View Full Version : Potential takeover/new investor?
Pages :
[
2]
monarch
01-11-2023, 03:45 PM
Regular 3rd in the league, frequent cup wins and European places are all very well but do you think he’s able to finance hot water in the toilets, or is that a stretch too far ?
01-11-2023, 03:48 PM
Maybe he did his due diligence, looked at the set-up and culture and thought, "perhaps not."
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Certainly possible and I hope so really. I don't doubt that as soon as they heard Foley's name mentioned they got on the blower to make their case for investment. Hopefully he let them have it and they learn from it but that's probably a pipe dream.
Donegal Hibby
01-11-2023, 03:54 PM
I don't want Hibs to be in a group, particularly if we're down the pecking order of it. If that's where this goes I'll feel that a lot of the club I have loved all my life has gone. Let's see what happens, I just hope it's not that.
I'm not sure about it though certainly don't want to see us become some feeder club for the likes of Bournemouth , as you say though we will just have to wait and see what happens I suppose.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/who-is-bill-foley-how-much-is-he-worth-potential-hibs-investor-is-us-billionaire-who-already-owns-epl-club-and-nhl-franchise-4393893
01-11-2023, 03:57 PM
I'm not sure about it though certainly don't want to see us become some feeder club for the likes of Bournemouth , as you say though we will just have to wait and see what happens I suppose.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/who-is-bill-foley-how-much-is-he-worth-potential-hibs-investor-is-us-billionaire-who-already-owns-epl-club-and-nhl-franchise-4393893
We don't have any players to "feed" to Bournemouth. I'd love it if we did.
01-11-2023, 04:09 PM
I’m not worried about us being a feeder club. Any decent player for us generally goes west or down south so it doesn’t really change the current landscape. If it means we have better quality players then great. Yeah we might not get as much for player sales but if we’re financially sound and we’ll backed then that doesn’t matter as much.
Bridge hibs
01-11-2023, 04:21 PM
If plans are to compete at the top end of the league, have consistent cup runs and qualifying for europe we would still need a core group of players which would be supplemented by loans I assume, having fire sales every season wont achieve that I doubt and we dont want to keep rebuilding every season
Every club sells though and whether its to Bournemouth, Birmingham, Brest or Boston United if the price is right then we will most likely sell
Unsure though what the plans are if this ever gets going but will be interesting none the less
Wonder how far down the line we are as according to Sky Sports this morning they have said preliminary talks have taken place
Hibs4185
01-11-2023, 04:26 PM
£2 million into a basket case club isn’t going to change the picture massively. Look at the Millions pumped into hearts.
£2 million invested into a club with the right infrastructure and correct personnel can have a massive impact.
£4 million each year from group stages of European conference league and you can see why investing relatively small sums for these guys makes sense, especially clubs like Hibs with BM, BK, IG and the hospitality, pitch upgrades etc.
Stairway 2 7
01-11-2023, 04:27 PM
Jeez some CV attorney who specialised in financial services, making multi million defence contracts, buying an insurance firm and making over a billion, buying Las Vegas NHL team saying he'll win the Stanley Cup in 6 but winning it in 3
You've got to have confidence he'll have done the financial due diligence. When he's saying he can put in the finance to become 3rd regularly, perhaps he can
RMQ1967
01-11-2023, 04:57 PM
Totally agree, soulless nonsense - and would be a real turn off from the club IMO. Hibs are currently (in my eyes anyway) one of the last bastions of the traditional game, as are most Scottish clubs - the EPL / Champions League / City Group etc are just a truly awful concept, all geared towards making rich guys richer.
Let's hope and pray this doesn't come to fruition
I honestly don't get this outlook. You're saying the pleasure of watching a team who can compete on a similar financial footing to its rivals and potentially win more games that it loses for a change and maybe win more than one trophy every 20 years or so would be a turn off?
This is the kind of stuff that makes me happy that businessmen & not fans run football clubs.
Businesses that don't move with the times die or are dying - I for one hope to see a few years of decent success before I pop off and I care not a jot where the money comes from to achieve that (within reason).
Exuberance1875
01-11-2023, 05:01 PM
Any new investor needs to help try and get Ben Kensell out of this club ASAP. He’s a big part of any problems we have had recently.
01-11-2023, 05:04 PM
Any new investor needs to help try and get Ben Kensell out of this club ASAP. He’s a big part of any problems we have had recently.
COSTA at Meadowbank will close if he goes.
01-11-2023, 05:05 PM
In what way?
01-11-2023, 05:11 PM
I’ll not be happy until we have a
Helipad
Sign Shankland - could land helicopters on that heid.
He’s not perfect but his ability to bring in sponsors is impressive.
What problems are these!
01-11-2023, 05:26 PM
Can you give some examples of the problems as it's easy to make a sweeping statement.
Devonhibs
01-11-2023, 05:38 PM
Regular 3rd in the league, frequent cup wins and European places are all very well but do you think he’s able to finance hot water in the toilets, or is that a stretch too far ? I love a good hot water discussion :greengrin
Ship of Hope
01-11-2023, 05:39 PM
Imagine the shoe was on the other foot and this guy was going to bank roll hearts.. I would consider that a worrying prospect.. having them potentially leave us behind and hump us every time we played Would certainly be a turn off! If a team in the league are going to get invested in with the initial aim of finishing 3rd consistently I would rather it be us than one of our rivals. Seems like a risk worth taking and not sure how it equates to a loss of identity as some seem to be suggesting. We are already a feeder club and without investment that is only going to become worse over time.
I have no interest in fan ownership of hibs. Whilst we all love the club most have not got a clue how to run a big business. I am all for a successful businessman to come in, invest cash, but almost more importantly expertise from his business empire to help us develop as a club. Being part of a group I see as more of an opportunity than a threat. Hope this happens.. better to be at the forefront of change rather than playing catchup imo.
01-11-2023, 05:47 PM
I'm amazed that potentially brilliant news for the Club and its supporters has been met with a degree of suspicion by some.
Personally - I'm all for it and the quicker the investment becomes a reality then all the better.
I speak as a small shareholder outwith HSL who is old enough to remember the grim days of the Duff/Gray era but things have moved on since then as stringent Financial proprietary checks and procedures are now in place to ensure the suitability of any potential investors.
01-11-2023, 05:55 PM
Regular 3rd in the league, frequent cup wins and European places are all very well but do you think he’s able to finance hot water in the toilets, or is that a stretch too far ?
That's the trouble with some fans; want want want........
01-11-2023, 05:56 PM
Can you give some examples of the problems as it's easy to make a sweeping statement.
I'll go out on a limb here and predict that he can't.
01-11-2023, 06:01 PM
Hes probably a big part of a new investor potentially bringing ££millions to Hibs...........
01-11-2023, 06:18 PM
The new guy,if he invests, is not here to give folk their jotters !
Ben has been running all over the shop with Ian to get this done(if it happens)
Who do you have in mind for a replacement:greengrin
01-11-2023, 06:19 PM
Hes probably a big part of a new investor potentially bringing ££millions to Hibs...........
Exactly that.
We need to hide those pitchforks and torches in a better place.
Some folk just see Ben when he is unwinding socialising at the ground and in town bars and think.
"i dont like this guy, he is enjoying himself to much"
Maybe he wants to appoint a Jesuit Priest to be our next CEO:greengrin
01-11-2023, 06:21 PM
I'm amazed that potentially brilliant news for the Club and its supporters has been met with a degree of suspicion by some.
Personally - I'm all for it and the quicker the investment becomes a reality then all the better.
I speak as a small shareholder outwith HSL who is old enough to remember the grim days of the Duff/Gray era but things have moved on since then as stringent Financial proprietary checks and procedures are now in place to ensure the suitability of any potential investors.
Not sure if that is tongue and cheek. I think The Rangers Story says there is plenty chance an investor or owner can be a crook and we have two very bad experiences of takeovers/attempted takeovers in living memory. We also have a couple of takeovers that have been very good for the club. I don't understand what is in it for the investor so that makes me a bit sceptical. As they say if it sounds too good to be true
andrew70
01-11-2023, 06:26 PM
Why? Big part of how well the club is doing off the field and the moves forward on the park including a better coach.
01-11-2023, 06:31 PM
Not sure if that is tongue and cheek. I think The Rangers Story says there is plenty chance an investor or owner can be a crook and we have two very bad experiences of takeovers/attempted takeovers in living memory. We also have a couple of takeovers that have been very good for the club. I don't understand what is in it for the investor so that makes me a bit sceptical. As they say if it sounds too good to be true
What was in it for the Gordon's?
You seem to indicate you've been happy with their takeover but using your logic there was no reason for an American family with zero experience in football clubs buying us.
Foley has much bigger wealth than Ron Gordon did and has a lot more experience in running sports clubs (including a British football club).
01-11-2023, 06:38 PM
Isn't it obvious that this guy's intention is to invest in a Club where for a relatively small stake he/his company/sponsors can have access to European football every season - with the additional advertising exposure this brings in?
Unless he pumps many hundreds of millions into Bournemouth, Lorient etc this isn't a viable option.
Donegal Hibby
01-11-2023, 06:39 PM
We don't have any players to "feed" to Bournemouth. I'd love it if we did.
Probably not and know what you mean by you'd love it if we did though just doesn't sit right with me in us becoming just another feeder club for Bournemouth tbh . Hate seeing wealthier / bigger clubs buying stakes or taking over other clubs .
To me they lose something about there own identity in so and our own club has such a great history and tradition that it would really sadden me if this happens.
If this happens it will open the door for every club in Scotland ( bar the OF ) to be either bought into or taken over and Scottish football will basically be like a English football reserve League which I think is a horrible thought! .
I don't think my opinion matters much on this as most on here seem to be keen and excited by the prospect of all the riches it might bring to the club . I keep thinking on that phrase " Beware those bearing gifts " though for some reason .
Sorry but that's the way I feel . Heres what's been said on it from the other side btw 👍.
https://bournemouth-forum.vitalfootball.co.uk/threads/hibernian.18277/
01-11-2023, 06:43 PM
Probably not and know what you mean by you'd love it if we did though just doesn't sit right with me in us becoming just another feeder club for Bournemouth tbh . Hate seeing wealthier / bigger clubs buying stakes or taking over other clubs .
To me they lose something about there own identity in so and our own club has such a great history and tradition that it would really sadden me if this happens.
If this happens it will open the door for every club in Scotland ( bar the OF ) to be either bought into or taken over and Scottish football will basically be like a English football reserve League which I think is a horrible thought! .
I don't think my opinion matters much on this as most on here seem to be keen and excited by the prospect of all the riches it might bring to the club . I keep thinking on that phrase " Beware those bearing gifts " though for some reason .
Sorry but that's the way I feel . Heres what's been said on it from the other side btw 👍.
https://bournemouth-forum.vitalfootball.co.uk/threads/hibernian.18277/
Hibs have been a feeder club all its existence. It will continue to be long after you or I are long gone and also long after this investment and direction have been and gone.
HibeeSince85
01-11-2023, 07:22 PM
Imagine the shoe was on the other foot and this guy was going to bank roll hearts.. I would consider that a worrying prospect.. having them potentially leave us behind and hump us every time we played Would certainly be a turn off! If a team in the league are going to get invested in with the initial aim of finishing 3rd consistently I would rather it be us than one of our rivals. Seems like a risk worth taking and not sure how it equates to a loss of identity as some seem to be suggesting. We are already a feeder club and without investment that is only going to become worse over time.
I have no interest in fan ownership of hibs. Whilst we all love the club most have not got a clue how to run a big business. I am all for a successful businessman to come in, invest cash, but almost more importantly expertise from his business empire to help us develop as a club. Being part of a group I see as more of an opportunity than a threat. Hope this happens.. better to be at the forefront of change rather than playing catchup imo.
Agree 100%
If the aim is to invest enough cash, time and expertise to establish us as the third best team in the country over the next five to ten years then I'm all for it, someone out with the uglies was going to get their chance. Damn right I want that to be Hibs
Donegal Hibby
01-11-2023, 07:24 PM
Hibs have been a feeder club all its existence. It will continue to be long after you or I are long gone and also long after this investment and direction have been and gone.
I never actually looked on us that way tbh , yes we have produced / developed players over the years and sold them on to other clubs though can't really remember a owner of another club owning shares in hibs and us being tied in with them . We will just need to wait and see what happens though I won't be disappointed if nothing does ! .
monarch
01-11-2023, 07:30 PM
I’m not worried about us being a feeder club. Any decent player for us generally goes west or down south so it doesn’t really change the current landscape. If it means we have better quality players then great. Yeah we might not get as much for player sales but if we’re financially sound and we’ll backed then that doesn’t matter as much.
Agreed. You could say that during the last two years we’ve been the equivalent to a feeder club for Verona, Al Faisaly, Watford and Millwall. It’s the same scenario, our saleable assets moved away.
01-11-2023, 07:30 PM
Agree 100%
If the aim is to invest enough cash, time and expertise to establish us as the third best team in the country over the next five to ten years then I'm all for it, someone out with the uglies was going to get their chance. Damn right I want that to be Hibs
This for me aswell
01-11-2023, 07:40 PM
For years we have been waiting (or at least I have been waiting) on a white knight to rescue us after the clown from Ballie Gifford started pumping cash into the manky ones from gorgie. Now he has arrived thank ****** for the Yankee Dollar.
Bring it on, this is the way ahead. The highlighted bit above is perhaps why non of us (that I know) are multi-Billionaires.
Donegal Hibby
01-11-2023, 07:50 PM
Article here that i think is quite good and especially for anyone that has doubts about this .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/exclusive-leading-football-finance-expert-runs-rule-over-foleys-hibs-bid-4393892
01-11-2023, 07:50 PM
For years we have been waiting (or at least I have been waiting) on a white knight to rescue us after the clown from Ballie Gifford started pumping cash into the manky ones from gorgie. Now he has arrived thank ****** for the Yankee Dollar.
Bring it on, this is the way ahead. The highlighted bit above is perhaps why non of us (that I know) are multi-Billionaires.
He is getting the band back too :violin::rockin::partyhibb:singing::music::singing :
:woohoo::woohoo:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVCSxXLIvtQ
01-11-2023, 07:53 PM
Article here that i think is quite good and especially for anyone that has doubts about this .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/exclusive-leading-football-finance-expert-runs-rule-over-foleys-hibs-bid-4393892
There's no detail of the deal. Just speculation, as it is on this forum.
01-11-2023, 07:54 PM
As long as we don't hit the Skids when we are Working for the Yankee Dollar.....
01-11-2023, 07:56 PM
He is getting the band back too :violin::rockin::partyhibb:singing::music::singing :
:woohoo::woohoo:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVCSxXLIvtQ
Ha,ha I wondered who would catch on Mick, no smoke on the water here.
Loadsa money lots of dollars whats not to like.
01-11-2023, 07:57 PM
I never actually looked on us that way tbh , yes we have produced / developed players over the years and sold them on to other clubs though can't really remember a owner of another club owning shares in hibs and us being tied in with them . We will just need to wait and see what happens though I won't be disappointed if nothing does ! .
Thing is, if these players just went to Bournemouth but we got old money transfer cash from the investment, would it matter anyway? Especially if we cement third and are in Europe every year and win some cups.
I’d take that.
01-11-2023, 08:03 PM
Interesting, thanks for posting.
I think any scepticism is understandable until we get more details but I’m really excited about it.
01-11-2023, 08:05 PM
What was in it for the Gordon's?
You seem to indicate you've been happy with their takeover but using your logic there was no reason for an American family with zero experience in football clubs buying us.
Foley has much bigger wealth than Ron Gordon did and has a lot more experience in running sports clubs (including a British football club).
They had majority ownership so it is slightly different to a minority shareholding. I think Ron did a good job of explaining his purchase and because it was done with Farmer making sure it was a good move it didn't feel like there was much risk. I'm not against money coming in and I trust the Gordons so I dare say if they think it is a good move then it should be to the benefit of the club. That doesn't stop me not quite getting how it would all work and what benefit there is to the investor for the money they put in.
01-11-2023, 08:09 PM
As long as we don't hit the Skids when we are Working for the Yankee Dollar.....
And that Foley is not playing Circus Games with our club
01-11-2023, 08:17 PM
He’s not perfect but his ability to bring in sponsors is impressive.
What problems are these!
Managerial appointments and player recruitment spring to mind!
We've maybe got a good one this time, and maybe we'll see far better signings in future, but BK played a big part in the past. You must remember the threads discussing it?
It's only recently that things have quietened down about him. Plenty of us will be happier when he's gone.
Managerial appointments and player recruitment spring to mind!
We've maybe got a good one this time, and maybe we'll see far better signings in future, but BK played a big part in the past. You must remember the threads discussing it?
It's only recently that things have quietened down about him. Plenty of us will be happier when he's gone.
I did indeed however his ability to attract a sponsor or 5 is pretty decent.
Lester B
01-11-2023, 08:43 PM
This really has to be the ultimate archetypal thread on here. Nothing has actually happened yet beyond some initial reports/rumours and we've got it all. It's the best news ever and the worst news ever. We're worried it's apparently happening to us and relieved it's not happening to the teams who are our rivals. We're taking a big step up and we are losing our soul. The shoe horning in of hatred for Ben Kensell and defence of what he's done so far. The inability to realise that the plural of Gordon is Gordons not Gordon's and people who think aswell is a word.
I'm going to the kitchen to get some popcorn. Anybody want some?
01-11-2023, 08:45 PM
This really has to be the ultimate archetypal thread on here. Nothing has actually happened yet beyond some initial reports/rumours and we've got it all. It's the best news ever and the worst news ever. We're worried it's apparently happening to us and relieved it's not happening to the teams who are our rivals. We're taking a big step up and we are losing our soul. The shoe horning in of hatred for Ben Kensell and defence of what he's done so far. The inability to realise that the plural of Gordon is Gordons not Gordon's and people who think aswell is a word.
It's probably not even Hibs! :rolleyes:
Bridge hibs
01-11-2023, 08:46 PM
Aye get me some aswell
Lester B
01-11-2023, 08:55 PM
Aye get me some aswell
:stirrer::faf:
Lester B
01-11-2023, 08:57 PM
It's probably not even Hibs! :rolleyes:
:greengrin Yep I've seen Succession too!
If we are to go up level then I think something like this is how it will happen and a self-made man like Bill Foley as the billionaire investor is a lot more palatable than many of the alternatives.
The Charity Club's donors are worried about this. Budge's team of chuggers will look to capitalise and get at least an extra fiver a week out of the donors.
01-11-2023, 08:59 PM
:greengrin Yep I've seen Succession too!
01-11-2023, 09:40 PM
I did indeed however his ability to attract a sponsor or 5 is pretty decent.
That's fair, but initially we had that marketing guy from the R&A come in and sort out the commercial side of things.
I think his whole remit was getting better sponsorship deals. Most seem to have gone well other than the non-fungible tokens malarkey!
FRes Hibbie
01-11-2023, 09:49 PM
Porty versus Bournemouth beach volleyball preseason or I’m not interested.
01-11-2023, 10:15 PM
I expect the kiosks will be sorted with this. Training provided for the staff, all the important stuff.
Bought a tea, showed my ST for the discount and was charged 20pence more.
Sighed and tapped my card, some things aren’t worth it, but thought this would make excellent reading on .net
01-11-2023, 10:25 PM
I’m quite enthused about the possibility of a rich investor coming on board.
Pretty sure that if we don’t embrace such opportunities, then any potential investor one day will just throw his/her lot in with one of our rivals.
Understand too, the concerns of those who think…’what’s in it for them.
Foley’s consortium..Black Knight Sports have recently been named as the preferred licensee for a planned new Auckland club which will play in the Australian A League, and I asked myself the same question about that one.
Whatever the strategy, it seems it will involve many clubs on a world wide basis given the chance.
01-11-2023, 10:40 PM
These chains of clubs are just crap.
It’s only one of many reasons why I’m rapidly falling out of love with football.
There will be glamorous marketing and the usual razzmatazz but we’re becoming a feeder club for ******* Bournemouth and that’s a depressing thought, even if it makes the absolute pumpings we take off the Glasgow clubs a bit less severe.
01-11-2023, 10:43 PM
Got a feeling he will eventually buy us once the sfa rules are relaxed.
02-11-2023, 12:23 AM
It’s only one of many reasons why I’m rapidly falling out of love with football.
There will be glamorous marketing and the usual razzmatazz but we’re becoming a feeder club for ******* Bournemouth and that’s a depressing thought, even if it makes the absolute pumpings we take off the Glasgow clubs a bit less severe.
Better than being a feeder club for Rantic, no?
That's fair, but initially we had that marketing guy from the R&A come in and sort out the commercial side of things.
I think his whole remit was getting better sponsorship deals. Most seem to have gone well other than the non-fungible tokens malarkey!
Probably identified by BK and the Gordon’s. He has his faults but so have other CEO’s.
I get BK is not everyone’s cup of tea and I’m not one to start an argument over it but he’s obviously good at this sort of thing so credit where it’s due.
Yeah he needs to learn to keep it shut when speaking with fans but he needs to feed his ego. [emoji12]
02-11-2023, 06:30 AM
Probably identified by BK and the Gordon’s. He has his faults but so have other CEO’s.
I get BK is not everyone’s cup of tea and I’m not one to start an argument over it but he’s obviously good at this sort of thing so credit where it’s due.
Yeah he needs to learn to keep it shut when speaking with fans but he needs to feed his ego. [emoji12]
BK shooting his mouth off used to really annoy me. But in his defence, he never lies and the stuff he's telling folk 9 times out of 10 happens. So at least he's not just talking *****.
02-11-2023, 06:39 AM
You must have flipped your lid when we introduced purple strips, floodlights and gave the world our planet Saturn badge. This - if it ever happens - is just the latest in the story of the club.
02-11-2023, 07:03 AM
Better than being a feeder club for Rantic, no?
That will come next no doubt.
UEFA will contort themselves to find absolutely no issue with one owner owning multiple clubs within the same league.
What’s the issue eh? Will be just like Saudi Arabia, where the state bought 4 clubs and randomly assigned players to them.
02-11-2023, 07:18 AM
I'm going to remain sceptical.
I just don't buy into this idea that American billionaires are buying into football clubs in Europe and elsewhere because of some deep rooted love of the game because, to put it bluntly, they are not. I've linked to an article below that explains it more eloquently than I ever can but it's motivated by a belief that football is grossly undervalued worldwide and is not bound by the same central restrictions as the likes of the NFL in the US when it comes to exploiting commercial opportunities. Of course making money is far easier if the product on the park is successful but how vital are Girona to that for the City Group? With BlueCo owning Chelsea, Strasbourg and imminently Sporting CP where would a Scottish club sit in the pecking order? And indeed where do and will Hibs sit in Foley's portfolio with Bournemouth on the books and a side in New Zealand set to to join them? I'd be surprised if he stopped there.
Multi club ownership is the way the game is going and we are going to go from an insignificant independent mechanism in the global machine to an insignificant link in a chain that makes up that entirety. I suppose it depends which one of those you believe leaves us most vulnerable. We've all see it before both at Hibs and at other clubs in Scotland; rich men promising the earth and in the case of the Rowlands, Romanovs, Marrs, Boyles, Murrays and a host of others you are more often than not left high and dry, whether immediately or over the longer term.
There is **** all we can do about it so we'll just have to roll with it and pray we are one of the lucky ones. Time will tell.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2023/aug/30/chelsea-owners-may-see-clubs-own-fans-as-obstacles-in-violent-new-world
Donegal Hibby
02-11-2023, 07:18 AM
Very much how I feel about it . Don't want to see Hibs become anyone's feeder club . We never have been and never should be . It would be a sad day if our club with it's history and tradition become one too especially to the likes of Bournemouth.
02-11-2023, 07:21 AM
Very much how I feel about it . Don't want to see Hibs become anyone's feeder club . We never have been and never should be . It would be a sad day if our club with it's history and tradition become one too especially to the likes of Bournemouth.
Whether we like it or not, Bournemouth are at the top table and we are not.
This isn't the 1950s anymore and we are currently languishing in 7th place in the Scottish Premiership, a league we cannot win.
BK shooting his mouth off used to really annoy me. But in his defence, he never lies and the stuff he's telling folk 9 times out of 10 happens. So at least he's not just talking *****.
You are right there I suppose.
02-11-2023, 07:47 AM
Fair enough but **** and Celtic sign many of their players on frees. Do we reckon Rangers pay 20k per week to anyone , Celtic might for few but I’d guess most of there wages are 10-15k
No way of knowing for sure but if you looking at both clubs revenue, turnover and staff costs in published accounts for recent years then both of them can afford to give a fair few players far more than 15k per week.
The new football manager has most of Celtics starting XI on 20k, with senior star players like McGregor closer to 40k
Donegal Hibby
02-11-2023, 07:47 AM
Whether we like it or not, Bournemouth are at the top table and we are not.
This isn't the 1950s anymore and we are currently languishing in 7th place in the Scottish Premiership, a league we cannot win.
Mighten be at the top table for long . Personally I hope they get relegated now ! .
We aren't going to win the league even if we become Bournemouths feeder club either .
We are 7th though still a good chance of qualifying for Europe and in a cup semi final with a chance there too .
I've defended both Hibs and Scottish football for year's here when a narrow minded view of both our club and league is referred to as being s*** by folk supporting English clubs. I won't really be able to defend Hibs when they start being referred to as Bournemouths b***h if this happens ! . We are better than that or should be imo .
02-11-2023, 08:00 AM
Mighten be at the top table for long . Personally I hope they get relegated now ! .
We aren't going to win the league even if we become Bournemouths feeder club either .
We are 7th though still a good chance of qualifying for Europe and in a cup semi final with a chance there too .
I've defended both Hibs and Scottish football for year's here when a narrow minded view of both our club and league is referred to as being s*** by folk supporting English clubs. I won't really be able to defend Hibs when they start being referred to as Bournemouths b***h if this happens ! . We are better than that or should be imo .
They're investing in Hibs whether you like it or not sadly. Hoping they get relegated when that happens is a bit bizarre.
I didn't suggest we could win the league, I just pointed out that we're in a ***** state of affairs at the moment. We're in a Semi-Final aye that's great if we win it and then get pumped off Rangers in the final because our players aren't good enough to compete over 90 minutes as it stands - hooray.
Being narrow minded, as you put it, is thinking that Hibs are some sort of last bastion of "real fitbaw". We moan about big screens, we moan about hospitality upgrades and now we're moaning about extra investment in case we lose Jimmy Jeggo and others to Bournemouth on the off chance we get into Europe regularly.
If we don't get with the times, others will and we will be sitting in the bottom six consistently wondering what could have been whilst crowd numbers dwindle and Dundee Utd or Aberdeen are battering us home and away inbetween regular trips to Europe.
Lester B
02-11-2023, 08:04 AM
:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall
Mcbizz1998
02-11-2023, 08:26 AM
Are some on here honestly saying that they wouldn’t want us to become the established 3rd force in Scotland, playing in group stage European football every season, winning a cup every few years and starting to finally dominate the Edinburgh Derby - because we might be seen as a “feeder club” for an English premiership club?
We would rather stay as we are, financially behind Hearts due to their benefactor/FoH and fighting it out in the top 6 every season, but not significantly better than most of the league (much worse than some)?
Nah, show me the money!!
02-11-2023, 08:28 AM
They're investing in Hibs whether you like it or not sadly. Hoping they get relegated when that happens is a bit bizarre.
I didn't suggest we could win the league, I just pointed out that we're in a ***** state of affairs at the moment. We're in a Semi-Final aye that's great if we win it and then get pumped off Rangers in the final because our players aren't good enough to compete over 90 minutes as it stands - hooray.
Being narrow minded, as you put it, is thinking that Hibs are some sort of last bastion of "real fitbaw". We moan about big screens, we moan about hospitality upgrades and now we're moaning about extra investment in case we lose Jimmy Jeggo and others to Bournemouth on the off chance we get into Europe regularly.
If we don't get with the times, others will and we will be sitting in the bottom six consistently wondering what could have been whilst crowd numbers dwindle and Dundee Utd or Aberdeen are battering us home and away inbetween regular trips to Europe.
Brilliant, totally agree.
I just want Hibs to be good. I think the current owners are the same and if this billionaire comes in thinking he can make us 3rd regularly then I think he wants us to be good too.
The rest is just background noise really.
Paulie Walnuts
02-11-2023, 08:28 AM
Are some on here honestly saying that they wouldn’t want us to become the established 3rd force in Scotland, playing in group stage European football every season, winning a cup every few years and starting to finally dominate the Edinburgh Derby - because we might be seen as a “feeder club” for an English premiership club?
We would rather stay as we are, financially behind Hearts due to their benefactor and fighting it out in the top 6 every season, but not significantly better than most of the league (much worse than some)?
Nah, show me the money!!
I’m rapidly losing interest in Scottish football anyway, so something that could reignite that is more than welcome.
Having realistically little chance of winning anything ever and then on top of that knowing we’re likely to punch below our weight is pish.
02-11-2023, 08:39 AM
We would rather stay as we are, financially behind Hearts due to their benefactor/FoH and fighting it out in the top 6 every season, but not significantly better than most of the league (much worse than some)?
Nah, show me the money!!
Yip, i'm 64 in January, 10-15 years of a better Hibs actually winning more games with better players will see me leave this earth a happy man.
Surely that's not too much to ask for. :greengrin
02-11-2023, 08:40 AM
I’m rapidly losing interest in Scottish football anyway, so something that could reignite that is more than welcome.
Having realistically little chance of winning anything ever and then on top of that knowing we’re likely to punch below our weight is pish.
This is the crux of it for me. Scottish football crowd numbers are really good, and they are on an upward trend, but I'm not sure how long that will last before the young lads start feeling the apathy that many of us do. We need Hibs to evolve beyond what we are currently, as it's not going to get any easier to compete in this league or in Europe.
NGoloGrantie
02-11-2023, 08:41 AM
Nah, show me the money!!
Agreed. Look at Brighton and Union St Gillioise. They became Brighton’s “feeder club” yet now they are fighting for league titles, got champions league qualifiers and have had two seasons back to back in europa league group stages, making the quarterfinals last year. Whilst Brighton benefit from the odd top quality player like Mitoma. Win/win for both clubs.
I believe if it is done correctly, like the Brighton example, there is potential for some serious success.
02-11-2023, 08:46 AM
Our History very much shows we are and have always been a feeder club for Celtic and Rangers without the benefit of them helping us get good young players in the first place. Our History shows that we have always been innovators. Our history (last 50 years) shows us that we are incapable of regularly coming 3rd in our league. Our history shows that when we have a good product on the park, the numbers of fans we have improves and the enjoyment they get improves.
We need to find a way of consistently being able to afford and attract better players. To me, this looks like it may be a way to do that. Whatever happens I will always support Hibs.
02-11-2023, 08:46 AM
I expect the kiosks will be sorted with this. Training provided for the staff, all the important stuff.
Bought a tea, showed my ST for the discount and was charged 20pence more.
Sighed and tapped my card, some things aren’t worth it, but thought this would make excellent reading on .net
You're lucky! I was enjoying my cup of tea at the back of the main stand when a clump of pigeon feathers fell in it from above. Where are these f....g falcons.
02-11-2023, 08:47 AM
Yip, i'm 64 in January, 10-15 years of a better Hibs actually winning more games with better players will see me leave this earth a happy man.
I’ve just turned 74 ! I’ll settle for that as well. :thumbsup:
02-11-2023, 08:51 AM
02-11-2023, 08:52 AM
Nah, show me the money!!
Is there any guarantee we become the established 3rd force?
It seems generally accepted that this multi club ownership is the way the game is going so what happens when Aberdeen and Dundee United get added to their respective billionaire owners portfolio? And when you look at a historically big club like Sporting all set to become part of a football conglomerate then it stands to reason that Celtic and Rangers will both be attractive prospects to people with such plans as well. Ultimately if the game shifts en masses to these kind of set ups then a new pecking order emerges, same as there has always been, and it's really hard to envisage Hibs being much higher up it than we are now. These groups will have their flagship clubs and the rest will be vehicles to facilitate them. Ultimately the City Group don't care if Montevideo City are successful or not, they are a tiny cog in the system that powers a far bigger machine.
All the stuff about guaranteed 3rd and so on seems based on a belief that we will be the only club subject to and interested in such investment which given events of the last few years seems optimistic at best and deluded at worst.
In saying all that, and as I said above, we have little choice but to go along with it because others definitely will and we'll be locked out the battle for 3rd place rather than supposedly guaranteed it.
scm70nyd1973
02-11-2023, 08:55 AM
I’m 60 so not that many seasons left so this is where I am now - SC in 2016 was what I was desperate for - now I just want to be entertained- Tuesday wasn’t really what I want ☹️
Chorley Hibee
02-11-2023, 08:55 AM
I'm going to remain sceptical.
I just don't buy into this idea that American billionaires are buying into football clubs in Europe and elsewhere because of some deep rooted love of the game because, to put it bluntly, they are not. I've linked to an article below that explains it more eloquently than I ever can but it's motivated by a belief that football is grossly undervalued worldwide and is not bound by the same central restrictions as the likes of the NFL in the US when it comes to exploiting commercial opportunities. Of course making money is far easier if the product on the park is successful but how vital are Girona to that for the City Group? With BlueCo owning Chelsea, Strasbourg and imminently Sporting CP where would a Scottish club sit in the pecking order? And indeed where do and will Hibs sit in Foley's portfolio with Bournemouth on the books and a side in New Zealand set to to join them? I'd be surprised if he stopped there.
Multi club ownership is the way the game is going and we are going to go from an insignificant independent mechanism in the global machine to an insignificant link in a chain that makes up that entirety. I suppose it depends which one of those you believe leaves us most vulnerable. We've all see it before both at Hibs and at other clubs in Scotland; rich men promising the earth and in the case of the Rowlands, Romanovs, Marrs, Boyles, Murrays and a host of others you are more often than not left high and dry, whether immediately or over the longer term.
There is **** all we can do about it so we'll just have to roll with it and pray we are one of the lucky ones. Time will tell.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2023/aug/30/chelsea-owners-may-see-clubs-own-fans-as-obstacles-in-violent-new-world
I agree with much of what you say, they're not too distant from my own views, but I just feel that we're pissing in the wind (so to speak) against the trajectory that modern football is going in.
Ultimately, a more successful Hibs brings in more money, bigger crowds and, potentially, further investment.
I'm just going to have to hold my nose and accept it, because we'll be left behind otherwise.
Being part of the City Group hasn't done Girona much harm either. They're currently joint top of La Liga.
Paulie Walnuts
02-11-2023, 08:58 AM
This is the crux of it for me. Scottish football crowd numbers are really good, and they are on an upward trend, but I'm not sure how long that will last before the young lads start feeling the apathy that many of us do. We need Hibs to evolve beyond what we are currently, as it's not going to get any easier to compete in this league or in Europe.
I know from my point of view, I’ve had a season ticket since I was 7, so for pretty much as long as I can remember, but I didn’t renew this year. Been to quite a few games regardless but to be totally honest, I don’t miss it at all and at this point in time I don’t see anything about Hibs or Scottish football that makes me want to get another one next season.
The potential to be best of the rest and have a real good side would likely change that. Plodding along as we (and the rest of the league) are, won’t.
Posh Swanny
02-11-2023, 09:01 AM
Don't panic - classic Trojan horse tactics here from this Foley fella. He's already realised the folly of trying to do anything in England with a club like Bournemouth. We'll soon see the likes of Dom Solanke, Philip Billing and Ryan Christie will be sent North to bolster Hibs' 2025 title challenge. Obviously he'll have to sign Jimmy Jeggo and Josh Campbell for Bournemouth in a £27 million double swoop to bolster our FFP credentials for the 25/26 Champions League tilt, but we can probably live with that.
Chorley Hibee
02-11-2023, 09:04 AM
I know from my point of view, I’ve had a season ticket since I was 7, so for pretty much as long as I can remember, but I didn’t renew this year. Been to quite a few games regardless but to be totally honest, I don’t miss it at all and at this point in time I don’t see anything about Hibs or Scottish football that makes me want to get another one next season.
The potential to be best of the rest and have a real good side would likely change that. Plodding along as we (and the rest of the league) are, won’t.
Same reason I didn't renew this season.
Stupidly, I still find myself there almost every week, but I'm finding it easier to miss games I wouldn't previously have done.
02-11-2023, 09:04 AM
Some key questions for me about this Foley character.
1) Does he own his own submarine?
2) Has he ever been called a glib and shameless liar by a judge?
3) Has he off the radar wealth?
4) Does he own a range of russian hats?
5) Does he own a big plastic cow that supporters can pop their donations/giro's into?
6) Is his surname Glazer?
7) Has he ever run a Ponzi scheme?
8) Does he find Ronnie Corbett funny?
9) Has he ever built a stairway to nowhere and/or forgotten to order any seats?
10) Is he Rod Petrie's long lost American cousin who just loves soccerball?
If the answer to all of the above is no, then bring it on 😁
5) Does he own a big plastic cow that supporters can pop their donations/giro's into?
If the answer to all of the above is no, then bring it on [emoji16]
You forgot a few questions IG
11) do you own or like cardigans and/or corduroy trousers
12) do you like Rover Motor cars
I know there are loads to ask but I think these are also pertinent
Mcbizz1998
02-11-2023, 09:16 AM
It seems generally accepted that this multi club ownership is the way the game is going so what happens when Aberdeen and Dundee United get added to their respective billionaire owners portfolio? And when you look at a historically big club like Sporting all set to become part of a football conglomerate then it stands to reason that Celtic and Rangers will both be attractive prospects to people with such plans as well. Ultimately if the game shifts en masses to these kind of set ups then a new pecking order emerges, same as there has always been, and it's really hard to envisage Hibs being much higher up it than we are now. These groups will have their flagship clubs and the rest will be vehicles to facilitate them. Ultimately the City Group don't care if Montevideo City are successful or not, they are a tiny cog in the system that powers a far bigger machine.
All the stuff about guaranteed 3rd and so on seems based on a belief that we will be the only club subject to and interested in such investment which given events of the last few years seems optimistic at best and deluded at worst.
In saying all that, and as I said above, we have little choice but to go along with it because others definitely will and we'll be locked out the battle for 3rd place rather than supposedly guaranteed it.
No guarantee, I was questioning if people wanted us to pass up the chance to be 3rd force as we will be seen as a feeder club?
02-11-2023, 09:17 AM
Agreed. Look at Brighton and Union St Gillioise. They became Brighton’s “feeder club” yet now they are fighting for league titles, got champions league qualifiers and have had two seasons back to back in europa league group stages, making the quarterfinals last year. Whilst Brighton benefit from the odd top quality player like Mitoma. Win/win for both clubs.
I believe if it is done correctly, like the Brighton example, there is potential for some serious success.
We really should get a link-up with Brighton going.
02-11-2023, 09:22 AM
Fair enough but **** and Celtic sign many of their players on frees. Do we reckon Rangers pay 20k per week to anyone , Celtic might for few but I’d guess most of there wages are 10-15k
I'm absolutely certain they do. That works out at £1m a year. They turned over near £90m last year.
02-11-2023, 09:23 AM
We really should get a link-up with Brighton going.
May 2021
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-confirm-brighton-partnership
November 2021
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/no-evidence-of-any-hibs-partnership-with-brighton-says-club-chief-3460398
02-11-2023, 09:33 AM
I'd rather be seen as a club within a group and hopefully regularly playing in Europe and winning more cups, than trundle along as we are, being average to pish most of the time.
Hibs, along with every single club in Scotland ,will always be a feeder clubs to bigger clubs and leagues. Celtic and Sevco are feeder clubs to big clubs down south and on the continent.
Celtic made an absolute fortune punting players to the EPL.
02-11-2023, 09:36 AM
May 2021
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/hibernian-confirm-brighton-partnership
November 2021
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/no-evidence-of-any-hibs-partnership-with-brighton-says-club-chief-3460398
https://i.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/original/000/817/900/dd0.gif
snedzuk
02-11-2023, 09:37 AM
65 in March - Im with you on this!
02-11-2023, 09:37 AM
I'm absolutely certain they do. That works out at £1m a year. They turned over near £90m last year.
Goldson is said to be on about 30k a week with Tavernier roughly that as well.
02-11-2023, 09:49 AM
I'm a bit meh about this to be honest which concerns me a bit.
02-11-2023, 09:55 AM
So what kind of investment gives us the best chance of third without being irresponsible?
£3m from group stage of Europa Conference and say another 2,000 on the gate for every home game adds approximately another £1m in revenue.
Would spending £3m more than we currently do get the job done to break even or turn a small profit?
Foley is 78 so does Black Knight roll on without him when his time comes? That has to be a consideration.
02-11-2023, 09:59 AM
I guess the barrier to entry is a bit lower now/the investment required. Hopefully, if we get investment and become established as the "3rd force", the higher investment required to usurp us will dissuade others from attempting the same thing. For a while at least!
02-11-2023, 10:17 AM
I guess the barrier to entry is a bit lower now/the investment required. Hopefully, if we get investment and become established as the "3rd force", the higher investment required to usurp us will dissuade others from attempting the same thing. For a while at least!
I feel like I'm p****** on everyone's chips here and I really don't mean to:greengrin
However Foley really isn't all that bothered about turning Hibs into the 3rd force or whatever. Of course he has to say otherwise to get us as fans onside and there is every chance the arrangement that is being put forward will achieve such as we will have access to more funds to sign better players than we currently do. Ultimately though his ventures are all about making money and his EPL team and their success is what will do that. We are a vehicle to facilitate that.
Other individuals and groups will be broadly the same. If the Saudis need a Scottish club then they will come and get one, same with the Qataris, the Emiratis and other Americans; if it's part of a bigger system then it's unlikely any expenses in Scotland will be cost prohibitive, investing in a club here is loose change in the grand scheme of things. No club in Scotland is a mega rich investors priority and if we are then they are probably not rich enough to be dining at the top table with the likes of Red Bull, City Group and BlueCo.
02-11-2023, 10:29 AM
So what kind of investment gives us the best chance of third without being irresponsible?
£3m from group stage of Europa Conference and say another 2,000 on the gate for every home game adds approximately another £1m in revenue.
Would spending £3m more than we currently do get the job done to break even or turn a small profit?
Foley is 78 so does Black Knight roll on without him when his time comes? That has to be a consideration.
Part of the strategy seems to be increasing off field revenue from sponsorship and marketing opportunities, which the Gordons have already been revamping. Foley's business contacts could help give that another boost. For example - what if Foley wanted to rename ER and paid £1M per annum (or whatever a suitable figure is) to do so to name it The (insert business name) Stadium?
02-11-2023, 10:43 AM
No guarantee, I was questioning if people wanted us to pass up the chance to be 3rd force as we will be seen as a feeder club?
I don’t particularly care about being a feeder club, because we are regardless. I don’t think one rich guy is a guarantee of finishing 3rd however, and this one in particular doesn’t seem to be running a particularly impressive operation at Bournemouth, in terms of results or youth development.
If it was Brighton, or even the City Group I might be more inclined to believe the investment would come with an uptick in results, coaching, recruitment, development etc. I would suggest Bournemouth seem much earlier in that journey.
Plus as others have said, we won’t be the only club getting bought. Chelsea, City Group, Newcastle etc etc could all turn up looking to add a Scottish side and suddenly we’re left behind because we got bought by Bournemouth…
You could argue that we can afford to be picky here and ensure that if we are going to do this, that we make sure we have the best partner in a footballing sense. Is that Bournemouth? In many ways Hibs are the most attractive opportunity in Scotland to invest in, we don’t have to jump at the first offer that comes…
02-11-2023, 10:50 AM
Yep, took the words right out of my mouth.
02-11-2023, 10:50 AM
Sport moves on and football moves on with it. Over 100 years ago no doubt folk were bemoaning the rise of professionalism. Hell, it wasn't so long ago Andy Irvine was being shunned by every rugby club in Scotland simply for writing a book on his career and making money from it, look at rugby now.
No doubt some folk looked down on shirt sponsorship as literally selling the jerseys. Now it's seen as a sign of failure if your club doesn't have one.
TV money has turned Europe's premier club competition into practically a closed shop with UEFA changing the format to ensure the big clubs have the best chance of making the last 16 at a minimum. So much so they've had to reinstate a 3rd competition for the no hopers. The unintended consequence ... or at least a consequence they didn't care about ... of all this is to ensure the clubs who always dominated the likes of our league will continue to do so thanks to being in Europe every season.
The latest thing is group ownership of clubs. With UEFA already talking about relaxing the rules on duel ownership it's something that's only going to grow. Feeder club smeeder club .. every club in the world bar a select few are feeder clubs. Is there a mightier club on the planet than River Plate and yet they couldn't fight off a bid from Bournemouth for their best player, that's the truth of it.
IMO due diligence notwithstanding we would be utterly mental to turn our noses up at this opportunity and for every fan we lose to the 'it's not the game I love any more' folk ( I won't say brigade, it's a fair enough stance if it means that much to you ) we will gain two to replace them if we do start doing better in the league, the cups, and Europe.
02-11-2023, 10:59 AM
Yep, totally agree with this too.
02-11-2023, 11:08 AM
Everything I’ve heard is it will be a minority shareholding Bill Foley will acquire but the money being talked about was excellent. Maybe I’m being naive but I can’t see the downside. If he was becoming the majority shareholder then yes I could understand there being concerns.
02-11-2023, 11:12 AM
Article in Edinburgh Evening News with a positive view on Foley's possible involvement with us and his in intentions to support Hibs moving forward, through investment/sponsorship contacts ,as the 3rd force in Scotland for the forseeable.
02-11-2023, 11:17 AM
If the answer to all of the above is no, then bring it on 😁
Unfortunately, the answer to number 3 is Yes.
He's worth a billion(s)
Paulie Walnuts
Everything I’ve heard is it will be a minority shareholding Bill Foley will acquire but the money being talked about was excellent. Maybe I’m being naive but I can’t see the downside. If he was becoming the majority shareholder then yes I could understand there being concerns.
When you say the money is excellent, is it excellent money every season? Or an initial excellent investment?
New shares, or some of the Gordons'?
Bridge hibs
02-11-2023, 11:23 AM
Everything I’ve heard is it will be a minority shareholding Bill Foley will acquire but the money being talked about was excellent. Maybe I’m being naive but I can’t see the downside. If he was becoming the majority shareholder then yes I could understand there being concerns.Going by this interview I would be surprised if he was content to only be a minority stakeholder
'I have looked at several teams over the last two or three years and they all involved minority investment and someone else is already in charge. I don't like that. I'm a dictator,' Foley told BBC Radio Solent.
'When I'm involved, I need to be the captain of the ship. I had to wait for a situation where I could buy the team myself, with my partners of course, and control the destiny of the team.
'I've always said with the Vegas Golden Knights that if there's a mistake made then it's on me. I'll take responsibility and I plan on doing the same thing with AFCB.'
He added: 'I tell my limited partners, and they know this, there is nothing more limited than being a limited partner of Bill Foley.'
Foley, as chairman of Canna Holdings Inc, holds a 50.1 per cent stake in Bournemouth.
Jordan is one of a number of minority owners involved in the takeover and Bournemouth say the Hollywood actor will focus on the 'global marketing and internationalisation of the club.
02-11-2023, 11:25 AM
We've heard this third force talk before, I'll believe it when I actually see it.
leith lynx
02-11-2023, 11:27 AM
Aye, well said.Us auld sodjers deserve it, bring it on!
02-11-2023, 11:28 AM
Hearts have shown that having a billionaire investor or benefactor doesn't guarantee you being "3rd force". Would this guy invest more in Hibs than Anderson has invested in Hearts? I'd be very surprised. Even if it allowed us to increase our wage budget you still need to have people at the club to with the ability to bring in the right players or we'd just have a team of Chris Muellers on £10k a week. This Foley guy just sounds absolutely naïve thinking that throwing money at it would achieve consistant 3rd places. St Mirren are doing it through being well run, having a hungry squad and a good manager. I don't want folk swanning around at Hibs on a fortune thinking they're better than other players in the league because they'll get a rude awakening.
02-11-2023, 11:35 AM
Hearts have shown that having a billionaire investor or benefactor doesn't guarantee you being "3rd force". Would this guy invest more in Hibs than Anderson has invested in Hearts? I'd be very surprised. Even if it allowed us to increase our wage budget you still need to have people at the club to with the ability to bring in the right players or we'd just have a team of Chris Muellers on £10k a week. This Foley guy just sounds absolutely naïve thinking that throwing money at it would achieve consistant 3rd places. St Mirren are doing it through being well run, having a hungry squad and a good manager. I don't want folk swanning around at Hibs on a fortune thinking they're better than other players in the league because they'll get a rude awakening.
Bit early to say St Mirren are achieving consistent 3rd place finishes no?
02-11-2023, 11:40 AM
If you read more on what his group does and their intentions in Hibs being involved in that.
Its not just a matter of giving Hibs a few bob to spend.
A wee bit more than that is involved
02-11-2023, 11:47 AM
On your first sentence, James Anderson is not a billionaire. Very wealthy man but not a billionaire.
I think that's where there's the difference of being something like 10%-30% higher spending than your competitors to being 100%-200% - if it's spent well then surely you really should be outperforming your rivals over the course of the season and even if it isn't spent well, you've got to be in with a chance. There's such a huge gap between what the Old Firm spend and what Aberdeen/Hearts/Hibs spend that what's seen as small money in England should be enough to create a clear divide on the pitch and buy that extra 20 points to be on an island in third.
The problem would be if Hearts/Aberdeen react and invest more to bridge the gap or find external investment in a similar fashion.
Another problem could be that I can't really think who, in the Scottish game, would be the players to go for to enable this. Buying the best Hearts/Aberdeen players would be a bit of a waste of money as they'd be at a premium but who else is there really? I can't even really think of many OF Fringe players other than Turnbull.
02-11-2023, 11:55 AM
i was hoping you would pop up :greengrin i immediately thought of what % HSL is presently at, 23% iirc ? but that's us much as they/we are allowed isn't it
If you read more on what his group does and their intentions in Hibs being involved in that.
Its not just a matter of giving Hibs a few bob to spend.
A wee bit more than that is involved
Yes a wee bit more is involved and that may not be a bad thing. Football and Hibs has changed over the years, from the time my dear late father in law, a Gordie, watched the famous five win 3 league titles, but couldn't win the Scottish Cup, to then both of us watching the Tornadoes play fabulous football, however I quickly realised that in the pecking order that is Scottish football Hibs are not at the top, as to being a feeder club, as others have pointed out that has always been the case, I realised that when Colin Stein left for Rangers, Blackley and Brownie to Newcastle, Des Bremner to Aston villa, and so it goes on. Hibs have to adapt or simply fade away, Third Lanark, anyone remember them?
Hibs4185
02-11-2023, 12:06 PM
Anderson isn’t a billionaire and he was donating money to a club ran by old budgey and her pals. They blew so much money on that stand and it is honking.
Our hospitality and their hospitality probably cost around the same and I know how’s is far superior.
If you have the right team and people in place, money can be spent wisely and efficiently .
Daniel 1875
02-11-2023, 12:11 PM
i was hoping you would pop up :greengrin i immediately thought of what % HSL is presently at, 23% iirc ? but that's us much as they/we are allowed isn't it
15.4% currently
02-11-2023, 12:20 PM
Looking at our club we are in a better position than other Spfl clubs as we have a fully upgraded stadium our own training ground which have all been up and running for a number of years. Aberdeen and Hearts are not in this position yet so may be looked at as a less attractive opportunity for investment.
This multi club ownership seems to be the latest trend so let's embrace whatever happens.
Just get that North east corner filled in.
Mcbizz1998
02-11-2023, 12:42 PM
There seems to be an air on this thread of 'it can't be true/work out because good things don't happen to Hibs'. Almost as if some refuse to believe that someone would see Hibs as a good opportunity in the Scottish game. I know where that comes from and I feel it myself slightly but a bit of positivity/enthusiasm about where this club could get to one day wouldn't go a miss.
chippy
02-11-2023, 12:48 PM
15.4% currently
With cash in hand ready to take advantage of any share issue?
02-11-2023, 01:14 PM
There seems to be an air on this thread of 'it can't be true/work out because good things don't happen to Hibs'. Almost as if some refuse to believe that someone would see Hibs as a good opportunity in the Scottish game. I know where that comes from and I feel it myself slightly but a bit of positivity/enthusiasm about where this club could get to one day wouldn't go a miss.
As it’s completely out of our control I decided immediately to look on the positives!
I don’t see any down side here. We’ve had plenty useless owners in the past, were close to death cause of Mercer, and aren’t going to grow much bigger than Hearts or Aberdeen unless cash gets pumped into us.
I’m hoping they’re close to doing the deal on the basis that the news wouldn’t be out there otherwise.
As a bonus, the rumour alone is annoying Rangers and Hearts fans.
02-11-2023, 01:25 PM
Kickback is an absolute hoot .... Who would have thought the folk who fell hook line and sinker for the biggest crook ever to own a Scottish football club, laughed in the faces of folk who pointed out he was a crook and to this day revel in the modest success his stolen money brought them would turn out to be the ones decrying a lack of fair play and talk about other clubs selling their soul.
Ah, the hypocrites of revisionist FC, what a fine bunch they are :faf:
:yw:
Hearts have shown that having a billionaire investor or benefactor doesn't guarantee you being "3rd force".
When did Hearts have investment from a billionaire?
Mcbizz1998
02-11-2023, 01:35 PM
As it’s completely out of our control I decided immediately to look on the positives!
I don’t see any down side here. We’ve had plenty useless owners in the past, were close to death cause of Mercer, and aren’t going to grow much bigger than Hearts or Aberdeen unless cash gets pumped into us.
I’m hoping they’re close to doing the deal on the basis that the news wouldn’t be out there otherwise.
That's more like it mate!!
02-11-2023, 01:39 PM
When did Hearts have investment from a billionaire?
Is the boy Anderson not a billionaire? Very wealthy anyway
02-11-2023, 01:42 PM
Quite right too :). The Rangers bit is what has me confused though, as I said yesterday, he could pick them up relatively cheaply and work with a far bigger fan base. I do get though it could be that he's looked at them and decided their financial state and/or infrastructure isn't worth the time or effort. That's what I hope anyway.
Lee Marvin
02-11-2023, 01:43 PM
On your first sentence, James Anderson is not a billionaire. Very wealthy man but not a billionaire.
Correct - James Anderson is not even close to being a billionaire. Foley has potentially x10 the net wealth of Anderson (probably more), which is an enormous difference.
The possible downside is that all clubs become part of a group and then we're back to square one 😆
Edit. Not sure how or why I quoted you other than fat fingers!
Lee Marvin
02-11-2023, 01:48 PM
The possible downside is that all clubs become part of a group and then we're back to square one 😆
Edit. Not sure how or why I quoted you other than fat fingers!
Yeah, all clubs except those that are fan owned :greengrin
02-11-2023, 01:52 PM
Quite right too :). The Rangers bit is what has me confused though, as I said yesterday, he could pick them up relatively cheaply and work with a far bigger fan base. I do get though it could be that he's looked at them and decided their financial state and/or infrastructure isn't worth the time or effort. That's what I hope anyway.
They would also not accept anything less than being the top priority in the sports group. They would not play second fiddle to Bournemouth.
Paulie Walnuts
02-11-2023, 01:53 PM
Is the boy Anderson not a billionaire? Very wealthy anyway
Na hes nowhere near it. The fund he managed is worth billions but he’s personally not. Still very wealthy of course.
02-11-2023, 02:01 PM
Na hes nowhere near it. The fund he managed is worth billions but he’s personally not. Still very wealthy of course.
He owned roughly 1% of SMT before he retired.
It was the best performing investment trust on the planet over several years and was in the top ten for decades. That 1% alone was worth around £750m at the time and was only one of the funds at BG that he helped manage.
He could easily be a billionaire.
02-11-2023, 02:02 PM
Or all of the Gordons shares!!.. 🤔
02-11-2023, 02:02 PM
They would also not accept anything less than being the top priority in the sports group. They would not play second fiddle to Bournemouth.
I don't honestly think they would care about that if they were in front of Celtic, that's all that they live for.
02-11-2023, 02:07 PM
Nothing is guaranteed, even Celtic aren’t guaranteed the title every season, but it’s as close as.
It’s important we’re “first to market” in this situation because whoever followed us (assuming we do it now) will have to spend more. The cost of successful multi-club ownership involving Scottish clubs goes up with each purchase.
Just now, if it’s Hibs, then Foley and the Gordons need to “only” take out spending from where it is today which is close to, but slightly less, than Aberdeen and Hearts’ spending.
Depending on how much over their spend we go to “guarantee” third, whoever is next to the table is going to need to spend more.
If it’s Aberdeen next, for example, simply matching us is no good for them. If they want third they will need to match then exceed our investment. Assuming we’ve been successful and have a great January window, and finish third this season, then Aberdeen’s investor(s) need to match and exceed the investment plus the money we take in from a European campaign that’s likely to go further than just the qualifiers.
It’s not such a good deal, and there’s far more risk of it failing and being money down the drain.
Go lower than Aberdeen and Hearts and your spend rises even more just to keep up. You’ve also then got issues with limited growth potential as there aren’t many big city clubs in Scotland.
There may well still be an attraction to Scotland for these groups, but as things stand it’s going to be whoever gets in first that has the position of strength.
02-11-2023, 02:08 PM
This 100% 👏
Glory Glory
Is the boy Anderson not a billionaire? Very wealthy anywayWealthy, yes. Apart from not being a billionaire he has no footballing contacts, no network to bring players to Hearts and seemingly just allows Budge to fritter away cash on her latest fancy.
Not comparable to what's being rumoured with the potential Foley deal at all.
02-11-2023, 03:01 PM
Nothing is guaranteed, even Celtic aren’t guaranteed the title every season, but it’s as close as.
It’s important we’re “first to market” in this situation because whoever followed us (assuming we do it now) will have to spend more. The cost of successful multi-club ownership involving Scottish clubs goes up with each purchase.
Just now, if it’s Hibs, then Foley and the Gordons need to “only” take out spending from where it is today which is close to, but slightly less, than Aberdeen and Hearts’ spending.
Depending on how much over their spend we go to “guarantee” third, whoever is next to the table is going to need to spend more.
If it’s Aberdeen next, for example, simply matching us is no good for them. If they want third they will need to match then exceed our investment. Assuming we’ve been successful and have a great January window, and finish third this season, then Aberdeen’s investor(s) need to match and exceed the investment plus the money we take in from a European campaign that’s likely to go further than just the qualifiers.
It’s not such a good deal, and there’s far more risk of it failing and being money down the drain.
Go lower than Aberdeen and Hearts and your spend rises even more just to keep up. You’ve also then got issues with limited growth potential as there aren’t many big city clubs in Scotland.
There may well still be an attraction to Scotland for these groups, but as things stand it’s going to be whoever gets in first that has the position of strength.
I get that.
However as I said in a later post we aren't talking about insane amounts of money here, certainly not for a billionaire or 2, and we aren't going to be the main priority for anyone with really serious wealth (as Foley appears to have).
If the Saudi PIF or the City Group decide they need another club in their portfolio and they decide that said club is to be in Scotland then the difference between spending £10M now and £20M in 3 years time is the equivalent of us deciding between spending a fiver or a tenner. You'd rather get something for a fiver but if you need it or want then you'll pay the tenner and it's not beyond your means. It's not like in England were seriously insane amounts are involved. Abramovich started that ball rolling, City had to outspend that, Newcastle will have to try and outspend that but within the constraints of FFP:faf: and Man Utd have spent over a billion and can't compete:faf::faf: If it was all about doing things on a budget then Celtic or Rangers with (almost) guaranteed Champions league football for a relatively minor investment would have been a better bet than some of the teams who have been bought over in England. If these guys want something and it's beneficial to them then they will pay what it takes regardless of whether someone got in there first.
It's not that I'm not excited about this investment, I just think there has to be a healthy dose of realism. If the SFA have amended the rules around dual ownership then pressure has come from the clubs, that suggests more than one club has explored this, I just don't see the blazers changing such a major rule off their own back and I doubt one club acting alone could force through such a change. Obviously we are a more attractive option than most so there is every chance we get a good deal and getting a head tart, be that a few months or a couple of years, is also of course beneficial.
Torto7
02-11-2023, 03:11 PM
Black knight isn't just Foley. There's nobody in the SPL that would have the wealth he has or even close to it. Not that it matters. He's on record as saying a modest investment in the SPL could mean a club grows year on year by accessing the extra revenue via Europe and he's quite right imo. One angle I haven't seen mentioned is analytics. Black Knight will have access to technology nobody else in Scotland will even come close to having. This could help the club in every single area. Bournemouth also get to loan us players to develop for them. I don't see anything worrisome here as we have loan players every year anyway.
02-11-2023, 03:23 PM
Black knight isn't just Foley. There's nobody in the SPL that would have the wealth he has or even close to it. Not that it matters. He's on record as saying a modest investment in the SPL could mean a club grows year on year by accessing the extra revenue via Europe and he's quite right imo. One angle I haven't seen mentioned is analytics. Black Knight will have access to technology nobody else in Scotland will even come close to having. This could help the club in every single area. Bournemouth also get to loan us players to develop for them. I don't see anything worrisome here as we have loan players every year anyway.
Dermot Desmond does have his level of wealth. He's also a billionaire. A quick Google search says he's actually worth about double what Foley is.
That's beside the point though as I don't think anybody is thinking this is going to lead to us regularly challenging Celtic for the title.
02-11-2023, 03:26 PM
Ditto
02-11-2023, 03:27 PM
Dermot Desmond does have his level of wealth. He's also a billionaire. A quick Google search says he's actually worth about double what Foley is.
That's beside the point though as I don't think anybody is thinking this is going to lead to us regularly challenging Celtic for the title.
Does Desmond own Celtic?
02-11-2023, 03:28 PM
Does Desmond own Celtic?
Largest shareholder at 34.5%. Also owns 25% of Shamrock Rovers.
EastStandGates
02-11-2023, 03:29 PM
Is there not a very quick ceiling point?
If Hearts reached the European conference group stages this year they would've reached that ceiling within 2-3 years. The stadium's pretty much at capacity most games, and money from the group stages would've maxed out bar an extra few hundred thousand for a potential extra win or draw.
Reaching the Europa League groups is going to take more than a "modest investment". And reaching the Champions League group stage is impossible for any Scottish club other than Celtic.
02-11-2023, 03:32 PM
Does Desmond own Celtic?
He's the majority shareholder,yes.
02-11-2023, 03:34 PM
He's the majority shareholder,yes.
:aok: didn't realise that
02-11-2023, 03:35 PM
Is there not a very quick ceiling point?
If Hearts reached the European conference group stages this year they would've reached that ceiling within 2-3 years. The stadium's pretty much at capacity most games, and money from the group stages would've maxed out bar an extra few hundred thousand for a potential extra win or draw.
Reaching the Europa League groups is going to take more than a "modest investment". And reaching the Champions League group stage is impossible for any Scottish club other than Celtic.
As with most cups at luck of the draw. Aberdeen drew Haacken in the Europa play off round, I don't think a huge amount of investment would be needed to beat sides like them.
Our cup winning team for instance I'd have fancied to give it a decent go.
ruthven_raiders
02-11-2023, 04:22 PM
Ditto
I am 61 and in my lifetime we have won 4 trophies, so that is one every 15 years, so I'll take an improvement on that🤣
02-11-2023, 04:31 PM
I vote for change, and hope it is change for the better. Not getting any younger and sick of the unlevel playing field that is Scottish football.
Bring in the Yankee dollars. They are not called "Greenbacks" for nothing.
02-11-2023, 04:37 PM
Ditto
Pair of old farts. I'm only 60 :greengrin
02-11-2023, 04:47 PM
I reckon IF this goes ahead the sfa will try and stop it. Down to the fact they want to keep the OF stranglehold to stay put.
mcohibs
02-11-2023, 04:53 PM
I reckon IF this goes ahead the sfa will try and stop it. Down to the fact they want to keep the OF stranglehold to stay put.
Do they though? Surely the prospect of significant investment and potentially a more competitive league is a positive in terms of marketability of the league? Not sure what they’d gain in trying to block it.
02-11-2023, 04:57 PM
Even if they wanted to stop it, which they wouldn't, they can't.
Anyone can buy shares from the owners and anyone can invest in, or buy, the clubs.
02-11-2023, 04:57 PM
Do they though? Surely the prospect of significant investment and potentially a more competitive league is a positive in terms of marketability of the league? Not sure what they’d gain in trying to block it.
The SFA don’t run the league. They only govern football. Football at all levels at that.
02-11-2023, 04:58 PM
:agree: The likes of Doncaster and Regan (gone now I know) are English so I can't imagine they have/had any life long affiliation to Sevco. I've wondered for years how they could be so bullied by Sevco but yes, they are bound to be wishing for more lucrative investment.
02-11-2023, 05:27 PM
We won’t be winning the league regardless of who buys us
People keep talking about Europe, we’d have to comply with FFP (such as it is), so any spending spree a new owner would go on is massively constrained by our income, and how much they could be reasonably expected to increase that.
Spending a bit more than Hearts and Aberdeen? Sure, very possible. Spending enough to be a genuine threat to the Old Firm? Not unless we could suddenly start filling a stadium twice the size of what we’ve got now!
02-11-2023, 05:31 PM
He owned roughly 1% of SMT before he retired.
It was the best performing investment trust on the planet over several years and was in the top ten for decades. That 1% alone was worth around £750m at the time and was only one of the funds at BG that he helped manage.
He could easily be a billionaire.
I never seen him featured in the Sunday Times rich list.
babahibs
02-11-2023, 05:42 PM
Or maybe he just hates bigots?
Or maybe he just hates bigots?"Liam Foley buys shares in Rangers" is an off kilter headline.
02-11-2023, 05:50 PM
We won’t be winning the league regardless of who buys us
People keep talking about Europe, we’d have to comply with FFP (such as it is), so any spending spree a new owner would go on is massively constrained by our income, and how much they could be reasonably expected to increase that.
Spending a bit more than Hearts and Aberdeen? Sure, very possible. Spending enough to be a genuine threat to the Old Firm? Not unless we could suddenly start filling a stadium twice the size of what we’ve got now!
Gary Neville made a good point about this.
With FPP it's basically impossible for a smaller side to ever really challenge the big teams (in whatever league). If course you will get the odd instance like Leicester but 90% of the time it's the richest (in terms of support) and biggest clubs who win it. The smaller clubs can never bridge that gap.
The gap is near impossible to close unless FPP is relaxed somewhat. I think he suggested any new owner should have 2 seasons to be able to significantly invest and then again every 5 years later or something along those lines.Caveat being you can't change owner simply every 3 years to get round it. I'm sure there's be a way to make it work
The way it is the status quo of the current winning sides in most leagues will never change
He's got a fair point I think.
02-11-2023, 06:10 PM
Pair of old farts. I'm only 60 :greengrin
You're still an old fart. Just not as old as us 😁👍
RMQ1967
02-11-2023, 06:17 PM
Exciting times - any indication of how close this is to being done or when it's expected to be finalized?
Donegal Hibby
02-11-2023, 06:21 PM
I don't mind the Bournemouth owner forming a partnership with Hibernian football club , what I do mind is what I've read that he wants to acquire shares or own up to 5 or 6 clubs that will benefit the " mothership "( Bournemouth) which is basically turning us into a feeder club . I'd be against big clubs like Liverpool , Utd or Chelsea on this too though we are talking about Bournemouth here FFS .
Your right in they will probably invest in Hibs no matter wither I like it or not though if worst scenario happens and we end up a feeder club for them I will certainly not feel the same way about us or Scottish football tbh .
I don't think it's bizarre to want them relegated at all , I have done for the last couple of season as I don't think they offer anything to the premier league while proper clubs like Leicester, Southampton and Leeds are in the championship . That doesn't mean I have had anything against them just that I think there bigger and better clubs who should be in the premier . Though if Hibs end up there feeder club I WILL HATE THEM with a passion ! .
Everyone seems all for it with promise's of making us constantly the 3rd best team in the league , playing in Europe regularly etc etc which sounds good though at what price ? , also if it happens it will open the door for other premier League owners to buy there very own Scottish feeder club , might have the Man city purchase Aberdeen , Newcastle owners hertz who have far more money than the Bournemouth owner. Where would it end ? .It would ruin clubs and Scottish football imo .
Anyhow we will just have to wait and see what develops though unlike most of you that's excited about all the promises of investment and good times I'm probably in the minority on being really concerned on what the price will be , becoming one of Bournemouths B teams would be unacceptable imo !.
02-11-2023, 06:24 PM
Gary Neville made a good point about this.
With FPP it's basically impossible for a smaller side to ever really challenge the big teams (in whatever league). If course you will get the odd instance like Leicester but 90% of the time it's the richest (in terms of support) and biggest clubs who win it. The smaller clubs can never bridge that gap.
The gap is near impossible to close unless FPP is relaxed somewhat. I think he suggested any new owner should have 2 seasons to be able to significantly invest and then again every 5 years later or something along those lines.Caveat being you can't change owner simply every 3 years to get round it. I'm sure there's be a way to make it work
The way it is the status quo of the current winning sides in most leagues will never change
He's got a fair point I think.
Pretty much yeah, FFP was the clubs that were big at the time terrified of being usurped by the City’s and PSG’s etc and basically wanted to pull up the ladders to stop anyone else managing it.
Of course since then revenue in England has gone up so much that the consequence has been even lowly clubs like our new best friends Bournemouth being able to outspend Inter Milan.
02-11-2023, 06:31 PM
Pretty much yeah, FFP was the clubs that were big at the time terrified of being usurped by the City’s and PSG’s etc and basically wanted to pull up the ladders to stop anyone else managing it.
Of course since then revenue in England has gone up so much that the consequence has been even lowly clubs like our new best friends Bournemouth being able to outspend Inter Milan.
The cap on losses under FFP is €60m, do you think we’d realistically come anywhere close to breaching that?
02-11-2023, 06:36 PM
I don't mind the Bournemouth owner forming a partnership with Hibernian football club , what I do mind is what I've read that he wants to acquire shares or own up to 5 or 6 clubs that will benefit the " mothership "( Bournemouth) which is basically turning us into a feeder club . I'd be against big clubs like Liverpool , Utd or Chelsea on this too though we are talking about Bournemouth here FFS .
Your right in they will probably invest in Hibs no matter wither I like it or not though if worst scenario happens and we end up a feeder club for them I will certainly not feel the same way about us or Scottish football tbh .
I don't think it's bizarre to want them relegated at all , I have done for the last couple of season as I don't think they offer anything to the premier league while proper clubs like Leicester, Southampton and Leeds are in the championship . That doesn't mean I have had anything against them just that I think there bigger and better clubs who should be in the premier . Though if Hibs end up there feeder club I WILL HATE THEM with a passion ! .
Everyone seems all for it with promise's of making us constantly the 3rd best team in the league , playing in Europe regularly etc etc which sounds good though at what price ? , also if it happens it will open the door for other premier League owners to buy there very own Scottish feeder club , might have the Man city purchase Aberdeen , Newcastle owners hertz who have far more money than the Bournemouth owner. Where would it end ? .It would ruin clubs and Scottish football imo .
Anyhow we will just have to wait and see what develops though unlike most of you that's excited about all the promises of investment and good times I'm probably in the minority on being really concerned on what the price will be , becoming one of Bournemouths B teams would be unacceptable imo !.
We are already a feeder club and always have been. The difference is that it hasn't been structured and we've received a pittance in return, sometimes literally nothing.
We got £2.5m for SJM, £2m for Kevin Nisbet and only £500k for Ryan Porteous. We didn't get equally talented replacements.
We couldn't keep Kukharevych even though he wanted to stay and every time we find a gem, we start thinking about how much we might get for them before their contract ends.
Why is that better than having an actual arrangement like the one being suggested? It would see us supported financially, given the ability to recruit, and afford, better players and, crucially, compete more successfully.
I see no downsides in this at all, T.
Edit Btw, Bournemouth's B team would beat our first team!
02-11-2023, 06:36 PM
The cap on losses under FFP is €60m, do you think we’d realistically come anywhere close to breaching that?
Is it not also relative to turnover?
02-11-2023, 06:57 PM
We are already a feeder club and always have been. The difference is that it hasn't been structured and we've received a pittance in return, sometimes literally nothing.
We got £2.5m for SJM, £2m for Kevin Nisbet and only £500k for Ryan Porteous. We didn't get equally talented replacements.
We couldn't keep Kukharevych even though he wanted to stay and every time we find a gem, we start thinking about how much we might get for them before their contract ends.
Why is that better than having an actual arrangement like the one being suggested? It would see us supported financially, given the ability to recruit, and afford, better players and, crucially, compete more successfully.
Pure speculation but in terms of downsides, who makes sure decisions are best for Hibs rather than 'the Group' or Bournemouth?
Let's say we have a very promising young player. Who decides when he moves to Bournemouth, and can we be completely confident that decision is being made to maximise the benefit to Hibs?
If we have a player doing very well and he wants to move on, will we end up short changed with them moving to another club in the Group, rather than attracting bidders from the open market?
If a player does move between clubs in the group, who decides their value?
Can we refuse to take a player from Bournemouth if we don't fancy them or are we going to have to take one for the team and give them minutes to appease the owner and protect the bigger asset?
Whilst these are groups, they have a clear hierarchy. I understand our place in football. But I don't like the idea of an owner putting a more expensive asset ahead of us.
02-11-2023, 07:00 PM
Are the filthy dollars pouring into Hibs yet.
02-11-2023, 07:05 PM
Are the filthy dollars pouring into Hibs yet.
He originally comes from Austin TX so only about 2 1/2 hours from me. For every 1 million dollars he pours into Hibs I'll give him a free glass of wine at my hoose. Can't say fairer than that.
02-11-2023, 07:14 PM
But wages, transfer fees and agent fees are pegged to 70% of turnover from 25/26, so unless he wants to build that helipad…
02-11-2023, 07:14 PM
He originally comes from Austin TX so only about 2 1/2 hours from me. For every 1 million dollars he pours into Hibs I'll give him a free glass of wine at my hoose. Can't say fairer than that.
Sounds like a reasonable deal, do you have somewhere he can land his helicopter.
02-11-2023, 07:18 PM
Pure speculation but in terms of downsides, who makes sure decisions are best for Hibs rather than 'the Group' or Bournemouth?
Let's say we have a very promising young player. Who decides when he moves to Bournemouth, and can we be completely confident that decision is being made to maximise the benefit to Hibs?
If we have a player doing very well and he wants to move on, will we end up short changed with them moving to another club in the Group, rather than attracting bidders from the open market?
Can we refuse to take a player from Bournemouth if we don't fancy them or are we going to have to take one for the team and give them minutes to appease the owner and protect the bigger asset?
Whilst these are groups, they have a clear hierarchy. I understand our place in football. But I don't like the idea of an owner putting a more expensive asset ahead of us.
Obviously I don't know the answers to those questions but unless they're a Romanov type, if they buy a club, they want it to be as successful as possible. There's no need to buy Hibs just to offload players they don't need or want at Bournemouth. In fact, they'd lose potential transfer money if they did that.
Hibs would still buy and sell players from clubs around the world so the usual rules and values would apply. If we had a player good enough to play in the EPL and Bournemouth wanted them, no doubt they'd get them cheap or free, but we'd have bought him cheap or free.
If we had a player good enough to play in the EPL and Bournemouth didn't want them, the fee we'd receive would be many times greater than we would now because it was really Bournemouth selling him.
Or, maybe something else will happen.:greengrin:
02-11-2023, 07:18 PM
Sounds like a reasonable deal, do you have somewhere he can land his helicopter.
If he's Texan he can land it wherever the **** he likes.....
02-11-2023, 07:21 PM
If he's Texan he can land it wherever the **** he likes.....
Oh I forgot everything is bigger in Texas, even the hats ha, he will be too busy sorting out Hibs to be wandering around a wee state like Texas.
02-11-2023, 07:22 PM
Oh I forgot everything is bigger in Texas, even the hats ha, he will be too busy sorting out Hibs to be wandering around a wee state like Texas.
02-11-2023, 07:24 PM
If we find ourselves in a situation where our players are good enough to play in the EPL or Ligue 1 then we’ll be in a very good place indeed.
02-11-2023, 07:25 PM
If we find ourselves in a situation where our players are good enough to play in the EPL or Ligue 1 then we’ll be in a very good place indeed.
02-11-2023, 07:29 PM
If we lose a hypothetical promising player for less than we would just now but in return we get 10 players we previously couldn’t afford or get our hands on, is that not a pretty good trade off?
02-11-2023, 08:04 PM
im struggling to see (compared with our squad now) any disadvantage to having a handful of players that will be good enough to play in the EPL after 1-2 years with us.
02-11-2023, 08:12 PM
The one thing that makes me excited about this and hopeful this guy wants success for us is the fact he could have just gone in with a partnershipdeal with hibs and Bournemouth and then offload their reserve players to us on loan (charlestown battery, Edinburgh city)
Exciting times ahead if this happens.
Also fwiw, I think he would look to buy us once the ownership rules have calmed down in Scotland.
02-11-2023, 08:20 PM
Some Golden Knights ahead at Easter Road.
Donegal Hibby
02-11-2023, 09:44 PM
I never thought on us as a feeder club until the city group chat and now this situation that as come up , always a club that try's to develop young players and signs players hoping to improve them in order to sell for a profit . Lots of clubs lose players for pittance at times I think . There's other times we have done well too in Fletcher £3 mill , Brown £4.4 mill.
The three players SJM , Nisbet and Porto all had contract issues and at the time I think we got the best we could for them . SJM we were never going to replace with a equally talented player, Nisbet I don't think we have missed since signing Vente who imo is equally as talented and when Porto left I thought with Fish we looked more solid at the back once he settled in too .
We probably couldn't keep kukhareych though are we any worse of attacking wise since signing Vente and Youan? . Finding a gem and to start thinking about what we can get for him before his contract runs out is something that effects bigger clubs than us , I doubt even with Bournemouths owner we would struggle to hold on to gems we had in the past like SJM , Fletcher or Brown anyhow .
Why is that better than having an actually arrangement like the one suggested with all the positive stuff ? I just don't like the thought of Hibernian just becoming one of a number of clubs in a pyramid for Bournemouth . Over the years we have had many people at our club that have made us there main priority , don't think we will be anywhere near bill Foley's main priority .
Find the whole situation rather concerning, D
I'd rather stay as Hibs and take a odd beating than become a Bournemouth B team and dish a few out TBH .
They probably will invest in Hibs and it doesn't matter a jot what I or anyone thinks about it anyhow!.
02-11-2023, 09:47 PM
I never thought on us as a feeder club until the city group chat and now this situation that as come up , always a club that try's to develop young players and signs players hoping to improve them in order to sell for a profit . Lots of clubs lose players for pittance at times I think . There's other times we have done well too in Fletcher £3 mill , Brown £4.4 mill.
The three players SJM , Nisbet and Porto all had contract issues and at the time I think we got the best we could for them . SJM we were never going to replace with a equally talented player, Nisbet I don't think we have missed since signing Vente who imo is equally as talented and when Porto left I thought with Fish we looked more solid at the back once he settled in too .
We probably couldn't keep kukhareych though are we any worse of attacking wise since signing Vente and Youan? . Finding a gem and to start thinking about what we can get for him before his contract runs out is something that effects bigger clubs than us , I doubt even with Bournemouths owner we would struggle to hold on to gems we had in the past like SJM , Fletcher or Brown anyhow .
Why is that better than having an actually arrangement like the one suggested with all the positive stuff ? I just don't like the thought of Hibernian just becoming one of a number of clubs in a pyramid for Bournemouth . Over the years we have had many people at our club that have made us there main priority , don't think we will be anywhere near bill Foley's main priority .
I'd rather stay as Hibs and take a odd beating than become a Bournemouth B team and dish a few out TBH .
They probably will invest in Hibs and it doesn't matter a jot what I or anyone thinks about it anyhow!.
Can you give an example of another multi-club set up involving an EPL team where another team in the model is considered their B team?
02-11-2023, 10:04 PM
Refuse to accept outside investment and we are destined for continuous mediocrity.
Personally, I’m happy to try something different.
02-11-2023, 10:21 PM
Ok buddy, I respect your trepidation.
But I think you'll change your mind about it in the not to distant future.
If it actually happens!!!
CB Hibs 68
02-11-2023, 10:49 PM
They probably will invest in Hibs and it doesn't matter a jot what I or anyone thinks about it anyhow!.I agree entirely.My concern is that Hibs are potentially becoming more removed from our roots.I think Ron had decent intentions in terms of community engagement but don’t tell me an American billionaire has any altruistic intentions.Let’s wait and see but I am definitely not rejoicing at Hibs being a feeder club to Bournemouth
03-11-2023, 12:28 AM
I agree entirely.My concern is that Hibs are potentially becoming more removed from our roots.I think Ron had decent intentions in terms of community engagement but don’t tell me an American billionaire has any altruistic intentions.Let’s wait and see but I am definitely not rejoicing at Hibs being a feeder club to Bournemouth
Manchester City and Newcastle are about as far removed from their roots as they possibly could be but there isnt a whole lot of complaining from their fans.
Paloschi
03-11-2023, 01:36 AM
Woooooo!!!
03-11-2023, 04:49 AM
I agree entirely.My concern is that Hibs are potentially becoming more removed from our roots.I think Ron had decent intentions in terms of community engagement but don’t tell me an American billionaire has any altruistic intentions.Let’s wait and see but I am definitely not rejoicing at Hibs being a feeder club to Bournemouth
What does that actually mean in practice though? What would actually change?
We are currently owned by an American family.
How would Bill Foley owning us make any difference to connections to our "roots"?
03-11-2023, 05:41 AM
What does that actually mean in practice though? What would actually change?
We are currently owned by an American family.
How would Bill Foley owning us make any difference to connections to our "roots"?
How would folk feel if they renamed Easter Road the Capital One arena? It's not the biggest issue for me as we'd all still call it ER but the kind of thing that can be done to generate money that I would argue moves us away from the community.
What if ticket prices start to go up massively? Now I know that's likely to only happen on the back of sustained success so many will shrug their shoulders but we could see people who are part of our traditional fan base priced out.
What if the price of the land ER is on is high enough that there is value in selling and building a new stadium at the edge of Edinburgh?
I feel like I'm just being a moany ******* here but football is littered with pishy owner's doing terrible things.
This guy seems to have done well with an American ice hockey team but football in Scotland is a totally different beast, and we have very little real information to tell us whether he's a good owner or not.
James Stephen
03-11-2023, 05:49 AM
There are i think, a few lessons from history that can inform this debate.
I cant help but think this is a similar discussion to that many fans would have had around the time of Harry Swan, when he modernised the club in the 40s and 50s, which was a move away from the club's roots.
I suspect few, if any, fans now think that was a bad thing, not least because it worked on field, but also because those fans who remember what it was like before die off, and so how the club is today is normal.
In 50 years time, the success of the takeover will be judged largely by how it plays on the field, and those still alive who can remember the days before it happened will have shuffled off.
Also, this is a consequence of Hibs fans of not taking ownership of that heritage when it had the chance - the local identity ship sailed when Farmer sold to the Gordons.
Lastly, football is an unsentimental environment, and often those that dont evolve and change with the game get left behind, like Hibs in the 1880s when professionalism was coming, and Celtic stole a march. And of course, Queen's Park, who took 130 years to recover!
Also Hibs were early adopters and embracers of European fitba, something that not everyone was and that changed the game fundamentally, and that was to the club's benefit.
Ultimately, football changes, and Hibs cant stop it changing. They either try to make it work and get ahead of it, or hunker down and hope it goes away. I think football history shows which is likely to be the most successful approach.
03-11-2023, 06:12 AM
How would folk feel if they renamed Easter Road the Capital One arena? It's not the biggest issue for me as we'd all still call it ER but the kind of thing that can be done to generate money that I would argue moves us away from the community.
What if ticket prices start to go up massively? Now I know that's likely to only happen on the back of sustained success so many will shrug their shoulders but we could see people who are part of our traditional fan base priced out.
What if the price of the land ER is on is high enough that there is value in selling and building a new stadium at the edge of Edinburgh?
I feel like I'm just being a moany ******* here but football is littered with pishy owner's doing terrible things.
This guy seems to have done well with an American ice hockey team but football in Scotland is a totally different beast, and we have very little real information to tell us whether he's a good owner or not.
I don’t see how a stadium name change moves hibs away from the community.
The community connection, for me, is established through the work of the guys in the foundation and I can’t see that changing with a billionaire coming in. Someone mentioned city and newc but I’m fairly certain they have big community projects which their owners help fund, which is surely a good thing (if I am correct).
I don’t know their history very well, and I know geographically speaking they have and advantage, but Celtic took our idea (and the rest) and turned it into a marketable advantage (Irish club) which they have benefitted from since inception, in becoming one of the biggest clubs in the country and a well known club around the world on the back of their commercial approach.
I’m often jealous that it wasn’t our club that exploded in size like they did.
I’m interested in what our ‘roots’ means to people as well.
03-11-2023, 06:34 AM
If we get a very good player cheap and he’s then sold on for a huge profit (either to Bournemouth or elsewhere), that helps out with FFP in terms of income. There’s more than one way to skin a cat.
Man City did it by selling the naming rights to their stadium for about £400m before that loophole was kiboshed. There’s always a way to make money however.
03-11-2023, 06:34 AM
There's absolutely no suggestion he'd do any of the things you mention. He might, but then absolutely any owner might (including the Gordons if the money was right in relation to stadium naming rights I suspect).
I've still to see any actual evidence of how we'd be moving away from the community or our roots if he did eventually become owner. We're currently owned by a family with Peruvian and American roots
Should we look to only be owned by someone from Leith/Edinburgh/Scotland (delete as to how far you think our roots should stretch). If so the pool of potential owners is going to be extremely small.
The fact he is genuinely very wealthy probably means the idea of selling the land for a profit is less than a not so wealthy owner. To put it bluntly he wouldn't need the money. It would also make the takeover in future of existing clubs (which is a stated goal of his) extremely difficult as a precedent would be set.
03-11-2023, 06:44 AM
There's absolutely no suggestion he'd do any of the things you mention. He might, but then absolutely any owner might (including the Gordons if the money was right I suspect).
I've still to see any actual evidence of how we'd be moving away from the community or our roots if he did eventually become owner. We're currently owned by a family with Peruvian and American roots
Should we look to only be owned by someone from Leith/Edinburgh/Scotland (delete as to how far you think roots should stretch). If so the pool of potential owners is going to be extremely small.
Of course there is no evidence. But there is no evidence we'll be a 3rd force and in Europe every year either if he takes over. Yet the thread is awash with those predictions.
I was initially suspicious of Ron but once I heard more about him and what his motivations were I felt better.
We have no idea what this group thinks or wants with Hibs. Until we get more info I'll remain sceptical. If others feel differently that's fine too.
And in terms of ownership, I'd like to see is go down the fan route.
03-11-2023, 06:46 AM
To become a succesful "feeder club" you have to recieve players that are of a high standard who are ready to be honed into better players capable of playing at a higher level than our league. If an American Billionaire wants to supply them to Hibs, whats the downside ?
03-11-2023, 06:56 AM
Of course there is no evidence. But there is no evidence we'll be a 3rd force and in Europe every year either if he takes over. Yet the thread is awash with those predictions.
I was initially suspicious of Ron but once I heard more about him and what his motivations were I felt better.
We have no idea what this group thinks or wants with Hibs. Until we get more info I'll remain sceptical. If others feel differently that's fine too.
And in terms of ownership, I'd like to see is go down the fan route.
I don't think anyone is predicting that we would be guaranteed 3rd places finishes. What people are saying is there is a potential that if it worked out well that could happen.
I suppose it depends if you want to look at things as either glass half empty or half full.
03-11-2023, 07:02 AM
I guarantee you will still continue to post on here regularly and watch Hibs games.
03-11-2023, 07:04 AM
To become a succesful "feeder club" you have to recieve players that are of a high standard who are ready to be honed into better players capable of playing at a higher level than our league. If an American Billionaire wants to supply them to Hibs, whats the downside ?
Personally I am very excited at the prospect of a multi-billionaire backing the club. But since you specifically look for negatives I’m going to try my best.
Our last wealthy, hands on, owner, was Tom Hart. It seemed that the down side with him was he wanted to make decisions around the playing side of the business. If stories around that are to be taken as fact, it led to the departure of Willie MacFarlane as manager. It led to the break up of the Tornadoes way too soon. And, I hate to say it, it led to Eddie Turnbull staying well beyond his sell by date.
Sir Tom Farmer was a lot less interested in football and made some great decisions to pull us out of financial trouble but also caused huge division by reducing out land footprint around ER and also seriously considered moving out of the city. Then there was the, financially sensible but frustrating, need to keep the club on a strictly controlled budget that lacked any obvious “speculate to accumulate” side to it.
Many of the ifs, buts and maybes, have been dissected already on here but I’m very optimistic about this. Personally I hope we do take this step in to a new era but it could be a bumpy ride if it turns out Foley has ulterior motives. For me, we take a big breath and hope for the best.
03-11-2023, 07:08 AM
I don't think anyone is predicting that we would be guaranteed 3rd places finishes. What people are saying is there is a potential that if it worked out well that could happen.
I suppose it depends if you want to look at things as either glass half empty or half full.
Additionally, you could look at the Vegas Golden Knights for evidence of his sporting achievements when in control.
03-11-2023, 07:54 AM
The little I’ve heard as I’ve posted is that it will be a minority ownership, so I don’t get the concerns about us becoming a feeder club. I can’t imagine someone like Bill Foley getting involved to see us flounder about in the bottom 6 though. What he plans on investing I don’t know any details of but it will still be the Gordons who are our majority owners, if they choose to go ahead with his offer.
03-11-2023, 08:07 AM
Sometimes in life you have to take risks, and as of this moment we dont know either way if it is a risk or not.
If we carry on as it is now, i'd guess it would be more of the same mundane stuff that we've all been acustomed to over most of our lifetimes.
Is anyone really not just a little excited about this, not even a little?
I'm behind it 100%, probably because of my age, i just want us to have better players, a better team and more wins, maybe even get nearer to the bigots and give them a bloody nose more often than we currently do.
And hump the gimps a few times too would be nice.:greengrin
Even if Foley turned out to be another Romanov, we could just do the same as them and go into administration, set the club up again and start again, even that would be exciting in itself in a morbid type of way.
So for me, bring it on, lets have a bit of excitement around the place for a few years. :thumbsup:
03-11-2023, 08:14 AM
The little I’ve heard as I’ve posted is that it will be a minority ownership, so I don’t get the concerns about us becoming a feeder club. I can’t imagine someone like Bill Foley getting involved to see us flounder about in the bottom 6 though. What he plans on investing I don’t know any details of but it will still be the Gordons who are our majority owners, if they choose to go ahead with his offer.
Is his shareholding to be new shares, or is he buying some of the Gordons'.
Renfrew_Hibby
03-11-2023, 08:16 AM
Sounds similar to the Braga situation in Portugal. I'm sure their fans ain't complaining!
03-11-2023, 08:20 AM
That I don’t know for sure, but I think it’s their shares.
03-11-2023, 08:43 AM
I guarantee you will still continue to post on here regularly and watch Hibs games.
03-11-2023, 08:45 AM
This site is rammed with people waiting to rip the club to bits when we lose games yet we have plenty people that don't want rich investors. Either be happy being a mid level Scottish team or try and improve the balance sheet which in turn "should" result in a better product on the park.
03-11-2023, 08:47 AM
There was a quote posted earlier on this thread where Foley admitted to being a control freak and that he doesn’t really do minority stakes as he wants a big say in his investments. I think the suggestion is that the minority stake is just the beginning.
Agree with your general point though. I think it’s really exciting.
03-11-2023, 08:54 AM
That I don’t know for sure, but I think it’s their shares.
Oh, do find out! :greengrin
If that is the case, that's better news for HS, in that it doesn't dilute their shareholding any more.
However, it means that some of his money will be going to the Gordons, and not to the club.
03-11-2023, 08:57 AM
If that is the case, that's better news for HS, in that it doesn't dilute their shareholding any more.
However, it means that some of his money will be going to the Gordons, and not to the club.
Out of interest do you know the current total number off Hibs shares (or where I can look it up)? No reason beyond the fact that I like to know what exact percentage of the club I own.
03-11-2023, 09:00 AM
Out of interest do you know the current total number off Hibs shares (or where I can look it up)? No reason beyond the fact that I like to know what exact percentage of the club I own.
125m shares of 2p each. :greengrin
03-11-2023, 09:00 AM
Would it not be easier for him to buy the HSL shares?
leith lynx
03-11-2023, 09:03 AM
Sometimes in life you have to take risks, and as of this moment we dont know either way if it is a risk or not.
If we carry on as it is now, i'd guess it would be more of the same mundane stuff that we've all been acustomed to over most of our lifetimes.
Is anyone really not just a little excited about this, not even a little?
I'm behind it 100%, probably because of my age, i just want us to have better players, a better team and more wins, maybe even get nearer to the bigots and give them a bloody nose more often than we currently do.
And hump the gimps a few times too would be nice.:greengrin
Even if Foley turned out to be another Romanov, we could just do the same as them and go into administration, set the club up again and start again, even that would be exciting in itself in a morbid type of way.
So for me, bring it on, lets have a bit of excitement around the place for a few years. :thumbsup:
I'm with you on this, whatever would happen, Hibernian FC will never die, whether it be Champions League or Lowland League, who knows!
03-11-2023, 09:08 AM
125m shares of 2p each. :greengrin
Cheers, I have 0.004% then. Bill Foley will need to keep me sweet.
Given their stated purpose, why would they want to sell?
banchoryhibs
03-11-2023, 09:12 AM
That's the question.
If he's buying some of the Gordon's shares his "investment" goes directly to them. I don't think that there are any other shares currently available to be purchased from the club, I'm sure that Ron snapped all available unallocated shares when he bought his controlling interest.
If the idea is to have a rights issue to generate new shares for him to purchase all current shareholders should have the opportunity to participate in this. This would generate a significant cash injection into the club but the Gordon family would have to contribute as well. If they did not their shareholding could be significantly diluted.
Approximately 33% of the club shares are in the hands of supporters - with Hibernian Supporters Ltd having 15.4% of these. He may have his eves on the other 18% but I feel that that may be unlikely.
There could well be other ways for him to acquire a minority shareholding, perhaps using different classes of shares, but I'll leave that up to corporate accountants to figure out.
banchoryhibs
03-11-2023, 09:13 AM
To do this HSL would have to be willing to sell.
03-11-2023, 09:20 AM
Probably not as it will go against the constitution of HSL which is to buy shares in Hibs not sell them
03-11-2023, 09:37 AM
Been thinking about this a bit. Digested it and changed my opinion.
I suppose we could sit still and do nothing and keep on getting the same outcome of being a mediocre top flight Scottish club who play a couple of rounds in European qualifiers every few years if we're lucky. What have we really got to lose in this situation?
In saying that, chucking money at something and hoping it works is very different from having a well oiled machine of a football club with the correct people in the correct positions though. I'm not privy to the inner workings of Hibs but if you were going to invest a significant amount of your own money in a particular club you would be. If Foley is confident we are that club and worth the investment then great. Happy to go with it.
Try something different to everyone else? Why not?
Greenworld
03-11-2023, 09:37 AM
From everything I've read and from what has happened at Hibs since the Gordon's arrived this is as much about acceleration of the already fantastic work done in increasing Hibs turnover through hospitality. Advertising revenues ect. It is not lost on Bill Foley that 30% of American voters claim irish ancestry. Thats one hell of a market for a name like Hibernian to tap into. Just like finishing third is now a real money earner . So yes investment is required to get the club to that place and perhaps the Gordon's and maybe Ron was involved before his passing, realised this.
I agree we don't know the full details but all I can see is better players a better team and I'm all for that.
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
03-11-2023, 09:44 AM
From everything I've read and from what has happened at Hibs since the Gordon's arrived this is as much about acceleration of the already fantastic work done in increasing Hibs turnover through hospitality. Advertising revenues ect. It is not lost on Bill Foley that 30% of American voters claim irish ancestry. Thats one hell of a market for a name like Hibernian to tap into. Just like finishing third is now a real money earner . So yes investment is required to get the club to that place and perhaps the Gordon's and maybe Ron was involved before his passing, realised this.
I agree we don't know the full details but all I can see is better players a better team and I'm all for that.
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
3rd is only a real money spinner for this season I think. Scotland's coefficient has dropped so I'm not sure it will give guaranteed group stage further after this year.
hibsforeurope
03-11-2023, 09:53 AM
It'll be interesting to see how much Foley pays for the 15% or so from the Gordon's. given the low price Ron paid Sir Tom and the increased club value, this 15% could make them back a good chunk of that back.
how much are owners/investors allowed to put in to the club before it becomes frowned upon by Uefa/SPFL, i'm sure Ron initially put in 1-2M. Could Foley potentially put in much more than this or is that not allowed?
03-11-2023, 09:59 AM
It'll be interesting to see how much Foley pays for the 15% or so from the Gordon's. given the low price Ron paid Sir Tom and the increased club value, this 15% could make them back a good chunk of that back.
how much are owners/investors allowed to put in to the club before it becomes frowned upon by Uefa/SPFL, i'm sure Ron initially put in 1-2M. Could Foley potentially put in much more than this or is that not allowed?
€60m over the three-year FFP period. The FFP limit is significant for clubs operating at a higher financial level than us, but at present it's barely relevant for us. This is the same reason that Anderson's donations to Hearts don't break FFP rules.
hibbie02
03-11-2023, 10:02 AM
I am not against a mega rich yank, with a sports network buying into Hibs. I can also see it getting us ahead of the nonOF teams for a while and blowing about another first for the club. You have to admire someone that can make a success out of a NHL expansion team based in a desert.
My issue would be that our owner has Bournemouth as his leading team and we would be tied to them in some way. They have punched well above their weight for years before Foley got involved. I’ve lived there. It is not a football town, their stadium is smaller than ours (for that reason) and their style of football is so boring.
By likely being first to move to this model, we are potentially opening the door to other franchises moving in. Imagine if in the future Hertz were to become part of Fenway (I know, but imagine) and we were stuck tied to Bournemouth….
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
TrinityHFC
03-11-2023, 10:04 AM
That's the question.
If he's buying some of the Gordon's shares his "investment" goes directly to them. I don't think that there are any other shares currently available to be purchased from the club, I'm sure that Ron snapped all available unallocated shares when he bought his controlling interest.
If the idea is to have a rights issue to generate new shares for him to purchase all current shareholders should have the opportunity to participate in this. This would generate a significant cash injection into the club but the Gordon family would have to contribute as well. If they did not their shareholding could be significantly diluted.
Approximately 33% of the club shares are in the hands of supporters - with Hibernian Supporters Ltd having 15.4% of these. He may have his eves on the other 18% but I feel that that may be unlikely.
There could well be other ways for him to acquire a minority shareholding, perhaps using different classes of shares, but I'll leave that up to corporate accountants to figure out.
It is a complex area and there are different ways of being able to create and allot additional shares.
My issues with HSL is do they really know what the point of them having a big shareholding is? Do they really understand even if they do get there what they can and can’t stop. How often has such a thing been needed in the past 3 decades and when would it in future?
I think they also have to accept now that the other private shareholders are very happy having their own direct part of the club and aren’t that interested in being part of a larger minority ownership. Just don’t see the point and it’s a missed opportunity to have a scheme that could have been supplying funding to the team.
03-11-2023, 10:11 AM
Who said the Gordon’s are selling their shares? I expect it’ll be a new share issue.
hibsforeurope
03-11-2023, 10:16 AM
Who said the Gordon’s are selling their shares? I expect it’ll be a new share issue.
There was something in one of the articles i've read about it (the Athletic I think) suggesting that it would be from the Gordon's share holding.
'The Gordons currently own 67 per cent of the shares and want to maintain control of the club, so Black Knight’s stake, should the deal go through, is likely to be in the region of 15 per cent. However, this would probably be a first step towards a larger investment in time.'
03-11-2023, 10:22 AM
There was something in one of the articles i've read about it (the Athletic I think) suggesting that it would be from the Gordon's share holding.
'The Gordons currently own 67 per cent of the shares and want to maintain control of the club, so Black Knight’s stake, should the deal go through, is likely to be in the region of 15 per cent. However, this would probably be a first step towards a larger investment in time.'
There is nothing in that quote that suggests it wouldn’t be a new share issue. Any new shares issued to Bill Foley would reduce the % holding of the Gordon’s because the total number of shares would have increased.
hibsforeurope
03-11-2023, 10:30 AM
There is nothing in that quote that suggests it wouldn’t be a new share issue. Any new shares issued to Bill Foley would reduce the % holding of the Gordon’s because the total number of shares would have increased.
true, but until the details come out it's just speculation either way. I don't know enough about it to know which is best other than new shares is not great for HSL
Donegal Hibby
03-11-2023, 10:31 AM
Manchester City and Newcastle are about as far removed from their roots as they possibly could be but there isnt a whole lot of complaining from their fans.
Totally different situations though H , Man city are top dog with there owners who own other clubs that are feeder clubs ! , Newcastle United are also the main priority with there owners, it's been quite a turnaround there with a top notch manager , exciting signings like Isak and now looking into increasing the capacity of St James park to a level were it will have the 2nd biggest capacity in England ! .No matter what riches we get from Bill Foley we will never be the main priority with him ! .
chippy
03-11-2023, 10:40 AM
Totally different situations though H , Man city are top dog with there owners who own other clubs that are feeder clubs ! , Newcastle United are also the main priority with there owners, it's been quite a turnaround there with a top notch manager , exciting signings like Isak and now looking into increasing the capacity of St James park to a level were it will have the 2nd biggest capacity in England ! .No matter what riches we get from Bill Foley we will never be the main priority with him ! .
Never say never Donegal. If he eventually made us top dog and we started getting 1st or 2nd in league we’d be in Champs league territory regularly. Bournemouth won’t do that a maybe he sees us as a sideways move and into it. £20 mill per season for 4 years would scare the life out of the old firm especially if recruitment was top notch
03-11-2023, 10:41 AM
Aye but wait until he hears SOL after we win the league cup and he realises Bournemouth are just a diddy club :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
03-11-2023, 10:43 AM
If you say so pal though if we become a feeder club for a S****y club like Bournemouth I don't think I will be that bothered about both tbh 😔
Out of interest, how many players have Man City's feeder clubs fed into them?
chippy
03-11-2023, 10:47 AM
Ok Jeffers how much money is excellent ?
03-11-2023, 10:48 AM
I’d much rather be associated with Bournemouth than the journalist murdering, human-rights abusing Saudi-regime.
Donegal Hibby
03-11-2023, 10:53 AM
Out of interest, how many players have Man City's feeder clubs fed into them?
Honestly don't know mate , I doubt theres any tbh . I'd imagine the clubs they own are just owned so they can put out players that they don't want and move them about from club to club . Think its quite sad that certain clubs are used like this and lose whatever respect and identity they had !!!
03-11-2023, 10:56 AM
Probably not as it will go against the constitution of HSL which is to buy shares in Hibs not sell them
Yeh but if someone comes along as says I'm willing to put in 50m over five years if you give me your shares why wouldn't HSL sell them? What's the actual purpose of HSL these days?
03-11-2023, 10:59 AM
Honestly don't know mate , I doubt theres any tbh . I'd imagine the clubs they own are just owned so they can put out players that they don't want and move them about from club to club . Think its quite sad that certain clubs are used like this and lose whatever respect and identity they had !!!
Quite funny you are talking about respect and identity but happily support a team being run by Saudi Arabia.
hibsforeurope
03-11-2023, 11:00 AM
If you say so pal though if we become a feeder club for a S****y club like Bournemouth I don't think I will be that bothered about both tbh 😔
As has been mentioned previously we're a selling club anyway, Bournemouth are higher level than we've sold the majority of out players too recently (even Villa were championship when we sold them SJM). we've also not really got market value for those players.
Bournemouth can't just decide they want to take our players and not give anything in return, they are still separate clubs. it might be that player sales would be an easy way for Foley to put more money in to Hibs, without it being frowned upon under FFP. they are looking to develop players to EPL standard, if we're the last stop off on the journey to the EPL (with the favourable work permits we could be 2nd in line) the players we get should be decent. Say we get £5m transfer fee for players that's still more than we've ever made on transfers, thats big money for us but not for an EPL side.
03-11-2023, 11:04 AM
This site is rammed with people waiting to rip the club to bits when we lose games yet we have plenty people that don't want rich investors. Either be happy being a mid level Scottish team or try and improve the balance sheet which in turn "should" result in a better product on the park.
God help some people if we turn into a good team and they have to vent their anger management issues elsewhere.
Donegal Hibby
03-11-2023, 11:09 AM
I’d much rather be associated with Bournemouth than the journalist murdering, human-rights abusing Saudi-regime.
Totally agree with what your saying about Newcastle owners btw , I didn't want to see them taken over either just as much as I don't want to see a club I've supported for forty years with a great history and tradition become some accessory for Bournemouth either . Difference is though whatever our views of the Saudi regime are , Newcastle United are their main priority , Bill Foley's priority is to buy or get shares in 5 or 6 clubs for Bournemouths benefit.
5 or 6 Bournemouth reserve teams basically !. Glad your happy about that one btw ! .
03-11-2023, 11:11 AM
God help some people if we turn into a good team and they have to vent their anger management issues elsewhere.
I dont take them very serious, as I kinda suspect not all have Hibs best interest at heart.
This could be very very good for Hibs, perhaps it would be a complete Foley to miss a chance like this.