View Full Version : Terry Butcher (3 Year Contract Confirmed)
Pages :
[
8]
08-11-2013, 03:34 PM
His point is a valid one.
I disagree.
We need a manager and assistant who can work with what we've got in the short and medium term.
Marsella will have been identifying players all year so Butcher will already be well aware of possible targets for January. The chances of Marsella finding anyone "new" in the next 7 weeks or so is extremely small.
Bottom line is that there are loads of scouts who can identify players. Even Fenlon's record in the transfer market was generally more than reasonable.
Having said that, if Butcher wants Marsella, he'll come. If he doesn't want him, then maybe he's not as good as the reputation that has been made for him on this messageboard in the last few days. I'd wager most people hadn't even heard of him 72 hours ago.
08-11-2013, 03:36 PM
What are Malpas's strengths supposed to be? Couple of Motherwell fans I know say he's the worst manager they ever had - utterly useless. We've had enough duds at ER taking a wage in the past. I hope he'll be bringing something to the party and it isn't just jobs for the boys.
Being a good coach/2nd hand man requires a different kind of skill set/personality, to being the main man. If the manager is good, then he wouldn't keep rubbish people in his team, so on the assumption that Terry Butcher is a good manager, Im going to assume Maurice is a good coach.
08-11-2013, 03:37 PM
Am just stirring it :greengrin
TB & MM will dae me.:agree:
08-11-2013, 03:37 PM
Fair point Radge :greengrin
Scònaldò
08-11-2013, 03:39 PM
I'll be glad once everything is done so I don't have to look at this thread.
More twists and turns than 4 Bavarian Pretzels.
Hibtastic
08-11-2013, 03:44 PM
I'll be glad once everything is done so I don't have to look at this thread.
More twists and turns than 4 Bavarian Pretzels.
I never want to read Caley Thistle Online again!!!
08-11-2013, 03:49 PM
Not if the hands fell off !
Excellente! Or the LCD display broke.
08-11-2013, 03:50 PM
Awwwwwwww man!! :greengrin
Post it on the GIF thread. :agree:
08-11-2013, 03:50 PM
I disagree.
We need a manager and assistant who can work with what we've got in the short and medium term.
Marsella will have been identifying players all year so Butcher will already be well aware of possible targets for January. The chances of Marsella finding anyone "new" in the next 7 weeks or so is extremely small.
Bottom line is that there are loads of scouts who can identify players. Even Fenlon's record in the transfer market was generally more than reasonable.Having said that, if Butcher wants Marsella, he'll come. If he doesn't want him, then maybe he's not as good as the reputation that has been made for him on this messageboard in the last few days. I'd wager most people hadn't even heard of him 72 hours ago.
Would disagree with that :-
Kuqi
Kujabi
Vine
Collins
Done
Zoubir (early days granted)
There are probably more "disappointing" signings that I have forgotten !
I never want to read Caley Thistle Online again!!!
They have the internet up there?
08-11-2013, 03:53 PM
They have the internet up there?
Aye, it's called semaphore !.
Weststandwanab
08-11-2013, 03:54 PM
Excellente! Or the LCD display broke. Brilliant! Would something with a LCD display be called a Clock ?
They have the internet up there? Aye and not a bad fitba team anaw !
08-11-2013, 03:55 PM
What we need is to score more than whoever we play against on a regular basis, home and away.
If the Cookie Monster can do that get him in.
Hedlund12
08-11-2013, 03:55 PM
Ah the emails a different department :greengrin
Might be his day off :tee hee:
I'll see if he's about
You found him then!! Well done and thanks (I think!!) :wink:
08-11-2013, 04:00 PM
Kuqi
Kujabi
Vine
Collins
Done
How is it early days for Zoubir but not Collins and Vine?
08-11-2013, 04:01 PM
Kuqi
Kujabi
Vine
Collins
Done
I'd argue that it's also early days for Collins and Vine, everyone deserves their chance to prove themselves under a new manager. Particularly Collins, a player who had scored 3 against Stoke and 1 against Arsenal whilst playing for a League 1 side will have more to offer than he has shown I'm sure. I'm hopeful the new manager (whoever that may be :cb) will get the best out of these players.
Hero76
08-11-2013, 04:02 PM
Lets stop talking trash and keep to topic please
08-11-2013, 04:03 PM
Kuqi
Kujabi
Vine
Collins
Done
I still think Collins will score goals for us and Vine is nowhere near as bad as people make out.
Zoubir has played a couple of full games and a handful sub appearances so even including him in that list is unfair even with the caveat.
Williams, McPake, McGivern, Nelson, Clancy, Maybury, Claros, Taiwo, Jones, Clancy, Robertson, Thomson, Craig, Cairney and Hefferman are all good players.
08-11-2013, 04:04 PM
Kuqi
Kujabi
Vine
Collins
Done
Zoubir!? Take it the only game you've seen recently was the hearts one?
Collins will come good, he's just had a poor start.
Also I would argue that the following players more than negate his few poor signings:
Williams
Mcgivern
Nelson
Mcpake (pre back problems)
claros
thomson
taiwo
robertson
cairney (pre injury)
heffernan
Plus decent signings like maybury, deegan and Doyle.
08-11-2013, 04:05 PM
Brilliant! Would something with a LCD display be called a Clock ?
Aye and not a bad fitba team anaw !
Digital clocks methinks
Weststandwanab
08-11-2013, 04:08 PM
Digital clocks methinks Yes but the original post was a broken clock not a broken digital clock ! Maybe I am just old and analogue !
08-11-2013, 04:08 PM
I disagree.
Bottom line is that there are loads of scouts who can identify players. Even Fenlon's record in the transfer market was generally more than reasonable.
Having said that, if Butcher wants Marsella, he'll come. If he doesn't want him, then maybe he's not as good as the reputation that has been made for him on this messageboard in the last few days. I'd wager most people hadn't even heard of him 72 hours ago.
He's come along way since Fartown ...
08-11-2013, 04:09 PM
Being a good coach/2nd hand man requires a different kind of skill set/personality, to being the main man. If the manager is good, then he wouldn't keep rubbish people in his team, so on the assumption that Terry Butcher is a good manager, Im going to assume Maurice is a good coach.
Butcher and Malpas have had their most successful periods when working together. Neither has done too well when separated from the other. From what I've heard, Malpas is a good technical coach who's not very interested in the man-management side which is Butcher's strength so they complement each other.
I think it's vital that the scout comes too. The ICT teams of the past couple of years have relied on identifying players no-one here had heard of but who turn out to be well suited to the SPL.
08-11-2013, 04:10 PM
Kuqi
Kujabi
Vine
Collins
Done
Deary me. So the Voice of Reason has already made judgement on those two - but not Zoubir? PF has made far more better signings than poor ones. :rolleyes:
08-11-2013, 04:12 PM
He's come along way since Fartown ...
I did say "most" people. :na na:
08-11-2013, 04:12 PM
I disagree.
He'd have been working to the budgets of ICT though. Perhaps his search widens with ours, plus players could be more tempted to move to Edinburgh than Inverness.
08-11-2013, 04:15 PM
is there a press conference at ER then?
nribs
08-11-2013, 04:17 PM
is there a press conference at ER then? I can't see anything happening tonight now. Business as usual I would suspect.
08-11-2013, 04:22 PM
I did say "most" people. :na na:
How arguments get settled down Marsella's way...
http://youtu.be/IPCR7idsvv8
08-11-2013, 04:29 PM
And yet another day goes by and everyone's predictions of 12pm press conferences, 5.30pm conferences etc, all are wrong once again.
08-11-2013, 04:32 PM
And yet another day goes by and everyone's predictions of 12pm press conferences, 5.30pm conferences etc, all are wrong once again.
i love the twallys that post that guff.
hfcok
08-11-2013, 04:33 PM
Yeh so right,seems a lot of people posting wrong info eh.
Is he coming..............to us or not.
08-11-2013, 04:35 PM
Beeb Scotland reporting that "Butcher has still to make his mind up" and "it is thought" that Malpas will be in charge of ITC tomorrow.
That's different from half an hour ago when they said that Malpas would be in charge of the ITC squad tomorrow.
08-11-2013, 04:38 PM
The worst thing is that we actually have 'how happy are you with Butcher' along with various other similar threads...and he isn't even our manager!! Nothing has been made official atall and we're going to make ourselfs look pretty stupid if he doesn't sign.
08-11-2013, 04:41 PM
I said I'd be surprised if nothing was announced today given he fact we play them tomorrow.
brian6-2
I cant for the life of me fathom out why people think it will be announced before we play them on saturday. Butcher is obviously a decent guy and doesnt want to play against his old team so soon which is fair enough. Its will be announced on monday, ive no doubt about that.
Nothing will happen now i expect until after the game tomorrow.
The biggest sign of butcher joining hibs will be him missing from the inverness dugout
08-11-2013, 04:47 PM
Apparently they are due on STV news at 6 according to Spiers.
Be interesting to hear what they say.
08-11-2013, 04:50 PM
Apparently they are due on STV news at 6 according to Spiers.
Be interesting to hear what they say.
"They?"
08-11-2013, 04:51 PM
"They?"
Graham Spiers@GrahamSpiers7m (http://www.hibs.net/GrahamSpiers/status/398868108615487488)I’m hearing from @EilidhBarbour (http://www.hibs.net/EilidhBarbour) that Terry Butcher and ‘Fritz’, his pet Schnauser, are to be on STV news shortly. 'Down, Fritz, down...'
08-11-2013, 04:53 PM
Graham Spiers@GrahamSpiers7m (http://www.hibs.net/GrahamSpiers/status/398868108615487488)I’m hearing from @EilidhBarbour (http://www.hibs.net/EilidhBarbour) that Terry Butcher and ‘Fritz’, his pet Schnauser, are to be on STV news shortly. 'Down, Fritz, down...'
need to get a wee song made up for Fritz as well :)
i'l start
there was a wee dug called Fritz...
08-11-2013, 04:54 PM
need to get a wee song made up for Fritz as well :)
Tam McCourt oot, Fritz in.
08-11-2013, 04:55 PM
Tam McCourt oot, Fritz in.
Tams in with the girders :wink:
08-11-2013, 04:56 PM
Former England captain with a German dog called Fritz.
08-11-2013, 04:58 PM
need to get a wee song made up for Fritz as well :) i'l start there was a wee dug called Fritz...
Fritz who
Altogether now
Fritz a grand old team to play for !!
08-11-2013, 04:59 PM
:singing:Terry Butcher and Frits the schnauser Gary Lockes a ****ing w4nker :singing:
08-11-2013, 05:00 PM
From Caley Thistle Online:
Well that's it as far as I`m concerned my defining moment, heard Foran on BBC Highland news report
saying the players will just have to let the new manager re-evaluate things as he sees it!
08-11-2013, 05:01 PM
The worst thing is that we actually have 'how happy are you with Butcher' along with various other similar threads...and he isn't even our manager!! Nothing has been made official atall and we're going to make ourselfs look pretty stupid if he doesn't sign.
Oh the shame, the indignity!
I think I'll live with it.
Agreed but if MM wants the ICT job then TB might feel it would be wrong to persuade him otherwise.
Could be a blinding move by Rod.
An assistant coach to assistant coach to Hibs on hardly any contract = Hardly any compensation.
An assistant coach to manager on a recently signed long contract = Enough to cover our compo to ICT for everyone coming to Hibs :-)
TheFamous1875
08-11-2013, 05:09 PM
Well that's it as far as I`m concerned my defining moment, heard Foran on BBC Highland news report
saying the players will just have to let the new manager re-evaluate things as he sees it!
Surely that's that, then?
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
08-11-2013, 05:10 PM
Fritz who
Altogether now
Fritz a grand old team to play for !!
not bad :)
08-11-2013, 05:14 PM
Saying he still hasn't made up his mind is nonsense. If he has decided to stay in Inverness, he would definitely have said so by now, thereby giving ICT an enormous boost for tomorrow. Unless he is going to spring an enormous shock and turn up with ICT tomorrow, it's hugely odds on that he has without any doubt decided to join Hibs and everybody knows it. Why it's being milked is anyone's guess. It would appear that he doesn't want to be at ER tomorrow, which is perfectly understandable but let's not have any more of this dragging out the drama.
08-11-2013, 05:18 PM
Saying he still hasn't made up his mind is nonsense. If he has decided to stay in Inverness, he would definitely have said so by now, thereby giving ICT an enormous boost for tomorrow. Unless he is going to spring an enormous shock and turn up with ICT tomorrow, it's hugely odds on that he has without any doubt decided to join Hibs and everybody knows it. Why it's being milked is anyone's guess. It would appear that he doesn't want to be at ER tomorrow, which is perfectly understandable but let's not have any more of this dragging out the drama.
This. What a load of ****ing nonsense now. Everyone from Inverness to Edinburgh knows hes coming.
08-11-2013, 05:20 PM
Look on the bright side (if you know how too), it gives you something else to moan about.
08-11-2013, 05:20 PM
This. What a load of ****ing nonsense now. Everyone from Inverness to Edinburgh knows hes coming.
Yep, can't really understand the logic behind saying nothing now.
08-11-2013, 05:22 PM
Yep, can't really understand the logic behind saying nothing now.
Damned if you do, damned if you don't.
bandylegs_jLeighton
08-11-2013, 05:22 PM
The welly and bunnet combo was far superior to Fenlon's tracksuit efforts.
bandylegs_jLeighton
08-11-2013, 05:25 PM
Damned if you do, damned if you don't.If he is coming why would it be damned if they do?:confused: He wont be in the dugout tomorrow so what purpose is it serving? If he isnt in the dugout Inverness know the score as do we.
bandylegs_jLeighton
08-11-2013, 05:26 PM
The same cannot be said for MM!
Damn it ..... When do the folk from Edinburgh to Berwick get to find out? :greengrin
bandylegs_jLeighton
11272 !
08-11-2013, 05:27 PM
11272 !
Brilliant :faf:
08-11-2013, 05:27 PM
Damn it ..... When do the folk from Edinburgh to Berwick get to find out? :greengrinMonday apparently. :greengrin
08-11-2013, 05:29 PM
:singing:Terry Butcher and Frits the schnauser Gary Lockes a ****ing w4nker :singing:
You never lose it!:greengrin
08-11-2013, 05:31 PM
not bad :)
Fritz sister is called Teresa
Teresa who
Ter es a rare wee fitba team at Easter road they play !!
08-11-2013, 05:32 PM
If he is coming why would it be damned if they do?:confused: He wont be in the dugout tomorrow so what purpose is it serving? If he isnt in the dugout Inverness know the score as do we.
I can only presume that both clubs have agreed that the news will not be officially released until after tomorrows game. The reasons could well become apparent at that stage.
08-11-2013, 05:36 PM
I can only presume that both clubs have agreed that the news will not be officially released until after tomorrows game. The reasons could well become apparent at that stage.Possibly, but would it not just been easier to not aloow Butcher to speak to us until after the game? I think I knw the answer to that and its because they knew a deal was agreed between the two parties prior to Hibs officially asking permission. If that was the case I would have put him on gardening leave till after the game to show my disaproval. Time will tell I guess. I just think its a nonsense now.
Gustavo Fring
08-11-2013, 05:38 PM
if he's already said farewell to his players - then they know he's leaving . they already knew we were talking to him
so whats the point in trying to keep it all hush hush .
08-11-2013, 05:39 PM
Reporter - are you still the Inverness manager?
Big Tel - silence.........
Says it all really.
08-11-2013, 05:40 PM
Folk still panicking need to settle down. It was a done deal days ago. Due to respect for ICT Hibs are waiting till the game is done first. Simples!!
So what if it's not today or tomorrow he's here and that's what matters. Rod has done well in my opinion.
Torto7062
08-11-2013, 05:42 PM
Wins us the Scottish cup id happily wave an England flag:greengrin
Erm I'd rather scratch my eyes out
with a thistle than put that on lol
Terry Butcher is an absolute stick on for the Hibs job..Dead cert..After speaking with Petrie and he didnt fancy it he would have said there and then NOT let it drag on.
He IMO is a 100% Hibs manager.
Maybe he's decided that he will go with the team that wins on Saturday. :-)
To the tune of 'Tony Mowbray, Mark Venus, Robertson's a ******** *enis
Terry Butcher
His wee dug Fritz
It's enough to give Yams the ****z
08-11-2013, 05:43 PM
Reporter - are you still the Inverness manager?
Big Tel - silence.........
Says it all really.
Correct.Silence was deafening.
08-11-2013, 05:48 PM
Folk still panicking need to settle down. It was a done deal days ago. Due to respect for ICT Hibs are waiting till the game is done first. Simples!!
So what if it's not today or tomorrow he's here and that's what matters. Rod has done well in my opinion.
Have you heard anything about SM and MM?
08-11-2013, 05:53 PM
Butcher went to mow...
Went to mow a meadow
Butcher and his dog "FRITZ"
Went to mow a meadow
Sung an endless number of times whilst jumping up and down.....
08-11-2013, 05:54 PM
SM is a bit of give and a bit of take. MM is all take :greengrin
08-11-2013, 05:56 PM
Who's panicking? We all know he's coming ( My God you've told us often enough. ;-). ) ICT will probably be thinking 'stick your 'respect' up your jacksie.' We're all big boys and girls and the pathetic pretence is almost embarrassing.
Emerald
08-11-2013, 05:58 PM
Butcher went to mow...
Went to mow a meadow
That is brilliant because there are endless more verses that can be added like:
Butchers gonna ????
Gonna ???? the Jambos
Butcher and his wee dug FRITZ
Is gonna ???? the Jambos
add........................
08-11-2013, 06:01 PM
From what I was told yeah it's the 3 of them.
Who's panicking? We all know he's coming ( My God you've told us often enough. ;-). ) ICT will probably be thinking 'stick your 'respect' up your jacksie.' We're all big boys and girls and the pathetic pretence is almost embarrassing.
I'd personally have announced it myself as it's frustrating. Btw have I told you he's coming :D
08-11-2013, 06:04 PM
There will be an announcement that the new manager will be paraded at HT tomorrow..........you have to go to find out who....
Kerching Kerching......:devil:
SON OF PADDY
08-11-2013, 06:11 PM
Butcher went to mow...
Went to mow a meadow
That's a Classic !. Iol ;)
londonhibby
08-11-2013, 06:16 PM
Sado-Masochism and Max Moseley go well together, so I've heard . . .
08-11-2013, 06:25 PM
I don't see how treating peole like fools is being respectful, everyone knows he's coming including the ict fans. If butcher isn't in the away dugout on saturday then it's obvious he's no their manager anymore. The respectful thing to do would be to announce his decision but say he won't be starting till Monday.
08-11-2013, 06:30 PM
Maybe Inverness won't release him from his contract until after the match but have put him on gardening leave. As such Hibs can't make any statement.
ozzie
08-11-2013, 06:40 PM
Maybe Inverness won't release him from his contract until after the match but have put him on gardening leave. As such Hibs can't make any statement.
this is exactly what i had said a few days ago, ict would put him on garden leave until after the game.
08-11-2013, 06:42 PM
this is exactly what i had said a few days ago, ict would put him on garden leave until after the game. If he was on gardening leave he wouldnt have been anywhere near training or the Tunnocks teacake Stadium today. He did have his wellies on to be fair.
08-11-2013, 06:45 PM
No doubt part of the agreement not to announce until after the game. Does seem strange however Hibs should bring Tel on at half time if we are losing to get the fans going for the second half? :greengrin
08-11-2013, 06:47 PM
No doubt part of the agreement not to announce until after the game. Does seem strange however Hibs should bring Tel on at half time if we are losing to get the fans going for the second half? :greengrin
Or send him int the dressing room to get the players going
08-11-2013, 06:52 PM
Or send him int the dressing room to get the players going
Or play him
portycabbage
08-11-2013, 07:23 PM
Or... "Gary Locke takes golden showers":dunno:
08-11-2013, 07:26 PM
SM is a bit of give and a bit of take. MM is all take :greengrin
08-11-2013, 07:28 PM
Or... "Gary Locke takes golden showers":dunno:
This a family friendly forum, porty.
08-11-2013, 07:46 PM
You sure about that ??!! :rolleyes:
Going tomorrow or still recovering from flu/op?? :dunno:
08-11-2013, 07:46 PM
Tams in with the girders :wink:
I hope so he owns the place . oh wait wrong Tam :greengrin
As are the predictions of all the pessimists that he's not coming!
08-11-2013, 07:55 PM
This is stupid. This isn't respectful. Everyone seems to know just saying so would have been far more respectful.
08-11-2013, 08:01 PM
This is stupid. This isn't respectful. Everyone seems to know just saying so would have been far more respectful.
I agree. It leaves both sets of fans in limbo, and I can't think it helps either set of players. If I was an ICT fan or player, I would want to confirmed either way.
08-11-2013, 08:13 PM
Apparently it was Alan Maybury I was hearing ! oops
08-11-2013, 08:16 PM
Erm I'd rather scratch my eyes out
with a thistle than put that on lol
Wasnt going to put it on,just going to wave it
Anyhows,have you seen our scottish cup record!!
08-11-2013, 08:17 PM
Apparently it was Alan Maybury I was hearing ! oops
Just saw that. Oops indeed.:greengrin
08-11-2013, 08:29 PM
I'm sure the ICT fans are just as frustrated as all of us regarding how this situation is just dragging on now. We just want an answer from either club or even TB himself, to come out and say if he's staying up there or coming down here.
davhibby
08-11-2013, 08:33 PM
Obviously someone thought it would be better just to leave the announcement untill after the game but since everyone pretty much knows what's happening it's just really silly now
ELHibee
08-11-2013, 08:53 PM
I was talking to a sports journo tonight who suggested Malpas might stay in Inverness?! Hope he's wrong but good news for JN maybe.
mcfly
08-11-2013, 08:54 PM
Stop the panicking. We've got the experienced manager we needed.
Let's all just back the team tomorrow and get a win.
08-11-2013, 09:26 PM
You sure about that ??!! :rolleyes:
Going tomorrow or still recovering from flu/op?? :dunno:
Very sure :D
Yeah defo going, recovered from man flu!
Saturdays Hero
08-11-2013, 09:40 PM
62 pages of boring tedious pi** !!
08-11-2013, 09:48 PM
Yup,to many getting their scants in a knot
It will happen when it happens
08-11-2013, 09:49 PM
Read it all did you?
08-11-2013, 09:55 PM
Who's shat in your cornflakes?
08-11-2013, 10:09 PM
Was me :tee hee:
08-11-2013, 10:12 PM
I agree. It leaves both sets of fans in limbo, and I can't think it helps either set of players. If I was an ICT fan or player, I would want to confirmed either way.
Maybe ICT have refused to talk to us about Malpas and the Unsung hero until after the game.
There could be any number of reasons it's not concluded.
Terry butcher was never going to be in charge until next week, so why is everyone so fraught?
08-11-2013, 10:16 PM
Just heard on the news that Maybury was suggesting that Butcher wouldn't be welcomed at Easter Road by the fans.
How would he know? :confused:
08-11-2013, 10:21 PM
Fritz :faf:
Saturdays Hero
08-11-2013, 10:22 PM
Read it all did you?
No.....but please point out the interesting points and I'm all ears .....I'm assuming you read it all ??!??
08-11-2013, 10:23 PM
Just heard on the news that Maybury was suggesting that Butcher wouldn't be welcomed at Easter Road by the fans.
I think you've been ill informed mate
08-11-2013, 10:26 PM
No.....but please point out the interesting points and I'm all ears .....I'm assuming you read it all ??!??
If you haven't read it, then what is your judgement of 'tedious pish' based on?
08-11-2013, 10:27 PM
Meanwhile 'Mikey' smokes a cigar as she counts the ad clicks from the protracted managerial situation.......
HibbyRod
08-11-2013, 10:29 PM
WTF?
Surely Maybury could not have said that! Utter madness if so! :doh:
08-11-2013, 10:29 PM
Because he reads Hibs.net and knows Butcher hasn't spilled the beans yet and won't do so till 5pm tomorrow at the earliest. :-)
Saturdays Hero
08-11-2013, 10:35 PM
If you haven't read it, then what is your judgement of 'tedious pish' based on?
It's the same dross getting spouted over & over again,there's my judgement of a 62 page thread spouting 'tedious pish' ??
Torto7062
08-11-2013, 10:46 PM
I reckon Butch will be the new
Hibs manager around 1900 on saturday
evening.
guesses allowed......higher or lower
08-11-2013, 10:47 PM
How would he know? :confused:Probably because an idiotic element of our support still dislike Maybury and give him abuse for who he played for years ago.
08-11-2013, 10:50 PM
Maybe Inverness won't release him from his contract until after the match but have put him on gardening leave. As such Hibs can't make any statement.hope he hasnae been put on meadow mowing leave............this could drag on intae the new year
08-11-2013, 10:51 PM
You've made that up. He never made any suggestions like that. Never let the truth get in the way of a good story
08-11-2013, 10:56 PM
It's the same dross getting spouted over & over again,there's my judgement of a 62 page thread spouting 'tedious pish' ??
Well personally I'm an empiricist, but if you want to draw conclusions based on preconceived ideas then crack on.
As a prominent poster's signature used to say, 'doubt is not a pleasant condition, but certainty is absurd.'
That's one more post of the same dross, I'll sleep well tonight.
08-11-2013, 11:00 PM
Your contribution has fair lifted the overall quality.
lol
08-11-2013, 11:02 PM
Don't be ridiculous.
08-11-2013, 11:15 PM
Utter rubbish...maybury said nothing of the sort. I saw the interview earlier and he was talking up Butcher if he does get the gig (which we all know he has)
Seriously. Are you on lavvy plugs?
Argylehibby
08-11-2013, 11:34 PM
Was compensation agreed before we were given permission to speak to TB? If not could it be that all is agreed between TB and Hibs and ICT are waiting until after the game to start negotiations or have refused to release him until after the game?
green glory
08-11-2013, 11:53 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/terry-butcher-set-to-complete-hibs-move-on-monday-1-3181393
09-11-2013, 12:27 AM
I saw the interview and Maybury certainly didn't come anywhere near across as that statement you just made. Sour grapes to be honest with you.
Titch
09-11-2013, 12:28 AM
I reckon Butch will be the new
Hibs manager around 1900 on saturday
evening.
guesses allowed......higher or lower
1230 Monday
09-11-2013, 12:29 AM
1230 Monday
Think it will be then as well.
HibeeMG
09-11-2013, 01:09 AM
1230 Monday
Think it will be then as well.
Funnily enough that's the time that was in my head before clicking into this thread.
09-11-2013, 02:02 AM
Fritz :faf:
09-11-2013, 03:28 AM
1455 hours would do me nicely paraded out onto the park to get us all up for the game
09-11-2013, 04:16 AM
1455 hours would do me nicely paraded out onto the park to get us all up for the game
Nah, not Hibs class.
The only thing holding up the announcement of the new management team is because we are playing ICT today.
If we had been playing anyone else then it would if been done, dusted and he would if been announced.
Simples.
The only thing holding up the announcement of the new management team is because we are playing ICT today.
If we had been playing anyone else then it would if been done, dusted and he would if been announced.
Simples.
Spot on & once it was announced JN would take charge this weekend, the Welcome Terry press conference was always going to be on Monday at earliest. The paranoia & negativity on this board just amazes me at times. It's beyond my comprehension why any Hibs fan would delberately post negative & inaccurate keech on here, you know who you are! :wink:
09-11-2013, 07:03 AM
Simples.
You don't say. Every man and his dog has enlightened us with information that we all know. The point is 'why?' Who is going to suffer and collapse with grief if the dreaded secret is divulged to the masses. It's a piece of nonsense.
09-11-2013, 07:09 AM
I kind of feel sorry for the ict fans, at hibs we are used to this with MacLeish, Mowbray and good players we have had.. But if it's good for hibs then I couldn't really care. I hope tel becomes a hit and we start playing the football that is eye catching and entertaining. We are over due a decent manager and I hope this will be our time in the sun.. GGTTH
You don't say. Every man and his dog has enlightened us with information that we all know. The point is 'why?' Who is going to suffer and collapse with grief if the dreaded secret is divulged to the masses. It's a piece of nonsense.
Sarcasm eh. Here's something else everyone will know. Lowest form of whit. :-D
And there was me trying to be nice and reassuring. Tsk
PS did someone get out of bed on the wrong side this morning. ;-)
09-11-2013, 07:20 AM
http://i41.tinypic.com/288pm6c.jpg
http://www.scotsman....onday-1-3181393
http://www.express.c...for-Hibs-switch.
09-11-2013, 07:30 AM
Sarcasm eh. Here's something else everyone will know.
Lowest form of whit. :-D
And there was me trying to be nice..
Tsk tsk
No sarcasm intended, Aldo. It was very nice of you to try to explain something but in fact included no explanation. I'm just frustrated at the number of people on here giving out the same meaningless information. We know it won't be announced till Monday because of some ludicrous concern for ITC who already know the score. But why?
Niffy
09-11-2013, 07:35 AM
http://i41.tinypic.com/288pm6c.jpg
http://www.scotsman....onday-1-3181393
http://www.express.c...for-Hibs-switch.
That's just not fair.
Not only do ICT loose TB, they gain Craig Levein.... poor *******s.
09-11-2013, 07:36 AM
That's just not fair.
Not only do ICT loose TB, they gain Craig Levein.... poor *******s.
No sarcasm intended, Aldo. It was very nice of you to try to explain something but in fact included no explanation. I'm just frustrated at the number of people on here giving out the same meaningless information. We know it won't be announced till Monday because of some ludicrous concern for ITC who already know the score. But why?
No probs as frustrated as everyone else. At the end of the day if all had been agreed he should of been announced soonest and paraded today..
I am all for getting it done dusted and signed and then announce it but we should of at least been told something by the club.
Communications at the Club are up to their usual standards I see.
09-11-2013, 07:48 AM
No probs as frustrated as everyone else. At the end of the day if all had been agreed he should of been announced soonest and paraded today..
I am all for getting it done dusted and signed and then announce it but we should of at least been told something by the club.
Communications at the Club are up to their usual standards I see.
Clubs hands are tied, ICT and Tel himself dictated the situation re timing of starting work and I don't have a problem with it.
Cheers SMAXXA
09-11-2013, 07:53 AM
Will Butcher be at the game today? That would be awkward for him.
Spot on & once it was announced JN would take charge this weekend, the Welcome Terry press conference was always going to be on Monday at earliest. The paranoia & negativity on this board just amazes me at times. It's beyond my comprehension why any Hibs fan would delberately post negative & inaccurate keech on here, you know who you are! :wink:
Sometimes I think not everyone on here is a Hibs supporter.
scuttle
09-11-2013, 08:00 AM
Alas the main man himself and his dug have told us nothing
09-11-2013, 08:11 AM
Maybe the paperwork isn't fully completed.
Maybe we're waiting for Malpas to join us after today's game.
Maybe ICT have asked us to wait. Maybe TB did.
It could be for any number of reasons.
Why all the angst? What do we lose by waiting till Monday?
09-11-2013, 08:15 AM
:agree: All the players will know, so what's the big secret ?
09-11-2013, 08:18 AM
Maybe the paperwork isn't fully completed.
Maybe we're waiting for Malpas to join us after today's game.
Maybe ICT have asked us to wait. Maybe TB did.
It could be for any number of reasons.
Why all the angst? What do we lose by waiting till Monday?
You're quite right; there are lots of valid reasons for the delay, and we (Hibs fans) don't lose anything by waiting until Monday. Putting myself in the ICT fans' shoes though, I would want my club to be straight with me. I think the silence is well-intentioned, but misguided.
09-11-2013, 08:18 AM
Maybe malpas will have talks tommorrow and hibs will announce all 3 on Monday.?
09-11-2013, 08:23 AM
Maybe Butcher really is mulling it over.
Maybe Butcher's resigned and Hibs are playing hard ball over the compensation.
Maybe Hibs are saving a weekend's wages (possibly x 3).
Maybe 11 is TB's lucky number.
I'm excited. This has the makings of a new thread all of it's own. :wink:
09-11-2013, 08:25 AM
Does anyone know where i could see the interview from last night where he refused to answer the question about still being ICT manager? Think it was on STV, but i cant find it on there.
Magnifique
09-11-2013, 08:27 AM
Maybe malpas will have talks tommorrow and hibs will announce all 3 on Monday.?
I did see a big black Range Rover head towards a East Mains about 545 last night reg no MMR 5X, I did wonder if it was MM.
WestEndHibee
09-11-2013, 08:28 AM
But what happens to the moon in all of this? That's the crux.
09-11-2013, 08:31 AM
Does anyone know where i could see the interview from last night where he refused to answer the question about still being ICT manager? Think it was on STV, but i cant find it on there.
Found it !
09-11-2013, 08:33 AM
Maybe Terry's found God, and is giving it all up to study for the ministry?
As you say, lots of possibilities. For the sake of the ICT fans though - and we've been in their position a good few times, and likely will be again - a brief statement would have been polite: Terry and Hibs are still in discussion, and no final decision has been made / the process is ongoing, with issues still to be resolved, or whatever.
09-11-2013, 08:34 AM
Found it !
Care to share
09-11-2013, 08:37 AM
But what happens to the moon in all of this? That's the crux.
This is a good point.
Maybe they're waiting for a perigree, so that when a journalist asks him how he feels now he's manager of Hibs, Butcher can retain his credibility when he answers, "I'm over the moon".
09-11-2013, 08:39 AM
@TyroneSTV: Maurice Malpas is set for talks with Hibs on Sunday
@TyroneSTV: It now seems certain that come Monday, Inverness will be starting the search for an entirely new management team
09-11-2013, 08:40 AM
Maybe ICT have refused to talk to us about Malpas and the Unsung hero until after the game.
@TyroneSTV: Maurice Malpas is set for talks with Hibs on Sunday
:smug:
09-11-2013, 08:53 AM
Care to share
Anyone fancy posting the video of this then?
09-11-2013, 09:06 AM
Nah, not Hibs class.
No but he will plant a Hibs flag on the centre circle when we pump them the highlands ;)
[for the avoidance of doubt please note this is a joke]
09-11-2013, 09:08 AM
No but he will plant a Hibs flag on the centre circle when we pump them the highlands ;)
[for the avoidance of doubt please note this is a joke]
Which bit? Planting the flag or pumping them in the Highlands?:cb
09-11-2013, 09:23 AM
It's kinda cool that the only thing that folk are complaining about is the lack of an official announcement.
Goes to show that the vast majority are behind this appointment. :thumbsup:
09-11-2013, 09:43 AM
Which bit? Planting the flag or pumping them in the Highlands?:cb
Hehe. I'm warming to the idea of Terry. He comes (I assume) as a relatively respected figure in his own right in comparison with some of the previous incumbents.
There is no silver bullet with Hibs of course but perhaps if we've caught him in his prime and things work out he might prove to be the man we've been needing and who knows perhaps put himself in the frame for a DoF type role... (My thinking is I imagine Rod would want to really know who he's dealing with before considering a DoF role and if he's taking "the whole package" it can't be to discard in a short period)?
Audio Visual
09-11-2013, 09:44 AM
Anyone fancy posting the video of this then?
http://player.stv.tv/programmes/news-at-six-edinburgh-east/2013-11-08-1800/
Sports news starts 13mins 45 seconds in...
09-11-2013, 10:42 AM
http://player.stv.tv/programmes/news-at-six-edinburgh-east/2013-11-08-1800/
Sports news starts 13mins 45 seconds in...
Good man thanks very much
09-11-2013, 12:16 PM
Endof
09-11-2013, 12:18 PM
Sauce ?
09-11-2013, 12:18 PM
Where ?
Startof
09-11-2013, 12:21 PM
Thats a relief
09-11-2013, 12:21 PM
Get rid of this thread title
09-11-2013, 12:23 PM
No need to change titles and it's not a dot net fact. It's a. Fact fact.
Source is more than very reliable. As I said.
I don't get scoops and haven't posted any in 10 years posting.
It's a fact tho. Heard it here.
ENDOF
Greenworld
09-11-2013, 12:24 PM
Hold the Flags the official is still not official
09-11-2013, 12:28 PM
If this lasts till 1.45 without being merged, the admins should resign. :agree:
09-11-2013, 12:49 PM
It makes naw odds to me. I'm just sharing the good news. Simples!
09-11-2013, 12:53 PM
End of, simples, all we're missing is a my bad to complete the set.
09-11-2013, 12:55 PM
If you followed the other thread you wouldn't need to share it. Everyone knows it's done. FACT :D
merritthibees
09-11-2013, 12:56 PM
@gerrymcculloch1: Terry Butcher has arrived at Easter Road. Deal should go through Monday. #hibs
Tom Hart RIP
09-11-2013, 12:57 PM
Arrived with Jim Mcarthur
If you followed the other thread you wouldn't need to share it. Everyone knows it's done. FACT :D
Pitchfork back in shed for now. :-D Stevie still in his bed. Waiting for the Gif!
09-11-2013, 12:59 PM
Didn't realise he was catholic...!
09-11-2013, 01:00 PM
Pitchfork back in shed for now. :-D Stevie still in his bed. Waiting for the Gif!
;-)
Former England captain to be manager of Hibernian FC.
Who'd have thunk it?
;-)
Ahaaa so yur up. Happy days! :-d
So nothing has changed?
What's the point in this thread, we all know its a done deal.
09-11-2013, 01:09 PM
Ahaaa so yur up. Happy days! :-d
:-D
09-11-2013, 01:09 PM
He's at ER according to Richard Gordon on twatter
"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"
09-11-2013, 01:10 PM
Right out of left field that one. What a scoop.
Bad Habits
09-11-2013, 01:18 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24880930
09-11-2013, 01:19 PM
This not been merged yet?
merritthibees
09-11-2013, 01:23 PM
Former England captain to be manager of Hibernian FC.
Who'd have thunk it?
Who could it possibly be? 😜
nribs
09-11-2013, 01:25 PM
Only official when it's on the official site therefore it's unofficial. Stupid thread
09-11-2013, 01:27 PM
Only official when it's on the official site therefore it's unofficial. Stupid thread
What if it's official on the unofficial site? Does that make it an unofficial official announcement?
nribs
09-11-2013, 01:33 PM
What if it's official on the unofficial site? Does that make it an unofficial official announcement?
That would depend which of the unofficial sites you would be reffering to? Is there an official unofficial site?
Kaiser_Sauzee
09-11-2013, 01:34 PM
Do your job admins and either merge or delete this thread.
seanshow
09-11-2013, 01:36 PM
The new manager has arrived with his wife at the main entrance, they are in the boardroom and will watch the game from the directors box.
sauce - Brian McLaughlin BBC Radio
09-11-2013, 01:53 PM
Who could it possibly be? 😜
John terry :o
09-11-2013, 01:57 PM
Butcher now in his seat. Wearing a tan coloured long coat with stylish soft cloth cap. :greengrin
Source: Live Hibs TV video....
merritthibees
John terry :o
Watch your wife's! Ha 😳
hibsfan
I have just been introduced to terry at ER - in hospitality. He was introduced to me as the new Hibs manager. He is at the game
09-11-2013, 01:59 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24880930
Why did JN not attend the weekly media session?
09-11-2013, 02:00 PM
Thanks for that, confirmed then.
09-11-2013, 02:01 PM
The new manager has arrived with his wife at the main entrance, they are in the boardroom and will watch the game from the directors box.
sauce - Brian McLaughlin BBC Radio
I think that pretty much confirms he is the new Hibs manager ... :thumbsup:
09-11-2013, 02:08 PM
Are you two related?
09-11-2013, 02:11 PM
Are you two related?
:-)
09-11-2013, 02:12 PM
Are you two related?
As far as I know only by being fully paid up members of "The Hibs Family" mate.
09-11-2013, 02:13 PM
Here`s a screenshot from the Hibs TV video stream....
09-11-2013, 02:21 PM
Personal Terms agreed, both clubs need to agree on compensation.
09-11-2013, 02:22 PM
Must be wondering WTF he has taken on....................
09-11-2013, 02:28 PM
Wonder how many of these today he had earmarked as no keeps?
Well if they have any aspirations of staying they better get the finger oot their *****.
09-11-2013, 02:55 PM
Watch your wife's! Ha
What's a ! Ha?
steviej147
09-11-2013, 02:58 PM
after todays eye bleeding 1st half performance if i was big tel id change my fekkin mind and stay where i was.hibs need to get there fingers out their erkies.
hibsfan
09-11-2013, 03:34 PM
Nope all done - he is at Easter road. Support staff can be spoken to after the game
09-11-2013, 03:51 PM
What's a ! Ha?
A brilliant 80's band from Norway who would probably be known for their biggest hit "Take on me", this was not only a great song but also a superb video which if i remember rightly won VH1's 100 greatest ever video award at some point in the mid 90's.
09-11-2013, 04:16 PM
A brilliant 80's band from Norway who would probably be known for their biggest hit "Take on me", this was not only a great song but also a superb video which if i remember rightly won VH1's 100 greatest ever video award at some point in the mid 90's.
09-11-2013, 04:17 PM
Cue for thread turning into Swedish Abba Happy Clappys vs Norwegian Aha Doom 'n' Gloomers! :wink:
09-11-2013, 04:19 PM
Hes probably buggered off after watching that dross today
09-11-2013, 04:21 PM
After today's shambles (no.326 in the series), I can just imagine the press conference:
ROD PETRIE: I'm pleased to introduce Hibernian FC's new manager, Terry Butcher
TERRY BUTCHER (running out the door): Sorry, there's been some misunderstanding......
09-11-2013, 04:24 PM
After today's shambles (no.326 in the series), I can just imagine the press conference:
ROD PETRIE: I'm pleased to introduce Hibernian's new manager, Terry Butcher
TERRY BUTCHER (running out the door): Sorry, there's been some misunderstanding......
Prophet of doom?
I hope not, but there's still a lingering doubt - especially amongst the TV/radio pundits.
09-11-2013, 04:38 PM
And Maurice malpas after saying 'nothing' was set in stone after the game
"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"
09-11-2013, 04:39 PM
ROD PETRIE: I'm pleased to introduce Hibernian FC's new manager, Terry Butcher
I wouldn't blame him if that's what he did do.
Butcher never moved a jot when Caley scored. He'll be at Easter Road.
09-11-2013, 05:18 PM
09-11-2013, 05:44 PM
Wonder how he enjoyed his Prawn Sandwich in the west. Nice bunnet big man.
09-11-2013, 06:16 PM
Why can't he be announced tomorrow ?
09-11-2013, 06:24 PM
I'm less confident that that things are as far along as some are saying after a couple of conversations today at match - not saying it won't happen, but not over the line yet so there is always possibilities of a hitch.......
09-11-2013, 06:34 PM
Just had a wee look at ICT's forum: can't believe how arsey they're being about Butcher given what he's done for them.
http://caleythistleonline.com/topic/27522-butcher-offski/page-27
09-11-2013, 06:43 PM
Just had a wee look at ICT's forum: can't believe how arsey they're being about Butcher given what he's done for them.
That's life. There are a large number of Hibs fans who still hold grudges towards McLeish and Mowbray for leaving, despite them both giving us some of the best periods in recent history.
09-11-2013, 06:44 PM
Same would happen here - see GJP for proof.
09-11-2013, 06:48 PM
That's life. There are a large number of Hibs fans who still hold grudges towards McLeish and Mowbray for leaving, despite them both giving us some of the best periods in recent history.
Same would happen here - see GJP for proof.
Before my time, but was McLeish not slightly different in that he promised he'd stay but didn't(something along those lines, anyway)?
I guess the Mowbray situation is pretty similar, just genuinely surprised me as I thought he'd be a hero to them.
09-11-2013, 06:53 PM
McLeish's time at Hibs was my favourite time going to matches, so I'll always have a soft spot for him.
Anyway, ICT should be grateful for everything Butcher has done for them.
09-11-2013, 06:56 PM
Who cares. Wee tinpot club.
09-11-2013, 07:05 PM
Who cares. Wee tinpot club.
What does that make us then? Sure we have a better training facility and stadium and even fans. But that tinpot club out played us today & we have been struggling for the past couple of years. My point is we shouldn't act like we are better then any other club when our football has been dire. If all goes well this time next year I will agree with you on that. Clubs and players need to start at the bottom before they can reach full potential
09-11-2013, 07:07 PM
You actually heard him say that? What news was this broadcast on as a matter of interest?
09-11-2013, 07:10 PM
Not sure. We wouldn't be playing silky football. Inverness are physical and direct although once they get it up there they have decent pace and a good finisher. Recent away record not the best.
Inverness seems to work for team spirit.
I'd give him a go but wouldn't seem to be much of a step in any real direction.
Yes Andy, i know what you mean. That was just awful, and if Terry Butcher thinks he can get away with that type of football as Hibs manager, he might as well not bother hanging his coat up.
09-11-2013, 07:12 PM
I hope and pray that Terry Butcher and co are the answer to our problems.
In my 46 years watching Hibs I can never recall being so pissed off as I am just now.
Seen two teams relegated and other dross teams but if this appointment fails then heaven help us.
09-11-2013, 07:14 PM
I hope and pray that Terry Butcher and co are the answer to our problems.
In my 46 years watching Hibs I can never recall being so pissed off as I am just now.
Seen two teams relegated and other dross teams but if this appointment fails then heaven help us.
My Hibs MoJo is definitely failing
09-11-2013, 07:20 PM
Aye - we just had to get training facilitites and finish the ground .. wee bit of patience .. and great things would happen! :rolleyes:
Reaping the 'rewards' from neglecting the team for infrastructure. Masterful decision.
Still 'least when we can be arsed going we're miserable in comfort.
Good luck to TB - by sounds of it he's gonna need buckets of it after today's low..