that tonight would have been screaming fix.

As for the judge who had Taylor 114-111, what a farce!

To be fair, that's pretty much what everyone IS saying on here, and the fight was in Scotland.

26-02-2022, 11:26 PM
MMA > Boxing

27-02-2022, 06:13 AM
Taylor will wake up today knowing he is very lucky still to have the belts, thought catterall won but not by as much as some of the sky folk last night, he certainly didnt win the first 6 rounds as a couple of them mentioned, some were very scrappy and even. I said on friday taylor looked very drawn in around the face, the weight is clearly an issue for him now

27-02-2022, 07:39 AM
Taylor will wake up today knowing he is very lucky still to have the belts, thought catterall won but not by as much as some of the sky folk last night, he certainly didnt win the first 6 rounds as a couple of them mentioned, some were very scrappy and even. I said on friday taylor looked very drawn in around the face, the weight is clearly an issue for him now

I doubt we'll see Taylor at 140 again and I doubt he'll go in against someone like Crawford for the 1st time at 147 either.

He was clearly weight drained this week and I think he underestimated Catterall as well. He went in looking to KO him for the spectacular homecoming and got caught by the same straight left about 25 times when he was jumping in. I didn't much rate the advice coming from his corner either and I'm sceptical about just how good Ben Davison is. Tyson Fury called him 'stale' and Taylor's performance last night certainly looked that.

Fwiw I agree the decision isn't as big a travesty as some are making out. Catterall won imo but it was a couple of rounds at most. There were 3 or 4 of the 1st 6 rounds you could have scored either way. JC allowed Taylor to win a few of the late rounds, albeit one would be called 9-9 for the points deduction. That probably does Taylor a slight disservice as well as he belatedly changed up enough to start nicking the rounds. Every away boxer knows you can't leave decisions like that to be really close. The crowd react to everything the home fighter does, every puch thrown whether it connects or bounces off arms is treated like a last minute winner and that will sway judges. I also think it's interesting to listen to a 'neutral' perspective as well. By all accounts the UK commentary team were calling it one it one of the worst decisions ever. I watched a US broadcast and whilst very critical of his performance both Andre Ward and Tim Bradley felt Taylor just nicked it.

It's worth remembering Taylor had a bad camp as well. A knee injury, covid and a chest infection all set him back. He looked ill all week. I also think he'd like to remain more active going forward.

I wasn't able to make it along last night, the 1st Taylor fight in the UK I have missed, so my perspective may be a bit skewed but everything about him just seemed off. Hopefully he can make a decision on the weight and get back in the ring by the autumn.

27-02-2022, 08:05 AM
I doubt we'll see Taylor at 140 again and I doubt he'll go in against someone like Crawford for the 1st time at 147 either.

He was clearly weight drained this week and I think he underestimated Catterall as well. He went in looking to KO him for the spectacular homecoming and got caught by the same straight left about 25 times when he was jumping in. I didn't much rate the advice coming from his corner either and I'm sceptical about just how good Ben Davison is. Tyson Fury called him 'stale' and Taylor's performance last night certainly looked that.

Fwiw I agree the decision isn't as big a travesty as some are making out. Catterall won imo but it was a couple of rounds at most. There were 3 or 4 of the 1st 6 rounds you could have scored either way. JC allowed Taylor to win a few of the late rounds, albeit one would be called 9-9 for the points deduction. That probably does Taylor a slight disservice as well as he belatedly changed up enough to start nicking the rounds. Every away boxer knows you can't leave decisions like that to be really close. The crowd react to everything the home fighter does, every puch thrown whether it connects or bounces off arms is treated like a last minute winner and that will sway judges. I also think it's interesting to listen to a 'neutral' perspective as well. By all accounts the UK commentary team were calling it one it one of the worst decisions ever. I watched a US broadcast and whilst very critical of his performance both Andre Ward and Tim Bradley felt Taylor just nicked it.

It's worth remembering Taylor had a bad camp as well. A knee injury, covid and a chest infection all set him back. He looked ill all week. I also think he'd like to remain more active going forward.

I wasn't able to make it along last night, the 1st Taylor fight in the UK I have missed, so my perspective may be a bit skewed but everything about him just seemed off. Hopefully he can make a decision on the weight and get back in the ring by the autumn.

Yip cant see him at this weight again, struggling to make weight takes its toll eventually, i seen a reference to davidson as a boxercise coach last night and im not so sure myself if he has the qualities that taylor needs in a coach, he needs to have a serious think soon if he does go up in weight, hopefully its a one off bad night at the office and he goes up in weight and wins another belt

davy67 +
27-02-2022, 09:50 PM
Comfortable victory for Lawrence Okolie

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/boxing/60549530

LunasBoots
28-02-2022, 09:55 AM
Boxing Board now investigating the decision to award Taylor the win

LunasBoots
28-02-2022, 10:06 AM
Taylor would need to improve ten fold to have any chance against Crawford.

28-02-2022, 10:12 AM
Boxing Board now investigating the decision to award Taylor the win

I expect they'd uphold the decision. Tell us the judges justified their scores and there is nothing amiss, and that will be that. Decision awarded and ratified.

All us regular punters that watched the fight, and find the decision an embarrassment, clearly aren't qualified to call it.

Edit: I note from the article they don't have the power to overturn the decision in any case.

08-03-2022, 01:36 PM
OMFG House of Commons speaker makes complaint to Scotland Yard over Jack Catterall’s controversial defeat (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/entertainment/music/house-of-commons-speaker-makes-complaint-to-scotland-yard-over-jack-catterall-s-controversial-defeat/ar-AAUMa3p?ocid=msedgntp)

i joked about this in the minutes after the fight finished, they've only gone and done it :faf: my goodness

House of Commons speaker makes complaint to Scotland Yard over Jack Catterall’s controversial defeat

Sir Lindsay Hoyle, who is Catterall’s MP, has written to both Dame Cressida Dick, the outgoing Scotland Yard commissioner, and the British Boxing Board of Control to express his outrage.

Hoyle is a total f*d anyway

Stairway 2 7
08-03-2022, 01:52 PM
OMFG House of Commons speaker makes complaint to Scotland Yard over Jack Catterall’s controversial defeat (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/entertainment/music/house-of-commons-speaker-makes-complaint-to-scotland-yard-over-jack-catterall-s-controversial-defeat/ar-AAUMa3p?ocid=msedgntp)

i joked about this in the minutes after the fight finished, they've only gone and done it :faf: my goodness

House of Commons speaker makes complaint to Scotland Yard over Jack Catterall’s controversial defeat

Sir Lindsay Hoyle, who is Catterall’s MP, has written to both Dame Cressida Dick, the outgoing Scotland Yard commissioner, and the British Boxing Board of Control to express his outrage.

Ball hair away from being a tory, he really annoys me

LunasBoots
08-03-2022, 07:56 PM

I think it's more to do with the corrupt people who sponsor Taylor, perhaps there is evidence of something else at play here.

09-03-2022, 11:08 AM
I think it's more to do with the corrupt people who sponsor Taylor, perhaps there is evidence of something else at play here.

Which of his sponsors are corrupt?

It do you mean his management company, MTK? As has been pointed out to you in the other thread, both Josh & Jack are managed by MTK.

09-03-2022, 11:35 AM
The whole thing is just getting ridiculous now. I think Catterall won but there were a fair few close rounds and you always run the risk of those going the way of the champ at home. It's nowhere near the worst decision ever as some seem determined to suggest. It's just people being whipped into a frenzy, I watched the fight on ESPN, rewatched with no commentary then watched it again with the Sky commentary. The latter will definitely have swayed how a lot of people perceived the fight, again I'll reiterate I though Taylor lost a close decision but Sky were bias in the extreme. Teddy Atlas is a guy who has been on a few epic rants about poor judging in the past, he had Taylor winning a close fight, as did Andre Ward.

The biggest issue I have is people demanding Taylor admits he lost. Firstly why should he? Secondly how often does that happen? When fighters get away with one they rarely admit it. Boxing without a KO or TKO relies entirely on subjective opinion, Taylor is entitled to his that he won a close fight. Whether he really believes that is irrelevant, he has future fights to sell. The whole loaded language around it from people who should really know better who then follow up with a reminder that it isn't Taylor's fault is just not good enough. It's easy to give that reminder after the guys family have been threatened.

Catterall fought a severely weight drained Taylor coming into the fight on the back of an injury and 2 bouts of illness. Taylor was there for the taking in the final rounds, Catterall spent a lot of them spoiling and holding, he left it to chance and he was on the end of a poor but not entirely inexplicable decision. There's not a lot more to it than that.

09-03-2022, 02:28 PM
The whole thing is just getting ridiculous now. I think Catterall won but there were a fair few close rounds and you always run the risk of those going the way of the champ at home. It's nowhere near the worst decision ever as some seem determined to suggest. It's just people being whipped into a frenzy, I watched the fight on ESPN, rewatched with no commentary then watched it again with the Sky commentary. The latter will definitely have swayed how a lot of people perceived the fight, again I'll reiterate I though Taylor lost a close decision but Sky were bias in the extreme. Teddy Atlas is a guy who has been on a few epic rants about poor judging in the past, he had Taylor winning a close fight, as did Andre Ward.

The biggest issue I have is people demanding Taylor admits he lost. Firstly why should he? Secondly how often does that happen? When fighters get away with one they rarely admit it. Boxing without a KO or TKO relies entirely on subjective opinion, Taylor is entitled to his that he won a close fight. Whether he really believes that is irrelevant, he has future fights to sell. The whole loaded language around it from people who should really know better who then follow up with a reminder that it isn't Taylor's fault is just not good enough. It's easy to give that reminder after the guys family have been threatened.

Catterall fought a severely weight drained Taylor coming into the fight on the back of an injury and 2 bouts of illness. Taylor was there for the taking in the final rounds, Catterall spent a lot of them spoiling and holding, he left it to chance and he was on the end of a poor but not entirely inexplicable decision. There's not a lot more to it than that.

Agree with everything you say, Ritson and Davies both had "wins" against Vazquez that were even worse scorecards but because he is Mexican there wasn't as much fuss, same with Campbell Hattons fight a couple back

12-03-2022, 09:16 PM
Not long until the Wood Conlan fight. Reckon it could be a cracker.

12-03-2022, 09:17 PM
Not long until the Wood Conlan fight. Reckon it could be a cracker.

Looking forward to it. The Mexican in with Agyarko at the minute is a hard laddie. Taking some hard shots.

12-03-2022, 09:56 PM
Looking forward to it. The Mexican in with Agyarko at the minute is a hard laddie. Taking some hard shots.

There’s a fair few Irish fans in.

12-03-2022, 09:59 PM
Wow what a punch

12-03-2022, 10:01 PM
Wow what a punch
Last punch of the round as well.

12-03-2022, 10:03 PM
Wood has done very well to survive that round.

12-03-2022, 10:07 PM
I actually thought wood had won the first round until that punch. But absolutely had to hang on in the second.

12-03-2022, 10:21 PM
Wood is so gutsy but Conlan is too fast for him. Be interesting if Wood catches Conlan with a big punch.

12-03-2022, 10:23 PM
Wood is so gutsy but Conlan is too fast for him. Be interesting if Wood catches Conlan with a big punch.

Conlan is levels above Wood, all he has is a punchers chance

12-03-2022, 10:36 PM

Maybe slightly unfair. Wood has held his own. Doesn’t have the speed of Conlan but his aggression is a strength.

12-03-2022, 10:37 PM
Don’t disagree but Wood has shown he has the heart of a lion. Needs a ko though

12-03-2022, 10:38 PM
This has been a cracking fight, Wood is coming back into it, but Conlan is still landing big punches.

12-03-2022, 10:38 PM
i think Wood has this

what a round this has been

12-03-2022, 10:41 PM
That makes things interesting.

12-03-2022, 10:42 PM
Hahaha what a finish, just needed to stay out his way, was well up on the cards for me

Yeah I’ll revisit this. You got that wrong [emoji1787]

That’ll be the ko. Hope Conlan is ok

12-03-2022, 10:43 PM
Wow what a finish that was.

12-03-2022, 10:43 PM
wood still had plenty flurries left conlan had nothing left ibn the tank

great fight though

12-03-2022, 10:44 PM

Stand by it, as a boxer Conlan is a much better fighter than Wood, who is hard as nails and can punch, should have just danced his was to victory in the last round and ****ed it

Jakhog1
12-03-2022, 10:44 PM
What a finish, wasn't expecting that, well done wood

12-03-2022, 10:51 PM
Fair play to Wood. Even in what must have been a moment of exhilaration he showed pure class and humanity.

12-03-2022, 10:52 PM
https://twitter.com/the_irishpsycho/status/1502792742161817604?s=21

But worrying that tbh. That punch from Wood doesn’t look enough to knock him clean out.

12-03-2022, 11:10 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220313/809f1572ae5cb1d8a027a6d606817f13.jpg

MagicSwirlingShip
12-03-2022, 11:14 PM
Had Conlan winning wide. Just needed to stay off the ropes and coast to a win. Unbelievable finish!

Conlan apparently up and communicating.

MagicSwirlingShip
12-03-2022, 11:15 PM

Conlan was levels above. Fairytale finish

12-03-2022, 11:20 PM
Conlan was levels above. Fairytale finish

If you’re purely talking boxing skills, I agree, but you then need to factor in aggression, heart, determination. I had Conlan 1 up going into the last round.

MagicSwirlingShip
12-03-2022, 11:35 PM
If you’re purely talking boxing skills, I agree, but you then need to factor in aggression, heart, determination. I had Conlan 1 up going into the last round.

I didn’t score rounds but passively had Conlan at least 3 up before the 11rd KD. Just needed to box and move the last round and the title was his. Silly of him to stand on the ropes last round, but, easy to say that from here.

Heart and determination was superb from both men all night and not sure you could say Wood showed more of either. He took advantage of a mistake in the final round and got the finish.

13-03-2022, 08:19 AM
Thankfully Conlan seems to be fine after his KO. I thought he was excellent last night, but he was very naive in the later rounds. Fight of the year so far though.

13-03-2022, 09:26 AM
https://twitter.com/boxingshrew/status/1502806138584186886?s=21

Better view of the punch that done the job

13-03-2022, 10:08 AM
And all smiles from both fighters today. All good to see

https://twitter.com/michaelbensonn/status/1502963887318216704?s=21

Andy Bee
26-03-2022, 02:15 PM
For anyone with some time to kill the Boxing Scotland Youth and Elite Championships are taking place at Ravenscraig today. Live stream at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=by0PKl9fpq8 with Alex Arthur Jr fighting at the moment. Jamie Buchanan to also fight at some point.

Stairway 2 7
26-03-2022, 04:21 PM
For anyone with some time to kill the Boxing Scotland Youth and Elite Championships are taking place at Ravenscraig today. Live stream at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=by0PKl9fpq8 with Alex Arthur Jr fighting at the moment. Jamie Buchanan to also fight at some point.

Alex Arthur Jr beat in the semi one of the gang that got charged for murdering shaun Woodburn, which is good. Looks class for his age

26-03-2022, 10:01 PM
What an opening round for Warrington.

26-03-2022, 10:18 PM
Warrington looks like he throws more headbutts than punches

26-03-2022, 10:29 PM
I like Warrington but the headbuts are unreal and he's just beaten a cherry picked 36 year old, Hearns no daft, will likely make the Wood fight next instead of giving Lara another go

Stairway 2 7
26-03-2022, 10:37 PM
I like Warrington but the headbuts are unreal and he's just beaten a cherry picked 36 year old, Hearns no daft, will likely make the Wood fight next instead of giving Lara another go

He was the ibf champion, cherry picked?

26-03-2022, 10:39 PM

As stairway says, Kiko was the champion. Don’t see the problem there.
And Warrington v Wood is a spectacle.

26-03-2022, 10:41 PM
He was the ibf champion, cherry picked?

I like Kiko Martinez, been some fighter over the years, but hes 36 and beat a severely weight drained Galahad(who I don't like so was happy) so yes he was cherry picked as the weakest of the champions and the easiest fight to make, as I said Hearn isn't daft

funny how in the names mentioned afterwards that Lara's name wasn't even mentioned

Stairway 2 7
26-03-2022, 10:49 PM
I like Kiko Martinez, been some fighter over the years, but hes 36 and beat a severely weight drained Galahad(who I don't like so was happy) so yes he was cherry picked as the weakest of the champions and the easiest fight to make, as I said Hearn isn't daft

funny how in the names mentioned afterwards that Lara's name wasn't even mentioned

Going for 1 of the 4 titles isn't cherry picking its common sense and opens him up to the other belts. So is fighting wood next if it brings in more ppv buys, it's a big British fight. Lara has no belts so why fight him over one of the other 3 champs, or wood that brings more money

26-03-2022, 10:50 PM
Going for 1 of the 4 titles isn't cherry picking its common sense and opens him up to the other belts. So is fighting wood next if it brings in more ppv buys, it's a big British fight. Lara has no belts so why fight him over one of the other 3 champs, or wood that brings more money

Agree 100%.

26-03-2022, 10:58 PM

Both Hearn and Warrington went on record after the 2nd fight and said Lara would get a rematch, that's why I find I funny his name wasn't even brought up

https://www.leeds-live.co.uk/sport/uk-sport-news/josh-warrington-mauricio-lara-3-21493464

https://www.dazn.com/en-GB/news/boxing/should-a-third-mauricio-lara-vs-josh-warrington-fight-happen/hza4jnyryu0d1s9kkmtjivktd

27-03-2022, 02:59 AM
Both Hearn and Warrington went on record after the 2nd fight and said Lara would get a rematch, that's why I find I funny his name wasn't even brought up

https://www.leeds-live.co.uk/sport/uk-sport-news/josh-warrington-mauricio-lara-3-21493464

https://www.dazn.com/en-GB/news/boxing/should-a-third-mauricio-lara-vs-josh-warrington-fight-happen/hza4jnyryu0d1s9kkmtjivktd

Let’s be honest, when Lara has nothing to offer, it will take him longer to get a fight.
If you could fight Lara for the sake of it, or wood to add another title, who are you gonna choose?

Stairway 2 7
27-03-2022, 07:11 AM
Let’s be honest, when Lara has nothing to offer, it will take him longer to get a fight.
If you could fight Lara for the sake of it, or wood to add another title, who are you gonna choose?

Yep no one wants to fight a good fighter with no belt unless there is big money, that's why the person needs to gain mandatory. Ufc is better at getting the best fighting and boxing should change, but in the meantime..

12-04-2022, 12:11 PM
American authorities have put a $5m reward up for the arrest of Daniel Kinahan for drug & money laundering offences. Now we know why the James English interview was pulled!

12-04-2022, 12:18 PM
American authorities have put a $5m reward up for the arrest of Michael Kinahan for drug & money laundering offences. Now we know why the James English interview was pulled!

Lots of his usual cheerleaders are pretty silent so far today, as we all alluded to previously on this thread, it was hardly a well kept secret where his money and power came from, the DEA won't **** about either now they have announced they are in the mix

Stairway 2 7
12-04-2022, 02:46 PM
Lots of his usual cheerleaders are pretty silent so far today, as we all alluded to previously on this thread, it was hardly a well kept secret where his money and power came from, the DEA won't **** about either now they have announced they are in the mix

Yep was clear as day. All the big names over here smiled and posed with him and of course took his cash

15-04-2022, 07:52 PM
1/6 Tyson Fury
4/1 Dillian Whyte

need to pick a round for decent odds :(

16-04-2022, 09:23 PM
Anyone been watching the Benn v van Heerden undercard?

I almost spat my beer out when Carl Froch said Campbell Hatton had been “erotic”. I hope he meant erratic :faf:

A few brilliant memes on Twitter off the back of it.

16-04-2022, 09:32 PM
Hopefully Hearn puts Benn in with a top 10 welterweight soon, I like him and he's exciting but there is no way to gauge how good he is with the opponent's he keeps getting handed

20-04-2022, 02:29 PM
MTK Global to cease operations.

As a business we have faced unprecedented levels of unfair scrutiny and criticism since the sanctioning by the US Government of Daniel Joseph Kinahan.

It is a matter of public record that Mr Kinahan's involvement in MTK ceased in 2017, and despite repeated reassurances in this regard, unfounded allegations about his ongoing association with us and our fighters persist.

Since leading promoters have now informed us that they will be severing all ties with MTK and will no longer work with our fighters, we have taken the difficult decision to cease operations at the end of this month.

MTK prospered because we always put the long term interests of our fighters at the heart of what we do. Our priority in the weeks ahead will be to ensure that our world class boxers are supported to find new partnerships as swiftly as possible.

MTK gyms are operated independently so will remain open for the foreseeable future. Further announcements will be made in due course.

Thank you to all the fans who have supported us over the last decade.

20-04-2022, 03:31 PM
MTK Global to cease operations.

As a business we have faced unprecedented levels of unfair scrutiny and criticism since the sanctioning by the US Government of Daniel Joseph Kinahan.

It is a matter of public record that Mr Kinahan's involvement in MTK ceased in 2017, and despite repeated reassurances in this regard, unfounded allegations about his ongoing association with us and our fighters persist.

Since leading promoters have now informed us that they will be severing all ties with MTK and will no longer work with our fighters, we have taken the difficult decision to cease operations at the end of this month.

MTK prospered because we always put the long term interests of our fighters at the heart of what we do. Our priority in the weeks ahead will be to ensure that our world class boxers are supported to find new partnerships as swiftly as possible.

MTK gyms are operated independently so will remain open for the foreseeable future. Further announcements will be made in due course.

Thank you to all the fans who have supported us over the last decade.

Ooft, can't wait for the books, documentaries, podcasts etc to all come out once this is said and done, everyone is involved from amatuer boxing all the way through to the biggest promoters and broadcasters in the world

They all knew and turned a blind eye until now

20-04-2022, 05:30 PM
MTK must be dreaming if they think folk will believe kinahan has had nothing to do with them since 2017, doesnt really matter anyway as probellum are up and running now

20-04-2022, 10:15 PM
MTK must be dreaming if they think folk will believe kinahan has had nothing to do with them since 2017, doesnt really matter anyway as probellum are up and running now

Exactly, we’ll get a few years of Probellum then another re-branding.

21-04-2022, 09:44 PM
Just catching up with the Fury v whyte build up online.

I’ve got a funny feeling Whyte is going to put him down early on. Not convinced he will necessarily stop him though.

21-04-2022, 09:49 PM
Just catching up with the Fury v whyte build up online.

I’ve got a funny feeling Whyte is going to put him down early on. Not convinced he will necessarily stop him though.

I genuinely hope Whyte wins, I don't think he will but I'd love it, I have a love hate relationship with Fury, great boxer but the ***** that comes out his mouth does my nut in

Stairway 2 7
22-04-2022, 05:33 AM
I've grown to love tyson after being ambivalent. He obviously had a machismo upbringing in the traveller community but he's breaking alot of taboos and seems a genuinely nice guy. He got a lot of stick for saying traveller children should go to school as long as they can and get a good education.

But particularly I thought his bravery in talking about his mental health and suicide must have helped thousands. The best heavyweight in the world talking saying its OK to struggle was unheard of. Dylan whyte disappointed me big time when he said tyson was week and a cry baby for opening up.

I prefer stylish boxers also and to see a giant dance is always worth watching, compared to so many hug and punch heavyweights. The wilder trilogy will go down in history, it really breathed life into the sport that was struggling.

Dylan is a good fighter though and it takes one punch in the heavyweight division

22-04-2022, 09:45 AM
I've grown to love tyson after being ambivalent. He obviously had a machismo upbringing in the traveller community but he's breaking alot of taboos and seems a genuinely nice guy. He got a lot of stick for saying traveller children should go to school as long as they can and get a good education.

But particularly I thought his bravery in talking about his mental health and suicide must have helped thousands. The best heavyweight in the world talking saying its OK to struggle was unheard of. Dylan whyte disappointed me big time when he said tyson was week and a cry baby for opening up.

I prefer stylish boxers also and to see a giant dance is always worth watching, compared to so many hug and punch heavyweights. The wilder trilogy will go down in history, it really breathed life into the sport that was struggling.

Dylan is a good fighter though and it takes one punch in the heavyweight division

If we’re going to excuse Tyson for some of his misdemeanours due to his upbringing then surely Dillian deserves the same leeway. Basically no education and brought up surrounded by Jamaican gang culture. Stabbed and shot several times as a kid, fathered his first child at 13 etc. both flawed characters with some dubious opinions on certain subject matters but I think they’re both good people at heart.

Stairway 2 7
22-04-2022, 09:57 AM
If we’re going to excuse Tyson for some of his misdemeanours due to his upbringing then surely Dillian deserves the same leeway. Basically no education and brought up surrounded by Jamaican gang culture. Stabbed and shot several times as a kid, fathered his first child at 13 etc. both flawed characters with some dubious opinions on certain subject matters but I think they’re both good people at heart.

I'd excuse them on a lot of the daft things they've said when young as both had hard lives. But this was just last year Dylan was saying tyson was weak mentally and tyson should be keeping that stuff to himself. I just thought it was better to say nothing if he didn't agree, because it could put back some of the good things tyson talking about mental health could achieve.

22-04-2022, 12:35 PM
I'd excuse them on a lot of the daft things they've said when young as both had hard lives. But this was just last year Dylan was saying tyson was weak mentally and tyson should be keeping that stuff to himself. I just thought it was better to say nothing if he didn't agree, because it could put back some of the good things tyson talking about mental health could achieve.

I hear you and not disagreeing. Just playing Devil's Advocate I suppose. Both have said some inappropriate and ill-informed stuff over the years, both whilst adults. Tyson has made some pretty unsavoury comments about women, homosexuality, paedophilia etc as well as some anti-sematic rants. He seems to have finally grown up the last couple of years but I suspect that's down to being a bit more savvy rather than not holding the same opinions nowadays.

Stairway 2 7
22-04-2022, 02:00 PM
I hear you and not disagreeing. Just playing Devil's Advocate I suppose. Both have said some inappropriate and ill-informed stuff over the years, both whilst adults. Tyson has made some pretty unsavoury comments about women, homosexuality, paedophilia etc as well as some anti-sematic rants. He seems to have finally grown up the last couple of years but I suspect that's down to being a bit more savvy rather than not holding the same opinions nowadays.

To be fair, most sports people are ***** generally I think. I certainly don't admire my sports people by their opinions as that would be grimm ha. I think tyson will have the majority of the fans there as he's pretty huge now. But most that like there boxing will respect both and be looking forward to this. Bookies heavily on tyson, but it should be closer than that

23-04-2022, 04:31 AM
When is it likely to start? I might see if I can watch it somewhere.

23-04-2022, 06:20 AM

Think the ring walk is 10pm

Eaststand
23-04-2022, 08:00 AM

Morning, I hope you're enjoying your holiday.

The main event ringwalk is being advertised as 10pm UK time.

23-04-2022, 04:29 PM
Cheers chaps.

23-04-2022, 07:04 PM
The physical shape and ability of some of the boxers on the undercard is absolutely shambolic. Warren always seems to get away with total mismatches without any credible discussion.

23-04-2022, 08:30 PM
Shan atmosphere considering the amount of people allegedly there tonight, undercard hasn't really helped build it up though

23-04-2022, 08:40 PM
Shan atmosphere considering the amount of people allegedly there tonight, undercard hasn't really helped build it up though

Totally agree. It’s been horrendous all round.

23-04-2022, 08:45 PM

Totally agree. It’s been horrendous all round.

23-04-2022, 08:55 PM
Is it all running to time? I'm just about to head off and watch it.

23-04-2022, 08:57 PM
Is it all running to time? I'm just about to head off and watch it.

Coming out now

23-04-2022, 08:57 PM
aw man please just start the boxing

23-04-2022, 08:58 PM
Ta

James310
23-04-2022, 09:10 PM
Tyson Fury for me, the man is a natural heavyweight boxer and there are very few of them around. He is a giant of a man.

Biggest crowd ever in Europe for a boxing match, Fury being paid £23M for this!

23-04-2022, 09:12 PM
I'm not getting it so I guess I'll have to pass!

James310
23-04-2022, 09:13 PM
I'm not getting it so I guess I'll have to pass!

He might have goals.....

23-04-2022, 09:15 PM
atmosphere is unbelievable ?

23-04-2022, 09:19 PM
He might have goals.....

I'm away just now but expected to still be able to see it. Not to be though.

23-04-2022, 09:25 PM
atmosphere is unbelievable ?

In a word, no.

23-04-2022, 09:37 PM
Goodnight, far too easy

23-04-2022, 09:47 PM
Setting & build up were impressive...

23-04-2022, 09:48 PM
I believe him when he says he’s done.

James310
23-04-2022, 09:50 PM
Reckon he would fight Joshua at Wembley if that was offered. He would easily beat Joshua though.

LunasBoots
23-04-2022, 09:53 PM
Deserves to go out on a high, can't help but like the guy, built differently to most of the muscle heavyweight division and uses his skill set well

MagicSwirlingShip
23-04-2022, 10:04 PM
If AJ wins the rematch v Usyk (unlikely I’d say) then there’s not a chance Fury is retiring.

Can see him retiring rather than taking on Usyk though.

23-04-2022, 10:05 PM
Piece of piss for Fury there.

Hope Usyk beats AJ now. Think that's the only chance we have of a big unification fight.

01-05-2022, 12:44 AM
Just watched the women's Super Middleweight unification fight, if Savannah Marshall moves up and fights the winner then she would empty them no problem at all

01-05-2022, 02:01 AM
Watching the Taylor fight in MSG

01-05-2022, 02:42 AM
Looks an amazing atmosphere at MSG

01-05-2022, 03:06 AM
What a fight, I've got Taylor by 1 or a draw

01-05-2022, 04:01 AM
What a fight, I've got Taylor by 1 or a draw

It was pretty close, think she just shaded it with her final round

01-05-2022, 08:36 AM
Just watched the Taylor fight this morning.

What a brilliant fight. Think Katie just shaded it but had it went the other way I don't think you could really have complained.

Seems to be a suggestion they might do it all again at Croke Park. I'd be seriously tempted to travel for that if it comes to pass.

01-05-2022, 09:11 AM
Just watched the Taylor fight this morning.

What a brilliant fight. Think Katie just shaded it but had it went the other way I don't think you could really have complained.

Seems to be a suggestion they might do it all again at Croke Park. I'd be seriously tempted to travel for that if it comes to pass.

That will all be down to the Irish Government and Polis, could never have been done before but now with all the Kinahan stuff out in the open they might give it the ok, she definitely deserves a big home coming before calling it a day

01-05-2022, 11:54 AM
That will all be down to the Irish Government and Polis, could never have been done before but now with all the Kinahan stuff out in the open they might give it the ok, she definitely deserves a big home coming before calling it a day

Why would they have objected before?

01-05-2022, 12:00 PM

The Irish gov have had significant issues with Kinihan for years.

01-05-2022, 12:06 PM

One of the last times there was a major boxing event in the ROI there was someone murdered and shootings at the weigh in due to a Kinahan drug war, that's why Taylor has never fought at home before but now MTK are no more and the DEA are on the case it might be safe to hold them again

01-05-2022, 07:29 PM
One of the last times there was a major boxing event in the ROI there was someone murdered and shootings at the weigh in due to a Kinahan drug war, that's why Taylor has never fought at home before but now MTK are no more and the DEA are on the case it might be safe to hold them again

I knew about that but would a non MTK event have been stopped?

01-05-2022, 07:49 PM
I knew about that but would a non MTK event have been stopped?

The theory is that there wouldn't have been a major boxing event in Ireland without the Kinahan involvement, if someone else tried to put one on then there could also lead to more violence, Hearn would have had Taylor in Ireland ages ago of he could have

02-05-2022, 05:34 AM
The theory is that there wouldn't have been a major boxing event in Ireland without the Kinahan involvement, if someone else tried to put one on then there could also lead to more violence, Hearn would have had Taylor in Ireland ages ago of he could have

Ahh, makes sense now. Hopefully she can get a home fight

07-05-2022, 12:17 PM
Kell Brook announces he’s officially retired. Definitely a wise move but can’t help being a wee bit disappointed. Thought he could’ve fought on for a couple more big domestic scraps.

08-05-2022, 04:42 AM
Glad they didn't scew Bivol there, can't believe the judges only had 2 rounds in it though

13-05-2022, 11:13 PM
dunno if it's a repeat but i enjoyed that documentary on Ken Buchanan

all those years and i didn't realise what a dirty git Duran was

still, at least i got to watch Ken sparring at the Sparta Club a couple of times :take that:not worth

14-05-2022, 11:04 PM
Josh vacates his WBA belt. He’s no longer undisputed.

15-05-2022, 04:57 PM

Vacated or was stripped seems to be the debate just now

MagicSwirlingShip
15-05-2022, 05:04 PM

Would never last with these alphabet bodies and their shanner mantadories.

The fact he made undisputed will never be stripped away!