View Full Version : Greggs Hibs transfer rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

04-06-2012, 04:58 PM
We simply HAVE to be setting our sights higher than Tom ****ing Soares. If PF offers him a contract after watching him play in that side at Hampden, then he's not the manager I thought he was.

04-06-2012, 05:03 PM
I tend to agree with you. Soares had barely kicked a ball in 3 years before coming to up and showed flashes of quality. I'd give him another chance. With Griffiths gone we have no set piece specialist and Soares can take a decent set play. I wouldn't be disappointed to see him offered a 1 year deal with another years option. Fenlon evidently rates him and if he's worked hard pre season who knows.

sorry but i have to ask, do you seriously think sparky was a dead ball specialist :confused: his corners were ****** abysmal for a professional fitbaw player

04-06-2012, 05:05 PM
We simply HAVE to be setting our sights higher than Tom ****ing Soares. If PF offers him a contract after watching him play in that side at Hampden, then he's not the manager I thought he was.

lets hope it's only a rumour :(

04-06-2012, 05:08 PM
sorry but i have to ask, do you seriously think sparky was a dead ball specialist :confused: his corners were ****** abysmal for a professional fitbaw player

Asked the same thing earlier, you mentioned his corners but his free kicks from dangerous areas were absolutely honking, they'd always either go miles overor into the wall, used to really piss me off he kept on getting to take them.

hibbymark
04-06-2012, 05:11 PM
Im undecided on Soares but im very unexcited about our new midfield having Stevenson,Claros,Soares,Sproule and weatherspoon!:rolleyes:

04-06-2012, 05:20 PM
cast your mind back to his crystal palace days.. what a player stoke pay 2 mil for him, i think he needs another crack at the whip and because he has been released by stoke maybe some much needed fire in his belly. there is worse than soars he just needs to get finger oot.

04-06-2012, 05:21 PM
:agree:One of the things that makes the 19 May just about bearable is the thought that the majority of that team will never play for Hibs again. Most of them should never be allowed near ER let along the jersey. To even suggest that Soares - one of the laziest, ineffective players I've had the misfortune to watch playing for Hibs (in arguably the worst m/f) is a sick joke. Hibs have to set new standards at the club - way higher than guys like Soares.

Spot on. If Tom Soares is signed then the message is "Expect more of the same". I really, really hope I don't see him in a Hibs top again.

04-06-2012, 05:23 PM
cast your mind back to his crystal palace days.. what a player stoke pay 2 mil for him, i think he needs another crack at the whip and because he has been released by stoke maybe some much needed fire in his belly. there is worse than soars he just needs to get finger oot.

Thats the one thing he's rarely showed in his whole career.

gegs70
04-06-2012, 05:56 PM
was soares not more than a little injury prone and unfit when he came to hibs. I think we need to bring in the players as quickly as poss to get them working together as early as possible.

04-06-2012, 07:33 PM
Maybe PF knows that once TS has a proper pre season , we might see a player that stoke paid 2 million, getting back to that kind of form .

04-06-2012, 07:35 PM
I'd take Soares back if it was on our terms.

The boy obviously had talent, its whether he is able to get his fitness levels up and his desire back that makes him a risky one.

gegs70
04-06-2012, 08:03 PM
Can we afford to take that risk. Or realistically would he take a lower wage at hibs? Im pretty sure he will have a few better offers in Englush lower leagues?

04-06-2012, 08:13 PM
It had in the EEN today that fenlon had a decision to make on Soares. Personally I dont think Soarez is good enough.

He doesn't have a decision to make at all-there is now no connection between Soares and Hibs-he's just another freed player.

IndieHibby
04-06-2012, 08:28 PM
There is nothing in that article that suggests this is a possibility. There will be championship clubs willing to give him a contract paying way more than we can match.

Not. Going. To. Happen.

woodythehibee
04-06-2012, 08:35 PM
There is nothing in that article that suggests this is a possibility. There will be championship clubs willing to give him a contract paying way more than we can match.

Not. Going. To. Happen.

Don't think there will be many clubs after him if they have watched his performances in a hibs jersey.

McKenzie
04-06-2012, 09:43 PM
Said on SSN that Peterborough are set to sign Danny Swanson

04-06-2012, 10:58 PM
Said on SSN that Peterborough are set to sign Danny Swanson

That'll be his Swan-song re. coming to ER then. :cb

05-06-2012, 01:42 AM
Pity as he's everything Soares is not (knows how much Hibs mean to the city and to people in it, has desire and talent)

Maybe Posh will take Soares instead?

hibbymark
05-06-2012, 07:42 AM
He has one thing in common which is his injury record which medical experts are now saying is in his head.A fit Danny Swanson would be great for Hibs but there is a reason Dundee Utd arent bursting the bank to keep him.His appearance record last season and the season before is awful and lets not forget the person keeping him out the Utd team is the legend that is John Rankin!
Pity as he's everything Soares is not (knows how much Hibs mean to the city and to people in it, has desire and talent)

05-06-2012, 06:35 PM
does anyone here know anyone close to ian black or ian black himself? because if you do please put tell us whats going on!!

I did an SVQ course 4 years ago with his sister. Very pleasant young lady,

Blackburn Hibee
05-06-2012, 07:45 PM
Ian Black at Hibs? **** off!!

He's off down south to Burnley or some ****hole like that I've heard.
Thats where Black belongs in some **** hole like Burnley!

paul_hfc3
05-06-2012, 11:34 PM
I'm a Crystal Palace fan, truthfully. When he was at Crystal Palace he was without question one of our best players at one point. He was probably the last and worst out of the best players that got Ian Dowie's side promoted. I know it doesn't sound too good me saying 'hes the worst of a good bunch.' But I promise you when he left Palace to go to Stoke under Warnock it was expected that he was better than being at a mid table championship side.

06-06-2012, 12:13 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/hibernian/2012/06/05/hibs-join-chase-for-carlisle-defender-lubo-michalik-86908-23886110/

06-06-2012, 02:03 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/hibernian/2012/06/05/hibs-join-chase-for-carlisle-defender-lubo-michalik-86908-23886110/

My mate is a huge Bolton fan and in his own words the guy is "a big lump who can't be any worse that what's already at hibs" doesn't fell me with confidence

06-06-2012, 08:16 AM

Is that the Swanson that plays once every couple of months due to injuries that are supposedly in his own head?

06-06-2012, 08:22 AM
Is that the Swanson that plays once every couple of months due to injuries that are supposedly in his own head?

Aye but since he's a Hibs fan everyone is desperate to get him in so they can then slate him extra hard once he's here...

06-06-2012, 08:51 PM
Would an ex-Rangers, Ex-Man Utd, Ex-Derby goalkeeper be an exciting signing?

06-06-2012, 08:53 PM

Roy Carroll :greengrin

Godsahibby

Surley we only need one goalie, I hope Fenlon is no adopting Yogi's Keeper School! :wink:

Yep. Not as old as I first thought either.

Leitherhibs
06-06-2012, 08:58 PM
Yep. Not as old as I first thought either.

Hes awful, doesnt matter what level he's played at. A career going down faster than a thai prosti...

At The Edge
06-06-2012, 09:01 PM
If its Roy Carroll, hes 34, and would swell the ranks of Irish players at ER, his wiki states that he's currently with Olympiacos?
never knew that he came on during the N.Ireland hammering to the Netherlands at the weekend, then again never watched the 2nd half.

06-06-2012, 09:03 PM
Hes awful, doesnt matter what level he's played at. A career going down faster than a thai prosti...

Man U, Rangers, Derby, Olympiacos, Odense, West Ham....aye, he's no McPake right enough, he'd be well out of his depth in the SPL.

06-06-2012, 09:03 PM
If its Roy Carroll, hes 34, and would swell the ranks of Irish players at ER, his wiki states that he's currently with Olympiacos?
never knew that he came on during the N.Ireland hammering to the Netherlands at the weekend, then again never watched the 2nd half.

He came on at 4-0.

06-06-2012, 09:07 PM
Is this really on the cards then? Roy Carroll for the Hibees?! I think he would be a fantastic signing! :agree:

Leitherhibs
06-06-2012, 09:10 PM
Man U, Rangers, Derby, Olympiacos, Odense, West Ham....aye, he's no McPake right enough, he'd be well out of his depth in the SPL.

You know absolutely zero about goalkeepers if you think roy carroll, probably the most nervous footballer ive seen play is an excting prospect. Hes never been first choice at any club hes played with and many cases not even second choice. Signing players on a downward spiral has been exactly what is wrong with this club for the past few years.
Then again we've got mugs like you who can read wikipedia and spout all the clubs he played for (or not in carrolls case) so that makes him a great signing.

06-06-2012, 09:15 PM
You know absolutely zero about goalkeepers if you think roy carroll, probably the most nervous footballer ive seen play is an excting prospect. Hes never been first choice at any club hes played with and many cases not even second choice. Signing players on a downward spiral has been exactly what is wrong with this club for the past few years.
Then again we've got mugs like you who can read wikipedia and spout all the clubs he played for (or not in carrolls case) so that makes him a great signing.

Your opinion of Carroll does not make other people mugs or knowing zero about football!

06-06-2012, 09:16 PM
Is Carroll not nuts?!

What happened to Neil Alexander?! Was that just a load of pish?!

Leitherhibs
06-06-2012, 09:17 PM
Your opinion of Carroll does not make other people mugs or knowing zero about football!

People who use a list of a players previous clubs does, nothing to do with opinion. Another on here who struggles to read a post before getting on the keyboard.

06-06-2012, 09:19 PM
Is Carroll not nuts?!

What happened to Neil Alexander?! Was that just a load of pish?!

Roy Carroll suffered from depression. Big difference from " nuts."

06-06-2012, 09:19 PM

Yes. At his age should be at his peak as a keeper.

06-06-2012, 09:20 PM
People who use a list of a players previous clubs does, nothing to do with opinion. Another on here who struggles to read a post before getting on the keyboard.

Do you mean to come across so high and mighty or is it just the way you are?

06-06-2012, 09:22 PM
Roy Carroll suffered from depression. Big difference from "being nuts."

I didn't mean in that sense, aware of the severity of depression. I meant is he a 'crazy *******'?!

Niffy
06-06-2012, 09:23 PM
Jim Leighton was on a major down when he came to us... then he went through another great phase.

Leitherhibs
06-06-2012, 09:24 PM
Do you mean to come across so high and mighty or is it just the way you are?

The same could be said for yourself. Just read what is written next time..

06-06-2012, 09:27 PM

Haha there you go again, go and lie down in a dark room!

Scoopyboy/Speedway, i know you boy's are usually pretty much bang on with your Hibs knowledge reguarding potential signings. So, is there millage in this one or are you's just at the wynd-up getting me and others excited over nothing?? :cool2:

Jim Leighton was on a major down when he came to us... then he went through another great phase.

Spot on. IIRC there was widespread negativity at Leightons signature and yet he was a revelation for us and went onto play in the world cup and gain a further 30 or so caps. I reckon Carroll would be a great option for a goalie.

06-06-2012, 09:29 PM
I didn't mean in that sense, aware of the severity of depression. I meant is he a 'crazy *******'?!

He's a goalkeeper ffs. :greengrin

06-06-2012, 09:31 PM
Spot on. IIRC there was widespread negativity at Leightons signature and yet he was a revelation for us and went onto play in the world cup and gain a further 30 or so caps. I reckon Carroll would be a great option for a goalie.

:agree: An experienced keeper who has played at the top level would be an ideal start in rebuilding the side.

06-06-2012, 09:32 PM
:agree: An experienced keeper who has played at the top level would be an ideal start in rebuilding the side.

Agree completely! Would be a brilliant first step :agree:

06-06-2012, 09:38 PM
So Trapattoni is another mug who knows zero about goalkeepers :rolleyes:
Roy Carrol would be a brilliant signing for us :agree:

06-06-2012, 09:43 PM

Carroll has never played under Trapatoni?

06-06-2012, 09:46 PM
Carroll is crap IMO.

06-06-2012, 09:49 PM

Carroll is crap IMO.

Thanks, Giovanni.:greengrin

hibs4life

I have to say your comments are way too aggressive and not conducive to open discussion. Fair enough you don't fancy Roy Carroll for us but neither did many about Leighton when he looked bereft of confidence, so an opposing position to yourself on this matter is not only valid but justified.
If he signs and struggles, you can say 'I told you so' until then I'd suggest you disagree but try to be less brusque and confrontational with your style.
Just my opinion.....

350 appearances is pretty good from the bench, maybe mugs like you should refer to Wikipedia before making nonsense statements?

Leitherhibs
06-06-2012, 09:51 PM

Trapattoni? You really are about as thick as that sentence you've failed to construct. Trapattoni is manager of rep of ireland. Carroll has a fair few caps for NI under managerial greats like sanchez, worthington and recently o'neill. You base your opinion of him being a great signing on what? The clubs hes warmed the bench for?

Leitherhibs
06-06-2012, 09:53 PM
Carroll is crap IMO.

This. Ask ant derby fan and they'll tell you just how bad. Ive got 2 mates who are season ticket holders at pride park. They've seen dross like bywater and still rate him ahead of carroll

06-06-2012, 09:54 PM
Trapattoni? You really are about as thick as that sentence you've failed to construct. Trapattoni is manager of rep of ireland. Carroll has a fair few caps for NI under managerial greats like sanchez, worthington and recently o'neill. You base your opinion of him being a great signing on what? The clubs hes warmed the bench for?

Ok, he got the manager wrong. No needs to be so aggressive tho because someone shares a different opinion to yourself

Benny Brazil
06-06-2012, 10:03 PM

Maybe you need a break from the keyboard for a while - thats a few fellow Hibbies you've managed to insult in this thread alone.

Leitherhibs
06-06-2012, 10:03 PM
Ok, he got the manager wrong. No needs to be so aggressive tho because someone shares a different opinion to yourself

It was a facetious response to a facetious comment.

06-06-2012, 10:08 PM

Calling someone "thick" isn't facetious, it's out of order.

HNA1
06-06-2012, 10:11 PM
Can we keep this thread on topic please folks.

06-06-2012, 10:21 PM

Calling someone "thick" isn't facetious, it's out of order.

Shouldn't go around calling folks 'thick' when you're clearly in the habit of using big words you don't know the meaning of - like 'facetious'.

'Facetious' doesn't mean 'rude, belligerent, arrogant and aggressive'.

:devil:

06-06-2012, 10:36 PM
I famously remember Carroll from the blunder against spurs. As a spurs fan I was gutted that evening!!

06-06-2012, 10:51 PM
how did olympiacos get on this past season ?

Leishy1995
06-06-2012, 10:55 PM
Think we're forgetting that the poor standard of the SPL is a fairly easy league to play well in. Goalkeepers with half the talent of most championship goalkeepers can look good here.

06-06-2012, 11:00 PM

Wayhey Sweetheart, you're good value. Why 'absolutely zero' by the way? What's the difference between zero and absolutely zero? Perhaps Zero? Roy Carroll is the most nervous footballer you've seen play, is that right? He's NEVER been first choice has he not, not even for Hull and not for Wigan? The problem with the club over the last few years has been that we've signed players on a downward spiral is it? Please show me where I said Carroll was an exciting prospect (hint: You can't - I didn't)

What a throbber!! =) How much can you get wrong in one post?

Player's (apostrophe 's') Come on, at least give me a challenge.

Scoopyboy/Speedway, i know you boy's are usually pretty much bang on with your Hibs knowledge reguarding potential signings. So, is there millage in this one or are you's just at the wynd-up getting me and others excited over nothing?? :cool2:

All I know Double H is that we've asked and he's on good money where he is but that club he's at are skint.

As opposed to the enlightened intellect you've treated us to so far.

This. Ask ant derby fan and they'll tell you just how bad. Ive got 2 mates who are season ticket holders at pride park. They've seen dross like bywater and still rate him ahead of carroll

Who is 'ant derby fan'? You've got two mates, do they know? So two people, who hold season tickets and somehow they are qualified in their opinions about goalkeepers are they? Dearie me, it's not even sport, this.

06-06-2012, 11:35 PM
Spot on. IIRC there was widespread negativity at Leightons signature and yet he was a revelation for us and went onto play in the world cup and gain a further 30 or so caps. I reckon Carroll would be a great option for a goalie. I think you are a bit wrong, regarding Leighton,world cup performances while on the Hfc books. If my memory serves me right, he was the biggest stand out goalie in the league, at the time and yet the Scotland manager of the day, decided to opt for Andy Goram, the ex-Hfc ,Rangers goalkeeper, for the three games we played in. anyone, correct me if i'm wrong, or are we talkin aboot different world cups?

07-06-2012, 12:09 AM

Thank **** you're here. We've been short on our quota of trumpets for a while now.

Leishy1995
07-06-2012, 12:24 AM
Thank **** you're here. We've been short on our quota of trumpets for a while now.

Ultrabee1-0
07-06-2012, 12:42 AM
http://www.newsandstar.co.uk/carlisle-united/latest/carlisle-utd-defender-lubo-michalik-linked-with-hibs-move-1.961875?referrerPath=home

Never herd of him anyone know much of the guy? Mcpake&Clancy now this guy is his plan to play hanlon lb?:dunno:

sorry if posted else where!

Ultrabee1-0
07-06-2012, 12:44 AM
it says on wikipedia we have signed him on a 2 year deal?

SloopJB
07-06-2012, 01:07 AM
It has been discussed on one of the rumours threads. Don't know enough about him but in Fenlon I trust.

Ultrabee1-0
07-06-2012, 01:16 AM
It has been discussed on one of the rumours threads. Don't know enough about him but in Fenlon I trust.
lets hope so, clancy - mcpake&michalik - hanlon??? my only problem is i really like booth.

DAVE1875
07-06-2012, 01:21 AM
Nice to see another fellow Hibee make an ar*e out of themselves. Don't get why some people seem to think their opinion is law then get all high & mighty when people voice a different opinion. Personally I'd sign Carroll on a 1-year rolling contract to see how he does but also sign another keeper in case it turns out he's another Malkowski :greengrin

Ultrabee1-0
07-06-2012, 01:33 AM
roy carroll = experiance,fight & i recon he would give the team the wee bit extra bite!
better than stack&brown so i don't see why not?

FRes Hibbie
07-06-2012, 01:36 AM
He certainly has "pedigree" but I've always thought he's looked shaky whenever I've seen him. Presumably he'd command a fairly high wage so I'd pass unless we got him at a rock bottom price wage-wise.

07-06-2012, 03:06 AM

It said on the news we are talking to him but so are carlsile & other clubs.

07-06-2012, 03:33 AM
I would sell Hanlon. He's pish it as he is U21 capt we may get some money.

Not got wot it takes in my opinion

aussie_hibee
07-06-2012, 03:37 AM
lets hope so, clancy - mcpake&michalik - hanlon??? my only problem is i really like booth.

Left mid???

07-06-2012, 03:40 AM
Yep Booth left mid .. I've said this for over a year now

07-06-2012, 04:36 AM
Don't you feel like maybe it's time we tried Kujabi in Left Mid ?! I've heard several people talking about it, and maybe him and Hanlon could make a good attacking/defensive wing ?!

07-06-2012, 05:23 AM
Don't you feel like maybe it's time we tried Kujabi in Left Mid ?! I've heard several people talking about it, and maybe him and Hanlon could make a good attacking/defensive wing ?!

With two good central defenders, I would agree, but pace could still be a problem

07-06-2012, 05:31 AM
With two good central defenders, I would agree, but pace could still be a problem

Noted, and that could be a problem. I just feel they could be a good "over-lapping" pair each potentionally filling each others position.

07-06-2012, 06:22 AM
Speedway or anyone.......

Is the RC signing real or speculation?

Would be brilliant if true

07-06-2012, 07:36 AM
If Roy suffered from depression, does he really think coming to Hibs would be a great idea?:devil:

07-06-2012, 08:12 AM
Speedway or anyone.......

Is the RC signing real or speculation?

Would be brilliant if true

Post 705 Stu. We've asked about him.

07-06-2012, 08:29 AM
http://www.newsandstar.co.uk/carlisle-united/latest/carlisle-utd-defender-lubo-michalik-linked-with-hibs-move-1.961875?referrerPath=home

Never herd of him anyone know much of the guy? Mcpake&Clancy now this guy is his plan to play hanlon lb?:dunno:

sorry if posted else where!

Hanlon would just have to prove he deserves a place. We need to better at the back so can't just keep the team the same as last season. We also currently don't have a right back and Clancy has played there.

07-06-2012, 08:42 AM
I'd be very pleased if we were to sign Roy Carroll.

07-06-2012, 08:50 AM
Noted, and that could be a problem. I just feel they could be a good "over-lapping" pair each potentionally filling each others position.

this

Smidge
07-06-2012, 08:52 AM
I think you are a bit wrong, regarding Leighton,world cup performances while on the Hfc books. If my memory serves me right, he was the biggest stand out goalie in the league, at the time and yet the Scotland manager of the day, decided to opt for Andy Goram, the ex-Hfc ,Rangers goalkeeper, for the three games we played in. anyone, correct me if i'm wrong, or are we talkin aboot different world cups?

I think you've got mixed up somehow.

Leighton signed for us in 1993 and Scotland didn't play in an international tournament while he was with us. He left in 1997 for the Sheep and was then the number 1 during France 98. It was that tournament that Andy Goram walked out of the squad beforehand, thus avoiding the need for Pa Broon to choose between them.

In his pre-Hibs days, Leighton was the number 1 at the 86 and 90 World Cups with Goram in both squads - the latter as a Hibs player. Ironically, in 90, it was Goram who had a very decent claim to be number 1 as Leighton had just had an almighty clanger in the FA Cup Final and was dropped for the replay.

Edit - somehow I'd forgotten about Euro 96!! As per the post below.

littleplum
07-06-2012, 08:52 AM
I think you are a bit wrong, regarding Leighton,world cup performances while on the Hfc books. If my memory serves me right, he was the biggest stand out goalie in the league, at the time and yet the Scotland manager of the day, decided to opt for Andy Goram, the ex-Hfc ,Rangers goalkeeper, for the three games we played in. anyone, correct me if i'm wrong, or are we talkin aboot different world cups?

I seem to remember that Goram played in Euro 96 and Leighton in the 98 WC. He had left the club by that point but had played in the qualifiers while with Hibs, having a great game against Sweden in particular.

07-06-2012, 08:57 AM

Leighton signed for us in 1993 and Scotland didn't play in an international tournament while he was with us. He left in 1997 for the Sheep and was then the number 1 during France 98. It was that tournament that Andy Goram walked out of the squad beforehand, thus avoiding the need for Pa Broon to choose between them.

In his pre-Hibs days, Leighton was the number 1 at the 86 and 90 World Cups with Goram in both squads - the latter as a Hibs player. Ironically, in 90, it was Goram who had a very decent claim to be number 1 as Leighton had just had an almighty clanger in the FA Cup Final and was dropped for the replay.

+Leighton made a hash of the Brazil goal that knocked Scotland out of that WC.

07-06-2012, 08:57 AM

In addition, I'm pretty sure (though I may be wrong) that Andy Goram was set to be first choice for the 1990 World Cup until Jimmy Greaves slaughtered Leighton on a TV programme just before the tournament started - Roxburgh decided to be defiant and play Leighton. Of course, he was at fault for the crucial Brazil goal that knocked us out of the tournament.

(BTW we did play in Euro 1996 when Leighton was with us)

07-06-2012, 09:19 AM

I think the point the guy you quoted was making about leighton is at the time of signing him he had been binned by Man United and was at Dundee and not even getting a game, sure he was playing in the reserves. Coming to hibs resurrected his career, but when we signed him from not even getting a game at dundee people weren't exactly shouting from the rooftops about the signings.

Leighton was a great keeper but also made his fair share of clangers too, a specific 4-0 new years derby when he couldnt deal with a passback comes to mind. Back then when a keeper made a clanger he wasn't hounded out of the club by internet tough guys though.

07-06-2012, 09:27 AM

If memory serves right the only two players in the squad that never got selected during the two weeks in 1990 were Goram and Collins both at the time playing for us. Both got summer moves and hey presto became virtual Internationl ever presents. Funny that.:rolleyes:

07-06-2012, 09:47 AM
Hanlon would just have to prove he deserves a place. We need to better at the back so can't just keep the team the same as last season. We also currently don't have a right back and Clancy has played there.

I think Hanlon's development has taken a battering this past 2-3 years due to the pressure put upon him with crap managers and equally bad signings, Fenlon's probably looking to get an experienced pair at the back and then allowing Hanlon to be introduced once the defense has settled into a more solid unit. There's no doubting Hanlon has talent but too much on young shoulders hasn't helped, taking a wee step back might be what he needs.

07-06-2012, 09:50 AM
@TheTransferLad on twitter seems to think Wotherspoon is off to Sheffield United, couple of tweets on it (not a new signing but still transfer activity).

07-06-2012, 09:52 AM
I think Hanlon's development has taken a battering this past 2-3 years due to the pressure put upon him with crap managers and equally bad signings, Fenlon's probably looking to get an experienced pair at the back and then allowing Hanlon to be introduced once the defense has settled into a more solid unit. There's no doubting Hanlon has talent but too much on young shoulders hasn't helped, taking a wee step back might be what he needs.

100% agree with this.

07-06-2012, 09:59 AM
If memory serves right the only two players in the squad that never got selected during the two weeks in 1990 were Goram and Collins both at the time playing for us. Both got summer moves and hey presto became virtual Internationl ever presents. Funny that.:rolleyes:

Goram moved a year later.

07-06-2012, 10:02 AM

We cant punt the whole squad (alas!?!) and need a core of players who have come through the ranks, they may not be first choice under Fenlon's new team but having 2 or 3 players like Hanlon, Booth, Spoon in the squad is still necessary :agree:

07-06-2012, 10:05 AM
@TheTransferLad on twitter seems to think Wotherspoon is off to Sheffield United, couple of tweets on it (not a new signing but still transfer activity).

Would love this too be true! Wotherspoon should be no where near the Hibs squad. IMO the Scottish First Division is his level.

07-06-2012, 10:07 AM

Certainly a young man whose career has stalled a wee bit at Hibs and may benefit from a fresh start. Good performances for U21's may have brought him to some people's attention.

07-06-2012, 10:13 AM
Goram moved a year later.

Auld age plays tricks wi your mind:greengrin Any hoo you get my point they never became International fixtures till they joined the OF. Stunning to think we lost talents like these in consecutive years.

07-06-2012, 10:19 AM
Auld age plays tricks wi your mind:greengrin Any hoo you get my point they never became International fixtures till they joined the OF. Stunning to think we lost talents like these in consecutive years.

True of Collins. Goram became first choice goalie for Scotland in 1990/91 (his last year at Hibs) after Leighton's high profile errors and then being binned by Ferguson.

07-06-2012, 10:24 AM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2155410/Tomboy-football-captain-hangs-football-boots-make-Miss-England-hopeful.html

Petrie....sign her up! :greengrin

07-06-2012, 10:25 AM

Agree wholeheartedly.

IMO we need 4 players who can play central defence as they are always likely to pick up injuries and suspensions.

McPake, Hanlon, Clancy and the Slovakian would do nicely.

Clancy can play right back and Hanlon can play left back if required.

07-06-2012, 10:35 AM
Agree wholeheartedly.

IMO we need 4 players who can play central defence as they are always likely to pick up injuries and suspensions.

McPake, Hanlon, Clancy and the Slovakian would do nicely.

Clancy can play right back and Hanlon can play left back if required.

Agree and I think Fenlon has said previously that he likes smaller squad but with players who can play a number of positions if required.

I'm looking forward to the next few weeks, I love a signing and I always think new players are going to be the business, and they usually are for the first few weeks!

Has Kujabi ever gone on a mazy dribble like his debut again?

07-06-2012, 10:38 AM
Agree and I think Fenlon has said previously that he likes smaller squad but with players who can play a number of positions if required.

I'm looking forward to the next few weeks, I love a signing and I always think new players are going to be the business, and they usually are for the first few weeks!

Has Kujabi ever gone on a mazy dribble like his debut again?

Not that I can remember, was saying that a few weeks back - against Killie on his debut he handled a tricky winger in Dayton extremely well, whilst turning their RB in knots on several occasions. Very quickly became a different player, though even when in poorer form, he did always offer the best balance to our back four of any of the LBs we played last year IMO.

Sadly the cup final will probably haunt him for the rest of his Hibs career.

07-06-2012, 10:45 AM
Not that I can remember, was saying that a few weeks back - against Killie on his debut he handled a tricky winger in Dayton extremely well, whilst turning their RB in nots on several occasions. Very quickly became a different player, though even when in poorer form, he did always offer the best balance to our back four of any of the LBs we played last year IMO.

Sadly the cup final will probably haunt him for the rest of his Hibs career.

We seem to have a good record of taking players that look good on arrival and dragging them down to our level! Hopefully if the overall standard can be lifted then people's character and confidence can allow them to thrive instead of disappear!

07-06-2012, 11:12 AM
We seem to have a good record of taking players that look good on arrival and dragging them down to our level! Hopefully if the overall standard can be lifted then people's character and confidence can allow them to thrive instead of disappear!

Let's hope so!

Hopefully Fenlon can also sign some strong characters that will help lift the team through periods of adversity. Fergie always looks to sign players for Manchester United who have the mentality that he believes is required to play for them. Whilst we are obviously a world away from Man U, there's no reason why Fenlon cannot try and sign strong characters, certainly stronger than those who we have had in recent years - McPake signing would be hugely beneficial on that front.

Overall, the team needs a real injection of pace in all 3 areas, some creativity both out wide and in central midfield, and some solid defenders, as well as some real leaders on the park. Ideally, after being in the job for half an SPL season, I would hope that Fenlon knows what kind of formation that he wants to play in the majority of our games, and will hopefully sign players accordingly.

07-06-2012, 11:36 AM

Pat Stanton spoke to me in Jan of new players arriving who look great at first. You think "wow we've got a good one here..." But then a few weeks later you see why on their cv they have gone from club to club and played very few games...

Whoever we sign this summer I hope they were established players for a reasonable period of time before.

07-06-2012, 11:43 AM

Im surprised you have any mates based on the way you have been posting on here. Can you kindly wind your neck in and act with a modicum of decorum please.

07-06-2012, 12:22 PM
Im surprised you have any mates based on the way you have been posting on here. Can you kindly wind your neck in and act with a modicum of decorum please.

07-06-2012, 12:27 PM
I'd be very pleased if we were to sign Roy Carroll.

I wouldn't. The guy is an absolute bombscare who specialises in having zero goalkeeping qualities whatsoever.

Never seen making a great save, regularly seen performing like this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9guiLTciHk

07-06-2012, 01:53 PM

We tried Kujabi & he was found guilty!! Seriously, I think he'll find it hard to resurrect his Hibs career but I agree 100% re Booth. Give him licence to run at people & he could be the Scottish Gareth Bale! OK, so that's a bit OTT but I really believe Booth has had a real raw deal from Hibs in last few months.

07-06-2012, 01:58 PM
We tried Kujabi & he was found guilty!! Seriously, I think he'll find it hard to resurrect his Hibs career but I agree 100% re Booth. Give him licence to run at people & he could be the Scottish Gareth Bale! OK, so that's a bit OTT but I really believe Booth has had a real raw deal from Hibs in last few months.

Yep, baffling.

07-06-2012, 02:03 PM
Yep, baffling.

Not really baffling. He was in dire form when he dropped out then got injured I think. His confidence was shot after a number of mistakes, one game in particular when he passed back short a couple if times and I just recall him standing with head in hands watching.

It was right to take him out and keep him out, being close to relegation was not the time to be trying to get the guy through it. We were weak at the back and making mistakes every week. That largely stopped after we changed 3 of the back 4.

The game he did come and he scored covered up how awful he had been for the rest of the game.

07-06-2012, 02:11 PM
Not really baffling. He was in dire form when he dropped out then got injured I think. His confidence was shot after a number of mistakes, one game in particular when he passed back short a couple if times and I just recall him standing with head in hands watching.

It was right to take him out and keep him out, being close to relegation was not the time to be trying to get the guy through it. We were weak at the back and making mistakes every week. That largely stopped after we changed 3 of the back 4.

The game he did come and he scored covered up how awful he had been for the rest of the game.

Completely agree he was very poor in some of his latest games including selling a penalty in a derby at New Year. He is very talented however was getting caught out defensively more and more and can only assume he hasnt impressed particularly in the meantime. Who knows if he has a good pre-season and is very sharp he will likely force himself back in.

07-06-2012, 02:12 PM

Hardly. He was given a five year contract on the back of his promising youth career and some good performances on loan at a much lower level - he was then dropped after a succession of poor performances, before getting injured.

Now there is no doubt that he had broken into the Hibs team at a very difficult time, but he did himself no favours with his performances - add to that the fact that he doesn't seem to have a definite position to play. I agree that he may be worth a shot at LM, but sadly his weak tackling and poor aerial ability meant that he was targeted by the opposition as a weak link at LB any time he played there.

I think anyone who looks at Booth play can see there is a good football player there, but whether or not he makes it is still very much up in the air. I like him and I very much hope that he makes it as a regular first team player with Hibs - but to even mention him in the same breath as Gareth Bale is hugely disrespectful to Bale.

07-06-2012, 02:13 PM

That summation is 100% correct imo.

07-06-2012, 02:13 PM

Do you think the way he has been treated has made him more confident?:confused: Or dropping him. Boothy is a young player with a lot to learn, but when he first came in to the frame in the first team everyone was ranting and raving about him. Big future. 10x the player Kujabi is.

07-06-2012, 02:16 PM
Do you think the way he has been treated has made him more confident?:confused: Or dropping him. Boothy is a young player with a lot to learn, but when he first came in to the frame in the first team everyone was ranting and raving about him. Big future. 10x the player Kujabi is.

If he was he would be in the team. It was the correct thing to take him out of the firing line when he was in such poor form it is up to the guy to get nearer to the level expected. It may be he could do with another loan period to build his confidence again.

07-06-2012, 02:26 PM

Kujabi has done well, a poor spell in the final doesn't really change that. Booth was playing like that week in week out before he got dropped. He was being targetted regularly as a weak link.

He's good with ball but contributed to a defence that was basically a disgrace.

He will have a future if he toughens up, he seems like a nice lad and we have had a lot of those here that are just weak minded and losers ultimately.

If he wants to make it then he needs to work his way through this and back in the team. If he is beeter than other players we have he will be in the team.

07-06-2012, 02:29 PM
Kujabi has done well, a poor spell in the final doesn't really change that. Booth was playing like that week in week out before he got dropped. He was being targetted regularly as a weak link.

He will have a future if he toughens up, he seems like a nice lad and we have had a lot of those here that are just weak minded and losers ultimately.

If he wants to make it then he needs to work his way through this and back in the team. If he is beeter than other players we have he will be in the team.

IMO Kujabi was decent in the first couple games but detoriated rapidly. I'm not saying Boothy didn't go through a bad spell, but I think leaving him out the team for this long is a bit harsh, just my opinion though. Big season for him, if he gets his chance.

07-06-2012, 02:34 PM
Arnason not coming to ER: -

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18355257

Rotherham United have signed Iceland international midfielder Kari Arnason.
The 29-year-old, who can also play in defence, has agreed a two-year deal which begins after his current contract with Aberdeen expires on 30 June.
Millers manager Steve Evans told the club website: "Kari is without doubt an oustanding talent.
"The lad is technically outstanding, he is very creative in the attacking third and his all-round range of passing is top class."
Arnason has recently featured in international matches against France and Sweden and becomes the League Two club's seventh signing of the summer.
He has also played for Plymouth Argyle for two seasons before joining the Dons in July last year.

calumb
07-06-2012, 02:40 PM
IMO Kujabi was decent in the first couple games but detoriated rapidly. I'm not saying Boothy didn't go through a bad spell, but I think leaving him out the team for this long is a bit harsh, just my opinion though. Big season for him, if he gets his chance.

Think Kujabi was ok for the first couple of games but then he started to be targeted as the weak link just like Booth.
Both seem to be similar type players in that they like to push on up the park, maybe they could be taught to work together with one covering for the other when he is on the attack.

07-06-2012, 02:46 PM

The 29-year-old, who can also play in defence, has agreed a two-year deal which begins after his current contract with Aberdeen expires on 30 June.
Millers manager Steve Evans told the club website: "Kari is without doubt an oustanding talent.
"The lad is technically outstanding, he is very creative in the attacking third and his all-round range of passing is top class."
Arnason has recently featured in international matches against France and Sweden and becomes the League Two club's seventh signing of the summer.
He has also played for Plymouth Argyle for two seasons before joining the Dons in July last year.

Sorry to hear/read that as I really rated him and hoped we would sign him.

Baker9
07-06-2012, 02:51 PM

He needs to add bulk as well (in the way Lewis has this year). If Booth puts on a stone of muscle he could be a player. I hope he is spending his days off on the weights.

07-06-2012, 02:55 PM

Gosh. Rotherham - 10th in League Two.

07-06-2012, 03:07 PM
He needs to add bulk as well (in the way Lewis has this year). If Booth puts on a stone of muscle he could be a player. I hope he is spending his days off on the weights.

He also needs to be taught where to stand at set-pieces. A simple thing but the amount of times he was caught out he deserved to taken out for his own protection. Continuing playing him the way he was going would have seen all confidence disappear, probably never to return. FWIW I don't think he's a left back - left mid or wing would suit him better.

I like him but he's a log way to go before his game knowledge matches his undoubted skill levels.

07-06-2012, 03:56 PM
From SSN: Another piece of contract news from the Football League comes down at Walsall as goalkeeper David Grof signs a new one-year deal. Grof is the first out-of-contract player to sign fresh terms and manager Dean Smith is delighted.

Hibiza
07-06-2012, 03:56 PM
dont listen to Chick Young, a proven waste of space. :flag:

07-06-2012, 04:33 PM
Do we know if Johnny Hayes has been confirmed at the sheep? I really hope not I think he would be a great signing for us and he would be a player that we could get excited about watching.

07-06-2012, 04:39 PM
Do we know if Johnny Hayes has been confirmed at the sheep? I really hope not I think he would be a great signing for us and he would be a player that we could get excited about watching.

The journo from the express who tends to e pretty spot on reckons its a done deal to the sheep

07-06-2012, 04:52 PM
Read from one of the journalists that Hayes is taking up the majority of Aberdeens budget for the year. Hayes is a decent player and someone I would like at Hibs, but thats crazy if true.

07-06-2012, 05:07 PM
The journo from the express who tends to e pretty spot on reckons its a done deal to the sheep

Cheers Callum, I was hoping for Hayes to have had a change of heart on holiday and be sporting the new away top the mora with McPake :boo hoo:

Oh well hope Pat has someone better lined up :pfgwa

fit o' the walk
07-06-2012, 05:09 PM
Although Hibs have never stated that they were signing targets for us,that's 3 decent players not coming to us,Swanson,Arnason and Hayes,assuming Hayes goes to the Dons. :confused:

07-06-2012, 05:17 PM
Although Hibs have never stated that they were signing targets for us,that's 3 decent players not coming to us,Swanson,Arnason and Hayes,assuming Hayes goes to the Dons. :confused:

Yup, you'll probably get slated for that post but I agree.

Swanson wanted to go down south but the other two were proven good SPL players. I know its still early days but the early signs to me aren't suggesting we've learned any lessons from previous windows.

I was hoping this summer could be a real statement of intent from our board but I'm not seeing any of that yet.

fit o' the walk
07-06-2012, 05:23 PM

Swanson wanted to go down south but the other two were proven good SPL players. I know its still early days but the early signs to me aren't suggesting we've learned any lessons from previous windows.

I was hoping this summer could be a real statement of intent from our board but I'm not seeing any of that yet.Can't see why i should be slated,3 decent players who i wouldn't have minded seeing at Hibs,hopefully the Dons deal for Hayes falls thru and we nick him.

07-06-2012, 05:28 PM

I was hoping this summer could be a real statement of intent from our board but I'm not seeing any of that yet.

:agree: It's early days but I'm the same. If we were competing with Aberdeen for a player this is exactly the time to show that we're serious about sorting out the mess that we've become.

We simply can't afford to go another transfer windows with our fingers crossed that players are going to be good enough. We need to look at signing players that would have got into Motherwell's team last year, for example.

07-06-2012, 05:51 PM
Can't see why i should be slated,3 decent players who i wouldn't have minded seeing at Hibs,hopefully the Dons deal for Hayes falls thru and we nick him.

Yeah, i think normally though you'd be getting told to be patient, we can't sign everyone etc....

TBF i'd normally be one of the people saying it but this summer is different, we need action from the manager and the board so i was hoping for pre-contract agreements and the signing of players like you mentioned, not much signs of that so far though.

:agree: It's early days but I'm the same. If we were competing with Aberdeen for a player this is exactly the time to show that we're serious about sorting out the mess that we've become.

We simply can't afford to go another transfer windows with our fingers crossed that players are going to be good enough. We need to look at signing players that would have got into Motherwell's team last year, for example.

Hope you take this the right way Matty but if fans like you are saying that then i really hope the board fully understand how we're feeling, you're obviously one of the more positive hibs fans and generally stick up for and defend most things Hibs and if you're concerned like me i dread to think how worried the original doom and gloomers are!

07-06-2012, 06:04 PM
You really are about as thick as that sentence you've failed to construct. Trapattoni is manager of rep of ireland. Carroll has a fair few caps for NI under managerial greats like sanchez, worthington and recently o'neill. You base your opinion of him being a great signing on what? The clubs hes warmed the bench for?

Trapattoni is the manager of the Republic of Ireland. Carroll has won 20 caps for Northern Ireland under managerial greats like Sanchez, Worthington and more recently, O' Neill. What is your opinion of him being a great signing based upon? The clubs for whom he's warmed the bench?

07-06-2012, 06:06 PM
If Swanson was as good as some people think he'd still be at United.

07-06-2012, 06:17 PM
Yeah, i think normally though you'd be getting told to be patient, we can't sign everyone etc....

TBF i'd normally be one of the people saying it but this summer is different, we need action from the manager and the board so i was hoping for pre-contract agreements and the signing of players like you mentioned, not much signs of that so far though.

Hope you take this the right way Matty but if fans like you are saying that then i really hope the board fully understand how we're feeling, you're obviously one of the more positive hibs fans and generally stick up for and defend most things Hibs and if you're concerned like me i dread to think how worried the original doom and gloomers are!

:greengrin I know what you mean!

I've always maintained that the theory behind the board's strategy has been sound, and I think the big decisions they've made (stand/training centre) will reap rewards long term. Where I think they've been found wanting is in managing the change at the club with the numerous managers coming and going.

They've clearly been well intentioned with trying to get funds in to the various managers to bring players in but we've been on a steady downward trajectory for some time now. I think the board need to make it known that it's not enough for us just to survive, there has to be genuine ambition and if they want Fenlon to make us a top 4 side then they have to fund the spend on bringing top 4 level players in. They did it with Yogi (Stokes, Miller) and we finished 4th almost despite Yogi it seems.

If there's not enough money at the club just now to fund that level of spend then the board have a duty to all of us and Fenlon, to work night and day to find a way to source those funds either through manageable borrowing or going after 'investment' (ok, it's not investment because nobody's making money, but there are folk with capital that would put money into the club at a reasonable level).

IMHO, the wrong choices this summer will cripple the club for years. We were staring into the abyss of first division football this season, as we were for a good part of the previous season. We were a result or two away from being a non-SPL club. That would be almost fatal for a club of our size. The margins are too narrow to take chances with, Fenlon needs enough money to practically guarantee top 6 football (and I know the arguments about money not being able to guarantee anything, but teams that spend more consistently do better than those that don't).

07-06-2012, 06:26 PM

Aye man Utd :-)

07-06-2012, 06:30 PM

Can you explain that one please?

07-06-2012, 07:14 PM
Hardly. He was given a five year contract on the back of his promising youth career and some good performances on loan at a much lower level - he was then dropped after a succession of poor performances, before getting injured.

Now there is no doubt that he had broken into the Hibs team at a very difficult time, but he did himself no favours with his performances - add to that the fact that he doesn't seem to have a definite position to play. I agree that he may be worth a shot at LM, but sadly his weak tackling and poor aerial ability meant that he was targeted by the opposition as a weak link at LB any time he played there.

I think anyone who looks at Booth play can see there is a good football player there, but whether or not he makes it is still very much up in the air. I like him and I very much hope that he makes it as a regular first team player with Hibs - but to even mention him in the same breath as Gareth Bale is hugely disrespectful to Bale.

The fact he was given a 5 year contract at the beginning of the season does not mean he wasn't badly treated in the latter part of the season. From memory he didn't play after the St J game at home, a game in which he scored a superb goal. Remember, our back 4 that day was Hart, Stephens, Hanlon & Booth!! Directly in front of Booth was Ivan who gave him no cover whatsoever. I think he was only on the bench once more albeit he was injured part of the time. Re the part in bold above those are by far the weakest parts of Kujabi's game, I'd back Booth over him in those areas every time. Finally, re Gareth Bale, think back a couple of years. A young man with developing talent bought at a huge price & seen as a failure, booed by the Spurs fans. Played wide left one day through necessity & suddenly he's a hero & Harry's a genius. Of course it could have been worse, I could have compared Booth to Roberto Carlos, now no one would do that surely!!:wink:

Devine
07-06-2012, 07:51 PM

I've always maintained that the theory behind the board's strategy has been sound, and I think the big decisions they've made (stand/training centre) will reap rewards long term. Where I think they've been found wanting is in managing the change at the club with the numerous managers coming and going.

They've clearly been well intentioned with trying to get funds in to the various managers to bring players in but we've been on a steady downward trajectory for some time now. I think the board need to make it known that it's not enough for us just to survive, there has to be genuine ambition and if they want Fenlon to make us a top 4 side then they have to fund the spend on bringing top 4 level players in. They dBid it with Yogi (Stokes, Miller) and we finished 4th almost despite Yogi it seems.

If there's not enough money at the club just now to fund that level of spend then the board have a duty to all of us and Fenlon, to work night and day to find a way to source those funds either through manageable borrowing or going after 'investment' (ok, it's not investment because nobody's making money, but there are folk with capital that would put money into the club at a reasonable level).

IMHO, the wrong choices this summer will cripple the club for years. We were staring into the abyss of first division football this season, as we were for a good part of the previous season. We were a result or two away from being a non-SPL club. That would be almost fatal for a club of our size. The margins are too narrow to take chances with, Fenlon needs enough money to practically guarantee top 6 football (and I know the arguments about money not being able to guarantee anything, but teams that spend more consistently do better than those that don't).

I'm sorry getting horsed twice in a matter of 6 years in a semi final and final of the biggest cup competition in Scottish football by your greatest rivals does not equal a sound board strategy. We are a football club first and foremost not a business. Rod Petrie wants his legacy to be the groud and training centre but for me he will always be one of the main reasons we have been embarrassed by our closest rivals.

This didn't need to happen we had plenty of money come in to build the team yet we chose not to. I can take your point about the training centre but I also firmly believe the level of coaching and a huge bit of luck are more important than a top end facility. However, I will never understand the decision to build that stand explain to me why we did it except for cosmetic reasons? We will NEVER get 20k fans coming to the majority of our games in a good season we will get 15k max which the old stand catered for not to mention the atmosphere and character it gave the stadium. Let's bear in mind the stand brings in no extra income via conferencing facilities etc. Rod put his own legacy before the club, the team and the fans

07-06-2012, 08:52 PM
My mistake :doh: played under Sir Alex :greengrin

07-06-2012, 10:33 PM
I'm sorry getting horsed twice in a matter of 6 years in a semi final and final of the biggest cup competition in Scottish football by your greatest rivals does not equal a sound board strategy. We are a football club first and foremost not a business. Rod Petrie wants his legacy to be the groud and training centre but for me he will always be one of the main reasons we have been embarrassed by our closest rivals.

This didn't need to happen we had plenty of money come in to build the team yet we chose not to. I can take your point about the training centre but I also firmly believe the level of coaching and a huge bit of luck are more important than a top end facility. However, I will never understand the decision to build that stand explain to me why we did it except for cosmetic reasons? We will NEVER get 20k fans coming to the majority of our games in a good season we will get 15k max which the old stand catered for not to mention the atmosphere and character it gave the stadium. Let's bear in mind the stand brings in no extra income via conferencing facilities etc. Rod put his own legacy before the club, the team and the fans

The training ground was built on the back of a cup win, and the stand was built on the back of a 4th place finish and welcomed European football to Easter Road.

Good you've got a crystal ball and can state so categorically that we'll never get 20k fans. What having the stand now means is that when we do have a team fit enough to grace it then we'll not need to take money out the team to build it. You picked 2 games in 6 (yes, six) years against a team spending massively more than us, as the example of why the strategy wasn't sound (in theory) yet ignore any successes over that period. Way to go.:rolleyes:

AJWisme
07-06-2012, 10:59 PM
I'm not someone "in the know" nor do I know anyone "in the know"!

I felt that was important to point out :greengrin

Jonathon Grounds (remember him?) has left Middlesbrough on a free. He has since tweeted that he's driven up to Edinburgh.

Probably nothing more than a holiday, just thought I might point it out in case anyone knew anything?

Long Time Hibee
07-06-2012, 11:04 PM

They've clearly been well intentioned with trying to get funds in to the various managers to bring players in but we've been on a steady downward trajectory for some time now. I think the board need to make it known that it's not enough for us just to survive, there has to be genuine ambition and if they want Fenlon to make us a top 4 side then they have to fund the spend on bringing top 4 level players in. They did it with Yogi (Stokes, Miller) and we finished 4th almost despite Yogi it seems.

:top marksMatty, send this to the Tache or Fife. Word for word this is spot-on. I've supported Hibs all my life and have never been so down after 'that' final.
I hoped I would see my team lift the Scottish Cup before I snuff it and against 'them' would have been 'the icing on the cake' but it didn't happen.
(Don't know if it ever will?) My stomach was churning prior to the Dunfermline game (fortunateley it was put to bed after 15 mins) and was the same last season against St Midden, so things have to change on the pitch 'big time' We don't deserve this season after season. Hibs should be a top 4 club!
Nothing less should be acceptable.
GGTHH

Devine
07-06-2012, 11:58 PM
The training ground was built on the back of a cup win, and the stand was built on the back of a 4th place finish and welcomed European football to Easter Road.

Good you've got a crystal ball and can state so categorically that we'll never get 20k fans. What having the stand now means is that when we do have a team fit enough to grace it then we'll not need to take money out the team to build it. You picked 2 games in 6 (yes, six) years against a team spending massively more than us, as the example of why the strategy wasn't sound (in theory) yet ignore any successes over that period. Way to go.:rolleyes:

The training ground I can handle my point being the way Hibs and a lot of fans have portrayed it as a conveyor belt that will start churning out the stars of tomorrow year in year out. It doesnt work like that youth starlets generally come in cycles and that cycle is often down to a scout/coach with a good eye, good coaching/handling of players/personalities and a LOT of luck.

Your crystal ball comment has let you down here. I or anyone else doesnt need a crystal ball just like Rod and co didnt need a crystal ball to estimate short-mid term future attendances. As a matter of interest do you believe in the next 10 years over the course of a season we can fill ER > 60% of the time!? Lets just have a look at Hibernian attendances over the last 10 years, trends in Scottish Football attendances and trends in most countries attendances (outwith top 4-5 nations) for various reasons mainly economic to realise we had little to no chance of filling that stadium on a regular basis. The cost of building and implementing it cannot be justified Im sorry it cant not to mention the loss of atmosphere and character as I mentioned earlier. We had no indication that we needed a new stand yet we bashed on anyway.

ONE trophy and a couple of brief decent league performances and brief forays into Europe in a climate where we have consistently been in the top 2-3 clubs outwith the OF for attendances, recouped more than any other Scottish team in transfer fees and produced some of Scotlands best talent to me is NOT success. This board has FAILED year in year out to put a decent team on the park with more resources than most other teams in the SPL. I really thought that getting absolutely humiliated by our greatest rivals by an average-decent Hearts side (you only need to look at the league table never mind the players) would have jolted the vast majority of Hibs fans out of this mindset that we have been successful, over the last 6-7 years our FOOTBALL TEAM has been mostly DREADFUL. We need to stop accepting & excusing defeat sadly I cant see it happening anytime soon

08-06-2012, 01:45 AM
The training ground I can handle my point being the way Hibs and a lot of fans have portrayed it as a conveyor belt that will start churning out the stars of tomorrow year in year out. It doesnt work like that youth starlets generally come in cycles and that cycle is often down to a scout/coach with a good eye, good coaching/handling of players/personalities and a LOT of luck.

Your crystal ball comment has let you down here. I or anyone else doesnt need a crystal ball just like Rod and co didnt need a crystal ball to estimate short-mid term future attendances. As a matter of interest do you believe in the next 10 years over the course of a season we can fill ER > 60% of the time!? Lets just have a look at Hibernian attendances over the last 10 years, trends in Scottish Football attendances and trends in most countries attendances (outwith top 4-5 nations) for various reasons mainly economic to realise we had little to no chance of filling that stadium on a regular basis. The cost of building and implementing it cannot be justified Im sorry it cant not to mention the loss of atmosphere and character as I mentioned earlier. We had no indication that we needed a new stand yet we bashed on anyway.

ONE trophy and a couple of brief decent league performances and brief forays into Europe in a climate where we have consistently been in the top 2-3 clubs outwith the OF for attendances, recouped more than any other Scottish team in transfer fees and produced some of Scotlands best talent to me is NOT success. This board has FAILED year in year out to put a decent team on the park with more resources than most other teams in the SPL. I really thought that getting absolutely humiliated by our greatest rivals by an average-decent Hearts side (you only need to look at the league table never mind the players) would have jolted the vast majority of Hibs fans out of this mindset that we have been successful, over the last 6-7 years our FOOTBALL TEAM has been mostly DREADFUL. We need to stop accepting & excusing defeat sadly I cant see it happening anytime soon

Again, you're looking short-mid term, that stand is there long term. There will (IMHO) be periods over that time where we have a team on the pitch that brings in a crowd big enough to justify it. The economic factors won't always be prevalent and when the recession and financial crisis eventually subside then people will come back to football if the team is good enough for it.

Ask Celtc fans how many of them expected regular 50k+ attendances at the time Fergus McCann took them over...

I don't think anyone is excusing or accepting defeat - if you read my post you'll see that I am of the opinion that the board haven't succeeded in managing to keep a good team on the pitch while we've gone through a number of managers.

However, to put your lack of success comments into perspective (and I'll apologise if this does come across as excusing defeat) the Hearts team that beat us in the cup included at least three players that Hibs and Hearts both attempted to sign, where the players took significantly more money to go to Hearts. The team that beat us in the semi-final (bearing in mind we had key players out that game as well) was assembled at a cost that was to burden the Yams with a huge debt and cost massively more than our team. Until the season before last, we hadn't been out of the top 6 for some years, had won a cup and got to a number of semi-finals. Our achievements were probably pretty closely aligned to our relative spend and so I think there is room to acknowledge that there are successes in that time.

08-06-2012, 05:00 AM

Training ground was started before the cup win !

It was started around the time O'Connor was sold as he left his cut of the transfer to be put towards it

08-06-2012, 07:03 AM
I'm sure I read on here Jonathon grounds has put on Twitter he's on his way up to Edinburgh, where did that post go?

Wasn't great in his first spell but seems a feasable signing if he's been released and improved with a bit experience over the last couple of years.

Probably just on a stag doo though

08-06-2012, 07:30 AM
I'm sure I read on here Jonathon grounds has put on Twitter he's on his way up to Edinburgh, where did that post go?

Wasn't great in his first spell but seems a feasable signing if he's been released and improved with a bit experience over the last couple of years.

Probably just on a stag doo though

Didn't impress in his loan spell, just checked on wiki he was on loan at Yeovil last season and was released by Middlesborough at th end of season so is a free agent!

08-06-2012, 07:31 AM
Grounds is surely on his way to Livingston. Just give it up if he signs...

cockneymike
08-06-2012, 07:35 AM

I think your basing your sums on the wrong numbers. The new East wasn't built on the premise of getting 20,000 every week or even 60% of the time. The premise was that for Category A games ER could only hold 12,100 Hibbies +4000 OF/Yams. This meant that we were regularly getting close to selling out, or if you take away the seats they couldn't/ wouldn't sell due to lack of view or being on their own and folk wanted to sit with their mates they were selling out.

Therefore the point about the stand is - do we get 18k+ on cat A games, we haven't recently but we might, I would argue would, if the team were any better.

The problem with the new stand is not the money that was spent on it, its been the crap managers wasting the 4th/5th biggest budget in the league over the last few years, has meant that no-one has wanted to go sit in it.

The club have run up big deficits trying to maintain the budget but the problem has been that they've kept buying crap players.

Therefore I don't think the strategy has been wrong, but its application has been awful.

I do agree with Matty though, that this year, the board need to make some serious investment in players because we need to break out of this cycle of awfulness, and we need to do it this year.

08-06-2012, 07:45 AM
Didn't impress in his loan spell, just checked on wiki he was on loan at Yeovil last season and was released by Middlesborough at th end of season so is a free agent!

When I was on Twitter trying to find him I saw Yeovil fans saying they were desperate for him to stay so sounds like he did a good job there.

I always thought it was his attitude rather than ability that let him down, got the impression he tried to play within himself, almost like he thought was too good for the SPL so got caught out from time to time.

A player with a questionable attitude isn't what we need right now but if he's learned from his release from Boro then maybe he's worth another punt.

I'd rather we found new players though.

(Also worth remembering he was played left back for us but his best position was apparently centre back)

08-06-2012, 07:47 AM
This is not a rumour but a thought.

Why don't we go for Beattie? He showed in the few months at the Yams that, if fully fit, he would score goals in the SPL and be an asset.

He a free agent and from what I recall nearly signed for StMirren before the cheats signed him.

Thoughts?

08-06-2012, 09:14 AM
The fact he was given a 5 year contract at the beginning of the season does not mean he wasn't badly treated in the latter part of the season. From memory he didn't play after the St J game at home, a game in which he scored a superb goal. Remember, our back 4 that day was Hart, Stephens, Hanlon & Booth!! Directly in front of Booth was Ivan who gave him no cover whatsoever. I think he was only on the bench once more albeit he was injured part of the time. Re the part in bold above those are by far the weakest parts of Kujabi's game, I'd back Booth over him in those areas every time. Finally, re Gareth Bale, think back a couple of years. A young man with developing talent bought at a huge price & seen as a failure, booed by the Spurs fans. Played wide left one day through necessity & suddenly he's a hero & Harry's a genius. Of course it could have been worse, I could have compared Booth to Roberto Carlos, now no one would do that surely!!:wink:

He wasn't badly treated though. He was given a long contract, and then dropped for playing badly in a back four that was in relegation form - how is that treated badly? He would have suffered further if he wasn't dropped - and, at the end of the day, if he is too weak mentally to handle being dropped after playing badly, then he is no use to us, quite frankly. Incidentally, I didn't ever claim that Kujabi was the long term answer, but the back four was undoubtedly much more solid and well balanced with him in it rather than Booth.

As for the Gareth Bale thing, come on. Bale was always going to make it, if he had left Spurs he would have been a star elsewhere - if CB doesn't make it at Hibs, he is unlikely to have a top level career.

08-06-2012, 09:52 AM

The main reason is that Hearts are paying players 3 or 4 times what they can get at ER. Petrie IMO was spot on in investing in the infrastructure of the club when we were in a position to do so. We now need a manager that can get the best out of that infrastructure. The last few have failed and yes, he and the Board have to accept criticism for that however to me it would have been wholly negligent of the Board to not invest in the club at the time and to allow the players to train on whatever public park was available and the fans to be subjected to appalling facilities.

08-06-2012, 10:02 AM

:confused: His wage will have increased 1-5 - 2.5 times .. His move is not a backward step.

What's done is done. We need to look forward and you have called it right .. another 'transition' will be fatal. We need real tangible progress on the park, via results and enterntainment, now!

08-06-2012, 10:20 AM
:confused: His wage will have increased 1-5 - 2.5 times .. His move is not a backward step.

What's done is done. We need to look forward and you have called it right .. another 'transition' will be fatal. We need real tangible progress on the park, via results and enterntainment, now!

Agree re Swanson. As for the club as a whole well Petrie gets slated left right and Chelsea on here for being a tight arse, but he's backed every manager---- rightly or wrongly.

We all make mistakes. Tell you all wot... If your no happy with RP then pop into the PBS and ask the mad one run the club.

Let's wait and see who we bring in and don't judge them till they play.

08-06-2012, 02:28 PM
He wasn't badly treated though. He was given a long contract, and then dropped for playing badly in a back four that was in relegation form - how is that treated badly? He would have suffered further if he wasn't dropped - and, at the end of the day, if he is too weak mentally to handle being dropped after playing badly, then he is no use to us, quite frankly. Incidentally, I didn't ever claim that Kujabi was the long term answer, but the back four was undoubtedly much more solid and well balanced with him in it rather than Booth.

As for the Gareth Bale thing, come on. Bale was always going to make it, if he had left Spurs he would have been a star elsewhere - if CB doesn't make it at Hibs, he is unlikely to have a top level career.

Well we all have our opinions & mine is that Booth is a far better player than Kujabi, & I posted that well before the final. I also believe that if Hibs cut CB loose he'll very quickly be approached by teams currently better placed than we are, Dun Utd being the front runners. I had no quarrel with CB being dropped, I did think it unfair he was not even considered thereafter & was singled out for comments by PF.
As for Bale, I live in London & saw him & Spurs regularly in his first couple of years there. Incredibly Spurs didn't win any of the 20+ first games that Bale played for them. He was dropped for a considerable period, was really unpopular with the fans & only returned through necessity rather than choice. Its easy in hindsight to say he would always have made it, not many Spurs fans thought that 2-3 years ago, they thought he was a huge waste of £10mm.

08-06-2012, 02:58 PM
Agree re Swanson. As for the club as a whole well Petrie gets slated left right and Chelsea on here for being a tight arse, but he's backed every manager---- rightly or wrongly.

We all make mistakes. Tell you all wot... If your no happy with RP then pop into the PBS and ask the mad one run the club.

Let's wait and see who we bring in and don't judge them till they play.

Yep we all make mistakes ... But how many is ROD allowed ?

08-06-2012, 03:03 PM
Well we all have our opinions & mine is that Booth is a far better player than Kujabi, & I posted that well before the final. I also believe that if Hibs cut CB loose he'll very quickly be approached by teams currently better placed than we are, Dun Utd being the front runners. I had no quarrel with CB being dropped, I did think it unfair he was not even considered thereafter & was singled out for comments by PF.
As for Bale, I live in London & saw him & Spurs regularly in his first couple of years there. Incredibly Spurs didn't win any of the 20+ first games that Bale played for them. He was dropped for a considerable period, was really unpopular with the fans & only returned through necessity rather than choice. Its easy in hindsight to say he would always have made it, not many Spurs fans thought that 2-3 years ago, they thought he was a huge waste of £10mm.

Of course you are entitled to your opinion, just as I am entitled to disagree with it. I do not believe that CB has been treated unfairly, but I'll say again, if he cannot handle being dropped and taking a bit of flack (like Bale has had to do), then he is no use to Hibs.

You can compare their situations as much as you like, the fact is that Bale is of such a far superior level to Booth that he would always have made it playing at a high level - just to put things into perspective, Bale was a £5M player aged 17, and had scored a hat trick in the San Siro by the time he was Callum's age.

I was always aware (as were many) of the fact that Bale had to wait a ridiculously long time to be part of an EPL win, but FWIW I did a bit of reading up and he actually started really well at Spurs, signing a new contract 15 months after he had initially signed for them. He certainly struggled for a bit after that, but then his natural ability shone through and he has never looked back. Even if Spurs had moved him on, other EPL teams would have picked him up. Stating that Dundee Utd might take a chance on CB if he weren't to make it at Hibs is hardly the same thing.

You can say there are some parallels there if you like (preferred position, young player struggles in team playing badly), but the idea that Callum Booth could suddenly become the Scottish equivalent of Gareth Bale is preposterous IMO. Again, I very much hope that Callum goes onto have a good career with us, and if he gets his place back in the Hibs team and starts terrorising SPL defences on a regular basis, I'll gladly eat my words - but even the loosest of comparisons between a raw Hibs youngster who has barely made a positive impact and a superb player like Bale is wrong IMO.

08-06-2012, 08:06 PM
Once all Pat's targets are in place, we'll line up like this next term:

Carroll

Clancy
McHype
Michalik
Grounds

Cairney
McGuinness
Adams
Claros

Griffiths
Sheridan

08-06-2012, 08:55 PM
?????
Speeders you taking the P??

Or being sarcastic??

Hibby 2005
08-06-2012, 09:06 PM
?????
Speeders you taking the P??

Or being sarcastic??

Sarcastic. Apparently it's the lowest form of wit.

At The Edge
08-06-2012, 09:09 PM

Carroll

Clancy
McHype
Michalik
Grounds

Cairney
McGuinness
Adams
Claros

Griffiths
Sheridan

Have these two both retired from politics:wink: certainly tick all the boxes on the Irish connection

08-06-2012, 09:13 PM
Have these two both retired from politics:wink: certainly tick all the boxes on the Irish connection

I thought it was Paddy and Grizzly he was referring to. Grizzly Adams in the Matty Jack role obviously.

08-06-2012, 09:33 PM
I thought it was Paddy and Grizzly he was referring to. Grizzly Adams in the Matty Jack role obviously.

Surely it's Gomez. Scare the keech out of the opposition.

08-06-2012, 09:47 PM
Surely it's Gomez. Scare the keech out of the opposition.

Not sure if that's the kind of character required at ER, questionable lifestyle.

08-06-2012, 10:20 PM

Carroll

Clancy
McHype
Michalik
Grounds

Cairney
McGuinness
Adams
Claros

Griffiths
Sheridan

Marvellous. :hilarious

Minder
08-06-2012, 10:20 PM

"They have not went away you know" !

Provisionally it ain't a bad line up, maybe we would see the real hibs.:devil:

08-06-2012, 10:38 PM

Sorry, just no Continuity there.

09-06-2012, 08:52 AM
But would they actually play football or just do the PR?

09-06-2012, 10:33 AM

I'm Trimble-ing at the thought

09-06-2012, 11:00 AM
I'm not someone "in the know" nor do I know anyone "in the know"!

I felt that was important to point out :greengrin

Jonathon Grounds (remember him?) has left Middlesbrough on a free. He has since tweeted that he's driven up to Edinburgh.

Probably nothing more than a holiday, just thought I might point it out in case anyone knew anything?

he's shacked up wi satchel's ex.and she's from mussy.

Minder
09-06-2012, 02:13 PM

And would they be able to play in Paisley?

12-06-2012, 10:32 AM
Don't know if mentioned elsewhere but Michalik rejected new contract offer from carlisle

12-06-2012, 10:40 AM
Don't know if mentioned elsewhere but Michalik rejected new contract offer from carlisle

Intresting. Anybody know if other cluubs are in for him ?

12-06-2012, 11:07 AM

Carroll

Clancy
McHype
Michalik
Grounds

Cairney
McGuinness
Adams
Claros

Griffiths
Sheridan

If those two get subbed off at the same time then it is time to leave the stadium.

12-06-2012, 11:26 AM
Intresting. Anybody know if other cluubs are in for him ?

Numerous - PNE, Swindon named today

12-06-2012, 11:30 AM
That team cannot be right,, wheres the fans fav stevenson???
Tosh isay.... Tosh
Bt

12-06-2012, 12:50 PM
See Jimmy Scott is being linked back to county

12-06-2012, 12:52 PM
See Jimmy Scott is bring linked back to county

They can have him :aok:

12-06-2012, 01:34 PM
See Jimmy Scott is bring linked back to county

We should introduce a take one get another one free policy this summer.

12-06-2012, 01:36 PM
We should introduce a take one get another one free policy this summer.

Whilst pash lasts, subject to availability.

12-06-2012, 08:21 PM

hes a keeper.

12-06-2012, 08:23 PM
hes a keeper.

Midfielder:agree:

12-06-2012, 08:24 PM
hes a keeper.

Couldn't be worse than the goalies we had right enough

13-06-2012, 09:09 AM
Notts County have signed Enoch Showunmi from Tranmere another we have missed out on. Hopefully we are still interested in his brother.

13-06-2012, 09:36 AM

Yeah I was speaking with one of their players 2 weeks ago who told me that hes supposed to be coming back. Interestingly enough he also said that hes a really good guy to have in the changing room but hes mad. Also said that seemingly PF rates him as a player but has said he cant handle him or something along these lines. Found it quite strange to be fair.

13-06-2012, 09:39 AM
Yeah I was speaking with one of their players 2 weeks ago who told me that hes supposed to be coming back. Interestingly enough he also said that hes a really good guy to have in the changing room but hes mad. Also said that seemingly PF rates him as a player but has said he cant handle him or something along these lines. Found it quite strange to be fair.

Can see him being another Rankin type, rubbish for us magic for someone else

13-06-2012, 12:40 PM
Notts County have signed Enoch Showunmi from Tranmere another we have missed out on. Hopefully we are still interested in his brother.

That's a blow. He was magic for us against QoS in the cup. Another one we got rid of too early. Thanks a bunch Collins!!

13-06-2012, 01:01 PM

I preferred his brother Thomas, looked a playerduring his brief spell with Falkirk.

SloopJB
13-06-2012, 01:04 PM
Is there a summary of all our signings somewhere? I'm losing track.

13-06-2012, 01:07 PM
Is there a summary of all our signings somewhere? I'm losing track.

Here you go, full summary of all signing made this summer by Hibs:

SloopJB
13-06-2012, 01:08 PM
Here you go, full summary of all signing made this summer by Hibs:

Cheers, a lot easier to read.

13-06-2012, 01:10 PM
Yams are after Johnny Hayes I notice.

13-06-2012, 01:14 PM
Unbelievable that we aren't even hearing of us being LINKED with many players! Fair enough we are only acouple of weeks into the transfer window, and players are still on holiday etc. so the lack of actual activity doesn't concern me half as much as the lack of interest were having in players! Maybe we are and everythings been kept hush hush, but this summer window so far stands out from the rest on the quiet front..

13-06-2012, 01:22 PM
Unbelievable that we aren't even hearing of us being LINKED with many players! Fair enough we are only acouple of weeks into the transfer window, and players are still on holiday etc. so the lack of actual activity doesn't concern me half as much as the lack of interest were having in players! Maybe we are and everythings been kept hush hush, but this summer window so far stands out from the rest on the quiet front..

What an extraordinary post. I assume you are joking right? Where do you think these "links" come from? Hibs themselves? Of course not, they are, almost always stuff that has been made up by fans or of course the old faithfull of "heard it from a guy in the know" Hibs never talk about who they are after until they get him and if you really are a Hibs fan you would/should know that.

13-06-2012, 01:24 PM
I think Hibs should produce a weekly list of players we are interested in.

13-06-2012, 01:24 PM

Yep, Hibs should be putting on the Official website who we are after and it should be updated daily at high noon.

13-06-2012, 01:25 PM
Beat me to it.

13-06-2012, 01:27 PM
Any club signing major targets before the Rangers dust settles would be foolish. Surely best to wait and see what finance and budgets you are likely to be dealing with.

13-06-2012, 01:27 PM
What an extraordinary post. I assume you are joking right? Where do you think these "links" come from? Hibs themselves? Of course not, they are, almost always stuff that has been made up by fans or of course the old faithfull of "heard it from a guy in the know" Hibs never talk about who they are after until they get him and if you really are a Hibs fan you would/should know that.

Yep, Hibs should be putting on the Official website who we are after and it should be updated daily at high noon.

I think Hibs should produce a weekly list of players we are interested in.

13-06-2012, 02:49 PM
There's plenty of activity. Players of quality, mediocrity and inadequacy are saying no to us on a daily basis.

We should announce that on the fishy.

Leishy1995
13-06-2012, 02:56 PM
Breaking news, we're interested in multiple players. We revealed this so other clubs can take them from us.

13-06-2012, 02:57 PM
Why are they taking so long to announce Cairney? Weird, thought they would with the kit.

muzzhfc
13-06-2012, 03:03 PM
Why are they taking so long to announce Cairney? Weird, thought they would with the kit.

hes on holiday at the moment.

on the man u site, they have a "what the papers say" and a "transfer spec" section. this could be cool on the official site/.net its not official, its just what the papers are saying. obv, we are linked with MANY MANY more players than man u, so we would need to update it hourly rather than daily . . .

13-06-2012, 03:33 PM
IIRC the official site broke with usual protocol and made a statement about Cillian Sheridan being on trial last summer - this place subsequently went into meltdown when he went to St. Johnstone.

13-06-2012, 03:35 PM

Small matter of him not being signed?

13-06-2012, 03:37 PM
I think that the Hibs official board should make absolutely no comment at all about potential or actual signing targets. We have no need to try and get people excited for next season, and this wall of silence has worked in the past.

13-06-2012, 03:55 PM
I see Jody Morris has signed for Bristol City, least St Johnstone will be slightly weaker after losing him thought the Saints always looked better with him in the team.

13-06-2012, 03:56 PM
I think that the Hibs official board should make absolutely no comment at all about potential or actual signing targets. We have no need to try and get people excited for next season, and this wall of silence has worked in the past.

Last deadline day got folk pretty excited did it not?

13-06-2012, 04:09 PM
Anyone rate ex Falkirk defender Brian Maclean who has just been emptied at PNE?

13-06-2012, 04:09 PM
Small matter of him not being signed?

I have enough evidence to believe he is tbh. The guy who reported it in the Express has been spot on with his reports on us and Scoops has said so as well.

Makes sense muzz :aok:

13-06-2012, 06:40 PM
IIRC the official site broke with usual protocol and made a statement about Cillian Sheridan being on trial last summer - this place subsequently went into meltdown when he went to St. Johnstone.
It's not about breaking with the usual Hibs protocol on transfers.

Rather its the fact that we apparently have nothing to announce, which implies that no new signing has as yet been secured.

And that will make folks increasingly uneasy as time moves on.

Maybe next week ... :cb

13-06-2012, 06:45 PM
According to someone on the Bounce, Mark Brown has signed for Falkirk, the source being Broony's mum.

13-06-2012, 06:51 PM
I have enough evidence to believe he is tbh. The guy who reported it in the Express has been spot on with his reports on us and Scoops has said so as well.

Makes sense muzz :aok:

Agreed but not physically signed I believe.

13-06-2012, 07:03 PM

I will bite, being signed or looking at him?

13-06-2012, 07:03 PM

Dundee United are close to signing him iirc.

13-06-2012, 07:10 PM
Happy Clapping here at the prospect of some signings eventually. Its gonna happen so i'm not getting stressed about it.

Glory Glory :)

13-06-2012, 07:16 PM
Last deadline day got folk pretty excited did it not?

Agreed. But that was emergency surgery.

14-06-2012, 08:59 AM
It's not about breaking with the usual Hibs protocol on transfers.

Rather its the fact that we apparently have nothing to announce, which implies that no new signing has as yet been secured.

And that will make folks increasingly uneasy as time moves on.

Maybe next week ... :cb

I probably should've used a quote in my post, I was replying to the poster who (genuinely) thought that Hibs should comment on speculation on the official site.

I know what the implications are, and I can understand why people are concerned - that said, Scoopyboy and Brooster have both provided us with info, and they are usually spot on, so I am happy enough to take that as gospel. I am a bit puzzled as to why the club hasn't announced anything yet, but we'll see what happens when some official news does finally get released.

I posted almost two weeks ago saying that I wasn't anxious yet, and was happy to wait and see - I'm still there now, but given the level of rebuilding required, fans are understandably going to want to see some serious transfer action very soon.

14-06-2012, 09:19 AM
I probably should've used a quote in my post, I was replying to the poster who (genuinely) thought that Hibs should comment on speculation on the official site.

I know what the implications are, and I can understand why people are concerned - that said, Scoopyboy and Brooster have both provided us with info, and they are usually spot on, so I am happy enough to take that as gospel. I am a bit puzzled as to why the club hasn't announced anything yet, but we'll see what happens when some official news does finally get released.

I posted almost two weeks ago saying that I wasn't anxious yet, and was happy to wait and see - I'm still there now, but given the level of rebuilding required, fans are understandably going to want to see some serious transfer action very soon.

It's still football holiday time - although stuff will be taking place in the background.

We will see activity probably next week. Hopefully a reasonable amount of it to get us going.

Did someone say that McPake was home now?

14-06-2012, 09:39 AM
It's still football holiday time - although stuff will be taking place in the background.

We will see activity probably next week. Hopefully a reasonable amount of it to get us going.

Did someone say that McPake was home now?

From the EEN recently: -

Published on Monday 4 June 2012 12:00

HIBS will have to wait a little longer to discover whether they will secure the signature of James McPake, with the defender now on holiday until the start of July.

14-06-2012, 09:46 AM

HIBS will have to wait a little longer to discover whether they will secure the signature of James McPake, with the defender now on holiday until the start of July.

Remember that but i think someone had asked him on Twitter and he said he was back now?

Seems a long holiday according to EN and Coventry pre season starts 1 July!

Thomson
14-06-2012, 09:48 AM

How many holidays does he need? :wink:

14-06-2012, 09:50 AM
Remember that but i think someone had asked him on Twitter and he said he was back now?

Seems a long holiday according to EN and Coventry pre season starts 1 July!

He is back: -

El Niño ‏@Nick_Peden97 (http://twitter.com/#!/Nick_Peden97)
@JamesMcPake (http://twitter.com/#!/JamesMcPake) are you still on holiday james? #GGTTH (http://twitter.com/#!/search/%23GGTTH)
Expand (http://twitter.com/Nick_Peden97/status/212923360315838464)

Reply (http://twitter.com/#)
Retweet (http://twitter.com/#)
Favorite (http://twitter.com/#)

James McPake ‏@JamesMcPake (http://twitter.com/#!/JamesMcPake)
@Nick_Peden97 (http://twitter.com/#!/Nick_Peden97) no mate back now!

14-06-2012, 10:41 AM

Half decent defender if I remember correctly. Wonder if that may mean Hanlon moving on as the same position? He could also get his referee brother to beat up Thomson so may be a be a win/win.

Leishy1995
14-06-2012, 11:03 AM
Every post Speedway does makes me hope we're actually going to sign someone.

14-06-2012, 11:07 AM
He's joined Dundee Utd

Half decent defender if I remember correctly. Wonder if that may mean Hanlon moving on as the same position? He could also get his referee brother to beat up Thomson so may be a be a win/win.

14-06-2012, 11:14 AM
Scott Lindsay has just returned from his holiday in the US of A.

Pat Fenlon is also back from his holiday (last night I think).

I think (hope) this means that the targets believed to be signed might be announced within the next week.

14-06-2012, 11:37 AM

I think (hope) this means that the targets believed to be signed might be announced within the next week.

Here's hoping but this part always seems to be the case with Hibs, leaving the signings of players until the last minute, IMO trying to get players on the cheap, leaving available players to sweat it out and jumping at our last minute offers when nothing else is available.

14-06-2012, 11:59 AM
Here's hoping but this part always seems to be the case with Hibs, leaving the signings of players until the last minute, IMO trying to get players on the cheap, leaving available players to sweat it out and jumping at our last minute offers when nothing else is available.

I hope you are wrong mate and things begin to move soon on the transfer front! I would however draw a comparison with us to Preston North End a club that has had a stinking season and has been in a decline over the past few seasons regularly getting beat by 'smaller clubs', they potted their manager part way into last season like us and appointed a new manager. At the end of the season they like us declared a 'clear out' and have or are getting rid of most of the team. The difference being they have signed 12 new players since the end of the season!!!!

14-06-2012, 12:21 PM
Hanlon isnt going anywhere. Confirmed. Thankfully.

14-06-2012, 12:28 PM
He's joined Dundee Utd

Cheers. Wonder where Gunning will go.

14-06-2012, 12:29 PM
I can't contain the excitement. Will we continue to be a big relegation candidate, be easily beat on a regular basis and continue be a spinless soft touch....or can we become a mid table team, possibly even win a handful of league games at home in the process - It's all terribly exciting!

14-06-2012, 12:34 PM
I can't contain the excitement. Will we continue to be a big relegation candidate, be easily beat on a regular basis and continue be a spinless soft touch....or can we become a mid table team, possibly even win a handful of league games at home in the process - It's all terribly exciting!

Sadly how I'm feeling right now. We will do the usual and bring in some average at best players. Will struggle again next year and the same folk will still defend the same people. Its getting a bit dull and boring now. When they said they needed a clear out more than just the players should have gone. Never mind I'm sure someone will be along to tell me I'm wrong and its all rosy as per!!! :rolleyes:

14-06-2012, 12:38 PM
Sadly how I'm feeling right now. We will do the usual and bring in some average at best players. Will struggle again next year and the same folk will still defend the same people. Its getting a bit dull and boring now. When they said they needed a clear out more than just the players should have gone. Never mind I'm sure someone will be along to tell me I'm wrong and its all rosy as per!!! :rolleyes:

Never fear with a bit of luck and Sir Rod leading the way newco Rangers might not be in the SPL and an ill prepared Dundee might save us from relegation.:greengrin

14-06-2012, 12:42 PM

Why is that all so?

I'd say only the manager can influence how well the budget is spent and the evidence so far is that he is aware what needs to be done.

We've a lot of spaces to fill and a real chance to improve the team.

The clear out did involve the coaching staff and manager.

I doubt anyone will tell you its rosy but we all start at zero points, we have a manager who can put his own team in place and who seems to have a history of being able to do so.

What makes you so sure we will stuggle without even seeing our squad?

14-06-2012, 12:46 PM

More importantly the medical/fitness people are also back :wink: