View Full Version : Greggs Hibs transfer rumours
Pages :
[
6]
21-06-2012, 12:33 AM
:agree:. Don't know what he's on wage wise but Aunt Sally is driving about in a right old pile of kite at the moment. I'm not to clued up on cars but it's a dark blue/blackish colour Merc or BMW. I was totally shocked when I saw him in it as it's totally ****ed by the looks of it.
Has he not been managing that now dead club without a wage?
21-06-2012, 06:16 AM
Kevin Kyle is in this morning's Daily Record saying that Hibs have been in contact with him.
No. Just no.
21-06-2012, 06:20 AM
What thread is this again ?
GreenPJ
21-06-2012, 06:22 AM
Kevin Kyle is in this morning's Daily Record saying that Hibs have been in contact with him.
No. Just no.
If he gets fit and its reasonable terms he would be a great foil for Doyle but would imagine the fact he has talked about it has prob ruled out a move.
21-06-2012, 06:29 AM
:agree:. Don't know what he's on wage wise but Aunt Sally is driving about in a right old pile of kite at the moment. I'm not to clued up on cars but it's a dark blue/blackish colour Merc or BMW. I was totally shocked when I saw him in it as it's totally ****ed by the looks of it.
Who's Aunt Sally? :confused:
21-06-2012, 06:30 AM
No. Just no.
If he gets fit and its reasonable terms he would be a great foil for Doyle but would imagine the fact he has talked about it has prob ruled out a move.
I saw him at the airport in Florida on Sunday. He looks like he could be a wee bit short of match fitness.
I'd take him on a low basic with bonuses for appearances etc though.
21-06-2012, 06:30 AM
No. Just no.
We've got rid of O'Connor and Murray...I suppose Kevin Kyle could be like a 2for1 to replace them. He's a strange looking immobile forward (that's Gaz covered) who is always injured (and that's Murray).
No. Just no.Aw gawd please no no no !!!!!! ...:no way:
21-06-2012, 06:58 AM
A fit Kevin Kyle would be a good signing, the fact he's had a lot of injuries shouldn't effect his game too much as he never had any pace in the first place.
We've not had a striker able to hold the ball up and bring midfielders into the game since Killen and we're crying out for a forward like that.
A fit Kevin Kyle would be a good signing, the fact he's had a lot of injuries shouldn't effect his game too much as he never had any pace in the first place.
We've not had a striker able to hold the ball up and bring midfielders into the game since Killen and we're crying out for a forward like that.The fact that he has had a lot of injuries mean we shouldnt touch him with a bargepole ..
21-06-2012, 07:14 AM
If Kyle could prove his fitness I'd take him in a second.
Holds the ball up well and brings other players into the game. Add to that he's a big, ugly, bullying barsteward. and I don't think he's one to dismiss.
He certainly had Paul Hanlon bricking it whenever he faced him.
21-06-2012, 07:22 AM
The fact that he has had a lot of injuries mean we shouldnt touch him with a bargepole ..
I'd be happy enough to let our medical team make that call after a thorough medical.
21-06-2012, 07:22 AM
The fact that he has had a lot of injuries mean we shouldnt touch him with a bargepole ..
And yet the common concensus is that we should be doing everything we can to sign James McPake :hmmm:
21-06-2012, 07:48 AM
I think he would be a good signing. As you say, we need a bit of variation up front and he could compliment Doyle. Also adds a bit of height up front, especially if we can get in some players who actually know how to cross a ball. His injuries are a bit of a concern, but the club will have to make the right call about that.
EskbankHibby
21-06-2012, 07:58 AM
We've not had a striker able to hold the ball up and bring midfielders into the game since Killen and we're crying out for a forward like that.
Agreed but it won't be Kyle. I would be absolutely staggered if he manages to play more than a handful of games for anyone next season.
I saw him at the airport in Florida on Sunday. He looks like he could be a wee bit short of match fitness.
I'd take him on a low basic with bonuses for appearances etc though.. No chance, his hips are more riddled with arthritis than Ian Murray's
21-06-2012, 08:25 AM
It's appears Hibs are in contact with several players. PF certainly trying to get players in. But still no signings. Is this progress?
21-06-2012, 08:37 AM
It's appears Hibs are in contact with several players. PF certainly trying to get players in. But still no signings. Is this progress?
Aye and naw. Maybes aye, maybes naw. He has been busy - he was on the blower the Monday am after that final. We need some action though IMHO - and that is tangible signings!
21-06-2012, 08:39 AM
It all hinges on whether we sign better players or not (or get first choices even).
21-06-2012, 09:05 AM
All we can do is moan about and blame those damn 'stumbling blocks'
There will be plenty of crap we can sign over the summer and espeically towards the end of August.
We'll have a crap team completed soon enough, nothing to worry about.
21-06-2012, 09:14 AM
10 days to go
21-06-2012, 09:22 AM
It all hinges on whether we sign better players or not (or get first choices even).
It also hinges on whether or not these better players will want to play for us!
Unfortunately, as a Club, our reputation has gone down the swanny in recent years and we're not such an attractive proposition as we once were.
gegs70
21-06-2012, 09:25 AM
Kevin Kyle really wasnt the type of player I considered when pat was discussing "the right type of player" the club needed to sign. Injury issues...fitness issues..
21-06-2012, 09:27 AM
http://www.footballcourier.com/news/story/1230326/hibs-boss-pat-fenlon-i-will-only-sign-players-who-can-improve-my/full_story.html
21-06-2012, 09:28 AM
It also hinges on whether or not these better players will want to play for us!
Unfortunately, as a Club, our reputation has gone down the swanny in recent years and we're not such an attractive proposition as we once were.
Maybe, although I'd think most players will go where they are paid what they expect and playing in a nice stadium with great training facolities should help.
Lets not get away from thew fact that recent managers have failed in their job of attracting the right players.
They have got ones who will have cost us a fair bit, guys who have been at big clubs, and so I'm not sure the reputation thing is really putting players off.
I haven't seen any indication that other teams find it any more straightforward to get the players they want.
21-06-2012, 09:30 AM
Hibs are going to get relegated if it's anything like last season
I've been staying away from Hibs news as at least the huns story gives some entertainment
Very frustrating if Hibs don't vastly improve on the imposters of the Cup Final
21-06-2012, 09:48 AM
Kyle could be the man to shove it up the jambos
21-06-2012, 09:55 AM
http://www.footballcourier.com/news/story/1230326/hibs-boss-pat-fenlon-i-will-only-sign-players-who-can-improve-my/full_story.html
Shouldn't take too much.
21-06-2012, 10:28 AM
Would it be any worse for the club or attract any more heat to the board and manager if they actually came out and said:
' we are working away, looking for right players blah de blah. Since the Catas-trophy in May we have made offers for Johnny Hayes, Johnny Haines, Johnny Hates Jazz, Neil Alexander, Neil Armstrong, Neil Beforezod, Farid Al Argui, Farid Fawcett, Farid Al Queda, etc' and just name who we've missed out on.
This would show the support that:
a) We're trying
b) The type of player we're after
c) A reality check for the supporters on how difficult it is getting players to Hibs
d) Managing expectations on who might actually come to Hibs etc.
Would that really be any worse than trotting out the 'working round the clock, players on holiday, takes time, right type of player' Thomas F. Kite that we get no matter who the manager is?
21-06-2012, 11:18 AM
Just got a text from my son to say we have offered Kevin Kyle a deal, is this right? was on Sky Sports news apparently
WellingtonHibby
21-06-2012, 11:19 AM
In the Scotsman today too. I'd take him.
proud_and_green
21-06-2012, 11:23 AM
Dangerous when he plays - but too much on the treatment table for me!
21-06-2012, 11:27 AM
Very good option if the right deal can be struck. FWIW, Billy Brown reckoned that Hearts end of season slump in the season before last was entirely down to Kyle being injured - he certainly was an important player for them.
21-06-2012, 11:38 AM
well, i for one think it's very benevolent of hibs to offer kyle the full use of our treatment table and medical facilities :agree: go hibs, bring murray back as well please :)
well, i for one think it's very benevolent of hibs to offer kyle the full use of our treatment table and medical facilities :agree: go hibs, bring murray back as well please :)Maybe we are taking Kyle down tae East Mains tae scare the gull's away ..:agree:
21-06-2012, 11:40 AM
I'd take a ft Kevin Kyle, if such a beast exists.
He's a right niggly git too which is what we need.
21-06-2012, 11:52 AM
Maybe we are taking Kyle down tae East Mains tae scare the gull's away ..:agree:
we already have that effigy of fulton :(
21-06-2012, 11:53 AM
KK is far too ugly to play for Hibs :agree:
21-06-2012, 11:57 AM
KK is far too ugly to play for Hibs :agree:
21-06-2012, 11:57 AM
I got told this the week after the final that hibs had been in talks with Kyle (my mate was at his stag doo ;) ) posted it on here somewhere so it seems that the talks have moved on if it's true and he is at east mains.
I would take him on a pay as you play contract for the first year if he hits a certain amount of games he gets the full contract. Seem risky to go for anything else IMO.
21-06-2012, 12:03 PM
I'd take a ft Kevin Kyle, if such a beast exists.
He's a right niggly git too which is what we need.
Andy stop posting things I agree with :wink:
Joking aside, a fit Kyle I would welcome, he does hold the ball up well. But I honestly think he's finished as his hips and back are meant to be in a bad way.
21-06-2012, 12:05 PM
If Kyle is the standard that we are aspiring to then we really are struggling. During his best seasons he's scored about once every three games. At the very most i'd consider him as a sub to bring on when we resort to hoofball to get a late goal.
I think KK's main role would be as a bench option, a good alternative to our current Spanish style midfield play!! Seriously, if he got fit I could see him as a 60 minute starter or a 30 min sub for us, certainly offers something different!!
21-06-2012, 12:12 PM
If Kyle is the standard that we are aspiring to then we really are struggling. During his best seasons he's scored about once every three games. At the very most i'd consider him as a sub to bring on when we resort to hoofball to get a late goal.
We heard the same things said about him before he signed for Hearts, yet when he was a regular starter for them he played in a team that had 3rd place sealed by Christmas - there's a lot more to Kevin Kyle's game than scoring goals, and we could certainly do with a player like him.
Playing with a target man doesn't necessarily mean playing hoofball, incidentally (I remember typing exactly the same thing before Kyle signed for Hearts when he was linked with us).
21-06-2012, 12:18 PM
There's more to it than goals with players like him - he holds the ball up, keeps it away from our own half, brings players in, and keeps opposition players working and in a battle - all that good stuff that you need to be competitive.
21-06-2012, 12:22 PM
Who would be an acceptable standard then?
I think a striker with a scoring rate of 1 goal every 3 games is decent, especially on a free. If he can add that to the team then I dont see it as a bad thing, especially as we only have one first team striker at the club.
21-06-2012, 12:22 PM
If we intend to go for a hawrts striker/ex hawrts striker then I'd much prefer if our target was John Sutton.
21-06-2012, 12:26 PM
We heard the same things said about him before he signed for Hearts, yet when he was a regular starter for them he played in a team that had 3rd place sealed by Christmas - there's a lot more to Kevin Kyle's game than scoring goals, and we could certainly do with a player like him.
Playing with a target man doesn't necessarily mean playing hoofball, incidentally (I remember typing exactly the same thing before Kyle signed for Hearts when he was linked with us).
Ok Hearts may well have finished 3rd with Kyle in the team , but they had players like Skacel banging in the goals.
He scored a grand total of 10 goal for Hearts. 3 of those in the league cup. We'd need a Skacel type player to score goals and sign a couple of decent wingers to supply him.....wouldnt it just be easier to sign a striker who scores goals?
21-06-2012, 12:28 PM
If we intend to go for a hawrts striker/ex hawrts striker then I'd much prefer if our target was John Sutton.
I would agree was there not talk that we were still in for him obviously dealing with Hearts may be the issue in that however it may be that Hearts may want to get rid and cancel his contract.
Regarding Kyle good signing if fit however given his injury record that must be a major risk regarding him. Short term deal to Xmas may be the shout.
I agree, failing that i'd rather play one of our own young strikers than play Kevin Kyle
21-06-2012, 12:31 PM
I agree, failing that i'd rather play one of our own young strikers than play Kevin Kyle
Not wanting the likes of Kyle and Black is precisely why we are where we are now.
Preferring to go for one of our young stikers would be asking for a relegation fight again. If they are ready and better than what we can get out there then great, but they aren't.
21-06-2012, 12:43 PM
Scott burn has tweeted hibs have now signed Clancy
21-06-2012, 12:50 PM
Our own young strikers are getting farmed out to lower league teams on loan, one confirmed with others to follow.
21-06-2012, 12:53 PM
Scott burn has tweeted hibs have now signed Clancy
Can't be true for a number of reasons:
Hibs don't sign players with SPL experience.
Hibs don't sign players other teams in the SPL still want.
We certainly don't sign players from a team about to play in the Champions League qualifiers.
Petrie won't pay anyone this early in the summer.
Hibs reputation is at an all time low and no players from teams that finished higher than us would see us as attractive.
We don't pay well enough for us to be the team that were able to make him a significantly better offer.
Seems quite far up a wanted list to be right.
I'm sure there are other reasons I won't be having this.
21-06-2012, 12:55 PM
We certainly don't sign players from a team about to play in the Champions League qualifiers.
Hibs reputation is at an all time low and no players from teams that finished higher than us would see us as attractive.
We don't pay well enough for us to be the team that were able to make him a significantly better offer.
But we do pay :greengrin
21-06-2012, 12:57 PM
Get Kyle in immediately. He's exactly the type of striker we lack. A big, ugly, barnstorming, battering ram who throws centre backs about like an empty tracksuit. Pay as you play deal preferably.
It's time we got nasty and bullied teams.
21-06-2012, 01:01 PM
There's more to it than goals with players like him - he holds the ball up, keeps it away from our own half, brings players in, and keeps opposition players working and in a battle - all that good stuff that you need to be competitive.
:agree: A very difficult player to handle physically. If fit he would be a real asset.
21-06-2012, 01:07 PM
Get Kyle in immediately. He's exactly the type of striker we lack. A big, ugly, barnstorming, battering ram who throws centre backs about like an empty tracksuit. Pay as you play deal preferably.
21-06-2012, 01:10 PM
Get Kyle and Beattie in (both free agents) -> Doyle, Kyle and Beattie sounds good to me :agree:
21-06-2012, 01:11 PM
Everybody on the outside looks upon the whole club, from the fans to the players, as a soft touch. About time that changed.
Stewboy
21-06-2012, 01:14 PM
Some of the comments on this thread are superb!
We finished 2nd bottom because we get bullied over the park and have players who can't cut it at this level.
KK doesn't get bullied by anybody and will p**s over SPL centre halfs.
Rather have him in the team or against him???? No choice....
21-06-2012, 01:18 PM
Also worth pointing out that KK has worked with Bobby Brown before so it may be that BB recommended him to Pat. It's his perogative.
21-06-2012, 01:20 PM
There's no danger that Kevin Kyles injury problems have just gone away. I'm no saying that when he's fit he wouldn't be a good addition to the team. We clearly need someone to do the job that he does, but......he just isn't fit. It doesnt matter what kind of deal we get him on, he's going to miss lots of games and by having him signed up we're going to forfeit signing another decent striker. Even on a pay-as-you-play deal Hibs aren't going to sign him and another good target man, because then when Kyle is fit we have to pay 2 but only play 1.
21-06-2012, 01:20 PM
But we do pay :greengrin
Is that why so many players are falling over themselves to sign up for us?
I hear there's a queue of players and their agents lined up right round the stadium today, all desperate to come on board. :rolleyes:
21-06-2012, 01:22 PM
Also worth pointing out that KK has worked with Bobby Brown before so it may be that BB recommended him to Pat. It's his perogative.
From the time they recorded that gangsta rap album together?:rolleyes:
21-06-2012, 01:23 PM
:agree: A very difficult player to handle physically. If fit he would be a real asset.
I agree, its keeping him fit thats been his problem recently. Can he get fit and stay fit, thats the difficult question none of us know the answer to?
21-06-2012, 01:25 PM
Is that why so many players are falling over themselves to sign up for us?
I hear there's a queue of players and their agents lined up right round the stadium today, all desperate to come on board. :rolleyes:
Maybe it's the positive attitude of our fans that will win them round.
21-06-2012, 01:27 PM
So we can blame you for Calderwood's failure in the transfer market?
21-06-2012, 01:28 PM
Whats there to be positive about at easter road Andy?
21-06-2012, 01:32 PM
So we can blame you for Calderwood's failure in the transfer market?
If you like.
21-06-2012, 01:33 PM
Whats there to be positive about at easter road Andy?
I'm suggesting we don't require to be actively unhelpful. We don't need to be spinning cartwheels.
21-06-2012, 01:39 PM
I'm suggesting we don't require to be actively unhelpful. We don't need to be spinning cartwheels.
You mean keep quiet, dont mention how we feel?
Our club is in a mess, even you must see that, its only normal to speak about how some folk feel?
If it gets better, i'm sure the mood will rise, but as we are at a very low ebb, its no surprise to me folk are hardly giving high fives all over the board.
21-06-2012, 01:42 PM
I dont really understand how some folk venting thier frustrations on a fans messageboard is being actively unhelpful? It's not as though there are posse's of disgruntled fans going round potential targets doors and telling them we dinnae want thier kind at Easter Road.
21-06-2012, 01:49 PM
You mean keep quiet, dont mention how we feel?
Our club is in a mess, even you must see that, its only normal to speak about how some folk feel?
If it gets better, i'm sure the mood will rise, but as we are at a very low ebb, its no surprise to me folk are hardly giving high fives all over the board.
It also appears that nobody at Hibs can do anything right compared to the whiners on here.
At that final, I mind that the first scarf was thrown torwards the pitch after we went 1-0 down. Part of the reason we have losers on the pitch is that we have too many losers in the stands who aren't prepared to take positive action but will instead whine and moan about every single thing about the club.
Got to say, the 12th man and S43 are to be commended, it's groups like that we need.
I fully await some absolute idiot post something in reply such as "So it's all our fault that x can't play" etc. etc. etc. because as I say, too many losers in our support. PF is onto something when he says that this club is too soft - in all areas.
FFS, we've just signed a player from a side who are going towards the Champions League qualifying rounds, can we not enjoy that for just a couple of hours?
21-06-2012, 01:56 PM
I dont really understand how some folk venting thier frustrations on a fans messageboard is being actively unhelpful? It's not as though there are posse's of disgruntled fans going round potential targets doors and telling them we dinnae want thier kind at Easter Road.
The mood and the culture is set as much by us as anyone at the club.
No, there's not a lot to be happy about, but I wonder if some folk constantly sniping, repeating a lot of well worn out and disproved nonsense and generally making everyone even more miserable is helping to create an environment where fans feel they want to contribute or somewhere where players want to play?
I see from the other thread we have 5,000 season ticket holders, despite some new people signing up for final tickets.
We can go out our way to tell everyone who crap everything is but I'm not sure what that is helping people to achieve?
21-06-2012, 02:02 PM
It also appears that nobody at Hibs can do anything right compared to the whiners on here.
At that final, I mind that the first scarf was thrown torwards the pitch after we went 1-0 down. Part of the reason we have losers on the pitch is that we have too many losers in the stands who aren't prepared to take positive action but will instead whine and moan about every single thing about the club.
Got to say, the 12th man and S43 are to be commended, it's groups like that we need.
I fully await some absolute idiot post something in reply such as "So it's all our fault that x can't play" etc. etc. etc. because as I say, too many losers in our support. PF is onto something when he says that this club is too soft - in all areas.
FFS, we've just signed a player from a side who are going towards the Champions League qualifying rounds, can we not enjoy that for just a couple of hours?
What a load of *****.
If people want to complain when things are going badly then they have every right to.
If you want to make crap up (like the bit of your post I've put in bold) then I'll add this as some more nonsensical ramblings - if you maybe spent more time supporting the team on the park than looking around you to see who was the first numpty to through thier scarf on the pitch when Hearts scored, maybe we'd have less losers on the pitch.
21-06-2012, 02:07 PM
What a load of *****.
If people want to complain when things are going badly then they have every right to.
If you want to make crap up (like the bit of your post I've put in bold) then I'll add this as some more nonsensical ramblings - if you maybe spent more time supporting the team on the park than looking around you to see who was the first numpty to through thier scarf on the pitch when Hearts scored, maybe we'd have less losers on the pitch.
Complaining when things go badly is fine surely?
It's going out the way to look for the worst situation in everything that gets a bit tiring and is not helping the current culture in the support, who are the club.
We're already complaining about signings that haven't been made and telling everyone exactly what mistakes Hibs will make.
Most of it misinformation based on stuff like Hibs sign players to late which is largely not true when the stas are actually looked at. Or everything gets run by Petrie which isn't true either.
21-06-2012, 02:08 PM
I'm happy we have signed someone, i did not throw my scarf away at the final, i did leave after 85 minutes though. I agree the 12th man and section 43 are doing a grand job, i also reserve the right to talk on a Hibs fans message board just how i feel, at any time during or out of the season.
I'm going to belgium, have a season ticket for next season and support the club whenever in the stadium, i dont need any permission to tell it as i see it on Hibs.net, from you or anyone else.
21-06-2012, 02:11 PM
The mood and the culture is set as much by us as anyone at the club.
No, there's not a lot to be happy about, but I wonder if some folk constantly sniping, repeating a lot of well worn out and disproved nonsense and generally making everyone even more miserable is helping to create an environment where fans feel they want to contribute or somewhere where players want to play?
I see from the other thread we have 5,000 season ticket holders, despite some new people signing up for final tickets.
We can go out our way to tell everyone who crap everything is but I'm not sure what that is helping people to achieve?
But the fans mood and culture is directly influenced by choices made by the club over which we have little/no say. Fans will always be happy when things are going well, and angry or frustrated when things arent going well. We're quite clearly in the latter camp at the moment. The right choices need to be made by the board (bring in the right manager), the manager (bring in the right players) and the coaching staff (get the best out of what we have).
I'm not happy about where we're at just now, but seeing folk post on here about how badly the clubs being run, how crap the players we're looking at are, etc., etc, doesnt bother me. It's not a new phenomenon, people complain all the time about pretty much everything in life. Just let them (me :greengrin) get on with it...
mcvie7
21-06-2012, 02:23 PM
Clancy confirmed.
21-06-2012, 02:28 PM
James McPake back training at Coventry.
https://twitter.com/#!/JamesMcPake
21-06-2012, 02:46 PM
At least half those statements are ridiculosuly incorrect :rolleyes:
jamieross
21-06-2012, 02:49 PM
Clancy confirmed.
Where about?
21-06-2012, 03:00 PM
At least half those statements are ridiculosuly incorrect :rolleyes:
:faf: Whoosh.
21-06-2012, 03:44 PM
I keep hearing the name Neil Alexander being touted about,anybody heard anything similar? I'd take him in a minute. :agree:
21-06-2012, 03:51 PM
Ok Hearts may well have finished 3rd with Kyle in the team , but they had players like Skacel banging in the goals.
He scored a grand total of 10 goal for Hearts. 3 of those in the league cup. We'd need a Skacel type player to score goals and sign a couple of decent wingers to supply him.....wouldnt it just be easier to sign a striker who scores goals?
Not easier, I wouldn't think - strikers who score goals are a very rare commodity, and we can either sign them from teams at a lower level than us (as we have done with Doyle and seem to have with Cairney), or sign players who have played at a higher level but have had problems off the field (like we did with Stokes and Riordan) or with injury, which we may do here.
As I said before, there is a lot more to a target man's game than scoring goals, moves can only be finished of if they can be started in the first place, which such players are pivotal for - not to mention being a menace at set pieces, which can cause havoc for other players to benefit from, and having defensive qualities also. Kyle was hugely important in Hearts finishing 3rd and (by Billy Brown's own admission), their form dropped like a stone after he got injured - it wasn't a coincidence.
And a Skacel type player? You mean a midfield player who has a scoring record of 48 goals in 90 starts? Hardly many of them kicking about within our budget, or even a bit above our budget for that matter.
Kyle's injury problems are an undoubted concern, but you never know - last season Sandaza was an injury prone striker who had hardly got started in the SPL, he was a revelation with a run of games behind him. With the right kind of deal in place, Kyle could be a great signing.
Incidentally, having a couple of wingers feeding a big aeriel threat like Kyle would be very effective - a potential strike partnership with Doyle sounds appealing too.
21-06-2012, 04:05 PM
I keep hearing the name Neil Alexander being touted about,anybody heard anything similar? I'd take him in a minute. :agree:
Alexander would be a superb signing, looked good whenever Ive seen and lots of experience (even though he hasnt played much at Rangers). I think his wages would be a problem but I suppose it depends what he wants out of a move (which could be his last club), he might be happy to be first choice until he retires.
21-06-2012, 04:08 PM
But the fans mood and culture is directly influenced by choices made by the club over which we have little/no say. Fans will always be happy when things are going well, and angry or frustrated when things arent going well. We're quite clearly in the latter camp at the moment. The right choices need to be made by the board (bring in the right manager), the manager (bring in the right players) and the coaching staff (get the best out of what we have).
I'm not happy about where we're at just now, but seeing folk post on here about how badly the clubs being run, how crap the players we're looking at are, etc., etc, doesnt bother me. It's not a new phenomenon, people complain all the time about pretty much everything in life. Just let them (me :greengrin) get on with it...
Were you here when we were clear in 3rd place? :greengrin
21-06-2012, 06:03 PM
Few months before Kyle left Killie to sign for them he was speaking to a mate at a German Airport where he had gone for some treatment. He told him he was finished and would never pass another medical. Then he signs for Hearts :confused: I'm speculating here but maybe Hearts knew they would get a few games a season out of him and decided it was worth the gamble. Based on his chat with my mate i don't think we could expect a fully fit KK at any time so I would rather we looked elsewhere.
just_joe
21-06-2012, 06:30 PM
KK is a good player to be honest. Ive never seen him lose in the air and he holds the ball up superbly well. hated his attitude as a hearts player though but i think it would be a great signing but as mentioned his fitness would be a big risk.
S.sct
21-06-2012, 06:41 PM
KK is a good player to be honest. Ive never seen him lose in the air and he holds the ball up superbly well.
You must never have watched any of the Hibs matches against Killie when Kyle was up against Bamba?
Kyle rarely won anything in the air against Sol.
21-06-2012, 08:40 PM
You must never have watched any of the Hibs matches against Killie when Kyle was up against Bamba?
Kyle rarely won anything in the air against Sol.
I remember one game at easter road against Killie, and it was a hell of a battle between the two of them. Both kicked lumps out of each other, and Kyle won his share of headers, i'm not sure what that means, as Kyle is always injured, and Bamba was a bombscare? :wink:
Bamba did have those 'episodes' when his mind appeared to be on other things.
But when he applied himself to the task, as he had to when up against someone of Kyle's stature, Bamba was invariably one of our best players. I genuinely don't recall Kyle in a Killie jersey having a good match against us when Bamba was in our back four.
As for the story that we're interested in Kyle? He's well and truly crocked - it must be a non-starter. :pray:
21-06-2012, 08:54 PM
Bamba did have those 'episodes' when his mind appeared to be on other things.
But when he applied himself to the task, as he had to when up against someone of Kyle's stature, Bamba was invariably one of our best players. I genuinely don't recall Kyle in a Killie jersey having a good match against us when Bamba was in our back four.
As for the story that we're interested in Kyle? He's well and truly crocked - it must be a non-starter. :pray:
I think we won the match 1-0, although not 100% sure? It was a right ding dong battle between them, in fact there were threads on here with some folk saying they wished we'd signed Kyle instead of him going to Killie.
I agree with you on Kyle, i cant see how he will ever be fit, although if he was i would sign him.
As for bamba, in my opinion i have not seen us have a better centre half in 45 years watching the club, Jim Black is the first i really remember, although i did see John McNamee a few times, but i was young and cant remember him that much.
Dr Jimmy
21-06-2012, 09:04 PM
Le God?
21-06-2012, 09:04 PM
I always remember kyle touching bamba downstairs at a corner at rugby park, the big man was riled by that :greengrin
21-06-2012, 09:06 PM
KK is a good player to be honest. Ive never seen him lose in the air and he holds the ball up superbly well. hated his attitude as a hearts player though but i think it would be a great signing but as mentioned his fitness would be a big risk.
If we were to sign an ex hearts striker, id prefer it to be Beatie :cb
21-06-2012, 09:30 PM
Clancy confirmed.
Well, that's a good sign at least.
Now all we need is a goalkeeper, another couple of back-four defenders, 2 or three midfielders, and a couple of strikers ...
And here's hoping - if we get them - that they knit into a team and don't all fall out with one another. :devil:
renato
21-06-2012, 10:40 PM
As for bamba, in my opinion i have not seen us have a better centre half in 45 years watching the club, Jim Black is the first i really remember, although i did see John McNamee a few times, but i was young and cant remember him that much.
Agreed. He had his moments for sure but, when focused on hibs and his own game, he was one of our best in my lifetime. I still think that Sven cost us millions by dropping him from the ivory coast team. He didn't get the exposure required for a big move and his attitude was pretty appalling when he decided to eventually saunter back to us.
22-06-2012, 08:27 AM
Well, that's a good sign at least.
Now all we need is a goalkeeper, another couple of back-four defenders, 2 or three midfielders, and a couple of strikers ...
And here's hoping - if we get them - that they knit into a team and don't all fall out with one another. :devil:
That's the bare minimum we need.
22-06-2012, 02:23 PM
That's the bare minimum we need.
I make the present squad as:
Brown, Grant, and Antell;
Clancy, Booth, Hanlon, O'Hanlon, Kujabi, Stephens, Smith and Forster;
Wotherspoon, Claros, Galbraith, Stevenson, Sproule, Osbourne and Stanton;
Doyle and Caldwell.
22-06-2012, 02:34 PM
Agreed. He had his moments for sure but, when focused on hibs and his own game, he was one of our best in my lifetime. I still think that Sven cost us millions by dropping him from the ivory coast team. He didn't get the exposure required for a big move and his attitude was pretty appalling when he decided to eventually saunter back to us.
:agree: Yip i too feel we missed out on a decent fee for him, and again yes his attitude towards the end was appalling. :rolleyes:
22-06-2012, 02:38 PM
Doyle and Caldwell.
That team could possibly save us from relegation.
If we were in division 1 that is..
Leighonel
22-06-2012, 03:11 PM
That team could possibly save us from relegation.
If we were in division 1 that is..
Surely the 8-7-2 formation and 3 goalkeepers would see us win the league. Seriously though there needs to be additions in every department. I'd like to see experience brought to help the younger players:Stanton, Caldwell etc. It is the way forward for Scottish football in the current climate.
GreenPJ
22-06-2012, 03:13 PM
Doyle and Caldwell.
What about the other young lads that were out on loan, Handling etc?
22-06-2012, 03:20 PM
Surely the 8-7-2 formation and 3 goalkeepers would see us win the league.
We're talking about Hibs remember, we'd f it up somehow :greengrin
Gez1875
22-06-2012, 03:27 PM
I'm happy we have signed someone, i did not throw my scarf away at the final, i did leave after 85 minutes though. I agree the 12th man and section 43 are doing a grand job, i also reserve the right to talk on a Hibs fans message board just how i feel, at any time during or out of the season.
I'm going to belgium, have a season ticket for next season and support the club whenever in the stadium, i dont need any permission to tell it as i see it on Hibs.net, from you or anyone else.
well put.
22-06-2012, 03:36 PM
Doyle and Caldwell.
Mark Brown is gone, unless he has signed a contract recently.
Leishy1995
22-06-2012, 05:14 PM
Doyle and Caldwell.
I can see us in the top 6 maybe even challenging Celtic if we keep them together. Can maybe afford to let some more go and we'd still be a success.
22-06-2012, 05:18 PM
I think we won the match 1-0, although not 100% sure? It was a right ding dong battle between them, in fact there were threads on here with some folk saying they wished we'd signed Kyle instead of him going to Killie.
I agree with you on Kyle, i cant see how he will ever be fit, although if he was i would sign him.
John Madsen :agree:
22-06-2012, 06:10 PM
John Madsen :agree:
I remember the name, and i was at games he played in, but have no recollection of how good he was? Was it the middle to late 60s when he played?:confused:
Feed McGraw
22-06-2012, 06:53 PM
I remember the name, and i was at games he played in, but have no recollection of how good he was? Was it the middle to late 60s when he played?:confused:
At 56 BH, i`m a wee bit older than you and I remember Madsen was McNamee`s replacement. I remember them both reasonably well, but it does get a bit vague sometimes. You`re right though, mid to late 60`s was Madsen`s time.
He came from Morton & was one of their Scandinavian imports, I remember him more after he returned to Hibs, after a spell back in his homeland, we used part of the Colin Stein's cash on Cilla to replace him.
22-06-2012, 07:10 PM
He came from Morton & was one of their Scandinavian imports, I remember him more after he returned to Hibs, after a spell back in his homeland, we used part of the Colin Stein's cash on Cilla to replace him.
He used to wear baseball boots in Winter on the hard pitches :agree:
Feed McGraw
22-06-2012, 07:15 PM
Good memories Ray, he was a strong player, very popular. He looked short for a centre half but maybe not as short as he looked, a bit like Chris Hogg maybe ( as in how tall he looked).
22-06-2012, 08:44 PM
Doyle and Caldwell.
Oh dear. Oh dear.
22-06-2012, 08:51 PM
James mcpake reported in the sun to have bidden for a house in Edinburgh. 1 hour ago said on twitter about a flight???
You could be disapoointed.
DroitwichHibs
22-06-2012, 09:00 PM
He has said something on twitter re fed up with delayed flights!!! the Birmingham- Edinburgh Flybe flight was delayed this evening:wink:
Although I suppose he could be going home for the weekend, or signing for Hearts!!
archiebald
22-06-2012, 09:32 PM
He used to wear baseball boots in Winter on the hard pitches :agree:
Didnt want to go out for 2nd half at Broomfield -said it was to cold and snowing (story from Stanton + O'Rourke)
Nevi1875
23-06-2012, 02:24 AM
Anyone know who deano will be signing for would be another good addition ?
23-06-2012, 04:32 AM
Let's hope he's coming up to sign.
PF Was making all the right noises about making a big move for McPake earlier this week.
It's all part of the plan.
Sign McPake, show the club means business, get him wearing the new home shirt for the launch.
It's all coming together
At The Edge
23-06-2012, 04:33 AM
From James McPakes Twitter......
'lol a lot seems to b getting reported about me!Today it's been I've signed for hearts and I'm bidding 4 a new house!Both are false!'
23-06-2012, 04:35 AM
Let's hope he's coming up to sign.
PF Was making all the right noises about making a big move for McPake earlier this week.
It's all part of the plan.
Sign McPake, show the club means business, get him wearing the new home shirt for the launch.
It's all coming together
We had McPake for the second half of last season and we were still brutal. It will take alot more than just McPake to show we mean business. Alot more.
23-06-2012, 04:38 AM
We had McPake for the second half of last season and we were still brutal. It will take alot more than just McPake to show we mean business. Alot more.
Agreed but it's certainly a step in the right direction.
There will be a lot of very peed off people on this forum if he doesn't sign for us.
JennaFletcher
23-06-2012, 08:28 AM
I would like to see Hibs sign McPake, Hasselbaink, Neil Alexander and Griffiths. We'd then need to look at sorting out our midfield with experience.
What do others think about Hasselbaink?
Hasselbaink signed for St Johnstone recently.
I would like to see Hibs sign McPake, Hasselbaink, Neil Alexander and Griffiths. We'd then need to look at sorting out our midfield with experience.
What do others think about Hasselbaink?
Hasselbaink signed for St Johnstone did he not. Think it was reported on or around 1st June?? Might be wrong tho
23-06-2012, 11:05 AM
Hasselbaink signed for St Johnstone did he not. Think it was reported on or around 1st June?? Might be wrong tho
He did. He won't be at ER next season.
23-06-2012, 11:18 AM
He did. He won't be at ER next season.
Well he will......... Just as a saints player..........
seven nowt
23-06-2012, 11:33 AM
Well he will......... Just as a saints player..........
Now, hibs are in for Ben Reeves from Southampton. On loan at Dagenham and Redbridge recently. Time to be a bit more adventurous in our targets I reckon if true.
23-06-2012, 11:35 AM
Now, hibs are in for Ben Reeves from Southampton. On loan at Dagenham and Redbridge recently. Time to be a bit more adventurous in our targets I reckon if true.
Where did you get that rumour from?
Is it in the papers or just something you've heard?
I used to love a good rumour but now so many come from that drivel football rumours website i'm pretty sceptical about most players linked to us
magpie1892
23-06-2012, 11:52 AM
What's Griffiths' situation? He's not long arrived in Dundee (not dressed for business) after getting the 11.04 from Haymarket. In 1st class, no less.
Staying? Going? Gone?
23-06-2012, 01:16 PM
KK on radio Scotland - offered pre season by Hibs & Dunfermline to prove fitness
23-06-2012, 01:24 PM
KK on radio Scotland - offered pre season by Hibs & Dunfermline to prove fitness
He's too big a risk and would be better off with his old mate FJK. The only benefit we would get would be upsetting a handful of Jambos.
23-06-2012, 01:27 PM
Sounds fair enough, my concern is he doesn't prove his fitness and gets injured again then we've wasted time pursuing a player we're not signing.
I'd probably prefer we went after players without the baggage, although there's no doubt imo a fit Kevin Kyle would be a huge benefit to this current side.
23-06-2012, 02:12 PM
He's too big a risk and would be better off with his old mate FJK. The only benefit we would get would be upsetting a handful of Jambos.
I think many of them will be happy and not upset, he just never seemed to get fit again for over a year. Hopefully if we do sign him he can start to play well and keep himself fit.
edwards
23-06-2012, 03:40 PM
Sheer stupidity not to try him he arried with an injury at Hearts and still managed to make us look ordinary he has now had his op so get him in and have a look at him If Fenlon has contacted him lets hope he will give hibs a chance to see what he cand do.
Strong robost player that can hold the ball up for us and has an eye for goals :wink: we have been crying out for that for ages as O'connor was never a taget man.
edwards
23-06-2012, 04:01 PM
Aye right sounds quality goals nil pwa coudnae score in a month o sundays. much better than kevin Kyle of course JESUShttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben_Reeves
23-06-2012, 04:45 PM
http://img.skysports.com/12/02/218x298/Ben-Reeves_2722854.jpg
He looks like a 12 year old Brian Kerr :duck:
23-06-2012, 04:54 PM
Sheer stupidity not to try him he arried with an injury at Hearts and still managed to make us look ordinary he has now had his op so get him in and have a look at him If Fenlon has contacted him lets hope he will give hibs a chance to see what he cand do.
Strong robost player that can hold the ball up for us and has an eye for goals :wink: we have been crying out for that for ages as O'connor was never a taget man.
Would have taken KK, but I thought that he was close to retiral after being injured whilst at yams.....??
23-06-2012, 05:06 PM
Am I the only one who got sevent nowt's reference?
23-06-2012, 05:59 PM
Am I the only one who got seven [B]no[B]wt's reference?
24-06-2012, 09:27 AM
I am starting to think McPake wont sign. It would have been a done deal by now if it was going to happen. But I dont think it will be the end of the world if he doesnt sign. But I just get the feeling that it is not going to happen. I am sure my thoughts will bring the bed wetters out in force, but I am just saying!
24-06-2012, 09:35 AM
I am starting to think McPake wont sign. It would have been a done deal by now if it was going to happen. But I dont think it will be the end of the world if he doesnt sign. But I just get the feeling that it is not going to happen. I am sure my thoughts will bring the bed wetters out in force, but I am just saying!
I would rather he was signed by now.
Big difference in his situation though is that he is not out of contract, ie he is still getting in the region of 6k a week.
If you were in his situation would you rush into a deal where you are going to have your wages halved?
Similarly Rodders wouldn't want to pay possibly 3k for a man sitting on his bum doing brussel sprout.
Not saying he will sign but I will remain hopeful until he actually signs for someone.
Thomson
24-06-2012, 09:37 AM
I'm not so sure we're not getting him. The manager and board know that most of the fans wanted him signed and i think that if we were not signing him, then we would release some information on it so the fans can accept it and move on.
24-06-2012, 09:38 AM
I would rather he was signed by now.
Big difference in his situation though is that he is not out of contract, ie he is still getting in the region of 6k a week.
If you were in his situation would you rush into a deal where you are going to have your wages halved?
Similarly Rodders wouldn't want to pay possibly 3k for a man sitting on his bum doing brussel sprout.
Not saying he will sign but I will remain hopeful until he actually signs for someone.
Green & like a 'cabbage'? Is that a hint that you know something, SB? :wink:
24-06-2012, 09:57 AM
Based on what? Im not totally convinced we will get him as Im sure there are plenty of other clubs out there who could use a CB like him and can offer him more money, but until he has either signed for another club, or confirmed hes staying at Coventry, theres nothing to say he wont sign for Hibs.
Things seem to have started to pick up now that the management team are back at the club, Clancy has been announced and I imagine we will see more players brought in in the next few weeks.
24-06-2012, 10:38 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2012/06/24/james-mcpake-set-for-talks-with-coventry-as-hibs-await-outcome-86908-23900215/
24-06-2012, 10:42 AM
I think he will sign, but like you i am just basing that on guesswork.
24-06-2012, 10:46 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2012/06/24/james-mcpake-set-for-talks-with-coventry-as-hibs-await-outcome-86908-23900215/
Encouraging if true.
But it's the daily record........
Let's get it done
Big Ed
24-06-2012, 11:15 AM
It has been rumored that Mrs. McPake wants to come back to Scotland. If that is true, then the number of clubs who can match James' reported £3K a week demands amounts to not that many.
His agent: one baked, edible, and commonly flour-based food-product, has our club by the cojones, because he knows that the one player who we'd like to see to return to ER after last season's shambles is James McPake.
I would suggest that only Celtic, Hearts, Aberdeen and ourselves could afford him. Celtic could afford to take a chance on him, if they were so minded; but I doubt they are. The others may baulk at paying that kind of money for a player who has a reputation for being injury prone.
Would Hearts or Aberdeen fans be up in arms if they didn't get him? No: but Hibs fans would and that is something that both Petrie and Preston will be very aware of.
I am sure my thoughts will bring the bed wetters out in force, but I am just saying!
Was that the prime purpose of your post?
:cb
24-06-2012, 12:34 PM
Was that the prime purpose of your post?
:cb
It was either that or he is a yam. I'm keeping my opinion to myself. :jamboclow
24-06-2012, 02:17 PM
Encouraging if true.
But it's the daily record........
Let's get it done
I'm pretty sure the guy has been spot on with a few of our transfers recently. :aok:
24-06-2012, 04:15 PM
Sure I read somewhere that Mrs McPake wasn't settled in the Coventry area and wanted to return to the Airdrie area where they are from, hence the loan deal to us and Mr McPakes apparrent wish to return to scotland.
Leishy1995
24-06-2012, 04:28 PM
Sure I read somewhere that Mrs McPake wasn't settled in the Coventry area and wanted to return to the Airdrie area where they are from, hence the loan deal to us and Mr McPakes apparrent wish to return to scotland.
On twitter Mrs Mcpake says James refuses to let her throw out the hibs kits he was given.
24-06-2012, 04:44 PM
On twitter Mrs Mcpake says James refuses to let her throw out the hibs kits he was given.
Wonder why she would want to throw it out in the first place.
24-06-2012, 04:59 PM
They are obviously being coy and it sounds to me very much like he is coming back to Hibs given PF's comments and this sort of teasing commentary on twitter.
24-06-2012, 05:55 PM
Nacho Novo is out of contract august 16th, 33yrs old, would be worth a one year deal. Thoughts.
24-06-2012, 06:00 PM
Nacho Novo is out of contract august 16th, 33yrs old, would be worth a one year deal. Thoughts.
It wouldn't be pre season if there wasn't a Nacho Novo to Hibs mention. Aaaaah, i feel much better! :greengrin
24-06-2012, 06:01 PM
Ps - I'd gladly take him at Hibs!! :agree:
24-06-2012, 06:06 PM
Horrible individual. The stuff he was tweeting last week was disgusting.
24-06-2012, 06:07 PM
Horrible individual. The stuff he was tweeting last week was disgusting.
What was he tweeting?
24-06-2012, 06:08 PM
Mon Hibs give McPake a nice wee birthday contract today :thumbsup:
shagpile
24-06-2012, 06:14 PM
It has been rumored that Mrs. McPake wants to come back to Scotland. If that is true, then the number of clubs who can match James' reported £3K a week demands amounts to not that many.
His agent: one baked, edible, and commonly flour-based food-product, has our club by the cojones, because he knows that the one player who we'd like to see to return to ER after last season's shambles is James McPake.
I would suggest that only Celtic, Hearts, Aberdeen and ourselves could afford him. Celtic could afford to take a chance on him, if they were so minded; but I doubt they are. The others may baulk at paying that kind of money for a player who has a reputation for being injury prone.
Would Hearts or Aberdeen fans be up in arms if they didn't get him? No: but Hibs fans would and that is something that both Petrie and Preston will be very aware of.
I would rule out the sheep. They ARE in financial doo doo & have sold very few season tickets. It appears their Board are still fence sitting re newco.
24-06-2012, 06:17 PM
I just have a funny feeling that the home strip will be launched this week with McPake modelling it. Anyone else think this?
son of haggart
24-06-2012, 06:19 PM
I would rule out the sheep. They ARE in financial doo doo & have sold very few season tickets. It appears their Board are still fence sitting re newco.
With the NewCo stuff in full flow I doubt many clubs will be putting pen to parper to long or expensive contracts, especially with season ticket sales in the balance. Financial projections won't be easy for most chairmen.
I think Hibs are in the best position to sign him, if they can risk the money, but can they is the question?
Leishy1995
24-06-2012, 06:59 PM
James knows best
sadtom
24-06-2012, 07:29 PM
What was he tweeting?
He was calling celtc fans paedos, fb's (fenian b******s) and telling them to 'go home!'
Yes you heard correct. Spaniard Novo, who made his cash in Scotland, screwed the British taxpayers and then found employment in Poland, telling people to 'go home'.
Not a mensa candidate i'd wager.
24-06-2012, 09:51 PM
I just have a funny feeling that the home strip will be launched this week with McPake modelling it. Anyone else think this?
I said that very thing this afternoon.
What's the latest with Griffiths?! He was wandering about Bonnyrigg the day which I thought was a bit random. Unless he is house hunting?! Sproule and O'Hanlon live out here already.
24-06-2012, 11:01 PM
He was calling celtc fans paedos, fb's (fenian b******s) and telling them to 'go home!'
Yes you heard correct. Spaniard Novo, who made his cash in Scotland, screwed the British taxpayers and then found employment in Poland, telling people to 'go home'.
Yup, classless *******
Ironic as well of course that being Spanish he is presumably himself a Catholic!
24-06-2012, 11:20 PM
Yup, classless *******
Ironic as well of course that being Spanish he is presumably himself a Catholic!
Yes bizarre...
24-06-2012, 11:38 PM
This pervasive influence is why we need to ensure they receive the maximum punishment permissable.
26-06-2012, 10:30 AM
New one year deal for Scott Smith. Big year ahead for a very promising player.
26-06-2012, 11:20 AM
Also notice as an aside, that Fife is officially away. He's joined some property group.
26-06-2012, 11:22 AM
Glad he's got a deal.
Hopeful he can make it.
Really pleased about that. :thumbsup:
Tom Hart RIP
26-06-2012, 11:56 AM
Great news. I thought he has been excellent in the games he has played for us.
When I first saw him I was worried that Calum Booth would keep him out of the team but that doesn't seem to be the case now.
26-06-2012, 12:01 PM
All quiet on the new signings just now ?
Kilmarnock are that hard up they have just signed Teselar ( probably wrong spelling ) from St Mirren ????
26-06-2012, 12:02 PM
Glad he's got a deal.
Hopeful he can make it.
Would imagine this is a big season for the guy, really hope he can establish himself in the first team squad if not the team itself as we could do with a decent left back.
DAVE1875
26-06-2012, 12:11 PM
Not sure if true but an hour or two ago someone tweeted that Jonny Hayes would be joining Aberdeen tomorrow after passing a medical. Wonder which farm it was held at? :wink:
26-06-2012, 12:34 PM
Good news - not heard a bad thing about him.
Leishy1995
26-06-2012, 01:18 PM
Scott Smith played very well at left back when I've seen him. I actually thought he was better than Booth and Kujabi.
Smidge
26-06-2012, 03:14 PM
Scott Smith played very well at left back when I've seen him. I actually thought he was better than Booth and Kujabi.
Played centre-half in the double-winning u-19 team, but I always thought he was a wee bit too small to prosper in that position at senior level. Definitely more of a defender than Booth, but I still think Callum will come good in the end. Might signify that Kujabi isn't for sticking around.
26-06-2012, 03:14 PM
I still really rate Booth. I hope he gets another chance with us as I want to see him do well
Nevi1875
26-06-2012, 03:19 PM
I think callum still has a future at us because all the deadwood got released. So here's hoping a good pre season we will see him back maybe even at left mid with smith behind him at left back
AJWisme
26-06-2012, 03:28 PM
Hayes expected to be officially announced as an Aberdeen player at half 5.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18599388
26-06-2012, 05:33 PM
He looks about 40 in that picture. Christ...
DAVE1875
26-06-2012, 06:08 PM
Just seen that Kyle Lafferty has rejected the Newco. I know he's a *****, but would you take him if Hibs could? Proven goalscorer which is one of the things we need. Although sadly I can already see him being scouted by Championship & lower EPL sides
26-06-2012, 06:12 PM
Just seen that Kyle Lafferty has rejected the Newco. I know he's a *****, but would you take him if Hibs could? Proven goalscorer which is one of the things we need. Although sadly I can already see him being scouted by Championship & lower EPL sides
Gads No.
Absolute ****bag of a person, regardless of his merits as "football" player.
26-06-2012, 06:12 PM
Given that we as a club have just voted in favour of integrity in football, that alone rules him out.
26-06-2012, 06:16 PM
Given that we as a club have just voted in favour of integrity in football, that alone rules him out.
26-06-2012, 06:21 PM
Only if shareholders get first dibs at panning him over the head with a shovel, I'd definitely be in the queue, vile creature not Hibs class, not even last years Hibs class. Hopefully he is being scouted by a pack of hyenas as we speak...........
26-06-2012, 06:38 PM
Surprise,surprise. Why did Hayes make a song and dance about Aberdeen announcing this a few weeks ago? OK he hadn't put pen to paper, but he had clearly indicated to them that he would be signing and only caused his new club unnecessary embarrassment, making himself look a bit of a tool in the process.
26-06-2012, 06:44 PM
Kyle Lafferty is an absolute dong.
27-06-2012, 09:24 AM
OK it is now Wednesday 27th June and we have signed 1 player ?????????????????? wtf. :confused:
SloopJB
27-06-2012, 09:27 AM
OK it is now Wednesday 27th June and we have signed 1 player ?????????????????? wtf. :confused:
To be fair........
27-06-2012, 09:29 AM
my thoughts exactly????
27-06-2012, 09:33 AM
I think the best course of action would be to assume that Hibs are either doing nothing or working our way now through the z list after everyone else turned us down.
If we can say how unhappy we are about it every day, maybe a few times, then we can get everyone miserable and angry at the club before July begins.
Edinburgh Green
27-06-2012, 09:42 AM
I think the best course of action would be to assume that Hibs are either doing nothing or working our way now through the z list after everyone else turned us down.
If we can say how unhappy we are about it every day, maybe a few times, then we can get everyone miserable and angry at the club before July begins.
:tee hee::stirrer:
27-06-2012, 09:51 AM
I know he's not attainable on our budget..... But Danny ****tu would be a monster in our back 4:agree:
Ha ha can't believe his name has been starred out!
27-06-2012, 09:57 AM
Kyle off to dunfermline
27-06-2012, 10:04 AM
If you care to read the newspapers ( selected) and websites you will notice that virtually every mention of a club signing a player has added
" ......transfer to be concluded when his current contract runs out on 1st JULY " , or something similar .
I personally know of four Scot's players who will move to another club on 1st July and have been asked NOT TO SPEAK to the media until then
Anything wrong in that ?
Do you honestly think that Hib's backroom staff have been sitting doing sweet FA over the past weeks/months ?
Not their fault if players turn them down, for whatever reason , but please give credit to all involved and try to be positive :greengrin
27-06-2012, 10:12 AM
I am positive, but there is not another team in the SPL who NEED so many new players, some info would help. All we get every day is Newco this and that, life and football will go on without them.
So some other news especially about Hibs on a Hibs website would not go wrong.
Hibs have done and always will do things the proper way. Not announcing a new signing until pen has been put to paper.
Doing it this way leaves you less inclined to leave egg on yur face.
Just cos we've not heard anything doesn't mean to say nothing hadn't been done. I would like to think (or am hoping anywY) there will be one or 2 wee surprises in the next week or so.
Trying to be positive here.
27-06-2012, 10:22 AM
I still think McPake will be signed this week and on the posters for our new home kit. No inside info or that just what I think.
27-06-2012, 10:33 AM
Even rumours might help ;-)
27-06-2012, 10:39 AM
Hibs have done and always will do things the proper way. Not announcing a new signing until pen has been put to paper.
Doing it this way leaves you less inclined to leave egg on yur face.
Just cos we've not heard anything doesn't mean to say nothing hadn't been done. I would like to think (or am hoping anywY) there will be one or 2 wee surprises in the next week or so.
Trying to be positive here.
I dont like being negative, but our pre season starts 2 weeks today and weve signed 1 player. You could make a strong case for the need to bring in players for every other position, yet things have become really quiet from the club. Pre season is key both in terms of the players bonding as a team and getting everyone fit again, and only adding 1 or 2 players over the coming weeks isnt going to come close to solving all our problems...
27-06-2012, 10:47 AM
We need sign about 5-6 players and it would be better if the players are in for pre-season. Although, I don't expect all the signings to be in by then, it would be nice if 3-4 are.
27-06-2012, 11:12 AM
Fenlon closing in...
http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/hibs/pat-fenlon-closes-in-on-more-new-hibs-signings-1-2377896
Scottish football is a complete mess, Rangers down the pan, season ticket sales slow at best, other SPL clubs talking administration who would want to sign to play up here at the reduced wages on offer?
27-06-2012, 11:43 AM
my thoughts exactly????
At least your just thinking it rather than come out and stating it.
27-06-2012, 11:46 AM
I am positive, but there is not another team in the SPL who NEED so many new players, some info would help. All we get every day is Newco this and that, life and football will go on without them.
So some other news especially about Hibs on a Hibs website would not go wrong.
I would suggest Rangers (who are still currently in the SPL I understand) need players more than us.
I would expect Hibs to have more than one new signing when we return to pre season training on Monday.
27-06-2012, 11:51 AM
I spoke to Ian Murray's Dad a couple of weeks ago and he mentioned that Ian had had several offers, but was waiting to see what happens as that's what all players do, you wait as long as possible to ensure you have the best chance of getting the right deal. I see now from the EN story that he has been offered a trial in the US, which wasn't one of the offers that he mentioned when I saw him.
No matter how quickly we want the club to operate, if the players that we are after are willing to be patient, there isn't much that we can do about it.
I would expect Hibs to have more than one new signing when we return to pre season training on Monday.
One more? Two?
Will we have enough first team squad players on Monday to have a seven-a-side practice game?
27-06-2012, 11:56 AM
One more? Two?
Will we have enough first team squad players on Monday to have a seven-a-side practice game?
The crux of the matter would be who you consider first team players I suppose:greengrin
Tom Hart RIP
27-06-2012, 01:50 PM
STV saying Lee Croft will return to Scotland
on loan for a year.
He looked excellent against us on his debut.
IMO well worth an enquiry.
I would suggest Rangers (who are still currently in the SPL I understand) need players more than us.
Yep, I posted something very similar last week & I believe we're on track! I expect next week to be very interesting!
27-06-2012, 03:33 PM
Rangers are not in the SPL, they are liquidated so cannot be in the SPL. I am sure no one would sign for them in their current (bun) situation. In fact I do not think they would be allowed to sign anyone. Rangers as they were are more.
27-06-2012, 09:36 PM
Over on the bounce there's a poster claiming he's much happier now as Mcpake and Cairney are going to be announced as Hibs players on Friday. I guess we shall see, i'd be delighted if true though! :agree:
27-06-2012, 09:41 PM
Just noticed this on Mcpakes twitter! Interesting...
leigh griffiths @LeighG28
@JamesMcPake nothing much mate yourself? Can't be bothered with pre season as I'm sure it's the same with everyone else! U going to hibs ??
Expand
Reply Retweet Favorite
10h James McPake @JamesMcPake
@LeighG28 just been chilling m8! Bored but also like u not looking 4ward to pre season #spew heading back down next week!
Hide conversation
Reply Retweet Favorite
Just_Jimmy
27-06-2012, 09:50 PM
@JamesMcPake nothing much mate yourself? Can't be bothered with pre season as I'm sure it's the same with everyone else! U going to hibs ??
Expand
Reply Retweet Favorite
@LeighG28 just been chilling m8! Bored but also like u not looking 4ward to pre season #spew heading back down next week!
Hide conversation
Reply Retweet Favorite
I'd take that as heading back down to Coventry next week, I imagine he's been home in Scotland over the close season?#
I hope it's the other take on it and he's signed or signing.
EHZERO7
27-06-2012, 09:55 PM
According to his twitter last week he had been in doing his pre-season at Coventry
27-06-2012, 09:57 PM
Over on the bounce there's a poster claiming he's much happier now as Mcpake and Cairney are going to be announced as Hibs players on Friday. I guess we shall see, i'd be delighted if true though! :agree:
Would be good.
Not sure what to make of the twitter posts.......
I thought we were able to sign McPake until 1st July?!
27-06-2012, 10:05 PM
With a bit of luck McPake and Leigh will both be back with us this season
27-06-2012, 10:06 PM
Expand
Reply Retweet Favorite
Hide conversation
Reply Retweet Favorite
Sorry but don't understand this! Is it in English? Please can somebody translate
27-06-2012, 10:06 PM
Until we sign 5 players this summer our football squad will be the opposite of box office
27-06-2012, 10:09 PM
Any word on a new keeper or will we be assessing a bus load of trialists during pre-season?
Tomas Cerny was mentioned a week or so back. He was a stand-out for Accies and wages shouldn't be a problem if he is still available.
27-06-2012, 10:11 PM
Having been off the forums since the final and refusing to look at anything hibs for a period I've failed to keep up with hibs news.
What's the situation with Leigh folks?
Having been off the forums since the final and refusing to look at anything hibs for a period I've failed to keep up with hibs news.
What's the situation with Leigh folks?
Back at Wolves and looking to feature in their side for the new season in the Championship - last we heard.
(Has been seen up here on occasion - but he has so many family ties, that is to be expected.)
27-06-2012, 11:45 PM
Mark Brown has been offered a new contract and is expected to sign in the next 48 hours according to the Scotsman
28-06-2012, 12:20 AM
Mark Brown has been offered a new contract and is expected to sign in the next 48 hours according to the Scotsman
28-06-2012, 12:23 AM
I quite like him. I think if we sign a better keeper he is a good back-up.
dmc1875
28-06-2012, 12:40 AM
We let Stack go and try and keep Brown... as 'first choice'. Hope not, hardly ever seen him make a save.. :rolleyes:
KiddA
28-06-2012, 01:32 AM
Very surprised at this, he would have been one of the ones to let go especially after the cup final when he could not catch a cold. Hibs want to get there season ticket sales up, they are going the wrong way about it :rolleyes:
I hate to be doom and gloom but the news of Brown resigning is hardly inspiring, he can go along with the other shower of sh### that played in the cup final bar Mcpake
28-06-2012, 01:35 AM
I would not keep either of the Browns, both sheite.
Not finalized and saying he would be no.1......... NOOOOOOOOOO HIBS NO.
Not a signing to bring back fans.!!!!!!
Same article suggesting that the efforts to send Scott out on loan to Ross County appear to have stalled.
green glory
28-06-2012, 07:50 AM
McPake may be close to signing. Great news if true.
https://twitter.com/lukeshanley/status/218249338063814656
HibeeMassive
28-06-2012, 07:58 AM
We let Stack go and try and keep Brown... as 'first choice'. Hope not, hardly ever seen him make a save.. :rolleyes:
I can think of several great saves he made last year, in the relavtively short time he had on the pitch. The cup tie against Motherwell he was MoM and kept us in the cup.
MagicSwirlingShip
28-06-2012, 08:08 AM
Can you post what it says up on here please? cant access Twitter at work....
28-06-2012, 08:13 AM
Notice on McPake's page they talk to each other as well in quite a friendly manner??!
Lmc2105
28-06-2012, 08:27 AM
Luke did have something up about his understanding that mcpake could be signed within the next 24 hours but has been deleted since then! Maybe something he shouldn't have spilt just yet ... :wink:
BarneyK
28-06-2012, 08:31 AM
Luke's a reporter for sky and covers alot of Hibs stuff so with James being the captain I would imagine he spoke to him alot last season
A hibby too :thumbsup: Didn't he used to work for HibernianTV?
007 Mickey Weir
28-06-2012, 08:35 AM
Yeah Luke is a massive Hibs fan! Did Hibstv and also the sport for Talk107 when it was around.
28-06-2012, 08:45 AM
Well that is completely underwhelming news. If there isn't a brand new No1 between the sticks, then that'll be one more nail in Fenlon's coffin.
JustSimplyHibs
28-06-2012, 08:48 AM
If it is true about McPake, brilliant. The board must realise signing a guy like him, who has hit it off with the supporters will be good for business. The launch of a new strip on Friday, Pat Fenlon signing a message to the 2500 missing season ticket holders and general fan base. Signing McPake could potenially be a money spinner.
Brown will make a good back up this season, particulary if a goalkeeper coming in has not played alot of games over the seasons :wink:
MagicSwirlingShip
28-06-2012, 08:50 AM
Well that is completely underwhelming news. If there isn't a brand new No1 between the sticks, then that'll be one more nail in Fenlon's coffin.
Even if any of the keepers available were no better than Brown/Stack? Would make sense getting Brown back instead of being stuck with only the young boys. Im hoping Brown resigning will be as a backup on a reduced deal.