View Full Version : Gordon, Kensell, Mackay and co..times up
I would say there’s zero chance - or as good as - of Malky stepping in. The scale of job that he has, as well as the fact that he’s responsible for recruiting the next head coach, means that he can’t simply step away from his job to try and focus on the first team.
It comes back to understanding what Malky’s remit is and what his job entails - you can’t do any of his job while operating as the Head Coach, which is a full time job itself.
Ian Gordon could cover Malky Mackay's role in the meantime. 🤔 Or David Marshall.
24-10-2024, 04:41 PM
No lesson to be learned. I was just observing that something similar occurred at Hearts when questioning another poster's view that here's zero chance of Mackay stepping into the manager's role if Gray were to go.
I don't think it's a good idea either but it's a potential concern I think a number of fans share.
Very different situations from Hearts then to Hibs now. Malky’s job is massive - he couldn’t possibly do that and step in to run the first team and all that entails.
Is it technically possible, as in could Hibs do it, well of course, they could put you or I in temporary charge if they had the inclination, but there is no appetite from Malky to do it, and no appetite from Kensell or the Gordons to run without a Sporting Director, and Malky’s role is absolutely integral to making the relationship with BKFC work properly so you’re also looking at resistance from them.
It’s simply not going to happen.
24-10-2024, 04:45 PM
Ian Gordon could cover Malky Mackay's role in the meantime. 🤔 Or David Marshall.
They could, so could Bill Foley or Kensell or some random from Bournemouth, but we’re getting into exactly the sort of kamikaze decision making that Malky was brought in to stop.
We’re far more likely to see May and Craig, or even Darren McGregor cover first team duties in the event that SDG was relieved of his.
24-10-2024, 04:59 PM
Kensell and Gordon , goodbye hopefully soon.
Something you’ve heard or what you’re hoping for?
24-10-2024, 05:09 PM
Very different situations from Hearts then to Hibs now. Malky’s job is massive - he couldn’t possibly do that and step in to run the first team and all that entails.
Is it technically possible, as in could Hibs do it, well of course, they could put you or I in temporary charge if they had the inclination, but there is no appetite from Malky to do it, and no appetite from Kensell or the Gordons to run without a Sporting Director, and Malky’s role is absolutely integral to making the relationship with BKFC work properly so you’re also looking at resistance from them.
It’s simply not going to happen.
Unless they change their minds again?
Paulie Walnuts
24-10-2024, 05:11 PM
They could, so could Bill Foley or Kensell or some random from Bournemouth, but we’re getting into exactly the sort of kamikaze decision making that Malky was brought in to stop.
We’re far more likely to see May and Craig, or even Darren McGregor cover first team duties in the event that SDG was relieved of his.
Malky Mackay has never done the role before either to be fair, so in that regard I’m not sure a random from Bournemouth for example is that far fetched.
Whilst I’m happy to accept your confidence that it won’t happen as enough, as general rule I don’t think there’s many ridiculous decisions off the cards at Hibs.
Ian Gordon deciding he could be sporting director wouldn’t surprise me one iota.
24-10-2024, 05:35 PM
His early limited success in his managerial career is irrelevant to your point; you were talking about when he shifted roles from manager to an overseeing role later in his career. His overall career was characterized by winning **** all while playing appalling football. A loser and a snide wee unpleasant loser to boot. Not much of a step up from the dundee cludgie of 86. Someone who references our rivals as often as you do might remember that :greengrin
Indeed
Greenwich_Hibby
24-10-2024, 05:44 PM
Are we being set up for administration?
Hibs4185
24-10-2024, 05:47 PM
Aye, the charity donations must be due soon
24-10-2024, 06:00 PM
Need to get a cash cow outside the stadium first , How embarrassing would that be eh
24-10-2024, 06:02 PM
Wtf ? 🤣
Scotty Leither
24-10-2024, 06:08 PM
Mackay was as big a punt as some unknown person from Bournemouth would be, Matty.
No previous experience of being a Director of Football, his only qualification for the role appeared to be being best mates with Malky MacPherson, and Mackay’s first act in turn was to appoint David Marshall who foisted the two useless goalies on us.
Totally disenchanted with Hibs right now, nae leaders on the park, nae leaders in the Boardroom and we seem totally devoid of any dynamic character to turn it around, just a load of charlatans that talk a good game, and nowt else.
24-10-2024, 06:19 PM
Mackay was as big a punt as some unknown person from Bournemouth would be, Matty.
No previous experience of being a Director of Football, his only qualification for the role appeared to be being best mates with Malky MacPherson, and Mackay’s first act in turn was to appoint David Marshall who foisted the two useless goalies on us.
Totally disenchanted with Hibs right now, nae leaders on the park, nae leaders in the Boardroom and we seem totally devoid of any dynamic character to turn it around, just a load of charlatans that talk a good game, and nowt else.
No experience if you discount his time as Performance Director at the SFA which covered stuff he’ll do on this role, as well as giving him time spent at clubs gathering best practice.
I had serious reservations about how he was appointed but I can still see that he’s not a total rookie coming into the job.
What was David Marshall’s role in hiring the goalkeepers?
24-10-2024, 07:01 PM
You know your team was/is playing tonight yeah?
24-10-2024, 07:02 PM
Nurse! Nurse!!
Greenwich_Hibby
24-10-2024, 07:12 PM
Let's wait and see.
Greenwich_Hibby
24-10-2024, 07:16 PM
You know your team was/is playing tonight yeah?
Pratt. I've been watching Hibs since the 60s.
Bridge hibs
24-10-2024, 07:44 PM
Let's wait and see.
Wait and see what ? Please explain your reasoning for your suggestion of administration.
Greenwich_Hibby
24-10-2024, 07:53 PM
Wait and see what ? Please explain your reasoning for your suggestion of administration.
Haemorrhaging cash, owners who are here purely because of the late Ron, who clearly will not wish to sustain the bankrolling of the club to detriment of the investment, who have demonstrated no ability to run a football club, who have hired a bloated team of yes men to do what they can't, including the creation of a woefully inadequate football dept. Allows them to cap their losses as they have no hope of trading out of the mess based on football performance.
RMQ1967
24-10-2024, 07:57 PM
[QUOTE=TelaStella;7795546]I can’t disagree with most of your points here. But the tone of your first and last paragraphs here suggest some degree of sympathy for the Gordon family which frankly I just don’t think can be entertained anymore, even remotely.
Let’s be frank, despite their unfamiliarity, foreignness or outright bewilderment to the management of Hibernian football club and the wider context of worthy success in the Scottish game, the Gordon family has outright decimated the culture, foundations and prospective future success of the football club. They are single handedly responsible for every single individual failure you’ve mentioned and ultimately all the wider sense of failure at the club we as suffering fans have had to endure over the last 4-5 years. Let us not kid ourselves, it is nobody’s fault but there’s. That is the due responsibility of ownership. Get them so far to ****. ( QUOTE)
I think it's also worth remembering that the Gordons didn't buy Hibs because of any affinity to the club or the city. Ron Gordon's Scottish ancestry was Aberdeenshire and rumours at the time were he'd looked at other Scottish clubs before us. He bought us because we were the Scottish club that was available. I was at his meet and greet with the HSA where he uttered the "pony up" comment asking us fans to contribute to paying for new East Mains infrastructure. That was his initial agenda and probably wasn't taken any further only because it was met with stunned silence.
The problem is that the days of the local Builder or Baker, a Tom Hart or a Harry Swan, or even an STF being able to fund a competitive Hibs are long gone. When the Gordons go as they undoubtedly will sooner or later, it's highly likely that it will be the Black Knights or another overseas owner who takes control. Depending who it is we could be in for more of the same as British footballs littered with Clubs who've fallen foul of corrupt overseas owners. While I think the Gordons are incompetent I don't believe they're corrupt.
I often wonder where the "Ponzi scheme" cabal are nowadays who berated STF and his motives for years. As far as I know, they've been silent on the Gordon's mismanagement of Hibs and a corporate culture that's predicated on rinsing the fans for as much cash as they can.
I've never read such a pile of nonsense - and I only read the first paragraph.
He's here!
24-10-2024, 07:59 PM
[QUOTE=Brizo;7795705]
I've never read such a pile of nonsense - and I only read the first paragraph.
Try reading all of it then. Much to agree with.
RMQ1967
24-10-2024, 08:15 PM
[QUOTE=RMQ1967;7796052]
Try reading all of it then. Much to agree with.
The whole fleecing the fans & all that garbage 🙄 Genuine fans are happy to put money into the club & see improvements around the stadium & experience top class lounges and hospitality.
I've heard the same tosh about the way Hibs were being run for 30+ years & never has it been more untrue.
Massive investment in the infrastructure & also the playing squad although they've got it massively wrong - so far.
Are Foley & co also out to fleece the fans?
jakeshibs
24-10-2024, 08:25 PM
It’s not bollocks at all. They’ve just had their highest points total last season. That’s a fact.
The fact you don’t think that’s an achievement for any club tells me all I need to know.
Lorient got relegated. Something which happens to them fairly regularly having spent 9 seasons in the second tier this century. They’re now flying this season.
And I really couldn’t give a **** who’s spent most. They’ve pissed whatever they’ve spent away, whether it’s £1m, £10m or £100m. They’ve been dreadful owners for Hibs and the sooner they piss off and sell up the better.
In your opinion, but we know how diligent and factual you are, you should maybe stay away or better, put your money where your mouth is and buy the club, as you have all the answers, firstly stating Bournemouth's highest league position last season which was total nonsense, Lorient were relegated under BK Knights stewardship, yet you fail to acknowledge that,
You want a fairy to come along and fund our ambitions, slag our club owners, who have the greatest intentions for our club and prove this with spending their own money, even financing during covid, but, no worries, we are saved as PAULIE WALNUTS, will buy the club as you will be a better owner and we will be able to buy the best players.
Have they been dreadful owners? What nonsense! They put more in than any other owner, improved lots of infrastructure, and increased the playing budget; some of the players may not have had the impact we would have liked, but they got us third in the Premier League for the fifth time in our club's history, which is the joint-highest position we have ever achieved (Premier league), five semi finals, two finals, so in regards to your Bournemouth achievements you should be over the moon ??? Again, these facts seem to go against your post.
We have had owners who have relegated our clu and put us at risk with hands-off hibs, etc.; our current owners have paid off debt and financed many other club projects, so be careful what you wish for!! However, no worries, as you will buy them out and show us how success is achieved.
jakeshibs
24-10-2024, 08:26 PM
[QUOTE=He's here!;7796053]
The whole fleecing the fans & all that garbage 🙄 Genuine fans are happy to put money into the club & see improvements around the stadium & experience top class lounges and hospitality.
I've heard the same tosh about the way Hibs were being run for 30+ years & never has it been more untrue.
Massive investment in the infrastructure & also the playing squad although they've got it massively wrong - so far.
Are Foley & co also out to fleece the fans?
Well said
Hibees1973
24-10-2024, 08:29 PM
Another day goes by and we are still saddled with these fools.
24-10-2024, 08:30 PM
Much like this forum.
TrinityHFC
24-10-2024, 08:31 PM
Know how that feels.
24-10-2024, 08:34 PM
Were you expecting them to all magically disappear?
Trinity Hibee
24-10-2024, 08:35 PM
In your opinion, but we know how diligent and factual you are, you should maybe stay away or better, put your money where your mouth is and buy the club, as you have all the answers, firstly stating Bournemouth's highest league position last season which was total nonsense, Lorient were relegated under BK Knights stewardship, yet you fail to acknowledge that,
You want a fairy to come along and fund our ambitions, slag our club owners, who have the greatest intentions for our club and prove this with spending their own money, even financing during covid, but, no worries, we are saved as PAULIE WALNUTS, will buy the club as you will be a better owner and we will be able to buy the best players.
Have they been dreadful owners? What nonsense! They put more in than any other owner, improved lots of infrastructure, and increased the playing budget; some of the players may not have had the impact we would have liked, but they got us third in the Premier League for the fifth time in our club's history, which is the joint-highest position we have ever achieved (Premier league), five semi finals, two finals, so in regards to your Bournemouth achievements you should be over the moon ??? Again, these facts seem to go against your post.
We have had owners who have relegated our clu and put us at risk with hands-off hibs, etc.; our current owners have paid off debt and financed many other club projects, so be careful what you wish for!! However, no worries, as you will buy them out and show us how success is achieved.
Jake maybe put the keyboard down yeah? Continously spouting nonsense isn’t helping whatever argument you are trying to make
Paulie Walnuts
24-10-2024, 08:36 PM
A simply outstanding tantrum. :faf:
24-10-2024, 08:40 PM
They've been absolutely woeful owners. Good intentions and spending their own cash doesn't change that.
Nobody wants a fairy to invest loads of money :faf:
We all just want competent owners and hire competent staff.
Paulie Walnuts
24-10-2024, 08:41 PM
They've been absolutely woeful owners. Good intentions and spending their own cash doesn't change that.
I also wanted competent owners but after Jake’s meltdown a fairy is exactly what I want. :agree:
Donegal Hibby
24-10-2024, 08:51 PM
Surely if they sell up going by what some folk are saying about them being in incompetent , useless and all the rest but predicting everything is going to be better with new owners then they can’t be as incompetent or as useless as they are making out ! Or if they are we might just get worse owners due to their incompetence and uselessness.
24-10-2024, 08:56 PM
Surely if they sell up going by what some folk are saying about them being in incompetent , useless and all the rest but predicting everything is going to be better with you owners then they can’t be as incompetent or as useless as they are making out ! Or if they are we might just get worse owners due to their incompetence and uselessness.
Yeah. Or more likely, we'll get better ones who can run a football club.
Is Hibs simply being alive enough? Or could we, I dunno, not be bottom after 8 games and be alive?
We do get it, we could get awful dreadful terrible owners. This lot are so bad it's worth that very small risk. We're hurtling backwards under their ownership, with no signs of slowing down.
Donegal Hibby
24-10-2024, 09:14 PM
Yeah. Or more likely, we'll get better ones who can run a football club.
Is Hibs simply being alive enough? Or could we, I dunno, not be bottom after 8 games and be alive?
We do get it, we could get awful dreadful terrible owners. This lot are so bad it's worth that very small risk. We're hurtling backwards under their ownership, with no signs of slowing down.
Yeah but your missing my point here , some of you are more or less saying you don’t trust the Gordon’s to boil an egg yet saying that they should sell their shares to another party and everything’s going to be better …
If you have so little faith in them as you have why is it you think things are going to be better if they negotiate with somebody else to buy them out :confused:
TrinityHFC
24-10-2024, 09:16 PM
We aren’t entitled to anything when it comes to what we see as our club. We all want certain things but generally we expect that to be delivered by other people.
For most of my life Hibs have not been successful on the pitch. The stadium and infrastructure has been largely miles away from what we see now.
We’ve had times when it looked like we might not have a club anymore or where we might need to move home.
On the pitch I think it is 3 trophies in my almost 50 yrs watching Hibs. Matched I think by the number of relegations.
We had opportunities to own the club as fans. No one was that interested. There’s a fan owned club near us that are largely where we are in the league. Haven’t won anything for a while. Stadium is a bit of a shambles. Don’t own a training ground.
So, all in all, as owners go I think we are doing okay. Unfortunately even hiring the right people and investing heavily in the team doesn’t really guarantee anything. I’d like them to do better on that, obviously, but I’m not clear on how having different owners changes our chances on that front.
I’ve seen much worse in my time already. We are at the point where the club is now valued in excess of £20m. Who is it that we are thinking is going to come and buy us that we can guarantee will also employee football staff that will be more successful and will also ensure we don’t face any more existential threats?
I’d be delighted if we could somehow have it all but we don’t have any particular right for other people to deliver that to us do we?
24-10-2024, 09:31 PM
I still think get a better CEO, improve the recruitment (recruitment team) with players which actually fit together to make a team and not some talented / average/ poor individuals and a more experienced manager (not saying sack Gray now)m but hire a better manager) and things improve. I don’t think the Gordon’s are the main issue - but they have hired folk who aren’t very good at their job (Kensell) and seem too loyal to them to make a change.
25-10-2024, 05:00 AM
Yeah but your missing my point here , some of you are more or less saying you don’t trust the Gordon’s to boil an egg yet saying that they should sell their shares to another party and everything’s going to be better …
If you have so little faith in them as you have why is it you think things are going to be better if they negotiate with somebody else to buy them out :confused:
I understood your point perfectly. As I said, I'm willing to take our chances.
jakeshibs
25-10-2024, 06:51 AM
Jake maybe put the keyboard down yeah? Continously spouting nonsense isn’t helping whatever argument you are trying to make
What is incorrect? Did we achieve 3rd in the league? Have we been to two cup finals? Have we been relegated? Don't let facts spoil your agenda.
This thread is total nonsense. Why don't you all get together and buy them out? Maybe you could get enough money to pay the heating bill, buy quality players??
So-called fans bad-mouthing our club's owners with no real plan to improve the situation and hoping some fairy will come and fund their dreams is foolish; supporters stating false claims need to be challenged.
I supported this club long enough to know the owners intentions are to improve our club; they prove this continuously with the additional funding that is not appreciated by this thread. i am grateful for everything the Gordons are trying to achieve.
jakeshibs
25-10-2024, 06:53 AM
We aren’t entitled to anything when it comes to what we see as our club. We all want certain things but generally we expect that to be delivered by other people.
For most of my life Hibs have not been successful on the pitch. The stadium and infrastructure has been largely miles away from what we see now.
We’ve had times when it looked like we might not have a club anymore or where we might need to move home.
On the pitch I think it is 3 trophies in my almost 50 yrs watching Hibs. Matched I think by the number of relegations.
We had opportunities to own the club as fans. No one was that interested. There’s a fan owned club near us that are largely where we are in the league. Haven’t won anything for a while. Stadium is a bit of a shambles. Don’t own a training ground.
So, all in all, as owners go I think we are doing okay. Unfortunately even hiring the right people and investing heavily in the team doesn’t really guarantee anything. I’d like them to do better on that, obviously, but I’m not clear on how having different owners changes our chances on that front.
I’ve seen much worse in my time already. We are at the point where the club is now valued in excess of £20m. Who is it that we are thinking is going to come and buy us that we can guarantee will also employee football staff that will be more successful and will also ensure we don’t face any more existential threats?
I’d be delighted if we could somehow have it all but we don’t have any particular right for other people to deliver that to us do we?
well said
jakeshibs
25-10-2024, 07:03 AM
A simply outstanding tantrum. :faf:
Please tell me what is incorrect. Again, you're proven factually wrong, and your post was not honest or balanced. You are trying to deflect or laugh it off, but that does not change the facts that disprove your comments. This is no tantrum; it is just honest evidence that disproves your comments continuously and that goes against your nonsense and hatred.
You dislike the owners got it, but your not willing or able to buy them out but want some fairy godmother to fund your ambitions, so you can judge them with no risk to yourself.
We have decent owners with good intentions.
25-10-2024, 07:07 AM
What is incorrect? Did we achieve 3rd in the league? Have we been to two cup finals? Have we been relegated? Don't let facts spoil your agenda.
This thread is total nonsense. Why don't you all get together and buy them out? Maybe you could get enough money to pay the heating bill, buy quality players??
So-called fans bad-mouthing our club's owners with no real plan to improve the situation and hoping some fairy will come and fund their dreams is foolish; supporters stating false claims need to be challenged.
I supported this club long enough to know the owners intentions are to improve our club; they prove this continuously with the additional funding that is not appreciated by this thread. i am grateful for everything the Gordons are trying to achieve.
I'm going to buy the club, i'm going to sack everyone who's been at the club helping behind the scenes straight away, then i'm going to put my son in charge of player recruitment.
He's a plasterer, so should be fine.:rolleyes:
Paulie Walnuts
25-10-2024, 07:09 AM
I'm going to buy the club, i'm going to sack everyone who's been at the club helping behind the scenes straight away, then i'm going to put my son in charge of player recruitment.
Are you a fairy?
25-10-2024, 07:13 AM
I don’t think many, if any, are questioning the Gordon’s intentions. Having good intentions is the easy bit though if you don’t have the competence to implement them.
The B team was a good idea, woefully implemented. The link up with Charleston battery was a good idea, poorly implemented. The DOF was a good idea, poorly implemented. The latest review was a good idea, hiring Gray, his coaches, Mackay and Marshall, nearly all doing their new roles for the first time, looks like yet another good idea poorly implemented.
timewilltell
25-10-2024, 07:15 AM
Are you a fairy?
You're being somewhat childish now.
25-10-2024, 07:30 AM
I supported this club long enough to know the owners intentions are to improve our club; they prove this continuously with the additional funding that is not appreciated by this thread. i am grateful for everything the Gordons are trying to achieve.You continually post that Doyle Hayes isn't good enough and shouldn't be at the club.
Please tell everyone your plan on how you would move him on? Who would you replace him with on a similar wage? Please show your workings in great detail.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
25-10-2024, 07:50 AM
Ah yes, so we’re now at the point that to question the way the club has been run you need a full business plan, an eight figure sum in the bank, and a buyer lined up for Jake Doyle Hayes.
Hibs4185
25-10-2024, 07:54 AM
The only thing that riles me about the Gordon’s is valuing the club at £20 million, actually £24 million if BF paid £6 million for 25%.
I buy and sell properties so I have no qualm with the Gordon’s buying an asset, investing it and selling it for more but £20 million is taking the piss.
Yes they’ve invested a few million but the main infrastructure was already in place thanks to STF and RP. The assets (ER and EM) were already worth nearly £20 million. In effect STF sold to them undervalue but no one realistically would pay full value.
If the Gordon’s think they can splash a few million on their original investment and then more than double it, I’d be hugely disappointed especially if we had a local businessman or such like who would be put off by the newly inflated value of the club.
If they got their original investment back plus their new investment and a small profit then that would be fair given that they bought it under value.
25-10-2024, 07:55 AM
Ah yes, so we’re now at the point that to question the way the club has been run you need a full business plan, an eight figure sum in the bank, and a buyer lined up for Jake Doyle Hayes.You've completely missed my point. I was showing how stupid his constant asking for a business plan is.
25-10-2024, 08:08 AM
While the Gordon's were in charge for 3rd place, it was achieved with the previous system in place in terms of recruitment and management. When they took over, it went badly downhill.
25-10-2024, 08:36 AM
While the Gordon's were in charge for 3rd place, it was achieved with the previous system in place in terms of recruitment and management. When they took over, it went badly downhill.
Realistically anything football wise that has been a success can be attributed to the previous regime in some way, at least pre Ian Gordon hands on era.
Boyle going to Saudi
Doig to Italy
Nisbet to Millwall
Porteous to Watford
These are all transfers out that they'll have pointed to in the books as successes in player trading, but other than Nisbet all of them where here before Ron took over.
Finishing third with a squad largely built from players from before the takeover plus Mathie's recruitment. Reaching the League Cup final with a manager appointed by Dempster.
Since the Gordons have taken charge of the club in a day-to-day sense there has been nothing positive other than Lee Johnson qualifying for Europe in 5th and winning against Luzern. That is it, and it wasn't enough to save him from the sack that same summer. We've also won only two derbies of the last 16 since they bought the club.
It's been 3.5 years now since Jack Ross lost that Cup final to St Johnstone and it has been abject failure ever since on the park, how much longer can this go on? There is no sign that this lot will get ANYTHING right soon, because they haven't in nearly 4 years. I'm glad they have good intentions for us, but the best thing now is to completely step back/sell because their mismanagement has us trending downhill and fast.
Chorley Hibee
25-10-2024, 08:41 AM
Ah yes, so we’re now at the point that to question the way the club has been run you need a full business plan, an eight figure sum in the bank, and a buyer lined up for Jake Doyle Hayes.
Damn, I had two out of three.
Just lacking a buyer for JDH. 🤣
snedzuk
25-10-2024, 08:43 AM
I'm OK on the first two but the third! I mean c'mon.
He's here!
25-10-2024, 09:00 AM
Realistically anything football wise that has been a success can be attributed to the previous regime in some way, at least pre Ian Gordon hands on era.
Boyle going to Saudi
Doig to Italy
Nisbet to Millwall
Porteous to Watford
These are all transfers out that they'll have pointed to in the books as successes in player trading, but other than Nisbet all of them where here before Ron took over.
Finishing third with a squad largely built from players from before the takeover plus Mathie's recruitment. Reaching the League Cup final with a manager appointed by Dempster.
Since the Gordons have taken charge of the club in a day-to-day sense there has been nothing positive other than Lee Johnson qualifying for Europe in 5th and winning against Luzern. That is it, and it wasn't enough to save him from the sack that same summer. We've also won only two derbies of the last 16 since they bought the club.
It's been 3.5 years now since Jack Ross lost that Cup final to St Johnstone and it has been abject failure ever since on the park, how much longer can this go on? There is no sign that this lot will get ANYTHING right soon, because they haven't in nearly 4 years. I'm glad they have good intentions for us, but the best thing now is to completely step back/sell because their mismanagement has us trending downhill and fast.
Good summary. Leeann Dempster left at the end of 2020, Ross late 2021 (despite having reached the League Cup final). That was when Ron Gordon started to stamp his way of doing things on the club, albeit he'd acquired the majority shareholding in 2019. As you say, on the park it's been overwhelmingly garbage ever since.
Five years in charge is more than enough time to display whether you're cut out for running this club. Good intentions and big spending are all very well but we're failing dismally where it counts.
Donegal Hibby
25-10-2024, 09:25 AM
I understood your point perfectly. As I said, I'm willing to take our chances.
Taking chances with the football club isn’t something I want to see … next you’ll be saying we should be exploring the idea of buying pubs and hotels down in England as a way of improving the club financially..:worried:
25-10-2024, 09:39 AM
Although I appreciate you are saying it was previous system of management that was in place rather than the individual manager, I've seen a few people on this thread and others say that the Gordons inherited Jack Ross. They didn't. They inherited Heckingbottom, sacked him and Ross was appointed under their watch. As you say, the previous system was in place (whether in reality or notionally). He might have been Dempster/Mathie's choice. He might have been Ron Gordon's choice. He might have been the unanimous choice. We don't know. They deserve some credit for Ross' relative success whether he was fully their choice or listened to the advice of the senior management in place when they bought the club.
It seemed to all unravel when Dempster left and they started appointing their own people.
FWIW, I hate what the Gordons have done to the club and wish they had never set foot in ER but I don't think we can totally ignore their role (however big or small) in appointing Ross.
25-10-2024, 09:39 AM
Taking chances with the football club isn’t something I want to see … next you’ll be saying we should be exploring the idea of buying pubs and hotels down in England as a way of improving the club financially..:worried:
No, I won't.
We're taking chances right now. Huge losses and abject performances. A cocktail for trouble. Good intentions aren't masking that for me.
25-10-2024, 09:45 AM
I’ve not really kept up with the debate as it’s bored me a wee bit but are you not a bit worried that the Gordon’s are working their way through Ron’s inheritance and that will need to stop at some point?
It’s not a recurring income they’ve got from successful businesses elsewhere and it’s not a bottomless pit of money. I’m more worried about them running out of cash or deciding they can’t continue plugging the gaps.
That’s no slight on them as people and it’s not even judging them on their performance so far, it just seems to me something that’s inevitably going to become a problem at some point and that concerns me.
Sioux
25-10-2024, 10:14 AM
I’ve not really kept up with the debate as it’s bored me a wee bit but are you not a bit worried that the Gordon’s are working their way through Ron’s inheritance and that will need to stop at some point?
It’s not a recurring income they’ve got from successful businesses elsewhere and it’s not a bottomless pit of money. I’m more worried about them running out of cash or deciding they can’t continue plugging the gaps.
That’s no slight on them as people and it’s not even judging them on their performance so far, it just seems to me something that’s inevitably going to become a problem at some point and that concerns me.
How do you know the value of Ron's estate, and why are you worried it being inevitable they are running out of cash when you don't know the status of the Gordons' current collective wealth?
Donegal Hibby
25-10-2024, 10:22 AM
No, I won't.
We're taking chances right now. Huge losses and abject performances. A cocktail for trouble. Good intentions aren't masking that for me.
One of the abject performances you mention was a defeat to Kelty that you were delighted that we took the chance in rotating the squad at the time which we got burnt for doing…
Now you are wanting to take the chance in seeing the Gordon’s who you have no faith in negotiate the selling of the club to god knows who in the hope things will be better which there’s absolutely no guarantee they will !!.
Thankfully I don’t think the Gordon’s are going anywhere and I hope they will learn from their past mistakes and put things right which is what I think they will try and do because they care for the club and have good intentions .
Though what your suggesting is going into uncharted waters or playing Russian Roulette with the club which after the last time if you remember how close we came to not having a club isn’t a option I want to see happening…
GGTTH 🇳🇬
25-10-2024, 10:23 AM
Although I appreciate you are saying it was previous system of management that was in place rather than the individual manager, I've seen a few people on this thread and others say that the Gordons inherited Jack Ross. They didn't. They inherited Heckingbottom, sacked him and Ross was appointed under their watch. As you say, the previous system was in place (whether in reality or notionally). He might have been Dempster/Mathie's choice. He might have been Ron Gordon's choice. He might have been the unanimous choice. We don't know. They deserve some credit for Ross' relative success whether he was fully their choice or listened to the advice of the senior management in place when they bought the club.
It seemed to all unravel when Dempster left and they started appointing their own people.
FWIW, I hate what the Gordons have done to the club and wish they had never set foot in ER but I don't think we can totally ignore their role (however big or small) in appointing Ross.
I do agree that you can't really just discount things happened under their ownership. But it's pretty obvious that at the very least there is a huge difference in what has been objectively good at the club vs objectively bad since the likes of Ben Kensell and Ian Gordon replaced Dempster and Mathie.
I cannot for the life of me think of anything good they've achieved here that isn't related to more sponsorships since they took the reigns from who had them before.
25-10-2024, 10:28 AM
How do you know the value of Ron's estate, and why are you worried it being inevitable they are running out of cash when you don't know the status of the Gordons' current collective wealth?
Because it’s not a recurring income coming from an existing successful business elsewhere.
Of course I don’t know the size of the pot of money left to the family, based on what we’ve heard from them so far though, I don’t think they have fingers in any other pies?
If they’re plugging £6m gaps then imo it’s not realistic to expect them to continue doing that indefinitely, even less so when their only business (as far as I know) is the club that’s losing them that money every year.
Of course, my concerns may end up being unfounded, it’s just what I think though and again just my opinion, feels inevitable.
Sioux
25-10-2024, 10:34 AM
Because it’s not a recurring income coming from an existing successful business elsewhere.
Of course I don’t know the size of the pot of money left to the family, based on what we’ve heard from them so far though, I don’t think they have fingers in any other pies?
If they’re plugging £6m gaps then imo it’s not realistic to expect them to continue doing that indefinitely, even less so when their only business (as far as I know) is the club that’s losing them that money every year.
Of course, my concerns may end up being unfounded, it’s just what I think though and again just my opinion, feels inevitable.
Yes it is. RG was major shareholder in his businesses. Those shares are now owned by IG, his mother and brother.
25-10-2024, 10:42 AM
Yes it is. RG was major shareholder in his businesses. Those shares are now owned by IG, his mother and brother.
What businesses were they?
I thought he sold them?
TrinityHFC
25-10-2024, 10:45 AM
The only thing that riles me about the Gordon’s is valuing the club at £20 million, actually £24 million if BF paid £6 million for 25%.
I buy and sell properties so I have no qualm with the Gordon’s buying an asset, investing it and selling it for more but £20 million is taking the piss.
Yes they’ve invested a few million but the main infrastructure was already in place thanks to STF and RP. The assets (ER and EM) were already worth nearly £20 million. In effect STF sold to them undervalue but no one realistically would pay full value.
If the Gordon’s think they can splash a few million on their original investment and then more than double it, I’d be hugely disappointed especially if we had a local businessman or such like who would be put off by the newly inflated value of the club.
If they got their original investment back plus their new investment and a small profit then that would be fair given that they bought it under value.
They’ve attracted further investment twice now at that valuation so it isn’t over-inflated.
25-10-2024, 10:48 AM
I thought he sold them?
The Gordons Pervian Panpies Hits
Featuring Ben Kensell and the suntan Stand
Baby give it up
Sioux
25-10-2024, 11:08 AM
I thought he sold them?
He sold his tv production company for a reported $75 million.
He also founded John Marshall Bank which today has assets of $2.4 billion. Obviously that wasn't all his money, but indicates a further substantial asset, which passed to his family.
Even if he had sold all of his business assets, that would have produced a big pile of cash which could easily have been invested to create an annual income in excess of $10 million.
The Gordons are not running out of money.
25-10-2024, 11:20 AM
One of the abject performances you mention was a defeat to Kelty that you were delighted that we took the chance in rotating the squad at the time which we got burnt for doing…
Now you are wanting to take the chance in seeing the Gordon’s who you have no faith in negotiate the selling of the club to god knows who in the hope things will be better which there’s absolutely no guarantee they will !!.
Thankfully I don’t think the Gordon’s are going anywhere and I hope they will learn from their past mistakes and put things right which is what I think they will try and do because they care for the club and have good intentions .
Though what your suggesting is going into uncharted waters or playing Russian Roulette with the club which after the last time if you remember how close we came to not having a club isn’t a option I want to see happening…
GGTTH 🇳🇬
Great idea to rotate. Everyone does it against crap in cup ties. Was super Dylan Vente being unable to finish his dinner that cost us, not rotating.
You simply aren't getting that these guys are bad owners and do have us in trouble. Bottom of the league.
25-10-2024, 11:38 AM
Sooner the Gordons are out of the club the better. They can take Kensell and their big screens with them. We will end up in the Championship under their watch mark my words. It's been a steady decline since they took over other than a small spike under LJ who they decided to sack 3 league games in to the season. ****ing shambles.
Cooshed Kid
25-10-2024, 12:00 PM
We can vent as much as we want but the Gordon Family own the club and that's that. They have nothing but the best intentions but regrettably they are not working out. Most supporters hoped for something more substantial out of the BK shareholding than just some cash in the bank and so far we have seen nothing other than an expression of dissatisfaction about the appointment of MM and SDG.
As supporters there's not a lot we can do. BK will speak forcefully to the Gordons if there is no improvement in our results. They are our proxy. Performances themselves have generally been okay. It's the constant snatching defeat from the jaws of victory with one stupid decision after another that has cost us. I'm pretty sure the BK will have some ideas as to how we stop that. At some point the family will listen, in their own interests if for no other reason.
Donegal Hibby
25-10-2024, 12:36 PM
Great idea to rotate. Everyone does it against crap in cup ties. Was super Dylan Vente being unable to finish his dinner that cost us, not rotating.
You simply aren't getting that these guys are bad owners and do have us in trouble. Bottom of the league.
Yeah lots of teams do it and history has shown on more than one occasion teams that take these unnecessary chances like we did do in fact get burnt …
Owners that have made mistakes yes , bad ? .. Not IMO .. we could get worse than them … bottom of the league though it’s not like we are rooted there and it can’t change 👍
25-10-2024, 12:50 PM
Yeah lots of teams do it and history has shown on more than one occasion teams that take these unnecessary chances like we did do in fact get burnt …
Owners that have made mistakes yes , bad ? .. Not IMO .. we could get worse than them … bottom of the league though it’s not like we are rooted there and it can’t change 👍
Aye, a lot of teams lose with their first team playing too. You play the same 11 every week, you fall to bits 2nd half of season. Rotation is vital.
3 years of dreadful mistakes makes them bad owners. This is year 4 and we're bottom. Absolutely we could get worse than them. When it gets to the stage of "well at least they aren't literally killing the football club" being the only real defence for them, it's clear they are hopeless.
Sooner the Gordons are out of the club the better. They can take Kensell and their big screens with them. We will end up in the Championship under their watch mark my words. It's been a steady decline since they took over other than a small spike under LJ who they decided to sack 3 league games in to the season. ****ing shambles.
Hey, I helped install those big screens. **** all wrong with them :wink:
Hibiza
25-10-2024, 12:55 PM
The number of posts on this thread says it all . Are they aware?
AdidasHibernian
25-10-2024, 01:10 PM
Ive got zero to invest
He could always ask the Gordon's to invest... They love sending money sorry waisting it.
Donegal Hibby
25-10-2024, 02:48 PM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7796382]Aye, a lot of teams lose with their first team playing too. You play the same 11 every week, you fall to bits 2nd half of season. Rotation is vital.
3 years of dreadful mistakes makes them bad owners. This is year 4 and we're bottom. Absolutely we could get worse than them. When it gets to the stage of "well at least they aren't literally killing the football club" being the only real defence for them, it's clear they are hopeless.
Nobody said we should stick with the same 11 every week … though that particular game was away from home on a tight wee ground where our next game was on our own patch that would have been easier … another thing is we didn’t have the personnel to be making 7 or 8 changes either .
Qualifying for Europe and finishing 5th dreadful??… again you are calling them hopeless but seem quite happy to trust their judgment in selling the club which you adamantly insist is going to make everything better .
That makes no sense whatsoever to me .. anyhow I’m done and will let you have the final say on it as you usually like to do 👍
25-10-2024, 03:54 PM
Nobody said we should stick with the same 11 every week … though that particular game was away from home on a tight wee ground where our next game was on our own patch that would have been easier … another thing is we didn’t have the personnel to be making 7 or 8 changes either .
Qualifying for Europe and finishing 5th dreadful??… again you are calling them hopeless but seem quite happy to trust their judgment in selling the club which you adamantly insist is going to make everything better .
That makes no sense whatsoever to me .. anyhow I’m done and will let you have the final say on it as you usually like to do 👍
It was a pretty awful season that year, yes. Out of both cups first chance, gubbed badly by Hearts twice. Decent run at the end got 5th which was okay.
That must be the 15th time you've said that now. They are hopeless. What are we going to do, keep them forever because they might sell to another useless lot? That's literally your only defence for them? We might get someone worse.
25-10-2024, 03:58 PM
Sooner the Gordons are out of the club the better. They can take Kensell and their big screens with them. We will end up in the Championship under their watch mark my words. It's been a steady decline since they took over other than a small spike under LJ who they decided to sack 3 league games in to the season. ****ing shambles.What's your issue with the big screens?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
25-10-2024, 09:43 PM
One of the things I picked up from Ian Gordon’s interviews was that when Ron died the family had a period of sitting out what was going on with his businesses - Hibs have never been his sole business.
It actually made me less sympathetic to the view that Ian is having to step in to his late dad’s shoes at Easter Rd in that role as owner (with no disrespect to Kit, who I think is the major shareholder in Bydand) - again when you consider that there are many other businesses that Ian could have thrown out himself into to carry on his father’s work, he chose the football club , presumably trusting other competent people to run the other businesses, so he absolutely could have done the same with us.
jakeshibs
25-10-2024, 09:52 PM
If you can buy the club, then crack on, don't talk about it, do it,!! Don't large it is saying you know better, who you would sack or retain for the benefit of Hibernian, do it, don't large it saying you can do better!, Prove it !! Buy them out, put your money in, and buy us all the best players to fulfil our ambitions. We have been around for a few years, and previous owners have not delivered or achieved as much as our current owners, but you can do better.
25-10-2024, 09:58 PM
If you can buy the club, then crack on, don't talk about it, do it,!! Don't large it is saying you know better, who you would sack or retain for the benefit of Hibernian, do it, don't large it saying you can do better!, Prove it !! Buy them out, put your money in, and buy us all the best players to fulfil our ambitions. We have been around for a few years, and previous owners have not delivered or achieved as much as our current owners, but you can do better.
Even a simpleton would realise i was jesting, but there's always one i suppose.
Can you tell me just one thing on the football side of things these clowns have improved delivered or achieved?
jakeshibs
25-10-2024, 10:02 PM
You continually post that Doyle Hayes isn't good enough and shouldn't be at the club.
Please tell everyone your plan on how you would move him on? Who would you replace him with on a similar wage? Please show your workings in great detail.
For me, any one stealing wages would be gone, simple, would look at the return of investment and realise its a loss, and move him on, as he is not good enough or at the standard to impact our club has been another really poor signing. i would come to an amicable agreement that his future is not with our club, Hibernian FC as he is not at the required standard, wish him the best of luck in his next adventure, then look at recruitment to purchase a midfielder, if you are seriously asking who i would replace him with thats laughable as he has been a drain and hardly added any value so humpty dumpty if fit would be more uselful.
We have far too many journeymen at the club who are not good enough
jakeshibs
25-10-2024, 10:08 PM
Can you tell me just one thing on the football side of things these clowns have improved delivered or achieved?
Just one, they increased the player budget that allowed us to attract players like Myziane Maolida and Emiliano Marcondes and bought Dylan Vente
have they reached two finals ? numerous semi finals? been relegated as many other owners have had us relegated, please answer your questions, just cause you dislike them deal with the facts!
The simpletons amongst us realised he didn't really think you were going to buy the club.
Cooshed Kid
26-10-2024, 12:52 AM
What's your issue with the big screens?
They keep showing us conceding silly goals and then it happens on the pitch?
26-10-2024, 04:19 AM
Just one, they increased the player budget that allowed us to attract players like Myziane Maolida and Emiliano Marcondes and bought Dylan Vente
have they reached two finals ? numerous semi finals? been relegated as many other owners have had us relegated, please answer your questions, just cause you dislike them deal with the facts!
You don't think there are facts that make the Gordons look bad too?
3 managerial appointments, 3 failed and sacked.
2 bottom 6 finishes
currently bottom of the league
Out of the league cup groups
2 derby wins in their entire time here
1 win against Rangers
Woefully unqualified son appointed head of recruitment.
We were signing better players on average, while in the championship, with half the budget.
26-10-2024, 06:26 AM
The simpletons amongst us realised he didn't really think you were going to buy the club.
Well done you.
jakeshibs
26-10-2024, 06:59 AM
2 bottom 6 finishes
1 win against Rangers
We were signing better players on average, while in the championship, with half the budget.
How many derby wins did we get in the 80s/90s? In our history prior to them, how many times have we finished in the bottom six of the league? (11 times since 2000 and not going back any further as it is horrid) how many times have they relegated us?
Two finals and five semi-finals?
NC1875
26-10-2024, 07:07 AM
How many derby wins did we get in the 80s/90s? In our history prior to them, how many times have we finished in the bottom six of the league? (11 times since 2000 and not going back any further as it is horrid) how many times have they relegated us?
You can’t seriously be defending them ?
Yes they’ve spent more than the previous owners, in doing so they’ve got us bottom of the league. That in itself shows how incompetent they are.
Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell will very likely relegate us. I’m not sure we will still be Ian’s favourite toy when we’re in the championship so let’s hope we don’t find out.
Paulie Walnuts
26-10-2024, 08:02 AM
You can’t seriously be defending them ?
Yes they’ve spent more than the previous owners, in doing so they’ve got us bottom of the league. That in itself shows how incompetent they are.
Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell will very likely relegate us. I’m not sure we will still be Ian’s favourite toy when we’re in the championship so let’s hope we don’t find out.
Using the fact they haven’t (yet) relegated us as a yardstick for their competence is quite something. They’ve been here 5 years and they took us over in one of the strongest positions we’ve been in as a club in my lifetime, still fairly fresh off the Scottish Cup win, massive crowds etc. We’re now looking like we have a real chance of being relegated this season and all feel good factor at the club has been obliterated by them. That’s a quite incredible feat.
Sell up and get to ****.
26-10-2024, 08:18 AM
Using the fact they haven’t (yet) relegated us as a yardstick for their competence is quite something. They’ve been here 5 years and they took us over in one of the strongest positions we’ve been in as a club in my lifetime, still fairly fresh off the Scottish Cup win, massive crowds etc. We’re now looking like we have a real chance of being relegated this season and all feel good factor at the club has been obliterated by them. That’s a quite incredible feat.
Sell up and get to ****.
The catalogue of blunders from them is eye-watering. The misplaced arrogance that accompanies it is equally as staggering.
TelaStella
26-10-2024, 08:25 AM
So what is it about Derby loses, bottom six finishes and general doom and gloom under the Gordon’s stewardship that is comparatively better than any such times prior? Assuming that’s the point you are trying to make? They haven’t relegated us, yet. However we’re sitting bottom of the table, probably the easiest team to beat in the league and this is off the back of spending how much? It’s a ****ing disaster mate come on.
26-10-2024, 08:57 AM
You seen to be implying that Farmer was a less successful owner, when he won 3 trophies. Gordon's will probably never achieve that.
They haven't relegated us at all yet, but they're trying.
26-10-2024, 09:29 AM
We lose tomorrow and it will get very messy behind the West Stand. The Gordon's will hear the voices of the fans loud and clear , telling them to GTF.
Does saying this mean that I'm now on the drink?
Appointing Gray was a poor decision. For those saying it deflected and buys them time, no chance. I said at the time that he needed properly backed. He wasn't. However, because of the affection we feel for him, the ire will turn upwards to the board and their stooges. Most fans can see past SDG and know where the root cause lies.
No matter what way you look at at, signing the likes of Bursik, the other goalie, Nicky Cadden, the still injured Bowie, Ekpiteta, O'Hora, Triantis and Kwon none of them have made a decent impact. Entirely predictable and totally inexcusable.
I'd love to know how much Kensell, McPherson, Mackay, Marshall and Ian Gordon take from Hibs in wages every year. The club is being bled dry by these guys and they sit pretty, whilst presiding over carnage.
Fergos
26-10-2024, 09:30 AM
2 bottom 6 finishes
1 win against Rangers
Totally agree. Nice people the Gordons, good intentions horrendously implemented. Some of the justification on here is frankly laughable. We are bottom of the league.
Anyway onto tomorrow. GGTH.
26-10-2024, 10:48 AM
Appointing Gray was a poor decision. For those saying it deflected and buys them time, no chance. I said at the time that he needed properly backed. He wasn't. .
Gray has been backed well above having us bottom
His job is to get us functioning on a Saturday and he easily has the tools at his disposal to make a decent job of it
So far he's failing
26-10-2024, 10:55 AM
Gray has been backed well above having us bottom
His job is to get us functioning on a Saturday and he easily has the tools at his disposal to make a decent job of it
So far he's failing
Does he?
A keeper who's hopeless, two full backs who cant defend and create virtually nothing going forward.
Newell, Campbell need i say more, and a big burly striker who does not score goals.
That's half a team who contribute little, and the rest of them are hardly 70's Brazil.
26-10-2024, 10:57 AM
Does he?
A keeper who's hopeless, two full backs who cant defend and create virtually nothing going forward.
Newell, Campbell need i say more, and a big burly striker who does not score goals.
That's half a team who contribute little, and the rest of them are hardly 70's Brazil.You can argue the pros and cons of each player and position but I don't believe for a second we have a squad that's peak is 12th
snedzuk
26-10-2024, 10:58 AM
One of the things I picked up from Ian Gordon’s interviews was that when Ron died the family had a period of sitting out what was going on with his businesses - Hibs have never been his sole business.
It actually made me less sympathetic to the view that Ian is having to step in to his late dad’s shoes at Easter Rd in that role as owner (with no disrespect to Kit, who I think is the major shareholder in Bydand) - again when you consider that there are many other businesses that Ian could have thrown out himself into to carry on his father’s work, he chose the football club , presumably trusting other competent people to run the other businesses, so he absolutely could have done the same with us.
"he chose the football club" - did he? or was it deemed the safest place in the context of the wider investments.
Paulie Walnuts
26-10-2024, 11:00 AM
You can argue the pros and cons of each player and position but I don't believe for a second we have a squad that's peak is 12th
26-10-2024, 11:03 AM
You can argue the pros and cons of each player and position but I don't believe for a second we have a squad that's peak is 12th
You did say he had the tools to make a decent job of thing, i merely said having half the team as poor as they are pours doubt on that.
I dont want decent, i want Europe and a team competing in the cups, that's not going to happen with this lot, so for me we are poor and nowhere near decent.
snedzuk
26-10-2024, 11:06 AM
If you go over the squad player by player then you can make a case for each of them, but what we don't have is a functioning team. On the point about 12th, I doubt there's another club that would admit their peak is 12th. Last year I remember Martindale pretty much conceding that early on so while I agree that our squad looks man for man better than 12th, other clubs will have a view on that. If this squad was firing we could be taking 12 points in the next 4 games.
26-10-2024, 11:08 AM
You did say he had the tools to make a decent job of thing, i merely said having half the team as poor as they are pours doubt on that.
I dont want decent, i want Europe and a team competing in the cups, that's not going to happen with this lot, so for me we are poor and nowhere near decent.I still think we are well underperforming - that lies with the coaching team first and foremost for me
Hopefully he can overcome that and get us a solid, well drilled football team
snedzuk
26-10-2024, 11:12 AM
I still think we are well underperforming - that lies with the coaching team first and foremost for me
This is what I tried to say, only more succinct!
26-10-2024, 11:14 AM
I dont want decent, i want Europe and a team competing in the cups, that's not going to happen with this lot, so for me we are poor and nowhere near decent.
We all want European football and cup wins. But what fans want has nothing to do with how Gray is currently performing with the current squad though.
Squad is nowhere near the worst in the league and being bottom after eight games is a massive underperformance for me.
may 21/05/2016
26-10-2024, 11:16 AM
A right positive thread this is
He's here!
26-10-2024, 11:43 AM
We all want European football and cup wins. But what fans want has nothing to do with how Gray is currently performing with the current squad though.
Squad is nowhere near the worst in the league and being bottom after eight games is a massive underperformance for me.
How do you know the squad is nowhere near the worst in the league? I knew nothing of the majority of the summer signings before they came to Hibs. So far they've all they've done is help take us to the foot of the table.
26-10-2024, 11:44 AM
A right positive thread this is
What did you think it was going to be from the title?
26-10-2024, 11:54 AM
I still think we are well underperforming - that lies with the coaching team first and foremost for me
Can't agree with this.
We have an established core of players, like Newell, Campbell, Miller, C. Cadden, Obita, Moriah -Welsh who have shown, to varying degrees what they offer and mostly it's been not been good enough.
We have a raft of signings we knew next to nothing about, Ekpiteta, O'Hora, Bursik, N.Cadden, Kwon, Smith, Bowie, Triantis for a range of reasons they have not improved our performances. Given their various backgrounds, this is not a huge surprise.
There are guys like Gayle, Hoilett, Boyle, Youan who do have the talent to be better than bottom of the league.
A striker who doesn't score goals in Myko.
Let's not pretend that this is all down to coaching or tactics. These players are largely not good enough.
may 21/05/2016
26-10-2024, 11:56 AM
What did you think it was going to be from the title?Well I don't want them out
26-10-2024, 11:57 AM
How do you know the squad is nowhere near the worst in the league? I knew nothing of the majority of the summer signings before they came to Hibs. So far they've all they've done is help take us to the foot of the table.
Because the majority of our players are better than the players of about half the teams in the league.
Donegal Hibby
26-10-2024, 11:57 AM
Well I don't want them out
Your not alone there 👍
26-10-2024, 12:25 PM
Can't agree with this.
We have an established core of players, like Newell, Campbell, Miller, C. Cadden, Obita, Moriah -Welsh who have shown, to varying degrees what they offer and mostly it's been not been good enough.
We have a raft of signings we knew next to nothing about, Ekpiteta, O'Hora, Bursik, N.Cadden, Kwon, Smith, Bowie, Triantis for a range of reasons they have not improved our performances. Given their various backgrounds, this is not a huge surprise.
There are guys like Gayle, Hoilett, Boyle, Youan who do have the talent to be better than bottom of the league.
A striker who doesn't score goals in Myko.
Let's not pretend that this is all down to coaching or tactics. These players are largely not good enough.
Not good enough doesn't mean bottom though surely
Triantis and Newell would get in every single bottom 6 midfield, no question imo
I'm not saying we have an unbelievable squad, im saying for a variety of reasons we are underperforming with what we have
And that lies first and foremost with the coaching staff
jakeshibs
26-10-2024, 01:12 PM
You seen to be implying that Farmer was a less successful owner, when he won 3 trophies. Gordon's will probably never achieve that.
How did our support show their gratitude to Sir Tom Farmer who rescued our club...... by protesting outside of Easter Road for him and Rod Petrie to leave.......
andrew70
26-10-2024, 01:18 PM
Aye, they are “trying” to get us relegated.
They are actively seeking ways to reduce their capital and potential resale value.
You have spouted some amount of nonsense on here but that takes the biscuit.
This season lies on Gray so far and not them. We are more than capable he is just not getting a tune but away and lie in the fantasyland that the Gordon’s are trying to ruin Hibs.
26-10-2024, 01:32 PM
"he chose the football club" - did he? or was it deemed the safest place in the context of the wider investments.
Safest for who?
Did he have to take over the running of any of them?
26-10-2024, 01:36 PM
Aye, they are “trying” to get us relegated.
They are actively seeking ways to reduce their capital and potential resale value.
You have spouted some amount of nonsense on here but that takes the biscuit.
This season lies on Gray so far and not them. We are more than capable he is just not getting a tune but away and lie in the fantasyland that the Gordon’s are trying to ruin Hibs.
It was a joke mate.
Also, who hired Gray?
It all goes back to our ownership. Everything. The whole lot.
Hibees1973
26-10-2024, 01:55 PM
It was a joke mate.
Also, who hired Gray?
Sadly this time next week if we have a couple of loses, this thread may be retitled to Gordon, Kensell, MacKay, Gray and co...times up.
Gray cannot be absolved of any responsibility for our predicament. As manager I expect he will have approved the signings by MacKay, weil I hope so anyway. Most of these signings don't look very good.
I did feel at the start he had a monumental job. Much of this was based on what had gone before.
My opinion has always been that no manager will be able to succeed with The Gordons & co in charge.
26-10-2024, 01:56 PM
Well I don't want them out
I don’t really want them out either, I just want them to do better.
My thoughts on it at the moment are that the reset happened when Malky and BKFC came on board. It was very evidently then that Ian and Ben needed help on the football side of the business.
I was frustrated about the “not listening” stuff with BKFC but have heard enough since then to think that this isn’t an issue any more and that things are in motion to improve our situation.
There’s an argument to be made that Ben and Ian felt that they were putting Hibs’ interest ahead of the group’s with the decisions, and ultimately I want us to always be in a position where we can do that - the flaw in this is that their decision making has, historically, taken us backwards rather than forwards on the pitch.
But for now, we have the Gordons who are happy to write the cheques for the club, we have Ben to run the commercial side, which he has shown he can do, and Malky to run the football side.
I want to let them get on with delivering on all fronts. I’ve said already that Malky’s role is not one where you’ll see overnight changes so let him get on with it, let the Black Knights support and steer, and let Gray get on with coaching the team.
may 21/05/2016
26-10-2024, 02:44 PM
I don’t really want them out either, I just want them to do better.
My thoughts on it at the moment are that the reset happened when Malky and BKFC came on board. It was very evidently then that Ian and Ben needed help on the football side of the business.
I was frustrated about the “not listening” stuff with BKFC but have heard enough since then to think that this isn’t an issue any more and that things are in motion to improve our situation.
There’s an argument to be made that Ben and Ian felt that they were putting Hibs’ interest ahead of the group’s with the decisions, and ultimately I want us to always be in a position where we can do that - the flaw in this is that their decision making has, historically, taken us backwards rather than forwards on the pitch.
But for now, we have the Gordons who are happy to write the cheques for the club, we have Ben to run the commercial side, which he has shown he can do, and Malky to run the football side.
I want to let them get on with delivering on all fronts. I’ve said already that Malky’s role is not one where you’ll see overnight changes so let him get on with it, let the Black Knights support and steer, and let Gray get on with coaching the team.I agree with your post
I will never turn on gray
It's just what he's done for the club
The problem he has is I don't think he's not got a experienced number 2
I know he will trust eddie may but he needs a experienced no 2
He's here!
26-10-2024, 03:19 PM
Because the majority of our players are better than the players of about half the teams in the league.
Where's the evidence of that so far?
How did our support show their gratitude to Sir Tom Farmer who rescued our club...... by protesting outside of Easter Road for him and Rod Petrie to leave.......That wasn't displaying gratitude was it. That was 25ish years after 1990.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
andrew70
26-10-2024, 03:31 PM
It was a joke mate.
Also, who hired Gray?
I am glad we’ve got them. They care.
It may be daft all things considered but it’s in their best interests to get it right. And they will when we get our next head coach.
26-10-2024, 03:32 PM
It may be daft all things considered but it’s in their best interests to get it right. And they will when we get our next head coach.
We’ve heard that last line so many times now. It’s always next time with them
Hibiza
26-10-2024, 03:42 PM
Bring back " Tam the groundsman " .
Paulie Walnuts
26-10-2024, 03:43 PM
Why didn’t they get it right this time? Genuinely not meaning that to sound arsey, but if they WILL get it right next time, why have they got it so wrong this time, and the time before that, and 2 times before that (arguable whether LJ was right or not).
Hibiza
26-10-2024, 03:48 PM
Why didn’t they get it right this time? Genuinely not meaning that to sound arsey, but if they WILL get it right next time, why have they got it so wrong this time, and the time before that, and 2 times before that (arguable whether LJ was right or not).
Because they don't know any better , Paulie
snedzuk
26-10-2024, 04:22 PM
Safest for who?
Did he have to take over the running of any of them?
Safest for the Gordon's - I have no idea if IG is up to a senior role in any of their other enterprises and giving him Hibs to run may have been a sop.
LewysGot2
26-10-2024, 04:28 PM
I think the Gordons are well meaning and benevolent but they are inexperienced in the field of Scottish football. They appointed people to help with that but it's clear that this is where they are probably missing a trick ...Ben Kensell might be doing positive things in terms of income stream but the football side has been badly mismanaged in the last few years.
Appointment of MMcP may have seemed a good idea but, again, I'm not sure...we've seen this film before. If he sacks SDG he will have overseen the appointment and demise of 2 Hibs legends...
HarpOnHibee
26-10-2024, 04:38 PM
The problem when multi-millionaire business people stick their oar into football is that they believe that running a football club is just like running any other business. They treat the football club as a brand and are under the illusion that they'll always be brand loyalty, regardless of how trash the product is. Hibs are not Apple.
26-10-2024, 04:39 PM
Bring back " Tam the groundsman " .
That would be quite difficult
Just_Jimmy
26-10-2024, 04:45 PM
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkI agree. Whilst SDG isn't the sole problem at Hibernian, I very much doubt at this stage, he's part of the solution.
Utter misery that it's been allowed to come to this.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
26-10-2024, 04:50 PM
Plus the fact that Ross County and St Johnstone are pulling away from us 😔 dangerous days at ER now 😒
andrew70
26-10-2024, 05:05 PM
sentiment, as soon as Gray applied for the job there was a clamour to get him in.
They played up to the support in my opinion.
Mackay will be more ruthless in a few weeks I feel.
However I’ve been known to be wrong I seriously hope I am not this time around because this can’t keep going on and on.
He's here!
26-10-2024, 05:41 PM
sentiment, as soon as Gray applied for the job there was a clamour to get him in.
They played up to the support in my opinion.
Mackay will be more ruthless in a few weeks I feel.
However I’ve been known to be wrong I seriously hope I am not this time around because this can’t keep going on and on.
There was no clamour to get Gray in. Just a growing realisation that he was looking likely to get the job, followed by an understandable hope that a club legend might prove to be the right call rather than write him off immediately.
andrew70
26-10-2024, 05:46 PM
There was no clamour to get Gray in. Just a growing realisation that he was looking likely to get the job, followed by an understandable hope that a club legend might prove to be the right call rather than write him off immediately.
I don’t agree, here, twitter, talking to others it was all about Gray. Unfortunately it was inevitable. It was also well known that he had the job well before it was announced.
There was no open thinking by Hibs and we are paying the price now.
His teams are the complete opposite to what he said they would be.
The club will look further afield shortly.
26-10-2024, 05:47 PM
They shouldn't be anywhere NEAR appointing our next head coach.
andrew70
26-10-2024, 05:59 PM
They shouldn't be anywhere NEAR appointing our next head coach.
I understand that point but they will be or at least Mackay will be. This is when they start moving forward as they will use the Black Knights influence.
However as we’ve seen with Hearts lately there’s not a great deal of choice.
26-10-2024, 06:02 PM
I understand that point but they will be or at least Mackay will be. This is when they start moving forward as they will use the Black Knights influence.
However as we’ve seen with Hearts lately there’s not a great deal of choice.
They had every opportunity to do everything you're saying in the summer. They were under no obligation to pick Gray. They are just clowns.
Hearts have won 2 games, scoring 6 goals. Their choice looks not bad.
andrew70
26-10-2024, 06:20 PM
They had every opportunity to do everything you're saying in the summer. They were under no obligation to pick Gray. They are just clowns.
Hearts have won 2 games, scoring 6 goals. Their choice looks not bad.
No but they played up to the support imo a quick get them back onside which is stupid I grant you that.
Yes Hearts looked good on Thursday. A high press, get forward quickly and in numbers. Gray and Craig were there let’s see if they can outdo them. Time to earn his corn and repay the support and the board.
26-10-2024, 06:24 PM
No but they played up to the support imo a quick get them back onside which is stupid I grant you that.
Yes Hearts looked good on Thursday. A high press, get forward quickly and in numbers. Gray and Craig were there let’s see if they can outdo them. Time to earn his corn and repay the support and the board.
They didn't play up to the support. They hired Malky Mackay, which is not at all an appointment to play up to fans. They thought Gray was the best person. Nothing to do with fans.
Hiring something to get us winning matches every week would get us back on side. Or better, selling the club.
NC1875
26-10-2024, 06:36 PM
Of course there was a clamour. We had numerous people on here telling us he was the right man for the job despite all the evidence otherwise.
It just confirms how utterly clueless they are that they gave him the job after all that’s gone on before.
Here we are bottom of the league while an equally bad team last season in Aberdeen sit top of the league with there experienced manager still unbeaten.
Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell, Absolute clowns the pair of them and the sooner they’re gone the better.
26-10-2024, 06:40 PM
Of course there was a clamour. We had numerous people on here telling us he was the right man for the job despite all the evidence otherwise.
It just confirms how utterly clueless they are that they gave him the job after all that’s gone on before.
Here we are bottom of the league while an equally bad team last season in Aberdeen sit top of the league with there experienced manager still unbeaten.
Ian Gordon and Ben Kensell, Absolute clowns the pair of them and the sooner they’re gone the better.
There was no clamour whatsoever. I don't know anyone who wanted SDG. Very few on here wanted him, I was one of the few who said I'd be happy with him.
percy veer
26-10-2024, 06:44 PM
There was no clamour whatsoever. I don't know anyone who wanted SDG. Very few on here wanted him, I was one of the few who said I'd be happy with him.
Everyone I spoke to said cheap option and very underwhelmed.
He's here!
26-10-2024, 06:45 PM
Aberdeen weren’t equally bad. They were equally badly managed for much of the season, but still beat us 4-0 at ER. The new boss is getting the most out of them now. We just don't look to have a squad to get the most out of unfortunately.
Scotty Leither
26-10-2024, 06:48 PM
They didn't play up to the support. They hired Malky Mackay, which is not at all an appointment to play up to fans. They thought Gray was the best person. Nothing to do with fans.
Hiring something to get us winning matches every week would get us back on side. Or better, selling the club.
And Davey Gray picked his mate Craig as his assistant.
I never thought Davey showed anything while he was caretaker to merit him getting the job either.
This old pals act will take us down if we’re not careful, but dinnae worry the glaikit owner will give us another interview telling us how he’s all of a sudden going to get it right going forward.
NC1875
Rubbish, numerous people on here were calling for him to get the job.
Hibees1973
There was no clamour. None.
The only fans who wanted Gray were those were still misty eyed from 2016. Goodness, he was part of the last 3 coaching teams who all got punted.
Gray initially kept saying he learned from previous Hibs managers. The only one he would have learned anything good from was Ross.
Can't see so far if he has learned anything good.
26-10-2024, 06:49 PM
No clamour as far as I saw it. More of an accepting the inevitable and trying to see the positives and back a legend. But na, definitely not a clamour for him to get it.
NC1875
26-10-2024, 06:52 PM
Aberdeen weren’t equally bad. They were equally badly managed for much of the season, but still beat us 4-0 at ER. The new boss is getting the most out of them now. We just don't look to have a squad to get the most out of unfortunately.
Alright, so they’ve had a great squad all along ? Just a good manager getting the best out of them ?
Gray has signed almost a whole team, is our squad still rubbish ? On paper should we be bottom of the league ?
No, yet Gray has us there.
A cheap inexperienced option appointed by the two most incompetent clowns you’re likely to meet
Paulie Walnuts
26-10-2024, 06:57 PM
Some people wanted him. The general consensus was that it was somewhere between a huge risk and a disaster waiting to happen. It didn’t take a genius to see how this would go.
Scotty Leither
26-10-2024, 07:01 PM
Can you point us in the direction of any threads or numerous posts clamouring for DG to get the gig?
A soundbite from Mackay about how brilliant DG was at interview from a guy who only got his own job because his mate MacPherson wanted him there tells you all you need to know about how these utter chancers should be nowhere near the major decisions getting taken at our club.
26-10-2024, 07:05 PM
No clamour as far as I saw it. More of an accepting the inevitable and trying to see the positives and back a legend. But na, definitely not a clamour for him to get it.
That's how I'm remembering it too.
26-10-2024, 07:06 PM
3 or 4 is hardly a clamour!
NC1875
26-10-2024, 07:07 PM
Can you point us in the direction of any threads or numerous posts clamouring for DG to get the gig?
A soundbite from Mackay about how brilliant DG was at interview from a guy who only got his own job because his mate MacPherson wanted him there tells you all you need to know about how these utter chancers should be nowhere near the major decisions getting taken at our club.
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?366669-David-Gray
Have a look. Numerous people saying he was the man for the job.
I agree with you. He shouldn’t have been anywhere near the job. I was just replying to a poster who said there wasn’t a clamour for him to get the job. Many people on here and other social media were calling for Gray to get i
Most of us could see it would be a disaster
NC1875
26-10-2024, 07:09 PM
3 or 4 is hardly a clamour!
Maybe not a clamour but there were far more than 3 or 4 people wanting him to get the job.
Most people seem to agree it was the wrong decision now.
26-10-2024, 07:31 PM
Maybe not a clamour but there were far more than 3 or 4 people wanting him to get the job.
Most people seem to agree it was the wrong decision now.
I'll have made my mind up by 2pm tomorrow 😬
26-10-2024, 07:31 PM
Aberdeen- 25 games unbeaten, 21 wins (15 clean sheets) and 4 draws.
Gray as made some bad early decisions - Newell new deal - Newell captain - Bursik as keeper - Kelty team selection plus his long delay sorting his coaching staff to end up with Craig - May and Samson!!
He’s got minimal credit in the bank - a good away performance(but loss to the Huns) home win against St J.
Tomorrow is massive for his future as manager in some many ways - his own career in management (if he was to be sacked he would be finding it hard to get another job) and his position as Hibs manager.
I always wondered what his next step as a manager would be - does he have ambitions to manage in England for example?
Scotty Leither
26-10-2024, 07:38 PM
Gray made some bad earlier decisions - Newell new deal - Newell captain - Bursik as keeper - Kelty team selection.
He’s got minimal credit in the bank - a good away performance(but loss to the Huns) home win against St J.
Tomorrow is massive for his future as manager in some many ways - his own career in management (if he was to be sacked he would be finding it hard to get another job) and his position as Hibs manager.
I always wondered what his next step as a manager would be - does he have ambitions to manage in England for example?
The goalkeeper(s) is the only slack I can cut Gray, because I’m convinced he didn’t sanction the signing, such was the two GKs poor pedigree.
That’s how little trust I have in those running our club despite all their empty rhetoric, and I include Mackay in that assertion.
K-Zazu
26-10-2024, 07:42 PM
Gray made some bad earlier decisions - Newell new deal - Newell captain - Bursik as keeper - Kelty team selection.
25 games unbeaten? Didn’t Celtic beat them in the Scottish cup end of April?
26-10-2024, 07:45 PM
25 games unbeaten? Didn’t Celtic beat them in the Scottish cup end of April?
That’s correct actually - that’s only defeat in all 25 games. Undefeated in 20 - 1 loss in 25 games.
We struggle to win 2 games in a row and have only won 1 away league game in 2024.
26-10-2024, 07:49 PM
Most folk didn’t want SDG appointed as untested but happy to back him hope we stuff them tomorrow
26-10-2024, 08:42 PM
Don`t remember any clamour for him to be appointed here or elsewhere and just assumed club were taking cheap option with Gray and his team with internal appointments and others who won`t have demanded big salaries at a time when club finances were not in a great state and money was needed to pay Mackay . But that doesn`t mean it was a bad decision despite our current league position as it was always going to be difficult for any manager with so many new players . After such a stop start to season with so many interruptions we finally have 3 league games in a week so a great opportunity to climb the table ( all 3 matches are important not just one against team which has done even worse than us in league ) so hopefully we are in a better position in league after Dundee United game and can look forward to climbing the league table before winter break and Scottish Cup campaign starts .
K-Zazu
26-10-2024, 08:54 PM
Don`t remember any clamour for him to be appointed here or elsewhere and just assumed club were taking cheap option with Gray and his team with internal appointments and others who won`t have demanded big salaries at a time when club finances were not in a great state and money was needed to pay Mackay . But that doesn`t mean it was a bad decision despite our current league position as it was always going to be difficult for any manager with so many new players . After such a stop start to season with so many interruptions we finally have 3 league games in a week so a great opportunity to climb the table ( all 3 matches are important not just one against team which has done even worse than us in league ) so hopefully we are in a better position in league after Dundee United game and can look forward to climbing the league table before winter break and Scottish Cup campaign starts .
Ain’t no winter break this year.
He's here!
26-10-2024, 10:17 PM
Alright, so they’ve had a great squad all along ? Just a good manager getting the best out of them ?
Gray has signed almost a whole team, is our squad still rubbish ? On paper should we be bottom of the league ?
No, yet Gray has us there.
A cheap inexperienced option appointed by the two most incompetent clowns you’re likely to meet
I'm not saying their squad was great, but a couple of astute signings by a canny manager can make a big difference.
I keep hearing our squad is too good to be bottom, but with so many new faces how do we know that? All our new-look squad's done so far is take us from an eighth-place finish to bottom spot.
Jock O
27-10-2024, 06:49 AM
Most folk didn’t want SDG appointed as untested but happy to back him hope we stuff them tomorrow
I disagree with this, I think lots of people were so pissed at him being appointed they would love him to fail to say I told you to so, and to have another rock around owners neck, that's the level of toxicity I think is out there in the wider Hibs support. I am not sure that's among hardcore attending fans, which is the problem with online discussions now, its hard to tell what the opinion of people putting into club is, and at end of the day that's what counts really. Like it or not. I said elsewhere it was refreshing to see such a group on Longbangers debating with some perspective. I think this thread and the owners thread now show just how much we, mostly on here and definitely on other online mediums, have lost perspective, and reality too, in some ways of the bigger picture.
It is 9 games Gray has had, he has not performed as we want and more importantly as he should based on the factors giving him the job, but its less than a 1/4 of a season. If we sack Gray after 9, 10 or even 15 games, we have to do so with everyone else coming in. This isn't about Gray getting special privileges because of who he is, in fact I would say he is getting much less leeway than he should because so many people are pissed at him getting job, its complete business sense. Obviously we are all extra worried due to previous perceived failures but interestingly with hindsight most people are now questioning the previous discussions, despite I have no doubt at least 90% were baying for each managers head at the time. If nothing else it proves we are fickle, and probably not that good either at knowing what should be done. The problem is everyone agrees that applies to the owners too, hence the current levels of despair and toxicity. Again however we need to say, its 9 games, results are proving anyone can beat anyone in the bottom 9 this year, and we need to win at least more than we lose in next 2 months to probably allay some fears, But nothing about changing manager says that's any more likely, for every Aberdeen current manager there are far more Aberdeen Warnock type decisions made in these circumstances.
Obviously we cannot go on losing but equally as Matty has said elsewhere there is the new structure we all wanted set up only this year, everyone seems to be talking within the club and with BK, we need to ride this out to see where it takes us over a decent period, at least a season I think. We won't get relegated is my obvious assumption, and the fear of that remaining will obviously make a greater risk to us carrying on, but as long as we are not we have to see this out. Otherwise the club becomes more of a basket case than it is, much less attractive to other than big money prospects or more journeymen. And ironically if it starts to turn around we become more attractive to new owners, so all those with a list of investors can then get involved.
Its not a great time to watch Hibs at the moment, but it is an even worst time to be in the supporter community, its more fragmented than ever, although again ironically there are fantastic numbers of guys going out weekly to support the team, so maybe it's just us online.......
27-10-2024, 07:24 AM
I disagree with this, I think lots of people were so pissed at him being appointed they would love him to fail to say I told you to so, and to have another rock around owners neck, that's the level of toxicity I think is out there in the wider Hibs support. I am not sure that's among hardcore attending fans, which is the problem with online discussions now, its hard to tell what the opinion of people putting into club is, and at end of the day that's what counts really. Like it or not. I said elsewhere it was refreshing to see such a group on Longbangers debating with some perspective. I think this thread and the owners thread now show just how much we, mostly on here and definitely on other online mediums, have lost perspective, and reality too, in some ways of the bigger picture.
It is 9 games Gray has had, he has not performed as we want and more importantly as he should based on the factors giving him the job, but its less than a 1/4 of a season. If we sack Gray after 9, 10 or even 15 games, we have to do so with everyone else coming in. This isn't about Gray getting special privileges because of who he is, in fact I would say he is getting much less leeway than he should because so many people are pissed at him getting job, its complete business sense. Obviously we are all extra worried due to previous perceived failures but interestingly with hindsight most people are now questioning the previous discussions, despite I have no doubt at least 90% were baying for each managers head at the time. If nothing else it proves we are fickle, and probably not that good either at knowing what should be done. The problem is everyone agrees that applies to the owners too, hence the current levels of despair and toxicity. Again however we need to say, its 9 games, results are proving anyone can beat anyone in the bottom 9 this year, and we need to win at least more than we lose in next 2 months to probably allay some fears, But nothing about changing manager says that's any more likely, for every Aberdeen current manager there are far more Aberdeen Warnock type decisions made in these circumstances.
Obviously we cannot go on losing but equally as Matty has said elsewhere there is the new structure we all wanted set up only this year, everyone seems to be talking within the club and with BK, we need to ride this out to see where it takes us over a decent period, at least a season I think. We won't get relegated is my obvious assumption, and the fear of that remaining will obviously make a greater risk to us carrying on, but as long as we are not we have to see this out. Otherwise the club becomes more of a basket case than it is, much less attractive to other than big money prospects or more journeymen. And ironically if it starts to turn around we become more attractive to new owners, so all those with a list of investors can then get involved.
Its not a great time to watch Hibs at the moment, but it is an even worst time to be in the supporter community, its more fragmented than ever, although again ironically there are fantastic numbers of guys going out weekly to support the team, so maybe it's just us online.......
Lots of Hibs fans want David Gray to fail and be sacked so they can say they were right? Maybe an absolutely tiny number if any at all, but to say lots is clearly not correct and just hyperbole that adds to the toxicity you mention.
Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2024, 01:02 PM
Just to reiterate. Get them to ****.
27-10-2024, 01:15 PM
We are in a serious relegation battle.
random sub
27-10-2024, 03:18 PM
Crazy thing in all of this is that the fans are doing their bit supporting the club through these difficult times. We have a great image and a great culture and history.
Imagine what we could be as a club if we could sort out the football.
Also, Edinburgh’s population is growing rapidly year on year- this should mean even bigger crowds and bigger revenues, but we need an offer on the pitch.
27-10-2024, 03:18 PM
Get out of my ****ing football club you useless ****s.
27-10-2024, 03:20 PM
20011 was today crowd.
We do our bit and are let down by these pricks.
27-10-2024, 03:22 PM
We are in a serious relegation battle.
We really are.
Pre-match on Sky the talk was that we are in a false position, I really don’t think we are.
Yes, there’s been times within games we have done alright but you’d expect that from any side.
We are a really dreadful team and we are where we deserve to be I think.
27-10-2024, 03:26 PM
When you have a goalie and full backs that can’t defend you’re always asking for trouble.
27-10-2024, 03:27 PM
We really are.
Pre-match on Sky the talk was that we are in a false position, I really don’t think we are.
Yes, there’s been times within games we have done alright but you’d expect that from any side.
I think we are in the right position at the moment, we will probably finish around 8th again, but we might get involved in a relegation fight and it wouldnt be a surprise.
Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2024, 03:30 PM
We really are.
That’s a really important point for me.
I’d hazard a guess there’s been very few sides, if ever, that don’t have some positive parts of games to point to as being decent. Hence why nobody ever gets relegated on single figures etc. Nobody is ever THAT bad that they pick up nothing.
We’re 9 games deep with 6 points. We truly are a dreadful football team.
27-10-2024, 03:39 PM
When you have a goalie and full backs that can’t defend you’re always asking for trouble.
When you’ve got a goalie and defence that can’t defend it’s made worst when you allow teams to constantly attack, better defences than ours fold under constant pressure.
We actually defended really well first half considering the possession and territory Hearts had.
If we had the ball at the other end of the pitch or if we kept possession for any decent length of time it would take a hell of a lot of pressure off our horrible defence.
27-10-2024, 03:40 PM
That’s a really important point for me.
I’d hazard a guess there’s been very few sides, if ever, that don’t have some positive parts of games to point to as being decent. Hence why nobody ever gets relegated on single figures etc. Nobody is ever THAT bad that they pick up nothing.
We’re 9 games deep with 6 points. We truly are a dreadful football team.
Wonder what Livi were on at this stage of last season?
Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2024, 03:42 PM
Wonder what Livi were on at this stage of last season?
They were on 10.
27-10-2024, 03:43 PM
They were on 10.
That’s ominous then.
Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2024, 03:45 PM
That’s ominous then.
We’re nearly a quarter of the season in and we’re on nearly half of the points total that the team that were by a mile the worst in our league last season had at this point last season. Maybe that will wake people up to the situation we’re in.
27-10-2024, 03:46 PM
We really are.
Yup. Today's performance showed that we are in the correct position. We are a very poor side with a very inexperienced manager learning and making mistakes on the job.
We’re nearly a quarter of the season in and we’re on nearly half of the points total that the team that were by a mile the worst in our league last season had at this point last season. Maybe that will wake people up to the situation we’re in.
But it won’t though. I think sentiment is playing a part in folks judgement.
Clearly another poor decision by the owners of the club but I think it’s evident it’s not and won’t work. Midweek is huge but even a victory just papers over the cracks.
Paulie Walnuts
27-10-2024, 04:00 PM
But it won’t though. I think sentiment is playing a part in folks judgement.
Clearly another poor decision by the owners of the club but I think it’s evident it’s not and won’t work. Midweek is huge but even a victory just papers over the cracks.
snedzuk
27-10-2024, 05:08 PM
I know it's only matchday 9 for us, but to be 'safe' entering matchday 38, you need to be 4 points ahead of 11th and 12th. We are currently 6 points off that. The next three fixtures are hugely important.
Docker
27-10-2024, 05:21 PM
When you’ve got a goalie and defence that can’t defend it’s made worst when you allow teams to constantly attack, better defences than ours fold under constant pressure.
We actually defended really well first half considering the possession and territory Hearts had.
If we had the ball at the other end of the pitch or if we kept possession for any decent length of time it would take a hell of a lot of pressure off our horrible defence.
Gray has to stop talking off attackers and replacing them with midfielders. We actually bring pressure on with these crap tactical switches. The Hoilett substitution in particular being the obvious one today.
27-10-2024, 05:26 PM
Gray has to stop talking off attackers and replacing them with midfielders. We actually bring pressure on with these crap tactical switches. The Hoilett substitution in particular being the obvious one today.
We need to stop being *****. Genuinely must be one of the easiest teams in the league to play against - as the table suggests.
Docker
27-10-2024, 05:51 PM
We need to stop being *****. Genuinely must be one of the easiest teams in the league to play against - as the table suggests.
I don’t think we have been easy to play against. We have been leading in 5 of our 9 games played. We’ve only went on to win won one of them - why? Combination of poor players making mistakes and crap tactical changes. With the exception of the St Mirren and Celtic games, we have not been easy to play against.
27-10-2024, 06:03 PM
I don’t think we have been easy to play against. We have been leading in 5 of our 9 games played. We’ve only went on to win won one of them - why? Combination of poor players making mistakes and crap tactical changes. With the exception of the St Mirren and Celtic games, we have not been easy to play against.
Because we don’t dominate the ball enough I think.
We get the ball forward quickly into areas when we can score but we constantly turn over possession, when it comes to the last 15 minutes and you’ve got teams throwing the kitchen sink at us, we allow that to keep happening as we’re not good enough to take the sting out the game by keeping possession for a bit.
It’s really basic football I think, there’ll be times throughout the season we get some success out of it but more often than not, if we keep giving the other team the ball, eventually they’ll make it count.
raeburnhibs
27-10-2024, 06:10 PM
Because we don’t dominate the ball enough I think.
We get the ball forward quickly into areas when we can score but we constantly turn over possession, when it comes to the last 15 minutes and you’ve got teams throwing the kitchen sink at us, we allow that to keep happening as we’re not good enough to take the sting out the game by keeping possession for a bit.
It’s really basic football I think, there’ll be times throughout the season we get some success out of it but more often than not, if we keep giving the other team the ball, eventually they’ll make it count.
Maybe, but what about the stats which state that we typically have considerably more possession than the opposition?
27-10-2024, 06:19 PM
Maybe, but what about the stats which state that we typically have considerably more possession than the opposition?
That certainly wasn’t the case today.
I’d also be amazed if we had more possession during the last 15 minutes of games when we’ve consistently been losing goals.
Chorley Hibee
28-10-2024, 09:15 AM
Posts on Twitter stating Kensell is away?
28-10-2024, 09:18 AM
From who?
28-10-2024, 09:18 AM
Any links to those tweets?
Credibility of the rumour will probably depend on who is tweeting it.
Paulie Walnuts
28-10-2024, 09:19 AM
I can’t see it being the case but praying it’s true.
28-10-2024, 09:21 AM
Maybe jumping ship before it sinks.
28-10-2024, 09:21 AM
Away where?
28-10-2024, 09:23 AM
This would be the best news all season.
NC1875
28-10-2024, 09:23 AM
Please be true 🙏🏼
Hibees1973
28-10-2024, 09:25 AM
Kensell, away.
That will be good.
Rumour has it there was a Tanz van at East Mains this morning taking away a sunbed.
28-10-2024, 09:26 AM
Maybe the guy from the BK Group who visited East Mains a few weeks back did voice his concerns about the running of the club after all?
28-10-2024, 09:27 AM
Any links to those tweets?
Credibility of the rumour will probably depend on who is tweeting it.
Cant see anything on twitter to suggest he is away
28-10-2024, 09:28 AM
It’s not mattered though. Like we did with Hearts yesterday, let them have the ball and they do nothing with it, we create a handful of chances in a game, fewer really good ones, and we rarely convert them.
I think we’ve scored one goal from open play in nine games - we’re almost a full round of fixtures into the season and only St Johnstone didn’t manage to take something from us. Having the ball and taking the lead counts for little.
https://x.com/thehibsarehere/status/1850842045205660096?s=46&t=8S1ZYRh9AWmZHD2iAGtEBA
Me neither :rolleyes:
Doubt it. Mr Teflon.
I did have a nosey at his LinkedIn a few weeks back and noticed him liking a lot of posts from James Bisgrove (ex Hun CEO) who's now in Saudi. Maybe angling for a move there..
Paulie Walnuts
28-10-2024, 09:29 AM
I don’t use Twitter but I’ve been sent a screenshot of a tweet from @thehibsarehere saying “Kensell away?” Apparently come from a WhatsApp group.
Hibees1973
28-10-2024, 09:38 AM
Doubt it. Mr Teflon.
I did have a nosey at his LinkedIn a few weeks back and noticed him liking a lot of posts from James Bisgrove (ex Hun CEO) who's now in Saudi. Maybe angling for a move there..
What would his CV be.
Spending a colleagues inheritance on fancy TV screens and hospitality. COE of a football club's demise from 3rd in the table to bottom. Constantly sacking and hiring staff and making things worse.
28-10-2024, 11:36 AM
Doubt it. Mr Teflon.
Save some money on the sun bed.
28-10-2024, 11:49 AM
Away where?
Out for a sandwich
28-10-2024, 12:23 PM
Out for a sandwich
So it seems.
False alarm. We must try harder!
28-10-2024, 12:25 PM
https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/soccerwise/id1752138229?i=1000673605346
There has been some talk about Tim Bezbatchenko being at East Mains last week so thought I’d try and find out a bit about him. As luck would have it he did a podcast a week or so back. Sounds like he’s had some serious success with building clubs in America.
Nothing ground breaking but few interesting references to Hibs. Thought it was good he stressed the importance of respecting our culture and history.
Worth a listen if anyone’s at a loose end and is interested in what he might bring to the table.
28-10-2024, 05:12 PM
https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/soccerwise/id1752138229?i=1000673605346
There has been some talk about Tim Bezbatchenko being at East Mains last week so thought I’d try and find out a bit about him. As luck would have it he did a podcast a week or so back. Sounds like he’s had some serious success with building clubs in America.
Nothing ground breaking but few interesting references to Hibs. Thought it was good he stressed the importance of respecting our culture and history.
Worth a listen if anyone’s at a loose end and is interested in what he might bring to the table.
Good find - I’ll have a listen. Thanks for sharing.
28-10-2024, 05:21 PM
Good find - I’ll have a listen. Thanks for sharing.
Interested to hear what you, and others, think.
Having had time to think about what he was saying, even if a lot of it wasn’t directly about Hibs, we are in very good hands with this guy I think.
Interestingly, at Toronto when he took over they were doing well off the park but that wasn’t reflected on the pitch. Sounds like he did a really good job of fixing that there.
Murphys Touch
28-10-2024, 06:28 PM
Having had time to think about what he was saying, even if a lot of it wasn’t directly about Hibs, we are in very good hands with this guy I think.
Interestingly, at Toronto when he took over they were doing well off the park but that wasn’t reflected on the pitch. Sounds like he did a really good job of fixing that there.
Makes you wonder who is actually calling the shots at ER. Interesting listen and you feel this is exactly what the Gordons and Kensill brought in the BK for.
So is it Macpherson and Malky not listening to BK?
28-10-2024, 07:36 PM
I don’t use Twitter but I’ve been sent a screenshot of a tweet from @thehibsarehere saying “Kensell away?” Apparently come from a WhatsApp group.
Nothing solid there then.
Paulie Walnuts
28-10-2024, 07:43 PM
Nothing solid there then.
Unfortunately doesn’t look like it.
Paulie Walnuts
30-10-2024, 09:48 PM
Get to ****.
30-10-2024, 10:07 PM
We could do with a Ted Lasso type
K-Zazu
31-10-2024, 07:37 PM
What are the board waiting for? Do they really think SDG will turn this around?
02-11-2024, 03:33 PM
Lucky they saw through these Black Knights jokers and sent them packing.[emoji849]
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20241102/077e67aa99f3a24d5fa7e9543d3e4109.jpg
02-11-2024, 06:22 PM
Yup.
Our leaders… yeah Chris Cadden says his brother is decent. Let’s give him a 3 year deal. **** these suckers who just gave us millions.
02-11-2024, 11:18 PM
Yup.
Our leaders… yeah Chris Cadden says his brother is decent. Let’s give him a 3 year deal. **** these suckers who just gave us millions.
That is quite obviously not how Nicky Cadden was recruited.
02-11-2024, 11:22 PM
That is quite obviously not how Nicky Cadden was recruited.
Aye he was clearly a BKFC recommendation. 😂
02-11-2024, 11:31 PM
Is that the two options? BK or an immediate family member?
02-11-2024, 11:42 PM
Lucky they saw through these Black Knights jokers and sent them packing.[emoji849]
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20241102/077e67aa99f3a24d5fa7e9543d3e4109.jpg
It’s beyond laughable when you see the success they’re having compared to us, form a partnership and then think “nah…we’re not listening”
03-11-2024, 06:05 AM
It’s beyond laughable when you see the success they’re having compared to us, form a partnership and then think “nah…we’re not listening”
FWIW I’ve been told they are starting to have a bit more influence at East Mains. Youth team coaches have had a bit pressure on them from the Black knights recently, presumably when Tim Bezbatchenko was rumoured to be up a week or two back.
I know that’s not the sort of influence people are wanting but it’s a start and not normally something a minority shareholder would get involved in. Suggests to me there’s been a bit of a change behind the scenes.
Clarence
03-11-2024, 07:21 AM
Burger Kingtucky Fried Chicken - sounds about right.
03-11-2024, 04:28 PM
Just a reminder for who is responsible for the mess the club is in.
It's only going to get worse with these clowns running the show. They need to go first and foremost.
No more chances. Times up.
03-11-2024, 04:29 PM
Trust the process
mcohibs
03-11-2024, 04:29 PM
Did I hear Kensell and Gordon GTF at the end?
03-11-2024, 04:31 PM
Hopefully they’re on the phone to the Black Knights right now
03-11-2024, 04:32 PM
Hopefully they’re on the phone to the Black Knights right now
Hopefully not.
They've done enough damage. Time is up.
03-11-2024, 04:36 PM
Think it was Kensell and Mackay. Along with sack the board.
andrew_dundee
03-11-2024, 04:40 PM
I heard lots of Kensall, but nothing aimed at Gordon.
ChuckNor
03-11-2024, 04:41 PM
The four of them - just **** off
03-11-2024, 04:47 PM
That's what they were singing/shouting
LewysGot2
03-11-2024, 04:52 PM
From B7, yes
Hibiza
03-11-2024, 04:53 PM
Kensell : appoint yourself.
03-11-2024, 04:56 PM
How can the owner sack himself ?
Paulie Walnuts
03-11-2024, 04:57 PM
Get to ****.
03-11-2024, 04:59 PM
He can agree to sell to one of the many people looking to buy us when they offered after his dad passed away.
Clearly not a sacking as such but there is a way of him getting out the club.
03-11-2024, 05:00 PM
I've never really thought 'sack the board' is meant to be taken literally. I think it's just a way that fans voice their displeasure at the way a club is being run.
Silky
03-11-2024, 06:10 PM
He can agree to sell to one of the many people looking to buy us when they offered after his dad passed away.
Clearly not a sacking as such but there is a way of him getting out the club.
Do we know if these people are any better? There's no evidence to state they would.
Chorley Hibee
03-11-2024, 06:12 PM
Kensell : appoint yourself.
I'm awaiting Ian Gordon appointing himself interim manager after the inevitable sacking of Gray.
03-11-2024, 06:14 PM
Zero chance Kensell leaves on his salary or a payout.
We have all the failed coaching staff.
Failed Director of Football.
Failed GK department
Failed recruitment analysts
Someone needs to grow a pair and make some changes as too many getting paid for under performing.
It’s a total mess and zero trust in any of them improving things.
Chorley Hibee
03-11-2024, 06:31 PM
Zero chance Kensell leaves on his salary or a payout.
We have all the failed coaching staff.
Failed Director of Football.
Failed GK department
Failed recruitment analysts
Someone needs to grow a pair and make some changes as too many getting paid for under performing.
It’s a total mess and zero trust in any of them improving things.
Kensell must have pocketed the best part of a million quid since he arrived 3 years ago.
He's a ****ing fraudster.
You can add Ian Gordon, Malky McKay and Malcom McPherson to that list too.
Nothing chances at the club until they all **** off.
03-11-2024, 06:32 PM
Do we know if these people are any better? There's no evidence to state they would.
What sort of evidence are you hoping can be provided on a fans forum?
03-11-2024, 06:33 PM
Sounded like Kensell then Gordon
03-11-2024, 06:36 PM
I'm awaiting Ian Gordon appointing himself interim manager after the inevitable sacking of Gray.
I don't honestly know if that was an attempt at humour or it's just that you have a need to post something, anything.
Chorley Hibee
03-11-2024, 06:38 PM
I don't honestly know if that was an attempt at humour or it's just that you have a need to post something, anything.
It's almost as funny as him being appointed head of recruitment.