View Full Version : Greggs Hibs transfer rumours
Pages :
[
14]
03-08-2012, 08:49 PM
Ah rite, but who is the quality players???
Celtic and Hearts have not signed anyone, and we pay as much as the other teams in the SPL.
It suggests the targets were either in England, which we can compete with or Rangers.
If it's correct that SHiels is on 7k a week and Black about the same, there is no way we can compete with that.
Black on £3.5k with £500 win bonus per week
03-08-2012, 08:52 PM
Adam le Fondre, anyone? Or what about the Showunmi brothers?
Diny mind a laugh etc but posts like this are getting right on my thrupneys. This thread is bad enough, worst romours thread in Hibs.net history not for the actual romours but the total pish people are posting and totally hijacking a thread that some people actually have interest in seeing if there are actually any romours.
03-08-2012, 08:56 PM
I think it's taken that our wage budget aint gonna be huge, so we're looking at 1-2k per player, quality ones will be looking for double, if not treble that, it's the way of the world and we have to watch the pennies nowadays.
Yeah but there has to be a time when we offer that bit extra as by signing these 'quality' players IMO would have boosted St sales
03-08-2012, 09:04 PM
I dinnae care what happened after the meeting, the fact that Petrie entertained those players behind Collins back is enough for me to think that he wasn't backed sufficiently. It was a poor decision by Petrie, if he had properly backed Collins he would have dealt with the situation differently.
Disagree. If the workforce are threatening a walk out and the manager's away, you try and diffuse the situation rather than letting it fester until the manager is back. Petrie did the ONLY thing he could do.
McPake6
03-08-2012, 09:10 PM
Diny mind a laugh etc but posts like this are getting right on my thrupneys. This thread is bad enough, worst romours thread in Hibs.net history not for the actual romours but the total pish people are posting and totally hijacking a thread that some people actually have interest in seeing if there are actually any romours.
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
Well said mate!
03-08-2012, 09:11 PM
There's an exciting new rumour on the PM board about a player having signed but not eligible for Sunday.
03-08-2012, 09:12 PM
There's an exciting new rumour on the PM board about a player having signed but not eligible for Sunday.
Tease. Go on then.............. you know you want to :agree:
There's an exciting new rumour on the PM board about a player having signed but not eligible for Sunday.:agree:
03-08-2012, 09:13 PM
Disagree. If the workforce are threatening a walk out and the manager's away, you try and diffuse the situation rather than letting it fester until the manager is back. Petrie did the ONLY thing he could do.
http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/agree.gif
Petrie might have got a few things wrong in his time with Hibs, this was not one of them.
03-08-2012, 09:15 PM
I thought this was a tease as well, until i went on the PM board. :tee hee:
03-08-2012, 09:17 PM
Unbelievable if true, that will certainly get ST sales going
03-08-2012, 09:18 PM
I'd sign up for this PM board but I dont think I've enough posts yet, I'll take a guess at Mark Kerr :dunno:
03-08-2012, 09:20 PM
I thought this was a tease as well, until i went on the PM board. :tee hee:
See what you did there :agree:. Initials at least lol?
jiggerman
03-08-2012, 09:21 PM
Unbelievable if true, that will certainly get ST sales going
Don't believe these threads for a minute. It's Kerr and maybury for us..
03-08-2012, 09:24 PM
I'd sign up for this PM board but I dont think I've enough posts yet, I'll take a guess at Mark Kerr :dunno:
Don't believe these threads for a minute. It's Kerr and maybury for us..
Not Maybury, Not Kerr. Attacking Mid to be reckoned with.
03-08-2012, 09:27 PM
Yeah keep looking for your rumours to get moist about. If its not relevant or not to your taste, jog on till you find something to get excited about.
reidy
03-08-2012, 09:27 PM
Supposedly signed Gary Deegan from Coventry city according to their forum.
03-08-2012, 09:29 PM
Would be a good signing IMO
03-08-2012, 09:30 PM
Hope not, that was the stupid erse that posted a pro-IRA tweet when McPake got called up to the NI squad...
03-08-2012, 09:34 PM
Yeah keep looking for your rumours to get moist about. If its not relevant or not to your taste, jog on till you find something to get excited about.
Aye nae bother big man, each to their own if you get your kicks posting ***** like your previous post which I quoted says more about your "Moist" criteria than mine. How dare I expect a romour thread to be distinctly about potential romours, I will keep jogging on. :confused:
03-08-2012, 09:35 PM
PF signed him before for Bohemians
03-08-2012, 09:36 PM
Aye nae bother big man, each to their own if you get your kicks posting ***** like your previous post which I quoted says more about your "Moist" criteria than mine. How dare I expect a romour thread to be distinctly about potential romours, I will keep jogging on. :confused:
Please do.
03-08-2012, 09:38 PM
Adam le Fondre, anyone? Or what about the Showunmi brothers?
:aok: I liked the three of them, Enoch, Thomas and Ernie, which one did you have in mind? :wink:
03-08-2012, 09:39 PM
Not Maybury, Not Kerr. Attacking Mid to be reckoned with.
Is it Deegan as mentioned :greengrin come on .......
03-08-2012, 09:42 PM
:aok: I liked the three of them, Enoch, Thomas and Ernie, which one did you have in mind? :wink:
Any of them is as good a rumour as the other rubbish there's been on here!
Think you have to get special approval from the pre-menstrual types who only want 'reliable' rumours, though. Given that 99% of folk on here are not in the know, we'll just have to put up with the guesswork and shenanigans.
For what it's worth, I'd take the one who played for Falkirk and Leeds. ;-)
03-08-2012, 09:44 PM
Think you have to get special approval from the pre-menstrual types who only want 'reliable' rumours, though. Given that 99% of folk on here are not in the know, we'll just have to put up with the guesswork and shenanigans.
heidtheba
03-08-2012, 09:47 PM
Anyone checked out his nickname (according to Wikipedia)...:devil:
03-08-2012, 09:47 PM
:agree: Bit of a challenge to sift through each thread to ensure that everything in them ties up to the original heading and has the appropriate level of seriousness attached! Still, am gonnae have a few more bevvies then make a start on the Rangers in Admin one.
03-08-2012, 09:49 PM
Is it Deegan as mentioned :greengrin come on .......
he is nicknamed 'The Pitbull' for his hard work (http://www.hibs.net/#) on the pitch and his aggressive style of play.Brilliant another one :aok:
03-08-2012, 09:51 PM
Anyone checked out his nickname (according to Wikipedia)...:devil:
:faf: :thumbsup:
03-08-2012, 09:51 PM
he is nicknamed 'The Pitbull' for his hard work (http://www.hibs.net/#) on the pitch and his aggressive style of play.Brilliant another one :aok:
Let's hope this Pitbull's actually got teeth.
03-08-2012, 09:52 PM
Hope not, that was the stupid erse that posted a pro-IRA tweet when McPake got called up to the NI squad...
Never knew about that, what a fool!
dchibs
03-08-2012, 09:54 PM
Stewart, Shields, Brown and Sproule were the 3 names mentioned to me by a current player then on the fringes of the 1st team squad.
3 names.:rolleyes:
03-08-2012, 09:54 PM
He's now been named on the PM board.
03-08-2012, 10:15 PM
He's now been named on the PM board.
I'm sure the private members already know that. So do we actually as you have already mentioned it.
Are you going to spill on here for us mere mortals ?
03-08-2012, 10:36 PM
I'm sure the private members already know that. So do we actually as you have already mentioned it.
Are you going to spill on here for us mere mortals ?
The only difference between you and us PMers SG, is 10 Benjamins.
Deegan it is.
03-08-2012, 11:35 PM
I'm confused:confused:
Is the exciting, secret to non PMs, attacking mid we may be signing that would give the season tickets a boost, Garry deegan?
No disrespect to the player, but surely not?
03-08-2012, 11:40 PM
Is the exciting, secret to non PMs, attacking mid we may be signing that would give the season tickets a boost, Garry deegan?
I couldnt give a **** if it was Gary Barlow at least it would have more substence to certain peoples "Adam lefondre" posts.
04-08-2012, 12:31 AM
The only difference between you and us PMers SG, is 10 Benjamins.
Deegan it is.
Sorry to have been arsey :foot:
I'm chuffed to bits with this even though i've never heard of him :greengrin
04-08-2012, 04:53 AM
I couldnt give a **** if it was Gary Barlow at least it would have more substence to certain peoples "Adam lefondre" posts.
Awww...see, you've got a wee rumour to get excited about now! Hope you'll be able to sleep! Wonder if it will happen? The suspense is killing...
04-08-2012, 09:36 AM
Awww...see, you've got a wee rumour to get excited about now! Hope you'll be able to sleep! Wonder if it will happen? The suspense is killing...
Slept like a baby as always, thanks for your concern though. I have no idea if it will happen, I have never seen him play so no idea if hes even any good either. He will get a fair crack at it from me, I will judge him on how good or pish he turns out to be if he does sign, regardless of his previous.
SheriffLobo
04-08-2012, 10:16 AM
Spot on, no idea who he is. So won't be rushing out to buy a season ticket....having one is more than enough I feel
Velma Dinkley
04-08-2012, 10:27 AM
Darren o'dea is going to Toronto if anyone's interested
04-08-2012, 10:36 AM
Fenlon said we offered terms to a player but they chose League 1 instead, wonder who that could have been
Thomson
04-08-2012, 11:08 AM
Gary Deegan confirmed http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120804/midfielder-joins-hibernian_2262950_2871222:thumbsup:
McKenzie
04-08-2012, 11:11 AM
Is he eligible to play tomorrow then?
04-08-2012, 11:14 AM
Is he eligible to play tomorrow then?
No but next week
04-08-2012, 11:16 AM
No 7 midfield general, welcome to hibs Gary.
yekimevol
04-08-2012, 07:13 PM
Fenlon said we offered terms to a player but they chose League 1 instead, wonder who that could have been
monthly round up of league one transfers.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/transfers/transfer/_/leagueId/25/english-league-one?cc=5739#
Theres a few that i would want.
04-08-2012, 09:02 PM
Agent Scotland saying Cillian Sheridan
04-08-2012, 09:03 PM
Agent Scotland saying Cillian Sheridan
Did he not reject us last year? :greengrin :wink:
04-08-2012, 09:06 PM
Did he not reject us last year? :greengrin :wink:
Think so but different 'manager' this time round if that would do anything
04-08-2012, 09:17 PM
Yammish....
04-08-2012, 09:41 PM
Maybe not exciting to you, but a midfielder who wont be bullied (as PF says), excites me, especially as our midfield last season had a habit of rolling over and getting their bellies tickled.....We have been crying out for a hard midfielder for a long time....
andrew70
04-08-2012, 10:34 PM
Farid El Alagui 😉
Leishy1995
04-08-2012, 10:43 PM
Is Deegan part of the legion of Irish players fenlon is bringing in...
05-08-2012, 12:14 AM
Yammish....
Yammish?
I asked if it was the same player, our midfield needed a player like deegan, however I was just asking if he was really the player that the PMs were going on about.
My understanding is that deegan is a tough tackling, hard working midfield general. Which is different from an exciting attacking midfielder.
I was not questioning the signing of deegan at all.
05-08-2012, 12:19 AM
Maybe not exciting to you, but a midfielder who wont be bullied (as PF says), excites me, especially as our midfield last season had a habit of rolling over and getting their bellies tickled.....We have been crying out for a hard midfielder for a long time....
I'm happy with the signing and completely agree with you. I'm not trying to dispute whether or not deegan is going to be a good buy.
I was merely asking if he is the player that the PMs were talking about, as they described him as an attacking mid
05-08-2012, 01:08 AM
Is Deegan part of the legion of Irish players fenlon is bringing in...
Part of his extremely small network
05-08-2012, 01:29 AM
Tell us about it then.
Is Deegan part of the legion of Irish players fenlon is bringing in...Who are the legion of Irish players Fenlon is bringing in ..?
05-08-2012, 09:17 AM
Who are the legion of Irish players Fenlon is bringing in ..?
Doyle,McPake and now Deegan :wink: add to the Irish loan players last season he seem to have an eye for his countrymen :wink:
Doyle,McPake and now Deegan :wink: add to the Irish loan players last season he seem to have an eye for his countrymen :wink:Hardly a legion though is it ..?.:tee hee:..what about Cairney, Williams & Griffiths..did they sneak in the door when Fenlon was having a nap ..?
05-08-2012, 10:44 AM
McPake isn't one of Fenlon's countrymen either, given that he was born in Bellshill and qualifies for Northern Ireland through a grandparent.
05-08-2012, 10:47 AM
The amount of anti Irish nonsense is embarassing. Wrap it up as you like but there's far more comment about him and certain players being Irish than you'd get with an English manager bringing in English players for example.
05-08-2012, 10:49 AM
and James McPake's hardly Irish, he's from Glasgow! Had an granny from Belfast qualified him to play for NI as he knew signing for Hibs Potter would never pick him for his homeland:agree:
Oops just seen post from Eyrie, beat me to it!
05-08-2012, 10:52 AM
Agreed. The Irish are who some Scots like to belittle to enable them to accept our own limitations.
05-08-2012, 10:54 AM
The amount of anti Irish nonsense is embarassing. Wrap it up as you like but there's far more comment about him and certain players being Irish than you'd get with an English manager bringing in English players for example.
Made this point about an English manager the other day Andy. Crazy like. It happens to be the market he knows. I'm quite comfortable with our manager bringing in players that he's seen dozens of time.
05-08-2012, 11:19 AM
Whats with all this anti-Irish comments creeping into the threads ? So what , we have an Irish manager, a few players who qualify for Irish international team, big deal. Personally I don't care what nationality/colour/religion/whatever they are - only care about how well they play FOOTBALL - which by the way has no nationality/colour/religion. Get over it - this is a football forum.
05-08-2012, 11:32 AM
Whats with all this anti-Irish comments creeping into the threads ? So what , we have an Irish manager, a few players who qualify for Irish international team, big deal. Personally I don't care what nationality/colour/religion/whatever they are - only care about how well they play FOOTBALL - which by the way has no nationality/colour/religion. Get over it - this is a football forum.
I think you will find a lot of them are meant to be sarcastic, in response to a few earlier comments posted about Fenlons signing strategy before the window had even opened.
hibs supporter
05-08-2012, 11:33 AM
Think so but different 'manager' this time round if that would do anything
think hibs wouldn't pay for loan st johnstone did
05-08-2012, 11:34 AM
I take it you all missed the sarcastic :wink: in my post :rolleyes:
Leishy1995
05-08-2012, 11:51 AM
My post was not meant to be serious... You guys need to realise this.
My post was not meant to be serious... You guys need to realise this.And how exactly were folk supposed to know you were not being serious ..?..:confused:
05-08-2012, 12:00 PM
Agreed. The Irish are who some Scots like to belittle to enable them to accept our own limitations.
Great statement! Folks really should know that the Scots are Irish!
05-08-2012, 12:58 PM
Or so his wife says...
Leishy1995
05-08-2012, 01:02 PM
And how exactly were folk supposed to know you were not being serious ..?..:confused:
Well it was meant to be sarcastic, which is hard to convey on the internet.
Well it was meant to be sarcastic, which is hard to convey on the internet.Aw ..ok then ..
05-08-2012, 02:11 PM
Great statement! Folks really should know that the Scots are Irish!
:confused: Strange statement.
05-08-2012, 02:19 PM
If a manager came in from Germany, Holland, Italy or Spain, then of course fans would be more excited and positive than if you appoint a manager from the Irish League who starts signing players who have played there. It's not so much a case of people being anti-Irish, more the case that if you have come in, like Fenlon, and gotten off to a poor start as manager, and then sign players from a country that isn't producing many good players at the moment, of course fans are going to be negative and mention the common-link at some point.
If we were winning games, nobody would even bring it up.
If a manager came in from Germany, Holland, Italy or Spain, then of course fans would be more excited and positive than if you appoint a manager from the Irish League who starts signing players who have played there. It's not so much a case of people being anti-Irish, more the case that if you have come in, like Fenlon, and gotten off to a poor start as manager, and then sign players from a country that isn't producing many good players at the moment, of course fans are going to be negative and mention the common-link at some point.
If we were winning games, nobody would even bring it up.Who has Fenlon signed from the Irish leagues ..?...Doyle was direct from Irish football but others have been signed/loaned from English championship teams ..:confused:
05-08-2012, 02:52 PM
If we were winning games, nobody would even bring it up.
A manager from one of those countries might have a basic grasp of tactics and a eye for a player. PF quite clearly has neither...
05-08-2012, 03:15 PM
:confused: Strange statement.
Historically the Scots or Scotti where settlers from Ireland who set up home in our fine land becoming the Land of the Scots or Scot's Land finally Scotland.
Here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scoti
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Scotland
Leishy1995
05-08-2012, 06:20 PM
Accidentally started a debate as to whether fenlon only brings in Irish players. Has he any history with Deegan?
Accidentally started a debate as to whether fenlon only brings in Irish players. Has he any history with Deegan?Jeezo ..yer right facinated wi Fenlon & Irish players ...:greengrin
Griffiths, Cairney, Kujabi & Williams are NOT Irish ..so thats your theory blown right oot the windae ...
bohemians manager and the guy played for him,,,i think
bt
05-08-2012, 06:25 PM
A manager from one of those countries might have a basic grasp of tactics and a eye for a player. PF quite clearly has neither...
We could have appointed a tried and tested SPL manager like Jimmy Calderwood but I recall that suggestion didnt go down too well on here.
05-08-2012, 06:39 PM
We could have appointed a tried and tested SPL manager like Jimmy Calderwood but I recall that suggestion didnt go down too well on here.
Would rather Rangers were in the SPL than Jimmy Calderwood was our manager.
05-08-2012, 08:59 PM
McPake, Williams and Cairney so far. Doyle looked good when he get the ball to feet. Clancy will grow in that role.
Either you're trolling or you can't spot a player.
:giruy:
05-08-2012, 09:04 PM
Historically the Scots or Scotti where settlers from Ireland who set up home in our fine land becoming the Land of the Scots or Scot's Land finally Scotland.
Here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scoti
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Scotland
Ah yes, that esteemed, evidenced-based tome of knowledge :rolleyes: :greengrin
05-08-2012, 09:17 PM
Ah yes, that esteemed, evidenced-based tome of knowledge :rolleyes: :greengrin
Oh yes! http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/greengrin2.gif
here:
http://www.archaeology.org/0107/abstracts/scotland.html
http://www.electricscotland.com/history/articles/scotsirish.htm
in contrast here:
http://irishtribesman.blogspot.co.uk/2005/04/scots-did-not-come-from-ireland.html
In the middle here:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/education/sysm/scots/teachers/background.shtml
Latapy1911
05-08-2012, 09:18 PM
Didn't know Hasselbank signed for St.Johnstone, always rated him :\
Leishy1995
05-08-2012, 09:46 PM
Jeezo ..yer right facinated wi Fenlon & Irish players ...:greengrin
Griffiths, Cairney, Kujabi & Williams are NOT Irish ..so thats your theory blown right oot the windae ...
I know I know. I'm not sure anyone could successfully argue he has only signed Irish players.
05-08-2012, 09:53 PM
Would rather Rangers were in the SPL than Jimmy Calderwood was our manager.
That's the last thing we need at Hibs is someone with his level of success.
Top 4 finishes every year, last 32 of Europa cup against Bayern Munich.
Definitely don't want any of that carry on round here. Much better to muddle on with the likes of Fenlon.
I sometimes think some folk prefer us to be crap.
05-08-2012, 10:02 PM
Randomly interrupting the thread to drag it back on topic, but any word on Maybury or Forsyth signing for us?
Emerald
05-08-2012, 10:07 PM
Definitely don't want any of that carry on round here. Much better to muddle on with the likes of Fenlon.
:top marks Whilst I wouldn't have been jumping for joy at the time if Hibs had gone for Fat Jimmy, I totally agree with your comments. I remember Gordon Strachan once being asked what makes a good manager and he said "experience", not that he is the great oracle or anything but he should know better than most. Having managed, been managed and played for top teams in England and Scotland. PF had no experience of either managing or playing at anything like this level and it surprises me where people got their optimism from. I hope he can still turn the corner because I think this is it, take it or leave it.
Not long till the AGM - he might be in with a shout if our current manager continues his embarrassing attempt at getting us to play something that looks like football.
gegs70
05-08-2012, 10:23 PM
I dont think its all the managers fault.
We dont pay the wages to sign good players. How much waa Sauzee on 10k?
We really need to get a 2-3 good experienced players or we will be relegated! We play stephens at cebtre half but have experience in ohanlon. We lose oconnor our top scorer but dont :cbreplace him. We get rid of osbourne and put cairnie in his place....we still dont have a midfld. It aint looking gdand even the manager has said as much. We look worse than last season!!!
gegs70
05-08-2012, 10:25 PM
should have added hope im wrong....
Emerald
05-08-2012, 10:29 PM
I dont think its all the managers fault.
We dont pay the wages to sign good players. How much waa Sauzee on 10k?
We really need to get a 2-3 good experienced players or we will be relegated! We play stephens at cebtre half but have experience in ohanlon. We lose oconnor our top scorer but dont :cbreplace him. We get rid of osbourne and put cairnie in his place....we still dont have a midfld. It aint looking gdand even the manager has said as much. We look worse than last season!!!
Its never just one persons fault and yes we are worse than last year. However, why don't we forget Hibs budget and get Fenlon to work with St Mirren's, Motherwell's or Dundee Utd's budget and see how he likes that? Worth a thought?
gegs70
05-08-2012, 10:42 PM
Its never just one persons fault and yes we are worse than last year. However, why don't we forget Hibs budget and get Fenlon to work with St Mirren's, Motherwell's or Dundee Utd's budget and see how he likes that? Worth a thought?
Yep I agree
But they seem to manage to get better players through the door. Hasselbnk was a decentvplayer but went to st johnstone? Hayes went to Aberdeen?
Rambo1875
06-08-2012, 12:19 AM
Don't post very often at all but I think people need to take a step back. PF has been given very little financial backing yet the expectation is for him to have completely transformed the team that ended the season - mission impossible. We were terrible today and PF knows that. Surely now Petrie will see that if he doesn't invest he will lose a considerable amount via tickets when we are playing first division football next term.
Also think PF has to turn to youth. Why not throw Smith in at LB? Play Stanton? Granted we need a target man and a winger, but I think it's time for us to all stand together.
GGTTH.
06-08-2012, 12:39 AM
In Pat wee Trust. :wink: :casper: :cb
06-08-2012, 11:25 AM
Don't post very often at all but I think people need to take a step back. PF has been given very little financial backing yet the expectation is for him to have completely transformed the team that ended the season - mission impossible. We were terrible today and PF knows that. Surely now Petrie will see that if he doesn't invest he will lose a considerable amount via tickets when we are playing first division football next term.
Also think PF has to turn to youth. Why not throw Smith in at LB? Play Stanton? Granted we need a target man and a winger, but I think it's time for us to all stand together.
GGTTH.
Well said.
GGTTH07
06-08-2012, 11:34 AM
In Pat wee Trust. :wink: :casper: :cb
I don't have trust in pat at all now.
06-08-2012, 11:39 AM
Yep I agree
But they seem to manage to get better players through the door. Hasselbnk was a decentvplayer but went to st johnstone? Hayes went to Aberdeen?
Maybe it's to do with the fans and atmosphere at Easter Road, funny how none of the players we have signed are from the SPL even although we have been in for them
[cough] Clancy
06-08-2012, 11:56 AM
Thought I'd post a rumour on here...............just to be different likes. :greengrin
According to Agent Scotland on twitter we are back in for Cillian Sheridan.
06-08-2012, 12:32 PM
It's a while since we were linked with Sandaza, but he's set to sign for Sevco for £5k a week. After tax.
They're still trying to tie up Beattie and Kevin Kyle too.
06-08-2012, 12:41 PM
It's a while since we were linked with Sandaza, but he's set to sign for Sevco for £5k a week. After tax.
They shouldn't be allowed to sign anyone, talk about the SPL being unfair the third division will be a mockery, SFL and SPL have a lot to answer for.
jamieross
06-08-2012, 03:49 PM
All fair and well saying that but those clubs dont need a complete first team overhaul...
Deek01
06-08-2012, 04:29 PM
Hearing sandaza has signed for "The Rangers Football Club".
They shouldn't be allowed to sign anyone, talk about the SPL being unfair the third division will be a mockery, SFL and SPL have a lot to answer for.
There will be league reconstruction and der hun will be back up in 2 years. :wink:
06-08-2012, 05:33 PM
Hearing sandaza has signed for "The Rangers Football Club".
You mean zombie huns :wink:
S.sct
06-08-2012, 06:41 PM
Randomly interrupting the thread to drag it back on topic, but any word on Maybury or Forsyth signing for us?
:lips seal:lips seal
06-08-2012, 06:48 PM
Apparently rejected dundee and between Hibs and St Johnstone.
That's forsyth I'm talking about, no idea on Maybury.
They playing a 2-3-5 formation or something?!? Crazy
wazoo1875
06-08-2012, 06:53 PM
They'll need some amount of rope to tie up those flabby bassas Hugh ;-)
Hibstrooper
06-08-2012, 07:16 PM
Fenlon saying post match yesterday that whilst he hoped to add more faces this week nothing was close, didn't sound like there were many irons in the fire.
06-08-2012, 07:42 PM
:lips seal:lips seal
That's forsyth I'm talking about, no idea on Maybury.
Fenlon saying post match yesterday that whilst he hoped to add more faces this week nothing was close, didn't sound like there were many irons in the fire.
Cheers :aok:
06-08-2012, 09:31 PM
Look at the lack of SPL signings - we are ahead of most. But the SPL has the further disadvantage that it starts well before English leagues which paying more will have players waiting to see if they get offers from there first before they then consider the SPL as a back up...not ideal but its the financial situation we live in.
Hopefully another couple like Williams will take account of other things like facilities / Edinburgh / our potential :rolleyes: where there is not huge financial differences
06-08-2012, 10:21 PM
Just heard a whopper. Goodwillie to Hearts.............:applause:
06-08-2012, 10:27 PM
[cough] Clancy
Ooops forgot that one :-))
shetlandhibee
06-08-2012, 10:33 PM
What about Deeko is he not a free transfer right now he could partner Griffiths up front:top marks
GGTTH !!:flag:
06-08-2012, 10:34 PM
To be fair nobody seen Deegan coming.
Hibstrooper
07-08-2012, 06:24 AM
To be fair nobody seen Deegan coming.
True but in the days before Fenlon was saying he was close with one. He is pretty open so when he saying nothing is close I'd be really surprised to see someone else this week
07-08-2012, 06:59 AM
There is something seriously wrong at hibs, petrie and co know that we are in desperate need of reinforcements yet as per usual **** all is being done about it.............free transfers and sub standard signings seem to be the norm for us.........hearts have been seriously weekened yet are still a far stronger team than us,.......surely it would make more buisness sense bringing in 2 or 3 big signings in order to sell more season tickets. If we finished second or third then we could make the money back
07-08-2012, 07:05 AM
There is something seriously wrong at hibs, petrie and co know that we are in desperate need of reinforcements yet as per usual **** all is being done about it.............free transfers and sub standard signings seem to be the norm for us.........hearts have been seriously weekened yet are still a far stronger team than us,.......surely it would make more buisness sense bringing in 2 or 3 big signings in order to sell more season tickets. If we finished second or third then we could make the money back
07-08-2012, 09:43 AM
Yes you are right but the time to have done it to max ST sales was a month ago, not when the season has already started. We are now left trying to arrange deals as the transfer window deadline approaches with players that have not been signed by anybody else!! Worrying times.
07-08-2012, 09:52 AM
Yes you are right but the time to have done it to max ST sales was a month ago, not when the season has already started. We are now left trying to arrange deals as the transfer window deadline approaches with players that have not been signed by anybody else!! Worrying times.
We did have players signed a month ago.
Our problem is we need a lot of them and getting the right quality of players to come to us or to Scotland just now is not easy.
Fenlon has said in the last few days that 3 or 4 real quality players have turned us down. We can only keep at it but what we don't need right now is just to sign anyone for the sake of having bodies in so he needs to get on with working through the list of people he does want.
We've had to be patient and persistent with the likes of Deegan, Williams, McPake and Griffiths whilst if you went with the approach on here these guys would have had to be passed by as we chased people who would have been able to sign there and then.
I'd love five new players today the same as anyone but there's no point maoning about it when the guys involved are aware but actually have to work with the reality of getting it done.
green glory
07-08-2012, 09:55 AM
Any word on Maybury, Kerr and Sheridan yet?
07-08-2012, 09:56 AM
Define a big signing. The one signing that many were demanding was that of James McPake. Motherwell couldn't afford to match our offer for Clancy, a good solid performer in the SPL. We have paid a fee for Deegan and he will be on a decent wage. I think we are well short of having the players we need at the club but to suggest that **** all is being done is absolute nonsense.
Befroe McPake signed a permanent deal the argument was that it would be sound business sense to snap him up in terms of season ticket sales. How many do you think renewed on the back of that? Think back to other 'marquee' signings. How many extra season tickets were sold when Stokes arrived? I am willing to bet you that it wasn't enough to cover his wages. Nothing in Scottish football ever makes sound business sense except to the lunatics who want somebody else to spend money for them.
07-08-2012, 10:04 AM
Any word on Maybury, Kerr and Sheridan yet?
I bloody hope not, the lee Miller rumour has also went a bit quiet?
07-08-2012, 10:27 AM
We did have players signed a month ago.
Our problem is we need a lot of them and getting the right quality of players to come to us or to Scotland just now is not easy.
Fenlon has said in the last few days that 3 or 4 real quality players have turned us down. We can only keep at it but what we don't need right now is just to sign anyone for the sake of having bodies in so he needs to get on with working through the list of people he does want.
We've had to be patient and persistent with the likes of Deegan, Williams, McPake and Griffiths whilst if you went with the approach on here these guys would have had to be passed by as we chased people who would have been able to sign there and then.
I'd love five new players today the same as anyone but there's no point maoning about it when the guys involved are aware but actually have to work with the reality of getting it done.
It was clear to see at the end of last season that a complete restructure of the team was required. Not blaming Fenlon if he hasn't been backed and 'real quality players' are turning us down but it is showing a lack of ambition and shortsightedness that we have started the season with flops from last season in the starring 11 like Stephens, Stevenson, Wotherspoon & Sproule! As I say worrying times! I just hope that Pat is able to bring in players that are better than the above named and not just however we we can find last minute who will come to Hibs.
07-08-2012, 10:39 AM
Define a big signing. The one signing that many were demanding was that of James McPake. Motherwell couldn't afford to match our offer for Clancy, a good solid performer in the SPL. We have paid a fee for Deegan and he will be on a decent wage. I think we are well short of having the players we need at the club but to suggest that **** all is being done is absolute nonsense.
Befroe McPake signed a permanent deal the argument was that it would be sound business sense to snap him up in terms of season ticket sales. How many do you think renewed on the back of that? Think back to other 'marquee' signings. How many extra season tickets were sold when Stokes arrived? I am willing to bet you that it wasn't enough to cover his wages. Nothing in Scottish football ever makes sound business sense except to the lunatics who want somebody else to spend money for them.
Good point.
It's not marquee signings that get folk back to the games, it's those 'marquee' signings stepping up to the plate and putting in performances week in week out.
07-08-2012, 10:52 AM
It was clear to see at the end of last season that a complete restructure of the team was required. Not blaming Fenlon if he hasn't been backed and 'real quality players' are turning us down but it is showing a lack of ambition and shortsightedness that we have started the season with flops from last season in the starring 11 like Stephens, Stevenson, Wotherspoon & Sproule! As I say worrying times! I just hope that Pat is able to bring in players that are better than the above named and not just however we we can find last minute who will come to Hibs.
Fenlon has been left with all these guys still being under contract though, along with the likes of O'Hanlon and Galbraith.
He's shown last year they wouldn't all be playing for him if he had a choice.
He is trying to get better and it's taking some time, we've signed six decent players, which is more than most teams but the scale of what we are trying to do is an issue.
Yes, we are fed up of being told to be patient but a rebuild this size isn't going to take place in a matter of weeks.
At the time of the SPL vote most were saying they could accept a new reality and - what a load of tosh that was, one game in and it's clear that we want everything delivered today.
07-08-2012, 11:15 AM
At the time of the SPL vote most were saying they could accept a new reality and - what a load of tosh that was, one game in and it's clear that we want everything delivered today.
Dont think thats the case, not for me anyway
I would have accepted a loss if we showed some level of improvement.....some ability with the ball, some creativity, some drive, some passion
we showed none of that on Sunday
Not one shot on target tells its own story
07-08-2012, 11:17 AM
I would have accepted a loss if we showed some level of improvement.....some ability with the ball, some creativity, some drive, some passion
We weren't going to get much of that with about 5 players who couldn't get their game for the team that finished second bottom last year.
GreenOnions
07-08-2012, 11:22 AM
I am finding it frustrating like everyone else but agree with Andy74.
I tend to think that, prior to close season signings being made, there was no-one at the club that PF would consider as definitely 1st team quality.
I'd like to think that some of the youngsters will make the step up - I do think Booth has got what it takes and I was impressed with Caldwell against Huddersfield. I haven't seen Stanton or Scott Smith but hopefully they can progress too. From the Huddersfield game Handling looks a bit away from it at the moment IMO.
However, it's not ideal to throw loads of kids in at once - especially when the team's under pressure.
I am encouraged by the signings that Fenlon has made. Williams, Clancy, McPake, Cairney and Griffiths all look good quality so far and hopefully Deegan too. However, because of where we started from there is still a massive job to do and, IMO, at least three quality players are required for us to be talking top six.
Just_Jimmy
07-08-2012, 11:25 AM
I keep thinking back to Mowbrays first league game, a 1-0 home loss to Kilmarnock (Boyd Freekick). We'd been a mess under Williamson for a while and everyone still had the 'who' and 'whats he done' tags on Mowbray. I remember leaving that game convinced we'd have a good season because of the drive and the fact we dominated Kilmarnock that day.
Mowbray said the same on the season review DVD, that after that 90 minutes, he knew his team was ready. I've not seen that 'readiness' from any hibs team since. We always start the season miles behind everyone else in preperation.
Hibstrooper
07-08-2012, 11:26 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Iwelumo
Been told he can leave Watford. Bags of experience and age shouldn't be too much of an issue given his style of play. Worth a punt :hmmm:
07-08-2012, 11:31 AM
Been told he can leave Watford. Bags of experience and age shouldn't be too much of an issue given his style of play. Worth a punt :hmmm:
Ive always really liked Iwelumo, think he gets a bit of a hard time off people. Isnt a prolific goalscorer but he hasnt went through decent spells at clubs. Getting on a bit at 34 but he would well be worth a year or two imo.
07-08-2012, 11:44 AM
We weren't going to get much of that with about 5 players who couldn't get their game for the team that finished second bottom last year.
I totally agree Callum. It's even more worrying that there is still no evidence that the team is capable of putting the opposition (any opposition), under sustained pressure for a period of time.
07-08-2012, 12:05 PM
Yes:agree:
goosefat
07-08-2012, 12:29 PM
This is just a thought.
Let us assume, for arguments sake, that PF gets in 2 more players before the window closes. We then see a very gradual improvement in comparison to last season, get a couple more faces added in January and then finish, say, 9th.
Would this be acceptable?
The way I read some of the posts on this thread people are, on the one hand, saying the PF has a massive rebuilding job to do but, on the other hand, seem to want a top 6 squad in place before the end of August. I just don’t think that’s realistic. Provided we can get some continuity and stability within the squad personnel, steadily build it over a 3-4 year period (yes, it may take that long or even longer) then we may have to reserve judgment for some time yet.
Having said all of that, if we do continue to change the manager the night before every AGM then none if this is ever going to happen. I’m not saying that getting rid of CC was the wrong move but at some point I do think we are going to have to accept that change will not happen in the space of one transfer window and that if we do see improvement, however small, then we should probably stick with whoever is taking us on that course, otherwise we’ll just end up an infinite loop of restructure and re-building.
There is something seriously wrong at hibs, petrie and co know that we are in desperate need of reinforcements yet as per usual **** all is being done about it.............free transfers and sub standard signings seem to be the norm for us.........hearts have been seriously weekened yet are still a far stronger team than us,.......
On the point highlighted, we do appear to have paid a fee for Deegan.
Though officially 'undisclosed', press sources down in Coventry are putting the fee at around £100k. That's a lot for us for bringing someone in on a one year contract.
So the bonus from the Bamba sell-on from Leicester City seems to have been re-invested in Deegan.
07-08-2012, 12:51 PM
This is just a thought.
Let us assume, for arguments sake, that PF gets in 2 more players before the window closes. We then see a very gradual improvement in comparison to last season, get a couple more faces added in January and then finish, say, 9th.
Would this be acceptable?
The way I read some of the posts on this thread people are, on the one hand, saying the PF has a massive rebuilding job to do but, on the other hand, seem to want a top 6 squad in place before the end of August. I just don’t think that’s realistic. Provided we can get some continuity and stability within the squad personnel, steadily build it over a 3-4 year period (yes, it may take that long or even longer) then we may have to reserve judgment for some time yet.
Having said all of that, if we do continue to change the manager the night before every AGM then none if this is ever going to happen. I’m not saying that getting rid of CC was the wrong move but at some point I do think we are going to have to accept that change will not happen in the space of one transfer window and that if we do see improvement, however small, then we should probably stick with whoever is taking us on that course, otherwise we’ll just end up an infinite loop of restructure and re-building.
Top 6 this season should be exactly what Hibs are aiming to achieve, minimum.
When you look around the Rangers-free SPL, Motherwell, Kilmarnock, St Mirren, St Johnstone are all, for me, significantly weakened. Hibernian had the chance to rebuild and start afresh.
'Well losing Jennings and Clancy and not being able to add is telling. Last season they led a charmed life with regards injuries and suspensions. Kilmarnock lost Deano and released a few, only to my knowledge adding Rory Boulding of note. Saints lost Sandaza, Morris, Sheridan......Tade and Hasselbaink don't fill that void for me. St Mirren have even been weakened and not been able to add.
Aberdeen added a couple of good players and have a competitive looking squad - Dundee United are streets ahead of the rest, yet with injuries to Daly/Russell or GMS who knows what the season will bring. Hearts, despite I thought looking average, always muster up steely squads and Tynecastle is always good for them.
Hibernian need to get into the good habit of preparing for the new season weeks before the current one ends, and have players signed up, fit and ready to go, first kick of the season. Instead we add on last days of the window, rushed/panic signings, nothing long term agreed. They also need to look at the creative aspect of the team - that is what excites fans and brings them back, even if there is a defeat. Bums of seat players, with pace and a touch of 'what's he going to do next'.
Can anyone for example remember the last truly gifted and skilful Hibs winger ? Has anyone replaced Latapy in the central area as a consistently good, dazzling centre mid ?
Maybe it's because I was a midfielder that I remember as a kid wanting to be Ally MacLeod, Gordon Strachan, Andy Ritchie, Dalglish or a Davie Cooper. Players who when they got the ball they nearly always did something with it and had you going to the park afterwards and trying to do it.
If I wanted to do a David Wotherspoon impression nowadays for example I would simply have to have someone throw a ball to me and watch it bounce off my foot straight out of play !
Pace, width and some bloody skill - get it sorted Petrie :greengrin
goosefat
07-08-2012, 12:56 PM
If I wanted to do a David Wotherspoon impression nowadays for example I would simply have to have someone throw a ball to me and watch it bounce off my foot straight out of play !
Correction: that should read "throw a ball at my neck and watch it bounce straight out of play."
davey 2 good
07-08-2012, 01:08 PM
Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk you heard it here first hibs are talking to callum elliott
07-08-2012, 01:09 PM
Dance instructor?
07-08-2012, 01:11 PM
Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk you heard it here first hibs are talking to callum elliott
:troll:
07-08-2012, 01:13 PM
:agree: Louie Spence is doing the negotiations.
07-08-2012, 01:13 PM
For a team like Hibs, anything less than a top 4 finish should be classed as dismal failure! Or the 'terrible awful' according to Minnie!
07-08-2012, 01:21 PM
Davey 2 Bad
07-08-2012, 01:24 PM
Davey 2 Bad
2 good 2 bad?? Wheres adrian chiles...............:greengrin
goosefat
07-08-2012, 01:25 PM
For a team like Hibs, anything less than a top 4 finish should be classed as dismal failure! Or the 'terrible awful' according to Minnie!
For a team like Hibs (meaning the team we have right now) a top 4 finish is not realistic. The team people expect Hibs to be, and where they should finish, and the team they are right now are light years apart.
We need to keep in mind where we are at present and, unfortunately, lower our short term expectations.
07-08-2012, 01:27 PM
For a team like Hibs (meaning the team we have right now) a top 4 finish is not realistic. The team people expect Hibs to be, and where they should finish, and the team they are right now are light years apart.
We need to keep in mid where we are at present and, unfortunately, lower our short term expectations.
Your right we will be lucky to get bottom 4!!
07-08-2012, 01:31 PM
Did they fall oot wi him like ?
07-08-2012, 01:33 PM
You heard it here first, that is absolute b@@locks
07-08-2012, 01:35 PM
We need to keep in mid where we are at present and, unfortunately, lower our short term expectations.
For me this is a huge part of the problem! As hibs fans, for starters we have never been short term but we have become subserviant to the term above in bold. **** lowering oor expectations! The jumbos from across the city are £40m in debt and do they lower their expectations? Do the ****! That is the winning mentality we need, the seige mentality!
How long do the board expect us to raise our butts in the air and accept a rogering? For me, enough is enough! I'll support the team, ffs, I have done for 40+ years but now is the time for action, from our board, not talk!
07-08-2012, 02:04 PM
Top 6 this season should be exactly what Hibs are aiming to achieve, minimum.
When you look around the Rangers-free SPL, Motherwell, Kilmarnock, St Mirren, St Johnstone are all, for me, significantly weakened. Hibernian had the chance to rebuild and start afresh.
'Well losing Jennings and Clancy and not being able to add is telling. Last season they led a charmed life with regards injuries and suspensions. Kilmarnock lost Deano and released a few, only to my knowledge adding Rory Boulding of note. Saints lost Sandaza, Morris, Sheridan......Tade and Hasselbaink don't fill that void for me. St Mirren have even been weakened and not been able to add.
Aberdeen added a couple of good players and have a competitive looking squad - Dundee United are streets ahead of the rest, yet with injuries to Daly/Russell or GMS who knows what the season will bring. Hearts, despite I thought looking average, always muster up steely squads and Tynecastle is always good for them.
Hibernian need to get into the good habit of preparing for the new season weeks before the current one ends, and have players signed up, fit and ready to go, first kick of the season. Instead we add on last days of the window, rushed/panic signings, nothing long term agreed. They also need to look at the creative aspect of the team - that is what excites fans and brings them back, even if there is a defeat. Bums of seat players, with pace and a touch of 'what's he going to do next'.
Can anyone for example remember the last truly gifted and skilful Hibs winger ? Has anyone replaced Latapy in the central area as a consistently good, dazzling centre mid ?
Maybe it's because I was a midfielder that I remember as a kid wanting to be Ally MacLeod, Gordon Strachan, Andy Ritchie, Dalglish or a Davie Cooper. Players who when they got the ball they nearly always did something with it and had you going to the park afterwards and trying to do it.
Pace, width and some bloody skill - get it sorted Petrie :greengrin
I would imagine PF & Hibs had signing targets in mind at the end of last season or early into into the close season. Our preferred targets just did not wont to sign for us and who can blame them. Finishing second bottom is not a good selling point.
If PF can get the right couple of people in over the next few weeks then adding again in January and we see a marked improvement then next season our preferred targets will be saying well, Hibs look a better option. Then we take the next step.
Most people have said that it'll take a couple of seasons to get to a decent place but after game one we're greeting.
07-08-2012, 02:37 PM
Do you think we'll line up like this v. Yams?
Williams
Clancy
McPake
O'Hanlon
Maybury
Cairney
Kerr
Deegan
Forsyth
Griffiths
Sheridan
07-08-2012, 02:40 PM
Williams
Clancy
McPake
O'Hanlon
Maybury
Cairney
Kerr
Deegan
Forsyth
Griffiths
Sheridan
I dunno Speedy, what do you think?
Fat Penlon
07-08-2012, 02:43 PM
Williams
Clancy
McPake
O'Hanlon
Maybury
Cairney
Kerr
Deegan
Forsyth
Griffiths
Sheridan
No Hanlon, Stevens, Stevenson, Sproule or wotherspoon! Now that would be a step forward. Is this a hint at something you have heard?
07-08-2012, 02:44 PM
Its clear we need another centre half to play, and if its nobody new then Hanlon should play there. That means we need someone else at left back, and for me whoever plays there be it Kujabi or Booth, then we have just made that position weaker.
I wonder if Maybury would be a short term answer at left back, but is he any better than what we have?
The rest of the team is weak, you could pick any combination of whats left, and then think straight away you needed to change it.
Its clear we need another centre half to play, and if its nobody new then Hanlon should play there. That means we need someone else at left back, and for me whoever plays there be it Kujabi or Booth, then we have just made that position weaker.
I wonder if Maybury would be a short term answer at left back, but is he any better than what we have?
The rest of the team is weak, you could pick any combination of whats left, and then think straight away you needed to change it.
Maybury has the experience and won't panic or get out of position every 2 seconds like the rest of that lot, same goes for Kerr, not my 1st choice but again knows what it's all about.
07-08-2012, 02:52 PM
No, it's Speeders at the wind-up. One of these days we'll collectively realise he likes to chuck in a wee grenade here and there :aok:
07-08-2012, 02:53 PM
I just seen Stephens driving an expensive car through Tranent High Street. He looked me straight in the eye and I think even he came to the realisation that he was staring at a better footballer than him.
I even had a cigarette in my hand.
07-08-2012, 03:00 PM
If Hanlon is the one to be dropped after that game on Sunday then they can have my ST back too.
07-08-2012, 03:18 PM
No, it's Speeders at the wind-up. One of these days we'll collectively realise he likes to chuck in a wee grenade here and there :aok:
I was just thinking that Kerr and Maybury are essentially waiting to sign for us, Brucie and Sillyname are rumoured to have been offered terms therefore we have the ability, in theory, to field a much changed side on Sunday.
Fenlon said there would be changes, but who has he got as things stand?
07-08-2012, 03:20 PM
Maybury is a right back, Why would we play him at left back when we have Stevenson, Kujabi, Booth?.
07-08-2012, 03:26 PM
Maybury is a right back, Why would we play him at left back when we have Stevenson, Kujabi, Booth?.
Four Reasons:
1. Maybury can play and has played Left Back, fitting in with the 'jack of all trades, master of none' criteria that we have for signings now.
2. Lewis Stevenson
3. Pa Kujabi
4. Callum Booth
07-08-2012, 03:29 PM
Williams
Clancy
McPake
O'Hanlon
Maybury
Cairney
Kerr
Deegan
Forsyth
Griffiths
Sheridan
Possibly a tad unrealisitc but it would be better!
hibsmad
07-08-2012, 03:30 PM
Because theyr'e all rubbish.
07-08-2012, 03:32 PM
Four Reasons:
1. Maybury can play and has played Left Back, fitting in with the 'jack of all trades, master of none' criteria that we have for signings now.
2. Lewis Stevenson
3. Pa Kujabi
4. Callum Booth
Well i wouldn't be signing Maybury to play him LB when we have other areas of the pitch in desperate need of cover.
Id sign him as a RB for sure.But not for LB.
07-08-2012, 03:33 PM
Because theyr'e all rubbish.
The whole team is rubbish bar 2 or 3 players.
07-08-2012, 03:35 PM
I just seen Stephens driving an expensive car through Tranent High Street. He looked me straight in the eye and I think even he came to the realisation that he was staring at a better footballer than him.
I even had a cigarette in my hand.
:faf::faf: Thats brilliant.
07-08-2012, 03:38 PM
I think he probably could short term.
hibsmad
07-08-2012, 03:41 PM
The whole team is rubbish bar 2 or 3 players.
Clancy claims his best position is right back so we need to give him more than one game there to see how good he is.
Therefore if Maybury signs then I would play him at left back. I'd certainly prefer him there than any of the other three (who have all been ripped a new one against them at least once in the past).
07-08-2012, 03:44 PM
Clancy claims his best position is right back so we need to give him more than one game there to see how good he is.
Therefore if Maybury signs then I would play him at left back. I'd certainly prefer him there than any of the other three (who have all been ripped a new one against them at least once in the past).
Id bin Stephens and have Clancy CH and Maybury RB.
07-08-2012, 03:50 PM
I think he probably could short term.
Me too and if he doesn't trust/fancy Kujabi at left back then it would be a good, solid answer and enables Hanlon to get back beside McPake, which was working quite well.
Williams, Clancy, McPake, Hanlon and Maybury would be a decent back 5.
07-08-2012, 03:51 PM
Me too and if he doesn't trust/fancy Kujabi at left back then it would be a good, solid answer and enables Hanlon to get back beside McPake, which was working quite well.
Williams, Clancy, McPake, Hanlon and Maybury would be a decent back 5.
Agree certainly an improvement on Sunday.
07-08-2012, 03:56 PM
Id bin Stephens and have Clancy CH and Maybury RB.
Yip, so would I, and it would be a massive improvement on the shambles fielded on Sunday past.
07-08-2012, 03:57 PM
Agree certainly an improvement on Sunday.
Agree too, but one of the most worrying things from Sunday (from the point of view of someone who has had a good amount of faith in Fenlon) was the fact that he could possibly think that the back four played on Sunday was a good idea.
In the context of the disaster that was last season, McPake's leading from the back and his bringing out better performances from Hanlon was one of the very few highlights - for him to change that I would expect to see a back four that had worked together all summer and was well drilled. But we were anything but, and he managed to make a vulnerable area of the team (even at its best last season, we still were) even more vulnerable. Bringing Stephens in was madness, and everyone in the back four suffered from his selection.
goosefat
07-08-2012, 04:08 PM
For me this is a huge part of the problem! As hibs fans, for starters we have never been short term but we have become subserviant to the term above in bold. **** lowering oor expectations! The jumbos from across the city are £40m in debt and do they lower their expectations? Do the ****! That is the winning mentality we need, the seige mentality!
How long do the board expect us to raise our butts in the air and accept a rogering? For me, enough is enough! I'll support the team, ffs, I have done for 40+ years but now is the time for action, from our board, not talk!
What Hearts do and how much debt they are in should be of no concern to Hibernian Football Club and should certainly not be used as some kind of template for success. Your grammar isn’t great and I may well have misunderstood some of your post but you do also seem to suggest that by running their club in this reckless fashion Hearts have somehow bred a "winning mentality”. I’m pretty sure this can be achieved without the £40m debt.
The point is, even if we magically had the perfect management and board in place tomorrow, it would still take more than a season or two before we turn this ship around. As a Hibs fan I agree we should expect better but I’m also well aware of the reality of our position.
We are where we are and, as I said before, things will clearly not improve overnight so we do therefore need to lower our short term expectations.
07-08-2012, 04:08 PM
Agree too, but one of the most worrying things from Sunday (from the point of view of someone who has had a good amount of faith in Fenlon) was the fact that he could possibly think that the back four played on Sunday was a good idea.
In the context of the disaster that was last season, McPake's leading from the back and his bringing out better performances from Hanlon was one of the very few highlights - for him to change that I would expect to see a back four that had worked together all summer and was well drilled. But we were anything but, and he managed to make a vulnerable area of the team (even at its best last season, we still were) even more vulnerable. Bringing Stephens in was madness, and everyone in the back four suffered from his selection.
Totally agree with the bit in bold, personally amazed that was seen as a good idea. McPake and Hanlon while being no world beaters as a partnership at least appeared to have an understanding and personally thought McPake beside him had brought Hanlon on. To bring in Stephens who to me is bang average was an interesting choice and resulted in the moving of both McPake and Hanlon which didnt help either or the team. What will be even more worrying is if the folly is repeated on Sunday. Get McPake and Hanlon back in the middle please.
07-08-2012, 04:16 PM
Can't disagree with that. I've been very surprised to see him playing such a role, from nowhere, pre season and now into the season.
I mean, Fenlon must have seen him at the first game he attended v St Johnstone, then again against St Johnstone later on, and he was not exactly great v Huddersfield either.
We simply can't afford a factor in there that is going to destabilise things and make us easy to score against again.
Hibiza
07-08-2012, 04:32 PM
looks like it. pure rubbish
07-08-2012, 04:36 PM
A team with Stephens, Sproule, Stevenson and Wotherspoon starting in it, I'm afraid are going to.get absolutely nowhere.
I know playing younger players in a poor team can do them more harm than good.. but if they cant at least give us what those mentioned can (which is F.A.) then their talent must be pretty poor.
Playing the younger ones might not improve results but I'm sure the fans could at least accept we are trying to bring quality into the club but whilst we short on them we will play younger players with energy and enthusiasm and mix them with the handful of players that are of sufficient standard.
Its cringeworthy seeing those players in Hibs team.
machibby
07-08-2012, 04:39 PM
This thread?!!!
07-08-2012, 04:41 PM
I swear Hibs fans are getting more like Aberdeen supporters by the minute.
07-08-2012, 04:45 PM
I'm certain you're a Jambo.
Lmc2105
07-08-2012, 04:51 PM
Would love to see a target man brought in for sunday as speedway team suggested looked strong and looked like a team that could hurt them,
This 451 or 4231 doesn't work and a big man has to be a priority for sunday as webster and zailukas will have a field day against griffiths on his own! Especially if the way we played the ball into him on sunday! Still think as speedway suggested fenlon will pull a couple out the bag,
Platinum Scotty
07-08-2012, 04:54 PM
As a complete novice when it comes to posting and as someone who isnt a regular attender to the games, I am probably going to get shot down here for even daring to raise this point but what the heck, its about taking chances eh...:duck:
This forum has been a constant source of news for folks like myself who arent at all the games, and for geogrpaphical reason arent likely to be at many games in the near future, to such an extent that I believe i have been as well informed as anyone could be - that is until the last few months...............the reason, simply due to the fact that when I click a link that I naively beleived that I would see something at least relating to the thread title.
this one for instance, an optimist would expect to see, no matter how unbeleivable, rumours about signings - alas no......the thread has been hijacked to discuss at length, issues that if they were that important surely deserve their own threads - nor for one minute am I suggesting the issues arent important (I beleive they are) - purely that the threads are of interest for a reason, and its normally the title, so please if only for the folks like me, can we try and keep them relevant and start new threads when folks feel as passionate about an issue
i note my own irony on putting this comment on a rumour thread of course !!!
07-08-2012, 06:21 PM
07 Aug 2012 17:20:37
alan maybury has signed ma source is a family member
from Football Rumours.
Also mention of Gary Twigg again
Matty_Jack04
07-08-2012, 06:24 PM
07-08-2012, 06:32 PM
Nothing like an Aberdeen fan buddy! As a long suffering Hibee, I would like to see a more aggressive winning attitude. I feel we must expect more, why not?
08-08-2012, 09:47 AM
Any word on sheridan or indeed any other rumours??
08-08-2012, 09:53 AM
Your in the wrong thread.
Hibs.net is like Willy Wonka's Chocolate factory....nothing is what it seems.
I heard yesterday that we are trying to get him signed by weekend. Could he be training with us? Might have a wee nosey at 1pm a ER.
08-08-2012, 10:06 AM
rumour has it that there are no new rumours,thats just a rumour tho
08-08-2012, 10:20 AM
I heard yesterday that we are trying to get him signed by weekend. Could he be training with us? Might have a wee nosey at 1pm a ER.
Yet someone else has posted on another thread that Gary twigg is rumoured to be talking to us so add him to the ever growing list..........
08-08-2012, 10:21 AM
rumour has it that there are no new rumours,thats just a rumour tho
08-08-2012, 10:42 AM
Yet someone else has posted on another thread that Gary twigg is rumoured to be talking to us so add him to the ever growing list..........
Also add Somen Tchoyi, a 6'3" attacking midfielder, Cameroon internationalist, was with WBA last season, taken from the Hibs Roumers site, so no doubt rubbish!
08-08-2012, 10:45 AM
Also add Somen Tchoyi, a 6'3" attacking midfielder, Cameroon internationalist, was with WBA last season, taken from the Hibs Roumers site, so no doubt rubbish!
From Wikipdedia: -
On 4th August 2012, The Birmingham Mail (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birmingham_Mail) announced that Tchoyi had begun training with midland neighbours Birmingham City (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birmingham_City_F.C.)
08-08-2012, 10:53 AM
From Wikipdedia: -
On 4th August 2012, The Birmingham Mail (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birmingham_Mail) announced that Tchoyi had begun training with midland neighbours Birmingham City (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birmingham_City_F.C.)
That will be that then :greengrin
08-08-2012, 11:37 AM
Nope
08-08-2012, 11:43 AM
Nope
Ok Scoopy, what's the chances of him.signing.?
08-08-2012, 11:48 AM
If Hanlon is the one to be dropped after that game on Sunday then they can have my ST back too.
08-08-2012, 11:48 AM
Ok Scoopy, what's the chances of him.signing.?
I honestly don't know if he will sign or not or even if we are after him.
Am getting so disorientated I don't even know who I want to sign anymore.
Maybury, Kerr, Sheridan. Haven't a clue if they are the answer or not, somedays I think maybe aye other days maybe naw.
I am happy with Williams, McPake, Clancy, Cairney, Griffiths and Deegan though.
08-08-2012, 12:05 PM
And here was me thinking you had your finger on the pulse. ;-)
08-08-2012, 12:12 PM
And here was me thinking you had your finger on the pulse. ;-)
I'll be honest
I'm not sure anyone at Hibs has their finger on the pulse never mind me:greengrin
08-08-2012, 12:15 PM
I'll be honest
I'm not sure anyone at Hibs has their finger on the pulse never mind me:greengrin
The Hibs corpse doesn't have a pulse:wink::greengrin
08-08-2012, 12:20 PM
I'll be honest
Yeah at Hibs most of the fingers are up their jacksie
mcfly
08-08-2012, 01:16 PM
Sadly the board don't have the same level of ambition as the fans.
I'm willing to reserve judgement on who we sign by end of transfer window, by why do we always wait till we are in a crisis??
After mr petries comments and apologies I was expecting real changes, sadly I feel we have been taken for granted again,
Nothing will change and the long suffering hibs fans deserve so much better.
If we lose heavily on Sunday I expect the board to come under severe pressure as year on year relegation battles are not good enough.
08-08-2012, 02:52 PM
Luke Shanley @LukeShanley (https://twitter.com/LukeShanley) #Hibernian (https://twitter.com/search/?src=hash&q=%23Hibernian) manager Pat Fenlon tells #SSN (https://twitter.com/search/?src=hash&q=%23SSN) he hopes to complete the signing of Alan Maybury 'in the next day or two'.
08-08-2012, 02:55 PM
Luke Shanley @LukeShanley (https://twitter.com/LukeShanley) #Hibernian (https://twitter.com/search/?src=hash&q=%23Hibernian) manager Pat Fenlon tells #SSN (https://twitter.com/search/?src=hash&q=%23SSN) he hopes to complete the signing of Alan Maybury 'in the next day or two'.
That ones come right out of left field
08-08-2012, 03:01 PM
New left back for Sunday and move Hanlon to centre back
08-08-2012, 03:04 PM
More likely he will be right back and move Clancy to centre, no?
08-08-2012, 03:06 PM
I would think Maybury LB and Clancy RB, McPake and Hanlon in the centre - we need the natural balance that left and right footed centre halves gives us, and was a decent partnership last year.
Was lunacy changing it for the Utd game.
Yup and keep Hanlon at left back. Ok with this TBH, just the midfield and the strikers.
About time, our back four will look that bit better.
08-08-2012, 03:11 PM
Does he have a good goalscoring record? :greengrin
That ones come right out of left field
TowerHibs
08-08-2012, 03:30 PM
Luke shanley on twitter has said PF confirms to Sky Sports that he hopes to sign Maybury in next day or two!
08-08-2012, 03:31 PM
Good.
If that means Hanlon moves back into the middle and Stephens drops out then I'm happy.
goosefat
08-08-2012, 03:34 PM
Good.
If that means Hanlon moves back into the middle and Stephens drops out then I'm happy.
:agree: and :agree:
08-08-2012, 03:34 PM
I honestly don't know if he will sign or not or even if we are after him.
Am getting so disorientated I don't even know who I want to sign anymore.
Maybury, Kerr, Sheridan. Haven't a clue if they are the answer or not, somedays I think maybe aye other days maybe naw.
I am happy with Williams, McPake, Clancy, Cairney, Griffiths and Deegan though.
:agree: and I think what you are saying is better than wait to get more like those than rush to just get bodies through the door...only to be left paying wages for players who will never make the team - eh I think thats what you are saying / thinking ?
08-08-2012, 03:35 PM
Good.
If that means Hanlon moves back into the middle and Stephens drops out then I'm happy.:agree:
08-08-2012, 03:39 PM
That would be my preferred option.
08-08-2012, 03:39 PM
Given that Fenlon pretty much admitted Maybury was his second choice it's hard to get excited.
08-08-2012, 03:40 PM
I think he will keep Clancy at right back for the season, only moving him as a last resort.
08-08-2012, 03:41 PM
Superb news. This should help our attacking options. wingers!!!
Franck Le God
08-08-2012, 03:41 PM
Sadly the board don't have the same level of ambition as the fans.
I'm willing to reserve judgement on who we sign by end of transfer window, by why do we always wait till we are in a crisis??
After mr petries comments and apologies I was expecting real changes, sadly I feel we have been taken for granted again,
Nothing will change and the long suffering hibs fans deserve so much better.
If we lose heavily on Sunday I expect the board to come under severe pressure as year on year relegation battles are not good enough.
How would losing on Sunday leave us in a relegation battle?
08-08-2012, 03:42 PM
Given that Fenlon pretty much admitted Maybury was his second choice it's hard to get excited.
He didn't. He said he was a very good player who it would be great to have but given he had priorities elsewhere he wasn't sure he would have the budget for it.
08-08-2012, 03:49 PM
Alan Maybury? How can anyone get excited by this signing? A club with aspirations of top 6 finishes should not be buying an SPL has-been. He's past it. In fact, none of the signings we've made so far are worthy of a top 6 team. I've been biting my tongue through this whole transfer period, as I really, REALLY hoped that Pat would be the man to change our fortunes, but the recruits so far have been pretty awful, and hardly inspiring.
Ben Williams - Seems pretty strong so far. It's about time we had a keeper that wasn't complete bomb scare.
Leigh Griffiths - Semi-talented footballer who's plagued with the kind of attitude problems that have been rife at this club in the past few years.
James McPake - Decent, but nothing better than that. The fact that people were treating his signing like it was the second coming speaks volumes about the expectations our support holds these days. He was the best of an extremely bad bunch last season.
Paul Cairney - Remains to be seen, but signing players that are 'good' by first division standards doesn't exactly excite.
Tim Clancy - Did well in a good Motherwell team last season. Probably the best signing of the transfer period thus far.
Gary Deegan - Coventry fans seems to be more than happy that he's been taken off their wage bill, but it's too early for us to make a judgement.
One thing that all the signings have in common though, is that they are boring. So, so, so boring. No real marquee signings to bring some life into the fans and the club. For me, it's about time we started letting the youth players play a significant part in the make-up of our squad again. The club's 'fortunes' seem to have dwindled ever since we started buying players, instead of breeding them.
mcfly
08-08-2012, 03:50 PM
How would losing on Sunday leave us in a relegation battle?
Have you been watching derbies since april 2009??
We don't compete - I'm hoping Sunday will change but I'm not confident.
08-08-2012, 03:51 PM
Im happy with this signing, and it appears that the back 5 is more or less sorted for this season (in whatever combination).
I hope this isnt the only signing before Sunday however, we really need something extra going forward, whether that be a winger or a new striker (or ideally, both!).
08-08-2012, 03:58 PM
Alan Maybury? How can anyone get excited by this signing. A club with aspirations of top 6 finishes should not be buying an SPL has-been. He's past it. In fact, none of the signings we've made so far are worthy of a top 6 team. I've been biting my tongue through this whole transfer period, as I really, REALLY hoped that Pat would be the man to change our fortunes, but the recruits so far have been pretty awful, and hardly inspiring.
it beats me :agree:
08-08-2012, 04:00 PM
Alan Maybury? How can anyone get excited by this signing. A club with aspirations of top 6 finishes should not be buying an SPL has-been. He's past it. In fact, none of the signings we've made so far are worthy of a top 6 team. I've been biting my tongue through this whole transfer period, as I really, REALLY hoped that Pat would be the man to change our fortunes, but the recruits so far have been pretty awful, and hardly inspiring.
Ben Williams - Seems pretty strong so far. It's about time we had a keeper that wasn't complete bomb scare.
Leigh Griffiths - Semi-talented footballer who's plagued with the kind of attitude problems that have been rife at this club in the past few years.
James McPake - Decent, but nothing better than that. The fact that people were treating his signing like it was the second coming speaks volumes about the expectations our support holds these days. He was the best of an extremely bad bunch last season.
Paul Cairney - Remains to be seen, but signing players that are 'good' by first division standards doesn't exactly excite.
Tim Clancy - Did well in a good Motherwell team last season. Probably the best signing of the transfer period thus far.
Gary Deegan - Coventry fans seems to be more than happy that he's been taken off their wage bill, but it's too early for us to make a judgement.
One thing that all the signings have in common though, is that they are boring. So, so, so boring. No real marquee signings to bring some life into the fans and the club. For me, it's about time we started letting the youth players play a significant part in the make-up of our squad again. The club's 'fortunes' seem to have dwindled ever since we started buying players, instead of breeding them.
Not saying Maybury is an exciting signing however he will do a job IMO. Just for interest who would you consider an exciting signing?
08-08-2012, 04:06 PM
Not saying Maybury is an exciting signing however he will do a job IMO. Just for interest who would you consider an exciting signing?
Think of anyone in your mind that YOU would actually want to go and pay money to see play football.
That would be an exciting signing.
HibsMax
08-08-2012, 04:12 PM
I think it is exciting but perhaps for different reasons than some. Firstly, it shows that he had a first choice and at least one backup. That puts to bed the theories that Hibs haven't been looking for players. On the contrary, Hibs have been looking for players but they've missed out for one reason or another. The reason for them turning us down is known only to those involved but that won't stop people making assumptions based on their own agenda. Secondly, if Maybury is better than what we have and allows Fenlon to play the team in the formation that he wants, with the players he wants in each position, then that has to be seen as a positive. Thirdly, it's another new player and one that some people regard as an improvement and what have people been screaming for? More players / improvements. I'm not saying he's the best player out there but he might be as good as we're going to get now. I'm sure it takes time to build the team that you want i.e., you get all your first picks at each position.
$0.02
08-08-2012, 04:13 PM
Alan Maybury? How can anyone get excited by this signing? A club with aspirations of top 6 finishes should not be buying an SPL has-been. He's past it. In fact, none of the signings we've made so far are worthy of a top 6 team. I've been biting my tongue through this whole transfer period, as I really, REALLY hoped that Pat would be the man to change our fortunes, but the recruits so far have been pretty awful, and hardly inspiring.
So what you're saying is:
Williams - good goalie
Sparky - Good footballer, did make mistakes last year he's said he's working on
McPake - Our best player by a country mile last year made permanent
Cairney - Time will tell as he's only played one game
Clancy - Good signing
Deegan - A club who are in the **** financially are glad to cut their wage bill a bit, plus we haven't seen him play yet.
PETRIE :grr:
08-08-2012, 04:14 PM
What a lot of nonsense.
Firstly, Maybury will be coming in at some position within the defence (RB or LB) to try and tighten things up. Whats the problem with that? Are you happy for us to keep conceding goals every single week? Im not saying hes going to be the answer, Ive not seen him in the team, but theyve seen him training over the last few weeks and must rate him enough.
You also suggest Cairney wont be up to it because he came from the first division. Do you watch Scottish football? Plenty of players step up from the lower leagues, some of whom are the best players in the SPL.
As for your last paragraph, you moan that we havent signed any marquee players, but then go on to say we shouldnt be signing those players and instead bringing through youth. Which is it? To be successful requires a reasonably good mix of both youngsters, and players brought in. I also dont think the 'marquee' signing is something we need right now. Weve been there and done that, it doesnt really work. Id much rather have a team that works as a unit, stops conceding stupid goals and actually wins games. It wont happen overnight but Fenlon seems to be trying to take us in that direction (whether he gets the time to do so is another question).
Leishy1995
08-08-2012, 04:15 PM
Mackay-Stevens, arguably the best prospect this season was signed from Airdrie. Templeton from Stenhousemuir and I'm well aware there is more. So the point you make on cairney doesn't really fit.
HibsMax
08-08-2012, 04:16 PM
So the recruits have been awful but yet you say
Ben - looks strong
Griffiths - semi-decent
Mcpake - decent
Cairney - remains to be seen
Clancy - did good, looks like the best signing
Deegan - too soon to say
I struggle to see how you come up with "awful" based on your own analysis of the players. They're either decent or it's too soon.
08-08-2012, 04:20 PM
So what you're saying is:
Williams - good goalie
Sparky - Good footballer, did make mistakes last year he's said he's working on
McPake - Our best player by a country mile last year made permanent
Cairney - Time will tell as he's only played one game
Clancy - Good signing
Deegan - A club who are in the **** financially are glad to cut their wage bill a bit, plus we haven't seen him play yet.
PETRIE :grr:
It's truly awful isn't it. Hibs aren't allowed to make good signings, if we pick up a talented player they are too much of a trouble maker than they are worth on the pitch. If we get an experienced professional, we are picking up the scraps left over from other teams. :rolleyes:
Honestly, I think if anyone with a brain were to judge Paddy on his signings alone, they'd find him to be a very good manager.
I really hope he is allowed to bring in 2-3 more of his targets, I then think we will be in good steed for the rest of the season.
08-08-2012, 04:22 PM
What a lot of nonsense.
Is that really necessary? Why do people feel the need to make disparaging comments like that prior to making a reasonable post?
Firstly, Maybury will be coming in at some position within the defence (RB or LB) to try and tighten things up. Whats the problem with that? Are you happy for us to keep conceding goals every single week? Im not saying hes going to be the answer, Ive not seen him in the team, but theyve seen him training over the last few weeks and must rate him enough.
Yes, they've seen him training and 'rate him enough'. Unfortunately, Kujabi was also 'rated enough', as was Claros (who could turn out to be OK), Doherty, Francombe, Doyle etc. An old player from a mid-table SPL club isn't exactly the signing we should be making to push the club FORWARD. The signing stinks of desperation; the kind of signing a club looking at another relegation battle would make
You also suggest Cairney wont be up to it because he came from the first division. Do you watch Scottish football? Plenty of players step up from the lower leagues, some of whom are the best players in the SPL.
I suggest that he hasn't hardly set the heather alight in the first division which could be an indicator that he isn't up to the standards of top 4 football in the SPL. Yes, the latter is true, but exceptions don't make a rule. I hope it comes to fruition that he is an excellent footballer, but for me it's a big gamble.
As for your last paragraph, you moan that we havent signed any marquee players, but then go on to say we shouldnt be signing those players and instead bringing through youth. Which is it? To be successful requires a reasonably good mix of both youngsters, and players brought in. I also dont think the 'marquee' signing is something we need right now. Weve been there and done that, it doesnt really work. Id much rather have a team that works as a unit, stops conceding stupid goals and actually wins games. It wont happen overnight but Fenlon seems to be trying to take us in that direction (whether he gets the time to do so is another question).
I would like both, actually. A couple of marquee signings supplemented with talented youth. Look at the teams from the top 6 last season compared to ours. The quality is not there, and how anyone can argue that it is, is seriously beyond me.
08-08-2012, 04:23 PM
It's truly awful isn't it. Hibs aren't allowed to make good signings, if we pick up a talented player they are too much of a trouble maker than they are worth on the pitch. If we get an experienced professional, we are picking up the scraps left over from other teams. :rolleyes:
Honestly, I think if anyone with a brain were to judge Paddy on his signings alone, they'd find him to be a very good manager.
I really hope he is allowed to bring in 2-3 more of his targets, I then think we will be in good steed for the rest of the season.
Oh, sorry Einstein. Yes, I'm brainless.