View Full Version : Semi Final draw - Hearts v Hibs
Pages :
[
2]
15-03-2022, 07:04 AM
The only reason they didn't beat us last time was due to horrendous refereeing.
this is absolute revisionism.
that game at Easter Road, like the one at tynie in September, deservedly ended in a draw. They could have won it, and so could we.
Tully
15-03-2022, 07:07 AM
Get a grip man. The game is also a month away, there is no saying who will or won’t be available. There has been nothing in either game we’ve played against them.
We,ll beat them every tom dick and harry will have them favourites , reading some of the comments on here are unreal, if you don't think we have a chance don't bother going, anyway final on 21st of may has a good feeling about it
Paulie Walnuts
15-03-2022, 07:07 AM
this is absolute revisionism.
that game at Easter Road, like the one at tynie in September, deservedly ended in a draw. They could have won it, and so could we.
We actually had a higher expected goals based on how the game went. A stat that is generally seen as the best indicator as to who was the better team.
I would agree a draw was a fair result but if anyone deserved to win it, it was probably us.
You can guarantee if Jack Ross had won that game against Motherwell the same posters who have bizarrely been criticising us since Sunday would have been creaming themselves about him getting to another semi final, trying to shove the ‘big game’ chat down peoples throats etc.
The way some folk seem to be unsupportive of Hibs now because Jack Ross is no longer manager is really quite something. Between folk saying it’d be better if we just got knocked out before Sundays game (which they of course would then have slaughtered Maloney for), not being able to understand why fans would sing the managers name and now this idea that we’re going to get pumped by Hearts and are only lucky we didn’t get beat by them previously I’ve really seen it all the last couple of days.
Some people seem genuinely gutted we’ve made it to another semi final when it was previously being hailed by them as an incredible feat that Jack Ross was managing to achieve.
15-03-2022, 07:08 AM
The results we get against Hearts shouldn’t be make or break for Maloney, but I suspect they will have a significant bearing on season ticket sales. Beat Hearts in the semi, do ourselves proud in the final and the renewals will come in. Lose twice and it will be a different story.
No matter what the doom and gloomers on here say, we have drawn with them twice this season already, Jasper is looking fantastic and The Hoff looks like the goal scorer we have been missing. Get Hanlon back and fresh at Centre half along side Ryan and with Newell back in midfield we will certainly give them a game.
15-03-2022, 07:12 AM
**** I’m at a wedding. Baws baws baws.
15-03-2022, 07:17 AM
I approached 2006 a nervous wreck, the lead-up to 2012 was one giant hissy fit, 2020 was torture not being there and them in a lower league...
Nothing that happens here will be worse than before. Being negative in the build-up just prolongs the pain and doesn't change the crap feeling if it doesn't go our way. Suck it up, enjoy it, and over-the-top brashness is totally the way to go.
Paulie Walnuts
15-03-2022, 07:23 AM
I approached 2006 a nervous wreck, the lead-up to 2012 was one giant hissy fit, 2020 was torture not being there and them in a lower league...
Nothing that happens here will be worse than before. Being negative in the build-up just prolongs the pain and doesn't change the crap feeling if it doesn't go our way. Suck it up, enjoy it, and over-the-top brashness is totally the way to go.
I’m looking forward to the day out.
If we get beat, it’s happened plenty times before and I’ve survived. If we win it’ll be incredible.
The highs definitely outweigh the low.
15-03-2022, 07:28 AM
Who the 'F' are we kidding? After a run of 8 games where we only scored two goals we struggled to beat a team who had 10 men for 90 minutes, aye a win is a win in the cup, but nobody can seriously say if Motherwell had equalised on Sunday they wouldn't have deserved it given how the second half went.
We are relying on a 19 year old kid with one full game under his belt to score now because Nisbet, who wasn't scoring anyway, is out for the season and Doidge is half the player he was before he got injured. We have a makeshift defence with no height other than Porteous, it's a bloody miracle the number of clean sheets they have kept recently and its the only positive about us at the moment.
I'm not trying to be funny, or wind anybody up, I seriously am not ...... but anybody who is seriously coming on here going 'bring it on' and making out that its 'our turn' is bloody kidding themselves .. I think it will be a miracle if we beat them. There I've said it .... see you at Hampden.
Why would they have deserved it? We dominated the ball, dominated chances, in fact it was rather comfy. They chucked the kitchen sink at it later and still barely troubled us. A freak goal from a shot that was going out for a throw in on the 18 yard line.
We now haven’t lost in 6 games - conceding in only 2 of those and winning 3 of them.
Josh Doig is also bigger than Porteous 😂 we’ve kept clean sheets through hard work and good defending.
Green-Hibee-7
15-03-2022, 07:30 AM
Really want us to build momentum into this, we need a sold out Hibs end. It is not a good look for us and where we want to be if there is a full Hearts end and a three quarters full Hibs end.
They are better than us this year - cannot argue with that. They are better going forward and playing better football than they have in recent years. Let’s not pretend they are the second coming of Barcelona under Pep though. They are another Scottish team outside of the Old Firm. Anyone can beat anyone up here and looking at it logically they are the best team to get when thinking of progression to the final.
15-03-2022, 07:32 AM
I would fancy us to win both games.
I'm Spartacus
15-03-2022, 07:37 AM
Hearts in the semi. That way if they did beat us, one of the uglies can do them.
That's the spirit!
My mindset is: WE WILL PUMP THEM
Gordon near 40 and getting a bit flappy
Souttar won't be fit
Halket is brutal
Smith has his own suite in the physio space
Big lazy huddy up front
McKay just stands on the wing like he's waiting for a bus on a Sunday
They're getting spanked. End of.
15-03-2022, 07:37 AM
12.30pm on the Saturday for us I think.
Is it April 16th?
15-03-2022, 07:38 AM
The results we get against Hearts shouldn’t be make or break for Maloney, but I suspect they will have a significant bearing on season ticket sales. Beat Hearts in the semi, do ourselves proud in the final and the renewals will come in. Lose twice and it will be a different story.
No matter what the doom and gloomers on here say, we have drawn with them twice this season already, Jasper is looking fantastic and The Hoff looks like the goal scorer we have been missing. Get Hanlon back and fresh at Centre half along side Ryan and with Newell back in midfield we will certainly give them a game.
Hanlon looks like being back well before the semi. Rocky will be back in the squad this week. Newell already back which is a bonus. Mueller, although he needs to start doing more, was back on the pitch at the weekend. No saying what will happen between now and then but along with Melkersen making the breakthrough, things are starting to look up a bit. And with all those injury problems, it seems to be getting overlooked that we’ve managed to go six unbeaten (even if it’s not being brilliant at times).
I'm Spartacus
15-03-2022, 07:41 AM
Third in the league doesn’t make them unbeatable in cup competitions as we found out ourselves last season. Worse teams than us have more than laid a glove on them this season.
The last derby we were at our worst, we could have won it bar an unreal goal line clearance at the end, yes we clung on at times.
I agree that they are not unbeatable, what beats us is the fear of folk on here!
15-03-2022, 07:42 AM
It's no more than 50-50 against Hearts for me, that's OK though, I'm amazed we got this far ... if we get past our neighbours, I'd prefer Celtic in the final: a tougher opponent and it would mean more if we beat them ...
15-03-2022, 08:00 AM
No excuses for not selling our half out, because Hearts certainly will
We’ll get our long overdue win against then at Hamden this time I’m sure of it
15-03-2022, 08:02 AM
No excuses for not selling our half out, because Hearts certainly will
Reckon we'll quite comfortably sell our half of the tickets. It's an Edinburgh derby semi-final!
15-03-2022, 08:05 AM
Reckon we'll quite comfortably sell our half of the tickets. It's an Edinburgh derby semi-final!
Going back years and years but we never in 2006, which gave Hearts a boost from the off. It is imperative we fill it
15-03-2022, 08:08 AM
We actually had a higher expected goals based on how the game went. A stat that is generally seen as the best indicator as to who was the better team.
I would agree a draw was a fair result but if anyone deserved to win it, it was probably us.
You can guarantee if Jack Ross had won that game against Motherwell the same posters who have bizarrely been criticising us since Sunday would have been creaming themselves about him getting to another semi final, trying to shove the ‘big game’ chat down peoples throats etc.
The way some folk seem to be unsupportive of Hibs now because Jack Ross is no longer manager is really quite something. Between folk saying it’d be better if we just got knocked out before Sundays game (which they of course would then have slaughtered Maloney for), not being able to understand why fans would sing the managers name and now this idea that we’re going to get pumped by Hearts and are only lucky we didn’t get beat by them previously I’ve really seen it all the last couple of days.
Some people seem genuinely gutted we’ve made it to another semi final when it was previously being hailed by them as an incredible feat that Jack Ross was managing to achieve.
You are just making things up now, who are these same people?
Caversham Green
15-03-2022, 08:08 AM
Strange post.
You are the first person to mention Jack Ross on this thread, and the only person saying it would be better if we'd been knocked out earlier was being sarcastic. What I'm seeing is some people being somewhat nervous about the semi because we haven't been getting great results under Maloney so far. I think that will change when we pump Hertz in the semi and everyone will be delighted. Your irrational dislike for Ross (and by association those who actually supported him during his tenure) is making you imagine things.
Jack Ross is gone - you should let it go too.
CL0762
15-03-2022, 08:10 AM
No wonder we have such a bad record against them. Some absolute s**te bags in our support.
This post never has and never will make sense.
How in the hell can supporters being ***** bags affect the outcome on the park? Absolute nonsense post.
15-03-2022, 08:11 AM
Going back years and years but we never in 2006, which gave Hearts a boost from the off. It is imperative we fill it
Yep, sooner or later we need to stop making excuses and just actually do this. Kick off time doesn't matter, the result the week before doesn't matter, the injuries don't matter...
If anything, all the reasons folk might want to avoid it are actually the most important reasons to be there.
15-03-2022, 08:14 AM
Aw totally man, you're spot on there's been some pretty poor Hampden attendances in the past. Just think we'll easily sell this one out. Hope so anyway, I can't wait for it.
Paulie Walnuts
15-03-2022, 08:22 AM
Strange post.
You are the first person to mention Jack Ross on this thread, and the only person saying it would be better if we'd been knocked out earlier was being sarcastic. What I'm seeing is some people being somewhat nervous about the semi because we haven't been getting great results under Maloney so far. I think that will change when we pump Hertz in the semi and everyone will be delighted. Your irrational dislike for Ross (and by association those who actually supported him during his tenure) is making you imagine things.
Jack Ross is gone - you should let it go too.
I never mentioned this thread specifically.
What I’m seeing is people who have been consistently negative about Maloney continuously try and undermine him.
Sarcasm is a convenient excuse - it would almost be believable if the poster hadn’t already nailed their colours to the mast numerous times previously with declarations such as ‘I don’t think I’ll be able to support the new man because they’re not Jack Ross’ and ‘if we don’t win against Ross County he should be sacked because that’s how Jack Ross was treated’
Suddenly we win a difficult tie to get us through to Hampden fairly comfortably and they’re on here telling us we were crap and hanging on when it really isn’t the case and that we were lucky to have got anything against Hearts, again when it wasn’t really the case. There was even a suggestion from a poster that they couldn’t understand Hibs fans singing Maloneys name, again, from a poster who has openly posted over the last couple of days that it didn’t sit right with them that Jack Ross was sacked.
Forgive me, but the sarcasm excuse doesn’t wash with me and whilst there’s been no specific mention of Jack Ross on this thread, it’s clear as day why these posters are trying their very best to downplay anything good Maloney does.
JamesHFC
15-03-2022, 08:35 AM
Macey
Rocky
Porteous
Hanlon
Cadden
Newell
Stevenson
Doig
Jasper
Henderson
Melkersen
Would like to include Magennis but doubt he be up to speed in time. I would start Stevenson ahead of JDH or Campbell in midfield. Maybe Clarke to come in but we’ll have to see how he gets on. 50-50 between Henderson and Mueller.
1-0 Hibs
15-03-2022, 08:43 AM
Happy with this draw and every Hibs fan should be excited but I understand come game day will be nervous as.
Hearts should win both so all the pressure on them
No need for the bottle crash mate.
Caversham Green
15-03-2022, 08:45 AM
I never mentioned this thread specifically.
What I’m seeing is people who have been consistently negative about Maloney continuously try and undermine him.
Sarcasm is a convenient excuse - it would almost be believable if the poster hadn’t already nailed their colours to the mast numerous times previously with declarations such as ‘I don’t think I’ll be able to support the new man because they’re not Jack Ross’ and ‘if we don’t win against Ross County he should be sacked because that’s how Jack Ross was treated’
Suddenly we win a difficult tie to get us through to Hampden fairly comfortably and they’re on here telling us we were crap and hanging on when it really isn’t the case and that we were lucky to have got anything against Hearts, again when it wasn’t really the case. There was even a suggestion from a poster that they couldn’t understand Hibs fans singing Maloneys name, again, from a poster who has openly posted over the last couple of days that it didn’t sit right with them that Jack Ross was sacked.
Forgive me, but the sarcasm excuse doesn’t wash with me and whilst there’s been no specific mention of Jack Ross on this thread, it’s clear as day why these posters are trying their very best to downplay anything good Maloney does.
If you can't see the sarcasm in the first sentence of post #246 there's little hope of having a rational discussion with you.
15-03-2022, 08:51 AM
If you can't see the sarcasm in the first sentence of post #246 there's little hope of having a rational discussion with you.
:agree::faf:
15-03-2022, 09:01 AM
Delighted with the draw. You always want to avoid the old firm and that's what we've did (should the unthinkable happen then there's a wee added insurance policy that they've have to get through one of two very good weegie sides before they can get their hands on the trophy).
Hope it's half 5 but probably going to be 12.15pm - the latter ruins the pre-match build-up plus the trains will be a nightmare. With nothing to do in Glasgow before 11am there's only a few trains that most people will opt for and its going to be a tight squeeze.
Wonder how Hibs will do the tickets? Existing season ticket holders get one, then if you renew you can get another? Likewise buy a new season ticket for next season you're guaranteed one aswell?
norhfc
15-03-2022, 09:04 AM
On paper the best draw we could have got, but its a derby so extra spicey. I am pretty cool about it, we are the underdogs which will suit us fine. Hopefully have a few more players back from injury by then. Their fans will be ****ing it, they know as well as us the law of averages is on our side :wink:
15-03-2022, 09:05 AM
Not getting ahead of myself, just seen the final is 21st May🤫
Steven79
15-03-2022, 09:05 AM
Wonder how Hibs will do the tickets? Existing season ticket holders get one, then if you renew you can get another? Likewise buy a new season ticket for next season you're guaranteed one aswell?
I would make it two for existing season ticket holders and two those that purchase new for next season.
Let's sell out quick...
15-03-2022, 09:09 AM
Delighted with the draw. You always want to avoid the old firm and that's what we've did (should the unthinkable happen then there's a wee added insurance policy that they've have to get through one of two very good weegie sides before they can get their hands on the trophy).
Hope it's half 5 but probably going to be 12.15pm - the latter ruins the pre-match build-up plus the trains will be a nightmare. With nothing to do in Glasgow before 11am there's only a few trains that most people will opt for and its going to be a tight squeeze.
As long as they do it better than the Celtic final
Should be a priority window for season tickets holders
At the Celtic final, a load of non season ticket holders got the best seats in the house
15-03-2022, 09:11 AM
At the Celtic final, a load of non season ticket holders got the best seats in the house
That was nothing to do with a priority window and more to do with SPFL wanted Hibs to sell block by block so any unsold blocks could goto Celtic. For this one I expect every seat in the house to be on sale from the off so STs will get the pick of the best seats if they want.
Fantastic draw. Let’s be honest Celtic and Rangers on form are significantly more difficult games.
Chance for Maloney and the team to deliver a memorable moment. Hearts are decent but can also be total dog ***** like losing at home to Dundee and away to St Johnstone. They will be slight favorites but it’s a 50:50 chance to get to another final.
15-03-2022, 09:14 AM
Hearts will get the Rangers end in the West etc, and we will get the Hibs end in the East of the stadium
15-03-2022, 09:15 AM
There was a priority window for ST holders for the LC final…
The problem was caused by releasing blocks bit by bit (so the better seats in the east stand came on during the general sale) and the south upper not being part of the initial allocation (so again, those seats became available later). In both cases I'd guess the SPFL decreed they had to be sold that way, so that in theory unsold blocks could be given to Celtc later.
In this case it should be a simple 50/50 split with all blocks available from the start.
15-03-2022, 09:25 AM
It's a good draw. We should be selling out our allocation, but I am sure many people will find a reason not to support the team which is par for the course in Semi Finals looking at their attendance historically.
My view on this game is that it's almost a free hit, our record at Hampden against hearts is abysmal and we have already experienced two results that rank as some of our worst ever(5-1, 4-0). If we lose it's almost expected, if we win, we probably get Robbie sacked again and Hearts fans will go into a complete tailspin regardless of their league position.
My only worry is our injury list and having the players available to hurt them. Looking forward to the game and so should everyone else, our cup record recently is ridiculously good and will not last forever, go to these big games while you have the chance, it's always worth taking the risk.
15-03-2022, 09:31 AM
There is nothing special about this Hearts team. The days of their excessive financial doping are over. We have players coming back from injury and new young stars finding their feet. Get along to Hampden and back the Hibs. No excuses.
15-03-2022, 09:32 AM
It's a good draw. We should be selling out our allocation, but I am sure many people will find a reason not to support the team which is par for the course in Semi Finals looking at their attendance historically.
My view on this game is that it's almost a free hit, our record at Hampden against hearts is abysmal and we have already experienced two results that rank as some of our worst ever(5-1, 4-0). If we lose it's almost expected, if we win, we probably get Robbie sacked again and Hearts fans will go into a complete tailspin regardless of their league position.
My only worry is our injury list and having the players available to hurt them. Looking forward to the game and so should everyone else, our cup record recently is ridiculously good and will not last forever, go to these big games while you have the chance, it's always worth taking the risk.
Game is about as far away from a free hit as you can possibly get IMO.
It’s the most high pressure game any of our players will play in for us IMO. 5-1 and 4-0 games had circumstances around them that meant they were heavy favourites. As we’ve seen this season there is little between us when we go up against each other.
15-03-2022, 09:33 AM
We are the underdogs. Just how I like it. They are full of themselves and heading for a big fall. 3 Derby wins in the space of 6 weeks, winning the cup again and pipping them for 3rd after their bottle crashes would be a Carlsberg season.
Bring it on and lets get it done.
15-03-2022, 09:38 AM
We are the underdogs. Just how I like it. They are full of themselves and heading for a big fall. 3 Derby wins in the space of 6 weeks, winning the cup again and pipping them for 3rd after their bottle crashes would be a Carlsberg season.
That would probably beat 2016 to be honest. That would be a genuinely insane situation.
I don’t see it though. I’ll settle for the cup
15-03-2022, 09:38 AM
I’m very relaxed about it, the excitement at the thought of beating them far exceeds the potential disappointment at getting beat of them there again. No doubt the chance of a good day out will be spoiled by a lunchtime kick off!
15-03-2022, 09:49 AM
Anyone expecting goals recently has been on the sauce too early :greengrin
Montford
15-03-2022, 09:50 AM
5.15 on the Saturday probably won't be allowed on safety grounds.
Pretty sure there have been a few 5.15 semi finals over the last 10 years
Montford
15-03-2022, 09:56 AM
Who decides the ticket prices? Is it both clubs per semi, all 4 clubs or the SFA? Be about £45 a ticket if its the latter 2.
If clubs can’t agree it gets priced at £30
15-03-2022, 10:01 AM
you know what, if we win the cup id rather they finish third. Just to intensify the seethe over there by us trumping them and taking that lucrative European group stage place.
Montford
15-03-2022, 10:02 AM
Really want us to build momentum into this, we need a sold out Hibs end. It is not a good look for us and where we want to be if there is a full Hearts end and a three quarters full Hibs end.
They are better than us this year - cannot argue with that. They are better going forward and playing better football than they have in recent years. Let’s not pretend they are the second coming of Barcelona under Pep though. They are another Scottish team outside of the Old Firm. Anyone can beat anyone up here and looking at it logically they are the best team to get when thinking of progression to the final.
We got pumped by Falkirk the week before the Scottish Cup Final
Destined for another year in the Championship
Previous results count for SFA in the cup
15-03-2022, 10:03 AM
Pretty crazy how some of our fans already have us beat and across the city they think they are already in the final, come on, get up for it.
How can folk just not be confident about winning the game rather than all this negative pish.
We are hard to score against and now have a young lad who knows how to score goals at the other end, Newell looking good in midfield and some players will be back from injuries, got to be positive rather than Maloney out if we don’t win and we are weeks away from the game, f***ing mental from some on here so it is.
Paulie Walnuts
15-03-2022, 10:06 AM
That’s not the post I was referring to about saying it would be better if we got beat, hence why I said the post was before the game on Sunday. As I said, I never mentioned this thread. The post in question was made before the game on Sunday on a different thread by a different poster who is all over this thread with their negativity trying to downplay what was a very good result on Sunday, suggesting we’ve no chance against Hearts, that we fluked a draw against them etc.
As such, I absolutely stand by my post. There’s posters who were posting BEFORE Sundays game (not we are hibs for the avoidance of doubt) saying we’d be as well getting beat who have since been all over the threads with their negativity suggesting we were poor on Sunday, fluked a draw previously against Hearts, can’t quite believe anyone is singing Maloneys name, we won’t be able to get close to Hearts in the semi.. these exact same posters have nailed their colours to the mast in regards to Jack Ross with very clear declarations when he got sacked that they wouldn’t be able to support whoever got the job because they’re not Jack Ross, that Maloney should be sacked if he didn’t beat Arbroath, if he didn’t beat Ross County etc.
It’s really weird that some Hibs fans seem to have been taking in so much by Jack Ross that they’re now struggling to support Hibs and enjoy good results and performances.
15-03-2022, 10:06 AM
In the last 22 derbies, we have won 7, they have won 6 and there have been 9 draws.
I can’t wait to batter them next month.
Hopefully everyone reads this post before writing us of to the tramps fae Gorgie.
GGTTH :flag:
15-03-2022, 10:11 AM
Bizzare that Hearts have turned into Pep's Barca overnight in some minds on here. We may as well not bother turning up. Infact it wouldve been better if Motherwell had gubbed us on Sunday to save us the embarrassment of having a non old firm team in the semis and a great opportunity at getting to a cup final.
I really don’t know why some folk bother supporting us, FFS, they are there to get beat and folk writing us of, crazy.
15-03-2022, 10:13 AM
Ideally I'd have wanted us to avoid them for the semi, but I feel fine about it now it's on.
15-03-2022, 10:16 AM
Is it April 16th?
15-03-2022, 10:28 AM
Has this been confirmed?
15-03-2022, 10:33 AM
Jasper and the hoff will run riot in an emphatic hibees victory
15-03-2022, 10:44 AM
Think we went from 1994 - 2006 without playing Hearts in a cup. I make it ten cup ties in the 16 years since 2006.
15-03-2022, 10:44 AM
Has this been confirmed?
No, but if Rangers get past Red Star Belgrade (which they will) then our match will need to be on the Saturday.
I was just confirming to another poster that the Saturday I was referring to was 16th April.
15-03-2022, 10:45 AM
Yeah but it was different that time, Hearts were comfortably one of the top 3 teams in the country and we had over half our team out injured/suspended... Wait, ****
G15 Hibs
15-03-2022, 10:46 AM
Think we went from 1994 - 2006 without playing Hearts in a cup. I make it ten cup ties in the 16 years since 2006.
And that 1994 game (the memory still makes me shudder) was the fist time since 1979, I'm sure.
15-03-2022, 10:48 AM
How can folk just not be confident about winning the game rather than all this negative pish.
We are hard to score against and now have a young lad who knows how to score goals at the other end, Newell looking good in midfield and some players will be back from injuries, got to be positive rather than Maloney out if we don’t win and we are weeks away from the game, f***ing mental from some on here so it is.
I have to agree with this one, as good a draw as we could get, also happen to think much of the negative about Hibs is spouted on this forum by shall we say perhaps maybe non Hibernian Supporters, so to put it another way **** the hertz.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin
Caversham Green
That’s not the post I was referring to about saying it would be better if we got beat, hence why I said the post was before the game on Sunday. As I said, I never mentioned this thread. The post in question was made before the game on Sunday on a different thread by a different poster who is all over this thread with their negativity trying to downplay what was a very good result on Sunday, suggesting we’ve no chance against Hearts, that we fluked a draw against them etc.
As such, I absolutely stand by my post. There’s posters who were posting BEFORE Sundays game (not we are hibs for the avoidance of doubt) saying we’d be as well getting beat who have since been all over the threads with their negativity suggesting we were poor on Sunday, fluked a draw previously against Hearts, can’t quite believe anyone is singing Maloneys name, we won’t be able to get close to Hearts in the semi.. these exact same posters have nailed their colours to the mast in regards to Jack Ross with very clear declarations when he got sacked that they wouldn’t be able to support whoever got the job because they’re not Jack Ross, that Maloney should be sacked if he didn’t beat Arbroath, if he didn’t beat Ross County etc.
It’s really weird that some Hibs fans seem to have been taking in so much by Jack Ross that they’re now struggling to support Hibs and enjoy good results and performances.
How many posters are you talking about? I can only see one that loosely falls under your description - maybe you should engage him/her directly or put them on ignore rather than making sweeping generalisations about people who are rightly nervous about the semi-final.
Cup record this century v Hearts: 0-4, 1-0, 0-2, 1-5, 1-0, 0-1, 2-2, 1-0, 0-0, 3-1, 0-1, 1-2
Won: 4
Drawn: 2
Lost: 6
Goals for: 10
Goals against: 18
15-03-2022, 10:49 AM
And that 1994 game (the memory still makes me shudder) was the fist time since 1979, I'm sure.
Yes, you're right. I was 16 when that tie was drawn in 1994 and it was a new experience for me to get them in a cup.
15-03-2022, 10:51 AM
This will be 13 if you include replays and are also including the 2006 semi final.
In the previous 12;
4 wins for Hibs
2 draws
6 wins for Hearts
Ten have been in the Scottish Cup and two in the League Cup.
This will be the fourth tie in that time at Hampden and Hearts have won the previous three.
Time to change that statistic.
15-03-2022, 11:06 AM
As far as I'm aware, we've never beaten Hearts at Hampden.
Has to be a first time for everything.
15-03-2022, 11:12 AM
This will be 13 if you include replays and are also including the 2006 semi final.
In the previous 12;
4 wins for Hibs
2 draws
6 wins for Hearts
Ten have been in the Scottish Cup and two in the League Cup.
This will be the fourth tie in that time at Hampden and Hearts have won the previous three.
Time to change that statistic.
Yeah my choice of words was poor by saying ties - was meaning we'd been drawn together ten times since that 2006 SC game.
Definitely time to change that Hampden stat.
No way back with fans when you lose these types of games, as we have seen previously.
Everyone is entitled to an opinion, but you really have a pretty negative one, although it seems to be shared by a number on here.
15-03-2022, 11:16 AM
As far as I'm aware, we've never beaten Hearts at Hampden.
Has to be a first time for everything.
That's correct, I think we've only played Hearts at Hampden on three separate occasions - all since 2006.
Mcbizz1998
15-03-2022, 11:23 AM
It’s also complete fantasy I’m afraid.
We might knock them out the cup but no danger we are catching them.
15-03-2022, 11:32 AM
Pretty sure there have been a few 5.15 semi finals over the last 10 years
I've just checked and there's never been a Scottish Cup semi final kicking off that late with fans in attendance over the last 10 years.
Our semi final v Hearts in October 2020 kicked off at 5pm but it was played behind closed doors.
I'm fairly certain our match v Hearts will be kicking off no later than 12:45 on the Saturday but probably 12:15.
Mark05
15-03-2022, 11:39 AM
Well I am looking forward too this game.Like others have said we are not playing Liverpool.Maybe hearts are slight favourites,but we can definitely beat them.It will be a great feeling knocking them out to reach another cup final and hopefully winning it again, come on the hibs we can do this
15-03-2022, 11:43 AM
Totally agree two even games against them this season and this is the best chance of getting to the final. Bring it on. :flag:
That 1994 game was the only time since 1979 as well
15-03-2022, 11:47 AM
Hearts will get the Rangers end in the West etc, and we will get the Hibs end in the East of the stadium
Absolutely no reason whatsoever for it to be like that though. I hope we get the West as it’s got far better boozers for before the game
Paulie Walnuts
15-03-2022, 11:49 AM
How many posters are you talking about? I can only see one that loosely falls under your description - maybe you should engage him/her directly or put them on ignore rather than making sweeping generalisations about people who are rightly nervous about the semi-final.
I have engaged them directly as have others on more than one thread.
15-03-2022, 11:50 AM
Absolutely no reason whatsoever for it to be like that though. I hope we get the West as it’s got far better boozers for before the game
I agree with you but I think we all know that is exactly what will happen.
Caversham Green
15-03-2022, 11:54 AM
I have engaged them directly as have others on more than one thread.
Why not keep doing that then? Too many of them?
15-03-2022, 11:58 AM
Jasper and the hoff will run riot in an emphatic hibees victory
:singing::singing:We're all Hoff to Hampden in the Green,in the Green!
Where our banners glisten in the sun
And the Hoff will score as the Hi-Bees roar!
There's another Scottish Cup to be won !:singing::singing:
Paulie Walnuts
15-03-2022, 12:01 PM
Why not keep doing that then? Too many of them?
Why not keep doing it? Because you keep asking me about it :confused:
You’ve completely misread my original post and thought I was referencing a post I made no reference to. The whole conversation we’ve had since had been pretty much irrelevant because of that so I’ll leave it here.
Caversham Green
15-03-2022, 12:12 PM
Why not keep doing it? Because you keep asking me about it :confused:
You’ve completely misread my original post and thought I was referencing a post I made no reference to. The whole conversation we’ve had since had been pretty much irrelevant because of that so I’ll leave it here.
I'm bothered because I find your anti-Ross stance just as tiresome as the other (single) poster's pro-Ross/anti-Maloney stuff.
Ross was a good manager for Hibs up until that last run of league games while Maloney has yet to prove he's any better (in my opinion), but he needs to be given time. I just wish you and the other poster would accept that and get on with supporting the club.
Paulie Walnuts
15-03-2022, 12:14 PM
I'm bothered because I find your anti-Ross stance just as tiresome as the other (single) poster's pro-Ross/anti-Maloney stuff.
Ross was a good manager for Hibs up until that last run of league games while Maloney has yet to prove he's any better (in my opinion), but he needs to be given time. I just wish you and the other poster would accept that and get on with supporting the club.
I’m not sure why you’re so desperately itching for an argument but if you think my posts aren’t generally supportive of the club then I’d suggest you’ve misinterpreted that as well.
I’ll leave you to it.
Caversham Green
15-03-2022, 12:22 PM
I’m not sure why you’re so desperately itching for an argument but if you think my posts aren’t generally supportive of the club then I’d suggest you’ve misinterpreted that as well.
I’ll leave you to it.
To be fair you're right about the support bit - that was more directed at the other poster, but I still wish you could both just forget about Jack Ross.
Montford
15-03-2022, 02:44 PM
I've just checked and there's never been a Scottish Cup semi final kicking off that late with fans in attendance over the last 10 years.
Our semi final v Hearts in October 2020 kicked off at 5pm but it was played behind closed doors.
I'm fairly certain our match v Hearts will be kicking off no later than 12:45 on the Saturday but probably 12:15.
League Cup Semis aplenty
So logistics wise it’s possible
15-03-2022, 03:21 PM
League Cup Semis aplenty
So logistics wise it’s possible
Yes but it's a different organisation that runs each competition - SFA for the Scottish Cup and SPFL for the League Cup.
My point is that there is no precedent for Scottish Cup semi finals taking place on Saturday evenings and I certainly don't see that changing with an Edinburgh derby.
15-03-2022, 03:23 PM
Yes but it's a different organisation that runs each competition - SFA for the Scottish Cup and SPFL for the League Cup.
My point is that there is no precedent for Scottish Cup semi finals taking place on Saturday evenings and I certainly don't see that changing with an Edinburgh derby.
Unless Premier are pushing for it to be later
15-03-2022, 04:02 PM
Very happy they are favourites and the feeling of we are third we will destroy maloneys boys will be doing the rounds in gorgie.
I think with another couple of bodies back and staying injury free from now - this is the team to cause an ‘upset’
15-03-2022, 04:07 PM
Very happy they are favourites and the feeling of we are third we will destroy maloneys boys will be doing the rounds in gorgie.
I think with another couple of bodies back and staying injury free from now - this is the team to cause an ‘upset’
Without a doubt!
Newell already back and in the team. Melkersen will be even more settled by then too. Add into that JDH and Hanlon likely to be in the squad for this weekend, Rocky back from suspension.
Things are finally starting to look good on the injury front and reckon Maloney will have them even more sussed out by the time the double header comes around. Honestly can't wait.
He's here!
15-03-2022, 04:11 PM
Yep, beat them at ER in 79 on our way to the thrice-played final v Rangers.
IIRC there was a fair amount of crowd trouble at ER that day. Nothing unusual about that in the late 70s mind you.
15-03-2022, 04:21 PM
Without a doubt!
Newell already back and in the team. Melkersen will be even more settled by then too. Add into that JDH and Hanlon likely to be in the squad for this weekend, Rocky back from suspension.
Things are finally starting to look good on the injury front and reckon Maloney will have them even more sussed out by the time the double header comes around. Honestly can't wait.
I hope your right about Hanlon but I'm not so confident
He's here!
15-03-2022, 04:21 PM
I really don’t know why some folk bother supporting us, FFS, they are there to get beat and folk writing us of, crazy.
I'm not writing us off. In fact I've got a feeling we'll win. I just won't be watching it. My heart sinks at the prospect of a derby and I haven't watched one in years. I simply can't be ersed with the fixture and all the tension that goes with it.
We're actually away that weekend so I'll likely leave it until the Monday to check the score so as not to let it impact on a family holiday. That way the pain of defeat is diluted, while a win provides a boost for the start of the week.
15-03-2022, 04:23 PM
I hope your right about Hanlon but I'm not so confident
Don't think he'll start this weekend but reckon he'll make the match day squad. Pretty sure Maloney said Hanlon and Newell were back with the first team just before the Motherwell game.
15-03-2022, 04:24 PM
Every time we’ve played Hearts at Hampden, we’ve had the East. It’s better in my opinion for parking and getting away after the game
cubehindthegoal
15-03-2022, 04:34 PM
You would so smash the marshmallow test 😂
I'm not writing us off. In fact I've got a feeling we'll win. I just won't be watching it. My heart sinks at the prospect of a derby and I haven't watched one in years. I simply can't be ersed with the fixture and all the tension that goes with it.
We're actually away that weekend so I'll likely leave it until the Monday to check the score so as not to let it impact on a family holiday. That way the pain of defeat is diluted, while a win provides a boost for the start of the week.
15-03-2022, 04:59 PM
I'm supremely confident we will win this one, I don't know what it is I just have a feeling.
Orchard_Hibs
15-03-2022, 05:05 PM
I'm supremely confident we will win this one, I don't know what it is I just have a feeling.
Yup me too and I usually fear the worst.
15-03-2022, 05:18 PM
That's some turnaround from your post last night where you said we'd need a miracle to beat them.
15-03-2022, 05:22 PM
Beat Hearts then beat The Rangers in the final on 21st May. Sounds good to me.
15-03-2022, 05:50 PM
Did someone frap you yesterday 🤣 Glad to hear , you have came to your senses 😂
15-03-2022, 05:53 PM
Has anyone ever been to hospitality at hampden, its my old mans birthday soon so was thinking of doing this rather than sitting in the stands for a change as his present
15-03-2022, 05:56 PM
Has anyone ever been to hospitality at hampden, its my old mans birthday soon so was thinking of doing this rather than sitting in the stands for a change as his present
I was there for the semi final loss to Falkirk a good while ago. Really enjoyable experience and I'd definitely recommend it.
My ex's mate was working at Hampden at the time though so it was complimentary which could have skewed my opinion!
Tough draw. It was always going to be no matter who we’ve got but (and I haven’t checked) I have the feeling we don’t do that well in the cups against Hearts.
15-03-2022, 06:00 PM
We have been in the cup much longer in more recent times so I suppose that increases the chance of getting drawn against them. Their cup record recently isn't as good as ours but they have still got to the later stages quite often and met us there 3 times with one to come.
Such a big game and the fact we will meet each other 3 times in close succession will add even more to the fixture. I hope the clubs are sensible about the prices bearing in mind the other fixtures and the cost of living crisis.
Quite an odd game as normally we go in berating Hearts anti football and with us being the better footballing team. We aren't anti football but it will be a bit different going in against a Hearts team that will look to play football. Hopefully, that will leave some space for us to play and surely we can start playing a bit quicker which will change many minds on SM including mine. For the posters saying people aren't getting behind SM because of the way Ross was sacked do they really think that would be the case if we were playing entertaining football. I think it was the fact we sacked Ross and heralded the new dawn of attractive, entertaining football that is causing the initial reluctance to embrace Sm. That doesn't mean we want him not to do well though.
In general I am more interested in the play than the results but that all goes out the window against Hearts. As far as I am concerned SM can play 6 at the back and as much passing around the back 6 he wants while kicking every Hearts player black and blue. Semis, Finals and games against the Uglies and Hearts are all about results and this is such a brilliant opportunity for SM win over the support not to mention the chance of a European Group stage. With that opportunity comes jeopardy though and bad results in big games really stick with managers. Let's hope come May SM is seen as the new messiah and delivering attacking, entertaining football going into a Cup Final that could strip Hearts of teh Group stages of Europe.
15-03-2022, 06:03 PM
Every time we’ve played Hearts at Hampden, we’ve had the East. It’s better in my opinion for parking and getting away after the game
Of course we'll get the East. This is Scotland in 2022, we'll be in the Catholic end.
15-03-2022, 06:12 PM
I was there for the semi final loss to Falkirk a good while ago. Really enjoyable experience and I'd definitely recommend it.
My ex's mate was working at Hampden at the time though so it was complimentary which could have skewed my opinion!
Always helps!! Will see what the price is first, dont like him that much to spend loads😁
15-03-2022, 06:14 PM
Of course we'll get the East. This is Scotland in 2022, we'll be in the Catholic end.
Sad but true although just not whenever we play the REALLY Catholic team. 🙄
Tommy75
15-03-2022, 06:31 PM
I used to get really nervous before a derby and would be absolutely gutted if we lost, to the point I would be sulking for weeks. Not so much now, no sure if it is an age thing/having a family/winning the SC but I still enjoy winning the derby (obviously) but I just don't get that doom and gloom feeling if we lose.
Really looking forward to the semi-final. If Aberdeen/Dundee UTD were in Hearts position and we drew them we would be delighted. You'd think we are playing Man City going by some of the responses on here (not yours). We should have absolutely zero fear about playing Hearts.
15-03-2022, 06:49 PM
Sad but true although just not whenever we play the REALLY Catholic team. 🙄
Yep, we're not Catholic enough when they're there too.
15-03-2022, 07:22 PM
Was at it for Livi final enjoyed it. The prices now are quite high. Check it out on Hampden Hospitality site the are a few different options.
15-03-2022, 07:40 PM
Has anyone ever been to hospitality at hampden, its my old mans birthday soon so was thinking of doing this rather than sitting in the stands for a change as his presentI was there at league cup final loss to Ross county - was decent
I also used hibs hospitality for the Scottish Cup final win against rangers and that was really good
I think I paid £200 a pop for that
I looked into it for the league cup final against celtic and it was just too dear I felt
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
15-03-2022, 08:12 PM
I think the cheapest price now is about £300 plus Vat per person.
He's here!
15-03-2022, 08:23 PM
I used to get really nervous before a derby and would be absolutely gutted if we lost, to the point I would be sulking for weeks. Not so much now, no sure if it is an age thing/having a family/winning the SC but I still enjoy winning the derby (obviously) but I just don't get that doom and gloom feeling if we lose.
Really looking forward to the semi-final. If Aberdeen/Dundee UTD were in Hearts position and we drew them we would be delighted. You'd think we are playing Man City going by some of the responses on here (not yours). We should have absolutely zero fear about playing Hearts.
The age/family thing has played a big part for me. There was a time when I wouldn't miss a derby. Even when I've lived away from Edinburgh and not been able to get to the game I'd make the effort to seek out a bar showing it. However, I've come to realise that I simply don't enjoy fixture and while, like you, a defeat no longer plunges me into a dark gloom I'd simply rather not have it niggling away at me if I've got something else on that might otherwise be compromised by news of a defeat. Great if I hear we've won, but it's not enough to make me wish I'd watched the game live.
As I've mentioned on other threads, football really isn't what it once was for me (none of my kids are remotely interested in the game any more) but Hibs are in the blood so I retain a connection to the game because of that. The derby though, I could really see it far enough.
15-03-2022, 08:27 PM
Do we think that Season tickets holders will get the option to buy 2 tickets?
Steven79
15-03-2022, 08:39 PM
Do we think that Season tickets holders will get the option to buy 2 tickets?Would make sense.
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
15-03-2022, 08:40 PM
I think the cheapest price now is about £300 plus Vat per person.
Jesus, safe to say i wont be paying that!!
Everyone that wants a ticket will get one.
LewysGot2
15-03-2022, 08:49 PM
Do we think that Season tickets holders will get the option to buy 2 tickets?
worked for the league cup :agree:
We only sold 19k tickets.
You're at it.
15-03-2022, 09:53 PM
You're at it.
I was very upset by the abuse I got for saying what I thought in my original post so I've decided to toe the line :lips seal
15-03-2022, 10:09 PM
We only sold 19k tickets.
which was a pretty decent effort in the circumstances.
to listen to the old firm fans you’d think we took 5k to that final
which was a pretty decent effort in the circumstances.
to listen to the old firm fans you’d think we took 5k to that final
We were affronted when we were denied a 50/50 split.
K-Zazu
15-03-2022, 10:34 PM
They couldnae beat Brora Rangers remember
15-03-2022, 10:34 PM
We were affronted when we were denied a 50/50 split.
absolutely, and rightly so. We should be given the opportunity to sell half.
I’ll be affronted again if and when they pull that trick again
uwxm07
15-03-2022, 11:06 PM
🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬💚💚💚💚
Some positivity on the forum 👍👍👍👍
GGTTH & FTH
Bring it on
15-03-2022, 11:11 PM
Jesus, safe to say i wont be paying that!!
For some of the upcoming internationals there are prices of £229 pp plus vat. They will announce prices soon for all the hospitality for the semi and final.
vuefrom1875
15-03-2022, 11:56 PM
absolutely, and rightly so. We should be given the opportunity to sell half.
I’ll be affronted again if and when they pull that trick again
Ahh you forgot to mention the tramps have 440,000 .
16-03-2022, 12:02 AM
We're going to win 5000-0
16-03-2022, 08:28 AM
When’s tickets go on sale for this anyone any ideas ?
Montford
16-03-2022, 09:40 AM
Think with the prize (European Group Football) on offer, and the potential to destroy Hearts season, this has to go down as the biggest derby possibly of all time
The rewards to the club should we win the cup would be in excess of £8 million
The club should ensure that all the fans know this so every ticket is sold.
Brummie_Hibs
16-03-2022, 09:55 AM
Think with the prize (European Group Football) on offer, and the potential to destroy Hearts season, this has to go down as the biggest derby possibly of all time
The rewards to the club should we win the cup would be in excess of £8 million
The club should ensure that all the fans know this so every ticket is sold.
2012 was a bigger game in terms of football rivalry.
If Hearts beat us, then it effectively destroys our season more than it would destroy their season.
16-03-2022, 09:58 AM
Has the inevitable squabbling over tickets started yet?
"I've got an AST, we better get the best seats, preferably the North Stand."
"I want to sit with my mates, we better get seats together."
"Is it two tickets per ST holder?".... "Why should you be able to get one for your granny that only goes once a year when I go to half a dozen home games a season?"
Dontcha just love it
Dunfyhibee
16-03-2022, 10:19 AM
Hope there’s no limit on tickets for season ticket holders when this goes on sale. Everyone who wants a ticket will be able to get one it lets make it as easy as possible to sell a huge amount and hopefully get close to filling out half. League form and the derby a week before probably has a large baring on sales.
Dr What If?
16-03-2022, 10:20 AM
2012 was a bigger game in terms of football rivalry.
If Hearts beat us, then it effectively destroys our season more than it would destroy their season.
The results from the semis mean that 5th will get European football (with the caveat that we don't win the cup and finish lower). Our season won't be destroyed but I agree that it would look a bit dull if we loose another semi final to them.
Steven79
16-03-2022, 10:23 AM
Hope there’s no limit on tickets for season ticket holders when this goes on sale. Everyone who wants a ticket will be able to get one it lets make it as easy as possible to sell a huge amount and hopefully get close to filling out half. League form and the derby a week before probably has a large baring on sales.
Two per season ticket holder from the off otherwise you risk season ticket holders not getting them if people can buy as many as they want.
Dunfyhibee
16-03-2022, 10:27 AM
Two per season ticket holder from the off otherwise you risk season ticket holders not getting them if people can buy as many as they want.
Just don’t see a risk of that happening with our support, we struggled to sell 19k for cup final albeit conditions at the time weren’t great. Hope to be proved wrong but can’t see us selling out should do everything to make sure we give it the best go.
16-03-2022, 10:37 AM
Hibs made a wise move with 2 per season at the cup final, much as it got many people knickers in a twist at the time. Makes sense to do the same here, I think we might struggle to sell half the stadium though.
16-03-2022, 11:04 AM
Hibs made a wise move with 2 per season at the cup final, much as it got many people knickers in a twist at the time. Makes sense to do the same here, I think we might struggle to sell half the stadium though.
I really don't want another situation where their end is full and we have enormous gaps. Can we please turn up for this one?
my left peg
16-03-2022, 11:05 AM
Hope there’s no limit on tickets for season ticket holders when this goes on sale. Everyone who wants a ticket will be able to get one it lets make it as easy as possible to sell a huge amount and hopefully get close to filling out half. League form and the derby a week before probably has a large baring on sales.I tend to agree with you...one of the reasons we had a poor turn out in 2006 was the one ticket per season rule.
Sent from my SM-G390F using Tapatalk
16-03-2022, 11:23 AM
And like the last time, day trippers got better seats than long term season ticket holders
16-03-2022, 11:40 AM
You’ll get a ticket if you want a ticket but it might not be for the exact seat you want, with the exact people you want to sit beside.
As tragedies go it’s survivable.
Steven79
16-03-2022, 11:41 AM
And like the last time, day trippers got better seats than long term season ticket holders
That lies purely at the feet of the SPFL...
16-03-2022, 11:43 AM
That lies purely at the feet of the SPFL...
This one doesn’t though, and we should get a 50/50 split
Steven79
16-03-2022, 11:47 AM
I've no doubt we will and the best sections should go on sale first.
davhibby
16-03-2022, 11:54 AM
We will so the best seats will all be available from the off, and there will be more of them
Mcbizz1998
16-03-2022, 12:14 PM
If we can’t sell this out then it’s pretty pathetic. Hearts will sell out no problem, I’m sure we will too
16-03-2022, 12:44 PM
It wasn’t an ‘upset’ when Dundee and St Johnstone recently beat Hearts, just cases of one mediocre SPL team beating another. Hearts have had a consistent run but the tie is there for whoever wants it. Maloney has shown he can put out a team ready to scrap in a derby. It’ll be electric at Hampden and I can’t wait.
Mike Berry
16-03-2022, 12:51 PM
It wasn’t an ‘upset’ when Dundee and St Johnstone recently beat Hearts, just cases of one mediocre SPL team beating another. Hearts have had a consistent run but the tie is there for whoever wants it. Maloney has shown he can put out a team ready to scrap in a derby. It’ll be electric at Hampden and I can’t wait.Agree with every word of this. [emoji106]
Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk
JamesHFC
16-03-2022, 01:00 PM
Form goes out of the window in cup matches. We beat the league champions a few months ago, the same players who put 5 past Hearts recently. With players returning from injury I actually see us as favourites for this one.
16-03-2022, 01:10 PM
If we can’t sell this out then it’s pretty pathetic. Hearts will sell out no problem, I’m sure we will too
It's just a pity that it takes place during the Easter Holidays when people are away on a holiday or even only weekend Easter break, myself included, drat.
16-03-2022, 01:14 PM
Form goes out of the window in cup matches. We beat the league champions a few months ago, the same players who put 5 past Hearts recently. With players returning from injury I actually see us as favourites for this one.
I said it before, considering who we have, hopefully, returning from injury, we didn't have to fear anyone from the draw, anyone. The wins are anybody's left in. That's good to know imo, I mean they all have a decent chance of winning the cup. Perhaps Rangers favourites based on their European run and due to the fact that the Premiership could go to the wire so no one will take their foot off. Same can be said of us trying to secure fourth and the only team that might relax a bit, is Hearts considering they've all but already secured third, but I'm sure that won't stop them giving it their all too.
et_hibby
16-03-2022, 01:56 PM
It's just a pity that it takes place during the Easter Holidays when people are away on a holiday or even only weekend Easter break, myself included, drat.
I'm in same position- our 2 tickets definitely available :-(
16-03-2022, 01:59 PM
It wasn’t an ‘upset’ when Dundee and St Johnstone recently beat Hearts, just cases of one mediocre SPL team beating another. Hearts have had a consistent run but the tie is there for whoever wants it. Maloney has shown he can put out a team ready to scrap in a derby. It’ll be electric at Hampden and I can’t wait.
I would say, from both derbies this season, Hearts rely a lot on Gordon, Boyce & Devlin
If any of those three are missing they become an Aberdeen/Dundee/St Johnstone-level team
16-03-2022, 02:44 PM
I would say, from both derbies this season, Hearts rely a lot on Gordon, Boyce & Devlin
If any of those three are missing they become an Aberdeen/Dundee/St Johnstone-level team
Think Boyce is their best outfield player
16-03-2022, 03:06 PM
12:15 on the Saturday confirmed.
https://twitter.com/ScottishCup/status/1504125602063917059?s=20&t=42w98hGvluuVf782egqJ1A
16-03-2022, 03:06 PM
Hearts have lost one more league goal than we have this season but Gordon has made about a dozen saves described as world class. This usually means that they were as near open goals as makes no difference.Think that maybe tells a tale about how good their defence actually is compared to ours.
16-03-2022, 03:10 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/scottish-cup-semi-final-dates-ticket-prices-confirmed
16-03-2022, 04:19 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/scottish-cup-semi-final-dates-ticket-prices-confirmed
We await Hibs ticketing details
Paulie Walnuts
16-03-2022, 04:21 PM
That is a pish kick off time and some very expensive tickets for a semi final I think?
Hibees1973
16-03-2022, 04:41 PM
First of all, I am not fully confident we will beat the Yams in the semi, but I think it's time for a bit of perspective.
That lot around a year ago were beaten by Brora Rangers......Brora effin' Rangers and I bet there are still a fair few of the squad still at Tiny that were involved that day.
They may be a fair bit ahead of us in the league, but let's be honest we went around 10 games without a win prior to Ross being sacked which contributed to most of this points difference. Managerial changes and injuries have not helped Hibs as well. This can we deemed as an excuse, but it is fact.
This Hibs team is not as good as the one from 4-5 years ago, when we beat the Yams regularly and easily. At present we are a pale shadow of that team. I'm not convinced that this Hibs team will turn in a big performance come the semi final, but the veneer around them is as thin as ours. Speaking to some Yam friends I have, they have witnessed some totally inept performances by them recently.
Player wise, they pick from the same pool as us. Their squad, and ours, consists of rejected players from more illustrious clubs, players who could not get a game in their previous clubs' first team, signings from lower tier clubs and some promising/unproven young talent.
As I said at the start, I'm not 100% sure Hibs will win. But the Yams are not way better than Hibs.
That is a pish kick off time and some very expensive tickets for a semi final I think?
Was to be expected kick off time and you can't put a price on a good time.
16-03-2022, 05:32 PM
Richard Osman's House of Games challenge to name Scottish football teams without a C in their name.
Contestants named Hibs twice but no one got Hearts, never heard of them. It's an omen
16-03-2022, 05:36 PM
Richard Osman's House of Games challenge to name Scottish football teams without a C in their name.
Contestants named Hibs twice but no one got Hearts, never heard of them. It's an omen
Daniel Stendel was on House of Games?
16-03-2022, 05:37 PM
Daniel Stendel was on House of Games?Nah, in Wetherspoons mate[emoji6]
16-03-2022, 05:38 PM
Nah, in Wetherspoons mate[emoji6]
17-03-2022, 03:48 PM
2-1 Hibs Melkerson, Cadden
17-03-2022, 08:41 PM
Im calmly confident going into this double header. Need the creative players to perform well as I think getting stuck in isnt lacking from this team in the bigger games. If melkerson and jasper start , its who plays left of that 3 that is biggest concern. Id also play stevenson in central midfield alongside newell , if hanlon is back . Newell was outstanding in both the derbies this season , stevenson was brilliant in there for a few games last month.. who plays in there alongside though? A mueller or hendo type further forward? Or doyle hayes to make the 3 stuffier??
If he gets the jigsaw pieces in place , then im confident we win the game , its not like previous years where i just cant see how we win .. Im feeling good about our chances this time
Radge70
17-03-2022, 09:23 PM
Or they have heard of them but only as Hearts C****
17-03-2022, 09:27 PM
Or they have heard of them but only as Hearts C****[emoji23][emoji23]
I'm Spartacus
18-03-2022, 12:22 PM
3-1. They'll score first, think it's all over, then with 20 minutes to go we will hit them with a belter of a counter and the momentum will shift as the arse falls out of them.
18-03-2022, 12:37 PM
They may be a fair bit ahead of us in the league, but let's be honest we went around 10 games without a win prior to Ross being sacked which contributed to most of this points difference. Managerial changes and injuries have not helped Hibs as well. This can we deemed as an excuse, but it is fact.
We have fallen a further two points behind Hearts since Ross was sacked. So not much between the teams in the last 4 months despite all our injuries. We need to look at that and returning players and go in confident and wanting to play fast positive football
18-03-2022, 12:59 PM
Doncaster said that the tickets are realeased in batches under the control of his staff. As a 50 50 split will ensue you will find that the North Stand will be sold first and they will work their way round behind the goals going on his logic in his email to me about the cup final allocations
The South Stand will probably go on sale at the same time as North. They want it to look good on TV was a thing he mentioned in his email to me.
18-03-2022, 01:14 PM
Doncaster said that the tickets are realeased in batches under the control of his staff. As a 50 50 split will ensue you will find that the North Stand will be sold first and they will work their way round behind the goals going on his logic in his email to me about the cup final allocations
The South Stand will probably go on sale at the same time as North. They want it to look good on TV was a thing he mentioned in his email to me.
Doncaster is in charge of the SPFL not the SFA. Tickets for the North, South and part of the East will go on sale at the same time, it’s the only way it can be done
18-03-2022, 01:18 PM
You'd have to give one club the north and one the south if you then wanted to allow flexibility in the allocation of the East/West.
Robbie playing to the hordes again saying knocking us out of cup is a bigger incentive than the £3 million they would earn from UECL!
Steven79
18-03-2022, 02:21 PM
Robbie playing to the hordes again saying knocking us out of cup is a bigger incentive than the £3 million they would earn from UECL!
He's probably hoping for a money spinning replay from the semi final...
18-03-2022, 02:22 PM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThey could fund a lot of planes and banners with that sort of money
18-03-2022, 02:23 PM
You've missed his point!
If we go through and win the final, then we get the place in the group stages.
If they beat us they get 2 chances of the £3 million.
bringbackbenny
18-03-2022, 02:28 PM
You've missed his point!
If we go through and win the final, then we get the place in the group stages.
If they beat us they get 2 chances of the £3 million.
As they are virtually guaranteed 3rd and will play Rangers or Celtic in the final if they beat us, they will get the Euro EL or ECL group stages.
18-03-2022, 02:29 PM
Doncaster is in charge of the SPFL not the SFA. Tickets for the North, South and part of the East will go on sale at the same time, it’s the only way it can be done
I know he is not in charge but I think they admin is done by the same people. I was just pointing out that they would want the areas that the TV cameras see filled first. Having access to the North is great as you get a better view from there. They will probably still release the tickets in batches to the clubs
Is the North better view than the south though?
I have sat in both loads of times and think I would go with the south.
Steven79
18-03-2022, 02:46 PM
Is the North better view than the south though?
I have sat in both loads of times and think I would go with the south.
The North usually has a better atmosphere but the actual views aren't great as I think it's too shallow (Just seats put onto terracing) while the views in the South are the best in the stadium (Especially the upper tier)
18-03-2022, 02:58 PM
The South Upper is the first choice I was near the back of North thought it was great view. Was annoyed the way The LCF was handled by Doncaster so hopefully this will be better. Mobile took a lot of punishment getting tickets for the final and they were crap seats as well.
The North usually has a better atmosphere but the actual views aren't great as I think it's too shallow (Just seats put onto terracing) while the views in the South are the best in the stadium (Especially the upper tier)
Agreed. I did like view from South (lower) from the Rangers game but celtic final was excellent 👌
Steven79
18-03-2022, 03:03 PM
Agreed. I did like view from South (lower) from the Rangers game but celtic final was excellent 👌
I'm not the ticket organiser for my lot for no reason. :wink:
18-03-2022, 03:10 PM
A least this time we can debate the merits of the North V South Stand. Make it a sell out and get the place jumping at our second home.
18-03-2022, 03:23 PM
I'd take losing every single league game from here on out and finishing 10th if we win the semi final.
Steven79
18-03-2022, 03:23 PM
I'd take losing every single league game from here on out and finishing 10th if we win the semi final.And the final. [emoji102]
18-03-2022, 03:37 PM
IMHO, seeing as it's both a Cup semi final and a derby match rolled into one, the prices are just fine.
For around half the seats, it's actually cheaper than attending a league game v Hearts.
It's also 12:30 on a Saturday, so not travelling through midweek at 7:45.... and maybe the earlier start will mean a slight reduction in the alcohol level of the bampots.
Dunno what all the moaning is about, as it sounds perfect to me.
seanshow
18-03-2022, 03:39 PM
Are sections L,K corporate/debenture seats?
K,L,M,N are the only good seats in the south upper tier from what I can see
18-03-2022, 03:40 PM
Ridiculous comment
Steven79
18-03-2022, 04:01 PM
Are sections L,K corporate/debenture seats?
K,L,M,N are the only good seats in the south upper tier from what I can see
Yeah but most of them are owned by Old Firm fans (In our case Celtic fans) so very unlikely they will take up that option of buying seats for our semi so they will go on sale at some point.
18-03-2022, 04:04 PM
Robbie probably still thinks there is a replay...............
DIXIHIBS
18-03-2022, 04:11 PM
He knows if we beat them in the cup he is finished. Dont forget he let us win the cup in 2016!!
18-03-2022, 04:13 PM
Robbie probably still thinks there is a replay...............
Money spinning .......😁
DIXIHIBS
18-03-2022, 04:14 PM
Hearts didnt sell out in 2006 so what makes you think they will sell out this time? I reckon crowd nearer 40k than 50k.
18-03-2022, 04:49 PM
Behave.
18-03-2022, 04:57 PM
I think there will be around 30k there in total. Don't really get the obsession with how many we take compared to them to be honest. More interested in how we do on the green stuff.
18-03-2022, 05:13 PM
I think there will be around 30k there in total. Don't really get the obsession with how many we take compared to them to be honest. More interested in how we do on the green stuff.
Aye, it’s a right difficult thing to understand that people would rather our end was full than have thousands of empty seats there. Bet the folk on the green stuff would get a bit of a lift from it as well.
A least this time we can debate the merits of the North V South Stand. Make it a sell out and get the place jumping at our second home.
Agreed. Hotel booked just need a ticket now 😁
18-03-2022, 05:57 PM
Aye, it’s a right difficult thing to understand that people would rather our end was full than have thousands of empty seats there. Bet the folk on the green stuff would get a bit of a lift from it as well.
It really helped Rangers in the LC semi right enough.
18-03-2022, 05:58 PM
It really helped Rangers in the LC semi right enough.
What about what Maloney and the players has to say about the full away end last week?
18-03-2022, 06:01 PM
What about what Maloney and the players has to say about the full away end last week?
If we have 5k or 15k they will make a racket as we proved in the LC semi.
18-03-2022, 06:08 PM
Aye but they’d rather it was full eh? As mentioned by them last week, it can really make a difference.
We need to step up here.
18-03-2022, 06:13 PM
As said elsewhere on the thread, 2006 showed what a difference it can make.
18-03-2022, 06:45 PM
As said elsewhere on the thread, 2006 showed what a difference it can make.
2006 was nothing to do with the crowd …we had a team Weakened by injuries and suspensions ..major injuries - would have needed a miracle to win that day
18-03-2022, 06:51 PM
2006 was nothing to do with the crowd …we had a team Weakened by injuries and suspensions ..major injuries - would have needed a miracle to win that day
It all added up. A full Hibs end wouldn't have been absolutely trounced in the pre-match atmosphere. The day was infinitely worse, long before nine men or Zibi getting involved, for being thousands short of that lot.
18-03-2022, 07:04 PM
It all added up. A full Hibs end wouldn't have been absolutely trounced in the pre-match atmosphere. The day was infinitely worse, long before nine men or Zibi getting involved, for being thousands short of that lot.
Nah, you just need the folk that do go to not bottle it. I was there in 06 and was taken aback at how we let their lot set the tone.
18-03-2022, 07:14 PM
Nah, you just need the folk that do go to not bottle it. I was there in 06 and was taken aback at how we let their lot set the tone.
Bit harsh saying that those that were there bottled it...
18-03-2022, 07:19 PM
Bit harsh saying that those that were there bottled it...
No. We chucked it long before kick off and did nothing to counter their pre-match. Edit: just to be clear their pre-match was shameful, and I'm in no way giving it respect.
7000 there in November though were different class.
18-03-2022, 07:26 PM
No. We chucked it long before kick off and did nothing to counter their pre-match.
7000 there in November though were different class.
Different circumstances. You expect to be at a disadvantage against Celtic and Rangers, so obviously need to suck it up and get on with it - the two Rangers semi-finals were perfect for that.
It just needs folk to turn up, if they can etc etc.
18-03-2022, 07:34 PM
Different circumstances. You expect to be at a disadvantage against Celtic and Rangers, so obviously need to suck it up and get on with it - the two Rangers semi-finals were perfect for that.
It just needs folk to turn up, if they can etc etc.
But all the revisionist chat is that we were done for before the 06 semi. That's a disadvantage.
It doesn't matter how many turn up, provided they "turn up".
18-03-2022, 07:40 PM
Honestly think we could have filled the whole stadium, and we would still have been turned over that day …different story this time mind you…
18-03-2022, 07:44 PM
I will be annoyed if I can’t get tickets for the South Stand Upper.
The North Stand is a no-go area for me as you seem to have to stand throughout if you want to see anything. I don’t want a seat behind the goals as the sight lines are rubbish (insufficient rake and too far from the action).
The South Stand Lower is slightly better but the view isn’t brilliant as many of the seats on sale to general punters tend to be out wide often behind the goal.
The ticket allocation sequence often leaves the South Stand Upper empty for semi-finals. I will wait to see if the Upper tier tickets go on sale. If not I will watch on TV.
18-03-2022, 07:51 PM
Im moving the previous week so im out of the team selection. Have to save it for the final.
18-03-2022, 07:56 PM
The North Stand is a no-go area for me as you seem to have to stand throughout if you want to see anything. I don’t want a seat behind the goals as the sight lines are rubbish (insufficient rake and too far from the action).
The South Stand Lower is slightly better but the view isn’t brilliant as many of the seats on sale to general punters tend to be out wide often behind the goal.
The ticket allocation sequence often leaves the South Stand Upper empty for semi-finals. I will wait to see if the Upper tier tickets go on sale. If not I will watch on TV.
If you can get one of the East Stand tickets in one of the corner blocks then they’re some of the best tickets available IMO. Hoping general sale will play in my favour on that front, or hopefully a late release of South Upper.
CB Hibs 68
18-03-2022, 08:43 PM
Good for you
18-03-2022, 10:59 PM
If you can get one of the East Stand tickets in one of the corner blocks then they’re some of the best tickets available IMO. Hoping general sale will play in my favour on that front, or hopefully a late release of South Upper.
You get a great view from the corner blocks at Hampden. Sit there all the time for Scotland games. :aok:
MKHIBEE
19-03-2022, 06:57 AM
That’s the kind of support we need
19-03-2022, 07:43 AM
Best way to put it is I was there for the 3-1 semi v Rangers
That's a money-cant-buy feeling
You want to watch on TV?
Then accept you've missed out.
Get a ticket & get involved everyone, these are life's unmissable games & unmissable experiences
19-03-2022, 07:45 AM
At the league cup final I got tickets for the very back row and they’re the best seats I’ve ever had at Hampden. I’ll be aiming for those whenever I can.
Steven79
19-03-2022, 12:39 PM
At the league cup final I got tickets for the very back row and they’re the best seats I’ve ever had at Hampden. I’ll be aiming for those whenever I can.
What stand did you go in?
19-03-2022, 01:10 PM
Best way to put it is I was there for the 3-1 semi v Rangers
That's a money-cant-buy feeling
You want to watch on TV?
Then accept you've missed out.
Get a ticket & get involved everyone, these are life's unmissable games & unmissable experiences
Absolutely. The semi win over Rangers is close to the best Hibs atmosphere I've been involved in. Carnage after every goal and Freed From Desire at the end had the place bouncing. Priceless.
19-03-2022, 01:21 PM
What stand did you go in?
North west corner - I thought you’d remember seeing as you bought them 😜
Steven79
19-03-2022, 01:22 PM
North west corner - I thought you’d remember seeing as you bought them [emoji12]You nearly didn't get in [emoji6]
19-03-2022, 01:24 PM
Tickets for the south stand upper won't go on sale until all other sections are sold out.
And if people don't buy tickets for the other sections while they wait for south stand upper tickets then it aint gonna sell out!
19-03-2022, 02:10 PM
Absolutely. The semi win over Rangers is close to the best Hibs atmosphere I've been involved in. Carnage after every goal and Freed From Desire at the end had the place bouncing. Priceless.
I thought that game was overrated.
We had a decent first half then the second half was a bit boring. It was a typical of Hibs under Jack Ross game, we never seemed to perform for the full 90 minutes.
:duck:
Steven79
19-03-2022, 03:00 PM
I thought that game was overrated.
We had a decent first half then the second half was a bit boring. It was a typical of Hibs under Jack Ross game, we never seemed to perform for the full 90 minutes.
:duck:
:greengrinBut that feeling at the end...
19-03-2022, 03:04 PM
O’Connor transfer caused massive discontent and cynicism and the Riordan injury was a blow. Hearts also won the psychological battle beforehand with all this Murrayfield stuff. Our board reacted in a whiny “I’m not sure…” way, we ought to have said ‘we will play those pricks anywhere.’
Then Zibi excelled himself and crushed us.
19-03-2022, 03:11 PM
O’Connor transfer caused massive discontent and cynicism and the Riordan injury was a blow. Hearts also won the psychological battle beforehand with all this Murrayfield stuff. Our board reacted in a whiny “I’m not sure…” way, we ought to have said ‘we will play those pricks anywhere.’
Then Zibi excelled himself and crushed us.
Very much this.
Tickets will be out this week?
With 20,000+ would straight to general sale be an idea? 😁
20-03-2022, 08:58 AM
I think it would, yes.
Despite how pish we are, the support still need to stand up here. Can’t moan if the team roll over if we do before a ball is kicked.
20-03-2022, 09:43 AM
I think it would, yes.
Despite how pish we are, the support still need to stand up here. Can’t moan if the team roll over if we do before a ball is kicked.
The support always stand up. It's down to the players not the fans. Blaming the fans if Hearts beat us rediculous.
LunasBoots
20-03-2022, 09:45 AM
Reckon as things stand we'll take about 15,000
20-03-2022, 10:25 AM
The support always stand up. It's down to the players not the fans. Blaming the fans if Hearts beat us rediculous.
Who’s doing that?
20-03-2022, 10:30 AM
The support always stand up. It's down to the players not the fans. Blaming the fans if Hearts beat us rediculous.You were calling the fans toxic last week. You ought to make your mind up.
20-03-2022, 02:40 PM
Unlimited number of tickets per ST holder is best way of selling as many as possible, but without totally sacrificing chances of ST holders getting the seats that they want.
20-03-2022, 02:43 PM
Unlimited number of tickets per ST holder is best way of selling as many as possible, but without totally sacrificing chances of ST holders getting the seats that they want.
How do you do this?
LunasBoots
20-03-2022, 02:46 PM
Nah then you just get a load of ST holders with too many tickets and trying to shift them on sites etc because someone or other let them down
20-03-2022, 02:48 PM
How do you do this?
Exactly as written, only ST holders able to buy in initial round, so better chance of desired seats than if its a free for all public sale, though obviously not as good a chance as if making it one per ST, much better chance of selling a decent number of allocation though.
20-03-2022, 03:01 PM
Exactly as written, only ST holders able to buy in initial round, so better chance of desired seats than if its a free for all public sale, though obviously not as good a chance as if making it one per ST, much better chance of selling a decent number of allocation though.
But it doesn't guarantee season ticket holders one of the best seats, if a non season ticket holder can get a better seat
Say 8000 or so season ticket holders get 1st dibs. We get 1/2 North, around 4,500 seats. South holds 17,000, although a bit is needed for capacity. All season tickets in best seats, job done
if 8,000 get offered a plus 1, 4000 or so season ticket holders may not get an option of a best season, a non can
Doesn't seem fair does it
20-03-2022, 03:06 PM
But it doesn't guarantee season ticket holders one of the best seats, if a non season ticket holder can get a better seat
Say 8000 or so season ticket holders get 1st dibs. We get 1/2 North, around 4,500 seats. South holds 17,000, although a bit is needed for capacity. All season tickets in best seats, job done
if 8,000 get offered a plus 1, 4000 or so season ticket holders may not get an option of a best season, a non can
Not all season ticket holders will want the best seats. There’ll be plenty who want to pay the cheaper prices behind the goals where there are still plenty good seats.
I don’t think we can be getting too precious about things for this one, we should do what is required to maximise the number of tickets we sell.
20-03-2022, 03:08 PM
Not all season ticket holders will want the best seats. There’ll be plenty who want to pay the cheaper prices behind the goals where there are still plenty good seats.
I don’t think we can be getting too precious about things for this one, we should do what is required to maximise the number of tickets we sell.
That’s their choice, but phase 1 should be season tickets holders only, for at least a couple of days, followed by whatever route Hibs decide to go
Shouldn’t be hard to implement
20-03-2022, 03:10 PM
Maybe it's just me Billy, but i'm just happy that i will get a ticket for the semi, this entitlement is getting right on my thrupnies. Christ we have folk saying they wont bother going if they cant get their favorite seat, it's just mind numbing to me.
I have mates who are laughing at this when i explain it to them.
20-03-2022, 03:11 PM
Maybe it's just me Billy, but i'm just happy that i will get a ticket for the semi, this entitlement is getting right on my thrupnies. Christ we have folk saying they wont bother going if they cant get their favorite seat, it's just mind numbing to me.
I have mates who are laughing at this when i explain it to them.
Yes you should get 1 ticket for the semi, and rightly so as a season ticket holder, but 2 tickets, not for me sorry
20-03-2022, 03:12 PM
That’s their choice, but phase 1 should be season tickets holders only, for at least a couple of days, followed by whatever route Hibs decide to go
Shouldn’t be hard to implement
We’ll all be guaranteed a seat as a season ticket holder but I just don’t think we can be getting too worked up about what seat that is. I’d open it up as much as possible right away because it’s a game where people will be going with different groups and will all want to sit together. Maximising sales is way more important on this occasion IMO.
20-03-2022, 06:22 PM
We’ll all be guaranteed a seat as a season ticket holder but I just don’t think we can be getting too worked up about what seat that is. I’d open it up as much as possible right away because it’s a game where people will be going with different groups and will all want to sit together. Maximising sales is way more important on this occasion IMO.
Correct, selling as many tickets as possible is most important thing, and everyone who want one will get one, and agree with Blackpoolhibs, does my head in too, bad seats this, bad seats that, some are better than others but you'd think half them faced away from pitch the way folk go on, was no such thing as a bad seat on 21/05/16 or any of the other memorable occasions I've attended at Hampden.
20-03-2022, 06:30 PM
Place is a dump not any good seats and everybody ends up standing
Paulie Walnuts
20-03-2022, 06:36 PM
You were calling the fans toxic last week. You ought to make your mind up.
‘Iwon’t be able to support our new manager regardless of who it is because he’s not Jack Ross’
‘Maloney should be sacked if he doesn’t beat Arbroath’
‘Maloney should be sacked if he doesn’t beat Ross County’
‘Only reason we didn’t lose to Motherwell is because they had 10 men’
Oh btw, all you guys are toxic :faf: