View Full Version : Recent Restaurant Visits Reviews
Pages :
[
5]
MagicSwirlingShip
15-04-2019, 12:25 AM
Had a lovely Sunday Roast at The Waterside Bistro in Haddington after a walk round Tyningham beach.
Superb food and service, would highly recommend!
15-04-2019, 06:38 AM
Had a lovely Sunday Roast at The Waterside Bistro in Haddington after a walk round Tyningham beach.
Superb food and service, would highly recommend!
The Waterside is excellent, drank in there on and off for years and lost count of the amount of times I’ve ate in there as it’s my friend and his family who own it.
Also a beautiful setting for a bevvy outside on the river in the summer.
15-04-2019, 07:04 AM
The Waterside is excellent, drank in there on and off for years and lost count of the amount of times I’ve ate in there as it’s my friend and his family who own it.
Did it not close in 2017 and change ownership, or am I thinking of elsewhere?
MagicSwirlingShip
15-04-2019, 07:49 AM
Was my first time there Sean, really great ! Pass my praise onto the team if you know them, seemed a really well ran place, lots of friendly staff, ace menu, welcoming atmosphere.
Will be a regular stop off after summer walks down East Lothian, were loads of dishes I fancied on the menu.
alhibby
15-04-2019, 08:53 AM
Went to Southside Scran in Bruntsfield, a Tom Kitchin place, on Saturday, great food , £21-95 for 3 course set lunch , enjoyed the experience but have to say
the wines etc were very expensive for what is advertised as a gastro pub, cheapest bottle of white was £26. Still recommend it though
pollution
15-04-2019, 11:26 AM
Was my first time there Sean, really great ! Pass my praise onto the team if you know them, seemed a really well ran place, lots of friendly staff, ace menu, welcoming atmosphere.
Will be a regular stop off after summer walks down East Lothian, were loads of dishes I fancied on the menu.
We used to frequent the Waterside throughout the Nineties and it was a superb place run by Jim Findlay (?) who was the most professional
and welcoming of hosts. Not fussy, nothing too much bother etc etc. He then opened in N Berwick and now I believe his sons own the Waterside.
Next time we are in the area we will go in. The setting alone in the Summer is second to none by the river.
15-04-2019, 11:38 AM
Did it not close in 2017 and change ownership, or am I thinking of elsewhere?
It’s been closed a few times due to flooding, was known as the laughing duck for a period of time and has had a few different owners but it’s now back to its real name and has been the last few years and the current owner is in his second spell of ownership. It’s booming and well deserved. Great place
15-04-2019, 11:50 AM
It’s been closed a few times due to flooding, was known as the laughing duck for a period of time and has had a few different owners but it’s now back to its real name and has been the last few years and the current owner is in his second spell of ownership. It’s booming and well deserved. Great place
👍
Piatto Verde on Dundee Terrace is an excellent Italian, small restaurant but food is delicious.
16-04-2019, 07:22 AM
Went to the Sheep Heid Inn for lunch yesterday. They do a good 2 courses for £12 deal over lunch, and have a beer garden out the back for a little spring sunshine.
16-04-2019, 02:33 PM
I was in Vittorias on Leith Walk last weekend for lunch, had the baked sardine to start and the carbonara for the main and both were really tasty. Service was good, we got overcharged for an item that should have been charged to another table - I never noticed but by the time I got home the restaurant had emailed to highlight the mistake and offer the refund, which I thought was excellent service (essentially, I had paid and wouldn't have checked if it was right after the event, so it was good that they did that).
Would definitely go back.
19-04-2019, 06:55 PM
Just had an afternoon sesh in Broughton Street, went to Pickles in between pubs for mixed meat and cheese platter which was fantastic as a snack. It’s a very small place that only does cheese/meat platters. We finished in Rollo for dinner which again was very good.
21-04-2019, 04:14 PM
Bertie’s on Victoria Street is fantastic. Brilliant fish and chips food and the service is top notch. Desserts are also great as well! 😋
Definitely will go back and highly recommend it to anyone that hasn’t been yet.
22-04-2019, 08:09 AM
Was at Gaucho on St Andrews Square on Saturday.
10/10. The steaks we had were unbelievable and the service was faultless. Will definitely be back there in the not too distant future.
23-04-2019, 05:24 AM
Went to Cold Town House yesterday to the rooftop bar for some sun. They have a full menu indoors but only do pizza on the roof. The pizza was possibly the best I’ve ever had in Edinburgh. :agree:
23-04-2019, 03:56 PM
I was in Vittorias on Leith Walk last weekend for lunch, had the baked sardine to start and the carbonara for the main and both were really tasty. Service was good, we got overcharged for an item that should have been charged to another table - I never noticed but by the time I got home the restaurant had emailed to highlight the mistake and offer the refund, which I thought was excellent service (essentially, I had paid and wouldn't have checked if it was right after the event, so it was good that they did that).
Would definitely go back.
Good to hear it. Vittorias was a regular for my family for birthday meals, partly because my mum is extremely fussy but stopped going as we thought it had slipped a wee bit and wasn’t as good as it used to be. Hopefully give it another bash.
speedy_gonzales
25-04-2019, 05:56 PM
Was at a loose end last night so popped in to Berties @ Victoria St with wife & daughter.
Quite liked the setting and was looking forward to some decent scran,,,,felt a bit let down if I'm honest.
Daughter & I had fish & chips (her cod, me haddock). Both fish had that wet bite to them reminiscent of a really poor chippy. The (double cooked) chips themselves weren't much better, if anything they were undercooked as they were fairly "al dente". The daughter had bread & butter on the side which was probably the highlight of the meal for her, I opted for the potato fritters and at £2 for a bowl for 6 or so I initially thought good value. Pity, as they were pretty inedible and dripping in grease!
The wife went for "Berties Frito" which is a basket of mixed fried goods (haddock/cod/scampi/squid), she thought the squid & scampi were decent but the fish was tasteless and, again, wet.
We were asked how the meal went and we fed back as positively as we could, the server did apologise and mentioned they had had nothing but good reviews and hoped we'd still visit again.
At least we got the 20% off with the ST,,,,very much doubt I'll be back though, far too many other options out there to waste time and money in the hope that they are actually capable of better.
25-04-2019, 06:05 PM
Was at a loose end last night so popped in to Berties @ Victoria St with wife & daughter.
Quite liked the setting and was looking forward to some decent scran,,,,felt a bit let down if I'm honest.
Daughter & I had fish & chips (her cod, me haddock). Both fish had that wet bite to them reminiscent of a really poor chippy. The (double cooked) chips themselves weren't much better, if anything they were undercooked as they were fairly "al dente". The daughter had bread & butter on the side which was probably the highlight of the meal for her, I opted for the potato fritters and at £2 for a bowl for 6 or so I initially thought good value. Pity, as they were pretty inedible and dripping in grease!
The wife went for "Berties Frito" which is a basket of mixed fried goods (haddock/cod/scampi/squid), she thought the squid & scampi were decent but the fish was tasteless and, again, wet.
We were asked how the meal went and we fed back as positively as we could, the server did apologise and mentioned they had had nothing but good reviews and hoped we'd still visit again.
At least we got the 20% off with the ST,,,,very much doubt I'll be back though, far too many other options out there to waste time and money in the hope that they are actually capable of better.
Fair do’s. I’ve been to Bertie’s as well and well I absolutely loved it. Planning a trip tomorrow evening there with the Mrs.
speedy_gonzales
25-04-2019, 06:12 PM
Fair do’s. I’ve been to Bertie’s as well and well I absolutely loved it. Planning a trip tomorrow evening there with the Mrs.
I sincerely hope you have a better experience than I did. I know folk that went when it opened and waxed lyrical about it. Maybe it was just a bad day in the kitchen for someone!
patch1875
26-04-2019, 07:28 AM
Good to hear it. Vittorias was a regular for my family for birthday meals, partly because my mum is extremely fussy but stopped going as we thought it had slipped a wee bit and wasn’t as good as it used to be. Hopefully give it another bash.
I’ve drifted away from them for similar reasons still good but maybe not as good as it used to be it’s also getting pretty pricy for an Italian.
Still go to Taste Of Italy often which I love similar quality food decent value and good atmosphere.
26-04-2019, 07:47 AM
I’ve drifted away from them for similar reasons still good but maybe not as good as it used to be it’s also getting pretty pricy for an Italian.
Still go to Taste Of Italy often which I love similar quality food decent value and good atmosphere.
Speaking of Italians, the wife and I went to Quattro Zero before an evening do at the Caledonian Hotel. Absolutely fantastic food and proper value for money. Speaks volumes that this place was heaving and the neighbouring Zizzis was empty.
On Queensferry Street in the west end 👍🏻
28-04-2019, 06:11 PM
Speaking of Italians, the wife and I went to Quattro Zero before an evening do at the Caledonian Hotel. Absolutely fantastic food and proper value for money. Speaks volumes that this place was heaving and the neighbouring Zizzis was empty.
Quattro Zero do a superb value lunch menu.
28-04-2019, 08:38 PM
Their £1 pizzas are amazing. I feel guilty each time I buy one that I'm somehow stealing from them. :greengrin
28-04-2019, 08:40 PM
Their £1 pizzas are amazing. I feel guilty each time I buy one that I'm somehow stealing from them. :greengrin
£1?! I haven’t been for a while so that must be a new thing? I think last time I went they done takeaway pizzas for £4 or a 2 course sit in for 6 or 7. What’s the script with £1 pizza? :greengrin
28-04-2019, 08:53 PM
£1?! I haven’t been for a while so that must be a new thing? I think last time I went they done takeaway pizzas for £4 or a 2 course sit in for 6 or 7. What’s the script with £1 pizza? :greengrin
I've not been since I moved to the other side of town over a year ago, but they do individual sized pizzas for £1 - margarita, pepperoni, or ham and mushroom.
They're a reasonable enough size for a lunch though I'd say. :aok:
30-04-2019, 09:25 PM
We only had tapas but enjoyed it in Barologist in Leith
30-04-2019, 09:51 PM
I ate out twice last week.
Voujon at Newington. Decent enough as far as Indian goes, not a cuisine I'd normally choose to eat when I'm out. Had the North Indian garlic chilli chicken which was on the hot side of medium.
Basement on Broughton Street. This was mentioned on the 'crap restaurants' thread but I think that's harsh. It wasn't somewhere I'd rush back to but it done a job. Roasted cauliflower tacos, pork gorditas and sweet wings. The taco was very good, the rest was fine.
01-05-2019, 07:19 AM
I ate out twice last week.
Voujon at Newington. Decent enough as far as Indian goes, not a cuisine I'd normally choose to eat when I'm out. Had the North Indian garlic chilli chicken which was on the hot side of medium.
Basement on Broughton Street. This was mentioned on the 'crap restaurants' thread but I think that's harsh. It wasn't somewhere I'd rush back to but it done a job. Roasted cauliflower tacos, pork gorditas and sweet wings. The taco was very good, the rest was fine.
I just realised where the basement was and that I've eaten there before. My food was good too - went for the fajitas on a skillet - but the portion was nowhere near the £14 price tag.
Other than that it's a good bar 👍🏻
01-05-2019, 07:50 AM
Wahaca - I went in with relatively low expectations for lunch last week but thought it was nice food at a good price. The chicken and avocado tacos were really nice.
Usquabae - A lovely setting. Helped that it was a Monday evening and so could just a "cave". Had the fish and chips which was really nice and a hearty portion.
Would recommend both. :aok:
01-05-2019, 09:45 AM
You have to watch with their lunch menu.
I work round the corner from there, and it can leave you so stuffed (for a modest outlay) that you don't want to do anything other than lie down and sleep.
What you get from there is always great value though.
pollution
02-05-2019, 11:15 AM
Slightly off thread but for fish and chips Franco's in Dalkeith is the one.
Huge thick haddock perfectly fried, every time. For years we have been going there.
stuart-farquhar
07-05-2019, 11:26 AM
The Lasagna at The Jolly on Elm Row is sublime. Honest!
07-05-2019, 11:29 AM
The Lasagna at The Jolly on Elm Row is sublime. Honest!
The Jolly was a great Italian at one time. Nothing fancy, just decent staples. Their pizza was excellent. Last time I was in I thought it had gone a bit downhill but that was at least a couple of years ago so I could be tempted to try again.
07-05-2019, 12:19 PM
Went to Quattro Zero at the weekend. Very good.
StevesFamau5
07-05-2019, 02:17 PM
The Jolly was a great Italian at one time. Nothing fancy, just decent staples. Their pizza was excellent. Last time I was in I thought it had gone a bit downhill but that was at least a couple of years ago so I could be tempted to try again.
Used to be a weekly trip for me but last time I went the pizza was poor, like you it was a couple of years back.
Will need to try again though, surely it can't be worse.
On another note, portions were small but Mother India is sublime.. :aok:
14-05-2019, 12:54 AM
Went to Monterey Jacks in Dunfermline on Friday evening, thought it was poor value and a bit of a mixed bag with the for. Wife and 2 of the kids got burgers and thought they were fantastic, I had their Southern fried chicken and Mac & Cheese, and I thought it was rank, and my youngest had their pizza which was pretty poor as well.
One main each and a drink came to £90 with the tip. Won't be rushing back.
Tried the King's Manor on Sunday. Service was good but the food want up to much. I had nachos which had definitely seen better days and haggis bon bons which were decent but not spectacular.
Probably wouldn't be rushing back to that one either.
14-05-2019, 01:31 AM
Went to Monterey Jacks in Dunfermline on Friday evening, thought it was poor value and a bit of a mixed bag with the for. Wife and 2 of the kids got burgers and thought they were fantastic, I had their Southern fried chicken and Mac & Cheese, and I thought it was rank, and my youngest had their pizza which was pretty poor as well.
One main each and a drink came to £90 with the tip. Won't be rushing back.
Tried the King's Manor on Sunday. Service was good but the food want up to much. I had nachos which had definitely seen better days and haggis bon bons which were decent but not spectacular.
Probably wouldn't be rushing back to that one either.
Matty, how do you rate the Anstruther fish bar? I know it has a good reputation, is that still the case? My son loves fish and chips and I’ve been planning to take him to the Secret Bunker for a while as he loves that sort of stuff. Anstruther doesn’t feel like too much of a detour for a good feed.
Any other recommendations for your side of the Bridge are welcome too - trying to persuade my daughter to do the swimming with sharks at Deep Sea World and somewhere nice for lunch afterwards would be good.
14-05-2019, 08:17 AM
Contemplating the Ivy on Friday night with my girlfriend. Recommended?
14-05-2019, 08:20 AM
We only had tapas but enjoyed it in Barologist in Leith
Not food related but was in Barologist a few weeks back and after a full day drinking lager I couldn’t face another pint - opted for a Mojito. Worst one I’ve ever had, tasted like a large glass of lime cordial!
14-05-2019, 09:01 AM
It's alright. The food was decent enough when I went, that was when it first opened thoough, so a while back now.
14-05-2019, 09:27 AM
Easier to answer if you put her picture up.
14-05-2019, 09:38 AM
:top marks Excellent!
14-05-2019, 09:54 AM
alhibby
14-05-2019, 10:09 AM
Went to Passorn Thai in Brougham Place Tollcross, easily the best Thai we've had, better than Chaiopraya that we have enjoyed many times,
14-05-2019, 10:21 AM
Went to Passorn Thai in Brougham Place Tollcross, easily the best Thai we've had, better than Chaiopraya that we have enjoyed many times,
have you tried Nok's Kitchen in Stockbridge? Very good.
alhibby
14-05-2019, 10:37 AM
have you tried Nok's Kitchen in Stockbridge? Very good.
Cheers mate, love Thai, tried a few but not that one, will add to the list :wink:
14-05-2019, 12:38 PM
I used to love Chaiopraya but haven’t been in almost 3 years now. I remember they changed the menu and I wasn’t keen on it after when I went to try it out.
16-05-2019, 11:56 AM
Matty, how do you rate the Anstruther fish bar? I know it has a good reputation, is that still the case? My son loves fish and chips and I’ve been planning to take him to the Secret Bunker for a while as he loves that sort of stuff. Anstruther doesn’t feel like too much of a detour for a good feed.
Any other recommendations for your side of the Bridge are welcome too - trying to persuade my daughter to do the swimming with sharks at Deep Sea World and somewhere nice for lunch afterwards would be good.
We went there last night, funnily enough - it's excellent, IMHO.
Be prepared for a bit of a wait if you go when it's busy, we arrived at about 7pm last night and were served and out within 10-15 minutes, which is pretty good for there.
Everything is cooked to order, and for me you'll struggle for a nicer fish supper. The biggest problem I have with it is that it ruins fish suppers elsewhere because they're nowhere near as nice.
16-05-2019, 06:08 PM
Fanbloodytastic, go there once every couple of months. Fish supper and a single fish or single red pudding depending what mood I'm in. The wait in the queue is well worth it. Try and avoid Saturdays and Sundays in the the summer months between sort of 4pm-7pm as it is rammed and not unknown for the queue to be several hundred yards long.
patch1875
16-05-2019, 06:16 PM
I had to google to see what a red pudding is, sounds good!
16-05-2019, 06:18 PM
Be prepared for a bit of a wait if you go when it's busy, we arrived at about 7pm last night and were served and out within 10-15 minutes, which is pretty good for there.
Everything is cooked to order, and for me you'll struggle for a nicer fish supper. The biggest problem I have with it is that it ruins fish suppers elsewhere because they're nowhere near as nice.
Fanbloodytastic, go there once every couple of months. Fish supper and a single fish or single red pudding depending what mood I'm in. The wait in the queue is well worth it. Try and avoid Saturdays and Sundays in the the summer months between sort of 4pm-7pm as it is rammed and not unknown for the queue to be several hundred yards long.
Cheers guys. The chippy in Jedburgh is cook to order and very decent but because Jed is such a tourist haven I’m used to the twenty-odd minute waits!
Not had a red pudding since I was a kid so one of those might be in order.
Looking forward to trying it. The best fish and chips I’ve had to date was probably Tobermory though that was scallops and fish to be precise. Gandolfi Fish in Glasgow is excellent but it is more of a sit-in than a takeaway.
I will look to get up to the Secret Bunker and Anstruther in the school holidays and avoid the weekends :aok:
17-05-2019, 06:41 AM
I've not been for a while now. Recently I was in Whitby, and the fish and chips I had from Trenchers there were brilliant. I considered them the best I'd had, but I think that's a good excuse to make sure I get myself around to anstruther again this summer to compare.
I had to google to see what a red pudding is, sounds good!
It's my favourite order when I'm back in Fife. :agree:
24-05-2019, 02:38 PM
Had my 1st visit yesterday to the German Doner Kebab restaurant in Renfield St Glasgow. Must admit the quality was tremendous
I had the German Doner Kebab Lamb, but you can get it with chicken or Beef, as well as many other dishes.
Think they use a toasted sesame bread, along with your salad, and the choice of 3 sauces, still licking my lips
Only 2 in Scotland now, Glasgow and Edinburgh, but one opening in Edinburgh very soon, in the old Dario’s on Lothian Rd
Definitely worth a visit
18-06-2019, 12:17 PM
We went to East Coast in Musselburgh for Fathers Day on Sunday, it was brilliant! Food was lovely, generous portions and reasonably priced :aok:
26-06-2019, 06:57 PM
Just back from La Riva in Leith, loved it.
Got a deal on ITISON for pizza or pasta for 2 people for £12, amazing value. Food was outstanding.
Mr Grieves
28-06-2019, 10:49 PM
Bento ya
Probably the cheapest Japanese food and drink in Edinburgh but still decent quality, and I’ve been to Japan
27-07-2019, 05:15 PM
Went to Berties Fish & Chips on Victoria Street this evening.
Food was good, no complaints at all. The service however was absolutely brilliant. I had my bairn with me, she's just under 2. A lot of places claim to be 'child friendly' but basically just treat you like an inconvenience. I can honestly say every member of staff was great with my daughter. I really don't ask for much when I have her out but nothing was too much trouble for them and that isn't always the case, even with the little things.
If you are looking for somewhere to take a child then I would definitely recommend. It's part of the Vittoria Group and I would say they are one of the best at catering for families in the city. 20% off food with a Hibs ST is also a welcome bonus.
27-07-2019, 05:37 PM
Went to the Chinese Manor House in Corstorphine for the first time last week, even though I have lived in Corstorphine long before it opened it's just one place I never tried. Went last Saturday as friends wanted to go, we arrived slightly early for our booked table, no problem at all shown to our table straight away and given menus immediately.
Someone will be back to take your drink order was what we were told, that never happened and we spent the next fifteen minutes trying to get someone's attention to take a drink order. I eventually left my seat and approached who I believe was in charge and asked for someone to take a drink order which they did............a further five minutes later. Drinks came quickly and we continued to chat and choose our food, all good. Ordered food and also a second drink, once again no sign of second drink as we all sat with empty glasses until I asked again for our drinks. The whole evening service wise continued in the same vein, anything we wanted we had to ask twice for and nothing came quickly.
The food I have to say was top notch and some of the best Chinese dishes I have had with a menu selection far better than most others. The brandies for me and my mate after our meal were served in high ball glasses with ice! These were promptly sent back and an apology followed claiming the barman was new. To be fair the next couple of brandies we had were served at the correct temperature and in the correct glasses. To summarise, the food was excellent, the service was dire and we probably won't return.
27-07-2019, 06:38 PM
Had a wee run last week of eating out four nights in a row, three in Inverness, one in Jedburgh.
The Inverness restaurants were returns so I have probably posted about them before.
Aspendos is a Turkish restaurant in the city centre. It’s traditional. The portions are huge (they don’t look huge when they arrive, you only realise halfway in), the food is fresh and tasty and the service is very friendly. Prices are relatively cheap if you use Edinburgh as a benchmark.
Rocpool is one of the fine dining establishments in Inverness and is fully booked throughout the summer. I hadn’t been for a while and while the menu hadn’t changed much it was exquisite nonetheless. Very much Edinburgh prices.
My favourite in Inverness is the River House. Like the two aforementioned it is central. The River House specialises in fish and seafood, sourced locally where at all possible. The food is some of the best fish and seafood I have had in this country. The chef/patron, Alfie, is an absolutely lovely guy who clearly cares about his customers. He has really good staff and basically just delivers very, very good food very well. If you find yourself in Inverness it is definitely worth prioritising but again, they are usually booked out so making a reservation in advance is crucial.
Final of the four was the Capon Tree in Jedburgh, a lovely restaurant where the husband cooks and the wife runs front of house. I think it won an award last year for best French restaurant in Scotland - their food is delicious and they have a very good and considered wine list. I appreciate this site will naturally be Edinburgh-centric but if one finds oneself in Inverness or Jed then I can heartily recommend all of these establishments.
28-07-2019, 09:33 PM
Meant to do a wee mention for The Lookout at Gardeners Cottage a few weeks ago.
It’s certainly not cheap, but the food was outstanding (we both had the 6 course tasting menus - my girlfriend had the veggie tasting menu), the service was excellent, and the place itself is beautiful. Unbelievable views across the city.
https://www.thelookoutedinburgh.co/
Mr Grieves
03-08-2019, 01:52 PM
This isn't a restaurant, but I recommend the Pitt Market. Cracking food and beer stalls, always good pre match
03-08-2019, 01:58 PM
I went to Purslane in Stockbridge a week ago and I would recommend it. A lot of thought in the menu. Matched wines to dishes worth it as well.
patch1875
08-09-2019, 04:10 PM
Omar Khayyam last night was excellent.
Staff were great and food was superb it’s a tough choice to make with Rustom across the road.
08-09-2019, 05:08 PM
There’s a new Indian Restaurant opened in Corstorphine called Dangal , haven’t tried it yet but will do.
patch1875
08-09-2019, 05:19 PM
There’s a new Indian Restaurant opened in Corstorphine called Dangal , haven’t tried it yet but will do.
Seen that, think I will wait for a few more reviews no great at the moment but might just be teething troubles.
08-09-2019, 05:21 PM
Staff were great and food was superb it’s a tough choice to make with Rustom across the road.
I really like it there.
I had my first delivery from Delta for about 2 years last night. It was not good. Tasteless actually. Both dishes were very disappointing. Shame cos it used to be good.
patch1875
08-09-2019, 05:23 PM
I really like it there.
I had my first delivery from Delta for about 2 years last night. It was not good. Tasteless actually. Both dishes were very disappointing. Shame cos it used to be good.
Gave up on Delta a while ago definitely not as good as it was, Asha is still my local favourite.
08-09-2019, 05:38 PM
Corstorphine now has:
5 Indian Restaurants (if you include Drumbrae)
3 Chinese Restaurants
1 Mediterranean Restaurant
1 Italian Restaurant
1 Indian Takeaway
1 Chinese Takeaway
1 Scottish/ Bar Restaurant
1 Carvery Restaurant
1 Burger/Grill Takeaway
2 Pizza Takeaways
1 Chipshop
1 Chicken Takeaway
1 McDonalds
1 Wetherspoons
3 other pubs that serve food
4 Cafe’s
1 Mimi’s Bakehouse
1 Costa Coffee
1 Greggs
1 Giant supermarket with a Costa inside
That’s some amount of places to eat!
08-09-2019, 05:45 PM
Corstorphine now has:
5 Indian Restaurants (if you include Drumbrae)
3 Chinese Restaurants
1 Mediterranean Restaurant
1 Italian Restaurant
1 Indian Takeaway
1 Chinese Takeaway
1 Scottish/ Bar Restaurant
1 Carvery Restaurant
1 Burger/Grill Takeaway
2 Pizza Takeaways
1 Chipshop
1 Chicken Takeaway
1 McDonalds
1 Wetherspoons
3 other pubs that serve food
4 Cafe’s
1 Mimi’s Bakehouse
1 Costa Coffee
1 Greggs
1 Giant supermarket with a Costa inside
That’s some amount of places to eat!
The best in Edinburgh bar none.
08-09-2019, 05:45 PM
Staff were great and food was superb it’s a tough choice to make with Rustom across the road.I had my first Indian meal in Omar Khayyam and loved it (nothing like the curries made by my mum or the Chinese takeaways). I've returned regularly over the years and the food never seems to change. Even the coffee's the same.
08-09-2019, 06:14 PM
Have you been recently?
We normally have a chippie tea once a month or so but got a fish supper from the BBQ a couple of months ago and it just wasn't right - batter too soft and same with the chips. Been to the Corbie the last couple of times but they're not great either. Where to get a good chippy now? Anstruther seems a wee bit too far.
08-09-2019, 06:30 PM
Have you been recently?
We normally have a chippie tea once a month or so but got a fish supper from the BBQ a couple of months ago and it just wasn't right - batter too soft and same with the chips. Been to the Corbie the last couple of times but they're not great either. Where to get a good chippy now? Anstruther seems a wee bit too far.
My laddie has had his last two chippys delivered from the one in East Craig’s, not sure of the name. He rates it and delivery is generally about twenty minutes from ordering (we live at top of Kaimes Road).
The thing with a chippy is that from the moment your fish and chips are wrapped they start to deteriate in regard to crispness of chips and batter due to the steam from the heat. That’s one reason I only really enjoy one if I eat it straight away from the paper or box as soon as I get it.
09-09-2019, 08:45 AM
Have you been recently?
I go to Francos on Raeburn Place. Always think it’s very decent.
09-09-2019, 09:06 AM
I go to Francos on Raeburn Place. Always think it’s very decent.
They're chips often seem undercooked, particularly later on in the night.
Went to the fishmarket in Newhaven last week - the fish and chips there were great.
09-09-2019, 09:13 AM
Had my 1st visit yesterday to the German Doner Kebab restaurant in Renfield St Glasgow. Must admit the quality was tremendous
I had the German Doner Kebab Lamb, but you can get it with chicken or Beef, as well as many other dishes.
Think they use a toasted sesame bread, along with your salad, and the choice of 3 sauces, still licking my lips
Only 2 in Scotland now, Glasgow and Edinburgh, but one opening in Edinburgh very soon, in the old Dario’s on Lothian Rd
Definitely worth a visit
Went there last Monday after work and really liked it. Was pretty dead as it was a Monday night, so service was very fast. I had the classic doner and my wife had the chicken schnitzel - both were really, really nice. The apple strudel was also great.
And that's before we get to their beers. Some really tasty German wheat beers, pilsners, lagers etc.
Went to the fishmarket in Newhaven last week - the fish and chips there were great.
I've been wanting to try the Newhaven chippy since seeing it on the BBC documentary "Places to eat". It looked really good.
09-09-2019, 09:35 AM
The Fishmarket is very good. Only problem is that since it’s been on a tv show recently the queue always looks to be ginormous. First time I went when it opened I waited nearly an hour and the queues have looked similar lately.
09-09-2019, 10:24 AM
I've been wanting to try the Newhaven chippy since seeing it on the BBC documentary "Places to eat". It looked really good.
That's how I found out about it too(assuming that's the same show I seen). :agree:
The Fishmarket is very good. Only problem is that since it’s been on a tv show recently the queue always looks to be ginormous. First time I went when it opened I waited nearly an hour and the queues have looked similar lately.
People like me jumping on the bandwagon. :wink:
It was a fairly big queue which went down the counter and back on itself to the door when I went, but they had an efficient system running and I'd say the wait was maybe 20 mins max. That was a Wednesday though - I imagine it's brutal on a Friday/Saturday.
09-09-2019, 07:08 PM
That's how I found out about it too(assuming that's the same show I seen). :agree:
People like me jumping on the bandwagon. :wink:
It was a fairly big queue which went down the counter and back on itself to the door when I went, but they had an efficient system running and I'd say the wait was maybe 20 mins max. That was a Wednesday though - I imagine it's brutal on a Friday/Saturday.
I can’t remember what days it has been but it’s been out the door and probably about 30 yards back towards the main road quite a few times recently :agree:
mvteng
10-09-2019, 01:52 PM
The Bar B Que. Nah, dont rate it at all. Used to much prefer St.Johns. Still to find a good alternative
mvteng
10-09-2019, 01:53 PM
My laddie has had his last two chippys delivered from the one in East Craig’s, not sure of the name.
The Sultan. Not bad
10-09-2019, 02:02 PM
The Bar B Que. Nah, dont rate it at all. Used to much prefer St.Johns. Still to find a good alternative
I liked St Johns too, considering there used to be chippies at Roseburn, Western Corner and St Johns Road the Bar B Que has little competition now.
Rattler
10-09-2019, 05:34 PM
Don’t rate the Bar B Que either. Used to be really good, but maybe that was in the day of St. John’s or Tarry’s in Corstorphine.
Might also be the small fact that we bought our house from the family who own the Bar B Que. When we moved in there wasn’t even a light pendant on any of the ceilings - all removed! 😡
11-09-2019, 09:10 PM
Anyone tried Scott's at South Queensferry?
Got a lunch booked there tomorrow.
The Pointer
11-09-2019, 09:42 PM
I went to Purslane in Stockbridge a week ago and I would recommend it. A lot of thought in the menu. Matched wines to dishes worth it as well.
Went there for my 60th a couple of years ago with a crowd of friends. It was excellent and I can heartily recommend it. One of the best meals I've had in this country. Beautifully prepared, cooked and served with a good selection of wines. You also have the added bonus of The Bailie opposite for post dinner pints (I know you shouldn't).
mvteng
12-09-2019, 08:46 AM
Anyone tried Scott's at South Queensferry?
Got a lunch booked there tomorrow.
Hope you enjoy it. Views are good
I thought the food was ok, but nothing special.
It was absolutely packed when we were there, so they must be doing something right.
wouldnt rush back
12-09-2019, 09:14 AM
It was absolutely packed when we were there, so they must be doing something right.
wouldnt rush back
I’d agree with this. Brilliant location, lovely decor. Been a few times as we’ve been given vouchers, but think it’s average
Scott’s are opening another place In Linlithgow sometime
ChooseLife
12-09-2019, 09:59 AM
The Sultan. Not bad
Chips and kebabs are decent but their pizzas are way too doughy, 2 slices and you're full and not in a good way, best pizzas in the area are Robertos/BBQ but both are pretty inconsistent!
I live in Leith now and the drop in standard of Chinese takeaway compared to west Edinburgh is crazy, I would usually order from the Royal Dynasty or the Treasure Cottage (which has dropped in quality since the removal of the illegal workers) and nowhere in Leith comes close to the curry sauce and quality from these 2, I've tried about 6 (Juiding, Lee's Kitchen, Silver Bowl to name 3) hopefully someone can recommend a decent one similar to the treasure cottage :greengrin
mvteng
12-09-2019, 10:05 AM
Chips and kebabs are decent but their pizzas are way too doughy, 2 slices and you're full and not in a good way, best pizzas in the area are Robertos/BBQ but both are pretty inconsistent!
Not tried Robertos. I'll give it a go.
Tend to use Papa johns at Sighthill for Pizza
12-09-2019, 10:55 AM
wouldnt rush back
I’d agree with this. Brilliant location, lovely decor. Been a few times as we’ve been given vouchers, but think it’s average
Scott’s are opening another place In Linlithgow sometime
the food was fine, unspectacular, and if it didn't have the location is does, I wouldn't recommend it to people.
12-09-2019, 06:37 PM
I live in Leith now and the drop in standard of Chinese takeaway compared to west Edinburgh is crazy, I would usually order from the Royal Dynasty or the Treasure Cottage (which has dropped in quality since the removal of the illegal workers) and nowhere in Leith comes close to the curry sauce and quality from these 2, I've tried about 6 (Juiding, Lee's Kitchen, Silver Bowl to name 3) hopefully someone can recommend a decent one similar to the treasure cottage :greengrin
No idea about Chinese but if you're in Leith Pierinos down the shore do the best Pizzas in town.
14-09-2019, 11:32 AM
Went back to La Riva in Leith yesterday lunchtime, excellent food there.
They do a cracking lunchtime deal as well, pizza or pasta and a soft drink for £5.99
27-09-2019, 09:33 PM
La Cueva in Dundee. Tapas bar and doesn’t look much but the chef and owners are Spanish and the food is fantastic. Really authentic high quality ingredients cooked simply and it’s heavenly.
28-09-2019, 03:23 AM
Has anyone eaten at Taisteal in Stockbridge?
28-09-2019, 06:50 AM
About a year ago ..was fine ..nothing to write home about , but not underwhelming either
28-09-2019, 09:01 AM
If you’re in Stockbridge you’re far better off in Noks Kitchen or Scran & Scallie
28-09-2019, 09:43 AM
If you’re in Stockbridge you’re far better off in Noks Kitchen or Scran & Scallie
I’d add Rollo to that list ....
28-09-2019, 12:34 PM
At my favourite Indian in Corstorphine tonight, Eastern Pavilion never been disappointed there.
28-09-2019, 07:38 PM
At my favourite Indian in Corstorphine tonight, Eastern Pavilion never been disappointed there.
I was there last night (for the first time). The curries were good but both starters were a bit disappointing.
29-09-2019, 12:01 AM
I was there last night (for the first time). The curries were good but both starters were a bit disappointing.
Another excellent Indian meal in Eastern Pavilion tonight for us, really can’t see past it in Corstorphine.
patch1875
29-09-2019, 07:04 AM
Another excellent Indian meal in Eastern Pavilion tonight for us, really can’t see past it in Corstorphine.
Need to give it a try, I stay just along the road and never been.
29-09-2019, 09:20 PM
I’ve been once. Was fine, I don’t think I’d bother going back though.
mvteng
30-09-2019, 08:34 AM
Had a takeaway from Slumdog at he weekend. Really good, pretty expensive compared to our normal , Abida, but food was definitely better.
I think at least one of the Corstorphine Indians will close, I dont see how there can be enough business for all of them
speedy_gonzales
30-09-2019, 04:52 PM
Had a takeaway from Slumdog at he weekend. Really good, pretty expensive compared to our normal , Abida, but food was definitely better.
I think at least one of the Corstorphine Indians will close, I dont see how there can be enough business for all of them
See another one opened within the last month, Dangal. Opened in the shop that used to be Cafe Rosa.
30-09-2019, 05:31 PM
I was there a few months ago, can’t remember if I posted about it on here. It was pleasant enough, and I would go back though it wouldn’t be high, high priority - but that’s as much to do with the sheer amount of choice in Edinburgh as anything else.
Food was good and the service was friendly. We had the tasting menu with matched drinks and the variation at Taisteal was that it wasn’t all wines. Struggling to remember what they were but there was at least one beer and a cocktail IIRC.
mvteng
01-10-2019, 08:57 AM
See another one opened within the last month, Dangal. Opened in the shop that used to be Cafe Rosa.
Not tried it yet. Just dont understand how they can all survive in such a small area
01-10-2019, 09:06 AM
Not tried it yet. Just dont understand how they can all survive in such a small area
I know 3 or 4 folk that live in Corstorphine sort of area and to be honest they seem to be fuelled by Indian food :greengrin.
01-10-2019, 10:48 AM
We all signed an agreement when we moved to Corstorphine to consume at least two Indian meals a week. I’ve honoured that agreement for 27 years 😁
01-10-2019, 12:42 PM
I know 3 or 4 folk that live in Corstorphine sort of area and to be honest they seem to be fuelled by Indian food :greengrin.
My new burd lives in Corstorphine. We are going to do an East to West Corstorphine Indian trail. Started last week at Eastern Pavilion. Not sure which is the next one along. We’re doing the same with the Corstorphine Chinese places too but West to East.
Edit: obviously not all in the one evening... I’m fat but not that fat!
01-10-2019, 12:57 PM
My new burd lives in Corstorphine. We are going to do an East to West Corstorphine Indian trail. Started last week at Eastern Pavilion. Not sure which is the next one along. We’re doing the same with the Corstorphine Chinese places too but West to East.
Edit: obviously not all in the one evening... I’m fat but not that fat!
Next Indian along is St Johns Curry Club
speedy_gonzales
01-10-2019, 01:47 PM
Next Indian along is St Johns Curry Club
Only if you miss out "curry night" at the White Lady,,,,
**Joking, obviously**
01-10-2019, 01:50 PM
Starting at the best one (Chinese Manor House) and ending at the worst (Cool Jade)
01-10-2019, 03:38 PM
Starting at the best one (Chinese Manor House) and ending at the worst (Cool Jade)
Cool Jade opposite the Zoo gets very good reviews from everyone I have spoken to yet my one visit was a big disappointment.
01-10-2019, 04:49 PM
Cool Jade opposite the Zoo gets very good reviews from everyone I have spoken to yet my one visit was a big disappointment.
It’s actually my favourite
The fried rice at the Manor House is always soggy
02-10-2019, 07:40 AM
Same for me. I’d heard good things. The food was so bland. I didn’t think anything we ordered was good.
Wouldn’t go back.
03-10-2019, 07:55 PM
Went to Franco Manca tonight at St Andrews Square for pizza.
6/10, wasn't up to much IMO.
03-10-2019, 09:34 PM
Tried the Cavaliere in Dalkieth this evening.
Quite a nice Italian I thought. Haggis arincini was something a bit different but very tasty. 2 courses for £15 isn't bad value either. :aok:
04-10-2019, 07:39 AM
Kismot Indian and Bangladeshi food at St Leonards. Was there last weekend - again - and as always the food was excellent. Family run and never a fail in many visits.
05-10-2019, 10:02 PM
At Queens Spice in South Queensferry tonight, had a fantastic night, food was excellent. The restaurant itself looks a bit tired but food was top notch.
05-10-2019, 11:25 PM
Trying El Cartel at Teviot tomorrow.
MagicSwirlingShip
06-10-2019, 01:38 AM
Best Taco's in toon. Jalapeno Poppers are also superb
06-10-2019, 09:57 AM
It's excellent. Try the ox tongue tacos, they are unbelievably good.
speedy_gonzales
06-10-2019, 12:20 PM
I'm sure the menus/food will be the exact same but I prefer the sister establishment over at Thistle Street.
Apart from the excellent soft tacos, they're worth the visit just for the frozen Margheritas and the extensive list of tequila!
06-10-2019, 12:39 PM
I'm sure the menus/food will be the exact same but I prefer the sister establishment over at Thistle Street.
Apart from the excellent soft tacos, they're worth the visit just for the frozen Margheritas and the extensive list of tequila!
We chose Teviot because you can book a table. How easy is it getting a seat at the Thistle one?
speedy_gonzales
06-10-2019, 01:02 PM
We chose Teviot because you can book a table. How easy is it getting a seat at the Thistle one?
Whenever we've went we always get one within half an hour, usually just leave my mobile number and go around to the Queen's Arms for pre-meal pint 🙄
Both are busy places and testament to the quality of the food. I love just ordering a dish at a time, pseudo Mexican tapas. My only gripe would be, I wish their menus had a few more options on them.
06-10-2019, 04:39 PM
Tried Bodega on Leith Walk on Friday night. My first time since they moved back to Leith Walk (went a few times to their previous Leith walk location).
It’s BYOB for wine. We started with classic margaritas which were very good. Had the guacamole and black bean dip to start. Ordering both was a mistake. The guacamole was good but nothing special. The black bean dip was amazing. I’d just order the black bean dip between the two of us in future. It slightly irked us that they brought the chips for both then when they realised we had ordered both, immediately took one of the chips away and said we could ask for more if needed... we’re paying for both, so we should get both!
We then shared the cod, chicken, tempura prawn and carnitas tacos. The prawn one was a bit bland. The others were excellent.
All-in-all it was really good. It was perhaps too much food, though. My girlfriend was full so I ended up with both the carnitas tacos. I don’t mind that... I rarely get full.
SneakersO'Toole
06-10-2019, 07:01 PM
Educated Flea for lunch yesterday. Very pleasant meal and excellent value.
07-10-2019, 08:55 AM
I’ve been hunners of times (three times this month :greengrin) to El Cartel. Too late now but the special they had on this weekend - ribs barbacoa - was outstanding. As is the pork and the cod. The only one I ever feel disappointed by is the steak.
07-10-2019, 12:37 PM
I’ve been hunners of times (three times this month :greengrin) to El Cartel. Too late now but the special they had on this weekend - ribs barbacoa - was outstanding. As is the pork and the cod. The only one I ever feel disappointed by is the steak.
It's funny how people like different things as I quite enjoyed the steak one. The special was a chorizo one which was tasty. We tried 7 different dishes between 4 of us and we were all well fed. I found the cod a bit dry personally.
Very enjoyable meal though.
08-10-2019, 09:50 PM
New Spanish restaurant coming to Corstorphine soon in the site of Peach Garden/Imperial Empire Chinese, a welcome addition to the already busy restaurant scene.
09-10-2019, 09:57 AM
New Spanish restaurant coming to Corstorphine soon in the site of Peach Garden/Imperial Empire Chinese, a welcome addition to the already busy restaurant scene.
So is the Chinese closing?
09-10-2019, 11:06 AM
So is the Chinese closing?
Already ceased trading I believe.
09-10-2019, 11:11 AM
Already ceased trading I believe.
Been there for a very long time. Was the Wong family who owned the Great Wall, who owned the premises I believe.
10-10-2019, 03:40 PM
Went with my mum and wife to the Fishmarket on Tuesday. They’ve both wanted to go for a while, but I don’t eat fish!!!
They both had Fish and Chips which the loved
I had the Chicken Goujons, which were lovely too, but I find that £14 for 5 Goujons and Chips is really expensive
11-10-2019, 08:00 AM
Went to El Cartel last night. Didn't see any specials though? :confused:
Had cod and pork tacos which were really good, but the duck leg taco they had was my favourite, sensational.
Also shared the wings, jalapeno poppers, guacamole, and quasadilas which were all good.
A margarita and a Mexican beer (Pacifico - really nice) to wash it all down.
11-10-2019, 08:38 AM
Went to El Cartel last night. Didn't see any specials though? :confused:
Had cod and pork tacos which were really good, but the duck leg taco they had was my favourite, sensational.
Also shared the wings, jalapeno poppers, guacamole, and quasadilas which were all good.
A margarita and a Mexican beer (Pacifico - really nice) to wash it all down.
The specials are usually up on a chalk board (the one with the frozen margaritas on it), you don’t get given a specials menu. They may have just not had any on the board though.
13-10-2019, 02:08 PM
We continued our Corstorphine curry trail last night with a visit to the St John’s Curry Club which is my girlfriend’s favourite. It didn’t start off well as they hadn’t recorded my girlfriend’s booking and it was full. They dealt with it well. We went next door to the White Lady for a cheap drink for half an hour.
Strangely, it was the exact same menu as one of my favourite Indian restaurants, Intouch on Ferry Road. When queried they gave a strange answer that the families are “similar”.
Anyway, the food was excellent. We got the poppadoms on the house for the mixup with the booking. Baby aubergine pakora and chicken pakora were good and a good portion. Karnataka Khum Chicken and Bengali Green Chicken for mains are they were top notch.
Much preferred this to the Eastern Pavilion (booking mixup aside).
13-10-2019, 02:33 PM
We continued our Corstorphine curry trail last night with a visit to the St John’s Curry Club which is my girlfriend’s favourite. It didn’t start off well as they hadn’t recorded my girlfriend’s booking and it was full. They dealt with it well. We went next door to the White Lady for a cheap drink for half an hour.
Strangely, it was the exact same menu as one of my favourite Indian restaurants, Intouch on Ferry Road. When queried they gave a strange answer that the families are “similar”.
Anyway, the food was excellent. We got the poppadoms on the house for the mixup with the booking. Baby aubergine pakora and chicken pakora were good and a good portion. Karnataka Khum Chicken and Bengali Green Chicken for mains are they were top notch.
Much preferred this to the Eastern Pavilion (booking mixup aside).
'Indian' restaurants in Edinburgh are primarily run by Bangladeshis and, less often, Pakistanis. The Bangladeshis all have loads of family connections and quite often flip ownership of the restaurants to each other. In Touch and St John's will almost certainly fall into that group.
13-10-2019, 07:22 PM
'Indian' restaurants in Edinburgh are primarily run by Bangladeshis and, less often, Pakistanis. The Bangladeshis all have loads of family connections and quite often flip ownership of the restaurants to each other. In Touch and St John's will almost certainly fall into that group.
Used to work beside one of the owners of In Touch, really nice guy but always felt it was a bit strange he did a mon-fri 9-5 job then went to the restaurant at night. Was always a bit suspicious if he was really the owner but he drove a car he certainly couldn’t have had on the credit controller job he was doing beside me. Went once or twice and he seemed to be pretty legitimate so think it was more of a family ownership than him actually owning it himself.
Anyway, he was saying it was his family also had the Britannia spice at ocean terminal but there had been a fall out in the family and was quite complicated.
patch1875
13-10-2019, 08:01 PM
Staying in Glenelg this week so trip to the Glenelg Inn tonight. Venison Sunday roast was superb with sticky toffee pud to follow.
14-10-2019, 01:21 PM
Well the Britannia Spice has got everybody talking 😂
14-10-2019, 01:38 PM
Well the Britannia Spice has got everybody talking 😂
Saw that earlier, what a mess! I'm all for businesses defending themselves but they went too far with it, IMHO and that in itself would put me off using them.
14-10-2019, 01:53 PM
Saw that earlier, what a mess! I'm all for businesses defending themselves but they went too far with it, IMHO and that in itself would put me off using them.
It’s just down the road from me so been in a few times with the missus - food was decent enough but zero atmosphere as both occasions we were the only people in. Also drive by it on my way home from work and I’d have thought they’d have been grateful for the custom, considering the size of it and it looks constantly dead.
The manager has came out of this looking worse than the customer, almost as if he thinks he’s above Groupon customers. I’ll not be back.
14-10-2019, 03:38 PM
It’s just down the road from me so been in a few times with the missus - food was decent enough but zero atmosphere as both occasions we were the only people in. Also drive by it on my way home from work and I’d have thought they’d have been grateful for the custom, considering the size of it and it looks constantly dead.
The manager has came out of this looking worse than the customer, almost as if he thinks he’s above Groupon customers. I’ll not be back.
The first time we went is also our last as the place was dead, two tables occupied and no atmosphere. Food was okay nothing special.
patch1875
14-10-2019, 05:07 PM
Not been for ages but always enjoyed the food.
10-11-2019, 03:16 PM
Was at Mother India last night. In Infirmary Street. First time.
Thought it was really good food served in smaller, tapas type dishes. Enabled us to have lots of different tastes at our table. Nice, informal atmosphere. Place was packed. Really good value too.
11-11-2019, 06:07 AM
Went to Hawksmoor again on Saturday. Between 1 and 3, 5 and 7 and after 9pm on a sat they do an express menu - 2 courses for £22 or 3 for £25. Had rump and chips and a sticky toffee pudding sundae. Was immense.
Think they also do that menu from 12-7 every other day or the week.
11-11-2019, 11:44 AM
Was in Tattu on Friday afternoon for some lunch. The cocktails were really good, and I was impressed with the food. I’ll definitely go back soon.
Friday night was in The Scran & Scallie, been there a few times and it’s always great. Finally tried the steak pie which I’ve seen others have before, it was as amazing as it looks.
Going to The Witchery tonight, never been before but the menu looks class.
11-11-2019, 02:56 PM
Coming up for two nights at the end of the month to coincide with the Kilmarnock game.
As my other half was expecting to only be spending £50 all in for a Groupon dinner and B&B package in North Wales rather than the £110+ it has cost for trains and hotels, we'll be on the lookout for somewhere with a decent evening meal deal for the Friday evening if anyone has any recommendations? Seen a Groupon at The Rosehip for £25 for steak and chips for two which seems reasonable enough if anyone has visited there?
Saturday, of course, will largely be consisting of Tennent's and chips with salt and sauce so no worries on that front :greengrin
20-11-2019, 08:36 PM
Went to German Doner Kebab for lunch today on Lothian Road. Fully opened on Monday. Lovely kebab
20-11-2019, 09:07 PM
Went to German Doner Kebab for lunch today on Lothian Road. Fully opened on Monday. Lovely kebab
Agree
I’ve been to the one down in London and really enjoyed it.
20-11-2019, 09:27 PM
Went to Hawksmoor again on Saturday. Between 1 and 3, 5 and 7 and after 9pm on a sat they do an express menu - 2 courses for £22 or 3 for £25. Had rump and chips and a sticky toffee pudding sundae. Was immense.
Think they also do that menu from 12-7 every other day or the week.
Been to one just of Piccadilly Circus a couple of times - it's a fabulous place! Steaks are immense, and their wine selection enviable.
20-11-2019, 10:47 PM
Trying Fazenda on Friday.
Heard nothing but good things.
21-11-2019, 06:28 AM
Go and buy a jean size up, it’s unreal.
21-11-2019, 07:20 AM
Don’t go nuts when they offer you the salad bar at the start - keep plenty space for the good stuff coming round.
21-11-2019, 07:26 AM
It's excellent.
I was a bit concerned it would be all style over substance but it's not. I'd echo what is said above about the salad bar. Some of the stuff on it is amazing so there's a temptation to go overboard. I think it's very deliberate that they encourage you to go there first.
I'm not overly keen on beef but it was fine. The gammon and lamb were my personal favourites.
21-11-2019, 09:39 AM
I'm there tomorrow night too......first time.
21-11-2019, 02:38 PM
I tell myself the salad bar is a trick before every visit and it always ends the same way: a little rice, a few potatoes, some black beans, guacamole... :rolleyes: it just all looks (and is) so good!
Happily made it round their full selection last time, with 2 or 3 tries of some of my favourites though. :greengrin
29-11-2019, 10:34 AM
Went to New Chapter down Canonmills for dinner last night. Was very very good. Food and service were great.
29-11-2019, 11:15 AM
Was in Tattu on Friday afternoon for some lunch. The cocktails were really good, and I was impressed with the food. I’ll definitely go back soon.
Friday night was in The Scran & Scallie, been there a few times and it’s always great. Finally tried the steak pie which I’ve seen others have before, it was as amazing as it looks.
Going to The Witchery tonight, never been before but the menu looks class.
Take a torch! Last time i was there lighting was so dim we couldnt read the menu. First class nosh tho 👍😁
29-11-2019, 03:12 PM
Coming up for two nights at the end of the month to coincide with the Kilmarnock game.
As my other half was expecting to only be spending £50 all in for a Groupon dinner and B&B package in North Wales rather than the £110+ it has cost for trains and hotels, we'll be on the lookout for somewhere with a decent evening meal deal for the Friday evening if anyone has any recommendations? Seen a Groupon at The Rosehip for £25 for steak and chips for two which seems reasonable enough if anyone has visited there?
Saturday, of course, will largely be consisting of Tennent's and chips with salt and sauce so no worries on that front :greengrin
Might be too late in telling you this but Vittoria are selling gift vouchers for all their restaurants with 40% off if you're looking for somewhere cheap
https://vouchers.giftvouchersolutions.com/VoucherSales/Choose.aspx?c=VG40%25&ct=t%28All+your+Christmas+gifting+problems+solved_ COPY_01%29
29-11-2019, 07:48 PM
Was at Mother India last night. In Infirmary Street. First time.
Thought it was really good food served in smaller, tapas type dishes. Enabled us to have lots of different tastes at our table. Nice, informal atmosphere. Place was packed. Really good value too.
I was at the original Mother India on Sauchiehall St a few weeks ago. Awesome. Dare I say it but the Weege seems blessed with better curries than the capital?
30-11-2019, 12:32 AM
Might be too late in telling you this but Vittoria are selling gift vouchers for all their restaurants with 40% off if you're looking for somewhere cheap
https://vouchers.giftvouchersolutions.com/VoucherSales/Choose.aspx?c=VG40%25&ct=t%28All+your+Christmas+gifting+problems+solved_ COPY_01%29
Cheers mate, shame to have missed out on that - ended up going with the Groupon at The Rosehip. Food was REALLY good. Other half loved her lamb shank (ooh err) and my rib eye was absolutely superb. Service was abysmal though, too much time stood chatting to each other and not enough taking note of customers. Plates collected 20 minutes after we finished our mains, no how was your food etc. Half an hour later and still waiting to be shown dessert menus or asked if we wanted a drink etc so took matters in to our own hands and managed to pinch a dessert menu from elsewhere. Banoffee pie and sticky toffee pudding both outstanding. Such a shame the kitchen are let down by front of house staff.
30-11-2019, 09:23 AM
Cheers mate, shame to have missed out on that ...Offer still available today if you're interested.
patch1875
30-11-2019, 02:33 PM
Offer still available today if you're interested.
Gone off Vittorias recently but that’s a pretty good deal.
30-11-2019, 04:28 PM
Offer still available today if you're interested.
That sounded a good idea until 5pm. It’s now become a Tennent’s and chippy kind of night!
MagicSwirlingShip
02-12-2019, 11:03 PM
Off to Grazing by Mark Greenaway for Sunday Lunch this weekend. Heard good things :agree:
04-12-2019, 06:10 PM
Off to Grazing by Mark Greenaway for Sunday Lunch this weekend. Heard good things :agree:
Any good?
MagicSwirlingShip
04-12-2019, 11:01 PM
Any good?
This coming Sunday SH! Will be sure to post up on Monday and let ye ken :agree:
Cheers mate, shame to have missed out on that - ended up going with the Groupon at The Rosehip. Food was REALLY good. Other half loved her lamb shank (ooh err) and my rib eye was absolutely superb. Service was abysmal though, too much time stood chatting to each other and not enough taking note of customers. Plates collected 20 minutes after we finished our mains, no how was your food etc. Half an hour later and still waiting to be shown dessert menus or asked if we wanted a drink etc so took matters in to our own hands and managed to pinch a dessert menu from elsewhere. Banoffee pie and sticky toffee pudding both outstanding. Such a shame the kitchen are let down by front of house staff.
Pet hate of mine, poor staff, on the flip side one of the things that can make a night out is good service and both determine the tip or lack of.
05-12-2019, 10:10 AM
o/t - I am shocked and stunned to see the Caley is now Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh (the Caledonian). When did that happen? I had a summer job in the bit that's Grazing when it was "the Gazebo". Tidying up the sweet trolley was always good. :greengrin
05-12-2019, 11:29 AM
o/t - I am shocked and stunned to see the Caley is now Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh (the Caledonian). When did that happen? I had a summer job in the bit that's Grazing when it was "the Gazebo". Tidying up the sweet trolley was always good. :greengrin
It’s been the Waldorf since 2011.
05-12-2019, 07:43 PM
It’s been the Waldorf since 2011.
I’m keeping up as well as ever, then. :greengrin
05-12-2019, 10:32 PM
I’m keeping up as well as ever, then. :greengrin
It will always be the Caley regardless of the name above the door.
06-12-2019, 03:10 AM
Yup.
ACLeith
06-12-2019, 07:48 AM
Was at Chef Chi in Portobello last night. Heard a lot of good things about it so decided to try it. All round excellent. Having been battered by the wind and rain walking to it, received a very warm and friendly welcome.
Perusing the menu suggested nothing out of the ordinary, but when the food came it was excellent. Very reasonable prices, just over £50 for two of us, 2 courses and 4 beers - and that included the person I was with having one of the dearest mains on the menu! Does takeaways as well, so will definitely be back
07-12-2019, 12:06 AM
It’s funny you say that and I agree it will always be the Caley to me as well. Tourists however don’t know that and they will always call it by whatever it’s called now, this causes problems in the taxi. So many hotels have changed hands recently or fairly recently. The Caley is now the Waldorf, the Royal Terrace is now the Crown plaza, the George is now the Principal, the Roxburgh is now the Kimpton having briefly also been the Crown Plaza and the Carlton is now the Hilton. It’s an absolute minefield :greengrin
The thing is locals will still use the old names.
07-12-2019, 12:37 AM
It’s funny you say that and I agree it will always be the Caley to me as well. Tourists however don’t know that and they will always call it by whatever it’s called now, this causes problems in the taxi. So many hotels have changed hands recently or fairly recently. The Caley is now the Waldorf, the Royal Terrace is now the Crown plaza, the George is now the Principal, the Roxburgh is now the Kimpton having briefly also been the Crown Plaza and the Carlton is now the Hilton. It’s an absolute minefield :greengrin
This post blows my mind. I grew up in Edinburgh, moved away in my thirties but am regularly back. sometimes to ER and more often for a treat eat out, TBH. I knew the Caley was Waldorf/Galvins whatever but had no idea about the others.
I guess you expect restaurants to turn over on a regular basis but assume the hotels stay relatively constant.
07-12-2019, 01:38 AM
This post blows my mind. I grew up in Edinburgh, moved away in my thirties but am regularly back. sometimes to ER and more often for a treat eat out, TBH. I knew the Caley was Waldorf/Galvins whatever but had no idea about the others.
I guess you expect restaurants to turn over on a regular basis but assume the hotels stay relatively constant.
The hotels were always pretty constant until recently. Even if they changed hands the name stayed the same, but recently so many of the big chains have moved in. They don’t necessarily change the name, but they change the branding and they then become known to tourists as whatever that chain may be. When I first started doing the taxis there was one Hilton in Edinburgh, now there’s loads, it’s the same with Marriott. Don’t start me on the budget hotels which are everywhere and they all have ridiculous names. The Premier Inn central is in Lauriston Place despite the fact that there’s two others much more central.
07-12-2019, 02:39 AM
The hotels were always pretty constant until recently. Even if they changed hands the name stayed the same, but recently so many of the big chains have moved in. They don’t necessarily change the name, but they change the branding and they then become known to tourists as whatever that chain may be. When I first started doing the taxis there was one Hilton in Edinburgh, now there’s loads, it’s the same with Marriott. Don’t start me on the budget hotels which are everywhere and they all have ridiculous names. The Premier Inn central is in Lauriston Place despite the fact that there’s two others much more central.
I can imagine :greengrin
The website identifications for the locations for the chains don’t stand up to much logic, agree with that.
07-12-2019, 07:10 AM
Just to confuse you further Galvins are no longer at the Caley, Mark Greenaway has taken over the bistro on Rutland Street and it’s now called Grazing. The Pompadour is now back in the hands of the hotel and no longer run by Galvins.
07-12-2019, 07:15 AM
I never thought of so many name changes until you pointed them out, I didn’t even know the Kimpton at all.
pollution
07-12-2019, 11:13 AM
Just to confuse you further Galvins are no longer at the Caley, Mark Greenaway has taken over the bistro on Rutland Street and it’s now called Grazing. The Pompadour is now back in the hands of the hotel and no longer run by Galvins.
Hotel restaurants are a funny lot. They open to great publicity then fade into nothing eg Galvin nonsense. If I were them, I would be deeply shamefaced
to have my name on this but I guess it is not a priority for them.
Never eat in hotel restaurants I was told when younger and I think that is still true especially in a city like Edinburgh.
nellio
07-12-2019, 12:12 PM
I never thought of so many name changes until you pointed them out, I didn’t even know the Kimpton at all.
I got married last year at this hotel. When we first viewed it it was the Roxborough, when we got married there it had changed to the principal then when we went back for our complimentary one year anniversary stay it was the Kimpton!
07-12-2019, 12:42 PM
I think the North British has finally become the Balmoral even to locals.
07-12-2019, 12:47 PM
I think the North British has finally become the Balmoral even to locals.
Yes, but the Dragonara is still the Dragonara, at least to me.
pollution
07-12-2019, 04:58 PM
Princess Diana stayed there in 1982 or 1983.
07-12-2019, 05:43 PM
Princess Diana stayed there in 1982 or 1983.
I understand it was quite a celebrity haunt.
In fairness, I never went there when it was the Drag. I first started going with my mates circa fifth year at high school, so we were just underage but not by much. The mum of one of my best friends at the time had worked there when it was the Drag, so we referred to it as that, though I think it might have become a Hilton by then or was something else and then became a Hilton.
Abiding memory was there were a couple of students who worked in the bar. They were in a relationship. He was a really nice guy and one time, when we had run out of money, gave us a lift up to Haymarket to go to a cash machine and come back to keep drinking. His girlfriend was gorgeous and we were just in awe of her!
They liked our music choices so they used to just open up the jukebox and give us free credits.
Glory days :greengrin
07-12-2019, 06:07 PM
Was that the Belford Road hotel?
07-12-2019, 06:12 PM
Was that the Belford Road hotel?
Yeah, down on the Water of Leith. Think it burned down at one point but was rebuilt. It was definitely the Dragonara and later a Hilton, but I think it might have been something else in between, which frustrates me because that’s probably when I was drinking there! It’s not a Hilton anymore, think it is Britannia.
07-12-2019, 07:00 PM
When it opened it was a beautiful hotel, used to have a pianist on a Saturday night.
Used to go the pub underneath it was called the Granary, and it was always busy
pollution
07-12-2019, 07:09 PM
When it opened it was a beautiful hotel, used to have a pianist on a Saturday night.
I was a porter there in the summer that it opened.
The Granary was good but was constantly damp. The river flooded frequently.
07-12-2019, 07:16 PM
Aah, the Granary, that’s what the bar was called. The memories are flooding back now, cheers :greengrin
07-12-2019, 07:27 PM
Yeah, down on the Water of Leith. Think it burned down at one point but was rebuilt. It was definitely the Dragonara and later a Hilton, but I think it might have been something else in between, which frustrates me because that’s probably when I was drinking there! It’s not a Hilton anymore, think it is Britannia.
When I moved here in 92 pretty sure I knew it as the Menzies
07-12-2019, 09:37 PM
When I moved here in 92 pretty sure I knew it as the Menzies
Yes it was the Belford Menzies, I’m pretty sure it then became a travelodge before becoming the Britannia.
MagicSwirlingShip
08-12-2019, 04:37 PM
Really enjoyed that. Delicious Sunday roast. Would highly recommend
08-12-2019, 06:11 PM
Really enjoyed that. Delicious Sunday roast. Would highly recommend
👍
08-12-2019, 07:58 PM
Aah, the Granary, that’s what the bar was called. The memories are flooding back now, cheers :greengrin
I wonder why no major group has looked at this hotel and grounds. In a beautiful part of Edinburgh, right on the water of leith
Wouldn’t be surprised if property developers were looking at it
Used to go loads in the 80’s
08-12-2019, 08:27 PM
I wonder why no major group has looked at this hotel and grounds. In a beautiful part of Edinburgh, right on the water of leith
They don’t come much bigger than Hilton.
08-12-2019, 10:50 PM
My favourite was the first time a tourist asked me to take them to "Leonardo Murrayfield"
When was the top of Clermiston road ever considered Murrayfield :hilarious
09-12-2019, 08:38 AM
They don’t come much bigger than Hilton.
Sorry thought it was a Britannia?
09-12-2019, 08:53 AM
Sorry thought it was a Britannia?
I think it is but Hilton had it for a while unless I am confused which is entirely possible 😁
09-12-2019, 09:00 AM
I think it is but Hilton had it for a while unless I am confused which is entirely possible 😁
It was a Menzies Hotel for a bit too
09-12-2019, 11:13 AM
My favourite was the first time a tourist asked me to take them to "Leonardo Murrayfield"
It's like those flats that went up on Crewe Road North, ie. Pilton - "North Fettes" :greengrin
pollution
09-12-2019, 11:30 AM
Good question: I worked there when it was newly opened and the hotel manager said that there were a few planning problems that meant they were severely
restricted as to how much of the site they could develop.
The older house across from the hotel still belonged to the original family who had owned the mill site and he had never wanted to sell the land to the hotel.
There was also a ruined and listed building which was the very original mill, which could not be used.
Added to that the frequency of flooding and the very sharp incline from the road down to the water which coaches could not access.
Don't forget the snobbery about a bookies ie Ladbrokes opening a hotel here (!) of all places.
It was very controversial 37 years ago. Seems like yesterday to me!
09-12-2019, 12:21 PM
I know, I had to google it when I was first asked that one.
15-12-2019, 04:54 PM
Had lunch with friends at the Chinese Manor House in Corstorphine yesterday, food and service were top notch.
Also had lunch in Spatch on Monday, it was good enough for what it is, burgers, ribs, chicken etc.
14-01-2020, 09:00 PM
Was in the Cote Brasserie in Cobham Surrey on Saturday meeting friends, it was actually pretty good for a chain.
patch1875
15-01-2020, 05:19 AM
Was in the Cote Brasserie in Cobham Surrey on Saturday meeting friends, it was actually pretty good for a chain.
Been to the Edinburgh one a couple of times I agree.
15-01-2020, 06:46 AM
Had lunch with friends at the Chinese Manor House in Corstorphine yesterday, food and service were top notch.
Also had lunch in Spatch on Monday, it was good enough for what it is, burgers, ribs, chicken etc.
Brilliant “business lunch” deal at Chinese Manor House. Food always really good.
15-01-2020, 08:28 AM
Brilliant “business lunch” deal at Chinese Manor House. Food always really good.
Yeah saw that menu it looked great value but we ordered from the Ala Carte menu as we were out for plenty of food and drink 😁
15-01-2020, 08:31 AM
In Divino tonight for the Emilia Romagna Menu with wine pairing option. A work perk.
15-01-2020, 09:26 AM
Taco Manzama on Princes Street has became a frequent lunch spot for me. Their burritos aren't the best, but the haggis quesadilla is very tasty! Washed down with a Jarritos - a Mexican soft drink that must be more sugary than irn bru.
On Mexicans, if a burrito is what you're after the "Taquito" on home street (tollcross) is the best I've came across in Edinburgh. :aok:
pollution
15-01-2020, 11:40 AM
In Divino tonight for the Emilia Romagna Menu with wine pairing option. A work perk.
Just looked at their a la carte menu and I was blown away by the prices: £15 for a pasta dish, £25 for a lamb shank, no jokes please.
Pasta food ingredients are as cheap as. Crazy pricing, who buys into this apart from the owners?
Corporate expense accounts perhaps.
I am of Italian origins so have no axe to grind btw.
15-01-2020, 12:01 PM
Just looked at their a la carte menu and I was blown away by the prices: £15 for a pasta dish, £25 for a lamb shank, no jokes please.
Pasta food ingredients are as cheap as. Crazy pricing, who buys into this apart from the owners?
Corporate expense accounts perhaps.
I am of Italian origins so have no axe to grind btw.
Fine dining experience in a fantastic cellar bar, plenty of folk like it. If you were to compare ingredient prices against restaurant prices and want some correlation between the two you would probably never eat out. I must add that when I say a work perk, I do actually work for the Group that owns it.
15-01-2020, 12:12 PM
I was at Hawksmoor just before Christmas. Steak was fine but at the price I wasn't blow away. I've had better for far less. My bone marrow starter was very decent, steak was, as said, fine and my dessert was awful. Looked and tasted like it had been put together by a kitchen that didn't want to do pastry. 3 courses for me (1 steak), 2 courses for my partner (no steak) and a bottle of wine came in at £75 a head. For that it was disappointing.
Ate at East Coast in Musselburgh at New Year. Food and service were both very good. For 5 of us having 3 courses each, 2 drinks and 6 oysters it came in at just over £35 a head and was far superior.
Booked into Tattu at the end of the month to use some vouchers we got for Christmas. Heard mixed reviews about the food so interested to try it for myself.
speedy_gonzales
15-01-2020, 03:17 PM
Booked into Tattu at the end of the month to use some vouchers we got for Christmas. Heard mixed reviews about the food so interested to try it for myself.
Hands up, I'm not a massive fan of Chinese/Asian cuisine although I will suffer a decent Thai if it's an option.
I was at Tattu with a mixed group a couple of weeks back, walking in I was blown away, the brand new decor is on point and the ambience is very exciting. The food to my fussy palate was OK, and I'd have been happy with OK but the bill was priced at something considerably better than just OK.
Hopefully you have a better overall experience than I did.
15-01-2020, 03:22 PM
Hands up, I'm not a massive fan of Chinese/Asian cuisine although I will suffer a decent Thai if it's an option.
I was at Tattu with a mixed group a couple of weeks back, walking in I was blown away, the brand new decor is on point and the ambience is very exciting. The food to my fussy palate was OK, and I'd have been happy with OK but the bill was priced at something considerably better than just OK.
Location and service are great. Food is decent, but definitely a little overpriced.
15-01-2020, 03:53 PM
That's the general feedback I've been getting. Decor, feel and service are all great. Food is style over substance.
Tbh if I didn't have the vouchers it's not somewhere I'd rush to go.
SneakersO'Toole
17-01-2020, 06:36 PM
I thought I would give Chop House on Market Street a shot last night. Wish I hadn't. Distinctly average. There are far better places in Edinburgh to get a steak, and I would include a chain like Gaucho or Miller and Carter in that.
Oh, and as someone who loves cooking at home and going out to different restaurants I don't think I've seen anymore mention Aizle on this thread. Best restaurant in Edinburgh IMO.
17-01-2020, 07:31 PM
I thought I would give Chop House on Market Street a shot last night. Wish I hadn't. Distinctly average. There are far better places in Edinburgh to get a steak, and I would include a chain like Gaucho or Miller and Carter in that.
Oh, and as someone who loves cooking at home and going out to different restaurants I don't think I've seen anymore mention Aizle on this thread. Best restaurant in Edinburgh IMO.
Aizle is excellent.
The Leith branch of The Chop House is way better than Market Street!
17-01-2020, 10:25 PM
Aizle is excellent.
The Leith branch of The Chop House is way better than Market Street!
I’ve heard this said a lot, not sure how that can be the case.
The Leith one is the only one I’ve been to and it really was top notch. That was our first night out after the birth of our daughter, to say my other half enjoyed the steak and a few bevvies would be an understatement.
mvteng
20-01-2020, 08:20 AM
Aizle is excellent.
Agreed - my favourite 'posh' restaurant in edinburgh, but still very relaxed
20-01-2020, 11:27 PM
I've a pal who's vegetarian. Where's a good place around the southside or Leith Walk?
21-01-2020, 05:40 AM
I've a pal who's vegetarian. Where's a good place around the southside or Leith Walk?
Most restaurants have decent veggie options these days..Italian or Indians are often particularly good ..
If you want a veggie oriented restaurant...Harmonium in Henderson st is excellent...
David Banns. St Mary’s street
Paradis palms. Lothian street
Kalpna. St Patrick sq. Indian.
All good choices ...
21-01-2020, 07:46 PM
Most restaurants have decent veggie options these days..Italian or Indians are often particularly good ..
If you want a veggie oriented restaurant...Harmonium in Henderson st is excellent...
David Banns. St Mary’s street
Paradis palms. Lothian street
Kalpna. St Patrick sq. Indian.
All good choices ...
I’ve been to David Bann a couple of times now, and been disappointed with the food both times.
Been meaning to try Kalpna for ages
21-01-2020, 09:02 PM
Harmonium is excellent. They are completely vegan friendly so don't use any cleaning chemicals tested on animals and the like. That could be another tick in that box.
Already mentioned but Kalpna is also very good.
Dishoom has a range of good veggie options. Not in the areas specified though.
I've heard good things about Annakut but haven't tried it myself.
22-01-2020, 12:06 PM
Exactly my thoughts. Food was fine, that’s about it. Got 30% off food in January but had it been full price we would have been about £70 a head. I’d have been gutted spending that on it.
At the weekend I went to L’entricote in Barcelona. It has restaurants in quite a few European cities and also NYC. Was lovely.
22-01-2020, 12:45 PM
I'm off to Kanpai on Saturday, I love it there. Always enjoy the food.
Has anyone tried Yamato up at Tollcross? Same people who own Kanpai. I've been meaning to try it, but don't want to go somewhere if it's just gonna be the same kinda food but not quite as good as in Kanpai.
I was in Budapest in November, and went for sushi at Nobu over there, was very very good.
22-01-2020, 01:55 PM
I'm off to Kanpai on Saturday, I love it there. Always enjoy the food.
Has anyone tried Yamato up at Tollcross? Same people who own Kanpai. I've been meaning to try it, but don't want to go somewhere if it's just gonna be the same kinda food but not quite as good as in Kanpai.
I was in Budapest in November, and went for sushi at Nobu over there, was very very good.
I’ve been to Nobu in London and Monaco. It is absolutely excellent although pretty pricey.
It’s actually similar to Tattu imo, just much, much better.
22-01-2020, 09:47 PM
Broughton Bar any good for food?
25-01-2020, 08:17 PM
Saddened to hear that the Pompadour restaurant within the Caley hotel is closing its doors for the final time this weekend after ninety five years. Fantastic memories of the place both as a customer and a member of the Caley team.
25-01-2020, 08:20 PM
Back to La Riva in Leith tonight. By far our favourite Italian restaurant at the minute.
26-01-2020, 10:50 AM
Saddened to hear that the Pompadour restaurant within the Caley hotel is closing its doors for the final time this weekend after ninety five years. Fantastic memories of the place both as a customer and a member of the Caley team.
Had an absolutely exquisite meal there not that long ago. Do you know what is replacing it?
26-01-2020, 11:12 AM
Had an absolutely exquisite meal there not that long ago. Do you know what is replacing it?
No, heard there are no plans to run it as a restaurant any longer, it’s a fantastic room,with it being listed there can’t really be much change to it so maybe hotel plan to use it as a venue for something other than a restaurant. I still have plenty of contacts in there and no one seems to know what the plans are yet.
26-01-2020, 01:46 PM
No, heard there are no plans to run it as a restaurant any longer, it’s a fantastic room,with it being listed there can’t really be much change to it so maybe hotel plan to use it as a venue for something other than a restaurant. I still have plenty of contacts in there and no one seems to know what the plans are yet.
Thank you.
27-01-2020, 02:52 PM
Exactly my thoughts. Food was fine, that’s about it. Got 30% off food in January but had it been full price we would have been about £70 a head. I’d have been gutted spending that on it.
At the weekend I went to L’entricote in Barcelona. It has restaurants in quite a few European cities and also NYC. Was lovely.
Mrs Matty and I went on Friday, we must have got it on a good day because the food was excellent. We had a £75 voucher, and with the 30% off deal it meant we had seven plates, drinks, coffee, and afters and spent less than thirty quid.
27-01-2020, 09:27 PM
Went to East Coast in Musselburgh on Saturday. Everything other than the chips were very very good. The chips were fine, just pretty average.
27-01-2020, 09:44 PM
Anyone been to Riverlife in Dalry? Been 3 times recently, excellent dishes.
06-02-2020, 09:15 AM
I was at Dine in the Traverse theatre last week and the Little Chartroom this. Dine pretty good, the market menu is very good value. LC was outstanding, best meal I've had in Edinburgh for ages, probably only beaten by Martin Wishart's.
07-02-2020, 07:35 PM
Anyone tried the Pizza Hut/KFC collaboration pizza? If you haven’t, then I’d strongly advise you don’t. Managed 3 slices and I think I’m about to **** myself.
patch1875
07-02-2020, 08:00 PM
Anyone tried the Pizza Hut/KFC collaboration pizza? If you haven’t, then I’d strongly advise you don’t. Managed 3 slices and I think I’m about to **** myself.
Can think of nothing worse! Both are awful
08-02-2020, 10:42 PM
I like both of those things but I'm not convinced they go together.
Other than the couple bits of chicken per slice the rest of it is just sweetcorn pizza with a gravy base...
10-02-2020, 10:57 AM
I like both of those things but I'm not convinced they go together.
Other than the couple bits of chicken per slice the rest of it is just sweetcorn pizza with a gravy base...
The bits of chicken on the pizza is actually really nice. It’s the gravy base that was minging, and that’s coming from someone that loves KFC gravy!
10-02-2020, 11:47 AM
The bits of chicken on the pizza is actually really nice. It’s the gravy base that was minging, and that’s coming from someone that loves KFC gravy!
I've never actually tried their gravy... I didn't even know they done gravy until this pizza! I'll give it a go next time, if it's good it might return their chips to their former glory.
As for restaurants, had a voucher to use for Marco Pierre White (in the Hilton on North bridge) - a very nice and perfectly cooked steak. It was quite a nice place overall I felt, would certainly go back.
10-02-2020, 11:56 AM
Jesus Calum that sounds absolutely boggin
11-02-2020, 04:25 PM
Going to The Honours on Friday with the Mrs. Anybody been?
SneakersO'Toole
11-02-2020, 06:16 PM
Going to The Honours on Friday with the Mrs. Anybody been?
Twice. Its excellent. Don't think many food lovers would be disappointed.
11-02-2020, 06:23 PM
Twice. Its excellent. Don't think many food lovers would be disappointed.
Thank you sir :aok:
18-02-2020, 04:50 PM
I tried the lunch menu a Cote Brasserie after seeming it mentioned on here, i'll defiantly be back to try the full menu.
Anyone been to the Stockbridge restaurant? Decent voucher on itison for 3 courses and a glass of fizz for £19pp