View Full Version : Shaun Maloney - Style of play

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6

Hibees1973
29-01-2022, 07:27 PM
Campbell & Doyle-Hayes in central midfield today.

After 6 weeks at the club does Maloney really feel these two are worthy of a first team place. If so, we are in real bother.

This pair sum up our development and recruitment processes. Even worse, both were awarded with long term deals and could be on the books getting a wage for years.

Takes my breath away leaves me raging.

29-01-2022, 07:28 PM
All in your opinion, others see it differently, Hanlon costs us goal nowadays with his slow movement, McGinn is not good enough for Hibs, you should see these things Pep.

Yep, wee shot at me there. Standard. Obviously it's my ****ing opinion, I'm posting it.

Hanlon an excellent player. Seen today how good he is.

McGinn is, based on our current options, certainty good enough to be at Hibs, at least as a squad player. Excellent last season too. That's a fact.

MKHIBEE
29-01-2022, 07:28 PM
JDH - a nothing player IMO
Campbell - lower league level
Drey Wright - anyone who Tommy Wright thinks is the best he's seen is a worry
James Scott - you are simply trolling if you think he is a good player
Jamie Murphy - my iceberg lettuce is more resilient than that lad's hamstrings
Gogic - there's a reason he was at relegated Hamilton
Nathan Wood - panic signing
Stephen and Paul McGinn - never, ever good enough for Hibs

And we still rely on Lewis, Hanlon and McGregor.............

How much salary is that ? The recruitment team at Hibs are awful - plain and simple.

Nothing I have said contradicts any of that although I do think an on form, consistent JDH would be decent

29-01-2022, 07:29 PM
Thats not how a back 5 or 3 works. They are not more defensive or offensive than anything else. All about execution.

FFS, what was Ron thinking bringing in Maloney when he could have just got your services and you could have us flying, admit it you don’t rate Maloney and you aren’t willing to back him from the word go.

29-01-2022, 07:31 PM
He did hit the ground running, but folk like you were never going to give him a chance, he won’t be going anywhere so get behind him and stop your moaning Pep.

I'm fully behind him, as I am every manager at Hibs. Me being behind him doesn't mean we didn't just beat Livi today.

Folk like me :faf: I very rarely slag the team on here. Like, very rarely. Don't embarrass yourself further by continuing this patter.

Nope. But he's done nothing to show he's good enough to be the manager of our football club let alone better the achievements of our last manager. Anything apart from how he views the game?

Sunderland are a bigger club than Hibernian. Replay Robbie left them in third to go to MK Dons for instance. Maloney won't manage a bigger club than us based on everything so far. I'm only speculating, the same as you have saying he will be more successful than Maloney based on absolutely nothing but a CV as a coach - see Cathro.

Exactly this. It's nothing against Maloney.

For me, the Hibs job is one of the top 4 or 5 jobs in the country and it should be treated as such.

SM is the exact opposite of what I was expecting / hoping for. I assumed that as we were getting rid of JR it was because we had someone outstanding lined up as his replacement.

SMs appointment wasn't bad on the face of it, just utterly weird, and I totally get the Cathro comparison's.

I'd imagine RG will be just s quick to act if things don't improve though. Fourth in the league will be the min expected to give us a shot at Europe.

What's interesting is I actually like the look of the players he's brought in. Rocky if he keeps playing the way he is I'd be shocked if he's playing for us next year. We need to give him a chance

For me Maloney still has to prove in the transfer market. Rocky was our best defender today although had a role in the loss of the second goal. I've not been impressed with Henderson. Mitchell was good first half but understandably tired in the second.

29-01-2022, 07:32 PM
Going by what I've seen of us since Maloney arrived, we have no chance on Tuesday.

Players will be up for the derby, these games take care of themselves, the fans (fingers crossed) will be right behind the team and hopefully they get the result we need. :flag:

29-01-2022, 07:33 PM
FFS, what was Ron thinking bringing in Maloney when he could have just got your services and you could have us flying, admit it you don’t rate Maloney and you aren’t willing to back him from the word go.

Admit it, you've had a few and you're posting utter garbage. I back all Hibs managers from the day they join. I desperately want us to win every game. Get yourself to bed.

29-01-2022, 07:35 PM
Yet they both played every week in a 3rd placed team with an excellent defensive record last year, with Scotland caps off the back of them - in the best Scotland team in a quarter century.

It's as if everyone with coaching badges- not from a box of cornflakes - disagrees with you.

Let's not get all misty eyed about Scotland caps - they were brought in due to injuries, and if you honestly think Paul McGinn is an international player and 'mainstay' you're head is full of cornflakes - it's not about coaching badges, it's what we see week in week out, and for a team to consistently be striving for 3rd at least, neither are the answer going forward (now) - the whole squad needs addressed, no one is doubting what Paul Hanlon in particular has offered over the years (great player and servant). I think the point is that the team, and certain players, have had their moment and it's time for a 'new Hibs'. And Paul McGinn has been utter mince this season, anyone thinking otherwise is deluded. Seriously deluded.

29-01-2022, 07:36 PM
look at all the top bosses in the world, every one of them has an air of confidence about them and they all look like they would be "nutters" in the changing room.

stein, fergie, robson, mourinho, klopp, pep, ancellotti, conte, simeone, zidane, van gaal,

would you mess with any of those names.

Have you seen how Maloney behaves in the dressing room ?. Do you think he is a pushover, he is just in the job and won’t slate players he knows he has to rely on with there extended contracts until end of season.

You could always ask Pep on here his views.

MKHIBEE
29-01-2022, 07:37 PM
So JDH gets time but Maloney doesn’t. :aok:

Nowhere have I said that Maloney shouldn’t get time. He is 6 games into his tenure, Far too early to be thinking of anything other than supporting him. As for JDH I’m not convinced he has fully recovered from COVID.

29-01-2022, 07:39 PM
Livingston at home? There's bad and there's bad.

And Jack Ross never had horror shows at home against some pish in this league, Maloney is having to work with some players who got Ross the sack, once again we need to give him time.

29-01-2022, 07:39 PM
Exactly this. It's nothing against Maloney.

For me, the Hibs job is one of the top 4 or 5 jobs in the country and it should be treated as such.

SM is the exact opposite of what I was expecting / hoping for. I assumed that as we were getting rid of JR it was because we had someone outstanding lined up as his replacement.

SMs appointment wasn't bad on the face of it, just utterly weird, and I totally get the Cathro comparison's.

I'd imagine RG will be just s quick to act if things don't improve though. Fourth in the league will be the min expected to give us a shot at Europe.

Will Ron and Ben admit they are wrong if it's bottom 6 or 6th/5th? I'm not too sure. Jack Ross wasn't their signing. Maloney is.

Saying that I desperately hope this Maloney "experiment" works out because it's going to either be wonderful or a disaster.

I would love a rookie Mowbray where right from the Leeds game we knew what was trying to be done. Right now from team selection to formation and subs it just looks like complete guesswork.

29-01-2022, 07:41 PM
I genuinely wonder what he said to make the Hibernian board think he was the best person for the job.

At least Cathro had Potter bigging him up.

And yet you were touting Kennedy for the Hibs job, the guy who helped celtc f*** it up. :aok:

29-01-2022, 07:42 PM
And Jack Ross never had horror shows at home against some pish in this league, Maloney is having to work with some players who got Ross the sack, once again we need to give him time.

We should have given Ross more time and better recruitment to turn things around. At least he had proven as a successful manager. Precedent is founded by sacking him, why back someone who's done little or nothing to show they are an improvement based on blind faith? This team was good enough for third last season and if Maloney can't motivate the same squad apart from Boyle - and it's not as if Boyle missing was to blame for the shambles of an hour against Cove then why is he the right man for the job and whats it based on?

29-01-2022, 07:43 PM
Both forwards played well today, Nisbet especially.

But still missing easy chances just like against celtc.

We probably need a new striker, we need him to score goals.

29-01-2022, 07:45 PM
But still missing easy chances just like against celtc.

We probably need a new striker, we need him to score goals.What easy chances did he miss?

He had a couple of efforts but none I thought were great chances or bad misses

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

29-01-2022, 07:47 PM
He's not got the style quite right yet. It's fine trying to recycle the ball but even losing into added time we didn't have a way to get on the turn and play forward and we're so sluggish laying passes to get us out our own half.

It's pretty clear if you press us hard you'll force us into mistakes the way the players are trying to play football at the moment inching us forward with on the deck passes to the nearest player - livi done that to us all second half.

We need to sort that balance out ASAP.

29-01-2022, 07:50 PM
What do you base your opinion he will be more successful than Ross? Finish higher than third? Win a cup? Based on absolutely what considering we lost in the league today and won in extra time against a team that drew with Dumbarton today in the Scottish Cup.

Ross got time, why’s Maloney not getting it, and Ross got sacked because we were pish but got plenty time, it would seem from some that Maloney only deserves a few games and minds are made up about him.

Zambernardi1875
29-01-2022, 07:51 PM
We should have given Ross more time and better recruitment to turn things around. At least he had proven as a successful manager. Precedent is founded by sacking him, why back someone who's done little or nothing to show they are an improvement based on blind faith? This team was good enough for third last season and if Maloney can't motivate the same squad apart from Boyle - and it's not as if Boyle missing was to blame for the shambles of an hour against Cove then why is he the right man for the job and whats it based on?

we should have given ross more time but slate maloney even though its ross team, and jack ross was a successful manager, **** are you on

29-01-2022, 07:52 PM
I think Maloney will go onto achieve more in his career than Ross because I value his ideas. We should have won the double last season imo and should have beaten a Championship Hearts who hardly played for 6 months. Then to win 2 of 12 league games isn’t acceptable.

Ask Sunderland fans what they think of him after failing to get them promoted and bottling another cup final. Nothing against Jack but he’s a bottle merchant.

Your not allowed to say that about Pep Ross :greengrin

Skol
29-01-2022, 07:52 PM
In the first two games under maloney we looked better as we put pressure on the ball high up the pitch. This caused the opponents to lose the ball frequently. We seem to have given up on this tactic and reverted to the way Ross set up

29-01-2022, 07:53 PM
Midfield has killed us all season. Not enough quality, not enough drive, no presence. Must be an absolute dream to play against.

If we don’t sign a midfielder by Monday, forget the rest of the season.

29-01-2022, 07:53 PM
Is there any manager who could bring together all the posters on here?
Stubbsy and Lennon even got trashed on here alot if i remember.

29-01-2022, 07:55 PM
We got the new manager bounce when Maloney came in and we played well against Aberdeen and Dundee United.

We then had the winter break, which was a chance for Maloney to work with the players to improve their understanding of his preferred system, and to understand how he needs to tweak it to suit the players available to him.

We've been worse since the winter break. Pedestrian against Cove, Motherwell and Livingston with no cutting edge. I'm discounting Celtc because of their budget advantage.

I want Maloney to do well but the early evidence is going to make it hard for him to keep fans onside.

And yet if Nisbet had taken that absolute f***ing sitter against celtc things might have been different for us, but he is missing to many chances, his game has improved over last few games but he is a international striker and is missing to many chances for us which are costing us big time.

Skol
29-01-2022, 07:56 PM

Fair point. Answer is no. Unless we suddenly start winning and playing decent football while doing so.

29-01-2022, 07:57 PM
I just don't think the players he currently has at his disposal are capable of playing in the system he wants to play.

29-01-2022, 07:58 PM
Midfield has killed us all season. Not enough quality, not enough drive, no presence. Must be an absolute dream to play against.

If we don’t sign a midfielder by Monday, forget the rest of the season.

Without doubt, and has meant we have not more silverware as well as better performances - crucial area of the pitch which needs surgery. I think MW Hibbies thought I was being critical of his post but I'm in agreement with him (and you) that until this area is addressed urgently, we'll continue to drift. We do need to get rid of a few defenders who are now past their sell by date though.

Butcher managed it when he got us relegated. :greengrin

So literally based on nothing you've seen on the football field then? His values and because he coached Belgium?

Jack Ross had us finish higher than any Hibernian manager since Mowbray. That is fact. :aok:

Shaun Maloney will never be near a managers job at the likes of Sunderland. Amazing values or not. He certainly won't get us to 2 finals in a season and finish third either.

Step up and apply for the job when he goes, see what you can do for this squad. :aok:

29-01-2022, 07:59 PM
I just don't think the players he currently has at his disposal are capable of playing in the system he wants to play.

Totally. Hence the much stated transitional period. Our midfield is nowhere near the mark.

29-01-2022, 08:00 PM
He needs to be far more pragmatic and realise that these players simply aren’t good enough to play the way he wants.

29-01-2022, 08:04 PM
Theres still some ridiculous overreactions. Getting rid after 6 games? :faf:

Nae need, Juergen and Pep from .net know there stuff.

The folk stabbing him in the back tonight are the ones who didn’t rate him when he became our manager, they are sticking to there guns, fairy enough, I’m still backing Maloney to come good as you can see. :thumbsup:

29-01-2022, 08:06 PM
He’s a highly respected coach otherwise he wouldn’t have been anywhere near Belgium. He also went through an interview process at the club where they deemed him good enough to be in charge. Give the bloke a chance, it comes across that you want him to do a terrible job so you can say you were right. Weird behaviour.

FWIW Maloney wouldn’t have been my first choice for the job but I’ll back him until I feel that he isn’t the right man for the job. At the moment putting everything into perspective with the sale of our best player, a few injuries and how he is trying to implement a style of play we aren’t used to I’m happy to give him time. A long way to go this season, top four and a trophy still within reach.

Down with this sensible talk. :greengrin

davym7062
29-01-2022, 08:07 PM
He needs to be far more pragmatic and realise that these players simply aren’t good enough to play the way he wants.

ur dead right but surely he sees that in training

29-01-2022, 08:08 PM
Being a great coach , doesn’t make him a decent manager though. We know they are quite different roles .

No one can be seeing anything that is suggesting he is going to get this right . Not saying , we shouldn’t support him . Of course we should. But there is no signs that he will make us better. I can understand why a number are worried . I’m troubled too

But you are still supporting him, others have the samurai swords out tonight and cutting him to pieces already.

29-01-2022, 08:09 PM
The passing from the back, the huge possession in our own half, the limited chances, the terrible defending and the utter terrible watch is not going to do him any favours. I can’t see him getting out of this anytime soon. The team look like a deer in headlights as does the manager, it’s an embarrassing watch considering Ross didn’t get the chance of his transfer window, injuries coming back and cup final. This is as bad as I’ve seen since Fenton/Butcher, we’ve no midfield at all.

29-01-2022, 08:10 PM
No, I want him to do brilliant so I can say I was talking rubbish. I'm not going to blindly back him based on absolutely zero though. He's no improvement from before and that's based on performances on the pitch. He's got a chance. There's giving him a chance and there's saying he will do better than the last manager who we finished third under though.

What about the perspective when we had a squad out for Covid, loads of injuries and a fixture pile up. We perhaps shouldn't have hounded out the manager who got us to finals and finished third with a sense of perspective but no - we thought we could do better with the players we have - now that's not the case and time, money and new players are needed - that was after backing Jack and Mathie was the devil after the summer. People just make it up as they go along.

No, you are slating him and don’t want him at the club, it’s that simple, but you were willing to back Jack the bottle merchant. :aok:

29-01-2022, 08:11 PM
But you are still supporting him, others have the samurai swords out tonight and cutting him to pieces already.

whoever is in the managers seat will get my support …

if anyone wants him out already , then they have a different agenda .

He needs to get his finger out and get some wins - nothing to do with folk on here - we need some points

In the first two games under maloney we looked better as we put pressure on the ball high up the pitch. This caused the opponents to lose the ball frequently. We seem to have given up on this tactic and reverted to the way Ross set up

Agree 100% - we’ve just gone back to passively giving the opposition time on the ball. The shape of the team was very clear in those 2 games also IMO. Again, that’s been all over the place since the Celtic game.

It is a worry that we look much worse after the winter break. I get rotation against Cove but why for example did we leave Newell on the bench for the full game today? Crazy stuff, when we’re throwing on the likes of Murphy and Scott

1) doesn’t know his best team
2) too many changes from game to game
3) we have got noticeable worse since the break where we should have got better given he’s had lots of time to work on things
4) failed to address the CM blatant imbalance and had all window to do so
5) not sure he has the fear factor for me all managers should have
6) if the philosophy was the right way why do not many teams play like this, ok on the continent when the games are slower and more technical why have better managers than him not played this way and been successful before
7) strange substitutions
8) you can be a good coach and great guy but that doesn’t mean it will translate to being a manager or even a good one
9) lack of plan B
10) not done himself any favours with the fans with some media and after match interviews

Just a bit of a brain dumb of some of the negatives I can see just now.

Regardless of any of the above the guy needs time and backing. Fans need to be patient as hard as that is, he’s learning on the job aswell we have to understand that and knew what we were in for when he was hired.

I really hope he does well as I like him, but more and more I see this season being a transition and likely more pain to come. Just hope it’s worth it for long term benefit, suspect large number of supporters won’t accept that but is what it is.

29-01-2022, 08:12 PM
I don't think that the tactics were wrong or the style of play was bad, we executed what he wanted reasonably well and played quite well too.

However, Macey gave them a goal, they didn't even have a shot on target in the first half. Campbell has had a howler too, passing the ball directly to an opposition then not tracking back quick enough. Porteous was marking the guy for the corner and it should have been a bread and butter header out.

We are back to making basic mistakes that are costing us games, Nisbet is missing chances but we shouldn't even be in a position where that matters.

I will get pelters for this but Porto is the weak link in the defence, he is erratic and doesn't always do the basics well enough. We had been looking solid at the back apart from the Celtic game, but then we get a game like today and I dunno what to even say if you are the manager.

Murphy and Scott should not feature for hibs ever again.

29-01-2022, 08:12 PM
I think Shaun needs to sign a quality experienced midfielder that can help to drive the team forward. With two days until the window shuts I've no idea who that might be though. If we stick with the current squad then the board are effectively writing off the rest of the season.

29-01-2022, 08:15 PM

Yep it's so obvious. Newell is obviously more capable of building from the back than Campbell and JDH but it didn't work when he was playing at Motherwell either and we were stuck in our own half retaining meaningless possession for long spells.

It seemed to be working with Boyle in the team though. We are missing him hugely.

Skol
29-01-2022, 08:15 PM
I think Shaun needs to sign a quality experienced midfielder that can help to drive the team forward. With two days until the window shuts I've no idea who that might be though. If we stick with the current squad then the board are effectively writing off the rest of the season.

Stephane Omeonga

29-01-2022, 08:16 PM
I don't think that the tactics were wrong or the style of play was bad, we executed what he wanted reasonably well and played quite well too.

However, Macey gave them a goal, they didn't even have a shot on target in the first half. Campbell has had a howler too, passing the ball directly to an opposition then not tracking back quick enough. Porteous was marking the guy for the corner and it should have been a bread and butter header out.

We are back to making basic mistakes that are costing us games, Nisbet is missing chances but we shouldn't even be in a position where that matters.

I will get pelters for this but Porto is the weak link in the defence, he is erratic and doesn't always do the basics well enough. We had been looking solid at the back apart from the Celtic game, but then we get a game like today and I dunno what to even say if you are the manager.

Murphy and Scott should not feature for hibs ever again.

Nisbet was good today for the most part but the issue isn’t him just now it’s where and how he’s being asked to play. He’s far too deep and won’t get enough goals playing like we are. See how dangerous he is when he had a go himself near the end with a few decent chances basically created for himself.

I am moaning about him not being on the end of crosses and anticipating things better but equally it’s difficult to drop deep ball goes out wide and hes expected to get on the end of crossed. It’s the set up that’s wrong IMO

29-01-2022, 08:17 PM
Stephane Omeonga

He was head and shoulders above our midfield today and in the game at Livi.

29-01-2022, 08:19 PM
A jack ross team wouldn’t let in 3 against Livi. I said at the time be careful what you wish for. Buckle in. Get behind him. Live the pain.

Oh for f*** sake, another expert who thinks he knows it all, Jack Ross had some horror shows at ER in his time as well, but you know that don’t you Underscore.

29-01-2022, 08:20 PM
Let's not get all misty eyed about Scotland caps - they were brought in due to injuries, and if you honestly think Paul McGinn is an international player and 'mainstay' you're head is full of cornflakes - it's not about coaching badges, it's what we see week in week out, and for a team to consistently be striving for 3rd at least, neither are the answer going forward (now) - the whole squad needs addressed, no one is doubting what Paul Hanlon in particular has offered over the years (great player and servant). I think the point is that the team, and certain players, have had their moment and it's time for a 'new Hibs'. And Paul McGinn has been utter mince this season, anyone thinking otherwise is deluded. Seriously deluded.

I can see this too.. this new Hibs identity needs key players - it needs fans to be able to say right this is what we are trying to do. These are our key players and they will make us play well. John McGinn / Boyle etc these type of guys who got fans on their feet and brought the crowd together. Add in the quality they brought and they dragged us though games to do well more often than not.

Rotating players and random subs is something I would expect in pre-season. This isn’t an experiment. Maybe rotate Rocky if he’s tired after Motherwell but he comes on after 22 mins then surely he’s fine to start ?

We don’t have the right players for this system - we don’t have good enough players centrally for most systems (or wanting to finish 3rd) - we need to stop letting teams score goals against us.

The spine of the team needs sorted and this is a Jack Ross / Mathie moment (not signing a striker to compete with Nisbet and Doidge -that was even before he was injured - let alone after!!) if he doesn’t sign a decent CM by end of the transfer window the 2nd part of the season will see same frustrating results.

Mutu
29-01-2022, 08:21 PM
I'm guessing Newell got a knock after Wednesday? We really miss him when not in the side - easily our strongest midfielder when receiving the ball under pressure.

29-01-2022, 08:21 PM
We have none, I repeat no character in the team.

We lack a McGinn, Cummings, Riordan, Boyle now.

Someone who was a bit different.

I think porteous has tried to do that but I’d rather he just concentrated on being a centre half.

Like our play it’s all just a bit bland and boring currently

We let the one bit of character we had f*** off to the Middle East to be in a relegation battle with his new team.

29-01-2022, 08:22 PM
So JDH gets time but Maloney doesn’t. :aok:

I wish folk would see that the majority of these players are not good enough, they let down Ross and they'll let down Maloney, it needs more than one window to sort out this team.

29-01-2022, 08:22 PM

I think the majority of these players can play a good quick passing game.

What’s not so clear, is what exactly Maloney does want to do? I thought I understood the approach in the first few games. The last 2-3 games with the ponderous passing in our third…. It just seems confused and a bit bizarre. We don’t seem to have a clear idea how to move up the park collectively at any pace.

There is definitely a disconnect somewhere and he needs to fix it now.

29-01-2022, 08:25 PM
In recent seasons we have lacked a player in midfield who can run the game. Until that’s sorted we’ll have games like today.

Mutu
29-01-2022, 08:26 PM

What’s not so clear, is what exactly Maloney does want to do? I thought I understood the approach in the first few games. The last 2-3 games with the ponderous passing in our third…. It just seems confused and a bit bizarre. We don’t seem to have a clear idea how to move up the park collectively at any pace.

This is where I am at. I saw a lot of good pressing in the first few games aswell, but it was absent midweek and sounds the same today too.

It's why I think it is harsh to specifically blame the players as a collective because it must be tricky to try an adapt to whatever it is they are being told to do. My worry is that this is too much too soon.

MikeyS
29-01-2022, 08:28 PM
Oh for f*** sake, another expert who thinks he knows it all, Jack Ross had some horror shows at ER in his time as well, but you know that don’t you Underscore.

🤣🤣👏🏻 its been bothering me for ages who he reminded me of!

You would think a journalist may ask what the actual plan and style is ? Rather than the usual cliche questions and answers.

I think Shaun needs to sign a quality experienced midfielder that can help to drive the team forward. With two days until the window shuts I've no idea who that might be though. If we stick with the current squad then the board are effectively writing off the rest of the season.Not a total disaster for the owners, whatever they paid for our club, our best player Martin Boyle, was there when they arrived and theyve recouped £3m whilst getting us to where we are today.

I'm Spartacus
29-01-2022, 08:30 PM
I'm going to criticise the time we have chosen to appoint Maloney. 20th December. 5 days before Christmas and then we have been VERY lucky the winter break was moved forward, if the break hadn't been moved we could be 3-4 more games down the road, at least the break gave the squad time together on the training pitch, but you know what, it doesn't show one bit.

I've gone from scared to terrified in the last 7 hours.

29-01-2022, 08:31 PM
I'm going to criticise the time we have chosen to appoint Maloney. 20th December. 5 days before Christmas and then we have been VERY lucky the winter Break was moved forward, if the break hadn't been moved we could be 3-4 more games down the road, at least the break gave the squad time together on the training pitch, but you know what, it doesn't show one bit.

I've gone from scared to terrified in the last 7 hours.

Feel exactly the same. We've regressed after the time Maloney has spent with them on the training ground.

29-01-2022, 08:33 PM
I can see this too.. this new Hibs identity needs key players - it needs fans to be able to say right this is what we are trying to do. These are our key players and they will make us play well. John McGinn / Boyle etc these type of guys who got fans on their feet and brought the crowd together. Add in the quality they brought and they dragged us though games to do well more often than not.

Rotating players and random subs is something I would expect in pre-season. This isn’t an experiment. Maybe rotate Rocky if he’s tired after Motherwell but he comes on after 22 mins then surely he’s fine to start ?

We don’t have the right players for this system - we don’t have good enough players centrally for most systems (or wanting to finish 3rd) - we need to stop letting teams score goals against us.

The spine of the team needs sorted and this is a Jack Ross / Mathie moment (not signing a striker to compete with Nisbet and Doidge -that was even before he was injured - let alone after!!) if he doesn’t sign a decent CM by end of the transfer window the 2nd part of the season will see same frustrating results.

Nailed it with this post - the teams needs 3 or 4 players who at each point in a game can ignite things, bring energy and a spark - whether that's a driving run, a series of tackles, or someone who commands and dictates - at present they all look at each other for inspiration yet none do it and 'pass the buck'. Totally agree with your post.

29-01-2022, 08:39 PM
Maloney deserves the criticism. If we can hound Jack Ross out after a 8/9 game bad spell when he wasn't backed in the summer then Maloney can get criticism for being schooled at home by bloody Livingston. After the Cove performance and not being able to produce a shot between the sticks at Motherwell after two weeks working with his players then he needs to take it imo. The bar has been set punting our best manager in many years.

29-01-2022, 08:46 PM
Maloney deserves the criticism. If we can hound Jack Ross out after a 8/9 game bad spell when he wasn't backed in the summer then Maloney can get criticism for being schooled at home by bloody Livingston. After the Cove performance and not being able to produce a shot between the sticks at Motherwell after two weeks working with his players then he needs to take it imo. The bar has been set punting our best manager in many years.

I certainly don’t think Maloney should be escaping any criticism. Far from it. I also don’t think folk should be declaring they are 100% Maloney out after he’s been in charge for six games either.

29-01-2022, 08:48 PM
Maloney deserves the criticism. If we can hound Jack Ross out after a 8/9 game bad spell then Maloney can get criticism for being schooled at home by bloody Livingston. After the Cove performance and not being able to produce a shot between the sticks at Motherwell after two weeks working with his players then he needs to take it imo. The bar has been set punting our best manager in many years.

30 Dec 2020 Hibs 0 Ross C 2
2nd Jan 2021 Hibs 0 Livi 3
27th Feb 2021 Hibs 0 Motherwell 2
16th Oct 2021 Hibs 0 Dundee U 3

All horrendous terrible defeats at home by your beloved Jack Ross.

I'm guessing Newell got a knock after Wednesday? We really miss him when not in the side - easily our strongest midfielder when receiving the ball under pressure.

Maybe he's being sold?

I certainly don’t think Maloney should be escaping any criticism. Far from it. I also don’t think folk should be declaring they are 100% Maloney out after he’s been in charge for six games either.

I think alot of the criticism stems from whether you were a disappointed Jack Ross fan.

29-01-2022, 08:50 PM
Too much sentiment at the club and not enough zeal to succeed SH - fans fall into that 'romance' - but top sport and success is lethal and has to be cut-throat.

I was questioned by a poster about a player's injury - I know for a fact (and you will better than me) that the likes of Derek and Garry played whilst carrying knocks and niggles - they were true competitors - I'm not convinced we've rid ourselves of players who just don't fancy it. I think we have 4 or 5 in the squad who play on injuries.

They were always ready to go next match if they picked up niggles, I know for sure about one that he would be sent home with stuff that would help with getting him through the next game, can’t even remember him being out for any length of time with injury, the two of them never wanted to be out the team, they were trying to hard to win the bets at the end of the season. :thumbsup:

29-01-2022, 08:52 PM

In fairness I haven’t seen many of any wanting him sacked this early I’ve seen plenty frustrated and a bit despondent based on what they have seen so far which for me is understandable.

29-01-2022, 08:53 PM

Was that not in between the best away run in our history?

29-01-2022, 08:55 PM
I'm fully behind him, as I am every manager at Hibs. Me being behind him doesn't mean we didn't just beat Livi today.

Folk like me :faf: I very rarely slag the team on here. Like, very rarely. Don't embarrass yourself further by continuing this patter.

You have done nothing but slate him.

29-01-2022, 08:58 PM
Admit it, you've had a few and you're posting utter garbage. I back all Hibs managers from the day they join. I desperately want us to win every game. Get yourself to bed.

I don’t drink, but I will continue to pull you up on the garbage you are spouting, from my bed.

What’s our next step Pep.

29-01-2022, 09:00 PM

Maloney isn’t immune from criticism, but are you willing to acknowledge its not a like for like comparison. Jack Ross had numerous transfer windows and had his own squad. He was sacked two years into the job. Maloney hasn’t got everything correct but he’s 6 games and less than one full transfer window into the job having inherited all the problems that got Ross sacked.

29-01-2022, 09:02 PM
Was that not in between the best away run in our history?

I really don't care what games he already won, you want Maloney out after 6 bloody games, playing with the same pish players that got Ross sacked, these are the same players that turned in those horrendous home defeats. Instead of sitting wanking over a photo of Jack Ross, grow a pair and get behind the new manager, at least until he gets his own squad of players in, if after that and the team is still pish, then have a go at him.

29-01-2022, 09:06 PM

I think that is fair to say, but players can adapt to different styles but as I keep saying it will not happen overnight we need to give coaching team and players time.

PH91
29-01-2022, 09:06 PM
For the same reasons that got Ross the sack. We were a one man team and had no midfield. That is still the case but we’ve lost the player that papered over the many cracks we see now.

The midfield wasn't a problem at the start of the season, newell and jdh in front of the back with magennis ahead and we were flying. Fans were all talking about them being the best we have had for years. Losing magennis really has had such a huge impact.

Today showed that newell should be the first name on the teamsheet at the moment. If maloney is going to stick with this sh*t 343 system then he needs to get magennis fit or sign another like him, although im not hopeful of getting someone in that is suitable given our recruitment team think mitchell and henderson are worth signing.

29-01-2022, 09:07 PM
I really don't care what games he already won, you want Maloney out after 6 bloody games, playing with the same pish players that got Ross sacked, these are the same players that turned in those horrendous home defeats. Instead of sitting wanking over a photo of Jack Ross, grow a pair and get behind the new manager, at least until he gets his own squad of players in, if after that and the team is still pish, then have a go at him.

Grow up. Jack Ross got massive criticism so why can't Maloney? Tell me what has improved? I'll wait.

LeithMike
29-01-2022, 09:14 PM
We should have given Ross more time and better recruitment to turn things around. At least he had proven as a successful manager.

Support seems to be sharply divided on this. I think Ross should have got until the end of the season but, if I'm honest, I didn't think he was great and I thought Hibs were a poor team despite the 3rd place last season. I think there is a lot of evidence just how poor the league was by the way Hearts have gone by everyone so easily. Also, St Johnstone are now being shown up as a poor team despite a 5th place finish and two Cup wins.

Surely Davidson has a better track record than Jack given his success and budget he was working to? Ross hasn't achieved anything out of the ordinary in his management career and was really struggling this year. He should maybe have got some time but we weren't going anywhere. Despite a good start in terms of points this season we weren't playing well and the signs of what was coming were there. I just don't think he's a proven success at all.

If we were going with track record for proven success, McInnes should have got the job. We've gone down another route and its a toss up whether it's a success or not. Personally, I think there are worrying signs and I don't rate Martinez (Maloney's mentor). That said there is a chance he could turn us round but he needs time. It looks unlikely he'll get it but I'm willing to be patient albeit I'm pretty sceptical.

The stewardship of the club though is very worrying and its amazing how quickly the rot set in after the 2017-18 success. Last year's 3rd place looks to be a blip which covered up the rot that was taking hold.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

29-01-2022, 09:17 PM
In recent seasons we have lacked a player in midfield who can run the game. Until that’s sorted we’ll have games like today.

Something Jack Ross didn’t address in 2 seasons, hopefully Sean Maloney can bring in that type of player who can drive us forward, they are hard to find in the January window though.

29-01-2022, 09:19 PM
Something Jack Ross didn’t address in 2 seasons, hopefully Sean Maloney can bring in that type of player who can drive us forward, they are hard to find in the January window though.

Kyle Magennis.

I'm Spartacus

Not sure if you know but we are 48 hours away from the transfer window closing, we've taken in quite a wad of cash and seem to have no real plan to use that cash on bringing in real quality. I guess I always assume coaches with a desire to be a first team coach/manager go through their development thinking "When I get an opportunity I'd take him, him, try him, at a stretch try him, him and him".

Just seems no positive development in the play and no improvement within the squad.

The midfield wasn't a problem at the start of the season, newell and jdh in front of the back with magennis ahead and we were flying. Fans were all talking about them being the best we have had for years. Losing magennis really has had such a huge impact.

Today showed that newell should be the first name on the teamsheet at the moment. If maloney is going to stick with this sh*t 343 system then he needs to get magennis fit or sign another like him, although im not hopeful of getting someone in that is suitable given our recruitment team think mitchell and henderson are worth signing.

The midfield at the start of the Euro campaign was good - that midfield trio is decent enough but playing 2 of them together doesn’t work.

Magennis being injured has affected us but again you could say why didn’t we sign someone to cover him as he was never going to play every game.

Doidge playing well then getting injured and no other striker was a mess.

Maloney was brought in to get instant results and top 4.

This isn’t an experiment or transition season. At this rate ST will drop once again. We could easily fall out top 6 by the end of the season.

Next few days are massive for Maloney and Hibs - new players - will he fill the obvious gaps plus the derby.

Hearts are massive favourites - a win for Hibs would help get fans back supporting him.

29-01-2022, 09:20 PM
I wish folk would see that the majority of these players are not good enough, they let down Ross and they'll let down Maloney, it needs more than one window to sort out this team.

In a nutshell big chap, but folk are expecting miracles, we lost our best player this window, stupid thing to do, but how folk can’t see Maloney will need time is bizarre.

29-01-2022, 09:21 PM
🤣🤣👏🏻 its been bothering me for ages who he reminded me of!

:wink: :greengrin

29-01-2022, 09:22 PM
Grow up. Jack Ross got massive criticism so why can't Maloney? Tell me what has improved? I'll wait.

He's had 6, yes 6 games in charge, tell me why you want rid after so little time, are you still hurting that your precious Ross got the boot, aw didums.

Tell me why do you and a good few others invest so much of your feelings for the manager of a club and not enough in the club itself, this bemuses me. I am a supporter of Hibernian FC and will support the team no matter who is in charge. I never get emotionally attached to the manager unlike yourself and some other on here, strange actions to say the least.

Jack Ross got criticism because after a good 3rd last year we went on a terrible, with terrible football and there seemed no way he was getting us out of the rut, it's what happens in football, oh! and falling out with the owner isn't good policy if you want to keep your job.

29-01-2022, 09:25 PM

I actually think the opposite is true. I had a look and, in the league anyway, Newell, JDH & Magennis only played together twice this season. Albeit we won both games. Looking through our lineups up to the point Magennis got injured and we’ve played variations of Gogic, Scott, Allan, Magennis, JDH & Newell. It changed most weeks and rarely the same midfield played the following game.

I think our midfield has been an issue all season. Magennis made such a difference I think he almost papered over the cracks.

29-01-2022, 09:25 PM
Not sure if you know but we are 48 hours away from the transfer window closing, we've taken in quite a wad of cash and seem to have no real plan to use that cash on bringing in real quality. I guess I always assume coaches with a desire to be a first team coach/manager go through their development thinking "When I get an opportunity I'd take him, him, try him, at a stretch try him, him and him".

Just seems no positive development in the play and no improvement within the squad.

And tell me how do you know this? Unless you are privvy to meeting with Maloney and DOF we don't have a clue who they're after and how close we are to signing anyone.

29-01-2022, 09:26 PM
He's had 6, yes 6 games in charge, tell me why you want rid after so little time, are you still hurting that your precious Ross got the boot, aw didums.

Tell me why do you and a good few others invest so much of your feelings for the manager of a club and not enough in the club itself, this bemuses me. I am a supporter of Hibernian FC and will support the team no matter who is in charge. I never get emotionally attached to the manager unlike yourself and some other on here, strange actions to say the least.

Jack Ross got criticism because after a good 3rd last year we went on a terrible, with terrible football and there seemed no way he was getting us out of the rut, it's what happens in football, oh! and falling out with the owner isn't good policy if you want to keep your job.

Again. Grow up. You're making yourself look a complete arse. Didn't think you'd come back with an answer to my question so I'm out. Nothing has improved. Have a good night.

29-01-2022, 09:28 PM

That can’t be right, JR was the best thing to happen to Hibs, and don’t forget about the Hampden horror shows under his watch.

29-01-2022, 09:29 PM

Bang on the money.

29-01-2022, 09:31 PM
In fairness I haven’t seen many of any wanting him sacked this early I’ve seen plenty frustrated and a bit despondent based on what they have seen so far which for me is understandable.

I’ve seen a few say he gets the derby and if he loses that he should be sacked.

29-01-2022, 09:33 PM
Again. Grow up. You're making yourself look a complete arse. Didn't think you'd come back with an answer to my question so I'm out. Nothing has improved. Have a good night.

Grow up ffs I'm not the one greetin because a manager got the sack and it's clouded your judgement on the new guy, you're like a ditched girlfriend.

Nothing will improve until we get the majority of these imposters out the club and get players in who are better and want to be here.

I'm not looking like an erse, I'm not the one moaning about a manager after 6 bloody games, that's embarrassing.

I'm Spartacus
29-01-2022, 09:35 PM
And tell me how do you know this? Unless you are privvy to meeting with Maloney and DOF we don't have a clue who they're after and how close we are to signing anyone.

Ok, lets revisit this on Tuesday morning!

29-01-2022, 09:36 PM
You would think a journalist may ask what the actual plan and style is ? Rather than the usual cliche questions and answers.

I think I would rather our manager let us know. It certainly isn't evident from how we are playing.

The passing is really painful to watch and is slow, inaccurate and for the most part totally pointless. We are not dragging other teams out of shape they are just moving up the pitch in formation as we play pointless passes. In the end we either force a pass or play a weak clearance and now when we foul we are giving opportunities for set pieces to come into our box. Those same set pieces we struggle to defend. I really hope Maloney isn't stubborn about his style of play as it won't end well. He needs to work out what way of playing is best for the player we have

29-01-2022, 09:37 PM

29-01-2022, 09:42 PM
The passing from the back, the huge possession in our own half, the limited chances, the terrible defending and the utter terrible watch is not going to do him any favours. I can’t see him getting out of this anytime soon. The team look like a deer in headlights as does the manager, it’s an embarrassing watch considering Ross didn’t get the chance of his transfer window, injuries coming back and cup final. This is as bad as I’ve seen since Fenton/Butcher, we’ve no midfield at all.

Ross had several transfer windows and the team he assembled and coached was and is utterly **** this season and he deservedly got the boot for it. He's gone. Get over it.

On fire tonight :greengrin

29-01-2022, 09:49 PM
Ross had several transfer windows and the team he assembled and coached was and is utterly **** this season and he deservedly got the boot for it. He's gone. Get over it.

On fire tonight :greengrin

“Get over it”? I wasn’t really enjoying the football at the end with Ross but there was a ton of injuries, an upcoming final and a transfer window he deserved. This is a effin car crash mate.

29-01-2022, 09:50 PM
“Get over it”? I wasn’t really enjoying the football at the end with Ross but there was a ton of injuries, an upcoming final and a transfer window he deserved. This is a effin car crash mate.

Aim your frustrations at those making the decisions then. Serious questions need to be asked of those running the club.

29-01-2022, 09:54 PM
Aim your frustrations at those making the decisions then. Serious questions need to be asked of those running the club.

Exactly, wtf is going on. We’ve turned a 3rd place 2 cup final team into utter gash in an instant. There’s no way Maloney will turn that shambles around easily, it was an utter shambles today devoid of any plan.

Boss_Nass
29-01-2022, 10:00 PM
It was 100% the right decision to sack Ross. It was 100% the wrong decision to appoint Maloney.

PH91
29-01-2022, 10:10 PM
I actually think the opposite is true. I had a look and, in the league anyway, Newell, JDH & Magennis only played together twice this season. Albeit we won both games. Looking through our lineups up to the point Magennis got injured and we’ve played variations of Gogic, Scott, Allan, Magennis, JDH & Newell. It changed most weeks and rarely the same midfield played the following game.

I think our midfield has been an issue all season. Magennis made such a difference I think he almost papered over the cracks.

We won both those games and performed well in europe against rijeka in both legs (until the red). They also played against dundee utd in the cup which we won. And even though one of three was swapped out for some games, up until october there were no issues with the midfield, or certainly nowhere near the issues we have now.

JDH looks a shadow of the player after covid though and even without the massive loss in form would probably struggle in the 343 system as part of a 2. If maloney persists with it we need to play someone else in there.

29-01-2022, 10:21 PM
Kyle Magennis.

If Maloney is banking on getting him fit to save his job then he’s taking an almighty gamble.
He needs a midfielder by Monday or he’ll be gone by summer.

RossScott1991
29-01-2022, 10:22 PM
Hibs won’t be able to move forward and improve until we get the right blend of the 3 in the middle of the park.

JDH and Campbell aren’t good enough. If we can’t identify and sign better midfielders who can actually get on the half turn, create chances and be capable of scoring from range then we will struggle under anyone.

The rest of the team is taking shape fine. Need to sort out that midfield

29-01-2022, 10:23 PM
Hibs won’t be able to move forward and improve until we get the right blend of the 3 in the middle of the park.

JDH and Campbell aren’t good enough. If we can identify and sign better midfielders who can actually get on the half turn, create chances and be capable of scoring from range then we will struggle under anyone.

The rest of the team is taking shape fine. Need to sort out that midfieldThe central 2/3 and there balance is by far the biggest issue we have

For me Campbell and JDH are bench and squad players

Newells a starter but we are missing atleast 1 other another big performer on there

29-01-2022, 10:26 PM
I don’t drink, but I will continue to pull you up on the garbage you are spouting, from my bed.

What’s our next step Pep.

You've had a real go at anyone with a different opinion tonight. Fair enough if that's your patter. I'm not getting drawn into it, though. You keep pulling me up on it, truly the hero Hibs.net needs :faf:

I fully support any and all Hibs managers. You can keep telling yourself otherwise and you'll continue to be wrong.

If I'm Pep, you're Calderwood.

29-01-2022, 10:32 PM

Centre mid is going to cost us, every game

McGennis's energy & quality early season masked the sheer lack of quality in jdh & newell

They need replaced or else we won't be at the races at arbroath let alone a Derby

And quote me on that

29-01-2022, 10:33 PM
The midfield at the start of the Euro campaign was good - that midfield trio is decent enough but playing 2 of them together doesn’t work.

Magennis being injured has affected us but again you could say why didn’t we sign someone to cover him as he was never going to play every game.

Doidge playing well then getting injured and no other striker was a mess.

Maloney was brought in to get instant results and top 4.

This isn’t an experiment or transition season. At this rate ST will drop once again. We could easily fall out top 6 by the end of the season.

Next few days are massive for Maloney and Hibs - new players - will he fill the obvious gaps plus the derby.

Hearts are massive favourites - a win for Hibs would help get fans back supporting him.
Totally agree, selling Boyle in middle of the season with little hope of replacing him is huge. £3m is great but missing out on Europe this season and the possibility of poor ST sales on the back of a bad end to the season would cost more than £3m. Hibs have always done this, sold good players, reinvested badly and taken years to recover. I’m used to it but it’s gutting. The Maloney experiment is not filling me with confidence.

29-01-2022, 10:36 PM
Centre mid is going to cost us, every game

McGennis's energy & quality early season masked the sheer lack of quality in jdh & newell

They need replaced or else we won't be at the races at arbroath let alone a Derby

And quote me on that

Newell played every week in a side that's reached 2 cup finals and finished 3rd. Magennis had next to nothing to do with that. He wasn't masking Newell at all. Joe is good and we desperately missed him today. He's not perfect, but he's good.

29-01-2022, 10:40 PM
Newell played every week in a side that's reached 2 cup finals and finished 3rd. Magennis had next to nothing to do with that. He wasn't masking Newell at all. Joe is good and we desperately missed him today. He's not perfect, but he's good.

We discussed this walking in today, if you didn’t want JDH and Newell in the same midfield v Livi why would you pic JDH. The whole thing is becoming inexplicable.

29-01-2022, 10:42 PM

It was noticeable Newell wasn’t playing today, JDH wasn’t in the game.

This formation really exposes the centre of midfield but it doesn’t look like he’s willing to change it - the players keep changing but not the formation.

29-01-2022, 10:44 PM
It would help if people didn’t focus on the posters of comments. The new style is clearly not working right now. How can that be improved to get a result on Tuesday and the games that follow.

29-01-2022, 10:53 PM
You've had a real go at anyone with a different opinion tonight. Fair enough if that's your patter. I'm not getting drawn into it, though. You keep pulling me up on it, truly the hero Hibs.net needs :faf:

I fully support any and all Hibs managers. You can keep telling yourself otherwise and you'll continue to be wrong.

If I'm Pep, you're Calderwood.Jimmy or Colin?

Tan dependant surley

PH91
29-01-2022, 10:55 PM
The central 2/3 and there balance is by far the biggest issue we have

For me Campbell and JDH are bench and squad players

Newells a starter but we are missing atleast 1 other another big performer on there

Agreed but even if we fix that we still have big problems in attack.

Henderson, mueller, murphy, wright and scott are our options for the positions behind the striker (i'm going in the basis allan is away after not getting on today). Who out of those players is going to score or create chances? That's without taking into account our strikers aren't scoring just now. It's a shambles.

29-01-2022, 10:55 PM
It would help if people didn’t focus on the posters of comments. The new style is clearly not working right now. How can that be improved to get a result on Tuesday and the games that follow.Playing our best players for a start

All 4 that were dropped today need to return

Hopefully Hanlon is fit

Campbell needs dropped

29-01-2022, 11:03 PM
Support seems to be sharply divided on this. I think Ross should have got until the end of the season but, if I'm honest, I didn't think he was great and I thought Hibs were a poor team despite the 3rd place last season. I think there is a lot of evidence just how poor the league was by the way Hearts have gone by everyone so easily. Also, St Johnstone are now being shown up as a poor team despite a 5th place finish and two Cup wins.

Surely Davidson has a better track record than Jack given his success and budget he was working to? Ross hasn't achieved anything out of the ordinary in his management career and was really struggling this year. He should maybe have got some time but we weren't going anywhere. Despite a good start in terms of points
this season we weren't playing well and the signs of what was coming were there. I just don't think he's a proven success at all.

If we were going with track record for proven success, McInnes should have got the job. We've gone down another route and its a toss up whether it's a success or not. Personally, I think there are worrying signs and I don't rate Martinez (Maloney's mentor). That said there is a chance he could turn us round but he needs time. It looks unlikely he'll get it but I'm willing to be patient albeit I'm pretty sceptical.

The stewardship of the club though is very worrying and its amazing how quickly the rot set in after the 2017-18 success. Last year's 3rd place looks to be a blip which covered up the rot that was taking hold.

Very good post mate and I cant say otherwise. Everything you say I agree with. :aok:

29-01-2022, 11:05 PM
Our midfield is ineffective. When the ball is played to them they immediately play the ball sideways or backwards then recycled wide. Henderson for example could have just sat on a chair today parked on half way for all he was involved. The whole system is piss poor with no one in the middle of the park willing to dictate the game.

29-01-2022, 11:06 PM
Although I quite like Newell, and he clearly has ability, I don't think he's nearly as good as some people on here seem to think he is. In the game today, in the 2nd half anyway, Livingston man-marked everybody and that was effective. The several times Newell has been man marked in a game he has been ineffective/struggled, he needs space to spread his passes, and from that perspective I have no problem with him not playing today. I should underline that I still think he's a good player, just not as good as some people on here say he is.

29-01-2022, 11:09 PM
Although I quite like Newell, and he clearly has ability, I don't think he's nearly as good as some people on here seem to think he is. In the game today, in the 2nd half anyway, Livingston man-marked everybody and that was effective. The several times Newell has been man marked in a game he has been ineffective/struggled, he needs space to spread his passes, and from that perspective I have no problem with him not playing today. I should underline that I still think he's a good player, just not as good as some people on here say he is.

Omeonga ran the midfield today with style, sadly.

29-01-2022, 11:12 PM

Surely Davidson has a better track record than Jack given his success and budget he was working to? Ross hasn't achieved anything out of the ordinary in his management career and was really struggling this year. He should maybe have got some time but we weren't going anywhere. Despite a good start in terms of points this season we weren't playing well and the signs of what was coming were there. I just don't think he's a proven success at all.

There’s hardly been rot since 2017-18 - we’ve finished 5th, 7th (on PPG) and 3rd. Reached numerous semi finals and finals also.

We were on a very bad run when Ross was sacked. There was no indication that we were in terminal decline and Maloney did not come into a club in a really dire situation.

29-01-2022, 11:38 PM

In a nutshell, for me. It’s not a simple debate about which direction Joe passes the ball. Just that he’s a half-decent player, but not nearly the show-runner he’s made out to be.. and the sort of quality we need to improve on to be a better level than where we are now, in my opinion.

Don’t mean to single Newell out like, just that I agreed with what you say with regards to him.

30-01-2022, 07:37 AM
Omeonga ran the midfield today with style, sadly.

This is a big concern.

A former player who would have happily returned to Hibs and we turned him down… for what, exactly?

James Stephen
30-01-2022, 07:38 AM
There’s hardly been rot since 2017-18 - we’ve finished 5th, 7th (on PPG) and 3rd. Reached numerous semi finals and finals also.

We were on a very bad run when Ross was sacked. There was no indication that we were in terminal decline and Maloney did not come into a club in a really dire situation.

Agree with above.

Whether or not Ross should have been sacked is now moot, he was.

However where Hibs look like they have made a mistake - and how big a mistake will be seen in the next few months - and where the appearence of 'rot' is coming from is by treating the Ross era as a disaster that they needed to rip up and start again, all because of some vague notions of 'style' and an apparent falling out with the new hierarchy.

The Ross team was a very solid foundation from which to build. Established squad, good spirit, and a sprinkling of really good players, supplemented by lots of good, steady SPL performers.

Instead of building from that, the hierarchy have ripped everything up and are trying to start over, with a rookie at the helm, a support who, when not apathetic, are completely divided on what they want, and a dressing room who - apparently- were still fond of their old boss, and so who present a massive difficulty for a new boss, and will certainly leap on any missteps he makes.

Hibs have manufactured a crisis out of a bad run, undone 18 mths of good work in building towards something, and plunged the club into what looks increasingly like one of the slow motion car crashes that Hibs supporters are all too familiar with.

Sacking Ross was a big gamble, but ripping up everything he built - midseason - seems like a ridiculously needless self-inflicted wound.

Bridge hibs
30-01-2022, 07:57 AM
Agree with above.

However where Hibs look like they have made a mistake - and how big a mistake will be seen in the next few months - and where the appearence of 'rot' is coming from is by treating the Ross era as a disaster that they needed to rip up and start again, all because of some vague notions of 'style' and an apparent falling out with the new hierarchy.

The Ross team was a very solid foundation from which to build. Established squad, good spirit, and a sprinkling of really good players, supplemented by lots of good, steady SPL performers.

Instead of building from that, the hierarchy have ripped everything up and are trying to start over, with a rookie at the helm, a support who, when not apathetic, are completely divided on what they want, and a dressing room who - apparently- were still fond of their old boss, and so who present a massive difficulty for a new boss, and will certainly leap on any missteps he makes.

Hibs have manufactured a crisis out of a bad run, undone 18 mths of good work in building towards something, and plunged the club into what looks increasingly like one of the slow motion car crashes that Hibs supporters are all too familiar with.

Sacking Ross was a big gamble, but ripping up everything he built - midseason - seems like a ridiculously needless self-inflicted wound.What has been ripped up ? New Manager and coaching staff granted but same defence with Rocky added, same midfield with Henderson added and same forward line with Boyle gone and Meuller added, Melkerson too if you want but we have yet to see him

Tactics ? Do you think results would have improved if Maloney had continued with the tried and tested methods that got us to third and cup final

My concerns are such as yest, sloppy amateur defending again which we have been guilty off under Ross, but more worrying is we have nothing from middle to front, so much so most of Nisbets graft yest was coming deep to set things up which left us short up front, the glaringly obvious omission of a crafty midfielder has rendered us pretty much gutless and Omeonga had a free hit because of that

Every man and his dug can see our weaknesses, surely tae **** Maloney and his team can see it. Failure to address that in the next day or so and its going to be a long and grim few months of the season

But he will, wont he ? 🤣

30-01-2022, 08:03 AM
Agree with above.

Sacking Ross was a big gamble, but ripping up everything he built - midseason - seems like a ridiculously needless self-inflicted wound.

Good post - lost of good points. The “style” point is so subjective. I know folk said they’d be happier to lose but play stylish football rather than win and be dull but we all know that’s not true.

30-01-2022, 08:07 AM
I would be madness to sack Maloney this early and I don’t think the signings have been too bad to be honest although it’s a bit early to say.
I think our defence options look good again now with Rocky and Clarke coming in. We look decent on both flanks with Mitchell and Cadden. And up front I think we have good players in Nisbet and Doidge. Hopefully Melkerson adds to that.
It’s the middle of the park that is the horror show. And if you can’t control that, then all those other areas will suffer. No matter what combination we put out, it ends up being over run. I don’t rate any of them except Magennis and it doesn’t really matter how good he is, as he never plays.
I have reservations about Maloney but to be honest, it doesn’t really matter what style of play he is trying to get us playing. He will never be able to implement it with those centre mids.
If he doesn’t fix that by Monday then I think Maloney will have a very short managerial career. It’s up to him though. If he doesn’t see it then he doesn’t deserve to succeed anyway.
Not fixing this problem in the last window cost Ross his job. If Maloney doesn’t fix it again then it will cost him his.

30-01-2022, 08:17 AM
Some of the comments on this board are little short of pathetic. SM has been in charge for what is it six games. Disappointing today but really let’s judge this over many months.

Before we won the cup Hibs we’re slowly dying in my view with a highly negative and declining support undermining confidence and the team making ER a generally unpleasant place to visit.

The Cup win transformed our mentality as a support. During the last two seasons we have seen elements of the support revert to an absurd negativity and criticism making the job even harder.

Waxy is right we absolutely deserve failure if our own supporters behave in such a shortsighted and frankly counterproductive manner.

Well said, we as a support cant take a bad run of results anymore. Managers who have done well for us are never getting the chance to turn things round now, as the frothers demand change whenever we are not 3rd in the league. Maloney has inherited the player most people said were good enough to challenge for 3rd,butthe last manager couldn't get a tune from them, now weve signed another raft of players, who none of us really know how they will do. Transition again, because we panicked to early as usual.

LeithMike
30-01-2022, 08:21 AM

3 sacked mangers in 3 years is not really an indication of firm foundations is it?

30-01-2022, 08:31 AM
This is a big concern.

A former player who would have happily returned to Hibs and we turned him down… for what, exactly?

I think our midfield issues are bigger than just re-signing someone like Omeonga. He is excelling at Livi because he is part of a balanced midfield that play to their strengths. He would probably look a poorer player at Hibs through no fault of his own.

I struggle to see what Lennon (when it was his midfield), Heckingbottom & Ross were trying to do with their midfields other than sign good individual players and hope they all somehow fit together. I’d be a lot more understanding if I could see what it was the midfield was set up to do but we simply didn’t have the quality. The midfield, and especially the balance, seems to have been a blind spot for the last few managers. Hopefully Maloney bucks that trend. Although with the signing of Henderson I’m worried history is repeating itself but that doesn’t prove anything conclusively about Maloney’s recruitment/the midfield he wants.

30-01-2022, 08:31 AM
Agree with above.

I genuinely cannot believe what an absolute cluster**** we've made of things since the summer. We had a chance to really push on and build on the previous season. All it needed was a few good signings for key positions to strengthen the squad but no, we fannied about and hung the previous manager out to dry. Now I genuinely have no idea which direction we're headed. Why have we completely ripped up the script? Yet another transitional period. Sick of them to be honest. Maybe Ron should look closer to home instead of punting Mathie and Ross.

30-01-2022, 08:39 AM
I genuinely cannot believe what an absolute cluster**** we've made of things since the summer. We had a chance to really push on and build on the previous season. All it needed was a few good signings for key positions to strengthen the squad. Now I genuinely have no idea which direction we're headed. Why have we completely ripped up the script? Yet another transitional period. Sick of them to be honest. Maybe Ron should look closer to home instead of punting Mathie and Ross.

Couldn't agree more. Tbh, we were clueless and gash before Dempster, with an awful set up in place and we look the same without her. It's difficult to see what we're doing. Planning for some bteam when the first team is failing. Its actually unbelievable how much of a **** has been made since summer. We had a decent squad, that needed 3/4 additions, to take it forward. 6 months later, manager gone, new one changing everything and forgetting that now is more important and miles and miles behind even being as good as last season. It's totally shambolic.

I'm not writing this season off, even if the club wants that. We're in a cup and should easily be getting 4th. We should be signing quality to achieve results now, not when this mythical style of play is working.

30-01-2022, 08:50 AM
Agree with above.

Very good post.

I was saying this the other day we are now at a ripping things up point where our relative success recently was based on not having an overhaul which is exactly what we are doing. Which personally I don’t think we needed as you say add a bit quality here and there and we’d be better for it.

The manager needs time, it’s 6 games and a lot of change and a lot behind the scenes that we don’t see, some players like it some don’t it is what it is.

We can all make immediate assessments/judgments on what we are seeing which is normal and understandable however I’ve read some ridiculous comments and some people need to calm down IMO. I’m not overly enamoured by him personally and don’t think his style of play was to blame for conceding the goals we did (again same under Ross), it’s our inability to look more a threat and the unbalance in the midfield I have issues with.

30-01-2022, 08:50 AM

If I'm Pep, you're Calderwood.

Almost choked on my cornflakes reading your first sentence. The hypocrisy is astounding. You routinely ruin every thread on here with similar behaviour.

30-01-2022, 08:53 AM
Couldn't agree more. Tbh, we were clueless and gash before Dempster, with an awful set up in place and we look the same without her. It's difficult to see what we're doing. Planning for some bteam when the first team is failing. Its actually unbelievable how much of a **** has been made since summer. We had a decent squad, that needed 3/4 additions, to take it forward. 6 months later, manager gone, new one changing everything and forgetting that now is more important and miles and miles behind even being as good as last season. It's totally shambolic.

I'm not writing this season off, even if the club wants that. We're in a cup and should easily be getting 4th. We should be signing quality to achieve results now, not when this mythical style of play is working.

I disagree that we are a shambles overall. We were third last season and will likely finish 4th this season. That’s pretty good for us. It could be better but it could also have been a lot worse.
Commercially the club appears to be doing a lot better and we do appear to be spending more money because of it.
I much prefer RG’s ownership than the Petrie version.

30-01-2022, 08:57 AM
I disagree that we are a shambles overall. We were third last season and will likely finish 4th this season. That’s pretty good for us. It could be better but it could also have been a lot worse.
Commercially the club appears to be doing a lot better and we do appear to be spending more money because of it.

Would be delighted with 4th…I’m more worried about a top six slot ..

Jury is out on RG for me . Not seeing much from
him that looks better than what it was . Commercial deals are better sure - but I’m about the team, not the income level .

30-01-2022, 08:57 AM
Almost choked on my cornflakes reading your first sentence. The hypocrisy is astounding. You routinely ruin every thread on here with similar behaviour.

Yawn

30-01-2022, 09:30 AM
Problem for me is people thought things were going great with Jack Ross while simultaneously ignoring how poor a league we had last season. Ignoring the routine struggles against St Johnstone. In hindsight, this season was coming.

Every team has strengthened and Hearts are back.

Players that played under Jack Ross and now play under Maloney are not good enough. They are getting found out now, sadly this always seems to happen when we sign players from Hamilton, St Mirren, St Johnstone, and the like.

Our starting line up is not good enough to compete against a hard working team (even spluttered against Cove).

I think some things genuinely need ripped up. My main complaint is why we haven't strengthened in middle of the park with physical combative players that can go box to box.

Easily pushed off the ball, reluctant to tackle, can't keep up with our opponents in the middle of the park, can't get out our own half when teams press, no height in the team. Endless problems.

Thief
30-01-2022, 09:33 AM
Brief interview with manager in Sunday times. Probably behind a paywall - hope it’s ok to post below.

We’re one minute and 46 seconds into an hour’s interview that Shaun Maloney has generously made time for, despite it being his 39th birthday, when there’s a knock on the door of the manager’s office. It’s a promising player looking for a chat and, always so well mannered, Maloney hesitates for a moment, but then decides that the player has to be the priority, and rightly so. “That happens a lot,” he says with an apologetic smile when he sits back down again.
It provides an interesting snapshot of Hibs right now. Everybody knew where they stood when Jack Ross was manager and now everybody wants to know where they stand with Maloney. He has already made several new signings, but against that lost arguably the best player in Scotland outside of Celtic and Rangers when Martin Boyle signed for Al-Faisaly, of Saudi Arabia, for £3 million.
Fixtures are flying at him in a hectic resumption of the Premiership and his son, Jude, recently turned one, so there’s probably not enough of Maloney to go around right now. Yet if you expect to find him harassed at Hibernian’s training centre you would be disappointed. After serving his apprenticeship as a coach under Brendan Rodgers at Celtic before assisting Roberto Martínez with Belgium, Maloney was ready to be a manager in his own right and clearly adores its all-consuming nature.

“Yeah, I love it,” he agrees. “Everything I expected and more. I love working with the players; competing; matches. I love just trying to build a club into something that’s able to sustain what’s success for us. I’m five weeks in. It’s going to take time to get to where as a team, club and environment we are at the level I want, but I am absolutely loving it.”
He breaks that down into three stages. The short-term aim this season is to finish fourth; Hibs were seventh when Maloney took over last month. With typical humility, only after that’s achieved will he set his sights on third, presently occupied by city rivals Hearts, who Hibs host in Tuesday’s televised Edinburgh derby. After that, he hopes to get closer to his former club and Rangers, but stresses there’s a lot of hard work ahead if that’s to happen much further down the line.
“There’s a lot of building to be done here,” he says, “To sustain success against the Old Firm, almost every department we have would have to be running almost perfectly. There’s no reason why we can’t aspire to be there, but I do think that’s a fair period off and everything has to be right. Even then, it would be still very hard because of the difference in budgets.”
The training ground is a hive of activity between renovations, the new players, and staff that have arrived — a revamp of nutrition and personalised coaches for every player. He’s seen the best with Belgium, the world’s No 1 ranked national team, and therefore wants the best for Hibs, where possible. “We can never copy another team or national federation, but with our resources and budget we have to try and push the environment we are in as close to elite as possible,” he says. “The CEO and the owner have been very supportive of that and we’ll go again in the summer, so we give the academy and first-team players the best environment we can.”

He’s also passionate about the Premiership and properly promoting it. When I suggest it could become a repetitive grind compared to the worldwide variety of opposition he prepared for with Belgium, he gently scolds me. “Remember, I played in this league for a long time,” he says. “This is the competition you are in. I absolutely love the Scottish league. I can be quite patriotic at times.

“Our league can be even better. I really am passionate about the league; we can really push it forward. The stronger it is, the better the TV deal is; the more supporters. We get a lot of supporters for the size of our country, so let’s make the supporter experience even better.
“The stronger the league, the higher the quality of young Scottish players that come through. We’re in a really good period of young Scottish players. I’ve some here, like Ryan Porteous, Josh Doig and Josh Campbell. We have to keep pushing because it’s our national team.”
Fatherhood’s also been a blessing. “It’s just an amazing experience, but I have definitely learned to live life with a hell of a lot less sleep,” he says.
Has it changed his approach to man-management? “I wouldn’t say so,” he says. “Even before I became a father, I was an uncle, which gave me a lot of experience with my sister’s children. I’d like to think I show a lot of empathy towards players in terms of them being more than just footballers. That’s always been the case as a coach. It’s definitely not a dictatorship. You have to understand people are in different situations with different things they are going through.”
When he worked with Martínez and Belgium he was “part of the decision-making process”, but the Spaniard had the final say. Now that falls to him, yet has “felt very normal; very comfortable”. There also won’t be pangs of regret come this year’s winter World Cup, when Belgium enter the finals among the favourites — only pride he was part of their journey to it.
“I’m just desperate for Belgium to do well,” he says. “It would be amazing if they could win the tournament. I was so excited and happy to become the [Hibs] manager, but the hardest part was speaking to the [Belgium] players because I’d built up that relationship and connection with them for three years and some of the staff.
“Roberto was fantastic during the process, really good, really understanding. He’s played in Scotland [for Motherwell], so he understood the opportunity and was super supportive. I’ll always be in his debt for the opportunity he gave me and I’ll be the biggest Belgium fan come the World Cup, desperate for them to do well for the staff and the players — some amazing people.”
Working for managers like Martínez, Martin O’Neill, Gordon Strachan and Rodgers, and with players like Henrik Larsson, Kevin De Bruyne, Romelu Lukaku and Eden Hazard, has given Maloney numerous influences to blend into how he wants his team to play. Simplifying all of that experience and knowledge into a few short sentences isn’t easy, but he gives it a go.
“We will try and dominate the ball, in and out of possession, against all teams, and as the team evolves and progresses we hope that becomes more apparent,” he says. “Within that, I want it to be the most exciting, attacking team that’s possible; one the fans can feel really proud of and enjoy watching, and then, really easy, if we attack with 11, we defend with 11. That will always be the mantra. I hope that answers it in a short sort of way. That’s what we are going to strive for.”

30-01-2022, 09:41 AM
For all the talk of him having his way of playing, we don’t really seem to have any plan.

Our signing policy, on what I’ve seen, is horrific. We needed a couple of players who could go in and make an instant impact, Hibs can’t be paying hundreds of thousands of pounds for someone that’s for the future (having already loaned out a couple of players we paid hundreds of thousands for). The signing of someone like Mitchell also baffles me, looks like he has something but doesn’t solve any of our problems.

Can’t believe how much of a mess we’ve made of things.

30-01-2022, 09:42 AM
Brief interview with manager in Sunday times. Probably behind a paywall - hope it’s ok to post below.

We’re one minute and 46 seconds into an hour’s interview that Shaun Maloney has generously made time for, despite it being his 39th birthday, when there’s a knock on the door of the manager’s office. It’s a promising player looking for a chat and, always so well mannered, Maloney hesitates for a moment, but then decides that the player has to be the priority, and rightly so. “That happens a lot,” he says with an apologetic smile when he sits back down again.
It provides an interesting snapshot of Hibs right now. Everybody knew where they stood when Jack Ross was manager and now everybody wants to know where they stand with Maloney. He has already made several new signings, but against that lost arguably the best player in Scotland outside of Celtic and Rangers when Martin Boyle signed for Al-Faisaly, of Saudi Arabia, for £3 million.
Fixtures are flying at him in a hectic resumption of the Premiership and his son, Jude, recently turned one, so there’s probably not enough of Maloney to go around right now. Yet if you expect to find him harassed at Hibernian’s training centre you would be disappointed. After serving his apprenticeship as a coach under Brendan Rodgers at Celtic before assisting Roberto Martínez with Belgium, Maloney was ready to be a manager in his own right and clearly adores its all-consuming nature.

“Yeah, I love it,” he agrees. “Everything I expected and more. I love working with the players; competing; matches. I love just trying to build a club into something that’s able to sustain what’s success for us. I’m five weeks in. It’s going to take time to get to where as a team, club and environment we are at the level I want, but I am absolutely loving it.”
He breaks that down into three stages. The short-term aim this season is to finish fourth; Hibs were seventh when Maloney took over last month. With typical humility, only after that’s achieved will he set his sights on third, presently occupied by city rivals Hearts, who Hibs host in Tuesday’s televised Edinburgh derby. After that, he hopes to get closer to his former club and Rangers, but stresses there’s a lot of hard work ahead if that’s to happen much further down the line.
“There’s a lot of building to be done here,” he says, “To sustain success against the Old Firm, almost every department we have would have to be running almost perfectly. There’s no reason why we can’t aspire to be there, but I do think that’s a fair period off and everything has to be right. Even then, it would be still very hard because of the difference in budgets.”
The training ground is a hive of activity between renovations, the new players, and staff that have arrived — a revamp of nutrition and personalised coaches for every player. He’s seen the best with Belgium, the world’s No 1 ranked national team, and therefore wants the best for Hibs, where possible. “We can never copy another team or national federation, but with our resources and budget we have to try and push the environment we are in as close to elite as possible,” he says. “The CEO and the owner have been very supportive of that and we’ll go again in the summer, so we give the academy and first-team players the best environment we can.”

He’s also passionate about the Premiership and properly promoting it. When I suggest it could become a repetitive grind compared to the worldwide variety of opposition he prepared for with Belgium, he gently scolds me. “Remember, I played in this league for a long time,” he says. “This is the competition you are in. I absolutely love the Scottish league. I can be quite patriotic at times.

“Our league can be even better. I really am passionate about the league; we can really push it forward. The stronger it is, the better the TV deal is; the more supporters. We get a lot of supporters for the size of our country, so let’s make the supporter experience even better.
“The stronger the league, the higher the quality of young Scottish players that come through. We’re in a really good period of young Scottish players. I’ve some here, like Ryan Porteous, Josh Doig and Josh Campbell. We have to keep pushing because it’s our national team.”
Fatherhood’s also been a blessing. “It’s just an amazing experience, but I have definitely learned to live life with a hell of a lot less sleep,” he says.
Has it changed his approach to man-management? “I wouldn’t say so,” he says. “Even before I became a father, I was an uncle, which gave me a lot of experience with my sister’s children. I’d like to think I show a lot of empathy towards players in terms of them being more than just footballers. That’s always been the case as a coach. It’s definitely not a dictatorship. You have to understand people are in different situations with different things they are going through.”
When he worked with Martínez and Belgium he was “part of the decision-making process”, but the Spaniard had the final say. Now that falls to him, yet has “felt very normal; very comfortable”. There also won’t be pangs of regret come this year’s winter World Cup, when Belgium enter the finals among the favourites — only pride he was part of their journey to it.
“I’m just desperate for Belgium to do well,” he says. “It would be amazing if they could win the tournament. I was so excited and happy to become the [Hibs] manager, but the hardest part was speaking to the [Belgium] players because I’d built up that relationship and connection with them for three years and some of the staff.
“Roberto was fantastic during the process, really good, really understanding. He’s played in Scotland [for Motherwell], so he understood the opportunity and was super supportive. I’ll always be in his debt for the opportunity he gave me and I’ll be the biggest Belgium fan come the World Cup, desperate for them to do well for the staff and the players — some amazing people.”
Working for managers like Martínez, Martin O’Neill, Gordon Strachan and Rodgers, and with players like Henrik Larsson, Kevin De Bruyne, Romelu Lukaku and Eden Hazard, has given Maloney numerous influences to blend into how he wants his team to play. Simplifying all of that experience and knowledge into a few short sentences isn’t easy, but he gives it a go.
“We will try and dominate the ball, in and out of possession, against all teams, and as the team evolves and progresses we hope that becomes more apparent,” he says. “Within that, I want it to be the most exciting, attacking team that’s possible; one the fans can feel really proud of and enjoy watching, and then, really easy, if we attack with 11, we defend with 11. That will always be the mantra. I hope that answers it in a short sort of way. That’s what we are going to strive for.”

I’ve read so many of those types of articles over the years. They are meaningless until you find out if the person is any good at implementation.

30-01-2022, 09:43 AM
For all the talk of him having his way of playing, we don’t really seem to have any plan.

Our signing policy, on what I’ve seen, is horrific. We needed a couple of players who could go in and make an instant impact, Hibs can’t be paying hundreds of thousands of pounds for someone that’s for the future (having already loaned out a couple of players we paid hundreds of thousands for). The signing of someone like Mitchell also baffles me, looks like he has something but doesn’t solve any of our problems.

It’s not yet clear if we have made a mess of anything. If we finish 4th and qualify for Europe then it’s one of our better seasons.

30-01-2022, 09:45 AM
Problem for me is people thought things were going great with Jack Ross while simultaneously ignoring how poor a league we had last season. Ignoring the routine struggles against St Johnstone. In hindsight, this season was coming.

Every team has strengthened and Hearts are back.

Players that played under Jack Ross and now play under Maloney are not good enough. They are getting found out now, sadly this always seems to happen when we sign players from Hamilton, St Mirren, St Johnstone, and the like.

Our starting line up is not good enough to compete against a hard working team (even spluttered against Cove).

I think some things genuinely need ripped up. My main complaint is why we haven't strengthened in middle of the park with physical combative players that can go box to box.

Easily pushed off the ball, reluctant to tackle, can't keep up with our opponents in the middle of the park, can't get out our own half when teams press, no height in the team. Endless problems.

Bang on the money.

Can anyone honestly say they noticed or heard of JDH, Wright or Gogic, jeez there were a few wanting McCart sign not too long ago. You only get the odd good player from these teams and they usually end up at one of the OF or down south, we got lucky with McGinn but that doesn't always happen.

We need to set our sights higher than signing from lower league.

30-01-2022, 09:49 AM
I think our midfield issues are bigger than just re-signing someone like Omeonga. He is excelling at Livi because he is part of a balanced midfield that play to their strengths. He would probably look a poorer player at Hibs through no fault of his own.

I struggle to see what Lennon (when it was his midfield), Heckingbottom & Ross were trying to do with their midfields other than sign good individual players and hope they all somehow fit together. I’d be a lot more understanding if I could see what it was the midfield was set up to do but we simply didn’t have the quality. The midfield, and especially the balance, seems to have been a blind spot for the last few managers. Hopefully Maloney bucks that trend. Although with the signing of Henderson I’m worried history is repeating itself but that doesn’t prove anything conclusively about Maloney’s recruitment/the midfield he wants.

Ross was here long enough to sign his own midfielders to play the way he wanted in the system he wanted. That was 4-2-3-1 with Newell and Doyle-Hayes as the two deep players.

Maloney is trying to shoehorn those players into his preferred 3-4-3 and it isn't working because we don't have the right players for the central pairing, particularly with Magennis injured, Campbell off-form* and Tait sent away on loan. The obvious solution is to change the formation to bolster the midfield for the rest of this season, then use the summer to ensure that we have the correct players for Maloney's system.

And that means signing the right players. I'm struggling to see how Henderson fits in when he lacks the pace to be a winger and the defensive ability to be part of the midfield pair.

*That's the positive take on him. It may just be that Campbell simply isn't good enough for where we are, let alone where we want to be.

30-01-2022, 09:56 AM
It’s not yet clear if we have made a mess of anything. If we finish 4th and qualify for Europe then it’s one of our better seasons.

We have a chance to finish fourth, which would be decent, but it doesn’t mean we’re a good side, 30 points from 23 games isn’t good. If you compare this Hibs team to the last one tha finished fourth, for instance, it’s miles off. We’re just a collection of individuals at the moment.

30-01-2022, 10:33 AM
Bang on the money.

Can anyone honestly say they noticed or heard of JDH, Wright or Gogic, jeez there were a few wanting McCart sign not too long ago. You only get the odd good player from these teams and they usually end up at one of the OF or down south, we got lucky with McGinn but that doesn't always happen.

Gogic was Hamilton’s player of the season by a long distance before we signed him. He also did very well his fist season with us and was the type of player we lacked at the time. No more than a squad played now though, to be deployed when his type is needed.

30-01-2022, 10:36 AM
Gogic was Hamilton’s player if the season by a long distance before we signed him. He also did very well his fist season with us and was as type if played we lacked at the time. No more than a squad played now tk be deployed when bus type is needed.

Poor player, limited skill and just a yellow card merchant, he was needed to toughen up the midfield but we had better in Bartley but we chose to let him go.

30-01-2022, 10:39 AM
That interview does smack of idealism and inexperience.

If the Scotland team is the barometer (and his remit is to have Hibs winning first and foremost) then the best way to do that is to play winning football. In recent seasons we’ve had Stevenson, Hanlon,McGinn (Paul and John), McGeouch, Porteous, Nisbet and possibly more get either called up or capped. Add Boyle, Gogic, Marciano and possibly more for other international teams.

He also can’t be too diplomatic if he wants to establish a new ethos into the team otherwise his vision will end up nothing like how he sees it.

He needs to realise that none of this points to ripping everything up and starting over and that he’ll need to be patient and play the games in front of him, not the ones that he wants to play.

He’ll be a good manager but he’d be well advised to just focus on the Here and now first.

30-01-2022, 10:55 AM
For all the talk of him having his way of playing, we don’t really seem to have any plan..

After the Aberdeen game and particularly the Dundee United game there were plenty posters on here who were saying “if you can’t see the difference then you’re blind” etc.

Did they jump the gun or have the players stopped doing it?

30-01-2022, 10:58 AM

This is one of of the most worrying aspects of what is happening. We have spent good money on some guys who have mostly played in the second tier of Norwegian football, which I assume is no better than our championship and ironically have punted two recent signings back out into a similar standard of league. I cannot grasp the logic of that. These signings are supplemented by the unproven Henderson, a couple of loanees and Mitchell and Mueller.

We need a couple of more in with quality and experience, and better pray Magennis manages to come back in soon.

Building for the future is good, but people pay their money to watch the team now and it’s not good. Replacing Ross with a rookie manager, when there was more experienced and proven talent available, that is a big gamble. Ron will lose credibility with the support, crowds will keep falling and for all the money invested in the club, he’ll have nothing to show for it.

30-01-2022, 11:02 AM
After the Aberdeen game and particularly the Dundee United game there were plenty posters on here who were saying “if you can’t see the difference then you’re blind” etc.

Blame the players, they stopped doing it for Ross also, basically not good enough.

30-01-2022, 11:18 AM

You’re right.

My point is, the standard ‘players aren’t good enough, we need a clear out’ line just doesn’t cut it.

Yesterday a player who our club deemed not good enough outplayed supposedly better players.

30-01-2022, 11:32 AM

I’ll be honest I was one of those posters.

Problem seems to be there is no plan b.

We were losing 3-2 with 25 minutes left and to the fans looked a real lack of urgency. The cries of get it forward where clear and loud.

Said it another thread. We don’t have a beuzelin in midfield to collect the ball and drive us up the park 30 yards it’s currently collect a pass from the back three , either two things, a) pass it back to centre half. B) play to wing back.

There is no turn and go. Livingston stayed tight as they knew if midfielders were allowed to turn hibs would get out.

Livi we’re quite happy to let the hibs back three have the ball as they knew that method hadn’t worked for the majority of the game.

Skol
30-01-2022, 11:40 AM
Bang on the money.

jDH, wright and Gogic were not from a lower league. McGrath isn’t and you Can add boyle to the McGinn example.

I agree with you about the problem areas in the team but so far maloney must see those as well and hasn’t signed anyone who will improve in those areas. We look a worse team now than we did a few short months ago and I am really worried about the derby. This for me is unusual as I am normally very positive, but I just don’t see anything that suggests we will complete on tuesday. I haven’t felt this way since the NYD game a few days after a 7-0 defeat at ibrox. However we know how that derby turned out and so I hope we get something similar

We do though now need to be patient and support the team and maloney despite any misgivings about what we see and how we feel about the way Ross was treated£.

30-01-2022, 11:42 AM
I’ll be honest I was one of those posters.

Problem seems to be there is no plan b.

We were losing 3-2 with 25 minutes left and to the fans looked a real lack of urgency. The cries of get it forward where clear and loud.

Said it another thread. We don’t have a beuzelin in midfield to collect the ball and drive us up the park 30 yards it’s currently collect a pass from the back three , either two things, a) pass it back to centre half. B) play to wing back.

There is no turn and go. Livingston stayed tight as they knew if midfielders were allowed to turn hibs would get out.

Livi we’re quite happy to let the hibs back three have the ball as they knew that method hadn’t worked for the majority of the game.

Thats not what happened IMO. Livi pushed another player up front 2nd half to stop our back 3 moving it forward. We were actually comfy first half, moving it forward quite well. That simple change and we totally folded.

30-01-2022, 11:52 AM

We’ve not done what we did in those first two games. There was some pretty clear changes. Lack of a plan is more to do with the recruitment I think, we’re not not really fixing any of our problems. Think he tried to be too clever when we went to Parkhead and over complicated things with the whole switching between a back 3 and 4 when in and out of possession. Since then it’s been multiple changes every game which is never a good sign.

30-01-2022, 12:00 PM
We’ve not done what we did in those first two games. There was some pretty clear changes. Lack of a plan is more to do with the recruitment I think, we’re not not really fixing any of our problems. Think he tried to be too clever when we went to Parkhead and over complicated things with the whole switching between a back 3 and 4 when in and out of possession. Since then it’s been multiple changes every game which is never a good sign.

Yeah I agree. Chopping and changing the team isn’t ideal and it’s not like he’s just tinkering he’s going from someone starting to not getting any minutes at all (even with 5 subs). As well as that if Rocky’s fit enough to do 70 minutes how is he not fit to start?

30-01-2022, 12:05 PM
Bang on the money.

We sign plenty players I haven’t heard of or noticed before that turn out to be brilliant for us. Familiarity isn’t the issue.

But I do agree we need improvement in key areas quickly.

30-01-2022, 12:24 PM

Hearts look guaranteed 3rd I think fourth is up for grabs for us but yesterdays capitulation from a winning position is a worry Thankfully The Sheep are not going well
But fir me fourth isn’t a given given we are in transition
A couple of quality ready to go signings on the last day of the window could make all the difference

30-01-2022, 12:27 PM
jDH, wright and Gogic were not from a lower league. McGrath isn’t and you Can add boyle to the McGinn example.

I agree with you about the problem areas in the team but so far maloney must see those as well and hasn’t signed anyone who will improve in those areas. We look a worse team now than we did a few short months ago and I am really worried about the derby. This for me is unusual as I am normally very positive, but I just don’t see anything that suggests we will complete on tuesday. I haven’t felt this way since the NYD game a few days after a 7-0 defeat at ibrox. However we know how that derby turned out and so I hope we get something similar

We do though now need to be patient and support the team and maloney despite any misgivings about what we see and how we feel about the way Ross was treated£.

I meant lower in the league, miss a couple of small words and it means something else.

30-01-2022, 12:29 PM
Bang on the money.

good players can play for lesser teams ..it’s about signing the right players ..Lewis Ferguson anyone ? Shankland previously

30-01-2022, 12:32 PM
good players can play for lesser teams ..it’s about signing the right players ..Lewis Ferguson anyone ? Shankland previously

Iago Aspas, Le Tissier :greengrin

30-01-2022, 12:32 PM

My point was the better players from the teams lower in the league usually end up at either Rangers or Celtic, or south, we got lucky getting McGinn when we did, getting these better players doesn't happen all that often.

30-01-2022, 12:34 PM
My point was the better players from the teams lower in the league usually end up at either Rangers or Celtic, or south, we got lucky getting McGinn when we did, getting these better players doesn't happen all that often.

If we get in early enough, before their reputation is fully developed , there are good players to be had in lesser teams . If we wait until they are stars (ali McCann etc). Then we can’t afford them …it’s about talent identification

I'm Spartacus
30-01-2022, 01:27 PM
I’ve read so many of those types of articles over the years. They are meaningless until you find out if the person is any good at implementation.

I used to love these types of articles, but then the penny dropped "What else would you expect a new manager to say?"

Urgent short term, we've no midfield and a defence that would lose a game of British Bulldog against a primary school class.

30-01-2022, 01:27 PM
I genuinely cannot believe what an absolute cluster**** we've made of things since the summer. We had a chance to really push on and build on the previous season. All it needed was a few good signings for key positions to strengthen the squad but no, we fannied about and hung the previous manager out to dry. Now I genuinely have no idea which direction we're headed. Why have we completely ripped up the script? Yet another transitional period. Sick of them to be honest. Maybe Ron should look closer to home instead of punting Mathie and Ross.

Agree with all of that.

Also like to know what Ben Kensall's take on things is. We seemed to be doing better before he turned up.

30-01-2022, 01:42 PM
Well said, we as a support cant take a bad run of results anymore. Managers who have done well for us are never getting the chance to turn things round now, as the frothers demand change whenever we are not 3rd in the league. Maloney has inherited the player most people said were good enough to challenge for 3rd,butthe last manager couldn't get a tune from them, now weve signed another raft of players, who none of us really know how they will do. Transition again, because we panicked to early as usual.

But it wasn't the fans that hounded him out really though was it?

Most of us could understand the club making the change, but there hadn't been any kind of protest or demands that JR be sacked. If there were, they were minor and I don't remember them.

RG and BK must think Maloney can do better. Maybe they've just called it wrong?

If we accept that the signings in this window have been Maloney's, you can understand why a lot of us are concerned. The main areas that need strengthened still do.

Fourth in the league is now the target, if we get there then fair do's. If not then I'd probably make the change in the summer, as we won't see fans flocking back to ER if we suspect more of the same next season.

How many of us will have any faith in a decent summer transfer window based on previous experience?!

30-01-2022, 01:54 PM
But it wasn't the fans that hounded him out really though was it?

Most of us could understand the club making the change, but there hadn't been any kind of protest or demands that JR be sacked. If there were, they were minor and I don't remember them.

RG and BK must think Maloney can do better. Maybe they've just called it wrong?

If we accept that the signings in this window have been Maloney's, you can understand why a lot of us are concerned. The main areas that need strengthened still do.

Fourth in the league is now the target, if we get there then fair do's. If not then I'd probably make the change in the summer, as we won't see fans flocking back to ER if we suspect more of the same next season.

How many of us will have any faith in a decent summer transfer window based on previous experience?!

Folk wanted Ross sacked when we lost to Hearts, then when we lost to St Johnstone. Then many never got over either of those and wouldn’t accept anything less than winning a cup.

There were lots of fans against ross for a very long time, just check out the Jack ross thread. Maloney seems to be getting even less time, because we haven’t got better in 6 games even though the bulk of the team is exactly the same as it was minus our best player.

We are currently no worse than we were, results slightly improved until yesterday which was our first really terrible result, expedited by some terrible individual mistakes.

Maloney is suffering from the same problems Ross was and he’s not a magician, I’m not sure what people expected but based on the way we’ve played for the bulk of the season we are where we deserve to be. If we want to get better then we are going to have to wait.

Keepthefaith
30-01-2022, 02:01 PM
Folk wanted Ross sacked when we lost to Hearts, then when we lost to St Johnstone. Then many never got over either of those and wouldn’t accept anything less than winning a cup.

There were lots of fans against ross for a very long time, just check out the Jack ross thread. Maloney seems to be getting even less time, because we haven’t got better in 6 games even though the bulk of the team is exactly the same as it was minus our best player.

We are currently no worse than we were, results slightly improved until yesterday which was our first really terrible result, expedited by some terrible individual mistakes.

Maloney is suffering from the same problems Ross was and he’s not a magician, I’m not sure what people expected but based on the way we’ve played for the bulk of the season we are where we deserve to be. If we want to get better then we are going to have to wait.

Ah slickshoes, you talk such sense! It's dangerous here...I'd take top 5 this season, good cup run but with a clear progression in our style setting us up for a great season next year. Upwards and onwards after that!

30-01-2022, 02:03 PM

Completely agree. It'll take time and Maloney will get it.

It's just really frustrating that we haven't kicked on and taken advantage of finishing third last season. I genuinely thought we would.

30-01-2022, 02:09 PM
Agree with all of that.

Also like to know what Ben Kensall's take on things is. We seemed to be doing better before he turned up.Cannae put my finger on it but I'm not convinced.

My Norwich supporting mate described him as no loss.

Juries out I guess.

30-01-2022, 03:53 PM
Cannae put my finger on it but I'm not convinced.

My Norwich supporting mate described him as no loss.

Juries out I guess.

I'll be honest, I don't think he has a ****ing scooby about this league or how it works. Losing Dempster is like trading a Ferrari in for a Fiat.

HendoDelivered
30-01-2022, 03:57 PM
I'll be honest, I don't think he has a ****ing scooby about this league or how it works. Losing Dempster is like trading a Ferrari in for a Fiat.

30-01-2022, 03:57 PM
Hibs don’t look like we’ve improved under Maloney. In fact he looks lost but it’s early days but a heavy loss on Tuesday and his coat will be on a shoogly nail

I'm Spartacus
30-01-2022, 04:03 PM
Hibs don’t look like we’ve improved under Maloney. In fact he looks lost but it’s early days but a heavy loss on Tuesday and his coat will be on a shoogly nail

I'd rather we kept Ross, scooped the £3m+ on transfer fees, completed an absolutely ***** season and the started again giving the new guy many weeks to plan with £3m transfer budget.

Oh wait, it's Ron :(

the tornadoe
30-01-2022, 04:05 PM

Losing Dempster was the start, and, this is the result.. a rudderless Club & team

Hibees1973
30-01-2022, 04:19 PM
I'm pleased the theme of this thread has moved from the style of play under Maloney to the overall structure of the club. So really the thread has reached it's end.

The structure of the club is the main issue. Who the hell knows what's going on. We have a revolving door, nepotism and a structure that is not transparent.

30-01-2022, 04:23 PM
I'd rather we kept Ross, scooped the £3m+ on transfer fees, completed an absolutely ***** season and the started again giving the new guy many weeks to plan with £3m transfer budget.

The club should have given Ross the 3 million and said look, we ****ed it up for you in the summer. Let's write this season off, use this to plan for 3rd next season and we'll stick with you. Maloney has failed experiment written all over it.

30-01-2022, 04:37 PM

Losing Dempster was the start, and, this is the result.. a rudderless Club & team

The club should have given Ross the 3 million and said look, we ****ed it up for you in the summer. Let's write this season off, use this to plan for 3rd next season and we'll stick with you. Maloney has failed experiment written all over it.

Like a bunch of love sick teenagers crying over Ross, get a grip ffs, you're all just embarrassing yourselves.

30-01-2022, 04:41 PM
A comfortable win on Tuesday will calm everyone down.

Skol
30-01-2022, 04:43 PM
I think maloney is trying to fit square pegs into round holes. He just doesn’t have the players for the game he wants. We are short of two midfielders and three in the forward positions to make it work. None of the current squad can play those roles. Or not the ones I have seen.

If he sticks with it then our best team will be

Macey
Porteous Bushiri Hanlon
Cadden Doyle-Hayes Newell Mitchell
Mueller Nisbet take your pick from the rest of the squad.

But even that team will struggle. So either he brings players in tomorrow or he changes style to fit the players he has

30-01-2022, 05:25 PM
I think maloney is trying to fit square pegs into round holes. He just doesn’t have the players for the game he wants. We are short of two midfielders and three in the forward positions to make it work. None of the current squad can play those roles. Or not the ones I have seen.

Macey
Porteous Bushiri Hanlon

But even that team will struggle. So either he brings players in tomorrow or he changes style to fit the players he has

I don't think you're far off the mark here at all.

Problem is - being 5 players short of what you need to field your own team is pretty drastic. That's a lot of square pegs in round holes - too many. Especially when that is the whole of your central midfield and your entire forward line.

It's also unlikely to have had much (any) of a dent put in it by the end of this transfer window, meaning he's going to need to get some sort of a tune out of the players who are already here. There will be pressure on him - not just from the fans, from the owners of the club too - to ensure that the football this season is at least good enough to secure a respectable league position and have us selling a good number of season tickets for next season.

To achieve that from here, he has a job on his hands, and he's unlikely to be successful unless he changes his approach to get the best out of the players.

30-01-2022, 05:45 PM
Like a bunch of love sick teenagers crying over Ross, get a grip ffs, you're all just embarrassing yourselves.

Remind me - how is it you put folk on ignore?

30-01-2022, 05:52 PM

Macey
Porteous Bushiri Hanlon

If that’s our best team we are in trouble.

Skol
30-01-2022, 05:56 PM
If that’s our best team we are in trouble.

I don’t disagree, but I said best team from squad available to play maloneys 3-4-3 formation. We could have better teams in different line ups and also if all players were available

I would prefer five across the middle with magennis in there and doidge and nisbet up top. Still not perfect but better balance.

30-01-2022, 06:10 PM
I don’t disagree, but I said best team from squad available to play maloneys 3-4-3 formation. We could have better teams in different line ups and also if all players were available

I would prefer five across the middle with magennis in there and doidge and nisbet up top. Still not perfect but better balance.

I actually thought the middle 3 of Newell, JDH and Magennis looked very good at the start of the season.

Magennis has been a huge loss but he’s been so unreliable from an injury perspective that we’re almost best making plans without him.

1959 Hibby
30-01-2022, 06:11 PM
Yesterday was the first game I’ve seen since Maloney took over. Seemed to me that the real issue was that the team was being asked to play in a way which they just don’t have the ability to execute. Livi knew that: they harried us when we started the fancy passing in our own box and eventually reaped their reward. Maloney needs to remember that he’s no longer coaching some of the world’s best players. He also needs to sort the defence which has been shaky all season. For someone so tall Macey is hopeless at commanding his box and there seems to be constant uncertainty between him and the centre backs. I fear for us on Tuesday

30-01-2022, 06:12 PM
Maloney will know that the fans will not accept a poor performance on Tuesday. Big test for him.

30-01-2022, 06:16 PM
Anyone thinking Maloney won’t see out he season here is off the scale mental. Derby loss or derby win, the idea that we are speculating about a manager leaving the club after SIX ****ing games is just madness.

Skol
30-01-2022, 06:21 PM
Anyone thinking Maloney won’t see out he season here is off the scale mental. Derby loss or derby win, the idea that we are speculating about a manager leaving the club after SIX ****ing games is just madness.

I agree, we can’t keep changing manager and need to give maloney time and support, no mater how hard it is to watch

30-01-2022, 06:43 PM
I agree, we can’t keep changing manager and need to give maloney time and support, no mater how hard it is to watch

Yup,think it’s gonna get worse before it gets better

I'm Spartacus
30-01-2022, 07:22 PM

I think what I was trying to say is, I would rather have made Ross take the flack for the remainder of a ***** season, rather than placing Maloney under almost instant pressure without funds and time to plan, train and bring in the quality we absolutely require.

I'd not have given Ross a penny, but I think it's unfair on Shaun he's been landed in the position he is.

30-01-2022, 07:32 PM

He would have got us relegated.

FFS am I on the right forum, you are meant to back the club, they decided to get rid of Ross because of poor results and brought a new man in, as supporters we should be backing him and not greeting that JR has left.

ThisIsTheYear
30-01-2022, 07:33 PM

He won’t be sacked if he was to lose to Hearts but the fans would turn… no way back when that happens….

30-01-2022, 07:35 PM

Give it a f***ing rest about Jack Dross, he has gone, sacked, booted out the door due to his dire football on show, get over it.

30-01-2022, 07:37 PM

:top marks big chap, it’s really is embarrassing as you say.

30-01-2022, 07:37 PM

Now we are talking :greengrin

30-01-2022, 07:48 PM

Why would we write this season off? Despite how pish we’ve been, we still have a brilliant chance of qualifying for Europe. We still have the Scottish Cup to play for as well. And we’ve had better results since we binned Ross as well.

30-01-2022, 07:49 PM
There's is a wee rumour of a meeting tomorrow to discuss Maloney at executive level....

That Twitter account is nonsense, ignore

LunasBoots
30-01-2022, 07:51 PM
That Twitter account is nonsense, ignore

Ah thanks.

30-01-2022, 07:52 PM

Reads to me like people expressing their opinion, which they are entitled to do.

Ironically, you’re behaving in the more childish manner.

30-01-2022, 07:55 PM

FFS am I on the right forum, you are meant to back the club, they decided to get rid of Ross because of poor results and brought a new man in, as supporters we should be backing him and not greeting that JR has left.

Most of us do back the club in substantial ways, it’s not for you to say what opinion is valid.

30-01-2022, 07:56 PM
Reads to me like people expressing their opinion, which they are entitled to do.

Ironically, you’re behaving in the more childish manner.

Why by calling them out haha, I'm not the one greetin and moaning because Ross has left the building and they didn't get their way. Pathetic.

angus hibby
30-01-2022, 08:52 PM
Roger Azul (apparently a journalist) has tweeted to say board meeting tomorrow to discuss Maloney in depth. Don’t believe it for a minute but thought worth sharing.

30-01-2022, 08:53 PM
Roger Azul (apparently a journalist) has tweeted to say board meeting tomorrow to discuss Maloney in depth. Don’t believe it for a minute but thought worth sharing.

I hope not. All focus tomorrow should be on bringing players in to improve the team.

30-01-2022, 08:57 PM
Given the state of the club when he came in and the number of players coming in and the ones being shipped out, Ron will view the rest of the season and the summer as a rebuilding exercise. He will be judged on next season.

30-01-2022, 09:06 PM

It's a troll account.

I'm Spartacus
30-01-2022, 09:59 PM

My point is WE have placed Shaun right on the back foot, the way the break has worked means we're up against it even more at the moment as we seem to have come out of the break in a bleak position with no fire, strength or game plan, a Derby and then a trip to Arbroath coming up, it's a tense period.

Get the 3 points and into the draw then BREATHE.

30-01-2022, 10:19 PM

Fake news.

30-01-2022, 11:00 PM

To Sleep , Per Chance To Dream

31-01-2022, 05:04 AM

:faf: relegated. Aye right.

31-01-2022, 08:36 AM
Give it a f***ing rest about Jack Dross, he has gone, sacked, booted out the door due to his dire football on show, get over it.

‘Jack Dross’…..how very Jambo. Worse banter than the Yoons with their Jimmy Krankie pish.

31-01-2022, 08:37 AM
‘Jack Dross’…..how very Jambo. Worse banter than the Yoons with their Immy Krankie pish.I await Shan Baloney if we lose tomorrow night

G15 Hibs
31-01-2022, 08:55 AM
I await Shan Baloney if we lose tomorrow night

Or Shaun Cajones if we win

the tornadoe
31-01-2022, 09:44 AM

Only 2 of the quotes you used mention Ross... stop embarrassing YOURSELF !!

31-01-2022, 10:26 AM
Only 2 of the quotes you used mention Ross... stop embarrassing YOURSELF !!

But you still had a go at the club for allowing Dempster to leave and calling them rudderless, get over it and support the new people in charge.

31-01-2022, 10:37 AM
Why by calling them out haha, I'm not the one greetin and moaning because Ross has left the building and they didn't get their way. Pathetic.

Wind it in eh.

31-01-2022, 10:54 AM
‘Jack Dross’…..how very Jambo. Worse banter than the Yoons with their Jimmy Krankie pish.

There's a glorious irony about this post that I can't stop enjoying.

the tornadoe
31-01-2022, 10:55 AM
But you still had a go at the club for allowing Dempster to leave and calling them rudderless, get over it and support the new people in charge.

Just get yer facts right before posting !! I will post what I think is relevant its not your right to censor !!!!

Skol
31-01-2022, 11:27 AM

Taking the thread off topic but oh the irony of a complaint about Jimmy Krankie while using the term yoon !!!!

Oops, I see someone beat me to this observation

31-01-2022, 12:11 PM
:faf: relegated. Aye right.

How we doing on football manager :na na:

31-01-2022, 12:13 PM

Okay hun. :aok:

31-01-2022, 12:24 PM

:cb boom tish!

31-01-2022, 01:09 PM
What matters most, 'style of play' or results?

1-0
3-1
0-2
0-0 (1-0 AET, SC Cove Rangers)
0-0
2-3

I think I prefer the first two games.

31-01-2022, 01:10 PM

1-0
3-1
0-2
0-0
2-3

It seems to be based on whatever one we’re doing, the loud ones want the opposite.

Winning consistently under Ross wasn’t enough at it was “boring”

I'm Spartacus
31-01-2022, 10:10 PM

@J-C ....... hello :(

01-02-2022, 05:52 AM

This should pass the time one way or the other until this evening. 🍿

01-02-2022, 05:55 AM
How we doing on football manager :na na:

All good thanks Colin.

01-02-2022, 05:56 AM
The most alarming stat for me from last Saturday apart from the result was the fact we passed the ball 528 times which at least 80% must have been in our own half.

01-02-2022, 06:05 AM

Oh the irony of that comment. Whilst many on here were happy to defend Jack Ross as they believed the root cause of all our woes was the extremely poor recruitment during the summer transfer window along with some bad luck with injuries to key players (Doidge/Magennis, plus Nisbet, Doig, McGinn etc at different times of the season who were all rushed back as there was little or no alternative), there was a 'vocal' minority/majority (tick as appropriate) that were extremely angry, greeting and moaning because Jack Ross was still our manager.

Here we are a few months on and one poster is being ridiculed due him calling out the poor recruitment (not addressing the main problem which is central midfield), the poor decision-making during games, the poor style of play and he's rightly asking have things improved. Yet, he's the one being accused of greetin and moaning. It's a forum, is he not allowed to express his views.

01-02-2022, 06:37 AM

1-0
3-1
0-2
0-0
2-3

Is that our record under Maloney? 2 wins 2 draws 2 defeats? That can’t be right, surely with the outrage and righteous indignation on here he must have a way worse record than that for folk to be saying things like ‘he’s on borrowed time’ after a mere 6 games? I thought with all the defeatism I may as well not bother turning up tonight, maybe I’ll have a wee look see after all

01-02-2022, 08:57 AM

And your point is?

We had no clue who they wanted or were in negotiation with apart from some guess work by hacks. Boyle's money will be used wisely an not on any over priced average player in January. My only disappointment was not bringing in a CM seeing as there seems real concerns re Magennis but if the right one isn't available then there's not a lot you can do about it.

Skol
01-02-2022, 09:22 AM
Is that our record under Maloney? 2 wins 2 draws 2 defeats? That can’t be right, surely with the outrage and righteous indignation on here he must have a way worse record than that for folk to be saying things like ‘he’s on borrowed time’ after a mere 6 games? I thought with all the defeatism I may as well not bother turning up tonight, maybe I’ll have a wee look see after all

Its the way we have played in the last 4 of those 6 games that gives me cause for concern as we have not looked likely to win these games.

I really hope we see something different tonight, but I am really concerned that more of the same and we will be quite a frustrated bunch this time tomorrow.

01-02-2022, 09:29 AM
Its the way we have played in the last 4 of those 6 games that gives me cause for concern as we have not looked likely to win these games.

I really hope we see something different tonight, but I am really concerned that more of the same and we will be quite a frustrated bunch this time tomorrow.

The concern at how we have played the last few games is understandable. However it’s just a continuation of what we were seeing under Ross this season. Which isn’t surprising as it’s still Ross’ squad and will take a good few windows to make it Maloneys squad.

Other than Rocky & Mitchell I think most of the signings will be good in the mid-long term. We’ll just have to ride out the short term pain and see this season out the best we can IMO. It was a big mistake letting midfielders go without bringing any in, but that whole area needs rebuilt and unlikely to do that in January.

01-02-2022, 09:33 AM
The concern at how we have played the last few games is understandable. However it’s just a continuation of what we were seeing under Ross this season. Which isn’t surprising as it’s still Ross’ squad and will take a good few windows to make it Maloneys squad.

Other than Rocky & Mitchell I think most of the signings will be good in the mid-long term. We’ll just have to ride out the short term pain and see this season out the best we can IMO. It was a big mistake letting midfielders go without bringing any in, but that whole area needs rebuilt and unlikely to do that in January.

Yep, especially the Livi game, we played quite well, then done what we had been doing all season by giving away silly goals caused by individual errors.

Against cove we weren't great but we created enough chances that we should have won in normal time. Motherwell was just a game ruined by wind, but we had great chances to win that too.

We are certainly no worse than we were under Jack Ross this season, and the midfield needs someone like Magennis, but if we can't get them this window then that's just football. Hopefully magennis can come back in a few weeks and get back up to speed.

Skol
01-02-2022, 09:37 AM

The recruitment bothers me. I understand the longer term planning but the priority should have been for some of the key roles in the team so Maloney can start his transition. We seem to have ignored that though and are left with a squad that Maloney cannot really use to play the game he wants.

01-02-2022, 09:43 AM
So does last night and the window in general indicate we are panicking whereas the manager and his team are happy with the midfield? There wasn't the slightest indication that we were chasing any midfielders AFAIK.

It suggests to me Maloney is satisfied with the options we have.

Skol
01-02-2022, 09:44 AM
So does last night and the window in general indicate we are panicking whereas the manager and his team are happy with the midfield? There wasn't the slightest indication that we were chasing any midfielders AFAIK.

It does, but to the casual observer like me, we look short in that area and the players we do have to choose from dont seem to fit in.

01-02-2022, 09:46 AM

I agree with your view that he’s happy with what he has but that’s why I’m worried.

01-02-2022, 09:47 AM

Or the players that we were after arent available. Sometimes you don't get what you want and have to continue with what you have. We could Butcher it and tell the current players they are all useless.

The fact that we signed a couple of players no one even had a single rumour about suggests that people arent as in the know as they think they are, and just because there wasn't a rumour about a midfielder doesn't mean we didn't try to sign one.

01-02-2022, 09:48 AM
I agree with your view that he’s happy with what he has but that’s why I’m worried.

That’s where I am.

01-02-2022, 09:53 AM
That’s where I am.

Do you think he was pinning his hopes on Magennis being fit and ready but with him getting another injury it was just too late in the window to get another player of quality in.

01-02-2022, 09:56 AM
Do you think he was pinning his hopes on Magennis being fit and ready but with him getting another injury it was just too late in the window to get another player of quality in.

I think thats the most likely scenario.

01-02-2022, 10:00 AM

Yep.

In all fairness - not that ridiculous a notion (if a bit unrealistically optimistic) given how well Magennis started the season.

Magennis made a pretty stark difference to Ross’ team early on in the season.

And top central midfielders probably don’t just drop into your lap on the last day of the transfer window.

Skol
01-02-2022, 10:01 AM

I dont think Magennis is the answer in Maloney's preferred 3-4-3 line up. He fits more in a 3-4-1-2.

I hope its Newell and JDH as the central two as for all their limitations, they are the two best we have.

01-02-2022, 10:07 AM

I actually agree with you. 6 games is nowhere near enough time to make judgements.

Funnily enough I said the same after TWO games when many on here were insisting the team was “night and day” better and more watchable than we were before.

A bit of understanding and our support would make things so much easier for a new management team. It is a big worry that some are getting ready to put him under pressure already. I think we took a big risk but I’m more worried about him being hounded too quickly than I am about his coaching ability.

01-02-2022, 10:08 AM
I dont think Magennis is the answer in Maloney's preferred 3-4-3 line up. He fits more in a 3-4-1-2.

I hope its Newell and JDH as the central two as for all their limitations, they are the two best we have.

I don’t really understand why we’ve been buying all these wingers.

I’m yet to get my head around what is required of the 2 behind the strikers in Maloney’s formation but I’d have thought Magennis would have been perfect there - late runs into the box and being able to take the ball on the half turn and move forward.

I'm Spartacus
01-02-2022, 10:39 AM
And your point is?

We had no clue who they wanted or were in negotiation with apart from some guess work by hacks. Boyle's money will be used wisely an not on any over priced average player in January. My only disappointment was not bringing in a CM seeing as there seems real concerns re Magennis but if the right one isn't available then there's not a lot you can do about it.

Yeah I totally hear you. If we brought in an experienced 33 year old it would have been picked to pieces. Overall we brought in some numbers and nobody has any idea of the quality, but we trust the manager.

Ultimately Maloney is a gamble, but every manager and player is a gamble, look at Jose at Man United, and look at players like Pogba who is like a different player from Juve, Fernando Torres going to Chelsea from Liverpool, then jumping to Charles-Cook at County, he's been horrendous until this season but is on fire, then back to the EPL there's an appointment like David Moyes, he was given time no time at United and time at West Ham.

So no matter the level and stage, there are no guarantees and everyone deserves time.

Football, it's a funny old game!

01-02-2022, 10:54 AM
Yeah I totally hear you. If we brought in an experienced 33 year old it would have been picked to pieces. Overall we brought in some numbers and nobody has any idea of the quality, but we trust the manager.

Ultimately Maloney is a gamble, but every manager and player is a gamble, look at Jose at Man United, and look at players like Pogba who is like a different player from Juve, Fernando Torres going to Chelsea from Liverpool, then jumping to Charles-Cook at County, he's been horrendous until this season but is on fire, then back to the EPL there's an appointment like David Moyes, he was given time no time at United and time at West Ham.

So no matter the level and stage, there are no guarantees and everyone deserves time.

Football, it's a funny old game!

Totally agree with you, every appointment and signing is a risk, all we can do is support and hope they get it right. Look at Sproule, came from Institute as a total unknown to become a fan favourite, Boyle was a bit part player at Dundee, nobody had heard of him and we questioned the swap with Harris.

01-02-2022, 11:06 AM
The problem is too many fans are not buying into his vision. What he said Hibs will play like is night and day to reality. I know it’s early days but I’m not convinced by him or his signings. If we lose heavy tonight he’ll be lucky to survive the season. Slow possession based football played in our own half won’t encourage fans to but STs next year. Here’s hoping I’m 100% wrong and everything clicks into place

01-02-2022, 11:14 AM

If McGennis continues to have set backs in his rehab it will be end of March at earliest before he is properly match fit
If JHD or Newell were to get crocked in the Derby and be out for any length of time we would be short
Makes me think we still might bring in a free agent this week

I'm Spartacus
01-02-2022, 11:16 AM
Totally agree with you, every appointment and signing is a risk, all we can do is support and hope they get it right. Look at Sproule, came from Institute as a total unknown to become a fan favourite, Boyle was a bit part player at Dundee, nobody had heard of him and we questioned the swap with Harris.

[Puts hand out to shake on this one]

:)