View Full Version : Ross out

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]

06-02-2021, 09:45 AM
We’ve won two big games in his tenure.

I remember everyone being delighted with beating Aberdeen and especially Hearts when we done it so I’m not sure that’s true. The reaction to winning them was much more jubilant to when we beat St Mirren or Hamilton etc so I’d suggest they weren’t ignored.

What is a big game then? If Aberdeen is then Livingston must be as well, we pumped them.

06-02-2021, 09:46 AM
So now we have big games, games we must win, and also games when only the result matters.

There are probably others i have missed.:confused:

I long for the day when the next game was the most important. :faf:

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 09:47 AM
What is a big game then? If Aberdeen is then Livingston must be as well, we pumped them.

Livingston? Your having a laugh.

06-02-2021, 09:50 AM
Bit embarrassing this thread tbh . Mon the Hibs

06-02-2021, 09:53 AM

What’s the difference between Aberdeen and Livingston? Aberdeen is only a ‘big game’ because we’re competing with them for position, exact same with Livingston.

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 09:55 AM
Aye, its embarrasing we are now classing clubs half our size who have half our budget as big games.

06-02-2021, 09:55 AM
So now we have big games, games we must win, and also games when only the result matters.

There are probably others i have missed.:confused:

I long for the day when the next game was the most important. :faf:

I long for the day where the ‘big gamers’ can define what a big game is so we are all much clearer.

06-02-2021, 09:56 AM
Aye, its embarrasing we are now classing clubs half our size who have half our budget as big games.

What about clubs 10x our size with 10x our budget?

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 10:02 AM
What about clubs 10x our size with 10x our budget?

We are one of the biggest clubs in Scotland. Rangers, Celtic, Hearts and Aberdeen are our rivals. Historically, Traditionally and now.

06-02-2021, 10:04 AM

So the game against St Johnstone wasn’t??

06-02-2021, 10:06 AM
We are one of the biggest clubs in Scotland. Rangers, Celtic, Hearts and Aberdeen are our rivals. Historically, Traditionally and now.

Aye very good. We are in the second tier of club size in Scotland, the OF are in a league of their own in that regard and that’s always been the case. Us, Hearts, Aberdeen and Dundee United are behind that, with the rest below.

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 10:06 AM
So the game against St Johnstone wasn’t??

You're at the wind up.

It was a Cup Semi Final = Big Game.

06-02-2021, 10:09 AM
You're at the wind up.

But not a cup Quarter final? Interesting.

06-02-2021, 10:17 AM
Bit embarrassing this thread tbh . Mon the Hibs

Have you ever sat and watched kids in the Kindergarten?

It can be quite amusing :greengrin

06-02-2021, 10:17 AM
You're at the wind up.

Nope just trying to understand your logic. Ok we’ve two draws against either half of the old firm..we must have turned up then. Or are they conveniently dismissed too?

06-02-2021, 10:20 AM
Have you ever sat and watched kids in the Kindergarten?

It can be quite amusing :greengrin

Pretty patronising...It’s a discussion forum.

06-02-2021, 10:25 AM
Pretty patronising...It’s a discussion forum.

The same handful of posters with entrenched positions, not willing to give an inch, posting pretty much the same thing over and over and over...

I don't see much in the way of discussion.

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 10:28 AM
The same handful of posters with entrenched positions, not willing to give an inch, posting pretty much the same thing over and over and over...

You mean an opinion? On a fans forum where everyone has an opinion.

06-02-2021, 10:30 AM

There’s plenty of questions being asked to try and understand other positions. We might change views we might not. I’ve only just started on this thread so it’s not the same posters.

06-02-2021, 10:45 AM

If Anthony Stokes treated every game like the 2016 Scottish Cup Final he'd still be earning five figures a week for a top team on these islands. There's no such thing as a small game and I'd hate if the club took the dismissive mentality of there being "big games" and "small games".

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 10:50 AM
If Anthony Stokes treated every game like the 2016 Scottish Cup Final he'd still be earning five figures a week for a top team on these islands. There's no such thing as a small game and I'd hate if the club took the dismissive mentality of there being "big games" and "small games".

A question.

Why is the home attendance bigger and and the home athmosphere generally louder at games v Rangers, Celtic, Hearts and Aberdeen?

06-02-2021, 10:51 AM
Nope just trying to understand your logic. Ok we’ve two draws against either half of the old firm..we must have turned up then. Or are they conveniently dismissed too?

3 draws against old firm this season. Two one nil loses against Rangers

06-02-2021, 10:56 AM
A question.

Why is the home attendance bigger and and the home athmosphere generally louder at games v Rangers, Celtic, Hearts and Aberdeen?

Because there are more fans there, but the fans aren't the ones playing on the pitch.

Question - would you accept us losing 2-0 to St Mirren but winning 2-0 vs Aberdeen because the former was seen by the players as a "little game" and the latter as a "big game"?

06-02-2021, 11:01 AM
Jack Ross must wish we’d just been papped out in the early rounds of the cups, he’d have got an easier time of it.

Of course, getting to a semi final is easy, you can tell that by the fact that Hibs are the only side to have reached the last two semi finals.

And getting to a final is a skoosh as well, you can tell that by all the teams that do it every season.

06-02-2021, 11:03 AM
I didn't think I'd ever see a more divisive Hibs manager than Neil Lennon. Marmite. Ross seems to be running it close though. Shame really.

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 11:07 AM
Because there are more fans there, but the fans aren't the ones playing on the pitch.

Question - would you accept us losing 2-0 to St Mirren but winning 2-0 vs Aberdeen because the former was seen by the players as a "little game" and the latter as a "big game"?

Id prefer to win both tbh.

Allez Hibs
06-02-2021, 11:07 AM
I didn't think I'd ever see a more divisive Hibs manager than Neil Lennon. Marmite. Ross seems to be running it close though. Shame really.

Yes its fine margins and we should be happy getting to semi finals.

06-02-2021, 11:08 AM

You've not answered the question - if we lost 2-0 to St Mirren and won 2-0 against Aberdeen, would you accept "Aye, but St. Mirren was just a small game" as an excuse from Jack Ross?

I think we both know the answer. Of course not. Both games have significant importance, particularly in the league. Otherwise you'd not be bothered if we didn't win both.

Caversham Green
06-02-2021, 11:09 AM

Aberdeen's last two games were against Livingston and they managed one point out of a possible six. What does that say about Aberdeen's manager?

06-02-2021, 11:10 AM
I would classify a big game as one in which the performance is irrelevant as long as the result is right. The reverse is also true, the performance is equally irrelevant if the result is wrong.

By that measure every cup game is a big game and I'd argue derbies fall into a similar category. Most people's first thought when they think of Alex Miller isn't the cup win and the final appearance. It's the derby record. The semi finals were big games because the fact we were good for half an hour v St Johnstone or the better team v hearts really does not matter at all because we lost. The last 2 big games were big games because we simply had to get back on track, we won them so Ross has proven he can win big games. Today is arguably a bigger game than Wednesday but that doesn't detract from the importance of the result in midweek.

I would argue a league game v the likes of Hamilton is one in which the result is of course the most important thing but a poor performance might still draw some negative reaction. On the flip side of that a game v Rangers might see a gutsy performance praised even in defeat, in fact we saw evidence of that recently after the game at Ibrox.

06-02-2021, 11:10 AM

You can see by the attendances when we were not beating the so called smaller clubs, just what they thought when asked to attend against the likes of Aberdeen, celtic and the rangers.

06-02-2021, 11:11 AM
Jack Ross must wish we’d just been papped out in the early rounds of the cups, he’d have got an easier time of it.

Of course, getting to a semi final is easy, you can tell that by the fact that Hibs are the only side to have reached the last two semi finals.

And getting to a final is a skoosh as well, you can tell that by all the teams that do it every season.

Getting to a semi final is an achievement, regardless of the draw to get there or the result of said semi final.

However any cup run is in large parts down to luck. We couldn’t have hand picked much better draws in our run to the semi final. Similarly the majority view of Hearts getting to the final against Celtic (certainly the final
before lastanyway) was that it wasn’t much of an achievement as they drew the lowest ranked seeds in every round.

Ross probably was on a hiding to nothing in getting to the semi’s as most if the ties were no win scenarios. Get beat and it’s carnage, win and it’s what we should have been doing against that opposition in all honesty. You could argue that in both semi finals we faced our first real test of the cup run and failed at both those hurdles. As disappointing as it was I’m not overly critical of the Hearts defeat as we played ok, and as is usually the case in a derby, the small margins went against us. The St Johnstone performance for the last hour was indefensible though.

I give him credit for getting to the semi’s, but in doing so and losing them both we’re probably left with more questions than answers IMO.

06-02-2021, 11:11 AM
Aberdeen's last two games were against Livingston and they managed one point out of a possible six. What does that say about Aberdeen's manager?

Celtic had two games on the trot against Livi and picked up two points. I had a wee look on Kerrydale St and their thoughts weren't "Oh well, it's just a game vs Livi".

For fans it may be a different thing - it's easier for a fan to get invested in a cup final than it is a game against Ross County. I'd be absolutely alarmed if our manager and players didn't carry the same level of preperation, planning, effort and execution into every single game irregardless of the opponent, otherwise you get complacency and you get unrequired additional pressure. For Hibernian, there is no such thing as a "small game" or even a "big game" for that matter. If we lost today but went unbeaten for the rest of the season, we'd finish a mile clear in third, maybe even second.

Naturally, I'd prefer to win too but I'm more comforted by the likes of Jack Ross who I get the feeling treats every game with thought and planning and consistency than I was by other managers who ramped up the pressure on certain games and we then saw a resulting slump in a following fixture.

06-02-2021, 11:16 AM
You've not answered the question - if we lost 2-0 to St Mirren and won 2-0 against Aberdeen, would you accept "Aye, but St. Mirren was just a small game" as an excuse from Jack Ross?

I think we both know the answer. Of course not. Both games have significant importance, particularly in the league. Otherwise you'd not be bothered if we didn't win both.

It’s not about having one or the other. We’ve shown we’re really capable of beating teams in the lower half of the league consistently. It puts us in a strong position to be successful but we’re going to need to start beating some of the teams in the top half if we want to be successful.

It’s similar to the cups where we’ve done as you’d expect/hope leading up to the semi finals but then not handled those games.

Folk can argue about what makes a big game to suit their own arguments all day long. I’m pretty sure the players and Ross will realise when a game has extra significance. Whether or not they can handle those games is a different story.

06-02-2021, 11:18 AM
Unite warring factions in pursuit of common enemy

https://external-content.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.i2symbol.com%2Fforce_download. php%3Ffile%3Dimages%2Fsymbols%2Fcheck%2Fcheck_mark _u2713_icon_256x256.png&f=1&nofb=1

06-02-2021, 11:18 AM
Celtic had two games on the trot against Livi and picked up two points. I had a wee look on Kerrydale St and their thoughts weren't "Oh well, it's just a game vs Livi".

For fans it may be a different thing - it's easier for a fan to get invested in a cup final than it is a game against Ross County. I'd be absolutely alarmed if our manager and players didn't carry the same level of preperation, planning, effort and execution into every single game irregardless of the opponent, otherwise you get complacency and you get unrequired additional pressure.

I agree with your defence of Ross, but I think certain games ARE different, and the manager must prepare differently as a result. Collins knew in 2007 that a late winter camp (Marbella?) was what the 2007 team needed that year, and you could see the evident preparation when Fletcher and Benji demolished Killie just having a spring in their step. That cup win wasn’t the start of something sadly and the team broke up but it really could have been.

in my opinion, all league games are equally ‘big’ for players and managers, but for fans some are bigger than others, well signposted by good old category A and B.

Caversham Green
06-02-2021, 11:20 AM

For fans it may be a different thing - it's easier for a fan to get invested in a cup final than it is a game against Ross County. I'd be absolutely alarmed if our manager and players didn't carry the same level of preperation, planning, effort and execution into every single game irregardless of the opponent, otherwise you get complacency and you get unrequired additional pressure. For Hibernian, there is no such thing as a "small game" or even a "big game" for that matter. If we lost today but went unbeaten for the rest of the season, we'd finish a mile clear in third, maybe even second.

Naturally, I'd prefer to win too but I'm more comforted by the likes of Jack Ross who I get the feeling treats every game with thought and planning and consistency than I was by other managers who ramped up the pressure on certain games and we then saw a resulting slump in a following fixture.

My thoughts exactly. The suggestion that we need to put in extra effort for "big" games means we're not trying hard enough in "small" games - that is what I would call unacceptable.

06-02-2021, 11:22 AM
It’s not about having one or the other. We’ve shown we’re really capable of beating teams in the lower half of the league consistently. It puts us in a strong position to be successful but we’re going to need to start beating some of the teams in the top half if we want to be successful.

It’s similar to the cups where we’ve done as you’d expect/hope leading up to the semi finals but then not handled those games.

Folk can argue about what makes a big game to suit their own arguments all day long. I’m pretty sure the players and Ross will realise when a game has extra significance. Whether or not they can handle those games is a different story.

Regularly beating the teams from 6th-12th in the league puts us in a much, much better situation though - if we know that we're going to get a large return of points from those games then we can enjoy the bigger games more.

If we play well against Hamilton then we'll win. If we play well against Rangers or even Aberdeen we may not win. We've seen that this season, in fact. For me it's just as vital that we do whatever we can to play well against the "bottom six" teams to maximise our return because any victories against the OF are to some extent a nice bonus and if we don't win, it's not as damaging to our league campaign.

If we put the effort into the so called "small games" then we make the bigger games that much less intimidating and if anything, an enjoyable chance at a pop at a bigger club than ours with less consequence if we lose.

06-02-2021, 11:25 AM
I agree with your defence of Ross, but I think certain games ARE different, and the manager must prepare differently as a result. Collins knew in 2007 that a late winter camp (Marbella?) was what the 2007 team needed that year, and you could see the evident preparation when Fletcher and Benji demolished Killie just having a spring in their step. That cup win wasn’t the start of something sadly and the team broke up but it really could have been.

in my opinion, all league games are equally ‘big’ for players and managers, but for fans some are bigger than others, well signposted by good old category A and B.

I think that's it. Every game is a big game for managers and players hence why we shouldn't be surprised when they talk about 'preparing the same as any other game'. Obviously the likes of semi finals and finals will still impact their nerves more than a league game but the best players can blank that out and still perform.

Fans place far more emphasis on certain games though. A win or a defeat v Hearts will always provoke a different reaction to the same result against St Mirren. Always has been the case and always will be.

h1bs4life
06-02-2021, 11:27 AM
I was delighted when we got Ross as a manager and he did a good job last season bar the last Derby.
This season under difficult circumstances we have racked up a lot of points
maybe not playing great nothing wrong with it.
We are not going to win the league so rightly or wrongly judgement will be made on managers record in Derby games , cup games and less so games against the old firm.
The Scottish cup was a big chance to right some recent Hampden performances fine margins or not failed , hammering from St Johnstone failed .
Don't know if there is a split between people that normally go to games and those that don't have a read of the season ticket 21/22 thread and see the opinions on that have changed.

Barman Stanton
06-02-2021, 11:50 AM
I feel certain posters just don’t want to lose face and be proven wrong re Jack Ross. The fact this discussion is even going on when the club is sitting 3rd is laughable. I bet deep down certain posters are desperate for us to lose today so they can say I told you so.

06-02-2021, 11:50 AM
I think that's it. Every game is a big game for managers and players hence why we shouldn't be surprised when they talk about 'preparing the same as any other game'.

Exactly, and I'll never agree with fans who criticise a manager for saying as such.

There's a reason for our current league position.

06-02-2021, 11:53 AM
I feel certain posters just don’t want to lose face and be proven wrong re Jack Ross. The fact this discussion is even going on when the club is sitting 3rd is laughable. I bet deep down certain posters are desperate for us to lose today so they can say I told you so.

Will probably notice about 4 minutes into the match thread :greengrin

06-02-2021, 11:53 AM

Agreed, sadly!

06-02-2021, 11:55 AM
Regularly beating the teams from 6th-12th in the league puts us in a much, much better situation though - if we know that we're going to get a large return of points from those games then we can enjoy the bigger games more.

If we play well against Hamilton then we'll win. If we play well against Rangers or even Aberdeen we may not win. We've seen that this season, in fact. For me it's just as vital that we do whatever we can to play well against the "bottom six" teams to maximise our return because any victories against the OF are to some extent a nice bonus and if we don't win, it's not as damaging to our league campaign.

If we put the effort into the so called "small games" then we make the bigger games that much less intimidating and if anything, an enjoyable chance at a pop at a bigger club than ours with less consequence if we lose.

It’s regularly beating the teams in 6th-12th that makes games like today bigger for me. It creates opportunity which creates pressure. So far, this team haven’t shown that they can handle that. I think we can win today and it would be massive given the likely reward for finishing third this year.

06-02-2021, 12:04 PM

That wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest.

06-02-2021, 12:04 PM
Hearts did well in the "big games" last season. Only won about 5/6 games but beat Hibs twice and Rangers twice. Got relegated and didn't win a cup. Wonder if they'd swap places with us right now.

06-02-2021, 12:09 PM
Hearts did well in the "big games" last season. Only won about 5/6 games but beat Hibs twice and Rangers twice. Got relegated and didn't win a cup. Wonder if they'd swap places with us right now.

Has anybody suggested they just want us to do well in the ‘big’ games but aren’t fussed about the rest?

06-02-2021, 12:17 PM
It’s regularly beating the teams in 6th-12th that makes games like today bigger for me. It creates opportunity which creates pressure. So far, this team haven’t shown that they can handle that. I think we can win today and it would be massive given the likely reward for finishing third this year.It's the mentality of treating every game the same that is serving is relatively well. Yes we've had some bad results, but we have been pretty consistent. The trick is to improve the quality little by little (and hopefully therefore the results against teams with bigger budgets), all while remaining consistent.

06-02-2021, 12:45 PM
If Ross is so useless why have only Rangers picked up more league points than us in the last 5 games?

Silky
06-02-2021, 01:11 PM

I sometimes think there are folk who would take that. I know a guy who, genuinely, would be ecstatic if we won four games a season - derby's. That's it. That's his goal. I know another who would sacrifice Derby wins for regular finals and top four finishes. Don't think the team can please everyone!

06-02-2021, 03:38 PM
So glad we got rid of that clown. This new manager bounce is terrific.

Skol
06-02-2021, 03:38 PM
Ross out.

06-02-2021, 03:41 PM

Funny how we laugh at Hearts for their "Big Club" comments but now we've many fans who feel Hibs have a god given right to three points against certain clubs due to their history, fan base or revenue being smaller than ours.

Lendo
06-02-2021, 03:46 PM
Ross, out(standing).

edit

06-02-2021, 03:48 PM
This thread should be interesting tonight. Popcorn out.

Big game winner Ross.

06-02-2021, 03:50 PM
Winning big games Pffft

06-02-2021, 03:51 PM
Winning big games Pffft

Aberdeen are just a wee team so the point still stands.

:whistle:

06-02-2021, 03:52 PM
To everyone with a losers "Ross out" mentality:

:shhhsh!:

06-02-2021, 03:52 PM
Aged like milk this one. 5 points clear in 3rd

06-02-2021, 03:53 PM
3 wins on the trot.

06-02-2021, 03:54 PM
This place will be full of praise for Ross tonight and rightly so. Meanwhile AFC chat will almost certainly have a thread demanding their most successful manager in years has to go.

Fitba fans eh?

06-02-2021, 03:54 PM
Best man for the job would be Tommy Wright. No way would we be soft touches with him at the helm.

Hahahahahahahaha.

This aged well.

06-02-2021, 03:55 PM
Sackings after a bit of poor form doesn’t have to be the answer.

06-02-2021, 03:56 PM
This place will be full of praise for Ross tonight and rightly so. Meanwhile AFC chat will almost certainly have a thread demanding their most successful manager in years has to go.

Fitba fans eh?

Rey Mysterio will be back outside Pittodrie awaiting for the team bus to arrive

Kevin Harper on the match coverage - “anyone criticising Jack Ross should be chopped up with a machete and sent to the 4 corners of the globe to be eaten by seagulls.”

Superb

06-02-2021, 03:57 PM
Loose : Has to go!

Win: He can win the big games.

Well played Hibs and JR.

06-02-2021, 03:57 PM
Ross is now a dead man walking. We will limp along to the end of the season when he will be potted.

Hahaha.

Want to give us the lottery numbers tonight as well?

06-02-2021, 03:59 PM
Serial bottle merchant. Sunderland fans called it. Bin him asap. He’s a coach not a leader.

Made me chuckle.

What a post.

06-02-2021, 03:59 PM

Fitba fans eh?

Hope he stays and continues to fleece them for (the rumoured) 17k a week.

06-02-2021, 04:02 PM
Sack him
He’s useless
Cant win a big game - boring to watch.
Same at Sunderland. Lost 1. Cup final v Pompey for L1 & L2 sides. 2. Lost L1 play off final same season wi biggest resource budget in league.

Lets hope we punt him on Monday - rebuild

Another one who got it completely wrong. You love to see it. Delicious.

06-02-2021, 04:02 PM
I’d love to see this thread closed. In the interests of unity, backing the manager and backing the team.

06-02-2021, 04:03 PM
Another one who got it completely wrong. You love to see it. Delicious.

Maybe just enjoy the win rather than putting the boot into other posters? Seems your enjoying that more than the 3 points.

06-02-2021, 04:03 PM
We are now 10 points infront of livi, even if they win there game in hand they are a minimum of 3 games from catching us

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

06-02-2021, 04:04 PM
We are only 10 points in front of Livi. :worried:

Lee Marvin
Close thread.

Exactly it’s cringe worthy

06-02-2021, 04:06 PM
I think this has run it's course.

We won today, everyone is happy. A thread for people to pick fights and try to start arguments helps nobody.

Closed.