View Full Version : Sky sports news Celtic bid for McGinn turned down
Pages :
[
7]
JimboHibs
22-07-2018, 07:08 PM
SJM is the only player in the Scottish premier to go toe to toe with Scott Brown last season and win...Celtic know this, so should pay the correct money for their captains most likely successor
Aye brilliant 👍
22-07-2018, 09:40 PM
Third bid thrown out tonight! Hibs not moving it seems and rightly so.
Any idea how much it was TC?
Togs91
22-07-2018, 09:42 PM
2 mil
22-07-2018, 09:43 PM
Only a two million bid according to the Sun and it was put in before the Runavik second leg, so they obviously tried to get us to keep him from playing.
22-07-2018, 09:44 PM
I've had enough of their pathetic bids. I would tell them either offer a realistic bid next time or we will be keeping him and letting his contract run down. **** them and their attempts at bullying us into selling on the cheap.
22-07-2018, 09:47 PM
2 mil
Was Scott Allan included?
bodhibs
22-07-2018, 09:49 PM
Loving this hard ball we're playing, not so long ago 2 mil would have been snapped up, good stuff 💪👍
22-07-2018, 09:49 PM
Just cash so far according to the latest reports.
22-07-2018, 09:54 PM
£2m is what’s being reported.
22-07-2018, 09:55 PM
Maybes SJM is staying put and signing an extension?
22-07-2018, 10:07 PM
Chance would be a fine thing. I think it’ll be a pre-contract in January or, as I said previously, a campaign to unsettle McGinn to get him at a knock-down price in January. They’ll have to be careful tho’ or they might be seen to be tapping him up.
Allan will not be included in any deal, they will be done separately if at all, adding players only clouds the deal re St Mirren.
22-07-2018, 10:14 PM
I think timing is key here.
We won’t have time to replace him if we sell him now so we need to see how things stand after Thursday. If we get pumped then I think we’ll become a lot easier to deal with. If we win or it’s tight it may well depend who is waiting for us in the next round of the Europa league. If it’s a big tie that’ll make us lots of cash then it needs to be a special offer to incentivise us to sell him.
22-07-2018, 10:15 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2965911/john-mcginn-celtic-hibs-reject-third-offer-hoops-2m-bid/
Sun article also mentions Lennon may be tempted if Allan & Christie were offered.
John McGinn to Celtic – Hibs reject third offer for Scotland star as Hoops launch improved £2m bid
The Easter Road side value their star man at £4million and it looks as if they won't accept anything less from Brendan Rodgers' team
SunSport understands the Hoops (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/14914/celtic/) came in with a £2million offer before the Hibees (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/14943/hibernian/) faced Runavik in Thursday’s Europa League return.
But Easter Road chiefs didn’t hesitate to say no after previous attempts to buy the Scotland (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/298595/scotland-football-team/) midfielder at £1.5m and £1.75m. They value McGinn at £4m.
So far it’s believed Celtic have offered solely cash although Hibs boss Neil Lennon could yet be tempted if the likes of Parkhead fringe men Scott Allan and Ryan Christie are offered.
Lennon, meanwhile, has set his sights on Manchester City winger Thomas Agyepong as a fourth summer capture.
The Leith Dutch
22-07-2018, 10:17 PM
Would be very surprised - I think he'd have made his mind up about that before now rather than watching a bidding circus.
I'm assuming the club have either an inkling they can get the right deal out of Celtic or that an English bidder is waiting in the wings.
If I was a betting man I'd have money on the former and if I was guessing it's related to other players coming this way.
22-07-2018, 10:24 PM
Getting boring now. Tell Celtic to do one . Would rather let SJM see out his contract and stick in a bid for Scott Allan of £100000 See how they like it!
22-07-2018, 10:28 PM
Getting boring now. Tell Celtic to do one . Would rather let SJM see out his contract and stick in a bid for Scott Allan of £100000 See how they like it!
£10k if we want to make a valid point.
£100k is close to what we should be paying for a fringe player who
- can't get off the bench in a Celtc squad missing players due to the World Cup
- only has one year left on his deal
- never played well at any other club
- has no rumoured interest in him from any other club.
That said, I suspect he'll eventually be included in the McGinn transfer with a value of £250k.
22-07-2018, 10:39 PM
I’d love if McGinn signed a new deal but the chances of that happening mate are very unlikely as I reckon McGinn wants a move to Celtic. He’s pretty much done all he can achieve at Hibs and probably wants to start playing in the CL & winning trophies on a regular basis.
22-07-2018, 10:43 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2965911/john-mcginn-celtic-hibs-reject-third-offer-hoops-2m-bid/
Sun article also mentions Lennon may be tempted if Allan & Christie were offered.
John McGinn to Celtic – Hibs reject third offer for Scotland star as Hoops launch improved £2m bid
The Easter Road side value their star man at £4million and it looks as if they won't accept anything less from Brendan Rodgers' team
SunSport understands the Hoops (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/14914/celtic/) came in with a £2million offer before the Hibees (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/14943/hibernian/) faced Runavik in Thursday’s Europa League return.
But Easter Road chiefs didn’t hesitate to say no after previous attempts to buy the Scotland (https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/team/298595/scotland-football-team/) midfielder at £1.5m and £1.75m. They value McGinn at £4m.
So far it’s believed Celtic have offered solely cash although Hibs boss Neil Lennon could yet be tempted if the likes of Parkhead fringe men Scott Allan and Ryan Christie are offered.
Lennon, meanwhile, has set his sights on Manchester City winger Thomas Agyepong as a fourth summer capture.
Lennon may be tempted? I'd hope he'd take that deal!
22-07-2018, 10:45 PM
I dont think that would be an issue, its buying out Allans contract that would the problem, he will want a pay off from Celtic.
22-07-2018, 10:46 PM
If those two were offered as part of the deal, I’d also take it.
22-07-2018, 10:49 PM
Thats bite your arm off stuff, I think SA could go for a few million quid in the future if he stays with Hibs like McGinn did, that could be a bargaining chip for Lennon to use if he speaks to SA.
22-07-2018, 10:51 PM
This transfer saga has certainly been a reminder of why I hate Celtc fans just as much as the Huns. Horrible, arrogant bunch.
22-07-2018, 10:55 PM
I’d still push them to a minimum of 3million even with those two offered. Celtic got to value Armstrong at £7m, don’t see why we can’t do similar. If club value McGinn at £4m, there is no way Allan and Christie are worth £2m, they are fringe players who cannot get game time, let’s be honest they have youngsters that are more likely to get played...
So, £3m plus Christie and Allan and done deal. Doubt it will happen, they’ve increased their bids by 250k each time and I doubt that’ll change. Disgusting behaviour from a club that have just got £7m for a player of similar stature...
Slavers
22-07-2018, 11:01 PM
A 4th bid would be unprecedented would it not?
Would it not be a risk for John to run down his contract? What happens if he gets a bad injury, will Celtic drop their interest? Would Hibs then decide not to offer him contract?
Seems a risky strategy to run your contract down. Maybe he would be sensible enough to sign a years extension at Hibs and get the security and financial reward that comes with it and a move if the right offer comes in.
SideBurns
22-07-2018, 11:01 PM
So do I, though it reads like little more than an educated guess by the journo.
It also confirms (unless lifted from here!) that he wants to sign Agyepong. While every signing can only ultimately be judged on their performances, my worry is that most of the young wingers/ forwards we've got on loan from big English clubs (Sinclair, Kennedy, Feruz, Watmore spring to mind) haven't worked out for one reason or another. Barker is the exception rather than the rule which is why it would've been great to get him back. However, I accept Lennon probably tried and failed to resign Brandon. If he thinks this young lad is a better option than Horgan we'll just have to trust him on that.
22-07-2018, 11:07 PM
I’d still push them to a minimum of 3million even with those two offered. Celtic got to value Armstrong at £7m, don’t see why we can’t do similar. If club value McGinn at £4m, there is no way Allan and Christie are worth £2m, they are fringe players who cannot get game time, let’s be honest they have youngsters that are more likely to get played...
So, £3m plus Christie and Allan and done deal. Doubt it will happen, they’ve increased their bids by 250k each time and I doubt that’ll change. Disgusting behaviour from a club that have just got £7m for a player of similar stature...
Good point. I think the reason why they are offering very low offers is simply because no other club has come in for McGinn other than them. They are trying to bully us into a deal and trying to unsettle the player. It’s probably another reason why I’d like to see an English Prem/Champ side coming in with an offer for McGinn that meets Hibs’ valuation.
22-07-2018, 11:15 PM
Loving this hard ball we're playing, not so long ago 2 mil would have been snapped up, good stuff 💪👍
When have Hibs ever got a bad deal? One thing we've always done well.
badabing67
22-07-2018, 11:18 PM
Probably
Griffiths, what a waste!
Just like Deeks. Sometimes you have to view them as career wreckers. It can be argued that the OF are in many ways responsible for the state of the national team, for years now they have hardly produced any quality talent. MacGregor and Tierney apart.
They always scoop young prospect and do nothing to develop them. I don't know why Griffo wants to stay I think he is EPL standard and could easily do a job for Everton, Newcastle West Ham or any club of that ilk.
Bet he would have goto Southampton first though
22-07-2018, 11:18 PM
This transfer saga has certainly been a reminder of why I hate Celtc fans just as much as the Huns. Horrible, arrogant bunch.
Don't know about their fans, but as a club they are showing Hibs total disrespect over this issue. In all honesty this is the sort of behaviour you would expect from Sevco IE trying to bully a club to sell and putting in pathetic offer after pathetic offer in order to unsettle their target player. Two cheeks of the same arse right enough.
I don't want to hear any BS about how they helped us by them loaning us Allan, Henderson or Stokes either …. in the case of Henderson and Allan both players stock rose considerably after playing for us, enabling them to get a decent fee for Henderson and no doubt ask for far more for Allan than they could have after a disastrous loan spell at Rotherham and a reasonably anonymous spell at Dundee … they also loaned us Ambrose and Commons, but both were on the other side of being useful to Celtic and it suited them to put both players in the shop window. Whatever our dealings have been with them altruism certainly wasn't at the heart of Celtic's thinking.
If we were to get an offer of 3 million from down south we should jump at it and accept that a huffy Celtic will block any deal for Scott Allan in retaliation.
22-07-2018, 11:19 PM
Good point. I think the reason why they are offering very low offers is simply because no other club has come in for McGinn other than them. They are trying to bully us into a deal and trying to unsettle the player. It’s probably another reason why I’d like to see an English Prem/Champ side coming in with an offer for McGinn that meets Hibs’ valuation.
That’s what gets me though, was Armstrong in massive demand? I dont think he was, I didn’t see many teams rumoured to be after him at least and yet Celtic decided £7m. Still dislike Rangers more but Celtic are playing catch-up right now, not sure why they don’t pay the going rate as they’ll still make a profit either through McGinn’s performances or through selling him later on.
£3m plus Allan would be absolute minimum Hibs should accept. Christie on top of that would be a bonus. Christie should be taking a look at himself and realise that loans or sitting on the bench or in the stands at his age is not the way to go - his career is going down the drain at the minute.
I’m still of the opinion that they pay the going rate or they can get lost. I’d rather lose McGinn for nothing than accept Celtic’s shocking offers. If I was Hibs, I’d say make the next offer decent or we’ll stop entertaining this nonsense.
22-07-2018, 11:39 PM
That’s what gets me though, was Armstrong in massive demand? I dont think he was, I didn’t see many teams rumoured to be after him at least and yet Celtic decided £7m. Still dislike Rangers more but Celtic are playing catch-up right now, not sure why they don’t pay the going rate as they’ll still make a profit either through McGinn’s performances or through selling him later on.
£3m plus Allan would be absolute minimum Hibs should accept. Christie on top of that would be a bonus. Christie should be taking a look at himself and realise that loans or sitting on the bench or in the stands at his age is not the way to go - his career is going down the drain at the minute.
I’m still of the opinion that they pay the going rate or they can get lost. I’d rather lose McGinn for nothing than accept Celtic’s shocking offers. If I was Hibs, I’d say make the next offer decent or we’ll stop entertaining this nonsense.
Brighton & Crystal Palace were both in for Armstrong as well from what I remember. But Southampton moved quickly to sign him before anyone else made a bid.
I personally think McGinn will get sold this window. Probably later on in August. Having said that, just realised deadline day in England is 2-3 weeks earlier than here so an English club may come in last minute for McGinn and meet Hibs’ valuation. That’s when Lawell will know he needs to meet the valuation or he will end up having egg on his face and miss out on SJM.
Agree with your point on Christie. He needs to move elsewhere in order to play regularly for the sake of his career. Unless he is satisfied being a bench warmer to top up his pay packet.
Don't know about their fans, but as a club they are showing Hibs total disrespect over this issue. In all honesty this is the sort of behaviour you would expect from Sevco IE trying to bully a club to sell and putting in pathetic offer after pathetic offer in order to unsettle their target player. Two cheeks of the same arse right enough.
I don't want to hear any BS about how they helped us by them loaning us Allan, Henderson or Stokes either …. in the case of Henderson and Allan both players stock rose considerably after playing for us, enabling them to get a decent fee for Henderson and no doubt ask for far more for Allan than they could have after a disastrous loan spell at Rotherham and a reasonably anonymous spell at Dundee … they also loaned us Ambrose and Commons, but both were on the other side of being useful to Celtic and it suited them to put both players in the shop window. Whatever our dealings have been with them altruism certainly wasn't at the heart of Celtic's thinking.
If we were to get an offer of 3 million from down south we should jump at it and accept that a huffy Celtic will block any deal for Scott Allan in retaliation.
Is it not the case that it is up to McGinn. If he has his heart set on a move to Celtic then any offer that we are willing to accept from another club is immaterial. There is a lot in this thread re him doing the right think by Hibs / St Mirren, but if this is not sorted with an acceptable offer coming from Celtic he may be left in the position where he has to let his contact run down, if he is set on going to Celtic. I think the chances of him extending his contract at Hibs are very unlikely.
Like many I would rather see him go to a club in England. I think it would be a far better career move for him but there a lot has been made about his family links to Celtic. How that will influence his decision will only be known when someone other than Celtic comes in with a bid.
23-07-2018, 04:15 AM
Objectively, and with tin hat on, I think the labelling of Sellick as ‘arrogant’ over the McGinn saga are a tad misplaced.
So they have made 3 bids for him that we have turned down.
As far as I know through official channels, and we, as is our right, have turned them down.
As far as I can see all we have is one fitba club trying to buy a player from another club at the least possible cost, and the ‘selling’ club refusing to sell because they don’t think the offers are good enough.
Has been a part of football for as long as I can remember.
Once upon a time we would celebrate holding on to a player for as long as we could.....and the board would get pelters if they sold them, but times have changed!
23-07-2018, 05:23 AM
About time we told them that we’ll not even be resposnding to bids below our valuation. They’re just wasting our time.
Ryan69
23-07-2018, 05:40 AM
When have Hibs ever got a bad deal? One thing we've always done well.
In fairness...not often.
Didier Agathe always springs to mind however.
23-07-2018, 05:42 AM
Be interesting to know what sell on percentage has been offered. Thats where Hibs will make the real money
23-07-2018, 05:50 AM
Surprised Celtic have been so reluctant. Seriously crap bids. Hopefully an English club steps in now.
23-07-2018, 05:59 AM
Surprised Celtic have been so reluctant. Seriously crap bids. Hopefully an English club steps in now.
I would have thought if anyone down south wanted him they would have pinged in a bid before now
23-07-2018, 06:00 AM
Objectively, and with tin hat on, I think the labelling of Sellick as ‘arrogant’ over the McGinn saga are a tad misplaced.
As far as I know through official channels, and we, as is our right, have turned them down.
As far as I can see all we have is one fitba club trying to buy a player from another club at the least possible cost, and the ‘selling’ club refusing to sell because they don’t think the offers are good enough.
Once upon a time we would celebrate holding on to a player for as long as we could.....and the board would get pelters if they sold them, but times have changed!
I kinda get where you're coming from, I'm sure Hibs have tried to lowball other teams before. However, the issue with Celtic is that we've stated a valuation which they are continuing to bid well below, again and again. In addition, every bid is coming out in the press which is clearly designed to unsettle the player as much as possible.
They are are of course entitled to bid for John and value him at what ever they want but as usual in their dealings with other Scottish clubs, a total lack of respect and class is shown.
I really hope he goes down south now.
23-07-2018, 06:09 AM
I would have thought if anyone down south wanted him they would have pinged in a bid before now
I'm beginning to fear that the general poor view of our game that most hold down south is hampering us.
We will say Johns has played for Scotland however many times, won the league and Scottish Cup, played 100s of times for us etc but I'm not sure teams in England see our game as quality enough to pay decent money for anyone, unless they have Champions League experience with Celtic.
Scotland is a bargain basement shopping centre for most of them where they pick up players for pennies in the hope they work out. They don't pay big money for any of our players now unfortunately.
John really is a special player though and has all the attributes to make it at a really high level so hopefully we can get a fair price for the him.
23-07-2018, 06:09 AM
As the English window gets closer to closing time, im sure there will be clubs who have missed their 1st targets and will start looking at other options.
23-07-2018, 06:17 AM
In fairness...not often.
Didier Agathe always springs to mind however.
That was our fault. Never signed him on a 'proper' deal. IIRC it was a 3 month contract. Crazy when you think of it.
23-07-2018, 06:35 AM
I kinda get where you're coming from, I'm sure Hibs have tried to lowball other teams before. However, the issue with Celtic is that we've stated a valuation which they are continuing to bid well below, again and again. In addition, every bid is coming out in the press which is clearly designed to unsettle the player as much as possible.
They are are of course entitled to bid for John and value him at what ever they want but as usual in their dealings with other Scottish clubs, a total lack of respect and class is shown.
I really hope he goes down south now.
A classy football club would not be leaking their failed offers to the press.
Celtic showing themselves up here
23-07-2018, 06:40 AM
Delighted we are telling Celtic to do one here. £4M is an entirely reasonable fee for McGinn - I think we will end up seeing an EPL or Championship club nipping in to meet this valuation as their window comes to a close. Whoever he ends up with I envy them but wish SJM all the very best.
23-07-2018, 06:48 AM
No sense complaining at Celtc when Hibs are dismal at signing players in good time.
If we ARE interested in McLaren or Scott Allan there’s no sign of us putting in a worthwhile bid to get either deal done and getting the pen out.
One signing missed could again cost us like the lack of a keeper did us for a win against Brondby and a trip to Hertha Berlin.
23-07-2018, 06:53 AM
This is the bottom line. It’s a one club auction and they are the only team being quoted.
I’m sure Hibs will have given them the figure conisdered acceptable, Celtic clearly don’t want to pay out. Really hope an English side come in and offer the cash for him, I would much prefer he went elsewhere, if he has to go at all.
23-07-2018, 06:53 AM
No sense complaining at Celtc when Hibs are dismal at signing players in good time.
If we ARE interested in McLaren or Scott Allan there’s no sign of us putting in a worthwhile bid to get either deal done and getting the pen out.
One signing missed could again cost us like the lack of a keeper did us for a win against Brondby and a trip to Hertha Berlin.
How do you know?
Unlike the McGinn situation, where Celtc have used the press to push their agenda, Hibs dont.
23-07-2018, 06:55 AM
Problem is that Celtic were told in no uncertain terms that 1.5 was a lowball offer and unacceptable. So what makes them think 1.75, and now 2.0m would be ? What signals have Hibs sent them that suggested an extra 500k would do the job ? None. Quite the opposite, Hibs were public in their intention of playing SJM in the Faroes - not the actions of a club that was trying to squeeze an extra 250k out of Celtic. Conclusion... Celtic are making no realistic attempt to get the deal done and are playing games with Hibs and SJM. It's sad and pathetic and in many ways sums up the problems of the OF domination.
23-07-2018, 06:57 AM
😴
23-07-2018, 06:59 AM
About time we told them that we’ll not even be resposnding to bids below our valuation. They’re just wasting our time.
Agree! Similar to last SA situation when we said no way will we sell to The Rangers so no point even putting in another bid. Celtic need to pay up or shut up!
23-07-2018, 07:01 AM
This is the bottom line. It’s a one club auction and they are the only team being quoted.
I’m sure Hibs will have given them the figure conisdered acceptable, Celtic clearly don’t want to pay out. Really hope an English side come in and offer the cash for him, I would much prefer he went elsewhere, if he has to go at all.
This :agree: Even if he didn't go to an English club, making any higher bid public would put pressure on Celtic to pay up or look like parasites. The free run Celtic have got is at the heart of problem here.
The Leith Dutch
23-07-2018, 07:01 AM
Before we hop aboard the outrage bus we should remember that it's Lawwell's job to get McGinn for as little as he can and Hibs job to get as much as we can.
As others have pointed out - we can and will do exactly the same to teams below us in the food chain.
Players are only worth what people are prepared to pay for them and relative judgements based on actual performances to try to determine an objective value are futile. Look at the Neymar transfer - it's north of the second highest transfer of all time by the same amount Real paid for Ronaldo from Man U.
Put it another way - if I offered you a choice between Neymar + Armstrong or Mbappe + Pogba which would you take?
Both cost pretty much the same in transfers but I'd pick option 2 every time.
How we rate McGinn relative to Armstrong is irrelevant - Southampton thought he was worth £7m and that's what Celtic got.
Either clubs down South don't rate McGinn in that way or are unaware of him. Possibly they're just biding their time.
Said it before but I actually don't care about the money. I care about what we get on the park and I strongly suspect that's what's delaying this transfer.
We want Scott Allan plus a loanee Centre Mid which I think will improve what we have on the park more than a million extra in cash.
Not saying I like it or that I like selling to Celtic - I don't....McGinn is a cracking player and I'd love to be following him in an EPL career rather than facing up to him against an OF team. But the end job is what players we have and I suspect a couple of players from Celtic plus £2m is the best answer from NL's perspective.
DetroitHibs
23-07-2018, 07:02 AM
Looks like we are going in to the Greek tie with only one recognized striker as I don't think Oli Shaw is up to being a first team regular yet. We left it late signing players last year and we are doing the same last year. We are WEAKER now than when we finished last season. Not good enough.
According to the S*n a 3rd bid of £2m has been turned down. In the same paper he is complaining about the financial gulf between Celtic and the EPL... while trying to get other teams star players for peanuts! Cheek and hypocrisy of the man.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
23-07-2018, 07:12 AM
Nonsense. There are lots of deals to be done in this transfer window still. There is still 3.5 weeks to go in England and it’s been a bit quiet so far. It will heat up big time in the next fortnight.
23-07-2018, 07:21 AM
It keeps getting said on here that some English championship or lower end Premier League club will hopefully come in with a bid nearer to our valuation, as if this is the answer and will save the day!!
It also keeps being pointed out that SOUTHAMPTON/DERBY/BRIGHTON/BIRMINGHAM OR WHOEVER CAN COME AND OFFER TEN MILLION BUT IF MCGINN DOESNT WANT TO GO AS IS WIDLY REPORTED ITS IRRELEVANT. maybe that’s why is not happened.
At the end of the day there is only one show in town, and that’s Celtc. Hibs will be trying to squeeze as much out of them as possible and will have to make a decision at the end of August, sell or keep hold. I think we will come to a deal as I don’t think the club can afford not to but I wish we are in a position to tell CFC to ram it.
23-07-2018, 07:33 AM
Does SJM want to move? Yes.
Do Hibs want to sell? Yes.
Do Celtic want to buy? Yes.
It's just a wee game they all play before a deal is eventually struck somewhere in the middle.
Celtic try to screw us, we try to screw Motherwell, Motherwell try to screw Dumbarton etc.
It was ever thus.
Mango Man
23-07-2018, 07:37 AM
You'd think if we didn't sell him in this window, that he would hopefully sign a 1 years extension with a decent jump in wages and go next summer, don't think he'd like for us and St Mirren to get nothing.
Or is that just wishful thinking?! John seems like a good lad.
The Leith Dutch
23-07-2018, 07:41 AM
Looks like we are going in to the Greek tie with only one recognized striker as I don't think Oli Shaw is up to being a first team regular yet. We left it late signing players last year and we are doing the same last year. We are WEAKER now than when we finished last season. Not good enough.
There's a lot of teams leave it late - look at the activity on the day the transfer window shuts right up until the very last minute.
That would strongly suggest that this isn't a "Hibs thing" as many on here present it as but a wider issue in football.
Most likely many players and a fair few teams are looking for the bigger, better deal which, like it or not, Hibs are not going to be for players of the quality we want. Flo we played a blinder on with the loan deal and Mallan probably wanted back to Scotland and had no possibility of the OF or Aberdeen hence we were the best option.
Now, take MacLaren for example - it sounds as though he wants to play in England more than he wants to play at Hibs but that he wants to play for Hibs more than he wants to play (or not play) for Damstadt. It also sounds like we're in contact with him (and probably with others too).
It may be the case that there are 2 or 3 on an equal footing and whichever comes to fruition first is our new striker. It may be that we really want MacLaren and are not prepared to push other options through while there's still a chance of signing him. As it nears the end of the window Hibs become a more attractive proposition to MacLaren or getting a deal through may become a more attractive option to Hibs.
I suspect there's a lot of that kind of thing going on.
23-07-2018, 07:44 AM
You'd think if we didn't sell him in this window, that he would hopefully sign a 1 years extension with a decent jump in wages and go next summer, don't think he'd like for us and St Mirren to get nothing.
Or is that just wishful thinking?! John seems like a good lad.
I wish we'd just give him the 8k a week or so he wants like you say on a 1 year extension and be done with all the Celtic **** talk.
23-07-2018, 07:46 AM
I wish we'd just give him the 8k a week or so he wants like you say on a 1 year extension and be done with all the Celtic **** talk.
We won't be able to pay anyone £8k a week. Not until we get into the Europa league stages every season, anyway.
23-07-2018, 07:52 AM
A classy football club would not be leaking their failed offers to the press.
Celtic showing themselves up here
Is it Celtic or McGinn’s agent that’s leaking the info to the press?
DetroitHibs
23-07-2018, 07:57 AM
There's a lot of teams leave it late - look at the activity on the day the transfer window shuts right up until the very last minute.
That would strongly suggest that this isn't a "Hibs thing" as many on here present it as but a wider issue in football.
Most likely many players and a fair few teams are looking for the bigger, better deal which, like it or not, Hibs are not going to be for players of the quality we want. Flo we played a blinder on with the loan deal and Mallan probably wanted back to Scotland and had no possibility of the OF or Aberdeen hence we were the best option.
Now, take MacLaren for example - it sounds as though he wants to play in England more than he wants to play at Hibs but that he wants to play for Hibs more than he wants to play (or not play) for Damstadt. It also sounds like we're in contact with him (and probably with others too).
It may be the case that there are 2 or 3 on an equal footing and whichever comes to fruition first is our new striker. It may be that we really want MacLaren and are not prepared to push other options through while there's still a chance of signing him. As it nears the end of the window Hibs become a more attractive proposition to MacLaren or getting a deal through may become a more attractive option to Hibs.
I have no problem leaving it late to sign players, but not when we have a huge European game to win. My issue is with us not being prepared for our European campaign. Same as last time, we didn't have the squad prepared, and it looks like the same again. What's the point in trying to finish in a European spot if we don't take it seriously. Going in with only Shaw and Flo as our frontline and Murray gone, not good enough.
Celtic should be given a deadline. If they haven't stumped up what's required by the end of the week he won't be sold to them in this window.
23-07-2018, 08:04 AM
Is it Celtic or McGinn’s agent that’s leaking the info to the press?
If Celtic weren't happy with the info being "out there" [on more than one occasion, remember] and if they thought that would jeopardise the deal, believe me, they would absolutely carpet the agent.
Instead there are interviews with their manager and team captain talking up McGinn.
I'm pretty happy to lay this one firmly on the doorstep of Celtic Football Club, Shan Street, Glasgow.
23-07-2018, 08:06 AM
Just a wee reminder
It's Celtc. If it's good enough for the self anointed "best fans in the world" surely we should make the effort.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180723/172852ddd1e0616343c2c40282e9f342.jpg
23-07-2018, 08:06 AM
Are there any bids from down South ?
Topographic Hibby
23-07-2018, 08:07 AM
It also keeps being pointed out that SOUTHAMPTON/DERBY/BRIGHTON/BIRMINGHAM OR WHOEVER CAN COME AND OFFER TEN MILLION BUT IF MCGINN DOESNT WANT TO GO AS IS WIDLY REPORTED ITS IRRELEVANT. maybe that’s why is not happened.Boldy bit. I’m not ITK, but my reading of the runes is SJM wants to go to the unwashed, due to family connection and probably is a fan. No English team has come in so far as he or his agent have made quite clear where he wants to go.
We can hope that Derby or whoever come in with a bid to put one over on Celtic, but if he doesn’t fancy a gig in Derby, then the deal won’t happen.
He wants to go West and I guess Hibs and Celtic are just gonna have to play chicken until somebody blinks first.
Greenworld
23-07-2018, 08:15 AM
One thing is strange if Hibs want Allan and another on top of the money why are we not saying so .
"Look make it 2.5 mill and these two players and we have a deal."
Maybe that talk is going on in don't know but the indication is its not.
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
The Leith Dutch
23-07-2018, 08:16 AM
I have no problem leaving it late to sign players, but not when we have a huge European game to win. My issue is with us not being prepared for our European campaign. Same as last time, we didn't have the squad prepared, and it looks like the same again. What's the point in trying to finish in a European spot if we don't take it seriously. Going in with only Shaw and Flo as our frontline and Murray gone, not good enough.
Ok. So it sounds like you understand why we haven't got the players in we'd like in the first part of your post but then you're saying "not good enough".
What would you suggest?
Sign a player who's not what we think we want and hope it pans out?
Break the wage structure or transfer budget to force the issue with a player and get them to sign?
Basically, it comes down to rolling the dice - either you roll them to try to get further in Europe by signing some players or you roll them by being prepared to take on that game with the players we've got.
Personally, I think that having some combination of Kamberi, Boyle, Shaw, Mallan, McGinn and Slivka can have a decent tilt at beating Asteras Tripolis over two legs. Yes, there's nothing on the bench and no it's not ideal but it's also nowhere near the point of we may as well not bother turning up.
Not trying to be a dick and I get your point - I just don't think we should sign for the sake of signing or push the boat out too far for a game we can win with what we have and might lose anyway with a couple of rushed signings. Have an opinion but if it's that the club are "not good enough" you need to give what you'd have done differently.
23-07-2018, 08:17 AM
Some sense getting talked recently...
The way I see it, Celtic do NOT have an urgent need for McGinn, but DO want him.
Hence why, what is seen by many as desultory bids by Celtic so far, are at that figure because they know if they wait, McGinn will end up a Celtic player in January for probably half what he would cost just now....or for nowt, this time next season.
A sudden serious injury to a couple of their existing midfielders, would push SJM’s value up considerably and immediately.
At the moment though, they appear in no rush to conclude a deal at a higher price than they will pay in January.
23-07-2018, 08:20 AM
Does SJM want to move? Yes.
Do Hibs want to sell? Yes.
Do Celtic want to buy? Yes.
It's just a wee game they all play before a deal is eventually struck somewhere in the middle.
Celtic try to screw us, we try to screw Motherwell, Motherwell try to screw Dumbarton etc.
It was ever thus.
When was the last time you heard of Hibs making 3 failed bids for a player, while Hibs players openly talked to the media in an effort to influence the dealings ? Nope, that’s a crass way to do business.
Yes, everyone wants a good deal but please ... let’s not confuse Hibs class with that horrible mob from Glasgow.
23-07-2018, 08:29 AM
Boldy bit. I’m not ITK, but my reading of the runes is SJM wants to go to the unwashed, due to family connection and probably is a fan. No English team has come in so far as he or his agent have made quite clear where he wants to go.
We can hope that Derby or whoever come in with a bid to put one over on Celtic, but if he doesn’t fancy a gig in Derby, then the deal won’t happen.
He wants to go West and I guess Hibs and Celtic are just gonna have to play chicken until somebody blinks first.
If Derby or someone else came in with a £ 4m cash bid (which Hibs accepted) and SJM said he was only interested in Celtic how would that make SJM and Celtic look if they continued with their lowball offers and uhw went for pennies in Jan ??
23-07-2018, 08:31 AM
I preferred when we didn't hear about it at all until it was completed but the internet has put a stop to that.
Now everybody is an expert and every made up rumour is given credence.
The world is not a better place for it.
23-07-2018, 08:37 AM
Is there anything funnier than Celtic and rangers fans sense of entitlement about players who play in Scotland that they want to sign?
Hibs have a price tag on a player, they'd be open to negotiation if a decent alternative deal is on the table.
Celtic make derisory offer.
Hibs reject.
Celtic fans "YOU ARE HOLDING A YOUNG TALENTED PLAYER BACK. WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE REJECTING OUR BIDS? WE WILL JUST SIGN HIM FOR FREE IN JANUARY"
And repeat for the huns like Scott Allan and for every player they want in Scotland. They done the exact same with the Motherwell goalie in January and Motherwell told them to ram it and they were coming out with the same pish then.
Austinho
23-07-2018, 08:41 AM
If Derby or someone else came in with a £ 4m cash bid (which Hibs accepted) and SJM said he was only interested in Celtic how would that make SJM and Celtic look if they continued with their lowball offers and uhw went for pennies in Jan ??Derby and co are unlikely to come in with a bid in the first place unless they’ve got confirmation that McGinn wants to join them. That scenario isn’t going to happen.
23-07-2018, 08:42 AM
Don’t see why Derby would just come in and offer £4m when the previous highest bid is £2 million. Celtic aren’t the only club who want players as cheap as possible.
23-07-2018, 08:43 AM
Is there anything funnier than Celtic and rangers fans sense of entitlement about players who play in Scotland that they want to sign?
Hibs have a price tag on a player, they'd be open to negotiation if a decent alternative deal is on the table.
Celtic make derisory offer.
Hibs reject.
Celtic fans "YOU ARE HOLDING A YOUNG TALENTED PLAYER BACK. WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE REJECTING OUR BIDS? WE WILL JUST SIGN HIM FOR FREE IN JANUARY"
And repeat for the huns like Scott Allan and for every player they want in Scotland. They done the exact same with the Motherwell goalie in January and Motherwell told them to ram it and they were coming out with the same pish then.
It's tiresome isn't it? Makes you realise Celtic are just the other cheek of the same arse as Rangers
Greenworld
23-07-2018, 08:43 AM
If Derby or someone else came in with a £ 4m cash bid (which Hibs accepted) and SJM said he was only interested in Celtic how would that make SJM and Celtic look if they continued with their lowball offers and uhw went for pennies in Jan ??I don't think John would turn down a big club down south.
Fulham keep getting mentioned according to someone on a hibs page they have put a bid of 4million in .
I hope so I'll watch this space
Greenworld
23-07-2018, 08:45 AM
Don’t see why Derby would just come in and offer £4m when the previous highest bid is £2 million. Celtic aren’t the only club who want players as cheap as possible.Well because hibs have been so clear about what they want .
23-07-2018, 08:47 AM
Well because hibs have been so clear about what they want .
If that’s the case that we seriously won’t entertain bids of less than £4m then we will end up with nowt.
23-07-2018, 08:51 AM
Don’t see why Derby would just come in and offer £4m when the previous highest bid is £2 million. Celtic aren’t the only club who want players as cheap as possible.
100%. These clubs may have a a lot of money but they’re not just going to come in with an opening bid of £4m because they have it. They’ll do the exact same as Celtic are doing, they might just be willing to go a bit higher than they are or they’ll maybe increase their bids in larger increments than Celtic are.
If we’ve just rejected a £2m bid and Derby wanted to put one in today I’d hazard a guess they’d be putting in about £2.5m, not £4m. They maybe wouldn’t go all the way to £4m.
23-07-2018, 08:54 AM
If that’s the case that we seriously won’t entertain bids of less than £4m then we will end up with nowt.
At the very least we’ll end up with McGinn for another season...not quite nowt. Holding on to him will have a commercial figure to it.
The issue is that our intended targets may change if we don’t see that money coming in.
Plus there’s the indoor pitch to think about too.
23-07-2018, 08:56 AM
100%. These clubs may have a a lot of money but they’re not just going to come in with an opening bid of £4m because they have it. They’ll do the exact same as Celtic are doing, they might just be willing to go a bit higher than they are or they’ll maybe increase their bids in larger increments than Celtic are.
If we’ve just rejected a £2m bid and Derby wanted to put one in today I’d hazard a guess they’d be putting in about £2.5m, not £4m. They maybe wouldn’t go all the way to £4m.
Where’s Jack Ross now 🤔 he could at least have got a bidding war started.
23-07-2018, 08:57 AM
At the very least we’ll end up with McGinn for another season...not quite nowt. Holding on to him will have a commercial figure to it.
The issue is that our intended targets may change if we don’t see that money coming in.
Plus there’s the indoor pitch to think about too.
Aye, but for me there would be a feeling of negativity if there was the inevitability of him moving to Celtic for free on the horizon, especially when it seems he’s played a small part in manufacturing this move himself.
Love SJM and all he’s done for Hibs, but unless he’s signing a contract I think I’d rather he moved on this window, even if the fee is slightly less than we might’ve hoped for.
23-07-2018, 08:58 AM
If SJM is still here when the window shuts it will be a toss up between him and Hibs as to who is more frustrated.
23-07-2018, 09:00 AM
If SJM is still here when the window shuts it will be a toss up between him and Hibs as to who is more frustrated.
Give him an extra £2k per week on a 2 year deal and put in a buy out clause of £1.5m.
He'd still get his move next summer, he earns an extra £100k over the year and we get to keep him for another season.
IMO That's what will happen if we don't sell him this transfer window.
Greenworld
23-07-2018, 09:05 AM
Give him an extra £2k per week on a 2 year deal and put in a buy out clause of £1.5m.
He'd still get his move next summer, he earns an extra £100k over the year and we get to keep him for another season.
IMO That's what will happen if we don't sell him this transfer window.Buy out clause is 4 million now [emoji848][emoji848]
23-07-2018, 09:07 AM
Buy out clause is 4 million now [emoji848][emoji848]
Then he wouldn't sign it :wink:
Realistic buy out clause for next summer would suit all parties if he can't get a move this summer.
23-07-2018, 09:10 AM
I don't think SJM would like us standing in his way of moving because we think £2m isn't enough but would be happy to take £1.5m next summer. Even with a pay rise, it would still be less than he'd get at Celtic and would hold him back by a year.
Although I agree it would be the best outcome for us.
Austinho
23-07-2018, 09:12 AM
I don't think SJM would like us standing in his way of moving because we think £2m isn't enough but would be happy to take £1.5m next summer. Even with a pay rise, it would still be less than he'd get at Celtic and would hold him back by a year.
Although I agree it would be the best outcome for us.Not sure it would hold him back a year - think he’s a long term solution for Celtic, but will still be on their bench next season. Another season at Hibs would arguably be more beneficial to him (and Celtic).
The Leith Dutch
23-07-2018, 09:13 AM
An interesting proposition. Not sure whether he'd go for it or not.
There's a bit I like about it and it ties in with why I'm loathe to rush into deals we're not sure about.
We have some trouble this window because we wound up with most of the midfield and striking options all running out around the same time.
That's given us more work to do that anyone likes.
I want to see us build and that's about getting some transfer windows that don't involve major surgery.
Keeping McGinn for a year would actually help that.
Having Mallan and Flo on long term deals will help that assuming they carry on their form.
To me, having this kind of continuity and getting to a point where we're looking to add a couple of gems rather than remodel the squad in transfer windows is the next step towards the club being where we want it to be.
23-07-2018, 09:14 AM
Let Celtic pay the full whack. They have the money, they can afford it and Hibs know it.
23-07-2018, 09:16 AM
Although I agree it would be the best outcome for us.
Standing in his way? I'm sure he's smart enough to understand we've every right to put whatever valuation we feel is suitable on him.
£100k over a course of a year is a big difference to a young guy. I think once the dust has settled he'll appreciate he's better to earn that over a year than just stick out his contract. There's also the possibility of offering him a % of any transfer fee as a further incentive although with St Mirren already getting a fair whack that may not be feasible.
I suppose my point is, once the transfer window closes there are still other options available to us and SJM. It's not as simple as sell him now or get nothing next year.
FWIW i think he'll go to Celtic when we get knocked out of Europe.
seanshow
23-07-2018, 09:24 AM
Just out of interest has there been any proper conformation that RP or LD value John McGinn at £4 million?
Every quote I heard from Neil Lennon over the last 8 months was at £5 million, When did the sources/newspapers/media reduce the valuation by a fifth.
...personally I would say at least as much as Stuart Armstrong's transfer to Southhampton if not more, McGinn is a better player.
23-07-2018, 09:25 AM
Just out of interest has there been any proper conformation that RP or LD value John McGinn at £4 million?
Every quote I heard from Neil Lennon over the last 8 months was at £5 million, When did the sources/newspapers/media reduce the valuation by a fifth.
...personally I would say at least as much as Stuart Armstrong's transfer to Southhampton if not more, McGinn is a better player.
Aye, let’s hold out for £8 million for a player we are paying 2k a week and has a year left on his contract.
23-07-2018, 09:26 AM
Aye, let’s hold out for £8 million for a player we are paying 2k a week and has a year left on his contract.
who mentioned £8m?
The Leith Dutch
23-07-2018, 09:28 AM
who mentioned £8m?
Response to the post about McGinn being worth more than Armstrong.
23-07-2018, 09:30 AM
Response to the post about McGinn being worth more than Armstrong.
would help if i read it properly!!
23-07-2018, 09:30 AM
the poster replied to someone asking why a reduction in the valuation that lennon has been quoted as saying he is worth though
And half of his post said that he personally thinks we should hold out for more than Stuart Armstrong. I was questioning his personal opinion of how the situation should play out.
23-07-2018, 09:31 AM
And half of his post said that he personally thinks we should hold out for more than Stuart Armstrong. I was questioning his personal opinion of how the situation should play out.
as per above
The Leith Dutch
23-07-2018, 09:36 AM
Problem is that it's not about whether McGinn is a better player.
Mbappe is not only 60% of the player that Neymar is for example and yet that's what their transfer fee says.
It's a combination of factors - number and size of clubs interested, size of those clubs, size of the selling club, player's preference and many more things.
Like it or loathe it Celtic are a richer club who offer a more attractive set of competitions to play in than Hibs and consequently any player they have will attract bigger bids regardless of whether subjective (or even objective) comparisons suggest they're not as good.
23-07-2018, 09:37 AM
Is he worth forfeiting £600k for a year of his services? :dunno:
23-07-2018, 09:39 AM
Yes. You could get some of that back in prize money and also not need to buy a replacement
23-07-2018, 09:40 AM
depends on how you look at it, he could be the difference in helping us win a cup which would make us more than the £600k,orprogressing to another round of the europa league which again is more money
BegbieHSC
23-07-2018, 09:42 AM
McGinn is worth more to Hibs this season than what Celtc are offering.
McGinn is top quality and makes a real difference to the squad. At the end of the day, I’d prefer a scenario where we finish 3rd, and potentially, if the draw is good to us, qualify for Europa League group stages, but then lose McGinn on a free at the end of a season, than accept Celtic’s derisory, contemptuous and hun-esque bids.
Can see this ending as a pre contract deal in Jan. Got all the signs of agent manipulation about the whole episode.
23-07-2018, 09:45 AM
Yes. You could get some of that back in prize money and also not need to buy a replacement
It's unlikely that we'll win anything with or without him and we'd still have to pay for a replacement in a year's time.
We'd also lose any chance of a sell on clause if he had a £1.5m buy out value.
The Leith Dutch
23-07-2018, 11:17 AM
It's unlikely that we'll win anything with or without him and we'd still have to pay for a replacement in a year's time.
This is pretty important.
I suspect Hibs would want to set up a deal involving a sell on clause and/or extra payments around appearances and caps.
This plus the arrangements around other players coming the other way is as likely to be the sticking point as the actual fee itself.
That kind of nuance doesn't sell papers as well as the "Celtic refuse to be held to ransom on McGinn fee" headlines that have Hibs fans thinking Celtic are insulting our club and vice versa.
23-07-2018, 11:20 AM
No we wouldn't. It is possible for a buy-out clause to also stipulate that an acceptable sell-on clause must be agreed.
23-07-2018, 11:29 AM
Standing in his way? I'm sure he's smart enough to understand we've every right to put whatever valuation we feel is suitable on him.
£100k over a course of a year is a big difference to a young guy. I think once the dust has settled he'll appreciate he's better to earn that over a year than just stick out his contract. There's also the possibility of offering him a % of any transfer fee as a further incentive although with St Mirren already getting a fair whack that may not be feasible.
I suppose my point is, once the transfer window closes there are still other options available to us and SJM. It's not as simple as sell him now or get nothing next year.
FWIW i think he'll go to Celtic when we get knocked out of Europe.
But if we're agreeing to let him go for £1.5m once he's a year further forward then what does that say about our valuation of him now?
100k is a big amount, 200k is even bigger - and it is probably even more than that which he'll get at Celtic.
Signing this contract, while it would be a good nod of appreciation to Saints and Hibs, would also be detrimental (albeit immaterially) to his future employers - I don't see why he'd want to make it more expensive for his future club to sign him.
I'd still agree that it's an offer we should make if he's still here at the end of the window and highlighting the financial advantage to him (when it's at the point of him being at Hibs regardless) and how beneficial it would be to us/Saints.
23-07-2018, 02:50 PM
There is absolutely no way Hibs will pay McGinn more money and then agree to sell him for less than they’ve turned down now.Why should they?He’s contracted to be here and is a good pro who won’t throw the toys out of the pram if he doesn’t move now.
Wonder if we play him on Thursday [emoji848] quite like this resolved already so we can do other business. [emoji42]
23-07-2018, 02:57 PM
There is absolutely no way Hibs will pay McGinn more money and then agree to sell him for less than they’ve turned down now.Why should they?He’s contracted to be here and is a good pro who won’t throw the toys out of the pram if he doesn’t move now.
And equally, if he signs a pre contract with Celtic in January, I think we will get 100% effort from him, and none of the nonsense about him not being in a frame of mind to play out the rest of the season.
23-07-2018, 03:04 PM
We've won the Scottish since Scott Brown and we'd still be waiting on that particular sell on clause value xx
23-07-2018, 03:10 PM
We've won the Scottish since Scott Brown and we'd still be waiting on that particular sell on clause value xx
I don't understand your point about SB.
Hibs have won 3 Scottish and 3 League cups in our 147 year history. That suggests we're unlikely to win something.
23-07-2018, 03:41 PM
Hibs have won 3 Scottish and 3 League cups in our 147 year history. That suggests we're unlikely to win something.
Or we won two cups in ten years which suggests we may win something:greengrin
23-07-2018, 03:54 PM
The likelihood of winning a competition is determined by the relative strength of your squad to the other participants, not how you fared in the competition 100 years ago.
23-07-2018, 04:08 PM
It’s 143 years 😉
It’s 143 years 😉l
Yep, & the League Cup didn't exist for the first 71 years, otherwise it's a really good point. :wink:
23-07-2018, 07:33 PM
And four league titles.
Otherwise it's a really good point :devil:
23-07-2018, 07:40 PM
And four league titles.
Otherwise it's a really good point :devil:
and a Tennents Sixes
otherwise it's a really good point
23-07-2018, 07:47 PM
It’s 143 years [emoji6]It ain't what you do it's the way that you do it.
23-07-2018, 08:07 PM
It ain't what you do it's the way that you do it.
That’s what gets results.
23-07-2018, 08:09 PM
Does anyone have any links to quotes with SJM saying he wants to go to Celtic?
Seems to have become a .net fact
Sergio sledge
23-07-2018, 08:15 PM
Did we not do exactly this with Cummings? Decided another season with the player was worth more than what was being offered for him, but wanted to get something back when he did eventually leave, so convinced him to sign a new deal to ensure we got something even though it was less than what was being offered.
Greenworld
23-07-2018, 08:21 PM
Did we not do exactly this with Cummings? Decided another season with the player was worth more than what was being offered for him, but wanted to get something back when he did eventually leave, so convinced him to sign a new deal to ensure we got something even though it was less than what was being offered.We did but that was to get promoted different scenario this time
Sergio sledge
23-07-2018, 08:23 PM
We did but that was to get promoted different scenario this time
Yeah, much easier to quantify the financial benefit of keeping the player in that case. There is a precedent though, the OP was saying that there's no way we would do something like that.
23-07-2018, 08:25 PM
Is that not exactly what we did with Cummings?
23-07-2018, 08:29 PM
We don't actually know that.
Whilst we did get about £500k for him when he left, the Peterborough chairman reckons he cost Forest £1m. To what extent he is fibbing, or whether we got additional cash after a year or when he was capped, we will find out in our next accounts.
23-07-2018, 08:43 PM
Whilst we did get about £500k for him when he left, the Peterborough chairman reckons he cost Forest £1m. To what extent he is fibbing, or whether we got additional cash after a year or when he was capped, we will find out in our next accounts.
True, but I suspect that the Peterborough chairman has more to gain by exaggerating the worth of his new signing. If McGinn did sign a new deal with a £1.5m sell on clause, I don’t think hibs would be against that. We get him for another year and we get only 500k less than Celtic are offering now.
23-07-2018, 08:50 PM
True, but I suspect that the Peterborough chairman has more to gain by exaggerating the worth of his new signing. If McGinn did sign a new deal with a £1.5m sell on clause, I don’t think hibs would be against that. We get him for another year and we get only 500k less than Celtic are offering now.Everyone in the upper echelons of posh for the last couple of decades has been somewhere between total slaivers and professional snake oil salesman but even a broken watch is right once so you never know.
23-07-2018, 08:51 PM
Everyone in the upper echelons of posh for the last couple of decades has been somewhere between total slaivers and professional snake oil salesman but even a broken watch is right once so you never know.
Is Barry Fry still pissing in the corners?
23-07-2018, 08:54 PM
Is Barry Fry still pissing in the corners?His presence is still there, which keeps quite a few neutrals elsewhere[emoji6]
23-07-2018, 09:15 PM
and a Tennents Sixes
2 drybourgh cups and a summer cup 😀
23-07-2018, 09:18 PM
and a Tennents Sixes
And 2 Drybrough cups otherwise it’s a really good point
23-07-2018, 09:22 PM
And 2 Drybrough cups otherwise it’s a really good point
we seem to have more really good points than hearts and cove rangers combined
23-07-2018, 09:30 PM
Is Barry Fry still pissing in the corners?
Lord Burnberry, it saddens me to say this but you will have to find a new sign off now that Simon Murray has departed for foreign shores. Perhaps there is inspiration in the current transfer window?
Girls don’t like boys girls like Simon Murray!
23-07-2018, 09:35 PM
Right then ya bunch of bams on this thread
The Dryborough Cup, Spring Cup, Tenants sixes don't exist any more and Celtic aren't going to lose the league anytime soon otherwise all your points are very good too!
And you can add the Coronation Cup to that lot too.
The SC and LC are the only competitions we have a realistic chance of winning which is a very, very good point.
23-07-2018, 09:37 PM
Right then ya bunch of bams on this thread
The Dryborough Cup, Spring Cup, Tenants sixes don't exist any more and Celtic aren't going to lose the league anytime soon otherwise all your points are very good too!
And you can add the Coronation Cup to that lot too.
The SC and LC are the only competitions we have a realistic chance of winning which is a very, very good point.
The East of Scotland Shield is still going.
How many times have Celtic won that, smartarse?
23-07-2018, 09:38 PM
Lord Burnberry, it saddens me to say this but you will have to find a new sign off now that Simon Murray has departed for foreign shores. Perhaps there is inspiration in the current transfer window?
Girls don’t like boys girls like Simon Murray!
It took me ages to try and work out how to do that Simon Murray thing. I might just keep it in the hope that he returns :greengrin. Either that or I will attempt in a rare moment of sobriety to change it, the former is currently the leading contender.
23-07-2018, 10:30 PM
The East of Scotland Shield is still going.
How many times have Celtic won that, smartarse?
Funnily enough I bumped into his dad today and had a wee chat re Jason.
He stayed that one extra year to help Hibs get promotion but insisted in a clause in his contract at the end of the promotion year, this was met by Nottingham F. He was offered 10x his wages on moving, a sum you'll find hard to knock back, unfortunately Warburton preferred 1 up top and Jason likes playing with a strike partner. He's gone to Peterborough to get game time as they play a 4-4-2.
I asked him if Jason had any regrets about leaving too soon, his reply was not when someone offers to pay you 10 times your wages.
DetroitHibs
24-07-2018, 03:43 AM
This is where we disagree. I think the club should push the boat out this season and splash the cash. We are sitting on a potential asset in John McGinn if he leaves and are recording record season ticket sales. Not only that, but actually getting in to Europe proper is a huge windfall also.
So no I don't think we should be signing players for the hell of it, but actually paying for good quality players. Like I said and you failed to mention. We are weaker now than when we ended the season. This competition should be given 100% priority right now.
24-07-2018, 04:16 AM
Funnily enough I bumped into his dad today and had a wee chat re Jason.
He stayed that one extra year to help Hibs get promotion but insisted in a clause in his contract at the end of the promotion year, this was met by Nottingham F. He was offered 10x his wages on moving, a sum you'll find hard to knock back, unfortunately Warburton preferred 1 up top and Jason likes playing with a strike partner. He's gone to Peterborough to get game time as they play a 4-4-2.
I asked him if Jason had any regrets about leaving too soon, his reply was not when someone offers to pay you 10 times your wages.English football is ruined. if that's true, and even if Cummings was on £1k per week, then Forest who haven't won as much as a raffle for ages, and were a bit of a pickle a few years back, were paying Jason Cummings 10k per week.
No wonder we can't complete for players. it's a farce
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
Greenworld
24-07-2018, 06:01 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/gordon-strachan-reveals-how-act-of-kindness-convinced-him-to-cap-john-mcginn-1-4772885
24-07-2018, 07:50 AM
This is where we disagree. I think the club should push the boat out this season and splash the cash. We are sitting on a potential asset in John McGinn if he leaves and are recording record season ticket sales. Not only that, but actually getting in to Europe proper is a huge windfall also.
So no I don't think we should be signing players for the hell of it, but actually paying for good quality players. Like I said and you failed to mention. We are weaker now than when we ended the season. This competition should be given 100% priority right now.
The only problem with approach of we are sitting on an asset with John McGinn is that he is an asset with a depreciating value. If no one comes in for him with an acceptable value most likely he's going nowhere and he leaves for free, leaving us to cover the money we spent from other revenue that we had intended for elsewhere. Its a gamble.
We don't even know we're guaranteed 2 million Celtic are reported to have offered as we knocked it back, so they could move on to other targets easily enough.
DetroitHibs
24-07-2018, 07:59 AM
The only problem with approach of we are sitting on an asset with John McGinn is that he is an asset with a depreciating value. If no one comes in for him with an acceptable value most likely he's going nowhere and he leaves for free, leaving us to cover the money we spent from other revenue that we had intended for elsewhere. Its a gamble.
We don't even know we're guaranteed 2 million Celtic are reported to have offered as we knocked it back, so they could move on to other targets easily enough.
I think we are in a strong position to gamble and go after the likes of Allan and Maclaren. Let's say John leaves for nothing, it's not the end of the world. We have the likes of Mallan and Flo that will both generate the club money when we sell them too. Going in to a very important game with two forwards, one which has had very limited first team action isn't good enough.
The Leith Dutch
24-07-2018, 08:03 AM
You've completely missed the point - these quality players at the moment are assuming they may have better options and won't make the decision to play for Hibs now.
Your problem, like so many on here, is assuming this is just a matter of Hibs deciding to do something about it.
We may be in a good place by our standards financially but we're effectively paupers in football terms (e.g. Adam Rooney's transfer)
24-07-2018, 08:05 AM
I think we are in a strong position to gamble and go after the likes of Allan and Maclaren. Let's say John leaves for nothing, it's not the end of the world. We have the likes of Mallan and Flo that will both generate the club money when we sell them too. Going in to a very important game with two forwards, one which has had very limited first team action isn't good enough.
Would also send a message for future windows.
We're a financially secure club that doesn't need to sell players. if anyone wants our players they pay the going rate, if nobody is willing to do that then the player stays, even if that means his contract running down.
Let's not forget we're not asking for an unreasonable amount of money here, in the modern game £3m for a player like SJM is not an unrealistic amount to ask for.
24-07-2018, 08:11 AM
The worrying thing for me is we're being blown out the water by lower league English teams and it's only getting worse.
24-07-2018, 08:14 AM
Depends on your view of value and how you view the value of having a player the quality of John in our team for another year.
24-07-2018, 11:00 AM
Depends on your view of value and how you view the value of having a player the quality of John in our team for another year.
I don't disagree, the offers so far are still less than I'd be happy with us accepting but it's getting close. I think that one way or another Allan will be part of the deal and we new to take in to account his pay off from Celtic will be reduced from the amount we'd otherwise receive for John (Celtic pay off his contract giving him the cash we would have to try replicate if we got full value for John).
We're in a really fortunate position that we'll either get a deal we're happy with or we get SJM in the team for another year, either way it's a win win in my eyes. Now we're over the 2 million mark cash wise, as he's only got a year left on his contract, I'm happy either way. I just think telling a club were not sling to them under any circumstances is foolish unless they're genuinely ripping it, as the rangers clearly were with Scott Allan. The differences between the two scenarios are night and day both in the amounts of money on offer and the messages coming out of the club.
24-07-2018, 11:15 AM
https://thecelticblog.com/2018/07/blogs/rod-petrie-thinks-hes-a-funny-guy-i-wonder-if-hibs-shareholders-are-laughing/amp/?__twitter_impression=true
24-07-2018, 11:18 AM
https://thecelticblog.com/2018/07/blogs/rod-petrie-thinks-hes-a-funny-guy-i-wonder-if-hibs-shareholders-are-laughing/amp/?__twitter_impression=true
Arrogant counts.
24-07-2018, 11:19 AM
What a slaver! STF and RP own a fair chunk of shares between them. Hibs haven't paid a dividend in donkeys.
PS I'm a shareholder - gaun yersel', Rodders!
24-07-2018, 11:19 AM
"I also wonder whether Hibs’ shareholders are pleased about it."
As a shareholder, I'm okay with the way things are going.
I am, however, laughing at the apparent indignation expressed in that piece.
24-07-2018, 11:20 AM
What an absolute self entitled throbber. This is why they're no different from Sevco.
24-07-2018, 11:21 AM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkAnd to think some on here don't mind this mob and actually want them to win occasionally. ****ing unbelievable and so very wrong.
24-07-2018, 11:22 AM
Really contradicts himself by saying that Celtic should have paid what we wanted early on but because they didn’t we should accept less.
24-07-2018, 11:23 AM
I find it very amusing.
Them and their derisory, pathetic, league-damaging bids for a fully fledged 23 year old Scottish International can run and jump.
Would rather let him go for nothing than bend to their will. If you want him, pay our valuation.
24-07-2018, 11:25 AM
That made Keith Jackson look informed.
24-07-2018, 11:27 AM
"I also wonder whether Hibs’ shareholders are pleased about it."
As a shareholder, I'm okay with the way things are going.
I am, however, laughing at the apparent indignation expressed in that piece.
Me too. It looks as though their fans know as much as ours when the numbers concerend are quoted. How dare a club the size of Hiberenian hold out for their valuation of their current asset. Don't they realise any offer from a team with the class of Celtic ought to be taken despite that offer being derisory?
24-07-2018, 11:29 AM
Arrogant counts.
This shareholders happy with how we're handling the partial offers currently coming in for SJM.
CELTC - too thick to actually understand us.
24-07-2018, 11:33 AM
Clear evidence that Celtic muppets are every bit as arrogant and twisted if not worse than Sevco muppets. One important thing this clown fails to mention is McGinn’s value to Hibs in the coming season. Ask LD and RP about that one.
A perfect storm of arrogance & ignorance. Could actually be the Celtc motto!
24-07-2018, 11:37 AM
What an absolute trumpet. We'll see where we end up but the decision makers at Hibs seem to be doing well with their fiduciary duty since they've convinced Celtic to put an extra half million on the table in the last couple of weeks.
24-07-2018, 11:39 AM
Almost beyond belief. They're so used to getting everything they want, always, they actually think they're entitled to everything.
24-07-2018, 11:46 AM
I find it very amusing. The most unoriginal club in world football getting their knickers in a twist. Absolute delusional roasters. I wonder if they know how the song goes? We've got McGinn.....
24-07-2018, 11:58 AM
I find it very amusing. The most unoriginal club in world football getting their knickers in a twist. Absolute delusional roasters. I wonder if they know how the song goes? We've got McGinn.....
It's almost like they just don't understand.
24-07-2018, 11:59 AM
That blogger’s arrogant attitude is typical of them all. For example :
This McGinn business is only causing so much angst because of the lack of signings we really do need. Put it into perspective: selling club wants as much as it can get, buyer wants to pay as little as possible, it's really no more complicated than that. I imagine the very reason why it's "dragging on" is because he's not an essential signing; we're in no hurry and really, hold all the aces - he knows he's wanted, he wants to come here, we all know it's going to happen. If we had secured the necessary defensive signings the prevailing vibes over McGinn would be relaxed: we know Petrie will fold and both clubs will come to a face saving agreement that allows Hibs to get a decent wedge and maybe another player from us who will significantly improve them. So chill oot, Chaps, we've real concerns at the back to address without fretting over the to-ing and fro-ing of the inevitable signing of a promising young fella.
I like the logic where he says that we capitulate, get a ‘decent wedge’ ( read ‘pittance’) for our best player and maybe a bit player thrown in ‘who will significantly improve us’. :faf::faf::faf:
24-07-2018, 12:06 PM
Celtc bloggers are hilarious. They are all the same kind of self entitled wired to the moon morons.
24-07-2018, 12:12 PM
Give this boy a show at the Fringe
What a comedian
CelticBlog : Pay Hibs £3m and a player already
Also CelticBlog: How dare Petrie turn down £2m
Hope Rosenborg absolutely DOOOOO them in Europe, then Cork, so that McGinn is in Europe longer than them
"look at what you could have won" with your £7m from Stuart Armstrong....
24-07-2018, 12:14 PM
The line about "we would throw in a player" sums up the snobbery of this beller.
IncredibleHibee
24-07-2018, 12:36 PM
Concerning that Kris Commons seems to think we are only holding out for 2.5 mill. In today’s EEN
24-07-2018, 12:38 PM
Concerning that Kris Commons seems to think we are only holding out for 2.5 mill. In today’s EEN
Merely his opinion unless he's in the know, time will tell!
24-07-2018, 12:39 PM
Why is that concerning?
24-07-2018, 12:39 PM
Doubt KC will have any inside knowledge, at this point I think we'd probably give it a good bit of thought especially if that money would help us bring in players we want.
IncredibleHibee
24-07-2018, 12:40 PM
Merely his opinion unless he's in the know, time will tell!
Hopefully just his opinion but the way it reads to me is that he knows that’s how much the club are after - if it is this I can imagine it being an ‘undisclosed fee’
24-07-2018, 12:42 PM
Hope all the posters on here who seem to quite like Celtic for reasons unbeknown to 99.99% of proper Hibees, and there are loads of you, read this and finally see that mob for the patronising pish stain they really are.
What at an absolute jokeshop of an article. I absolutely hate Celtic. Shower of trampy, bigoted,fake Irish, IRA loving, arrogant, self-righteous shop fronts
My only worry woulw be if McGinn was so determined to go it was impossible to hold on to him in reality.
IncredibleHibee
24-07-2018, 12:46 PM
Why is that concerning?
I feel we could and should hold out for more but I suppose for a player in the last year of his contract 2.5 mill isn’t bad
24-07-2018, 12:48 PM
Hope all the posters on here who seem to quite like Celtic for reasons unbeknown to 99.99% of proper Hibees, and there are loads of you, read this and finally see that mob for the patronising pish stain they really are.
What at an absolute jokeshop of an article. I absolutely hate Celtic. Shower of trampy, bigoted,fake Irish, IRA loving, arrogant, self-righteous shop fronts
I can't stand Celtc, but I do like the business that has been done between the clubs over the past few years.
It would be a shame if our mutually beneficial deals were to come to an end.
24-07-2018, 12:50 PM
Loads? It would be .01% no? :wink:
24-07-2018, 12:53 PM
My only worry woulw be if McGinn was so determined to go it was impossible to hold on to him in reality.
No it wouldn't.
"Sorry John, Celtic haven't met our valuation for you so you won't be able to sign for them. Will keep you posted if anything changes.......Oh, and you're starting in midfield on Thursday"
The Leith Dutch
24-07-2018, 01:01 PM
Bit in bold is garbage. Not seen anyone expressing their "like" for Celtic.
Some people think Rangers are worse - not because Celtic are good but because they think Rangers are appalling.
Some people are prepared to do business with them if it's the best deal for Hibs.
Feel free to disagree - especially on the first one where both cheeks of the same arse is probably not far off the truth - but don't come on accusing people of made up ****.
24-07-2018, 01:07 PM
I feel we could and should hold out for more but I suppose for a player in the last year of his contract 2.5 mill isn’t bad
It's definitely not bad as far as I'm concerned - I wouldn't be worried in any case, as I'd doubt that Commons is party to what we'd accept.
24-07-2018, 01:07 PM
They are ****ing parasites, both them and their partners in the OF, and they are partners make no mistake. Both have very similar operating models both have the same outlooks, both have the same sense of entitlement. They are both a complete blight on both Scottish sporting and cultural life. Keep SJM for another year and tell them to go **** themselves, when they try to sign him in January for another crap fee, tell them to get to **** again. If he leaves for free at the end of the season so be it. I hope they get rogered upside down and inside out in Europe and then they can all get in about Lawwell for being a tight git and not spending the money Hibs asked for after making yet another huge profit on players. I ****ing detest celtic
24-07-2018, 01:21 PM
I personally can't remember reading any posts on here from Hibbies expressing any particular liking for Celtc.
As another topic, how many years did Brown have left on his contract when he was sold to Celtc?
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
24-07-2018, 01:27 PM
Don't think that is unreasonable- is be satisfied with that, and I think we would be very lucky to get more than that.
24-07-2018, 01:35 PM
They are ****ing parasites, both them and their partners in the OF, and they are partners make no mistake. Both have very similar operating models both have the same outlooks, both have the same sense of entitlement. They are both a complete blight on both Scottish sporting and cultural life. Keep SJM for another year and tell them to go **** themselves, when they try to sign him in January for another crap fee, tell them to get to **** again. If he leaves for free at the end of the season so be it. I hope they get rogered upside down and inside out in Europe and then they can all get in about Lawwell for being a tight git and not spending the money Hibs asked for after making yet another huge profit on players. I ****ing detest celtic
I'm no Sherlock Holmes, WCH but, I'd somehow come to that conclusion before I reached your last sentence. :greengrin
BH Hibs
24-07-2018, 01:49 PM
That plus a loan player and Scott Allan allowed to sign for us for a nominal fee wouldn’t be that bad.
No it wouldn't.
"Sorry John, Celtic haven't met our valuation for you so you won't be able to sign for them. Will keep you posted if anything changes.......Oh, and you're starting in midfield on Thursday"
I can see your not a believer in player/agent power, one of the Jim MacLean school of player management. :wink:
24-07-2018, 01:52 PM
That plus a loan player and Scott Allan allowed to sign for us for a nominal fee wouldn’t be that bad.
Perfectly possible that Hibs are quietly holding this all up, after initial efforts to nudge Celtic over the line before the Euro ties came to nothing, so SJM was played against Runavik (while Scott Allan was retained on the bench for Celtic in their ties).
Now that we've taken that decision, and SJM can't play for Celtic in Europe unless they reach the group stages (unlikely in my opinion) we are as well to play SJM in our games rather than sell and have last minute upheaval to the team in what has been a fortuitous draw so far.
24-07-2018, 01:56 PM
I can see your not a believer in player/agent power, one of the Jim MacLean school of player management. :wink:
I think for some players it would be a problem for a week or two until they've got over the disappointment of not getting the move they wanted (Scott Allan), i don't think for a second we SJM would give us a problem like that though.
IMO Hibs need to give Celtic a deadline, we are obviously not a million miles apart just now, give them until the first of August and say from that date on we won't be getting involved in negotiations and he won't be sold as we need to plan for next season. The only way we sell him after that date is if we get a silly offer way more than is being discussed just now.
This has been going on for too long now, a line needs to get drawn under the whole saga at some point and it can't be too close to the transfer window closing for us to replace him.
I think for some players it would be a problem for a week or two until they've got over the disappointment of not getting the move they wanted (Scott Allan), i don't think for a second we SJM would give us a problem like that though.
IMO Hibs need to give Celtic a deadline, we are obviously not a million miles apart just now, give them until the first of August and say from that date on we won't be getting involved in negotiations and he won't be sold as we need to plan for next season. The only way we sell him after that date is if we get a silly offer way more than is being discussed just now.
This has been going on for too long now, a line needs to get drawn under the whole saga at some point and it can't be too close to the transfer window closing for us to replace him.
Agree
24-07-2018, 02:26 PM
I personally can't remember reading any posts on here from Hibbies expressing any particular liking for Celtc.
As another topic, how many years did Brown have left on his contract when he was sold to Celtc?
Indeed …. If there are any Hibbies who buy into this brothers in arms pish just because of our shared heritage they are very few and far between. By far the prevailing view is that they are one cheek of a Weegie cartel arse who have been carving up Scottish football to each others mutual benefit for over a century to the detriment of everybody else, including us.
As another poster alluded to, Celtic are given a bit more regard than Sevco on here simply because they are slightly less odious than the other arse cheek, but that's about the size of it …. we all know that Celtic would kick us in the baws without a second thought if it was beneficial to them to do so and any protestations from Hibs would be given as much consideration by them as would a request from the Grand Orange lodge to hold their annual 12th of July barbecue on the Parkhead pitch.
24-07-2018, 02:31 PM
Indeed …. If there are any Hibbies who buy into this brothers in arms pish just because of our shared heritage they are very few and far between. By far the prevailing view is that they are one cheek of a Weegie cartel arse who have been carving up Scottish football to each others mutual benefit for over a century to the detriment of everybody else, including us.
As another poster alluded to, Celtic are given a bit more regard than Sevco on here simply because they are slightly less odious than the other arse cheek, but that's about the size of it …. we all know that Celtic would kick us in the baws without a second thought if it was beneficial to them to do so and any protestations from Hibs would be given as much consideration by them as would a request from the Grand Orange lodge to hold their annual 12th of July barbecue on the Parkhead pitch.
tbh, I think Celtc would go for this if the price was right. :wink:
That "James Forrest" blogger writes the biggest load of long-winded, sanctimonious pish ever. He makes Phil Mac Giolla Bhain's pieces seem slick and concise!
24-07-2018, 02:33 PM
Sounds good. It doesn't seem unthinkable that we have already or will do this.
24-07-2018, 02:37 PM
Sounds good. It doesn't seem unthinkable that we have already or will do this.
I'm sure whoever is representing the club is a very capable negotiator and i'd be amazed if we didn't do something like that.
24-07-2018, 02:39 PM
Aw, shut up man. You're off on one.
Juniper Greens
24-07-2018, 02:42 PM
I think one of the first 10 posts on the "Disliked Clubs" thread was along the lines of "I only like Hibs and Celtic". Really got on my wick! Can't like two teams who should be competing for the same things.
24-07-2018, 02:49 PM
It is indeed a joke of an 'article' and doesn't come across well at all.
I can't stand Celtic as a club. However, this one particular blog doesn't speak for the whole of their club or support (even if it may be an accurate reflection) any more than your short hard-man rants or accusations at other posters on here speak for all of Hibs.
24-07-2018, 02:54 PM
I think one of the first 10 posts on the "Disliked Clubs" thread was along the lines of "I only like Hibs and Celtic". Really got on my wick! Can't like two teams who should be competing for the same things.
I wouldn't let it get on your wick - I'm sure the poster of that particular comment has been renowned recently for posting things which aren't altogether serious. More at the wind-up/seemingly humorous/attention seeking/just plain annoying... a combination of the above, however you feel about it :greengrin
supermcginn
24-07-2018, 03:13 PM
You beat me to it, they are utter filth just like the other lot from govan.
24-07-2018, 03:43 PM
What at an absolute jokeshop of an article. I absolutely hate Celtic. Shower of trampy, bigoted,fake Irish, IRA loving, arrogant, self-righteous shop frontsCouldn't have put it better myself. Absolute poetry.
24-07-2018, 04:02 PM
So, let's say there are 100,000 Hibees in the world. (adjust as necessary)
That means that 0.01% of 'em are the Celtc-likers.
10 (Ten). In the world. Of whom how many are on here?
Let's name and shame........
24-07-2018, 04:07 PM
You can't beat basic maths in destroying a theory.
24-07-2018, 04:09 PM
Name and shame only? Candy ass liberal that you are. Flaming torches and pitchforks needed.........
24-07-2018, 04:10 PM
:greengrinIs it celtc likers or lickers you are after?
Not me like, I absolutely loath them as much as the other cheek. Just asking for a friend.[emoji6]
24-07-2018, 04:10 PM
You can't beat basic maths in destroying a theory.
Brilliant... I'm one of the 0.01% who has a soft spot for maths.
SideBurns
24-07-2018, 04:13 PM
By "loads of you" maybe he meant the 99.99%? There are loads of Hibbies in the 99.99% of Hibbies who largely make up the Hibs support.
24-07-2018, 04:20 PM
24-07-2018, 04:21 PM
By "loads of you" maybe he meant the 99.99%? There are loads of Hibbies in the 99.99% of Hibbies who largely make up the Hibs support.
By God, we could be onto something here.
How many "youse" are Hibbies?
How many Hibbies are in the Hibs support?
Do we need a Venn diagram?
SideBurns
24-07-2018, 04:21 PM
If The Rangers didn't exist the 0.1% (as they may forever be known) would probably really dislike Celtic. But when you have that shower at Ibrox to compare them with, it lets them off the hook a bit...
SideBurns
24-07-2018, 04:23 PM
Is Venn Diagram the boy on trial from Croatia? In which case, I'll reserve my judgement until I've watched that YouTube video.
24-07-2018, 04:24 PM
If The Rangers didn't exist the 0.1% (as they may forever be known) would probably really dislike Celtic. But when you have that shower at Ibrox to compare them with, it lets them off the hook a bit...
Cough.
0.01%
:nerd:
24-07-2018, 04:25 PM
Is Venn Diagram the boy on trial from Croatia? In which case, I'll reserve my judgement until I've watched that YouTube video.
He is.
Sometimes he tends to over-complicate things. But see when he gets things right..... and everything comes together....................it can be so simple, yet so elegant.
SideBurns
24-07-2018, 04:29 PM
Cough.
0.01%
:nerd:
Sorry, I've seriously overestimated the amount of Tic sympathisers! Sure there were at least that many singing the folk ditties in the 70s and early 80s, which has maybe thrown me a bit...
24-07-2018, 04:30 PM
Don't think that is unreasonable- is be satisfied with that, and I think we would be very lucky to get more than that.
Can't disagree with any of that. In the absence of any strong suggestions of bids outstripping Celtic's offers from south of the border and if McGinn's preference of all offers is Parkhead in any event I think we will struggle to beat £2.5 million for a player in the last 12 months of his contract TBH.
24-07-2018, 04:31 PM
Don't know about signing Venn Diagram - running around in circles doen't do much for me but that Greek winger Pythagoras Theorem we have on trial understands the values of playing in triangles.......
SideBurns
24-07-2018, 04:31 PM
He is.
Sometimes he tends to over-complicate things. But see when he gets things right..... and everything comes together....................it can be so simple, yet so elegant.
Just googled the boy for a bit more info, but all i could find was incomprehensible mathematical pish. Happy to take your word for it though.
24-07-2018, 04:32 PM
Sorry, I've seriously overestimated the amount of Tic sympathisers! Sure there were at least that many singing the folk ditties in the 70s and early 80s, which has maybe thrown me a bit...
They're mostly deid, in jail, or done a Begbie and are now re-evaluating themsleves in sunnier climes.
"We're off to Waitrose in pastel colours...."
24-07-2018, 04:34 PM
Don't know about signing Venn Diagram - running around in circles doen't do much for me but that Greek winger Pythagoras Theorem we have on trial understands the values of playing in triangles.......
Saw him having a trial with Falkirk. Played too many square balls to that guy Myles Hypotenuse.
24-07-2018, 04:34 PM
Why are people getting upset at an irrelevant, no mark, Celtc fan's blog?
Fans post pish. Fans can be fantasists.
Ever read hibs.net?
24-07-2018, 04:36 PM
Saw him having a trial with Falkirk. Played too many square balls to that guy Myles Hypotenuse.
In fairness to Miles Hypotenuse, he did have an acute understanding of the game......
24-07-2018, 04:39 PM
In fairness to Miles Hypotenuse, he did have an acute understanding of the game......
And we're off.
HibbyRadge will be along in a mo with his own angle on this...
24-07-2018, 04:40 PM
I knew this thread would go off at a Tangent.
Cos I saw the Sine.
Newcastlehibby
24-07-2018, 04:43 PM
Yet still we know the square root of nothing.
24-07-2018, 04:50 PM
I heard that he was about to sign, but did a complete 180
24-07-2018, 04:52 PM
Time to draw a line under all of this
24-07-2018, 04:55 PM
And we're off.
HibbyRadge will be along in a mo with his own angle on this...
I'd be all over this like a rash under normal circumstances, but I think Miles Hypothesis's team got knocked out in the last round by FC Parentheses and they subsequently sacked their manager Trigo Nometri who was a mate of mine so I'm out.
SideBurns
24-07-2018, 04:55 PM
They're mostly deid, in jail, or done a Begbie and are now re-evaluating themsleves in sunnier climes.
"We're off to Waitrose in pastel colours...."
Sure a few have done a Mea Culpa on here about indulging in such shenanigans back in the day (which disnae mean some urnae deid, in the tin pail, or now in a period of reflection right enough - though others certainly aren't...).
Apologies for derailing the thread, which has nowt to do with SJM's possible move tae Glesgae, but instead a fab forum for mathematical puns 😆
24-07-2018, 04:56 PM
I'd be all over this like a rash under normal circumstances, but I think Miles Hypothesis's team got knocked out in the last round by FC Parentheses and they sacked their manager Trigo Nometri.
**** me, you can be so obtuse sometimes.
What a well educated fan base we have, algebra & trig, nae bother. :greengrin
24-07-2018, 05:02 PM
This woman tried to teach me geometry but I couldn't count up or count down beyond two.......
24-07-2018, 05:02 PM
**** me, you can be so obtuse sometimes.
Insults are just a reflex action for you, aren't they.
They're an integral part of your online personality.
24-07-2018, 05:06 PM
He's irrational. :rolleyes:
24-07-2018, 05:07 PM
I suppose that depends entirely upon your own moral compass.
24-07-2018, 05:19 PM
I suppose that depends entirely upon your own moral compass.
You'll cause a divide with comments like that.
And it'll multiply.
24-07-2018, 05:26 PM
You'll cause a divide with comments like that.
And it'll multiply.
There are enough fractions on here as it is without more division.
24-07-2018, 05:28 PM
There are enough fractions on here as it is without more division.
Nothing wrong with division. It's can be a Joy......
24-07-2018, 05:30 PM
Nothing wrong with division. It's can be a Joy......
That's music to my ears.
Wakeyhibee
24-07-2018, 05:35 PM
So long as it doesn't tear us apart
24-07-2018, 05:36 PM
So long as it doesn't tear us apart
It won't - it will add to the Atmosphere.......
Wakeyhibee
24-07-2018, 05:38 PM
Nobody's lost control yet!
Cat Stanton
24-07-2018, 05:39 PM
[coughs politely]
Eh.. Any news on the McGinn bid..?