View Full Version : Recent Restaurant Visits Reviews

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11

patch1875
22-02-2020, 07:26 AM
Fazenda

Wow this place is great! Think I will be having meat sweats for days.

Not cheap but the food is top notch and great friendly staff.

22-02-2020, 11:53 AM
Anyone been to the Stockbridge restaurant? Decent voucher on itison for 3 courses and a glass of fizz for £19pp

I’d been looking at that as well. Would be good to hear people’s thoughts.

Ajo
26-02-2020, 08:48 AM
I’d been looking at that as well. Would be good to hear people’s thoughts.

I purchased the voucher so will let you know how it is 👍🏼

26-02-2020, 02:24 PM
I purchased the voucher so will let you know how it is 👍🏼

Nice one, cheers :aok:

02-03-2020, 01:59 AM
Been back up in Edinburgh for the weekend. Returned to a very familiar favourite-La Garrigue on Jeffrey Street on Friday, prior to the match. They had a special tasting menu on, it was typical of the place - it is hearty Languedoc cuisine and not chasing stars or rosettes, just really good Southern French flavours. Special mention to the wine list, a range of Picpouls and hearty reds. We had one of the Picpouls that is fully grown grapes rather than the norm, where they are taken earlier. It was delicious, had the sharpness you would expect, but also a much fuller body.

On Saturday we went to Le Bistrot at the Institut Francais on George IV Bridge. We had a late afternoon/early evening booking as we were going on to something else after. We turned up and the place was mobbed and looked pretty chaotic, to the extent that I suggested to Ms Mibbes we could just slip out and find somewhere else.

My mistake. We waited a bit after being seated but after that the service was absolutely faultless. The food was similarly fine, but I would go back merely for the attention we had from the serving staff, they were great. Food was (obviously) French-orientated, generous in portion and rich in taste.

Definitely somewhere I would go back to, if nothing else because it is quite a building - as well as good staff delivering good food :greengrin

02-04-2020, 08:28 PM
I guess not 😂😀. Looking forward to this thread buzzing again before too long.

02-04-2020, 09:01 PM
I guess not 😂😀. Looking forward to this thread buzzing again before too long.

I haven’t even had a takeaway to review since this all started 😡

02-04-2020, 09:14 PM
I haven’t even had a takeaway to review since this all started 😡

I think we stay in the same neck of the woods. Missing Eastern Pavilions a lot. I was a Friday evening fairly regular there.

02-04-2020, 09:39 PM
I think we stay in the same neck of the woods. Missing Eastern Pavilions a lot. I was a Friday evening fairly regular there.

We do, yes I’m missing a decent night out with good food.

03-04-2020, 08:13 AM
Are the takeaways still generally open and is it unfair to use them? What are people's thoughts on them at the moment?

2 weekends ago, before the lockdown was properly enforced I got a takeaway from La favourita because I go to Vittoria's quite often and wanted to try to keep giving them my business when I wasn't able to get to their restaurants.

I see they've since stopped doing deliveries for the safety of their staff and I think that's probably the right decision. So therefore should I assume that the takeaways still delivering are doing so against the safety of their own staff and me ordering anything is just perpetuating that cycle? :dunno:

Or will there be adequate safeguards in place and people ordering takeaway are helping businesses and therefore employers?

03-04-2020, 08:42 AM
Are the takeaways still generally open and is it unfair to use them? What are people's thoughts on them at the moment?

2 weekends ago, before the lockdown was properly enforced I got a takeaway from La favourita because I go to Vittoria's quite often and wanted to try to keep giving them my business when I wasn't able to get to their restaurants.

I see they've since stopped doing deliveries for the safety of their staff and I think that's probably the right decision. So therefore should I assume that the takeaways still delivering are doing so against the safety of their own staff and me ordering anything is just perpetuating that cycle? :dunno:

Or will there be adequate safeguards in place and people ordering takeaway are helping businesses and therefore employers?

Had a Chinese takeaway delivered last weekend. Paid over the phone. Driver left it on the doorstep and knocked on the door. Sorted.

Tipped all the food into own bowls/plates. Chucked containers out. Washed hands. Ate food.

👍😀

03-04-2020, 10:00 AM

It’s a matter of your own judgement, as you may or may not know I am the Safety Manager for the Restaurant Group you mentioned, we considered all the factors and the risk to our staff and suppliers/customers and decided to stop our whole operation. That’s not a criticism of anyone that continues to deliver as each business makes their own decisions based on their own assessments. I personally haven’t had any food delivered yet but I am tempted to use the Chinese Manor House in Corstorphine this weekend as they are delivering.

03-04-2020, 10:43 AM
It’s a matter of your own judgement, as you may or may not know I am the Safety Manager for the Restaurant Group you mentioned, we considered all the factors and the risk to our staff and suppliers/customers and decided to stop our whole operation. That’s not a criticism of anyone that continues to deliver as each business makes their own decisions based on their own assessments. I personally haven’t had any food delivered yet but I am tempted to use the Chinese Manor House in Corstorphine this weekend as they are delivering.

I knew you worked with them, but didn't know your role. All the best to you and the group at the other end of this!

I'm not sure if takeaway places would have put as much effort into the decision making process as Vittoria Group or put as much emphasis on safety.

But is not ordering just double punishment for the staff. I think I'll probably order in the end in all honesty - I just thought I'd test the water to see if the .net moral compass had something different to say. :greengrin

03-04-2020, 11:23 AM
I’ve had a few deliveries. The Chinese I got last weekend was the weakest in terms of safety. They seemed to be quite happy to take cash on delivery though I paid over the phone. They are shut now though.

Hoping to get a curry delivered tonight.

04-04-2020, 05:50 PM
Gave in and ordered Chinese tonight from the Manor House Restaurant in Corstorphinre, it was excellent.

04-04-2020, 08:42 PM
Gave in and ordered Chinese tonight from the Manor House Restaurant in Corstorphinre, it was excellent.

Lucky you. Tried for 15 minutes to get through and was constantly engaged. Same with Royal Dynasty at Barnton.

04-04-2020, 09:27 PM
Lucky you. Tried for 15 minutes to get through and was constantly engaged. Same with Royal Dynasty at Barnton.

I phoned just before 5 and they answered straight away, saw on the local FB page that loads tried but couldn’t get through, so busy.

04-04-2020, 10:17 PM
Maybe I'm being daft but why this massive spike in everyone suddenly wanting takeaways all the time since lockdown? No way has folk run out of food in the house!!

04-04-2020, 10:57 PM
Maybe I'm being daft but why this massive spike in everyone suddenly wanting takeaways all the time since lockdown? No way has folk run out of food in the house!!

It's the weekend and despite the 'Cooking Tips' thread on another forum on here, sometimes folk just want to get someone deliver them a chicken biryani or a Szeuchan chilli beef, made takeaway style.

04-04-2020, 10:58 PM

There isn’t a massive spike, because so many takeaways have closed the pressure on the small amount in comparison remaining open is massive. The market for a regular weekend takeaway will be the same it’s just that the demand outstrips the outlets available hence the difficulty in certain areas.

04-04-2020, 11:21 PM
There isn’t a massive spike, because so many takeaways have closed the pressure on the small amount in comparison remaining open is massive. The market for a regular weekend takeaway will be the same it’s just that the demand outstrips the outlets available hence the difficulty in certain areas.
Only ones that have closed around here are 95% of the Chinese takeaways (plus Maccies and KFC which do well with Uber Eats these days). Pizza shops, Indians and most of the chippies open as normal. Sod’s law of course that the only takeaway I’ve fancied for the last week or two is a Chinese!

04-04-2020, 11:35 PM

Where I am, it is supply not demand, with seated testaurants offering takeaway or deiivery.

I generally choose to dine in Edinburgh but where I live we have a few places that compete at the different levels - fine dining; gastropub; and simple pub grub. At least one has stopped opening and I am not confident for the rest.

In another way they are improvising in a way that might give them a trade on the other side - deivered breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Might be a reconfiguration of eating and buying habits here.

Fuzzywuzzy
06-04-2020, 03:56 PM

Try just eat. Some places let you pre-order so you can do it earlier in the day and just sit back and wait for your scran to arrive

Fuzzywuzzy
06-04-2020, 03:58 PM
I'm looking forward to another visit to down the hatch and trying palozzi restaurant when we're free again!!

06-04-2020, 08:51 PM

With very little to do at the moment, a wee treat in the form of a take away is something to look forward to for many, especially at the weekend.

06-04-2020, 09:40 PM
If you’re at home with the family then Bon Tea Room in Corstorphine are doing home delivery afternoon tea.

https://m.facebook.com/boncorstorphine/photos/a.1688480281375707/2519335898290137/?type=3&source=48

Something different 😀

15-04-2020, 03:22 PM
My wife saw a programme on tv the other night, based on Edinburgh

They went to a place just off the Royal Mile. It’s called Wings
Looks like the sort of place I’d like to go, when this is all over

Anyone been?

15-04-2020, 03:27 PM

Anyone been?

Have been once and had a selection of dry seasoned and wet wings. It was okay but the dishes sounded better than they actually were in my opinion, wouldn’t rush back.

15-04-2020, 03:27 PM

Anyone been?

Yes, it's down one of the wee streets between the mile and cowgate. I think it's the one just next to the Fringe shop.

I actually think it went downhill a little bit. The first couple of times I went was great.

Lovely wings with 100+ different flavours and toppings. Some really really good. I'm sure it was £2/£2.5 for a sol too which isn't too bad. A few of the tables downstairs had quirky games on them - we had an old games console with Fifa94.

The last time I went, and this was a while ago now, they had changed chicken supplier. The portion was 3 large chicken wings rather then 6 smaller pieces. It wasn't as tasty.

15-04-2020, 03:28 PM

Anyone been?

I went a couple of years ago. It's fine as far as chicken wings go. Some of the flavours are good, some not so much.

It's not really somewhere for a sit down meal as such. It's messy, it's loud, there are retro games consoles with people playing them and so on. Fine for a quick in and out and the chance to try 3 or 4 different options in one sitting though.

15-04-2020, 03:36 PM
Thanks for the prompt replies everyone

15-04-2020, 03:38 PM
My brother frequently takes my wee nephew, they both love it.

15-04-2020, 06:10 PM
We really need Buffalo Wild Wings franchises to open up over here 👍

15-04-2020, 06:25 PM
We really need Buffalo Wild Wings franchises to open up over here [emoji106]There's a big French chain called Buffalo Grill (also in Spain & Belgium IIRC) that basically do burgers and a bit of texmex stuff. I'd recommend it to anyone on their travels as in terms of value for money it's hard to beat.

speedy_gonzales
15-04-2020, 07:18 PM
Should be on the cooking thread, but relatively easy to make them yourself.
I buy packs of wings from Tesco, el cheapo (probably poor conditions for the chooks), about £2.70 for 1Kg. Split the drumettes from the wingettes. dust in seasoned flour (I use salt, cayenne, garlic powder), fry off and rest in in warm oven.
My wings sauce is a basic buffalo (butter, cider vinegar, hot sauce, paprika/cayenne) but I usually flavour it with honey/maple/tabasco depending on what mood I'm in, then dress the wings in the sauce, serve with wedge salad,,,,bootiful!

15-04-2020, 08:18 PM
Should be on the cooking thread, but relatively easy to make them yourself.
I buy packs of wings from Tesco, el cheapo (probably poor conditions for the chooks), about £2.70 for 1Kg. Split the drumettes from the wingettes. dust in seasoned flour (I use salt, cayenne, garlic powder), fry off and rest in in warm oven.
My wings sauce is a basic buffalo (butter, cider vinegar, hot sauce, paprika/cayenne) but I usually flavour it with honey/maple/tabasco depending on what mood I'm in, then dress the wings in the sauce, serve with wedge salad,,,,bootiful!

Jeez. That sounds good. Deep fry them?

15-04-2020, 08:19 PM

Where are they retailing?

I love Chicken Wings, but I’m not a Nando’s fan. I love HRC classic rock wings, just the best flavour around

15-04-2020, 08:20 PM
Where are they retailing?

I love Chicken Wings, but I’m not a Nando’s fan. I love HRC classic rock wings, just the best flavour around

I don’t think they have any over here? I’m a regular whenever over in Florida.

15-04-2020, 08:52 PM
I don’t think they have any over here? I’m a regular whenever over in Florida.

No worries. Great to see this thread still trending

We all used to take dining out for granted...

speedy_gonzales
15-04-2020, 09:05 PM
Jeez. That sounds good. Deep fry them?

Yup, deep fried but I just use a wok with a couple of inches of oil in, heat to 180°C, fry in small batches until they have a nice golden colour then in the oven for 10 minutes or so whilst you make the sauce.
I absolutely love my wings, visit Florida often and enjoy the variety of wing sauces there, it doesn't have to be blow your head off hot.

16-04-2020, 01:40 AM
Thanks for the prompt replies everyone
Dinnae get a taxi up there billy, it’s a nightmare to try and stop on the handbrake. I had a guy accuse me of trying to kill his wife when my handbrake failed. It’s best to just get off in the Cowgate and walk up :greengrin. Trying to do a u turn up there is horrendous it feels like your going to roll over,

MagicSwirlingShip
16-04-2020, 01:53 AM
The beat wings I’ve had in Edinburgh have been in Nightcap, on York Place. Proper sized chicken wings, I thought the ones at Wings were quite small.

Worth checking out

16-04-2020, 07:58 AM
The beat wings I’ve had in Edinburgh have been in Nightcap, on York Place. Proper sized chicken wings, I thought the ones at Wings were quite small.

Worth checking out

I'll keep that in mind. :aok:

Fancying some wings now for some unknown reason. :dunno:

If quantity over quality is your bag then the chanter on bread street (student pub) do 25p per wing on Wednesday. They're small but at 4 for £1 you probably end up with a decent amount of chicken out of it. £3 pints midweek too.

16-04-2020, 11:25 AM
Thought wings was decent when I went ages ago. It really is an in and out place as PB said though.

Anyone tried six by nicos home cooking kit? Can’t say I’m going to get it but would be interested to hear how others have got on with it!

Edit: it actually appears it’s just the food cooked and delivered.

16-04-2020, 11:39 AM
I'm pretty sure The Doghouse pub on Clerk Street have a partnership with Wings and you can get them in the pub. At least you used to be able to, not been for a few years.

16-04-2020, 02:24 PM
Thought wings was decent when I went ages ago. It really is an in and out place as PB said though.

Anyone tried six by nicos home cooking kit? Can’t say I’m going to get it but would be interested to hear how others have got on with it!

Edit: it actually appears it’s just the food cooked and delivered.

I seen that but they only do it for 4 people at the moment and didn't overly fancy it. I know they need to make it worthwhile but I would guess groups of 4 limit their customers significantly. The only groups of 4 I could imagine being together are those with kids and I can't imagine they're looking at fine(ish) dining options.

On 6ByNico, I had a reservation with them coming up which is obviously cancelled. They've emailed well in advance to apologise, told us they'll offer a priority period to rebook once things are back to normal, and there will be a complimentary drink on arrival. That's going above and beyond any expectations I could have of a business. :aok:

16-04-2020, 03:05 PM
Missing my bi-weekly El Cartel visits so got Cochinita Pibil in the go tonight and also got masa harina flour to make home made tacos.

MagicSwirlingShip
17-04-2020, 11:08 AM
Missing my bi-weekly El Cartel visits so got Cochinita Pibil in the go tonight and also got masa harina flour to make home made tacos.

Could go an El Cartel Margarita now like 🤤

17-04-2020, 11:37 AM
Could go an El Cartel Margarita now like 🤤

Likewise. Without a doubt my favourite restaurant in Edinburgh :agree:

17-04-2020, 06:23 PM
Wedgewood on the the High Street doing a take away at the moment £20 for 3 courses. The greedy part of me wanted more for the main course but what am i expecting for £20. The meal was excellent and Mrs OS and i might give it another bash next week.

Only criticism are delivery charges (I picked up as i live close by) they charged delivery on each 3 course order.

27-05-2020, 09:59 PM
Anyone else used a restaurant delivery recently? I see Stac Polly do it as are L’escargot Bleu.

27-05-2020, 10:00 PM
Anyone else used a restaurant delivery recently? I see Stac Polly do it as are L’escargot Bleu.

Used Chinese Manor House & Eastern Pavilion a few times if they count. 😁

27-05-2020, 10:40 PM

I have ordered a delivery from First Coast on Dalry rd for Saturday. Drooling already!

28-05-2020, 02:08 AM
A few of the restaurants out our way have been doing this throughout lockdown. One of them, an 'American' restaurant that we scarcely went to pre-lockdown started offering burgers, hot dogs, loaded fries, mac and cheese etc as takeaway options soon after lockdown and we thought we'd try them one night. Their food's fabulous, and we're now likely to use them once lockdown is finished (Route 36 in Lanark).

28-05-2020, 06:59 AM
Wedgewood on the the High Street doing a take away at the moment £20 for 3 courses. The greedy part of me wanted more for the main course but what am i expecting for £20. The meal was excellent and Mrs OS and i might give it another bash next week.

Only criticism are delivery charges (I picked up as i live close by) they charged delivery on each 3 course order.

We’re doing this tonight for the wedding anniversary. I’ve never eaten there but the menu looks great.

28-05-2020, 08:11 AM
We’re doing this tonight for the wedding anniversary. I’ve never eaten there but the menu looks great.

Happy Anniversary 🥂

28-05-2020, 08:45 AM
I see La Favorita are open for takeaway/delivery again. :aok:

28-05-2020, 09:08 AM
I see La Favorita are open for takeaway/delivery again. :aok:

Yes and Taste of Italy is doing the same.

28-05-2020, 12:37 PM
Yes and Taste of Italy is doing the same.

Yes, I got Taste's email first and they don't deliver to me. I didn't realise the first email was only Taste and had already promised pizzas to my parents for the weekend before I realised - thankfully la fav do! :greengrin

28-05-2020, 06:06 PM
Happy Anniversary ��

15 years a slave :agree:

it just turned up, 5 spiced beef with honey to start, pork belly black pudding main and sticky toffee pudding with caol ila butterscotch. I don’t even mind having to heat it, I need to crisp up the pork belly and the wife’s duck and then put it in the oven for 15 mins, so I can then pretend I’ve actually cooked it :greengrin

28-05-2020, 10:01 PM
15 years a slave :agree:

it just turned up, 5 spiced beef with honey to start, pork belly black pudding main and sticky toffee pudding with caol ila butterscotch. I don’t even mind having to heat it, I need to crisp up the pork belly and the wife’s duck and then put it in the oven for 15 mins, so I can then pretend I’ve actually cooked it :greengrin

Sounds decent, would you recommend?

28-05-2020, 10:19 PM
Sounds decent, would you recommend?

I’ve got to say it was outstanding quality and ridiculously good value. They open their delivery slots on Monday afternoons.

28-05-2020, 11:13 PM
I’ve got to say it was outstanding quality and ridiculously good value. They open their delivery slots on Monday afternoons.

Cheers will have a look at that.

05-06-2020, 09:49 AM
The First Coast delivery we got was tremendous - spicy prawn & hake starter, indonesian beef curry with a sweetcorn pilaf and rhubarb & honey panna cotta.

This week's menu is a bit veggie/salady for me, but will be looking out for the next one.

https://www.first-coast.co.uk/first-coast-at-home/

05-06-2020, 11:09 AM
We got takeaway tapas from Malvarose in Portobello last week. We eat there quite often as it's a 15 minute walk from us.

Really good. Their homemade bread is exceptional and the pollo al ajillo was a huge hit with my 2 year old.

05-06-2020, 11:29 AM
The Torfin in Corstorphine have now opened a hatch for takeaway draught beer, cocktails and a chip shop style menu.

05-06-2020, 11:37 AM
The Torfin in Corstorphine have now opened a hatch for takeaway draught beer, cocktails and a chip shop style menu.

I'm curious as to where they are getting their beer from. As of a week or so back very few major breweries were kegging at any kind of volume. We're probably at the absolute maximum time that any existing stock would still be usable. There has been a slight increase in production for kegs in anticipation of pubs reopening but it hasn't really ramped up yet.

05-06-2020, 11:57 AM
I'm curious as to where they are getting their beer from. As of a week or so back very few major breweries were kegging at any kind of volume. We're probably at the absolute maximum time that any existing stock would still be usable. There has been a slight increase in production for kegs in anticipation of pubs reopening but it hasn't really ramped up yet.

That question has been asked, Innis & Gunn Lager and West Coast IPA is all they can get and all that is available just now. Said they are struggling to get Tennents.

05-06-2020, 12:22 PM
That question has been asked, Innis & Gunn Lager and West Coast IPA is all they can get and all that is available just now. Said they are struggling to get Tennents.

That's interesting. Thanks.

I got some beer from McLarens at Holy Corner last weekend. I knew that would be fresh because their group owns Cold Town Brewery and I know they are kegging.

SideBurns
06-06-2020, 06:36 AM
That's interesting. Thanks.

I got some beer from McLarens at Holy Corner last weekend. I knew that would be fresh because their group owns Cold Town Brewery and I know they are kegging.

I'm still buying cask beer (they also sell keg) from the Stockbridge Tap on a Sunday (they've started opening on a Wednesday too). They seem to be doing a decent trade. I get the impression they're supporting small, independent breweries, so perhaps not reliant on a return to mass production?

Having said that, I did hear last week from a pal who works for a major brewer that pubs are hopeful of a return to business on 4th July; I know we have our own timetable in Scotland, but if the stats keep moving in the right direction maybe we'll be there or thereabouts.

07-06-2020, 05:46 PM
Torfin opening has today resulted in large gatherings buying their booze and using the external area of the Whiie Lady to consume it. It looks just like a normal Sunday session, social distancing non existent!

patch1875
07-06-2020, 06:23 PM
Torfin opening has today resulted in large gatherings buying their booze and using the external area of the Whiie Lady to consume it. It looks just like a normal Sunday session, social distancing non existent!

Appears to be a few pubs opened for takeaways and same is happening people drinking outside.

08-06-2020, 11:10 AM

Leith Walk was like that on Saturday.

Bar Brig, Brass Monkey and Bier Hoose all doing takeaway beer and the street was heaving.

22-06-2020, 12:03 PM
Haven’t been to it, but read that the Tower Restaurant in Chambers st is closing. Lease is coming to it’s end, and it’s not going to be viable post pandemic
Won’t be last either unfortunately

22-06-2020, 02:15 PM
Haven’t been to it, but read that the Tower Restaurant in Chambers st is closing. Lease is coming to it’s end, and it’s not going to be viable post pandemic

Yeah sad to hear of a decent restaurant going, James Thompson has still got the Witchery and Prestonfield though and says they will continue.
The Vitoria Group are planning to reopen all six of their restaurants in phases.

22-06-2020, 03:42 PM

I was appalled to see that. They were grouped around the benches on St John's Road too and they left a flipping mess inevitably.

Honestly, people are just......................people.:confused:

22-06-2020, 04:33 PM
I was appalled to see that. They were grouped around the benches on St John's Road too and they left a flipping mess inevitably.

Honestly, people are just......................people.:confused:

Benches, the graveyard, table outside Winstons, the biggest beer garden in Edinburgh 😉

22-06-2020, 07:07 PM

Went once and wasn't really blown away and opted not to go back, depite it being very handy for pre-Festival Thatre meals. There were no shortage of places handy for the Festival Theatre.

Stayed at Prestonfield House once and ate at Rhubarb there, and the whole experience was exceptional. I hope he manages to sustain it but it must be very difficult

22-06-2020, 08:11 PM
Have used the new pizza place in Corstorphine (Slice), it was really good.

The new Ting Thai on Lothian Road also very good. Same as the other one really.

22-06-2020, 08:25 PM

I haven’t used Slice as I saw some horrendous looking pizzas on the local FB page so decided not to bother.

I did try Papa Johns for the first time a couple of weeks ago, it was pretty decent.

22-06-2020, 08:26 PM

Passed by Slice the other day, will give it a try
Thanks

speedy_gonzales
23-06-2020, 09:26 AM
I haven’t used Slice as I saw some horrendous looking pizzas on the local FB page so decided not to bother.

I did try Papa Johns for the first time a couple of weeks ago, it was pretty decent.
I think I seemy similar pics, toppings barely covering 50% of the pizza base etc.

Has anyone tried Pizza Plus at Chesser. Noticed their wee delivery car buzzing about the manor so they're either decent or cheap!

patch1875
23-06-2020, 09:49 AM
I think I seem similar pics, toppings barely covering 50% of the pizza base etc.

Has anyone tried Pizza Plus at Chesser. Noticed their wee delivery car buzzing about the manor so they're either decent or cheap!

Would say pizza plus is average thought the base seemed a bit like a frozen pizza one.

23-06-2020, 03:49 PM

I used to like the St Johns chippy that was there. Nice folk.

24-06-2020, 09:02 AM
I used to like the St Johns chippy that was there. Nice folk.

Me too, actually preferred it the the Bar B Que despite it’s great reputation.

A friend has just taken over and refitted a chippy on Marchmont Road, now called “#Fish” look forward to trying it.

Had a great takeaway from Eastern Pavillion on Saturday night, replicated what we normally have in the restaurant even down to several pints of Cobra. 😁

24-06-2020, 11:40 AM
Me too, actually preferred it the the Bar B Que despite it’s great reputation.

A friend has just taken over and refitted a chippy on Marchmont Road, now called “#Fish” look forward to trying it.

Had a great takeaway from Eastern Pavillion on Saturday night, replicated what we normally have in the restaurant even down to several pints of Cobra. 😁

It's a good place. We like the Spice Lounge Kitchen but you don't get a big plateful. It's certainly an improvement on The Rainbow!

It doesn't seem to be functioning at all at the moment.

mvteng
24-06-2020, 01:08 PM
It's a good place. We like the Spice Lounge Kitchen but you don't get a big plateful. It's certainly an improvement on The Rainbow!

Spice Lounge are doing takeaway.

50% off in June as its the anniversary of them opening

24-06-2020, 01:13 PM

24-06-2020, 02:30 PM
Might not be too long now, before we get out for a meal
Where is everyone’s 1st choice to visit

24-06-2020, 02:55 PM

La Garrigue on Jeffrey Street. It is a regular haunt for meeting up with former colleagues and some of us were due to catch up there in April. Hearty southern French food and a decent wine list and great views if you pick the right side of the table :greengrin

24-06-2020, 03:20 PM

Oh right! It always looks a bit run down when I go past on my "power walks". That's a good deal. They do a rare pint of Guinness in there in normal times.

24-06-2020, 03:20 PM

New Chapter or Kanpai for me, cannae decide what kind of food I’m after.

24-06-2020, 03:25 PM
New Chapter or Kanpai for me, cannae decide what kind of food I’m after.

I fancy a Mexican, but absolutely adore Hard Rock Classic Chicken Wings, can’t beat them anywhere

24-06-2020, 05:21 PM
I fancy a Mexican, but absolutely adore Hard Rock Classic Chicken Wings, can’t beat them anywhere

I’ll be back to El Cartel first so it’ll be Mexican for me :agree:

24-06-2020, 05:29 PM

Can’t see me rushing back anywhere to be honest, La Piazza is our go to Italian so probably there but not for some time.

24-06-2020, 08:46 PM

I'm in no great rush to be honest.

I had a reservation at 6ByNico that was postponed and they offered a free cocktail as compensation (unnecessary given the circumstances) so depends if there's a requirement for that to be as part of their opening menu or not.

Vittoria's would usually be my go to restaurant but I've enjoyed a few la Favorita deliveries so at least I've been having something from their wider group.

27-06-2020, 05:51 PM
Got a burger from ‘Dirty’ on Duke Street tonight. All the beef is wagyu.

Possibly the best burger I’ve ever had. Absolutely unreal.

28-06-2020, 12:41 PM

50% off in June as its the anniversary of them opening

Delivery too by any chance? 🙏

28-06-2020, 01:05 PM
Delivery too by any chance? 🙏

Yes mate they do delivery and you get the discount.

28-06-2020, 01:24 PM
Got a burger from ‘Dirty’ on Duke Street tonight. All the beef is wagyu.

Possibly the best burger I’ve ever had. Absolutely unreal.

Got one there last night too. Was excellent. Overdid it with the sides though. My only complaint was that we ordered two of the Dirty Hot Mess burgers but I’m not convinced that was what we got as there was zero spice to either of them. An absolutely amazing burger though.

28-06-2020, 01:33 PM
Yes mate they do delivery and you get the discount.

Nice one! 👍

28-06-2020, 02:21 PM
Got one there last night too. Was excellent. Overdid it with the sides though. My only complaint was that we ordered two of the Dirty Hot Mess burgers but I’m not convinced that was what we got as there was zero spice to either of them. An absolutely amazing burger though.

I just got the dirty burger and normal fries and that was a lot. I don’t think I could have come close had I got loaded fries or a more deluxe burger. I already want another :greengrin

nellio
29-06-2020, 11:42 AM
Do dirty do click and collect as well?

29-06-2020, 12:59 PM
Do dirty do click and collect as well?

I think so. They’ve certainly got a picture on Instagram of a queue outside.

29-06-2020, 02:26 PM
Dirty don't deliver to my postcode. I've never had such disappointment over something I'd never heard of before reading this thread. :greengrin

29-06-2020, 02:47 PM
Dirty don't deliver to my postcode. I've never had such disappointment over something I'd never heard of before reading this thread. :greengrin

They’re on Uber and Just Eat apparently. Might still be give you any luck of course.

29-06-2020, 02:54 PM
They’re on Uber and Just Eat apparently. Might still be give you any luck of course.

Just eat says the restaurant is currently closed but they do have my postcode noted down as somewhere they deliver to so I'll keep them in mind for down the line.

Thanks. :aok:

29-06-2020, 05:17 PM
Just eat says the restaurant is currently closed but they do have my postcode noted down as somewhere they deliver to so I'll keep them in mind for down the line.

Thanks. :aok:

Think they only open at 5. They were showing as closed on Just Eat until then on Saturday. They were doing some weird pre-order thing until a couple of weeks ago.

nellio
29-06-2020, 05:37 PM
Drove past it earlier. Think I'll get one soon.

30-06-2020, 06:14 PM
Dominic Jack has announced Castle Terrace will remain closed permanently, sad to see another restaurant a victim of this pandemic.

30-06-2020, 07:58 PM
Dominic Jack has announced Castle Terrace will remain closed permanently, sad to see another restaurant a victim of this pandemic.

Fear it won't be the last.

pollution
30-06-2020, 08:34 PM
Fear it won't be the last.

The location isn't great either.

Restaurants struggle at this site.

06-07-2020, 08:37 PM
Anyone been in any pubs today? I went to Cold Town House for lunch. Was very well organised and was great to be back in a bar. Couldn’t fault the way they organised it all. They’ve got their own contact tracing set up, menus are viewed by scanning QR codes. Drinks are placed beside your table on a stand sort of thing on a tray, you take them off the tray, they take the tray away, food all out of boxes. Really good.

Went to The Raeburn after on the way home and that wasn’t so good. They were first come first served - apart from the people they’d told earlier to come back at 5pm and they’d get in and so they’d wandered in ahead of the already giant queue. Was fine once you were in but they’ll have to give up on giving people times later in the day if they’re not taking bookings - although to be fair I think they realised that when people started coming back.

07-07-2020, 12:11 PM
Anyone been in any pubs today? I went to Cold Town House for lunch. Was very well organised and was great to be back in a bar. Couldn’t fault the way they organised it all. They’ve got their own contact tracing set up, menus are viewed by scanning QR codes. Drinks are placed beside your table on a stand sort of thing on a tray, you take them off the tray, they take the tray away, food all out of boxes. Really good.

Went to The Raeburn after on the way home and that wasn’t so good. They were first come first served - apart from the people they’d told earlier to come back at 5pm and they’d get in and so they’d wandered in ahead of the already giant queue. Was fine once you were in but they’ll have to give up on giving people times later in the day if they’re not taking bookings - although to be fair I think they realised that when people started coming back.

Are the pubs using single use plastic glasses?

07-07-2020, 12:21 PM

Proper glasses in my local last night.

07-07-2020, 02:22 PM
I visited 2 places yesterday with 4 colleagues....

Bar 50
Pitched up at around 4pm without a booking and got a table. Only my contact info taken but we all had our temperatures checked. We were given a picnic table that would ordinarily seat 6, so no 2m social distancing in effect. Drinks ordered from a laminated drinks list via staff and came in plastics. No visible sanitising of the tables or menus between customers. They presented the drinks on a tray and we took them from the tray. A few larger groups who clearly were, like us, from more than two households. Sanitising stations on the way in and out of the loos and posters saying a max of 2 at a time, not enforced. All in all, I felt they'd done the bare minimum to comply with current guidelines but they did have a decent feel to the place.

Mamma's Pizza
We then went along to the Grassmarket and got a table at Mama's. Again, a 6 seater picnic bench for 5 of us. No contact info taken, which was a concern. Again, sanitising stations on the way to the toilet. One staff member wore a visor, the rest had no face coverings. Again, bare minimum undertaken to comply with the current guidelines. Food was Ok and drinks came in glasses. Staff very nice and had a busy day by all accounts.

This was a bit of market research for us as I prepare my bar to re-open on the 15th. It gave me a bit on confidence that when we re-open we'll be doing things right. Clearly guidelines are not being followed thoroughly.

I've heard good reports from Cold Town House, Corn Exchange & CC's. Early days and everyone, operators, staff and punters are on a bit of a learning curve. Thankfully our government wasn't stupid enough to open outside & inside together and on a pay weekend Saturday!

07-07-2020, 02:31 PM
I visited 2 places yesterday with 4 colleagues....

Bar 50
Pitched up at around 4pm without a booking and got a table. Only my contact info taken but we all had our temperatures checked. We were given a picnic table that would ordinarily seat 6, so no 2m social distancing in effect. Drinks ordered from a laminated drinks list via staff and came in plastics. No visible sanitising of the tables or menus between customers. They presented the drinks on a tray and we took them from the tray. A few larger groups who clearly were, like us, from more than two households. Sanitising stations on the way in and out of the loos and posters saying a max of 2 at a time, not enforced. All in all, I felt they'd done the bare minimum to comply with current guidelines but they did have a decent feel to the place.

Mamma's Pizza
We then went along to the Grassmarket and got a table at Mama's. Again, a 6 seater picnic bench for 5 of us. No contact info taken, which was a concern. Again, sanitising stations on the way to the toilet. One staff member wore a visor, the rest had no face coverings. Again, bare minimum undertaken to comply with the current guidelines. Food was Ok and drinks came in glasses. Staff very nice and had a busy day by all accounts.

This was a bit of market research for us as I prepare my bar to re-open on the 15th. It gave me a bit on confidence that when we re-open we'll be doing things right. Clearly guidelines are not being followed thoroughly.

I've heard good reports from Cold Town House, Corn Exchange & CC's. Early days and everyone, operators, staff and punters are on a bit of a learning curve. Thankfully our government wasn't stupid enough to open outside & inside together and on a pay weekend Saturday!

It seems some businesses have invested to ensure they provide the safest environment possible whilst other do the absolute bare minimum to enable them to open, as expected of course as the last thing some businesses want to do is spend cash prior to reopening. It will be interesting to see if the EHO’s will visit and clamp down on the ones not quite doing it properly.

07-07-2020, 02:42 PM
It seems some businesses have invested to ensure they provide the safest environment possible whilst other do the absolute bare minimum to enable them to open, as expected of course as the last thing some businesses want to do is spend cash prior to reopening. It will be interesting to see if the EHO’s will visit and clamp down on the ones not quite doing it properly.

The non-taking of contact details is a frustrating one as it’s probably the least onerous in terms of cost to the establishment but could be very important in terms of stopping the spread of any clusters quickly.

07-07-2020, 03:10 PM

EHO are already out and about.

I've supplied a load of additional chemicals, among other things, to various sites in Edinburgh over the last couple of weeks and the last few days has seen a flood of requests for additional products, spare copies of safety data sheets and the like following visits from the EHO.

It's hard to place all the blame with the pubs as the information on the requirements was and is at best sketchy. The huge cost increases for things like gloves and dispensers is a big hit for businesses that are already struggling as well.

07-07-2020, 03:20 PM
EHO are already out and about.

I've supplied a load of additional chemicals, among other things, to various sites in Edinburgh over the last couple of weeks and the last few days has seen a flood of requests for additional products, spare copies of safety data sheets and the like following visits from the EHO.

It's hard to place all the blame with the pubs as the information on the requirements was and is at best sketchy. The huge cost increases for things like gloves and dispensers is a big hit for businesses that are already struggling as well.

To be fair the EHO’s did issue some pretty specific guidelines to businesses regarding additional procedures and policy documentation to be added to food safety management systems. It will be probably be a mix of those who always performed poorly on EHO inspections and those who have fell short of implementing required new procedures. Safety data sheets for chemicals being used even if new chemicals have been introduced is a basic element that any decent business should be on top of anyway. Not something I will be involved with anyway unfortunately which is a pity as I had a great relationship with many EHO’s and always liked to speak with them. despite the fact that they weren’t always consistent with their requirements from one visit to another with a different EHO. Hopefully the majority of the businesses get it right and those who don’t are quickly identified but not easy given the limited numbers of EHO’s.

07-07-2020, 05:22 PM

Glass in both CTH and The Raeburn.

07-07-2020, 06:48 PM
Glass in both CTH and The Raeburn.

👍

07-07-2020, 06:49 PM
Proper glasses in my local last night.

Cheers.

07-07-2020, 07:19 PM
I'm sure I read it was glass at The Corn Exchange.

07-07-2020, 07:24 PM

I saw a video of the pint lager dispensers they have and the glasses looked plastic, but not too sure. I can’t really motivate myself to go to a beer garden yet, as much as I like a pint I’m just not that bothered and certainly won’t be booking in advance. Will wait until I can just turn up when the mood takes me 🍻

07-07-2020, 08:05 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/motherwell-boozer-trolled-online-having-22312413

Actually, for Motherwell, this is not a bad place.

08-07-2020, 05:29 AM

Plastic at corn exchange.

08-07-2020, 07:02 AM

Oh well, I'm sure we'll cope! ☺

pollution
08-07-2020, 11:19 AM
Even if the beer were free, I can't drink it out of a plastic container.

Yuk !

08-07-2020, 01:23 PM
Even if the beer were free, I can't drink it out of a plastic container.

Yuk !

https://tennentsdedicatedtoyou.com/about

It’s free

pollution
08-07-2020, 05:26 PM
https://tennentsdedicatedtoyou.com/about

It’s free

You are very welcome to mine !

In truth, when the Heriot Brewery was operational the best pint of Tennents lager

was at the Roseburn Bar. What a drink it was !

08-07-2020, 09:06 PM

Indeed it was.

08-07-2020, 09:23 PM
You are very welcome to mine !

In truth, when the Heriot Brewery was operational the best pint of Tennents lager

was at the Roseburn Bar. What a drink it was !

I think it just depends where/how you get it to be honest. I tend to find you get better pints of Tennents in Glasgow, with many places offering unpasteurised kegs direct from the brewery. Those are lovely, lovely pints. Though I wouldn't buy a pack of tinnies for the house...

09-07-2020, 08:22 AM
Indeed it was.

How was it overall?

09-07-2020, 08:28 AM
I think it just depends where/how you get it to be honest. I tend to find you get better pints of Tennents in Glasgow, with many places offering unpasteurised kegs direct from the brewery. Those are lovely, lovely pints. Though I wouldn't buy a pack of tinnies for the house...

You get that in Malones (old Dianes pool hall) in Edinburgh.👍🏼

09-07-2020, 09:21 AM
How was it overall?

See the beer garden thread in The Holy Ground.

HibbyDave
11-07-2020, 07:43 PM
Ok... today my wife and I booked fish & chips from The Fishmarket at Newhaven. We had seen this place on TV with Tom Kerridge and Fred Sireax recently and although it’s a chippy it looked great.
Ordered online at 10am to collect at 18.30.
Arrived at 18.15 to find hundreds of people outside waiting for their order.
Finally got food at 19.35!!!!
Standing outside on a sunny night is ok but imagine if was pissing down.
First and last visit. Really poor service and food that was not really any better than local chippy here in Dunfermline.

11-07-2020, 07:53 PM
Ok... today my wife and I booked fish & chips from The Fishmarket at Newhaven. We had seen this place on TV with Tom Kerridge and Fred Sireax recently and although it’s a chippy it looked great.
First and last visit. Really poor service and food that was not really any better than local chippy here in Dunfermline.

That’s really poor, if they are going to accept pre orders then they should ensure they can honour the time slots regardless of walk in business demand. Piss poor from them, regardless of how good it is or how good they think they are.

HibbyDave
11-07-2020, 08:03 PM
That’s really poor, if they are going to accept pre orders then they should ensure they can honour the time slots regardless of walk in business demand. Piss poor from them, regardless of how good it is or how good they think they are.
It seems to be normal practice there according to others in the queue.
I can’t understand why they take pre orders and ignore the allotted time slot.
Nobody from the restaurant bothered to tell the queue what was going on and many people simply gave up and cancelled their order online.
Absolute **** service.

11-07-2020, 08:21 PM

You’d have thought they’d have a line for pre booked, and turn up on the night. It’s not the cheapest place to go, but maybe on a nice night they got swamped

Doesn’t just apply here, but wonder how these businesses will cope in the winter. We have to hope the virus has gone, or we have a vaccine

HibbyDave
11-07-2020, 09:19 PM
You’d have thought they’d have a line for pre booked, and turn up on the night. It’s not the cheapest place to go, but maybe on a nice night they got swamped

Doesn’t just apply here, but wonder how these businesses will cope in the winter. We have to hope the virus has gone, or we have a vaccine
Everyone at the doors was pre-booked. They simply kept taking orders online with no interest in providing food at the specified time slot.
Utter shambles of an operation.

11-07-2020, 10:37 PM
Everyone at the doors was pre-booked. They simply kept taking orders online with no interest in providing food at the specified time slot.
Utter shambles of an operation.

Poor management, easy enough to put a temp block on the online ordering if you’re getting swamped to allow the kitchen to catch up and honour the pre booked.

ACLeith
12-07-2020, 06:37 AM
Really disappointed to hear of the bad experience at Fishmarket. Been for sit in and take away pre lockdown and always been fine. In particular my wife is Coeliac and they are one of the few who don’t have a surcharge on GF food.

But if they’ve not properly adapted to changed circumstances then they’ll pay a price later.

On the other hand a wee shout out for Bijou at Leith Links. You order online and select a pick up 10 minute slot. The food is prepared immediately before your time slot so it is 100% fresh to collect. The type of local business that deserves support.

12-07-2020, 07:19 AM
Tried “Fish” on Marchmont Road yesterday for the first time, cracking newly opened chippy with plenty vegan/GF options and specials too. Baked Razor Clam and chips amongst the specials yesterday. Very busy with a queue of about 15 folk, I know the owner and he is really doing some special and different things for a chippy. The standard fish and chips were superb, his batter is great too.

12-07-2020, 07:25 AM
My daughter goes there from Costorphine and I thought she was nuts! You're really lucky to such a good chippy in Dunfermline!

She complains that there's quite often a delay but yours was ridiculous.

Another wee shout for Bijou.

patch1875
15-07-2020, 12:09 PM
Booked Vittorias on the walk for Sunday.

16-07-2020, 12:59 PM
Scran & Scallie tonight for me. Looking forward to that steak pie!

16-07-2020, 01:15 PM
Winstons on Saturday for me, first proper pint since March.

16-07-2020, 01:50 PM
SixByNico for me, but not until the end of August (and again in October). Looking forward to them and even managed to get reasonable weekend time slots for a change!

I wasn't too fussed for heading back out to pubs and restaurants but most of the feedback I've heard seems to be positive in the way places are dealing with everything so I'll maybe book something else for before those too.

alhibby
18-07-2020, 03:46 PM
Piggs Spanish tapas and wine bar on the High Street is excellent, went just before lockdown and had a couple of takeaway since, finally going back for a sit in next week. Well worth a visit

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

18-07-2020, 06:52 PM
Winstons on Saturday for me, first proper pint since March.

Had a great afternoon in Winstons but feel for them as current social distancing guidance has reduced their maximum capacity to just 23 customers

18-07-2020, 08:39 PM
Had a great afternoon in Winstons but feel for them as current social distancing guidance has reduced their maximum capacity to just 23 customers

Where did you all go. Inside and outside

19-07-2020, 07:24 PM
I got a take away from Bonsai tonight.

Sushi was average at best. Probably won't be a repeat order/visit.

20-07-2020, 09:59 AM
We went to Rose Street Gardens for a couple of hours on Saturday afternoon, ordered some food and it was a bit of a shambles. It took a long time, but I can appreciate they're just reopening and everything is taking a little longer due to COVID.

What wasn't acceptable was that my vegetarian girlfriend ordered a Tofu Taco, and when it comes she takes a bite and it's fish. We complained to a couple of staff there, but all that seemed to matter to them was that the correct Tofu Taco would be out shortly. My girlfriend felt a little ill from biting into the fish already (veggie for 15 years) and ended up not touching the Tofu one in the end.

Ended up in the Pitt Market at night, food there was great.

24-07-2020, 01:47 PM
Went to the Fishmarket today, a nice lunch sitting on the wall in the sun.Fish and chips were decent, you have to pre order online and collect at door. Ordered as we arrived, went for a short walk and had our food twenty minutes later.

25-07-2020, 02:34 PM
Just been to the Neighbourhood street food market on the top of Waverley Mall. Had a fried chicken shawarma kebab and a mango and pineapple margarita. It was really good.

25-07-2020, 03:47 PM
Is there a list of places that have signed up for the 'eat out to help out' deal in Edinburgh?

26-07-2020, 09:52 AM
Just been to the Neighbourhood street food market on the top of Waverley Mall. Had a fried chicken shawarma kebab and a mango and pineapple margarita. It was really good.

What other food outlets do they have at the market
Got family coming up later this week, with a couple of kids, and looking for somewhere to grab a snack up town

patch1875
26-07-2020, 11:17 AM
Booked Vittorias on the walk for Sunday.

Food was enjoyable as usual but it’s getting pretty pricey I think nowadays they have also added a 12% service charge.

They don’t seem to have done much to make more space, Wife thought the tables were a bit close and asked for an alternative but that was probably worse. People who we were next to thought the same.

HibbyDave
26-07-2020, 11:59 AM
Went to the Fishmarket today, a nice lunch sitting on the wall in the sun.Fish and chips were decent, you have to pre order online and collect at door. Ordered as we arrived, went for a short walk and had our food twenty minutes later.

Was there many people waiting outside?

I had a very poor experience there despite pre booking food it was well over an hour late in being ready. Never again

26-07-2020, 12:04 PM
Was there many people waiting outside?

I had a very poor experience there despite pre booking food it was well over an hour late in being ready. Never again

No mate, bear in mind this was lunchtime not evening, two couples in front of us and another two couples behind us. Guess when it’s not busy they can keep to times easily.

26-07-2020, 04:07 PM
What other food outlets do they have at the market
Got family coming up later this week, with a couple of kids, and looking for somewhere to grab a snack up town

There’s not a lot there to be fair. There was the kebab one, El Cartel for tacos, Herringbone for drinks, Linton Coffee and a pizza van.

patch1875
26-07-2020, 06:40 PM
Civerino’s slice opening another place replacing Pizza Hut Corstorphine.

26-07-2020, 06:43 PM
Civerino’s slice opening another place replacing Pizza Hut Corstorphine.

I heard it rumoured that they might be going in that empty unit, that will make four pizza places in Corstorphine.

patch1875
26-07-2020, 06:56 PM
I heard it rumoured that they might be going in that empty unit, that will make four pizza places in Corstorphine.

Think they will do well their pizza’s are tremendous.

I’m fussy with my pizzas now I’ve got an Ooni oven but nice to have them handy :-)

26-07-2020, 06:58 PM
Think they will do well their pizza’s are tremendous.

I’m fussy with my pizzas now I’ve got an Ooni oven but nice to have them handy :-)

Yes they are quite good and done in a stone based pizza oven rather than the conveyor electric ovens that the chains use.

26-07-2020, 07:52 PM
Went to dishoom on Friday. Was very good.

27-07-2020, 06:05 PM
Is there a list of places that have signed up for the 'eat out to help out' deal in Edinburgh?

I'm not sure how complete this list is. Restaurants taking part in the scheme in Edinburgh, Midlothian and East Lothian. Being a food bloggers site it doesn't include fast food places although they get a wee mention.

https://www.edinburgers.co.uk/eat-out-to-help-out-edinburgh/

27-07-2020, 06:37 PM
I'm not sure how complete this list is. Restaurants taking part in the scheme in Edinburgh, Midlothian and East Lothian. Being a food bloggers site it doesn't include fast food places although they get a wee mention.

One that has jumped out at me is Chop House. The offer is also applicable on their 2 sides and 2 rumps for £35 deal so you’d be getting it all for £17.50. For the same stuff any other day you’d be looking at about £48.

28-07-2020, 03:40 PM
Just got an email from Hard Rock, they are offering the Government allowance £10 off/50%, Monday to Friday in August

29-07-2020, 06:40 AM

https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/news/2020/07/chancellor-announces-50--off-meal-discounts-in-august/

29-07-2020, 04:20 PM

Just seen on FB that the Vittoria Group are taking part in the scheme.

MagicSwirlingShip
29-07-2020, 08:13 PM
Just back from Rollo on Broughton Street.

Mrs had the Scallops. I had the Beef Fillet. Really lovely food. Attentive staff and a nice extensive wine list. Nice vibe too with good music on.

Seemed to be doing a roaring trade, would recommended highly!

29-07-2020, 08:16 PM

Mrs had the Scallops. I had the Beef Fillet. Really lovely food. Attentive staff and a nice extensive wine list. Nice vibe too with good music on.

We always enjoy it there.

MagicSwirlingShip
29-07-2020, 08:37 PM
We always enjoy it there.

I had only ever visited their premises on Raeburn Place. First time at the Broughton spot. Really nice

29-07-2020, 08:53 PM

I think most places would be foolish not to sign up.

29-07-2020, 08:53 PM
Just got an email from Hard Rock, they are offering the Government allowance £10 off/50%, Monday to Friday in August

Thats good as its only meant to be Mon-Wed

31-07-2020, 07:56 AM

It's for sitting in diners. Not available for take away.

31-07-2020, 08:14 AM
It's for sitting in diners. Not available for take away.

Of course it is,the idea is to get people back out eating in restaurants that have been closed throughout, not takeaways that have been open throughout.

31-07-2020, 09:57 AM
Went to Bridge Inn, Ratho on Wednesday, really busy inside and outside
Good meal, not the cheapest though

patch1875
31-07-2020, 01:03 PM
Going to cafe Andaluz on Monday which I always like with the dine in bonus you can get 3 tapas and dessert for £9.50!

31-07-2020, 01:27 PM
UK Gov site with postcode checker of participating places

https://www.tax.service.gov.uk/eat-out-to-help-out/find-a-restaurant/?_ga=2.235261830.666423418.1596201969-1711842763.1596201969

31-07-2020, 02:20 PM
Winstons then Eastern Pavilion in Corstorphine on Saturday for me, a perfect Saturday evening hopefully after watching a Hibs win.

31-07-2020, 04:36 PM
Winstons then Eastern Pavilion in Corstorphine on Saturday for me, a perfect Saturday evening hopefully after watching a Hibs win.

Chaskaa on Leven Street is getting involved in the government's offer, well worth a visit

31-07-2020, 04:48 PM
Of course it is,the idea is to get people back out eating in restaurants that have been closed throughout, not takeaways that have been open throughout.

Plenty doing it for sit in & take away. I wouldn't be chancing it sitting in a restaurant.

31-07-2020, 05:01 PM
Chaskaa on Leven Street is getting involved in the government's offer, well worth a visit

I thought it didn’t start until Monday, unless they are funding it themselves

31-07-2020, 05:09 PM
I thought it didn’t start until Monday, unless they are funding it themselves

Never meant for tomorrow, I know SH likes his ruby''s though!

31-07-2020, 07:08 PM
Plenty doing it for sit in & take away. I wouldn't be chancing it sitting in a restaurant.

Yes but you have to have a sit in area, business’s that are solely takeaway are not eligible.

31-07-2020, 07:09 PM

Never been but always value a recommendation, will take a look 👍

31-07-2020, 08:22 PM
Yes but you have to have a sit in area, business’s that are solely takeaway are not eligible.

How do they differentiate with their claim!!!

31-07-2020, 09:26 PM

Ok got you.
Its just that BK,Mcd, KFC are all participating,yes they have seated areas but just as easy to take it away.

01-08-2020, 09:28 AM

I was there on Wednesday night as well. Was also my first time at Broughton Street :greengrin

Was all done really well, the screens actually made the tables quite nice and private.

I got the pork belly. Was good but I usually get the fillet and I’ll be going back to that next time I go!

02-08-2020, 11:35 AM
Was in Eastern Pavillion last night in Corstorphine, had a great meal as usual but sad to see a normally flourishing restaurant on a Saturday evening with only three tables occupied. They have built screens inbetween the tables for social distancing measures. Spoke to the owner as we always do as regulars and he is clearly very concerned. like many restaurants they will struggle to survive I fear.

02-08-2020, 11:55 AM
Was in Eastern Pavillion last night in Corstorphine, had a great meal as usual but sad to see a normally flourishing restaurant on a Saturday evening with only three tables occupied. They have built screens inbetween the tables for social distancing measures. Spoke to the owner as we always do as regulars and he is clearly very concerned. like many restaurants they will struggle to survive I fear.

It’s true. It’s a big challenge for all hospitality businesses just now. I can understand many being reluctant to go out though. Most people are cautious for the right reasons ..

MagicSwirlingShip
02-08-2020, 08:01 PM
I was there on Wednesday night as well. Was also my first time at Broughton Street :greengrin

Was all done really well, the screens actually made the tables quite nice and private.

I got the pork belly. Was good but I usually get the fillet and I’ll be going back to that next time I go!

No way, that’s mad!

The screens were great, as you say made the tables more private without being intrusive at all.

We’ll be back again as soon, once baby arrives and I can get stuck into the wine list guilt free!

03-08-2020, 03:52 PM
I know it's not top of the range cuisine but, I just managed to get an 11" spicy meat feast pizza and a pint of Strongbow in The Foot of the Walk for £5.04, that'll do! 😊

03-08-2020, 04:13 PM
I know it's not top of the range cuisine but, I just managed to get an 11" spicy meat feast pizza and a pint of Strongbow in The Foot of the Walk for £5.04, that'll do! 😊

Did you get anything else? 😉
Razor Blades
Bacon
Steak
Coffee
Designer clothes
Batteries

03-08-2020, 04:33 PM
Razor Blades
Bacon
Steak
Coffee
Designer clothes
Batteries

Sport socks, get your sport socks!

Two for a pound, two for a pound!

03-08-2020, 04:48 PM
Razor Blades
Bacon
Steak
Coffee
Designer clothes
Batteries

Just a £1 fish! 😉

03-08-2020, 05:53 PM
I was in Howies at lunchtime.

£34 for 4 of us having 2/3 courses and included a bottle of wine and a bottle of cider (can't take me anywhere ;-).

Everyone really enjoyed it especially my mother in law who was paying and when she was first told the price thought the full price was the reduced price!

Lots of space for social distancing at Waterloo Place.

We're having a bigger family meal at the Guru on Wednesday night. I'm paying and hoping I'm equally delighted.

03-08-2020, 06:53 PM
Was at Hard Rock this afternoon, had our usual
Was reassuring as at the door, they had a temperature camera and hand sanitizer, before you got in
Sanitizers also throughout the restaurant

Server was saying they’ve been busy, but only able to use 1/2 the number of tables they normally use

03-08-2020, 07:23 PM
Booked up in various places for the next 3 Mondays. Because the govt deal can be used in conjunction with other offers we can eat out as a family of 3 with a drink each for between £20 and £30.

Trying to visit a few of my customers to show them a bit support.

03-08-2020, 08:22 PM
Was at Chop House tonight.

Two rumps, chips, buttered greens, onion rings and 2 cokes for bang on £30.

MagicSwirlingShip
04-08-2020, 10:11 AM
Booked up in various places for the next 3 Mondays. Because the govt deal can be used in conjunction with other offers we can eat out as a family of 3 with a drink each for between £20 and £30.

Trying to visit a few of my customers to show them a bit support.

Nice one PB. Any recommendations of your customers we can visit too?

Going to try and get a few more restaurant visits in before the baby arrives end of the month.

04-08-2020, 11:21 AM
Was at Chop House tonight.

Two rumps, chips, buttered greens, onion rings and 2 cokes for bang on £30.

We're booked in for when we're off work in a couple of weeks.

I assume for the 2 rumps + 2 sides for £35, that you get it for £17.50 since it is for two people? Effectively you both get the 50% discount on each's £17.50 half of the £35 if that makes sense?

04-08-2020, 12:33 PM
Nice one PB. Any recommendations of your customers we can visit too?

Going to try and get a few more restaurant visits in before the baby arrives end of the month.

For value to get the best out the Govt deal the likes of Howies and Chop House which have already been mentioned would be worth a look.

I also deal with Los Argentnios which is good for a steak, Blonde on the Southside, New Chapter at Eyre Place, either of the Bar Rollos (again already mentioned), 83 Hanover Street or Lady Libertine.

That's the ones I can remember eating in relatively recently off the top of my head and I know they are all in the scheme.

MagicSwirlingShip
04-08-2020, 01:26 PM
For value to get the best out the Govt deal the likes of Howies and Chop House which have already been mentioned would be worth a look.

I also deal with Los Argentnios which is good for a steak, Blonde on the Southside, New Chapter at Eyre Place, either of the Bar Rollos (again already mentioned), 83 Hanover Street or Lady Libertine.

That's the ones I can remember eating in relatively recently off the top of my head and I know they are all in the scheme.

Nice one , thanks!

04-08-2020, 01:59 PM

I assume for the 2 rumps + 2 sides for £35, that you get it for £17.50 since it is for two people? Effectively you both get the 50% discount on each's £17.50 half of the £35 if that makes sense?

Is it not 50% off up to £10? So you'll get £20 off the bill for two people? :dunno:

04-08-2020, 05:30 PM
Is it not 50% off up to £10? So you'll get £20 off the bill for two people? :dunno:

The bill would need to be £40 before discount to get £20 off.

The bill in Overdrive’s example is £35 before discount so with 50% off works out at £17.50

04-08-2020, 07:22 PM
Had a couple of days off at the start of this week, so we went to Nok's kitchen in Stockbridge last night. Really nice Thai food.

Went to the Bonnie Badger in Gullane tonight - Tom Kitchin place. Nothing to write home about - the Govt discount took the price to what would have been fair for the food. Essentially overpriced pub food due to the location and appeal of the owner.

04-08-2020, 08:39 PM

I was in New Chapter on Friday night. Second time I’ve been and both times it’s been excellent, the food and the service.

06-08-2020, 11:40 AM

They’ve upped the price to £40 so it’s £20 for two people.

If they hadn’t then it would have worked the way that you explained it. :agree:

07-08-2020, 10:32 PM
Has anyone visited Fazenda since it reopened? I'm interested to know how serving the salad bar yo your table works.

10-08-2020, 09:59 AM
Has anyone visited Fazenda since it reopened? I'm interested to know how serving the salad bar yo your table works.

Food in there is good but at over £7 for a pint of lager I'll no be back there in a hurry.

pollution
10-08-2020, 11:26 AM
Food in there is good but at over £7 for a pint of lager I'll no be back there in a hurry.

Just looked at their website: an un priced menu for food equals pet hate. Utter arrogance.

10-08-2020, 11:36 AM
Just looked at their website: an un priced menu for food equals pet hate. Utter arrogance.

It’s a fixed price menu - the prices are there on one of their pages .

10-08-2020, 01:02 PM

It’s fixed price and that price is determined by what time of the day/week you visit. eg Sat night is pricier than a Tuesday lunchtime.

10-08-2020, 01:50 PM

14-08-2020, 08:05 AM
It’s fixed price and that price is determined by what time of the day/week you visit. eg Sat night is pricier than a Tuesday lunchtime.

But they dinnae alter the horrendous price for a pint.

14-08-2020, 09:39 PM
Chinese Manor House tonight in Corstorphine, very good, tables well organised for distancing, staff wearing masks, food superb as usual.

15-08-2020, 08:36 AM
Have been to Mariachi and Cafe Andaluz recently. Mariachi was very good. Cafe Andaluz 6/10

15-08-2020, 09:07 AM
Have been to Mariachi and Cafe Andaluz recently. Mariachi was very good. Cafe Andaluz 6/10

Went past Miros cantina last week. All boarded up, anyone know if they have plans to reopen?

15-08-2020, 09:17 AM
Went past Miros cantina last week. All boarded up, anyone know if they have plans to reopen?

Would imagine they will struggle to maintain distance measures in such a small venue whilst still maintaining profitability.

15-08-2020, 11:44 AM
Would imagine they will struggle to maintain distance measures in such a small venue whilst still maintaining profitability.

Good point

SneakersO'Toole
16-08-2020, 06:21 PM
Takeaway from Nok's Kitchen last night. Have had lunch there a couple of times but never takeaway. Have to say it was just as good.

A very good Thai restaurant.

19-08-2020, 07:58 PM
Went to Butternut Squash in Portobello tonight for dinner, £10 for a 3 course set menu. It was lovely :aok:

19-08-2020, 08:05 PM
Went to Butternut Squash in Portobello tonight for dinner, £10 for a 3 course set menu. It was lovely :aok:

So £5 each with the discount😄

19-08-2020, 08:38 PM
So £5 each with the discount😄

Unfortunately not, it was £10 after the discount :greengrin

19-08-2020, 09:20 PM
I was in Dusit at lunchtime, fixed menu @ £15.75.

I've been there in the evening and although its very, very good it is expensive.

It was a decent sized menu and good portion size for a lunch. Well worth the money.

19-08-2020, 09:25 PM
Rustom at Haymarket for the gov deal, very tasty!

patch1875
20-08-2020, 06:55 AM
Rustom at Haymarket for the gov deal, very tasty!

Rustom is one of my favourites.

Daughters choice last night so it was pizza express at Stockbridge

20-08-2020, 07:44 AM
Rustom is one of my favourites.

Daughters choice last night so it was pizza express at Stockbridge

I was Pizza express at the bridges. I was surprised how quiet it was
Told a stroll up and down the Royal mile afterwards, so many places closed
The iconic Worlds End pub closed too. Presume social distancing would be difficult in that pub

20-08-2020, 07:47 AM
Don't think I've ever had a bad meal at Vittoria's and last night was no exception. Calamari, Halibut, and tiramisu with a couple pints of Moretti. :aok:

With £10 off, 20% season ticket discount, and a £50 voucher I'd almost forgotten I bought at the start of the year the £90 bill became £13. :greengrin

patch1875
20-08-2020, 07:50 AM
I was Pizza express at the bridges. I was surprised how quiet it was
Told a stroll up and down the Royal mile afterwards, so many places closed
The iconic Worlds End pub closed too. Presume social distancing would be difficult in that pub

The Stockbridge one was packed we could only get an earlier time when I booked. Quite a few famous pubs still shut Haymarket Bar as well.

Done well this week with the discounted grub Pizza Express, 5 Guys, McDonalds breakfast and lunch at the Highland Wildlife Park!

Godsahibby
20-08-2020, 01:12 PM
Not sat in yet but had a takeaway pizza from Paolozzi up on Forrest Road, very impressed with it. Looking forward ti sitting in and trying out the rest of the menu.

Owner is a big Hibby as well!

20-08-2020, 01:46 PM
Don't think I've ever had a bad meal at Vittoria's and last night was no exception. Calamari, Halibut, and tiramisu with a couple pints of Moretti. :aok:

With £10 off, 20% season ticket discount, and a £50 voucher I'd almost forgotten I bought at the start of the year the £90 bill became £13. :greengrin

Didn’t realise you could combine the 20% season ticket discount with the £10 off, that’s brilliant!

20-08-2020, 02:40 PM
Didn’t realise you could combine the 20% season ticket discount with the £10 off, that’s brilliant!

They’ll be paying you to eat next😄

20-08-2020, 02:53 PM

20-08-2020, 03:52 PM

Let me know when that happens, I’ll be there like a shot 😁

20-08-2020, 04:43 PM

I wasn't sure if they would either but figure they're not actually losing out with the EOTHO so figured I'd just ask and see what happened. :greengrin

20-08-2020, 05:26 PM
Not sat in yet but had a takeaway pizza from Paolozzi up on Forrest Road, very impressed with it. Looking forward ti sitting in and trying out the rest of the menu.

Owner is a big Hibby as well!

Seconded .. if there is a better Pizza in edinburgh , I’ve yet to find it ....[emoji106]

20-08-2020, 06:12 PM
Took advantage of the eat out to help out scheme for the first time yesterday. Blend Cafe in Perth High Street. Large latte and slice of peanut butter brownie for £2.55.

As for the brownie, chocolate ganache with peanut butter swirled through it is the best way to describe it. 🤤

22-08-2020, 08:04 AM
The itison voucher scheme for Leith Walk launches on Monday, spend £5 on a voucher that gives you a £10 spend. An initiative to help businesses recover trade lost due to tram works. There was a similar scheme for Constitution Street earlier in the year.

22-08-2020, 08:19 AM
The itison voucher scheme for Leith Walk launches on Monday, spend £5 on a voucher that gives you a £10 spend. An initiative to help businesses recover trade lost due to tram works. There was a similar scheme for Constitution Street earlier in the year.
I'm hearing the Constitution Street one is coming up again soon.

22-08-2020, 08:40 AM
I'm hearing the Constitution Street one is coming up again soon.

Surprised if it is, at all the meetings I attended they stressed that they only had a certain budget for each scheme and couldn’t go beyond it. Maybe they have had that budget extended if they are to run it again for Constitution Street.

22-08-2020, 08:48 AM

Does this apply for takeaway too, or just eating in

22-08-2020, 08:52 AM
Does this apply for takeaway too, or just eating in

It’s not specific just to restaurants or takeaways any business in Leith Walk can participate regardless of what they sell.

22-08-2020, 08:58 AM
It’s not specific just to restaurants or takeaways any business in Leith Walk can participate regardless of what they sell.

"A similar voucher scheme for Constituion Street is being planned for launch next month."

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/politics/council/new-spend-ps5-get-ps10-voucher-scheme-leith-walk-businesses-launches-monday-2949691

22-08-2020, 09:03 AM
"A similar voucher scheme for Constituion Street is being planned for launch next month."

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/politics/council/new-spend-ps5-get-ps10-voucher-scheme-leith-walk-businesses-launches-monday-2949691

So they’re getting a second one! Fair enough they need all the help they can get, when business planning started for the tram project we had no idea Covid would hit also, a double whammy hitting everyone hard.

22-08-2020, 09:36 AM
So they’re getting a second one! Fair enough they need all the help they can get, when business planning started for the tram project we had no idea Covid would hit also, a double whammy hitting everyone hard.

I don't know if you've been down that way in the evening recently. My wife and I were at the Chop House during the week and thought we'd go for a drink beforehand. Only one bar was open down that way, the Port o Leith, it was Covid-19 distanced full so we ended up in the Bowlers Rest, Mitchell Street, also Covid-19 rules apply. Really friendly wee place.

You wouldn't need vouchers there, I couldn't believe how cheap it was. One extreme to the other.