View Full Version : Semi Final draw - Hearts v Hibs
Pages :
[
8]
Jamesconnolly
08-04-2022, 06:45 PM
The hardcore fans will be there. That's good enough for me. Let's make sure we create a fantastic atmosphere. I missed the Rangers semi and am still gutted. No chance am I missing the chance to knock them out
Ray Donovan
08-04-2022, 07:08 PM
We will sell what we sell.
For me it will be very disappointing not to sell out but I'm going along with many others and I'll be backing the team to the hilt.
If we look at the bigger picture though what it does illustrate is the magnitude and importance of these fixtures. If we had had even one brilliant derby day at Hampden we would easily sell out.
Unfortunately the team have let the fans down horrifically at Hampden and like it or not these games stay with you.
Call these fans bottlers or s***ebags but when you lose in the fashion we have then some fans don't want to go.
Internally the club need to recognise this and it should be drilled into every player the importance of this fixture from the moment they walk through the door.
Anyway, I'm going to watch Hibs goals on YouTube in preparation for tomorrow and let's hope we smash them. We can worry about the semi next week.
08-04-2022, 07:43 PM
Twice I've seen us mauled at Hampden by them and it's tough going. I honestly don't blame folk for not wanting to feel like that again. But imagine missing us beating them. To me that outweighs the the thought of anything else. Just can't risk missing that.
08-04-2022, 07:44 PM
Is this chat of us giving hearts more tickets to sell true or just made up nonsense?
08-04-2022, 07:45 PM
Twice I've seen us mauled at Hampden by them and it's tough going. I honestly don't blame folk for not wanting to feel like that again. But imagine missing us beating them. To me that outweighs the the thought of anything else. Just can't risk missing that.
It's sport only one can win. These are the games which make it brilliant
He's here!
08-04-2022, 07:47 PM
To be fair folk complain all the time on here that going to Easter Road has been a tough task this season let alone to a semi in a different city - so not sure what fans were really expecting.
The expectation, mentality and quality of the player at the club has to improve - the also means the manager winning more games regularly - only that way will the crowds start to increase and believe again.
Seems the die hards / folk with blind loyalty are going to the semi final - many not even expecting a win.
Many other Hibs (die hards / casual / part time) fans who don't think it's worth the £ or hassle are clearly staying away. Call them soft / scared / fed up - probably a mixture but that's the reality and only the playing side / owners and manager can change this over time with results on the pitch getting everyone pulling in same direction.
Good post. More absolutely has to come from the club if we're ever to move away from an occasional good season or two followed by lengthy spells of mediocrity. I genuinely believe Ron Gordon DOES want to change it, having seen what the potential of the club can be, but doing so is probably proving a more perplexing job than he thought.
Easy enough to say you should shell out, roll up and support the club through thick and thin but too many of us have seen this movie play out too many times to feel that the current team really merit such commitment. I find it hard to think of a team which in all my years as a Hibs fan fills me with so little optimism that they might surprise us. There's a flatness to the club right now which is more frustrating than even some of the drabbest days of the past because there appears to be no discernable rationale for it.
Lee Marvin
08-04-2022, 07:48 PM
Good post. More absolutely has to come from the club if we're ever to move away from an occasional good season or two followed by lengthy spells of mediocrity. I genuinely believe Ron Gordon DOES want to change it, having seen what the potential of the club can be, but doing so is probably proving a more perplexing job than he thought.
Easy enough to say you should shell out, roll up and support the club through thick and thin but too many of us have seen this movie play out too many times to feel that the current team really merit such commitment. I find it hard to think of a team which in all my years as a Hibs fan fills me with so little optimism that they might surprise us. There's a flatness to the club right now which is more frustrating than even some of the drabbest days of the past because there appears to be no discernable rationale for it.
Top post this
08-04-2022, 07:48 PM
Is this chat of us giving hearts more tickets to sell true or just made up nonsense?
I don’t think we e handed any tickets to them, they’ll have got tickets out of the hospitality sections in the south upper.
LunasBoots
08-04-2022, 07:52 PM
Nah they sold 19k, it will just be the remaining allocation going on sale, just playing to there supporters.
davhibby
08-04-2022, 07:52 PM
Made up nonsense. They’ll be getting the unsold debentures in the South
08-04-2022, 07:56 PM
Word for word how I feel. There's a huge disconnect for me right now. I think is because the season started with such optimism and it went totally pear shaped. Feel a bit flat about the whole thing even though we are in a semi. Massive opportunity for the players to reignite something in these next two games though. There has been a lot of emotional energy in released in this season so far. I've seen worse Hibs teams of course but it's been a tough old season.
08-04-2022, 08:01 PM
I'm going and I don't care if hearts have more fans there and to the hibs fans calling other hibs fans Allisorts for not going get a life for all they know some may have a valid reason for not attending
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
If they have a ‘valid reason’, (finances, distance with the ridiculous KO time, work, family, health etc etc) then nobody is criticising. It’s the *****bags that are feert of a Hearts win that are, well, *****bags.
stuart-farquhar
08-04-2022, 08:04 PM
Hibs have a relatively modest core support. However we have a very large number of occasional supporters which is why we dissapoint with attendences in the tougher games and have thousands more for the more winnable games. Other clubs seemingly more balanced between the two. My view of course after 60 years plus of attending.
If we win this game, it'll probably go down as the 2nd best win since I started watching Hibs 30 odd years ago.
Fans not wanting to be there through choice is mind boggling.
08-04-2022, 08:51 PM
Do both clubs not get 22k to sell with 8k to debentures and SFA members.
Todays Hertz statement is just cleverly worded to appear that they have ‘fought hard’ to secure tickets that they already have access to.
Fair play if they have sold out their allocation, all the more sweeter when we turn them over.
08-04-2022, 08:52 PM
Why are people so fussed by whether strangers are going to a match or not? Thats perplexing and mind boggling to me.
Why does it really matter?
Ironically, I think some people are scared at what we might look like to Hearts. Again, who cares? Has their "big" team rubbish warped people's minds or something?
08-04-2022, 09:00 PM
Why are people so fussed by whether strangers are going to a match or not? Thats perplexing and mind boggling to me.
Why does it really matter?
Ironically, I think some people are scared at what we might look like to Hearts. Again, who cares? Has there "big" team rubbish warped people's minds or something?
It’s surely no that difficult to understand that some people just think a full Hibs end might give the team a lift whereas empty sections might not? On the flip side the Hearts players might get a boost looking at their full end and our empty sections. Straight away, it’ll give their players the feeling it means more to them IMO.
08-04-2022, 09:15 PM
It’s surely no that difficult to understand that some people just think a full Hibs end might give the team a lift whereas empty sections might not? On the flip side the Hearts players might get a boost looking at their full end and our empty sections. Straight away, it’ll give their players the feeling it means more to them IMO.
Surely it is just as understandable to argue the opposite? How many times have Hibs fans turned up en masse to see the team not turn up?
Fully understand why people might want more to turn up but the name calling and the criticism is a bit tiresome. Hardly going to encourage what they call for either. Inspire positive action through negativity...
Hard-core making a rousing call to the "fair weather" fans by pointing out they're a "fair weather" fan...
08-04-2022, 09:30 PM
The ****houses who have been so bloody negative for months in fact even longer, have now got their cummupance, they have scunnered that many folk with their misery that folk have just given up and the crowd at hampden will be a direct result of their misery.
Rather than backing the club through a bad run, we now cant wait to get the boot in, this is the result.
08-04-2022, 09:33 PM
Lots of people claiming not to care about this but you can bet if it was the other way round we would be revelling in it.
It’s pretty pathetic not being able to get close to selling this out imo and hearts fans will rightly rip the pish out of those of us with the bollocks to attend.
Absolutely bang on mate and th.at's what's so bloody ironic about it .... the ones who are actually showing the very least of basic loyalty expected from a fitba fan ... IE turning up to support your team in a huge derby match ... are the ones who will have to stand and listen to the Hearts fans mocking us ( rightly mocking us ) for the number of pathetic so called 'fans' who have decided to cush out of this.
A far from full end v Rangers in the league cup semi? Hibs won. Number of fans at either end of the pitch has zero influence.
It’s a game of football mind, a team could get a man sent off after 15mins. It’ll be something like that that will matter more than bums on seats.
08-04-2022, 09:35 PM
Surely it is just as understandable to argue the opposite? How many times have Hibs fans turned up en masse to see the team not turn up?
Fully understand why people might want more to turn up but the name calling and the criticism is a bit tiresome. Hardly going to encourage what they call for either. Inspire positive action through negativity...
Hard-core making a rousing call to the "fair weather" fans by pointing out they're a "fair weather" fan...
Na, I just don’t get it for this game. Hibs will play very few games, ever, that are bigger than this. I totally get that some people can’t go, but the amount of people just deciding not to go is a different story.
Doesn’t matter what anybody says on here, or anywhere else, we know that’s not what is going to inspire folk to go. Only a win tomorrow has a chance of doing that.
Silky
08-04-2022, 09:35 PM
A full Easter Road doesn't seem to give the team a lift.
08-04-2022, 09:41 PM
A far from full end v Rangers in the league cup semi? Hibs won. Number of fans at either end of the pitch has zero influence.
It’s a game of football mind, a team could get a man sent off after 15mins. It’ll be something like that that will matter more than bums on seats.
It’s not comparative. Everyone in the world knows Rangers will outnumber us given the chance. We never had the chance to match their support in that game and never would anyway.
This is a semi final, against our biggest rivals, and an element of our support can’t be bothered. It’s not just about the numbers, we’ll be outnumbered about 4 to 1 tomorrow but we’ve done our bit in terms of selling our allocation.
Arnie
08-04-2022, 09:42 PM
Everybody knows it’s no surprise we are not selling out for this semi final. This doesn’t matter really. All that matters is the important Hibs fans who always go to semi finals and back the team 100% are going. Give me atmosphere at league cup semi final any day against Rangers
08-04-2022, 09:45 PM
It’s been full once all season, in the derby, and the team responded when many expected us to get a doing. We weren’t great but they put in a proper shift that night.
08-04-2022, 09:51 PM
Absolutely bang on mate and th.at's what's so bloody ironic about it .... the ones who are actually showing the very least of basic loyalty expected from a fitba fan ... IE turning up to support your team in a huge derby match ... are the ones who will have to stand and listen to the Hearts fans mocking us ( rightly mocking us ) for the number of pathetic so called 'fans' who have decided to cush out of this.
The fans that will be there can't be mocked. They are doing all they can do by going.
08-04-2022, 09:51 PM
Everybody knows it’s no surprise we are not selling out for this semi final. This doesn’t matter really. All that matters is the important Hibs fans who always go to semi finals and back the team 100% are going. Give me atmosphere at league cup semi final any day against Rangers
Aye, well if that's the case we will have about 6,000 there because that's about as many who turned up to a league cup semi final on a Saturday at 5;30 before Covid hit. I'll probably never forget it walking into the stadium looking at the almost full east stand and thinking 'ach well this isn't a bad turnout' only to then realise that the fuller side of the east stand was actually Celtic supporters and our support was bloody tiny. It made me totally dispirited before the game even kicked off, F knows what it did to our players .... it doesn't matter if they are professionals, it must have affected them.
08-04-2022, 10:04 PM
Why would a full Hibs end in a derby not have a better atmosphere in the semi final than the rangers one? It’s not one or the other, it can be both. We’re two games away from group stage European football and our fans look like they can’t be arsed.
08-04-2022, 10:06 PM
Anyone who CAN go and is choosing not to is an absolute disgrace.
Imagine being a player and running out to empty seats in the Hibs end again. Embarrassing.
The players run out to empty seats in the home end at Easter Road
Arnie
08-04-2022, 10:16 PM
Why would a full Hibs end in a derby not have a better atmosphere in the semi final than the rangers one? It’s not one or the other, it can be both. We’re two games away from group stage European football and our fans look like they can’t be arsed.
Personally I think even if we were on form and riding high playing great we still wouldn’t sell out. Just seems for semi finals we never sell out. Not sure why really. For me I can’t wait for semi final as Jambos to cocky and think we’ll do them 2-1
Mcbizz1998
08-04-2022, 10:37 PM
The fans that will be there can't be mocked. They are doing all they can do by going.
No, we can’t personally be mocked.
But the club we love can be - when those mutants point out that we don’t have enough fans who care enough about the club to turn out for one of the biggest games in our history.
They will start that ***** from minute one and we will have nothing to respond with.
08-04-2022, 10:46 PM
Ron Gordon can’t be happy at poor sales as it could be construed as a vote of no confidence in where we are currently at as a team and the lack of progress made after the January window
HendoDelivered
08-04-2022, 10:53 PM
It’s been full once all season, in the derby, and the team responded when many expected us to get a doing. We weren’t great but they put in a proper shift that night.
This. Crowd was class that night and played its part.
08-04-2022, 11:01 PM
When is it ever full like? :confused:
08-04-2022, 11:02 PM
Personally I think even if we were on form and riding high playing great we still wouldn’t sell out. Just seems for semi finals we never sell out. Not sure why really. For me I can’t wait for semi final as Jambos to cocky and think we’ll do them 2-1
Exactly. We support a fairly mediocre football team, so when huge moments like this come along, I can’t quite fathom why you wouldn’t do all you can to be there. It’s literally these moments we live for.
08-04-2022, 11:02 PM
But the club we love can be - when those mutants point out that we don’t have enough fans who care enough about the club to turn out for one of the biggest games in our history.
They will start that ***** from minute one and we will have nothing to respond with.
You have to develop a thicker skin pal. Hearts fans can be mocked for being cardigan wearing, volvo driving, tory voting, bungalow dwelling speccy bellends. We can also respond back if the team does the business, if not then the moment the game finishes you erase the game from your memory and don't read a paper, watch the game or view anything on social media. If you have a ticket for the game, you've done your bit.
Ron Gordon can’t be happy at poor sales as it could be construed as a vote of no confidence in where we are currently at as a team and the lack of progress made after the January window
:agree::agree::agree:
09-04-2022, 12:38 AM
Eh, what?
What are you basing that on?
09-04-2022, 01:02 AM
Who cares though? We’re not going to convince more people to buy tickets because hearts fans might sing a song at us if they don’t go.
May21/05/216
09-04-2022, 02:44 AM
The ****houses who have been so bloody negative for months in fact even longer, have now got their cummupance, they have scunnered that many folk with their misery that folk have just given up and the crowd at hampden will be a direct result of their misery.
Rather than backing the club through a bad run, we now cant wait to get the boot in, this is the result.Well said I totally agree
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
09-04-2022, 05:17 AM
Rather than backing the club through a bad run, we now cant wait to get the boot in, this is the result.
Not sure how it is their comeuppance? Are you genuinely saying that our attendance at Hampden is a direct result of negative (in your opinion) people on here and elsewhere? That is ridiculous.
Thats like saying its not your fault for not attending its because of some random (negative) person(s) on .net.
Our poor season, boring football, and people falling out of touch with Hibs is directly responsible for what our attendance will be at Hampden.
People have families and commitments. Give us peace with this call to arms rubbish and finger pointing around why people aren't turning up.
09-04-2022, 05:54 AM
Aye, well if that's the case we will have about 6,000 there because that's about as many who turned up to a league cup semi final on a Saturday at 5;30 before Covid hit. I'll probably never forget it walking into the stadium looking at the almost full east stand and thinking 'ach well this isn't a bad turnout' only to then realise that the fuller side of the east stand was actually Celtic supporters and our support was bloody tiny. It made me totally dispirited before the game even kicked off, F knows what it did to our players .... it doesn't matter if they are professionals, it must have affected them.
There were about 9-10k there, we had half the West and some of the South
09-04-2022, 06:27 AM
Was the poor sales against Hearts for the semi in 2006 a vote of no confidence in the club at the time with our “golden generation” and managed by Mowbray? No it was just a large % of our support *****ing themselves as it is now.
09-04-2022, 06:44 AM
Fu@£ the Hertz
09-04-2022, 06:54 AM
As far as some of us are concerned the club we love are the world's greatest, none greater. Not the most successful, but the greatest, it's always disappointing to be reminded that not all supporters view Hibernian FC in the same way, timid souls disappearing when the club plays one of the biggest games in its history because they are scared they will see us lose! Unfortunately that timidity, almost embarrassment, seems to run through the support at the moment, whether its the complete lack of atmosphere at ER, allowing feeble away supports to take the p***, or Hampden ticket sales.
Chorley Hibee
09-04-2022, 06:57 AM
32 tickets left in the Hearts end, circa 5,000 in our end.
Piss poor effort from a proportion of our so called support.
09-04-2022, 07:00 AM
32 tickets left in the Hearts end, circa 5,000 in our end.
Piss poor effort from a proportion of our so called support.
It is, hopefully we win today to encourage a few more out from hiding under their duvets and to remind them that we're not playing Real Madrid next week.
09-04-2022, 07:06 AM
I’ve said for years we have actually a pretty good support considering the number of games the fans have been let down.
Not many other clubs would bring such large numbers to games if they had went through what many Hibs fans have witnessed.
But I go back to my original posts on this thread - it’s not the fans fault here. The club have let the fans down with awful summer and poor winter recruitment meaning we may not get into top 6 and we have hardly won any games this season.
Currently having a single 19 year old striker as the main striker and no back up is ridiculous situation to be in and you wonder why folk aren’t happy with what’s going on.
09-04-2022, 07:17 AM
Some disgraceful words used to describe fellow fans on here.
We'll end up with a smaller fan base the way people are going.
Timid souls, hiding under the duvet...Jesus maybe people just can't afford to go, are working, worried about Covid or just have a prearranged commitment.
There's an element of our support that genuinely will celebrate a win next week and glout in the faces of those that didn't turn up. Is that a positive? Guess it will be to them as they see themselves as the positive camp, the uber fans, the better people...
Get a grip. Go to the game, support the team and celebrate the win with every Hibs fan.
09-04-2022, 07:25 AM
Timid souls, hiding under the duvet...Jesus maybe people just can't afford to go, are working, worried about Covid or just have a prearranged commitment.
There's an element of our support that genuinely will celebrate a win next week and glout in the faces of those that didn't turn up. Is that a positive? Guess it will be to them as they see themselves as the positive camp, the uber fans, the better people...
Get a grip. Go to the game, support the team and celebrate the win with every Hibs fan.
I think most people have been clear they aren't having a go at those who are in financial difficulty, have health concerns or whatever else. The ire is aimed at those who can go but are choosing not to support their club when it needs them. Rightly so.
09-04-2022, 07:27 AM
We’ll end up with a smaller fan base the way the football has been going, nothing to do with a few internet posts.
I do agree that there will be folk more interested in getting one up on folk who haven’t going or folk who have been criticising (I remember when we beat Rangers in the semi there was a GIRUY thread dedicated to the folk who had been moaning about Jack Ross).
It’s been covered loads but we all know there are plenty of folk who just don’t want to go. I suppose it might just be bad luck and the Hearts support could all have more money, more of them have managed to get the day off, less are concerned about Covid and less of them have pre arranged commitments?
Let’s just hope for a win today to boost everyone, players and support.
09-04-2022, 07:31 AM
I think most people have been clear they aren't having a go at those who are in financial difficulty, have health concerns or whatever else. The ire is aimed at those who can go but are choosing not to support their club when it needs them. Rightly so.
What is deemed a viable excuse though? Someone with health concerns could conceivably go?
Aimed at people that are almost impossible to categorise and distinguish.
Think people are just venting because they don't like Hearts "acquiring" more tickets while we still have some to sell. Don't think they are using any type of aiming. Think it's them and us stuff, those who are going and those that are hiding under duvets.
09-04-2022, 07:33 AM
I’ve said for years we have actually a pretty good support considering the number of games the fans have been let down.
Not many other clubs would bring such large numbers to games if they had went through what many Hibs fans have witnessed.
But I go back to my original posts on this thread - it’s not the fans fault here. The club have let the fans down with awful summer and poor winter recruitment meaning we may not get into top 6 and we have hardly won any games this season.
Every club out with the Old Firm and St Johnstone are starved of success but compared to Hearts we have won both cups more recently than them. They’ve also lost 2 Scottish cup finals and been relegated in the last 3 years so we can hardly claim a monopoly on disappointment.
Currently having a single 19 year old striker as the main striker and no back up is ridiculous situation to be in and you wonder why folk aren’t happy with what’s going on.
Another measly excuse for people not turning up when tickets went on sale in the days after said striker scored a double in a man of the match performance to get us to this stage.
09-04-2022, 07:34 AM
I can't go, but I'll make the final at least.
For those who can go, but aren't... that's their call. I don't see any validity in calling someone names for deciding not to go to a football game. :dunno:
09-04-2022, 07:40 AM
Every club out with the Old Firm and St Johnstone are starved of success but compared to Hearts we have won both cups more recently than them. They’ve also lost 2 Scottish cup finals and been relegated in the last 3 years so we can hardly claim a monopoly on disappointment.
Another measly excuse for people not turning up when tickets went on sale in the days after said striker scored a double in a man of the match performance to get us to this stage.
Couldn't agree more on both points
09-04-2022, 07:42 AM
What is deemed a viable excuse though? Someone with health concerns could conceivably go?
Aimed at people that are almost impossible to categorise and distinguish.
Think people are just venting because they don't like Hearts "acquiring" more tickets while we still have some to sell. Don't think they are using any type of aiming. Think it's them and us stuff, those who are going and those that are hiding under duvets.
Clearly aimed at people that can't be ersed not that difficult. You genuinely think people are having a go at folk not going who have health issues.
09-04-2022, 07:49 AM
Clearly aimed at people that can't be ersed not that difficult. You genuinely think people are having a go at folk not going who have health issues.
Well yes, I dont think people care who they are having a go at. They are on a fans forum throwing around names aimlessly so I would assume they couldnt care less.
One suggestion was our attendance at Hampden was directly linked to those that are negative. Pretty sure people are using a Tommy gun for their criticism, no precision or aiming whatsoever.
As I said, those that are going ("good guys"), those that aren't ("bad guys"). Those that wanted Jack Ross to stay ("good guys"), those that wanted a change ("bad guys"). Polarised and unreasonable, always.
09-04-2022, 07:51 AM
I can't go, but I'll make the final at least.
For those who can go, but aren't... that's their call. I don't see any validity in calling someone names for deciding not to go to a football game. :dunno:
Couldn’t agree more…..
I’ve got mates who aren’t going as they simply don’t want to. Not sure what their plans are but I suspect they’ll watch it in the pub or something. Same people would pish themselves laughing if they were told they weren’t real fans, not in an ironic way, I’m just pretty sure they couldn’t care either way what strangers they’ve never met before think of them. These guys also bought season tickets during covid with little prospect of seeing their team by the way.
To some people Hibs just aren’t as important as they are to other people. If someone doesn’t think they’ll enjoy themselves I can perfectly understand why they wouldn’t bother with the best part of a £100 day out especially when they’ll still enjoy it if we win regardless of where they watch it.
Each to their own and i just hope all Hibs fans have a brilliant day next Saturday, regardless of where they watch the game.
09-04-2022, 07:52 AM
Well yes, I dont think people care who they are having a go at. They are on a fans forum throwing around names aimlessly so I would assume they couldnt care less.
One suggestion was our attendance at Hampden was directly linked to those that are negative. Pretty sure people are using a Tommy gun for their criticism, no precision or aiming whatsoever.
As I said, those that are going ("good guys"), those that aren't ("bad guys"). Those that wanted Jack Ross to stay ("good guys"), those that wanted a change ("bad guys"). Polarised and unreasonable, always.
Don't agree with that summary to be honest
09-04-2022, 07:54 AM
The simplest way to look at it is Celtic, Hearts, Hibs and Rangers could be conceivably described as the 4 biggest clubs in Scotland, albeit Aberdeen might have something to say about that. 3 of them will sell out Hampden with relative ease whilst one will have 5-6K empty seats. I can't imagine Rangers fans are particularly happy with how their domestic season has gone but they could have sold out 3 times over.
People don't like fellow fans being called out. Fine. I don't like the fact that we will have a lesser support for our 2nd biggest game of the season. And I don't like people I know proudly declaring they aren't going because the 'team/club don't deserve it', 'we'll get humped anyway' or 'I can't watch us lose to them again'. It's a weak mentality that deserves to be called out.
Chorley Hibee
09-04-2022, 08:01 AM
I wouldn't disagree with any of that, I'm the first to criticise the club on their shortcomings, but I honestly believe that occasions such as this supersede any perceived arguments you have with the club as a whole.
A Scottish Cup semi-final against your bitter rivals, it doesn't come much bigger for a Hibs fan, and if you don't want to be a part of that then you're not a supporter in my eyes.
09-04-2022, 08:06 AM
Don't agree with that summary to be honest
Refer you to a post just made. "Not a supporter in my eyes". If you don't think people are polarised and unreasonable then I don't think we'll ever agree.
What if someone had a choice to sit with relatives or friends (who won't be going) to watch the match or go in person? Does one need to hand in a permission slip or are they simply not a supporter?
Chorley Hibee
09-04-2022, 08:11 AM
Refer you to a post just made. "Not a supporter in my eyes". If you don't think people are polarised and unreasonable then I don't think we'll ever agree.
What if someone had a choice to sit with relatives or friends (who won't be going) to watch the match or go in person? Does one need to hand in a permission slip or are they simply not a supporter?
I'm sorry, but someone who is able to attend one of the biggest Hibs games in history, and chooses not to, through no other choice than not being arsed or worried about losing, isn't a supporter in my eyes.
It's the very definition of being unsupportive I'd say.
09-04-2022, 08:11 AM
Yep. How many times does this need reiterated.
Anyone no going out of choice or for fear of getting beat is a piss poor supporter and a complete part timer.
09-04-2022, 08:18 AM
I'm sorry, but someone who is able to attend one of the biggest Hibs games in history, and chooses not to, through no other choice than not being arsed or worried about losing, isn't a supporter in my eyes.
It isn't as black and white as that and you know it. Factors and all that.
What are acceptable reasons for not going? If it is health, do we get a doctor to do an examination to prove validity? Short on funds, get a bank balance?
Criticising people you know fair enough but applying same logic to everyone makes no sense.
We do not have 5000 people scared of Hearts so aren't bothering going.
09-04-2022, 08:22 AM
Can we not just save this thread, lock it and the admins can simply change the title each big game. Save the hassle of the same circular debate being had.
I know it’s the internet and people must have an opinion on everything but surely it’s as simple, and always has been, go if you can and you want to go. Don’t fret about what strangers choose to do with their own time and money.
Chorley Hibee
09-04-2022, 08:24 AM
It isn't as black and white as that and you know it. Factors and all that.
What are acceptable reasons for not going? If it is health, do we get a doctor to do an examination to prove validity? Short on funds, get a bank balance?
Criticising people you know fair enough but applying same logic to everyone makes no sense.
We do not have 5000 people scared of Hearts so aren't bothering going.
Sorry, it's just excuses at the end of the day.
I don't believe we've more fans suffering health issues, or more suffering financially, than Hearts, or any other club for that matter.
We've become accustomed to this never ending list of excuses, but they never seem to impact other clubs as much as our own.
Watch all these issues suddenly disappear should we win today/next week.
09-04-2022, 08:24 AM
09-04-2022, 08:26 AM
Hibs Hampden and Derby record really doesn’t help here and Hibs fans have had many unforgettable Hampden let downs in the last 30 years.
That’s just fact and the past players and managers etc of the club are to blame as it’s had a knock of effect. We all know what happened when a team gets relegated then promoted you do get a promotion boost plus the siege mentally Hearts developed after they were relegated.
Hibs fans attending just need to get behind the team and try persuade others to attend who are sitting on the fence for the game.
As much as I like Melkersen - he has a lot of expectation now on his shoulders. I haven’t met one Hibs fan happy with our striker options. Goals win games and it’s ridiculous the money fans pay for tickets and we have found ourselves in this situation after last season.
SON OF PADDY
09-04-2022, 08:29 AM
Do both clubs not get 22k to sell with 8k to debentures and SFA members.
Todays Hertz statement is just cleverly worded to appear that they have ‘fought hard’ to secure tickets that they already have access to.
Fair play if they have sold out their allocation, all the more sweeter when we turn them over.
It's disappointing that we can't seem to sellout all our allocation,but if hearts do so what?
The only consolation for me,is knowing that they'll be a lot more of them hurting badly after we pump them oot the cup!
Mon the hibees 🇳🇬 🇳🇬
09-04-2022, 08:34 AM
It’s just not as simple as that. There will be fans who have been home and away all season who may not go. Everyone has different circumstances and reasons for not attending.
There will be fans who have hardly been to games this season going to Hampden - the same with the day trippers in the Hearts support.
Looking at the sales they were similar to general sale and since then seems Hearts have sold more - many Hibs day trippers / fans / part time fans / glory hunters obviously not interested.
09-04-2022, 08:37 AM
Since you've quoted a phrase that I've used I'm assuming this is partly aimed at me.
I really didn't think I would need to do this as I thought it was pretty clear but for the benefit of anyone who may not have understood, I am not, never have done, nor will I ever have a go at someone who's not going to a Hibs game because they can't afford to go, are working, worried about Covid or just have a prearranged commitment!
However the vast difference in ticket sales between us and Hearts suggests that none of those reasons you have provided are an explanation for why most of the 5,000 or so seats which currently lie unsold in the Hibs end are going to be vacant at 12:15pm next Saturday - unless of course you think that there's far higher numbers of Hibs fans who can't afford to go, are working, worried about Covid or just have a prearranged commitment compared with the Hearts fanbase.
So no I'm not having a go at anyone who won't be there next week because they can't afford to go, are working, worried about Covid or just have a prearranged commitment and the suggestion that I (or anyone else on this thread for that matter) think that is ridiculous.
Nor will I, in the event of a Hibs victory, gloat in the face of anyone who doesn't turn up because they can't afford to go, are working, worried about Covid or just have a prearranged commitment.
For the (in my opinion) majority of the 5,000 people who won't be there next week to support the club because they just can't be arsed in case we might lose - yes I am having a go at such people and I think that is justified. It's a Scottish Cup semi final against the club they claim to support's biggest rivals for a place in another cup final.
If you can't get yourself up for that sort of game then I'm afraid you're following the wrong sport.
09-04-2022, 08:41 AM
Since you've quoted a phrase that I've used I'm assuming this is partly aimed at me.
I really didn't think I would need to do this as I thought it was pretty clear but for the benefit of anyone who may not have understood, I am not, never have done, nor will I ever have a go at someone who's not going to a Hibs game because they can't afford to go, are working, worried about Covid or just have a prearranged commitment!
However the vast difference in ticket sales between us and Hearts suggests that none of those reasons you have provided are an explanation for why most of the 5,000 or so seats which currently lie unsold in the Hibs end are going to be vacant at 12:15pm next Saturday - unless of course you think that there's far higher numbers of Hibs fans who can't afford to go, are working, worried about Covid or just have a prearranged commitment compared with the Hearts fanbase.
So no I'm not having a go at anyone who won't be there next week because they can't afford to go, are working, worried about Covid or just have a prearranged commitment and the suggestion that I (or anyone else on this thread for that matter) think that is ridiculous.
Nor will I, in the event of a Hibs victory, gloat in the face of anyone who doesn't turn up because they can't afford to go, are working, worried about Covid or just have a prearranged commitment.
For the (in my opinion) majority of the 5,000 people who won't be there next week to support the club because they just can't be arsed in case we might lose - yes I am having a go at such people and I think that is justified. It's a Scottish Cup semi final against the club they claim to support's biggest rivals for a place in another cup final.
If you can't get yourself up for that sort of game then I'm afraid you're following the wrong sport.
Get ready to post this again shortly when someone comes along to tell us all about folk no being able to afford it, are working, scared of covid or have other commitments
The folk who don’t want to go in case we get beat are *****bags. Simple
09-04-2022, 08:44 AM
Hibs Hampden and Derby record really doesn’t help here and Hibs fans have had many unforgettable Hampden let downs in the last 30 years.
That’s just fact and the past players and managers etc of the club are to blame as it’s had a knock of effect. We all know what happened when a team gets relegated then promoted you do get a promotion boost plus the siege mentally Hearts developed after they were relegated.
Hibs fans attending just need to get behind the team and try persuade others to attend who are sitting on the fence for the game.
As much as I like Melkersen - he has a lot of expectation now on his shoulders. I haven’t met one Hibs fan happy with our striker options. Goals win games and it’s ridiculous the money fans pay for tickets and we have found ourselves in this situation after last season.
You do realise Doidge and Nisbet are injured
09-04-2022, 08:45 AM
Get ready to post this again shortly when someone comes along to tell us all about folk no being able to afford it, are working, scared of covid or have other commitments
The folk who don’t want to go in case we get beat are *****bags. Simple
I like the insinuation you've made there. Classy stuff. Glad I'm not going with a decent portion of people on here anyway. Name calling while they've got their knickers in a twist over who's going.
Anyway, focus on today's game now.
09-04-2022, 08:49 AM
I like the insinuation you've made there. Classy stuff. Glad I'm not going with a decent portion of people on here anyway. Name calling while they've got their knickers in a twist over who's going.
Anyway, focus on today's game now.
There’s no insinuation. If you aren’t going because you think we will get beat then my post applies to you. If it’s not that reason then don’t worry about it
09-04-2022, 08:50 AM
The simplest way to look at it is Celtic, Hearts, Hibs and Rangers could be conceivably described as the 4 biggest clubs in Scotland, albeit Aberdeen might have something to say about that. 3 of them will sell out Hampden with relative ease whilst one will have 5-6K empty seats. I can't imagine Rangers fans are particularly happy with how their domestic season has gone but they could have sold out 3 times over.
People don't like fellow fans being called out. Fine. I don't like the fact that we will have a lesser support for our 2nd biggest game of the season. And I don't like people I know proudly declaring they aren't going because the 'team/club don't deserve it', 'we'll get humped anyway' or 'I can't watch us lose to them again'. It's a weak mentality that deserves to be called out.
Absolutely spot on
09-04-2022, 09:00 AM
Couldn’t agree more…..
I’ve got mates who aren’t going as they simply don’t want to. Not sure what their plans are but I suspect they’ll watch it in the pub or something. Same people would pish themselves laughing if they were told they weren’t real fans, not in an ironic way, I’m just pretty sure they couldn’t care either way what strangers they’ve never met before think of them. These guys also bought season tickets during covid with little prospect of seeing their team by the way.
To some people Hibs just aren’t as important as they are to other people. If someone doesn’t think they’ll enjoy themselves I can perfectly understand why they wouldn’t bother with the best part of a £100 day out especially when they’ll still enjoy it if we win regardless of where they watch it.
Each to their own and i just hope all Hibs fans have a brilliant day next Saturday, regardless of where they watch the game.
In a nutshell :agree:
Jdawg
09-04-2022, 09:21 AM
Couldn’t agree more…..
Aye real fans right enough. Not going to the game but will watch it the pub 😂😂😂. Others will be pissing themselves laughing at them saying they are. Do doubt they will all be going to the final if we make it.
Mrimbetween
09-04-2022, 09:22 AM
Mate just posted this , not much i could say in reply
patch that
09-04-2022, 09:32 AM
Aye real fans right enough. Not going to the game but will watch it the pub 😂😂😂. Others will be pissing themselves laughing at them saying they are. Do doubt they will all be going to the final if we make it.
Hope so
RossScott1991
09-04-2022, 09:37 AM
Usually try not to get too hung up on ticket sales / support etc
But a semi final vs your fierce rivals at hampden which doesn’t come along too often. You should really be selling out regardless of how the team is playing.
Reality is as one to scotlands “bigger” clubs we have a poorer fan base than others. The game sells itself
He's here!
09-04-2022, 09:42 AM
It's the fact we ARE one of the biggest clubs in Scotland that partly contributes to the decision by many to give next weekend a miss IMHO. If we were a plucky underdog making a once in a blue moon Scottish Cup semi-final appearance then fans would be going along not just to support their team but to make the most of an all-too rare big day out. Hibs, on the other hand, have a remarkable cup record over the last 20 years or so when it comes to reaching the latter stages of tournaments, but there seems to be an 'ach, well' mentality about the club when we fail to capitalise on so many of these opportunities. Last year's Scottish Cup final defeat to St Johnstone (albeit with no fans allowed) encapsulated this.
If we want to be taken seriously as contenders the club's mentality needs to shift because only in rare bursts (under McLeish and Lennon) have we conveyed a toughness, a sense that other clubs might be a bit fearful of playing us (witness the way the Tornadoes talk about the derby on the 7-0 video or David Gray saying 'Yes!' when he hears we've drawn Hearts in the cup). All too often though we regress rapidly and paddle around aimlessly for a few years. Personally I've finally become fed up of that cycle and with other commitments, particularly family, now taking precedence I pick and choose my games. The long Covid-enforced absence of fans affected me far less than I expected and if Hibs didn't run in my blood I'll be honest and say I probably wouldn't go at all. I certainly no longer have any interest in football games that don't involve Hibs. My kids all play others sports and I find it immeasurably more rewarding going to watch them and help out at their clubs than watching the current Hibs team.
I'll always love Hibs and will always regard myself as a fan. However, the type of fan I am these days just doesn't fancy the financial and emotional investment of a trip to watch a team which IMHO falls way short of the standard we should aspire to. Yes, I think we'll get beat but I don't 'fear' that. I just find the grim near-inevitability of it depressing and, frankly, unacceptable for a club of our supposed standing. I don't buy the 'thick and thin' mantra any more and think fans are entitled to vote with their feet until there's a sense the club understand their expectations better.
09-04-2022, 09:43 AM
582 tickets available for sale, they are going down but slowly. Hopefully a good result today will help
09-04-2022, 09:52 AM
This fir me
09-04-2022, 09:59 AM
I'm staying out of the definition of who is or isn't a good fan / bad fan as applied to this particular semi. My mates already got us tickets.
Form over the best part of a season and sometimes longer does unfortunately influence crowds up and down, Hearts are getting better results than us and that should help their casual/floating/day trippers support, the expectation of winning,as favourites, is a factor to. As an example, this is a support that couldn't sell out a semi in their own city at Easter Road. There's a number of factors that push folk to just take a break from the effects of a bad run or deteriorating relationship with their team.They become disillusioned, it rarely lasts.
09-04-2022, 10:07 AM
Which hints at a more fundamental underlying issue for the Club going forward . if we don’t get this summer transfer window right it’s going to be a long hard seasonTime will tell be we are pinning a lot of hope in an inexperienced manager to turn this around
And we really need to be avoiding if signing players with a history of injury it’s partly killed this season Although how unlucky to have Nisbet and Doidge both get serious injuries and fir Doidge to not yet recover to be the player he was
09-04-2022, 10:09 AM
You do realise Doidge and Nisbet are injured
Yeah - you aware goals win games?
We should have a minimum of 4 strikers ever season let alone a European season and one where Doidge was coming back from an Achilles snap.
09-04-2022, 10:22 AM
We should have a minimum of 4 strikers ever season let alone a European season and one where Doidge was coming back from an Achilles snap.
Lol
09-04-2022, 10:27 AM
Why would we have 4 strikers when we only play 1? Would you have 4 left backs?
3 strikers is plenty, that isn't the issue. You cannot account for 2 players in every position getting injured. We have 3 strikers, all of whom cost us fees of 6 figures.
09-04-2022, 10:34 AM
3 strikers is plenty, that isn't the issue. You cannot account for 2 players in every position getting injured. We have 3 strikers, all of whom cost us fees of 6 figures.
You can play with 2 strikers though, you'd never play with 2 left backs.
09-04-2022, 10:37 AM
Depending on the formation you can play one in front of the other, Doig and Stevenson employed on the same side overlapping, done this plenty of times and depth in that position is a good thing.
Agree that 3 strikers and maybe 1 prospect for development is enough for the system Maloney uses.
09-04-2022, 10:48 AM
When you look at our travelling support in general, it’s not that great when you consider the fanbase. Clubs like Kilmarnock and Dundee Utd have a fraction of our fanbase, but take pretty similar sized supports to ours on the road every other week.
Didn’t expect us to sell out and numbers are pretty much what I anticipated in all honesty. 15,000 harder core Hibs is worth the same, or probably actually more than 20,000 supplemented by a lot of occasional fans. The players will know the score.
09-04-2022, 11:06 AM
Yes, you can, but Maloney favours 1 striker. He will play 1 striker in the majority of games. Having 3 on the bench is just not happening.
09-04-2022, 11:07 AM
It's the fact we ARE one of the biggest clubs in Scotland that partly contributes to the decision by many to give next weekend a miss IMHO. If we were a plucky underdog making a once in a blue moon Scottish Cup semi-final appearance then fans would be going along not just to support their team but to make the most of an all-too rare big day out. Hibs, on the other hand, have a remarkable cup record over the last 20 years or so when it comes to reaching the latter stages of tournaments, but there seems to be an 'ach, well' mentality about the club when we fail to capitalise on so many of these opportunities. Last year's Scottish Cup final defeat to St Johnstone (albeit with no fans allowed) encapsulated this.
If we want to be taken seriously as contenders the club's mentality needs to shift because only in rare bursts (under McLeish and Lennon) have we conveyed a toughness, a sense that other clubs might be a bit fearful of playing us (witness the way the Tornadoes talk about the derby on the 7-0 video or David Gray saying 'Yes!' when he hears we've drawn Hearts in the cup). All too often though we regress rapidly and paddle around aimlessly for a few years. Personally I've finally become fed up of that cycle and with other commitments, particularly family, now taking precedence I pick and choose my games. The long Covid-enforced absence of fans affected me far less than I expected and if Hibs didn't run in my blood I'll be honest and say I probably wouldn't go at all. I certainly no longer have any interest in football games that don't involve Hibs. My kids all play others sports and I find it immeasurably more rewarding going to watch them and help out at their clubs than watching the current Hibs team.
I'll always love Hibs and will always regard myself as a fan. However, the type of fan I am these days just doesn't fancy the financial and emotional investment of a trip to watch a team which IMHO falls way short of the standard we should aspire to. Yes, I think we'll get beat but I don't 'fear' that. I just find the grim near-inevitability of it depressing and, frankly, unacceptable for a club of our supposed standing. I don't buy the 'thick and thin' mantra any more and think fans are entitled to vote with their feet until there's a sense the club understand their expectations better.
I agree with lots of that but in terms of Derbies Lennon bottled it at Tiny a few times. Stubbs had a better derby record and I don't think there was that much in it between games against the Uglies. No idea how a Cup Winning manager who won the cup knocking out Hearts and The Rangers never seems to get a mention
Scotty Leither
09-04-2022, 11:14 AM
This should be sent verbatim to Kensell and Gordon, well said pal, and captures my sentiments exactly.
Anyhoo I’m off to the game. ‘Mon the Hibs.
09-04-2022, 11:16 AM
I agree with lots of that but in terms of Derbies Lennon bottled it at Tiny a few times. Stubbs had a better derby record and I don't think there was that much in it between games against the Uglies. No idea how a Cup Winning manager who won the cup knocking out Hearts and The Rangers never seems to get a mention
Yeah, the idea that Lennon was some huge change in fortune in our derby record isn't true. He lost 3 times to Levein and a very average Hearts side. He beat them 3 times. So he went even with Hearts when we had a far better side. The games, especially away, were generally awful. His Hibs team scored once at Tynie and it was a penalty (in fairness, Shaw goal should've counted). Hecky, Ross, Stubbs, even bloody Mixu had better results away against Hearts. He done well at ER but the loss in his last derby was embarrassing. Criminal to lose to them at ER after having their number at home for years at that point.
Stubbs was the one who had their number. His only defeat we were easily the better side and missed a penalty. He also had a brilliant record against Rangers, winning 7 times
09-04-2022, 11:20 AM
Couldn’t agree more…..
Yep, this’ll do for me 👍
09-04-2022, 11:25 AM
Well are you happy having 3 just now ?
Injuries / suspensions / loss of form - or even playing 2 up front if we are losing maybe an option.
I hope Melkersen doesn’t get injured today as we have no one to take his place.
I’m not talking about the cost of the players but the depth and having options - even a Grant Holt type who has experience. Goals win games and we don’t have enough quality in the team to score goals - and the assists are low too. It’s not rocket science and if we are happy with our squad our standards have seriously dropped and it’s not wonder fans aren’t wanting to attend.
09-04-2022, 11:32 AM
Injuries / suspensions / loss of form - or even playing 2 up front if we are losing maybe an option.
I’m not talking about the cost of the players but the depth and having options - even a Grant Holt type who has experience. Goals win games and we don’t have enough quality in the team to score goals - and the assists are low too. It’s not rocket science and if we are happy with our squad our standards have seriously dropped and it’s not wonder fans aren’t wanting to attend.
Right this second, obviously not because 2 of them are injured, one with a very serious injury and the other hasn't long returned from a serious injury. You cannot account for that or you'd have 8 players in each position.
You're absolutely right. Thats why we'd have 3 strikers, not 1. Thats enough to cover injury/suspension/loss of form and play 2 of front (with one left over)
I too hope Melkersen doesn't get injured today. Infact, I hope no Hibs players get injured today.
I didn't say I was happy with the squad. Even if I was, it would have no effect whatsoever on our day trippers not bothering for Hampden.
JamesHFC
09-04-2022, 11:33 AM
Maloney confirmed the other night we will be trying to get forwards in this summer.
09-04-2022, 02:11 PM
Basically, you need 5 times the mentality of the group that are up for Tynecastle. Big ask, but it’s worth a goal of a start..
09-04-2022, 03:35 PM
No wonder we still have 5,000 or so tickets still unsold.
We have no chance in hell of getting anything from the semi-final.
09-04-2022, 03:41 PM
Anyone want a ticket?!
09-04-2022, 03:44 PM
The only chance we have is to punt Maloney and go with Gray . It can't be any worse.
LunasBoots
09-04-2022, 03:45 PM
Probably have more on Monday
09-04-2022, 03:48 PM
Bigger concern is our ST numbers. Big debate around our semi final sales but ultimately that is a smaller issue. We'll be lucky to get 10k fans at ER next year unless the club sort this mess out.
Sioux
09-04-2022, 04:01 PM
Likely that less than 10,000 will turn up at Hampden next week.
09-04-2022, 04:02 PM
Can see people who have bought tickets not turning up next week. Another embarrassing Hampden result against them on its way unless that imposter goes.
09-04-2022, 04:03 PM
And fans wonder why sales are so bad.
It’s incredible we have sold so many tickets when we are absolutely mince and got such a soft core and clueless manager.
Massive credit to the fans who have bought a ticket.
LunasBoots
09-04-2022, 04:06 PM
I'm going but that's it for me this season, I'll be a *****bag for the rest of the season
09-04-2022, 04:08 PM
Likely that less than 10,000 will turn up at Hampden next week.
someone will be along soon to say 'great it means we have our hard core there and we will out sing them' or words to that effect
Sioux
09-04-2022, 04:10 PM
someone will be along soon to say 'great it means we have our hard core there and we will out sing them' or words to that effect
Aye, that worked today right enough.
09-04-2022, 04:12 PM
I'm going but that's it for me this season, I'll be a *****bag for the rest of the season
I’ll be there next week but I have no intention trailing in to watch the remaining league games.
09-04-2022, 04:30 PM
The Hibs support has to galvanise. It helps.
One, remarkable and prolific poster , further up, has said grow a pair earlier, now he’s resigned to laughing off about moving his ticket on. Podcast hipster stuff.
We’ve been here before. Malaise might not have been a term coined exclusively with Hibs in mind but some of us don’t half encourage it.
Semi final or bottom 6 we have an awful lot to fight for.
1980 was inevitable for months prior.
1998 we failed then tried and failed.
2014 bit us hard on the erse which no one seen coming,
Stay up, win the cup. :aok:
He's here!
09-04-2022, 05:52 PM
Neilson won't say it publicly out of respect for Maloney but on today's evidence he'll know that as soon as Hearts can get a couple of goals ahead next week and the Hibs' players heads go down the score really could be anything.
He'll privately be wondering if he can get close to avenging 7-0 and turn himself into a bona fide Hearts legend. A horrendous thought but arguably not inconceivable as the absence of any backbone in the current Hibs squad is all too evident. Porteous is the possible exception but he can't carry the rest.
09-04-2022, 05:54 PM
Is there a buy back option being offered by Hibs?
He's here!
09-04-2022, 05:54 PM
The Hibs support has to galvanise. It helps.
One, remarkable and prolific poster , further up, has said grow a pair earlier, now he’s resigned to laughing off about moving his ticket on. Podcast hipster stuff.
We’ve been here before. Malaise might not have been a term coined exclusively with Hibs in mind but some of us don’t half encourage it.
Semi final or bottom 6 we have an awful lot to fight for.
1980 was inevitable for months prior.
1998 we failed then tried and failed.
2014 bit us hard on the erse which no one seen coming,
Stay up, win the cup. :aok:
We've got Celtic to thank today for making it almost (but not completely) certain we won't be in the play-offs.
09-04-2022, 06:13 PM
Neilson won't say it publicly out of respect for Maloney but on today's evidence he'll know that as soon as Hearts can get a couple of goals ahead next week and the Hibs' players heads go down the score really could be anything.
He'll privately be wondering if he can get close to avenging 7-0 and turn himself into a bona fide Hearts legend. A horrendous thought but arguably not inconceivable as the absence of any backbone in the current Hibs squad is all too evident. Porteous is the possible exception but he can't carry the rest.
The only thing that gives me hope is that complacency sets in and Hearts think all they have to do is turn up.
09-04-2022, 06:25 PM
He'll not get close to ****ing 7-0. Behave.
09-04-2022, 06:34 PM
It could have been 5 or 6 today. They missed some very good chances. We actually played them off the park for 15 minutes but that was all we had in our legs imo. Maloney is playing a style the players have absolutely no chance of playing for a full game. The players were up for it at the start of the game but our fitness and Neilson having a bit of experience was all it took for them to turn the game round and beat us very easily. They hardly lifted a finger after their thirds and were still in easy street. Results like 7-0 don't come round too often but this Hibs team most certainly have the ability to completely collapse and are also prone to the odd red card. I doubt Neilson is thinking about though and he will just want to make sure his team turns up. If they do they will beat us pretty easily
09-04-2022, 06:36 PM
Today was a nothing game for them. They still easily turned us over. That's very worrying.
09-04-2022, 06:39 PM
Today was a nothing game for them. They still easily turned us over. That's very worrying.
They shat the bed for 30 minutes, their fans were silent…then Drey Wright went off and the contest was then over
09-04-2022, 06:43 PM
Tickets will be getting handed back in after that!
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
hibstag
09-04-2022, 06:48 PM
We've got Celtic to thank today for making it almost (but not completely) certain we won't be in the play-offs.
The fact dundee and St Johnstone have to play each other helps too. Both can't get the maximum 15 points from split .
zitelli62
09-04-2022, 06:49 PM
Will still be there but obviously not very confident surely we can't be as bad as today but I'm not holding my breath who knows a miracle might happen then I realised brother Beaton was ref getting my excuses in early.
09-04-2022, 07:02 PM
The only thing that gives me hope is that complacency sets in and Hearts think all they have to do is turn up.
Even then we struggle to get more than one goal and we now aren’t keeping clean sheets So it’s hard to see
LunasBoots
09-04-2022, 07:51 PM
Will still be there but obviously not very confident surely we can't be as bad as today but I'm not holding my breath who knows a miracle might happen then I realised brother Beaton was ref getting my excuses in early.
I've said surely we can't be as bad as today since Christmas...we're just a crap team that struggles to score anymore than 1 goal too often.
09-04-2022, 08:04 PM
I'm going but that's it for me this season, I'll be a *****bag for the rest of the season Hibs home games usually come in front of pretty much every event for me. They feel like a visit to the dentist now so if I have the opportunity to do anything else then I'll take that option till the end of the year. Was there today but stopped the away games mostly as it was boring enough under Ross but worse under Maloney. I'm really surprised how little affinity I feel towards the club at the moment.
He's here!
09-04-2022, 08:11 PM
It could have been 5 or 6 today. They missed some very good chances. We actually played them off the park for 15 minutes but that was all we had in our legs imo. Maloney is playing a style the players have absolutely no chance of playing for a full game. The players were up for it at the start of the game but our fitness and Neilson having a bit of experience was all it took for them to turn the game round and beat us very easily. They hardly lifted a finger after their thirds and were still in easy street. Results like 7-0 don't come round too often but this Hibs team most certainly have the ability to completely collapse and are also prone to the odd red card. I doubt Neilson is thinking about though and he will just want to make sure his team turns up. If they do they will beat us pretty easily
Think it's fair to say it's a case of how many Hearts win by. Just have to pray it doesn't get too embarrassing.
JamesHFC
09-04-2022, 08:16 PM
Hibs for the cup.
09-04-2022, 08:18 PM
The only "*****bags" at hibs are on the park
Mcbizz1998
09-04-2022, 08:23 PM
Anyone who buys a ticket after today should get it for free. They certainly aren’t *****bags!
09-04-2022, 08:35 PM
No he wont. Could be a turnaround,though
Derby after the famous 7- Zero game ....Hertz beat us 4-1
:cb 2-1 to Hibs next week .All Green final. Hibs win on penalties
This nightcap Brandy is a bit strong !
CelticEnd
09-04-2022, 08:36 PM
Was hoping to go to both Semi Finals next weekend and would obviously sit in the Hibs end rather than the Hearts end for the game on the Saturday.
I have a Hibs online ticket account as I set it up to go to the Livingston game at Easter Road earlier in the season but for the semi the criteria is you have to have had an online account for at least a year??
Any other way to buy a ticket bar travelling to Easter Road?
09-04-2022, 08:37 PM
Hibs home games usually come in front of pretty much every event for me. They feel like a visit to the dentist now so if I have the opportunity to do anything else then I'll take that option till the end of the year. Was there today but stopped the away games mostly as it was boring enough under Ross but worse under Maloney. I'm really surprised how little affinity I feel towards the club at the moment.
Root canal treatment at that
09-04-2022, 08:37 PM
Was hoping to go to both Semi Finals next weekend and would obviously sit in the Hibs end rather than the Hearts end for the game on the Saturday.
I have a Hibs online ticket account as I set it up to go to the Livingston game at Easter Road earlier in the season but for the semi the criteria is you have to have had an online account for at least a year??
Any other way to buy a ticket bar travelling to Easter Road?
Looks like there are plenty on here who will happily give theirs up :rolleyes:
09-04-2022, 08:38 PM
Anyone who buys a ticket after today should get it for free. They certainly aren’t *****bags!
Do t think you could get any takers now even if free
He's here!
09-04-2022, 11:21 PM
But you agree a heavy defeat seems prety much nailed on?
10-04-2022, 12:31 AM
But you agree a heavy defeat seems prety much nailed on?
No, no one with a brain thinks that. It's a football match, anything could happen.
Turkish Green
10-04-2022, 06:56 AM
They shat the bed for 30 minutes, their fans were silent…then Drey Wright went off and the contest was then over
Are you saying that Hibs poor performance in the second half is solely attributable to the absence of Wright?
My view was that after the goal Neilson changed things around and the yams slowly started to dominate. Hibs could not continue playing at such a high pace and as such let them into the game. The second half was one sided.
SM is inexperienced as a manager and his decision concerning substitutions showed.
hibeesjoe
10-04-2022, 07:10 AM
They shat the bed for 30 minutes, their fans were silent…then Drey Wright went off and the contest was then overThat's the worrying part. Drey Wright been seen as an important player yesterday. Says it all about the rest of the team if that's the case.
Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk
He's here!
10-04-2022, 08:54 AM
No, no one with a brain thinks that. It's a football match, anything could happen.
My brain tells me that 'anything' other than this woefuly ill-equipped Hibs side (and manager) getting a bit of a doing next week would be remarkable. I think most Hibs fans would privately take a narrow defeat.
10-04-2022, 08:55 AM
My brain tells me that 'anything' other than this woefuly ill-equipped Hibs side (and manager) getting a bit of a doing next week would be remarkable. I think most Hibs fans would privately take a narrow defeat.
Right now I'm just hoping to avoid another scudding.
He's here!
10-04-2022, 10:09 AM
Right now I'm just hoping to avoid another scudding.
We're away next week and far enough from home to avoid any contact with the game, so it'll be a case of phone off, enjoy the break then warily check the score when we get back on Sunday night.
WestStandWillie
10-04-2022, 10:35 AM
Yesterday’s defeat has basically lifted the expectation a bit for me. Now know i’ll not feel absolutely beat up if we lose next weekend, it’ll just be another Hampden let down.
He's here!
10-04-2022, 11:06 AM
Yesterday’s defeat has basically lifted the expectation a bit for me. Now know i’ll not feel absolutely beat up if we lose next weekend, it’ll just be another Hampden let down.
A letdown would be losing a game we were confident of winning.
10-04-2022, 11:21 AM
5-0 Hibs
10-04-2022, 11:32 AM
A letdown would be losing a game we were confident of winning.
I wasn’t confident of winning yesterday, but the manner of the defeat was a huge letdown.
10-04-2022, 11:52 AM
We're away next week and far enough from home to avoid any contact with the game, so it'll be a case of phone off, enjoy the break then warily check the score when we get back on Sunday night.
You two need to get a room.
Ach just get tickets and go. Get cheering the boys on, because they'll need all the encouragement they can get. If we match them physically we can do it, this isn't Real Madrid we're playing.
Look at how teams like Notts County, Leeds, Sheffield Wednesday, Sunderland etc...take travelling support. If Blackpool can take 5000 fans through to Preston then surely we can fill out our end for a national semi final against our rivals. We can't lecture these teams about mediocrity or mismanagement.
It's not about the product on offer or a deal where they have to show effort. We should be showing face because we're Hibs and we're standing here and not scared of anyone.
I'm well up for this now. We can do it! C'maaan!! :-D
10-04-2022, 12:22 PM
They'll be getting the rest of the South upper tickets we haven't sold. They will have 20k plus fans there next week while we can only muster a paltry 16k. Embarrassing stuff. This is all Maloneys fault for turning us into a dreadful team as well.
10-04-2022, 12:25 PM
They'll be getting the rest of the South upper tickets we haven't sold. They will have 20k plus fans there next week while we can only muster a paltry 16k. Embarrassing stuff. This is all Maloneys fault for turning us into a dreadful team as well.
I’m not sure he turned us into a dreadful team. We were already dreadful, he’s just not improved us at all.
10-04-2022, 12:27 PM
We’d be doing the exact same if we felt we going to win
Our owner need to understand that everything revolves round what goes on in the park, nothing else really matters
10-04-2022, 12:27 PM
I’m not sure he turned us into a dreadful team. We were already dreadful, he’s just not improved us at all.He's achieved a better kind of dreadful by the sound of it?
LewysGot2
10-04-2022, 12:28 PM
I’m not sure he turned us into a dreadful team. We were already dreadful, he’s just not improved us at all.
He very deliberately said yesterday that we were 7th when he came in and we’re 7th again.
10-04-2022, 12:29 PM
Is there a cooling off period on football tickets😏
10-04-2022, 12:30 PM
Is there a cooling off period on football tickets😏
No but there should be.
10-04-2022, 12:30 PM
He very deliberately said yesterday that we were 7th when he came in and we’re 7th again.
Aye that was definitely a ‘don’t blame me’ type of comment from him.
LunasBoots
10-04-2022, 12:32 PM
Sounds like a man who doesn't know how to change what's going on to me.
10-04-2022, 12:33 PM
Is there a cooling off period on football tickets[emoji57]If you find anything out let me know as I still don't think I got what I was entitled to expect for my money at the 2012 Cup final so a refund and a bit of compensation is entirely reasonable.
He's here!
10-04-2022, 12:34 PM
It was obvious from the start we wouldn't come close to selling this one out while Hearts fans would be climbing over each other to get a ticket for what they reckon will be a Hampden party for them.
In these sort of situations I never understand the way the tickets are sold. To improve the atmosphere among the Hibs fans, the tickets should all be have been sold in a manner that ensures no areas of empty seats (ie so that all the fans who do go are grouped together). That would have left a more defined space for Hearts fans to fill up the unsold Hibs seats and ensure a full stadium.
10-04-2022, 12:35 PM
Our owner need to understand that everything revolves round what goes on in the park, nothing else really matters
Other than the cup final they have always outsold us. We give it all this natural order pish but in reality they are the bigger and better team, our derby record over all is nothing short of shocking.
He's here!
10-04-2022, 12:40 PM
Absolutely. The respective ticket sales for both clubs should put him in the picture that many Hibs fans have simply had enough of this wholly unnecessary slump. Does he understand that though? Unless I've missed something he seems to be pretty much silent on all things Hibs of late.
10-04-2022, 12:41 PM
Other than the cup final they have always outsold us. We give it all this natural order pish but in reality they are the bigger and better team, our derby record over all is nothing short of shocking.
Really? That natural order was a quote from them not us.
They are a better team right now but haven't been too often in recent years.
MKHIBEE
10-04-2022, 12:42 PM
They can be bigger, better,richer, louder and whatever the **** else they want but they will never, ever, come anywhere near to being even just disliked by me. **** them.
LewysGot2
10-04-2022, 12:56 PM
Sounds like a man who doesn't know how to change what's going on to me.
It's a man who's tried to change it without the right personnel to do it...then not changing things to suit what he has at his disposal just to get results. He's not just a purist, he's puritanical to the point of cutting off his own nose...
10-04-2022, 01:01 PM
Looking forward to the game, it was unlikely we’d beat them in both so I’ve a good feeling about this one
11-04-2022, 03:09 PM
Nope will be gutted if we lose. Accept a defeat what kind of loser mindset is that.
11-04-2022, 03:09 PM
Looking forward to the game, it was unlikely we’d beat them in both so I’ve a good feeling about this one
Certainly hope so. One off game anything can happen.
11-04-2022, 03:16 PM
I definitely couldn't see us winning both and was quite confident we wouldn't lose both either. After Saturday I'm struggling to see how we come away with a win.
Obviously looking forward to the day out and I'll always be buzzing for a derby the closer it gets. But we were bossed for about 75 minutes on Saturday.
Hoping for a quick week and lucky enough to not have any Jambo's in my team at work.
12-04-2022, 08:31 AM
Get yourself away and have a word . Take a narrow defeat at Hampden against that lot . Dearie me 🙈
12-04-2022, 08:40 AM
368 tickets left in G2, would be great to have them sold by tomorrow . Maybe there will be a late rush for the rest 😉
I'm Spartacus
12-04-2022, 08:40 AM
Get yourself away and have a word . Take a narrow defeat at Hampden against that lot . Dearie me 🙈
Win, lose, or draw, I want to walk away from Hampden saying "My goodness they boys tried for 90 minutes, played till their last breath, gave that extra yard".
leith lynx
12-04-2022, 08:46 AM
Sorry, but we will get nowhere with that pathetic self defeatest attitude. Let's get behind the players on Saturday to fight for the jersey.
So roughly how many sold now? And, if we don't sell them all, will the Jambos be getting the remainder of the tickets? Tragic state of affairs if so :bitchy:
12-04-2022, 08:55 AM
So roughly how many sold now? And, if we don't sell them all, will the Jambos be getting the remainder of the tickets? Tragic state of affairs if so :bitchy:
Hearts could only get south upper I think no way would Hearts be given seats in the East.
12-04-2022, 08:56 AM
About 15k sold. They might get the remaining South upper tickets but they can't have the ones behind the goal. Once again the giant St Andrews cross will be visible for all to see and we will once again be ridiculed for it.
If we get through we can't complain if we only get 15/16k tickets for the final. It would be our own fault as well.
I'm Spartacus
12-04-2022, 08:59 AM
About 15k sold. They might get the remaining South upper tickets but they can't have the ones behind the goal. Once again the giant St Andrews cross will be visible for all to see and we will once again be ridiculed for it.
If we get through we can't complain if we only get 15/16k tickets for the final. It would be our own fault as well.
Correct "What do you mean I can't buy 15 tickets? I was at the last final and deserve what I want"
12-04-2022, 09:10 AM
If Hibs had 3rd tied up, and Hearts were on a terrible run in the bottom 6... I think the sales for each team would be roughly the same but in reverse.
Hearts attendances in Semi Finals have been in line with ours against the OF / during times when they are playing poorly.
I still remember Hearts failing to sell out ER on a few occasions when I was younger during a rare spell where it was clear Hibs would likely win (e.g. 1-0 Sproule cup game).
12-04-2022, 09:11 AM
We are going to be slaughtered and no just by Hearts fans either. Old Firm supporters will be loving this and it makes a mockery of requesting a 50/50 split in any future finals against either of them. Fair to say we can kiss goodbye to that for the foreseeable.
All this has done is prove how fickle and fairweather a good number of our ‘support’ actually are. Hearts fans could have used the same pishy excuses some of our lot will use but nah they’ll just do their bit instead and turn up. They’d have turned up even if they were as crap as us.
We’re poor to watch, full of bang average players and like the majority can see Maloney is already on borrowed time, but you’re meant to support your team through thick and thin aren’t you? If not are you not more suited to just following some winning machine like Liverpool from the pub or your living room?
As I’ve said on this thread previously if you can afford it and you’ve got the time, go it’s that simple. Anyone no turning up at this out of choice, scared of getting beat, or who just canny be arsed should be embarrassed to call themselves a Hibs SUPPORTER
12-04-2022, 09:12 AM
We absolutely can complain if we only 15/16K tickets for a final for a number of reasons.
1. Handing any team an immediate advantage by giving them more tickets than the other team in a final from the off is shambolic from a governing body and flies entirely in the face of sporting integrity and fairness.
2. We classically take around about 12K to semi finals, a pal made a point about us going for 2IAR probably being our biggest Hampden semi final attendance for quite some time, and what was that 16K?
3. Have we ever not sold out for a final? Like or not, people come from all over the world for finals, they're not doing so for the semi., probably because we are more often than not in the semis. In fact I think we have the second best 'getting to Hampden' record behind Celtic over the last ten years
4. Our semi final attendance has never, nor will ever, have a bearing on our final attendance.
I cannot understand this crazy mentality around Hibs fans thinking it is acceptable to give another team an advantage straight away in national cup final at a neutral venue, because we've only sold 16K for the semi. It's some self defeating rubbish, as if to try and punish folk, and the team/club for not taking more fans to the semi.
Quite frankly I could not care less if the St Andrews cross is on show, if we go through no one will care. I never look back to 2016 and think: 'god what an awful support we had vs DU, that looks rotten on the tele, I bet the SFA restricted our ticket sales in the final, and who could blame them?'
12-04-2022, 09:12 AM
368 tickets left in G2, would be great to have them sold by tomorrow . Maybe there will be a late rush for the rest [emoji6]
Will be lucky to shift those to be honest after Saturday
12-04-2022, 09:19 AM
We absolutely can complain if we only 15/16K tickets for a final for a number of reasons.
1. Handing any team an immediate advantage by giving them more tickets than the other team in a final from the off is shambolic from a governing body and flies entirely in the face of sporting integrity and fairness.
2. We classically take around about 12K to semi finals, a pal made a point about us going for 2IAR probably being our biggest Hampden semi final attendance for quite some time, and what was that 16K?
3. Have we ever not sold out for a final? Like or not, people come from all over the world for finals, they're not doing so for the semi., probably because we are more often than not in the semis. In fact I think we have the second best 'getting to Hampden' record behind Celtic over the last ten years
4. Our semi final attendance has never, nor will ever, have a bearing on our final attendance.
I cannot understand this crazy mentality around Hibs fans thinking it is acceptable to give another team an advantage straight away in national cup final at a neutral venue, because we've only sold 16K for the semi. It's some self defeating rubbish, as if to try and punish folk, and the team/club for not taking more fans to the semi.
Quite frankly I could not care less if the St Andrews cross is on show, if we go through no one will care. I never look back to 2016 and think: 'god what an awful support we had vs DU, that looks rotten on the tele, I bet the SFA restricted our ticket sales in the final, and who could blame them?'
Previously, we could complain. Not now.
Section of the support are happy to give the opposition an advantage when we don’t need to, by not selling our tickets for one of the biggest games in the history of the club. If we can do it then the SFA will happily do it to make a few extra quid.
12-04-2022, 09:29 AM
Win, lose, or draw, I want to walk away from Hampden saying "My goodness they boys tried for 90 minutes, played till their last breath, gave that extra yard".
Exactly, given injuries and the transition of the team, that is what we want.
12-04-2022, 09:30 AM
Previously, we could complain. Not now.
Section of the support are happy to give the opposition an advantage when we don’t need to, by not selling our tickets for one of the biggest games in the history of the club. If we can do it then the SFA will happily do it to make a few extra quid.
Based on what could we complain?
You seem to have ignored all my points tbh and are sticking with the line that because we don’t sell out the semi, we never do, we don’t deserve a full allocation for the final.
At the very least, you start off with a full allocation and reduce it if not sold by a certain date. That I can understand.
12-04-2022, 09:33 AM
I'm now up for this game. Looking forward to the day. That will probably change again by Friday. Think i have severe issues. Hibs have finally broken me.
12-04-2022, 09:45 AM
Based on what could we complain?
You seem to have ignored all my points tbh and are sticking with the line that because we don’t sell out the semi, we never do, we don’t deserve a full allocation for the final.
At the very least, you start off with a full allocation and reduce it if not sold by a certain date. That I can understand.
This isn’t a normal semi. It’s not comparable to the rest. If we can’t sell it out when the other three teams could sell over and above their allocation, we’ve only got ourselves to blame when we inevitably receive less tickets when we get through.
12-04-2022, 09:52 AM
This isn’t a normal semi. It’s not comparable to the rest. If we can’t sell it out when the other three teams could sell over and above their allocation, we’ve only got ourselves to blame when we inevitably receive less tickets when we get through.
We’ll just have to agree to disagree mate
mcohibs
12-04-2022, 09:55 AM
We are going to be slaughtered and no just by Hearts fans either. Old Firm supporters will be loving this and it makes a mockery of requesting a 50/50 split in any future finals against either of them. Fair to say we can kiss goodbye to that for the foreseeable.
All this has done is prove how fickle and fairweather a good number of our ‘support’ actually are. Hearts fans could have used the same pishy excuses some of our lot will use but nah they’ll just do their bit instead and turn up. They’d have turned up even if they were as crap as us.
We’re poor to watch, full of bang average players and like the majority can see Maloney is already on borrowed time, but you’re meant to support your team through thick and thin aren’t you? If not are you not more suited to just following some winning machine like Liverpool from the pub or your living room?
As I’ve said on this thread previously if you can afford it and you’ve got the time, go it’s that simple. Anyone no turning up at this out of choice, scared of getting beat, or who just canny be arsed should be embarrassed to call themselves a Hibs SUPPORTER
Bang on. Prepare to be heavily ridiculed this weekend by Scottish football fans/media and tbh who can blame them. Hopefully the team turn up. Nothing short of embarrassing from our supporters.
12-04-2022, 09:55 AM
Thing is, it's a one off match. All it takes is a red card, an owl goal, a mistake. Anyone can win a one off game. Our run has to end at some stage. No team loses every week. Anyone who would accept a narrow loss now is an absolute coward.
12-04-2022, 09:59 AM
Thing is, it's a one off match. All it takes is a red card, an owl goal, a mistake. Anyone can win a one off game. Our run has to end at some stage. No team loses every week. Anyone who would accept a narrow loss now is an absolute coward.
An owl goal? We have just the man for that!
the_ginger_hibee
12-04-2022, 10:01 AM
What a hoot you are. But I do agree, anyone even contemplating a narrow defeat as a respectable outcome is a disgrace.
12-04-2022, 10:13 AM
Agree with all that. Celtic played and lost to Ross County in Scottish cup semi in 2011 or so and crowd was 24k with 7k from Ross county.
HendoDelivered
12-04-2022, 10:33 AM
Maybe we just need to accept Hearts have a bigger support than us. Green tinted specs off.
12-04-2022, 10:34 AM
Maybe we just need to accept Hearts have a bigger support than us. Green tinted specs off.
It all about context - if we were flying , we’d sell out ..we’ve taken over 40k to a final in relatively recent years - it happens
merchiston
12-04-2022, 10:38 AM
If Hibs had 3rd tied up, and Hearts were on a terrible run in the bottom 6... I think the sales for each team would be roughly the same but in reverse.
Hearts attendances in Semi Finals have been in line with ours against the OF / during times when they are playing poorly.
I still remember Hearts failing to sell out ER on a few occasions when I was younger during a rare spell where it was clear Hibs would likely win (e.g. 1-0 Sproule cup game).
Don't normally post on social media. Maybe an age thing. My first Hibs game was against Djurgardeb where the away leg was at Firhill. What has remained constant over the years is both Edinburgh Clubs have a core support who will follow their team through good and bad times. The marginal support augment attendances when the team is doing well. Its not rocket science when one club is in the ascendancy its the basic laws of supply and demand
12-04-2022, 10:38 AM
If the roles were reversed and we had never lost to them at Hampden, had just guaranteed 3rd after easily beating them at home a week before the game and put them in the bottom 6 I can guarantee you we'd have outsold them.
12-04-2022, 10:39 AM
If the roles were reversed and we had never lost to them at Hampden, had just guaranteed 3rd after easily beating them at home a week before the game and put them in the bottom 6 I can guarantee you we'd have outsold them.
Exactly. Their end at our place is often not sold when they are struggling …it’s all about confidence levels
12-04-2022, 11:02 AM
Don't normally post on social media. Maybe an age thing. My first Hibs game was against Djurgardeb where the away leg was at Firhill. What has remained constant over the years is both Edinburgh Clubs have a core support who will follow their team through good and bad times. The marginal support augment attendances when the team is doing well. Its not rocket science when one club is in the ascendancy its the basic laws of supply and demand
That is what the stats show over time. The more succesful team has the higher average attendances. Bed
Wetters leave when the going gets tough. 16k+ could not be matched by anyone outside the old Firm and Hearts especially with our form this season.
12-04-2022, 11:03 AM
All we can do, as supporters of our club, is to get behind the team from start to finish.
I moan about them plenty on here but it won't stop me doing that
12-04-2022, 11:25 AM
People moan when folk who don’t normally go turn up are the same people moaning that these people aint. Hibs are taking 15/16 thousand more than the average support at Easter Road this season
12-04-2022, 11:29 AM
Nice to see the old switcheroo that Doncaster played by bringing in the semi final attendances has worked on so many
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
12-04-2022, 11:32 AM
People moan when folk who don’t normally go turn up are the same people moaning that these people aint. Hibs are taking 15/16 thousand more than the average support at Easter Road this season
Very good point
I'm Spartacus
12-04-2022, 11:34 AM
Are the Hampden tickets still limited to 2 per person? If so, why aren't we just opening it up? We should have done that from day 1 and given Season Ticket holders the priority, but allowed them to buy for up to 6, then opened it up after a week.
I've had to buy mine through sh*ty Sodexo :( 'No colours or trainers' good luck trying to stop a teenager not wearing either - fuds.
12-04-2022, 12:33 PM
Are the Hampden tickets still limited to 2 per person? If so, why aren't we just opening it up? We should have done that from day 1 and given Season Ticket holders the priority, but allowed them to buy for up to 6, then opened it up after a week.
I've had to buy mine through sh*ty Sodexo :( 'No colours or trainers' good luck trying to stop a teenager not wearing either - fuds.
Because we haven’t even sold out G2 still hundreds of tickets left
There aren’t thousands of people waiting for G3 to open We will be lucky to sell out G2 after the weekends result snd second half performance
SON OF PADDY
12-04-2022, 12:49 PM
This 100% 👏👏👏
12-04-2022, 12:55 PM
Was hoping for some better seats to open up rather than being behind the goal but guess no chance of that happening now.
Still rather be there win or lose then no be there at all. This team needs us supporters more than ever on Saturday.
12-04-2022, 01:21 PM
Was hoping for some better seats to open up rather than being behind the goal but guess no chance of that happening now.
Still rather be there win or lose then no be there at all. This team needs us supporters more than ever on Saturday.
Absolutely do
nickwhibs
12-04-2022, 02:16 PM
Anyone know the ticket office opening hours this week? And if it is open on Friday?
12-04-2022, 02:38 PM
Season Ticket holders could buy up to 20 tickets, as long as they had 10 reference numbers. Why did you have to get through Sodexho? Couldn't you just have bought when it went to general sale?
12-04-2022, 03:26 PM
Season Ticket holders could buy up to 20 tickets, as long as they had 10 reference numbers. Why did you have to get through Sodexho? Couldn't you just have bought when it went to general sale?
What is Sodexho?
12-04-2022, 03:27 PM
What is Sodexho?
Surely you must of heard of that [emoji848]
12-04-2022, 03:28 PM
What is Sodexho?
Catering company
Probably a special package, meal and ticket
12-04-2022, 03:30 PM
Surely you must of heard of that [emoji848]
No, never!
Catering company
Probably a special package, meal and ticket
Cheers.:aok:
12-04-2022, 03:37 PM
No, never!
Cheers.:aok:
You could do with them on some of your trains too😀
12-04-2022, 04:03 PM
You could do with them on some of your trains too😀
Catering is returning on ScotRail, consideration is also being given to possibly lifting the current blanket ban on alcohol as well. They are recruiting hospitality members just now I think (or they were recently)
coldingham hibs
12-04-2022, 04:07 PM
I don’t get all the moaning about ticket sales, any team outwith the the Glasgow two selling 15-16K tickets for a semi final is pretty decent, especially taking into account KO time, ticket cost & travel costs. Especially for a team who are pretty crap and expectations of success are remarkably low.
Hearts have always had a slightly bigger support and are rightly expecting to have a party afternoon.
Time for the club & players to man up and stop making excuses.
12-04-2022, 04:10 PM
I don’t get all the moaning about ticket sales, any team outwith the the Glasgow two selling 15-16K tickets for a semi final is pretty decent, especially taking into account KO time, ticket cost & travel costs. Especially for a team who are pretty crap and expectations of success are remarkably low.
Hearts have always had a slightly bigger support and are rightly expecting to have a party afternoon.
It’s not a big deal - we have lost about 4-5k ..we took over 19k through to Aberdeen semi a number of years ago . But that was just after winning the cup ….
12-04-2022, 04:37 PM
Football fans are fickle and the attendances will come and go. Remember you weren’t going to be at another hibs match if Scott Allan returned to the club?
No point worrying about what other folk do or don’t do come Saturday, or their reasons, and best just to enjoy the occasion (I actually have a daft optimistic feeling about the game… it’s just how derbies and form go sometimes). But I don’t think all the rallying cries and criticism will really make any difference to anyone that’s decided they’re not going.
12-04-2022, 05:22 PM
279 tickets available in G2 and 8 in G1 and then we move on to G3. About 80 sold today
12-04-2022, 06:28 PM
279 tickets available in G2 and 8 in G1 and then we move on to G3. About 80 sold today
Postage deadline must be today or tomorrow as well so sales will definitely slow given that the TO is only open 10-4 for collections now.
12-04-2022, 06:28 PM
Football fans are fickle and the attendances will come and go. Remember you weren’t going to be at another hibs match if Scott Allan returned to the club?
No point worrying about what other folk do or don’t do come Saturday, or their reasons, and best just to enjoy the occasion (I actually have a daft optimistic feeling about the game… it’s just how derbies and form go sometimes). But I don’t think all the rallying cries and criticism will really make any difference to anyone that’s decided they’re not going.
Can’t remember a comment made about Scott Allan’s return over 4 years ago but it would have been said in there heat of the moment and I didn’t want him back at the time, you’re right. Bit of a difference between that and the thousands actively *****bagging a huge semi final versus Hearts an hour or so along the road for the majority though and you know it. Stop making excuses for piss poor supporters who simply can’t be bothered going.
12-04-2022, 07:00 PM
Can’t remember a comment made about Scott Allan’s return over 4 years ago but it would have been said in there heat of the moment and I didn’t want him back at the time, you’re right. Bit of a difference between that and the thousands actively *****bagging a huge semi final versus Hearts an hour or so along the road for the majority though and you know it. Stop making excuses for piss poor supporters who simply can’t be bothered going.
Supporter liason officer stuff here...
Why do people need to excuse themselves?
12-04-2022, 08:51 PM
I only remember because the posts carried the same shouty sweary tone you’re using to tell other posters their reasons aren’t good enough for not going to this game. Calling Allan a rat and adamant you would be finished with hibs if we signed him - stuck with me as odd as there was a fair chance he was returning at the time, but like those in this case, it would have been entirely down to yourself. It is different you’re right, some will argue that taking the huff over the signing of a player like Allan is worse than anything else on this thread though.
I haven’t and won’t make excuses for anyone, because I don’t really care what a few of my mates’ reasons are for not attending far less people on hibs.net that I don’t know.
I’m with you in not fully understanding people not fancying it, as I see it as a great chance to make amends… and it’s a cup derby. They don’t come much bigger and anything can happen. But attitudes and appetite for football and hibs waiver among many for various reasons (some of those pretty alien to you and I) and all the aggressive posts and digs in the world aren’t going to make them any more likely to attend on Saturday.
Have a cracking day on Saturday 👍. A good day out and result is all that matters, not a few missing people.
13-04-2022, 07:16 AM
Is G3, G4 sold out or are they waiting to open up if there is a surge. (Which I know won’t happen)
13-04-2022, 07:32 AM
Is G3, G4 sold out or are they waiting to open up if there is a surge. (Which I know won’t happen)
Not open yet
13-04-2022, 07:33 AM
Not been opened yet.
Rick Rude
13-04-2022, 07:45 AM
Any one know what the deal with trains is for Saturday? Sure last time we played them through there we were leaving from Waverley and them from Haymarket. Is it just a free for all this time?
13-04-2022, 08:02 AM
Any one know what the deal with trains is for Saturday? Sure last time we played them through there we were leaving from Waverley and them from Haymarket. Is it just a free for all this time?
Assume scotrail will put out something the next day or two
ErinGoBraghHFC
13-04-2022, 08:03 AM
Any pubs that have been granted a 10am license around Mount Florida?
13-04-2022, 08:20 AM
This. 15/16k for a semifinal at Hamdump is pretty good. We've had a lot less at plenty of other semis. To suggest this should have a bearing on allocations for a National cup final is garbage.
The crapness of Hibs, result at the weekend, live TV and Hearts record against us will keep many of the usual day-tripper away.
History shows some of Hibs very best Semi results have been in front of small Hibs supports.
NC1875
13-04-2022, 08:38 AM
Some fans will quite rightly ****bag it and not go when most of the team will **** bag it like they did last week.
People have financial issues with the price of everything rising rapidly and using a large amount of any spare income to watch this team of imposters will not appeal to everyone.
Well done to the people going but don’t slate the ones that aren’t.
13-04-2022, 08:49 AM
Some fans will quite rightly ****bag it and not go when most of the team will **** bag it like they did last week.
People have financial issues with the price of everything rising rapidly and using a large amount of any spare income to watch this team of imposters will not appeal to everyone.
Well done to the people going but don’t slate the ones that aren’t.
to '****bag' something is to behave badly, screw someone over.
to '**** out' of something is to be scared of doing something.
Since when has this changed?
Sean is opening up a can of worms here. Unless they talk different in Haddington, likesay.
13-04-2022, 10:06 AM
Is it sections G3-G7 that are still not open/unsold?
13-04-2022, 10:11 AM
Yes
13-04-2022, 10:12 AM
Any pubs that have been granted a 10am license around Mount Florida?
Think the beechwood has Hibs buses going there no idea if fans can rock up also
13-04-2022, 10:12 AM
Yes
Horrendous, but expected.
13-04-2022, 10:54 AM
Exact same bit that was empty in 2006.
SideBurns
13-04-2022, 11:09 AM
Postage deadline must be today or tomorrow as well so sales will definitely slow given that the TO is only open 10-4 for collections now.
I'm assuming when you say it's only open for collections, it's still possible to buy a ticket in person? Been calling the TO but no answer.
13-04-2022, 11:13 AM
I'm assuming when you say it's only open for collections, it's still possible to buy a ticket in person? Been calling the TO but no answer.
Yes you can buy in person. Last collection this Friday before 4pm.
Tickets will not be available for collection until Thursday 7 April.
We will post tickets out as soon as we can but this will likely be around Thursday 7 April via first class post or special delivery, depending on your chosen delivery method.
Please ensure that your delivery address is correct as we may not be able to change your address after purchase.
Please note: The ticket office will be closed on Saturday so tickets must be collected before 4pm on Friday 15 April.
SideBurns
13-04-2022, 11:18 AM
Yes you can buy in person. Last collection this Friday before 4pm.
Tickets will not be available for collection until Thursday 7 April.
We will post tickets out as soon as we can but this will likely be around Thursday 7 April via first class post or special delivery, depending on your chosen delivery method.
Please ensure that your delivery address is correct as we may not be able to change your address after purchase.
Please note: The ticket office will be closed on Saturday so tickets must be collected before 4pm on Friday 15 April.
Thanks a lot HC.
13-04-2022, 11:20 AM
Exact same bit that was empty in 2006.
The slagging in 2006 we got from Hearts fans was not the empty sections but the number of Hibs fans leaving well before the end.
13-04-2022, 11:23 AM
The slagging in 2006 we got from Hearts fans was not the empty sections but the number of Hibs fans leaving well before the end.
It was both.
13-04-2022, 11:34 AM
Can you blame fans for leaving early? 0-4 down and destroyed, for what possible reason would anyone want to stay until the end? To politely applaud the team off the park? Or howl abuse at them.
If we go 2 goals down on Saturday there will be a mass exodus accompanied by lots of booing and bad words.
Steven79
13-04-2022, 11:35 AM
It was both.
I don't think the result helped either...
13-04-2022, 11:35 AM
Find it incredible there’s grown adults worried about getting slagged for a team they support not selling some tickets.
Take it on the chin, laugh it off and move on. Who cares what they think.
If we get pumped again we’ll get slagged about that, if we win then who cares who else wasn’t there to see it?!
13-04-2022, 11:37 AM
I don't think the result helped either...
Indeed. The team has got the chance to ensure we can slag Hearts fans for 2 of those 3 things on Saturday.
13-04-2022, 11:44 AM
Indeed. The team has got the chance to ensure we can slag Hearts fans for 2 of those 3 things on Saturday.
Correct - and only one of the three things actually matters.
13-04-2022, 11:45 AM
Can you blame fans for leaving early? 0-4 down and destroyed, for what possible reason would anyone want to stay until the end? To politely applaud the team off the park? Or howl abuse at them.
If we go 2 goals down on Saturday there will be a mass exodus accompanied by lots of booing and bad words.
I stayed to the end and will do this Saturday Unless the players have just downed tools and don’t look interested then they wouldn’t deserve anyone to stay behind and politely clap
Vv