View Full Version : east stand re build pics
Pages :
[
3]
30-05-2010, 08:16 PM
The latest set of photos really capture just how massive that stand is.:thumbsup:
It's looking terrific already, will be brilliant when it's all done.
Hibs have come a long, long way from the days when I first started going to the games. I really hope that we grow from the foundations of a fantastic stadium and first class training centre to develop a team on the pitch worthy of the set up.:agree:
The latest set of photos really capture just how massive that stand is.:thumbsup:
Hibs have come a long, long way from the days when I first started going to the games. I really hope that we grow from the foundations of a fantastic stadium and first class training centre to develop a team on the pitch worthy of the set up.:agree:
Hope so Matty. Just posted about Rodders and lets hope we can get a couple of players in that will take us on to the next level. For me no less than 4th next season and very good cup runs.
30-05-2010, 10:10 PM
How'd you think I feel :greengrin
30-05-2010, 10:22 PM
Aye but your ridiculously old....:wink:
Got this pic of you making your way to ER
http://academic.evergreen.edu/curricular/adaptation/pics/PennyFarthing.jpg
:greengrin:greengrin:cool2:
30-05-2010, 10:23 PM
Disc O'Dave
31-05-2010, 12:37 PM
Someone seems to have given them the day off today - which is a shame, as I was hoping on my day off to get access through one of the gates, which I haven't had for a few visits now.
So no real progress on what has already been posted over the weekend.
Anyhow....I thought I'd try to find different viewpoints....
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4069/4655457935_6d61a3acfd.jpg
I can just manage to get the whole length in (Mrs!) with my 10mm attached (Matron!)
and...
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4036/4655455953_9e8064ef33.jpg
Showing the same gap as the West at the South Stand end.
31-05-2010, 12:40 PM
Someone seems to have given them the day off today - which is a shame, as I was hoping on my day off to get access through one of the gates, which I haven't had for a few visits now.
I can just manage to get the whole length in (Mrs!) with my 10mm attached (Matron!)
and...
Good pictures Dave :top marks you'll need to change your avatar soon :agree:
Brando7
31-05-2010, 04:47 PM
how come i cant view pictured from work now since it changed to this stupid new look :grr::grr:
All i'm getting is a red X
31-05-2010, 04:52 PM
As I was up in Edinburgh this weekend, I had to take a look. (picked up the mint top whilst passing:greengrin)
Here is the view from Arhurs Seat
http://www.flickr.com/photos/13447143@N05/4651302482/
That just looks brilliant.
I remember my first trip to the new ibrox and I have to say when I walked through the tunnel onto the top deck of the stand opposite the main one my first thought was " how the hell can we ever compete with this !!! " even if it was ibrox I have to admit it was awe inspiring.
But I have to say, looking at that picture and the others posted here that we are not far away from it. ER may not be as big, but by the looks of it it will be every bit as good, if not better.
Cant wait to be inside with hopefully a full house sometime soon.
how come i cant view pictured from work now since it changed to this stupid new look :grr::grr:
All i'm getting is a red X
Your work have probably banned Flikr & photobucket etc where the photos are hosted, rather than anything to do with the board.
All i'm getting is a red XThink its an NHS thing S...im the same when i accidently log into hibs.net when im at work ...:greengrin
hibeelin
31-05-2010, 06:59 PM
Was down at club shop this afternoon and took walk round to have a look, the groundsmen let us in for wee neb - the grass is starting to shoot up! Even with the tiny wee shoots we have more grass now than last season. :greengrin
whole place looking fantastic. :top marks
hibee4life1983
31-05-2010, 08:50 PM
Top notch
31-05-2010, 09:05 PM
Was down at club shop this afternoon and took walk round to have a look, the groundsmen let us in for wee neb - the grass is starting to shoot up! Even with the tiny wee shoots we have more grass now than last season. :greengrin
whole place looking fantastic. :top marks
Jeezo dinnae say things like that you'll have the Jambos prattling on about our grass being of a drug filled hobo variety :greengrin
31-05-2010, 09:06 PM
Aye but your ridiculously old....:wink:
Got this pic of you making your way to ER
http://academic.evergreen.edu/curricular/adaptation/pics/PennyFarthing.jpg
:greengrin:greengrin:cool2:
Yep, that's ma bike. :greengrin
Our grass is wee'r than their grass!
31-05-2010, 09:57 PM
Our grass is wee'r than their grass!
I hope it's not as short as our defence or midfield........ :greengrin
Posh Swanny
01-06-2010, 08:06 AM
I hope it's not as short as our defence or midfield........ :greengrin
But is it the same height as the stuff at the Links? :bitchy:
01-06-2010, 11:11 AM
But is it the same height as the stuff at the Links? :bitchy:
Never mind the grass at the Links - it's vital that the grass on the pitch at ER is EXACTLY the same length and type as the grass on the practice pitches at East Mains.
It will be TOTALLY COUNTER-PRODUCTIVE to have the players training through the week on a pitch that has more (or less) grass on it than the pitch they play on on match day.
IT'S SMALL DETAILS LIKE THESE THAT MAKE THE DIFFERENCE.
KiddA
01-06-2010, 05:44 PM
and...
Great pics mate, I have to ask do you know why the steel work is two different colors of green
01-06-2010, 06:41 PM
Six roof struts are now up, so it looks like all the roof steel will be up by early next week.
01-06-2010, 06:49 PM
Great pics mate, I have to ask do you know why the steel work is two different colors of green
Celtic are getting a part of the new stand, and didn't like it the hibs shade o'green..:devil:
Disc O'Dave
01-06-2010, 07:39 PM
Cheers bloke,
My guess is that no one sub-contractor could manufacture the full requirement of struts in the timeframe required, so there were two different companies involved, and the shade of green wasn't strictly specified.
It seems convenient that the first 10 vertical struts were dark green, and then the rest were lighter green.
looking closely at them yesterday, you can see quite a lot of handling damage to some of them, so they were probably always due to be re-painted anyway.
01-06-2010, 07:50 PM
It seems convenient that the first 10 vertical struts were dark green, and the second 10 were lighter green.
I can only count 18 struts....10 dark 8 light :confused:
01-06-2010, 08:41 PM
First height now colour, what next I wonder before it's actually finished..no toilet seats, exit signs missing?
Disc O'Dave
01-06-2010, 09:05 PM
I can only count 18 struts....10 dark 8 light :confused:
You are of course correct...it's not like I don't have enough photographic evidence! (now going back for a sneaky wee edit)
01-06-2010, 10:08 PM
First height now colour, what next I wonder before it's actually finished..no toilet seats, exit signs missing?
NO TOILET SEATS??????
:shocked:
NO TOILET SEATS??????
:shocked:Thats just commiting Kamakazzi !!!! ...:confused:
01-06-2010, 10:14 PM
NO TOILET SEATS??????
:shocked:
People didn't inhabit the terracing for the toilet facilities. :wink:
Disc O'Dave
01-06-2010, 10:17 PM
And so to tonights pictures....
Firstly, a big thank you to the chap who kindly helped me get my lardy butt through a wee gap in the fence to get some closer shots - apologies too, as in my ignorance, I forgot to get your name.
Also, I would have been more intrepid, had I not had the family waiting in the car while I "stopped for a few seconds to get an update shot" on our way to feed the ducks at Lochend Pond.
Of course, I also have the upmost respect for site health and safety, so at no point even considered venturing onto the structure :wink:
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4031/4660860803_2024ca6c97.jpg
From the "correct" side of the fence
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4015/4660864175_3c53eb8736.jpg
Showing the first shoots of grass coming through
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4022/4661488274_fc201b5cbe.jpg
From the first row, south end.
Unfortunately, for pitch-facing photos, the sun was right in the lens, so some exposure tweaking might have lead to some "funny" results.
More, as ever, can be seen at:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/davebarlow/sets/72157623914155893/
I'll get some shots of the ducks up later.......:wink:
People inhabited the terracing before toilet facilities. :agree:
01-06-2010, 10:22 PM
And so to tonights pictures....
Firstly, a big thank you to the chap who kindly helped me get my lardy butt through a wee gap in the fence to get some closer shots - apologies too, as in my ignorance, I forgot to get your name.
Also, I would have been more intrepid, had I not had the family waiting in the car while I "stopped for a few seconds to get an update shot" on our way to feed the ducks at Lochend Pond.
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4031/4660860803_2024ca6c97.jpg
From the "correct" side of the fence
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4015/4660864175_3c53eb8736.jpg
Showing the first shoots of grass coming through
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4022/4661488274_fc201b5cbe.jpg
From the first row, south end.
Unfortunately, for pitch-facing photos, the sun was right in the lens, so some exposure tweaking might have lead to some "funny" results.
More, as ever, can be seen at:
I'll get some shots of the ducks up later.......:wink:
:thumbsup: Great pics, cheers!
01-06-2010, 10:33 PM
pure class, hibs class, :thumbsup:
steviecarnie
01-06-2010, 10:40 PM
I see the birds are munching on the seeds in one of the photo's
02-06-2010, 01:42 AM
Not happy with the shade of grass. I hope the rest when it appears is the same colour and Height too.
02-06-2010, 06:42 AM
Not happy with the shade of grass. I hope the rest when it appears is the same colour and Height too.
Oh no, someone else noticed that as well.
There is a weed in Lochend Park on the way up the road that's a very pale type of green by comparison.
Cant Hibs do anything right?
02-06-2010, 09:00 AM
IIRC the terraces WERE the toilet facilities.... :rolleyes:
Great pictures, Dave. Really appreciate your work. Take care, mate. :thumbsup:
02-06-2010, 09:11 AM
People inhabited the terracing before toilet facilities. :agree:
In the 50/60's the "terracing" was the toilet facility!
Have had the back of my trousers "peed on" at many an evening game - nearly always got an apology .
Hibbees are always well mannered :wink:
:greengrin:devil:
02-06-2010, 09:44 AM
These roof struts look higher than those on the Famous Five Stand.
02-06-2010, 10:05 AM
These roof struts look higher than those on the Famous Five Stand.
They do, don't they?
And I think they're at a different angle, too. :agree:
nickwhibs
02-06-2010, 11:42 AM
Looks brilliant. Can't wait to be in it when it's finished (hopefully a European game)
:notworthy:
02-06-2010, 06:32 PM
I have just studied latest pics and concluded that the new stand is not engineered to take fans bouncing up and down or even standing and shuffling about through out games. People will probably have to remain seated at full time and be called out in rows to leave or go to the food counters and toilets at half-time.
steviecarnie
02-06-2010, 06:46 PM
I have just studied latest pics and concluded that the new stand is not engineered to take fans bouncing up and down or even standing and shuffling about through out games. People will probably have to remain seated at full time and be called out in rows to leave or go to the food counters and toilets at half-time.
i thought the stand was just for show?? didnt know they were letting us actually touch and ultimately wreck it??:wink:
Disc O'Dave
02-06-2010, 08:48 PM
About half of the roof struts are now in place
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4057/4664478826_5803187d96.jpg
02-06-2010, 09:08 PM
About half of the roof struts are now in place
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4057/4664478826_5803187d96.jpg
Good picture again Dave, cheers.:thumbsup:
KiddA
03-06-2010, 05:35 AM
Cheers bloke,
My guess is that no one sub-contractor could manufacture the full requirement of struts in the timeframe required, so there were two different companies involved, and the shade of green wasn't strictly specified.
It seems convenient that the first 10 vertical struts were dark green, and then the rest were lighter green.
looking closely at them yesterday, you can see quite a lot of handling damage to some of them, so they were probably always due to be re-painted anyway.
Yeah probably the case it still looks class and will be some stadium when its done :agree:
cheltenhamhibee
03-06-2010, 03:57 PM
if it looks like this when its finished (obviously different colour tho) it'll look awesome and the stadium will be tremendous
http://s0.geograph.org.uk/photos/11/88/118840_abeb3dcb.jpg
03-06-2010, 05:21 PM
if it looks like this when its finished (obviously different colour tho) it'll look awesome and the stadium will be tremendous
http://s0.geograph.org.uk/photos/11/88/118840_abeb3dcb.jpg
It will look better than that....
Green seats and more enclosed at the sides :agree:
03-06-2010, 05:28 PM
I'm pretty certain I was the first (non-builder) supporter to "christen" the West Stand by taking a dump. I'm aiming to take the same plaudit for the East. :thumbsup:
03-06-2010, 05:29 PM
There's a decent photo looking from the West Stand in today's Hibs newsletter. We've got green grass and everything. :wink:
Bob Box Fish
03-06-2010, 06:43 PM
There's a decent photo looking from the West Stand in today's Hibs newsletter. We've got green grass and everything. :wink:
Pitch is looking better than last season already in that pic . . . . mibbes deeks will stay now?
Disc O'Dave
03-06-2010, 08:52 PM
It's a tad unfair when the club guy has better access to the stdium than us mere mortals......
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4051/4667426054_f228ee9f77.jpg
Thanks tonight go to the security chap who was kind enough to allow me 5 mins of supervised access to nip round the perimeter of the pitch to grab some shots. More to follow later.....
03-06-2010, 09:40 PM
It's a tad unfair when the club guy has better access to the stdium than us mere mortals......
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4051/4667426054_f228ee9f77.jpg
Thanks tonight go to the security chap who was kind enough to allow me 5 mins of supervised access to nip round the perimeter of the pitch to grab some shots. More to follow later.....
cracking pictures again dave.
quick question, does the pitch seem like its raised? looks like it in that pic, kinda a less severe mound like shape to the edges ie: old trafford:confused:
steviecarnie
03-06-2010, 09:49 PM
quick question, does the pitch seem like its raised? looks like it in that pic, kinda a less severe mound like shape to the edges ie: old trafford:confused:
as long as its not like portsmouth's which ive always thought looks ridiculous on telly.
Disc O'Dave
03-06-2010, 10:22 PM
It is very slightly raised - the wide angle lens does tend to exaggerate curvature etc at the edges of the frame.
Disc O'Dave
03-06-2010, 10:36 PM
view from the West Stand - again, bear in mind the wide angle lengthens perspective, so it looks more "imposing" in the flesh...
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4053/4667664410_bcb290aeeb.jpg
More here:
roondheid
03-06-2010, 11:28 PM
Great pics,. :thumbsup:
04-06-2010, 12:39 AM
view from the West Stand - again, bear in mind the wide angle lengthens perspective, so it looks more "imposing" in the flesh...
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4053/4667664410_bcb290aeeb.jpg
More here:
It looks quality :thumbsup: I wish I could be there for the first game.
04-06-2010, 07:34 AM
I'm pretty certain I was the first (non-builder) supporter to "christen" the West Stand by taking a dump. I'm aiming to take the same plaudit for the East. :thumbsup:
You better be in early then:greengrin
Dave, you're a star! For those of us many miles from The Holy Ground it's wonderful to see the new stadium emerging, courtesy of your pics.
Thanks again :top marks
JohnScott
04-06-2010, 10:20 AM
http://www.footballstadiumguide.co.uk/images/nottscounty02.jpg (http://www.footballstadiumguide.co.uk/images/nottscounty02.jpg)
04-06-2010, 11:34 AM
anyone else a little worried by how big the gaps are between the new stand and the stand behind the goals. They look like the gaps are massive:confused:
04-06-2010, 11:37 AM
anyone else a little worried by how big the gaps are between the new stand and the stand behind the goals. They look like the gaps are massive:confused:
They're the same as the West.
04-06-2010, 12:29 PM
nah they just look big in the pictures, when you actually see the stand with the side walls on it will look much smaller.
04-06-2010, 12:33 PM
:thumbsup:coming along nicely. now a big push to fill it. season book me...:thumbsup:
nice work dave...
04-06-2010, 12:51 PM
Great pics everyone - keep em coming :top marks
the club have chipped in as well
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100604/new-east-stand_2262950_2064722
this thread is Vault class :agree:
JohnScott
04-06-2010, 01:20 PM
Despite what others say Winston your bang on! The new stand is set back from the North/South stands. A fact clearly seen in the builders plans and some pics. Could be to give more room to join up the corners if required in the future? :wink:
Long term planning at it's best :thumbsup:
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/forum/showthread.php?94619-New-East-Coming-Soon/page4
Now, if theyre planning on digging a trench and giving the fans periscopes in the front rows then I'll admit I'm wrong.
04-06-2010, 01:28 PM
Despite what others say Winston your bang on! The new stand is set back from the North/South stands. A fact clearly seen in the builders plans and some pics. Could be to give more room to join up the corners if required in the future? :wink:
Long term planning at it's best :thumbsup:
I guess that it would have to be back a bit to allow for the widening of the pitch no? I'm sure they will fill the corner(s) with something.
04-06-2010, 01:42 PM
Fabulous pictures again from Dave. I was just wondering if, purely in the interests of balance, there were any pictures of the Hearts exciting new development, which, as I understand it, features hotel and retail outlets as well as a new three-tier stand.
I was just wondering how that exciting project was bounding along, but was then surprised to see no photos or references whatsoever on Kickback. Surely an oversight!
I suppose it's a bit immature to so concerned with infrastructure, but unlike them we don't have the benefits of anticipating signing World Cup stars (it is THIS World Cup they meant, wasn't it?)
Anyway, it'll be great to see Edinburgh progressing towards TWO top-class footballing arenas.
So any pics?
Great pics everyone - keep em coming :top marks
the club have chipped in as well
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20100604/new-east-stand_2262950_2064722
this thread is Vault class :agree:
I see the pitch is looking up to last years standards, all patchy with hardly any grass :wink: :devil: :stirrer: :duck: :tin hat: :greengrin
04-06-2010, 01:49 PM
Fabulous pictures again from Dave. I was just wondering if, purely in the interests of balance, there were any pictures of the Hearts exciting new development, which, as I understand it, features hotel and retail outlets as well as a new three-tier stand.
I was just wondering how that exciting project was bounding along, but was then surprised to see no photos or references whatsoever on Kickback. Surely an oversight!
I suppose it's a bit immature to so concerned with infrastructure, but unlike them we don't have the benefits of anticipating signing World Cup stars (it is THIS World Cup they meant, wasn't it?)
Anyway, it'll be great to see Edinburgh progressing towards TWO top-class footballing arenas.
So any pics?
I couldn't find any either DBS and since I live over that side of the City and seen no sign of their mega stadium development I've come to the conclusion that it must be being built off site and will be transported into place using a giant crane or a number of Chinook helicopters.
04-06-2010, 02:36 PM
I couldn't find any either DBS and since I live over that side of the City and seen no sign of their mega stadium development I've come to the conclusion that it must be being built off site and will be transported into place using a giant crane or a number of Chinook helicopters.
i heard thats how the big teams do it:agree:
So any pics?
Is this what's known as out the ( cardboard ) box thinking, Bob?
04-06-2010, 02:49 PM
So any pics?
Here you go Bob. I'm sure you'll agree it's coming on at quite a pace. I'm sure it'll be finished before ours.
http://commondatastorage.googleapis.com/static.panoramio.com/photos/original/8288260.jpg
04-06-2010, 02:55 PM
Here you go Bob. I'm sure you'll agree it's coming on at quite a pace. I'm sure it'll be finished before ours.
http://commondatastorage.googleapis.com/static.panoramio.com/photos/original/8288260.jpg
Loving the retro look and feel of that bad boy. If you didn't know better it looks for all the world like a ramshackle asbestos-ridden heap of ****** :agree:
04-06-2010, 03:01 PM
Many thanks for that. I'm a bit worried though that the structure, which was demonstrated as considerably bigger in the plans, now only seems to be the same height as the old asbestos stand?
Still, one supposes most 'big teams' like to retain a filthy nineteenth century death trap as part of their integrated stadia, in order to preserve the character of the place.
HibeeMG
04-06-2010, 03:03 PM
Is it just me or is that steelwork a different shade of maroon to everything else.
It's probably my eyes but it looks suspiciously PINK. I assume it'll get painted when all the work is done.
Loving the retro look and feel of that bad boy. If you didn't know better it looks for all the world like a ramshackle asbestos-ridden heap of ****** :agree:
They where advised that the 80's were back in fashion just now but the designers clearly took that to mean 1880 rather than 1980
Aspire
04-06-2010, 03:16 PM
Exciting times down at Easter Road
Nothing a fire wouldnae sort ,a dead good awfi hot fire wi big flames
and things exploding and more flames and bangs ,did I mention flames ,
flames 1923 asbestos couldnae prevent ,flames you would take your pals to see those sort o flames .
Vlad must have thought about it surely ,well you would wouldnt you :wink:
04-06-2010, 03:56 PM
I wonder if Hibs are planning on having something to join the gaps between the East/South and East/North. A big advertising board of some sort would look amazing, and give the place a real inclosed feeling. Just imagine two big boards with a huge Hibs badge on the middle them at each side, would look absolutly amazing IMO!
04-06-2010, 04:17 PM
I wonder if Hibs are planning on having something to join the gaps between the East/South and East/North. A big advertising board of some sort would look amazing, and give the place a real inclosed feeling. Just imagine two big boards with a huge Hibs badge on the middle them at each side, would look absolutly amazing IMO!
Or two huge TV screens :hmmm:
04-06-2010, 04:30 PM
Comet are doing 50" plasmas for 700 notes each :thumbsup:
04-06-2010, 04:36 PM
Would obviously be fantastic, but i think realistically they arent going to do that. So something quite simple would be more realistic and i'm all for the big green boards with the Hibs badge in the middle! :greengrin
04-06-2010, 04:50 PM
Would obviously be fantastic, but i think realistically they arent going to do that. So something quite simple would be more realistic and i'm all for the big green boards with the Hibs badge in the middle! :greengrin
True, they should have two pictures of Tyncastle on the advertising boards to make us feel really good about our stadium :wink:
04-06-2010, 05:03 PM
They're the same as the West.
No they're not. They are a lot bigger and will detract from the look and atmosphere IMO.
04-06-2010, 05:06 PM
No they're not. They are a lot bigger and will detract from the look and atmosphere IMO.
The gap to the south stand from the new stand is considerably smaller than the one that existed between the terracing and south stand. I didn't hear any complaints about the location of stands way back then. :confused:
04-06-2010, 05:09 PM
Once they get the 100 watt bulb in place Im sure it will look entirely different. :agree:
Ah! Nostalgia ... not what it used to be.
steviecarnie
04-06-2010, 06:19 PM
Just been down at my mates who stays over from ER and can see between the West and South from his room, the pitch is coming along brilliantly, looks like a cricket pitch at the moment with lucious green expanse over in the corner by the FF & East with most of the pitch not far behind, the one area of concern tho - between the West and South there is no grass at all, and i seem to remember this being a problem before?
also there is a strange walk way been built between the FF & East with walls up about half a metre and its not straight either, kind of snakes between the two stands. (i hope that come across well looks a wee bit like and S but sideways if u get me)
other than that looking fantastic, with the roof struts almost done now (only last 2 bays of concrete to do) started building the side of the stand at the FF end as well.
GGTTH :greengrin
04-06-2010, 06:23 PM
Just been down at my mates who stays over from ER and can see between the West and South from his room, the pitch is coming along brilliantly, looks like a cricket pitch at the moment with lucious green expanse over in the corner by the FF & East with most of the pitch not far behind, the one area of concern tho - between the West and South there is no grass at all, and i seem to remember this being a problem before?
also there is a strange walk way been built between the FF & East with walls up about half a metre and its not straight either, kind of snakes between the two stands. (i hope that come across well looks a wee bit like and S but sideways if u get me)
other than that looking fantastic, with the roof struts almost done now (only last 2 bays of concrete to do) started building the side of the stand at the FF end as well.
GGTTH :greengrin
Camera not working? :wink:
steviecarnie
04-06-2010, 06:26 PM
Camera not working? :wink:
he got some from this morning that he'll post up later, couldnt get into the ground as green gates closed and can only see the last 2 bays of the East from his window, which isnae the best.
Craigyno1
04-06-2010, 06:47 PM
Went for a cycle with the kids down to Leith Links and decided to come back via Easter Rd. We came up St Clair street, turned the corner and wow! From the bottom of St Clair street, the new stand looks awesome. Very impressive :thumbsup:
Couple of pics from today, the pitch is coming on fast.
sunshine1875
04-06-2010, 07:44 PM
Big team, wee stand
Disc O'Dave
04-06-2010, 07:58 PM
Another couple.
Love the one over the red brick wall - kind of a mix between the old and new (though I know the wall isn't that old either!)
Good work sir.
Aubenas
04-06-2010, 08:27 PM
Don't understand this about the gap. Was down last week and paced out the gap between new east and south. It was equivalent to a space for two vehicles to pass - maybe 20 feet. I would imagine this would be minimum for the mandatory 'vehicular access'. It didn't seem excessive and I'm sure there are suitable plans for the space; can't see Hibs spoiling the finished look for something as small as this.
04-06-2010, 08:59 PM
The gap to the south stand from the new stand is considerably smaller than the one that existed between the terracing and south stand. I didn't hear any complaints about the location of stands way back then. :confused:
The gaps are going to suck any atmosphere right out and it will be lost in Lochend park, possibly never to return.
04-06-2010, 09:23 PM
Don't understand this about the gap. Was down last week and paced out the gap between new east and south. It was equivalent to a space for two vehicles to pass - maybe 20 feet. I would imagine this would be minimum for the mandatory 'vehicular access'. It didn't seem excessive and I'm sure there are suitable plans for the space; can't see Hibs spoiling the finished look for something as small as this.
I'm sure we can all agree that the stadiums with the best atmosphere are the ones that are fully enclosed.
I know it's a nice shiny new stand and I know it's a minor gripe but I just don't like stadiums with big gaps in the corner. Sorry:duck:
04-06-2010, 09:31 PM
I'm sure we can all agree that the stadiums with the best atmosphere are the ones that are fully enclosed.
I know it's a nice shiny new stand and I know it's a minor gripe but I just don't like stadiums with big gaps in the corner. Sorry:duck:
Time and patience Spike, time and patience :wink:
04-06-2010, 09:35 PM
Time and patience Spike, time and patience :wink:
Ahhhh the Hibernian fan's motto:greengrin:
04-06-2010, 09:37 PM
Ahhhh the Hibernian fan's motto:greengrin:
Indeed :greengrin
I'm loathe to shout too loud about getting the corners filled in now that we appear to have reached the stage where redeveloping the ground is going to affect investment in players.
Disc O'Dave
04-06-2010, 09:51 PM
Another couple from last night.....
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4069/4669651731_3b975c523c.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4059/4670279572_f88a54b242.jpg
Jamie
04-06-2010, 10:11 PM
The gaps are going to suck any atmosphere right out and it will be lost in Lochend park, possibly never to return.
NOT when the club are closing the gaps between the stands its no gonna :wink:
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/javaImages/fa/b6/0,,10290~8828666,00.jpg
Imagine cladding between the gap in above pics going to the first tier level of the south
blairwallace
04-06-2010, 10:20 PM
Another couple from last night.....
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4069/4669651731_3b975c523c.jpg
looking at the west, how will people in wheel chairs get past the fence to get to their seats? :dunno:
are the fences already fixed to the ground?
04-06-2010, 10:24 PM
looking at the west, how will people in wheel chairs get past the fence to get to their seats? :dunno:
The disabled section has been moved to the east.
Aubenas
04-06-2010, 10:25 PM
Wasn't havin a pop, Spike. Just suggesting that from what I saw standing there it didn't seem that it would be too big a problem to overcome. Agree that if we can keep in the atmosphere and still let in the sun and wind for the pitch it would be best solution.:agree:
04-06-2010, 10:26 PM
Big thanks to everyone for posting the pictures.
Keep them coming guys
I wasnt as excited as this when my house was getting built!
Going to look absolutely fantastic.
Probably the camera angle, but isnt the new stand taller than the South?:devil::devil:
blairwallace
04-06-2010, 10:33 PM
Probably the camera angle, but isnt the new stand taller than the South?:devil::devil:
it looks smaller in height with the south tbh, in person the stand looks shorter in length compared to the west
i still think that retaining wall is going to have a large screen
Aubenas
04-06-2010, 10:38 PM
[
QUOTE=blairwallace;2485752]it looks smaller in height with the south tbh, in person the stand looks shorter in length compared to the west
i
Difficult to judge because, with the bottom 5 rows sunk into the remaining mound of the old terrace, if you measured the height of the new east at the back it WOULD be shorter than the others, but it still reaches the same height (cos it's built on a mound).
Maybe looks shorter in length because the final section at the FF end isn't in place yet?
04-06-2010, 10:42 PM
Catapults.:agree:
04-06-2010, 10:43 PM
it looks smaller in height with the south tbh, in person the stand looks shorter in length compared to the west
i still think that retaining wall is going to have a large screen
Have you seen the new stand in person or are you making this assumption on a photo?
Is it just me or is it every day someone is posting that the stand is smaller/bigger than the others and this insane logic is going on a photo.
Lets wait until it is complete and stop making a drama out of nothing!
blairwallace
04-06-2010, 10:48 PM
Have you seen the new stand in person or are you making this assumption on a photo?
Is it just me or is it every day someone is posting that the stand is smaller/bigger than the others and this insane logic is going on a photo.
seen it in person twice, last time was yesterday.
the green beams that stick out the back of the stand supporting the roof is taller yes, but the actual roof looks about a meter lower than the other stands
04-06-2010, 10:50 PM
the green beams that stick out the back of the stand supporting the roof is taller yes, but the actual roof looks about a meter lower than the other stands
Fair enough
However the only answer I can give is wait until it's complete - it will be fine :agree:
:hilarious:
blairwallace
04-06-2010, 10:51 PM
Fair enough
However the only answer I can give is wait until it's complete - it will be fine :agree:
or else...PETRIE! :grr:
04-06-2010, 10:52 PM
or else...PETRIE! :grr:
There's clearly no footy to moan about
04-06-2010, 11:01 PM
:tsk tsk: As a wheelchair user, I find that comment disabledist.
I'll have you know that there are plans to include the wheelchair high jump at the next Paralympic Games in London. :wink:
04-06-2010, 11:05 PM
:tsk tsk: As a wheelchair user, I find that comment disabledist.
I'll have you know that there are plans to include the wheelchair high jump at the next Paralympic Games in London. :wink:
Apparently they were going to include blind skydiving but it scares the **** out the dogs :duck:
steviecarnie
05-06-2010, 01:15 AM
been past it 3 times this week, and can tell u its the same height the illusion comes with the fact its not as deep as the other stands.
JohnScott
05-06-2010, 09:41 AM
Calm Roxy, calm! Not aware anyone is making a drama out of it as most of the critical posts are obviously tonque in cheek. I personally only pointed out the stand was indeed stepped back, hence the spaces being larger. I mean, so what? Theyre nowhere as big as Ibrox's were for example.
Surely the main thing is, it looks bloody marvelous! Ooops, sorry the greens don't match :rolleyes:
Oh and thanks too, to all the guys keeping us up to date via hibs.net and the Bounce. If I have a tiny wee quibble to direct at our great club. Why in this day and age have you not set up a live-cam from the west stand? In fact we had one when we built the west! A still pic every few days is a bit naff lads.
Still think your ****ing brilliant though! :notworthy:
05-06-2010, 10:10 AM
Saying there's one every few days between shots is being kind to the club too. It was about 3weeks before this last pic
05-06-2010, 11:21 AM
The stand looks very open right now, but once the sidescreens are erected and the roof's on it'll look a lot more closed-in. I agree that ideally it would be better if the pitch were entirely enclosed, but I'd say that the atmosphere or lack of it will depend on the people in the stands; the latest pictures of the stadium suggest to me that there'll be no excuse for a lack of atmosphere or noise in the ground next season.
hibbiedon
05-06-2010, 11:32 AM
Whilst I agree our new stand looks great, has anyone taken photos of the main stand at tynecastle to see if is still as old and rickety :faf:
05-06-2010, 11:37 AM
Whilst I agree our new stand looks great, has anyone taken photos of the main stand at tynecastle to see if is still as old and rickety :faf:
Bawheid - post #576.
Still there, and likely to to be so for a VERY long tome to come.... :greengrin
05-06-2010, 12:03 PM
The stand looks very open right now, but once the sidescreens are erected and the roof's on it'll look a lot more closed-in. I agree that ideally it would be better if the pitch were entirely enclosed, but I'd say that the atmosphere or lack of it will depend on the people in the stands; the latest pictures of the stadium suggest to me that there'll be no excuse for a lack of atmosphere or noise in the ground next season.
Plus it will mean that we have a pitch the same dimensions as hampden- give us plenty of practice ;)
05-06-2010, 02:09 PM
I walk past the new stand every day but I just drove up St Clair street and believe me, to get the true perspective of the size and beauty of the thing you should stand at the bottom of St Clair - it really is breathtaking.
05-06-2010, 02:36 PM
Let's hope the new stand matches the old one with plenty of asbestos. Indeed it's a national scandal that the Gorgie and Wheatfield stands don't have any. I think it shows today's Yam is being mollycoddled. The classes of '18 and '45 would never have put up with breathing clean air as they built an empire and saved the world from Nazi tyranny. Look at where this featherbedding leads, the snivelling little pansies of 86 who openly cried like little girls over the result of some silly football games in Dundee and Paisley which escape me, and the callow enuchs of today who bend over for some east European despot.
I was there an hour ago. It looks different class. Even the Celtic fan who walking past said it was the business!
hibee4life1983
05-06-2010, 04:25 PM
ALL HAIL THE TACHE!
the stand is looking tipis topis today! its going to be cracking when finished!:top marks
houston1875
05-06-2010, 04:41 PM
I walk past the new stand every day but I just drove up St Clair street and believe me, to get the true perspective of the size and beauty of the thing you should stand at the bottom of St Clair - it really is breathtaking.
aye yer right
i drive up there aw the time and it does look like the bizzo!!
05-06-2010, 05:04 PM
Absolutely. Drove up St Clair Street last night and it looks mighty imposing. It's coming on a treat.
05-06-2010, 06:02 PM
Just seen the stand in real life today. Looks steep and from St Clair street looks the business.
The gap between the South & East does look a wee bit bigger than I for one would like, but should be better once the ends are on the stand. I wouldnt think it would break the club to fill the gaps from ground level to the top of the stands, but if it wasnt in the original or amended plan Hibs would have to get planning permission for that.
Still, its a minor gripe against what looks like being a fantastic ground to watch football in and which should have a cracking atmosphere, gaps or not.
By the way ... Was chucked off of the building site in the most polite way I have ever been chucked out of anywhere by one of the construction workers.
They must be the most photographed folk in Scotland by now.
Edinburgh Green
05-06-2010, 08:30 PM
Cracking pics guys, cheers!
05-06-2010, 10:28 PM
Just seen the stand in real life today. Looks steep and from St Clair street looks the business.
The gap between the South & East does look a wee bit bigger than I for one would like, but should be better once the ends are on the stand. I wouldnt think it would break the club to fill the gaps from ground level to the top of the stands, but if it wasnt in the original or amended plan Hibs would have to get planning permission for that.
Still, its a minor gripe against what looks like being a fantastic ground to watch football in and which should have a cracking atmosphere, gaps or not.
By the way ... Was chucked off of the building site in the most polite way I have ever been chucked out of anywhere by one of the construction workers.
Make a habit of it do you? :greengrin
I'm guessing you were asked to leave because you were a different height from the workers and your clothes were a different shade of green :greengrin
Sweep
06-06-2010, 01:28 PM
I was down there today and took these photos.6250
06-06-2010, 01:33 PM
think it was mentioned on another thread we've got planning permission to build something in the corners.
Sweep
06-06-2010, 01:34 PM
And some more.
06-06-2010, 01:37 PM
And some more.
Good effort mate - are there workies in this weekend too?
06-06-2010, 01:41 PM
think it was mentioned on another thread we've got planning permission to build something in the corners.
Yup, some of the corners are getting cladding half way up.
Sweep
06-06-2010, 01:44 PM
Good effort mate - are there workies in this weekend too?
No site was closed.
HibeeMcGinn1
06-06-2010, 02:19 PM
No site was closed.
Petrie :grr::grr::grr:
06-06-2010, 02:28 PM
Yup, some of the corners are getting cladding half way up.
Sorry for my stupidity but whats cladding?
06-06-2010, 02:33 PM
Sorry for my stupidity but whats cladding?
Don't you watch Corrie :greengrin
hibee4life1983
06-06-2010, 02:39 PM
There will be corner infills but from the planning its hard to tell if the infills (prob plastic with pictures of past players etc) will start at ground level to half way up or half way up to the top???
I still dont know whats happning with the segragation fence inside the east, its straight down the middle and can surely only be for other teams playing at e.r, semis, nationals etc.
If the tache thinks, the world stops.
Sorry for my stupidity but whats cladding?Aluminium or fibreglass sheeting basically...similar to the stuff used on the exterior of the other stands ..second pic on post 642 as an example...
steviecarnie
06-06-2010, 02:49 PM
i would expect something like this
http://i48.tinypic.com/2dhcpwp.png
http://i48.tinypic.com/2dhcpwp.pngTo the top i would imagine Stevie ..:agree:
06-06-2010, 02:59 PM
To the top i would imagine Stevie ..:agree:
Pretty sure it is only half way up (for the optimists) or "why are we only going halfway" :grr: (for the pessimists)
I also think that it is only for the corners connecting the east to North & South. Not all corners will be done.
06-06-2010, 03:04 PM
To the top i would imagine Stevie ..:agree:
Pretty sure the cladding will only go from ground level to halfway up the stands. Surely the cladding will be the same stuff as the plastic windshields?
06-06-2010, 03:12 PM
I would be quite chuffed if they had that at each side of the stand connecting to the South and North, would look brilliant and would create an enclosed feeling and keep the atmosphere better!!
Pretty sure it is only half way up (for the optimists) or "why are we only going halfway" :grr: (for the pessimists)
I also think that it is only for the corners connecting the east to North & South. Not all corners will be done.
Pretty sure the cladding will only go from ground level to halfway up the stands. Surely the cladding will be the same stuff as the plastic windshields?If the plan is to "retain" atmosphere then i would have assumed it would be bottom to top...anything less would be a pointless & costly exercise i would think ..bottom to top would give a real feeling of being enclosed imo ..
steviecarnie
06-06-2010, 03:25 PM
I would be quite chuffed if they had that at each side of the stand connecting to the South and North, would look brilliant and would create an enclosed feeling and keep the atmosphere better!!
am i right in thinking that the south - west connection must be kept clear for emergency vehicle access?
also as i pointed out on friday, the guys have built a wall connecting the FF to the east which i still havent worked out whats its for.
06-06-2010, 03:33 PM
If the plan is to "retain" atmosphere then i would have assumed it would be bottom to top...anything less would be a pointless & costly exercise i would think ..bottom to top would give a real feeling of being enclosed imo ..
I would have preffered bottom to top too but as I have said I think it is just half way up. Perhaps the cost of it will be covered by the advertising space it creates?
06-06-2010, 03:37 PM
am i right in thinking that the south - west connection must be kept clear for emergency vehicle access?
also as i pointed out on friday, the guys have built a wall connecting the FF to the east which i still havent worked out whats its for.
to keep folk out :dunno:
06-06-2010, 03:47 PM
I'd have thought the club could enclose every corner, if whatever they used was on hinges? It would look superb if this was done.
JoJo_07
06-06-2010, 04:00 PM
Pretty sure the cladding will only go from ground level to halfway up the stands. Surely the cladding will be the same stuff as the plastic windshields?
Microrib cladding is going to be used. Looks like to half way up hight of the East (see here (http://citydev-portal.edinburgh.gov.uk/portal/getEdmDoc?docid=56766552)). Looks like for only corner of East and FF just now.
I would have preffered bottom to top too but as I have said I think it is just half way up. Perhaps the cost of it will be covered by the advertising space it creates?The higher the panels the more advertising ..whatever the outcome ..the stand is gonna look superb ...aw we need to do is fill it ...:agree:
06-06-2010, 04:12 PM
My understanding is that the cladding is just between FF and East and its function is just to stop people looking in from the outside as opposed to any atmosphere or advertising benefit (although it may prove beneficial for both).
steviecarnie
06-06-2010, 04:13 PM
to keep folk out :dunno:
no its right next to the pitch and is no more than half a metre high
I've been told by the club its going to the level of the split of the two tier stands.
It cant be higher as the structures would have to be strengthened to take account of wind. This would be too expensive to make it worthwhile.
Jamie
06-06-2010, 09:16 PM
I've been told by the club its going to the level of the split of the two tier stands.
It cant be higher as the structures would have to be strengthened to take account of wind. This would be too expensive to make it worthwhile.
.:thumbsup: yip I said this bout 6207 posts ago :grr:
06-06-2010, 09:22 PM
Went down for a wee neb this evening on the way back from my folks' (never had time to get out and take photos), and I have to say the stand is very impressive indeed. The photos are good, but when you see it up close you really do get a sense of just how good the stadium is going to be.:thumbsup:
Sweep
06-06-2010, 09:44 PM
heres some more from today
hibeemarley
06-06-2010, 09:51 PM
I would like a big screen up there for replays, would be good i think. How much would one of these cost?
Baw187
06-06-2010, 11:04 PM
I would like a big screen up there for replays, would be good i think. How much would one of these cost?
A fair whack. Sure the Huns paid millions for theirs. Not something the Tash would see as a worthwhile investment.
hibeemarley
06-06-2010, 11:25 PM
A fair whack. Sure the Huns paid millions for theirs. Not something the Tash would see as a worthwhile investment.
yeah and theirs don't even work. I'm trying to find out online how much one of these would cost, also installation and servicing costs.
Perhaps it could be an investment. potential to get people into the ground when it's not being used. pre-game and half time advertising costs could also help fund it maybe.
07-06-2010, 06:32 AM
yeah and theirs don't even work. I'm trying to find out online how much one of these would cost, also installation and servicing costs.
Perhaps it could be an investment. potential to get people into the ground when it's not being used. pre-game and half time advertising costs could also help fund it maybe.
It was said at the Listening Forums that the price of putting in screens is huge and therefore not cost effective. As was filling in the corners with seating, so they're putting in the cladding in the corners to allow atmosphere to be maintained a bit more, and to give more advertising space to sell.
There's already enough people of here moaning about us not investing enough money in the squad without us spending hundreds of thousands on a giant telly instead :greengrin
The way it's progressing, and depending on the fixtures, I think it might well be ready for our first home game this season. I'd be very surprised if there's not an incentive for the builders in there to have that done.
07-06-2010, 07:36 AM
Surely big screens can't cost that much in this day and age?!
Even every team in the A-League has at least one big screen!
07-06-2010, 07:54 AM
heres some more from today
The view from St Clair's is very impressive. Thanks.
07-06-2010, 08:04 AM
I wonder of they kept the old scoreboard that was on top of the cowshed - they could maybe stitch something together with that. :hmmm:
Auckland Hibs
07-06-2010, 08:08 AM
Doing one in Auckland at the moment (50 inch screens) 8 wide x 8 high which is costing circa $1m + NZ including sound system.
Brummie_Hibs
07-06-2010, 10:12 AM
I really hope we DON'T have a big screen.
The atmosphere at ER is bad enough at times without this being a distraction after each goal, or worse still if they are used to display the game in real time...
steviecarnie
07-06-2010, 11:10 AM
I really hope we DON'T have a big screen.
The atmosphere at ER is bad enough at times without this being a distraction after each goal, or worse still if they are used to display the game in real time...
dont think your allowed to show the game in real time. as its a distraction to the players and referee
07-06-2010, 03:11 PM
dont think your allowed to show the game in real time. as its a distraction to the players and referee
This big screen crap really is my pet hate, fuds like Lampard Drogba Ronaldo and everone else seem to watch it all the time to see if there on it, get on with the fking game I say!, gets right up my nose!
houston1875
07-06-2010, 03:25 PM
even could show hibs euro away games for those who cant make trip?
blairwallace
07-06-2010, 03:48 PM
if not the GIANT tv, why not an artist impression on how a penalty claim ect happened?
any advertising the buggers can pay/draw it themselves, saves a heep! :greengrin
therealgavmac
07-06-2010, 04:03 PM
What's all that green stuff in the middle of the stands :confused::wink:
even could show hibs euro away games for those who cant make trip?
They'll do beambacks to the bars and suites within the stadium for fans (or not if the game will be on BBC which is likely)
07-06-2010, 05:24 PM
They'll do beambacks to the bars and suites within the stadium for fans (or not if the game will be on BBC which is likely)
We could sign Nade and project the games onto his arse:agree:
Sweep
07-06-2010, 09:36 PM
A couple more.
Jamie
07-06-2010, 10:30 PM
pitch is gonna be superb
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3569/medium/7th_June_25_.JPG
07-06-2010, 10:37 PM
Doing one in Auckland at the moment (50 inch screens) 8 wide x 8 high which is costing circa $1m + NZ including sound system.
Aye but you'll be ripping tha Jafa's off I hope :wink::greengrin
ionahibby
07-06-2010, 10:47 PM
pitch is gonna be superb
Was at wedding at easter road a couple of weeks ago and the pitch was just soil how has it grown so quick:confused: Looks good though:top marks
pitch is gonna be superb
Jamie, is that honestly what the pitch is like just now? Or has it been photoshopped or something.
I would be over the moon if it was real!!
07-06-2010, 11:07 PM
Jamie, is that honestly what the pitch is like just now? Or has it been photoshopped or something.
Yeah, it's real. If you look at the first of SC07TY's pics on this page you can make out where the photo has been taken. It looks fantastic :thumbsup:
Jamie
07-06-2010, 11:09 PM
Was at wedding at easter road a couple of weeks ago and the pitch was just soil how has it grown so quick:confused: Looks good though:top marks
Have had good weather for it :agree:
100%, that was taken last night bout 830ish
I've a massive pic here (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3569/7th_June_25_.JPG)
Yeah, it's real. If you look at the first of SC07TY's pics on this page you can make out where the photo has been taken. It looks fantastic :thumbsup:
07-06-2010, 11:09 PM
pitch looks sensational! :top marks
steviecarnie
07-06-2010, 11:14 PM
Have had good weather for it :agree:
100%, that was taken tonight bout 830ish
I've a massive pic here (http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3569/7th_June_25_.JPG)
hows the corner between the west and south looking? when at mates on fri/sat it was still really sandy with little green coming through
ionahibby
07-06-2010, 11:17 PM
pitch is gonna be superb
With a pitch like that there better be no hoofball next season :grr:
Jamie
07-06-2010, 11:18 PM
aye still growing that part, its early june and going to have loads o time to grow, its going to look superb, well done hibs, seeding it is so much better :thumbsup:
added a couple of pics, in 5-6 days the pitch has went from this....
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3569/medium/2nd_June_20_.JPG
to this...
08-06-2010, 06:57 AM
aye still growing that part, its early june and going to have loads o time to grow, its going to look superb, well done hibs, seeding it is so much better :thumbsup:
added a couple of pics, in 5-6 days the pitch has went from this....
http://www.hibeesbounce.com/gallery/data/3569/medium/2nd_June_20_.JPG
to this...
That looks great
08-06-2010, 08:09 AM
What's that for mate?
Still, $500,000 - once advertising etc on it is taken into account, it's not really a HUGE amount overall.
Game is on in real time at Ibrox I'm sure :agree:
08-06-2010, 08:10 AM
I believe part of the seating deck is to be made available for our Euro game(s).
Sparks already working on the inside of the stand:agree:
08-06-2010, 09:50 AM
If I remember correctly from last season, I'm sure the game is on in real time on the big screens at Parkhead. At Ibrox, they only show goal replays and during the game, only the score is displayed.
I could be totally wrong, though!
08-06-2010, 10:20 AM
Pitch looks superb! Well done Petrie for hopefully getting it sorted - it is after all, the most important part of a football stadium!
Deek should have a bit more cash in his pocket next season!
08-06-2010, 12:50 PM
some more pics:
08-06-2010, 12:51 PM
some more pics:
and one more:
08-06-2010, 12:55 PM
Petrie needs to sort out this weather. The stand's getting wet.
08-06-2010, 01:10 PM
Petrie needs to sort out this weather. The stand's getting wet.Petrie demanded 5 days of rain to allow the grass roots to become established. :agree:
M11BMO
08-06-2010, 02:29 PM
Sorry if this has already been mentioned,(18 pages of coments is a hell of a lot to read through!!)
I've just recieved an email with pictures attached of a Yam top being put into a plastic bag and placed in a hole ready to be covered!!
http://i910.photobucket.com/albums/ac307/M11BMO/Test/NewImage.jpg
http://i910.photobucket.com/albums/ac307/M11BMO/Test/NewImage1-1.jpg
http://i910.photobucket.com/albums/ac307/M11BMO/Test/NewImage2.jpg
The wee Bint!!! :grr: Now if the ****bos say our stand was built on ***** then they won't be wrong!
M11BMO
08-06-2010, 02:34 PM
Sorry if this has already been mentioned,(18 pages of coments is a hell of a lot to read through!!)
I've just recieved an email with pictures attached of a Yam top being put into a plastic bag and placed in a hole ready to be covered!!
The wee Bint!!! :grr: Now if the ****bos say our stand was built on ***** then they won't be wrong!
Just noticed a new thread has been made regarding this...:rolleyes:
SidBurns
08-06-2010, 02:36 PM
She'd get boabied though eh!?! Would make her dig with her teeth while I rammed her from behind!!! :greengrin
08-06-2010, 02:37 PM
The wee bit concrete where ma seat's goin is getting wet cause there's nae roof. Imagine designing a stand wi nae roof!!
Petrie, get it sorted.
M11BMO
08-06-2010, 02:49 PM
She'd get boabied though eh!?! Would make her dig with her teeth while I rammed her from behind!!! :greengrin
AMEN.
Prof. Shaggy
08-06-2010, 07:04 PM
AMEN.
You done a Risk Assessment?
08-06-2010, 07:44 PM
Seems like there is only the end roof strut to be put into place and that will be the skeleton of the stand pretty much complete. :thumbsup:
08-06-2010, 07:58 PM
some more pics:
looking well good
shame we'll no see those UJ muppets in the flats at the back anymore:wink:
Auckland Hibs
08-06-2010, 08:05 PM
What's that for mate?
Still, $500,000 - once advertising etc on it is taken into account, it's not really a HUGE amount overall.
Commercial Project in Central Auckland, the client wants a huge screen in the 12 storey atrium to show the Rugby World Cup Games Live - should look amazing once completed.
Disc O'Dave
08-06-2010, 08:16 PM
Seems like there is only the end roof strut to be put into place and that will be the skeleton of the stand pretty much complete. :thumbsup:
Indeed, that was the case at a quarter to 6
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4049/4683295854_9e44bac945.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4010/4683302696_0d4655e3a6.jpg
08-06-2010, 08:27 PM
The pitch is looking excellent.
Good pics Jamie cheers.
09-06-2010, 10:28 AM
Indeed, that was the case at a quarter to 6
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4049/4683295854_9e44bac945.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4010/4683302696_0d4655e3a6.jpg
Oh yes. NOW we're cookin wi gas.... :thumbsup:
HibeeMcGinn1
09-06-2010, 11:30 AM
ive not got a gas cooker though
petrie:grr:
(((Fergus)))
09-06-2010, 12:32 PM
Just noticed a new thread has been made regarding this...:rolleyes:
My spidey sense is tingling
09-06-2010, 12:47 PM
Can't see pics on work computer. :grr:
Petrie get it sorted.
Disc O'Dave
09-06-2010, 01:58 PM
I managed to get exclusive access to the seating deck. Worryingly, and in spite of best design practise, it seems there will still be two or three seats with a restricted view......
09-06-2010, 02:07 PM
I managed to get exclusive access to the seating deck. Worryingly, and in spite of best design practise, it seems there will still be two or three seats with a restricted view......
steviecarnie
09-06-2010, 02:15 PM
that must be pretty high up? can be only reason why petrie hasnt sent a women into give it a dust :greengrin
09-06-2010, 02:16 PM
On that note, what happened to the East's pillars? I got so enthralled watching 'The Scheme' that I bought myself a new 70 inch LCD plasma screen, but I find it a bit too bright and overbearing. It would be nice to get a pillar installed in the front room, so I could duck and dive, thus recreating the unique atmosphere of the East (when it was the East!!) in my own front room.
steviecarnie
09-06-2010, 02:49 PM
On that note, what happened to the East's pillars? I got so enthralled watching 'The Scheme' that I bought myself a new 70 inch LCD plasma screen, but I find it a bit too bright and overbearing. It would be nice to get a pillar installed in the front room, so I could duck and dive, thus recreating the unique atmosphere of the East (when it was the East!!) in my own front room.
i heard dalkieth demolition had stolen them, painted them maroon and had presented them to hearts as a gift to help shore up the crumbling main stand.........since its gonna be around for a long long time to come.
09-06-2010, 02:49 PM
I know Mikey has the timelapse movie pieced together. would be good if someone could do a video for youtube or something of all the photos we have posted up here once the stand is complete as there are some crackers and good to get the development of the stand at different angles.
Sweep
09-06-2010, 04:47 PM
www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=906730
Just found this site on restricted view seats. My favourite one is the CAGE post #45 :shocked:
09-06-2010, 05:34 PM
Pity we didn't have all this fancy technology generations ago. It would be fascinating to have a webcam on the Asbo stand at the PBS to record the momentous changes that have taken place there over the decades.
09-06-2010, 05:41 PM
Pity we didn't have all this fancy technology generations ago. It would be fascinating to have a webcam on the Asbo stand at the PBS to record the momentous changes that have taken place there over the decades.
They had one, Bob.
It was stolen.
09-06-2010, 06:49 PM
I would have thought that a time lapse camera would be more appropriate.
One picture every five years?
I managed to get exclusive access to the seating deck. Worryingly, and in spite of best design practise, it seems there will still be two or three seats with a restricted view.........:thumbsup:
Disc O'Dave
09-06-2010, 08:47 PM
Getting back on topic :greengrin ......
Still waiting for the last roof strut to go up, but the guys were putting on lots more of the support framework for the cladding and the roof.....
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4018/4686330592_30cf0c5522.jpg
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4045/4686335448_9418a1eed2.jpg
09-06-2010, 09:04 PM
since i wasnt going to HOH tonight i decided to take the time to go to ER and head up arthur seat.
despite almost killing myself several times (don't wear trainers) i managed to get a good few angles of the stadium and it looks brilliant. I really recommend to anyone to get up
there and have a look from there. the view is sensational.
Here are a selection from the 50 odd pics i took:
6307 (http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs640.snc3/32114_407276628727_500378727_4171422_2989844_n.jpg )
09-06-2010, 09:06 PM
09-06-2010, 09:07 PM
09-06-2010, 09:08 PM
09-06-2010, 09:09 PM
09-06-2010, 09:10 PM
09-06-2010, 09:11 PM
09-06-2010, 09:12 PM
steviecarnie
09-06-2010, 09:15 PM
looks a massive gap compared to the west to FF/South. hopefully the cladding will work and keep the sound in.
09-06-2010, 09:16 PM
and last but not least....
and not of Easter road but how nice is this...
09-06-2010, 09:17 PM
Christ someone got bored, great pics though. :thumbsup:
09-06-2010, 09:18 PM
quality isnt exactly great through the uploader /url link but if anyone wants a full size one let me know.
the panorama ones are class"
09-06-2010, 09:18 PM
Loving your work mate. :thumbsup:
Disc O'Dave
09-06-2010, 09:19 PM
Fantastic work sir - I think you may have decided one of me weekend activities for me!
09-06-2010, 09:32 PM
Fantastic work sir - I think you may have decided one of me weekend activities for me!
definitely, get yourself up there, someone with a better eye for a picture and with some better lighting you'll get a few crackers :thumbsup:
Jamie
09-06-2010, 09:38 PM
Was thinking the same even before seeing these pics :thumbsup:
Getting back on topic :greengrin ......
Still waiting for the last roof strut to go up, but the guys were putting on lots more of the support framework for the cladding and the roof.....
Which will just be the steel "bar" at the end supporting the uprights I think ?
09-06-2010, 10:14 PM
Thanks for those pictures :thumbsup:
It looks like the South / East corner is pretty close (enclosed) - where as the North / East there is more of a gap.
Hard to tell really as the final sides of the stand aren't on yet.
Either way it still looks amazing and all the tourists heading up Arthur Seat will get a great view! :agree:
HibeesLA
09-06-2010, 10:26 PM
Was thinking the same even before seeing these pics :thumbsup:
Which will just be the steel "bar" at the end supporting the uprights I think ?
Looking at the South end of the Roof, would agree that it's the steel bar that joins the roof with the side cladding. Amazing how better it looks each day, even with just things like the extra framework going on the roof and North side.
The days that they start the exterior cladding and the day that the first seats are installed are what I'm looking forward to seeing.
Many thanks to everyone that's posting here and on the Bounce.
10-06-2010, 07:43 AM
Managed to sneak up Gorgie last night and check out the progress of their new stand.
I have to say it's coming on a treat!
http://www.h2odaleziegler.com/show-image/329506/Dale-Ziegler/Sunday-Afternoon.jpg