View Full Version : Greggs Scottish summer transfers/contracts

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10

14-07-2014, 12:43 PM
forever grateful to Ross for his goal at tynie but won't be losing sleep over his departure.

14-07-2014, 01:24 PM
@SkySportsPeteO: Notts County are set to beat Aberdeen to the loan signing of Zeli Ismail. #WWFC #NCFC #dons. :hilarious

14-07-2014, 01:27 PM
Full on slaver?

14-07-2014, 02:03 PM
David Clarkson is on trial I believe.

14-07-2014, 02:21 PM
I'll go first

Guilty/not Hibs Class/If this is the standard......,/Petrie still pulling purse strings

14-07-2014, 02:24 PM
David Clarkson is on trial I believe.

I don't think he's good enough and will be a waste of a wage

14-07-2014, 02:27 PM
:coffee:

14-07-2014, 02:28 PM

I think you might be wrong there.

nribs
14-07-2014, 02:31 PM
I think you might be wrong there.

Dont know much about the laddie just know we have been linked with him in the past but he hasn't scored loads of goals. Anybody know what kind of player he is? Fast? Tricky?

14-07-2014, 02:33 PM
Dont know much about the laddie just know we have been linked with him in the past but he hasn't scored loads of goals. Anybody know what kind of player he is? Fast? Tricky?

Stuart McCall said he didn't want him at Motherwell because he wants someone who is fast enough to get behind the defence

14-07-2014, 02:35 PM

Was training at Fir Park last week, SM said he did ok, but they were looking for someone with pace to get in behind a defence. From what I remember in his spell at Motherwell he was more of an old fashioned centre forward.

If Farid signs then maybe Clarkson could be the link player between midfield and attack

14-07-2014, 02:35 PM
Stuart McCall said he didn't want him at Motherwell because he wants someone who is fast enough to get behind the defence

http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/28279511

14-07-2014, 02:38 PM

I agree. If Stubbs has a look at him and likes what he sees then great, but Ive never been impressed with Clarkson. Based on the strikers we currently have, I think we need someone with a bit of pace, and Clarkson definitely doesnt fit the bill (along with having a very average goal return).

14-07-2014, 02:39 PM
Clarkson is a player who may do well in this league to be honest. He isn't someone that I can say I'm overly impressed about us signing if we do that is but sure Stubbs knows what he's looking for and if Clarkson is just that then so be it.

Roll on next season as I'm confident we will be watching the ball rolling about the grass than flying up in the air, which was giving me a sore neck.

14-07-2014, 02:45 PM
Clarkson will be decent if his attitude is good.

14-07-2014, 02:46 PM
Clarkson and El Alagui upfront would be decent :cb

14-07-2014, 02:52 PM
“@MotherwellFC: Motherwell FC can today confirm physiotherapist John Porteous has left the club to take up a similar role at Hibs: http://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/2014/07/14/john-porteous-departs-for-hibs/”

Bronson
14-07-2014, 02:53 PM
Alex Rodman just signed for Gateshead.

14-07-2014, 02:59 PM
Another player who thinks he's better than he is. It's time for him to knuckle down and perform on the pitch. Don't think he will be a great miss at Easter Road

In a smaller squad there certainly wasn't room for Cummings handling and Caldwell IMO Caldwell had played the least amount of games and didn't do well when out on loan so seems obvious choice to loose although the way he took the couple of goals he scored for us confirms there is a finisher in there if he can apply himself .Will probably pop down and watch him in friendly before season starts if saints have a home game

14-07-2014, 03:04 PM
“@MotherwellFC: Motherwell FC can today confirm physiotherapist John Porteous has left the club to take up a similar role at Hibs: http://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/2014/07/14/john-porteous-departs-for-hibs/”
We are certainly signing plenty of back-room staff Leeann clearly thinks our whole structure has needed an overhaul .she will know his worth to Motherwell and clearly thinks it's a good addition .

14-07-2014, 03:08 PM
We are certainly signing plenty of back-room staff Leeann clearly thinks our whole structure has needed an overhaul .she will know his worth to Motherwell and clearly thinks it's a good addition .

This won't be a new position either so there is a fair chance someone got the bullet.

14-07-2014, 03:22 PM
Song for tomorrow??

No-one signs for us
We don't care!!

14-07-2014, 03:31 PM

''after move to Hibernian broke down''

Christ, we can't compete with Gateshead.:cb

Gordy M
14-07-2014, 03:32 PM
''after move to Hibernian broke down''

Christ, we can't compete with Gateshead.:cb
I would imagine it broke down when TB was sacked!!

Nutmegged
14-07-2014, 03:36 PM
Clarkson was decent for Motherwell before he moved to Bristol, he had two decent feet and good balance, wasn't the quickest but didn't think he was a slouch either, had a good eye for goal too, no idea how he has progressed or regressed over the last few years but I wouldn't hold it against him not being what Motherwell are looking for.

They have such a tight budget McCall really has to be ultra specific in his needs foe that team

14-07-2014, 03:45 PM
I think we should do the same as M'well. Get a forward in with pace who can get in behind defences.

HibeesLA
14-07-2014, 03:50 PM
Just spoke to a relative of Farid literally 2mins ago. She wouldn't tell me if he's signed with Hibs, but she did say he's signed with a club and he would be released/unveiled tomorrow. Thats all she'd tell me:wink: She is friends with Cifti aswell, told her to tell him to get to us :thumbsup:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20140714/striker-el-alagui-joins-hibernian_2262950_3995326 - official

14-07-2014, 03:53 PM
Just spoke to a relative of Farid literally 2mins ago. She wouldn't tell me if he's signed with Hibs, but she did say he's signed with a club and he would be released/unveiled tomorrow. Thats all she'd tell me:wink: She is friends with Cifti aswell, told her to tell him to get to us :thumbsup:

You're ITK mate :thumbsup::greengrin

14-07-2014, 03:56 PM
You're ITK mate :thumbsup::greengrin

OMG YAAAAAAY! Come to mines to celebrate! :greengrin

14-07-2014, 03:56 PM
I would imagine it broke down when TB was sacked!!

:agree: would think so. Just wanted a bite from the doom mongers:greengrin

14-07-2014, 04:16 PM
Interesting - Dundee Utd sign polish centre back Jaroslaw Fojut on a 2-year-deal.

14-07-2014, 04:30 PM

14-07-2014, 05:43 PM

He says he had fully agreed and accepted an offer from us which then didn't happen, I'd guess due to TB getting sacked.

14-07-2014, 07:30 PM

I'm sure he will be replacing Davie Henderson who has gone to Aston Villa, pity as he was the best physio we have had in a long time.

One in, one out.

14-07-2014, 07:32 PM
I'm sure he will be replacing Davie Henderson who has gone to Aston Villa, pity as he was the best physio we have had in a long time.

One in, one out.
Thanks didn't know Davie had moved on

14-07-2014, 08:08 PM
Any more word on the boy Coulson who played 2nd half on Saturday

GoldenEagle
14-07-2014, 08:13 PM
Interesting - Dundee Utd sign polish centre back Jaroslaw Fojut on a 2-year-deal.

Even more interesting is that his agent is PC Colin Murder (Murdoch)

14-07-2014, 08:16 PM
Even more interesting is that his agent is PC Colin Murder (Murdoch)

My least favourite CH of all time - no contest !

14-07-2014, 09:06 PM
Just seen my son's Facebook, saying Boozy away to Dumbarton. Anyone confirm this ?

14-07-2014, 09:07 PM
Just seen my son's Facebook, saying Boozy away to Dumbarton. Anyone confirm this ?

Yes. About a week ago.

14-07-2014, 09:07 PM

That was a couple weeks back mate. It's true though!

Unless this is a wind up and I've bitten! Won't be the first time :D

SloopJB
14-07-2014, 09:09 PM

One in, one out.
One of the, if not the, best qualified in the Scottish game.

14-07-2014, 09:11 PM
Cheers lads, that one obviously passed me by.

14-07-2014, 11:22 PM
Archer rumours seems like a load of pish..Does anyone know what goalkeeper we are actually after? Stubbs said they had over 10 to look at last week..possibly why it's taking so long?

14-07-2014, 11:36 PM
Archer rumours seems like a load of pish..Does anyone know what goalkeeper we are actually after? Stubbs said they had over 10 to look at last week..possibly why it's taking so long?
No idea why we haven't had goalkeeper on trial ,so he iether knows someone that he wants and is already aware of what they can do and is in negotiations with them or he is still checking those on list out He has said Alan Combes could be registered to play but he is at present coaching the young keepers so maybe that's an option he wants to think about as well .But tou would think he would want an experienced goalkeeper in by end of next week at latest if he isn't going to start with Coombes .

14-07-2014, 11:41 PM
We think we're in a bad way - Blackpool only have eight players for their first team!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28194124

14-07-2014, 11:46 PM
Any more word on the boy Coulson who played 2nd half on Saturday

Just read an interview in which Stubbs said he would decide whether to offer him a contract after the Dunfermline game

macd123
15-07-2014, 03:32 AM
We think we're in a bad way - Blackpool only have eight players for their first team!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/28194124

Yes imagine if you supported blackpool AND hibs. That would be really rubbish wouldn't it?

Sweet Left Peg
15-07-2014, 03:36 AM
Marton Fulop , ex Sunderland keeper .
Rumours saying were interested in him .

Marton? You must be Havaiana laugh, mate..... it's his brother we're after, Filipe!!

15-07-2014, 05:25 AM
Yes imagine if you supported blackpool AND hibs. That would be really rubbish wouldn't it?

I'm saying nowt!!!!

calamitus
15-07-2014, 06:06 AM
Marton? You must be Havaiana laugh, mate..... it's his brother we're after, Filipe!!

I think I saw him beside the hotel pool when I was on holiday.:)

15-07-2014, 10:03 AM

I don't want divers at the club and I've heard he has had problems staying on his feet.

15-07-2014, 10:28 AM
I'm saying nowt!!!!

You have always been daft. :wink:

15-07-2014, 01:11 PM
Fleetwood are the top team down there

15-07-2014, 03:52 PM
Given that Andy Holden and Alan Combe both work for the club and in Andy's case, has done for weeks now, I wonder what prevents Hibs from announcing it?

15-07-2014, 04:51 PM
You have always been daft. :wink:

:doh::panic::na na:

15-07-2014, 04:53 PM
Fleetwood are the top team down there

True The Cods will be top dogs on the Fylde coast in two years. Unbelievable to think 4 seasons ago Blackpool were in the Premier League and Fleetwood in the Conference North.

15-07-2014, 04:57 PM
True The Cods will be top dogs on the Fylde coast in two years. Unbelievable to think 4 seasons ago Blackpool were in the Premier League and Fleetwood in the Conference North.

There's a good chance Blackpool will be relegated this coming season. :agree:

15-07-2014, 05:10 PM
There's a good chance Blackpool will be relegated this coming season. :agree:

More than a chance mate, I would say a certainty

Flanny boy
15-07-2014, 06:02 PM
Afc fylde are the up and comming team in this area
mark my words boys mark my words :agree:

15-07-2014, 11:04 PM
Told today that killi have signed josh Mcgennis and a guy from bury. Also offered a first team deal to ex hibs youngster Euan Smith who's just been released and impressed in friendlies scoring a couple to boot.

15-07-2014, 11:26 PM
Told today that killi have signed josh Mcgennis and a guy from bury. Also offered a first team deal to ex hibs youngster Euan Smith who's just been released and impressed in friendlies scoring a couple to boot.

Nobody there that we would want thankfully.
Hopefully see some movement over the next couple of days.

nribs
16-07-2014, 12:27 AM

Not even the guy from Bury?

16-07-2014, 12:43 AM
Not even the guy from Bury?

Definitely not.
:-)

16-07-2014, 07:27 AM

Have you even seen the guy from bury :wink:. Na I would liked to have seen us keep Smith as seen him lots for the 20s and a big powerful athletic guy that scores goals but good luck to him.

16-07-2014, 07:45 AM
Apologies if covered elsewhere, but David Gray was listed as a trialist last night as well as at Berwick on Saturday.
This was also noted on the official Pars teamsheet.

Hibs have already announced his signing. Anyone any ideas? Just a registration thing?

16-07-2014, 08:36 AM
Apologies if covered elsewhere, but David Gray was listed as a trialist last night as well as at Berwick on Saturday.

Hibs have already announced his signing. Anyone any ideas? Just a registration thing?

Has to be that HH. Cannae think of any other reason why..

nribs
16-07-2014, 09:17 AM

Just a registration thing its the Glasgow trades.

16-07-2014, 05:44 PM
Really hope we get a couple this week to start shaping our squad. Couple of exciting creative players please! Centre half wouldn't go a miss either

16-07-2014, 05:45 PM
@Kenny_Millar:They're working away. Would expect a few more trialists. News of one in the paper tomorrow.

Doesn't yet say who.. Pretty sure someone will find out before it's published in the sun tomorrow

nribs
16-07-2014, 05:46 PM
@Kenny_Millar tweeting a new trialist will be announced tomorrow

16-07-2014, 05:51 PM
@Kenny_Millar tweeting a new trialist will be announced tomorrow

David Clarkson I'd presume? Or even possibly a goalkeeper

16-07-2014, 06:19 PM
@Kenny_Millar:They're working away. Would expect a few more trialists. News of one in the paper tomorrow.

Doesn't yet say who.. Pretty sure someone will find out before it's published in the sun tomorrow
Stubbs has made it clear he will bring in a couple of goalkeepers to look at over next few days and one may play at weekend so likely to be someone for the position but no idea who

16-07-2014, 07:11 PM
Ian turner ?

Virginia Hibs
16-07-2014, 07:18 PM
Claros signs for Sporting Kansas City. Not Scottish I know but a transfer that has vague Hibs connections!

16-07-2014, 07:22 PM
Claros signs for Sporting Kansas City. Not Scottish I know but a transfer that has vague Hibs connections!

Good luck to him, great guy.

16-07-2014, 07:24 PM

One of my favourite Hibs players of the last decade, loved his spirit and a cracking midfielder.

Bronson
16-07-2014, 08:25 PM

I feel disappointed reading that despite never being under any illusions we were going to sign him. Miss him big time at ER, good luck to him:aok:

16-07-2014, 08:33 PM

Feel a bit gutted even though we never really had a chance. Great move for him and I really wish him all the best.

16-07-2014, 08:35 PM

Best midfielder at ER since Russell Latapy in my humble opinion.

16-07-2014, 08:38 PM

Scott Brown far better IMHO

16-07-2014, 08:42 PM
David Clarkson I'd presume? Or even possibly a goalkeeper

Why does his name keep cropping up, and i hope it isn't him that is the trialist.

16-07-2014, 08:43 PM
Scott Brown far better IMHO

Absolutely would think Thomson first time round also.

16-07-2014, 08:47 PM
Good luck to the wee fella, would love to see him play in England one day for a premiership team. He would have fitted right into Stubbsy's style of play perfectly this season and if we still had fenlon I think we would have had a good chance of bringing him back

Ross89
16-07-2014, 08:53 PM
Hibeesmad - Have I picked you up correctly sir?

Are you seriously talking about Claros playing for an English Premiershio team ?

I mean, seriously ?!?!?!?!

If so, wow!!!!!

nribs
16-07-2014, 08:54 PM
Have I picked you up correctly sir?

Are you seriously talking about Claros playing for an English Premiershio team ?

If so, wow!!!!!
Have you seen some of the guff that have played premiership football

Feed McGraw
16-07-2014, 08:55 PM
Scott Brown far better IMHO Agreed, Boozy better too IMHO, probably some more .

16-07-2014, 08:57 PM
Have I picked you up correctly sir?

If so, wow!!!!!

He could. Don't buy into the EPL best league in the world bollocks.

Do you really think Claros is worse than all other midfielders in the English prem? There are some very average midfielders down there.

16-07-2014, 08:57 PM
Hibeesmad - Have I picked you up correctly sir?

If so, wow!!!!!

How many premiership footballers have played in the World Cup? He would stroll into teams such as Burnley even if he wasn't a regular

16-07-2014, 08:58 PM
He would be a regular in nearly every English championship team

Leitherhibs
16-07-2014, 09:05 PM
Would be really disappointed if Clarkson was the player on trial, guys career has been on a downward spiral for a few years now and rovers supporting mate down there really doesnt rate him. Hoping Stubbs has better contacts who can come up with more imaginative trialists. Think we need a striker with real pace as well, someone who can get in behind the back four and isnt danny haynes.

As for Iain Turner, again a no. Seen him only a handful of times over the years and hes been below average at best.

Apologies for the negativity folks, just giving an opinion. I'm desperate for new signings to get them in and up to fitness before the season starts but they need to have quality.

Ross89
16-07-2014, 09:06 PM
How many premiership footballers have played in the World Cup? He would stroll into teams such as Burnley even if he wasn't a regular

Let's agree to disagree then - I don't think Claros is good enough to play in the English Premier League - nowhere near IMHO!

Good luck to him in the states though.

Auckland Hibs
16-07-2014, 09:56 PM
Would be really disappointed if Clarkson was the player on trial, guys career has been on a downward spiral for a few years now and rovers supporting mate down there really doesnt rate him. Hoping Stubbs has better contacts who can come up with more imaginative trialists. Think we need a striker with real pace as well, someone who can get in behind the back four and isnt danny haynes.

As for Iain Turner, again a no. Seen him only a handful of times over the years and hes been below average at best.

Apologies for the negativity folks, just giving an opinion. I'm desperate for new signings to get them in and up to fitness before the season starts but they need to have quality.

Read a few of the forums for both Bristol teams on Clarkson when I heard he could be a possibility - seemed to be a bit of a mixed bag on his performances.

Most of the comments suggested he was a trier who always gave 100% for the jersey but lacked quality and had pretty much zero pace.

Other comments suggested that due to the lack of service he suffered (as most strikers do) and his own performances reflected pretty much the overall team performance.

As above, not trying to be negative - on paper Clarkson would be a half decent signing IMO.

TheFamous1875
16-07-2014, 10:47 PM
Read a few of the forums for both Bristol teams on Clarkson when I heard he could be a possibility - seemed to be a bit of a mixed bag on his performances.

Most of the comments suggested he was a trier who always gave 100% for the jersey but lacked quality and had pretty much zero pace.

Other comments suggested that due to the lack of service he suffered (as most strikers do) and his own performances reflected pretty much the overall team performance.

As above, not trying to be negative - on paper Clarkson would be a half decent signing IMO.

Maybe Stubbs is planning on playing a system which provides service to this type of player. Him, alongside El-Alagui - it may be a great balancing act. Stubbs has stated that he wants the right players in, not just anyone. Maybe this guy's exactly what we're looking for and exactly what Motherwell aren't looking for.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

JJP
16-07-2014, 10:56 PM
Kenny Millar tweeting to say Clarkson is not a trialist and Stubbs told him there is nothing in the Clarkson to Hibs rumours.

16-07-2014, 11:20 PM
Kenny Millar tweeting to say Clarkson is not a trialist and Stubbs told him there is nothing in the Clarkson to Hibs rumours.

:-)

16-07-2014, 11:51 PM

Thank god for that

17-07-2014, 06:01 AM

Anyone got a copy of the Sun yet?

How is the trailist?

17-07-2014, 06:04 AM
Anyone got a copy of the Sun yet?

How is the trailist?

Daily express saying it's antoine gounet.

Dunno if the sun are saying the same.

17-07-2014, 06:13 AM
Daily express saying it's antoine gounet.

Dunno if the sun are saying the same.

Gounet no dae that...

Goalie - failed to get a regular game at Brentford. Been training with Fulham.

17-07-2014, 06:29 AM

He would be lucky to make the top 10 since Latapy for me.

Thank god there's no truth in the Clarkson stuff, he is a poor player. We need pace all over the team. It's difficult not to be disappointed with the lack of progress so far. The clock is ticking

17-07-2014, 07:08 AM

So does that mean that's BMD was talking ***** about him being on trial........cannae take the plaudits about Farid and no stick for talking ***** with Clarkson pal :greengrin

Incidentally if you want to know Clarkson is going in with another Premiership team to try win a deal

17-07-2014, 07:10 AM
I hope we have more targets in mind and not just trialists. No harm in looking at a few trialists but don't want all our signings to be based on a couple of good days pre-season training.

17-07-2014, 07:30 AM
I hope we have more targets in mind and not just trialists. No harm in looking at a few trialists but don't want all our signings to be based on a couple of good days pre-season training.

Likewise. Marsella's list must contain a few players that we know would enhance our team and Stubbs will know enough about some players that negates the need for a trial. Fair enough checking their fitness but we have three weeks to get that right.

I'm starting to wonder about this alleged "quality" we are signing. With likely sales of a minimum 7k season tickets and 1-2k more easily attained if the club proactively encourage sales with signings, we are still in a position to offer a good enough wage to get a decent quality player in. Other clubs have done it on far less budget. Yes, the championship might not suit all but El Alagui has already signed for us rather than 2 SPL clubs when the right package is offered.

This keeper will surely be set for a back up role and I don't see the sense in the Coulson trial when we signed Gray. If we were bringing in 10 then fair enough having a back up or two for some positions but Forster will cover at RB if pushed as it's far more important to address other positions our first choices are pony.

3 weeks in Stubbsy, plenty work to do.

17-07-2014, 09:59 AM

As with all seasons, we'll have offered quality a deal, quality will still be wiping the tears of laughter away and we're now on trialists.

Last week, we apparently had three offers made according to the managers interview. One has signed, from this I presume the others passed.

It's currently looking more and more like Mogga's first summer when we said 'kids plus some Middlesbrough reserve? why couldn't we have gotten proven quality like Gus Uhlenbeek?'

Let's hope lightening is striking twice.

17-07-2014, 10:03 AM
As with all seasons, we'll have offered quality a deal, quality will still be wiping the tears of laughter away and we're now on trialists.

Last week, we apparently had three offers made according to the managers interview. One has signed, from this I presume the others passed.

It's currently looking more and more like Mogga's first summer when we said 'kids plus some Middlesbrough reserve? why couldn't we have gotten proven quality like Gus Uhlenbeek?'

Let's hope lightening is striking twice.

We still have Stubbs' Everton connections to fall back on. If it goes to the wire, as it often does, I can see us getting some loan signings in from his old club.

17-07-2014, 10:03 AM
I know our season starts early up here but I'm more than happy for the management team to take their time and make sure the players we get in are of a decent quality rather than just signing anyone for the sake of it, the decisions must be correct an not rushed, we still have 6 weeks of the window to go.e

17-07-2014, 10:07 AM
I know our season starts early up here but I'm more than happy for the management team to take their time and make sure the players we get in are of a decent quality rather than just signing anyone for the sake of it, the decisions must be correct an not rushed, we still have 6 weeks of the window to go.e

How do you square that with other clubs not waiting to sign quality, but doing it now, JC?

17-07-2014, 10:11 AM

Why can't decent quality be signed now, though? We've waited for signings most other years and are left with loans and rubbish on deadline day. The 'we want to make sure we get quality' is the line that the club has used for years.

Lets hope they mean it this time, but now we're bringing in trialists, it's looking like the 'quality players' has told us to bolt.

17-07-2014, 10:11 AM
How do you square that with other clubs not waiting to sign quality, but doing it now, JC?

I can only presume it's either to do with Stubbs being brought in a couple of weeks late so he's on catch up, or he's very fussy and only wants a certain style/type of player at the club, whatever we must allow him time to get it right.

17-07-2014, 10:14 AM
Why can't decent quality be signed now, though? We've waited for signings most other years and are left with loans and rubbish on deadline day. The 'we want to make sure we get quality' is the line that the club has used for years.

Lets hope they mean it this time, but now we're bringing in trialists, it's looking like the 'quality players' has told us to bolt.

There must be dozens upon dozens of players out of contract from last season, trialist just means we're having a look at them to make sure they are of the right character for the club and that they can also fit in with squad psyche, no point bringing in someone if they are half decent but a complete bellend and doesn't get on with anyone.

17-07-2014, 10:17 AM

What a sensible post !!
Doubt if it will go down well with certain posters but for what its worth I think you say it all

:greengrin:wink:

17-07-2014, 10:23 AM
Folk seem to be getting worked up that we're now getting trialists in. Have we not had them in for the past two/three weeks anyway?

Weststandwanab
17-07-2014, 10:23 AM
What a sensible post !!
Doubt if it will go down well with certain posters but for what its worth I think you say it all

I agree a very sensible post.

17-07-2014, 10:45 AM

Completely agree. Stubbs main market of knowledge will be u21 which will mean EPL teams taking the time to see who comes in or out of their club then deciding who can go or not so it is only natural that we may get some decent players in nearer the end of the window. If that is the case and it makes us better in the long run then good. He hasnt been in the job long and is also trying to develop a culture at the club as well as a playing style so will have alot on his plate however does need a degree of patience also.

GlasgowHibee
17-07-2014, 11:37 AM
Yams signed Bauben.

17-07-2014, 12:18 PM
Yams signed Bauben.

The only plus point of the Summer so far is the averageness of the Yams signings. They are there for the taking if we get our a**e in gear.

17-07-2014, 01:07 PM
Stubbs 'on verge' of next quality signing.

No further details given by tight arse source at club.

17-07-2014, 01:09 PM

Gordy M
17-07-2014, 01:18 PM

Good stuff mate, any idea what position the player would fill? cheers

TheFamous1875
17-07-2014, 01:21 PM

I thought Petrie had nothing to do with recruitment of players?

17-07-2014, 01:24 PM
The only plus point of the Summer so far is the averageness of the Yams signings. They are there for the taking if we get our a**e in gear.

Are their average signings better or worse than our average signings :confused:

17-07-2014, 01:43 PM
Good stuff mate, any idea what position the player would fill? cheers

That's covered by the 'no further details' bit :wink:

Gordy M
17-07-2014, 01:47 PM
That's covered by the 'no further details' bit :wink:
:greengrin haha fair enough, hopefully new signing will be announced soon then.

17-07-2014, 01:58 PM

This is the frustrating bit, no names getting leaked by the ITK sources. They must have really clamped down on this with the staff.

17-07-2014, 01:59 PM
This is the frustrating bit, no names getting leaked by the ITK sources. They must have really clamped down on this with the staff.

Hopefully.

GlasgowHibee
17-07-2014, 02:02 PM

THink you're maybe being a bit too harsh there, Gomis and Bauben will be very good signings if they recapture the form from their United days.

Not convinced about Alexander/Keatings though :agree:

17-07-2014, 02:04 PM
Completely agree. Stubbs main market of knowledge will be u21 which will mean EPL teams taking the time to see who comes in or out of their club then deciding who can go or not so it is only natural that we may get some decent players in nearer the end of the window. If that is the case and it makes us better in the long run then good. He hasnt been in the job long and is also trying to develop a culture at the club as well as a playing style so will have alot on his plate however does need a degree of patience also.

Everything you say is correct but the longer it takes the harder it's going to be this season. IMO we're going to be starting the season behind our rivals in what's going to be an absolute cut throat league. While I'm not saying we should rush into any panic signings we can't wait till the end of the window either. A poor start to the league will have the fans on the players backs and that's the last thing we need.

17-07-2014, 02:47 PM
What a sensible post !!

I second that.

17-07-2014, 02:48 PM
Not before time.

Dave-O
17-07-2014, 02:58 PM
Hopefully.

Not before time.

Why? it's all part of the fun in the close season, even though 99.99% is tom kite it's still good to hear the wee snippets from the ITK peeps. :aok:

17-07-2014, 03:21 PM
Why?

Because what happens within the club should stay within the club unless the club want it publicised.

Eg

For certain trialists, not all, it might be prudent that their presence at HFC is kept under wraps, and not become a tug of war ego thrash as to who reveals their identity to the all and sundry.

Hibs are more important than your "fun".

Dave-O
17-07-2014, 03:40 PM
Because what happens within the club should stay within the club unless the club want it publicised.

Eg

For certain trialists, not all, it might be prudent that their presence at HFC is kept under wraps, and not become a tug of war ego thrash as to who reveals their identity to the all and sundry.

Dearie me!!!......lighten up for gods sake. :greengrin

17-07-2014, 03:41 PM
Leigertwood is a rumour doing the rounds on that social media that they have now.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mikele_Leigertwood

17-07-2014, 03:45 PM
Dearie me!!!......lighten up for gods sake. :greengrin

OK. You think it's cool for everyone to play yakkity yak with Hibs business but I can tell you, from a perfectly enlightened upword position, that what I said is the truth.

Good luck with your "fun".

17-07-2014, 03:46 PM

Eg

Agree 100%

17-07-2014, 03:49 PM
Agree 100%

Thanks, its really a "no-brainer".

17-07-2014, 04:04 PM
Leigertwood is a rumour doing the rounds on that social media that they have now.

Pearce wants him at Forest.

17-07-2014, 04:09 PM

We didn't rush last year either and we won one game in seven matches by Aug 31st including a European humiliation to Malmo.

Imo we can't afford another slow start in this league so we need to get our finger out and fill the glaring gaps in our first team.

17-07-2014, 04:09 PM
Leigertwood is a rumour doing the rounds on that social media that they have now. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mikele_Leigertwood

Cheers Speeders.

Would be a very good signing IMHO but we may struggle if other teams are in for him.

17-07-2014, 04:24 PM
Cheers Speeders.

Would be a very good signing IMHO but we may struggle if other teams are in for him.

:agree: Probably to good for us. Plus wages might be an issue.

17-07-2014, 04:34 PM
:agree: Probably to good for us. Plus wages might be an issue.

Quality player but yur prob right bout wages etc. he's still only 31 and if others are in for him we may find it difficult.

In saying that it's a Social media rumour??

17-07-2014, 04:37 PM
Pearce wants him at Forest.

How do you know and find out all these things, is your work football related.?

17-07-2014, 04:42 PM

Absolute nonsense as usual.

17-07-2014, 04:42 PM
How do you know and find out all these things, is your work football related.?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2688089/Jobi-McAnuff-Mikele-Leigertwood-Nottingham-Forests-radar.html

17-07-2014, 04:44 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2688089/Jobi-McAnuff-Mikele-Leigertwood-Nottingham-Forests-radar.html

Cheers but that really didn't answer my question and I'm a right nosey cant. :greengrin

17-07-2014, 04:48 PM
Cheers but that really didn't answer my question and I'm a right nosey cant. :greengrin

My job isn't football related, I wish it was though :greengrin

17-07-2014, 05:09 PM
My job isn't football related, I wish it was though :greengrin

If you work then how are you on here all the time??

17-07-2014, 05:22 PM
If you work then how are you on here all the time??

Magic :wink:

17-07-2014, 05:40 PM
Magic :wink:

Not for us though.
At least you get to learn stuff from your countless internet surfing like what Taff means!!

BMD - sponsored by Boots Meal Deal.

17-07-2014, 06:06 PM
OK. You think it's cool for everyone to play yakkity yak with Hibs business but I can tell you, from a perfectly enlightened upword position, that what I said is the truth.

Good luck with your "fun".

17-07-2014, 07:43 PM
We didn't rush last year either and we won one game in seven matches by Aug 31st including a European humiliation to Malmo.

Imo we can't afford another slow start in this league so we need to get our finger out and fill the glaring gaps in our first team.

We didn't rush because we had a manager in place from the season before and he'd already earmarked the players he wanted, unfortunately certain players he chose turned out to be pretty naff, add to that injuries to key players early on.

We've had a play off with relegation, plus the sacking of another manager, then an appointment of a new manager, so any players marked by Butcher to come in had to be ripped up and started again. We are 2-3 weeks behind everyone else and I am one who doesn't want us to buy just for the sake of it, it's been stated they want quality instead of quantity, this will take longer to achieve.

17-07-2014, 07:54 PM
I am one who doesn't want us to buy just for the sake of it, it's been stated they want quality instead of quantity, this will take longer to achieve.

My sentiments exactly. I wont be buying a season ticket for the sake of it and instead will wait for these "quality" signings to entice me into it.

Proactive approach from Hibs to sell tickets. Speculate to accumulate rather than the tried and failed approach of getting money in early doors and doing F all with it until the window is about to close. There will be a few thousand more waiting for a reason to buy. "you're a hibby" or "support your club" aren't good enough reasons based on our clubs recent achievements

17-07-2014, 07:57 PM
Any rumours on any goalys? :dunno:

Ken how the season is fast approaching and we have ehmmm naebody in goals :dunno:

17-07-2014, 08:02 PM
Any rumours on any goalys? :dunno:

Ken how the season is fast approaching and we have ehmmm naebody in goals :dunno:

We won't sign a goalie until the 31st of august :rolleyes:

17-07-2014, 08:04 PM
Not for us though.
At least you get to learn stuff from your countless internet surfing like what Taff means!!

BMD - sponsored by Boots Meal Deal.

Horrendous patter from you like :faf:

17-07-2014, 09:05 PM
My sentiments exactly. I wont be buying a season ticket for the sake of it and instead will wait for these "quality" signings to entice me into it.

Proactive approach from Hibs to sell tickets. Speculate to accumulate rather than the tried and failed approach of getting money in early doors and doing F all with it until the window is about to close. There will be a few thousand more waiting for a reason to buy. "you're a hibby" or "support your club" aren't good enough reasons based on our clubs recent achievements

" Speculate to Accumulate ". I think you will find that has been the failed approach when applied in Scottish Football.

Failed and disasterously so at Motherwell and Dundee.

17-07-2014, 09:55 PM
" Speculate to Accumulate ". I think you will find that has been the failed approach when applied in Scottish Football.

Think about it. Raising the bar for a couple of higher level signings would see a big uptake in ST sales. I'm not talking about signing caniggia or john spencer with 4000 home fans.

17-07-2014, 11:16 PM
Think about it. Raising the bar for a couple of higher level signings would see a big uptake in ST sales. I'm not talking about signing caniggia or john spencer with 4000 home fans.

Maybe, its just the expression, " speculate to accumulate " makes me shudder.

We'll get there, but it will be because of a decent manager , a competent CEO, and the support of the fans.

17-07-2014, 11:34 PM

Go with 10 very average/poor players at £1000 pw or get in 4 quality ones at £2000 pw, you get what you pay for, that's speculating. Why do you think we've never signed a decent player in the past 4-5 years, because we've scrimped on the wages and lost out to the likes of Motherwell, Kilmarnock, St Johnstone, Aberdeen etc.

TheFamous1875
18-07-2014, 01:06 AM
We've already 'speculated to accumulate' four times in the last year with the signings of James' Collins, Terry Butcher & co, Leann Dempster & co and now Alan Stubbs & co.

What really matters is worthwhile investment; the first two of these investments were unmitigated disasters. Ill-researched and completely misguided.

The best thing that's happened so far is the appointment of Leann Dempster. She clearly knows what she's doing from a business point of view, which is simply to take care of the footballing side as well. She has realised what we all knew apart from Rod and has researched and made a careful and considered decision in appointing an up and coming manager: not just appeasing fans, and not just taking the cheap option either.

With that simple approach being the new zeitgeist at the top of Hibs, I see no reason why we can't get a bit more quality in this season and be prepared as best we can for the season ahead. I also think that the January transfer market will be important this year (as it should be every year).

We're starting from ground zero: this year seems paramount, but really it's the next five years which matter most. The last time we were relegated we had to wait until February to find Sauzee, and we all know what a positive effect he had on our club over those three years.

My point is that although it's frustrating just now (and believe me it is) we have got to try and rise above it and keep faith and look at the larger picture. We all want to know who's coming in and who's going out and what to see where the club's ambition stops, but I think we're seeing genuine changes, positive ones that are sustainable and long lasting in the new focus on fitness, conditioning, culture, diet and youth development.

This Is just the beginning and I'm glad that these pieces are being out in place first as we can now expect fitness, positivity, organisation and motivation as the bare minimum.

Any 'good' players we get from now on will have no excuses in not performing to the standards expected as we already have the basics covered to enable them to do their job as best they can.

TheFamous1875
18-07-2014, 01:06 AM
Go with 10 very average/poor players at £1000 pw or get in 4 quality ones at £2000 pw, you get what you pay for, that's speculating. Why do you think we've never signed a decent player in the past 4-5 years, because we've scrimped on the wages and lost out to the likes of Motherwell, Kilmarnock, St Johnstone, Aberdeen etc.

18-07-2014, 06:36 AM
We've already 'speculated to accumulate' four times in the last year with the signings of James' Collins, Terry Butcher & co, Leann Dempster & co and now Alan Stubbs & co.

What really matters is worthwhile investment; the first two of these investments were unmitigated disasters. Ill-researched and completely misguided.

The best thing that's happened so far is the appointment of Leann Dempster. She clearly knows what she's doing from a business point of view, which is simply to take care of the footballing side as well. She has realised what we all knew apart from Rod and has researched and made a careful and considered decision in appointing an up and coming manager: not just appeasing fans, and not just taking the cheap option either.

With that simple approach being the new zeitgeist at the top of Hibs, I see no reason why we can't get a bit more quality in this season and be prepared as best we can for the season ahead. I also think that the January transfer market will be important this year (as it should be every year).

We're starting from ground zero: this year seems paramount, but really it's the next five years which matter most. The last time we were relegated we had to wait until February to find Sauzee, and we all know what a positive effect he had on our club over those three years.

My point is that although it's frustrating just now (and believe me it is) we have got to try and rise above it and keep faith and look at the larger picture. We all want to know who's coming in and who's going out and what to see where the club's ambition stops, but I think we're seeing genuine changes, positive ones that are sustainable and long lasting in the new focus on fitness, conditioning, culture, diet and youth development.

This Is just the beginning and I'm glad that these pieces are being out in place first as we can now expect fitness, positivity, organisation and motivation as the bare minimum.

Any 'good' players we get from now on will have no excuses in not performing to the standards expected as we already have the basics covered to enable them to do their job as best they can.

Far to sensible a post!

18-07-2014, 07:47 AM
We will have to hope that the new manager can make a silk purse out of a sows ear and have the team playing football as well, not much to ask is there ?.

18-07-2014, 07:48 AM

That's not speculating that's just investing your existing budget in a different manner.

Speculating would be buying 10 players at £2000 pw and hoping that the improved performances increases your income sufficiently to cover the increased budget.

I wouldn't have trusted any of our last few managers to bring us sufficient success with an increased budget. Now if Stubbs walks the walk, the infrastructure is in place to allow us to do so, but until he has proven not to be another dud, it's sensible to trade within our current budget.

Tynie01011973
18-07-2014, 07:54 AM

Cracking post for your 1,000th

gegs70
18-07-2014, 11:03 AM
Read on bbc gossip column that Stubbs is happy to go into season with a smaller squad of players. does that mean he won't be adding much more to the squad or he will strengthen a little later in the month?

18-07-2014, 11:05 AM
It's what he's said all along - that he's going to be using a smaller squad than previous years.

Less quantity - more quality.

18-07-2014, 11:09 AM
;4100068']It's what he's said all along - that he's going to be using a smaller squad than previous years.

LD did say at the start of her reign that we would be operating with a smaller squad than previous years, a lot of the youth and U 21 that come in might slip through the radar due to their age etc, it's the senior players we have to add to now, Stubbs may be happy that certain youngsters are stepping up to the plate and there's no real panic to get in the senior ones we need.

gegs70
18-07-2014, 11:09 AM
;4100068']It's what he's said all along - that he's going to be using a smaller squad than previous years.

Hoevilly he is still to bring in a few more with quality though?

Hfc_Since1875
18-07-2014, 11:11 AM

Thats all well and good...... but we havent signed the quality YET

Yes I am happy with the two signings we have but we allowed 14 players to leave (albeit from a large squad) and have signed two

IMO we still need 3 or 4 players of significantly improved quality to compensate for the averageness of the squad at the present moment

18-07-2014, 11:15 AM

Yes I am happy with the two signings we have but we allowed 14 players to leave (albeit from a large squad) and have signed two

IMO we still need 3 or 4 players of significantly improved quality to compensate for the averageness of the squad at the present moment

They're working on it.

If it takes them a bit longer to find the right players then I'm happy for them to do that. Rather than diving in and signing a James Collins or a Vine.

I'd say Farid El alagooooey is a quality signing for this league? (On paper at least) But I'll be reserving judgement on them and any other signings until the crunch starts!

gegs70
18-07-2014, 11:17 AM
We also haven't really played any decent teams in a friendly yet....Dunfermline in the league below us that's it....and we're building up to playing Dundee United at home? Also only 1 friendly at home?

gegs70
18-07-2014, 11:20 AM
I do however like the backroom team with sport scientists and strength coach looks more profesional!

18-07-2014, 03:30 PM
Noticed hearts have signed another goalie, some boy from the rangers.

18-07-2014, 03:54 PM
Serious lack of rumours on this thread, I will start one.......4 players have knocked us back as didn't want to play in the championship.

18-07-2014, 03:58 PM
Serious lack of rumours on this thread, I will start one.......4 players have knocked us back as didn't want to play in the championship.

Any idea who?

18-07-2014, 04:05 PM

Well why not tell us who they are and at least if would let us know the standard Stubbs is trying to get !!!

happiehibbie
18-07-2014, 04:09 PM

How can you say we have not signed quality the have only played about 90 mins in friendlies come on give them a chance

Am worried am turning into a happy clapper

18-07-2014, 04:12 PM
Noticed hearts have signed another goalie, some boy from the rangers.

He is not from the Rangers, he was unattached and had played for Forfar and Cowdenbeath on loan. Hasn't played for any first team for some time andis 25. Not the standard of player you want surely?

18-07-2014, 04:16 PM
He is not from the Rangers, he was unattached and had played for Forfar and Cowdenbeath on loan. Hasn't played for any first team for some time andis 25. Not the standard of player you want surely?

Never said it was.

I'm still pissed off at our lack of signings though, don't buy this claim we're waiting on quality. I think we've missed out on our targets and are now really struggling.

18-07-2014, 04:19 PM
Never said it was.

I'm still pissed off at our lack of signings though, don't buy this claim we're waiting on quality. I think we've missed out on our targets and are now really struggling.

Maybe not missed out but awaiting agreement and all is not dead. Look how long Prince Bauban took to finalise at Hearts, maybe looking at other offers. Agents just doing their jobs exploring all opportunities for their players

Gordy M
18-07-2014, 04:32 PM
Do you think there is a chance that stubbs, having assessed the squad, has decided that the players already here are good enough? Obv we will sign a keeper but does he think that he cannot get better quality in than we already have in the majority of positions? I know we had a disasterous end to the season but the vast majority of our players are prob classed as premiership quality? Think this is maybe why we have a lack of new players?

18-07-2014, 04:39 PM
Do you think there is a chance that stubbs, having assessed the squad, has decided that the players already here are good enough? Obv we will sign a keeper but does he think that he cannot get better quality in than we already have in the majority of positions? I know we had a disasterous end to the season but the vast majority of our players are prob classed as premiership quality? Think this is maybe why we have a lack of new players?

Come off it, we know they aren't up to it. Another season of Nelson, Stevenson, Craig, Robertson and Heffernan's honest plodding augmented by youthful potential and a couple of new signings doesn't stir the blood.

Where's the creativity, the pace, the width and solid defence? Stubbs must see this, surely.

Dave-O
18-07-2014, 04:40 PM

Possibly, but it's a risk, I cant see us selling any more season tickets on the strength of this squad.

18-07-2014, 04:47 PM

Is your source for this rumour BMD or Agent Scotland. :greengrin

18-07-2014, 04:49 PM
Come off it, we know they aren't up to it. Another season of Nelson, Stevenson, Craig, Robertson and Heffernan's honest plodding augmented by youthful potential and a couple of new signings doesn't stir the blood.

Where's the creativity, the pace, the width and solid defence? Stubbs must see this, surely.

Robertson is a very good player. Unfair you have put him in that list.

18-07-2014, 04:50 PM

I really hope not or Ian Murray will be rubbing his hands at a promotion place.

I won't be shy.

Get your finger out Hibs, what a f***ing mess we are in, the money is there.

Stuarty27
18-07-2014, 04:54 PM
This is really worrying...

We need half a dozen player to be able to compete !

I want a reason to re new my season ticket, and I think there is loads like me as well, I just can't part with the best part of a grand to endure another season with Nelson & Craig and co

Times running out

mentalhibee
18-07-2014, 04:55 PM
Robertson is a very good player. Unfair you have put him in that list.

Watch how many times a game he gives away possession. Gives 100% but he's actually pretty gash! We can't rely on the players who got us relegated.

GlenrothesHibee
18-07-2014, 04:57 PM
Relax. Adu, McFadden and Bramble are done deals

Gordy M
18-07-2014, 05:00 PM

Im not saying they are good enough, im saying that do you think stubbs cant get any better through the door for the money we pay? Tbh i think ur gonna be disappointed if you dont think craig robertson heff and prob the other two will play a lot of games for us this season.

happiehibbie
18-07-2014, 05:02 PM
Watch how many times a game he gives away possession. Gives 100% but he's actually pretty gash! We can't rely on the players who got us relegated.

I quite like Robertson but for some reason people seem to think 100% effort is ok I was at Dunfermline game the team passed it well but two players stood out for giving the ball away for ME handling and Stevenson. You are right we need better but we are what we are rubbish 😄

18-07-2014, 05:03 PM

If the answer is yes then we are doomed!

18-07-2014, 05:05 PM
Is your source for this rumour BMD or Agent Scotland. :greengrin

isnt that one in the same thing :greengrin

Btw I was at the wind up with my post there's nothing in it all. Will keep to just actual true stuff next time as don't want to disappoint lol

18-07-2014, 05:12 PM
Im not saying they are good enough, im saying that do you think stubbs cant get any better through the door for the money we pay? Tbh i think ur gonna be disappointed if you dont think craig robertson heff and prob the other two will play a lot of games for us this season.

Heff never played many games for us last season and i expect the same from him for the following season ahead, very injury prone through out his career, can't see it changing now.

Robertson i don't mind and his energy could work well for us in this league.

Nelson, don't care what he has been like in the friendlies because that is simply what they are, getting match fitness up and when the league starts Nelson will once again become a bomb scare for us in defence, slow and struggles to find a team mate with a pass if he isn't hoofing it up the pitch, which will happen when he is under pressure.

It's not looking good and we may have to rely on a bunch of inexperienced kids in a tough league, will they be up for it, lets hope so.

18-07-2014, 05:13 PM

I sincere hope not as they got us relegated. Yep they may play better under Stubbs but at the end of the day the majority of those we released weren't regular starters

The majority of starters from last season remain

To expect that they can get us back up with very little added we will be kidding ourselves

18 days until 1st competitive game does offer much time to blend a decent team

If SMAXXA rumour about players turning us down is true then it looks like yet again we are missing out on our first choices

Still want to keep the faith but all the promises of rebuilding our squad and wind of change seems to have gone to a trickle of signings and a mild breeze

Basically we've sold/released 3who were in contract 14 who were out of contract and brought 2 in

It is beginning to slide towards the same old Hibs of the last few seasons of being totally under prepared for the beginning of a new season

Hope I'm wrong but as the weeks roll by with very little signings it is difficult to keep the faith that we are going to be ready to rock and compete for top spot

18-07-2014, 05:19 PM
I'll say it now even if we win the first four or five games we will have ridden our luck and it will run out sooner or later. You Mark my words..

18-07-2014, 05:20 PM
Joe Tortolano (@SuperTortolano)
18/07/2014 16:24
What's happening at Hibs? You want us to renew? Here's an idea, go oot and make ambitious signings-players that will make us want to go back

Leitherhibs
18-07-2014, 05:22 PM
I reckon Stubbs supposed comment about being happy with a small squad are made with the aim of stopping agents from holding the club to ransom over fees and wages etc. I'm as desperate as anyone for us to bring players in and get them up to speed, but time and time again hes stated we need quality and people must accept that isnt going to be easy to attract to a scottish championship club. Only 1 in 5 at most of our signings under the last two regimes have worked out, lets be patient folks.

18-07-2014, 05:23 PM

Btw I was at the wind up with my post there's nothing in it all. Will keep to just actual true stuff next time as don't want to disappoint lol

More than likely. :greengrin

I wasn't fooled but a few were. :wink: :thumbsup:

Dave-O
18-07-2014, 05:24 PM

:slipper:...........:greengrin

18-07-2014, 05:26 PM
isnt that one in the same thing :greengrin Btw I was at the wind up with my post there's nothing in it all. Will keep to just actual true stuff next time as don't want to disappoint lol

Yip you bloody better as I took a big Jaws type bite out if that post!!!

Doh!!

18-07-2014, 05:27 PM
Kin boooooooo.
Argh !

18-07-2014, 05:47 PM
Joe Tortolano (@SuperTortolano)
18/07/2014 16:24
What's happening at Hibs? You want us to renew? Here's an idea, go oot and make ambitious signings-players that will make us want to go back

Lol there is no way that account is the real JT....fair point mind you !

Feed McGraw
18-07-2014, 07:24 PM
I reckon Stubbs supposed comment about being happy with a small squad are made with the aim of stopping agents from holding the club to ransom over fees and wages etc. I'm as desperate as anyone for us to bring players in and get them up to speed, but time and time again hes stated we need quality and people must accept that isnt going to be easy to attract to a scottish championship club. Only 1 in 5 at most of our signings under the last two regimes have worked out, lets be patient folks. We are not a championship club in the same way that Alloa or Cowdenbeath are though are we ? Or indeed at the other end of the scale, in the same way that The Rangers are, they are signing Scottish internationals.

18-07-2014, 07:28 PM
We are not a championship club in the same way that Alloa or Cowdenbeath are though are we ? Or indeed at the other end of the scale, in the same way that The Rangers are, they are signing Scottish internationals.

But we are a Championship team and cannot compete with the wages paid by Der Hun.... Hence the reason they can sign who they sign.

18-07-2014, 07:35 PM
Im in Hoylake for Open & heard some very good things today from s good source re our recruitment efforts. Il post more tmrw when home on PM board.

Gordy M
18-07-2014, 07:48 PM
Heff never played many games for us last season and i expect the same from him for the following season ahead, very injury prone through out his career, can't see it changing now.

Robertson i don't mind and his energy could work well for us in this league.

Nelson, don't care what he has been like in the friendlies because that is simply what they are, getting match fitness up and when the league starts Nelson will once again become a bomb scare for us in defence, slow and struggles to find a team mate with a pass if he isn't hoofing it up the pitch, which will happen when he is under pressure.

It's not looking good and we may have to rely on a bunch of inexperienced kids in a tough league, will they be up for it, lets hope so.

I agree with everything you are saying but i think some on here are over estimating the quality of the championship. Ive seen folk saying that we would be relegated if we dont sign 5/6 players?? Even when we were garbage under butcher, we went and beat the 2nd place team 2-0. Okay we know what happened next but it showed what we could be capable of with better 'management'. even with this squad, plus a keeper we will finish top 3.

Before i start getting pelters, im really hoping that we sign some players, and still confident we will:greengrin

New keeper, gray, hanlon, nelson, booth, stanton, robertson, craig, harris/stevenson el alagui and heff, i think would do well in this league. Problem is who we have as back up should injuries occur.

Im sure a lot wont agree but i think we have the basis of a good championship side, a few signings would make better, but i wouldnt be chucking in the towel if we started with that?

18-07-2014, 07:53 PM
I'll say it now even if we win the first four or five games we will have ridden our luck and it will run out sooner or later. You Mark my words..

Viduka then? Is he fit? Tell us what you know!

18-07-2014, 07:54 PM
Jambos seemingly on verge of signing Osman Sow ..... Playing as a trialist again tonight and just scored v man city

18-07-2014, 07:58 PM
Im in Hoylake for Open & heard some very good things today from s good source re our recruitment efforts. Il post more tmrw when home on PM board.
Cheers Broq
however theres been some wind ups regarding potential signings
I reckon someone from the hibs board likes to let something slip to appease the fans
btw, why are u coming back when the next 2 days should be the best down there

Gordy M
18-07-2014, 07:59 PM
Jambos seemingly on verge of signing Osman Sow ..... Playing as a trialist again tonight and just scored v man city
Rather have el alagui tbh. Ths place would have gone mad if we had signed sow and they signed el alagui.

Leitherhibs
18-07-2014, 08:11 PM
We are not a championship club in the same way that Alloa or Cowdenbeath are though are we ? Or indeed at the other end of the scale, in the same way that The Rangers are, they are signing Scottish internationals.

Realise that mate, championship club though nonetheless. Admittedly we can attract better players but there is it seems tight criteria which must be met.

I think we'll see 2-3 new faces next week, hopefully one of them
being a goalkeeper.

Nevi_SOL
18-07-2014, 08:11 PM
Rather have el alagui tbh. Ths place would have gone mad if we had signed sow and they signed el alagui.

Agree 100%

18-07-2014, 08:15 PM
Sow looked decent tonight, and took his goal well. They took him off at half time, maybe to make sure he signed and did not alert other clubs?

18-07-2014, 08:17 PM

Don't get me wrong I'm happy with Farid

However a reserve from EPL v reserve from league 1

Think Farid will score for us but would have taken both to be honest

However IF Stubbs has something better lined up the I'm fine with that

Feed McGraw
But we are a Championship team and cannot compete with the wages paid by Der Hun.... Hence the reason they can sign who they sign. Aldo, read my post again and the post I was replying to, I am saying it is not that we are a c`ship club that we can`t sign quality and citing extreme examples like der hun and alloa or cowden at the other end of scale who are different than us.

A wee bit of insight as to why Hibs are toiling to sign 'quality' might be found in the conversation I had today with an official at Derby County.

He was telling me how they're desperate to shift Connor Sammon and that plenty of clubs have enquired about him but that he's much rather stay at Derby, first team footie or not.

Have a guess how much a week Connor Sammon is on for providing his 'services' to the club. (Even I was shocked)

18-07-2014, 08:19 PM
Aldo, read my post again and the post I was replying to, I am saying it is not that we are a c`ship club that we can`t sign quality and citing extreme examples like der hun and alloa or cowden at the other end of scale who are different than us.

Ok

18-07-2014, 08:20 PM
A wee bit of insight as to why Hibs are toiling to sign 'quality' might be found in the conversation I had today with an official at Derby County. He was telling me how they're desperate to shift Connor Sammon and that plenty of clubs have enquired about him but that he's much rather stay at Derby, first team footie or not. Have a guess how much a week Connor Sammon is on for providing his 'services' to the club. (Even I was shocked)

In excess of £15,000 a week??

18-07-2014, 08:24 PM
In excess of £15,000 a week??

18-07-2014, 08:25 PM

That's mental. No wonder he wants to stay out.

18-07-2014, 08:27 PM
And that's possibly why Stubbs is having trouble attracting his interpretation of 'quality'

18-07-2014, 08:29 PM
And that's possibly why Stubbs is having trouble attracting his interpretation of 'quality'

John Collins had the same problem, yet Tony Mowbray brought in some very good players within our budget?

18-07-2014, 08:30 PM
John Collins had the same problem, yet Tony Mowbray brought in some very good players within our budget?
He did.

Can't blame him £15k a week over 3 years will set him up nicely for the rest of his life. He'll be mortgage free with cash in the bank so can hardly blame the guy

Gordy M
Absolutely, i think any quality we would be able to sign, would be an up and coming young player looking for game time, or someone who has lost a bit if form/getting to end of their career. Il be honest, i said this about 2 weeks ago, still havent seen any signings from other teams that i would want apart from miller and poss boyd to the team previously known as rangers.

18-07-2014, 08:31 PM
Can't blame him £15k a week over 3 years will set him up nicely for the rest of his life. He'll be mortgage free with cash in the bank so can hardly blame the guy

4 year deal and north of £15k. Significantly north.

18-07-2014, 08:34 PM

In that case Derby County are deserving of the financial problems they have been strapped with for so long. Debt for equity was the last straw being clutched at......

Hertz will be in for him shortly 😏

Tony Mowbray had in-depth first hand knowledge of youth teams down south, Stubbs should have that too. Here's hoping anyway.

18-07-2014, 08:35 PM

As do many other clubs in Scotland with a lower budget than us.

If we're looking at players that currently earn that much we're obviously looking at the market.

18-07-2014, 08:36 PM

Everything that is wrong with modern football. He has done absolutely nothing in his career to justify that sort of wage. No wonder young footballers show no ambition. Where is his motivation to leave to find first team football when he can do sfa and pick up a salary that 99% of the population could only dream about

Feed McGraw
18-07-2014, 08:36 PM
Realise that mate, championship club though nonetheless. Admittedly we can attract better players but there is it seems tight criteria which must be met.

I think we'll see 2-3 new faces next week, hopefully one of them
being a goalkeeper. Hope so mate. :agree:

18-07-2014, 08:37 PM
Viduka then? Is he fit? Tell us what you know!

:-) Me? I know nothing!!

18-07-2014, 08:39 PM
Tony Mowbray had in-depth first hand knowledge of youth teams down south, Stubbs should have that too. Here's hoping anyway.

:pray:

18-07-2014, 08:49 PM
Everything that is wrong with modern football. He has done absolutely nothing in his career to justify that sort of wage. No wonder young footballers show no ambition. Where is his motivation to leave to find first team football when he can do sfa and pick up a salary that 99% of the population could only dream about

Wigan bought him for about £500k, 1 goal in 30+ appearances and somehow Derby pay £1.2m for him! At that price it's not exactly surprising he's earning over £15k. I'm sure he'd get an English Championship team if he wants though, probably a loan. No chance he would be coming here when we can't even compete for the likes of Goodwillie (not that we were necessarily interested of course).

18-07-2014, 09:07 PM

We can take everything you say with a pinch of sale if you believe that absolute nonsense.

Don't even think about defending this.

18-07-2014, 09:22 PM

Too incredible to believe tbh.

Leitherhibs
18-07-2014, 09:25 PM
Meanwhile over on facebook rumours, the man who brought the el alagui runour claims
we're in advanced talks with david clarkson.

18-07-2014, 09:30 PM
Far from spectacular at Killie and had an abysmal record at Wigan. What's he done to warrant that?

A good player, nothing special though, playing for a poor Scottish side who I imagine was on around a grand a week, failing miserably in the EPL then his reward is having a four-year deal worth over three million quid with a big club thrown at him shows us exactly why football is ****ed. I despair.

He's not the mug!

EK_Hibs
18-07-2014, 09:39 PM
Meanwhile over on facebook rumours, the man who brought the el alagui runour claims
we're in advanced talks with david clarkson.

Clarkson? Not a player that would excite me to be honest.
Particularly as Motherwell had him on trial and decided against signing him.

18-07-2014, 09:48 PM

£25k per week

Mostly used as a sub last season too

Bronson
18-07-2014, 10:12 PM
£25k per week

Mostly used as a sub last season too

There's a decimal point missing in there, surely...

18-07-2014, 10:28 PM
There's a decimal point missing in there, surely...

Nope, £25k p/w

And all he done was have a good half season at Killie under Mixu, and he is a big laddie, well done him.

18-07-2014, 10:37 PM
Does anyone seriously believe Sammon earns anything like that? In season 2012/13, Derby's entire wage bill for 40/50(?) players was £12.1 million for the year. A guy that Wigan signed for 500k, flopped and then signed for Derby earns about 10% of the entire Derby wage bill? I don't think so somehow.

http://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/2014/may/22/championship-club-accounts-profit-loss-and-the-wage-bill

Funkydunc
18-07-2014, 11:04 PM
Does anyone seriously believe Sammon earns anything like that? In season 2012/13, Derby's entire wage bill for 40/50(?) players was £12.1 million for the year. A guy that Wigan signed for 500k, flopped and then signed for Derby earns about 10% of the entire Derby wage bill? I don't think so somehow.

http://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/2014/may/22/championship-club-accounts-profit-loss-and-the-wage-bill

Less than 5% 😉

18-07-2014, 11:10 PM
Less than 5% 

There's folk claiming he earns 25k a week which is £1.3 million a year. Derby's total wage bill in 12/13 was £12.1 million. That would be over 10%.

18-07-2014, 11:13 PM
There's folk claiming he earns 25k a week which is £1.3 million a year. Derby's total wage bill in 12/13 was £12.1 million. That would be over 10%.

The £25k was a guess in response to a question, not fact