View Full Version : Thoughts on the manager
Pages :
[
4]
I really hope we win today and put this manager out chat to bed for a week, then another win hopefully and maybe we can get behind the team. It’s our support they need.
06-04-2024, 11:08 AM
I had never heard of Montgomery prior to him taking the job, I was wanting McInnes and I've given him my full backing so far but I'm now beginning to doubt if he is the right man. There's no doubt the January signings have help and getting certain 1st picks back playing but forgetting about dodgy VAR, we're still nowhere near where we need to or should be. I do wonder how much input Foley and the BK group will have re management, especially when they're investing a large sum of money, good money was spent in January but were still floating around 6/7th, just not good enough. Do I want to go through the whole new manager thing again, no but if it means getting better and being top 4, then yes.
As you know, just sacking the manager and starting again doesn’t guarantee 4th place. So you are presenting a false choice here.
Hibs have fallen into a hire and fire mentality, and we really need to shake the habit.
As you know, just sacking the manager and starting again doesn’t guarantee 4th place. So you are presenting a false choice here.
Hibs have fallen into a hire and fire mentality, and we really need to shake the habit.
Agreed. We sacked Ross because it was accepting mediocrity to be third and at hampden regularly.
06-04-2024, 11:23 AM
I really hope we win today and put this manager out chat to bed for a week, then another win hopefully and maybe we can get behind the team. It’s our support they need.
I think we'll win comfortably today but the question marks will remain. We wasted months playing a system that didn't work and it's potentially cost us finishing top six which if youd asked anyone back in August would have been seen as a sackable offence. If he salvages it he's one lucky boy. Similarly to Johnson, there are always going to be concerns about this manager through his own actions.
I think we'll win comfortably today but the question marks will remain. We wasted months playing a system that didn't work and it's potentially cost us finishing top six which if youd asked anyone back in August would have been seen as a sackable offence. If he salvages it he's one lucky boy. Similarly to Johnson, there are always going to be concerns about this manager though his own actions.
So you will just sharpen the knives for a week or two until you can call for Montgomery to go next time we don’t win.
06-04-2024, 11:48 AM
I think we'll win comfortably today but the question marks will remain. We wasted months playing a system that didn't work and it's potentially cost us finishing top six which if youd asked anyone back in August would have been seen as a sackable offence. If he salvages it he's one lucky boy. Similarly to Johnson, there are always going to be concerns about this manager though his own actions.
Back in August we also had a defence to pick from Hanlon/Rocky/Fish and a midfield from Newell/Campbell/Levitt/Jeggo. A lot of people also said any new new manager would be doing well to survive until the January window where as at a minimum the defence and midfield need rebuilt, while hoping Boyle, Youan & Vente don’t lose form or get injured as the options are then Tavares & Doidge.
Formations played a part in where we find ourselves, but I don’t understand how sticking a 3rd midfielder, who is either Jeggo or Campbell changes much about trying to get to January with no defence of midfield.
06-04-2024, 11:52 AM
Back in August we also had a defence to pick from Hanlon/Rocky/Fish and a midfield from Newell/Campbell/Levitt/Jeggo. A lot of people also said any new new manager would be doing well to survive until the January window where as at a minimum the defence and midfield need rebuilt, while hoping Boyle, Youan & Vente don’t lose form or get injured as the options are then Tavares & Doidge.
All true but for the whole of the first half of the season, even with the available players being much weaker than now, you never got the feeling he was playing the strongest team with the best formation. We could surely have squeezed a few more points out of those games, enough to have seen us in with a serious shout for 4th now, which really wouldn't be all that bad at all.
06-04-2024, 12:14 PM
All true but for the whole of the first half of the season, even with the available players being much weaker than now, you never got the feeling he was playing the strongest team with the best formation. We could surely have squeezed a few more points out of those games, enough to have seen us in with a serious shout for 4th now, which really wouldn't be all that bad at all.
I also don’t disagree. Howe even if Monty inherited just 1 centre back who lived to head the ball, like Rob Jones, we’d have turned a few of those 2-2 draws into wins and similarly be in with a serious shout for 4th IMO.
#2 Double Tap
06-04-2024, 12:14 PM
Agreed. We sacked Ross because it was accepting mediocrity to be third and at hampden regularly.
na, he got sacked cause the fans were bored out their skull and the team had stopped trying...plus those losses to st jay, kinda unforgivable imo...... he was dull and had been found out.........
06-04-2024, 01:26 PM
na, he got sacked cause the fans were bored out their skull and the team had stopped trying...plus those losses to st jay, kinda unforgivable imo...... he was dull and had been found out.........
Plus Boylers pen v Livi about ended up in Bathgate lol
06-04-2024, 03:43 PM
Times up
06-04-2024, 03:44 PM
Times up
Feels like it to me too
06-04-2024, 03:48 PM
Just go
06-04-2024, 03:48 PM
I don't trust those running the club to make a competent appointment if we go for a new manager. They've proven they are useless when it comes to the football side of the club.
06-04-2024, 03:50 PM
Not sure I can be arsed looking at this thread to hear the same guff from the same people about transfer windows and referee decisions to justify why this guy should stay. He is totally hopeless and I have zero interest in watching us under him next season other than through sheer obligation to watch Hibs.
Get rid.
badabing67
06-04-2024, 03:50 PM
GTF Monty..... should of been away in February.
Can't just keep a manager just because you want stability and to stop the manager merry go round, if he's no good he has to go and at the moment particularly in this game, his time is up I'm afraid, once the fans turn there's no way back.
churchie16
06-04-2024, 03:52 PM
Another donkey but make no mistake he ain’t the only one at that club from top to bottom it’s full of them, moneys going to get wasted when he gets the bullet a quarter into the season and we’re back to these muppets picking another crap manager
Hibees1973
06-04-2024, 03:53 PM
I heard rumours last week that he was leaving at the end of the season. Know it was only a rumour but I got pelters on here.
I think the only doubt now is should he go now or do we have to witness more disorganised, painful displays under this guy.
It's a complete farce that Ian Gordon and Kensell will be involved in the next appointment as well.
06-04-2024, 03:53 PM
Poor appointment in the first place. He had a bit of success in a crap league. Sorry, Aussie Hibs fans.
06-04-2024, 03:54 PM
I think we'll win comfortably today but the question marks will remain. We wasted months playing a system that didn't work and it's potentially cost us finishing top six which if youd asked anyone back in August would have been seen as a sackable offence. If he salvages it he's one lucky boy. Similarly to Johnson, there are always going to be concerns about this manager through his own actions.
Well we didn’t win comfortably In fact we didn’t win or even draw ffs
06-04-2024, 03:55 PM
December
06-04-2024, 03:55 PM
Should never have been given the job in the first place. Totally out of his depth.
berwickhibee
06-04-2024, 03:56 PM
Poor poor appointment again.
Poor poor style of football.
Poor poor season.
That today is the final nail
06-04-2024, 03:56 PM
Was excited when we appointed him and have defended him till this point, but I’d no longer be disappointed if someone else was in charge next season. The same defensive fragilities are simply lingering.
06-04-2024, 03:57 PM
That’s killed him. Doesn’t stay now
Out, no other option now.
Paulie Walnuts
Sack him and do it today. I had previously thought we’d be as well waiting until the end of the season, but I want him out the door now. A dreadful manager.
Was a massively uninspiring appointment from the very start and there has been absolutely nothing during his tenure to suggest he’d be successful.
Well we didn’t win comfortably In fact we didn’t win or even draw ffs
He found a new way to surprise me. Playing a defender in midfield while our best midfielder was benched in a must win game that we lost. Tactical genius with about as much charisma as a tin of baked beans.
Thoughts on the manager?
Same as they were after his first few games. Hopeless. Wouldn't bother giving him next week. Better chance of winning without him.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 03:58 PM
Sorry but bye bey NM. If you can’t beat St J at home to get too 6 then you can GTF. Sick of this mediocre **** that keeps happening. We are so far off where we need to be
06-04-2024, 03:58 PM
Was excited when we appointed him and have defended him till this point, but I’d no longer be disappointed if someone else was in charge next season. The same defensive fragilities are simply lingering.
Wasnt excited when we appointed him. Even less so at this point. Cant believe he'll start in the hot seat next season. Dead man walking.
I knew nothing of him when he signed but is proving to be another poor appointment, time for change again.
06-04-2024, 03:59 PM
Here's an idea, can we appoint someone that has even a rudimentary understanding of Scottish football next?
Looser mentality. Out there shaking hands with Hibs players as if they've put in a good shift. WTF?
Don’t want to be knee jerk, but even a poxy draw would have had us in easy street. That’s one crappy point at home against a poor St Johnstone. Maybe his backers - and I’ve been one - might have to ask why we’re repeatedly coming up short in big games with this guy at the helm.
Time to go. I could've made better tactical decisions today. Utterly woeful.
shamo9
It's time to go. He doesn't deserve another chance. Absolutely terrible.
06-04-2024, 04:00 PM
Time tae go. Today
06-04-2024, 04:01 PM
Here's an idea, can we appoint someone that has even a rudimentary understanding of Scottish football next?
All depends on how many points behind Arbroath they were when they started their last job though.
Don’t want to be knee jerk, but even a poxy draw would have had us in easy street. Maybe his backers - and I’ve been one - might have to ask why we’re repeatedly coming up short in big games with this guy at the helm.
This shouldnt have been a big game ffs, he needs tae go now
Another full season of absolute dug meat. And then it'll be another season of transition next year when he's inevitably emptied in the summer. Grim, and all too familiar.
Sad to say it’s back to Tranent Juniors in the sun
Bob Box Fish
Monty GTF embarrassing
sauzee1989
06-04-2024, 04:04 PM
Get that clown out club! Will say ‘ I thought ‘ about 20 times later talking about game
Green_one
06-04-2024, 04:05 PM
Get rid after the Motherwell game. I can see us dropping to 8th next week
Awful result.
06-04-2024, 04:08 PM
I won't be listening to his excuses tonight, just FO now 💩
supermcginn
Has better players than calderwood, Fenlon and butcher had but is producing similar results. I honestly think he is absolutely miles out his depth and have Zero belief in him. He's just been outfoxed by Craig ****ing Levein FFS!
jamie_1875
He will get the summer, we will start badly and be around 7th or 8th in October and then he will be sacked. It's what always happens.
🚕
We need to take the only possible positive out of today and his entire time in change and release him from his contact.
Every day he is in place is a day wasted planning and preparing, and recruiting for next season.
06-04-2024, 04:09 PM
Get Malky before he goes somewhere else.
one day maybe...
I really hope he would bring some consistency to Hibs. Sadly again we find ourselves in a place of stick or twist. There’ll be a pot of money there for a summer rebuild but do we allow the current manager to spend this or do we get rid of yet another incumbent.
Identifying the right type of player is imperative, players that can roll their sleeves up and dig hard when up against it. Players just pulling that green top on need to understand the least that is expected is fight. #GGTTH
HendoDelivered
Get Malky before he goes somewhere else.
🤣🤣🤣🤣
06-04-2024, 04:10 PM
Has better players than calderwood, Fenlon and butcher had but is producing similar results. I honestly think he is absolutely miles out his depth and have Zero belief in him. He's just been outfoxed by Craig ****ing Levein FFS!
Craig Levein is a better manager.
06-04-2024, 04:11 PM
Same as they've been since the St Mirren game. He's on increasingly diminished borrowed time
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 04:11 PM
Craig Levein is a better manager.
It’s not even close. Levein is streets ahead.
The Captain....
06-04-2024, 04:12 PM
We need to take the only possible positive out of today and his entire time in change and release him from his contact.
Every day he is in place is a day wasted planning and preparing, and recruiting for next season.Agree 100%, he needs to be given his jotters ASAP.
Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk
scm70nyd1973
We are heading into a new phase which will need big game mentality and whilst I don’t necessarily want another Manager hoofed I think the reason for a change now is different from before - NM doesn’t get the big game approach methinks- I wanted him in but the next phase needs a different person. A bit sad really for NM but that’s the way Foley will see it.
I actually think this would likely have happened even if we had scraped into the top six which could still happen.
MikeyS
All depends on how many points behind Arbroath they were when they started their last job though.
:top marks:greengrin
Greensunshine
06-04-2024, 04:13 PM
Paying a heavy price for not getting the defensive department right in the January window.
Had we addressed this, I think we’d be up there challenging for third or fourth spot.
Everything now depends on what Dundee do against Rangers and then away to Aberdeen.
We need to take care of Motherwell away. No easy task!
To answer the question, NM keeps his job if he can pull off a small miracle and get that final spot, if not it’s bye bye!
CathroMustStay
Montgomery should never have been appointed in the first place.
Sadly even if (when) we fail to make the top 6 next weekend, I think the board will give him another season.
I fully expect us to win next Saturday.
MikeyS
It's incredibly frustrating when you consider total morons like Neilson & Naismith made it look a walk I'm the park!
06-04-2024, 04:14 PM
He’s done. Watching that first half today, I don’t really care what happens next week now.
Very few players I care about keeping either.
His time is up but I'm not sure that view is shared by Ben K. Even if they did get rid who do you think they would they bring in. McInnes was the obvious choice for me last time around and is this time too.
Paying a heavy price for not getting the defensive department right in the January window.
Had we addressed this, I think we’d be up there challenging for third or fourth spot.
Everything now depends on what Dundee do against Rangers and then away to Aberdeen.
We need to take care of Motherwell away. No easy task!
To answer the question, NM keeps his job if he can pull off a small miracle and get that final spot, if not it’s bye bye!
He brought in a centre half in January!
It’s just that the one he brought in was nothing like what we needed. Young laddie who’s barely kicked a ball at anything higher than Aussie league level.
It was a joke of a signing.
I fully expected us to win today
andrew_dundee
06-04-2024, 04:15 PM
If we don't get top 6 then he should go. I don't think there's any benefit to emptying him before the season is over unless we know there's someone better lined up for the job (and I don't mean Malky Mackay, who has too much baggage).
He's brought in a half decent midfield and I'd like him to have time with the defence, but if he can't motivate players at home against St Johnson in front of 16,000 fans then it doesn't encourage hope.
06-04-2024, 04:16 PM
Played 32 SPL games and we've won 9. Thats just not good enough, end of. Thats a generalisation btw not necessarily a dig at Monty who I know wasnt here at the start of the campaign.
Its been a very disappointing season and the all involved from the top to the bottom need a good look in the mirror. This season Hibs, a failure.
He will get the summer, we will start badly and be around 7th or 8th in October and then he will be sacked. It's what always happens.
Well it shouldn’t happen this time. He should be gone by now (like Goodwin was)
Whatever he is doing at the training ground each week simply isn’t producing results.
As others have said he is completely out of his depth.
The Scottish Premier League is a big step up from the Aussie League and he has demonstrated by now he is incapable of making that step up.
06-04-2024, 04:17 PM
We would have been better off keeping Maloney and giving him time
Hibees1973
06-04-2024, 04:18 PM
The Black Knight guys at the club must be demanding Montgomery gets sacked.
Kensell & Ian Gordon have to be excluded from any new managerial appointments.
The Black Knights have handed Montgomery guys who are on salaries which will be huge in comparison to teams outwith the OF and Montgomery loses to the likes of St Johnstone as home.
File Montgomery under Johnson & Maloney. Clowns.
heid the baw
06-04-2024, 04:19 PM
Can't see us beating Motherwell next week. Zero chance of Europe but at least top 6 would have brought in 2 big gates and TV money so it was a very expensive loss today.
He has to be accountable for that.
Without wanting to sound too much like a broken record, Killie are sitting comfortably in 4th because of Mcinnes ability to manage in this league.
The board needs to stop fannying around
06-04-2024, 04:20 PM
I absolutely don't think so.
NM is currently failing to execute his plan, but at least he has one.
06-04-2024, 04:20 PM
We’d have been better off letting the fans pick the team by votes as you came into the ground
06-04-2024, 04:22 PM
He’s done. Watching that first half today, I don’t really care what happens next week now.
Very few players I care about keeping either.
Yep, Maolida is special and NMW’s energy and tempo are about the sum of this squad. The rest have reputations that far outweigh their actual contributions and wouldn’t notice if they left.
06-04-2024, 04:26 PM
What’s the plan?
MikeyS
06-04-2024, 04:28 PM
What’s the plan?
Try and bore the other team to sleep then walk up the park and hope our forwards manage to shoot past the napping goalie.
06-04-2024, 04:29 PM
We’d have been better off letting the fans pick the team by votes as you came into the ground
There are plenty of fans that know better than NM, that's for sure.
A terrible appointment. I think he'll be away in the summer and we can then appoint a proper manager.
06-04-2024, 04:30 PM
We’ve seen this so many times, a manager is done at this club once the fans turn on you. Absolutely never getting the fans back on side and no wonder. No way back for him and he can have zero excuses, it was called on here months ago when he was farting about and persisting with that 442 a blind man could see the wasny working that those games we should’ve been winning would cost us in the long run and lo and behold it has
He’s a goner, what is the point in persisting and limping on with him when we all know it’s inevitable he’ll be away. Just get him punted
Paulie Walnuts
What’s the plan?
There is no doubt in my mind there’s little in the way of a plan under NM.
The Tubs
He seems to make a lot of bad decisions that cost us, doesn't understand the players that he has and loses control over them at key times. This is all assuming that he's able to communicate his ideas to the players effectively. I don't think he's cut out for management.
hibeerealist
06-04-2024, 04:32 PM
Does he, pray share that so as those that don't know it, such as me, can be enlightened.
06-04-2024, 04:33 PM
Agree - at least you had some idea of what he was trying to do even if he didn't have the players to do it.
06-04-2024, 04:33 PM
Unfortunately for Monty this sort of result in a 'Must Win' game is the sort of result that gets managers the sack.
Well it shouldn’t happen this time. He should be gone by now (like Goodwin was)
Whatever he is doing at the training ground each week simply isn’t producing results.
As others have said he is completely out of his depth.
The Scottish Premier League is a big step up from the Aussie League and he has demonstrated by now he is incapable of making that step up.
He can take his Kids coach of an assistant with him, Sergio should be nowhere near SPFL level as a coach.
Hibees1973
06-04-2024, 04:37 PM
European group stage football seems a hell of a way off with Montgomery in charge.
06-04-2024, 04:37 PM
Unfortunately for Monty this sort of result in a 'Must Win' game is the sort of result that gets managers the sack.
At home to one of the worst sides in the league, with basically a full strength squad available to him (just Vente unavailable?), in a game that’s massively important if we want to finish top 6.
As “must win” as they come.
I genuinely thought we’d win this game and put in a good performance to go with it.
06-04-2024, 04:39 PM
Motherwell will beat us.
Greensunshine
06-04-2024, 04:40 PM
He brought in a centre half in January!
It’s just that the one he brought in was nothing like what we needed. Young laddie who’s barely kicked a ball at anything higher than Aussie league level.
It was a joke of a signing.
I tell you what the real joke is. The fact that we haven’t addressed our defensive frailties for a very very long time.
There’s absolutely no balance in this side and to just lay the blame on the current manager would be wrong.
There would be no guarantee we’d find anyone who can do a better job and I’ve got to say, I’ve lost faith in the people charged with recruitment.
We’d be going down the same rocky road as Aberdeen. Is that what we really want?
06-04-2024, 04:43 PM
I tell you what the real joke is. The fact that we haven’t addressed our defensive frailties for a very very long time.
There’s absolutely no balance in this side and to just lay the blame on the current manager would be wrong.
There would be no guarantee we’d find anyone who can do a better job and I’ve got to say, I’ve lost faith in the people charged with recruitment.
We’d be going down the same rocky road as Aberdeen. Is that what we really want?
Keep a poor manager cos it might be worse with the next one?
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 04:43 PM
We signed a defender that the manager has previously worked with, so you’d have to assume he had a major input into the signing. The guy is absolutely dreadful in defence. Who’s to blame for that if it’s not Montgomery?
06-04-2024, 04:45 PM
One of the things sportsound said was that he hasn't had a "statement win" and especially considering the squad investment in January that's disappointing.
There's been bright sparks, a couple of decent results and recruits (Maolida and NMW) but other than that it's been meh
I'm a happy clapper admittedly and always want to find a reason to keep a manager, but I'm struggling a bit here
Cabbage-Patch
06-04-2024, 04:46 PM
I struggle to see how any reasonable supporter still has faith in Montgomery after today. I was there and yes we had a few chances and were unlucky in front of goal ( 2 wonder saves by thier keeper) the issue is we are so easy to score against. We dominate possession/chances against most teams but always concede soft soft goals. Id love to see the chances to goals ratio against us this season as it must be sky high.
Board should sack Montgomery immediately and let David Gray take us through to the end of the season and let Foley lead the charge for the new manager. At this point we are not getting Europe so genuinely don't even care about top 6 now as we will likely lose every game post split. The money between 7th and 6th can't be enormous and im sure psychologically we could do without more scuddings off the Jambos and Sevco.
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 04:47 PM
One of the things sportsound said was that he hasn't had a "statement win" and especially considering the squad investment in January that's disappointing.
There's been bright sparks, a couple of decent results and recruits (Maolida and NMW) but other than that it's been meh
I'm a happy clapper admittedly and always want to find a reason to keep a manager, but I'm struggling a bit here
Trying to think of what our statement win would be under him. Livi the other week maybe? Considering they’re by a mile the worst team in the league it’s about as crap a statement win as you could get.
06-04-2024, 04:48 PM
In a must win game for us today to keep it in our own hands, in a game we should be favourites to win, yet again today no directness or intensity to our play in the first half as is so often in the case.
You can understand when you play a certain way and it just isn't your day, but watching this team is just a constant struggle.
06-04-2024, 04:48 PM
Quite - the statement win point is important - today was one and we fluffed it.
06-04-2024, 04:49 PM
We sacked a manager who lost twice to St Johnstone at Hampden, this manager would need to do the tour of Hampden to see it again.
Hibees1973
06-04-2024, 04:50 PM
i've seen more than enough that Montgomery will not be in charge next season.
To give the likes of Jair, Bushiri and Triantis a Hibs jersey to play in is criminal.
However, I've said so many times our problems are bigger than the manager. For as long as Kensell and Ian Gordon are involved in football decisions at the club we will go nowhere.
06-04-2024, 04:51 PM
Aye, needs to go. Just so rubbish.
06-04-2024, 04:53 PM
i've seen more than enough that Montgomery will not be in charge next season.
To give the likes of Jair, Bushiri and Triantis a Hibs jersey to play in is criminal.
However, I've said so many times our problems are bigger than the manager. For as long as Kensell and Ian Gordon are involved in football decisions at the club we will go nowhere.
Spot on. they get an incredibly easy ride considering how much responsibility the last 3 dismal years falls on decisions they've made/been a part of.
ionahibby
06-04-2024, 04:53 PM
People seem to forget who signed the majority of the players not Montgomery. Who signed newell, who signed Marshall, who signed Tavares? Cadden, Rocky the list goes on. How anybody can blame Montgomery is beyond me. If anything the players he has signed have improved us.
06-04-2024, 04:56 PM
People seem to forget who signed the majority of the players not Montgomery. Who signed newell, who signed Marshall, who signed Tavares? Cadden, Rocky the list goes on. How anybody can blame Montgomery is beyond me. If anything the players he has signed have improved us.
Those players qualified for Europe last season.
JammyDoidger
06-04-2024, 04:56 PM
Guffy, he's honestly clueless. Time to part ways, get a bounce for the Motherwell game and going into the new season.
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 04:57 PM
This post is giving me Michael Beale on Twitter vibes.
Tommy75
06-04-2024, 05:01 PM
And as bad as they are Johnson finished 5th with them. NM has arguably a better squad and can't get a tune out of them.
Mr Grieves
06-04-2024, 05:02 PM
Time to sack the dud, and replace him with another dud.
Sent from my 22011119UY using Tapatalk
06-04-2024, 05:04 PM
LJ was a better manager than this one, how bad does that sound? :rolleyes:
sean04
06-04-2024, 05:05 PM
To many bad results now. Defense is pathetic. We are easy to play against because we're so slow in possession
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 05:07 PM
LJ was a better manager than this one, how bad does that sound? :rolleyes:
And it’s not even close.
06-04-2024, 05:10 PM
Getting what we deserve for hiring a manager from a pub league unfortunately.
It’s absolutely criminal how slowly we start games. We don’t pass, press or defend well at all. If that isn’t the coaching staffs fault I don’t know what is
The only thing I’d view as a minor positive is that our set pieces have improved.
Cabbage-Patch
06-04-2024, 05:13 PM
What on earth makes you think that? Motherwell will be absolutely buzzing after coming back to win from 2 goals down today. Win and they know they are top 6 as long Dundee drop points. Every team in the league must genuinely be delighted to play us at the minute as our defence is leakier than a sieve.
NC1875
06-04-2024, 05:15 PM
Hi Nick. Do you want a lift to the airport 👋🏽
Saint Hibee
06-04-2024, 05:15 PM
It's not the squad that's the biggest problem; it's what he does with them. Why no Youan or NMW from the start? Why bring on Jair? With a competent manager, this squad could have made top 4 I think.
06-04-2024, 05:17 PM
Mate, surely you must be concerned with his decision making?? It's been absolutely all over the place and illogical since the start and hasn't shown signs of getting any more sensible.
06-04-2024, 05:19 PM
It's not the squad that's the biggest problem; it's what he does with them. Why no Youan or NMW from the start? Why bring on Jair? With a competent manager, this squad could have made top 4 I think.
This isn’t really a defence of Montgomery but I think folk underestimate just how bad our defence is. We had nothing to defend today, two goals lost. Same up at Ross County a couple of weeks ago. Just pish mistakes all over the place. Impossible to get consistent results with that defence.
Defensively poor and that's on Montgomery.
He has however, yet again, been shafted with a decision. And that muddies the water for me in terms of judging whether he needs to go.
We get a pen in that first half and score it, we win that game. Must be up to 10 points we've had robbed off us now in the last couple months
The Captain....
LJ was a better manager than this one, how bad does that sound? :rolleyes:Pretty bad. Pretty...pretty.. bad.
Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk
mcfly
06-04-2024, 05:20 PM
Another abysmal season.
Kensell and recruitment team has to shoulder all the blame for me.
The recruitment of managers is entirely down to them. Any fan can see we leak goals abs yet for at least 2-3 seasons the defence has not been improved.
Lots of money wasted and nothing to show.
Bottom 6 again.
Shambolic way to run a club and the board and recruitment team are entirely to blame.
As for the current manager - seems a nice bloke but I don’t see any improvement and he lacks passion.
The football is so boring now at Easter road
06-04-2024, 05:20 PM
What on earth makes you think that? Motherwell will be absolutely buzzing after coming back to win from 2 goals down today. Win and they know they are top 6 as long Dundee drop points. Every team in the league must genuinely be delighted to play us at the minute as our defence is leakier than a sieve.
It’s not because I have any confidence in us so I’m being clear, I just think the fact Motherwell have to win will set up nicely for us. And it will then give Monty more time which isn’t really going to help us in the longer term.
06-04-2024, 05:21 PM
We sacked a manager who got us into Europe last season Monty ain’t any better get rid
06-04-2024, 05:21 PM
BBC reporting Montgomery saying post match:
"I know where I can take this club moving forward. Today was a setback because it was a game we wanted to win and we needed to win.
"I can feel everybody's frustrations because we were expected to win and we should have won, the stats will tell you that but stats don't win a game. You have to put your chances away and we didn't do that today and we got punished."
That's a please don't sack me quote if ever I saw it.
06-04-2024, 05:23 PM
Been in the 'can't afford to offload another manager' all season, now I don't think we can afford to keep him.
We keep losing to poorer teams partly because the shape's inconsistent but mostly because our defending does a disservice
to the memory of the Keystone Cops.
Their second goal from corner was beyond ridiculous but it's just one of many we have conceded, repeatedly, all season. They had 2 or 3 corners and scored from one, we had a dozen or so and got nada from them so there are actually issues at both ends of the pitch.
Montgomery said 'With 72% possession we conceded two shots on target and two goals, I think that tells a story.' It does Monty & we have been on repeat all season.
When the same thing keeps happening and you keep doing nothing about it, there's no learning going on. As someone once said, 'The only real mistake is the one from which we learn nothing.' Monty's been failing to learn repeatedly, all season, game after game.
Some of the players may not be good enough (please, bringing on Jair to save a game? Poor sod, not fair on him or us because he lacks the capacity) but we still have a good enough squad to be much higher up the table than we are; that's not down to the players, or the folk above Monty, it's down to the manager.
I'm genuinely afraid of going into freefall once we're in the bottom six; we cannot be confident of beating anyone just now.
Another happy clapper bites the dust.......
Donegal Hibby
06-04-2024, 05:23 PM
Getting what we deserve for hiring a manager from a pub league unfortunately.
It’s absolutely criminal how slowly we start games. We don’t pass, press or defend well at all. If that isn’t the coaching staffs fault I don’t know what is
The only thing I’d view as a minor positive is that our set pieces have improved.
There's a lot I've met over the years that think our leagues a pub league too btw which I've always thought was poor on their part as they really didn't know much about it in the first place .
06-04-2024, 05:25 PM
This isn’t really a defence of Montgomery but I think folk underestimate just how bad our defence is. We had nothing to defend today, two goals lost. Same up at Ross County a couple of weeks ago. Just pish mistakes all over the place. Impossible to get consistent results with that defence.
Absoluteiy true, but if he wasn’t pushing for experience (having sidelined our best CB) in the January window then it’s hard to have sympathy for him. He was happy with Triantis and some youngster from Bournemouth (whose name I’ve already forgotten) with Rocky and Fish as his preferred pairing. Stevie Wonder could see we needed a first choice CB in the last window.
06-04-2024, 05:26 PM
There's a lot I've met over the years that think our leagues a pub league too btw which I've always thought was poor on their part as they really didn't know much about it in the first place .
Cool story
06-04-2024, 05:26 PM
That's your opinion ODS which your totally entitled too though it's not one I share . Apart from looking abit awkward at times I've not had any issues with the way he talks or what he wears either. Last manager got it too for different reasons and to me it's just another stick to use .
We have went into games this year missing key players , were we've had to play a 16 year old at RB , a LB at CH and a striker as a 10 . We have also like last year at times had very little options on the bench with at times 2 or 3 kids on it.
First transfer window our manager gets we start improving once the new players settle in , full summer window and a pre-season and there's nothing to suggest we won't improve further under Monty.
There's been nothing suspect about some of the decisions that's went against us btw , alot of them have been totally obvious though I think you know that already.
We can blame him for mistakes he's made which he has though if we are going to bury our heads in the sand to other issues that's been out of his control then I think that's abit harsh tbh .
Again decisions have effected us in games and have / may have cost us enough points were we'd have been comfortably in the top 6 . I don't think this will matter a jot to a few though that's got their minds made up already though .
Anyhow I'm sticking with our manager and hoping we get a good victory tomorrow 🤞👍
Posted without comment.
ChuckNor
06-04-2024, 05:27 PM
Time is well and truly up. I wouldn’t trust him with the game next week. The last three appointments have outdone each other for how bad they have been. This one is right up there with the most abysmal. We plucked someone out of a pub league and expected him to cut it in a real league? Instead of someone who actually gets this league we hired this guy out of pure snobbery imo.
Montgomery’s mistakes have been relentless. Starting a 16 year old at right back week in week out when Stevenson can play there fine. Signing Triantis. Persisting with Vente in a role he couldn’t play. The bizarre subs. The persistence with 442. I could go on and on.
Regardless of where we finish, I have zero faith in him. He has to go now. Give it to Gray for the rest of the season.
Donegal Hibby
06-04-2024, 05:29 PM
Cool story
Not getting at you though use to make my blood boil when fans of English teams here use to say it without no knowledge of Scottish football whatsoever.
I’ve been on the fence with Monty, but that seals it; ten minutes to save the season and he brings Tavares on - get rid.
Donegal Hibby
06-04-2024, 05:30 PM
Posted without comment.
Still here and still in Monty's corner . Thanks very much 👍
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 05:31 PM
Please explain why you are still backing him? Evidence?
leith lynx
06-04-2024, 05:32 PM
Next week's game at Motherwell is a last chance saloon for Monty, defeat and he will be gone. Might be a bitter pill to swallow but bottom six would be better for us with a view to recruiting Michael O'Neill to take us forward next season with the new investment coming in.
Time is well and truly up. I wouldn’t trust him with the game next week. The last three appointments have outdone each other for how bad they have been. This one is right up there with the most abysmal. We plucked someone out of a pub league and expected him to cut it in a real league? Instead of someone who actually gets this league we hired this guy out of pure snobbery imo.
Montgomery’s mistakes have been relentless. Starting a 16 year old at right back week in week out when Stevenson can play there fine. Signing Triantis. Persisting with Vente in a role he couldn’t play. The bizarre subs. The persistence with 442. I could go on and on.
Regardless of where we finish, I have zero faith in him. He has to go now. Give it to Gray for the rest of the season.
In a nutshell, he’s got nothing. He can’t be here after the split let alone next season. Pub team manager from a pub team league who is clueless and is out of his depth and to add to that uninspiring.
Not getting at you though use to make my blood boil when fans of English teams here use to say it without no knowledge of Scottish football whatsoever.
Try being an English Hibs fan in England! Have to battle the pub league and the diet Celtic tirade virtually every week.
Im not for turning.
Montgomery has players at his disposal that should easily be Top 6 ....he has simply fluffed it with very few wins (4 according to Wikipedia). However, given he actually hasn't lost many league games, I think he will be here for at least the first round of games next season BUT will have little or no say in who is signed other than saying, for example, I need a centre half. His role will be too coach the squad he is given.
As for NMs appointment, that will sit with McDermott and Ian Gordon as Kensall should only be there to complete negotiations. As has been said before, our general recruitment has shown no consistency since Mathie was sacked and Ian Gordon installed. This role is the most important one to get right at the club as everything else should follow.
06-04-2024, 05:35 PM
Fair enough.
It’s all relative. We took a manager from a poor league where he’d only actually managed 60 odd games. Madness.
The most obvious comparison is Pat Fenlon. Nice guys but completely unfit for the job
06-04-2024, 05:36 PM
I have to admire your commitment to it all at this point. It's like watching the band playing on the Titanic as it sinks.
sauzee1989
06-04-2024, 05:37 PM
Comes across daft when talking to media, can’t even imagine what he’s like talking to the team.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 05:38 PM
I have to admire your commitment to it all at this point. It's like watching the band playing on the Titanic as it sinks.
scm70nyd1973
06-04-2024, 05:40 PM
This is where I am to be honest.
Normally in a season you always recall a game or two that you look back on and say that was brilliant. There were but ironically it was under LJ and SDG.
In terms of NM - he has been in charge for a while (virtually the whole season) and in that period the highlight games have been virtually nil.
Foley is not going to invest in someone who has not got a big game mentality and it’s looking more and more like NM doesn’t have it I’m afraid.
All a bit meh as you say
06-04-2024, 05:40 PM
What did you think of him taking off Le Fondre straight after he nearly scored? Not sure the swear filter would let me post my thoughts on it.
Badge
06-04-2024, 05:42 PM
You did the same with the previous manager. All you are doing is proving that you would be better not saying anything at all. Maybe time to get in the real world instead of thinking that everything is going to be ok. I’ve tried to put that as politely as I can. Don’t want to say what I really think as I’d end up getting barred.
06-04-2024, 05:46 PM
Absoluteiy true, but if he wasn’t pushing for experience (having sidelined our best CB) in the January window then it’s hard to have sympathy for him. He was happy with Triantis and some youngster from Bournemouth (whose name I’ve already forgotten) with Rocky and Fish as his preferred pairing. Stevie Wonder could see we needed a first choice CB in the last window.
Aye I don't disagree on the centre half front. It was obvious at the close of the window that if something was going to cost him, and us, that’s what it would be.
What I would say is that the good signings and changes are generally suggested as not being down to him whilst the lack of certain players is. I think it’s all a bit selective depending on what way it’s viewed. I think it’s fair to ask questions of Brian McDermott who seems to be almost forgotten about. Glaring issue not addressed last summer. Glaring issue not addressed in January. And first manager appointed on his watch unlikely to last a year.
06-04-2024, 05:48 PM
We have a best centre back? The defence looks no different with Hanlon playing or not playing. Bald men fighting over a comb when folk talk about our best centreback.
Donegal Hibby
06-04-2024, 05:48 PM
I said I was going in there's been signs of improvement apart from today . Derek McInnes , Neil Lennon and Roy Keane getting mentioned another . I watched like all of you have watched us go through a few managers now with the same things happening over and over again .
I don't think it's all done to the managers . Look at Newells performance today , would anyone have expected him to be so bad ? Or Marcondes and Fish ? Players have to take some responsibility for that today as well imo . Anyhow I'm not looking for a stampede of angry Hibees coming at me but I think we can beat Motherwell and with abit of luck still make the top 6 yet 👍
Cabbage-Patch
06-04-2024, 05:49 PM
Defensively poor and that's on Montgomery.
He has however, yet again, been shafted with a decision. And that muddies the water for me in terms of judging whether he needs to go.
We get a pen in that first half and score it, we win that game. Must be up to 10 points we've had robbed off us now in the last couple months
Nah we need to stop with all this VAR pity party. Yes we have been robbed of a few decisions and yes that was probably a pen today but we should have enough to put teams away without relying on VAR helping us out. It's honestly like a crutch for some of our fans now. Was the same when we lost the last minute goal against Ross County folk were crying because we should have had a throw in. Our in game management is shocking and VAR isnt responsible for that. Players and manager are. Zero excuses for today. Seasons done and wont be wasting anymore of my money this season paying to watch a team full of bottle merchants.
heid the baw
06-04-2024, 05:51 PM
Comes across daft when talking to media, can’t even imagine what he’s like talking to the team.
Completely agree with this. Mumbling, incoherent and gives no sense of leadership or confidence. Ian Murray is far more accomplished when talking tactics ect after games. Listen to a Montgomery interview then go seek out an Ian Murray one. Not suggesting Murray is ready just yet, but his leadership comes across much clearer.
That is how bad Montgomery is in my opinion
06-04-2024, 05:51 PM
Bizarre. I’m seeing very little to suggest he’s got it.
That result and in particular first half performance was dreadful.
06-04-2024, 05:52 PM
To be honest the whole club is a shambles all fancy hospitality and rubbish on the park more than Montgomery at fault here been same dire since we won the cup
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 05:53 PM
I said I was going in there's been signs of improvement apart from today . Derek McInnes , Neil Lennon and Roy Keane getting mentioned another . I watched like all of you have watched us go through a few managers now with the same things happening over and over again .
I don't think it's all done to the managers . Look at Newells performance today , would anyone have expected him to be so bad ? Or Marcondes and Fish ? Players have to take some responsibility for that today as well imo . Anyhow I'm not looking for a stampede of angry Hibees coming at me but I think we can beat Motherwell and with abit of luck still make the top 6 yet 👍
Absolutely players have to take their share of the blame but we all know in football the buck stops with the manager. If you cannot beat St J at home in a game just to get top 6 as a Hibs manager then your time is up. Sorry but that is undeniable. We sacked Mixu for finishing 6th with a mediocre squad
Conceded 50 goals this season in the league, are defence has been honking and we didn’t fix it
There is no rational defence based on his record. His style of football is absolutely brutal. His results record is absolutely brutal. His coaching/development of the team appears to have been absolutely brutal given our perma-5hit defence.
The one saving grace appeared to be the signings in January. Except we have a DoF responsible for those and the only one we absolutely know NM wanted was Triantis. For central defence. Where he doesn't play him. Because he's MURDER there.
Montgomery is simply very evidently and obviously not up to it. He's proven it over the games he's been in charge. What more evidence is needed? We lost at home today, to hopeless St Johnstone, in a game we had to win, with a near full strength squad.
Kensell and Gordon are also manifestly not up to their roles. Clowns who serially appoint clowns. It just doesn't matter to them, one is paid so much money that I doubt he can believe his luck. The other has a funny Edinburgh toy to play with because of daddy. Neither has the first clue or pedigree related to running a football club.
I had to listen to Levein and that Jambo clown Brian McLauchlin on Radio Scotland after that shambles today:
BM: Craig, you enjoy winning here don't you?
CL: I absolutely love it.
Both: Guffawing laughter.
This is where we get to when the club doesn't take itself seriously, accepts mediocrity or worse and when no-one of influence at the club understands what it means - or should mean - to pull on that green jersey, to be in charge of that team or to be leading the club.
The pride, fight, ambition and passion is being bled out of this club week after week after week.
06-04-2024, 05:54 PM
So not having signed the players he plays every week gives him carte blanche to have a team have a season like this and he able to say "not all signed by me, not my fault"?!?
Gies peace
06-04-2024, 05:54 PM
Has he gone yet? 🤔🙄
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 05:55 PM
There is no rational defence based on his record. His style of football is absolutely brutal. His results record is absolutely brutal. His coaching/development of the team appears to have been absolutely brutal given our perma-5hit defence.
The one saving grace appeared to be the signings in January. Except we have a DoF responsible for those and the only one we absolutely know NM wanted was Triantis. For central defence. Where he doesn't play him. Because he's MURDER there.
Montgomery is simply very evidently and obviously not up to it. He's proven it over the games he's been in charge. What more evidence is needed? We lost at home today, to hopeless St Johnstone, in a game we had to win, with a near full strength squad.
Kensell and Gordon are also manifestly not up to their roles. Clowns who serially appoint clowns. It just doesn't matter to them, one is paid so much money that I doubt he can believe his luck. The other has a funny Edinburgh toy to play with because of daddy. Neither has the first clue or pedigree related to running a football club.
I had to listen to Levein and that Jambo clown Brian McLauchlin on Radio Scotland after that shambles today:
This is where we get to when the club doesn't take itself seriously, accepts mediocrity or worse and when no-one of influence at the club understands what it means - or should mean - to pull on that green jersey, to be in charge of that team or to be leading the club.
The pride, fight, ambition and passion is being bled out of this club week after week after week.
BM is just another welt on the BBC. Fair play to levein. Keeps beating us even at mediocre clubs. That’s on Hibs
Mikey_1875
06-04-2024, 05:57 PM
Dead man walking. He won’t lead us to third next season. As others have mentioned the top brass at the club need to be taking a fair bit of flak as well for their managerial appointment record. I’d be leaning on every possible resource the black knights can give us for our next one.
Davy Mac
06-04-2024, 05:57 PM
Hibs were honking again today, i admit we dont have many quality players but the lack of urgency, the fear, the slow sideways pass, players drifting out of position constantly, lack of passion and still trying to build from the back when clealy it doesnt suit our defence.
It was bad, head under the duvet stuff.
06-04-2024, 05:58 PM
I can take it from Craig Levein, it's part of the rivalry we have with the guy. But hearing that fat hearts bawbag get involved laughing away properly riles me. The club should have a word with him.
Donegal Hibby
06-04-2024, 05:59 PM
You did the same with the previous manager. All you are doing is proving that you would be better not saying anything at all. Maybe time to get in the real world instead of thinking that everything is going to be ok. I’ve tried to put that as politely as I can. Don’t want to say what I really think as I’d end up getting barred.
Yeah I did back the previous manager so what ? . Seems you have a bit of anger issues going on there ! .
06-04-2024, 06:00 PM
That's me out. Couldn't care less if we scrape top six I want him gone. I'm not watching **** like that every week.
06-04-2024, 06:00 PM
BM is just another welt on the BBC. Fair play to levein. Keeps beating us even at mediocre clubs. That’s on Hibs
BM is a Jambo welt. And our utterly spineless performance today gave them the perfect platform to gloat on national radio about it.
"That's on Hibs." You'd better believe it is. We need to stop tolerating mediocrity.
Chorley Hibee
06-04-2024, 06:01 PM
I can take it from Craig Levein, it's part of the rivalry we have with the guy. But hearing that fat hearts bawbag get involved laughing away properly riles me. The club should have a word with him.
https://twitter.com/BBCSportScot/status/1776653484361658860?s=19
Hope those in charge enjoy what a laughing stock we are to everyone.
Broxburn Greens
06-04-2024, 06:02 PM
Driving home from the game Michael Stewart’s made a comment the he couldn’t remember “a statement win” from Montgomery’s time in charge and I agree with that, you just never get the feeling we’re capable of shining and blowing opponents away, never comfortable even when we’re ahead in games, just waiting on the mistake coming.
I can remember “a statement loss” though, being 0-3 down to St. Mirren at HT at ER was a sackable offence to me.
Losing today at home to St. Johnstone when a win almost ensures us top 6 and leaves us outs with either a draw or loss if other results went our way next week is right up there though.
Sorry but the guys a busted flush and as for his clapping the support I just found that ridiculous and almost incendiary.
Time to go.
JammyDoidger
You can't just give every manager 3 and 4 transfer windows until they have their own squad, you should be seeing signs of improvement from the get go, especially with our budget and players compared to other teams in the league, I've yet to see any improvement under Monty, and that's the job of a coach/manager. He's just not got it. We need a real manager in.
Donegal Hibby
Absolutely players have to take their share of the blame but we all know in football the buck stops with the manager. If you cannot beat St J at home in a game just to get top 6 as a Hibs manager then your time is up. Sorry but that is undeniable. We sacked Mixu for finishing 6th with a mediocre squad
Fair enough mate I totally understand were your coming from though I'm just going to wait till after the Motherwell game to see how that pans out . Thanks for being reasonable unlike some 👍
TheSouthMoroccan
06-04-2024, 06:04 PM
To date I have been supportive of him. I like him and like his straight talking, especially after the clown he replaced. But after today, no. Sorry but it’s now a no from me, I don’t want him managing Foley’s investment.
06-04-2024, 06:05 PM
Driving home from the game Michael Stewart’s made a comment the he couldn’t remember “a statement win” from Montgomery’s time in charge and I agree with that, you just never get the feeling we’re capable of shining and blowing opponents away, never comfortable even when we’re ahead in games, just waiting on the mistake coming.
I can remember “a statement loss” though, being 0-3 down to St. Mirren at HT at ER was a sackable offence to me.
Losing today at home to St. Johnstone when a win almost ensures us top 6 and leaves us outs with either a draw or loss if other results went our way next week is right up there though.
Sorry but the guys a busted flush and as for his clapping the support I just found that ridiculous and almost incendiary.
Time to go.
It's just delaying the inevitable at this stage. After the game I was actually thinking it'd probably have been better if Dundee won today so the top six stuff is over and we just move on.
There's not a chance in hell Montgomery improves us to be challenging for third next season
06-04-2024, 06:06 PM
Totally agree, the Jambo clowns have every right to take the pish. We are so weak and Montgomery is basically a living advertisement of weak, watery pish.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 06:07 PM
Fair enough mate I totally understand were your coming from though I'm just going to wait till after the Motherwell game to see how that pans out . Thanks for being reasonable unlike some 👍
Seriously doesn’t give me pleasure saying all of this as all I, and everyone else, wants is to see Hibs winning and challenging for 3rd. We seem to be way off that right now
06-04-2024, 06:12 PM
Why do you care what he thinks of the manager? What difference does it make to you ?
Badge
06-04-2024, 06:12 PM
Yeah I did back the previous manager so what ? . Seems you have a bit of anger issues going on there ! .
If you’ve not got anger issues after that then maybe you should. You seem to keep wanting to back managers that are simply not proving themselves to be good enough but can’t give any good footballing reasons for doing so. Can you please tell us why you backed these two managers when it’s quite clear that neither are/were good enough. Are you happy with what you’ve seen over the past couple of years?
06-04-2024, 06:13 PM
Chat from hospitality that “loads of players will be leaving and they already know / are searching for clubs”.
Sounds like we’ve told x, y and z they are moving on and the tools have been downed.
jakedance
06-04-2024, 06:14 PM
I wanted to believe, and changing manager as often as we do isn’t great, but this guy doesn’t have it. There is a good bit of money invested in this squad so to be where we are just isn’t good enough.
Hopefully the investment means we can afford someone that’s a step up from the norm because this near continuous underperforming is depressing.
06-04-2024, 06:15 PM
I would have thought that the last thing NM would have said to them was to play with pace. Instead it was 45 minutes of loping around,slow motion football,constantly passing the ball backwards as Saints got their defence set up. Either they just don’t listen to don’t follow orders.Our big players -Macondes,Boyle ,Newell Le Fondre were all off the pace and missing in action.
Badge
06-04-2024, 06:17 PM
Why do you care what he thinks of the manager? What difference does it make to you ?
Trying to understand why I think the complete opposite. Is he right and maybe I am being totally unreasonable in thinking the way I do. That ok for you?
06-04-2024, 06:20 PM
Trying to understand why I think the complete opposite. Is he right and maybe I am being totally unreasonable in thinking the way I do. That ok for you?
No really . I think your post was brutal. Grow up.
06-04-2024, 06:22 PM
Chat from hospitality that “loads of players will be leaving and they already know / are searching for clubs”.
Sounds like we’ve told x, y and z they are moving on and the tools have been downed.
so there's hope after all
unless there's a catch and Ian Gordon is going to be the new DoF :)
Not just January but there was also spending the likes of which we'd never seen before in the summer. Even the much-maligned LJ managed a "statement win" against Luzern. Our squad is way, way better than where we're sitting in the league.
I really thought LJ was punted because crap league results weren't going to be accepted anymore.
Trinity Hibee
That is seriously some take. Might be best taking the night off if you don’t like that fans aren’t happy getting beat at home by St Johnstone just to make top 6. Incredible
06-04-2024, 06:23 PM
That is seriously some take. Might be best taking the night off if you don’t like that fans aren’t happy getting beat at home by St Johnstone just to make top 6. Incredible
Wtf are you talking about ?
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 06:23 PM
Wtf are you talking about ?
You
06-04-2024, 06:24 PM
You
I've no idea what you are talking about.
I've not said anyone can't be passed off.
Badge
06-04-2024, 06:26 PM
Ok. I’ll just accept that not only that type of performance is ok but also what we’ve seen over the past couple years is fine. Not sure I’ll find that easy to do.
LewysGot2
I did wonder at that...
Newell and Cadden was doing their best to keep him in a job. He'd have been binned long ago if not for Joe's contribution. Far from our problem.
Monty isn't it. Simple as. Outdone by ****ing Craig levein :faf:
****ing twice now
06-04-2024, 06:27 PM
Ok. I’ll just accept that not only that type of performance is ok but also what we’ve seen over the past couple years is fine. Not sure I’ll find that easy to do.
Who's saying that ? Wtf is going on 😄
06-04-2024, 06:30 PM
Newell and Cadden was doing their best to keep him in a job. He'd have been binned long ago if not for Joe's contribution. Far from our problem.
Monty isn't it. Simple as. Outdone by ****ing Craig levein :faf:
****ing twice now
Newell is a big problem if he's the level we are aspiring to. Aye, he runs about, but his contributions to games is often minimal at best. If he's our midfield kingpin next season, then I may not bother.
06-04-2024, 06:30 PM
That crap today has brought the curtain down for me.
I’ll be back in my seat next season but the thought of Montgomery still in charge doesn’t exactly fill me with optimism .
I am certainly not a fan of his walking pace possession football but was willing to give the guy a chance to improve our fortunes. However that shocker today has changed my mind and uninspiring would probably be the best description of his tenure.
TrinityHFC
06-04-2024, 06:35 PM
Results are less than average but the worst thing is that it is largely boring. Even after bringing better players in and adjusting the system.
He was a poor choice when you think of fit for the club and for the players we had already signed.
Seems a decent guy and is trying his best but it ultimately isn’t good enough.
Badge
06-04-2024, 06:39 PM
Who's saying that ? Wtf is going on 😄
I wasn’t trying to be brutal, I simply can’t understand how anyone can so strongly support the previous and current manager the way the poster does. No big deal I was simply asking why in case there was something I’m missing. Maybe better left with me simply feeling completely differently.
06-04-2024, 06:41 PM
I wasn’t trying to be brutal, I simply can’t understand how anyone can so strongly support the previous and current manager the way the poster does. No big deal I was simply asking why in case there was something I’m missing. Maybe better left with me simply feeling completely differently.
That's not exactly what you said at all but I'm sure the poster can speak for himself
For the record , I think we should remove Monty now.
Badge
06-04-2024, 06:42 PM
That's not exactly what you said at all but I'm sure the poster can speak for himself
My post at 7:12 asks these questions.
Agree 100% about Monty
Cabbage-Patch
06-04-2024, 06:44 PM
Hope Joe Newell is top of that list. Captain of the club and goes missing in action every time a big game comes up.
06-04-2024, 06:45 PM
Newell is a big problem if he's the level we are aspiring to. Aye, he runs about, but his contributions to games is often minimal at best. If he's our midfield kingpin next season, then I may not bother.
I get what you’re saying but Newell is the least of our problems IMHO
Fuzzywuzzy
06-04-2024, 06:45 PM
Hibs manager Nick Montgomery: "I know where I can take this club moving forward. Today was a setback because it was a game we wanted to win and we needed to win.
"I can feel everybody's frustrations because we were expected to win and we should have won, the stats will tell you that but stats don't win a game. You have to put your chances away and we didn't do that today and we got punished."
Sounds very familiar
06-04-2024, 06:46 PM
Something that sticks with me now is how after an initial showing that something was clicking after we signed a handful of new players we now seem to be back to where we were around December/January performance wise, it's like any momentum we had with these new guys has gone already, other than Maolida doing his best to keep us in games.
The manager seems to me to have absolutely zero coaching prowess about him whatsoever and has failed to build upon the January window with what are better players than he initially had, other than Triantis being arguably the worst centre half I've seen for about 10 years at the club - a player he was key in bringing in as well.
There is no defence for this manager whatsoever other than the sheer exhaustion of having to go about changing manager again.
Hibs manager Nick Montgomery: "I know where I can take this club moving forward. Today was a setback because it was a game we wanted to win and we needed to win.
Sounds very familiar
Dead man walking and I think he knows it.
Hibees1973
Is there anyone out there still wanting Montgomery to be our manager?
Davy Mac
I hate to see anyone lose their job but i agree.
He doesn't seem to have any emotional connection between him and the fans, this was St Johnstone FFS and more importantly against one of the most hated jambo barstewards in my lifetime.
Sorry, taxi for the airport.
06-04-2024, 06:49 PM
Exactly the same chat LJ gave before he left.
They're all the same. They all say they can deliver something special if given time. They should look for clubs that are prepared to put up with crap football for a few seasons, not us.
I want someone that can improve us now, not in three years.
john rossi
06-04-2024, 07:01 PM
That was the final straw regarding Montgomery today slow in possession his tactics are eye bleeding could not break down a poor St Johnstone team says it all IMO he should go and take Marcondes complete passenger along with Triantis as for ALF past his sell by date.
doubt I will renew season ticket sick to death of Hibs and their managerial appointments.
Hibees1973
06-04-2024, 07:03 PM
As I've said earlier, I heard last week that Montgomery will be removed at the end of the season. It may be earlier now.
I spoke to the same guy today who told me about this last week. Apparently as many as 20 players (first team & development) have been told that they will not have their contracts renewed or have been told that they will get no game time next season. Fine they can run down their contracts but they will not train with the squad and have been advised to find another club.
Word is as well that training is not working out with the coaches. Sergio Raimundo and the goalkeeping coach Miguel Miranda are not well thought of by the Black Knight guys who are now in and around the club. Already things are getting tetchy between Kensell & The Black Knight guys.
Today is not going to help the mood around East Mains.
I was expecting huge changes in the summer. Might be earlier now.
06-04-2024, 07:05 PM
That was the final straw regarding Montgomery today slow in possession his tactics are eye bleeding could not break down a poor St Johnstone team says it all IMO he should go and take Marcondes complete passenger along with Triantis as for ALF past his sell by date.
doubt I will renew season ticket sick to death of Hibs and their managerial appointments.
How did your team do today?
06-04-2024, 07:06 PM
Yes, we’ve had a lot of decisions go against us. Yes, St Johnstone scored with their only two shots on target.
Doesn’t change the face that the football is utterly **** to watch, the tactics are non-existent. Makes me laugh when Marshall rushes to get the ball back from the ball boys, plays it out wide quick and it just ends up with the CB anyway.
And the subs, wow.
06-04-2024, 07:06 PM
As I've said earlier, I heard last week that Montgomery will be removed at the end of the season. It may be earlier now.
I spoke to the same who told me about this last week. Apparently as many as 20 players (first team & development) have been told that they will not have their contracts renewed or have been told that they will get no game time next season. Fine they can run down their contracts but they will not train with the squad and have been advised to find another club.
Word is as well that training is not working out with the coaches. Sergio Raimundo and the goalkeeping coach Miguel Miranda are not well thought of by the Black Knight guys who are now in and around the club. Already things are getting tetchy between Kensell & The Black Knight guys.
Today is not going to help the mood around East Mains.
I was expecting huge changes in the summer. Might be earlier now.
Appreciate you sharing what you've heard but sounds like complete nonsense to be honest.
We already know a swathe of players are out of contract/loans are up at the end of the season. Who are these players that are in the match day squad but aren't training with the first team? Why would they be on the bench if we're not allowing them to train and they absolutely won't feature. Sounds pish.
06-04-2024, 07:10 PM
Appreciate you sharing what you've heard but sounds like complete nonsense to be honest.
We already know a swathe of players are out of contract/loans are up at the end of the season. Who are these players that are in the match day squad but aren't training with the first team? Why would they be on the bench if we're not allowing them to train and they absolutely won't feature. Sounds pish.
To be fair to him I think he meant those guys won't train with the squad next season.
Donegal Hibby
06-04-2024, 07:10 PM
If you’ve not got anger issues after that then maybe you should. You seem to keep wanting to back managers that are simply not proving themselves to be good enough but can’t give any good footballing reasons for doing so. Can you please tell us why you backed these two managers when it’s quite clear that neither are/were good enough. Are you happy with what you’ve seen over the past couple of years?
Listen I didn't much care for your post earlier as I thought there was absolutely no need for the ' I can't really say what I think incase I get barred ' remark , sounded abit like you were going to insult me or abuse me because I have a different opinion to yours?. Two things though 1 I don't care if you get barred or not and 2 I care even less what ya think. You were out of order . End off.
06-04-2024, 07:11 PM
I find the idea that Joe Newell has kept the manager in a job mind boggling.
He started the season well. He’s had good games at points. But it’s another failing team with Joe Newell being central to it. But he’s never the problem.
06-04-2024, 07:13 PM
Sounds very familiar
"I saw a big reaction from my team. I wanted to see a team who is fighting for this club, not thinking too much about the future. Some players showed in the past they're not ready for this fight, today I saw a team who was. We changed the shape and I changed five players."
That's from the Sheffield Wednesday manager, somebody that has improved the performances from a playing squad deemed by most fans as not good enough.
GreenGray
06-04-2024, 07:15 PM
11 points out of 36 since the winter break.
Before that was pretty bleak too, throwing leads away etc.
I just don’t think he is up to it, seems a nice enough guy but not good enough.
Kensell was walking around the directors box deep in thought after the full time whistle, not sure if he normally does that but looked strange [emoji2371]
06-04-2024, 07:17 PM
Currently 21 points behind Naismith and Hearts in his first full season as manager.
10 points behind the manager some say wasn’t right for Hibs with a smaller budget.
Behind the mighty St Mirren and Dundee too.
We are lucky Aberdeen are absolutely rotten otherwise we could be even lower down the table.
Getting top 6 on final game day before split isn’t a success.
Losing at home to St Mirren 3-0 then 2 games in a row against St Johnstone is sackable.
We struggled to beat a part time Forfar in the cup.
He had an opportunity to get us to a final too but couldn’t beat that awful Aberdeen team with 10 players. Robson since then has been sacked.
Really bad times and while I agree seems a nice guy his stubbornness with formations at the start and some dodgy team sections and subs makes me feel like we need someone new in to bring some pride and excitement back to the club.
06-04-2024, 07:20 PM
Want him gone now.
Boring.
People saying “it’s certainly not been boring under NM”, what the ****s it been then? We’ve been terrible under him
06-04-2024, 07:20 PM
Kensell was walking around the directors box deep in thought after the full time whistle, not sure if he normally does that but looked strange [emoji2371]
Be for show.
He should be out the door too
ChuckNor
06-04-2024, 07:23 PM
He has to go. Really hope the right thing is done as he is cut loose. So far out his depth. Anyone that starts Triantis over Moriah-Welsh is not capable of managing a football club.
ChuckNor
06-04-2024, 07:25 PM
Kensell will be worrying as a lot has been placed on us making Europe. If we fail (as looks likely) then this could be a big issue financially.
06-04-2024, 07:30 PM
He needs to go now in order to give a new manager time to assess the squad and a transfer window. Malky Mackay was at the game but would not have him as the main man but could be an assistant to Neil Lennon. The mentality of the team needs to change.
The structure of the club needs to be assessed as well as not a lot has changed since Jack Ross left.
The structure and the ethos of the team is a reflection of the manager and his support staff.
06-04-2024, 07:30 PM
One thing I’ll say, and I thought it at the time, is that I think this shows the formation wasn’t the big game changer that folk thought it would be. We just have too much ***** in that team. We’ve had some better performances, at times, but the outcome is still pish more often than not. We’re just incapable of defending.
Badge
06-04-2024, 07:32 PM
Listen I didn't much care for your post earlier as I thought there was absolutely no need for the ' I can't really say what I think incase I get barred ' remark , sounded abit like you were going to insult me or abuse me because I have a different opinion to yours?. Two things though 1 I don't care if you get barred or not and 2 I care even less what ya think. You were out of order . End off.
One final question if that’s ok. Are you by any chance a politician as you never seem to give a straight answer to questions put to you. If you don’t want to answer then fair enough but it might just help to understand why you supported the previous manager for as long as you did and why you are still supporting the current manager the way you are. I hope you don’t find this offensive as it’s not intended to be. I’m simply curious as to why I feel the complete opposite.
Hibees1973
06-04-2024, 07:37 PM
To be fair to him I think he meant those guys won't train with the squad next season.
Thanks for replying on my behalf.
06-04-2024, 08:16 PM
Coulda shoulda woulda
If we had won all games against the bottom three teams currently
We’d be sitting 51 points, 4th place
NM can’t beat the bread and butter teams, imo he has won any significant big game
No derby, old firm game, cup games
My faith in him is all but diminished
Derek McInnes
Been saying his name since maloney!
Time is now, NO MORE PROJECTS
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 08:35 PM
Want him gone now.
Boring.
People saying “it’s certainly not been boring under NM”, what the ****s it been then? We’ve been terrible under him
I find it hard to fathom that people aren’t just not finding this boring, but are claiming it’s been anything but boring.
That’s not meant as a dig at those posters btw. It’s a completely subjective thing. But this is absolutely atrocious stuff we’ve been served up all season imo.
I’ve never felt less enthusiastic about Hibs than I do right now, and I say that as someone who didn’t renew their season ticket this season for the first time in 20 odd years. I genuinely don’t think I’d bother going for free just now and I feel even less inclined to watch this Hibs team than I did this time last year. I’d hoped a year off would have reignited my passion for Hibs but having watched lots of the games on Hibs TV this has been as bad as any of the crap we’ve been served in years gone by.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 08:40 PM
I find it hard to fathom that people aren’t just not finding this boring, but are claiming it’s been anything but boring.
That’s not meant as a dig at those posters btw. It’s a completely subjective thing. But this is absolutely atrocious stuff we’ve been served up all season imo.
I’ve never felt less enthusiastic about Hibs than I do right now, and I say that as someone who didn’t renew their season ticket this season for the first time in 20 odd years. I genuinely don’t think I’d bother going for free just now and I feel even less inclined to watch this Hibs team than I did this time last year. I’d hoped a year off would have reignited my passion for Hibs but having watched lots of the games on Hibs TV this has been as bad as any of the crap we’ve been served in years gone by.
It’s staggering. But many are those who wanted LJ to stay too. The last 3 appointments have been disastrous and have taken us back years. To not make top 6 for the 2nd time in 3 seasons is just utterly unacceptable
06-04-2024, 08:41 PM
Of course you would watch them for free, we all would, regardless of it being a good or bad period, it's Hibs FFS!
06-04-2024, 08:43 PM
It’s staggering. But many are those who wanted LJ to stay too. The last 3 appointments have been disastrous and have taken us back years. To not make top 6 for the 2nd time in 3 seasons is just utterly unacceptable
But that is Hibs, been watching for more than 60 years and no surprised, but feel we have a chance of things changing next year with the boys from Deep Purple backing us.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 08:43 PM
Of course you would watch them for free, we all would, regardless of it being a good or bad period, it's Hibs FFS!
Currently it’s not worth the travel and time to sit and watch players and management who couldn’t give a flying one
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 08:44 PM
But that is Hibs, been watching for more than 60 years and no surprised, but feel we have a chance of things changing next year with the boys from Deep Purple backing us.
Doesn’t really make it acceptable when you are considerably outspending your competitors and finishing below them
06-04-2024, 08:47 PM
Currently it’s not worth the travel and time to sit and watch players and management who couldn’t give a flying one
I feel like most of them care. They’re just no very good.
Whatever anyones opinion on his abilities as a manager, Montgomery moved his family from the other side of the world. It might not have worked out but I don’t think it’s because he doesn’t care, doesn’t want to do well or whatever.
06-04-2024, 08:48 PM
I didn’t necessarily find that boring today and I stand by this side not being a boring team. We scored a goal, dominated possession, played on the front foot and created chances today.
Defensively we are so bad it’s criminal and totally unforgivable to still be shipping so many goals, that’s why we’re as bad as we have been this season, not because we’re a boring side.
I’ve seen plenty boring Hibs team that go games without creating anything, this isn’t a boring team imo, it’s just not a very good one.
As you say though, it’s a subjective thing, different strokes for different folks.
06-04-2024, 08:49 PM
Doesn’t really make it acceptable when you are considerably outspending your competitors and finishing below them
No one saying it is acceptable, chill as "Things can only get better"
Once the smoke on the water clears we will see this team getting better, we will have a side worth watching and going along to see them every other Saturday or whenever the T.V. schedules them to play.
Spending money is no guarantee of success though, busy look at Man U and Chelsea right now
I wanted Monty to get more time and a chance to reshape the squad in January.
Well, he's had that now and we still aren't winning nearly enough games.
At this point I'm honestly not sure I want top 6 given Europe is out of reach - I suspect we'd struggle to win a game.
My slight hesitance in sacking him stems from my complete lack of faith that we will make a right appointment.
As others have pointed out, whatever good the Gordon's have done for the club has been undone by the managers appointed to run things.
We've had 3 significant failures in a row and on the pitch where it matters, things have regressed despite all the extra revenue.
Foleys people need to be in charge of the next appointment. If not, they might as well burn the £6m as under the current structure we are not going to use it wisely.
Paulie Walnuts
06-04-2024, 08:51 PM
I’ve turned down free tickets on more than one occasion this season because I’ve more enjoyable things to be doing.
I used to deliberately try and avoid booking a weekend away on a weekend that clashed with a home game, even if it meant paying much more to go a different weekend, such was my passion for going to watch Hibs. Ive missed some big events to go to Hibs games. Now I turn down free tickets because I can’t be arsed walking 45 mins to the stadium and back and would rather go out with the dog. Nick Montgomerys Hibs side have absolutely drained any enthusiasm for Hibs I had left and I cannot wait to see the back of him.
TrinityHFC
06-04-2024, 08:53 PM
I wanted Monty to get more time and a chance to reshape the squad in January.
Well, he's had that now and we still aren't winning nearly enough games.
At this point I'm honestly not sure I want top 6 given Europe is out of reach - I suspect we'd struggle to win a game.
My slight hesitance in sacking him stems from my complete lack of faith that we will make a right appointment.
As others have pointed out, whatever good the Gordon's have done for the club has been undone by the managers appointed to run things.
We've had 3 significant failures in a row and on the pitch where it matters, things have regressed despite all the extra revenue.
Foleys people need to be in charge of the next appointment. If not, they might as well burn the £6m as under the current structure we are not going to use it wisely.
LJ wasn’t a significant failure in any way.
Trinity Hibee
06-04-2024, 08:55 PM
He was a significant failure in the first month when he didn’t get out of a piss easy league cup group. Don’t make me come round there
06-04-2024, 08:57 PM
Sorry but what?
06-04-2024, 09:03 PM
My thoughts on the manager?
I’ve been keeping my powder dry to an extent, understanding the “fine margins” nature of football and that whilst there were still realistically chances that we might sneak into the top half and finish as high as fourth then the manager probably had the right to be left alone without too much criticism to bring that about.
That performance today was utter pish. We cannot afford to take 45 minutes in a game to get going. We can’t afford to consistently defend so badly. We can’t afford to play against a Craig Levein team and look so bereft of ideas as to how to beat them. I don’t think we can afford to play such slow-paced, plodding football at home to so many crap teams and expect to win enough games.
He can beat it as far as I’m concerned, camels’ backs and all that.
I can’t say I’m that impressed that “lucky to have him” Joe Newell went missing in action again either tbh.
TrinityHFC
06-04-2024, 09:04 PM
Sorry but what?
LJ wasn’t failure as Hibs manager. We were reasonably successful in the league last year and it was largely enjoyable to watch.
I don’t really care that some people here didn’t like how he spoke. As a manager he was fine. Yes, could have been better. I haven’t seen a perfect Hibs manager yet, but he wasn’t a significant failure.
06-04-2024, 09:07 PM
Yup, can't get my head around why some fans wanted us to stick with any of them when the football and results were rank.
We need to find the right man for the job. if he's getting results, he'll get all the time in the world.
The Baldmans Comb
06-04-2024, 09:08 PM
It's staring you in the face exactly as it was with the dogmatic Yorkshire Pudding 1, then the Wide boy who treated Scottish football with utter contempt with his League Cup joke selections and now this totally beyond dour thicky whose complete rookie management template is 15 years out of date.😢.
Witness his full time stroll around the pitch today clapping his imaginary fan base and ask yourself if you are being totally and utterly played.
Not for the first time in life and it's maybe what a support base without self confidence deserve.
06-04-2024, 09:10 PM
It's staring you in the face exactly as it was with the dogmatic Yorkshire Pudding 1, then the Wide boy who treated Scottish football with utter contempt with his League Cup joke selections and now this totally beyond dour thicky whose complete rookie management template is 15 years out of date.😢.
Witness his full time stroll around the pitch today clapping his imaginary fan base and ask yourself if you are being totally and utterly played.
Not for the first time but it's maybe what a support base without self confidence deserve.
There's honestly just zero need in that first paragraph. It's absolutely fine to not like a manager and want them punted, but when you start with pish like that it makes you look like the moron, not them.
Donegal Hibby
06-04-2024, 09:10 PM
I didn’t necessarily find that boring today and I stand by this side not being a boring team. We scored a goal, dominated possession, played on the front foot and created chances today.
Defensively we are so bad it’s criminal and totally unforgivable to still be shipping so many goals, that’s why we’re as bad as we have been this season, not because we’re a boring side.
I’ve seen plenty boring Hibs team that go games without creating anything, this isn’t a boring team imo, it’s just not a very good one.
As you say though, it’s a subjective thing, different strokes for different folks.
I know stats don't win games though unbelievable today that we had 71% possession and something like 13/6 shots , 13 corners and their only 2 shots in target are goals . Is it all the defence though ? , I thought today both Marcondes and Newell were really poor . Expecting more from our captain in leadership , drive etc , only bright spark for me in midfield was NMW . Though as bad as a result as it is maybe with the possession , shots being positive if we recruit well in the summer we could turn things around next season.
jakeshibs
06-04-2024, 09:14 PM
He needs to go now in order to give a new manager time to assess the squad and a transfer window. Malky Mackay was at the game but would not have him as the main man but could be an assistant to Neil Lennon. The mentality of the team needs to change.
The structure of the club needs to be assessed as well as not a lot has changed since Jack Ross left.
The structure and the ethos of the team is a reflection of the manager and his support staff.
Neil lennon is not the answer he had us playing worse and lower in the league people seem to forget
06-04-2024, 09:14 PM
Spending money is no guarantee of success though, busy look at Man U and Chelsea right now
True but nearly every league in the world - the teams who spend more usually beat the teams who spend less.
The teams who spend more usually are much higher up the league than the others.
Hibs have been spending more than others for many years and teams with less budgets have been above us and winning trophies against us.
St Johnstone have beaten us x9 since 2016.
Hibs have beaten St Johnstone x7 since 2016.
06-04-2024, 09:17 PM
I know stats don't win games though unbelievable today that we had 71% possession and something like 13/6 shots , 13 corners and their only 2 shots in target are goals . Is it all the defence though ? , I thought today both Marcondes and Newell were really poor . Expecting more from our captain in leadership , drive etc , only bright spark for me in midfield was NMW . Though as bad as a result as it is maybe with the possession , shots being positive if we recruit well in the summer we could turn things around next season.
There was nothing unbelievable about today.
If you watch Hibs regularly you know that teams need to do very little to score against us and that we don’t win very often. That was the case, again, today. The winning goal summed up our season.
06-04-2024, 09:17 PM
Did it feel like a dominant performance though watching that. Like a Hibs team playing at their potential. The answer is a resounding No.
Little point dominating the ball if you're not going to show any intent to hurt the opposition of be direct.
Everything we done first half in the final third was taking a touch away from goal. Their keeper never had a save first half.
06-04-2024, 09:18 PM
Just after our goal ,which NMW started the play for by driving through the midfield at pace,He was trying again and Newell was gesticulating at him to pass the ball back the way to Rocky.NMW ignored him and went on but that little incident summed up for me everything that was wrong this afternoon.
06-04-2024, 09:20 PM
Not for the first time in life and it's maybe what a support base without self confidence deserve.
Awful, awful post.