View Full Version : What's the chances of fans going back in September?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9

10-12-2020, 02:29 PM
The

If you’re talking about rugby the SRU owns and controls everything to due with the professional game.

Wis talking about fitba, tbh.

That said, I would expect the SRU to have some sort of insurance themselves. If not, maybe that's been a factor in the (apparent) larger payout. Or, perhaps, the money is also meant for the member clubs.

10-12-2020, 02:36 PM
Wis talking about fitba, tbh.

That said, I would expect the SRU to have some sort of insurance themselves. If not, maybe that's been a factor in the (apparent) larger payout. Or, perhaps, the money is also meant for the member clubs.

There are so many layers-the two pro clubs,the next six semi pro and the member clubs will be jumping up and down if they don’t get a few quid.

AugustaHibs
10-12-2020, 02:56 PM
When did you fly out?

Last week in July

10-12-2020, 02:59 PM
I want abroad in July for a week holiday. Had a great time away and felt safer in the canaries than I did at home. There was also no guidance against travel ����

When did you fly out?

09/07/2020

The Scottish government has announced its list of 57 countries exempt from mandatory two-week quarantine (https://www.independent.co.uk/topic/quarantine) upon arrival into the country.

The list is nearly identical to the one issued by the UK’s Department for Transport (https://www.independent.co.uk/travel/news-and-advice/travel-ban-lifted-uk-england-quarantine-holiday-safe-france-spain-turkey-italy-a9600206.html) (DfT) concerning arrivals into England, but with two omissions: Spain (https://www.independent.co.uk/topic/Spain) and Serbia.

Previously, a “double lock” prevented nearly all international travel: the Foreign Office (FCO) advised against all non-essential travel abroad, invalidating travel insurance, and a mandatory 14-day quarantine period was imposed on all inbound arrivals to the UK.

From 10 July, the quarantine will be lifted for those travelling to Scotland (https://www.independent.co.uk/topic/Scotland) from designated “travel corridor (https://www.independent.co.uk/topic/travel-corridor)” destinations. However, there is a separate list of 67 countries exempt from the FCO travel warning as of 4 July – and the two are not the same. Only 46 destinations can be found on both lists.

https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-update-first-ministers-speech-8-july-2020/

(https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-update-first-ministers-speech-8-july-2020/)

10-12-2020, 03:26 PM
If the BBC news is to be believed, after the 31 December if no deal in place, we could need visa's to travel to Europe and proof of vaccination????
It could well scupper hundreds of holiday destinations for the masses!!!

10-12-2020, 03:35 PM
If the BBC news is to be believed, after the 31 December if no deal in place, we could need visa's to travel to Europe and proof of vaccination????

Check the Brexit thread. I posted the EU contingency plans. 6 months of transition.

10-12-2020, 03:39 PM

I don't think that's quite the full story they've painted.

As things stand we come under some EU rule that allows us to travel there, if we aren't in the EU (January) we would need to be on a list of allowed countries based on low infection rates - a list that we currently wouldn't be on.

However individual countries can override that by having travel corridors set up with the UK to allow travel.

I've not read anything about visas (for holidaymakers) or vaccination requirements and I suspect that a lot of countries would be keen to get a travel corridor set up if this isn't something that is entirely dealt with before then.

10-12-2020, 03:43 PM
Check the Brexit thread. I posted the EU contingency plans. 6 months of transition.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-55259144

Link added

10-12-2020, 05:02 PM
‘The whole of Europe is under severe pressure’ - yet somehow manage to allow fans back into stadia. Dress it up how you like, it’s pure stubbornness not to allow it, Leitch has said himself that there is very little risk transmission outdoors in a stadium. How many cases have come from stadia where fans are allowed across Europe? Your argument is nonsense, if they were that worried about the deaths and cases when making decisions they wouldn’t be allowing folks in cinemas to watch football, you wouldn’t be allowed in hospitality, shops etc. They’re finding ways of opening up far higher risk areas yet point blank refuse regarding football shows their discontent towards it.

My take on it is Nicola wouldn’t agree to it this month ,given arrangements being put in place fir X mass and bringing all tier four authorities down a tier
She will then expect a surge in cases over the festive period so no chance of anything changing in January fir Football
What happens after that will be interesting

10-12-2020, 06:46 PM
Jason Leitch is on STV now. Please watch and digest what he’s saying, maybe it’ll help people get some perspective on why football isn’t going back.

Robbo6-2
10-12-2020, 06:56 PM
Jason Leitch is on STV now. Please watch and digest what he’s saying, maybe it’ll help people get some perspective on why football isn’t going back.

Hes a clown

10-12-2020, 06:56 PM

What’s he saying?

10-12-2020, 06:57 PM
Hes a clown

Care to expand?

10-12-2020, 06:59 PM
Care to expand?

:agree: the reply should be interesting

then again, maybe not

10-12-2020, 06:59 PM
What’s he saying?

He’s taking lots of questions from the public, putting the numbers in to perspective and explaining why changes were and weren’t made.

10-12-2020, 07:00 PM
:agree: this should be interesting

I doubt it.

10-12-2020, 07:01 PM

Watched it, still can’t see any consistency with regards the decisions made. I’m sure you’ll be able to enlighten us though. You can say it til the cows come home, but football fans shouldn’t be behind cinemas, pubs, shops and gyms in regards to getting customers in the door.

10-12-2020, 07:01 PM
I doubt it.

indeed :agree:

10-12-2020, 07:03 PM

Pompous evangelical Dentist

10-12-2020, 07:10 PM
Watched it, still can’t see any consistency with regards the decisions made. I’m sure you’ll be able to enlighten us though. You can say it til the cows come home, but football fans shouldn’t be behind cinemas, pubs, shops and gyms in regards to getting customers in the door.

I don’t remember the last time I jumped to my feet and celebrated something in a cinema, or shouted at the screen and put others at risk because of it. Gyms is pretty obvious why they were out ahead of football no? Physical and mental well-being is pretty important during a global pandemic - though football provides some mental well-being to some and there’s no denying that. Pubs, pretty obvious to me: most pubs are small businesses that needed the chance to trade again or they go out of business, they don’t have deals with big bodies that provide a large chunk of their income.

10-12-2020, 07:10 PM

Right.

10-12-2020, 07:14 PM

The saturation that comes with Prof Jason Leitch and the emergence of the strong Hun are two of the least enjoyable aspects of the pandemic. His wee FM sidekick is joint second and the other one, Prof Linda Bauld, has cost me two tellies already as her coupon and twisted accent does my head in.

It’s becoming easy to blame all of them for this mess.

AugustaHibs
10-12-2020, 07:22 PM
Leitch is just loving the fame

10-12-2020, 07:23 PM
I don’t remember the last time I jumped to my feet and celebrated something in a cinema, or shouted at the screen and put others at risk because of it. Gyms is pretty obvious why they were out ahead of football no? Physical and mental well-being is pretty important during a global pandemic - though football provides some mental well-being to some and there’s no denying that. Pubs, pretty obvious to me: most pubs are small businesses that needed the chance to trade again or they go out of business, they don’t have deals with big bodies that provide a large chunk of their income.

But all of which are far more risky than an outdoor open air event, as has been advised by Leitch himself on many an occasion. So which is it? Jumping to your feet, and celebrating, outside, with a mask on, while distanced from anyone else, isn’t a huge risk of transmission. Very simple. They are literally showing football games in cinemas 😂 Btw, most football clubs are also small businesses that if they don’t get the chance to trade ASAP will go out of business. All the arguments against football is the risk of transmission (which is very low) and the economics goes out the window, yet pubs and other industries it’s all about the economics and less worry about the transmission which is far higher.

10-12-2020, 07:31 PM
But all of which are far more risky than an outdoor open air event, as has been advised by Leitch himself on many an occasion. So which is it? Jumping to your feet, and celebrating, outside, with a mask on, while distanced from anyone else, isn’t a huge risk of transmission. Very simple. They are literally showing football games in cinemas 😂 Btw, most football clubs are also small businesses that if they don’t get the chance to trade ASAP will go out of business. All the arguments against football is the risk of transmission (which is very low) and the economics goes out the window, yet pubs and other industries it’s all about the economics and less worry about the transmission which is far higher.

I think football is also at the back of the queue because of the risk of the conduct of a minority of fans, they don’t know how people will behave.

Most football clubs are backed and supported by people with money, most small businesses are not.

10-12-2020, 07:32 PM

Yeah sure, he’s loving it alright.

10-12-2020, 07:35 PM
I think football is also at the back of the queue because of the risk of the conduct of a minority of fans, they don’t know how people will behave.

Most football clubs are backed and supported by people with money, most small businesses are not.

‘Most football clubs’ - that couldn’t be further from the truth. Majority of football clubs work week to week outwith the top division. The fans through the door are the majority of their income, they rely on the small businesses for sponsorships and that’s dried up this year. Football exists outwith the top league and those clubs are struggling immensely.

Your right, there’s a far greater risk in a football stadium watching a game, than in a cinema watching the same game, or a pub drinking watching the same game.

10-12-2020, 07:46 PM
‘Most football clubs’ - that couldn’t be further from the truth. Majority of football clubs work week to week outwith the top division. The fans through the door are the majority of their income, they rely on the small businesses for sponsorships and that’s dried up this year. Football exists outwith the top league and those clubs are struggling immensely.

Your right, there’s a far greater risk in a football stadium watching a game, than in a cinema watching the same game, or a pub drinking watching the same game.

Not once have I said that, not once. I think it’s ridiculous that any of these industries have been allowed to open, they should all still be closed and recovering the backing they require from the government in order to preserve jobs and livelihoods.

Small clubs need the fans, but I frankly don’t give a **** at the moment because I haven’t considered smaller clubs because I’ve been focussed on being thankful that the team I support doesn’t have those problems. Now that can be viewed as selfish or whatever but I don’t care, why get worked up about it? I’ve got enough to worry about thinking about small football clubs. That’s not to say it’s not important, it is, but what’s also important is that our club is fine for the moment.

I back the some of the decisions made by the government, I don’t necessarily back the football blackout but I can at least understand it.

Now I will leave you to be upset about not being able to sit in the stadium, and I’ll watch Hibs on the telly, listen to them on the radio and I’ll still enjoy it.

10-12-2020, 07:49 PM
Not once have I said that, not once. I think it’s ridiculous that any of these industries have been allowed to open, they should all still be closed and recovering the backing they require from the government in order to preserve jobs and livelihoods.

Small clubs need the fans, but I frankly don’t give a **** at the moment because I haven’t considered smaller clubs because I’ve been focussed on being thankful that the team I support doesn’t have those problems. Now that can be viewed as selfish or whatever but I don’t care, why get worked up about it? I’ve got enough to worry about thinking about small football clubs. That’s not to say it’s not important, it is, but what’s also important is that our club is fine for the moment.

I back the some of the decisions made by the government, I don’t necessarily back the football blackout but I can at least understand it.

Now I will leave you to be upset about not being able to sit in the stadium, and I’ll watch Hibs on the telly, listen to them on the radio and I’ll still enjoy it.

But that’s your thoughts, that can’t be the thoughts of those in charge of our country. ‘Ach **** them, they’re nothing to do with me so I don’t care’ 😂 the government have a job to treat every industry equally and fairly, and frankly our government have failed miserably at that. They can talk the talk (some of them) but can’t walk the walk. It’s neither wonder sports have been neglected when Fitzpatrick has been in hiding for the last 9 months, and when he surfaces he makes a complete Noel Hunt of himself.

10-12-2020, 07:50 PM

Think he’s just a puppet for the SG

10-12-2020, 07:57 PM
But that’s your thoughts, that can’t be the thoughts of those in charge of our country. ‘Ach **** them, they’re nothing to do with me so I don’t care’ 😂 the government have a job to treat every industry equally and fairly, and frankly our government have failed miserably at that. They can talk the talk (some of them) but can’t walk the walk. It’s neither wonder sports have been neglected when Fitzpatrick has been in hiding for the last 9 months, and when he surfaces he makes a complete Noel Hunt of himself.

I’m not a ****ing advocate for the Scottish government, I clearly said I agree with some things and I don’t agree with others. They have a duty to industry, they have a duty to sport and they’ve just today made £20 million available to Scottish football.

Letting fans back in at the moment would be costly. They would be ST holders, requiring extensive stewarding and extra costs to make the place COVID secure, £30k for Aberdeen I think? There would be no catering; no ticket money; not enough for the club to wipe its face.

You made a point about clubs protesting in a similar way to the hospitality industry. Aberdeen have been vocal, but no one else has whined nearly as much as them about getting fans back in. If the demand was there from the clubs they would be battering the door down.

10-12-2020, 08:02 PM
I’m not a ****ing advocate for the Scottish government, I clearly said I agree with some things and I don’t agree with others. They have a duty to industry, they have a duty to sport and they’ve just today made £20 million available to Scottish football.

Letting fans back in at the moment would be costly. They would be ST holders, requiring extensive stewarding and extra costs to make the place COVID secure, £30k for Aberdeen I think? There would be no catering; no ticket money; not enough for the club to wipe its face.

You made a point about clubs protesting in a similar way to the hospitality industry. Aberdeen have been vocal, but no one else has whined nearly as much as them about getting fans back in. If the demand was there from the clubs they would be battering the door down.

Neil Doncaster, on behalf of all 42 clubs, couldn’t be more outspoken if he tried. The Scottish FA have a joint response group with a sub group for the return of fans. I’m fairly sure Scottish football from top to bottom is doing all it can, including the #letfansin campaign.

10-12-2020, 08:13 PM
Neil Doncaster, on behalf of all 42 clubs, couldn’t be more outspoken if he tried. The Scottish FA have a joint response group with a sub group for the return of fans. I’m fairly sure Scottish football from top to bottom is doing all it can, including the #letfansin campaign.

I’m sure you’re right about these campaigns, but they aren’t putting their arguments across well enough.

10-12-2020, 08:22 PM
I used to think that Jason Leitch is a complete slaver.

I still do. However, I’m now of the view that he is just perfect for taking the flack for the Scot Gov, he’s a fall guy, nothing more and nothing less.

The fact he loves the sound of his own voice makes him perfect for the gov.

Cormack is spot on, he has spent more time on off the ball slavering than talking to clubs.

davhibby
10-12-2020, 08:25 PM

They’re quite clearly wasting time making pointless statements that won’t change anything whilst not actually doing anything behind the scenes. Why not come up with a clear plan that includes possible attendance levels at level 0 and 1 and if the government aren’t listening release that to the public to show that they’re doing something meaningful. All the bluster from Doncaster and Cormack is just tiring now

10-12-2020, 08:31 PM
They’re quite clearly wasting time making pointless statements that won’t change anything whilst not actually doing anything behind the scenes. Why not come up with a clear plan that includes possible attendance levels at level 0 and 1 and if the government aren’t listening release that to the public to show that they’re doing something meaningful. All the bluster from Doncaster and Cormack is just tiring now

Because for big cities to get into tier 1 is ver near impossible. They’d be doing their own fans a massive disservice by saying ‘we’re happy to wait until we get into tier 1 to get fans in’. Aberdeen have put the plan in place in regards their stadium. That’s the main plan and the government aren’t interested.

Robbo6-2
10-12-2020, 08:41 PM
You still cany go and watch your bairn play football yet.

How ridiculous is that

10-12-2020, 08:43 PM

How ridiculous is that

Incredible 😂 get in the queue though, there’s no one else in the queue but football should still stand and wait.

10-12-2020, 08:47 PM
Right.

more like damn right Sturgeon and this clown are trashing Scottish business and 10’s of thousands of jobs on very dodgy evidence

10-12-2020, 08:50 PM

Absolute crap, it’s about control and being seen as Scotland’s Mammy (state)

hibee
10-12-2020, 08:51 PM

How ridiculous is that

I’ve not heard that one before, my sons not had a game for a few weeks but I took him to the last one and all parents were watching from behind a line marked a few feet from the pitch.

10-12-2020, 08:53 PM

Why don’t you ask your SNP masters why we can’t have say 3000 fans in a stadium of 20,000 but it’s ok for Rugby fans to have a limited amount in Murrayfield ( including the evangelical dentist Leitch)

10-12-2020, 08:57 PM
more like damn right Sturgeon and this clown are trashing Scottish business and 10’s of thousands of jobs on very dodgy evidence

What dodgy evidence?

10-12-2020, 08:58 PM
Why don’t you ask your SNP masters why we can’t have say 3000 fans in a stadium of 20,000 but it’s ok for Rugby fans to have a limited amount in Murrayfield ( including the evangelical dentist Leitch)

It was a one off, trial event where 500 hundred people were in the biggest stadium in the country. Maybe think a bit harder about the circumstances instead of turning to ridiculous hyperbole.

10-12-2020, 08:59 PM
Absolute crap, it’s about control and being seen as Scotland’s Mammy (state)

Control of what? And to what end?

10-12-2020, 09:01 PM

... what’s religion got to do with it. You would think that this is a Scottish Football forum. Do we know what school he went to?

10-12-2020, 09:02 PM
What dodgy evidence?

Statistics that for example put Glasgow in the highest restrictions where similar places in the UK with far higher positive tests per 100,000 are less restrictive

and they don’t seem to have data that the rest of the UK does that can pin down the area where high CV cases reside , like schools or university’s

Why should large swathes of the population be imprisioned because of an incompetent government that can’t get testing or track and trace right

10-12-2020, 09:03 PM
... what’s religion got to do with it. You would think that this is a Scottish Football forum. Do we know what school he went to?

I don’t know or care which school he went to, he is an evangelical Christian which in my mind should preclude him from having any view on how the general population conducts itself

10-12-2020, 09:05 PM
Control of what? And to what end?

to get her face on tv each day and give a mostly political broadcast

10-12-2020, 09:05 PM
Statistics that for example put Glasgow in the highest restrictions where similar places in the UK with far higher positive tests per 100,000 are less restrictive

and they don’t seem to have data that the rest of the UK does that can pin down the area where high CV cases reside , like schools or university’s

Why should large swathes of the population be imprisioned because of an incompetent government that can’t get testing or track and trace right

You seem to be directing frustration of UK government problems with the Scottish Government. The Scottish government has taken a much stricter approach and it shows in our numbers.

10-12-2020, 09:06 PM
It was a one off, trial event where 500 hundred people were in the biggest stadium in the country. Maybe think a bit harder about the circumstances instead of turning to ridiculous hyperbole.

Ansolute bull shot

to get her face on tv each day and give a mostly political broadcast

Bull****! Just total bull****!

Ansolute bull shot

You living up to your user name aye?

10-12-2020, 09:07 PM

looking forward to Leitch being an impartial observer at the next Hibs match where limited number of fans are allowed......

10-12-2020, 09:09 PM
You living up to your user name aye?

well done, resort to the SNP attack of choice......

10-12-2020, 09:11 PM
looking forward to Leitch being an impartial observer at the next Hibs match where limited number of fans are allowed......

You’ve got a stick up your arse about rugby, that’s your problem, not Derek Leitch’s - who you seem to forget was making weekly appearances on Scottish footballs biggest single radio programme.

You seem to be directing frustration of UK government problems with the Scottish Government. The Scottish government has taken a much stricter approach and it shows in our numbers.

🤣🤣🤣🤣 you honestly believe that .....

It looks like the past couple of pages are in the wrong forum, get politics off the football forum.

10-12-2020, 09:13 PM
You’ve got a stick up your arse about rugby, that’s your problem, not Derek Leitch’s - who you seem to forget was making weekly appearances on Scottish footballs biggest single radio programme.

that doesn’t mean that he is engaging with football..........being on Scottish radio biggest football programme is akin to be on SNP radio.....

10-12-2020, 09:14 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣 you honestly believe that .....

Yeah I do. This is political, not football. You want to argue we can pop over to the holy ground.

10-12-2020, 09:15 PM

i very much enjoy listening to him on OTB :agree:

looks like someone has taken his insulting avatar off....sure he'll be looking for another one :greengrin

i was right :faf:

10-12-2020, 09:26 PM
i very much enjoy listening to him on OTB :agree:

looks like someone has taken his insulting avatar off....sure he'll be looking for another one :greengrin

i was right :faf:

Holy **** 😂

I couldn’t see it on my phone

10-12-2020, 09:31 PM
It looks like the past couple of pages are in the wrong forum, get politics off the football forum.

When politicians hold football fans in such disregard, then it’s entirely legit to have it on the football forum. Comparisons with far riskier industries is completely right and proper, and proves this point.

10-12-2020, 09:36 PM
I have asked this question before.

2500 fans inside Easter Road with physical distancing is doable. We can no doubt put arrows on the floors to move people around and let people get to the toilet. Most businesses will have done similar. We have barcode entry for season tickets but presumably wouldn’t use the turnstiles as they are another touch point - sure that there’s a way around this without needing a steward to check every ticket.

Does anybody know if STs were enough for track and trace in the test events? Was additional ID used? Not as if people share tickets.

How do the 2500 fans arrive at the ground safely keeping a safe distance from those outside their household? Queues would presumably be between 1 and 2 miles in length. Do we give time slots? Do we spread the fans across 3 stands to split the queues?The default would seem to be that only ST holders staying in the City of Edinburgh would go to minimise travel?

They then have to leave so similar questions arise.

Comparisons to cinemas is false given the numbers involved.

There are many areas to criticise the SG on but not letting fans in across level 2, 3 & 4 areas isn’t one as far as I am concerned.

Doncaster is just a blether.

The bleating from the chairman who wanted us to play at half seven on a Saturday night is sabre rattling. If they were serious they would be looking at a plan for next season and getting ready for ST renewals, or maybe that is all he is doing.

10-12-2020, 09:39 PM
that doesn’t mean that he is engaging with football..........being on Scottish radio biggest football programme is akin to be on SNP radio.....

There’s literally nothing anyone can say in response to this, the guys was on off the ball every week and but he’s on SNP radio? Wtf even is that?

10-12-2020, 09:40 PM

2500 fans inside Easter Road with physical distancing is doable. We can no doubt put arrows on the floors to move people around and let people get to the toilet. Most businesses will have done similar. We have barcode entry for season tickets but presumably wouldn’t use the turnstiles as they are another touch point - sure that there’s a way around this without needing a steward to check every ticket.

Does anybody know if STs were enough for track and trace in the test events? Was additional ID used? Not as if people share tickets.

How do the 2500 fans arrive at the ground safely keeping a safe distance from those outside their household? Queues would presumably be between 1 and 2 miles in length. Do we give time slots? Do we spread the fans across 3 stands to split the queues?The default would seem to be that only ST holders staying in the City of Edinburgh would go to minimise travel?

There are many areas to criticise the SG on but not letting fans in across level 2, 3 & 4 areas isn’t one as far as I am concerned.

The bleating from the chairman who wanted us to play at half seven on a Saturday night is sabre rattling. If they were serious they would be looking at a plan for next season and getting ready for ST renewals, or maybe that is all he is doing.

Well said.

10-12-2020, 10:06 PM

Have there been any queues a couple of miles long at Anfield, The Emirates etc over the last week?

Personally don’t think it would be particularly difficult to get a couple of thousand in and out safely. I agree it’s not like going to the cinema but that works both ways. Everybody doesn’t enter through a single door like when you turn up at the cinema. It not an indoor, enclosed space either.

Cormack should keep pushing and it’s time that more, in a similar position, we’re doing the same.

10-12-2020, 10:17 PM

That’s what the clubs are for, they’re not just expecting the government to let them do as they please. Every club will have a plan in place already. Why would queues be miles long? There is still multiple entry places in every stand. Remembering that risk is only increased if the 2m distance is violated for 15 minutes or more, someone going to the toilet isn’t going to be at some greater risk. I’m not comparing to cinemas, I’m telling you that fans sitting in an outdoor stadium setting is at far less risk than someone sitting in a cinema. Numbers are relative as a % to the capacity. Dont people need the toilet at cinema?

ST’s are non transferable, once scanned the club knows fans are present, stewards will stand with a scanner on doors and allow fans entry. I’d imagine every single club in the country will have procedures set out already. No one is asking for huge numbers yet, but we need to start somewhere and gradually increase.

10-12-2020, 10:26 PM
Have there been any queues a couple of miles long at Anfield, The Emirates etc over the last week?

Personally don’t think it would be particularly difficult to get a couple of thousand in and out safely. I agree it’s not like going to the cinema but that works both ways. Everybody doesn’t enter through a single door like when you turn up at the cinema. It not an indoor, enclosed space either.

Cormack should keep pushing and it’s time that more, in a similar position, we’re doing the same.

I don’t know the layout of Anfield so can’t answer. Do you think we can just forget the 2 metre rule?

By contrast there have been no queues outside St James Park

10-12-2020, 10:37 PM
How much does it cost per supporter to safely manage admission, assuming a permitted crowd of 2000?

10-12-2020, 10:40 PM
That’s what the clubs are for, they’re not just expecting the government to let them do as they please. Every club will have a plan in place already. Why would queues be miles long? There is still multiple entry places in every stand. Remembering that risk is only increased if the 2m distance is violated for 15 minutes or more, someone going to the toilet isn’t going to be at some greater risk. I’m not comparing to cinemas, I’m telling you that fans sitting in an outdoor stadium setting is at far less risk than someone sitting in a cinema. Numbers are relative as a % to the capacity. Dont people need the toilet at cinema?

ST’s are non transferable, once scanned the club knows fans are present, stewards will stand with a scanner on doors and allow fans entry. I’d imagine every single club in the country will have procedures set out already. No one is asking for huge numbers yet, but we need to start somewhere and gradually increase.

2500 fans queuing up 2 metres apart gives you a 5 km (about 3 mile) queue. I was assuming that many people will go to the game with someone else in their household group so dropped the length.

Within 2 metres for 15 minutes is a contact and has a risk. Outdoors will help mitigate some but I am no expert on the impact of different wind/ rain/ snow/ temperature conditions on transfer. If you don’t have 2m, 1m or less is a contact. Contact doesn’t mean transmission but could get you two weeks in the back bedroom.

300-500 in the upper tier of the FF feels doable with the space behind the East used for much of the queue. That would be the numbers we could look at level 1.

10-12-2020, 10:41 PM
ffs there are people wandering our streets without their carers

10-12-2020, 10:42 PM
I don’t know the layout of Anfield so can’t answer. Do you think we can just forget the 2 metre rule?

By contrast there have been no queues outside St James Park

Who’s suggesting we forget the 2m rule? I’m not sure what gives you the idea we’d need to really?

And I think you probably know that there hasn’t been queues a couple of miles long to get in to any grounds over the last week as well.

10-12-2020, 10:44 PM
2500 fans queuing up 2 metres apart gives you a 5 km (about 3 mile) queue. I was assuming that many people will go to the game with someone else in their household group so dropped the length.

Within 2 metres for 15 minutes is a contact and has a risk. Outdoors will help mitigate some but I am no expert on the impact of different wind/ rain/ snow/ temperature conditions on transfer. If you don’t have 2m, 1m or less is a contact. Contact doesn’t mean transmission but could get you two weeks in the back bedroom.

300-500 in the upper tier of the FF feels doable with the space behind the East used for much of the queue. That would be the numbers we could look at level 1.

Is everyone turning up at the same time and standing in the same queue to go in the same turnstile?

10-12-2020, 10:48 PM
How much does it cost per supporter to safely manage admission, assuming a permitted crowd of 2000?
probably a lot more than any income that would be generated.

If you are not charging new money to let people in, given it would be STs attending, then having fans in would be commercial suicide.

Its going to have to be all or none or you'll just be p!$$ing your dwindling cash down the drain even quicker than BCD

10-12-2020, 10:52 PM

We have the east stand, the famous five stand, and the west stand upper. Why would everyone be in one queue, even if it was one stand then we still have multiple turnstiles. Nobody would be spending 15 minutes within 2m, or even 1m of anyone else. Queues from Easter Road to Portobello to get into the football 😂

10-12-2020, 10:53 PM
probably a lot more than any income that would be generated.

If you are not charging new money to let people in, given it would be STs attending, then having fans in would be commercial suicide.

Its going to have to be all or none or you'll just be p!$$ing your dwindling cash down the drain even quicker than BCD

Would it really be commercial suicide to give people (if possible) something that they’ve paid for?

Totally hypothetical, but if it gets to the point where a crowd was allowed in, do you think Hibs should decline to do so until such times as they can get anyone over and above season ticket holders in?

10-12-2020, 10:58 PM
Would it really be commercial suicide to give people (if possible) something that they’ve paid for?

Totally hypothetical, but if it gets to the point where a crowd was allowed in, do you think Hibs should decline to do so until such times as they can get anyone over and above season ticket holders in?

We have 10k ST holders. There is no chance in the short term of getting 10K. Even assuming we were allowed 2K in, how much would that cost?

10-12-2020, 11:01 PM

From a club point of view they have to do all the can to get people in, I’m fairly comfortable if I never got in, resigned to watching this season in the house and would rather the club never lost money. If that decision happened though and the club were letting people in and I was chosen, I’d go. I just really want some common sense about it all. Non league clubs should have majority, if not all, regular punters there. Lower league clubs should be able to get a certain amount in each week, likewise those in the top flight, with closure of the very worst areas in the country. Risk assessments will have been completed and procedures and protocols in place, it’s time the government branched out and made an effort.

They’re handing out grants to clubs now, when in reality letting fans in would stop them having to spend this money, it just doesn’t make any sense whatsoever, seems a massive waste of tax payers funds.

10-12-2020, 11:10 PM
We have 10k ST holders. There is no chance in the short term of getting 10K. Even assuming we were allowed 2K in, how much would that cost?

If you’re allowed 2k in, and decide against it because there is a cost involved, how do you then persuade folk to buy a season ticket in March? Folk probably aren’t going to be queuing up to renew as it is. As and when the club can get folk in, whatever the number, they need to do it. Never mind their costs, there are thousands of folk hundreds of pounds down.

10-12-2020, 11:17 PM
If you’re allowed 2k in, and decide against it because there is a cost involved, how do you then persuade folk to buy a season ticket in March? Folk probably aren’t going to be queuing up to renew as it is. As and when the club can get folk in, whatever the number, they need to do it. Never mind their costs, there are thousands of folk hundreds of pounds down.

I don't necessarily disagree with that, but what would it cost? Bearing in mind 2K is a pipedream just now.

10-12-2020, 11:26 PM
I don't necessarily disagree with that, but what would it cost? Bearing in mind 2K is a pipedream just now.

Don’t know what it would cost. I don’t think you’d be talking amounts that are going to cripple the club though. And they’d also not have any choice but to take on the cost anyway.

davhibby
10-12-2020, 11:38 PM
Because for big cities to get into tier 1 is ver near impossible. They’d be doing their own fans a massive disservice by saying ‘we’re happy to wait until we get into tier 1 to get fans in’. Aberdeen have put the plan in place in regards their stadium. That’s the main plan and the government aren’t interested.

Aberdeen just going out on their own and relentlessly suggesting things that are quite obviously going to get knocked back isn’t exactly getting them anywhere either. If the SFA and the clubs got a proper planned out suggestion in place that covered the levels that are allowed fans now and that was to go well then they’d be in a much better position to push for fans at level 2. As it is we’re what 2 months? since the level system was put in place and the SFA haven’t done anything to actually get a structure for better attendance in the levels where fans are allowed in.

11-12-2020, 06:32 AM
Aberdeen just going out on their own and relentlessly suggesting things that are quite obviously going to get knocked back isn’t exactly getting them anywhere either. If the SFA and the clubs got a proper planned out suggestion in place that covered the levels that are allowed fans now and that was to go well then they’d be in a much better position to push for fans at level 2. As it is we’re what 2 months? since the level system was put in place and the SFA haven’t done anything to actually get a structure for better attendance in the levels where fans are allowed in.

I’m not sure I follow, so you want Aberdeen to forget about themselves, and instead work on something that would benefit other clubs? As it stands the tier 1 clubs don’t need that many more fans into the ground, most of them only get a few hundred in anyway on a regular basis. The conversation has to be around getting fans into tier 2 as that’s where majority of clubs fall. The only plan that should be needed is a full risk assessment and plan for the stadium, majority of clubs will have that in place already and be presenting that to the SPFL/SFA and in turn taking that to the government.

We seem to be very good at blaming the clubs, who have, in the main, followed protocols and rules constantly, yet it’s the government who won’t enter dialogue.

11-12-2020, 08:10 AM
I’m not sure I follow, so you want Aberdeen to forget about themselves, and instead work on something that would benefit other clubs? As it stands the tier 1 clubs don’t need that many more fans into the ground, most of them only get a few hundred in anyway on a regular basis. The conversation has to be around getting fans into tier 2 as that’s where majority of clubs fall. The only plan that should be needed is a full risk assessment and plan for the stadium, majority of clubs will have that in place already and be presenting that to the SPFL/SFA and in turn taking that to the government.

We seem to be very good at blaming the clubs, who have, in the main, followed protocols and rules constantly, yet it’s the government who won’t enter dialogue.

I agree with you that we should be working towards a solution which allows more fans to attend but most clubs don't actually fall within level 2, most fall within level 3.

Of the 42 clubs in the SPFL, over 60% of them are situated within level 3 areas as of 6pm tonight.

Also out of the 6 clubs which will be in level 1 from tonight, it's split pretty evenly as to how much they will be affected by only being allowed to have 300 fans.

Ross County's average attendance was just over 4,000, Inverness had just over 2,000 and Queen of the South had about 1,400.

It's really only Elgin (636), Stranraer (359) and Annan (347) that won't really be impacted too much.

11-12-2020, 08:23 AM
I agree with you that we should be working towards a solution which allows more fans to attend but most clubs don't actually fall within level 2, most fall within level 3.

Of the 42 clubs in the SPFL, over 60% of them are situated within level 3 areas as of 6pm tonight.

Also out of the 6 clubs which will be in level 1 from tonight, it's split pretty evenly as to how much they will be affected by only being allowed to have 300 fans.

Ross County's average attendance was just over 4,000, Inverness had just over 2,000 and Queen of the South had about 1,400.

It's really only Elgin (636), Stranraer (359) and Annan (347) that won't really be impacted too much.

👍

People are forgetting that the guidelines for each level were published at the end of October to come into effect on 2nd November. In the guidelines (Strategic Framework) for stadia and events it is only in level 0 and 1 that any spectators are allowed in restricted numbers. To think that Aberdeen, in level 2, should have spectators in before they come down to level 1 is just pie in the sky.

Instead of trying to loosen the restrictions they should be encouraging everyone to help bring the city down to level 1.

11-12-2020, 09:24 AM

Its about cash flow. If you run out of readies letting people in you go bust so no product to sell next year.

The SPFL clubs are getting access to the business loans side of the cash injection for spectator sport, not the grants. Y

Teetering on the brink with no fans may ve preferable tgan pushed over the cliff edge with them.

11-12-2020, 09:32 AM

It’s far more likely, and relevant in line with the restrictions to have it in tier 2 though. Your point about the 60% is fair, however if we then expect those clubs to have to get up to tier 1 it’s going to be a very long time until that happens. Big cities are highly unlikely to be moved down the tiers anytime soon.

11-12-2020, 09:34 AM

Just supposing we did it would probably require lots of stewards. Fag packet alert...

200 Stewards
£10 per hour (based on ***** pay rates)
5 hours attandance
G4S Gross margin 40%
VAT 20%

In effect close to £17k per game without a penny of extra revenue. Not sustainable when your revenues are already 50% down unless you take up the government loan repayable over 10 years.

11-12-2020, 09:47 AM
Just supposing we did it would probably require lots of stewards. Fag packet alert...

200 Stewards
5 hours attandance
G4S Gross margin 40%
VAT 20%

In effect close to £17k per game without a penny of extra revenue. Not sustainable when your revenues are already 50% down unless you take up the government loan repayable over 10 years.

And that’s without factoring in the cost of a deep clean of the stadium .

11-12-2020, 09:50 AM
It’s far more likely, and relevant in line with the restrictions to have it in tier 2 though. Your point about the 60% is fair, however if we then expect those clubs to have to get up to tier 1 it’s going to be a very long time until that happens. Big cities are highly unlikely to be moved down the tiers anytime soon.

I take it you missed this explanation why level 2 is excluded.

👍

People are forgetting that the guidelines for each level were published at the end of October to come into effect on 2nd November. In the guidelines (Strategic Framework) for stadia and events it is only in level 0 and 1 that any spectators are allowed in restricted numbers. To think that Aberdeen, in level 2, should have spectators in before they come down to level 1 is just pie in the sky.

Instead of trying to loosen the restrictions they should be encouraging everyone to help bring the city down to level 1.

11-12-2020, 10:05 AM

200 Stewards
5 hours attandance
G4S Gross margin 40%
VAT 20%

I don't think they'd need anywhere near that amount of stewards for a limited capacity and home fans only game. However factoring in other overheads then it'll absolutely cost the club money, I agree.

I know football is a bit of a special case when it comes to customer relations but I'm not convinced that should allow any club to just not provide the product that has already been paid for. They'd be taking what was already a generous gesture from fans to pay a lot of money for something they knew they'd get limited use of and would be taking the mick with it at that stage.

It's worth noting that this isn't a criticism of Hibs as it's a hypothetical situation and I don't believe they'd make that decision in the circumstances.

11-12-2020, 11:08 AM
I take it you missed this explanation why level 2 is excluded.

You are quoting government frameworks which I disagree with, not sure that’s an explanation as to why sports is in tier 1 while far more riskier industries are in tier 2. I’m sure you will also understand why big cities will find it far more difficult to get to tier 1, not just because of numbers but also because of the governments reluctance to drop them down as seen with Edinburgh.

11-12-2020, 11:14 AM
I don't think they'd need anywhere near that amount of stewards for a limited capacity and home fans only game. However factoring in other overheads then it'll absolutely cost the club money, I agree.

I know football is a bit of a special case when it comes to customer relations but I'm not convinced that should allow any club to just not provide the product that has already been paid for. They'd be taking what was already a generous gesture from fans to pay a lot of money for something they knew they'd get limited use of and would be taking the mick with it at that stage.

It's worth noting that this isn't a criticism of Hibs as it's a hypothetical situation and I don't believe they'd make that decision in the circumstances.

Number of stewards will be dictated not by the numbers attending but favt full stadium open

c50 turnstile queues to manage implys one steward per queues
C20 Exit gates, one per stairway c50 45 section with one each enforcing distancing is 165 without taking into account inside and round the ground

11-12-2020, 11:45 AM
Is everyone turning up at the same time and standing in the same queue to go in the same turnstile?

Good question

11-12-2020, 11:47 AM
We have the east stand, the famous five stand, and the west stand upper. Why would everyone be in one queue, even if it was one stand then we still have multiple turnstiles. Nobody would be spending 15 minutes within 2m, or even 1m of anyone else. Queues from Easter Road to Portobello to get into the football [emoji23]

Did you stand in one of the queues to get into shops. A small percentage of the numbers we are talking about led to queues around large car parks.

11-12-2020, 11:50 AM
Good question

You'd have to have staggered entry times, say 3 15 minute slots in the build up to kick off. People who miss their entry slot would have to wait until after kick off to get in IMO.

11-12-2020, 11:59 AM
You are quoting government frameworks which I disagree with, not sure that’s an explanation as to why sports is in tier 1 while far more riskier industries are in tier 2. I’m sure you will also understand why big cities will find it far more difficult to get to tier 1, not just because of numbers but also because of the governments reluctance to drop them down as seen with Edinburgh.

Just because you disagree with the framework doesn't mean that you are right though.

Aberdeen is in level 2, heading towards level 3, and still they think that they have some entitlement to get spectators back. The framework is there for a reason, and certain things are not going to happen until areas lower the amount of virus, football with spectators is one of them, whether you agree or not.

At the beginning of July it's a fact that football with spectators would probably have been possible but with the easing of lockdown the virus got out of control and that was down to people not following the rules. So blame them and not the lawmakers.

11-12-2020, 12:35 PM
Number of stewards will be dictated not by the numbers attending but favt full stadium open

c50 turnstile queues to manage implys one steward per queues
C20 Exit gates, one per stairway c50 45 section with one each enforcing distancing is 165 without taking into account inside and round the ground

I knew I should have just left out the bit about stewards - it wasn't really the point I wanted to make. :greengrin

Would we be using every stand and going back to manned turnstiles? I could see the logic in both but not sure that's what has been happening elsewhere when fans have been let back in. When I was a steward there were more of us at the games where they were expecting a bigger and more boisterous away support.

Regardless, it's a cost I'd expect Hibs to pay to let fans back when they can.

11-12-2020, 01:09 PM
I knew I should have just left out the bit about stewards - it wasn't really the point I wanted to make. :greengrin

Would we be using every stand and going back to manned turnstiles? I could see the logic in both but not sure that's what has been happening elsewhere when fans have been let back in. When I was a steward there were more of us at the games where they were expecting a bigger and more boisterous away support.

Regardless, it's a cost I'd expect Hibs to pay to let fans back when they can.

When the time comes maybe hibs could 'employ' season ticket holders as stewards. 300 fans and 9,700 stewards 😉

11-12-2020, 01:17 PM
When the time comes maybe hibs could 'employ' season ticket holders as stewards. 300 fans and 9,700 stewards 😉

I used to never take league game shifts at Easter road cause I had a season ticket but I got to enjoy the odd cup game or friendly and be paid for the privilege. :greengrin

If Hibs want to be the safest team in the league and have 1000 stewards for every punter then that's up to them. :wink:

11-12-2020, 01:21 PM

That's a fantastic idea, maybe we can float this one past Leeann Dempster as one of her final duties as CEO. :greengrin

11-12-2020, 01:25 PM
Just because you disagree with the framework doesn't mean that you are right though.

Aberdeen is in level 2, heading towards level 3, and still they think that they have some entitlement to get spectators back. The framework is there for a reason, and certain things are not going to happen until areas lower the amount of virus, football with spectators is one of them, whether you agree or not.

At the beginning of July it's a fact that football with spectators would probably have been possible but with the easing of lockdown the virus got out of control and that was down to people not following the rules. So blame them and not the lawmakers.

That bit in bold is why we are still where we are today. I have witnessed it every day since the virus was identified and I can't believe I'm the only one constantly seeing a-holes giving it large while being responsible for the ongoing suffering of others. It would have been nice if the crisis had bought everyone together but the selfish and the ignorant are always with us.

11-12-2020, 01:26 PM
That's a fantastic idea, maybe we can float this one past Leeann Dempster as one of her final duties as CEO. :greengrin

Where is Keiran when we need him? :wink:

11-12-2020, 01:30 PM
That bit in bold is why we are still where we are today. I have witnessed it every day since the virus was identified and I can't believe I'm the only one constantly seeing a-holes giving it large while being responsible for the ongoing suffering of others. It would have been nice if the crisis had bought everyone together but the selfish and the ignorant are always with us.

Thanks. Totally agree.

As an example, the house next to me is owned by a couple from Shropshire, which is in tier 2 in the English system, They arrived here last night, travelling 340 miles into a Scottish level 3 area. I'm livid as I can't go away to the Lake District over New Year, just the 2 of us.

11-12-2020, 01:33 PM
in order to maximise cash for the club i propose only walk-ups get in initially :agree:

:)

11-12-2020, 02:32 PM

Two things, of course I don’t agree with them, that’s my whole argument. Simply saying ‘read my previous post’ which backs up what I’m arguing against doesn’t settle anything.

Secondly, it wasn’t the people; the second lockdown was due to holidays primarily. Holidays people were legally allowed to go on. Blame the lawmakers for this mess, your playing right into their hands.

11-12-2020, 02:34 PM
Did you stand in one of the queues to get into shops. A small percentage of the numbers we are talking about led to queues around large car parks.

You do realise only a set amount were allowed in the shop at one time, once it was full, it was one in one out. That’s not the case with football. Those turning up are all getting in at the same time, you don’t have to wait until someone leaves. There are also about 30 additional entry points at the football. It’s probably the worst comparison I’ve seen yet.

11-12-2020, 02:44 PM
Two things, of course I don’t agree with them, that’s my whole argument. Simply saying ‘read my previous post’ which backs up what I’m arguing against doesn’t settle anything.

Secondly, it wasn’t the people; the second lockdown was due to holidays primarily. Holidays people were legally allowed to go on. Blame the lawmakers for this mess, your playing right into their hands.

Presumably the people who went on holiday didn't listen to the advice about essential travel only. People have to take responsibility for their own actions.

11-12-2020, 02:51 PM

Thats one hell of a ppe order for yellow jackets🤣🤣🤣

11-12-2020, 02:57 PM

Given the report on Wednesday pointing the finger at the genomes responsible for the resurgence they were in fact introduced in many cases by individuals who must have flaunted the rules on self isolation not to mention the selfish bovine creature from Ayrshire who caught Covid in Zante, didn't self isolate on return and became a suoef spreader like the French off shore worker who kicked off the Aberdeen outbreak.

11-12-2020, 03:19 PM
Given the report on Wednesday pointing the finger at the genomes responsible for the resurgence they were in fact introduced in many cases by individuals who must have flaunted the rules on self isolation not to mention the selfish bovine creature from Ayrshire who caught Covid in Zante, didn't self isolate on return and became a suoef spreader like the French off shore worker who kicked off the Aberdeen outbreak.

While not condoning everyone that possibly ignored self isolation rules, even the government acknowledged that they failed those that were returning by not providing financial support for it (hence the £500 payment that was later introduced). Did everyone follow rules? Absolutely not, most tried their best, a minority disregarded them completely. To blame the resurgence of the virus on the people is what the government want though, which masks the huge mistakes that they have made, and are continuing to make.

A bit like saying football deserves to stay in tier 1 and above only as the government said so, completely ignoring any arguments the other way.

davhibby
11-12-2020, 03:43 PM

Well Aberdeen going themselves has worked well for them so far hasn’t it? The government aren’t going to apply the rules to individual clubs or that would just get stupid.

My overall point here is that if a proper plan was brought to the government to get proper numbers in at the levels they are currently allowing fans in at, then the SFA and the clubs can put something together for level 2 and try and get that approved. What’s happening at the moment isn’t and won’t work no matter whether you think teams should be allowed fans at level 2 or not

11-12-2020, 04:02 PM
Well Aberdeen going themselves has worked well for them so far hasn’t it? The government aren’t going to apply the rules to individual clubs or that would just get stupid.

My overall point here is that if a proper plan was brought to the government to get proper numbers in at the levels they are currently allowing fans in at, then the SFA and the clubs can put something together for level 2 and try and get that approved. What’s happening at the moment isn’t and won’t work no matter whether you think teams should be allowed fans at level 2 or not

How do you know what plans the JRG, the SPFL and the SFA have tried to put to the government? There’s no chance that Doncaster would’ve went public had he not put a plan to them, or if they had entered proper communications. Also, why are the government so reluctant to enter dialogue with these authorities? What plan do you honestly want? The clubs have the proof that the test events worked, they have proof that they have their procedures in place, they’re not asking for full houses, they are asking to be treated fairly and equally with the rest of society. As it stands, looking at the tier system, it’s completely unfair, and it’s economic suicide from the government who are essentially pissing tens of millions against a wall, instead of gradually allowing fans into grounds.

11-12-2020, 04:09 PM
How do you know what plans the JRG, the SPFL and the SFA have tried to put to the government? There’s no chance that Doncaster would’ve went public had he not put a plan to them, or if they had entered proper communications. Also, why are the government so reluctant to enter dialogue with these authorities? What plan do you honestly want? The clubs have the proof that the test events worked, they have proof that they have their procedures in place, they’re not asking for full houses, they are asking to be treated fairly and equally with the rest of society. As it stands, looking at the tier system, it’s completely unfair, and it’s economic suicide from the government who are essentially pissing tens of millions against a wall, instead of gradually allowing fans into grounds.

There's no use both you and Cormack moaning, it won't alter the government approach to saving lives. Wait for May when you can vote for the other parties at the election.

11-12-2020, 04:27 PM
Presumably the people who went on holiday didn't listen to the advice about essential travel only. People have to take responsibility for their own actions.

Exactly!

AugustaHibs
11-12-2020, 04:47 PM

Nice to get some time in the sun though eh.

I’ll blame the government for their total incompetence before I start blaming folk going on holiday 🤣

11-12-2020, 04:49 PM
Nice to get some time in the sun though eh.

I’ll blame the government for their total incompetence before I start blaming folk going on holiday 🤣

It's people who came back from holiday that has spread the virus, not the government.

11-12-2020, 06:01 PM
There's no use both you and Cormack moaning, it won't alter the government approach to saving lives. Wait for May when you can vote for the other parties at the election.

And a grand job they’re doing of that.

davhibby
11-12-2020, 06:18 PM

I’m going on the fact that we barely hear anything from the people in charge except from the occasional moan in the press, if Aberdeen are able to put the plans they’ve put to the government for themselves out then I’d be expect the SFA would be doing the same if they were being ignored.

There’s absolutely nothing to suggest that Doncaster or the clubs have come up with anything, if anything the fact that Aberdeen have spent the last 4 months putting forward their own proposals tells its own story about what’s being done by those involved with the JRG

11-12-2020, 07:10 PM
You do realise only a set amount were allowed in the shop at one time, once it was full, it was one in one out. That’s not the case with football. Those turning up are all getting in at the same time, you don’t have to wait until someone leaves. There are also about 30 additional entry points at the football. It’s probably the worst comparison I’ve seen yet.

The point that was being answered is that the length of the queues were unrealistic. The point being made was that relatively small numbers lead to big queues.

I would be surprised if the club doesn’t have planning in place for crowds, starting with the 300 from the test events and current events guidelines for levels 0 and 1. They have probably worked up plans for a couple of thousand. One way to put the argument back to the government would be for clubs to publish the plans to fans and demonstrate how the events would be safe in the current climate. Fans would do the rest.

11-12-2020, 07:24 PM
The point that was being answered is that the length of the queues were unrealistic. The point being made was that relatively small numbers lead to big queues.

I would be surprised if the club doesn’t have planning in place for crowds, starting with the 300 from the test events and current events guidelines for levels 0 and 1. They have probably worked up plans for a couple of thousand. One way to put the argument back to the government would be for clubs to publish the plans to fans and demonstrate how the events would be safe in the current climate. Fans would do the rest.

There wouldn’t be mile long queues though. I mean I’ve no idea how it doesn’t take EPL sides 2 weeks to get 2000 fans in when it would be about 5 miles long. Did those clubs down there have to publicise their safety procedures to get fans in at those levels, or did they have a competent Sports secretary who was prepared to look after those he is in charge to support? Making public appearances, sharing his plans etc. If you think this fiasco is down to the clubs and not the invisible man and utter muppet Joe Fitzpatrick then fair play.

12-12-2020, 11:04 AM
There wouldn’t be mile long queues though. I mean I’ve no idea how it doesn’t take EPL sides 2 weeks to get 2000 fans in when it would be about 5 miles long. Did those clubs down there have to publicise their safety procedures to get fans in at those levels, or did they have a competent Sports secretary who was prepared to look after those he is in charge to support? Making public appearances, sharing his plans etc. If you think this fiasco is down to the clubs and not the invisible man and utter muppet Joe Fitzpatrick then fair play.

If you really think that protecting the population from catching the virus is a fiasco then you are beyond help.

The dalmeny
12-12-2020, 11:30 AM
Mail reported today SRU have had to push back plans for 5k at the Edinburgh Glasgow game on 2/1 targeting to get spectators in for matches 2 weeks later

12-12-2020, 11:47 AM
Mail reported today SRU have had to push back plans for 5k at the Edinburgh Glasgow game on 2/1 targeting to get spectators in for matches 2 weeks later

Because Edinburgh and Glasgow are both above the threshold for allowing any fans into stadia.

12-12-2020, 11:46 PM

People dying and becoming very unwell is the reason we are not in stadiums.

At the end of this there will be some uncomfortable home truths. The government will have to face up to the PPE fiasco and an unacceptable number of deaths, in our care homes in particular. Not letting thousands of fans into sports grounds will barely get a mention.

The public will have to face up to the fact that we almost eradicated the virus over the summer and then reimported it with our need for foreign holidays.

Heading into winter the virus is spreading and not doing what it did over the summer and going away. To get around mass disobedience the governments have allowed people to meet at Christmas in spite of the science, just look at Prof Baulds comments this weekend. Maybe we need to look at ourselves and wonder if the reason that the virus levels won’t go down to the point we have fans in the ground is because we have kept just too much of society open.

Re getting into grounds the link and article below are re Everton. Time slots, queues, ID, ballots, ground rules and COVID tests. The game plan idea is good and maybe there is the opportunity for the club to link in with fans on message boards/ podcasts/ Supporters Clubs/ email/ letter for those who don’t use those above, to give the reassurance that there is a plan and take the ambiguity away.

https://www.evertonfc.com/news/1932364/blog-why-its-so-important-for-evertonians-to-have-a-game-plan

Thu 10 Dec 2020
BLOG: WHY IT'S SO IMPORTANT FOR EVERTONIANS TO HAVE 'A GAME PLAN'
By Jazz Bal

Expand
Saturday’s visit of Chelsea marks the first occasion Evertonians have been allowed back to watch a match at Goodison Park since March.

Ahead of what feels like a first, crucial step in the hopeful return of footballing normality, a group of Fans’ Forum members (Nick, Steve, Dawn and myself) were invited to attend a stewards briefing at Goodison to understand more about what fans can expect this weekend and in the coming weeks.

Have a ‘Game Plan’

What was evident from the visit and briefing was just how much work the Club has undertaken to make Goodison Park COVID-safe and ready for the return of fans. Everton’s Head of Security, Dave Lewis, explained to us the part that we need to play as fans; not just on a matchday but also in the build-up, too.

The Club has launched a campaign called ‘The Game Plan’, which will provide us with up-to-date public health guidance we will all need to follow to ensure matchdays run smoothly. It’s clear that the Club are asking fans to have a plan for how we attend matches. This starts in the build-up to matchday, by taking a COVID test and submitting a health questionnaire.

Testing is only required for fans attending the match if they are over 12 years of age and more asymptomatic testing sites are becoming available across the City Region; but please make sure you leave yourself plenty of time to get tested. The advice is do it the day before but, as our first match is on a Saturday evening, you may be able to take advantage of this and get tested on Saturday morning. Everton were very insistent that if you can’t produce confirmation of a negative test, you are not getting in. For those in the stadium on Saturday, you will hopefully feel reassured that fellow Blues around you have also tested negative.

The preparation for a game extends beyond just getting a test. If you’re picked out in the ballot you will receive a Supporters’ Code of Conduct and a health questionnaire. Before coming to the game you need to have submitted acceptance of the Supporters’ Code of Conduct and completed your questionnaire online. If you haven’t done either of those things, again, you won’t be getting into Goodison Park and could then be holding up other Blues, so it’s worth spending a few minutes getting them done before the deadline, which is midday on Friday (11 December).

Getting to Goodison

There is no real advice for how to get to Goodison apart from to do it safely and always maintain your social distance. Public transport is available but please follow all the safety guidelines given by the transport operator. If you are driving to the game, it is advised that you maintain your own social bubble. We were told by the Club that there will be a number of the usual car parks open for fans to use. Disabled supporters attending on Saturday and requiring a car parking space need to get in touch with the Club’s Disability Liaison Officer at their earliest possible convenience.

1/10 · GALLERY PreviousNext
Do Your Homework
THE GAME PLAN - HOW TO STAY SAFE AT GOODISON PARK

Arriving at the stadium

It will look and feel like a very different matchday. There won’t be the usual sea of fans on Goodison Road 20-30 minutes before kick-off. Supporters attending the fixtures will be allocated an arrival time which will be staggered in 15-minute intervals. Supporters chosen in the ballot will also receive a stadium map showing which turnstiles they will need to use to access their seats.

From the stewards briefing, it was obvious that there are going to be a lot of checks taking place. It is hoped supporters stick to the arrival times given to them and this will hopefully reduce any large queues. The Club will have a number of staff and stewards on-hand to make sure the security checks are done as efficiently and as quickly as possible. Dave Lewis and his team have reminded us to inform fans they need to bring with them their valid match ticket, photo ID, proof of your negative coronavirus test – this will be on your phone in a text or an email – and a facemask, which must be worn at all times.

In the stadium

Once in the stadium, the Club has devised a one-way system that we will all need to adhere to. Fans are being advised to take up their seat and not to stand or gather in the concourses for safety reasons. If you do need to leave your seat, please follow the advice of the stewards and signs telling you the entry and exit routes for your stand. The advice in the Supporters’ Code of Conduct suggests that when moving past other fans you should avoid face-to-face contact and sanitise your hands after touching your face, as well as handles, railings and other surfaces. The Club are also suggesting you can bring your own hand sanitiser but this has to be in bottles no more than 50ml in volume.

There is nothing to stop us being vocal in our support, and I would like to think that this will boost our players. However, the Club and public health authorities are urging we do this while wearing our facemasks; not taking them off, or moving them down.

As a Forum, we have received some enquiries from fans as to why the Club has chosen the Gwladys Street and Top Balcony. We raised this with the Club, who explained that due to Premier League protocol these are currently the only stands they can use. Concourses on the Bullens make it difficult to maintain social distance, the Park End can’t be used due to the away team changing room behind the stand, the Family Enclosure is being used by players from both sides, while members of the media and Directors from both sides are in the Main Stand. We have been assured that the best possible seats from both the Gwladys Street and Top Balcony will be in use, while also ensuring social distancing measures are in place. This means that there will be at least two seats between yourself and the person next to you, as well as the rows in front and behind being empty, too.

A fair ballot

Having spoken to the Club about the ballot process, it is clear that it is one of, if not the, fairest and inclusive processes in the Premier League. For example, for this Chelsea game, 93% of the 2,000 capacity tickets will be going to Season Ticket Members.

There had been concern from some fans that supporters who managed to get a Chelsea ticket may also have a chance of getting an Arsenal or Manchester City ticket in the next ballot. I used this opportunity to pass some of those concerns on and was categorically told this would not be the case. The lucky fans that attend Goodison Park on Saturday to watch us play won’t have the opportunity to return until at least every eligible Season Ticket Member has been to watch a game.

The Club has also engaged with disabled supporters, who are also part of the ballot, with ambulant seats and wheelchair positions in the Gwladys Street being used, as well as wheelchair bays in the Main Stand North platform.

Stay safe

I’d like to thank Dave Lewis, Rachel Meikle and their colleagues at the Club for taking the time to include us in their briefing in what is a busy and unprecedented period.

Although I have not been drawn to attend the game on Saturday, I really look forward to hearing the noise that 2,000 Blues will make as opposed to silence or the piped in atmosphere. Please stay safe and follow the advice that has been provided. Doing so will allow you to make loads of noise, get behind the lads - and let’s hopefully cheer them on to the three points.

Hopefully, if we can show that this can be done safely, it may lead to more fans being able to attend, from Liveprool City Region and beyond, while also increasing the numbers for each match, too.

UTT!

Jazz Bal
Everton Fans’ Forum

12-12-2020, 11:50 PM
We aren’t going back any time soon. Numbers are creeping back up.

18Craig75
13-12-2020, 06:40 AM
Cormack needs to pipe down. Acting like a spoilt bairn. Was glad to hear SC & TC hit back on Off The Ball yesterday.

Given the track record of the UK gov throughout the pandemic we shouldn’t be basing our response on theirs. The 2/4K fans thing was clearly a populist decision, not based on public health.

Look across Europe, we’re not outliers. The media in this country (& opposition parties) manufactured a “Christmas is cancelled” story which has forced the 5 day free for all. Opinion polls were showing the public were well prepared for a quiet Christmas. If it wasn’t for those 5 days we’d potentially have more areas in tier 2 by now.

As a result things aren’t going to be loosened any time soon, quite the opposite.

Hopefully we’ll be back in towards the end of the season in ‘normal’ conditions to see our charge to the Champions League!

The dalmeny
13-12-2020, 07:08 AM
We aren’t going back any time soon. Numbers are creeping back up.

haven’t you posted negatively throughout?

13-12-2020, 07:16 AM
If you really think that protecting the population from catching the virus is a fiasco then you are beyond help.

Death rate in UK worse than US, cases are half that in US per million with slightly more testing. If you catch Covid 19 in UK you are twice as likely to die compared to US. As lockdown restrictions are loosened the numbers creep up again. Means chances just now of attending a game are remote.

13-12-2020, 07:24 AM
While not condoning everyone that possibly ignored self isolation rules, even the government acknowledged that they failed those that were returning by not providing financial support for it (hence the £500 payment that was later introduced). Did everyone follow rules? Absolutely not, most tried their best, a minority disregarded them completely. To blame the resurgence of the virus on the people is what the government want though, which masks the huge mistakes that they have made, and are continuing to make.

A bit like saying football deserves to stay in tier 1 and above only as the government said so, completely ignoring any arguments the other way.

How did the government fail those returning ( from holidays I presume) by not providing financial support for it? :confused:

Personally, I’m happy to wait until things are safer before going to a football match. The minority rule breakers you refer to will no doubt ensure a Christmas that leads to further spread so that won’t be anytime soon. Shame, but people being selfish ********s have consequences for us all.

13-12-2020, 07:26 AM
haven’t you posted negatively throughout?

No, realistically. I’ve posted realistically throughout.

13-12-2020, 09:40 AM
Death rate in UK worse than US, cases are half that in US per million with slightly more testing. If you catch Covid 19 in UK you are twice as likely to die compared to US. As lockdown restrictions are loosened the numbers creep up again. Means chances just now of attending a game are remote.

Totally agree. Yet still seems that some think the government are being obstructive and not being reasonable. Public health comes before people sitting in a sports stadium.

13-12-2020, 01:14 PM
Totally agree. Yet still seems that some think the government are being obstructive and not being reasonable. Public health comes before people sitting in a sports stadium.

They aren’t being reasonable when you see far higher risk industries allowing customers back into their premises. What makes football stadiums so dangerous that they can’t allow minimal fans back in? Even when the experts are advising it is as safe an environment as there is. Outdoors, distanced, masked etc. Very easy to dismiss without actually giving reasons why and saying ‘public health comes before anything’ is all well and good until you realise those higher risk industries are open for business.

13-12-2020, 01:24 PM
They aren’t being reasonable when you see far higher risk industries allowing customers back into their premises. What makes football stadiums so dangerous that they can’t allow minimal fans back in? Even when the experts are advising it is as safe an environment as there is. Outdoors, distanced, masked etc. Very easy to dismiss without actually giving reasons why and saying ‘public health comes before anything’ is all well and good until you realise those higher risk industries are open for business.

I thought you might like to read some up to date news about the virus, to give you some perspective on how nasty it is.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-55288374

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-55292614

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-55288347

https://public.tableau.com/profile/phs.covid.19#!/vizhome/COVID-19DailyDashboard_15960160643010/Overview

Not until numbers are back to early July levels will crowds be anywhere near a stadium in any meaningful way.

The map in the last link needs to be blue all over for that to happen.

May21/05/216
13-12-2020, 02:05 PM
Someone needs to explain how all London clubs are allowing some fans in when they're infection rates are a lot worse than Edinburgh I'm beginning to think when we have vaccinated the population they will still it's not safe to let fans into stadiums and I speak as a independence supporter

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

May21/05/216
13-12-2020, 02:06 PM
I thought you might like to read some up to date news about the virus, to give you some perspective on how nasty it is.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-55288374

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-55292614

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-55288347

https://public.tableau.com/profile/phs.covid.19#!/vizhome/COVID-19DailyDashboard_15960160643010/Overview

Not until numbers are back to early July levels will crowds be anywhere near a stadium in any meaningful way.

The map in the last link needs to be blue all over for that to happen.

Someone needs to explain how all London clubs are allowing some fans in when they're infection rates are a lot worse than Edinburgh I'm beginning to think when we have vaccinated the population they will still say it's not safe to let fans into stadiums and I speak as a independence supporter

13-12-2020, 02:16 PM
Someone needs to explain how all London clubs are allowing some fans in when they're infection rates are a lot worse than Edinburgh I'm beginning to think when we have vaccinated the population they will still it's not safe to let fans into stadiums and I speak as a independence supporter

No explanation necessary, other than The government in Westminster is more gungho than the Government in Holyrood, who take a much more cautious approach.

Hibbysam has not said anything other than what about other industries. Whatabouterie will not win any arguments. limiting the spread of the virus in all sectors of society is the only way forward, unfortunately I spoke to a guy who had travelled from a level 3 area, against the law, to a level 2 area and back so he could go to a car boot sale FFS. There is the problem in a nutshell.

13-12-2020, 03:04 PM
No explanation necessary, other than The government in Westminster is more gungho than the Government in Holyrood, who take a much more cautious approach.

Hibbysam has not said anything other than what about other industries. Whatabouterie will not win any arguments. limiting the spread of the virus in all sectors of society is the only way forward, unfortunately I spoke to a guy who had travelled from a level 3 area, against the law, to a level 2 area and back so he could go to a car boot sale FFS. There is the problem in a nutshell.

It’s not ‘whataboutery’ or whatever. It’s showing the clear contradiction. Football stadia is safe compared to many. We seem to be good at saying ‘no chance for football stadia because of the virus’ but everywhere else is fine. The virus doesn’t target football stadia. The chances of the virus spreading in an outdoor environment is very low. It’s all very simple. The stats you are throwing out is fine if we were talking about stopping the high risk areas, now refusing entry to fairly low risk areas.

13-12-2020, 03:30 PM
It’s not ‘whataboutery’ or whatever. It’s showing the clear contradiction. Football stadia is safe compared to many. We seem to be good at saying ‘no chance for football stadia because of the virus’ but everywhere else is fine. The virus doesn’t target football stadia. The chances of the virus spreading in an outdoor environment is very low. It’s all very simple. The stats you are throwing out is fine if we were talking about stopping the high risk areas, now refusing entry to fairly low risk areas.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?345024-Coronavirus&p=6380881#post6380881

13-12-2020, 03:44 PM
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?345024-Coronavirus&p=6380881#post6380881

What’s the point you are trying to make? You sound like you are advocating a complete shutdown of society, retail, football, hospitality, the lot, just because the virus is still kicking about. If so fair enough, that’s your prerogative, I don’t tend to live in the same fear. If not then things should be opened up on a risk basis IMO, and football is far higher up that list than many other industries.

13-12-2020, 03:50 PM
What’s the point you are trying to make? You sound like you are advocating a complete shutdown of society, retail, football, hospitality, the lot, just because the virus is still kicking about. If so fair enough, that’s your prerogative, I don’t tend to live in the same fear. If not then things should be opened up on a risk basis IMO, and football is far higher up that list than many other industries.

People are dying, but let's go to a football match. 🙄

13-12-2020, 03:53 PM
People are dying, but let's go to a football match. 🙄

People are dying - let’s go to the pub, let’s go to the supermarket, let’s go to the cinema, let’s go to primark... people are dying in tier 1 areas, still able to go to the football. Going to the football isn’t going to increase your chances of death 😂

13-12-2020, 04:42 PM
People are dying - let’s go to the pub, let’s go to the supermarket, let’s go to the cinema, let’s go to primark... people are dying in tier 1 areas, still able to go to the football. Going to the football isn’t going to increase your chances of death 😂

Jesus Christ. You are like a dog with a particularly juicy bone.

Accept the fact that football is totally not essential compared to shopping and having a coffee. I can count the times I've sat down and had a coffee, on my own, on the fingers of one hand since March. I want to get back to some kind of normal as much the next person, but going to a football match is well down my priority list.

13-12-2020, 05:14 PM

Accept the fact that football is totally not essential compared to shopping and having a coffee. I can count the times I've sat down and had a coffee, on my own, on the fingers of one hand since March. I want to get back to some kind of normal as much the next person, but going to a football match is well down my priority list.

Essential food shopping is a no brainer and hasn’t changed since March even with our nutcases in authority. I’d wager though there’s more die of this seemingly essential caffeine intake and fast food fixation (before going to Primark then the pictures) than there is as a result of going to the football in the fresh air. Nonsense my friend.

13-12-2020, 05:25 PM

Having a coffee - essential? 😂 very good. Going to overcrowded shops isn’t particularly high on my list either to be fair, compared to sitting in the comfort of my own space at the football, outdoors, having some enjoyment.

13-12-2020, 06:01 PM

Simple answer BawJaws is a muppet and believes in herd immunity...

13-12-2020, 09:29 PM
Having a coffee - essential? 😂 very good. Going to overcrowded shops isn’t particularly high on my list either to be fair, compared to sitting in the comfort of my own space at the football, outdoors, having some enjoyment.

Yep more than watching a football game.

Maybe we have different priorities.

Just sitting, having a coffee with a friend, is a higher priority for me than going to a stadium and sitting with strangers.

I've not experienced overcrowded shops. Even though I have been doing a monthly shopping.

As I said, we obviously have different priorities

I'll add, you are entitled to your opinion, I get it, but as you will probably have noticed I disagree.

Football is not that important just now, lives matter more.

13-12-2020, 10:00 PM
Yep more than watching a football game.

Maybe we have different priorities.

Just sitting, having a coffee with a friend, is a higher priority for me than going to a stadium and sitting with strangers.

I've not experienced overcrowded shops. Even though I have been doing a monthly shopping.

As I said, we obviously have different priorities

I'll add, you are entitled to your opinion, I get it, but as you will probably have noticed I disagree.

Football is not that important just now, lives matter more.

You’ve never been in an overcrowded shop during this pandemic, with people squeezing past and leaning over to pick stuff up, one way systems tossed out, shop workers without masks getting in the road? Fair enough.

That’s your priority, for many many others football is far higher in their list of priorities when it comes to routines, mental health etc.

You can tell yourself football isn’t important, for you it maybe isn’t, for many football is everything. Football isn’t just a game in Scotland. Life certainly does matter, but going to the football doesn’t risk lives, it is extremely low risk in the context of things, otherwise we’d have heard all about the number or cases and deaths linked to the return of fans.

You are entitled to an opinion, but simply saying we should accept everything the government tells us without questioning it isn’t right, if people feel strongly about something then they should be able to express it freely.

I’ll keep going back to this point, Wednesday night I’ll be watching Preston in the Scottish cup, from outside the perimeter wall, but I’m not allowed inside the wall and paying money for the privilege. It makes no sense, I’m not suddenly at greater risk on the inside of the wall, if anything I’m at less risk as there is far more space to stand well away from anyone else. Common sense to me.

13-12-2020, 10:21 PM
Nothing to do with football but Nick Cave just cancelled his London gig for next June Wonder if other artists will start to follow suit April one in Glasgow also cancelled Had tickets for both
The thought of another six months plus if no football or concerts is not a great thought

JXM73
13-12-2020, 10:26 PM
Nothing to do with football but Nick Cave just cancelled his London gig for next June Wonder if other artists will start to follow suit April one in Glasgow also cancelled Had tickets for both
The thought of another six months plus if no football or concerts is not a great thought

Simple Minds - Feb
The Killers - june
The Bohemians - September

All rescheduled at least once aleady, think they are all in doubt 😭

13-12-2020, 10:29 PM
Simple Minds - Feb
The Killers - june
The Bohemians - September

All rescheduled at least once aleady, think they are all in doubt [emoji24]

Got Killers tickets as well although they were never issued as gig rescheduled So no doubt will be the same

14-12-2020, 07:37 AM

200 Stewards
5 hours attandance
G4S Gross margin 40%
VAT 20%

Instead of paying 200 stewards, how about using 200 ST holders as stewards. Wont have to pay them, just show them the ropes.

14-12-2020, 07:43 AM
Instead of paying 200 stewards, how about using 200 ST holders as stewards. Wont have to pay them, just show them the ropes.

That's already been suggested, 300 fans and 10,000 volunteer stewards 😉

14-12-2020, 07:43 AM

I will find it very hard to dumb down my knowledge of Easter Road and the ticketing and seating arrangements that much :greengrin

14-12-2020, 08:34 AM
As more local authorities areas are getting on top of the virus and are being placed in level 1 there are more Spfl clubs allowed to have spectators.

Ross County, Inverness CT, Elgin City have been joined by Annan, Queen of the South and Stranraer.

It shows that people following the rules will eventually lead to more football clubs being allowed to have spectators.

14-12-2020, 08:41 AM
As more local authorities areas are getting on top of the virus and are being placed in level 1 there are more Spfl clubs allowed to have spectators.

Ross County, Inverness CT, Elgin City have been joined by Annan, Queen of the South and Stranraer.

It shows that people following the rules will eventually lead to more football clubs being allowed to have spectators.

Not rocket science is it?

14-12-2020, 08:44 AM

What it really shows is that far more remote areas are far more likely to be in far lower tiers. The people of Edinburgh followed the rules and met the criteria and got refused entry to tier 2. That shows how difficult it is to get into higher tiers when in reality it comes down to political point scoring.

14-12-2020, 08:47 AM
What it really shows is that far more remote areas are far more likely to be in far lower tiers. The people of Edinburgh followed the rules and met the criteria and got refused entry to tier 2. That shows how difficult it is to get into higher tiers when in reality it comes down to political point scoring.

And now Edinburgh's numbers have skyrocketed again so it was the right decision.

14-12-2020, 08:51 AM
And now Edinburgh's numbers have skyrocketed again so it was the right decision.
They’ve hardly skyrocketed, they’re still comfortably within the level 2 criteria.

14-12-2020, 09:03 AM

They’ve not ‘skyrocketed’ they’ve increased slightly but still well within all thresholds for tier 2.

14-12-2020, 08:54 PM

Point scoring eh? Wonder when Lennon will twig to it.

In the meantime no fans at the footie in Englandshire South fro. tomorrow for all those that like the whitabootery line of debate.

14-12-2020, 09:03 PM

I'm not sure what you mean by "political point scoring". Gonny splain?

14-12-2020, 09:25 PM

Skyrocketed........

Edinburgh 100.4 per 100k

Perth and Kinross :greengrin:greengrin 98.1 per 100k

14-12-2020, 09:51 PM
I'm not sure what you mean by "political point scoring". Gonny splain?

Well it wasn’t a decision led by public health experts, so it was a political decision made by a political leader based on reasons only she knows.

14-12-2020, 09:52 PM
Point scoring eh? Wonder when Lennon will twig to it.

In the meantime no fans at the footie in Englandshire South fro. tomorrow for all those that like the whitabootery line of debate.

They’re going into tier 3. Im not expecting football fans in stadia in tier 3 up here.

wearehibernian
14-12-2020, 10:45 PM
I reckon that there should be an allowance of say 10 uber fans. Armed with a top notch sound system and every individual with access to a microphone, socially distanced. Sound crazy? Well we live in crazy times and at least it would generate some kind of atmosphere. As long as you can sing in tune likes... :wink:

15-12-2020, 08:07 AM

Only 300 fans which is pointless for everyone outside the lower leagues.

15-12-2020, 08:55 AM
It could be a long term solution at least in part, but at least some of the stewards need some professional training. I think you need some with first aid knowledge, and they get trained in how to do body searches without ending up on an offenders' register.

18-12-2020, 05:19 PM
Breakdown of £55m government support
- Premiership clubs - each club to receive £2m in loans
- Championships clubs to receive £500k each in grants
- League 1 clubs to receive £150K each in grants
- League 2 club to receive 100K
-Lowland/Highland clubs to receive £13k each

Not sure when this is getting payed out?
No idea how and when the loans are to be repaid and how much interest will be incurred?

18-12-2020, 05:55 PM
Breakdown of £55m government support
- Premiership clubs - each club to receive £2m in loans
- Championships clubs to receive £500k each in grants
- League 1 clubs to receive £150K each in grants
- League 2 club to receive 100K
-Lowland/Highland clubs to receive £13k each

Not sure when this is getting payed out?
No idea how and when the loans are to be repaid and how much interest will be incurred?

Hope they pay it soon
The payment to Hearts will only contribute to around 3/4 of Naismith and Berra’s wages

18-12-2020, 05:57 PM
Royal Ascot are considering only letting in spectators in June 2021 who can confirm they have had the vaccination.
Given the forecasts of as low as a 60% take up of the vaccination, this sounds to me like a welcome move. But how do you prove you have had the vaccine? Will we all be given some sort of confirmation card? Is this the way forward not just for spectator events but also for pubs, restaurants, cinemas, theatres, shops, planes etc.? Maybe a unique swipe card even, with a card reader for authorised access? If no vaccination then you as an individual effectively stay in semi-lockdown.
I know there will be some folk who legitimately can't have the vaccine rather than just choosing not to have it, but that may be the price we have to pay as a society to get the majority back to some sort of normality. Shades of big brother it might be but why should I have to endure ongoing restrictions after having the vaccine just because 40% of the population chooses not to?

18-12-2020, 05:59 PM
Hope they pay it soon
The payment to Hearts will only contribute to around 3/4 of Naismith and Berra’s wages

They’ll need to apply first I would have thought.

18-12-2020, 06:12 PM
They’ll need to apply first I would have thought.

Raman’s statement doesn’t say what stings are attached

18-12-2020, 06:14 PM
Royal Ascot are considering only letting in spectators in June 2021 who can confirm they have had the vaccination.
Given the forecasts of as low as a 60% take up of the vaccination, this sounds to me like a welcome move. But how do you prove you have had the vaccine? Will we all be given some sort of confirmation card? Is this the way forward not just for spectator events but also for pubs, restaurants, cinemas, theatres, shops, planes etc.? Maybe a unique swipe card even, with a card reader for authorised access? If no vaccination then you as an individual effectively stay in semi-lockdown.
I know there will be some folk who legitimately can't have the vaccine rather than just choosing not to have it, but that may be the price we have to pay as a society to get the majority back to some sort of normality. Shades of big brother it might be but why should I have to endure ongoing restrictions after having the vaccine just because 40% of the population chooses not to?
You would think that an organisation like the NHS could provide that information linked to a persons name and date of birth. If it becomes a right of venues and organisations to only permit people who have had the vaccine then something should be put in place imo

18-12-2020, 06:19 PM

I’ll be getting it when it comes, however can someone explain (to someone fairly simple by medical terms) if I get the vaccine then I’ll be as protected against the vaccine as I can be. If someone refuses to get vaccinated then isn’t it only them that are at risk? I know those with the vaccine can still carry it (I think) but then the only people affected by that are those without a vaccine? I’m sure someone will be able to provide the medical reason, just doesn’t make an awful lot of sense to me.

1875godsgift
18-12-2020, 06:29 PM

The problem with that I suppose is it could be seen as a form of National Identity card by the back door?

18-12-2020, 06:49 PM
Raman’s statement doesn’t say what stings are attached

How or what would he know about how Government money gets distributed. Applying for a grant wouldn’t be an attached string. It would be the applied norm. And the grant would be up to £500k not necessarily making an applicant qualify for all of it without a test. Anything else is a gift, not a grant.

19-12-2020, 10:58 AM
Rugby teams hard hit.Amazing it hasn’t happened sooner.

19-01-2021, 03:20 PM
Just digging this thread out again. In hindsight I wonder if it should have been entitled 'What's the chances of fans going back in September 2021' because at present I suspect we might not even see full crowds back by then, which would obviously be catastrophic for clubs.

With the rescheduled Tokyo Olympics now deemed unlikely to go ahead, a lot of the year's bigger global events must be under threat again:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-55722542

K-Zazu
19-01-2021, 05:41 PM
Just digging this thread out again. In hindsight I wonder if it should have been entitled 'What's the chances of fans going back in September 2021' because at present I suspect we might not even see full crowds back by then, which would obviously be catastrophic for clubs.

With the rescheduled Tokyo Olympics now deemed unlikely to go ahead, a lot of the year's bigger global events must be under threat again:

Except places like Abu Dhabi for the UFC etc no virus there

19-01-2021, 06:03 PM

I think we'll be back for the start of next season, but not before.

19-01-2021, 06:03 PM
Absolutely no reason for the Euros to be cancelled. Whether there will be any fans is up in the air but worst comes to the worst they will play the games in 1 country rather than spread across Europe.

19-01-2021, 06:54 PM
I think we'll be back for the start of next season, but not before.

I'm fairly certain some fans will be back by then but it's difficult to see how it will be possible for everyone to be back by then.

19-01-2021, 07:00 PM
Except places like Abu Dhabi for the UFC etc no virus there

They said there was no virus in Dubai. Then Celtc went there!

19-01-2021, 09:56 PM
Absolutely no reason for the Euros to be cancelled. Whether there will be any fans is up in the air but worst comes to the worst they will play the games in 1 country rather than spread across Europe.

I guess that might be a slightly less risky than the multiple-city tournament it currently aims to be, but it would still involve multiple squads from all around Europe flying to whatever nation was accorded host status. Still strikes me as foolhardy if you bear in mind the flak Celtic have taken. June might seem a good way off, but we're already heading towards the end of January and we know through painful experience that, even with vaccines now starting to roll out, when it comes to Covid we can't really make accurate predictions from one month to the next. At this stage I imagine they'd see a fan-free tournament as their 'best worst-case scenario'.

19-01-2021, 11:56 PM
I remember back in February that I was 99 per cent certain I had it. I said that 3 times I had been told to get tested but each time the health board had phoned to say it was fine didnt need to. I showed my sickline which claimed Febrile illness.
What I remember most are the keyboard scientists on here who shot me down, demanded I give proof, basically called me a liar and attention seeker.
I am still suffering effects nearly a year later. To those who supported me, thank you from the bottom of my heart, to the doubters, mibbe even bulliers? **** off

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

20-01-2021, 05:43 AM
I guess that might be a slightly less risky than the multiple-city tournament it currently aims to be, but it would still involve multiple squads from all around Europe flying to whatever nation was accorded host status. Still strikes me as foolhardy if you bear in mind the flak Celtic have taken. June might seem a good way off, but we're already heading towards the end of January and we know through painful experience that, even with vaccines now starting to roll out, when it comes to Covid we can't really make accurate predictions from one month to the next. At this stage I imagine they'd see a fan-free tournament as their 'best worst-case scenario'.

What makes you think the Euros would not go ahead when the Champions League and Europa League are going ahead? Those tournaments involve more teams, more travelling, more cities and at a time when the virus prevalence is very high and the vaccine rollout only started.

What is your reasoning behind them going ahead but thinking they'll cancel the Euros?

20-01-2021, 06:25 AM
I remember back in February that I was 99 per cent certain I had it. I said that 3 times I had been told to get tested but each time the health board had phoned to say it was fine didnt need to. I showed my sickline which claimed Febrile illness.
What I remember most are the keyboard scientists on here who shot me down, demanded I give proof, basically called me a liar and attention seeker.
I am still suffering effects nearly a year later. To those who supported me, thank you from the bottom of my heart, to the doubters, mibbe even bulliers? **** off

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk I remember that what you said you had the covid and you got shot down. I had it back in March and still feel the effects now with my breathing but let’s hope this vaccine works as if it doesn’t then we are in total dogs poo.

20-01-2021, 06:50 AM

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Yes a basic behaviour of humanity is to treat everybody with dignity and respect. We should all work on that here.

20-01-2021, 08:43 AM
What makes you think the Euros would not go ahead when the Champions League and Europa League are going ahead? Those tournaments involve more teams, more travelling, more cities and at a time when the virus prevalence is very high and the vaccine rollout only started.

What is your reasoning behind them going ahead but thinking they'll cancel the Euros?

Just my opinion but I don't think those events should be going ahead either. I'm surprised the Six Nations is being held this year, while the situation with the Australian Open tennis is a farce. It just seems to me that sports events which involve the sort of resources required to get elite competitors transported safely around the world should be on hold just now and we should be sticking to domestic events only. Even those seem a bit artificial without fans and I don't imagine I'm the only one feeling a lot less invested in the current football season than I would usually be.

I get that broadcasting revenune plays a big part in all this, but these are awful, unprecedented times and sport just doesn't strike me as a priority.

20-01-2021, 08:46 AM
Just my opinion but I don't think those events should be going ahead either. I'm surprised the Six Nations is being held this year, while the situation with the Australian Open tennis is a farce. It just seems to me that sports events which involve the sort of resources required to get elite competitors transported safely around the world should be on hold just now and we should be sticking to domestic events only. Even those seem a bit artificial without fans and I don't imagine I'm the only one feeling a lot less invested in the current football season than I would usually be.

I get that broadcasting revenune plays a big part in all this, but these are awful, unprecedented times and sport just doesn't strike me as a priority.

Whether they should be taking place or not is a different arguement to if they will. I'd be shocked if the Euro's dont go ahead.

It also gives people something to look forward to later on in the year which isn't a bad thing at the current time.

20-01-2021, 01:03 PM
I'm fairly certain some fans will be back by then but it's difficult to see how it will be possible for everyone to be back by then.

Yeah, that's probably right.

21-01-2021, 10:14 AM
Reading between the lines on all elite sports, it appears that they are all running scared of the big picture!
The rugby they say that France V Italy will go ahead, but not sure about the rest of their ties?
Champions League may have to postpone the restart due to covid, same for Europa League!
Motor racing, the first two F1 race meetings called of early!
Tennis is in the same way, players arrive in Austrailia only to find that their bubble is confined to their hotel room!!!
I know some fixtures have had fans in already, but with these new strains of covid, I think common sense will prevail, keeping fans away as long as possible until everyone is vaccinated.

Yorkshire HFC
21-01-2021, 12:31 PM
Reading between the lines on all elite sports, it appears that they are all running scared of the big picture!
The rugby they say that France V Italy will go ahead, but not sure about the rest of their ties?
Champions League may have to postpone the restart due to covid, same for Europa League!
Motor racing, the first two F1 race meetings called of early!
Tennis is in the same way, players arrive in Austrailia only to find that their bubble is confined to their hotel room!!!
I know some fixtures have had fans in already, but with these new strains of covid, I think common sense will prevail, keeping fans away as long as possible until everyone is vaccinated.

I just do not understand the argument for continuing with elite sport while thousands are dieing in the country each week. We are not back to normal life - nowhere near it.

If there are no spectators then who is it for - a few tennis players and footballers? Why should they be allowed to trade if my gym can't? Why is allowing a few people to play rugby more important than people being able to open their hairdressers?

There was a tenuous argument that allowing elite sport was to lift the spirit of the nation - I don't know anyone whos spirits are being lifted by hearing millionaire tennis players complain about having to stay in their hotel room for a few days, or by allowing Celtic to spend £250k on a training trip while other clubs are pleading poverty.

21-01-2021, 12:41 PM
I just do not understand the argument for continuing with elite sport while thousands are dieing in the country each week. We are not back to normal life - nowhere near it.

If there are no spectators then who is it for - a few tennis players and footballers? Why should they be allowed to trade if my gym can't? Why is allowing a few people to play rugby more important than people being able to open their hairdressers?

There was a tenuous argument that allowing elite sport was to lift the spirit of the nation - I don't know anyone whos spirits are being lifted by hearing millionaire tennis players complain about having to stay in their hotel room for a few days, or by allowing Celtic to spend £250k on a training trip while other clubs are pleading poverty.
Will cancelling elite sport have an effect on the amount of people dying each week? I for one am really happy to see the football continue. I remember the first lockdown, it was torture and if the weather hadn’t been good I’d have tearing my hair out. It’s cold and grim at this time of year, having the football to look forward to is something I’m thankful for. I think for many who aren’t really enjoying watching the football from home it seems pointless in continuing with it, but I’d imagine the majority don’t want to see it stopped.

ehf
21-01-2021, 12:50 PM
Will cancelling elite sport have an effect on the amount of people dying each week? I for one am really happy to see the football continue. I remember the first lockdown, it was torture and if the weather hadn’t been good I’d have tearing my hair out. It’s cold and grim at this time of year, having the football to look forward to is something I’m thankful for. I think for many who aren’t really enjoying watching the football from home it seems pointless in continuing with it, but I’d imagine the majority don’t want to see it stopped.

AugustaHibs
21-01-2021, 12:51 PM

Strange take on it

21-01-2021, 12:56 PM

Exactly, trying to compare football to gyms and hairdressers is carnage. One is essentially regulated and has constant testing, the others don’t. I’d love more than anyone for the gyms to be open but it’s just not viable.

21-01-2021, 01:37 PM

It's a welcome distraction for large swathes of the nation and so, if it's possible to run it safely then I don't see any reason to stop it other than spite.

21-01-2021, 05:53 PM

Thousands have sadly died but millions have not and the vast majority are trying their best to comply with the ever-changing regulations. Following your teams results and watching them play on a Saturday is at least some relief from the boredom of lockdown and the daily bombardment of bad news from the media .

The dalmeny
21-01-2021, 06:41 PM

yip, there is little to look forward too at times, I do my best not to let the miserable fecks not drag me down

The dalmeny
21-01-2021, 06:43 PM

let you into a secret, thousands of people die every week anyway.

21-01-2021, 07:22 PM

There are plenty of potential spectators for the televised games in any sport, although I'd agree that the definition of elite has been stretched too far.

21-01-2021, 07:39 PM
It's a welcome distraction for large swathes of the nation and so, if it's possible to run it safely then I don't see any reason to stop it other than spite.

I think it is one if the things that keeps us going. Not for the whole population but a large part of it.

Yorkshire HFC
21-01-2021, 07:52 PM
I think it is one if the things that keeps us going. Not for the whole population but a large part of it.

It is - as long as it does no harm then I’m sure it’ll carry on.

21-01-2021, 08:01 PM

What a crass remark - jeezo.

21-01-2021, 08:06 PM
As a society the majority seem fairly comfortable with lockdown and I don’t see millions pushing the narrative that we need to get back to normal.

Unless that malaise changes then we can kiss goodbye to ever going back to Easter Rd, if we still have a club.

It’s up to the population of this country what happens next when the vulnerable are vaccinated and deaths reduce by 99%.

21-01-2021, 08:12 PM

Exactly. My take on it too. As LB said its one of the few things you can look forward to at this bleak time of the year. Also find it strange that a Hibs fan would prefer not to have their team to watch.

21-01-2021, 08:17 PM
As a society the majority seem fairly comfortable with lockdown and I don’t see millions pushing the narrative that we need to get back to normal.

Unless that malaise changes then we can kiss goodbye to ever going back to Easter Rd, if we still have a club.

It’s up to the population of this country what happens next when the vulnerable are vaccinated and deaths reduce by 99%.
Lets see how the vaccine takes off and the numbers pan out. Your last sentence is nothing more than speculation at this stage. Are you also proposing a people’s revolt?

22-01-2021, 09:50 AM
When did Donald Trump join the forum?????

G15 Hibs
22-01-2021, 10:04 AM

I think its more that people believe that the lockdown is the best thing to do in the current circumstances. I would say the majority would be very keen to get back to a normality along the lines of how things were pre-2020 but understand that can only be done at the right time.

22-01-2021, 10:07 AM

Oooft, clanger alert.

22-01-2021, 10:12 AM
I think its more that people believe that the lockdown is the best thing to do in the current circumstances. I would say the majority would be very keen to get back to a normality along the lines of how things were pre-2020 but understand that can only be done at the right time.

I don't see any need to fight against the politicians on this one as they don't want there to be lockdowns either.

I can understand their cautious, under-promise approach here but I've little doubts that once vaccinations are jabbed and if that leads to the expected fall in cases and deaths then these restrictions will start being lifted at the appropriate pace.

30-01-2021, 02:58 PM
Prof Leitch saying on Radio Scotland that crowds 'could' return for next season but that it remains a big if.

30-01-2021, 03:09 PM
Prof Leitch saying on Radio Scotland that crowds 'could' return for next season but that it remains a big if.

Did he mean full capacity might return next season or just some fans?

If it's the former then I would agree that is a big "if" but if it's the latter then that's really worrying. If there's no crowds at all before August 2022 then many clubs will be in serious trouble.

30-01-2021, 04:07 PM
Did he mean full capacity might return next season or just some fans?

If it's the former then I would agree that is a big "if" but if it's the latter then that's really worrying. If there's no crowds at all before August 2022 then many clubs will be in serious trouble.

From The Times:

National clinical director Leitch believes it is "credible" for all levels to be back playing next season but added: "Crowds is much less predictable.
"We will have to see what the vaccine does, we'll have to see if we've managed to not import the virus again with travel restrictions. If we get that right as a nation, yes, there could be crowds in September."

Asked about top microbiologist Professor Hugh Pennington's assertion that fans will only be present at Wembley to see Scotland face England at the Euro 2020 finals this summer if Covid-19 statistics fall to 10% of current levels, Leitch said: "As it stands now, there would be no crowd at Scotland against England, but five/six months away, I'm very hopeful that we will have got the prevalence down considerably and that the game will at least get the go ahead."

30-01-2021, 04:36 PM
From The Times:

National clinical director Leitch believes it is "credible" for all levels to be back playing next season but added: "Crowds is much less predictable.
"We will have to see what the vaccine does, we'll have to see if we've managed to not import the virus again with travel restrictions. If we get that right as a nation, yes, there could be crowds in September."

Asked about top microbiologist Professor Hugh Pennington's assertion that fans will only be present at Wembley to see Scotland face England at the Euro 2020 finals this summer if Covid-19 statistics fall to 10% of current levels, Leitch said: "As it stands now, there would be no crowd at Scotland against England, but five/six months away, I'm very hopeful that we will have got the prevalence down considerably and that the game will at least get the go ahead."

Doesn't really say too much really.

If there's no crowds at all next season, clubs will fold.

30-01-2021, 04:38 PM
Doesn't really say too much really.

If there's no crowds at all next season, clubs will fold.

Absolutely
If it’s reduced capacity, will be season ticket holders only, with now away fans, although I think we’ve said this on quite a few occasions

22-02-2021, 07:44 PM
England hoping to have some crowds back in from May. Stadiums with capacities of more than 40,000 can have up to 10,000. Stadiums smaller than that can have a quarter of their stadiums full. All restrictions gone by the end of June.

Interesting to see what is announced for us tomorrow.

Jason Leitch said a few weeks back he hoped some fans would be back by September. Big difference that, really hope we are going to get some positive news tomorrow.

The dalmeny
22-02-2021, 07:52 PM
England hoping to have some crowds back in from May. Stadiums with capacities of more than 40,000 can have up to 10,000. Stadiums smaller than that can have a quarter of their stadiums full. All restrictions gone by the end of June.

Jason Leitch said a few weeks back he hoped some fans would be back by September. Big difference that, really hope we are going to get some positive news tomorrow.

Best hope is that Sturgeon throws a flakey with the election coming up so implements some limited relaxations.

22-02-2021, 07:58 PM

Not quite sure I get your point.

‘Vulnerable’ includes some fit and healthy people who because of the work they do have been exposed to the virus and got very sick or died.

I think you are describing a population that has faith in the NHS and, on the whole, trusts the science.

As I am neither in healthcare nor a medical scientist, I have no expert opinion on COVID and I am happy to trust those that do.

As far as I can tell, most folk are looking forward to being able to attend events and socialise again.

22-02-2021, 07:59 PM

I think Leitch said that when the hope was everyone vaccinated by end September. Now it’s the end of July so hopefully he’d say different now.

No guarantee right enough!!

22-02-2021, 08:06 PM
I think Leitch said that when the hope was everyone vaccinated by end September. Now it’s the end of July so hopefully he’d say different now.

No guarantee right enough!!

Cheers, that’s a bit more encouraging then.

22-02-2021, 08:25 PM
I've had my hopes built up so often only to have them dashed I am scared to think that it will happen.

22-02-2021, 08:44 PM

Westminster govt seem totally radge to me.

Obsessed with putting a date on specific things instead of - oh, something sensible like "if we are at X cases per 100000 then we can go to the pub / fitba etc".

They are never more than one press conference away from overpromising - fannies.

eta - I see that in the small print they require four tests on vaccines, infection rates and new coronavirus variants to be met at each stage, so not as cut and dried.

22-02-2021, 08:50 PM
Can’t wait to get back, I’m even missing the pies.

22-02-2021, 09:17 PM
If, and it’s a big if, the Scottish roadmap out of lockdown mirrors that in England, I’ll be at Scotland v Croatia at Hampden on Tuesday 22nd June. What a day out that would be.

22-02-2021, 09:53 PM

Obsessed with putting a date on specific things instead of - oh, something sensible like "if we are at X cases per 100000 then we can go to the pub / fitba etc".

They are never more than one press conference away from overpromising - fannies.

eta - I see that in the small print they require four tests on vaccines, infection rates and new coronavirus variants to be met at each stage, so not as cut and dried.

They’ve been flailing around since the beginning.

Thank god we had a health system that could respond to the crisis, but of course in care homes it’s been a different and tragic story.

Fortunately the UK can genuinely claim to have a world class bio med industry which has seen us ahead of the curve on vaccinations.

Basildon Hibs
22-02-2021, 11:04 PM

Correct. Those clowns in Westminster have just painted a big target on their backs with their latest statements.

Wakeyhibee
23-02-2021, 01:31 AM
Scottish Governments responses to date have been the UKs +1 step/delay further, whether that will be the case with an election looming I dont know.

My guess is that will continue on the cautious side. I dont see anything happening this season unless the data is irrefutably good.

23-02-2021, 05:53 AM
Our coward society should’ve months ago when everyone realised this is a scam

Who would have thought that Julia Hartley Brewer was a Hibee....

23-02-2021, 06:29 AM
Our coward society should’ve months ago when everyone realised this is a scam

I am disappointed in myself for asking but in what way are you suggesting it's a scam?

23-02-2021, 06:43 AM
Can’t wait to get back, I’m even missing the pies.

The pies are brilliant in a really **** way :agree:

23-02-2021, 07:14 AM
I am disappointed in myself for asking but in what way are you suggesting it's a scam?

Twitter says so

G15 Hibs
23-02-2021, 08:08 AM

Spot on. Its notable from looking at social media how 'not before 21 June' has become 'lockdown ends 21 June'. The pressure will be on them now to fulfil that even if turns out not the be the best thing to do by that time, which potentially results in more infections, more deaths and measures being reintroduced. There will now be pressure on the Scottish Government to do the same, even though they're typically more sensible and measured in these things, and will undoubtedly be used as a stick to beat them if they don't mirror the Westminster plans by people who should know better.

23-02-2021, 08:20 AM
I take it the 'September' in the thread title refers to September 2021.

G15 Hibs
23-02-2021, 08:25 AM
I take it the 'September' in the thread title refers to September 2021.

It does now

monarch
23-02-2021, 08:51 AM
Scottish Governments responses to date have been the UKs +1 step/delay further, whether that will be the case with an election looming I dont know.

My guess is that will continue on the cautious side. I dont see anything happening this season unless the data is irrefutably good.
Not necessarily. My grandchildren restarted school this week. English schools don’t reopen till next month.

23-02-2021, 09:24 AM
Spot on. Its notable from looking at social media how 'not before 21 June' has become 'lockdown ends 21 June'. The pressure will be on them now to fulfil that even if turns out not the be the best thing to do by that time, which potentially results in more infections, more deaths and measures being reintroduced. There will now be pressure on the Scottish Government to do the same, even though they're typically more sensible and measured in these things, and will undoubtedly be used as a stick to beat them if they don't mirror the Westminster plans by people who should know better.

So much for Boris's -we will be guided by data not dates. As someone said he now has a big target on his back. I'm a bit worried about everyone going on foreign holidays and importing different strains in.

That would knacker everything again.

23-02-2021, 09:32 AM
So much for Boris's -we will be guided by data not dates. As someone said he now has a big target on his back. I'm a bit worried about everyone going on foreign holidays and importing different strains in.

I think the media need to shoulder a lot of that blame to be fair.

They couldn't have said "at the earliest" much more when announcing those dates which are the earliest they say they'll relax things - depending on the data.

I read today there was a flurry of activity to book foreign holidays after the announcement regardless though!

23-02-2021, 10:09 AM
Best hope is that Sturgeon throws a flakey with the election coming up so implements some limited relaxations.

No chance. She know Bozo's plan whilst logical in its phasing is way too risky in terms of the timings of the phases. Road maps are easy to draw but the scheduling is key.

Engkand's appriach seems predicted on getting the pubs open so the plebs will get p!$$€d and forget about Bozos failures and the massive number of avoidable deaths his incompetent corrupt government is responsible for.

23-02-2021, 10:18 AM

It was made quite clear that the dates are not fixed but are dependent on the data at all times. They will be moved out if necessary.

Wakeyhibee
23-02-2021, 10:38 AM
Not necessarily. My grandchildren restarted school this week. English schools don’t reopen till next month.

Was only a guess based on what's gone before. It might be she takes a different tac this time. Schools to be fair has always been the SNPs priority, last time was nearly term end when they had any kind of chance.

23-02-2021, 10:47 AM
I think the media need to shoulder a lot of that blame to be fair.

They couldn't have said "at the earliest" much more when announcing those dates which are the earliest they say they'll relax things - depending on the data.

I read today there was a flurry of activity to book foreign holidays after the announcement regardless though!

500% increase in bookings for TUI

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-56161129

23-02-2021, 10:49 AM
500% increase in bookings for TUI

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-56161129

To be fair, probably a low starting point to get the 5x increase from but still I don't know how likely/sensible it is to assume there will be holidays. I'd be looking for free cancellation anyway - and cancellation based on the customers whom rather than just if it's not allowed so as not to be trapped into a holiday you don't actually want or feel comfortable with.

23-02-2021, 11:04 AM
It was made quite clear that the dates are not fixed but are dependent on the data at all times. They will be moved out if necessary.

I didn't watch the presentation and am only picking up from the news. Definitely has been spun by the media that it will all be over in the not too distant future.

Problem is folk will hold them to it.

23-02-2021, 11:08 AM
To be fair, probably a low starting point to get the 5x increase from but still I don't know how likely/sensible it is to assume there will be holidays. I'd be looking for free cancellation anyway - and cancellation based on the customers whom rather than just if it's not allowed so as not to be trapped into a holiday you don't actually want or feel comfortable with.

Even before that I was getting emails from self catering companies in the UK offering bookings as early as 1st March. I'll be waiting until it's official that we can book accommodation, not some possible date in the future.

23-02-2021, 11:23 AM

Folk see what they want to see.

K-Zazu
23-02-2021, 12:08 PM
Is Joshua Fury a possibility for Wembley in the summer now?