View Full Version : Gordon, Kensell, Mackay and co..times up

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

SickBoy32
22-10-2024, 10:47 AM
Yep. The Stubbs/Dempster/Craig rebuild was achieved by a small team who worked well together and clearly understood how to put an effective, often excellent, playing squad together. These days we seem to have a vast team either directly or loosely involved in the recruitment process, a process which has failed dismally since the Gordons took over. The process is, it seems, in the process of being overhauled, but it'll apparently be next summer before we see the benefits. Or perhaps not if we've been relegated by then.

Bottom line, the team was rebuilt and set on an upward trajectory in the Stubbs era and ultimately returned to the top flight as a meaningful force. The Gordon era has saddled us with a constant stream of sub-standard players and wiped out all semblance of the previous progress made by the club.

Good post.

The Gordons came in and deliberately dismantled our (successful) ‘football department’. They thought they knew best, and one by one removed good members of staff from their positions, to be replaced by cheap alternatives (other than the obscene salary given to our hapless CEO).

The whole thing has turned us into a circus.

Anyone continuing to pretend this regime has been good commercially for the club, is quite frankly tuned to the moon. The bloated staff numbers we now have more than negate any increase in revenue. And that’s before you consider their absolutely disastrous signing policy / squad management, which will have cost the club several £m.

They have taken the club back years, from our strongest point in decades. They couldn’t have asked for a better platform when they arrived.

Disappointed to read they’ve been to see Foley. We need them out the club asap. No more chances, get them gone and get them gone now. Only then can the club start to rebuild.

timewilltell
22-10-2024, 10:55 AM
Who? I don't think anyone shouldve been sacked then. Was a brutal situation to turn round. The 3-1 win at Ibrox showed what we could do.

I don't want Gray sacked. I want our ***** owner to **** off.

Whoever the owners are, Gray should never have been given, or indeed accepted, the role. Why would you give someone with no experience of management a management role with Hibs? Nonsense decision, and wouldn't happen in any other high profile business.

22-10-2024, 10:59 AM
Good post.

The Gordons came in and deliberately dismantled our (successful) ‘football department’. They thought they knew best, and one by one removed good members of staff from their positions, to be replaced by cheap alternatives (other than the obscene salary given to our hapless CEO).

Anyone continuing to pretend this regime has been good commercially for the club, is quite frankly tuned to the moon. The bloated staff numbers we now have more than negate any increase in revenue. And that’s before you consider their absolutely disastrous signing policy / squad management, which will have cost the club several £m.

They have taken the club back years, from our strongest point in decades. They couldn’t have asked for a better platform when they arrived.

Disappointed to read they’ve been to see Foley. We need them out the club asap. No more chances, get them gone and get them gone now. Only then can the club start to rebuild.

Strongest point in decades ! I must have missed that.

Trinity Hibee
22-10-2024, 11:01 AM

It probably was our strongest standing in a very long time. 3 years after the cup win and repeated top 6 finishes. Had some really excellent players up until that point

SickBoy32
22-10-2024, 11:02 AM

I would say 2016-18 Hibs were at a real high point. Squad was excellent, record ST numbers. Decent success rate in the transfer market.

The Gordons arrived when we were in a relatively strong period, aye ? No sure how that can be argued really

He's here!
22-10-2024, 11:15 AM
I would say 2016-18 Hibs were at a real high point. Squad was excellent, record ST numbers. Decent success rate in the transfer market.

The Gordons arrived when we were in a relatively strong period, aye ? No sure how that can be argued really

Agreed. McLeish era was strong but fuelled by serious spending money, Mowbray/early Collins was great in terms of the team we had but it was the Scottish Cup win which really unlocked the club's potential and saw a remarkable surge in season ticket sales. Bit of a dip under latter Lennon/Hecky but not something that required major surgery and Ross quickly had us back in a good place until the Gordon takeover. Ever increasing shambles since then.

I read the other day that Man U's new owner is making around 300 staff redundant. Obviously they operate in a different universe to Hibs but it's an example of how a big, bloated staff is no guarantee of success. The mess our club is in is testimony to that.

Donegal Hibby
22-10-2024, 11:17 AM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7794598]Far more money to spend now.

That’s true though you can’t always spend it when you already have a bloated squad with players that don’t want to move which we have compared to having the luxury of starting from scratch back then which was easier IMO .

As to more money , didn’t we finish behind Falkirk one of the years we were stuck in the championship, I would have thought we’d have more money than them then? .

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 11:24 AM
[QUOTE=MWHIBBIES;7794598]Far more money to spend now.

That’s true though you can’t always spend it when you already have a bloated squad with players that don’t want to move which we have compared to having the luxury of starting from scratch back then which was easier IMO .

As to more money , didn’t we finish behind Falkirk one of the years we were stuck in the championship, I would have thought we’d have more money than them then? .

It’s a bit of a myth that we started from scratch. There was 13 senior players that made appearances in Stubbs first season who had played in the relegation season. Not necessarily a huge amount, but the idea Stubbs came in and didn’t have to have any dealings with near enough anyone from the relegated squad is nowhere near true.

darwenhibby
22-10-2024, 11:31 AM
Kensal and Ian Gordon are being invited to Las Vegas for a summit with the Black Nights!
Imagine the scenario they are in a hotel room and Benny Factor emerges from the bathroom with a suggestion of merging the 2 Edinburgh clubs??

Donegal Hibby
22-10-2024, 11:36 AM
[QUOTE=Donegal Hibby;7794674]

It’s a bit of a myth that we started from scratch. There was 13 senior players that made appearances in Stubbs first season who had played in the relegation season. Not necessarily a huge amount, but the idea Stubbs came in and didn’t have to have any dealings with near enough anyone from the relegated squad is nowhere near true.

Compared to what it is like now it was a lot easier back then as we didn’t have the same amount of players move on IMO …

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/34704864

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 11:40 AM
[QUOTE=Paulie Walnuts;7794680]

Compared to what it is like now it was a lot easier back then as we didn’t have the same amount of players move on IMO …

It was a lot easier to take over a team who were reeling from relegation than it was to take over a team that finished 8th?

22-10-2024, 12:01 PM

We won the Scottish cup. And got to the league cup final. We had a far better season than Falkirk, as you'd expect.

Hillsidehibby
22-10-2024, 12:05 PM
Good post.

Totally agree. Never felt so unattached. The club see us as customers not fans

22-10-2024, 12:39 PM

I don’t think it’s even up for debate that they’ve taken us backwards - we’re bottom of the league in a season following one where we finished eighth.

I do think, though, and this is despite there being clear evidence that their decision making has been woeful to this point, that to assess what needs to change today is difficult because when we failed last season, there were changes - significant ones in that BKFC were brought in, the coaching team were replaced, and the Director of Football was replaced.

Those changes should have (and still might, I guess) seen a change to the short term performance (David Gray’s remit) and the medium to long term performance (Malky’s remit), while at the same time removing Ian and Ben from football decisions (not their remit at all other than to sign off on the spend).

If (this is the big hurdle) those changes can be considered a line in the sand - an acknowledgement that what they are doing before was causing the failure, then there has to be time given for folk to get to work on their respective areas of accountability.

It’s hard though, because this isn’t eight games of underperformance and a new problem after years of doing well, this is the culmination of several years of poor decisions that have brought us to this point, and ultimately it’s Ben and Ian who are accountable for where we are today.

They’re really needing everyone to trust that this time it will be different, the problem is there’s such a lack of trust because we’ve been here before so many times.

22-10-2024, 12:49 PM

You're coming up with some amazing excuses for the **** show that is currently in full view, whilst at the same time not being willing to see what McInnes would bring to the table if he was willing to give it a go if offered.

Donegal Hibby
22-10-2024, 01:20 PM
[QUOTE=Donegal Hibby;7794684]

It was a lot easier to take over a team who were reeling from relegation than it was to take over a team that finished 8th?

It was easier in building a team/ squad when you didn’t have players on long term contracts like JDH who didn’t want to move , imo it was , yes ! .

Donegal Hibby
22-10-2024, 01:27 PM
You're coming up with some amazing excuses for the **** show that is currently in full view, whilst at the same time not being willing to see what McInnes would bring to the table if he was willing to give it a go if offered.

Am I really coming up with excuses or just stating facts .. as to McInnes that’s been done to death on numerous threads like the Lennon ones ..

I’m just not a fan of his ,it’s as simple as that though if he got the job I’d indeed back him though I do think when he hit a bad run is style of football would be used against him like it was Ross ..

Anyhow I think there is as much chance of me getting the Hibs Job as there is McInnes now so it’s all totally irrelevant anyhow mate 👍

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 01:29 PM
It was easier in building a team/ squad when you didn’t have players on long term contracts like JDH who didn’t want to move , imo it was , yes ! .

I think it’s safe to say it’s harder to build a good team when you’ve just been relegated and are now a second tier club than it is because you’ve got JDH and Kenneh not wanting to move.

22-10-2024, 01:39 PM
Just stuck with Stubbs as the example. First 8 games were shocking but we stuck with him.

One possible reason for optimism - Stubbs started off that season playing 451 and it wasn’t really working out for us. Our best player in the early part of that season (when results were awful) was Matt Kennedy.

Stubbs stumbled upon the diamond and throughout the rest of the season alternated between that and 352. And Kennedy found himself in a position where there wasn’t really anywhere in our team for him to play any more.

Hibs looked better playing 352 during the second half of the game at the weekend than they have at any point this season, late shambles apart.

I have a hunch that if Gray sticks with that over the next 6 games or so, we’ll see an upturn in our fortunes and we’re not so far off 6th that we can’t very quickly pull ourselves into a respectable position. From there, and with some decent sticking plasters in January, I think we can still salvage a decent season, as Stubbs did.

22-10-2024, 01:46 PM
Am I really coming up with excuses or just stating facts .. as to McInnes that’s been done to death on numerous threads like the Lennon ones ..

I’m just not a fan of his ,it’s as simple as that though if he got the job I’d indeed back him though I do think when he hit a bad run is style of football would be used against him like it was Ross ..

Anyhow I think there is as much chance of me getting the Hibs Job as there is McInnes now so it’s all totally irrelevant anyhow mate 👍

The one about the relegated team and the team finishing 8th is hardly a fact is it?

snedzuk
22-10-2024, 01:56 PM

Unless you're dressed in black and assault other supporters.

22-10-2024, 01:59 PM

No manager appointment, even at clubs who pay millions a year to managers, is ever guaranteed to be a success.

However Derek McInnes has a track record in Scotland that is as close to someone you'd say is very likely to do well. It baffles me how anyone can't see that.

22-10-2024, 03:40 PM
The one about the relegated team and the team finishing 8th is hardly a fact is it?

No manager appointment, even at clubs who pay millions a year to managers, is ever guaranteed to be a success.

However Derek McInnes has a track record in Scotland that is as close to someone you'd say is very likely to do well. It baffles me how anyone can't see that.

You are wasting your time, Donegal would never award McIness an 8/10, although the team he did award that rating might get an 8/12 if they buck their ideas up.

Donegal Hibby
22-10-2024, 04:18 PM
You are wasting your time, Donegal would never award McIness an 8/10, although the team he did award that rating might get an 8/12 if they buck their ideas up.

Your right in folk wasting time when it comes down to him with me , find it boring like the Lennon chat as it probably won’t happen and a wee bit more irritating with all the different variations of his name too :wink:

Though it keeps you happy BH , by all means carry on … :aok:

22-10-2024, 05:01 PM
Hopefully he tore them a new one before telling them what's going to happen to get us out of this massive hole.
See someone posting meeting never took place :rolleyes:

22-10-2024, 06:10 PM
I always assumed foley’s intentions were to own the club outright at some stage.

If that's the case, I wish he'd just buy the club now.

22-10-2024, 06:20 PM
See someone posting meeting never took place :rolleyes:

Aye saw that. Hopefully things are happening one way or another.

22-10-2024, 06:50 PM
Whoever the owners are, Gray should never have been given, or indeed accepted, the role. Why would you give someone with no experience of management a management role with Hibs? Nonsense decision, and wouldn't happen in any other high profile business.

High profile businesses are rife with these sorts of appointments, similarly with families where siblings/friends of owners are in high power positions through no other channel except of who they are/know.

Hibs are not unique in this situation.

Hibees1973
22-10-2024, 06:57 PM
Nothing would please me more than Ian Gordon & Kensell drawing up an exit strategy.

What a pair of fools.

Hibees1973
22-10-2024, 07:01 PM
High profile businesses are rife with these sorts of appointments, similarly with families where siblings/friends of owners are in high power positions through no other channel except of who they are/know.

Hibs are not unique in this situation.

Don't really know the mechanics how it happened but Ian Gordon as Head of Recruitment.

Nepotism of the first order.

Scandalous and we have paid a heavy price for it.

jakeshibs
22-10-2024, 07:04 PM
What a horrendous thread, all calling for the owners to sell the club, the same owners who have put more money into the playing squad than any owner previous, we might recruit pish but thats another point.

Its embarrassing reading all those post with no business plan to drive us forward, only hoping that a good fairy with lots of cash, willing to spend it all,to support our ambitions suddenly appears. if we look at Black Knights we will never be there priority as the return is not viable and their other projects are not exactly doing well.

We are all gutted with the performance and league position but we still have a large part of the same players, who got the previous managers sacked in our squad. I dont have any answers at the minute but we must be careful what we ask for as some crook comes in with bad intentions and we will be alot worse.

may 21/05/2016
22-10-2024, 07:10 PM
What a horrendous thread, all calling for the owners to sell the club, the same owners who have put more money into the playing squad than any owner previous, we might recruit pish but thats another point.

Its embarrassing reading all those post with no business plan to drive us forward, only hoping that a good fairy with lots of cash, willing to spend it all,to support our ambitions suddenly appears. if we look at Black Knights we will never be there priority as the return is not viable and their other projects are not exactly doing well.

We are all gutted with the performance and league position but we still have a large part of the same players, who got the previous managers sacked in our squad. I dont have any answers at the minute but we must be careful what we ask for as some crook comes in with bad intentions and we will be alot worse.Agree

22-10-2024, 07:13 PM

We are all gutted with the performance and league position but we still have a large part of the same players, who got the previous managers sacked in our squad. I dont have any answers at the minute but we must be careful what we ask for as some crook comes in with bad intentions and we will be alot worse.

I don’t think anyone wants a fairy with lots of cash. Just people who can competently run a football club.

The current owners can keep pumping in as much money as they want but it’s just being pissed up against a wall because they don’t know what they’re doing with it.

22-10-2024, 07:16 PM

We are all gutted with the performance and league position but we still have a large part of the same players, who got the previous managers sacked in our squad. I dont have any answers at the minute but we must be careful what we ask for as some crook comes in with bad intentions and we will be alot worse.Glad your happy with the way the clubs being run. Two 8th place finishes in 3 years and currently bottom of the table but we are clearly headed in the right direction under our glorious leaders

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Hibees1973
22-10-2024, 07:16 PM

You almost sound thankful for them spending loads of money which has put us bottom of the league.

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 07:17 PM

No. The fact we recruit pish isn’t another point. It’s the only point. The amount of money they’re willing to waste themselves is irrelevant. They’ve ran the football side of our club into the ground.

I’m far more concerned about where we end up with them as owners than I would be being sold to someone else.

22-10-2024, 07:19 PM

We don’t need new owners to pump in millions on top of millions to stand still at best, go backwards at worst. We just need new owners to continue the good commercial work done and who can spend what we do have competently.

22-10-2024, 07:26 PM

100% agree,unfortunately a number of poster's, who have no idea how to run a business,who are also keyboard warriors without a clue about Hibernian FC.

Hibees1973
22-10-2024, 07:27 PM
The business plan of The Gordons & Kensell is horrendous.

Look at the millions lost in the last couple of years. Some point to us being debt free (not sure if that is entirely true), but it's only being plugged by the Foley money and Ron's inheritance cash.

This is not the proper long term way for Hibs to be run. There are loads of members of staff at the club, Kensell and numerous players, for example getting paid fortunes for under performance. Some players have hardly kicked a ball for us.

Incompetence runs through the whole club.

22-10-2024, 07:28 PM
100% agree,unfortunately a number of poster's, who have no idea how to run a business,who are also keyboard warriors without a clue about Hibernian FC.

Why would anyone posting their displeasure at the running of Hibs need to know how to run a business?

22-10-2024, 07:29 PM

Paulie W, we are hibs, hibees 1973.

Tell me your plans to move forward without the current owners?

As I thought not a clue.

I'll be supporting the club that I've loved for 60 years

22-10-2024, 07:30 PM

That’s patronising nonsense. Football fans like to see good football and those in charge have made mistake after mistake, which they have admitted to themselves, in trying to deliver that. They’ve made all those mistakes whilst running up losses themselves, maybe they’re not to clever when it comes to running a business, or more particularly a business in this industry?

Trinity Hibee
22-10-2024, 07:30 PM
Why would anyone posting their displeasure at the running of Hibs need to know how to run a business?

They wouldn’t, they just need to see what happens every game and that is what fans base it on. Not balance sheets

Trinity Hibee
22-10-2024, 07:31 PM

As I thought not a clue.

Shut the site down. Darlington has spoken

Hibees1973
22-10-2024, 07:31 PM

As I thought not a clue.

Why, do you have a cunning plan.

22-10-2024, 07:32 PM
Shut the site down. Darlington has spoken

How much have you got to invest 🤔

22-10-2024, 07:32 PM

As I thought not a clue.

Another post of yours that's just complete drivel as per usual. At least you've managed to call folk by their username this time rather than "coaching staff" like we are all "yams"

Why do folk on here think you need to compile a 50 page dossier as a business plan if you think the owners are completely incompetent to justify wanting them to sell up?

22-10-2024, 07:33 PM

Can you imagine how many posters would be left on this site if it was limited to those who know how to run a business

What a load of pish.

Trinity Hibee
22-10-2024, 07:33 PM
How much have you got to invest 🤔

Ive got zero to invest

22-10-2024, 07:34 PM
Why, do you have a cunning plan.

I thought you must have a plan, given your always critical of the current owners.

Are you going to invest?

22-10-2024, 07:36 PM
Ive got zero to invest

How about getting behind the club. FFS we've been in worst positions than this 😒

22-10-2024, 07:37 PM
I thought you must have a plan, given your always critical of the current owners.

Are you going to invest?

Some of us do invest via HSL.

But, realistically the club is majority owned by the Gordon's.

And they have spent fortunes to send us to the bottom of the league with horrible boring football.

It's up to them to be part of the improvement, not season ticket holders.

22-10-2024, 07:39 PM

Who are these posters?

22-10-2024, 07:40 PM
Can you imagine how many posters would be left on this site if it was limited to those who know how to run a business

What a load of pish.

Hibs is a football club and a business. Revenue relates to what is on the pitch.

Donegal Hibby
22-10-2024, 07:40 PM

:agree::top marks

22-10-2024, 07:42 PM
Always entertaining when a long thread reaches its peak trolling zenith.

Hibees1973
22-10-2024, 07:42 PM

Are you going to invest?

Apart from attending games and buying the odd bit of merchandise I would not part with a single penny while Ian Gordon & Kensell are at the club.

If the club were taken over by a consortium who took the club in the correct direction, yes I might invest a bit. Picking up my works pension in a couple of years so will have more time and money on my hands.

22-10-2024, 07:44 PM

If you had a 20 grand car and I said I was going to spend 10 grand on improving it and yet I ended up making it look worse and slower, you wouldn’t be thanking me for spending ten grand on it.

22-10-2024, 07:45 PM

Ah, putting money in makes them good owners does it?

Not our place to have a business plan. Thats our owners place. I don't want a fairy with loads of cash. I want a decent owner, who hires decent people, to spend the money we generate ourselves. You get a lot more for finishing 3rd and getting into the European groups than the Gordons have invested. Money comes from doing well on the pitch.

Who recruited these players and managers?

Literally everything goes back to our failing owners. I desperately hope they sell the club. I wish they'd never bought it.

22-10-2024, 07:45 PM
Some of us do invest via HSL.

But, realistically the club is majority owned by the Gordon's.

And they have spent fortunes to send us to the bottom of the league with horrible boring football.

It's up to them to be part of the improvement, not season ticket holders.

100% agree.

There needs to be a major improvement.

Mistakes have been made, and it's up to the owners to find answers.

However I think it's important to get behind the club and stop the constant slagging of the club.

22-10-2024, 07:47 PM
100% agree.

However I think it's important to get behind the club and stop the constant slagging of the club.

You can get behind the club but also be very critical of the absolute clowns in senior positions who are making an absolute James Blunt of proceedings.

100% agree.

We are behind the club. We took nearly 3k to Dundee. And we've sold out on Sunday. We are doing our job.

Trinity Hibee
If you had a 20 grand car and I said I was going to spend 10 grand on improving it and yet I ended up making it look worse and slower, you wouldn’t be thanking me for spending ten grand on it.

👏🏻

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 07:49 PM

As I thought not a clue.

Aye ok Mark Zuckerberg.

22-10-2024, 07:51 PM
We are behind the club. We took nearly 3k to Dundee. And we've sold out on Sunday. We are doing our job.

Fantastic support, I travelled up for the Motherwell game.

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 07:52 PM
100% agree.

Who are you to say there needs to be a major improvement? Who are you to say there’s been mistakes What’s your business plan? What are you going to invest?????

That’s how this works, isn’t it?

22-10-2024, 07:52 PM

Aye ok Mark Zuckerberg.

Another pointless post by you

He's here!
22-10-2024, 07:53 PM
How about getting behind the club. FFS we've been in worst positions than this 😒

What is there to 'get behind' right now? The fans have stuck by the club in remarkable numbers as Hibs work their way through manager after manager, a conveyor belt of awful signings and years of pitiful results. That faith is now stretched to breaking point and little wonder. For a club of our supposed standing in the Scottish we're a joke.

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 07:55 PM
Another pointless post by you

Yeah but what’s your business plan?

Jock O
22-10-2024, 07:56 PM
I don’t think anyone wants a fairy with lots of cash. Just people who can competently run a football club.

The current owners can keep pumping in as much money as they want but it’s just being pissed up against a wall because they don’t know what they’re doing with it.

I think this is the crux of the matter really, the wasted money, which we won't know totally till AGM and what appears their continued mismanagement of existing budgets is definitely worrying, however if they continue to underwrite it arguably the focus should be on how we use the money better going forward. To me they (the Gordons) don't and shouldn't need to know what to do with it, they just need to employ the right people who do, within the budget set by the owners. I don't have a problem with them learning elements of CEO etc on job, arguably it makes sense, but again needs to be measurable by success. The current relationship doesn't seem to be working however so there needs to be a reset there, Kensell leaving would probably result in a temporary reprieve for all, but we maybe need to see the financials at AGM before calling that.

Getting the appointments continuously wrong is definitely their downfall, and part of the cost challenge with sacking managers, but for the football side part of the MacKay structure must be to change that, surely we are way to early to say that is a mistake and try and change that now. Ron Gordon came with pretty big ideas, the abject failure to deliver this has us looking almost back at the club just moseying along hoping for a decent season, top 6 maybe 4th as a better alternative than now, which is understandable to where we are now, but the whole point of this journey with Gordon's and Foley was to take us up a scale. We won't do that with another Tom Farmer.

As said above, the Gordon's have invested, there is no logical reason for all the claims they are doing this for personal gain, if that was their aim then walking way would have been more sensible at the fathers death. And I strongly agree that we would need to be very careful on next steps on ownership. I am sure the Gordons may be in a position where they could effectively write off their investment here and just walk away, leaving it to someone else. I suspect there are far worse alternatives out there to the Gordons and arguably the Gordons would not have the incentive Farmer had to conduct any due diligence.

It's totally understandable the current anger among the fans, we are worse off than we were when they came, despite the initial hopes, but not sure the personal venom or the stuff being made up about them is anywhere near justified. They have got lots wrong, they however continue to try and get things right, at a cost to them it appears. That's not the norm in many of these overseas owners, has anyone read all the stuff going on about Coventry, what about Sunderland a few years ago. Real fear of clubs disappearing. We need to challenge people to get things right, absolutely, but scunnering them away from the club to hopefully attract some mythical fairy godfather with Lieth tattooed on their chest is dangerous territory for me.

This league looks like being even more inconsistent in the main, for most, and therefore a couple of semi-decent runs has you midtable at least, that's surely what we have to hope for this side of January, then we can hopefully get a breathing space and consider where we are in structure. I appreciate that without these runs we don't look like a team that would survive a fight to the death, and that is worrying, but I think we and more importantly the group need to hold our cards a little longer. I have only seen the Motherwell game in full this year, so maybe being a bit more optimistic than warranted, but I keep thinking even with current group of players we cannot continue to be so poor/unlucky/soft/****ing stupid, or whatever it is at the time, it needs to turn. I really hope the board do too.

22-10-2024, 07:58 PM
So if someone wants to question the way the club is going to be run, they need to go away and write a full business plan. Gotcha.

Next time someone posts that they’d have started a different player, I hope they’ve gone away and gotten their coaching badges at great expense. That’s totally rational for a discussion board.

22-10-2024, 07:58 PM
What is there to 'get behind' right now? The fans have stuck by the club in remarkable numbers as Hibs work their way through manager after manager, a conveyor belt of awful signings and years of pitiful results. That faith is now stretched to breaking point and little wonder. For a club of our supposed standing in the Scottish we're a joke.
I agree with everything you said.

We're 150 years old next year, we'll get through this. Supporting Hibernian was never meant to be easy, but we're Hibernian for life

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 07:59 PM
So if someone wants to question the way the club is going to be run, they need to go away and write a full business plan. Gotcha.

Next time someone posts that they’d have started a different player, I hope they’ve gone away and gotten their coaching badges at great expense. That’s totally rational for a discussion board.

cameronw-hfc
22-10-2024, 08:03 PM

We're 150 years old next year, we'll get through this. Supporting Hibernian was never meant to be easy, but we're Hibernian for life

True, but doesn't stop people rightly feeling down about the club and voicing their opinion. The thought that fans should be the ones to come up with a business plan if they want to comment is insanity. It's not our job, our job is to show up and support, which the fans have done in numbers this season every game. Its the suits at the clubs job to get the business plan sorted, and if they don't, they get deserved critique.

The club may have been through worse, but should we wait until its dire to make a stand or try stop it getting to that point? Because we are less than 12 months away from dire going by our current position and score lines and the thought that we should just support or come up with a plan is insanity.

NC1875
22-10-2024, 08:04 PM

And you’ll be happy to spend our 150th year in the Championship by the sounds of it.

A bad result on Sunday and I think the Gordon’s and the charlatan that is Ben Kensell will see for the first time, just how pissed off the fans are getting.

I don’t think it’ll be pretty.

Although hopefully a win sets us off on a wee winning run 🤞

22-10-2024, 08:09 PM
True, but doesn't stop people rightly feeling down about the club and voicing their opinion. The thought that fans should be the ones to come up with a business plan if they want to comment is insanity. It's not our job, our job is to show up and support, which the fans have done in numbers this season every game. Its the suits at the clubs job to get the business plan sorted, and if they don't, they get deserved critique.

The club may have been through worse, but should we wait until its dire to make a stand or try stop it getting to that point? Because we are less than 12 months away from dire going by our current position and score lines and the thought that we should just support or come up with a plan is insanity.

The current owners hold the cards.

Having been through HOH, I'm extremely cautious about takeovers.

However I agree that there is plenty to put right at board level

jakeshibs
22-10-2024, 08:09 PM
Ah, putting money in makes them good owners does it?

Not our place to have a business plan. Thats our owners place. I don't want a fairy with loads of cash. I want a decent owner, who hires decent people, to spend the money we generate ourselves. You get a lot more for finishing 3rd and getting into the European groups than the Gordons have invested. Money comes from doing well on the pitch.

Who recruited these players and managers?

Literally everything goes back to our failing owners. I desperately hope they sell the club. I wish they'd never bought it.

so who ?

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 08:15 PM
so who ?

The Gordon’s have claimed they’ve turned down numerous approaches.

22-10-2024, 08:18 PM
The Gordon’s have claimed they’ve turned down numerous approaches.

I would imagine none were worth engaging in, or the club would be up for sale 🤔

22-10-2024, 08:18 PM

It's mental eh? 🤔

22-10-2024, 08:21 PM
I just sold a used thermostat I took out my son's boiler on eBay for £65.

I consider myself a business genius now, and will invest this in Hibs soon.

22-10-2024, 08:22 PM
I understand the vision and strategy of the club. Do you?

Who actually gives a **** about the strategy or vision. They’ve been failing for a number of years now on the pitch. It’s Hibs.net where folk post about football. It’s not Business Weekly or the Financial Times or whatever. Football fans only care about football. Or the majority do.

Besides, coming up with a strategy or vision isn’t difficult. Being able to successfully implement it is. And there’s nothing to suggest that the current ownership and board can do that.

22-10-2024, 08:24 PM
so who ?

Mate, I'm not a middle man, tasked with finding new owners.

I think they're crap. That doesn't mean I must replace them.

Trinity Hibee
22-10-2024, 08:25 PM
Who actually gives a **** about the strategy or vision. They’ve been failing for a number of years now on the pitch. It’s Hibs.net where folk post about football. It’s not Business Weekly or the Financial Times or whatever. Football fans only care about football. Or the majority do.

Besides, coming up with a strategy or vision isn’t difficult. Being able to successfully implement it is. And there’s nothing to suggest that the current ownership and board can do that.

And this is how most fans think. Sick of the business speak both from the board and from some on here. Get ****ing results on the pitch or the whole thing is ****ed

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 08:26 PM

You can imagine that all you want.

22-10-2024, 08:29 PM

or they were all worth engaging in, but the owners didn't want to sell?

22-10-2024, 08:30 PM
I just sold a used thermostat I took out my son's boiler on eBay for £65.

I consider myself a business genius now, and will invest this in Hibs soon.

Anything less than a 2nd place this season and I hope you sell up at the end of the season.

22-10-2024, 08:34 PM
Anything less than a 2nd place this season and I hope you sell up at the end of the season.

I'm thinking of investing it in unknown footballers who might make me a fortune.

Guys from The Gambian farmers league are an untapped seam of gold - I read that in a linkedin post from a sommelier / soccer club owner....................

22-10-2024, 08:34 PM
Who are these posters?

You

22-10-2024, 08:38 PM
You can imagine that all you want.

So,can you please confirm a bidder for the club?

22-10-2024, 08:39 PM

Just maybe their in it for the long term 🤔

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 08:39 PM
So,can you please confirm a bidder for the club?

Are you suggesting the Gordon’s are lying and they’ve never been approached?

He's here!
22-10-2024, 08:41 PM

Sums it up. The 'business' of running a successful Scottish football club relies entirely on putting a product on the park that fans can buy into. Hospitality, merchandise, sponsorship will only work if there are fans around to fund it. Where the current regime is fortunate is that the fans have been loyal enough to keep turning out to watch the same old dross. A cinema which showed only the same crap movie on repeat would very quickly be playing to an empty house.

There's only so much more of this movie many fans can take tho. After four years of it I think it's fair to say the Gordons are not cut out for this business.

22-10-2024, 08:42 PM
You

Superb.

You also have no idea how to run a business I bet. If you did, you'd understand how desperately Hibs are failing vs our competitors and stop defending these idiots.

I'm no keyboard warrior. Happy to have this conversation face to face over a few pints.

Strange to question my knowledge on Hibs? What is that based on?

Just maybe their in it for the long term 🤔

I ****ing hope not.

Are you suggesting the Gordon’s are lying and they’ve never been approached?

No,but I doubt anyone gave assurances about financial security and long-term future of the club.

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 08:44 PM
No,but I doubt anyone gave assurances about financial security and long-term future of the club.

Doubt that all you want :aok:

22-10-2024, 08:45 PM
If you don’t believe the Gordon’s claim that they’ve been approached on numerous occasions then crack on :aok:

Surprised a supreme business mind like yourself has the time to be on Hibs.net tbh. Would have thought you’d be spending all your time drawing up business plans for your multi billion pound Darlington empire.

Think you have reached your level now.

22-10-2024, 08:46 PM
Doubt that all you want :aok:

Stop embarrassing yourself...

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 08:47 PM
Stop embarrassing yourself...

Ok mr business man.

22-10-2024, 08:47 PM
You

Hope you’ve gone and done a psychology degree before deciding his intentions, skill set, and mindset.

Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2024, 08:48 PM
Sums it up. The 'business' of running a successful Scottish football club relies entirely on putting a product on the park that fans can buy into. Hospitality, merchandise, sponsorship will only work if there are fans around to fund it. Where the current regime is fortunate is that the fans have been loyal enough to keep turning out to watch the same old dross. A cinema which showed only the same crap movie on repeat would very quickly be playing to an empty house.

There's only so much more of this movie many fans can take tho. After four years of it I think it's fair to say the Gordons are not cut out for this business.

Absolutely.

Our owners have been disastrous on the football front. Sooner they **** off the better as this is only going one way. There’s only so long the commercial side can sustain awful on pitch performance as well.

Chorley Hibee
22-10-2024, 08:49 PM
Nothing would please me more than Ian Gordon & Kensell drawing up an exit strategy.

What a pair of fools.

They'd **** that up too, no doubt.

Chorley Hibee
22-10-2024, 09:00 PM

I'm astounded that anyone believes they have a strategy beyond the 'let's throw enough **** at it in the hope that something sticks' approach.

They're completely and utterly incompetent, and that is now endemic throughout the club.

22-10-2024, 09:10 PM
100% agree.

Do you think the fans have not been supporting the club enough?[emoji2369]

22-10-2024, 09:25 PM
Do you think the fans have not been supporting the club enough?[emoji2369]

Yes, I do 100%

22-10-2024, 09:26 PM
I think this is the crux of the matter really, the wasted money, which we won't know totally till AGM and what appears their continued mismanagement of existing budgets is definitely worrying, however if they continue to underwrite it arguably the focus should be on how we use the money better going forward. To me they (the Gordons) don't and shouldn't need to know what to do with it, they just need to employ the right people who do, within the budget set by the owners. I don't have a problem with them learning elements of CEO etc on job, arguably it makes sense, but again needs to be measurable by success. The current relationship doesn't seem to be working however so there needs to be a reset there, Kensell leaving would probably result in a temporary reprieve for all, but we maybe need to see the financials at AGM before calling that.

Getting the appointments continuously wrong is definitely their downfall, and part of the cost challenge with sacking managers, but for the football side part of the MacKay structure must be to change that, surely we are way to early to say that is a mistake and try and change that now. Ron Gordon came with pretty big ideas, the abject failure to deliver this has us looking almost back at the club just moseying along hoping for a decent season, top 6 maybe 4th as a better alternative than now, which is understandable to where we are now, but the whole point of this journey with Gordon's and Foley was to take us up a scale. We won't do that with another Tom Farmer.

As said above, the Gordon's have invested, there is no logical reason for all the claims they are doing this for personal gain, if that was their aim then walking way would have been more sensible at the fathers death. And I strongly agree that we would need to be very careful on next steps on ownership. I am sure the Gordons may be in a position where they could effectively write off their investment here and just walk away, leaving it to someone else. I suspect there are far worse alternatives out there to the Gordons and arguably the Gordons would not have the incentive Farmer had to conduct any due diligence.

It's totally understandable the current anger among the fans, we are worse off than we were when they came, despite the initial hopes, but not sure the personal venom or the stuff being made up about them is anywhere near justified. They have got lots wrong, they however continue to try and get things right, at a cost to them it appears. That's not the norm in many of these overseas owners, has anyone read all the stuff going on about Coventry, what about Sunderland a few years ago. Real fear of clubs disappearing. We need to challenge people to get things right, absolutely, but scunnering them away from the club to hopefully attract some mythical fairy godfather with Lieth tattooed on their chest is dangerous territory for me.

This league looks like being even more inconsistent in the main, for most, and therefore a couple of semi-decent runs has you midtable at least, that's surely what we have to hope for this side of January, then we can hopefully get a breathing space and consider where we are in structure. I appreciate that without these runs we don't look like a team that would survive a fight to the death, and that is worrying, but I think we and more importantly the group need to hold our cards a little longer. I have only seen the Motherwell game in full this year, so maybe being a bit more optimistic than warranted, but I keep thinking even with current group of players we cannot continue to be so poor/unlucky/soft/****ing stupid, or whatever it is at the time, it needs to turn. I really hope the board do too.

Great post. 👍

22-10-2024, 09:28 PM
Yes, I do 100%

What do you base that on?

22-10-2024, 09:32 PM
What do you base that on?

Seeing the support at the Motherwell game, yes,it was a very poor result, but are Hibernian fan's going to give up, no...

22-10-2024, 09:36 PM
Seeing the support at the Motherwell game, yes,it was a very poor result, but are Hibernian fan's going to give up, no...

No really sure what you actually mean there. To be honest, our crowds have held up remarkably well in the circumstances and it’s hardly any wonder people are frustrated.

22-10-2024, 09:38 PM
No really sure what you actually mean there. To be honest, our crowds have held up remarkably well in the circumstances and it’s hardly any wonder people are frustrated.

Agreed 100% BHFC

22-10-2024, 09:48 PM

22-10-2024, 09:52 PM

This 100%

22-10-2024, 09:53 PM

You’ve come out with some pretty vile stuff on this thread so far as our owners are concerned. Re the bit in bold - why do you think that might be? Its been said often enough. 🙄

22-10-2024, 10:23 PM
You’ve come out with some pretty vile stuff on this thread so far as our owners are concerned. Re the bit in bold - why do you think that might be? Its been said often enough. 🙄

Oh, have I? I find being bottom of the league pretty vile.

No idea why they wouldn't want to sell. Assume they think they can turn the mess they've gotten us into around?

Fergos
22-10-2024, 11:13 PM
Hope you’ve gone and done a psychology degree before deciding his intentions, skill set, and mindset.

And a business degree with a full registration in the school of economics 😂

22-10-2024, 11:17 PM
You’ve got to wonder if things got much worse and Gordon wanted to see if the lad that’s interested in buying Dundee United would try buy us.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 12:33 AM
https://youtu.be/DtxssbCO1UA?si=IjN-HzpgLQxfbnc6

23-10-2024, 05:23 AM
You’ve got to wonder if things got much worse and Gordon wanted to see if the lad that’s interested in buying Dundee United would try buy us.

I'm not sure that he can as he other football interests? Happy to be corrected 😁

jakeshibs
23-10-2024, 06:48 AM
https://youtu.be/DtxssbCO1UA?si=IjN-HzpgLQxfbnc6

Stark reminder to every one

23-10-2024, 07:38 AM

It really isn't. This is not the likely alternative to the Gordon's.

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 07:40 AM
It really isn't. This is not the likely alternative to the Gordon's.

And given the massive financial holes they’re having to either plug themselves or plug with external investment, there’s just as much chance it’s them that ends up one of these types of owners if they decide they’re not putting more in.

23-10-2024, 08:42 AM

And given the massive financial holes they’re having to either plug themselves or plug with external investment, there’s just as much chance it’s them that ends up one of these types of owners if they decide they’re not putting more in.

That’s been my point for a while.

I don’t doubt for a second the Gordon’s intentions are good. They are desperate for the club to succeed, probably as much for Ron than anybody else. Ultimately though, they’re now spending the inheritance and whilst that’s likely to be a sizeable amount, it’s not a recurring income from successful business elsewhere. They can’t keep topping up our funds indefinitely and at some point they’re going to have to hold their hands up and admit defeat. I think they’ll eventually see that the best way to honour his legacy would be to sell to someone who can complete the project.

My hunch is that the appointment of Mackay and Gray were a last throw of the dice to find some success, they didn’t want to bring in a manager from elsewhere and then replace him quickly if they sold. Mackay being brought in without going through a recruitment process could also be as a result of McPherson asking for help from a mate as the position may not be as long term as they’d hope.

Absolute guess work of course. Could be talking total *****, it’s happened before.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 08:50 AM

I think it is . This idea that getting shot of the Gordon’s and getting new owners will improve us might happen but then again it could go the other way too where we get owners that don’t care and don’t invest in the club , sell the stadium or generally run it to the brink of its existence …

I think folk need to be careful here in what they wish for in what would be a gamble that could go terribly wrong! .

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 08:58 AM
I think it is . This idea that getting shot of the Gordon’s and getting new owners will improve us might happen but then again it could go the other way too where we get owners that don’t care and don’t invest in the club , sell the stadium or generally run it to the brink of its existence …

I think folk need to be careful here in what they wish for in what would be a gamble that could go terribly wrong! .

What we have right now is a gamble that’s gone terribly wrong. We took the gamble on a family that have no idea how to run a football club and we’ve watched it get progressively worse the more they’ve made their mark on it.

They’re losing huge amounts of money at a rate of knots and only external investment and them chucking money in is keeping things steady. Both of those things won’t last forever.

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 09:05 AM
That’s been my point for a while.

I don’t doubt for a second the Gordon’s intentions are good. They are desperate for the club to succeed, probably as much for Ron than anybody else. Ultimately though, they’re now spending the inheritance and whilst that’s likely to be a sizeable amount, it’s not a recurring income from successful business elsewhere. They can’t keep topping up our funds indefinitely and at some point they’re going to have to hold their hands up and admit defeat. I think they’ll eventually see that the best way to honour his legacy would be to sell to someone who can complete the project.

My hunch is that the appointment of Mackay and Gray were a last throw of the dice to find some success, they didn’t want to bring in a manager from elsewhere and then replace him quickly if they sold. Mackay being brought in without going through a recruitment process could also be as a result of McPherson asking for help from a mate as the position may not be as long term as they’d hope.

Absolute guess work of course. Could be talking total *****, it’s happened before.

Like you, I don’t doubt the Gordon’s are in it for the right reasons.

I’ve also little doubt though that they won’t keep plugging what are very large financial holes forever. What’s to stop it being them that sells the stadium to recoup some of their money? If we’re going to get ourselves all worried about a situation that is highly unlikely to unfold should we sell to a new owner, should we not be getting ourselves worked up about our current owners possibly doing the same?

If your concern is having an owner that might bin the club then the Gordon’s are every bit as much of a danger on that front as anyone else, possibly more given the money they’re having to throw at a failing product, albeit that danger being almost non existent.

23-10-2024, 09:11 AM

Like you, I don’t doubt the Gordon’s are in it for the right reasons.

I’ve also little doubt though that they won’t keep plugging what are very large financial holes forever. What’s to stop it being them that sells the stadium to recoup some of their money? If we’re going to get ourselves all worried about a situation that is highly unlikely to unfold should we sell to a new owner, should we not be getting ourselves worked up about our current owners possibly doing the same?

If your concern is having an owner that might bin the club then the Gordon’s are every bit as much of a danger on that front as anyone else, possibly more given the money they’re having to throw at a failing product, albeit that danger being almost non existent.

Their intention may be to keep plugging the massive holes in our finances but that can easily change. What if they are running the rest of Ron’s businesses as badly as they are running Hibs? We could end up swept up in a far bigger bankruptcy.

23-10-2024, 09:12 AM

I don't hugely disagree with what you say DH, my only concern is that we're perhaps favouring death by a thousand cuts because it's not a full on execution.

As others have said though how long does the situation have to go on for before they decide they've had enough? Most ownerships don't go tits up immediately and it's only when they hit the skids on their own personal businesses or they go in a huff. Everyone starts out wanting it to work.

23-10-2024, 09:18 AM
What we have right now is a gamble that’s gone terribly wrong. We took the gamble on a family that have no idea how to run a football club and we’ve watched it get progressively worse the more they’ve made their mark on it. They’re losing huge amounts of money at a rate of knots and only external investment and them chucking money in is keeping things steady. Both of those things won’t last forever.

👍 You'd have to be blind to not be able to see this.

23-10-2024, 09:18 AM

The Gordon's ars a gamble that's gone terrible wrong.

23-10-2024, 09:27 AM

So, let me get this right.

Someone buys Hibs for (lets use the BKs investment as a yardstick) £25m, presumably invest some money to start with, then years down the line decide to sell the ground.

Whos buying Easter Road - even for residential - for £25m+ ?

23-10-2024, 09:45 AM
What we have right now is a gamble that’s gone terribly wrong. We took the gamble on a family that have no idea how to run a football club and we’ve watched it get progressively worse the more they’ve made their mark on it.

They’re losing huge amounts of money at a rate of knots and only external investment and them chucking money in is keeping things steady. Both of those things won’t last forever.

Sadly that appears to be an accurate summary of where we are right now.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 10:06 AM

On the field it’s not gone the way anyone would have wanted alright though they have invested in players like Vente , Bowie etc and shown they are still willing to do so in their attempt to sign McCowan for a million quid which is a figure I didn’t think I would see us being willing to spend…

Of the field they have improved a lot of aspects from Hospitality, Stadium improvements from screens , digital ribbons ,new pitch etc ….

Which shows they have the clubs best interest at heart be it they have made mistakes after Ron’s untimely passing.

We could have owners like the glaziers who have let their club’s ground deteriorate without any improvements , ran up massive debt and quite frankly seem to have been like leeches sucking everything out of Man U that they can get …

IMO when Sir Tom Farmer and Rod Petrie who I’d say are a lot smarter than a lot of us decided to sell the club to Ron Gordon I’m certain they knew that his intentions were for the good of the club and he wasn’t going to be some fly by night owner which there are many out there like your Dave Kings , Craig Whytes , Romanovs etc ..

I remember even though I was a young boy the last time we were on the brink of being no more and it’s something I never want to see again which is why I repeat we need to be careful here what we wish for …

https://youtu.be/Fq9lX--n-_I?si=c9Vf8zpO82GK0s8l

https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/teams/manchester-united/13009061/glazers-at-man-utd-timeline-of-their-turbulent-tenure

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 10:21 AM
On the field it’s not gone the way anyone would have wanted alright though they have invested in players like Vente , Bowie etc and shown they are still willing to do so in their attempt to sign McCowan for a million quid which is a figure I didn’t think I would see us being willing to spend…

Of the field they have improved a lot of aspects from Hospitality, Stadium improvements from screens , digital ribbons ,new pitch etc ….

Which shows they have the clubs best interest at heart be it they have made mistakes after Ron’s untimely passing.

We could have owners like the glaziers who have let their club’s ground deteriorate without any improvements , ran up massive debt and quite frankly seem to have been like leeches sucking everything out of Man U that they can get …

IMO when Sir Tom Farmer and Rod Petrie who I’d say are a lot smarter than a lot of us decided to sell the club to Ron Gordon I’m certain they knew that his intentions were for the good of the club and he wasn’t going to be some fly by night owner which there are many out there like your Dave Kings , Craig Whytes , Romanovs etc ..

I remember even though I was a boy the last time we were on the brink of being no more and it’s something I never want to see again which is why I repeat we need to be careful here what we wish for …

https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/teams/manchester-united/13009061/glazers-at-man-utd-timeline-of-their-turbulent-tenure

There’s not ‘many out there’. 99% of clubs are owned by owners who aren’t looking to dismantle the whole business and close the doors despite how much you try and convince us otherwise.

What’s to stop the Gordon’s leaching off Hibs? As Centre Hawf said, everyone starts out when they own a club wanting it to be a success. The Gordons already have floating charges over our stadium and training centre in the name of an American company that has nothing to do with Hibs. What’s to say they won’t take the stadium and the training centre and charge Hibs rent for the use of them to get their money back that they’ve thrown in?

At this point in time our biggest danger - and I’ll repeat that I think there’s next to no danger, but it’s still our biggest - is the Gordon’s. They’re the ones with the keys, they’re the ones who are having to throw millions of pounds to keep the operation viable, they’re the ones with the floating charge over our stadium and training ground.

Rich people don’t get rich or stay rich by throwing money away. They’ll either look to get rid of the club (most likely scenario 🙏🏻) stop doing it or look to recoup their money through the club via its assets.

With regards to being careful what we wish for, I sure as hell wouldn’t wish for the Gordon’s.

23-10-2024, 10:28 AM

I remember even though I was a boy the last time we were on the brink of being no more and it’s something I never want to see again which is why I repeat we need to be careful here what we wish for …

"They" have not invested. Hibs have invested. It's not their money being spent. It's our money, gained from sponsors, sts, selling players etc.

They were making wrong decisions long before Ron died.

How are you not understanding that good intentions are irrelevant if you are useless?

"The electrician that blew up all my lights was well intentioned, so it's fine. Another electrician might blow up my entire house so I better not get a different guy"

Trinity Hibee
23-10-2024, 10:30 AM

Getting pretty fed up now of hearing about off field improvements. That’s a get out for the board.

Get the basics right i.e. the football. Most are not invested in Hibs to see nice hospitality suites, they want to see a winning team that makes them feel good.

What good are these off field improvements if we are playing in the championship? Because that is looking a real possibility.

He's here!
23-10-2024, 10:41 AM
The Gordon's ars a gamble that's gone terrible wrong.

Agreed. The number of players we're burning through is crazy. It reminds me of the way Romanov bloated the Hearts squad with players who did little more than pick up a wage. Ron's initial line of thinking seemed to be that we'd become more of a development club, snapping up promising young players then cashing in. That clearly hasn't worked and when it comes to young players we appear to have fewer than ever coming through from the academy. What, really, is the point of youth 'development' when the preference is to sign up yet another average English lower league player to clog up the squad?

Fergos
23-10-2024, 10:48 AM
Getting pretty fed up now of hearing about off field improvements. That’s a get out for the board.

Get the basics right i.e. the football. Most are not invested in Hibs to see nice hospitality suites, they want to see a winning team that makes them feel good.

What good are these off field improvements if we are playing in the championship? Because that is looking a real possibility.

Well said mate, 100% agreed.

23-10-2024, 11:18 AM
"They" have not invested. Hibs have invested. It's not their money being spent. It's our money, gained from sponsors, sts, selling players etc.

How are you not understanding that good intentions are irrelevant if you are useless?

"The electrician that blew up all my lights was well intentioned, so it's fine. Another electrician might blow up my entire house so I better not get a different guy"

They have invested close to £10m of their own money since 2019, that information is publicly available on Companies House.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 11:34 AM
There’s not ‘many out there’. 99% of clubs are owned by owners who aren’t looking to dismantle the whole business and close the doors despite how much you try and convince us otherwise.

What’s to stop the Gordon’s leaching off Hibs? As Centre Hawf said, everyone starts out when they own a club wanting it to be a success. The Gordons already have floating charges over our stadium and training centre in the name of an American company that has nothing to do with Hibs. What’s to say they won’t take the stadium and the training centre and charge Hibs rent for the use of them to get their money back that they’ve thrown in?

At this point in time our biggest danger - and I’ll repeat that I think there’s next to no danger, but it’s still our biggest - is the Gordon’s. They’re the ones with the keys, they’re the ones who are having to throw millions of pounds to keep the operation viable, they’re the ones with the floating charge over our stadium and training ground.

Rich people don’t get rich or stay rich by throwing money away. They’ll either look to get rid of the club (most likely scenario 🙏🏻) stop doing it or look to recoup their money through the club via its assets.

With regards to being careful what we wish for, I sure as hell wouldn’t wish for the Gordon’s.

Im not trying to convince you or anyone of anything . I have seen many clubs from Chelsea , Notts county , Leeds , Coventry etc etc over the years have or get bad owners and as a fan seeing my own club on the brink it’s not something I believe is worth the gamble…. Because despite what you say things can get worse … much worse!!

Again I think both Farmer and Petrie knew that Ron Gordon had the best interest of Hibernian Football Club at heart and it is my believe that it is Kit , Ian and the rest of the Gordon’s family wish probably even more so since Ron’s sad passing ..

I know things are bad with us bottom of the league at the moment though I haven’t the same eagerness for new owners who could turn out to be cowboys or as eager for Gray to get the sack as some have and think Malky MacKay hasn’t nearly been given enough time in the particular role he’s in ….

Bad time alright though I think our support is more needed now than wanting everyone’s head at the club to roll which seems to be happening from all quarters..

Better put my ..:tin hat: on now 🫣

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 11:41 AM
Im not trying to convince you or anyone of anything . I have seen many clubs from Chelsea , Notts county , Leeds , Coventry etc etc over the years have or get bad owners and as a fan seeing my own club on the brink it’s not something I believe is worth the gamble…. Because despite what you say things can get worse … much worse!!

Again I think both Farmer and Petrie knew that Ron Gordon had the best interest of Hibernian Football Club at heart and it is my believe that it is Kit , Ian and the rest of the Gordon’s family wish probably even more so since Ron’s sad passing ..

I know things are bad with us bottom of the league at the moment though I haven’t the same eagerness for new owners who could turn out to be cowboys or as eager for Gray to get the sack as some have and think Malky MacKay hasn’t nearly been given enough time in the particular role he’s in ….

Bad time alright though I think our support is more needed now than wanting everyone’s head at the club to roll which seems to be happening from all quarters..

And for the small handful of dodgy owners you’ve seen I’ve seen hundreds of times more legitimate owners who have clubs best interests at heart.

Our current owners could turn out to be cowboys. Ian and Kit have been in charge of the club for a year and a half, so not long at all. Theres plenty time for them to decide they want their money back and start looking at asset stripping/transferring assets out of Hibs if that’s what you’re so terrified of. The Gordon family quite clearly have a ruthless streak about them with their sackings of managers and other staff at the club, what’s to say their ruthlessness won’t extend to financial ruthlessness and opportunism? They’ve already got charges in place over our stadium and training centre in the name of a completely unrelated company to Hibs so they’re clearly protecting themselves to some degree.

23-10-2024, 11:49 AM

Did they not buy out sir TF and was due diligence not done on their credentials ?

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 11:50 AM
Did they not buy out sir TF and was due diligence not done on their credentials ?

There’s only so much due diligence you can do. They could tell STF and Rod Petrie whatever they want, at the end of the day once they own the club they can do whatever they please.

PHeffernan
23-10-2024, 11:52 AM
Only 7 months now until the club can all but complete the moneyball player clear out.

No danger of relegation this season unless we continue to get a player sent off in every game which has been idiocy of the first order.
Had we avoided that in the last two games we would have been top 6, well ahead of Hearts and there would not have been the current supporter flapping until potentially this weekend.

Club revenues to expenses will tip to positive from May 31st. Good recruitment next summer to replace the leaving droves is the key to success on the pitch next season and an experienced manager at the same time. I see us back in the groove and finishing 4th next season.

GreenGray
23-10-2024, 11:55 AM
Only 7 months now until the club can all but complete the player clear out and change of direction.

No danger of relegation this season unless we continue to get a player sent off in every game.
Had we avoided that in the last two games we would have been top 6, well ahead of Hearts and there wouldn't have been any supporter flapping until potentially this weekend.

Club revenues to expenses will tip to positive from that point. Good recruitment to replace the leaving droves is the key to success on the pitch.

I am surprised that you say there is no danger of relegation. The squad is full of loan signings or player who probably know they won't be here next season. Does that remind you of any teams in years gone by?

The keeper terrifies me as well. Look at Hearts and Dundee United, they both had god awful keepers who took them down.

23-10-2024, 12:02 PM
They have invested close to £10m of their own money since 2019, that information is publicly available on Companies House.

So I assume we now owe them that money? Or have they written that off?

Wtf have we wasted 10 million on.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 12:05 PM
And for the small handful of dodgy owners you’ve seen I’ve seen hundreds of times more legitimate owners who have clubs best interests at heart.

Our current owners could turn out to be cowboys. Ian and Kit have been in charge of the club for a year and a half, so not long at all. Theres plenty time for them to decide they want their money back and start looking at asset stripping/transferring assets out of Hibs if that’s what you’re so terrified of. The Gordon family quite clearly have a ruthless streak about them with their sackings of managers and other staff at the club, what’s to say their ruthlessness won’t extend to financial ruthlessness?

Have you any legitimate candidates you’d like to put forward in taking over because I haven’t any ! … I’m not terrified of the Gordon’s as I’ve seen improvements off the field and investment in players and firmly believe they care for the club despite the mistakes they have made ….

My fear is despite what you say being true in there is potentially good owners out there is we could easily end up with our very own Romanov or Whyte too …

I think as fans we have just as ruthless streak in us as the Gordon’s when you see fans that were calling on Ross to go or a manager that got us into Europe that finished 5th and was sacked after only 3 games . That cuts both ways my friend..

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 12:12 PM
Have you any legitimate candidates you’d like to put forward in taking over because I haven’t any ! … I’m not terrified of the Gordon’s as I’ve seen improvements off the field and investment in players and firmly believe they care for the club despite the mistakes they have made ….

My fear is despite what you say being true in there is potentially good owners out there we could easily end up with our very own Romanov or Whyte too …

I think as fans we have just as ruthless streak in us as the Gordon’s when you see fans that were calling on Ross to go or a manager that got us into Europe that finished 5th and was sacked after only 3 games . That cuts both ways my friend..

I don’t need to have candidates in mind. It’s not my job to go hunting for owners of the football club. What I can say is the ones we currently have are an absolute disaster and given that your bar for acceptable ownership is ‘good intentions’ then I’d suggest we’d have no bother finding an improvement.

And no, we couldn’t very easily end up with our very own Romanov. It’s the most minuscule of possibilities. These guys prey on clubs that are desperate and on their arse verging on collapse.

As for not being terrified of the Gordon’s, I’d suggest you should be. They’ve been shambolic owners and it’s getting progressively worse the longer they’re here. We’re much more likely to end up relegated and in real bother with them at the helm than we are likely to get a Romanov if they sell us.

23-10-2024, 12:13 PM

Someone will be able to confirm to me but the investment will have a view to a return on it surely? Stuff like the Black Knights investment, the debt for equity and then selling players will no doubt go to paying back money we've had from the Gordons.

I know they put the money up for Elie Youan, but I doubt that was a gift and more a "when he sells we take the fee back plus interest and the club keep the rest" type of arrangement?

PHeffernan
23-10-2024, 12:28 PM
I am surprised that you say there is no danger of relegation. The squad is full of loan signings or player who probably know they won't be here next season. Does that remind you of any teams in years gone by?

The keeper terrifies me as well. Look at Hearts and Dundee United, they both had god awful keepers who took them down.

I just don't see us continuing to throw games away as we have done with the sending offs. Total off the scale stupidity. Despite that we are still only 4 points of 6th.

As regards our keepers both appear very much as described on the fan forums of their previous clubs, when I read them in the summer with Bursik looking good but doesn't stop much, playing out at Hibs. Smith very much a cheap space filling replacement for the high waged Wollacott. No better than Boruc so why bother.
We should have brought in the likes of Mitov or Dennis as our number one with the money we are spending on Bursik, Smith and keeping on Marshall as Malky's runner. The biggest (and obvious at the time) signing mistakes of the summer.

23-10-2024, 12:28 PM

You assume wrong, we don’t owe them that money.

23-10-2024, 12:32 PM
You assume wrong, we don’t owe them that money.

Jesus. So they have spent a fortune and were still bottom. I didn't realise it was quite so much.

The incompetence is a bit scary.

23-10-2024, 12:35 PM
I wonder if an arrangement similar to what INEOS have at Man Utd could be something the club looks into.

BKFC take responsibility for football, IG & co look after the rest.

This should be what's happening anyway. Ian Gordon won a watch having BKFC on board and should be reaping the rewards of letting them have control of the footballing side whilst he and BK keep working on the (successful) commercial side.

He's either arrogant, naive or both to have kept control of the football side when he's done nothing but cause chaos on the park since he took over.

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 12:51 PM
This should be what's happening anyway. Ian Gordon won a watch having BKFC on board and should be reaping the rewards of letting them have control of the footballing side whilst he and BK keep working on the (successful) commercial side.

He's either arrogant, naive or both to have kept control of the football side when he's done nothing but cause chaos on the park since he took over.

23-10-2024, 01:01 PM
Jesus. So they have spent a fortune and were still bottom. I didn't realise it was quite so much.

The incompetence is a bit scary.

They've made mistakes but literally pumped in 10 million pounds of their own cash. Not an insignificant amount.

Perhaps they deserve a little more respect as two people who have financially probably given more to the club than anyone in it's history.

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 01:11 PM
They've made mistakes but literally pumped in 10 million pounds of their own cash. Not an insignificant amount.

Perhaps they deserve a little more respect as two people who have financially probably given more to the club than anyone in it's history.

So basically, they’re rich and have thrown money around, we should give them respect.

They’ve been absolutely dreadful owners of our football club with numerous absolutely mind blowing decisions such as secretly giving the son one of the most important jobs at the club despite him having no reason to be doing it to ignoring a group who are having some real success in football in favour of doing things their own way, their own way which has constantly failed us. We’re now bottom of the league having threatened to be somewhere around there for a couple years now.

They have lost any respect they deserved.

jakeshibs
23-10-2024, 01:12 PM

well said 100% agree with your post.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 01:16 PM
I don’t need to have candidates in mind. It’s not my job to go hunting for owners of the football club. What I can say is the ones we currently have are an absolute disaster and given that your bar for acceptable ownership is ‘good intentions’ then I’d suggest we’d have no bother finding an improvement.

And no, we couldn’t very easily end up with our very own Romanov. It’s the most minuscule of possibilities. These guys prey on clubs that are desperate and on their arse verging on collapse.

As for not being terrified of the Gordon’s, I’d suggest you should be. They’ve been shambolic owners and it’s getting progressively worse the longer they’re here. We’re much more likely to end up relegated and in real bother with them at the helm than we are likely to get a Romanov if they sell us.

I don’t think all clubs were on their ***** or verging on collapse , some listened to promises of things that couldn’t possibly be achieved … was hertz not going to build a 50 mil stadium at one point and conquer Europe.. Notts county were told of premier league football and yet couldn’t pay the milk bill .

Personally I don’t think we will get relegated even though some fans have being saying it on here for the last 3 seasons or so . My hope is that Gray can turn it around .. a bit surprised how eager some are for him to get the bullet in all .

Let’s for arguments sake say the Gordon’s do decide to sell up which I don’t think will happen . Who chooses the new owners at the club then ?

jakeshibs
23-10-2024, 01:16 PM
So basically, they’re rich and have thrown money around, we should give them respect.

They’ve been absolutely dreadful owners of our football club with numerous absolutely mind blowing decisions such as secretly giving the son one of the most important jobs at the club despite him having no reason to be doing it to ignoring a group who are having some real success in football in favour of doing things their own way, their own way which has constantly failed us. We’re now bottom of the league having threatened to be somewhere around there for a couple years now.

What utter nonsense..
please explain what success in football BK Knights are having, French Club Lorient, Bournemouth? We will never be their priority. They have put their own money into our club we dont generate much

23-10-2024, 01:17 PM

They've made mistakes, but they've made decisions that they thought were in the best interests of the club.

They've made decisions that they thought would improve the club which admittedly have been wrong, and they've pumped in millions upon millions whilst making those mistakes.

Personally, I don't think that's something to absolutely hammer them over.

From my perspective if someone makes a mistake with the best of intentions I don't feel like the need to give them a kicking, but each to their own.

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 01:18 PM
I don’t think all clubs were on their ***** or verging on collapse , some listen to promises of things that couldn’t possibly be achieved … was hertz not going to build a 50 mil stadium at one point and conquer Europe.. Notts county were told of premier league football and yet couldn’t pay the milk bill .

Personally I don’t think we will get relegated even though some fans have being saying it for the last 3 seasons or so . My hope is that Gray can turn it around .. a bit surprised how eager some are for him to get the bullet in all .

Let’s for arguments sake say the Gordon’s do decide to sell up which I don’t think will happen . Who chooses the new owners at the club then ?

Hearts were on their arse, Rangers were on their arse, Notts County had been on their arse in admin a couple of years prior and were languishing in the lower leagues.

Whoever sells their shares to whoever is wanting to buy the shares chooses the new owners.

jakeshibs
23-10-2024, 01:19 PM
They've made mistakes, but they've made decisions that they thought were in the best interests of the club.

They've made decisions that they thought would improve the club which admittedly have been wrong, and they've pumped in millions upon millions whilst making those mistakes.

From my perspective if someone makes a mistake with the best of intentions I don't feel like the need to give them a kicking, but each to their own.

I agree:agree:

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 01:22 PM

Have they? Are we genuinely supposed to believe for example that Ian Gordon being Head of Recruitment was genuinely deemed the best option and in the best interests of the club? Do we really believe that they thought he was the best person available for that job? If they lack the self awareness to realise that them appointing people in key positions this summer wasn’t in the best interests of the club, that’s on them. They may have thought it was, but if they’re that oblivious to how bad they’ve been that they don’t realise it wasn’t then that’s on them and they deserve the criticism they get.

If they deem some of the decisions they make to be in the best interests of the club then they’re absolutely off their rocker.

23-10-2024, 01:22 PM

Do you think making Ian Gordon head of recruitment was best for the club, or best for his career? I know what my instinct is telling me.

Trinity Hibee
23-10-2024, 01:23 PM

If it happens repeatedly then we are well within our rights to question their suitability to own the club. We are not talking about one mistake here there have been many and they naively refuse to take advice from people with far more knowledge of football than them. You could argue that is negligent.

23-10-2024, 01:24 PM

I don’t get the argument that we should be grateful that they’ve spent money. They chose to buy a football club so it’s on them to run it, if that’s been a failure and it’s cost them more to try and fix it then that’s solely on them.

They’ve invested a lot, but an investment isn’t the same as spending. I can invest in an ISA, the goal is to take out more than I put in when the time comes and it’s the same with the Gordons.

If they’d written off the last £5.5m of debt instead of converting to shares, then that’s something to applaud, converting it to shares just means they’ll take it back from someone else when they sell the club later.

If you want to own a football club you either have to run it properly or have deep pockets but make no mistake that it’s your choice, and you better believe that the minimum the fans expect is that you cover the cost of your mistakes because we know that if you’re a success and you sell at a big profit, then that profit will leave with you.

Trinity Hibee
23-10-2024, 01:27 PM
Do you think making Ian Gordon head of recruitment was best for the club, or best for his career? I know what my instinct is telling me.

There is a very clear picture being built here around the Gordon’s involvement and much of it isn’t positive. Unfortunately some try to make excuses for them or are blind to what has been happening these last few years.

What can we do about it? Very little as they are the owners but the one thing we can do is make our voices known/heard

23-10-2024, 01:29 PM

From last years accounts -

"Other loans due represent a loan from the Scottish Government of £1,379,005 (2022: £1,448,395) and a loan from Bydand Sports LLC £3,482,794 (2022: £Nil).

The loan from Bydand Sports LLC from the prior year of £1,949,157 has been replaced by the new facility. The loan includes repayment triggers based on the performance of player trading and is secured on the fixed and floating assets of the company."

They've pumped money in, but don't be naive and assume they don't want at least most of it back too. There's a bit of "we owe it to ourselves" about the narrative around the Gordon's and the money invested.

23-10-2024, 01:30 PM
What utter nonsense..
please explain what success in football BK Knights are having, French Club Lorient, Bournemouth? We will never be their priority. They have put their own money into our club we dont generate much

Bournemouth had their highest league finish in their history last season.

Alongside Brest in France and Girona (part of the City Group) in Spain they have probably been the best small club in Europe over the past 12 months. They continued their excellent progress with a 2-0 victory over Dubai-backed Arsenal at the weekend.

23-10-2024, 01:32 PM
From last years accounts -

"Other loans due represent a loan from the Scottish Government of £1,379,005 (2022: £1,448,395) and a loan from Bydand Sports LLC £3,482,794 (2022: £Nil).

The loan from Bydand Sports LLC from the prior year of £1,949,157 has been replaced by the new facility. The loan includes repayment triggers based on the performance of player trading and is secured on the fixed and floating assets of the company."

They've pumped money in, but don't be naive and assume they don't want at least most of it back too. There's a bit of "we owe it to ourselves" about the narrative around the Gordon's and the money invested.

The accounts quoted are as at end June 2023, those loans were converted to equity at the AGM earlier this year.

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 01:37 PM
What utter nonsense..

Bournemouth? You’re actually questioning that? :faf:

23-10-2024, 01:38 PM
The accounts quoted are as at end June 2023, those loans were converted to equity at the AGM earlier this year.

I wouldn’t be surprised to see another loan in the books in future accounts given the noise about the Gordons covering losses this season.

23-10-2024, 01:48 PM
I wouldn’t be surprised to see another loan in the books in future accounts given the noise about the Gordons covering losses this season.

Potentially, unless the June share issue was done to preemptively cover the expected shortfall.

23-10-2024, 01:55 PM

That's quite enough Stubbsy :greengrin

23-10-2024, 01:55 PM
If it happens repeatedly then we are well within our rights to question their suitability to own the club. We are not talking about one mistake here there have been many and they naively refuse to take advice from people with far more knowledge of football than them. You could argue that is negligent.

I agree. We should question exactly why our club is in the state is it at the moment, but that can be done without personal vitriol been thrown at the Gordons.

Or atleast that's how most grown ups would behave.

Scotty Leither
23-10-2024, 02:01 PM
Have they? Are we genuinely supposed to believe for example that Ian Gordon being Head of Recruitment was genuinely deemed the best option and in the best interests of the club? Do we really believe that they thought he was the best person available for that job? If they lack the self awareness to realise that them appointing people in key positions this summer wasn’t in the best interests of the club, that’s on them. They may have thought it was, but if they’re that oblivious to how bad they’ve been that they don’t realise it wasn’t then that’s on them and they deserve the criticism they get.

If they deem some of the decisions they make to be in the best interests of the club then they’re absolutely off their rocker.

Well said.

They cannae play the “poor me” card any longer especially after IG’s recent interview when he basically admitted that most of the back room manoeuvres (the peak crass point being his appointment as head of recruitment) were kept from the fans, and the same fans’ patience is now at breaking point.

I’d love nothing better than to stuff this entitled mob on Sunday, and for it to act as a catalyst for Davey Gray turning things round, but I can’t see it sadly.

If the inevitable follows and Gray gets the chop then Gordon, Kensell, and Mackay should collectively announce they’re having NOTHING to do with the appointment of our next manager/coach/fall guy.

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 02:04 PM
That's quite enough Stubbsy :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts 🤝 Hibernian Verse

We are one and the same now. Embrace it. :greengrin

23-10-2024, 02:10 PM

We're literally bottom of the league. Facing the championship. Entirely because of them.

23-10-2024, 02:23 PM

But again, the debt hasn't just disappeared in the sense it was written off as a gift to the club. They've positioned themselves to get that money back somehow.

23-10-2024, 02:34 PM
But again, the debt hasn't just disappeared in the sense it was written off as a gift to the club. They've positioned themselves to get that money back somehow.

Selling out to the Black Knights.

He's here!
23-10-2024, 02:40 PM
I agree. We should question exactly why our club is in the state is it at the moment, but that can be done without personal vitriol been thrown at the Gordons.

Or atleast that's how most grown ups would behave.

It's not a hard question to answer. We're in this state because of the hapless way the club has been run under the Gordon regime. I've not thrown any personal vitriol at them, but they can't be absolved of flak for the alarming decline in standards on the pitch. Record investment counts for next to nothing if the end result is relegation. Vast chunks of that investment must have been utterly wasted on sub-standard players.

We've almost always underachieved as a club relative to our size within Scottish football, but under this regime we've become a club which smaller clubs barely count as a scalp any more. We lose to pretty much everybody on a regular basis and home defeats to those clubs have become particularly prevalent. There's a nothingness element to Hibs these days and I feel the Gordons are almost solely responsible for stripping away the club's character.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 02:42 PM
Hearts were on their arse, Rangers were on their arse, Notts County had been on their arse in admin a couple of years prior and were languishing in the lower leagues.

Whoever sells their shares to whoever is wanting to buy the shares chooses the new owners.

Leeds Utd ? … at the end of the day your missing the point in new owners coming into a club doesn’t always work including at bigger clubs like rangers who died , Leeds , Man U , Chelsea etc and most of the time it’s from shady characters like Whyte , Romanov or this type of character as well …

https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/past-times/3009294/giovanni-di-stefano-dundee/

Whoever sells the shares to whoever’s buying you say .. so if the Gordon’s decide to sell theirs and there’s a couple of interested parties it would be them that would decide.. you agree with that ? .

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 02:46 PM
Leeds Utd ? … at the end of the day your missing the point in new owners coming into a club doesn’t always work including at bigger clubs like rangers who died , Leeds , Man U , Chelsea etc and most of the time it’s from shady characters like Whyte , Romanov or this type of character as well …

Whoever sells the shares to whoever’s buying you say .. so if the Gordon’s decide to sell theirs and there’s a couple of interested parties it would be them that would decide.. you agree with that ? .

There’s absolutely no point in discussing this further.

Most of the time someone buying a football club is a shady character. Right you are :aok:

Trinity Hibee
23-10-2024, 02:47 PM

Just because the Gordon’s motives aren’t sinister, doesn’t mean they aren’t running us into the ground. The mess they have made here will take years to reverse regardless of whether they stay or someone else owns us. There is no option but for them to choose who they sell to but the league can make sure they are fit and proper to take over.

It’s ridiculous things are even at this stage to be quite honest. Relegation is unthinkable and will leave us in a dreadful place.

23-10-2024, 02:49 PM

“That money” is reflected in the value of their equity. They will realise the value of that equity if they ever sell the club from whoever buys their shareholding. The money they had loaned the club won’t be paid back from club coffers as suggested earlier in the thread.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 03:09 PM
There’s absolutely no point in discussing this further.

Most of the time someone buying a football club is a shady character. Right you are :aok:

No but you can end up with somebody like that if you’re unfortunate or get it wrong like in the clubs I named though..

don’t know why you avoided the question I asked either :confused:

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 03:15 PM
No but you can end up with somebody like that if your unfortunate or get it wrong .. don’t know why you avoided the question I asked either :confused:

Honestly, it’s really not worth debating it.

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 03:16 PM
“That money” is reflected in the value of their equity. They will realise the value of that equity if they ever sell the club from whoever buys their shareholding. The money they had loaned the club won’t be paid back from club coffers as suggested earlier in the thread.

I do think there could be more loans in the next accounts as Matty said earlier. This loan though won’t be repaid by the club.

23-10-2024, 03:35 PM
No but you can end up with somebody like that if you’re unfortunate or get it wrong like in the clubs I named though..

don’t know why you avoided the question I asked either :confused:

The club's with good or average owners vastly out number these horror stories. I'll take our chances.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 03:36 PM
Honestly, it’s really not worth debating it.

All I asked you was if the Gordon’s decide to sell their shares and there was a couple of interesting parties they would be the ones deciding who the new owners would be ? … :greengrin

23-10-2024, 04:06 PM
When it comes to the playing side the Gordon's have been woeful but I think we do have to admit that it's not been for the want of trying or for putting money into it.

Under Ross/Mathie and then probably Maloney, they (& Kensell) seemed to be too hands on. It was like they were playing Football Manager but doing so very poorly. They were also debatably too fast to pander to the noisy fans and make wholesale changes.

They then made another bad appointment in Johnson before eventually bringing in someone to oversee the football in BM, but further bad signings and a brutal start to the season put an end to that.

We don't really know what happened in that period we've had BM in there. Was it still the Gordon's/Kensell with the final pick of NM and the big January window signings? If it was, that's a huge concern. If it wasn't, and this was mostly down to BM then did he pay the price for hiring NM. Seems like there was more to it than that.

So now the Gordon/Kensell regime have listened to people in Scotland, the classic Football Men and Those who know the game and they hired MM. I wish Shanley had asked them if they knew about his past and expected a backlash. It seems to me that MM is running the football side, he has a good budget behind him supplied by the Gordon's, Black Knights and the positive work the Gordon's and Kensell have done commercially. MM hired SDG and ultimately provided him with the team that we have just now.

I don't have faith in MM to turn it around for us, and there's little to trust that the Gordon's & Kensell can replace MM. The last thing I want to see is MM fire SDG and take to the dug out himself.

If it doesn't turnaround then I hope MM takes the can and gets punted and the Gordon's actually listen to The Black Knight Group on who to hire to replace him or go in for someone who is succeeding in the role elsewhere. Hell, maybe even Jack Ross!

McPherson must be involved somewhere here too, he feels like part of that cohort that have just made terrible decisions. I actually feel a little for the Gordon's. They've pumped money in and listened to people that have given them terrible advice resulting in them getting torn a new one at a steep cost. If they can somehow make a decent appointment or 2 at the top and let those people get on with it then we should be onto a good thing.

Argh.

snedzuk
23-10-2024, 04:10 PM
Selling out to the Black Knights.

Somewhere in Leith, May 2025. "Hi Ian / Ben. Thanks for taking the time to join our BK zoom call. Now, tell us, just how much do you think your championship club is worth. Maybe you could set out the revenue projections as well for several newly refurbished hospitality areas that only open for a few hours about 25 times a year. Over to you guys...."

Hibees1973
23-10-2024, 05:24 PM

Many thanks to The Gordons.

But never in our history has so much money been spent but delivered so little.

23-10-2024, 06:07 PM

How can appointing your son as head of recruitment for a football team you have just bought, then keep it a secret be in the best interest of the club, especially when he'd never been anywhere near a football club before in his life?:confused:

23-10-2024, 06:13 PM
How can appointing your son as head of recruitment for a football team you have just bought, then keep it a secret be in the best interest of the club, especially when he'd never been anywhere near a football club before in his life?:confused:

Indeed.

That's acting in their own best interest. Which is the primary thing every millionaire does. Our owners are no different.

23-10-2024, 06:20 PM
When it comes to the playing side the Gordon's have been woeful but I think we do have to admit that it's not been for the want of trying or for putting money into it.

Under Ross/Mathie and then probably Maloney, they (& Kensell) seemed to be too hands on. It was like they were playing Football Manager but doing so very poorly. They were also debatably too fast to pander to the noisy fans and make wholesale changes.

They then made another bad appointment in Johnson before eventually bringing in someone to oversee the football in BM, but further bad signings and a brutal start to the season put an end to that.

We don't really know what happened in that period we've had BM in there. Was it still the Gordon's/Kensell with the final pick of NM and the big January window signings? If it was, that's a huge concern. If it wasn't, and this was mostly down to BM then did he pay the price for hiring NM. Seems like there was more to it than that.

So now the Gordon/Kensell regime have listened to people in Scotland, the classic Football Men and Those who know the game and they hired MM. I wish Shanley had asked them if they knew about his past and expected a backlash. It seems to me that MM is running the football side, he has a good budget behind him supplied by the Gordon's, Black Knights and the positive work the Gordon's and Kensell have done commercially. MM hired SDG and ultimately provided him with the team that we have just now.

I don't have faith in MM to turn it around for us, and there's little to trust that the Gordon's & Kensell can replace MM. The last thing I want to see is MM fire SDG and take to the dug out himself.

If it doesn't turnaround then I hope MM takes the can and gets punted and the Gordon's actually listen to The Black Knight Group on who to hire to replace him or go in for someone who is succeeding in the role elsewhere. Hell, maybe even Jack Ross!

McPherson must be involved somewhere here too, he feels like part of that cohort that have just made terrible decisions. I actually feel a little for the Gordon's. They've pumped money in and listened to people that have given them terrible advice resulting in them getting torn a new one at a steep cost. If they can somehow make a decent appointment or 2 at the top and let those people get on with it then we should be onto a good thing.

Argh.

I think that's a pretty fair post. The people advising Ian Gordon are just as culpable, if not more so, for this mess. Hiring a decent manager and recruiting good players generally makes for a successful football team. We've not done either during the Gordon's tenure.

23-10-2024, 06:24 PM

That one decision from Ron has angered me more than anything else Hibs related over the past five years. Ian Gordon’s subsequent arrogance/naivety since taking the reins runs it a very close second though.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 06:38 PM
The club's with good or average owners vastly out number these horror stories. I'll take our chances.

Maybe though the ones that didn’t get good owners have came close to the brink and in some cases have not survived … I remember the last time it happened to us all to well which is why I wouldn’t want to see any chances taken with something that’s a big part of all our lives .

23-10-2024, 06:42 PM
Maybe though the ones that didn’t get good owners have came close to the brink and in some cases have not survived … I remember the last time it happened to us all to well which is why I wouldn’t want to see any chances taken with something that’s a big part of all our lives .

Right now I’d let Kim Jong Un take over from Ian Gordon.

23-10-2024, 06:49 PM

And do you think Hibs will be in a strong financial position when this lot take us down?

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 07:11 PM
And do you think Hibs will be in a strong financial position when this lot take us down?

Down where ?

23-10-2024, 07:13 PM
Down where ?

Is that a serious question? 🤔

PHeffernan
23-10-2024, 07:28 PM

We are only 8 games into a 38 game league season and are currently 4 points behind 6th place.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rRSnlIExWpc

23-10-2024, 07:32 PM
We are 8 games into a 38 game league season and are currently 4 points behind 6th place.

Mightily impressive.

HNA8
23-10-2024, 07:46 PM
Can we cut out the personal digs at posters?

Otherwise this thread will not be open for much longer.

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 07:48 PM
Hopefully never. Probably soon.

So I take it in when you say ‘ probably soon’ you mean this season…🤔

This was also said in LJ’s first full season on here though we finished 5th , last season it was said again and we finished comfortably well away from it and even though we are bottom at the moment I don’t think it will happen again for a few different reasons.

23-10-2024, 07:52 PM
So I take it in when you say ‘ probably soon’ you mean this season…🤔

This was also said in LJ’s first full season on here though we finished 5th , last season it was said again and we finished comfortably well away from it and even though we are bottom at the moment I don’t think it will happen again for a few different reasons.

Oh, I never thought it was likely then. We had quality like Nisbet, Porteous, Maolida etc then. We were never in trouble.

We are in trouble now.

23-10-2024, 07:53 PM
We are only 8 games into a 38 game league season and are currently 4 points behind 6th place.

Over the course of the season if we were to drop points relative to sixth at the same rate we’d finish 20 points behind sixth, which is what Livingston did when they finished a distant 12th last season.

jakeshibs
23-10-2024, 08:22 PM
Bournemouth? actually questioning that? :faf:

Please explain the football success delivered by BK Knight, Bournemouth, their flagship football team and their main priority, finished 12th in the league last season.
Lorient FC were relegated, so how did that happen?

Donegal Hibby
23-10-2024, 08:24 PM
Oh, I never thought it was likely then. We had quality like Nisbet, Porteous, Maolida etc then. We were never in trouble.

We are in trouble now.

Our league position does suggest we are in trouble at this moment in time but it’s early days yet . I don’t think some of the performances have been as bad as our league position suggests we are …

And I still think we have enough quality in the squad like Boyle , Youan etc to pull away from trouble and expect us to strengthen in January too.

Time will tell but I expect us to be ok hopefully when it comes to your prediction on us going down this season 👍

Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2024, 09:29 PM
Please explain the football success delivered by BK Knight, Bournemouth, their flagship football team and their main priority, finished 12th in the league last season.
Lorient FC were relegated, so how did that happen?

You know what Jake, you’re right. Bournemouth should be winning the English Premier League. Infact they should be winning the champions league. Finishing in their highest ever league position is abject failure now that I think about it. Would ****ing hate to see Hibs in our highest ever league position. Makes me sick to my stomach to think of that.

We’re definitely better off with the Gordon’s as they’re a nice family.

TelaStella
23-10-2024, 10:31 PM

Argh.

I can’t disagree with most of your points here. But the tone of your first and last paragraphs here suggest some degree of sympathy for the Gordon family which frankly I just don’t think can be entertained anymore, even remotely.

Let’s be frank, despite their unfamiliarity, foreignness or outright bewilderment to the management of Hibernian football club and the wider context of worthy success in the Scottish game, the Gordon family has outright decimated the culture, foundations and prospective future success of the football club. They are single handedly responsible for every single individual failure you’ve mentioned and ultimately all the wider sense of failure at the club we as suffering fans have had to endure over the last 4-5 years. Let us not kid ourselves, it is nobody’s fault but there’s. That is the due responsibility of ownership. Get them so far to ****.

23-10-2024, 10:39 PM
I think Saturday was the final wake up call and all involved at the moment will be scrambling to try and improve things.

The sad reality is most of us would end the season now in 10th place when we should be looking for constant decent finishes with the resources we had/have.

No harm in letting Foley take over things from now on and making some decisions, I mean, can it get any worse?

23-10-2024, 11:48 PM
I just don't see us continuing to throw games away as we have done with the sending offs. Total off the scale stupidity. Despite that we are still only 4 points of 6th.

As regards our keepers both appear very much as described on the fan forums of their previous clubs, when I read them in the summer with Bursik looking good but doesn't stop much, playing out at Hibs. Smith very much a cheap space filling replacement for the high waged Wollacott. No better than Boruc so why bother.
We should have brought in the likes of Mitov or Dennis as our number one with the money we are spending on Bursik, Smith and keeping on Marshall as Malky's runner. The biggest (and obvious at the time) signing mistakes of the summer.

‘4 points of 6th’ as if that’s any kind of achievement?[emoji2369]

24-10-2024, 12:04 AM

It's a perspective not an achievement but you know that full well already.

PHeffernan
24-10-2024, 01:22 AM

It's a statement of fact not an appraisal.

24-10-2024, 03:55 AM
I can’t disagree with most of your points here. But the tone of your first and last paragraphs here suggest some degree of sympathy for the Gordon family which frankly I just don’t think can be entertained anymore, even remotely.

Let’s be frank, despite their unfamiliarity, foreignness or outright bewilderment to the management of Hibernian football club and the wider context of worthy success in the Scottish game, the Gordon family has outright decimated the culture, foundations and prospective future success of the football club. They are single handedly responsible for every single individual failure you’ve mentioned and ultimately all the wider sense of failure at the club we as suffering fans have had to endure over the last 4-5 years. Let us not kid ourselves, it is nobody’s fault but there’s. That is the due responsibility of ownership. Get them so far to ****.

24-10-2024, 06:18 AM

Argh.

Own goals all over the place..

MM can’t sack Gray as fans will be raging at MM.

Zero chance MM can take over as fans will be totally against that.

Kensell can’t sack another manager as fans are / will be raging at him again.

Bottom line is they will do everything possible no to sack Gray as it will fall back on them.

jakeshibs
24-10-2024, 06:58 AM
You know what Jake, you’re right. Bournemouth should be winning the English Premier League. Infact they should be winning the champions league. Finishing in their highest ever league position is abject failure now that I think about it. Would ****ing hate to see Hibs in our highest ever league position. Makes me sick to my stomach to think of that.

We’re definitely better off with the Gordon’s as they’re a nice family.

What a load of nonsense! Bournemouth AFC was higher in the league in the 2016/17 season—they were ninth in the league compared to 12th last season. Please don't let facts spoil your post. So once again, what success is BK Knights delivering to football? Lorient FC is relegated, and Bournemouth is mid-table.

So please your wee rant is what.... nonsense, factually incorrect,

Paulie Walnuts
24-10-2024, 07:06 AM
What a load of nonsense! Bournemouth AFC was higher in the league in the 2016/17 season—they were ninth in the league compared to 12th last season. Please don't let facts spoil your post. So once again, what success is BK Knights delivering to football? Lorient FC is relegated, and Bournemouth is mid-table.

Apologies, it wasn’t their highest league placing, it was their highest points total.

Regardless, if you don’t think Bournemouth had a successful season last season then crack on :aok: I’m sure you’ll be along to tell us how well Hibs are doing in our 8th, 5th, 8th and currently bottom run over the last 3 and a half seasons.

He's here!
24-10-2024, 09:51 AM
Own goals all over the place..

MM can’t sack Gray as fans will be raging at MM.

Zero chance MM can take over as fans will be totally against that.

Kensell can’t sack another manager as fans are / will be raging at him again.

Bottom line is they will do everything possible no to sack Gray as it will fall back on them.

I don't think there's zero chance he can take over from Gray. In fact if Gray gets sacked I'd say Mackay is almost certain to step in, at least on an interim basis. The fans might be against it but what difference would that make?

Depressing to see the 'we're only x number of points off sixth' type posts surfacing, as though that's some sort of positive. We're bottom of the league, that's the simple fact no matter how anyone tries to dress it up.

Donegal Hibby
24-10-2024, 10:04 AM
I don't think there's zero chance he can take over from Gray. In fact if Gray gets sacked I'd say Mackay is almost certain to step in, at least on an interim basis. The fans might be against it but what difference would that make?

Depressing to see the 'we're only x number of points off sixth' type posts surfacing, as though that's some sort of positive. We're bottom of the league, that's the simple fact no matter how anyone tries to dress it up.

Being only X amount of points off sixth position isn’t being used as some sort of positive but more as a bit of perspective in things can change with a couple of results … fail to understand how some you can’t see that fact !!!

24-10-2024, 10:12 AM
Being only X amount of points off sixth position isn’t being used as some sort of positive but more as a bit of perspective in things can change with a couple of results … fail to understand how some you can’t see that fact !!!

It’s a fair point, I don’t think many people are suggesting Gray is sacked now though. I think the fear is that we could get cut adrift soon and from what we’ve seen so far, some think that’s more likely than us closing the gap above us.

Things need to improve quickly and I think people are worried they won’t, when that concern is there, it’s normal to wonder about the ‘what ifs’.

Donegal Hibby
24-10-2024, 10:32 AM
It’s a fair point, I don’t think many people are suggesting Gray is sacked now though. I think the fear is that we could get cut adrift soon and from what we’ve seen so far, some think that’s more likely than us closing the gap above us.

Things need to improve quickly and I think people are worried they won’t, when that concern is there, it’s normal to wonder about the ‘what ifs’.

The OP is suggesting it’s been seen as a positive which isn’t the case though , it’s just a bit of perspective in there’s only 4 points a difference between 6th and 12th and a couple of results can change the whole situation …

As for Gray I don’t think he should be sacked though there does appear to some that think he should unfortunately…

From what we've seen so far is nobody’s giving us a hiding , we have generally played well in games like at Ibrox , Tannadice and Rugby park .. Individual mistakes have basically cost us rather than we are playing bad , cut out the mistakes and we should be ok .

The ‘ What ifs ‘ will be there alright .. though some folks are just more negative than others even in this situation.

He's here!
24-10-2024, 10:35 AM

All it puts in 'perspective' is that we're miles off where we should reasonably expect to be bearing in mind the levels of investment in the playing squad since the Gordons started running things. It's maddening to consider how much of that investment has been p***ed away and that we're (once again) trailing behind a number of clubs who don't have access to anything like the funds we've wasted over the last few years. Top six shouldn't be something to aspire to, it should be the minimum expectation. Talk of being X number off points away from top six, or that by finishing eighth last season we weren't near relegation is a depressingly small-time mindset. The Gordons have had around half a decade to show that they're a good fit for maximising Hibs' potential yet have overseen what feels like an ongoing decline on the pitch, so it's reasonable to call into question their suitability for running one of the biggest clubs in the country.

24-10-2024, 10:41 AM
The OP is suggesting it’s been seen as a positive which isn’t the case though , it’s just a bit of perspective in there’s only 4 points a difference between 6th and 12th and a couple of results can change the whole situation …

As for Gray I don’t think he should be sacked though there does appear to some that think he should unfortunately…

From what we've seen so far is nobody’s giving us a hiding , we have generally played well in games like at Ibrox , Tannadice and Rugby park .. Individual mistakes have basically cost us rather than we are playing bad , cut out the mistakes and we should be ok .

The ‘ What ifs ‘ will be there alright .. though some folks are just more negative than others even in this situation.

I disagree with you, I think we are *****, that’s fine though, it’s a matter of opinion. We’re falling foul of small margins because we are relying on small margins to beat teams. Good Hibs teams should be putting teams out of sight and winning games by a couple of goals, not every week but more regularly than we are.

For clarity though, I don’t think Gray should be sacked, we made the ridiculous decision to appoint him so we need to back him. That said, there will come a point, probably soon if things don’t improve, where he will be replaced. Managers will always have some sort of short term accountability.

I’ve no great desire for managerial change unless it comes with the black knights making the new appointment and taking over the football side of the club, in which case I would welcome managerial change.

24-10-2024, 11:34 AM
We're only one goal from 11th. Trust the process

Donegal Hibby
24-10-2024, 11:37 AM
I disagree with you, I think we are *****, that’s fine though, it’s a matter of opinion. We’re falling foul of small margins because we are relying on small margins to beat teams. Good Hibs teams should be putting teams out of sight and winning games by a couple of goals, not every week but more regularly than we are.

For clarity though, I don’t think Gray should be sacked, we made the ridiculous decision to appoint him so we need to back him. That said, there will come a point, probably soon if things don’t improve, where he will be replaced. Managers will always have some sort of short term accountability.

I’ve no great desire for managerial change unless it comes with the black knights making the new appointment and taking over the football side of the club, in which case I would welcome managerial change.

I think a part from the St mirren game we haven’t played bad in most of the rest , certainly at ibrox I thought we were well worth a point , killie we know what the pitch is like and we know it’s going to be a bit of a battle there which I thought we stood up well too … I honestly don’t think we been close to be ***** though your totally entitled to your opinion bingo.

Lack of being clinical at times and individual mistakes from numerous players as cost us , said before after I think the 7 game we had more shots on goal than Aberdeen which brings me to the point you make about a good Hibs team’s putting other teams to bed by a couple of goals more regularly..

hertz when they finished 3rd had a high number of wins that year by a single goal , think it was 8 or 9 games out of what they win which was possibly about half of all their wins maybe ….

Aberdeen this season out of the 7 wins they have had 5 of these again has been by a single goal margin . The two they won by a couple of goals one the other team had a man sent off in the 54 minute.

I don’t think there are any easy games in the Scottish premier where you can say we should be winning this comfortable now .

I do agree that Gray should be backed and there comes a point where if he doesn’t turn things around then there will have to be a change made though we aren’t at that stage yet even though there was a thread done about getting another manager in which I thought was a bit premature…

Even though it’s another difficult game in Sunday hopefully we get a wee rub of the green and get a positive result… 🤞

24-10-2024, 11:46 AM

The 4 points between 12th and 6th could be a lot more after this weekend.

Dundee v St Johnstone
Killie v Ross County

If Hibs don’t win this weekend then play Ross County away - lose that too and a gap starts to open at the bottom of the league.

Ok worst case scenario but things are getting serious and the sooner we accept that the better.

We rarely win 2 league games in a row..

We have won away once in the league in 2024.

This isn’t some “unlucky” run we are on.

Trinity Hibee
24-10-2024, 11:56 AM

Wtf? So 12th for Bournemouth is a failure or should be talked down? You’re the one talking nonsense here.

We are bottom of the league but you’ll tell us we should be grateful just to exist.

24-10-2024, 12:05 PM

I would say there’s zero chance - or as good as - of Malky stepping in. The scale of job that he has, as well as the fact that he’s responsible for recruiting the next head coach, means that he can’t simply step away from his job to try and focus on the first team.

It comes back to understanding what Malky’s remit is and what his job entails - you can’t do any of his job while operating as the Head Coach, which is a full time job itself.

24-10-2024, 12:07 PM
[QUOTE=TelaStella;7795546]I can’t disagree with most of your points here. But the tone of your first and last paragraphs here suggest some degree of sympathy for the Gordon family which frankly I just don’t think can be entertained anymore, even remotely.

Let’s be frank, despite their unfamiliarity, foreignness or outright bewilderment to the management of Hibernian football club and the wider context of worthy success in the Scottish game, the Gordon family has outright decimated the culture, foundations and prospective future success of the football club. They are single handedly responsible for every single individual failure you’ve mentioned and ultimately all the wider sense of failure at the club we as suffering fans have had to endure over the last 4-5 years. Let us not kid ourselves, it is nobody’s fault but there’s. That is the due responsibility of ownership. Get them so far to ****. ( QUOTE)

I think it's also worth remembering that the Gordons didn't buy Hibs because of any affinity to the club or the city. Ron Gordon's Scottish ancestry was Aberdeenshire and rumours at the time were he'd looked at other Scottish clubs before us. He bought us because we were the Scottish club that was available. I was at his meet and greet with the HSA where he uttered the "pony up" comment asking us fans to contribute to paying for new East Mains infrastructure. That was his initial agenda and probably wasn't taken any further only because it was met with stunned silence.

The problem is that the days of the local Builder or Baker, a Tom Hart or a Harry Swan, or even an STF being able to fund a competitive Hibs are long gone. When the Gordons go as they undoubtedly will sooner or later, it's highly likely that it will be the Black Knights or another overseas owner who takes control. Depending who it is we could be in for more of the same as British footballs littered with Clubs who've fallen foul of corrupt overseas owners. While I think the Gordons are incompetent I don't believe they're corrupt.

I often wonder where the "Ponzi scheme" cabal are nowadays who berated STF and his motives for years. As far as I know, they've been silent on the Gordon's mismanagement of Hibs and a corporate culture that's predicated on rinsing the fans for as much cash as they can.

jakeshibs
24-10-2024, 12:51 PM
Apologies, it wasn’t their highest league placing, it was their highest points total.

Regardless, if you don’t think Bournemouth had a successful season last season then crack on :aok: I’m sure you’ll be along to tell us how well Hibs are doing in our 8th, 5th, 8th and currently bottom run over the last 3 and a half seasons.

So acknowledge your talking bollocks; in the past 60 years, how many times have Hibs finished 5th or higher? Please continue BK Knights's success in football; what happened to Lorient FC (Relegated)? Which Hibernian owner has spent the most?

He's here!
24-10-2024, 12:59 PM

Dundee v St Johnstone
Killie v Ross County

If Hibs don’t win this weekend then play Ross County away - lose that too and a gap starts to open at the bottom of the league.

Ok worst case scenario but things are getting serious and the sooner we accept that the better.

Exactly. We're not unlucky to be where we are. We're currently following the trajectory of a club which has been hovering close to trouble for a considerable time and has now run out of teams which are worse than them to keep them away from the foot of the table.

Everyone hopes we stage a dramatic turnaround, ideally starting on Sunday, but the fact so few people have even responded to the 'come on David' thread after several days illustrates how little faith the fans now have in the team.

24-10-2024, 01:00 PM
So acknowledge your talking bollocks; in the past 60 years, how many times have Hibs finished 5th or higher? Please continue BK Knights's success in football; what happened to Lorient FC (Relegated)? Which Hibernian owner has spent the most?

Do you think spending a lot of money makes an owner good?

24-10-2024, 01:05 PM
I would say there’s zero chance - or as good as - of Malky stepping in.

Great news.

He's here!
24-10-2024, 01:10 PM
I would say there’s zero chance - or as good as - of Malky stepping in. The scale of job that he has, as well as the fact that he’s responsible for recruiting the next head coach, means that he can’t simply step away from his job to try and focus on the first team.

It comes back to understanding what Malky’s remit is and what his job entails - you can’t do any of his job while operating as the Head Coach, which is a full time job itself.

Depends on the situation. Say we persevere with Gray, he digs out a couple of better results then, Jim Duffy style, hits another slump to put us back in serious bother. Mackay would be the most experienced pair of hands to turn to in at least the short term. Avoiding relegation would take precedence over assessing the right characters to bring to the club next season or ordering gym equipment. Worst case scenario yes, but not unthinkable.

I don't know what the difference between Sporting Director and Director of Football is but Hearts seemed to find little difficulty in moving Levein from the latter title back into the manager's chair.

24-10-2024, 01:14 PM
Depends on the situation. Say we persevere with Gray, he digs out a couple of better results then, Jim Duffy style, hits another slump to put us back in serious bother. Mackay would be the most experienced pair of hands to turn to in at least the short term. Avoiding relegation would take precedence over assessing the right characters to bring to the club next season or ordering gym equipment. Worst case scenario yes, but not unthinkable.

I don't know what the difference between Sporting Director and Director of Football is but Hearts seemed to find little difficulty in moving Levein from the latter title back into the manager's chair.

Heart’s arent exactly a shining example of best practice are they? Levein was a failure as were almost all his relationships with his colleagues. Lets stick to lessons that might be relevant to us.

24-10-2024, 01:21 PM
In terms of the owners, what can we as a support do about this? Its a serious question because while football fans generally have some power in terms of removing managers, simply saying 'Time's up' on an internet forum carries not the slightest weight when it comes to club owners. They decide when their time is up.

I desperately want change at Hibs. What can we do? :confused:

He's here!
24-10-2024, 01:23 PM
Heart’s arent exactly a shining example of best practice are they? Levein was a failure as were almost all his relationships with his colleagues. Lets stick to lessons that might be relevant to us.

Levein's managerial record was very good first time round at Hearts and at Dundee United (where he doubled up as director of football).

It's not about relevant lessons, it's about whether it's feasible that Mackay could step into the manager's role if required. It doesn't strike me as an unimaginable scenario, deeply unpopular as it would be.

Paulie Walnuts
24-10-2024, 01:24 PM

It’s not bollocks at all. They’ve just had their highest points total last season. That’s a fact.

The fact you don’t think that’s an achievement for any club tells me all I need to know.

Lorient got relegated. Something which happens to them fairly regularly having spent 9 seasons in the second tier this century. They’re now flying this season.

And I really couldn’t give a **** who’s spent most. They’ve pissed whatever they’ve spent away, whether it’s £1m, £10m or £100m. They’ve been dreadful owners for Hibs and the sooner they piss off and sell up the better.

24-10-2024, 01:30 PM
Levein's managerial record was very good first time round at Hearts and at Dundee United (where he doubled up as director of football).

It's not about relevant lessons, it's about whether it's feasible that Mackay could step into the manager's role if required. It doesn't strike me as an unimaginable scenario, deeply unpopular as it would be.

Nae trophies though :greengrin

24-10-2024, 01:30 PM

His early limited success in his managerial career is irrelevant to your point; you were talking about when he shifted roles from manager to an overseeing role later in his career. His overall career was characterized by winning **** all while playing appalling football. A loser and a snide wee unpleasant loser to boot. Not much of a step up from the dundee cludgie of 86. Someone who references our rivals as often as you do might remember that :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
24-10-2024, 01:38 PM

Dundee v St Johnstone
Killie v Ross County

It could go that way and then again it might not. Looking at the weekend fixtures in…

Dundee v St Johnstone.
Ross C v Killie .
Aberdeen v Dundee U .
Hibs v hertz .
Motherwell v Celtic.
Sevco v St mirren .

Apart from the two OF teams and possibly Aberdeen I wouldn’t be wanting to be relying on predicting the outcome in any of the rest of them .. Wednesdays fixtures are much the same apart from Celtic at home to Dundee . The rest could go anyway again IMO.

I never said it was an unlucky run though do think our last two sending offs there was an element of it TBF ..

We are dominating or at the very least holding our own in games and having our fair share of shots.. what’s costing us is individual mistakes which hopefully we can stop doing sooner rather than later .. if we do i think we will be OK ..

Donegal Hibby
24-10-2024, 01:41 PM
His early limited success in his managerial career is irrelevant to your point; you were talking about when he shifted roles from manager to an overseeing role later in his career. His overall career was characterized by winning **** all while playing appalling football. A loser and a snide wee unpleasant loser to boot. Not much of a step up from the dundee cludgie of 86. Someone who references our rivals as often as you do might remember that :greengrin

👏👏👍

He's here!
24-10-2024, 01:52 PM

My point had nothing to do with whether Mackay would succeed if he took on the manager's job. Levein is just an example of someone who returned to management after occupying a similar role to Mackay.

24-10-2024, 02:00 PM
My point had nothing to do with whether Mackay would succeed if he took on the manager's job.

Well you said Hearts ‘seemed to have no difficulty in doing it’. The clear suggestion is that you think theres lessons to learned from the ease of that process, no? If not why mention it? Both the appointment and the actual concept of shifting coaches who are losing a lot upstairs, was and is a bad idea.

He's here!
24-10-2024, 02:54 PM
Well you said Hearts ‘seemed to have no difficulty in doing it’. The clear suggestion is that you think theres lessons to learned from the ease of that process, no? If not why mention it? Both the appointment and the actual concept of shifting coaches who are losing a lot upstairs, was and is a bad idea.

No lesson to be learned. I was just observing that something similar occurred at Hearts when questioning another poster's view that here's zero chance of Mackay stepping into the manager's role if Gray were to go.

I don't think it's a good idea either but it's a potential concern I think a number of fans share.

Hibiza
24-10-2024, 04:25 PM
Kensell and Gordon , goodbye hopefully soon.

24-10-2024, 04:37 PM
Kensell and Gordon , goodbye hopefully soon.
I wouldn't bank on it.