View Full Version : Hibs fans at the Scottish Cup Final

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8

14-05-2021, 10:15 AM
I would email the SFA regarding that.

Maybe something that has been overlooked and you may land lucky.

I'm torn. I usually go with 3 others and although 1 of them would be able to accompany me to the game it's unlikely we would all get a ticket.

As it stands we have all arranged to watch it together in the house.

I'm not sure how I would feel going if the other 2 can't go.

14-05-2021, 10:15 AM
You don't think that those who go every week should be recognised. That is loyalty which should be a two way street

To be fair no one has been anywhere this season so it’s probably fair enough that AST’s are not prioritised.

14-05-2021, 10:16 AM
You reckon someone who chooses not to go is as loyal as someone who goes every week. Gies peace
What if they’d love to go every week, but once they’ve fed themselves, taken care of the family, paid the car and mortgage they canny afford to? Or they’re at work or the wife’s working and they’ve got the kids to look after? Does that make them less of a fan? No everyone is a singleton or a 21 year old living at home with hundreds of quid of spare cash every weekend all to themselves, I had this attitude years back but soon grew out it when I started doing callouts at work , got a house and a car and I can tell you for a fact I love Hibs no less now than I did at the time when I never missed a game home or away for about seven seasons solid.

Usually find myself agreeing with your posts, but that’s nonsense. Hibs are repaying the loyalty of all of of us who’ve pledged hundreds of pounds to the club for a season ticket for which we never had any hope of using to attend the football this year and I can’t see how anyone can say that’s unfair.

14-05-2021, 10:16 AM
I'm 100% in ballots for Hibs tickets. A veteran of Stenhousemuir 1995.

14-05-2021, 10:17 AM
The club have done this the fairest way possible in my opinion, they have been put in a ridiculous position where they are going to piss off 99% of the support whatever they do.

Yep, completely agree.

ABZHFC
14-05-2021, 10:18 AM
Same way all the loyalty points discussions went.

That scheme might have stood a chance if it hadn’t been turned into an ‘I’m the best fan ever and deserve to be recognised and rewarded forever for it’ scheme instead.

It operates just fine under those exact principles at so many other clubs who have a clamour for away tickets at big games, both in Scotland, England, and abroad. It's the fans in our support who buy a season ticket to attend 19 home games and then expect to have the same chance of a Tynecastle/Ibrox brief as those who buy the same season ticket but then also go to every other away game that ensured the scheme stood no chance, especially with their nonsense about threatening not to renew as it 'devalued' their season ticket

The only way a child ticket is drawn is if the holder or parent applied.

Obviously. My question is what happens in that case?

As others have posted the logistically simplest solution is that Hibs don't allow under 18s to register for the ballot, but until Hibs announce those details it's an open question.

(I'm not intending this as criticism of the club – there's no ideal solution – I'm just wondering how it'll be handled. I'm not getting a ticket in any case so it's academic from my point of view.)

No doubt the ones that have been at home games this season will be given tickets. That's fair huh

Plenty doubt.

Yuillsy
14-05-2021, 10:20 AM
What if they’d love to go every week, but once they’ve fed themselves, taken care of the family, paid the car and mortgage they canny afford to? Or they’re at work or the wife’s working and they’ve got the kids to look after? Does that make them less of a fan? No everyone is a singleton or a 21 year old living at home with hundreds of quid of spare cash every weekend all to themselves, I had this attitude years back but soon grew out it when I started doing callouts at work , got a house and a car and I can tell you for a fact I love Hibs no less now than I did at the time when I never missed a game home or away for about seven seasons solid.

Usually find myself agreeing with your posts, but that’s nonsense. Hibs are repaying the loyalty of all of of us who’ve pledged hundreds of pounds to the club for a season ticket for which we never had any hope of using to attend the football this year and I can’t see how anyone can say that’s unfair.Spot on. Perfect post!!

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Jay
14-05-2021, 10:21 AM
Yes, that's how I think it will work. But what happens when a parent and their 8-year-old child both want to go, so both apply for the ballot, but only the child is drawn out? The kid can't go by themselves, so Hibs either have to assign two tickets or none.

My guess is that itll be over 18s eligible for a ticket.

Caversham Green
14-05-2021, 10:22 AM
The club have done this the fairest way possible in my opinion, they have been put in a ridiculous position where they are going to piss off 99% of the support whatever they do.

TBH I don't think they have pissed off 99% of the support - it's the people who decided an allocation of 600 fans was a good idea that have done that. A few fans who feel they should have been given priority will be pissed off at the club but most others will realise they're making the best of a terrible situation.

14-05-2021, 10:23 AM
Imagine genuinely believing you have more of a right to a ticket cos you’ve got an away season ticket. Away games attended this season? None. What’s it left you out of pocket? Nowt.

Plus, even in a normal season an away season ticket makes Hibs nae money.

It’s laughable really.

Totally agree.

14-05-2021, 10:24 AM
No even going to bother, we've just decided to make a day of it in the house, get some drinks and food ordered and hopefully watch the team win the cup.

TheGreenMan
I want a live stream of the draw with Stubbsy and Rod Stewart pulling the names out the hat or it's rigged! 😁

To be fair no one has been anywhere this season so it’s probably fair enough that AST’s are not prioritised.

Yep, hard to prioritise people that went to away games this season when those people don't actually exist.

Personally, I'd prioritise all Leprechauns first, followed by The Loch Ness Monster, Big Foot and The Easter Bunny.

I did consider Santa Claus but I only got socks for Christmas so he can do one..

14-05-2021, 10:27 AM
I'm interested to know what is the available space

I've read sections were released but I've not read anywhere we were given the whole stand - they should justify the decision

Would asking for 2k at 1.5m distance indicate we had the whole stand?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

I've been wasting time this morning trying to work this out since no one from the SFA or government has bothered to explain the decision properly.
There can only be a small portion of the ground available, say the lower main stand. If that's four or five thousand, then I can see where 600 comes from with 2m distance.
North Stand will probably be off limits since it will be getting cabled up and reconfigured to accommodate all the media for the Euros. Upper main stand might be getting tarted up for corporate cronies.
But I've not seen an explanation for why the other two ends can't be used... People would be less angry if they were up front with the logic behind the decision-making but it seems the SFA are content to say we tried for 2,000 so it's not our fault.

Kaff
14-05-2021, 10:28 AM
Obviously. My question is what happens in that case?

As others have posted the logistically simplest solution is that Hibs don't allow under 18s to register for the ballot, but until Hibs announce those details it's an open question.

(I'm not intending this as criticism of the club – there's no ideal solution – I'm just wondering how it'll be handled. I'm not getting a ticket in any case so it's academic from my point of view.)

I think this will happen but flies in the face of Government guidelines for everything else, under 12s count as household but not in overall numbers.
The under 12s could legitimately be entered in the draw and if the win then an appropriate adult from the same household can accompany them without affecting the transmission potential in the stadium.
The ballot application could state that under 12s can apply if they have an adult ST holder in the same household, this wouldn't affect anyone else's % chance of winning in the ballot.
I know this won't happen because the Government don't want to help make it the best situation possible in the circumstances.

I do have an 11yr old ST holder in the house so I am saying this from a biased point of view but it's how we've been living for the last 14 months under guidance of the government, shame the kids miss out as they ignore previous rulings and especially as everything is opening up.

14-05-2021, 10:29 AM
I've been wasting time this morning trying to work this out since no one from the SFA or government has bothered to explain the decision properly.
There can only be a small portion of the ground available, say the lower main stand. If that's four or five thousand, then I can see where 600 comes from with 2m distance.
North Stand will probably be off limits since it will be getting cabled up and reconfigured to accommodate all the media for the Euros. Upper main stand might be getting tarted up for corporate cronies.
But I've not seen an explanation for why the other two ends can't be used... People would be less angry if they were up front with the logic behind the decision-making but it seems the SFA are content to say we tried for 2,000 so it's not our fault.

Agree if that genuinely is the reason it should be explained properly

14-05-2021, 10:29 AM
Plenty doubt.

What you on about

14-05-2021, 10:30 AM

Hmph, I ended up in the ice rink!

Must be my turn....

14-05-2021, 10:31 AM
We have the scenario of someone who never travels to away games being picked out in the ballot. Laughable

No one has been to any away games this season! I don’t know you but you are coming across as very selfish and entitled! What we are doing is the fairest thing to do this season IMO.

Zambernardi1875
14-05-2021, 10:32 AM
Give all the tickets to players families, staff and even the Hibs kids that got released during lockdown

Anyone who gets one - enjoy the day.

Helensburghhibs
The away season ticket is proving a controversial one. I go to 80-90 percent of away games due to where I live the ones when I don't attend are usually the popular ones, livi, tynecastle, this is where I make the choice to not be guaranteed a ticket. To assume people who don't have an ast don't go to away games or show loyalty when the only people who benefit from it are the individuals is a dangerous path to go down

14-05-2021, 10:33 AM
Imagine genuinely believing you have more of a right to a ticket cos you’ve got an away season ticket. Away games attended this season? None. What’s it left you out of pocket? Nowt.

Plus, even in a normal season an away season ticket makes Hibs nae money.

It’s laughable really.

This. This right here!!!

Yep, I suspect you're right. 1 in 40 then :greengrin

The last time I was in a ballot for Hibs tickets was yonks ago, it was for a cup game against Cowdenbeath in 1993 I think. Anyway, I got a ticket for that one so hopefully I haven't used up all my luck!

That's the one I'm thinking about.

Radge70

I bought a ticket for that when they announced it had been switched to Murrayfield but when I got there I had to watch it on TV in an ice rink.

No one has been to any away games this season! I don’t know you but you are coming across as very selfish and entitled! What we are doing is the first thing to do this season IMO.

Yes I'm selfish for following hibs around the globe, and looking for a ticket

14-05-2021, 10:34 AM
I wonder if you’ll be able to enter the ballot in pairs - so you go with someone you know, rather than just individual tickets.

I think loads of folk would love a ticket if they could go with a mate/son/daughter/parent but wouldn’t want to go on their own.

I hope that’s part of the entry conditions - if you’re picked out and have named a companion, both get tickets.

Yes I'm selfish for following hibs around the globe, and looking for a ticket

You’ve sat on your couch all season, don’t talk pish

Kaff

Absolutely, obviously more likely not to get a ticket but hope that whoever is lucky enough to go has a good time

14-05-2021, 10:35 AM
As others have said, the clubs are on a hiding to nothing. Good luck to those waiting for the draw. Here's hoping that we all have something to celebrate a week tomorrow.

14-05-2021, 10:35 AM
You’ve sat on your couch all season, don’t talk pish

Clown

14-05-2021, 10:36 AM
I wonder if you’ll be able to enter the ballot in pairs - so you go with someone you know, rather than just individual tickets.

I think loads of folk would love a ticket if they could go with a mate/son/daughter/parent but wouldn’t want to go on their own.

I hope that’s part of the entry conditions - if you’re picked out and have named a companion, both get tickets.

If they don’t do something like this it’s going to be an administrative nightmare.

Folk won’t want to just write off the possibility of going with their family etc but the chances of 2 people getting tickets are slim. There could be loads of folk picked who don’t take up the option based on having to go alone.

As long as both are season holders 2 per ballot winner makes perfect sense.

Juniper Greens
I wonder if tickets will have to be used by the named individual. For instance, if you knew someone desperate to go as they missed out in 2016, would you be able to give them your ticket?
I suspect for track and trace etc, they will be IDing on the door

14-05-2021, 10:37 AM

Well said.

I'd love to be there. It is what it is though. If I get a ticket I'll be ecstatic, if I don't I'll still enjoy the day and hope those who do get to go do likewise.

14-05-2021, 10:37 AM
Clown

Only clown here is you mate! No one has gone to any games this season. In a normal season I’d agree with you but everyone of us has sat at home this season. Get over it.

14-05-2021, 10:38 AM
The away season ticket is proving a controversial one. I go to 80-90 percent of away games due to where I live the ones when I don't attend are usually the popular ones, livi, tynecastle, this is where I make the choice to not be guaranteed a ticket. To assume people who don't have an ast don't go to away games or show loyalty when the only people who benefit from it are the individuals is a dangerous path to go down

:agree: An AST doesn’t suit me, but I’ll go to away games as often as I can - definitely not as many as a load of other folk, but more than a handful a season (obviously not this season).

Sean’s post on this thread is excellent as well.

I have sympathy for people in Baldy’s position, there’s no question of his commitment to watching Hibs and I can understand the fear of missing out, but i think in this situation everyone’s making/made sacrifices and usual rules don’t apply.

14-05-2021, 10:38 AM

I hope that’s part of the entry conditions - if you’re picked out and have named a companion, both get tickets.I heard the singing section have been allocated 50 seats together.

14-05-2021, 10:39 AM
Are people genuinely throwing their toys out the pram over who gets priority? You'd think the last 15 or so months would put things in perspective

Kaff
14-05-2021, 10:40 AM
Clown

The club has run a scheme, which costs money to administer, to make your life easier following all the games you're fortunate enough to attend.
They've cut out any stress for you chasing up small allocation games and for an absolute one off game in a season like no other you're going to chuck your toys out of the pram if you don't get preference above 12000 other fans who have paid and watched the same football as you this season.
You need to have a think about things tbh

14-05-2021, 10:40 AM
As long as both are season holders 2 per ballot winner makes perfect sense.

:agree: that would need to be a condition.

seanshow
14-05-2021, 10:41 AM

So minus players/hospitality that's 230 Cup final tickets between ( I'm going to estimate 7000 will register to be in the ballot)

... Hoping to Win two golden tickets together might be a tad optimistic. :cb

14-05-2021, 10:41 AM
Are people genuinely throwing their toys out the pram over who gets priority? You'd think the last 15 or so months would put things in perspective

Yes it’s pathetic.

14-05-2021, 10:42 AM
Yep, I suspect you're right. 1 in 40 then :greengrin

The last time I was in a ballot for Hibs tickets was yonks ago, it was for a cup game against Cowdenbeath in 1993 I think. Anyway, I got a ticket for that one so hopefully I haven't used up all my luck!

Stenhousemuir, wasn't it? I got one

14-05-2021, 10:42 AM
The club has run a scheme, which costs money to administer, to make your life easier following all the games you're fortunate enough to attend.
They've cut out any stress for you chasing up small allocation games and for an absolute one off game in a season like no other you're going to chuck your toys out of the pram if you don't get preference above 12000 other fans who have paid and watched the same football as you this season.

I'm not chucking my toys out of the pram. AST wouldn't have worked due to shortage of tickets.

Fortunate to attend, really?

Kaff
14-05-2021, 10:44 AM
Just email from Hibs and got excited, but it's push for renewals!! :na na:

If there was a loyalty system this would be straightforward. The away season ticket was brought in to partially replace a loyalty points system and ensure those who go to every game get a ticket. For some unknown reason, it’s not applying to this game. BF is right and I don’t see why someone who has a season ticket and never goes to away games should be treated the same as someone who literally goes to every game.

Stenhousemuir, wasn't it? I got one

Yes, I corrected myself further on.

14-05-2021, 10:45 AM
No even going to bother, we've just decided to make a day of it in the house, get some drinks and food ordered and hopefully watch the team win the cup.

That's what I'm hoping 11,000 other people decide to do on Monday. :greengrin

hibby rae
14-05-2021, 10:46 AM
Tbh if Hibs sought our thoughts on donating them to key workers, or to underprivilged families, I'd be all for that.

I'd think it would be a really great thing to do.

14-05-2021, 10:46 AM
I know it’s not been announced but does anyone think a requirement of being able to attend would be having valid photo id ?

14-05-2021, 10:47 AM
https://twitter.com/hfctalk/status/1393144812128309248?s=21

14-05-2021, 10:47 AM
I know it’s not been announced but does anyone think a requirement of being able to attend would be having valid photo id ?

Imagine so, as a track and trace system maybe

14-05-2021, 10:48 AM
Tbh if Hibs sought our thoughts on donating them to key workers, or to underprivilged families, I'd be all for that.

I'd think it would be a really great thing to do.

Yea so would I.

Then you come on here and get people crying over why they deserve a ticket more than others

Ought to give themselves a shake

14-05-2021, 10:48 AM
If there was a loyalty system this would be straightforward. The away season ticket was brought in to partially replace a loyalty points system and ensure those who go to every game get a ticket. For some unknown reason, it’s not applying to this game. BF is right and I don’t see why someone who has a season ticket and never goes to away games should be treated the same as someone who literally goes to every game.

“those who go to every game get a ticket”

Everyone has been to the same amount of games this season.

14-05-2021, 10:49 AM
That's what I'm hoping 11,000 other people decide to do on Monday. :greengrin

Good luck!

I hope those who get the chance have a great day.

Helensburghhibs

What about someone who goes to as many away games as them but chooses not to have an ast for personal reasons? The ast was not to replace the loyalty scheme, it was an option to make things easier for the supporters who wanted it.

Imagine so, as a track and trace system maybe

That was my concern, hopefully my out of date passport would suffice, if not I won’t be going in the ballot.

14-05-2021, 10:50 AM
That was my concern, hopefully my out of date passport would suffice, if not I won’t be going in the ballot.

I'm not saying it is the case, but you would think there would be something about ID, and not transferring tickets etc.

14-05-2021, 10:51 AM

Correct. Especially when Hibs have done it in the fairest possible way!

14-05-2021, 10:52 AM
I hope it's made very clear that you shouldn't enter the ballot unless you're certain that you can go. We don't want any seats left empty.

How will you tell? [emoji1787]

Well said.

No one has been to any away games this season! I don’t know you but you are coming across as very selfish and entitled! What we are doing is the fairest thing to do this season IMO.

You’ll probably find the same people who bumped their gums about loyalty points are the one’s feeling a sense of entitlement as AST🤔 There’s clear commercial reasons why season ticket holders are prioritised over walk ups.......that’s where any entitlement should begin and end.

I imagine an out of date passport would be ok for ID purposes as long as the picture looked enough like your current appearance.

14-05-2021, 10:53 AM

Your point about someone who doesn’t/rarely goes to away games but has a season ticket is part of the reason the loyalty scheme was stopped as some fans were contacting LD saying they wouldn’t renew their season tickets if having one didn’t give them the chance of tickets for games at Tynecastle.

Kaff
14-05-2021, 10:53 AM
I'm not chucking my toys out of the pram. AST wouldn't have worked due to shortage of tickets.

Unless you think it's a duty or a hardship to attend the games then of course you're fortunate, I can't get to many games but they cost me about £300 per match so everyone I count myself fortunate to be able to do so and able to afford it compared to someone else.

14-05-2021, 10:54 AM
I imagine an out of date passport would be ok for ID purposes as long as the picture looked enough like your current appearance.

Fingers crossed, Game wouldn’t accept it when I was trying a trade in ! I still look as bad now as when the passport photo was taken :greengrin

14-05-2021, 10:55 AM
Unless you think it's a duty or a hardship to attend the games then of course you're fortunate, I can't get to many games but they cost me about £300 per match so everyone I count myself fortunate to be able to do so and able to afford it compared to someone else.

I've sacrificed a lot in my life to do what I do. Doesn't make me fortunate

Jay
14-05-2021, 10:56 AM

Were the ASTs actually confirmed this season? I've heard conflicting stories.

I hope whoever gets to go sees us lifting the cup and relishes the moment. We are all hibbys after all. :flag:

Magpie
14-05-2021, 10:58 AM
ID checks and negative covid tests I assume will be required if recent football matches with supporters are anything to go by.

14-05-2021, 10:59 AM

This kind of chat come up now and again.

Some folk who go to away games make out as though it's a sacrifice or a duty they're fulfilling. They forget that its actually a game of football they're getting to watch.

To suggest that they are more entitled now is pure selfishness on their part. No one else matters apart from them apparently!

14-05-2021, 11:01 AM

Some folk who go to away games make out as though it's a sacrifice or a duty they're fulfilling. They forget that its actually a game of football they're getting to watch.

To suggest that they are more entitled now is pure selfishness on their part. No one else matters apart from them apparently!

Imagine going to every game, how selfish

14-05-2021, 11:02 AM
I've sacrificed a lot in my life to do what I do. Doesn't make me fortunate

Fwiw it’s worth I sympathise with guys like you, which includes one of my mates, who go every week, who will miss out. I’d almost rather there had been no fans allowed at all, up until a few weeks ago I think most of us had accepted that would be the case. Even keeping the tickets for players and staff as I’d originally stated would no doubt have meant some of the fans with “connections” would have managed to get themselves one.

Eh? I never said that.

I've been to the same number of games as you this season. Why do you think you're more important than me?

bringbackbenny

Usually find myself agreeing with your posts, but that’s nonsense. Hibs are repaying the loyalty of all of of us who’ve pledged hundreds of pounds to the club for a season ticket for which we never had any hope of using to attend the football this year and I can’t see how anyone can say that’s unfair.

Great post and your circumstances up until recently mirrored mine. Only in recent years that I've had the spare cash to restart the season ticket, I hardly missed a home or away game up to my late 20's and then other priorities kicked in.

Good luck to all who enter the ballot, the club are making the best of a really difficult situation so lets stick together and hope those who make it get to see the right result on the day!!

14-05-2021, 11:03 AM

We’ve all been to every game available to us this season.

Provided the ‘proportion’ thing is not excessive, I think the club have got the allocation correct. I’ll be putting myself and the wee man in the draw and hoping for the best. [emoji1696]
And I don’t care if someone who bought a cheaper ticket than me or goes to less games than me gets a ticket. So long as they are season ticket holders then it’s all good.[emoji106]

Fwiw it’s worth I sympathise with guys like you, which includes one of my mates, who go every week, who will miss out. I’d almost rather there had been no fans allowed at all, up until a few weeks ago I think most of us had accepted that would be the case. Even keeping the tickets for players and staff as I’d originally stated would no doubt have meant some of the fans with “connections” would have managed to get themselves one.

Thanks, Yip be better with no tickets.

14-05-2021, 11:05 AM

Sarcastic comments like this come about when there are no toys left in the pram.

Get a grip of yourself, you are a good poster but you're showing yourself up here.

ABZHFC
14-05-2021, 11:08 AM
Eh? I never said that.

I've been to the same number of games as you this season. Why do you think you're more important than me?

This argument would be more of a slam dunk if in other seasons, where some fans objectively did go to far more games than others, they were met with 'we're all season ticket holders!!!!' when they dared to try and question why the club fails to have a loyalty points system that ensures its most regular, match-going fans are given first dibs at tickets for games at Tynie and Ibrox.

In 2018, there was a ridiculous situation where I, and quite a few of my pals, had been to every home and away game bar our trip to Molde before we played Hearts at Tynecastle on Halloween, yet were left having to beg for tickets because around 1,000 to 1,500 season ticket holders who virtually never leave the Lothian region for an away day are given just as much right to the mad online scramble for them.

Nearly every other club of our size has a working, fair loyalty points system and their fans accept it. So this argument that 'well we have all been to the same number of games this season!' may look like smart boxing, but let's just remember it next campaign when we go back to the silly scrambles for 900 briefs at Ibrox

14-05-2021, 11:08 AM
Sarcastic comments like this come about when there are no toys left in the pram.

Get a grip of yourself, you are a good poster but you're showing yourself up here.

I'm showing my emotion. But I'm not throwing toys out of pram. I'm posting in relation to how I feel, but it won't change anyones opinion. We all have an opinion, rightly or wrongly, it's called freedom of speech.

I'm a selfish, self entitled bloke, so I will bow out now, and leave the discussions there.

14-05-2021, 11:14 AM

Good balanced post this ....

14-05-2021, 11:14 AM
You could argue loads of different ways as to who is the most loyal fans (behind Baldy obviously). Some travel huge distances to even get to home games, some have 3 kids that they have to get season tickets for, some struggle to walk .... Could go on. Being able to commit to an away ticket doesn't put that necessarily above any of the other reasons in terms of loyalty.

14-05-2021, 11:16 AM

So you won't be entering the ballot then 😉

14-05-2021, 11:16 AM
This argument would be more of a slam dunk if in other seasons, where some fans objectively did go to far more games than others, they were met with 'we're all season ticket holders!!!!' when they dared to try and question why the club fails to have a loyalty points system that ensures its most regular, match-going fans are given first dibs at tickets for games at Tynie and Ibrox.

In 2018, there was a ridiculous situation where I, and quite a few of my pals, had been to every home and away game bar our trip to Molde before we played Hearts at Tynecastle on Halloween, yet were left having to beg for tickets because around 1,000 to 1,500 season ticket holders who virtually never leave the Lothian region for an away day are given just as much right to the mad online scramble for them.

Nearly every other club of our size has a working, fair loyalty points system and their fans accept it. So this argument that 'well we have all been to the same number of games this season!' may look like smart boxing, but let's just remember it next campaign when we go back to the silly scrambles for 900 briefs at Ibrox

That's the whole point, though. We're NOT talking about a normal situation, we're talking about a time where we're going through a global pandemic, where thousands have lost their lives, millions have lost their jobs and people have had to live through the kind of restrictions none of us would have imagined possible in our lifetime

The club has now been put in an unwinnable situation where it has to decide which of our fans get the privilege of picking up a couple of hundred tickets for a Cup Final.

Now on here I'm reading some selfish ********s telling us they DESERVE to be there more than anybody else?

Maybe that argument has some merit during any other season but, jeezo, some people need to get some sense of perspective here.

14-05-2021, 11:17 AM

Good post. It’s embarrassing hibs haven’t sorted this issue out yet. Hopefully it’s on RGs radar now that LD is away

14-05-2021, 11:19 AM
I'm showing my emotion. But I'm not throwing toys out of pram. I'm posting in relation to how I feel, but it won't change anyones opinion. We all have an opinion, rightly or wrongly, it's called freedom of speech.

I'm a selfish, self entitled bloke, so I will bow out now, and leave the discussions there.

I completely understand the frustration of you and the others who go to every single game . You all make choices to do that, and compromise on other things in life ...so to likely miss out on a major game must really hurt ..

I’d much rather the few who run buses got a ticket before hospitality members

Anyway. Fingers crossed !!

14-05-2021, 11:20 AM
Sounds about the fairest way to allocate the very small numbers of tickets. Season ticket holders are the lifeblood of the club and fully deserve to be first in the queue when distribution of cup tickets is the issue. I just want the team to come home with the Cup in the bag.

14-05-2021, 11:21 AM
I can't understand people entering the ballot for tickets to an event in the area of Scotland with the highest rate of covid at the moment. 😉

j'adorehibs
14-05-2021, 11:21 AM
The only way a child ticket is drawn is if the holder or parent applied.

clever algorithms could be used -

240 tickets - first drawn is a family ballot of 4 tickets - reduces to 234 etc etc.....its a the luck of the draw really, a child being unable to go because mum/dad didnt get allocated is discriminatory.

so you go for a single ticket ballot, you and a friend ballot or a family ballot.......at end of day still 240 and anyone who gets one is very lucky

Kaff
14-05-2021, 11:22 AM

I agree with this.
The loyalty point scheme was flawed, particularly with the HSL money for points thing, but should have been tweaked instead of binned completely.

14-05-2021, 11:25 AM

After reading this thread I really really hope you are one of the lucky ones, we are so lucky to have your support. :flag:

14-05-2021, 11:28 AM
I agree with this.
The loyalty point scheme was flawed, particularly with the HSL money for points thing, but should have been tweaked instead of binned completely.

That caused a huge uproar but from memory it didn’t cause anyone to miss out on a ticket.

14-05-2021, 11:29 AM
clever algorithms could be used -

240 tickets - first drawn is a family ballot of 4 tickets - reduces to 234 etc etc.....its a the luck of the draw really, a child being unable to go because mum/dad didnt get allocated is discriminatory.

so you go for a single ticket ballot, you and a friend ballot or a family ballot.......at end of day still 240 and anyone who gets one is very lucky

A bubble ballot would be good - I hope they go for that!

I suspect it'll be harder and that they won't though.

14-05-2021, 11:31 AM
I'm just waiting for the announcement at 2pm that Glasgow will remain in level 3, when no crowds will be allowed 😉

14-05-2021, 11:33 AM

I’ve never had an AST. Does it come with a free chip for your shoulder, or do you pay extra for that?

Good luck getting a ticket, if you get one then enjoy the game, if you don’t get one then I expect you’ll still find somewhere to watch us win the cup, and you’ll have a great day!

14-05-2021, 11:35 AM

Now that IS selfish

14-05-2021, 11:36 AM
I’ve never had an AST. Does it come with a free chip for your shoulder, or do you pay extra for that?

Why try to wind up someone you don’t know ? He’s more than explained his position and emotion around it ..can’t you understand how frustrating it must be for those who make major sacrifice to go to see Hibs in every game likely missing out on one that matters most .

14-05-2021, 11:36 AM
All about winning. Nothing else, including tickets, actually matters. No one even knew attending the final was possibility until days ago, so really not worth stressing over imo.

Juniper Greens
14-05-2021, 11:37 AM
As someone who isn't going to apply for the ballot, as I've arranged to host a crowd in the garden, I've enjoyed reading the last few pages of this.
Thanks everyone and good luck in the ballot all!

14-05-2021, 11:38 AM
Why try to wind up someone you don’t know ? He’s more than explained his position and emotion around it ..can’t you understand how frustrating it must be for those who make major sacrifice to go to see Hibs in every game likely missing out on one that matters most .

It’s frustrating for everyone. People don’t get to act like spoilt bairns though.

14-05-2021, 11:39 AM
It’s frustrating for everyone. People don’t get to act like spoilt bairns though.

Your previous post is as childish as any on this thread imo..

14-05-2021, 11:41 AM
Your previous post is as childish as any on this thread imo..

I disagree.

14-05-2021, 11:41 AM
This situation is not of Hibs making, and whatever they decided there would be some here moaning that the solution doesnt quite give them the edge that their "uber status" deserves.

As pathetic as it is predictable.

Crunchie
14-05-2021, 11:45 AM
He's not explained anything other than he goes to every game and think that entitles him to a ticket, which is rubbish. I went to EVERY game Hibs played between 1979 and 1989 until family/work commitments made it impossible, the crowds back in the early 80s especially were that small you could pick out people you knew on the terracing pretty easily. He's coming across as an entitled dick and rightly getting flak for it.
EVERY season ticket holder should be in that ballot for a ticket end off.

Helensburghhibs
14-05-2021, 11:48 AM
I agree with this.

This is the crux of it, loyalty scheme that rewards to purchases of home and away tickets and nothing more is what we need. If people want a loyalty scheme for shares then that should be used when purchasing further shares not tickets (same goes for straps,pies,garden gnomes etc)

14-05-2021, 11:51 AM
He's not explained anything other than he goes to every game and think that entitles him to a ticket, which is rubbish. I went to EVERY game Hibs played between 1979 and 1989 until family/work commitments made it impossible, the crowds back in the early 80s especially were that small you could pick out people you knew on the terracing pretty easily. He's coming across as an entitled dick and rightly getting flak for it.
EVERY season ticket holder should be in that ballot for a ticket end off.

Baldy doesn’t need me to speak for him, but he’s frustrated ..showing his emotion . Situations like this don’t create perfect posts on emotive topics .

I know a little of what Baldy does for Hibs , running a supporters club , going to every game and helping many others get to games ..I can understand why he will deeply want to be at the match. Hope he gets there.

Ps. That was a grim time supporting Hibs. I’m sure we would recognise each other as I was also a home and away regular in that period :).

14-05-2021, 11:51 AM
Whatever the club do re the ballot there will be complaints on here. 240 tickets are better than nothing. Hope the people who are successful make lots of noise.
One good thing is those who are lucky will be able to park their cars in the Hampden car park.
It would be a nice gesture from the club to not charge for the tickets and organise flags etc for the lucky ones.

14-05-2021, 11:52 AM
If disappointment is verging into anger at probably missing out, the bigger issue there is someone truly believing prior to allocations/ticket divisions being known that they were more deserving than others.

14-05-2021, 12:01 PM
As someone who is on the AST ticket scheme I’m not terribly upset that the club aren’t using it given the tiny number of tickets. Had we been given a couple of thousand and it wasn’t used I might have felt differently.

Loyalty debates have been done to death but it does frustrate me that we don’t have a functioning, attendance based system in place that I see so many other places. It’s like Scotland fans going down to Wembley next month. Those who have followed them all over the place get the tickets for the game they want to go to most. I’m planning to go to London but I’m no upset by the fact that folk who follow them a lot more than me will actually get to the game.

I hope the club have something in place next year for the high demand games.

14-05-2021, 12:01 PM
All about winning. Nothing else, including tickets, actually matters. No one even knew attending the final was possibility until days ago, so really not worth stressing over imo.

14-05-2021, 12:02 PM
I suspect part of Hibs' reasoning in this decision was that it would be less collateral damage to make the small group of AST holders very angry, than make the very large group of ST holders angry.

Chorley Hibee
14-05-2021, 12:03 PM
Just been announced that Johnson is set to give an unscheduled news conference at 5pm regards concern surrounding the Indian variant.

I wouldn't be surprised to see the whole thing pulled and nobody attend.

Crunchie
14-05-2021, 12:03 PM
Baldy doesn’t need me to speak for him, but he’s frustrated ..showing his emotion . Situations like this don’t create perfect posts on emotive topics .

I know a little of what Baldy does for Hibs , running a supporters club , going to every game and helping many others get to games ..I can understand why he will deeply want to be at the match. Hope he gets there.

Ps. That was a grim time supporting Hibs. I’m sure we would recognise each other as I was also a home and away regular in that period :).
I'm certain we would as there were sometimes only dozens of us at away games, and not much more on the terracing at ER certain games lol.

14-05-2021, 12:07 PM

Is there a seperate Uber fan draw for some of the tickets? 😁

IncredibleHibee
14-05-2021, 12:07 PM
I saying this more in hope than anticipation but does anyone think there might be some sort of outdoor fan zone set up for the final?

14-05-2021, 12:12 PM
I saying this more in hope than anticipation but does anyone think there might be some sort of outdoor fan zone set up for the final?

Neither the clubs nor the SFA will want to do anything to encourage fans without tickets to go near Hampden.

I suppose each club could do something like that locally, but I don't think it's likely.

14-05-2021, 12:17 PM
We all want to be at this game, but the fact is we can't. If we had been given 10,000 tickets then I could see what all the fuss was about regarding who can or can't get a ticket, but we haven't, we have been given 300 tickets.

A cup final, for me at least, is all about making a day of it with friends and family, the meeting in the house or the boozer before getting on the bus, arriving in Glasgow and chasing around trying to get into the boozer, the pre match patter and sing song in the pub, the walk to Hampden from the pub, the smell from all the food trucks as you approach the stadium, the distant sound from inside the stadium getting louder as you climb the stairs and then entering the ground and seeing the crowd, the roar as the teams exit the tunnel.

I would far rather try to recreate that in a local pub with fellow Hibs fans or more likely with a few of us at my mates house than travel to Hampden either on my own or with a load of folk I don't know and sit in a soulless empty bowl feeling cheated that there is no atmosphere and even perhaps feeling a little guilty that I am there and none of my mates are.

It will be no small thing for me not to be there, I have missed two Hibs games at Hampden since my first ( the 1979 SC semi final ) the 1991 league cup semi, I was in London and the Dunfermline SC replay where I just couldn't afford a return trip. But even so I won't be entering the draw for this, in my opinion, and it's just my opinion, Hibs would be far better giving all of the tickets to the players and Hibs staff and whatever is left to front line NHS Hibbies or disadvantaged kids who would in normal circumstances have had no chance of attending such a game.

Like I said, my personal opinion, but whatever the case for these reasons I won't be in this ballot, good luck to those who are :aok:

Oh and PS. Watching it on the telly I will be no less hyped up, no less nervous and no less ecstatic if we win or gutted if we lose :greengrin

14-05-2021, 12:17 PM
I suspect part of Hibs' reasoning in this decision was that it would be less collateral damage to make the small group of AST holders very angry, than make the very large group of ST holders angry.

I’d imagine so - I said this a couple of days ago. It was the obvious way for the club to do it.

The “least unfair” way and all that.

14-05-2021, 12:20 PM
21,000 fans at the FA Cup final tomorrow - don’t even need to be vaccinated to attend - just a negative test.

67,000 fans at the boxing last week.

Without opening can of worms - the previous
loyalty scheme wasn’t the best. There were some games fans didn’t get loyalty points for. I’m all for a fair scheme but it has to be consistent and well thought out.

AltheHibby
14-05-2021, 12:21 PM
As we have "Thank you NHS" on our tops, we could go with the logo and prioritise NHS staff who are ST holders? These guys would, I imagine, miss games due to shifts, so this would be a concrete way of rewarding them. Having said that, I get annoyed when other key workers are not given thanks, and NHS staff will include backroom staff, who aren't key, so probably should be excluded from my suggestion.

All of which leads to 2 things:
1. I seem to be having an argument with myself, and;
2. You couldn't pay me enough money to be the person having to make the decision!

14-05-2021, 12:24 PM
1. I seem to be having an argument with myself,

14-05-2021, 12:24 PM
I’ve decided that I’m not going to apply. Going to game especially a cup final on your own is not the same as going with your mates and or family

14-05-2021, 12:28 PM
Neither the clubs nor the SFA will want to do anything to encourage fans without tickets to go near Hampden.

I suppose each club could do something like that locally, but I don't think it's likely.
I believe there is going to be a fan zone in Trafalgar Sq for the Euros. The governments from all the countries seem to choose a date things to change based on science. What seems to be strange is that there is not a consistent approach and it seems to depend on where you live. The science isn't that different if you live in London or Edinburgh or Glasgow.

hibsforeurope
14-05-2021, 12:28 PM
As we have "Thank you NHS" on our tops, we could go with the logo and prioritise NHS staff who are ST holders? These guys would, I imagine, miss games due to shifts, so this would be a concrete way of rewarding them. Having said that, I get annoyed when other key workers are not given thanks, and NHS staff will include backroom staff, who aren't key, so probably should be excluded from my suggestion.

1. I seem to be having an argument with myself, and;
2. You couldn't pay me enough money to be the person having to make the decision!

Do you think Hibs could function as they do without their backroom staff??

14-05-2021, 12:33 PM
Provided the ‘proportion’ thing is not excessive, I think the club have got the allocation correct. I’ll be putting myself and the wee man in the draw and hoping for the best. [emoji1696]
And I don’t care if someone who bought a cheaper ticket than me or goes to less games than me gets a ticket. So long as they are season ticket holders then it’s all good.[emoji106]

That is where I'm at. The club are going about this the right way. It looks like around 1 in 40 ST holders would be in with a chance of a ticket assuming all apply. That should be the same ratio with hospitality packages. It will be interesting to see how many put their name in the hat. Pretty sure I will but then my kids aren't as enthusiastic as they were the last few seasons and I often go to away games on my own anyway

14-05-2021, 12:33 PM
Hope Andy B. gets one, been to a few games this season. That’s loyalty for you. :greengrin

14-05-2021, 12:35 PM
As someone who is on the AST ticket scheme I’m not terribly upset that the club aren’t using it given the tiny number of tickets. Had we been given a couple of thousand and it wasn’t used I might have felt differently.

Loyalty debates have been done to death but it does frustrate me that we don’t have a functioning, attendance based system in place that I see so many other places. It’s like Scotland fans going down to Wembley next month. Those who have followed them all over the place get the tickets for the game they want to go to most. I’m planning to go to London but I’m no upset by the fact that folk who follow them a lot more than me will actually get to the game.

I hope the club have something in place next year for the high demand games.

The travel club for Scotland games is far from perfect and a bit of a closed shop. I went a lot for about 10 years and must have only got a handful of official points for it as was always in the home end. The last World Cup campaign, I went to every game bar one but wasn’t able to get a point for any any them, so the cycle continued. I know lots of folk who buy/have bought tickets to games they’re not going to just to maintain their loyalty points.

No longer an issue for me as I’ve served my time and got a young family now so no longer interested in going away with Scotland, but no system is perfect and open to abuse.

14-05-2021, 12:36 PM

Nope, but when we win it we are all having a party at Leith Links :flag:

AltheHibby
14-05-2021, 12:38 PM
Do you think Hibs could function as they do without their backroom staff??

To answer your question. No. However, can you explain what heroic work NHS accountants and HR staff have been doing to match the effort of the medical staff?* I'm sure the accountants at ER are great guys, but they will never score a winner on the pitch. (And before anyone corrects me, I know Alan Gordon was an accountant)

* I'm an accountant and I know NHS accountants so I know the answer to that.

14-05-2021, 12:38 PM
Hope Andy B. gets one, been to a few games this season. That’s loyalty for you. :greengrin

I hope he takes his faithful ladder with him, imagine if you were a ladder and were at a lot of games and didn't get to the final Silv.:greengrin

hibsforeurope
14-05-2021, 12:43 PM
To answer your question. No. However, can you explain what heroic work NHS accountants and HR staff have been doing to match the effort of the medical staff?* I'm sure the accountants at ER are great guys, but they will never score a winner on the pitch. (And before anyone corrects me, I know Alan Gordon was an accountant)

* I'm an accountant and I know NHS accountants so I know the answer to that.

Not sure about accountants or HR, other than making sure these people get paid. but there are plenty others behind the scenes who arrange the rotas, that make sure there are staff on the front line. people who run/organise the training to make sure there are trained doctors to work. hospital receptionists, go to work everyday bu they are not medical.

14-05-2021, 12:45 PM
I hope he takes his faithful ladder with him, imagine if you were a ladder and were at a lot of games and didn't get to the final Silv.:greengrin

The ladder will be gutted when it finds out its being dumped for a crane :greengrin

14-05-2021, 12:46 PM
If there is a separate ballot for a proportion of hospitality why is there not also a separate ballot for a proportion of tickets to go to away season ticket holders?

ASTs dont put additional funds, like the corporates do,into Hibetnian Fc you fund our rivals... blue touch paper now lit, retires to bunker😉

AltheHibby
14-05-2021, 12:51 PM
Not sure about accountants or HR, other than making sure these people get paid. but there are plenty others behind the scenes who arrange the rotas, that make sure there are staff on the front line. people who run/organise the training to make sure there are trained doctors to work. hospital receptionists, go to work everyday bu they are not medical.

And that is exactly my point - all NHS staff are equal, but some are more equal than others.

And since we seem to agree, I'll stop arguing with you and go back to arguing with myself!🤪

14-05-2021, 12:54 PM
I'm just waiting for the announcement at 2pm that Glasgow will remain in level 3, when no crowds will be allowed 😉

Spot on...or only those with a Gladgow address allowed as you cannot travel into a L3 area from a L2 one

jakedance
14-05-2021, 12:55 PM
How Hibs have dealt with it seems fair enough. Best of luck to whoever is in for a ticket.

14-05-2021, 12:58 PM
We all want to be at this game, but the fact is we can't. If we had been given 10,000 tickets then I could see what all the fuss was about regarding who can or can't get a ticket, but we haven't, we have been given 300 tickets.

A cup final, for me at least, is all about making a day of it with friends and family, the meeting in the house or the boozer before getting on the bus, arriving in Glasgow and chasing around trying to get into the boozer, the pre match patter and sing song in the pub, the walk to Hampden from the pub, the smell from all the food trucks as you approach the stadium, the distant sound from inside the stadium getting louder as you climb the stairs and then entering the ground and seeing the crowd, the roar as the teams exit the tunnel.

I would far rather try to recreate that in a local pub with fellow Hibs fans or more likely with a few of us at my mates house than travel to Hampden either on my own or with a load of folk I don't know and sit in a soulless empty bowl feeling cheated that there is no atmosphere and even perhaps feeling a little guilty that I am there and none of my mates are.

It will be no small thing for me not to be there, I have missed two Hibs games at Hampden since my first ( the 1979 SC semi final ) the 1991 league cup semi, I was in London and the Dunfermline SC replay where I just couldn't afford a return trip. But even so I won't be entering the draw for this, in my opinion, and it's just my opinion, Hibs would be far better giving all of the tickets to the players and Hibs staff and whatever is left to front line NHS Hibbies or disadvantaged kids who would in normal circumstances have had no chance of attending such a game.

Like I said, my personal opinion, but whatever the case for these reasons I won't be in this ballot, good luck to those who are :aok:

Oh and PS. Watching it on the telly I will be no less hyped up, no less nervous and no less ecstatic if we win or gutted if we lose :greengrin

14-05-2021, 12:59 PM
Spot on...or only those with a Gladgow address allowed as you cannot travel into a L3 area from a L2 one

Fans from Moray would still be able to go so long as they had enough petrol to not stop along the A9.

Elginhibee could be on to a winner here... :greengrin

14-05-2021, 01:18 PM
Fans from Moray would still be able to go so long as they had enough petrol to not stop along the A9.

Elginhibee could be on to a winner here... :greengrin

Screws being spread on the pitlochry bypass next weekend 😉

14-05-2021, 01:19 PM

14-05-2021, 01:47 PM
Up until about a week or so ago it was just assumed the final would have no fans, we accepted this as we have done all season so no need for any bickering over it now.

14-05-2021, 01:47 PM
I've just had a personal e-mail from Ron telling me I've been selected for a ticket since I'm the best fan

:fibber:

14-05-2021, 01:48 PM
If we win this I’ll want to be with my mates that I’ve been going to the games with for 20 odd years, zero chance of that happening if I’m successful in the ballot, I’ll sit this one out and head to the pub.

14-05-2021, 02:01 PM
If we win this I’ll want to be with my mates that I’ve been going to the games with for 20 odd years, zero chance of that happening if I’m successful in the ballot, I’ll sit this one out and head to the pub.

Agreed :agree:

That said, most years I get my Season knowing that due to work I'll only make half the games.... I'm thinking as I'm willing to support our team better than you lot as I know a chunk of the money is a gift to the club I should really be at the top of the queue :greengrin

:devil:

14-05-2021, 02:03 PM

At this rate there will be more than enough tickets to go round those that want them :greengrin

Skol
14-05-2021, 02:17 PM
Putting aside the ridiculous decision on numbers and accepting thats what we have, I am astonished by those ASTs who believe they should have priority over STs. To me its pretty clear cut that all STs should have equal priority.

I will ponder over the weekend but might decide not to put my name in the ballot anyway. I would love to be there, but going along on my own wouldnt be the same as a normal cup final and I think I can make a better day of kit at home with a select few companions within the rules that apply on the day

14-05-2021, 02:20 PM
I've just had a personal e-mail from Ron telling me I've been selected for a ticket since I'm the best fan

:fibber:

Same

14-05-2021, 03:00 PM
100% where I am with this. Give them to the players families, staff and those in need. We will roar them on from the couch this time!
https://twitter.com/craigfowler86/status/1393146735850033154?s=19

aljo7-0
14-05-2021, 03:06 PM
I won't be entering the ballot. Had already arranged to watch on TV with family. As much as I'd love to be there I'd prefer to be with family when we win rather than on my own in a stadium.

GRA
14-05-2021, 03:09 PM
Give them to front line NHS staff who are also Hibs season ticket holders. If not more than 240 who fall into that category give the rest to players/staff families. Win win situation ☺

14-05-2021, 03:15 PM
Give them to front line NHS staff who are also Hibs season ticket holders. If not more than 240 who fall into that category give the rest to players/staff families. Win win situation ☺

Would be great to see hibs.net publically endorse this idea of leaving the tickets for players family, club staff and perhaps a few special recognitions attached to the NHS and have had a particularly tough year. A classy gesture and the fans showing real togetherness on this huge day.

14-05-2021, 03:35 PM
Level 3 Glasgow for another week. Does that mean no spectators?

MartinfaePorty
14-05-2021, 03:38 PM
Level 3 Glasgow for another week. Does that mean no spectators?

Was just about to say the same. Hopefully someone will ask that question of Sturgeon!

Peanut Shaz
14-05-2021, 03:40 PM
Don't think I'll be entering the ballot. Happy for players family and support staff at the club to get all available tickets. I've got a whole day with family friends planned. Would much rather be with them should we win than sitting amongst strangers.

Juniper Greens
14-05-2021, 03:43 PM
No fans in level 3 I believe?
Solves the issue for everyone

14-05-2021, 03:48 PM
The available capacity for Euros matches is 12,000, with social distancing set at 1.5m. The Scottish FA applied to government for 2000 fans at the cup on the same operational plan.
Given Uefa building works are ongoing at Hampden, the available capacity for the final is actually between 8,000-12,000, with the realistic number a lot closer to the 8,000. Again, that's at 1.5m distancing.
But the government has insisted on two metres. According to the Scottish FA, the government only revealed this after their application was submitted on the basis of 1.5m. There is some tension between the two around this.
At 2m, the maximum number of seats falls to between 4,000 and 5,000. So a long way short of the initial 52,000.
All of this, ultimately, means that the 600 tickets secured is between 12% and 15% of the available capacity.

I think we should be grateful that we are being allowed any fans as Glasgow is in level 3 :wink:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57100706

14-05-2021, 03:52 PM
Was just about to say the same. Hopefully someone will ask that question of Sturgeon!

No-one did. More important questions , including peoples lives and livelihoods than going to the footie.

She did say no travel into or from Glasgow so expect oor Jason to update the world on Off the Ball's next edition

14-05-2021, 04:04 PM

That suggestion's been made by a number of posters and I wholeheartedly agree

14-05-2021, 04:04 PM
They should just scrap the fans idea now

DarrenSQH
14-05-2021, 04:11 PM
Suggestions that as you can't travel far from outside level 3 to a level 3 area that only Glasgow based hibs and saints fans are allowed

14-05-2021, 04:11 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210514/941132845d42d5bb61200cce9a943fcc.png

14-05-2021, 04:13 PM
There was a contributor on radio Scotland today, I think her name was professor Griffiths, apologies if I’m not recalling the name correctly. She said: essentially 100% of those aged 65+ and those with underlying conditions have received 2 doses of vaccine. These are statistically the high risk group. Nearly 90% of those in the statistically medium risk category have had one vaccine, with many having had two doses.

What on earth is our strategy if we still can’t open up society? Are they planning on keeping us away from football stadiums long term?

14-05-2021, 04:14 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210514/941132845d42d5bb61200cce9a943fcc.png

I'm struggling to see what contingency plans there might be. It's very clear that fans are banned at events being held in level 3 areas. It's drive-in only. Are they going to ask everyone to drive into the Hampden car park and watch the game on a big screen?

14-05-2021, 04:16 PM
There was a contributor on radio Scotland today, I think her name was professor Griffiths, apologies if I’m not recalling the name correctly. She said: essentially 100% of those aged 65+ and those with underlying conditions have received 2 doses of vaccine. These are statistically the high risk group. Nearly 90% of those in the statistically medium risk category have had one vaccine, with many having had two doses.

What on earth is our strategy if we still can’t open up society? Are they planning on keeping us away from football stadiums long term?

Ask the question on Coronavirus thread rather than on the fans at the final thread.

14-05-2021, 04:19 PM
I'm struggling to see what contingency plans there might be. It's very clear that fans are banned at events being held in level 3 areas. It's drive-in only. Are they going to ask everyone to drive into the Hampden car park and watch the game on a big screen?

The government have given the go ahead for 600 fans, I doubt that will change. The question is now whether fans can travel into Glasgow from Perth and Edinburgh.

G15 Hibs
14-05-2021, 04:19 PM

Can you still get those wee disabled cars you see round the pitch in old footage?

14-05-2021, 04:21 PM
Looking good for Glasgow based Hibbies!

14-05-2021, 04:22 PM
Can you still get those wee disabled cars you see round the pitch in old footage?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Invacar

14-05-2021, 04:26 PM
Have thought about this a lot. I don't want a ticket as I wouldn't be able to be with my son or the other Hibbies from Alloa who I have shared so much joy and disappointment with over the years. Just give the tickets to family of the players and coaching staff and then any other staff who have contributed to Hibs success this year. I will spend the day celebrating with the usual bunch albeit just not at Hampden. Just win the bloody thing Hibs

14-05-2021, 04:32 PM
Looking good for Glasgow based Hibbies!

Level 3 status means ... Stadia must be closed to spectators.

So no idea what the "contingency plans" are for getting 600 folk into Hampden. No one from L2 can travel into L3 except for emergency and those in L3 (Glasgow) should not be congregating.

Maybe they're going to allow 600 Huns (West of Scotland FC) in to celebrate, given they'll be doing that on the streets anyway :cb

DIXIHIBS
14-05-2021, 04:32 PM

Possibly fans who live in the level 3 area, ie glasgow, can still go to the game?

Still Smiling
14-05-2021, 04:34 PM
Let Hibs Community nominate Hibs fans who need a wee pick me up.

14-05-2021, 04:34 PM
Possibly fans who live in the level 3 area, ie glasgow, can still go to the game?

Level 3 prohibits fans. "Stadia must be closed to spectators."

Am sure the SFA/SG have Murrayfield lined up just in case the Euros have to be moved at the last minute :aok: It will all be in hand.

Jay
14-05-2021, 04:38 PM

Well if we are choosing groups of people I'd vote for the over 70s. Folk who have been shielding for a year, isolated to say the least. But more than that, it took Hibs most of their lives to win that cup. Give them a chance to see it again.

14-05-2021, 04:38 PM
Level 3 prohibits fans. "Stadia must be closed to spectators."

As I said earlier.

The government have given the go ahead for 600 fans, I doubt that will change. The question is now whether fans can travel into Glasgow from Perth and Edinburgh.

14-05-2021, 04:45 PM
Move it to Meadowbank

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

14-05-2021, 04:53 PM
If it's still played at Hampden and they actually did decide that Hibs ST holders in Glasgow would be able to attend, then I'd be in line to get a ticket.

However, I think that would be ridiculous and I'd much rather it was moved to somewhere that there was a much lower health risk, and that tickets were made available to people that really do deserve it, rather than just because they happen to live near the stadium.

14-05-2021, 04:54 PM
Brian mclaughlin on radio Scotland, unlikely to be fans at the final if its at Hampden!!!!

14-05-2021, 05:02 PM
Having fans at the Scottish Cup final is now "at risk" due to Glasgow remaining in Level 3 Covid-19 restrictions, says Scotland's national clinical director Professor Jason Leitch.

14-05-2021, 05:03 PM
What a complete shambles

14-05-2021, 05:03 PM
Following the science though, fans one day, no fans the next. I’m sure this ‘spike’ has caught them by surprise over night 😂 no the Scottish governments fault though.

14-05-2021, 05:09 PM
Following the science though, fans one day, no fans the next. I’m sure this ‘spike’ has caught them by surprise over night 😂 no the Scottish governments fault though.

Can really see 600 fans all sat about half a mile apart in a 52,000 seater stadium really bringing the NHS to its knees 😂

Honestly think this government has completely lost grip of reality on this one.

14-05-2021, 05:09 PM
It was a well intentioned idea but in my opinion the final should be played as the rest of the season has been played with no fans in the stadium. Concentrate on getting covid down to level 0 for next season. It’s all getting a bit silly now.

14-05-2021, 05:14 PM
I’ve no idea what’s going on in Scottish Football just now
Edinburgh city thought they would be allowed fans for the play off game on Monday night v Dumbarton. But based on requirements for social distancing, fans not allowed back in

However Morton v Airdrie next Friday, 500 home fans are allowed in

Can really see 600 fans all sat about half a mile apart in a 52,000 seater stadium really bringing the NHS to its knees 😂

Honestly think this government has completely lost grip of reality on this one.

Got to agree with you on this. 600 fans rattling around an outdoor 52 000 seater stadium poses zero threat to health. Getting very silly now.

It was a well intentioned idea but in my opinion the final should be played as the rest of the season has been played with no fans in the stadium. Concentrate on getting covid down to level 0 for next season. It’s all getting a bit silly now.

What are we allowed at level 0 again? A dozen fans maybe? Maybe allow us 20 if we get down on our knees and really beg like good boys.

Hibs and st Johnstone should just tell them to shove their tickets up their arse.

14-05-2021, 05:15 PM

Dinnae be daft, folk need something to moan about.

Had there been no attempt to get fans in the sfa would be the target. They asked, got an answer that folk weren't happy with, then the uber fans came out of the woodwork saying they deserved to be there more than others.

If only the government had said, Glasgow is looking a bit bad no fans can get to the final.

14-05-2021, 05:16 PM
Got to agree with you on this. 600 fans rattling around an outdoor 52 000 seater stadium poses zero threat to health. Getting very silly now.

Where will the 52,000 people who would have been at the game going instead?

Pubs and house parties which are far riskier venues.

It’s absolute madness.

14-05-2021, 05:20 PM
Where will the 52,000 people who would have been at the game going instead?

Pubs and house parties which are far riskier venues.

It’s absolute madness.

Totally agree with you bingo. 600 fans in a 52 000 seater stadia poses zero risk to public health.

14-05-2021, 05:20 PM
Looks like the government are pulling the plug on it anyway.

Rumble de Thump
14-05-2021, 05:21 PM
Just get the cup won and give me tickets to the Europa League games.

14-05-2021, 05:27 PM

The only part of Hampden available is the lower south stand.

A maximum 8000 capacity, and with 2m separation that worked out at 600 fans.

14-05-2021, 05:31 PM

It's been a whole load of hassle for something that will please a relatively small number of people and antagonise many many more, for all sorts of reasons.

The whole season has been played out in front of no fans. I know it's a cup final, I know we'd all like to be in attendance and I know there's something good about even getting a handful of fans in but it just all feels a bit daft right now.

We've been in a global pandemic, one that we're all desperate to come out of. Chuck in a spike in Glasgow and having to accommodate the Euros as well as the fact that the lower leagues halted a few months ago and I've got a fair bit of sympathy for the authorities here, who it appears cannot win.

14-05-2021, 05:31 PM
The only part of Hampden available is the lower south stand.

A maximum 8000 capacity, and with 2m separation that worked out at 600 fans.

Wasn't aware of that. Puts it into a different context. Still, for the Scottish Cup final both the sfa and government should have ensured a different scenario. I'd still rather it was played at Hampden fans or no fans if Murrayfield is not available.

14-05-2021, 05:36 PM
Play it at another ground with fans. Get it sorted Petrie.

Chorley Hibee
14-05-2021, 05:36 PM
This article suggests we should have been looking at 4000/5000 with 2m distancing in place, and not the paltry figure of 600.

Scottish Cup final: Hibs v St Johnstone at Hampden will be watched by 600 fans.

14-05-2021, 05:37 PM

Not pittodrie. :confused:

GonzoReturns
This is an absolute shambles, I feel for the families of the players and staff from both teams who would already have thought they were getting to see the game.

Chorley Hibee
I think it is immaterial now as, according to the Scottish Government's own guidelines, there will now be no fans present should Glasgow remain in Level 3.

Magpie
14-05-2021, 05:38 PM
Totally agree with you bingo. 600 fans in a 52 000 seater stadia poses zero risk to public health.

All supporters attending would have to get a negative covid test before the game too I assume.

14-05-2021, 05:40 PM
This article suggests we should have been looking at 4000/5000 with 2m distancing in place, and not the paltry figure of 600.

Scottish Cup final: Hibs v St Johnstone at Hampden will be watched by 600 fans.

The bottom of the article clearly explains why the 600 figure was arrived at.

14-05-2021, 05:41 PM
Is it confirmed now that there will be no fans at Hampden?

14-05-2021, 05:42 PM
I am sure there will be more than 600 Rangers fans some of who will have travelled from outside Glasgow outside Ibrox tomorrow. Be interesting to see how that is handled by the police. Unless there is a dramatic change in cases in Glasgow it looks like no fans. How many Hibs or St Johnstone fans would have been travelling through Pollockshields or Easterhouse going to the match?

PS noticed Toryglen on list of postcodes.

14-05-2021, 05:43 PM
Is it confirmed now that there will be no fans at Hampden?

No. All speculation, or moaning, depending on your point of view. 😁

14-05-2021, 05:45 PM
When did you start talking sense!!?? I agree with you to be honest. 600 was a bit of a joke and we haven't played any games with fans this season so far. Folk are getting all worked up because they want to be offended at something. Get back to normality for next season and I'll be happy. 3rd in the league and in a cup final, don't want any if the jinx fans in anyway!!

SQHib
14-05-2021, 05:49 PM

Unlikely they will move it as the SFA blazers who have to be there will probably all live in Glasgow and cannot travel out under level 3 rules and the chances of getting another venue at this stage is probably a non starter

18ErinGoBragh75
14-05-2021, 05:50 PM
No fans at the final due to Glasgow remaining in Level 3

When did you start talking sense!!?? I agree with you to be honest. 600 was a bit of a joke and we haven't played any games with fans this season so far. Folk are getting all worked up because they want to be offended at something. Get back to normality for next season and I'll be happy. 3rd in the league and in a cup final, don't want any if the jinx fans in anyway!!

My concern is that this shambles is setting the tone for the months ahead.

There should be full stadiums at the start for the season but there clearly won’t be.

They will be on about some new variant then and we’ll be discussing what pitiful amounts we are allowed in stadiums.

The over cautious approach showing a real lack of willingness to get people back into stadiums in decent numbers is a real concern for me.

This attitude from the Scottish Government isn’t changing any time soon.

Game now behind closed doors.

I wonder when UEFA will be told there is a doubt about fans attending euros at Hampden 🙄

14-05-2021, 05:51 PM
All that fuss about nothing then!

hibee62
14-05-2021, 05:51 PM
Unlikely they will move it as the SFA blazers who have to be there will probably all live in Glasgow and cannot travel out under level 3 rules and the chances of getting another venue at this stage is probably a non starter

You’re allowed to go anywhere for work.

14-05-2021, 05:52 PM
Should have gone for the Pittodrie option. Would have been allowed more than 600 too.

14-05-2021, 05:53 PM
Should have gone for the Pittodrie option. Would have been allowed more than 600 too.

Should have gone for the Newcastle option.

14-05-2021, 05:54 PM
I think it is immaterial now as, according to the Scottish Government's own guidelines, there will now be no fans present should Glasgow remain in Level 3.

And what will will happen to theEuro’s if Glasgow is still in level 3. ?

14-05-2021, 05:54 PM

Didn't realise they'd said we could use their place.

14-05-2021, 05:55 PM
Just announced on BBC Reporting Scotland, the final will be played behind closed doors at Hampden!:rolleyes:

14-05-2021, 05:55 PM

That’s the SFA/SG problem

Hopefully this action fixes the problem

Helensburghhibs
14-05-2021, 05:56 PM
Without turning this too much into a holy ground thread , I now think the govt are at it. 4 or 5 weeks ago the actions of rangers supporters led to football fans being painted as the reason we would get another spike, it turns out that 1. It didn't happen or 2. Spikes aren't that important in the lead up to an election. Now that's done and dusted and lockdown has been eased a bit spikes and variants are back on the agenda. I suggest we do whatever texas are doing..... which isn't much but theyanaged 70k at the boxing last week and no piles of infected bodies anywhere in sight. Hospitality,football and socialising in general seem to be the favourite targets here.

Will be interesting o see if it goes to level 2 in time, even if the covid cases go up.

Yup - 21,000 at Wembley tomorrow !

Great stadium and closer than Aberdeen.

Scotland needs to get its act together- we should be having stadiums busy again for the start of the season - maybe not completely full but more than a few hundred etc.

Didn't realise they'd said we could use their place.

I don’t think we asked, that’s my point.

14-05-2021, 05:57 PM

Utter garbage. There are good reasons for fans to question what's going on in Scotland given the broad range of "test" activities going on in England. The lack of explanation by the SFA or SG hasn't helped and only added to the speculation and confusion.

Anyway, you'll be happy. Just announced, no fans at Hampden

14-05-2021, 05:59 PM
Just announced on BBC Reporting Scotland, the final will be played behind closed doors at Hampden!:rolleyes:

Well that didn't last long

14-05-2021, 06:00 PM
Without turning this too much into a holy ground thread , I now think the govt are at it. 4 or 5 weeks ago the actions of rangers supporters led to football fans being painted as the reason we would get another spike, it turns out that 1. It didn't happen or 2. Spikes aren't that important in the lead up to an election. Now that's done and dusted and lockdown has been eased a bit spikes and variants are back on the agenda. I suggest we do whatever texas are doing..... which isn't much but theyanaged 70k at the boxing last week and no piles of infected bodies anywhere in sight. Hospitality,football and socialising in general seem to be the favourite targets here.

Hardly surprising that the biggest non-essential activities causing mass gatherings are the favourite targets when tackling a pandemic though?

14-05-2021, 06:01 PM
Utter garbage. There are good reasons for fans to question what's going on in Scotland given the broad range of "test" activities going on in England. The lack of explanation by the SFA or SG hasn't helped and only added to the speculation and confusion.

Anyway, you'll be happy. Just announced, no fans at Hampden

I would feel more safe getting in my own car - driving to the game then parking at Hampden and sitting outside watching a game of football than going to my local supermarket / cafe / hairdressers etc.

Shame they don’t trust people to act responsibly.

Robbo6-2
14-05-2021, 06:01 PM
Our government are an absolute disgrace

14-05-2021, 06:02 PM
I don’t think we asked, that’s my point.

Ah, I see.

14-05-2021, 06:05 PM
Our government are an absolute disgrace

And it’s their fault in what way? I am not happy but this has f all to with the Scottish Government

Helensburghhibs
14-05-2021, 06:06 PM
Hardly surprising that the biggest non-essential activities causing mass gatherings are the favourite targets when tackling a pandemic though?

Really? Allowing indoor crowds at cinemas and non essential shopping centres but no crowds outdoors at football makes no sense to me

14-05-2021, 06:06 PM
Level 3 status means ... Stadia must be closed to spectators.

So no idea what the "contingency plans" are for getting 600 folk into Hampden. No one from L2 can travel into L3 except for emergency and those in L3 (Glasgow) should not be congregating.

Maybe they're going to allow 600 Huns (West of Scotland FC) in to celebrate, given they'll be doing that on the streets anyway :cb

Your last point is more galling now it’s been confirmed no Fans will be allowed into Hampden

14-05-2021, 06:09 PM
And it’s their fault in what way? I am not happy but this has f all to with the Scottish Government

Their route map out of this pandemic is a shambles and shows no intent to get peoples lives back to normal again.

I’ve always voted for them and I always will until we get independence but they’ve completely lost the plot here.

14-05-2021, 06:12 PM
The game must be played at our sacred national glorified racing track. No other stadium will suffice. Thus decrees the SFA.

14-05-2021, 06:13 PM
Professor Jason Leitch will be loving this.

14-05-2021, 06:14 PM
I'd like to be there, but as someone who was shielding this time last year it's not sensible for me to risk it so I won't be applying for the ballot.

Mind you, it looks like there won't be a ballot if fans can't go.

14-05-2021, 06:16 PM
What are we allowed at level 0 again? A dozen fans maybe? Maybe allow us 20 if we get down on our knees and really beg like good boys.

Hibs and st Johnstone should just tell them to shove their tickets up their arse.

What do BadBoys have to do lol
The whole thing is doing my head in now
We are now so risk averse Yet We keep being told me need to learn how to live with Covid
My nine month old granddaughter had to get a Covid test the other day and everyone self isolate She had a rash and needed a cream my daughter was asked if her daughter had a cough She said yes but o ly ever five hours or so Wasn’t a persistent cough and she wasn’t worried about it
But no o e would see the wee one until she got a negative Covid test
Common sense has gone out the windae

14-05-2021, 06:20 PM
What a shambles this has become

14-05-2021, 06:22 PM
A fumble of immeasurable proportions.

14-05-2021, 06:24 PM
The only sensible option is to keep all areas in level 3 except Falkirk and hold the final at the Falkirk Stadium meaning only Falkirk based Hibs and St Johnstone fans will be able to attend.

Get it done Hibs.

14-05-2021, 06:24 PM
This just serves to highlight how much we need a roadmap in how we're going to get fans back at football next season and how little confidence I have in those in charge to achieve that... or that they even have any interest in it whatsoever.

14-05-2021, 06:25 PM
If only decision making was as easy as criticism, the country would run itself.

At this stage of the lockdown and at the very end of the football season, perhaps it's just best to wait until next season before allowing any fans to return. We've come this far; I don't blame the government taking a cautious approach. These are difficult decisions, which will always meet some opposition either way. We are where we are I suppose.

G15 Hibs
It was around about 5pm yesterday that the announcement that 600 would be allowed in was made aye? Did no one in the government which gave permission forsee this, despite all the talk about cases in Glasgow over the last 48 hours or so?

14-05-2021, 06:26 PM
At this stage of the lockdown and at the very end of the football season, perhaps it's just best to wait until next season before allowing any fans to return. We've come this far; I don't blame the government taking a cautious approach. These are difficult decisions, which will always meet some opposition either way. We are where we are I suppose.That's how I see it.

14-05-2021, 06:26 PM
Welcome to flying by the seat of the pants governance. :doh:

14-05-2021, 06:27 PM
It was around about 5pm yesterday that the announcement that 600 would be allowed in was made aye? Did no one in the government which gave permission forsee this, despite all the talk about cases in Glasgow over the last 48 hours or so?Everything everywhere is subject to changing circumstances.