View Full Version : Recent Restaurant Visits Reviews

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11

22-08-2020, 04:59 PM
I don't know if you've been down that way in the evening recently. My wife and I were at the Chop House during the week and thought we'd go for a drink beforehand. Only one bar was open down that way, the Port o Leith, it was Covid-19 distanced full so we ended up in the Bowlers Rest, Mitchell Street, also Covid-19 rules apply. Really friendly wee place.

You wouldn't need vouchers there, I couldn't believe how cheap it was. One extreme to the other.

Not been down that way for a while, was on Leith Walk today in my favourite coffee shop, what a difference with hardly any traffic and footfall.

23-08-2020, 03:34 AM
I was Pizza express at the bridges. I was surprised how quiet it was
Told a stroll up and down the Royal mile afterwards, so many places closed
The iconic Worlds End pub closed too. Presume social distancing would be difficult in that pub

Worlds End opening 14th Sept.

23-08-2020, 07:50 AM
Worlds End opening 14th Sept.

Thanks
Used to be our night out up until last year or so, Pancho Villas and Worlds End

23-08-2020, 09:33 AM
"A similar voucher scheme for Constituion Street is being planned for launch next month."

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/politics/council/new-spend-ps5-get-ps10-voucher-scheme-leith-walk-businesses-launches-monday-2949691

Does anyone have the itison link? For either leith walk or constitution street, I can't find it

23-08-2020, 09:35 AM
Does anyone have the itison link? For either leith walk or constitution street, I can't find it

It launches tomorrow

23-08-2020, 09:39 AM
Was in the Barologist last night. It’s a sort of tapas-y style menu of small dishes, we ordered 6 between us, one of them was terrible and I sent it back (a rock hard avocado), the others were no better than ok.

I wouldn’t go back.

nellio
23-08-2020, 12:01 PM
Was in the Barologist last night. It’s a sort of tapas-y style menu of small dishes, we ordered 6 between us, one of them was terrible and I sent it back (a rock hard avocado), the others were no better than ok.

I wouldn’t go back.

I hated it in there. Went for a drink with the wife. Just wanted a pint of lager but ended up with IPA as all crafty type stuff and gin. Also table service only type place. Not my scene, just give me a normal pub where I can get a pint of normal lager!!

23-08-2020, 01:19 PM
At least the Barologist appear to have done away with their weather themed menu. I went once; read about a 'cloud of potatoes', 'a pressure of jus' and 'a rainfall of hollandaise' and realised I had made a terrible mistake. The food was as average as it was pretentious.

23-08-2020, 06:51 PM
The Barologist is everything I hate about a pub, it's like the time a barman in a "trendy" pub tried to serve me a drink in an old baked bean tin before I told him I wasn't paying for it til he poured it in a glass

speedy_gonzales
23-08-2020, 07:24 PM
The Barologist is everything I hate about a pub, it's like the time a barman in a "trendy" pub tried to serve me a drink in an old baked bean tin before I told him I wasn't paying for it til he poured it in a glass

Please, please, let this be true. Was this in Edinburgh or somewhere else?

23-08-2020, 07:32 PM
Please, please, let this be true. Was this in Edinburgh or somewhere else?

Aye, was in Stockbridge, sure it was in Hamiltons

23-08-2020, 07:43 PM

I have to sell those and keep a straight face when doing so, they aren't cheap either. I cringe every time someone asks for them. Same with mini fryer baskets, enamel mugs and mess tins. I have access to some beautiful crockery and people insist on that *****.

23-08-2020, 07:59 PM
I have to sell those and keep a straight face when doing so, they aren't cheap either. I cringe every time someone asks for them. Same with mini fryer baskets, enamel mugs and mess tins. I have access to some beautiful crockery and people insist on that *****.

Give me crockery any day, I absolutely despise food served to me on a wooden board too.

24-08-2020, 07:25 AM
The Leith Walk voucher

https://www.itison.com/Edinburgh/deals/xxx--56b43ff0-9127-472e-8dc9-610d29c84ae2?utm_source=Daily_2020-08-24&utm_medium=email&utm_content=email_f_1_xxx__56b43ff0_91_2&utm_campaign=2020-08-24_edi&muid=73d1dd33-f35f-429d-892a-938867a4e3ab

24-08-2020, 08:12 AM
The Leith Walk voucher

https://www.itison.com/Edinburgh/deals/xxx--56b43ff0-9127-472e-8dc9-610d29c84ae2?utm_source=Daily_2020-08-24&utm_medium=email&utm_content=email_f_1_xxx__56b43ff0_91_2&utm_campaign=2020-08-24_edi&muid=73d1dd33-f35f-429d-892a-938867a4e3ab

Is there any way to get this without using Itison? I refuse to use them since they used the lockdown to screw me out of a voucher.

24-08-2020, 08:21 AM
Is there any way to get this without using Itison? I refuse to use them since they used the lockdown to screw me out of a voucher.

No mate it’s all set up through Itison so I very much doubt it.

24-08-2020, 08:35 AM
Don't think I've ever had a bad meal at Vittoria's and last night was no exception. Calamari, Halibut, and tiramisu with a couple pints of Moretti. :aok:

With £10 off, 20% season ticket discount, and a £50 voucher I'd almost forgotten I bought at the start of the year the £90 bill became £13. :greengrin

Will be a decent deal combining the new Leith Walk Itison voucher, ST discount and Eat out discount too.

24-08-2020, 08:41 AM
Will be a decent deal combining the new Leith Walk Itison voucher, ST discount and Eat out discount too.

Absolutely. :agree:

They were busy last week on Wednesday, not sure if that's translating to non-EOTHO days but hopefully this scheme helps with doing just that!

24-08-2020, 08:49 AM
Absolutely. :agree:

They were busy last week on Wednesday, not sure if that's translating to non-EOTHO days but hopefully this scheme helps with doing just that!

My ex colleagues tell me that the EOTHO days are having an adverse affect on the other days.

24-08-2020, 09:55 AM
My ex colleagues tell me that the EOTHO days are having an adverse affect on the other days.

That's a shame - hopefully this evens that out.

It's a little out the way for me these days so it would usually just be pre or post Hibs games when I would visit Vittoria's. Given the amount of green I'd see on those visits I assume the lack of attending football isn't helping them.

24-08-2020, 01:25 PM
Cafe Domenico for us tonight, got great reviews, really looking forward to it.

24-08-2020, 01:43 PM
Aye, was in Stockbridge, sure it was in Hamiltons

I really like Hamiltons. Go there quite a lot. Was in there yesterday, just for a soup, a sandwich and a coffee, it was all really good though.

Tonight we're having some food at The Ox, been once before and it was decent enough.

24-08-2020, 03:15 PM
I really like Hamiltons. Go there quite a lot. Was in there yesterday, just for a soup, a sandwich and a coffee, it was all really good though.

Tonight we're having some food at The Ox, been once before and it was decent enough.

Enjoyed the Ox, the missus wasn’t happy with the amount of dogs (5) at the bar though.😁

MagicSwirlingShip
24-08-2020, 11:02 PM

A personal favourite. Hope you enjoyed!

25-08-2020, 12:42 PM
A personal favourite. Hope you enjoyed!

It was outstanding! 👍

Mussels for the starter and frutti de mare for the main.

25-08-2020, 05:25 PM

Great wee place.

Been to Nok's kitchen recently - superb meal.

Also went to the Bonnie Badger in Gullane the other week. Not impressed. Average quality pub food, with a premium price.

25-08-2020, 08:19 PM
Miro’s on the prom tonight, very good.

Had only been there for breakfast before but will definitely be back for dinner again.

25-08-2020, 08:48 PM
Miro’s on the prom tonight, very good.

Had only been there for breakfast before but will definitely be back for dinner again.

Anyone who went out on this weather, deserves a good meal

Ajo
26-08-2020, 08:52 AM
Anyone been to hawksmoor? It’s for a 30th birthday and deciding between there or Chophouse (which I love and have been to loads).

26-08-2020, 09:37 AM
Anyone been to hawksmoor? It’s for a 30th birthday and deciding between there or Chophouse (which I love and have been to loads).

I went to the Hawksmoor in London Seven Dials and the food was good but it was very expensive. Chophouse Leith is the best place for steak in the city IMO.

26-08-2020, 10:38 AM

Between the 2 I would pick Chop House every day of the week.

The steak at Hawksmoor was great but I was disappointed in both my starter and particularly the dessert. It was like it was thrown together by someone who couldn't really be bothered.

Ajo
26-08-2020, 01:25 PM
Between the 2 I would pick Chop House every day of the week.

The steak at Hawksmoor was great but I was disappointed in both my starter and particularly the dessert. It was like it was thrown together by someone who couldn't really be bothered.

Thanks for this, useful to know. Think I’ll go for chophouse instead, I’d agree it’s the best steak in Edinburgh!

26-08-2020, 09:44 PM

We were served our dinner on pieces of slate in a restaurant in Oban of all places. The food had a tendency to fall off onto the table. Luckily there wasn't much of it to start with.
Since then "Slates for Plates" has been our motto when encountering such culinary pretentiousness.

27-08-2020, 10:41 AM
Kebab Mahal for lunch this week, substantial meal for 2 with drinks came to £11. Best Indian in Edinburgh still.

27-08-2020, 10:49 AM
Kebab Mahal for lunch this week, substantial meal for 2 with drinks came to £11. Best Indian in Edinburgh still.

Love that place...not been for ages..must get along...great to hear it’s still of a high quality....

27-08-2020, 11:08 AM
Omar Khayyam last night, decidedly average.

27-08-2020, 12:39 PM
La Piazza on Saturday for our Wedding Anniversary, our favourite go to Italian.

27-08-2020, 12:45 PM
Omar Khayyam last night, decidedly average.

Rustom & The Khukuri across the road are both better.

Mumbai Diner's club also better than Omar Khayyam but would go with the 2 above first.

27-08-2020, 12:57 PM
Rustom & The Khukuri across the road are both better.

Mumbai Diner's club also better than Omar Khayyam but would go with the 2 above first.

Aye, was at Rustom last week, it was very good.

27-08-2020, 01:10 PM
Aye, was at Rustom last week, it was very good.

You’re never in! New job as a restaurant critic? 😉

27-08-2020, 01:46 PM
You’re never in! New job as a restaurant critic? 😉

I think your job is safe! Just taking advantage of EOTHO before it ends.

27-08-2020, 03:39 PM
I think your job is safe! Just taking advantage of EOTHO before it ends.

I need a job, maybe restaurant critic is worth trying 😁

27-08-2020, 04:20 PM
I read that the signature pub group are extending the Eat out scheme for the month of September
https://news.sky.com/story/eat-out-to-help-out-is-coming-to-an-end-here-are-some-restaurants-that-will-still-offer-the-discount-12057573

We’re extending the Eat Out To Help Out deal at a number of our restaurants until the end of September!

Enjoy 50% off food Monday - Wednesday at the following restaurants.

EDINBURGH
🥩 Kyloe
🍔 The Huxley
❄️ Cold Town House
👩*👦*👦 McLarens on the Corner
🐂 The Black Bull (Mon - Fri)
👑 The Queens Arms
🔥 Element
🌸 Copper Blossom
🐮 The Boozy Cow

GLASGOW
⛪️ Church on the Hill
🐦 The Raven (Mon - Fri)

BRIDGE OF ALLAN
🌼 The Meadowpark

ST ANDREWS
😇 The Saint

27-08-2020, 05:04 PM
I read that the signature pub group are extending the Eat out scheme for the month of September
https://news.sky.com/story/eat-out-to-help-out-is-coming-to-an-end-here-are-some-restaurants-that-will-still-offer-the-discount-12057573

We’re extending the Eat Out To Help Out deal at a number of our restaurants until the end of September!

EDINBURGH
🥩 Kyloe
🍔 The Huxley
❄️ Cold Town House
👑 The Queens Arms
🔥 Element
🌸 Copper Blossom
🐮 The Boozy Cow

GLASGOW
⛪️ Church on the Hill
🐦 The Raven (Mon - Fri)

BRIDGE OF ALLAN
🌼 The Meadowpark

ST ANDREWS
😇 The Saint

Loads of places are extending it. Hopefully the govt sees sense and shows a bit support.

27-08-2020, 05:14 PM
Loads of places are extending it. Hopefully the govt sees sense and shows a bit support.

Think it was a month too late for Scotland. Our schools went back in early August, so families weren’t able to maximise it
England on the other hand are still on holiday generally

28-08-2020, 12:04 PM

EDINBURGH
🥩 Kyloe
🍔 The Huxley
❄️ Cold Town House
👑 The Queens Arms
🔥 Element
🌸 Copper Blossom
🐮 The Boozy Cow

GLASGOW
⛪️ Church on the Hill
🐦 The Raven (Mon - Fri)

BRIDGE OF ALLAN
🌼 The Meadowpark

ST ANDREWS
😇 The Saint

You can add Vittoria Group places to that list, including Thursdays.

Not bad! :aok:

29-08-2020, 01:30 PM
6ByNico for the chippie menu lived up to expectations - what a fantastic offering that is. Every course was delicious. I've never been disappointed by 6ByNico but that one was a cut above I think.

The next menu, Sicily, also looks really good but is pretty much booked out. I'm in for the following menu though - hopefully a good one!

29-08-2020, 04:31 PM
In Brewhemia last night the bill for six of us came to £308 then discounted to £154 with their 50% offer. Six folk in there from 6.30 till 11.30 all had food and drinks, including a couple of bottles of Prosecco,cheap night.

29-08-2020, 04:56 PM
In Brewhemia last night the bill for six of us came to £308 then discounted to £154 with their 50% offer. Six folk in there from 6.30 till 11.30 all had food and drinks, including a couple of bottles of Prosecco,cheap night.

How was it?

I'm not really a huge fan but with the space they have to play with they must be able to balance social distancing with actually having some kind of atmosphere.

Oh and am I reading correct that the 50% off includes alcoholic drinks and not just food and softies?

29-08-2020, 05:05 PM
How was it?

I'm not really a huge fan but with the space they have to play with they must be able to balance social distancing with actually having some kind of atmosphere.

Yes exactly, an ideal venue in that respect. It was very good, enough folk in to create a decent atmosphere and very good service. The food was good enough, we never actually knew about the 50% when we booked so it was a pleasant surprise. Some of the booths as you go in on the left that can sit 6-8 people where occupied by just couples. Only the second time I have been, selected for it’s proximity to the station for a couple of our group who travelled in. Yes the 50% covered everything.

29-08-2020, 05:09 PM
Yes exactly, an ideal venue in that respect. It was very good, enough folk in to create a decent atmosphere and very good service. The food was good enough, we never actually knew about the 50% when we booked so it was a pleasant surprise. Some of the booths as you go in on the left that can sit 6-8 people where occupied by just couples. Only the second time I have been, selected for it’s proximity to the station for a couple of our group who travelled in. Yes the 50% covered everything.

Cheers. I've just booked for a week on Monday. I've only been in for drinks before.

We are looking for somewhere to have a drinks/brunch thing the day after our wedding in April (assuming that goes ahead) and had Brewhemia in mind because of the location. This will be a decent chance to scout things out.

29-08-2020, 05:11 PM
Cheers. I've just booked for a week on Monday. I've only been in for drinks before.

We are looking for somewhere to have a drinks/brunch thing the day after our wedding in April (assuming that goes ahead) and had Brewhemia in mind because of the location. This will be a decent chance to scout things out.

👍

29-08-2020, 05:53 PM
How was it?

Oh and am I reading correct that the 50% off includes alcoholic drinks and not just food and softies?

They're advertising for a new head chef just now.

29-08-2020, 06:56 PM
6ByNico for the chippie menu lived up to expectations - what a fantastic offering that is. Every course was delicious. I've never been disappointed by 6ByNico but that one was a cut above I think.

The next menu, Sicily, also looks really good but is pretty much booked out. I'm in for the following menu though - hopefully a good one!

So glad you’ve posted this. We’re booked in for 2nd October in Manchester but the website didn’t make it immediately obvious what the new menu would be.

29-08-2020, 07:25 PM
Appreciate there won’t be many posters who find themselves in Jedburgh, especially in current circumstances, though it is a good day out if you have children.

Anyways, Jethart has a few good restaurants and we were in the pick of them mid-week. The Capon Tree is run by a young couple and matches pretty much anywhere outstanding I have eaten in Edinburgh - classic Scottish/French, bit of Italian.

I had shin of beef for my main and it was the tenderest, meltiest beef I have ever had in my life. I like my steaks very rare, but shin isn’t a cut I have had before and I expected it to be naturally knotty and sinewy. Far from it, it was practically dissolving in my mouth the second I raised my fork.

Great wine list, and a good range of menu given the restrictions, but more importantly the care of how the food is prepared is the stand-out. If you find yourself in Jed it is worth your custom. Decent range of gins too, IIRC, if that’s your preference for an aperitif.

29-08-2020, 08:17 PM

I went for the chippy as well. Was very, very good. :agree:

29-08-2020, 08:18 PM
We’re booked in for 2nd October in November but the website didn’t make it immediately obvious what the new menu would be.Sorry. Try as I might I can't work this one out.

29-08-2020, 09:03 PM
Sorry. Try as I might I can't work this one out.
This is what happens when you’re trying to type Manchester and then your Mrs mentions something happening in November 🤦🏻

We’re booked in for Six by Nico in Manchester on 2nd October. Sicily menu looks great. I’m usually a bit funny about fish and was expecting to have to swap one or two courses for the veggie option but sea bass is one of the few dishes that I’ll happily eat 👍

29-08-2020, 09:06 PM
This is what happens when you’re trying to type Manchester and then your Mrs mentions something happening in November 🤦🏻*♂️

We’re booked in for Six by Nico in Manchester on 2nd November. Sicily menu looks great. I’m usually a bit funny about fish and was expecting to have to swap one or two courses for the veggie option but sea bass is one of the few dishes that I’ll happily eat 👍

If you wrote November instead of Manchester should you not be in Manchester on the 2nd of October? :duck:

If it is November then the menu will have changed again. It will be the one after Sicily.

29-08-2020, 09:14 PM
Add The Piper’s Rest at The Tron, Burgers & Beers Grillhouse on the Mile & The Newsroom on Leith St to list of places continuing EO2HO throughout September.

29-08-2020, 09:15 PM
If you wrote November instead of Manchester should you not be in Manchester on the 2nd of October? :duck:

If it is November then the menu will have changed again. It will be the one after Sicily.
I think it is time for me to admit to myself that I need to start re-reading my posts before submitting! 2nd October. Definitely 2nd October. In Manchester. Though it may be a good idea to check my reservation to make sure that I haven’t ended up in Belfast in November or something similarly daft.

29-08-2020, 09:33 PM
So glad you’ve posted this. We’re booked in for 2nd October in Manchester but the website didn’t make it immediately obvious what the new menu would be.

They may have synced them now but in the past they weren’t offering the same menus at each venue simultaneously.

Mr Grieves
30-08-2020, 07:46 AM
We went to Fazenda yesterday. There's been a few wee changes - a reduced salad bar/sides menu which you can order as much as you like and they bring it to your table, and the drinks menu is viewed on your phone using a qr code. It was still brilliant.

30-08-2020, 07:54 AM
Add The Piper’s Rest at The Tron, Burgers & Beers Grillhouse on the Mile & The Newsroom on Leith St to list of places continuing EO2HO throughout September.

Is there a list anywhere, of all the outlets in Scotland offering this?

30-08-2020, 11:02 AM
La Piazza last night, very good, menu viewed on your phone via QR code, tables well positioned with some removed to enable correct distancing food and service very good.
The only issue they had was when a group of 10 came in caused a commotion and decided they would pull two tables that were about ten foot from each other together, the restaurant staff stopped them and despite their protests dealt with the situation very well and eventually got them quietened down and sat at two seperate tables.

30-08-2020, 11:10 AM
La Piazza last night, very good, menu viewed on your phone via QR code, tables well positioned with some removed to enable correct distancing food and service very good.
The only issue they had was when a group of 10 came in caused a commotion and decided they would pull two tables that were about ten foot from each other together, the restaurant staff stopped them and despite their protests dealt with the situation very well and eventually got them quietened down and sat at two seperate tables.

You do some amount of eating out, SH😄

30-08-2020, 11:12 AM

Last night was our wedding anniversary, Friday night was an ex colleague get together, that’s me for a while now 😁

30-08-2020, 01:00 PM

Lucky boy! 😄

30-08-2020, 01:35 PM
Lucky boy! 😄

More like a rich boy😀

30-08-2020, 01:41 PM
More like a rich boy😀

😂 If only.

30-08-2020, 05:45 PM

Was that just 3 households? Some places seem stricter than others on this.

30-08-2020, 05:48 PM
Was that just 3 households? Some places seem stricter than others on this.

No it was 5

30-08-2020, 06:53 PM
No it was 5

Hmm....so outwith the guidelines then. Not having a go at you btw but just seems to be some inconsistencies on places enforcing this.

30-08-2020, 06:56 PM
Hmm....so outwith the guidelines then. Not having a go at you btw but just seems to be some inconsistencies on places enforcing this.

I never booked it so not sure if it was even mentioned.

30-08-2020, 06:57 PM
I never booked it so not sure if it was even mentioned.

Ok doke...cheers. I'll stop interrogating you now!

30-08-2020, 06:59 PM
Ok doke...cheers. I'll stop interrogating you now!

No problem, to be honest I never even thought about it, oops 😁

30-08-2020, 11:40 PM
😂 If only.

I'd settle for lucky? ☺

31-08-2020, 06:46 PM
Pho Viet at Haymarket this evening, nothing special. Red Box on West Nicholson Street is probably better.

31-08-2020, 07:25 PM
Pho Viet at Haymarket this evening, nothing special. Red Box on West Nicholson Street is probably better.

I love Red Box. It’s right beside my work, and it’s one of the few things I miss now I’m working from home.

West Upper
01-09-2020, 07:59 AM
Karen’s Unicorn on Saturday, Doesn’t look the best from the outside but the food was brilliant. The tables were well spaced out and was a packet of wipes and hand sanitiser on every table.

01-09-2020, 08:10 AM
Karen’s Unicorn on Saturday, Doesn’t look the best from the outside but the food was brilliant. The tables were well spaced out and was a packet of whips and hand sanitiser on every table.

:shocked::hilarious

01-09-2020, 02:27 PM
Visited 3 spots in Edinburgh over last weekend - The Kitchin, which was unsurprisingly fantastic; Spirit of Thai (which is one of my favourite Thai spots in the city), and Brewhemia - I'd never been in Brewhemia before and, to be honest, was quite unaware of its presence, but I was thoroughly impressed. Beautiful big open and bright space with a great beer selection and very tasty food. Will definitely be back!

02-09-2020, 09:04 PM
:shocked::hilarious

I don't know what's more worrying, the whips or the need for hand sanitiser afterwards. :greengrin

Ajo
05-09-2020, 08:51 AM
Was at Wee Buddha last night, food was excellent. Would highly recommend.

05-09-2020, 08:55 AM
Went out to our favourite Chinese restaurant last night, Rendezvous on Queensferry St. Temperature was taken as we went in, and usual protocol of contact details and hand sanitizer
Think it’s the 1st time we’ve been this year

Food top notch as always. We always have 2 meat dishes, and 2 veg with our rice. Was reasonably busy at 5.30 or so
Forgot how expensive eating out was, after the help out promotion last month😧

Had a wee sneaky drink at Ryries after, before catching our train home

Just as an aside, loads of people on the train not wearing masks, but that’s probably for another thread

05-09-2020, 09:00 AM
Went out to our favourite Chinese restaurant last night, Rendezvous on Queensferry St. Temperature was taken as we went in, and usual protocol of contact details and hand sanitizer

Food top notch as always. We always have 2 meat dishes, and 2 veg with our rice. Was reasonably busy at 5.30 or so

Just as an aside, loads of people on the train not wearing masks, but that’s probably for another thread

Eating out again! Some life you have.

05-09-2020, 09:17 AM
Eating out again! Some life you have.

Hahahahah
I deserved that

05-09-2020, 10:39 AM

The drink in Ryries was probably dearer than your meal, ridiculous prices for such a **** pub! 😲

05-09-2020, 11:36 AM
The drink in Ryries was probably dearer than your meal, ridiculous prices for such a **** pub! 😲

New owners recently so hopefully they improve it. It should be a far better pub than it is.

05-09-2020, 12:32 PM
New owners recently so hopefully they improve it. It should be a far better pub than it is.

Was much better last night than before, warmly welcomed in
Just had a single nip and a single brandy, think was around £6.30, so not too expensive in Edinburgh establishments

05-09-2020, 12:37 PM
Was much better last night than before, warmly welcomed in
Just had a single nip and a single brandy, think was around £6.30, so not too expensive in Edinburgh establishments

That's not too bad, about 10 years ago it was £4 for a pint of Strongbow. 😓

Currently in Darlington, about £5 for a Strongbow and Moretti! 😆

05-09-2020, 12:54 PM
That's not too bad, about 10 years ago it was £4 for a pint of Strongbow. 😓

Currently in Darlington, about £5 for a Strongbow and Moretti! 😆

You and Scouse Hibee get about

05-09-2020, 01:04 PM

La Dolce Vita is always worth stringently pursuing! 😃

05-09-2020, 01:50 PM

A DM Stewart boozer now I believe.

05-09-2020, 02:04 PM

😁 I’m off to Doncaster then Whitby tomorrow.

05-09-2020, 02:57 PM

It is.

05-09-2020, 03:10 PM
😁 I’m off to Doncaster then Whitby tomorrow.

I love Whitby, stayed at Robin Hood’s Bay just down the road a few times

Could have to quarantine on your return though, look out for Nicola’s update

05-09-2020, 08:05 PM
Had a takeaway from Chez Jules today. How they manage to produce such good food for so cheap is beyond me.

Wouldn’t sit in just now though as they are giving you disposable cutlery which is ***** for eating steak frites.

05-09-2020, 08:34 PM
I'm afraid I just don't see the point in having single measures for spirits. It's mostly evaporated before you get back to your seat.

05-09-2020, 08:37 PM
Had afternoon tea at Fingal today, it was brilliant. Food was amazing and well worth the money.

06-09-2020, 10:05 AM
I'm afraid I just don't see the point in having single measures for spirits. It's mostly evaporated before you get back to your seat.

I agree😄, but we had a train to catch
It was £2.80 for a single nip, and £3.50 for a single brandy
Will go back rather than use Platform 5, which was heaving

06-09-2020, 12:16 PM
I agree😄, but we had a train to catch
It was £2.80 for a single nip, and £3.50 for a single brandy
Will go back rather than use Platform 5, which was heaving

The new bar manager is a guy who worked in the Guildford, a good guy who I’m sure will improve the place.

07-09-2020, 07:25 AM

It's got some way to go before reaching the standards of the Guildford or Abbotsford.

07-09-2020, 08:11 PM
Was at Brewhemia for dinner tonight.

Food was pretty good, not spectacular but decent. 2 mains, 2 cocktails, 2 pints, 2 apple juice and a child's main and dessert for £38.50 with the discount is very good value. Set up was excellent with tables well spaced, QR codes for track and trace and staff checked you had signed up. Service was excellent.

Less pleasant is the news that the Wee Restaurant in Edinburgh has closed for good. Great food. Thankfully they are staying open in Queensferry.

09-09-2020, 09:43 AM
Not Edinburgh but was in Whitby at the weekend on a business research trip which involved trying fish and chips from three of the best known outlets.

First up was Trenchers which has a fantastic reputation for fish and chips, it was awful. Chips although not bad in texture had a chemical taste probably not been rinsed properly from the dry white used to keep them looking good. The Haddock was battered with skin on (yuk) and the batter was so thin and soggy they shouldn’t have bothered, the tartar sauce was so vinegary. On top of that the service from the counter staff was abrupt and unhelpful.

In comparison the Quayside was fantastic, told us they served skin on haddock and asked if we wanted it with skin removed before battering which we did, fantastic fish and chips, crispy batter but not too thick and lovely crispy chips and decent tartar sauce.

The Magpie Cafe was also very similar to Quayside although we had cod there as they never offered to remove the skin from the haddock. Their tartar sauce was the best of the lot as it was chunky how I like it.

Overall Whitby was a nice place, we were there for a specific purpose though and Trenchers was such a let down.

I don’t mind skin on fish when it is being pan fried or grilled so it crisps but in batter, not for me!

09-09-2020, 10:30 AM
Not Edinburgh but was in Whitby at the weekend on a business research trip which involved trying fish and chips from three of the best known outlets.

First up was Trenchers which has a fantastic reputation for fish and chips, it was awful. Chips although not bad in texture had a chemical taste probably not been rinsed properly from the dry white used to keep them looking good. The Haddock was battered with skin on (yuk) and the batter was so thin and soggy they shouldn’t have bothered, the tartar sauce was so vinegary. On top of that the service from the counter staff was abrupt and unhelpful.

In comparison the Quayside was fantastic, told us they served skin on haddock and asked if we wanted it with skin removed before battering which we did, fantastic fish and chips, crispy batter but not too thick and lovely crispy chips and decent tartar sauce.

The Magpie Cafe was also very similar to Quayside although we had cod there as they never offered to remove the skin from the haddock. Their tartar sauce was the best of the lot as it was chunky how I like it.

Overall Whitby was a nice place, we were there for a specific purpose though and Trenchers was such a let down.

I don’t mind skin on fish when it is being pan fried or grilled so it crisps but in batter, not for me!

I had a very different experience when I went - Trenchers was the best fish and chips I've ever had!

09-09-2020, 07:09 PM
Dangal the Indian restaurant in Corstorphine are opening a second restaurant in Duke Street Leith very soon.

09-09-2020, 07:55 PM
Away to Berwick tomorrow for the night. Anyone recommended any good restaurants.

speedy_gonzales
09-09-2020, 07:57 PM
Dangal the Indian restaurant in Corstorphine are opening a second restaurant in Duke Street Leith very soon.
How do you rate the Corstorphine one? Passed it numerous times, sometimes it's busy, sometimes empty. They start cooking just after 4pm on weekdays and the phenomenal smell lingers in the area for ages.
I've only been put off because it resembles a cafe (was it Rosa's?) rather than a proper restaurant.
Got my first sit down at Prana (used to be Abida) next week and from what I've heard it's still very decent!

09-09-2020, 08:04 PM
How do you rate the Corstorphine one? Passed it numerous times, sometimes it's busy, sometimes empty. They start cooking just after 4pm on weekdays and the phenomenal smell lingers in the area for ages.
I've only been put off because it resembles a cafe (was it Rosa's?) rather than a proper restaurant.
Got my first sit down at Prana (used to be Abida) next week and from what I've heard it's still very decent!

Never been mate as I tend to go to Eastern Pavilion but have heard it’s decent, yes it was Rosa’s cafe and then the Thai place by night. The premises are owned by David and Rose the owners of Wongs. Never been to Prana either but Abida was decent on the odd occasion I went.

09-09-2020, 08:58 PM
Had a takeaway from Chez Jules today. How they manage to produce such good food for so cheap is beyond me.

Wouldn’t sit in just now though as they are giving you disposable cutlery which is ***** for eating steak frites.

I'm very fond of the place. Their lunch menu is tremendous value. Even the wine is reasonable for a restaurant.

10-09-2020, 01:08 PM

Went to the Corstorphine one just before lockdown. My girlfriend and I were doing a Corstorphine curry trail. It was OK but not as good as others in the area.

I’ve been to Prana twice. Probably the best Indian food I’ve ever had. Strangely, they are still calling themselves Abida for their takeaway business and they still answer the phone as Abida.

10-09-2020, 01:48 PM
I’ve been to Prana twice. Probably the best Indian food I’ve ever had. Strangely, they are still calling themselves Abida for their takeaway business and they still answer the phone as Abida.

As Del Boy would say, what a bunch of Pranas! 😉

speedy_gonzales
10-09-2020, 02:53 PM
Went to the Corstorphine one just before lockdown. My girlfriend and I were doing a Corstorphine curry trail. It was OK but not as good as others in the area.

Shoooosht with the Corstorphine Curry Trail,,,, just like the NC500 it started of as a little known jaunt for enthusiasts, the locals now hate the influx of daytrippers.
I don't want to have to start queueing for my mushroom rice on a Friday night from St Johns Curry Club!?!

10-09-2020, 03:11 PM
Shoooosht with the Corstorphine Curry Trail,,,, just like the NC500 it started of as a little known jaunt for enthusiasts, the locals now hate the influx of daytrippers.
I don't want to have to start queueing for my mushroom rice on a Friday night from St Johns Curry Club!?!The Corry Curry trail? ..... hmmmm

In these Covid days is there a takeaway equivalent? (Might help spread the load and save you having to queue!)

10-09-2020, 07:47 PM
I don't want to have to start queueing for my mushroom rice on a Friday night from St Johns Curry Club!?!

St Johns was winning it easily until the first visit to Prana.

10-09-2020, 09:13 PM
St Johns was winning it easily until the first visit to Prana.

I absolutely love the Bengali Green Chicken dish from St Johns. Never been disappointed yet.

10-09-2020, 10:34 PM
I'm very fond of the place. Their lunch menu is tremendous value. Even the wine is reasonable for a restaurant.

Yup, the wine is very decent value as well. I love the place.

11-09-2020, 06:21 AM
I absolutely love the Bengali Green Chicken dish from St Johns. Never been disappointed yet.

That’s my favourite too. They are connected to In Touch on Ferry Road who have a nearly identical menu. The Bengali Green Chicken is ace there too!

11-09-2020, 07:57 AM
That’s my favourite too. They are connected to In Touch on Ferry Road who have a nearly identical menu. The Bengali Green Chicken is ace there too!

The whole Indian restaurant scene in Edinburgh is quite fascinating. I deal with a lot of them in work, including almost all of the St Johns Road/Corstorphine crew, and so many of them are interconnected in some way, either through family or extended friendship networks. It's an annual occurrence that some of the restaurants nominally have 'new owners' who happen to be the cousin or brother of the previous owners and have links to another restaurant. Coincidentally they almost always keep the previous owners on in a management capacity:wink: The vast majority of the owners and staff tend to be Bangladeshi with a smattering of Pakistani owned restaurants. The number of Indian restaurants owned by Indians is probably single figures in Edinburgh, those that are tend to be from either West Bengal or Punjab and have strong links to the neighbouring countries of Bangladesh and Pakistan respectively.

It's a good community to get into from a business perspective because when your face is known and you are trusted then they will be loyal to you and will recommend you to others. On the flip side it can be a nightmare to quote for new product or agree price increases because you can guarantee that they will know exactly what the guy next door and the guy at the other side of the city is paying. There's also a strong emphasis on verbal contracts and gentlemans agreements. I remember years ago telling one owner a new pass through dishwasher would be 'about £4000' but I would have to quote formally; when I presented a quote for closer to £4500 he got very upset and accused me of double crossing him, it was months before he dealt with me again. The best part of dealing with a number of Indian restaurants is the food. I always try to schedule meetings for about 3pm. The lunch service is done and you quite often find a wife bustling about the kitchen cooking food that they actually eat and it's always amazing. Kabuli Puloa, Haleem and Dowdo are particular favourites. They also use a lot of mutton that adds a great depth. I've asked for some of these dishes when I have been out for dinner before and they are usually only too happy to accommodate and show off authentic cuisine.

11-09-2020, 08:22 AM
The whole Indian restaurant scene in Edinburgh is quite fascinating. I deal with a lot of them in work, including almost all of the St Johns Road/Corstorphine crew, and so many of them are interconnected in some way, either through family or extended friendship networks. It's an annual occurrence that some of the restaurants nominally have 'new owners' who happen to be the cousin or brother of the previous owners and have links to another restaurant. Coincidentally they almost always keep the previous owners on in a management capacity:wink: The vast majority of the owners and staff tend to be Bangladeshi with a smattering of Pakistani owned restaurants. The number of Indian restaurants owned by Indians is probably single figures in Edinburgh, those that are tend to be from either West Bengal or Punjab and have strong links to the neighbouring countries of Bangladesh and Pakistan respectively.

It's a good community to get into from a business perspective because when your face is known and you are trusted then they will be loyal to you and will recommend you to others. On the flip side it can be a nightmare to quote for new product or agree price increases because you can guarantee that they will know exactly what the guy next door and the guy at the other side of the city is paying. There's also a strong emphasis on verbal contracts and gentlemans agreements. I remember years ago telling one owner a new pass through dishwasher would be 'about £4000' but I would have to quote formally; when I presented a quote for closer to £4500 he got very upset and accused me of double crossing him, it was months before he dealt with me again. The best part of dealing with a number of Indian restaurants is the food. I always try to schedule meetings for about 3pm. The lunch service is done and you quite often find a wife bustling about the kitchen cooking food that they actually eat and it's always amazing. Kabuli Puloa, Haleem and Dowdo are particular favourites. They also use a lot of mutton that adds a great depth. I've asked for some of these dishes when I have been out for dinner before and they are usually only too happy to accommodate and show off authentic cuisine.

In my early days in catering I started at Prestonfield House which hosted the annual Curry Ball organised by Tommy Miah.

He would bring a couple of guys in from his restaurants to get the food ready and Prestonfield would provide a commis or 2 to help out. I was chosen one year and was enjoying watching them prepare all the food when 1 of them says to me we will have a break and would I like a bite to eat?

Thinking I would just get a bowl of the curries they were making i gladly said yeah!

He then started to cook something from scratch, to this day I have no idea what he called it but it was delicious! Probably still the best Indian meal I've ever had :greengrin

11-09-2020, 08:31 AM

I used to deal with a few of them too and each time was like groundhog day.

They invariably set impossible timescales and want everything yesterday. When you explain that it's not possible they blame you.
They barter over everything. If you want £800 you have to start off at £1k and give them the pleasure of knocking the price down.
They're very selective about what they remember and/or understand. If something doesn't suit them they'll try to blank it.
You have to be very careful when they ask you about business that you're doing or have done with other restaurants. You never know whether they're just being nosey or if they're checking to see if you have a big gob and can/can't be trusted.
Don't be frightened to straight talk them - they'll respect you for it.

All of the above is part of the "game" they play. It might look like I'm generalising or even being racist but I'm not. It's a cultural thing and once you understand and accept it then you'll get on fine.

Finally, if you treat them with the respect that you expect in return and do your job properly then you'll have a client/friend for life. Well worth it if only for the freeby food that they'll happily share with you.

11-09-2020, 08:39 AM
Restaurant communities of same nationalities is certainly a huge network of inter connected families and distant relations. It certainly doesn’t take long to learn of information from across the city and further.

speedy_gonzales
11-09-2020, 11:58 AM
<snip>
It's an annual occurrence that some of the restaurants nominally have 'new owners' who happen to be the cousin or brother of the previous owners and have links to another restaurant. Coincidentally they almost always keep the previous owners on in a management capacity:wink:
<snip>

What's the reasoning for this, you'd think a business would thrive better with continuity?
I know this happened with a small family owned business in the Stenhouse area but that was purely to avoid paying certain running costs of a business,,,, not sustainable in the long run.

11-09-2020, 12:06 PM
What's the reasoning for this, you'd think a business would thrive better with continuity?
I know this happened with a small family owned business in the Stenhouse area but that was purely to avoid paying certain running costs of a business,,,, not sustainable in the long run.

You’ve nailed it 😉

11-09-2020, 10:28 PM
I know this happened with a small family owned business in the Stenhouse area but that was purely to avoid paying certain running costs of a business,,,, not sustainable in the long run.I think this is exactly why 'Abida' still exists for deliveries :agree

11-09-2020, 11:44 PM
Brewhemia have extended their 50% off the total bill deal until the end of October. It really is a great deal and they have the place running like clockwork with regards the safety and hygiene measures required.

15-09-2020, 07:12 PM
Had lunch in the Hawes Inn today at South Queensferry, was very good, in fact better than I expected. £144 for four of us all having three courses, 6 pints and 4 G&T’s. Would recommend and visit again.

15-09-2020, 07:59 PM
Had lunch in the Hawes Inn today at South Queensferry, was very good, in fact better than I expected. £144 for four of us all having three courses, 6 pints and 4 G&T’s. Would recommend and visit again.

Thought these were restaurant reviews, rather than how may G&T’s and pints you can throw down your neck😄
Who needs 6 pints each at lunch anyway

15-09-2020, 08:06 PM
Thought these were restaurant reviews, rather than how may G&T’s and pints you can throw down your neck😄
Who needs 6 pints each at lunch anyway

It was three pints each and the ladies were on the gin, I was giving a bit of context as to the price/ value. However I will kindly refrain from mentioning alcoholic beverages in any future reviews 😁

15-09-2020, 08:28 PM

I used to go to the Hawes a lot years ago because of the location. I went again about ten years ago and the food was terrible, sticky dirty tables and slow service, so I’m glad they’ve got their act together.

16-09-2020, 06:28 AM
It was three pints each and the ladies were on the gin, I was giving a bit of context as to the price/ value. However I will kindly refrain from mentioning alcoholic beverages in any future reviews 😁

Thank you😄
I went local last night, had a shandy in the Torfin’s secret garden, and then popped into the Toby Carvery. Think it’s the 1st time I’ve been in since January
The Chef serves you now, rather than do it yourself. Food was piping hot, as that’s not always the case at the Carvery. I’ve a thing for roast potatoes, but when the Chef is serving you, you feel you can’t ask for too many

16-09-2020, 06:42 AM
Thank you😄
I went local last night, had a shandy in the Torfin’s secret garden, and then popped into the Toby Carvery. Think it’s the 1st time I’ve been in since January
The Chef serves you now, rather than do it yourself. Food was piping hot, as that’s not always the case at the Carvery. I’ve a thing for roast potatoes, but when the Chef is serving you, you feel you can’t ask for too many

Not interested in where you had a shandy, stick to food please.

pollution
16-09-2020, 11:34 AM
Not interested in where you had a shandy, stick to food please.

Food and drink go together, it is part of the dining experience.

16-09-2020, 11:41 AM

😁 You need to read the previous posts for some context.

16-09-2020, 11:54 AM

Of course they do, but SH tells what he’s drinking, and not what he ate😄

Anyway, anywhere else in the Corstorphine/ west of the city recommended for food. Not Indian or Chinese

16-09-2020, 11:59 AM
[QUOTE=Billy Whizz;6300366]Of course they do, but SH tells what he’s drinking, and not what he ate😄

Anyway, anywhere else in the Corstorphine/ west of the city recommended for food. Not Indian or Chinese[/QUOTE

I see Dine are opening a Brasserie in Roseburn just along from the launderette. Also the new pizza place at Drumbrae Roundabout is pretty decent if you like that type of place.

16-09-2020, 12:03 PM
[QUOTE=Billy Whizz;6300366]Of course they do, but SH tells what he’s drinking, and not what he ate😄

Anyway, anywhere else in the Corstorphine/ west of the city recommended for food. Not Indian or Chinese[/QUOTE

I see Dine are opening a Brasserie in Roseburn just along from the launderette. Also the new pizza place at Drumbrae Roundabout is pretty decent if you like that type of place.

Ta, Is that the one called Napoli?

16-09-2020, 12:06 PM
[QUOTE=Scouse Hibee;6300374]

Ta, Is that the one called Napoli?

Yeah

16-09-2020, 01:11 PM
😁 You need to read the previous posts for some context.

Well I found it funny. :greengrin

speedy_gonzales
17-09-2020, 08:13 AM
Visited Prana(Corstorphine) last night and whilst the food was excellent, I was actually more impressed with the drinks!
Don't get me wrong, the recently renovated restaurant has put a lot of effort in to their new menu, and whilst it has become a little limited due to its simplified nature, the offerings are wide and diverse.
The monkfish starter was brilliant and the chicken jalfrezi was hot but not overly so, and had a pleasant tangy-ness, but the drinks!!!
We had a few between us, Mrs SG loved the Bellini but I was blown away by the whisky sour. Indian whiskey laced with cardamom bitters, oooft, so good I had two!
The restaurant isn't the traditional Indian where you might go with the lads after a few pints, but I'll definitely be back with the good lady and mixed company next time I need an uprated Indian.

17-09-2020, 10:58 AM
Visited Prana(Corstorphine) last night and whilst the food was excellent, I was actually more impressed with the drinks!
Don't get me wrong, the recently renovated restaurant has put a lot of effort in to their new menu, and whilst it has become a little limited due to its simplified nature, the offerings are wide and diverse.
The monkfish starter was brilliant and the chicken jalfrezi was hot but not overly so, and had a pleasant tangy-ness, but the drinks!!!
We had a few between us, Mrs SG loved the Bellini but I was blown away by the whisky sour. Indian whiskey laced with cardamom bitters, oooft, so good I had two!
The restaurant isn't the traditional Indian where you might go with the lads after a few pints, but I'll definitely be back with the good lady and mixed company next time I need an uprated Indian.

I had the whisky sour too one of the times I went there. It was ace as was the garam masala espresso martini!

Magpie
19-09-2020, 04:15 AM
I was at Passorn last week on Brougham Place and thoroughly enjoyed it. Would recommend as a nice alternative to Chaophraya for anyone who likes Thai food.

19-09-2020, 10:28 AM
I was at Tattu again last night.

Pretty much reaffirmed my view after my 1st visit. Setting lovely, service excellent, food so so.

Had I not had a voucher I probably wouldn't have went a 2nd time and I doubt there will be a 3rd visit.

19-09-2020, 10:35 AM
Going to New Chapter in Eyre Place on Monday for lunch, anyone on here been?

19-09-2020, 10:37 AM

Yes, it's excellent.

I had sea bream with squid and chorizo and it was absolutely outstanding.

19-09-2020, 10:39 AM
Yes, it's excellent.

I had sea bream with squid and chorizo and it was absolutely outstanding.

👍 Cheers.

19-09-2020, 10:51 AM

I’ve been a couple of times. Once soon after it opened and once post-lockdown. Excellent on both occasions and one of the better places in terms of social distancing measures.

19-09-2020, 10:55 AM
I’ve been a couple of times. Once soon after it opened and once post-lockdown. Excellent on both occasions and one of the better places in terms of social distancing measures.

Cheers, good to hear.

22-09-2020, 04:02 PM
Any recommendations for lunch in the city centre? Quirky would be good, but not essential as long as the ambience (and food!) good. Meeting old friends for the first time since lockdown - they were coming to stay, but today's announcement has knocked that on the head, so we're meeting up in Edinburgh instead.

22-09-2020, 04:12 PM

Their sister restaurant, Otro has now closed permanently, I see

22-09-2020, 04:38 PM
Any recommendations for lunch in the city centre? Quirky would be good, but not essential as long as the ambience (and food!) good. Meeting old friends for the first time since lockdown - they were coming to stay, but today's announcement has knocked that on the head, so we're meeting up in Edinburgh instead.
Dusit is good for lunch, £15.95 for 2 courses. Its Thai food. I've been there twice recently and enjoyed it.

22-09-2020, 04:53 PM
Sadly the guy who told me had booked New Chapter for Monday lunch actually hadn’t and when he tried it was fully booked! We ended up at the Raeburn, wasn’t great and I wouldn’t rush back.

Saturday night at my favourite local Indian Eastern Pavillion was excellent as it always is.

22-09-2020, 05:31 PM
Their sister restaurant, Otro has now closed permanently, I see

I’ve been to New Chapter twice, can’t recommend it highly enough, and I’d been meaning to go try Otro too. That’s a shame.

22-09-2020, 06:28 PM
Dusit is good for lunch, £15.95 for 2 courses. Its Thai food. I've been there twice recently and enjoyed it.

Thanks,Jack, will check it out

22-09-2020, 08:59 PM

I'll second Dusit - never been for lunch, but had dinner there a few times and it's always been excellent.

MagicSwirlingShip
22-09-2020, 10:07 PM

Had lunch in Cafe Royal recently. Food was good, plenty good beer on tap and one of the most beautiful bars edinburgh has to offer.

22-09-2020, 10:30 PM
Had lunch in Cafe Royal recently. Food was good, plenty good beer on tap and one of the most beautiful bars edinburgh has to offer.

Nice one, cheers

24-09-2020, 09:53 AM

The Piper’s Rest at The Tron......of course I may have a vested interest. We are currently 10th best restaurant in Edinburgh tho. No bad for a pub that only opened in January.

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g186525-d19989006-Reviews-The_Piper_s_Rest_Public_House-Edinburgh_Scotland.html?m=19905

24-09-2020, 10:11 AM
The Piper’s Rest at The Tron......of course I may have a vested interest. We are currently 10th best restaurant in Edinburgh tho. No bad for a pub that only opened in January.

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g186525-d19989006-Reviews-The_Piper_s_Rest_Public_House-Edinburgh_Scotland.html?m=19905

Is big Dolph still involved with the food?

24-09-2020, 10:31 AM
Is big Dolph still involved with the food?

He is. He’s doing a fantastic job as my head chef. Hibbies running the show! 👍

24-09-2020, 10:58 AM
He is. He’s doing a fantastic job as my head chef. Hibbies running the show! 👍

The way it should be:aok:

He's a good pal of mine but haven't spoken to him much in the last couple of months, will fire up for a steak pie soon, glad it's all going well for you:greengrin

24-09-2020, 11:12 AM

So get Hibs.net discount😄

24-09-2020, 03:26 PM
So get Hibs.net discount😄

Ask for a Piper’s Perk card....15% off making a pint of T £3.83. A bargain!

West Upper
24-09-2020, 06:03 PM
There’s a new chippy coming, close to the city centre and co owned by a good Hibee. Heard it will be something special and opening mid November.

27-09-2020, 05:43 PM
There’s a new chippy coming, close to the city centre and co owned by a good Hibee. Heard it will be something special and opening mid November.

We need something to rival the fish market in the city.

SneakersO'Toole
27-09-2020, 05:57 PM
Going to one of our favourite restaurants this Saturday for my wife's birthday - La Garrigue.

It wasn't the first choice however as originally we wanted somewhere neither of us had been before but I must have looked at over fifteen places that were completely sold out. Hopefully the restaurant trade in Edinburgh is recovering. I couldn't believe the lack of availability across an array of different restaurants.

Mr Grieves
27-09-2020, 09:16 PM

Where about exactly? I do love a good fish supper.

28-09-2020, 07:15 AM
Where about exactly? I do love a good fish supper.

Broughton Street.

28-09-2020, 04:58 PM
Broughton Street.

What’s it called

West Upper
28-09-2020, 05:19 PM
What’s it called

The name hasn’t been released yet, it’s on the site of the old Cafe Rapido.

28-09-2020, 05:20 PM
What’s it called

Cumbernauld!

28-09-2020, 05:22 PM
I was at Tattu again last night.

Pretty much reaffirmed my view after my 1st visit. Setting lovely, service excellent, food so so.

Had I not had a voucher I probably wouldn't have went a 2nd time and I doubt there will be a 3rd visit.

I’ve been once and really enjoyed the food after hearing a very similar review to yours. I think we maybe got lucky with the chef the time we went.

Saturday Boy
28-09-2020, 05:27 PM
Cumbernauld!

Brilliant 👍

28-09-2020, 05:50 PM
Cumbernauld!

Glasgow’s miles better

29-09-2020, 06:44 AM
Going to one of our favourite restaurants this Saturday for my wife's birthday - La Garrigue.

It wasn't the first choice however as originally we wanted somewhere neither of us had been before but I must have looked at over fifteen places that were completely sold out. Hopefully the restaurant trade in Edinburgh is recovering. I couldn't believe the lack of availability across an array of different restaurants.

Reduced capacity for social distancing will have an impact but fingers crossed.

HibbyDave
29-09-2020, 07:12 AM
We need something to rival the fish market in the city.

RivalThe Fishmarket? Do people still get their food at least an hour after they should get it despite standing outside in all weather and having pre-ordered online hours before!!

I had a bad experience there ( can you tell?)and I am very unlikely to go back.
The food was not even that good but the attitude of owners really put me off them.

29-09-2020, 07:19 AM
RivalThe Fishmarket? Do people still get their food at least an hour after they should get it despite standing outside in all weather and having pre-ordered online hours before!!

I had a bad experience there ( can you tell?)and I am very unlikely to go back.
The food was not even that good but the attitude of owners really put me off them.

Nothing much for them to beat then!

I have used the fish market once since lockdown at lunch time and my time slot was spot on with food delivery, though I have heard of many experiences similar to yours. The food was pretty decent though.

29-09-2020, 07:24 AM
Nothing much for them to beat then!

I have used the fish market once since lockdown at lunch time and my time slot was spot on with food delivery, though I have heard of many experiences similar to yours. The food was pretty decent though.

Pretty much overpriced though. I don’t eat fish, so had the chicken Goujons, and it was £14, and that’s without mushy peas
I was with my wife and mum, both had the fish and loved it

29-09-2020, 07:29 AM
Pretty much overpriced though. I don’t eat fish, so had the chicken Goujons, and it was £14, and that’s without mushy peas
I was with my wife and mum, both had the fish and loved it

I think the Fish suppers we had were £10 each, so definitely a bit pricier than normal but I thought it was decent value for what we got.

pollution
29-09-2020, 11:24 AM
The best fish and chips I ever had was from the site of the Market, Harry Ramsdens.

Thick fish and chips cooked in dripping if I remember correctly.

norphy
29-09-2020, 07:26 PM
Reduced capacity for social distancing will have an impact but fingers crossed.I'm a chef in a wee hotel, normally seat 40 but reduced to 20ish and 8 o'clock last orders now. Great for me but can't get a pint when I finish now....

Sent from my motorola one macro using Tapatalk

04-10-2020, 08:24 AM
A bit out the way, but Pairings in York is brilliant.

The wine was great but the cheese was unreal.

04-10-2020, 12:36 PM
Not a review but worth a mention. Indian restaurants are few and far between here in rural Brittany so I was delighted when one opened earlier this year not far from me. I went for the first time on July 14th (public holiday here) and had a Biryani which was excellent.

I returned last night with some mates and the guy in restaurant not only remembered me from the last time but also what I'd ordered.

Pretty impressive!

12-10-2020, 01:43 PM
Not a review but worth a mention. Indian restaurants are few and far between here in rural Brittany so I was delighted when one opened earlier this year not far from me. I went for the first time on July 14th (public holiday here) and had a Biryani which was excellent.

I returned last night with some mates and the guy in restaurant not only remembered me from the last time but also what I'd ordered.

Pretty impressive!

You say it was impressive, but to be fair the first time you rocked in bouncing off the walls, with your shirt off, shouting "Gies a biryani ya radge bas***ds" repeatedly until the police came to move you on.

Was harder for them to forget you, to be honest.

12-10-2020, 01:50 PM
You say it was impressive, but to be fair the first time you rocked in bouncing off the walls, with your shirt off, shouting "Gies a bryani ya radge bas***ds" repeatedly until the police came to move you on.

Was harder for them to forget you, to be honest.

Yeah - must've been my accent!

13-10-2020, 06:35 PM

They've worked so hard to get the place up and running and it's such a refreshing change from the former incarnation of the restaurant, although the takeaway menu is still in the gift of the previous management (and actual owner), I believe. Business is business.

The manager Arun and his pal Leo are charming and very genuine and of course the food is top class and unique. All through this virus period they've followed the rules to the letter. Staff are young, smart and masked.

Contrast that with The Spice Lounge Kitchen up Drum Brae where, during a recent visit, the signs were up, the floor markings and even health advice pamphlets were in evidence, but bar staff were serving pints without masks, the place was rammed with huns watching a Sunday match on the big screen and a wedding reception was in full swing and mixing with the bar crowd. The restaurant section of the establishment was not properly spaced. The waiters were at least wearing masks but the Ladies loo had run out of paper.

It used to be The Rainbow. It's getting to feel like it again.

patch1875
19-10-2020, 02:33 PM
What’s the current Corstorphine/West Edinburgh curry takeaway of choice?

Been using Asha as it’s on my doorstep but seems it’s changed hands and the last couple have been average.

19-10-2020, 03:58 PM
Mrs Mibbes was up in Edinburgh with work on Friday and took the chance to grab a takeaway from La Garrigue, to reheat at home.

The starters were a salmon pate and a game terrine, both decent with some oatcakes.

The mains were exceptional. The first was one of their signature dishes, their cassoulet. Funny dish, because in some ways it tastes better for being reheated. The second was their bouillabaisse and that was the absolute star of the show. No shortage of proteins in the dish and jam-packed with flavour.

We got cheeses as well, they seem to have switched from Henri’s to Mellis as their supplier. Didn’t have room for them but will try and find space tonight.

19-10-2020, 04:18 PM
What’s the current Corstorphine/West Edinburgh curry takeaway of choice?

Been using Asha as it’s on my doorstep but seems it’s changed hands and the last couple have been average.

Mine is St Johns but Prana/Abida seem to be getting rave reviews

speedy_gonzales
19-10-2020, 04:26 PM
We had the takeaway from Wedgewood again last night, our second over this Covid period.
I had ham cured Mallard ham followed by 80hr slow cooked beef brisket then the Wedgewood chocolate orange. The good lady had cauliflower velouté, confit chicken then coconut pannacotta.
We also added the cheese selection (for one) to share between us. All the sides are well paired with the dishes, just as you would expect.
The delivery is between 5pm & 7:30pm and comes well laid out so they're is minimum prep.
Including tip, it came in just under £70, perhaps not the price of your usual takeaway but for someone who'd normally go out every couple of weeks for a meal anyway, it's a nice wee treat and a reminder that life out there can be "normal" sometimes.

patch1875
19-10-2020, 04:29 PM
Mine is St Johns but Prana/Abida seem to be getting rave reviews

Was looking at Abida. Dangal was another. Not had a S John’s for years so might give that a try.

Reviews of Prana look good I’m guessing it’s collection only.

speedy_gonzales
19-10-2020, 04:34 PM
Was looking at Abida. Dangal was another. Not had a S John’s for years so might give that a try.

Reviews of Prana look good I’m guessing it’s collection only.

Abida is the takeaway whereas Prana is the sit-in restaurant. It's the same premises but ran separately.
You can also download the Abida app to get discount and promotions (virtually every weekend I get a push message offering 10/15% off.

patch1875
19-10-2020, 05:09 PM
Abida is the takeaway whereas Prana is the sit-in restaurant. It's the same premises but ran separately.
You can also download the Abida app to get discount and promotions (virtually every weekend I get a push message offering 10/15% off.

Ah thanks! Registered on the app will give them a go.

19-10-2020, 06:53 PM
Had a couple of the "at home" boxes over the weekend. Stein at home, from Rick stein - the hake menu - was really nice. On any other weekend it would have been easily the best meal I had but SixByNico manage to translate their restaurant quality to home "cooking" very well. At £50 for a bottle of wine and all the food you need to create a very good and filling meal it's good value too. :agree:

19-10-2020, 07:02 PM
Had a couple of the "at home" boxes over the weekend. Stein at home, from Rick stein - the hake menu - was really nice. On any other weekend it would have been easily the best meal I had but SixByNico manage to translate their restaurant quality to home "cooking" very well. At £50 for a bottle of wine and all the food you need to create a very good and filling meal it's good value too. :agree:

I watched the SixByNico documentaries with interest, he certainly has a drive and ambition to expand quickly. I thought the quality would suffer but he seems to be pulling it off.

19-10-2020, 07:18 PM
We had the takeaway from Wedgewood again last night, our second over this Covid period.
I had ham cured Mallard ham followed by 80hr slow cooked beef brisket then the Wedgewood chocolate orange. The good lady had cauliflower velouté, confit chicken then coconut pannacotta.
We also added the cheese selection (for one) to share between us. All the sides are well paired with the dishes, just as you would expect.
The delivery is between 5pm & 7:30pm and comes well laid out so they're is minimum prep.
Including tip, it came in just under £70, perhaps not the price of your usual takeaway but for someone who'd normally go out every couple of weeks for a meal anyway, it's a nice wee treat and a reminder that life out there can be "normal" sometimes.

We used Wedgewood right at the start of lockdown, the food was really sensational.

19-10-2020, 07:39 PM
I watched the SixByNico documentaries with interest, he certainly has a drive and ambition to expand quickly. I thought the quality would suffer but he seems to be pulling it off.

It's a good concept he has created. I enjoyed the documentary too, I'd have liked to have seen a bit more about inspiration behind his menu choices and the effort and time it must take to tweak them as necessary to their final position.

They were meant to be announcing something exciting today but it doesn't seem to have happened.

19-10-2020, 07:49 PM
If this not allowed then I apologise and will remove my post.

I am the co owner of a new premium fish and chip shop opening on Broughton Street mid November. It will be called “The Chippy by Spencer” as my business partner has an impressive CV as a chef so it was my idea to use his name.

Hope to see a few Hibees visiting.

19-10-2020, 08:02 PM

I am the co owner of a new premium fish and chip shop opening on Broughton Street mid November. It will be called “The Chippy by Spencer” as my business partner has an impressive CV as a chef so it was my idea to use his name.

Is that the old Cafe Rapido site?

Good luck with the venture.

19-10-2020, 08:05 PM

Had read about this before - I’m presuming it was on here! Look forward to trying it.

19-10-2020, 08:05 PM
Is that the old Cafe Rapido site?

Good luck with the venture.

Yes , currently ripping it out getting ready for new five pan range arriving early November. Thank you.

19-10-2020, 08:07 PM
Yes Stu, currently ripping it out getting ready for new five pan range arriving early November. Thank you.Great stuff! I hope it all goes well for you.

19-10-2020, 08:12 PM
Yes , currently ripping it out getting ready for new five pan range arriving early November. Thank you.

All the best SH

19-10-2020, 08:20 PM
Cheers guys, hope the first review on here is a good one!

19-10-2020, 08:26 PM

Nice one. :aok:

I'll give it a try once it's open for sure! Good luck with it!

19-10-2020, 08:32 PM

10 minutes from my house so will def be giving it a try, we've been crying out for a seriously good chippy around The Leith Walk area ever since the Tailend shut, best of luck to you in your new endeavour :aok:

19-10-2020, 08:53 PM

Good luck.

19-10-2020, 09:13 PM

Better still have the cheesy chorizo pizza or hell mend ye!

19-10-2020, 09:24 PM
Better still have the cheesy chorizo pizza or hell mend ye!

Hell mend me then 😁

19-10-2020, 09:34 PM

Good luck with the new venture. Let us know when you confirm the opening date, sure you’ll get plenty support from folk on here.

20-10-2020, 08:50 AM

Good luck with the venture. Really good location.

Is it a traditional fish and chip shop akin to Berties or something like a chippy that also does Pizza/Kebabs ect?

20-10-2020, 08:55 AM
Good luck with the venture. Really good location.

Is it a traditional fish and chip shop akin to Berties or something like a chippy that also does Pizza/Kebabs ect?

Cheers, really pleased with the location and thought the premises would have been out of our reach originally.

Traditional mate with a few twists aka Bertie’s, definitely no kebabs, a small selection of pizzas and only because we inherited a decent pizza oven. My business partner was responsible for the Bertie’s menu/concept

20-10-2020, 09:07 AM
Cheers, really pleased with the location and thought the premises would have been out of our reach originally.

Traditional mate with a few twists aka Bertie’s, definitely no kebabs, a small selection of pizzas and only because we inherited a decent pizza oven. My business partner was responsible for the Bertie’s menu/concept

Is it sit in as well, or just take away

20-10-2020, 09:23 AM
Is it sit in as well, or just take away

Just take away.

20-10-2020, 11:15 AM
Didnt even realise Rapido had closed. All the best!

ACLeith
20-10-2020, 04:20 PM

Will you be doing gluten-free options?

20-10-2020, 04:37 PM
Will you be doing gluten-free options?

Yes mate.

ACLeith
20-10-2020, 04:42 PM
Yes mate.

Great. Wife will be pleased

21-10-2020, 09:26 PM

Percentage off for season ticket holders?

21-10-2020, 09:42 PM
Percentage off for season ticket holders?

I will confirm this before opening.

21-10-2020, 09:59 PM

Good luck anyway

22-10-2020, 11:07 AM

Will you be doing deep fried pickled onions though?

22-10-2020, 02:55 PM

I very much doubt it!

Pickled Onion rings are more likely.

22-10-2020, 04:09 PM

Thought SH said it was an upmarket Chippy😄

30-10-2020, 06:44 PM
Had a pizza from Errols Hot Pizza in Glasgow. Honestly think it might be the best pizza I’ve had in the U.K.

I prefer a more NYC style pizza and it’s the closest thing I’ve had to that outside NY.

Faultless. If you’re from Glasgow you must try it.

30-10-2020, 09:55 PM

Good luck Scouse. I work nearby so will check it out once open. I'm trying to be supportive of local business in the current circumstances, despite what it's doing to my waistline.

31-10-2020, 06:35 AM
Cheers, all going to plan for 18th November opening.

Now confirmed due to signage that Civerino Slice coming to Corstorphine in the old Pizza Hut unit.

01-11-2020, 07:30 AM

Now confirmed due to signage that Civerino Slice coming to Corstorphine in the old Pizza Hut unit.

Also going to the prom down Porty :agree:

01-11-2020, 07:36 AM

You’ve mentioned Civerino Slice a couple of times, what’s so good about their pIzzas

01-11-2020, 11:41 AM
You’ve mentioned Civerino Slice a couple of times, what’s so good about their pIzzas

Shareholder possibly. Mates business. Who knows.

01-11-2020, 11:45 AM
Brunchfield Viewforth Gardens

For those partial to a plate of sandwiches & scones aka afternoon tea, for £10 per person this has to be the best value afternoon tea in the capital.
Order the day before so when you arrive its all ready for you. Its just a small place with 5 tables but the also do a takeaway box for the same cost.
Well worth a visit.

01-11-2020, 01:45 PM
Shareholder possibly. Mates business. Who knows.

Haha no, I certainly have no connection with them. Just mentioning them coming to Corstorphine as their pizzas have been very good whenever I have had them.

01-11-2020, 06:13 PM

They’re just very good pizzas. Would say they’re a sort of NY/Neopolitan style hybrid. They use very good ingredients and are significantly better than the big chains because of it.

06-11-2020, 05:01 PM
Takeaway from Chez Jules again tonight. So good for the money.

14-11-2020, 09:55 AM
I was at the Rendezvous yesterday afternoon, not because its great, its good and we like it!

We were the only folk in, a normally busy wee place, how sad.

20% discount if you book online.

14-11-2020, 11:45 AM
I was at the Rendezvous yesterday afternoon, not because its great, its good and we like it!

Is that the Chinese at the West end?
Didn’t think it was open for sit in

14-11-2020, 11:57 AM
Is that the Chinese at the West end?
Didn’t think it was open for sit in

Yup.

Maybe thats the problem.

14-11-2020, 12:14 PM
The Khukuri for lunch today. Never sat in there but the delivery stuff has always great.

patch1875
14-11-2020, 05:26 PM
Chop House@home tonight, Chateaubriand looks amazing :-)

15-11-2020, 02:01 PM

I like that Chinese. Used to be my go-to takeaway when I lived at that side of town. Only visited the actual restaurant once which was also nice!

West Upper
19-11-2020, 10:38 PM
Tried the Chippy on Broughton Street tonight that Scouse is involved in, was very good, had the mixed fish supper.

20-11-2020, 11:17 AM
Tried the Chippy on Broughton Street tonight that Scouse is involved in, was very good, had the mixed fish supper.

What’s in a mixed Fish supper

20-11-2020, 11:25 AM
Booked the Hawksmoor for dinner on Sunday, anyone been recently?

pollution
20-11-2020, 11:52 AM

Please let it not be squid, I love squid but not from a chippie !

20-11-2020, 11:57 AM

If it is anything like how a butcher makes a scotch pie then you will find everything from the chip shop floor 😉

20-11-2020, 01:32 PM
If it is anything like how a butcher makes a scotch pie then you will find everything from the chip shop floor 😉

Not in my shop you won’t! 😁

West Upper
20-11-2020, 01:33 PM

2 Battered Haddock Bites, 2 Breaded Haddock Goujons, 3 pieces of Scampi, Squid Rings and 2 Breaded Prawns, served with their made in house Tartar sauce.

20-11-2020, 01:51 PM

I did say if :wink: :aok:

20-11-2020, 03:36 PM

Any chance of you sourcing some red pudding? :greengrin