View Full Version : Greggs Hibs transfer rumours
Pages :
[
7]
28-06-2012, 08:55 AM
Mark Brown has been offered a new contract and is expected to sign in the next 48 hours according to the Scotsman
I've always been a fan of Brown (since his Inverness days anyway); I rate him as a goalkeeper and as a professional. I'd be glad if he signed a new deal, but would like to see an new keeper too, whether he would be starting ahead of Brown or a decent cover to have I'd be happy enough. Personally I would have had him starting ahead of Stack, I can't really see why Fenlon didn't actually do this, seeing as Stack got punted and Brown is being offered a new deal, especially as Stack is slightly younger than Mark.
28-06-2012, 08:57 AM
Well that is completely underwhelming news. If there isn't a brand new No1 between the sticks, then that'll be one more nail in Fenlon's coffin.
How many nails are currently in it then?
28-06-2012, 09:02 AM
Quite a few after May 19th, I'd suggest?
That's not me shouting for him to go - Just a realistic point of view that the SC disaster has seriously cut short the amount of slack he'll get from the majority of the support.
JustSimplyHibs
28-06-2012, 09:09 AM
That's not me shouting for him to go - Just a realistic point of view that the SC disaster has seriously cut short the amount of slack he'll get from the majority of the support.
That a shame cause i reckon he will do well at Hibs, put it this way the boy got shot of alot of players after that disaster, something which the majority of Hibs fans have been calling for, for years.
Huge job for the guy, however i reckon he will pull through and in a few seasons we will be moaning about him going to Celtic :rolleyes:
green glory
28-06-2012, 09:17 AM
Can you post what it says up on here please? cant access Twitter at work....
@LukeShanley: I understand talks between James McPake and #Hibernian are progressing well and #Hibernian hope to sign the player in the next 24-48 hours.
28-06-2012, 09:36 AM
@LukeShanley: I understand talks between James McPake and #Hibernian are progressing well and #Hibernian hope to sign the player in the next 24-48 hours.
Wonder why he deleted it? Hmm.....
28-06-2012, 10:18 AM
I think he deserves immense credit for getting that shower through to a final in the first place, but get what you mean. It probably would have been better for him to have gone out early doors.
28-06-2012, 11:07 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120628/scott-to-join-ross-county-on-loan_2262950_2825344
28-06-2012, 11:34 AM
Neil Alexander is at Pre-Season training with Rangers today, a fair few didn't turn up and Ness is rumoured to be close to signing for Stoke. SSN, sorry if already posted.
big-mo
28-06-2012, 01:01 PM
Three new signings announced tomorrow, (Friday).
28-06-2012, 01:02 PM
McPake, Cairney and Michalik :cb
28-06-2012, 01:03 PM
Any names mo?
28-06-2012, 01:04 PM
I would think you're spot on with that.
28-06-2012, 01:05 PM
I think the lid was firmly nailed down but then he did his Cup Final arm gesture move and managed to prise open a couple of nails.:cb
28-06-2012, 01:24 PM
Source?
HOORAY!!! ALWAYS WANTED TO ASK THAT :greengrin
28-06-2012, 01:28 PM
baws
28-06-2012, 01:32 PM
Whats the general consensus on this guy? Any good?
28-06-2012, 01:33 PM
baws
Is this the guy you are thinking of?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henk_Bos_(footballer)
28-06-2012, 01:37 PM
Is this the guy you are thinking of?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henk_Bos_(footballer)
Thats the fella
28-06-2012, 02:40 PM
Whats the general consensus on this guy? Any good?
He is class in my save on football manager lol
28-06-2012, 03:47 PM
I think the lid was firmly nailed down but then he did his Cup Final arm gesture move and managed to prise open a couple of nails.:cb
:greengrin :faf: defo .
28-06-2012, 04:28 PM
I would think you're spot on with that.
Just in time to show of the new home kit. :agree:
28-06-2012, 05:01 PM
Hopefully a striker is one of the three.
Hibiza
28-06-2012, 05:17 PM
I've always been a fan of Brown (since his Inverness days anyway); I rate him as a goalkeeper and as a professional. I'd be glad if he signed a new deal, but would like to see an new keeper too, whether he would be starting ahead of Brown or a decent cover to have I'd be happy enough. Personally I would have had him starting ahead of Stack, I can't really see why Fenlon didn't actually do this, seeing as Stack got punted and Brown is being offered a new deal, especially as Stack is slightly younger than Mark. Brown ... worse than inadequate
28-06-2012, 05:23 PM
Brown ... worse than inadequate
Doesn't spend his time in Tigerlily and Lulu, doesn't smoke, coaches in his spare time, loves a game of cards admittedly, and hasn't really let Hibs down. Doesn't tweet or Facebook that often and hasn't been arrested in nightclubs hours after a league defeat.
Broony will do for me. We need professionals, not clowns. Good keeper, needs to work on kicking, but solid. Happy for him being a Hibee. We ditched the right one.
jonny
28-06-2012, 05:46 PM
Doesn't spend his time in Tigerlily and Lulu, doesn't smoke, coaches in his spare time, loves a game of cards admittedly, and hasn't really let Hibs down. Doesn't tweet or Facebook that often and hasn't been arrested in nightclubs hours after a league defeat.
Broony will do for me. We need professionals, not clowns. Good keeper, needs to work on kicking, but solid. Happy for him being a Hibee. We ditched the right one.
28-06-2012, 05:47 PM
See where you are coming from mate, but the above are the minimum requirements for any professional football player. Admittedly Brown has these qualities, however, they alone don't make a good player , they still need talent and there are a lot better keepers out there.
28-06-2012, 05:49 PM
See where you are coming from mate, but the above are the minimum requirements for any professional football player. Admittedly Brown has these qualities, however, they alone don't make a good player , they still need talent and there are a lot better keepers out there.
He's a good keeper mate. Put a better, more resilient defence in front of him and full backs who close down - you'll see an even better one.
28-06-2012, 05:50 PM
Doesn't save any shots at goal that are either side of him, doesn't instill any confidence to the back 4, and doesn't come off his line, and doesn't kick the ball well at all, he's anything but solid. I'd rather have Andy McNeil.:rolleyes:
28-06-2012, 06:07 PM
Doesn't save any shots at goal that are either side of him, doesn't instill any confidence to the back 4, and doesn't come off his line, and doesn't kick the ball well at all, he's anything but solid. I'd rather have Andy McNeil.:rolleyes:
We can all be selective BH. I do recall Broony making saves in the Ayr Utd game last minute to keep us in the Cup at ER, or fingertip saves from Skacel at Tynie from a free kick, or penalty saves v 'Well in the League Cup.....all either side of him.
Agree about his distribution. But other than that, for me he is more consistent on and off the field, and other than a finger injury, pretty much always off the treatment table.
28-06-2012, 06:13 PM
We can all be selective BH. I do recall Broony making saves in the Ayr Utd game last minute to keep us in the Cup at ER, or fingertip saves from Skacel at Tynie from a free kick, or penalty saves v 'Well in the League Cup.....all either side of him.
Agree about his distribution. But other than that, for me he is more consistent on and off the field, and other than a finger injury, pretty much always off the treatment table.
I just disagree, even a clock is right twice a day. I think he's a poor keeper, and hopefully he's a reserve at best. We need much better than someone who was 2nd to Graham Stack.
28-06-2012, 06:18 PM
All admirable qualities, unfortunately it doesn't hide the fact that he is a liability and ****ing gash!
28-06-2012, 06:19 PM
I just disagree, even a clock is right twice a day. I think he's a poor keeper, and hopefully he's a reserve at best. We need much better than someone who was 2nd to Graham Stack.
Totally in agreement we need another keeper, and hey if it's someone like Murphy from QPR or rated, even better. I liked Cerny but he was a bit like Stack and always appeared rooted to his line.
We do need a more solid and consistent defence in front of them too though.
28-06-2012, 06:21 PM
You need a new clock. It needs to be right more than twice a day.
28-06-2012, 06:38 PM
Think he means a stopped clock - cos in ma hoose if the clock is 5 mins slow, it is 5 mins slow all day (rather like BH :wink: :greengrin)
28-06-2012, 08:01 PM
Not sure Brown will start next season.
28-06-2012, 08:04 PM
Not sure Brown will start next season.
C'mon Speedy spill the beans ?
28-06-2012, 08:41 PM
C'mon Speedy spill the beans ?
No beans to spill H7, I just think we'll bring in a keeper who becomes first choice, that's all.
McPake being unveiled tomorrow could well be right though as I had a message from a CCFC 'insider' who tells me that their manager has told McPake he's free to go.
28-06-2012, 08:42 PM
No beans to spill H7, I just think we'll bring in a keeper who becomes first choice, that's all.
McPake being unveiled tomorrow could well be right though as I had a message from a CCFC 'insider' who tells me that their manager has told McPake he's free to go.
Cheers, that would be good news.
Purehibee_MYB
28-06-2012, 09:34 PM
He is class in my save on football manager lol
haha same Michalik is awesome on there!
28-06-2012, 11:12 PM
But he isn't really.
29-06-2012, 05:03 AM
I don't get the problem Don't remember many howlers, a few decent saves, and kicks like he's got his feet on backwards.
Certainly at ICT, he was the most prolific shot stopper in the league, so he must have some ability on that score. And he conducts himself professionally.
I think he's a victim of the "Aw, everyone's *****, so he must be ***** too." mentality.
29-06-2012, 06:30 AM
Friday 29th June James mcpake watch: 7:29am going to get wisdom tooth out, going to have balloon face.......
29-06-2012, 06:34 AM
Friday 29th June James mcpake watch: 7:29am going to get wisdom tooth out, going to have balloon face.......
Good, he'll be high as a kite on novacaine. Nows our chance, get him to sign
29-06-2012, 06:43 AM
Good job the pictures have already been taken...
29-06-2012, 07:11 AM
Good job the pictures have already been taken...
Bit of Columbo work Andy or do you know this as fact??
29-06-2012, 07:12 AM
Any new signing rumours:dunno:
29-06-2012, 07:28 AM
Any chance we could keep this to signing talk? Can't be bothered with another rangers thread
29-06-2012, 07:35 AM
Any chance we could keep this to signing talk? Can't be bothered with another rangers thread
Heard we are close to signing Hulk Hogan.
jamiehibee
29-06-2012, 07:35 AM
29-06-2012, 07:40 AM
Mcpake said a couple of months ago he'd just seen the new strips and they were the best hibs tops he'd seen so i think there's been an assumption since then it was the photo shoot for the new strips that was being done that day.
Apologies Andy if you do in fact have other info or been doing some columbo work.
29-06-2012, 07:47 AM
See I heard we were signing Ric Flair? Don't think them too will be able to work together
29-06-2012, 07:49 AM
See I heard we were signing Ric Flair? Don't think them too will be able to work together
Flair at easter road, naw i dont think so. :wink:
29-06-2012, 07:50 AM
Good enough for me
29-06-2012, 07:52 AM
Good enough for me
Personally i think his best years are behind him.
29-06-2012, 07:57 AM
I'm sure the "models" were James McPake, Paul Hanlon and possibly Lewis Stevenson.
We will soon find out if that is correct.
29-06-2012, 08:15 AM
RIC flair not Hibs class, hogan too stiff and cannae run any more... looking at the miz, cm punk and James storm, although these guys are a bit out of our budget, suicide, brutus and edge will be unveiled today.
DAVE1875
29-06-2012, 08:52 AM
That mean we're signing Big Show as goalie & Kane & The Undertaker as central defenders?
29-06-2012, 08:55 AM
Anyone know when Hibs are putting the new strip up on the website?
forthhibby
29-06-2012, 09:01 AM
Anyone know when Hibs are putting the new strip up on the website?
Will be on twitter feed at midday
29-06-2012, 09:03 AM
Will be on twitter feed at midday
Cheers bud. :aok:
29-06-2012, 09:14 AM
RIC flair not Hibs class, hogan too stiff and cannae run any more... looking at the miz, cm punk and James storm, although these guys are a bit out of our budget, suicide, brutus and edge will be unveiled today.
I heard we are going to blow our budget on Dolph Ziggler as a striker!
29-06-2012, 09:21 AM
That would be great. The bad news is I've heard we're hiring Daniel Bryan to replace Fife Hyland. Poor move IMO as we already have enough 'Yes' men in the boardroom.
29-06-2012, 09:24 AM
Anyone heard a whisper about us signing Jennings from the Mothers?
29-06-2012, 09:26 AM
on the BBC gossip column he's turned down a deal with Motherwell and looking for another club, i thought he had agreed to go down south though, Rotherham maybe?
29-06-2012, 09:27 AM
Did the rounds a couple of weeks back but all went quiet. Thought he was off down south.
Leishy1995
29-06-2012, 09:34 AM
Only cares about himself, likes to show off. Claims he can back it up.
I'd rather we got Sheamus as a target man.
Edinburgh Green
29-06-2012, 09:44 AM
Hope so, had a look on their messageboard when we signed Clancy and Jennings got very good write ups.
29-06-2012, 10:09 AM
Come to check this thread out for genuine signing rumours and spend most of the time trailing through pages of complete guff about the huns and other pish.
Can we please try keep to the topic of the thread.
29-06-2012, 10:19 AM
So what time is our 3 new signings being announced
29-06-2012, 10:26 AM
We cannae find time to announce them as we are having to keep giving out statements about Rangers.
29-06-2012, 10:28 AM
We cannae find time to announce them as we are having to keep giving out statements about Rangers.
He he
29-06-2012, 10:29 AM
Good question.
29-06-2012, 10:40 AM
1pm
29-06-2012, 11:44 AM
1pm
Which day?
Which day?
Hopefully the day speeders. This place will go into meltdown if no one is announced.
A few surprises maybe??
29-06-2012, 11:50 AM
1pm
10 minutes to go
Macaroon
29-06-2012, 11:54 AM
10 minutes to go
Until the world renowned hibs.net anti-climax! Like a solar eclipse it captures the imagination and wonder of thousands of onlookers until it fizzles out in a deadly silence..
Quality
Kaiser_Sauzee
29-06-2012, 11:59 AM
Wonderful.
Or a bit like Donald and Davey Stott's 'explosion' before an interview.
http://sphotos.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/423122_334161193287766_2041915544_n.jpg
29-06-2012, 12:05 PM
13:05 :bsod:
Won't be happening today by looks of it??
29-06-2012, 12:05 PM
So no signings :/
Macaroon
29-06-2012, 12:07 PM
So no signings :/
I can provide rope, cliff edges, blunt objects and various selections of unlabeled pills... Take your pick.
...Oh, and a bedsheet.
29-06-2012, 12:11 PM
I've got time to tear myself away from my p/c then , and go to the loo ......................
:whistle:
29-06-2012, 12:12 PM
tick tock tick tock
Hibby Gav
29-06-2012, 12:16 PM
Surely something is going to happen wit McPake...he sure teases
James McPake@JamesMcPakeGlad all the Hibs fans seem to be impressed with the new top! Was under a bit of pressure as I had said it was the nicest I've seen!!
29-06-2012, 12:17 PM
I can provide rope, cliff edges, blunt objects and various selections of unlabeled pills... Take your pick.
...Oh, and a bedsheet.
I'll have one from the top and two from anywhere else please
29-06-2012, 12:17 PM
One of my friends on my course is doing work experience at Leith TV and said new signings are due to be announced. Didn't say a time to me though, but apparently all media outlets have been e-mailed regarding it.
Cheers S & S. wonder if there will be any surprises??
Macaroon
29-06-2012, 12:24 PM
I'll have one from the top and two from anywhere else please
Gladly. That will be one post regarding the incompetence of our board, one targeting a member of our playing squad, past, present or future, and another one stating imaginary figures that we have offered to a player/been offered for a player/pay a player please.
Leishy1995
29-06-2012, 12:24 PM
Meltdown begins.
29-06-2012, 12:28 PM
James McPake tweetering, twitting, twatting or whatever the hell you do wi it that twitter thingy .................
At the dentist getting wisdom teeth pulled - dont see him posing for cameras today wi a sore gob. ( if he IS gonna be announced as a signing for the cabbage)
today)
29-06-2012, 12:29 PM
Cheers S & S. wonder if there will be any surprises??
He doesn't know who they are either I should say, he'll only know minutes before us too
Meltdown begins.
O yes indeedy 😁
29-06-2012, 12:30 PM
Meltdown begins.
Calm your spam, signings coming soon, even if it is on Monday
He doesn't know who they are either I should say, he'll only know minutes before us too
Probably doesn't want to spoil the surprise😃
JustSimplyHibs
29-06-2012, 12:35 PM
Thought you said all media companies have been emailed? Implying that an announcement will be today
29-06-2012, 12:40 PM
All signings canceled due to the E-mails the Tache got yesterday.
29-06-2012, 12:41 PM
Thought you said all media companies have been emailed? Implying that an announcement will be today
Yes they have all been e-mailed doesn't mean it will be today though, it could be tomorrow or Monday, as I've said my friend didn't give me any further details as he didn't know. I received the e-mail regarding Fenlon the day before he was unveiled.
29-06-2012, 12:54 PM
James McPake tweetering, twitting, twatting or whatever the hell you do wi it that twitter thingy .................
At the dentist getting wisdom teeth pulled - dont see him posing for cameras today wi a sore gob. ( if he IS gonna be announced as a signing for the cabbage)
today)
Present Tense: I am tweeting
Future Tense: I will tweet
Past Tense: I have ?
Macaroon
29-06-2012, 12:58 PM
Tweeted :agree:
29-06-2012, 01:00 PM
Past Tense: I have tweeted?
29-06-2012, 01:06 PM
Tweeted :agree:
Ok, I have tweeted and sent it to myself. I have ( ? ) myself
JustSimplyHibs
29-06-2012, 01:17 PM
Yes they have all been e-mailed doesn't mean it will be today though, it could be tomorrow or Monday, as I've said my friend didn't give me any further details as he didn't know. I received the e-mail regarding Fenlon the day before he was unveiled.
Aww right, i read your post as in, media will be there today...suppose it doesn't necessarily mean signings either then, could be Rod Petrie talking about NewCo or wee Paddy boy looking for more season ticket renewals.
Macaroon
29-06-2012, 01:20 PM
Ok, I have tweeted and sent it to myself. I have ( ? ) myself
Again, Tweeted :na na:
Twatted ?
29-06-2012, 02:09 PM
Twatted ?
Himself?
29-06-2012, 02:36 PM
:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:worried::worried::worried::sofa::******:
29-06-2012, 02:38 PM
Aww right, i read your post as in, media will be there today...suppose it doesn't necessarily mean signings either then, could be Rod Petrie talking about NewCo or wee Paddy boy looking for more season ticket renewals.
It does, signings are due to be unveiled, that was the topic of the e-mail sent to Leith TV and all other media outlets.
S & S I think the impatient ones want to know WHEN...
29-06-2012, 02:49 PM
S & S I think the impatient ones want to know WHEN...
And as I said I do not know. If my e-mail I got back in November regarding the unveiling of Fenlon the day before he was unveiled at Easter Road is anything to go by then it will be Saturday or Monday the players will be unveiled. I'm only guessing, but signings are due to be unveiled soon otherwise media outlets would not have been e-mailed.
Mate you shouldn't of said anything. Whilst the info is ver much appreciated there are a few , and we are all guilty of it, in pushing for more even though there isn't any.
Frustration be the name of the game. Cheers and don't get too annoyed.
G G
Prof. Shaggy
29-06-2012, 03:00 PM
today)
Apparently signing "in next couple of days".
29-06-2012, 03:16 PM
I'm not blaming S&S or any other poster.
But I don't see why the club couldn't issue a short statement to the effect that they've signed this player, that player and the other player, and that there will be a full press conference on Saturday/Monday/Tuesday/whatever to introduce the new players to the media and fans.
They want us all to rally round with our four-hundred-poundses, but they won't tell us what if anything our four-hundred-poundses will buy us ... :rolleyes:
Leishy1995
29-06-2012, 04:12 PM
I was kidding.
29-06-2012, 04:18 PM
C'mon Hibs where's all the signings? We need at least ten more players of better quality than we have! Pointless bringing out new kits etc we should be concentrating on a team 5 weeks till season starts.....it looks as if we'll be doing it the Hibs way and waiting till the season starts before we have a full squad
29-06-2012, 04:18 PM
If the club want the 2500 missing season ticket holders to renew then they will have to produce some evidence that they are serious about bringing in a better standard of player instead of trying to make them feel guilty by spinning the usual line.
29-06-2012, 04:24 PM
If the club want the 2500 missing season ticket holders to renew then they will have to produce some evidence that they are serious about bringing in a better standard of player instead of trying to make them feel guilty by spinning the usual line.
They would be able to do that if they had the 2500 income in the player budget pot
yekimevol
29-06-2012, 04:29 PM
scotsman journalist patrick mcpartlin twitter - Quote from a #Hibs (https://twitter.com/search/%23Hibs) spokesperson: "We hope to unveil a couple of new signings wearing [the new home kit] soon."
Hibs being hibs soon could be the day before the spl kicks-offs
HibeeMcGinn1
29-06-2012, 04:35 PM
@p_mcpartlin
"For those asking about potential #Hibs signings, if there is to be any activity I imagine it will take place next week now."
29-06-2012, 04:35 PM
scotsman journalist patrick mcpartlin twitter - Quote from a #Hibs (https://twitter.com/search/%23Hibs) spokesperson: "We hope to unveil a couple of new signings wearing [the new home kit] soon."
Hibs being hibs soon could be the day before the spl kicks-offs
He says it will most likely be next week, which is disappointing.
29-06-2012, 04:38 PM
Is it? Are we playing at the weekend?
yekimevol
29-06-2012, 04:41 PM
I was expecting the signing to be mcpake and he was in getting a wisdom tooth taken out, So with the main signing not about they have put it off till monday and it will be him cairney and another. In an attempt to generate some excitement.
29-06-2012, 05:55 PM
No, but I would still have liked to see some players brought in this week. Is there a problem with that?
29-06-2012, 06:02 PM
I'd have liked more than one new face for the start of pre season training
29-06-2012, 06:15 PM
We had an awful team and an awful strip last season. Cracking strip this season.... so erm, we will see.
29-06-2012, 06:59 PM
We had an awful team and an awful strip last season. Cracking strip this season.... so erm, we will see.
I loved last seasons kit lol
29-06-2012, 07:26 PM
I'd have liked more than one new face for the start of pre season training
Maybe some will be announced Monday when it starts?
Macaroon
29-06-2012, 09:18 PM
Bedwetters are out in force tonight...
29-06-2012, 09:53 PM
That was so needlessly facetious.
TrickyNicky
29-06-2012, 10:02 PM
Was it, scoff, it is whit ah tell ye !:greengrin
micka_weer
30-06-2012, 06:16 AM
Facetiousness is never needless ;-)
seven nowt
30-06-2012, 09:47 AM
I'd like to hear more about Dean Shiels returning at the moment. And I'd like 4 or 5 good players to join as well.
Thomson
30-06-2012, 10:58 AM
The Transfer Lad @TheTransferLad (https://twitter.com/TheTransferLad)
Good morning anybody want any news on their team
@Thomson_8508 (https://twitter.com/Thomson_8508)
@TheTransferLad (https://twitter.com/TheTransferLad) Any news on Hibs?
@Thomson_8508 (https://twitter.com/Thomson_8508) Wotherspoon looks to be going to Sheff Utd
@TheTransferLad (https://twitter.com/TheTransferLad) What about ins?
@Thomson_8508 (https://twitter.com/Thomson_8508) nothing much really
30-06-2012, 11:22 AM
Good morning anybody want any news on their team
@TheTransferLad (https://twitter.com/TheTransferLad) Any news on Hibs?
@Thomson_8508 (https://twitter.com/Thomson_8508) Wotherspoon looks to be going to Sheff Utd
@TheTransferLad (https://twitter.com/TheTransferLad) What about ins?
@Thomson_8508 (https://twitter.com/Thomson_8508) nothing much really
Pinch of salt mate. I dont believe for one second that hibs are not active in the transfer market at the moment, so the "nothing much really" comment IMO is a load of s****.
Thomson
30-06-2012, 11:24 AM
Pinch of salt mate. I dont believe for one second that hibs are not active in the transfer market at the moment, so the "nothing much really" comment IMO is a load of s****.
Well put. :wink:
Thomson
30-06-2012, 01:15 PM
James McPake, James McPake.
:not worth:thumbsup::greengrin:hibees:pfgwa
30-06-2012, 01:41 PM
Well put. :wink:
Told ya :wink:
As frustrating it is for us fans, hibs dont talk until they have something to say..
:flag:JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMES MCPAKE JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMES MCPAKE :flag:
Littlest Hobo
30-06-2012, 01:57 PM
I'd like to hear more about Dean Shiels returning at the moment. And I'd like 4 or 5 good players to join as well.
I'd love to see Deano back. He's got the quality we are so desperately looking for in midfield.
30-06-2012, 02:16 PM
I heard the we may sign McPake today ;)
30-06-2012, 02:20 PM
I heard the we may sign McPake today ;)
I doubt it mate, i can see him staying and seeing his contract out at Coventry.
Leighonel
30-06-2012, 02:24 PM
I doubt it mate, i can see him staying and seeing his contract out at Coventry.
I heard he was looking to extend his stay down there.
30-06-2012, 02:26 PM
I heard he was looking to extend his stay down there.
Oh crap.
Leishy1995
30-06-2012, 10:12 PM
Only 2 signings and Pre Season about to start!!!
Welcome to the club James.
DAVE1875
30-06-2012, 10:21 PM
Only 2 signings and Pre Season about to start!!!
Welcome to the club James.
Transfer window has technically JUST opened and we have two months to find players with "bottle" to wear the bottle kit (best kit in years IMHO)
30-06-2012, 10:45 PM
Kenny Millar seems to think Pat has a busy weekend ahead of him, so there should hopefully be more names soon.
Leishy1995
01-07-2012, 01:09 AM
Transfer window has technically JUST opened and we have two months to find players with "bottle" to wear the bottle kit (best kit in years IMHO)
They've kept me waiting for two hours!! I agree, smashing strip.
Even the new Hearts strip is nice.
01-07-2012, 11:36 AM
Paul Dixon signs for Huddersfield.
Thomson
01-07-2012, 12:12 PM
Someone over on the bounce saying cairney having medical just now and should be announced either today or tomorrow. What's the general opinion of Cairney?
01-07-2012, 12:20 PM
Someone over on the bounce saying cairney having medical just now and should be announced either today or tomorrow. What's the general opinion of Cairney?
Midfielder standing at 5'9". Creative and a bit of pace about him. Scored a decent number of goals last year in the first division.
Heard he got married and was away on his honeymoon which has delayed him from signing.
Only 24 but has been tipped to go onto better things than the first division.
Very pleased if he is signing or having his medical.
Thomson
01-07-2012, 12:27 PM
Midfielder standing at 5'9". Creative and a bit of pace about him. Scored a decent number of goals last year in the first division.
Heard he got married and was away on his honeymoon which has delayed him from signing.
Sounds promising.
01-07-2012, 12:40 PM
Look forward to this happening.
Next up, a tenacious ballwinner to partner him and a couple of strikers please.
01-07-2012, 12:48 PM
Too short, pish, not Hibs class, wage thief, George Street pisshead.
It'll save time later.
yekimevol
01-07-2012, 12:57 PM
01-07-2012, 01:04 PM
We need a Matty Jack type next to him to get the best out of him......... :P
Gala Foxes
01-07-2012, 01:04 PM
It'll save time later.
Also hope that
(1) He doesn't have a Ferrari
(2) If he does that he doesn't lend it to his mate
(3) That if he finds himself in a Land Rover in Hope Street he can spell Johnstone
(4) That he can outrun a cop with a headstart
01-07-2012, 01:18 PM
Also hope that
(1) He doesn't have a Ferrari
(2) If he does that he doesn't lend it to his mate
(3) That if he finds himself in a Land Rover in Hope Street he can spell Johnstone
(4) That he can outrun a cop with a headstart
Hibs would never employ someone with these sort of attributes! :greengrin
01-07-2012, 01:26 PM
OK, which one of you has been on Wikipedia and put him down as a Hibs player already? :wink:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Cairney
Ferryhibby
01-07-2012, 01:49 PM
dont know that much about him along with the vast majority of fans, but he cant be any worse than the drivel we had last year and if he makes one forward run and beats a couple of players with it hel have done more than las seasons midfield welcome aboard the hibbie train
01-07-2012, 02:00 PM
It'll save time later.
Heard he will miss some preseason training due to a
Groin strain !!!!!!
Whatever could he have been doing to get that!!!!
LOL
Bt
01-07-2012, 02:09 PM
He will be unveiled tomorrow.
01-07-2012, 02:12 PM
Sounds good he will get all the time to settle in from me and won't give the lad stick if he doesn't hit the ground running.
I'm also less concerned about signing any more centre mids, I'm more hopefull we will sign a couple of pacey decent wingers, these are the players that can win us games when the forwards aint at the races imo.
Something we gave lacked for years, tricky player that can beat a man.
01-07-2012, 02:14 PM
Paul Dixon signs for Huddersfield.
That was announced at the start of the week.
Did swanson sign for peterborough or whoever it was?
01-07-2012, 02:15 PM
That was announced at the start of the week.
Did swanson sign for peterborough or whoever it was?
Aye:agree:
Hibiza
01-07-2012, 02:22 PM
get him signed up. A goalie and a few forwards next.
WestEndHibee
01-07-2012, 02:34 PM
Asked a Partick fan about him and he's apparently very comfortable on the ball and can pick out a great pass from 30 yards. Whether or not he'll be able to do it a stage higher is another question but I'm happy with this if it comes to fruition.
01-07-2012, 02:35 PM
get him signed up. A goalie and a few forwards next.
I'd like another defender, couple more midfield options aswell
01-07-2012, 02:37 PM
I'm also less concerned about signing any more centre mids, I'm more hopefull we will sign a couple of pacey decent wingers, these are the players that can win us games when the forwards aint at the races imo.
really?
Assuming Cairney & Osbourne competing for an attacking minded cm position, that leaves Stevenson & Claros competing for the ball winner needed, VERY WORRYING.
01-07-2012, 02:37 PM
It'll save time later.
Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
really?
Assuming Cairney & Osbourne competing for an attacking minded cm position, that leaves Stevenson & Claros competing for the ball winner needed, VERY WORRYING.
Yup. We need another two midfielders as first choice and Carlos, Ozzy and Stevenson are at best squad players.
Ferryhibby
01-07-2012, 03:18 PM
Big rumour doin the rounds on fb that wev offered Ian black a contract..........wether its to paint the dressing rooms who knows
If true and we can afford him then go fur it I saw. The type of player we have missed for ages.
01-07-2012, 03:32 PM
Anymore info on this?
Last I heard we were looking at him and sounded like a good option to partner McPake.
01-07-2012, 03:34 PM
Anymore info on this?
Last I heard we were looking at him and sounded like a good option to partner McPake.
If he's as good as McPake, i hope we get him. In my opinion we need another centre half.
01-07-2012, 03:37 PM
I hear awful things from a Leeds supporting fri8end.
01-07-2012, 03:43 PM
I'm not overly optimistic about this one.
He gets nick named "The Giraffe". I hope this is due to his height and not a slant on his level of awareness. :wink:
01-07-2012, 03:59 PM
I think I was just a bit sick in my mouth.......
We need a player like black, but not black.
I don't want that dirty little blank anywhere near my club
01-07-2012, 04:05 PM
Know what your saying but he is exactly what we need in midfield, I would swallow my pride and go and pick him up now if was to sign for us, plus it would really wind a fair few Jambos up:wink:
01-07-2012, 04:13 PM
We need a player that can get stuck in, get nasty and control a midfield like Black does, someone who can be intimidating. Black is a horrible little rat but thats what makes him good, he gets in players faces and doesn't pansy around like many of our midfielders do. He had Stevenson in his back pocket on May 19, you could see Stevenson was feared to go near him therefore Black was allowed to do exactly what he wanted and had acres of space to do it in.
calumb
01-07-2012, 04:25 PM
We need a player that can get stuck in, get nasty and control a midfield like Black does, someone who can be intimidating. Black is a horrible little rat but thats what makes him good, he gets in players faces and doesn't pansy around like many of our midfielders do. He had Stevenson in his back pocket on May 19, you could see Stevenson was feared to go near him therefore Black was allowed to do exactly what he wanted and had acres of space to do it in.
dont want to sound paranoid but if black was a Hibs player he would probably get sent off every second week.
01-07-2012, 04:27 PM
Anymore info on this?
Who exactly?.........
01-07-2012, 04:39 PM
I'm not overly optimistic about this one.
He gets nick named "The Giraffe". I hope this is due to his height and not a slant on his level of awareness. :wink:
Orange skin with big brown patches all over his body and small horns on his head apparently. Eats leaves as well, but not sure if this is the answer.
01-07-2012, 04:52 PM
Ok then name that player then, not all that many about that I can think of. I would take Black in a minute he is a narky, nasty little ******* that opposing players and fans hate and we havent had that type for years.
01-07-2012, 04:54 PM
Ok then name that player then, not all that many about that I can think of. I would take Black in a minute he is a narky, nasty little ******* that opposing players and fans hate and we havent had that type for years.
:agree: And finally fill that Matty Jack role.
👍. If black is available and is happy to come to us on our terms then I don't give a flying **** who he has played for. If he enhances the team and gives his all then that'll do for me. Leadership and a good spine if a team, McPake us one of many leaders we need.
Go get him nutsy
01-07-2012, 05:12 PM
[QUOTE=Aldo;3281864]👍. If black is available and is happy to come to us on our terms then I don't give a flying **** who he has played for. If he enhances the team and gives his all then that'll do for me. Leadership and a good spine if a team, McPake us one of many leaders we need.
Go get him nutsy[/QUOTE
Absolutely .... I agree with all this .
Go get him
01-07-2012, 05:20 PM
Id love it if we had someone in our team that made other fans say that, but the majority of them are far from intimidating. People will have their own opinions, but Black would be an ideal signing for us imo, he has plenty of ability, a desire to win and a mental toughness thats sorely lacking at the moment. Hes far better than any of our current midfielders.
01-07-2012, 05:23 PM
Tim Westwood?
Emerald
01-07-2012, 05:25 PM
. If black is available and is happy to come to us on our terms then I don't give a flying **** who he has played for. If he enhances the team and gives his all then that'll do for me. Leadership and a good spine if a team, McPake us one of many leaders we need.
Go get him nutsy
It would also really annoy the jambos :devil:
O yes there is that as well. I hope this is true... Fingers crossed
01-07-2012, 05:35 PM
If we signed him he would get the same support as any other player
01-07-2012, 05:37 PM
Like a Golf, but not a Golf- that what you mean? :devil:
The only practical reservation I have about him has already been voiced - just because he got away with it as a Hearts player doesn't mean he'd get away with it as a Hibs player.
I don't like the guy, but I can see his practical usefulness in a team that has struggled to assert itself at home for three or four seasons now. TBH, right now I'd take Joey Barton if he were free and available and willing to come to ER.
01-07-2012, 05:45 PM
I don't care who we sign and from which teams we sign them from. All i want is better players than we currently have. We are starting from rock bottom. We have a great chance to finish 2nd maybe even win a cup if we get the right players in! Rangers r bust and Hearts have weakend. We just need a team thats better than Well and United to get 2nd IMO
01-07-2012, 05:47 PM
I don't care who we sign and from which teams we sign them from. All i want is better players than we currently have. We are starting from rock bottom. We have a great chance to finish 2nd maybe even win a cup if we get the right players in! Rangers r bust and Hearts have weakend. We just need a team thats better than Well and United to get 2nd IMO
What makes anyone with all their marbles think that?
01-07-2012, 06:33 PM
At this stage with the players we currently have I agree, however, once we have our team in place, if the target is not 'finish the best of the rest' then why turn up as a player or supporter?
01-07-2012, 06:45 PM
At this stage with the players we currently have I agree, however, once we have our team in place, if the target is not 'finish the best of the rest' then why turn up as a player or supporter?
I think we need to be making good progress, something that would hopefully get us a top 6 place. Talk of 2nd is just daft in my opinion, christ imagine we dont make it, some fans would be shouting for managers players and tea ladys to be sacked.
We had folk telling us 4th was not good enough, because we did not get 3rd. 2nd place is not even on my radar, look at how we have faired over the last 2 seasons, we are starting from a very low base, with many teams above us much better than us.
We all hope the players we bring in are good, but ffs talk of 2nd place is a little premature.
Iceman1875
01-07-2012, 06:48 PM
Ian Black football ability wise yes, cocaine snorting annoying hearts fan prick, no.
Littlest Hobo
01-07-2012, 06:54 PM
Why all the talk about Black??
He's no coming anywhere near ER.
A player like Black would be good.
01-07-2012, 07:11 PM
Why all the talk about Black??
He's no coming anywhere near ER.
A player like Black would be good.
Take it you'd not be happy if he signed? What about Zal or Temps?
01-07-2012, 07:19 PM
We have to be thinking 2nd is achievable if we sign another 6-9 decent players. Hearts are much weaker than last season and Rangers are bust. Im willing to believe that beating United snd Well to 2nd place is not that far fetched. Finishing 5/6th this year would be a poor season IMO. ps if we don't sign any decent players our currentvsquad would be relegated /in relegation battle as off the team we have today. If Pats the man and Petrie releases some funds we r in a great position to finish 2nd imo.
01-07-2012, 07:31 PM
We have to be thinking 2nd is achievable if we sign another 6-9 decent players. Hearts are much weaker than last season and Rangers are bust. Im willing to believe that beating United snd Well to 2nd place is not that far fetched. Finishing 5/6th this year would be a poor season IMO. ps if we don't sign any decent players our currentvsquad would be relegated /in relegation battle as off the team we have today. If Pats the man and Petrie releases some funds we r in a great position to finish 2nd imo.
If Pat's the man.
If we've actually got any money to 'release'.
If we can sign between 6 and 9 decent players.
I can see us finishing 2nd or 3rd.
Big IFS though aren't they?
01-07-2012, 07:33 PM
Why would anyone with all their marbles be discussing Ian Black to Hibs.
The only chance we have is half an hour before the window closes and he hasn't been snapped up for a decent wage down south. Even then he'd phone Tynecastle first giving them first pop.
Move on guys to more realistic targets FFS.
01-07-2012, 07:38 PM
[QUOTE=Cropley10;3282014]If Pat's the man.
Agree they are big "IF's" but thats the beauty off pre season a club like Hibs must believe that we can finish the best off the rest each season as a minimum. Starting with any other thought ie finishing mid table is just unacceptable imo. During the season we have plenty of time to measure actual results v expectations.
Im hoping we get the players we need...with Rangers going bust its now we need to do everything to finish second as they'll be back in the SPL within a few years
01-07-2012, 07:39 PM
I'd take Black at Hibs but its not going to happen. As for facing relegation I doubt it every much it will be Dundee or the Pars and they will be down April.
01-07-2012, 07:39 PM
Why would anyone with all their marbles be discussing Ian Black to Hibs.
The only chance we have is half an hour before the window closes and he hasn't been snapped up for a decent wage down south. Even then he'd phone Tynecastle first giving them first pop.
Move on guys to more realistic targets FFS.
Correct, Some folk really need a reality check on here.
01-07-2012, 09:03 PM
Agree they are big "IF's" but thats the beauty off pre season a club like Hibs must believe that we can finish the best off the rest each season as a minimum. Starting with any other thought ie finishing mid table is just unacceptable imo. During the season we have plenty of time to measure actual results v expectations.
Im hoping we get the players we need...with Rangers going bust its now we need to do everything to finish second as they'll be back in the SPL within a few years
01-07-2012, 09:06 PM
So it's based all on hope, nothing else.
01-07-2012, 09:10 PM
[QUOTE=SouthamptonHibs;3282073]
So it's based all on hope, nothing else.
Isn't that what being a Hibs fan is all about ?
Should be the motto on the badge.
01-07-2012, 09:23 PM
[QUOTE=blackpoolhibs;3282074]
Isn't that what being a Hibs fan is all about ?
Should be the motto on the badge.
I hope we are 2ND, but im not daft enough to say we should be aiming for it. Then state if this happens and that happens we might get. I will settle for progression. From 11th to 2ND only on here.
01-07-2012, 09:25 PM
Am no qoutin any yous cause its aw tae pot:greengrin
Ill be happy with a wee tidy 4th place finish, Even that's pushin it.
01-07-2012, 09:26 PM
If we were to aim for 2nd and finish 3rd/4th then would it really be so bad? If we aim for a top 6 and finish 6th/7th I would be disappointed.
It's a mindset thing for me, if you believe you can finish the best of the rest then you have a chance. Go in thinking top 6 then we're in danger of mediocre thinking/performances.
And I do believe it's realistic giving the budget we have compared to others.
A few decent signings and it's game on. Look at what Mowbray done and what McLeish achieved with changing the squads they inherited.
In my opinion of course! This is Hibs so we could have Spain's team and still finish 11th :greengrin
01-07-2012, 10:24 PM
Everything below Celtic is wide open next season. Motherwell may lose a couple more players, can't see United adding many players, Hearts have lost some key players etc etc.
If we can add a couple more players of McPake type quality and generally improve the squad then i don't see why we shouldn't be aiming for 2nd place. Not saying we will finish 2nd place by any means, but it is what we should be aiming for. The rewards are there for the taking next season.
01-07-2012, 10:30 PM
If we were to aim for 2nd and finish 3rd/4th then would it really be so bad? If we aim for a top 6 and finish 6th/7th I would be disappointed.
It's a mindset thing for me, if you believe you can finish the best of the rest then you have a chance. Go in thinking top 6 then we're in danger of mediocre thinking/performances.
And I do believe it's realistic giving the budget we have compared to others.
A few decent signings and it's game on. Look at what Mowbray done and what McLeish achieved with changing the squads they inherited.
In my opinion of course! This is Hibs so we could have Spain's team and still finish 11th :greengrin
I have no problem aiming for 2nd, what i dont understand is anyone actually thinking we can make 2nd. We are pish, and have been pish for quite a while. We will sign players, we look like we have signed 3 now.
We start from so much lower than those who finished 20-30 points above us, and of course these teams wont be sitting on their erse waiting for us to catch up?
Every season we have a poll on where we will finish, and even i have put us in at 4th when we have been nowhere near 4th at the end.
At least when i said 4th it was on the back of a 4th place finish the season before. We have finished 10th and 11th, 6th place would be real progress next season, but i fear with some if we dont make 2nd, some folk will hyper ventilate at the failure?
As i said earlier, 11th to 2nd, only on here. :rolleyes:
Littlest Hobo
01-07-2012, 10:38 PM
Take it you'd not be happy if he signed? What about Zal or Temps?
I would bite yet hand off for any of the three, I don't care who they played for before. As long as they give 100%
I know none of them will be signing for us, that's fact!
KanyeWestLower
02-07-2012, 12:56 AM
Two from twitter...
@AgentScotland: Dean Shiels has had informal talks about a return to Easter Road with Hibernian
And
@AgentScotland: Hibs have offered Garry O'Connor a fresh one year contract, he still has options in China, Russia and Aberdeen
02-07-2012, 01:09 AM
Two from twitter...
@AgentScotland: Dean Shiels has had informal talks about a return to Easter Road with Hibernian
Leishy1995
02-07-2012, 01:19 AM
Two from twitter...
And
@AgentScotland: Hibs have offered Garry O'Connor a fresh one year contract, he still has options in China, Russia and Aberdeen
Just seen these. Any idea how accurate he usually is?
02-07-2012, 03:00 AM
Russia and Aberdeen
Serbia or Aberdeen huh, wonder which one is colder :greengrin
Seriously though, it's that time of year when Hibs fans can but hope for the new season, so why shouldn't we sometimes get a bit carried away wi ourselves :greengrin
In Clancy we seemed to have picked up a good solid RB and we've signed McPake, the one player that fans have wanted the club to sign on from last years loanees...it's a good start and I hope for many more of the same or better from the club, it's a summer of positive change :greengrin
02-07-2012, 05:59 AM
Serbia or Aberdeen huh, wonder which one is colder :greengrin
Seriously though
He'd better behave or it could be the Serbian salt mines pal eh!!
Magic.
02-07-2012, 06:22 AM
Accurate :wink:
Walter
02-07-2012, 07:04 AM
@AgentScotland: Hibs have offered Garry O'Connor a fresh one year contract, he still has options in China, Russia and Aberdeen[/QUOTE]
I really hope this isn't true
02-07-2012, 07:04 AM
Very
02-07-2012, 07:14 AM
I really hope this isn't true[/QUOTE]
How?
200 hours of community service would see him through most games of the season.....:na na:
Walter
02-07-2012, 07:33 AM
How?
200 hours of community service would see him through most games of the season.....:na na:[/QUOTE]
Sorry to be serious here, but I just think we need less players with a screw loose, unless the screw loose is one that makes them lose their teeth in the midfield battle and scares the droppings out of yams
stanton_4
02-07-2012, 07:36 AM
Two from twitter...
And
If he has options abroad I doubt they are for this season.
I'm pretty sure the 200 hours community service would have to be served first.
JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2012, 07:46 AM
Garry O'Connor offered 1 year deal and Dean Shiels has had infomal talks :thumbsup:
02-07-2012, 07:55 AM
Two from twitter...
And
I think we'll find it is.
BarneyK
02-07-2012, 07:59 AM
Two from twitter...
And
To be honest, I followed this guy during the last transfer window and he didnae seem to be that accurate. He usually announces a signing just after it has been officially announced. Everything else is educated guesswork IMO.
scott7_0(Prague)
02-07-2012, 07:59 AM
Garry O'Connor offered 1 year deal and Dean Shiels has had infomal talks :thumbsup:
Would be happy to take Garry, but not Dean, not sure why we look to take back some players that didnt really do much when they were here the last time. Ivan for example turned out to be a crap signing.
02-07-2012, 08:04 AM
Would be happy to take Garry, but not Dean, not sure why we look to take back some players that didnt really do much when they were here the last time. Ivan for example turned out to be a crap signing.
Its the other way round for me, i think Dean Sheils is a much improved player since he left, plus a more consistant one too.
He's a real playmaker these days in my opinion, plus he scores goals, nobody can question his fitness or desire either.
02-07-2012, 08:06 AM
I don't want Shiels either, it appears he's improved since he left us but i still don't really know what his best position is, he appears to be a luxury player that plays in 'the floating role' and i'm not sure we can accomodate that position just now.
I'd rather we bought a winger with some genuine pace and ability to beat a man and get a cross in.
I've no time for GoC either, guy seems like a total erse and i'm fed up of having them at our club, let's get some proper professionals in.
JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2012, 08:11 AM
Ivan was crap when he first joined, no left foot, no cross, couldnae pass, didnae backtrack
02-07-2012, 08:16 AM
I don't want Shiels either, it appears he's improved since he left us but i still don't really know what his best position is, he appears to be a luxury player that plays in 'the floating role' and i'm not sure we can accomodate that position just now.
I'd rather we bought a winger with some genuine pace and ability to beat a man and get a cross in.
I've no time for GoC either, guy seems like a total erse and i'm fed up of having them at our club, let's get some proper professionals in.
Agreed, I dont want either of them (although Id much rather have Shiels than GOC).
02-07-2012, 08:17 AM
IF he is going back for GoC then the assumption must be that Griff isnt coming back. Bad move. Last thing the dressing room neeeds.
JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2012, 08:24 AM
IF he is going back for GoC then the assumption must be that Griff isnt coming back. Bad move. Last thing the dressing room neeeds.
I don't know like, i reckon the guy has alot of wrongs he wants to put right, got to remember there was zero service to the front pair last season (and they still scored goals) however being supplied by a linking player like Shiels would probably double the amount of goals O'Connor plus one other will score.
McKenzie
02-07-2012, 08:30 AM
Cairney confirmed
Thomson
02-07-2012, 08:31 AM
Hibernian FC @HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/#!/HibernianFCClub)
BREAKING NEWS: Paul Cairney has agreed a two year deal with the club – becoming boss Pat Fenlon’s third new signing
02-07-2012, 08:31 AM
Paul Cairney signs
Full report here
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120701/cairney-joins-hibernian_2262950_2828753
02-07-2012, 08:34 AM
They're both a couple of erses and we're well shot of them. IMO Griffiths is massively over rated as well so not worth the hassle he brings.
New team New attitude and all that
I don't know like, i reckon the guy has alot of wrongs he wants to put right, got to remember there was zero service to the front pair last season (and they still scored goals) however being supplied by a linking player like Shiels would probably double the amount of goals O'Connor plus one other will score.
IMO one of the reasons they never got any service was because of there inability to hold the ball up to bring midfielders into the game, the both of them are selfish strikers and not team players.
JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2012, 08:37 AM
They're both a couple of erses and we're well shot of them. IMO Griffiths is massively over rated as well so not worth the hassle he brings.
New team New attitude and all that
IMO one of the reasons they never got any service was because of there inability to hold the ball up to bring midfielders into the game, the both of them are selfish strikers and not team players.
That's right cause the ball was hit 40 yards in front of them all the time, of course no-one will hold that type of ball up or it was our midfield's inability to pick a perfectly timed pass. Most of the best forwards in the world are selfish.
02-07-2012, 08:38 AM
Perhaps O'Connor isn't the type of person in the dressing room that we think he is??
Thomson
02-07-2012, 08:39 AM
Agent Football @AgentScotland (https://twitter.com/#!/AgentScotland)
For the Hibs fans who asked - Paul Cairney is in the same mould as Pat McGinley #GoalScoringMidfielder (https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23GoalScoringMidfielder)
Never knew much about cairney but if this quote from twitter is anything to go by, i can't wait to see him in action.
02-07-2012, 08:41 AM
I dont disagree. Fresh blood, new winning attitude required. Cairney a promising signing. Two strikers required. One experienced, one youth.
02-07-2012, 08:43 AM
That's right cause the ball was hit 40 yards in front of them all the time, of course no-one will hold that type of ball up.
I'm not suggesting our midfield was like having Pirlo, Xavi and Iniesta supplying them as i agree the service wasn't great but they definately could have done better in terms of link up play than what they did.
Griffiths first touch normally had the ball bouncing about hip height and GoC couldnae control a bag of cement last season.
They both got a good number of goals and credit to them for that but it's not just about them, as much as it kills me to say it, look at hearts, they've constantly had strikers that couldnae hit a barn door but they've got team players up front that bring midfielders into the game and allows the likes of S**cel and previously Hartley to score goals from midfield.
02-07-2012, 08:46 AM
Perhaps O'Connor isn't the type of person in the dressing room that we think he is??
He was definately out getting smashed after the cup final. If this new team is really going to have a new attitude then do we really need or want that kind of carachter in it?
If we sign GoC then my opinion is that this whole new attitude thing is just a marketing slogan and nothing else.
JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2012, 08:50 AM
I'm not suggesting our midfield was like having Pirlo, Xavi and Iniesta supplying them as i agree the service wasn't great but they definately could have done better in terms of link up play than what they did.
Griffiths first touch normally had the ball bouncing about hip height and GoC couldnae control a bag of cement last season.
They both got a good number of goals and credit to them for that but it's not just about them, as much as it kills me to say it, look at hearts, they've constantly had strikers that couldnae hit a barn door but they've got team players up front that bring midfielders into the game and allows the likes of S**cel and previously Hartley to score goals from midfield.
I agree, however these guys can score goals given the proper service and support and the YAMs have midfielders with desire and a willingness to get forward to support...name three Hibs players from midfield that have that mould? Wotherspoon is the only one and he only seems to play well when it's for Scotland
Bill Milne
02-07-2012, 08:50 AM
I would have thought Gazza exemplified the bad attitudes that Fenlon wants to get rid of?