View Full Version : Managerial Vacancies

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

31-10-2021, 06:42 PM
Aston Villa possibly sacking their manager.

31-10-2021, 08:16 PM
Aston Villa possibly sacking their manager.

That would be a mental decision. He’s been great for them. Losing Grealish has been the problem for them

31-10-2021, 09:04 PM
That would be a mental decision. He’s been great for them. Losing Grealish has been the problem for them

They spent about £91m on 3 players, Ings, Buendia and Bailey.

31-10-2021, 09:14 PM

Incredible if that is the case.

31-10-2021, 09:17 PM

You think? I think he was the right manager for them and what they needed at the time but I reckon they’re now in a position where they could benefit from having a better/bigger manager in charge to take them to the next level

I do agree with your point about Grealish. Not an easy player to replace

01-11-2021, 08:55 AM
Breaking News

Nuno Espírito Santo sacked by Tottenham Hotspur

BBC Sport

Magpie
01-11-2021, 09:10 AM
Breaking News

BBC Sport

Conte apparently replacing him.

01-11-2021, 09:12 AM
Breaking News

BBC Sport

The buck always stops with the manager but i think at times the players need to be held accountable. Is Kane acting like a captain for instance? The manager cant cross the white line.

01-11-2021, 09:16 AM
I think it's shameful cowardice by the Spurs board. They appointed the man, panicked, and sacked him after ten league games. At the first sign of fan discontent they have crumbled. You can't judge anybody from ten games and four months in the job.

I hope he gets millions from them in pay off.

01-11-2021, 09:18 AM
No manager will be successful at Spurs

Owner is a complete fud and also far too tight for a Premiership Chairman.

Magpie
01-11-2021, 09:20 AM
I think it's shameful cowardice by the Spurs board. They appointed the man, panicked, and sacked him after ten league games. At the first sign of fan discontent they have crumbled. You can't judge anybody from ten games and four months in the job.

I hope he gets millions from them in pay off.

If Conte coming in became a real possibility then I really don’t blame them.

01-11-2021, 09:22 AM
Why didn’t they get Conte in a few months ago?

Magpie
01-11-2021, 09:23 AM
Why didn’t they get Conte in a few months ago?

No idea. Obviously now willing to give him what he originally wanted. Conte is no mug, he won’t go anywhere without a project with the right economic backing.

01-11-2021, 09:23 AM
What do Tottenham expect? They are 5 points off a champions league place :confused: Do they expect to be up there at the very top? I'd hate to be a fan of an EPL club.

01-11-2021, 09:27 AM
No idea. Obviously now willing to give him what he originally wanted. Conte is no mug, he won’t go anywhere without a project with the right economic backing.
If I was a spurs fan I’d be asking serious questions. Sacking the manager after 10 games has probably cost them millions and if they are going for Conte, it’s put him in a position where he can pretty much name his price.

Magpie
01-11-2021, 09:28 AM
If I was a spurs fan I’d be asking serious questions. Sacking the manager after 10 games has probably cost them millions and if they are going for Conte, it’s put him in a position where he can pretty much name his price.

Conte is one of the best managers in the world. There will be nothing but excitement amongst the support if he’s hired. If he isn’t given the backing by the board to succeed then the fans will no doubt turn on the board. It’s up to the board now to give him what he needs.

01-11-2021, 09:31 AM

He knocked them back in the summer. Why would he change his mind now?

Magpie
01-11-2021, 09:36 AM

Only he knows the answer to that. Let’s see if he actually goes there, Italian press saying he could be at London today to finalise the deal.

01-11-2021, 09:51 AM
Only he knows the answer to that. Let’s see if he actually goes there, Italian press saying he could be at London today to finalise the deal.

Yes, time will tell. Whoever the next manager is, he has a big job on his hands: a captain who doesn't want to be there and who isn't even trying; a very average squad which lacks creativity; not enough transfer funds to compete with the top sides. Seriously, if I were him, I would take the Newcastle job first, with an eye on the future.

01-11-2021, 10:01 AM

Obvious change would be money offered also he may have been interested in another job at the time that fell through. Seemed pretty clear that punting Nuno they would have someone lined up. Will be interesting to see how that works though the last ex Chelsea manager didn't really work out.

01-11-2021, 10:03 AM
Wonder if this move has been accelerated due to Newcastle taking an interest in Conte

01-11-2021, 10:04 AM
Cathro gone to, mumbling if it was not for the goalposts....

01-11-2021, 10:04 AM
Wonder if this move has been accelerated due to Newcastle taking an interest in Conte

Fair chance and probably highlights the problem for Newcastle.

Magpie
01-11-2021, 10:14 AM

Probably more so if United get two bad results this week and Ole gets the sack.

01-11-2021, 10:22 AM
Obvious change would be money offered also he may have been interested in another job at the time that fell through. Seemed pretty clear that punting Nuno they would have someone lined up. Will be interesting to see how that works though the last ex Chelsea manager didn't really work out.

Yes. Conte is a top manager, but Spurs need a lot of improvement, which won't come cheap.

Magpie
01-11-2021, 10:28 AM
Yes. Conte is a top manager, but Spurs need a lot of improvement, which won't come cheap.

I don’t think their squad is as bad as you say. If anyone is going to get the best out of them it’s Conte. Would be surprised if we didn’t see Kane’s attitude and performances return to peak level with his arrival. A couple of signings in January and he will have them challenging top four this season anyway.

01-11-2021, 11:03 AM
Barnsley sack Head Coach Markus Schopp after only 4 months in charge

Sporting life

Magpie
01-11-2021, 11:04 AM

Sporting life

I wonder if they will go back in for Hecky?

01-11-2021, 12:49 PM

Money talks. He could name his price now as the Spurs board is in panic mode.

01-11-2021, 12:52 PM

At some point Conte and Levy will have a falling out about cash, if he goes there.
He might find the bottomless Saudi bank account harder to resist.

01-11-2021, 01:05 PM
What do Tottenham expect? They are 5 points off a champions league place :confused: Do they expect to be up there at the very top? I'd hate to be a fan of an EPL club.

What a nonsense comment, no one hates to be a fan of the club they support!

01-11-2021, 01:23 PM
The buck always stops with the manager but i think at times the players need to be held accountable. Is Kane acting like a captain for instance? The manager cant cross the white line.

Has Kane ever acted like a captain? Feels more like he has it because he’s their best player and came through the youth. Certainly doesn’t come across as an inspirational character…

Just_Jimmy
01-11-2021, 01:25 PM
Has Kane ever acted like a captain? Feels more like he has it because he’s their best player and came through the youth. Certainly doesn’t come across as an inspirational character…Loris is the spurs captain.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

01-11-2021, 05:47 PM
Is this the first time a manager has been sacked a month after being manager of the month?

Magpie
01-11-2021, 05:53 PM
Is this the first time a manager has been sacked a month after being manager of the month?

Brian McDermott got sacked by Reading 33 days after winning January manager of the month in 2013.

Fuzzywuzzy
01-11-2021, 06:14 PM
Yes. If Hibs sacked a manager after ten games, I'd be questioning the board who appointed him. How could they have gotten it so wrong, and what are the consequences for them?

Is that not what franck got?

Magpie
01-11-2021, 10:04 PM
Looks like Conte is the new Spurs manager, fairplay.

The Count
02-11-2021, 05:30 AM

Sporting life

Reminds me of the old Celtic midfield from 1980s Glavin,Burns,Schopps !!! One for the older guys.

02-11-2021, 06:28 AM
Reminds me of the old Celtic midfield from 1980s Glavin,Burns,Schopps !!! One for the older guys.

Hahaha....forgot about that. Don't think he ever got done for it.

02-11-2021, 07:46 AM
Hahaha....forgot about that. Don't think he ever got done for it.

He was found not guilty.

Magpie
02-11-2021, 09:46 AM
Unai Emery likely to be next Newcastle manager.

02-11-2021, 03:32 PM
Great coup for Spurs to get Conte. He has a big job to do, and is reported to have 150 million to spend. He has a reputation for being difficult, so it could be an interesting journey.

Magpie
02-11-2021, 03:51 PM
Great coup for Spurs to get Conte. He has a big job to do, and is reported to have 150 million to spend. He has a reputation for being difficult, so it could be an interesting journey.

Worked with the Sporting Director at Juventus, so I imagine the relationship on that front won’t be too bad. It will be clear to see which players he sees as deadwood over the coming weeks. He won’t take any crap from them anyway that’s for sure. If any of them sulk like they did under Mourinho then they will soon be replaced.

02-11-2021, 04:08 PM

I feel like down there, £150M is a three average players.

He’s going to need a lot more than that (based on very little knowledge of TH other than current standings)

02-11-2021, 04:12 PM

Sporting life
Stendel might be interested if they can sober him up in time.

02-11-2021, 04:29 PM
I feel like down there, £150M is a three average players.

He’s going to need a lot more than that (based on very little knowledge of TH other than current standings)

Apparently they are after Vlahovic, Bastoni and De Vrij. Might get 2 of them for 150 million if the sellers are feeling generous.

Honestly, Conte could've done much better than the Spurs job. Will end in tears because they'll never match his ambition. Chelsea, Juventus and Inter Milan couldn't.

03-11-2021, 09:07 AM
Apparently they are after Vlahovic, Bastoni and De Vrij. Might get 2 of them for 150 million if the sellers are feeling generous.

Honestly, Conte could've done much better than the Spurs job. Will end in tears because they'll never match his ambition. Chelsea, Juventus and Inter Milan couldn't.

This is near inevitable. Levy will never learn and never change.

In reality Spurs have everything in place now to become a super club but under current ownership it’s impossible.

03-11-2021, 10:19 AM

Spurs fans will be delighted.

They won't give a damn how much it's cost, it's totally irrelevant to them.

They've got rid of a manager who was never up for the job and replaced him with a top manager.

03-11-2021, 10:30 AM

They’re also talking about making an offer for Vlahovic, who is pure gold and desperate to get out of Fiorentina. Definitely won’t come cheap, could be 80-100milion.

Highwayman
03-11-2021, 10:50 AM
Who are the current bookies favourites in the managerial sack race in Scotland and England.

03-11-2021, 04:50 PM
Eddie Howe favourite for Newcastle now that Emery (and Conte of course) turned them down.

Good appointment I think. He knows the championship well.

Magpie
03-11-2021, 05:08 PM
Who are the current bookies favourites in the managerial sack race in Scotland and England.

England it’s Dean Smith but I fancy the Norwich manager at 7/2.

Dr What If?
03-11-2021, 05:17 PM
Never mind these wee English sides, Maurice Ross I hear is favourite for the Cowdenbeath job, Donald Findlay's club. Dangerous job that one, bottom of the 4th tier, no club who has fallen out of the SPFL has made it back up yet.

03-11-2021, 06:15 PM

That's a good shout. I might have a wee bet there.

Magpie
03-11-2021, 09:20 PM
That's a good shout. I might have a wee bet there.

The Norwich support are already starting to turn against him. Smith has earned credit to be given time at Villa and I can’t see Ole going anytime soon.

04-11-2021, 09:23 AM
Depends where the Norwich board sees the club, they may be happy taking the EPL millions every couple of seasons but Norwich fans wont be happy seeing how well Brighton are doing.

Smith deserves to try and turn it around, needs to add quality in January, the replacement for Grealish is pish in comparison.

04-11-2021, 09:29 AM
Never mind these wee English sides, Maurice Ross I hear is favourite for the Cowdenbeath job, Donald Findlay's club. Dangerous job that one, bottom of the 4th tier, no club who has fallen out of the SPFL has made it back up yet.

That's a good point. Just shows how many clubs were stagnating in their comfort zones down there. The likes of Kelty and Cove are doing really well.

05-11-2021, 03:30 PM
Xavi to be next Barca Manager

Al Sadd

The Veteran
05-11-2021, 04:22 PM
Unai Emery likely to be next Newcastle manager.

They'd be better with Dick Emery.

The Veteran
05-11-2021, 04:24 PM
Xavi to be next Barca Manager

Al Sadd

Best player in his position that I’ve ever seen.

Doesn't mean he’ll be a good manager though.

05-11-2021, 05:46 PM
Best player in his position that I’ve ever seen.

Doesn't mean he’ll be a good manager though.

Xavi made the Xavi role his own.

SJNB Hibby
05-11-2021, 06:19 PM
They'd be better with Dick Emery.

That's awful

05-11-2021, 06:32 PM
That's awful

But I like it.

06-11-2021, 06:23 AM
Xavi announced as Manager by Barca

BBC Sport

Magpie
06-11-2021, 12:52 PM
Eddie Howe to Newcastle is now looking uncertain after he failed to secure a deal for his backroom staff to follow him to the club.

Isn’t that the reason he didn’t take the Celtic job too? Newcastle obviously not short of money, I wonder what the actual issue is.

06-11-2021, 05:18 PM
Eddie Howe to Newcastle is now looking uncertain after he failed to secure a deal for his backroom staff to follow him to the club.

Isn’t that the reason he didn’t take the Celtic job too? Newcastle obviously not short of money, I wonder what the actual issue is.

At the game tonight with the owners so looks like he’ll be the new manager.

In other news, Neil Warnock leaves Boro.

06-11-2021, 05:22 PM

Remember that he left Burnley because of the distance from the South of England where his family were.

06-11-2021, 05:23 PM
But I like it.

Highwayman
06-11-2021, 05:26 PM
At the game tonight with the owners so looks like he’ll be the new manager.

In other news, Neil Warnock leaves Boro.

Newcastles new owner have multi millions to spend and they’re after Eddie Howe.

Don’t quite get that.

Just get back on the managerial carousel Neil.Some ailing club will come after you sooner or later.

06-11-2021, 05:28 PM
Newcastles new owner have multi millions to spend and they’re after Eddie Howe.

Don’t quite get that.

Just get back on the managerial carousel Neil.Some ailing club will come after you sooner or later.

They need a manager to keep them up first and foremost.

Chris Wilder getting the Boro job.

06-11-2021, 06:21 PM
Norwich have apparently sacked their manager.

06-11-2021, 06:24 PM
Norwich have apparently sacked their manager.

They're a yoyo club, without spending real money what did they expect, he brought them straight up last season.

Just_Jimmy
06-11-2021, 06:24 PM
Norwich have apparently sacked their manager.After they won?

06-11-2021, 06:29 PM
After they won?

Apparently so.

I’ve possibly jumped the gun; I’ve just seen a journalist reporting it and a few other sites jumping on the back of that.

Maybe trying to get in quick so they can hijack Boro’s move for Wilder.

06-11-2021, 06:39 PM
They're a yoyo club, without spending real money what did they expect, he brought them straight up last season.

I think they spent more cash on players than Watford and Brentford this summer

Dmas
06-11-2021, 07:06 PM

66m they spent heard on radio earlier 11 new players though they fail to see this as them buying £6m players whilst teams around them are buying 20-30m per player

06-11-2021, 07:11 PM
66m they spent heard on radio earlier 11 new players though they fail to see this as them buying £6m players whilst teams around them are buying 20-30m per player

I just find it weird they sack him after their first win in 10 games , They lost 7-0 to Chelsea 2 weeks ago would it not be best to severe ties then ?

2 week international break i can only assume they have a ready made replacement

Just_Jimmy
06-11-2021, 07:15 PM
Apparently so.

I’ve possibly jumped the gun; I’ve just seen a journalist reporting it and a few other sites jumping on the back of that.

Maybe trying to get in quick so they can hijack Boro’s move for Wilder.Nah you're right. Weird one. Maybe been waiting for the international break.

They'll go down regardless.

Rumble de Thump
06-11-2021, 07:21 PM
****e off. And Warnock leaves Middlesbrough by mutual consent. Eddie Howe being linked with both jobs.

06-11-2021, 07:27 PM

3 quality £20m players instead of 6 bang average ones, there's ways to spend that kind of money.

06-11-2021, 07:31 PM
****e off. And Warnock leaves Middlesbrough by mutual consent. Eddie Howe being linked with both jobs.

Newcastle and Middlesbrough are a lot further north for him than Norwich!

I do think Newcastle will struggle to find a good manager wanting to be the first in line with the new owners

06-11-2021, 07:38 PM
3 quality £20m players instead of 6 bang average ones, there's ways to spend that kind of money.

That worked out well for Bournemouth eh ?

06-11-2021, 07:39 PM
Nah you're right. Weird one. Maybe been waiting for the international break.

They'll go down regardless.

Decision was made before the game but they didn’t want to disrupt the team preparation this week.

Shame - seems like a nice guy who did a good job.

Norwich also lost their best player in the close season and the £66 million spend wasn’t net.

It’s a balancing act for promoted teams but I expected them to spend a bit more this time.

Rumble de Thump
06-11-2021, 07:47 PM
Maybe Gilmour will get a game now.

06-11-2021, 10:19 PM
That worked out well for Bournemouth eh ?

Danny Murphy said exactly the same thing tonight on MOTD, a lot of money on average players but still have the same problems at the back.

06-11-2021, 10:27 PM
Thought it was crap of Norwich to sack him tonight at least give him one night of enjoyment after a win no we will just piss on his chips so to speak. Could it have not waited until Monday

davy67 +
06-11-2021, 11:02 PM
Chris Wilder favourite for the’Boro job apparently, announcement expected in a couple of days

06-11-2021, 11:04 PM
Strong rumours Solskjaer will be sacked on Monday; new manager to bed in during international break before Watford game.

It has to happen. It's beyond belief he can cling on any longer.

Just_Jimmy
07-11-2021, 12:06 AM
Strong rumours Solskjaer will be sacked on Monday; new manager to bed in during international break before Watford game.

It has to happen. It's beyond belief he can cling on any longer.I doubt he'll go until they're out the champions league, or top 4 is totally gone.

If he does go, I'd expect it Tuesday at the earliest which is when the previous managers have gone, Tuesday following a result on the Saturday.

Magpie
07-11-2021, 06:11 AM

👍🏻

Bridge hibs
07-11-2021, 07:16 AM
Howe to be appointed Newcastle Manager on 2.5 year deal, just sorting out his backroom staff now. Wonder what Newcastle fans think of that appointment

07-11-2021, 07:40 AM

It has to happen. It's beyond belief he can cling on any longer.

Not sure who they’ve lined up as no obvious candidates out there looking for work.

07-11-2021, 08:12 AM
Not sure who they’ve lined up as no obvious candidates out there looking for work.

It's a difficult one, there's no one really free and available right now, Conte would've been a good fit but Spurs got him, Poch isn't doing that well at PSG considering the money spent. Brendan Rogers and Diego Simeone must be 2 with a good shout.

07-11-2021, 08:22 AM
It's a difficult one, there's no one really free and available right now, Conte would've been a good fit but Spurs got him, Poch isn't doing that well at PSG considering the money spent. Brendan Rogers and Diego Simeone must be 2 with a good shout.

Genuinely couldn't see United taking on an ex Liverpool manager

07-11-2021, 08:26 AM
Newcastle United's move to appoint Eddie Howe as their new boss has stalled after they failed to reach an agreement with Jason Tindall to be his number two.

Maybe just gossip.

07-11-2021, 08:30 AM
Genuinely couldn't see United taking on an ex Liverpool manager

This is why I feel they may stick with Ole, just who is there at the moment.

07-11-2021, 08:31 AM
Newcastle could do worse than Howe or Rodgers.

This is why I feel they may stick with Ole, just who is there at the moment.

I think they are waiting for Poch might be wrong.

angus hibby
Newcastle United's move to appoint Eddie Howe as their new boss has stalled after they failed to reach an agreement with Jason Tindall to be his number two.

Maybe just gossip.

Tindall was at their game with Howe last night so can’t see this being true.

07-11-2021, 08:32 AM
Tindall was at their game with Howe last night so can’t see this being true.

Yes given the money swilling about can't for the life of me think being able to reach a deal with an assistant manager would be an issue.

Highwayman
07-11-2021, 08:40 AM
Howe to be appointed Newcastle Manager on 2.5 year deal, just sorting out his backroom staff now. Wonder what Newcastle fans think of that appointment

Can’t think the Newcastle fans will be fainting with excitement about the appointment of Eddie Howe.

It seems like thinking you’ve won top gelt in the lottery and finding you’ve only won a free ticket.

Is this because the big name managers are not available at present or they’re just not interested in locating to Newcastle.

NC1875
07-11-2021, 08:46 AM
Yes given the money swilling about can't for the life of me think being able to reach a deal with an assistant manager would be an issue.

Seen something similar reported elsewhere last night. Didn’t mention any names, it just said the deal had stalled as unable to reach agreements with Howes chosen back room staff.

Similar happened at Celtic I’m sure, maybe the back room guys are asking for silly money or something 🤷🏽*♂️

07-11-2021, 08:55 AM
What a nonsense comment, no one hates to be a fan of the club they support!

There are definitely folk on here and in Twitter who hate being Hibs fans. 100%.

Magpie
07-11-2021, 12:36 PM
Villa have sacked Dean Smith.

07-11-2021, 12:37 PM
https://twitter.com/avfcofficial/status/1457339600167489540?s=21

Dmas
07-11-2021, 12:39 PM

Heard a few times last week they where after Gerrard, not from anyone ITK do I wouldn’t be throwing any money at it, I expected him to be given time to turn it around, spent 300m at Villa incredible amounts of cash

07-11-2021, 12:41 PM

Thought he would have more credit in the bank to last longer, ah well, did a good job with them but the loss of Grealish has impacted them and they haven't successfully replaced him.

Magpie
07-11-2021, 12:46 PM
Heard a few times last week they where after Gerrard, not from anyone ITK do I wouldn’t be throwing any money at it, I expected him to be given time to turn it around, spent 300m at Villa incredible amounts of cash

Roberto Martinez would be my guess. He’s been wanted by them in the past.

07-11-2021, 01:08 PM
Norwich and Villa sack their manager - yet still Ole clings on. United are a circus; no leadership at all at the club.

Hibees1973
07-11-2021, 01:41 PM
The managerial game is ruthless in England. The financial implications of relegation for clubs such as Villa and Newcastle Utd are horrendous. However, Newcastle with their new benefactors will be able to absorb this.

Villa were aiming for top 6 this year, however it seems bottom 6 is more likely.

Our current malaise is not dissimilar to Villa. The difference is we have made no investment in the team this year and is the main reason for our decline and other teams over taking us. We have stood still and looking the the league table reflects this. Some people will say we have games in hand, however, due to the lack of investment in the first team with experienced players we do not have the depth in squad to cope with so many games in a short period of time.

Appears the Yams could be well over the horizon before the transfer window in January, which is embarrassing given we have finished well above them in league terms over the last 4 -5 years. Know the Yams have their benefactor who donates cash to them like a charity (i.e expecting nothing in return), but our squad was far superior to them up until the last few months.

Hibs only have themselves to blame for this below average start to the season. Our inability to cope with covid protocols should not be used an excuse for the failure so far.

07-11-2021, 02:53 PM
The managerial game is ruthless in England. The financial implications of relegation for clubs such as Villa and Newcastle Utd are horrendous. However, Newcastle with their new benefactors will be able to absorb this.

Villa were aiming for top 6 this year, however it seems bottom 6 is more likely.

Our current malaise is not dissimilar to Villa. The difference is we have made no investment in the team this year and is the main reason for our decline and other teams over taking us. We have stood still and looking the the league table reflects this. Some people will say we have games in hand, however, due to the lack of investment in the first team with experienced players we do not have the depth in squad to cope with so many games in a short period of time.

Appears the Yams could be well over the horizon before the transfer window in January, which is embarrassing given we have finished well above them in league terms over the last 4 -5 years. Know the Yams have their benefactor who donates cash to them like a charity (i.e expecting nothing in return), but our squad was far superior to them up until the last few months.

Hibs only have themselves to blame for this below average start to the season. Our inability to cope with covid protocols should not be used an excuse for the failure so far.

Takes some skill to turn villa sacking their manager to into having a go at Hibs and praising the jambos! 🙄

07-11-2021, 03:03 PM

Our squad still is far superior. They'll be over no horizon.

Highwayman
07-11-2021, 03:21 PM

Well Magpie,did you go for the double.

Magpie
07-11-2021, 03:27 PM
Well Magpie,did you go for the double.

Had 20 on the Norwich boss at 7/2. A nice surprise seeing him getting the boot after winning yesterday.

07-11-2021, 04:06 PM
Had 20 on the Norwich boss at 7/2. A nice surprise seeing him getting the boot after winning yesterday.

It must have already been decided that he would be emptied for the international break, whatever the result.

07-11-2021, 04:29 PM
Seen something similar reported elsewhere last night. Didn’t mention any names, it just said the deal had stalled as unable to reach agreements with Howes chosen back room staff.

Similar happened at Celtic I’m sure, maybe the back room guys are asking for silly money or something 🤷🏽*♂️
Exactly the same situation at Celtic, your right.

07-11-2021, 04:34 PM

07-11-2021, 04:35 PM
Roberto Martinez would be my guess. He’s been wanted by them in the past.

Fair shout did Maloney not play for them also. Think it is incredibly unfair on Dean Smith.

07-11-2021, 05:04 PM

So we’ve made no investment?? So we signed no one?? Injuries suspension?? and your getting overly excited about Hearts having won the league and it’s only November.

Remember last time youse did that?? Long long way to go.

I’m really struggling with the hearts love in on quite a few threads.

Plenty of negativity about Hibs yet praise for Hearts?? Wrong site mate

07-11-2021, 08:51 PM
I only watched the first half of Southampton v Villa . Southampton absolutely overloaded on the Villa right back-sometimes two or three at a time-only the ineptitude of of Southampton in the middle saved Villa from going in 3/4 down at the interval. But what really struck me was that nobody on the park or more importantly the bench did anything about it-just let it go on. Villa looked relegation fodder and have only taken 3 points from 18 away from home-a win- meaning they got nothing from 5 games. The other two teams with 3 points at least got them from 3 draws-showing a bit more steel.Maybe the manager has run his course and lost heart after he lost his get out of jail card and didn't spend the proceeds too well.

08-11-2021, 10:35 AM
Slippy G to Villa, or is it just lazy media gossip?

08-11-2021, 02:06 PM
That's Howe in at Newcastle.

08-11-2021, 02:09 PM
That's Howe in at Newcastle.

Amazing how home sickness isn't an issue anymore when shown the money.

08-11-2021, 02:10 PM
Howay more like

08-11-2021, 02:18 PM
Is that an appointment that will keep Newcastle in the EPL? Not so sure. I didn't think he'd be a great appointment for Celtic back in the summer.

08-11-2021, 03:08 PM
Our squad still is far superior. They'll be over no horizon.

No it's not.

08-11-2021, 04:24 PM
No it's not.

There he is though, the quintessential harbinger of doom. You must be absolutely tumescent at the moment.

Magpie
08-11-2021, 06:40 PM
There he is though, the quintessential harbinger of doom. You must be absolutely tumescent at the moment.

I needed a dictionary for all that 😅

08-11-2021, 09:41 PM
Slippy G to Villa, or is it just lazy media gossip?

That story Seems to be building a bit momentum just now. Apparently a move could be getting made within the next 48 hours for him (I’ve not read the story, just the headline on Twitter)

Speaking to a hun mate today and he was saying his family still lives down south and likely to be tempted as he travels back down 2 or 3 times a week. Hun mate isn’t likely to be in the know so I’m guessing he’ll have read that in the papers or something.

08-11-2021, 09:47 PM
Wonder who Rangers go for if Steven Gerrard does leave.

Going by their recent accounts you’d think it won’t be anybody high profile and will be a cheap option that knows Scottish football. They’ve stopped 10 in a row now so there’s not the same urgency to throw money at the next appointment, I could be wrong but that seemed like a major motivation for them.

Similarities to when they appointed McLeish?

08-11-2021, 09:55 PM

Going by their recent accounts you’d think it won’t be anybody high profile and will be a cheap option that knows Scottish football. They’ve stopped 10 in a row now so there’s not the same urgency to throw money at the next appointment, I could be wrong but that seemed like a major motivation for them.

Derek McInnes?

08-11-2021, 10:02 PM
Derek McInnes?

He turned them down a few years ago, I can’t see him being asked again.

08-11-2021, 10:07 PM
He turned them down a few years ago, I can’t see him being asked again.

Depends on who else is available and who owned the club at the time he turned them down. If it was real baddies he might get away with it.

08-11-2021, 11:16 PM
That story Seems to be building a bit momentum just now. Apparently a move could be getting made within the next 48 hours for him (I’ve not read the story, just the headline on Twitter)

Speaking to a hun mate today and he was saying his family still lives down south and likely to be tempted as he travels back down 2 or 3 times a week. Hun mate isn’t likely to be in the know so I’m guessing he’ll have read that in the papers or something.

Reports that Villa will be making an approach. The way it’s being talked about it seems that’s going to happen as a minimum.

Wouldn’t mind them losing him before the semi final to be fair.

08-11-2021, 11:35 PM
Reports that Villa will be making an approach. The way it’s being talked about it seems that’s going to happen as a minimum.

They will be devastated if he goes. I would piss myself laughing as well as it could send them into a spin. Perfect timing for us !

09-11-2021, 05:38 AM
There are definitely folk on here and in Twitter who hate being Hibs fans. 100%.

Absolutely very bizarre unless they are living some strange double life.

09-11-2021, 05:40 AM
Derek McInnes?

Definitely would be in the running though Rangers fans would likely be underwhelmed

09-11-2021, 05:41 AM

Villas Chief executive used to be at Liverpool so will know Gerrard well. Possible he has indicated he is interested.

09-11-2021, 05:51 AM

Alex Neil is my guess

09-11-2021, 07:35 AM

I think McAllister would take over permanently.

09-11-2021, 07:48 AM

Think it could be a risky appointment for Villa. Considering Rangers resources, Gerrards reign has been underwhelming. Only one trophy I think and it could be argued that Celtics implosion and inability to sort out managerial appointment allowed Rangers to win the league

09-11-2021, 08:02 AM
They will be devastated if he goes. I would piss myself laughing as well as it could send them into a spin. Perfect timing for us !
Hopefully he takes their best players with him.

09-11-2021, 08:06 AM
Hopefully he takes their best players with him.

Hopefully he takes Beale with him.

He’s the brains behind the operation there.

09-11-2021, 08:10 AM

Am I allowed to say I hope they target Ross to replace him and we consider Beale as his replacement?

I’ve heard from a few places that Beale is excellent and seems to be in the running for some other jobs down south just now.

09-11-2021, 08:16 AM
I think McAllister would take over permanently.

McAllister would go with Gerrard along with his other staff. Can't see it happening unless he has a clause in his contract which is possible.

09-11-2021, 08:26 AM

I’ve never heard of him, but I have heard it’s his assistant that’s the main man. What’s his background?

09-11-2021, 09:02 AM

09-11-2021, 09:04 AM
I’ve never heard of him, but I have heard it’s his assistant that’s the main man. What’s his background?

Was in charge of the Liverpool academy, hence the Gerrard connection.

09-11-2021, 09:07 AM

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/sport/football/56298826.amp

Youth coach then went to be assistant manager at Sao Paolo. Returned to the UK at Liverpool and then up to Rangers.

09-11-2021, 10:15 AM

They used to say that about Peter Taylor and Clough-until Taylor got a number 1 job.

09-11-2021, 10:23 AM
They used to say that about Peter Taylor and Clough-until Taylor got a number 1 job.

They both struggled on their own.

09-11-2021, 10:38 AM
According to ITK journalists, such as the Manchester Evening News, Solskjaer will be sacked this week. Solskjaer and the squad have been given a few days off whilst the necessary steps are taken. Solskjaer is currently in Norway. The MUFC board has decided that a change needs to be made and the four permanent replacement candidates are Zidane, Rodgers, Pochettino and Ten Hag. However, believing it may difficult to get any of them in November, they are looking for an interim for the rest of the season, but had NO PLAN for this eventuality.

Imagine running one of the biggest football clubs in the world but having no Plan B, in case things go wrong. Sums up the Glazers and the United board. A clown show.

09-11-2021, 10:40 AM
According to ITK journalists, such as the Manchester Evening News, Solskjaer will be sacked this week. Solskjaer and the squad have been given a few days off whilst the necessary steps are taken. Solskjaer is currently in Norway. The MUFC board has decided that a change needs to be made and the four permanent replacement candidates are Zidane, Rodgers, Pochettino and Ten Hag. However, believing it may difficult to get any of them in November, they are looking for an interim for the rest of the season, but had NO PLAN for this eventuality.

Imagine running one of the biggest football clubs in the world but having no Plan B, in case things go wrong. Sums up the Glazers and the United board. A clown show.

Is that not what happened when OGS was appointed? A temporary appointment where he enjoyed a good run of form that made the decision to give him the job permanently inevitable, even if it wasn’t the right one.

09-11-2021, 10:50 AM

They might promote Gary Mcallister into the role.

09-11-2021, 10:50 AM
Is that not what happened when OGS was appointed? A temporary appointment where he enjoyed a good run of form that made the decision to give him the job permanently inevitable, even if it wasn’t the right one.

It's worse. They had Solskjaer lined up to replace Mourinho; this time they have no interim in mind because they didn't foresee results going so badly. They are now scratching around for someone who will take the job for seven months and can't sack Solskjaer until that is organised. Hard to believe, but that's the situation, according to the ITKs.

09-11-2021, 10:52 AM

The fact that OGS is back in Norway is common knowledge suggests the club is briefing journalists and he is indeed getting sacked today or tomorrow.

09-11-2021, 10:55 AM
Good move for Gerrard. He's unlikely to be offered a bigger club than Villa.

09-11-2021, 11:06 AM

Rangers would be wise to keep Beale and offer him the asst manager job with McInnes as manager
They would get good compensation for Gerrard unless there is a clause in his contract allowing him to bail out on the cheap. McInnes instead of Gerrard would save them a fortune but their big name players are likely to get itchy feet enmasse without Gerrard and it would be more difficult to attract similar level replacements. Could be the advantage Celtic have been looking for to get them back on top.

As regards Gerrard I thought he was building a good reputation outwith Scotland with Rangers good performances in Europe but the chaos and acrimony at last seasons game when they were eliminated followed up by poor Rangers performances and results in Europe this season have set that reputation back a little and a move to Aston Villa could quickly unravel it completely if he couldn't arrest their slide.

09-11-2021, 11:42 AM
Think Brendan Rogers would be their best bet. Think he’a a brilliant manager and would do well.

Spudster
09-11-2021, 11:55 AM

Sounds like how most American businesses are run (in my experience anyway).

09-11-2021, 12:09 PM
Think Brendan Rogers would be their best bet. Think he’a a brilliant manager and would do well.

I mentioned similar re Rodgers and someone said he's an ex Liverpool boss so they might not go with him, thing is he had no connection to Liverpool prior to taking over as their boss, coming from Swansea, his style of football would suit Man U.

09-11-2021, 12:20 PM

Started off on the stall where he should have stayed imo. Got ideas above his station and saw an number of business ventures fail and married a succession of women which always ended in tears. Has been obsessed with his mate Sharon for years who eventually ended up trying to poison him to death. Had a bit of a meltdown at one point too. Makes a tremendous King Rib supper though.

09-11-2021, 12:21 PM
Wonder if Rodgers would be tempted by the Villa job.

09-11-2021, 12:28 PM
Was in charge of the Liverpool academy, hence the Gerrard connection.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/sport/football/56298826.amp

Youth coach then went to be assistant manager at Sao Paolo. Returned to the UK at Liverpool and then up to Rangers.
Cheers.

09-11-2021, 01:25 PM
Wonder if Rodgers would be tempted by the Villa job.

I don't think so, to be honest. He's got a good set up at Leicester and things are going well. If Man United came calling, that would be hard to turn down.

09-11-2021, 03:54 PM
Think it could be a risky appointment for Villa. Considering Rangers resources, Gerrards reign has been underwhelming. Only one trophy I think and it could be argued that Celtics implosion and inability to sort out managerial appointment allowed Rangers to win the league

Not sure about that, as much as I despise both the huns and Gerrard I don't think it can be described as underwhelming.

Has done excellently in Europe qualifying for the Europa groups every season, especially in his first couple of years when they were very low seeds and put out some top teams.

Domestic record hasn't been ideal but Celtic have had far more money to spend for the bulk of his career at Rangers. Follow swiss ramble quite closely who posts good analysis of football finances, and right up until last season Celtic were making tens of millions more than them each year and spending about £30 million more on wages as well.

EI255
09-11-2021, 04:31 PM
Thanks for this whatever Sticky Bun wrote it.....

Clear the Erskine Bridge? Aye, cause it'll be a sea of Red, white n blue..... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211109/b324712248713b165aad84a33dde3df8.jpg

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

09-11-2021, 04:37 PM

Clear the Erskine Bridge? Aye, cause it'll be a sea of Red, white n blue..... https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211109/b324712248713b165aad84a33dde3df8.jpg

And liked by HerMajesty's11 :hilarious

09-11-2021, 04:37 PM

What is the 56 they are talking about?

09-11-2021, 04:48 PM
What’s the reference to the Erskine bridge?

JammyDoidger
09-11-2021, 04:51 PM
Gerrard to Villa, lampard to Rangers.

Renfrew_Hibby
09-11-2021, 04:53 PM
What’s the reference to the Erskine bridge?

A well known and sadly we'll used suicide spot.

The Tim's will aw be jumpin aff it... So I was told by a hun today!

09-11-2021, 04:55 PM
A well known and sadly we'll used suicide spot.

The Tim's will aw be jumpin aff it... So I was told by a hun today!

Ah. Classy as ever.

JammyDoidger
09-11-2021, 05:01 PM
Gerrard to Villa, lampard to Rangers.

EI255
09-11-2021, 05:05 PM
Watch the mass exedous from Rangers once SG goes.

They can always get the military to stand in for them. Seeing as the bond is so close.

nlandsafchibee
09-11-2021, 05:16 PM
Cannot take credit for this but funniest and nearly true tweet just seen.Gerald ready to go and sign with Villa provided his backroom staff of Madden,Walsh,Robertson,Dallas,Clancy are allowed to go also .

09-11-2021, 05:22 PM
Cannot take credit for this but funniest and nearly true tweet just seen.Gerald ready to go and sign with Villa provided his backroom staff of Madden,Walsh,Robertson,Dallas,Clancy are allowed to go also .

:greengrin:greengrin:agree::agree:

EI255
09-11-2021, 05:23 PM
Cannot take credit for this but funniest and nearly true tweet just seen.Gerald ready to go and sign with Villa provided his backroom staff of Madden,Walsh,Robertson,Dallas,Clancy are allowed to go also .Queues at Erskine Bridge yet?

09-11-2021, 10:24 PM

Maybe it’s just a Hibs made rumour to upset the Huns before the semi final. The shoe’s usually on the other foot so that would be an ironic twist. 🤣

09-11-2021, 10:29 PM
Seems like Gerrard to villa could be a goer

A few reports now saying he is interested in the job

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/football/2021/nov/09/aston-villa-want-steven-gerrard-next-manager-plan-rangers-approach

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

09-11-2021, 11:25 PM
Seems like Gerrard to villa could be a goer

A few reports now saying he is interested in the job

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/football/2021/nov/09/aston-villa-want-steven-gerrard-next-manager-plan-rangers-approach

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Hopefully he's away before the semi.

Hulk1875
10-11-2021, 02:13 AM
He’s got to take the job won league with rangers good chance they’ll lose it this season, I loved SG as a player but can’t take to him being there manager hopefully he goes and SJM moves on for big transfer in summer

10-11-2021, 05:19 AM
Maybe it’s just a Hibs made rumour to upset the Huns before the semi final. The shoe’s usually on the other foot so that would be an ironic twist. 🤣

Ben is the man. "Blue half of Glasgow" comment then starting the Villa rumour. Love him 😉

10-11-2021, 06:34 AM
Hopefully the Gerrard thing rumbles on and unsettles them right up until a few days or so before the semi, seeing them unsettled by media stories relating to football staff leaving would for once be a nice change

10-11-2021, 07:00 AM
Hopefully the Gerrard thing rumbles on and unsettles them right up until a few days or so before the semi, seeing them unsettled by media stories relating to football staff leaving would for once be a nice change

And they are unsettled.

Be nice to rumble on until then then he goes

10-11-2021, 07:23 AM

Wait till you see who the media are reporting Rangers target to replace him in the run up to the cup semi final 😉

10-11-2021, 07:45 AM
I reckon Gerrard will be announced at Villa before the weeks done.

They don’t seem to be messing around and supposedly a clause that they’re only needing to pay £2m-£3m compensation

10-11-2021, 07:52 AM
I reckon Gerrard will be announced at Villa before the weeks done.

They don’t seem to be messing around and supposedly a clause that they’re only needing to pay £2m-£3m compensation

I’d be surprised if he leaves Rangers for Villa. As much as I dislike Celtic/Rangers, would that be an attractive move - mid to bottom table of premier league, no Europe etc

10-11-2021, 08:00 AM
I’d be surprised if he leaves Rangers for Villa. As much as I dislike Celtic/Rangers, would that be an attractive move - mid to bottom table of premier league, no Europe etc

Is he going to get a better offer? Doubt that he wants to stay at Ibrox forever.

It would give him a chance to pitch for the Liverpool job.

10-11-2021, 08:03 AM

I disagree.

There’s a strong chance Celtic could win the league this year and if they do, Gerrards reputation will be shot to pieces, if he wins the league his stock won’t get any higher than it is now.

Aston Villa are a huge club who will spend a lot of money on players. He’s got an opportunity to get back into the premiership which will be more appealing than a few games in Europe against some pretty average and some decent sides.

There’s also the family side of it, apparently his family have stayed down south and he travels back a couple of times a week. Getting to go and live back home again would be a huge appeal.

I think it’s a no brainer for him.

10-11-2021, 08:10 AM

I reckon any job in the premier league is a more attractive option than managing up here, Rangers & Celtic included.

Also think Villa are quite an attractive job as well. They’ve got a decent squad who’ve been underperforming and owners who’re likely to back the manager financially

10-11-2021, 08:15 AM

On the surface you’re correct. But you can look at it from the perspective that AV would be a better stepping stone for a move to bigger things. I’m pretty sure that the English, rightly or wrongly, regard most Premier league clubs as superior to the ugly sisters ruling the roost in a football backwater. I wouldn’t be at all surprised if he jumps at it if he gets the nod.

10-11-2021, 08:18 AM
On the surface you’re correct. But you can look at it from the perspective that AV would be a better stepping stone for a move to bigger things. I’m pretty sure that the English, rightly or wrongly, regard most Premier league clubs as superior to the ugly sisters ruling the roost in a football backwater. I wouldn’t be at all surprised if he jumps at it if he gets the nod.

I get what you’re saying but Villa would be a very difficult job. It’s clear how much Gerrard loves that “big club” feeling and I’d be surprised if he left.

10-11-2021, 08:19 AM
I reckon any job in the premier league is a more attractive option than managing up here, Rangers & Celtic included.

Also think Villa are quite an attractive job as well. They’ve got a decent squad who’ve been underperforming and owners who’re likely to back the manager financially

You think managing Watford, Brighton, Burnley, Brentford would be more attractive than Celtic/Rangers, I don’t agree

10-11-2021, 08:26 AM
I disagree.

There’s a strong chance Celtic could win the league this year and if they do, Gerrards reputation will be shot to pieces, if he wins the league his stock won’t get any higher than it is now.

Aston Villa are a huge club who will spend a lot of money on players. He’s got an opportunity to get back into the premiership which will be more appealing than a few games in Europe against some pretty average and some decent sides.

There’s also the family side of it, apparently his family have stayed down south and he travels back a couple of times a week. Getting to go and live back home again would be a huge appeal.

I would be surprised if he didn't take it if got offered. You would assume he would have a clause in his contract maybe limiting compensation if he was to go to the EPL. Ex Liverpool CEO being there is another factor but also as you say the family side would be a factor. Villa are also a very big club and if he does well there he would be in a good position to go back to Liverpool post Klopp.

10-11-2021, 08:48 AM
You think managing Watford, Brighton, Burnley, Brentford would be more attractive than Celtic/Rangers, I don’t agree

Na I actually agree with you from my personal point of view but I think nowadays from a managers point of view it’s a chance to move to the “biggest league in the world”

10-11-2021, 09:01 AM
Those clubs would be a step down from the hun, but Villa are a massive club with plenty money to spend. He’d be crazy to turn them down.

10-11-2021, 09:03 AM
Villa is pretty much the perfect job for Gerrard before moving to Liverpool.

Big club, probably one of the biggest 8 or 9 clubs in the country, not ridiculous expectations (like Spurs) and they have money behind them.

If they want him he'll be off.

10-11-2021, 09:06 AM
I can't see Liverpool being interested in Gerrard unless he has success at another English club. He has to take the Villa job if offered.

10-11-2021, 10:30 AM
I can't see Liverpool being interested in Gerrard unless he has success at another English club. He has to take the Villa job if offered.

:agree: He will never get the Liverpool job until he has proved himself in the EPL with another club. Villa is almost the perfect job for him, get them into Europe after a season or two and he will be lined up for the Liverpool job. Villa have everything he needs to succeed down there, it would be up to him to prove he can do it at that level, I have my doubts he can do it but he has to try.

10-11-2021, 11:55 AM
I’m loving this. What, a few days ago, was a distracting but unlikely rumour, has grown arms and legs. The Huns on FF are more than ‘distracted’ and don’t know what to make of it. It’s very entertaining at this time of little football interest, no matter the outcome.🤣

10-11-2021, 12:04 PM
I’m loving this. What, a few days ago, was a distracting but unlikely rumour, has grown arms and legs. The Huns on FF are more than ‘distracted’ and don’t know what to make of it. It’s very entertaining at this time of little football interest, no matter the outcome.[emoji1787]

Chat in Birmingham papers is that he’s away.

loanheadhibby
10-11-2021, 12:04 PM
:agree: He will never get the Liverpool job until he has proved himself in the EPL with another club. Villa is almost the perfect job for him, get them into Europe after a season or two and he will be lined up for the Liverpool job. Villa have everything he needs to succeed down there, it would be up to him to prove he can do it at that level, I have my doubts he can do it but he has to try.

The danger for Gerrard is that he becomes another Roy Keane, who did well at Sunderland but less so at other clubs. Keane would be nowhere near consideration for the Man Utd job now. Gerrard has to be careful that he does not go to Villa, have a poor 18 months as that would likely rule him out of ever getting the Liverpool job.

To be fair, Gerrard really has nothing to lose by taking Villa job. I dare say he is fabulously wealthy and worst case scenario, he goes to work in the Liverpool Academy and/or BT/Sky Sports.

Looking forward to the drama unfolding.

10-11-2021, 12:05 PM

He's much more likely to get the Liverpool job post-Klopp if he does well with Villa, or even one of the teams you mention, than he would if he keeps winning the 2 horse race up here. Even that isn't exactly a given now that Celtc are showing some signs of revival. He might be best to cash in his Hun chips while he's perceived as a success.

10-11-2021, 12:12 PM

Who would have thought Leicester would have been a "step up"from Celtic for Brendan Rodgers or even attractive to him.

10-11-2021, 12:13 PM
Who would have thought Leicester would have been a "step up"from Celtic for Brendan Rodgers or even attractive.

Think he’s went on to prove that it definitely was a step up

Wouldn’t be surprised if he moves on to another top job from there. Man U could certainly do a lot worse

10-11-2021, 12:15 PM

Exactly my point.

10-11-2021, 12:16 PM
Exactly my point.

Yea sorry I edited my post and elaborated a bit

10-11-2021, 12:16 PM

Wouldn’t be surprised if he moves on to another top job from there. Man U could certainly do a lot worse

Doubt Man United's fans would want Stevie G.

10-11-2021, 12:17 PM
Chat in Birmingham papers is that he’s away.

That would be sweet

h1bs4life
Sticky in the work saying Gerard in London with his agent , hopefully true and he is away.

For any ambitious manager yes. Getting to go face Man City, Liverpool Arsenal et al every week as opposed to Livingston and Kilmarnock etc etc. Plus Sevco are broke, he'll have money to spend now.

Doubt Man It's fans would want Stevie G.

More chance of me getting that job than that happening :greengrin

10-11-2021, 12:21 PM
Doubt Man United's fans would want Stevie G.

I was referring to Rodgers mate

10-11-2021, 12:22 PM
Loads of folk (on twitter I know) saying it's a done deal and to be announced within 48 hours. A few verified accounts reporting it as well. Not that it really means much being verified.

10-11-2021, 12:22 PM
Ashley Preece Villa correspondent,for Birmingham Live , AVFC News , and does the Claret and Blue pod tweeted the below.

Steven Gerrard to Aston Villa all but done as he finalises his backroom staff. I'm expecting an announcement within the next 24 to 48 hours if not sooner. Christian Purslow set to get his man. Villans; fill in our Villa-Gerrard survey https://t.co/78pqVWZ4yU #avfc

https://twitter.com/PreeceObserver/status/1458415975578079234?t=o_vOGo5MR_-csEU962gCHg&s=19

NC1875
10-11-2021, 12:24 PM
Steven Gerrard very close to joining Aston Villa

final compensation package for his backroom team being put together,

John Beaton and Andrew Dallas are keen on the move.

10-11-2021, 12:29 PM
Seen a few people suggest Dean Smith as a possible replacement for Gerrard at the Huns.

Got me wondering, has there ever been two managers that have effectively swapped jobs before?

10-11-2021, 12:31 PM
As seen on FF:

https://twitter.com/hashtag/EveryoneAnyone?src=hashtag_click

10-11-2021, 12:32 PM

Not sure United fans would want Rodgers either given his Liverpool past

10-11-2021, 12:34 PM

Makes sense.

10-11-2021, 12:36 PM
As seen on FF:

https://twitter.com/hashtag/EveryoneAnyone?src=hashtag_click

Are the daily record saying anything about him not wearing a mask?

10-11-2021, 12:41 PM
I disagree.

Same here. Makes complete sense. More money to spend at a club who’ve won the European Cup, an hour from the house, stepping stone to Liverpool that Rangers don’t give him.

10-11-2021, 01:00 PM
I know this isn’t the forum for this but can anybody shed light on it? I’m following the Rangers ‘saga’ in the FF website on my IPhone and there’s no problem. However when I try to go on to FF on my Ipad I get this message:

Every other website on my IPad is fine.

10-11-2021, 01:06 PM
Ashley Preece Villa correspondent,for Birmingham Live , AVFC News , and does the Claret and Blue pod tweeted the below.

Steven Gerrard to Aston Villa all but done as he finalises his backroom staff. I'm expecting an announcement within the next 24 to 48 hours if not sooner. Christian Purslow set to get his man. Villans; fill in our Villa-Gerrard survey https://t.co/78pqVWZ4yU #avfc

https://twitter.com/PreeceObserver/status/1458415975578079234?t=o_vOGo5MR_-csEU962gCHg&s=19

I hope this is true. The anguish amongst the Huns will be epic. Follow Follow will make for magnificent reading.

10-11-2021, 01:13 PM
Same here. Makes complete sense. More money to spend at a club who’ve won the European Cup, an hour from the house, stepping stone to Liverpool that Rangers don’t give him.
He'll jump at the chance, big club, big league, big exposure, big money.

10-11-2021, 01:15 PM

:agree: Liverpool had their fingers burnt when the appointed Souness straight from the huns, and he was much more successful there than slippy.

10-11-2021, 01:42 PM
Let’s hope Gerrard doesn’t rate McGinn and sell him for 75m…

10-11-2021, 02:13 PM
Fingers crossed the back room staff all go with him. I reckon McAllister is the brains behind the success.

Lendo
10-11-2021, 02:21 PM
Graeme Murty still there?

10-11-2021, 02:22 PM
Fingers crossed the back room staff all go with him. I reckon McAllister is the brains behind the success.

You would expect at least some of his team to go with him.

PLEASING.

10-11-2021, 02:38 PM

I think Michael Beale is supposed to be the brains of the outfit.

10-11-2021, 02:43 PM
I think Michael Beale is supposed to be the brains of the outfit.

He’s done well since the stall in Albert square.

10-11-2021, 02:43 PM

All 4 of those clubs have significantly better managers than Celtic or Rangers, so yes.

10-11-2021, 03:00 PM
He’s done well since the stall in Albert square.

Doof ....doof ....doof... doof ....doof .... doof ....doof .... doof ....doof ........ Da,da,da da da....da, da!! 🎶🥁🎹

10-11-2021, 03:23 PM
All 4 of those clubs have significantly better managers than Celtic or Rangers, so yes.

Definitely. Playing in front of large crowds every week as opposed to a handful at Dingwall or whatever has to be an attraction too.

CyberSauzee
10-11-2021, 04:20 PM

:greengrin are you from the green half of Edinburgh?

10-11-2021, 04:47 PM

I hope he does rate him and wants him to play a more advanced role. He's shown for Scotland that he can score regularly from midfield if he is played in an advanced position and not in a midfield 2 with Nakamba. At the moment he is getting pelters from AV fans because he is being played out of position and being asked to distribute the ball, rather than carry it.

I do have a strange feeling he may end up at Newcastle in the not too distant future.

10-11-2021, 05:08 PM
I hope he does rate him and wants him to play a more advanced role. He's shown for Scotland that he can score regularly from midfield if he is played in an advanced position and not in a midfield 2 with Nakamba. At the moment he is getting pelters from AV fans because he is being played out of position and being asked to distribute the ball, rather than carry it.

I do have a strange feeling he may end up at Newcastle in the not too distant future.
On your last point I think/hope he'll go with Brendan Rodgers if he makes a move

hhibs
10-11-2021, 05:57 PM
On your last point I think/hope he'll go with Brendan Rodgers if he makes a move

Fingers crossed !

10-11-2021, 06:41 PM

10-11-2021, 07:05 PM

I read today (think it was the Daily Record online) that Gerrard really rates him and tried to sign him for Rangers. I wasn't aware of that.

10-11-2021, 08:13 PM
Lampard 14/1 to be Rangers manager

10-11-2021, 08:15 PM
Lampard 14/1 to be Rangers manager

Apparently they’ve enquired about Russel Martin.

This he’s only recently taken on the Swansea job though?

10-11-2021, 08:21 PM
Wonder if Big Dunc might fancy cutting his teeth up here?

10-11-2021, 08:23 PM
Or Van Bronckhorst. Certainly think there'll alreeqdy be a rangers connection

10-11-2021, 08:30 PM

Beale is really important.

Does all the coaching.

Lose them both and they will be lucky to get similar anytime soon.

Spoke with someone down south and will be very surprised if he doesn’t leave and join Villa now.

McSwanky
10-11-2021, 09:04 PM
Lampard 14/1 to be Rangers managerHe's also favourite for the Norwich job.

10-11-2021, 09:15 PM
Beale is really important.

Does all the coaching.

Lose them both and they will be lucky to get similar anytime soon.

Spoke with someone down south and will be very surprised if he doesn’t leave and join Villa now.

He is intending to take his whole back room staff he brought in to rangers with him to villa

10-11-2021, 09:36 PM
Sevco pushed the boat out in getting Gerrard to stop Celtic getting the ten and succeeded. I doubt the next appointment will be a big name, Poundland coaches are on alert 😆