View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread - repetitive discussion only (hardly any transfer news)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33

dmc1875
25-01-2019, 10:17 PM
We’ll be a better team with a new manager and no more signings than we would be with Lennon and new signings. Today has pretty much confirmed - presuming the rumours are true - that the relationship with the players was toxic.

George Craig is a massive issue in all of this. He was hated at Falkirk for doing a terrible job too, making up fairytale contracts etc.

Don’t underestimate his part in all of this shambles - he’s brought in a fair few players that weren’t Neil’s first choice to put it mildly.

25-01-2019, 10:21 PM
George Craig is a massive issue in all of this. He was hated at Falkirk for doing a terrible job too, making up fairytale contracts etc.

Don’t underestimate his part in all of this shambles - he’s brought in a fair few players that weren’t Neil’s first choice to put it mildly.

That is interesting. So the recent recruits haven’t been Lennon’s choices?

dmc1875
25-01-2019, 10:25 PM

Not all the recruits are lennons, no. He gets a say of course but the “manager has final say on all players” line is absolute rubbish.

There are a fair few players at the club that weren’t his first choice and when you look at the dynamism of players we had previous and how we played to the type we have now it makes sense.

25-01-2019, 10:28 PM

You've got to take the smooth with the rough though.

He didn't do badly in helping get us from the point of relegation to being 4th in the Premier League via promotion, a Scottish Cup win and some excellent football along the way.

There's clearly been something wrong since the summer though.

dmc1875
25-01-2019, 10:30 PM
You've got to take the smooth with the rough though.

He didn't do badly in helping get us from the point of relegation to being 4th in the Premier League via promotion, a Scottish Cup win and some excellent football along the way.

There's clearly been something wrong since the summer though.

This is true but it’s more when everything goes well - George craig is in the media going on about how we recruit etc.

When things go badly - not a peep and the manager gets the brunt.

Must have been frustrating.

I agree since the summer it’s been different but just stating that Lennon isn’t the only problem and hibs as a club are absolutely all over the place at the minute

Willis1875
25-01-2019, 10:32 PM
Not all the recruits are lennons, no. He gets a say of course but the “manager has final say on all players” line is absolute rubbish.

There are a fair few players at the club that weren’t his first choice and when you look at the dynamism of players we had previous and how we played to the type we have now it makes sense.

Nelom and Mavrias recruited when NL wanted attacking players?

25-01-2019, 10:34 PM

Agyepong, Nelom and Mavrias were all linked with Celtic while Lennon was manager. Ambrose and Marciano shared an agent who is good mates with Lennon. Kamberi and MacLaren also share an agent who happens to be a friend of Lennon.

25-01-2019, 10:35 PM
Agyepong, Nelom and Mavrias were all linked with Celtic while Lennon was manager. Ambrose and Marciano’s shared an agent who is good mates with Lennon. Kamberi and MacLaren also share an agent who happens to be a friend of Lennon.

So actually the recruitment has been more to do with Lennon and less to do with our previously successful model used under Stubbs.

25-01-2019, 10:36 PM
Parker also confirmed as suspended and there’s currently no-one to take the team as all (including GM and AC) are backing NL.

25-01-2019, 10:37 PM

Hated by who? Not Yogi anyway. Certainly respected by Stubbs.

Juniper Greens
25-01-2019, 10:38 PM
This is true but it’s more when everything goes well - George craig is in the media going on about how we recruit etc.

I agree since the summer it’s been different but just stating that Lennon isn’t the only problem and hibs as a club are absolutely all over the place at the minute

Where are you getting all of this? Completely contradicts what I have heard

25-01-2019, 10:39 PM
Parker also confirmed as suspended and there’s currently no-one to take the team as all (including GM and AC) are backing NL.

Hibernian Ladies manager to step in...

25-01-2019, 10:40 PM
So actually the recruitment has been more to do with Lennon and less to do with our previously successful model used under Stubbs.

I’ve no real evidence for this other than the links to agents provided but I have suspected it for a while. The Holt signing and the apparent interest in Heskey and Pennant seemed a departure from our recruitment under Stubbs.

25-01-2019, 10:41 PM
Agyepong, Nelom and Mavrias were all linked with Celtic while Lennon was manager. Ambrose and Marciano shared an agent who is good mates with Lennon. Kamberi and MacLaren also share an agent who happens to be a friend of Lennon.

Would Agyepong not have been about 14 when Lennon was Celtic manager?

25-01-2019, 10:42 PM

Add in Horgan and Mallan who where definitely Lennon signings and Whittaker. Also our new midfielder Lennon said he’s been watching for months.

25-01-2019, 10:42 PM

He was on trial with Celtic in 2014, it was widely reported in the press when we signed him.

Sorry for Sun link - https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2964319/hibs-man-city-thomas-agyepong/

Lemonade
25-01-2019, 10:43 PM

Where you seeing this ?

25-01-2019, 10:44 PM

Barker was offered to Hibs and Hearts, we took him. Based on that we brought in Agyepong. Marvais and Nelom I would agree don’t look Lennon signings and he’s shown it by not playing them.

25-01-2019, 10:45 PM
He was on trial with Celtic in 2014, it was widely reported in the press when we signed him.

Sorry for Sun link - https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2964319/hibs-man-city-thomas-agyepong/

Apologies - didn't know that and didn't mean to sound arsey.

25-01-2019, 10:45 PM

Step forward the man, the myth, the legend, Colin Nish.

25-01-2019, 10:46 PM
Barker was offered to Hibs and Hearts, we took him. Based on that we brought in Agyepong. Marvais and Nelom I would agree don’t look Lennon signings and he’s shown it by not playing them.

Yet he was interested in signing at least 2 of them while Celtic manager.

https://www.shieldsgazette.com/sport/football/sunderland-afc/celtic-target-swoop-for-sunderland-winger-1-7074819

25-01-2019, 10:46 PM
Apologies - didn't know that and didn't mean to sound arsey.

No problem 👍

25-01-2019, 10:47 PM

Steo forward Colin Nish..

25-01-2019, 10:50 PM
Yet he was interested in signing at least 2 of them while Celtic manager.

https://www.shieldsgazette.com/sport/football/sunderland-afc/celtic-target-swoop-for-sunderland-winger-1-7074819

I stand corrected then 👍

25-01-2019, 10:55 PM
You couldn’t make this stuff up How on earth are we going to be able to attract players in the last few days of the window to come to Hibs
Our squad isn’t big enough as it Stands
St Mirren will be the only Benefactors from this Fiasco
The Feel good Factor has now gone for sure
If the Stories are true ,how do you sort this .
Players V Manager and his Backroom Staff What a ****ing Mess before a huge game that could drag us back into Relegation Territory

25-01-2019, 11:02 PM
You couldn’t make this stuff up How on earth are we going to be able to attract players in the last few days of the window to come to Hibs
Players V Manager and his Backroom Staff What a ****ing Mess before a huge game that could drag us back into Relegation Territory

Trying not to panic, but it ain't looking good at all

25-01-2019, 11:04 PM
We can attract hundreds of players. They won't care it's not Lennon in charge.

25-01-2019, 11:07 PM

Correct.

25-01-2019, 11:16 PM

Also gives players (who in the Pogba sense are now happier) the chance for a GIRUY to Lennon.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2018/aug/12/paul-pogba-cannot-give-your-best-happy-manchester-united-captain

Doh Rae Me
25-01-2019, 11:20 PM
Correct.

Cobblers

25-01-2019, 11:22 PM

But whoever is in charge of next few games won’t be the permanent manager if there is no way back for Lennon I don’t think you willl get Quality players in Bogdan came as Lennon persuaded him Some players will think twice imo

GreenArmy1875
25-01-2019, 11:23 PM
The recruitment team can identify players but if the manager doesn't want them signed it doesn't happen surely?

25-01-2019, 11:24 PM
Disappointed to see Lenny leave on such a negative story. Really enjoyed his time in charge, bringing the likes of Ambrose and Kamberi to the club and re-signing Scott Allan. Carried on the good feel factor at Hibs winning the Championship first time of asking, battling for 2nd place up until the end of last season playing some of the best football I’ve seen at Hibs and also giving us all an opportunity to watch the club on some European journeys. He was always a bit of a character which made a lot of us like him that bit extra.

I know it’s not officially announced he’s left yet but thank you Lenny 👍

26-01-2019, 02:46 AM
Hoping the recruitment team have been sacked

26-01-2019, 03:07 AM

The same ones that have been part of the far bigger picture and have seen us get record crowds, record season tickets, cup win, championship win and an all round feel good factor bar a run of results this season ?

I'll happily keep them in place and ditch the problem child that is Lennon :aok:

HibeeMackenzie
26-01-2019, 05:24 AM
With 5 days of the window left, who signs the players?

Greenworld
26-01-2019, 06:08 AM
Going by your reckoning how come livingston / kilmarnock/st johnstone attract players all doing better than us.

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

26-01-2019, 06:10 AM

The same people who signed them before.

26-01-2019, 06:17 AM

Why?

Jpdhfc
26-01-2019, 06:17 AM
Where dose scott allan stand in all this can he break his agreement with the club regarding his pre contract.

26-01-2019, 06:19 AM

There will be targets that have been identified that we’ll already be down the road of trying to get.

The big call for Hibs will be whether to continue us with them or not, and the big call for the players will be whether to join us when this is all going on.

Eaither way, it’ll be disasterous for our hopes for the rest of the season.

26-01-2019, 06:28 AM

Hopefully the new manager makes full use of the recruitment team instead of just signing players who he tried to sign for his previous club or who have one of his mates for an agent.

WestStandWillie
26-01-2019, 06:29 AM

The feel good factor was slowly fading before last night.

We got oor club back, built great rapports with the players and lapped up everything from the Fontaine Of Knowledge tae statements from Dempster.

That’s been AWOL this season. Almost like the club has regressed. Dempster hersel said (last year) “I'm probably halfway through my usefulness here at Hibs. I've been here three-and-half years. Most chief execs have a time span. I'm probably on the back end of my time span to be perfectly honest but the supporters will tell me, I'm sure”

She’s winding down and aw the past demons are creeping back.

26-01-2019, 07:15 AM
Where dose scott allan stand in all this can he break his agreement with the club regarding his pre contract.

Why would he? He probably didn't just sign because Neil Lennon was the manager

26-01-2019, 07:45 AM
We better hope the players turn this around now with what we have.

26-01-2019, 07:45 AM
Lennon was hopeful if getting one in the door before Sunday

Assuming no chance of that - unless he meant his fist? [emoji23]

26-01-2019, 07:51 AM
Can’t see it . Would you sign for a managerless club?

Depends who it is and reasons for coming Hibs are still a very attractive club to sign for. Horrific timing but still time to do some deals. Will likely make some targets consider their choices though.

Scotty Leither
26-01-2019, 08:05 AM
Cue the excuse from the Board, "we can't bring any players in while we don't have a manager" .

26-01-2019, 08:08 AM
Cue the excuse from the Board, "we can't bring any players in while we don't have a manager" .

I hate petrie
Sack the board
Lennon wisnae backed
Farmers bleeding the club dry
Its a Ponzi scheme

Just saving you some time, just cut and paste these for your next few posts :aok:

26-01-2019, 08:46 AM

We got oor club back, built great rapports with the players and lapped up everything from the Fontaine Of Knowledge tae statements from Dempster.

That’s been AWOL this season. Almost like the club has regressed. Dempster hersel said (last year) “I'm probably halfway through my usefulness here at Hibs. I've been here three-and-half years. Most chief execs have a time span. I'm probably on the back end of my time span to be perfectly honest but the supporters will tell me, I'm sure”

I cant help thinking back to what has happened at Easter Rd since the crap that went on at tincastle. Neil Lennon issued a statement which went along the lines of - sectarianism is just another form of racism and its endemic here in Scotland, rightly or wrongly words along them lines. A crap wee joint statement was issued from Hibs and queen budgie, the media fed on Neil's statement for a couple of days even wee nippy sweetie brought it up in that place at hollyrood.
Since then - silence both from our board and the media, all swept under the carpet once more.
In my humble this has festered with Neil since then and he has been unable to keep his frustration under control, ultimately his actions with some players who have not deserved to wear a Hibs jersey this past few months.
I find the lack of support for the manager from our club on this matter at the time is the root cause. Very sad ending as I fail to see when or where we will be able to attract a manager with the status of Neil Lennon to Easter Road once more, and should the downward spiral continue well we all know were that ends up. Talk of Stubbs in on the short term should only be entertained if he came along with his two amigos as he is not very capable on his own.
If this is deemed as having a pop at the board then it ****ing is, that long dark shadow that floats around our club is still there and I fear we are going back to the mediocre days of the past, crap team with crap crowds floating around the middle of the table.

mcfly
26-01-2019, 09:20 AM
Regardless of what has gone on. The timing is terrible.

We need players in and now - how can we do this with no leadership.

26-01-2019, 09:24 AM
Someone posted that BB is set to return. All up in the air now ?

26-01-2019, 09:25 AM

Armageddon

26-01-2019, 09:47 AM

Billy Bremner?

26-01-2019, 09:48 AM
George Craig has apparently been sanctioning players signings without the consent of the management anyway, so having our head coach suspended pending terminated probably won't stop us signing players.

26-01-2019, 09:51 AM
George Craig has apparently been sanctioning players signings without the consent of the management anyway, so having our head coach suspended pending terminated probably won't stop us signing players.

Absolute nonesense IMO. There’s no chance Lennon doesn’t sign off on all transfers.

26-01-2019, 09:53 AM

What a load of rubbish. Neil has the final say on players.

26-01-2019, 09:58 AM
Absolute nonesense IMO. There’s no chance Lennon doesn’t sign off on all transfers.

Just passing a rumour on I heard this morning, source is a friend of Lennon.

Might be some bias in there but would make sense why people like nelom aren't getting near the team, Lennon clearly didn't fancy him as a player.

26-01-2019, 10:02 AM

If that’s true, based on Lennon’s previous track record of signings it’s probably a good thing.

Omeonga and Gauld look like decent acquisitions, good work by George Craig.

26-01-2019, 10:05 AM

Hes been places, done hings

26-01-2019, 10:06 AM
If that’s true, based on Lennon’s previous track record of signings it’s probably a good thing.

Omeonga and Gauld look like decent acquisitions, good work by George Craig.

Neil has been a long time fan of gauld.

26-01-2019, 10:08 AM
Neil has been a long time fan of gauld.

So has George Craig

26-01-2019, 10:09 AM
Think that's called teamwork.

26-01-2019, 10:11 AM
Think that's called teamwork.

Yup, so not a case of Craig signing players behind Lennon’s back as suggested.

Scotty Leither
26-01-2019, 10:15 AM
I hate petrie
Sack the board
Lennon wisnae backed
Farmers bleeding the club dry
Its a Ponzi scheme

Just saving you some time, just cut and paste these for your next few posts :aok:

Thanks, I hadn't thought of these. Got your application in for fans rep yet?

Toadies and nodding dug characteristics a particular pre-requisite.

26-01-2019, 10:20 AM
Just passing a rumour on I heard this morning, source is a friend of Lennon.

Might be some bias in there but would make sense why people like nelom aren't getting near the team, Lennon clearly didn't fancy him as a player.

could you ask your source to confirm why Lennon appears to be suspended?

26-01-2019, 10:22 AM
Yup, so not a case of Craig signing players behind Lennon’s back as suggested.

Yeah, amazing how this rumour only came out this morning...... 🤫

26-01-2019, 10:22 AM
could you ask your source to confirm why Lennon appears to be suspended?

An 'altercation' with George Craig and a physio, apparently. Lennon is alleged to have pushed him during a heated argument. Other rumours state it was a punch rather than a push.

I have no idea if that's true. Sounds a bit far fetched to me, I'd totally believe there was harsh words said but acts of violence? Be very surprised.

26-01-2019, 10:25 AM
An 'altercation' with George Craig and a physio, apparently. Lennon is alleged to have pushed him during a heated argument. Other rumours state it was a punch rather than a push.

I have no idea if that's true. Sounds a bit far fetched to me, I'd totally believe there was harsh words said but acts of violence? Be very surprised.

How long does it take you to make these rumours?

26-01-2019, 10:26 AM
How long does it take you to make these rumours?

I'm not making them up, just passing on what I've heard for a wee while.

No harm posting them now Lennon is out the door, not as if anyone can now be reprimanded for leaking info.

Nobody is forcing you to believe this rumour. Why would I make stuff up?

Edinburgh Green
26-01-2019, 10:26 AM

Billy Brown!!

26-01-2019, 10:28 AM
So you've heard this for a wee while, only happened yesterday.

Don't think he is out the door yet.

26-01-2019, 10:30 AM
So you've heard this for a wee while, only happened yesterday.

Don't think he is out the door yet.

Heard that George Craig was confirming signings without Lennon's consent. I heard yesterday's alleged events this morning.

26-01-2019, 10:32 AM
Heard that George Craig was confirming signings without Lennon's consent. I heard yesterday's alleged events this morning.

What signings has Craig been consenting without Lennon’s consent?

26-01-2019, 10:34 AM

Don't waste your time mate on this rubbish.

26-01-2019, 10:36 AM

Nelom, mavrias and Horgan.

Apparently

26-01-2019, 10:40 AM

Apparently

You are deluded.

Have you thought about therapy.

26-01-2019, 10:41 AM

ApparentlyHorgan ?

Hibs head coach Neil Lennon added: "He's one we've been keen on for a long time and it's a real coup to get him over the line.

"Daryl will give us a real threat going forward and some strength out wide - we had been looking to add in that area and I'm delighted with the options we now have.

"He has power and pace and will hopefully give us another dimension to our play in the final third."

That reads to me that Lennon wanted to sign him, no mention of George Craig there.

26-01-2019, 10:42 AM
You are deluded.

Have you thought about therapy.

😂 Nah mate I'm good.

Just passing on what I've heard from a decent enough source. Don't believe it if you want. Don't get your knickers in a twist tho bud.

26-01-2019, 10:43 AM
Horgan ?

Hibs head coach Neil Lennon added: "He's one we've been keen on for a long time and it's a real coup to get him over the line.

"Daryl will give us a real threat going forward and some strength out wide - we had been looking to add in that area and I'm delighted with the options we now have.

"He has power and pace and will hopefully give us another dimension to our play in the final third."

That reads to me that Lennon wanted to sign him, no mention of George Craig there.

I'd agree. Was surprised as well. But he's been in and out of the team and I'd doubt a manager would come out and say "well I didn't want him but now I'm stuck with him".

26-01-2019, 10:44 AM
😂 Nah mate I'm good.

Just passing on what I've heard from a decent enough source. Don't believe it if you want. Don't get your knickers in a twist tho bud.

It's just really annoying when you post such crap.

Decent source, ffs....

26-01-2019, 10:45 AM
I'd agree. Was surprised as well. But he's been in and out of the team and I'd doubt a manager would come out and say "well I didn't want him but now I'm stuck with him".His form has been up and down though so every reason for him to be in and out of the team, still has no bearing on who signed him though does it ?

26-01-2019, 10:45 AM
It's just really annoying when you post such crap.

Decent source, ffs....

Stick me on ignore then.

26-01-2019, 10:48 AM
Can anyone see us signing any players this week now? Can’t see a new manager being in position for Thursday. Would be a very awkward unveiling without a manager in position.

26-01-2019, 10:52 AM

Apparently

Lennon wanted Mavrias and Nelom while Celtic manager, they were very much his signings.

26-01-2019, 10:52 AM
Can anyone see us signing any players this week now? Can’t see a new manager being in position for Thursday. Would be a very awkward unveiling without a manager in position.

Not sure tbh. I will say though that as it looks like Lennon had lost the dressing room, new signings would have made no odds to how bad we were. We stand a better chance with the squad we have and a new manager rather than carrying on as we were with potentially a couple of new signings IMO.

26-01-2019, 11:06 AM

It would be quite funny to have new signings paraded holding one end of a scarf above their head whilst Petrie held the other.

M E L T D O W N

26-01-2019, 11:10 AM
It would be quite funny to have new signings paraded holding one end of a scarf above their head whilst Petrie held the other.

M E L T D O W N

[emoji35][emoji23]

26-01-2019, 11:11 AM

M E L T D O W N

That’s LD’s job

Sioux
26-01-2019, 11:20 AM

On one hand you suggest that's its Craig's fault he didn't get first choice signings. Must be a first for a recruitment team. But then you say its the whole club's fault. So, if its the club's fault how do you lay the blame at Craig?

26-01-2019, 12:08 PM
Some people suggesting things have spiralled downhill since the derby in october. I reckon his tactics , team selection , and post match comments about working with rejects after the defeat to celtic at parkhead the game prior to the derby were the beginning of the end. Thought at the time he had crossed a dangerous line with his public comments about the players , and its deteriorated rapidly since. He is bound to have lost a lot of trust and respect in the dressing room by making such stupid comments in the press

26-01-2019, 12:09 PM
And by the way , it was his mistakes that had lost us the game in the 1st place

SideBurns
26-01-2019, 12:13 PM

M E L T D O W N

Anyone going to Paisley tomorrow should wear a false tache in solidarity with Rod. If you have a real tache, you should shave it off and put the false one on.

I know Leeann is in charge, but she doesn't have a tache.

26-01-2019, 12:13 PM
So, back to transfers, wonder where we go from here?

I'd think it would still make sense to go for SA. He'll be here next season anyway and the money is there. If we're not going to sign anyone else then get it done. The new manager isn't going to be disappointed that he's here.

You'd also have to assume that Maclaren will be going nowhere now as we'll most likely not be getting anyone else in.

Wonder if there's some players that the club would consider standouts and worth signing regardless of the manager situation? Say or example Morgan or Barker?

26-01-2019, 12:25 PM
So, back to transfers, wonder where we go from here?

I'd think it would still make sense to go for SA. He'll be here next season anyway and the money is there. If we're not going to sign anyone else then get it done. The new manager isn't going to be disappointed that he's here.

You'd also have to assume that Maclaren will be going nowhere now as we'll most likely not be getting anyone else in.

Wonder if there's some players that the club would consider standouts and worth signing regardless of the manager situation? Say or example Morgan or Barker?

I am the only one who thinks Barker was brutal for us?

26-01-2019, 12:28 PM

Brutal ... dearie me

26-01-2019, 12:29 PM
I am the only one who thinks Barker was brutal for us?Was nowhere near brutal, took his time to find his feet but when up to speed he showed real promise, room for improvement but certainly not brutal

26-01-2019, 12:30 PM
Well, you can shut this thread right now. Those who wanted Lennon gone appear to have their wish, let's not hear any consequential whining about lack of signings as a result.

Shame really. It's been a fount of information and thought provoking dialogue.

Much of it provided by me, of course. :wink:

26-01-2019, 12:33 PM
I agree that a new manager will get more out of the current squad than him. Pretty clear something wasn’t right there.

Sad way to end for him and I hope the good things he did aren’t forgotten because of it.

Just any new manager?

Do you think Terry Butcher would get more out of the team? Or Bobby Williamson? Or Jim Duffy? Or Cathro?

supermcginn
26-01-2019, 12:37 PM

Yes

26-01-2019, 12:38 PM
As the heading says, roll on next season as this seasons pretty much ****ed, yes I know there is still the cup but it would be very much of a surprise, may just have a wee punt on Hibs for the cup it cannie get much worse can it?

26-01-2019, 12:45 PM
Brutal ... dearie me

So he was magic was he?

26-01-2019, 12:46 PM

Brilliant. Kick the club at every opportunity you can. :hikarious

Wouldn't that be an actual reason, though?

I don't expect Hibs to sign anyone now. Seemingly there was a striker about to join us today in time for the game tomorrow. I hope I'm wrong but I can't see that happening now.

I wouldn't sign for a club who just suspended their manager.

What if they recruit the same manager the player was trying to get away from? Or a manager who didn't play a style of football which suited him.

I wouldn't sign for a club without a manager at all, unless there was one in the pipeline that I could play under. You would, obviously, so maybe there are players and agents out there who feel the same and maybe we've been lucky enough to have engaged with them.

26-01-2019, 12:50 PM
So he was magic was he?

Aye that’s right, the only 2 descriptions of a player, brutal or magic.

26-01-2019, 12:51 PM
Just any new manager?

Do you think Terry Butcher would get more out of the team? Or Bobby Williamson? Or Jim Duffy? Or Cathro?

Maybe try to avoid them. Don’t have great recent records.

A fresh voice, imo, will help our under performing players play better. Preferably someone who knows what they’re talking about.

26-01-2019, 12:52 PM
Aye that’s right, the only 2 descriptions of a player, brutal or magic.

He was brutal in my eyes, or am I not allowed an opinion?

26-01-2019, 12:53 PM
Anyone going to Paisley tomorrow should wear a false tache in solidarity with Rod. If you have a real tache, you should shave it off and put the false one on.

I know Leeann is in charge, but she doesn't have a tache.

Would a beard be ok?

26-01-2019, 12:55 PM

I don't expect Hibs to sign anyone now. Seemingly there was a striker about to join us today in time for the game tomorrow. I hope I'm wrong but I can't see that happening now.

What if they recruit the same manager the player was trying to get away from? Or a manager who didn't play a style of football which suited him.

I wouldn't sign for a club without a manager at all, unless there was one in the pipeline that I could play under. You would, obviously, so maybe there are players and agents out there who feel the same and maybe we've been lucky enough to have engaged with them.

For someone who spent most of yesterday questioningthe point of people being negative, you’re not half being negative yourself today.

That scenario you present of Hibs trying to sign a striker and then appointing said players current manager is so ridiculous and convoluted that even the most negative of posters would struggle to think up.

26-01-2019, 12:57 PM
He was brutal in my eyes, or am I not allowed an opinion?

Who said you’re not allowed an opinion? You suggested that if a poster didn’t think he was brutal he must have thought he was magic. Not everything is black or white, there are plenty shades of grey in between.

26-01-2019, 12:58 PM
Who said you’re not allowed an opinion? You suggested that if a poster didn’t think he was brutal he must have thought he was magic. Not everything is black or white, there are plenty shades of grey in between.

Of course there is I appreciate, just my take on the player.

26-01-2019, 12:59 PM
For someone who spent most of yesterday questioningthe point of people being negative, you’re not half being negative yourself today.

That scenario you present of Hibs trying to sign a striker and then appointing said players current manager is so ridiculous and convoluted that even the most negative of posters would struggle to think up.

I'm being realistic.

Ok ignore the suggestion you've taken exception to.

Would you sign for a team with no manager?

I'd wait till summer to see if I was wanted by the new one, but maybe there are folk out there who want to follow the cash or who desperately want to play for Hibs.

In any case, there was something to be optimistic about yesterday. We have no idea of where the future lies now.

26-01-2019, 01:03 PM
I'm being realistic.

Perhaps the posters you were berating for being negative yesterday were in fact just being realistic too? Especially seeing as many of those were saying it was time for Lennon to go and that is now reality.

26-01-2019, 01:07 PM

The player and their situation would have just as much to do with the decision as our clubs current uncertainty. The contract might be more money or security or a step up the ladder regardless of who our boss is. Would Lennon have been able to tell a striker what our style of football was. I've no idea what style Lennon favours as we have played pretty much every style from total hoofball to total football.

26-01-2019, 01:15 PM

Brutal is a bit harsh but I am continually baffled about how his time at Hibs has been reinvented on here.

26-01-2019, 01:16 PM
Perhaps the posters you were berating for being negative yesterday were in fact just being realistic too? Especially seeing as many of those were saying it was time for Lennon to go and that is now reality.

Yesterday I was being criticised for "unjustifiable blind optimism."

This was despite knowing that we had an ambitious manager who had given us the best season we've had for ages, a decent run in Europe and knowing that signings were imminent and players were going to return to fitness.

Today I'm reading that the new manager, who we don't know, will be able to come in and turn everything around for the better.

I'm reading that despite having no management structure in place and the club seemingly in turmoil, we'll still be signing the players we need to make a fist of the season.

People who wanted rid of Lennon yesterday were being realistic, but I disagreed with them.

26-01-2019, 01:20 PM

Don't think he was brutal, his pace terrified opponents but his end product was often very poor.

26-01-2019, 01:21 PM
The player and their situation would have just as much to do with the decision as our clubs current uncertainty. The contract might be more money or security or a step up the ladder regardless of who our boss is. Would Lennon have been able to tell a striker what our style of football was. I've no idea what style Lennon favours as we have played pretty much every style from total hoofball to total football.

Ok. We'll just have to wait and see.

I don't expect a signing today, although I did yesterday, and if we do sign anyone this week, I don't expect it will be a loan ( why would a club allow a player to go to a managerless club?), but I expect the word "underwhelmed" to feature heavily on the boards.

As usual when pessimistic forecasts are made, I hope I'm wrong.

26-01-2019, 01:24 PM

People who wanted rid of Lennon yesterday were being realistic, but I disagreed with them.

You also told them their negativity was pointless. Perhaps their appreciation of the negative situation the club was in with Lennon is why they have been able to look forward from his departure quicker than you seemingly have. Lennon’s departure obviously took you by surprise, for others the writing has been on the wall for a while.

26-01-2019, 01:25 PM
We need signings this window and now have nae manager to make them. Yep, it's certainly Hibs.

26-01-2019, 01:33 PM
We need signings this window and now have nae manager to make them. Yep, it's certainly Hibs.

Always remember that NL is not the Hibernian manager. He us the Head Coach and there is a reason for that differentiation.

26-01-2019, 01:41 PM
Always remember that NL is not the Hibernian manager. He us the Head Coach and there is a reason for that differentiation.

But weren't signings his decision also?

26-01-2019, 01:41 PM
You also told them their negativity was pointless. Perhaps their appreciation of the negative situation the club was in with Lennon is why they have been able to look forward from his departure quicker than you seemingly have. Lennon’s departure obviously took you by surprise, for others the writing has been on the wall for a while.

This. But what’s done is done. 👍

26-01-2019, 01:43 PM

Clearly there was a chance he'd leave, but I couldn't see him being sacked this season. What happened last night was was a total surprise to everyone but I await the folk with 20/20 hindsight telling me otherwise.

90+2 said that someone's positivity or optimism was pointless. I wanted to know what the point of his negatively was. I didn't say it was pointless (unless I compared it to the optimism he criticised, I don't remember.)

If you were an agent would you advise me to sign for a club who had just suspended their manager? You didn't answer that although you criticised me for saying that I didn't think many players would.

You know what, let's stop. I concede.

We'll see what happens, or doesn't, soon enough.

26-01-2019, 01:56 PM
We have now completed our transfer activity.
Expect that statement anytime soon.:confused:

26-01-2019, 01:58 PM
We have now completed our transfer activity.
Expect that statement anytime soon.:confused:

I know you’re being a bit hysterical but you’re not wrong. It’ll definitely be before the 2nd of February, which is only 7 days away.

26-01-2019, 02:38 PM

Apparently

Horgan? That is utter drivel.

K-Zazu
26-01-2019, 02:43 PM
We won’t be bringing in any new players surely? Hard to take I know but we are in turmoil

MacGruber
26-01-2019, 02:50 PM
We won’t be bringing in any new players surely? Hard to take I know but we are in turmoil

It's still.possible to bring in players without a manager in charge, the club/George Craig can still do it. The question is obviously from an incoming players perspective would you come to a club with no manager? Will the next guy want you/play you? If I was the approached player it would be a no on that basis

26-01-2019, 02:54 PM
I know you’re being a bit hysterical but you’re not wrong. It’ll definitely be before the 2nd of February, which is only 7 days away.
Not hysterical in the least, being realistic.

26-01-2019, 02:58 PM
Lennon “I want X and Y”

Board “were not going to pay the money for them but you can have R and S who are cheaper alternatives who once played for their national team”

Lennon “But..”

Board “That’s the best we can do, by the way pretend you wanted them”

26-01-2019, 03:00 PM
I'll be surprised if we now sign anyone during the remainder of this window and pretty astonished if anyone we did sign was of any great quality.

We have a limited budget in terms of wages and buying so with a new manager required it would be frankly irresponsible to go committing that before we know what direction the new manager will want to go. Before yesterday this season was likely to be top six at the very best. Today this season is avoid anything too low in the league and muster the best cup run possible, anything else is a bonus. Why throw good money at those two outcomes for short term expediency?

In addition, any decent player is going to want both the money and an idea of what the club he is signing for is about. At the moment we cannot say who our manager is and it's hard to draw a picture of where we will be heading next season. We also have a major bust up internally with no clear external picture of the who, what or why - that's not an attractive picture for prospective signings.

Anything that happens until the end of this season is going to have to come from the players we've got and whatever manager we bring in.

Suggesting the Board may use this position to avoid making signings would be incoherent drivel. In fact if they do make signings beyond the very clear short-term stop gaps there is a case for saying it would be against the interests of the club.

26-01-2019, 03:05 PM
We’d be better selling anyone with any value next week, don’t sign anyone else and right off this season now.

Let the new manger use the money in the summer to bring in a few loans to see us through to January.

26-01-2019, 03:07 PM

Half way through the season if he'd returned to Man City I wouldn't have been bothered. I thought he bottled out of challenges and had no end product. By the end of the season while the former was the same. he had did have an end product and I thought there was a buzz round the crowd when he got the ball. If we could get back the Barker from the second half of last season I'd be delighted.

Suppose it's all about opinions, I've seen quite a bit of praise for Agyepong and while I don't think he's brutal I've never been overly impressed and would have sent him back to Man City this month.

26-01-2019, 03:07 PM
We’d be better selling anyone with any value next week, don’t sign anyone else and right off this season now.

Let the new manger use the money in the summer to bring in a few loans to see us through to January.

Why exactly should we sell anyone with any value? Even if this season was a write off, can they not play next season?

26-01-2019, 03:12 PM
Lennon “I want X and Y”

Board “were not going to pay the money for them but you can have R and S who are cheaper alternatives who once played for their national team”

Lennon “But..”

Board “That’s the best we can do, by the way pretend you wanted them”

Do you really think Neil Lennon would put up with that?

Not a chance.

26-01-2019, 03:15 PM
What the **** is going on?
What is going
What the **** is going on?!

Etc

26-01-2019, 03:16 PM
I'll be surprised if we now sign anyone during the remainder of this window and pretty astonished if anyone we did sign was of any great quality.

I still wouldn’t be surprised to see Allan in this window. He’s coming anyway in the summer and I doubt many potential managers would be against him coming in.

26-01-2019, 03:20 PM
What is going

Etc

Or, more appropriately for the sheite show we're in;

What the fu-u-***

26-01-2019, 03:20 PM
St Mirren have signed winger Anders Dreyer on loan from Brighton & Hove Albion for the rest of the season.

Dreyer, 20, has represented his country up to under-21 level and has played for Brighton's under-23 side since joining the club from Esbjerg in August.

The Buddies host Hibernian on Sunday and Dreyer could feature.

26-01-2019, 03:31 PM
Not hysterical in the least, being realistic.

Okay, let’s agree that you were just stating the obvious then, given there’s only a week left of the window.

26-01-2019, 03:37 PM
Do you really think Neil Lennon would put up with that?

Not a chance.

Maybe he’s not and that’s the point

26-01-2019, 04:14 PM
Maybe he’s not and that’s the point

The story was that he'd been putting up with that in the past and that he had no say in at least 3 signings.

I think it's just a standard lazy rumour started out of mischief.

26-01-2019, 06:01 PM
Okay, let’s agree that you were just stating the obvious then, given there’s only a week left of the window.
Ok if you're happy with that.😊

mcfly
26-01-2019, 06:22 PM

Eh??

Write the season off in January!

What a great idea...😳 let’s forget top 6 and the cup

That’s a good way to get the 14000 season ticket holders to sign up again.

Take their money and show absolutely no ambition.

Scotty Leither
26-01-2019, 08:18 PM
Classy.

Acknowledged and deleted.

dunfyhibby
26-01-2019, 08:21 PM

Agree 100%

26-01-2019, 08:29 PM
Eh??

Write the season off in January!

What a great idea...😳 let’s forget top 6 and the cup

That’s a good way to get the 14000 season ticket holders to sign up again.

Take their money and show absolutely no ambition.

Seasons a write off anyways and any pretence of ambition was chucked out the window in the summer and reinforced today.

ST sales will drop off a cliff.

mcfly
26-01-2019, 08:34 PM
Seasons a write off anyways and any pretence of ambition was chucked out the window in the summer and reinforced today.

What Utter rubbish

26-01-2019, 09:38 PM
Still need 3/4 new players imo.

Likelihood of us getting a new manager and players in by Thursday is very unlikely.

Wonder if they will keep pursuing players hoping that the new manager will agree to them when he comes in so they’re good to go.

26-01-2019, 09:44 PM

A top six finish may now be very difficult to achieve, but we're still in the Scottish Cup so the season is hardly over.

After record sales for this year, season ticket sales were always likely to be down a bit. How much will depend on the new manager and his signings.

BoyledEgg
26-01-2019, 11:10 PM
I’m guessing Mclaren is back in Edinburgh going by his IG story.

26-01-2019, 11:18 PM
I reckon Maclaren's move back hame is off now. We'll need him.

27-01-2019, 12:24 AM

Brutal is harsh, but he certainly took a while to get going.

davhibby
27-01-2019, 12:50 AM

I'd say that's almost a certainty. We need players in which probably won't happen so we definitely can't be letting anyone go

Dr_Regal
27-01-2019, 01:19 AM
Barker was getting better and betters saw him make a cameo for Preston a couple of months back, he was brilliant. Don’t fool yourselves, would be a terrific signing.

27-01-2019, 01:27 AM
I'd say that's almost a certainty. We need players in which probably won't happen so we definitely can't be letting anyone go

Mclaren will be happy to be coming back. He didn’t want to go back to Australia at this stage of his career.

Tornadoes70
27-01-2019, 01:52 AM
Barker was getting better and betters saw him make a cameo for Preston a couple of months back, he was brilliant. Don’t fool yourselves, would be a terrific signing.

Brandon was a terrific player who got visibly better the longer he played with us. I'd be very surprised to see him return but absolutely over the moon if he did. A brilliant winger. Was that not the turning point with Lenny when he sat Brandon on the bench at the piggery when we could have set about them on both flanks?

Mon the Cabbage!!!

27-01-2019, 06:53 AM
Brandon was a terrific player who got visibly better the longer he played with us. I'd be very surprised to see him return but absolutely over the moon if he did. A brilliant winger. Was that not the turning point with Lenny when he sat Brandon on the bench at the piggery when we could have set about them on both flanks?

Mon the Cabbage!!!

He tried that in the 2-1 defeat at the end of last season and it didnt really work. Dropped McLaren and McGeouch I think.

27-01-2019, 06:54 AM

Hopefully he comes back fit and raring to go and a new manager would assume would help him also.

Would include him today if he is ok to play.

MacGruber
27-01-2019, 08:05 AM
I think it might even be best to use the Jan transfer budget to pay off Neil Lennon's contract. We could save that money if the contract is teminated but that may or may not be possible and even if so would take a protracted period of time. Also I like Neil Lennon and he did a great job for Hibs and there is maybe a moral duty on the club to honour the payment instead of trying to angle out like sone kind of insurance company. We gave Lennon the rolling contract in good faith.
This would enable us to make a quick appointment. I think that as important as getting new players, maybe more so. I know we are short of players but with Lennon gone the fractous dressingroom might pull together and we get more out of Kamberi, MacLaren, Gray among others.

Having said Lennon did a great job (I really like him now having won me over from a position of not wanting him) - his time was up. Brilliant manager for us when he was on it but for a variety of reasons that period of him managing Hibs had ended and dressingroom lost a while ago.

Probably not a popular view, not least in Petrie's office but just pay the man and let's move forward asap

27-01-2019, 08:52 AM
Shrewsbury Towns' number 8 would be a good signing based on his performance against PL opposition yesterday.

27-01-2019, 08:55 AM
Shrewsbury Towns' number 8 would be a good signing based on his performance against PL opposition yesterday.

Greg Docherty? On loan from Rangers.

Said we should have signed him last year when he was still relatively unknown and before Rangers wanted him.

Box to box, full of energy and a goal scoring midfielder.

27-01-2019, 09:00 AM
Hopefully he comes back fit and raring to go and a new manager would assume would help him also.

Would include him today if he is ok to play.

He's a great player and for whatever reason it hasn't worked out for him this season. If we can get him back to last season's form then that's one less striker needed already.

27-01-2019, 09:03 AM
I think it might even be best to use the Jan transfer budget to pay off Neil Lennon's contract. We could save that money if the contract is teminated but that may or may not be possible and even if so would take a protracted period of time. Also I like Neil Lennon and he did a great job for Hibs and there is maybe a moral duty on the club to honour the payment instead of trying to angle out like sone kind of insurance company. We gave Lennon the rolling contract in good faith.
This would enable us to make a quick appointment. I think that as important as getting new players, maybe more so. I know we are short of players but with Lennon gone the fractous dressingroom might pull together and we get more out of Kamberi, MacLaren, Gray among others.

Having said Lennon did a great job (I really like him now having won me over from a position of not wanting him) - his time was up. Brilliant manager for us when he was on it but for a variety of reasons that period of him managing Hibs had ended and dressingroom lost a while ago.

Probably not a popular view, not least in Petrie's office but just pay the man and let's move forward asap

Disagree with this. The contract that he signed would have expected him to conform to certain behavioural standards. He's obviously breached those standards to end up suspended. It was his duty to honour those standards, not Hibs duty to pay him off even after breaching them purely because he done a decent job in his first two seasons. He was paid for that through his salary and any relevant bonuses at the time.

I do get what you're saying about paying him off and getting an appointment in quicker but Hibs don't have an endless pit of money unfortunately.

27-01-2019, 09:05 AM
He's a great player and for whatever reason it hasn't worked out for him this season. If we can get him back to last season's form then that's one less striker needed already.

I don't agree that he's a great player but as someone who was more than vocal about thinking it would be best for him to be moved on I'd quite like to see him given another go under a different manager, especially given our current situation with regards to strikers. I doubt he'll be available today though. He only played on Friday and can't have got home any more than about half a day ago.

MacGruber
27-01-2019, 09:06 AM
Disagree with this. The contract that he signed would have expected him to conform to certain behavioural standards. He's obviously breached those standards to end up suspended. It was his duty to honour those standards, not Hibs duty to pay him off even after breaching them purely because he done a decent job in his first two seasons. He was paid for that through his salary and any relevant bonuses at the time.

I do get what you're saying about paying him off and getting an appointment in quicker but Hibs don't have an endless pit of money unfortunately.

Yeah fair point mate - hadn't considered it that way. I guess on the premise that he was just being gotten shot of but if he genuinely has been guilty of something serious enough to be gross misconduct then fair point.

27-01-2019, 09:54 AM
Notice Peterbrough have sacked Steve Evans. I wonder if Cumdog will fancy his chances there now?

Darren Fergus on appointed.

w pilton hibby
27-01-2019, 10:12 AM
Notice Peterbrough have sacked Steve Evans. I wonder if Cumdog will fancy his chances there now?

Jason Cummings has become a problem!

https://www.nottinghampost.com/sport/football/transfer-news/nottingham-forest-striker-jason-cummings-2468360

27-01-2019, 11:04 AM

https://www.nottinghampost.com/sport/football/transfer-news/nottingham-forest-striker-jason-cummings-2468360

Would do himself no harm dropping the a team like MK Dons and proving people wrong but I suspect he may even get found out at that level.

27-01-2019, 02:48 PM

He was partying in town last night. Obviously prioritising that over his career

27-01-2019, 02:51 PM
Today was more evidence that we need more strikers and wingers with pace.

27-01-2019, 03:05 PM
Today was more evidence that we need more strikers and wingers with pace.

We’ve got Boyle and wee tam out injured. Wingers less of a concern than as striker and a centre back for me.

27-01-2019, 09:51 PM
4 days left, will we make signings this week? Are people stocking up on crisps , sweets and juice?

27-01-2019, 11:43 PM
We’ve got Boyle and wee tam out injured. Wingers less of a concern than as striker and a centre back for me.

Exactly - out injured is no use to us right now.

Boyle is out for the season and Aygyepong although is coming back to full fitness, have proved unreliable so far and prone to injuries.

With Lennon now out the door I can’t see MacLaren leaving and he is now back fit.

Jamie Mac and Flo have done it before and they can do it again.

27-01-2019, 11:57 PM

Good find.
That is damning. Makes him look a total erse.

Fry saying he doesn't want to sign for Scottish teams who are interested is of great note. Obviously Rangers & Celtic not interested.

Don't understand why Peterborough are allowing him to fanny arse about in Scotland if they want rid.
They should be working him as hard as possible, have him training on his own early in the day, play for the development team etc to make him want to leave.

28-01-2019, 12:07 AM
Good find.
That is damning. Makes him look a total erse.

Not wanting to sign for Scottish teams who are interested is of note.

Don't understand why Peterborough are allowing him to fanny arse about in Scotland if they want rid.
They should be working him as hard as possible, have him training on his own early in the day etc to make him want to leave.

The guy who gave the interview is Barry Fry, probably the biggest bull****ter of all time.

28-01-2019, 12:14 AM
The guy who gave the interview is Barry Fry, probably the biggest bull****ter of all time.

Surprised he is still alive.
Has had two heart attacks and according to him his dick fell off. Madman.

28-01-2019, 06:45 AM
Need at least one striker this window, possibly a centre back. The rest of the squad we can just about manage with. This is dependent on us keeping Maclaren though.

Sproule Three
28-01-2019, 09:00 AM
Need at least one striker this window, possibly a centre back. The rest of the squad we can just about manage with. This is dependent on us keeping Maclaren though.

That might not be happening .
Just seen this .
Melbourne City manager is mentioning him by name and hoping to have him in squad for Sunday . I’ll be at the game too .

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/soccer/city-fume-at-offside-goal-hope-to-get-maclaren-for-sydney-game-20190127-p50txd.html

28-01-2019, 09:54 AM

Again

28-01-2019, 10:20 AM

It's really up to Darmstadt and Jamie. It may be Darmstadt want to cut their losses and would accept an offer from Melbourne. Then it would be up to Jamie if he wanted to go.

28-01-2019, 10:24 AM
Don't think he was brutal, his pace terrified opponents but his end product was often very poor.

:agree: Agreed. There were encouraging signs towards the end - run ending in goal v Killie, run ending in assist for McLaren v Sevco but most of the time he was with us was spent getting into great positions only to squander them.

Hibiza
28-01-2019, 10:35 AM
hopefully im wrong , cant see any signings coming with the management situation. :flag:

28-01-2019, 10:36 AM
hopefully im wrong , cant see any signings coming with the management situation. :flag:

We'll still sign players. At least 2 before the window shuts.

28-01-2019, 10:45 AM

Marc McNulty seems to be a name I keep seeing piping up on social media etc

28-01-2019, 10:51 AM

Got to agree

28-01-2019, 10:54 AM

I hope you're right..and I hope they are good ! :greengrin

28-01-2019, 11:07 AM
if we can still sign players this week can we please bring in players with a bit of height, strength and muscle.
I was at Paisley yesterday and got the opportunity to look at Nelom, Agyepong, the new lad from Italy, Horgan, Mallan and Gauld! I don’t think any of them are above 5ft 6ins tall and none of them 10 stones wet through! (maybe a slight exaggeration) but you know what I mean. I watched the front 3 of Motherwell during the week bully the life out of our defence because they had pace muscle and skill. Our front two of Shaw and Kamberi have the height but are easily outmuscled.
Just a thought.

28-01-2019, 11:08 AM
Rumours of McLaren out and McNulty in going about

28-01-2019, 11:12 AM

Hmmm 😉

28-01-2019, 11:18 AM

Where are you seeing these rumours?

28-01-2019, 11:18 AM
I hope you're right..and I hope they are good ! :greengrin

I hope one is Scott Allan, assuming he can negotiate a payoff from Celtic.

A striker or two and some defensive cover (assuming Porteous is out for a while) would cap things off.

28-01-2019, 11:19 AM
Hmmm 😉

You heard something?

28-01-2019, 11:20 AM
That might not be happening .
Just seen this .
Melbourne City manager is mentioning him by name and hoping to have him in squad for Sunday . I’ll be at the game too .

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/soccer/city-fume-at-offside-goal-hope-to-get-maclaren-for-sydney-game-20190127-p50txd.html

That would launch the cat in among the pigeons right enough

28-01-2019, 11:29 AM
4 days left, will we make signings this week? Are people stocking up on crisps , sweets and juice?

In the light of current events I would suggest a more fit for purpose snack list would incorporate a vast number of painkillers and hallucinogenics. And nappies, lots and lots of nappies.

28-01-2019, 11:31 AM
Where are you seeing these rumours?

I heard from a friend, both names mentioned on here already so other people must be talking about it too so there could be something in it

28-01-2019, 11:32 AM
In the light of current events I would suggest a more fit for purpose snack list would incorporate a vast number of painkillers and hallucinogenics. And nappies, lots and lots of nappies.
:agree::rotflmao:

28-01-2019, 11:36 AM
I heard from a friend, both names mentioned on here already so other people must be talking about it too so there could be something in it

Cheers mate.

McNulty is one that seems to get linked with us every window and I’m sure he’s a hibs fan but I just can never see him coming here for some reason.

28-01-2019, 11:40 AM
Cheers mate.

McNulty is one that seems to get linked with us every window and I’m sure he’s a hibs fan but I just can never see him coming here for some reason.

Celtic fan

28-01-2019, 11:51 AM
Cheers mate.

Binned by Hibs when he was 16

28-01-2019, 11:55 AM
That would launch the cat in among the pigeons right enough

If Jamie leaves we probably need two strikers in this window.

I think sleep might be optional for LD and co over the next few days because there is a lot of work to do.

28-01-2019, 11:57 AM
Cheers mate.

I think he moved in the summer but is out of favour at his new club. I'm probably thinking of someone else though

28-01-2019, 11:59 AM
He moved from Coventry to Reading for a few million i believe

28-01-2019, 12:04 PM

I think sleep might be optional for LD and co over the next few days because there is a lot of work to do.

If I were LD (and I'm certainly not) I'd be having a long hard look at the league table this morning and wondering whether to spend any more money this window.

Even without additional signings we are almost certainly safe from relegation. We will be bringing in a new manager and he will want and need money to spend on his own targets. So why spend that money now, in a hurry, before he arrives? It may help us into the top six - may - but its not going to get us fourth or higher. Better to spend it later on the players needed to reshape the whole squad to challenge for top four next season?

The only counter to that I can think of is that we need to go on a run to have a chance of bolstering season ticket sales. Will signing some players now achieve that? Hmm.

28-01-2019, 12:09 PM
If I were LD (and I'm certainly not) I'd be having a long hard look at the league table this morning and wondering whether to spend any more money this window.

Even without additional signings we are almost certainly safe from relegation. We will be bringing in a new manager and he will want and need money to spend on his own targets. So why spend that money now, in a hurry, before he arrives? It may help us into the top six - may - but its not going to get us fourth or higher. Better to spend it later on the players needed to reshape the whole squad to challenge for top four next season?

The only counter to that I can think of is that we need to go on a run to have a chance of bolstering season ticket sales. Will signing some players now achieve that? Hmm.

How we perform from now until the end of the season will determine our future budgets though season ticket sale, a potential cup run and league position.

28-01-2019, 12:19 PM

League schmeague, there's a Scottish Cup to win. And we have proved that on their day*, this team can be a match for anyone else in Scotland.

* admittedly there haven't been that many of them, but we beat Celtc and drew home and away with Sevco just a few weeks ago.

28-01-2019, 12:24 PM

A good point, that's the logic we are faced with I think :woohoo:

28-01-2019, 12:29 PM
Aberdeen signing Morgan. Oh well, LOLZ

28-01-2019, 12:31 PM

Saw that they also want to bring back Hayes. Stewart, Hayes and Morgan would be good recruitment from them

Keyser Sauzee
28-01-2019, 12:35 PM
Why are folk still surprised Aberdeen are making good signings, they’re getting cash pumped into which makes they’re budget bigger than ours and hearts.

28-01-2019, 12:41 PM

I just read yes talking too Sunderland?

28-01-2019, 12:51 PM

Think we'll be lucky to get 1

28-01-2019, 12:59 PM

No need to reshape the whole squad. But we are light upfront (especially if Jamie leaves, as is rumoured) and have barely any cover at centre back.

Everywhere else looks ok. I take your point about not wanting to invest too heavily right now, but we are short in a couple of crucial areas.

mcfly
28-01-2019, 01:37 PM

That would not wash with fans and would seem like penny pinching and a distict lack of ambition.

Any new manager works with the players at his disposal to make the team better.

The board have to get this right they have to persuade people to part with season ticket money in a couple of months. Not spending on players now when we desperately need them is wrong.

What happens if Kamberi is injured - we have no cover at all

Min 2 strikers needed.

28-01-2019, 03:16 PM

Blows away all the ***** about Celtic loaning out players to clubs that will weaken their rivals.....

28-01-2019, 03:20 PM
Blows away all the ***** about Celtic loaning out players to clubs that will weaken their rivals.....

I don't think Celtc view Aberdeen as genuine rivals - as conceited as that may be by them.

They'll be happy to give Aberdeen a foot-up to derail Rangers though (IMHO).

28-01-2019, 03:26 PM

And remove all chairs from living room.

28-01-2019, 03:28 PM
I don't think Celtc view Aberdeen as genuine rivals - as conceited as that may be by them.

They'll be happy to give Aberdeen a foot-up to derail Rangers though (IMHO).

I do think Aberdeen are their rivals, but I’ve no idea what Celtic think.

28-01-2019, 03:36 PM
He moved from Coventry to Reading for a few million i believe

Think it was £1 million. What a waste.

Caversham Green
28-01-2019, 04:13 PM
Think it was £1 million. What a waste.

Undisclosed fee but £1.5m was the general consensus. He's had a handful of games at Reading - looks mobile, fast and could probably have had a good partnership with Bodvarsson given the chance. On the other hand, he's only got the one fairly simple goal and missed at least one penalty. As I've said on the PM board I'd view his signing with interest rather than excitement. I do think he'd benefit greatly from a move away from Reading though.

28-01-2019, 04:58 PM
Kilmarnock sign Conor MaCaleny on loan.

Very good signing.

28-01-2019, 05:06 PM

Very good signing.

The Fleetwood town striker?

Goals record is nothing exciting

Infact 0 in 14 in league 1 this year

28-01-2019, 05:07 PM

Very good signing.

Why? (Genuine question). 18 goals in 8 years as a pro.

28-01-2019, 05:08 PM
Undisclosed fee but £1.5m was the general consensus. He's had a handful of games at Reading - looks mobile, fast and could probably have had a good partnership with Bodvarsson given the chance. On the other hand, he's only got the one fairly simple goal and missed at least one penalty. As I've said on the PM board I'd view his signing with interest rather than excitement. I do think he'd benefit greatly from a move away from Reading though.

He’s 100% the type of forward we lack and wants to come to us. Expect a loan out of reading in the next couple of days.

28-01-2019, 05:17 PM
Yeah the Fleetwood Town player.

Knew him at Everton and was hoping we would get him on loan through the Stubbs connection and then again on loan at Wigan.

Would say he more plays just off the striker rather than up on his own so to speak.

Very good technically and the sort of Striker who the majority of his goals will come from outside the box.

Would have loved him here.

Looking at his Wiki I can see why people won’t think much of him at a glance, but those English leagues are just full of battering rams and getting it from A-Z as quick as possible.

https://youtu.be/XheZOoJRN8k

A short video of what he is capable of.

28-01-2019, 05:25 PM
Yeah the Fleetwood Town player.

Knew him at Everton and was hoping we would get him on loan through the Stubbs connection and then again on loan at Wigan.

Would say he more plays just off the striker rather than up on his own so to speak.

Very good technically and the sort of Striker who the majority of his goals will come from outside the box.

Would have loved him here.

Looking at his Wiki I can see why people won’t think much of him at a glance, but those English leagues are just full of battering rams and getting it from A-Z as quick as possible.

https://youtu.be/XheZOoJRN8k

A short video of what he is capable of.

Loves a screamer

28-01-2019, 06:20 PM
John Fleck linked with a multi million pound move to West Ham!

28-01-2019, 06:22 PM
John Fleck linked with a multi million pound move to West Ham!

Was always going to be the next Robert Snodgrass 👍

28-01-2019, 06:25 PM
Was always going to be the next Robert Snodgrass [emoji106]

He’s done well tbh at Sheff Utd!

28-01-2019, 06:57 PM
And remove all chairs from living room.

28-01-2019, 07:12 PM
Better to not be indoors at all. We could all head outside for fresh air and sit on the dyke......

28-01-2019, 07:20 PM
He’s done well tbh at Sheff Utd!

Yeah I know, it was a sarcastic attempt at the Scottish Rooney while at the huns all they years back. He’s had a fantastic career down south and fair play to the lad.

28-01-2019, 07:22 PM
Yeah I know, it was a sarcastic attempt at the Scottish Rooney while at the huns all they years back. He’s had a fantastic career down south and fair play to the lad.

Ha! Yeah he has and looks like it’s going to maybe continue in the big smoke.

28-01-2019, 07:35 PM

He was always a decent player but the hype was ridiculous! Same as Mark Burchill the Scottish "Owen"

28-01-2019, 07:40 PM
Ha! Yeah he has and looks like it’s going to maybe continue in the big smoke.

Funnily enough I was watching an episode of The Sweeney in the background earlier on. I feel old son. You're nicked.

28-01-2019, 07:42 PM
Funnily enough I was watching an episode of The Sweeney in the background earlier on. I feel old son. You're nicked.

And we haven’t had any dinner. Used to love that program! Watch the odd re run ma san!

28-01-2019, 07:47 PM
And we haven’t had any dinner. Used to love that program! Watch the odd re run ma san!

Don't give me that luv, were is he? Another double Guv?

There are some PCs in it but it's really not PC...

28-01-2019, 07:50 PM
Don't give me that luv, were is he? Another double Guv?

There are some PCs in it but it's really not PC...

[emoji23].

‘SHUT IT’.......this is the Winter Transfer Thread [emoji85]

28-01-2019, 08:22 PM
[emoji23].

‘SHUT IT’.......this is the Winter Transfer Thread [emoji85]

I'm only here for the quotes since they did away with the puns.

Have we signed David Platt yet?

28-01-2019, 08:27 PM

Have we signed David Platt yet?

They've done away with the puns? I'm leaving .net if that's the case :boo hoo:

Inconsequential
28-01-2019, 08:29 PM

Have we signed David Platt yet? What do we need a male hairdresser from Weatherfield for? And don't say to cut hair. :wink:

21sMay
28-01-2019, 08:35 PM
I hope we don't sign McNulty . My personal opinion is he just isn't good enough. I've seen alot of him the last few seasons, had a decent season before joining reading but I was shocked to see him get the move as I think his level is league 1. Jason Cummings would without doubt be a far superior signing to McNulty

28-01-2019, 08:38 PM
What do we need a male hairdresser from Weatherfield for? And don't say to cut hair. :wink:

Put it this way, can you name another one in our squad already? No?

It's obvious we're short in that department then.

28-01-2019, 11:46 PM
Bruno Alves to Juventus. Probably one of the weirdest yet most delightful non-Hibernian signing there’s ever been 😂😂😂

Tornadoes70
28-01-2019, 11:49 PM
What do we need a male hairdresser from Weatherfield for? And don't say to cut hair. :wink:

28-01-2019, 11:50 PM
Bruno Alves to Juventus. Probably one of the weirdest yet most delightful non-Hibernian signing there’s ever been 😂😂😂
Wisnae good enough for Sevco though....... :wink:

29-01-2019, 12:07 AM
Wisnae good enough for Sevco though....... :wink:

Makes it even more amazing. They had to pay up two years of his contact now he’s away to the Italian Champs for good money.

29-01-2019, 12:10 AM
I heard Malaury Martin is off to Real Madrid. Still not as strange as Alves to Juve.

scotiaf
29-01-2019, 12:44 AM
I know of no rumors, however I can’t see us signing anyone on a perm deal with no manager in place. So guess we might get a loan or 2 if lucky.

29-01-2019, 01:29 AM

Really?!