View Full Version : Greggs Scottish summer transfers/contracts

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10

23-07-2014, 10:30 AM
I got the Coulson one wrong, I got told (by a good reliable poster on here infavt) that he had signed. Hallam will join I think.

And this is your problem, pm all and sundry to pick their brains, then post here, there and everywhere.............maybe time to take a wee back seat and let the real ITK posters tell us all the wee bits of gossip.

happiehibbie
23-07-2014, 10:31 AM
Totally agree, your bang on the money with that quote.

😍

23-07-2014, 10:43 AM
now now BMD...Hallam Hope?, Luke Coulson definitely signed?....let's not throw stones....just enjoy the speculation....

I got the Coulson one wrong, I got told (by a good reliable poster on here infavt) that he had signed. Hallam will join I think.
You also posted that Buxton was getting kept on the day before he got punted and the reliably told everyone that we'd have 4 players signed by the end of the week about 3 weeks ago.

23-07-2014, 10:44 AM
You also posted that Buxton was getting kept on the day before he got punted and the reliably told everyone that we'd have 4 players signed by the end of the week about 3 weeks ago.

But apart from that...

23-07-2014, 10:48 AM

Got Farid right so I am happy with that.

23-07-2014, 10:49 AM
And this is your problem, pm all and sundry to pick their brains, then post here, there and everywhere.............maybe time to take a wee back seat and let the real ITK posters tell us all the wee bits of gossip.

A back seat :faf:

23-07-2014, 10:52 AM
You do appear to be trying a bit too hard.

23-07-2014, 10:56 AM
But apart from that...

Matty F, hibs.net Nostradamus :top marks

23-07-2014, 10:56 AM
Leave the laddie alone. He's a trier and better off on here than hanging about outside the chippie.

Rasta_Hibs
23-07-2014, 11:00 AM
Leave the laddie alone. He's a trier and better off on here than hanging about outside the chippie.

I learnt a lot about life standin in front of the chippy!

Turkish Green
23-07-2014, 11:12 AM
By persistence you find out El Algaui has a relative living in Edinburgh. You then pester her on Facebook until she gives you a snippet to get you to go away. This is almost at stalker level.

Yet you are happy with that. I do not understand, what perverse pleasure do you get out of it?

23-07-2014, 11:17 AM
Please don't let this thread develop into a "have a dig at the dug" thread again, meant to be about transfer rumours :wink:

TheFamous1875
23-07-2014, 11:26 AM
Please don't let this thread develop into a "have a dig at the dug" thread again, meant to be about transfer rumours :wink:

Ken. Can yous not make a purpose-built thread instead?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

GlenrothesHibee
23-07-2014, 11:26 AM
I learnt a lot about life standin in front of the chippy!

Very concerned about going down the loan route. Claros, Doherty, Towell, Haynes, Boateng are just some of the names that fill me with dread.

23-07-2014, 11:28 AM
Very concerned about going down the loan route. Claros, Doherty, Towell, Haynes, Boateng are just some of the names that fill me with dread.

Going by that logic you'll not want us to make permanent signings either?

23-07-2014, 11:30 AM

23-07-2014, 11:36 AM
I can only assume you were watching a different Claros from the rest of us then.

23-07-2014, 11:39 AM

Our problem has been too many loan signings.. One or two is more than acceptable especially given out circumstances. AS has been on record saying he had the best part of 20 goalkeepers to wrk through and if this boy is what he's decided it's good enough for me. He's only got one year left on his Hull contract so this could well be a shrewd but of dealing we're doing here. Plus if we can coax an EPL contracted player to our side to help win promotion then again, another thumbs up for me..

Edit* disagree with claros

Those names do fill me with dread tho! I'm just hoping what we're doing now is a million miles away from what we done in the past

23-07-2014, 11:53 AM

GGTTH07
23-07-2014, 11:56 AM
By persistence you find out El Algaui has a relative living in Edinburgh. You then pester her on Facebook until she gives you a snippet to get you to go away. This is almost at stalker level.

Yet you are happy with that. I do not understand, what perverse pleasure do you get out of it?

That is pretty weird to be fair...

23-07-2014, 12:12 PM
Our problem has been too many loan signings.. One or two is more than acceptable especially given out circumstances. AS has been on record saying he had the best part of 20 goalkeepers to wrk through and if this boy is what he's decided it's good enough for me. He's only got one year left on his Hull contract so this could well be a shrewd but of dealing we're doing here. Plus if we can coax an EPL contracted player to our side to help win promotion then again, another thumbs up for me..

Edit* disagree with claros

Those names do fill me with dread tho! I'm just hoping what we're doing now is a million miles away from what we done in the past

I don't think the problem has been too many loan signings. If the loan signings had been good enough, and what we needed at the time then we'd have been fine. More loan signings like Claros and Griffiths and less permanent ones like Vine and Collins and we'd have been fine last season.

I don't even think it's been the quality of our signings or the timing of them that have been the problem. I think it's been the actual signings that have been wrong, having multiple players of similar ability and similar style that offer the same thing in certain positions and glaring deficiencies elsewhere.

I think it mainly came from the axis of incompetence at the helm of the club with Fenlon having no idea of how to build a squad and Petrie's love of a bargain.

The most encouraging thing for me is hearing Stubbs and Dempster describe their "matrix" and vision of building a squad with cover and a youth player for each position which will give us balance, options etc etc when the games come round. It's massively disappointing that we are now in a lower division with lower season ticket sales so recruiting adequate players will be initially quite difficult but we are where we are and there's no time like the present to start putting things right.

If they overcome this by using the loan market a lot then I'd be happy with that.

Hank Schrader
23-07-2014, 12:12 PM
That is pretty weird to be fair...

:agree: I wouldn't put that down as being normal behavior.

23-07-2014, 12:25 PM

Or the relative is the sister to my next door neighbour and I know them personally?

Nutmegged
23-07-2014, 12:26 PM
Or the relative is the sister to my next door neighbour and I know them personally?

So your next door neighbour is the relative too then ;-)

McKenzie
23-07-2014, 12:28 PM
Zoubir on trial with Crawley (I know it's not Scottish). Surely someone will have watched how bad he was last season?

23-07-2014, 12:28 PM
So your next door neighbour is the relative too then ;-)

My neighbour is the sister of the relative who told me mate.

Paloschi
23-07-2014, 12:31 PM
Hi Guys,

New Rumour I have heard today: don't shoot the messenger :wink:

Hibs have been talking to Celtic about the possibility of Stokes on loan for 6 months. RD and JC both want him to regain match sharpness and have made him available for a loan move. Many teams interested and I understand we are one of them. What I have been told is that Stokes would prefer to stay at Celtic.

This was from someone who works indirectly with Hibs who I cannot name and who is in contact with a relative of mine. Not claiming this is true but as it is a rumours thread though it would be appropriate.

Would also be a big kick in the balls to Rangers so maybe Celtic are thinking along those lines :confused: That's just my take.

Nutmegged
23-07-2014, 12:31 PM

Pffffft my heads fried (or Farid)...with the best of intentions I don't really care bud, its none of my business I was just having a laugh.

All I want is some rumours to keep me motivated/dreaming

Paloschi
23-07-2014, 12:33 PM
Zoubir on trial with Crawley (I know it's not Scottish). Surely someone will have watched how bad he was last season?

Wasn't even given a chance IMO. Saw him about 6 times and thought he did well or at the very least ok in they games.

iainm1875
23-07-2014, 12:35 PM
I can only assume you were watching a different Claros from the rest of us then.

I think he means the Claros that was taken off after 42 mins of the worst game in living memory.

23-07-2014, 12:37 PM
Hi Guys,

Hibs have been talking to Celtic about the possibility of Stokes on loan for 6 months. RD and JC both want him to regain match sharpness and have made him available for a loan move. Many teams interested and I understand we are one of them. What I have been told is that Stokes would prefer to stay at Celtic.

This was from someone who works indirectly with Hibs who I cannot name and who is in contact with a relative of mine. Not claiming this is true but as it is a rumours thread though it would be appropriate.

Would also be a big kick in the balls to Rangers so maybe Celtic are thinking along those lines :confused: That's just my take.

This is just not true on any level.

23-07-2014, 12:38 PM

Is the person who told you a relative of your neighbour

Nutmegged
23-07-2014, 12:38 PM
Hi Guys,

As much as I'd love this to be true I would say im about 99.9999999% certain that its nonsense mate and whoever fed you it is either dreaming or just at it.

Stokes played a lot of their Pre-Season matches and started the only competitive game he has been fit for so far so I don't quite understand where the notion that he needs to be 'match fit' comes from, he averages 20 goals a season for them, if they do want rid of him they wont be prepared to pay most of his £10k per week wages, if Ronny Deila doesn't fancy him I'd suspect they'd rather offload him completely and you can be sure their will be a good few Championship clubs who could either offer him a better deal thatln his current one or just offer Celtic a far greater contribution to his wage than we ever could.

Also, Stokes could potentially be facing jailtime in Ireland, this could be reason enough for Celtic to want rid of him however if that was the case I doubt many clubs, ourselves included would take the risk on him until the outcome of his case is clear

23-07-2014, 12:39 PM
Is the person who told you a relative of your neighbour

Yeah, how come?

23-07-2014, 12:39 PM
I think he means the Claros that was taken off after 42 mins of the worst game in living memory.

Ah, the Claros who initially struggled to adapt to a new style and pace of the game, a new country, culture and lifestyle.

I was meaning the Claros that was both the best player at the club and one of the best midfielders in the country during his only full season with us.

23-07-2014, 12:44 PM
Yeah, how come?

I think she has a sister

Paloschi
23-07-2014, 12:44 PM
As much as I'd love this to be true I would say im about 99.9999999% certain that its nonsense mate and whoever fed you it is either dreaming or just at it.

Stokes played a lot of their Pre-Season matches and started the only competitive game he has been fit for so far so I don't quite understand where the notion that he needs to be 'match fit' comes from, he averages 20 goals a season for them, if they do want rid of him they wont be prepared to pay most of his £10k per week wages, if Ronny Deila doesn't fancy him I'd suspect they'd rather offload him completely and you can be sure their will be a good few Championship clubs who could either offer him a better deal thatln his current one or just offer Celtic a far greater contribution to his wage than we ever could.

Also, Stokes could potentially be facing jailtime in Ireland, this could be reason enough for Celtic to want rid of him however if that was the case I doubt many clubs, ourselves included would take the risk on him until the outcome of his case is clear

For what it's worth I thought that when I heard it but thought it was worth posting incase anyone else heard anything.

To be fair, AS could have asked what his situation was and that could have been all.

I can't see it happening the more I think about it but strange things can happen in football. I'd heard a similar rumour at the start of the week so thought it was relevant.

andrew70
23-07-2014, 12:53 PM
Hi Guys,

Aside from whether this is true or not. I very much doubt the guys at Celtic want to prevent Rangers from returning to the Premiership. The PLC at Celtic will be hoping that Rangers are promoted this season so that they can both begin to maximise their revenue streams once more. The Glasgow pair are big sellers especially when playing in the same league and I am sure Lawwell et al will be well aware of this.

Sorry for taking it away from the rumour chat but I thought it worthwhile to dispell this myth that Celtic may want to 'help' us out with a loan signing or two which I have seen mentioned in a few places with the names Watt and Stokes appearing the most.

23-07-2014, 12:59 PM
A friend of mine met Stokes on a night out in Glasgow a few months ago - he is a Hibs fan who stays in Glasgow. He tried to get speaking to him about Hibs and Stokes pretty much told him to beat it and that he "didn't give a f*** about Hibs".

Stokes is a clown, I don't care how good he is, I don't want him anywhere near our club again.

Nutmegged
23-07-2014, 01:04 PM
Aside from whether this is true or not. I very much doubt the guys at Celtic want to prevent Rangers from returning to the Premiership. The PLC at Celtic will be hoping that Rangers are promoted this season so that they can both begin to maximise their revenue streams once more. The Glasgow pair are big sellers especially when playing in the same league and I am sure Lawwell et al will be well aware of this.

Sorry for taking it away from the rumour chat but I thought it worthwhile to dispell this myth that Celtic may want to 'help' us out with a loan signing or two which I have seen mentioned in a few places with the names Watt and Stokes appearing the most.

Tony Watt wouldn't surprise me if they want him playing regular football at a decent standard to be fair.

Agree with your point about Celtic wanting Rangers in the top flight pronto, if you think our summer has been quite just look at theirs, hardly anything at all, barely even a rumour about any in coming players - its a little wonde4 they struggle to entice fans to fill Parkhead, they're in drastic need of a rival if not a Challenget for the title but definitely a rival.

If someone like Tony Watt did become available for loan and he ended up at Hibs, he wouldn't be here because Celtic would want to help us out, he'd be here because Celtic would want to help themselves out

Turkish Green
23-07-2014, 01:10 PM
I don't think the problem has been too many loan signings. If the loan signings had been good enough, and what we needed at the time then we'd have been fine. More loan signings like Claros and Griffiths and less permanent ones like Vine and Collins and we'd have been fine last season.

I don't even think it's been the quality of our signings or the timing of them that have been the problem. I think it's been the actual signings that have been wrong, having multiple players of similar ability and similar style that offer the same thing in certain positions and glaring deficiencies elsewhere.

I think it mainly came from the axis of incompetence at the helm of the club with Fenlon having no idea of how to build a squad and Petrie's love of a bargain.

The most encouraging thing for me is hearing Stubbs and Dempster describe their "matrix" and vision of building a squad with cover and a youth player for each position which will give us balance, options etc etc when the games come round. It's massively disappointing that we are now in a lower division with lower season ticket sales so recruiting adequate players will be initially quite difficult but we are where we are and there's no time like the present to start putting things right.

If they overcome this by using the loan market a lot then I'd be happy with that.

Loan or permanent I do not care as long as AS has a squad with decent players regardless of where they come from.

The only benefit of permanent over loan signings is that the permanent signing may have a potential sell on value. BUT who has Petrie sold for decent money over the last few seasons? Was Stokes the last big money sale although the profit on the deal wasn't as large as RP had hoped.

The conveyor belt of young players coming through has all but dried up although Cummings has been courting interest from Swansea.

TheFamous1875
23-07-2014, 01:15 PM
BUT who has Petrie sold for decent money over the last few seasons? Was Stokes the last big money sale although the profit on the deal wasn't as large as RP had hoped.

Was it no' Bamba?

23-07-2014, 01:16 PM
Ah, the Claros who initially struggled to adapt to a new style and pace of the game, a new country, culture and lifestyle.

I was meaning the Claros that was both the best player at the club and one of the best midfielders in the country during his only full season with us.

Any goal highlights or favourite assists of Jorge?

"Naw that wisnae his game". Along with the whole host of other Clone mmidfielders he did F all in the opposition half. An absolute master at retaining possession with 10 yard passes at snails pace and protecting our defence which still conceded plenty. He was just unlucky though that he played in a poor team!

Did so well for us that nobody else rated him enough to take him!

23-07-2014, 01:17 PM
A friend of mine met Stokes on a night out in Glasgow a few months ago - he is a Hibs fan who stays in Glasgow. He tried to get speaking to him about Hibs and Stokes pretty much told him to beat it and that he "didn't give a f*** about Hibs".
Hui
Stokes is a clown, I don't care how good he is, I don't want him anywhere near our club again.
Stokes is an IRA-sympathising piece of **** and that's enough to put me off ever wanting him back.

Did he give a **** about Hibs when he was sponging off club employees after he'd *****ed all his wages on bevvy and at the casino and bookies? He was due fellow players small fortunes when he was here. Absolute prick of a man.

23-07-2014, 01:20 PM

"Naw that wisnae his game". Along with the whole host of other Clone mmidfielders he did F all in the opposition half. An absolute master at retaining possession with 10 yard passes at snails pace and protecting our defence which still conceded plenty. He was just unlucky though that he played in a poor team!

Done so well that he commanded a big fee to bring back and he got a big money move to the US?

23-07-2014, 01:22 PM
Stokes is an IRA-sympathising piece of **** and that's enough to put me off ever wanting him back.

Did he give a **** about Hibs when he was sponging off club employees after he'd *****ed all his wages on bevvy and at the casino and bookies? He was due fellow players small fortunes when he was here. Absolute prick of a man.

Like.

patlowe
23-07-2014, 01:35 PM

Mascherano - no goals or assists in the World Cup IIRC but arguably the best player in the tournament. Sergio Busquets - how many assists or goals has he got in his entire career? I'd be surprised if it's more than 10 for either.

In itself this doesn't prove anything about Claros whatsoever but your argument re goals and assists is a silly one IMO.

It's a recurring argument on here so obviously some people didn't rate Claros but in my eyes him and Griffiths are out on their own as the best players we've had in the past 4/5 years.

23-07-2014, 01:37 PM
;4104424']Done so well that he commanded a big fee to bring back and he got a big money move to the US?

The fee is irrelevant unless someone paid that fee??

The US is his level and good luck to him.

23-07-2014, 01:39 PM

Yep, he's 'Celtc' minded.

23-07-2014, 01:47 PM

If it wasn't for his time at Hibs he wouldn't be at Celtic now, even though I think he's a fantastic player I also think his attitude stinks and Lennon took note of that

23-07-2014, 01:54 PM
The fee is irrelevant unless someone paid that fee??

The US is his level and good luck to him.

The US is his level?

Like Beckham, Henry, Keane ect?

dmc1875
23-07-2014, 01:59 PM

While its true Stokes likes the drink and is a bit of a wild one, whenever I've met him he has had nothing bad to say about Hibs. He doesn't want to talk about them much but said he enjoyed his time here and understood how we helped get his career back on track.

What else do you expect? He was here for little over a year, has no emotional ties to the club so why should he be so interested in us?

23-07-2014, 02:02 PM

I reckon colin nish would file you in the 95% DC :aok:

23-07-2014, 02:17 PM
While its true Stokes likes the drink and is a bit of a wild one, whenever I've met him he has had nothing bad to say about Hibs. He doesn't want to talk about them much but said he enjoyed his time here and understood how we helped get his career back on track.

What else do you expect? He was here for little over a year, has no emotional ties to the club so why should he be so interested in us?

I'd expect exactly what you said in your first paragraph. A wee touch of gratitude, a polite acknowledgement of our role in getting him to a club he's obviously much more fond of. I don't expect him to be gushing or overflowing with praise but I don't expect him to be rude or dismissive either. We've had plenty of players over the past few years who it has "not worked out for" who I might expect to speak like that of us, but not him.

I've never met him, I don't know him but I know that he's a cracking player and really did it on the pitch for us first time round. But we're facing a tough season with a small squad and all our signings really need to count. He's a player that shouldn't have to be playing at anywhere near our level so we have to ask ourselves why that might it might be that he would be facing this. We've got rumours from the past about boozing, gambling etc, it looks like he's in bother back in Ireland and family members of his appear to also get into bother from time to time. My mate who met him is a decent sort and has had a lot of positive things to say about players he has met through west (who tend to be different players to who we tend to hear about on here) and the one he was most unimpressed with was Stokes. And given the context of this thread I thought it may be of interest to some on here.

desertfox
23-07-2014, 02:24 PM
now now BMD...Hallam Hope?, Luke Coulson definitely signed?....let's not throw stones....just enjoy the speculation....

Hope, Grant and Pennington are definitely being sought for loans, according to my source near to Everton. (striker, left wing/cm, rb/cb in that order). All ex England U18/U19 players - now 19/20 years old. They all played for Everton U21's last season plus league 1 or 2 appearances for Hope/Pennington. So the quality should be fine.

Whether AS gets them is a different matter.

23-07-2014, 02:25 PM

He's that bad he played at the World Cup

dmc1875
23-07-2014, 02:29 PM
I'd expect exactly what you said in your first paragraph. A wee touch of gratitude, a polite acknowledgement of our role in getting him to a club he's obviously much more fond of. I don't expect him to be gushing or overflowing with praise but I don't expect him to be rude or dismissive either. We've had plenty of players over the past few years who it has "not worked out for" who I might expect to speak like that of us, but not him.

I've never met him, I don't know him but I know that he's a cracking player and really did it on the pitch for us first time round. But we're facing a tough season with a small squad and all our signings really need to count. He's a player that shouldn't have to be playing at anywhere near our level so we have to ask ourselves why that might it might be that he would be facing this. We've got rumours from the past about boozing, gambling etc, it looks like he's in bother back in Ireland and family members of his appear to also get into bother from time to time. My mate who met him is a decent sort and has had a lot of positive things to say about players he has met through west (who tend to be different players to who we tend to hear about on here) and the one he was most unimpressed with was Stokes. And given the context of this thread I thought it may be of interest to some on here.

I'm definitely not doubting your mate at all, Stokes can hit the bev hard and it could have been an off the cuff remark just thought I'd share what he had said to me in the past :aok:

23-07-2014, 02:46 PM
Hi Guys,

i'd take him back :agree:

but then again....he can go take a flying one now, the e*se :gun:

Leitherhibs
23-07-2014, 02:48 PM
Hope, Grant and Pennington are definitely being sought for loans, according to my source near to Everton. (striker, left wing/cm, rb/cb in that order). All ex England U18/U19 players - now 19/20 years old. They all played for Everton U21's last season plus league 1 or 2 appearances for Hope/Pennington. So the quality should be fine.

Whether AS gets them is a different matter.

Agent scotland is hardly a source.

23-07-2014, 02:50 PM
Soooooooo is this thread about summer transfers or is this about how good Claros was and how Tony Stokes likes a drink but not hibs? If its not then the title is misleading :confused:

23-07-2014, 03:20 PM
Soooooooo is this thread about summer transfers or is this about how good Claros was and how Tony Stokes likes a drink but not hibs? If its not then the title is misleading :confused:

If it was a transfer thread it would be two pages long! Someone has mentioned stokes as a transfer target and the claros chat refers to chat re loan signings. It's relevant to what's been said today. But this would be on page 3 if it was just purely about signings!

Every time I log on it's at the top of the forum list and I get a little excited in case it is a transfer done! It's rather perverse

desertfox
23-07-2014, 03:25 PM
Agent scotland is hardly a source.

So, its a good job it isn't he, then.

I don't know where AgentScotland got his info from, but it does appear accurate.

If these lads actually don't turn up it will not be because Hibs didn't ask, but because Everton think they would be better playing elsewhere.

you don't need to believe me, but this does happen to be true.

Persevere80
23-07-2014, 04:19 PM
Just walked past easter road. No sightings of potential signings but I did see the man himself with someone in a suit.

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/07/24/aza7u6y9.jpg

23-07-2014, 04:28 PM
Just walked past easter road. No sightings of potential signings but I did see the man himself with someone in a suit.

Interesting that Stubbs was there today, trying to get some deals sorted hopefully.

23-07-2014, 04:32 PM

That's someone who works for the club

23-07-2014, 04:35 PM

Hibs employee !!!

23-07-2014, 05:37 PM
Always tomorrow.

23-07-2014, 05:38 PM

Good to see Stubbs taking a shot in the ticket office. If it's good enough for the employees of McDonalds to work on the till, it's only fair the Stubbster takes a shot of selling a few match briefs.

23-07-2014, 05:44 PM

Maybe he was wondering if anyone in the ticket office fancied playing in goals.

23-07-2014, 05:50 PM
Good to see Stubbs taking a shot in the ticket office. If it's good enough for the employees of McDonalds to work on the till, it's only fair the Stubbster takes a shot of selling a few match briefs.

That doorway takes you up to a office upstairs, used to be where McLeish had his managers room when at Hibs.

Lot of ST just went up on Gumtree for sale in the Liverpool area. :greengrin

23-07-2014, 06:01 PM
That doorway takes you up to a office upstairs, used to be where McLeish had his managers room when at Hibs.

That's one thing they won't take for free!

Good tactic from Stubbs though....the blonde must be working the day!! :o)

23-07-2014, 06:05 PM
Interesting that Stubbs was there today, trying to get some deals sorted hopefully.

Is that no George Craig?

Cracker
23-07-2014, 06:16 PM
Is that no George Craig?

Is he not AS assistant ?

23-07-2014, 06:27 PM
Is he not AS assistant ?

No that's Dolan and Holden.

Cracker
23-07-2014, 06:34 PM

Oops! Thank you Aldo.

23-07-2014, 06:35 PM
Oops! Thank you Aldo.

No worries. Craig is the Head of Football Operations at the club.

23-07-2014, 06:48 PM
Is that no George Craig?

Nope ! He works for Hibernian FC, and doesn't have anything to do with the coaching side.

23-07-2014, 07:51 PM

That doorway used to take you up to the woodwork room of Norton Park High School, Ah, those were the days.

23-07-2014, 09:25 PM
Maybe he was wondering if anyone in the ticket office fancied playing in goals.
Haha hilarious 1st time ive laughed at a post on here for months mate :)

23-07-2014, 09:37 PM

I think we have more backroom staff now than we have players???

23-07-2014, 09:42 PM

I guess it depends on who gets counted. Count in all the caterers etc and we certainly do. To be expected and the way it should be.

24-07-2014, 07:47 AM

I think we have more moaning faced ****ers on this board than we do Hibs supporters????

24-07-2014, 08:30 AM
I think we have more moaning faced ****ers on this board than we do Hibs supporters????

To be fair, I think that's the same when we are doing well and I also like to think you can be both.

24-07-2014, 08:31 AM

I've asked about journos/agents etc., and the consensus is we do not have the cash. I expect only 2 permanent signings and 2-3 loanees.

Paloschi
24-07-2014, 08:36 AM
I've asked about journos/agents etc., and the consensus is we do not have the cash. I expect only 2 permanent signings and 2-3 loanees.

That may be all we need.

Honestly though, Nelson, Heffernan and OTJ are 3 examples of players who are eating into the wage/transfer budget and should be moved on. I'm 100% confident we could do better with half the cost of their wages.

I'd be happy with 5 signings but would like to see some players moved on if we are having difficulty.

scott7_0(Prague)
24-07-2014, 08:51 AM
That may be all we need.

Honestly though, Nelson, Heffernan and OTJ are 3 examples of players who are eating into the wage/transfer budget and should be moved on. I'm 100% confident we could do better with half the cost of their wages.

I'd be happy with 5 signings but would like to see some players moved on if we are having difficulty.

these players wont move on, they have nothing to move for or to. We are stuck with them.

24-07-2014, 09:00 AM
We still need 4-6 new players, we needed at least 8 when the season ended and we begun to ship folk out the door.

I like that Hearts are able to overspend for years, then go under, then still outspend us as they emerge from administration.....................

24-07-2014, 09:04 AM
We still need 4-6 new players, we needed at least 8 when the season ended and we begun to ship folk out the door.

I like that Hearts are able to overspend for years, then go under, then still outspend us as they emerge from administration.....................

In what way are they outspending us?

Bronson
24-07-2014, 09:05 AM

Season ticket sales are badly affecting our ability in the transfer market, as we were told they would unless they picked up.

24-07-2014, 09:06 AM
In what way are they outspending us?

They've brought in 7-8 players. We've brought in 2 (3 if you count Combe). And I'd say we needed at least as many players brought in as they did.

Turkish Green
24-07-2014, 09:06 AM
Maybe someone can answer me this. I keep reading on .net that Hibs' budget is the 2nd largest in the Championship (behind TRFC) and in the top 6 of the SPL. Now, was that budget for 2014-2015 not assembled at the back end of last season BEFORE Butcher did the wobbly.

This being the case, has RP / LD revised the budget based on the club's reduced circumstances and almost zero ST sales since 25 May. Could it be that this reduced budget, combined with unwanted players not leaving is causing the drought of new players.

I wonder why the deafening silence. It has been over a week since El Alagui was announced to the fans.

Maybe by the time I post this, Hibs will have made an announcement.

24-07-2014, 09:07 AM
Season ticket sales are badly affecting our ability in the transfer market, as we were told they would unless they picked up.

Yep, but that's a symptom of the last 7 years, with no cup final incentive that steady decline has finally shown itself with a true reflection in season ticket sales.

Paloschi
24-07-2014, 09:11 AM
Maybe someone can answer me this. I keep reading on .net that Hibs' budget is the 2nd largest in the Championship (behind TRFC) and in the top 6 of the SPL. Now, was that budget for 2014-2015 not assembled at the back end of last season BEFORE Butcher did the wobbly.

This being the case, has RP / LD revised the budget based on the club's reduced circumstances and almost zero ST sales since 25 May. Could it be that this reduced budget, combined with unwanted players not leaving is causing the drought of new players.

I wonder why the deafening silence. It has been over a week since El Alagui was announced to the fans.

Maybe by the time I post this, Hibs will have made an announcement.

LD said it was a reduced budget but a strong budget IIRC.

We have seen little evidence of this thus far apart from in the backroom staffing. Perhaps we are yet to spend on someone good enough?

24-07-2014, 09:18 AM
Yep, but that's a symptom of the last 7 years, with no cup final incentive that steady decline has finally shown itself with a true reflection in season ticket sales.

There's certainly a hangover from cup finals in that people bought tickets for last season to guarantee a Hampden ticket. However, our performances in last few months followed by a shameful relegation have IMO much more to do with our season ticket decline. Conversely I don't think it will take too much to boost sales, a couple of decent signings & results & I'm sure we'd get to 7,500/8,000 which would bring in as much income as Yams season sales.

Pray4Marc
24-07-2014, 09:20 AM
If we don't get at least 4/5 players in before the window shuts I sense Stubbs has been given a budget for a long term promotion push ie without rangers in the league next season. This would be more realistic, not something I agree with or any the majority of Hibs supporters.

24-07-2014, 09:26 AM

Totally agree... Leeann then AS have both said they needed our support financially.... Many Hibees though, can't see past the fact that Rod P is still here and of course this isn't the 1st year that the club desperately needed our support.

Personally I'm going to support LD & AS this year but I can understand others still feel we are under a cloud (I just wish it wasn't THIS season!)

24-07-2014, 09:32 AM
Totally agree... Leeann then AS have both said they needed our support financially.... Many Hibees though, can't see past the fact that Rod P is still here and of course this isn't the 1st year that the club desperately needed our support.

Personally I'm going to support LD & AS this year but I can understand others still feel we are under a cloud (I just wish it wasn't THIS season!)

It's not just Petrie like someone else said they end to the season and the way we got relegated won't be quickly forgotten by many.

We are stuck in this situation again where the club want us to buy stuff so they can buy players but we want a team on the park worth paying for before we spend any money.

So are we anouncing 4 players by the end of the week again?

24-07-2014, 09:41 AM
It's not just Petrie like someone else said they end to the season and the way we got relegated won't be quickly forgotten by many.

We are stuck in this situation again where the club want us to buy stuff so they can buy players but we want a team on the park worth paying for before we spend any money.

Fair dos re yer 1st paragraph .... I've tried to expunge it from my mind!

And on the 2nd one... Yup we as supporters and Hibs are "stuck between the devil and the deep blue sea" .... I do worry though that we may not have enough in the bank to get a fully effective team together for this season.

And lastly... 4 players? .... We can only wish! :greengrin .... Mind you, I've changed my mind on loanees, I was against the idea but on thinking it through I guess we might get a better player than we could otherwise afford.

Bronson
24-07-2014, 09:43 AM

People won't buy season tickets because we got relegated, but without their financial support, we'll struggle to get promoted back up. It's a vicious cycle - the longer we spend in the Championship, the lower our season ticket sales will dip, thus the harder it is to get back to the Premiership.

24-07-2014, 09:47 AM
People won't buy season tickets because we got relegated, but without their financial support, we'll struggle to get promoted back up. It's a vicious cycle - the longer we spend in the Championship, the lower our season ticket sales will dip, thus the harder it is to get back to the Premiership.

As much as I agree with this, I have no intention in putting anymore money in until our current incumbents, excluding LD and AS, prove they are worth investing in!

Too long have they taken our money and invested it poorly. Last season and relegation was enough for me!

Expecting Rain
24-07-2014, 09:51 AM
Fair dos re yer 1st paragraph .... I've tried to expunge it from my mind!

And on the 2nd one... Yup we as supporters and Hibs are "stuck between the devil and the deep blue sea" .... I do worry though that we may not have enough in the bank to get a fully effective team together for this season.

And lastly... 4 players? .... We can only wish! :greengrin .... Mind you, I've changed my mind on loanees, I was against the idea but on thinking it through I guess we might get a better player than we could otherwise afford.

I don`t think that it is always about money, Rangers were far more successful at the cheating game than Hearts who squandered tens of millions to beat Gretna after extra time and an on loan Hibs team full of rejects. Motherwell and St Johnstone have shown far more imagination than us as have Dundee U nited, Aberdeen and Inverness.
Painful as it was last season we can`t turn the clock back and why should Alan Stubbs and co inherit the grief and ineptitude of previous regimes, i am more than willing to give them breathing space after the chaos of the past.

24-07-2014, 09:56 AM
If money was that tight we would not have sacked Butcher and brought in a much expanded back room team.
Do people really think that Dempster was just winging it the first few weeks when she done that and has only just realised we have no money for players and that maybe she should not have spent so much?

24-07-2014, 10:00 AM
I don`t think that it is always about money, Rangers were far more successful at the cheating game than Hearts who squandered tens of millions to beat Gretna after extra time and an on loan Hibs team full of rejects. Motherwell and St Johnstone have shown far more imagination than us as have Dundee U nited, Aberdeen and Inverness.
Painful as it was last season we can`t turn the clock back and why should Alan Stubbs and co inherit the grief and ineptitude of previous regimes, i am more than willing to give them breathing space after the chaos of the past.

Same here and I think most Hibs fans have that view

Bronson
24-07-2014, 10:01 AM
As much as I agree with this, I have no intention in putting anymore money in until our current incumbents, excluding LD and AS, prove they are worth investing in!

Too long have they taken our money and invested it poorly. Last season and relegation was enough for me!

I don't blame you, at £405 a go we've hardly had our money's worth. I renewed in March and I don't regret doing so despite relegation, but I totally understand why you, and many others, haven't bought one.

hibIBZ
24-07-2014, 10:02 AM
IMO our budget is a strong and competitive one as we are a championship side that is affording to continue to pay players (although on reduced terms) that have finished in the top half of the spl in the last 5 years. Guys like Scott Robertson and OTJ who are both full internationalist will still be getting good money, even of they didn't do the business last season

24-07-2014, 10:03 AM
If money was that tight we would not have sacked Butcher and brought in a much expanded back room team.
Do people really think that Dempster was just winging it the first few weeks when she done that and has only just realised we have no money for players and that maybe she should not have spent so much?

The back room staff and set up are now in place to give us the best opportunity for developing local talent and bringing them into the Hibs 1st team, and I for one are very glad of that, it's not going to give immediate returns but is for the medium to long term and should be completely separate form the 1st team

24-07-2014, 10:03 AM

Agree with that, however if we've sold say 5500, would it not only be Celtc, The Rangers, Them and Aberdeen that have sold more in Scotland?

Should be enough of a budget really, but the spanners in the works are The Rangers and Hearts and the fact that if Hibs don't get promoted this year we could still be competing against 1 of them in the championship next year.

24-07-2014, 10:05 AM

the sad thing is, that so many of us have had enough! Its long term supporters coupled with new ones that are being turned off due to our inability to compete, source players of satisfactory standard or even resemble a football orientated club. The majority are now voting but none of the incumbents are listening nor paying attention.

24-07-2014, 10:10 AM
IMO our budget is a strong and competitive one as we are a championship side that is affording to continue to pay players (although on reduced terms) that have finished in the top half of the spl in the last 5 years. Guys like Scott Robertson and OTJ who are both full internationalist will still be getting good money, even of they didn't do the business last season

Got to be said linking these 2 players together is a little unfair as to me Robertson did well for Hibs until injured while OTJ never contributed at all.

24-07-2014, 10:19 AM
As I have said before this is a different case this season, it is not about speculate to accumulate, with current season ticket sales as they are, it would be a case of speculate to recover (not just to SPFL but money spent as well) in my opinion some decent money spent now on a couple of good signings, would boost season ticket sales and give us a better chance of promotion at the first attempt. Which would mean we recover the money spent with profits... My theory on perpetual motion ;-)
Ok we may have to stretch the budget to start with but the potential is there for 15,000 every home game IF we have a winning team on the park. But we will not have that if we are penny pinching which stops Stubbs getting the players he wants .. For once Hibs have to bite the bullet and go a little bit beyond their means for success this time.

24-07-2014, 10:23 AM
Agree with that, however if we've sold say 5500, would it not only be Celtc, The Rangers, Them and Aberdeen that have sold more in Scotland?

Should be enough of a budget really, but the spanners in the works are The Rangers and Hearts and the fact that if Hibs don't get promoted this year we could still be competing against 1 of them in the championship next year.

Exactly.

It's criminal that with the budgets we have had (or should have had) over the past few years as a result of gate receipts and cup run income that we have struggled so badly to compete with the likes of Motherwell and St.Johnstone and ultimately ended up relegated.

Based on budget alone you would expect The Rangers to walk it next year, the cheats to follow in 2nd some way behind but for us to be pushing them in 3rd. This would lead us to a playoff that could really go either way.

But it doesn't always go with budget which could be a good or bad thing for us. 5500 season ticket sales should be able to see us easily be better than the rest but it would not surprise me to see Falkirk, Queen of the South etc push us all the way as they are clubs with a good bit of resolve and determination to succeed. And instead of feeling sorry for ourselves it is something we should be striving to do too. I loved it when Mowbray and Collins' teams would fearlessly go to Glasgow and go toe to toe with the OF. Just because we have a few quid less to spend than Rangers and Hearts doesn't mean we shouldn't be trying to compete with them.

Because with the right attitude and a decent start we may pick up a few of the strays along the way again, possibly funding a decent January a good tilt at it after all.

24-07-2014, 10:24 AM
I don't blame you, at £405 a go we've hardly had our money's worth. I renewed in March and I don't regret doing so despite relegation, but I totally understand why you, and many others, haven't bought one.

I still believe LD has made a huge mistake with the pricing of the season tickets, I'll get one ( 1st since Calderwood was here ) but that's purely down to the fact we have a new person in charge of the budget and a new manager who comes with a clean slate and bags of enthusiasm a bit like when Mowbray was here. The price should've been dropped to £350 and been left up to the supporters who bought early to then ask if they wanted a refund, this would have taken the pressure off LD to give refunds to all the early birds.

As I have said before this is a different case this season, it is not about speculate to accumulate, with current season ticket sales as they are, it would be a case of speculate to recover (not just to SPFL but money spent as well) in my opinion some decent money spent now on a couple of good signings, would boost season ticket sales and give us a better chance of promotion at the first attempt. Which would mean we recover the money spent with profits... My theory on perpetual motion ;-)
Ok we may have to stretch the budget to start with but the potential is there for 15,000 every home game IF we have a winning team on the park. But we will not have that if we are penny pinching which stops Stubbs getting the players he wants .. For once Hibs have to bite the bullet and go a little bit beyond their means for success this time.

I would agree with this, heck if Hibs even signed one Player to get us supporters starting to anticipate the upcoming season more and more and sent out a message that there's more in the pipeline but we need to do our bit as well to help finance it .... Then things might begin to change?

The back room staff and set up are now in place to give us the best opportunity for developing local talent and bringing them into the Hibs 1st team, and I for one are very glad of that, it's not going to give immediate returns but is for the medium to long term and should be completely separate form the 1st team

I agree 100% & I don't believe our budget for back room staff has increased from last year. I think we now have a strong, energetic team some of whom are looking to enhance their reputation at our club rather than gain financially. Everything I hear from ER/EM is positive & the improvement is almost unbelievable compared to the fiasco that was the last few months.

24-07-2014, 10:33 AM

24-07-2014, 10:35 AM
Painful as it was last season we can`t turn the clock back and why should Alan Stubbs and co inherit the grief and ineptitude of previous regimes, i am more than willing to give them breathing space after the chaos of the past.[/QUOTE]

I don't feel that AS should inherit the grief and ineptitude. However I feel I must make a rational decision on what I invest my time and money In.

AS knew what he was getting into when he joined, we were relegated and he would have been given an amount at his interview to bring players I'n with. I personally think we will get players I'n for two reasons.
1. This is his first stint as a manager, he will want to do well because if he is a failure I'n the Scottish Championship who is going to employ him as a manager next.
2. LD will ( obviously ) know the mess were I'n financially, but will have seen the length Rod has been here. If it goes well for her and the fans don't get on her back by giving us success with a team worth supporting then she is I'n a good job for a very long time or will be offered a very good job by another company, because of the turn around she will achieved here.

I've said this before I have my money ready to buy a season ticket, but I have been promised quality signings. If the board show me these signings I will show them my money. Every year I shell out only to be given false hope and promises, I for one want the board to show me they actually mean it this year. GGTTH

24-07-2014, 10:36 AM
Got to be said linking these 2 players together is a little unfair as to me Robertson did well for Hibs until injured while OTJ never contributed at all.

I'm sorry but years of settling for players like Robertson, Jones, Taiwo, Stevenson, Cairney etc etc has contributed to our downward spiral.

Several years of bottom six SPL clubs coming to Easter Road and passing us off the park as if they were Barcelona. These teams more often than not at least had some midfield players with a modicum of midfield nous, a player who could see a through ball and could rely on someone to attack with pace. Our lot seemed to delight in passing sideways or back but when it came to forward penetration it was like everyone was running through treacle.

Hopefully Stubbs will bring in some midfield creativity and some pace to help maximise his passing philosophy because we know the current lot are severely limited. Hopefully youngsters like Stanton and Harris will step up and deliver as well.

Bronson
24-07-2014, 10:43 AM
My mate reckons we're after Scott Allan, says he read it in The Sun today. Granted, neither my mate or The Sun are reliable sources so pinch of salt required, thought I'd share though.

mentalhibee
24-07-2014, 10:50 AM
My mate reckons we're after Scott Allan, says he read it in The Sun today. Granted, neither my mate or The Sun are reliable sources so pinch of salt required, thought I'd share though.

Hopefully true.....we need players in ASAP!

24-07-2014, 11:00 AM

Who is Scott Allan? Excuse my ignorance Bronson.

Edit. Found him on Wiki if it's the Arabs / WBA fellah. Sadly few appearances since his move South and none at all for West Brom.
That was not a good career move for him at all.

24-07-2014, 11:03 AM

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scott_Allan

24-07-2014, 11:06 AM

Ex Dundee Utd youth. Look promising but then took a money move down to west brom after a fall out the peter Huston. Didn't do much and was loaned out to Birmingham and is now a free agent. He is an attacking midfielder.

That about it

24-07-2014, 11:09 AM
Ex Dundee Utd youth. Look promising but then took a money move down to west brom after a fall out the peter Huston. Didn't do much and was loaned out to Birmingham and is now a free agent. He is an attacking midfielder.

That about it

Ta.
I thought about Wiki and edited my post.
Looks like he's wasted a few career seasons. Didn't do anything at all with West Brom.

Bronson
24-07-2014, 11:14 AM
Ta.
I thought about Wiki and edited my post.
Looks like he's wasted a few career seasons. Didn't do anything at all with West Brom.

Still a young lad in his defence, only 22. I thought he was on his way to the huns but that's went quiet. Can't say I know too much about him, don't remember ever seeing him play but he must have had something about him to earn a move to the Prem.

24-07-2014, 11:26 AM
Saw him play for Scotland u21s few years ago and he was outstanding. He apparently has a poor attitude though and has been in a bit of bother off the pitch too.

DarrenSQH
24-07-2014, 11:33 AM
Saw him play for Scotland u21s few years ago and he was outstanding. He apparently has a poor attitude though and has been in a bit of bother off the pitch too.

Sounds prefect for us! The new Leigh/Deek/Garry

24-07-2014, 11:38 AM

sitting in the canteen at work and just had a flick through it... No mention whatsoever.

24-07-2014, 11:49 AM
Based on budget alone you would expect The Rangers to walk it next year, the cheats to follow in 2nd some way behind but for us to be pushing them in 3rd. This would lead us to a playoff that could really go either way.

Not sure there is any evidence that Hearts budget is larger than ours? On the mega administration thread - I remember sensible estimates that it would be in the order of £1.5-2m for the next few years as they paid back their football debts and Budge back for the up front capital purchase.

That's half ours.

Bronson
24-07-2014, 11:53 AM
sitting in the canteen at work and just had a flick through it... No mention whatsoever.

I can't say I'm shocked, I did warn a pinch of salt was required.

edit: Scrap that, great shout just the wrong paper:greengrin

24-07-2014, 12:06 PM

That's cos it's in the record :greengrin

24-07-2014, 12:12 PM
If we get Scott Allan that's a really good signing for us.

24-07-2014, 01:13 PM
Seemingly getting Allan and Oxley in today.

Anyone heard anything about Marsella being punted?

24-07-2014, 01:14 PM

Not heard anything about Marsella. What's the latest and why is he apparently getting punted?

Lee Marvin
24-07-2014, 01:17 PM

Have you heard this news re Oxley and Allan from source outside the public domain speedway?

Paloschi
24-07-2014, 01:19 PM

I heard Marsella was getting punted from the same person that told me we had made an 'approach' for Stokes on loan so did not believe it.

I can't understand why we would have let him go now instead of before if that is what Stubbs wanted.

24-07-2014, 01:37 PM
I heard Marsella was getting punted from the same person that told me we had made an 'approach' for Stokes on loan so did not believe it.

I can't understand why we would have let him go now instead of before if that is what Stubbs wanted.

Maybe Stubbs has just gone through Marsella's target list & seen it was a pile of keek!

24-07-2014, 01:37 PM

Unless the wonderful Marsella isn't quite the master scout we all thought and he got lucky with Butcher with the few he got at ICT.

Lester B
24-07-2014, 01:49 PM
Maybe Stubbs has just gone through Marsella's target list & seen it was a pile of keek!

I suspect that may well be the case. It's certainly clear that Stubbs has looked at a large number of players and is being careful about who he investigates further. If the list provided by the chief scout raises questions about his ability to spot a player then it would be about now that it would be clear that he's not up to it. There is a logic inherent in biding time over the decision on this role. Unlike the dynamic duo who clearly had failed as a management team, the chief scout role is something that the new management can only judge on once they have looked at his recommendations.

24-07-2014, 02:11 PM
Have you heard this news re Oxley and Allan from source outside the public domain speedway?

Signings = public domain

Marsella = 'source'

Persevere80
24-07-2014, 02:16 PM
Funny but probably true.

24-07-2014, 02:58 PM
Not heard anything about Marsella. What's the latest and why is he apparently getting punted?

Leeann kept finding the chocolate biscuit tin empty when she went for a tea break.

24-07-2014, 04:18 PM

Good . Should have went with hud it and dud it imo.
Nothing on the fishy site tho .

24-07-2014, 04:34 PM

Hmmm.
:zzzzz!: 2 year deal and an ex Arab too. How did you miss this?
Maybe journos and agents are getting fed up with your spraffing.

24-07-2014, 04:38 PM
Oxely and Hope next.

24-07-2014, 06:20 PM
Oxely and Hope next.

Hope so.

24-07-2014, 07:10 PM

Put on gardening leave last week.

24-07-2014, 07:35 PM
Shrewd move by Hibs

Let him reveal his targets then once Stubbs has had a chance to assess - them bin him to the botanic switch Hoofball Butcher and moaning Maurice

24-07-2014, 08:35 PM
Hallam Hope just tweeted saying he's going to Thailand with the Evetton team, doesn't look like he be here anytime soon

24-07-2014, 09:04 PM
Hallam Hope just tweeted saying he's going to Thailand with the Evetton team, doesn't look like he be here anytime soon

another ITK slanging match pending!

TheFamous1875
24-07-2014, 09:11 PM

Aye, but when do get back? :wink:

mikey987654321
24-07-2014, 09:15 PM

Hibs had at least one scout who was in for a meeting/interview through the week.

24-07-2014, 11:30 PM
Hibs had at least one scout who was in for a meeting/interview through the week.

That must be some powerful lens to get that from Cornwall mate :wink:

Hiding in the bushes, he only hides in the bushes

25-07-2014, 06:51 AM
The younger players from Everton if we get any where always going to be august additions IMO as Everton need to make sure they get players in and can let them go and to right club so they develop

Nutmegged
25-07-2014, 07:29 AM
The younger players from Everton if we get any where always going to be august additions IMO as Everton need to make sure they get players in and can let them go and to right club so they develop

I'm not sure I entirely agree, while I do believe Everton will want to integrate their younger players into the squad as much as possible before sending them on loan and Roberto Martinez is notorious for sending players out late in the day however with Alan Stubbs at the club I thought and still think we'll get one or two quicker than normal, Martinez and Everton in general will know what Stubbs is all about so will know what to expect when sending a player to him.

I don't personally think Everton's/Martinez usual stance regarding timing of loanees will necessarily include Hibs...thats just a hunch tho'

Tynie01011973
25-07-2014, 07:45 AM
Dundee Utd have accepted improved bid from Hull City for Andrew Robertson - £2m + Add-Ons

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28442322

25-07-2014, 07:48 AM
Dundee Utd have accepted improved bid from Hull City for Andrew Robertson - £2m + Add-Ons http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28442322

Yip up to £3 million.

Not bad for a player they paid 15 or so grand for.

25-07-2014, 07:48 AM
Yip up to £3 million.

Not bad for a player they paid 15 or so grand for.

Hope Queens Park get something from this fee

25-07-2014, 07:52 AM
Hope Queens Park get something from this fee

I would like to think so Billy.

25-07-2014, 09:08 AM
another ITK slanging match pending!

There wouldn't be if certain posters stopped posting crap, we can all pull names from other peoples posts and say, hey i got it right again.

25-07-2014, 09:32 AM
Allan is a terrific signing!

JPrinty
25-07-2014, 11:22 AM
Hibs Transfer News ‏@HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews) 3m (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews/status/492629658631147520)
It is of my understanding Hibs will sign Icelandic striker Gudjon Baldvinsson from Halmstads BK. Will be confirmed within 24 hours.

25-07-2014, 11:24 AM
Whos baldvinsson

25-07-2014, 11:25 AM
Slightly off topic - Claudio Ranieri announced as new Greece boss. Can't say I saw that coming to be honest.

25-07-2014, 11:29 AM
Hibs Transfer News ‏@HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews) 3m (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews/status/492629658631147520)
It is of my understanding Hibs will sign Icelandic striker Gudjon Baldvinsson from Halmstads BK. Will be confirmed within 24 hours.

Decent pedigree.

2 mins in is a cracker.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zbdG_VWyYfo

TheFamous1875
Dundee Utd have accepted improved bid from Hull City for Andrew Robertson - £2m + Add-Ons

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28442322

Nut! Was looking forward to seeing him on Sunday! Some player.

Persevere80
25-07-2014, 11:31 AM
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gu%C3%B0j%C3%B3n_Baldvinsson

JPrinty
25-07-2014, 11:35 AM
Whos baldvinsson

No idea, but this guy on twitter was one of the first to break the news about Scott Allan

25-07-2014, 11:38 AM
No idea, but this guy on twitter was one of the first to break the news about Scott Allan

TBF the Daily Record was but he seems the only one with this news.

hopefully we do get another striker in though, know nothing about this boy but looks ok on you tube haha

25-07-2014, 11:41 AM
2 mins in is a cracker. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zbdG_VWyYfo

The goal at 3.22 reminds me of Deeks at Darkheid when he chipped Forster.

Looks like a very decent addition

25-07-2014, 11:56 AM
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gu%C3%B0j%C3%B3n_Baldvinsson

He has brilliant a goals to games ratio! Could be very promising...

25-07-2014, 12:04 PM
Looks to me like a big massive target man kinda guy with a good scoring rate. Would be happy with this but don't we already have a similar striker in El Alagui? Would they be able to play together?

Hank Schrader
25-07-2014, 12:08 PM
Looks to me like a big massive target man kinda guy with a good scoring rate. Would be happy with this but don't we already have a similar striker in El Alagui? Would they be able to play together?

At barely over 6 foot I wouldn't call him massive. Although I can't watch the clips of him at work here as YouTube won't work for me!! :rolleyes::greengrin

25-07-2014, 12:08 PM

Even if he was a little similar, injuries etc, always good to have options. This guy actually looks a bit more mobile

Benny Brazil
25-07-2014, 12:12 PM
2 mins in is a cracker.

what a peach!
The one at 3mins aint too bad either

25-07-2014, 12:23 PM

http://gintruth.com/gnt/Blog/Entries/2012/8/6_Latest_GIN_Audio_Update_-_nothing_new_files/shapeimage_1.png

25-07-2014, 12:23 PM
Looks like a decent player! Can anyone itk confirm there something in this?

25-07-2014, 12:26 PM
Looks like a decent player! Can anyone itk confirm there something in this?

No, the ITK guys started it for a laugh.

25-07-2014, 12:27 PM
That HFCTransferNews report is 100% rubbish. We are not looking at any Icelandic forwards.

25-07-2014, 12:28 PM
http://gintruth.com/gnt/Blog/Entries/2012/8/6_Latest_GIN_Audio_Update_-_nothing_new_files/shapeimage_1.png

Spot on :top marks

25-07-2014, 12:31 PM
2 mins in is a cracker.

Looks good on this. Powerful striker who knows where the goal is ! Think i'll check his goal stats. :agree:

25-07-2014, 12:32 PM
Looks good on this. Powerful striker who knows where the goal is ! Think i'll check his goal stats. :agree:

I wouldn't waste your time. It's a made up story.

25-07-2014, 12:34 PM
Oooooooooooooooooft . Seems the Icelandic striker story is mince :wtf:

25-07-2014, 01:05 PM
So who's next after Allan I wonder? Has to be a goalkeeper. Any hear anything further about the lad from Hull City?

Audio Visual
25-07-2014, 01:07 PM
No, the ITK guys started it for a laugh.

Hilarious.

25-07-2014, 01:29 PM
Hilarious.

Had my sides slitting as well.
Not.

25-07-2014, 01:35 PM
Time for this thread to close, its just become a nonsense now.

25-07-2014, 01:47 PM

I agree, why can't it just be kept for transfer romours grrrrrrr :wink:

25-07-2014, 02:36 PM
Whos baldvinsson

awesome on FM14 if that helps :greengrin

Time For Heroes
25-07-2014, 04:48 PM

People too busy trying to point score and get one up.
How bad is it that people log on to this site just to trade blows.
One day (hopefully soon) we will get back to serious topics without the kid stuff, maybe its just preseason.

Leitherhibs
25-07-2014, 05:41 PM
Hearing Matthew Kennedy is one of the potential everton loanees stubbs has asked about, i know his name has been mentioned already on here and its hardly a brand new rumour but thought i'd share what i'd heard.

25-07-2014, 07:56 PM
Does anyone think we'll sign a centre back? I honestly hope we do.

25-07-2014, 08:00 PM

I think it's not a priority position but if a good one becomes available we'll try and get him.

25-07-2014, 08:45 PM

I think it's vital we do. A centre half, a goalkeeper and another striker are all positions that definitely need brought in.

25-07-2014, 08:47 PM
I think it's vital we do. A centre half, a goalkeeper and another striker are all positions that definitely need brought in.

Agree.

Greenblood70
25-07-2014, 09:57 PM

We released McPake which only really leaves Nelson ( who isn't getting any younger and is imo not up to the standard required), Forster ( who has promise but looked positionally suspect at times but I'm hoping will improve under Stubbs) and Hanlon ( who I personally think does a reasonable job despite being partnered with some absolute bombscares in the past few years.)

It's not negativity but we are still woefully short of cover and quality in some key positions. I live in hope we'll sign players to cover but that means bringing in another half dozen at least which given our reduced budget I'd be sceptical of. As others have mentioned I think we'll prioritise, which means goalkeeper and striker first.

We're going to need to keep a pretty small squad of 'first teamers' fit to challenge for the title. As it stands we should be minimum capable of a play off place which I think is what the Board are looking at.

R11Loaded
25-07-2014, 10:08 PM

Currently signed to the MLS champions. Made his debut vs Man City and was very very impressive. Commentators loved him

Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey

Nutmegged
25-07-2014, 10:47 PM
Mentioned in another threas earlier, we most definitely need a central defender, Michael Nelson is hopeless and all the best wiahes we can muster will not change that fact, we cant get caught up in the positive feeling and juat totally ignore or forget the fact that he was a cpmplete bombscare -if Hibs are going to be successful this Season it wont be with Nelson - Stubbs is using him just noe but if he is a genuine first choice then I think that tells us all how badly we actually need a CB.

I'm not buying into all this "He's had a good pre-season stuff, we've faced no-one remotely worthy of boasting about

25-07-2014, 10:59 PM
Maybe young Gardiner is ready to step up if required?

25-07-2014, 11:05 PM
Also, getting back on Claros chat. It literally pickles my brain that folk couldn't see his quality once he had settled in to Scottish football.
Check his World Cup stats. Despite playing for one of the poorest nations, his stats are as good/in many cases better, than the top midfielders in the world. He's also just won a great move to play MLS. A league full of huge names. Yet there are still a handful of Hibs fans that don't see his worth because he didn't score/create goals. Mad

25-07-2014, 11:21 PM
Judging by some of the comments in relation to Claros, it's a lack of basic fundamental tactical knowledge, if a player doesn't score or go on mazy runs they are considered rubbish players. I've forgotten more about fitba than these folk will ever know as they're clearly too stubborn to widen their horizons.

25-07-2014, 11:24 PM
I was at the game with Man City and Claros played very well for the newcomer that he is. Very neat and tidy as usual and I think he will make a big impression as the season goes on. Think I will start wearing my Hibs top to the Sporting games from now on.....:agree:

25-07-2014, 11:27 PM
Also, getting back on Claros chat. It literally pickles my brain that folk couldn't see his quality once he had settled in to Scottish football.
Check his World Cup stats. Despite playing for one of the poorest nations, his stats are as good/in many cases better, than the top midfielders in the world. He's also just won a great move to play MLS. A league full of huge names. Yet there are still a handful of Hibs fans that don't see his worth because he didn't score/create goals. Mad
There are dafties on this forum who will tell you that he has found his level and that the MLS is s***e. Used to really bother me that people could be that daft but now I just find it funny that some people are happy to give "educated" opinions on subjects they know nothing about....

25-07-2014, 11:59 PM
Judging by some of the comments in relation to Claros, it's a lack of basic fundamental tactical knowledge, if a player doesn't score or go on mazy runs they are considered rubbish players. I've forgotten more about fitba than these folk will ever know as they're clearly too stubborn to widen their horizons.

Alternatively some of us understood his role in the team, but didn't see him as a stand out in it.

He had better technique than most in the squad granted, but any comparison to the impostors that played beside him is a hollow one. He wasn't a bad player, I just didn't see the hype. The occasional pirouette (sp?) and simple pass to feet made him stand out, but I never saw him dominate a midfield, or dictate a game.

I always saw him as a bit of a Steady Eddie in amongst some utter dross. His role is an important one, but I never felt it would be too difficult to find someone who does what Claros does, but better. That's if our scouting network hadn't been as shambolic as it has been.

26-07-2014, 12:21 AM
Alternatively some of us understood his role in the team, but didn't see him as a stand out in it.

He had better technique than most in the squad granted, but any comparison to the impostors that played beside him is a hollow one. He wasn't a bad player, I just didn't see the hype. The occasional pirouette (sp?) and simple pass to feet made him stand out, but I never saw him dominate a midfield, or dictate a game.

I always saw him as a bit of a Steady Eddie in amongst some utter dross. His role is an important one, but I never felt it would be too difficult to find someone who does what Claros does, but better. That's if our scouting network hadn't been as shambolic as it has been.
Someone who does it better than Claros should easily be found by our scouts? A player who has just played in a world cup and then signed by the U.S. champions. Huh.... Who would you suggest then? :faf:

TheFamous1875
26-07-2014, 12:30 AM
I see Claros as the missing link from the 2004-07 team. Our team was great, but they were missing a terrier in the middle of the field like Claros, an unselfish player who you could really on to retain the ball. Beuzelin, Stewart and Thomson were more 'football' players, as in they set up goals and played defence-splitting passes and got forward, but they never had that mix of tenacity and composure that Claros had.

I think if we had Claros in that squad he could've soaked up pressure to enable Brown and Beuzelin to create and drive. We would've won a lot more and conceded a lot less in those days if we had him at our disposal, deployed as the unglamorous cog that he was.

Depending on the tactics, you could swap him for Stewart or Thomson, but that was always the quiet grievance when it came to Mowbray; he was too 'gung ho'.

26-07-2014, 12:40 AM
Someone who does it better than Claros should easily be found by our scouts? A player who has just played in a world cup and then signed by the U.S. champions. Huh.... Who would you suggest then? :faf:

Any need to be quite so patronising simply because you have a different opinion. Maybe Scott Allan is that very signing, who knows.

I simply didn't think he was as good at the role he had as others think, but not saying he was a liability, like most of the others, either. Fair play to him in where he is in his career just now, I am merely commenting on what I saw of him while he was here.

Griffiths was un replaceable like for like on our budget, but the attributes Claros has and what he did for the team are easier to replace in my opinion.

26-07-2014, 12:48 AM
Hfc transfer news on twitter knows **** all. Best ignored.

26-07-2014, 12:49 AM
I think it's not a priority position but if a good one becomes available we'll try and get him.

It should be. Our centre back pairings leaked goals last season, admittedly more so following Hanlon's injury.

Hanlon and Forster are the centre back pairing of the future imo but we need at least a stop gap in for this season and Nelson is not the answer.

26-07-2014, 01:16 AM
Any need to be quite so patronising simply because you have a different opinion. Maybe Scott Allan is that very signing, who knows.

I simply didn't think he was as good at the role he had as others think, but not saying he was a liability, like most of the others, either. Fair play to him in where he is in his career just now, I am merely commenting on what I saw of him while he was here.

Griffiths was un replaceable like for like on our budget, but the attributes Claros has and what he did for the team are easier to replace in my opinion.

Claros was a class player. Even in his first season I couldn't understand some of the grief he got on here. The difference between Claros and your other run of the mill "dirty work" type midfielders is that he could take a ball in tight situations and always find space to move the ball on. That is something you can't teach a player - that magical ability to find space in a tight spot. Claros has that ability in spades. These guys don't grow on trees.

26-07-2014, 03:57 AM
Goin do us folk a favour who just want to read about potential signing and go set up a Claros thread :agree:....cheers chaps.

Cabbage Lad
26-07-2014, 06:12 AM
^^^^^this

26-07-2014, 06:17 AM
Goin do us folk a favour who just want to read about potential signing and go set up a Claros thread :agree:....cheers chaps.

Beat me to it SMAXXA

Saw a whole load of new posts and thought Bingo something in the offing !!

Gutted to just read another arguement/discussion about somebody who has been gone for over a year

Getting like the Jeremy Kyle show on here these days

GlenrothesHibee
26-07-2014, 06:31 AM
Claros was a class player. Even in his first season I couldn't understand some of the grief he got on here. The difference between Claros and your other run of the mill "dirty work" type midfielders is that he could take a ball in tight situations and always find space to move the ball on. That is something you can't teach a player - that magical ability to find space in a tight spot. Claros has that ability in spades. These guys don't grow on trees.

Apart from 2 truly sh**ebag performances in 2 of our biggest games in years
. Good riddance. That is all.

26-07-2014, 06:56 AM
Apart from 2 truly sh**ebag performances in 2 of our biggest games in years
. Good riddance. That is all.

Jesus...

26-07-2014, 06:59 AM
Jesus...

Is that a rumour in the papers or a suggestion of someone we should sign?

What position is he?

Dave-O
26-07-2014, 07:04 AM

What position is he?

Hibs Transfer News ‏@HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews).It is my understanding Hibs will sign jesus, a midfield playmaker, it Will be confirmed within 24 hours. :greengrin

26-07-2014, 07:42 AM
Hibs Transfer News ‏@HFCTransferNews (https://twitter.com/HFCTransferNews).It is my understanding Hibs will sign jesus, a midfield playmaker, it Will be confirmed within 24 hours. :greengrin

Comedy gold

happiehibbie
26-07-2014, 07:50 AM
A bald guy with no vison !

WestEndHibee
26-07-2014, 08:45 AM

It would beef up our fan base no end.

26-07-2014, 09:05 AM

He's a master with crosses

26-07-2014, 09:08 AM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jes%C3%BAs_Navas

Surely he's outwith our price range, we live in hope though. :greengrin

26-07-2014, 09:16 AM

:faf: Apparently he can push a giant boulder up a hill as well. It's a pity Marsella never scouted him earlier as this was part of the Butcher/Malpas "training" regime. Anyone that couldn't do it was stoned to death by Maurice.

26-07-2014, 09:18 AM
We still need: A strong, injury free center half who will command the position while bringing on both Hanlon and Froster; A good GK who also commands his area and leads from the goal line; A midfield playmaker and general to ensure we don't lose out in the middle of the park like we have done for years now! And; Another striker! Personally, I'd love to see a sweeper in the mold of you know who :) who sat in-between midfield and defense.

Velma Dinkley
26-07-2014, 09:19 AM

What position is he?

His dad plays everywhere.

scuttle
26-07-2014, 09:19 AM

No matter how good he was, he would still get crucified on here

26-07-2014, 09:23 AM
Can I be a real bore & please suggest those of you thinking up the next pun on Jesus please start a separate thread. Just trying to step in quickly before I have to wade my way through pages of side-splitting humour to try & read about potential signings.
Thanks!

hibby67
26-07-2014, 09:26 AM
Can I be a real bore & please suggest those of you thinking up the next pun on Jesus please start a separate thread. Just trying to step in quickly before I have to wade my way through pages of side-splitting humour to try & read about potential signings.
Thanks!

Hallelujah

scuttle
26-07-2014, 09:29 AM
Thanks!

Amen to that

MCameron
26-07-2014, 09:58 AM
Hearing Benedict Shunn will make an appearance tomorrow. Probably nearer the end of the match and AS is convinced it's the move that will resurrect this club.

26-07-2014, 10:05 AM
It seems we really need to resurrect the transfer thread, or make some up whilst nothing is going on :greengrin

26-07-2014, 10:09 AM

His Dad (Franck Sauzee) was a good signing for us the last time we were in the First Division.

Flanny boy
26-07-2014, 10:36 AM
Thanks!
You are right brog after all we are talking here of The Lord of lords and king of kings
so lets try and not use our lords name in blasphemy.whoever signs for our great club
lets hope they all do well and we have a successful season.ggtth

26-07-2014, 10:39 AM
You are right brog after all we are talking here of The Lord of lords and king of kings
so lets try and not use our lords name in blasphemy.whoever signs for our great club
lets hope they all do well and we have a successful season.ggtth

Jesus Christ, lighten up man. :wink:

26-07-2014, 10:47 AM
Can we not.

26-07-2014, 10:53 AM
Take it Combe will start in goals tomorrow.

26-07-2014, 10:56 AM
Be annoyed if he starts anywhere else

26-07-2014, 10:58 AM

Probably SH. But what are the chances of Hibs surprising us and we see Oxley between the sticks?

26-07-2014, 11:13 AM
I think this Jesus rumour is nailed on to happen

26-07-2014, 11:18 AM

If we do can its a miracle.

I'll get me coat. GGTTH

Dumfrieshibs
26-07-2014, 12:12 PM

Not so sure....he must be a fair age now:devil:

26-07-2014, 12:35 PM
I'll admit, this is definitely an increase in quality for the transfer thread.

26-07-2014, 03:24 PM
You need to cease and desist from this sort of humour. It's making me cross.....

26-07-2014, 03:27 PM
Another one we won't keep away from George Street, bexause I've heard that he's not the messiah, just a very naughty boy.......

26-07-2014, 03:37 PM
If i was a admin prick then a few banning orders would be handed oot the day..

C'mon Bob gives a rumour to moan about, any truth regards McFadden signing for the Jags.

26-07-2014, 04:32 PM
If i was a admin prick then a few banning orders would be handed oot the day..

C'mon Bob gives a rumour to moan about, any truth regards McFadden signing for the Jags.

He's only training with them to keep fit. He has an offer from is and a few from the states.

patch1875
26-07-2014, 04:54 PM
You need to cease and desist from this sort of humour. It's making me cross.....

I'd take hymn

26-07-2014, 05:08 PM
I'd take hymn
Or if TB had stayed in charge it may have been a case of Aisle alter hymn.....

26-07-2014, 05:10 PM
I'd delete the last three pages of this thread!

26-07-2014, 05:13 PM
In the interests of getting this back on topic thought I'd mention that somebody on the Facebook group has mentioned that Tomas cywka is a possible signing.

Assume it'll be nonsense