View Full Version : Recent Restaurant Visits Reviews

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

25-04-2016, 03:33 PM
Had a bar meal at Teuchter's in Leith on Saturday night, fairly good, and very popular bar. Wouldn't mind it as my local.

:agree: fantastic boozer. Ticks every aspect i look for in a pub: good beer and whisky selection, dog & child friendly, good food and a variety of different areas to sit including a good beer garden.

25-04-2016, 07:53 PM
Had a pizza at vin caffee earlier. Excellent pizza made using quality ingredients.

25-04-2016, 09:03 PM
Rip Off Britain (BBC1) have just done a thing on the food hygiene notices you see in the windows of eating places. It wasn't good viewing.

So I looked up the Food Standards website for my regular haunts. Just been on the Beeb so obviously the site has crashed. So then I thought they might have an app. They don't but there's a few to choose from.

Well I'm scunnered. I set it at 5 miles from my house which is quite close to Easter Road stadium, under 10 minutes walk.

There are 2,600 eating places in that area.

More than 600 (six flipping hundred) are noted "Improvement Required".

There's a fair few have been mentioned here as being worthy of visits.

There's an amazing number of well known places you'd think don't have the notice in the window because they're too up market to consider demeaning themselves.

Some national, even international chains!

Some quite new places.

Most worrying. A high number of places I frequent!

Both Edinburgh fitba clubs passed, only half surprised at that ;-)

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sotd.foodhygiene

The thing you have to remember us that unlike the system in England were you are rated between 1-5 in Scotland there is no middle ground. Improvement required does not always mean poor hygiene,it can be for incomplete record keeping and other slight faults.

25-04-2016, 10:07 PM
Just been to Prezzo in Buckingham . One of my colleagues ordered some kind of chilli chicken pizza. I noticed that they had a low calorie option of the very same pizza so , being health conscious , I ordered that .
I was amazed when it was served and he had a full round pizza and I was was served half a pizza with 2 small tomatoes and a lettuce leaf :faf:
The kicker is that the half pizza was more expensive than the glorious looking full pizza.
Starvin :greengrin

26-04-2016, 10:43 AM
Rip Off Britain (BBC1) have just done a thing on the food hygiene notices you see in the windows of eating places. It wasn't good viewing.

So I looked up the Food Standards website for my regular haunts. Just been on the Beeb so obviously the site has crashed. So then I thought they might have an app. They don't but there's a few to choose from.

Well I'm scunnered. I set it at 5 miles from my house which is quite close to Easter Road stadium, under 10 minutes walk.

There are 2,600 eating places in that area.

More than 600 (six flipping hundred) are noted "Improvement Required".

There's a fair few have been mentioned here as being worthy of visits.

There's an amazing number of well known places you'd think don't have the notice in the window because they're too up market to consider demeaning themselves.

Some national, even international chains!

Some quite new places.

Most worrying. A high number of places I frequent!

Both Edinburgh fitba clubs passed, only half surprised at that ;-)

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sotd.foodhygiene

Improvement Required could be something really small such as paper towels not being located near enough to the hand wash sink or the wrong type of sanitser or soap being used. They will then get a follow-up visit, usually within 6 weeks, by which time the improvements will have been made. Any serious improvement will have to be done within a shorter, agreed length of time. Don't panic!

30-04-2016, 10:05 AM
Blackwood's tonight at Nira Caledonia, anyone been? Don't normally go out for steak but this place has a josper grill and supposed to be one of the best steaks in Edinburgh so making an exception.

I've booked this for end of May, looking forward to it.

30-04-2016, 12:55 PM
Had brunch in the Roseleaf in Leith today. Excellent as always.

Not everyones cup of tea I'd wager but the food is decent and reasonable.

30-04-2016, 01:09 PM
Was at a winemakers dinner at DiVino this week,5 courses matched with wines,excellent value.The next one is in May with food and wines from Tuscany.

30-04-2016, 01:47 PM
Going to Khublai Khans in leith tomorrow night, last time as its closing soon. Gutted!

30-04-2016, 02:03 PM
Going to Khublai Khans in leith tomorrow night, last time as its closing soon. Gutted!

It's closing? Was planning to go there next month with a group.

30-04-2016, 04:50 PM
It's closing? Was planning to go there next month with a group.

Yep, closing on may 15th

hibbybob
07-05-2016, 07:42 PM
Finally got round to going to Tuk Tuk in Leven Street.

It's basically Indian tapas and very nice. The food was good quality, staff very attentive and the big bonus was it's BYOB without a corkage charge.

Will definitely go back.

Ajo
07-05-2016, 08:44 PM
Just back from the Raj restaurant in blackhall and food was tremendous, will definitely be my local Indian now.

07-05-2016, 11:20 PM
Just back from the Raj restaurant in blackhall and food was tremendous, will definitely be my local Indian now.

Used to like the Raj when it was in Leith,was pleased to see he has opened in my end of town,will try soon.

patch1875
08-05-2016, 08:19 AM
Went to Steak at Picardy Place last night. Thought my steak was a bit average compared to other steak restaurants ok but nothing special.

09-05-2016, 02:57 PM
Was in The George St Bar & Grill yesterday for Sunday Roast & it was well worth the trip. Best roast dinner in a good while.
Chocolate fondant desert is a treat !!

The Pointer
11-05-2016, 11:33 AM
In town for a family get-together so going to Kanpai Sushi in Grindlay Street on Saturday night. My two like Jap grub and we used to enjoy Izzies previously of Lothian Road.

11-05-2016, 02:45 PM
I've no idea why I've been oblivious to this before now, however, went to The Terrace yesterday lunchtime at West Lothian college. It is for training the student chefs and waiting staff in a real environment.

The food and service was really good quality and the best bit is the three course meal, with coffee and a bottle of wine, for two was £19 total!!

11-05-2016, 06:49 PM
I've no idea why I've been oblivious to this before now, however, went to The Terrace yesterday lunchtime at West Lothian college. It is for training the student chefs and waiting staff in a real environment.

The food and service was really good quality and the best bit is the three course meal, with coffee and a bottle of wine, for two was £19 total!!

Is it open to the general public all of the time?

11-05-2016, 10:01 PM
Is it open to the general public all of the time?

Went her on a Friday night a few months back now, the food was very good and great value.

Now rated No 1 in Livingston on Trip Advisor

Opening details below

Open for evening dinner on Thursday and Friday nights - Table bookings from 6.30pm- 7pm (Fully booked until the end of term - June 2016)

Lunch is available every week Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday - Table bookings at 12.15pm.
Summer term break: The terrace restaurant is CLOSED from Friday 10 June – Friday 9 September

http://www.west-lothian.ac.uk/about-us/terrace-restaurant#_=_

Keyser Sauzee
11-05-2016, 11:11 PM
Looking to try Filipino grub and only found one restaurant in Edinburgh, Rice Terraces however its now closed. Anyone know of any others?

15-05-2016, 05:14 PM
Went her on a Friday night a few months back now, the food was very good and great value.

Now rated No 1 in Livingston on Trip Advisor

Opening details below

Open for evening dinner on Thursday and Friday nights - Table bookings from 6.30pm- 7pm (Fully booked until the end of term - June 2016)

Lunch is available every week Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday - Table bookings at 12.15pm.
Summer term break: The terrace restaurant is CLOSED from Friday 10 June – Friday 9 September

http://www.west-lothian.ac.uk/about-us/terrace-restaurant#_=_

Does the Jewell Esk valley on Milton Rd not have something similar.

15-05-2016, 05:24 PM
Does the Jewell Esk valley on Milton Rd not have something similar.

They do, EH15

My Grandparents go regularly and rave about it

22-05-2016, 07:37 PM
Was in DineEdinburgh, Stuart Muir's place above the Traverse, the night before the Final.

I ate from the a la carte menu but they do a tremendously-priced pre-theatre deal, £14.50 for two/£17.50 for three courses.

Ambience was great, very well laid-out, service was low-key and efficient. They do a great Picpoul by the glass and there was a good range of wine, reasonably priced for central Edinburgh.

I had a red mullet starter and halibut to follow - both had been prepared perfectly and the accompaniments were packed with flavour.

Definitely going back and could see it becoming the default option when attending the Usher or Lyceum.

29-05-2016, 02:45 PM
Hewat's on the Causewayside last night. Handyish for the Festival Theatre and a decent enough menu. I had scallops and boar, loads of flavour with both. Broad range of wines by the glass, service was prompt and friendly. They do their own homemade oatcakes with the cheeseboard and they were delicious. I hadn't eaten there for a couple of years. The last time the cheeseboard was so big that they packed up the remainder and some additional oatcakes in a plastic tub for us to take home!

29-05-2016, 02:55 PM
At the Guru on Friday night for our six monthly get together, at least we were prepared this visit and knew about BYOB so no worries on the bevvy front. The food was excellent. I have been trying the tandori mixed grill in every curry house I go in now for about the last year. This was up there with the best I have had, some don't even serve it on a sizzling platter! The only thing missing was king prawns, apart from that no complaints and the "elephant ear" naans are great.

01-06-2016, 11:56 AM
Ok...it's not in Edinburgh but managed to get a reservation at Osteria Francescana, words cannot describe just how excited the mrs is - only live once and all that :thumbsup:

01-06-2016, 12:44 PM
Ok...it's not in Edinburgh but managed to get a reservation at Osteria Francescana, words cannot describe just how excited the mrs is - only live once and all that :thumbsup:

When are you going? It looks tremendous.

01-06-2016, 12:54 PM
When are you going? It looks tremendous.

Heading over in September, just going to travel the area and eat until we pop - worse ways to go I imagine :greengrin

Although the fact his signature dish is burnt lasagne doesn't fill me with hope!

01-06-2016, 03:48 PM

Episode 1 of Chef's table on Netflix is about Osteria Francescana, looks incredible.

05-06-2016, 07:10 PM

You lucky b.....

I'm heading to Enoteca in Barcelona in September which I'm quite excited about but you've topped that and then some.

Rattler
10-06-2016, 01:52 PM
We used to frequent Hewat's quite a bit - great food and really quite relaxed. Don't go there anywhere near as much now as we used to as now stay at Maybury and nowhere near as handy!

Richard - chef & proprietor - always used to put in a guest appearance at the end of service and pour out glasses of port to anyone who wished one.

01-07-2016, 09:51 PM
Just had a meal at Celler Door in Playa Flamenca, Alicante.

It's the number 1 (of 86) on trip advisor, and I thought it'd be good, but it far exceeded my expectations. Great value too. 77 euros, 3 courses each, 2 drinks each, amuse bouche to begin (black pudding bon bon with apple jelly, amazing), petit fours with coffee to end the night. Service was excellent also.

We've eaten at a number of good places here over the last week and a half, but nothing worth shouting about. This was on another level to the rest.

Massive ex-pat community over here, if you're ever over visiting make sure to go for a meal at Celler Door.

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g673855-d4091312-Reviews-The_Cellar_Door-Playa_Flamenca_Province_of_Alicante_Valencian_Coun try.html

02-07-2016, 02:31 AM
Been in New York for a week and so far meals have been very hit and miss and certainly not as good as I was expecting. Olive Garden has actually been the standout. Tonight I told the manager of restaurant in time square that the rib eye was by far the worst I had ever attempted to eat, after I listened to his various excuses I told him it was just a very poor quality rib eye steak. He didn't disagree removed it from bill and offered me a different meal which I declined.

02-07-2016, 08:31 AM
Been in New York for a week and so far meals have been very hit and miss and certainly not as good as I was expecting. Olive Garden has actually been the standout. Tonight I told the manager of restaurant in time square that the rib eye was by far the worst I had ever attempted to eat, after I listened to his various excuses I told him it was just a very poor quality rib eye steak. He didn't disagree removed it from bill and offered me a different meal which I declined.

Was there last month and experienced the same. Overpriced and very average. Ended up spending more and more time using a local diner which kept us well fed with decent but well priced food. Breakfasts in particular were fab.

05-07-2016, 10:54 AM
Was there last month and experienced the same. Overpriced and very average. Ended up spending more and more time using a local diner which kept us well fed with decent but well priced food. Breakfasts in particular were fab.

I'm away on Saturday. Either of you got any recommendations for the hits rather than the miss?!

05-07-2016, 07:28 PM
I'm away on Saturday. Either of you got any recommendations for the hits rather than the miss?!

Lunch at the boathouse in central park
Lombardi's for pizza in little Italy
Brooklyn Diner under the bridge for breakfast
Oyster bar at Grand Central for fish and chips
Olive Garden
O'lumleys Irish bar in Time Square area
"The View"revolving restaurant and bar on top of the Marriot

MountcastleHibs
05-07-2016, 09:02 PM
Off to Orlando (staying on International Drive) and Miami (South Beach) next week for honeymoon. Anyone have any recommendations for either?

05-07-2016, 09:36 PM
Off to Orlando (staying on International Drive) and Miami (South Beach) next week for honeymoon. Anyone have any recommendations for either?

For cheap food we've generally always liked chilis. Huge menu and you can feed 4 people for about $60. There's definitely at least one of them on international drive. I've been to an Italian at the end of International drive in pointe Orlando called Maggianos which was superb but was expensive. As for Miami, weve always liked Mia Bella Roma on Ocean Drive. There's a restaurant on Lincoln Road aswell called Nexxt cafe which is superb value for money. We also like to eat on Espanola Way (there's loads of restaurants here) which is also in the south beach area. I'm heading over on Saturday for something like my 23rd time over in America.. Love the place!

06-07-2016, 02:44 PM

Maggianos on Intl Drive. Independent (not a franchise) and imo best Italian in Orlando. I'm in Orlando just now and pleased to report a number of Hibs crests on show.

speedy_gonzales
06-07-2016, 03:03 PM
Also here in Orlando, on I-Drive I like Millers Ale House (not fat from the upside down house, WonderWorks) decent drink offers and competitively priced food. Bahama Breeze is good, cracking cocktails, Joe's crab shack(eat at Joe's) for crab & Lobster, Brick tavern for a good selection of American craft beer & food.
I'm also wearing my Nike polo with Hibs crest, received a few well done from some sellic tops but the best was when I was in the NBC sports bar & grill at Universal on the 4th. They were showing the full replay of the Celtic Rangers semi-final. Kenny Miller scores in the opening minutes and I can only assume there was a rangers family as they have off a roar. On leaving I walked over and and asked how they got on in the final,,,,I think it would have been funnier if I could do an accent but the Edinburgh tones came through loud and clear. The wife wasn't amused but I was chuckling away!

06-07-2016, 09:10 PM

Eataly for Italian food. It's like a market and has various mini restaurants in one building. Specialising in fish, meat, pasta, pizza. Amazing place, very close to the Flat Iron building.

Also enjoyed the Spice Market which is Asian cuisine, it's near Chelsea Market/Meatpacking district (and maybe near the High Line?)

For a pretty simple old fashioned lunch there is a place called PJ Clarkes on 5th Avenue, it was featured in the first season of Mad Men. Basically it's maintained the same decor/layout since the 50s. Seems authentic rather than a gimmick and the food was great.

I would get as many recommendations in advance as you can, don't want to be wandering about trying to chance places. Enjoy!

06-07-2016, 09:13 PM
One more NYC recommendation - 230 Fifth Avenue is a great rooftop bar if you want some drinks with a great view of midtown for free.

06-07-2016, 09:55 PM
Eataly for Italian food. It's like a market and has various mini restaurants in one building. Specialising in fish, meat, pasta, pizza. Amazing place, very close to the Flat Iron building.

Also enjoyed the Spice Market which is Asian cuisine, it's near Chelsea Market/Meatpacking district (and maybe near the High Line?)

For a pretty simple old fashioned lunch there is a place called PJ Clarkes on 5th Avenue, it was featured in the first season of Mad Men. Basically it's maintained the same decor/layout since the 50s. Seems authentic rather than a gimmick and the food was great.

I would get as many recommendations in advance as you can, don't want to be wandering about trying to chance places. Enjoy!

Thanks mate! Staying in the flat iron district so will definitely try eataly. Like the sound of PJ Clarkes aswell!

16-07-2016, 10:19 PM
Been to a few good places recently. Wildmanwood pizza do the best ive eaten in edinburgh. They could be a wee bit more generous with the mozzarella but the tomato sauce is realy good. Do good salads as well.

Meltmongers is pretty good as well. Been previously for the toasties which are excellent. Had the breakfast burrito today which was decent as well. Is a bit overpriced but thats probably to do with it being in bruntsfield.

Went to the boozy cow last night. Realy good burger and enjoyed the seasoning on the chips. Only downside was the choice of beers was pretty slim.

16-07-2016, 10:58 PM
Been to a few good places recently. Wildmanwood pizza do the best ive eaten in edinburgh. They could be a wee bit more generous with the mozzarella but the tomato sauce is realy good. Do good salads as well.

Meltmongers is pretty good as well. Been previously for the toasties which are excellent. Had the breakfast burrito today which was decent as well. Is a bit overpriced but thats probably to do with it being in bruntsfield.

Went to the boozy cow last night. Realy good burger and enjoyed the seasoning on the chips. Only downside was the choice of beers was pretty slim.

Choice of beers in Boozy cow is rubbish I agree,especially when it comes in a can.

16-07-2016, 11:06 PM
Choice of beers in Boozy cow is rubbish I agree,especially when it comes in a can.

Having nothing on tap was a bit bizarre.

17-07-2016, 01:06 PM

My mate is the chef in Meltmongers, I'll pass on your thoughts.

Has anyone tried the Educated Flea on Broughton Street yet? Menu looks quite interesting.

19-07-2016, 12:14 PM

Might not be too much to them, but they make a good job. Ive binned the toastie machine and started doing them in the skillet to try and replicate what they serve.

19-07-2016, 01:15 PM

Has anyone tried the Educated Flea on Broughton Street yet? Menu looks quite interesting.

Where about in Broughton Street is it?

19-07-2016, 01:30 PM
Where about in Broughton Street is it?
It's what was Khushis Broughton Street. There's another new place next door as well that used to the Bakehouse.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

19-07-2016, 08:10 PM

I'm attending something at the Playhouse at the start of September and have booked a table for prior. It does look interesting, will post up my comments after :greengrin

I've been intending going to the sister restaurant, the Apiary, for a pre-theatre meal when attending the EFT but I've prioritised other places so far (Hewat's; Kalpna; Mother India's Cafe et al). A friend who ate there recently was very positive about their experience, they had the seafood sharing platter and thought it was excellent.

IrnBru22
21-07-2016, 10:55 AM

Owned by the same people as Ting Thai Caravan.

lugz
22-07-2016, 07:40 PM
I went to the Gurkha bar and restaurant last night in Musselburgh. it's a nice wee small place with friendly staff.

The food was amazing, I'd go as far as saying the best curry I've ever tasted. There were 5 of us there and everyone was saying how great the food was.

Definitely going back!

26-08-2016, 09:21 PM
Mother India's Cafe again, last night. It was absolutely heaving, really busy, but that probably suits the tapas style.

I know many on here will have been but for those who haven't, it's well worth a visit. Indian food, tapas style. Not your korma through to madras-style menu, but not really fancy either. Great food and great service, pretty reasonably priced, good range of non-meat dishes and some very tasty meat choices.

28-08-2016, 06:24 AM
The Spice Lounge Kitchen on Drum Brae. A warm welcome in tastefully and brightly decorated premises, this has attracted a family crowd. The waiter said it's bookings only on Fridays which is good going for an out of town place. I know their illuminated signage and stuff has annoyed local residents but I can't fault the food which was promptly served and of very good quality. Drinks were not exorbitant either. They do a myriad of food deals and have a menu about these which was hard to fathom but they're doing OK.

03-09-2016, 05:22 PM
I had pre-theatre dinner in the Educated Flea on Broughton Street last night. It's the sister restaurant of Three Birds and the Apiary. It's small, I'm guessing less than thirty covers.

The service was very, very friendly, prompt and helpful when we asked for anything.

The food was very reasonably priced, especially the pre-theatre deal. It's an eclectic menu, influences from around the globe. Portions tended to be on the generous side, flavour was there most of the time - my main was beef cheeks that came with a sticky soy and star anise sauce that was exactly that, but the wasabi potatoes were lighter on the wasabi than I would have happily dealt with. Everything was cooked relatively well, the beef in particular.

Decent enough range of desserts, especially the ice creams and sorbets which had some interesting combinations. The wine list isn't huge but pretty much covers any food choice and they do house carafes at 500ml, which is helpful.

Liked it enough to make another reservation for next time we're going to the Playhouse.

11-09-2016, 06:52 PM
Anyone been to Xiangbala Hotpot in Dalry? I saw a thing on TV a week or so ago where they were in China and went to one of these hot pot restaurants. I quite like the look of it.

Ajo
15-09-2016, 02:37 PM
Has anyone been to Nonna's kitchen before up in morningside? Heard good things about it so thinking of going there for my birthday

15-09-2016, 03:03 PM
I was in Walnut on Sunday for their Sunday lunch. As were a couple of other Hibbies that I hadn't seen for a while.

Good food, good service BYOB. Mains mostly around a tenner, fist courses and puddings around a fiver.

No sign of any walnuts though!

15-09-2016, 03:07 PM
Has anyone been to Nonna's kitchen before up in morningside? Heard good things about it so thinking of going there for my birthday

Nonna's is good. I find the main woman a bit abrupt but the other staff / family are really nice and the food is good.

15-09-2016, 03:16 PM
http://www.osteriafrancescana.it

10 days until I'm in this place...cannae wait is an understatement!

mvteng
15-09-2016, 03:33 PM

Yes. Very good food, very friendly, like it a lot

15-09-2016, 04:01 PM
After folk raving about The Mosque Kitchen I was there the other week.

I really don't see what folk are seeing, or tasting here.

Lots of rice, lots and lots of rice, lots of curry sauce, which honestly is no better than my own, in which there was very little chicken. The nann bread was nice.

Yeah it's cheap but in my opinion it's not worth it. I really was quite disappointed.

Can't say I was impressed with the greetin faced staff other than the smiling girl clearing the tables. Maybe it was her last day.

15-09-2016, 08:24 PM
Recently at Miro's Cantina on Rose Street, have now been there several times and yet to find fault.

15-09-2016, 09:04 PM
Anyone been to Xiangbala Hotpot in Dalry? I saw a thing on TV a week or so ago where they were in China and went to one of these hot pot restaurants. I quite like the look of it.

Never been for a meal but I pass it a lot and it's always busy. I suppose that tells you something.

bringbackbenny
16-09-2016, 06:28 AM
Which one did you go to, Nicolson sq or the one in the mosque itself?

After folk raving about The Mosque Kitchen I was there the other week.

I really don't see what folk are seeing, or tasting here.

Lots of rice, lots and lots of rice, lots of curry sauce, which honestly is no better than my own, in which there was very little chicken. The nann bread was nice.

Yeah it's cheap but in my opinion it's not worth it. I really was quite disappointed.

Can't say I was impressed with the greetin faced staff other than the smiling girl clearing the tables. Maybe it was her last day.

16-09-2016, 08:10 AM
Which one did you go to, Nicolson sq or the one in the mosque itself?

There's 2!?!

Nicolson Sq.

16-09-2016, 09:09 AM
There's 2!?!

Nicolson Sq.

The proper one is in at the back of the Mosque and has been around for at least 15 years.

Nicholson Sq one is about 5 years old and has called itself that to dupe tourists and to capitalise on the success of the original.

16-09-2016, 09:46 AM
The proper one is in at the back of the Mosque and has been around for at least 15 years.

Nicholson Sq one is about 5 years old and has called itself that to dupe tourists and to capitalise on the success of the original.

Thanks for that. I still might have trouble convincing my good lady though!

bringbackbenny
16-09-2016, 04:24 PM
Thanks for that. I still might have trouble convincing my good lady though!

Haven't been to Nicolson sq but the Original is decent, not too wide a choice but good quality, cheap and decent portions. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

Go for it!

16-09-2016, 07:22 PM
Recently at Miro's Cantina on Rose Street, have now been there several times and yet to find fault.

There burritos sold at lunch time out of the police box oposite the restuarant are good as well. Only tried the pork and a steak one, the pulled lamb sounds like it could be good though.

16-09-2016, 10:14 PM

The Nicholson Sq one is actually the original one that used to be in the mosque. They fell out and moved out maybe about 4 or 5 years ago. There was a gap between them moving to Nicholson Sq and new folk taking over the Mosque site.

I'd agree the one in the actual Mosque now serves infinitely better food.

Galahibby
18-09-2016, 02:58 PM
The Nicholson Sq one is actually the original one that used to be in the mosque. They fell out and moved out maybe about 4 or 5 years ago. There was a gap between them moving to Nicholson Sq and new folk taking over the Mosque site.

I'd agree the one in the actual Mosque now serves infinitely better food.

There used to be a crackin wee place just along the road called Mother's Kitchen, is that still there? Massive cardboard bowl of whatever curry they'd made that day, a plastic spoon, and a cold can of juice with no cup. Gid food though :aok:

29-10-2016, 09:16 AM
Tried Tuk Tuk last night opposite the Kings Theatre, decent enough for the price and a cheap night with BYOB.
Went for the set menu,you can replenish each dish as often as yo like.

beensaidbefore
29-10-2016, 07:25 PM

Walked past loads of times and only ever seen Chinese (I assume) people eating there. There is a distinctive smell I have only ever smelled in Bangkok that comes from the place. Both of those things suggest to me it doesn't sell usual Chinese take away food. The fact that there are lots of Asian people eating there also suggests to me they must serve pretty authentic/traditional food. Would be interested to hear your review if and when you go.😀

beensaidbefore
29-10-2016, 07:28 PM
Tried Tuk Tuk last night opposite the Kings Theatre, decent enough for the price and a cheap night with BYOB.
Went for the set menu,you can replenish each dish as often as yo like.

Wasn't overly impressed when there, but it was over a year ago. Nice Thai place in the side street just over the road. BYOB, and very very authentic called Absolute Thai. Best Thai in Edinburgh IMO. Good idea to book as it only seats about 25.

beensaidbefore
29-10-2016, 07:30 PM
I went to the Gurkha bar and restaurant last night in Musselburgh. it's a nice wee small place with friendly staff.

The food was amazing, I'd go as far as saying the best curry I've ever tasted. There were 5 of us there and everyone was saying how great the food was.

Definitely going back!

Ghurka at fountain bridge is also worth a visit. Great curries, and naans are huge.

29-10-2016, 08:11 PM
My old man was @ Kebabish in Dalry Road last night and said it was very good, BYOB too I think.

29-10-2016, 08:27 PM
My old man was @ Kebabish in Dalry Road last night and said it was very good, BYOB too I think.

Laddie was there last week he said the same. On the list for our monthly curry club visit.

HibbyDave
30-10-2016, 07:05 AM
Good food at Beirut Restaurant in Nicholson Street Square. BYOB!!

30-10-2016, 07:11 PM
Went to David bann last week. I'm not vegetarian, but one of the guys in a group that I go to dinner with occasionally was doing a 1 month vegetarian challenge so we took the chance to try something a bit different.

It was very good. Very tasty food that is cooked and presented to a high standard but with a small price tag (no expensive meat).

06-11-2016, 04:27 AM
Tried the Cool Jade Chinese in Corstorphine yesterday.

Food and service was lovely but paying nearly £70 for what amounted to three main courses and three soft drinks was a bit much.

Almost feel like I've been stiffed.

06-11-2016, 07:56 AM

Food and service was lovely but paying nearly £70 for what amounted to three main courses and three soft drinks was a bit much.

No starters, desserts or sides?! That's outrageous at that price if so.

06-11-2016, 08:01 AM

Yeah I live in Corstorphine,tried it once and decided no better than the other Chinese restaurants in Corstorphine with reasonable prices.

06-11-2016, 10:20 AM

Yeah that was my exact impression on my one and only visit. Also we felt we were rushed.

Won't be back.

09-11-2016, 09:24 PM
Just been to the Kitchin in Leith. Super food and service. Very nice and helpful staff.

09-11-2016, 09:26 PM
Yeah that was my exact impression on my one and only visit. Also we felt we were rushed.

Won't be back.

Was thinking of going there on xmas day but might reconsider

09-11-2016, 10:12 PM

Won't be back.

Funny that it's takeaways are excellent and we use them all the time.

10-11-2016, 08:40 AM
Went to the Königlicher Hirschgarten (http://www.hirschgarten.de/restaurant-muenchen-essen-gehen-in-muenchen-nymphenburg-neuhausen-starnberg-erding-freising-dachau-germering-ebersberg.html) last week with Mrs Keekaboo and a couple of colleague from work.

Pleasant surroundings and decor, staff were nice but menu was very limited. If it's not Bavarian or Austrian, they don't sell it.

FWIW, I ate Bambie's Mum for dinner. Very tasty.

10-11-2016, 12:58 PM
Anyone eaten at Navadhanya? I love my Indian food, and travel past it everyday on the bus, but I'd never really heard of it, I noticed it's highly rated on trip advisor (#12 restaurant in Edinburgh). I'm going on Sunday to try it out.

10-11-2016, 01:25 PM
Anyone been to Wahaca on South St Andrew Street?

Going there for my work's Christmas do. Menu looks prety good.

10-11-2016, 05:03 PM

https://www.thecaterer.com/articles/369128/wahaca-restaurants-to-reopen-after-suspected-norovirus-outbreak

10-11-2016, 05:08 PM
https://www.thecaterer.com/articles/369128/wahaca-restaurants-to-reopen-after-suspected-norovirus-outbreak

Aye, I seen that. That was only in London though.

10-11-2016, 05:10 PM
Aye, I seen that. That was only in London though.

Manchester, Cardiff and Brighton too. Bit weird to have a bug like that spread over such distances but it could be part coincidence part precautionary I suppose.

10-11-2016, 05:53 PM
Manchester, Cardiff and Brighton too. Bit weird to have a bug like that spread over such distances but it could be part coincidence part precautionary I suppose.

Edinburgh restaurant was also anti viral cleaned by specialists as a precaution along with all others in the UK.

10-11-2016, 05:57 PM
My folks used to swear by Vittoria's on the Walk but reckon it's really gone downhill recently.

10-11-2016, 06:04 PM
My folks used to swear by Vittoria's on the Walk but reckon it's really gone downhill recently.

Hope not! We're going for a big family meal in December

10-11-2016, 06:04 PM

Funnily enough a mate of mine who lives just round the corner from there has said much the same. He used to meet his old man there every Friday but they've started going elsewhere recently.

10-11-2016, 06:30 PM

Really? Did they say why they thought that, quality of food,service?

10-11-2016, 07:52 PM
I was at Bubba Q's on the royal mile on Saturday. If you like American style BBQ/smoked food you will love it. Reasonable prices, food was great, and plentiful portions. I would recommend the sausages, brisket, the BBQ beans and the dynamite fries.

10-11-2016, 09:08 PM
Really? Did they say why they thought that, quality of food,service?

Bit of both, to be honest. Felt that they were maybe stretching themselves a bit thin with the other restaurants and that the one in the Walk had suffered as a result. They're regulars as well, but are looking at going elsewhere. Think my dad even had to send a steak back last time.

10-11-2016, 10:36 PM
Bit of both, to be honest. Felt that they were maybe stretching themselves a bit thin with the other restaurants and that the one in the Walk had suffered as a result. They're regulars as well, but are looking at going elsewhere. Think my dad even had to send a steak back last time.

Aww man.

We always go there for family meals for birthdays and the likes, have always said it's my favourite place to eat on Edinburgh!

10-11-2016, 11:18 PM

You know I've never really rated their restaurants but folk kept on raving about them so I kept on trying them! Vittoria's particularly.

I reckon I've had 2 good experiences from a dozen or so.

The pizzas are decent but nothing special, probably a bit short on toppings but that's the Italian style I've been ridiculously told - only on Piazza San Marco, in my experience, everywhere else is at least decent enough that you can see what's supposed to be there.

The boy waiters too keen to be serving girls and the girl waiters (if that's what their known as these days ;-) so 'I'm only working here to do you a favour' as they swan about being divas!

It's round the corner. I dare say I'll be there again lucky 13, disappointed ... or maybe not! Wouldn't that be nice.

11-11-2016, 12:47 PM

I haven't been but friends have and were disappointed with food and service. I think that was not long after it opened though, so has perhaps improved.

patch1875
11-11-2016, 01:06 PM
I'm going to Vittorias on the walk next week will report back after as we've always found it superb.

11-11-2016, 02:26 PM
I'm going to Vittorias on the walk next week will report back after as we've always found it superb.

I've been before and it's been really good, but my most recent visits were fairly disappointing based on the standards that Vittoria's have set before.

11-11-2016, 02:39 PM
I've been before and it's been really good, but my most recent visits were fairly disappointing based on the standards that Vittoria's have set before.

I've found it to have been disappointing the last few visits as well as have my parents.

11-11-2016, 03:59 PM
I use Vittorias regularly and was surprised by some of these comments.Had a quick look at Trip Advisor and see that both the one in Leith and on the Bridge are still getting great comments. My other favourite is La Piazza.

11-11-2016, 04:16 PM
I was at a family meal in the Vittoria recently and found it pretty faultless

Hanny
11-11-2016, 05:49 PM
I was at Bubba Q's on the royal mile on Saturday. If you like American style BBQ/smoked food you will love it. Reasonable prices, food was great, and plentiful portions. I would recommend the sausages, brisket, the BBQ beans and the dynamite fries.

Went for lunch today and it was excellent. 10" hot dog with pulled pork and BBQ sauce with fries for £7. Superb.

11-11-2016, 05:58 PM
Went for lunch today and it was excellent. 10" hot dog with pulled pork and BBQ sauce with fries for £7. Superb.

Is it the usual ****** hot dog though?

11-11-2016, 05:58 PM
I use Vittorias regularly and was surprised by some of these comments.Had a quick look at Trip Advisor and see that both the one in Leith and on the Bridge are still getting great comments. My other favourite is La Piazza.

I felt it was living off its reputation and had let the standards drop. Interesting to see that others here had a similar experience.

Hanny
11-11-2016, 06:30 PM
Is it the usual ****** hot dog though?

No the dog was good too. Skinless bratwurst I think.

13-11-2016, 12:42 PM
I got a takeaway from Noks Kitchen in Stockbridge last night. It was excellent and I'll definitely be using it again.

IrnBru22
13-11-2016, 02:03 PM
Anybody got any recommendations for Manchester? Preferably vegetarian.

18-11-2016, 10:47 PM
Yeah I live in Corstorphine,tried it once and decided no better than the other Chinese restaurants in Corstorphine with reasonable prices.

Any recommendations?

Corstorphine is really handy for us and we might start going there more often rather than the awful chain restaurants.

19-11-2016, 07:39 AM
Any recommendations?

Corstorphine is really handy for us and we might start going there more often rather than the awful chain restaurants.

Peach Garden has been very good though it has just changed management again and locals giving it mixed reviews. I found it just as good so worth a visit.

Wongs owned and run by husband and wife team David and Rose very hospitable, attentive hosts with good food. Spicy dishes tend to be more powerful than other restaurants but suits me.

Chinese Manor House probably the most expensive of the three but excellent food if maybe slighter smaller portions.

Fabios italian, gets good local reviews but never been a great fan myself and prefer to travel to La Piazza in Shandwick place more often than not.

Redwood bistro, Californian chef proprietor very different menu worth a look and visit.

St Johns Curry club, well worth a visit,quite small and when busy not much room between tables but decent food and great North Indian Chilli garlic chicken :-)

Abida same owner as curry club and always found it good,bigger restaurant with private room available for larger parties.

Eastern Pavilion I think it's callef next to Peach Garden never been is often empty.

We eat out locally a lot :-)

19-11-2016, 09:10 AM
Any recommendations?

Spice Lounge on Drumbrae.

Excellent food but their service can be hit and miss.

patch1875
19-11-2016, 08:02 PM
Well just back from Vittorias on the walk....superb as usual!!

19-11-2016, 08:44 PM
Well just back from Vittorias on the walk....superb as usual!!

Good to hear.

20-11-2016, 10:23 PM
Spice Lounge on Drumbrae.

Excellent food but their service can be hit and miss.

You get a nice meal there and it's very comfortable. Best Asian in Corstorphine I'd say.

21-11-2016, 06:04 AM
You get a nice meal there and it's very comfortable. Best Asian in Corstorphine I'd say.

Never rated it myself,haven't been for a year or more but wasn't impressed with food last time. Maybe a revisit is due.

21-11-2016, 11:00 AM
Peach Garden has been very good though it has just changed management again and locals giving it mixed reviews. I found it just as good so worth a visit.

Wongs owned and run by husband and wife team David and Rose very hospitable, attentive hosts with good food. Spicy dishes tend to be more powerful than other restaurants but suits me.

Chinese Manor House probably the most expensive of the three but excellent food if maybe slighter smaller portions.

Fabios italian, gets good local reviews but never been a great fan myself and prefer to travel to La Piazza in Shandwick place more often than not.

Redwood bistro, Californian chef proprietor very different menu worth a look and visit.

St Johns Curry club, well worth a visit,quite small and when busy not much room between tables but decent food and great North Indian Chilli garlic chicken :-)

Abida same owner as curry club and always found it good,bigger restaurant with private room available for larger parties.

Eastern Pavilion I think it's callef next to Peach Garden never been is often empty.

Eastern Pavillion is easily the best Indian in corstorphine and my favourite in Edinburgh. Fridays and Saturdays are often very busy.

Went to the spice lounge once before and I thought it was terrible. Nice looking place but the food was awful.

21-11-2016, 11:02 AM
Going to the scran and scallie in Stockbridge for a birthday lunch in a few weeks. Have heard great things, can't wait.

21-11-2016, 11:41 AM
Eastern Pavillion is easily the best Indian in corstorphine and my favourite in Edinburgh. Fridays and Saturdays are often very busy.

Went to the spice lounge once before and I thought it was terrible. Nice looking place but the food was awful.

Can't compare the food but can confirm it is often empty or the odd table whenever I pass which is often. I will give it a try based on your recommendation.

21-11-2016, 11:41 AM
Going to the scran and scallie in Stockbridge for a birthday lunch in a few weeks. Have heard great things, can't wait.

Have been twice and was very good each time.

21-11-2016, 12:36 PM
Can't compare the food but can confirm it is often empty or the odd table whenever I pass which is often. I will give it a try based on your recommendation.

Yes well worth a go. They had a special curry on the last time I went a few weeks ago which was absolutely fantastic. The Chicken Korai they do is also amazing.

Ajo
22-11-2016, 06:59 AM
Has anyone been to Castle Terrace for lunch? I'm going in a few weeks time and can't wait!

24-11-2016, 03:42 PM

Agreed. Very good.

24-11-2016, 06:12 PM

Thanks for this and to BH too. We'll give them a try.

Tried Wongs and the food was very good. Nice atmosphere too.

24-11-2016, 06:38 PM
Thanks for this and to BH too. We'll give them a try.

Tried Wongs and the food was very good. Nice atmosphere too.

I've been going to Wongs since they opened about 10-15 years ago. The food has always been of a high standard and as Scouse mentioned, David and Rose do a great job of running the place. It's usually pretty quiet when I go these days but I think they do a lot of business on the takeaway side.

28-11-2016, 02:00 PM
Just been to Educated Flea on Broughton Street for lunch, 2 courses for a tenner, absolute bargain. Will definitely go back.

speedy_gonzales
28-11-2016, 02:30 PM
Was up town on Saturday and decided to go for a spot to eat. Popped in to the Foundry 39 at the west end. Located in what used to be Bar Roma on Queensferry Street.
The place is not long open and looked very trendy, plenty beard & tattoos on show as is the way these days. I thought the drinks were decent, plenty small batch brews to be had and the cocktail list has enough to cater for most tastes. I had the smoked Heather sour, which was certainly sour!
The food however was a big let down, opted for the special chilli burger asking with chilli fries. The fries were passable but the burger was shocking, somehow the meat pate was dried out but the bun was sopping in juices,,, disgusting and was left on the late. The server noticed it but never even asked how the food was.
Won't be back in a hurry unless it was drinks only.

12-12-2016, 06:45 PM
Two friends of mine were in Lancers in Stockbridge on Saturday and said it was very poor, both service and quality of food.

13-12-2016, 08:38 AM
Was in Wahaca at St Andrews Square on Friday night for my work's Christmas meal. We had the 'Mexmas Banquet' between 6 of us and it was really nice food.

The sweet potato taquitos and the salmon sushimi tostadas as part of the starters were amazing.

patch1875
13-12-2016, 07:02 PM
Two friends of mine were in Lancers in Stockbridge on Saturday and said it was very poor, both service and quality of food.

Interesting i drove past last week and thought it had been ages since I last went, always enjoyed it before but maybe will give it a miss!

14-12-2016, 11:23 AM
Was at Bar Italia (Lothian Road) at the weekend after a show at the Usher Hall. It was pretty small (the restaurant, not the show) and busy but the staff were good and the service was pretty quick.

The food was tasty, I had a carbonara (have started making these myself at home, using the traditional method with egg and no cream, so I tend to get this in an Italian restaurant to compare). I would (modestly) say that my carbonara was nicer than theirs, however it was very tasty regardless. They used a cream sauce and I was happy to finish the lot. The portion size was perfect as well.

Tiramisu for desert, was lovely.

The food wasn't that good that I'd rush to go back, but I certainly wouldn't have any qualms in going again if I was in the area.

14-12-2016, 07:46 PM
The Atelier on Morrison Street for my year group at works Christmas dinner. Very nice indeed. One of my favourite restaurants in Edinburgh.

16-12-2016, 06:40 PM
Four of us going to Eastern Pavillion in Corstorphine tommorrow night following the good reviews on here. Hope it lives up to expectations :-)

16-12-2016, 07:10 PM
I was in La Garrigue once again last week and again I couldn't commend it enough.

Classic French fare from the Languedoc, absolutely delicious and reasonably-priced for such a central Edinburgh location.

The menu varies on a more regular basis than a lot of restaurants, whilst always retaining Languedoc classics like their cassoulet.

The wine list likewise is varied, with something suitable for most pockets and again a focus on wines from the owner's region of birth.

Fantastic ambience and if you're window-facing, you have those great views. All accompanied by really understated but thoroughly professional service.

As with every meal there, I'm already looking forward to going back!

16-12-2016, 09:12 PM
Four of us going to Eastern Pavillion in Corstorphine tommorrow night following the good reviews on here. Hope it lives up to expectations :-)

Looking forward to the review.

Tuesday night. Few beers in Malt Shovel and then up for a pizza/pasta at Gordon's Trattoria. Not been for years. Won't be back for years.

Overpriced, average fare. Service decent but the six of us agreed we wouldn't be rushing back soon.

17-12-2016, 04:24 AM
Having lived in corstorphine for years I still hadn't tried several of the eateries. After scouse''s wee tour review through the area a few pages back I gave redwood a try yesterday

It was just amazing. Possibly best meal I've had in years and I'm lucky enough to eat in some great places all over Scotland with my job. The fish soup starter and hake were the business. Can't wait to go back

17-12-2016, 07:20 AM
I live just over other side of Drum Brae and pass the Redwood almost everyday. Never been. Always thought it looked like a nursing home ! Will give it a try now.

17-12-2016, 08:21 AM
Having lived in corstorphine for years I still hadn't tried several of the eateries. After scouse''s wee tour review through the area a few pages back I gave redwood a try yesterday

It was just amazing. Possibly best meal I've had in years and I'm lucky enough to eat in some great places all over Scotland with my job. The fish soup starter and hake were the business. Can't wait to go back

Good to hear you enjoyed it, we often don't realise the quality on our own doorstep,it's great if you can find quality without the need to travel too far.

17-12-2016, 09:46 AM
I live just over other side of Drum Brae and pass the Redwood almost everyday. Never been. Always thought it looked like a nursing home ! Will give it a try now.

Yeah, I live locally and still to try it.

18-12-2016, 08:09 AM
Eastern Pavilion last night: Seated near the back of the restaurant the night got off to a great start. Friendly staff, pints of Cobra, the obligatory poppadoms and pickle selection and very good starters. The manager spoke to us several times and we were happy as we drank more and waited for the main courses to arrive.

Then......The manager approached us and asked if we would move tables to the front of the restaurant as they had two parties with wheelchairs arriving and the rear area was more suitable to the wheelchairs. Now normally we would be pretty pissed off having to move tables mid course in a restaurant however we were asked very nicely by the manager and of course we were only to happy to help a wheelchair user so we duly obliged and moved to a table at the window.

The mains then arrived and we continued our night without further interuption, the manager fussed over us, provided some extra accompaniments and we all agreed we had some of the finest Indian food we had eaten anywhere not just in Corstorphine.

The food and service even with our mid course move really was top class and a restaurant not far from my house which I had previously dismissed and only tried because of the recommendations on here turns out to be fantastic. So impressed I have booked a table for six on Hogmanay and can't wait to return.

18-12-2016, 08:37 AM
Corstorphine. The new hotbed of undiscovered haute cuisine.

And when you live nearby you save yourself an additional £15 on a taxi fare home.

18-12-2016, 09:07 AM
Off to Orroco Pier in South Queensferry for breakfast this morning. Heard good things about it so will report back.

patch1875
18-12-2016, 09:12 AM
Going to have to check the Eastern Pavilion out I'm just along at Western Corner so can walk!

18-12-2016, 09:24 AM
Off to Orroco Pier in South Queensferry for breakfast this morning. Heard good things about it so will report back.
I'm booked in for dinner on Monday night. Only heard good things but never tried it.

18-12-2016, 09:42 AM
Busy week ahead food wise

Wednesday - Britannia Spice
Thursday- Wongs
Friday - Vittoria

Love this time of year 😀

Casey1875
18-12-2016, 10:07 AM
I'm booked in for dinner on Monday night. Only heard good things but never tried it.

I have to say I'm not a big fan, don't get me wrong it's ok but by no means great. The boathouse just next to it is a very good fish restaurant and the Italian la Barca at the other end of the high street nearest the rail bridge does lovely food although the decor is a bit dated.

18-12-2016, 10:11 AM

the food in the restaurant area was decent the few times i've been..the bar food is very average (at best!)...

18-12-2016, 12:17 PM

No complaints about the breakfasts, good portion size, good quality sausages, black pudding and haggis etc, all copies nicely and service was really friendly as well.

They get a bonus point for having Belle and Sebastian playing on their playlist.

Would definitely go back.

18-12-2016, 01:42 PM
Eastern Pavilion last night: Seated near the back of the restaurant the night got off to a great start. Friendly staff, pints of Cobra, the obligatory poppadoms and pickle selection and very good starters. The manager spoke to us several times and we were happy as we drank more and waited for the main courses to arrive.

Then......The manager approached us and asked if we would move tables to the front of the restaurant as they had two parties with wheelchairs arriving and the rear area was more suitable to the wheelchairs. Now normally we would be pretty pissed off having to move tables mid course in a restaurant however we were asked very nicely by the manager and of course we were only to happy to help a wheelchair user so we duly obliged and moved to a table at the window.

The mains then arrived and we continued our night without further interuption, the manager fussed over us, provided some extra accompaniments and we all agreed we had some of the finest Indian food we had eaten anywhere not just in Corstorphine.

The food and service even with our mid course move really was top class and a restaurant not far from my house which I had previously dismissed and only tried because of the recommendations on here turns out to be fantastic. So impressed I have booked a table for six on Hogmanay and can't wait to return.

Great review. We are booked in for xmas day. Years since I've been. Looking forward to it

18-12-2016, 06:59 PM
12 of us at Vittoria on the walk tonight, lovely meal and great service :aok:

18-12-2016, 07:25 PM
I was at Thai Orchid near the castle during the week. Excellent. My favourite in Edinburgh.

22-12-2016, 11:52 AM
So Orroco Pier. Food was good if over priced. Service was ok just not anything special. Restaurant is nice inside and the setting makes up for a lot of the other flaws. Pleasant enough but i don't think I would rush back. Could be so much more.

22-12-2016, 05:47 PM
Milano (Lothian Road) - great pizza and only 5.95 at lunch
Beer & Skittles (Elm Row) - ok, would eat there again if I'm there but wouldn't go specifically for food
St Vincent (Stockbridge) - Great burger, really enjoyed it

22-12-2016, 07:08 PM
Britannia Spice last night, food was okay service was appalling considering there were only four tables occupied. We were seated at 6pm (six of us) the wait for our starters, we got them at 7.30 was ridiculous. Coupled with the reluctance to first take a drink order and then replenishment was only if you called the waiter if you could find him! Left at 9pm after 2 courses,won't return I'm afraid.

22-12-2016, 07:28 PM
Britannia Spice last night, food was okay service was appalling considering there were only four tables occupied. We were seated at 6pm (six of us) the wait for our starters, we got them at 7.30 was ridiculous. Coupled with the reluctance to first take a drink order and then replenishment was only if you called the waiter if you could find him! Left at 9pm after 2 courses,won't return I'm afraid.

Britannia Spice has been going downhill for years imo.

Used to be a more than decent Indian but food and service have declined pretty rapidly in the last 2 or 3 years. Last went about a year ago and wouldn't return.

patch1875
22-12-2016, 09:23 PM
We ended up eating in Prezzo on North Bridge tonight before the ballet surprising thought it was excellent for a chain would say a step up from Pizza Express.

speedy_gonzales
22-12-2016, 09:31 PM
Well, thanks to the favourable reviews here, I popped in to the Eastern Pavilion tonight. I have to be honest and say out of the 4 Curry houses that I've been to in Corstorphine it isn't in the top 3. Service was good but the food just didn't do it for me. The Narikeli Gosht was OK, but the chicken chasni was poor, the Bombay aloo was bland and the tarka dall was the worst I've ever experienced in ANY Indian cuisine restaurant. Even the mushroom rice was oily, if you can't get the rice right then there's no hope.
Think I'll stick to Abidas or the Spice Lounge in the near future.

23-12-2016, 07:01 AM

Excellent! Glad you enjoyed mate.

24-12-2016, 02:06 AM
North Bridge Brasserie (Scotsman Hotel on North Bridge) for dinner on Thursday evening.

I've eaten there before on several occasions and always enjoyed it but this was the first time in a while. I had expected to just pick from the a la carte menu but they have introduced their own tasting menu,so we gave that a shot. It was great - well-balanced, good presentation and bags of flavour.

I think we had seven courses for £39 each. As tasting menus go, that's very reasonable. Somewhere like Tom Kitchin does an exquisite tasting menu but at a much higher price. This felt like a bit of a steal - not Michelin but still very good.

There isn't the choice of accompanying wines but that wasn't the end of the world. The wine menu is broad,with lots of options.

Final plus is the surroundings. I remember being inside the building when it was the actual 'The Scotsman'. Thankfully they've kept the opulence.

The bar (for pre-dinner drinks) and the restaurant are decent enough,but the detail of the building overall is magnificent. A trip to the toilet involves descending a fine marble staircase that's probably unrivaled in Edinburgh!!

24-12-2016, 04:44 AM
Not going to give the full review as I'm a lazy ******* that way 😁, but I was recently at the much acclaimed Scran & Scallie in Stockbridge for a lunch. Can't rate it highly enough, great atmosphere, excellent staff, reasonable pricing and the food was amazing. Went for their Christmas menu and was very impressed. Will be back in the new year.

24-12-2016, 04:47 AM
The tower restaurant on the top floor at the museum is also well worth a go. A great place to take any guests you have who aren't too familiar with Edinburgh. Great views of the castle, an all round classy establishment and the food is top notch, 9/10.

04-01-2017, 09:35 PM
Eastern Pavilion again on Hogmanay following my previous good visit. Delighted to say it didn't disappoint and the group who went with my recommendation all had a great night.

Ajo
05-01-2017, 09:09 AM
Anyone been to Dishoom, the new restaurant opened up in St Andrews square?

patch1875
05-01-2017, 09:24 AM
Anyone been to Dishoom yet? We're booked for the end of the month.

05-01-2017, 10:07 PM
Anyone been to Dishoom yet? We're booked for the end of the month.

Went for lunch today. It was good. It isn't really curry if that's what you are expecting though. More small plates and items from the grill with like 3(?) curries on the menu.

06-01-2017, 02:21 PM
Went to the Corstorphine Inn for a couple of pints and some pub grub and was very impressed with the standard of the food. A la carte it most certainly isn't, but for a pub it was far better than some restaurants I've been to. If you're in the area and want a cheap eat, look no further.

06-01-2017, 02:23 PM
La Fav pre match tonight, pizza and a pint (or two) perfect start to a Friday evening :greengrin

KdyHby
06-01-2017, 03:09 PM
Renroc, Montgomery Street pre match tonight for food n pints. Always a good option.

06-01-2017, 06:18 PM
The antiquary in stockbridge last night was really good. Pheasant Balmoral was class (and £12), a few drinks with some live folk music and generally quite a nice place/atmosphere. I'd highly recommend it.

07-01-2017, 07:53 PM
After a busy afternoon in town found ourselves at Haymarket so decided to pop into Platform 5 for pub grub and a few drinks. Never again until they sort out the fruit flies!

08-01-2017, 12:46 AM
Hit a couple of places over the last week.

Cail Bruich in Glasgow, on Great Western Road was lovely. Service was incredibly attentive. We had their tasting menu, portions were probably too big. Couldn't fault the food in the slightest though. The fish courses were delicious and the steak main was as tender as you would want.

Back to Cafe Marlayne on Antigua Street, top of the Walk, before the game last night. Been there before, Couldn't recommend it highly enough. I can't think of anywhere as easy for ER yet just as nice and tasty.:agree:

08-01-2017, 02:35 AM
It's not Edinburgh but we tried the hot flame buffet in Livingston centre and I was impressed.

Some of the Italian dishes looked as if they were there to make up the numbers but all the Chinese, Indian and Mexican ones were pretty good quality. Lovely chicken.

I never had time to try any of the Teppanyaki, carvery or Tandoori stuff but I will next time as it looks like that's where a lot of the effort was concentrated on.

Even the fussiest family of four can stuff their face and have drinks refilled for just over forty quid. Not bad.

Teapot
08-01-2017, 05:27 PM
Couple of drinks then went to a Room in Leith last night. Superb meal and good value, 2 courses for just over 20 quid. Nice atmosphere, good service, will definitely be going back. Great little boozers around there as well.

09-01-2017, 09:54 PM
Renroc, Montgomery Street pre match tonight for food n pints. Always a good option.

Had possibly the worst breakfast ive ever had in there. Crap sausages and couldve smashed the wibdow with the tattie scone. Does seem popular but would not try it again.

11-01-2017, 07:22 AM
A few recently over the festive period......

Eastern Pavilion on Xmas day - Great food, friendly service and not over-charging cos it was xmas. Loved it

Shebeen (Morrison Street) - Food was average. Best thing was the staff who were always happy to help and explain all things South African

Caley Picture House - Same golden coloured food delivered in all Witherspoons. Fills a hole, is all i can say but then again so does cement

Origano (Leith Walk) - Couldn't get in usual haunts before DU game on Friday so tried here. Will def be back. Pizzas come in sizes 11, 14 and 16 inches so great for sharing. Good food and nice atmosphere followed by a lovely destruction of the Arabs.

Next on my radar is Purslane. With my job I often have high end guests looking to try the top places in Edinburgh. This place keeps coming up when we tour together. Very wealthy family recently who owned property all over the world described it as their favourite restaurant anywhere. High praise.

11-01-2017, 10:49 AM
A few recently over the festive period......

Eastern Pavilion on Xmas day - Great food, friendly service and not over-charging cos it was xmas. Loved it

Shebeen (Morrison Street) - Food was average. Best thing was the staff who were always happy to help and explain all things South African

Caley Picture House - Same golden coloured food delivered in all Witherspoons. Fills a hole, is all i can say but then again so does cement

Origano (Leith Walk) - Couldn't get in usual haunts before DU game on Friday so tried here. Will def be back. Pizzas come in sizes 11, 14 and 16 inches so great for sharing. Good food and nice atmosphere followed by a lovely destruction of the Arabs.

Next on my radar is Purslane. With my job I often have high end guests looking to try the top places in Edinburgh. This place keeps coming up when we tour together. Very wealthy family recently who owned property all over the world described it as their favourite restaurant anywhere. High praise.

Purslane is very nice!

Origano is on my list to try - I've heard good things about their pizzas.

There is a Portuguese opened up near the commonwealth pool - menu looks the same as a previous Portuguese by fountain park that closed down a while back (tugos amor) which I used to like. Anyone been/know if it's the same people under a new name?

11-01-2017, 02:07 PM
Grain Store for lunch today. £14 two course. Food at its best. Great service. Can't wait to go back.

ACLeith
11-01-2017, 02:36 PM
Grain Store for lunch today. £14 two course. Food at its best. Great service. Can't wait to go back.

You've certainly been getting about eateries recently, new year resolution?

I would recommend Michael Neave just off the high street. 3 course lunch for just under a tenner but superb. Need to book well ahead though.

Did you have long to wait on Monday after I got my tickets online?

11-01-2017, 06:30 PM
Lioness of leith last night. First time eating there since left disappointed when first opened. It was excellent. Had the beef shin pie which was a good size and absolutely rammed with meat. Will he going back asap to try a few of the other dishes.

ACLeith
11-01-2017, 06:36 PM
Lioness of leith last night. First time eating there since left disappointed when first opened. It was excellent. Had the beef shin pie which was a good size and absolutely rammed with meat. Will he going back asap to try a few of the other dishes.

The most uncomfortable seats I have ever sat on. A job lot from a church hall who were chucking them out due to their age?

11-01-2017, 07:27 PM
The most uncomfortable seats I have ever sat on. A job lot from a church hall who were chucking them out due to their age?

Had an alright seat last night, although a wee bit low for the table. Maybe got relatively lucky compared with yourself.

12-01-2017, 07:22 AM

I would recommend Michael Neave just off the high street. 3 course lunch for just under a tenner but superb. Need to book well ahead though.

Just quiet work wise so managing to get out a lot. Into town today for beers but no restaurant planned. Didn't wait much longer on Monday. In total was just over 2 hours.

12-01-2017, 03:38 PM
The Auld Hundred on Rose st, had their signature steak pie. Portion was plentiful and the steak pie was excellent. Will be back.

13-01-2017, 07:44 PM
Angels Share, West End. Nice surroundings but not much bang for your buck.

13-01-2017, 07:49 PM
Corstorphine. The new hotbed of undiscovered haute cuisine.

And when you live nearby you save yourself an additional £15 on a taxi fare home.

It's a shame the pubs aren't a bit better.

14-01-2017, 10:55 PM
Off to Monteiths in the Royal Mile in a few weeks. Seems to have had mixed reviews.

14-01-2017, 11:41 PM
Off to Monteiths in the Royal Mile in a few weeks. Seems to have had mixed reviews.

Never been but always been somewhere I intended to try - be good to hear your thoughts.

15-01-2017, 08:18 PM

It's decent without being brilliant. Owned by the same people that have Sygn, the West Room and the 2 Chop Houses. Not tried the Chop House on Market Street yet but the one on Constitution Street is excellent.

15-01-2017, 11:18 PM
It's decent without being brilliant. Owned by the same people that have Sygn, the West Room and the 2 Chop Houses. Not tried the Chop House on Market Street yet but the one on Constitution Street is excellent.

We had our works xmas meal in Chop House Market St early Dec & it was spot on.

alhibby
16-01-2017, 07:39 AM

Michael has another restaurant in Jeffrey Street, steak and seafood, great lunchtime deals too, food is excellent

16-01-2017, 12:04 PM

Review in the Sunday Herald yesterday

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/15024362.Joanna_Blythman_review__Chop_House_Bar_An d_Butchery__Edinburgh/?ref=arc

16-01-2017, 12:35 PM

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/15024362.Joanna_Blythman_review__Chop_House_Bar_An d_Butchery__Edinburgh/?ref=arc

well I'll not be rushing to go there then!

16-01-2017, 04:44 PM

Oooft she doesn't hold back.

Given the attitude of the manager there I can't help but be quite pleased the review is so awful.

16-01-2017, 05:14 PM
well I'll not be rushing to go there then!

Pretty poor review though having listened to some of the guff spouted by food critics over the years in other establishments that I have subsequently enjoyed I won't totally write it off.

20-01-2017, 09:25 PM
Was at pizzaria 1926 last night and it was excellent. Probably the best pizza ive had outside naples. The deep fried sharing platter starter was realy good as well. Plenty sea food involved but the pasta ball with a little cream and peas was the higlight of that.

20-01-2017, 09:35 PM
Was at pizzaria 1926 last night and it was excellent. Probably the best pizza ive had outside naples. The deep fried sharing platter starter was realy good as well. Plenty sea food involved but the pasta ball with a little cream and peas was the higlight of that.

Where is it?

20-01-2017, 09:37 PM
Where is it?

Dalry road. Think its same people as locandi di gusti who have it

20-01-2017, 10:26 PM
Dalry road. Think its same people as locandi di gusti who have it

Ah right,okay thanks.

21-01-2017, 07:57 AM
Pretty poor review though having listened to some of the guff spouted by food critics over the years in other establishments that I have subsequently enjoyed I won't totally write it off.

This reviewer had 3x 9 or 10 star reviews in a row followed by that one.

LustForLeith
22-01-2017, 11:14 AM
Heading out shopping with then wife and kids in a couple of weeks. Where's a good central place in Edinburgh for family lunch? Can't be a Witherspoon's apparently! Was think of Jamie's Italian but heard mixed review. Nothing too fancy for the kids but any advice for places to would be greatly appreciate.

22-01-2017, 11:56 AM
Heading out shopping with then wife and kids in a couple of weeks. Where's a good central place in Edinburgh for family lunch? Can't be a Witherspoon's apparently! Was think of Jamie's Italian but heard mixed review. Nothing too fancy for the kids but any advice for places to would be greatly appreciate.

Vittoria on the Bridge
Byron Burger place on Lothian Road
Ask Italian Shandwick Place
Hard Rock George Street
TGI Fridays Castle Street
Filling Station Rose Street

All kid friendly

LustForLeith
22-01-2017, 01:01 PM
Vittoria on the Bridge
Hard Rock George Street

All kid friendly

Cheers mate.

No been to Vitrorias for ages, might give it a try.

22-01-2017, 07:07 PM
Vittoria on the Bridge
Hard Rock George Street

All kid friendly

You might like Bread Meets Bread on Lothian Rd, good food and kid friendly. I like the Hard Rock, but prices are mental

speedy_gonzales
22-01-2017, 08:08 PM
In addition to the other recommendations, there's a new place on the High Street, BubbaQ's, burger and rib place, reasonably priced and decent food.

22-01-2017, 09:18 PM

I want to try that place.

Locandi de Gusti is one of my fave restaurants and they had a Facebook post about the place so I assume they're related - makes sense with ldg being Italian but not a pizza sort of place.

What was the price like? Pretty reasonable?

LustForLeith
23-01-2017, 07:30 AM
In addition to the other recommendations, there's a new place on the High Street, BubbaQ's, burger and rib place, reasonably priced and decent food.

I'd heard about BubbaQ's as well, wasn't too sure if it was connected to Bubba Gumps.

23-01-2017, 12:58 PM
I want to try that place.

Locandi de Gusti is one of my fave restaurants and they had a Facebook post about the place so I assume they're related - makes sense with ldg being Italian but not a pizza sort of place.

What was the price like? Pretty reasonable?

It was very reasonable. 2 pizzas, the previously mentioned starter which was a good size, half pint and 0.25l carafe of wine for under £30.

Doubt it'll be long before i visit again.

23-01-2017, 08:00 PM

I quite like Quattro Zero in Queensferry Street next to Zizzis. Always good value imo and good service. And good for unfussy meal with kids/family.

31-01-2017, 02:31 AM
Cabbages & Condoms in Bangkok last night. Food was very good!

31-01-2017, 05:47 AM

Not rubbery at all?

31-01-2017, 06:42 AM
Tried Origano last week. Nice pizzas and friendly service but not as good as La Favorita in my opinion. Also you could hardly read the menus it was so dark.

patch1875
31-01-2017, 06:48 AM
We attempted to go to Dishoom on Saturday, we had no booking as you have to have a party of 6+ turned up at 6.45 to be told it would be a 2 hour + wait and we couldn't Go into the bar as it was packed!

went over opposite to Zest pretty standard stuff but a decent curry.

LustForLeith
31-01-2017, 07:57 AM
Heading to Philadelphia and New York later on in the year and wondering if anyone has recommendations for places to go. Been to New York before but not for ages, thinking of trying Dead Rabbits as I’ve heard great things about it

alhibby
31-01-2017, 11:12 AM
Heading to Philadelphia and New York later on in the year and wondering if anyone has recommendations for places to go. Been to New York before but not for ages, thinking of trying Dead Rabbits as I’ve heard great things about it

The Dead Rabbit is great, just been voted best bar in the world, great food and drink ( pricey ) but always busy, get there early, see you there in July

31-01-2017, 01:27 PM

I'm pleased to hear one of the rejected names for the Time for Heroes DVD has been put to good use. :aok:

31-01-2017, 06:29 PM
Was at a wedding in the Dunblane Hydro over the weekend just gone and we had two cracking meals whilst there.

1) India Gate, just down from the hotel - we had an excellent meal in here and it was good value for money. Would definitely recommend it! Apparently, they also have branches in Stirling and Alloa?

2) The Kailyard - well deserving of its reputation. Food was impeccable!

31-01-2017, 07:30 PM
Was at a wedding in the Dunblane Hydro over the weekend just gone and we had two cracking meals whilst there.

1) India Gate, just down from the hotel - we had an excellent meal in here and it was good value for money. Would definitely recommend it! Apparently, they also have branches in Stirling and Alloa?

2) The Kailyard - well deserving of its reputation. Food was impeccable!

Is it still Nick Nairn at The Kailyard? I was there about 3 years back and wasn't that impressed tbh. Lovely setting but service was pretty slow and the food was bordering on cold when served. Could have just been an off night I suppose.

31-01-2017, 08:54 PM
Is it still Nick Nairn at The Kailyard? I was there about 3 years back and wasn't that impressed tbh. Lovely setting but service was pretty slow and the food was bordering on cold when served. Could have just been an off night I suppose.

It is still Nick Nairn, aye.

Definitely no issues when we were there - superb service, and despite being a busy evening service, the food was really good!

01-02-2017, 12:15 AM
I quite like Quattro Zero in Queensferry Street next to Zizzis. Always good value imo and good service. And good for unfussy meal with kids/family.

The lunch deal in Quattro Zero is great value for money. Think it's £6 for a starter and main off the top of my head. Not sure if it's just weekdays though.

02-02-2017, 07:43 AM
Has anyone been into the barrel house along at jocks lodge? Every time I pass it looks quite good.

02-02-2017, 08:37 AM
Where would be a good place for a group of around 17 guys for dinner on a stag day? Not an overly loud group, just decent quality for a decent price. Beers and such like?

02-02-2017, 09:20 AM
Where would be a good place for a group of around 17 guys for dinner on a stag day? Not an overly loud group, just decent quality for a decent price. Beers and such like?

La Favorita on Leith Walk will give you the private room and look after you. PM me if you want a set deal set up with food and beer.

02-02-2017, 01:05 PM

Might be too late depending on when it is but Bodega on Elm Row is 20 person capacity so you could book the whole place and is BYOB.

03-02-2017, 09:23 AM
La Favorita on Leith Walk will give you the private room and look after you. PM me if you want a set deal set up with food and beer.
Thanks. Ill speak to the boys and find out and get back to you.

03-02-2017, 08:56 PM

Was in there last November after enjoying it on my first visit to Bangkok over 5 years ago.

We were in Bangkok for a few nights & Cambodia for over 2 weeks and this was the most expensive and worst meal we had, thought it had gone really downhill from our first visit.

07-02-2017, 01:26 PM
The Caley Picture House formerly a cinema and club. This I mention as Wetherspoons, for all their faults, have done a stunning job on it. It's in the Hollywood style but it still has the old lift and the gallery where I used to watch Clint Eastwood shooting 'em up.
Food is usual Wetherspoons fare and ale a pound cheaper than anywhere else. But they can do that.

07-02-2017, 01:41 PM
Was in there last November after enjoying it on my first visit to Bangkok over 5 years ago.

We were in Bangkok for a few nights & Cambodia for over 2 weeks and this was the most expensive and worst meal we had, thought it had gone really downhill from our first visit.

Maybe you just caught it on a bad night. It's definitely one of the more expensive meals I've had over here, but the food was really good.

07-02-2017, 08:41 PM
Maybe you just caught it on a bad night. It's definitely one of the more expensive meals I've had over here, but the food was really good.

Yeh you maybe right, it was a wet night so we had to sit inside, the Tom Yum soup was far too salty and the waitress was over keen to take away plates from the table, even before we had finished the food on them.

Still like the restaurant and it's for a great cause.

Had some better food at the Chatuchak weekend market at a fraction of the price.

07-02-2017, 09:17 PM
Anyone been to Tuk Tuk on Leven St.

Booked it for next week

07-02-2017, 09:47 PM

Booked it for next week

Yeah group of us went, great night as it served it's purpose for a get together with BYOB. The food was passable without being spectacular,you get what you pay for really it's not expensive so not top end. I would only go there again in a group for a cheap piss up with food.

Fuzzywuzzy
08-02-2017, 08:16 PM

Booked it for next week

It's quite good but once you've been to mother India there's no comparrison

08-02-2017, 08:23 PM

Agree with this.

Tuk Tuk is decent enough but Mother India is absolutely superb. Only downside it is so busy it can sometimes feel a wee bit rushed.

08-02-2017, 08:50 PM

Thanks for the recommendation I will definitely try it sometime. Tuk Tuk is booked as a pre theatre so hopefully it's good.

11-02-2017, 02:41 PM
Eastern Pavilion again last night the place was heaving at 8.30 whilst St John's along the road had one table occupied. Another great night was had.

patch1875
11-02-2017, 02:57 PM
Eastern Pavilion again last night the place was heaving at 8.30 whilst St John's along the road had one table occupied. Another great night was had.

Do need to try this I'm just along the road.

11-02-2017, 11:18 PM
Anyone tried Crolla's in Musselburgh?

12-02-2017, 08:14 AM
Wildwood in Lothian Road on Friday night.

Nice atmosphere, well looked after and food was very tasty. Had grilled boneless chicken in mushroom sauce with gratinated potatoes. Starter of prawns in garlic. Couple of Morettis.

The three of us had starters and mains with couple of drinks each (2 soft). £70 and not a thing left on the plates.

Will definitely go back.

LustForLeith
13-02-2017, 12:21 PM
Ended up in Jamies Italian on Saturday with the wife and kids. For a minute I was tempted to phone the police and tell them someone had stolen the pizzas as I couldn't see any on the menu but once I got over the initial shock we all really enjoyed it. Quite a nice place to be in too and despite being picky the kids loved it.

Would go back!

Watched the Derby in Clerks Bar in the SOuthside yesterday, I really like it there. Going for that wings and burgers market that's probably full just now but decent quaility burgers.

Ajo
13-02-2017, 01:35 PM
Anyone been to The Walnut on Leith Walk before? Going this week

13-02-2017, 02:16 PM
Ended up in Jamies Italian on Saturday with the wife and kids. For a minute I was tempted to phone the police and tell them someone had stolen the pizzas as I couldn't see any on the menu but once I got over the initial shock we all really enjoyed it. Quite a nice place to be in too and despite being picky the kids loved it.

Would go back!

Watched the Derby in Clerks Bar in the SOuthside yesterday, I really like it there. Going for that wings and burgers market that's probably full just now but decent quaility burgers.

I went to Jamie's Italian a while back now, cos the wife fancied it. I thought the food was pretty bland and the portion sizes were crap. It's been a long time though, so maybe it's improved now.

patch1875
13-02-2017, 03:37 PM
I went to Jamie's Italian a while back now, cos the wife fancied it. I thought the food was pretty bland and the portion sizes were crap. It's been a long time though, so maybe it's improved now.

Been twice and it's average at best sooner go to pizza express etc.

ACLeith
13-02-2017, 05:43 PM
Anyone been to The Walnut on Leith Walk before? Going this week
I'm planning to go soon so your feedback would be good to have

alhibby
13-02-2017, 05:43 PM
Harajuku Kitchen on Gillespie Crescent, just up from the Kings theatre is a great Japanese Restaurant, recently voted best in UK, is excellent, been a couple of times, not been disappointed

http://harajukukitchen.co.uk/