View Full Version : Greggs Hibs transfer rumours
Pages :
[
11]
Mark79
19-07-2012, 08:15 PM
@AgentScotland: Gary Kenneth has attracted interest from both Aberdeen and Hibs, he wants to go to England but offers are scarce so SPL now showing interest
I heard he played as a trialist for Airdrie the other night?
Just_Jimmy
19-07-2012, 08:56 PM
wages.
Agent scotland claims killie are looking at him. Surely we can out pay them?
19-07-2012, 09:03 PM
On bounce that some saints fan saying Sandaza has signed for the hertz
19-07-2012, 09:07 PM
@AgentScotland: Gary Kenneth has attracted interest from both Aberdeen and Hibs, he wants to go to England but offers are scarce so SPL now showing interest
Hibs have been interested for a while I believe.
A back 5 of Williams, Clancy, McPake, Kenneth and Hanlon would be pretty decent imo with Stephens, Kujabi, Booth and Maybury as cover.
19-07-2012, 09:19 PM
i'd love to see gary kenneth at ER, but imo i think craig levein will talk him into signing for any1 bar us. his scotland future must be first priority and levein, pick a hibs player for scotland, fat chance.
the lad from burnley, widny touch with a bargepole.
250k for osbourn is unreal imo. no chance getting the players mentioned in previous post, as st j were wanting 250k for sandaza alone from rangers. prob get maybury and sparky tho.
19-07-2012, 09:27 PM
He's training with Dundee at the moment
He played for Airdrie in a game against sevco at Murray park on Tuesday :confused:.
Macaroon
19-07-2012, 10:06 PM
i'd love to see gary kenneth at ER, but imo i think craig levein will talk him into signing for any1 bar us. his scotland future must be first priority and levein, pick a hibs player for scotland, fat chance.
the lad from burnley, widny touch with a bargepole.
250k for osbourn is unreal imo. no chance getting the players mentioned in previous post, as st j were wanting 250k for sandaza alone from rangers. prob get maybury and sparky tho.
Sandaza is now out of contract so would be a free transfer.
19-07-2012, 10:52 PM
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! :dead:
19-07-2012, 11:24 PM
Sandaza is now out of contract so would be a free transfer.
worth a punt then if we can stretch him after griffiths
20-07-2012, 12:22 AM
Don't honestly know.
AS was in a strange situation. He was employed by HTC as opposed to HFC. The idea being that if a management team at HFC was removed (Hughes / Rice / CC etc) then HTC employees would avoid the cull.
However I believe CC "promoted" him to HFC and therefore he bit the dust.
Interesting.
Does that indicate that the club were looking to get continuity of coaching style from the youth set-up through the ranks and ultimately to the first team, by having a HTC staffing element, independent of whoever was the manager du jour?
If that was the case it's understandable why they would have gone with Stevenson given his success with the U19 cohort. At the same time you can understand why a manager would have wanted to bring him closer to first-team affairs, given that success.
20-07-2012, 05:45 AM
Interesting.
Does that indicate that the club were looking to get continuity of coaching style from the youth set-up through the ranks and ultimately to the first team, by having a HTC staffing element, independent of whoever was the manager du jour?
If that was the case it's understandable why they would have gone with Stevenson given his success with the U19 cohort. At the same time you can understand why a manager would have wanted to bring him closer to first-team affairs, given that success.
Yes, bang on the money.
20-07-2012, 08:04 AM
On bounce that some saints fan saying Sandaza has signed for the hertz
I read the bounce post properly and here's what actually happened Stu.
A boy on the bounce was watching a live stream of Saints game last night. Stu, you know how they have the chat boxes on the stream page that loads of dafties type into? Well........some anonymous person typing there said Sandaza was signing for Hertz and its since made it onto a few Hibs fans forums.
Well I never.
20-07-2012, 10:41 AM
No more players in unless we sell players and/or STs.
Fenners still looking at:
Maybury
Antonio
Griffiths
Brown
Michalik
and apparently this dutch boy reported on the MB.
20-07-2012, 10:50 AM
Maybury
Antonio
Griffiths
Brown
Michalik
That's a pretty different picture to the one you painted last week. Worrying.
This being the case I'd be happy for us to drop our interest in retaining Brown and go with Antell and Grant for back up.
20-07-2012, 10:53 AM
That's a pretty different picture to the one you painted last week. Worrying.
This being the case I'd be happy for us to drop our interest in retaining Brown and go with Antell and Grant for back up.
That's because the coffee has been smelt and they don't like the flavour.
20-07-2012, 10:54 AM
Maybury
Antonio
Griffiths
Brown
Michalik
Any idea if that takes into account the impending sale of Osbourne, or if we need to sell someone else on top of that in order to bring players in?
20-07-2012, 10:55 AM
Maybury
Antonio
Griffiths
Brown
Michalik
Does this alter with the sale of Osbourne? Regardless, it's a rather pathetic effort from the board that they have been so reliant upon Der huns associated income. Even more pathetic that they don't take personal responsibility for the last two seasons of 'poor sporting results' given it was down to the people THEY appointed. They need to think of something other than begging the
fans for charitable donations, even if it means begging STF instead.
20-07-2012, 10:56 AM
We now know we're around 7,000 STs at what was it, £228 average.
That's £1.59m with an estimated £1.4m+ plus already spoken for.
1 - 2 new players tops without more STs or player sales as of now.
Obviously more than that if we fill the squad with bargain basement journeymen.
20-07-2012, 10:59 AM
I don't think its true we need to shift players to get more in.
We have offers out to players and that is all being taken into account when talking about what's left for the likes of Maybury.
20-07-2012, 11:01 AM
I don't think its true we need to shift players to get more in.
We have offers out to players and that is all being taken into account when talking about what's left for the likes of Maybury.
We also have to bare in mind that we have offers out to more than one player per position. If we sign one, our offer to the other is withdrawn which will either reduce or increase what's left.
20-07-2012, 11:06 AM
Thanks for the info guys.
20-07-2012, 11:14 AM
Any idea if that takes into account the impending sale of Osbourne, or if we need to sell someone else on top of that in order to bring players in?
No. Ozzy going will mean someone can come in.
Hibstrooper
20-07-2012, 11:22 AM
Maybury
Antonio
Griffiths
Brown
Michalik
Who is Antonio?
20-07-2012, 11:23 AM
Thanks Speedway.
20-07-2012, 11:24 AM
Whilst your answering questions: Will any of the transfer be spent on players or just the freed up wages?
20-07-2012, 11:24 AM
Who is Antonio?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michail_Antonio
20-07-2012, 11:25 AM
Whilst your answering questions: Will any of the transfer be spent on players or just the freed up wages?
Wages. Rest will be chucked into the black hole of trying to mitigate operating losses.
20-07-2012, 11:27 AM
Wages. Rest will be chucked into the black hole of trying to mitigate operating losses.
That's not good.
20-07-2012, 11:28 AM
With no evidence whatsoever to base this on, does anyone get the feeling that we're trying to punt Hanlon?
20-07-2012, 11:29 AM
The wiki article suggests that he is a winger. Just the type of player we need to be looking at - along with a striker and a 'hard' centre midfielder.
Hibstrooper
20-07-2012, 11:30 AM
Cheers :aok:
20-07-2012, 11:31 AM
With no evidence whatsoever to base this on, does anyone get the feeling that we're trying to punt Hanlon?
Nope, but I have the same horrible feeling about Booth.
berty_mee
20-07-2012, 11:45 AM
Having just looked at the squad on the official site it's clear we need to stop thinking about signing keepers and defenders but 2 physical midfielders and another striker or 2. We currently have Wotherspoon, Claros, Stevenson, Sproule, Stanton and Cairney available as first team midfielders for next season and its the same old story, all light weight, powder puff players that will get run all over next season and won't command a game, as like last season. 2 big, physical midfielders is surely the priority after watching the midfield in current seasons.
As for up top, hope Doyle comes into his own this season but I have my doubts and we can't rely too heavily on the 19 year Caldwell. Therefore another striker or 2 is needed..... and Griffiths needs to be one of them!!
BarneyK
20-07-2012, 11:49 AM
Have you heard something about this guy? The reason I ask, the following article suggests that Sheffield Wednesday are after him and had a £350k offer knocked back (the guy is under contract for another year). That being so, I cannae see any way we're in for him. http://www.sheffwed.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=283150
20-07-2012, 11:55 AM
Have you heard something about this guy? The reason I ask, the following article suggests that Sheffield Wednesday are after him and had a £350k offer knocked back (the guy is under contract for another year). That being so, I cannae see any way we're in for him. http://www.sheffwed.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=283150
Maybe a loan offer for 6 months?
BarneyK
20-07-2012, 11:57 AM
Update - Reports in reading suggest he is signing for Wednesday for £700k. He seems to have spent his entire carrer thus far on loan, cannae see him going out again.
20-07-2012, 12:39 PM
We were looking at a season long loan apparently.
20-07-2012, 12:48 PM
Update - Reports in reading suggest he is signing for Wednesday for £700k. He seems to have spent his entire carrer thus far on loan, cannae see him going out again.
Michalik knocked back our offer so he's been ruled him out.....for now.
There was an article in Record within last week re Pernis and him knocking back deals from us and both have same agent.
20-07-2012, 12:50 PM
We were looking at a season long loan apparently.
Out of interest speedy, how do you claim to be such a wealth of knowledge? Not disputing what you say just interested.
Hibiza
20-07-2012, 12:58 PM
just of the cuff , mind of Brian Hamillton. what a pure waste that was . (except his honved goal ).
20-07-2012, 01:03 PM
Out of interest speedy, how do you claim to be such a wealth of knowledge? Not disputing what you say just interested.
Definitely not a wealth of knowledge SMAXXA, I've been correct on no more than a handful of times so my accuracy ratio is right down the Gary Glitter.
I get to hear of things that Hibs and other clubs have in the works from the realm that I work in (professional services) so I know one or two FDs of clubs who talk quite openly sometimes and a lot of other professionals who have involvement in the aspects of deals and potential deals and so on.
Revealing any of these 'sources' is literally gross misconduct/loss of revenue style stuff for the firms involved so I have to watch my step very closely. This is why when it comes to source naming, I don't do it. I just type things like 'led to believe' or 'I hear we could be' etc. It's either that or don't post, both have their merits!! (I was once told to 'put my house' on Mixu suceeding Mowbray.I chose not to post that, thank goodness)
As I say, most of what I hear may well be correct initially but doesn't come to fruition so I know more about what we're trying to do than what actually ends up happening. In terms of what is finalised, there are several posters on here that will know sooner than me.
Does that answer the question?
20-07-2012, 01:13 PM
Definitely not a wealth of knowledge SMAXXA, I've been correct on no more than a handful of times so my accuracy ratio is right down the Gary Glitter.
I get to hear of things that Hibs and other clubs have in the works from the realm that I work in (professional services) so I know one or two FDs of clubs who talk quite openly sometimes and a lot of other professionals who have involvement in the aspects of deals and potential deals and so on.
Revealing any of these 'sources' is literally gross misconduct/loss of revenue style stuff for the firms involved so I have to watch my step very closely. This is why when it comes to source naming, I don't do it. I just type things like 'led to believe' or 'I hear we could be' etc. It's either that or don't post, both have their merits!! (I was once told to 'put my house' on Mixu suceeding Mowbray.I chose not to post that, thank goodness)
As I say, most of what I hear may well be correct initially but doesn't come to fruition so I know more about what we're trying to do than what actually ends up happening. In terms of what is finalised, there are several posters on here that will know sooner than me.
Does that answer the question?
It sure does mate, I wasn't being a smartarse asking mate I was just curious that's all, totally appreciate the limitations around sources etc.
Cheers bud.
20-07-2012, 01:18 PM
It sure does mate, I wasn't being a smartarse asking mate I was just curious that's all, totally appreciate the limitations around sources etc.
Cheers bud.
No probs. :aok:
20-07-2012, 01:33 PM
Seems a bit dreamland that one - http://m.mirror.co.uk/article?id=1142388/
20-07-2012, 03:01 PM
I read the bounce post properly and here's what actually happened Stu.
A boy on the bounce was watching a live stream of Saints game last night. Stu, you know how they have the chat boxes on the stream page that loads of dafties type *****e into? Well........some anonymous person typing there said Sandaza was signing for Hertz and its since made it onto a few Hibs fans forums.
Well I never.
Is that no basically the same thing ?????
Well I never !!!!
20-07-2012, 03:09 PM
Michalik knocked back our offer so he's been ruled him out.....for now.
There was an article in Record within last week re Pernis and him knocking back deals from us and both have same agent.
Different guy being discussed. Michalik is the Carlisle defender
Antonio is the reading winger
From a man who reads things properly as well ... Well I never !!!
21-07-2012, 01:21 PM
TRANSFER RUMOUR. Broxy Bear to sign one year deal with Blairdrummond Safari Park.
21-07-2012, 02:19 PM
TRANSFER RUMOUR. Broxy Bear to sign one year deal with Blairdrummond Safari Park.
Well I never!
23-07-2012, 04:02 PM
Ian Black has seemingly been offered £1500 a week take it or leave it deal by Hibs.
Info from a Hearts season ticket holder who got it from another one of them so dunno how accurate.
23-07-2012, 04:10 PM
Well it's all gone very quiet:shhhsh!: Had a look on the Hibs Roumers site, what a load of pish on there! Today we are linked with Alan O'Brian coming back on a 6 month deal and Rory McAllister(peterhead striker) :tee hee:
23-07-2012, 04:17 PM
Ian Black has seemingly been offered £1500 a week take it or leave it deal by Hibs.
Info from a Hearts season ticket holder who got it from another one of them so dunno how accurate.
Well if that's true, I think he'll say "leave it." Doesn't sound like he is awash with offers from England but will be biding his time as his agent will be able to fix him up with something better than the Hibs offer even if it is in league 1 or 2 rather than championship.
He might even get a better offer from the Huns if he can stick playing lower league football for at least three years.
Would be a massive embarassment for him if he did end up at hibs after touting himself for a move to England and Sevco but funny as for us as it would really wind the yams up.
Still can't see Black at Hibs and if he is it will be through lack of any decent offers. No doubt we will get spun the " had other offers but didn't want to uproot my family line" if he signs.
23-07-2012, 04:24 PM
Well it's all gone very quiet:shhhsh!: Had a look on the Hibs Roumers site, what a load of pish on there! Today we are linked with Alan O'Brian coming back on a 6 month deal and Rory McAllister(peterhead striker) :tee hee:
Must be a Jambo taking the p1ss about AOB !!!
23-07-2012, 04:32 PM
Well if that's true, I think he'll say "leave it." Doesn't sound like he is awash with offers from England but will be biding his time as his agent will be able to fix him up with something better than the Hibs offer even if it is in league 1 or 2 rather than championship.
He might even get a better offer from the Huns if he can stick playing lower league football for at least three years.
Would be a massive embarassment for him if he did end up at hibs after touting himself for a move to England and Sevco but funny as for us as it would really wind the yams up.
Still can't see Black at Hibs and if he is it will be through lack of any decent offers. No doubt we will get spun the " had other offers but didn't want to uproot my family line" if he signs.
I've seen this rumour over and over, and on mature reflection, I really hope we find someone else to do the job. I don't want to see his ugly mean obnoxious face at ER ever again.
23-07-2012, 04:36 PM
I've seen this rumour over and over, and on mature reflection, I really hope we find someone else to do the job. I don't want to see his ugly mean obnoxious face at ER ever again.
Yip, can't stand the guy either but he has had a decent season or two and would prefer him playing for us than Stevenson or Claros.
I'm not convinced we have made him an offer anyway and if we have, judging by what he has said, he will only take it as a last resort.
StarMan10
23-07-2012, 05:29 PM
Was reliably informed that Ian Black was shown around and held talks about a move to Hibs a good few weeks ago. He wanted crazy money though which scuppered any possible move and unless he doesnt get any other better offers he will not be playing for us next season.
23-07-2012, 05:29 PM
Suspect he'll be re signing at Tynecastle.
23-07-2012, 05:37 PM
Was reliably informed that Ian Black was shown around and held talks about a move to Hibs a good few weeks ago. He wanted crazy money though which scuppered any possible move and unless he doesnt get any other better offers he will not be playing for us next season.
You were indeed reliably informed :agree:
23-07-2012, 05:40 PM
Suspect he'll be re signing at Tynecastle.
From an ex Jambo employee his agent is Gary Mackay and he is persona non grata with MadVlad.
Unless he bins that pr*** Mackay he ain't getting back
23-07-2012, 06:40 PM
While Black is a player that would give us a bit of steel in midfield the fact he's still whoring himself in the press for a move to the huns makes me now think i'd rather stick cocktail stick in my eyes than have him in a Hibs top.
Jack Ferrigan
23-07-2012, 07:22 PM
"The Seagull"
Can't understand your comment on Stevenson.
Watched this player since he was a junior and always thought he had class. Maybe a little bit of support and praise would help. Last thing I would want to see would be for him to move and comeback and haunt us.
LeighLoyal
23-07-2012, 07:32 PM
"The Seagull"Can't understand your comment on Stevenson.Watched this player since he was a junior and always thought he had class. Maybe a little bit of support and praise would help. Last thing I would want to see would be for him to move and comeback and haunt us.If he had any real class it would have shown itself by now. Workmanlike grafter, one of these does a power 'unseen' of work. If we're starting him then we're in trouble.Osbourne has to be replaced. Claros is out his depth, Wotherspoon likewise. Cairney might be good but can't do it alone.
23-07-2012, 08:05 PM
"The Seagull"
Watched this player since he was a junior and always thought he had class. Maybe a little bit of support and praise would help. Last thing I would want to see would be for him to move and comeback and haunt us.
Think there's more chance of casper coming back to haunt us to be honest. I feel we have seen how good a player he will ever be and unfortunately I don't believe that's good enough for the players we should have.
24-07-2012, 09:49 AM
"The Seagull"
He is a player who seems to divide opinion in the support. Some think he is not good enough and others seem to see player. He probably is somewhere inbetween; good enough for the squad but not as a first XI starter.
I have watched him for a number of years too and other than a good half season when Collins was manager he has never done anything to make me think "integeral first team player". He shone last season because he tried hard (as I believe he always will as he seems that type of player/man) in a midfield full of non-trying strollers not giving 100% (Palsson, Osbourne, Soares), fishes out of water (Claros), struggling for fitness (Thornhill) and those who are just not good enough (Scott).
Anyway, I never said he was rubbish, just said that I think Ian Black is a better player.
Even if he did move on he will not come back to haunt us as players coming back to haunt usually can do one or more of the following:- control a midfield, dominate a game, pick a pass, set up goals, score goals, be pacy, be a nasty wee git, mark a player out of a game. Apart from on occasion the latter, Lewis has not really shown he can do any of these things on a regular basis.
24-07-2012, 01:57 PM
He is a player who seems to divide opinion in the support. Some think he is not good enough and others seem to see player. He probably is somewhere inbetween; good enough for the squad but not as a first XI starter.
I have watched him for a number of years too and other than a good half season when Collins was manager he has never done anything to make me think "integeral first team player". He shone last season because he tried hard (as I believe he always will as he seems that type of player/man) in a midfield full of non-trying strollers not giving 100% (Palsson, Osbourne, Soares), fishes out of water (Claros), struggling for fitness (Thornhill) and those who are just not good enough (Scott).
Anyway, I never said he was rubbish, just said that I think Ian Black is a better player.
Even if he did move on he will not come back to haunt us as players coming back to haunt usually can do one or more of the following:- control a midfield, dominate a game, pick a pass, set up goals, score goals, be pacy, be a nasty wee git, mark a player out of a game. Apart from on occasion the latter, Lewis has not really shown he can do any of these things on a regular basis.
Absolutely bang on the money. The last player who came back to haunt us was probably Scotty Brown. You cannot really compare Brown with Stevenson, for example.
To his credit, as you say, you can't fault his work rate and he seems to be an athletic kind of guy. I think he's found his level with us - I wouldn't think he'll be off down to England or somewhere in the SPL where he might do us some damage, if he was to move away.
24-07-2012, 04:31 PM
Absolutely bang on the money. The last player who came back to haunt us was probably Scotty Brown. You cannot really compare Brown with Stevenson, for example.
To his credit, as you say, you can't fault his work rate and he seems to be an athletic kind of guy. I think he's found his level with us - I wouldn't think he'll be off down to England or somewhere in the SPL where he might do us some damage, if he was to move away.
Pedant alert
Coming back to haunt us would imply that we released or gave him away IMO
Scott Brown's development has stalled to such an extent since leaving ER that you could easily argue that we were more than amply rewarded for him.
BTW I take no pleasure in that as I had thought and hoped that Scott could have been a top top midfielder in the EPL.
It certainly wont and would never have been in a holding midfield role and if for no other reason than that we should be glad that Strachan never got anywhere near ER
24-07-2012, 04:46 PM
Id like to see Mark Reynolds at ER playing alongside Mcpake :agree:
24-07-2012, 05:35 PM
Yep would compliment each other very well I believe
24-07-2012, 07:36 PM
Is this something that could be happening?
BigKev
24-07-2012, 08:02 PM
I think the last player to come back and haunt us was Hartley (spit). Stevenson is full of drive and effort but can he dominate a midfield? I think not.
One poster at the beginning of last season (Beefster or Baldy if memory serves me right) stated if Stevenson is the answer then we're asking the wrong questions - a sentiment I find many will find rings true.
25-07-2012, 06:23 AM
Stevensons would come back and haunt us because, imo, theres ef all in our midfield to stop him.
SheriffLobo
25-07-2012, 06:48 AM
Can this thread name be changed to
"rarely about rumours and mainly moaning about and discussing the crap we have"
Sorry, it may just be me but the thread seems to be more off topic than on.
gazzman90
25-07-2012, 09:20 AM
Can this thread name be changed to
"rarely about rumours and mainly moaning about and discussing the crap we have"
Sorry, it may just be me but the thread seems to be more off topic than on.
Good shout!!!
25-07-2012, 09:54 AM
BTW I take no pleasure in that as I had thought and hoped that Scott could have been a top top midfielder in the EPL.
It certainly wont and would never have been in a holding midfield role and if for no other reason than that we should be glad that Strachan never got anywhere near ER
Staying on topic by ignoring the thread subject......
I was delighted with the money we got from Brown and its no real surprise to me that he has stayed in the SPL.
"top top midfielders" tend to have certain attributes and I don't see what it is that brown would bring hence the reason that he's still at Celtic.
There seems to be a few who think that he's been ruined at Celtic but I just think they paid over the odds albeit he doesnt seem to have added anything to his game.
He's not a playmaker, blessed with the killer pass (excl pass to Rankin for the squiggler), particularly creative or even a goalscorer as his record is very poor considering he started as a forward at Hibs. Played on the right he's not effective either at taking men on and getting the ball over. He does put himself about and can run well with the ball - no better demonstration than the last two goals in the Sproule game - and in view of that main strength a defensive midfield role doesnt suit.
I'm trying to think of a similar type of player to Brown in the EPL who is highly rated as there should be plenty examples of mediocre midfielders there also.
25-07-2012, 10:05 AM
He wouldn't need to do any of those things on a regular basis though, only when he plays against us.
Rankin springgs to mind.
25-07-2012, 08:18 PM
If he had any real class it would have shown itself by now. Workmanlike grafter, one of these does a power 'unseen' of work. If we're starting him then we're in trouble.Osbourne has to be replaced. Claros is out his depth, Wotherspoon likewise. Cairney might be good but can't do it alone.
:agree: Yip, totally agree. I've been saying for five years that Stevenson is completely mediocre, and yet he has been given contract after contract, which I can only assume is because he is cheap. No offence to the player, but it is a sign of how bad Hibs are that he is still getting a game with us.
25-07-2012, 08:45 PM
:agree: Yip, totally agree. I've been saying for five years that Stevenson is completely mediocre, and yet he has been given contract after contract, which I can only assume is because he is cheap. No offence to the player, but it is a sign of how bad Hibs are that he is still getting a game with us.
100% correct!
25-07-2012, 10:18 PM
Is this something that could be happening?
dont think so just a player i reckon would make us rock solid at back :aok:
26-07-2012, 03:13 AM
this :top marks
26-07-2012, 07:23 AM
Agree, and the fact that Lewis is a '1st pick' on the team sheet just goes to show how poor our midfield is. He deserves his contract for his professionalism and effort he gives to the club, and he's not a bad player but a squad player!! I do expect that efforts are being made to improve this area, if not we will struggle big time!!!
hibbymark
26-07-2012, 07:29 AM
Any irons in the fire? looking through the starting 11 from tuesday night and the reality that the season starts a week on saturday (sunday for us) I am now really worried about our lack of transfer activity. Even if we went on a mass signing spree now the team is never going to be ready in time for Tannadice or the smellies the week after. Im aware of the financial challenges at the moment and the chicken and egg season ticket sales v player signings but the squad is thread bare. I have sat back while listening to the agents and players are all on holiday and chairman asks fans to dig deep statements but still we have shown no sign of intent or any evidence to support any grounds for optimism for the coming season. Mcpake and Griffiths were part of the shambles that very nearly took us down last year and whilst im happy to see them back again the rest of the sqaud looks even worse than the one that humilated us at Hampden. I still think we need at least 3 or 4 players which I dont see happening. Time after time I see other clubs like Aberdeen with lower home gates ,less season ticket holders, crap ground,no training centre,larger debt sign players like Johnny Hayes in front of us not to mention the names being mentioned with servco and our inabilty to lure guys like Jim Goodwin from the mighty St. Mirren. Im really not looking forward to watching the likes of St. Johnstone and Inverness tearing us a new one every other week at Easter road again. How can a seasoned pro like Maybury who must have been on lunching vouchers with Saints play in 5 pre season games and still not be offered a deal? If we have other areas of the team that need strenthening before right back tell Maybury to do one and play whoever is going to be playing there. As a club we must surely get to a point where we gamble a little bit on success . Show a wee bit ambition even in the current football and global climate. I honestly think the fans ambition now matches that of the clubs. Lets plod along and try and get in the top 6. Lets turn up against Hearts in hope rather than expectation. Dont forget we do this on the back of some of the most expensive season ticket prices in the country. Hibernian a team in transition since 1875 !
26-07-2012, 07:37 AM
On Roumers site (I know!!) that Danny ****tu is signing for us:thumbsup: Now this would be a signing Big Danny and McPake at the back would be the best pairing in the SPL bar none:agree: I have my doubts re wages but it's also on wiki that he's signing (probably the same person updating both sites?)
If true we could have the best defence and worst midfield in the league:cb
26-07-2012, 07:39 AM
OMG his name has been *** out:faf: for those who don't know his name is Danny S H I T T U. Ex QPR
26-07-2012, 07:43 AM
Any irons in the fire? looking through the starting 11 from tuesday night and the reality that the season starts a week on saturday (sunday for us) I am now really worried about our lack of transfer activity. Even if we went on a mass signing spree now the team is never going to be ready in time for Tannadice or the smellies the week after. Im aware of the financial challenges at the moment and the chicken and egg season ticket sales v player signings but the squad is thread bare. I have sat back while listening to the agents and players are all on holiday and chairman asks fans to dig deep statements but still we have shown no sign of intent or any evidence to support any grounds for optimism for the coming season. Mcpake and Griffiths were part of the shambles that very nearly took us down last year and whilst im happy to see them back again the rest of the sqaud looks even worse than the one that humilated us at Hampden. I still think we need at least 3 or 4 players which I dont see happening. Time after time I see other clubs like Aberdeen with lower home gates ,less season ticket holders, crap ground,no training centre,larger debt sign players like Johnny Hayes in front of us not to mention the names being mentioned with servco and our inabilty to lure guys like Jim Goodwin from the mighty St. Mirren. Im really not looking forward to watching the likes of St. Johnstone and Inverness tearing us a new one every other week at Easter road again. How can a seasoned pro like Maybury who must have been on lunching vouchers with Saints play in 5 pre season games and still not be offered a deal? If we have other areas of the team that need strenthening before right back tell Maybury to do one and play whoever is going to be playing there. As a club we must surely get to a point where we gamble a little bit on success . Show a wee bit ambition even in the current football and global climate. I honestly think the fans ambition now matches that of the clubs. Lets plod along and try and get in the top 6. Lets turn up against Hearts in hope rather than expectation. Dont forget we do this on the back of some of the most expensive season ticket prices in the country. Hibernian a team in transition since 1875 !
Exactly
26-07-2012, 07:46 AM
Really????? Never knew that.
goosefat
26-07-2012, 08:57 AM
Big Danny...
From the ultra-reliable wikipedia -
"****tu is currently in signing talks with Scottish Premier League club Hibernian FC, with a deal expected to be thrashed out by the end of the week."
If he does sign, Hibs.net will need to look into a filter bypass for him :wink:
26-07-2012, 09:08 AM
Big Danny...
From the ultra-reliable wikipedia -
"****tu is currently in signing talks with Scottish Premier League club Hibernian FC, with a deal expected to be thrashed out by the end of the week."
If he does sign, Hibs.net will need to look into a filter bypass for him :wink:
:cb
fit o' the walk
26-07-2012, 09:09 AM
I have got a horrible feeling we will sign Maybury and that will be it.......no other players on trial on tour,virtually nothing mentioned in papers or even the rumour mill.......If thats it,then another hard season ahead i'm afraid...Hope i'm wrong. GGTTH.
26-07-2012, 09:16 AM
Nah. Got a feeling we will sign atleast another 3 players.plenty of time to go yet.
26-07-2012, 09:18 AM
Nah. Got a feeling we will sign atleast another 3 players.plenty of time to go yet.
You better be right and they better be midfielders.
26-07-2012, 09:41 AM
We will sign players at the end of august when players drop their demands and clubs want rid of them
26-07-2012, 09:47 AM
You better be right and they better be midfielders.
Or else?
26-07-2012, 09:58 AM
I'm hoping, for selfish gains, that we do it on transfer deadline day otherwise the D-Day Thread will be irrelevant.
26-07-2012, 10:01 AM
Some pace in wide positions please.
If we are only going to play one up then Doyle, Griffiths and Caldwell might well be about enough although they aren't really suited to the lone role.
So, we really need a couple of players around them with pace and trickery. I don't think relying on plaeyrs like Sproule and Wotherspoon who failed to make any impact in a poor team last year will do it.
I was impressed with Claros on the tour and if we continue to play the short passing game then I think he will come more into it. Cairney looks well suited to being that attacking midfield player in front of the sitting two.
BarneyK
26-07-2012, 10:09 AM
If we are only going to play one up then Doyle, Griffiths and Caldwell might well be about enough although they aren't really suited to the lone role.
So, we really need a couple of players around them with pace and trickery. I don't think relying on plaeyrs like Sproule and Wotherspoon who failed to make any impact in a poor team last year will do it.
I was impressed with Claros on the tour and if we continue to play the short passing game then I think he will come more into it. Cairney looks well suited to being that attacking midfield player in front of the sitting two.
From what I've seen of Wotherspoon pre-season, I'm hopeful that he is finally about to contribute more in a meaningful attacking role. He looks like he has a bit more confidence and presence about him at the moment. He's also looking to play the killer ball a bit more now too. It may all come to more of the same of course, but fingers crossed.
26-07-2012, 10:12 AM
Or else?
Did you happen to catch much of last season?
26-07-2012, 10:18 AM
Did you happen to catch much of last season?
Enough. Just wondering what your statement, that sounded more like a threat that it had BETTER be actually meant and what the consequences of it not being midfielders would be?
AL-Qaholik
26-07-2012, 10:19 AM
There does seem to be an unusual lack of rumours etc where potential signings are concerned.
I'm hoping everyone at the club is still working bloody hard to get at least 3 or 4 more in as, right now, the whole "summer of change" and "Hibernian with bottle" campaigns look distinctly like empty promises - which the club can ill afford with the amount of frustration and apathy that the last 2/3 seasons generated...
We all know the "landscape has changed" but a clear show of intent by the club to bring in a couple of "exciting" signings (who were NOT part of the most humiliating Hibs team of all time - as much as I like McPake...) would go a long way towards restoring some semblance of a sense of pride and passion amongst our seemingly wavering "core" support!
Over to you Hibs!
GGTTH!
26-07-2012, 10:30 AM
We NEED midfielders badly!!!! Praying that we sign ATLEAST one winger!!
26-07-2012, 10:35 AM
Enough. Just wondering what your statement, that sounded more like a threat that it had BETTER be actually meant and what the consequences of it not being midfielders would be?
Well no one can be sure what the consequences will be but unless our midfield from last year has a miraculous change in capability we will be in for yet another year with no proper wingers and hence no width, and an overall totally impotent and ineffective midfield. That's not a threat by me, I'll be at the games regardless. It's just the horrible truth.
Rasta_Hibs
26-07-2012, 10:44 AM
I think the obvious consequence is the team would be still ***** lol
26-07-2012, 11:14 AM
Another relegation battle.
26-07-2012, 11:17 AM
Any irons in the fire? looking through the starting 11 from tuesday night and the reality that the season starts a week on saturday (sunday for us) I am now really worried about our lack of transfer activity.Even if we went on a mass signing spree now the team is never going to be ready in time for Tannadice or the smellies the week after. Im aware of the financial challenges at the moment and the chicken and egg season ticket sales v player signings but the squad is thread bare. I have sat back while listening to the agents and players are all on holiday and chairman asks fans to dig deep statements but still we have shown no sign of intent or any evidence to support any grounds for optimism for the coming season.Mcpake and Griffiths were part of the shambles that very nearly took us down last year and whilst im happy to see them back again the rest of the sqaud looks even worse than the one that humilated us at Hampden. I still think we need at least 3 or 4 players which I dont see happening. Time after time I see other clubs like Aberdeen with lower home gates ,less season ticket holders, crap ground,no training centre,larger debt sign players like Johnny Hayes in front of us not to mention the names being mentioned with servco and our inabilty to lure guys like Jim Goodwin from the mighty St. Mirren. Im really not looking forward to watching the likes of St. Johnstone and Inverness tearing us a new one every other week at Easter road again. How can a seasoned pro like Maybury who must have been on lunching vouchers with Saints play in 5 pre season games and still not be offered a deal? If we have other areas of the team that need strenthening before right back tell Maybury to do one and play whoever is going to be playing there. As a club we must surely get to a point where we gamble a little bit on success . Show a wee bit ambition even in the current football and global climate. I honestly think the fans ambition now matches that of the clubs. Lets plod along and try and get in the top 6. Lets turn up against Hearts in hope rather than expectation. Dont forget we do this on the back of some of the most expensive season ticket prices in the country. Hibernian a team in transition since 1875 !
I agree with your first bit about the squad not being ready, but if the money isnt there (I dont know whether it is or not), how do you suggest we go about signing more players? Its a nice thought that if we spent a little bit more (something it seems like weve doing anyway that hasnt worked) then it could bring success, but where is the cash going to come from?
You say that the squad is worse than the cup final team, why? Who have we lost that made such a big difference? O'Connor chipped in with his fair share of goals but we ultimately had to get rid. Other than that, I cant think of anyone else. If anything, we signed the only 2 players that were actually worth keeping from last season in Griffiths and McPake, whilst also signing a keeper, a fairly versatile defender and a midfielder.
As for other teams signings, Aberdeen, whilst good players, have only made 2 signings. Would that have been enough for us based on what was left at the club? Inverness lost nearly their whole team, including some very good players, and have replaced them with 5 fairly unknown players so who knows how they will get on. St. Johnstone have made good signings, but they had the slight lure of European football, as did Dundee United (who always make good signings). Most of the other teams have only made the odd signing, whilst Hearts havent signed anyone. We seem like one of the few clubs left who might actually do some business, particularly if more STs are sold, so Id say we might be in a slightly fortunate position.
Also, if we only bring in one or two more signings, I think Maybury, assuming Fenlon has seen enough to make a good decision on him, is a sensible signing. He can play in both midfield and defence, has lots of experience (especially in the SPL) and likely wont cost much. Obviously it isnt the more attacking player we are all hoping for, but maybe that sort of player isnt currently available on our budget.
26-07-2012, 11:37 AM
I don't think a winger is high up his list.
Technically he could play either Booth, Kujabi, Galbraith on the left and Spoony and Sproule on the right. Admittedly none of these players fill me with enthusiasm to play out wide however none of these players are likely to play every week anyway so need to be accomodated in some way.
God help us if we line up with Stevenson and Claros in the centre of midfield, far too lightweight.
Would ideally like to see another striker in, preferably a target man. Another midfielder too, perhaps someone similiar to Ozzy, big lad with a bit of presence.
Most good teams are built around the spine and at the moment I would say we only have Williams and McPake. It kinda falls apart after that.
Reckon Maybury would be a good addition and can play a variety of roles across the back and midfield.
26-07-2012, 11:41 AM
I agree with your first bit about the squad not being ready, but if the money isnt there (I dont know whether it is or not), how do you suggest we go about signing more players? Its a nice thought that if we spent a little bit more (something it seems like weve doing anyway that hasnt worked) then it could bring success, but where is the cash going to come from?
You say that the squad is worse than the cup final team, why? Who have we lost that made such a big difference? O'Connor chipped in with his fair share of goals but we ultimately had to get rid. Other than that, I cant think of anyone else. If anything, we signed the only 2 players that were actually worth keeping from last season in Griffiths and McPake, whilst also signing a keeper, a fairly versatile defender and a midfielder.
I think O'Connor, Osbourne, Doherty and Soares would walk into the current team.
Impressed with Claros? Not something we hear too often. What's the difference Andy?
26-07-2012, 11:43 AM
Well no one can be sure what the consequences will be but unless our midfield from last year has a miraculous change in capability we will be in for yet another year with no proper wingers and hence no width, and an overall totally impotent and ineffective midfield. That's not a threat by me, I'll be at the games regardless. It's just the horrible truth.
You had better be.
I think the obvious consequence is the team would be still ***** lol
So what has changed over the last 40+ years apart from a couple of good seasons?
Another relegation battle.
So be it.
26-07-2012, 11:45 AM
Anyone in the know, know if the Danny ****tu thing is true or just a load o ****tu :hmmm:
26-07-2012, 11:45 AM
Lets be honest. We could point at any area on the pitch and say that we need to improve there.
Even if we do make a few more signings, we're still going to struggle.
Fenlon has a long hard task on his hands.
BarneyK
26-07-2012, 11:48 AM
Lets be honest. We could point at any area on the pitch and say that we need to improve there.
Even if we do make a few more signings, we're still going to struggle.
Fenlon has a long hard task on his hands.
Most teams could :agree: We all know the score regarding the current state of Scottish football. Heids down, get on with it.
26-07-2012, 11:50 AM
Maybes aye maybes naw, but why advertise the fact you're on the lookout for 5 more players and give the agents the upperhand in negotiations?
I think O'Connor, Osbourne, Doherty and Soares would walk into the current team.
Sadly, I agree.
We appear to be weaker now than we were last season.
Still there is time to change that......
Hibstrooper
They'd walk into the team but they'd also probably spend the next 90 minutes still just walking.
None of them, with the exception of O'Connor, showed any desire or passion during their time with the club. Going by reports on the tour and how Fenlon is trying to progress the team it least appears as is if we are going to have 11 players fighting for each other and the jersey on the pitch next season. That to me is a step in the right direction.
LeighLoyal
26-07-2012, 11:52 AM
Hibernian, a team gladly paying taxes and registering players lawfully, since 1875. :aok:
Just have to hope irons are in the fire. Window has plenty time to go.
26-07-2012, 11:53 AM
I hope there will be a couple more but we have to realistically look at the financial uncertainty still surrounding Scottish football.
If there are then great, if not then we'll get a chance to see the young lads get a shot and we just need to get the heads down and get on with it.
26-07-2012, 11:54 AM
O'Connor would but if we want to change the ethos of the club, we couldnt really keep him. Doherty was a good player, but a tit who didnt want to stay. Weve got a RB whos played his whole career in the SPL, good enough for me.
Osbourne clearly had lots of ability, but just couldnt really ever take a hold of games. He also awful when it came to any sort of defensive work, and Im not really sorry to see him leave. And Soares is a joke of a footballer, did he ever try during his time at Hibs?
You had better be.
So what has changed over the last 40+ years apart from a couple of good seasons?
So be it.
With the new training centre, our expenditure has gone up & there is far more competition these days to attract people to spend their money away from football! And the better be is pretty obvious, as a business Hibs are shipping custom & it will continue to happen unless something drastic changes with the performances.
26-07-2012, 11:58 AM
They'd walk into the team but they'd also probably spend the next 90 minutes still just walking.
None of them, with the exception of O'Connor, showed any desire or passion during their time with the club. Going by reports on the tour and how Fenlon is trying to progress the team it least appears as is if we are going to have 11 players fighting for each other and the jersey on the pitch next season. That to me is a step in the right direction.
I totally agree with what Felnon is trying to do in that respect but the stark fact right now is, no matter what you thought about the names above, they are better than what we have left with right now.
The signings we have made have been good, they would have been better if they had complemented what we had before and not just trying to make up a big gap.
At the moment what we are left with is some okay players we have brought in, alongside a collection of players who couldn't get games last year ahead of the ones we have got rid of.
I'd expected a few more, even with the Rangers thing.
26-07-2012, 12:15 PM
With the new training centre, our expenditure has gone up & there is far more competition these days to attract people to spend their money away from football! And the better be is pretty obvious, as a business Hibs are shipping custom & it will continue to happen unless something drastic changes with the performances.
You have emboldened the bit below so i presume the above was in the main referring to it? If so, the answer was to the statement that the team is *****. It is, and apart from a few seasons, always has been. We live within our means, same as we do domestically (at least I do and I can only speak for myself). The training centre was in my opinion, along with the new East, necessary expenditures. I am still of the opinion had it not been for the downturn in the economy that they would have paid off by now. As I have said before, not everything is black and white. the numbers missing are not all missing because the team is *****. A lot of people, especially married men just cannot justify the money on any entertainment never mind **** entertainment. These are the people we need as they are the one who bring the next generation.
26-07-2012, 12:16 PM
Fantastic post, if only you were a member of the board :thumbsup:
26-07-2012, 12:22 PM
It looks like the manager wants to bring in Maybury to the club, but at this moment in time i just don't think the funds are there to sign him, i think it is as simple as that, if we can off load a player then it free's up a wage that could be offered to Maybury, folk who are saying we need at least 4 more players in the team(yes they are right) it is not going to happen, where does the money come from, our owner has said he won't be putting in any more money in to the team unless things get really bad(avoiding relegation just there i thought was really bad) but obviously not bad enough, we don't have any players that we can sell that will bring in a big fee that may help the manager strengthen the squad, it looks like that a few of the young ones will get a chance when the season starts and i don't have a problem with that if they are good enough, but i have a worry about the young lads too, first few games are not easy for us and i don't want the younger lads having there confidence dented so early in to the season if we don't do well in our first few games, that is the worry for me.
So yeah we could see another player come in and it will more than likely be Maybury, but only if the manager can move a player on, if that happens then that will be our lot for the season. imo.
26-07-2012, 12:28 PM
It looks like the manager wants to bring in Maybury to the club, but at this moment in time i just don't think the funds are there to sign him.0
So yeah we could see another player come in and it will more than likely be Maybury, but only if the manager can move a player on, if that happens then that will be our lot for the season. imo.
LeighLoyal
26-07-2012, 12:30 PM
It looks like the manager wants to bring in Maybury to the club, but at this moment in time i just don't think the funds are there to sign him, i think it is as simple as that, if we can off load a player then it free's up a wage that could be offered to Maybury, folk who are saying we need at least 4 more players in the team(yes they are right) it is not going to happen, where does the money come from, our owner has said he won't be putting in any more money in to the team unless things get really bad(avoiding relegation just there i thought was really bad) but obviously not bad enough, we don't have any players that we can sell that will bring in a big fee that may help the manager strengthen the squad, it looks like that a few of the young ones will get a chance when the season starts and i don't have a problem with that if they are good enough, but i have a worry about the young lads too, first few games are not easy for us and i don't want the younger lads having there confidence dented so early in to the season if we don't do well in our first few games, that is the worry for me.
Surely Osbourne has to be replaced? His salary is off the wage bill and we got in a fee. If we don't replace Osbourne with somebody similar I see us getting overrun every week, we also let go Jimmy Scott. Sky have not said they won't honour the contract.
renato
26-07-2012, 12:42 PM
I totally agree with what Felnon is trying to do in that respect but the stark fact right now is, no matter what you thought about the names above, they are better than what we have left with right now.
The signings we have made have been good, they would have been better if they had complemented what we had before and not just trying to make up a big gap.
At the moment what we are left with is some okay players we have brought in, alongside a collection of players who couldn't get games last year ahead of the ones we have got rid of.
I'd expected a few more, even with the Rangers thing.
Agree with all that. Still think we're short of a physical forward, pacey winger and dominant central midfielder and believe that, until we get these positions adequately filled, we're at best on a par with last season's team.
We all talked about the importance of having the bulk of signings in before pre season, especially given the early fixtures, and, whilst I understand the extent of the financial impact as a result of zombie huns, I'm still a bit worried that we're going to get a few beatings early on in the season.
Desparately hope I'm wrong as that's the last thing we, Fenlon and the club needs.
26-07-2012, 12:50 PM
Ever decreasing circles.. And another relegation battle beckons!
26-07-2012, 12:51 PM
Excuse me while I fetch your noose sir.
We need to bring the youngsters through asap, if we don't then we need to spend to fill in huge gaps then they get frozen out. The best lessons for them would be in tougher games, these young players look the part and hate Hearts. Look at McGowan for the Yams he had a great season with them last season and not even in his correct position, he was pretty much thrown headfirst into the deep end and didn't sink, I'm sure Caldwell, Handling and Stanton are able to do this as well.
26-07-2012, 12:51 PM
Did we not blow Motherwell out the water with the contract offer for Clancy?
People need to realise that we have had the 4th/5th highest budget in the SPL for the last 5+ years, its been the managerial merry go round that has been the problem, not the wages we are offering compared to SPL competitors.
26-07-2012, 12:56 PM
People need to realise that we have had the 4th/5th highest budget in the SPL for the last 5+ years, its been the managerial merry go round that has been the problem, not the wages we are offering compared to SPL competitors.
Only part of the problem imo.
Under performing players with a couldn't care less attitude is/was the route of the problem.
dmc1875
26-07-2012, 01:00 PM
:agree: It's the fact that we are viewed as 'unstable' because we haven't had a settled backroom staff/management team for years.
I know we don't have any money... but the money that we have saved on wages by getting rid of 15 odd players SURELY we can sign 4 or 5. We will still have saved a hell of a lot of cash.. Players like O'Connor and Stack wouldn't have been on £1k a week and we must have paid a portion of the likes of Soares' £8k a week wages (I'm guessing £2k)
26-07-2012, 01:03 PM
Surely Osbourne has to be replaced? His salary is off the wage bill and we got in a fee. If we don't replace Osbourne with somebody similar I see us getting overrun every week, we also let go Jimmy Scott. Sky have not said they won't honour the contract.
I doubt Fenlon will see anything from the fee from Osbourne, his wages that were freed up maybe went towards getting Sparky in on loan again, :dunno:.
And we let Scott go on loan, we will still be paying a part of his wages while he is on a contract with Hibs.
Season starts for us next Sunday, are we ready to go as a team, i don't think so.
dmc1875
26-07-2012, 01:09 PM
Quote from Steve Lomas today re tv deal:
"Understandably, it's making a lot of chairmen nervous about bringing in extra players and we're no different. We've probably got one of the smallest budgets in the SPL and, at the moment, the chairman's had to put the pause button on.
"I've worked with Sky and I'd like to think they'll stand by Scottish football in its time of need and it will allow me then to bring in four or five players which I think would make us very competitive."
So.... if they have one of the smallest budgets in the SPL and they can bring in 'four or five' players if the tv deal stays the same (which is looking likely now) SURELY we have to be in the same boat?? If not...
PETRIE!!! GET YER FINGER OOT! :grr:
goosefat
26-07-2012, 01:28 PM
Quote from Steve Lomas today re tv deal:
"Understandably, it's making a lot of chairmen nervous about bringing in extra players and we're no different. We've probably got one of the smallest budgets in the SPL and, at the moment, the chairman's had to put the pause button on.
"I've worked with Sky and I'd like to think they'll stand by Scottish football in its time of need and it will allow me then to bring in four or five players which I think would make us very competitive."
So.... if they have one of the smallest budgets in the SPL and they can bring in 'four or five' players if the tv deal stays the same (which is looking likely now) SURELY we have to be in the same boat?? If not...
PETRIE!!! GET YER FINGER OOT! :grr:
I’m sure Hibs could comfortably bring in at least another 4 or 5 players from wherever and pay them peanuts. Quantity is not really the issue, its making sure that we get the balance right and get the best we can afford without having a load of other deadwood to whom we have to pay wages for either sitting on the bench or doing nothing much for us on the park. Remember the January transfer window when CC brought in a substantial amount of players? 90% of that exercise was a total waste of time and, more importantly, money.
It seems to me that this time there has at least been a little more thought put into who we have purchased so far. I'd rather have 2 or 3 less players knowing that the ones that we do have (and may or may not be paying a little more than usual to keep) are of a half-decent quality. Of course, only time will tell but I do think a scattergun approach will just leave us paying wages for players we don't want in 6 months time and can't get rid of.
HibsMax
26-07-2012, 03:03 PM
THIS.
There is this feeling that we can only improve the team by buying new players. That could be true but you can also weaken the team with the wrong signings.
I think it's been obvious from the last few years that there has been a problem at the core of Hibs. If Fenlon is addressing that, successfully, then perhaps the future is brighter? I would be happy to have gotten rid of the cancer that has been plaguing us.
Hibstrooper
26-07-2012, 04:51 PM
THIS.
There is this feeling that we can only improve the team by buying new players. That could be true but you can also weaken the team with the wrong signings.
I think it's been obvious from the last few years that there has been a problem at the core of Hibs. If Fenlon is addressing that, successfully, then perhaps the future is brighter? I would be happy to have gotten rid of the cancer that has been plaguing us.
Exactly. How many of the players listed earlier could have probably walked into most teams in the league if it was all about skill and ability, the same teams that we were regularly rolling over too because we weren't prepared to roll up our sleeves.
I'm not saying we are world beaters, far from it, however I think this team will finish higher than last seasons.
muirhousehibby
26-07-2012, 06:39 PM
Exactly. How many of the players listed earlier could have probably walked into most teams in the league if it was all about skill and ability, the same teams that we were regularly rolling over too because we weren't prepared to roll up our sleeves.
I'm not saying we are world beaters, far from it, however I think this team will finish higher than last seasons.
A good start would be by winning more home games than we did last season (4 wins), home games have been our downfall last few seasons. Even in the scottish cup run we only played once at home and beat kille.
26-07-2012, 07:30 PM
So any actual transfer romours then?
Northfield Hibby
26-07-2012, 07:33 PM
THIS.
Is Fenlon addressing that though? Doyle, Kujabi and Claros, Fenlon signings, haven't exactly strengthened us.
Still to see Clancy, Cairney and Williams perform, but hopefully there better than they three!!!
Northfield Hibby
26-07-2012, 07:37 PM
I hope your right. But imo, the squad we have just now is bottom six.
Look at pre-season. Stephens, Claros, Stevenson, Sproule, Doyle and Wotherspoon all looking like main starters. How many of them started the Scottish Cup Final? But now they are first picks!!!
edwards
26-07-2012, 07:41 PM
So any actual transfer romours then?
None of that kind of talk going on here doom and gloom before we have kicked the first ba jesus :rolleyes:
Northfield Hibby
26-07-2012, 07:43 PM
None of that kind of talk going on here doom and gloom before we have kicked the first ba jesus :rolleyes:
Well maybe if there was some substance of new signings coming in, it wouldn't be so doom and gloom then!!!
26-07-2012, 08:08 PM
God the endless negativity! Good to see the revisionism has kicked in big time and players like Docherty and Soares are now huge losses to the club. Are they **** frankly.
Just like the Motherwells, we are waiting to see what Sky do. If that money vanishes, where exactly does the money for more players come from? Season ticket sales doesn't come close to paying for the wage budget we have as it is.
I'm much more optimistic this year, we've ditched all the washed up huddies that came to us from 'big clubs,' we've got a couple of really exciting looking youngsters coming in, I think our defence looks far more solid than it has been for a long time...
Let's give the endless negativity a wee break eh folks!
dmc1875
26-07-2012, 08:13 PM
God the endless negativity! Good to see the revisionism has kicked in big time and players like Docherty and Soares are now huge losses to the club. Are they **** frankly.
Just like the Motherwells, we are waiting to see what Sky do. If that money vanishes, where exactly does the money for more players come from? Season ticket sales doesn't come close to paying for the wage budget we have as it is.
I'm much more optimistic this year, we've ditched all the washed up huddies that came to us from 'big clubs,' we've got a couple of really exciting looking youngsters coming in, I think our defence looks far more solid than it has been for a long time...
On paper... although the pre season games so far have shown that we still have the same old problems of balls in the air..Something that needs rectified IMO
26-07-2012, 08:17 PM
I hope your right. But imo, the squad we have just now is bottom six.
Look at pre-season. Stephens, Claros, Stevenson, Sproule, Doyle and Wotherspoon all looking like main starters. How many of them started the Scottish Cup Final? But now they are first picks!!!
Effin scarey considering how bad the cup final team was ..... And I still would go with the starting eleven from then ahead of that lot
26-07-2012, 08:18 PM
By all all accounts we offered Scott Robertson. Looks like he's off to Blackpool but it proves there is still money in the pot for the right signing. That money has to be spent wisely.
If Steve Lomas is correct once the sky deal is clarified then we might see some more movement.
26-07-2012, 08:44 PM
By all all accounts we offered Scott Robertson. Looks like he's off to Blackpool but it proves there is still money in the pot for the right signing. That money has to be spent wisely.
If Steve Lomas is correct once the sky deal is clarified then we might see some more movement.
We have offered Scott Robertson heehaw.
26-07-2012, 09:07 PM
I may wrong here but are we not still under the current Sky tv deal that still has 1 year to left? The new improved deal was due to kick in this season, however due to the cheating huns, the new deal has not been signed and by all accounts the SPL are trying to negotiate a new deal without OF games.
So, are we not under the same financial constraints as we were for the start of last season and the season before and the season before that? More than a whole team has been freed with only 5 new faces, inc McPake and Griffiths being brought in, Hibs must have some funds available?? Granted I accept that there is the loss of 1 or 2 (dependent on top or bottom 6) OF away gates, however does the loss 8000 odd tickets make us skint?
If ever there was a time to push the boat out a little and get in 4 decent signings that could improve our chances of winning games, now is the time to do it!
26-07-2012, 09:08 PM
I may wrong here but are we not still under the current Sky tv deal that still has 1 year to left? The new improved deal was due to kick in this season, however due to the cheating huns, the new deal has not been signed and by all accounts the SPL are trying to negotiate a new deal without OF games.
So, are we not under the same financial constraints as we were for the start of last season and the season before and the season before that? More than a whole team has been freed with only 4 new faces being brought in, Hibs must have some funds available?? Granted I accept that there is the loss of 1 or 2 (dependent on top or bottom 6) OF away gates, however does the loss 8000 odd tickets make us skint?
If ever there was a time to push the boat out a little and get in 4 decent signings that could improve our chances of winning games, now is the time to do it!
Sky can pull the current deal if they like with Rangers being gone.
At the moment they are likely negotiating as to what Sky / ESPN will pay for this season.
There is no boat to push out. We were spending beyond our income already the last 2 years. Belt tightening would be the story of the day without all the other crap going on.
If nothing else, the last few seasons and their signings are proof that more money does not equal guaranteed success.
26-07-2012, 09:12 PM
At the moment they are likely negotiating as to what Sky / ESPN will pay for this season.
There is no boat to push out. We were spending beyond our income already the last 2 years. Belt tightening would be the story of the day without all the other crap going on.
If nothing else, the last few seasons and their signings are proof that more money does not equal guaranteed success.
Ok Scott B, I was unaware that the current deal with only the 1 year left may be pulled.
26-07-2012, 09:31 PM
Really cannot see Sky not supporting Scottish Football, they would lose more than they would save with the number of cancelled Sky Sports subscriptions if they did.
27-07-2012, 07:25 AM
Ok Scott B, I was unaware that the current deal with only the 1 year left may be pulled.
Mind you, both Sky and ESPN have publicly stated that they would continue to the end of the current contract but will be renegotiating any extension/new deal, also remember BT vision sport are wanting to expand so this time around there might be some competition.
27-07-2012, 07:30 AM
Really cannot see Sky not supporting Scottish Football, they would lose more than they would save with the number of cancelled Sky Sports subscriptions if they did.Today's Herald seems to indicate that a deal with Sky / ESPN is imminent, and that it's not far from the current deal
CONTRACTS will be signed with Sky and ESPN to show 65 matches per season from the Scottish Premier League and Irn-Bru Third Division if Rangers newco's Scottish Football Association membership is approved later today. Sky will have the rights to 30 games, starting with Celtic versus Aberdeen at Parkhead next Saturday lunchtime, then Rangers newco's opening third division encounter at Peterhead on August 11. ESPN would have 35 live games and the first would be Dundee United versus Hibernian on Sunday, August 5.
Herald Sport understands that a deal involving the SPL, Scottish Football League and the two broadcasters – and including rights for 15 of the newco's league games per season – will preserve most of the value of the existing £16m-a-season television agreement for the current campaign. That will spare top-flight clubs from the most severe repercussions some had feared from at least three years without the Ibrox club. The television deal is agreed in principle but cannot be signed until Sevco Scotland Ltd's application for the transfer of Rangers' SFA membership is approved. That needs to happen before the club can play its first match at Brechin City in the Ramsdens Cup on Sunday afternoon.
You've been reading the DR too much. I'm sure, like me, you've never seen the contract between the SPL & Sky. I'm equally sure no one envisaged Newco being in the 3rd division & as such its hardly likely to have formed part of any contractual arrangement. From what I'm told I believe Sky could not pull the plug without paying compensation & anyway Sky have no intention of doing so. Remember Sky have 4 channels to fill, what are they going to replace it with, dominoes from auchenshoogle?
Benny Brazil
27-07-2012, 07:41 AM
Mind you, both Sky and ESPN have publicly stated that they would continue to the end of the current contract but will be renegotiating any extension/new deal, also remember BT vision sport are wanting to expand so this time around there might be some competition.
Might be time for the much discussed SPL TV to be looked into again - a subscription only channel - charging for example £5.99 a month available on all media (Sky, Virgin, BT) similar to what satanta did - potential say 500k customers - could be looking at £35m a year - more than double what we get from Sky just now. Would obviously be dependant on reaching the target customer number.
persevere1875
27-07-2012, 07:41 AM
Really cannot see Sky not supporting Scottish Football, they would lose more than they would save with the number of cancelled Sky Sports subscriptions if they did.
Really cant see Sky pulling it at all IMO, can you imagine the backlash if Sky were to be seen supporting British Cycling etc, which TDF and Olympics aside is hardly a crowd puller, but seen to drop the SPL just because some dodgy cheating **** are no longer there, apart from the subscribers backlash you'd have the likes of Mr Salmond kicking off in the press.
If anything, and again this is only my opinion, I would think they'll let this season run, see how the league looks toward the end of the season and then look to renegotiate which may not be a bad thing for all clubs concerned outwith the big two ( Ooops there' only one )
Am I not right in thinking that TV revenue split at present is set out in favour of Tics/Huns and more importantly with voting within the SPL set at 11/1 ? so without the Huns in the mix, surely no-one in their right mind is going to agree ever again to the Glasgow Giants holding sway over the voting rights on how the money is divvied up, we should never ever see again the days when celtic or rangers get all but the crumbs and the rest of the clubs get a fair share of bugger all, so in reality any new deal regardless of the size could still end up with a larger monetary value ending up it the accounts of the other clubs.
27-07-2012, 07:42 AM
Seemingly staff at Sky call centres have been telling customers that Sky will be showing SPL football this coming season, mind you they will probably say anything to get a sale.
The old TV deal would have paid all SPL clubs £600,000 each early next month. It’s feared some teams will be in severe financial trouble without that cash, hopefully this will be paid and we can then sign a few more players.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2012/07/25/sky-call-centres-tell-scots-customers-spl-will-be-shown-this-season-86908-23912233/
STAFF at Sky call centres are telling Scots customers they will show the SPL this season – even though no new deal has been agreed.
The satellite giants have dropped the SPL from their adverts and their press office are refusing to comment on the issue. But when the Record contacted Sky, posing as a potential new Sky Sports customer, a sales rep at their call centre told us: “It will have SPL on, I just couldn’t tell you how many games until all that’s confirmed to us.”
27-07-2012, 08:53 AM
There's the huns oober thread which would be more appropriate for the sky espn tv deal chat than this thread surely!!
This threads turned into a mess, cmon hibs give us something to really talk about signing wise.
goosefat
27-07-2012, 09:19 AM
:faf: Don't be silly...
Hibs-fan noun, verb, fan, depression, grumpy, sad.
noun
1. Follower of Scottish football team Hibernian.
2. Never happy unless moaning.
3. Doom merchant.
4. Requires at least 1 “marquee signing” in every transfer window.
5. Hater of referee Craig Thomson.
6. Fantasist
We have offered Scott Robertson heehaw.
Whit?? No even a trackie and a bag o monster munch?? 😉
27-07-2012, 10:40 AM
Whit?? No even a trackie and a bag o monster munch??
Heehaw is heehaw in any speak :wink: :greengrin
Green forever
27-07-2012, 10:41 AM
Whit?? No even a trackie and a bag o monster munch??
bad memories from the last time a bag of sweties was involved.....:grr:
Heehaw is heehaw in any speak :wink: :greengrin
😁
27-07-2012, 11:23 AM
noun
3. Doom merchant.
4. Requires at least “marquee signing” in every transfer window.
6. Fantasist
archiebald
27-07-2012, 10:40 PM
There was a press conference at Easter Road today - because I saw the cameras going in at 2-45 and Jim McArthur was sitting at stadium door. :confused:
muzzhfc
27-07-2012, 11:40 PM
hes our new back up keeper :agree:
27-07-2012, 11:41 PM
There was a press conference at Easter Road today - because I saw the cameras going in at 2-45 and Jim McArthur was sitting at stadium door. :confused:
Leigh Griffiths was on the news tonight holding the number 9 shirt and getting interviewed at ER.
Don't think it was for anything else.
28-07-2012, 03:41 PM
Anybody know how the trialist was at left mid today ?
dmc1875
28-07-2012, 03:47 PM
The only trialists were Maybury and Kerr.
Maybury was good, Kerr looked pretty safe but didnt do too much.
hibbymark
28-07-2012, 03:50 PM
Anybody know how the trialist was at left mid today ? Only 2 trialists for Hibs today was Maybury (left back) and Kerr (centre midfield) do you maybe mean Cairney who we sighned from Partick Thistle?
Twiglet
28-07-2012, 03:52 PM
What number was he wearing?t
28-07-2012, 03:54 PM
Well we all know whose agent he is don't we.
28-07-2012, 03:57 PM
What number was he wearing?t
Leishy1995
28-07-2012, 03:58 PM
I await to find out.
28-07-2012, 04:08 PM
Cairney. Quite a few in the East around me had no idea who he was.
I do wonder sometimes!
28-07-2012, 04:15 PM
I await to find out.
Our best goal scorer of the last 15 years.
28-07-2012, 04:21 PM
:confused: :wink:
28-07-2012, 04:22 PM
I await to find out.
So do i. :wink:
28-07-2012, 04:23 PM
Anthony Stokes is an agent? :greengrin
28-07-2012, 04:23 PM
Just the the last 15 years. :confused:
Leishy1995
28-07-2012, 04:40 PM
Clayton Donaldson?
Twiglet
28-07-2012, 05:02 PM
That was Paul Cairney.
28-07-2012, 06:01 PM
That was Paul Cairney.
Cheers, guy next to me said he was on trial.
29-07-2012, 12:41 AM
Cairney. Quite a few in the East around me had no idea who he was.
I do wonder sometimes!
Yes, I don't know how anyone wouldn't instantly recognize a player signed from the Scottish First Division.
29-07-2012, 12:52 AM
noun
3. Doom merchant.
4. Requires at least 1 “marquee signing” in every transfer window.
6. Fantasist
I'm quite happy to be a "moaning" "doom merchant" when it come to Hibs at the moment - it proves I'm still sane.
pedroorange1875
29-07-2012, 01:26 AM
Yes, I don't know how anyone wouldn't instantly recognize a player signed from the Scottish First Division.
My God we are not signing those kind of players, what ever next....worked for everyone else....still at least we are getting there
Looked very decent today:agree:
29-07-2012, 06:20 PM
Or seen any Hibs news on him, pictures etc?
29-07-2012, 09:19 PM
Lots of chat from Carlisle Lee Miller to Hibs!?!
29-07-2012, 09:48 PM
Sandaza & Mark Wilson still without clubs, both would be great additions for us.
Also Jason Scotland looking to return to Scotland seemingly.
hibeefan95
29-07-2012, 09:52 PM
Sandaza & Mark Wilson still without clubs, both would be great additions for us.
All three would be fantastic signings for us. Sadly, I can't see any of them wanting to come to us. :rolleyes:
29-07-2012, 10:22 PM
His cousin is one of my best friends at university, trying to sweet talk her into persuading him to sign for us :cb
I said Jason Scotland a while ago, he might be past his best though but definitely worth a look in training and a bounce match.
29-07-2012, 10:38 PM
Jason Scotland only signed a new one year deal with Ipswich this month?
yekimevol
30-07-2012, 12:33 AM
Daily record reporting that kerr and maybury will be signed up in the next 72 hours.
30-07-2012, 12:37 AM
Daily record reporting that kerr and maybury will be signed up in the next 72 hours.
After giving it much thought. Kerr would a decent signing for our midfield and Maybury could be a good right back :cb
30-07-2012, 01:49 AM
Good stuff, experienced SPL players who will slot into the team rather than try and change it for their own wants.
30-07-2012, 02:59 AM
Looks like Pat is happy with what he has now, he only needs a couple to support the team he has.
“We’re a little short in areas and need to bring in a few more to support the players we do have,”
I take from this there may be some more signings but is happy with his starting team. Great.
30-07-2012, 03:19 AM
Looks like Pat is happy with what he has now, he only needs a couple to support the team he has.
“We’re a little short in areas and need to bring in a few more to support the players we do have,”
I take from this there may be some more signings but is happy with his starting team. Great.
PF has said on numerous occasions that he is looking for good professionals with the right attitude and character to change the ethos of the place. He also said he wants a few more not a couple more, but hey...knock yourself out twisting the quotes to suit your own agenda.
KiddA
30-07-2012, 04:14 AM
I think this is a good move and great to have some senior players at the club. Also I think Mark Kerr will give our midfield a bit more bite :agree: I remember he got in a scrap with Rob Jones a few years ago and got a straight red card and Jones only got a yellow.
Does anyone remember what game that was? would like to try and find it on Hibs tv
I think this is a good move and great to have some senior players at the club. Also I think Mark Kerr will give our midfield a bit more bite :agree: I remember he got in a scrap with Rob Jones a few years ago and got a straight red card and Jones only got a yellow.
Does anyone remember what game that was? would like to try and find it on Hibs tv
http://www.afc.co.uk/articles/20090321/hibernian-0-aberdeen-0_2212176_45717
30-07-2012, 07:57 AM
Pretty sure Kerr was trying to square up to Ivan but Jones stepped in and the size difference between the two was hilarious!
30-07-2012, 08:47 AM
PF has said on numerous occasions that he is looking for good professionals with the right attitude and character to change the ethos of the place. He also said he wants a few more not a couple more, but hey...knock yourself out twisting the quotes to suit your own agenda.
Don't have an agenda thanks.
It's pretty obvious from what he says that irrespective of a 'couple' or a 'few' Pat only wants to add back up to positions. That was my point.
30-07-2012, 08:52 AM
Don't have an agenda thanks.
It's pretty obvious from what he says that irrespective of a 'couple' or a 'few' Pat only wants to add back up to positions. That was my point.
I don't think that was what he said or meant at all. That's quite a negative spin to put on things isn't it?
30-07-2012, 09:03 AM
"bring in a few more to support what we have"
Because "we are a bit thin in some areas"
Didn't think I was being particularly negative. Just seems like he is happy with what he has he just needs to add depth in certain areas.
30-07-2012, 09:20 AM
Didn't think I was being particularly negative. Just seems like he is happy with what he has he just needs to add depth in certain areas.
You'd need to take it in the context of everything else he has said about needing to up the quality and bring in the right characters and players who want to play for us. I don't think he is looking for people who are worse than what we have.
VickMackie
30-07-2012, 11:19 AM
http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/pat-fenlon-still-searching-for-new-faces-1-2439945
Says we have been outdone by teams in Scotland.
I'm guessing rangers and possibly Aberdeen for Hayes.
30-07-2012, 11:24 AM
http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/pat-fenlon-still-searching-for-new-faces-1-2439945
Says we have been outdone by teams in Scotland.
I'm guessing rangers and possibly Aberdeen for Hayes.
Pretty sure Hayes wanted to go to.Aberdeen because his missus is at uni there. Would imagine that's one of the ones we missed out on. Possibly Black to Rangers too.
No doubt it will become Hibs.net fact that we lost out on Hayes becaue Petrie wouldn't pay an extra 3p a week though.
30-07-2012, 11:24 AM
After every article I read I really do feel PF is the man for Hibs. We aren't going to be a fantastic team next season, but we should see one with more passion, guts and balls. Hopefully, as supporters, we all give him a chance. Top 6 this season would be excellent IMO, hopefully this is achieved and PF can build from there.
VickMackie
30-07-2012, 11:25 AM
I tread it the other way.
We need better players in the positions we are thin to support the decent ones we have.
30-07-2012, 03:11 PM
After every article I read I really do feel PF is the man for Hibs. We aren't going to be a fantastic team next season, but we should see one with more passion, guts and balls. Hopefully, as supporters, we all give him a chance. Top 6 this season would be excellent IMO, hopefully this is achieved and PF can build from there.
Let's hope so. I can't bear the thought of another pre-AGM assassination.
H1B33 1875
30-07-2012, 03:12 PM
A lot of rumours starting down here linking Hibs with Bournemouths Guadeloupe international defender Stéphane Zubar, asked a few Bournewouth fans and they say hes a solid centre half, sounds like a good partner for McPake at the back. Thoughts?
007 Mickey Weir
30-07-2012, 03:16 PM
Thoughts are we need midfielders and strikers first!!!
30-07-2012, 03:18 PM
Wikipedia must have just seen a boost in viewing numbers for the following page http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guadeloupe :greengrin
30-07-2012, 03:18 PM
My thoughts are we need to strengthen far more in midfield and upfront as opposed to a centre half.
30-07-2012, 03:25 PM
He signed a three and a half year deal just a few months ago. Seems unlikely.
Hibiza
30-07-2012, 03:32 PM
seems decent.:flag:
30-07-2012, 03:33 PM
My thoughts are we need to strengthen far more in midfield and upfront as opposed to a centre half.
Can't we do both ? Just because we are interested in signing another c/h doesn't mean we aren't looking at m/f and striker. We need to strengthen all three areas and imo a good,strong c/h is just as important as any other area just now. Lets make us hard to score against and then sort out the rest.
H1B33 1875
30-07-2012, 03:33 PM
We definately need another centre half but id agree with a midfielder and striker taking priority
Hibiza
30-07-2012, 03:40 PM
Why not , marquee signing , money in the bank. no doubt the doubters on , be brill for us.:flag:
30-07-2012, 03:42 PM
Can't we do both ? Just because we are interested in signing another c/h doesn't mean we aren't looking at m/f and striker. We need to strengthen all three areas and imo a good,strong c/h is just as important as any other area just now. Lets make us hard to score against and then sort out the rest.
We have Stephens and O'hanlon who can both play centre half ( Granted both are a bit grim:greengrin)..Even Clancy can play centre half, But we have Leigh till January along with Caldwell and Doyle,We defo need more upfront, We need a bit pace and injection in midfield too, A nae nonsense 6 foot hard bassa and a wide man IMO.
We finished 11th last season and IMO we are far weaker than last season and are certs for bottom 6 if we go with what we have.
30-07-2012, 03:42 PM
Why not , marquee signing , money in the bank. no doubt the doubters on , be brill for us.:flag:
Aye, keep imagining!
30-07-2012, 03:43 PM
Would think he would have better options than us tbh
30-07-2012, 03:45 PM
Whilst I agree 100% with you think that there may be a few stumbling blocks stopping it happening, [unfortunately] :-
1. Could we afford him.
2. Is Fenlon interested in him.
3. Would he sign for us.
If the answer to above is "Yes" then , like you I think we should go all out to sign him. Onwards and upwards.
30-07-2012, 03:46 PM
Mare chance if it was Tam McCourt.
H1B33 1875
30-07-2012, 03:48 PM
No chance! Hes always been around the Celtic 1st team and im sure he was linked with a £1m move somewhere, maybe Blackpool but not sure. We cant afford a £1m player!
LeighLoyal
30-07-2012, 03:49 PM
Could we get him on loan? Couldn't play him against them, but could light up the place. I doubt he's on huge money there coming from LOI.
30-07-2012, 03:56 PM
We have Stephens and O'hanlon who can both play centre half ( Granted both are a bit grim:greengrin)..Even Clancy can play centre half, But we have Leigh till January along with Caldwell and Doyle,We defo need more upfront, We need a bit pace and injection in midfield too, A nae nonsense 6 foot hard bassa and a wide man IMO.
We finished 11th last season and IMO we are far weaker than last season and are certs for bottom 6 if we go with what we have.
Yip, agree with you to a certain extent, my point is we should be strengthening all three areas, Defence - we desperately need another c/h as neither Stevens or O'Donnel are imo good enough, [even Hanlon is not up to standard,] Clancy , whilst can play c/h was brought to solve r/b problem and if played central we would then revert to same problems we have had at r/b for past 2/3 seasons.
Midfield - agree 100% with you, but is it MORE important than a decent c/h ? Possibly, however we should be looking to strengthen both areas.
Striker - Yes, we still require a "Target man" - aren't we supposidly looking at Lee Miller [Carlisle, ex Aberdeen] and the lad who scored 2 for St J at the weekend as a trialist ?
So to summarise, imo all three areas need better quality than we have at present and just because this rumour has surfaced doesn't mean we have dropped interest in anyone else. [By the way not having a go at you, just expressing my opinions]
As for finishing 11th last season, do you think we would have been as low if we had McPake from the start of the season ? I don't. Not saying he is superman or anything, but there were quite a few games last season we lost because one of our c/d made stupid basic mistakes, which imo stopped on his arrival.
Mare chance if it was Tam McCourt.
Quality Andy. ;-)
30-07-2012, 04:00 PM
Yip, agree with you to a certain extent, my point is we should be strengthening all three areas, Defence - we desperately need another c/h as neither Stevens or O'Donnel are imo good enough, [even Hanlon is not up to standard,] Clancy , whilst can play c/h was brought to solve r/b problem and if played central we would then revert to same problems we have had at r/b for past 2/3 seasons.
Midfield - agree 100% with you, but is it MORE important than a decent c/h ? Possibly, however we should be looking to strengthen both areas.
Striker - Yes, we still require a "Target man" - aren't we supposidly looking at Lee Miller [Carlisle, ex Aberdeen] and the lad who scored 2 for St J at the weekend as a trialist ?
So to summarise, imo all three areas need better quality than we have at present and just because this rumour has surfaced doesn't mean we have dropped interest in anyone else. [By the way not having a go at you, just expressing my opinions]
Hey mate not a problem :aok:
Do agree with alot you say:agree:
Be delighted if the Lee Miller rumour was true.
30-07-2012, 04:01 PM
Heard from a friend who has been right before that we are looking at a winger from Nigeria.
Not the greatest sauce in the world, but there you go.
Cannot remember if it has been mentioned but Gary Kenneth has signed fur Mark McGhee at Bristol Rovers.
Heard from a friend who has been right before that we are looking at a winger from Nigeria.
Not the greatest sauce in the world, but there you go.
Ejike Uzoenyi or something like that.
30-07-2012, 04:07 PM
http://www.metro.co.uk/sport/football/872487-paddy-mccourt-lined-up-for-shock-liverpool-switch
Surely there is only one place he will end up if true. ?????? 😁
hibIBZ
30-07-2012, 04:15 PM
link is a bit out of date as kenny dalglish got fired a few months back
30-07-2012, 04:16 PM
Surely there is only one place he will end up if true. ??????
That story is from August 2011 ya pair of plums! :greengrin
30-07-2012, 04:17 PM
Still shows the sort of admirers he would have...
30-07-2012, 04:18 PM
Ejike Uzoenyi or something like that.
http://www.goal.com/en-ng/news/4093/nigeria/2012/07/07/3226147/super-eagles-ejike-uzoenyi-sad-over-arsenal-tour
Pa's mate?
Egg on ones face after trying to be smart... Well I get what I deserve
30-07-2012, 05:17 PM
Whatever happened to that guy Malone we were being linked with?
Deek01
30-07-2012, 06:08 PM
Rob Jones has just been freed by Sheffield Wednesday...
30-07-2012, 06:10 PM
Rob Jones has just been freed by Sheffield Wednesday...
Id be delighted with Jones back.
30-07-2012, 06:12 PM
Jones and Mcpake at centre half would be most wonderful. Sadly, I think his family will want to stay down south.
loanheadhibby
30-07-2012, 06:18 PM
Jones and Mcpake at centre half would be most wonderful. Sadly, I think his family will want to stay down south.
Was on holiday in same hotel as rob jones. He would never come back to hibs as Scottish football was too repetitive . He fancied trying oz as his mrs has family there and he fancies way of life.
He'll be gutted as he is a big Wednesday fan and loved playing for them.
30-07-2012, 06:23 PM
Was on holiday in same hotel as rob jones. He would never come back to hibs as Scottish football was too repetitive . He fancied trying oz as his mrs has family there and he fancies way of life.
Barry karoake last night in Paddy's By the way:greengrin
Iceman1875
30-07-2012, 06:43 PM
A mate of mine told me that we were looking at Issac Hunt and Russell Sprout, not sure where he dug that one out from.....:spammy:
Think Patmore Rovers will want a good turnover after they dug him up out of nowhere.
It would be a turn up for the books if we signed him. As for issac I would prefer his bro Mike. ;-)
30-07-2012, 07:53 PM
Problem he will find in aussie is that he is likely to have to fly to the chairmans house if he wants to bitch about the manager....
loanheadhibby
30-07-2012, 08:10 PM
Problem he will find in aussie is that he is likely to have to fly to the chairmans house if he wants to bitch about the manager....
that was discussed and as he said to me the changing room had a lot of strong characters at the time.
woodythehibee
30-07-2012, 08:49 PM
that was discussed and as he said to me the changing room had a lot of strong characters at the time.
What else did he say about it?
Leishy1995
30-07-2012, 08:50 PM
Jones would improve our defence. Let's not be stupid. But we couldn't afford him.
30-07-2012, 10:47 PM
A whole lot of talk about a season long loan deal for Craig Forsyth (young central midfielder from Watford) on the rumours site. A lot of Bull is posted there, but this one has a lot of mentions.
If there's anything in it, he's a very good player.
31-07-2012, 06:46 AM
Im pretty sure Forsyth is a wide player (think he plays on the left). He does seem to have had a decent first season there, but they have new owners and a new manager, a loan deal might be possible if Zola doesnt rate him. Usually all the rumours on these sort of sites are rubbish though.
1875 NO 1
31-07-2012, 06:53 AM
Jones would improve our defence. Let's not be stupid. But we couldn't afford him.
Why? He's been paid up and contract cancelled and his last two clubs. HIs stock isn't that high.
Jones is better than we've got. But her aint no world beater. If he holds his position, he can do a solid job.
When hez all over the place trying to do everybody elses job he was a liability.