View Full Version : Terry Butcher (3 Year Contract Confirmed)
Pages :
[
10]
after how easily ICT beat us at the weekend it wouldnt surprise me if hes trying to get out any deal to be our manager :greengrin international break this week so most players have some time off im guessing, no need for terry to be in charge for a few days yet.
Purehibee_MYB
11-11-2013, 02:21 PM
Got the flares mate :cb :aok:
Lighters at the ready boys... :cb
HibbySpurs
11-11-2013, 02:28 PM
after how easily ICT beat us at the weekend it wouldnt surprise me if hes trying to get out any deal to be our manager :greengrin international break this week so most players have some time off im guessing, no need for terry to be in charge for a few days yet.
Seriously:confused: After that debacle on Saturday, we need him in NOW.... He needs time to boot backsides and start sorting out the mess he's about take over...
Also the more time he has between now and the transfer window opening in January the better IMO to assess what we need to make ourselves competitive.:aok:
11-11-2013, 02:29 PM
With respect, what have they done so badly and how would you have improved the situation?
Our PR is very poor. You can adopt a siege mentality and conclude that the media just don't like us. They are not fair. And they are all out to get us. Our you can conclude that there are reasons why our PR and media relations are not the best. IMHO there is a shyness at the top of the ER hierarchy and we don't work the relationships with the media.
11-11-2013, 02:36 PM
doubt there will be any news about TB now. Really is dragging on. Must be haggling over compo for rest of management teamj. Typical.
Weststandwanab
11-11-2013, 02:36 PM
Not trying to be funny, but if something is "100%" done, why can't it be announced right away?
:confused: Because it is not done and not 100%
11-11-2013, 02:37 PM
Didn't even merit a mention on STV news.
To be fair, I'm bored of the entire saga so I can only imagine that STV feel the same. It was news when Hibs asked for permission and it'll be news when he's announced as the manager. Everything in between would just be STV saying that nothing has publicly changed.
11-11-2013, 02:37 PM
Seriously:confused: After that debacle on Saturday, we need him in NOW.... He needs time to boot backsides and start sorting out the mess he's about take over...
:agree: The more time on the training pitch the better - in fact, double shifts are called for.
Need to get some sort of shape and organisation and the players need to practice basic skills, such as trapping the ball, taking set pieces, movement on and off the ball, etc, etc, etc...
11-11-2013, 02:40 PM
doubt there will be any news about TB now. Really is dragging on. Must be haggling over compo for rest of management teamj. Typical.
Shall I list 10 other reasons it could be?
11-11-2013, 02:41 PM
Aye to double shifts. Get those lazy sods fit.
To be fair, I'm bored of the entire saga so I can only imagine that STV feel the same. It was news when Hibs asked for permission and it'll be news when he's announced as the manager. Everything in between would just be STV saying that nothing has publicly changed.
I'm bored with the entire club. As far as the football is concerned, this current regime has us living on the memories of the 50's and 70's history and have made us also rans in Scottish football, never mind further afield.
I don't think anything will ever really change until it changes at the top first.
11-11-2013, 02:47 PM
Sorted as far as Butcher, Malpas and the goalkeeper coach are concerned. But if I'm wrong then I apologise. I'm just passing on info from someone I know who is close to the deal. I can't say names as I don't want to get them in bother.
It's not or it would be announced
11-11-2013, 02:48 PM
It's not or it would be announced
Maybe maybe some other reason :greengrin
11-11-2013, 02:49 PM
Ok just been told by a very good source that Butcher deal is 100% done. As is Malpas and the goalkeeper coach.
My source is not Hibs related but is linked to our new manager.
He did say Butcher knows we need new players.
The source must be an ex goalkeeper or ex right back?! No reason to doubt you but I can't understand if it's all done we wouldn't confirm it?
Magnifique
11-11-2013, 02:50 PM
Aye to double shifts. Get those lazy sods fit.
Get them in 8 till 5. Double sessions and get the lazy cants to clean the bairns boots.
11-11-2013, 02:50 PM
We heard this last week. Were told butcher wud be revealed after the game on sat or today at lunchtime neither has happened.
Told by who?
NatureBoy
11-11-2013, 03:12 PM
I'm starting to think the whole situation is just one massive practical joke! Who is this Butcher character that was supposedly spotted in a cunning disguise at ER on Saturday, is he real or myth? More chance of seeing the Loch Ness monster in our dug out at this rate!
Wonder if Crystal Palace & Boro fans are as impatient as some of us hibby's.. they seem to both be taking their time to appoint someone, getting it right counts!
also
hurry the **** up
Heedersnvolleys
11-11-2013, 03:18 PM
SSN saying he is on his way down;-)
11-11-2013, 03:19 PM
Luke Shanley on SSN saying its all but over the line. Nothing new being reported.
11-11-2013, 03:19 PM
"All but over the line, Butcher on way down from the Highlands, expect an announcement tonight." on SSN Luke Shanley live at Easter Road
11-11-2013, 03:20 PM
SSN saying he is on his way down;-)
To Middlesbrough.
Tynie01011973
11-11-2013, 03:20 PM
Luke Shanley just been on SSN saying Terry Butcher is on his way down to ER to complete deal to take Hibs job.
Said it was 'nearly' all agreed.
IFONLY
11-11-2013, 03:21 PM
SSN saying he is on his way down;-)Just like the team!!!!!!!
11-11-2013, 03:22 PM
Luke Shanley just been on SSN saying Terry Butcher is on his way down to ER to complete deal to take Hibs job.
:jmcp:
TheFamous1875
11-11-2013, 03:24 PM
Just walked past the stadium and seen lights, cameras, etc. Probably nae action though...
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
E10 Rifle
11-11-2013, 03:24 PM
Our PR is very poor. You can adopt a siege mentality and conclude that the media just don't like us. They are not fair. And they are all out to get us. Our you can conclude that there are reasons why our PR and media relations are not the best. IMHO there is a shyness at the top of the ER hierarchy and we don't work the relationships with the media.
I will bet that once the deal is done, and there is finally some news, that the manager (and any others who may join) will be granted full access to the media with 'exclusives' or in-depth interviews being given to news outlets so that their journalists can fill their jotters with quotes and insight galore into the past few days and what the future holds. I would think that behind the scenes this is all being worked on with key contacts in the media, probably with club media first (exclusive content driving up membership/revenue) local media second (your bread and butter) followed by key national outlets. In the meantime the club are just publicy sticking to their corporate policy which is that until the time comes when every i is dotted and every t is crossed they say nothing publicly. You are more likely to become a poor source of information to journalists (and therefore develop poor media relations) by giving them information that is not correct which is why the current policy works in my book, even if it is frustrating to us. It also seems to be a model followed by many clubs...apart from those managed by Harry Redknapp! Just my take on it.
Purehibee_MYB
11-11-2013, 03:25 PM
:jmcp:
Get the flags in the waving position and lighters at the fuse.. Disco ball is plugged in ready to be switched on...
11-11-2013, 03:27 PM
Same colour as well.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=306MpG3YSyE
It's ridiculous all this stuff. That's why there's no coppers on the streets. It's all a waste of time.
So said Alan Brazil, as he totally wasted the policeman's time by being a total knobhead
E10 Rifle
11-11-2013, 03:29 PM
To Middlesbrough.
Greenworld
11-11-2013, 03:29 PM
AT LAST on his way down the road.....Billy mckay is in his boot im told from a close source
A few more hours then we can get back to player rumours :flag:
:not worth:na na::top marks:flag:
11-11-2013, 03:35 PM
"All but over the line, Butcher on way down from the Highlands, expect an announcement tonight." on SSN Luke Shanley live at Easter Road
Ohhh lovely - I along with the Healthy Hibee and Fit Fans in Training will be heading to ER at 6 might pop my head round ;)
11-11-2013, 03:35 PM
Any mention of the rest of his coaching team?
11-11-2013, 03:36 PM
Just walked past the stadium and seen lights, cameras, etc. Probably nae action though...
Everything is absolutely normal then.
For anyone interested here's a little insight to what's happened.
Last Sunday the agents had agreed personal terms with all three. Hibs then asked to speak to TB direct as from the agents side of things all wanted to come and were happy with the deal Hibs were given them.
TB was happy once he spoke with Rod and said he still wanted his team with which Rod was also happy to bring. Fr what I'm told all three still set to arrive. But ICT have thrown a spanner in the works regarding MM by saying he has a real chance of being the boss. So MM has had to think about this.
As it stands all three look set to arrive this week. Hold up being compo for backroom team.
This was from an agent who knows all very well. It's a pain it's taken this long but it's about getting the right deal for both Hibs and ICT.
Anyway thought I'd pass on what goes on behind the scenes for anyone interested.
Greenworld
AT LAST on his way down the road.....Billy mckay is in his boot im told from a close source
A few more hours then we can get back to player rumours :flag:
:not worth:na na::top marks:flag:
E10 Rifle
11-11-2013, 03:38 PM
Looks like the protracted negotiations have taken their toll on Tel.
11-11-2013, 03:39 PM
Last Sunday the agents had agreed personal terms with all three. Hibs then asked to speak to TB direct as from the agents side of things all wanted to come and were happy with the deal Hibs were given them.
TB was happy once he spoke with Rod and said he still wanted his team with which Rod was also happy to bring. Fr what I'm told all three still set to arrive. But ICT have thrown a spanner in the works regarding MM by saying he has a real chance of being the boss. So MM has had to think about this.
As it stands all three look set to arrive this week. Hold up being compo for backroom team.
This was from an agent who knows all very well. It's a pain it's taken this long but it's about getting the right deal for both Hibs and ICT.
Anyway thought I'd pass on what goes on behind the scenes for anyone interested.
:aok: cat
I'm hoping the third person is the club scout and not the goalkeeping coach as some seem to think is the case
Just like the team!!!!!!!
I expect better from you Tam. Not even a wee smiley :wink:
Ohhh lovely - I along with the Healthy Hibee and Fit Fans in Training will be heading to ER at 6 might pop my head round ;)
Wish I was a member of Fit Fans rather than Fat Fans these days..............
Gordy M
11-11-2013, 03:40 PM
cheers for that mate, all makes sense to me. Hopefully something announced soon.
Me too :wink:
I'm hoping the third person is the club scout and not the goalkeeping coach as some seem to think is the case
Think he is the same person.
http://www.examiner.co.uk/sport/football/news/huddersfield-man-steve-marsella-key-5951631
If yo uare referring to Steve Marsella he is the Goalkeeping coack and the scout :wink:
thx TC it is good to know the mechanics of what goes on behind the scenes. Coming as a package is understandably more difficult to negotiate than purely and individual/duo ESP as it would really appear to screw ICT in the short term to lose all 3.
yerauldda
11-11-2013, 03:41 PM
same guy unless this is a whooooooosh
Well join up when it starts again in the new year.. Best thing I have ever done .. !!
Gustavo Fring
The club scout is the goalkeeping coach I thought
11-11-2013, 03:42 PM
Get yourself signed up!
The next intake will be in the new year I guess. On week 5 iirc and I'm impressed thus far - very professional.
11-11-2013, 03:43 PM
thx TC it is good to know the mechanics of what goes on behind the scenes. Coming as a package is understandably more difficult to negotiate than purely and individual/duo ESP as it would really appear to screw ICT in the short term to lose all 3.
That's exactly it. We have to remember ICT are losing all of them. They must try replace the whole team so things are going on behind the scenes there as well that holds up things our end. As a fan myself it's hard to sit and wait but sometimes these things just simply take time and we aren't stepping on anyone's toes! Hopefully what I've posted helps to understand these things.
11-11-2013, 03:43 PM
Well join up when it starts again in the new year.. Best thing I have ever done .. !!
Might well this time.
11-11-2013, 03:44 PM
Think he is the same person.
http://www.examiner.co.uk/sport/football/news/huddersfield-man-steve-marsella-key-5951631
Typical of Rod. Two for the price of one :greengrin
11-11-2013, 03:44 PM
The club scout is the goalkeeping coach I thought
Originally a gk coach then found his talent lay elsewhere. He's come a long way from Fartown (wonder how the locals pronounce that?)
This cannae be right??????????????
I thought GOC and Riordan (FACT) were becoming manager, coach, goalie coach, stadium announcer etc? :greengrin
11-11-2013, 03:49 PM
Might well this time.
Well worth it ... Just the motivation I needed ..
11-11-2013, 03:51 PM
This cannae be right??????????????
I thought GOC and Riordan (FACT) were becoming manager, coach, goalie coach, stadium announcer etc? :greengrin
It's a Kenny Miller / Ian Murray double player / manager gig isn't it?
11-11-2013, 03:52 PM
Typical of Rod. Two for the price of one :greengrin
11-11-2013, 03:52 PM
Got the flares mate :cb :aok:
That's soooooo 70's, SHFC :wink:
11-11-2013, 03:53 PM
Might well this time.
Ok well put a note in the diary for jan and if you've not signed up you can say why not ;)
only kiddin' ...
steviej147
11-11-2013, 03:56 PM
watching ssn and all it says is hibs a step closer to getting butcher and jimmy nicholl took training this morning. nothing about butcher on his way down to seal the deal.:flag:
11-11-2013, 03:58 PM
watching ssn and all it says is hibs a step closer to getting butcher and jimmy nicholl took training this morning. nothing about butcher on his way down to seal the deal.:flag:
I got the impression from JN that he thought his time at ER was about to come to an end so maybe that signals that Malpas will be part of the package after all.
11-11-2013, 04:00 PM
Announcement very soon :agree: be patient :greengrin
Like the Cat says stumbling block was compensation etc for back room staff.
11-11-2013, 04:03 PM
Statement on official site that TB and MM compensation has been agreed!
aunty joyce
11-11-2013, 04:04 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20131111/terry-butcher_2262950_3533098
Official site
Islington Hibs
11-11-2013, 04:04 PM
Seems it has all but been agreed.
11-11-2013, 04:05 PM
No mention of Marsella?
11-11-2013, 04:05 PM
They went live to Luke Shanley at ER around 4.30pm. He made those comments at that time.
11-11-2013, 04:06 PM
Sales of Tena pads suddenly and dramatically reduce in the Leith area.
11-11-2013, 04:09 PM
No mention of Marsella?
Wouldn't expect so. Doesn't mean he won't be part of the team but not really part of the headline management team to announce.
No mention of Marsella?
Do clubs need permission to speak to everyone or are some staff on salaries?
Good pr from hibs. Only speak when you have something to say.
Because it is not done and not 100%
It was when he told me. The delay was down to compensation for Malpas with ICT
RSS Bot
11-11-2013, 04:10 PM
Official statement from Hibernian FC
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20131111/terry-butcher_2262950_3533098)
11-11-2013, 04:10 PM
Good pr from hibs. Only speak when you have something to say.
Indeed.
And they have done so as soon as they could.
Excellent PR.
11-11-2013, 04:11 PM
Wouldn't expect so. Doesn't mean he won't be part of the team but not really part of the headline management team to announce.
Hope you're right Andy :agree:
Do clubs need permission to speak to everyone or are some staff on salaries?
Not sure Radge but I'm thinking the success at ICT was a three man effort and hoped those three would all be joining up at ER. As Andy suggests, Marsella maybe not headline enough to get a mention
DAVE1875
11-11-2013, 04:11 PM
Compensation agreed for Butcher AND Malpas
:flag::flag:
11-11-2013, 04:13 PM
Hope you're right Andy :agree:
Not sure Radge but I'm thinking the success at ICT was a three man effort and hoped those three would all be joining up at ER. As Andy suggests, Marsella maybe not headline enough to get a mention
That's what I'm hoping anyway!!
steviej147
butcher and malpas confirmed ssn unveiled tomorrow.:hibees:thumbsup:
No mention of Marsella?
I've been told Marsella will be joining also - to get all 3 of them is excellent. This will be confirmed at press conference tomorrow when TB is at ER holding up the scarf.
TB on his own - I don't think have been good enough - bringing 3 strong characters into the club will help with the direction we take in the future :agree:
11-11-2013, 04:14 PM
Hopefully Malpas has an update on the moon. I'm still worried.
I've been told Marsella will be joining also - to get all 3 of them is excellent. This will be confirmed at press conference tomorrow when TB is at ER holding up the scarf.
TB on his own - I don't think have been good enough - bringing 3 strong characters into the club will help with the direction we take in the future :agree:
Excellent if that comes to be :agree: Folk might think ach he's only a scout but look at the talents he's unearthed for ICT :aok:
It's now time for all Hibernian men women and children to get the scarfs, flags, and drums oot. GGTTH
Let's get back to ER and support the Team.:flag:
11-11-2013, 04:15 PM
Are we there yet ???
Daffy Time :greengrin
Marsella is coming... Again trust me ;)
kevo1875
If we get the 3 of them Rod has played a blinder onwards n upwards hopefully
11-11-2013, 04:16 PM
Dafty Time
Fixed that for you Steve :greengrin
Good - solves the defence issues, Butcher in the centre, Malpas left back, Brownlie right. Still need a striker though...
11-11-2013, 04:17 PM
Ok doctor. :wink:
11-11-2013, 04:17 PM
this must be a serious amount of cash that the club are splashing out....i reckon Roderick deserves a little less stick...for the next few months anyway :not worth
11-11-2013, 04:18 PM
http://ictfc.com/news/club-news/1094-ictfc-statement
11-11-2013, 04:18 PM
Great news!
11-11-2013, 04:19 PM
Ok doctor. :wink:
:D
Just been told the contracts have been signed!
jakeshibs
11-11-2013, 04:20 PM
Indeed.
And they have done so as soon as they could.
Excellent PR.
well said
HibeeEmma
11-11-2013, 04:20 PM
this must be a serious amount of cash that the club are splashing out....i reckon Roderick deserves a little less stick...for the next few months anyway :not worth
I agree
Robinho08
11-11-2013, 04:21 PM
Great news :greengrin... It's been quite a saga. I blame the BBC!
Anyway I hope us Hibbies give the new management team time. Would be good if could salvage some of this season though. :flag:
some players will be a tad nervous of the whippings that are coming for them
Admins...can we get a whip smilie please :greengrin
ADMIN - Later :wink:. No pics for now please, there are 1400 or so viewing this thread and not all will have quick internet.
Desperate times call for desperate measures...
It is a fair bit of money yes - more than previous managers - so most certainly not a cheap option.
But RP knows that if he was to appoint another dud he would seriously be taking abuse. So this time he has splashed out a little hoping to save his reputation and get the club back on track. Gamble yes...but the importance of bringing all 3 in will help massively to improving us a club.
It's now time for all Hibernian men women and children to get the scarfs, flags, and drums oot. GGTTH
Let's get back to ER and support the Team.:flag:
Get right behind the new man
GlenrothesHibee
11-11-2013, 04:22 PM
If anyone is interested and has access to Youtube type in "Dr Terry Butcher Hampshire coaching conference" guy defo knows his stuff!
11-11-2013, 04:23 PM
It is a fair bit of money yes - more than previous managers - so most certainly not a cheap option.
But RP knows that if he was to appoint another dud he would seriously be taking abuse. So this time he has splashed out a little hoping to save his reputation and get the club back on track. Gamble yes...but the importance of bringing all 3 in will help massively to improving us a club.
i honestly think this will be sir Roderick's last management appointment
11-11-2013, 04:24 PM
So good on Malpas to reject the managers job and stick with TB and come to Hibs - he was showing serious passion in the dugout on Saturday against us.
So basically who ICT appoint now will be their 2nd choice...
11-11-2013, 04:25 PM
Onwards and upwards.
We have went out to get our man and succeeded.
Welcome to Hibs Terry.
Cat, thanks for all your excellent postings here. My faith never wavered despite some of the keek & pessimism posted here. If the Mgt team are announced tomorrow that will be 10/11 days since PF resigned. I don't have data on all our recent mgt changes but I suspect this is probably the quickest replacement ever despite the doom & gloom merchants. What changed this time was that instead of inviting applicants we had a replacement in mind from the start. If the last 10 days had been spent sifting through applications & conducting interviews we would have had about 50 Greggs suggestions on here & no one would have thought we were taking too much time.
For once I don't think there's any way Hibs can be faulted for the way they've gone about their business. Now we just need to get it right on the park! Welcome Tel!
11-11-2013, 04:28 PM
Welcome to the club Owain Tudor Jones...:wink:
11-11-2013, 04:28 PM
Welcome aboard the fabulous butcher boy
11-11-2013, 04:29 PM
Excellent TC! So, just to clarify all three are definitely, 100% coming and should all be unveiled tomorrow?:greengrin:top marks:flag:
11-11-2013, 04:30 PM
some players will be a tad nervous of the whippings that are coming for them
Admins...can we get a whip smilie please :greengrin
ADMIN - Later :wink:. No pics for now please, there are 1400 or so viewing this thread and not all will have quick internet.
http://www.elkgrove-laguna.net/forums/images/smilies/2/whip.gif
11-11-2013, 04:31 PM
i got a row for having a big one
Hibby Gav
11-11-2013, 04:33 PM
A very civilised release from ICT....good to see both clubs acting with respect for each other.
11-11-2013, 04:34 PM
So good on Malpas to reject the managers job and stick with TB and come to Hibs - he was showing serious passion in the dugout on Saturday against us.
Er, maybe. They may have just offered Malpas a contract til the end of the current season, who knows?
Don't want to be harsh on ICT, they seem to be a well run club.
11-11-2013, 04:35 PM
If anyone is interested and has access to Youtube type in "Dr Terry Butcher Hampshire coaching conference" guy defo knows his stuff!
Good find.
This is my line of work too so I'll see if I can pick up any tips.
Or maybe I'll sell him some of mine! :wink:
11-11-2013, 04:37 PM
A very civilised release from ICT....good to see both clubs acting with respect for each other.
Funny but when I read it I felt there was a few sly wee digs in there.
11-11-2013, 04:37 PM
Superb news! :thumbsup:
Investing a bit of cash in getting the right management team was probably always the way forward for our club. Get that right and the rest will hopefully follow. Lead the way King Butch! :flag::cheers::gun:
11-11-2013, 04:39 PM
To confirm, that's Butcher. Malpas, Marsella and Daffy?
Purehibee_MYB
Set off the flare SteveHFC? I'm waving a flag and the disco ball is in motion...
They're talking to their own fans, not us.
They have to be given some TLC at a time like this.
We've just ripped the heart out of them.
And the brain.
hibeemikey21
11-11-2013, 04:40 PM
Exactly my thoughts too. Getting appointments right consistently etc.
DAVE1875
With the international friendlies he's got over a week to get settled and get to know the team :greengrin
Better than walking into the job a few days before the next match
Set off the flare SteveHFC? I'm waving a flag and the disco ball is in motion...
Will do that in a minute :greengrin
Gustavo Fring
11-11-2013, 04:41 PM
never thought butcher would have jacked in caley for hibs , well done rod
Robinho08
11-11-2013, 04:42 PM
This is the fourth time that Caley Thistle have found themselves in the situation of having their manager head hunted by another Scottish Premier club, with Steve Paterson, John Robertson and Craig Brewster being the other instances.
I hope TB bucks the trend here...
11-11-2013, 04:43 PM
Oddly enough, on the highlights, when ICT scored their second goal the camera switched to MM and his expression was that of a manager who had just lost a goal.
:dunno: Maybe it's just me, but that's how I saw it.
11-11-2013, 04:43 PM
I hope TB bucks the trend here...
thought the exact same when i read the list
Eternal Hibbie
11-11-2013, 04:44 PM
Superb news, credit where it's due to all concerned at Easter Road.
And thanks to our in-the-know guys for their accurate info, never doubted. :)
Hibby Gav
11-11-2013, 04:46 PM
Certainly the one about the result at the weekend...but I thought on the whole considering they have just lost the management team that gave them all their best period it was pretty well written
11-11-2013, 04:46 PM
I think so too, but they are hurting and I'm sure Saturday's result has given them much pleasure.
Hibs might have created some bad blood here but spicy, competitive games are what the SPFL needs. Would be great if this fixture generates bigger crowds and a better atmosphere from their supporters in future, I'm all for it.
semaj64
11-11-2013, 04:47 PM
Great news, at least got some time before next game to get the players told what is expected from him as professionals
11-11-2013, 04:47 PM
:thumbsup: Cheers for that.. watching it now
11-11-2013, 04:48 PM
Comment that jumped out to me. "We have a special group of players here and we intend to keep them at this club."
11-11-2013, 04:49 PM
Cat, thanks for all your excellent postings here. My faith never wavered despite some of the keek & pessimism posted here. If the Mgt team are announced tomorrow that will be 10/11 days since PF resigned. I don't have data on all our recent mgt changes but I suspect this is probably the quickest replacement ever despite the doom & gloom merchants. What changed this time was that instead of inviting applicants we had a replacement in mind from the start. If the last 10 days had been spent sifting through applications & conducting interviews we would have had about 50 Greggs suggestions on here & no one would have thought we were taking too much time.
For once I don't think there's any way Hibs can be faulted for the way they've gone about their business. Now we just need to get it right on the park! Welcome Tel!
You're welcome mate. I think the board have been great in the way it's been done. I'm not Rods biggest fan but happy to post when he does do things the right way.
I think TB will change it around for us.
11-11-2013, 04:49 PM
Not the biggest fan of Mr Petrie but thinking he may have got it right this time
Discipline determination and team spirit is clearly a big part of this management teams success and are some of the key ingredients that has been sadly missing for a while at Hibs
Well done Rod .... Never envisaged myself ever typing that !!
Kudos to the club and to thecat (and others) - its tough to watch us on the park at the moment but this seems to have been a no nonsense approach to getting our men
lets stop the rot hibs, lets also see if we can rally the troops for the Partick game at home - bums on seats please
11-11-2013, 04:50 PM
Who is all going to Paisley then.
11-11-2013, 04:51 PM
Excellent TC! So, just to clarify all three are definitely, 100% coming and should all be unveiled tomorrow?:greengrin:top marks:flag:
Yes mate, that's what I'm told has been agreed!
11-11-2013, 04:51 PM
Oddly enough, on the highlights, when ICT scored their second goal the camera switched to MM and his expression was that of a manager who had just lost a goal.
:dunno: Maybe it's just me, but that's how I saw it.
Haven't watched the "highlights" - sitting through 90 mins at a freezing ER was painful enough - so can't comment fully.
But during the game MM certainly showed lots of passion and didn't look like a man who was about to switch clubs!
Hibby Gav
11-11-2013, 04:52 PM
Comment that jumped out to me. "We have a special group of players here and we intend to keep them at this club."
I saw that...but these days it's all down to contracts and timing...I'm sure Tel will try to get the ones he wants...although I think the one we all want will probably be out of reach for us by then..it's going to be an interesting few weeks. I don't think he would have come to ER without the promise of a budget for January and next summer.
Scottiedog007
11-11-2013, 04:52 PM
St mirren will be rubbing their hands here as I can see the away end being full for his first game in charge lets hope its not like Fenlons with floodlight failure after being 1-0 at HT !!
11-11-2013, 04:53 PM
This. :hyper::hyper::hyper: :applause:
Baldy
11-11-2013, 04:57 PM
With the international friendlies he's got over a week to get settled and get to know the team :greengrin
Better than walking into the job a few days before the next match
I'm not sure, after all with all these players we surely have away on international duty , I think big Tel will have a small squad over next 10 days:greengrin
TheFamous1875
11-11-2013, 04:58 PM
More coming up on SSN after the break..
11-11-2013, 04:59 PM
Theyre realy peeved theyve lost butcher and malpas.Thats football i guess
Flanny boy
11-11-2013, 05:00 PM
Well done to rp and all who were involved in making this happen
welcome to hibernian terry butcher we look forward to watching
you turning our club around and giving us a team worth watching again :flag:
11-11-2013, 05:03 PM
They all just repeated what chick young told us.
Delighted with this appointment. Everything's there to make him succeed,seems the type who will finally get full control from top to bottom.
11-11-2013, 05:03 PM
:agree: Seen this aswell
HibbySpurs
11-11-2013, 05:04 PM
Got to agree "knee jerk reaction" stood out for me.
Never mind tho.... We've got our men and that's what matters.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
11-11-2013, 05:05 PM
Just got this email from my contact.
"Hi mate, I am hearing tonight that the sticking point isn't compo - it is Malpas has been offered the ICT job and is going for it and that Butchers preferred replacement is none other than Derek Riordan which the Chairman isn't too happy with from what I hear. Derek has been working on his badges and Butcher thinks he has what it takes with the added bonus that he "knows Hibs, knows the fans, knows the expectations and would get the players up for the big games." Butcher wants to bring him in as player assistant/coach, fitness isn't a problem."
What happened about deeks then!!?
green glory
11-11-2013, 05:07 PM
This is a nightmare.
Chick Dung was right.
11-11-2013, 05:08 PM
Any news on Scott Thompson's position? I'm sure Big Ben won't be pleased if he is moved on
11-11-2013, 05:08 PM
What happened about deeks then!!?
did ANYONE actually fall for that one :confused: or even finish reading it :greengrin
11-11-2013, 05:09 PM
Hope this is the start of falling back in love with the Hibees
11-11-2013, 05:16 PM
Hope this is the start of falling back in love with the Hibees
Ach, you never fell out of love. It was just a rocky patch. You felt yourselves growing apart after so long, and started to question whether you wanted different things out of life. But of course you can't live without each other. You just wouldn't be you any longer. Til death you do part :devil:
11-11-2013, 05:31 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24897952 Welcome TB
11-11-2013, 05:39 PM
A show of real ambition by the Chairman and the Board. We now have to back them and the team. I can't wait for the next match at ER.
yeezus.
11-11-2013, 05:39 PM
Excellent news :flag:
11-11-2013, 05:45 PM
Quite chuffed about this.
Hated him as a player, but he's grown on me over the past couple of years.
Moon unit
11-11-2013, 05:46 PM
Excellent news :flag:
Radio Scotland announces The news of Terry's appointment at 6pm..minutes later let's talk about Rangers/ Charles Green etc, etc- Tom English slavering.... rangers talk still going on - time 6.45pm!..FFs!
11-11-2013, 05:47 PM
i honestly think this will be sir Roderick's last management appointment :agree: I'm in total agreement with you. this will be our great leader's last ever Hibernian manager's appointment unless he has to empty him for getting us relegated this season! he's carried the can, for getting men in on the cheap, and getting the wrong man at times(Sauzee) and he's got some good 'uns but they have moved on to bigger things through no fault of his.Mowbray/McLeish and Collins who took the descision himself.He must be at the stage , of thinking, if this one goes belly up i'm offski. the fans are liable to demand that too. this new regime must work to a certain degree, in giving us stability in the first year and a much better push for being at the very top end of the league in the next year allied to good performances in both cups and the obvious derby performances MUST be winning prformances. I don't expect a complete turnaround in a few weeks but we must have a better mindset come the N.Year derby.
11-11-2013, 05:47 PM
A show of real ambition by the Chairman and the Board. We now have to back them and the team. I can't wait for the next match at ER.
I agree about Board...the team have a bit of work to do to regain full backing.....
yeezus.
11-11-2013, 05:48 PM
Radio Scotland announces The news of Terry's appointment at 6pm..minutes later let's talk about Rangers/ Charles Green etc, etc- Tom English slavering.... rangers talk still going on - time 6.45pm!..FFs!
Watching Reporting Scotland now and that's what they are talking about. Pisses me right off.
11-11-2013, 05:50 PM
Unbelievable that BBC Scotland have managed to find a story about The Rangers to make first sports news item ahead of Hibs management confirmation :rolleyes:
yeezus.
11-11-2013, 05:52 PM
Unbelievable that BBC Scotland have managed to find a story about The Rangers to make first sports news item ahead of Hibs management confirmation :rolleyes:
Doesn't surprise me one bit, I'm so fed up with the BBC
11-11-2013, 05:52 PM
Brilliant news..Now weed out the wage thiefs and bin them!
TheFamous1875
11-11-2013, 05:54 PM
Judging by the pace and youth in the ICT team, I can see the likes of Vine being given a wide berth for the likes of Cummings, Stanton, etc. That's if he doesn't pull his weight (or at least drop some of it).
11-11-2013, 05:55 PM
Any news on Scott Thompson's position? I'm sure Big Ben won't be pleased if he is moved on
Sorry if this has been posted- is it the case that marsella is both the goalie coach and chief scout at ict?
Emerald
11-11-2013, 05:56 PM
Doesn't surprise me one bit, I'm so fed up with the BBC
And Michael Stewart saying Butcher must have a lot of belief in his ability. Cant they have someone talking up this appointment.
11-11-2013, 05:56 PM
Except there hasn't been any confirmation of the position other than we can talk to him. Bbc have already reported that we've been talking to him, so what would they say?
11-11-2013, 05:58 PM
It's always going to be that way I'm afraid. They're just giving their audience what they want. More people are interested in hearing any piece of inconsequential nonsense about Scotland's shame than are wanting to hear major news from other clubs. We'll get thirty seconds after they've discussed what McCoist and Lennon are having for their dinner.
KiddA
11-11-2013, 05:58 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7SgFTJl_4pg Malpas comes across well, I also think he might be the type of person the players don't want to mess with and I honestly think this is what is needed with some of them :agree: great that he knocked ict back to come to Hibs Welcome aboard TB and MM :greengrin
11-11-2013, 05:59 PM
They were doing it with Hearts the other day as well.
They rattled on about Hearts not selling any of their "best youngsters in Scotland" unless they got top dollar for them. Then at the end, there was a wee 15-20 second clip of Butcher and how he may be the next manager of Hibs. :rolleyes:
11-11-2013, 06:02 PM
did ANYONE actually fall for that one :confused: or even finish reading it :greengrin
Are you doubting my Contact?
11-11-2013, 06:06 PM
11-11-2013, 06:08 PM
This is a nightmare.
Chick Dung was right.
As was said on Saturday, even a broken clock is right twice a day.
11-11-2013, 06:10 PM
Great news! Let's hope we can get the scout in and crap on Inverness, muhahahaha. Nah kidden shame for them. We have been in their position before. But if it benefits hibs I couldn't care about ict
11-11-2013, 06:15 PM
And Michael Stewart saying Butcher must have a lot of belief in his ability. Cant they have someone talking up this appointment.
Certainly more belief than Michael Stewart who wont even test his ability but is content to sit with the other never will be's and talk a good game.
11-11-2013, 06:25 PM
MM saying its been left up there , FACT
11-11-2013, 06:27 PM
Marsella part of the setup ?
11-11-2013, 06:28 PM
Hear, hear! Key for me is we've signed a successful management TEAM.
11-11-2013, 06:41 PM
Hear, hear! Key for me is we've signed a successful management TEAM.
Exactly......... :thumbsup:
Make a decision early and go try to entice them.......Much better than Rodney & Co just sitting back and waiting to see who applies for the vacancy.
Terry Butcher and Maurice Malpas, Gary Locke is ******ing hopeless!!!!!
That Peter Guy With Roughie on the radio. Just said 2 and Half Years Contract... is That Long Enough, Too Long or Not Enough Time :greengrin
11-11-2013, 07:09 PM
That Peter Guy With Roughie on the radio. Just said 2 and Half Years Contract... is That Long Enough, Too Long or Not Enough Time :greengrin
Why do you capitalise every word? Must take you *****ng ages?!
11-11-2013, 07:10 PM
Why do you capitalise every word? Must take you *****ng ages?!
Oi You, Leave Him Alone :greengrin
Thanks Jonnyboy... it Never Stopped Him Using My Photo For His Avatar... :agree:
11-11-2013, 07:14 PM
A yam in my work was telling me that hearts are signing Mikey Stewart in January (along with skacel, naysmith etc). He also told me we won't get Butcher because Malpas won't move. Finally he told me if we did he would fail because Fenlon was a successful manager in Ireland before he came to hibs.
Utter seethe
11-11-2013, 07:15 PM
;3805344']A yam in my work was telling me that hearts are signing Mikey Stewart in January (along with skacel, naysmith etc). He also told me we won't get Butcher because Malpas won't move. Finally he told me if we did he would fail because Fenlon was a successful manager in Ireland before he came to hibs.
Utter seethe
:Ummm:
Scònaldò
11-11-2013, 07:16 PM
Sorry if posted before.
@BBCKheredine: Yes, just to confirm ; two and a half year deals for T Butcher and M Malpas at Hibs, through to the summer of 2016 #Hibs #ICTFC
11-11-2013, 07:16 PM
At last.
A manager with experience in the Scottish top flight.
11-11-2013, 07:17 PM
Sorry if posted before.
@BBCKheredine: Yes, just to confirm ; two and a half year deals for T Butcher and M Malpas at Hibs, through to the summer of 2016 #Hibs #ICTFC
Rod must have agreed to the fish suppers on the Northern trips
11-11-2013, 07:18 PM
;3805344']A yam:-)
in my work was telling me that hearts are signing Mikey Stewart in January (along with skacel, naysmith etc). He also told me we won't get Butcher because Malpas won't move. Finally he told me if we did he would fail because Fenlon was a successful manager in Ireland before he came to hibs.
seethe
Sounds like a right balloon...
All the honest Jambos I know are gutted!
11-11-2013, 07:22 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7SgFTJl_4pg Malpas comes across well, I also think he might be the type of person the players don't want to mess with and I honestly think this is what is needed with some of them :agree: great that he knocked ict back to come to Hibs Welcome aboard TB and MM :greengrin
ICT even have a cooler, better Tv channel!
MM did come across pretty well and fair play to him for taking the team and being an utmost professional,
Looking forward to better things under these guys at ER!
11-11-2013, 07:23 PM
Thanks Jonnyboy... it Never Stopped Him Using My Photo For His Avatar... :agree:
Wasn't having a go at you my good man, it just puzzled my brain! :aok:
11-11-2013, 07:25 PM
Feels like it's taken forever, but pleased that we've targeted one candidate and successfully brought him here. Looking forward to seeing the new management team make us play better.
11-11-2013, 07:27 PM
Welcome to Hibs big man :flag:
Let's hope that we've finally found a manager who will be around for a good while and who will guide the club to achievements commensurate with its stature. We desperately need consistent progress.
11-11-2013, 07:30 PM
;3805344']A yam in my work was telling me that hearts are signing Mikey Stewart in January (along with skacel, naysmith etc). He also told me we won't get Butcher because Malpas won't move. Finally he told me if we did he would fail because Fenlon was a successful manager in Ireland before he came to hibs.
Utter seethe
Hope so :greengrin
Persevere80
11-11-2013, 07:31 PM
I'm happy with Terry Butchers appointment but am very pleased to hear MM had turned down the ICT job to work as his No2. I think it says a lot about the board, club and Terry.
Welcome to the hibees family.
11-11-2013, 07:31 PM
Fair play to Rodders. He could have taken the cheap option with the likes of Shiels or Tango out of work. Shelling out compensation for a full management team shows how much he wanted them.
11-11-2013, 07:32 PM
Got to be totally honest here.
Firstly I'm pleased with the appointment. An experienced manager with a good team behind him who seems to have discovered over the last few years how to build a decent team in a short period of time.
But it has to be said it looks like he has a hell of a job on his hands.
Over the last few years as everybody knows Hibs have been a very poor outfit on the park and our last 3 managers have failed to improve the results or style of football. I cant help thinking that there is just something rotten in this club which we cant identify or shake off. Dont ask me what it is .... Pat Fenlon wanted to make us harder and nastier, but try as he might a decent start faded away to what we have now.
I want Terry Butcher and his team to become Hibs legends and have stands named after them and in three or four years time to see us all on here moaning like mental about big clubs stealing our manager coz he's so bloody good.
All I can say is ...... Good luck Terry & Co. Welcome to the hardest job in Scottish football.
11-11-2013, 07:33 PM
Also have a yam on Facebook just now saying TB has failed at different clubs of similar size of hibs. There's too much pressure, something always goes wrong..
They're absolutely Sheiiting it that we may have finally found the man to take us forward.
11-11-2013, 07:33 PM
Firstly I'm pleased with the appointment. An experienced manager with a good team behind him who seems to have discovered over the last few years how to build a decent team in a short period of time.
Over the last few years as everybody knows Hibs have been a very poor outfit on the park and our last 3 managers have failed to improve the results or style of football. I cant help thinking that there is just something rotten in this club which we cant identify or shake off. Dont ask me what it is .... Pat Fenlon wanted to make us harder and nastier, but try as he might a decent start faded away to what we have now.
I want Terry Butcher and his team to become Hibs legends and have stands named after them and in three or four years time to see us all on here moaning like mental about big clubs stealing our manager coz he's so bloody good.
All I can say is ...... Good luck Terry & Co. Welcome to the hardest job in Scottish football.
Great post
11-11-2013, 07:35 PM
I think that concern is shared NB but I also think that TB was very much aware of that when deciding to come to Hibs. I reckon his style and methods will shake a few out of their stupor :aok:
Wasn't having a go at you my good man, it just puzzled my brain! :aok:
Nae bother... didny even realise i did that.. so i will stop it :aok:
11-11-2013, 07:36 PM
Nae bother... didny even realise i did that.. so i will stop it :aok:
Aw Naw :greengrin
Welcome to Hibs TB and MM. Surprised we got them to be honest. Hopefully this is the management team we have been waiting for and we can have some stability at the club and get back to where we deserve to be.
11-11-2013, 07:41 PM
At last.
A manager with experience in the Scottish top flight.
I know, we haven't had one since Williamson.
11-11-2013, 07:42 PM
Good post
I reckon it is going to be VERY interesting over the next twelve months/two windows !!
All the signs are it's a "rebuild job" unless TB/MP can wave a magic wand over this bunch :greengrin
Looking forward with patience
MurrayfieldHibs
11-11-2013, 07:45 PM
I agree with everything you say here NB. I really hope that Terry & Co transform the club however I think the main problem is still there. Rod did a good job of stabilising the club and getting the infrastructure in place but we need someone with more business development/entrepreneurial flair to take the club forward and bring the passion back to ER.
;3805381"]Also have a yam on Facebook just now saying TB has failed at different clubs of similar size of hibs. There's too much pressure, something always goes wrong.. They're absolutely Sheiiting it that we may have finally found the man to take us forward.
Dude the are deluded and are looking to deflect the state they are in. They can sign Stewart and baw sack if they want but they've no kicked a baw for months and months BUT only when they come out if admin. As for Naysmith a transfer fee would be required as he is contracted to EF and from what I've heard he's liking the new set up and is doing coaching.
11-11-2013, 07:54 PM
;3805381']Also have a yam on Facebook just now saying TB has failed at different clubs of similar size of hibs. There's too much pressure, something always goes wrong..
They're absolutely Sheiiting it that we may have finally found the man to take us forward.
Some moron on Sickbag posted that Hibs are 'institutionally rotten to the core' or some similar pseudo-intellectual bull****. Obviously employing sex offenders, not paying wages, having several major shareholders investigated for fraud/money-laundering, not paying charities, stealing TVs, not paying staff, having Gazza 'I like pish' Lockey-Locke in charge and keeping your missus as a sex slave is a desirable state of affairs compared to having Rodders in charge.
Sanger
11-11-2013, 07:55 PM
I agree with everything you say here NB. I really hope that Terry & Co transform the club however I think the main problem is still there. Rod did a good job of stabilising the club and getting the infrastructure in place but we need someone with more business development/entrepreneurial flair to take the club forward and bring the passion back to ER.
Agree with all. At last managers with SPL experience who are winners and have played at the highest level themselves.
Dude the are deluded and are looking to deflect the state they are in. They can sign Stewart and baw sack if they want but they've no kicked a baw for months and months BUT only when they come out if admin. As for Naysmith a transfer fee would be required as he is contracted to EF and from what I've heard he's liking the new set up and is doing coaching.
Aye mate. It's just funny watching them squirm. "But but it goes wrong.. It always does.."
The latest cracker he's came out with is "we aren't the first club to have to rely on a cva and we won't be the last" as if that then makes it acceptable. Plums!
Some moron on Sickbag posted that Hibs are 'institutionally rotten to the core' or some similar pseudo-intellectual bull****. Obviously employing sex offenders, not paying wages, having several major shareholders investigated for fraud/money-laundering, not paying charities, stealing TVs, not paying staff, having Gazza 'I like pish' Lockey-Locke in charge and keeping your missus as a sex slave is a desirable state of affairs compared to having Rodders in charge.
Those are just their good points :wink:
11-11-2013, 07:57 PM
Those are just their good points :wink:
I even forgot to mention the imaginary uncle with the 14 PhDs, supermodel missus, penthouse overlooking Central Park, 4 ferraris, 3 yachts, 23 mansions and a Nobel Peace Prize!
11-11-2013, 07:58 PM
I even forgot to mention the imaginary uncle with the 14 PhDs, supermodel missus, penthouse overlooking Central Park, 4 ferraris, 3 yachts, 23 mansions and a Nobel Peace Prize!
Easy to slip the mind though :agree:
11-11-2013, 08:03 PM
Back on topic welcome to Leith messrs Malpas and Butcher
I have a very good feeling about this
Let the positivity commence!!
Glory glory...
11-11-2013, 08:04 PM
Just got a text this is 100% done guys trust me he would know.
;3805417"] Aye mate. It's just funny watching them squirm. "But but it goes wrong.. It always does.." The latest cracker he's came out with is "we aren't the first club to have to rely on a cva and we won't be the last" as if that then makes it acceptable. Plums!
Just shows you that the fans are quite happy with how their club got into the state it's in...
Just remember they will always be
'The club with no shame'
HFC07
11-11-2013, 08:08 PM
This is fantastic news,
Welcome to Hibs - Butcher and Malpas.
You have your work cut out lads.
11-11-2013, 08:11 PM
Just got a text this is 100% done guys trust me he would know.
Own up now. It was from The Cat wasn't it? :greengrin
11-11-2013, 08:13 PM
Own up now. It was from The Cat wasn't it? :greengrin
It was an explicit cartoon from SteveHFC.
11-11-2013, 08:14 PM
Most importantly, the manager must have the freedom and authority to manage. TB is a strong character and is bringing trusted deputies with him, and he will have the mandate and guts to shake things up. It's what we need.
It was an explicit cartoon from SteveHFC.
Ooooer cannae wait for it to be posted now :wink:
I know, we haven't had one since Williamson.
Yogi?????
11-11-2013, 08:17 PM
Ooooer cannae wait for it to be posted now :wink:
Sadly this is fabricated in its entirety - I had assumed we were all meant to take turns to pretend to be ITK.
11-11-2013, 08:19 PM
Wonder if they will be at Partick tommorow night
11-11-2013, 08:20 PM
Yogi?????
Stand corrected.
11-11-2013, 08:20 PM
Sadly this is fabricated in its entirety - I had assumed we were all meant to take turns to pretend to be ITK.
Just had a text confirming that - honest :wink:
11-11-2013, 08:21 PM
Just had a telegram through, 100% defo, Potter is NOT the new manager, repeat, NOT the next Hibs manager. Trust me on this one.
11-11-2013, 08:23 PM
Stand corrected.
Not 100% on it mate.
11-11-2013, 08:24 PM
;3805381']Also have a yam on Facebook just now saying TB has failed at different clubs of similar size of hibs. There's too much pressure, something always goes wrong..
You should suggest going out for a celebratory pint with your yam mates.
Tell him that it's wonderful that you all agree and want the same thing i.e. for Hibs to appoint Terry Butcher and Maurice Malpas.
That'll shut the goat up. :wink:
banchoryhibs
11-11-2013, 08:24 PM
Delighted that they've signed:thumbsup:
MM said in an interview at the weekend that ICT were the fittest team in the league for two reasons. 1. He and TB drove them hard in training - but just as important 2. The players had the desire and attitude to excel as well. I think that we've been lacking this attitude for years and it TB and MM can instil this in the club we won't be scraping along in the bottom 6 for long:flag:
Great signings:thumbsup:
11-11-2013, 08:26 PM
Not 100% on it mate.
No you're right. He tried taking Falkirk down remember?
11-11-2013, 08:36 PM
Stand corrected.
Mcleish
11-11-2013, 08:38 PM
Just had a telegram through, 100% defo, Potter is NOT the new manager, repeat, NOT the next Hibs manager. Trust me on this one.
:jmcp: :top marks
11-11-2013, 08:51 PM
Mcleish
McLeish was before Williamson.
Indeed, Williamson was because of McLeish.
Heedersnvolleys
11-11-2013, 08:52 PM
Delighted that they've signed:thumbsup:
MM said in an interview at the weekend that ICT were the fittest team in the league for two reasons. 1. He and TB drove them hard in training - but just as important 2. The players had the desire and attitude to excel as well. I think that we've been lacking this attitude for years and it TB and MM can instil this in the club we won't be scraping along in the bottom 6 for long:flag:
Great signings:thumbsup:
Point 2 is the most important though is it not?, it something that the scout must be good at, he must be looking out for the type of players willing and has the attitude to be trained like that. Not so sure we have enough players at the moment with that attitude?
11-11-2013, 09:18 PM
McLeish was before Williamson.
Indeed, Williamson was because of McLeish.
:embarrass :doh: :taxi
green glory
11-11-2013, 09:37 PM
11-11-2013, 10:02 PM
Fair play to Rodders. He could have taken the cheap option with the likes of Shiels or Tango out of work. Shelling out compensation for a full management team shows how much he wanted them.
:tsk tsk: don't be fooled ... its speculate to accumulate....the draw of a management team that have proven they can polish turds (or at least lower league players) and make them diamonds with a sell on value.....
Purehibee_MYB
11-11-2013, 10:10 PM
Fair play Rod! :not worth
Criswell
11-11-2013, 10:16 PM
There is of course no guarantee of success in football, but I am pleased that the club has at last shown some ambition in their appointment of Terry Butcher. He has plenty of experience, especially in our league, did a great job at ICT, has a strong forceful personality that will demand standards be raised and comes with stature and respect within the game. What's there not to like?
I think we will hear references to the "challenge of the job" a lot in the next few days. Lets face it, it is a huge challenge to turn this club round from its current malaise. Will he be able to do so? Time will tell, however, I am sure of one thing; he will give it his best shot and we should all give him as much support as we can.
WestEndHibee
11-11-2013, 10:33 PM
Fair play Rod! :not worth
could've spent it on Griffiths though :rolleyes:. Bloody Typical. Always too late.
TheFamous1875
11-11-2013, 10:37 PM
could've spent it on Griffiths though :rolleyes:. Bloody Typical. Always too late.
Would you rather've spent it on Sparky and have Pat still at the helm with only Leigh's left foot being the shining light in our otherwise darkness, or this?
Purehibee_MYB
11-11-2013, 10:43 PM
150k FACT
11-11-2013, 10:44 PM
There is of course no guarantee of success in football, but I am pleased that the club has at last shown some ambition in their appointment of Terry Butcher. He has plenty of experience, especially in our league, did a great job at ICT, has a strong forceful personality that will demand standards be raised and comes with stature and respect within the game. What's there not to like?
I think we will hear references to the "challenge of the job" a lot in the next few days. Lets face it, it is a huge challenge to turn this club round from its current malaise. Will he be able to do so? Time will tell, however, I am sure of one thing; he will give it his best shot and we should all give him as much support as we can.
i dont think terry butcher is coming to hibs purely for the challenge...i think its more about being appreciated and at hibs he will be appreciated if he brings success...at inverness he had brought unprecedented success, second in the league, cup semi finals, arguably taking the club onto a level beyond their wildest expectations...and how did the inverness public reward him?...crowds of 2000 from a population of around 75,000...if he was to win the league at inverness they'd still struggle to get 5000 through the gates and i think this must have been a deciding factor in terry leaving the highlands...he took inverness to unchartered heights and was rewarded with apathy...if he takes hibs to 2nd in the league he will know the hibs support will respond in huge numbers and he will be shown appreciation for his work in a more appropriate manner...inverness c.t. have lost their manager because they took him for granted and failed to give him the support his efforts deserved.
WestEndHibee
11-11-2013, 10:45 PM
Would you rather've spent it on Sparky and have Pat still at the helm with only Leigh's left foot being the shining light in our otherwise darkness, or this?
:fishin:
I'm really sorry mate. I've had a boring day, I needed a catch.
WestEndHibee
11-11-2013, 10:46 PM
150k FACT
LALthehibeeGAL
11-11-2013, 10:58 PM
great post :agree::top marks
Lal:wink: