View Full Version : Sky sports news Celtic bid for McGinn turned down

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10

12-07-2018, 08:35 AM
I presume that the two declined bids have been straightforward cash one’s with no references to players added on. I read somewhere that Celtic are now just going to wait and get McGinn on a pre-contract. Personally, I’m happy with that but if any further negotiating is to start, who instigates it?

Not us I wouldn’t think or we’d have been aswell accepting the £1.5m. If we went back to them they’d know we wanted to sell and we’d have no real negotiating power.

12-07-2018, 08:36 AM
https://twitter.com/record_sport/status/1017283663761944576?s=21
Celtic now saying they’ll wait and get him for nothing.

gorgie greens
12-07-2018, 08:39 AM

We will enjoy his service for another season then , although there are a couple of other clubs wanting him so sell to the highest bidder or let him run his contract out but we can not be held to ransom

12-07-2018, 08:43 AM
I'm just not sure the rest of the football world looks at John McGinn the same way as we do. And Celtc know him well because they've seen him at close quarters regularly - so for them £2 million is a low risk bid, especially knowing we are desperate for Allan.

I'll be delighted if higher bids come in from England - I'll also be very surprised. He's a huge fish in our pond, not so much elsewhere.

12-07-2018, 08:44 AM

No way that will happen. Mcginn wants higher wages now. Waiting a year will cost him a lot of money plus there is the risk his form drops or major injury and Celtic are not there for him next season. He’ll move this summer. Hibs need to hold their nerve.

Greenworld
12-07-2018, 08:56 AM
No way that will happen. Mcginn wants higher wages now. Waiting a year will cost him a lot of money plus there is the risk his form drops or major injury and Celtic are not there for him next season. He’ll move this summer. Hibs need to hold their nerve.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkExactly to many other things could happen. All that's really needed is Derby. Fulham or any of the others to step forward with a bid. Now the world cup is over for England things may happen

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

12-07-2018, 09:00 AM

Another scenario is that if we can't agree a deal with Celtic, after the window closes we give him a new deal on much improved wages and stick a minimum fee release clause of say £1.5m. He'll still get an improved wage for a year, he'll still get his move next year, we'll still get a fee and Celtic will get the player for the fee they think is right. Everyone is happy.

There's be no incentive for him to sign such a deal now but if no transfer can be agreed an extra couple of grand a week from us for a year could well be appealing.

If Celtic want him now though they really should be stumping up the cash, if they think he'll enhance their squad then he simply has to be worth the sort of money we are looking for. FWIW i'm sure a deal will be agreed within the next week.

12-07-2018, 09:01 AM
It’s also not good for Mcginn if Celtic get him too cheap. He’ll be seen as no risk and if he doesn’t play it’s no biggie. He should want them to pay enough that they have to give him a chance.

12-07-2018, 09:08 AM
The thing that pisses me off about Celtic is they will happily throw 4 or 5 million to English clubs for players that cant even make the bench , or 10 million for Edouard but be damned if they will pay a Scottish club a decent fee for a POTY contender

12-07-2018, 09:21 AM
The thing that pisses me off about Celtic is they will happily throw 4 or 5 million to English clubs for players that cant even make the bench , or 10 million for Edouard but be damned if they will pay a Scottish club a decent fee for a POTY contender
Unfortunately they know that if they come calling, it unsettles the player and most players in Scotland would jump at the chance to play for one of the Uglies.
So the mould has been set over the years, and clubs have tried to break it, but money talks, and a players career is short and they have to take the chance when it comes!!!!

12-07-2018, 09:24 AM

Let the dirty *******s wait then, McGinn is a far more important to us than any money we could get, LD has stated we are a healthy club and we don't need to sell anyone, player targets are being pursued without any McGinn money.

McGinn is still young and still needs to develop as a player, he needs to become more consistent and impose himself more in games, he can do all that at Hibs.

12-07-2018, 09:25 AM
It’s also not good for Mcginn if Celtic get him too cheap. He’ll be seen as no risk and if he doesn’t play it’s no biggie. He should want them to pay enough that they have to give him a chance.

Nope. The less they pay Hibs the more SJM can ask for by way of sign-on and wage. Which will have been agreed with his agent already btw.

12-07-2018, 09:35 AM

Also, not a great look from Celtic to the player.

“John, we really want you at Celtic this season but I’m afraid we don’t want you enough to pay an extra £500k for your services. You’re not important enough for us to push the boat out for so we are just going to hold off for a year and in turn shaft the club that’s developed you out of any fee”

JimboHibs
12-07-2018, 09:38 AM
Didn't realise there were so many football agents on here deciding what's good and bad for John.

12-07-2018, 09:39 AM
Didn't realise there were so many football agents on here deciding what's good and bad for John.

To be fair it's only people posting an opinion. Would be a pretty quiet forum if folk never done that.

12-07-2018, 09:54 AM
To be fair it's only people posting an opinion. Would be a pretty quiet forum if folk never done that.

haha exactly. Imagine opening a thread on a football forum about a transfer offer and seeing people have posted their views on it.

JimboHibs
12-07-2018, 10:01 AM
haha exactly. Imagine opening a thread on a football forum about a transfer offer and seeing people have posted their views on it.

Read again & tell me I didn't give an opinion thicko 🙄

12-07-2018, 10:01 AM
I seem to be in the minority on this one but I would rather get £1.7m and a player or two now to replace McGinn than £0 and no players next summer.

12-07-2018, 10:06 AM
They aren't willing to pay more than £2m for him.

We have to give a third of any transfer fee we receive to St Mirren plus any cut that goes to the player and his agent etc so when all is said and done the value of that transfer deal to us is going to be about £1m.

Could we reasonably earn more than £1m this season by having McGinn? We will earn that amount just in prize money if we can get through to the playoff rounds of the Europa League, a hell of a lot more if we can get to the group stages, and we are far more likely to achieve that with McGinn in our team than not.

That extra £1m could also be covered by finishing 2nd or 3rd this coming season or winning a trophy. Both achievable targets for us if we decide to keep SJM for the season.

It's a calculated risk for us but one I hope Leeann is willing to take unless a suitable offer is made that will prove to be of sufficient value to us. It's also a risk to Celtic to allow McGinn to become a free agent and try and sign him in the summer as there will be English clubs that could easily blow them out of the water with the wages on offer.

12-07-2018, 10:06 AM
I dont even think Celtc fans think SJM is that good (despite him playing really well v them recently).

Spoke to a couple who think its inevitable that he will move there, but that "he will really need to up his game at Celtc, he cant afford off matches"..........standard arrogant attitude of these same radges - the ones that all said Leigh Griffiths wasnt a good enough striker to play for the mighty Celtc.

They really dont deserve him, hope we keep him for another year just for the crack :thumbsup:

12-07-2018, 10:10 AM

Who are these guys? These are Celtic's record transfer fees paid - they don't throw a lot of money around:

Loads of folk on here stating that clubs just chuck transfer fees about the place without a second thought. It's rarely the case, and never the case with Celtic.

12-07-2018, 10:11 AM
Let the dirty pikey *******s wait then, McGinn is a far more important to us than any money we could get, LD has stated we are a healthy club and we don't need to sell anyone, player targets are being pursued without any McGinn money.

McGinn is still young and still needs to develop as a player, he needs to become more consistent and impose himself more in games, he can do all that at Hibs.

Pikey eh ? Nae need. Did you not say McGinn was going to England ?

12-07-2018, 10:12 AM

We have to give a third of any transfer fee we receive to St Mirren plus any cut that goes to the player and his agent etc so when all is said and done the value of that transfer deal to us is going to be about £1m.

Could we reasonably earn more than £1m this season by having McGinn? We will earn that amount just in prize money if we can get through to the playoff rounds of the Europa League, a hell of a lot more if we can get to the group stages, and we are far more likely to achieve that with McGinn in our team than not.

That extra £1m could also be covered by finishing 2nd or 3rd this coming season or winning a trophy. Both achievable targets for us if we decide to keep SJM for the season.

It's a calculated risk for us but one I hope Leeann is willing to take unless a suitable offer is made that will prove to be of sufficient value to us. It's also a risk to Celtic to allow McGinn to become a free agent and try and sign him in the summer as there will be English clubs that could easily blow them out of the water with the wages on offer.

We have been reminded a couple of times already in this thread that LD said that McGinn’s value to Hibs is in team. That’s good enough for me to trust their decision.

mcfly
12-07-2018, 10:12 AM
I’d rather hibs played hardball rather than sell him for a paltry amount.

We have 13000 season ticket holders now. Easter Road is packed every home game. We need him in our team if we are gonna get on in Europe.

Totally back the board on this one.

Juniper Greens
12-07-2018, 10:13 AM

And, I suspect any replacement we sign we likely to be on bigger wages too, even if only £1k pw more, there's £50k!

12-07-2018, 10:18 AM
Another scenario is that if we can't agree a deal with Celtic, after the window closes we give him a new deal on much improved wages and stick a minimum fee release clause of say £1.5m. He'll still get an improved wage for a year, he'll still get his move next year, we'll still get a fee and Celtic will get the player for the fee they think is right. Everyone is happy.

There's be no incentive for him to sign such a deal now but if no transfer can be agreed an extra couple of grand a week from us for a year could well be appealing.

If Celtic want him now though they really should be stumping up the cash, if they think he'll enhance their squad then he simply has to be worth the sort of money we are looking for. FWIW i'm sure a deal will be agreed within the next week.

too low ......... add another £1m to that and we’re in the ballpark.

12-07-2018, 10:19 AM
I seem to be in the minority on this one but I would rather get £1.7m and a player or two now to replace McGinn than £0 and no players next summer.

I agree with you. McGinn is brilliant but in the long run he won’t be signing a new deal so i’d be happy for us to cash in now. I think we will end up losing him this summer but it’s looking like it’ll drag on longer than expected.

12-07-2018, 10:23 AM

Whilst this is certainly plausible Bingo, I think it's wishful thinking that SJM would be so beneficent, even with more money on offer. To make it appealing to him we're probably going to have to double the current top salary, which may not be enough to interest him - and would leave us hugely vulnerable if he were to do a cruciate or such like.

12-07-2018, 10:26 AM

I'm with you, man. We can tie ourselves in knots over and over again about how if player x is worth so much then, SJM must be worth this much, but the reality isn't going to work like that.

As much as I love him, if we were to end this situation with more than a million in cash, and Scott Allan for a player who cost circa £100K and has a year left on his contract, I can't convince myself that it would be anything other than good business for us.

I trust Leeann to do the right thing for us in any case.

12-07-2018, 10:38 AM

100% agree.

12-07-2018, 10:44 AM
Becoming increasingly convinced we should be keeping Mc Ginn, unless the offer is reasonable (2.5 mill plus Allan).

The reputed figures quoted for the current offfers are derisory and as has been pointed out Mc Ginn is potentially worth more in terms of potential for on field success.

Hibs have to play this well. Record ST sales and high expectations from fans and manager.

12-07-2018, 10:47 AM
I dont even think Celtc fans think SJM is that good (despite him playing really well v them recently).

Spoke to a couple who think its inevitable that he will move there, but that "he will really need to up his game at Celtc, he cant afford off matches"..........standard arrogant attitude of these same radges - the ones that all said Leigh Griffiths wasnt a good enough striker to play for the mighty Celtc.

They really dont deserve him, hope we keep him for another year just for the crack :thumbsup:

Like Dembele last season. The amount of piss poor games he had was more than some Celtic fans will admit. Told that from ma wee mate who's a Celtic season ticket holder.

12-07-2018, 11:19 AM
I agree with you. McGinn is brilliant but in the long run he won’t be signing a new deal so i’d be happy for us to cash in now. I think we will end up losing him this summer but it’s looking like it’ll drag on longer than expected.

I agree and we have to be careful here not to cutoff our nose to spite out face. I think we've done the right thing rejecting Celtic's offers so far given how long we have left in the transfer window.

However, for all concerned, and as sad as it makes me, I think this window is the right time for the John to move. This is on the basis we get at least £2m and Allan and also that those funds are reinvested in the team.

Football clubs have to think about long term and if John going means we get Allan, McLaren and say one more top player, I think that makes sense in the long run.

I was hoping we'd get £3m+ for him but if the rumours are true and he has his heart set on Celtic, our position is significantly weakened.

Stonewall
12-07-2018, 11:21 AM
This reminds me of the Riordan saga in that it appears that Celtic are not really that keen to sign him but it's worth a couple of million to take a punt. At the same time weakening a rival. Equally they would be quite happy to let his contract run down and sign him for nothing.

Might be attractive to McGinn as he could negotiate a higher signing on fee, however if I was McGinn I would be starting to have misgivings about moving to a club which doesn't view me as a serious contender for a starting berth.

12-07-2018, 11:23 AM
Becoming increasingly convinced we should be keeping Mc Ginn, unless the offer is reasonable (2.5 mill plus Allan).

The reputed figures quoted for the current offfers are derisory and as has been pointed out Mc Ginn is potentially worth more in terms of potential for on field success.

Hibs have to play this well. Record ST sales and high expectations from fans and manager.

I went into the garage today and said "I like that award-winning car you have in the window, how much is it"

Dealer: £3k

Me: I'll give you £1.5k

Dealer: the price is £3k

Me: Ok, I'll give you £2k

Dealer: No deal

Me: Ok, I'll wait 12 months and pick it up much cheaper then

Dealer: [sells car to next customer]

Me: no car

12-07-2018, 11:25 AM
McGinn has value to Hibs as a player for the season, if we lose him for nothing we've still had that value through the course of the season.

I'm comfortable with Hibs' position, keeping McGinn would be ideal, but if we get a fair price that is good for the club, then I'm happy with that as well.

12-07-2018, 11:26 AM
It just sticks I'm my throat thinking £3m is OK when they sold Armstrong for double that.

I will not be happy with £3m even with Allan.

GreenPJ
12-07-2018, 11:27 AM
This reminds me of the Riordan saga in that it appears that Celtic are not really that keen to sign him but it's worth a couple of million to take a punt. At the same time weakening a rival. Equally they would be quite happy to let his contract run down and sign him for nothing.

Might be attractive to McGinn as he could negotiate a higher signing on fee, however if I was McGinn I would be starting to have misgivings about moving to a club which doesn't view me as a serious contender for a starting berth.

Realistically Celtic don't worry about weakening domestic teams from a competition perspective. They know that a bit more challenge would stand them in a little better sted in Europe. I think they have bid because they see McGinn as being an integral part of their team in the future.

I think the point that you make and Lennon also made a few months ago is very relevant that wherever he goes he needs to be going with the opportunity/expectation to be starting every week.

That might happen at Celtic but don't see who he would displace just now as he isn't a replacement for Armstrong. He has been a first team starter for at least 4 seasons now so going somewhere (at the same level i.e SPL) and not getting a regular game now would be a backward step.

12-07-2018, 11:28 AM

He might have made big known that he would only be looking to sign for Celtic, but if they will not meet the valuation then he might be asking himself if Celtic themselves seriously share that desire and the time might be right for him to start reconsidering all his options.

12-07-2018, 11:29 AM
I agree and we have to be careful here not to cutoff our nose to spite out face. I think we've done the right thing rejecting Celtic's offers so far given how long we have left in the transfer window.

However, for all concerned, and as sad as it makes me, I think this window is the right time for the John to move. This is on the basis we get at least £2m and Allan and also that those funds are reinvested in the team.

Football clubs have to think about long term and if John going means we get Allan, McLaren and say one more top player, I think that makes sense in the long run.

I was hoping we'd get £3m+ for him but if the rumours are true and he has his heart set on Celtic, our position is significantly weakened.

With the reputed sell on clause and agent fees that 2 million becomes a lot less. There is also talk of money being directed towards East Main. As a good few have pointed out if McGinn stays, his worth on the field may well bring greater financial rewards. Maybe we can still sign Allan and McLaren regardless?

Mc Ginn may well be set on Celtic, but he’s aHibs player for another season. I think overall that our position is fine on this at the moment.

12-07-2018, 11:30 AM
McGinn has value to Hibs as a player for the season, if we lose him for nothing we've still had that value through the course of the season.

I'm comfortable with Hibs' position, keeping McGinn would be ideal, but if we get a fair price that is good for the club, then I'm happy with that as well.

I agree matty we need to show a competitive edge even in selling players. Hibs run a risk of losing some money however we keep hold of a key player but this may also set a precident that we will not be dictated too or sell for sake of it.

If Hibs tell them to bolt I am 100‰ behind that call.

12-07-2018, 11:41 AM
With the reputed sell on clause and agent fees that 2 million becomes a lot less. There is also talk of money being directed towards East Main. As a good few have pointed out if McGinn stays, his worth on the field may well bring greater financial rewards. Maybe we can still sign Allan and McLaren regardless?

Mc Ginn may well be set on Celtic, but he’s aHibs player for another season. I think overall that our position is fine on this at the moment.

Another way if looking at this is Hibs going out and paying £1- 1.5 M plus wages for a player for one season. Not convinced any player in the Scottish game is worth that. I’d like SJM to stay another year, but that’s a huge amount of cash to turn down.

12-07-2018, 11:42 AM
How sits the argument that he has given us 3 great years and deserves the chance to make a step up the ladder?

Stonewall
12-07-2018, 11:46 AM

12-07-2018, 11:48 AM
How sits the argument that he has given us 3 great years and deserves the chance to make a step up the ladder?

He'll get the chance to step up the ladder when a team meets our valuation of the player. We aren't a charity.

Dr Jimmy
12-07-2018, 11:49 AM

At £1.5M there is no pressure on Rodgers to even play him.
McGinn could end up in the wilderness for a year or two.

12-07-2018, 11:50 AM

He does deserve to play at a higher level and earn a decent amount of money in the process.

Doesn't mean Hibs have to accept the first, or any, offer that comes in for him to allow him to do that if it doesn't suit us.

12-07-2018, 11:52 AM
It just sticks I'm my throat thinking £3m is OK when they sold Armstrong for double that.

You won't be happy then

12-07-2018, 11:59 AM

Armstrong has shown that he can hold down a place in one of the best Celtic teams in a long time, McGinn still has a lot to prove, especially (in my opinion) when it comes to distribution.

Ken
On the assumption there isn’t going to be a bidding war. I would be happy with £2.25m (plus a 15% sell on clause) + Allan on a 3 year deal

From Kerrydale Street:

Lennon confirmed yesterday that Allan is not involved in the talks.

Might or might not be true but did he actually say that yesterday?

12-07-2018, 12:01 PM

Which is why we will listen to reasonable offers.

12-07-2018, 12:01 PM
From Kerrydale Street:

Lennon confirmed yesterday that Allan is not involved in the talks.

Might or might not be true but did he actually say that yesterday?

Yeah he did. Scott Allan hasn’t been mentioned in any talks accordingly to Lennon.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/16348385.neil-lennon-says-celtic-bids-are-unsettling-for-hibs-star-john-mcginn/

12-07-2018, 12:08 PM
I have a feeling SJM will play tonight, and once that game is over, he will sign for the smellies.

No idea about the fee, or even if that scenario will pan out? :greengrin

12-07-2018, 12:14 PM

I'd be very happy with that. The reality is McGinn will likely be sold for less.

Getting what is decent money to us as well as player of Allan's class would be huge.

12-07-2018, 12:19 PM
Armstrong has shown that he can hold down a place in one of the best Celtic teams in a long time, McGinn still has a lot to prove, especially (in my opinion) when it comes to distribution.

McGinn has played more often for Scotland than Armstrong

McGinn has won Man of the Match in around half of the fixtures he has played at international level.

Armstrong, though a fine player, is best known in a Scotland jersey for foolishly giving the ball away in the dying seconds vs England at Hampden, leading to 2-2.

McGinn was nominated for Player of the Year in Scotland in the season just ended.

I could go on....

12-07-2018, 12:21 PM
Pikey eh ? Nae need. Did you not say McGinn was going to England ?

I did at the time, like other posters said but he's obviously changed his tune, it happens as TC has said about deals that don't go through for one reason and another. They're Celtic so I'll call them Pikeys if I wish, an odious club who shaft other Scottish clubs for their own gain.

12-07-2018, 12:27 PM

McGinn has won Man of the Match in around half of the fixtures he has played at international level.

Armstrong, though a fine player, is best known in a Scotland jersey for foolishly giving the ball away in the dying seconds vs England at Hampden, leading to 2-2.

McGinn was nominated for Player of the Year in Scotland in the season just ended.

I could go on....

Nah, he's more known for being one of our best players during that campaign. I do agree he's never worth twice as much as McGinn though.

12-07-2018, 12:27 PM
Maybe McGinn’s ‘I’d like to try my hand down south.’ was a come on to Celtic. He might have no intention of going south and will possibly see out his contract with us and then hike it up the M8. Fine with me as long as we get 100% next season, which I think we will.

12-07-2018, 12:32 PM

The two aren't comparable but you know that.

IncredibleHibee
12-07-2018, 12:33 PM
Celtic paid £1.5 million for ciftci. Let that sink in

12-07-2018, 12:33 PM
How about £2m plus they agree to cancel Allan's contract allowing us to negotiate a contract with him and they agree to lend us back SJM for the season? We keep McGinn for the time left on his contract (minus the 4 games against Celtic). Allan is now our player as opposed to being a loan player who can't play in those 4 games. We have £1.34m to invest in the team, which would perhaps include a reasonable fee for MacLaren.

12-07-2018, 12:37 PM
How about £2m plus they agree to cancel Allan's contract allowing us to negotiate a contract with him and they agree to lend us back SJM for the season? We keep McGinn for the time left on his contract (minus the 4 games against Celtic). Allan is now our player as opposed to being a loan player who can't play in those 4 games. We have £1.34m to invest in the team, which would perhaps include a reasonable fee for MacLaren.

Lending him back to us is a nonstarter in my opinion. They might be playing it a bit nonchalantly, but they’re gagging to get him and, once he’s there, he’ll begin to feature in Brenda’s plans.

12-07-2018, 12:38 PM
How about Celtic pay the required £5m. Give us Scott Allan and pay half his wages for the duration of his hibs contract. A sell on fee of 25%. Give us Leigh Griffiths, Scott brown and moussa dembele on loan for the rest of the season and give everyone who attends the first game of the season £1k in cash.

xyz23jc
12-07-2018, 12:40 PM
How about Celtic pay the required £5m. Give us Scott Allan and pay half his wages for the duration of his hibs contract. A sell on fee of 25%. Give us Leigh Griffiths, Scott brown and moussa dembele on loan for the rest of the season and give everyone who attends the first game of the season £1k in cash.

I'm in! :thumbsup::agree::greengrin

12-07-2018, 12:41 PM

....... first bit of common sense I’ve read on this thread. :greengrin

12-07-2018, 12:54 PM

I could go on....

It’s life mate. Players at bigger clubs go for more money

That’s why we got Mcginn for the fee we did and Celtic will get him for less than £3m too

12-07-2018, 12:57 PM
It’s life mate. Players at bigger clubs go for more money

That’s why we got Mcginn for the fee we did and Celtic will get him for less than £3m too

I agree with that.

There does seem too big a disparity in these figures being banded about though imo. I know we're not ever going to get £7m for him however if you take that figure and work back from there i think coming in at £3/4m is reasonable. £1.5m is pish.

12-07-2018, 01:03 PM

I’d carry him through on my shoulders for £3m. Will not happen.

GreenPJ
12-07-2018, 01:05 PM

I could go on....

An EPL team bid for Armstrong, none have for McGinn.

12-07-2018, 01:06 PM
Looks to me that it will be a pre contract signing in Jan the way things are going.

12-07-2018, 01:18 PM
Thanks for all the feedback

Turns out I am a football fan, a Hibs fan at that, and not an accountant.

I checked, and John McGinn is the only footballer I can see who won the 2 major cups in Scotland with 2 separate non-OF teams

The guy has something special, and he's a fantastic character.

He dominates derbies, he brings a drive to the team, and the way it is going, he will be playing for my team again this season.

If you would rather have a part share of an undercooked fee instead of all that then I can't help you folks.

I'd rather see John McGinn play for Hibs this season, unless the money is sensational.

And so far, it is very far from sensational.

Hibeewilly
12-07-2018, 01:19 PM
Looks to me that it will be a pre contract signing in Jan the way things are going.
John has repeatedly said that any move he makes has to be beneficial to not only himself but to Hibs and St Mirren as well and I think he will honour that. For that reason I don't see the above happening Lago.
The English transfer window closes on 9th August and ours on 31st August and although as supporters we want to see all deals done quickly there is still bucket loads of time left

12-07-2018, 01:21 PM
I’d carry him through on my shoulders for £3m. Will not happen.

You did say we'd be lucky to get £1m for him, well the latest bid in nearer £2m, maybe you'd better start on some press ups to build your strength up?

w pilton hibby
12-07-2018, 01:21 PM

Perhaps a better comparison is the fee Dundee United got when Armstrong moved from them to Celtc.

£2m for him and GMS.

Hibeewilly
12-07-2018, 01:24 PM
John has repeatedly said that any move he makes has to be beneficial to not only himself but to Hibs and St Mirren as well and I think he will honour that. For that reason I don't see the above happening Lago.
The English transfer window closes on 9th August and ours on 31st August and although as supporters we want to see all deals done quickly there is still bucket loads of time left

12-07-2018, 01:24 PM
I know he has said that but my feeling is the way to do it was with a years extension & buy out clause inserted. He is a professional footballer & if I read Lennon's comments correctly it is beginning to affect the boy. :agree:

12-07-2018, 01:26 PM
Thanks for all the feedback

Turns out I am a football fan, a Hibs fan at that, and not an accountant.

I checked, and John McGinn is the only footballer I can see who won the 2 major cups in Scotland with 2 separate non-OF teams

The guy has something special, and he's a fantastic character.

He dominates derbies, he brings a drive to the team, and the way it is going, he will be playing for my team again this season.

If you would rather have a part share of an undercooked fee instead of all that then I can't help you folks.

I'd rather see John McGinn play for Hibs this season, unless the money is sensational.

And so far, it is very far from sensational.

Absolutely.

Hibeewilly
12-07-2018, 01:29 PM
I know he has said that but my feeling is the way to do it was with a years extension & buy out clause inserted. He is a professional footballer & if I read Lennon's comments correctly it is beginning to affect the boy. :agree:
I think Lennon said yesterday that "until its resolved we will manage him best we can but I have seen no ill effects in his play" He also said that he has a bit of a dead leg but will be fit for tonight.

Surdjoe
12-07-2018, 01:29 PM
Seen that Celtic have been granted £1 million from FIFA for Rogic, Lustig, Boyata and Gamboa playing in the world cup

Greenworld
12-07-2018, 01:31 PM
The English transfer window closes in 28 days or so loads of clubs still have business to do I wouldn't rule out a bid coming in from one of the clubs reported to be interested especially with hibs knocking celtic back twice . Pay 3 or so now or pay 8 from celtic in a couple of years

12-07-2018, 01:32 PM
I think Lennon said yesterday that "until its resolved we will manage him best we can but I have seen no ill effects in his play" He also said that he has a bit of a dead leg but will be fit for tonight.
Lets hope it all gets sorted out sooner rather than later, he seems to be a level headed young man who knows where he wants his career to take him I'll miss him but wish him well. :agree:

Hibeewilly
12-07-2018, 01:34 PM
Lets hope it all gets sorted out sooner rather than later, he seems to be a level headed young man who knows where he wants his career to take him I'll miss him but wish him well. :agree:
I agree 100%:top marks

12-07-2018, 01:41 PM
Just oiling my vocal chords at the moment in case there is a chorus of 'We've got McGinn, super John McGinn' tonight.

Nothing like being ready!!

hulk
12-07-2018, 01:55 PM
Perhaps a better comparison is the fee Dundee United got when Armstrong moved from them to Celtc.

£2m for him and GMS.
Do you think Armstrong was as good then as McGinn
Is now ? Not sure he was. It really should be about ability and potential
and not dictated by who you play for - for that reason I think
Armstrong to Southampton is a decent comparison- would even say
McGinn is better and had unique qualities.

K-Zazu
12-07-2018, 01:59 PM

Why would Celtic want to do that?

12-07-2018, 02:14 PM
It really should be about ability and potential
and not dictated by who you play for -

How would that work then??!

Use stats from Football Manager or similar to determine their ability?

How do you measure someone’s potential?

If we can’t agree on a fee how the hell are clubs going to agree on a players ability??

”He’s braw, we want £2m?”

‘Naw he’s no, here’s £500k”!!

It really doesmt matter what what we think he’s worth or what any other players have been bought or sold for. Celtic either match our valuation or he stays put.

12-07-2018, 03:01 PM
https://twitter.com/bbcsportsound/status/1017414418005540870?s=21

12-07-2018, 03:15 PM
https://twitter.com/bbcsportsound/status/1017414418005540870?s=21

Pretty reasonable comments from BR.

12-07-2018, 03:20 PM

It's not really about comparing the players talents, as much as it should be, but more comparing the money available to the clubs.

7 million to Southampton is probably the equivalent of 1 or 2 million to Celtic. Celtic don't have another 7 million to spend on a player after spending 8 or so on the guy from PSG. They're loaded compared to other Scottish clubs but compared to teams down south they're paupers.

12-07-2018, 03:26 PM
It's not really about comparing the players talents, as much as it should be, but more comparing the money available to the clubs.

7 million to Southampton is probably the equivalent of 1 or 2 million to Celtic. Celtic don't have another 7 million to spend on a player after spending 8 or so on the guy from PSG. They're loaded compared to other Scottish clubs but compared to teams down south they're paupers.

I think Celtic's board are just one bad Euro result away from a fans backlash though.

£7m in for Armstrong yet seemingly penny pinching over a replacement. It's not a good look.

Saw Ntcham was involved in a car accident last night (though seems like no-one seriously hurt thank goodness).

Hibs are quite right in having a bullish valuation, and in sticking to it. John McGinn is worth more to us than has been bid, and he's worth more to Celtic than has been bid. Just wait til they go 1 down to the opponent in their next round Champions League qualifier...

12-07-2018, 03:50 PM
I think Celtic's board are just one bad Euro result away from a fans backlash though.

£7m in for Armstrong yet seemingly penny pinching over a replacement. It's not a good look.

Saw Ntcham was involved in a car accident last night (though seems like no-one seriously hurt thank goodness).

Hibs are quite right in having a bullish valuation, and in sticking to it. John McGinn is worth more to us than has been bid, and he's worth more to Celtic than has been bid. Just wait til they go 1 down to the opponent in their next round Champions League qualifier...

They would need to miss out on 10 in a row before there is any fans backlash I think.

12-07-2018, 04:12 PM
An example of the esteem in which they hold McGinn.:

Yeah we should pay the going rate, you're right. The going rate for a player like him given his contract situation is less than £1m though.

Also it's not our concern about their replacements. They have allowed Allen to go and don't seem to be interested in bringing him back, at least not on a full contract. Mcgeogh, who everyone thinks was their best player last year was also allowed to walk away for nothing. They are taking the piss with McGinn here because they didn't plan very well. That's their problem, not ours.

If the reports are true about the figures we've already offered (£1.75m allegedly) then we've already went way too high. Our next bid should be half of that and show them that we won't be held to ransom for their folly

12-07-2018, 04:14 PM

Yeah we should pay the going rate, you're right. The going rate for a player like him given his contract situation is less than £1m though.

Also it's not our concern about their replacements. They have allowed Allen to go and don't seem to be interested in bringing him back, at least not on a full contract. Mcgeogh, who everyone thinks was their best player last year was also allowed to walk away for nothing. They are taking the piss with McGinn here because they didn't plan very well. That's their problem, not ours.

If the reports are true about the figures we've already offered (£1.75m allegedly) then we've already went way too high. Our next bid should be half of that and show them that we won't be held to ransom for their folly

Celtc fan discusses the law of supply and demand. Bless.

12-07-2018, 04:15 PM
There should be a rule, no more than 3 bids for the same player from a single club in the same transfer window

That would cut out a lot of this low balling pittance bidding nonsense

12-07-2018, 04:28 PM

I absolutely hate Celtc fans. The majority of them like to pretend they are a better kind of person than the average hun but they are all the same. Absolute ****s.

seanshow
12-07-2018, 04:31 PM
The english transfer window shuts on 9th August SJM is a valuable asset to club, I trust the tache and LD to tell celtic to gtf with their time-wasting bids. :wink:

12-07-2018, 04:33 PM
You did say we'd be lucky to get £1m for him, well the latest bid in nearer £2m, maybe you'd better start on some press ups to build your strength up?

I look forward to hearing how much we get for him.

12-07-2018, 04:42 PM

That is the impression they have. That they are doing us a favour by stripping us of our best players for whatever money they see fit to give us. That we should be grateful to get anything at all. I doubt the Celtic hierarchy view us much differently. They are too used to dealing with selling clubs who need to short sell their assets just to survive.

These attitudes wont change because most Scottish clubs wont stand up to them. I want hibs to be more concerned with putting a good team on the park than snatching at a low offer. Keeping McGinn for the season would be helping to do just that. If Celtic want to wait a year then make them wait.

The Leith Dutch
12-07-2018, 04:47 PM

While I agree with the sentiment we all know that it's massively about who you play for.

The same player will be worth less for Hibs as the selling club than he would being sold by Celtic and similarly less being sold by Celtic than they would being sold by most EPL clubs. It's a nearly insoluble problem too realistically speaking. You'd have to have all players independently valued and there is no way the big clubs agree to that just as there's no way they'd agree to all the actual Champions in Europe qualifying for the group stages of the CL ahead of the clubs who finished 2nd and 3rd in the EPL for example.

Everything that happens in football is money, power and influence rather than having anything to do with fair play.

Sioux
12-07-2018, 05:04 PM
There should be a rule, no more than 3 bids for the same player from a single club in the same transfer window

That would cut out a lot of this low balling pittance bidding nonsense

Easily countered.

Email: "If we were to offer £xxx, what do you think?"

Plan B?

12-07-2018, 05:04 PM
Interesting point.

Is the board, who've rightly received a lot of praise since 2014, due any scrutiny over allowing the club to lose arguably their two most saleable assets in McGeough for free and possibly McGinn if he signs a pre-contract in January?

12-07-2018, 05:07 PM
Interesting point.

Is the board, who've rightly received a lot of praise since 2014, due any scrutiny over allowing the club to lose arguably their two most saleable assets in McGeough for free and possibly McGinn if he signs a pre-contract in January?
Absolutely not. Until this season just finished Dylan had a horrendous injury record and nothing could have previously justified a long term contract. McGinn has been destined for bigger things for a while - he knew it so why would he sign a revised long term contract?

12-07-2018, 05:11 PM
Interesting point.

I think the best way to look at it is from a football achievement point of view rather than financial. Without McGeough and Mcginn we might not have won the Scottish Cup, get promoted to the premiership, finish 3rd, get to a league cup semi final and a Scottish Cup semi final. Yes I agree it would be nice to get some sort of reward financially in terms of a sale but the change these players have brought to the development of our club has increased season tickets to a record sale so I think we should be more grateful to the board for bringing in thrse types of players rather than have a go at them for not selling.

That’s just my opinion 👍

12-07-2018, 05:17 PM
I think the best way to look at it is from a football achievement point of view rather than financial. Without McGeough and Mcginn we might not have won the Scottish Cup, get promoted to the premiership, finish 3rd, get to a league cup semi final and a Scottish Cup semi final. Yes I agree it would be nice to get some sort of reward financially in terms of a sale but the change these players have brought to the development of our club has increased season tickets to a record sale so I think we should be more grateful to the board for bringing in thrse types of players rather than have a go at them for not selling.

That’s just my opinion 👍

Erm we finished 4th

12-07-2018, 05:25 PM
Erm we finished 4th

...pedantry alert. OK, he got the league position wrong by one place, but he also made a number of interesting points which it might be more interesting to talk about instead no?

Nutmegged
12-07-2018, 05:29 PM
Erm we finished 4th

Nit picking, his point remains and it's a good one.

12-07-2018, 05:42 PM
Erm we finished 4th

My mistake. Finished 4th but challenged for 2nd place up until the 2nd last game of the season against two teams with much larger budgets 👍

12-07-2018, 05:43 PM
Not involved at all tonight. Goodbye SJM!

Hibeesforever
12-07-2018, 05:48 PM
No other reason why he would be left out, unlikely to be injured. All the best SJM, great memories.

12-07-2018, 05:59 PM
Guessing Celtic have said we will offer this but he can’t be cup tied

12-07-2018, 06:06 PM
Guessing Celtic have said we will offer this but he can’t be cup tied

He would not be cup tied!

BegbieHSC
12-07-2018, 06:16 PM
Hope if there’s any evidence of them tapping SJM up, which sounds like there definitely has been, that we report them.

JimboHibs
12-07-2018, 06:20 PM
Hope if there’s any evidence of them tapping SJM up, which sounds like there definitely has been, that we report them.

😂😂😂 care to share the evidence.

12-07-2018, 06:24 PM
For a club that said they wouldn’t be putting in a third bid and a support who apparently don’t rate McGinn, they are wetting themselves at this news. I know we don’t know any details,and we never will, but I’m willing to guess we’ve been hard-balled.

12-07-2018, 06:25 PM
...pedantry alert. OK, he got the league position wrong by one place, but he also made a number of interesting points which it might be more interesting to talk about instead no?
Yes the board have done well but the standard achieved must be maintained & improved.

12-07-2018, 06:26 PM
For a club that said they wouldn’t be putting in a third bid and a support who apparently don’t rate McGinn, they are wetting themselves at this news. I know we don’t know any details,and we never will, but I’m willing to guess we’ve been hard-balled.

I thought it was his thigh.

12-07-2018, 06:29 PM
I'm wondering if a club other than Celtic have come in for him today.

12-07-2018, 07:17 PM
Saw a rumour on social media (yes I know but here it is anyway)

McGinn to Celtic for an undisclosed fee with Allan to hibs and Bitton on loan

12-07-2018, 07:39 PM
Saw a rumour on social media (yes I know but here it is anyway)

McGinn to Celtic for an undisclosed fee with Allan to hibs and Bitton on loan

Also saw that. Slight flaw however Bitton is injured and not expected to return to training until Sept!

12-07-2018, 07:40 PM

Forgot to put a smiley after it, want being pedantic 😁

Greenworld
12-07-2018, 09:16 PM
Media saying derby ready to bid 3 million

skyehibee
12-07-2018, 09:21 PM
Media saying derby ready to bid 3 million

Whereabouts? Can’t see this anywhere

Greenworld
12-07-2018, 09:44 PM
Whereabouts? Can’t see this anywhereHerehttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180712/a1b4d66948408943e5391f88f92e681b.jpg

Greenworld
12-07-2018, 09:45 PM
Whereabouts? Can’t see this anywhereOther teams interested according to this https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180712/f71ef9db9fcf0eefb033135d11b22a99.jpg

12-07-2018, 10:00 PM
The sun are saying we want 3.5 million and that there has been contact from clubs down south but no official bid. But hibs are expecting bids from down south. This is great news imo. Opens everything right up.

12-07-2018, 10:02 PM
The sun are saying we want 3.5 million and that there has been contact from clubs down south but no official bid. But hibs are expecting bids from down south. This is great news imo. Opens everything right up.

Daily record saying it’s £4m

12-07-2018, 10:03 PM

Exactly what we wanted to hear!

guthrie01
12-07-2018, 10:03 PM
Good, should take the English money then offer 100k for Scott Allan and see how Celtic like it

Big L
12-07-2018, 10:04 PM
I had a look to see what was being said on the Celtic rumours site and the editor spouted of to the Celtic fans that McGinn was coming to Celtic and that he told Hibs not to listen to offers from other clubs because they were wasting their time. Make of that what you will.

Time for Celtic to get serious if they want Hibs to play ball.

Allan plus serious cash and I’ll be satisfied.

Clubs down south will be thinking they can get a player of similar caliber to Armstrong for cheaper, if we get 3.5-4m for McGinn that would be good. Lets be honest though, I can see McGinn going further than Armstrong in his career so whoever gets him will be getting him on the cheap.

12-07-2018, 10:08 PM

Celtc need to remember the English window closes early this summer. Clubs down there are about to go on a spending frenzy - a lot of the top clubs have already done business so the market will be moving fast.

12-07-2018, 10:13 PM
If there is interest down south, Celtic’s bid will prompt them to get the ball rolling. That’s when we find out how serious Celtic are about wanting him.

Interesting comments from Lennon tonight, saying McGinn isn’t right mentally. That changes things a bit IMO and we’ll want to get things wrapped up quickly now. We just need to hold our nerve.

12-07-2018, 10:54 PM
I had a look to see what was being said on the Celtic rumours site and the editor spouted of to the Celtic fans that McGinn was coming to Celtic and that he told Hibs not to listen to offers from other clubs because they were wasting their time. Make of that what you will.

I don’t believe the accuracy of this for a second, but, if on the very off chance it were true, I would be telling McGinn to shut it and if Celtic were relying on a ‘steal’ he and they would be disappointed. You’re with us for another season and if you don’t like it you can show a lack of professionalism and take the powder puff and then slink off to Celtic in June 2019. I will be really disappointed if LD buckles to Celtic and McGinn pressure.

12-07-2018, 10:57 PM

not sure why but i believe that, and if it turns out he only wants to go to the west of scotland club then i for one will be rather peeved at SJM, i'm still a tad peeved at Dylan McGeouch :(

12-07-2018, 11:03 PM
If I was a professional football player, playing well for a random club and Hibs were interested to sign me, I'd be hugely annoyed if they put cheap offers in for me, it honestly would put me off moving to Hibs to an extent even though I'm a massive fan and have Hibs family. The whole talk of "we'll just let your contract run out at Hibs and get you for free" is another thing that'd make me think "nah, you are alright, if you don't want me enough to sign me now after all these offers clearly sent to unsettle me, then get lost".

Strange that most footballers seem to be quite happy for cheap deals to be submitted for them...even if they've enjoyed playing for their current team...

12-07-2018, 11:03 PM

Can't see for a minute mcginn saying he isn't interested in offers down south. I'd also like to think he'd have more respect for hibs. Guess we'll find out

jakedance
12-07-2018, 11:08 PM
not sure why but i believe that, and if it turns out he only wants to go to the west of scotland club then i for one will be rather peeved at SJM, i'm still a tad peeved at Dylan McGeouch :(

Why’s that? Up to him where he wants to work isn’t it?

Any club can come in for him but it’s still up to the player if he wants to move once we accept a bid. They’re not slaves.

tonyrougier123
12-07-2018, 11:18 PM
Can't see for a minute mcginn saying he isn't interested in offers down south. I'd also like to think he'd have more respect for hibs. Guess we'll find out
Mcginn is is a total pro with massive respect for hibs! id be very surprised if hes actually said anything about leaving hibs to any1 other than family.he has already said he is totally relaxed about having another year at hibs.

12-07-2018, 11:21 PM
Mcginn is is a total pro with massive respect for hibs! id be very surprised if hes actually said anything about leaving hibs to any1 other than family.he has already said he is totally relaxed about having another year at hibs.

Allan said very much the same before Rangers saga fully kicked off and pretty sure he handed in a transfer request...just saying. We can't know what players will do. Scott Allan seems a decent enough bloke but he did that to try to force his way to his boyhood heroes. Not sure why McGinn couldn't do the same.

IncredibleHibee
12-07-2018, 11:51 PM
Allan said very much the same before Rangers saga fully kicked off and pretty sure he handed in a transfer request...just saying. We can't know what players will do. Scott Allan seems a decent enough bloke but he did that to try to force his way to his boyhood heroes. Not sure why McGinn couldn't do the same.

Sorry disagree with this. Scott Allan has a track record of doing things some perceive to be not cricket. Ask Dundee Utd fans. SJM doesn’t have said track record. I think it’s something that will eventually run it’s course

BegbieHSC
13-07-2018, 12:12 AM
Apologies, more social media rumours going around tonight, but there’s a suggestion among some (NOT ME - I’VE NO GOT A CLUE!) that if there’s a situation where an acceptable fee is not reached by the end of this transfer window, that McGinn will sign a small extension to ensure that us and St Mirren don’t lose out through a pre-contact acquisition from another club come January

To me, this doesn’t really make sense, and seems like pie in the sky, wishful thinking, but it would be nice if it was true.

Thought I’d pass on in the event that there is a remnance of truth in it.

13-07-2018, 12:28 AM
Apologies, more social media rumours going around tonight, but there’s a suggestion among some (NOT ME - I’VE NO GOT A CLUE!) that if there’s a situation where an acceptable fee is not reached by the end of this transfer window, that McGinn will sign a small extension to ensure that us and St Mirren don’t lose out through a pre-contact acquisition from another club come January

To me, this doesn’t really make sense, and seems like pie in the sky, wishful thinking, but it would be nice if it was true.

Craig Gordon did that before moving to Sunderland to get Hearts a bigger fee.

13-07-2018, 12:37 AM
Sorry disagree with this. Scott Allan has a track record of doing things some perceive to be not cricket. Ask Dundee Utd fans. SJM doesn’t have said track record. I think it’s something that will eventually run it’s course

Can disagree, not a problem with that but McGinn could easily get a track record for doing the same as Scott Allan, we might be his “first”. We cannot underestimate the family pull he has and where his mind is at.I could quite easily see him ask to meet Leeann and Lennon to request to be sold as quick as possible to Celtic.

We don’t even know, this may already have happened. Fit by next weeks game or gone, at the moment my money is on he’s gone.

DetroitHibs
13-07-2018, 12:39 AM
If a player like Lampard takes SJM aside and shows him round Derby and gets in his ear, he could easily want to sign for Derby. Lampard could improve John's playing career a lot.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-07-2018, 06:00 AM

And himself bigger wages while he waits.

It's actually quite common - both Suarez and countinho did it at Liverpool I think

13-07-2018, 06:21 AM

Yes he would do that. He is that sort of person.

13-07-2018, 06:25 AM
Hibs have always rolled over to celtics money. Every now and again well have a player who can do better than celtic. This is one of those occasions.

13-07-2018, 06:45 AM
Hibs have always rolled over to celtics money. Every now and again well have a player who can do better than celtic. This is one of those occasions.

We Didn't roll over to Celtics money with Steven Fletcher, but I get what you mean.

Most of the time, for successful Hibs players being sold, Celtic tend to be the only show in town and are most likely to offer the highest fee, even derisory amounts that they offered for McGinn.

I think Hibs have played this pretty well, holding off Celtic and now the papers are beginning to print interest from down south, whether there is interest or not, I don't know.

This may encourage Celtic to pay the fee that Hibs feel is worth selling McGinn for.

DetroitHibs
13-07-2018, 07:02 AM
For the garbage fee Celtic are offering, keeping McGinn and making it to the Euro league stages would make us just as much money.

13-07-2018, 07:06 AM
For the garbage fee Celtic are offering, keeping McGinn and making it to the Euro league stages would make us just as much money.

This is true.

Shame he ‘wasn’t fit’ last night, but he’s not the first player to have his head turned by speculation.

13-07-2018, 07:08 AM

True, but us making it that far is extremely unlikely.

JimboHibs
13-07-2018, 07:18 AM

Keeping McGinn doesn't guarantee making it to Euro Group stages.

13-07-2018, 07:20 AM

Exactly. Keep seeing this point and while we stand a better chance with him it’s still very difficult to get there. We could also get there without him though.

JimboHibs
13-07-2018, 07:24 AM
Exactly. Keep seeing this point and while we stand a better chance with him it’s still very difficult to get there. We could also get there without him though.

Fantasy Football in their heads.If only it was as easy as some folk think.

13-07-2018, 07:40 AM
Yet another angle.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/english-clubs-poised-to-beat-celtic-to-4m-rated-hibs-star-john-mcginn-1-4768148

13-07-2018, 07:57 AM
Yet another angle.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/english-clubs-poised-to-beat-celtic-to-4m-rated-hibs-star-john-mcginn-1-4768148

Interesting. David Hardie had good sources at Hibs when he was with the Evening News. Hopefully he’s right and if McGinn has to go, the interest drives the fee up.

13-07-2018, 08:08 AM

The only person who has used the word guarantee is you.

Ilovehibs
13-07-2018, 08:10 AM
Yet another angle.

Hope bigger bids from England start to come in.
This article confirms that St Mirren receive 33% of any fee we get.

K-Zazu
13-07-2018, 08:10 AM
Yet another angle.

St Mirren get 33%. It’s in that article clear as day.

13-07-2018, 08:15 AM
St Mirren get 33%. It’s in that article clear as day.Again, the only source for that is the former St Mirren chair. It hasn't been corroborated by anyone else and has been denied by RP

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

K-Zazu
13-07-2018, 08:22 AM
Again, the only source for that is the former St Mirren chair. It hasn't been corroborated by anyone else and has been denied by RP

Why would he just make it up what would be the point

13-07-2018, 08:25 AM
Why would he just make it up what would be the pointTo appease the fans?

Why would Rod deny it? Same answer, probably.

So we're left to make a judgement, based on our own particular angle or agenda. That remains until someone reliable clarifies it.

13-07-2018, 08:25 AM
Why would he just make it up what would be the point

Why would our Rod deny it if it was true???

13-07-2018, 08:33 AM
Again, the only source for that is the former St Mirren chair. It hasn't been corroborated by anyone else and has been denied by RP

Its obvious nobody has a clue what the sell on fee is. It was a throwaway remark by the St Mirren chairman and I doubt he would know the exact figure. I suspect it was around 25% and remember it's the difference between what we paid and what mcginn goes for, if indeed he does go. There's is absolutely no rush now we hopefully are through to the next round of the Europa league. Should get interesting if an English club comes in with a bid of say £3m. If celtic get real and offer £2.5m plus Allan I'm sure the deal will be done. God knows why they play these childish games having sold Armstrong for £7m. Especially when it's rod and Leeann their dealing with. The pressure is now on them after last night's result. Also we can sign Allan on a pre-contract in January too or buy him for a nominal fee so it works both ways. I'm sure sjm is used to the speculation so will just get on with things as he knows he will get his big contract.
He doesn't want St Mirren to lose out either remember.

13-07-2018, 08:43 AM
Interest from English teams is a real positive in this situation. Mc Ginn might well be keen on Celtic, but if a club like Fulham or West Ham offer him more money and a bigger challenge then I would imagine his horizons would broaden.

Celtic potentially risk losing a high profile signing for a relatively small amount of money. That would be egg on their manky coupons and most satisfying all round.

13-07-2018, 08:44 AM
Is there actually any real interest from England though?

13-07-2018, 08:49 AM
Is there actually any real interest from England though?

It is getting reported in a range of papers referred to in posts above?

David Hardie has always had good Hibs connections, no stretch of the imagination to think that someone at Hibs might be feeding wee titbits?

13-07-2018, 08:51 AM
It is getting reported in a range of papers referred to in posts above?

David Hardie has always had good Hibs connections, no stretch of the imagination to think that someone at Hibs might be feeding wee titbits?

Yeah, the article is almost identical. Could easily be a press release in order to put a bit of pressure on Celtic. The lack of named clubs is a bit odd.

13-07-2018, 08:54 AM
Got excited when I saw it was a Hardie article with that headline, but there's no meat to the bones of the story at all.

13-07-2018, 08:55 AM

Garry O did exactly the same before he moved to Russia, signed a 1 year extension to ensure we got good money for him, not all players are money grabbing gets.

13-07-2018, 09:04 AM
Yeah, the article is almost identical. Could easily be a press release in order to put a bit of pressure on Celtic. The lack of named clubs is a bit odd.

It's an agency story.

Hfc_Since1875
13-07-2018, 09:05 AM

Lennon was asked about this last night on BBC Sportsound and his words were clearly acknowledging the deal

13-07-2018, 09:17 AM
Lennon was asked about this last night on BBC Sportsound and his words were clearly acknowledging the deal

as far as i know RP has said in the past the 'rumoured' 33% add-on is much less....don't think anyone is denying there's an add-on

GreenOnions
13-07-2018, 09:18 AM

Rod is a details man. That's where the devil is :agree:

RN Hibee
13-07-2018, 09:19 AM
The amount of Celtic fans who seem convinced that if we don't sell them McGinn he will join them on a free regardless of interest from the Championship has me hoping even more so that he goes down south. Of course it only adds to the fact that if we sell him to a Championship club with a good sell-on % agreed, and he does well, that we could be looking at getting an extra couple of million in a few years time.

13-07-2018, 09:24 AM
Rod is a details man. That's where the devil is :agree:Indeed. I've said it before ....his words were "It's nowhere near....".

And 50% is nowhere near 30% [emoji41]

13-07-2018, 09:28 AM
St Mirren get 33%. It’s in that article clear as day.

....and its written by a journalist in a newspaper so it must be true.

13-07-2018, 09:32 AM
This is true.

Shame he ‘wasn’t fit’ last night, but he’s not the first player to have his head turned by speculation.

What makes you so certain that it was SJM who didn't want to be playing last night as opposed to the club protecting the value of it's prize asset?

13-07-2018, 11:35 AM
Hope bigger bids from England start to come in.
This article confirms that St Mirren receive 33% of any fee we get.

The St Mirren cut might actually help us here.

Both SJM’s former clubs will lose out of he goes for a cut price fee... I’m sure he is aware of this.

13-07-2018, 11:48 AM
Suppose for argument’s sake we got £Xm plus Allan in a deal with Celtic. Who places the valuation on Allan? The clubs or an independent tribunal? If, for whatever reason, they place a very high value on him, we could end up losing a very large part of the cash part of the deal.

13-07-2018, 11:54 AM
Suppose for argument’s sake we got £Xm plus Allan in a deal with Celtic. Who places the valuation on Allan? The clubs or an independent tribunal? If, for whatever reason, they place a very high value on him, we could end up losing a very large part of the cash part of the deal.

Maybe partly the reason why Allan is being kept completely separate to any McGinn negotiations... well, officially anyway.

13-07-2018, 12:04 PM
Fantasy Football in their heads.If only it was as easy as some folk think.

I've not seen anyone saying it was easy, but disregarding the possibility outright is complete nonsense and doing Hibs a disservice.

There are plenty of seeded teams in the third and fourth qualifying rounds that are much weaker than Celtic, so we could easily give a good game. Dundalk and shamrock rovers have managed it in recent years, Hibs definitely can with a bit of luck.

heid the baw
13-07-2018, 12:04 PM
We don't need £1.5 Mill minus the St Mirren percentage. No bank is hammering on the door for money and calling the shots as would have been the case years ago.
We can afford to keep McGinn for a season, put a stronger team out and hopefully get a decent league finish and cup runs, bringing in more revenue and entertaining the fan base encouraging the trend towards better crowds
If celtic want to guarantee his signature now, they will have to pay the asking price which would tempt the club to sell him. Celtic can choose to risk waiting until January to save money, but if he continues to perform and improve then someone else may make him a better offer come January.
Bottom line is that we don't need to sell him or any other player on the cheap any more.

mixumatosis
13-07-2018, 12:08 PM
Maybe partly the reason why Allan is being kept completely separate to any McGinn negotiations... well, officially anyway.

I suspect any clause will use standard wording along the lines of "x% of any future transfer fee". In a Player + Cash deal, you would only be entitled to a percentage of the fee itself. Think of the number of transfers that take place every year, then think how many are player plus cash deals, then think how many involve players with sell on clauses and I doubt you're looking at a big number. Certainly not enough to justify the cost of holding tribunals to establish player value etc.

It might be different if you're Santos and you're flogging Neymar to Barcelona, but at our level I would think it evens itself out over time.

patlowe
13-07-2018, 12:14 PM
We don't need £1.5 Mill minus the St Mirren percentage. No bank is hammering on the door for money and calling the shots as would have been the case years ago.
We can afford to keep McGinn for a season, put a stronger team out and hopefully get a decent league finish and cup runs, bringing in more revenue and entertaining the fan base encouraging the trend towards better crowds
If celtic want to guarantee his signature now, they will have to pay the asking price which would tempt the club to sell him. Celtic can choose to risk waiting until January to save money, but if he continues to perform and improve then someone else may make him a better offer come January.
Bottom line is that we don't need to sell him or any other player on the cheap any more.

I generally agree but Lennon (accidentally or not) said after the game last night that we need to move on from McGeouch and McGinn, which makes me think it's already been accepted within the club that he will be going.

heid the baw
13-07-2018, 12:28 PM
I generally agree but Lennon (accidentally or not) said after the game last night that we need to move on from McGeouch and McGinn, which makes me think it's already been accepted within the club that he will be going.

I am also fairly certain he will be going. My point is that we don't need to be pushed around by celtic making insulting offers anymore. An international capped player who wins plaudits from many sources, with a one year contract has a value. That value has to be around £3 million mark. If Armstrong is worth £7 million then why offer £1.5 for McGinn.

13-07-2018, 01:18 PM
True, but us making it that far is extremely unlikely.

That may be so, but here are the possible earnings for getting as far as the play off stage:

Preliminary round ( last night ) 240,000 Euros

Second round 260,000 Euros

Third round 280,000 Euros

Play off round ( losing team only ) 300,000 Euros

Total ….. 1,080,000 Euros

If you factor in the crowds we could earn a hell of a lot of money … If the 12,000 last night paid an average of £17 to get in we made £204,000 before tax. Its more than likely we could hit at least 18,000 for the next tie and at £17 a pop average that would earn us £306,000. Get through that and get a glamour tie with a full house paying on average £20 to get in that's £400,000

Even on a presumption that we don't go any further we would have earned 780,000 Euros from prize money and £910,000 from gate money. I don't know if we would earn even more money from TV coverage of any of our matches, but if so then that probably ups the total considerably.

Get to the group stages and those figures will be far higher.

13-07-2018, 01:23 PM
That may be so, but here are the possible earnings for getting as far as the play off stage:

If you factor in the crowds we could earn a hell of a lot of money … If the 12,000 last night paid an average of £17 to get in we made £204,000 before tax. Its more than likely we could hit at least 18,000 for the next tie and at £17 a pop average that would earn us £306,000. Get through that and get a glamour tie with a full house paying on average £20 to get in that's £400,000

Even on a presumption that we don't go any further we would have earned 780,000 Euros from prize money and £910,000 from gate money. I don't know if we would earn even more money from TV coverage of any of our matches, but if so then that probably ups the total considerably.

Get to the group stages and those figures will be far higher.Do home teams keep gate receipts?

Alan62
13-07-2018, 01:24 PM

14,000 last night, I think. Wasn't that the official crowd announcement?

mayo hibee
13-07-2018, 01:31 PM
Those numbers would need to be offset against travel and accommodation costs to the Faroes, Greece and anywhere else as well as the gate receipts from League Cup games we won't be playing. Still sizeable amounts on offer though.

Dundalk brought in £6 million from their European run the year they made the group stages (2016) with a much smaller attendance at home games than Hibs have.

13-07-2018, 01:42 PM
14,000 last night, I think. Wasn't that the official crowd announcement?

It was … but since then the official site has given it as 12,501 …. still a very decent turn out though.

nellio
13-07-2018, 04:19 PM
I really hope Cardiff come in for him. He's a proper Warnock type player and I'd love to see him get a few games in the premier.

Mainstandman
13-07-2018, 04:30 PM
Mcginn was at the Scottish open golf today, from
About 12 noon so may not have even been at training

13-07-2018, 04:40 PM

1st team squad had the day off.

13-07-2018, 04:48 PM
Was he limping?

13-07-2018, 04:49 PM

His dead leg must have had the kiss of life. :greengrin

13-07-2018, 04:52 PM

Does that cup tie him for Carnoustie now?

13-07-2018, 04:53 PM
His dead leg must have had the kiss of life. :greengrin
I thought it was dog-legs at the open?

13-07-2018, 04:56 PM

A lot of the players were at the golf so must've had the day off

Lendo
13-07-2018, 04:57 PM

Is is that how the money works? I assumed the money per round wasn’t cumulative. Surely Aberdeen would rather be in our position and have an extra round of games so they are £240k better off

shetlandhibee
13-07-2018, 05:01 PM
I thought it was dog-legs at the open?

13-07-2018, 05:32 PM

Tiger Woods now calls his 7 iron "The McGinn"

13-07-2018, 05:37 PM
Is is that how the money works? I assumed the money per round wasn’t cumulative. Surely Aberdeen would rather be in our position and have an extra round of games so they are £240k better off

I don’t think it’s cumulative. I just looked online and it’s ambigous.

13-07-2018, 05:57 PM
Tiger Woods now calls his 7 iron "The McGinn"

Oh dear put put put

13-07-2018, 06:03 PM
From some walloper called on JKB commenting on the possibility of us getting a good fee for SJM.

"On Hibs. We know that their overall debt was reduced via the Farmer deal and that the bank accepted less than was owed. I don't know if there's mechanism whereby the bank has any claim on transfer windfalls but it would leave a bit of a bitter taste if they are free to benefit to the full amount. I would be happier in the knowledge that even a small percentage was due to the bank"

This from a fan of a club that went into admin with debts north of £30 M.

The lack of any kind of basic intelligence or knowledge of these bank write off deals is hilarious !!

13-07-2018, 06:04 PM
A lot of the players were at the golf so must've had the day off

Spotted Boyle, McGinn, Whittaker and Swanson together earlier. All looked relaxed and enjoying their day.

13-07-2018, 06:09 PM
From some walloper called on JKB commenting on the possibility of us getting a good fee for SJM.

"On Hibs. We know that their overall debt was reduced via the Farmer deal and that the bank accepted less than was owed. I don't know if there's mechanism whereby the bank has any claim on transfer windfalls but it would leave a bit of a bitter taste if they are free to benefit to the full amount. I would be happier in the knowledge that even a small percentage was due to the bank"

The lack of any kind of basic intelligence or knowledge of these bank write off deals is hilarious !!

They're all in a tizz over there and don’t know which way to turn.

First of all McGinn was going to see out his contract and we’d get hee-haw.

Then he was crap and we’d be lucky to get £500k for him.

No English clubs are interested cause he’s gash.

Now though, as it looks like we’re going to get a decent fee, it’s all about how much St Mirren, Farmer and ‘the bank’ are going to get!

Basically, whatever happens, we are well and truly screwed.

13-07-2018, 06:15 PM
They're all in a tizz over there and don’t know which way to turn.

First of all McGinn was going to see out his contract and we’d get hee-haw.

Then he was crap and we’d be lucky to get £500k for him.

No English clubs are interested cause he’s gash.

Now though, as it looks like we’re going to get a decent fee, it’s all about how much St Mirren, Farmer and ‘the bank’ are going to get!

Basically, whatever happens, we are well and truly screwed.

lmfho, you just have to don't you.

Hibeewilly
13-07-2018, 06:28 PM
McGinn wasn't injured last night folks......Celtic deal almost done

13-07-2018, 06:41 PM
For a player who is nothing to them, won’t get a game and who is no better than any of their present midfielders, the mhuppets over there keep on and on and on and on about him. If he’s so mediocre why not drop it and discuss more important Celtic issues.

13-07-2018, 06:44 PM

Well I never!!!! .......... No points for stating what we all really know.

13-07-2018, 07:04 PM

Certainly looked in good shape walking around Gullane today, spotted Boyle, Whittaker and Swanson enjoying the golf as well.

13-07-2018, 07:20 PM

Hibs have received a much larger offer from two English Clubs, so I'd be surprised if they say yes to Celtc.

Hibeewilly
13-07-2018, 07:24 PM
Hibs have received a much larger offer from two English Clubs, so I'd be surprised if they say yes to Celtc.
I dont know what the offer is from Celtic K

NthCarolinaHibs
13-07-2018, 07:27 PM
Who are the two English clubs 🤔

Greenworld
13-07-2018, 08:24 PM
Who are the two English clubs [emoji848]Fulham and Derby but keep it to yourself

13-07-2018, 08:32 PM

Haha!

It's because of shodily ran clubs like his that banks didn't have confidence in football. The quickest way out is to cut deals - which Hibs will have duely accepted. The only side that realistically could have lost out would be STF I'd guess.

NthCarolinaHibs
13-07-2018, 08:33 PM
Fulham and Derby but keep it to yourself

Seen them mentioned,but no seen what they offered...mums the word tho...

13-07-2018, 09:18 PM
Haha!

It's because of shodily ran clubs like his that banks didn't have confidence in football. The quickest way out is to cut deals - which Hibs will have duely accepted. The only side that realistically could have lost out would be STF I'd guess.

Hibs' mortgages were renegotiated. Businesses and home owners renegotiate every day. The mental contortions the jambos perform to somehow make Hibs dealings look dodgy is just a case of projection. They do this as they now realise, as most sane people knew at the time, their club was used as a two bit laundro-mat by a very low-level long firm fraud merchant and they all sat back and clapped like little tin monkeys.

Tug Wilson
13-07-2018, 09:28 PM
My dear departed uncle once told me that if you owe the bank £1,000 then it is your problem but if you owe them £100,000 then it is theirs.

The Bank of Scotland were heavily involved in Scottish football with a number of clubs (incl Aberdeen iirc) owing them large sums of money. Because of the antics of clubs like the original Rangers and Vlad's Hearts and that the bank wanted the debts off their balance sheets, they were looking to come to arrangements to write off the debt for a one off lesser payment. They do this all the time in the commercial world. We did not bump the bank.

However, we should not let this get in the way of our JKB friends just rewriting history to suit their narrative. Muppets.

Hibeewilly
13-07-2018, 09:46 PM
My dear departed uncle once told me that if you owe the bank £1,000 then it is your problem but if you owe them £100,000 then it is theirs.

The Bank of Scotland were heavily involved in Scottish football with a number of clubs (incl Aberdeen iirc) owing them large sums of money. Because of the antics of clubs like the original Rangers and Vlad's Hearts and that the bank wanted the debts off their balance sheets, they were looking to come to arrangements to write off the debt for a one off lesser payment. They do this all the time in the commercial world. We did not bump the bank.

However, we should not let this get in the way of our JKB friends just rewriting history to suit their narrative. Muppets.
I remember a now retired B of S manager telling me that they had 9 of the clubs bank accounts (when it was a 10 team league) and they were under instructions to lower the Banks exposure in that area

13-07-2018, 10:01 PM
I remember a now retired B of S manager telling me that they had 9 of the clubs bank accounts (when it was a 10 team league) and they were under instructions to lower the Banks exposure in that area

I worked in BoS Corporate for many years and was commonplace.

The bank wanted to reduce their credit book and would offer a “haircut” to encourage early repayment.

Otherwise, if all covenants were being met - as Hibs would have been doing - they can just sit tight and continue paying over the full term as contractually agreed in the Facility Agreement.

Not on Planet Savile tho eh...

13-07-2018, 10:06 PM
At one time BofS banked every Premier League team except Celtic which is why they sponsored the league for a few years in order to pump money in outwith the lending situation.

13-07-2018, 10:13 PM

The lack of any kind of basic intelligence or knowledge of these bank write off deals is hilarious !!The answer to the yokels question is no, there is no fantasy arrangement like the one he's just invented.

The banks had their fingers burnt when certain clubs bumped them rather than paying their debts so they were very pleased to negotiate final deals to get out of football financing by accepting cash up front from those who could and would do the right thing.

Much better than getting pennies in the £, or nothing at all from those that used administration or liquidation as a way to avoid their debts. The maroon balloon should ask creditors which arrangement they prefer.

EskbankHibby
13-07-2018, 10:23 PM
Hibs' mortgages were renegotiated. Businesses and home owners renegotiate every day. The mental contortions the jambos perform to somehow make Hibs dealings look dodgy is just a case of projection. They do this as they now realise, as most sane people knew at the time, their club was used as a two bit laundro-mat by a very low-level long firm fraud merchant and they all sat back and clapped like little tin monkeys.

Yup, breathtaking revisionism from our pink chums.

Essentially we are looking at the difference between the words ‘agreed’ and ‘shafted’.

We have a professional, mutually beneficial, agreement between two parties.

They unilaterally decide to shaft the Lady Haig Poppy Fund, NHS, HMRC and council etc.

Shafting charities and the public purse, the lowest of the low and categorically and undeniably true - check the creditors list.

Thankfully we are on a different level in terms of integrity and club ethos.

13-07-2018, 10:38 PM
Yup, breathtaking revionism from our pink chums.

Essentially we are looking at the difference between the words ‘agreed’ and shafted’.

We have a professional, mutually beneficial, agreement between two parties.

They unilaterally decide to shaft the Lady Haig Poppy Fund, NHS, HMRC and council etc.

Shafting charities and the public purse, the lowest of the low and categorically and undeniably true - check the creditors list.

Thankfully we are on a different level in terms of integrity and club ethos.Don't forget they spent the Macraes Battalion Trust money as well.

Tug Wilson
13-07-2018, 10:50 PM
Don't forget they spent the Macraes Battalion Trust money as well.

And shafted HW University.

13-07-2018, 11:20 PM
Latest from across the road is that McGinn is in serious debt to some nasty bookie types and is desperate to join Celtic, presumably to save his kneecaps or something.

We’ll be lucky to get 500k after St Mirren get their cut, and wait for it, the VAT man!

Only a matter of time until trusty old VAT got dragged into. Is this the only tax that football fans have heard of?

13-07-2018, 11:33 PM
Latest from across the road is that McGinn is in serious debt to some nasty bookie types and is desperate to join Celtic, presumably to save his kneecaps or something.

We’ll be lucky to get 500k after St Mirren get their cut, and wait for it, the VAT man!

Only a matter of time until trusty old VAT got dragged into. Is this the only tax that football fans have heard of?If he's in debt to one bookie already, doesn't that prevent him from going into debt with another?

[emoji849]

14-07-2018, 08:20 AM
And shafted HW University.

Not to mention the thousands of Lithuanians who had life savings in the bank that hertz owed to. That went under due to financial doping.

14-07-2018, 08:25 AM
Who are the two English clubs 🤔

Was told two clubs, one of whom was Crystal Palace. Dunno who the other one was.

14-07-2018, 08:27 AM
Having a read of Kerrydale Street Celtic fans complaining that it we value him at £4 million why are we not paying him the wage of a £4 million pound player. On that basis I'm assuming they will be asking their board to increase Tierney and Dembele's wage in line with what a £30 million pound player is paid (ie 80/90k per week).

14-07-2018, 08:33 AM
Having a read of Kerrydale Street Celtic fans complaining that it we value him at £4 million why are we not paying him the wage of a £4 million pound player. On that basis I'm assuming they will be asking their board to increase Tierney and Dembele's wage in line with what a £30 million pound player is paid (ie 80/90k per week).They wouldn’t have been paying Armstrong the wages of a 7M pound player either so what’s their point!

The Leith Dutch
14-07-2018, 08:35 AM
Having a read of Kerrydale Street Celtic fans complaining that it we value him at £4 million why are we not paying him the wage of a £4 million pound player. On that basis I'm assuming they will be asking their board to increase Tierney and Dembele's wage in line with what a £30 million pound player is paid (ie 80/90k per week).

Spot on mate.

Auckland Hibs
14-07-2018, 08:36 AM

Been keeping an eye on the SJM thread on Kerrydale Street - they really are a bunch of complete morons.

They seem more obsessed about Rod Petrie "trying to get one over them" than SJM actually joining.

14-07-2018, 08:44 AM
They wouldn’t have been paying Armstrong the wages of a 7M pound player either so what’s their point!

We didnt pay broony the wage of a 4.5M player either but they didnt seem too bothered about that

14-07-2018, 08:55 AM
We didnt pay broony the wage of a 4.5M player either but they didnt seem too bothered about that

Aye they were.

I remember that wnak Willie McKay banging on about it in the papers at the time

Ryan69
14-07-2018, 08:56 AM

Think your making that up.

Hibs know theres other interested party...so dont have to accept a cut price deal from Celtic

14-07-2018, 09:12 AM
Celtc won't like not getting their own way . More about not being seen to back down.

Hibeewilly
14-07-2018, 09:19 AM
Think your making that up.

Hibs know theres other interested party...so dont have to accept a cut price deal from Celtic
The point here Ryan is that there can be numerous parties interested in the player but if he only wants to go to one club (and that is Celtic) the names and sizes of the other teams and bids are irrelevant

14-07-2018, 09:21 AM

Only a matter of time until trusty old VAT got dragged into. Is this the only tax that football fans have heard of?
John McGinn seems far too sensible to have been down that road IMO. Load of *****.

14-07-2018, 09:27 AM
The point here Ryan is that there can be numerous parties interested in the player but if he only wants to go to one club (and that is Celtic) the names and sizes of the other teams and bids are irrelevant

Thought he would like to challenge himself down South, rather than head along M8. Dissapointing

14-07-2018, 09:31 AM
Thought he would like to challenge himself down South, rather than head along M8. Dissapointing

2-3 years at Celtic playing champions league before heading down south at his peak. Isn’t a lack of ambition. Just not ready for EPL.

14-07-2018, 09:38 AM

Not to John McGinn they're not. Say Everton came in for him for argument's sake - do you honestly think he wouldn't listen and consider it ? Incredibly foolish not to.

Anyway, this move to Celtic has been negotiated behind the scenes for a long time and I'd be astonished if he went elsewhere after all the background discussions. That said, if Fulham or another EPL club come in for him he and his agent will definitely listen. One thing that strikes me about SJM is that he has a very good (and common sense) outlook on life within football and his career development, and he has clearly been brought up well - he'll want what's best for him for sure, but he is also the kind of lad who will want to see both Hibs and St. Mirren benefit as much as they can. One thing I can't see it developing into is a Scott Allan type transfer, he has too much class for that to happen :aok:

If he goes down south and does well, the world is his oyster. If he can't settle then I'm sure the Celtic (or Hibs loan :greengrin) option will come again. For his career aspirations I would hope he would choose England. However we want a couple of their players, so the deal to suit both parties is with Celtic (sadly). We get money and players, they get SJM and he won't progress nearly as much as he could facing the same SPFL players and teams week in week out. I can't see Celtic being strong enough to get into the group stages of the CL this year either.

14-07-2018, 09:44 AM
A player's value is exactly what a club is willing to pay for him.

At the moment, McGinn is valued at around £2m.

If we don't sell him, he'll be off for nothing in 8 and a half months after the transfer window closes.

Which footballers do people think would be worth Hibs spending/losing £2m on for less than 9 months service?

Certainly not John McGinn, even though we'd "really be showing Celtic".

No money to replace him next year, no money for the indoor pitch, an unhappy player for 8.5 months and Celtic with an extra £2m in the bank.

Aye, that would show them alright.

K-Zazu
14-07-2018, 09:44 AM
2-3 years at Celtic playing champions league before heading down south at his peak. Isn’t a lack of ambition. Just not ready for EPL.

Just like Scott Brown did eh.

14-07-2018, 09:45 AM
What behind the scenes things can be discussed without a fee being agreed? I do not see what can really be talked about if the first part isn't agreed as we will not know percentages of things etc etc.

14-07-2018, 09:47 AM

Better standard in Championship than up here though Blaster, Derby or someone similar would be a better challenge. They always get pumped in Europe.

He will be an instanst Scotland pick if he heads to Sellick though