View Full Version : Vaccine Passports for Easter Road

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7

AugustaHibs
14-09-2021, 03:17 PM
Anyone vaccinated in England who plans to come up to Easter road after October 1st will currently not be able to, as the passport only includes people vaccinated in Scotland

14-09-2021, 03:34 PM
Anyone vaccinated in England who plans to come up to Easter road after October 1st will currently not be able to, as the passport only includes people vaccinated in Scotland

Because the UK government decided not to use them.

So much for the 4 Nations covid passports!!

AugustaHibs
14-09-2021, 03:35 PM
Because the UK government decided not to use them.

So you believe this is a U.K. government issue?

14-09-2021, 03:40 PM

My vaccine passport has the NHS logo for all 4 home nations. One decides this week not to go ahead then the residents of that nation no longer have covid passports.

AugustaHibs
14-09-2021, 03:43 PM
My vaccine passport has the NHS logo for all 4 home nations. One decides this week not to go ahead then the residents of that nation no longer have covid passports.

Absolutely ridiculous excluding people from other countries due to where they got vaccinated.

There were health boards in Scotland who were advising people to cross the border to get vaccinated.

It’s a ridiculous decision from scot gov but with the way they are acting regarding the Union I can’t say I’m surprised.

(Coming from someone who is a ‘Yes’ voter)

AugustaHibs
14-09-2021, 03:47 PM
LES RUGGIERO - I’m a gimp and have low self-esteem

👍🏻

14-09-2021, 03:48 PM
Can we keep this one for a while? Please?

14-09-2021, 03:48 PM

Bit disappointed as I like to make at least one game a month at home and coming up for the first time next week for St Johnstone but I understand this announcement.

Can I ask where you seen this news please?

14-09-2021, 04:01 PM
LES RUGGIERO I wish i could be a Hibee

Quickest ever in and booted, not even clever enough to at least try to wind us up subtly, bang! in your face and oot you go, eejit.

14-09-2021, 04:05 PM
the Gorgie Gimp will be touching himself reading this

straight after putting his clearasil on

14-09-2021, 04:08 PM
Aw, we could have hung on to him for a wee while 😂

14-09-2021, 04:10 PM

The UK Government is making a complete shop front of this - vaccines minister said the other day passports were in, then Javid said they were out, Boris agreed..........and today Boris the Buffoon said that "something may happen later in the Autumn" and "we wont rule anything out".

They simply cant make a decision that they think might annoy their support...........until everything down there goes breasts skywards again and they will almost certainly follow Scotland.

Clueless spangles.

14-09-2021, 04:28 PM
The UK Government is making a complete shop front of this - vaccines minister said the other day passports were in, then Javid said they were out, Boris agreed..........and today Boris the Buffoon said that "something may happen later in the Autumn" and "we wont rule anything out".

They simply cant make a decision that they think might annoy their support...........until everything down there goes breasts skywards again and they will almost certainly follow Scotland.

Clueless spangles.

Not any worse than the Scottish Government forcing through a covid passport vote when neither they nor the msp’s Who were voting had a clue of what they were voting for , who it would affect , or how it was going to be implemented .

14-09-2021, 04:32 PM
Get on here and you’ll have it in a couple of minutes -

https://www.nhsinform.scot/covid-19-vaccine/after-your-vaccine/get-a-record-of-your-coronavirus-covid-19-vaccination-status
I don’t have my invitation letter. The username is only provided on that and not on the certificate. It was binned after I received the letter confirming my vaccination status.

I am not too bothered as I expect a humiliating backtrack by the Scottish Government before long.

14-09-2021, 05:22 PM

There seems to be a suggestion that this will be sorted by 1st October so hopefully that will be the case.

It surely can't be difficult for people from other parts of the UK to prove their vaccination status to allow them to attend nightclubs and large events in Scotland.

14-09-2021, 05:25 PM

Anyone vaccinated in England and wishing to travel abroad has no difficulty getting a vaccine “passport”. Surely that will be sufficient to get in to ER? After all, it’s sufficient to get in to France etc..

It would be surprising if people travelling from Ireland or N Ireland have any difficulty too.

14-09-2021, 05:31 PM
Anyone vaccinated in England and wishing to travel abroad has no difficulty getting a vaccine “passport”. Surely that will be sufficient to get in to ER? After all, it’s sufficient to get in to France etc..

According to the article below as things stand just now, anyone wanting to attend Easter Road from next month won't be able to attend unless they were vaccinated in Scotland.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/explainers-55718553.amp

14-09-2021, 05:36 PM
According to the article below as things stand just now, anyone wanting to attend Easter Road from next month won't be able to attend unless they were vaccinated in Scotland.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/explainers-55718553.amp

Perhaps. Be very surprised if that’s not inaccurate by the end of the month. Not worth getting excited about right now. However, we’ll worth being annoyed about if it’s not smoothed out by the end of the month.

14-09-2021, 05:39 PM
Perhaps. Be very surprised if that’s not inaccurate by the end of the month. Not worth getting excited about right now. However, we’ll worth being annoyed about if it’s not smoothed out by the end of the month.

Agreed it definitely needs to be rectified before this goes live.

Allez Hibs
14-09-2021, 05:51 PM

Clueless spangles.

They are definitely not following Scotland. It's the other way round more like!

Stairway 2 7
14-09-2021, 06:03 PM

That's not correct they have one and can use to travel, use in Europe or any country that asks for them, use in venues that chose to need one. Scotlands app won't be able to take them or someone from say France just now, but should be updated hopefully in time

14-09-2021, 06:06 PM
They are definitely not following Scotland. It's the other way round more like!

Did England introduce vaccine passports? Are they intending to do so before 1st October?

The answer to both is no....................

14-09-2021, 07:37 PM
I don’t have my invitation letter. The username is only provided on that and not on the certificate. It was binned after I received the letter confirming my vaccination status.

I am not too bothered as I expect a humiliating backtrack by the Scottish Government before long.

That site you can recover your username if you know the date of either your first or second jag. You can then register and download your certificate.

davym7062
14-09-2021, 09:01 PM

i was the same> go on nhs inform scroll down to recover username and its simple

24-09-2021, 01:45 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-58681116

I see Scottish Gov. ditching plans to keep negative covid tests before flying to Scotland. Deciding to follow rest of U K.

Whats the chances of the the covid passports going the same way ?

24-09-2021, 02:05 PM
Did England introduce vaccine passports? Are they intending to do so before 1st October?

The answer to both is no....................

Probably because they know it wont work.

I was in Liverpool last weekend and most people I spoke to couldn't believe we still have to wear masks up here and that our Gov where still going ahead with these pointless passports.

Must admit I loved the freedom again down there and at no point did I feel the slightest bit worried about not wearing a mask in any shops, restaurants and pubs.

24-09-2021, 03:13 PM
Probably because they know it wont work.

I was in Liverpool last weekend and most people I spoke to couldn't believe we still have to wear masks up here and that our Gov where still going ahead with these pointless passports.

Must admit I loved the freedom again down there and at no point did I feel the slightest bit worried about not wearing a mask in any shops, restaurants and pubs.

Quite surprised at that. I was in Chesterfield and Windermere last weekend. Both hotels asked guests to wear masks when moving about and staff wore them all the time. Many shops seem to have a similar policy and because I thought that it would be as you describe it was surprising to see shoppers automatically putting masks on as they went in.So I did the same as them.

24-09-2021, 03:40 PM

Quite surprised at that. I was in Chesterfield and Windermere last weekend. Both hotels asked guests to wear masks when moving about and staff wore them all the time. Many shops seem to have a similar policy and because I thought that it would be as you describe it was surprising to see shoppers automatically putting masks on as they went in.So I did the same as them.

It was the same when I was in Yorkshire for a break recently. Most people wearing masks as you have described

24-09-2021, 03:42 PM

Its only advisory in England at the moment.

They do, of course, retain the mandating of masks and vaccination passports in their back pocket in case their current advice and the schools going back have an impact on numbers (as they have up here).

Numptie
24-09-2021, 05:53 PM
You can get vaccine status 'passports' in England, Wales and Scotland. In England any business or venue can put in place a scheme to ask for your vaccine status - just that not many do this. Also, news that UK is likely to join the EU covid vaccine database - which might mean that Scotland catches up and has a vaccine status app.

24-09-2021, 05:57 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-58681116

I see Scottish Gov. ditching plans to keep negative covid tests before flying to Scotland. Deciding to follow rest of U K.

Whats the chances of the the covid passports going the same way ?

Invite the virus in and rely on the vaccine seems to be the policy. If that is the case then have the courage to make vaccination mandatory

Stairway 2 7
24-09-2021, 06:03 PM
Invite the virus in and rely on the vaccine seems to be the policy. If that is the case then have the courage to make vaccination mandatory

A link for you I put on the covid thread

https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2021/09/the-vaccinated-arent-just-as-likely-to-spread-covid/620161/

No, Vaccinated People Are Not ‘Just as Likely’ to Spread the Coronavirus as Unvaccinated People

SON OF PADDY
24-09-2021, 06:30 PM
Just back from York today !
Everyone wearing masks in shops,Pubs and all public transport.
Went to the theatre and had to show our vacation passport prior to entry!
And seen no one complaining.

25-09-2021, 01:22 AM
Everyone in pubs wearing masks?

How the hell would they be able to drink anything?

It’s all bloody tokenism.

We went for a meal in Bruntsfield tonight. We both had masks on for five paces going into the cafe and similarly for our exit. The rest of the time we did not wear masks. I am sure that people were really protected by us wearing masks for the 30 seconds rather than the 89 minutes 39 seconds that we did not have masks on.

King Cosell
25-09-2021, 01:49 AM

Codswallop

25-09-2021, 09:07 AM
Codswallop

If the poster was in York and has related what he saw, how is it codswallop?

25-09-2021, 09:15 AM

🤣

25-09-2021, 09:17 AM

We went for a meal in Bruntsfield tonight. We both had masks on for five paces going into the cafe and similarly for our exit. The rest of the time we did not wear masks. I am sure that people were really protected by us wearing masks for the 30 seconds rather than the 89 minutes 39 seconds that we did not have masks on.I both see your point and admire your precision.

SON OF PADDY
25-09-2021, 09:33 AM

We went for a meal in Bruntsfield tonight. We both had masks on for five paces going into the cafe and similarly for our exit. The rest of the time we did not wear masks. I am sure that people were really protected by us wearing masks for the 30 seconds rather than the 89 minutes 39 seconds that we did not have masks on.

Masks are removed only when you are seated,anytime you get up from your table the mask goes on !
I would have thought that was obvious?

SON OF PADDY
25-09-2021, 09:40 AM
If the poster was in York and has related what he saw, how is it codswallop?

Thanks CockneyRebel,some folks a just lost in their own little world and don't want to know the facts.

25-09-2021, 09:56 AM
Thanks CockneyRebel,some folks a just lost in their own little world and don't want to know the facts.For what it's worth, what you described is exactly what's been happening here in France for 2 months now.

25-09-2021, 10:23 AM
Masks are removed only when you are seated,anytime you get up from your table the mask goes on !
I would have thought that was obvious?

I was in the Roseburn Bar on Wednesday.

Customers had masks when they entered and took them off when seated.

Nobody I saw put masks on to go up to go up to the bar to get served , whilst standing beside unmasked people standing drinking at the bar.

Some wore masks to go to the toilets and nobody I saw put masks back on at leaving time.

I think the mask regime is slowly fading in bars at least.

25-09-2021, 10:48 AM
I was down in Newcastle last month. I would say around 50% were wearing masks in supermarkets etc. It felt really liberating having the choice. I decided to wear one as I had it there so it really wasn't an issue.

25-09-2021, 11:01 AM

Nobody I saw put masks on to go up to go up to the bar to get served , whilst standing beside unmasked people standing drinking at the bar.

Some wore masks to go to the toilets and nobody I saw put masks back on at leaving time.

I went to The Guildford pub after the match v St Mirren and at the door was a sign to wait for a table. My pal and I had our masks on and could see a few tables being cleaned down so we waited. Employee came up and gave us the skinny. Masks worn to the table then off. Masks worn to the bar and back to table. Masks worn to the loo and back to table. Masks worn to exit premises. Small price to pay to sit in the first pub since lockdown. Good crowd and ample space between tables. No standing at the bar unless being served.

NB. Great pub for real ale enthusiasts - lots of choice and plenty of guest beers.

25-09-2021, 11:11 AM

It is the responsibility of the pub or restaurant to set the rules. It is the responsibility of the patrons to then follow those rules.

If the mask regime is fading like you say then it is only because the rule breakers are not being arrested, locked up and flogged regularly :greengrin

SON OF PADDY
25-09-2021, 12:03 PM
For what it's worth, what you described is exactly what's been happening here in France for 2 months now.

That's good to hear, of course some folks won't believe it !

Brummie_Hibs
25-09-2021, 12:09 PM
Nobody, apart from a small minority who wear them in supermarkets, where I live in Hertfordshire.

Pretty much the same in London.

I was also in Liverpool a couple of weeks ago, and also no masks to be seen.

Was in Glasgow the week before Liverpool, and it was like going back a year ago. Draconian.

SON OF PADDY
25-09-2021, 12:24 PM

Thanks for the heads up 👍
that's another pub to put on the give it a miss list.😏

25-09-2021, 12:42 PM
Nobody, apart from a small minority who wear them in supermarkets, where I live in Hertfordshire.

Was in Glasgow the week before Liverpool, and it was like going back a year ago. Draconian.

Aye, we're just going round in circles up here and achieving hee-haw!

25-09-2021, 12:45 PM

My mate and his wife are in York right now.

Just sent me a message saying how liberating it is and that hardly anybody is wearing masks :greengrin

25-09-2021, 12:50 PM
Fools and their masks are easily parted.

25-09-2021, 12:50 PM
Maybe the OP can bin this thread as it's so far off track it should really be in the other forum.........

25-09-2021, 12:52 PM
Fools and their masks are easily parted.

When I was in Liverpool last weekend most Scousers seemed to have ditched them right enough :greengrin

25-09-2021, 12:56 PM
When I was in Liverpool last weekend most Scousers seemed to have ditched them right enough :greengrin

Thankfully I don’t live there!

25-09-2021, 01:02 PM

well i for one have more respect for them

i'm also pleased that the big majority i see whenever in Livingston shopping centre also respect these 'Draconian' measures

Covid-19 doesn't support these 'Draconian' measures though

Brummie_Hibs
25-09-2021, 01:21 PM
well i for one have more respect for them

i'm also pleased that the big majority i see whenever in Livingston shopping centre also respect these 'Draconian' measures

Covid-19 doesn't support these 'Draconian' measures though
If masks were so effective then I'd expect to see a huge disparity in figures between England and Scotland - but there isn't. If anything Scotland has worse figures per capita.

I think most of Scotland must be wearing these things round their eyes rather than their mooths.

27-09-2021, 02:22 PM
The Rangers just announced that their fans will need to take proof of vaccine from this Sunday.

Exemptions are in place for those under 18, people who are not able to receive the vaccine for medical reason, those who are Participants in vaccine trial and workers or volunteers at the venue or event.

27-09-2021, 02:33 PM
The Rangers just announced that their fans will need to take proof of vaccine from this Sunday.

Exemptions are in place for those under 18, people who are not able to receive the vaccine for medical reason, those who are Participants in vaccine trial and workers or volunteers at the venue or event.

So someone behind the kiosks doesn’t have to show it to distribute food to several hundred people but a supporter can walk in and have no interaction with anyone but needs to show proof of vaccination.

Doesn’t make much sense like many of the covid rules / guidelines.

Also several weeks too late.

27-09-2021, 02:36 PM
So someone behind the kiosks doesn’t have to show it to distribute food to several hundred people but a supporter can walk in and have no interaction with anyone but needs to show proof of vaccination.

Still think they will be binned completely in the next few weeks.

27-09-2021, 02:41 PM

The law changes from Friday, although in reality there's very little chance of anyone who is unvaccinated being denied entry.

I posted yesterday on the Covid-19 thread that I was in hospitality at Easter Road yesterday and one of the requirements was to do a lateral flow test but no-one even checked it on arrival. Someone actually asked the person greeting us if he wanted to see his test result and he was told no.

If there's no checks being done on (at most) a couple of hundred people in hospitality, I don't hold out much hope that there will be many checks being done on thousands of people arriving at turnstiles apart from a token few so clubs can say they're ticking a few boxes.

27-09-2021, 03:16 PM

Can’t make being vaccinated a condition of employment.

Human rights, medical privacy and all that.

27-09-2021, 03:19 PM
The law changes from Friday, although in reality there's very little chance of anyone who is unvaccinated being denied entry.

I posted yesterday on the Covid-19 thread that I was in hospitality at Easter Road yesterday and one of the requirements was to do a lateral flow test but no-one even checked it on arrival. Someone actually asked the person greeting us if he wanted to see his test result and he was told no.

If there's no checks being done on (at most) a couple of hundred people in hospitality, I don't hold out much hope that there will be many checks being done on thousands of people arriving at turnstiles apart from a token few so clubs can say they're ticking a few boxes.

Going by the Rangers statement - it doesn’t seem like they are expecting anyone who say they are exempt to have to prove anything - so in reality it’s the mask situation all over again. Therefore it’s completely pointless.

27-09-2021, 03:20 PM

They have here in France - either that or you have to get tested every 3 days which, starting in a couple of weeks time, will cost from 20-45€ each.

27-09-2021, 03:21 PM
Was in a few bars up town on Saturday. About 90% of people never bothered putting them on after initially walking in the door. Bar staff weren't really fussed at all.

27-09-2021, 03:21 PM

Whilst it may not be a mandatory condition of employment, for those with existing jobs, there are companies introducing vaccination status into their recruitment, certainly in social care work.

27-09-2021, 03:39 PM

Going by the Rangers statement - it doesn’t seem like they are expecting anyone who say they are exempt to have to prove anything - so in reality it’s the mask situation all over again. Therefore it’s completely pointless.In a way hasn't it worked?

As you thought you might get checked you did the needful and got a test, a boy at my work did it and was positive so let someone else go instead.

27-09-2021, 03:41 PM
I was in Bexleyheath London a couple of weeks ago, very few masks in pubs/shops/restaurants. Then we went to Colchester and it was the same, the wedding we went to had none at all that i remember, over 120 people.

And in Blackpool i've been out most weekends since lockdown was scrapped, and nobody is wearing masks apart from the odd idiot who has it draped over their chin.

27-09-2021, 03:47 PM
They have here in France - either that or you have to get tested every 3 days which, starting in a couple of weeks time, will cost from 20-45€ each.

Expect to see the yellow vests on the streets again and a queue at the human rights court in Strasbourg.

27-09-2021, 03:49 PM
In a way hasn't it worked?

As you thought you might get checked you did the needful and got a test, a boy at my work did it and was positive so let someone else go instead.

It did in SDGs case.

I can’t imagine the threat of spot checks scaring off many folk without a vaccine passport though. They’ll know they’re very highly unlikely to get checked.

27-09-2021, 04:00 PM
In a way hasn't it worked?

It worked on this occasion, however word will soon get out that your test result won't be checked. I just think it's unprofessional to put that in as a requirement but then don't bother to check anyone on their way in.

The vaccine passport rule will end up being largely a waste of time.

27% of males in their 30s are not fully vaccinated and 40% of males aged 18-29 are not fully vaccinated.

Males aged 18-39 will make up a fair chunk of a football attendance so it will be interesting to see if they are targetted.

27-09-2021, 04:01 PM
It worked on this occasion, however word will soon get out that your test result won't be checked. I just think it's unprofessional to put that in as a requirement but then don't bother to check anyone on their way in.

27% of males in their 30s are not fully vaccinated and 40% of males aged 18-29 are not fully vaccinated.

Males aged 18-39 will make up a fair chunk of a football attendance so it will be interesting to see if they are targetted.

If they’re going to do spot checks then you’re as well almost exclusively focusing on these age groups.

27-09-2021, 04:03 PM

Males aged 18-39 will make up a fair chunk of a football attendance so it will be interesting to see if they are targetted.Yeah, you'd think they would do a few, even just for appearances sake......

27-09-2021, 04:08 PM
i was the same> go on nhs inform scroll down to recover username and its simple
I managed to find my username from an invitation for an NHS flu jab.

I tried to access the site using that name to rearrange my flu jab and it claimed that the username had not been recognised and that I should try again. I did so and got the same result. I went back in a third time and it still couldn't find my username. I am now frozen out of the online system. There is a number to ring but others have complained that it is next to impossible to get through. In my case, I got a recorded message from a call centre in India ask for me to give information and they would get back to me. As the appointment is at 08:15 tomorrow in the depths of Ingliston, I didn't bother to reply.

27-09-2021, 04:38 PM
If they’re going to do spot checks then you’re as well almost exclusively focusing on these age groups.

Would that be legal. I get the reasoning but it is similar to the argument as to why black males are constantly targeted for stop and search.

Even if you did target those groups the majority are already vaccinated anyway. If they have made their mind up not to get vaccinated they may well just take their chances at the next home game if refused this time. If it is anything like spot checks at away grounds just arrive late, in a group, where the stewards are already under pressure and they tend not to bother with checks. Most likely it will be all the 50 plus year olds who are double vaxed and arrive early to avoid crowds that are checked to get the quota up if they even bother.

27-09-2021, 04:40 PM

Then all they need to do (based on Rangers statement) is say they are exempt and they are in. Or borrow their pals and again, they are in.

27-09-2021, 05:05 PM

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-53511877

according to the latest Scottish data it shows near 80% of 18-29 are vaccinated.

I know that includes both males and females, but I think, or at least hope the vaccinated numbers are a bit higher than your figures.

Oops, I was looking at first jab stats. Hopefully , if the people in question have got the first jab, they’ll get the second one too.

27-09-2021, 05:10 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-53511877

according to the latest Scottish data it shows near 80% of 18-29 are vaccinated.

I know that includes both males and females, but I think, or at least hope the vaccinated numbers are a bit higher than your figures.

You're looking at those with one dose, that's not enough to get into Easter Road from next week. You need to have had both doses. The figures I referred to are from Public Health Scotland so are definitely correct and can also be seen in the second table under the vaccine section of the link you have provided.

27-09-2021, 05:12 PM
Expect to see the yellow vests on the streets again and a queue at the human rights court in Strasbourg.It's bound to kick off at some point.

27-09-2021, 05:13 PM
You're looking at those with one dose, that's not enough to get into Easter Road from next week. You need to have had both doses. The figures I referred to are from Public Health Scotland so are definitely correct and can also be seen in the second table under the vaccine section of the link you have provided.

Yep, I’ve corrected my post , but added I would hope those who have had the first dose won’t hesitate to get their second when offered.

27-09-2021, 05:40 PM
Yep, I’ve corrected my post , but added I would hope those who have had the first dose won’t hesitate to get their second when offered.

Ah yes sorry see that now.

Hopefully that is what happens.

27-09-2021, 05:56 PM
So judging by The Rangers statement the following scenario will now happen...

Steward "Can I see your Covid vaccine please?"

Bevvied Ned "I'm exempt mate"

Steward "OK sir in you go.."

27-09-2021, 05:57 PM
Really hope this can get sorted asap for us long distance Hibees.

Waited about a year and a half to get back to Easter Road yesterday and can't wait to get back.

But definitely wouldn't risk paying money for travel and hotel to get turned away at the turnstiles.

27-09-2021, 06:05 PM

Waited about a year and a half to get back to Easter Road yesterday and can't wait to get back.

But definitely wouldn't risk paying money for travel and hotel to get turned away at the turnstiles.

Why would you get turned away if you have proof you have been vaccinated

27-09-2021, 06:06 PM

Where are you based?

If you're elsewhere in the UK we were told a few weeks ago that arrangements would be put in place by the time law comes into effect to accept the vaccination status of people coming from other parts of the UK.

27-09-2021, 06:11 PM
No-one has clarified how all these checks will be carried out?

Are there going to be sufficient 'medically literate' staff to carry out the inspections?

How will they deal with those who claim to be exempt?

How will they deal with those who clain to be too young?

What sort of queues will be expected to build up five to ten minutes before kick off?

How many police will be required to deal with 'arkward customers', and who will pay for them?

I suspect that none of the above will apply and there will be a few random checks. This will be mostly focussing on the 25 to 35 year age range, Those looking younger will be waved through as they will not want to ask for proof of age. Equally those older will be assumed to have had two jabs.

27-09-2021, 06:14 PM
Not sure how to quote more than once but I was under the assumption that you had to be double jabbed in Scotland??

I'm double jabbed in England.

27-09-2021, 06:17 PM
Not sure how to quote more than once but I was under the assumption that you had to be double jabbed in Scotland??

I'm double jabbed in England.

Nicola Sturgeon gave an assurance in parliament a few weeks ago that people who were vaccinated elsewhere in the UK would not be prevented from accessing venues where a vaccine passport is required.

27-09-2021, 06:18 PM

Are there going to be sufficient 'medically literate' staff to carry out the inspections?

What sort of queues will be expected to build up five to ten minutes before kick off?

How many police will be required to deal with 'arkward customers', and who will pay for them?

I suspect that none of the above will apply and there will be a few random checks. This will be mostly focussing on the 25 to 35 year age range, Those looking younger will be waved through as they will not want to ask for proof of age. Equally those older will be assumed to have had two jabs.

I think that's exactly how it will "work".

27-09-2021, 06:20 PM
Nicola Sturgeon gave an assurance in parliament a few weeks ago that people who were vaccinated elsewhere in the UK would not be prevented from accessing venues where a vaccine passport is required.

Never seen that but that's good news. Going to be interesting times ahead as to how this will effect crowds.

28-09-2021, 09:10 AM
Never seen that but that's good news. Going to be interesting times ahead as to how this will effect crowds.

The crowds are down at the moment compared to previous seasons are they not?

Sure I read somewhere that there was between 1-2k less than usual.

Don't quote me on that though. Attendances is not really something I really pay much attention to.

28-09-2021, 09:23 AM

I don't think it will affect crowd numbers at all to be honest. I'd be interested to put in a request in a few months' time to find out how many unvaccinated people have been refused entry.

I'd be surprised if it's many at all.

28-09-2021, 09:26 AM

I fully expect loads of the younger ones not vaccinated pitching up using the 'I'm exempt' badge/lanyards which are now available and stewards will not be able to do anything about it. The way the exemption terms are worded on the NHS website pretty much states that nobody can be refused entry without a Covid Passport.

So a complete waste of time and money really.

OstKurve Hibs
28-09-2021, 09:49 AM
I fully expect loads of the younger ones not vaccinated pitching up using the 'I'm exempt' badge/lanyards which are now available and stewards will not be able to do anything about it. The way the exemption terms are worded on the NHS website pretty much states that nobody can be refused

How do you go a put gettin an exemption cert ?

Rumble de Thump
28-09-2021, 10:04 AM

They're not for people who choose not to be vaccinated.

28-09-2021, 10:07 AM

Buy them on the internet

28-09-2021, 10:22 AM
I fully expect loads of the younger ones not vaccinated pitching up using the 'I'm exempt' badge/lanyards which are now available and stewards will not be able to do anything about it. The way the exemption terms are worded on the NHS website pretty much states that nobody can be refused entry without a Covid Passport.

Are those exemption lanyards not just for masks?

Do you have a link to the detail?

28-09-2021, 10:31 AM
I would have thought you'd need proof of a medical exemption, lanyards are for not wearing masks, different thing.

28-09-2021, 10:36 AM
Are those exemption lanyards not just for masks?

Do you have a link to the detail?

No. There is now one for the passport exemption.

As I have said further up the thread. According to the NHS website you can't actually be denied access to any premises not having one.

All very strange and rather shambolic if you ask me :confused:

28-09-2021, 10:45 AM
The Scottish Government estimates that around 4,500 people in Scotland are unable to get vaccinated for medical reasons.

It's going to be interesting to see what the response is if all of these people happen to turn up at Easter Road from next month!

28-09-2021, 11:11 AM
No. There is now one for the passport exemption.

As I have said further up the thread. According to the NHS website you can't actually be denied access to any premises not having one.

All very strange and rather shambolic if you ask me :confused:

Got the link for that?

28-09-2021, 12:40 PM
Buy them on the internet

Yep it’s that easy

28-09-2021, 01:20 PM
BBC Scotland reporting that there will be a grace period before enforcement action takes effect for non-compliance with the passport laws.

They have heard enforcement won't begin until 18th October.

28-09-2021, 01:39 PM
BBC Scotland reporting that there will be a grace period before enforcement action takes effect for non-compliance with the passport laws.

They have heard enforcement won't begin until 18th October.

Confirmed by Sturgeon in parliament.

28-09-2021, 01:48 PM
Confirmed by Sturgeon in parliament.

Does that mean there will be no checks at matches or that fans will still need to download info to their phone and show?

huggie1875
28-09-2021, 01:50 PM
got mine done today online took 2m

28-09-2021, 01:52 PM
Does that mean there will be no checks at matches or that fans will still need to download info to their phone and show?

It will become law from Friday but if businesses choose not to adhere to the law they won't face any action until 18th October.

28-09-2021, 03:16 PM
I think its amusing that we hear about - apparently lots of - people who are desperately trying to download fake certificates for something, when actually getting the real one is incredibly simple, as is getting vaccinated in the first place.

I suspect that the real numbers of people in this category are tiny, basically because most people have worked out that its best to just GIFD and stop moaning.

Mr Grieves
28-09-2021, 03:41 PM

It looks like you need to prove your exempt if you've not got proof that your vaccinated.

https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-vaccine-certification-scheme-businesses-event-organisers/pages/vaccine-status-checks/

Dealing with exemptions
Some people do not need to show proof of vaccination to be permitted on the premises (also known as ‘exempt’), including:

people who are under 18
people who cannot be vaccinated for medical reasons
people taking part (or have taken part) in a vaccine trial
employees and volunteers working at the venue or event
Emergency services responders and relevant regulators in the course of their functions

You can accept the following evidence to confirm that someone is exempt from the scheme:

proof of age
a medical exemption certificate
an exemption certificate showing the person was/is part of a clinical trial
evidence of employment at the venue or event
Businesses and event organisers should not refuse entry to those who are exempt provided the individual can provide acceptable evidence,

It is reasonable for businesses and event organisers to request proof of exemption as part of the vaccine certification scheme but you should not request any further information about the clinical reason behind the exemption.

28-09-2021, 03:51 PM
Spoke to a young cabbie today on the rank, I asked him if he's been jabbed yet, NO WAY he said, doesn't want an untried vaccine in his body. I said I bet you're happy your mum decided to get the untried MMR for you as a kid, he said nothing. He's a total conspiracy theorist from moon landing to JFK, believes it's more harmful to take it, fairly clever lad but believes everything he reads. The problem with the internet world, too much nonsense filling folks heads with it.

Brummie_Hibs
28-09-2021, 04:02 PM
fairly clever lad but believes everything he reads. The problem with the internet world, too much nonsense filling folks heads with it.
Ironic

28-09-2021, 05:27 PM
It will become law from Friday but if businesses choose not to adhere to the law they won't face any action until 18th October.

Ok thanks

28-09-2021, 09:37 PM
The Gov have shat it because the Night Time Industries Association have filled legal action against them.

The Scottish Human Rights Commission have also warned it could discriminate against the deprived and people from minority ethnic groups.

There is also momentum gathering pace on Twitter/facebook of demonstrations getting organised outside Parliament over the next few weeks.

28-09-2021, 09:56 PM
The Gov have shat it because the Night Time Industries Association have filled legal action against them.

The Scottish Human Rights Commission have also warned it could discriminate against the deprived and people from minority ethnic groups.

There is also momentum gathering pace on Twitter/facebook of demonstrations getting organised outside Parliament over the next few weeks.

A Facebook campaign, yes I imagine they are scared stiff......

Managed to find that link to the "NHS exemption lanyards" story you mentioned earlier?

28-09-2021, 11:29 PM
I went for my Flu Vaccination at Ingliston this morning. I missed out on getting a third COVID jab by two weeks. This was based on the time since my second vaccination. I will probably face the trek out there again in the next month.

The IT system seemed to be in melt-down with the staff complaining that things were not working properly.

29-09-2021, 06:08 AM
I’m up from England at the end of October and am liking to go to the Celtic game at ER. I assume I’ll need a vaccine passport then? Apologies for daft question

29-09-2021, 06:54 AM
A Facebook campaign, yes I imagine they are scared stiff......

Managed to find that link to the "NHS exemption lanyards" story you mentioned earlier?

Yes I did find them thanks.

29-09-2021, 06:55 AM
I’m up from England at the end of October and am liking to go to the Celtic game at ER. I assume I’ll need a vaccine passport then? Apologies for daft question

Yes you'll need to be able to prove that you're fully vaccinated to be able to gain entry into the game if you're asked by a steward.

In reality it's unlikely that you will be asked but it will be law by then.

29-09-2021, 07:06 AM
Yes I did find them thanks.

Its an interesting development, perhaps you can post a link?

29-09-2021, 07:14 AM
Its an interesting development, perhaps you can post a link?

Google it like I did.

29-09-2021, 07:23 AM
Google it like I did.

I did, and couldnt find it hence asking you as you mentioned it...........

29-09-2021, 08:57 AM

I’m sorry how does it discriminate poor and minority ethnic people?

If you don’t have a phone (who doesn’t) then the NHS will post one out to you.

There’s plenty of ways that the NHS offer reasonable adjustments like translators, etc.

Not knowing the law is no excuse.

If they choose not to get vaccinated then that really is their choice and they have also chosen not to go to large venues and football matches.

29-09-2021, 09:04 AM

There’s plenty of ways that the NHS offer reasonable adjustments like translators, etc.

If they choose not to get vaccinated then that really is their choice and they have also chosen not to go to large venues and football matches.

I think the suggestion is that people from ethnic minorities are less likely to be vaccinated due to vaccine hesitancy, therefore the law will be disproportionately affecting people from such backgrounds.

Agree that is not discrimination, the vaccine is available to everyone that the law applies to and it's up to each person to make their own decision. If you choose not to be vaccinated then you need to live with the consequences of that decision.

29-09-2021, 09:50 AM

No idea. I was only pointing this out.

Maybe you should ask the Scottish Human Rights Commission who voiced their concerns to the Scot Gov over this.

30-09-2021, 06:53 PM
If Sturgeon does not back down on this it could do for her what the poll tax did for Thatcher.

The NHS Scotland COVID site is as flaky as the Norwich City defence.

I get an error message to the effect:

'Something went wrong. We're working on it.

Please try again or contact our support team.'

How do you contact the support team?

From what I read in the press, there will be thousands in the same category.

30-09-2021, 06:57 PM
If Sturgeon does not back down on this it could do for her what the poll tax did for Thatcher.

The NHS Scotland COVID site is as flaky as the Norwich City defence.

I get an error message to the effect:

'Something went wrong. We're working on it.

Please try again or contact our support team.'

How do you contact the support team?

From what I read in the press, there will be thousands in the same category.

You’re not only one having issues with it.

This needs to get in the ****ing bin. Shambles already.

30-09-2021, 07:09 PM
Same here can't sign in

30-09-2021, 07:10 PM
I can't be the only one who has managed to get the digital covid status.

30-09-2021, 07:11 PM
Same here can't sign in

Have you tried creating a new account.

30-09-2021, 07:50 PM
Another epic fail from our inept government. Twitter is an absolute hoot tonight 😂😂

30-09-2021, 07:59 PM
I can't be the only one who has managed to get the digital covid status.

I’m flying tonight and it doesn’t work. To be honest I didn’t expect it would.

30-09-2021, 08:18 PM
You’re not only one having issues with it.

This needs to get in the ****ing bin. Shambles already.

Or people need to give their computer to their 8 year old who will manage to deal with this just fine 🤣

.Louise.
30-09-2021, 08:19 PM
Mine works fine [emoji2370]

Got through whole process in one go.

30-09-2021, 08:23 PM
Colleague’s 30th night out tomorrow, I personally wouldn’t have went clubbing as was getting the train home but the what’s app chat is saying her night is now cancelled to be rearranged. Poor lassie.

30-09-2021, 08:29 PM
Mine works fine [emoji2370]

Got through whole process in one go.

Did you do the driving license I D?

May21/05/216
30-09-2021, 08:30 PM
I have the pdf paper vaccine status but when I try and login in the new app thing it doesn't recognise my login details absolute shambles

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

30-09-2021, 08:35 PM
Have you tried creating a new account.

How the hell can you create a new account when the vaccination record will be associated with the existing account?

I misread your username as Moulin Yams first time. Maybe I was right?

Stairway 2 7
30-09-2021, 08:40 PM
The sun and record reporting that the majority are having problems. Hopefully ironed out soon

30-09-2021, 09:08 PM
I have the pdf paper vaccine status but when I try and login in the new app thing it doesn't recognise my login details absolute shambles

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

It's a different thing, nobody will just login, you have to create a new account, photos id and password.

30-09-2021, 09:10 PM
Do you need to use the new app or is the QR code I have saved to my phone acceptable?

Jay
30-09-2021, 09:19 PM
It's a different thing, nobody will just login, you have to create a new account, photos id and password.

Tried that. Created an account, photographed my id, scanned my coupon, put my chi number and address in, told them my gender, agreed with their terms and told them they had my details right then it said I wasn't recognised .

30-09-2021, 09:25 PM
It’s the worst of the worst. Terrible user experience, no interface with previous vaccine status NHS app, ID is a lottery for it to work and the cherry on top is not recognizing details. Going by social media a high percentage of people are having the same problem.

So (for upcoming holidays) I went into original vaccine app http://vacs.nhs.scot/ and now it won’t show a pdf version or even post a paper version.

Embarrassing doesn’t come close.

30-09-2021, 09:44 PM
So after getting an error before even getting started earlier, I can now get to the point of proving myself. Took a few attempts to get past the selfie screen, now they don’t recognise my name/dob/post code/gender. Gave up now. A proper shambles!

30-09-2021, 09:56 PM
Worked perfectly fine for me earlier this evening. Now an easy sign in with Face ID so access in no time, straight to a page that shows your 2 vaccines and dates you got them. Click on each one to get the QR codes

Going by what’s been said on here, on Twitter etc it looks as if I’ve been one of the lucky ones so far!!

30-09-2021, 10:10 PM
Worked perfectly fine for me earlier this evening. Now an easy sign in with Face ID so access in no time, straight to a page that shows your 2 vaccines and dates you got them. Click on each one to get the QR codes

Going by what’s been said on here, on Twitter etc it looks as if I’ve been one of the lucky ones so far!!

I've just got the furthest I've ever got and it's now telling me there's no match with my name, address, postcode and date of birth.

I'm fairly certain all of these details are correct!

30-09-2021, 10:22 PM
I've just got the furthest I've ever got and it's now telling me there's no match with my name, address, postcode and date of birth.

I'm fairly certain all of these details are correct!

That seems to be the most common experience.

30-09-2021, 10:29 PM
Interestingly just listened to NS in parliament today state that she wants proof of vaccine and not proof of negative test to ‘drive up vaccination numbers’. Surely if this was all about the health and well-being and stopping the spread then both would suffice? Such a strange thing to come out with. Obviously not a health issue if she’s happy for potentially non-symptomatic positive cases to mingle just because they have been vaccinated.

Rocky
30-09-2021, 10:32 PM
That seems to be the most common experience.

I reckon it's just the database timing out that's causing that, it's not a very helpful message though. I expect trying at 3am would work fine...

30-09-2021, 10:32 PM
My wife just spent ages on it just to be informed she doesn't exist.

If only 😂

30-09-2021, 10:34 PM
Some clarification on whether we need to use this app or if the vaccine status I already have stored on my phone will suffice would be helpful.

30-09-2021, 10:43 PM
Some clarification on whether we need to use this app or if the vaccine status I already have stored on my phone will suffice would be helpful.

Your vaccine status PDF can still be used but will eventually be replaced by this app.

30-09-2021, 10:49 PM
Your vaccine status PDF can still be used but will eventually be replaced by this app.

Cheers. Hopefully I will be able to get it to work ‘cos my first attempt failed. And if it requires my passport to be current I’m screwed !

30-09-2021, 10:51 PM
Cheers. Hopefully I will be able to get it to work ‘cos my first attempt failed. And if it requires my passport to be current I’m screwed !

Your ID doesn't need to be in date. If your experience is anything like mine, that will be the least of your worries!

Brummie_Hibs
30-09-2021, 10:53 PM
Well done to everybody who have been able to upload their images onto the Government's facial recognition and tracking app.

30-09-2021, 10:53 PM

What happens if you have a crappy old phone that doesn’t do apps. ?

I do my techy stuff on my lap top and ain’t buying a new phone just to allowed to use my season ticket.

30-09-2021, 10:54 PM
Your ID doesn't need to be in date. If your experience is anything like mine, that will be the least of your worries!

That’s not so bad then, hopefully they will be able to sort out all the other issues people are having. Though I’m not going to hold my breath on that.

30-09-2021, 10:56 PM
Mines worked straight away, used my CHI number.

If you've had a error message after inputting your details, go back after an hour or so. I've read a few accounts of it working, despite the initial error message. Could be down to sudden surge in demand.

30-09-2021, 11:39 PM
Mine now working. 🥳🥳🥳

01-10-2021, 06:38 AM

I do my techy stuff on my lap top and ain’t buying a new phone just to allowed to use my season ticket.

You have always been able to ask for a paper version to be sent to your home - that will be sufficient.

Orchard_Hibs
01-10-2021, 07:04 AM
Well done to everybody who have been able to upload their images onto the Government's facial recognition and tracking app.

The revolution will not be televised

01-10-2021, 07:05 AM

Sadly, that's the way the world's heading and it won't be a choice any more.

01-10-2021, 07:39 AM
I’ve tried for a day or two now but apparently I still don’t exist ? 🤷

01-10-2021, 07:48 AM
I’ve tried for a day or two now but apparently I still don’t exist ? 🤷

Are you trying the right app? This one only came out yesterday afternoon

01-10-2021, 07:50 AM
Are you trying the right app? This one only came out yesterday afternoon

Not to be pedantic but trying since yesterday equals a day or two ☺️

01-10-2021, 07:51 AM
It’s the worst of the worst. Terrible user experience, no interface with previous vaccine status NHS app, ID is a lottery for it to work and the cherry on top is not recognizing details. Going by social media a high percentage of people are having the same problem.

So (for upcoming holidays) I went into original vaccine app http://vacs.nhs.scot/ and now it won’t show a pdf version or even post a paper version.

Embarrassing doesn’t come close.

Did you not download the PDF to your phone? I have it saved so I have it as backup.

By all accounts the volume of people trying was the issue, my wife couldn't get it last night but had no problems this morning.

01-10-2021, 07:52 AM

That went well 😂

01-10-2021, 07:56 AM
How the hell can you create a new account when the vaccination record will be associated with the existing account?

I misread your username as Moulin Yams first time. Maybe I was right?

Thanks for the insult. 🙄

EVERYONE has to create a new account, it's a new app, it obviously links to data already held by NHS scotland on the vaccinations you have received by the CHI number.

01-10-2021, 08:01 AM

Not to be pedantic but the app only launched 15 and a half hours ago, so it hasn't even been a day! 😉

01-10-2021, 08:04 AM
I reckon it's just the database timing out that's causing that, it's not a very helpful message though. I expect trying at 3am would work fine...

I did and it failed

01-10-2021, 08:11 AM
That went well 😂

TrinityHibs
01-10-2021, 08:20 AM
Thanks for the insult. 🙄

EVERYONE has to create a new account, it's a new app, it obviously links to data already held by NHS scotland on the vaccinations you have received by the CHI number.

It obviously doesn't based on my experience and my wife's. I am sure they will get it sorted but it does highlight ineptitude but that will get sorted with yet another apology. For what its worth I see no harm in having an app on your phone showing your vaccine status but I can understand why many don't as it does smack a bit of Big Brother.

01-10-2021, 08:27 AM

No really. It's been live for 16 hours

01-10-2021, 08:30 AM
It obviously doesn't based on my experience and my wife's. I am sure they will get it sorted but it does highlight ineptitude but that will get sorted with yet another apology. For what its worth I see no harm in having an app on your phone showing your vaccine status but I can understand why many don't as it does smack a bit of Big Brother.

It obviously does otherwise how do you explain the app having the vaccination details? 🤔

01-10-2021, 10:15 AM
Thanks for the insult. 🙄

That does explain a lot - I was trying to use the info I have for getting the pdf to prove I have been doubly vaccinated. Why do we need something else when this proves you have been doubly vaccinated

It's going to be a bloody nightmare trying to get into the ground next game, I think I'll get to ER at noon for the next match

01-10-2021, 10:22 AM
T
That does explain a lot - I was trying to use the info I have for getting the pdf to prove I have been doubly vaccinated. Why do we need something else when this proves you have been doubly vaccinated

It's going to be a bloody nightmare trying to get into the ground next game, I think I'll get to ER at noon for the next match

Hearts are going to do the covid pass checking at Tynie tomorrow, as are Rangers and Aberdeen on Sunday.

Chaos or normal admissions to stadiums will worth remembering when it’s our turn.

01-10-2021, 10:39 AM

It only proves that the person named on the PDF has been.

There's no photo check, hence the whole image-uploading thing for the latest app.

01-10-2021, 10:41 AM
The revolution will not be televised

Saw Gill Scott Heron many times live he knew how to put on a show Great back story tragic waste of a talent in his later years

01-10-2021, 10:51 AM
Let’s face it the NHS Scotland COVID app is a crock of sh*te and unless there is either a complete backdown by Sturgeon or non-enforcement, there will be complete chaos.

I have wasted enough time trying to enable the bloody thing and am now ‘locked out’ after three failed attempts. I will take my paper certification along to matches. If that is not enough I will stay at home on match days.

01-10-2021, 10:55 AM

Oh no now a government agent will be able to track and watch me as I go to work/the shops/ for a ****.

01-10-2021, 10:58 AM
Oh no now a government agent will be able to track and watch me as I go to work/the shops/ for a ****.

Ken, what's to worry about, might as well get chipped now and save them the hassle.

01-10-2021, 11:03 AM
Incredible how the tinfoil brigade simultaneously think the government are making a complete erse of this, which isn't an unreasonable opinion, whilst putting the technology in place to track our every thought and deed.
Which one is it cos it can't be both.

01-10-2021, 11:06 AM
Incredible how the tinfoil brigade simultaneously think the government are making a complete erse of this, which isn't an unreasonable opinion, whilst putting the technology in place to track our every thought and deed.
Which one is it cos it can't be both.

If it is a tracking device I’m in luck as apparently I’m unrecognisable to my id and I don’t even exist according to the app.

TrinityHibs
01-10-2021, 11:10 AM
It obviously does otherwise how do you explain the app having the vaccination details? 🤔

It obviously doesn't as its not linking to my data. in fact its not doing anything. I have managed to get further but despite putting requested personal details in and the CHI number it doesn't recognise me and there is no option to raise concern. Now every time I hit the app it asks me to confirm my details and then doesn't recognise me.

01-10-2021, 11:13 AM
What I find funny is that people are surprised that the NHS covid site/server couldn't cope with millions of people trying to use it all at once (shambles, etc.).

Traffic will still be etremely high today but apparently it's working a lot better.

What do people expect?

AugustaHibs
01-10-2021, 11:14 AM
What I find funny is that people are surprised that the NHS covid site/server couldn't cope with millions of people trying to use it all at once (shambles, etc.).

Traffic will still be etremely high today but apparently it's working a lot better.

What do people expect?

Not releasing it 12 hours before the passport comes into play would be a good idea.

01-10-2021, 11:31 AM

There's no photo check, hence the whole image-uploading thing for the latest app.

You see, that's why I'll never be in charge of anything :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

01-10-2021, 11:47 AM
Let’s face it the NHS Scotland COVID app is a crock of sh*te and unless there is either a complete backdown by Sturgeon or non-enforcement, there will be complete chaos.

I have wasted enough time trying to enable the bloody thing and am now ‘locked out’ after three failed attempts. I will take my paper certification along to matches. If that is not enough I will stay at home on match days.

How were you locked out, I took more than 3 attempts to get it right and it didn't lock me out.

As for your opinion about the app, maybe it is user error or the volume of people trying to register that is the issue.

I think it works fine, gives the details required and is secure and individual which the paper one most certainly isn't.

01-10-2021, 11:50 AM
It obviously doesn't as its not linking to my data. in fact its not doing anything. I have managed to get further but despite putting requested personal details in and the CHI number it doesn't recognise me and there is no option to raise concern. Now every time I hit the app it asks me to confirm my details and then doesn't recognise me.

It obviously is, because it works perfectly well for me 😁

01-10-2021, 11:52 AM
Not releasing it 12 hours before the passport comes into play would be a good idea.

Nobody will need to use it for another 10 hours or so though.

01-10-2021, 11:58 AM

I do not seem to exist despite checking my details with my GP and getting my CHI number. I tried multiple times this morning and gave up.

01-10-2021, 12:08 PM

What do people expect?

Millions aye? Try 1000s

01-10-2021, 12:12 PM
Millions aye? Try 1000s

Maybe - probably 10 times the traffic it's designed for in any case.

01-10-2021, 12:16 PM
Maybe - probably 10 times the traffic it's designed for in any case.

To be fair, 100s trying to use it would probably still have put it into meltdown :greengrin

01-10-2021, 12:17 PM
I do not seem to exist despite checking my details with my GP and getting my CHI number. I tried multiple times this morning and gave up.

Doing the same for me.

Rocky
01-10-2021, 12:20 PM

Kill the app and go back in, you might find it worked after all despite that message. It did for me.

01-10-2021, 12:21 PM
You have always been able to ask for a paper version to be sent to your home - that will be sufficient.

I printed mine out from my laptop - it's exactly the same as what goes onto a smart phone except it's on paper.

He's here!
01-10-2021, 12:28 PM

You're far from the only one struggling with it:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-58756079

I was in favour of this when it was first mooted, but the direction of travel the virus has taken lately makes me think it's no longer essential and may simply end up causing more problems than it solves. The SG should probably just swallow their pride and scrap it.

01-10-2021, 12:36 PM

Judging by what Cropley said on post 1426, it won't be - you need the facial proof to tie the two together

01-10-2021, 12:41 PM

Does that mean you need a passport or driving license to now get the passport. They may as well bring in ID cards now that the majority appear to have no concerns about privacy or freedoms.

AugustaHibs
01-10-2021, 12:45 PM
Nobody will need to use it for another 10 hours or so though.

Awk aye, plenty time then. Sure the app will be fully functional by 10pm tonight

01-10-2021, 12:46 PM
Does that mean you need a passport or driving license to now get the passport. They may as well bring in ID cards now that the majority appear to have no concerns about privacy or freedoms.

You do, which is wrong IMO.The concerns about some people being excluded are well-founded.

01-10-2021, 12:48 PM

The facial recognition stuff is all deleted on verification. From what I read any photo ID will do, bus pass, student card, as well as passport or photo driving licence. But once verified through the facial recognition it is all deleted.

All the information is in the app under 'Your Privacy' in the menu top left.

01-10-2021, 12:49 PM
Judging by what Cropley said on post 1426, it won't be - you need the facial proof to tie the two together

What if I take my paper copy and my passport? A paper NHS certificate to scan and my boat race to confirm ID - what more could they need?

01-10-2021, 12:52 PM
What if I take my paper copy and my passport? A paper NHS certificate to scan and my boat race to confirm ID - what more could they need?

That's probably fine until you come up against a jobsworth security checker.

Rocky
01-10-2021, 12:55 PM
It says this in the FAQ. I don't imagine they'll be removing the option of paper certificates ever, that really would involve excluding people unfairly.

I don’t have any photo ID. Can I still use the app?
If you don't have any photo ID, you cannot use the app. This is because we need to confirm that you are who you say you are before allowing access to part of your health records.

Instead, you can download or request a copy of your vaccination status online or by phoning the COVID Status Helpline on 0808 196 8565. The helpline is open every day from 10.00am to 6.00pm.

01-10-2021, 12:57 PM
It recognises my CHI number as the next screen it has my name correct then my DoB in the screen following that. However it also had my middle name which my doctor’s surgery confirmed they don’t have a note of, nor is it on a letter I received for a hospital appointment. So tried it again without my middle name. Still fails with “No Match Found” 😡

A government spokesman said: "Some people may be experiencing issues which are likely to be caused by extremely high initial traffic and a large number of users trying to access the app at once. We advise people whose data is not found to try again a couple of hours later."

The “likely to be” isn’t really filling me with much confidence. Sounds like total guesswork.

01-10-2021, 01:04 PM
https://news.stv.tv/scotland/scottish-government-apologises-for-vaccine-passport-app-problems

70,000 downloaded in 6 and a half hours on Thursday, capacity increased on Friday to cope with the unprecedented demands of the public to download the app.

01-10-2021, 01:09 PM
It recognises my CHI number as the next screen it has my name correct then my DoB in the screen following that. However it also had my middle name which my doctor’s surgery confirmed they don’t have a note of, nor is it on a letter I received for a hospital appointment. So tried it again without my middle name. Still fails with “No Match Found” 😡

A government spokesman said: "Some people may be experiencing issues which are likely to be caused by extremely high initial traffic and a large number of users trying to access the app at once. We advise people whose data is not found to try again a couple of hours later."

The “likely to be” isn’t really filling me with much confidence. Sounds like total guesswork.

It's purely down to the amount of people trying it cooking the systems, I had the exact same issue with middle names last night but around 12.30am I tried again with all the same details and it worked fine

01-10-2021, 01:12 PM
https://news.stv.tv/scotland/scottish-government-apologises-for-vaccine-passport-app-problems

70,000 downloaded in 6 and a half hours on Thursday, capacity increased on Friday to cope with the unprecedented demands of the public to download the app.

70,000 out of what, 5.5m ish. Glad to see the majority of folk are telling them, or her where to stick it.

01-10-2021, 01:13 PM
It's purely down to the amount of people trying it cooking the systems, I had the exact same issue with middle names last night but around 12.30am I tried again with all the same details and it worked fine

👆 This.

We are all hibs supporters, persevere is our motto.

01-10-2021, 01:19 PM
70,000 out of what, 5.5m ish. Glad to see the majority of folk are telling them, or her where to stick it.

Around 180 per minute downloading the app sounds pretty good, remember the trouble trying to buy tickets through ticketmaster?

Some people look for the negative side all the time, I think that number is pretty good, 10,770 an hour!!

01-10-2021, 01:27 PM

Let's face it only football fans and clubbers need it anyway.

01-10-2021, 01:28 PM

I’ll keep trying then, cheers. Did it work for you with or without your middle names ? I’m just a bit puzzled that inputting my CHI number it brought mine up, but as I said my doctors’ s surgery doesn’t have a record of it.

01-10-2021, 01:34 PM
I’ll keep trying then, cheers. Did it work for you with or without your middle names ? I’m just a bit puzzled that inputting my CHI number it brought mine up, but as I said my doctors’ s surgery doesn’t have a record of it.

Your CHI is allocated wjen your birth is registered. What you got called then sticks with your file till your death is registered.

01-10-2021, 01:36 PM
Your CHI is allocated wjen your birth is registered. What you got called then sticks with your file till your death is registered.

So that would suggest I go with what is on my doctor’s records then, rather than the CHI details ?

01-10-2021, 01:43 PM

My middle name isn't on my Doctor's records but was on the app when it pulled it through from my ID, I just left it in and it worked fine

01-10-2021, 01:56 PM
My middle name isn't on my Doctor's records but was on the app when it pulled it through from my ID, I just left it in and it worked fine

I'm sure the app only asks for first and surname, not middle names. It will then note the middle name from the CHI.

01-10-2021, 02:00 PM

It will likely be a nightmare for my adopted kids. Their names are all over the place in terms of health records.

01-10-2021, 02:02 PM

Hmmm... what happens if you get married or change your name by deed poll :wink:

01-10-2021, 02:04 PM
I'm sure the app only asks for first and surname, not middle names. It will then note the middle name from the CHI.

I keep trying with and without mine. Still no joy. Going to leave it for now.

01-10-2021, 03:08 PM
It obviously is, because it works perfectly well for me 😁

Thanks for your comments Jason Leitch!

01-10-2021, 04:01 PM
https://www.afc.co.uk/2021/10/01/supporter-information-vaccine-certification/

Surely repercussions coming for Aberdeen

01-10-2021, 04:02 PM

Yes you do and again this was yet another surprise. Putting aside the app is so flawed it’s almost impossible to get it to recognise either IDs a number of people don’t have passports or driver licenses. Especially those over 18 still to learn to drive and haven been abroad.

The rollout of this is the beyond amateur.

01-10-2021, 04:08 PM
Good, common sense approach from Aberdeen.

01-10-2021, 04:11 PM

Not sure what repercussions can be forthcoming to be honest.

They're breaking a law that is not enforceable for another 17 days.

01-10-2021, 04:12 PM
Not sure what repercussions can be forthcoming to be honest.

They're breaking a law that is not enforceable for another 17 days.

Fair enough. Bit of a pointless statement from them then.

01-10-2021, 04:14 PM

Do t see whyThe HealthSecretary has agreed no one should be refused entry given the app is proving so difficult fir people to get working properly

01-10-2021, 04:18 PM
Fair enough. Bit of a pointless statement from them then.

They were due to be trialing it. They’re confirming that they aren’t now doing that. Seems a sensible thing to be letting people know that.

nlandsafchibee
01-10-2021, 04:22 PM
Just a heads up for everyone, but as per this stream it is not a simple process all the time for this covid passport .I have just had a call from company who upon some investigation are saying they will sell you a covid passport and asking for financial details etc .I am pretty sure non on this site would fall for it .
The number had a town of St Andrews Fife 01334 845628

He's here!
01-10-2021, 04:23 PM

More likely the Scottish government will be quietly thanking them for sparing them potential 'app failure sparks turnstile chaos' headlines.

01-10-2021, 04:30 PM

Why?

The Scottish Government will not take action until 18 October if businesses are not checking.

01-10-2021, 04:35 PM

Don’t think so. It is not enforceable for another two weeks so these were tests events. I think they have done the right thing. Others will follow until the app is working properly.

01-10-2021, 04:57 PM
So after the excuses that it was just overused last night, attempting again tonight seems they still can’t find me. Must be a massive data issue going by the number of people getting the same message. Simple link to the NHS database and it’s failed miserably. Well done Aberdeen and would hope all major companies that are being affected for the next 17 days take the same stance.

Rocky
01-10-2021, 05:00 PM
I keep trying with and without mine. Still no joy. Going to leave it for now.

The issue is most likely nothing to do with your name, just the system being overloaded. Unfortunately it gives the "No match found" message instead of just saying it's too busy, which is pretty confusing.

01-10-2021, 05:06 PM
The issue is most likely nothing to do with your name, just the system being overloaded. Unfortunately it gives the "No match found" message instead of just saying it's too busy, which is pretty confusing.

If it’s simply that you’d think they could have added that into the coding. It shouldn’t have come as any surprise to those implementing it that it would be heavily utilised in the beginning.

Rocky
01-10-2021, 05:21 PM
If it’s simply that you’d think they could have added that into the coding. It shouldn’t have come as any surprise to those implementing it that it would be heavily utilised in the beginning.

Yep, agreed. I messed around for ages with middle name, space in post code etc and it turned out there was no data issue at all, it was just overloaded.

01-10-2021, 05:39 PM
So after the excuses that it was just overused last night, attempting again tonight seems they still can’t find me. Must be a massive data issue going by the number of people getting the same message. Simple link to the NHS database and it’s failed miserably. Well done Aberdeen and would hope all major companies that are being affected for the next 17 days take the same stance.

I don't think any company is affected. Individuals are blaming anyone and everyone because they are having difficulty accessing an app that legally doesn't come into effect for another 17 days!!!

01-10-2021, 06:25 PM
I don't think any company is affected. Individuals are blaming anyone and everyone because they are having difficulty accessing an app that legally doesn't come into effect for another 17 days!!!

Legally it comes into effect today, it just isn’t enforceable. What’s the point in the Grace period if companies can’t test the exact procedures they’ll be implementing. Until two days ago the enforcement was from today, the app would still only have been rolled out yesterday. The blame lies firmly at the door of Holyrood for rolling out an app that works for very few in the population.

01-10-2021, 06:40 PM
Legally it comes into effect today, it just isn’t enforceable. What’s the point in the Grace period if companies can’t test the exact procedures they’ll be implementing. Until two days ago the enforcement was from today, the app would still only have been rolled out yesterday. The blame lies firmly at the door of Holyrood for rolling out an app that works for very few in the population.

I agree with that, however, it is enforceable, from what I have read, but the Government have chosen not to enforce it. Aberdeen are spot on, what is the point of trialling when the roll out is a mess.

01-10-2021, 07:26 PM
The facial recognition stuff is all deleted on verification. From what I read any photo ID will do, bus pass, student card, as well as passport or photo driving licence. But once verified through the facial recognition it is all deleted.

All the information is in the app under 'Your Privacy' in the menu top left.

I'd take that with a pinch of salt. I don't trust the government with any of my data and I give them as little as possible. Just look at America listening to every phone call and sifting through emails before they were caught and using the data. In this day and age data is like gold.

01-10-2021, 11:11 PM
I'd take that with a pinch of salt. I don't trust the government with any of my data and I give them as little as possible. Just look at America listening to every phone call and sifting through emails before they were caught and using the data. In this day and age data is like gold.

Your data is everywhere.

Rocky
02-10-2021, 02:22 AM
Your data is everywhere.

And drab

02-10-2021, 07:43 AM

So I keep hearing, but apart from stuff like targeted adverts based on my searches - which can be removed with adblockers anyway - I am kinda unsure what "they" have on me??

We often hear that "tech is a double edged sword" but I am not sure how.

e.g. I use Android Auto as a sat nav, and it is fantastic because it aggregates the gps data of everyones phones and determines where is busy / quiet.

In order to have that advantage, you need to accept that "they" know where you are. But frankly, unless you are engaged in activity that would attract the attention of the police etc, I am unclear why this is a problem?

They would get a bit confused with my photos as well, they are a mixture of family and friends, and work ones with showing crappy rental flats in before and after condition.

As for listening to phone calls, if they want to hear me talking to customers about scheduling upcoming work or asking my wife if I should bring a pint of milk home, they are welcome to bore themselves to death.............

02-10-2021, 08:15 AM
So I keep hearing, but apart from stuff like targeted adverts based on my searches - which can be removed with adblockers anyway - I am kinda unsure what "they" have on me??

e.g. I use Android Auto as a sat nav, and it is fantastic because it aggregates the gps data of everyones phones and determines where is busy / quiet.

In order to have that advantage, you need to accept that "they" know where you are. But frankly, unless you are engaged in activity that would attract the attention of the police etc, I am unclear why this is a problem?

They would get a bit confused with my photos as well, they are a mixture of family and friends, and work ones with showing crappy rental flats in before and after condition.

As for listening to phone calls, if they want to hear me talking to customers about scheduling upcoming work or asking my wife if I should bring a pint of milk home, they are welcome to bore themselves to death.............

That's kind of missing the point regarding data and phone calls. It's a bit like saying you don't care about freedom of speech because you have nothing controversial to say. Social media companies make loads of money from your data and it can be used to manipulate people into spending money they don't have kn things they don't need due to targeted ads. As well as that the data is used to keep people hooked to apps and make them addicting as possible. If you couple that with the countless studies showing how damaging social media can be to the mental health of a lot of people it's not a very good mix.

02-10-2021, 08:18 AM
Your data is everywhere.

I try to limit how much data on me is out there as much as is practical. For example I don't think Hibs are going to sell my data and send it to loads of 3rd parties, whereas social media companies have and will.

Theres no need for companies to hold on to as much data as they do so I make a conscious effort to give them as little as possible.

02-10-2021, 08:27 AM
R

I’ve no concerns with anybody accessing my “ boring “ data either, but wonder about this new level of security photo ID check.

According to the nhs.inform site , the reason given for the photo ID requirement is to ensure you are who you claim to be before allowing access to your vaccination status.

We’ve all been accessing this data for months with our user name code from our vacs. Appointment letters , and suddenly this is not secure enough and we’ve to give nhs.scotland access to our photo ID held by the DVLA or UK immigration.

Any idea why it’s needed now , and if your photo ID is deleted once checked , or stored in Scot.gov files somewhere ?

02-10-2021, 08:29 AM
I try to limit how much data on me is out there as much as is practical. For example I don't think Hibs are going to sell my data and send it to loads of 3rd parties, whereas social media companies have and will.

Theres no need for companies to hold on to as much data as they do so I make a conscious effort to give them as little as possible.Hibs probably won't sell data directly, but the likes of Verizon (Hibs TV) & Ticketmaster won't hesitate. There are also the finance company that does the STs, the folk that do Hibs Lotto type stuff, etc.

Like you I give as little info as possible, but it's definitely a losing battle.

02-10-2021, 08:24 PM
Hearts CEO said they were trying to check 20% of attendees today in the trial. He was also very honest and said that as kick off draws near there will obviously be less checks as fans will be wanting in to the game in time. Very sensible approach and of course an open goal for those that want to get in without being checked.

cookin_on_gaz
02-10-2021, 09:30 PM
Are the spot checks getting done before kick-off only? Will fans be checked if someone in the ground “grasses them up”?
Can see things turning a bit nasty if any the above happens.

02-10-2021, 10:07 PM
Exactly. It was the SG who set the timetable and created the bloody shambles in the first place. Who with brain cells would set a timetable that was always going to cause problems? Not Nicola obviously?

03-10-2021, 08:30 AM
Are the spot checks getting done before kick-off only? Will fans be checked if someone in the ground “grasses them up”?
Can see things turning a bit nasty if any the above happens.

The easiest place to do the checks is when people are approaching the turnstiles. I can't see anyone being checked in the ground once they've passed the checkpoint, and how would anyone know that another fan hadn't been vaccinated unless it was their friend?

If you're there at 2:30, then it's not delaying you to be checked, and if you're there at 2:55 you're standing in a queue anyway so there shouldn't be an issue.

However there will always be the entitled idiots (vaccinated or not) at 2:55 who will spend more time demanding to be let in than it would take them to show the requested proof. That means it's less hassle to check the 2:30 arrival than the 2:55, so a higher proportion of the early arrivals will be checked and fewer of the just-in-times. That may give the overall percentage check required by the Scottish Government, but it means that the selfish unvaccinated are less likely to be picked up as they will deliberately time their arrival as late as possible to minimise the chances of them being identified.