View Full Version : Jack Ross out

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

22-05-2021, 04:09 PM
Missing a penalty happens. The way we approached the game today is what’s criminal.

If Jack Ross is going to get praise for finishing third he should be getting slaughtered for that also. The players should also be ashamed of themselves.

The players for me were the biggest issue today. I’d only give two of them pass marks. Players shouldn’t need rockets to inspire them in a final. Josh Doig has been great this season but he’s flopped spectacularly at Hampden. And he’s far from the only one.

22-05-2021, 04:09 PM
He is the best manager we have had for years and one of our best ever. Data doesn't lie.

Players shouldn't need to be motivated in a cup final, they are professionals and should be able to motivate themselves for big games. The manager helped get us to the final and we didn't win it. We have to move on, there is no point dwelling on a ***** performance.

Jeez mate that's a bold ****ing statement.

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 04:10 PM
Missing a penalty happens. The way we approached the game today is what’s criminal.

If Jack Ross is going to get praise for finishing third he should be getting slaughtered for that also. The players should also be ashamed of themselves.

Losing a one off cup game happens, Rangers who were the best team in the league lost 2 of them, Celtic lost 2 of them, sometimes those things happen. We were rubbish today but overall he doesnt deserve the sack.....which this thread is about.

Inconsequential
22-05-2021, 04:11 PM
I would. Totally professional performance yet again from his team. Interesting, yes a totally professional performance from St. Johnstone. Still boring to watch though and Hibs couldn't react.

22-05-2021, 04:12 PM
Can you just imagne we were playin hertz today, they would have put atleast 4 past this JR team. Dont know how much more of this I can watch. Ron needs tae getvrid of this guy.

22-05-2021, 04:12 PM
You know what you can do wi your opinion, which you seem to think is way much more important than anybody else's!

And the reason he's on my ignore list.

22-05-2021, 04:13 PM
Who are trying to justify another Hampden abomination.

Which posts have justified it?

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 04:14 PM
Can you just imagne we were playin hertz today, they would have put atleast 4 past this JR team. Dont know how much more of this I can watch. Ron needs tae getvrid of this guy.

Well just as well that great hertz team got pumped out the cup by Highland League Brora.......

You know what you can do wi your opinion, which you seem to think is way much more important than anybody else's!Yeah, post it on here.

Torto7
It's the predictable play style that worries me. That style will work in terms of beating the poorer teams and give you a degree of consistency but it collapses in the bigger games when you need extra. I seen numerous little tactical alterations from Davidson today to try and make it difficult for us. The only changes Jack Ross ever seem to make are predictable ones.

Our basic style of play is to pass it between the back two then get it to McGinn to feed Nisbet coming off the front. Middleton and Kane took it in turns just to sit on McGinn. We couldn't play out and resorted to hoof to Doidge.

Jack Ross has his merits but his tactical limitations really concern me going forward. He won't be sacked but I'd be having some serious doubts if I was RG.

22-05-2021, 04:15 PM

Whats your thinking there? Why do you think we’d have lost at least four to that team today? What a daft comment.

22-05-2021, 04:15 PM
Jeez mate that's a bold ****ing statement.

That’s because you’ve put it in bold.

22-05-2021, 04:16 PM
Yeah, post it on here.

We know what you think of other posters - what do you think about the game? Or the manager? Or failing to win or score in 4 games against St Johnstone?

22-05-2021, 04:17 PM

Ross gets credit for finishing third but is instantly absolved of any blame of our pathetic Hampden performances.

If you hold him to account for it all then it adds up to an alright season. Nothing more, nothing less imo.

Look at you creaming yourself posting I told you so pish.

sean04
22-05-2021, 04:17 PM

He played the same team and system that got us 3rd in the league. Apart from maybe playing mcgregor what was there to change? The big players let us down. Nesbit hardly touched the ball, Boyle not involved; doidge dominated. Didn’t win an individual battle on the park

22-05-2021, 04:18 PM
Look at you creaming yourself posting I told you so pish.

Look at you posting nothing but personal digs. Nothing new there.

22-05-2021, 04:19 PM
He played the same team and system that got us 3rd in the league. Apart from maybe playing mcgregor what was there to change? The big players let us down. Nesbit hardly touched the ball, Boyle not involved; doidge dominated. Didn’t win an individual battle on the park

The same team and system isn’t suitable for every single game. Hence why St Johnstone keep beating us.

sean04

Never read such nonsense all my life. Hibs lose a final and all of a sudden hearts are superstars 😂😂😂

That’s because you’ve put it in bold.

:faf: Very droll.

We know what you think of other posters - what do you think about the game? Or the manager? Or failing to win or score in 4 games against St Johnstone?I posted my thoughts on the match, for what they're worth, on another thread.

I thought this thread was for teenage lassie style strops....

22-05-2021, 04:20 PM
We know what you think of other posters - what do you think about the game? Or the manager? Or failing to win or score in 4 games against St Johnstone?

You’ll not get much of that from some posters. They exist purely to abuse/attempt to police other posters, not give there thoughts on the football.

22-05-2021, 04:20 PM
It's the predictable play style that worries me. That style will work in terms of beating the poorer teams and give you a degree of consistency but it collapses in the bigger games when you need extra. I seen numerous little tactical alterations from Davidson today to try and make it difficult for us. The only changes Jack Ross ever seem to make are predictable ones.

Our basic style of play is to pass it between the back two then get it to McGinn to feed Nisbet coming off the front. Middleton and Kane took it in turns just to sit on McGinn. We couldn't play out and resorted to hoof to Doidge.

Jack Ross has his merits but his tactical limitations really concern me going forward. He won't be sacked but I'd be having some serious doubts if I was RG.

Limited is exactly the word I'd use with Ross. He took over when we were in a bad place and has unquestionably improved us. But is he the manager to get us winning trophies, playing good football, progressing in Europe etc?

Sam Allardyce always gets the call when teams are near the bottom of the league but there is a reason top 6 teams aren't interested when they have a vacancy.

I suspect Jack will keep us ticking along, playing dull, safe, predictable football but never get us any moments like 2007 or 2016.

22-05-2021, 04:21 PM
The same team and system isn’t suitable for every single game. Hence why St Johnstone keep beating us.

I just don’t get playing a CM who is right footed with no pace out wide on the left.

He did the same with magennis against Hearts. We played to stop
them, Doig or Boyle were rarely forward

Hibs1969
4 times in a row, to a rookie manager, without scoring. Disgraceful
Spot on. We failed to turn up against them yet again for the umpteenth time this season. I don’t want him out but why can’t he find away to play against them? 6 games, 5 losses and 1 goal (a dodgy last minute penalty at that). Christ almighty it’s not Barcelona we’re playing here. That was embarrassing.

Look at you posting nothing but personal digs. Nothing new there.

Was that a….personal dig you finished off with there?

22-05-2021, 04:23 PM
How he’s thought to play the anaw formation and same tactics and expected a different result is beyond me

Came out before the game and said we’ve learnt from playing them previously but from how the game went it looked as if we’ve learnt absolute **** all

Pitiful display in a Scottish cup final & you have to question how he continues to fail to get a tune out his team more often than not on big occasions like this

22-05-2021, 04:23 PM
Was that a….personal dig you finished off with there?

You very rarely give your thoughts on the football. You mostly spend your time abusing other posters. The same goes today.

22-05-2021, 04:24 PM
I posted my thoughts on the match, for what they're worth, on another thread.

The view must be wonderful from up there. I would actually be interested in hearing a defence of the manager but I guess its just easier to take a pop at unnamed posters.

sean04
I just don’t get playing a CM who is right footed with no pace out wide on the left.

Didn’t see the same comment when he set up Nesbit in the semi from the same position. We didn’t set up to stop st Johnstone either, st Johnstone set up stops us

Not many folk would have disagreed with the starting lineup.

He didn’t try to change anything as the game progressed with the exception of like for like subs though. Keeping doing the same thing got the same result.

I get the players are culpable but Ross has to take his share if he’s going to take credit when we do well though. And he does play a part in how they approach it.

22-05-2021, 04:25 PM

Hmm...except that system only beaT st j ONCE out of 5. 🤬

I posted my thoughts on the match, for what they're worth, on another thread.

Fake age on your profile, terrible behaviour. Welcome to the teenage lassie style strops thread though.

How he’s thought to play the anaw formation and same tactics and expected a different result is beyond me

Came out before the game and said we’ve learnt from playing them previously but from how the game went it looked as if we’ve learnt absolute **** all

Pitiful display in a Scottish cup final & you have to question how he continues to fail to get a tune out his team more often than not on big occasions like this

We don’t have a plan B.

We go behind and we toil. We play St J and we toil.

Our plan A has worked fairly well this season. The minute it doesn’t work though we are snookered.

Fifehibby74
Cannot score in 4 games v the same team I’ll leave that to the experts

Allez Hibs
We're all hurting, but some of these posts are just nonsense and confirm my opinion of certain posters and the value of their input to the forum.

Is that your duty to call it out though or should you just not get involved withe discussion or move on? With respect.

Fergos
22-05-2021, 04:26 PM

Totally.

22-05-2021, 04:26 PM
Not many folk would have disagreed with the starting lineup.

He didn’t try to change anything as the game progressed with the exception of like for like subs though. Keeping doing the same thing got the same result.

I get the players are culpable but Ross has to take his share if he’s going to take credit when we do well though. And he does play a part in how they approach it.

I’d imagine the majority of the forum would have disagreed with that line up.

If you look on the thread saying what line up youd play I’d imagine that one wouldn’t appear often.

22-05-2021, 04:27 PM
3rd in the league, a cup final and 2 semis but it wouldn't bother me in the slightest if he left tomorrow. Maybe that's me being silly, I don't know.

Is that your duty to call it out though or should you just not get involved withe discussion or move on? With respect.

Not sure why some people don’t get involved in the football discussion and just get involved in discussing certain posters.

That’s not aimed at Peevemor to be fair as he does actually post his thoughts on the game as well imo.

loanheadhibby
We're all hurting, but some of these posts are just nonsense and confirm my opinion of certain posters and the value of their input to the forum.

Name names then?

Allez Hibs

Exactly.

Is Peevemor the H in keeping the Jack Ross Out movement going this year?

You very rarely give your thoughts on the football. You mostly spend your time abusing other posters. The same goes today.

No more personal digs please

22-05-2021, 04:28 PM
No more personal digs please

These posts really sum up your contribution to the forum.

22-05-2021, 04:29 PM

Agreed. It's as if he's on repeat. And he needs to sign players that can be leaders on the park when the going gets tough.

22-05-2021, 04:29 PM
These posts really sum up your contribution to the forum.

Stop with the personal digs champ

Stokesy's on fire
22-05-2021, 04:30 PM
Hope we sack him bottle job

22-05-2021, 04:31 PM
Seen someone saying McInnes mk2.

Give me cup wins over 3rd in the league every single time.

22-05-2021, 04:32 PM

Not even that imo.

If he can match McInnes league record over that kind of period of time I’d be stunned. I also don’t think we’ll win anything under Ross.

Jeez the guys been here a year and a half. Mental.

As if Jack Ross has came out after the game and had the audacity to mention “fine margins” again, becoming a ****ing parody.

There was no fine margins about that game.

22-05-2021, 04:33 PM

tbf we've learnt how to keep the score down against them in games at Hampden

next time he will try and bore them to tears and catch them on the break, maybe

Hibs1969
22-05-2021, 04:33 PM
Surely the main point in all of this is that few of us on here (if any) are qualified coaches to the same level as Ross. Why is it so difficult for him to work out how to play against St Johnstone when we pretty much know how they are going to set up every time? At least in the league cup semi final we made plenty chances but failed to take them. Today we offered nothing in the biggest game of the season. Not a bean. Nada.

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 04:34 PM

Not sure why some people don’t get involved in the football discussion and just get involved in discussing certain posters.

That’s not aimed at Peevemor to be fair as he does actually post his thoughts on the game as well imo.

Im sorry but you were the on claiming that posters who didnt want Ross sacked were on here justifying the poor performance today or words to that affect. What has that to do with the football? Thats aimed fairly and squarely at posters.

22-05-2021, 04:34 PM
I’ve given it a little time, calmed my 9 year old grandson down, he was so upset.
I’m disgusted with that ‘performance’ absolute disgrace, feeble, not interested, lack of commitment
Another in a catalogue of disasters!!

22-05-2021, 04:35 PM
Im sorry but you were the on claiming that posters who didnt want Ross sacked were on here justifying the poor performance today or words to that affect. What has that to do with the football? Thats aimed fairly and squarely at posters.

That’s a fair point :aok: apologies for that.

There is 100% some posters who post very few football related posts though. They’re nearly always aimed at fellow fans.

Fifehibby74
Spot on. We failed to turn up against them yet again for the umpteenth time this season. I don’t want him out but why can’t he find away to play against them? 6 games, 5 losses and 1 goal (a dodgy last minute penalty at that). Christ almighty it’s not Barcelona we’re playing here. That was embarrassing.

👍

As if Jack Ross has came out after the game and had the audacity to mention “fine margins” again, becoming a ****ing parody.

Who's he kidding? 😆

22-05-2021, 04:36 PM

He should go now after what was the worst cup final performance ever by a Hibs team.

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 04:38 PM
That’s a fair point :aok: apologies for that.

There is 100% some posters who post very few football related posts though. They’re nearly always aimed at fellow fans.
No worries, i agree, sometimes i think folk just get carried away, understandable in the wake of a horrible defeat....but some folk should def count to 10 before pressing send:greengrin.

22-05-2021, 04:38 PM
Exactly.

Is Peevemor the H in keeping the Jack Ross Out movement going this year?Peevemor the H?

22-05-2021, 04:40 PM
Is that your duty to call it out though or should you just not get involved withe discussion or move on? With respect.If people have the right to continue to post crap, surely I have the right to disagree?

22-05-2021, 04:40 PM
Jeez the guys been here a year and a half. Mental.

Yep and in that short space of time he’s lost 3 out of 4 games at Hampden. 1 against a championship level hearts side and 2 against st Johnstone with an aggregate of 4-0.

The signs certainly aren’t positive if you’re looking for winning cups.

22-05-2021, 04:41 PM
That performance is the most gutless I have ever seen in a final from Hibs, even 2012. I was at all 3 games in 1979 and havent missed one since (albeit watched on tv today).
Do I have the answer why? Nope but not good enough

Gordy M
Yep and in that short space of time he’s lost 3 out of 4 games at Hampden. 1 against a championship level hearts side and 2 against st Johnstone with an aggregate of 4-0.

The signs certainly aren’t positive if you’re looking for winning cups.

Steven Gerrard has been here 3 years and not won a cup.....with a budget probably 5 to 10 times ours.

After that joke filled perfomance today I'd gratefully see the back of Jack Ross.

Anyone that backs a manager after that disastrous cup final cartoon is either a yam or anti hibs.

Are you for real Heisenberg? or another troll on here?

A troll for not wanting a manager that took us to 3rd in the league sacked? No worries. Get yourself to ****.

3rd

22-05-2021, 04:42 PM
Steven Gerrard has been here 3 years and not won a cup.....with a budget probably 5 to 10 times ours.

Apart from the league you mean?

Bridge hibs
22-05-2021, 04:42 PM
Peevemor the H?Because he cant spell hyperbetalipoproteinemia 🤭

22-05-2021, 04:43 PM

We finished 3rd. Do you think we should be winning it? 3rd is the best we can do with the OF in there and nothing anyone can say will convince me otherwise.

22-05-2021, 04:43 PM
3rd

Where's the manager who finished 3rd last season, now?

22-05-2021, 04:44 PM
The view must be wonderful from up there. I would actually be interested in hearing a defence of the manager but I guess its just easier to take a pop at unnamed posters.Up where?

I didn't defend the manager at all.

The thing is, I post my opinion about a match or a player's performance, maybe spread over 2 or 3 posts in the appropriate threads.

What I don't do is keep posting the same stuff, positive or negative, over and over and over again.

Steven Gerrard has just completed an undefeated league season, I’m not sure it’s in any way comparable to us!

Before this season he was also under pressure.

We finished 3rd. Do you think we should be winning it? 3rd is the best we can do with the OF in there and nothing anyone can say will convince me otherwise.

I’m not disputing about us finishing 3rd but give me Scottish cup wins over 3rd 100% of the time.

The guy I was replying to said gerrard hadn’t won a cup in 3 years, I was correcting him so you can jump off yer high horse

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 04:45 PM

Yep but you were referring to Hampden and the cups. We did well in the league, just like Gerrard did, finished better than expected at the start of the season. My point was that cup games can be one offs, Stevie G has lost 6 of them despite having the 2nd biggest budget in the country.

22-05-2021, 04:47 PM

Good point.

Praise for Finishing 3rd in a season when our closest rivals went 10 games without scoring a goal will only last so long.

He’s not getting sacked any time soon but he won’t be here by Christmas IMO.

22-05-2021, 04:48 PM
Really disappointed with his post match interview- after that showing I’d expect a Fergie-esque damning of the players. That’s what they need, without real anger they’ll see a manager willing to accept it. Forget hurt feelings, he should have been openly giving them a public dressing down. Too nice, too accepting, simply not good enough Jack.

Gordy M
Steven Gerrard has just completed an undefeated league season, I’m not sure it’s in any way comparable to us!

Before this season he was also under pressure.
And got pumped out the 2 cups without even reaching Hampden. It happens was my point.

Yep but you were referring to Hampden and the cups. We did well in the league, just like Gerrard did, finished better than expected at the start of the season. My point was that cup games can be one offs, Stevie G has lost 6 of them despite having the 2nd biggest budget in the country.

So we’ve to just accept our manager can’t get a performance out his team at Hampden more often than not because Gerrard hasn’t won the league or Scottish cup? Na no for me.

****ing pish poor today as we have been all season against St Johnstone.

Give me Callum Davidson over JR everyday of the week as well. Knows how to correctly set his team up.

Away and bile yer heid. Erse.

I'm only on page one, but have to respond to this ..... How is the guy wrong? ... WTF was good in any way about that Hibs performance today against a team who have now beaten us 4 times in a row including a semi and a final using EXACTLY THE SAME TACTICS?

22-05-2021, 04:49 PM
What’s that to do with us this season?

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 04:49 PM
So we’ve to just accept our manager can’t get a performance out his team at Hampden more often than not because Gerrard hasn’t won the league or Scottish cup? Na no for me.

****ing pish poor today as we have been all season against St Johnstone.

Give me Callum Davidson over JR everyday of the week as well. Knows how to correctly set his team up.

Who said that, im saying cup defeats happen, and can hqppen to the best team in the country.

AliboyFC
22-05-2021, 04:50 PM
3rd

We only finished 3rd cos the rest of the table was *****.

22-05-2021, 04:50 PM
We only finished 3rd cos the rest of the table was *****.Did we?

22-05-2021, 04:51 PM

Beat in the League Cup by St.Mirren, beaten in the Scottish Cup at home to St.Johnstone, should have been sacked.

Were talking cups here :greengrin

22-05-2021, 04:52 PM
There's definitely a few of them I'm thinking we should just cash in while we can, Nisbet, Porteous, Doig and Boyle and rebuild, I couldn't care if Irvine stayed again a waste of a Jersey along with Newell. Not many of these players are in the good books right nowm

My thoughts as well right now, I will probably think differently next week.

22-05-2021, 04:53 PM
Who said that, im saying cup defeats happen, and can hqppen to the best team in the country.

So it’s a coincidence they’ve happened to us 3 times at Hampden this season? 2 against the same team? Or is it because you fail to get your players up for the game and your tactics are the same nearly every time you play?

Zambernardi1875
22-05-2021, 04:53 PM
Really disappointed with his post match interview- after that showing I’d expect a Fergie-esque damning of the players. That’s what they need, without real anger they’ll see a manager willing to accept it. Forget hurt feelings, he should have been openly giving them a public dressing down. Too nice, too accepting, simply not good enough Jack.

Said the same at the time, his attitude breads mediocrity, happy to just take part, oh well another final well done lads. It’s a mental attitude this club have had for quite some time. St Johnstone player interviewed said they knew they wanted it more and it showed

22-05-2021, 04:54 PM
Jack Ross got the team selection wrong. Daz should have been in. Gogic you don't need a DM against a set up like St Johnstone and Irvine should have been replaced by Hallberg and Murphy. When you play against a team that set up like St Johnstone you need players to constantly pass and move and come short. Jack Ross is guilty of not changing things. Why did we let Scott Allan go out on loan. He is the type of player that can play a pass which takes out the defenders. Summer transfer window is crucial as fresh legs are required.

22-05-2021, 04:56 PM
Beat in the League Cup by St.Mirren, beaten in the Scottish Cup at home to St.Johnstone, should have been sacked.

Were talking cups here :greengrin

Exactly. Dismiss his achievements in the league. He should be sacked for his disgraceful performance in the cups. Shameful.

Zambernardi1875
22-05-2021, 04:57 PM
Did we?

Yes

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 04:58 PM
So it’s a coincidence they’ve happened to us 3 times at Hampden this season? 2 against the same team? Or is it because you fail to get your players up for the game and your tactics are the same nearly every time you play?
Again,you wete the one that brought up winning cups, and thats how the season should be judged, i just pointed out that we did better than anyone apart from St J in the cups, so all the other teams need to be sacking their managers.......

22-05-2021, 04:59 PM
Exactly. Dismiss his achievements in the league. He should be sacked for his disgraceful performance in the cups. Shameful.

Truthfully, would you rather win cups and create memories or finish 3rd consistently?

Best day of my life was winning the Scottish Cup. I’m no sure I’d have the same enthusiasm if finishing 3rd was the only memory we had to look back on.

big gogs
22-05-2021, 05:01 PM
He will win nothing under him

A plan of wood would be more inspiring
Let’s be honest here,we are hurting ,losing is one thing ,surrendering like we did today is unforgivable.but the man who really matters is Ron Gordon.he is trying to motivate the fans into buying into his plans.this is not part of his plan,we will need to wait to hear his thoughts on today’s shambles.

22-05-2021, 05:02 PM
tbf we've learnt how to keep the score down against them in games at Hampden

next time he will try and bore them to tears and catch them on the break, maybe

Well it could have been a few more..

Gogic great tackle 1st half
Newell tackle / block 2nd half
Penalty save

We hardly created anything.

Least in the 3-0 game we did well for 30 mins.

Today we hardly played for majority of the game.

22-05-2021, 05:05 PM
Truthfully, would you rather win cups and create memories or finish 3rd consistently?

Best day of my life was winning the Scottish Cup. I’m no sure I’d have the same enthusiasm if finishing 3rd was the only memory we had to look back on.

I reckon in years to come this season will be remembered more for the 3 Hampden trips than the fact we finished 3rd.

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 05:06 PM

But it doesnt work like that, you cant say ah well we will finish 10th but win the scottish. All teams and managers enter the 3 comps at the same level at the start of the season. You do your best in each conp and hopefully do well. Its not one or the other. We did 3rd in the league, semi, and final. Some folk arent happy with that, fine, but is that sackable?

Robbo6-2
22-05-2021, 05:07 PM
sack this absolute loser

no inspiration

no tactics

no clue

get him to Falkirk

22-05-2021, 05:08 PM
3rd

That is almost as embarrassing a comfort blanket for our failings as 5-1.

What has 3rd got us? Look at St Johnstone and look at us and keep using third as a comfort blanket.

sean04
Should rangers sack Gerrard aswell ? Done well in the league but didn’t win a cup. Didn’t even make it to hampden with that huge budget

Said it before should he stay or should he go, not so sure it would make that much difference to Hibs unless we could get another Jock Stein and he never stayed long enough.
At the end of the day it is just not ****in good enough, drab in a drab league and insipid in the cups, perhaps he will walk away although dont think so. We will have a different team next season no matter who is manager, we need some real quality and that takes the kind of money that we just dont have, so JR's boring football will continue.

22-05-2021, 05:09 PM
What’s that to do with us this season?

It tells you that its not the momentous achievement you want to believe it is.

OstKurve Hibs
22-05-2021, 05:10 PM
Ross is our version of mcinness

22-05-2021, 05:11 PM
Should rangers sack Gerrard aswell ? Done well in the league but didn’t win a cup. Didn’t even make it to hampden with that huge budget

Great comparison!
'done well'

sean04
22-05-2021, 05:12 PM
Great comparison!
'done well'

2 horse race and 1 of them fell at the 1st fence

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 05:15 PM
That is almost as embarrassing a comfort blanket for our failings as 5-1.

What has 3rd got us? Look at St Johnstone and look at us and keep using third as a comfort blanket.

Again no one is saying that today isnt disappointing. But 3rd is an acheivement, jeez we have won a Scottish cup more recently than 3rd.

Fergos
22-05-2021, 05:15 PM
Keep doing the same things and expect a different result…..definition of madness. Us vs st Johnstone.

Robbo6-2
22-05-2021, 05:16 PM
Does anyone actually get inspired by this absolute loser

h1bs4life
Jack Ross GTF has never won anything in his career , loser and take Hanlon and Stevenson with you

Again no one is saying that today isnt disappointing. But 3rd is an acheivement, jeez we have won a Scottish cup more recently than 3rd.

Yes, it is.

Losing two semi finals and a final that we should have won isn’t an achievement though. Ignoring that and focusing purely on third is silly.

22-05-2021, 05:19 PM
Yes, it is.

Losing two semi finals and a final that we should have won isn’t an achievement though. Ignoring that and focusing purely on third is silly.

Worth looking at the teams we beat to get to these latter stages of the cups.

We’ve not beat anyone to get there.

Motherwell, Dundee Utd, QOTS snd stranraer.

Can’t remember who we beat to get to the latter stages of the other competitions but it wasn’t anyone decent.

Robbo6-2
22-05-2021, 05:19 PM
Ross- loser
Hanlon- Soft
Stevenson- Soft

Leaders

Who is kidding who

sean04
22-05-2021, 05:20 PM
We set out at the start of the season to try be best of the rest for the 1st time in 16years. Job done

People have short memories. Losing a cup final is gutting but we’re no 7th/8th in the league and struggling

Allez Hibs
22-05-2021, 05:21 PM
We only finished 3rd cos the rest of the table was *****.

Correct.

22-05-2021, 05:21 PM
Worth looking at the teams we beat to get to these latter stages of the cups.

We’ve not beat anyone to get there.

Motherwell, Dundee Utd, QOTS snd stranraer.

Can’t remember who we beat to get to the latter stages of the other competitions but it wasn’t anyone decent.

Semi finals and finals with no context are decent:

With context, our cup performances haven’t been decent this season.

22-05-2021, 05:22 PM
I don’t want the guy out. Interesting to see how next season goes with Hearts back and Aberdeen surely only being stronger but it’s performances like today and a few of them we’ve put in this season which isn’t allowing me to get aboard the Jack Ross revolution.

delbert
Jack Ross got the team selection wrong. Daz should have been in. Gogic you don't need a DM against a set up like St Johnstone and Irvine should have been replaced by Hallberg and Murphy. When you play against a team that set up like St Johnstone you need players to constantly pass and move and come short. Jack Ross is guilty of not changing things. Why did we let Scott Allan go out on loan. He is the type of player that can play a pass which takes out the defenders. Summer transfer window is crucial as fresh legs are required.

Correct on all counts, consistently sets up in big games not to lose and then appears surprised when they lose. A duds dud in big games and appears to have a problem with picking the wrong Plan A, let alone never having a Plan B when things aren’t going well. Wouldn’t give this guy a brass farthing for the rebuild which will be required but the most important signing at the club right now is a new manager because I would bet my house that under Jack Ross, we will never win a piece of silverware, clueless and a proven loser ! Pile in apologists but mediocrity isn’t acceptable, even when we’ve pretty much become used to it !

Gordy M
Yes, it is.

But no ome is? You are the one referring to comfort blankets and silly stuff like that. Ive not seen one poster say today was acceptable because we finished 3rd, seen plenty say that 3rd doesnt matter because we lost cup games.

22-05-2021, 05:25 PM
Finishing 3rd is an achievement considering our record in previous years and also our limited squad ( limited in terms of quantity and quality ) but losing 3 times at Hampden against non OF teams in one season is a definite negative for any manager .

22-05-2021, 05:26 PM
But no ome is? You are the one referring to comfort blankets and silly stuff like that. Ive not seen one poster say today was acceptable because we finished 3rd, seen plenty say that 3rd doesnt matter because we lost cup games.

Exactly. It’s a strawman

Robbo6-2
22-05-2021, 05:29 PM
Today's result is unforgivable.

Forget 3rd place today's result has summed up Ross tenure.

soft, lacking ideas, no leadership, tactically inept.

Hes got to go

22-05-2021, 05:30 PM
What’s with the constant subbing of Doig to bring on Stevenson, especially today when we’re going for the win.

22-05-2021, 05:31 PM

This, this, this!!!

22-05-2021, 05:31 PM
Today's result is unforgivable.

Forget 3rd place today's result has summed up Ross tenure.

soft, lacking ideas, no leadership, tactically inept.

Hes got to go

I think today’s result happens to better managers than Jack Ross.

I think today’s performance is unforgivable.

Hibiza
22-05-2021, 05:32 PM
Jack Ross's record in big games with us and Sunderland is woeful.

22-05-2021, 05:33 PM
What’s with the constant subbing of Doig to bring on Stevenson, especially today when we’re going for the win.

Nah, Doig was dead in his feet.

There was one point they broke forward and he was barely running to keep up, he was ****ed.

He looked nothing like a multi million pound player snd was quite rightly dubbed IMO.

22-05-2021, 05:33 PM
We set out at the start of the season to try be best of the rest for the 1st time in 16years. Job done

People have short memories. Losing a cup final is gutting but we’re no 7th/8th in the league and struggling

We also set out to win a cup. And didn’t. Despite having none of the big teams in our way.

Max_Shah
22-05-2021, 05:34 PM
3rd

And...

Bruh, we just surrendered a whole ass Scottish Cup Final to a rag-tag bunch of agricultural workers cobbled together from the local Job Club.

After taking time to compose your thoughts on the matter this is your red-hot take.

"3rd"

Okay then smart arse.

22-05-2021, 05:35 PM
I think today’s result happens to better managers than Jack Ross.

I think today’s performance is unforgivable.

Agree with this. Can take losing. Even in the last two semi finals there were moments that went against us. That today was pathetic.

22-05-2021, 05:35 PM

A post that simply says “3rd” is doing exactly that and you’re kidding yourself on if you’re saying it isn’t. And that’s the post I quoted that has started this debate.

K-Zazu
22-05-2021, 05:36 PM
Out

22-05-2021, 05:37 PM
I don’t want the guy out. Interesting to see how next season goes with Hearts back and Aberdeen surely only being stronger but it’s performances like today and a few of them we’ve put in this season which isn’t allowing me to get aboard the Jack Ross revolution.

Pretty much where I am.

The worrying part is when we lose it’s really bad performance levels.

We will lose players from today so we need to recruit well and replace those who leave plus strengthen the bench.

We need to decide what’s happening with Allan / Mallan / Gullan / Gray / McGennis / Wright / Hallberg. That’s also alongside possible bids for Boyle / Doig and Porto.

He needs to sub players earlier and he will need to win some derbies to get the fans full backing again.

Going into Europe and with this group of players or similar gives me the fear.

22-05-2021, 05:37 PM
We also set out to win a cup. And didn’t. Despite having none of the big teams in our way.

It’s a wee bit like when England were all patting each other on the backs for getting to the semi finals of the World Cup.

In that tournament I think they only beat Tunisia, Sweden and Costa Rica in 90 minutes. (Might not have been those teams but you get the jist)

On paper it was a good tournament but you only have to dig a little deeper to get a better idea of where the team was really at.

22-05-2021, 05:38 PM
can't wait for this thread to descend into squabbling and get closed, it'll be for the best.

Mantis Toboggan
22-05-2021, 05:44 PM

And...

Bruh, we just surrendered a whole ass Scottish Cup Final to a rag-tag bunch of agricultural workers cobbled together from the local Job Club.

After taking time to compose your thoughts on the matter this is your red-hot take.

"3rd"

Okay then smart arse.

Surrender feels like the right word. St J are a bit better than you've characterised them but the blame is one way.

Allez Hibs
22-05-2021, 05:44 PM
If people have the right to continue to post crap, surely I have the right to disagree?

Agreed and I do think you deserve an element of respect for your articulate posts. However, today and the manner of it can't be acceptable?

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 05:45 PM
A post that simply says “3rd” is doing exactly that and you’re kidding yourself on if you’re saying it isn’t. And that’s the post I quoted that has started this debate.

This thread is about JR getting sacked, 3rd is absolutely relevant to that, doesnt mean anyone is happy about today.

22-05-2021, 05:45 PM

No idea. When were we last 3rd?

22-05-2021, 05:46 PM

And...

"3rd"

Okay then smart arse.

3rd

22-05-2021, 05:47 PM

3rd. I’ll expand. If you want more. You are at the wrong team.

22-05-2021, 05:48 PM
This thread is about JR getting sacked, 3rd is absolutely relevant to that, doesnt mean anyone is happy about today.

And 5-1 is relevant to hearts dominance over us. But it’s a comfort blanket, much the same as “3rd” is.

22-05-2021, 05:48 PM

Please do expand.

You can cream yourself over third all you want.

22-05-2021, 05:49 PM
Agreed and I do think you deserve an element of respect for your articulate posts. However, today and the manner of it can't be acceptable?

Show me where I said it was? But calling for Jack Ross to be sacked is sheer stupidity IMO.

Nice to see some of our occasional posters out in force though, you know - the ones who were nowhere to be seen since we won at Pittodrie?

Max_Shah
22-05-2021, 05:50 PM
Surrender feels like the right word. St J are a bit better than you've characterised them but the blame is one way.

Yeah. Good post. You are absolutely correct.

StJ were well organized, drilled, trained and looked every inch a professional outfit with individuals who know what their specific role is within a tactical framework.

Still hurts tho...

h1bs4life
22-05-2021, 05:51 PM
When’s the parade for the 3rd place trophy
Sure the club will make a fortune from fans wanting photos taken with 3rd place trophy
Looking forward to buying stuff in the shop as well

Zambernardi1875
22-05-2021, 05:51 PM

The most recent guy to say it is only 5 posts above yours

22-05-2021, 05:52 PM
Sure the club will make a fortune from fans wanting photos taken with 3rd place trophy

Grow up

scuttle

To be fair young josh was struggling after about seventy minutes, what is shockingly obvious is that after Murphy came on that there was nobody left on the bench who could influence the game and that is Jack Ross fault.I think we are going to have a massive rebuild on our hands with the supposed tranfers out we could loose 5 players. Add to that Lewis , sir David and Daz are another season older and Scott Allan could well be finished. We will have to trust him to bring in the right players but if we dont get it right quickly i think Mr Ross will be gone mid season

Expecting Hibs to do better than today against bloody St Johnstone means you support the wrong team? Or the same with the previous semi finals.

Ross has been very public about winning a cup. Is he at the wrong team as well?

Gordy M
And 5-1 is relevant to hearts dominance over us. But it’s a comfort blanket, much the same as “3rd” is.

Sorry what?? We are talking about JR as manager of Hibs, how has the 20-21 season gone in order to asses how, well, or not JR has done, as folk want him sacked. You now want to totally disregard finishing in the best league position in 15 years, in that assessment because that is a comfort blanket?

22-05-2021, 05:53 PM

Would you rather we finished 8th and got beat in the final?

Grow up

He's Hibs for life.

Sounds it.

Dominance. Ffs. Grow up

22-05-2021, 05:55 PM
Please do expand.

You can cream yourself over third all you want.

Cream yourself. Get a hobby laddie. 😂

Gordy M
22-05-2021, 05:55 PM
The most recent guy to say it is only 5 posts above yours

What the guy who said that losing the cup final was gutting......aye thats right.

Hibiza
22-05-2021, 05:57 PM
Totally devoid of inspiration. When he walked the team out at the start he looked like he was leading them into Mortonhall crematorium.
good one sur .

22-05-2021, 05:58 PM
Show me where I said it was? But calling for Jack Ross to be sacked is sheer stupidity IMO.

Nice to see some of our occasional posters out in force though, you know - the ones who were nowhere to be seen since we won at Pittodrie?

Do you agree there’s a constructive debate to be had, and is being had, in amongst the noise, about Ross? Or why some of us are yet to be fully convinced by Ross? I’ve said all season, while stopping short of wanting him sacked, I wouldn’t lose any sleep if he left to join another team.

22-05-2021, 05:59 PM

I would guarantee Rangers board remit to Gerrard was to in the league at all costs, his Europa run probably didn't help with the cup losses but the league was all that mattered to Rangers this season.

Hibiza
22-05-2021, 06:01 PM
Mentioned Scott Brown here a few months ago as player manager . Got a rough time , before he went to the Shepherds. Don't think he'd lost these Hampden games.

Cream yourself. Get a hobby laddie. 😂

I thought you were able to expand? Come on, you told us you could, so let’s see it.

Why is third the only thing that is worth mentioning in your posts? I’d love to see an expansion of this.

Mentioned Scott Brown here a few months ago as player manager . Got a rough time , before he went to the Shepherds. Don't think he'd lost these Hampden games.

Scott Brown would have made a big difference to us. :agree:

22-05-2021, 06:03 PM
We collectively had a shocker today!

I don't think we should sack Jack Ross. However, he failed to work out how to beat St Johnstone. Below is a post I made 2 or 3 days before the final.

Not that it had a major impact on today's game, he should have play McGregor over Porto. I feel just having McGregor playing gives confidence to the other players and he doesn't make the daft mistakes that Porto makes.

The other bad decision was not working out how to counteract a compact St Johnstone team that stifles our creativity. However, in defence of our manager, I'm not sure how we could have done it. The only way I could see it would be for us to sacrifice the three forward players and play a more robust and creative midfield, but you can imagine the reaction on this board if we had done that. Contrary to what I wrote below, playing Murphy instead of Nisbet might have given us more movement from midfield to attack.

Although I didn't say it below, I would also have had Halberg in before Newell.

So, for me, the big mistakes were playing Porto, Newell and the front three. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

Finally, anyone saying that Ross should be sacked after today is wasting their time. It's not going to happen.

Interesting!

I feel this cup final is going to be won by the team that counteracts the strengths of the opposition better. Saints have done well in stifling our creativity in recent games, although you'll recall that for the first period of the semi we could have been a couple of goals up. Also, for me, first goal wins the cup final. It's the trend in the vast majority of recent cup finals and in virtually all Hibs games this season.

So with that in mind, Jack Ross and his backroom team are going to have to be meticulous in their planning.

Am I correct that Saints play with a front three. Then there's no way we'll play a back three against them. That would be suicidal. So for me, it's the usual back four, with McGregor over Porto.

The other big decision is where to play Boyle. Sometimes, I find, if he plays wide in a front three, the ball doesn't get to him, especially when we play the better more organised teams. Whereas, in a deeper midfield role he ends up have two players (or more) to get past. I would rather he plays wide in a front three, but this needs the right midfield to get the ball to him. Or mix things up and put him more through the middle or onto the left. The great things about Hibs is that we can change things around. Once, we've decided where Boyle plays that dictates who we play and in what formation elsewhere.

For me, we can't play Boyle and Murphy in the same starting eleven, that would leave us too open. Great if we score first, but this is not a game to go behind first.

So, my team? I really don't know. Thank goodness I don't have to pick the team.

Zambernardi1875
22-05-2021, 06:04 PM
What the guy who said that losing the cup final was gutting......aye thats right.

Yeah he was gutted but oh well we came third so everything is fine. Not Surprisingly it’s the usual posters spray gunning these threads with the usual chin up chaos there’s always next year after yet another inept performance in a cup

Max_Shah
22-05-2021, 06:04 PM
Careful what you wish for.

https://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=24748&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1621706382 (https://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=24748&d=1621706382)

Things can only get better.

22-05-2021, 06:07 PM
https://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=24748&stc=1&thumb=1&d=1621706382 (https://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=24748&d=1621706382)

Things can only get better.

Attachment not working.

h1bs4life
22-05-2021, 06:07 PM
Grow up

Grow up , 8th and a trophy anytime.
The usual sitting in there house slating everybody.
Come down to Robbies bar in Leith Walk now with real Hiibs fans and I will buy you a beer.

hibIBZ
22-05-2021, 06:09 PM
Gutted after today. Disappointed, hurting and all the rest. But sacking Ross is not the answer by any stretch. I just don't know what that would achieve. Who is going to take the job on after knowing you'll get punted if you lose to a team people think are lesser.

22-05-2021, 06:11 PM
Gutted after today. Disappointed, hurting and all the rest. But sacking Ross is not the answer by any stretch. I just don't know what that would achieve. Who is going to take the job on after knowing you'll get punted if you lose to a team people think are lesser.

I’d agree with all of that but I do think it’s undone all the good work of third.

He’s now overseen a bottom six finish in one season and third place finish with 3 horrendous Hampden performances thrown in. He needs to deliver from the get go next year imo.

22-05-2021, 06:12 PM
I thought you were able to expand? Come on, you told us you could, so let’s see it.

Why is third the only thing that is worth mentioning in your posts? I’d love to see an expansion of this.

What do you think we get from hibs. This is as good as it gets.

Scotty Leither
22-05-2021, 06:14 PM
Correct on all counts, consistently sets up in big games not to lose and then appears surprised when they lose. A duds dud in big games and appears to have a problem with picking the wrong Plan A, let alone never having a Plan B when things aren’t going well. Wouldn’t give this guy a brass farthing for the rebuild which will be required but the most important signing at the club right now is a new manager because I would bet my house that under Jack Ross, we will never win a piece of silverware, clueless and a proven loser ! Pile in apologists but mediocrity isn’t acceptable, even when we’ve pretty much become used to it !

I hope Ron Gordon is reading this Board tonight, as you've just nailed it, mate.

He could conceivably have won 3 cups this year, but he's crapped it on 3 occasions. Finished 3rd though, so that probably buys him another 2 years in the job.

It’s not as good as it gets, I’ve enjoyed seasons far more in recent memory than this. Lennons 4th or Mowbrays 3rd, for example.

Hibiza
He’s Derek McInnes mark two: solid league position, but eye-bleeding, unimaginative football with zero ambition. I’d rather finish sixth with a squad of players who actually fought for something.

100%

22-05-2021, 06:15 PM

Thats a very poor response. I don’t think Ron would agree with you for starters. And just for clarity I don’t want Jack Ross out.

22-05-2021, 06:15 PM

He’s been very clear about his objectives being bigger than what we’ve achieved this season.

Just_Jimmy
22-05-2021, 06:17 PM
What do you think we get from hibs. This is as good as it gets.nah, 2016 and 2007 were as good as it gets.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

22-05-2021, 06:17 PM

Why should it be as good as it gets, we have an owner who wants a hell of a lot more from us, best of the rest well that's been achieved this season already but Ron will be very disappointed with this loss and also the other cup losses. We need to be 3rd regularly but also winning cups too, this season was a fantastic chance to do that and the team blew it.

22-05-2021, 06:18 PM
I’d agree with all of that but I do think it’s undone all the good work of third.

He’s now overseen a bottom six finish in one season and third place finish with 3 horrendous Hampden performances thrown in. He needs to deliver from the get go next year imo.

We won’t get a better chance than we had this season to win a cup.

22-05-2021, 06:21 PM
Why should it be as good as it gets, we have an owner who wants a hell of a lot more from us, best of the rest well that's been achieved this season already but Ron will be very disappointed with this loss and also the other cup losses. We need to be 3rd regularly but also winning cups too, this season was a fantastic chance to do that and the team blew it.

Also a bit naughty telling someone to **** off if they're not happy.

I honestly think Hibs have more chance of winning a cup if the Old Firm are still involved, we don't handle the favourites tag very well at all.

22-05-2021, 06:22 PM

Yes, don't ever aspire to emulate the achievements of small town clubs like St Johnstone:rotflmao:

22-05-2021, 06:24 PM
I honestly think Hibs have more chance of winning a cup if the Old Firm are still involved, we don't handle the favourites tag very well at all.

I agree, chatting on twitter earlier this morning and I said I hate when we're favourites as we never live up to it.

Coach Jon
22-05-2021, 06:27 PM

You are only happy with Ross because your hero gets a game every week, despite the fact that he disappears at hampden every time.

22-05-2021, 06:30 PM
We won’t get a better chance than we had this season to win a cup.

Thats Just not true. I have heard it too many times before :-)

Scotty Leither
22-05-2021, 06:31 PM
Yes, don't ever aspire to emulate the achievements of small town clubs like St Johnstone:rotflmao:

Aye exactly - if this is a "good as it gets", how can we write off St J winning two cups, and in the process beating us comfortably twice to do so? Is this as good as it gets for them?

How I wish I was St Johnstone...not.

22-05-2021, 06:34 PM
WTF enjoy iit or what . come down to Leith for a beer Look through the window in Robbies 12 of us been in there since 12 still here

You’ve invited a few folk to Robbies now. Do you need a special certificate to get in? Or do you get a special award for being there?

22-05-2021, 06:35 PM

To be honest, scoopyboy, I fail to understand why we were favourites today. Did the bookies not do their homework?

22-05-2021, 06:37 PM
How anyone thought that Ross would win the tactical battle today was severely disillusioned, why would he win that today when he could not do it in the past ? Sorry but he has not got a clue and that performance was an utter embarrassment for the club.

Kaff
I've been sceptical about Jack being our long term answer due to the dull tactics but gradually, albeit very slowly, it was looking like we were getting a little more adventurous as time went on.
Going to Aberdeen to clinch 3rd and playing pragmatic, safe football was totally understandable but this final and previous games against StJ are very worrying.
There has to be a situation where we have to have a plan to break down a team as stuffy and organised as them, I'm in total praise of Saints as its a similar success to us beating one of the old firm in a final but its not acceptable that they have managed to beat us without us laying a glove on them.
I would accept defeat if we'd been foiled by good goalkeeping, bad luck hitting posts or referee decisions, things like that had we pressured and harried them but it was another insipid display where we poke around with safety first football resulting in never getting their defence turned and relying on 2nd balls from defensive clearances, obviously Saints totally aware of this so comprehensively cleared their lines evwrytine and didn't muck about leaving us with the chance of some broken play around the box.
Brutal stuff from the 80s.
I think he picks Irvine and Newell by name rather than their effectiveness in a system or who the opponents are, Hallberg deserved to play after his performances recently and if Murphy was fit for 60 mins he should have started to give us better balance on the wing.
Daz was an absolute nailed on starter as well, total brain fart to make that call and probably the single biggest mistake he made this season

Edit
I think he'll stay and I think he should but there has to be a tangible improvement in the style allied to solid results. If we have a poor start results wise and the performances are still lacklustre then I think he should and will go by January. If we're still strong in the league then it will be a hard decision if we're still as dull as dishwater to watch

If Porteous, Nisbet, Doig an Boyle can bring in good money that is subsequently invested in better players then I’m all for it. They were not the only ones who failed to turn up today but they are the ones angling for a move. Good luck to them. I hope they are a huge success when they move on so that subsequent moves bring us more rewards.

The Captain....
22-05-2021, 06:44 PM
A lot of this one is on the players.

They have looked so overwhelmed it's unreal. An embarrassing effort, totally and utterly abject. Have we won a 2nd ball all day? Players should be bursting a gut in a final. This has been a whimper.

Agreed...they should speak up and admit how much they bottled it today, was an absolutely despicable performance by a squad of players who probably overperformed in getting 3rd place in a ***** league.

Absolutely disgusted by that effort in a national final..pathetic today.

22-05-2021, 06:45 PM
Do you agree there’s a constructive debate to be had, and is being had, in amongst the noise, about Ross? Or why some of us are yet to be fully convinced by Ross? I’ve said all season, while stopping short of wanting him sacked, I wouldn’t lose any sleep if he left to join another team.

I enjoy constructive debate but this thread is as far from that as you can get.

I know that there are people on here that are far more knowledgeable than me about football and I'm happy to read, filter & learn. I also like to think that when I do venture an opinion it's not total crap.

As for Jack Ross, he's only a very weird season and a half into a rebuilding job. We've had a few disappointing and frustrating performances (often half matches) but generally we're becoming more disciplined and with it consistent. For me he definitely merits more time as I think we can continue on the upward curve.

As I said on another thread, had Irvine's chance in the 1st half gone in, nobody would have questioned that we deserved to be in front and we would have seen a totally different match thereafter with possibly a much better outcome.

As it turns out we definitely didn't deserve anything today, but the margins really are that fine.

22-05-2021, 06:45 PM

That wasn't the case today. Players, fans and staff knew fine well how difficult today was going to be. There was very little extra expectation from fans or media. In fact, most of the talk was about St J doing the incredible double.

All the Hibs players had to do was "turn up", apply themselves and let the gods decide.

Hibs players failed to turn up or apply themselves. Would go as far to say they let themselves, the fans and the families down - it was THAT bad. As bad an effort to win the Cup as you're likely to see. There has to be a reason for that.

22-05-2021, 06:47 PM
A few too many shandies? Or did you only start supporting us in June 2016? Cause I've seen Hibs win 3 cups - each season better than this one.

A sobering thought, in my 43 years of watching Hibs live, I've seen 1 SC win, and 2 LC wins = 3 cups.
St Johnstone have won 2 in the last few months, 3 in the 7 years, with two of these being Scottish Cups.

uphallhibby
22-05-2021, 06:47 PM
Keep doing the same things and expect a different result…..definition of madness. Us vs st Johnstone.This exactly, played completely into their hands again

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

pollution
22-05-2021, 06:51 PM
For all that has been said do any of us think that one shot on target is the fault of the manager ?

When it comes down to it , yet again, we are not good enough when we are the so called favourites.

It's a mentality problem that we have had for many managers. We have only ever played once well in a final as underdogs, against Rangers.

I think we are a league - biased side, no longer a cup type team. 18 points above St Johnston after all.

Maybe it is a choice that we have made over many seasons and it has now come home to roost.

I am not judging here, just suggesting we have mutated quietly into a league first team.

sorrow sorrow
22-05-2021, 06:52 PM
Just stop debating about him,just get rid.
I will be shocked if Ron Gordon sticks with him.

22-05-2021, 06:53 PM
For all that has been said do any of us think that one shot on target is the fault of the manager ?

When it comes down to it , yet again, we are not good enough when we are the so called favourites.

It's a mentality problem that we have had for many managers. We have only ever played once well in a final as underdogs, against Rangers.

I think we are a league - biased side, no longer a cup type team. 18 points above St Johnston after all.

Maybe it is a choice that we have made over many seasons and it has now come home to roost.

I am not judging here, just suggesting we have mutated quietly into a league first team.
Our cup record is excellent when compared to most other teams over the last few years. We’ve fallen at the final of semi-final stage a few times since winning it in 2016.

A lot of clubs would love to get as far as we get regularly.

22-05-2021, 06:56 PM

Yes. Playing an imbalanced 442 with Newell slowing the game down hasn’t worked in the previous games against St Johnstone. Why did Ross think more of the same would have a different outcome?

sorrow sorrow
22-05-2021, 06:57 PM
Our cup record is excellent when compared to most other teams over the last few years. We’ve fallen at the final of semi-final stage a few times since winning it in 2016.

Genuinely enjoy your posts as sensible and very fair but we are not playing Celtic or rangers,get him so far away from our club.
Absolute loser mentality

22-05-2021, 06:57 PM
If Porteous, Nisbet, Doig an Boyle can bring in good money that is subsequently invested in better players then I’m all for it. They were not the only ones who failed to turn up today but they are the ones angling for a move. Good luck to them. I hope they are a huge success when they move on so that subsequent moves bring us more rewards.

Sadly, have some sympathy with this view. Problem now is trusting some of these players.

If they can't be bothered turning up for a Scottish Cup Final, and giving their best efforts, you'll always be questioning their motivation/application. Literally no point in them busting a gut to win a quarter final, semi-final, just to crap themselves at the final.

Tommy75
22-05-2021, 06:58 PM

And yet Celtic ended the season without a trophy...

sorrow sorrow
22-05-2021, 07:03 PM
He HAS to go.
Absolute loser ,nice cardigans,nice trousers
We weren’t playing a decent team,total poser and total loser

22-05-2021, 07:04 PM

We’ve also managed to avoid the old firm in draws since then.

Any time we have played against a decent side since 2016 we’ve been beaten.

22-05-2021, 07:05 PM
And yet Celtic ended the season without a trophy...I know - the manager who gets us to the LC semis, the SC final and 3rd place in the league should be binned and replaced by someone who has never even managed. Great idea!

22-05-2021, 07:08 PM

I’m sure they would. Equally, if they put in performances like we have in our last few of those sorts of games, they’d be annoyed too.

22-05-2021, 07:11 PM
I enjoy constructive debate but this thread is as far from that as you can get.

I know that there are people on here that are far more knowledgeable than me about football and I'm happy to read, filter & learn. I also like to think that when I do venture an opinion it's not total crap.

As for Jack Ross, he's only a very weird season and a half into a rebuilding job. We've had a few disappointing and frustrating performances (often half matches) but generally we're becoming more disciplined and with it consistent. For me he definitely merits more time as I think we can continue on the upward curve.

As I said on another thread, had Irvine's chance in the 1st half gone in, nobody would have questioned that we deserved to be in front and we would have seen a totally different match thereafter with possibly a much better outcome.

As it turns out we definitely didn't deserve anything today, but the margins really are that fine.

Can't say I agree with the last paragraph. Although I'm not sure if I'm understanding you - if we definitely didn't deserve anything, how can it also be fine margins? They seem quite contradictory statements.

We've got 4 against them now not winning and not even scoring. That's not fine margins imo and that's what worries me about the manager - I didn't get the feeling he knew how to deal with them. I think the club will back him and that's probably fair. But recruitment needs to be right as we'll play them again 4 times next season at least and we can't just keep doing the same thing again and again.

I just think we're so one dimensional. And the stats when we go a goal down are terrible. I'm not sure from the clubs that Ross has managed if he knows how to do anything differently.

22-05-2021, 07:18 PM
Can't say I agree with the last paragraph. Although I'm not sure if I'm understanding you - if we definitely didn't deserve anything, how can it also be fine margins? They seem quite contradictory statements.

We've got 4 against them now not winning and not even scoring. That's not fine margins imo and that's what worries me about the manager - I didn't get the feeling he knew how to deal with them. I think the club will back him and that's probably fair. But recruitment needs to be right as we'll play them again 4 times next season at least and we can't just keep doing the same thing again and again.

I just think we're so one dimensional. And the stats when we go a goal down are terrible. I'm not sure from the clubs that Ross has managed if he knows how to do anything differently.It's not contradictory at all, that's the thing with fine margins. When that chance fell to Irvine we were well on top and had it gone in we could possibly have gone on to win comfortably with St Johnstone forced to come out. It didn't work out that way and in the end they deserved to beat us.

As for the rest, I don't care.

I'd still rather watch us than them.

Zambernardi1875
22-05-2021, 07:19 PM
I know - the manager who gets us to the LC semis, the SC final and 3rd place in the league should be binned and replaced by someone who has never even managed. Great idea!

Like Callum Davidson

Stokesy's on fire
22-05-2021, 07:19 PM
Jack Ross GTF has never won anything in his career , loser and take Hanlon and Stevenson with you

Agree that Ross should go but how did you manage to bring stevenson into this?

22-05-2021, 07:20 PM
Like Callum DavidsonThe difference is that St Johnstone didn't have a manager when they appointed Davidson. We do.

ionahibby
22-05-2021, 07:21 PM
Have we been knocked out of the euro qualifiers already?

Anybody who thinks we will do anything in Europe needs to take stock. If we can’t beat st Johnstone we won’t beat a 3rd or 4th rate European team.

22-05-2021, 07:21 PM
The fine margins stuff is embarrassing. We had a decent-ish wee spell in the first half. Other than that it was diabolical. To continually lump high balls into their box with the defenders they have is just a lack of leadership/guts/bottle out there on the pitch, call it what you will. If we finished 3rd we should have the ability to break down the likes of St Johnstone. This wasn't another league game, it was a cup final and every outfield player should have done a lot better, not to mention the manager who's decision to leave McGregor out was beyond belief.

Zambernardi1875
22-05-2021, 07:22 PM
The difference is that St Johnstone didn't have a manager when they appointed Davidson. We do.

That wasn’t the point you were trying to make though

22-05-2021, 07:22 PM
I’m sure they would. Equally, if they put in performances like we have in our last few of those sorts of games, they’d be annoyed too.

I’m annoyed as well.

22-05-2021, 07:23 PM
The fine margins stuff is embarrassing. We had a decent-ish wee spell in the first half. Other than that it was diabolical. To continually lump high balls into their box with the defenders they have is just a lack of leadership/guts/bottle out there on the pitch, call it what you will. If we finished 3rd we should have the ability to break down the likes of St Johnstone. This wasn't another league game, it was a cup final and every outfield player should have done a lot better, not to mention the manager who's decision to leave McGregor out was beyond belief.Embarrassing? OK.

Who do people want to replace him? You must have some idea if you want rid of him otherwise it's just pointless lashing out.

There is no one better realistically, and statistically, he's our best manager for years.

Should we just take a punt on someone that's never managed before? or get in someone like Derek McInnes who was just sacked for being so boring its unreal?

That wasn’t the point you were trying to make though

You're post was irrelevant in that case.

St Johnstone didn't have a manager & decided to appoint a rookie (as we've done in the past).

We have a manager that, despite the hysterics on here, is actually doing pretty well and doesn't necessarily need replaced.

22-05-2021, 07:26 PM
Embarrassing? OK.

Yep. If we had played ok and created a few chances then fine. But 2 shots on target. That's dreadful in a cup final against a team well below you in the league.

Tommy75
22-05-2021, 07:26 PM
Like Callum Davidson

Callum Davidson had 7 years experience as an assistant manager though.

22-05-2021, 07:27 PM
Who do people want to replace him? You must have some idea if you want rid of him otherwise it's just pointless lashing out.

There is no one better realistically, and statistically, he's our best manager for years.

Should we just take a punt on someone that's never managed before? or get in someone like Derek McInnes who was just sacked for being so boring its unreal?

First of all, I don’t want Jack Ross sacked.

Secondly, I hate that argument, when the time comes to replace him we have a scouting team who will analyse all potential replacements throughout Europe, just because we might or know a replacement doesn’t mean there won’t be someone out there better.

22-05-2021, 07:28 PM
Yep. If we had played ok and created a few chances then fine. But 2 shots on target. That's dreadful in a cup final against a team well below you in the league.And a goal from the first of those shots on target would have totally changed the game. That's what fine margins are about. I don't see what's embarrassing about the notion.

22-05-2021, 07:28 PM
He is just too negative and doesn’t have a winning mentality. To pose a question at half time if they are going to lose the final are they prepared to do it being dead on their feet. Shouldn’t be talking like that. Terrible performance and not to question what the players put into that game is shocking.

Don’t really care about 3rd places, all we really have a chance of winning is cups. Finishing 3rd vs 4th, don’t really care.

ionahibby
22-05-2021, 07:30 PM

It’s not nonsense it’s called reality.

22-05-2021, 07:30 PM
And a goal from the first of those shots on target would have totally changed the game. That's what fine margins are about. I don't see what's embarrassing about the notion.

Our reaction to losing that goal was embarrassing, no the margins. We offered absolutely nothing, a continual thing this season when going behind.

The Wireless
22-05-2021, 07:31 PM
I've been sceptical about Jack being our long term answer due to the dull tactics but gradually, albeit very slowly, it was looking like we were getting a little more adventurous as time went on.
Going to Aberdeen to clinch 3rd and playing pragmatic, safe football was totally understandable but this final and previous games against StJ are very worrying.
There has to be a situation where we have to have a plan to break down a team as stuffy and organised as them, I'm in total praise of Saints as its a similar success to us beating one of the old firm in a final but its not acceptable that they have managed to beat us without us laying a glove on them.
I would accept defeat if we'd been foiled by good goalkeeping, bad luck hitting posts or referee decisions, things like that had we pressured and harried them but it was another insipid display where we poke around with safety first football resulting in never getting their defence turned and relying on 2nd balls from defensive clearances, obviously Saints totally aware of this so comprehensively cleared their lines evwrytine and didn't muck about leaving us with the chance of some broken play around the box.
I think he picks Irvine and Newell by name rather than their effectiveness in a system or who the opponents are, Hallberg deserved to play after his performances recently and if Murphy was fit for 60 mins he should have started to give us better balance on the wing.
Daz was an absolute nailed on starter as well, total brain fart to make that call and probably the single biggest mistake he made this season

Edit
I think he'll stay and I think he should but there has to be a tangible improvement in the style allied to solid results. If we have a poor start results wise and the performances are still lacklustre then I think he should and will go by January. If we're still strong in the league then it will be a hard decision if we're still as dull as dishwater to watch

What was a huge disappointment for me today was Hibs shape. We started with what looked like a 4-4-2 which was ineffective and finished with it. At Half time it could have easily been tweaked to give our approach a different dynamic. As the game progressed it was crying out for change however we persevered in a system that had Noah’s ark written all over it and eventual defeat.

22-05-2021, 07:31 PM
It’s not nonsense it’s called reality.Not my reality it isn't.

22-05-2021, 07:32 PM
He is just too negative and doesn’t have a winning mentality. To pose a question at half time if they are going to lose the final are they prepared to do it being dead on their feet. Shouldn’t be talking like that. Terrible performance and not to question what the players put into that game is shocking.

Don’t really care about 3rd places, all we really have a chance of winning is cups. Finishing 3rd vs 4th, don’t really care.

To be perfectly honest, no one is going to watch hibs if we consistently finish near the bottom of the league and maybe get relegated, but win a cup once a decade as well.

We have to aim to be the best we can be regardless of the competition or there is no point turning up at all, may as well shut the whole thing down.

22-05-2021, 07:33 PM
And a goal from the first of those shots on target would have totally changed the game. That's what fine margins are about. I don't see what's embarrassing about the notion.

Not sure I agree on the fine margins line. They scored we didn’t. You could argue if we beat a team 5-0 with 5 shots on goal and the opposition also had 5 shots on goal but didn’t score any is fine margins. We had zero quality and no dig about it. We never opened them up, they didn’t have to open us up. They just showed more desire to win the ball and get a cross in. That’s as comfortable a 1-0 win as you can get.

It's not contradictory at all, that's the thing with fine margins. When that chance fell to Irvine we were well on top and had it gone in we could possibly have gone on to win comfortably with St Johnstone forced to come out. It didn't work out that way and in the end they deserved to beat us.

As for the rest, I don't care.

I'd still rather watch us than them.

While I don’t disagree with the margins being fine, there’s only so many times we can chalk things up to fine margins or bad luck. Today might have been different if Irvine had scored, but the more concerning thing for me is what has Jack Ross learned from our struggles against St Johnstone this season? The imbalanced 442 and personnel was simply more of the same unsuccessful tactic as previous games with the same outcome, the performance and struggle rather than the actual result.

I think we’ve only won once this season when we’ve gone behind. We play one way, when something goes against us we seem to fall to bits and are unable to respond.

My worry is that Ross is a bit primitive when it comes to tactics and personnel. We play a certain way, it works more often than not as evidenced by our league position because we have good players, but when something goes against us or it’s not working our plan B is simply more of plan A. Tactics and setting up a midfield will be the undoing of Ross IMO. I think this season will be his peak, but he’ll leave an excellent platform for the next man at some point. Hindsight will show him in a positive light and much like Williamson, he was the right man at the right time to lay the groundwork for the next man to take it on again, like Mowbray did.

Zambernardi1875
You're post was irrelevant in that case.

St Johnstone didn't have a manager & decided to appoint a rookie (as we've done in the past).

We have a manager that, despite the hysterics on here, is actually doing pretty well and doesn't necessarily need replaced.

Accepting mediocrity says more about you than me.

22-05-2021, 07:34 PM

We didn't need fine margins to finish clear 3rd. The last half hour today was like a slow motion nightmare, absolutely dreadful and I hoped the manager might have admitted he'd maybe got it wrong or apologised to the fans for such an abject performance. Anyway enough from me for today.

22-05-2021, 07:36 PM
First of all, I don’t want Jack Ross sacked.

Secondly, I hate that argument, when the time comes to replace him we have a scouting team who will analyse all potential replacements throughout Europe, just because we might or know a replacement doesn’t mean there won’t be someone out there better.

We are talking about replacing a manager here who is statistically one of our best managers ever. So I don't think its unreasonable to ask what it is people want in his replacement.

He lost a cup game, lots of hibs managers lost cup games, lots of good ones.

John Collins won us the league cup and he was an absolute travesty of a manager.

22-05-2021, 07:36 PM
Accepting mediocrity says more about you than me.3rd in the league, LC semi final and SC final in his first full season as manager? That's the sort of mediocrity I'd let him build on.

And you know nothing about me.

22-05-2021, 07:37 PM
To be perfectly honest, no one is going to watch hibs if we consistently finish near the bottom of the league and maybe get relegated, but win a cup once a decade as well.

We have to aim to be the best we can be regardless of the competition or there is no point turning up at all, may as well shut the whole thing down.

That’s an extreme. Top 6 is where we will most likely be. Looking back in years to come. Will people say wow remember that time we finished 3rd, will never forget that season! Will people really remember it over us finishing 4th or 5th?? Winning cups is what people will remember, or unfortunately, remember the ‘what could have been’ if the team put in a decent performance.

22-05-2021, 07:38 PM
That’s an extreme. Top 6 is where we will most likely be. Looking back in years to come. Will people say wow remember that time we finished 3rd, will never forget that season! Will people really remember it over us finishing 4th or 5th?? Winning cups is what people will remember, or unfortunately, remember the ‘what could have been’ if the team put in a decent performance.

Historically we do not consistently finish in the top 6 never mind top 4, so I am not sure why people expect this as 'normal'.

I remember all the seasons we finished 3rd, its been 4 times in my entire life and I am 38 years old.

22-05-2021, 07:39 PM
We didn't need fine margins to finish clear 3rd. The last half hour today was like a slow motion nightmare, absolutely dreadful and I hoped the manager might have admitted he'd maybe got it wrong or apologised to the fans for such an abject performance. Anyway enough from me for today.

It was awful and to be honest I haven't looked at or listened to any post match stuff.

The Wireless
22-05-2021, 07:40 PM
If you play anyone in a cup final other than Celtic or Rangers you have a better chance of winning it. We failed today and there can be no argument. We did not have better players than them and why I will leave that one with Hibs guys who know better than I do. I find this unacceptable and feel sickened just now.

Our reaction to losing that goal was embarrassing, no the margins. We offered absolutely nothing, a continual thing this season when going behind.

Absolutely agree Ross has neither the tactical skills or Leadership skills to in-still in the team a never say die attitude, absolutely inept today and still could have been playing without posing any goal threat.

I don’t think he is the one to take us any further, a nearly but not quite close enough Manager and the football is poor, he only got away with it this year because they didn’t have to play before a crowd at ER

We are talking about replacing a manager here who is statistically one of our best managers ever. So I don't think its unreasonable to ask what it is people want in his replacement.

John Collins won us the league cup and he was an absolute travesty of a manager.

It is unreasonable as we wouldn’t be the ones replacing him.

I don’t want him sacked but hypothetically speaking it’s still a ***** point.

22-05-2021, 07:43 PM
Absolutely agree Ross has neither the tactical skills or Leadership skills to in-still in the team a never say die attitude, absolutely inept today and still could have been playing without posing any goal threat.

I don’t think he is the one to take us any further, a nearly but not quite close enough Manager and the football is poor, he only got away with it this year because they didn’t have to play before a crowd at ER

i shouted at one point in the Percy, Heckingbottom out! Says it all.

May21/05/216
22-05-2021, 07:45 PM
When Ross took over we were in 8th now we finish 3rd in the league and some folk want rid I get people hurting from today's defeat but getting rid of Ross should and hopefully won't happen I would take finishing 3rd and getting to more finals and hopefully win one

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

22-05-2021, 07:46 PM
It is unreasonable as we wouldn’t be the ones replacing him.

I don’t want him sacked but hypothetically speaking it’s still a ***** point.

Lots of people do want him sacked though, for finishing 3rd with our most wins in a premier league season and the latter stages of both cups, something we basically never do.

If we are to recruit a manager that should be able to surpass this then we are asking them to be challenging for the league and winning both cups, which is basically an unrealistic ask for any manager with our budget and squad size.

Silky

He was! Stats always get chucked about here, often to boot folk in the baws. You're right in that statistically he is one of the best bosses. Personally, as hurt as I am, I don't want to go through another transition; another manager clearing the decks and starting again, another manager who is under pressure as soon as he loses his first Derby, gets pumped out the cup. An then, guess what, the door revolves again!
Let's just build on what we have.

Two sides to this argument. Statistically one of our best managers during an unprecedented time. Does that mean he has done fantastic? Hard to tell, only fair way to tell is give him time when fans are back. If fans are back next season and we have a slow start, queue Heckingbottom-esque boos at ER. People don't want the credit stolen from Jack Ross but seem to be happy to ignore that we had relatively easy runs in the cups until the latter stages, seem to be happy to ignore Aberdeen being awful after the turn of the year and happy to ignore Hearts not being in the top league.

So, statistically our best manager hasn't had to win derbies, hasn't had to play the same solid robust Aberdeen we've known for years and hasn't had fans on his back in the stadium. Hence, statistics cannot be read into too much, either way. He'll win over the fans or he'll be gone. Slow start next season or bad results in the derbies and goodbyes will be happening pronto, that's just the facts based on what we've seen so many times.

The Wireless
22-05-2021, 07:48 PM

Edit

What was a huge disappointment for me today was Hibs shape. We started with what looked like a 4-4-2 which was ineffective and finished with it. At Half time it could have easily been tweaked to give our approach a different dynamic. As the game progressed it was crying out for change however we persevered in a system that had Noah’s ark written all over it and eventual defeat.

Callyballybe
22-05-2021, 07:49 PM
I genuinely feel that coming 3rd this year doesn't cut it.
I'm fully aware of the fact that we don't do this often, but with the position we put ourselves in, we could've made this one of our best seasons in living memory. Yet, we're here debating what could've been.

First time in a significant while that the old firm haven't been in the semi finals of either domestic cup. We've put ourselves in a good position, and yet, St Johnstone of all teams have done the double. We should've done better in my eyes, and this season can and should be viewed as a missed opportunity.

22-05-2021, 07:49 PM
Lots of people do want him sacked though, for finishing 3rd with our most wins in a premier league season and the latter stages of both cups, something we basically never do.

If we are to recruit a manager that should be able to surpass this then we are asking them to be challenging for the league and winning both cups, which is basically an unrealistic ask for any manager with our budget and squad size.

Unless your a St. Johnstone fan of course........

22-05-2021, 07:52 PM
Two sides to this argument. Statistically one of our best managers during an unprecedented time. Does that mean he has done fantastic? Hard to tell, only fair way to tell is give him time when fans are back. If fans are back next season and we have a slow start, queue Heckingbottom-esque boos at ER. People don't want the credit stolen from Jack Ross but seem to be happy to ignore that we had relatively easy runs in the cups until the latter stages, seem to be happy to ignore Aberdeen being awful after the turn of the year and happy to ignore Hearts not being in the top league.

So, statistically our best manager hasn't had to win derbies, hasn't had to play the same solid robust Aberdeen we've known for years and hasn't had fans on his back in the stadium. Hence, statistics cannot be read into too much, either way. He'll win over the fans or he'll be gone. Slow start next season or bad results in the derbies and goodbyes will be happening pronto, that's just the facts based on what we've seen so many times.

The league we are in is the league we are in. Just put caveats on everything in that case.

Rangers won the league but Celtic were dismal this season and Aberdeen didn't challenge either so their league title is tainted and not a real league title because everyone else wasnt at their best.

You generally finish above teams because they are worse than you.

People just don't like Jack Ross and are looking for any excuse to be able to justify that. Today was a massive failure for him as a manager and us as a team, and now Jack Ross basically has to win the cup or league to convince these people he is not a bad manager.

22-05-2021, 07:52 PM
this thread epitomised everything wrong with our support. as i've said on here before, it's this crap that has prompted managers to use us against our own team, knowing that we'll turn on our players if they frustrate us long enough.

anyone who is not drunk but genuinely thinks that sacking Ross is a sensible idea is a deluded moron, who's 'support' would be much better suited to those across the city. i really hope those who feel this way take it upon themselves to stop coming to ER, because they are utterly counter productive, and detract from our club.

in short, go away. :aok:

ionahibby
22-05-2021, 07:53 PM

Hanlon needs to move on but we played better when Stevenson came on imo.

22-05-2021, 07:53 PM
I genuinely feel that coming 3rd this year doesn't cut it.
I'm fully aware of the fact that we don't do this often, but with the position we put ourselves in, we could've made this one of our best seasons in living memory. Yet, we're here debating what could've been.

First time in a significant while that the old firm haven't been in the semi finals of either domestic cup. We've put ourselves in a good position, and yet, St Johnstone of all teams have done the double. We should've done better in my eyes, and this season can and should be viewed as a missed opportunity.

Rangers were in the semi final, they lost to the team that beat us in the final.

22-05-2021, 07:54 PM
Rangers were in the semi final, they lost to the team that beat us in the final.

You sure?