View Full Version : Shaun Maloney - Style of play

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

21-12-2021, 01:30 AM
One thing that has been mentioned a lot is Maloney’s style of play and attacking philosophy and how it will differ from Ross.

I find it very interesting that he says when he was a player he was always interested in how the top teams play and knew there must be a certain way which is then what he learned under Martinez with “positional play” which opened his eyes.

Positional play is passed down from Cruyff etc which interestingly enough is where he done part of his coaching qualifications, I think it’s fair to say he will try and implement this at Hibs. Pep is the current one that uses this all the time but many too coaches use this.

For those that haven’t heard of it I strongly recommend reading up about it/watching videos as if he can get us doing it it has the potential to be brilliant. It will also help understand what we’re doing differently and why, it will hopefully make some be patient as they’ll understand what he is doing and how difficult it is.

Essentially it breaks the football pitch down into zones. There should never be more than three teammates on any horizontal plane, and never more than two on any vertical plane - this means that when the ball is in a certain zone players know where to move so that the person on the ball had more options. It should be instinctive for them, for example if Porteous has the ball everyone in our team will know where to be, as soon as he passes it to McGinn there’s a change with players moving into different zones. This might see some players popping up in positions you wouldn’t expect.

It enables the team to either overload the opposition or isolate players for 1 v 1 scenarios. One thing we’ll probably see a lot more of us decoy runs, players coming short and being missed out, only for them to spin and get it off of the person the ball was initially passed to.

That type of football is more for when we have the ball but it normally comes with the defensive side being a high line and winning possession back sharply by pressing the opposition quick and giving them little space.

For me it’s this type of football that we, and Scotland in general, are missing. Rarely do coaches in this county have much more of a game plan than playing at a high tempo, getting it wide or sitting back.

Ange uses this to a certain degree and is a big reason why they have so much possession of the ball and dominate. One of the full backs going into the centre of the park allows the rest of the team to go higher up the field and retain the ball in more dangers areas.

One thing under Ross when we had the ball I got frustrated at how it always seemed to need to go from front to back at 100mph. We would rarely play possession in meaningful areas and work the opposition defensively, we were nice at it along the back 4 but it done nothing.

If Maloney can pull this off it will mean we get our attacking players on the ball a lot more regularly and in better positions. We will attack with pace but I imagine we’ll pin teams back a lot more.

Do people think this is feasible in Scotland? Will our current players have the football IQ for this? There obviously a difference in what he’s coached with at Belgium compared to here.

What’s everyone’s thoughts?

21-12-2021, 01:43 AM
Can’t wait for the cries of ‘get it up the ****ing park’. It’s not the players’ IQ’s I worry about.

21-12-2021, 02:13 AM
Oh well that's interesting tactics. I just wonder whether we have players of the calibre and fitness required to carry it out.
Silk purses come to mind. Good luck to him though.

21-12-2021, 04:29 AM
The future is maybe with the kids.

21-12-2021, 04:59 AM
Patience is not a big feature of our fans.

Hopefully they give him time to implement. As he says it will take time.

21-12-2021, 05:36 AM
Just posted similar comments to the OP on the new gaffer thread..very exciting times. We can’t afford and couldn’t attract a manager like Pep, or Martinez, but in Shaun Maloney I think we might have found ourselves the next, best thing. He is obviously passionate about “Juego de Posicion” and seems so much more articulate and cerebral than the usual stamp of Scottish manager. I’m excited to see how he will change our playing style and find out who will take to it and who will leave the club. It will also be exciting to see who he brings in during the January window. Very excited by all this..Shaun is not part of the usual Largs mafia..he is a product of the Cruyff Institute…Hibs cass !

our new conditioning coach has some pedigree…Zuddas has two Bachelor’s Degrees; one in Exercise and Sports Science and another in Communication and Information Sciences. He also has certificates in Strength and Conditioning for Football, Advanced Sport Nutrition, and Neurobiology and Performance from the Barça Innovation Hub and a UEFA A Futsal licence.He speaks six languages as well as his mother tongue including English, Portuguese, Spanish, and Hungarian ! That’s about as far removed from the average Scottish football coach as it’s possible to get.

21-12-2021, 06:02 AM
He simply won't get time. You cant spend 6 months/a year putting a style of play into place that may not even be any good. He has inherited a decent squad and should be hitting the ground running

21-12-2021, 06:04 AM
Can’t wait for the cries of ‘get it up the ****ing park’. It’s not the players’ IQ’s I worry about.

Valid point. Get it forward why pass the ball back the way are regular shouts around me.

That style is totally dependent on time on the pitches coaching it day after day. Hopefully he is able to get that done to a degree in winter break.

21-12-2021, 06:06 AM
He simply won't get time. You cant spend 6 months/a year putting a style of play into place that may not even be any good. He has inherited a decent squad and should be hitting the ground running

That’s up to Ron..and Maloney is HIS man. I think he’ll get time and anyway I think we’ll see improvement and new players relatively quickly.

21-12-2021, 06:07 AM

A decent coach will be able to improve our play relatively quickly imo. Better movement more options on the ball I think will improve whether it gets better results time will tell.

21-12-2021, 06:09 AM

:hilarious spot on sadly.

21-12-2021, 06:09 AM
Just posted similar comments to the OP on the new gaffer thread..very exciting times. We can’t afford and couldn’t attract a manager like Pep, or Martinez, but in Shaun Maloney I think we might have found ourselves the next, best thing. He is obviously passionate about “Juego de Posicion” and seems so much more articulate and cerebral than the usual stamp of Scottish manager. I’m excited to see how he will change our playing style and find out who will take to it and who will leave the club. It will also be exciting to see who he brings in during the January window. Very excited by all this..Shaun is not part of the usual Largs mafia..he is a product of the Cruyff Institute…Hibs cass !

our new conditioning coach has some pedigree…Zuddas has two Bachelor’s Degrees; one in Exercise and Sports Science and another in Communication and Information Sciences. He also has certificates in Strength and Conditioning for Football, Advanced Sport Nutrition, and Neurobiology and Performance from the Barça Innovation Hub and a UEFA A Futsal licence.He speaks six languages as well as his mother tongue including English, Portuguese, Spanish, and Hungarian ! That’s about as far removed from the average Scottish football coach as it’s possible to get.

Hugely impressive cv Zuddas has great to see that sort of international background and range of knowledge and expertise coming into the club.

21-12-2021, 06:16 AM
That’s up to Ron..and Maloney is HIS man. I think he’ll get time and anyway I think we’ll see improvement and new players relatively quickly.

It's not up to Ron. If results are bad he'll be hounded out.

21-12-2021, 06:24 AM
Really excited about this appointment. One word of caution however, I used to work with a Mancunian and he is a big City fan, ST holder etc. He will tell you he’d rather watch it shelled up to a big Niall Quinn than all this fancy stuff as he calls it.

The biggest change will need to be in the stand, Ross got chased away, this place will be full of the usual pish if we lose tonight saying the style doesn’t work, can win big games etc.

21-12-2021, 06:30 AM
It all sounds very positive. It sounds a lot like the Bielsa philosophy, create numerical superiority by constantly moving into adjacent zones. The tricky bit is finding more disciplined, more technical and fitter players than the competition can afford, to carry these instructions out. If we’d have played that way on Sunday I think Celtic would have destroyed us. It’s the same reason why Leeds are now getting found out when they don’t have their first choice XI available.

But exciting times.

21-12-2021, 06:41 AM

Apart from the languages there are plenty coaches in Scotland with qualifications like that. Even at youth level. The problem is the senior game if full of ex-players that don’t have that education. Intelligent coaches are generally frowned upon by “fitba folk” so it’s hard for them to make an impact.

21-12-2021, 06:41 AM
Really excited about this appointment. One word of caution however, I used to work with a Mancunian and he is a big City fan, ST holder etc. He will tell you he’d rather watch it shelled up to a big Niall Quinn than all this fancy stuff as he calls it.

The biggest change will need to be in the stand, Ross got chased away, this place will be full of the usual pish if we lose tonight saying the style doesn’t work, can win big games etc.

There does need to be a change in the stands, occupied seats. It’s up to him to get folk back in, then he won’t get chased.

Green_one
21-12-2021, 06:48 AM

Correct. Football is results driven. Fancy tactics mean nothing unless players can execute them

Score more goals than your opponents.

Let’s see what happens over the next few weeks Show me points on the board not a coaching lesson

PPZPOL
21-12-2021, 06:59 AM

If we keep the ball with a purpose and have movement and create chances then that’s the thing that should stop that happening. If we pass it about the back then into midfield, then back again and keep doing that till we all fall asleep, then that’ll be when people will be able to moan about getting it forward ASAP!!!!

Silky
21-12-2021, 07:41 AM

So, effectively, he can play this new style all he wants, if we don't get the results, what's the point. If results are great but the football is turgid, are we not just back at square one?

21-12-2021, 07:42 AM
I wish him well, am impressed with his ambition and what he has to say and hope he gets the time and backing to do it.

However following all the recent changes I'm more interested in the deeds that actually happen on the pitch than the words that surround them.

21-12-2021, 07:43 AM
So, effectively, he can play this new style all he wants, if we don't get the results, what's the point. If results are great but the football is turgid, are we not just back at square one?

There aren't many managers who play great football and don't get results.

21-12-2021, 07:47 AM
I'm excited by this - but do we have the calibre of players required? I guess we'll find out but implementing this style is very different at our level, and when you can't just go out and buy better players whenever you want.

I think it's a positive step but it's a big difference between coaching De Bruyne, Hazard etc to us.

timewilltell
21-12-2021, 07:58 AM

I detect you are upset that JR is no longer here. Deal with it.

How about trying to be positive and give the guy a chance.

Articulate, keen, fresh, bright, hungry and with some exciting ideas about how to play.

What's not to like?

PPZPOL
21-12-2021, 08:03 AM
I'm excited by this - but do we have the calibre of players required? I guess we'll find out but implementing this style is very different at our level, and when you can't just go out and buy better players whenever you want.

I think it's a positive step but it's a big difference between coaching De Bruyne, Hazard etc to us.

Surely it’s all relative? We’ll never have those players but we’ll also not be playing against those calibre of players. He obviously feels he can level up the players we have through coaching along with additions to the squad over time. Some players will buy into him in this squad, some won’t, like any other manager he’d have appointed. There are no guarantees but glad we are trying this at least.

timewilltell
21-12-2021, 08:11 AM
Correct. Football is results driven. Fancy tactics mean nothing unless players can execute them

Score more goals than your opponents.

Let’s see what happens over the next few weeks Show me points on the board not a coaching lesson

Fancy tactics? Jeez, not one for moving with the times then!🙄

Just so you know, black & white TV's and linoleum are no longer fashionable 😏

21-12-2021, 08:13 AM
I detect you are upset that JR is no longer here. Deal with it.

How about trying to be positive and give the guy a chance.

Articulate, keen, fresh, bright, hungry and with some exciting ideas about how to play.

What's not to like?

How about not posting nonsense? I'm not upset at all. There is nothing for me to deal with.

''give the guy a chance'', are you joking? ****ing obviously I will give the guy a chance. Like all Hibs managers he'll get my full backing. I go every week and defend managers and players on here more than most.

Yeah, he is all those things. He will still be hounded out if results don't go well. Like all managers at all clubs.

Devonhibs
21-12-2021, 08:15 AM
Fancy tactics? Jeez, not one for moving with the times then!🙄

Just so you know, black & white TV's and linoleum are no longer fashionable 😏

There not:confused::greengrin

Lee Marvin
21-12-2021, 08:20 AM
It will be nice to actually have a style of play. Last time we had an identifiable one was a few years ago now.

21-12-2021, 08:22 AM
Too articulate for some already

Can you imagine an interview where it was just yeah the players have to give me everything and that’s really it.

Maloney has a plan, give him time. I think this might be a golden nugget here. Mowbray-esque

If it’s attacking football he’s already beating jack Ross imo.

21-12-2021, 08:23 AM

Footballs an entertainment business, not just a results one.

Chances are if you entertain, you’ll get results. If you only care about the results and not how you get there then it won’t take long for that to unravel and when it does the manager won’t have any credit in the bank.

TBH I’m a bit bored of the current narrative that Hibs supporters are wildly unrealistic in our expectations and only instant success will do. If people are seeing progress on the park, they see a team with passion they can relate to that are trying to play the right way we will be a lot more understanding and patient.

Look at the reaction to our second half on Sunday compared to the first. People are generally happy with how we competed in the second half and the effort the players put in and the team came off to a standing ovation. First half I’ve only seen people complaining about how it’s not what they want to see from a Hibs team. We drew the first half, lost the second.

It’s performances and effort that engages the support, not cold hard statistics or league tables IMO,

21-12-2021, 08:24 AM
It’s easy to forget that Belgium’s success is really down to the individual excellence of its players. Belgium has been blessed with a golden generation.

Some would argue that a failure of management is to blame for their lack of trophies. And that makes one think somewhat about the actual potency of management and of Maloney himself.

That said, the fundamental barriers to applying this positional system successfully will be coaching new habits into old dogs and getting the moron element in our support to be patient with it.

Younger fans and players may be the ticket here.

21-12-2021, 08:25 AM
Surely it’s all relative? We’ll never have those players but we’ll also not be playing against those calibre of players. He obviously feels he can level up the players we have through coaching along with additions to the squad over time. Some players will buy into him in this squad, some won’t, like any other manager he’d have appointed. There are no guarantees but glad we are trying this at least.

Fair point. As I said in my initial post, I like what I'm hearing from him but I know this style isn't easy to implement. If it was, every team in Scotland would be playing like this. Players need intelligence, discipline, skill and a lot of fitness.

Exciting times ahead though.

timewilltell
21-12-2021, 08:27 AM
How about not posting nonsense? I'm not upset at all. There is nothing for me to deal with.

''give the guy a chance'', are you joking? ****ing obviously I will give the guy a chance. Like all Hibs managers he'll get my full backing. I go every week and defend managers and players on here more than most.

Yeah, he is all those things. He will still be hounded out if results don't go well. Like all managers at all clubs.

Have a good day 😏

PPZPOL
21-12-2021, 08:45 AM
Fair point. As I said in my initial post, I like what I'm hearing from him but I know this style isn't easy to implement. If it was, every team in Scotland would be playing like this. Players need intelligence, discipline, skill and a lot of fitness.

Exciting times ahead though.

Absolutely agree about the implementation being difficult and I’m looking forward to it as well👍🏻

I just wonder what the alternative is? Don’t try this as some players we have don’t have what it takes to be coached? We’ve got to believe that a football manager and his coaching staff can make a different at our level of the game. Otherwise, what is the point?

I think we are in agreement on this. Let’s hope we start moving in the right direction soon.

“Difficult things aren’t easy, but they’re worth it”

21-12-2021, 09:00 AM
Absolutely agree about the implementation being difficult and I’m looking forward to it as well👍🏻

I just wonder what the alternative is? Don’t try this as some players we have don’t have what it takes to be coached? We’ve got to believe that a football manager and his coaching staff can make a different at our level of the game. Otherwise, what is the point?

I think we are in agreement on this. Let’s hope we start moving in the right direction soon.

“Difficult things aren’t easy, but they’re worth it”

I'm with you 100% and you've said it better than me.

21-12-2021, 09:18 AM
I've been wanting this type of coach for years, unfortunately we only have a handful of players capable of playing it, get the right players and exciting times.

21-12-2021, 09:19 AM
I see slot of people are talking about fitness for the new system but imo the players are fit enough and it’s not something you need to improve for this style of play.

What Biesla does at Leeds is different to any other team and for that you need a ridiculously high amount of energy.

What Maloney will do should, in theory, make it easier for the players. It’s means that each player knows which run/area to go to, this is already something they all do but now it will be in a more structured way and with a meaning behind it.

It should, again in theory, make it alot easier for the man in possession as he will know where everyone should be before he even receives the ball so he can quickly scan before picking the best pass.

I think our fitness is fine.

Sioux
21-12-2021, 09:20 AM
Essentially it breaks the football pitch down into zones. There should never be more than three teammates on any horizontal plane, and never more than two on any vertical plane - this means that when the ball is in a certain zone players know where to move so that the person on the ball had more options.

Imagine what could have happened if JR had implemented zoning in training every day: :wink:

hibeerealist
21-12-2021, 09:53 AM
Imagine what could have happened if JR had implemented zoning in training every day: :wink:

Aye the the ball would go across the pitch sideways then back to Porteous/Hanlon then to the keeper hhoooooooooofffffff

J Ross is gone

PPZPOL
21-12-2021, 10:01 AM

If that was the case, it suggests it was the right decision to relieve him of his duties as he obviously wasn’t able to get this system of play across to the players. Time for Shaun Maloney to have a go by using different styles/techniques to make it stick.

Also, really good news that they already have an idea about this way of playing and won’t be completely new to them so not starting from scratch.

21-12-2021, 10:14 AM
If that was the case, it suggests it was the right decision to relieve him of his duties as he obviously wasn’t able to get this system of play across to the players. Time for Shaun Maloney to have a go by using different styles/techniques to make it stick.

Also, really good news that they already have an idea about this way of playing and won’t be completely new to them so not starting from scratch.

He got it across well for a vast majority of his time here tbf.

Time for the new man to get his shot though.

Largshibby
21-12-2021, 10:16 AM
One thing that has been mentioned a lot is Maloney’s style of play and attacking philosophy and how it will differ from Ross.

I find it very interesting that he says when he was a player he was always interested in how the top teams play and knew there must be a certain way which is then what he learned under Martinez with “positional play” which opened his eyes.

Positional play is passed down from Cruyff etc which interestingly enough is where he done part of his coaching qualifications, I think it’s fair to say he will try and implement this at Hibs. Pep is the current one that uses this all the time but many too coaches use this.

For those that haven’t heard of it I strongly recommend reading up about it/watching videos as if he can get us doing it it has the potential to be brilliant. It will also help understand what we’re doing differently and why, it will hopefully make some be patient as they’ll understand what he is doing and how difficult it is.

Essentially it breaks the football pitch down into zones. There should never be more than three teammates on any horizontal plane, and never more than two on any vertical plane - this means that when the ball is in a certain zone players know where to move so that the person on the ball had more options. It should be instinctive for them, for example if Porteous has the ball everyone in our team will know where to be, as soon as he passes it to McGinn there’s a change with players moving into different zones. This might see some players popping up in positions you wouldn’t expect.

It enables the team to either overload the opposition or isolate players for 1 v 1 scenarios. One thing we’ll probably see a lot more of us decoy runs, players coming short and being missed out, only for them to spin and get it off of the person the ball was initially passed to.

That type of football is more for when we have the ball but it normally comes with the defensive side being a high line and winning possession back sharply by pressing the opposition quick and giving them little space.

For me it’s this type of football that we, and Scotland in general, are missing. Rarely do coaches in this county have much more of a game plan than playing at a high tempo, getting it wide or sitting back.

Ange uses this to a certain degree and is a big reason why they have so much possession of the ball and dominate. One of the full backs going into the centre of the park allows the rest of the team to go higher up the field and retain the ball in more dangers areas.

One thing under Ross when we had the ball I got frustrated at how it always seemed to need to go from front to back at 100mph. We would rarely play possession in meaningful areas and work the opposition defensively, we were nice at it along the back 4 but it done nothing.

If Maloney can pull this off it will mean we get our attacking players on the ball a lot more regularly and in better positions. We will attack with pace but I imagine we’ll pin teams back a lot more.

Do people think this is feasible in Scotland? Will our current players have the football IQ for this? There obviously a difference in what he’s coached with at Belgium compared to here.

What’s everyone’s thoughts?
Don't expect to know what Hibs are up to unless you have a sports science degree!

21-12-2021, 10:52 AM
I was reading a bit last night about how Belgium play under Martinez. Not suggesting we will be the same as obviously don't have the calibre of player they do but if it's a similar system it'll be interesting to watch.

PPZPOL
21-12-2021, 11:09 AM
He got it across well for a vast majority of his time here tbf.

Time for the new man to get his shot though.

Can’t disagree with that, liked him and thought he was a good appointment for us. The “should he have stayed or should he have gone” is done.

New start here we come!

21-12-2021, 11:17 AM
I worry that the state of the pitches in Scotland mitigates against this style of play. It doesn’t matter if you are tactically astute and in the right position if the ball simply won’t move across the surface as you hope.

Still, the emphasis possession and variety is exciting.

21-12-2021, 11:25 AM
I worry that the state of the pitches in Scotland mitigates against this style of play. It doesn’t matter if you are tactically astute and in the right position if the ball simply won’t move across the surface as you hope.

The positive thing is that Maloney has a fair bit of experience of the Scottish leagues and will know these things. I don't think Heckingbottom ever got the Scottish leagues and he's showing at Sheffield United that he can be a shrewd coach, but I think that experience of up here is vital.

21-12-2021, 11:26 AM

Might be a good time for Killie & Hamilton to get promoted...

21-12-2021, 11:35 AM

What if he did.

21-12-2021, 11:42 AM

Celtic seemed to have managed to play a passing game for most of the last 40 years without too many issue..other than when Lennon was in charge and it was just about charging about and being a winner (yes that bit is a wind-up..don't bite)

21-12-2021, 04:06 PM
I find it deeply depressing that this thread keeps dropping down the board and has very few positive posts. We have just signed a Manager with a football philosophy that is very, very different and more progressive than managers in the past..fans have been howling about boring football and wanting to play with more flair and style for months..yet when we sign a guy who looks like he might do that, virtually no one wants to talk about it....however if you fancy slagging off Matt macey there are 5 pages of posts about it on a thread that's meant to be about transfers.

Do we not actually want to talk about football on here...is it just a place to come and vent your spleen about whichever player you've decided to hate this week or argue the toss about covid ? :rolleyes:

Well done to the OP for starting it at least.

Tommy75
21-12-2021, 04:09 PM
His style will get branded as 'boring' and he will get hounded out after 18months/his first bad run.

21-12-2021, 04:17 PM
I back Maloney, this could be a real good appointment that Hibs have made, it will take a wee bit of time to get in the players that he needs and to get them playing a real good brand of football, but I now see this as a very positive move. I also think we have a hell of a lot of non-Hibs minded people on this forum.
Good things take time, also a bit of cash as well but I back Maloney.

21-12-2021, 04:45 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/gallery-shaun-maloneys-first-training-session

Some pictures from the first training session.

21-12-2021, 07:04 PM
He will instantly command respect in the dressing room from coaching the Belgian superstars and from his playing career. From what I'm hearing from people who have worked with him I'm becoming more and more optimistic about this appointment.

IncredibleHibee
21-12-2021, 07:06 PM
He has shades of Catho about him when he was speaking to hibs tv. …

sauzeelegod
21-12-2021, 07:22 PM

🙈

21-12-2021, 07:29 PM
His style will get branded as 'boring' and he will get hounded out after 18months/his first bad run.

Any chance of next weekends lottery tickets?

21-12-2021, 07:30 PM

Nothing like him

21-12-2021, 07:30 PM

I just can't see how the Maloney's stated style of play will work and that is one of the reasons. The next would be that refs allow so much contact in Scotland that it is easy to lose possession from a foul that isn't given. Lastly, I think he will lose so many games trying to get the system to work that he would be forced to abandon it or face the consequences. I also find the system pretty dull if I'm honest.

I hope Maloney sticks to his promise of attacking football with points but also realises where he is playing and what the players are capable of and how quickly they will adapt to change. I like that he has a philosophy but I hope he is a realist and realises it could be a long journey, perhaps fuelled by the academy, to get to where he wants to be. We also need to realise if he gets half way there he won't be at Hibs and we need to get back to the LD plan of having whatever style of play is chosen and get it woven through every level of the club and identify future managers that can fit in to that style or an adaptation of it. For me a plan isn't a single manager but it can start with one.

21-12-2021, 07:32 PM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/gallery-shaun-maloneys-first-training-session

Some pictures from the first training session.

Pretty sure there were photos yesterday also. These ones are excellent good to see Dan McKay back playing.

Mutu
21-12-2021, 07:34 PM

Chances are if you entertain, you’ll get results. If you only care about the results and not how you get there then it won’t take long for that to unravel and when it does the manager won’t have any credit in the bank.

TBH I’m a bit bored of the current narrative that Hibs supporters are wildly unrealistic in our expectations and only instant success will do. If people are seeing progress on the park, they see a team with passion they can relate to that are trying to play the right way we will be a lot more understanding and patient.

Look at the reaction to our second half on Sunday compared to the first. People are generally happy with how we competed in the second half and the effort the players put in and the team came off to a standing ovation. First half I’ve only seen people complaining about how it’s not what they want to see from a Hibs team. We drew the first half, lost the second.

It’s performances and effort that engages the support, not cold hard statistics or league tables IMO,

This is spot on, especially that last sentence. I can't think of many memorable moments from our 3rd place finish with Ross but I can think of loads under Lennon. And that's not me clamouring for Lennon to come back to Hibs again but it tells you something about what makes folk want to go to a game and invest time and money into a team.

More to football that just winning.

21-12-2021, 07:38 PM
I've heard big changes already, Shauns obviously learnt a thing or two from his time in Belgium. Ketchup is banned and chips are now called fries and have to be eaten with mayo. Waffles on the menu for breakfast. De Bruyne and Lukaku will look f*****g great in that iconic green and white sleeved shirt.

21-12-2021, 07:38 PM
I just can't see how the Maloney's stated style of play will work and that is one of the reasons. The next would be that refs allow so much contact in Scotland that it is easy to lose possession from a foul that isn't given. Lastly, I think he will lose so many games trying to get the system to work that he would be forced to abandon it or face the consequences. I also find the system pretty dull if I'm honest.

I hope Maloney sticks to his promise of attacking football with points but also realises where he is playing and what the players are capable of and how quickly they will adapt to change. I like that he has a philosophy but I hope he is a realist and realises it could be a long journey, perhaps fuelled by the academy, to get to where he wants to be. We also need to realise if he gets half way there he won't be at Hibs and we need to get back to the LD plan of having whatever style of play is chosen and get it woven through every level of the club and identify future managers that can fit in to that style or an adaptation of it. For me a plan isn't a single manager but it can start with one.

It’s a good point you raise and you can add the crap pitches up here to the challenges he’s going to face.

Hibees1973
21-12-2021, 07:44 PM
Fine words, but players trump tactics and after watching Hibs for the last couple of months we have nowhere near enough players to implement a passing style of play.

We have hardly any fast skilful players able to take the football in tight areas and build constructively. Maloney will have to be some kind of miracle worker to transform the players we currently have then recruit footballing players on the cheap.

The first transfer window is vital for Maloney to get off to a good start and get us moving up the table.

My feeling is his comments are incredibly naive and lack understanding of what the game is like up here. Only my opinion but we will see if Maloney is a miracle worker.

21-12-2021, 07:44 PM
This is spot on, especially that last sentence. I can't think of many memorable moments from our 3rd place finish with Ross but I can think of loads under Lennon. And that's not me clamouring for Lennon to come back to Hibs again but it tells you something about what makes folk want to go to a game and invest time and money into a team.

More to football that just winning.

I loved lots of the football under Jack Ross. The boring narrative is not a team I’m aware of.

21-12-2021, 07:47 PM
It’s a good point you raise and you can add the crap pitches up here to the challenges he’s going to face.

Yes, I read back and saw that. Totally agree it is another difficulty with that system. Slow astro pitches will be horrendous for playing that game.

All I want is a style of play that involves trying to score goals and moving the ball quickly while caring enough to try and stop the opposition playing their way to our box without challenge. If we end up playing it around the box waiting for the perfect opportunity then I will be bored rigid. Hopefully, Maloney's wealth of experiences in Scotland and out with with give him a rounded knowledge. I admire him if he has the drive to bring a very specific style to Hibs but he needs to be aware of all the bumps on the road and realise he may need a few detours and pit stops along the way

21-12-2021, 07:48 PM

From what I’ve read about him and his philosophy or whatever, it’s going to be as much about how the players get about the pitch as much as what happens with the ball.

If I think about what we’ve been like we’re just so slow and static. We pass the ball plenty so that’s not an issue but I think (hope) we’re going to see us looking to pass it quicker and further up the park.

21-12-2021, 07:50 PM
Fine words, but players trump tactics and after watching Hibs for the last couple of months we have nowhere near enough players to implement a passing style of play.

We have hardly any fast skilful players able to take the football in tight areas and build constructively. Maloney will have to be some kind of miracle worker to transform the players we currently have then recruit footballing players on the cheap.

The first transfer window is vital for Maloney to get off to a good start and get us moving up the table.

My feeling is his comments are incredibly naive and lack understanding of what the game is like up here. Only my opinion but we will see if Maloney is a miracle worker.

He played and won plenty up here. I think he’ll have a pretty decent understanding of what the game is like in this league.

21-12-2021, 07:52 PM

Its hard to finish 3rd and get to the latter stages of cups without performances and effort.

Dmas
21-12-2021, 08:00 PM
Yes, I read back and saw that. Totally agree it is another difficulty with that system. Slow astro pitches will be horrendous for playing that game.

All I want is a style of play that involves trying to score goals and moving the ball quickly while caring enough to try and stop the opposition playing their way to our box without challenge. If we end up playing it around the box waiting for the perfect opportunity then I will be bored rigid. Hopefully, Maloney's wealth of experiences in Scotland and out with with give him a rounded knowledge. I admire him if he has the drive to bring a very specific style to Hibs but he needs to be aware of all the bumps on the road and realise he may need a few detours and pit stops along the way

He said yesterday his style was going to be ‘hopefully a style that wins us football matches’ I don’t think he’s nailed on a certain approach that the players must fit in, yeah he’ll have a plan and a idea of what he wants in his mind but I think he knows it might not be possible immediately

21-12-2021, 08:25 PM
He played and won plenty up here. I think he’ll have a pretty decent understanding of what the game is like in this league.

And more Scotland caps than I’d have guessed at him having until I read it this week.

21-12-2021, 08:33 PM

What comments has he made that are are incredibly naive?

21-12-2021, 08:44 PM

Definitely something in this. I think back to Mowbray’s first two home games after Williamson’s time - someone who was, pertinently, a Hibs manager who was viewed as dull and safe, and whose time was effectively up after losing a cup final that we were strong favourites for.

TM’s first two home league games were a 1-0 defeat to Killie - where we battered them for the majority of the game, only to lose to a deflected free kick late on - and a 4-4 draw against Dundee. In the latter we were blowing them away, and only an incorrect offside call denied us a 5-1 lead, before a late collapse cost us points.

Whilst we only took one point out of six from those two very winnable home games - and we undoubtedly saw the worst of what Mowbray’s sides would have to offer in them - my recollection was the vast majority of fans being overwhelmingly positive about how that team played and what it was trying to do. It had a clear identity and was exciting to watch.

A big factor here is that Maloney doesn’t have a full preseason to work with the squad like Mowbray did - and that the January window is much more difficult to do business in than the summer one. However, there is a winter break approaching (hopefully sooner than planned), and an opportunity to sign players next month.

I don’t think many fans could have envisaged such a dramatic change in style as the one that we saw from Williamson to Mowbray - and it’s obviously far from guaranteed that SM will be able to get us playing how we wants us to.

However, it didn’t require a huge change in personnel for Mowbray to do what he wanted - a couple of really smart bits of transfer business in Boozy, Shiels and Murphy were certainly key. Hopefully we’ll see as discernible a change in style now as we did back then (and I say that as someone who did not believe that Ross was a negative manager by nature).

21-12-2021, 09:03 PM

Which players can’t play a passing style?

Most of them have done so successfully in the past. Others like Porteous are clearly well capable.

Of the current squad I can only think of someone like Gogic who is an immediate issue. Maybe Josh Campbell isn’t the most technically gifted. And Doidge but his role would be different anyway.

We’ve got lots of good players who can pass well under the right coach and system.

21-12-2021, 09:06 PM

We have a reasonable squad now however could do with 3 or 4 though we are already bringing in Tait and Mueller who are both athletic and skilful. You do realise Shaun Maloney played a large part of his career in Scotland so definitely is more than aware of what the games is like including playing against hammer throwers like Hearts.

21-12-2021, 09:11 PM
Which players can’t play a passing style?

Most of them have done so successfully in the past. Others like Porteous are clearly well capable.

Of the current squad I can only think of someone like Gogic who is an immediate issue. Maybe Josh Campbell isn’t the most technically gifted. And Doidge but his role would be different anyway.

We’ve got lots of good players who can pass well under the right coach and system.

Boozy, Scott Brown, Kevin Thomson, Mikey Stewart. That midfield was the best we’ve had in the modern era, should have been challenging the old firm. That’s the quality you want when you’re developing an expansive passing game.

21-12-2021, 09:33 PM
Boozy, Scott Brown, Kevin Thomson, Mikey Stewart. That midfield was the best we’ve had in the modern era, should have been challenging the old firm. That’s the quality you want when you’re developing an expansive passing game.

Loved that team. Not hugely relevant to the post I made or replied to.

We’ve got a squad now that could easily play a passing game. Raith Rovers play some excellent passing football at the moment, great to watch. They don’t have players anywhere near our quality.

I’d love it if we could find another Boozy - one of my all time favourites - but Joe Newell is a top player in this league now outside of the OF. With a few good additions we can kick on. Thankfully Hearts don’t have a midfield with the likes of Hartley, Skacel and Brellier either.

21-12-2021, 09:46 PM
Not hugely relevant to the post I made or replied to.

:dunno: That’s a weirdly biscuit ersed comment. I was merely expanding on the discussion about quality passing and the importance of having quality personnel. Not every post is an attempted takedown you know :faf:

21-12-2021, 09:50 PM
:dunno: That’s a weirdly biscuit ersed comment. I was merely expanding on the discussion about quality passing and the importance of having quality personnel. Not every post is an attempted takedown you know :faf:

Haha you’re right….. I should have asked whether you think our squad is good enough now? I initially read it as dismissing the current players but that wasn’t actually in your post at all.

Of course we’d love to have the quality of a Brown or a Boozy.

21-12-2021, 10:03 PM
Haha you’re right….. I should have asked whether you think our squad is good enough now? I initially read it as dismissing the current players but that wasn’t actually in your post at all.

Of course we’d love to have the quality of a Brown or a Boozy.

All cool.

I’m a fan of Newell. JDH started really well, was our best player for a few games but has undoubtedly gone off the boil, there are reasons for that I’m sure but I’m not convinced hes going to be one for the future. Campbell, good signs but to early to tell. Scott Allan is the key to our creativity but health as we all know is the concern. Gogic has been scapegoated after a great season last year and can be a squad player or an impact sub when we want to play like that. Cadden, fine. Acceptable, some days better than others. Could be a wide player in a 3-4-3?

There’s a big McGinn and McGeough sized hole over the midfield and you don’t replace those players easily but it’s been way too long. I’d like to see two statement signings in the summer, I’ve no problem keeping a few of the players above, especially Newell, but it’s not fit for purpose at the moment IMO. No ones running past players, taking chances or playing a reliably killer final ball.

21-12-2021, 10:09 PM
We have a reasonable squad now however could do with 3 or 4 though we are already bringing in Tait and Mueller who are both athletic and skilful. You do realise Shaun Maloney played a large part of his career in Scotland so definitely is more than aware of what the games is like including playing against hammer throwers like Hearts. He only played three years in the first team. I would have guessed more. He did so in a poor Celtic team but one that was still miles ahead of the other teams in the league bar one. I'm not sure playing with 60k behind you, a referee giving you everything and having the ball 60 or 70 percent of most games all 10 years ago will give him the full story. Saying that he will still have a good idea and will soon get up to speed.

21-12-2021, 10:16 PM

better than McGinn, McGeouch and Allan?

21-12-2021, 10:29 PM
Definitely something in this. I think back to Mowbray’s first two home games after Williamson’s time - someone who was, pertinently, a Hibs manager who was viewed as dull and safe, and whose time was effectively up after losing a cup final that we were strong favourites for.

TM’s first two home league games were a 1-0 defeat to Killie - where we battered them for the majority of the game, only to lose to a deflected free kick late on - and a 4-4 draw against Dundee. In the latter we were blowing them away, and only an incorrect offside call denied us a 5-1 lead, before a late collapse cost us points.

Whilst we only took one point out of six from those two very winnable home games - and we undoubtedly saw the worst of what Mowbray’s sides would have to offer in them - my recollection was the vast majority of fans being overwhelmingly positive about how that team played and what it was trying to do. It had a clear identity and was exciting to watch.

A big factor here is that Maloney doesn’t have a full preseason to work with the squad like Mowbray did - and that the January window is much more difficult to do business in than the summer one. However, there is a winter break approaching (hopefully sooner than planned), and an opportunity to sign players next month.

I don’t think many fans could have envisaged such a dramatic change in style as the one that we saw from Williamson to Mowbray - and it’s obviously far from guaranteed that SM will be able to get us playing how we wants us to.

However, it didn’t require a huge change in personnel for Mowbray to do what he wanted - a couple of really smart bits of transfer business in Boozy, Shiels and Murphy were certainly key. Hopefully we’ll see as discernible a change in style now as we did back then (and I say that as someone who did not believe that Ross was a negative manager by nature).

Great post. I remember leaving that Kilmarnock game disappointed at the result but amazed at the difference in performance

Tommy75
21-12-2021, 11:02 PM
Any chance of next weekends lottery tickets?

I'll PM you them.

cam75
22-12-2021, 07:45 AM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=fjLZ1_3nLcE
Worth a watch if not already up 👍

22-12-2021, 07:59 AM

Agreed. Best midfield I’ve seen in my time following Hibs.

Crunchie
22-12-2021, 08:03 AM
Patience is not a big feature of our fans.

Hopefully they give him time to implement. As he says it will take time.

Time is something our fans don't do, if he doesn't get it right after a few games there'll be fans on his back. I've given up hope of us ever having a manager in charge for more than 2-3 years.

Crunchie
22-12-2021, 08:13 AM
On their day the best midfield trio in my lifetime that's for sure.

Stonewall
22-12-2021, 08:19 AM
I loved lots of the football under Jack Ross. The boring narrative is not a team I’m aware of.

I agree but there were people on here criticising his style of football and ability to win big games before he even started. Then it was just a steady drip of poison to reinforce the arguement.

Fact is without spectators there were precious few good games on the tely last season from any club.

Now Maloney’s being questioned and his team’s not even kicked a ball yet.

it’s absolute madness.

22-12-2021, 08:24 AM
I just hope all the Maloney nay sayers realise he can't change things overnight, guaranteed they'll be on here tonight saying where's the difference, same old etc.

sahpaton
22-12-2021, 08:26 AM

He said it’s down to him and his staff to adapt to the players, not the other way round. He obviously doesn’t expect to come in and turn us into Belgium with a couple of passing and positional drills. Think you’re the one being naive if you’ve taken that from a perfectly sound interview detailing the large task at hand.

22-12-2021, 08:30 AM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=fjLZ1_3nLcE
Worth a watch if not already up 👍

Interesting.

I wonder if there’s any significance he originally comes from a futsal background.

I don’t really know much about it, I know it’s known for individual technical skills but is there more that is transferable to real football?

22-12-2021, 08:32 AM
I expect we'll get hints of how he wants to play the game this season but, if it's different from how Ross set out his team (and we really won't know that for a while), it's not necessarily going to be an instant change as it's still the same squad.

22-12-2021, 08:46 AM
Just listened to the latest Open Goal podcast.

Loads of high praise for Maloney from the lads that know him well and his dedication for perfection and things done in a professional manner.

Well worth a listen.

22-12-2021, 08:57 AM
Great post. I remember leaving that Kilmarnock game disappointed at the result but amazed at the difference in performance

Mowbray was very open and out-spoken about the changes he was implementing and the way he wanted us to play. So even though early results weren’t great, fans could compare those words with the way we were playing and say ‘yup, I can see what we are trying to do here.’

Something similar happened with Stubbs - again, early results weren’t great, but he was open about needing to build a new team and try out different combinations and you could see players trying to make it work.

I think Maloney should also be upfront and honest from the start. It will help everyone know what to expect.

w pilton hibby
22-12-2021, 09:02 AM
Open letter from the new manager

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/an-open-letter-from-shaun-maloney

22-12-2021, 09:11 AM

I stopped reading at "reach out".

Baloney out. :greengrin

Who the hell does he think he is

Nice touch, wonder if it was Shaun's idea.

w pilton hibby
22-12-2021, 09:31 AM
Video inside training

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/inside-training-maloneys-first-training-session

Stokesy's on fire
22-12-2021, 09:40 AM
The future is maybe with the kids.

We can't keep building for the future we started that process years ago we need to be ready now.

22-12-2021, 11:19 AM
Video inside training

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/inside-training-maloneys-first-training-session

Interesting that. Not sure how much that differs to JR but interesting watch. Only a short clip but doesn't seem very vocal.

22-12-2021, 11:54 AM
We can't keep building for the future we started that process years ago we need to be ready now.

Drives me mad. Maloney says the ‘long term’ ambition is to win cups.

We were literally 90 minutes away from lifting a cup at the weekend.

Fuzzywuzzy
22-12-2021, 11:55 AM
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/an-open-letter-from-shaun-maloney?fbclid=IwAR3SyELkgEmpnHWIpzTUqQ0AFAUFR7h-FQy2VT1qiKXvXIC3I3M9E6JjEOw

Open letter from Maloney if not already posted

22-12-2021, 11:56 AM

Feel the passion and inspirational moments.

22-12-2021, 12:19 PM

It is a phrase that I hate and to be honest that looks like it was written by someone in a Comms Team. Nothing wrong with it but it feels plastic and without any real feeling. It is a say all the right things in the right order and make sure you echo everything the CEO has been saying. Nothing that inspires or excites as far as I am concerned and like most he will be judged on how we play on the park and the results those performances bring. Hopefully, he won't find it a challenge for long as a bad 10 game spell might mean he is looking for another challenge.

22-12-2021, 12:21 PM
I just hope all the Maloney nay sayers realise he can't change things overnight, guaranteed they'll be on here tonight saying where's the difference, same old etc.

How about giving the snidey comments a rest eh?

22-12-2021, 12:22 PM
It is a phrase that I hate and to be honest that looks like it was written by someone in a Comms Team. Nothing wrong with it but it feels plastic and without any real feeling. It is a say all the right things in the right order and make sure you echo everything the CEO has been saying. Nothing that inspires or excites as far as I am concerned and like most he will be judged on how we play on the park and the results those performances bring. Hopefully, he won't find it a challenge for long as a bad 10 game spell might mean he is looking for another challenge.

I think there’s at least recognition that there isn’t a great connect between the team and the fans just now and if they recognise it, they can try to fix it.

Open letters alone won’t do it but I’m pleased it’s on their radar.

22-12-2021, 12:25 PM

I'm hoping we will see a much more high pressing game from us tonight.

22-12-2021, 01:12 PM
I think there’s at least recognition that there isn’t a great connect between the team and the fans just now and if they recognise it, they can try to fix it.

Open letters alone won’t do it but I’m pleased it’s on their radar.

It has been mentioned previously too. No harm in it and glad, like you it is recognised, but it is something that is organic and won't be solved by a bland comms piece. Someone else said on the thread or elsewhere that Mowbray set out what he wanted to achieve. I'd like to see that with Maloney and Ron and both to go into a bit more detail than bullet points. I'd want some loose timetable too. If you want fans to buy in then you need to give us something tangible to measure against and look forward to. It feels all a bit like my work where the Corporate Plan and CEO comms reads like everything is rosy in the garden but everyone working there feels like they are pulling up Japanese Knotweed all day and going nowhere

22-12-2021, 01:20 PM
It has been mentioned previously too. No harm in it and glad, like you it is recognised, but it is something that is organic and won't be solved by a bland comms piece. Someone else said on the thread or elsewhere that Mowbray set out what he wanted to achieve. I'd like to see that with Maloney and Ron and both to go into a bit more detail than bullet points. I'd want some loose timetable too. If you want fans to buy in then you need to give us something tangible to measure against and look forward to. It feels all a bit like my work where the Corporate Plan and CEO comms reads like everything is rosy in the garden but everyone working there feels like they are pulling up Japanese Knotweed all day and going nowhere

A timetable is a terrible idea, just going on posts in this forum it would 100% be used as another stick to beat the club with when the magical date passes and we haven’t won the cup or qualified for Europe or some other target hasn’t quite been met yet.

22-12-2021, 01:24 PM
A timetable is a terrible idea, just going on posts in this forum it would 100% be used as another stick to beat the club with when the magical date passes and we haven’t won the cup or qualified for Europe or some other target hasn’t quite been met yet. I was thinking more of when building blocks would be put in place. IE Maloney describes what style of play he would like and says he hopes over two transfer windors it could be achieved. Ron says he hopes to become the 3rd biggest club in terms up revenue from advertising in the next 5 years. Not a timetable for on field success but the building blocks that make it more likely

22-12-2021, 02:14 PM
He only played three years in the first team. I would have guessed more. He did so in a poor Celtic team but one that was still miles ahead of the other teams in the league bar one. I'm not sure playing with 60k behind you, a referee giving you everything and having the ball 60 or 70 percent of most games all 10 years ago will give him the full story. Saying that he will still have a good idea and will soon get up to speed.

Think he had quite a few big injuries in his career.

22-12-2021, 02:44 PM

Mowbray had a big advantage that Maloney won’t, a group of talented young players coming through the system, he added some experienced players to help these young lads develop in to 1st team players and become a good team.

Maloney will more than likely have to buy players to adapt to his style of football, Doig & Boyle will suit his style maybe a few others but some of our players seem to struggle playing a high tempo game, maybe the new fitness guy can help with that, this squad has until the summer to show Maloney if they are worth keeping after that, yes we will get a couple of players in January window but I think SM will have a good budget for the upcoming summer window and we will see a number of changes to the team.

22-12-2021, 02:45 PM
I am pretty sure that our new manager will be trawling through this forum, picking up all the expert analysis and opinions, how could he go wrong if he listens to all of us slavers.

22-12-2021, 02:54 PM
Interesting that. Not sure how much that differs to JR but interesting watch. Only a short clip but doesn't seem very vocal.

In fairness to him it’s a short video focussing mainly on the warm up.

The side steps and volleys
Left and right sprints
Shooting drill

These are the drills that are normally taken by the coaches to get them warmed up or whilst he’s preparing something else. They players are having a whilst doing them and it’s not the main point of the session.

There was a video on his very first day which showed him shouting a lot and doing lots of running, appearing very energetic.

I think when it’s the crux of the session it will be him setting the tempo and being vocal in his own way.

22-12-2021, 02:56 PM
Video inside training

Strange video clips to share - gives no insight really
Into the new training approach - almost not worth posting.

22-12-2021, 03:01 PM

I’m sure it’s to make the fans feel involved without giving too much away to the opposition.

I for one love this sort of content and welcome it being shared, no matter how short it is.

22-12-2021, 03:07 PM

Probably not wanting to give anything away just to give an insight of the sort of activities players will do in training. Good idea and to me good to see.

Fuzzywuzzy
22-12-2021, 03:07 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/shaun-maloney-hibs-nothing-hearts-25747958

Ryan Stevenson has spoken so that's it.

22-12-2021, 03:08 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/shaun-maloney-hibs-nothing-hearts-25747958

What is the tattooed lady saying nowadays? :greengrin

22-12-2021, 03:10 PM

I never read Tam McManus' version of this, but genuinely hope it's nothing like that pile of pish.

Can't believe a 'newspaper' publishes that, whatever audience it's targeted at.

22-12-2021, 03:13 PM
Best coach Stevenson worked under in his own words were Jeffries and Owen coyle

Meanwhile maloney has done the cruyff coaching school, played for his country, played in the champions league, won a fa cup, coached a top 5 world international football team

Maloney out, Stevenson in.

Fuzzywuzzy
22-12-2021, 03:15 PM
What is the tattooed lady saying nowadays? :greengrin

Powerpoints are **** and Jamie walker is barry

22-12-2021, 03:16 PM
Powerpoints are **** and Jamie walker is barry

Sounds quite profound for him. :greengrin

22-12-2021, 03:16 PM
I’m sure it’s to make the fans feel involved without giving too much away to the opposition.

I for one love this sort of content and welcome it being shared, no matter how short it is.

That is a very good point.
It reminded me of the time when Willie Ormond was in Germany WC Finals 1974 with Scotland.

Went daft at press and photographers barging in one particular training session.
He was being wary of opponents seeing and hearing film footage of the training/tactics stuff,or even concerned about spies sneaking in.

22-12-2021, 03:59 PM

Will never please everybody I suppose

22-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Will never please everybody I suppose

Wasn’t meaning to be controversial…just thought the clips didn’t really share anything new/different. If others enjoyed it , delighted

22-12-2021, 04:16 PM
Probably not wanting to give anything away just to give an insight of the sort of activities players will do in training. Good idea and to me good to see.

[emoji106][emoji106]

22-12-2021, 04:20 PM
Ryan Stevenson can go fling s***e at himself. Rather than pontificate on what it takes to be a manager, he should spend the time telling his fanboy crush Jamie Walker to stop messaging other girls on instagram and focus on his family.

Rumble de Thump
22-12-2021, 04:27 PM
The best club Ryan Stevenson played for was Dumbarton so he's not quite at the Shaun Maloney level.

22-12-2021, 04:42 PM
The best club Ryan Stevenson played for was Dumbarton so he's not quite at the Shaun Maloney level.

Honest question-Who the **** is Ryan Stevenson?

22-12-2021, 04:43 PM
Honest question-Who the **** is Ryan Stevenson?

Lewis’ brother

22-12-2021, 05:00 PM
If Maloney signs good players he’ll be a success and if he doesn’t he’ll struggle. No matter what the style of play, teams rarely deviate far from the quality of their squad in comparison with their rivals.

22-12-2021, 05:02 PM
Lewis’ brother
Half brother. That incident with the escaped mountain gorilla isn’t something the family are keen to talk about.

22-12-2021, 05:10 PM
I've heard big changes already, Shauns obviously learnt a thing or two from his time in Belgium. Ketchup is banned and chips are now called fries and have to be eaten with mayo. Waffles on the menu for breakfast. De Bruyne and Lukaku will look f*****g great in that iconic green and white sleeved shirt.

I hope they don't start drinking La Chouffe or Duvel instead of Tennents! :drunk:

22-12-2021, 05:14 PM

Classless twaddle from the ex Jambo and even worse from a rag.

22-12-2021, 05:31 PM
Half brother. That incident with the escaped mountain gorilla isn’t something the family are keen to talk about.

Dangerous thing to do, it could spread another virus around no.

22-12-2021, 05:36 PM

Who?

22-12-2021, 05:42 PM
Dangerous thing to do, it could spread another virus around no.
Ryan does have to permanently isolate, some people call it prison.

22-12-2021, 05:58 PM

Are we ready now?

If not, more building is required.

22-12-2021, 06:39 PM
If Maloney signs good players he’ll be a success and if he doesn’t he’ll struggle. No matter what the style of play, teams rarely deviate far from the quality of their squad in comparison with their rivals.

That could be said about every manager.

22-12-2021, 07:57 PM
That could be said about every manager.

Absolutely.

BegbieHSC
22-12-2021, 09:27 PM
Noticeable difference in the team’s style of play at the start of the match - we actually kept ahold of the ball!

For a period, we did revert back to trying to hoof the ball to the front of Boyle, but after 2 days with the team, I’m impressed to see a positive difference.

22-12-2021, 09:31 PM
Noticeable difference in the team’s style of play at the start of the match - we actually kept ahold of the ball!

For a period, we did revert back to trying to hoof the ball to the front of Boyle, but after 2 days with the team, I’m impressed to see a positive difference.

We only went long because Gogic can't pass it about. If jdh stays on, we'd have continued passing.

We done well. Definitely a clear change in how we start attacks. Aberdeen completely toothless.

LunasBoots
22-12-2021, 09:32 PM

Yeah, Maloney mentioned that in his interview after the match, said the team where really feeling it after Sundays cup game.

22-12-2021, 09:34 PM
4 first team central midfielders missing today. It'll be a big ask to implement significant stylistic improvements before that's remedied.

I liked the overall shape and the pressing early on. Most importantly, we won the game. Not something we've done enough of recently.

22-12-2021, 09:35 PM
Yeah, Maloney mentioned that in his interview after the match, said the team where really feeling it after Sundays cup game.

Where can I hear Maloneys post match interview? I’ve been looking out for it

22-12-2021, 09:37 PM

It was on Sportsound as I was driving home, maybe check BBC Scotland website

Sportscene on now so will be on that

Mentioned it on the game day thread but for me there was a couple of obvious changes.

Defensively;

A much higher line and very little gaps between the back 3/back 5, looked alot more compact. Pressed the ball a lot more especially when it was played into the opposition and we tried to nick it, we were doing this really well up until our goal because of our high line.

Once we scored it changed and we dropped deep, I think this is more down to the players and the lack of confidence. But that said we were still really right defensively with very little gaps between players - individually there was alot less 1 v 1s and they all look more protected. Thought Porteous was brilliant tonight.

Attacking/in possession;

Made the pitch massive, the wingbacks weee hugging the touch line and in patches we played good stuff and alot more one touch triangles. One thing I noticed and it’s part of the positional play I touched on in the first post was people making runs which freed up space for Nisbet to drop deep and get on it before laying it off to the man on the overlap.

We also tried a big switch of play alot more and I think we will be alot more effective at it when Newell and JDH play. It was on alot tonight but we either never seen it, never executed it good enough or the touch on the receiving end was poor.

Doig has so much space and because of aberdeens high line we really should have got him in behind alot but our players were hesitant.

It’s a very good win and massive 3 points, especially when you consider some of our attackers were quiet.

We need alot more quality over the pitch and players more comfortable in possession when under pressure, especially in the final third. We need players willing to take the ball and protect it or beat a man and create something, it’s Boyle or nothing at the moment going forward.

Maloney;

Very animated and vocal despite some thinking he wouldn’t be. I liked him telling someone, not sure who, to calm down. The players need someone composed at the side and that will end up being conveyed to the players. Used his subs well and I felt confident we were winning that as they never overly looked like scoring.

As far as first games go it doesn’t get much harder than Aberdeen who are a bit of a bogey team for us.

22-12-2021, 10:08 PM
I was fortunate to be in hospitality tonight. Maloney came in briefly after the game to a tremendous reception.

Porteous got MOTM and when interviewed said he was pleased to have new year free. When it was pointed out to him that nightclubs would be also be shut it raised a good laugh!!

22-12-2021, 10:30 PM
I was fortunate to be in hospitality tonight. Maloney came in briefly after the game to a tremendous reception.

Porteous got MOTM and when interviewed said he was pleased to have new year free. When it was pointed out to him that nightclubs would be also be shut it raised a good laugh!!

I’m sure Woodburn club will be open 😂

22-12-2021, 10:37 PM
He was saying that when he scored his first thoughts were “aw naw, we’ll lose now”.

Apparently we’ve never won a game in which he scored before!!

He’s glad to have punted that monkey!!

Magpie
22-12-2021, 10:47 PM
He was saying that when he scored his first thoughts were “aw naw, we’ll lose now”.

Sure he came off the bench to score against St Mirren last season where we won. Can’t think of any others though, perhaps a cup match against a lower league side.

22-12-2021, 10:49 PM

Strange he'd forget his debut

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40699574

22-12-2021, 11:22 PM
Yeah i just made it up to get a reaction :rolleyes:

It was Ryan that said it. We all laughed. We didn’t go checking our phones and pointing out his mistake.

22-12-2021, 11:33 PM
Interesting Maloney mentioned Tony Mowbray in his post match interview.

If he gets close to that style he’ll be doing well.

BobMilne
22-12-2021, 11:35 PM

Good post Ross Jack! Lovely stuff.

BobMilne
22-12-2021, 11:36 PM

What a funny story!

22-12-2021, 11:53 PM
Good post Ross Jack! Lovely stuff.Pardon?

Yeah i just made it up to get a reaction :rolleyes:

It was Ryan that said it. We all laughed. We didn’t go checking our phones and pointing out his mistake.

Relax pal, no one said you made anything up.

Lendo
23-12-2021, 12:18 PM
Did anyone else get the impression from the posts match interview that Shaun Maloney is going to be a bit of a taskmaster on the players? Seems to be perfectionist which might be exactly what we/the players needs.

As a separate point, can someone at Hibs ask Porteous to stop saying “aye, listen” at the start of every sentence during interviews?

23-12-2021, 12:32 PM
Did anyone else get the impression from the posts match interview that Shaun Maloney is going to be a bit of a taskmaster on the players? Seems to be perfectionist which might be exactly what we/the players needs.

As a separate point, can someone at Hibs ask Porteous to stop saying “aye, listen” at the start of every sentence during interviews?

Indeed, and I actually think that for all of us commenting on Gary Caldwell having an arrogance about him I actually think he'll need that. Shaun clearly has a love of the game, has an infectious enthusiasm for it and I think having someone beside him who's the dickhead of the team will be vital.

23-12-2021, 02:51 PM
If I’m going to take to Maloney he’s gonna have to stop saying “super this” and “super that” I get he was excited and looked genuinely buzzing in his post match interview last night but it really is unacceptable. It should only be used in a SJM context. :grr:

23-12-2021, 03:00 PM

It seems that way.

As has been said, he’s been working with some of the best players in the world these past few years, he probably wants to see the same level of application and commitment from our players.

23-12-2021, 03:24 PM
It seems that way.

As has been said, he’s been working with some of the best players in the world these past few years, he probably wants to see the same level of application and commitment from our players.That's why I'm really happy with this appointment... time will tell of course!

23-12-2021, 09:21 PM

It isa bit annoying but it’s just a sign of where the English language is going these days. His ‘aye listen’ is a bit like folk starting every sentence with ‘so’.

23-12-2021, 10:37 PM

Haha I noticed that too. In fairness, it's slightly more tolerable than Nisbet starting every response with "defiNETly"

23-12-2021, 10:38 PM
It isa bit annoying but it’s just a sign of where the English language is going these days. His ‘aye listen’ is a bit like folk starting every sentence with ‘so’.

I’ve noticed sportsmen (especially Australians) like to start all sentences with ‘Look,…’ these days. It just sounds like you’re wanting a fight.

26-12-2021, 04:07 PM
Just watched the Dundee United game and the Maloney way of playing is so much more energetic and focused than previously. I think we have a real potential gem in Maloney and the players look rejuvenated

26-12-2021, 04:12 PM
Difference is clear to see, with and without the ball.

Great start, this break is good for him.

26-12-2021, 04:21 PM
https://youtu.be/hfNDVz1LdMI

Reasonable summary of 3-4-3

26-12-2021, 04:42 PM
Sexy.

26-12-2021, 04:44 PM
Just watched the Dundee United game and the Maloney way of playing is so much more energetic and focused than previously. I think we have a real potential gem in Maloney and the players look rejuvenated

Agreed. Early days still, but I get the impression that the players won't be allowed to slacken the tempo during games now. I got the feeling they were a bit too comfortable under the previous regime and only turned it on when they could be bothered.

With a couple of decent additions, it could be an exciting 2nd half to the season.

26-12-2021, 04:57 PM
Difference is clear to see, with and without the ball.

Great start, this break is good for him.

Great to see people behind the new boss but as far as I can see- apart from a personnel changes, the past 2 games haven't shown anything noticeable different and I wouldn't really expect that after one week with the squad. 2 great results but one not great at all performance (Aberdeen) and one half decent today. Maybe I don't have the trained eye others have, or maybe folk seeing what they want to?

Alan62
26-12-2021, 05:09 PM
Great to see people behind the new boss but as far as I can see- apart from a personnel changes, the past 2 games haven't shown anything noticeable different and I wouldn't really expect that after one week with the squad. 2 great results but one not great at all performance (Aberdeen) and one half decent today. Maybe I don't have the trained eye others have, or maybe folk seeing what they want to?

Wow. The number of completed passes? The possession rate? Movement throughout the field to support each other? The confidence to constantly build from the back? The determination to regain possession? The change of tactics to close out the Aberdeen game?

26-12-2021, 05:12 PM
Wow. The number of completed passes? The possession rate? Movement throughout the field to support each other? The confidence to constantly build from the back? The determination to regain possession? The change of tactics to close out the Aberdeen game?

Agee with all that. Pretty much night and day from a few weeks ago

26-12-2021, 05:17 PM

Yes. Not setting myself up as a connoisseur of the game but that was superior in most ways to what we’ve seen recently in terms of a game plan. When it worked with JR it did (Huns at Hampden was last one) but when it didn’t we looked ordinary. We are now developing a way of playing that at least gives the promise of both entertainment and results.

26-12-2021, 05:17 PM

Jeez

26-12-2021, 05:20 PM

Maybe it’s you seeing what you want to because you were a supporter of Ross? Genuinely don’t meant that to be wide by the way.

The system has changed for a start. We’ve seen players contributing going forward that weren’t before. And the results have changed as well.

I struggle to see how people don’t see a difference in the way we’re playing. Or trying to play.

26-12-2021, 05:29 PM
Maybe it’s you seeing what you want to because you were a supporter of Ross? Genuinely don’t meant that to be wide by the way.

The system has changed for a start. We’ve seen players contributing going forward that weren’t before. And the results have changed as well.

I struggle to see how people don’t see a difference in the way we’re playing.

To be fair to Shrekko, in the Aberdeen game Maloney had had virtually no time to make an impression, and as much as it was a good, hard-fought win, we did next to nothing creatively.

We scored three today and it was a great win, but we weren’t slicing through a very weak Utd at will - and that’s fine, we are a work in progress with a manager who is barely in the door.

For me, even when we are working the ball from side to side, and recycling via the centre backs, there is a bit more pace and purpose to our passing, and just a bit more zip to our play.

Definitely seen enough to be very encouraged and believe that there is much more to come - and that Maloney can live up to the promises that he and the board have made.

26-12-2021, 05:33 PM
To be fair to Shrekko, in the Aberdeen game Maloney had had virtually no time to make an impression, and as much as it was a good, hard-fought win, we did next to nothing creatively.

We scored three today and it was a great win, but we weren’t slicing through a very weak Utd at will - and that’s fine, we are a work in progress with a manager who is barely in the door.

For me, even when we are working the ball from side to side, and recycling via the centre backs, there is a bit more pace and purpose to our passing, and we just a bit more zip to our play.

Definitely seen enough to be very encouraged and believe that there is much more to come - and that Maloney can live up to the promises that he and the board have made.

It was evident after about five minutes against Aberdeen what we were trying to do differently though. It’s not going to be perfect yet, it’s probably going to take a change of players but I think it’s really clear that we’re going try to play differently.

The ball is on the deck so much more. Nisbet barely had to compete for a header today.

LunasBoots
26-12-2021, 05:33 PM
Maloney has us playing more of a system than Ross did in his later time with us, players knowing there job in those positions and not 11 men simply trying to defend for there lives, a couple transfer windows and a few new additions we will be a even better team to watch

Hillsidehibby
26-12-2021, 05:38 PM
I don’t want to sound condescending but that’s a very different Hibs team from what I’ve been watching for a long time

26-12-2021, 05:40 PM
[QUOTE=greenlex;6798893]If I’m going to take to Maloney he’s gonna have to stop saying “super this” and “super that” I get he was excited and looked genuinely buzzing in his post match interview last night but it really is unacceptable. It should only be used in a SJM context. :grr:[/QUOT
Dearie me

26-12-2021, 05:41 PM
The system is different and we press the ball higher up the pitch. We won’t see the best of it until we have more dynamic players.

26-12-2021, 05:46 PM

Really no difference incredible analysis. Absolutely night and day. Totally controlled and dominated possession patient passed with much more purpose. Thought we were excellent and from 5 days preparation think we will only get better and better imo.

26-12-2021, 05:51 PM

That’s just not true.

Skol
26-12-2021, 05:56 PM
My view sits somewhere in the middle. The way we play still looks very like the way we did playing the ball across the back and into midfield looking for breaks but not often finding them. This could be a legacy of Ross but actually I suspect that’s the way maloney plays it as well.

However it’s noticeable that we press teams when they have the ball rathe than allow possession and this has led to us winning the ball back

26-12-2021, 05:59 PM
It was evident after about five minutes against Aberdeen what we were trying to do differently though. It’s not going to be perfect yet, it’s probably going to take a change of players but I think it’s really clear that we’re going try to play differently.

The ball is on the deck so much more. Nisbet barely had to compete for a header today.

Definitely agree that there have been less aimless balls forward. And as I said, I feel that we do have a bit more about us already. I was excited about Maloney’s appointment when the news broke, and am even more so after the last two games.

All about perspective, and the arrival of a new manager allows us to view things through a different prism. It would be genuinely interesting - and I do mean that, I’m not casting aspersions - to see what the reaction would have been to the last two performances had Ross still been the manager.

Obviously everyone would have been delighted with the wins, but I’d have been surprised if those who were unconvinced by Ross would have seen the last two games as anything other than a hard-fought but uninspiring win, and a pretty routine victory against severely weakened opposition.

I may be well of the mark, off course - and it’s all moot anyway. Much more interested in looking forward with excitement in any case, I could just see what Shrekko was saying.

26-12-2021, 05:59 PM
For me the main difference today was that every player was looking for the ball. In particular Nisbet kept coming off his markers and giving our defenders a target to aim at. We've criticised our defenders for hitting long balls but if the midfield and forwards are hiding then often the defence has no option. It's encouraging, my only caveat is we may be seeing a new manager bounce with every player busting a gut to impress. Hopefully, the high energy pressing and the showing for the ball will continue.

26-12-2021, 06:04 PM
Definitely agree that there have been less aimless balls forward. And as I said, I feel that we do have a bit more about us already. I was excited about Maloney’s appointment when the news broke, and am even more so after the last two games.

All about perspective, and the arrival of a new manager allows us to view things through a different prism. It would be genuinely interesting - and I do mean that, I’m not casting aspersions - to see what the reaction would have been to the last two performances had Ross still been the manager.

Obviously everyone would have been delighted with the wins, but I’d have been surprised if those who were unconvinced by Ross would have seen the last two games as anything other than a hard-fought but uninspiring win, and a pretty routine victory against severely weakened opposition.

I may be well of the mark, off course - and it’s all moot anyway. Much more interested in looking forward with excitement in any case, I could just see what Shrekko was saying.

The particular part I disagreed with was “ the past 2 games haven't shown anything noticeable different”.

There might not be anything that people think is better than previous, but there are definitely things that are noticeably different. Right from the way we set up.

Victor
26-12-2021, 06:05 PM
My view sits somewhere in the middle. The way we play still looks very like the way we did playing the ball across the back and into midfield looking for breaks but not often finding them. This could be a legacy of Ross but actually I suspect that’s the way maloney plays it as well.

However it’s noticeable that we press teams when they have the ball rathe than allow possession and this has led to us winning the ball back

I think we were only overplaying in our own half, because in the first half United were retreating en masse into their own half when we had possession and there was very little space. When they started to put pressure on us we became much more direct, because our forwards had spaces to run into.

26-12-2021, 06:09 PM
The particular part I disagreed with was “ the past 2 games haven't shown anything noticeable different”.

There might not be anything that people think is better than previous, but there are definitely things that are noticeably different. Right from the way we set up.

Yeah that’s a completely fair point. I just got where he was coming from in terms of the performances themselves, and it not being night and day from Ross.

Today was much more discernible than Wednesday, which is entirely fair enough given how little time Maloney has had. Looking forward to seeing our progress after the break.

26-12-2021, 06:25 PM
How long did we play against ten men today? Was that before or after we scored out 2nd goal?

26-12-2021, 06:29 PM
How long did we play against ten men today? Was that before or after we scored out 2nd goal?

We scored our second just a few seconds after they went to ten men.

26-12-2021, 06:29 PM
It’s early days and Maloney still has it all to prove, but the very early signs are encouraging. Would be interesting, genuinely interesting not just a disguised dig, to see if any of those with doubts about either Maloney or Ron feel any differently? I wouldn’t expect anyone to suddenly be fully convinced but do you feel a bit more upbeat that now the dust has settled and it’s been an encouraging start so far.

26-12-2021, 06:32 PM
We scored our second just a few seconds after they went to ten men.

Cheers.

I thought it was later that the guy went off but watching it on Alba just now and saw him heading to the sidelines, so wasn't sure if he'd come back on, but apparently not.

hibeerealist
26-12-2021, 06:33 PM

Like night and day, confused how folk can’t see this or do they not want to see this?

We are well rid of Jack Ross, nice guy but taking us nowhere. The board were right to act when they did and we are seeing immediate results.

GonzoReturns
26-12-2021, 06:33 PM
We played away from home against a team who absolutely outplayed us last time out. I liked seeing the players be more confident on the ball and their movement. Time will tell as it always does but right now happy with the new management team.

26-12-2021, 06:43 PM

That's an absolutely staggering assessment.
If you REALLY can't see the difference in the last two performances then maybe watching football isn't really for you?
You could always just follow the game on here and save yourself a few quid.

Unless of course you're just at the windup??

26-12-2021, 06:55 PM
We played away from home against a team who absolutely outplayed us last time out. I liked seeing the players be more confident on the ball and their movement. Time will tell as it always does but right now happy with the new management team.

We also already won 3 1 at Tannadice this season.

26-12-2021, 06:58 PM
If I’m going to take to Maloney he’s gonna have to stop saying “super this” and “super that” I get he was excited and looked genuinely buzzing in his post match interview last night but it really is unacceptable. It should only be used in a SJM context. :grr:

He's our first millennial manager, this is the kind of slang people our age use. Sorry mate. :wink:

26-12-2021, 06:59 PM
It’s early days and Maloney still has it all to prove, but the very early signs are encouraging. Would be interesting, genuinely interesting not just a disguised dig, to see if any of those with doubts about either Maloney or Ron feel any differently? I wouldn’t expect anyone to suddenly be fully convinced but do you feel a bit more upbeat that now the dust has settled and it’s been an encouraging start so far.
Very early days but encouraged. It was a huge risk appointing him but he seems to be walking the walk. The biggest bit of encouragement for me us he got through his post match interview tonight without using the word super once. I think he will do for me.

26-12-2021, 07:00 PM
He's our first millennial manager, this is the kind of slang people our age use. Sorry mate. :wink:
He managed it tonight :thumbsup: all is not lost.:wink:

26-12-2021, 07:02 PM
How many passes for our 1st goal today? I suspect about 20 to 30 before Cadden shot was blocked.

26-12-2021, 07:04 PM

Even middle aged Scottish men working in financial services use it.
The worlds gone to the dogs.

26-12-2021, 07:06 PM

Do you say 'could of' and 'should of' as well?

I'd lock the lot of you up for bad grammar.

26-12-2021, 07:11 PM
Can't see much of a style change but confidence seems to be building.

26-12-2021, 07:15 PM
Closing down quicker. Quicker passing. More movement/overlapping. Still play from the back but fewer long balls.

Really enjoyed watching us today on the TV.

cameronw-hfc
26-12-2021, 07:16 PM
Absolutely baffled people can't see the pretty blatant changes. Passing the ball about, 70%+ possession today at times.

Not meaning to be offensive, but it seems to me like night and day. And I was a fan of Ross, but surely everyone can see we're playing different football?

26-12-2021, 07:21 PM
Won 3 on the bounce in the league and the 3 we have played are all poor…only on .net

Stewboy
26-12-2021, 07:23 PM
Won 3 on the bounce in the league and the 3 we have played are all poor…only on .net

Yup. And remember we were bottom of the form league

26-12-2021, 07:29 PM
I know it’s very early, but I have a feeling that Maloney is going to turn out to be a very good manager indeed.

The way he carries himself with a calm positivity yet is always looking on how to improve reminds me a bit of Brendan Rogers. If he ends up half as good as him we’ve got an exciting couple of seasons ahead

GonzoReturns
26-12-2021, 07:37 PM
We also already won 3 1 at Tannadice this season.

Dodgy penalty and a disallowed goal yip good comparison 👍👍

26-12-2021, 07:37 PM
Great start.

It’s clear that we are trying to press harder and dominate possession, and we’ve got our rewards in the first two games.

However, in both matches we’ve then sat deep the last 10–15 minutes and invited pressure, no doubt because we’ve tired.

Is this something we can fix with new players? Im not sure. I think it’s going to be a feature of our play because we can’t keep that intensity for 90 minutes.

However, if we score the goals and are then holding onto a lead then I will take that every week.

26-12-2021, 07:39 PM
Great start.

It’s clear that we are trying to press harder and dominate possession, and we’ve got our rewards in the first two games.

However, in both matches we’ve then sat deep the last 10–15 minutes and invited pressure, no doubt because we’ve tired.

Is this something we can fix with new players? Im not sure. I think it’s going to be a feature of our play because we can’t keep that intensity for 90 minutes.

However, if we score the goals and are then holding onto a lead then I will take that every week.
I think that’s where the conditioning coach comes in. If we can get to the point where we can sustain that over 90 minutes then we’re in a really good place.

26-12-2021, 07:42 PM
Great start.

I don’t think the intention is to sit deep, it’s just from playing every few days since mid November.

However, when they did score it wasn’t panic stations, we went right up the park and scored.

26-12-2021, 07:45 PM
Great start.

IMO that’s just football and the standard of this level.

We completely dominated the first half. They would have got a rollicking and made a sub which allowed them to press us higher.

It was obvious imo that they’d come flying out the traps second half but what did they create?

For me that’s where January will be important for Maloney. In both post match interviews he has said the importance of being braver, being better and playing out. To me he’ll be specifically meaning when the game is a bit tougher and the opposition press you, don’t panic and play the pass as that’s when the gaps open up.

I imagine he’ll recruit to suit that style which will hopefully help.

But in Scottish football teams will always have a lift after a rollicking from their manager imo.

roo62
26-12-2021, 07:45 PM
Absolutely baffled people can't see the pretty blatant changes. Passing the ball about, 70%+ possession today at times.

Not meaning to be offensive, but it seems to me like night and day. And I was a fan of Ross, but surely everyone can see we're playing different football?

I agree and amazing that someone like Drey Wright comes in and plays so well at pace - looking forward to getting a look at Joe Newell who is a baller upping the tempo and linking the play higher up the pitch and hoping we get a chance to see if Hallberg can fit into the system too. It may be that Ross's style didn't suit a number of players who may surprise us in the second half of the season. Think Gogic and the lad Scott will struggle though, they are careless with the ball and this style calls for quick thinking, control and movement. I see more goals too.
Its early days but this has a good feel about it for the rest of the season for me.

26-12-2021, 07:47 PM
There have definitely been noticeable changes, its a good start, though we are benefiting at the moment from other teams not knowing exactly how we will set up, which is a big change - every opposition manager knew how we would play during the previous managers reign. Hopefully Shaun's teams never become so predictable.

26-12-2021, 07:54 PM

We won by the same score at the same ground in the space of 3 months. That seems a pretty valid comparison to me. If you want to analyse it in detail however our dodgy pen last time was matched by our dodgy offside goal today and Dundee United were a much stronger team 3 months ago.

26-12-2021, 07:59 PM
We won by the same score at the same ground in the space of 3 months. That seems a pretty valid comparison to me. If you want to analyse it in detail however our dodgy pen last time was matched by our dodgy offside goal today and Dundee United were a much stronger team 3 months ago.

I think this is where the argument about Ross came in.

Ross got a very good 3-1 win there in the cup but after it there was a feeling we got very fortunate and despite a very good start, it wasn’t particularly enjoyable to watch as we got battered and had to withstand lots of heavy pressure.

Same result today but just a much more enjoyable game to watch IMO.

Some people only care about the end result, other people how we get there.

GonzoReturns
26-12-2021, 08:06 PM

Time will tell. Todays performance was much more dominant all about opinion.

26-12-2021, 08:07 PM
The change in style is clear for all to see but I would also say that it has still to be put under any real pressure. Aberdeen and Utd were both very poor this week. First half today Utd let Doyle Hayes and Wright have as much room as they wanted. In the second half they got touch tight on them a bit more and it definitely showed. I doubt any of the top 3 will make that mistake v us. I really think we will need better in that position as we go forward.
This is the way I would like to see Hibs play but we will need a lot more creativity in the final third.

26-12-2021, 08:11 PM
I think this is where the argument about Ross came in.

Ross got a very good 3-1 win there in the cup but after it there was a feeling we got very fortunate and despite a very good start, it wasn’t particularly enjoyable to watch as we got battered and had to withstand lots of heavy pressure.

Same result today but just a much more enjoyable game to watch IMO.

Some people only care about the end result, other people how we get there.

I don't disagree with any of that. I just don't think we can compare today with our shocking home performance against United without also recognising our earlier win at Tannadice. FWIW I also enjoyed today much more, I hated our 2nd half in LC game. I suspect however that right now results are by far the priority, if we can do it with a bit style then that's a bonus.

26-12-2021, 08:11 PM
Time will tell. Todays performance was much more dominant all about opinion.

I agree with that.

26-12-2021, 09:32 PM
I'm really enjoying watching us build a team with a clear style of play. You can clearly see what we're trying to implement and already it's getting more out of the players we have at our disposal.

Also, I think both games have been a prime example of how the best form of defence is actually to keep hold of the ball and be brave in your passing/ball retention. Utd and Aberdeen barely had a shot on target in 180 mins of football because we've done a great job of keeping a high line and pressing to hurry them into mistakes.

People can take a pessimistic view and say the opposition were poor but that's because we've played well. All with 2 or 3 training sessions maximum, it's a fantastic turnaround and I can't wait to see how Maloney has us playing in a month.

26-12-2021, 09:32 PM
Under Jack Ross we were too predictable and too rigid and it was a difficult and a frustrating watch at times.Shaun wants to play at a higher tempo closing down and hunting in packs as was evident today. He does not seem to be scared to play a different formation to suit the opposition we are playing. Today's game showed that. Looking forward to the journey under him and the more entertaining brand of football he wants the team to play

delbert
27-12-2021, 01:23 AM
Under Jack Ross we were too predictable and too rigid and it was a difficult and a frustrating watch at times.Shaun wants to play at a higher tempo closing down and hunting in packs as was evident today. He does not seem to be scared to play a different formation to suit the opposition we are playing. Today's game showed that. Looking forward to the journey under him and the more entertaining brand of football he wants the team to play

The higher tempo is the key to going from a good team to a very good team, if we can continue to close teams down that wee bit quicker (certainly quicker than under Ross) then we deny them the time and space to hurt us, something I think which has cost us dear against pretty average side, St Johnstone and Ross County spring to mind.

houstonhibbee
27-12-2021, 02:04 AM

Totally agree. Yes we're still keeping possession but the difference as you say is night and day

27-12-2021, 03:23 AM
Already loving the style

How the pundits are still saying they are baffled by jack Ross departing is beyond me now

Players had stopped running for him yes

But nothing mentioned on we are already playing and dominating matches.

The football yesterday was superb. Keep it up hibs

ddoc
27-12-2021, 04:46 AM
I am confused by those that do not see a marked difference in how the team is playing.

The number of hopefully punts up the park from the back have been minimal.
Macey’s distribution by hand compared to his usual punt into touch.
The fact that the ball is on the ground and not what we have suffered before the change of management.
It is like chalk and cheese, in such a small time frame, to what I have been watching for the last 18 months, and long may it continue.

27-12-2021, 06:35 AM
Do you say 'could of' and 'should of' as well?

I'd lock the lot of you up for bad grammar.

Maloney shamefully resorted to ‘we go again’ cliche on Hibs tv last night. Horrific chat.

27-12-2021, 08:16 AM

Versus an offside goal and playing against ten men for the last 15 minutes

Swings and roundabouts. :wink:

27-12-2021, 08:33 AM
I'm someone who though Ross got harshly treated

I can't see how anyone cant see the changes that have been brought into the team though

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

27-12-2021, 08:44 AM

I can't see how anyone can see the changes that have been brought into the team though

We can argue all day about what Ross would have done and the quality of the opposition but it's clear to see that our style of play is very different (which is what this thread is discussing).

27-12-2021, 08:55 AM
Sometimes things just need to change…JR did well for us. Would he have turned the slump around? I believe he wouldn’t but who knows. What is pretty evident is that SM has got us playing at a higher pace, higher up the pitch when we are with or without the ball.

Anyone who says there isn’t an improvement has either not witnessed many games under JR or is simply at it I’m afraid.

27-12-2021, 09:00 AM

I can't see how anyone can see the changes that have been brought into the team though

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Exactly. Where I am. We will never know if Ross could have this team winning consistently so I reckon it’s actually pointless discussing it. We are certainly progressing under the new regime so far.

Hibs4185
27-12-2021, 09:18 AM
Felt a little sorry for Jack Ross but I wanted him out a few weeks previously.

It’s no coincidence that all the moans and groans from Hibs fans were the same as Sunderland previously. Boring, dull and uninspiring football.

Did I want to go the Jack Ross games - 50/50
Do I want to go the SM games - 100%

That’s the difference

27-12-2021, 09:23 AM
Can't see much of a style change but confidence seems to be building.

So you’ve not noticed

Pressing in 2/3 players
Wing backs higher and wider
Macey rarely goes long
We had double the amount of passes than the opposition yesterday

Not being rude at all

Personally don’t understand how anyone can’t see changes, that’s only in 1 week

27-12-2021, 09:26 AM
So you’ve not noticed

Pressing in 2/3 players
Macey rarely goes long

Not being rude at all

:agree: I expected more of the same until the winter break and then regroup. We've now won three in a row (one under SDG) but seen much better football, six points against two teams who have both beaten us this season at some point, improved performances from some players including the much maligned Drey Wright (who was very good yesterday) and more width, more confidence on the ball, more attacking threat, more organised at the back, less long balls and more possession.

27-12-2021, 10:00 AM
Drey Wright… who saw that one coming ? I’ll hold my hands up and say Wow…

27-12-2021, 10:05 AM
Only stats but the difference between the 3-1 cup win and yesterday

3-1 cup win
https://i.ibb.co/vZr5zwz/Screenshot-2021-12-27-11-03-28-24-680d03679600f7af0b4c700c6b270fe7.jpg (https://ibb.co/nzV2kgk)

Yesterday 3-1

https://i.ibb.co/R23K351/Screenshot-2021-12-27-11-06-04-86-680d03679600f7af0b4c700c6b270fe7.jpg (https://ibb.co/fMkWkcb)

27-12-2021, 10:16 AM
Drey Wright… who saw that one coming ? I’ll hold my hands up and say Wow…

He looked like a player lacking in confidence and unclear in his role. He now has a manager that gives all the credit to the players and who is encouraging them to play and giving clear instructions. He may still have a future at the club.

Early days but it looks like the players are very comfortable in the new way of playing, the crowd at the Aberdeen game was also really patient and at the moment we aren't conceding due to players winning the ball back from our defenders. Those were all things I thought might make this style of play difficult to implement but so far it has all went exactly to plan. The one thing that is very obvious, particularly yesterday, is that when you have so much of the ball you don't need to defend much. Our weakness was cross balls and often teams would waltz into our final third and get a cross in without a challenge(St Mirren equaliser). That will happen far less as we have the ball for such long periods. It took a moment of brilliance to get through our defence yesterday but generally we looked very assured.

Bushwoof
27-12-2021, 10:18 AM
Agreed that the style of play has obviously changed. We're much more likely to play the ball short and forward through the midfield. To have changed so much so quickly is pretty incredible, I'd say.
I had got to the stage under JR where I was thinking that maybe the players simply weren't good enough to play in the style that SM wants. And it seems that isn't the case at all. Which suggests that JR was in effect making the players worse, rather than improving them. I think in a few months we'll all be glad RG had the cohones to make the decision he did.
We should all take the lead from SM, and give all the players - such as Drey Wright - a clean slate, and a chance to show what they can do under a manager who seems capable of bringing out the best in them.

27-12-2021, 10:21 AM
He looked like a player lacking in confidence and unclear in his role. He now has a manager that gives all the credit to the players and who is encouraging them to play and giving clear instructions. He may still have a future at the club.

Early days but it looks like the players are very comfortable in the new way of playing, the crowd at the Aberdeen game was also really patient and at the moment we aren't conceding due to players winning the ball back from our defenders. Those were all things I thought might make this style of play difficult to implement but so far it has all went exactly to plan. The one thing that is very obvious, particularly yesterday, is that when you have so much of the ball you don't need to defend much. Our weakness was cross balls and often teams would waltz into our final third and get a cross in without a challenge(St Mirren equaliser). That will happen far less as we have the ball for such long periods. It took a moment of brilliance to get through our defence yesterday but generally we looked very assured.

That first paragraph is a mighty leap!

27-12-2021, 10:31 AM
So you’ve not noticed

Pressing in 2/3 players
Macey rarely goes long

Not being rude at all

I genuinely haven’t no, I’ve only been watching on tv though maybe it’s different if at the game. Not moaning either just haven’t seen much of a difference confidence aside.

27-12-2021, 10:37 AM
I genuinely haven’t no, I’ve only been watching on tv though maybe it’s different if at the game. Not moaning either just haven’t seen much of a difference confidence aside.

Even watching on TV yesterday there is such a noticeable difference.

The formation is different before a ball is even kicked. We’ve won 3-1 up there twice this season but there was a big contrast in the way we dominated the ball yesterday in comparison to our last visit.