View Full Version : Recent Restaurant Visits Reviews

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11

14-03-2023, 04:45 PM
Good Italian in Hope Street, sorry can't remember the name, few years since I was there. It's close to Central Station, very busy.

Paesano pizza on Miller street right in the centre. Fantastic proper Neapolitan pizza, atmosphere buzzing too.

ErinGoBraghHFC
14-03-2023, 09:18 PM
Paesano pizza on Miller street right in the centre. Fantastic proper Neapolitan pizza, atmosphere buzzing too.

Another vote for paesanos, the weegies rave about it and it’s always bouncing, not hard to see why

15-03-2023, 06:39 AM
Anyone recommend decent restaurants in Glasgow? Midweek visit next week. Prefer Italian or Chinese but any good place.

Paesano does great pizza. Ashoka on Ashton Lane is a very good Indian. The restaurant part of Ubiquitous Chip, also on Ashton Lane, has always been excellent when I’ve been.

15-03-2023, 07:35 AM
Paesano does great pizza. Ashoka on Ashton Lane is a very good Indian. The restaurant part of Ubiquitous Chip, also on Ashton Lane, has always been excellent when I’ve been.

Ashton Lane is a great wee cranny for a night out in Glasgow. We went to Ramen Dayo, a wee Japanese place up some stairs, very highly recommended, the gyozas are amazing, so was the ramen.

Paulie Walnuts
15-03-2023, 08:44 AM
Anyone recommend decent restaurants in Glasgow? Midweek visit next week. Prefer Italian or Chinese but any good place.

Ox & Finch is outstanding.

ErinGoBraghHFC
15-03-2023, 11:53 AM

Think Ubiquitous Chip is shut, might be getting it mixed up with somewhere else though

MagicSwirlingShip
15-03-2023, 11:59 AM
The Spanish Butcher would be my tip.

15-03-2023, 12:56 PM

Curry wise, you're spoilt for choice. Mother India still my fave I think.

15-03-2023, 01:01 PM
Going to Passey's in Portobello tonight, they're doing 2 for 1 on a Wednesday night now.

Never had a bad meal there.

15-03-2023, 01:28 PM
Has anyone tried Antionetta on Leith Walk previously known as La Favorita? Used to work for them and just interested to see if the new concept is any good.

15-03-2023, 01:32 PM
Has anyone tried Antionetta on Leith Walk previously known as La Favorita? Used to work for them and just interested to see if the new concept is any good.

I was there last week, before the Rangers game.

TBH, I didn't reallly notice much difference. Much the same layout, with a paint job. The pizzas are slightly fancier, but the prices haven't changed much.

I was expecting more of a change, but pleasantly surprised.

I think it's a refresh rather than a new concept. Maybe the brand had become tired in the face of competition from Civerinos etc.

15-03-2023, 01:34 PM
I was there last week, before the Rangers game.

TBH, I didn't reallly notice much difference. Much the same layout, with a paint job. The pizzas are slightly fancier, but the prices haven't changed much.

I was expecting more of a change, but pleasantly surprised.

I think it's a refresh rather than a new concept. Maybe the brand had become tired in the face of competition from Civerinos etc.

Thanks for that, I thought the menu had changed dramatically but good news if it hasn’t . 👍

15-03-2023, 07:25 PM
Kineras, Paphos old town. Cyprus. Old George is an eccentric but the Cypriot food is outstanding. Currently fighting off a food coma

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

mvteng
16-03-2023, 08:34 AM

We liked it. Definitely a bit different to Vittorias .

Wasnt that keen on the decor, but the food was good

16-03-2023, 09:07 AM
Kineras, Paphos old town. Cyprus. Old George is an eccentric but the Cypriot food is outstanding. Currently fighting off a food coma
Ok, if we're talking Cyprus then this is the one to go to https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g1905492-d4508321-Reviews-To_Stekki_Tou_Panai-Kathikas_Paphos_District.html

16-03-2023, 10:00 AM
We liked it. Definitely a bit different to Vittorias .

Wasnt that keen on the decor, but the food was good

👍

Paulie Walnuts
16-03-2023, 12:25 PM

I went recently and thought it was better than Vittoria and La Fav. Would definitely go back.

16-03-2023, 12:49 PM
I went recently and thought it was better than Vittoria and La Fav. Would definitely go back.

👍

16-03-2023, 03:05 PM
Ok, if we're talking Cyprus then this is the one to go to https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g1905492-d4508321-Reviews-To_Stekki_Tou_Panai-Kathikas_Paphos_District.htmlBit up the road from where we are [emoji6]

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-03-2023, 05:33 PM
Bit up the road from where we are [emoji6]

If you’re stuck for ideas one night give either Three Little Pigs or Nostalgia on Tomb of The Kings Road a try, both very nice

16-03-2023, 07:21 PM
If you’re stuck for ideas one night give either Three Little Pigs or Nostalgia on Tomb of The Kings Road a try, both very nice

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkCheers. Not stuck, quite a few proper restaurants in Kato Paphos. Ones for next time though.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

25-03-2023, 01:05 PM
Any recommendations for Thai restaurants in & around Edinburgh.

25-03-2023, 02:12 PM
Any recommendations for Thai restaurants in & around Edinburgh.Time for Thai North Castle St. Not cheap but excellent.

25-03-2023, 02:26 PM

Chaophraya on Castle Street first class.

25-03-2023, 07:33 PM

Noks Kitchen (either one) is best, with Dusit second, for me.

Chaophrya is overrated in my opinion. Great location, and nice interior, foods not great though.

25-03-2023, 10:23 PM

Phu ket pavilion in Union street

26-03-2023, 07:51 AM
Noks Kitchen (either one) is best, with Dusit second, for me.

Chaophrya is overrated in my opinion. Great location, and nice interior, foods not great though.

I've not been for a while, and I recall the food being nice but I'd agree you're paying for an element of location and the granduer of the place. Nok's kitchen for the quality. :agree:

Dusit also very nice. :agree:

Paulie Walnuts
26-03-2023, 07:06 PM

Dusit I’d say.

30-03-2023, 12:17 PM
The Lemongrass at Bruntsfield was always brilliant, not sure if it's still on the go, though!

Paulie Walnuts
30-03-2023, 01:43 PM
Went to Skua on St Stephens Street in Stockbridge. Was absolutely excellent.

It’s by the folk that own Heron.

30-03-2023, 05:07 PM
The Lemongrass at Bruntsfield was always brilliant, not sure if it's still on the go, though!

Yip still there

HibbyDave
31-03-2023, 07:21 AM
Had food in The Tollhouse at Canonmills . It was excellent. Nice setting, great staff.
Not cheap but it was fine dining.

31-03-2023, 08:36 AM
Anyone been yet to Edinburgh Street Food yet, at the side of the Omni Centre?

31-03-2023, 08:50 AM

I've not, but is that in the site of the old walkabout?

31-03-2023, 08:55 AM
I've not, but is that in the site of the old walkabout?

Not sure where the walk about was. Might pop my head in on the way to ER a tomorrow

https://edinburgh-street-food.com/

PS, what a great thread this is, been running almost 8 years😀

MagicSwirlingShip
31-03-2023, 02:47 PM

Went last Saturday night.

Had a proper Scran. Pizza, Chicken Tacos, and Chicken Tenders washed down with several chilli margheritas. Enjoyed it

Paulie Walnuts
31-03-2023, 02:57 PM

I’ve been.

It’s really good food wise. A lot of great options and all look really good quality. It is absolutely rammed at the weekends though.

01-04-2023, 08:00 AM
The viability of the whole hospitality industry looks to be under threat from next month. Does someone with more ITK know if the situation re the end of the business energy cap is different in Scotland?

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2023/apr/01/we-wont-be-here-for-long-uk-firms-fear-the-worst-as-energy-bill-support-ends

Trinity Hibee
02-04-2023, 06:16 AM
East Finch on Hanover street is very good. New Orleans style food. Would recommend trying the small plates

02-04-2023, 09:56 PM
Went to Gaucho for the first time last night. One of the best steaks I’ve had in my life. By no means cheap but the Hibs discount certainly helps.

03-04-2023, 02:01 PM
The viability of the whole hospitality industry looks to be under threat from next month. Does someone with more ITK know if the situation re the end of the business energy cap is different in Scotland?

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2023/apr/01/we-wont-be-here-for-long-uk-firms-fear-the-worst-as-energy-bill-support-ends

Situation no different in Scotland unfortunately, all decision making on that reserved to WM.

03-04-2023, 02:20 PM
Situation no different in Scotland unfortunately, all decision making on that reserved to WM.

That’s extremely worrying.

03-04-2023, 04:05 PM
That’s extremely worrying.

Indeed!!

15-04-2023, 11:09 PM
Went to Rendezvous in Queensferry Street on Wednesday, couldn’t fault it. Up there with the Chinese restaurants I rate highly.

16-04-2023, 08:12 AM
Went to Rendezvous in Queensferry Street on Wednesday, couldn’t fault it. Up there with the Chinese restaurants I rate highly.

I was there last night, 1st class as always

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-04-2023, 04:19 PM
Anyone recommend a few restaurants in Manchester? Down there for the weekend

20-04-2023, 05:03 PM

If you like Chinese, Chinatown is worth a visit

20-04-2023, 08:12 PM

We're down that way too, Oldham Friday and Sunday, Blackpool on Saturday. Pity the two Manchester teams never got drawn to play each other in the FA Cup Semis.

20-04-2023, 08:14 PM
I always find Manchester centre quite difficult to find somewhere to eat. Was here (https://giosmanchester.com/menu) last time, nice enough but a touch expensive I thought.

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-04-2023, 08:23 PM
I always find Manchester centre quite difficult to find somewhere to eat. Was here (https://giosmanchester.com/menu) last time, nice enough but a touch expensive I thought.

Looks decent enough, the wife is a right fussy eater so Italian might need to be the extent of my dining experiences down there [emoji849] can’t even get her to try Greek… I even took her to Greece ffs!

Paulie Walnuts
20-04-2023, 08:32 PM
Looks decent enough, the wife is a right fussy eater so Italian might need to be the extent of my dining experiences down there [emoji849] can’t even get her to try Greek… I even took her to Greece ffs!

If it’s Italian you’re after then Sugo is good although it’s maybe worth looking at the menu as it’s not as simple as lasagna, spag bol etc if your mrs is fussy.

It’s not so much a restaurant suggestion but Mackie Mayor is good. It’s an indoor street food market. Ramona and Nells Pizza are good for pizza slices as well.

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-04-2023, 10:12 PM
If it’s Italian you’re after then Sugo is good although it’s maybe worth looking at the menu as it’s not as simple as lasagna, spag bol etc if your mrs is fussy.

It’s not so much a restaurant suggestion but Mackie Mayor is good. It’s an indoor street food market. Ramona and Nells Pizza are good for pizza slices as well.

Perfect mate she’ll be alright with that food market, appreciated

20-04-2023, 11:35 PM
La Piazza last night on Shandwick
Place, still up there as my favourite Italian.

25-04-2023, 12:59 PM
Not tried it yet but new Thai takeaway in Corstorphine getting good reviews on local fb pages

25-04-2023, 01:34 PM
Not tried it yet but new Thai takeaway in Corstorphine getting good reviews on local fb pages

Think it’s shut now until this weekend. It seemed to be a soft launch last week.

05-05-2023, 08:48 AM
didn't realise Fabio's in Corstorphine had closed recently, had one Aunt and Uncle that visited there many times over the years

Family-run Edinburgh restaurant Fabio’s to become Domino’s Pizza takeaway after serving Capital for 23 years (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/foodanddrink/other/family-run-edinburgh-restaurant-fabio-s-to-become-domino-s-pizza-takeaway-after-serving-capital-for-23-years/ar-AA1aDiKj?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=c1b88785ff4e4eb28ac6d7aa68ee73ea&ei=35)

to become a Domino's pizza takeaway

05-05-2023, 11:06 AM
Was in Badger & Co on Wednesday, no food but thought the Cold Town IPA was fantastic value at £4 a pint in the city centre.

05-05-2023, 11:08 AM
didn't realise Fabio's in Corstorphine had closed recently, had one Aunt and Uncle that visited there many times over the years

Family-run Edinburgh restaurant Fabio’s to become Domino’s Pizza takeaway after serving Capital for 23 years (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/foodanddrink/other/family-run-edinburgh-restaurant-fabio-s-to-become-domino-s-pizza-takeaway-after-serving-capital-for-23-years/ar-AA1aDiKj?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=c1b88785ff4e4eb28ac6d7aa68ee73ea&ei=35)

to become a Domino's pizza takeaway

Yeah was announced a few months ago, very popular with many locals but not me. Only ever went once in thirty years of living in Corstorphine.

Santa Cruz
05-05-2023, 02:16 PM
Anyone had a burger from Earl's Burger's in Stockbridge. Fiver for a burger offer on itison, was wondering if it was any good?

Lendo
08-05-2023, 04:51 PM
Has anyone tried the new place Herringbone yet? It’s just opened in the old public toilets at the top of Easter Road

08-05-2023, 04:55 PM
Has anyone tried the new place Herringbone yet? It’s just opened in the old public toilets at the top of Easter Road

Not been to that one but been to the ones at Goldenacre and North Berwick. Decent enough food and drinks, maybe a bit pricey for what they are. They were taken over by a bigger chain last year, most of their venues are in the west, and not been in since so may have changed in the interim.

09-05-2023, 01:07 PM
Booked Fazenda for a third visit a week on Saturday. Mouth is watering already.

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2023, 01:13 PM
Anyone had a burger from Earl's Burger's in Stockbridge. Fiver for a burger offer on itison, was wondering if it was any good?

It’s decent enough. More fast food style, five guys etc kind of thing but I think it’s pretty decent.

Santa Cruz
09-05-2023, 01:24 PM
It’s decent enough. More fast food style, five guys etc kind of thing but I think it’s pretty decent.

Cheers, good to know. Will give it a try at some point. When I fancy trying it no doubt it'll be on a day it's not open, think it said it closes 3 days per week.

09-05-2023, 01:41 PM
Going to The Stockbridge Restaurant in a couple of weeks, has anyone been?

09-05-2023, 07:49 PM
Going to The Stockbridge Restaurant in a couple of weeks, has anyone been?

Yes but years ago. It was great from memory. I’d be interested to hear if it’s still as good. My ex-wife managed to set fire to the tablecloth.

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2023, 07:54 PM
Cheers, good to know. Will give it a try at some point. When I fancy trying it no doubt it'll be on a day it's not open, think it said it closes 3 days per week.

Yeah, I pass it pretty much every day and it does seem to have some bizarre hours.

Thanks for the shout for the voucher though, bought 2 for a tenner!

09-05-2023, 10:48 PM
Yes but years ago. It was great from memory. I’d be interested to hear if it’s still as good. My ex-wife managed to set fire to the tablecloth.

Cheers, I will let you know.

speedy_gonzales
10-05-2023, 09:24 AM
Been meaning to post for a few weeks but kept forgetting 🙄
For those that like beers, cocktails and fried chicken the Bucks Bar in Glasgow that has a bit of a cult following have opened a restaurant in Grindlay St.
4 of us were out for drinks a few weeks back and popped in, thoroughly enjoyed it. It's fried chicken so not Michelin star grub but it was decent and honest. I stuck to the beer but the other 3 had cocktails and thoroughly enjoyed them along with the food.

ErinGoBraghHFC
10-05-2023, 11:10 AM
Been meaning to post for a few weeks but kept forgetting [emoji849]
For those that like beers, cocktails and fried chicken the Bucks Bar in Glasgow that has a bit of a cult following have opened a restaurant in Grindlay St.
4 of us were out for drinks a few weeks back and popped in, thoroughly enjoyed it. It's fried chicken so not Michelin star grub but it was decent and honest. I stuck to the beer but the other 3 had cocktails and thoroughly enjoyed them along with the food.

Ideal, I drag the Mrs to Bucks Bar for my birthday every year. Now I can go when we’re in the capital as well, she’ll be delighted

10-05-2023, 09:06 PM
Just back from Bar and Block on Princes Street, thoroughly enjoyed it.

13-05-2023, 03:11 PM

It's been Chinese for yonks. I had my first Chinese meal there in the sixties. It was the Bamboo then, I think.
Always good.

13-05-2023, 04:35 PM
Just heading off to Eastern Pavilion.

It'll be good. Always is.

He's here!
13-05-2023, 04:44 PM
If you like Japanese food Harajuko Kitchen on Gillespie Place (just up the road from the King's) is the place to go.

He's here!
13-05-2023, 04:49 PM
Has anyone mentioned the Los Argentinos steakhouse in Newington? I drive past it every week on the way to dropping my kids at at a club and it's usually busy but I've read mixed reviews.

Bridge hibs
13-05-2023, 06:22 PM
Has anyone mentioned the Los Argentinos steakhouse in Newington? I drive past it every week on the way to dropping my kids at at a club and it's usually busy but I've read mixed reviews.

I asked about it earlier on this thread mate, couple of pages back, still havent had the chance to try it out though

13-05-2023, 06:33 PM
Got a couple of months pat leave shortly and we’ve been jotting down places to have lunch/dinner out whilst we’re both off. List below so far, couple of drives in there as we’re East Edinburgh. Any other recommendations - we both like anything and everything. Eating out is probably our favourite thing to do. Ideally pram friendly!

- The Bridge Inn - Linlithgow
- Christie’s (Scottish Tapas) - Falkirk
- Karen’s Unicorn (Chinese)
- Thirty Knotts - South Queensferry
- Gleneagles Hotel (afternoon tea)
- Bonnie Badger - Gullane
- Badger & Co
- Piggs
- Duck & Waffle
- Harajuko Kitchen

13-05-2023, 07:20 PM
Got a couple of months pat leave shortly and we’ve been jotting down places to have lunch/dinner out whilst we’re both off. List below so far, couple of drives in there as we’re East Edinburgh. Any other recommendations - we both like anything and everything. Eating out is probably our favourite thing to do. Ideally pram friendly!

- The Bridge Inn - Linlithgow
- Christie’s (Scottish Tapas) - Falkirk
- Karen’s Unicorn (Chinese)
- Thirty Knotts - South Queensferry
- Gleneagles Hotel (afternoon tea)
- Bonnie Badger - Gullane
- Badger & Co
- Piggs
- Duck & Waffle
- Harajuko Kitchen

Bridge Inn Ratho is excellent

SiinDubai
13-05-2023, 09:07 PM

I was there about 6 months ago. Really good steak, very decent prices, service wasn’t great towards the end however I would definitely go back.

13-05-2023, 11:04 PM

I’ve been a couple of times. It’s fine, but there are better steakhouses in Edinburgh.

14-05-2023, 12:15 AM
Just heading off to Eastern Pavilion.

It'll be good. Always is.

My favourite in Corstorphine.

pollution
14-05-2023, 10:56 AM
Just back from Bar and Block on Princes Street, thoroughly enjoyed it.

This might be the first non burger eating place on Princes Street that I have ever known.

Good prices too, although samphire with steak ? What a gold mine this must be, the first of many perhaps.

17-05-2023, 06:35 PM
Another trip to Rustoms at Haymarket last night with my wife and her dad. We were entertaining him whilst he had been banished from the house so my MIL could entertain her pals.

Shared chicken tikka, chicken pakora and tandoori prawns to start. I had the half kilo of boneless chicken karahi (they do the karahi dishes by weight). It was delicious. Only gripe was they forgot my wife’s main but it wasn’t too long after we asked where it was. Actually, there was another gripe. They do BYOB and we had brought a couple of bottles of red wine (technically you are meant to only have one bottle between two but we’ve got away with more before albeit screw tops). My wife hadn’t realised the bottles she picked up were cork tops. They managed to push the cork of the first bottle into the bottle. TBF they did offer to open a restaurant provided bottle instead but we just drank our one anyway, even if it was slightly difficult to pour.

They do more “interesting” meals too like sheep trotters and sheep brains which I don’t think I’ll be trying anytime soon!

31-05-2023, 12:32 PM
Don’t want to be accused of promoting my own business on here so will remove this post if admins say so.

Chuffed to see the article in the Evening News yesterday that announced that our Chippy had been ranked number nine in the U.K.!

Bridge hibs
31-05-2023, 02:56 PM
Don’t want to be accused of promoting my own business on here so will remove this post if admins say so.

Chuffed to see the article in the Evening News yesterday that announced that our Chippy had been ranked number nine in the U.K.!

Wow, well done mate 👍

31-05-2023, 05:05 PM

Congratulations
Got a link SH

Paulie Walnuts
31-05-2023, 05:24 PM

Well done! The best in Edinburgh without a doubt imo :agree:

31-05-2023, 05:24 PM
[QUOTE=Billy Whizz;7363469]Congratulations
Got a link SH[/https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/lifestyle/food-and-drink/edinburgh-chippy-named-4th-best-place-in-uk-for-fish-and-chips-while-another-city-chippy-bags-top-10-spot-4163103

Paulie Walnuts
31-05-2023, 07:02 PM
Bit of a niche question, but does anybody have any recommendations for txuleta in Barcelona?

Aware it’s a Galician/basque dish but I’m presuming there’ll be a reasonable amount of places doing it.

31-05-2023, 08:32 PM
Bit of a niche question, but does anybody have any recommendations for txuleta in Barcelona?

Aware it’s a Galician/basque dish but I’m presuming there’ll be a reasonable amount of places doing it.

There is a Basque restaurant in Gracia.

Name escapes me but it's close to the Placa de Gracia/Campanar de Gracia. I remember there was a bar nearby called Bobby Gin so that might help. Depending where you are staying the Placa is close to either Diagonal, Verdaguer or Fontana Metro stations.

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-05-2023, 08:44 PM

Well done mate, will pop in next time I’m in the toon. Had a look at your menu and the salt and chilli squid sounds magic

31-05-2023, 09:25 PM
Well done mate, will pop in next time I’m in the toon. Had a look at your menu and the salt and chilli squid sounds magic

Salt and Pepper Squid maybe? We don’t do Chilli squid.

ErinGoBraghHFC
31-05-2023, 09:25 PM
Salt and Pepper Squid maybe? We don’t do Chilli squid.

Aye that, sounds lovely

Paulie Walnuts
01-06-2023, 07:42 AM
There is a Basque restaurant in Gracia.

Name escapes me but it's close to the Placa de Gracia/Campanar de Gracia. I remember there was a bar nearby called Bobby Gin so that might help. Depending where you are staying the Placa is close to either Diagonal, Verdaguer or Fontana Metro stations.

Legend, thanks mate.

There’s one coming up called Ipar Txoko which looks like it might be the one you’re referring to :aok:

alhibby
01-06-2023, 03:36 PM

Chuffed to see the article in the Evening News yesterday that announced that our Chippy had been ranked number nine in the U.K.!Always want to try your fish and chips, how far out do you deliver, in EH16 TIA

Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk

04-06-2023, 03:41 PM

Hurrah!

05-06-2023, 08:54 AM
We had a voucher for the restaurant on Fingal which we used last week. I had the scallops to start and the lamb for main and my wife had the steak tartare and the hake. All of it was lovely and the service was really good. I had the panna cotta and my wife had the tart tartin for pudding. Mine was good but, the tart tartin was the best I've ever tasted and I had major food envy.

My complaint was my starter was probably bigger than my main. The starter was huge for a starter right enough but I got two tiny bits of lamb with the main. It would have been really expensive if we hadn't had the voucher and I'm not too sure we'd go back with our own money. I think there's probably better in Edinburgh at that price point. The drinks especially were expensive. £20 for a cocktail is ridiculous.

09-06-2023, 09:10 AM
Was in Wongs in Corstorphine a few days ago. My wife swears they do the best Salt and Chilli chicken wings
The lady said they were keeping the takeaway as Chinese, but changing the restaurant to Korean food
Don’t know timescales, but I love Korean flavours

09-06-2023, 09:25 AM
Was in The Stockbridge Restaurant in St Stephen Street on Wednesday. It was excellent, fine dining without costing an arm and a leg.

09-06-2023, 09:26 AM
Was in Wongs in Corstorphine a few days ago. My wife swears they do the best Salt and Chilli chicken wings
The lady said they were keeping the takeaway as Chinese, but changing the restaurant to Korean food

Haven’t been in since Rose & David sold up, heard it’s not as good these days?

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2023, 10:42 AM

Korean food is excellent. Beats Chinese hands down imo.

09-06-2023, 02:14 PM
Haven’t been in since Rose & David sold up, heard it’s not as good these days?

I only use it for takeaway, and stick to the usual boring dishes, and never been disappointed

09-06-2023, 02:15 PM

Any recommendations for the centre of Edinburgh

SneakersO'Toole
09-06-2023, 06:35 PM

It is but Thai beats them both and Ed's Thai Kitchen on St. John's road that has just opened up is tremendous.

I never thought I would say this but it is better than Nok's Kitchen for Thai takeaway. The fried monkfish Choo Chee curry was outstanding.

MagicSwirlingShip
09-06-2023, 07:08 PM

Ong Gie, Brougham place

Paulie Walnuts
09-06-2023, 10:06 PM

Not many unfortunately.

Kim’s Bulgogi in Stockbridge is good for delivery/takeaway. What you really want is Korean BBQ though. Not sure there’s many places in Edinburgh that do it, I’ve had it a few times in London and NYC.

10-06-2023, 08:30 AM

Korean food is the dog's bollocks

10-06-2023, 09:05 AM
Was back at Bittersweet in Leith last night.

They’ve changed the menu up since the last time I was there but still excellent and reasonably priced.

15-06-2023, 04:56 PM
Tapa in Leith last weekend - stumbled by it accidentally on our way to the market. A lovely seating area in the sun, nice lager (sexy yeast) and good food.

ACLeith
15-06-2023, 09:41 PM
Tapa in Leith last weekend - stumbled by it accidentally on our way to the market. A lovely seating area in the sun, nice lager (sexy yeast) and good food.

Been many times over the years. Always excellent.

17-06-2023, 09:25 PM
Tried Ed’s Thai Kitchen in Corstorphine yesterday, took away and sat in Maggies park to eat. Cannae fault it. Very good.

HibbyDave
24-06-2023, 07:34 AM
Had lunch in Glasgow at Kong outside gallery of modern art just after a visit to see Banksy exhibition.
The food was excellent although service was a bit slow.
Salmon chaser salad, burger, fried greens, crispy squid and rock prawns split between two of us. A couple of bottles of peroni. Bill was £53

24-06-2023, 11:38 PM
Anniversary lunch at Scott's at the marina South Queensferry. Enjoyed the food and the portion size. Especially surprised running into Messers Hanlon, Jeggo, Henderson, Cadden and Campbell eating lunch.

Trinity Hibee
26-06-2023, 09:02 PM
Porter & rye in finnieston do a great Sunday roast if anyone is ever around there looking for somewhere.

Hear Spanish butcher is meant to be excellent so want to try there next time I’m through there.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-06-2023, 09:07 PM
Porter & rye in finnieston do a great Sunday roast if anyone is ever around there looking for somewhere.

Hear Spanish butcher is meant to be excellent so want to try there next time I’m through there.

Spanish butcher is absolutely brilliant, thoroughly recommend. Will try our Porter & Rye next time we’re out for tea

HibbyDave
02-07-2023, 07:52 AM
Ka Pao in St James quarter for lunch.
Great food, small plates big bill!

03-07-2023, 08:56 PM
Curry house recommendations please for a Sunday evening, Easter Road or Leith area?

04-07-2023, 08:59 AM
Curry house recommendations please for a Sunday evening, Easter Road or Leith area?

Kahani

Mr Grieves
04-07-2023, 11:16 AM
Kahani

Mintleaf in Bernard street is also decent

11-08-2023, 03:26 PM
The Walnut at Shrubhill, Leith Walk

Been wanting to go for a couple of years and finally got round to it the other night. Small but perfectly formed 3 course menu. Absolute steal at £32. Beef shin & haggis croquette followed by a delicious chicken supreme then their signature dish, walnut whip to finish. All delicious, great service and some lovely cocktails. Will definitely go back when they change the menu in a couple of months.

15-08-2023, 08:02 AM

Been wanting to go for a couple of years and finally got round to it the other night. Small but perfectly formed 3 course menu. Absolute steal at £32. Beef shin & haggis croquette followed by a delicious chicken supreme then their signature dish, walnut whip to finish. All delicious, great service and some lovely cocktails. Will definitely go back when they change the menu in a couple of months.
The walnut whip is probably one of the best desserts I’ve ever had. Maybe biased as actual walnut whips are one of my favourite sweets.

ErinGoBraghHFC
15-08-2023, 08:04 AM

Will be going there on Thursday night as I’m off to a late fringe show that night, sounds lovely [emoji106]

15-08-2023, 09:45 AM
Got Heron booked for September, has anyone been?

11-09-2023, 08:54 AM
Was at La Grotta in Portobello at the weekend (used to be Anna Thai). Was really nice and very reasonable. It’s a small setting but every table was taken and they seemed to be really busy with takeaways too.

It’s BOYB so for a starter and main course each for two it came to £47.

11-09-2023, 02:05 PM
Spirit of Thai in Grindlay Street. Small place but feels like it is run by a family and the friendly welcome and service reflects that.

Lovely food. Simply cooked. Delicious.

20-09-2023, 09:24 PM
At Heron in Henderson Street tonight. My first ever Michelin Star restaurant experience. We had the tasting menu with paired wines, absolutely tremendous. Service was excellent and restaurant service was very relaxed and informal, would highly recommend.

06-10-2023, 09:23 AM
Dusit in Thistle Street last night. Never fails to be excellent. Very nice service. Lovely food. And always reasonably priced.

Paulie Walnuts
06-10-2023, 10:24 AM
Dusit in Thistle Street last night. Never fails to be excellent. Very nice service. Lovely food. And always reasonably priced.

I’ve wanted to try there for years and then every time I book a restaurant it completely slips my mind.

Need to make sure I get there soon.

11-10-2023, 10:37 PM
Oregano tonight on Leith Walk, still up there with the best pizzas in my opinion.

Paulie Walnuts
12-10-2023, 08:39 AM
Oregano tonight on Leith Walk, still up there with the best pizzas in my opinion.

Origano is superb :agree:

13-10-2023, 08:39 PM

Went in tonight and got a king rib supper - have to say it was absolutely tremendous. Chips were best I've had from a chippy in years. King Rib was amazing.:top marks

Chips were so good they tasted like they were cooked in beef dripping! Assuming they aren't though?

14-10-2023, 01:55 AM
Went in tonight and got a king rib supper - have to say it was absolutely tremendous. Chips were best I've had from a chippy in years. King Rib was amazing.:top marks

Chips were so good they tasted like they were cooked in beef dripping! Assuming they aren't though?

Glad you enjoyed it, yes it was all cooked in beef dripping, the king ribs are made for us by our butcher as we didn’t want to put the frozen processed ones that most chippys use on our menu. I was the guy at the far end doing all the frying including your king rib 😀

14-10-2023, 10:00 AM
Glad you enjoyed it, yes it was all cooked in beef dripping, the king ribs are made for us by our butcher as we didn’t want to put the frozen processed ones that most chippys use on our menu. I was the guy at the far end doing all the frying including your king rib ��

Seriously was so good will def be back!:fire:

Was nice to bump into your delivery driver too - I worked with her a while back and hadn't seen her for years, she is a lovely girl!!

14-10-2023, 11:12 AM
Seriously was so good will def be back!:fire:

Was nice to bump into your delivery driver too - I worked with her a while back and hadn't seen her for years, she is a lovely girl!!

👍

Paulie Walnuts
15-10-2023, 07:11 AM
Was at Gaga, a Malaysian restaurant in Glasgow yesterday. Was excellent.

Paulie Walnuts
31-10-2023, 07:39 PM
Went to Rosa’s Thai tonight, used to be Cafe Rouge on Frederick Street. Was excellent and also has 50% off food for the next two weeks as part of its soft launch.

31-10-2023, 08:28 PM
Spirit of Thai in Grindlay Street. Small place but feels like it is run by a family and the friendly welcome and service reflects that.

Lovely food. Simply cooked. Delicious.

My wife and I have been going to Spirit of Thai since we were both at Uni in Dundee (i.e., 'not yesterday' :greengrin). We went randomly one night when we were down for a show at the Lyceum and were blown away by how good it was, and we've been going semi-regularly ever since!

Same family that's run it this entire time, and the quality of food has never wavered. Definitely one of my favourite Thai places in town (along with Dusit).

31-10-2023, 08:33 PM
Was in Edinburgh last weekend for our wedding anniversary - ate at The Kitchin (quality as always), Tattu (not cheap, but extremely good contemporary Chinese food), and Topalabamba. We regularly use the Topa in Glasgow (as we both work in Glasgow) and like it, but I was disappointed with the one in Edinburgh - ***** service, no concept of spice, horrible flickering fairy lights/neon sign that gave both of us a headache after about 20 minutes...definitely won't visit it again.

01-11-2023, 07:43 AM
I’m going to Dante’s in Colinton on Friday, then Kora next week.

First time for me at both, anyone been?

Paulie Walnuts
01-11-2023, 07:56 AM

Been to Dante’s years ago. Was decent enough, never been back though, never thought it was worth a return trip.

speedy_gonzales
01-11-2023, 09:55 AM

Dante's is local to me, the food is decent and it's a cosy wee restaurant, folk rave about it and some even lost their minds when Harry Redknapp visited a couple of years back. Personally, if I'm eating local I prefer the Spylaw or Osteria del Sapori.
I've also been to Kora a few times, excellent seasonal menu as always from the Kitchin group, not as pricey as their Leith offering and fairly relaxed dining atmosphere. Their brunch is well worth a go!

Peanut Shaz
01-11-2023, 12:37 PM
Dantes local to me, been a few times and also used them for larger groups on special occasions. Always deliver, lovely food, friendly service and nice atmosphere.

01-11-2023, 04:11 PM
Dante's is local to me, the food is decent and it's a cosy wee restaurant, folk rave about it and some even lost their minds when Harry Redknapp visited a couple of years back. Personally, if I'm eating local I prefer the Spylaw or Osteria del Sapori.
I've also been to Kora a few times, excellent seasonal menu as always from the Kitchin group, not as pricey as their Leith offering and fairly relaxed dining atmosphere. Their brunch is well worth a go!

Dantes local to me, been a few times and also used them for larger groups on special occasions. Always deliver, lovely food, friendly service and nice atmosphere.

:aok: Thanks both

01-11-2023, 04:53 PM
Heard La Favorita Delivered and Antionetta are closing for good on Sunday, the end of an iconic brand in Edinburgh for La Favorita.

01-11-2023, 05:55 PM
Heard La Favorita Delivered and Antionetta are closing for good on Sunday, the end of an iconic brand in Edinburgh for La Favorita.

Is it staying as a restaurant do you know?

Paulie Walnuts
01-11-2023, 06:26 PM

that’s a shame. Went to Antionetta before the summer and really enjoyed it. I presume Vittoria will remain?

01-11-2023, 08:15 PM
that’s a shame. Went to Antionetta before the summer and really enjoyed it. I presume Vittoria will remain?

The Vittoria Group still has Vittoria on the Walk & The Bridge, Taste of Italy, Bertie’s and DiVino’s. Also heard of a possible new venture on Princes St coming soon likely to be Fish & Chips.

01-11-2023, 08:16 PM
Is it staying as a restaurant do you know?

Not sure about that.

Paulie Walnuts
01-11-2023, 09:55 PM
The Vittoria Group still has Vittoria on the Walk & The Bridge, Taste of Italy, Bertie’s and DiVino’s. Also heard of a possible new venture on Princes St coming soon likely to be Fish & Chips.

04-11-2023, 12:43 PM
Cool Jade, Corstorphine. Chinese.
Nice food but it's shady in there. The menu is scarcely readable! They have lazy susans on the tables to assist sharing.

Staff are very efficient. It helps to have an early booking in that respect. They're wanting to move you on!

04-11-2023, 03:16 PM
Nice food but it's shady in there. The menu is scarcely readable! They have lazy susans on the tables to assist sharing.

Staff are very efficient. It helps to have an early booking in that respect. They're wanting to move you on!

I had to use the torch on my phone to read the menu!

pollution
04-11-2023, 08:29 PM
I had to use the torch on my phone to read the menu!

Lazy susans fill me with rage ! I order what I fancy to eat and I don't want anyone sticking their fork into it.

Get lost and eat your own choice.....

05-11-2023, 11:06 AM

I’ve only been in there once and I thought it was crap.

Maybe caught them on a bad day, but with the Manor House not far from there, I just stick with what I know is good now.

05-11-2023, 11:23 AM

Maybe caught them on a bad day, but with the Manor House not far from there, I just stick with what I know is good now.

Hopefully the Manor House will reopen soon after their refurbishment.

05-11-2023, 11:48 AM

Aye, I’m booked in for Christmas Day

05-11-2023, 09:54 PM

Manor House reopens on Saturday 23rd November for sit ins according to their Facebook. :aok:

Manor House is good but doesn't top the Kweilin or Karen's Unicorn :not worth

05-11-2023, 11:30 PM
Manor House reopens on Saturday 23rd November for sit ins according to their Facebook. :aok:

Karen’s Unicorn is great I agree, but the convenience of having the Manor House so close to home is a big bonus for me.

05-11-2023, 11:40 PM
Lazy susans fill me with rage ! I order what I fancy to eat and I don't want anyone sticking their fork into it.

Get lost and eat your own choice.....

😄 Well in this case we had ordered a banquet so sharing is sort of de rigeur, but I know what you mean.

I don't like to be obliged to surrender some of my lemon chicken or whatever if I've specifically ordered it.

06-11-2023, 10:16 AM
Karen’s Unicorn is great I agree, but the convenience of having the Manor House so close to home is a big bonus for me.

I'm half way between the two so can pick either:greengrin

Interested to see what the refit of the Manor House is like. Always felt a bit like eating in a bright csnteen before to me.

Paulie Walnuts
06-11-2023, 12:37 PM

Love the Kweilin. :agree:

06-11-2023, 03:50 PM

It’s the best Chinese :agree:

Fuzzywuzzy
06-11-2023, 05:19 PM
I really fancy casserole Wang on candlemaker row. Looks really good

Paulie Walnuts
06-11-2023, 08:14 PM

It must be good as Chinese is generally a cuisine I’m not bothered for but the Kweilin is excellent.

06-11-2023, 10:33 PM

It must be good as Chinese is generally a cuisine I’m not bothered for but the Kweilin is excellent.

Cantonese fillet Steak at the Kweilin is unbelievable:fire:

Have to say though think Karen's Unicorn is better overall, so if you havent been then you have to go!:greengrin

09-11-2023, 10:45 AM
Apologies as undoubtedly posted previously but what’s your chippy again, Scouse? Up on a stag do this weekend (and going to the game on Saturday in between) so will try and pop in

09-11-2023, 12:05 PM
Anybody been to O’Oliviero on the Grassmarket?

09-11-2023, 12:52 PM
Apologies as undoubtedly posted previously but what’s your chippy again, Scouse? Up on a stag do this weekend (and going to the game on Saturday in between) so will try and pop in

Think it is the one at the top of Broughton street.

09-11-2023, 01:21 PM
Think it is the one at the top of Broughton street.

I thought it was the old Rapido further down

09-11-2023, 01:44 PM

Half way down Broughton Street next to The Barony Pub, it’s called The Chippy by Spencer.

09-11-2023, 01:45 PM
I thought it was the old Rapido further down

👍

09-11-2023, 02:48 PM
Was at Kora last night, had the mussels and then the wagyu sirloin. Cannae fault it.

Beforehand we had a couple of really nice cocktails in a bar over the road from it I’d never been in, Patron Saint. It’s a Wednesday evening so it was not surprisingly quiet, but I’d go back.

This morning we went for breakfast at Singapore Coffee House in Canonmills and I’d definitely recommend that. Tiny wee place, nowt fancy to look at, but the food was great.

09-11-2023, 08:11 PM
Half way down Broughton Street next to The Barony Pub, it’s called The Chippy by Spencer.
Cheers, will call after the game on Saturday. Be rude not to given it’s only a 7 minute walk from my hotel.

10-11-2023, 11:57 PM

Got food poisoning from there a few years ago just as stuff was opening back up after covid. Was at the opera in Glasgow in Scottish Opera’s warehouse the next day. Thank god for the portaloo next to our table as that’s when it hit. Both ends. We were booked into a hotel afterwards and it was a horrific wait at check-in. Never clenched so much in my life!

11-11-2023, 12:04 AM
Was at Kora last night, had the mussels and then the wagyu sirloin. Cannae fault it.

Beforehand we had a couple of really nice cocktails in a bar over the road from it I’d never been in, Patron Saint. It’s a Wednesday evening so it was not surprisingly quiet, but I’d go back.

This morning we went for breakfast at Singapore Coffee House in Canonmills and I’d definitely recommend that. Tiny wee place, nowt fancy to look at, but the food was great.

Quite fancy Patron Saint. Used to be Henricks when I used to live nearby which was a regular haunt for me.

Beirut for me tomorrow night after the match and before going to the opera. Hopefully a better opera experience than the one mentioned in my previous post… have been several times since without incident :faf:

12-11-2023, 05:47 PM
Me and the missus went to El Castillo at Newhaven Harbour, Mexican place that’s not long opened.

Food was great, restaurant was pretty busy with very good service and a nice atmosphere. I had two courses and two pints, she had three courses and a juice and a cocktail for a mere sixty quid. Will 100% be back soon

Trinity Hibee
12-11-2023, 08:06 PM
Was at Scott’s at south Queensferry today. Just brought out a new menu and the food was superb. Lovely restaurant too

Paulie Walnuts
24-11-2023, 07:15 AM
https://civerinos.vouchercart.com/31378/civerinos-black-friday-doubler?fbclid=IwAR1jfbss3ntiDT6YnJ_veKPssRFgIfhmc R__SzNcK4oY_mDoviMJAzbS8rg_aem_AUApsL89VLGpoJal2kx _XzERf1kf-rLLjos8rovF9amQCTj9frzpPcr5rWDQWkL-E3M

50% off Civerinos vouchers.

24-11-2023, 06:51 PM
https://civerinos.vouchercart.com/31378/civerinos-black-friday-doubler?fbclid=IwAR1jfbss3ntiDT6YnJ_veKPssRFgIfhmc R__SzNcK4oY_mDoviMJAzbS8rg_aem_AUApsL89VLGpoJal2kx _XzERf1kf-rLLjos8rovF9amQCTj9frzpPcr5rWDQWkL-E3M

50% off Civerinos vouchers.

Avoid Forrest Road failed it's hygiene visit.

Paulie Walnuts
25-11-2023, 06:58 AM

Loads of places do.

The hygiene stuff doesn’t tell you all that much. You can fail a hygiene test for not having up to date paperwork and there’ll be nothing to tell the public whether that was what it failed on.

25-11-2023, 08:36 PM

An Improvement Notice could be for some cracked tiles, allergen menus needing updated or any number of minor issues. Mostly sorted within a couple of days but you have to wait weeks for a revisit to get off the naughty step. If it was a serious issue they would be closed down until sorted. The recent campaign the Evening News has undertaken is an absolute scandal. All they've done is damage the reputation of businesses, many small & locally owned and still trying to recover from the damage done a couple of years ago. Gutter press!

25-11-2023, 08:39 PM
Me and the missus went to El Castillo at Newhaven Harbour, Mexican place that’s not long opened.

Food was great, restaurant was pretty busy with very good service and a nice atmosphere. I had two courses and two pints, she had three courses and a juice and a cocktail for a mere sixty quid. Will 100% be back soon

I went last week after reading this and loved it. HUGE portions and pretty cheap. Will definitely revisit.

patch1875
26-11-2023, 09:18 AM
Food and beers at Brewdog last night. The chicken burger was fantastic.

27-11-2023, 01:16 PM
An Improvement Notice could be for some cracked tiles, allergen menus needing updated or any number of minor issues. Mostly sorted within a couple of days but you have to wait weeks for a revisit to get off the naughty step. If it was a serious issue they would be closed down until sorted. The recent campaign the Evening News has undertaken is an absolute scandal. All they've done is damage the reputation of businesses, many small & locally owned and still trying to recover from the damage done a couple of years ago. Gutter press!

I'm guessing there is a list published somewhere online where the press can find out all this info. Yes very difficult for lots of places to recover. I've done work in 3 Chinese restaurants in Edinburgh & £u3k knows how they pass any sort of visit. One restaurant I said to owners friend, how are you expecting me to work in that kitchen. His reply "Just get on with it there's lots of restaurants out there just like here" 🤢

28-11-2023, 07:44 AM
Toby Carvery Corstorphine. Tables need a clean. Vegetables are mushy.
They should just mix them all in a big bowl and stick a flag on the top marked VEG.

28-11-2023, 08:00 AM
Toby Carvery Corstorphine. Tables need a clean. Vegetables are mushy.
They should just mix them all in a big bowl and stick a flag on the top marked VEG.

Have been a few times recently and always found it pretty decent for a carvery, vegetables were fine too. Never been a carvery fan but have enjoyed it tbere every time.

06-12-2023, 10:47 PM
Eastern Pavilion tonight in Corstorphine, the food was absolutely top notch, still the best around in my opinion.

07-12-2023, 04:25 PM
Eastern Pavilion tonight in Corstorphine, the food was absolutely top notch, still the best around in my opinion.

Agreed. Booked for Christmas Eve.

08-12-2023, 11:07 AM

Agreed. Booked for Christmas Eve.

Food there is brilliant. Prahna seems to be the place in Corstorphine that gets all the love as an Indian, but the food at Eastern Pavilion is miles better. People are being seduced by the trendy interior at Pranha I think.

10-12-2023, 10:41 AM
I went last week after reading this and loved it. HUGE portions and pretty cheap. Will definitely revisit.
Glad you enjoyed it mate, I think we’re going back one night through the week. :aok:

11-12-2023, 07:02 PM
Skal in Reykjavik. Was looking for a meal in the city and there’s a food market in the old bus station.

Skal is Michelin recommended, had baked Atlantic char with onion and caper butter, shaved fennel, and mashed potato. Pudding was berry compote, white chocolate ganache, hazelnut crumb and sorrel sorbet.

Hands down the best pudding I’ve ever had, and the fish was cooked perfectly. Very reasonable too.

13-12-2023, 04:07 PM
Tried Shakedown, the new burger bar in Corstorphine. Simple to order online with a not too complicated menu and well organised website. This is a Manchester-based business branching out for the first time. I predict a bright future. The ubiquitous chicken burger was quite salty but at £7 good value and nicely packaged to takeaway.

13-12-2023, 05:27 PM
Recent return to Tanjore, oppposite the Odeon, not sure if that is still Clerk St.

This time no waiting around for our table ( 30 mins the last time).

The food was very good. It’s a small menu and it’s kept pretty simple too. No side dishes either, you’re in for a main dish. The Dosas are amazing, worth a try.

It’s a no frills, byob, authentic south Indian and cost us £175.00 including a tenner tip, for six.

My only gripe is that I could have been doing with eating more. Portions weren’t massive and I ate a starter, main, rice and half a paratha, lol. Restaurants really should offer varying sized portions and charge a bit more, blah, blah :greengrin

Still, barri scran but😀

13-12-2023, 06:40 PM
Anyone familiar with/been to Toro Latino steakhouse in Fountainbridge? Wife and I are heading on Saturday evening but it was a random booking after a Google search - reviews were good - just wondering if anyone can anecdotally vouch for it.

14-12-2023, 09:41 PM
Amazing how many restaurants in Edinburgh are closed on a Monday, just taken ages to fill the gap in our plan when we’re up Sunday-Wednesday (still haunted by that bloody semi final!)

Got a meal included with our room in Malmaison on Sunday. Staying in the Balmoral on Monday and Tuesday so booked in at Prince Brasserie on the Tuesday with Monteiths filling the gap on Monday.

All sounds very pricy but got to carry out a 9 year promise!

15-12-2023, 01:59 PM
Not Edinburgh, but if anyone is ever in Liverpool, I can thoroughly recommend these two places, both on Bold Street.

Firstly, Bakchich. It is a Lebanese place and we tried to get dinner there at about 5.30 last Saturday but it was full. We went for brunch the next day and it was excellent. I had the Full Lebanese (:greengrin) and my wife had a vegetarian wrap. Both were lovely.

When we couldn't get in there, we went to a Turkish place further down Bold Street, Akasya. Food was delicious and service was good. The only thing was it seemed like they had rammed in a few too many tables.

15-12-2023, 03:02 PM
Not Edinburgh, but if anyone is ever in Liverpool, I can thoroughly recommend these two places, both on Bold Street.

Firstly, Bakchich. It is a Lebanese place and we tried to get dinner there at about 5.30 last Saturday but it was full. We went for brunch the next day and it was excellent. I had the Full Lebanese (:greengrin) and my wife had a vegetarian wrap. Both were lovely.

When we couldn't get in there, we went to a Turkish place further down Bold Street, Akasya. Food was delicious and service was good. The only thing was it seemed like they had rammed in a few too many tables.
Me and my Mrs try to avoid going to the same restaurant twice in most cities, purely to make the most of the choice. Speaks volumes that we’ve been to Bakchich twice in the last 12 months.

18-12-2023, 10:04 PM
Meal at Malmaison Leith last night wasn’t much to write home about. £100 for “half board” but only included £50 dinner credit and two £21 breakfasts. Work that one out.

Been to Monteith’s tonight and it was absolutely outstanding. Don’t normally have fish dishes but the smoked haddock starter was outstanding. Brie custard & candied walnuts was different, albeit quite rich with so much Brie. Pork belly was excellent but the star of the show was the venison loin. Absolutely incredible. Got a side of mashed potato and greens and didn’t even have any room for dessert.

HibbyDave
21-12-2023, 06:57 AM
Great meal at Amarone in George St.
Not the cheapest but still great food.

21-12-2023, 10:45 AM
Mariachi on Victoria Street last night, really enjoyed it and would recommend.

patch1875
21-12-2023, 12:34 PM
Masti in Morningside last night was decent.

Paulie Walnuts
21-12-2023, 02:08 PM
Been to a few places recently:

Barcelona:

Sartoria Panatieri - Neapolitan pizza, does all your standard types but also some more creative stuff. Excellent.

L’Arrosseria Xàtiva - had lobster paella which was superb

Paris:

Dumbo64 - smash burgers. Went after landing as was starving. Potentially the best smash burger I’ve ever had, and by default for me, potentially the best burger I’ve had

La Baguette De Relais - steak, fries, the famous Le Relais De Venise dish on a baguette. Absolutely outstanding. Also went to Le Relais De Venise restaurant in Saint Germain, excellent as always.

Bao Bar - Taiwanese restaurant, great food, more than reasonable prices, very casual.

Edinburgh:

Pho - really good for a reasonably priced dinner. Try avoid getting sat beside the open kitchen as my jacket has just been engrained with the smell since.

Noto - excellent as always. Never had a bad dish here.

Glasgow:

Franks pizza. One of the best pizzas I’ve had in the UK. New York sort of style, crispy, slightly chewy dough. Excellent ingredients.

21-12-2023, 08:28 PM
Went to Brassiere Prince at the Balmoral on Tuesday. Everything we hoped for and more. The fillet steak was just pure melt in the mouth. Service as impeccable as you’d expect. So glad we visited.

Been to American Pies in Manchester tonight. No airs and graces, just a proper good feed. Short rib tater tots and beef wellington burrito. Mega.

22-12-2023, 07:51 AM
Great meal at Amarone in George St.
Not the cheapest but still great food.

Get yourself on Itison, £45 for 3 course meal & a cocktail for 2 people. Offer begins 3rd January

07-01-2024, 12:31 PM
Me and the missus went to O’Olivieros Italian on the Grassmarket on New Year’s Day, great atmosphere, staff were superb and food fantastic. Will definitely be back. The draugh moretti was sensational and flew down which always helps!

We then went for breakfast at the Roseleaf (behind Aldi on Commercial Street and just off the Shore) on the Tuesday and I can safely say it’s the best breakfast I’ve had out. Going back next Saturday morning

Trinity Hibee
07-01-2024, 07:56 PM
Pepe Nero in Stockbridge. Great food at reasonable prices

07-01-2024, 08:56 PM
Pepe Nero in Stockbridge. Great food at reasonable prices

Yes, great wee place and price very fair IMO

HibbyDave
08-01-2024, 06:56 AM

Wee bit off topic but did you know that Bold St has been subject of supposed time slip incidents a couple of times?

08-01-2024, 07:25 PM
Anyone been to the Desi Pakwan at Slateford yet? Leith one seems to get good reviews.

08-01-2024, 08:27 PM
Anyone been to the Desi Pakwan at Slateford yet? Leith one seems to get good reviews.

No but been to the one on Leith Walk and it was excellent.

08-01-2024, 08:27 PM
Wee bit off topic but did you know that Bold St has been subject of supposed time slip incidents a couple of times?

Just read up on this. Quite interesting that it’s happened to several people, including one woman who has experienced it at Edinburgh Waverley too.

08-01-2024, 08:29 PM

I remember walking along Bold Street and seeing a newspaper board stating Everton had won a cup, must have been a time slip or was it………..

Bridge hibs
08-01-2024, 08:38 PM
Ffs, I had to google “time slip” 🫣

08-01-2024, 09:12 PM

Well this is an unexpected rabbit hole I've found myself down.

Fascinating reading and more than a bit freaky.

11-01-2024, 08:22 AM
A wee belated birthday meal for me and the wife at Amerone on the corner of George Street, service was good and the food lovely, 1st time we'd been and happily go back again.

11-01-2024, 10:16 AM
A wee belated birthday meal for me and the wife at Amerone on the corner of George Street, service was good and the food lovely, 1st time we'd been and happily go back again.
Thanks. Been looking for a recommendation in central Edinburgh. Might try this.

Trinity Hibee
11-01-2024, 11:40 AM
Thanks. Been looking for a recommendation in central Edinburgh. Might try this.

They’ve got an itison voucher on just now too

11-01-2024, 06:20 PM
They’ve got an itison voucher on just now too

Yep, my sister in law gave me one for my birthday (65), 2x3 course meal with cocktail each. Be aware if you add a coffee to that they charge just over £5 for service charge, got stung for that on Monday.

11-01-2024, 09:10 PM

Been a few times here for work lunches etc (albeit not since before covid!) and agree with the above. Nice place and good food, never had any complaints and good to hear it’s continuing in that form.

26-01-2024, 09:22 PM

Was at this restaurant tonight. Excellent food and excellent value. Will definitely be going back.

27-01-2024, 08:47 AM
Been a few times here for work lunches etc (albeit not since before covid!) and agree with the above. Nice place and good food, never had any complaints and good to hear it’s continuing in that form.

Amarone is part of the same group that owns Cafe Andaluz, Chakkoo, Di Maggios and Cadiz along with a few higher end bars in Glasgow.

They are a success because they do everything well. You aren't likely to get the best meal ever but it will be solid. A good Scottish success story and they are passionate about what they do.

28-01-2024, 08:02 AM
Amarone is part of the same group that owns Cafe Andaluz, Chakkoo, Di Maggios and Cadiz along with a few higher end bars in Glasgow.

They are a success because they do everything well. You aren't likely to get the best meal ever but it will be solid. A good Scottish success story and they are passionate about what they do.

Yeah always like Cafe Andaluz as you say solid and decent quality and service

patch1875
23-02-2024, 11:49 AM
Chop House Leith closing

23-02-2024, 12:08 PM
Went to Brittania Spice after a trip to the Leith Distillery for a tasting and we all fancied a curry after, someone described the Brittania Spice as a'local institution', was highly recommended. We arrived at 7:30pm Friday night, huge restaurant with 100+ seats, absolutely empty and stayed that way throughout the meal. Mixed tandoori for 3 took about 45 mins to appear and was a tiny amount of food for £30, the main courses were just about acceptable but with all the good indian food in Edinburgh it really was terrible value for over £50 a head for 2 courses and a couple of beers each.

23-02-2024, 12:41 PM
Chop House Leith closing

Not suprised really. Only real shock is it took this long.

23-02-2024, 03:20 PM
Went to Brittania Spice after a trip to the Leith Distillery for a tasting and we all fancied a curry after, someone described the Brittania Spice as a'local institution', was highly recommended. We arrived at 7:30pm Friday night, huge restaurant with 100+ seats, absolutely empty and stayed that way throughout the meal. Mixed tandoori for 3 took about 45 mins to appear and was a tiny amount of food for £30, the main courses were just about acceptable but with all the good indian food in Edinburgh it really was terrible value for over £50 a head for 2 courses and a couple of beers each.

I think it was good once upon a time but hasn't been great for years

Bridge hibs
23-02-2024, 04:00 PM
I think it was good once upon a time but hasn't been great for years

Yeah we visited it a few years back and the food was class, Im sure they lost a lot of their good staff due to an immigration raid so probably didnt replace them with the same quality

HibbyDave
24-02-2024, 06:58 AM
Had food in Mowgli on Hanover Street last week. Excellent.

24-02-2024, 11:14 AM

I’m going there tonight, so good to hear!

24-02-2024, 11:39 AM
Was at The Ghurka on Brougham Place on Wednesday night,it was very good and reasonably priced.

Trinity Hibee
24-02-2024, 01:34 PM
The Broughton on Broughton Street. Excellent food. Got the sriracha crispy chicken to start, beef for the main.

Only thing I found was the dessert options were limited but the food was brilliant. Not far from ER so good for a pre/post match meal

24-02-2024, 04:22 PM

It really is. Fish curry delicious.

25-02-2024, 09:01 AM
Paprika Delight in Oldham was tremendous last night.

02-03-2024, 10:12 AM
I was at the Port of Leith distillery last night.

Really enjoyed it. We did the tour then went for food and drinks afterwards. Good cocktail list, food menu is small but decent and the whisky list is huge and pretty reasonably priced. Your standard bottlings start at £4 a nip, the most expensive was £56 I think but the average was between a fiver and a tenner. Beer was all from Pilot, an IPA, lager, stout and sour. All £6 a pint. I had an Arbroath Smokie Scotch egg with a side of chips and it was spot on.We had 4 mains, 4 sides, at least 4 pints each, 2 whiskies each and 2 cocktails each and it came in at £276 including a 12.5% service charge. I thought that was more than fair for what we had. I'd recommend.

speedy_gonzales
02-03-2024, 06:57 PM
I was at the Port of Leith distillery last night.

What a small world, I was there last night too!
We did the tour which was OK then hit the bar about 20:45. Had a few small plates and various drinks, nothing to complain about. The bar has a decent vibe about it (considering they've only been open a few weeks) and I reckon it will be rammed when the lighter nights come for the views on show.
My only observation/recommendation about the set-up is that the toilets are on the floor below. Eventually, someone will stumble on those stairs (although they're not quite Wetherspoon-esque).

Trinity Hibee
04-03-2024, 02:31 PM
Went to Chaakooh for lunch today. On Lothian rd across from odeon. superb lunch deal and food was excellent. Definitely going back. Very similar to dishoom.

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-03-2024, 03:23 PM
Booked Fazenda Rodizio on George Street for my birthday, heard good things about it. Anyone been before?

04-03-2024, 05:01 PM
Booked Fazenda Rodizio on George Street for my birthday, heard good things about it. Anyone been before?

It's amazing.

The meat is good but don't miss out on the salad and sides bar. Honestly it's not like limp lettuce and grated carrots. It's absolutely unreal.

04-03-2024, 05:18 PM
It's amazing.

The meat is good but don't miss out on the salad and sides bar. Honestly it's not like limp lettuce and grated carrots. It's absolutely unreal.

Food is excellent but drinks are a tad overpriced
Over £4 can of coke, £6.90 for a cider & £8 for a pint of Estrella

04-03-2024, 05:24 PM

My favourite restaurant by a mile. The truffle parmesan fries are lovely and it is just an absolute meat feast. I can’t wait to go again. You’ll love it.

05-03-2024, 11:10 AM

Been a couple of times. Brilliant

05-03-2024, 11:46 AM

I've always really fancied it. She's a vegetarian though, so never actually got around to it.

05-03-2024, 12:12 PM
Been a couple of times. Brilliant

I must be in the minority, I enjoyed it and had a decent night there, glad I experienced it after hearing so much about it but there are many more restaurants I would revisit before returning there.

08-03-2024, 05:54 AM
I must be in the minority, I enjoyed it and had a decent night there, glad I experienced it after hearing so much about it but there are many more restaurants I would revisit before returning there.

Fair enough I don't get out much. :greengrin Bit of a gimmick with the way of serving and the palatial surroundings and the different type of meat but enjoyed it both times. Also went for lunch both times so was a good but cheaper than dinner prices from what I remember.

Paulie Walnuts
08-03-2024, 09:53 AM

I’m the same :agree:

10-03-2024, 09:25 AM

Been to the one in Charlotte Street, Fitzrovia-ish. Pretty decent but not quite as good as Dishoom.

10-03-2024, 09:36 PM
Went for Indian at Cilantro on Leith Walk last night as had read some rave reviews. Food was excellent, very tasty and service was great.

Very small inside, and so combined with the fact it's getting rave reviews, you have to book in advance.

20-03-2024, 09:51 PM
Just back from Restaurant Martin Wishart, it really was fantastic food and service.

MKHIBEE
22-03-2024, 07:40 AM
Just back from Restaurant Martin Wishart, it really was fantastic food and service.

Was there a few weeks ago, first class food and service, my only gripe is that none of the food was hot, only warm.

Rattler
22-03-2024, 08:36 AM
For anyone who enjoys Fazenda then you should try

https://www.rio-steakhouse.co.uk/edinburgh

Located in the Assembly Rooms in George Street. We were here last week and couldn't fault it.

ErinGoBraghHFC
22-03-2024, 08:48 AM
For anyone who enjoys Fazenda then you should try

https://www.rio-steakhouse.co.uk/edinburgh

Located in the Assembly Rooms in George Street. We were here last week and couldn't fault it.

Partnered with Forged Irish Stout - might have to give this place a go! Love a good steak and quite a fan of the jumped up coke heads stout, is it the same sort of idea as Fazenda where they charge a fixed price and bring it to the table?