View Full Version : What's the chances of fans going back in September?
Pages :
[
8]
23-02-2021, 12:15 PM
Is Joshua Fury a possibility for Wembley in the summer now?
No. Wembley will be in use for the Euros for around the time the fight is expected and I think they’ve already narrowed the venue down to 2 Middle East locations. They also won’t wanna risk dates getting pushed back by the government.
23-02-2021, 12:34 PM
As a society the majority seem fairly comfortable with lockdown and I don’t see millions pushing the narrative that we need to get back to normal.
Unless that malaise changes then we can kiss goodbye to ever going back to Easter Rd, if we still have a club.
It’s up to the population of this country what happens next when the vulnerable are vaccinated and deaths reduce by 99%.
Really??? I bloody well hope not or we are well and truly Donald Ducked as a society.
Despite getting out to work every day I feel like a wound up spring inside and am starting to have fantasies about various politicians swinging from lamposts.
Lockdown is absolutely NOT the way forward. Vaccines or no vaccines we need to start learning to live with this virus - and I mean LIVE.
It would be good for starters if the UK government lifted the restrictions on early treatments for COVID - restrictions that have more than likely resulted directly in the unnecessary deaths of tens of thousands so far and the tally will be rising on a daily basis. I don't know if the decision makers are in the pockets of the vaccine manufacturers or what but enough is enough. We need to be doing everything we can as a society to break out of lockdown and live a life that's sustainable AND healthy going forward.
23-02-2021, 01:11 PM
Why would any sane person make promises on international travel.
No part of it is in their gift.
The pandemic has continually made a fool of populist polititians.
Trump had the pandemic finishing almost a year ago.
NS on now
23-02-2021, 02:20 PM
Any chance you can tell us who is pulling this scam and what they're getting out of it?
Bill Gates I assume: https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?346126-Bill-Gates
Lee Marvin
23-02-2021, 02:36 PM
Why are people responding to this poor chap. He is to be pitied, not indulged.
23-02-2021, 02:47 PM
Why are people responding to this poor chap. He is to be pitied, not indulged.
I've been scratching my head to see if I can come up with anything worse I've seen on here in 20 years or so and I don't think I can.
03-03-2021, 09:50 PM
Football
Hearts
Ann Budge reveals when she believes Hearts fans will be back inside Tynecastle
Whilst welcoming a new instant Covid 19 test trialled at Tynecastle Park, the Hearts owner Ann Budge is not convinced fans will be back inside stadiums for the start of next season.
Hearts owner Ann Budge undergoes a rapid antigen test at Tynecastle Park on Wednesday.
She believes it could be nearer 2022 before a phased return of supporters starts – and is planning for full capacities being another full season away.
03-03-2021, 09:54 PM
Football
Hearts
Whilst welcoming a new instant Covid 19 test trialled at Tynecastle Park, the Hearts owner Ann Budge is not convinced fans will be back inside stadiums for the start of next season.
Hearts owner Ann Budge undergoes a rapid antigen test at Tynecastle Park on Wednesday.
She believes it could be nearer 2022 before a phased return of supporters starts – and is planning for full capacities being another full season away.
That wouldn't surprise me.
03-03-2021, 09:57 PM
That wouldn't surprise me.
I just don’t get it.
The most vulnerable will have had their second vaccine. Hospitals will be under a lot less pressure.
Are we waiting until the virus has completely disappeared? That’ll be a lot longer than next year if so.
AugustaHibs
03-03-2021, 10:08 PM
I just don’t get it.
The most vulnerable will have had their second vaccine. Hospitals will be under a lot less pressure.
Are we waiting until the virus has completely disappeared? That’ll be a lot longer than next year if so.
Probably closer to never
03-03-2021, 10:09 PM
She also went on to say this
“I don’t see full stadiums, potentially, any time next season unless there is a real change. Partial crowds aren’t the answer. We would lose money.
03-03-2021, 10:10 PM
“I don’t see full stadiums, potentially, any time next season unless there is a real change. Partial crowds aren’t the answer. We would lose money.
Hopefully she’s getting her advice from an estate agent again.
03-03-2021, 10:20 PM
After reading Budge’s prediction I’m now confident we’ll have full stadiums from August.
She is clueless on everything to do with football. Ignore her.
03-03-2021, 10:39 PM
Budge knows **** all about anything. The summer (and the fact hearts have been a shambles for about 5 years) should tell everyone that.
03-03-2021, 10:40 PM
Just when we had some optimism, the ‘establishment’ kick in
https://i.ibb.co/yfsxdpg/A2-F5-DCD2-CE02-4-A40-96-AD-83112882-BB5-C.jpg
03-03-2021, 10:55 PM
I just don’t get it.
Crazy to think that it's exactly a year ago today since we were last inside Easter Road.
As I came away that night I was calling Hibs for everything and was absolutely raging. I'd never have imagined that it could potentially be at least 18 months before I go there again.
HibeeHibernian4
03-03-2021, 10:59 PM
No chance. She know Bozo's plan whilst logical in its phasing is way too risky in terms of the timings of the phases. Road maps are easy to draw but the scheduling is key.
Engkand's appriach seems predicted on getting the pubs open so the plebs will get p!$$€d and forget about Bozos failures and the massive number of avoidable deaths his incompetent corrupt government is responsible for.
It now ironically looks like it might be the other way around, and Scotland's sensible approach of data not dates means it could open even earlier, given how much success the vaccines are having and the dramatic fall in cases! :aok:
03-03-2021, 11:02 PM
Are we sure she is referring to Covid and not the performance of her team?
03-03-2021, 11:28 PM
I just don’t get it.
A virus that mutates from animals can never be fully eradicated hence in conjunction with vaccine programme we simply have to find a way to live with it
I expect things to rapidly improve over the summer
But we could then be into booster jags for variants then the unknown bit for me is winter again and the fear the nhs gets over run
04-03-2021, 12:44 AM
So much for Boris's -we will be guided by data not dates. As someone said he now has a big target on his back. I'm a bit worried about everyone going on foreign holidays and importing different strains in.
That would knacker everything again.
As each turn he is choosing the wrong options. And not changing tack.
Complete cult - he’s created a death cult and the blood is on his hands.
Wakeyhibee
04-03-2021, 08:00 AM
Football
Hearts
I think she's at it again, angling for more money and under playing expectations. Shes also said belt tightening for three years after the losses.
Personally I think it will be next season, maybe a few trials late this season if all goes well. If the vaccines are working as well in severe cases and transmission as they are saying, it is a possibility.
Magpie
04-03-2021, 08:03 AM
I think she's at it again, angling for more money and under playing expectations. Shes also said belt tightening for three years after the losses.
Personally I think it will be next season, maybe a few trials late this season if all goes well. If the vaccines are working as well in severe cases and transmission as they are saying, it is a possibility.
If all goes well in the next couple of months then I think it will be next season too. I can’t see how many teams can survive with another year without fans?
04-03-2021, 08:12 AM
A lot of festivals seem pretty confident they’ll be able to go ahead in late summer. In Scotland Party at the Park, Party at the Palace and Lets Rock Scotland have all moved to August and started marketing themselves. Also a few music events in Glasgow in September. I’m guessing they’ve had some sort of heads up. Open air events seem pretty confident if a return.
04-03-2021, 08:17 AM
Reading and Leeds Festival is going ahead. If those sort of events can take place people will return to football matches.
Might be reduced capacity but if the road map the gov have given stays on track there will be fans in stadiums next season.
04-03-2021, 08:31 AM
A lot of festivals seem pretty confident they’ll be able to go ahead in late summer. In Scotland Party at the Park, Party at the Palace and Lets Rock Scotland have all moved to August and started marketing themselves. Also a few music events in Glasgow in September. I’m guessing they’ve had some sort of heads up. Open air events seem pretty confident if a return.
Yeah, I saw that too. I think however they have started planning in hope rather than certainty. Like all of us here who are hoping for a return or trying to second guess a holiday period.
04-03-2021, 08:52 AM
Reading and Leeds Festival is going ahead. If those sort of events can take place people will return to football matches.
Might be reduced capacity but if the road map the gov have given stays on track there will be fans in stadiums next season.
The might be reduced capacity but worries me.
We need to get back to normal, allowing us to have a small amount of fans to appease us is pish and will probably cost the club money, not to mention the hassle of selecting who gets to go.
‘Trial events’ with limited number of people there this season maybe but next season we need to allow the world to return to normal. Not just for fans sake but the livelihoods of people involved. I don’t jist mean footballers by the way. It’s the catering staff, the stewards, the delivery guys, the cleaners, the hospitality staff...... these people do these jobs because they need to, allowing us to start next season with hardly anyone there is killing these jobs.
Sorry for the rant, not directed at you, I just can’t believe we are still talking about reduced crowds next season.
HibeeHibernian4
04-03-2021, 10:06 AM
We need to get back to normal, allowing us to have a small amount of fans to appease us is pish and will probably cost the club money, not to mention the hassle of selecting who gets to go.
‘Trial events’ with limited number of people there this season maybe but next season we need to allow the world to return to normal. Not just for fans sake but the livelihoods of people involved. I don’t jist mean footballers by the way. It’s the catering staff, the stewards, the delivery guys, the cleaners, the hospitality staff...... these people do these jobs because they need to, allowing us to start next season with hardly anyone there is killing these jobs.
Sorry for the rant, not directed at you, I just can’t believe we are still talking about reduced crowds next season.
Completely agree. 300 fans at Pittodrie was a joke and a waste of time, proved nothing either way. Of course it was safe.
04-03-2021, 12:57 PM
I agree, if the vaccine is as effective as it's being made out to be, and we can all get vaccinated, then surely that's the point where you say football fans can be back in stadiums.
Covid isn't going to be eradicated, but if it's manageable in the same way that various other viruses are manageable and we're at a stage where vaccinations stop people getting seriously ill, then we should be allowed to go and watch the football.
04-03-2021, 01:19 PM
Reduced capacity is not cost effective, therefore a minimum amount of fans of say 1/2 capacity should be the minimum.
To have 3,000 at a home game has the same costs of policing, stewarding and ambulance as 10,000, but the gate receipts are far more.
Its only a matter of timing when we are allowed back, the sooner the better for me!!!
04-03-2021, 01:32 PM
Reduced capacity is not cost effective, therefore a minimum amount of fans of say 1/2 capacity should be the minimum.
To have 3,000 at a home game has the same costs of policing, stewarding and ambulance as 10,000, but the gate receipts are far more.
Its only a matter of timing when we are allowed back, the sooner the better for me!!!
I agree and hope we get to the position where 50% is achievable. If there's an interim step to be taken with an unprofitable 25% capacity then I'd still expect Hibs to open up though.
04-03-2021, 01:46 PM
I agree and hope we get to the position where 50% is achievable. If there's an interim step to be taken with an unprofitable 25% capacity then I'd still expect Hibs to open up though.
When are you hoping 50% is achievable for? Before the end of this season?
If you are suggesting starting next season at only 50% can I ask why not the full 100% if we’ve all been vaccinated by then?
Genuine question by the way, it’s not loaded, I just don’t know what it is that I’m missing here and why the country won’t be fully open by then?
04-03-2021, 02:10 PM
If you are suggesting starting next season at only 50% can I ask why not the full 100% if we’ve all been vaccinated by then?
Genuine question by the way, it’s not loaded, I just don’t know what it is that I’m missing here and why the country won’t be fully open by then?
I genuinely don't know to be honest with you. My comment was more around that I'd expect Hibs to open up even if it wasn't considered to be profitable.
I don't think anyone wouldn't wish to open up and return to 100% normality as soon as possible - it's just the varying opinions on what "possible" means.
Do we know how long the vaccine lasts? Do we know if the vaccine will work against other variants? Do we know if a successful vaccine which drastically cuts deaths would also be enough to not overwhelm the NHS with critical patients if allowed to move within the population without restrictions? Do we know to what degree long Covid would be a problem?
There's a lot of unanswered questions which make it a sticky situation and very difficult to say anything with much certainty. The country will react as and when these questions get answered with a degree of certainty, but I've no idea when that'll be.
It wouldn't overly surprise me if we write off attending this season (there's not much capital to be gained from it now as fans have mostly accepted it as such), and started next season with 50% capacities into the winter time. If we look like we've got through winter without a resurgence then crank it up to 100%.
Of course I hope the data is more positive than that and it can all open up 100% from the start of next season, or for the end of this. I just don't think it's as likely.
04-03-2021, 02:39 PM
I agree with you however the only caveat being that it's on the assumption that we are confident that the vaccine is effective against all known strains.
The other consideration they will likely be cautious about before allowing events with unlimited numbers to take place is how long the vaccines offer protection. There's still unknowns around this issue.
04-03-2021, 02:47 PM
I see there's talk of taking a test on the way in. For this to work you would need a smart phone and be willing to pay a minimum of a tenner for the test they're currently trialling. Need to set off the day before I reckon.
hibee
04-03-2021, 02:57 PM
I see there's talk of taking a test on the way in. For this to work you would need a smart phone and be willing to pay a minimum of a tenner for the test they're currently trialling. Need to set off the day before I reckon.
It’s hard enough sometimes just getting the season ticket to scan never mind a COVID test, we’d get in for the last 10 minutes if we were lucky!
04-03-2021, 02:59 PM
Paying an extra £10 a test isn’t going to be feasible for the majority of families. Family of 4 paying an extra £40 before every single match, that’s going to be more than £1000 to shell out if you go to most of your teams games!!
04-03-2021, 03:10 PM
I agree with you however the only caveat being that it's on the assumption that we are confident that the vaccine is effective against all known strains.
The other consideration they will likely be cautious about before allowing events with unlimited numbers to take place is how long the vaccines offer protection. There's still unknowns around this issue.
We can’t go on like this forever though. They’re talking constantly about the vaccine reducing elderly patients into hospitals by huge percentages. I get it mutates etc, but we all have a limited time on this earth, we have to find a way of getting back to normal ASAP and let people get on with living their lives.
04-03-2021, 03:34 PM
We can’t go on like this forever though. They’re talking constantly about the vaccine reducing elderly patients into hospitals by huge percentages. I get it mutates etc, but we all have a limited time on this earth, we have to find a way of getting back to normal ASAP and let people get on with living their lives.
Yeah I don't necessarily disagree with that, I just think that's where the thought process is at the moment amongst the decision makers.
The published framework refers, several times, to getting back to something "much closer to normality" rather than "complete normality" and I think things which attract large crowds, such as football matches, will be part of that in that they will be looking to allow events with spectators again but at a reduced capacity.
04-03-2021, 04:15 PM
once you are vaccinated you should be able to take your vaccination certificate/passport (varified with pic) and be able to show that, no one should be allowed in without one. No need for 10 quid tests and the likes.
beensaidbefore
04-03-2021, 05:12 PM
once you are vaccinated you should be able to take your vaccination certificate/passport (varified with pic) and be able to show that, no one should be allowed in without one. No need for 10 quid tests and the likes.
I keep hearing this idea, as a way forward, but if person a has been vaccinated surely it doesn't matter to them whether person b has been or not. It seems you can still carry the virus once vaccinated but you are protected against the symptoms. That means vaccinated people could in theory continue to pass the virus around, just the same as people who haven't been vaccinated.
04-03-2021, 05:47 PM
I keep hearing this idea, as a way forward, but if person a has been vaccinated surely it doesn't matter to them whether person b has been or not. It seems you can still carry the virus once vaccinated but you are protected against the symptoms. That means vaccinated people could in theory continue to pass the virus around, just the same as people who haven't been vaccinated.
That was my understanding but I didn’t want to sound ignorant if it wasn’t the case.
06-03-2021, 11:42 AM
https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/news/19141233.amp/?__twitter_impression=true
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
06-03-2021, 12:07 PM
https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/news/19141233.amp/?__twitter_impression=true
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Disappointed but not surprised. Daily Record reporting it but putting a positive spin on it. Unlike our pitch invasion.
The dalmeny
06-03-2021, 12:11 PM
No chance if the clips of Gerrard arriving at ibrox are real. Turn the water cannon so these c**** and get them fined. Ragin
06-03-2021, 03:03 PM
They said on the radio earlier we will be the first country to open up where the new variants are the dominant strain In Europe he said cases going up again because Of it and they are so far behind with vaccines
But Jason Leitch expects fans to be present fir Euro s in Scotland and as son as we go back to tiers there will be fans back in tier two areas
He sounded very optimistic Said things would move quicker than they had first anticipated into April / May
06-03-2021, 03:54 PM
At the moment, I don't have any great desire to get back to games in August.
06-03-2021, 04:00 PM
i suspect i'l be saving a whole lot of money next season, sadly
06-03-2021, 04:33 PM
The way Hibs are playing and the way this pandemic is going along wi the way both governments are dealing with this, I dont see myself being back at E.R. in the foreseeable future.
13-03-2021, 09:32 AM
The Premier League in England is hoping to have up to 10,000 fans at the last two round of games this season.
Given the lower infection rate in Scotland I'm really looking forward to watching those games on TV in the garden with a friend.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/56381482
13-03-2021, 10:32 AM
The Premier League in England is hoping to have up to 10,000 fans at the last two round of games this season.
Given the lower infection rate in Scotland I'm really looking forward to watching those games on TV in the garden with a friend.
13-03-2021, 10:38 AM
Interesting lines regarding how finishing the season late cost them a tonne of money, and there was folk up here trying to convince us that us finishing our season would have saved Scotland paying back the broadcasters.
13-03-2021, 12:13 PM
This has made my day 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
13-03-2021, 12:14 PM
The way Hibs are playing and the way this pandemic is going along wi the way both governments are dealing with this, I dont see myself being back at E.R. in the foreseeable future.
What one thing would put you off watching Hibs the most?
16-03-2021, 04:42 PM
If things keep going the way they are would the end of August be that unrealistic?
Understand things can change.
16-03-2021, 04:49 PM
If things keep going the way they are would the end of August be that unrealistic?
Understand things can change.
As things stand after today's announcement, small-scale events can start to take place from 17th May and ramped up during June.
Assuming there's no fallout from that I'd like to think decent numbers might be possible by August.
16-03-2021, 05:41 PM
As things stand after today's announcement, small-scale events can start to take place from 17th May and ramped up during June.
Assuming there's no fallout from that I'd like to think decent numbers might be possible by August.
Surely full houses by August?
16-03-2021, 06:21 PM
I'd have thought so (unless things change for the worse).
16-03-2021, 06:33 PM
Highly unlikely IMO. Some remnant of social distancing will be around for longer than any of us would wish I reckon.
16-03-2021, 06:39 PM
Highly unlikely IMO. Some remnant of social distancing will be around for longer than any of us would wish I reckon.
Depresses the life out of me that.
Gordy M
16-03-2021, 06:44 PM
Im not so sure, if the pubs are fully open and folk can visit other houses, i think it will be full crowds....hopefully.
16-03-2021, 06:58 PM
I honestly don't see full houses being allowed this year as social distancing won't be completely removed anytime soon.
16-03-2021, 06:59 PM
Once every adult in the UK is vaccinated (July ?), and the numbers in hospital are under control, where do politicians go from there ? There's simply no logical reason to limit freedoms or restrict public life. It isn't going to get any better than that. Any remaining restrictions will be for reasons other than health.
16-03-2021, 07:09 PM
Once every adult in the UK is vaccinated (July ?), and the numbers in hospital are under control, where do politicians go from there ? There's simply no logical reason to limit freedoms or restrict public life. It isn't going to get any better than that. Any remaining restrictions will be for reasons other than health.
I asked the question before and the answer was that they need to be careful if new strands of the virus and they need to see how the vaccine performs over a longer period of time.
For me though, once things are under control like you’ve mentioned everything needs to get back to normal, not some daft new normal, actual proper normal.
16-03-2021, 07:27 PM
Im not so sure, if the pubs are fully open and folk can visit other houses, i think it will be full crowds....hopefully.
I don't believe pubs have a date for fully reopening i.e. how they used to operate pre-March 2020. Even in June there's still going to be limits on how many people/households can meet up inside in hospitality premises.
The idea that 20,000 people will be at Easter Road by August just seems too fanciful for me.
Gordy M
16-03-2021, 07:32 PM
I don't believe pubs have a date for fully reopening i.e. how they used to operate pre-March 2020. Even in June there's still going to be limits on how many people/households can meet up inside in hospitality premises.
The idea that 20,000 people will be at Easter Road by August just seems too fanciful for me.
I actually think Wembley will be full for the Euro final. The Scot Gov have been rightfully uber careful but have allowed themselves room for change.....i think the numbers will be so low, and most folk vaccinated, that pubs will ve fully open by end of June. IMO.
16-03-2021, 07:34 PM
Sturgeon reckons we are planning on hitting tier 0 by end of June. That is no restrictions going by our last tier system. It definitely shouldn’t be fanciful, we’ll have had 18 months of restrictions, absolutely no reason to have any more once vaccine is done. Viruses get weaker as they mutate, not more harmful than the original.
The dalmeny
16-03-2021, 08:03 PM
Sturgeon reckons we are planning on hitting tier 0 by end of June. That is no restrictions going by our last tier system. It definitely shouldn’t be fanciful, we’ll have had 18 months of restrictions, absolutely no reason to have any more once vaccine is done. Viruses get weaker as they mutate, not more harmful than the original.
there’s stuff on Twitter saying there is still considerable restrictions on tier 0
16-03-2021, 08:18 PM
Level 0 is certainly not without restrictions based on the previous framework.
8 people from 3 households indoors, 15 people from 5 households outdoors, limited to the number of pubs etc you can visit in one day.
Two metre rules applies between households.
Limits on numbers attending events.
Limits on numbers attending things like christenings and also weddings and funerals.
Table service in pubs and restaurants compulsory.
Nightclubs closed.
All here - https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-protection-levels/pages/protection-level-0/
18Craig75
16-03-2021, 08:20 PM
Apart from the fact the ‘Kent’ variant is 64% more deadly than the original dominant strain we had in the UK.
16-03-2021, 08:29 PM
8 people from 3 households indoors, 15 people from 5 households outdoors, limited to the number of pubs etc you can visit in one day.
Limits on numbers attending things like christenings and also weddings and funerals.
Nightclubs closed.
All here - https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-protection-levels/pages/protection-level-0/
I’m not sure if that is the latest updated level 0 guideance. The bottom link takes you to November 2020. I know it says updated today but don’t think they have updated all the pages. Correct me if I’m wrong?
Like others I’m pretty certain once nearly everyone has had 2nd vaccine we will see a rapid relaxing of many restrictions. New strains will happen in future but you can’t wait forever for that to happen. Could be another 10 years !
16-03-2021, 08:33 PM
Apart from the fact the ‘Kent’ variant is 64% more deadly than the original dominant strain we had in the UK.
There’s very few mutations that are potentially more harmful. The Kent one that you talk about would expect 3 more males in their 60’s dying out of 1000 than the original. There are a couple of variants of concern, but the vast majority are far less harmful than the original.
16-03-2021, 08:33 PM
But vaccines are still highly effective against it. There will be mutations and also over time improve vaccine programmes.
I suspect one day we will need 1 vaccine which will last much longer.
16-03-2021, 08:36 PM
Nightclubs closed.
My mistook, had read something about 0 being no or little restrictions. I’d still expect near normality this time around once the vaccine rollout is essentially complete.
16-03-2021, 08:45 PM
I’m not sure if that is the latest updated level 0 guideance. The bottom link takes you to November 2020. I know it says updated today but don’t think they have updated all the pages. Correct me if I’m wrong?
Like others I’m pretty certain once nearly everyone has had 2nd vaccine we will see a rapid relaxing of many restrictions. New strains will happen in future but you can’t wait forever for that to happen. Could be another 10 years !
Yes it is the original level 0 but that's what the poster was referring to.
We don't know yet what the new level 0 will look like.
I honestly doubt if it will be totally restriction free.
16-03-2021, 08:58 PM
Yes it is the original level 0 but that's what the poster was referring to.
We don't know yet what the new level 0 will look like.
I honestly doubt if it will be totally restriction free.
I don’t think anyone knows yet but I would say it will be much more flexible than the previous level 0.
As I said once majority have 2 vaccinations I would be surprised if they don’t start allowing more.
There will be fans at ER next season for 1st game - it’s just a question of how many.
The Euros will definitely be interesting to see what they do.
supermcginn
16-03-2021, 09:05 PM
Correct. Life has to move on sooner rather than later.
supermcginn
16-03-2021, 09:09 PM
There’s very few mutations that are potentially more harmful. The Kent one that you talk about would expect 3 more males in their 60’s dying out of 1000 than the original. There are a couple of variants of concern, but the vast majority are far less harmful than the original.
Correct..we can dream of being back at Easter road without it being a pipe dream. Most of my department who haven't seen in since March last year are scheduled back in early June full time.
16-03-2021, 09:13 PM
Depresses the life out of me that.
Then the third wave that some are still predicting will happen this winter
16-03-2021, 09:19 PM
Need to be mindful there is nothing normal about politicians. These are invariably power-hungry, controlling individuals who - having had 12 months of deciding what folk can and cannot do day to day - will be reluctant to let the public take control of their own lives. Sturgeon's titbits of freedom handed out today were heavily caveated, ensuring she retained control over what happens when - despite every indication we're on a one-way road to recovery.
16-03-2021, 09:22 PM
I don’t think anyone knows yet but I would say it will be much more flexible than the previous level 0.
As I said once majority have 2 vaccinations I would be surprised if they don’t start allowing more.
There will be fans at ER next season for 1st game - it’s just a question of how many.
The Euros will definitely be interesting to see what they do.
Yep I definitely think there will be fans in August too, just not a full house that people were referring to earlier.
AugustaHibs
16-03-2021, 09:30 PM
Once everyone has been vaccinated the public pressure will be far too great and the govs will crumble
Stairway 2 7
17-03-2021, 05:23 AM
20,000 confirmed for fa Cup final in May , 10,000 per game from 17th of May for league games and outside concerts in England. The hope is full crowds by August, that is downsouth obviously
17-03-2021, 08:20 AM
Be interesting to see what happens with the Festival this year. If people start coming from all over the place to Edinburgh to sit in wee rooms with dozens of other people surely we will be safe to sit outside?
17-03-2021, 12:40 PM
Be interesting to see what happens with the Festival this year. If people start coming from all over the place to Edinburgh to sit in wee rooms with dozens of other people surely we will be safe to sit outside?
With the complete shambles European countries are making of their vaccination roll outs it could well be that by summer there will be a closedown on a lot of international travel with continued quarantine particularly if the virus is under control here.
The dalmeny
17-03-2021, 01:00 PM
With the complete shambles European countries are making of their vaccination roll outs it could well be that by summer there will be a closedown on a lot of international travel with continued quarantine particularly if the virus is under control here.
just need to bear in mind it’s uk government that controls borders
17-03-2021, 04:17 PM
Sounding positive although no promises which is only to be expected
Scotland's First Minister Nicola Sturgeon says it's looking more hopeful that fans will be able to attend their home matches during this summer's European Championships. https://t.co/vq2uetBPtI
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1372227515293523979?s=19
21-03-2021, 10:30 PM
Social distancing could last for several years, according to the head of immunisation at Public Health England.
If it does then that would damage any hopes of full stadia anytime soon.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-56475807
21-03-2021, 10:49 PM
Social distancing could last for several years, according to the head of immunisation at Public Health England.
If it does then that would damage any hopes of full stadia anytime soon.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-56475807
Would not be expecting anyone to follow those rules if so. Life has to get back to normal at some point.
21-03-2021, 10:59 PM
Would not be expecting anyone to follow those rules if so. Life has to get back to normal at some point.
Wouldn’t bother me too much.
May be an age thing. My folks are long gone.
Are your ma and da still kicking about?
Would normality counting your folks as collateral damage be O K with you?
G15 Hibs
22-03-2021, 08:21 AM
In the context of this thread though, clubs wouldn't be allowed to return to pre-March 2020 levels of attendance if social distancing restrictions remain in place. They wouldn't really have a choice but to follow the rules.
James Stephen
22-03-2021, 08:56 AM
In the context of this thread though, clubs wouldn't be allowed to return to pre-March 2020 levels of attendance if social distancing restrictions remain in place. They wouldn't really have a choice but to follow the rules.
The fact that few Scottish clubs fill their grounds could become a big plus - most clubs could have an average crowd in a socially distanced way.
Might mean long ban on away supports though.
AugustaHibs
22-03-2021, 09:00 AM
And what about the people that die from issues caused from social isolation and other things that prolonged restrictions would bring, would you be O K with that?
22-03-2021, 09:05 AM
Clubs wouldn't have any option but to follow such rules though.
If the rule was that stadia could not be at any more than 60% capacity, Hibs couldn't just ignore that and then go on to sell 20,000 tickets for a derby.
The dalmeny
22-03-2021, 11:20 AM
I don’t go to many games so I wouldnt be going to see my mum for a couple of weeks after any game I went to. It’s all about assessing risk
davhibby
22-03-2021, 01:47 PM
Once everyone has had the vaccine nobody will be dying, as it is we’ll be into single figures of weekly deaths in Scotland by next month. The idea that there won’t be full crowds allowed after the summer is crazy. Outdoor transmission is lower anyway then once you factor in that probably about 90% of the crowd will be vaccinated then there’s very little risk.
Whether that would be the case with European games and Internationals etc is a different story but domestically there will be no reason to not have full crowds by early next season
22-03-2021, 02:23 PM
Once everyone has had the vaccine nobody will be dying, as it is we’ll be into single figures of weekly deaths in Scotland by next month. The idea that there won’t be full crowds allowed after the summer is crazy. Outdoor transmission is lower anyway then once you factor in that probably about 90% of the crowd will be vaccinated then there’s very little risk.
Whether that would be the case with European games and Internationals etc is a different story but domestically there will be no reason to not have full crowds by early next season
Unless the law still remains about social distance?
AugustaHibs
22-03-2021, 09:01 PM
Vaccination shows that it stops almost 100% of hospitalisations, in all seriousness what do you want? We have to accept that some people die from covid every year the same as that happens with the flu. Eventually vaccines and treatments will kick its arse to the point the death rate is parallel to the seasonal flu.
22-03-2021, 09:08 PM
Vaccination shows that it stops almost 100% of hospitalisations, in all seriousness what do you want? We have to accept that some people die from covid every year the same as that happens with the flu. Eventually vaccines and treatments will kick its arse to the point the death rate is parallel to the seasonal flu.
Exactly. At some point we will all die, do we really want to be walking on eggshells hiding away for what we have left? The Government both sides of the border have made a complete arse of the whole process from early decisions, to PPE, to coming out of lockdowns, finally onto vaccine rollouts.
I’ve accepted the last year has been required but once the vaccine is in full swing there’s absolutely no reason for not being back to normal. You can’t on one hand tell us how efficient the vaccine is, and in the other hand tell us masks and distancing is still required.
AugustaHibs
22-03-2021, 09:28 PM
Exactly. At some point we will all die, do we really want to be walking on eggshells hiding away for what we have left? The Government both sides of the border have made a complete arse of the whole process from early decisions, to PPE, to coming out of lockdowns, finally onto vaccine rollouts.
I’ve accepted the last year has been required but once the vaccine is in full swing there’s absolutely no reason for not being back to normal. You can’t on one hand tell us how efficient the vaccine is, and in the other hand tell us masks and distancing is still required.
Exactly, if the ‘Oxford’ vaccine is all that you say it is then why not let it prove itself in a live study across the U.K.
22-03-2021, 10:01 PM
At some point we all die but some of us are in less of a hurry to get there.
No vaccine is 100% effective, so there is still a clear benefit to masks and distancing.
22-03-2021, 10:26 PM
If crowds can’t return to the football in August then clubs will go bust. How many Hibs fans will fork out £420 for a ST with the possibility of seeing every second home game live at best at ER?
AugustaHibs
22-03-2021, 10:48 PM
No vaccine is 100% effective, so there is still a clear benefit to masks and distancing.
Do you think covid is going to be eradicated? Serious question
23-03-2021, 01:33 AM
No. I don’t..I think it will be like a serious flu, and will come back in waves continuously...and likely we will all need annual vaccinations, which at times will be less effective than others...as it mutates.
23-03-2021, 05:40 AM
Not in the immediate future The leaflet people I know got after getting vaccine still says it gives protection for three months
Does
anyone know once you have had second dose does that change or is it just another three months then you will get the top up one to combat variants in the autumn
Then what ? The Johnson snd Johnson one is a single jab only but it’s yet to be approved But will it give more than three months protection ?
23-03-2021, 06:25 AM
You’ve no idea what time you have. For the majority there is no risk, there wasn’t before and there’s even less so now after a vaccine. It’s reducing hospital admissions and deaths by huge amounts, would make absolutely no sense to have restrictions for something that will barely affect any of our population.
23-03-2021, 06:28 AM
Exactly, if the ‘Oxford’ vaccine is all that you say it is then why not let it prove itself in a live study across the U.K.
To be fair it has just done exactly that in America. 32,000 people involved with fantastic results.
23-03-2021, 06:59 AM
Not in the immediate future The leaflet people I know got after getting vaccine still says it gives protection for three months
Does
anyone know once you have had second dose does that change or is it just another three months then you will get the top up one to combat variants in the autumn
Then what ? The Johnson snd Johnson one is a single jab only but it’s yet to be approved But will it give more than three months protection ?
No one knows how long you are protected post-vaccination, it's one of the reasons why social distancing is remaining for a while yet and unlimited football crowds are unlikely any time soon.
We are likely to need vaccinated at least every year.
23-03-2021, 08:38 AM
And what about the people that die from issues caused from social isolation and other things that prolonged restrictions would bring, would you be O K with that?
I think the suggestion was that social distancing and mask wearing may have to continue for a few years.
As an antisocial bugger who gets irritated when folk invade my space, or sit at the table right next to me and my missus in an otherwise empty restaurant, I’m fine with that.
I don’t think such measures would adversely affect mental health.
I’m far less acceptable of folk being forced into isolation from all contact with friends and family.
The dalmeny
23-03-2021, 11:32 AM
SRU have put out renewals for season pass and debentures for Murrayfield in last couple of days
AugustaHibs
23-03-2021, 11:56 AM
I think the suggestion was that social distancing and mask wearing may have to continue for a few years.
As an antisocial bugger who gets irritated when folk invade my space, or sit at the table right next to me and my missus in an otherwise empty restaurant, I’m fine with that.
I don’t think such measures would adversely affect mental health.
I’m far less acceptable of folk being forced into isolation from all contact with friends and family.
Okay so social distancing etc might not affect you but it definitely affects a large number of people..
HibeeHibernian4
23-03-2021, 12:14 PM
Okay so social distancing etc might not affect you but it definitely affects a large number of people..
It also massively changes any social event/leisure activity imaginable.
The hospitality has spent millions trying to adapt to social distancing and it often costs them half their capacity in the process.
If it were as simple as try not to stand so close to strangers in public I'd be all for it. But it isn't and it's an absolute economy killer.
Fine when the trade off was between that and thousands dying every day but now that we've got the vulnerable vaccinated? No chance.
23-03-2021, 12:26 PM
It also massively changes any social event/leisure activity imaginable.
The hospitality has spent millions trying to adapt to social distancing and it often costs them half their capacity in the process.
If it were as simple as try not to stand so close to strangers in public I'd be all for it. But it isn't and it's an absolute economy killer.
Fine when the trade off was between that and thousands dying every day but now that we've got the vulnerable vaccinated? No chance.
I don’t think it’s sustainable anymore.
I think there was a limit to how long people could maintain it, some people’s thresholds have been longer than others but it’s not a viable long term option IMO.
Obviously they can keep sectors closed to try snd minimise it but people will just congregate in peoples houses instead. It’s happening already, I spent the first I’d say about 9-10 months being really strict with the rules, I’m not any more and even the most judgemental of people I know are breaking the rules now. This can’t go on much longer, I think people have reached the limit of how long they can maintain this weird lifestyle we’re having to accept just now.
23-03-2021, 01:47 PM
Talk of Uefa putting everyone into a ballot for the Euro's while the die hard members of the Scotland Supporters Club who travel to every away game and home game will not get tickets.
Gordy M
23-03-2021, 01:58 PM
Talk of Uefa putting everyone into a ballot for the Euro's while the die hard members of the Scotland Supporters Club who travel to every away game and home game will not get tickets.
Rumour is that most, if not all, games will be in England. The scottish team are possibly going to be 'in a bubble' in a hotel in England as they dont think Hampden will be used for games.
Brummie_Hibs
23-03-2021, 02:12 PM
Where is this talk from?
23-03-2021, 03:17 PM
Where is this talk from?
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/uefa-to-hold-ballot-of-ticket-holders-to-decide-who-misses-out-at-euros-mqmn7p3bq
Uefa is set to hold ballots to decide which fans will miss out on attending Euro 2020 matches this summer after accepting that stadiums are likely to be half-full at most.A meeting of tournament organisers from the 12 host countries heard that thousands of supporters at almost every venue are likely to have to accept refunds because of restrictions on fans.
Uefa had considered starting the ticket sales process from scratch but is now moving towards a ballot of those fans who already have tickets to decide who misses out. The unlucky ones are likely to be held on a reserve list in case restrictions are eased.
The meeting also heard that restrictions on international travel imposed by the 12 governments are likely to mean that travelling fans will in effect be banned — those that have tickets for matches in different countries would have to abide by any quarantine rules.
England are playing all three group matches at Wembley, including one against Scotland with at least 10,000 fans due to be permitted, and possibly more if test events for Euro 2020 games are held after the planned lifting of lockdown rules on June 21.
Uefa is increasingly confident that Wembley will be half-full for the semi-finals and final, allowing European football’s governing body to maximise hospitality income by using the 17,000 Club Wembley seats.
The threat of Scotland losing its matches in Glasgow has receded after Uefa has received reassurances that some supporters will be allowed into Hampden Park. Hosts have until April 7 to declare their final plans for fans.
The Republic of Ireland is now the most at risk of losing its matches planned for Dublin — given that Ireland has not qualified the Irish government appears less keen to commit for supporters to be allowed, even with social distancing.
Wales are due to play two group matches in Baku, Azerbaijan, and one against Italy in Rome. Fans who have already bought tickets for those games and unable or unwilling to travel will be able to secure refunds from Uefa.
Pretty much anyone who was guaranteed tickets through the SSC will miss out while day trippers who have never been to a football match who bought tickets through Uefa will have a chance to go.
Superfurry72
23-03-2021, 05:07 PM
I don’t think it’s sustainable anymore.
I think there was a limit to how long people could maintain it, some people’s thresholds have been longer than others but it’s not a viable long term option IMO.
Obviously they can keep sectors closed to try snd minimise it but people will just congregate in peoples houses instead. It’s happening already, I spent the first I’d say about 9-10 months being really strict with the rules, I’m not any more and even the most judgemental of people I know are breaking the rules now. This can’t go on much longer, I think people have reached the limit of how long they can maintain this weird lifestyle we’re having to accept just now.
You may wish to call me judgemental, but I find comments like this disappointing. We only have to hold our nerve for a bit longer, so there's no need to break the rules. All it does is increase a chance of another lockdown. You do see that, surely?
I've had one shot of the vaccine, I'm sick of being at home but I'm staying put because I know that it won't have to be for much longer, but only if other people do the same. I presume you have seen what's happening in continental Europe, slow vaccination has led to a third wave. If the rules are broken until everyone is jabbed, further variants are also a possibility. Just be patient.
23-03-2021, 05:18 PM
You may wish to call me judgemental, but I find comments like this disappointing. We only have to hold our nerve for a bit longer, so there's no need to break the rules. All it does is increase a chance of another lockdown. You do see that, surely?
I've had one shot of the vaccine, I'm sick of being at home but I'm staying put because I know that it won't have to be for much longer, but only if other people do the same. I presume you have seen what's happening in continental Europe, slow vaccination has led to a third wave.
Each to their own and good luck to you.
For many, continued lockdown is doing more harm than good now, I think a year on is far too long it still expect people to be locked away.
FWIW I still think I’m applying common sense to it, no mass gatherings indoors or anything like that, I’d be lying if I said I was religiously sticking to the rules though. I suspect I’m in a far bigger majority than lots of people will admit though.
Anyway, the point is that social distancing rules are only sustainable for so long. For many that point is now, some will be able to last a bit longer, as you said we’re hopefully almost there, but everyone will have a breaking point at some point. The idea that this could go on for the rest of this year and possibly way into next year is just not feasible I don’t think.
23-03-2021, 05:40 PM
I've had one shot of the vaccine, I'm sick of being at home but I'm staying put because I know that it won't have to be for much longer, but only if other people do the same. I presume you have seen what's happening in continental Europe, slow vaccination has led to a third wave. If the rules are broken until everyone is jabbed, further variants are also a possibility. Just be patient.
That’s the point though. We are being patient, however we’re being told even with the vaccine we’ll be under restrictions, having to wear masks, having to distance etc. Patience runs out eventually.
AugustaHibs
23-03-2021, 06:43 PM
Hold our nerve for a bit longer? Think I’ve heard that monthly for the last 12.
23-03-2021, 07:34 PM
Each to their own and good luck to you.
For many, continued lockdown is doing more harm than good now, I think a year on is far too long it still expect people to be locked away.
FWIW I still think I’m applying common sense to it, no mass gatherings indoors or anything like that, I’d be lying if I said I was religiously sticking to the rules though. I suspect I’m in a far bigger majority than lots of people will admit though.
Anyway, the point is that social distancing rules are only sustainable for so long. For many that point is now, some will be able to last a bit longer, as you said we’re hopefully almost there, but everyone will have a breaking point at some point. The idea that this could go on for the rest of this year and possibly way into next year is just not feasible I don’t think.
So what kind of rules are you breaking now? Do you really think some element of social distancing and having to wear a mask in certain places post-lockdown would really be such a hardship?
23-03-2021, 07:37 PM
That’s the point though. We are being patient, however we’re being told even with the vaccine we’ll be under restrictions, having to wear masks, having to distance etc. Patience runs out eventually.
What is the big deal with having to live with partial restrictions?
23-03-2021, 07:40 PM
What is the big deal with having to live with partial restrictions?
Your calling these partial restrictions? We’re only here once and spending year after year being threatened with wave after wave of Covid and having to wear masks which clearly has an adverse affect on your health, accompanied by not being allow within a few metres of anyone is ridiculous.
23-03-2021, 07:43 PM
Your calling these partial restrictions? We’re only here once and spending year after year being threatened with wave after wave of Covid and having to wear masks which clearly has an adverse affect on your health, accompanied by not being allow within a few metres of anyone is ridiculous.
We’re only here once so lets just toss it then. Love the attitude. Not for me though.
23-03-2021, 07:43 PM
So it would be alright to put shed loads of folk at risk just cos some are getting impatient? Don't be patient, be sensible.
23-03-2021, 07:46 PM
So it would be alright to put shed loads of folk at risk just cos some are getting impatient? Don't be patient, be sensible.
As has been said before, we’ve been patient. The small minority who are at risk have been vaccinated. If the vaccine works why the restrictions? If the vaccine doesn’t work why the desperation to chase people to get it?
23-03-2021, 07:46 PM
Yeah, we are here only once so why shorten it?
23-03-2021, 07:49 PM
So what kind of rules are you breaking now? Do you really think some element of social distancing and having to wear a mask in certain places post-lockdown would really be such a hardship?
Nah, mask wearing isn’t really a problem for me. If you said that would be the limit of our restrictions ongoing then that wouldn’t bother me.
In terms of the rules I break just now, I’m not actually sure what the rules are now as I stopped paying attention really. I wouldn’t meet up with groups of people indoors but there’s been occasions when I’ve been due to meet family outdoors but the weather has been terrible so I’ve gone up to their house instead.
Family members mentioned have had the vaccine and are aware of the risks. I’ve also taken my boy out to meet his pals and let them play contact football.
Both against the rules I think but for me that’s just applying common sense and making a judgement call based on the current risks vs what’s needed to keep people in a relatively good frame of mind mentally. If that means a few rules being broken then so be it I’m afraid.
I’m sure I’ll be coming across as a terrible person for admitting to breaking these rules and I’m not doing so to be a Billy big baws, I just think the lockdown isn’t sustainable for much longer, based on the people I know I think the majority are doing the same as me just now although I appreciate lots of people will still be able to stick to the rules. Good luck to them if so, I don’t blame anybody for breaking the rules now though, a year living like this is too long already imo.
23-03-2021, 07:51 PM
Yeah, we are here only once so why shorten it?
Shortening it from what? There is no set time on how long we are here. Who knows when it’s your time. But who’s shortening it? Stats for week 10 is that England and Wales are under the 5 year average for this week. Millions vaccinated with huge success rates. 30 years down the line and new variants keep appearing and they still have us locked down, but just be patient, it’ll be over soon.
23-03-2021, 07:52 PM
Nah, mask wearing isn’t really a problem for me. If you said that would be the limit of our restrictions ongoing then that wouldn’t bother me.
In terms of the rules I break just now, I’m not actually sure what the rules are now as I stopped paying attention really. I wouldn’t meet up with groups of people indoors but there’s been occasions when I’ve been due to meet family outdoors but the weather has been terrible so I’ve gone up to their house instead.
Family members mentioned have had the vaccine and are aware of the risks. I’ve also taken my boy out to meet his pals and let them play contact football.
Both against the rules I think but for me that’s just applying common sense and making a judgement call based on the current risks vs what’s needed to keep people in a relatively good frame of mind mentally. If that means a few rules being broken then so be it I’m afraid.
I’m sure I’ll be coming across as a terrible person for admitting to breaking these rules and I’m not doing so to be a Billy big baws, I just think the lockdown isn’t sustainable for much longer, based on the people I know I think the majority are doing the same as me just now although I appreciate lots of people will still be able to stick to the rules. Good luck to them if so, I don’t blame anybody for breaking the rules now though, a year living like this is too long already imo.
To a tee! Lack of social interaction is having extreme consequences across the country and will be a far bigger pandemic than Covid if we carry on like this.
23-03-2021, 07:53 PM
[QUOTE=hibbysam;6504879]As has been said before, we’ve been patient. The small minority who are at risk have been vaccinated. If the vaccine works why the restrictions? If the vaccine doesn’t work why the desperation to chase people to get it?[/QUOT
But it's not a small minority at risk is it.....it's a small minority who were at most risk. Everyone not vaccinated yet is at risk. I've had my first jab and will still follow the guidelines.
23-03-2021, 07:58 PM
[QUOTE=hibbysam;6504879]As has been said before, we’ve been patient. The small minority who are at risk have been vaccinated. If the vaccine works why the restrictions? If the vaccine doesn’t work why the desperation to chase people to get it?[/QUOT
But it's not a small minority at risk is it.....it's a small minority who were at most risk. Everyone not vaccinated yet is at risk. I've had my first jab and will still follow the guidelines.
The 99% of which it severely affected have been vaccinated to at least 1 dose. By the summer they’ll have been fully vaccinated. By then it should be all systems go.
23-03-2021, 07:59 PM
Shortening it from what? There is no set time on how long we are here. Who knows when it’s your time. But who’s shortening it? Stats for week 10 is that England and Wales are under the 5 year average for this week. Millions vaccinated with huge success rates. 30 years down the line and new variants keep appearing and they still have us locked down, but just be patient, it’ll be over soon.
Shortening it from what it could be - not rocket science to work that one out.
Anyway I'm out. Off to flog a dead horse somewhere else.
23-03-2021, 08:05 PM
Shortening it from what it could be - not rocket science to work that one out.
Anyway I'm out. Off to flog a dead horse somewhere else.
Even though the stats are showing less people dying last week than averaged for the last 5 years for the same week? Interesting. Again, I’d suggest there’s probably a far higher chance of me dying from many other things than Covid once vaccinated.
23-03-2021, 08:21 PM
Death will also adversely affect your health and perhaps that of your loved ones if you mess up.
You can't negotiate with a deadly disease. Open your defences to it and it will be right in there and you won't know until long after your infected.
Can see Scotland having 5 or less deaths from Thursday and another 3 weeks time will see small numbers in Scottish hospitals.
Things will start improving in April and we will gradually get more freedoms. It's all going in the right direction.
Hang in meantime, and keep your fingers crossed that come the start of next season we are back at Easter Road in good numbers.
23-03-2021, 08:58 PM
Death will also adversely affect your health and perhaps that of your loved ones if you mess up.
You can't negotiate with a deadly disease. Open your defences to it and it will be right in there and you won't know until long after your infected.
Can see Scotland having 5 or less deaths from Thursday and another 3 weeks time will see small numbers in Scottish hospitals.
Things will start improving in April and we will gradually get more freedoms. It's all going in the right direction.
Hang in meantime, and keep your fingers crossed that come the start of next season we are back at Easter Road in good numbers.
That’s the whole point. We aren’t talking about now. We are talking about when everyone is vaccinated.
23-03-2021, 09:10 PM
Tynie Castle wont have a problem with capacity even with 20m social distancing after tonight
23-03-2021, 09:12 PM
Social distance is not isolation, it is keeping 2m away from strangers.
23-03-2021, 09:41 PM
Even though the stats are showing less people dying last week than averaged for the last 5 years for the same week? Interesting. Again, I’d suggest there’s probably a far higher chance of me dying from many other things than Covid once vaccinated.
And where are we just now exactly? We’re still officially in lockdown. This extended lockdown has brought the numbers down. It all went tits up after things were lifted far too quickly last summer and into the autumn. You keep mentioning it should be all systems go once everybody has been vaccinated. We don’t know the full positive impact from the vaccines yet until the restrictions are eased. I’ll wait for the results from that before I’m banging any doors down just because a year’s too long.
23-03-2021, 09:41 PM
Social distance is not isolation, it is keeping 2m away from strangers.
I know. A living hell in the eyes of some. Madness.
23-03-2021, 09:53 PM
And where are we just now exactly? We’re still officially in lockdown. This extended lockdown has brought the numbers down. It all went tits up after things were lifted far too quickly last summer and into the autumn. You keep mentioning it should be all systems go once everybody has been vaccinated. We don’t know the full positive impact from the vaccines yet until the restrictions are eased. I’ll wait for the results from that before I’m banging any doors down just because a year’s too long.
Officially we might be, but it’s clearer by the day that less and less people are obeying the rules. So it’s working during a lockdown, so let’s just remain locked down, that way everything will be rosey. Just because it’s fine for you doesn’t mean it’s fine for everyone else.
Suicide was already on the rise pre Covid. It’s a near certainty that’s accelerated everything. Mental health is low enough without the complete cluster**** that is the economy now it’s been absolutely obliterated. If your happy to sit around waiting on the day that might never come fair enough.
If the vaccine doesn’t have a positive impact then I’m afraid they’re having an absolute shocker forcing everyone to get it. And what if the vaccine isn’t all it’s made out to be? What if it doesn’t work? That was the way out, do we just not come out?
23-03-2021, 10:06 PM
Officially we might be, but it’s clearer by the day that less and less people are obeying the rules. So it’s working during a lockdown, so let’s just remain locked down, that way everything will be rosey. Just because it’s fine for you doesn’t mean it’s fine for everyone else.
Suicide was already on the rise pre Covid. It’s a near certainty that’s accelerated everything. Mental health is low enough without the complete cluster**** that is the economy now it’s been absolutely obliterated. If your happy to sit around waiting on the day that might never come fair enough.
If the vaccine doesn’t have a positive impact then I’m afraid they’re having an absolute shocker forcing everyone to get it. And what if the vaccine isn’t all it’s made out to be? What if it doesn’t work? That was the way out, do we just not come out?
You’re twisting things spectacularly. And maybe missing the point. I don’t see anybody saying lets keep everyone locked down permanently. What a ridiculous thought. People are just taking a bit more of a sensible view than your gung ho big bang approach. That ain’t ever happening. And it would be lunacy to even contemplate it.
23-03-2021, 10:11 PM
You’re twisting things spectacularly. And maybe missing the point. I don’t see anybody saying lets keep everyone locked down permanently. What a ridiculous thought. People are just taking a bit more of a sensible view than your gung ho big bang approach. That ain’t ever happening. And it would be lunacy to even contemplate it.
If the vaccine isn’t a success how long do you think it is feasible to keep people in lock down for before people start breaking?
I think we’re at that point now so the vaccine needs to work or we need to open up anyway. We can’t continue living this way.
23-03-2021, 10:17 PM
I’m talking once the vaccine has rolled out to everyone, by the summer we’re told. There should be no need for restrictions. Your saying we need to wait to see the success of it, how long do we wait? If it isn’t a success then what? If it isn’t a success then surely we can’t come out of lockdowns? So it may be permanent. Not as ridiculous as you say.
23-03-2021, 11:05 PM
If the vaccine isn’t a success how long do you think it is feasible to keep people in lock down for before people start breaking?
I think we’re at that point now so the vaccine needs to work or we need to open up anyway. We can’t continue living this way.
Who’s saying keep people locked down? I’m saying restrictions should be eased in a sensible manner. Not in the way sam was proposing.
24-03-2021, 06:02 AM
Who’s saying keep people locked down? I’m saying restrictions should be eased in a sensible manner. Not in the way sam was proposing.
Why would you ease restrictions if the vaccine doesn’t work? If Covid isn’t eradicated and the vaccine isn’t a success then what? If the vaccine is a success then there is no need for lockdowns and restrictions. You want people to continue to have to wear masks and socially distance come the summer, I don’t, it’s hardly a huge leap if the vaccine works.
24-03-2021, 08:03 AM
Why would you ease restrictions if the vaccine doesn’t work? If Covid isn’t eradicated and the vaccine isn’t a success then what? If the vaccine is a success then there is no need for lockdowns and restrictions. You want people to continue to have to wear masks and socially distance come the summer, I don’t, it’s hardly a huge leap if the vaccine works.
There will be no lockdown by July, but there will still be restrictions, or guidance if you prefer, to wear face coverings and keep yourself safe by avoiding others in the way we have got used to. Easier here in the country rather than the cities.
24-03-2021, 08:16 AM
There will be no lockdown by July, but there will still be restrictions, or guidance if you prefer, to wear face coverings and keep yourself safe by avoiding others in the way we have got used to. Easier here in the country rather than the cities.
That’s fine but what about people’s livelihoods that relies on people getting close together like we used to?
Pubs, nightclubs, restaurants, full football stadiums, concerts etc.....
It’s not feasible to return to normal but keep the restrictions or guidelines we have in place at present. Keeping socially distant in the above situations is not possible.
Granted wearing masks is and if that’s just a thing going forward now then fine, ive no issues with that. The idea we can return to normal but maintain social distancing guidelines simply isn’t practical IMO.
Once people are vaccinated we need to be treating it the same way we do about the flu. Unfortunately people die because of that but the world can’t stop because of it.
24-03-2021, 08:20 AM
That’s fine but what about people’s livelihoods that relies on people getting close together like we used to?
Pubs, nightclubs, restaurants, full football stadiums, concerts etc.....
It’s not feasible to return to normal but keep the restrictions or guidelines we have in place at present. Keeping socially distant in the above situations is not possible.
Granted wearing masks is and if that’s just a thing going forward now then fine, ive no issues with that. The idea we can return to normal but maintain social distancing guidelines simply isn’t practical IMO.
Once people are vaccinated we need to be treating it the same way we do about the flu. Unfortunately people die because of that but the world can’t stop because of it.
What I said is how I see it in July. I know of events being planned for August and September that will still allow for more space / less people. Outside music festivals in glen Cannich over 8 weekends 200 each weekend with glamping set apart, indoor yarn festival with limited numbers but longer opening hours.
AugustaHibs
24-03-2021, 09:07 AM
What I said is how I see it in July. I know of events being planned for August and September that will still allow for more space / less people. Outside music festivals in glen Cannich over 8 weekends 200 each weekend with glamping set apart, indoor yarn festival with limited numbers but longer opening hours.
That isn’t feasible in the long run though
24-03-2021, 09:53 AM
That isn’t feasible in the long run though
Who is talking about the long run? You guys that are saying that lockdown has to stop now are not being realistic. The events I mention are both planning for the immediate future, not next week or even next year. In a years time we all hope things are closer to what we had in 2019. What we don't have is any say in what restrictions will still be required. I think that those wanting full football stadia in July and August are deluded.
24-03-2021, 11:44 AM
Who is talking about the long run? You guys that are saying that lockdown has to stop now are not being realistic. The events I mention are both planning for the immediate future, not next week or even next year. In a years time we all hope things are closer to what we had in 2019. What we don't have is any say in what restrictions will still be required. I think that those wanting full football stadia in July and August are deluded.
Why is it delusional? Again, if the vaccine is the saviour then everything should be fine. If it’s not and it doesn’t work, then what? It very well would be the long run if the reason for restrictions is the unknown outcome of the vaccine. No one is talking about today, we’re all talking about once the rollout is complete.
24-03-2021, 11:54 AM
I can only speak for myself, and although it may mean less crowded restaurants/pubs and reduced profit or higher prices, I'm not convinced wearing a mask and keeping a bit away from other folk would have a hugely adverse effect on large numbers.
But presumably it has an affect on you.
24-03-2021, 11:59 AM
I can only speak for myself, and although it may mean less crowded restaurants/pubs and reduced profit or higher prices, I'm not convinced wearing a mask and keeping a bit away from other folk would have a hugely adverse effect on large numbers.
But presumably it has an affect on you.
Well clearly it will have an effect on large numbers as it’s designed to turn them into small numbers.
24-03-2021, 12:00 PM
Why is it delusional? Again, if the vaccine is the saviour then everything should be fine. If it’s not and it doesn’t work, then what? It very well would be the long run if the reason for restrictions is the unknown outcome of the vaccine. No one is talking about today, we’re all talking about once the rollout is complete.
I doubt that any expert has ever said, or even suggested that the vaccine is the saviour, as you put it. The vaccine, along with the FACTS advice are just tools in the battle to control a global pandemic.
24-03-2021, 12:57 PM
Well clearly it will have an effect on large numbers as it’s designed to turn them into small numbers.
That's quite clever!
24-03-2021, 12:58 PM
I doubt that any expert has ever said, or even suggested that the vaccine is the saviour, as you put it. The vaccine, along with the FACTS advice are just tools in the battle to control a global pandemic.
Its been widely reported by multiple politicians that the vaccine is our ‘route out of the pandemic’.
AugustaHibs
24-03-2021, 01:00 PM
Its been widely reported by multiple politicians that the vaccine is our ‘route out of the pandemic’.
‘Silver bullet’ is another term that’s been used my major politicians and scientists.
24-03-2021, 01:05 PM
It's almost like I didn't say experts 🤔
The vaccine only protects against the current variants, only to the extent of people unlikely to be severely ill
24-03-2021, 01:08 PM
‘Silver bullet’ is another term that’s been used my major politicians and scientists.
I’m severely worried if they’re still not sure that the vaccine will work months down the line and still pushing everyone to get it. Surely if they weren’t sure then they would take stock, test properly and ensure they weren’t wasting millions upon millions of pounds on a vaccine that doesn’t work.
If it does work then once everyone is vaccinated there is no reason for restrictions.
Call me daft, or deluded, I can’t see anything wrong with that.
24-03-2021, 01:10 PM
It's almost like I didn't say experts 🤔
The vaccine only protects against the current variants, only to the extent of people unlikely to be severely ill
Are you saying that the politicians (and certain experts btw) are just giving false promises? Interesting.
Surely that’s what we want? People not to be severely ill? Or are we waiting until there is zero Covid? Could be a while 😂
24-03-2021, 01:15 PM
If it does work then once everyone is vaccinated there is no reason for restrictions.
I think that's more or less what will happen, and is what we're collectively aiming for.
They just can't guarantee the extent to which the vaccine will work at the moment. There's nothing wrong with discussion of alternative scenarios to the best case one. :dunno:
24-03-2021, 01:18 PM
I think that's more or less what will happen, and is what we're collectively aiming for.
They just can't guarantee the extent to which the vaccine will work at the moment. There's nothing wrong with discussion of alternative scenarios to the best case one. :dunno:
Exactly why I asked, what if it doesn’t work? What if new variants come along and its rendered useless? Going by the replies that’s a possibility, then what? You’d need some amount of patience to be right back at square 1.
24-03-2021, 01:19 PM
I’m severely worried if they’re still not sure that the vaccine will work months down the line and still pushing everyone to get it. Surely if they weren’t sure then they would take stock, test properly and ensure they weren’t wasting millions upon millions of pounds on a vaccine that doesn’t work.
What happens when the virus mutates to the stage where vaccination is ineffective? 6 months of lockdown until the labs create a new vaccine?
24-03-2021, 01:23 PM
Exactly why I asked, what if it doesn’t work? What if new variants come along and its rendered useless? Going by the replies that’s a possibility, then what? You’d need some amount of patience to be right back at square 1.
Unless we all agree that full opening up is not possible, and face coverings and some level of social distance is adhered to then the virus will continue to be a problem to a greater or lesser extent.
AugustaHibs
24-03-2021, 01:32 PM
Unless we all agree that full opening up is not possible, and face coverings and some level of social distance is adhered to then the virus will continue to be a problem to a greater or lesser extent.
So how long would you be happy to do this for?
24-03-2021, 01:32 PM
What happens when the virus mutates to the stage where vaccination is ineffective? 6 months of lockdown until the labs create a new vaccine?
Unless the virus is eradicated (UK isn’t planning on that) then that’s a risk regardless. Doesn’t matter what we do, we’re going to be living with it, that was always the plan from the beginning (see Jason Leitch’s comments on it becoming a ‘common flu type virus’).
24-03-2021, 01:48 PM
I'll be happy to have the level system to control the spread for as long as necessary. If the incentive is there to behave and not go spreading the virus then people should be happy to do the right thing. The plan as I understand it is to eventually have the whole country in levels 1 and 0 which is as close as possible to 2019.
24-03-2021, 01:56 PM
It wouldn't be square 1 thankfully.
We have the processes in place and the building blocks of the vaccine that would all mean we could get a new vaccine out to tackle variants or any issues with waning immunity quite quickly. We also have the infrastructure set up and we know who needs prioritised etc.
We also have testing infrastructure and basic understanding of the virus to a much higher level than we did at square 1.
It would obviously be frustrating to go back the way or stand still, but if the alternative was to just act as normal then I don't think there's any other choice.
24-03-2021, 02:01 PM
Speaking for myself....as long as it takes. I don't enjoy any of the restrictions or requirements but I quite enjoy being alive.
24-03-2021, 02:52 PM
Speaking for myself....as long as it takes. I don't enjoy any of the restrictions or requirements but I quite enjoy being alive.
I'd go along with this view.
AugustaHibs
24-03-2021, 03:10 PM
Once you’ve been vaccinated though that risk is minimal. There’s a chance you could die every time you jump in a vehicle but you still do it
24-03-2021, 03:28 PM
Once you’ve been vaccinated though that risk is minimal. There’s a chance you could die every time you jump in a vehicle but you still do it
I don't think that the risk is minimal at all. It may well be less of a risk but with all the data and all the analysis we are still groping in the dark and the cautious approach IMO is the right one. Obviously, the two differing arguments on this thread will never agree.
24-03-2021, 04:46 PM
I’m looking to getting back to reserve/development games, if one will exist going forward
Little or no social distancing required
24-03-2021, 07:09 PM
I don't think that the risk is minimal at all. It may well be less of a risk but with all the data and all the analysis we are still groping in the dark and the cautious approach IMO is the right one. Obviously, the two differing arguments on this thread will never agree.
We’re still cautious because everyone hasn’t been vaccinated yet. If the risk isn’t minimal then why are we bothering with the vaccine? If it’s making very little difference to the risk... I’ve yet to see any data anywhere that points to the vaccine not having a big impact.
AugustaHibs
24-03-2021, 07:36 PM
Depends on what your definition of minimal is. I’m not downplaying that covid is dangerous for some members of the population but vaccines stop more than 80% of hospitalisations at the very least
The dalmeny
24-03-2021, 08:19 PM
Depends on what your definition of minimal is. I’m not downplaying that covid is dangerous for some members of the population but vaccines stop more than 80% of hospitalisations at the very least
And also the risk varies with age and health.
24-03-2021, 09:23 PM
Did I mention that a venue that is normally used for an event I would be applying for on the 11th September is unavailable because it will still be in use as a vaccination centre. Let that sink in. Vaccination will still be taking place in September.
AugustaHibs
24-03-2021, 09:51 PM
Did I mention that a venue that is normally used for an event I would be applying for on the 11th September is unavailable because it will still be in use as a vaccination centre. Let that sink in. Vaccination will still be taking place in September.
They’ll be onto vaccinating kids by then
25-03-2021, 07:53 AM
Or it will be our winter one
25-03-2021, 09:21 AM
Or it will be our winter one
Or the top up one for Varriant s
Wakeyhibee
25-03-2021, 09:25 AM
Minimal sounds great as a percentage but not so when you apply it to a population. They quoted 13.4m in the high risk groups of age and health. The vaccines are said to be 90-95% effective. Going off their figures between 670k - 1.3m are not covered and in the higher risk groups.
25-03-2021, 10:06 AM
Minimal sounds great as a percentage but not so when you apply it to a population. They quoted 13.4m in the high risk groups of age and health. The vaccines are said to be 90-95% effective. Going off their figures between 670k - 1.3m are not covered and in the higher risk groups.
Surely it’s based on hospitalisations from the worst case. So how many have fallen severely ill so far? Reduce this number by 90%+. Not everyone in the higher risk categories fell severely ill through Covid.
AugustaHibs
25-03-2021, 11:41 AM
Widespread study of AZ in USA showed that full vaccination stopped 100% of hospitalisations. Even accounting for some amount of luck if it’s 95% that’s still extremely high. Add into the fact that the chance of death is still relatively low even for elderly and vulnerable and I would class that as a minimal risk. Remember the flu still kills people every year..
If you want to live your life with zero risk I would advise never leaving your house again as otherwise it’s impossible.
25-03-2021, 12:51 PM
Widespread study of AZ in USA showed that full vaccination stopped 100% of hospitalisations. Even accounting for some amount of luck if it’s 95% that’s still extremely high. Add into the fact that the chance of death is still relatively low even for elderly and vulnerable and I would class that as a minimal risk. Remember the flu still kills people every year..
If you want to live your life with zero risk I would advise never leaving your house again as otherwise it’s impossible.
And even then it’s not risk free - electrical faults, tripping down the stair etc.
Gordy M
25-03-2021, 01:03 PM
Thing is, and im no expert in numbers, but if only 20% of people show symptoms, and a small percentage of that are hospitalised, and its an even smaller amount who unfortunately die, i think its about 0.3% of people who get it. So with the vaccine would it not be 5% - 10% of the 0.3% who wouldnt be protected, which will be a relatively small number.
25-03-2021, 01:07 PM
And there you have it folks ........ the voice of reason. Jeezo.
25-03-2021, 01:12 PM
Nothing wrong with what the poster said IMO.
AugustaHibs
25-03-2021, 01:24 PM
there really isn’t any other way. Covid is endemic and will never be eradicated. We are soon approaching a point where the restrictions will be doing more damage than the virus. Like bingo said come summer I can’t see restrictions being followed stringently by anywhere near as many people were even 3 months ago.
25-03-2021, 01:44 PM
Nothing wrong with what the poster said IMO.
IMO it is very dangerous to address an issue by over simplifying the problems. That has been pretty much the theme of all my posts on this thread. I can only reiterate that IMO every avenue of escape from this pandemic is fraught with the unknown and that the cautious approach, along with constant checks on data analysis, is the way to go. Obviously, I don't expect everyone to agree with my take on things, and I am always open to persuasion, but nothing on here has changed my view (so far).
25-03-2021, 01:50 PM
there really isn’t any other way. Covid is endemic and will never be eradicated. We are soon approaching a point where the restrictions will be doing more damage than the virus. Like bingo said come summer I can’t see restrictions being followed stringently by anywhere near as many people were even 3 months ago.
Encouraged, maybe, by posts like this?
25-03-2021, 01:55 PM
I would’ve potentially disagreed with the poster a few months ago but starting to agree more and more. Majority of the vulnerable have been vaccinated so it’s time to begin the return to the normal/new normal.
AugustaHibs
25-03-2021, 02:07 PM
[/B]Encouraged, maybe, by posts like this?
People will have their own reasons for not taking it seriously, maybe the fact that like me they realise the risk is minuscule once you’ve been vaccinated.
Not sure a post on a hibs forum will have folk piling into each other’s gaffs for house parties.
The dalmeny
25-03-2021, 03:39 PM
The risk is minimal unless you have an underlying health condition, 4% die, 93% of that 4% have an underlying condition leaving 0.28% and you still have to catch it in the first place. So if you have an underlying condition be sensible.
25-03-2021, 03:40 PM
People will have their own reasons for not taking it seriously, maybe the fact that like me they realise the risk is minuscule once you’ve been vaccinated.
Not sure a post on a hibs forum will have folk piling into each other’s gaffs for house parties.
Therein lies the problem.
25-03-2021, 04:43 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/whats-on/arts-and-entertainment/major-events-set-to-get-green-light-to-return-in-scotland-this-summer-3178928
Seems the government may be deluded also.
25-03-2021, 04:56 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/whats-on/arts-and-entertainment/major-events-set-to-get-green-light-to-return-in-scotland-this-summer-3178928
:hyper :hyper :hyper :hyper :hyper :hyper :hyper
AugustaHibs
25-03-2021, 05:07 PM
Absolutely shocking if true, do they not realise the risks?
Wakeyhibee
25-03-2021, 05:08 PM
And even then it’s not risk free - electrical faults, tripping down the stair etc.
I work in the power industry and it is far from risk free working near live equipment at 400kv. I was merely pointing out that stats are easily put out there to show either arguement using the figures touted by our Government. I sincerely hope the vaccine does what is being said in the best case scenario.
25-03-2021, 05:33 PM
Absolutely shocking if true, do they not realise the risks?
Wait till you see the detail re numbers no way will there be capacity crowds
25-03-2021, 05:44 PM
The 2021-22 Scottish Professional Football League season will begin on 31 July, while a winter break will be reinstated for the Premiership.
The SPFL confirmed all four of its divisions will start their campaigns that weekend, with the top-tier pausing between 3 January and 21 January.
The break was scrapped this term due to Covid-19.
The domestic season commences with the group stage of the League Cup on 10 and 11 July.
Further match-days will take place on 13/14, 17/18, 20/21 and 24/25 July.
The SPFL says dates for next season's Challenge Cup will be confirmed "in due course" with all league fixtures published in June.
get that winter break away tae, mind you might be handy with us flying in Europe :)
25-03-2021, 05:57 PM
I would’ve potentially disagreed with the poster a few months ago but starting to agree more and more. Majority of the vulnerable have been vaccinated so it’s time to begin the return to the normal/new normal.
Me too, coming round to it. I was the same, now it’s a case of jag me up and unlock us. My folks are jagged, in-laws jagged, get the youngsters jagged and craic on.
I’ll wear a mask in shops and wash my hands much more (skin on the back of my hands is like a crocodiles), alcohol gel, etc.
Wakeyhibee
25-03-2021, 07:01 PM
I don't see my reply above to HibbySam. I just dont believe this will go away sufficiently via vaccination yet. We will know more as it progresses in the next couple of months.
The UK has been worse than hopeless in getting things right since the end if the 1st lockdown. I really dont trust them to get this right either. If we were like Oz, NZ or similar I would hold out a bit more hope.
I want to get back to normal asap but not at the cost of another huge number of lives over and above what was the norm (with flu). I am not particularly worried for myself btw.
25-03-2021, 09:16 PM
https://news.stv.tv/entertainment/belladrum-festival-cancelled-for-second-year-due-to-pandemic
Oops
25-03-2021, 09:25 PM
https://news.stv.tv/entertainment/belladrum-festival-cancelled-for-second-year-due-to-pandemic
Oops
A festival cancels due to uncertainty months in advance. Not sure the point you are trying to make? In the article posted it makes clear the government are wanting to allow large scale outdoor events come late summer. Are you disagreeing with that just because some festival has cancelled?
26-03-2021, 07:46 AM
A festival cancels due to uncertainty months in advance. Not sure the point you are trying to make? In the article posted it makes clear the government are wanting to allow large scale outdoor events come late summer. Are you disagreeing with that just because some festival has cancelled?
I posted about the Glen Cannich festival going ahead. Some events are planning for reduced numbers and some form of social distancing. Bella cancelled because they can't afford to do this. Trnsmt will struggle inho
26-03-2021, 09:10 AM
Trnsmt put back to September.
26-03-2021, 02:25 PM
Scientists now confirming that there is no data to show that people who have been vaccinated should not be able to meet each other (even indoors). Good to hear and hopefully the UK and Scottish Governments start listening to those who know best.
AugustaHibs
26-03-2021, 02:39 PM
Scientists now confirming that there is no data to show that people who have been vaccinated should not be able to meet each other (even indoors). Good to hear and hopefully the UK and Scottish Governments start listening to those who know best.
You got the source? Sounds good
26-03-2021, 02:44 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.walesonline.co.uk/news/health/coronavirus-wales-vaccinations-restrictions-cases-20259531.amp
26-03-2021, 02:52 PM
Is that both vaccines, or even after the 1st one?
Read elsewhere the Pfizer vaccine gives 99% immunity after the 1st vaccine
26-03-2021, 02:55 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.walesonline.co.uk/news/health/coronavirus-wales-vaccinations-restrictions-cases-20259531.amp
The issues with this are how do you police it? Unvaccinated people will take the piss and meet up, go to gather in public and lead to an increase in prevalence of the virus. All of the governments have a difficult enough job without trying to make things work for all without trying to make different rules for different cohorts.
26-03-2021, 02:57 PM
The issues with this are how do you police it? Unvaccinated people will take the piss and meet up, go to gather in public and lead to an increase in prevalence of the virus. All of the governments have a difficult enough job without trying to make things work for all without trying to make different rules for different cohorts.
Unvaccinated people are at very low risk anyway.
If they were they would have had the vaccine.
26-03-2021, 03:00 PM
This thread is about the football season come end of July. By then near enough every single person will have been offered at least the first dose. Scientists confirming there’s relative safety from sitting beside others.
26-03-2021, 03:01 PM
Is that both vaccines, or even after the 1st one?
Read elsewhere the Pfizer vaccine gives 99% immunity after the 1st vaccine
He’d prefer both, but even with the first after a few weeks it’s relatively safe. All good news come the restart in late July.
26-03-2021, 05:26 PM
This thread is about the football season come end of July. By then near enough every single person will have been offered at least the first dose. Scientists confirming there’s relative safety from sitting beside others.
Even though Belladrum cancelled July and trnsmt moved from July to September.
Be realistic.
AugustaHibs
26-03-2021, 05:43 PM
Be realistic.
The football season starts last week in July. Good chance the ‘science’ shows we can get full crowds back. Whether they follow that or not is a different question
26-03-2021, 05:44 PM
Be realistic.
You can’t organise an event on a few weeks notice, you can certainly entertain a football crowd at very short notice when most of whom will already have bought season tickets. They’re two totally different things. Festivals will have to take a cautious approach now as the acts would be commanding of huge fees, football isn’t like that.
Even at that Trnsmt would be 5 weeks after the start of the football season, if that’s the worst case for football seeing big crowds back then that’s a far better predicament than you are predicting.
26-03-2021, 07:22 PM
The football season starts last week in July. Good chance the ‘science’ shows we can get full crowds back. Whether they follow that or not is a different questionIs UK government target not first vaccine offered to all adults by the end of July ? So many adults will not have had second dose and teenagers ( for football could include players , pie sellers , etc ) no dose . More importantly , do we know yet how long vaccines will protect and if / when third dose will be necessary ?
HibeeHibernian4
26-03-2021, 07:48 PM
Be realistic.
The logistics it would require for Hibs to...open Easter Road for a game tomorrow in comparison to setting up and running an annual festival are not even on the same planet.
AugustaHibs
26-03-2021, 09:00 PM
Is UK government target not first vaccine offered to all adults by the end of July ? So many adults will not have had second dose and teenagers ( for football could include players , pie sellers , etc ) no dose . More importantly , do we know yet how long vaccines will protect and if / when third dose will be necessary ?
We have to open up regardless if third doses and whether we know how long protection lasts. It’s going to be longer than 7/8 months anyway
Stairway 2 7
26-03-2021, 09:14 PM
I said on covid thread but if TRNSMT have been with the agreement of scot gov as they say. To have 50,000 tightly jumping about pished with loud music in September, also 12,000 indoor rearranged for mcfly at hydro in September. Then no chance we won't be allowed full capacity at the same time
26-03-2021, 09:30 PM
I said on covid thread but if TRNSMT have been with the agreement of scot gov as they say. To have 50,000 tightly jumping about pished with loud music in September, also 12,000 indoor rearranged for mcfly at hydro in September. Then no chance we won't be allowed full capacity at the same time
Trnsmt don't have that agreement with the government. It is their wish, but having dealt with Ellis on TITP I know that he will say things to put pressure on the authorities.
September is a lot further away than July
26-03-2021, 09:36 PM
Trnsmt don't have that agreement with the government. It is their wish, but having dealt with Ellis on TITP I know that he will say things to put pressure on the authorities.
September is a lot further away than July
It’s 5 weeks.
26-03-2021, 09:42 PM
It’s 5 weeks.
Trnsmt moved back 10 weeks. #justsaying
26-03-2021, 09:51 PM
We have to open up regardless if third doses and whether we know how long protection lasts. It’s going to be longer than 7/8 months anywayEarly talk was of 5 or 6 months . Why would we ( presume you mean football in Scotland in general or football in Europe ) open up without considering consequences this summer if we didn`t before if vaccines aren`t providing long - term protection ?
26-03-2021, 09:53 PM
Trnsmt moved back 10 weeks. #justsaying
To the 10th of September, 5 weeks after our first league game ‘#justsaying
26-03-2021, 09:55 PM
Early talk was of 5 or 6 months . Why would we ( presume you mean football in Scotland in general or football in Europe ) open up without considering consequences this summer if we didn`t before if vaccines aren`t providing long - term protection ?
If vaccines aren’t providing long term protection should we stand still for potentially years until they do eventually get to ‘long term protection’? We’re extremely good at finding reasons to stay locked down rather than finding reasons to open up and live our lives again.
Wakeyhibee
27-03-2021, 08:10 AM
If vaccines aren’t providing long term protection should we stand still for potentially years until they do eventually get to ‘long term protection’? We’re extremely good at finding reasons to stay locked down rather than finding reasons to open up and live our lives again.
We dont know enough yet about long term efficacy, what happens if a 2nd jab cant be delivered on time, how quickly they can be adapted to new strains etc.
We do know what happens when we have to lockdown, it goes down but not eradicated. And we know what would happen if we opened up and one or more of the above failed.
If all goes well July/August could be within reach for football. But with our approach to borders (even now), supply arguments, and our risk taking with the vaccine 2 dose strategy anything is literally possible.
The U.S. is not far behind us in vaccinations (overall jags per capita). They are going for more full inoculation than we are, but covering less people as a percentage of population. I think we'll have a better idea in 3-4 weeks how good the vaccines are if their rates drop to our equivalent without a the same severe restrictions as ourselves.
27-03-2021, 02:31 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jason-leitch-concedes-premiership-fan-23806378
Another expert loving his time in the spotlight.
If 50,000 people can attend TRNSMT in September then there's no reason why we should full capacity crowds back by then. :aok:
27-03-2021, 02:37 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jason-leitch-concedes-premiership-fan-23806378
If 50,000 people can attend TRNSMT in September then there's no reason why we should full capacity crowds back by then. :aok:
If we can sell 10’000 season tickets, can leave the middle seat free
27-03-2021, 02:40 PM
If we can sell 10’000 season tickets, can leave the middle seat free
If one of the solutions is to stop away fans and allow clubs to keep selling PPV options I’d be delighted with that.
27-03-2021, 03:31 PM
If one of the solutions is to stop away fans and allow clubs to keep selling PPV options I’d be delighted with that.
I think that will happen for the first month or two
Season ticket holders only
27-03-2021, 03:46 PM
No guarantees that 50,000 will be able to attend trnsmt
27-03-2021, 05:04 PM
Can we restart the discussion about moving games to Murrayfield?
:duck:
27-03-2021, 05:06 PM
5000 in Amsterdam Arena for Netherlands v Latvia today .
27-03-2021, 05:07 PM
No guarantees that 50,000 will be able to attend trnsmt
Will it be less than 20k? That’s all that really matters in a conversation between Hibs fans. I highly doubt they’ll be having the festival with a low number of attendees.
27-03-2021, 05:16 PM
Will it be less than 20k? That’s all that really matters in a conversation between Hibs fans. I highly doubt they’ll be having the festival with a low number of attendees.
What relevance is 20k to do with anything?
SideBurns
27-03-2021, 05:34 PM
5000 in Amsterdam Arena for Netherlands v Latvia today .
And yet I'm assuming the Netherlands are having similar 'third wave' problems as most of the European mainland? Or are they bucking the trend? No masks or social distancing going on as far as I can see (plenty having a pint too).
27-03-2021, 05:36 PM
And yet I'm assuming the Netherlands are having similar 'third wave' problems as most of the European mainland? Or are they bucking the trend? No masks or social distancing going on as far as I can see (plenty having a pint too).
https://amp.theguardian.com/football/2021/mar/26/netherlands-welcome-fans-in-covid-experiment-with-eye-on-euros
27-03-2021, 06:13 PM
What relevance is 20k to do with anything?
We’re not going to get 50k into ER are we?
27-03-2021, 06:47 PM
We’re not going to get 50k into ER are we?
No but in the context of TRNSMT surely the measure is whatever reduction in capacity might be applied?
27-03-2021, 06:52 PM
No but in the context of TRNSMT surely the measure is whatever reduction in capacity might be applied?
It was a one size fits all number previously, I don’t see anyway they could turn around and say to an open air music event you can have x amount, but football open air events can only have y amount, with y being lower than x.
Hibeesforever
27-03-2021, 07:02 PM
We need to get real here and hold our politicians to account..
We were told lockdown was needed because hospital admissions were nearing 2000...now they are at only 283, so why are we still in lockdown...the public are now being conned, we should be back in stadiums now....
27-03-2021, 07:05 PM
It was a one size fits all number previously, I don’t see anyway they could turn around and say to an open air music event you can have x amount, but football open air events can only have y amount, with y being lower than x.
Thats not feasible though. There have to be conditions attached to that. Every music festival will have different capacity. You can’t restrict a 75k venue field to 50k and let the full 50k into a 50k capacity field. Where are these one size fits all guidelines you mention? Any measure would need to be what the allowed percentage of capacity would be. Then you could do your comparison to football crowds.
27-03-2021, 07:06 PM
We were told lockdown was needed because hospital admissions were nearing 2000...now they are at only 283, so why are we still in lockdown...the public are now being conned, we should be back in stadiums now....
Conned in what way? Is Lockdown not working if admissions are going down? Do you think they would have gone down anyway?
I’m as bored as anyone but I don’t really get your way of thinking.
27-03-2021, 07:07 PM
Aye right enough.
27-03-2021, 07:10 PM
Thats not feasible though. There have to be conditions attached to that. Every music festival will have different capacity. You can’t restrict a 75k venue field to 50k and let the full 50k into a 50k capacity field. Where are these one size fits all guidelines you mention? Any measure would need to be what the allowed percentage of capacity would be. Then you could do your comparison to football crowds.
It was one size fits all last time out when it came to crowds, not %’s.
27-03-2021, 07:10 PM
How are we being conned? You think the government wants us to be haemorrhaging money in lockdown?
Keep that pish for Facebook.
27-03-2021, 07:12 PM
It was one size fits all last time out when it came to crowds, not %’s.
So when was that? It doesn’t make any sense at all. I honestly can’t remember seeing that anywhere.