View Full Version : Hibs fans at the Scottish Cup Final

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]

14-05-2021, 06:29 PM
It was around about 5pm yesterday that the announcement that 600 would be allowed in was made aye? Did no one in the government which gave permission forsee this, despite all the talk about cases in Glasgow over the last 48 hours or so?

Yep Glasgow's been well over the threshold for level 2 for a while now. Nothing's changed in the last 24 hours.

14-05-2021, 06:30 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210514/ffdaf1632922925ca412f8c08dafccd3.jpg

At this stage of the lockdown and at the very end of the football season, perhaps it's just best to wait until next season before allowing any fans to return. We've come this far; I don't blame the government taking a cautious approach. These are difficult decisions, which will always meet some opposition either way. We are where we are I suppose.

Which is fair enough if they had maintained that stance all along but to yesterday announce there would be fans there and 24 hours later do a turn is a joke. It’s not as if the increase in cases in Glasgow wasn’t known when they made the decision to allow fans. And I fail to see how going to a football match is any more of a risk than going to a supermarket.

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210514/ffdaf1632922925ca412f8c08dafccd3.jpg

Seems sensible

Chorley Hibee
It was around about 5pm yesterday that the announcement that 600 would be allowed in was made aye? Did no one in the government which gave permission forsee this, despite all the talk about cases in Glasgow over the last 48 hours or so?

That's the problem I have with this farce.

It's completely unfathomable that they could accede to a request for tickets yesterday, whilst also being in possession of data that showed this would be impossible to proceed with.

14-05-2021, 06:31 PM

It's completely unfathomable that they could accede to a request for tickets yesterday, whilst also being in possession of data that showed this would be impossible to proceed with.

:agree: And these people are running the country, absolutely frightening.

14-05-2021, 06:32 PM

Everybody knew that Glasgow should remain in level 3.
Why not move the game to a level 2 location

14-05-2021, 06:32 PM
This just serves to highlight how much we need a roadmap in how we're going to get fans back at football next season and how little confidence I have in those in charge to achieve that... or that they even have any interest in it whatsoever.

Yup. I fully expect we’ll have no more than 25% capacity start of next season.

14-05-2021, 06:33 PM
This just serves to highlight how much we need a roadmap in how we're going to get fans back at football next season and how little confidence I have in those in charge to achieve that... or that they even have any interest in it whatsoever.

Yup - I’m sure some fans are holding off buying ST also as they are unsure what’s next.

Rangers fans will be out celebrating tomorrow and massive IF Hibs do win..I would expect Easter Road and Leith Links to be very busy with fans celebrating.

Chorley Hibee
14-05-2021, 06:34 PM
The bottom of the article clearly explains why the 600 figure was arrived at.

Unless I'm going mad, I don't see Amy explanation for the 600 figure? It states at 2m distancing a figure of 4/5k should have been arrived at.

Everybody knew that Glasgow should remain in level 3.
Why not move the game to a level 2 location

Everyone knew but half the folk on here were advocating for thousands of people to go.

MunsterHibee
I'm really trying my best to be positive and optimistic about crowds in stadiums come the start of the new season but realistically what percentage will be left in come July 31st??? It's two and a half months away and significant numbers more should be vaccinated by then. Would 25% be too optimistic???

Sent from my SM-A515F using Tapatalk

14-05-2021, 06:35 PM

Agreed. I get that this entire 14 month period has been one big 'moving picture', but we're far more attuned to the day-to-day changes than we were last year. An oversight like this really isn't justifiable.

14-05-2021, 06:35 PM
Can we still do a ballot to see who can get a ticket to not go?

14-05-2021, 06:36 PM
As some have said this has turned into shambolic proportions. Hopefully someone will get a grip soon and let us know what will occur.

It is what it is folks and it’s understandable to me. I see no point in getting upset about something I have no control over. Maybe do yourself a favour and let it go?

It will be interesting to see how any gatherings of blue knuckle drag gets will be dealt with tomorrow after their title presentation.:wink:

G15 Hibs
Everything everywhere is subject to changing circumstances.

Nothing in Glasgow's changed over the last 24 hours though. It was over the threshold then and still is now. Unless they were expecting a sudden and dramatic drop (which they weren't, I'm being facetious) then why give permission in the first place?

14-05-2021, 06:37 PM

Look what you could have won!!

14-05-2021, 06:38 PM
Which is fair enough if they had maintained that stance all along but to yesterday announce there would be fans there and 24 hours later do a turn is a joke. It’s not as if the increase in cases in Glasgow wasn’t known when they made the decision to allow fans. And I fail to see how going to a football match is any more of a risk than going to a supermarket.

Yes, it's far from ideal, a baws up, but what can we do? I understand it's better to be cautious at this stage, then we can look forward to having some fans at games next season.

Chorley Hibee
14-05-2021, 06:40 PM
My concern is that this shambles is setting the tone for the months ahead.

There should be full stadiums at the start for the season but there clearly won’t be.

They will be on about some new variant then and we’ll be discussing what pitiful amounts we are allowed in stadiums.

The over cautious approach showing a real lack of willingness to get people back into stadiums in decent numbers is a real concern for me.

This attitude from the Scottish Government isn’t changing any time soon.

This has been my fear for a while now.

I don't believe we'll be playing before substantial crowds this year, and these paltry figures attending games will continue for the foreseeable.

I genuinely fear any return to 'normality' remains a long, long way off, if it ever returns at all.

14-05-2021, 06:40 PM
Look what you could have won!!

A speedboat? Whit the **** am I gonnae dae wae that, ye daft basturt?

14-05-2021, 06:42 PM
And it’s their fault in what way? I am not happy but this has f all to with the Scottish Government

So who has cocked it up? The Scottish Government must accept the blame for this shambles.

I think the idea of running the final with 600 in attendance was a total disgrace.

What brain deranged idiot came up with 600? I will bet that had it happened the 600 would have all been in two stands and the South Stand Upper Tier would have been closed. What sort of 'social distancing' requires a 51,866 capacity to stadium to be restricted to 600? We are being run by lunatics!

Closed doors, I can can understand but 600? Well it is not an issue now as it is obviously far too dangerous to have one seat in 86 occupied at Hampden.

Anyone who says that is a decision made on the basis of science is lying!

Chorley Hibee
14-05-2021, 06:43 PM
And what will will happen to theEuro’s if Glasgow is still in level 3. ?

They'll make it up as they go along.

UEFA stipulated fans would attend or they'd take the games elsewhere. We're about to see how money dictates Government health guidelines.

14-05-2021, 06:45 PM
All went wrong when the SFA broke a decades long stance by actually bowing to fans pressure.

14-05-2021, 06:45 PM
This has been my fear for a while now.

I don't believe we'll be playing before substantial crowds this year, and these paltry figures attending games will continue for the foreseeable.

I genuinely fear any return to 'normality' remains a long, long way off, if it ever returns at all.

They can expect plenty of riots and protests if they keep it up. No danger everyone will stand for these restrictions much more.

14-05-2021, 06:46 PM
Common sense decision at last. :thumbsup:

Now let’s get on and win the cup and enjoy it wherever we are.:aok::flag:

14-05-2021, 06:48 PM
Bit confused as to why people are so raging that they said 600 fans could attend for 24 hours.

14-05-2021, 06:49 PM
So who has cocked it up? The Scottish Government must accept the blame for this shambles.

I think the idea of running the final with 600 in attendance was a total disgrace.

What brain deranged idiot came up with 600? I will bet that had it happened the 600 would have all been in two stands and the South Stand Upper Tier would have been closed. What sort of 'social distancing' requires a 51,866 capacity to stadium to be restricted to 600? We are being run by lunatics!

Closed doors, I can can understand but 600? Well it is not an issue now as it is obviously far too dangerous to have one seat in 86 occupied at Hampden.

Anyone who says that is a decision made on the basis of science is lying!We never had a 51k stadium

We had at most a 10k stadium

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

14-05-2021, 06:50 PM

UEFA stipulated fans would attend or they'd take the games elsewhere. We're about to see how money dictates Government health guidelines.

Robbo6-2
Said it many times the contradiction throughout this whole process is what hurts the most.

We were told we were in lockdown yet construction and manufacturing continued with thousands of people travelling to sites all around the country daily.

Sport in general has been hit hard. Your still not allowed to go and watch your child play football yet, places are rammed with folk all over the country. Anyone walked down Porty prom recently? Someone tell me how that is no different to walking to a game.

The announcement was made yesterday that 600 fans could go, 24 ****ing hours later its pulled. Seriously how incompetent is this? Yet people still defend the decisions they make.

So sad and frustrating.

Bit confused as to why people are so raging that they said 600 fans could attend for 24 hours.Especially since it's highly likely that the SFA were warned that today's announcement was possible, if not probable.

Paul1642
They can expect plenty of riots and protests if they keep it up. No danger everyone will stand for these restrictions much more.

Not sure about riots but I think that once we are mostly vaccinated remaining support for restrictions will plummet.

14-05-2021, 06:51 PM
Not sure about riots but I think that once we are mostly vaccinated remaining support for restrictions will plummet.

The majority i know have been ignoring them for a while.

14-05-2021, 06:52 PM
The wrong two teams got to the final.

There was never any Hibs or St Johnstone fans going to be allowed to attend this.

Juniper Greens
14-05-2021, 06:53 PM

Anyone who says that is a decision made on the basis of science is lying!

Uefa were only willing to release half of 1 stand for the match. That's where the 600 came from

14-05-2021, 06:53 PM
Sometimes you just have to laugh.

I mean that to. From not actually making any effort to have fans until less than 2 weeks before the game, to getting permission for 100 more than would have been permissable anyway to cancelling that again a day after announcing it. It's genuinely laughable.

You can moan, scream and shout but it won't change anything. Another chapter in the bonkers world of Scottish football.

14-05-2021, 06:54 PM
Said it many times the contradiction throughout this whole process is what hurts the most.

We were told we were in lockdown yet construction and manufacturing continued with thousands of people travelling to sites all around the country daily.

Sport in general has been hit hard. Your still not allowed to go and watch your child play football yet, places are rammed with folk all over the country. Anyone walked down Porty prom recently? Someone tell me how that is no different to walking to a game.

The announcement was made yesterday that 600 fans could go, 24 ****ing hours later its pulled. Seriously how incompetent is this? Yet people still defend the decisions they make.

So sad and frustrating.

I agree . I’ve said this loads the rules don’t match up, can be 300 folk in a shop but can’t let 50 folk in a pub ?

14-05-2021, 06:54 PM
Bit confused as to why people are so raging that they said 600 fans could attend for 24 hours.

Because thousands more should be able to attend.

As is being proven down south across various events.

Robbo6-2
14-05-2021, 06:55 PM

It's not the number,its the fact they continually do things like this.
Go and ask the players, I bet they are all absolutely gutted that none of there families are able to watch now. Josh Doigs parents get to see their son play for first time in first team and then bang, pulled again. Its terrible

14-05-2021, 06:56 PM
The only sensible option is to keep all areas in level 3 except Falkirk and hold the final at the Falkirk Stadium meaning only Falkirk based Hibs and St Johnstone fans will be able to attend.

Get it done Hibs.

Possibly the only situation that could lead to me entering a bubble and becoming carer for my partner’s bonkers wee granny who stays in Carronshore.

14-05-2021, 06:58 PM
Can we no just commandeer Murrayfield on the grounds that football's waaay more important than rugby?

14-05-2021, 07:01 PM
sometimes you just have to laugh.

I mean that to. From not actually making any effort to have fans until less than 2 weeks before the game, to getting permission for 100 more than would have been permissable anyway to cancelling that again a day after announcing it. It's genuinely laughable.

You can moan, scream and shout but it won't change anything. Another chapter in the bonkers world of scottish governance.
ftfy

14-05-2021, 07:02 PM
Possibly the only situation that could lead to me entering a bubble and becoming career for my partner’s bonkers wee granny who stays in Carronshore.
I lived in Carronshore for 6 months and that was enough for me lol.....

DJ HIBBY
14-05-2021, 07:02 PM

It would seem there are many on here so risk adverse and utterly blind to the fact that this will continue for many more months to come. Anyone who thinks that in only just over 2 months time come the new season we will all be sitting in Easter road is kidding themselves. Given that clubs are still able to screen their games next season on club channels suggests to me next season will be very limited in fan attendance. There is no road-map for crowds to return to normal numbers and let’s not forget that is for Scottish clubs main income. We may possibly have a fair few European games at Easter road and a lot of disappointed fans who won’t be allowed to attend

14-05-2021, 07:03 PM
It's not the number,its the fact they continually do things like this.
Go and ask the players, I bet they are all absolutely gutted that none of there families are able to watch now. Josh Doigs parents get to see their son play for first time in first team and then bang, pulled again. Its terrible

Truly devastating. I’ll get the NHS workers dealing with people catching the Indian variant to have a whip round for josh doigs parents

This will be Jason Leitch' decision as he seems to be the go to guy for the media when it comes to sporting matters.

Poor stuff.

Yes, it's far from ideal, a baws up, but what can we do? I understand it's better to be cautious at this stage, then we can look forward to having some fans at games next season.

I’ve no issue with cautious, but it’s gone way beyond that IMO. I fail to see what the risk is in 600 people travelling in their cars through to Glasgow to sit 2 metres apart in the outdoors for a couple of hours. I’d hazard a guess that number or more travel through for work each day. The bigger concern for me is it doesn’t fill me with confidence that we’ll get many fans at games next season if we continue with this over cautious approach.

Robbo6-2
14-05-2021, 07:06 PM
Truly devastating. I’ll get the NHS workers dealing with people catching the Indian variant to have a whip round for josh doigs parents

Your missing the point

14-05-2021, 07:08 PM

Are there a lot of them dealing with it? Needs to be a decent number to get a decent collection. They’ll probably only put a pound or 2 in each.

It’ll be interesting to see what they spend it on.

14-05-2021, 07:16 PM
Can we no just commandeer Murrayfield on the grounds that football's waaay more important than rugby?

Whatever the rugby is could we not have offered them Easter Road for it?

Either that or the cup be played at Murrayfield the next day? (Or would they say it wouldn't be good for the pitch?)

14-05-2021, 07:19 PM
I’ve been thinking on it and I’ve changed my mind.

It’s only fair that AST holders get tickets for the final before anyone else.

14-05-2021, 07:20 PM
I’ve been thinking on it and I’ve changed my mind.

It’s only fair that AST holders get tickets for the final before anyone else.

Naebody is getting a ticket.

14-05-2021, 07:22 PM
Naebody is getting a ticket.

oh really?

oh really?

Haven't you read the last ten pages, mate? :greengrin

Largshibby

Down south isn't run by the control freaks we have up here.

MunsterHibee
14-05-2021, 07:24 PM
Just seen on Sky Sports News that Scotland fans have been allocated 2,655 tickets for the England v Scotland game at Wembley. I understand certain people are very cautious etc but there's going to have to come a time when enough is enough. The vaccination programme is being rolled out and come even the start of the new season which is 2 and a half months away even a larger number will be vaccinated. Those at serious risk and the most vulnerable will already have been protected. People need to understand that just because there's cases doesn't mean these are very serious cases either. Those most at risk will have already been fully vaccinated and alleviating pressure of the health service. We need a plan going forward on how to live our everyday lives with this virus because it's not going to dissappear there will always be cases this year, next year and years after that. We have to get back to normal as much as possible.

14-05-2021, 07:25 PM
I’ve no issue with cautious, but it’s gone way beyond that IMO. I fail to see what the risk is in 600 people travelling in their cars through to Glasgow to sit 2 metres apart in the outdoors for a couple of hours. I’d hazard a guess that number or more travel through for work each day. The bigger concern for me is it doesn’t fill me with confidence that we’ll get many fans at games next season if we continue with this over cautious approach.

We won’t have decent numbers in start of next season. Absolutely no chance imo. It’s an absolute farce.

MunsterHibee
14-05-2021, 07:26 PM
Down south isn't run by the control freaks we have up here.I can't get my head around it. Scotland fans given 2,655 tickets for Wembley yet they won't even allow 600 people into Hampden next week. It's ok for Scotland fans to travel down to England in large numbers and back up home but 300 hibs fans can't go 30 minutes down the road to Glasgow.

14-05-2021, 07:28 PM
Down south isn't run by the control freaks we have up here.

You certainly won’t find me blowing smoke up the ***** of anyone at Westminster.

I think the Scottish government has got a lot right during this pandemic. The route map out of it though is pathetic.

ehf
14-05-2021, 07:34 PM

:agree: cash will always trump control-freakery.

14-05-2021, 07:34 PM
At least we don't have to listen who is the most deserving set of supporters anymore and can all concentrate on the game

14-05-2021, 07:36 PM
At least we don't have to listen who is the most deserving set of supporters anymore and can all concentrate on the game

That’s a nice thought but I doubt it. Few more days of acting like this is the worst thing to happen during coronavirus yet. Suppose it keeps the cup final nerves at the back of the mind in the meantime.

14-05-2021, 07:37 PM
Whatever the rugby is could we not have offered them Easter Road for it?

That's a really good idea.

ABZHFC
14-05-2021, 07:40 PM
Don’t say I didn’t warn you. And it will go on, and on, and on, and on, until we reject incrementalist nonsense and demand full stadiums (as it absolutely should be once July rolls around)

h1bs4life
14-05-2021, 07:42 PM

So sad and frustrating.

The Scottish Government have no interest in football , the rules even for parents watching there kids play are ridiculous .
There is no appetite for getting crowds back into stadiums despite the success of the vaccine nothing.
The Indian variant was about before the election but never mentioned it was also well known that Glasgow had a higher infection rate than the average yet they let everyone think it was going to level 2 on Monday which encouraged SFA to ask for crowds for the final and also got the hospitality trade through there to spend thousands on stock , food for the big opening on Monday only for the rug to be pulled from under the feet again at the last minute.
The only surprise this time is that they are not keeping Edinburgh in level 3 just in case the weegies come here.
There is a couple of sticky buns fans who I work with who are both heading to George Square tomorrow for a title party.

14-05-2021, 07:44 PM
Didn’t say I didn’t warn you. And it will go on, and on, and on, and on, until we reject incrementalist nonsense and demand full stadiums (as it absolutely should be once July rolls around)

Loving your work on this thread 😃

14-05-2021, 07:46 PM
It’s been the mother of all ticket fiascos - I’ve missed them!

14-05-2021, 07:47 PM
Duane have you cancelled the bus?

14-05-2021, 07:51 PM
But hospitality is still available yeh?

gaz1875
14-05-2021, 07:56 PM
You certainly won’t find me blowing smoke up the ***** of anyone at Westminster.

I think the Scottish government has got a lot right during this pandemic. The route map out of it though is pathetic.

What have they got right that no other part of the UK have done?

14-05-2021, 07:58 PM
This will be Jason Leitch' decision as he seems to be the go to guy for the media when it comes to sporting matters.

Poor stuff.

The Glasgow covid positive test average of 71 per 100,000 are based on the daily cases 4th to 10th May .

The case numbers condemning Glasgow to remain in level 3 would have been known four days ago.

Why were fans ever considered to be allowed .

14-05-2021, 08:02 PM

To be fair that doesn’t mean they didn’t get it right.

The Scot Gov dealt with the pandemic fairly well imo but the last few months have been all over the shop,

14-05-2021, 08:02 PM
The Glasgow covid positive test average of 71 per 100,000 are based on the daily cases 4th to 10th May .

The case numbers condemning Glasgow to remain in level 3 would have been known four days ago.

Why were fans ever considered to be allowed .

Why are they still using case numbers as the determining factor when it’s no longer anywhere near the risk it was previously due to the most vulnerable being vaccinated? That should be the real questions.

14-05-2021, 08:05 PM

I think when the pandemic was at its worst they generally acted quicker.

I may be wrong with this but I don’t think they promoted the eat out to help out promotion when we were still on the middle of a pandemic with no vaccine?

They didn’t award multi million pound contracts to their pals.

They showed a human side by offering a payment to NHS staff (even if it was flawed)

They wanted to close the borders before England did too, unfortunately had limited powers to do so, it also would have been pointless unless England and sales did it too.

I appreciate this part of the discussion is for the holy ground and I’m sure I’ll have got parts of the above wrong. I’m no politician, I’m just trying to stress that my criticism of the Scottish governments route out of the pandemic isn’t coming from a political angle.

I like this Scottish government (most, not all the time) but I think they’re a shambles here and quite honestly look out their depth dealing with it IMO.

MunsterHibee
14-05-2021, 08:05 PM
Why are they still using case numbers as the determining factor when it’s no longer anywhere near the risk it was previously due to the most vulnerable being vaccinated? That should be the real questions.Made this exact point today twice on this thread. Cases don't necessarily mean serious disease or death as the most vulnerable and those most at risk are fully vaccinated hence decreasing deaths and hospitalisations. Very frustrating when people are using cases as if each case is a very serious illness. It's not. Those people most at risk of becoming seriously ill are already fully vaccinated. Cases are being used to justify continued lockdowns.

Gordy M
14-05-2021, 08:07 PM
Why are they still using case numbers as the determining factor when it’s no longer anywhere near the risk it was previously due to the most vulnerable being vaccinated? That should be the real questions.

Because the vaccination was meant to make transmission a lot more difficult, not impossible, but less likely. When you then get a spike, you have to find out why, just in case this new spike is more resistant etc. Thats why.... i think.

14-05-2021, 08:08 PM
The Scottish Government have no interest in football , the rules even for parents watching there kids play are ridiculous .
There is no appetite for getting crowds back into stadiums despite the success of the vaccine nothing.
The Indian variant was about before the election but never mentioned it was also well known that Glasgow had a higher infection rate than the average yet they let everyone think it was going to level 2 on Monday which encouraged SFA to ask for crowds for the final and also got the hospitality trade through there to spend thousands on stock , food for the big opening on Monday only for the rug to be pulled from under the feet again at the last minute.
The only surprise this time is that they are not keeping Edinburgh in level 3 just in case the weegies come here.
There is a couple of sticky buns fans who I work with who are both heading to George Square tomorrow for a title party.

F****** idiots

14-05-2021, 08:09 PM
Made this exact point today twice on this thread. Cases don't necessarily mean serious disease or death as the most vulnerable and those most at risk are fully vaccinated hence decreasing deaths and hospitalisations. Very frustrating when people are using cases as if each case is a very serious illness. It's not. Those people most at risk of becoming seriously ill are already fully vaccinated. Cases are being used to justify continued lockdowns.

Yuup, lockdowns should have been to protect vulnerable, they’re now protected as much as they will be. Let the rest of us loose. We’re all big and ugly enough to make our own decisions.

14-05-2021, 08:11 PM
Because the vaccination was meant to make transmission a lot more difficult, not impossible, but less likely. When you then get a spike, you have to find out why, just in case this new spike is more resistant etc. Thats why.... i think.

Because many haven’t been vaccinated yet, so of course cases will still be there. Those cases don’t necessarily translate into hospitalisation and deaths, in fact are very unlikely to. The vaccine reduces transmission but doesn’t kill it completely, therefore cases should never be the measure anymore. In fact, I’d go as far as to say young, healthy people should no longer be wasting their time by getting themselves tested.

14-05-2021, 08:12 PM
Just seen on Sky Sports News that Scotland fans have been allocated 2,655 tickets for the England v Scotland game at Wembley. I understand certain people are very cautious etc but there's going to have to come a time when enough is enough. The vaccination programme is being rolled out and come even the start of the new season which is 2 and a half months away even a larger number will be vaccinated. Those at serious risk and the most vulnerable will already have been protected. People need to understand that just because there's cases doesn't mean these are very serious cases either. Those most at risk will have already been fully vaccinated and alleviating pressure of the health service. We need a plan going forward on how to live our everyday lives with this virus because it's not going to dissappear there will always be cases this year, next year and years after that. We have to get back to normal as much as possible.

In a couple of months time, almost all adults will have had 1 dose and the vulnerable will be fully vaccinated. Things will be much calmer.

We are on the last lap but not quite there yet.

MunsterHibee
Yuup, lockdowns should have been to protect vulnerable, they’re now protected as much as they will be. Let the rest of us loose. We’re all big and ugly enough to make our own decisions.I agree tbh. Like I said even when the vast majority of people are fully vaccinated there's still going to be cases. Theres no full cure for the virus. We have to have a plan to live with it and move on and live our lives. Once the most vulnerable are protected then open society up.

Because many haven’t been vaccinated yet, so of course cases will still be there. Those cases don’t necessarily translate into hospitalisation and deaths, in fact are very unlikely to. The vaccine reduces transmission but doesn’t kill it completely, therefore cases should never be the measure anymore. In fact, I’d go as far as to say young, healthy people should no longer be wasting their time by getting themselves tested.

Are you an epidemiologist

K-Zazu
14-05-2021, 08:13 PM
Why do cases matter?

MunsterHibee
14-05-2021, 08:13 PM
In a couple of months time, almost all adults will have had 1 dose and the vulnerable will be fully vaccinated. Things will be much calmer.

We are on the last lap but not quite there yet.I really hope so mate. It's two and a half months until the new season starts so there will be a huge chunk of the population vaccinated by then.

14-05-2021, 08:14 PM

Dentist

Gordy M
14-05-2021, 08:16 PM

Yes but the transmission was going down rapidly then all of a sudden it then starts to go up again, you have to try and investigate what, where and why? Surely.

14-05-2021, 08:18 PM
Yes but the transmission was going down rapidly then all of a sudden it then starts to go up again, you have to try and investigate what, where and why? Surely.

Yes, they started to open places back up again. Exactly as the dentist described, yet when it happens **** hits the fan. It’s common sense.

14-05-2021, 08:19 PM

Do you need to be? The dentist himself told us all this scenario would happen, and that was fine, yet when it does happen he freaks out and shuts everything down. Just like last year he told us we’d have to live with it once the most vulnerable were vaccinated, well guess what, that’s been done so let’s live with it.

14-05-2021, 08:19 PM

In terms of deaths, which are the ultimate stat you can’t fudge.

NI - 113
Scot - 140
Wal - 176
Eng - 199

Deaths per 100k population.

England’s death rate is 40% higher than ours and mostly that’s due to tighter restrictions after an equally bad start in the first wave.

14-05-2021, 08:20 PM
Bit of a joke really. Guess there will be no rangers fans out and about tomorrow.

14-05-2021, 08:21 PM
That's a really good idea.

I do sometimes surprise myself and come up with a good idea now and then. I couldn't even find what it is that's on at Murrayfield on the 22nd so it can't be that big an event that couldn't be moved to Easter Road without too much difficulty. Probably too much of a hassle for the GFA to try and organise though.

Gordy M
14-05-2021, 08:21 PM
Yes, they started to open places back up again. Exactly as the dentist described, yet when it happens **** hits the fan. It’s common sense.

But it hasnt, its happened in small pockets, hence why some areas are 1, some 2 and some 3. The one in Glasgow is apparently the same outbreak as India, which was never been here before. Surely you have to make sure its not an issue? Its spreading when all the other areas are reducing.

gaz1875
14-05-2021, 08:22 PM
I think when the pandemic was at its worst they generally acted quicker.

I may be wrong with this but I don’t think they promoted the eat out to help out promotion when we were still on the middle of a pandemic with no vaccine?

They didn’t award multi million pound contracts to their pals.

They showed a human side by offering a payment to NHS staff (even if it was flawed)

They wanted to close the borders before England did too, unfortunately had limited powers to do so, it also would have been pointless unless England and sales did it too.

I appreciate this part of the discussion is for the holy ground and I’m sure I’ll have got parts of the above wrong. I’m no politician, I’m just trying to stress that my criticism of the Scottish governments route out of the pandemic isn’t coming from a political angle.

I like this Scottish government (most, not all the time) but I think they’re a shambles here and quite honestly look out their depth dealing with it IMO.

Of course you can believe what you like with the above and I could counter of these.

I do agree with the latest shambles part. Before today's decision you could sit in a bar 1m apart but in an open air stadium you need to sit 2m apart. This is down to the shear hatred of football and the fans she has.

AugustaHibs
14-05-2021, 08:23 PM
Whilst America have announced people who are vaccinated can now go back to normal life we are ****ting the bed over 600 people in a football stadium

14-05-2021, 08:23 PM

NI - 113
Scot - 140
Wal - 176
Eng - 199

England’s death rate is 40% higher than ours and mostly that’s due to tighter restrictions after an equally bad start in the first wave.

How did a farcical cock up by the sfa and scottish government turn into a bash the english?

gaz1875
14-05-2021, 08:25 PM

NI - 113
Scot - 140
Wal - 176
Eng - 199

I'm not fudging anything.

Where did you get these from?

14-05-2021, 08:26 PM
Of course you can believe what you like with the above and I could counter of these.

I do agree with the latest shambles part. Before today's decision you could sit in a bar 1m apart but in an open air stadium you need to sit 2m apart. This is down to the shear hatred of football and the fans she has.

I thought that too for a while. It’s annoyed me for ages that football fans are treated like **** in this country.

The flip side to that though is that football rules are surely in line with other industries that rely on crowds. Rugby, horse racing, cinemas, theatres (although I know the last two aren’t the same with them being indoors)

14-05-2021, 08:26 PM
Can you imagine the tears and snotters if we'd had time for a ballet.

14-05-2021, 08:29 PM

Very cultured.

14-05-2021, 08:30 PM
Whilst America have announced people who are vaccinated can now go back to normal life we are ****ting the bed over 600 people in a football stadium

Where I live there are no restrictions in going to eateries or anywhere else. Masks in schools are optional from June 1st. No one asks if you've been vaccinated. In short life is pretty much normal and still no fleets of ambulances picking up the dead and dying. Funny thing that.....

14-05-2021, 08:30 PM

We should still have it :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

14-05-2021, 08:31 PM

Not my thing, though I don't mind a bit of opera.

14-05-2021, 08:32 PM

Swan Lake please but as long as it's the Madness version 😁

14-05-2021, 08:33 PM
I'm not fudging anything.

Where did you get these from?

Didn’t say you did. Merely pointing out that Ni is best, followed by Scotland, Wales and England worst. You asked what Scotgov got right. It has kept people here safer, but not as safe as NI.

source - https://www.travellingtabby.com/uk-coronavirus-tracker/

14-05-2021, 08:37 PM

Wimbledon vs MK Don's style? Anyone running a bus?

gaz1875
14-05-2021, 08:42 PM
I thought that too for a while. It’s annoyed me for ages that football fans are treated like **** in this country.

The flip side to that though is that football rules are surely in line with other industries that rely on crowds. Rugby, horse racing, cinemas, theatres (although I know the last two aren’t the same with them being indoors)

Your right, horse racing is even more unbelievable given the small numbers for the less attractive meetings, where only a few hundred if that turn up to watch live. Probably all down to the better not allow it, the football fans will be giving the what about them. Maybe my cynicism is higher than usual just now :greengrin

14-05-2021, 08:47 PM
Wimbledon vs MK Don's style? Anyone running a bus?
I know a few folk who are not running a bus, more importantly.

14-05-2021, 08:48 PM
A colleague has just sent me a video of maybe 120 Rangers fans on a flight from Belfast to Glasgow tonight having a sing song as they are taking off.

Can someone please explain to me why we are not allowed 300 fans at Hampden?

gaz1875
14-05-2021, 08:49 PM
Where I live there are no restrictions in going to eateries or anywhere else. Masks in schools are optional from June 1st. No one asks if you've been vaccinated. In short life is pretty much normal and still no fleets of ambulances picking up the dead and dying. Funny thing that.....

I have friends in OK and they have been doing pretty much the same as before the pandemic, they do wear masks in shops etc and spacings are larger than normal in restaurants but I don't recall them sitting at home for months on end.

14-05-2021, 08:50 PM
How did a farcical cock up by the sfa and scottish government turn into a bash the english?

Because we’re Scottish it’s what we dae. No trying to brag but we’re really good at it too ( at least in our world we are ).

K-Zazu
14-05-2021, 08:52 PM
Delete thread

14-05-2021, 08:55 PM
A colleague has just sent me a video of maybe 120 Rangers fans on a flight from Belfast to Glasgow tonight having a sing song as they are taking off.

Can someone please explain to me why we are not allowed 300 fans at Hampden?

One has absolutely nothing to do with the other.

14-05-2021, 08:55 PM
How did a farcical cock up by the sfa and scottish government turn into a bash the english?Surley it was a response to the question what did the scot gov get right during the pandemic?

14-05-2021, 08:56 PM
Surley it was a response to the question what did the scot gov get right during the pandemic?

Is that getting something right? Just simply being better than someone who got it more wrong? It’s hardly a decent table to be sitting second of.

14-05-2021, 08:57 PM
Because we’re Scottish it’s what we dae. No trying to brag but we’re really good at it too ( at least in our world we are ).

It did seem completely out of context on what is normally an apolitical football forum. This is a total balls up by both the sfa and scottish government.

14-05-2021, 08:57 PM
I have friends in OK and they have been doing pretty much the same as before the pandemic, they do wear masks in shops etc and spacings are larger than normal in restaurants but I don't recall them sitting at home for months on end.
Vast majority of restaurants here don't even have mask required signs up any more and a growing number aren't making their staff wear them.

14-05-2021, 09:00 PM
Is that getting something right? Just simply being better than someone who got it more wrong? It’s hardly a decent table to be sitting second of.It's about as close a comparison as we can get though, isn't it?

Id certainly rather be 40% up than 40% down

Ofcourse you could check the figures against our European neighbours for a Larger comparison

14-05-2021, 09:00 PM
Is that getting something right? Just simply being better than someone who got it more wrong? It’s hardly a decent table to be sitting second of.

But you accept Scotland did better? Go on....

14-05-2021, 09:02 PM
It did seem completely out of context on what is normally an apolitical football forum. This is a total balls up by both the sfa and scottish government.

I agree it’s a balls up from start to finish.

14-05-2021, 09:04 PM
But you accept Scotland did better? Go on....

There’s a difference between being second of four in a pitiful table of how many deaths were overseen, and the government getting things right. I’ve no doubt they got some things right, but this is probably the worst way to make that point.

14-05-2021, 09:05 PM
People using the US as an example of how to do things when there’s 600,000 dead

14-05-2021, 09:05 PM
I'm not sure why they didn't just cancel it earlier

Its basically no skin off my nose as I fully expected 0 fans to begin with

In the end its a whole lot of angst about numbers allowed and ballots and who's a more uber fan and deserving

End of the day, let's just win the bloody thing

gaz1875
14-05-2021, 09:06 PM
Didn’t say you did. Merely pointing out that Ni is best, followed by Scotland, Wales and England worst. You asked what Scotgov got right. It has kept people here safer, but not as safe as NI.

source - https://www.travellingtabby.com/uk-coronavirus-tracker/

Thanks for the link, I usually look at the Worldometer website. I noticed Southern Ireland has even less than NI. England's major cities took a battering early doors similar to other major worlds cities. We were fortunate not to have as many overcrowded areas otherwise who knows where our figures would have ended up.

14-05-2021, 09:06 PM

Yeah mate the MSM said so so it must be true right enough.

14-05-2021, 09:08 PM

NI - 113
Scot - 140
Wal - 176
Eng - 199

Cant fudge death figures ? Take a look at the Scottish figure with covid given as a cause on the death certificate.

That shows Scottish death rate of 185 per 100k

malcolm
14-05-2021, 09:09 PM

Being polite that is pretty daft :wink:. The issue with the newest Indian variant is perhaps simply its transmissibility with it being estimated to be maybe 50% more transmissible due to a mutation on the spike protein. It may not have a second mutation that makes it less likely to evade the vaccine generated antibodies and it may not be more likely to cause death and serious illness. All good but a blasé we are all right jack attitude allows for greater transmission making the emergence of new variants of greater concern more likely.

It may well be something that we have to live with and enjoy catch up alterations to vaccine. But for society to be safe as a starting point we need to have driven levels down to a low level and have vaccinated a greater number of the population. Testing asymptomatic younger adults is not a waste of time if it identifies infectious folk and limits the spread further. I hope this variant is swapping greater transmission for less illness and death and that, if so, it out competes any other variants. Unsubstantiated hope is not with relying on but my wishful thinking is that things will be very different come August.

The in out in out turn it all about performance of the govt to attendances and the inept advance negotiations by the the SFA on the planned use of its own stadium have been bizarre and unwelcome but in the end for the final a not unexpected outcome has been reached.

Yet unless I’m mistaken, less per million than the UK?

Yeah mate the MSM said so so it must be true right enough.

Wait what? Are you saying 600,000 people didn’t die in the US. It’s just some media conspiracy?!

14-05-2021, 09:10 PM
I agree it’s a balls up from start to finish.

Totally. Few would disagree. Hopefully put this farce behind us in the days ahead and come a week saturday we'll be celebrating lifting the Cup.

gaz1875
14-05-2021, 09:10 PM

The death toll is higher. but not higher per head of population as the UK.

14-05-2021, 09:12 PM
Is that getting something right? Just simply being better than someone who got it more wrong? It’s hardly a decent table to be sitting second of.https://www.statista.com/statistics/1111779/coronavirus-death-rate-europe-by-country/

Iceland8.12
Norway14.4
Finland16.75
Cyprus38.36
Denmark43.01
Malta84.49
Estonia90.88
Netherlands100.21
Ireland100.34
Germany102.18
Greece102.84
Austria114.25
Latvia115.21
Luxembourg130.64
Sweden138.54
Lithuania144.76
Romania149.55
Liechtenstein151.13
France158.81
Portugal165.36
Spain168.09
Croatia184.07
Poland184.43
United Kingdom191.46
Italy203.5
Belgium214.55
Slovakia221.1
Slovenia221.87
Bulgaria241.84
Czechia278.98
Hungary293.6

14-05-2021, 09:13 PM
https://www.statista.com/statistics/1111779/coronavirus-death-rate-europe-by-country/

Iceland8.12
Norway14.4
Finland16.75
Cyprus38.36
Denmark43.01
Malta84.49
Estonia90.88
Netherlands100.21
Ireland100.34
Germany102.18
Greece102.84
Austria114.25
Latvia115.21
Luxembourg130.64
Sweden138.54
Lithuania144.76
Romania149.55
Liechtenstein151.13
France158.81
Portugal165.36
Spain168.09
Croatia184.07
Poland184.43
United Kingdom191.46
Italy203.5
Belgium214.55
Slovakia221.1
Slovenia221.87
Bulgaria241.84
Czechia278.98
Hungary293.6

So the UK are one of the worst in Europe? As expected, it’s been a ****show all round.

14-05-2021, 09:16 PM
So the UK are one of the worst in Europe? As expected, it’s been a ****show all round.We are as a group of nations. Altho taking the deaths per 100k of each country they would be spread out through that 'league table'

Caversham Green
14-05-2021, 09:16 PM

Presumably the final score would be tutu.

gaz1875
14-05-2021, 09:17 PM
Vast majority of restaurants here don't even have mask required signs up any more and a growing number aren't making their staff wear them.

To be fair the restaurants in the States are massive compared to here. Still we would end up with a 4m spacing rule if they were just to piss everyone off, unless of course you don't want a bevy with your food it would be reduced to 3m!!

14-05-2021, 09:18 PM
Presumably the final score would be tutu.https://thespie.com/digital/dive-scottish-ballet-website/3031

Martin Boyle inspired

14-05-2021, 09:19 PM
Think this thread has run its course now. Politics discussions are in the Holy Ground where there’s already a very long coronavirus thread.