View Full Version : We need to talk about Lee
Pages :
[
2]
14-08-2022, 08:44 AM
Johnson has shown total disrespect to Scottish football from the minute he walked through the door and treated the league cup as an experimental competition not to be taken seriously.
Unfortunately he doesn't seem to take the Scottish Premier league seriously either with his absolute inability to construct a spine to the team and his reliance on a few individuals such as Boyler obviously and the excellent Marshall to get him out of jail.
There isn't much of a team spirit,the shape is disjointed, the match preparation poor and his signings which he makes the final sign off call on range between useless to at best limited work in progress.
Scottish football is far bigger and better than posing managers who didnt even have the decency to do any basic preparation of how teams in this league set up whereby if you have hard working and hard running physical midfielders operating in a tight circle then it might not win you the game but it gives you a huge head start.
Johnson might learn but I expect him to behave in exactly the same way as the Yorkshire pudding with his dogmatic arrogance.
We have our problems, and it remains to be seen whether he’s the man to fix them, but what a load of ***** this is.
14-08-2022, 08:48 AM
The biggest factor for me is that we stick with Lee Johnson and his staff no matter how up and down this year is.
He’s going to build us a good team in time.
Pretty much agree with this. Only time for a change would be if we look like heading for relegation.
xqnq1875
14-08-2022, 08:48 AM
I’d say that result was more on the players yesterday than lee Johnson, nothing you can do when the defence was as bad as it was yesterday Paul hanlon proving once again that whenever he comes up against a striker with some sort of physical presence he ****s the bed and the midfield (mainly newell) having a stinker as well, we’re still in dire need of a good cb and a cm it’s getting beyond frustrating now
I'm Spartacus
14-08-2022, 09:17 PM
We scored a very late goal v a 10 man St J.
A scored very late goal v them with the Boyle effect.
Lose to Livi.
Bar the 2 last kicks of the ball goals, we could easily be on 1 point :(
Are we ok? Or are these late late goals covering some cracks?
Lendo
14-08-2022, 09:26 PM
Johnson has shown total disrespect to Scottish football from the minute he walked through the door and treated the league cup as an experimental competition not to be taken seriously.
Unfortunately he doesn't seem to take the Scottish Premier league seriously either with his absolute inability to construct a spine to the team and his reliance on a few individuals such as Boyler obviously and the excellent Marshall to get him out of jail.
There isn't much of a team spirit,the shape is disjointed, the match preparation poor and his signings which he makes the final sign off call on range between useless to at best limited work in progress.
Scottish football is far bigger and better than posing managers who didnt even have the decency to do any basic preparation of how teams in this league set up whereby if you have hard working and hard running physical midfielders operating in a tight circle then it might not win you the game but it gives you a huge head start.
Johnson might learn but I expect him to behave in exactly the same way as the Yorkshire pudding with his dogmatic arrogance.
Tried my hardest to avoid this place after Saturday. Wished I’d tried a little harder. This is like the ramblings of John Doe in Se7en. ****ing howling.
14-08-2022, 09:35 PM
Just when you think that comments can't get any more ridiculous, bam, proved wrong again.
14-08-2022, 09:43 PM
The biggest factor for me is that we stick with Lee Johnson and his staff no matter how up and down this year is.
He’s going to build us a good team in time.
If he can’t see we need a centre mid then I don’t think we should stick with him. If he can’t see that then he clearly doesn’t know what he’s doing. What’s the point of sticking with a failing manager.
Stokesy's on fire
14-08-2022, 09:48 PM
Lose to Livi.
The Cracks arent covered everyone can see them.
14-08-2022, 09:48 PM
Good one! Where is your comedy show on at the fringe as I need a good laugh! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
14-08-2022, 09:49 PM
If he can’t see we need a centre mid then I don’t think we should stick with him. If he can’t see that then he clearly doesn’t know what he’s doing. What’s the point of sticking with a failing manager.
He has been in the job 5 minutes!
Just when you think that comments can't get any more ridiculous, bam, proved wrong again.
That's the logic of a bald man's comb for you.
14-08-2022, 10:14 PM
I fear this is going to be another failed experiment. The recruitment process of bringing in unproven young foreign players into this league is not going to work. We need players that know this league and cultivate our own homegrown talent.
How Tait can't get near this team and sending out the one young player who looks like he could cut it, Delferriere, out on loan is baffling.
14-08-2022, 10:26 PM
I fear this is going to be another failed experiment. The recruitment process of bringing in unproven young foreign players into this league is not going to work. We need players that know this league and cultivate our own homegrown talent.
How Tait can't get near this team and sending out the one young player who looks like he could cut it, Delferriere, out on loan is baffling.
You mean like the same tired policy that we've always had? You mean the one that's won us 4 cups in the 60 years I've been alive? Yeah, fantastic....
14-08-2022, 10:57 PM
You mean like the same tired policy that we've always had? You mean the one that's won us 4 cups in the 60 years I've been alive? Yeah, fantastic....
In that same period using that tired old policy Aberdeen have won 16 trophies, Dundee United 5 and European final and semi final.
Hearts using a mixture of proven local and foreign players trophies.
Nobody tried our current approach.
14-08-2022, 11:07 PM
In that same period using that tired old policy Aberdeen have won 16 trophies, Dundee United 5 and European final and semi final.
Hearts using a mixture of proven local and foreign players trophies.
Nobody tried our current approach.
Whit? The Aberdeen team under Fergie were for the most part youngsters who were brought through the system. Players like Strachan and McGhee were bought in but not so Miller, McLeish, Eric Black etc etc There absolutely are similarities to what we are trying to do if given long enough and not drowned out by nay sayers like you.
phoenixfire
14-08-2022, 11:44 PM
Whit? The Aberdeen team under Fergie were for the most part youngsters who were brought through the system. Players like Strachan and McGhee were bought in but not so Miller, McLeish, Eric Black etc etc There absolutely are similarities to what we are trying to do if given long enough and not drowned out by nay sayers like you.
Johnson needs time ! Said as much himself think he said he needs 3 or 4 transfer windows ! Have a good vibe about him, I know there's problems with the team but come on give the guy a chance!
14-08-2022, 11:47 PM
Johnson needs time ! Said as much himself think he said he needs 3 or 4 transfer windows ! Have a good vibe about him, I know there's problems with the team but come on give the guy a chance!
I'm agreeing with you, this place is full of posters who think you can build the roof first and work down.
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 12:01 AM
I'm agreeing with you, this place is full of posters who think you can build the roof first and work down.
Too right as they say Rome wasn't built in a day ! Seem to think when Fergie took over at utd he was close to sack in his first year there ! Now I'm not saying Johnson is a Fergie but guy needs time ! Problem here is we lose a game and some want manager gone right away sad that to be honest with you!
15-08-2022, 12:05 AM
He also said he watched Hibs before taking the job and 3 games into the season we still have the same problem.
Roll on August 2024
15-08-2022, 12:16 AM
He also said he watched Hibs before taking the job and 3 games into the season we still have the same problem.
Roll on August 2024
True. We should tell him to decide who he wants then drive to their hooses, wheech them oot the door and frogmarch them doon tae Easter Road.
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 12:26 AM
Roll on August 2024
A win away against st Johnstone ! Didn't do well against them last year! A draw with hearts at home against a hearts team that's not had many changes ! A loss to Livingston 67 percent of the play, 25 shots , 14 corners I think ! Horrible pitch , penalty turned down which I thought it was ! I know we were poor first half but another day we would have taken a point at least ! We have good manager here ! Maybe problems not that quick to fix as you think?
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 12:53 AM
Roll on August 2024
He watched Livingston and Dundee game I think! Same problem I take it you mean is midfield ? Though some say defence ! Others say we need another striker! We got martin Boyle back which was really amazing also must have cost us Abit I think ! Manager said we have went slightly over our budget to get him and any incomings would depend on players going! All our midfielders are on long contracts and we would need interest in them too! Maybe we shouldn't have signed Boyle and fixed the same problem you are on about? What a uproar that would have caused! Manager is going to be slated one way or the other on here anyhow!
15-08-2022, 05:17 AM
A win away against st Johnstone ! Didn't do well against them last year! A draw with hearts at home against a hearts team that's not had many changes ! A loss to Livingston 67 percent of the play, 25 shots , 14 corners I think ! Horrible pitch , penalty turned down which I thought it was ! I know we were poor first half but another day we would have taken a point at least ! We have good manager here ! Maybe problems not that quick to fix as you think?
We beat st Johnstone 3 times and drew once last year.
I think there is merit to what you say, though. We're not that bad. Still the real worry is the league cup games. Our league start hasn't been a total disaster. Need to give a good performance against Rangers and win the 2 after that.
I'm Spartacus
15-08-2022, 07:38 AM
I like to share our What's App group chat debates here from time to time to get a different perspective (I won't share the photos though!) :)
One thing that's been discussed is "Did Lee sign/want Boyle?"
He's on a decent wedge, we've not paid anything for him BUT we won't receive the remaining payments so there is a very decent budget commitment there.
The debate comes from Lee's vision for his squad, was he searching for 'a Boyle'? Given the financial commitment involved was he looking to spend that on that position?
Or was the name put to him, he's watched the videos and seen what he can do and then seen it as a no brainer from there?
15-08-2022, 07:52 AM
Agree with all of that. The guy needs a bit of patience and support. Glad we have him.
15-08-2022, 07:55 AM
If Lee does well here it's good for him and Hibs just hope if a decent gig down south crops up he doesn't go both Lee and hibs want success so good fit
15-08-2022, 08:00 AM
Much much much too early to be punting the manager. I'm at loss though why we have not signed at least one more centre half. It's as clear as day that it's a huge weakness for us.
15-08-2022, 08:04 AM
I like to share our What's App group chat debates here from time to time to get a different perspective (I won't share the photos though!) :)
One thing that's been discussed is "Did Lee sign/want Boyle?"
He's on a decent wedge, we've not paid anything for him BUT we won't receive the remaining payments so there is a very decent budget commitment there.
The debate comes from Lee's vision for his squad, was he searching for 'a Boyle'? Given the financial commitment involved was he looking to spend that on that position?
Or was the name put to him, he's watched the videos and seen what he can do and then seen it as a no brainer from there?
I may be wrong but am sure I remember one of his interviews where he said they had watched Boyle as a potential signing when he was managing down south? With McGeady out brining in Boyle was an easy call for him and Hibs.
Did it mean sacrificing his budget for other positions? I guess we will see in the next 2 weeks!
15-08-2022, 08:08 AM
Much much much too early to be punting the manager. I'm at loss though why we have not signed at least one more centre half. It's as clear as day that it's a huge weakness for us.
I’m not sure who is asking him to be punted
GreenGray
15-08-2022, 08:11 AM
Exactly, what chance has he got inheriting the squad he did. Any manager would struggle to turn us around completely in one transfer window, these things take time I just hope he’ll get it.
15-08-2022, 08:14 AM
Exactly, what chance has he got inheriting the squad he did. Any manager would struggle to turn us around completely in one transfer window, these things take time I just hope he’ll get it.
Totally agree.
Plus, we aren't going to go a season undefeated, so all this hyperbole could be taken down a notch IMO.
15-08-2022, 08:27 AM
Next five games are:
Rangers (H)
St Mirren (A)
Kilmarnock (H)
Dundee Utd (A)
Aberdeen (H)
Anything less than eight points from that and we can start getting worried.
15-08-2022, 08:33 AM
Lose to Livi.
We more then deserved the result against both St Johnstone and hearts.
All three league games we had a higher xG than our opponent
15-08-2022, 08:40 AM
That’s a positive stat and will hopefully lead to us actually taking our chances and picking up more points as the season progresses.
15-08-2022, 08:43 AM
Next five games are:
Rangers (H)
St Mirren (A)
Kilmarnock (H)
Dundee Utd (A)
Aberdeen (H)
We probably need to get 9 points from those three in the middle if we're to set ourselves up for a good season. Rangers is, as always for me against the Old Firm, a free hit and I don't read too much into the results. Aberdeen is always a tough game for us and I'm still not sure what type of team they are at the moment. But if we do want to finish in the top 4 (maybe even solidly top 5) we need to see something in those 3 games that will show us we can.
If we don't come out of that 3 game run with at least 2 wins I will begin to shift my expectations of the season to be a lot lower personally.
I'm Spartacus
15-08-2022, 08:55 AM
Next five games are:
Rangers (H)
St Mirren (A)
Kilmarnock (H)
Dundee Utd (A)
Aberdeen (H)
We can write the next game off, anything is a complete bonus.
12 points and we can keep the faith we are a top 6 side.
9 points and we know there's a win in there.
6 and we are in the mix at the wrong end already.
Less than 6 then we better strap ourselves in :(
15-08-2022, 08:59 AM
Anybody sensible world realise we couldn’t completely turn things round in one window.
Time does need to be earned though and if we continue to see the same things let us down as we did last season, he’ll not get as much as he wants.
I have no issue with the amount of money we’re spending but I just can’t get my head round the lack of central midfielder or centre half.
15-08-2022, 09:04 AM
Of course we deserved these results and you could argue we didn't deserve to lose to Livingston but as we know too well, getting the results we deserve has been the problem for a couple of seasons now and most of our problems continue to be self inflicted which is frustrating to watch.
I'm Spartacus
15-08-2022, 09:18 AM
So based on that we should be in the market for a finisher? Or our current strikers should be working to improve their finishing.
15-08-2022, 09:28 AM
I’m not sure who is asking him to be punted
Did i say someone was asking for to be punted? All I'm saying is that it's far to early to be doing so.
15-08-2022, 10:18 AM
Next five games are:
Rangers (H) 0
St Mirren (A) 1
Kilmarnock (H) 3
Dundee Utd (A) 0
Aberdeen (H) 0
I could see us coming away with as little as four points from these games the way we are playing right now.
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 10:56 AM
We beat st Johnstone 3 times and drew once last year.
I think there is merit to what you say, though. We're not that bad. Still the real worry is the league cup games. Our league start hasn't been a total disaster. Need to give a good performance against Rangers and win the 2 after that.
Thanks for correcting me was getting mixed up with season they beat us in cups rangers came a free hit for us hopefully play well and Nick a draw :aok:
thebausburst
15-08-2022, 11:39 AM
The thing for me is where is the style of play LJ was talking about, even the Livi manager was talking about our root one hoof ball
15-08-2022, 11:46 AM
The thing for me is where is the style of play LJ was talking about, even the Livi manager was talking about our root one hoof ball
To be fair to the defence, when they look up to make a pass, it’s rare that they will see our midfielders showing for it.
15-08-2022, 11:50 AM
That’s a positive stat and will hopefully lead to us actually taking our chances and picking up more points as the season progresses.
expected versus actual tho.
There’s the flaw with some stats.
15-08-2022, 12:24 PM
We can write the next game off, anything is a complete bonus.
12 points and we can keep the faith we are a top 6 side.
9 points and we know there's a win in there.
6 and we are in the mix at the wrong end already.
Less than 6 then we better strap ourselves in :(
48 points out of a possible 114 got you 4th place last year. I don't see that being much different this year. We could get zero points from the next 6 games and still get 4th quite easily with a really good run after Christmas.
I'm not suggesting that's a good attitude to have, or what any of us want, but if we can pick up an average of 1.3 points a game for the rest of the season then we will likely made top 5. We are currently averaging 1.33
If we pick up 6 points we are on course for a top 5 finish, not a bottom 6 finish.
Not exciting, not what we want..but most likely true.
15-08-2022, 12:34 PM
That's not a flaw. It is the purpose of the measure.
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 01:31 PM
Actual would be better ,expected is good as Johnson's just in the door with near enough a new team ! 25 shots away to Livingston and over 60 percent of play! Goals will come I think ! Could be worse and we could have Maloney then your into non existant stats!
15-08-2022, 02:37 PM
Whilst I agree it's not a good start, I think it's too early for this kind of chat. I think the difference betweeen LJ and SM is that LJ has a decent enough track record to show he could turn out to be a decent appointment where SM looked lost from very early on. We need a decent turn out at the weekend then onto a decent run of games. We'll see though...
Zambernardi1875
15-08-2022, 02:40 PM
Whilst I agree it's not a good start, I think it's too early for this kind of chat. I think the difference betweeen LJ and SM is that LJ has a decent enough track record to show he could turn out to be a decent appointment where SM looked lost from very early on. We need a decent turn out at the weekend then onto a decent run of games. We'll see though...
Maloney had a lot of key injuries and no Boyle, I honestly think he’d do better than LJ with this squad
15-08-2022, 02:40 PM
He said after the game that the players had played it safe with back and side passes and not the way they had told them and set out to play. It will take time to implement and the players need to be confident and comfortable with the risky forward pass, maybe that is asking too much from some of the team who constantly passed it around the back and midfield last season?
raeburnhibs
15-08-2022, 03:00 PM
Maloney had a lot of key injuries and no Boyle, I honestly think he’d do better than LJ with this squad
There is zero evidence to base this judgement on
15-08-2022, 03:15 PM
He said after the game that the players had played it safe with back and side passes and not the way they had told them and set out to play. It will take time to implement and the players need to be confident and comfortable with the risky forward pass, maybe that is asking too much from some of the team who constantly passed it around the back and midfield last season?
He’s got about 16 days to sort that. If he doesn’t fix the midfield in that time then he’s toast.
Zambernardi1875
15-08-2022, 03:21 PM
There is zero evidence to base this judgement on
What’s yer point caller ! 🤷🏻*♂️
15-08-2022, 03:25 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
15-08-2022, 03:34 PM
We need to be firmly established in the top 6 before the league breaks for the world cup. Will keep the fans positive and puts us in a good position for a difficult run of games through December. and January.
15-08-2022, 03:48 PM
We have to give him time. But right now we look top 8 rather than top 6 or 4.
Basildon Hibs
15-08-2022, 04:23 PM
He’s got about 16 days to sort that. If he doesn’t fix the midfield in that time then he’s toast.
Correct. Or he should be.
😉👍
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 04:45 PM
16 days to fix the midfield or he's toast? Baring in mind he has to shift a couple out before we take in also most of our midfields on lengthy contracts and trying to get a club to take them isn't easy !that problem was there before Johnson came to hibs though maybe you think he can use a magic wand and fix it ! He said he needed 3 or 4 transfer windows which to me is fair enough so maybe we should give the guy a chance!
15-08-2022, 04:49 PM
16 days to fix the midfield or he's toast? Baring in mind he has to shift a couple out before we take in also most of our midfields on lengthy contracts and trying to get a club to take them isn't easy !that problem was there before Johnson came to hibs though maybe you think he can use a magic wand and fix it ! He said he needed 3 or 4 transfer windows which to me is fair enough so maybe we should give the guy a chance!
You kidding? The number of players he has signed and still not fixed the midfield.
And it doesn’t matter how many windows he thinks he needs, reality will hit if he doesn’t get the right results. And he won’t with that midfield. I’m sure Maloney thought he just needed another window as well. I said in January that if he didn’t sort centre mid he would be sacked and I was right. I think I’ll be right again unless Johnson acts.
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 04:52 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Can't believe anyone would even say Maloney would do better than Lee Johnson !seem to remember Maloney's favourite word was' UM ':faf:
15-08-2022, 04:55 PM
You kidding? The number of players he has signed and still not fixed the midfield.
And it doesn’t matter how many windows he thinks he needs, reality will hit if he doesn’t get the right results. And he won’t with that midfield. I’m sure Maloney thought he just needed another window as well. I said in January that if he didn’t sort centre mid he would be sacked and I was right. I think I’ll be right again unless Johnson acts.
I agree on the general point on the midfield. But I don’t think Johnson will be gone any time soon. The reintroduction of Boyle will help get enough points to keep his head above water.
I think it would take a catastrophic run of results for us to change anything.
As things stand, I think we’ll be up and down and pretty average as a result, but I don’t think anything catastrophic is happening.
But, with the number of bodies we’ve brought in, the lack of attention to the middle of the park totally baffles me and, if not addressed, will prevent us being successful.
15-08-2022, 05:17 PM
Next five games are:
Rangers (H)
St Mirren (A)
Kilmarnock (H)
Dundee Utd (A)
Aberdeen (H)
Rangers - loss
St Mirren - win
Kilmarnock - win
Dundee Utd - draw
Aberdeen - draw
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 05:18 PM
Not kidding at all ! Yes we have signed a good few players and midfield is a problem though what will we do with Campbell , JDH,Henderson ,Newell if we sign more midfielders ? Please tell me? Apart from a terrible league cup exit we have had 3 league games , win , draw and defeat and now it's crisis time! Personally wouldn't even compare Maloney to Johnson night and day there imo!
15-08-2022, 05:19 PM
Main problem. The established players who are playing,with the exception of Marshall,are the same players that got two managers sacked last season and very few of the new players look ready for the first team. Not a good combination. Also he has had three league games now where he has had difficulty in getting the players to do what he wants.As his gameplan seems very simple that is concerning.
Add to that the various midfield combinations incapable of running a game or controlling its tempo make it look like a very long season.
15-08-2022, 05:26 PM
Can't believe anyone would even say Maloney would do better than Lee Johnson !seem to remember Maloney's favourite word was' UM ':faf:
Maybe Sauzee would get more out of them as well? 🤣
Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2022, 05:29 PM
If he doesn’t fix the midfield he’ll absolutely be toast.
4 windows is 2 years. If we have these same issues for 2 more years he’ll be long gone. He’s not getting 4 windows to ‘fix it’, no other manager would get that either.
Mrimbetween
15-08-2022, 05:34 PM
Bollox
15-08-2022, 05:39 PM
Not kidding at all ! Yes we have signed a good few players and midfield is a problem though what will we do with Campbell , JDH,Henderson ,Newell if we sign more midfielders ? Please tell me? Apart from a terrible league cup exit we have had 3 league games , win , draw and defeat and now it's crisis time! Personally wouldn't even compare Maloney to Johnson night and day there imo!
We either have to pay off the likes of Doidge, Newell, Campbell & JDH or accept they will continue take up a big chunk of the budget, whatever option is cheaper, while we sign their replacements to finally fix the midfield after the 4th or 5th window. We’re stuck with them but not replacing them isn’t a viable option IMO.
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 05:43 PM
If he doesn’t fix the midfield he’ll absolutely be toast.
4 windows is 2 years. If we have these same issues for 2 more years he’ll be long gone. He’s not getting 4 windows to ‘fix it’, no other manager would get that either.
He's not going to solve it instantly either , midfields again all on long contracts and a couple need to go easier said than done that part ! Think we have a good manager that needs time though ! Find some comparing him and even saying Maloney would do better quite mad really!
He's here!
15-08-2022, 05:55 PM
The League Cup was an embarrassment and we've taken 4 points from 9 in league. That's likely to become 4 from 12 next weekend. Hardly night and day compared to Maloney. Hopefully it WILL be night and day but so far there's not a lot to enthuse about.
15-08-2022, 06:06 PM
The League Cup was an embarrassment and we've taken 4 points from 9 in league. That's likely to become 4 from 12 next weekend. Hardly night and day compared to Maloney. Hopefully it WILL be night and day but so far there's not a lot to enthuse about.
The attacking stats from the league games so far suggest it’s night and day in comparison to what we saw under Maloney. Of course, he also started off well so it’s too early to say either way and only time will tell how things turn out. There are reasons to be positive so far imo
Zambernardi1875
15-08-2022, 06:11 PM
The attacking stats from the league games so far suggest it’s night and day in comparison to what we saw under Maloney. Of course, he also started off well so it’s too early to say either way and only time will tell how things turn out. There are reasons to be positive so far imo
key difference is LJ has players to attack with. maloney never
Mrimbetween
15-08-2022, 06:12 PM
You just cant keep on sacking managers
The financial implications alone
Time will tel,l but for me LJ will be allowed that Re and imo rightly so
Hibees1973
15-08-2022, 06:37 PM
This is like sacking the monkey but keeping the organ grinder.
It is early days for Lee Johnson. I said a few weeks ago we would have 4 points from the first 4 games and it's looking that way. Two injury time goals have provided these points which have masked poor performances.
The games after The Hun are St Mirren & Kilmarnock. If Lee Johnson has any aspirations of staying here beyond the World Cup in November then he needs to get more points on the board early. Failure to win these games would put us in the bottom four and the pressure will really be on Johnson.
This is my point about the organ grinder (Ron). At what point will he come under pressure. He can take the credit for the refurbished hospitality suites, big screens, vegan pies and the 'greenest club in Scotland'. But if we are sitting in the bottom four his son's development signings ain't going to get us out of trouble.
What would his options be. Punt Johnson then look for his fourth manager within a year. Based on what I've seen so far, only 2 decent signings in the door (Boyle & Marshall), this is a serious possibility.
15-08-2022, 06:50 PM
It is early days for Lee Johnson. I said a few weeks ago we would have 4 points from the first 4 games and it's looking that way. Two injury time goals have provided these points which have masked poor performances.
The games after The Hun are St Mirren & Kilmarnock. If Lee Johnson has any aspirations of staying here beyond the World Cup in November then he needs to get more points on the board early. Failure to win these games would put us in the bottom four and the pressure will really be on Johnson.
This is my point about the organ grinder (Ron). At what point will he come under pressure. He can take the credit for the refurbished hospitality suites, big screens, vegan pies and the 'greenest club in Scotland'. But if we are sitting in the bottom four his son's development signings ain't going to get us out of trouble.
What would his options be. Punt Johnson then look for his fourth manager within a year. Based on what I've seen so far, only 2 decent signings in the door (Boyle & Marshall), this is a serious possibility.
You are desperate to create new negative topics aren’t you …now trying a different route.
15-08-2022, 06:59 PM
The late goals in those games masked absolutely nothing and were thoroughly deserved.
As shown in our possession, shots and xg stats from both those games.
Plenty to be critical of so far but acting like we deserved to lose against st Johnstone and hearts is complete nonsense
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 07:04 PM
You are desperate to create new negative topics aren’t you …now trying a different route.
A lot of negativity today !new manager with new squad and a few things to fix , 3 games into new season and words of punted 'sacked and he will be toast been mentioned even said Maloney would do better!! It's bonkers really is:rolleyes:
Hibees1973
15-08-2022, 07:07 PM
The late goals in those games masked absolutely nothing and were thoroughly deserved.
Plenty to be critical of so far but acting like we deserved to lose against st Johnstone and hearts is complete nonsense
Possession, shots, xgstats, mean nothing.
Do you realise Man Utd had more shots and possession than Brentford on Saturday. We are weak in central defence, chicken hearted in the midfield and cannot finish.
15-08-2022, 07:12 PM
Do you realise Man Utd had more shots and possession than Brentford on Saturday. We are weak in central defence, chicken hearted in the midfield and cannot finish.
Aim your post at our recruitment team. We had similar stats under Maloney and this season under LJ. Dominating possession, but not creating and scoring enough
timewilltell
15-08-2022, 07:14 PM
Nonsense
Oh for goodness sake don't spout so much rubbish
Hibees1973
15-08-2022, 07:32 PM
Aim your post at our recruitment team. We had similar stats under Maloney and this season under LJ. Dominating possession, but not creating and scoring enough
100% Billy. This is why I find this thread annoying. It's recruitment not the manager that 'We need to talk about'.
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 07:33 PM
What you suggest ? Maybe move quick and sack Johnson after 3 league games you think? Few on here seems would like Maloney back ! You want him back? Least then be no debate about shots cause we wouldn't have any !!!
Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2022, 07:37 PM
To be fair, I’m sure these stats often went in our favour under Maloney as well. More often than not we had more possession, completed more passes and had a higher xG.
We could all see though that what we were watching wasn’t good enough. Much of what we’ve seen under LJ so far also falls into that bracket. It’s not a surprise though when the problem areas haven’t been addressed whatsoever.
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 07:45 PM
To be fair, I’m sure these stats often went in our favour under Maloney as well. More often than not we had more possession, completed more passes and had a higher xG.
We could all see though that what we were watching wasn’t good enough. Much of what we’ve seen under LJ so far also falls into that bracket. It’s not a surprise though when the problem areas haven’t been addressed whatsoever.
Possession wise yes I'd guess Maloney had more though I wouldn't be so sure on the shots stats! Maybe someone will tell us , think we are better than Maloney's team we get the ball forward more
Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2022, 07:48 PM
Possession wise yes I'd guess Maloney had more though I wouldn't be so sure on the shots stats! Maybe someone will tell us , think we are better than Maloney's team we get the ball forward more
Hibs had 1.47xG last season on average yet we scored 1 per game. We had the 5th highest xG in the league yet I think most of us would agree we looked one of the most impotent teams around. The xG were regularly posted after games under Maloney and it never really reflected what we’d all watched with our own eyes.
Our average possession was also 3rd highest in the league.
15-08-2022, 08:07 PM
Relentless
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 08:36 PM
Hibs had 1.47xG last season on average yet we scored 1 per game. We had the 5th highest xG in the league yet I think most of us would agree we looked one of the most impotent teams around. The xG were regularly posted after games under Maloney and it never really reflected what we’d all watched with our own eyes.
Our average possession was also 3rd highest in the league.
Thanks ! Never a fan of Maloney to be honest with you always looked like a wee lost boy who liked to say UMM a lot as well as his team being as exciting as watching paint dry on a wall ! Think we have a good manager now ! There was no chat of sacking him after both saints and hearts game though first blip against Livingston and people on about sacking him !both first two games thought we showed great desire and a never say die spirit ! Livingston game not a easy one on a bad field too on another day we would have got something! Sacking manager at first blip would be crazy ! We can't keep sacking managers all the time ! Think our club badly need manager who stays at us for a few years ! Wish fans would back manager more specially after a narrow defeat in what is his third league game season:aok:
15-08-2022, 08:37 PM
He can't help himself. That said he's not the only one on this forum who just repeats relentlessly what they want to be true as some kind of fact.
15-08-2022, 08:44 PM
Okay that's all fair, (but from what I remember our xG under Maloney was pretty poor in games we drew and lost)
But saying the late winner and equaliser from the first two league games were undeserved is bull**** when we made more than enough chances to win either game
Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2022, 08:46 PM
Thanks ! Never a fan of Maloney to be honest with you always looked like a wee lost boy who liked to say UMM a lot as well as his team being as exciting as watching paint dry on a wall ! Think we have a good manager now ! There was no chat of sacking him after both saints and hearts game though first blip against Livingston and people on about sacking him !both first two games thought we showed great desire and a never say die spirit ! Livingston game not a easy one on a bad field too on another day we would have got something! Sacking manager at first blip would be crazy ! We can't keep sacking managers all the time ! Think our club badly need manager who stays at us for a few years ! Wish fans would back manager more specially after a narrow defeat in what is his third league game season:aok:
I don’t think anybody is wanting him sacked to be fair.
Most people are just saying that if we don’t sign the players we need then there’s an inevitably about it. We need a midfielder desperately to replace Newell imo. He’s already seen off 3 managers who have all played at a pedestrian pace and had no threat coming from the middle of the midfield, in no small part down to him. If LJ is left having to keep playing him then I can’t see him being a success.
He needs to be given the backing to get a quality CM and a quality CB in.
Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2022, 08:47 PM
Okay that's all fair, (but from what I remember our xG under Maloney was pretty poor in games we drew and lost)
But saying the late winner and equaliser from the first two league games were undeserved is bull**** when we made more than enough chances to win either game
Yup, I’d agree with your last paragraph :aok:
I’ve tried to find the xG for specific games for Maloney but I can’t find them broken down into individual games unfortunately!
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 09:24 PM
I don’t think anybody is wanting him sacked to be fair.
Most people are just saying that if we don’t sign the players we need then there’s an inevitably about it. We need a midfielder desperately to replace Newell imo. He’s already seen off 3 managers who have all played at a pedestrian pace and had no threat coming from the middle of the midfield, in no small part down to him. If LJ is left having to keep playing him then I can’t see him being a success.
He needs to be given the backing to get a quality CM and a quality CB in.
Words of ,he's toast ! Sack and punted being used today have gave that impression though! Agree about midfield ,think good quality attacking midfielder would make a huge difference !
Basildon Hibs
15-08-2022, 09:53 PM
Well, if he signs the correct players for the areas that are needing 'fixed' then I'm sure he'll get the full backing he deserves. 😁
15-08-2022, 10:13 PM
Nonsense
Let’s hope he signs someone and we never have to find out.[emoji106]
15-08-2022, 10:21 PM
As per previous posts, managers rarely get 3 or 4 transfer windows these days. More than 3 or 4 league matches though - yes I think I can last that long without chucking the toys about!
It's early doors with a lot of new players and a new manager. I for one can already see a difference in style as we are now trying to get the ball forward a lot quicker than under Ross or Maloney. That's a positive for me. Some of the players will click into place quickly - some may not at all - but we have to give them a decent stretch of games to settle in and show what they can do and keep getting behind them - AND the manager. There are a couple of weeks left in the transfer window yet and a lot could still happen in terms of ins and outs. Fingers crossed that works well for us and that Johnson IS the right man for Hibs. We've had three different managers in the last year and a bit of stability would be very welcome indeed thankyou very much!
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 11:13 PM
As per previous posts, managers rarely get 3 or 4 transfer windows these days. More than 3 or 4 league matches though - yes I think I can last that long without chucking the toys about!
It's early doors with a lot of new players and a new manager. I for one can already see a difference in style as we are now trying to get the ball forward a lot quicker than under Ross or Maloney. That's a positive for me. Some of the players will click into place quickly - some may not at all - but we have to give them a decent stretch of games to settle in and show what they can do and keep getting behind them - AND the manager. There are a couple of weeks left in the transfer window yet and a lot could still happen in terms of ins and outs. Fingers crossed that works well for us and that Johnson IS the right man for Hibs. We've had three different managers in the last year and a bit of stability would be very welcome indeed thankyou very much!
Good post:thumbsup:best I've read today
phoenixfire
15-08-2022, 11:40 PM
He can't help himself. That said he's not the only one on this forum who just repeats relentlessly what they want to be true as some kind of fact.
Your right he can't himself! Just doom and gloom all day nothing remotely positive to say!
16-08-2022, 02:35 AM
https://twitter.com/jdhibs/status/1559166702985912327?s=21&t=Tpz8BJajuYdxyLH5-Nc2qA
Interesting stats
Shows we’re getting the ball forward a lot quicker and also not allowing teams to play out and limiting to an average of PPDA (Passes per defensive action).
Compared to last seasons average
https://twitter.com/themaroonreport/status/1559179226556895234?s=21&t=Tpz8BJajuYdxyLH5-Nc2qA
Really do believe it will all come good.
tonyrougier123
16-08-2022, 08:26 AM
https://twitter.com/jdhibs/status/1559166702985912327?s=21&t=Tpz8BJajuYdxyLH5-Nc2qA
Interesting stats
Shows we’re getting the ball forward a lot quicker and also not allowing teams to play out and limiting to an average of PPDA (Passes per defensive action).
Compared to last seasons average
https://twitter.com/themaroonreport/status/1559179226556895234?s=21&t=Tpz8BJajuYdxyLH5-Nc2qA
Really do believe it will all come good.
I agree,the more he makes the team his own the better we will see his methods paying off.
The goal we scored against hearts was exactly what he was talking about before the game,cutting the ball back and players arriving in the box.
Even the the goal against livvy few players in the box causing confusion for livvy bang kenneh in the right place.
We haven’t done enough of that for a few seasons.
16-08-2022, 11:35 AM
It’s kind of going as some others had pre warned us about. Jumping from the very good to very poor.
I feel we are going enjoy some great afternoons and have some decent wins/results against some of the better sides. The shockers against the dross is almost a given so kind of walking along every week not really sure what to be expecting.
I’m looking forward to the Rangers game and certainly think we can get a win. If we can get a run of games with decent performances with a settled starting line up the inconsistency should iron out a bit, and any team with Martin Boyle in it is going to be worth watching.
I get the sense that Lee Johnson will always just do enough to keep the threat of dismissal from the door. Mid table at worst with always room for improvement, and if the additions of a central midfielder and defender can be added at the next window if not possible by end of this one, then we can still have a decent enough season.
Can anyone remember a season when we didnt have a few poor results?
Go back as far as you want.
Your right he can't himself! Just doom and gloom all day nothing remotely positive to say!
It's the relentless negativity that just lacks any objectivity, it sucks any joy out of supporting Hibs.
Basildon Hibs
16-08-2022, 02:09 PM
The only stats that count are goals scored and points in the bag.
You can forget all the other crap.
16-08-2022, 03:21 PM
The only stats that count are goals scored and points in the bag.
You can forget all the other crap.
And doing well in the areas mentioned is how you score goals and get points. Pretty obvious really.
16-08-2022, 03:51 PM
It’s kind of going as some others had pre warned us about. Jumping from the very good to very poor.
I feel we are going enjoy some great afternoons and have some decent wins/results against some of the better sides. The shockers against the dross is almost a given so kind of walking along every week not really sure what to be expecting.
I’m looking forward to the Rangers game and certainly think we can get a win. If we can get a run of games with decent performances with a settled starting line up the inconsistency should iron out a bit, and any team with Martin Boyle in it is going to be worth watching.
I get the sense that Lee Johnson will always just do enough to keep the threat of dismissal from the door. Mid table at worst with always room for improvement, and if the additions of a central midfielder and defender can be added at the next window if not possible by end of this one, then we can still have a decent enough season.
When do we get to see the very good?!
It’s all been a bit meh since he arrived, with a couple of shockers in the cup.
16-08-2022, 03:52 PM
And doing well in the areas mentioned is how you score goals and get points. Pretty obvious really.
So obvious you felt the need to point it out?
16-08-2022, 03:54 PM
Can anyone remember a season when we didnt have a few poor results?
Go back as far as you want.
Nope, and I doubt any Hibs fan has ever said that, no matter how far back you go!
We’d like to see some good results though. It’s been a while.
16-08-2022, 04:12 PM
I'm pretty sure there are a good percentage of people in this country who have instilled the current manager of the football team they support, unilaterally, as their personal scapegoat. That can be the only explanation for the hysteria we see on here.
17-08-2022, 01:46 PM
Ron away to find us a new manager? :greengrin
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/ron-gordon-way-watch-hearts-27764378
17-08-2022, 03:23 PM
Ron away to find us a new manager? :greengrin
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/ron-gordon-way-watch-hearts-27764378
Did you take the photo?
17-08-2022, 03:41 PM
So obvious you felt the need to point it out?
I know, ridiculous that I have to really.
20-08-2022, 01:44 PM
Absolutely massive respect for Johnson after today, I was already a fan but today confirmed it.
0-0 against rangers but he’s not happy with the style of play and how the game is panning out and changes it to make 2 subs within half an hour, one being one of our most experienced player in Hanlon.
How many Hibs managers in the past would sit back happy with a 0-0 and think they’re not causing us too many problems?
He wanted us to be more of a threat and made positive subs.
Well done.
20-08-2022, 03:14 PM
Impressed with what I've read below, picked up from the BBC website.
Hibs manager Lee Johnson: "We were poor in the first half. At half-time, we just reinforced the philosophy, we have to play on the front foot, to be aggressive, we have an obligation to our fans to kick on and drive forward.
"I think that led to the incidents. I'm not saying they were all correct. I don't think theirs was a penalty, I think we should have had a penalty.
"I don't think Lundstram's was a red card. The elbow (from Morelos) is probably a red.
"I'm not happy. There's more to do. We need a couple, a few ready-made players. I've now had a good look at the level.
"I expect us to compete far better than we did in the first half. I'm here to drive it, I'm not here to sugar-coat it.
"That spirit needs to be consistent from minute one to minute 97."
:applause::applause::applause:
Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2022, 03:16 PM
Absolutely massive respect for Johnson after today, I was already a fan but today confirmed it.
0-0 against rangers but he’s not happy with the style of play and how the game is panning out and changes it to make 2 subs within half an hour, one being one of our most experienced player in Hanlon.
How many Hibs managers in the past would sit back happy with a 0-0 and think they’re not causing us too many problems?
He wanted us to be more of a threat and made positive subs.
Well done.
I actually thought his subs made us worse.
We never really became more of a threat after the subs, we became more of a threat after the red card imo.
It’s all worked out ok, but I didn’t get the subs at the time and I still don’t really get them now.
20-08-2022, 03:19 PM
We never really became more of a threat after the subs, we became more of a threat after the red card imo.
It’s all worked out ok, but I didn’t get the subs at the time and I still don’t really get them now.
The hanlon one was simple imo, he wanted a back 4 and we disnt have a LB on the park
20-08-2022, 03:20 PM
I agree. Thought we had the game pretty nullified until he changed it and then we were under the cosh until HT.
Still credit to him for not being satisfied with what he was seeing and trying to change it up, that takes some baws at 0-0.
20-08-2022, 03:21 PM
I think LJ deserves praise for changing things up. Even if it hadn't worked out, I'd give him credit for at least trying. One of the things that I liked about Lennon was that he wasn't scared to rip up plan A and move to plan B if it clearly wasn't working early on, so I'm pleased to see Lee has that same quality.
raeburnhibs
20-08-2022, 03:21 PM
don't agree, Cabraja improved us (and big respect to him!) and Campbell went inside. It took a few minutes but we were very comfortable post changes until the penalty
Aim Here
20-08-2022, 03:26 PM
I'm not sure that other managers would be that happy with what they were seeing early on.
The issue there was Ryan Kent was bombing down our right-wing causing all sorts of trouble, and Chris Cadden was never going to get to push forward if he was always tracking back to deal with Kent, so Lee had to switch to a back four early on. Jack Ross did something similarly radical early on at Parkhead when Jeremie Frimpong was absolutely terrorizing Lewis Stevenson and Martin Boyle had to be pulled over to the left cope with him.
20-08-2022, 03:26 PM
don't agree, Cabraja improved us (and big respect to him!) and Campbell went inside. It took a few minutes but we were very comfortable post changes until the penalty
Yes, I agree! The changes improved us until the penalty was given.
20-08-2022, 03:28 PM
It wasn’t so much if they’d work out for the best or not for me that I was impressed with, it was the fact that he wasn’t happy with drawing 0-0 with rangers and wanted to be proactive in his approach to change it.
So many previous managers would be delighted with 0-0 against rangers.
20-08-2022, 03:34 PM
I was dead against LJ from the moment we were linked with him, but I'm warming to him, slowly.
If he keeps being ruthless like today with Henderson and Hanlon, I'll be delighted.
Also pleased to see him becoming more confident in himself when giving interviews. That he realises where we need to strengthen is hugely encouraging. I was getting really fed up with everyone at ER telling me things were fine were they clearly weren't.
If he releases 3 or 4 and brings 2 experienced players in, we might not have such a disaster of a season as I was thinking.
Huge credit to him for today.
20-08-2022, 03:39 PM
So was the formational change a master stroke? It seems like it.
Bringing Henderson off seems to have been a really good decision, he tries his best but he’s not a physical player.
Greenwich_Hibby
20-08-2022, 03:41 PM
Henderson adds little. Would rather stick with Campbell.
Cat Stanton
20-08-2022, 03:41 PM
Yes, I agree! The changes improved us until the penalty was given.
Agree to an extent. And I'm not criticising the manager as I think what he said is spot on. But let's face it: Doidge isn't a third of the player he was before. So bringing him on didn't help much at all.
20-08-2022, 03:46 PM
I’ve actually been really disappointed with Henderson.
Pre season and the league cup he looked a player and someone that would contribute alot this season, hardly saw anything in the league since it started
20-08-2022, 03:53 PM
Credit the manager today. Got the early change done and 4 at the back settled us. Great performances throughout the park from key players.
phoenixfire
20-08-2022, 04:01 PM
Credit the manager today. Got the early change done and 4 at the back settled us. Great performances throughout the park from key players.
Said it before will say it again , we have a good manager here how some compared him with Maloney was madness ! Needs time to maybe get a few out and a couple in ! We are going to attack teams now under Maloney we looked like we could play all day and not score ! What a difference now!
20-08-2022, 04:12 PM
Strange, strange game today. Not sure it really tells us much at all. Great not to lose but equally we were against nine men for twenty minutes and made fairly heavy weather of it. Screamingly obvious yet again that we desperately need a midfield playmaker. Still not seeing this high press or pacey game we were promised and our defence is very ropey. Sign two more experienced players of the right type and we could be quite handy next season. Fail to do that and it will be mediocrity - and what’s the point of that after investing in all the others?
It’s make your minds up time now for the club because we’re nearly quite good…
20-08-2022, 04:13 PM
Lee being a little more open and honest in interviews is refreshing. Maloney talked pish and Jack Ross was fairly closed off and gave nothing away.
Lee knows what we want and I think he's capable of delivering if given the right players. We're still short if we want to be challenging for 3rd and 4th imo but this is a manager who should be backed fully and I'm not suggesting we're not trying but we should push the boat for a couple of quality players who are starters every week.
Strange, strange game today. Not sure it really tells us much at all. Great not to lose but equally we were against nine men for twenty minutes and made fairly heavy weather of it. Screamingly obvious yet again that we desperately need a midfield playmaker. Still not seeing this high press or pacey game we were promised and our defence is very ropey. Sign two more experienced players of the right type and we could be quite handy next season. Fail to do that and it will be mediocrity - and what’s the point of that after investing in all the others?
It’s make your minds up time now for the club because we’re nearly quite good…What was ropey about our defence?
Rangers had 2 shots on target today
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Mikey_1875
I didn’t think the changes helped us. Suddenly the Rangers full backs found acres of space and Doidge just can’t hassle defenders like he used to anymore meaning very little pressure on them.
However, he is only managing what he has and he clearly wants a a few more players in of the right calibre in order to facilitate the way he plays. That’s fair enough and I think if he gets those players we will be in for a good season. It’s there in flashes just now and he has definitely instilled a fighting spirit in the team.
20-08-2022, 04:16 PM
The strangest thing about the game today, was despite the 4 goals, lots of incident, some decent passing football and midfield battles, neither keeper had a save of any consequence to make until the last 15-20 minutes.
20-08-2022, 04:22 PM
I would have taken Rocky off with a good ten minutes left, as he was pretty central to our possession yet didn't ever look comfortable with the ball in their half, plus hasn't shown any goal threat.
To then take Porteous off instead of him was a bit strange?
20-08-2022, 04:24 PM
I would have taken Rocky off with a good ten minutes left, as he was pretty central to our possession yet didn't ever look comfortable with the ball in their half, plus hasn't shown any goal threat.
I thought Porteous was poor today. Gave the ball away frequently when we were in good positions, especially first half. Hanlon played well before being sacrificed. I think any of those 3 are capable of good and bad, theyre inconsistent.
20-08-2022, 04:25 PM
The strangest thing about the game today, was despite the 4 goals, lots of incident, some decent passing football and midfield battles, neither keeper had a save of any consequence to make until the last 15-20 minutes.
Good point. It was the controversy that created the excitement. Marshall had little to do despite Rangers having most of the possession. After the red cards we did force a couple of good saves from the keeper but it was largely laboured stuff.
Great strike for the equaliser but today underlined the need for a decent target man. Doidge was totally anonymous once again.
LewysGot2
20-08-2022, 04:26 PM
What was ropey about our defence?
Rangers had 2 shots on target today
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Indeed. Marshall really only had a couple of things to do
20-08-2022, 04:30 PM
Porto had been booked, maybe he was worried about the ref trying to level it up?:dunno:
20-08-2022, 04:51 PM
Indeed. Marshall really only had a couple of things to do
That was more a testament to their woeful box positioning and finishing than anything else. In the first half particularly they were getting in behind us in wide positions in the last third and then making variously either an ar5e of it or just very poor decisions when in possession. We'll not get away with that every week.
We also wasted a spectacular percentage of our own possession today.
20-08-2022, 04:52 PM
Agree. Two sides lacking punch up front, which seems weird to say in a 2-2 game.
phoenixfire
20-08-2022, 05:02 PM
Good point. It was the controversy that created the excitement. Marshall had little to do despite Rangers having most of the possession. After the red cards we did force a couple of good saves from the keeper but it was largely laboured stuff.
Great strike for the equaliser but today underlined the need for a decent target man. Doidge was totally anonymous once again.
Doidge hasn't really looked like the same player since he's came back ,Henderson poor today as well , thought youan looked very good ! Think attacking midfielder would make a massive difference too!
20-08-2022, 05:55 PM
Agree. Two sides lacking punch up front, which seems weird to say in a 2-2 game.
Looking forward to Boyle and Youan and Whizbit up front ☺️
27-08-2022, 03:58 PM
He talks the talk thats all. All talk
27-08-2022, 04:01 PM
Probably the worst stick I've seen a Hibs manager take when trying to applaud the support at the end. Gave up before getting near us.
He isn't going to last long sadly. And it's not even totally his fault. Club run by idiots
27-08-2022, 04:02 PM
Not an unexpected result really.
Let's see what LJ made of it.
27-08-2022, 04:04 PM
There’s been very little evidence that this is going to come good any time soon.
Lose again next week in a similar fashion and Ron Gordon’s going to have a decision to make.
27-08-2022, 04:06 PM
The players shouldn’t need a rollocking at half time to move up a gear.
He’s said there’s players he doesn’t want here and he wants new players in.
He knows we need quality.
Struggling to get that right now it appears.
27-08-2022, 04:07 PM
I think he will walk.
He has been shafted royally by our ludicrous recruitment.
Clarence
27-08-2022, 04:11 PM
Heckingbottom mk II. It’s all very well going into great detail with reams of statistical analysis but the players we have are clearly not getting whatever it is he’s asking them to do. It’s up to him as a manager to communicate in a way that is impactful. I can imagine a few of them thing he’s a bit of a shareen with all the SAS Alan Partridge stuff as well.
CL0762
27-08-2022, 04:11 PM
It’s not his fault when the owners son has zero football knowledge and won’t address the key fundamental parts of the team.
3 managers (4 if you include Gray as caretaker) have consistently failed to get a tune out of the majority of that squad.
Maybe it’s not always the managers faults then?
27-08-2022, 04:12 PM
Trust the process, be the best version of ourselves, and add value.
27-08-2022, 04:12 PM
I don't blame Johnson one bit for this tbh.
27-08-2022, 04:14 PM
I think he will walk.
That wouldn't surprise me too much, apart from the financial hit he would be taking.
27-08-2022, 04:14 PM
Michael O’Neil available for when the inevitable comes in the next month or so
27-08-2022, 04:15 PM
There is blame to be put elsewhere as well, but let's not let the guy off the hook so easily.
27-08-2022, 04:16 PM
I think he will walk.
No chance he will walk, he will want paid off, it will be up to the owner when he wants a new manager and that could be some time next month.
There is blame to be put elsewhere as well, but let's not let the guy off the hook so easily.
Get what you're saying but he's barely in the door. More than happy to give him the benefit of the doubt at this stage.
I don't either but he has to take some of the blame.
The squad he inherited was *****, he's added some more ***** of his own to that and we are every bit as bad if not worse than last season. He also has made mistakes and doesn't appear to be learning from them.
However our problems go deeper than the manager, half this team needs punted, the recruitment "committee" need punted and we need to get a director of football in to deal with the football side.
Until we get recruitment right and address the obvious issues in the squad, the cycle will just carry on and on.
27-08-2022, 04:17 PM
Early days yet but I can`t see any improvement on last season . Some players like Cadden are actually worse than last season . Team looked far more motivated under Maloney than today . And leaking comments to press about wanting players to leave and better ones to arrive - I imagine all our ex managers thought exactly the same but didn`t say it .
27-08-2022, 04:18 PM
Completely agree.
27-08-2022, 04:18 PM
Nope, we run the club to make the incompetent head of recruitment feel good. Why sign players we need when we can sign loanees from FC Rainbow and Portuguese youth teams?
GreenGray
27-08-2022, 04:19 PM
He talks about how poor we’ve been yes and how we need to improve, at least he talks the truth.
He’s been badly let down by the recruitment team.
People need to calm down…I think we’ll do very well in the championship
27-08-2022, 04:22 PM
That wouldn't surprise me too much, apart from the financial hit he would be taking.
He'd be quite right to wait to be sacked i suppose.
He's earned his wages anyways. It's only a question of whether it's next month or over the next 3 years as to when he gets paid them!
He maybe doesn't care. If he gets sacked, he can blame trigger happy RG and poor recruitment then head back down south a few hundred grand better off.
He's got absolutely nothing to lose.
27-08-2022, 04:23 PM
Can’t remember the last decent 90 min performance.
Livi - 0 points
Mini Huns - 1 point
Huns - 1 point
St Mirren - 0 points
Would rather have 6 points against Livi and St Mirren than 2 against the others.
Add in Clyde 2nd half, Bonnyrigg we were mince, Morton loss and Falkirk loss.
It’s not a good start at all sadly and the team still needs MAJOR surgery and a spine with some quality and leadership.
27-08-2022, 04:30 PM
Early days yet but I can`t see any improvement on last season . Some players like Cadden are actually worse than last season . Team looked far more motivated under Maloney than today . And leaking comments to press about wanting players to leave and better ones to arrive - I imagine all our ex managers thought exactly the same but didn`t say it .
Yup wouldn't say its exactly inspiring to say you want players to leave.
The Captain....
27-08-2022, 04:33 PM
I think he will walk.
I do too - his family are down South still as well I think so I cant see him hanging about if that was how he felt.
I wonder how well it's going down with the Gordon's that very few of what Ive laughably seen called the "moneyball" signings aren't getting much of a look in.
Tbf tho we should be able to compete against St Mirren and Livi and the might of the lower leagues who ended our LC involvement. I've found some of Johnson's honesty regarding the team not doing what he's asked of them on the pitch refreshing but when we keep getting beat in the same way away from home in the these type of games its going to start to grate.
It seems absolutely incredible to me that we've signed so many players and are worse than ever, or certainly as poor as last season.
27-08-2022, 04:36 PM
Can’t remember the last decent 90 min performance.
Livi - 0 points
Mini Huns - 1 point
Huns - 1 point
St Mirren - 0 points
Would rather have 6 points against Livi and St Mirren than 2 against the others.
Add in Clyde 2nd half, Bonnyrigg we were mince, Morton loss and Falkirk loss.
It’s not a good start at all sadly and the team still needs MAJOR surgery and a spine with some quality and leadership.
All our points have come after the 90min mark as pointed out by our old favourite, Tom English.
MikeyS
27-08-2022, 04:38 PM
The players shouldn’t need a rollocking at half time to move up a gear.
He’s said there’s players he doesn’t want here and he wants new players in.
He knows we need quality.
Struggling to get that right now it appears.
Absolutely, he is being hung out to dry by the recruitment. It's plain f9r all to see that this midfield is dog sh*t but we keep persevering with last seasons failures
Hibees1973
27-08-2022, 04:39 PM
I think he will walk.
Correct. To have 3 managers within a year is incompetent and a revolving door of players spells disaster.
Ron should put the club up for sale, admit he is out of his depth in running it.
The finally we can get Ron, his son, Kensall and Kean out of the club.
If they sack Johnson, or Johnson leaves I'll hand back my ST.
LunasBoots
27-08-2022, 04:40 PM
If the club cant give him what he needs then thats not his fault, he wants to play a certain way but with some of the current players we are not capable of playing that way.
MikeyS
27-08-2022, 04:41 PM
Correct. To have 3 managers in 3 years is incompetent and a revolving door of players spells disaster.
Ron should put the club up for sale, admit he is out of his depth in running it.
Am no sure Steve Kean deserves punted, he isn't involved in the sh*t show that is recruitment. He is just benefitting from it as all the signings are B team quality!
I would also say 4 out the top 6 are already decided 1 that may sound ridiculous but it’s the way I see it.
Huns / Celtic / Aberdeen and Hearts will finish top 6 - all 4 have better squads than us.
That leaves us battling out for 1 of the other 2 spots.
Correct. To have 3 managers in 3 years is incompetent and a revolving door of players spells disaster.
He doesn’t need to sell, he just needs to hold his hands up and admit he got it wrong. Change the football structure and employ people with the experience. BK and IG have never worked in the roles they currently hold and it shows.
If he goes through another manager before the season is done he’ll be met with a fair bit more scrutiny.
27-08-2022, 04:47 PM
I think that, he our manager, is but one of many that have found polishing a turd, can only be done for so long, then the temporary shine that you may get will not last long.
Something just not right at our football club.
27-08-2022, 04:51 PM
He needs at least this year to get it right, we need to be patient an give him the time to change the attitude after what has been a failing year. Lennon, Ross and Maloney did a lot of damage that he needs time to fix.
27-08-2022, 04:53 PM
I think that, he our manager, is but one of many that have found polishing a turd, can only be done for so long, then the temporary shine that you may get will not last long.
Something just not right at our football club.
I've said it a few times already and will say it again. I like LJ. That said he hasn't even managed that temporary shine, new manager bounce if you will. He'll be thrown under the bus soon enough unless things change. That change starts with the recruitment team including Ian Gordon. There's a good number of players who are nowhere near the level we need to be at if we want to be competing in Europe and given how we've started the season so far, including our pitiful attempt at the League cup, we'll be lucky to finish outside the bottom six and as a consequence there will be no European competition.
27-08-2022, 04:54 PM
The LC campaign meant that he had very little leeway if we started badly, and what little he had has been used up.
Next week is an absolute must win already. Lose it and it’s a long, long way back for him.
Definitely been let down in terms of who we have brought in, but to have no discernible style of play nine games into the season (and largely against opposition who should be poorer than us) is hugely worrying.
hhibs
27-08-2022, 04:55 PM
Absolutely, he is being hung out to dry by the recruitment. It's plain f9r all to see that this midfield is dog sh*t but we keep persevering with last seasons failures
No,he ,LJ is repeating it,no excuse!
27-08-2022, 04:55 PM
He needs at least this year to get it right, we need to be patient an give him the time to change the attitude after what has been a failing year. Lennon, Ross and Maloney did a lot of damage that he needs time to fix.
You shouldn’t need a year to get results against the mighty Livi and St Mirren.
27-08-2022, 04:58 PM
The LC campaign meant that he had very little leeway if we started badly, and what little he had has been used up.
Next week is an absolute must win already. Lose it and it’s a long, long way back for him.
Definitely been let down in terms of who we have brought in, but to have no discernible style of play nine games into the season (and largely against opposition who should be poorer than us) is hugely worrying.
How has he been let down ?
Surely he wants to keep his job and do well.
Numerous performances so far and he should be telling recruitment I need a midfield with X qualities..
They brought in another GK quick enough but haven’t added centrally ?
Not to mention spending ££ on a 16 year old we will probably never even see play for Hibs 1st team !!
MikeyS
27-08-2022, 05:07 PM
No,he ,LJ is repeating it,no excuse!
Who would you play in midfield instead of Newel, JDH and Campbell?? LJ isn't signing the players, he is just coaching. Just watch the next manager have the same issues
LeithMike
27-08-2022, 05:11 PM
Who would you play in midfield instead of Newel, JDH and Campbell?? LJ isn't signing the players, he is just coaching. Just watch the next manager have the same issuesThat's the feeling I get. We'll sign the players, you coach them.
When you watch some of the players we've signed its pretty obvious they are getting signed off videotape rather than scouted in the flesh.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
27-08-2022, 05:59 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-apologises-to-hibs-fans-after-st-mirren-loss-as-he-makes-transfer-admission-3822034
27-08-2022, 06:01 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/lee-johnson-apologises-to-hibs-fans-after-st-mirren-loss-as-he-makes-transfer-admission-3822034
Looks like we’re not getting a ready to go player to improve us. Ian Gordon GTF and take the nodding dog yes man in Kensell with you.
Mikey_1875
27-08-2022, 06:03 PM
I sincerely hope he is bluffing with the transfer quotes.
27-08-2022, 06:09 PM
Not a single bit of that article that’s not depressing to read.
27-08-2022, 06:14 PM
What's really concerning is the statement that ".....there seems to be a recurring theme at this club"
Not sure what he's alluding to but it could be read that we are not providing managers with decent players.
Zambernardi1875
27-08-2022, 06:21 PM
Maloney didn’t get a year, he’s learnt nothing from the league cup games.
27-08-2022, 06:23 PM
I’m watching the game on Alba and if this is what we are going with we are in for painful season. Aimless passing and no goal threat at what so ever. Its dreadful to watch and I feel sorry for the fans who once again backed the club in numbers today only to be subjected to 90 mins of absolute dross.
27-08-2022, 06:24 PM
https://twitter.com/djkrismurdy/status/1563587037298536451?s=21&t=yaf4ax1ieIBmRtcFzW4nKg
At least he knows it
27-08-2022, 06:24 PM
What's really concerning is the statement that ".....there seems to be a recurring theme at this club"
Not sure what he's alluding to but it could be read that we are not providing managers with decent players.
That’s the one that stuck out for me. Any decent journo worth their salt wouldn’t picked up on that.
Im sure we all know exactly what he’s alluding to though.
Zambernardi1875
27-08-2022, 06:28 PM
https://twitter.com/djkrismurdy/status/1563587037298536451?s=21&t=yaf4ax1ieIBmRtcFzW4nKg
At least he knows it
Well then play some of the kids that played v Norwich, they repeat mistake all managers have made is say “we’ve been poor today” then play practically the same team next week. If you have to earn you’re place as lee says then there will be loads of changes next week
xqnq1875
27-08-2022, 06:28 PM
Feel bad for lee he’s walked in to an absolute **** show if anyone is to be blamed for all of this it’s the Gordon’s Constantly signing young players that could line their pockets in a few years instead of actually ready players that have a bit of quality in them and now Lj has came out and said that it’s going to be a struggle to bring in players this week and if they do come in they will only be a young loan player it’s an absolute *** shambles the Gordon’s are a pair of parasites, worrying times ahead…
27-08-2022, 06:32 PM
That’s the one that stuck out for me. Any decent journo worth their salt wouldn’t picked up on that.
Im sure we all know exactly what he’s alluding to though.
I couldnt quite believe that McPartland didnt probe that (although he may just be repeating a TV interview).
One thing I would say though, is if managers are being told "we bring the players in, you play them - but tell everyone you have been tracking them for months" then the managers are as complicit in this as BK and IG.
I like LJ, he talks a good game, but if he knew he was being asked to work with one hand tied behind his back, then he too needs to have a long look at himself.
One things for sure, if results continue and the only club we can beat is St Johnstone, then we are in deep deep trouble and the strategy of buying these unknowns and selling them on aint going to work.
And if RG starts to lose money, what happens then?
The Captain....
27-08-2022, 06:32 PM
Pass the prozac :eek:, its going to be a long season. Surely to **** they are bluffing about not bringing in further players - there will be a riot if they don't address the spine of the team with quality additions before the end of the window.
Very worrying quotes from Johnson.
27-08-2022, 06:34 PM
Looks like we’re not getting a ready to go player to improve us. Ian Gordon GTF and take the nodding dog yes man in Kensell with you.
The man at the top constantly bringing in the wrong people can’t be ignored either
27-08-2022, 06:35 PM
At least he knows it
Very honest and very depressing.
27-08-2022, 06:35 PM
I rarely disagree with what LJ has to say.
But his team selection today was shocking. Same pish will serve up the same pish.
Gutted, disheartened and bloody annoyed with what I watched today. We’re going nowhere with this group of players.
Hibiza
27-08-2022, 06:36 PM
It's just all too depressing . Signing policy ( in and out ) is a farce. Bring back Sir Tom and Leanne.
27-08-2022, 06:37 PM
Feel bad for lee he’s walked in to an absolute **** show if anyone is to be blamed for all of this it’s the Gordon’s Constantly signing young players that could line their pockets in a few years instead of actually ready players that have a bit of quality in them and now Lj has came out and said that it’s going to be a struggle to bring in players this week and if they do come in they will only be a young loan player it’s an absolute *** shambles the Gordon’s are a pair of parasites, worrying times ahead…
There comes a point (which is now) when it can no longer be the (3rd) manager’s fault that we have the same crap players that have failed and have cost the managers their jobs. They are being thrown under the bus due to pish recruitment.
27-08-2022, 06:43 PM
None of this is LJ fault. How many windows has the recruitment team failed. If it was any other department in the club Ron would have swung the axe but its his laddie. The recruitment needs to change
27-08-2022, 06:59 PM
None of this is LJ fault. How many windows has the recruitment team failed. If it was any other department in the club Ron would have swung the axe but its his laddie. The recruitment needs to change
No way can we say none of it is his fault.
He’s heavily involved in signing players and, despite the number of signings, hardly any of them play.
He picked that midfield, again.
And he doesn’t seem to be able to get them to play in the first half.
I’m not looking for him to get the bullet but we need much more from him. Team lacks any identity. It’s back to hoping Boyle does something.
27-08-2022, 07:03 PM
I’d get miller involved and get cadden further forward or even tried as a central midfielder. Said this for months cadden has played in that role before. Least he brings energy and can carry a ball. The midfield we have just now is one of the worst I’ve seen in a long time
Newell points and shakes his head like it’s going out of fashion
The biggest thing that screamed out today was the lack of creativity apart from the endless crosses to no one we never looked like creating any real chances. The 3 in midfield are horrible just sideway passes or losing possession. Youan missed a sitter which would have just pappered over the cracks but things are bad.
27-08-2022, 07:31 PM
Flat today. 30 minutes subs would-be beennbettr today.
27-08-2022, 07:39 PM
He’s heavily involved in signing players and, despite the number of signings, hardly any of them play.
I’m not looking for him to get the bullet but we need much more from him. Team lacks any identity. It’s back to hoping Boyle does something.
I don't think he is heavily involved as he should be signing players
Chorley Hibee
27-08-2022, 07:41 PM
I’d get miller involved and get cadden further forward or even tried as a central midfielder. Said this for months cadden has played in that role before. Least he brings energy and can carry a ball. The midfield we have just now is one of the worst I’ve seen in a long time
Newell points and shakes his head like it’s going out of fashion
You and I agree on a lot, but each time I've seen Miller he doesn't even look good enough to be a professional footballer, never mind improve Hibs.
27-08-2022, 07:42 PM
You and I agree on much, but each time I've seen Miller he doesn't even look good enough to be a professional footballer, never mind improve Hibs.
Eh
Chorley Hibee
27-08-2022, 07:45 PM
Eh
He's been absolutely dreadful each time I've seen him.
Shockingly poor and looks miles off the level we require.
Have you seen something I've not?
27-08-2022, 07:46 PM
Thought this would've be been posted by now considering that's where the article is quoting from:
https://youtu.be/RVvRa1NQi3g
Bit of an alarming interview to be having this early in in the season. If we don't bring in 2 or more players that are an improvement on what we've got in the first team then heads should roll. For all the good work that's being done with regards to Hibs commercial income it's galling how much we've wasted so far.on players who aren't ready or good enough. Gordon's are going to struggle to keep pedalling **** if things don't improve.
27-08-2022, 07:52 PM
If LJ doesn't get the oven ready players he is desperate for I could see him walking.
He has dropped enough hints he doesn't need more untested players and may take a financial hit in order to save his reputation.
JamesHFC
27-08-2022, 07:55 PM
If LJ doesn't get the oven ready players he is desperate for I could see him walking.
He has dropped enough hints he doesn't need more untested players and may take a financial hit in order to save his reputation.
We have signed a dozen players to be fair, he shouldn't approve them if he doesn't think they are good enough.
27-08-2022, 07:56 PM
Enough to suggest he’s a professional footballer aye.
27-08-2022, 08:00 PM
He wouldn't have been my first choice as manager which I made quite clear at the time of his appointment but I actually feel quite sorry for him as he has absolutely no chance of succeeding under this current recruitment structure.
Johnson may or may not be a success with us but until something more fundamental changes within the club it won't matter who our manager is.
27-08-2022, 08:02 PM
The manager has to take responsibility for it. If he doesn’t like the layers offered to him (if we’re all accepting that’s how it’s working) then he needs to refuse and refuse and refuse until he gets players he wants.
If we assume that he’s done that then he can’t complain about transfers. We’ve signed something like 11 players, we’ve spent more in this windows than we’ve ever spent in a transfer window. He’s got the benefit of a player we sold for £3m in January.
His budget dwarves that of Livi, St Mirren, Falkirk and Morton. Probably added together. He’s got a training centre as good as any in the country with all the sports science and data analysis he could hope for.
Yet here we are, out the League Cup and sitting with 5 points out of 15 in the league.
For all we can shout about Ron or Ian Gordon, you have to say that Johnson is culpable for the position we find ourselves in.
27-08-2022, 08:03 PM
He wouldn't have been my first choice as manager which I made quite clear at the time of his appointment but I actually feel quite sorry for him as he has absolutely no chance of succeeding under this current recruitment structure.
Johnson may or may not be a success with us but until something more fundamental changes within the club it won't matter who our manager is.
That’s giving him an easy out. He’s part of the recruitment process and even with the players he’s got he should be beating Falkirk and Morton.
27-08-2022, 08:05 PM
The manager has to take responsibility for it. If he doesn’t like the layers offered to him (if we’re all accepting that’s how it’s working) then he needs to refuse and refuse and refuse until he gets players he wants.
If we assume that he’s done that then he can’t complain about transfers. We’ve signed something like 11 players, we’ve spent more in this windows than we’ve ever spent in a transfer window. He’s got the benefit of a player we sold for £3m in January.
His budget dwarves that of Livi, St Mirren, Falkirk and Morton. Probably added together. He’s got a training centre as good as any in the country with all the sports science and data analysis he could hope for.
Yet here we are, out the League Cup and sitting with 5 points out of 15 in the league.
For all we can shout about Ron or Ian Gordon, you have to say that Johnson is culpable for the position we find ourselves in.
Can’t really argue with that to be fair. Our squad is a mess but it’s more than good enough to get results against Falkirk and Morton. Even Maloney managed to get results against the lower league teams.
GreenGray
27-08-2022, 08:06 PM
I like Johnson, and if it doesn’t go well for him i won’t blame him.
It’s quite telling that one of the reasons we didn’t go for Jon Dahl Tomasson is because he wanted control over signing the players etc. that’s worrying, unless I’m wrong about that?
GreenGray
27-08-2022, 08:07 PM
That’s giving him an easy out. He’s part of the recruitment process and even with the players he’s got he should be beating Falkirk and Morton.
Is he really though?? I doubt Johnson had a part in signing Bojang, Miller etc.
percy veer
27-08-2022, 08:07 PM
You and I agree on a lot, but each time I've seen Miller he doesn't even look good enough to be a professional footballer, never mind improve Hibs.
I thought he looked good in pre season and good when he came on against rangers , today wasn't Amy good but he's not been given much time tbh
27-08-2022, 08:08 PM
Is he really though?? I doubt Johnson had a part in signing Bojang, Miller etc.
He’s got some say in it, he can say no and if he can’t then he’s in the wrong job.
He’s played an active role in getting these players to sign, with discussions on how they’ll fit into his team etc.
GreenGray
27-08-2022, 08:11 PM
He’s got some say in it, he can say no and if he can’t then he’s in the wrong job.
He’s played an active role in getting these players to sign, with discussions on how they’ll fit into his team etc.
I saw someone on another thread saying that Johnson has been bypassed on some of the signings, could be bollocks but given some of his comments today I wouldn’t be surprised.
His interviews make it seem like he was sold a dream when approached by Hibs and so far it isn’t going the way he expected.
Scotty Leither
27-08-2022, 08:14 PM
Our aspirations (at least publically) are somewhat higher than the teams you mention, but I think our owner (who talks a good game), and his son (who doesn't talk at all), seriously underestimate the competitive nature of Scottish football and what's required in playing personnel to succeed in it.
Untried players from B teams and punts on players like Bojang have the whiff of guys that are being foisted on the manager, and it's significant that he's hardly used them or indeed any of the rest that have been signed.
They also probably didn't realise the level of scrutiny there is on Hibs in the media, and among our own fan base, but you might have hoped that was sinking in with them by now?
27-08-2022, 08:15 PM
I don't necessarily disagree with that, particularly the bit about the League Cup matches, I was never a huge fan of him being appointed in the first place but maybe the players we've signed since he took over were the best players identified by the recruitment team.
I'm firmly in the camp of not being a huge fan of Johnson but also believing that the problems at Hibs just now are much more deep rooted than just the manager.
27-08-2022, 08:17 PM
I saw someone on another thread saying that Johnson has been bypassed on some of the signings, could be bollocks but given some of his comments today I wouldn’t be surprised.
His interviews make it seem like he was sold a dream when approached by Hibs and so far it isn’t going the way he expected.
From what I’m told, Johnson hasn’t been bypassed on any players since he’s been at the club.
27-08-2022, 08:19 PM
I’m with you on this.
He looks like a youth player who is ahead of his years physically but technically miles away from being ready to play regular, first team SPFL football.
Cadden was terrible today but is closer to being part of the solution than part of the problem. We have a centre forward that wouldn’t get a game for any other premier league team and a midfield that wouldn’t dominate most of the teams in the league below. I’d be addressing that before I started worrying about RB, or finding any more hidden gem wonderkids with sell on potential who aren’t going to improve our first team any time soon.
27-08-2022, 08:19 PM
Our aspirations (at least publically) are somewhat higher than the teams you mention, but I think our owner (who talks a good game), and his son (who doesn't talk at all), seriously underestimate the competitive nature of Scottish football and what's required in playing personnel to succeed in it.
Untried players from B teams and punts on players like Bojang have the whiff of guys that are being foisted on the manager, and it's significant that he's hardly used them or indeed any of the rest that have been signed.
They also probably didn't realise the level of scrutiny there is on Hibs in the media, and among our own fan base, but you might have hoped that was sinking in with them by now?
That completely ignores the signing of all the tried players though. And every club in Scotland signs players that don’t know the Scottish league or are plucked from lower levels in the hope they step up.
St Mirren beat us today, where are they signing their players from? Or Livi? Or Falkirk?
27-08-2022, 08:24 PM
All you need to do these days to beat hibs is try hard and once you score, sit in and frustrate.
To beat that is down to tactics and how the team is set up, something that Johnson is responsible for.
27-08-2022, 08:27 PM
All you need to do these days to beat hibs is try hard and once you score, sit in and frustrate.
To beat that is down to tactics and how the team is set up, something that Johnson is responsible for.
The work rate and desire that’s missing is on the players, as is not getting the basics right like missing from two yards out or not tracking a run, or misplacing an easy pass.
Tactics and team selection are on the manager.
We failed on all counts today.
Scotty Leither
27-08-2022, 08:29 PM
That completely ignores the signing of all the tried players though. And every club in Scotland signs players that don’t know the Scottish league or are plucked from lower levels in the hope they step up.
St Mirren beat us today, where are they signing their players from? Or Livi? Or Falkirk?
I don't know where they're signing their players from, but St Mirren today at least had a player who attacked a cut-back into the box, unlike Doidge who's on his heels most of the time, and Livingston have a guy they picked up from Arbroath who regularly ragdolls our defenders and can hold the ball up.
So there's two qualities that our current CF lacks (he also has zero competition for his place), so maybe Ian Gordon should speak to St Mirren and Livi scouts and see if he can pick up any tips from them?
27-08-2022, 08:33 PM
Oddly the pre-seasons in Portugal I enjoyed and the 2nd half of Norwich as we looked like a different team.
Play the same dull passive midfield and players and get same outcome - fans deserve so much better.
27-08-2022, 08:35 PM
I don't know where they're signing their players from, but St Mirren today at least had a player who attacked a cut-back into the box, unlike Doidge who's on his heels most of the time, and Livingston have a guy they picked up from Arbroath who regularly ragdolls our defenders and can hold the ball up.
So there's two qualities that our current CF lacks (he also has zero competition for his place), so maybe Ian Gordon should speak to St Mirren and Livi scouts and see if he can pick up any tips from them?
Your tone’s argumentative but I think you’re actually agreeing with his point.
Oddly the pre-seasons in Portugal I enjoyed and the 2nd half of Norwich as we looked like a different team.
Play the same dull passive midfield and players and get same outcome - fans deserve so much better.
100% bang on
GreenGray
I don’t care where we get the players, what’s worrying is that before the window it was clear we needed to sign a left sided centre half, a creative midfielder and a goal scoring striker and we’ve haven’t done that.
27-08-2022, 09:12 PM
I don’t care where we get the players, what’s worrying is that before the window it was clear we needed to sign a left sided centre half, a creative midfielder and a goal scoring striker and we’ve haven’t done that.
It's so ****ing obvious that to not have done so almost seems like deliberate sabotage.
Zambernardi1875
27-08-2022, 09:16 PM
No idea why some of that 2nd half team haven’t featured
27-08-2022, 11:13 PM
Has everyone seen this?
https://twitter.com/djkrismurdy/status/1563587037298536451?s=21&t=z96Jz9ETRJLW8CdEjWdH4Q
27-08-2022, 11:21 PM
The work rate and desire that’s missing is on the players, as is not getting the basics right like missing from two yards out or not tracking a run, or misplacing an easy pass.
Tactics and team selection are on the manager.
We failed on all counts today.
You’re right.
First of all the recruitmeant team are garbage, secondly Johnson is also partly at fault for not getting a tune out of his players. We should have enough to have been a lot better than we have been.
Just a massive fail from top to bottom. The problems are deep rooted and until that changes nothing will change.
Ron needs to relieve Ian of his duties and get a proper director of football in to oversee the football side.
phoenixfire
27-08-2022, 11:22 PM
Still think Johnson will come good though do think the guy needs time ,Do I think he will get it probably not going by reaction of some fans after both Livy and st mirren games . Don't think 5 points out of 9 away to saints and home to hearts and rangers was to bad imo though!
28-08-2022, 02:58 AM
I feel exactly the same. I was disappointed we appointed him but he is a victim of the nepotism, idiots and almost children we’ve chosen to fill our football department with!
28-08-2022, 05:41 AM
I think Lee was keen to get back in management and agreed to work with the transfer setup confident he could get a tune out of what he has to work with but it’s not happening
28-08-2022, 06:57 AM
We’ll know by Thursday night whether he survives or not. If he hasn’t signed a new midfielder by then he will be lucky to make it past halloween. He certainly won’t make it to another transfer window. And he won’t deserve to either.
Paulie Walnuts
28-08-2022, 07:23 AM
I don’t know how long he’ll last as I feel Ron Gordon is really into him. I could see him sticking by him.
We’ll be battling relegation though, which for anyone else would be a sackable offence. I’m not sure how much of the blame for that I would put at his door.
28-08-2022, 07:55 AM
I don’t know how long he’ll last as I feel Ron Gordon is really into him. I could see him sticking by him.
We’ll be battling relegation though, which for anyone else would be a sackable offence. I’m not sure how much of the blame for that I would put at his door.
He has to shoulder some of the blame too, he should be more than able to get a tune out of what he has just now.
28-08-2022, 08:10 AM
He has to shoulder some of the blame too, he should be more than able to get a tune out of what he has just now.
Not that midfield he can’t. His predecessors found that out.
Paulie Walnuts
28-08-2022, 08:18 AM
Yup.
Newell, JDH and Campbell. It’s an absolute travesty it’s come to this.
Remember when they played in the LC and people said we’ll never see them play together again? :faf:
28-08-2022, 08:25 AM
Yet he’s still picking them so has to take responsibility. He’s already dispensed with Kenneh who I thought was worth sticking with and never gives Tait a sniff.