08-08-2012, 04:24 PM
So the recruits have been awful but yet you say
Ben - looks strong
Griffiths - semi-decent
Mcpake - decent
Cairney - remains to be seen
Clancy - did good, looks like the best signing
Deegan - too soon to say
I struggle to see how you come up with "awful" based on your own analysis of the players. They're either decent or it's too soon.
In SPL terms they're decent-ish, but in relation to a club of Hibernian's standard, they're poor. I also said 'pretty awful', and not simply awful.
08-08-2012, 04:26 PM
In SPL terms they're decent-ish, but in relation to a club of Hibernian's standard, they're poor. I also said 'pretty awful', and not simply awful.
We finished eleventh but yoiu reckon that they would be good at the clubs that finished above us?:confused:
08-08-2012, 04:29 PM
Williams - good goalie
Strong in comparison to Stack who was simply awful - I got lambasted for saying that too.
Sparky - Good footballer, did make mistakes last year he's said he's working on
Attitude problem and is inconsistent. Has talent but doesn't score enough goals. Massively overrated by our support.
McPake - Our best player by a country mile last year made permanent
Looked strong a lot of the time but was prone to the odd error. Definitely wasn't the messiah most claimed him to be, but I'm happy with him as part of the team.
Cairney - Time will tell as he's only played one game
Gamble
Clancy - Good signing
Potentially a good signing
Deegan - A club who are in the **** financially are glad to cut their wage bill a bit, plus we haven't seen him play yet.
They were happy to get him off the wage bill based on his prowess as a football player.
PETRIE :grr:
08-08-2012, 04:31 PM
We finished eleventh but yoiu reckon that they would be good at the clubs that finished above us?:confused:
What? Hibernian's standards are not, or SHOULD NOT be 11th place. Just because we finished there one season doesn't mean that's where we should be. Based on the size of the club, the wages we pay and the facilities we offer, we should be aiming for no lower than 4th place with Rangers out of the scene. If you want to be facetious, that's fine, but I don't think anyone can argue with that.
08-08-2012, 04:37 PM
What? Hibernian's standards are not, or SHOULD NOT be 11th place. Just because we finished there one season doesn't mean that's where we should be. Based on the size of the club, the wages we pay and the facilities we offer, we should be aiming for no lower than 4th place with Rangers out of the scene. If you want to be facetious, that's fine, but I don't think anyone can argue with that.
The mess that CC left us in, 11th was punching above our weight. By all means, CC's legacy should have seen us playing first division football this season.
We're at a low ebb. We aren't a top six club by any means right now.
08-08-2012, 04:38 PM
There is no devine right though. Hibs have been in a state for 3-4 years now.
We are thus unnattractive to most players and Pat has a whole mentality and attitude problem to solve throughout the club, as well as improve things on the park.
I'm as depressed as the next guy about our current state and agree Hibs should be 'aiming' for top 5 finishes every year, but in sport you don't achieve anything unless you earn it. We have to let Pat get on with his job in hand and support him.
08-08-2012, 04:38 PM
If anyone doesn't think Lee Griffiths is a good footballer, they need thier heid looked at. And Leigh's attitude problem was nothing to do with a lack of application - it's his tendancy for the red mist to come down, which isn't always a negative attribute when you gain a bit of maturity.
08-08-2012, 04:39 PM
The mess that CC left us in, 11th was punching above our weight. By all means, CC's legacy should have seen us playing first division football this season.
We're at a low ebb. We aren't a top six club by any means right now.
But we should be. The board constantly drill us with the message that that's where our target is, so we should be making signings to reflect that intention.
08-08-2012, 04:41 PM
There is no devine right though. Hibs have been in a state for 3-4 years now.
We are thus unnattractive to most players and Pat has a whole mentality and attitude problem to solve throughout the club, as well as improve things on the park.
I'm as depressed as the next guy about our current state and agree Hibs should be 'aiming' for top 5 finishes every year, but in sport you don't achieve anything unless you earn it. We have to let Pat get on with his job in hand and support him.
I do support him, and if you look at my previous posts you'll see that I'm more 'happy clapper' than anything - my alias is incorrect, maybe? That doesn't mean I can't give opinions on, what are, highly uninspiring signings. I do think it's time we return to our policy of letting youth play a bigger part, and maybe supplement a less experienced squad with one or two bigger names. Guess that's not an option now, though.
08-08-2012, 04:42 PM
If anyone doesn't think Lee Griffiths is a good footballer, they need thier heid looked at. And Leigh's attitude problem was nothing to do with a lack of application - it's his tendancy for the red mist to come down, which isn't always a negative attribute when you gain a bit of maturity.
Red mist has nothing to do with maturity? In what way could anger that clouds one's judgement be portrayed as a positive attribute? :confused::confused:
08-08-2012, 04:43 PM
Mackay-Stevens, arguably the best prospect this season was signed from Airdrie. Templeton from Stenhousemuir and I'm well aware there is more. So the point you make on cairney doesn't really fit.
And if i remember correctly more than a few on.here were 'unconvinced' by Mackay-Stevens when we were linked with him.
It's only since he's done well at United that us 'missing out' on him has become another excuse for the experts to have a go at the club.
08-08-2012, 04:43 PM
But we should be. The board constantly drill us with the message that that's where our target is, so we should be making signings to reflect that intention.
We should be top six but we aren't. Players looking for a top six team therefore won't want to sign for us.
08-08-2012, 04:44 PM
Is that really necessary? Why do people feel the need to make disparaging comments like that prior to making a reasonable post?
Yes, they've seen him training and 'rate him enough'. Unfortunately, Kujabi was also 'rated enough', as was Claros (who could turn out to be OK), Doherty, Francombe, Doyle etc. An old player from a mid-table SPL club isn't exactly the signing we should be making to push the club FORWARD. The signing stinks of desperation; the kind of signing a club looking at another relegation battle would make
I suggest that he hasn't hardly set the heather alight in the first division which could be an indicator that he isn't up to the standards of top 4 football in the SPL. Yes, the latter is true, but exceptions don't make a rule. I hope it comes to fruition that he is an excellent footballer, but for me it's a big gamble.
I would like both, actually. A couple of marquee signings supplemented with talented youth. Look at the teams from the top 6 last season compared to ours. The quality is not there, and how anyone can argue that it is, is seriously beyond me.
All of those players you mention were brought in in the January period when a) it is quite difficult to get players and b) there is a lot less time to properly assess said players. I also think Doherty was a good player despite being an idiot, and I actually like Doyle. The likes of Claros and Kujabi havent been up to it, but not every signing is going to be spot on. Also, a mid-table SPL club is a alot better than where we currently are, so yes, it would imo be a step forward.
We arent going to go straight from relegation candidates to top 4 though. Its all about taking the right steps to achieve that however, by building and developing a proper team. I fear for Fenlons job because too many people want instant success, which is almost impossible given the squad we have. Someone like Cairney, who knows Scottish football, was playing regularly and well for his club, is exactly the sort of signing that should improve us. The gap between SFL1 and the SPL is not big, and Ive no doubts he will be able to step up.
Noone is saying we have quality. Far from it. But if you look at the majority of those top 6 teams, there was a solid core of good, established SPL players, or they signed players with those qualities. Obviously if you have a solid grounding, then you can sign someone like Ojamaa at Motherwell, who was arguably a bit more of a risk. We havent brought in those players for quite a while, although the signings so far this window have taken us closer to that, its just we are so short overall.
08-08-2012, 04:46 PM
All of those players you mention were brought in in the January period when a) it is quite difficult to get players and b) there is a lot less time to properly assess said players. I also think Doherty was a good player despite being an idiot, and I actually like Doyle. The likes of Claros and Kujabi havent been up to it, but not every signing is going to be spot on. Also, a mid-table SPL club is a alot better than where we currently are, so yes, it would imo be a step forward.
We arent going to go straight from relegation candidates to top 4 though. Its all about taking the right steps to achieve that however, by building and developing a proper team. I fear for Fenlons job because too many people want instant success, which is almost impossible given the squad we have. Someone like Cairney, who knows Scottish football, was playing regularly and well for his club, is exactly the sort of signing that should improve us. The gap between SFL1 and the SPL is not big, and Ive no doubts he will be able to step up.
Noone is saying we have quality. Far from it. But if you look at the majority of those top 6 teams, there was a solid core of good, established SPL players, or they signed players with those qualities. Obviously if you have a solid grounding, then you can sign someone like Ojamaa at Motherwell, who was arguably a bit more of a risk. We havent brought in those players for quite a while, although the signings so far this window have taken us closer to that, its just we are so short overall.
That's a fair post. Can't say anymore, as it remains to be seen what the future holds. I hope I'm massively wrong in my assumptions though.
08-08-2012, 04:51 PM
That would be my preferred option.
It would be 95% of hibs fans' preferred option.
08-08-2012, 04:51 PM
We should be top six but we aren't. Players looking for a top six team therefore won't want to sign for us.
Players (at middling SPL level) look for money and the club itself. If the Board/Fenlon are able to sell a vision and back it up with some action/cash, the fact that we finished bottom six in the previous season would be a fairly minor point.
08-08-2012, 04:54 PM
What a lot of nonsense.
Firstly, Maybury will be coming in at some position within the defence (RB or LB) to try and tighten things up. Whats the problem with that? Are you happy for us to keep conceding goals every single week? Im not saying hes going to be the answer, Ive not seen him in the team, but theyve seen him training over the last few weeks and must rate him enough.
You also suggest Cairney wont be up to it because he came from the first division. Do you watch Scottish football? Plenty of players step up from the lower leagues, some of whom are the best players in the SPL.
As for your last paragraph, you moan that we havent signed any marquee players, but then go on to say we shouldnt be signing those players and instead bringing through youth. Which is it? To be successful requires a reasonably good mix of both youngsters, and players brought in. I also dont think the 'marquee' signing is something we need right now. Weve been there and done that, it doesnt really work. Id much rather have a team that works as a unit, stops conceding stupid goals and actually wins games. It wont happen overnight but Fenlon seems to be trying to take us in that direction (whether he gets the time to do so is another question).
Surely the last paragraph is in relation to the fact that if we do sign players they should be exciting, as the more workmanlike player we should be able to produce through our youth policy?
I agree with the theory that we should sign less players and focus on the youth squad. Might be tough at first but I think we have signed too many players in the past.
08-08-2012, 04:59 PM
Players (at middling SPL level) look for money and the club itself. If the Board/Fenlon are able to sell a vision and back it up with some action/cash, the fact that we finished bottom six in the previous season would be a fairly minor point.
The season before as well.
We're a club in what is hopefully only a temporary decline. We're probably not as appealing an option as many think we are.
08-08-2012, 05:05 PM
Oh, sorry Einstein. Yes, I'm brainless.
Well I'm glad you said it first.
For the record it isn't what I meant, but you're not making yourself out to seem anything other than exactly that.
08-08-2012, 05:14 PM
Calm down, I was not bring facetious. Either a player is of SPL standard or he isn't. You seem to be suggesting otherwise.
08-08-2012, 05:16 PM
Well I'm glad you said it first.
No, actually you did.
08-08-2012, 05:17 PM
No, actually you did.
Please direct me to where I called you brainless. I'm quite interested.
08-08-2012, 05:20 PM
Honestly, I think if anyone with a brain were to judge Paddy on his signings alone, they'd find him to be a very good manager.
Judging him on his signings alone, I don't find him to be very good. Therefore, I'm brainless. No?
08-08-2012, 05:21 PM
As much as i love the club please tell me how big a club you actually think we are? We last won something in 2007 and before that i was a laddie so not exactly world beaters, we are signing players that should be good enough on paper to compete in an utter garbage league
08-08-2012, 05:25 PM
And if i remember correctly more than a few on.here were 'unconvinced' by Mackay-Stevens when we were linked with him.
It's only since he's done well at United that us 'missing out' on him has become another excuse for the experts to have a go at the club.
Same when we were linked to Gardyne.
Leishy1995
08-08-2012, 05:27 PM
I'm not sure what point your making but i was pointing out that talent was found a lot in the lower leagues..
08-08-2012, 05:31 PM
Rumour doing the rounds that we are trying to attract Goodwillie [ex-Dundee Unt] to Easter Road on a season - long loan deal. Seemingly he is talking to both us and our neighbours. Anyone any inf on this ? Is it Tom Kite ? Surely some of you that are "in the know" club can shed some light on this rumour.
TowerHibs
08-08-2012, 05:31 PM
I'm not sure what point your making but i was pointing out that talent was found a lot in the lower leagues..
Think he was agreeing with u
As am I!
08-08-2012, 05:32 PM
Judging him on his signings alone, I don't find him to be very good. Therefore, I'm brainless. No?
No, what I meant by that is if someone who knew nothing else of Fenlon or his time at Hibs were to look at him, and were clever enough, they would see Paddy as a good manager because of the players he has brought in. If you have other reasons to believe differently then do so.
He has tried to bring in good professionals as well as good players, with a very tight budget. The players that have arrived so far are encouraging ones.
08-08-2012, 05:56 PM
Rumour doing the rounds that we are trying to attract Goodwillie [ex-Dundee Unt] to Easter Road on a season - long loan deal. Seemingly he is talking to both us and our neighbours. Anyone any inf on this ? Is it Tom Kite ? Surely some of you that are "in the know" club can shed some light on this rumour.
I ain't in the know but cannae seem him picking us over them !!
Money and current standing will dictate that as it did with Barr and Webster
HibsMax
08-08-2012, 06:02 PM
Decent-ish is better than what we are right now. It doesn't matter what standards we may have had in the past, we have to focus on the present, and the future.
Pretty awful vs awful - sorry but there's not much of a difference there IMO.
08-08-2012, 06:36 PM
So any rumours then or should we start a new rumours thread?
08-08-2012, 06:37 PM
Sorry, worded badly but I'm agreeing with you.
08-08-2012, 06:46 PM
I honestly don't know if he will sign or not or even if we are after him.
Am getting so disorientated I don't even know who I want to sign anymore.
Maybury, Kerr, Sheridan. Haven't a clue if they are the answer or not, somedays I think maybe aye other days maybe naw.
I am happy with Williams, McPake, Clancy, Cairney, Griffiths and Deegan though.
A yes to Maybury, the other two can take a hike.
08-08-2012, 06:53 PM
The Goodwillie to Hearts rumour has been.doing the rounds on kickback for weeks. Not heard anything about him to Hibs.
Strikes me as strange on a few accounts. Not sure what benefit Blackburn get from sending him up here, they know he can score goals in Scotland, surely League one or bottom half of the Championship makes more sense. Secondly if he was to come to Scotland I'd have thought Dundee Utd would be more appealing to him than Hibs or Hearts.
Fat Penlon
08-08-2012, 06:58 PM
Alan Maybury like so many of our players is a bottom 6 spl player at best. Cheap option.
08-08-2012, 07:02 PM
A yes to Maybury, the other two can take a hike.
Sheridan is a cracking foward. He'd do well up top with Sparky.
08-08-2012, 07:03 PM
Alan Maybury like so many of our players is a bottom 6 spl player at best. Cheap option.
Yet every season he has played in the SPL the sides he has been with have finished in the top 6 (in the time he was with Hearts I think Hibs only finished top 6 once or maybe twice).......seems to me that he is quite a decent player to have around Easter Road.
08-08-2012, 07:05 PM
Don't think he is a world beater but if he allows Hanlon or Clancy to move to centre back he could be a major signing. Add his experience and reported professionalism to the dressingroom and he could be a big part of the rebuilding process. Sort of Gary Smith player at the right time.
If he is cheap that would free up money for other players. Stop being so negative and see the positives!
Leishy1995
08-08-2012, 07:08 PM
Sorry, worded badly but I'm agreeing with you.
It's one of the most annoying things on this site, new signing has to be a barca youth player or he's no hibs class.
08-08-2012, 07:49 PM
Don't think he is a world beater but if he allows Hanlon or Clancy to move to centre back he could be a major signing. Add his experience and reported professionalism to the dressingroom and he could be a big part of the rebuilding process. Sort of Gary Smith player at the right time.
If he is cheap that would free up money for other players. Stop being so negative and see the positives!
:agree::agree::agree:
Fat Penlon
08-08-2012, 07:50 PM
Positives! aye ok then. It's a sad day for us when a 34 year old that nobody else wants is part of the rebuilding process or a major signing. If you knew me you would know that i'm one of the least negative people you could meet. I am more of a realist and the reality of this signing is it's CRAP! Kujabi/Stevenson/Hanlon or Booth could do just as good a job at left back if the defence wasnt so exposed all the time by the lack of any kind of midfield. I dont really rate any of those i have just mentioned either however the left back position shouldnt be our priority right now IMO our midfield should.
Why do we always have to go for someone who is cheap also? If they are cheap should that not set the alarm bells ringing? Look at all the cheap options we have had over the last 4 or 5 years!
Thats the beauty of this forum though it's all just my opinion.
08-08-2012, 07:52 PM
Positives! aye ok then. It's a sad day for us when a 34 year old that nobody else wants is part of the rebuilding process or a major signing. If you knew me you would know that i'm one of the least negative people you could meet. I am more of a realist and the reality of this signing is it's CRAP! Kujabi/Stevenson/Hanlon or Booth could do just as good a job at left back if the defence wasnt so exposed all the time by the lack of any kind of midfield. I dont really rate any of those i have just mentioned either however the left back position shouldnt be our priority right now IMO our midfield should.
Why do we always have to go for someone who is cheap also? If they are cheap should that not set the alarm bells ringing? Look at all the cheap options we have had over the last 4 or 5 years!
Maybury is cheap??
That can't be right, it was FACT on here last week that we couldn't afford him.
08-08-2012, 08:12 PM
Maybe he isnt being brought in to play at LB, and rather Clancy will be playing alongside McPake? We are hardly blessed in numbers at RB.
I think Maybury is another sensible signing tbh. Hes experienced in the SPL, can play numerous positions and had played a fair number of games last season (not someone who had been rotting in the reserves). Hes not going to be an attacking full back who will fly up the wings, but thats not necessarily what we need. Some stability would be nice for a change, and if we can get in someone decent to play on the same wing, we wouldnt really need him to be up and down the pitch all game.
If its such a cheap, bad signing, who do you suggest?
08-08-2012, 08:30 PM
Maybe he isnt being brought in to play at LB, and rather Clancy will be playing alongside McPake? We are hardly blessed in numbers at RB.
I think Maybury is another sensible signing tbh. Hes experienced in the SPL, can play numerous positions and had played a fair number of games last season (not someone who had been rotting in the reserves). Hes not going to be an attacking full back who will fly up the wings, but thats not necessarily what we need. Some stability would be nice for a change, and if we can get in someone decent to play on the same wing, we wouldnt really need him to be up and down the pitch all game.
Why is this line trotted out constantly, do you honestly think the poster is a scout and knows players who are available or out of contract?
The manager is paid to look at options, its his job to scout and bring players in. This is a message board that folk will discuss positively and negatively on players we are interested in.
Fat Penlon
08-08-2012, 08:43 PM
Doesnt matter who we sign or play at the back if the midfield in front arent there then they will concede lots of goals. Every time we sign a cheap option to plug a gap we may lose out on a decent midfielder because there are not the funds attract him. We dont have a midfield. Everytime i look at the team page on the official website i panic!
08-08-2012, 08:45 PM
Maybury is cheap??
That can't be right, it was FACT on here last week that we couldn't afford him.
Which came from Fenlon saying that he may not be able to afford to offer Maybury anything.
08-08-2012, 08:46 PM
Why is this line trotted out constantly, do you honestly think the poster is a scout and knows players who are available or out of contract?
The manager is paid to look at options, its his job to scout and bring players in. This is a message board that folk will discuss positively and negatively on players we are interested in.
No I dont, so why can the poster I was responding to claim that Maybury is a cheap option if he doesnt know whos currently available to the club, and the budget available to Fenlon?
08-08-2012, 08:49 PM
No I dont, so why can the poster I was responding to claim that Maybury is a cheap option if he doesnt know whos currently available to the club, and the budget available to Fenlon?
Maybury has been offered a contract on less than 50k a year, thats a cheap option in todays terms would you not agree?
08-08-2012, 08:50 PM
Doesnt matter who we sign or play at the back if the midfield in front arent there then they will concede lots of goals. Every time we sign a cheap option to plug a gap we may lose out on a decent midfielder because there are not the funds attract him. We dont have a midfield. Everytime i look at the team page on the official website i panic!
I totally agree that the midfield has been a huge problem area, but we have signed Cairney and Deegan. Difficult to say having only seen one of them play 1 competitive game for us but you never know, they could be the answer!
Will have to disagree with you on this one. If Maybury comes in and does a job then that'll do for me. If he plays and defends , by this I mean does the simple things and defends.
It's the SPL remember.
FWIW. I would play Maybury at LB and move Hanlon back into the middle. If not maybe play him in front of back 4. Making us harder to break down etc
Fat Penlon
08-08-2012, 08:53 PM
I didnt say he was a cheap option i was replying to PatHeads claim that he might be a cheap option.
08-08-2012, 08:55 PM
Will have to disagree with you on this one. If Maybury comes in and does a job then that'll do for me. If he plays and defends , by this I mean does the simple things and defends.
It's the SPL remember.
A back four of Clancy McPake Hanlon and Maybury is ok, better than what we have now but still not that great. Its further up the park where we are very weak thats my fear, and will create problems for whatever back four we select.
BH. Agree. Defend from the front and all that. Another CF or 2 along with a CH and MF required however u am hoping Deegan will do the business but he will need help.
Hopefully a better performance on Sunday.
08-08-2012, 09:01 PM
BH. Agree. Defend from the front and all that. Another CF or 2 along with a CH and MF required however u am hoping Deegan will do the business but he will need help.
08-08-2012, 09:07 PM
Anything worse, and this place will be in meltdoon! I am planning to watch (through ma fingers) :worried:
Fat Penlon
08-08-2012, 09:09 PM
I totally agree that the midfield has been a huge problem area, but we have signed Cairney and Deegan. Difficult to say having only seen one of them play 1 competitive game for us but you never know, they could be the answer!
:agree: I hope so!
08-08-2012, 09:11 PM
:agree: Until we have a midfield that can a) create, and b) defend, we could have Man City's back four and still concede more than we score.
08-08-2012, 09:14 PM
So any rumours then or should we start a new rumours thread?
I think we should bin this thread and start again. I read this every day looking for info on rumours, but all I read is people dis-agreeing with each other. Extremely boring!
08-08-2012, 09:20 PM
I think we should bin this thread and start again. I read this every day looking for info on rumours, but all I read is people dis-agreeing with each other. Extremely boring!
I don't know why all rumours have been merged into one thread anyway. Bring back the greggs board!
08-08-2012, 09:41 PM
I don't know why all rumours have been merged into one thread anyway. Bring back the greggs board!
Agree! This thread is murder.
Hibees07
08-08-2012, 09:47 PM
As this is a transfer rumours thread, I heard today from a Pars Fan that Joe Cardle was on Hibs radar. I've always thought he was a decent winger and would probably be a reasonable option under our current financial restraints.
08-08-2012, 09:51 PM
As this is a transfer rumours thread, I heard today from a Pars Fan that Joe Cardle was on Hibs radar. I've always thought he was a decent winger and would probably be a reasonable option under our current financial restraints.
I spoke to his dad today, and the only club he's spoken to is Aberdeen, although his dad did say he'd love to play for us. If he is on our radar there has not been any contact yet?
08-08-2012, 09:54 PM
08-08-2012, 09:55 PM
I spoke to his dad today, and the only club he's spoken to is Aberdeen, although his dad did say he'd love to play for us. If he is on our radar there has not been any contact yet?
Given our lack of option on either flank, youd have thought we might have shown some interest in a player like Cardle. If he would be up for coming to Hibs, its a bit annoying we dont appear to have shown any interest.
08-08-2012, 10:04 PM
QUOTE=JohnHughes;3319015]I didnt say he was a cheap option i was replying to PatHeads claim that he might be a cheap option.[/QUOTE]
When I replied to your claim that he was the cheap option! See below
"Alan Maybury like so many of our players is a bottom 6 spl player at best. Cheap option." 3536
08-08-2012, 10:07 PM
Any word on sheridan or indeed any other rumours??
Just maybury to sign in the next 2 days and Joe cradle has been mentioned but that's about it. I did overhear somebody asking fenlon about transfers today and fenlon replied by saying "I'm trying mate, I'm trying".
08-08-2012, 10:07 PM
The Goodwillie to Hearts rumour has been.doing the rounds on kickback for weeks. Not heard anything about him to Hibs.
Strikes me as strange on a few accounts. Not sure what benefit Blackburn get from sending him up here, they know he can score goals in Scotland, surely League one or bottom half of the Championship makes more sense. Secondly if he was to come to Scotland I'd have thought Dundee Utd would be more appealing to him than Hibs or Hearts.
He's very good mates with Templeton. DG is a friend of a friend.
shetlandhibee
08-08-2012, 10:09 PM
what about Deeko he would make a good combination with Griffiths
No thanks. Deeks had his time at the club and we cannot afford anymore passengers at the moment.
The guy has undoubted talent but his lack of application and work ethics is his downfall.
Instead if being in his prime he is struggling big time to find a club.
08-08-2012, 10:15 PM
He's very good mates with Templeton. DG is a friend of a friend.
.......................and is there any truth in the rumour or is it just that, a rumour?
08-08-2012, 10:15 PM
Loved him in his prime but nowadays the phrase "not with a bargepole" springs to mind.
08-08-2012, 10:17 PM
.......................and is there any truth in the rumour or is it just that, a rumour?
No idea about that (not spoken to the friend in between for a while), but he does get on with at least one of their players, which could make it attractive to him.
08-08-2012, 10:22 PM
No idea about that (not spoken to the friend in between for a while), but he does get on with at least one of their players, which could make it attractive to him.
Well get beavering and find out!
08-08-2012, 10:24 PM
Well get beavering and find out!
Pleasingly he wouldn't play for ZombieHuns :greengrin
McIntosh
08-08-2012, 10:32 PM
Agree! This thread is murder.
08-08-2012, 10:54 PM
Where are the strikers we need?
09-08-2012, 05:10 AM
At various other clubs I think.
09-08-2012, 06:57 AM
Same places as the midfielders, wingers and defenders we need, not at Easter Road! :greengrin
09-08-2012, 07:07 AM
maybe if we knew that, we'd find them :-)
09-08-2012, 09:16 AM
We must have more than just Maybury signed for this game.
It makes you wonder just how skint we are and how big a loss we're going to be posting this year.
09-08-2012, 09:21 AM
It makes you wonder just how skint we are and how big a loss we're going to be posting this year.
Agree and disagree.
We need more for the rest of the season, and the one after that and so on and so I'd rather get the right players eventually than worry about what we have for this one game.
I don't think it's only about being skint, I think it is also about Fenlon being absolutely picky about who he brings in. Which I think is a good thing given recent years where it looks like we've just gone for players regardless of whaether they are mentally up to it and without thinking how the team is going be led.
McIntosh
09-08-2012, 09:27 AM
It is a very tight budget indeed.
09-08-2012, 09:30 AM
Agree and disagree.
We need more for the rest of the season, and the one after that and so on and so I'd rather get the right players eventually than worry about what we have for this one game.
I don't think it's only about being skint, I think it is also about Fenlon being absolutely picky about who he brings in. Which I think is a good thing given recent years where it looks like we've just gone for players regardless of whaether they are mentally up to it and without thinking how the team is going be led.
I think the fact that English seasons havent started yet so players from that neck of the woods may be assessing options until they decide where to go. Also may be a loan option or two that comes up late on in the window which would improve us.
09-08-2012, 09:30 AM
Agree and disagree.
Agree and disagree Andy.
I don't buy the Fenlon rhetoric. 'Got to be the right players' was both the Mixu and Calderwood party line. In both cases we've ended up going for bargain basement when we couldn't get/afford/interest the 'right' players.
I think we're right back here again. Fenlon is on record that we've lost out on players to teams on a par to us. Sevco aren't paying anything like the figures quoted but are still able to sign 'the right players'. Arabs are able to sign, the right players. There's only us that can't and are then forced to fill the squad as the deadline approaches.
There's something else afoot. Whether Scott and Pat can't sell, or we're skint, or no one wants to come to work for Rod or whether players think they're better off elsewhere unless they have a 'special' connection to the club or whether last season and recent seasons have put them off I don't know.
We're struggling and I don't buy the public reason why.
09-08-2012, 09:35 AM
At various other clubs I think.
Same places as the midfielders, wingers and defenders we need, not at Easter Road! :greengrin
maybe if we knew that, we'd find them :-)
Ok - I walked right into the smart erse comments :greengrin
It will be horrific reading IMHO. The Ozzy fee will mask things a bit though. The loss will be a huge % of turnover!
Agree and disagree Andy.
I don't buy the Fenlon rhetoric. 'Got to be the right players' was both the Mixu and Calderwood party line. In both cases we've ended up going for bargain basement when we couldn't get/afford/interest the 'right' players.
I think we're right back here again. Fenlon is on record that we've lost out on players to teams on a par to us. Sevco aren't paying anything like the figures quoted but are still able to sign 'the right players'. Arabs are able to sign, the right players. There's only us that can't and are then forced to fill the squad as the deadline approaches.
There's something else afoot. Whether Scott and Pat can't sell, or we're skint, or no one wants to come to work for Rod or whether players think they're better off elsewhere unless they have a 'special' connection to the club or whether last season and recent seasons have put them off I don't know.
:agree: See my earlier point re loss:turnover % .. I think STF has said enough is enough and the Board are reigning in the finances to stop the losses/cash haemoraging. Despite the fact we NEED players - and I thought we'd see them - I am starting to think (fear) we won't.
gegs70
09-08-2012, 09:36 AM
I think a few them signed for The Rangers!!!
bargain basement bin is empty we were to slow.....
gegs70
09-08-2012, 09:39 AM
So can we round up who we are lookin at and who is still on trial at ER. Is maybury and kerr still there or are they waiting to see if they get a better option elsewhere....
Anyone else linked with hibs all seems a bit quiet....
09-08-2012, 09:49 AM
Agree and disagree Andy.
Is this once you ignore the fact that we've signed six players that fit with what Pat has been talking about?
What teams have signed more?
We just need a lot more than most!
09-08-2012, 10:10 AM
Is this once you ignore the fact that we've signed six players that fit with what Pat has been talking about?
What teams have signed more?
We just need a lot more than most!
More is relative based on requirement. Some teams have been managed a lot better than us.
With more ST holders than all except the Yams and Bhoys and with 16 out of the door..yes, we should have had far more by now and would've done if we'd not been told to bolt by several.
3 of your 6 asked their agents to get them to Hibs. Hardly scouting out those made of the right stuff. At least three are completely unproven as to whether they are the 'right' players or not.
You think Griffiths fits in to the right type?
09-08-2012, 10:13 AM
The fact that we look unlikely to bring in anyone else before Sunday now (that would be eligible to play at least) says to me, that the board have no idea just how important it is to the supporters to win this game after what happened in May.
That is unforgivable.
09-08-2012, 10:22 AM
More is relative based on requirement. Some teams have been managed a lot better than us.
With more ST holders than all except the Yams and Bhoys and with 16 out of the door..yes, we should have had far more by now and would've done if we'd not been told to bolt by several.
3 of your 6 asked their agents to get them to Hibs. Hardly scouting out those made of the right stuff. At least three are completely unproven as to whether they are the 'right' players or not.
You think Griffiths fits in to the right type?
On Griffiths, yes I do. Pat said he doesn't want choir boys, most of his character comments are about desire to win and effort.
09-08-2012, 10:25 AM
The fact that we look unlikely to bring in anyone else before Sunday now (that would be eligible to play at least) says to me, that the board have no idea just how important it is to the supporters to win this game after what happened in May.
That is unforgivable.
It's more important to me to be in a position to win these games and others over the coming year, just speaking for myself obviously but I don't want players brought in with just Sunday in mind.
We had the same sort of chat in Janaury about just needing a centre half for an upcoming game or series of games. Hibs were patient and the end result was McPake who was influential for us long after those games had gone.
hibIBZ
09-08-2012, 10:25 AM
i have a friend that works within hibs and 2 weeks ago he told me that the club was so tight for cash they struggled to pay the wages at the end of july. this was before the Deegan signing and he said fenlon only had money for 1 maybe 2. this was also before the TV deal had been finalised
09-08-2012, 10:26 AM
i have a friend that works within hibs and 2 weeks ago he told me that the club was so tight for cash they struggled to pay the wages at the end of july. this was before the Deegan signing and he said fenlon only had money for 1 maybe 2. this was also before the TV deal had been finalised
Trot on Yam.
gegs70
09-08-2012, 10:26 AM
That is unforgivable.
Yep tend to agree we seem to be bracing ourselves for a proper humping.
hibIBZ
09-08-2012, 10:29 AM
Trot on Yam.
all i am doing is passing on the info that he told me. no i am not a yam!
09-08-2012, 10:30 AM
Loved him in his prime but nowadays the phrase "not with a bargepole" springs to mind.
The state our team is currently in, who would it be that would keep him out of the team?
09-08-2012, 10:31 AM
Utter bull****. We can only just pay the current wages so we pay a transfer fee and wage for a new player? FFS...
09-08-2012, 10:32 AM
If the club had been struggling to pay wages at the end of July, why would they then give the go ahead on more signings?
hibIBZ
09-08-2012, 10:34 AM
that was before tv deal and ozzy sale. i can only assume that more money is now available. i seem to remember that 2 weeks ago we couldnt afford maybury...... now we are doing a deal
i have a friend
Yeah, right good one.
Who is your "friend".
How come he/she is privvy to sensitive info regrarding Hibs finances?
Why wait til now to reveal this info?
09-08-2012, 10:38 AM
that was before tv deal and ozzy sale. i can only assume that more money is now available. i seem to remember that 2 weeks ago we couldnt afford maybury...... now we are doing a deal
I think it's safer to assume that the story was rubbish.
hibIBZ
09-08-2012, 10:39 AM
plus he said 1 maybe 2. Deegan is 1 and maybury who hasnt even signed yet makes 2. as far as i can see there is nobody else being seriously linked to us which is very worrying
09-08-2012, 10:39 AM
I know 100% this is rubbish. So you're friend is either winding you up or you are indeed a yam. if you're not, and really are passing on info then you can go back and tell him he's talking out his @rse.
09-08-2012, 10:41 AM
What's happened to the rumours??
hibIBZ
09-08-2012, 10:43 AM
yes i am truly passing on what he told me. i do hope it is rubbish! but so far have seen nothing develope that proves what he said was rubbish. why wait to reveal? its called holiday, generally when on holiday im not going to keep %100 up to date with hibs
09-08-2012, 10:43 AM
What's happened to the rumours??
Signed for another side. :agree:
gegs70
09-08-2012, 10:44 AM
Its like chinese whispers....info gets changed further it goes down the line!
Im sure most clubs were worried about the drp in revenue with sky and the gers being in div3. Now thats been resolved....
I know 100% this is rubbish. So you're friend is either winding you up or you are
indeed a yam. if you're not, and really are passing on info then you can go back and tell him he's talking out his
@rse.
The standard of this years "bloke down the pub told me" type rumours is beyond shoddy.
hibIBZ
09-08-2012, 10:50 AM
The standard of this years "bloke down the pub told me" type rumours is beyond shoddy.
well this wasnt down the pub it was before an U20s game
09-08-2012, 10:52 AM
I heard a rumour that theres a guy works down the chip shop swears he's Elvis!
well this wasnt down the pub it was before an U20s game
So the standard of the "bloke told me before an U20's game" type rumours has went the same route as the standard of the "bloke told me down the pub".
Shame.
hibIBZ
09-08-2012, 10:56 AM
its up to everybody to make their own decisions but i know what i was told...... would love to be proved wrong but so far he was right 1 maybe 2
1 Deegan
2 maybury ( who hasnt signed yet)
hibbybrian
09-08-2012, 11:02 AM
2 weeks ago we had sold in the region of 8,000 season tickets which would have put about 1.5m in the bank - does your mate seriously expect you to believe Hibs have spent to the extent we couldn't afford to pay a months wage bill? :rolleyes:
hibIBZ
09-08-2012, 11:05 AM
2 weeks ago we had sold in the region of 8,000 season tickets which would have put about 1.5m in the bank - does your mate seriously expect you to believe Hibs have spent to the extent we couldn't afford to pay a months wage bill? :rolleyes:
i know thats why i found it very important he said that, why lie?
Plus the windfall of the dosh from a Cup Final.
Some people believe any old tripe they hear down the pub/before U20's games kick off.
On hearing some common sense applied to that old tripe they'll tend to hang on to believing it as the vital rumour they are spreading becomes their baby and needs protecting from the bad men shooting it out the water.
Old tripe in the close season, canny beat it.
hibsmad
09-08-2012, 11:09 AM
Although I completely agree that we can't have been close to not paying last months wages (8k seasons sold and money from final), I also can't get my head around why we have not signed more players than we have.
We started the season on Sunday with Stephens, Stevenson, Sproule and Wotherspoon in the side! I mean seriously, WHY??
Again I would like to state that I don't believe we are in any trouble, but is money down ER more tight than the fans generally believe?
hibIBZ
09-08-2012, 11:13 AM
Although I completely agree that we can't have been close to not paying last months wages (8k seasons sold and money from final), I also can't get my head around why we have not signed more players than we have.
We started the season on Sunday with Stephens, Stevenson, Sproule and Wotherspoon in the side! I mean seriously, WHY??
Again I would like to state that I don't believe we are in any trouble, but is money down ER more tight than the fans generally believe?
exactly. i thought it was a load of tosh aswell but the lack of transfer activity is worrying when the team is this bad
Thomson
09-08-2012, 11:13 AM
Signed for another side. :agree:
09-08-2012, 11:14 AM
Transfer rumours thread.
09-08-2012, 11:16 AM
its up to everybody to make their own decisions but i know what i was told...... would love to be proved wrong but so far he was right 1 maybe 2
1 Deegan
2 maybury ( who hasnt signed yet)
He must be pretty high up if he told you of Deegan. What does he do?
hibIBZ
09-08-2012, 11:18 AM
He must be pretty high up if he told you of Deegan. What does he do?
coach
Leishy1995
09-08-2012, 11:23 AM
Colin Nish will sign tomorrow. And plans to finish his career with us. Mark my words. This is 100% unreliable.
09-08-2012, 11:28 AM
Colin Nish will sign tomorrow. And plans to finish his career with us. Mark my words. This is 100% unreliable.
Complete balls.
What's your unreliable source?
09-08-2012, 11:31 AM
The Showumni triplets will fulfil a lifetime ambition and all sign for Hibs today. After hearing about the clubs money problems, the lifelong Hibs fans, will sign and play for free.
With one being a centre half, the other a wide pacy winger, and the 3rd a tall bustling centre forward, our team is at last looking strong enough to make a challenge.
Kerr Maybury and Cardle have also signed, cant confirm either way if they are getting wages?
09-08-2012, 11:31 AM
Complete balls.
What's your unreliable source?
I'm sure Leishy1995 has said the exact same thing before in this thread (aside form the 100% unreliable part), and it was rubbish the first time.
09-08-2012, 11:35 AM
I'm sure Leishy1995 has said the exact same thing before in this thread (aside form the 100% unreliable part), and it was rubbish the first time.
Post 3186 :agree:
Leishy1995
09-08-2012, 11:35 AM
It was true then and true now. Straight for Colin himself. Also he is aparently finished working on jumping and can now successfully jump up the way and get taller.
Green forever
09-08-2012, 11:36 AM
Well he's a liar and I'm not sure about you.......................
09-08-2012, 11:39 AM
The Showumni triplets will fulfil a lifetime ambition and all sign for Hibs today. After hearing about the clubs money problems, the lifelong Hibs fans, will sign and play for free.
With one being a centre half, the other a wide pacy winger, and the 3rd a tall bustling centre forward, our team is at last looking strong enough to make a challenge.
Kerr Maybury and Cardle have also signed, cant confirm either way if they are getting wages?
Not sure if there's an additional player signing over and above that lot, but I heard there's a player who's been shown round our wonderful training centre, everytime he asked about wages Rod stepped in told him to forget all that stuff and take another look round EM. He is defo going to sign, not sure of his height or build but he's either right footed or left footed and drinks like a fish.
maybe it's the chinese whispers thing when someone heard colin nish though.
or it could be purely post lunch boredom?
happiehibbie
09-08-2012, 11:39 AM
I read this thread and have just thought what a waste of time and effort
this should be closed and new thread with what the headline says transfer rumours
09-08-2012, 11:41 AM
Post 3186 :agree:
It's good to know that my memory isn't quite as bad as I thought it was; I seem to be recovering quite nicely from a misspent youth. :greengrin
09-08-2012, 11:42 AM
This is the most depressing transfer thread I've ever seen on hibs.net.
paul_hfc3
09-08-2012, 11:44 AM
Blackpool Hibs, king of sarcasm and being facetious. How do you sleep at night
09-08-2012, 11:46 AM
plus fee for osbourne and sell on fee for bamba as well! so there is SURELY money there?
it is becoming very frustrating that there is no news on anyone else coming to us
09-08-2012, 12:31 PM
Blackpool Hibs, king of sarcasm and being facetious. How do you sleep at night
Very easily, thank you for asking Paul? Why do you ask, are you having trouble in that department? Try watching reruns of any Hibs game for the last few seasons, that does the trick for most folk.:na na:
micka_weer
09-08-2012, 12:36 PM
Aye, but surely that's just like the time he told you he'd be true?
09-08-2012, 12:37 PM
Has Deek signed yet?
Leishy1995
09-08-2012, 12:40 PM
Fletcher handed in transfer request and wants to join hibs. Same person that told me about Nish, he's 100% inaccurate.
ivan03
09-08-2012, 01:19 PM
anyone heard anymore about the boy Forsyth coming on loan?
Think the scary thing is that there is a distinct lack of transfer activity but what's worse is that the guys with some contacts and info have heard nowt.
Very easily, thank you for asking Paul? Why do you ask, are you having trouble in that department? Try watching reruns of any Hibs game for the last few seasons, that does the trick for most folk.:na na:
It,s crappy negative posts like this that keep me away from here. I know you probably dont give a monkeys, it,s clear from your posts. And any sarcastic or childish reply is wasted on me BH.
It justs makes a mockery of this site, and posting negative boring and sarcastic stuff all the time does,nt make you right or funny. It makes you a bore in my opinion. Cheerio
09-08-2012, 01:31 PM
It,s crappy negative posts like this that keep me away from here. I know you probably dont give a monkeys, it,s clear from your posts. And any sarcastic or childish reply is wasted on me BH.
It justs makes a mockery of this site, and posting negative boring and sarcastic stuff all the time does,nt make you right or funny. It makes you a bore in my opinion. Cheerio
Cheerio. :rolleyes:
green glory
09-08-2012, 01:32 PM
Fletcher handed in transfer request and wants to join hibs. Same person that told me about Nish, he's 100% inaccurate.
Fletcher was linked with us a few weeks ago IIRC. Would be great if it's true.
09-08-2012, 01:34 PM
Post like this, justs makes a mockery of this site. :faf:
Leishy1995
09-08-2012, 01:34 PM
No way is he linked with us. Serious face, he's beyond the SPL. He's better than the championship. He's never coming back.
Nish on the other hand, tomorrow, new number 69.
Leishy1995
09-08-2012, 01:36 PM
I agree. At least Nish is of hibs class these days.
09-08-2012, 01:40 PM
Jessica Fletcher?
To solve the mystery of the missing midfield?
09-08-2012, 01:43 PM
I have been transferred to a different department at work, only an initial sixth month loan deal. No option to transfer permanently after the six months. Be good to gain some first team experience.
Cheerio. :rolleyes:
Typical expected reply BH. And laughing at your own post doesnt make it funny, but bash on. At least it will get your post count up. Well done
09-08-2012, 01:58 PM
Typical expected reply BH. And laughing at your own post doesnt make it funny, but bash on. At least it will get your post count up. Well done
Some of us can laugh at ourselves, but thanks for your permission.
HibsMax
09-08-2012, 01:59 PM
I stopped after the bit in bold. In case you haven't noticed all we've had recently are sad days. Simply put, we're not as attractive an option now as we might once have been, and we have to alter our expectations accordingly. We expect greatness from Hibs but we're nowhere near that yet. I fully expect Hibs to get back to former glory but it will take time (more than one or two seasons - we have a lot to repair).
HibsMax
09-08-2012, 02:05 PM
This gets trotted out all the time because people continually dismiss potential signings before they join. Suggest someone more suitable. Hibs get lambasted for (1) who they target and they get lambasted by (2) the lack of transfer activity. How can the club win? It would seem that Hibs can only win by signing certain players, players that the fans approve of.....and maybe those players don't want to come to Hibs. So what do we do.....sign nobody? See (2) above.
09-08-2012, 02:11 PM
This gets trotted out all the time because people continually dismiss potential signings before they join. Suggest someone more suitable. Hibs get lambasted for (1) who they target and they get lambasted by (2) the lack of transfer activity. How can the club win? It would seem that Hibs can only win by signing certain players, players that the fans approve of.....and maybe those players don't want to come to Hibs. So what do we do.....sign nobody? See (2) above.
Not everyone dismisses the players Max, there's some for and some against, surely thats what a message board is all about?
Some of us can laugh at ourselves, but thanks for your permission.
Again, sarcasm. I must try it sometime, that and laughing. Ta for the heads up :not worth
Ooooooooooo get her :bitchy:
HNA12
09-08-2012, 02:18 PM
Any need for the childish bickering? Please just try and stick to the topic.
I stopped after the bit in bold. In case you haven't noticed all we've had recently are sad days. Simply put, we're not as attractive an option now as we might once have been, and we have to alter our expectations accordingly. We expect greatness from Hibs but we're nowhere near that yet. I fully expect Hibs to get back to former glory but it will take time (more than one or two seasons - we have a lot to repair).
We do & the same incompetent incumbents that have put us in this dire position are the ones that's charged with getting us out of it & people wonder why there is some much depression amongst the support and on this site.
HibsMax
09-08-2012, 02:23 PM
Not everyone dismisses the players Max, there's some for and some against, surely thats what a message board is all about?
Absolutely. Not trying to squish free speech! :)
It's difficult to speak to everyone collectively because not everyone has the same opinions, but some do share them.
I just dislike it when someone says to me something like, "I don't like XYZ." and then leaves it at that. What's wrong with XYZ? What would be better than XYZ? I'm speaking in broader terms than football.
In terms of Hibs, we need new players, that's a given. I don't want to replace crap with crap but I don't expect us to be able to assemble a team of world beaters either. Give me the option, I'll take the very best player that is available. If he's not available, give me someone that at least adds to the team. No panic buys mind you, just players who will help us build. I know the rebuild will be slow. Anyone who thinks that we would have a MUCH better team now than we ended up with last season is a little unrealistic I would say. We needed to replace half the team. We're about half way there. Not terrible for one window.
That is not to say that I wouldn't have liked more, I'm just trying to be realistic about what Hibs could have done. I don't know that they could have done more. I don't know that they could have tried harder or earlier. I don't know why they missed out on some opportunities. If scouting for players is not the fans' job then neither is telling Hibs how to spend the available transfer money.
Any need for the childish bickering? Please just try and stick to the topic.
Well said, this thread has turned into a complete farce.
HibsMax
09-08-2012, 02:25 PM
We do & the same incompetent incumbents that have put us in this dire position are the ones that's charged with getting us out of it & people wonder why there is some much depression amongst the support and on this site.
True but this Hibs team is different than the one last season, although similar too. I am not going to base my opinion of Hibs' season on last week's game though, I will let us play a few more before I make my judgments. If I was to judge now it wouldn't be pretty.
09-08-2012, 02:52 PM
Absolutely. Not trying to squish free speech! :)
It's difficult to speak to everyone collectively because not everyone has the same opinions, but some do share them.
I just dislike it when someone says to me something like, "I don't like XYZ." and then leaves it at that. What's wrong with XYZ? What would be better than XYZ? I'm speaking in broader terms than football.
In terms of Hibs, we need new players, that's a given. I don't want to replace crap with crap but I don't expect us to be able to assemble a team of world beaters either. Give me the option, I'll take the very best player that is available. If he's not available, give me someone that at least adds to the team. No panic buys mind you, just players who will help us build. I know the rebuild will be slow. Anyone who thinks that we would have a MUCH better team now than we ended up with last season is a little unrealistic I would say. We needed to replace half the team. We're about half way there. Not terrible for one window.
That is not to say that I wouldn't have liked more, I'm just trying to be realistic about what Hibs could have done. I don't know that they could have done more. I don't know that they could have tried harder or earlier. I don't know why they missed out on some opportunities. If scouting for players is not the fans' job then neither is telling Hibs how to spend the available transfer money.
I wouldn't want to speak for anyone else, but i have given my opinion on Mark Kerr. I think the guys pish, and although we are very poor in midfield, in my opinion he'd add nothing apart from being another poor midfielder.
Maybury is different, if he signs and we move Hanlon back into the middle, i'd say we were making the whole of the back 4 stronger, we'd still have in my opinion a shaky back 4, but Stephens would be out and that has to be a good thing?
Its discussing players we are rumoured to be after, as you say free speech. This message board and others are built of this kind of thing, some think its fine others think its not, 99% of us wont be scouts or coaches, thats why i asked why folk always seem to ask who would you get, as if they should know the answer?
Supporters are giving their opinion, its not always if ever right, just their opinion? :greengrin
09-08-2012, 02:53 PM
Well said, this thread has turned into a complete farce.
Oh no it isn't.
HibsMax
09-08-2012, 02:54 PM
Oh no it isn't.
He's behind you!
Oh no it isn't.
Oh yes it is :greengrin:greengrin
He's behind you
09-08-2012, 02:55 PM
He's behind you!
Its answers like tha.......:lips seal
09-08-2012, 03:00 PM
I asked PF yesterday if we would have a new striker before Sunday and his answer was "I am working on it" :wink:
is this a 5 page argument or a 10 page argument ,,,,,,,,:na na::na na:soz couldnae resist,,[monty python 5/10 minute argument sketch]
bt
09-08-2012, 03:03 PM
I asked PF yesterday if we would have a new striker before Sunday and his answer was "I am working on it" :wink:
What a waste of a question. I asked if I could play on Sunday and he promised to get back to me.
09-08-2012, 03:09 PM
What a waste of a question. I asked if I could play on Sunday and he promised to get back to me.
Who will you be picked instead of?
Leishy1995
09-08-2012, 03:10 PM
Lads, pat's on the phone, he's wondering who has deek's number?
hibbill2002
09-08-2012, 03:16 PM
Lads, pat's on the phone, he's wondering who has deek's number?
its 01
09-08-2012, 03:16 PM
Is it possible to unread things?
This thread makes my eye bleed. If anyone tries to derail my Transfer Deadline Day Thread then heads will roll. Twice. :rockin:
09-08-2012, 03:19 PM
Is it possible to unread things?
This thread makes my eye bleed. If anyone tries to derail my Transfer Deadline Day Thread then heads will roll. Twice. :rockin:
Folk are already arranging a day off their work for another epic thread on deadline day. Let's hope the patter is as good as that wonderful day in January!
09-08-2012, 03:19 PM
Who will you be picked instead of?
Who wouldn't I be picked instead of?
09-08-2012, 03:20 PM
Folk are already arranging a day off their work for another epic thread on deadline day. Let's hope the patter is as good as that wonderful day in January!
We better not be blowing our budget before then.
09-08-2012, 03:35 PM
Has Deek signed yet?
Haha nice try......
09-08-2012, 03:38 PM
Funny, I asked him the same thing today and he said "**** off you nosey *******, to be sure":confused:
LeighLoyal
09-08-2012, 03:39 PM
Semi surprised Sevco haven't given DR a sniff. Too much Timothy baggage for the zombie hordes to take in I'll guess.
09-08-2012, 03:40 PM
Not a dickie ..
09-08-2012, 03:45 PM
That was one of my best days on this site, infact the best. This thread is like the current team and the january thread is barcelona.
09-08-2012, 03:49 PM
Mark Reynolds has returned to Aberdeen.
09-08-2012, 03:51 PM
Who gives a **** :confused:
09-08-2012, 04:00 PM
Funny, I asked him the same thing today and he said "**** off you nosey *******, to be sure":confused:
He canny like you then. :rolleyes:
09-08-2012, 04:09 PM
09-08-2012, 04:14 PM
Probably my favourite ever day on this site.
Is that thread still in the vault?
Leishy1995
09-08-2012, 04:25 PM
its 01
Cool he says he wants to trial.
Piqué
09-08-2012, 04:43 PM
It's a more interesting post than anything else from the last few pages in this thread. Would be a very solid addition to the centre of our defence had we signed him. Centre back not a priority for us right now though.
09-08-2012, 04:47 PM
.......................... to pick up his boots after leaving them at Pittodrie after the last game of the season??????????????
09-08-2012, 04:49 PM
He was rumoured before with a move to us, so i found it a good point so now i know he definately won't be.
dmc1875
09-08-2012, 04:51 PM
This "hibs rumours" page is 99% talk of anything but signing rumours.
Not anyones fault though, only passing the time as there seems to be hee haw activity down easter road way ...
09-08-2012, 04:51 PM
Would have taken him in a heartbeat.
Would have given good balance on left CH
09-08-2012, 05:02 PM
It is indeed. I've looked back on it from start to finish a few times now.
What. A. Day.
09-08-2012, 05:26 PM
It was fun on the day but a pity the signings mostly turned out to be Tom Kite.
09-08-2012, 05:35 PM
Semi surprised Sevco haven't given DR a sniff. Too much Timothy baggage for the zombie hordes to take in I'll guess.
That's not completely unlikely. He'd knock in 30 odd goals in Div 3.......if he could be bothered.
09-08-2012, 06:06 PM
It would have been nice to see him...to see him...?
09-08-2012, 06:11 PM
It would have been nice to see him...to see him...?
We could do with someone to have a good game.
09-08-2012, 06:27 PM
He never bothered his erse in his last 2 full seasons in the SPL so imagine how ma toss much of toss he'd give in the 3rd div
patch1875
09-08-2012, 06:28 PM
Looking at him on utube didn't he do well...
09-08-2012, 06:31 PM
Not anyones fault though, only passing the time as there seems to be hee haw activity down easter road way ...
Seconded, admins should close crap threads like this that go all over the place from the original post.
Gies a brek!
09-08-2012, 06:36 PM
If he signs, i wonder if he will help us go higher or lower than a 6?
patch1875
09-08-2012, 06:42 PM
Need someone to score lots of goals because what do points make.....
09-08-2012, 06:45 PM
Be a bonus if we get him before Sunday.
09-08-2012, 06:46 PM
Need someone to score lots of goals because what do points make.....
11th place :aok:
patch1875
09-08-2012, 06:47 PM
11th place :aok:
We will have to take that on the chin
09-08-2012, 06:52 PM
I suppose this rules out the Showumni brothers signing now, you get nothing for a pair?
09-08-2012, 06:52 PM
If he signs, i wonder if he will help us go higher or lower than a 6?
I wonder if we were so much better fans than last weeks?
hibbill2002
09-08-2012, 06:57 PM
Lets have a look at the old scoreboard
http://www.snspix.com/824581_Framed_Prints/print/685/824581.htmlhttp://www.snspix.com/824581_Framed_Prints/print/685/824581.html
09-08-2012, 06:58 PM
:agree: I am starting to come round to the school of thought that our club is run by a collection of clueless numpties - it is the transfer window, there is a derby coming up and we have an utterly demoralised support out there waiting to be enthused - what do we get??? not a frickin peep - nothing - nada!
I realise PF has a team to build and it can't be done overnight but a derby so close to the start of the season is actually a PR opportunity as well as an opportunity to pick up SPL points which should not be scorned - get a high profile(ish) signing in in time for the derby and the fans will get a bit excited, buy tickets and fill the place up - do nothing and there's a pretty high chance many supporters will just follow suit and watch it on the telly (most likely from between their fingers).
justlikebrazil
09-08-2012, 07:25 PM
:agree: I am starting to come round to the school of thought that our club is run by a collection of clueless numpties - it is the transfer window, there is a derby coming up and we have an utterly demoralised support out there waiting to be enthused - what do we get??? not a frickin peep - nothing - nada!
I realise PF has a team to build and it can't be done overnight but a derby so close to the start of the season is actually a PR opportunity as well as an opportunity to pick up SPL points which should not be scorned - get a high profile(ish) signing in in time for the derby and the fans will get a bit excited, buy tickets and fill the place up - do nothing and there's a pretty high chance many supporters will just follow suit and watch it on the telly (most likely from between their fingers).
Have a funny feeling Hibs will sign a striker in a mad rush just before the transfer window is about to shut!! Probably be from the Irish league or the lower divisions in England. Show some ambition Petrie for f*** sake!!
09-08-2012, 07:38 PM
Will we beat our 2 home wins from last seasons superb campaign....
09-08-2012, 07:38 PM
Lets have a look at the old scoreboard
http://www.snspix.com/824581_Framed_Prints/print/685/824581.htmlhttp://www.snspix.com/824581_Framed_Prints/print/685/824581.html
2-1 Hibs! That must be an old scoreboard!
09-08-2012, 07:50 PM
Never, ever going to happen.
A friend of someone who knows the legendary brothers (if indeed they are all male) fish suppliers told me that they have registered the Showumni Triplets as a brand name and they are going to enter the Eurovision song contest instead. They are advised they have a better chance of winning something than at Hibs and they will have more fans who support them regardless of how mince the product actually is. There is very little training involved and its in the contract that you can hang about in nightclubs.
09-08-2012, 07:56 PM
I think that's unfair. The club are obviously holding transfers off until deadline day for PH's deadline day thread, well played Paddy and the board :agree:
09-08-2012, 07:57 PM
I think that's unfair. The club are obviously holding transfers off until deadline day for PH's deadline day thread, well played Paddy and the board :agree:
Oh yeah, how'd i not realise that! Roll on 31st August! :greengrin
09-08-2012, 07:59 PM
Oh yeah, how'd i not realise that! Roll on 31st August! :greengrin
I always see the positive side of things :agree::greengrin
Where are the strikers?????
Leishy1995
09-08-2012, 08:10 PM
Same place our wingers are I'd guess
And our creative midfielder
09-08-2012, 08:11 PM
Asked the same earlier C! :grr:
09-08-2012, 08:14 PM
I've got a feeling we'll end up with Gary Twigg and we'll be told he was our main target from day one.
09-08-2012, 08:14 PM
It would have been nice to see [him]...to see [him]...?
Nothing for a pair,not in this game :greengrin
09-08-2012, 08:26 PM
I've got a feeling we'll end up with Gary Twigg and we'll be told he was our main target from day one.
Haha yeah like the signings so far yet we have missed out on 4 'quality' players so where were they on the list :agree:
09-08-2012, 08:34 PM
You sound surprised by Hibs lack of activity and lack of communication !!!
That is a surprise to me that someone is surprised by this !!!!
09-08-2012, 08:40 PM
I really hope we branch out and get at least another tree signings or leaf behind by our opposition. We can't stick with what we have.
09-08-2012, 08:45 PM
I really hope we branch out and get at least another tree signings or leaf behind by our opposition. We can't stick with what we have.
He's been linked with us for about a year now so i think all puns have been covered :wink:
09-08-2012, 08:47 PM
well we cant exactly afford players like James Forrest can we.. money doesn't grow on trees. So we might have to stick with what we have!
09-08-2012, 08:57 PM
We badly need two strikers
Not entirely sure who but we need more options
09-08-2012, 09:09 PM
We badly need two strikers
Not entirely sure who but we need more options
We only really need one striker imo. Someone new, Griffiths and Doyle, with back up from the two young guys. 5 players for most likely 1, but maybe 2 positions, is more than enough.
Id like really like a good wide player or two to come in. Sproule isnt really up to it now, and we are having to play players out of position we are so short in numbers.
patch1875
09-08-2012, 09:09 PM
well we cant exactly afford players like James Forrest can we.. money doesn't grow on trees. So we might have to stick with what we have!
Oaky oaky enough of these puns
09-08-2012, 09:11 PM
These puns are so annyoing its unbeleafable
09-08-2012, 09:11 PM
I hope we don't bring anymore players in! I do not see the point bringing players of a lesser standard in just to get rid in the January sales. No offence to PF meant, but I do not see enough of a difference to form any sort of confidence in our scouting and buying policy. Maybe those shouting for a director of football some time ago, had the right idea.
patch1875
09-08-2012, 09:14 PM
FirFS we have enough deadwood in this team
09-08-2012, 10:11 PM
We should go for usain bolt......very accomplished player apparantly
09-08-2012, 10:14 PM
The puns usually don't bother me too much but these tree-related ones have already been done to death multiple times with the Gary Twigg rumour :grr:
shetlandhibee
09-08-2012, 11:15 PM
Tchoyi looks like a gd Striker hes rumored to be in talks with hibs.
GGTTH!!
09-08-2012, 11:18 PM
GGTTH!!
Who?
Crazyhorse
09-08-2012, 11:18 PM
The puns usually don't bother me too much but these tree-related ones have already been done to death multiple times with the Gary Twigg rumour :grr:
Yew reckon?
09-08-2012, 11:20 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Somen_Tchoyi :dunno:
Who?
09-08-2012, 11:40 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Somen_Tchoyi :dunno:
Training with Birmingham city according to wiki????
09-08-2012, 11:44 PM
Your complaint has been logged.
Edinburgh Green
09-08-2012, 11:49 PM
GGTTH!!
Never in your life will he be at Hibs
10-08-2012, 12:34 AM
A thread on .net turning into a list of ridiculously un-funny puns. nice and original :yawn:
10-08-2012, 01:12 AM
Great, the only thread on Hibs.net for transfer news is being ruined by the Hibs.net Comedy Crew. :rolleyes::rolleyes:
10-08-2012, 04:13 AM
You should leave the thread if you're not happy bud.
10-08-2012, 06:17 AM
GGTTH!!
He's not really rumoured though, someone just made it up and put it on that daft football rumours website
You should leave the thread if you're not happy bud.
Some of us are daft enough to log on to try & see if there really are any Hibs Transfer Rumours around. Unfortunately to find that out you have to read all the c--p that's in this thread. I realise its an impossible task for Admins to monitor everything but I really do agree they should close this thread down & start again. Probably the worst thread ever on HN!
10-08-2012, 07:21 AM
Some of us are daft enough to log on to try & see if there really are any Hibs Transfer Rumours around. Unfortunately to find that out you have to read all the c--p that's in this thread. I realise its an impossible task for Admins to monitor everything but I really do agree they should close this thread down & start again. Probably the worst thread ever on HN!
I concur
Septimus
10-08-2012, 07:43 AM
And me