View Full Version : east stand re build pics
Pages :
[
4]
10-06-2010, 07:55 AM
Managed to sneak up Gorgie last night and check out the progress of their new stand.
I have to say it's coming on a treat!
http://www.h2odaleziegler.com/show-image/329506/Dale-Ziegler/Sunday-Afternoon.jpg
The steel looks a bit rusty already! I'm assuming they are using asbestos to fill in the gaps and there is a Hibs top buried in the foundations.
10-06-2010, 10:16 AM
The steel looks a bit rusty already! I'm assuming they are using asbestos to fill in the gaps and there is a Hibs top buried in the foundations.
That's the shrewd Vlad at his best. He bought the steel 40 years ago from an old Russian scrap dealer. He's now sold it to himself and is 'loaning' it to Hearts meaning that whislt they don't own it, it won't affect their debt levels.
One problem is the lack of pink. It was pointed out that the other pink shelters were starting to rust anyway so in time they'll all look the same.
10-06-2010, 11:16 AM
That's the shrewd Vlad at his best. He bought the steel 40 years ago from an old Russian scrap dealer. He's now sold it to himself and is 'loaning' it to Hearts meaning that whislt they don't own it, it won't affect their debt levels.
One problem is the lack of pink. It was pointed out that the other pink shelters were starting to rust anyway so in time they'll all look the same.
I heard he'd scrapped The Widowmaker to supply free, very high grade steel for what will obviously be a high grade stand.
Vlad reckons it will only take 150 years for the background radiation to get to safe levels and then the new stand will be GO GO GO.
Disc O'Dave
10-06-2010, 05:30 PM
That's the end section on at the Famous Five end now......
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4044/4688701228_41371891f8.jpg
hibee4life1983
10-06-2010, 07:55 PM
Top notcharoo!
10-06-2010, 08:14 PM
and last but not least....
and not of Easter road but how nice is this...
that second Photo is class!!!!:notworthy:
10-06-2010, 08:30 PM
Now that the framework is in place, it looks fantastic! Can't wait to see what it looks like when it's finished, 6 weeks ago all that was there was a large pile of earth. :top marks for the builders!
10-06-2010, 09:14 PM
Now that the framework is in place, it looks fantastic! Can't wait to see what it looks like when it's finished, 6 weeks ago all that was there was a large pile of earth. :top marks for the builders!
:agree: and yet the cooncil canny fill a few pot holes 3 months after some snow...:rolleyes:
The Tache for Provost:cup:
Disc O'Dave
10-06-2010, 09:23 PM
A couple more.....
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4070/4689207824_813b350a1f.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4032/4689215214_ce6bbbae29.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/sets/72157623914155893/
Aubenas
10-06-2010, 09:29 PM
More great pics Dave.
Was down tonight to have a peek. Anyone who lives in Edinburgh - trust me, it's worth a trip down to see it. The stadium is going to be fantastic. Can't wait to come up into the west stand from the pie stall at the first game and see it full of bammers :greengrin:cool2::devil:
Gonna be epic.
All hail the tache!:notworthy:
10-06-2010, 11:41 PM
Got a couple of pix last night before the HoH party, it looks fantastic as you drive up St. Clair brae! :thumbsup:
Its almost a pity they have to put a gable end on it...
Hibee_Lisa
11-06-2010, 01:18 AM
Went along for a peak earlier and it looks fantastic :top marks Can't wait to see it finished.:thumbsup:
cockneymike
11-06-2010, 08:30 AM
Awesome pics again Dave - the builders must almost be expecting you these days!
I also reckon that this should not only turn ER into the best stadium outside Glasgow, I'd bet it will be very quickly prove to have the best atmosphere in the SPL too. The PBS has quite rightly enjoyed that tag for a few seasons - to be fair if you went to a pre-school, and filled them up with sugary drinks and sweets, there would be a great atmosphere there too - but we'll have educated and knowledgable football fans, as well as a great atmosphere.
I can't wait to get up there in August!
Joe Baker II
11-06-2010, 09:06 AM
The other three stands look good from Arthurs Seat as does the East from pictures - but does not alter fact they are pretty soullless when actually in them, and unfortunately I cannot see the new East Stand being much different though hope I am wrong.
sam armstrong
11-06-2010, 09:22 AM
The other three stands look good from Arthurs Seat as does the East from pictures - but does not alter fact they are pretty soullless when actually in them, and unfortunately I cannot see the new East Stand being much different though hope I am wrong.
As always, that will depend on how the team on the park is doing.
This is a picture taken by John, another one of the guys building the stand.
Taken at 4:40 yesterday, just after they had put the last of the girdery things up on the roof.
11-06-2010, 09:27 AM
Taken at 4:40 yesterday, just after they had put the last of the girdery things up on the roof.
I'm starting to touch myself now. :drool:
Disc O'Dave
11-06-2010, 09:54 AM
That's just cracking, isn't it?
Of course, it'll be harder to get meaningful shots once the cladding is on, and the gates at the West/South corner are less frequently open, so we'll have to rely on the builders more and more for updates when the seats and stuff start going in....
11-06-2010, 10:05 AM
Looking even at a 60% finished East Stand I'd like to know if there is still anyone who was opposed to the building of it?
11-06-2010, 10:49 AM
Looking even at a 60% finished East Stand I'd like to know if there is still anyone who was opposed to the building of it?
Try Joe Baker II :greengrin
11-06-2010, 10:52 AM
Why the negativity ? :rolleyes:
Stadia will always be "soulless" with no spectators in them
I was given a tour of Murrayfield a week before it opened after its upgrade and of course it was soulless - it was empty
In case you missed it - sports grounds are built with the purpose of filling them with
spectators that then creates the "soul " of the stadium.
:flag::flag:
11-06-2010, 12:29 PM
Oh WOW! That'll do me. :thumbsup:
11-06-2010, 12:36 PM
It's looking really good. I had a little nosey around a couple of weeks ago while at the shop, I wonder with the progress so far, if the whole thing will be completed a little ahead of schedule? Maybe in time for the new season ( I know the original quote was to be completed early in the season.)
11-06-2010, 12:40 PM
Thanks for those pictures :thumbsup:
It looks like the South / East corner is pretty close (enclosed) - where as the North / East there is more of a gap.
Hard to tell really as the final sides of the stand aren't on yet.
Either way it still looks amazing and all the tourists heading up Arthur Seat will get a great view! :agree:
I think if you check out an aerial photo, you'll find that the old East was very close to the North Stand, but that there was quite a gap between it and the South. The new stand will be farther from the North, but about the same from the South, except that thanks to the wider pitch, it will be slightly farther back.
I really don't think there'll be a problem, as long as the people in the stands actually make a noise.
I have to say I'm really looking forward to seeing the stadium finished and complete.
11-06-2010, 12:52 PM
:yawn:
Disc O'Dave
11-06-2010, 01:16 PM
It's looking really good. I had a little nosey around a couple of weeks ago while at the shop, I wonder with the progress so far, if the whole thing will be completed a little ahead of schedule? Maybe in time for the new season ( I know the original quote was to be completed early in the season.)
Whilst I agree that they are getting on with things well, I do wonder if we are getting slightly deceived by the speed at which the steelwork and concrete have gone up....I imagine it's not going to be the fastest job in the world, installing 6,400 seats, all of which I presume will need positioned, holes drilled, and then fixed to the concrete - unless they already exist in pre-assembled rows.
Can anyone recall what they are like in the other stands?
11-06-2010, 01:43 PM
Heartening to see our itsy-bitsy teensy weensy wee team stand coming along. However, in the interests of balance, could we not have another update on that startling redevelopment of the glinting chrome-and-steel state-of-the-art monolith, namely the stadia of our illustrious neighbours the :faf::faf::faf::faf: big::faf::faf:team:faf::faf::faf::faf:
Sorry about that. But 'watts' the story? How is the 'Pink Bernabeu' coming along?
11-06-2010, 01:52 PM
Heartening to see our itsy-bitsy teensy weensy wee team stand coming along. However, in the interests of balance, could we not have another update on that startling redevelopment of the glinting chrome-and-steel state-of-the-art monolith, namely the stadia of our illustrious neighbours the :faf::faf: big::faf::faf:team:faf::faf::faf::faf:
Sorry about that. But 'watts' the story? How is the 'Pink Bernabeu' coming along?
Superb. :faf::faf:
Cerise San Siro :dunno:
11-06-2010, 02:36 PM
Cerise San Siro :dunno:
The 'Camp' Nou Camp. :greengrin
cheltenhamhibee
11-06-2010, 04:35 PM
looking amazing:thumbsup::thumbsup:
11-06-2010, 05:15 PM
Why the negativity ? :rolleyes:
Because the guy gets off on criticising Hibs at every opportunity. He sits in front of his PC and uses his one available hand to type a whole load of negative sh*te.
He's as much a Hibs Supporter as I am the Ayatollah!
Disc O'Dave
11-06-2010, 05:33 PM
I notice that the workers are sometimes a little nervous when I'm taking pictures, but tonight, this guy was literally bricking it........
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4050/4690716245_8910b9ef36.jpg
The colour seems pretty well matched to the South Stand, you will be glad to hear :greengrin
11-06-2010, 05:35 PM
I notice that the workers are sometimes a little nervous when I'm taking pictures, but tonight, this guy was literally bricking it........
The colour seems pretty well matched to the South Stand, you will be glad to hear :greengrin
Is it just me, but it looks smaller than the other stands?
ionahibby
11-06-2010, 06:05 PM
Its our job to make sure they're not not like that hence the singing section or even getting behind your team vocally simples!:notworthy:
Aubenas
11-06-2010, 06:06 PM
It's gotta be said that those bricks are certainly narrower than the ones in the South......:greengrin:cool2:
11-06-2010, 06:52 PM
I think it looks taller.
And steeper.
And the concrete's a different shade of grey. :agree:
11-06-2010, 08:52 PM
First look in the flesh today. It is magnificent. Gonna be minted when finished. Pictures don't do the sheer scale justice.
It's gotta be said that those bricks are certainly narrower than the ones in the South......:greengrin:cool2:
I think it looks taller.
And steeper.
And the concrete's a different shade of grey. :agree:
No one's mentioned the rivets yet. :worried:
Nothing like the ones used in the other three stands. :rolleyes:
12-06-2010, 05:22 AM
Managed to sneak up Gorgie last night and check out the progress of their new stand.
I have to say it's coming on a treat!
http://www.h2odaleziegler.com/show-image/329506/Dale-Ziegler/Sunday-Afternoon.jpg
heheheheheheheheheheheheheheehehehhehehehehehehh!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12-06-2010, 06:19 AM
Where the **** are the goal posts:grr:
7Hero
12-06-2010, 07:33 AM
dve this has to be my favourite post on .net ever well played to you, a question though do you live near ER is it on your way to work, just curious.
Disc O'Dave
12-06-2010, 08:24 AM
dve this has to be my favourite post on .net ever well played to you, a question though do you live near ER is it on your way to work, just curious.
I pass it on my way home from work every day - well, I tweak my route slightly to make sure I pass it. Mind you, I'm in Pilrig, so it's not too hard to take a detour when going to or coming back from most places.
My recent trick has been introducing my daughter to the big climbing frame in Lochend Park - so now she regularly suggests a trip past the Stadium :wink:
12-06-2010, 10:14 AM
Well, after extensively checking the photos, I've found a definite difference.
There's NO Flying Saucer Hibs Badges built in to the metalwork of the East stand!
That's it, I'm returning my Season Ticket today.
Well, after extensively checking the photos, I've found a definite difference.
There's NO Flying Saucer Hibs Badges built in to the metalwork of the East stand!
That's it, I'm returning my Season Ticket today.
Happy 3,000th post keekaboo :confused:
Jamie
12-06-2010, 06:37 PM
Paintwork starting to match nicely :)
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3569/medium/12th_June_30_.JPG
13-06-2010, 07:10 AM
Different colour too................
13-06-2010, 09:23 AM
Apologies for quality, taken with my blackberry!
13-06-2010, 09:26 AM
Apologies for quality, taken with my blackberry!
couple more
13-06-2010, 11:16 AM
couple more
Looks like the pitch has had a trim. :thumbsup:
Long suffering
13-06-2010, 08:34 PM
is the wall for the cladding?
13-06-2010, 08:53 PM
I drove by on my way too (and back from) Joppa this afternoon. If you come up St Claire St you get a great view of the end of the West, the Famous Five, and the new East... and it looks fan-******ing-tastic.:thumbsup:
Disc O'Dave
13-06-2010, 08:53 PM
is the wall for the cladding?
All three existing stands have a mixture of brickwork at the bottom, and cladding further up.....
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3382/4598958121_d258dc2eca.jpg
Long suffering
14-06-2010, 11:01 AM
ah, yes ok
tony higgins
14-06-2010, 11:22 AM
I think the workers all seem to have a different shade of yellow safety helmets.
Could be a problem.
14-06-2010, 11:55 AM
First look in the flesh today. It is magnificent. Gonna be minted when finished. Pictures don't do the sheer scale justice.
I'm as excited as you are about the new stand, but i draw the line at taking my clothes off to look at it.
Perhaps later, after I've sat in it a few times, and feel a bit more relaxed.
14-06-2010, 01:07 PM
I'm as excited as you are about the new stand, but i draw the line at taking my clothes off to look at it.
Perhaps later, after I've sat in it a few times, and feel a bit more relaxed.
Lex just needed something to measure the gaps between stands with and when needs must....
14-06-2010, 01:37 PM
Was at a prty on Saturday and got chatting to a fellow Hibbee about the stadium. He doesn't live/work in Edinburgh and was saying he kept up to date via Hibs.net, how good the pictures were, how the grass was growing etc.
His wife couldn't understand how we were getting excited about grass growing and a building going up. Should he get a divorce?
14-06-2010, 01:53 PM
any of you brainy lot manage to stick these three photos courtesy of HFC into a panoramic photo!?
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100611/east-stand-today_2262950_2069177
14-06-2010, 02:09 PM
any of you brainy lot manage to stick these three photos courtesy of HFC into a panoramic photo!?
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100611/east-stand-today_2262950_2069177
'owzat? :greengrin
steviecarnie
14-06-2010, 04:14 PM
'owzat? :greengrin
i will take tht photo and try put the cladding at the side, what would people like to see? two badges either end of one badge and a puma symbol at the other?
14-06-2010, 04:15 PM
i will take tht photo and try put the cladding at the side, what would people like to see? two badges either end of one badge and a puma symbol at the other?
Badge and a Puma emblem mate :cool2:
14-06-2010, 04:36 PM
A large badge on the outside of the cladding so that you could see it from St Clair St / Hawkhill Ave would be amazing. :agree:
steviecarnie
14-06-2010, 04:54 PM
this is just a take on how id like it to look, that picture isnt finished at the FF side so did my best to close it up.
also along the roof would look fantastic in my opinion, also added some banners that could add colour to a shell of a stadium in essence
http://es.tinypic.com/r/oh75lf/6
http://i48.tinypic.com/oh75lf.jpg
14-06-2010, 06:14 PM
Is cladding going on both sides of the stand? The gap between the FF and the new stand looks huge... :confused::confused:
14-06-2010, 06:38 PM
Is cladding going on both sides of the stand? The gap between the FF and the new stand looks huge... :confused::confused:
Brando7
14-06-2010, 06:42 PM
must admit one side does look wider than the other
blairwallace
14-06-2010, 07:01 PM
was looking at the pictures today at school, mate came along and said that stand looks "shiot" replied with "its no even done yet yah fud!", "still"
also off subject the deluded YAM said they would finish second, seperating the old firm :faf::faf:
14-06-2010, 10:01 PM
Its always hard to tell from pictures.
Got a proper look a few weeks ago at East / south gap from outside the ground and it does look pretty big.
I suppose that the proof of the pudding will be when everything is finished and we can have a proper look from inside the ground.
I for one would like to see both gaps ( FF and South ) filled in from top to bottom. I know it seems a bit churlish considering that ER will leave every ground outside of Glasgow trailing.
But having said that, it seems a bit of a pity to have spent millions on what is in effect the final part of a superb stadium, only to have it spoiled by not having that enclosed feeling which can make all the difference to the atmosphere inside the ground.
I know there are a few factors to consider when doing that, wind resistance ( no jokes please ) and all that, but I would guess that in this day and age that things like that can be overcome relatively easily.
Anyway, as I said, we will see when its finished.
Few photos taken on Friday. Pitch looks amazing at pitch level, but still a little patchy when looking from the main stand top tier. Plenty of weeks to go though so it will be perfect for the start of the season. :agree:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/51130500@N03/4701408750/sizes/l/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/51130500@N03/4700772235/sizes/l/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/51130500@N03/4700812783/sizes/l/
Jamie
14-06-2010, 11:22 PM
The lines arenae straight and the colours different, WTF is going on :grr::grr::grr:
Billy McKirdy
14-06-2010, 11:42 PM
Its looking the business...I canny wait till the new season :greengrin
your right Jamie...they lines are well wonky :dizzy:
15-06-2010, 09:16 AM
nice one peev :thumbsup:
15-06-2010, 10:12 AM
Right to sum up. The problems with the new stand are:
It's too short
It's too tall
It's not wide enough
It's too far back
It's off centre
The paint is the wrong colour
The paint is the right colour
The bricks are the wrong colour
The bricks are the wrong size
The metal work doesn't have embossed Saturns
It has a Hearts strip underneath
It doesn't have a Hearts strip underneath
It looks crap from Arthur's Seat
It has no atmosphere
There is access for vehicles between the stands
The lines on the pitch aren't straight enough
The pitch hasn't got artificial grass included
The workers safety helmets are different colours
Nudists aren't (yet) comfortable sitting in it
Have I missed anything?
Get it sorted Petrie!:grr:
15-06-2010, 10:45 AM
It's too short
It's too tall
It's not wide enough
It's too far back
It's off centre
It has no atmosphere
Have I missed anything?
When are you changing your name to Tory Hibby? :wink:
It's too short
It's too tall
It's not wide enough
It's too far back
It's off centre
It has no atmosphere
Have I missed anything?
That big red cherry picker thing is going to mean some people have a restricted view :grr:
CapitalHibs
15-06-2010, 01:20 PM
Its always hard to tell from pictures.
Got a proper look a few weeks ago at East / south gap from outside the ground and it does look pretty big.
I suppose that the proof of the pudding will be when everything is finished and we can have a proper look from inside the ground.
I for one would like to see both gaps ( FF and South ) filled in from top to bottom. I know it seems a bit churlish considering that ER will leave every ground outside of Glasgow trailing.
But having said that, it seems a bit of a pity to have spent millions on what is in effect the final part of a superb stadium, only to have it spoiled by not having that enclosed feeling which can make all the difference to the atmosphere inside the ground.
I know there are a few factors to consider when doing that, wind resistance ( no jokes please ) and all that, but I would guess that in this day and age that things like that can be overcome relatively easily.
Anyway, as I said, we will see when its finished.
Does anybody have any idea how much the ground capacity would be increased by filling in the corners at the FF and the South?:dunno:
15-06-2010, 02:42 PM
It's too short
It's too tall
It's not wide enough
It's too far back
It's off centre
It has no atmosphere
Have I missed anything?
It's facing the pitch? :offski:
CabbageFan
15-06-2010, 02:58 PM
Does anybody have any idea how much the ground capacity would be increased by filling in the corners at the FF and the South?:dunno:
Would take the capacity to just over 21,250
JohnScott
15-06-2010, 03:52 PM
Few photos taken on Friday. Pitch looks amazing at pitch level, but still a little patchy when looking from the main stand top tier. Plenty of weeks to go though so it will be perfect for the start of the season. :agree:
Great pics Ken. thank-you :top marks
The Silver Fox
15-06-2010, 04:33 PM
I doubt if the gaps between the stands will ever be filled other than offices, definitely not for extraseating capacity. The cost would not equate to the extra revenue it would bring into the club.
15-06-2010, 04:35 PM
I doubt if the gaps between the stands will ever be filled other than offices, definitely not for extraseating capacity. The cost would not equate to the extra revenue it would bring into the club.
If the extra seats could be filled more than two or three times a year it would make sense.
15-06-2010, 04:43 PM
If the extra seasts could be filled more than two or three times a year it would make sense.
Do we have planning permission for any of the corners to be filled in?:confused:
15-06-2010, 04:52 PM
Do we have planning permission for any of the corners to be filled in?:confused:
Sure I read on here at one point that we had planning permission for an office-type structure between the East and the FF (IIRC), which could potentially be used for a hotel. Which would be ironic.:greengrin
15-06-2010, 04:57 PM
Sure I read on here at one point that we had planning permission for an office-type structure between the East and the FF (IIRC), which could potentially be used for a hotel. Which would be ironic.:greengrin
Oh please please please let this be true, and please let this happen. Imagine the stand, and the hotel up, before they get their planning applications out their cardboard boxes. :greengrin
15-06-2010, 05:17 PM
Just recieved a text from Hibs supporting pal saying a Jambo in his work, who has been slagging off the new stand, was seen gaping longingly at the screen on his computer. A couple of them sneaked up on him - guess what he was gazing with pornographic longing at?
Yes, a series if pictures of our very own new stand. Caught with his fingers in the till, his face was a picture as he tried to incoherently stammer out an excuse. Later he confessed to my pal that was 'totally embarrassed now' at The PBS and it's Asbo Stand and said that it's replacement must now be the absolute priority for them.
It's good to be Hibby!
Just recieved a text from Hibs supporting pal saying a Jambo in his work, who has been slagging off the new stand, was seen gaping longingly at the screen on his computer. A couple of them sneaked up on him - guess what he was gazing with pornographic longing at?
Yes, a series if pictures of our very own new stand. Caught with his gingers in the till, his face was a picture as he tried to incoherently stammer out an excuse. Later he confessed to my pal that was 'totally embarrassed now' at The PBS and it's Asbo Stand and said that it's replacement must now be the absolute priority for them.
It's good to be Hibby!
Sounds painful :greengrin
15-06-2010, 06:03 PM
I thought the plan for the future was to build home and away changing rooms between the East and the North stands?
the only way corners would be filled is if Scotland is involved in hosting a European Championships IMO :agree:
Fill the corners and construct a temporary second tier on the east stand to bring the capacity up over the required 30,000 for a tournament with additional funding
15-06-2010, 06:33 PM
the only way corners would be filled is if Scotland is involved in hosting a European Championships IMO :agree:
Fill the corners and construct a temporary second tier on the east stand to bring the capacity up over the required 30,000 for a tournament with additional funding
Big job that, no?
Wasn't there plans to add a third tier to the West if the Scotland/Waler or Ireland bid for the Euros had been succesful? Can't remember if it was to be permanent or temporary though...
15-06-2010, 06:59 PM
I thought the plan for the future was to build home and away changing rooms between the East and the North stands?
I doubt it - the changing rooms in the West are amongst the largest in Scotland, and the home dressing room in particular is fantastic. There'd be no need for dressing rooms to be built outside of the stand.
SvenNeil
15-06-2010, 07:37 PM
If they put a structure of some sort between the FF and the East it MUST include a club-run pub for non season ticket holders. Think this would be a great move :agree:
fiolex1
15-06-2010, 07:55 PM
It's too short
It's too tall
It's not wide enough
It's too far back
It's off centre
It has no atmosphere
Have I missed anything?
I have also noticed that the brick pointing on the other stands is a different colour grey and is 7mm instead of the standard 6mm.
Shocking workmanship get it sorted!
Hal Jordan
15-06-2010, 08:37 PM
I doubt it - the changing rooms in the West are amongst the largest in Scotland, and the home dressing room in particular is fantastic. There'd be no need for dressing rooms to be built outside of the stand.
That was in the original artist's drawings for the the new east and west stands, back at the end of the nineties, after the north and south had been done.
As I recall, the east and west were to be a lot lower, with a changing room block at the corner between east and north. One of the boys on here had that drawing as an avatar for a while.
This is it:
http://www.edinburgh.pubs.freeuk.com/pics/eroad.gif
15-06-2010, 08:47 PM
That was in the original artist's drawings for the the new east and west stands, back at the end of the nineties, after the north and south had been done.
As I recall, the east and west were to be a lot lower, with a changing room block at the corner between east and north. One of the boys on here had that drawing as an avatar for a while.
This is it:
:thumbsup: Nice bit of info!
Aubenas
15-06-2010, 09:00 PM
As I recall, the east and west were to be a lot lower, with a changing room block at the corner between east and north.
I'd forgotten about that - wasn't there a picture of Lexo looking down on the model?
I suspect that this was before the club gained space on the west side by buying the techie block at the old Norton Park school, and the feeling was there wouldn't be room on the 'footprint' of the old 'Tynecastle type antique stand' to build a west containing dressing rooms etc.
15-06-2010, 09:02 PM
Sounds painful :greengrin
It certainly does. Meant to say 'fingers', the last time i'll text using the phone. It would be nice to see a ging-er Yam getting caught that way though.
HibeesLA
15-06-2010, 09:06 PM
This is it:
I think it was this stand that would have seen a 2nd tier being built if Scotland were part of a Euro championship bid.
15-06-2010, 09:11 PM
How do you add a picture to your post, one already stored on your computer? Think I may have the one you're on about :agree:
robinp
16-06-2010, 03:51 PM
Any updates :greengrin
07hibee
16-06-2010, 04:54 PM
Any updates :greengrin
I heard the north east corner is deing develeloped inro a hotel,
16-06-2010, 08:22 PM
I heard the north east corner is deing develeloped inro a hotel,
Raggy? its rooby roo!
Rory89
16-06-2010, 08:30 PM
Cheers for the pics, the first pic concerns me though.
People can make jokes about how everyone's moaning about everything, but look how much closer the West Stand is to the South than the East. Why is this I wonder, it doesn't look right.
16-06-2010, 08:38 PM
People can make jokes about how everyone's moaning about everything, but look how much closer the West Stand is to the South than the East. Why is this I wonder, it doesn't look right.
The pitch has been widened by 4 metres, had the stand had been constructed exactly were the old East was, it wouldn't have been possible to widen the pitch.
16-06-2010, 09:32 PM
Partly the need to widen pitch to accomodate FIFA regs (so we can make money hosting internatonals) and we can'r exactly widen the south & FF stands .....and partly because it will provide massive advertising space (thus the move of cameras location to West)
on the cladding to be erected...Kerrching
16-06-2010, 09:49 PM
Is it at all possible to have a FAQ section on .net for questions about the east?
No extra posting, just the facts.
Wouldn't be surprised if half the posts in this mamoth thread are to do with the same 3 questions...
How high?
How far from pitch?
What's up with the corners?
I totally understand that people don't want to trawl through 29 pages to find out facts. But it would be nice if the thread was left to people posting pics for the interest of other fans. That way it wouldn't be bumped up the list for the same discussion that people have had a dozen times.
7Hero
17-06-2010, 05:36 AM
anybody else not a bit worried that dave hasn't posted for a few days ?
dave.......
:panic:
17-06-2010, 06:20 AM
dave.......
Very let down to be honest:greengrin
The fish man told me that Mr Romanov had been in touch with him about a move nearer Tynecastle so that he could take pictures of their new stand. Anyone else heard this? :dunno:
steviecarnie
17-06-2010, 10:28 AM
im off to chesser house today, and will pass the pbs on my travels. will update u all on the megastructure being built........:greengrin
Disc O'Dave
17-06-2010, 11:01 AM
dave.......
LOL!
A few of factors at play there....
1) Not mach obviously has changed, the guys are doing lots of work under the stand, tidying up bits of the outside etc :yawn:
2) Good lady wife is away in London this week, so my route home goes via nursery rather than ER.:rolleyes:
3) Even when I do nip past, the gates are never open. :bitchy:
4) My monitor is goosed. :grr:
Maybe it's just a warm up for you all when I'm up in Orkney in a fortnight :greengrin
Oh, go on....from last night.....(sneakily uploading from work)
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4029/4708268595_7251b870f8.jpg
Dave
Disc O'Dave
17-06-2010, 11:05 AM
The fish man told me that Mr Romanov had been in touch with him about a move nearer Tynecastle so that he could take pictures of their new stand. Anyone else heard this? :dunno:
I'm quite good with long exposures...but not THAT good.....
I must confess I already have a good few shots of the inside of the PBS....I took the pictures at last years Edinburgh Charity Game. :wink:
The away changing room is about the same size as Northfield Community Centre's - though less well equipped.
Long suffering
17-06-2010, 11:05 AM
LOL!
1) Not mach obviously has changed, the guys are doing lots of work under the stand, tidying up bits of the outside etc :yawn:
2) Good lady wife is away in London this week, so my route home goes via nursery rather than ER.:rolleyes:
Maybe it's just a warm up for you all when I'm up in Orkney in a fortnight :greengrin
Oh, go on....from Last night.....(sneakinly uploading from work)
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4029/4708268595_7251b870f8.jpg
Dave
HibeesLA
17-06-2010, 05:46 PM
LOL!
Dave
What? you're kids come before taking pictures of ER?? :wink:
17-06-2010, 06:05 PM
Few from this afternoon. Asked if it would be possible to get a shot from the tunnel but Fyfe Hyland had just locked the tunnel and was busy with David Hardie and another guy. :boo hoo:
So these are the best I could manage. First 8 photos.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/lookinglikepatrick/
zosohibee
17-06-2010, 06:10 PM
If you can you should get down there, was down today and it is quite something in real puff:flag:
17-06-2010, 06:19 PM
If you can you should get down there, was down today and it is quite something in real puff:flag:
You weren't the boy who started talking to me were you? :greengrin
It certainly is. Not quite a £51million pound stand complete with shopping mall and bells and whistles but it's not bad for the wee team. :cool2:
7Hero
17-06-2010, 06:34 PM
dave you can't go away for 2 weeks ill not know what to do...
the wife is freaking at the thought of no more big brother, im thinking the same for no more disco dave...
The Silver Fox
17-06-2010, 09:48 PM
Dave,
Cancel the Orkney trip, the stand update thread is a daily visit for me and many others. We will all feel personally let down and you will not enjoy the trip because you will be worried about what we are all thinking. Best just cancel it and we will forgive you and pretend you never put your work/family first. Agreed??
And thanks for the photos so far. :wink:
17-06-2010, 10:27 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100617/boss-stadium-will-inspire_2262950_2067700
John Hughes admits he can remember his first-ever visit to Easter Road's old East Stand and revealed his first glimpse at the new-look part of the stadium took his breath away.
Leith-native Hughes is a lifelong follower of Hibernian and regularly watched his favourite team from the old East Stand.
But he acknowledges that we when he checked on the progress of the newly-built part of the ground it left him feeling awestruck.
Hughes said: "I remember going to the old East Stand for the first time - running up those big steps and all of the Leith boys all stood in the one area.
"Last week, I was fortunate enough to get the opportunity to go up and have a look at the new stand being built.
"I was sat about four seats down from the very back of the new East Stand - right by the half-way line.
"That was quite daunting to tell the truth because you are very high up, but that could be the best seat in the house.
"Now if we can fill that it could become one of the best stadiums in Scotland.
"To all the Hibs boys who have supported the club over the years, but for one reason or another have decided to stay away, my message is: We need you back because we are one big family.
"I understand it is difficult with the state of the economy and everything else. But I would love to see these supporters come back and watch us play in the new stadium.
"The stadium is going to look fantastic and I'm hoping that is going to inspire everybody - supporters and players."
:notworthy:
Disc O'Dave
18-06-2010, 07:09 AM
dave you can't go away for 2 weeks ill not know what to do...
the wife is freaking at the thought of no more big brother, im thinking the same for no more disco dave...
I'm only away for 1 week, but it was IN two weeks time.....actually, it's now 1 weeks time, as I notice we have reached another Friday :greengrin
There are others taking pictures mind...I'm just lucky I can get down almost daily.
tam4hibs
18-06-2010, 08:26 AM
Was the pitch being moved?
I thoght that this was being moved closer to the West? ie expanded?
(IIRC there was the usual few groans from people saying the goals would be off-centre)! :grr:
The reason I ask if from the following photo - it looks like the pitch is futher away from the West.
Is it just the angle? Gap looks bigger wothout the sponsorship boards?
Not a gripe, just wondered which way (if any) it has been moved.
I have notcied a similar gap / possible track between the New East and the pitch from the artists impressions too.
Link: http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/4708268595/in/set-72157623914155893/
http://l.yimg.com/g/images/spaceball.gif
steviecarnie
18-06-2010, 09:59 AM
(IIRC there was the usual few groans from people saying the goals would be off-centre)! :grr:
The reason I ask if from the following photo - it looks like the pitch is futher away from the West.
I have notcied a similar gap / possible track between the New East and the pitch from the artists impressions too.
Link: http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/4708268595/in/set-72157623914155893/
i dont think they could move it closer to the west due to specific sized technical area's fifa/uefa needs
18-06-2010, 11:11 AM
I'm only away for 1 week, but it was IN two weeks time.....actually, it's now 1 weeks time, as I notice we have reached another Friday :greengrin
There are others taking pictures mind...I'm just lucky I can get down almost daily.
Are you mates with Yogi :wink:
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/Awesome-Hibs-boss-John-Hughes.6370597.jp
Disc O'Dave
18-06-2010, 11:18 AM
Are you mates with Yogi :wink:
http://edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/Awesome-Hibs-boss-John-Hughes.6370597.jp
If only! There would be no need for climbing about on bits of brick, or on my own car roof to try and get a better view some days.
It sums up being a Hibby - usually it's a bit average, and you take what you get...but on the rare occasion there's a wee gate open, or a helpful security chap, you get some cracking shots, and they are all the sweeter for it. :thumbsup:
BullbreedHFC
18-06-2010, 06:48 PM
was driving past the new stand this morning, had to stop to have a look :greengrin it's looking the mutts nuts :agree: :top marks GGTTH
Anyone who does not post on this thread saying how absolutely magnificent the new stand is is a yam!
Prof. Shaggy
18-06-2010, 09:08 PM
How absolutely magnificent the new stand is.:agree:
18-06-2010, 09:24 PM
How absolutely magnificent the new stand is.:agree:
Double bluff????:greengrin
Liamcee1994
18-06-2010, 09:47 PM
it's 1,000,000 times better than there £51 million stand :wink:
tony higgins
19-06-2010, 12:56 AM
I think the new stand looks bigger than the other three.
19-06-2010, 09:46 AM
I think the new stand looks bigger than the other three.
I think your opinion may be rather short sighted!
19-06-2010, 10:29 AM
http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/Regulations/uefaorg/Stadium&Security/01/48/48/85/1484885_DOWNLOAD.pdf
UEFA regs seem to say that the dugout needs to be 5 metres from the touchline so would expect the pitch to be moved:eyes:
Thomson1875
19-06-2010, 10:48 AM
Looks superb, Only thing that needs to be done is some big advertising boards in the corners... Or a big screen:agree:.
Jamie
19-06-2010, 11:48 AM
If only! There would be no need for climbing about on bits of brick, or on my own car roof to try and get a better view some days.
It sums up being a Hibby - usually it's a bit average, and you take what you get...but on the rare occasion there's a wee gate open, or a helpful security chap, you get some cracking shots, and they are all the sweeter for it. :thumbsup:
:thumbsup: defo totally agree mate or climbing up the walls at lochend park :grr::cheers:
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3569/medium/12th_June_27_.JPG
19-06-2010, 01:38 PM
Watching these photos as the stand grows, and actually seeing it for myself a week or so ago, makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck.:thumbsup: Can i ask anyone who was against this new stand, are you still against it, or have your views changed?
19-06-2010, 03:24 PM
Watching these photos as the stand grows, and actually seeing it for myself a week or so ago, makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck.:thumbsup: Can i ask anyone who was against this new stand, are you still against it, or have your views changed?
I was dead against it when I first heard the stand was definately going ahead, purely because I was so used to the old East and I didn't want to see it go. I now realise I was totally wrong. The stadium will be outstanding when complete, no doubt about it.
19-06-2010, 03:43 PM
I was dead against it when I first heard the stand was definately going ahead, purely because I was so used to the old East and I didn't want to see it go. I now realise I was totally wrong. The stadium will be outstanding when complete, no doubt about it.
19-06-2010, 04:54 PM
I wasn't against a new East Stand as the old stand had past its sell-by date and it was badly needed. I personally would have preferred a two-tier stand and I thought a one-tier stand would look a bit odd in comparison with the other (two-tier) stands.
I am still of the opinion that I would have preferred a two-tier stand but, having seen the latest pictures, I think the stadium will look very smart and it will make Easter Road the best stadium in Scotland by a mile, outside of Glasgow.
19-06-2010, 08:41 PM
I was never against the stand as i always said getting the infastructure right with regards to training and stadium were of the utmost importance. I think the fear amongst those who were against East Mains and the new East Stand was that the team would suffer as a result.
If we take the players who have been sold over the last few years out of the equation(they would have been sold regardless of whether a stand was being built or not) then i think it's clear to see investment in the team is going up if anything. Bringing Deeks back, the wedge we shelled out for Stokes, the wages Liam Miller must be getting and players with the pedigree of De Graaf don't come for sweeties.
As far as i can see we have fantastic training facilities, the best stadium in the country except Ibrox(and i include the DIY job that is Celtc Park in that) and a team that despite the disappointing end to last season is looking like it is going in something resembling the right direction. I think the board have got their decisions right and building the stand is no exception to that.
Horse
19-06-2010, 10:04 PM
I wasn't against a new East Stand as the old stand had past its sell-by date and it was badly needed. I personally would have preferred a two-tier stand and I thought a one-tier stand would look a bit odd in comparison with the other (two-tier) stands.
I am still of the opinion that I would have preferred a two-tier stand but, having seen the latest pictures, I think the stadium will look very smart and it will make Easter Road the best stadium in Scotland by a mile, outside of Glasgow.
Outside of glasgow? I personally think Easter Road will be the best stadium in Scotland bar non. People seem to be getting confused by biggest and best. The stadiums in Glasgow may be bigger but I think that the facilities and design of Easter Road make it the best in Scotland. Hampden has a crap view from many of the seats due to the running track, Parkhead has pillars, Ibrox, whilst well built is now beginning to age a bit so I'd argue that pound for pound Easter Road will now be the best stadium in Scotland by a long shot. It's not the size that counts, my girlfriend tells me that all the time!
19-06-2010, 10:06 PM
Are you moving to the East next season G?
I am :greengrin
19-06-2010, 10:50 PM
Are you moving to the East next season G?
I am :greengrin
Yip, moray billy and me. :thumbsup: Cant wait.
7Hero
19-06-2010, 11:30 PM
im moving back to the west boys, only so i can get a great view of the east lol
20-06-2010, 08:17 AM
Outside of glasgow? I personally think Easter Road will be the best stadium in Scotland bar non. People seem to be getting confused by biggest and best. The stadiums in Glasgow may be bigger but I think that the facilities and design of Easter Road make it the best in Scotland. Hampden has a crap view from many of the seats due to the running track, Parkhead has pillars, Ibrox, whilst well built is now beginning to age a bit so I'd argue that pound for pound Easter Road will now be the best stadium in Scotland by a long shot. It's not the size that counts, my girlfriend tells me that all the time!
I'm with you on the ground also..:cool2:
20-06-2010, 08:28 AM
here's one from the FF
Sweep
20-06-2010, 08:44 AM
here's one from the FF
WOW that looks excellent :thumbsup:
Disc O'Dave
20-06-2010, 08:47 AM
here's one from the FF
Cracking shot - shows hopefully that the ground will be fairly "enclosed" once everything is finished...
Brummie_Hibs
20-06-2010, 12:48 PM
here's one from the FF
Looking at the gap between South and East, and with the pitch being widened towards the East Stand, does anybody think there will be restricted views from the North and South stands in the seats closest to the East - particulary the ones further up?
To me it would look like the corners may be obscured. :dunno:
Godsahibby
20-06-2010, 12:58 PM
Picture from the FF looks fantastic.
7Hero
20-06-2010, 01:17 PM
why did they snip off the corner in the south stand ? always wondered that, at the east side of the stand..
steviecarnie
20-06-2010, 01:20 PM
why did they snip off the corner in the south stand ? always wondered that, at the east side of the stand..
continuity:greengrin
20-06-2010, 01:21 PM
Perhaps making it a carbon copy of the north saves on redesign costs?
Just buy 2 of everything?! ;)
john18722
20-06-2010, 02:20 PM
Because there is a road behind, same as the North
steviecarnie
20-06-2010, 02:41 PM
Because there is a road behind, same as the North
i very much doubt that is the reason, that road is a dead-end and doesnt curve round like albion road, there is no reason for them to build the stand like that other than as stated so it looks the same on both sides of the ground.
20-06-2010, 02:47 PM
i very much doubt that is the reason, that road is a dead-end and doesnt curve round like albion road, there is no reason for them to build the stand like that other than as stated so it looks the same on both sides of the ground.
There is the small matter of land ownership. It doesn't matter if the road doesn't go anywhere, it will be local authority land. It would be a costly procedure to get the right of way extinguished and purchase the land.
20-06-2010, 02:51 PM
There is the small matter of land ownership. It doesn't matter if the road doesn't go anywhere, it will be local authority land. It would be a costly procedure to get the right of way extinguished and purchase the land.
I'm sure there was a Bowling Club round there as well, so there would possibly be access issues for them? :confused:
I'm sure there was a Bowling Club round there as well, so there would possibly be access issues for them? :confused:That was out of the way D & wouldnt have interfered with the stand...i think jgi07's post is pretty much to the point ..:agree:
TheGreenMan
20-06-2010, 03:31 PM
Can someone post the birds eye view of the stadium to show the roads round the back of the North and South stands, showing why the corners are 'cut-off'?
steviecarnie
20-06-2010, 03:36 PM
That was out of the way D & wouldnt have interfered with the stand...i think jgi07's post is pretty much to the point ..:agree:
ive had a look on Google street map and hibs must own that land in the corner already as there is a line of blocks that looks like a dividing line, making the stand straight wouldnt have taken up any land hibs didnt already have
so i would again say its only for aesthetics,
20-06-2010, 03:38 PM
Looking at the gap between South and East, and with the pitch being widened towards the East Stand, does anybody think there will be restricted views from the North and South stands in the seats closest to the East - particulary the ones further up?
I dont think the actual pitch dimensions are changing, I think they are just making larger run off areas. So the only thing you may not be able to see is the run off area.
20-06-2010, 03:51 PM
The pitch is changing, It will be 4 meters wider.
20-06-2010, 04:13 PM
The pitch is changing, It will be 4 meters wider.
:faint:
we will never get a ball in the box from a corner with another 2 metres to lob it in....can hardly beat the first man at the moment :grr::grr:
HibeesLA
20-06-2010, 05:05 PM
ive had a look on Google street map and hibs must own that land in the corner already as there is a line of blocks that looks like a dividing line, making the stand straight wouldnt have taken up any land hibs didnt already have
Looking at the documents filed with the council, it would appear that Hibs do not own the land, and therefore a full corner could not have been built.
http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=50702361&ext=pdf
Document may take a while to load.
20-06-2010, 08:43 PM
Looking at the documents filed with the council, it would appear that Hibs do not own the land, and therefore a full corner could not have been built.
http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=50702361&ext=pdf
Document may take a while to load.
I know that HFC tried and failed to buy the bowling club, not so sure about the other buildings though...
21-06-2010, 08:40 AM
No, we don't own it. It would have been plain daft to cut off corner of a stand and limit the seating just to match a far corner elsewhere!
21-06-2010, 09:30 AM
I know that HFC tried and failed to buy the bowling club, not so sure about the other buildings though...
Does the bowling club still exist?
21-06-2010, 09:37 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100618/east-stand-progress_2262950_2074059
21-06-2010, 12:15 PM
Maybe Hibs didn't own the land when those stands were built. After all, that was fifteen years ago now.
I'm not claiming to know one way or the other but my impression at the time was that it was still a public access road in '95.
JoJo_07
21-06-2010, 12:29 PM
Link to Google Maps here (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Easter+Road,+Edinburgh&sll=53.800651,-4.064941&sspn=20.456475,22.719727&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Easter+Rd,+Edinburgh,+United+Kingdom&ll=55.961399,-3.165189&spn=0.004714,0.005547&t=h&z=17).
From the streetview option (http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Easter+Road,+Edinburgh&sll=53.800651,-4.064941&sspn=20.456475,22.719727&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Easter+Rd,+Edinburgh,+United+Kingdom&t=h&ll=55.960828,-3.163977&spn=0.004264,0.011094&z=16&layer=c&cbll=55.960966,-3.164508&panoid=v8SGcmZiO53IIbJPDrSqEg&cbp=12,29.59,,0,19.27) you can see why Hibs had to design the stand the way it is. Not sure if there is anything now on the land that was the bowling green BUT would imaging access will have to be maintained.
21-06-2010, 01:20 PM
I think this may be it!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/ospreywatcher/4676751334/sizes/l/
scott7_0(Prague)
21-06-2010, 01:37 PM
No the old St.Andrews Club was bought out and the members received a nice little amount for there part!
EskbankHibby
21-06-2010, 01:44 PM
Ran past the stadium last night, sprinklers on and both stand and surface looking magnificent.
21-06-2010, 02:25 PM
No the old St.Andrews Club was bought out and the members received a nice little amount for there part!
any idea who bought it out of interest?
21-06-2010, 03:10 PM
http://www.flickr.com/photos/16806405@N02/
Couple of pics from today... workies beaverin away.. sure a could spot the tach checkin on them fae the 1875.. :greengrin
no sure if that links workin will check it out..
21-06-2010, 03:13 PM
http://http://www.flickr.com/photos/16806405@N02/
Couple of pics from today... workies beaverin away.. sure a could spot the tach checkin on them fae the 1875.. :greengrin
Links not working :boo hoo:
21-06-2010, 03:14 PM
try the other link
21-06-2010, 03:15 PM
2nd link is :thumbsup:
seanshow
21-06-2010, 09:09 PM
This man made structure has been photographed so many times and from every angle......
that reminds me, whatever happened to Pamela Anderson?
kudos to all the takers btw much appreciated. :wink:
oregonhibby
22-06-2010, 10:48 AM
This time all the way round
Jamie
22-06-2010, 02:55 PM
I think this may be it!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/ospreywatcher/4676751334/sizes/l/
:thumbsup: the guy is defo waving to you mate
http://www.flickr.com/photos/ospreywatcher/4676771916/sizes/l/
linlithgowhibbie
22-06-2010, 03:05 PM
Give me a Y,
Give me a M
Give me a C
Give me an A
Kyle A
22-06-2010, 04:21 PM
http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=11755fcb5a2b5bf8e3ca70218ae05f25&prevstart=0
3d image of ER with new stand
22-06-2010, 04:36 PM
http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=11755fcb5a2b5bf8e3ca70218ae05f25&prevstart=0
3d image of ER with new standI've seen that image before somewhere! :wink:
Kyle A
22-06-2010, 04:38 PM
I've seen that image before somewhere! :wink:
Thought i was being cool, should have known peeps on this forum would have been there first
At least with the Saturn club badge you could tell what the cut outs on the metal work were supposed to represent.
These just look like holes :grr:
22-06-2010, 04:43 PM
22-06-2010, 05:10 PM
Give me a Y,
Give me a M
Give me a C
Give me an A
What ever floats yer boat mate:greengrin
OtterHibee
22-06-2010, 06:38 PM
A few from Sunday here (http://www.flickr.com/photos/nala0801/sets/72157624209036669/).
That was the first I'd managed to get across to see it and it really does look magnificent, particularly so from Arthur's Seat.
Well done Hibs :top marks
hibee4life1983
22-06-2010, 06:54 PM
Flew over the stadium on sunday and the new east stand looks more imposing than the west, the whole thing looked superb, going to be stunning when complete.
HibeesLA
22-06-2010, 08:26 PM
A few from Sunday here (http://www.flickr.com/photos/nala0801/sets/72157624209036669/).
That was the first I'd managed to get across to see it and it really does look magnificent, particularly so from Arthur's Seat.
Well done Hibs :top marks
Fifer, picture DSC_1315 is an awsome picture, and is now my PC Background! :thumbsup:
Groathillgrump
22-06-2010, 08:54 PM
Flew over the stadium on sunday and the new east stand looks more imposing than the west, the whole thing looked superb, going to be stunning when complete.
Cue the 'our stand is better than your stand' debate. :greengrin
23-06-2010, 10:56 PM
Few wee questions...
How many rows up is the walkway and how wide will it be?
Anybody got the links for the planned corner infills?
What landscaping will be done at the back of the stand? Will a wall be built around it? As the stand is raised will we still have some steps like before? And how are the old gates being incorparated in the new stand?
Cheers! :greengrin
24-06-2010, 06:03 AM
Few wee questions...
How many rows up is the walkway and how wide will it be?
Anybody got the links for the planned corner infills?
What landscaping will be done at the back of the stand? Will a wall be built around it? As the stand is raised will we still have some steps like before? And how are the old gates being incorparated in the new stand?
Cheers! :greengrin
I believe that the landscaping at the back will include flower beds with a hibs badge design on them, no confirmation on the sort flowers to be used yet. The road will be red brick, they decided against yellow as it was a bit twee.
The green gates have been melted down and reshaped to look like wallace mercers coffin and it will now be buried where the silly bint failed to hide her hearts strip.
FACT
Hibs07p
24-06-2010, 06:45 AM
I believe that the landscaping at the back will include flower beds with a hibs badge design on them, no confirmation on the sort flowers to be used yet. The road will be red brick, they decided against yellow as it was a bit twee.
The green gates have been melted down and reshaped to look like wallace mercers coffin and it will now be buried where the silly bint failed to hide her hearts strip.
FACT
:faf::faf::faf:
Disc O'Dave
24-06-2010, 07:38 AM
The scene as of last night.....
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1065/4729848164_34aa6f2bc9.jpg
Who else things I'm going to miss the cladding going on next week when I'm away?
I'll probably get back a week on Sunday and it'll already be the Dave Clark Five stand.
24-06-2010, 07:40 AM
FACT
:faf::faf::faf::thumbsup::thumbsup::top marks
25-06-2010, 07:55 AM
Here is one that was e-mailed to me :thumbsup:
The picture is courtesy of James Smith (AKA Smiggy 7-0), who was flown over Easter Road on 21-06-2010.
Thanks Jimmy for allowing the use of this picture...
Smiggy 7-0
25-06-2010, 09:56 AM
Smiggy 7-0 here
Thanks to H18sry for posting pic via Ants and to my son Paul(Biggles)for a safe flight.
Hope to get similar shot when completed.
Chocs away chaps.:agree:
madhibby
25-06-2010, 10:03 AM
So this photo from the air seems to not support the view that the new East stand is not as long as the existing West stand and is therefore further away from both the South and Famous Five stands?
Or am I wrong?
Hal Jordan
25-06-2010, 10:10 AM
You're wrong. :wink:
It is the same length as the west, certainly, but as it is built further east, it is further away from the north and south than the west is, hence the need for the fill-ins...
Arch Stanton
25-06-2010, 10:52 AM
Who else things I'm going to miss the cladding going on next week when I'm away?
I'll probably get back a week on Sunday and it'll already be the Dave Clark Five stand.
Not a big miss I don't think - the cladding will just be the same white stuff as the other stands - be different if it was good ol' traditional corrugated green.
Anyway, I think the roof might be next - when I was there this morning they were putting up netting under the roof girders.
madhibby
25-06-2010, 10:53 AM
You're wrong. :wink:
It is the same length as the west, certainly, but as it is built further east, it is further away from the north and south than the west is, hence the need for the fill-ins...
I think I follow what you are saying. So the new East is further away from the pitch than the current West stand, in other words it has a wider run off area for the players?
So in terms of closeness to the pich it would be better to be in the West rather than the East although that is offset by the steeper one tier stand in the East compared with the lower rake in the West stand if you get my drift?
Brummie_Hibs
25-06-2010, 11:06 AM
I think I follow what you are saying. So the new East is further away from the pitch than the current West stand, in other words it has a wider run off area for the players?
So in terms of closeness to the pich it would be better to be in the West rather than the East although that is offset by the steeper one tier stand in the East compared with the lower rake in the West stand if you get my drift?
No, The East Stand has moved further east because the pitch has been widened, and the run off area will be wider next to the West Stand to meet FIFA regulations, so you are actually better being in the East Stand to get closer to the action.
helsbels
25-06-2010, 11:10 AM
It is the same length as the west, certainly, but as it is built further east, it is further away from the north and south than the west is, hence the need for the fill-ins
The corners are being fill in with advertising boards.
25-06-2010, 11:11 AM
is the edge of the ff stand now in line with the east side touchline?
25-06-2010, 11:13 AM
I'm hopeless at visionalising things - I need a picture
It would be useful to see a plan of stands and pitch to help make sense of the new set-up .. anyone have such a thing?
25-06-2010, 11:15 AM
It would be useful to see a plan of stands and pitch to help make sense of the new set-up .. anyone have such a thing?
I would think so. :greengrin
25-06-2010, 11:26 AM
Smiggy 7-0 here
Thanks to H18sry for posting pic via Ants and to my son Paul(Biggles)for a safe flight.
Hope to get similar shot when completed.
Chocs away chaps.:agree:
cheers for the photo, its a good view of how the stadium is shaping up, im lookin forward to more :wink:
Craigyno1
25-06-2010, 11:44 AM
I've been thinking that for a while and was surprised this wasnt mentioned before things like the colour of the steel framework were debated! :wink:
Maybe it was and I just missed it!
EskbankHibby
25-06-2010, 11:45 AM
Ran past again last night, all looking superb.
I ran past at about 7pm and there were at least 3 guys with hi-vis jackets on still buzzing about the new stand working.
Hope there not trying to rack up unauthorised overtime behind Rod's back.:tsk tsk::greengrin
25-06-2010, 11:49 AM
Ran past again last night, all looking superb.
I ran past at about 7pm and there were at least 3 guys with hi-vis jackets on still buzzing about the new stand working.
Hope there not trying to rack up unauthorised overtime behind Rod's back.:tsk tsk::greengrin
after the stand we should get these guys on the tramworks, everytime i pass the Gyle theres no one there.
Hal Jordan
25-06-2010, 12:06 PM
is the edge of the ff stand now in line with the east side touchline?
I hope so, move the pitch any further East and you'd have restricted views from the North East corner of the FF. You'd never see anybody taking a corner. :bitchy:
(edit, I see this has started to be an issue)
When the old East was in place, the touchline was pretty much in line with the edges of the North and South, as you can see here....
http://tims92.webs.com/Hibernian/Easter%20Road%207.jpg
25-06-2010, 12:42 PM
I hope so, move the pitch any further East and you'd have restricted views from the North East corner of the FF. You'd never see anybody taking a corner. :bitchy:
When the old East was in place, the touchline was pretty much in line with the edges of the North and South, as you can see here....
This is how the pitch used to look on the west side...
http://tims92.webs.com/Hibernian/Easter%20Road%208.jpg
I take your point. The pitch is already lop-sided towards the east and it will look a bit mental if the pitch only grows eastwards to add the extra 5 yards width.
tam4hibs
25-06-2010, 01:08 PM
I thought it wasnt the actual pitch that was moving eastwards - instead a 'running track' being put infront of the East?!
Think the Uefa compliant thing was not so much for a bigger pitch but bigger run-off areas?!
Im made aware this is meant to be made of the new synthetic grass. Easier to maintain and stops the grass getting cut up where the linesman is running constantly.
25-06-2010, 01:42 PM
It certainly won't be a 'running track' as there isn't anywere near enough space. The pitch will look a bit daft being so out of line with the stands behind the goal, the ground will still be superb though. Much better than that corrugated ramshackle they call Home in Gorgie.
Were will the advertising hoardings be in the West, now there is no wall for them to be fixed to? I noticed the old East fence is running through the middle of the walkway there which looks tighter than previous? Why do we need a path infront of the fence anyway, when there will be astroturf all around the pitch?
Apologies if my post is a bit all over the place, i'm posting from my phone.
madhibby
25-06-2010, 02:05 PM
This is how the pitch used to look on the west side...
http://tims92.webs.com/Hibernian/Easter%20Road%208.jpg
I take your point. The pitch is already lop-sided towards the east and it will look a bit mental if the pitch only grows eastwards to add the extra 5 yards width.
The pitch is being widened by 4/5 metres, however that has included moving it Westward, thus the loss of one row of seats in the West Stand.
I don't know the exact dimensions of the move, is it 50% of the increased width or not but I assume the intention is to have the goals in the centre of both behind the goals stands!
Arch Stanton
25-06-2010, 02:34 PM
It certainly won't be a 'running track' as there isn't anywere near enough space. The pitch will look a bit daft being so out of line with the stands behind the goal, the ground will still be superb though. Much better than that corrugated ramshackle they call Home in Gorgie.
Were will the advertising hoardings be in the West, now there is no wall for them to be fixed to? I noticed the old East fence is running through the middle of the walkway there which looks tighter than previous? Why do we need a path infront of the fence anyway, when there will be astroturf all around the pitch?
Apologies if my post is a bit all over the place, i'm posting from my phone.
Whether you call it a "running track" or a "run-off area" the point is that the pitch will be exactly the same size as last season and in exactly the same place.
As regards the advertising it could well be that collapsible freestanding advertising boards will be allowed in the run-off area - just guessing.
Sergio sledge
25-06-2010, 02:38 PM
Found this (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=52489778&ext=pdf) online, looks like the pitch will be slightly past the ends of the North and South Stands.
tam4hibs
25-06-2010, 03:04 PM
Whether you call it a "running track" or a "run-off area" the point is that the pitch will be exactly the same size as last season and in exactly the same place.
As regards the advertising it could well be that collapsible freestanding advertising boards will be allowed in the run-off area - just guessing.
Agreed mate.
My quote of 'running track' was the actual phrase Yogi used in his interview with the EEN (last friday IIRC)? When he talked about the pitch wool fibres and new synthetic lay etc.
From the plans and even 3D images, its clear that there is some sort of 'run off' area between the pitch and stand.
EskbankHibby
25-06-2010, 03:10 PM
The pitch is being widened by 4/5 metres, however that has included moving it Westward, thus the loss of one row of seats in the West Stand.
I don't know the exact dimensions of the move, is it 50% of the increased width or not but I assume the intention is to have the goals in the centre of both behind the goals stands!
Getting dangerously close to common sense there mate.
If we could all just stick to hysteria surrounding shades of green paint and perceived differences in stand size that would be great.
:rules::greengrin
Arch Stanton
25-06-2010, 03:14 PM
Found this (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=52489778&ext=pdf) online, looks like the pitch will be slightly past the ends of the North and South Stands.
That actually shows the new pitch width to be 68 metres (last year it was 64) so it isn't just the run-off area that is increasing in size as I thought.
According to this, ER will be a Cat 3 stadium (one down from Elite, which can host Eufa finals) -
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_stadium_categories
madhibby
25-06-2010, 03:19 PM
The pich will not be the same size as last season - it will be 4/5 metres wider as well as having a wider run off area!
Smiggy 7-0
25-06-2010, 03:30 PM
Look at the picture in post #950
It's a cracker...lots of folk at my work now have this as their wallpaper.:bye:
25-06-2010, 03:52 PM
That actually shows the new pitch width to be 68 metres (last year it was 64) so it isn't just the run-off area that is increasing in size as I thought.
According to this, ER will be a Cat 3 stadium (one down from Elite, which can host Eufa finals) -
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_stadium_categories
according to that Tynecastle would be a category minus 3
Category minus three
Stadiums must be all-seated (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All-seater_stadium) and have a minimum capacity (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seating_capacity) of 200 in an asbestos filled grandstand;
Stadiums must accomodate a technical area large enough for 3 overweight managers and players;
The playing surface (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football_pitch) dimensions must be 115 yards in length and 72 yards in width with no room to lengthen or widen the pitch without moving the stand, under no circumstances should the pitch be measured in metres;
Must provide seating for at least 50 members of the Lithuanian Mafia and and 20 fat slavering MPs;
The floodlights must light the pitch to an illuminance (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Illuminance) of a maximum 20 lux (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lux) forcing the fans to use their lighters a la rock concert ballad moment ;
There must be at least a single TV (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TV_studio)within the stadium (colour optional);
In case of power failure, bring your own batteries and /or lightbulbs;
Minimum of 2 lothian buses to stop in the vacinity;
Standing spectators allowed at pie stalls only.
HibbyRod
25-06-2010, 04:47 PM
according to that Tynecastle would be a category minus 3
Category minus three
Stadiums must be all-seated (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All-seater_stadium) and have a minimum capacity (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seating_capacity) of 200 in an asbestos filled grandstand;
Stadiums must accomodate a technical area large enough for 3 overweight managers and players;
The playing surface (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Association_football_pitch) dimensions must be 115 yards in length and 72 yards in width with no room to lengthen or widen the pitch without moving the stand, under no circumstances should the pitch be measured in metres;
Must provide seating for at least 50 members of the Lithuanian Mafia and and 20 fat slavering MPs;
The floodlights must light the pitch to an illuminance (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Illuminance) of a maximum 20 lux (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lux) forcing the fans to use their lighters a la rock concert ballad moment ;
There must be at least a single TV (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TV_studio)within the stadium (colour optional);
In case of power failure, bring your own batteries and /or lightbulbs;
Minimum of 2 lothian buses to stop in the vacinity;
Standing spectators allowed at pie stalls only.
:thumbsup:Brilliant H70 ! :faf::faf:
25-06-2010, 04:53 PM
Brilliant.
Did Jocky Scott take this photie?
Smiggy 7-0
25-06-2010, 08:28 PM
Brilliant.
Did Jocky Scott take this photie?
Naw I took it whilst clenching my cheeks together:bye:
Sweep
25-06-2010, 08:37 PM
Here are some photos i took tonight.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/51509363@N06/
Mark79
25-06-2010, 08:45 PM
Looks like the other stands have had a wee lick of paint on the steps.
Sweep
25-06-2010, 09:12 PM
I never noticed that till you mentioned it.
26-06-2010, 07:47 AM
The behind the stand pic,shows what looks to be a 18" drop from doors to the floor.
I assume that will be levelled come the start of the season.
Will require a whole load or tarmac to level that of.....but I suppose us hobos being caravan dwelling pikeys, finding that amount of tarmac will be easy!!
alfie
26-06-2010, 08:03 AM
Ignoring the stand height and colour issues... :hijack:
Looking at the photos of the pitch there, and specifically the location of the goalposts, it looks like the pitch is still central to the FF stand. Which makes me think that the pdf file of the plan is out of date.
Am I right in thinking that weve taken a couple of rows from the bottom of the west stand? Would that give enough room to keep the goalposts central and avoid anybody losing a view of the whole pitch, apart from the folks that were sitting in the front rows of the west? :wink:
Apart from that, I think it looks amazing and cant wait to see it 'in action'! :agree:
26-06-2010, 09:04 AM
:agree: very posh. I was down at ER for fathers day and had a wee wonder out for the 1875 restaurant down the steps to the dug-outs (some photos with my boys....)
Got to be said that it is looking the mutts nuts :cool2: and WILL be, a spectacular stadium when completed...
Teo10
26-06-2010, 11:44 AM
Heard that the stand is around 5 weeks ahead of schedule?!
hibeemarley
26-06-2010, 02:51 PM
Where are the cameras going to be now when hibs are on the tv, anyone know?
I'd like them pointing from the west so you can see the east going bush when we score
Hanny
26-06-2010, 02:57 PM
Heard that the stand is around 5 weeks ahead of schedule?!
When you think about it, the weather has been great from virtually demolition day up until now. I'm sure that would help in a large construction project like this.
26-06-2010, 03:26 PM
Where are the cameras going to be now when hibs are on the tv, anyone know?
I'd like them pointing from the west so you can see the east going bush when we score
West
26-06-2010, 04:14 PM
Can we have a commonly asked questions thread for the East regarding TV cameras, length, height, depth, pitch, roof, dates etc? :agree:
26-06-2010, 04:20 PM
Can we have a commonly asked questions thread for the East regarding TV cameras, length, height, depth, pitch, roof, dates etc? :agree:
Yes please, must be 20 odd pages of people asking the same things. Which is kinda fair enough as who wants to trawl through 30 odd pages trying to find an answer to their q's.
26-06-2010, 04:59 PM
Are we still going to have tha crappy wee TV studio in a box on scafolding or is that coming inside the stadium?
tbfhibs
26-06-2010, 05:54 PM
Are we still going to have tha crappy wee TV studio in a box on scafolding or is that coming inside the stadium?
No idea, have'nt seen anyone mention this before. Got to be replaced somewhere surely.
Nelly070
26-06-2010, 06:08 PM
Does anyone know how many rows the east will have ?
steviecarnie
26-06-2010, 06:10 PM
i think we have 2 have 2 now that are a specific sizes for it to be a cat 3 stadium.
There must be at least two TV studios (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TV_studio) within the stadium with dimensions 5x5x2.3 metres;shouldnt be hard with those dimentions, thats about the size of a shoe box
tbfhibs
26-06-2010, 06:23 PM
Does anyone know how many rows the east will have ?
33?
26-06-2010, 07:18 PM
Would surely not be too hard to build the studios into the corner? Would look pretty sweet too. Could always sell them as an executive package too?
they could look to stick something like this in the corner between the east and FF stands that would give a lower tier of seating in the corner and then tv studios / executive boxes in the upper levels :hmmm:
im talking about the stands behind the car by the way :greengrin
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2229/2073814080_5dd0bec3a4.jpg
26-06-2010, 08:08 PM
they could look to stick something like this in the corner between the east and FF stands that would give a lower tier of seating in the corner and then tv studios / executive boxes in the upper levels :hmmm:
im talking about the stands behind the car by the way :greengrin
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2229/2073814080_5dd0bec3a4.jpg
That'd be even more expensive than filling in the corners purely with seats, and I believe cost is the reason that the corners won't be filled in anytime soon
Did we no have something like that between the dunbar end and the terrace? where Bill Barclay used to spin his vinal?