View Full Version : Thoughts on the manager

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]

13-04-2024, 04:19 PM
Out

13-04-2024, 04:20 PM
He’s finished now sadly, whether that’s immediately if he limps on. Though today showed the manager isn’t the only, perhaps not even the main, issue. Individuals letting us down once again.

Youan playing for himself. Boyle & Emiliano anonymous yet again. A long throw into the box, like crosses all season, not dealt with and unsurprisingly loses us a goal.

We were seconds away, and a Rangers win, from being 2 points off 5th and a likely European place. Fine margins. I’m more looking forward to seeing the back of the vast majority of the squad than I am the manager.

Trinity Hibee
We’ve missed out on the bare minimum. Has to go preferably before end of the season so we can start recruiting

TrinityHFC
Whether he goes or not is 50/50. They could wait till wed, come out with a statement, mutual agreement, etc etc.

Or, he could stay, disappointed not to get top 6, but focused on future, etc etc

Its honestly, just up to them really

I wouldnt be that fussed if he did go so long as the appointment of a new manager was done swiftly. Another roll of the dice does not make me happier than if we keep him though

They just can’t keep him. The club needs enthusiasm around it for next year. He’s done.

CathroMustStay
13-04-2024, 04:21 PM
Worse than Lee Johnson.

Needs to be sacked in the next 48 hours.

TimeForHeroes32
13-04-2024, 04:21 PM
Only option is to sack him. Lost majority off the fans and cost the club thousands for not only not getting Europe but failed on get us top 6. The only people that could say he’s the man or he needs more time are happy clappers and I’m sure they will be some off them idiots about tonight. Just hope Foley has enough say at club to get rid as I can’t say the idiots at club like Kensall or Gordon’s will come to the solution of sacking him. The experiment failed I hope they see this

calumb
13-04-2024, 04:22 PM
I'm usually in the camp to give someone until the end of the season, especially with nothing to play for, gives us more time to plan. However, with 15 points to play for and 12 points off the playoff, I'm still not convinced we're safe with this guy in charge! We need one win, but I'm not confident of beating anybody at the moment.

Did we not slip into the bottom 6 on that last day of the split in 2014? then we always just needed a win to be safe

13-04-2024, 04:24 PM
This boy has been waving red flags since day 1. It’s ridiculous he wasn’t sacked months ago.

13-04-2024, 04:24 PM
Did we not slip into the bottom 6 on that last day of the split in 2014? then we always just needed a win to be safe

Yep. Needed a point at St Johnstone and lost.

13-04-2024, 04:25 PM
Most important game for a while and chucks on a lad who hasn’t played in 3 months for the most important 15 mins in a long time!! Says it all!!!!!

100% and other mess up to add to his mistakes.

AL-Qaholik
13-04-2024, 04:26 PM
He’s desperate for his pay off.
Knows he’s out of his depth but doesn’t have the professional prude to walk away knowing he’s failed.
Yet another in the long list of wage thieves at this club of late.

The Tubs

My dislike for him is reaching Butcher-esque proportions too.

Bring in Neil Lennon.

Aye he’s done now. Bottom six finish can’t be explained away and he deserves booted.

13-04-2024, 04:30 PM
Thoughts? Thoughts are get him to ****

Another useless **** in a continuing trend of useless ***** since Kensell came in

13-04-2024, 04:32 PM
I don’t think NM will survive the weekend. And it won’t surprise me if we’ve already been sounding out his replacement behind the scenes.

CyberSauzee
I was hoping to come on here and see he's been emptied... can't come soon enough

That’s that then.

Greenio
13-04-2024, 04:34 PM
I actually think he will go.

It's kind of given them something to point to. He may well have had a performance clause or have it matched to making the 6. Might not have as it wasn't a full season but maybe

13-04-2024, 04:35 PM
That Warnock fella not fancy challenging the old firm?

I really wanted him to do well but bottom 6 is pathetic. We start all over again I suppose.

He’s not got a clue how to manage games, leaving Youan on and bringing on a player who’s been out for months and not up to speed for the last 15 minutes of a must win game plus the mismanagement of the last few minutes alone is unacceptable. The whole season has been awful under him.

I don’t think NM will survive the weekend. And it won’t surprise me if we’ve already been sounding out his replacement behind the scenes.

Neil Lennon, seen jumping into a taxi on Byers Rd, heard shouting to the driver Easter Road please Driver.

13-04-2024, 04:37 PM
Yeah, he should probably get his jotters now. We had a poor start domestically under Johnson, but Monty has had more than enough time to secure top 6, the position was far from insurmountable given how early on in the season we changed managers.

Bottom 6 is totally unacceptable, especially with the amount we’ve spent.

The only thing I disagree with is the use of the word "probably". It's absolutely disgraceful with the resources he has had, especially since the window, that he has FAILED to achieve the minimum of Top 6.

*If he stays, I hope that this post makes me look incredibly stupid at Christmas

13-04-2024, 04:38 PM
Neil Lennon, seen jumping into a taxi on Byers Rd, heard shouting to the driver Easter Road please Driver.

You just never know AHB 😉

13-04-2024, 04:40 PM
I think he’ll stay.

That’s not me saying he’s should, I just have a feeling he will.

13-04-2024, 04:41 PM
Time to go.

I say that with a heavy heart as I was really excited by his appointment and really wanted a gaffer we could all get behind and give time to really build something.

He has had a huge majority of the season though and it's him who has failed to get top 6. Not Johnson, not Gray but Montgomery. More concerningly we are still seeing all the same issues we saw when he first came in. Poor game management, strange almost robotic subs and a complete inability to win games from strong positions. Since he came in we have had 8 wins v 9 losses in the league. That's abysmal.

13-04-2024, 04:43 PM
If Montgomery stays, it will be a firm statement from the club that bottom six is acceptable. While I see the failings of Montgomery, I think most of our players should hang their heads in shame.

Hibees1973
13-04-2024, 04:47 PM
If Montgomery stays, it will be a firm statement from the club that bottom six is acceptable. Club

If he stays it would make Ian Gordon and Kensell look even more ridiculous as well.

They sacked our previous three managers who were given less money to spend and had inferior playing squads.

13-04-2024, 04:47 PM
Too many draws have been his and Hibs undoing. 12 in 30 games I think. And lots of very late injury time equalisers/winners from winning positions. Ross County, Hearts, Celtic, St Mirren, Motherwell are 5 games I can think of that cost us 8 pts alone.

Maybe I'm in the minority (or maybe a silent majority :greengrin) but I think we should stick with NM. We can't keep changing managers every season and some twice a season. The club needs stability and a bit of patience to build a winning team.

I think we have been unlucky and losing 9 pts from our first three games didn't help.

13-04-2024, 04:48 PM

Many a true word said in jest.

13-04-2024, 04:49 PM
Bill Foley must be thinking WTF ?

I don’t think he does mediocrity or failure

The infrastructure is here the fans are here the only thing that is lacking is the product out on the pitch it is sleep inducing and crap

Build a team worth watching and they will come

K-Zazu
13-04-2024, 04:53 PM
I don’t think he’s going anywhere, will get the summer to rebuild.

The infrastructure is here the fans are here the only thing that is lacking is the product out on the pitch it is sleep inducing and crap

I think he’ll be behind some pretty ruthless- and necessary - decisions in the next few weeks. NM won’t be manager for a start 👍

He's not resigning anyway.

Mikey_1875
We surely can’t have a manager starting a new season under the mountain of pressure that he would be under. Another season like this with an early sacking would see our currently resilient attendances free fall.

I can’t think of a reason to keep him but I am worried the board might.

He has been an awful appointment. Time to take the hit (again) and lean on our new investors for a replacement.

13-04-2024, 04:57 PM
Most important game for a while and chucks on a lad who hasn’t played in 3 months for the most important 15 mins in a long time!! Says it all!!!!!

100% and other mess up to add to his mistakes.

13-04-2024, 04:57 PM
I don’t think he’s going anywhere, will get the summer to rebuild.

Whomever is the manager will hopefully oversee a complete revamp of the playing staff.

The only thing we have to look forward to now is the announcement of players leaving and players coming in.

13-04-2024, 04:58 PM
He can point to bad luck and not just in isolation, but ultimately he had the following recent games to wrack up one extra win which would have been enough:

St Johnstone X2
Ross County
Motherwell X2
A poor Aberdeen that were there for the taking

I'm being generous there and not including that St Mirren humping, not the relative positives, which were a point from 2-0 down against Kilmarnock, plus the Hearts draw and Celtic defeat where we were decent enough. Umpteen winnable games when we've been in good situations, and he couldn't get three points in any of them.

His team are another in the long line of Hibs sides with terrible habits of losing late goals, which simply lingers on and on. The moments we play at any intensity are so few and far between they get heralded as 8/9 out of ten performances, which we've really just been above average. You could happily forego watching a good hour of our games safe in the knowledge you wouldn't miss anything.

It was a January window that comfortably should have seen us with enough points to make sixth, and it's a substantial failure in his part that we haven't.

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk

We were sat with Ross County away, Huns away, St Johnstone home, Motherwell away. 3 points out of that run of fixtures would have got us top 6.

He's not resigning anyway.

Shouldn't be an option of resigning he should be sacked NOW.

13-04-2024, 05:01 PM
Has he gone yet?

13-04-2024, 05:02 PM
We were sat with Ross County away, Huns away, St Johnstone home, Motherwell away. 3 points out of that run of fixtures would have got us top 6.

Mental 🤣

13-04-2024, 05:03 PM
There’s no coming back from this.

Murphys Touch
13-04-2024, 05:05 PM
Too many draws have been his and Hibs undoing. 12 in 30 games I think. And lots of very late injury time equalisers/winners from winning positions. Ross County, Hearts, Celtic, St Mirren, Motherwell are 5 games I can think of that cost us 8 pts alone.

Maybe I'm in the minority (or maybe a silent majority :greengrin) but I think we should stick with NM. We can't keep changing managers every season and some twice a season. The club needs stability and a bit of patience to build a winning team.

I think we have been unlucky and losing 9 pts from our first three games didn't help.

I get and understand your arguement! I think we are all fed up of this cycle we are in!

But in reality, those last minute goals are only hugely impactful because we are not 2 or 3 goals up against the dross. We are not dominating enough of games. Add in the disgusting defeats to those 90min loses and it’s very grim

13-04-2024, 05:06 PM
Hopefully the club have learnt their lesson.

No more rookies. No more slavers. No more wannabes from crap leagues.

Get an experienced pro in that knows what he's doing. It's not hard.

13-04-2024, 05:06 PM

It is absolutely mental how many chances we've had to just do our job now -

Can't hold onto a lead away to Ross County in the dying embers (while also playing without a striker for the first 45 minutes)
Can't beat a horrendous St Johnstone side at home.
Can't defend another throw in to win the game away at Motherwell.

And that's all within the last 30 days or so before you even take into account the shambles of results from November to nearly February. I've never seen a team so capable of shooting itself in the foot so often, and while the players need to take a good long hard look at themselves. A lot of it comes from the manager being so far out his depth and making some of the most bizarre choices I've seen.

For the love of god get rid of this man and let us all move on and have the Black Knights try and clear the rot out this club.

13-04-2024, 05:07 PM

Would be my first choice, even to the end of the season for a bit of fun :greengrin

13-04-2024, 05:09 PM
He's not made top 6 - a simple target.

He’s had numerous opportunities to win gets to get the required points to make top 6 including winnable games against..

St Johnstone home (loss)
Ross County away (draw)
St Mirren home (loss)
Motherwell home (draw)
St Johnstone away (loss)
Ross county home (draw)
St Mirren away (draw)
Motherwell away (draw)

So many dropped points - and simply not acceptable for a Hibs manager with the resources we provide.

Top 6 was even an achievement either - it’s a total failure being 23 points behind Hearts - plus 12 behind Killie and points behind Dundee and St Mirren!

13-04-2024, 05:09 PM
Would be my first choice, even to the end of the season for a bit of fun :greengrin

I’d maybe be checking the current odds WTC 💰

13-04-2024, 05:11 PM
I’d maybe be checking the current odds WTC 💰

I'd love it.

Despite what you read on here, ER would be bouncing on his debut with the crowd chanting his name.

Something that Maloney, LJ or NM rarely, if ever, experienced.

Would be the best news in ages from ER :thumbsup:

13-04-2024, 05:13 PM
Hopefully the club have learnt their lesson.

No more rookies. No more slavers. No more wannabes from crap leagues.

Get an experienced pro in that knows what he's doing. It's not hard.

Yip get an old fashioned fitba man in that knows the game inside out

A Tony Mowbray or a P Clement although he is turning into too much of a Hun for my liking 😀

13-04-2024, 05:14 PM

When you state it like that...it's absolutely awful !!!

jakedance
13-04-2024, 05:14 PM
I’m desperate to get out this cycle of continually changing managers but there is nothing to suggest Montgomery can be successful. We need the owners to invest in a proper manager.

Here we go again.

13-04-2024, 05:17 PM
Some of his comments make me think he doesn’t get the significance of it. Saying we were 20 seconds from jubilation.

Whilst I’d much rather be in the top six than not, there would have been no jubilation.

13-04-2024, 05:19 PM
Some of his comments make me think he doesn’t get the significance of it. Saying we were 20 seconds from jubilation.

Whilst I’d much rather be in the top six than not, there would have been no jubilation.

And they hopeless clowns 🤡 can't see game out Boyle Newell Levitt and a few others can GTF as well

DinkyTwo
13-04-2024, 05:19 PM
I'd get rid of him now.

Not helped in the slightest by VAR, but he's fell at every hurdle this season.

Absolutely no confidence that he can turn things around.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

13-04-2024, 05:20 PM

I couldn't believe what I was hearing.
You are spot on . He just doesn't get it.

13-04-2024, 05:20 PM
When we got him I thought he would be the type of character that would get players motivated even if he was a bit tactically naive. Turns out he can't do either so I'm not sure why we'd continue with him in charge.

I don't think for a minute that Bill Foley will want him in charge and he'll be gone pretty soon. I feel for the guy based on the fact that he's come half way round the world and hopefully he doesn't have to experience too much abuse.

Best all round if he left now.

Hibiza
13-04-2024, 05:21 PM
Tactically inept ,been shown on a repeated basis .

13-04-2024, 05:21 PM
You could give him the remainder of his contract or a further seven years. It's clear as day he's never going to turn this round.

He's done and we need to move on now to avoid the same mistake we made with LJ last time in giving him the summer window. Hope the board won't make that mistake again.

Trinity Hibee
13-04-2024, 05:22 PM
Everybody is devastated' - Montgomery
FT: Motherwell 1-1 Hibernian
Hibernian manager Nick Montgomery tells BBC Scotland: "It's really hard to explain how that [late goal] happened but it's happened too many times to us this season, one shot on target and we concede from it.

"I think we could have had two or three goals today and the game could have been more than over way before that incident.

"Everybody is devastated in the dressing room, they put their heart and soul into the performance. We were 20 seconds away from still having a great chance to be in the top six, so we will have to reflect on that and move forward.

"I came in and the club was in a difficult position. I have done everything I possibly can.

"We brought in some very good players in January but as a club we have to reflect on the season.

"I have been here for three quarters of it and we can look back at all the things that have gone wrong and gone against us but we should have won the game today.

"I thought the boys were brave and played really well but we can only look back with regret now that we dropped too many points from games we should have won."

Roxyhibee
13-04-2024, 05:24 PM
He said “Hibs players put their heart and soul into that game..”. I know he’s got to say something, but if that’s one of his teams giving their all for him and the club, we need to have him gone before Monday afternoon.

As I get older, dafter and more sensitive, I do actually feel myself sympathising with managers with young families, who have moved here, got into a school etc. Edinburgh is a fantastic city. It’s a hard game.. but managers so out of their depth cannot be allowed to allow to let our great club drift into mediocrity or worse - which is exactly where he’s taking us.

I'm Spartacus
13-04-2024, 05:25 PM
I’m desperate to get out this cycle of continually changing managers but there is nothing to suggest Montgomery can be successful. We need the owners to invest in a proper manager.

Here we go again.

The owners, are the owners and decision makers the same people?

We are absolutly embarrassing.

mixumatosis
13-04-2024, 05:26 PM
I couldn't believe what I was hearing.
You are spot on . He just doesn't get it.

"Since i've come in i've done everything i possibly could."

Well that makes a pretty compelling case that you've nothing more to offer Nick, because doing everything you possibly could have has not got us to a position that's acceptable.

Said it before I’ll say it again

His stubborness sticking with 4-4-2 was the early sign

He changed it - got a little bit better

He’s too loyal to the wrong players

Out his depth

Not won any noteable key games

None!

Hibiza
We ( whoever ), appointed a rookie manager from a rookie league .got the end result.

Brought in Triantis to solve our issues at centre back.

Has a nightmare start, drops him and then plays him centre mid.

Sign any competent manager and their first two signings will be centre back

There’s just nothing there. Nothing at all. And we are also paying a price now for the death of Ron Gordon. Effectively our club is owned by someone who inherited a toy from his dad, has no experience in the field whatsoever and cannot be removed.

We’d better hope the BKs can throw their weight around.

Trinity Hibee

Well that makes a pretty compelling case that you've nothing more to offer Nick, because doing everything you possibly could have has not got us to a position that's acceptable.

Bingo

13-04-2024, 05:29 PM
We ( whoever ), appointed a rookie manager from a rookie league .got the end result.

Went the postecoglu route laughable really

TimeForHeroes32
13-04-2024, 05:29 PM

8 wins in 29 and you think we should keep him. This is what wrong with the club with happy clappers

13-04-2024, 05:30 PM

He's partnered with the wrong people, because failure is all the Gordons do here.

Keepthefaith
13-04-2024, 05:30 PM
He’s not got a clue how to manage games, leaving Youan on and bringing on a player who’s been out for months and not up to speed for the last 15 minutes of a must win game plus the mismanagement of the last few minutes alone is unacceptable. The whole season has been awful under him.

Youan was our biggest threat today, though end product frustratingly inconsistent. Second half in particular we played well and looked like we would go on and win the game comfortably...which we should have.

It's unpopular but I think the club will and should stick with Monty. Yes he's underachieved but that doesn't mean he doesn't have the capability to rebuild and be successful.

The motherwell goal was out of nothing, another minute and we're top six, that's what sickening as we've had a number of those scenarios all season.

13-04-2024, 05:31 PM
He's partnered with the wrong people, because failure is all the Gordons do here.

Ffs😂

#2 Double Tap
13-04-2024, 05:31 PM
8 wins in 29 and you think we should keep him. This is what wrong with the club with happy clappers

anyone who wants him to stay does not watch us.

TimeForHeroes32
13-04-2024, 05:35 PM
anyone who wants him to stay does not watch us.

This[emoji1319]

13-04-2024, 05:35 PM

Jubilation 🤣🤣🤣

**** me, hibs 2024 and our manager is talking about top 6 as jubilation

They can get to ****

13-04-2024, 05:37 PM
Everybody is devastated' - Montgomery
FT: Motherwell 1-1 Hibernian
Hibernian manager Nick Montgomery tells BBC Scotland: "It's really hard to explain how that [late goal] happened but it's happened too many times to us this season, one shot on target and we concede from it.

"I think we could have had two or three goals today and the game could have been more than over way before that incident.

"Everybody is devastated in the dressing room, they put their heart and soul into the performance. We were 20 seconds away from still having a great chance to be in the top six, so we will have to reflect on that and move forward.

"I came in and the club was in a difficult position. I have done everything I possibly can.

"We brought in some very good players in January but as a club we have to reflect on the season.

"I have been here for three quarters of it and we can look back at all the things that have gone wrong and gone against us but we should have won the game today.

"I thought the boys were brave and played really well but we can only look back with regret now that we dropped too many points from games we should have won."

They put their heart and soul into that performance 😳

Exuberance1875
13-04-2024, 05:39 PM
Post match interview claiming we played well and gave it our all, I’m sorry giving it your all is bare minimum and if that’s what he thinks playing well looks like he shouldn’t have been allowed on the bus home.

He was deflecting huge amounts of blame going on about being here for 3/4 of the season, it’s actually going to end up being 88% of the season. Took the lads on a jolly to Dubai, shown no bottle in any big games. Claims players are brave on the ball, I’d argue that we are just hopeless on the ball and are scared to defend it when we don’t have it!!

Exuberance1875
13-04-2024, 05:41 PM
Add on top of that he claimed we were seconds away from “jubilation”

Give me a break, scraping a potential top 6 while relying on results elsewhere does not and will not result in jubilation for a club like Hibs.

Another manager who claims to be changing the game with attacking play and high press and fails to deliver on either.

Players need blamed too but none of them have improved under his coaching.

GreenGray
13-04-2024, 05:41 PM
Does anyone think we’ll actually sack him?

This club is so badly run it won’t matter who is in charge, ****ing farce.

Spend much more on wages than St Mirren, Kilmarnock and Dundee and finished below them, embarrassing.

#2 Double Tap
13-04-2024, 05:45 PM

Spend much more on wages than St Mirren, Kilmarnock and Dundee and finished below them, embarrassing.

i kinda agree with you, to think they passed up on JDT and hired LJ then overlooked Lennon for monty is quite freaky......either of those choices woulda gave a real feel good factor to a majority of the support, esp JDT ..... we woulda been buzzing instantly.

Greenio
13-04-2024, 05:46 PM

This 'happy clapper' chat is poor. People should be allowed opinions without being told they're whats wrong with the club surely

You want him gone, others don't, that's fine. It's an opinion

13-04-2024, 05:47 PM
Youan was our biggest threat today, though end product frustratingly inconsistent. Second half in particular we played well and looked like we would go on and win the game comfortably...which we should have.

It's unpopular but I think the club will and should stick with Monty. Yes he's underachieved but that doesn't mean he doesn't have the capability to rebuild and be successful.

The motherwell goal was out of nothing, another minute and we're top six, that's what sickening as we've had a number of those scenarios all season.

Youan could have had us out of sight today but his final ball and decision making were awful.

Monty hasn’t one decent positive going for him. Our league position is unacceptable, our performances are dull, our results have been terrible and we’ve not had one victory of note all season.

If you want to watch a tactically inept manager drag your team down and watch a boring style of football then fine. I don’t want it at Hibs though and the quicker he’s gone the better.

GreenGray
13-04-2024, 05:48 PM
i kinda agree with you, to think they passed up on JDT and hired LJ then overlooked Lennon for monty is quite freaky......either of those choices woulda gave a real feel good factor to a majority of the support, esp JDT ..... we woulda been buzzing instantly.

The comedown from the potential appointment of JDT to Johnson meant LJ was doomed from the start.

We’ve made so many mistakes over the years, poor appointments and sackings at the wrong times.

We should have never sacked Ross, which is easy to say now, hindsight is a wonderful thing.

13-04-2024, 05:49 PM

I 100% agree with you...

Hibiza
13-04-2024, 05:49 PM
Too many repetitive / should have been / could have been stories . Perhaps correct BUT same old story..

Paulie Walnuts
13-04-2024, 05:52 PM
Praying he’s sacked tonight.

#2 Double Tap
13-04-2024, 05:52 PM
The comedown from the potential appointment of JDT to Johnson meant LJ was doomed from the start.

We’ve made so many mistakes over the years, poor appointments and sackings at the wrong times.

We should have never sacked Ross, which is easy to say now, hindsight is a wonderful thing.

totally right on LJ, ross shoulda been sacked a long time before he was imo.....

13-04-2024, 05:53 PM

Got to hope Foley is the driving force now...the only way the Gordon family get their £11m back is to let somebody else drive the football department . Ever since sacking Mathie and then Ross it's been an absolute mess.

I don’t think we’ve sacked anyone at the wrong time other than the one that needs to happen now

WeAreHibs
Praying he’s sacked tonight.

Amen

13-04-2024, 05:54 PM
There's just no compelling argument to keep him on other than a desire for stability.

I don't want us to be stabily pish.

He's the wrong guy, the folk hiring are the wrong guys, the Gordons need to get on the phone to Foley tonight and ask him how we set up a football club and then follow his instructions to the letter.

This can't go on. Two bottom six finishes in three seasons isn't acceptable. Folk need to be held accountable for it and simply shrugging their shoulders and doing nothing isn't going to cut it.

Said it before I’ll say it again

His stubborness sticking with 4-4-2 was the early sign

He changed it - got a little bit better

He’s too loyal to the wrong players

Out his depth

Not won any noteable key games

None!

I think results since the change of formation show that the formation was never as big an issue as it was made out to be. We’re just pish, with a mixture of pish and overrated players coupled with a pish manager.

GreenGray
I don’t think we’ve sacked anyone at the wrong time other than the one that needs to happen now

With hindsight I don’t think Ross should have been sacked when he was and we binned LJ too late.

Trinity Hibee
There's just no compelling argument to keep him on other than a desire for stability.

He's the wrong guy, the folk hiring are the wrong guys, the Gordons need to get on the phone to Foley tonight and ask him how we set up a football club and then follow his instructions to the letter.

This can't go on. Two bottom six finishes in three seasons isn't acceptable. Folk need to be held accountable for it and simply shrugging their shoulders and doing nothing isn't going to cut it.

Excellently put

1875M
13-04-2024, 05:55 PM
Decent guy but I don’t think he’s the man to take the club forward, sadly.

Hibiza
13-04-2024, 05:55 PM
Surely it can't be so difficult to identify a threat / weakness to safeguard ( repeatedly ) a lead, late , into a game *?

13-04-2024, 05:56 PM

I think that conversation has already happened before today Matty.

Hibiza
Fed up.

Surely it can't be so difficult to identify a threat / weakness to safeguard ( repeatedly ) a lead, late , into a game *?

:agree: Throwing away so many game slate on is compelling evidence that the manager hasn't been doing his job properly. He has no idea how to get a team to see out a game. He should go for that alone.

Green_one
13-04-2024, 05:57 PM
Too many repetitive / should have been / could have been stories . Perhaps correct BUT same old story..

I think we have a decent squad that the manager is unable to get a decent tune out of. We should be above Killie, St Mirren and Dundee but are well off most. He is lucky St Johnstone and the Dons are mince

I really do not want another change but he has to go. I believe this is his best which means no real improvement next season ,

I would give David Gray the rest of the season.

13-04-2024, 05:57 PM

I don’t see how we can’t sack him.

It’s inevitable he’ll be sacked now, I hope it’s done tonight so we can get his replacement in asap.

Murphys Touch
13-04-2024, 06:03 PM
:agree: Throwing away so many game slate on is compelling evidence that the manager hasn't been doing his job properly. He has no idea how to get a team to see out a game. He should go for that alone.
I agree but it’s also the bit before seeing the game out. I’m not asking Hibs to go and batter teams every single game but we should not just be level or 1-up so many times a season going into 90 mins of a match.

Play with urgency, intensity and intelligence to be a few goals to the good and get the confidence up.

It’s not bad luck, it’s not VARs fault when you are drawing and losing so many games against weaker opposition

Get him so far to ****

K-Zazu
20 seconds away from jubilation according to Montgomery in his interview after the game. The job is just far too big for him.

I don’t see how we can’t sack him.

It’s inevitable he’ll be sacked now, I hope it’s done tonight so we can get his replacement in asap.

Agree, and the sooner it’s done it stops all of this nonsense and the negative impact it has on the club and the support. We need to move on quickly and get the fans behind the next manager ASAP. Do that and the fans can have a good positive feeling going into the summer break, transfer window and start of the new season. Bring it on.

13-04-2024, 06:05 PM
20 seconds away from jubilation according to Montgomery in his interview after the game. The job is just far too big for him.

Jubilation of potentially scraping top 6, sums up the Club's mentality

TimeForHeroes32
13-04-2024, 06:12 PM
This 'happy clapper' chat is poor. People should be allowed opinions without being told they're whats wrong with the club surely

No this happy clapper chat is right. I watched us against a very poor St Johnstone team get beat and not look like winning the game at all. Played so bad but got clapped off after it when the team deserved rightly so booed off. Most did but was some clap them off for that sh*te. That is happy clappers mentality for you

Hibiza
13-04-2024, 06:34 PM
Why/ how do we continually employ useless managers ?

13-04-2024, 06:44 PM

Because Kensell’s part of the process

Been a disaster for us from a footballing perspective. As has the Gordon’s as a whole apart from one season

13-04-2024, 06:52 PM

Because those employing don't have the benefit of hindsight that you have.

13-04-2024, 06:53 PM

They do have a track record though

Which would suggest it’s more than just hindsight

No this happy clapper chat is right. I watched us against a very poor St Johnstone team get beat and not look like winning the game at all. Played so bad but got clapped off after it when the team deserved rightly so booed off. Most did but was some clap them off for that sh*te. That is happy clappers mentality for you

Or supporting their team

ChuckNor
Brian McDermott has left.

13-04-2024, 06:57 PM

I know he's not been seen around recently by the players

13-04-2024, 06:59 PM

Might be the start of the clean out that's needed.

13-04-2024, 06:59 PM

Being replaced by a Foley/Black Knight appointment i assume

SickBoy32
13-04-2024, 07:01 PM

Dempster must’ve had some of that hindsight, let’s get her back in charge.

Even the maligned Petrie picked a few decent managers in his time.

These clowns are 0/3.

13-04-2024, 07:02 PM
Might be the start of the clean out that's needed.

Fingers crossed

Hibiza
13-04-2024, 07:02 PM
Why / how did Kensell/ Gordon /McDermott say that Monty was " the man we wanted a stand out,from the start " despite serious interest from more worthy ( Imho ) candidates .

Fergos
13-04-2024, 07:08 PM
Im sure BK made a point of stating that Monty was McDermotts choice.

13-04-2024, 07:09 PM

Is that being reported anywhere or just something you’ve heard?

Cabbage-Patch
13-04-2024, 07:10 PM
Thoughts on the manager? A dour simpleton who is way out his depth. Had the makings on paper as an exciting progressive appointment however we have all quickly come to realise the quality of the A league might not be as good as we expected. I won't be back at ER until he is removed.

13-04-2024, 07:11 PM

Spot on!

Exuberance1875
13-04-2024, 07:13 PM

Sounds like vintage blame passing before anything’s even gone wrong by BK. The guy is a complete loser who’s only interest is looking good in the photos on the marches with the block 7 folk.

Was giving it large in Birmingham at Villa away too making some questionable statements at 1am on Wednesday evening

Fergos
13-04-2024, 07:14 PM
[QUOTE=Exuberance1875;7635039]Sounds like vintage blame passing before anything’s even gone wrong by BK. The guy is a complete loser who’s only interest is looking good in the photos on the marches with the block 7 folk.

Was giving it large in Birmingham at Villa away too making some questionable statements at 1am on Wednesday evening[/QUOTE

My thoughts at the time also

13-04-2024, 07:16 PM

Sloping shoulders.

13-04-2024, 07:16 PM
Thoughts on the manager? A dour simpleton who is way out his depth. Had the makings on paper as an exciting progressive appointment however we have all quickly come to realise the quality of the A league might not be as good as we expected. I won't be back at ER until he is removed.

Well harsh. Certainly hasn't been good however he has been criminally let down by the players

Trinity Hibee
13-04-2024, 07:18 PM

Just another from down south who thought he could piss it up here. Back down the road you go

TimeForHeroes32
13-04-2024, 07:18 PM
Or supporting their team

No team deserved to be clapped off after that. Home and away they get the money spent on and I’m not spending another dime on them till he’s gone. Dingwall only game I’ll be there for but I won’t be leaving the mallard for the game unless he’s sacked before that

13-04-2024, 07:21 PM

God knows what he did while he was here, but won’t be missed.

13-04-2024, 07:21 PM

Simpleton?
That’s really not on. Poor stuff, at least respect him as a human being.

heid the baw
13-04-2024, 07:35 PM
Simpleton?
That’s really not on. Poor stuff, at least respect him as a human being.

I agree about the respect bit but he does himself no favours in post match interviews.
His stock phrase is 'but that's just football'. It is such a passive cop out. Think about what it actually means. It is an admission that nothing you can do can influence the outcome.
This is a simplistic answer. You could apply it to anything.
My dog ran away, but that's just dogs
My fridge has packed in but that's just fridges
I burnt my mooth on a pizza but that's just pizzas.
Meaningless, banal and a total cop out

13-04-2024, 07:53 PM
I always thought McDermott was brought in to take some of the heat / pressure off BK.

Bit of a shield for him to hide behind when things didn’t go well.

13-04-2024, 07:54 PM
NM’s points per game extrapolated across a 38 game season would see us finish on 47 points. That’s 15 points less than Hearts have after 33 matches.

13-04-2024, 08:02 PM
Out of his depth. Seems a nice guy but .....

13-04-2024, 08:03 PM
I always thought McDermott was brought in to take some of the heat / pressure off BK.

Bit of a shield for him to hide behind when things didn’t go well.

The thought behind getting a DoF in was good. It was recognition that the setup we had wasn’t working. If that DoF is away after a year or less then it’s been yet another shocking appointment.

Everything, absolutely everything from a footballing perspective, is just a mess.

andrew_dundee
13-04-2024, 08:31 PM
With hindsight I don’t think Ross should have been sacked when he was and we binned LJ too late.

Agreed on Ross, but to be fair to LJ, the decent Euro result and the half decent finish to last season made him hard to sack. Not a big fan of him overall but I think if a manager gets top 6 I'm inclined towards giving them a summer window and hoping they get a decent start to the season.

That would have gone for Monty. If we had fallen over the line I would've argued for him to stay but his position now is untenable (and his record even worse than LJs).

calumb
13-04-2024, 08:33 PM
The thought behind getting a DoF in was good. It was recognition that the setup we had wasn’t working. If that DoF is away after a year or less then it’s been yet another shocking appointment.

Everything, absolutely everything from a footballing perspective, is just a mess.

DoF was likely only created as we were all screaming for one so with great fanfare they announced they were getting one, it was awhile later before they actually got Brian

13-04-2024, 08:35 PM

Na it’s not that bad, I’ve heard on here hibs are exciting to watch just now, not boring.

And behind the scenes things have never been better. That was just through the week.

Deary me.

13-04-2024, 08:36 PM
In what is becoming a tradition of losing members of staff at the worst possible time, losing a director of football ahead of the mother of rebuilds would possibly be the worst yet.

13-04-2024, 08:38 PM
Have no problem with Monty just isn't working he has tried like others before him Michael Stewart is correct about kensell and Gordon

13-04-2024, 08:40 PM
In what is becoming a tradition of losing members of staff at the worst possible time, losing a director of football ahead of the mother of rebuilds would possibly be the worst yet.

If that was actually true….

13-04-2024, 08:44 PM
I’m past caring or believing that any change will make a difference.

13-04-2024, 08:46 PM
No team deserved to be clapped off after that. Home and away they get the money spent on and I’m not spending another dime on them till he’s gone. Dingwall only game I’ll be there for but I won’t be leaving the mallard for the game unless he’s sacked before that

We really deserved to win

13-04-2024, 08:46 PM

Kensell announced the intention to bring in a DoF in what was clearly a face saving exercise at a time when we were terminally guff. It was very obviously ill thought out when he announced it and this was borne out when the actual appointment then took an age. I viewed it as a pretty cynical exercise in smoke screening at the time and I've never really changed my opinion on that.

Ultimately the person currently holding the title of Chief Executive and the other person who I think is the actual Chief Executive are the only two people who matter at the club. In terms of the football side of things at least I don't think they have a single clue what they are doing. They have serially botched both managerial appointments and a succession of transfer windows.

Those people running our club are in my view the greatest single obstacle to our success. They are unqualified to do so, lack any relevant experience, now have a proven track record of failure and - worst of all - are accountable to no-one but themselves.

Given our resources, our geographical location, our supporter base and our history as a club we are currently a complete joke.

13-04-2024, 08:49 PM
Kensell announced the intention to bring in a DoF in what was clearly a face saving exercise at a time when we were terminally guff. It was very obviously ill thought out when he announced it and this was borne out when the actual appointment then took an age. I viewed it as a pretty cynical exercise in smoke screening at the time and I've never really changed my opinion on that.

Ultimately the person currently holding the title of Chief Executive and the other person who I think is the actual Chief Executive are the only two people who matter at the club. In terms of the football side of things at least I don't think they have a single clue what they are doing. They have serially botched both managerial appointments and a succession of transfer windows.

Those people running our club are in my view the greatest single obstacle to our success. They are unqualified to do so, lack any relevant experience, now have a proven track record of failure and - worst of all - are accountable to no-one but themselves.

Given our resources, our geographical location, our supporter base and our history as a club we are currently a complete joke.

Sadly, I agree with every word of this.

Bob Box Fish
13-04-2024, 08:51 PM

So true

Mcbizz1998
13-04-2024, 08:53 PM
I would probably punt Monty but nothing will change as long as we have the same people appointing the new manager.

it’s all very depressing tbh.

Paulie Walnuts
13-04-2024, 08:55 PM
Those people running our club are in my view the greatest single obstacle to our success. They are unqualified to do so, lack any relevant experience.

I had this discussion on here previously. Someone was insistent Kensell had lots of football experience. I pointed out he didn’t, they remained insistent he did. I found an interview with Kensell himself who specifically said in the interview his job was non football related.

https://www.canaries.co.uk/content/ben-kensell-on-new-structure

He shouldn’t be involved in the football side of Hibs. It’s actually pretty ludicrous that he is and explains why we end up with guys like Montgomery.

TimeForHeroes32
13-04-2024, 08:56 PM

This was aimed against St Johnstone at home not today which I’m hoping you’re speaking about. That day we deserved nothing

13-04-2024, 08:58 PM
Too drunk and cannae be arsed reading back, but surely those on the fence folks have decided he’s got to go now?

***** record.

***** football.

***** manager.

See ya

13-04-2024, 09:01 PM

Come on mate. How many times have we said that but we don't? Absolutely sick of it.

13-04-2024, 09:04 PM
Come on mate. How many times have we said that but we don't? Absolutely sick of it.

We’re clearly the better team but as usual blew it

13-04-2024, 09:06 PM
I had this discussion on here previously. Someone was insistent Kensell had lots of football experience. I pointed out he didn’t, they remained insistent he did. I found an interview with Kensell himself who specifically said in the interview his job was non football related.

He shouldn’t be involved in the football side of Hibs. It’s actually pretty ludicrous that he is and explains why we end up with guys like Montgomery.

The uncharitable way to frame it would be that the football side of the club is being run by a salesman and a sommelier.

Good leaders look for people who are talented in areas where they themselves have no skills. We now need a unicorn: someone with deep football knowledge and experience, a connection with - or at least affinity for - Hibs and finally who is willing to risk having their reputation covered in ordure by the 5hit flinging machine that is Hibernian.

We'll do well to find someone with any one of those qualities. Two would be a lottery win and all three an actual miracle. And if we did find someone who fits all or part of that description to run the football side of Hibernian I doubt very much that the present impostors would let them anywhere near the club.

13-04-2024, 09:09 PM

His subs as manager have been baffling at times.

League cup semi final - left it too late to put Doidge on and brought on x2 16 year olds on to win us the game ??!

13-04-2024, 09:09 PM
The uncharitable way to frame it would be that the football side of the club is being run by a salesman and a sommelier.

Good leaders look for people who are talented in areas where they themselves have no skills. We now need a unicorn: someone with deep football knowledge and experience, a connection with - or at least affinity for - Hibs and finally who is willing to risk having their reputation covered in ordure by the 5hit flinging machine that is Hibernian.

We'll do well to find someone with any one of those qualities. Two would be a lottery win and all three an actual miracle. And if we did find someone who fits all or part of that description to run the football side of Hibernian I doubt very much that the present impostors would let them anywhere near the club.

A lot of what you say would be quickly forgotten if we manage to appoint a decent manager.

13-04-2024, 09:15 PM

Best post I’ve read since the final whistle.

Basically guys who can’t be sacked.

We are a total shambles and should be pretty much at the stage of fans protesting with what is being served up weekly. The club is a joke to many teams in the league. We are lucky Aberdeen have somehow been worse than us otherwise we would be lower in table. Aberdeen and Motherwell could still easily over take us in the table - not that anyone cares as the season is over.

TrinityHFC
13-04-2024, 09:15 PM

Yeah you still aren’t really following the point.

Football in terms of being a CEO encompasses the business and administration side of the sport. He has worked in football for a number of years.

He hasn’t run a football department. That is for managers and directors of football, bit like all businesses a CEO is ultimately responsible for the performance of all employees.

I’m not sure if you can give many examples of football CEOs with direct experience of running what we would understand as the football department?

richard_pitts
13-04-2024, 09:17 PM
Because Kensell’s part of the process

Been a disaster for us from a footballing perspective. As has the Gordon’s as a whole apart from one season

Bang on. If Montgomery goes, so must the whole clown show. That's why I think he'll get another window

13-04-2024, 09:20 PM
A lot of what you say would be quickly forgotten if we manage to appoint a decent manager.

At our level, it’s the most important thing IMO.

I thought we needed a DoF because of the people we had running things. But a manager with a bit of presence about them, a bit of authority, is capable of doing what they need at this level of football. The last three we have employed aren’t that type, they don’t have that bit of authority about them.

Paulie Walnuts
13-04-2024, 09:21 PM
Yeah you still aren’t really following the point.

Football in terms of being a CEO encompasses the business and administration side of the sport. He has worked in football for a number of years.

He hasn’t run a football department. That is for managers and directors of football, bit like all businesses a CEO is ultimately responsible for the performance of all employees.

I’m not sure if you can give many examples of football CEOs with direct experience of running what we would understand as the football department?

No, I’m absolutely following the point. The man himself says his job was heading up the non football department. I’d fancy he’ll know what he has been doing better than you do.

He never had anything to do with player contracts, managerial appointments etc. He wasnt CEO at Norwich. He shouldn’t be here either.

I don’t doubt he’s got skills to bring to the table. None of those skills are football related though, quite clearly.

Silky
13-04-2024, 09:26 PM

Who, or what, is a decent manager? Lennon had a "decent" CV and made an arse of it. Hecky was punted yet managed in the top league in England. One man's decent is another man's crap.

13-04-2024, 09:31 PM

Yup, it's the same on here.

The folk backing Monty for months have never been slow to have a pop at those who wanted NM gone.

If they can dish it out they've got expect a couple of told you so's or similar in return. They've been consistently wrong for the last three years backing managers purely for stability.

I've no problem if we change manager every Sumer until we get the right man for the job. Then try and keep him for that elusive stability.

13-04-2024, 09:33 PM
Who, or what, is a decent manager? Lennon had a "decent" CV and made an arse of it. Hecky was punted yet managed in the top league in England. One man's decent is another man's crap.

I’m not talking about what they’ve done elsewhere but someone who ends up doing a good job with us.

13-04-2024, 09:34 PM

I thought we needed a DoF because of the people we had running things. But a manager with a bit of presence about them, a bit of authority, is capable of doing what they need at this level of football. The last three we have employed aren’t that type, they don’t have that bit of authority about them.

And that's not an accident.

13-04-2024, 09:36 PM

That’s why I’m not too angry at Kensell and IG, it’s not an exact science appointing a manager.

It’s not worked out, id be more annoyed at them if they dilly dally in appointing the replacement or if they don’t act decisively in admitting their mistake.

FWIW I think the next appointment needs to be someone that understands more than just pishing a starting 11 and coaching a team, I think we need a leader that will set the culture at the club, will demand standards and is able to manage up the way to board room level.

13-04-2024, 09:37 PM

Absolutely.

I don’t think we’ll go for him but that description fits McInnes imo. Hes also a bit of a media darling which would be a refreshing change.

13-04-2024, 09:37 PM

I'e been banging on about that for 3 years. We've had pipsqueaks in comparison to what we need.

13-04-2024, 09:38 PM
And that's not an accident.

I agree with that.

sauzee1989
13-04-2024, 09:42 PM
We are gonna keep failing year in year out if we don’t bring in a batch of new centre backs. Will fish is too soft and Rocky is a league one Scotland defender

14-04-2024, 12:02 AM

People can have an opinion, but if they can’t back it up with logical reasoning, they can’t expect to be taken seriously.

14-04-2024, 12:10 AM
We are gonna keep failing year in year out if we don’t bring in a batch of new centre backs. Will fish is too soft and Rocky is a league one Scotland defender

You’re being way too generous in your appraisal of Rocky - he’s worse than a League One player. Zero concentration, no pace, terrible technically, awful positioning and no impact at set pieces. And was signed due to a contractual error 😂 he’s a terrible footballer full stop.

14-04-2024, 01:23 AM
People can have an opinion, but if they can’t back it up with logical reasoning, they can’t expect to be taken seriously.

Like when folk tell us Kevin Nisbet is terrible and shouldn’t be starting for Hibs?

hibbyboy1
14-04-2024, 01:30 AM
Like when folk tell us Kevin Nisbet is terrible and shouldn’t be starting for Hibs?

How many times yesterday did this happen. Marshall to rocky to marshall to rocky to punt upfield. It was doing my head in. It's the same every f***ING game

14-04-2024, 04:42 AM
Imagine sacking Lee Johnson and downgrading. Only us.

Pub league level manager who should have been nowhere near us in the first place.

14-04-2024, 05:52 AM
Hopefully had top 6 built into contract as a min requirement so can let him go!!

Trinity Hibee
14-04-2024, 05:53 AM
Hopefully had top 6 built into contract as a min requirement so can let him go!!

We’d be mad if that’s not written in to any managers contract

14-04-2024, 06:11 AM
Can we stop shopping in ****ty cheap markets now, Celtic found an absolute diamond in ange and we hire a koala bear

TrinityHibby
14-04-2024, 06:22 AM

🤔 Matty is that you joining #TeamMartin?

14-04-2024, 06:28 AM
🤔 Matty is that you joining #TeamMartin?

Think so!

TrinityHibby
14-04-2024, 06:31 AM
Imagine sacking Lee Johnson and downgrading. Only us.

Pub league level manager who should have been nowhere near us in the first place.

🤔 apparently you are not allowed to describe Nick Montgomery as a pub league manager but I agree with you …..his managerial results to date confirm this to and is exactly why he shouldn’t be allowed to continue.

14-04-2024, 06:35 AM
Listening to Montgomery's after-match chat on the wireless his assessment of the match was very different from the one I watched online but the most telling thing for me was him saying that there would have been "jubilation" if we'd won and got 6th spot.

For any Hibs manager to cite 6th place as a cause for jubilation, it strikes me how little he gets us, and what the expectations of Hibs should be. Maybe he's just part of a cultural problem at the club that includes owners and a hierarchy that doesn't get what the club's ambitions should be and what our expectations are. If our current manager was viewing 6th place as some kind of achievement, he's not the man to manage Hibs.

TrinityHibby
Think so!

This is the ideal opportunity to leverage of the Black Knight’s expertise in running a football club. Wipe the slate clean and upgrade the Coaching team and first team squad ….it really shouldn’t be that difficult

The stability reason for keeping Monty is bordering on desperation

What has it came to that we are quite prepared to settle for pish results and poor end of year finishes that we don’t punish failings.

My employer or any previous employer doesn’t have this approach.

It’s modern day football

If we had a budget the size of Motherwell fine

We don’t

We’re getting 6 million reasons to want to appoint a capable proven manager

El del

TrinityHibby
14-04-2024, 06:44 AM
Listening to Montgomery's after-match chat on the wireless his assessment of the match was very different from the one I watched online but the most telling thing for me was him saying that there would have been "jubilation" if we'd won and got 6th spot.

For any Hibs manager to cite 6th place as a cause for jubilation, it strikes me how little he gets us, and what the expectations of Hibs should be. Maybe he's just part of a cultural problem at the club that includes owners and a hierarchy that doesn't get what the club's ambitions should be and what our expectations are. If our current manager was viewing 6th place as some kind of achievement, he's not the man to manage Hibs.

100% correct. It would however have helped his plea to the Board for more time and false claims he inherited a shambles, turned around careers and managed a top six finish against all odds 😡…….fair play to Kilmarnock, St Mirren and Dundee but Hibs should not be finishing below these teams

TrinityHibby
14-04-2024, 06:47 AM
Best post I’ve read since the final whistle.

Basically guys who can’t be sacked.

We are a total shambles and should be pretty much at the stage of fans protesting with what is being served up weekly. The club is a joke to many teams in the league. We are lucky Aberdeen have somehow been worse than us otherwise we would be lower in table. Aberdeen and Motherwell could still easily over take us in the table - not that anyone cares as the season is over.

�� not just this league…..I went to Forfar and their fans think we are a joke too and were unlucky to lose to us

Trinity Hibee
14-04-2024, 06:49 AM
�� not just this league…..I went to Forfar and their fans think we are a joke too and were unlucky to lose to us

They were unlucky to lose to us

14-04-2024, 06:52 AM
Look Monty is a raw rookie manager who's had 2 seasons prior to us in what some call a pub league, he did well in Oz but lets look objectively, he's not got the experience needed to manage a club of our stature, I thought those higher up would've learnt from the Maloney fiasco but obviously not. We cannot be a club that's appointing rookie managers, we need experience and strength, the footballing side of Hibs has been a shambles for the past 3-4 years now, yes financially much better but we have no leadership, off and on the park.

14-04-2024, 06:52 AM

Nisbet wasn’t terrible but folk were also saying Shankland was crap and he’s proved over the time he was a better signing than Nisbet / Doidge / Vente etc.

14-04-2024, 07:08 AM
Nisbet wasn’t terrible but folk were also saying Shankland was crap and he’s proved over the time he was a better signing than Nisbet / Doidge / Vente etc.

For me it comes down to how players are coached/managed, Install belief and let them play to their strengths by adapting game plans to suit.
NM has had his chance and has blew it, how many players from killie, st mirren and dundee would be deemed good enough for us, i would say not many
on the flip side how many of our players would the 3 teams be willing to sign i would say a high % of them.

Murphys Touch
14-04-2024, 07:11 AM

Yeah - a think one of the few posts that explains the situation clearly and I couldn’t agree more.

If initial targets are “top 6 and a cup run” then the culture is not right.

- European qualification via league AND
- 1 Cup semi final
- 12 points against Hearts and OF in season (I would personally say our number one target should be to have best head to head each year against Hearts. That would increase the demand tenfold)
- A positve goal difference

14-04-2024, 07:13 AM
I'e been banging on about that for 3 years. We've had pipsqueaks in comparison to what we need.

We seem to appoint managers who are yes men and guys who Ben and co can be in charge of rather than a character who leads from the top.

14-04-2024, 07:59 AM

Look at you agreeing with your burner account.

Cute.

Trinity Hibee
14-04-2024, 08:02 AM
Look at you agreeing with your burner account.

Cute.

Forfar hit the woodwork multiple times that game.

Burner account? Is that all you have?

I see it’s a case of the old don’t back down, double down.

14-04-2024, 08:07 AM
We tweeted at bang on 1pm on the Sunday we sacked LJ, still nothing on the socials today from Hibs.

Suppose we'll know if he attends the PotY tonight.

14-04-2024, 08:11 AM
We tweeted at bang on 1pm on the Sunday we sacked LJ, still nothing on the socials today from Hibs.

Suppose we'll know if he attends the PotY tonight.

You're right. Think there was a leaked email an hour or so before it was officially announced that was nearly word for word what was in the statement.

Does the manager usually attend the Hibs club POTY?

14-04-2024, 08:13 AM
You're right. Think there was a leaked email an hour or so before it was officially announced that was nearly word for word what was in the statement.

No idea to be honest, never been. Just guessed they probably would, maybe not though.

14-04-2024, 08:57 AM
I don’t think they’ll get rid yet.

14-04-2024, 08:58 AM

Yes

14-04-2024, 08:59 AM
Absolutely.

I don’t think we’ll go for him but that description fits McInnes imo. Hes also a bit of a media darling which would be a refreshing change.

Agree your second point would definitely help. Wonder how long it would last when at our club though. Him and fat jambo Brian would be interesting.

HIBS NUTS
14-04-2024, 09:09 AM
We have to stick with our current manager.
We need to give someone enough time, to get his own squad in place, and get rid of the players that aren’t good enough, there are lots.
If we get a new manager in AGAIN, everyone starts from a clean slate, which is part of the problem , that existed with the previous incumbents.
Probably not a popular view, but we aren’t in a game of football manager.

14-04-2024, 09:22 AM
We need to give someone enough time, to get his own squad in place, and get rid of the players that aren’t good enough, there are lots.
If we get a new manager in AGAIN, everyone starts from a clean slate, which is part of the problem , that existed with the previous incumbents.

I’d agree with you if Monty had shown us something, anything this season.

Peoples favourite games from this season are from before he came in. There’s been no excitement. Very little “big” results to celebrate. Just mundane.

For supporters to buy into something there needs to be something to buy into and it’s not there

14-04-2024, 09:29 AM

You can't just keep someone in the hope they'll eventually come good when all the evidence to date has shown he's not very good at his job. The only argument anyone has is he's not been here long. That can't be reason enough.

Don't think we can run the risk with how big a pre-season and transfer window we have coming up.

We can't afford to **** this up. We've already missed out on the seasons of guaranteed European group stages.

huggie1875
14-04-2024, 09:30 AM
WTH did he bring on Josh C for he hadn’t played for months we’re desperate to get a result definitely not the time to bring him on on that decision alone he’s shown just how stupid his game plans are if he actually has any

go and go now

14-04-2024, 09:32 AM
There is a reason the club made fans buy early bird season tickets before the top 6 / bottom 6 split was decided.

Try selling them now…

mcfly
14-04-2024, 09:33 AM

Go to go. Has nothing about him, won’t sell season tickets and doesn’t make me think he can turn this around.

Attendances will collapse if we keep this guy. Another board mistake

14-04-2024, 09:36 AM
There is a reason the club made fans buy early bird season tickets before the top 6 / bottom 6 split was decided.

Try selling them now…Thought the exact same at the time!

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

14-04-2024, 09:37 AM

A good new manager won’t give everyone a clean slate - he will know what he’s coming into.

That assuming they pick the right guy and not a manager who wants to play 4-4-2 for months and then realise it doesn’t work with our squad.

14-04-2024, 09:44 AM
WTH did he bring on Josh C for he hadn’t played for months we’re desperate to get a result definitely not the time to bring him on on that decision alone he’s shown just how stupid his game plans are if he actually has any

go and go now

If he was bringing off Boyle then Alf had to come on to let Youan go right and Maolida to go on the left for the balance, sticking Campbell right after being out for so long was weird.

14-04-2024, 09:47 AM
A good new manager won’t give everyone a clean slate - he will know what he’s coming into.

That assuming they pick the right guy and not a manager who wants to play 4-4-2 for months and then realise it doesn’t work with our squad.

Surely the last 2 or 3 months show the shape wasn’t as big an issue as made out to be. We probably got better results with it than with the 433 which would apparently solve so many of our problems! We’re just pish full stop. From the manager to the players and plenty other things in between.

DinkyTwo
14-04-2024, 09:51 AM
I could see what he was doing bringing JC on. Final 15 minutes of a must win game, he was trying to shore up the midfield and see the game out.

Josh was extremely rusty though and probably not what we needed. It was a difficult game to try to change with subs as so many of our more attack minded players were having a stinker.

Boyle, Youan, Cadden, Marcondes were all terrible.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

14-04-2024, 09:51 AM

Is our record playing 442 not better, or at least the same, as since he has changed?

TrinityHFC
14-04-2024, 09:57 AM
Is our record playing 442 not better, or at least the same, as since he has changed?

It has all been crap.

Anyway, I don’t think most people making the point about formations were purely talking about 442 or 433. It was about how we played within those and what the players were being asked to do.

The 442 we played v Lucerne for example was very different in its execution to how NM had us playing it.

There’s also no real future in a coaching team using a formation that isn’t their preferred philosophy.

14-04-2024, 10:00 AM
It has all been crap.

Anyway, I don’t think most people making the point about formations were purely talking about 442 or 433. It was about how we played within those and what the players were being asked to do.

The 442 we played v Lucerne for example was very different in its execution to how NM had us playing it.

There’s also no real future in a coaching team using a formation that isn’t their preferred philosophy.

Na there were definitely a few on here who put everything down to it being 442 and not to do with how players were being asked to play within it. Changing to a 433 has done nothing because we still look to do the same slow, boring, laboured pish as we were already great at doing

TrinityHFC
14-04-2024, 10:04 AM
Na there were definitely a few on here who put everything down to it being 442 and not to do with how players were being asked to play within it. Changing to a 433 has done nothing because we still look to do the same slow, boring, laboured pish as we were already great at doing

I know that was being attributed to what people were saying but I don’t think many, if any, thought doing everything exactly the same but playing 443 would make everything better.

14-04-2024, 10:25 AM
I know that was being attributed to what people were saying but I don’t think many, if any, thought doing everything exactly the same but playing 443 would make everything better.

The extra man should have made a difference.

HairyMM
14-04-2024, 10:28 AM

100% correct and they were struggling badly at the time …another Monty masterclass 😡

HairyMM
14-04-2024, 10:36 AM
We seem to appoint managers who are yes men and guys who Ben and co can be in charge of rather than a character who leads from the top.

Totally agree ..Nick Montgomery is definitely in that camp as demonstrated by his initial press conference…..get the district impression he couldn’t believe his luck to be offered a 3 year deal in the SPFL with a rookie CV

HairyMM
14-04-2024, 10:40 AM
[QUOTE=HIBS NUTS;7635902]We have to stick with our current manager.
Probably not a popular view, but we aren’t in a game of football manager.[/QUO

No we don’t and shouldn’t he has already demonstrated he hasn’t a clue and we are regressing

coldingham hibs
14-04-2024, 11:05 AM
[QUOTE=HIBS NUTS;7635902]We have to stick with our current manager.
Probably not a popular view, but we aren’t in a game of football manager.[/QUO

No we don’t and shouldn’t he has already demonstrated he hasn’t a clue and we are regressing

Giving time is right, however it has to be the right person you give the time to. There needs to be a sign that the person shows they are making inroads to improving the team. Unfortunately NM hasn’t shown any sign of this, he has actually made us worse, which in itself is quite an achievement.

jakeshibs
14-04-2024, 01:09 PM

I agree

14-04-2024, 01:28 PM
Why is he still here, he should have sacked last night?

14-04-2024, 01:36 PM
Why is he still here, he should have sacked last night?

There would need to a process followed that would involve a board meeting and presumably HR or lawyers involved. The terms of the agreement would likely need to be agreed as well. These are things that can take a bit time.

I agree with you though. there should have been board meetings in advance of yesterdays game to decide on the next steps if we failed to make top 6. Im expecting some sort of communication today.

Keepthefaith
14-04-2024, 01:43 PM
Totally agree ..Nick Montgomery is definitely in that camp as demonstrated by his initial press conference…..get the district impression he couldn’t believe his luck to be offered a 3 year deal in the SPFL with a rookie CV

You do realize rookie managers can be successful? Look at who's top of the championship, it's his first job in management! It's unfair to slate the club for appointing Monty on the argument that he wasn't experienced enough when he had a good pedigree as a coach and success as a manager.

Sometimes things are harder than we anticipated, I've found that in my work, but a few years down the line I'm now doing well because my boss had the faith to support me when I needed it, and I was able to reshape my team.

Stability could well be key.

14-04-2024, 01:47 PM
There would need to a process followed that would involve a board meeting and presumably HR or lawyers involved. The terms of the agreement would likely need to be agreed as well. These are things that can take a bit time.

I agree with you though. there should have been board meetings in advance of yesterdays game to decide on the next steps if we failed to make top 6. Im expecting some sort of communication today.

I reckon the most likely reason for the silence is just that he’s no getting the sack.

14-04-2024, 01:48 PM

Exactly.

14-04-2024, 01:53 PM
I reckon the most likely reason for the silence is just that he’s no getting the sack.

If we get to Tuesday and there’s still silence, I agree with you.

I think right now, the finer details of him leaving could well still be getting ironed out if he’s leaving.

14-04-2024, 02:00 PM

I know. Folk said that because hearts signed him. Some still don’t want to concede how good a striker he is because he’s at hearts - I completely understand that. Personally had no doubt he’d be a success at Hearts, and wished at the time it was us signing him.

Anyway, my point was around a poster continually slating Nisbet when he was clearly our best player at the time.

snedzuk
14-04-2024, 02:06 PM

Stand by for more jubilation once its confirmed we can't fall into the play off place. "Jubilation for Hibs as league place safe"

14-04-2024, 02:11 PM
I think unfortunately he needs to go . There's too many managers than him in the league . Mcinnes , Robinson, Docherty are way above him , he can't even get the better of levein with a ***** St Johnstone team . If foleys serious about spending money and finishing 3rd were gonna need a manager that's on the same level as Mcinnes etc

14-04-2024, 02:15 PM
I know. Folk said that because hearts signed him. Some still don’t want to concede how good a striker he is because he’s at hearts - I completely understand that. Personally had no doubt he’d be a success at Hearts, and wished at the time it was us signing him.

Anyway, my point was around a poster continually slating Nisbet when he was clearly our best player at the time.

Yer point is a load of ***** as I was slating Nisbet for the 2 years prior to his return when his performances and stats were absolutely shocking. I wasn’t slating in his last 4 months as turned into Superman.

14-04-2024, 02:16 PM

The same sort of process Goodwin got when he lost 6 nil at Easter Road needs no paperwork. 😂

Joking aside the guy deserves respect as he’s travelled half way across the world with his family to take the job, it’s not his fault he wasn’t ready for it.

There’s no point hanging about though.

14-04-2024, 02:20 PM
If we get to Tuesday and there’s still silence, I agree with you.

I think right now, the finer details of him leaving could well still be getting ironed out if he’s leaving.

LJ was sacked on a Tuesday.

Time to let emotions clam down, agree on a figure, and go our separate ways. Expect the same this week I think.

14-04-2024, 02:22 PM

Time to let emotions clam down, agree on a figure, and go our separate ways. Expect the same this week I think.

Sunday 27th of August for LJ

14-04-2024, 02:23 PM

He was sacked on the Sunday.

Bridge hibs
14-04-2024, 03:46 PM
He was sacked on the Sunday.

I feel a Craig David song coming on 🫣

14-04-2024, 03:50 PM
Hibs finally put out a Tweet, just Will Fish post match interview. Looks like Montgomery is safe for now.

14-04-2024, 03:54 PM
Yer point is a load of ***** as I was slating Nisbet for the 2 years prior to his return when his performances and stats were absolutely shocking. I wasn’t slating in his last 4 months as turned into Superman.

His absolutely shocking performances and stats that were better than Doidge’s, or any other striker at Hibs during his whole time here.

You were slating him constantly in a ridiculous manner while he was out injured. He came back and showed how important he was to us and made you look even sillier in the process.

In my opinion.

West Upper
14-04-2024, 05:49 PM
I think he will leave, if he stays and gets the summer to rebuild after he has lost a large number of the supporters. It only takes a couple of defeats early in the season for the supporters to want change and we will be in exactly the same situation as this season when LJ left.

TrinityHibby
14-04-2024, 09:15 PM
You do realize rookie managers can be successful? Look at who's top of the championship, it's his first job in management! It's unfair to slate the club for appointing Monty on the argument that he wasn't experienced enough when he had a good pedigree as a coach and success as a manager.

Sometimes things are harder than we anticipated, I've found that in my work, but a few years down the line I'm now doing well because my boss had the faith to support me when I needed it, and I was able to reshape my team.

Stability could well be key.

They can but his record at Hibs is absolutely woeful. Club gambled on a rookie head coach from a weak league and it hasn’t worked…..biggest mistake we could make is to compound it by not acting now ….bye, bye Monty