View Full Version : Shaun Maloney - Style of play

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

28-01-2022, 07:03 PM
I just don’t remember that far back :rolleyes: :greengrin

I only know because nobody did back then!

28-01-2022, 07:12 PM
Not trigger happy in wanting him sacked, more in the sense of deciding his style of football isn't working.Absolutely Belgium didn't get to top spot by just changing managers, they changed way they approached games, changed mindsets, changed culture,brought players into the set up that could play the way the management team wanted to play , and those weren't always the best players, but played well in the structure.These things do take time and players have to adapt to that.Shaun brought on more attacking players when Motherwell went down to 10 men, but they fitted in to the structure.
I'm sure we will get players in that will fit into the way the manager wants us to play, and ones that can't will move on.
Next 2-3 days, rest of season plus summer window will give us more of an idea of what he wants and then we can judge whether he's successful or not

The biggest factor in Belgium becoming ranked No.1 was their ‘golden generation’, an unbelievable glut of talent all coming through over a five year period, and being spread across all areas of the pitch.

For all that, they’ve won hee haw, and arguably another coaching team might have done better with that group.

I’m all for attacking, possession-based football, but if Shaun thinks he can just import the Belgian template straight into Hibs then he is going to endure a sharp and uncomfortable learning curve.

The key to successful management is blending short term results into long term success. A certain amount of pragmatism is required of any manager, especially in Scotland where we allow artificial playing surfaces in the top flight and the weather makes passing football very difficult for 4 months of the year.

28-01-2022, 07:19 PM

You were standing next to the segregation barriers on the main terracing, hurling abuse at the away fans, if that helps.

Just like everybody else our age :wink:

28-01-2022, 07:56 PM
The biggest factor in Belgium becoming ranked No.1 was their ‘golden generation’, an unbelievable glut of talent all coming through over a five year period, and being spread across all areas of the pitch.

For all that, they’ve won hee haw, and arguably another coaching team might have done better with that group.

I’m all for attacking, possession-based football, but if Shaun thinks he can just import the Belgian template straight into Hibs then he is going to endure a sharp and uncomfortable learning curve.

The key to successful management is blending short term results into long term success. A certain amount of pragmatism is required of any manager, especially in Scotland where we allow artificial playing surfaces in the top flight and the weather makes passing football very difficult for 4 months of the year.

Martinez has had 2 tournaments and lost by 1 goal to the winners of each tournament when the team, especially defensively was already well on the decline. De Bruyne and hazard were both unfit in 2021 euros. Its very difficult to argue a better coaching team would've done better.

Mark wilmots ****ed up their best chance in 2016.

ozwoody
28-01-2022, 09:13 PM

Hasn't Shaun started off with decent results since he came in? 3 wins, 1 defeat and 1 draw seems a decent first 5 games to me.All without having a full squad to pick from.
I'm sure we all would have taken that when any new manager walked in the door

28-01-2022, 09:20 PM
Hasn't Shaun started off with decent results since he came in? 3 wins, 1 defeat and 1 draw seems a decent first 5 games to me.All without having a full squad to pick from.
I'm sure we all would have taken that when any new manager walked in the doorResults mean nothing!

Resulys with flair or it does nae count

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

28-01-2022, 09:36 PM

Yes he has and will get better

LeithMike
28-01-2022, 09:54 PM
Martinez has had 2 tournaments and lost by 1 goal to the winners of each tournament when the team, especially defensively was already well on the decline. De Bruyne and hazard were both unfit in 2021 euros. Its very difficult to argue a better coaching team would've done better.

Mark wilmots ****ed up their best chance in 2016.Not sure Everton fans would agree. Just listening to some on the radio about Lampard's appointment and they were scathing about Martinez and his persistence with 3-4-3 and only having 2 central midfielders.

Martinez took Wigan down and Everton backwards so he's certainly not proven himself as an elite coach.

I really hope Maloney is not going to adhere rigidly to the Martinez way and evolve in his thinking. Time will tell but we have to give Maloney that time. We may get worse before we get better and we'll only really have an idea well into next season.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

28-01-2022, 10:20 PM
He's got the right system, but not all the right players. Yet.

I hate so say we are as well tempering our expectations for the rest of this season, but in reality we need to. Next season, we'll be motoring.

Keepthefaith
28-01-2022, 10:38 PM

Far too sensible a post for here! Maloney has clearly stated he wants to implement attacking football and has acknowledged the need for more pace. If he'd tried to go gung go and we'd shipped goals each game, folk would be calling him naive and throwing that back at him as inexperience. Seems the guy can't win.

The brief from Ron and Ben was clearly attacking, attractive football. Patience and absolute support are needed right now!

28-01-2022, 11:27 PM
That doesn’t mean you weren’t there buddy :greengrin

ozwoody
29-01-2022, 12:06 AM
Far too sensible a post for here! Maloney has clearly stated he wants to implement attacking football and has acknowledged the need for more pace. If he'd tried to go gung go and we'd shipped goals each game, folk would be calling him naive and throwing that back at him as inexperience. Seems the guy can't win.

The brief from Ron and Ben was clearly attacking, attractive football. Patience and absolute support are needed right now!

I apologise , I won't do it again.

wearehibernian
29-01-2022, 01:09 AM
Winning is key and maybe that is what he wants to drum in? Fine by me on a week to week basis but we still need some passion in the big games. Systems and stuff often dont matter a f*** when it comes down to lifting a trophy. Don't want it to be another training ground for another 'rookie' manager. We are not a stepping stone for a someone wanting to learn his trade etc. Equally, best of luck to Sean!

Skol
29-01-2022, 05:12 AM
Not sure Everton fans would agree. Just listening to some on the radio about Lampard's appointment and they were scathing about Martinez and his persistence with 3-4-3 and only having 2 central midfielders.

Martinez took Wigan down and Everton backwards so he's certainly not proven himself as an elite coach.

I really hope Maloney is not going to adhere rigidly to the Martinez way and evolve in his thinking. Time will tell but we have to give Maloney that time. We may get worse before we get better and we'll only really have an idea well into next season.

It’s the 3/4/3 and two midfielders that appear to me to be our problem

29-01-2022, 05:43 AM
Not sure Everton fans would agree. Just listening to some on the radio about Lampard's appointment and they were scathing about Martinez and his persistence with 3-4-3 and only having 2 central midfielders.

I never mentioned his time at Everton because AFAIK, it has nothing to do with Maloney who wasn't there with him.

29-01-2022, 08:37 AM
I never mentioned his time at Everton because AFAIK, it has nothing to do with Maloney who wasn't there with him.

Here's a radical thought, have you ever concidered that you might not be right about every subject on this universe?

29-01-2022, 08:50 AM
It’s the 3/4/3 and two midfielders that appear to me to be our problem

Wednesday wasn’t anything to do with shape but all to do with lack of quality going forward IMO. As soon as the team was announced you knew we weren’t going to carry much of a threat. However, the number of times we broke on them, got to the final third and passed the ball out the park or straight to a Motherwell player (particularly first half) was unreal. Team sheet can’t include all three of Newell, JDH and Campbell today, surely.

ozwoody
29-01-2022, 10:23 AM
Winning is key and maybe that is what he wants to drum in? Fine by me on a week to week basis but we still need some passion in the big games. Systems and stuff often dont matter a f*** when it comes down to lifting a trophy. Don't want it to be another training ground for another 'rookie' manager. We are not a stepping stone for a someone wanting to learn his trade etc. Equally, best of luck to Sean!

But we have been winning, 3 out of five , one defeat is winning ratio.hes also progressed in cup so is one step closer in that aspect.passion in " big games"? He beaten Aberdeen, dundee utd and lost v celtic, who most teams will.
If you want him blood and snotters all out attack with players we have, and more importantly, players we have out, you will be sadly disappointed, especially after 5 games. Every club is stepping stone to next level. If Shaun is successful, which we all want, bigger clubs come calling.That shows, to managers and players, that hibs are a club that you can advance your career. Gerard done ok at his first club as rookie manager ... should he not have taken villa job?

LeithMike
29-01-2022, 10:31 AM
Here's a radical thought, have you ever concidered that you might not be right about every subject on this universe?[emoji122]The point made was that no coaching team could have done any better with Belgium than Martinez and Maloney. Given Martinez's previous record, I highly doubt that the point made was correct.

Keepthefaith
29-01-2022, 10:46 AM
But we have been winning, 3 out of five , one defeat is winning ratio.hes also progressed in cup so is one step closer in that aspect.passion in " big games"? He beaten Aberdeen, dundee utd and lost v celtic, who most teams will.
If you want him blood and snotters all out attack with players we have, and more importantly, players we have out, you will be sadly disappointed, especially after 5 games. Every club is stepping stone to next level. If Shaun is successful, which we all want, bigger clubs come calling.That shows, to managers and players, that hibs are a club that you can advance your career. Gerard done ok at his first club as rookie manager ... should he not have taken villa job?

Oi! I thought you weren't going to talk sense anymore?? 😂

29-01-2022, 11:15 AM
Here's a radical thought, have you ever concidered that you might not be right about every subject on this universe?

Pardon?

I'm quite clearly speaking about Martinez with Maloney on his staff, relating purely to Belgium. I actually fully agree with what has been said about his time at Everton and Wigan, but it has absolutely nothing to do with this thread.

Here's a radical thought, I couldn't even remotely care less about what you have to say about me. Keep it on topic.

29-01-2022, 11:18 AM
[emoji122]The point made was that no coaching team could have done any better with Belgium than Martinez and Maloney. Given Martinez's previous record, I highly doubt that the point made was correct.

Again, I very much doubt they could've. He lost 2 matches, both by 1 goal to eventual tournament winners. France 2018 was certainly a better squad than Belgium had and its not even really close. Italy were about the same level, but Belgium had a half fit hazard and de Bruyne.

Martinez has done a really decent job with Belgium.

29-01-2022, 03:58 PM
Think this appointment is gonna be a big disaster I think. That was absolutely pathetic.

LunasBoots
29-01-2022, 03:59 PM
Can't play this style of play with this level of player and certainly not with a non existent midfield

29-01-2022, 04:00 PM
Martin Boyle-less we are rotten.

29-01-2022, 04:00 PM
Think this appointment is gonna be a big disaster I think. That was absolutely pathetic.

Ditto absolute Rubbish Omeonga a stand out

29-01-2022, 04:01 PM
Sacking Jack Ross lol

gazzag70
29-01-2022, 04:04 PM
There is not much to feel positive about after todays result.We were honking! Maloneys appointment was always going to be a gamble.We need a big performance on Tuesday night, is this team capable of it? I hope so

#2 Double Tap
Sacking Jack Ross lol

he deserved the sack.

hiring maloney not looking so clever, lets hope he turns out all right, but lose on tuesday and its over before its even begun.

percy veer
Groundhog day same crap served up, no passion on touch lines why make 1 pass when you can make 10 , lucky to last until Xmas

29-01-2022, 04:05 PM

Not wanting him out likes, but, my brother and I have the same reservations, that was two weeks ago.
If you sell yir best player and half of the new players come in unfit or injured which seems tae be a habit for us doesnae help, oh and havin Nisbet up front on his own??? I have a feeling the rest of the season will be fine tuning and building for next season.

29-01-2022, 04:06 PM

Very worrying signs. Lose again on Tuesday and the wee man is going to be feeling some serious heat.

29-01-2022, 04:07 PM
Sacking Jack Ross lol

Do you remember his last game?

29-01-2022, 04:07 PM
Can't play this style of play with this level of player and certainly not with a non existent midfield

Yes you need a certain level of player to be able to play it about in your own half then play that killer ball, that's why city are so good.

Now and again we can do it as today as in the first half we played that style well but second half was brutal.

hibstag
29-01-2022, 04:08 PM
Sacking Jack Ross lol

Yep for this. we have gone from a poor run of form to disorganised and clueless and off form .... Joke decision the fall from back to back finals and third is going to be sore.

29-01-2022, 04:09 PM
Do you remember his last game?

Just about to say the same. Sacking him wasnt wrong just because we lost today. Time will tell whether Maloney was the correct pick as his replacement. That second half was not pleasant viewing.

29-01-2022, 04:09 PM
Summed up when they were down to 10 men at the end we got a free kick it ended up back at macey. Lol

Just slow, predictable now

Thought we would improve after the Celtic game but no smoke without fire.

An no Martin Boyle

Worried.

29-01-2022, 04:11 PM

Very worrying signs. Lose again on Tuesday and the wee man is going to be feeling some serious heat.

29-01-2022, 04:11 PM
I think there are question marks over Maloney and only time will tell if he’s a manger or a good number two, but we won’t get a better idea until well into next season. Probably into the season after next before we’ll know for sure either way.

I think there has to be an acknowledgment of the wider context though. We were an average side, certainly this season, with an above average player in Boyle that carried the team and papered over the many cracks. We saw these Jeckyl and Hyde performances from game to game and half to half under Ross. So it’s not unsurprising to see it again today.

We have no midfield. I don’t think Guardiola could get a unit more than the sum of its parts out any combination of Newell, JDH, Campbell & Henderson. With Magennis always injured and Allan in a weird limbo but on the decline.

Maloney doesn’t get a free pass and it’s fair to question his tactics and line ups in the here and now. However he’s inherited a squad, minus Boyle, that looks a lot better on paper than the reality. I felt when he was appointed we needed to steady the ship but this season was closer to a write off than threatening 3rd.

He's here!
29-01-2022, 04:12 PM

On that evidence defeat on Tuesday is a certainty.

29-01-2022, 04:13 PM
And we're off with all the usuals slagging off Maloney before he's got his foot in the door.

Could it just be that same players that got Ross sacked playing crap are just pish players and need emptied, giving longer contracts to Campbell and JDH is looking very poor business from Hibs.

Maloney only had 2 of his new players in the starting line up and it was 2 players already here that made 2 errors to gift them goals.

29-01-2022, 04:21 PM

I happen to be/was in the pro Ross school as you and was really disappointed to see him sacked. However, it’s water under the bridge and looking back over your shoulder and continually harping on about our current problems is depressing and a waste of time. Time will tell and the Maloney appointment might very well turn out to be a big mistake but he’s got to be given time. I think we’ve brought in some decent players who Jack Ross may not have managed to get and I have not given up hope that we’ll start to make progress soon. Asking for Maloney to be sacked and turn back the tide is not viable and pointless so we have to back what we’ve got and support them.

29-01-2022, 04:22 PM
I put this in another thread but he's already reminding me of Heckingbottom in his second part season with us - has a system in mind of possession, passing and pressing but doesn't realise that any Scottish club outside Celtic and Rangers won't be able to attract a team of players capable of doing that. Too stubborn to change it when the best thing he could do just now is get a team out there to ****ing battle and get shots on target.

He needs to be less naive and ideallic and change plan very quickly IMO.

29-01-2022, 04:23 PM
This season is already a bogey for me - what chance have you got when you have Lewis still playing, Drey Wright, James Scott, Paul McGinn, Josh Campbell, and Jamie Murphy. Darren McGregor clicking heels on a big salary too. I'll throw in Hanlon too for good measure.

Bloated squad, filled with utter mediocrity and lack of pace and creativity, lack of presence,lack of leadership, and a complete lack of hunger to fight and win games.

I'm not blaming Maloney, I'm firmly blaming Ron Gordon for his lack of football knowledge and foresight, as well as the recruitment team - not one signing, not one, has given me an excitement or a real buzz - players can moan all they like about being booed and jeered - there is a very good reason - this team is absolutely honking, full stop. Not thanks to Shaun Maloney, but thanks to the previous managers (Ross, Heckingbottom) and a lacklustre and lazy recruitment team.

If it were me, we need a director of football, someone who has real knowledge of the game and Hibs - there's yet again a total disconnect with the team and fans, caused by poor recruitment at every level.

Ron Gordon - pony up mate or give up - you've turned a club that was on the up into one which is spiralling downwards again. This is akin to Alex Miller's side, devoid of character and life. Challenge for Europe you say.............this squad couldn't challenge a fish supper. Forget big screens, get some genuine pace and creativity in the side, the product on the pitch has been terrible for 3 seasons. Be ruthless, get rid of the deadwood and get rid of this innate sentimental approach to certain players - bin them at the end of the season and rebuild.

29-01-2022, 04:23 PM
Im not singling out anyone in particular, but that simply is nowhere near good enough. We will get run all over in midfield on Tuesday. No drive , no dig , just utter crap really. Couple of players today look nowhere near good enough to be playing in our first team.

#2 Double Tap
29-01-2022, 04:25 PM
And we're off with all the usuals slagging off Maloney before he's got his foot in the door.

Could it just be that same players that got Ross sacked playing crap are just pish players and need emptied, giving longer contracts to Campbell and JDH is looking very poor business from Hibs.

Maloney only had 2 of his new players in the starting line up and it was 2 players already here that made 2 errors to gift them goals.

its cause maloney doesnt inspire confidence, we needed a strong character, a proper leader, not another nice guy.

Bobo
29-01-2022, 04:26 PM
Doesn't work, we're soft, slow and 2nd to almost every ball.

P!ss poor formation and tactically left wanting all over the pitch, Maloney is clueless and out of his depth we're going nowhere with him in charge.

He's here!
29-01-2022, 04:27 PM
I do wonder if we should have given Gray until the end of the season.

29-01-2022, 04:28 PM
This season is already a bogey for me - what chance have you got when you have Lewis still playing, Drey Wright, James Scott, Paul McGinn, Josh Campbell, and Jamie Murphy. Darren McGregor clicking heels on a big salary too. I'll throw in Hanlon too for good measure.

Bloated squad, filled with utter mediocrity and lack of pace and creativity, lack of presence,lack of leadership, and a complete lack of hunger to fight and win games.

I'm not blaming Maloney, I'm firmly blaming Ron Gordon for his lack of football knowledge and foresight, as well as the recruitment team - not one signing, not one, has given me an excitement or a real buzz - players can moan all they like about being booed and jeered - there is a very good reason - this team is absolutely honking, full stop. Not thanks to Shaun Maloney, but thanks to the previous managers (Ross, Heckingbottom) and a lacklustre and lazy recruitment team.

If it were me, we need a director of football, someone who has real knowledge of the game and Hibs - there's yet again a total disconnect with the team and fans, caused by poor recruitment at every level.

Ron Gordon - pony up mate or give up - you've turned a club that was on the up into one which is spiralling downwards again. This is akin to Alex Miller's side, devoid of character and life. Challenge for Europe you say.............this squad couldn't challenge a fish supper. Forget big screens, get some genuine pace and creativity in the side, the product on the pitch has been terrible for 3 seasons. Be ruthless, get rid of the deadwood and get rid of this innate sentimental approach to certain players - bin them at the end of the season and rebuild.

Our recruitment has been a disgrace between last summer and this month. We haven’t signed anyone to come in and do a job for us now. And the worst thing about it is that it’s not because we’re not spending money, we’re just not spending it properly.

Stokesy's on fire
29-01-2022, 04:29 PM
Spineless we have managed to end up worse off with Maloney in he wont last long at this rate The guys clueless

Hibiza
29-01-2022, 04:29 PM
Sports psychologists , dietricians , academies , and the rest . All just merde if you quite simply can't beat and always struggle against the mighty Livingston.

29-01-2022, 04:30 PM
Dont know what people are expecting.
The season was over as soon as Ross was sacked.
It turned the remainder into a transition and thats where we are.
We will lose more games its not unusual.

29-01-2022, 04:31 PM
I think there are question marks over Maloney and only time will tell if he’s a manger or a good number two, but we won’t get a better idea until well into next season. Probably into the season after next before we’ll know for sure either way.

I think there has to be an acknowledgment of the wider context though. We were an average side, certainly this season, with an above average player in Boyle that carried the team and papered over the many cracks. We saw these Jeckyl and Hyde performances from game to game and half to half under Ross. So it’s not unsurprising to see it again today.

We have no midfield. I don’t think Guardiola could get a unit more than the sum of its parts out any combination of Newell, JDH, Campbell & Henderson. With Magennis always injured and Allan in a weird limbo but on the decline.

Maloney doesn’t get a free pass and it’s fair to question his tactics and line ups in the here and now. However he’s inherited a squad, minus Boyle, that looks a lot better on paper than the reality. I felt when he was appointed we needed to steady the ship but this season was closer to a write off than threatening 3rd.

If things don’t improve he’ll get nowhere near as long as you’re suggesting, if we lose on Tuesday the knives will be out big time. I think he deserves to get until the end of this season at least, but if there’s not a dramatic improvement fans will turn on him in the same way they turned on Ross. We let our best player leave and all I read was how good a deal it was for us, it wasn’t as we’ve not won a game in 90 minutes and haven’t looked like doing so since he left.

K-Zazu
29-01-2022, 04:31 PM
its cause maloney doesnt inspire confidence, we needed a strong character, a proper leader, not another nice guy.

Derek McIness was that guy I think

29-01-2022, 04:32 PM
I put this in another thread but he's already reminding me of Heckingbottom in his second part season with us - has a system in mind of possession, passing and pressing but doesn't realise that any Scottish club outside Celtic and Rangers won't be able to attract a team of players capable of doing that. Too stubborn to change it when the best thing he could do just now is get a team out there to ****ing battle and get shots on target.

Interesting - exactly how I've been seeing it.

Scotland can be a bit of a graveyard for folk "with ideas".

Football fans are a fickle bunch and you need to give them some sort of hope that you know what you're doing or they'll make life difficult for you. And when the fans appear to be lost, club owners get twitchy.

All very well filling up the development side with talent with a view to being good in a year or two but there still needs to be a competitive side on the park.

We are worse than we were under Ross, in my opinion. I’m really worried about this appointment. I’m not convinced by many of the new signings either.

heid the baw

I concur. He always appears to lack confidence/ self belief and I think he is out of his depth.
You can be calm, quietly spoken but still give an air of confidence. I don't ever get that vibe from Maloney.
It is early days but I think there is enough to be worried about.

LunasBoots
29-01-2022, 04:33 PM

And as a club can't really afford to be doing that ST holders already not attending and many will not renew come renewal time, you can't just give up a season half way through.

29-01-2022, 04:33 PM
I happen to be/was in the pro Ross school as you and was really disappointed to see him sacked. However, it’s water under the bridge and looking back over your shoulder and continually harping on about our current problems is depressing and a waste of time. Time will tell and the Maloney appointment might very well turn out to be a big mistake but he’s got to be given time. I think we’ve brought in some decent players who Jack Ross may not have managed to get and I have not given up hope that we’ll start to make progress soon. Asking for Maloney to be sacked and turn back the tide is not viable and pointless so we have to back what we’ve got and support them.

Why does he need time, why can't he hit the ground running? Why can't he play a style that suits our current players?

Lose the next 2 he can go imo.

Hibees1973
29-01-2022, 04:34 PM
Concerned about our owner......concerned about our recruitment.....and concerned about our manager.

I feel the characters, with authority, involved at Hibs have no sense of reality of the Scottish game and what it takes to succeed.

Much as money seems to have been thrown at things, it appears to me they have no idea.

Stokesy's on fire
29-01-2022, 04:35 PM

Should be feeling the heat now todays result is shocking and the cove performance was a real concern

MKHIBEE
29-01-2022, 04:36 PM
Our recruitment has been a disgrace between last summer and this month. We haven’t signed anyone to come in and do a job for us now. And the worst thing about it is that it’s not because we’re not spending money, we’re just not spending it properly.

You don’t see Rocky, Melkerson and Mitchell being able to a job for us now? And Clarke would, imo, be a starter if he hadn’t been injured

Stokesy's on fire
29-01-2022, 04:37 PM
Why does he need time, why can't he hit the ground running? Why can't he play a style that suits our current players?

Agree with this

29-01-2022, 04:37 PM

Yet other teams can change their manager and they get off to a flyer. He should have hit the ground running, no excuses.

Silky
29-01-2022, 04:38 PM

Because I think a style that suits our players is not one that suits our fans. I don't think these guys are capable of the fast, attacking football we want to see.

No style, no bottle - Maloney out. :duck:

For the same reasons that got Ross the sack. We were a one man team and had no midfield. That is still the case but we’ve lost the player that papered over the many cracks we see now.

Agreed and it is going to take a bit of time, we also need to get the right type of player in, which may mean waiting until the summer, this crowd will get us nowhere, the balance of the side is all wrong with no midfield that will win many battles. We will be in for a real battle on Tuesday that will sort out the men from the boys.

29-01-2022, 04:39 PM
Just about to say the same. Sacking him wasnt wrong just because we lost today. Time will tell whether Maloney was the correct pick as his replacement. That second half was not pleasant viewing.
It's not wrong because of today, it was wrong because it was his first bad run of results.

Today's result just brings that into sharper relief.

hibbydog
29-01-2022, 04:41 PM
We play the type of football that is suited to being 2 or 3-0 up. Sidey ways and backward passing. Ponderous and predictable. You’ll keep the ball if you do it well, but it won’t get you 2 or 3-0 up in the first place.

No improvement on Jack Ross I’m afraid. At least not so far.

Much work to do.

29-01-2022, 04:41 PM
We’ve been good at the back until today.
We still have positives from SMs start. It hasnt been all bad at at all.

tonyrougier123
29-01-2022, 04:42 PM
Concerned about our owner......concerned about our recruitment.....and concerned about our manager.

I feel the characters, with authority, involved at Hibs have no sense of reality of the Scottish game and what it takes to succeed.

Much as money seems to have been thrown at things, it appears to me they have no idea.

The whole club lacks character at the moment.
Nothing we are doing paying off just now.
Something was missing under Ross and I thought he needed backed in market. At times I thought recruitment under him was short sighted.wether that was him or the continuous shambles that is our recruitment is another conundrum.

We are on the backfoot again need to start striding forward or troubling times ahead.

Chorley Hibee
29-01-2022, 04:43 PM

It's the level of naivety shown in thinking he can implement this style, without the players, that worries me the most.

Even when 3-2 down, and minutes left, there was no attempt to change the style of play.

29-01-2022, 04:43 PM
You don’t see Rocky, Melkerson and Mitchell being able to a job for us now? And Clarke would, imo, be a starter if he hadn’t been injured

Melkerson isn’t doing a job is he? And we’re being told he’s not going to soon. What have you seen of him that makes you think he’ll do a job?

Rocky done all right. Mitchell isn’t solving any of our problems, left wing back wasn’t an issue.

29-01-2022, 04:44 PM

JDH - a nothing player IMO
Campbell - lower league level
Drey Wright - anyone who Tommy Wright thinks is the best he's seen is a worry
James Scott - you are simply trolling if you think he is a good player
Jamie Murphy - my iceberg lettuce is more resilient than that lad's hamstrings
Gogic - there's a reason he was at relegated Hamilton
Nathan Wood - panic signing
Stephen and Paul McGinn - never, ever good enough for Hibs

And we still rely on Lewis, Hanlon and McGregor.............

How much salary is that ? The recruitment team at Hibs are awful - plain and simple.

29-01-2022, 04:46 PM
Today we saw a horrific second half but are we seriously at the Maloney out stage for some after 6 matches in charge? Wow.

29-01-2022, 04:47 PM

How much salary is that ? The recruitment team at Hibs are awful - plain and simple.

Paul McGinn certainly is good enough. Was brilliant last season in a good Hibs side so the idea he's never been good enough is factually incorrect.

Hanlon still being relied on because he's excellent. Lewis is still decent. Hard to disagree otherwise.

Chorley Hibee
29-01-2022, 04:47 PM

Agree with every word, and frightening when listed.

29-01-2022, 04:49 PM
Today we saw a horrific second half but are we seriously at the Maloney out stage for some after 6 matches in charge? Wow.

Tbh, most people were never at the Maloney in stage. A bizarre appointment mid season. Maybe with a pre season and time to get his ideas across. He doesn't have time.

Big week coming up for him. 2 wins required.

We need to settle on a best 11, all the chopping and changing really can’t help the players gel in our new style.

until we sign someone in the middle of the pitch who win the ball and drives forward, I’d be tempted to play Porto in there.

Macey
Rocky hanlon Doig

cadden Porto Mitchell

mueller Henderson

doidge Nisbet

For many, he has til Tuesday

He's so busy telling the players to "ignore our fans" (alienating himself) he will find out Tuesday that it's the other team & the other teams fans who are the real problem

I don't see how we can win the midfield battle on Tuesday with this team & tactics

29-01-2022, 04:51 PM

We’re nowhere near that stage but there is nothing positive to take out of his first 6 games that makes you think he’s going to be a good manager, that doesn’t mean he won’t but he needs a performance on Tuesday as fans will take a defeat with a decent performance but if we play like we’ve played so far the pressure will be turned up.

MKHIBEE
29-01-2022, 04:53 PM

Nothing I have said contradicts any of that although I do think an on form, consistent JDH would be decent

Chip shop Joe
That was absolutely awful. Just no cutting edge.

All our play was so deliberate, with no creativity and terrible crossing.

Perhaps a little too early to be too dramatic but I for one am starting to get a little bit worried.

Must be honest I am starting to have real concerns about Maloney. I think a loss on Tuesday will put him under a bit of pressure already.

29-01-2022, 04:54 PM

I'm not sure there's been so much deadwood in our squad at the same time for a number of years. I'll reserve judgement on the new guys for the moment.

29-01-2022, 04:54 PM
Tbh, most people were never at the Maloney in stage. A bizarre appointment mid season. Maybe with a pre season and time to get his ideas across. He doesn't have time.

Big week coming up for him. 2 wins required.

“Most people” is quite the take. You were never at the Maloney in stage, that’s fair enough. I remember you telling everyone you were giving him ten games and that hasn’t lasted very long.

29-01-2022, 04:55 PM
Don’t start with the we are win transition stuff or give him time.

He’s been here since December 20th.

He’s had a transfer window and we have brought in players - we knew the exact circumstances of every player coming in - so no excuses.

Even if a coach has a philosophy he has to be adaptable and get the best from what you have in front of you.

If we keep passing the ball 5 yards between our defenders with minutes to go and a goal down, it will certainly speed up the frustration the fans will show

Its no pretty but chuck Porto or Rocky up top and play for the 2nd ball

Paul McGinn certainly is good enough. Was brilliant last season in a good Hibs side so the idea he's never been good enough is factually incorrect.

Hanlon still being relied on because he's excellent. Lewis is still decent. Hard to disagree otherwise.

I'm not singling out your replies MW because I like your posts - but Paul McGinn has been, for me, responsible for most goals conceded because he is a very poor defender when it comes to closing down and being aggressive. Watch the goals we concede when he plays. Vast vast majority come on his side and due to lack of press. He's not good enough if we are a side that profess to want 3rd and 4th every season. Certainly not a first pick full back.

No, but that pish today has not helped his cause, we lost a game at home to Livingston who were 4th bottom before today. They're only 4 points behind us now. We play Hearts at home then St Mirren at home which are must wins if we are to keep in touch with the top 4. We then go away to Rangers on the 9th of Feb and then up to Arbroath in th cup who will most definitely smell an upset given our terrible form. Look at the 2nd goal we conceded. We cant defend even defend a mildly threatening long throw into our box. Shocking stuff. Maloney has his work cut out thats for sure.

29-01-2022, 04:56 PM

I'm so glad you've been allowed access to the changing room to listen to his team talk and after game talks, thanks for sharing. Here's me thinking the hair dryer treatment and calling out players was a thing of the past but it seems it's what some of you still want.

29-01-2022, 04:56 PM
“Most people” is quite the take. You were never at the Maloney in stage, that’s fair enough. I remember you telling everyone you were giving him ten games and that hasn’t lasted very long.

I'm not exactly Maloney out yet, but losing at home to Livi us a disgrace. Especially in such shambolic fashion. He had actually zero idea 2nd half. Not a clue.

29-01-2022, 04:57 PM
If he doesn’t bring in a centre mid before Monday, he won’t make it to the end of the season. We are horrific in the middle of the park. Omeonga the best midfielder out there today.
We won’t beat Hearts on Tuesday. And that is going to put huge pressure on Maloney.

29-01-2022, 04:59 PM
Whilst Porteous has been and can be a great asset, in my opinion he can also be a huge liability with mistakes and regular suspensions.

Dazzjw1875
29-01-2022, 05:01 PM
Again nowhere near good enough and the players don't look like they know what they are doing! We shouldn't be getting embarrassed by teams who's budget is alot less than ours its all good saying better quality but no use if they don't have the heart for a battle.

29-01-2022, 05:02 PM

That recruitment team is gone along with the manager who agreed to sign them, Campbell came through our youth set up.

I'm not exactly Maloney out yet, but losing at home to Livi us a disgrace. Especially in such shambolic fashion. He had actually zero idea 2nd half. Not a clue.

I agree. Second half was dreadful and needs improvement in every department. I’m not sure if Maloney will turn out to be a dud or not but I’m happy to give him a few more games than six to prove his worth.

If we lose to Hearts I'm 100% Maloney out. If it was good enough for the guy who got us 3rd and 2 finals in a row it's good enough for Maloney.

29-01-2022, 05:03 PM
I agree. Second half was dreadful and needs improvement in every department. I’m not sure if Maloney will turn out to be a dud or not but I’m happy to give him a few more games than six to prove his worth.

He'll get 8. Lose the next 2, he'll never recover

Said it at the time Jack Ross had enough credit in the bank from last season to have been given more time to turnaround the bad form. He also got us to another cup final with one of the best performances in the semi in recent memory.

Nothing from Maloney so far suggests he will be a better manager than Jack Ross for us.

I do have concerns about Maloney

Ross was sacked for a poor run of form but we were rarely totally deviod of ideas

Yes some tweaking was required to the set up but I think Maloney might be making the classic mistake of trying to change too much too quickly

29-01-2022, 05:07 PM
If we lose to Hearts I'm 100% Maloney out. If it was good enough for the guy who got us 3rd and 2 finals in a row it's good enough for Maloney.

You give him 7 games? Wow! Good for you!

Neily1982
29-01-2022, 05:08 PM

Ross was sacked for a poor run of form but we were rarely totally deviod of ideas

Yes some tweaking was required to the set up but I think Maloney might be making the classic mistake of trying to change too much too quickly

Totally agree with this mate, the change needs to be gradual or it will end in tears, at times the players look very lost especially when the opponents change their shape mid game

29-01-2022, 05:08 PM
That recruitment team is gone along with the manager who agreed to sign them, Campbell came through our youth set up.

I was making the point that Josh Campbell, regardless of how he ended up in the side, is simply not good enough - he's not even the best youth prospect so I'm baffled as to why he gets into the first team squad.

29-01-2022, 05:09 PM
Square pegs in round holes is Maloney's problem.

Need to get the players to play to their strengths (I presume they must have some)

Skol
29-01-2022, 05:10 PM
This is getting tough. We are a poorer side now than we were under the manager we sacked

I actually thought early on there were some positive signs. He had tweaked the formation and appeared to have learned to adapt. I don’t understand why newell was dropped and why Campbell played. I liked the look of Mitchell. Second half we saw more of the nisbet we want as well.

Some of the changes were strange and second half we seemed to go back to the preferred maloney shape that just doesn’t work. Defending at the goals was shocking and what Mackey was thinking at the first goal I don’t know

Lots of work for maloney and Tuesday is now massive and a must win. Although it’s hard to see how we can win and I actually feel we could be on the end of a bad defeat.

29-01-2022, 05:11 PM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1487486044853489667?s=21

He’s good at the manager chat with talk of ‘moments’ and ‘action’. They must all do the same coaching courses.

Boss_Nass
29-01-2022, 05:12 PM
Playing a back five should be reserved for when you are playing a superior team and want to absorb pressure and try and attack on the break. You don’t play like that against poorer teams especially at home.

Smurf out

1875Sean
29-01-2022, 05:15 PM
We need to settle on a best 11, all the chopping and changing really can’t help the players gel in our new style.

until we sign someone in the middle of the pitch who win the ball and drives forward, I’d be tempted to play Porto in there.

Macey
Rocky hanlon Doig

cadden Porto Mitchell

mueller Henderson

doidge Nisbet

That isn’t a midfield 3, that selection along with doig in a back 3 would get a doing most weeks

Playing a back five should be reserved for when you are playing a superior team and want to absorb pressure and try and attack on the break. You don’t play like that against poorer teams especially at home.

Smurf out

Thats not how a back 5 or 3 works. They are not more defensive or offensive than anything else. All about execution.

Youve got fo be kidding? First bad day a few weeks into his job?
I’m glad i’m no you.

29-01-2022, 05:16 PM
Going by what I've seen of us since Maloney arrived, we have no chance on Tuesday.

29-01-2022, 05:16 PM
I’m glad i’m no you.

Not joking at all. He was desperately out of his depth today. Team was a total shambles 2nd half.

#2 Double Tap
29-01-2022, 05:17 PM
I'm so glad you've been allowed access to the changing room to listen to his team talk and after game talks, thanks for sharing. Here's me thinking the hair dryer treatment and calling out players was a thing of the past but it seems it's what some of you still want.

look at all the top bosses in the world, every one of them has an air of confidence about them and they all look like they would be "nutters" in the changing room.

stein, fergie, robson, mourinho, klopp, pep, ancellotti, conte, simeone, zidane, van gaal,

would you mess with any of those names.

Shaggy
29-01-2022, 05:18 PM
We are all allowed a vote on this site,

Maloney was a magnificent player and professional,
He has coached kids and held the towels for Martinez,
so It was a massive coin toss to make him a Hibs manager and expect miracles straight out the box.

It will be trial and error this year,
enjoy the wins and suck up the upcoming disasters.

I will save the expectations for next season,
and I hope he does really well for us.

I hope Ron hasnt installed an ejector seat in the managers office.

:flag: Support the Hibs.:flag:

Going by what I've seen of us since Maloney arrived, we have no chance on Tuesday.

Hearts will press us and be in our face. They turn up usually when we are in general the better side.

We are not a team right now and lack personality. It's not going to be nice on tuesday.

I’m glad i’m no you.

Livingston at home? There's bad and there's bad.

29-01-2022, 05:19 PM
We are all allowed a vote on this site,

Maloney was a magnificent player and professional,
He has coached kids and held the towels for Martinez,
so It was a massive coin toss to make him a Hibs manager and expect miracles straight out the box.

It will be trial and error this year,
enjoy the wins and suck up the upcoming disasters.

I will save the expectations for next season,
and I hope he does really well for us.

I hope Ron hasnt installed an ejector seat in the managers office.

:flag: Support the Hibs.:flag:

I genuinely wonder what he said to make the Hibernian board think he was the best person for the job.

At least Cathro had Potter bigging him up.

look at all the top bosses in the world, every one of them has an air of confidence about them and they all look like they would be "nutters" in the changing room.

stein, fergie, robson, mourinho, klopp, pep, ancellotti, conte, simeone, zidane, van gaal,

would you mess with any of those names.GvB?
Ange?
Robbie Neilson?

Hibiza
No Goalie of note , no midfielder of note and no centre forward . 😠

29-01-2022, 05:20 PM
I’m glad i’m no you.

You've forgotten Celtic, Cove and Motherwell tbh.

29-01-2022, 05:20 PM
No Goalie of note , no midfielder of note and no centre forward . 😠

Both forwards played well today, Nisbet especially.

#2 Double Tap
29-01-2022, 05:21 PM
GvB?
Ange?
Robbie Neilson?

bold only one that got it.

29-01-2022, 05:22 PM
Said it at the time Jack Ross had enough credit in the bank from last season to have been given more time to turnaround the bad form. He also got us to another cup final with one of the best performances in the semi in recent memory.

Nothing from Maloney so far suggests he will be a better manager than Jack Ross for us.
I was pretty much amazed at Ross’s sacking.I was amazed so many fans wanted him sacked.
If our fans cant give SM any time here then we deserve everything we get.

29-01-2022, 05:23 PM

Unless we are completely transformed on Tuesday compared with how we have played over the last 3 games (and today in particular) Tuesday night isn't going to go well.

29-01-2022, 05:23 PM
Whilst Porteous has been and can be a great asset, in my opinion he can also be a huge liability with mistakes and regular suspensions.

What a load o pish, he had nothing to do with a very poor second half display from Hibs.
Did you ever see John Blackley play for Hibs, he always started each game with a mistake then he would go on to be the best defender Hibs have had in 60 years or so.

29-01-2022, 05:24 PM
What a load o pish, he had nothing to do with a very poor second half display from Hibs.
Did you ever see John Blackley play for Hibs, he always started each game with a mistake then he would go on to be the best defender Hibs have had in 60 years or so.

He was at fault for the third goal. Showed him inside and allowed him a shot at goal.

29-01-2022, 05:24 PM

He was pretty pish today tho

29-01-2022, 05:25 PM
If only Hibs.net posters could get sacked for rotten posts eh?
This place would be half empty and yes i wouldnt be here either.

:faf::faf::faf:

Chorley Hibee
He was at fault for the third goal. Showed him inside and allowed him a shot at goal.

Campbell more to blame surely? Gave it away cheaply and then made no attempt to track back.

29-01-2022, 05:26 PM
Five substitutes can be a bad thing, I think at the end of the game the players had no idea what was going on.

I don't like the way this is shaping up.

29-01-2022, 05:26 PM

Campbell caused that goal.

29-01-2022, 05:27 PM
You give him 7 games? Wow! Good for you!

See absolutely nothing on the park or off the park that makes me think he's an improvement on Ross. Ross hit the ground running. Maloney hasn't. Might come back to haunt me and I really hope it does but he's not for me.

JamesHFC
29-01-2022, 05:29 PM
They beat us a couple of months ago and they battered us 3-0 at home a year ago. These things happen, a mix of bad defending this season as well as last seasons top goal scorer being out of form is costing us. We now need to replace our best player also.

I fully back Maloney and I’m sure the board will too.

29-01-2022, 05:30 PM
Five substitutes can be a bad thing, I think at the end of the game the players had no idea what was going on.

There was no thinking behind the subs for me. One (or even two) should have been made when it was evident they took control of the game. Then it was like switching for the sake of it and it became a jumble sale.

Me neither. It won't end well.

29-01-2022, 05:33 PM

Scoopy, honest opinon - do you think he has come in and played the media game (proud of the players) but realised the poor squad assembled and is trying to keep everyone on their toes ?

He was an attacker himself, has come from sides that attack, and I'd be astonished if he doesn't see this half season as doing the best they can with what they've got, then an exodus and rebulld/mould of what he really wants the side to be ? His comments about building a Mowbray like side genuinely excite me, but you need a window or two to get the start of that - don't think it helped him coming in during December, but I think he must have a huge influence in recruitment in summer.

The squad is bloated and bland.

29-01-2022, 05:33 PM
They beat us a couple of months ago and they battered us 3-0 at home a year ago. These things happen, a mix of bad defending this season as well as last seasons top goal scorer being out of form is costing us. We now need to replace our best player also.

I fully back Maloney and I’m sure the board will too.

Did you back the last manager?

If not, why do you back Maloney? What have you seen apart from being Belgium coach and a good player with Celtic that makes you think he's got it and Ross didn't?

I've seen zero. In fact it's gotten worse. Rocky aside the recruitment is shan too. We don't even officially know who is meant to be in charge yet it was all the fault of the boy we sacked in Mathie who lived and breathed Hibernian and then it wasn't really his fault it was Jacks. :confused:

Islington Hibs
29-01-2022, 05:34 PM
I was pretty much amazed at Ross’s sacking.I was amazed so many fans wanted him sacked.

Some of the comments on this board are little short of pathetic. SM has been in charge for what is it six games. Disappointing today but really let’s judge this over many months.

Before we won the cup Hibs we’re slowly dying in my view with a highly negative and declining support undermining confidence and the team making ER a generally unpleasant place to visit.

The Cup win transformed our mentality as a support. During the last two seasons we have seen elements of the support revert to an absurd negativity and criticism making the job even harder.

Waxy is right we absolutely deserve failure if our own supporters behave in such a shortsighted and frankly counterproductive manner.

tonyrougier123
29-01-2022, 05:39 PM
:faf::faf::faf:

Aye it’s funny right enough,replacing experience with inexperience absolute shocker from Gordon.
If your going to be bold at least make a statement with your new appointment.
So far signs are terrible,won’t achieve what he wants with regards to style with current squad,obviously looked at it and thought he would which would have delighted owner.
So far from it no chance he survives the season unless something spectacular happens in next couple days.

Paul1642
29-01-2022, 05:40 PM
Maloney is not long in and will get my backing but his tenure so far has cemented my view that we should never have sacked Ross. A stupid decision to appease a minority of fans and had we stuck with him we would have been back on the up instead of whatever you want to call what’s currently happening.

hibeerealist
29-01-2022, 05:40 PM
Some of the comments on this board are little short of pathetic. SM has been in charge for what is it six games. Disappointing today but really let’s judge this over many months.

Before we won the cup Hibs we’re slowly dying in my view with a highly negative and declining support undermining confidence and the team making ER a generally unpleasant place to visit.

The Cup win transformed our mentality as a support. During the last two seasons we have seen elements of the support revert to an absurd negativity and criticism making the job even harder.

Waxy is right we absolutely deserve failure if our own supporters behave in such a shortsighted and frankly counterproductive manner.

Behave

#2 Double Tap
29-01-2022, 05:43 PM
Maloney is not long in and will get my backing but his tenure so far has cemented my view that we should never have sacked Ross. A stupid decision to appease a minority of fans and had we stuck with him we would have been back on the up instead of whatever you want to call what’s currently happening.

it was not stupid, it should have happened sooner.

JamesHFC
29-01-2022, 05:43 PM
Did you back the last manager?

If not, why do you back Maloney? What have you seen apart from being Belgium coach and a good player with Celtic that makes you think he's got it and Ross didn't?

I've seen zero. In fact it's gotten worse. Rocky aside the recruitment is shan too. We don't even officially know who is meant to be in charge yet it was all the fault of the boy we sacked in Mathie who lived and breathed Hibernian and then it wasn't really his fault it was Jacks. :confused:

I backed the last manager until I felt that his time was up, which it was.

Maloney has been here for just over a month, why wouldn’t I back him? He’s lost his best player, he’s been unfortunate with suspensions and injuries and his strikers are out of form.

You can see what he is trying to build through the way we are set out to play and the type of signings we are making, he said himself it isn’t going to happen overnight but long term it should be positive which I’m optimistic it will be.

Not going to spend my days looking to make our manager look bad, it’s his first gig and he needs time. The results haven’t even been shambolic. Long term I think he will be more successful than Ross.

29-01-2022, 05:45 PM

The decision was made by the owner as we were losing games and dropping down the league with a manager who didn't seem to know how to correct it, not pandering to the fans. They have made a statement by bringing in a young manager who wants to play iyh a particular way, right now it's far too early to Aya if that's going to work or not, it needs time to turn it around, not 6 games and just over a month in charge.

29-01-2022, 05:45 PM
Scoopy, honest opinon - do you think he has come in and played the media game (proud of the players) but realised the poor squad assembled and is trying to keep everyone on their toes ?

He was an attacker himself, has come from sides that attack, and I'd be astonished if he doesn't see this half season as doing the best they can with what they've got, then an exodus and rebulld/mould of what he really wants the side to be ? His comments about building a Mowbray like side genuinely excite me, but you need a window or two to get the start of that - don't think it helped him coming in during December, but I think he must have a huge influence in recruitment in summer.

The squad is bloated and bland.

He won't hang them out to dry in the press but I don't think he is impressed with the squad he has inherited.

He has passed one or two comments that he can't believe the criticism from the stands, he's got to realise he's at Hibs now and not Celtic. I thought the fans were good in the first half today as were the team. However second half you could feel the frustration of the fans and this will recur if positive signs don't come soon.

Just as a by the way, I don't know what they do at half time in Easter Road games but they are always lethargic at the start of the second half. It came as no surprise when they equalised.

29-01-2022, 05:46 PM
Behave

What did he say you dont agree with?

29-01-2022, 05:50 PM
I backed the last manager until I felt that his time was up, which it was.

Maloney has been here for just over a month, why wouldn’t I back him? He’s lost his best player, he’s been unfortunate with suspensions and injuries and his strikers are out of form.

You can see what he is trying to build through the way we are set out to play and the type of signings we are making, he said himself it isn’t going to happen overnight but long term it should be positive which I’m optimistic it will be.

Not going to spend my days looking to make our manager look bad, it’s his first gig and he needs time. The results haven’t even been shambolic. Long term I think he will be more successful than Ross.

What do you base your opinion he will be more successful than Ross? Finish higher than third? Win a cup? Based on absolutely what considering we lost in the league today and won in extra time against a team that drew with Dumbarton today in the Scottish Cup.

Silky
29-01-2022, 05:51 PM
Behave

But harsh. Don't think that was overly controversial. In what way do you believe he needs to "behave"?

29-01-2022, 05:51 PM

Saying we don't deserve success because we care for our club and don't blindly back anyone to start? :confused:

PolmontHibby
29-01-2022, 05:55 PM

I agree - i thought Ross getting sacked was a very poor decision, and while I have seen nothing on the pitch so far to convince me Maloney was the right decision a Sauzee length of management would be an equally bad choice.

However based on some of the stuff at full time today quite a few fans don’t have same view.

29-01-2022, 05:55 PM
Behave
You behave

29-01-2022, 05:56 PM
In answer to the original question, bloody awful.

JamesHFC
29-01-2022, 05:58 PM
What do you base your opinion he will be more successful than Ross? Finish higher than third? Win a cup? Based on absolutely what considering we lost in the league today and won in extra time against a team that drew with Dumbarton today in the Scottish Cup.

I think Maloney will go onto achieve more in his career than Ross because I value his ideas. We should have won the double last season imo and should have beaten a Championship Hearts who hardly played for 6 months. Then to win 2 of 12 league games isn’t acceptable.

Ask Sunderland fans what they think of him after failing to get them promoted and bottling another cup final. Nothing against Jack but he’s a bottle merchant.

29-01-2022, 05:58 PM
We got the new manager bounce when Maloney came in and we played well against Aberdeen and Dundee United.

We then had the winter break, which was a chance for Maloney to work with the players to improve their understanding of his preferred system, and to understand how he needs to tweak it to suit the players available to him.

We've been worse since the winter break. Pedestrian against Cove, Motherwell and Livingston with no cutting edge. I'm discounting Celtc because of their budget advantage.

I want Maloney to do well but the early evidence is going to make it hard for him to keep fans onside.

29-01-2022, 05:59 PM

They weren’t the only ones.

StockholmHibs
29-01-2022, 05:59 PM

Geez a break mate, our support are no different to any other spl club.Why do we always trott this pish out on hibs.net?
Football fans are the same all over. With the possible exception of the huns. They are something else.

29-01-2022, 06:00 PM

Neither am I yet. The most worrying thing for today was the sense of sheer disappointment I allowed myself to feel during the second half, during which we did not look like a top six team, let alone 3rd or 4th place fighters.

29-01-2022, 06:00 PM
I think Maloney will go onto achieve more in his career than Ross because I value his ideas. We should have won the double last season imo and should have beaten a Championship Hearts who hardly played for 6 months. Then to win 2 of 12 league games isn’t acceptable.

Ask Sunderland fans what they think of him after failing to get them promoted and bottling another cup final. Nothing against Jack but he’s a bottle merchant.

So literally based on nothing you've seen on the football field then? His values and because he coached Belgium?

Jack Ross had us finish higher than any Hibernian manager since Mowbray. That is fact. :aok:

Shaun Maloney will never be near a managers job at the likes of Sunderland. Amazing values or not. He certainly won't get us to 2 finals in a season and finish third either.

29-01-2022, 06:01 PM
We got the new manager bounce when Maloney came in and we played well against Aberdeen and Dundee United.

We then had the winter break, which was a chance for Maloney to work with the players to improve their understanding of his preferred system, and to understand how he needs to tweak it to suit the players available to him.

We've been worse since the winter break. Pedestrian against Cove, Motherwell and Livingston with no cutting edge. I'm discounting Celtc because of their budget advantage.

I want Maloney to do well but the early evidence is going to make it hard for him to keep fans onside.

Lose the derby and those against him from the start will be all guns blazing, and tbh if we lose horribly then I'll probably be joining them. :greengrin

29-01-2022, 06:04 PM
They weren’t the only ones.

I wasn't blaming the subs.

My point was you are replacing half the outfield players in the team.

And when you are not replacing like for like it just descends into farce, players didn't have a clue where they were meant to be.

JamesHFC
29-01-2022, 06:05 PM
So literally based on nothing you've seen on the football field then? His values and because he coached Belgium?

Jack Ross had us finish higher than any Hibernian manager since Mowbray. That is fact. :aok:

Shawn Maloney will never be near a managers job at the likes of Sunderland. Amazing values or not. He certainly won't get us to 2 finals in a season and finish third either.

I’m not sure what you are trying to get at here, why do you dislike Shaun Maloney so much? Did he pump your missus or something?

Your last paragraph is nonsense, managing Hibs is a step up compared to managing in League One of England. Unless you can look into the future you really can’t say that he certainly won’t achieve those things.

Keepthefaith
29-01-2022, 06:05 PM

Totally agree. the insipid performances WITH Boyle were awful under Ross in both cups when we had a great opportunity. Fans were slating his negativity, team selection, subs or lack of etc etc.

Same **** different manager. We can't expect overnight success, but we may, just may reap the benefits of sticking with him, and his self professed attacking philosophy. Our fans slated McInnes too for his style and relative lack of success yet now crying out for him? Jees, it'd be funny if it wasn't so painful!

The window isn't yet shut, we still have players out. Give the guy a break eh?

29-01-2022, 06:06 PM

Totally agree with this. Some torn faced disasters on here and the stands. I’m starting to believe the chat that we are a moanier face base than the average.

29-01-2022, 06:06 PM
I was making the point that Josh Campbell, regardless of how he ended up in the side, is simply not good enough - he's not even the best youth prospect so I'm baffled as to why he gets into the first team squad.

Don't get me wrong I agree he's a squad player at best, just you were having a dig at the recruitment and he wasn't part of that and yes the recruitment since George Craig has been poor.

29-01-2022, 06:07 PM
Saying we don't deserve success because we care for our club and don't blindly back anyone to start? :confused:

That wasn't what was said though?!?

Kano Kirsty
29-01-2022, 06:08 PM
Bring back Neil. Maloney appears so far out his depth it’s unreal.

Going into a new season with our current set up, I really worry we could be relegated.

I’m not sure what you are trying to get at here, why do you dislike Shaun Maloney so much? Did he pump your missus or something?

Your last paragraph is nonsense, managing Hibs is a step up compared to managing in League One of England. Unless you can look into the future you really can’t say that he certainly won’t achieve those things.

Nope. But he's done nothing to show he's good enough to be the manager of our football club let alone better the achievements of our last manager. Anything apart from how he views the game?

Sunderland are a bigger club than Hibernian. Replay Robbie left them in third to go to MK Dons for instance. Maloney won't manage a bigger club than us based on everything so far. I'm only speculating, the same as you have saying he will be more successful than Maloney based on absolutely nothing but a CV as a coach - see Cathro.

hibbydad
I wasn't blaming the subs.

My point was you are replacing half the outfield players in the team.

And when you are not replacing like for like it just descends into farce, players didn't have a clue where they were meant to be.
I agree with you Scoopy same as
on wednesay

29-01-2022, 06:09 PM
That wasn't what was said though?!?

It's how I read it sorry.

29-01-2022, 06:09 PM
Bring back Neil. Maloney appears so far out his depth it’s unreal.

Going into a new season with our current set up, I really worry we could be relegated.

The team in that scenario would look very different :aok:

29-01-2022, 06:10 PM
Totally agree with this. Some torn faced disasters on here and the stands. I’m starting to believe the chat that we are a moanier face base than the average.

Nobody would be moaning so much if the second half today wasn't a total shambles against a side with a fraction of our budget.

29-01-2022, 06:10 PM
Maloney had a wee change in tone in his after match IV

29-01-2022, 06:12 PM

We were regularly devoid of ideas towards the end of his time. And in the third of our league games where we didn’t score last season. Today was **** but I thought in a different way.

29-01-2022, 06:13 PM
Nobody would be moaning so much if the second half today wasn't a total shambles against a side with a fraction of our budget.

Theres still some ridiculous overreactions. Getting rid after 6 games? :faf:

29-01-2022, 06:14 PM

And what did you take that to be,out of interest ? For me, he seemed a bit lost for decent analysis and sounded down

RIP Bestie
29-01-2022, 06:15 PM
Lose the derby and those against him from the start will be all guns blazing, and tbh if we lose horribly then I'll probably be joining them. :greengrin

Really not looking forward to the derby at all.
Lile it or not they are a good team playing with confidence and getting good results.
Think they may p*** over the top of us.
Hope I'm wrong though.

JamesHFC
29-01-2022, 06:15 PM
Nope. But he's done nothing to show he's good enough to be the manager of our football club let alone better the achievements of our last manager. Anything apart from how he views the game?

Sunderland are a bigger club than Hibernian. Replay Robbie left them in third to go to MK Dons for instance. Maloney won't manage a bigger club than us based on everything so far. I'm only speculating, the same as you have saying he will be more successful than Maloney based on absolutely nothing but a CV as a coach - see Cathro.

He’s a highly respected coach otherwise he wouldn’t have been anywhere near Belgium. He also went through an interview process at the club where they deemed him good enough to be in charge. Give the bloke a chance, it comes across that you want him to do a terrible job so you can say you were right. Weird behaviour.

FWIW Maloney wouldn’t have been my first choice for the job but I’ll back him until I feel that he isn’t the right man for the job. At the moment putting everything into perspective with the sale of our best player, a few injuries and how he is trying to implement a style of play we aren’t used to I’m happy to give him time. A long way to go this season, top four and a trophy still within reach.

Hibees1973
29-01-2022, 06:18 PM
When it was announced that Maloney was going to be our manager I had misgivings.

My initial thoughts were that as this was his first managers's job he would be naive and with us playing how he wants to, and not in a style with the players we have. Would appear weak when under pressure and through his lack of experience, be unable to make tactical changes.

Well he has made every mistake in the book so far.

However, our problems are more serious than the team manager. The whole structure at the club stinks.

29-01-2022, 06:18 PM
He’s a highly respected coach otherwise he wouldn’t have been anywhere near Belgium. He also went through an interview process at the club where they deemed him good enough to be in charge. Give the bloke a chance, it comes across that you want him to do a terrible job so you can say you were right. Weird behaviour.

FWIW Maloney wouldn’t have been my first choice for the job but I’ll back him until I feel that he isn’t the right man for the job. At the moment putting everything into perspective with the sale of our best player, a few injuries and how he is trying to implement a style of play we aren’t used to I’m happy to give him time. A long way to go this season, top four and a trophy still within reach.

Being a great coach , doesn’t make him a decent manager though. We know they are quite different roles .

No one can be seeing anything that is suggesting he is going to get this right . Not saying , we shouldn’t support him . Of course we should. But there is no signs that he will make us better. I can understand why a number are worried . I’m troubled too

coldingham hibs
29-01-2022, 06:19 PM
Style of play is boring, negative & laboured. No creativity and no fire power. To be outgunned by a team like Livingston at home is just criminal.

Mikey_1875
29-01-2022, 06:21 PM
However, our problems are more serious than the team manager. The whole structure at the club stinks.

I’m beginning to feel that way as well.

29-01-2022, 06:21 PM

No, I want him to do brilliant so I can say I was talking rubbish. I'm not going to blindly back him based on absolutely zero though. He's no improvement from before and that's based on performances on the pitch. He's got a chance. There's giving him a chance and there's saying he will do better than the last manager who we finished third under though.

What about the perspective when we had a squad out for Covid, loads of injuries and a fixture pile up. We perhaps shouldn't have hounded out the manager who got us to finals and finished third with a sense of perspective but no - we thought we could do better with the players we have - now that's not the case and time, money and new players are needed - that was after backing Jack and Mathie was the devil after the summer. People just make it up as they go along.

#2 Double Tap
29-01-2022, 06:22 PM

much better than the last one. glad for the bit honesty and lack of smirks.

29-01-2022, 06:23 PM
Theres still some ridiculous overreactions. Getting rid after 6 games? :faf:

You think it's bad now, wait until Tuesday evening.

JamesHFC
29-01-2022, 06:24 PM
Being a great coach , doesn’t make him a decent manager though. We know they are quite different roles .

No one can be seeing anything that is suggesting he is going to get this right . Not saying , we shouldn’t support him . Of course we should. But there is no signs that he will make us better. I can understand why a number are worried . I’m troubled too

It’s his first managerial job so of course we aren’t going to know how it will pan out but I think he will do well. Gerrard, Lampard, Rooney, Arteta and Viera recent former players to go into management and they are doing alright. There’s no reason why Maloney can’t be a good manager because he hasn’t manager a club before, he has to start somewhere.

29-01-2022, 06:26 PM

I don’t think so. I’d rather take out my eyeballs with spoons and replace with hot sticky toffee apples than come on here the night after losing a derby.

JamesHFC
29-01-2022, 06:27 PM
No, I want him to do brilliant so I can say I was talking rubbish. I'm not going to blindly back him based on absolutely zero though. He's no improvement from before and that's based on performances on the pitch. He's got a chance. There's giving him a chance and there's saying he will do better than the last manager who we finished third under though.

What about the perspective when we had a squad out for Covid, loads of injuries and a fixture pile up. We perhaps shouldn't have hounded out the manager who got us to finals and finished third with a sense of perspective but no - we thought we could do better with the players we have - now that's not the case and time, money and new players are needed - that was after backing Jack and Mathie was the devil after the summer. People just make it up as they go along.

He won the same amount of league games in his first two matches as the previous manager did in his last 12.

It’s just my opinion that Maloney will be a more successful manager than Jack Ross, if we are both still here in 10 years we can discuss that.

I’m pretty fed up of talking about Jack Ross so I’m going to leave it at this.

29-01-2022, 06:27 PM
It’s his first managerial job so of course we aren’t going to know how it will pan out but I think he will do well. Gerrard, Lampard, Rooney, Arteta and Viera recent former players to go into management and they are doing alright. There’s no reason why Maloney can’t be a good manager because he hasn’t manager a club before, he has to start somewhere.

I can’t see anything that suggests he will be. Good manager . Not saying he won’t , hope he will of course . We need him to.

can’t see how anyone can think that from
What we are seeing so far ( other than assumption ). There are no signs he is making us better . Yes, only six games in - but we are regressing , not developing . So currently , there are no indicators he will be good at this job .

29-01-2022, 06:28 PM
I’m beginning to feel that way as well.

LD understood the parochial nature of Scottish football but was also successful and adept at 'feeling the room'.

Just don't get that with the new CEO - he's a money maker and has not 'got' the Scottish football or Hibs vibe. Not impressed with Ron Gordon either I have to be honest - everything I hear about him is money orientated and not team orientated. Something I've posted about previously so not knee jerk to today.

JamesHFC
29-01-2022, 06:30 PM
I can’t see anything that suggests he will be. Good manager . Not saying he won’t , hope he will of course . We need him to.

can’t see how anyone can think that from
What we are seeing so far ( other than assumption ). There are no signs he is making us better . Yes, only six games in - but we are regressing , not developing . So currently , there are no indicators he will be good at this job .

We are regressing based on what?

29-01-2022, 06:31 PM
We are regressing based on what?

Based on watching all the games since the break …and seeing how ineffective we are at winning games

We were better against Aberdeen and United than since. That’s regression

29-01-2022, 06:31 PM
If maloney continues with his belief on how football should be played, he won’t see next season

I love the passing style and control the game but it needs adapting

Hate saying it but Celtic play the most exciting football in the league, the speed they break at is frightening

If we could find a balance of possession, pressing and more passing in the final third maloney could be the man to do something wonderful.

I hope he isn’t stubborn to at least try an adapted belief

JamesHFC
29-01-2022, 06:33 PM
Based on watching all the games since the break …and seeing how ineffective we are at winning games

We’ve won 3 of the 6 games since he came in. We’ve lost Boyle since the break who has been huge for us in regards of scoring and assisting goals, we need a replacement.

29-01-2022, 06:33 PM
LD understood the parochial nature of Scottish football but was also successful and adept at 'feeling the room'.

Just don't get that with the new CEO - he's a money maker and has not 'got' the Scottish football or Hibs vibe. Not impressed with Ron Gordon either I have to be honest - everything I hear about him is money orientated and not team orientated. Something I've posted about previously so not knee jerk to today.

He speaks a lot but says very little of value. LD was head and shoulders above him when it came to getting what we are all about.

29-01-2022, 06:34 PM
I think pish would be the best way to describe his style of play so far. I’m not sure the players get what he’s trying to do or have the ability to operate in a system that asks a lot of players.

Whatever, so far we look a spiritless outfit with no fight or organization. It seems more likely that we’ll be dragged into a relegation battle than be fighting for a European spot. And it’s one we seem ill equipped to handle.

I would obviously love to be wrong and the players to get it, and everything to click in.

29-01-2022, 06:34 PM
He won the same amount of league games in his first two matches as the previous manager did in his last 12.

It’s just my opinion that Maloney will be a more successful manager than Jack Ross, if we are both still here in 10 years we can discuss that.

I’m pretty fed up of talking about Jack Ross so I’m going to leave it at this.

We can discuss it in a couple of months if you like because it will be plainly obvious by the if he has what it takes or if he doesn't.

The last derby, away, I went into that game thinking we would win and a draw was disappointing. Now looking at Tuesday I'll gladly take a draw.

29-01-2022, 06:36 PM
I think pish would be the best way to describe his style of play so far. I’m not sure the players get what he’s trying to do or have the ability to operate in a system that asks a lot of players.

Whatever, so far we look a spiritless outfit with no fight or organization. It seems more likely that we’ll be dragged into a relegation battle than be fighting for a European spot. And it’s one we seem ill equipped to handle.

I would obviously love to be wrong and the players to get it, and everything to click in.

That's being kind.

29-01-2022, 06:37 PM
He speaks a lot but says very little of value. LD was head and shoulders above him when it came to getting what we are all about.

:agree: LD was the connection from the club to the fans when the takeover happened, she was through it emotionally from bringing us back from relegation and of course the greatest day in history and should have been kept as long as possible.

Now it seems we are ran more of a franchise. At Least with Aberdeen the boy up there supports them.

Row H
29-01-2022, 06:37 PM
[/B]

https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bolton-wanderers-vs-sunderland-live-22915955

No bother.

29-01-2022, 06:39 PM
[/B]

https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bolton-wanderers-vs-sunderland-live-22915955

No bother.

23/10/2021
Charlton Athletic (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/charlton-athletic/376916)

6/11/2021
Mansfield Town (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/fa-cup/sunderland/mansfield-town/394010)

n/a

9/11/2021
Bradford City (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/efl-trophy/sunderland/bradford-city/391727)

n/a

20/11/2021
Ipswich Town (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/ipswich-town/376951)

1/12/2021
Oldham Athletic (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/efl-trophy/sunderland/oldham-athletic/395006)

4/12/2021
Oxford United (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/oxford-united/394975)

7/12/2021
Morecambe (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/morecambe/376987)

11/12/2021
Plymouth Argyle (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/plymouth-argyle/376999)

30/12/2021
Sheffield Wednesday (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/sheffield-wednesday/394401)

11/1/2022
Lincoln City (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/lincoln-city/396179)

22/1/2022
Portsmouth (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/portsmouth/377084)

Access via our API (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/api)
Embed on your site (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/embed?sunderland%2Fattendances)

29-01-2022, 06:39 PM
We’ve won 3 of the 6 games since he came in. We’ve lost Boyle since the break who has been huge for us in regards of scoring and assisting goals, we need a replacement.

Since the break, when he had some time to work with the squad .we’ve been worse than before. That’s regression.

I don’t think anyone can genuinely say there are any early signs he will do a good job for us . He might of course , and as I said earlier we really need him to. But there are zero signs in recent games that he will transform us in a positive way .

my intuition tells me he’ll be away by the start of next season - hope I’m calling it completely wrong .

29-01-2022, 06:40 PM

This is all true - agree with every word.

The most worrying thing is that he looks to have no idea about assessing the ability of the players at the club - his decision making has been bizarre.

29-01-2022, 06:40 PM

You are right, he has to start somewhere but there is no guarantee he is going to be a good manager. It seems a massive gamble by the club letting him prove himself here and one that looks like backfiring.
He looked totally lost on the touch line today.

29-01-2022, 06:42 PM
We still look like a Jack Ross team. Not all that unsurprising given only Henderson, Rocky& Mitchel have played that were signed by Maloney.

He may or may not be the right man but there’s a certain hypocrisy in those that made, and continue to make, the point that Ross deserved more time. Yet have afforded Maloney 6 games and not even 1 full transfer window before making their mind up.

Row H
29-01-2022, 06:44 PM
23/10/2021
Charlton Athletic (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/charlton-athletic/376916)

6/11/2021
Mansfield Town (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/fa-cup/sunderland/mansfield-town/394010)

n/a

9/11/2021
Bradford City (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/efl-trophy/sunderland/bradford-city/391727)

n/a

20/11/2021
Ipswich Town (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/ipswich-town/376951)

1/12/2021
Oldham Athletic (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/efl-trophy/sunderland/oldham-athletic/395006)

4/12/2021
Oxford United (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/oxford-united/394975)

7/12/2021
Morecambe (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/morecambe/376987)

11/12/2021
Plymouth Argyle (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/plymouth-argyle/376999)

30/12/2021
Sheffield Wednesday (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/sheffield-wednesday/394401)

11/1/2022
Lincoln City (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/lincoln-city/396179)

22/1/2022
Portsmouth (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/match/2021-2022/league-one/sunderland/portsmouth/377084)

Access via our API (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/api)
Embed on your site (https://www.footballwebpages.co.uk/embed?sunderland%2Fattendances)

And?

29-01-2022, 06:44 PM

Funny you say that, take Ange at celtc, looked a bombscare when he came in and was being slated by all the so called managers that watch football, he stuck to his guns and his style of play and he turned things around and now has his team playing some decent football, should Maloney dump his style of play already and just start lumping the ball up Doidge, all the pro licence coaches on here who know better know nothing about coaching a football team, give the manager time, we have lost our best player in the January window who wanted away, a defender who picks up red cards like they are going out of fashion which means he misses out on games and disrupts the team and came in today and was f***ing woeful, keep saying it but things won’t happen overnight it will take time but the knifes have been sharpened and they are out now to stab Maloney, f***ing joke.

ThisIsTheYear
29-01-2022, 06:45 PM
My issue is he seems to know his style doesn’t suit when the opposition gets in our face… that’s exactly how Hearts will play on Tuesday plus most of the teams in this league. I’m worried this style ain’t going to work…

He won't hang them out to dry in the press but I don't think he is impressed with the squad he has inherited.

He has passed one or two comments that he can't believe the criticism from the stands, he's got to realise he's at Hibs now and not Celtic. I thought the fans were good in the first half today as were the team. However second half you could feel the frustration of the fans and this will recur if positive signs don't come soon.

Just as a by the way, I don't know what they do at half time in Easter Road games but they are always lethargic at the start of the second half. It came as no surprise when they equalised.

What's interesting is I actually like the look of the players he's brought in. Rocky if he keeps playing the way he is I'd be shocked if he's playing for us next year. We need to give him a chance

And?

They are a bigger club, more fans, more money etc. Because they've regressed since Ross left them doesn't stop that.

Row H
29-01-2022, 06:46 PM
They are a bigger club, more fans, more money etc. Because they've regressed since Ross left them doesn't stop that.

🤣🤣🤣

xyz23jc
29-01-2022, 06:48 PM
Style of play is boring, negative & laboured. No creativity and no fire power. To be outgunned by a team like Livingston at home is just criminal.

Already beat us at T.Macaroni & only lost 1-0 at Ibroke in the 75th minute...Just saying! :confused:

29-01-2022, 06:48 PM
What's interesting is I actually like the look of the players he's brought in. Rocky if he keeps playing the way he is I'd be shocked if he's playing for us next year. We need to give him a chance

Rocky and Mitchell look improvements or good enough to play. Henderson doesn't look anywhere near it so far. Clarke will be very good also imo. The rest just have to wait and see.

29-01-2022, 06:49 PM
🤣🤣🤣

You think Hibs are a bigger club than Sunderland?

Seriously? :confused:

Row H
29-01-2022, 06:50 PM
You think Hibs are a bigger club than Sunderland?

Seriously? :confused:

Yes, that’s right. We are a bigger club than Sunderland.

29-01-2022, 06:50 PM

You have to wonder who has been handing out these extended contracts to some of the players, we need a clear out but some will know they won’t get better than this and they will just go through the motions, we defo need a new striker and playmaker midfielder but these are hard to come by in this window.

29-01-2022, 06:51 PM
Why take off Doidge today, who played well and then 5 minutes later bring on Scott, who has offered nowt every time he’s played?

That was baffling for me. Fine take off Doidge if you want to change things but to bring on Scott 5 minutes later was just pointless, should’ve just left Doidge on.

I’m sure Maloney can be a nast piece of business if wants to.

Yes, that’s right. We are a bigger club than Sunderland.

Nae bother mate. :aok:

xyz23jc
29-01-2022, 06:52 PM

Best way to bounce back, not something normally associated with Hibs in my lifetime, but CHARACTER, PLAYING FOR THE JERSEY & WE ARE NOT THE 'POPPY THIEVES'! :giruy2:

Row H
29-01-2022, 06:52 PM
Nae bother mate. :aok:

No problem.

29-01-2022, 06:53 PM
Sports psychologists , dietricians , academies , and the rest . All just merde if you quite simply can't beat and always struggle against the mighty Livingston.

Have you looked at our past results against Livi, they ain’t pretty.

Zambernardi1875
We still look like a Jack Ross team. Not all that unsurprising given only Henderson, Rocky& Mitchel have played that were signed by Maloney.

He may or may not be the right man but there’s a certain hypocrisy in those that made, and continue to make, the point that Ross deserved more time. Yet have afforded Maloney 6 games and not even 1 full transfer window before making their mind up.

well said

Best way to bounce back, not something normally associated with Hibs in my lifetime, but CHARACTER, PLAYING FOR THE JERSEY & WE ARE NOT THE 'POPPY THIEVES'! :giruy2:

We are sadly lacking character.

29-01-2022, 06:55 PM
Why take off Doidge today, who played well and then 5 minutes later bring on Scott, who has offered nowt every time he’s played?

That was baffling for me. Fine take off Doidge if you want to change things but to bring on Scott 5 minutes later was just pointless, should’ve just left Doidge on.

Failed to change it when it was staring in the face then changed it just for ****s it seemed.

RoslinInstHibby
29-01-2022, 06:56 PM

Really annoyed me....bring 2 wingers on but take our target man off....

29-01-2022, 06:57 PM
A jack ross team wouldn’t let in 3 against Livi. I said at the time be careful what you wish for. Buckle in. Get behind him. Live the pain.

29-01-2022, 06:59 PM
A jack ross team wouldn’t let in 3 against Livi. I said at the time be careful what you wish for. Buckle in. Get behind him. Live the pain.

Eh…

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55450353

Jack Ross’ Hibs team threw in plenty of performances just as bad as we saw in that second half today.

29-01-2022, 06:59 PM
We have none, I repeat no character in the team.

We lack a McGinn, Cummings, Riordan, Boyle now.

Someone who was a bit different.

I think porteous has tried to do that but I’d rather he just concentrated on being a centre half.

Like our play it’s all just a bit bland and boring currently

xyz23jc
29-01-2022, 07:00 PM
We are sadly lacking character.

We will see on Tuesday at ER, against them, never ever optimistic, hopeful.... Fu** yeah!

:yw:

29-01-2022, 07:01 PM

Apart from the Jack Ross team that lost 3-0 at home to Livi last season you mean?

https://www.skysports.com/amp/football/news/11781/12177404/hibernian-0-3-livingston-visitors-seal-seventh-straight-win-to-move-fifth

We have none, I repeat no character in the team.

We lack a McGinn, Cummings, Riordan, Boyle now.

Someone who was a bit different.

I think porteous has tried to do that but I’d rather he just concentrated on being a centre half.

Like our play it’s all just a bit bland and boring currently

Add Bartley and McGregor too.

Biggest error Heckingbottom made was to get get rid of Marv.

Funny you say that, take Ange at celtc, looked a bombscare when he came in and was being slated by all the so called managers that watch football, he stuck to his guns and his style of play and he turned things around and now has his team playing some decent football, should Maloney dump his style of play already and just start lumping the ball up Doidge, all the pro licence coaches on here who know better know nothing about coaching a football team, give the manager time, we have lost our best player in the January window who wanted away, a defender who picks up red cards like they are going out of fashion which means he misses out on games and disrupts the team and came in today and was f***ing woeful, keep saying it but things won’t happen overnight it will take time but the knifes have been sharpened and they are out now to stab Maloney, f***ing joke.

Agree with all of that.

29-01-2022, 07:04 PM
You have to wonder who has been handing out these extended contracts to some of the players, we need a clear out but some will know they won’t get better than this and they will just go through the motions, we defo need a new striker and playmaker midfielder but these are hard to come by in this window.

Too much sentiment at the club and not enough zeal to succeed SH - fans fall into that 'romance' - but top sport and success is lethal and has to be cut-throat.

I was questioned by a poster about a player's injury - I know for a fact (and you will better than me) that the likes of Derek and Garry played whilst carrying knocks and niggles - they were true competitors - I'm not convinced we've rid ourselves of players who just don't fancy it. I think we have 4 or 5 in the squad who play on injuries.

29-01-2022, 07:05 PM
If things don’t improve he’ll get nowhere near as long as you’re suggesting, if we lose on Tuesday the knives will be out big time. I think he deserves to get until the end of this season at least, but if there’s not a dramatic improvement fans will turn on him in the same way they turned on Ross. We let our best player leave and all I read was how good a deal it was for us, it wasn’t as we’ve not won a game in 90 minutes and haven’t looked like doing so since he left.

The knifes were being sharpened after the Well game, they are well and truly sharpened and stabbing Maloney in the back tonight, take Boyle out of Jack Ross team and we would be battling down at the bottom, big mistake to let him go this window but that wasn’t down to Maloney, SM wanted to keep him at Hibs, think that was why SM was so pissed of with JR.

We need to give him time, Ron is not going to sack him/get rid of him, it’s only the joiners plumbers accountants etc etc that know better who are basically calling for his head already, f***ing madness so it is, it was quite clear before he had even got his 1st game as a manager under his belt that folk were getting stuck in to him with the snidey comments and didn’t rate him, “bring back Ross was the cry” deary f***ing me.

29-01-2022, 07:08 PM

He did hit the ground running, but folk like you were never going to give him a chance, he won’t be going anywhere so get behind him and stop your moaning Pep.

29-01-2022, 07:09 PM
For the same reasons that got Ross the sack. We were a one man team and had no midfield. That is still the case but we’ve lost the player that papered over the many cracks we see now.

29-01-2022, 07:11 PM

Can’t argue with any of that.

29-01-2022, 07:11 PM

29-01-2022, 07:13 PM

Agree with this.

29-01-2022, 07:14 PM

All in your opinion, others see it differently, Hanlon costs us goal nowadays with his slow movement, McGinn is not good enough for Hibs, you should see these things Pep.

hibeerealist
29-01-2022, 07:14 PM

If you have read the post you should know

Skol
29-01-2022, 07:15 PM
I really want maloney to succeed. But I am genuinely concerned.

I accept we are missing boyle and have had some injuries and suspensions. However we are clearly struggling right now and look a poorer side. Gray had a better performance out of the team at hampden.

We don’t seem to have the players who are capable of doing what is asked of them. We don’t look like scoring. We look like conceding.

Tuesday is now huge

29-01-2022, 07:16 PM
Nothing I have said contradicts any of that although I do think an on form, consistent JDH would be decent

So JDH gets time but Maloney doesn’t. :aok:

xyz23jc
29-01-2022, 07:17 PM
Agree with this.

Add PATRIARCHAL to the mix!

29-01-2022, 07:21 PM
No, but that pish today has not helped his cause, we lost a game at home to Livingston who were 4th bottom before today. They're only 4 points behind us now. We play Hearts at home then St Mirren at home which are must wins if we are to keep in touch with the top 4. We then go away to Rangers on the 9th of Feb and then up to Arbroath in th cup who will most definitely smell an upset given our terrible form. Look at the 2nd goal we conceded. We cant defend even defend a mildly threatening long throw into our box. Shocking stuff. Maloney has his work cut out thats for sure.

Top of the table Rangers drew to 3rd bottom Ross County today, it’s a funny old game so it is, the stabbing in the back of Maloney already is a new low for Hibs fans tonight.

29-01-2022, 07:23 PM
All in your opinion, others see it differently, Hanlon costs us goal nowadays with his slow movement, McGinn is not good enough for Hibs, you should see these things Pep.

Yet they both played every week in a 3rd placed team with an excellent defensive record last year, with Scotland caps off the back of them - in the best Scotland team in a quarter century.

It's as if everyone with coaching badges- not from a box of cornflakes - disagrees with you.

29-01-2022, 07:23 PM

So you give Maloney one more game but give Ross a few seasons. Deary me.

Hibiza
29-01-2022, 07:27 PM
James Scott or Jason ?