View Full Version : Greggs Winter transfer thread - repetitive discussion only (hardly any transfer news)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

BegbieHSC
19-01-2019, 09:39 AM
A DM called Block and a goalie called Glover - perfect!

That’s outstanding 😂😂

19-01-2019, 09:42 AM
In torn with this Cummings rumoured signing.
On one hand I'm not to fussed if he comes back.
Then I look at the YouTube clips and it reminds me of the great goals he scored and some were against decent opposition.

I also think if we got Allan in during this window he knows the runs and positions Cummings takes up and Cummings knows what kind of runs to make for Allan

Tough one

19-01-2019, 09:43 AM
Would be great to get JC back.

He’s still young and can improve - like Allan - Cummings suits Hibs plus he loves a goal against the Jambos.

For me - he’s always got a goal in him and would definitely add more character to the team and a fans favourite back where we have lost quite a few recently.

Cummings is an upgrade on Shaw and Lewis Allen so it’s a no brainer.

Austinho
19-01-2019, 09:49 AM
I’m warming to the idea of Cummings too - offers more than Maclaren as is more skilful on the ball, can cut inside and score from outside the box.

19-01-2019, 09:51 AM
A DM called Block and a goalie called Glover - perfect!

We need to find out what Ted Striker is up to these days.

19-01-2019, 09:57 AM
We need to find out what Ted Striker is up to these days.
His career is Oveur and he's Dunn.

19-01-2019, 09:58 AM
"and it's Cummings down the line"

Lol forgot about that

“Made a right Hash brown of that penalty”
“If Stokesy hair was real he’d have scored that”

19-01-2019, 10:02 AM

That can’t be right Shirley?

Thistlecrack
19-01-2019, 10:06 AM
https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OGC.5047fbb48ea04bc957c29d82d465a9cd&pid=Api&rurl=https%3a%2f%2fmedia.giphy.com%2fmedia%2f3oEjH Lzm4BCF8zfPy0%2fgiphy.gif&ehk=q82gbhu0K0rvCf5FRbJEBw

Hibernian32
19-01-2019, 10:35 AM
He's no finished he's only 28

BoyledEgg
19-01-2019, 10:36 AM
Thats what Defoe will earn,the stickies will only be paying a % of that

He earns over 100k at Bournemouth.

Anyone notice Stokes is back in Iran.

19-01-2019, 10:58 AM
Lawrence Shankland isn’t in the Ayr Utd squad today.... 🤔

Godsahibby
19-01-2019, 11:00 AM

Been injured for a few weeks now.

19-01-2019, 11:05 AM
Been injured for a few weeks now.

Ahh right, I didn’t know that. 🙈

19-01-2019, 11:09 AM
I'm on the fence with Cummings too. If he signs im happy enough, if not i wont lose any sleep over it. For him personally i think coming back to Hibs is a no brainer. Hometown club and familiarity. Will just need to see how it pans out.

BlackSheep
19-01-2019, 11:14 AM

On the bench.

19-01-2019, 11:18 AM
On the bench.

He’s not Black Sheep

19-01-2019, 11:20 AM
He’s not Black Sheep

There is a Shankland on the bench for Talbot.

BlackSheep
19-01-2019, 11:24 AM
He’s not Black Sheep

Different Shankland...?

19-01-2019, 11:27 AM
Aye, in the championship. Unproven at SPL level. It's a no from me.

How many goals did Riordan, O'Connor, Killen, Stokes, Griffiths et al score against Hearts?

19-01-2019, 11:35 AM
Cummings had a good goal scoring record against teams in the premiership when we were in the championship.

Tobias Funke
19-01-2019, 11:42 AM
How many goals did Riordan, O'Connor, Killen, Stokes, Griffiths et al score against Hearts?

That shouldn’t be the criteria for signing someone and besides, some of those players mentioned had decent scoring records against Hearts.

weehissy
19-01-2019, 11:49 AM
Dont think he`s over Oveur but i think he`s under Dunne :wink:

19-01-2019, 12:05 PM
Wouldn't break the bank for Cummings but he's a better all round player than McLaren and Shaw and has a good goal scoring record. Also brings confidence and camaraderie to the dressing room which we've been lacking. So it's a yes for me.

Dazzjw1875
19-01-2019, 12:21 PM
Just seen on Twitter McNulty has been put on the transfer list and says Hibs have made contact regarding a deal..

19-01-2019, 12:22 PM
Just seen on Twitter McNulty has been put on the transfer list and says Hibs have made contact regarding a deal..

On what twitter handle though?

Dazzjw1875
19-01-2019, 12:24 PM
On what twitter handle though?

Same one who just posted pictures of the new guy with scarf having his photo shoot at ER.

Dazzjw1875
19-01-2019, 12:26 PM
Hibs transfer news

19-01-2019, 12:37 PM

Sunderland also interested in him. Shock.

19-01-2019, 12:41 PM
Hibs transfer news

Lifted straight off the pm board

19-01-2019, 12:48 PM
Hibs transfer news

Shock. Wee fanny passing it off as his own info?

19-01-2019, 12:52 PM
Sunderland also interested in him. Shock.

Jack Ross And Sunderland are really starting the p me off

19-01-2019, 12:57 PM
That shouldn’t be the criteria for signing someone and besides, some of those players mentioned had decent scoring records against Hearts.

Honestly? I think it's the most important criteria. Shows they can handle the big games. Some of our superstars (particularly Mowbray's team) had pathetic records against Hearts.

Killen, Stokes and Griffiths all scored 2. Riordan and O'Connor had 5/6 each I think, but this was over
5/6 years and a number were consolations. Cummings has 5 in less than ten derbies and we never lost when he scored.

Lemonade
19-01-2019, 01:23 PM
Shock. Wee fanny passing it off as his own info?

How is he doing that ?
He clearly states on his page that the rumours are taken from various places.

Why do you think he’s a fanny?

Tobias Funke
19-01-2019, 01:30 PM
Honestly? I think it's the most important criteria. Shows they can handle the big games. Some of our superstars (particularly Mowbray's team) had pathetic records against Hearts.

Killen, Stokes and Griffiths all scored 2. Riordan and O'Connor had 5/6 each I think, but this was over
5/6 years and a number were consolations. Cummings has 5 in less than ten derbies and we never lost when he scored.

Don’t get me wrong I want to beat Hearts as much as you do but to use Cummings goal record against one team alone (in a debate about signing him or not) is false logic. There are ten other sides he needs to do it against.

alihibs1
19-01-2019, 01:32 PM
Agyepong walking round the pitch with a tall guy. Looked and dressed like a footballer. Looked a bit like Gershon. Might be looking to fat into it.

19-01-2019, 01:56 PM
How is he doing that ?
He clearly states on his page that the rumours are taken from various places.

Why do you think he’s a fanny?

He uses shower gel in the bath and I’m just not having that.

19-01-2019, 03:50 PM
Lifted straight off the pm board

As always

19-01-2019, 04:00 PM
Does jack ross read our rumours before he decides what players to move for.....guys a total dick

Here’s Lucy!
19-01-2019, 04:02 PM

You mean that's not normal?

19-01-2019, 04:14 PM
Gunnarsson has just put up a thank you to his teams fans as he is not extending his contract. I wonder what his next move will be?

SloopJB
19-01-2019, 04:16 PM
Does jack ross read our rumours before he decides what players to move for.....guys a total dick

I'd be a wee bit disappointed if we were only interested in players no one else was interested in.

CorrieHibs
19-01-2019, 04:16 PM
Cummings had a good goal scoring record against teams in the premiership when we were in the championship.

Apart from Hearts who else did he score against? And how many?

Just out of curiosity. Dundee United in the cup?

I just cannae mind.

19-01-2019, 04:17 PM

I just cannae mind.

Aberdeen, St Johnstone.

MacGruber
19-01-2019, 04:23 PM
Aberdeen, St Johnstone.

The The Rangers - multiple times

K-Zazu
19-01-2019, 04:37 PM

8 maybe?

Here’s Lucy!
19-01-2019, 04:38 PM

I just cannae mind.

The Neanderthals.

CorrieHibs
19-01-2019, 05:09 PM

But were Rangers not in the championship at the time?

19-01-2019, 05:11 PM
Does jack ross read our rumours before he decides what players to move for.....guys a total dickSeriously !! 😆 ffs the guy is shopping for players, possibly in the same market as hibs, there are thousands of players being touted by agents but the press pick off hibs and sunderland, thats football, if it kills you too much then you need to get a ****ing life 😆

Lemonade
19-01-2019, 05:15 PM
Seriously !! 😆 ffs the guy is shopping for players, possibly in the same market as hibs, there are thousands of players being touted by agents but the press pick off hibs and sunderland, thats football, if it kills you too much then you need to get a ****ing life 😆

Very friendly of you.

EVENTUALLY
19-01-2019, 05:30 PM
Agyepong walking round the pitch with a tall guy. Looked and dressed like a footballer. Looked a bit like Gershon. Might be looking to fat into it.

It was Efe. He's still here!!!

19-01-2019, 05:32 PM
It was Efe. He's still here!!!

:hyper i was thinking during the game i would have liked Efe in that back three, i think i've wished him back :)

give him an extra £500-£1k a week hibs, you know it would make sense

19-01-2019, 05:56 PM
:hyper i was thinking during the game i would have liked Efe in that back three, i think i've wished him back :)

give him an extra £500-£1k a week hibs, you know it would make senseWonder what the chances are of this actually happening?? It's a bit strange (in a good way) that he was there today??

Fuzzywuzzy
19-01-2019, 05:59 PM
Wonder what the chances are of this actually happening?? It's a bit strange (in a good way) that he was there today??

It's a bit strange he triggered a clause to leave and is currently without a club

19-01-2019, 06:00 PM
Very friendly of you.Thank you

FifeHibs
19-01-2019, 06:04 PM
It's a bit strange he triggered a clause to leave and is currently without a club

The big man fancied a months holiday hopefully

19-01-2019, 06:04 PM

A bit like Brexit then... ERexit?

19-01-2019, 06:16 PM
The fact he is still without a club suggests a deal may have fallen through or he has changed his mind. He had 6 months left so he was free to speak to other clubs so why wouldn't he arrange a deal then cancel the hibs contract?

19-01-2019, 08:06 PM
The fact he is still without a club suggests a deal may have fallen through or he has changed his mind. He had 6 months left so he was free to speak to other clubs so why wouldn't he arrange a deal then cancel the hibs contract?

It is a bit strange he hasn’t got a team yet, but maybe the club knew he wanted to leave at some point this month so asked him if he would agree to leave earlier in the window to save us paying his wages for a couple more weeks. Or alternatively he had to decide whether he wanted to leave by a certain date otherwise he would have had to see out the remaining of his contract

19-01-2019, 08:10 PM
Maybe other clubs dont fancy a defender who turns into Messi when he gets out his own half.

19-01-2019, 08:12 PM
Maybe other clubs dont fancy a defender who turns into Messi when he gets out his own half.

Their loss!

Changed my mind on efe a couple times, but bring him home.

19-01-2019, 08:12 PM

More fool them. Messi out his own half, Maldini in it :greengrin

Cardinal G
19-01-2019, 08:20 PM

Maybe Jack Ross is sniffing around to sign him up?

MagicSwirlingShip
19-01-2019, 08:34 PM

Maybe off to a club that are currently out of season? Middle East or China maybe...

19-01-2019, 08:38 PM
Maybe off to a club that are currently out of season? Middle East or China maybe...

Or waiting on a WP?

19-01-2019, 08:46 PM

You wouldn't want a defender that turns into Messi when he gets out his own half??

Keyser Sauzee
19-01-2019, 08:56 PM

The more Messi’s in our team the better 😉

BoyledEgg
19-01-2019, 09:04 PM
Rumour in Djurgarden is that Gunnarsson would like to come back. A few clubs have approached him though.

19-01-2019, 09:06 PM
You wouldn't want a defender that turns into Messi when he gets out his own half??

I do. I’d love Efe back.

Nevi_SOL
19-01-2019, 09:17 PM
Rumour in Djurgarden is that Gunnarsson would like to come back. A few clubs have approached him though.

That would be a class signing. Loved the big man when he was here

19-01-2019, 09:21 PM

We are a huge club world renowned indeed. Djuurgarden by Christ. Not played them in 65 years and still talking about us. Pleasing.

19-01-2019, 09:29 PM
That would be a class signing. Loved the big man when he was here

Did Gunnarsson get a regular game when he was here? I can't remember him playing regularly. He was average and on the lookout for a club for a reason. I would aim higher.

percy veer
19-01-2019, 09:45 PM
We are a huge club world renowned indeed. Djuurgarden by Christ. Not played them in 65 years and still talking about us. Pleasing.

"Pleasing" ..... please.

19-01-2019, 10:09 PM

Definitely odd. He could have picked up a couple extra weeks salary and a free trip to Dubai.

I presume he'll still find a decent club though. He could even wait into Feb as now he's a free agent the transfer window won't matter.

19-01-2019, 10:12 PM
Definitely odd. He could have picked up a couple extra weeks salary and a free trip to Dubai.

I presume he'll still find a decent club though. He could even wait into Feb as now he's a free agent the transfer window won't matter.It could be Hibs that pushed him into a quick decision in order to leave more time to replace him or at least free up his wages for incoming transfers.

20-01-2019, 06:36 AM
Did Gunnarsson get a regular game when he was here? I can't remember him playing regularly. He was average and on the lookout for a club for a reason. I would aim higher.

Not really iirc. He was a fine player but nowt special.

I think there is a bit of the ‘rose-tint’ about opinions on Gunnarsson because he was part of the SC win.

20-01-2019, 07:13 AM
It was Gunnarsson who almost put us out of the SC with his attempted clearance was it not?

20-01-2019, 07:16 AM
It was Gunnarsson who almost put us out of the SC with his attempted clearance was it not?

Yes it came off the top of the bar. Did he not also come on at 2-0 down?

20-01-2019, 07:17 AM

Was a good effort. Added to the excitement.

20-01-2019, 07:17 AM

For Gray.

20-01-2019, 07:20 AM

I'm more concerned about the furious rate of rubbing that sees a man finish his Christmas "soap on a rope" by mid-January and have to resort to the shower gel.

That's the worrying part.

DetroitHibs
20-01-2019, 08:03 AM
Not really iirc. He was a fine player but nowt special.

I think there is a bit of the ‘rose-tint’ about opinions on Gunnarsson because he was part of the SC win.

Same opinion as you, didn't see anything special in him and that was in the championship.

20-01-2019, 08:09 AM

He had it all under control.

MacGruber
20-01-2019, 08:10 AM
Same opinion as you, didn't see anything special in him and that was in the championship.

Personally really liked him. Had all the attributes - strapping big lad, tall, quick, good in the air, blonde, blue eyes, wore shades

20-01-2019, 08:15 AM

Didnt he go on to play at quite a decent level though?

20-01-2019, 08:16 AM
So, what positions do we still need to bring in reinforcements?

For me Allan now, a winger and a striker would be a great window.

20-01-2019, 08:17 AM
So, what positions do we still need to bring in reinforcements?

For me Allan now, a winger and a striker would be a great window.

Agreed, Allan now would be nice, a winger and a striker or 2. Any ideas what happens to the GK we had training with us?

20-01-2019, 08:22 AM

Scored a peach against Sevco too

BlackSheep
20-01-2019, 08:30 AM
Hope we get a ‘second’ striker in soon.

It’s clear that Lennon isn’t keen on playing two up top with the current squad, yesterday’s line up nods in the direction.

I spent a good part of yesterday’s game noticing that we are missing a player who sits central up top and stays there.... one more than a few occasions against Elgin Flo dropped off or pulled wide and received the ball and found nobody to play it through to or cross it to.

This leaves us playing the ball backwards and having to rethink the attack.

20-01-2019, 08:36 AM
I think it’s about time “time for heroes” got another watch.

MacGruber
20-01-2019, 08:52 AM
I think it’s about time “time for heroes” got another watch.

Lol, it's always time. I bought a second TV and dvd player for the livingroom and have it playing on a loop 24/7 👍

20-01-2019, 08:56 AM

20-01-2019, 09:09 AM
Lol, it's always time. I bought a second TV and dvd player for the livingroom and have it playing on a loop 24/7 👍

Lol brilliant

20-01-2019, 09:35 AM

Aye and by doing that stopped the ball going to a jambo in the box.

Since leaving Hibs he played 55 games for Djurgårdens and won the Swedish Cup while finishing third in the league.

Bleeds green
20-01-2019, 10:57 AM
If Alan houldsworth is still cummings agent I think we can safely rule out him coming back after his rants about hibs fans on Twitter last night 😳

Keyser Sauzee
20-01-2019, 11:02 AM
If Alan houldsworth is still cummings agent I think we can safely rule out him coming back after his rants about hibs fans on Twitter last night 😳

Can u screenshot them, I can’t see his tweets.

20-01-2019, 11:05 AM
There is a tweet doing the rounds on that is apparently Cummings agent having a huge pop at hibs fans. I suspect if this is his agent he will not be returning. The tweet says

“coz they are a horrible shower... short memories that lot. 180 mins against hearts led to half of them getting tattoos that summer, plus the 70 odd goals and 30 assists. If he left when he really should have they’d still be fighting Dundee Utd for promotion”

20-01-2019, 11:09 AM
There is a tweet doing the rounds on that is apparently Cummings agent having a huge pop at hibs fans. I suspect if this is his agent he will not be returning. The tweet says

“coz they are a horrible shower... short memories that lot. 180 mins against hearts led to half of them getting tattoos that summer, plus the 70 odd goals and 30 assists. If he left when he really should have they’d still be fighting Dundee Utd for promotion”

Ouch

Shots fired

20-01-2019, 11:12 AM

.......Happy New Year to you as well. How unprofessional can you get? :rolleyes:

agents should stick to agenting

“coz they are a horrible shower... short memories that lot. 180 mins against hearts led to half of them getting tattoos that summer, plus the 70 odd goals and 30 assists. If he left when he really should have they’d still be fighting Dundee Utd for promotion”You'd like to think Jason would have a professional agent.

20-01-2019, 11:14 AM

If Cummings left we probably would have signed a replacement :hilarious, doubt we'd have played the season with ten men. Or is he saying that Cummings is the only player capable of scoring 20 goals in the championship? What a helmet.

Stairway 2 7
20-01-2019, 11:14 AM
Imagine being an agent in Scotland and destroying your future working relationship with one of the biggest clubs. Hun bafoon guess that's that with Jason

20-01-2019, 11:19 AM

His Hun agent is obviously still furious about our cup win.

Tobias Funke
20-01-2019, 11:19 AM
"180 mins against hearts led to half of them getting tattoos that summer"

:LOL::LOL::LOL:

What a world class bobby biter that guy is.

20-01-2019, 11:20 AM
Imagine being an agent in Scotland and destroying your future working relationship with one of the biggest clubs. Hun bafoon guess that's that with Jason

I’m sure he’s Scott Allan’s agent too. Comes across as a bitter wee hun who wants to get everyone to sign for Rangers ... Walker, Cummings, Allan, Holt

20-01-2019, 11:25 AM
His Hun agent is obviously still furious about our cup win.He's obviously as big a fan of Sevco as he was of the now defunct Glasgow rangers by the sound of it.

With such a great agent supporting them you have to wonder how sevco signed so many costly pension gatherers and still haven't won a thing despite all that new debt.

20-01-2019, 11:28 AM

Hmmmm!

Said on here a few weeks ago my only reservation about Jase was his much publicised post HIBS Hun love in!

Unfortunate as this looks the first lesson in any career is never burn your bridges or bad mouth previous employers because you never know one day you may need them

Dearie me!

BegbieHSC
20-01-2019, 11:40 AM

Left too late? If anything he left too early.

What an ********! Minus a public apology, I wouldn’t be negotiating with him for players - don’t want a wee hun like that, who slags off our fans and club getting any commission from Hibs.

An agent who behaves like that is doing Cummings a massive disservice if he wants to get his career back on track.

BegbieHSC
20-01-2019, 11:45 AM
I’m sure he’s Scott Allan’s agent too. Comes across as a bitter wee hun who wants to get everyone to sign for Rangers ... Walker, Cummings, Allan, Holt

Apparently he’s not Allan’s agent anymore- makes sense.

20-01-2019, 11:49 AM

Ahh that would make perfect sense

20-01-2019, 11:56 AM

great, in that case ask the cowardly **** to get his skanky fat erky off of the internet and feel free to come to a hibs game and explain to us hibs fans why we are a 'horrible shower'

he doesn't need to wear a sevco top at the same time, it might inflame matters

20-01-2019, 11:57 AM
Maclaren offski then?

“Look it’s in the air obviously, but no matter how much I try stay quiet people will start rumours. There is something happening in the future, but for now its all about the Asian Cup.”

20-01-2019, 12:03 PM
Maclaren offski then?

“Look it’s in the air obviously, but no matter how much I try stay quiet people will start rumours. There is something happening in the future, but for now its all about the Asian Cup.”

If he is and without getting into an argument regarding if he should stay or go. If he goes I'd say we need a further 2 in up top

20-01-2019, 12:06 PM
If he is and without getting into an argument regarding if he should stay or go. If he goes I'd say we need a further 2 in up top

Already need one. Definitely need another if he goes.

20-01-2019, 12:17 PM

https://youtu.be/e13KjAdArvc

6:30 brilliant interception [emoji12] that set up KTs header.

20-01-2019, 01:23 PM
The Cummings agent thing is bull. Fake account apparently.

20-01-2019, 01:35 PM

Looks legit to me. Details all match.

20-01-2019, 01:38 PM

Nah it’s legit by the looks of it.

20-01-2019, 01:40 PM

What a small minded, ignorant dickhead

20-01-2019, 01:47 PM

Definitely legit, you have to follow and then be accepted by him, he has it closed.

20-01-2019, 01:48 PM
Nah it’s legit by the looks of it.

Seems to be. Defo the twitter on his LinkedIn etc. What a fanny.

Lemonade
20-01-2019, 01:56 PM
Definitely legit, you have to follow and then be accepted by him, he has it closed.
What is his issue with us ?

20-01-2019, 01:57 PM
What is his issue with us ?

Probably May 2016

20-01-2019, 01:58 PM
Sounds a highly professional and charming guy

20-01-2019, 02:00 PM
Probably May 2016

Most likely. He’s a wee hun prick who tries to get all his clients to Rangers no matter what.

20-01-2019, 02:01 PM
Who’d want an agent who’s mentality is still playground?
You need a new agent Jason.

MagicSwirlingShip
20-01-2019, 02:02 PM
70 goals and 30 assists is pretty decent numbers in any any league, didn’t realise he had set up that many for others.

Would take him back in a heartbeat.

bigswissstriker
20-01-2019, 02:11 PM
Anyone got a screenshot of the tweets?

20-01-2019, 02:45 PM
Hmmmm!

Said on here a few weeks ago my only reservation about Jase was his much publicised post HIBS Hun love in!

Unfortunate as this looks the first lesson in any career is never burn your bridges or bad mouth previous employers because you never know one day you may need them

Dearie me!

Spot on, first thing I was told when starting my working life was, remember it's your previous employer you will look to for a reference more than your current employer..

20-01-2019, 04:59 PM
Probably May 2016

This and he thinks we gave JC a hard time when he went on loan to Rangers, I followed him and he accepted but after looking at some of his tweets, he's up his own erse and an arrogant sod who seems to like the sound of his own voice, so I quickly unfollowed.

20-01-2019, 05:05 PM
Anyone got a screenshot of the tweets?

I seen it of facebook but can't find it now.

20-01-2019, 05:22 PM
What’s his name?

20-01-2019, 06:14 PM
Anyone got a screenshot of the tweets? here you go

20-01-2019, 06:21 PM
here you go

Just stops short of the spoonburner stuff. Prick. It would be nice if he was spotted taking a seat at Easter Road sometime soon so he could learn what a proper shower we can really be.

20-01-2019, 06:25 PM
What was he replying to, in order to come up with the "horrible shower" part?

I'd be amazed if an agent were to be so unprofessional, irrespective of which team he supports.

20-01-2019, 06:37 PM
Think he might also be the agent of Mark McNulty who has been mentioned as a potential target

20-01-2019, 06:51 PM
It's extremely pleasing how broken The Rangers fans are over that day in 2016.

We can talk about how we broke Hearts and ended their song book that year, but lest we forget that a part of Sevo was ended and left on the Hampden pitch that day.

20-01-2019, 06:54 PM
Assuming the guy is a hun then I’m delighted he thinks so little of us.

Rangers are an absolutely disgusting club and the more they hate us the more we must be doing right.

20-01-2019, 07:03 PM
Do we expect any new faces in next week other than the young Belgian?

Nevi_SOL
20-01-2019, 07:03 PM
Assuming the guy is a hun then I’m delighted he thinks so little of us.

Rangers are an absolutely disgusting club and the more they hate us the more we must be doing right.

Agree with that since there resurrection in 2012;

Rangers wins - 7
Draws - 3
Hibs wins - 9

They hate us because we’ve been the better team since

20-01-2019, 07:05 PM
It's extremely pleasing how broken The Rangers fans are over that day in 2016.

We can talk about how we broke Hearts and ended their song book that year, but lest we forget that a part of Sevo was ended and left on the Hampden pitch that day.

You have to remember, it was a foregone conclusion that they were going to win the cup that day

They’d beat Celtic in the semi final and the opponent in the final was “only” Hibs

20-01-2019, 07:27 PM
here you go

What was the initial message he was replying to that led to him go on a pathetic rant?

Clarence
20-01-2019, 07:41 PM
Sticks and stones. Don’t give them the satisfaction.

20-01-2019, 07:48 PM
What was the initial message he was replying to that led to him go on a pathetic rant?

No idea...If it was something that bad though and he had any professionalism about him he should have just ignored it.

BegbieHSC
20-01-2019, 07:55 PM
No idea...If it was something that bad though and he had any professionalism about him he should have just ignored it.

It was a random guy not even tweeting at him.

He simply said “Know what I don’t understand, hibs fans giving cummings it. Why?”

Then, this “agent” pipes up.

20-01-2019, 08:16 PM
It was a random guy not even tweeting at him.

He simply said “Know what I don’t understand, hibs fans giving cummings it. Why?”

Then, this “agent” pipes up.

Yep, the guy that 1st tweeted was a Gers fan and Houldsworth jumped in with his rant showing his true colours.

20-01-2019, 08:29 PM
ANYWAY.

I guess Omeonga will sign properly tomorrow. Can we expect anyone else in before the trip to Motherwell?

20-01-2019, 08:35 PM
ANYWAY.

I guess Omeonga will sign properly tomorrow. Can we expect anyone else in before the trip to Motherwell?

He signed yesterday, possibly announced tomorrow but then again Hibs are never in a great rush to announce things.

20-01-2019, 08:39 PM
He signed yesterday, possibly announced tomorrow but then again Hibs are never in a great rush to announce things.

Might not be able to play on Wednesday anyway due to international clearance

20-01-2019, 08:39 PM

His agent was on Twitter expecting it to be today.

20-01-2019, 08:41 PM
His agent was on Twitter expecting it to be today.

It's that ****ing paperwork again! :grr:

K-Zazu
20-01-2019, 08:52 PM
We need a Mixu

20-01-2019, 08:54 PM
Yep, the guy that 1st tweeted was a Gers fan and Houldsworth jumped in with his rant showing his true colours.

Andy Munro?

Hibs fan, plays for Stenhousemuir, does the lower league ramblings podcast with Danny denholm.

zolliehibs
20-01-2019, 09:01 PM
Andy Munro?

Hibs fan, plays for Stenhousemuir, does the lower league ramblings podcast with Danny denholm.

Really enjoyed their interview with Dean Brett, good insight into his career and gambling ban. Not transfer related, but worth mentioning!

20-01-2019, 09:10 PM
Andy Munro?

Sorry, you're right just looked again and it was the blue strip in his avatar pic, I thought he was a Rangers fan, now realise it's a different shade of blue.

20-01-2019, 09:36 PM
Really enjoyed their interview with Dean Brett, good insight into his career and gambling ban. Not transfer related, but worth mentioning!

Hope he comes across better in that than he does standing at the games talking p*$h.

20-01-2019, 09:36 PM
Omeonga announced tomorrow and then back to the business of finding a decent striker that we can afford.

20-01-2019, 09:38 PM
Omeonga announced tomorrow and then back to the business of finding a decent striker that we can afford.

Hopefully another winger along with that

Souter96Mac
20-01-2019, 09:46 PM
If we can get Allan, Morgan (loan) and Cummings (probably on loan) in this window, it would be some window. However I can see Maclaren leaving, to help make wage available for these sorts of deals.

DetroitHibs
21-01-2019, 07:35 AM
If we can get Allan, Morgan (loan) and Cummings (probably on loan) in this window, it would be some window. However I can see Maclaren leaving, to help make wage available for these sorts of deals.

Not really ideal if Maclaren moves on and Jase comes in. We are still in desperate need of a third striker.

Greenworld
21-01-2019, 07:43 AM
I think this window is more exciting than summer

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

21-01-2019, 07:44 AM
Not really ideal if Maclaren moves on and Jase comes in. We are still in desperate need of a third striker.

Kamberi, Shaw, Maclaren/Cummings - you mean a 4th striker?

Greenworld
21-01-2019, 07:46 AM
Not really ideal if Maclaren moves on and Jase comes in. We are still in desperate need of a third striker.Supposed to be trying get to get some English championship striker as well as cummings fair play to lennon he's not frightened to change things big style

DetroitHibs
21-01-2019, 08:02 AM
Kamberi, Shaw, Maclaren/Cummings - you mean a 4th striker?

Your right, 4th striker :aok: Even lighter up front now that Boyles out injured. He was used up front on more than one occasion.

MagicSwirlingShip
21-01-2019, 08:02 AM
We need a Mixu

This. Kamberi isn’t a target man, we need a different option upfront.

Has the Tom Eaves rumour died down?

21-01-2019, 08:28 AM
Supposed to be trying get to get some English championship striker as well as cummings fair play to lennon he's not frightened to change things big style

I like the fact Lennon isn’t afraid to change things that aren’t working, however I also hope he (and the recruitment team) are learning from their mistakes so the overhauls aren’t needed as regularly.

21-01-2019, 08:30 AM
Any more news on Barry Lavety coming back?

GreenPJ
21-01-2019, 08:32 AM
I like the fact Lennon isn’t afraid to change things that aren’t working, however I also hope he (and the recruitment team) are learning from their mistakes so the overhauls aren’t needed as regularly.

What overhauls were we in control of? We tried but had no chance of keeping JM, DM, SA & BB. Efe had a clause that he actioned despite offering what we thought was a good offer. The strikers he had on loan last year returned (with mixed effect) but we live in hope.

21-01-2019, 08:38 AM
What overhauls were we in control of? We tried but had no chance of keeping JM, DM, SA & BB. Efe had a clause that he actioned despite offering what we thought was a good offer. The strikers he had on loan last year returned (with mixed effect) but we live in hope.

Two January overhauls needed in a row to correct the inadequate previous summer windows. Going into the season with just 3 senior strikers and 3 wingers was poor and not because of the players we lost.

Anyway, I was just making a quick point so not looking to hijack the thread.

21-01-2019, 08:40 AM

What mistakes have they made? :confused:

Getting Maclaren back on loan after he did so well for us in his first period on loan wasn't their fault. It was a no brained, but it hasn't worked out for whatever reason.

I can't think of anything else under Hibs' control that has been even close to a mistake in the transfer market.

21-01-2019, 08:47 AM

Getting Maclaren back on loan after he did so well for us in his first period on loan wasn't their fault. It was a no brained, but it hasn't worked out for whatever reason.

I can't think of anything else under Hibs' control that has been even close to a mistake in the transfer market.

Joe Ward :greengrin

21-01-2019, 08:51 AM

The merits of quality can be debated and easy to judge with hindsight, so I’ll leave that aspect, but quantity was definitely something in our control.

We went into the season with only 3 strikers and 3 wingers, with one of them a known gamble due to his injury record. Those aspects were a mistake and have been a factor in our disappointing first half of the season IMO.

K-Zazu
21-01-2019, 08:59 AM

Agyepongs injury history should have been noticed surely. He’s hardly played.

21-01-2019, 09:11 AM

As others have said, quantity wise we never had enough in certain positions, forwards especially being one. Agyepongs injury history should have been taken into account, whether that was with regard to signing him at all or seeing as we did, signing another winger since he was likely to miss a lot of games.

As much as I wouldn’t blame them for Maclaren, it could be said aswell that plenty people on here mentioned he didn’t do much at all when he wasn’t scoring last season. While on the face of it - to the fans especially - it was a great signing, it hasn’t worked out. Most people seem to agree it’s because we don’t have last seasons midfield putting chances on a plate for him over and over. It could be said that the recruitment team should have considered that the midfield that done that for him last season isn’t here anymore. They maybe did of course, but if they did then the midfield we had in the first half of the season hasn’t been good enough to do that for him. So maybe they should have passed on Maclaren and went for a striker with more to his game?

21-01-2019, 09:11 AM
The merits of quality can be debated and easy to judge with hindsight, so I’ll leave that aspect, but quantity was definitely something in our control.

We went into the season with only 3 strikers and 3 wingers, with one of them a known gamble due to his injury record. Those aspects were a mistake and have been a factor in our disappointing first half of the season IMO.

I understand your point and I agree that another striker would have been preferable.

I'm not convinced that's the recruitment team's fault though.

If we accept that Hibs now look to fill the team with genuine quality and willl no longer buy mediocre players just because they're available, then it may have been the circumstances that beat us.

I'm certain that we would have been trying to get another striker in. It may have fallen through at the last minute for any number of reasons beyond Hibs' control.

Perhaps we were confident of getting someone in, but were gazumped at the last minute by a richer club. Brandon Barker comes into that category, I believe.

Perhaps we were going to sign a second or third choice player, but they wanted too long a contract.

I definitely agree that we don't want to be light on personnel, but I'd hesitate to say that the recruitment team made mistakes.

Lennon seems determined to bring in a couple of strikers this window so we'll see what develops.

21-01-2019, 09:13 AM
Agyepongs injury history should have been noticed surely. He’s hardly played.

Barker's wasn't great either. I suppose if you're hibs you sometimes have to take risks to bring the quality you want to bring in.

21-01-2019, 09:26 AM
I think semantics are to blame here and maybe it's the term "recruitment team" that's causing the disagreements.

If we're including Neil Lennon and Leeann Dempster along with Graeme Mathie's team and Craig Scates, then there might be more consensus.

I thought it was the recruitment team's job to identify players good enough to play for Hibs. It's not their job to hire them.

Too literal for my own good, probably.

21-01-2019, 10:13 AM

The disappointment in the summer was the midfield, we expected Allan in which never materialised, this left us short on quality there, Hyndman was a major disappointment and this left Lennon playing a wide player in Horgan as a makeshift attacking midfielder. Don't know if you've noticed but the midfield has been the major overhaul this transfer window.

21-01-2019, 10:25 AM
The disappointment in the summer was the midfield, we expected Allan in which never materialised, this left us short on quality there, Hyndman was a major disappointment and this left Lennon playing a wide player in Horgan as a makeshift attacking midfielder. Don't know if you've noticed but the midfield has been the major overhaul this transfer window.

The midfield has always been the issue, and I had my concerns in the summer that we hadn’t signed the right types of midfielders (energy & drive), but we did sign midfield replacements in the summer. I simply tried to steer clear about debating the quality, or lack of, of the signings as that can be subjective and opinions vary from poster to poster. My criticism was based on depth of squad which is more definitive to debate.

RossScott1991
21-01-2019, 12:19 PM
hoping we can inject some pace into the side asap, still worries me. Motherwell away next, always a tough place to go. Injection of pace and ball carriers to be able to play away from home is required in this team.

Apart from Morgan has any other wingers been mentioned? or who should we be taking a look at? got to admit not many wingers are springing to mind.

21-01-2019, 12:54 PM
hoping we can inject some pace into the side asap, still worries me. Motherwell away next, always a tough place to go. Injection of pace and ball carriers to be able to play away from home is required in this team.

Apart from Morgan has any other wingers been mentioned? or who should we be taking a look at? got to admit not many wingers are springing to mind.

I’ve only seen Morgan mentioned so far. Saw a St Mirren fan saying they’d heard Morgan is making his decision in the next few days.

BlackSheep
21-01-2019, 12:59 PM
If we are in the running for Morgan you have to think he will choose us over St Mirren... what does it show Celtic if he chooses what most would consider the easier route of returning to his old club for game time. Regardless of where we currently are in the league surely the experience of playing at Hibs is worth more to him and to Celtic than sending him backwards?

gorgie greens
21-01-2019, 01:03 PM
Who’d want an agent who’s mentality is still playground?
You need a new agent Jason.

I think they are a good match myself .

Any agent who hopes to recruit more clients should not be burning his bridges with clubs, having said that there are many clubs that will not deal with certain agents .

21-01-2019, 01:04 PM

I can,:wink: we signed these players that 99% of the support wanted (sorry speedway) :greengrin far too slowly, maybe that is why the signings have not worked out as good as we and the manager hoped?

21-01-2019, 01:12 PM
The midfield has always been the issue, and I had my concerns in the summer that we hadn’t signed the right types of midfielders (energy & drive), but we did sign midfield replacements in the summer. I simply tried to steer clear about debating the quality, or lack of, of the signings as that can be subjective and opinions vary from poster to poster. My criticism was based on depth of squad which is more definitive to debate.

I keep seeing that excuse about the depth of squad, in my opinion its nonsense. We've had untold injuries with practically a whole team injured.

We've still managed to put a decent side out every week, but again in my opinion, a few of the signings made last summer have just not worked out.

How many extra players do we need, i'd say we will probably not have anymore players in at the end of this window than what we had at the end of December.

For me its all about quality, and its more quality we need more than depth.

21-01-2019, 01:35 PM
I’ve only seen Morgan mentioned so far. Saw a St Mirren fan saying they’d heard Morgan is making his decision in the next few days.

Wasn't in the squad on Saturday so he's not cup tied at least.

21-01-2019, 01:51 PM
Watched game at tiny on tv yesteryear. Very impressed with Craig Halkett. I know he is cup-tied but for next season he is a no-brainer as can sign now for free.

21-01-2019, 01:55 PM
I keep seeing that excuse about the depth of squad, in my opinion its nonsense. We've had untold injuries with practically a whole team injured.

We've still managed to put a decent side out every week, but again in my opinion, a few of the signings made last summer have just not worked out.

How many extra players do we need, i'd say we will probably not have anymore players in at the end of this window than what we had at the end of December.

I'm amazed that folk don't really take into consideration the amount of injuries we've had and how readily they discount it in considering how the transfer window was viewed.

It's not just the players that were injured either, it's the knock on effect of playing other players who might be out of form or having to play in a less familiar position, or in a system that we wouldn't have played if everyone was fit.

We didn't get every signing right, but I'd be amazed if you can show me a club anywhere that's had every player become a success - it's even less likely to work out when you're shopping in the market we are.

The injuries just compounded things - especially when we lost the players that we did anyway, but I think it's wrong to say that the signings were bad or that the recruitment wasn't up to what it should have been.

21-01-2019, 01:56 PM

It’s two separate things. We had enough bodies in central mid but not enough quality IMO. 3 strikers and 3 wingers (one of which was a known fitness gamble) isn’t enough, probably the quality needed but not the quantity to allow for injuries & suspensions etc, again IMO.

21-01-2019, 02:08 PM

Surely that's what depth of squad means, when we have injuries it's the players waiting in the wings and on the bench just haven't been good enough. We needed more quality and there wasn't enough of that.

21-01-2019, 03:02 PM
Surely that's what depth of squad means, when we have injuries it's the players waiting in the wings and on the bench just haven't been good enough. We needed more quality and there wasn't enough of that.

All depends on how you view the players that are coming in? I dont think any other club in this league has had as many injuries to their players as we have.

I also think we've done pretty well when you consider that. I'd say the guys we brought in like Mallan Hyndman Agyepong and McLaren have contributed way less than we all thought they might. Strength in depth is the guys we had, those who came in for injuries and suspensions.

A lot of them were also injured, like Bartley and Milligan Slivka and now Boyle, throw in all the keepers being injured at one time or another, Gray Daz and Hanlon, even Stevenson, the depth of the squad has been stretched to its limit and beyond, how many players should we sign for this injury crisis to have no effect?

Heckys Wheel
21-01-2019, 03:28 PM
Watched game at tiny on tv yesteryear. Very impressed with Craig Halkett. I know he is cup-tied but for next season he is a no-brainer as can sign now for free.

He’d be a great signing. Natural succession of Daz McGregor.

21-01-2019, 03:43 PM
He’d be a great signing. Natural succession of Daz McGregor.
I thought Porteous was Dazs apprentice ? :greengrin

21-01-2019, 03:57 PM
Signing on the way

21-01-2019, 03:58 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190121/7f63f3234696b48fd85fb1969c1268df.jpg

Teaser

21-01-2019, 03:58 PM
Hibernian are delighted to confirm the loan signing of Stephane Omeonga from Genoa.

21-01-2019, 04:05 PM
From the description of him on the official site, Omeonga sounds a bit like a John McGinn type of midfielder.

21-01-2019, 04:08 PM

How many teams have that much depth that you won’t notice anything up to 8-10 players unavailable?

Cmon there’s no way any club could be hit as hard with injuries and it not have an adverse effect.

Every squad will have players who are less able than the top guys. The hope is you don’t have to use them all that often or it’s only 1 or 2 at a time.

21-01-2019, 04:12 PM
How many teams have that much depth that you won’t notice anything up to 8-10 players unavailable?

Cmon there’s no way any club could be hit as hard with injuries and it not have an adverse effect.

Every squad will have players who are less able than the top guys. The hope is you don’t have to use them all that often or it’s only 1 or 2 at a time.

The Yams have got about 90 players for every position, haven't they? :wink:

21-01-2019, 04:23 PM
Just flew back from Bergamo, Italy, and Liam Henderson was on the flight - just saying....

21-01-2019, 04:37 PM
Just flew back from Bergamo, Italy, and Liam Henderson was on the flight - just saying....

Get the whole band back together.

Hes probably the position we need now the least unfortunately.

Looking forward to seeing Omeonga in action, got a good feeling about him. That’s a couple of players now mentioned the presentation and that the club has made them feel really wanted, seems to be paying off.

21-01-2019, 04:45 PM
Who's next?

21-01-2019, 04:49 PM
Who's next?

Can anyone remember how many Lennon said he wanted in? That's 2 obviously not including Allan

21-01-2019, 04:51 PM
Winger and Striker to come.

21-01-2019, 04:52 PM

No news on the keeper we had with us?

21-01-2019, 04:52 PM

21-01-2019, 04:53 PM
Get the whole band back together.

Hes probably the position we need now the least unfortunately.

Looking forward to seeing Omeonga in action, got a good feeling about him. That’s a couple of players now mentioned the presentation and that the club has made them feel really wanted, seems to be paying off.

Stuff like that is probably very important in terms of getting the edge considering our weak financial position compared to other leagues

21-01-2019, 04:58 PM
Someone from Hibs Supporters Group on Facebook stating that Efe has been offered an improved deal - may explain why he was in the stand on Saturday? I don't know much about the Facebook group - just repeating what I read there....

21-01-2019, 05:05 PM

Any names?

21-01-2019, 05:11 PM
Wonder what is happening with Tom Eaves? Can’t see rangers being after him anymore.

Hibeewilly
21-01-2019, 05:14 PM
Someone from Hibs Supporters Group on Facebook stating that Efe has been offered an improved deal - may explain why he was in the stand on Saturday? I don't know much about the Facebook group - just repeating what I read there....
That would be terrific if that's the case

21-01-2019, 05:15 PM
Can anyone remember how many Lennon said he wanted in? That's 2 obviously not including Allan

I have it in my head he said 4 or 5. Allan is irrelevant right now so still 2 or 3 needed. Allan could of course be one of them.

21-01-2019, 05:15 PM
All depends on how you view the players that are coming in? I dont think any other club in this league has had as many injuries to their players as we have.

I also think we've done pretty well when you consider that. I'd say the guys we brought in like Mallan Hyndman Agyepong and McLaren have contributed way less than we all thought they might. Strength in depth is the guys we had, those who came in for injuries and suspensions.

A lot of them were also injured, like Bartley and Milligan Slivka and now Boyle, throw in all the keepers being injured at one time or another, Gray Daz and Hanlon, even Stevenson, the depth of the squad has been stretched to its limit and beyond, how many players should we sign for this injury crisis to have no effect?

We understand about the injuries but it was clear to all that we were still 3-4 quality signings short in the summer, we needed an Allan/Gauld type to open up defences with cutting passes, we lacked legs in the middle of the park, hopefully Omeonga is that player and we were short up front to cover injury/lack of form and putting too much pressure on Shaw to let him develop properly. What we don't want is having to rely on Dev squad players to be those guys, they need introduced gradually unless they're like Porteous and possibly Shaw where they're now part of the main squad

I remember at the beginning of this new regime under LD and Craig, they spoke of having a squad of 2 players per position, supplemented by a few Dev players to gain experience. What we had this year has been 3-4 short term deals to make up numbers, Mavrias, Nelom, Hyndman, certainly not what's needed.

21-01-2019, 05:34 PM

As in almost done or we’re still looking?

21-01-2019, 05:34 PM
I have it in my head he said 4 or 5. Allan is irrelevant right now so still 2 or 3 needed. Allan could of course be one of them.

I would say Scott Allan, a winger (Morgan?) and a striker still to come in. If Jamie MacLaren stays in OZ then make that two strikers (Jason Cummings?).

21-01-2019, 05:37 PM
As in almost done or we’re still looking?

He doesn't know. It's common knowledge.

Leith's finest
21-01-2019, 05:42 PM
Gary Hooper? Don't know if he is injured or not or just out of favour at Sheffield Wednesday, played for NL before, or is he outwith our budget

21-01-2019, 05:45 PM

Hibs stated Efe had been offered an improved three year deal when they released the statement he was leaving.

21-01-2019, 05:45 PM
Gary Hooper? Don't know if he is injured or not or just out of favour at Sheffield Wednesday, played for NL before, or is he outwith our budget

I think he's been injured, certainly hasn't played for ages. Wednesday are likely to have another transfer embargo put in place so if he goes on loan anywhere I think whoever gets him would need to pay a good chunk of his wages.

21-01-2019, 05:47 PM
Whats the chances of Allan joining us this window?

21-01-2019, 05:47 PM
Hibs stated Efe had been offered an improved three year deal when they released the statement he was leaving.
Yes I know - I read the comment as that he had been offered an improvement on that. I don't know, but I hope so.....

21-01-2019, 05:49 PM

50/50

He either does or he doesn't.

21-01-2019, 05:51 PM
At least 2 more in for sure, possibly as many as 4 depending on what happens with outgoings. We’re working hard on permanent deals but Lennon and the board are aware of how difficult it is in January so might be forced into short term loans for now.

21-01-2019, 05:54 PM
At least 2 more in for sure, possibly as many as 4 depending on what happens with outgoings. We’re working hard on permanent deals but Lennon and the board are aware of how difficult it is in January so might be forced into short term loans for now.

No reason to doubt your info but it would be fantastic if we could get a couple of permanent deals

hibs#1
21-01-2019, 05:58 PM

I mentioned him before as well doesn't appear to have played so far this season. Don't know about last weekend right enough.

21-01-2019, 06:00 PM
we've lost EFE and hyndman, and brought in 2 midfielders so numbers wise the squads the same,plenty room for the right player's

21-01-2019, 06:01 PM
We understand about the injuries but it was clear to all that we were still 3-4 quality signings short in the summer, we needed an Allan/Gauld type to open up defences with cutting passes, we lacked legs in the middle of the park, hopefully Omeonga is that player and we were short up front to cover injury/lack of form and putting too much pressure on Shaw to let him develop properly. What we don't want is having to rely on Dev squad players to be those guys, they need introduced gradually unless they're like Porteous and possibly Shaw where they're now part of the main squad

I remember at the beginning of this new regime under LD and Craig, they spoke of having a squad of 2 players per position, supplemented by a few Dev players to gain experience. What we had this year has been 3-4 short term deals to make up numbers, Mavrias, Nelom, Hyndman, certainly not what's needed.

I don't think it was clear to all in the summer. My memory is of almost universal approval at our signings, both quantity & quality. We got our top targets, IIRC we signed 6 full internationalists & 2 U 21 internationalists. They haven't all worked out for various reasons, including injuries but I don't think anyone expected 12 quality signings. If you said we were 4 short in the summer then kudos to you but I genuinely can't remember any posts of that nature.

21-01-2019, 06:06 PM
I mentioned him before as well doesn't appear to have played so far this season. Don't know about last weekend right enough.

Some news on Hooper here

https://www.thestar.co.uk/sport/football/sheffield-wednesday/steve-agnew-gives-return-estimate-for-sheffield-wednesday-s-gary-hooper-and-update-on-kieran-lee-1-9545483

21-01-2019, 06:07 PM
50/50

He either does or he doesn't.

I’d agree with that.

21-01-2019, 06:22 PM
That would be terrific if that's the case

On his form it would be signing of the season!

21-01-2019, 06:22 PM
He doesn't know. It's common knowledge.

You’re a wee weirdo. Do you ever bring anything at all to this forum. I’ll add you back to ignore now.

BlackSheep
21-01-2019, 06:32 PM
I’ve been mulling over our recruitment from the past couple of years and I think I can see now how things have panned out and why our January windows seem to be more successful.

We recruit in the summer, normally unknown players in our league and can only speculate as to how they settle in... some do and some don’t.

Come January the recruitment team have had a chance to see where things have worked and where things haven’t and can hone in on players that will fit the current squad’s mould.

By this time some of our top targets have also either become part of their current teams plans or on the flip side fallen out of favour... allowing us to make an approach without breaking the bank.

I’ve heard many times how it’s difficult to find quality in the January window, but for teams like hibs it can be the summer window that proves harder to achieve target signings, due in part to players not having played with their current squads or under their current managers.

A lot happens between August and Christmas that seems to favour teams like hibs.

What we need to do is hope that going forward we develop a core squad that only needs tinkering in each window.

Partyraiser
21-01-2019, 06:32 PM

I know someone who's good pals with scottys dad. He says that the issue is the difference between his celtic contract and what he's due to get at hibs. He's not willing to walk away and sacrifice the rest of the contract, that's what lawell wants him to do and he's been by him to many times to do what suits lawell

21-01-2019, 06:35 PM
I know someone who's good pals with scottys dad. He says that the issue is the difference between his celtic contract and what he's due to get at hibs. He's not willing to walk away and sacrifice the rest of the contract, that's what lawell wants him to do and he's been by him to many times to do what suits lawell

Could very be a late in the window deal for scott to take x% of what is owed to leave.

Saves Celtic £s and suits us!

Souter96Mac
21-01-2019, 06:37 PM
Alan Nixon saying on twitter that Efe signing a new deal with us very possible. Usually is semi-reliable.

21-01-2019, 06:41 PM
You’re a wee weirdo. Do you ever bring anything at all to this forum. I’ll add you back to ignore now.

I'd rather bring nothing to the forum than bring something fake.

Your "im so ITK" persona is wearing thin son, time to give in.

21-01-2019, 06:43 PM
I can see Allan coming to us on loan for the rest of the season.

If that does happen Celtic will save some money by us paying a proportion of his wages but probably more crucially he will be free to play against Rangers/Aberdeen/Hearts and potentially take points off them but at the same time Celtic can ensure he is not able to play against them.

Partyraiser
21-01-2019, 06:46 PM

21-01-2019, 06:48 PM
Alan Nixon saying on twitter that Efe signing a new deal with us very possible. Usually is semi-reliable.

Who’s Alan Nixon and is he credible

21-01-2019, 06:49 PM
I don't think it was clear to all in the summer. My memory is of almost universal approval at our signings, both quantity & quality. We got our top targets, IIRC we signed 6 full internationalists & 2 U 21 internationalists. They haven't all worked out for various reasons, including injuries but I don't think anyone expected 12 quality signings. If you said we were 4 short in the summer then kudos to you but I genuinely can't remember any posts of that nature.

Forget all this internationalist nonsense, means nothing. We signed an ageing Aussie as McGinns replacement and apart from 3-4 games, he's disappointed, MacLaren has been the biggest disappointment but we only had Shaw or L Allan as replacement. Hyndman was a complete mistake and never seemed to look like he enjoyed being here and Agyepong, well physios best friend at ER. So I'd say we needed a striker, at least one more midfielder and another wide player. All my opinion of course as I don't think anyone expected so many injuries especially all seemingly at the same time.

Souter96Mac
21-01-2019, 06:54 PM

Think he's a journalist. I think he's fairly credible.

21-01-2019, 06:58 PM
I'd rather bring nothing to the forum than bring something fake.

Your "im so ITK" persona is wearing thin son, time to give in.

He blocked you so he won't read your post. FWIW Underscore is one of the more reliable posters on here with regards to what's going on behind the scenes at East Mains.

21-01-2019, 07:00 PM

He might be the link between our targets and Sunderland's.

They seem to take quite a keen interest in what he has to say down there.

yonder1875
21-01-2019, 07:05 PM

Lewis Morgan and Marc McNulty?

21-01-2019, 07:07 PM
He blocked you so he won't read your post. FWIW Underscore is one of the more reliable posters on here with regards to what's going on behind the scenes at East Mains.

😂😂

21-01-2019, 07:08 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣

Earlydelivery
21-01-2019, 07:16 PM

I follow him on twitter.. normally spot on .

21-01-2019, 07:27 PM

He's one of their best players. I wouldn't imagine we'd have a hope of getting him

21-01-2019, 07:37 PM

As I pointed ou about 40 pages back I am waiting for the delivery man