View Full Version : Ross out

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

23-01-2021, 08:08 PM
Ross Co, Livi and St Johnstone in the past month - lost 3, scored 0 conceded 8. That is dreadful.It's definately not a great month

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

23-01-2021, 08:08 PM
I can 100% understand the folk asking for Ross to be replaced. Poor style of play, struggle to win big games, lost two very winnable semi finals. All this despite having a very strong group of players.

What I find hard to understand is the folk thinking he should have more time. For what? He's been backed more so than most managers in my memory, especially in trying conditions.

Finishing 4th in this current league is not an achievement. Will the same folk be equally pleased when Hearts come up next season and we end up fifth?

We are so boring, predictable and tame. His chat at full time as well is laughable.

23-01-2021, 08:09 PM
Ross Co, Livi and St Johnstone in the past month - lost 3, scored 0 conceded 8. That is dreadful.

Why cherry pick games where we lost without scoring. Seems a bit pointless. His record against teams lower than us is decent.

23-01-2021, 08:10 PM
Why cherry pick games where we lost without scoring. Seems a bit pointless. His record against teams lower than us is decent.

Because we're talking about the past month and recent form. Hecky started off well, look how that turned out.

23-01-2021, 08:12 PM
Absolutely mental going for a change of Manager at this time.

Should defo stay until the end of the season and then see where we are at when we come through the ****storm that is coronavirus.

Rubbish. If he can't get the results he goes. Pandemic or not.

23-01-2021, 08:13 PM
Hopefully he is sacked first thing Monday Morning. But the issues at Hibs dont lie purely with the manager the clubs seriously lacking Ambition.

Correct. As a club we've forgotten the lesson we learned winning the cup in 2016 and have gone back to being too nice and passive both on and off the pitch.

The 2nd half tonight was a complete capitulation. We have recruited some nice footballers but unlike 2016, there are no leaders on the pitch or the touchline who can motivate the team when things go against us.

Ron Gordon can hopefully see the glaring weaknesses in mental toughness, will to win, and passion throughout the football department. If not, we're in trouble.

allmodcons
23-01-2021, 08:17 PM
Rubbish. If he can't get the results he goes. Pandemic or not.

On that basis he should stay because he wins more than he loses.

23-01-2021, 08:18 PM
It never does.

They’re ****ing quiet after a good result though

When Ross took over we were 2nd bottom. Roll forward 14 months and we are 4th in the league and have been in 2 semi-finals. We should have won those semi-finals but, because we have been beaten in those semi-finals doesn't mean, in my opinion, we need to get rid of our manager and have wholesale change of the squad. Someone on another thread said they want us to be like Brentford [who aim for year on year improvement] and I totally agree.

23-01-2021, 08:19 PM
He needs to go. Our ST numbers will take a big hit if we’re subjected to what we’re having to watch this season. We’re absolutely horrendous to watch

23-01-2021, 08:20 PM
Hopefully he is sacked first thing Monday Morning. But the issues at Hibs dont lie purely with the manager the clubs seriously lacking Ambition.

In what way have the club lacked ambition under Ross?

Signed P. McGinn, Gogic, Nisbet, Wright, Magennis, Cadden, Irvine, Macey... What team in the league has spent or recruited as well as that?

23-01-2021, 08:20 PM
Weird thing for me is we've got about 10 midfielders and 6 fullbacks but only 2 strikers and 3 centre half's, one of whom is 35 year old Darren McGregor.

I think we have a good squad but I don't think it's well balanced. It also worries me that the manager doesn't seem to know his best team or even formation at this point.

Plus the football is dire. We either pass it aimlessly or hoof it forward.

23-01-2021, 08:21 PM
In what way have the club lacked ambition under Ross?

Signed P. McGinn, Gogic, Nisbet, Wright, Magennis, Cadden, Irvine, Macey... What team in the league has spent or recruited as well as that?

Hardly good recruitment if they’ve all played a part in losing 2 semi finals within 3 months

23-01-2021, 08:21 PM
Anyone defending jack Ross needs to have a rev think.

He doesn’t win big games.
Doesn’t inspire the fans.
Persists with that weak defence.

Disgusted again with that today. Losers

You'd have struggled when Hecky and Lenny were managing us

23-01-2021, 08:22 PM
Get goodwin or rice in. Both doing great jobs with a fraction of our budget.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

23-01-2021, 08:23 PM
He needs to go. Our ST numbers will take a big hit if we’re subjected to what we’re having to watch this season. We’re absolutely horrendous to watchAgree

When Ross took over we were 2nd bottom. Roll forward 14 months and we are 4th in the league and have been 2 semi-finals. We should have won those semi-finals but, because we have been beaten in those semi-finals doesn't mean, in my opinion, we need to get rid of our manager and have wholesale change of the squad. Someone on another thread said they want us to be like Brentford [who aim for year on year improvement] and I totally agree.

You’re no counting the semi finals as achievements?

Hardly good recruitment if they’ve all played a part in losing 2 semi finals within 3 months

Not think that might have more to do with Ross and his tactics, no?

23-01-2021, 08:24 PM

Heckingbottom did as well. Good half season at the wheel...

Similar style of football as well.

He deserves some leeway as he has got results but things have been in his favour - most clubs in league are struggling financially and we are better off than 7 of them. He has been financially backed more than any recent Hibs manager I can remember, especially when you include pandemic.

23-01-2021, 08:25 PM
Get goodwin or rice in. Both doing great jobs with a fraction of our budget.

Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkCan you imagine this place if hibs appoint Brian Rice?

Allez Hibs
23-01-2021, 08:25 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/furious-jack-ross-brands-kenny-23373815

Jack Ross not coming across well.

23-01-2021, 08:26 PM
Can you imagine this place if hibs appoint Brian Rice?

It would be carnage.

Allez Hibs
23-01-2021, 08:26 PM
Can you imagine this place if hibs appoint Brian Rice?

Imagine if it was the Livingston manager?

Has to be Stubbs. Spanish clubs hire previous managers all the time. I'd give Hughes another shot at it too.

23-01-2021, 08:27 PM

Not lately he doesn't.

If winning more than you lose is the metric then he goes because he's stopped doing it.

loanheadhibby
Ross Co, Livi and St Johnstone in the past month - lost 3, scored 0 conceded 8. That is dreadful.

What a horrendous statistic that is. Surely sackable on that alone. And 2 semi final losses to boot.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/furious-jack-ross-brands-kenny-23373815

I want to listen to it, hopefully it appears online. Going by the transcript he seems to have lost it.

Weird thing for me is we've got about 10 midfielders and 6 fullbacks but only 2 strikers and 3 centre half's, one of whom is 35 year old Darren McGregor.

I think we have a good squad but I don't think it's well balanced. It also worries me that the manager doesn't seem to know his best team or even formation at this point.

Plus the football is dire. We either pass it aimlessly or hoof it forward. The squad is being built in a similar way to when Lennon was here. If a player comes up that is on our radar then we try and get them even if we have cover in that position. We end up spending money and not having any left to buy cover for positions we desperately need to create competition in.

Allez Hibs
23-01-2021, 08:28 PM
Yeah, that is a good observation.

23-01-2021, 08:32 PM

ach he's maybe just frustrated at his players chucking it after the 2nd goal

23-01-2021, 08:32 PM
At the risk of being a bit pedantic, DicoDoidge, I think the options on your poll are a bit ‘grey’. I think the top two options would have been absolutely sufficient for a decent idea of fan’s opinions. To include the Stubbs and a/n/other option clouds the issue a wee bit. For example, would folk, voting for Stubbs, have voted ‘for’ or ‘against’ Ross, if Stubbs wasn’t an option? Also, the a/n/other option, for me, is by definition, the same as the first option.
I’ve just realised that option four offers a chance for suggestions, so fair enough. I still think a straightforward thumbs up or down would be the best indicator at this stage. Plenty time for suggestions if and when Ross moves on. Sorry for nit-picking but I hope you get my drift.

allmodcons
23-01-2021, 08:36 PM
Not lately he doesn't.

If winning more than you lose is the metric then he goes because he's stopped doing it.

Are we now judging Managers on their last half dozen results?

Thank **** you're not in charge, we'd have a new Manager every 3 or 4 months.

He should be judged over the course of the season.

Why’s he not sacked yet

Because we're talking about the past month and recent form. Hecky started off well, look how that turned out.

Ok why ignore the games we did ok in

23-01-2021, 08:38 PM
Get him out immediately. For The two semi finals alone he deserves to be punted.
That second half is as gutless and pathetic as I’ve seen, embarrassing to a man. His failure to address how bad hanlon and porteous have been at times this season astounds me. Boyle as well for that matter, garbage all season. Cadden should never have started in a million years tonight either, was well off it.
At last someone else who recognises how bad Boyle has been this season?? Total imposter since he signed that new deal yet gets a game every week regardless

23-01-2021, 08:38 PM
Why’s he not sacked yetI think probably because he's doing a reasonable job

Although now under pressure with a few bad results and a poor month

23-01-2021, 08:39 PM
ach he's maybe just frustrated at his players chucking it after the 2nd goal

He ****ing chucked it with his tactics after the 2nd goal

What can we achieve this season now? I don’t think we’ll pip Aberdeen to 3rd. Pumped out a semi final by our rivals in the league below. Absolutely destroyed by ****ing st johnstone when we were favourites to win the cup. I’d rather get pumped out of the Scottish cup as soon as possible because I can’t watch this team of losers get pumped in another semi.

I’ve said this repeatedly but I really don’t feel 4th is an achievement this year but the quality of league is horrendous.

He should be judged over the course of the season.Keeps telling us the aim is to win trophies.
Made dismal attempts at that so far

23-01-2021, 08:40 PM
Not lately he doesn't.

By what metric? He's won as many games as he's lost in the last 3. You can make up any "metric" to suit you arguement.

23-01-2021, 08:40 PM
Ok why ignore the games we did ok in

I don't think anyone is. Ross rightly got the praise he deserved early on the season when, like you said, we were doing ok. Now he's rightly being criticised when we are far from doing ok. Works both ways, and currently, we're pish

sorrow sorrow
23-01-2021, 08:41 PM
Ok let’s see how many donations are made to hsl hampden 100k now.
Everything comes down to results like tonight
Aye Ron is a nice guy...lol that’s y dempster is gone to Queen’s Park!
Ross is gone

zitelli62
23-01-2021, 08:42 PM
Ross out Stubbs in simple.

What can we achieve this season now? I don’t think we’ll pip Aberdeen to 3rd. Pumped out a semi final by our rivals in the league below. Absolutely destroyed by ****ing st johnstone when we were favourites to win the cup. I’d rather get pumped out of the Scottish cup as soon as possible because I can’t watch this team of losers get pumped in another semi.

I’ve said this repeatedly but I really don’t feel 4th is an achievement this year but the quality of league is horrendous.

Totally agree, 4th is in no way an achievement this season.

Ross out Stubbs in simple.Please no

Stokesy's on fire
23-01-2021, 08:43 PM

23-01-2021, 08:44 PM

Showing a bit of passion and fight, nout wrong with that.

Stokesy's on fire
23-01-2021, 08:45 PM
Ross out Stubbs in simple.

Love the idea but not a good move realisticly

Robinson in until the seasons end wouldnt be a bad idea

allmodcons
23-01-2021, 08:45 PM

You're the loser making statements like that. I get that people are upset but that is just embarrassing.

23-01-2021, 08:46 PM
I think you have to also consider that Ross has been backed to a greater extent than any manager in our recent history. We have paid out transfer fees and brought in a lot of players in a short space of time. There's a lot of chat that we are going with a small squad this year but I'm not sure that stands up to a huge amount of scrutiny. We had guys like Mallan, Newell, McGinn and Gray not even stripped tonight with only one of them injured. The 3 who were fit would start for plenty teams in our league.

If we fail to finish top 4, which is possible if not entirely likely, then that is on Ross and his squad rather than the board. Hibs have backed him to an admirable extent considering the financial pressures all clubs are currently working under. It remains to be seen if they have had good value for that money.

23-01-2021, 08:47 PM

During a game would be better or even if his team showed some.

23-01-2021, 08:49 PM
Meh, bring on the end of the season.

beensaidbefore
23-01-2021, 08:49 PM
Just to settle things on hibs.net this is a wee poll to see if the manager should be replaced or should he stay.
I am still in the dont know side but leaning to get Stubbsy back if only to give us a great lift to see us through to the end of this crap season, I say crap as it is not football without crowds really.
Just seen a good suggestion on another thread, and have to agree. Scot Brown in as player manager, then you would get some fight in the few games he picked himself to play in.

No thanks! Stubbs has done SFA since us, and Scott Brown is a complete no no, he's done in terms of playing, nothing to suggest he would be a good manager, imo.

23-01-2021, 08:50 PM
I've seen Goodwins name mentioned once or twice

Any actual reason for that?

Is he highly rated?

beensaidbefore
23-01-2021, 08:51 PM
what happened the last two times we sacked a manager who had us in a serviceable position, albeit with uninspiring football?

we're also at most 5 points off 3rd place. sacking ross is an absolutely stupid idea. we will be in europe next season, and he deserve the opportunity to deliver this. if he fails, then fine, sack him, but i can't honestly see who is going to do a better job than him.

This. :aok:

During a game would be better or even if his team showed some.

I agree, but he did nothing wrong showing it there either.

It's worth remembering that Stubbs lost a lot of big games before he finally won the biggest one.

Ross has lost his 2 most important games so far, but he's improved us since joining, and hopefully that trend will continue (despite a recent dip).

SloopJB
23-01-2021, 08:52 PM

I know emotions are running high, but.
Favourites to win the cup means nothing otherwise Rangers and/or Celtic would be in the final.
If were to get to another semi, this bunch of losers would have to win games to get there.

We could have won today but didn’t, there isn’t any should, or we don’t play any games just select the positions teams should end up in.

I’ve said repeatedly 4th would be an achievement which is probably being more negative than you because I don’t think it’s a given by any means.

23-01-2021, 08:52 PM

Why didn’t we keep Heckingbottom then? He didn’t get the full season.

Review our results this season closely and recall the performances, most were very very tight games and we’ve had some luck along the way. Almost identical to Hecky’s half season where we got results but weren’t playing great. I can only think of 3 games where we’ve played reasonably well (in possession and in attack) and genuinely opened opposition up. Rest were boring and like watching 2 poor teams giving the ball away every 2 secs.

We seem set up to play the percentages, don’t take risks, drop into shape etc. Think that’s why we become a ragged mess when we’re chasing a game as we don’t have a plan. Dropping back into a shape doesn’t get you back from losing. Can’t rely on counter attacks.

23-01-2021, 08:56 PM
Absolutely no chance he's away before the season ends, but it's on us as supporters to make very clear to the club (via potentially withholding season ticket funds) that he can't remain manager come June. Jack Ross brand of football is dire, finishing 4th or 5th will be no achievement with our budget... and he is a serial failure when it comes to the big games. 2nd tier Hertz & 3-0 pumping by bottom 6 St Johnstone FFSIf we all withhold our season tickets then you can say goodbye to being annoyed about being 4th. You'll be really pissed we are bottom six.

23-01-2021, 08:58 PM
If we all withhold our season tickets then you can say goodbye to being annoyed about being 4th. You'll be really pissed we are bottom six.

I’m afraid people won’t continue to chuck money at the club to watch us get dumped out of semi finals from our rivals or from ****ing St Johnstone.

23-01-2021, 09:00 PM
If we all withhold our season tickets then you can say goodbye to being annoyed about being 4th. You'll be really pissed we are bottom six.

Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkHibs. Net will be revelling in it [emoji106]

Unless we bring in Brian Rice, Yogi Hughes or Scott Brown

zitelli62
23-01-2021, 09:01 PM
[QUOTE=Michael;6432956]It's worth remembering that Stubbs lost a lot of big games before he finally won the biggest one.

Ross has lost his 2 most important games so far, but he's improved us since joining, and hopefully that trend will continue (despite a recent dip).[/QUOTE
The clue is in that Stubbs won the big one are you confident ross can do that?

23-01-2021, 09:02 PM
Hibs. Net will be revelling in it [emoji106]

You’re very irritating

allmodcons
23-01-2021, 09:03 PM
Why didn’t we keep Heckingbottom then? He didn’t get the full season.

Review our results this season closely and recall the performances, most were very very tight games and we’ve had some luck along the way. Almost identical to Hecky’s half season where we got results but weren’t playing great. I can only think of 3 games where we’ve played reasonably well (in possession and in attack) and genuinely opened opposition up. Rest were boring and like watching 2 poor teams giving the ball away every 2 secs.

We seem set up to play the percentages, don’t take risks, drop into shape etc. Think that’s why we become a ragged mess when we’re chasing a game as we don’t have a plan. Dropping back into a shape doesn’t get you back from losing. Can’t rely on counter attacks.

I am really not one for football stats (bores me) but I seem to recall we were 10th in the league when Heckingbottom got sacked.

Maybe that's the difference? Football is a results driven business is it not?

beensaidbefore
23-01-2021, 09:06 PM
In the last 20 years 6 clubs have won more points than us, Motherwell, yes, Motherwell have won 250 points more than us in the last 20 years, Kilmarnock about 200. That makes us the 7th best club in Scotland over that time. Folk suggesting 4th is something to be scoffed at are kidding themselves on.

joe t
23-01-2021, 09:07 PM
Ok let’s see how many donations are made to hsl hampden 100k now.
Everything comes down to results like tonight
Aye Ron is a nice guy...lol that’s y dempster is gone to Queen’s Park!
Ross is gone

Not everything comes down to tonight’s result. It’s all relative I suppose. We lost a national cup semi-final today, while the poppy thieves lost at home in the 2nd tier of Scottish football. I know the position I’d rather be in, wouldnt you agree?

23-01-2021, 09:08 PM

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkWow. Are you Jack Ross? Are you trying to piss people off on purpose. Grow up.
We spend fortunes on season tickets, hsl, merchandise, happy hibee tickets and more.
Would you rather that didnt happen?
Because it will if these horrible days and results keep happening.
Now, bore off

23-01-2021, 09:09 PM
Ask yourself this..

If we were to play Hearts anytime soon or before end of the season - would you be confident with Ross in charge and these players ?

As mince Hearts are they have shown they are mentally tougher than our group and that won’t change till we add players with character and improve the CB pairing. We had a thread about flair players on here but Halliday / Naismith / Gordon / Boyce don’t have much flair but they have experience and are mentally tough.

The only thing that could save Ross now is a Scottish Cup win but that very unlikely and I expect Rangers to win that after their league cup mess.

I always think it more than stats in football - it’s how the players perform and how we compete in games. Some Hecky games we were really awful with players like Vela. Ross has better players but there are performances which are very similar and the football with long diagonals from the CB’s is woeful. Football is a simple game - Livingston are showing up everyone right now and Neilson and Ross are the new breed of coaches but you can’t just try dress well and expect wins. Both have had some shocking results and serious questions are being asked.

In the last 20 years 6 clubs have won more points than us, Motherwell, yes, Motherwell have won 250 points more than us in the last 20 years, Kilmarnock about 200. That makes us the 7th best club in Scotland over that time. Folk suggesting 4th is something to be scoffed at are kidding themselves on.

That surely only shows a club of our size has been underperforming for a very very long time. Doesn't mean it's acceptable to continue that trend, else what's the point? Fourth this season is no real achievement in my opinion.

At last someone else who recognises how bad Boyle has been this season?? Total imposter since he signed that new deal yet gets a game every week regardless

Boyle deserves to be dropped and give someone else a chance in the team

I’ll get slated for this but if some club came in and offered us a decent amount for him, i would accept it and bring in someone else in that position.

23-01-2021, 09:10 PM
You’re very irritatingso is the constant 'instant gratification' and total drama queen reactions on here

coco22
23-01-2021, 09:10 PM
[QUOTE=Michael;6432956]It's worth remembering that Stubbs lost a lot of big games before he finally won the biggest one.

Ross has lost his 2 most important games so far, but he's improved us since joining, and hopefully that trend will continue (despite a recent dip).[/QUOTE
The clue is in that Stubbs won the big one are you confident ross can do
that?

Similarly...nobody was confident against the Rangers that day but it turned out to be beautiful. We lost a much more winnable final as well remember. I still think JR is the manager to take us forward and learn from these results. If he’s not, the remainder of the season with his signings, squad and direction will be the tester

23-01-2021, 09:11 PM
Hard to remove the emotion from it. We are in a good league position, though we shouldn’t expect much less given our budget and the backing ross has had. We are playing mostly terrible football and absolutely shat the bed in 2 semi finals in a matter of months with a pish record against the big teams.

I like Ross, seems like a decent guy but this is ****ing grim at times.

23-01-2021, 09:11 PM
It's worth remembering that Stubbs lost a lot of big games before he finally won the biggest one.

Ross has lost his 2 most important games so far, but he's improved us since joining, and hopefully that trend will continue (despite a recent dip).

His jacket was definitely on a shoogly peg, and, but for a bit of Henderson/Gray magic, the final could have ended disastrously and Stubbs would have been history. The final won him time, but he chose to walk out on us and, despite admitting he made a bad choice, his cookie crumbled. There’s nothing to suggest a return to management with us or any other team would be successful.

23-01-2021, 09:13 PM
Wow. Are you Jack Ross? Are you trying to piss people off on purpose. Grow up.
We spend fortunes on season tickets, hsl, merchandise, happy hibee tickets and more.
Would you rather that didnt happen?
Because it will if these horrible days and results keep happening.
Now, bore off

Settle down

That's your opinion - bad result, bad month, we arnt unique to that

I think hibs are in a reasonable position . Could have been better ofcourse but reasonable

If we won tonight id still think we were Doing OK, better than 'usual' ... The same way losing tonight doenst destroy the previous 12 months

These bad results have put pressure on our manager but I just don't agree with some of the OTT bashing the keyboard reactions

I

allmodcons
23-01-2021, 09:13 PM
Ask yourself this..

If we were to play Hearts anytime soon or before end of the season - would you be confident with Ross in charge and these players ?

As mince Hearts are they have shown they are mentally tougher than our group and that won’t change till we add players with character and improve the CB pairing. We had a thread about flair players on here but Halliday / Naismith / Gordon / Boyce don’t have much flair but they have experience and are mentally tough.

The only thing that could save Ross now is a Scottish Cup win but that very unlikely and I expect Rangers to win that after their league cup mess.

I always think it more than stats in football - it’s how the players perform and how we compete in games. Some Hecky games we were really awful with players like Vela. Ross has better players but there are performances which are very similar and the football with long diagonals from the CB’s is woeful. Football is a simple game - Livingston are showing up everyone right now and Neilson and Ross are the new breed of coaches but you can’t just try dress well and expect wins. Both have had some shocking results and serious questions are being asked.

Aye, right enough, Hearts are so mentally tough they never get beat unless, of course, it's by Raith Rovers, Dundee, Dunfermline and Alloa Athletic.

23-01-2021, 09:14 PM
so is the constant 'instant gratification' and total drama queen reactions on here

There's nothing dramatic about it. Folk have been voicing concern about how poor we've been recently. Like it or not results reflect a managers performance.

This place has been mental recently. It's a football forum, folk need to realise negative opinions mean just as much as the positive ones. Whether that annoys you or not, it's the truth.

23-01-2021, 09:14 PM
I am really not one for football stats (bores me) but I seem to recall we were 10th in the league when Heckingbottom got sacked.

Maybe that's the difference? Football is a results driven business is it not?

Ah, so it’s a results based business but getting pumped out of 2 cup semis is just one of those things? Don’t understand that, what position in the league do we need to be in before Ross comes under serious pressure? 6th? Never understood always waiting until catastrophe before changing manager.

Football stats mostly bore me as well. Unfortunately so does watching Hibs at the moment. Not just now but pretty much whole season so far. Our play is stale and boring.

The way some people are talking about time and building etc. I’m wondering if they think Jack Ross is our Sir Alex or something...

coldingham hibs
23-01-2021, 09:16 PM
Best man for the job would be Tommy Wright. No way would we be soft touches with him at the helm.

23-01-2021, 09:16 PM
His jacket was definitely on a shoogly peg, and, but for a bit of Henderson/Gray magic, the final could have ended disastrously and Stubbs would have been history. The final won him time, but he chose to walk out on us and, despite admitting he made a bad choice, his cookie crumbled. There’s nothing to suggest a return to management with us or any other team would be successful.I distinctly remember folk on here saying he should be removed from his position before the cup final

I think the term Hibsed it was born from Stubbs team?

The cup final was amazing and I mind going to it with very little expectation

Things can change very quickly as that week or so vividly shows

23-01-2021, 09:17 PM
Best man for the job would be Tommy Wright. No way would we be soft touches with him at the helm.

Nah, you’re alright.

23-01-2021, 09:17 PM
Settle down

That's your opinion - bad result, bad month, we arnt unique to that

I think hibs are in a reasonable piston. Could have been better ofcourse but reasonable

If we won tonight id still think we were Doing OK, better than 'usual' ... The same way losing tonight doenst destroy the previous 12 months

These bad results have put pressure on our manager but I just don't agree with some of the OTT bashing the keyboard reactions

I

Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkDisagree. But fair enough, keep the faith

Hibees1973
23-01-2021, 09:18 PM
Going into big games under Heckingbottom and Ross I have little optimism, only hope.

It is clear we have lost the steel the team had under Stubbs and Lennon.

I accept that Stubbs and Lennon had their faults, but I remember winning frequently against the likes of Rangers and Hearts.

The team showed fight under these two. Just now we are meek and do not show any fight or the ability to change tactics when games are not going well.

I am not suggesting Stubbs as manager as it is normally wrong to go back a previous manager.

After giving this a lot of thought and reflection after tonight, Ross should be given to the end of the season and the chance to win the Scottish Cup. A favourable draw may see us in another semi final.

My gut feeling is he won’t be around come the start of next season.

23-01-2021, 09:19 PM
That surely only shows a club of our size has been underperforming for a very very long time. Doesn't mean it's acceptable to continue that trend, else what's the point? Fourth this season is no real achievement in my opinion.

Some of the worst posts on here are fans saying Hibs have been crap for years so will always be crap.

That mentally just accepts mediocre. Younger fans have been brought up in a time with a training ground/ stadium , some excellent ST sales, cup wins and it’s been shown we have massively under performed with the resources we have.

Constant failure is only going to one thing and the club will lose fans as people get fed up spending £ with no half decent return.

uphallhibby
23-01-2021, 09:19 PM
We are simply so predicable in big games and Ross gets found out every time, soft mentality when it matters time for a change

Sent from my HRY-LX1T using Tapatalk

AugustaHibs
23-01-2021, 09:21 PM

Between this and the covid thread, you are a weird weird guy eh

23-01-2021, 09:22 PM

Some of the worst posts on here are fans saying Hibs have been crap for years so will always be crap.

That mentally just accepts mediocre. Younger fans have been brought up in a time with a training ground/ stadium , some excellent ST sales, cup wins and it’s been shown we have massively under performed with the resources we have.

Constant failure is only going to one thing and the club will lose fans as people get fed up spending £ with no half decent return.

Yep. Next seasons ST numbers will drop anyway due to current circumstances but I really worry that folk have got used to not going to the games and won’t renew now. Only a cup win could keep ST’s at a steady number.

23-01-2021, 09:22 PM
Some posts on Twitter saying Ross under pressure in next series of games. Not sure how reliable they are but I’d be surprised if this wasn’t the case.

23-01-2021, 09:23 PM
Between this and the covid thread, you are a weird weird guy ehComing from you, I don't think that holds too much water

Particulary regarding anything covid related.

23-01-2021, 09:23 PM
Some posts on Twitter saying Ross under pressure in next series of games. Not sure how reliable they are but I’d be surprised if this wasn’t the case.He's definately under pressure, from the fans at least

Almost impossible to know about how our owner will see it

23-01-2021, 09:24 PM
Aye, right enough, Hearts are so mentally tough they never get beat unless, of course, it's by Raith Rovers, Dundee, Dunfermline and Alloa Athletic.

They showed more fight against us and Celtic in the final that most of our games this season.

They will win the championship as expected - I wouldn’t be confident with this Hibs team in the championship to get promoted.

As much as I love seeing them lose to lower league teams they have beaten us last 2 games and would have no faith Ross motivating players to beat them anytime soon.

Victor
23-01-2021, 09:25 PM
Not yet. Will wait to see if he brings in an experienced centre half.

23-01-2021, 09:27 PM
There's nothing dramatic about it. Folk have been voicing concern about how poor we've been recently. Like it or not results reflect a managers performance.

This place has been mental recently. It's a football forum, folk need to realise negative opinions mean just as much as the positive ones. Whether that annoys you or not, it's the truth.It's dramatic when we have threads basically saying most of our first time are pish etc

No one can deny we have had a rocky month but it wasn't so long before that folk were worried our clueless bottle merchant manger was being poached by Celtic

23-01-2021, 09:28 PM
I distinctly remember folk on here saying he should be removed from his position before the cup final

I think the term Hibsed it was born from Stubbs team?

The cup final was amazing and I mind going to it with very little expectation

Things can change very quickly as that week or so vividly shows

Ross isn’t going to get us anywhere near a cup final anytime soon. That ship sailed against lower league Hearts and could have bought him some time with a derby win / final appearance against a poor Celtic team. Even winning against Saints wasn’t going to do much for him unless he won the final.

But to fail so spectacularly in this game isn’t acceptable and it’s embarrassing - I’m not surprised as I know this Hibs team have it in them as shown by Ross County and Livi recently. That wasn’t just tired legs it was a whole load of issues and the manager is responsible.

23-01-2021, 09:28 PM
It's dramatic when we have threads basically saying most of our first time are pish etc

No one can deny we have had a rocky month but it wasn't so long before that folk were worried our clusless bottle merchant manger was being poached by Celtic

I’d suggest the only folk that were worried about that are still backing him.

I doubt many have made such a dramatic swing.

23-01-2021, 09:29 PM

Interesting. Are these points accrued in the top flight only (do they include points accrued in lower leagues)? If they include points hibs got in the championship then this would make the numbers look even worse.

Not yet. Will wait to see if he brings in an experienced centre half.

Heard St Mirren have a good sweeper in their cleaning department. Sure our recruitment team will be all over it. Problem is he may be match fit which doesn’t fit our signing policy!

BS44
The Sporting Director who was promoted from Head of Recruitment after some questionable (at best) recruitment?

Cadden is the obvious one for me. Where has he been identified to play and who is he playing instead of? Kyle Magennis ending up left midfield to get him in the team as well.

Cadden will play on the right of a five man midfield, and that'll let Boyle play as a attacker rather than a wing back

23-01-2021, 09:30 PM
They showed more fight against us and Celtic in the final that most of our games this season.

They will win the championship as expected - I wouldn’t be confident with this Hibs team in the championship to get promoted.

As much as I love seeing them lose to lower league teams they have beaten us last 2 games and would have no faith Ross motivating players to beat them anytime soon.

A bit of measured panic is fine but come on eh?

You wouldn’t be confident that the team clear in 4th in the Premiership would get promoted from the Championship?

Reign in the nonsense.

23-01-2021, 09:30 PM

I’ll pass on using 20 years of under achievement as reason to accept any old pish.

23-01-2021, 09:33 PM
Boyle deserves to be dropped and give someone else a chance in the team

I’ll get slated for this but if some club came in and offered us a decent amount for him, i would accept it and bring in someone else in that position.
Boyle has been struggling for weeks but St Johnstone knew Ross would play him. It was a perfect chance to start with him on the bench for a change and scupper their plans. Previous managers have done this when he has gone off the boil and used him to great effect as an impact player. Every manager knows the way we play and the slow build up and long ball stuff makes it easy to snuff Boyle out the game. Snuff out Boyle and Nisbet is out the game as well. Scott Allan coming on was also ridiculous given how long he has been out as well as Cadden who also hasn't played in months. . Its very poor management if you ask me.

23-01-2021, 09:36 PM

You wouldn’t be confident that the team clear in 4th in the Premiership would get promoted from the Championship?

Reign in the nonsense.
I wouldn’t either. I’ve said for weeks this team will continually let us down and prepare to be disappointed for the semi-final.

I can’t believe people can’t see it and think we’re “doing well” in a very poor standard of league this year.

- shocking home record
- lost two semi-finals in 3 months (against teams lower placed than us and in a lower league.
- beat by Ross county and Livi at home (0-5)
- Not beaten Celtic/Rangers or Aberdeen yet alone even scored vs Aberdeen

Wakeyhibee
23-01-2021, 09:38 PM
Cant see him getting pumped now. What gets me is we played better latter half last season than we have this, with additional players.

And yet we are still 4th!! I've been bored in some of the live games I've watched, I've seen a couple of games we've played well and been entertained.

End of the season for me. If we lose 4th then with the backing and in these circumstances we need to change. 4th should be minimum pass marks

23-01-2021, 09:39 PM
It's dramatic when we have threads basically saying most of our first time are pish etc

No one can deny we have had a rocky month but it wasn't so long before that folk were worried our clueless bottle merchant manger was being poached by Celtic

I’m more worried he won’t be poached by Celtic!

23-01-2021, 09:39 PM
I’m more worried he won’t be poached by Celtic!Well, Yeah, seems to be heading that way [emoji23]

23-01-2021, 09:44 PM
I wouldn’t either. I’ve said for weeks this team will continually let us down and prepare to be disappointed for the semi-final.

I can’t believe people can’t see it and think we’re “doing well” in a very poor standard of league this year.

- shocking home record
- lost two semi-finals in 3 months (against teams lower placed than us and in a lower league.

Put me down as another who would have no confidence in Ross getting us out that league.

23-01-2021, 09:44 PM

Reign in the nonsense.

Nope I wouldn’t be fully confident. Though as I said I do expect Hearts will gain promotion as seems others are taking points off each other all over the place.

The betfred group stages were similar to when Hecky was here and struggled against part time teams.

Hibs would be similar to Hearts winning most but losing a few to teams like Dundee etc.

Our next few games.

Rangers on our cabbage patch.
Dundee Utd away
St Mirren away
Aberdeen home
Ross County away

Feeling confident ??!

23-01-2021, 09:48 PM
Boyle has been struggling for weeks but St Johnstone knew Ross would play him. It was a perfect chance to start with him on the bench for a change and scupper their plans. Previous managers have done this when he has gone off the boil and used him to great effect as an impact player. Every manager knows the way we play and the slow build up and long ball stuff makes it easy to snuff Boyle out the game. Snuff out Boyle and Nisbet is out the game as well. Scott Allan coming on was also ridiculous given how long he has been out as well as Cadden who also hasn't played in months. . Its very poor management if you ask me.

Giving Cadden his debut in a semi final and having a midfield that has NEVER played together was madness.

Then bringing Allan on after being out for months was bordering on ludicrous - wonder how he felt coming on 3-0 down first game in months. Cheers gaffer.

Add in dropping Gray out squad completely - that wouldn’t have gone down well in the dressing room.

Plus Mallan - the guy got us into the final by changing the game.

Not saying Mallan and Gray to start but Allan and Wright on the bench ?!

23-01-2021, 09:49 PM
The reaction towards Ross after tonight's result seems to be very similar to the reaction seen towards Heckingbottom in the lead up to his dismissal and rightly or wrongly it is hard to see how he comes back from this.

For a growing number of people, it seems there would need to be a turnaround in our fortunes on a scale that's probably completely unrealistic before they would accept him.

As such I do think his position is at the point of being irretrievable and we are likely to be on the hunt for a new manager sooner rather than later.

23-01-2021, 09:50 PM
Just listened to his interview with the BBC, that’s an absolute car crash. So defensive on the topic of team selection and tactics...

23-01-2021, 09:52 PM

- shocking home record

The only 2 games I’ve thought Jack Ross is the way forward is beating Hearts 2-0 at Tynie. They were honking and never felt more confident for a derby and Aberdeen 3-0 at ER when he took over. Again Aberdeen were awful and missing several players.

The rest..of course happy with some of the away wins this season but there have been far more negatives that positives in a short space of time. Now we have people saying we have good players and crap manager. I’m not sure..we are into this vicious circle of whose at fault but the recruitment of mentally weak players without hunger won’t win you trophies / get you 3rd.

23-01-2021, 09:53 PM
Us, St J, St M and Livi in the pot. We know Hibs well enough to know that even though we should win the Cup off that we can't guarantee it. But to be hammered the way we were tonight is unforgivable. The second half was pathetic. There was no impression of a plan.

23-01-2021, 09:54 PM
Nope I wouldn’t be fully confident. Though as I said I do expect Hearts will gain promotion as seems others are taking points off each other all over the place.

The betfred group stages were similar to when Hecky was here and struggled against part time teams.

Hibs would be similar to Hearts winning most but losing a few to teams like Dundee etc.

Our next few games.

Rangers on our cabbage patch.
Dundee Utd away
St Mirren away
Aberdeen home
Ross County away

Feeling confident ??!

it could have been worse if those fixtures were reversed, our two home games are against the two sides i expect us to lose against anyway, the three away games are ones we might actually pick up points at, although maybe not too positive right now for that last away team

23-01-2021, 09:56 PM
Us, St J, St L and Livi in the pot. We know Hibs well enough to know that even though we should win the Cup off that we can't guarantee it. But to be hammered the way we were tonight is unforgivable. The second half was pathetic. There was no impression of a plan.

there was no impression of pride

23-01-2021, 09:58 PM
it could have been worse if those fixtures were reversed, our two home games are against the two sides i expect us to lose against anyway, the three away games are ones we might actually pick up points at, although maybe not too positive right now for that last away team

In reality though, I’d much rather finish 8th and win a trophy than finish 4th and get into Europe to be beaten by some dross. Everybody remembers us winning the cup but the fact we were in the championship rarely gets mentioned.

For clubs like Hibs it’s about winning trophies and we’ve blown such an opportunity. Unforgivable when you really think about it.

23-01-2021, 09:58 PM

Put me down as another who would have no confidence in Ross getting us out that league.

I think current concerns are fair enough without veering into this nonsense.

23-01-2021, 10:03 PM
In reality though, I’d much rather finish 8th and win a trophy than finish 4th and get into Europe to be beaten by some dross. Everybody remembers us winning the cup but the fact we were in the championship rarely gets mentioned.

For clubs like Hibs it’s about winning trophies and we’ve blown such an opportunity. Unforgivable when you really think about it.

agree :agree: it will be a long long time before we get a SF line-up with three teams all below us, in fact, i'm away to watch netflix as i'm getting so freakin angry again at how we bent over, NO PRIDE

K-Zazu
23-01-2021, 10:07 PM
Absolutely hammered of St Johnstone in a cup semi final not just beaten but hammered. They didn’t have to really do anything apart from just turn up and win. Shocking from us. Why the **** is Doidge on the bench ? Chris Cadden 🤷🏼? . No danger this would have happened under Stubbs or Lennon, yeah we might have been beaten but not like that today.

joe t
23-01-2021, 10:08 PM

Not sure they showed much fight in the penalty shoot out though, did they? ��

Again though, we’re talking about levels here - Ross’s ability to motivate players in a national league semi-final and guide them to 3rd and Europe, against ‘moneyspinner’ robbie (previously hounded out by fans via aeroplane for letting hibs win the Scottish cup while sitting in third then subsequently getting a drunk German diamond in to ultimately relegate them) and his ability to motivate players against a team from fife that were playing in the 3rd tier of Scottish football 7 months ago.

Levels.

I think current concerns are fair enough without veering into this nonsense.

I think to win a league you need to be motivated to win all games and that includes big matches.

I’m not convinced Ross would have it in him to motivate the team for the sort of intensity it takes to win the league.

If it was a very poor championship like Hearts have got this season we’d probably get promoted without romping it. If it was a league with another big club we could forget it.

It’s fair enough being of the opinion that you want JR out

It’s also alright if you want him to stay, that’s your choice

But some of the names mentioned on this thread and others are a shambles:

Scott Brown - wtf
Jim Goodwin - what has he done so far?
Brian Rice - come on ti ****
Stephen Robinson - no thanks
Callum Davidson - nope
Neil Lennon - wow
Yogi - why??
Martindale - things must be bad
Stubbsy - love the big man but don’t think it would be the right move

Anybody I’ve missed?

23-01-2021, 10:10 PM

Scott Brown - wtf
Callum Davidson - nope

Anybody I’ve missed?

Neil Lennon 😁

23-01-2021, 10:11 PM
The reaction towards Ross after tonight's result seems to be very similar to the reaction seen towards Heckingbottom in the lead up to his dismissal and rightly or wrongly it is hard to see how he comes back from this.

For a growing number of people, it seems there would need to be a turnaround in our fortunes on a scale that's probably completely unrealistic before they would accept him.

As such I do think his position is at the point of being irretrievable and we are likely to be on the hunt for a new manager sooner rather than later.

I was called out on a thread last night for saying I thought it was a huge game for Ross. Was so bloody obvious what kind of reaction he’d get if we lost. I don’t think he’ll get sacked but I don’t think he’ll encourage folk to buy a season ticket.

23-01-2021, 10:14 PM
Neil Lennon 😁

Of course!!

Added now :)

andrew70
23-01-2021, 10:15 PM

Scott Brown - wtf
Callum Davidson - nope
Neil Lennon - wow

Anybody I’ve missed?

John Kennedy. Wanted him before Ross, still think he’s the man now.

23-01-2021, 10:17 PM

Scott Brown - wtf
Callum Davidson - nope
Neil Lennon - wow

Anybody I’ve missed?Think someone mentioned Yogi

Casey1875
23-01-2021, 10:23 PM
I was called out on a thread last night for saying I thought it was a huge game for Ross. Was so bloody obvious what kind of reaction he’d get if we lost. I don’t think he’ll get sacked but I don’t think he’ll encourage folk to buy a season ticket.

I think the two parts of your last sentence are intrinsically linked, if not enough people buy tickets then he will be sacked.

23-01-2021, 10:23 PM
Think someone mentioned Yogi

You’re right. Added

23-01-2021, 10:25 PM
You’re right. Added

What’s the point in your list of ***** managers that won’t replace Ross if he’s sacked?

23-01-2021, 10:27 PM
What’s the point in your list of ***** managers that won’t replace Ross if he’s sacked?It would be interesting in what route the owner took

Someone from his side of the world or let Mathie and folk in the footballing department take the lead?

23-01-2021, 10:32 PM
Ross is now a dead man walking. We will limp along to the end of the season when he will be potted.

RossScott1991
23-01-2021, 10:33 PM
There’s too many to mention. But in my time supporting hibs that 2nd half is right up there in top 3 of the most spineless displays I’ve seen from hibs.

Heart of a mouse every single one of them. Can’t believe what I witnessed after the 2nd goal. It was truly pathetic.
Soft manager soft defence and soft finishing.

Actually soo angry thinking about it. Hammered off an average industrial side like St J

It was all very Hibs.

23-01-2021, 10:35 PM
I think the two parts of your last sentence are intrinsically linked, if not enough people buy tickets then he will be sacked.

Might happen retrospectively. Not before this season is out though.

23-01-2021, 10:35 PM

But that's the thing, why the hell shouldn't he be sacked? He cant beat Aberdeen, he has failed the last two times out against Hearts 1 - 3 at home against a team that had won 3 games all season and a semi final defeat in extra time against a team that were way behind us in match fitness.

Some of our displays lately have been so poor they were on the point of embarrassing and he follows all that up by managing us to an absolutely shocking 65 minutes in a semi final against a team with one win in their previous 11 league matches. One win in sodding ELEVEN.

Hibs rarely sack managers for failure in big games. After that today perhaps its time we bloody well started.

23-01-2021, 10:38 PM
It would be interesting in what route the owner took

Someone from his side of the world or let Mathie and folk in the footballing department take the lead?

We said before Ross was appointed that we were going to cast our net further afield, Graham Mathie then said on the long bangers podcast we were talking about the German boy that ended up at Barnsley before we chose Ross.

I said at the time that I thought Ross was a safe appointment but i also fear it was a lazy appointment. I personally can’t wait to see who we appoint when Ross leaves.

DTS
23-01-2021, 10:40 PM
I feel that tonight was Jack Ross’ version of Heckys Ibrox disaster.

I say that in regards to losing a big chunk of the fan base and from here on in he is under a microscope where every poor result or performance from here on each more fans will lose patience and eventually ends in a blow up where literally nobody can be arsed anymore.

Under no circumstances do I think Ross is comparable to hecky and I’ll be honest I think Ross has improved us drastically in his time with us but I do not think he is the man to match the clubs ambition that the new owner has for the club as he seems incapable of winning pressure games and a lot of that can be placed on players but it’s the nature of the game.

I believe the best action is to act sooner rather than later. We’ve only just come off the back of back to back humblings from county and livi. We have started to drop points in the games at the start of the season we won comfortably.

23-01-2021, 10:41 PM
There’s too many to mention. But in my time supporting hibs that 2nd half is right up there in top 3 of the most spineless displays I’ve seen from hibs.

Heart of a mouse every single one of them. Can’t believe what I witnessed after the 2nd goal. It was truly pathetic.
Soft manager soft defence and soft finishing.

Actually soo angry thinking about it. Hammered off an average industrial side like St J

It was all very Hibs.

Spot on. It was an absolute disgrace

MinceAndTatties
23-01-2021, 11:00 PM
I'm not really arsed about defending Ross. I'm not calling for him to go but I don't care if he does either.

I'd let him see out the season and reassess from there. We are going through a terrible run with some of our worst results in a long while but football is about whrre you are after all the games are played. The 2 semi finals are huge marks in the against column though and he really needs to pull something out the bag to win a lot of fans back. Limping into 4th ahead of Livi is only going to see us start next season with the 1st bad result having everyone rounding on him again.

Personally I'd be keeping an eye on Stevie Crawford and Jim Goodwin between now and the end of the season. Both performing well in their respective roles and in the case of the latter has his side playing some pretty good football with very limited means.

Martindale?

23-01-2021, 11:01 PM
But that's the thing, why the hell shouldn't he be sacked? He cant beat Aberdeen, he has failed the last two times out against Hearts 1 - 3 at home against a team that had won 3 games all season and a semi final defeat in extra time against a team that were way behind us in match fitness.

Some of our displays lately have been so poor they were on the point of embarrassing and he follows all that up by managing us to an absolutely shocking 65 minutes in a semi final against a team with one win in their previous 11 league matches. One win in sodding ELEVEN.

Hibs rarely sack managers for failure in big games. After that today perhaps its time we bloody well started.

I’m not saying he shouldn’t be, I just don’t think he will be.

I’d have sacked him after the Hearts game. He was never recovering. It’ll bubble along for however long now, but he’ll not shake the two semi finals.

23-01-2021, 11:02 PM
Martindale?Far too inexperienced for me

23-01-2021, 11:04 PM
I'm not calling for him to go.

I wouldn't care less if he did though. There are other options out there who could do a comparable job to the one he has done.

That's how I feel. He's difficult to warm to and there's no doubt we have not turned up in far too many big games.

23-01-2021, 11:05 PM
His teams play with the same style and panache as his personality.

23-01-2021, 11:09 PM
It would be interesting in what route the owner took

I dont think anyone who has been near the previous 2 appointments should be near the next one. Why Mathie was promoted to the sporting director role i dont know as his success rate in his previous role wasnt amazing. A new CEO in and a new manager. The club needs freshened up as everything feels stale now.

23-01-2021, 11:11 PM
I dont think anyone who has been near the previous 2 appointments should be near the next one. Why Mathie was promoted to the sporting director role i dont know as his success rate in his previous role wasnt amazing. A new CEO in and a new manager. The club needs freshened up as everything feels stale now.You'd think we would need to replace Leeann first

Not sure who would pull the trigger on Jack and decide our new manager

broondog
23-01-2021, 11:58 PM
Get this imposter tae ****, the guy bottles every big game. No point in getting 4th if we are going to blow these big games. He doesn’t have the stomach for it and it’s time to go, sounded like he was almost in tears post match so expect he will walk. the SC semi was bad enough but we knew it would be Celtic in the final so still a slim chance to win.aome are criticising the way it happened today, embarrassing and pathetic of course but to have that semi final lineup we wint see that again. So angry even thinking about it. Bye bye Ross you ****** I’m away off to distract myself with something else for a the next few days

24-01-2021, 12:22 AM
Get this imposter tae ****, the guy bottles every big game. No point in getting 4th if we are going to blow these big games. He doesn’t have the stomach for it and it’s time to go, sounded like he was almost in tears post match so expect he will walk. the SC semi was bad enough but we knew it would be Celtic in the final so still a slim chance to win.aome are criticising the way it happened today, embarrassing and pathetic of course but to have that semi final lineup we wint see that again. So angry even thinking about it. Bye bye Ross you ****** I’m away off to distract myself with something else for a the next few days

Please hurry back, your insight will be so sorely missed.

Allez Hibs
24-01-2021, 12:31 AM
Please hurry back, your insight will be so sorely missed.

Entitled to his opinion. He said what the majority are thinking and feeling.

I'd rather have won the League Cup than finish 4th.Jack Ross has blown it for everyone.

cekim
24-01-2021, 01:32 AM
Out now, we will nothing under him. 2 chances to reach a final and HIS team failed miserably.

Curried
24-01-2021, 06:06 AM
Yes. Seen enough now to know that unfortunately Ross is not up to the job.

24-01-2021, 06:17 AM
I know emotions are running high, but.
Favourites to win the cup means nothing otherwise Rangers and/or Celtic would be in the final.
If were to get to another semi, this bunch of losers would have to win games to get there.

We could have won today but didn’t, there isn’t any should, or we don’t play any games just select the positions teams should end up in.

I’ve said repeatedly 4th would be an achievement which is probably being more negative than you because I don’t think it’s a given by any means.

4th would not be an achievement, it is the absolute minimum expectation this season given opposition and the fact that recent contenders in that position have imploded

24-01-2021, 06:29 AM
Slept on it. Apathy has set in.

Has to go.

24-01-2021, 06:42 AM
Slept on it. Apathy has set in.

Has to go.

I actually woke up and checked if he had walked or been sacked.

I fear now for this team for the rest of the season as going on form can't see our next win till the 27th of February.

24-01-2021, 06:49 AM
I actually woke up and checked if he had walked or been sacked.

I fear now for this team for the rest of the season as going on form can't see our next win till the 27th of February.
Don’t see him walking especially in the current climate.

24-01-2021, 06:54 AM
I was happy when Ross was appointed and my view before yesterday was that he was a decent enough manager, albeit one who had possibly been hyped up by the media beyond his capabilities.

The Board has backed him and he's made a number of good signings. I've seen Hibs managers putting out teams with a lot worse playing styles than his and resources wise we are where we should be in the league challenging for that 3rd / 4th spot.

To lose two semi-finals that we were clear favourites to win and to lose them in such quick succession put things in a totally different perspective. In terms of mental resilience and strength of character, we have learnt nothing from the defeat against Hertz, totally capitulating against St Johnstone.

When it comes to the big games, the games that really matter, the season-defining games Ross has failed abysmally. I don't think he has shown the winners mentality or motivational skills in these two crucial games and while Id stick with him for the remainder of the season I'd be happy to see him go at the end of it.

24-01-2021, 07:07 AM
Having slept on it - actually more annoyed today than yesterday.

Would put that result up there with some absolute shockers last few years.

It wasn’t a close game losing 1-0 it was a 60 minute disaster class of embarrassing the whole football club.

I don’t get the keep him till end of the season . It’s like Lennon - it’s obvious he’s going to go so why wait - until it gets really bad and you frustrate even more fans ?

Players and manager should be held account to that last night. At least if we change manager then he can have plenty time to get ready for summer transfer window. Otherwise it will be all change again in summer.

We are probably too tight / too soft to sack Ross. His only way out of this is to win the Scottish Cup but Rangers will be definitely wanting to make up for their League cup mess to win the double.

24-01-2021, 07:37 AM
Sid that a few months ago and got slated with all the rubbish we are forth in the league would you have taken that at the beginning of the season...... too many hibs fas accept the **** we play

ross needs to go ASAP

I recently said he needs time but, **** me I was wrong, said to the wife before the game we would get beat 3-0, couldnt put myself to put 3-0 on prediction league, so put 2-0. His team is slow, uninspiring, predictable, soft as **** and no clue how to change a game. I am sorry but he has tae go. My mate even watsapped me yesterday and said he would rather see Lennon back at ER than watch anymore Ross. As for the players themselves, just how bad are they. Seem tomlack fitness and awareness aswell, pretty shocking stuff. If we end up 4th this year it will be a miracle. I along with many were happy we are 4th but could see we were lucky or scraping wins.

NC1875
24-01-2021, 07:40 AM

He could try it on the sidelines. Most uninspiring manager ever.

24-01-2021, 07:44 AM
Having slept on it - actually more annoyed today than yesterday.

Would put that result up there with some absolute shockers last few years.

It wasn’t a close game losing 1-0 it was a 60 minute disaster class of embarrassing the whole football club.

I don’t get the keep him till end of the season . It’s like Lennon - it’s obvious he’s going to go so why wait - until it gets really bad and you frustrate even more fans ?

Players and manager should be held account to that last night. At least if we change manager then he can have plenty time to get ready for summer transfer window. Otherwise it will be all change again in summer.

We are probably too tight / too soft to sack Ross. His only way out of this is to win the Scottish Cup but Rangers will be definitely wanting to make up for their League cup mess to win the double.

We lost to a artificially financed Hearts team in 2006? By 3 goals in a cup semi final and it’s safe to say that was a horrendous result. To manage to do it against a St Johnstone team is even worse and just to rub salt into the wounds we’ve managed to do it a couple of months after losing yet another semi final, this time however against a lower league Hearts.

His big game record is absolutely unacceptable imo and he has to go. How many games is it since we won one of the traditional big games? About 10?

And before anyone tells us all games are big games etc - lay off it. Everyone knows the big games, the club even categorises them.

24-01-2021, 07:45 AM
I’m generally positive about Hibs but not on this occasion. Losing a semi final hurts but that was humiliating yesterday we got hammered at Hampden by St Johnston. JRs time at ER has come and gone. 4th place is not a prize. There are 3 prizes in Scottish football, Ross has blown 2 in 3 months against our biggest rivals and a hammering from St.Johnstone. Bye bye Jack bye bye

Allez Hibs
24-01-2021, 07:46 AM

We lost to a artificially financed Hearts team in 2006? By 3 goals in a cup semi final and it’s safe to say that was a horrendous result. To manage to do it against a St Johnstone team is even worse and just to rub salt into the wounds we’ve managed to do it a couple of months after losing yet another semi final, this time however against a lower league Hearts.

His big game record is absolutely unacceptable imo and he has to go. How many games is it since we won one of the traditional big games? About 10?

December 2019 v Hearts was the last big game win.

hibbydog
24-01-2021, 07:48 AM
I was happy when Ross was appointed and my view before yesterday was that he was a decent enough manager, albeit one who had possibly been hyped up by the media beyond his capabilities.

The Board has backed him and he's made a number of good signings. I've seen Hibs managers putting out teams with a lot worse playing styles than his and resources wise we are where we should be in the league challenging for that 3rd / 4th spot.

To lose two semi-finals that we were clear favourites to win and to lose them in such quick succession put things in a totally different perspective. In terms of mental resilience and strength of character, we have learnt nothing from the defeat against Hertz, totally capitulating against St Johnstone.

When it comes to the big games, the games that really matter, the season-defining games Ross has failed abysmally. I don't think he has shown the winners mentality or motivational skills in these two crucial games and while Id stick with him for the remainder of the season I'd be happy to see him go at the end of it.

100%

The bits about mental resilience and failure in big games are my major gripe.

I’m utterly exhausted with showing lots of potential and getting our hopes up only to be let down on the big occasion. Time and time again.

The ‘Hibsed it’ thing is becoming a thing again. Since we burst this in 2016 we’ve lost four semi finals in a row.

The players and manager are soft. Every time we dominate a game but don’t score you can tell what happens next - failure to defend properly and the sucker punch. But whenever we go behind the players look like they feel sorry for themselves and there’s no grit, determination, winning mentality. Whatever you want to call it.

It’s not bad luck. It’s bad finishing. Bad defending. And most of all a bad mentality and lack of effort when the chips are down. All are characteristics of a poor, poor side.

Nowhere near good enough.

24-01-2021, 07:48 AM
I’m afraid people won’t continue to chuck money at the club to watch us get dumped out of semi finals from our rivals or from ****ing St Johnstone.Of course not, Stuart. We will absolutely lose season ticket holders if we don't go on and finish 3rd of higher and/or do something special in Scottish. However, calling for everyone to withhold season tickets isn't going to help matters. Luckily we have a solid base of fans that wouldn't back the sentiment anyway.

I doubt someone as successful as Ron Gordon will accept the way we have gone about big games this season so I have faith that change will happen if required.

NC1875
24-01-2021, 07:52 AM
Of course not, Stuart. We will absolutely lose season ticket holders if we don't go on and finish 3rd of higher and/or do something special in Scottish. However, calling for everyone to withhold season tickets isn't going to help matters. Luckily we have a solid base of fans that wouldn't back the sentiment anyway.

I doubt someone as successful as Ron Gordon will accept the way we have gone about big games this season so I have faith that change will happen if required.

There Is not a hope in hell we’ll be anywhere near 3rd with this clown in charge come the end of the season. We’ve hardly beaten anyone comfortably all season, the footballs been terrible and it looks like his luck has run out. We won’t lay a glove on Aberdeen as usual and any big games in the Scottish cup, the usual bottle jobs will be pretending to be football players.

Clarence
24-01-2021, 07:56 AM
Opportunities like this year don’t come along very often and he’s fluffed his lines. The unfortunate thing is there is no take two and we’ll potentially wait another decade or so for a chance like this.

24-01-2021, 07:57 AM
Opportunities like this year don’t come along very often and he’s fluffed his lines. The unfortunate thing is there is no take two and we’ll potentially wait another decade or so for a chance like this.

Last night was his take two.

Clarence
24-01-2021, 07:58 AM
If we were playing well when we lose against better opposition then fine but we just look like a an absolute gang of misfits all trying to do an impression of a football team. Even when we win we’re far from convincing and the football is not worth tuning in for.

Allez Hibs
24-01-2021, 08:01 AM
As the saying goes...

Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. Fool me three times, shame on both of us.

24-01-2021, 08:05 AM
My hope is that Ron is genuinely ambitious and ruthless. Once the dust settles on yesterday and we finish 4th there will be a temptation to tell Ron how we have rarely finished 4th in the past so this must be a viewed as a good season and time to stick with Ross.

4th in itself wouldn’t be a stick to beat Ross with of course, but there’s a context to keep in mind. We’ve spent a lot of money at a time the majority of clubs are cutting back and simply trying to survive, as well as not having Hearts in the league. 4th should be a given this season, so it’s really about the style it’s achieved in and the cups as to how successful it is or not. Ross is badly failing on those accounts IMO.

The worry as others have pointed out, is apathy. My general feeling of Hibs this season is boredom. I drift in and out of watching games and haven’t been particularly bothered about buying many of the PPV games as a result. That surely shouldn’t be the case in a season where we finish 4th and featuring two semi finals.

WestCoastHibby
24-01-2021, 08:06 AM
I thought Jack Ross was a great appointment with potential but that's not one but two semi finals we have completely bottled. I've no problem getting beat if we've at least turned up at but to crumble like that is a shocker.
And I'll also point out he's another Leeanne Dempster appointee. I was never a LD groupie like so many on here and felt she got an easy ride over the Lennon debacle, Heckingbottom disaster and now this. Look how well Livvy are doing now as an example that the right appointment can be made ( their bubble may burst of course )
I'm not saying Jack Ross should be punted but if we don't make Europe this season it's bye bye time surely

mentalhibee
24-01-2021, 08:09 AM
His teams play with the same style and panache as his personality.

This☝🏻....we came out 2nd half and played worse than the first half, tells you all you know about him. Cant inspire the team, might be a decent coach but he’s never a manager in a millions years. There’s also zero personalities in the team now.

24-01-2021, 08:11 AM
What’s the point in your list of ***** managers that won’t replace Ross if he’s sacked?

The point in the list is to highlight some of the crazy thinking of some folk around who they would want to replace Ross.

It’s fine having the opinion that you want him to leave but if you think any of the names mentioned would improve us then that’s mental IMO

24-01-2021, 08:11 AM
My hope is that Ron is genuinely ambitious and ruthless. Once the dust settles on yesterday and we finish 4th there will be a temptation to tell Ron how we have rarely finished 4th in the past so this must be a viewed as a good season and time to stick with Ross.

4th in itself wouldn’t be a stick to beat Ross with of course, but there’s a context to keep in mind. We’ve spent a lot of money at a time the majority of clubs are cutting back and simply trying to survive, as well as not having Hearts in the league. 4th should be a given this season, so it’s really about the style it’s achieved in and the cups as to how successful it is or not. Ross is badly failing on those accounts IMO.

The worry as others have pointed out, is apathy. My general feeling of Hibs this season is boredom. I drift in and out of watching games and haven’t been particularly bothered about buying many of the PPV games as a result. That surely shouldn’t be the case in a season where we finish 4th and featuring two semi finals.

Reading people point out how we’ve only finished top 4 x amount of times really doesn’t change my view that we should be top 4 as a minimum.

As you’ve said, other teams are toiling to survive yet we’ve went and threw plenty cash around to add to what was already by a mile the 4th most expensively assembled squad in the league.

4th is the absolute minimum, regardless of how many times we’ve finished there before.

Davy Mac
24-01-2021, 08:12 AM
Hibs will never likely challenge for the title so cups is our best chance of success.

Whilst finishing 3rd/4th/5th is super duper Tommy Cooper it means **** other than a few extra quid and perhaps one/two rounds in Europe.

So what do we want?

The Hertz/Sellick teams were there for the beating in the Scottish but we messed it up and nothing has been learned - again.

FYI - Hibs players were on big money bonuses to beat Hertz and St J, more than we've ever offered and they still ****** it up. Fitba players, you're having a laugh.

Didn't even listen to the game last night, never mind pay to watch it, all so predictable so it's not JR that I've had enough of.

h1bs4life
24-01-2021, 08:13 AM
His interview with BBC start at 23 mins 40 mins nothing wrong with questions being asked

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p094yj5c

Time for him to go

24-01-2021, 08:18 AM

Reading people point out how we’ve only finished top 4 x amount of times really doesn’t change my view that we should be top 4 as a minimum.

As you’ve said, other teams are toiling to survive yet we’ve went and threw plenty cash around to add to what was already by a mile the 4th most expensively assembled squad in the league.

4th is the absolute minimum, regardless of how many times we’ve finished there before.

I don’t get your logic at all.
We are the 4th highest spenders.
So if that’s your metric, we ‘should’ be finishing 4th.
When you say ‘the absolute minimum’ I’m assuming you mean any lower and it’s a failure, yes?
Finishing 4th would be acceptable. Higher=good, lower=bad, 4th=as expected, yes? So why do you think it’s logical to sack him when he’s in 4th?

If you’re basing your argument on style of play, or ‘big game performances’ then that’d be different. But you’re not.

allmodcons
24-01-2021, 08:18 AM
I recently said he needs time but, **** me I was wrong, said to the wife before the game we would get beat 3-0, couldnt put myself to put 3-0 on prediction league, so put 2-0. His team is slow, uninspiring, predictable, soft as **** and no clue how to change a game. I am sorry but he has tae go. My mate even watsapped me yesterday and said he would rather see Lennon back at ER than watch anymore Ross. As for the players themselves, just how bad are they. Seem tomlack fitness and awareness aswell, pretty shocking stuff. If we end up 4th this year it will be a miracle. I along with many were happy we are 4th but could see we were lucky or scraping wins.

No disrespect intended, but I don't think that is a very fair assessment of yesterday.

There was no lack of fitness or awareness in the first 45 minutes. We were dominant and very unlucky to be a goal down at half time due to a combination of a good delivery by Wotherspoon and a poor piece of defending by Porteous, who got caught under the ball.

I was quite confident that we'd get back into the match provided, that is, we played like we did first half, but 4 minutes in and we are undone by another great delivery and a good header (credit where it's due). This had a huge impact of the match.

After that we went to bits (not acceptable) but the mindset of both teams completely changes. St Johnstone have their tails up and all of sudden are doing things they weren't capable of doing in the first half. The second goal has the opposite effect on us, our decision making becomes poor, we start making basic errors and completely lose our shape.

It's an old cliche but goals change games and the second yesterday clearly gave St Johnstone a huge boost and completely knocked the stuffing out of us.

I don't think it's about fitness, you go 2 up when you've been the poorer side and suddenly you're flying. You go 2 down when you have clearly been the better side and suddenly you start making poor decisions and look leggy.

Do I think it's acceptable? No, but I understand how cruel the game can be at times.

If I had a criticism of Jack Ross it was the starting of Cadden. He didn't look match fit to me. I'd have started Boyle wide right and played Doidge up top with Nisbet but, even then (apart from criticising our finishing) I don't see how anybody can say that there was much wrong with our display until that second goal went in.

At the risk of repeating myself, it was a huge moment in the match that gave St Johnstone a massive lift and completely knocking the stuffing out of us.

tonyrougier123
24-01-2021, 08:22 AM
I’ve seen a few bad managers in my time watching hibs and jack Ross certainly is not one of them,however there is a squad that badly needs something to ignite it and I don’t think we are signing the players to make us a good side at the moment.

Also beginning to think we need to be changing up the formation from time to time as we seem to be quite a predictable side to face at the moment.

I would like to see a CB in still another centre mid and a striker before the window closes,as it stands the team is stagnant with no flair.

24-01-2021, 08:24 AM
Serial bottle merchant. Sunderland fans called it. Bin him asap. He’s a coach not a leader.

24-01-2021, 08:26 AM
I don’t get your logic at all.
We are the 4th highest spenders.
So if that’s your metric, we ‘should’ be finishing 4th.
When you say ‘the absolute minimum’ I’m assuming you mean any lower and it’s a failure, yes?
Finishing 4th would be acceptable. Higher=good, lower=bad, 4th=as expected, yes? So why do you think it’s logical to sack him when he’s in 4th?

If you’re basing your argument on style of play, or ‘big game performances’ then that’d be different. But you’re not.

I’ve argued plenty on here about how bad our style of play is and how bad Jack Ross’ record is in big games - fair enough I didn’t mention them in that post but they’re absolutely a massive issue as well

24-01-2021, 08:27 AM
I’ve seen a few bad managers in my time watching hibs and jack Ross certainly is not one of them,however there is a squad that badly needs something to ignite it and I don’t think we are signing the players to make us a good side at the moment.

Also beginning to think we need to be changing up the formation from time to time as we seem to be quite a predictable side to face at the moment.

I would like to see a CB in still another centre mid and a striker before the window closes,as it stands the team is stagnant with no flair.

We change the formation pretty much every game. I actually think the opposite in that he needs to work out his best side, formation and personnel, and stick with it. Let other teams worry about us for a change.

24-01-2021, 08:28 AM

Agree with this. Although the player we are most obviously missing is John McGinn, (or that type of player, I think that was the pipe dream with Macgennis but he’s clearly got injury fitness issues at present), but I was thinking the player we could have done with yesterday was Zemmama. Someone who has some unpredictability and flair. We’re just boring to watch and more importantly defenses know what’s coming at them.

Davy Mac
24-01-2021, 08:29 AM
Serial bottle merchant. Sunderland fans called it. Bin him asap. He’s a coach not a leader.

School of Levein.

24-01-2021, 08:30 AM
I don’t want him out yet. But you’d like to see evidence that’s he’s learning that swapping to 442 was a huge mistake.

24-01-2021, 08:30 AM
School of Levein.

Levein has a better home record than him that’s for sure.

Davy Mac
24-01-2021, 08:32 AM
Surely time for Strachan no?

RP is away now so give GS the chance to build something special and bring in the right people this time.

hibIBZ
24-01-2021, 08:32 AM
I understand 4th is a good finishing position and playing 8 semi finals in 7 seasons is a lot better than when I was young in the 90s were we barely made any.

But there is something about this team that just doesn't get the blood pumping. Maybe it's not being able to be there and watching on TV, but I just haven't developed much of an affinity with most of ross' signings. I really like nisbet, love his attitude and work rate and has scored a good number of goals so far, but the rest it really is meh.

24-01-2021, 08:35 AM
Surely time for Strachan no?

RP is away now so give GS the chance to build something special and bring in the right people this time.

Please god no, the only thing worse than seeing us lose, would be seeing us lose than hearing one of Strachans post match “funny” interviews.

tonyrougier123
24-01-2021, 08:35 AM
I don’t want him out yet. But you’d like to see evidence that’s he’s learning that swapping to 442 was a huge mistake.

I’d like to see a CB signed and a change up to 3-5-2

Dazzjw1875
24-01-2021, 08:37 AM
His interview with BBC start at 23 mins 40 mins nothing wrong with questions being asked

Time for him to go

Definitely knows he is under pressure and not acceptable, I think he won't last long! And possibly might now effect any more arrivals being put on hold?

24-01-2021, 08:39 AM
I understand 4th is a good finishing position and playing 8 semi finals in 7 seasons is a lot better than when I was young in the 90s were we barely made any.

But there is something about this team that just doesn't get the blood pumping. Maybe it's not being able to be there and watching on TV, but I just haven't developed much of an affinity with most of ross' signings. I really like nisbet, love his attitude and work rate and has scored a good number of goals so far, but the rest it really is meh.

Teams reflect their manager. They are completely dull and uninspiring. I think there are players in there capable of playing better football than they have for the vast majority of the season but there are also a few who's mentality is completely wrong and nothing is being done to rectify it. The collapse last year v hearts set alarm bells ringing. We have collapsed similarly twice since then (arguably 3 times).

Porteous is one who i dont get at the moment. I have defended him numerous times on here but his attitude at the minute is grating. Why has he started throwing himself to the floor at set pieces all the time? Who has told him thats acceptable? Stand up and defend the corner/free kick and attack the ball like you did when you broke into the team. Stop with the cheesy grins when you get away with daft petulant stuff and play the game. Thats where someone like a McGregor, Gray or Hanlon should be pulling him aside and telling him to cut it out.

24-01-2021, 08:39 AM

No apparently 4th is only average for us now, because we’ve spent a few bob.
Weve never finished higher than 4th since Mowbrays first season, SIXTEEN years ago.

Hughes also had us a 4th place finish, but didn’t win big games and we were boring and predictable to watch.

Jack Ross is basically a posher Yogi. Whether that means he deserves to be shown the door I’m not sure yet. The fan base had turned against Yogi then too, but he’d won 4 in 25 games at that point.

24-01-2021, 08:42 AM

Time for him to go

Seems like he took umbrage at some treatment of him during the week.
We as a support don’t really care for Kenny the Jambo and do like our managers and club to stick up for ourselves if folks are taking the P - Jack is just calling him out in the heat of the moment from a wider perspective.

I dunno whether it’s his delivery but Jack does remind me of Miller. Contrast that with Stubbs or even before the game Davidson. Charisma isn’t his strong suit.

In the cold light of day whilst I hate knee jerk responses and felt at 1-0 we were still very much in it losing the two semis in the manner we have is gutting and you have to question character belief. I think Jack wants to do that behind closed doors.

Whether his time is up I dunno maybe we can’t afford (is he on a rolling contract?)

As Hibbys we’ve seen this movie before - how can it be)

24-01-2021, 08:42 AM
Looking at our upcoming fixtures doesn’t make for good reading. Ross is going to need to sort this squad and their mentality out quickly.

24-01-2021, 08:48 AM
No disrespect intended, but I don't think that is a very fair assessment of yesterday.

There was no lack of fitness or awareness in the first 45 minutes. We were dominant and very unlucky to be a goal down at half time due to a combination of a good delivery by Wotherspoon and a poor piece of defending by Porteous, who got caught under the ball.

I was quite confident that we'd get back into the match provided, that is, we played like we did first half, but 4 minutes in and we are undone by another great delivery and a good header (credit where it's due). This had a huge impact of the match.

After that we went to bits (not acceptable) but the mindset of both teams completely changes. St Johnstone have their tails up and all of sudden are doing things they weren't capable of doing in the first half. The second goal has the opposite effect on us, our decision making becomes poor, we start making basic errors and completely lose our shape.

It's an old cliche but goals change games and the second yesterday clearly gave St Johnstone a huge boost and completely knocked the stuffing out of us.

I don't think it's about fitness, you go 2 up when you've been the poorer side and suddenly you're flying. You go 2 down when you have clearly been the better side and suddenly you start making poor decisions and look leggy.

Do I think it's acceptable? No, but I understand how cruel the game can be at times.

If I had a criticism of Jack Ross it was the starting of Cadden. He didn't look match fit to me. I'd have started Boyle wide right and played Doidge up top with Nisbet but, even then (apart from criticising our finishing) I don't see how anybody can say that there was much wrong with our display until that second goal went in.

At the risk of repeating myself, it was a huge moment in the match that gave St Johnstone a massive lift and completely knocking the stuffing out of us.

We weren’t dominant for 45 mins, we were dominant for 30 mins, at Johnstone started coming into it more and then from 35 mins iww were not dominant. Even in the dominant part of the game we not really had one good chance with Murphy. The other 2 that went close were difficult chances and by no means easy chances. We never really carved them open.

PH91
24-01-2021, 08:58 AM
We change the formation pretty much every game. I actually think the opposite in that he needs to work out his best side, formation and personnel, and stick with it. Let other teams worry about us for a change.

I feel the same. How are players supposed to develop relationships with team mates and understand how they play when it's a completely different team and set up every week. A bit of consistency will help them.

He also needs to stop playing gogic. It forces us into a style of play that is cr*p to watch and if you are cr*p to watch fans won't forgive losses so easily. It is no coincidence that our best recent performances (motherwell, hamilton, dundee utd) were when he wasn't playing. Actually, we only lost control of the dundee utd game once he came on the park.

24-01-2021, 09:02 AM
Cadden. Why?
Drey Wright. WTF?
Stephen McGinn. See Cadden.

The 3rd manager in a row to sign some total duds so you have to wonder what the hell is going on in the recruitment team.

Cadden is a decent player however no way on this earth he should have been starting given his lack of game time.

24-01-2021, 09:05 AM
I feel the same. How are players supposed to develop relationships with team mates and understand how they play when it's a completely different team and set up every week. A bit of consistency will help them.

He also needs to stop playing gogic. It forces us into a style of play that is cr*p to watch and if you are cr*p to watch fans won't forgive losses so easily. It is no coincidence that our best recent performances (motherwell, hamilton, dundee utd) were when he wasn't playing. Actually, we only lost control of the dundee utd game once he came on the park.

First half was as good as we’ve played all season. Nothing wrong with Gogic then. This was the football everyone was crying out for. “Even if we get beat”.

24-01-2021, 09:13 AM
This was the football everyone was crying out for. “Even if we get beat”.

Not for 30 minutes of a 90 minute game

24-01-2021, 09:14 AM
First half was as good as we’ve played all season. Nothing wrong with Gogic then. This was the football everyone was crying out for. “Even if we get beat”.

We played well for 35 minutes until they scored, we got progressively worse after that. What’s the point your making?

As an aside, if we had played as we did for 35 minutes for the whole game and lost 1-0 I’d have been frustrated and disappointed but would acknowledge we had played well and hit the bar numerous times etc, it was just one of those days.

24-01-2021, 09:20 AM

We didn't play that football for very long though. Just over a 3rd of the game.

It's not so much that Ross doesn't have a plan B, just that plan B is pretty *****. Hence why we don't win games when we go behind.

24-01-2021, 09:34 AM
3 shots on target in in the 1st half. Hardly 'bombarded' them as some people are suggesting.

24-01-2021, 09:35 AM
3 shots on target in in the 1st half. Hardly 'bombarded' them as some people are suggesting.

They had 1(albeit scored from it) we were certainly all over them until they scored, not sure you can deny that if you watched it

24-01-2021, 09:37 AM
They had 1(albeit scored from it) we were certainly all over them until they scored, not sure you can deny that if you watched it

Of course I watched it! Possession doesn't win games.

24-01-2021, 09:39 AM

Murphy hitting the post doesn’t count as ‘on target’. The truth is we had five reasonable scoring chances first half, at least two absolute gilt edged. If the banjo had connected with the coos erse as expected we’d be having a different conversation.

The manager needs to look at himself regarding the 2nd half. But the fact it wasn’t all over at half time is down to the players.

24-01-2021, 09:40 AM
Of course I watched it! Possession doesn't win games.

That's not really what I was replying to though was it, you said we didn't bombard them as some suggested, we were all over them,keeper saved from hanlon, hit one just wide, hit the post, had a shot saved and then hit the cross bar in that period so kind of goes against what you said, end of the day it didn't matter as we lost but to suggest we didn't have a go at them is just wrong

24-01-2021, 09:42 AM
Murphy hitting the post doesn’t count as ‘on target’. The truth is we had five reasonable scoring chances first half, at least two absolute gilt edged. If the banjo had connected with the coos erse as expected we’d be having a different conversation.

The manager needs to look at himself regarding the 2nd half. But the fact it wasn’t all over at half time is down to the players.

'Ifs and buts' Hibs in a nutshell.

The players have chucked it and we need to find out why?

24-01-2021, 09:43 AM

At the risk of repeating myself, it was a huge moment in the match that gave St Johnstone a massive lift and completely knocking the stuffing out of us.That's also how I saw things.

24-01-2021, 09:44 AM
That's not really what I was replying to though was it, you said we didn't bombard them as some suggested, we were all over them,keeper saved from hanlon, hit one just wide, hit the post, had a shot saved and then hit the cross bar in that period so kind of goes against what you said, end of the day it didn't matter as we lost but to suggest we didn't have a go at them is just wrong

So we bombarded them for 30 mins then chucked it. You think that is acceptable?

24-01-2021, 09:48 AM
He’s not going to be fired, unless there is a catastrophic collapse in ST sales. In that case, Hibs will have no option but to downsize the club, and find ways of getting rid of high earners and replace with monkeys. There’s not a chance that Ron is going to sink good money into the club to shore it up, if football is seriously damaged by the continuing restrictions of Covid. Football generally is coming to a crossroad at the end of this season - much bigger than the future of Jack Ross.

First half was as good as we’ve played all season. Nothing wrong with Gogic then. This was the football everyone was crying out for. “Even if we get beat”.No doubt somebody will be along to prove me wrong with data from some stats site, but I got the impression that Gogic's passing in the 1st half was far better than Irvine's (who's being absolved of blame).

So we bombarded them for 30 mins then chucked it. You think that is acceptable?

Of course it isn't, don't think I suggested that at all?

24-01-2021, 09:51 AM
Of course it isn't, don't think I suggested that at all?

Yes you did. You said we had a 'go' at them.

Its a 90 minute game not 30 mins.

Totally unacceptable.

24-01-2021, 09:55 AM
'Ifs and buts' Hibs in a nutshell.

The players have chucked it and we need to find out why?

Asking ‘why’ is the point of the exercise. I think the answer is we should have scored goals when we were on top, and not gone to sleep at the other end of the pitch.

24-01-2021, 09:56 AM
Asking ‘why’ is the point of the exercise. I think the answer is we should have scored goals when we were on top, and not gone to sleep at the other end of the pitch.

The answer is Jack Ross.

24-01-2021, 09:58 AM
Yes you did. You said we had a 'go' at them.

Its a 90 minute game not 30 mins.

Totally unacceptable.

We did have a go at them, if you don't think we did then you clearly didn't watch the game, when we lost the first goal the heads went down, when the 2nd went in we fell to bits, again to suggest we didn't have a go at them is wrong. And you made up nonsense again by saying I have said it was acceptable.

24-01-2021, 10:00 AM
The answer is Jack Ross.

Are you being serious?
The players bear no responsibility at all?
Explain why you think that.

I think you’ve just decided that punishing someone will make you feel better.

24-01-2021, 10:02 AM
We did have a go at them, if you don't think we did then you clearly didn't watch the game, when we lost the first goal the heads went down, when the 2nd went in we fell to bits, again to suggest we didn't have a go at them is wrong. And you made up nonsense again by saying I have said it was acceptable.

What are you slavering about. I never said we didn't have a go at them I said having a go at them for 30 minutes is totally unacceptable in a cup semi final. What part of that eludes you?

24-01-2021, 10:05 AM
What are you slavering about. I never said we didn't have a go at them I said having a go at them for 30 minutes is totally unacceptable in a cup semi final. What part of that eludes you?

You said we didn't bombard them as some suggested, we had about 5 attempts at goal in the first half hour, is that not bombarding then, you are the slaver. I'd suggest grabbing the toys you have thrown out your pram and go collect them

24-01-2021, 10:13 AM
Are you being serious?
The players bear no responsibility at all?
Explain why you think that.

I think you’ve just decided that punishing someone will make you feel better.

Of course the players are culpable. Murphy not taking chances and our central defenders being bullied - again. But JR sets the team up, motivates the players and should be able to change things in game. That’s two, consecutive on paper winnable semi finals where we’ve failed big time and JR has to take a big share of responsibility for this.

24-01-2021, 10:14 AM
You said we didn't bombard them as some suggested, we had about 5 attempts at goal in the first half hour, is that not bombarding then, you are the slaver. I'd suggest grabbing the toys you have thrown out your pram and go collect them

I will. And you just keep accepting mediocrity and failure we are continuously being served from our club.

24-01-2021, 10:21 AM
Of course the players are culpable. Murphy not taking chances and our central defenders being bullied - again. But JR sets the team up, motivates the players and should be able to change things in game. That’s two, consecutive on paper winnable semi finals where we’ve failed big time and JR has to take a big share of responsibility for this.

Responsibility for losing is collective, obviously. I agree Ross takes some of it.
Some posters still seem to think the players don’t share any of it.
Ross set up the team. But he didn’t set up Hanlon and Porteous to go for a wee afternoon nap or Murphy to replace his boots with fluffy baffies at the crucial moments.

Smiggy 7-0
24-01-2021, 10:33 AM
And replaced by WHO?

Time and time again certain players don't turn up.

24-01-2021, 10:46 AM

We were on top they were very poor in first half and there for the taking. Our best chance was a deflected cross also. Thought we were ok in first half not great and then horrific.

mcfly
24-01-2021, 10:49 AM
There is also an underlying issue which appears rife throughout the club of accepting mediocrity.

Yes we won in may 2016 and that was the best day ever as a hibs fan but since that day have we won again at hampden??

Our club seems unable to rid ourselves of this bottler jibe and facts don’t lie.

We need a couple of no nonsense defenders and a leader in the pitch.

Scott brown may be out of Celtic under any new manager. He’d be ideal for our midfield. We need leaders and winners.

Time to be ruthless and toughen up mentally

24-01-2021, 11:01 AM
There is also an underlying issue which appears rife throughout the club of accepting mediocrity.

Yes we won in may 2016 and that was the best day ever as a hibs fan but since that day have we won again at hampden??

Our club seems unable to rid ourselves of this bottler jibe and facts don’t lie.

Scott brown may be out of Celtic under any new manager. He’d be ideal for our midfield. We need leaders and winners.

Not a chance, Scottie would be sent off more often than not, he would lose the cloak of invisibility in our strip!!!

EI255
24-01-2021, 11:10 AM
Difficult to disagree now. The team he has assembled is rank rotten. Both he and almost all of those players are nowhere near good enough. The soft touch is so evident now. I'm afraid the likes of Boyle, Hanlon, Porteous are done. We have the spine of Jimmy Savile. Totally useless. I'm not spending any more money on Hibs until things change. I'm sick of that team and now the manger.

Ross out.

90% of players out.

Ron Gordon, are you listening?

Utter tripe.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

EVENTUALLY
24-01-2021, 11:11 AM

Spot on, especially Murphy and Porteous.

24-01-2021, 11:15 AM
Difficult to disagree now. The team he has assembled is rank rotten. Both he and almost all of those players are nowhere near good enough. The soft touch is so evident now. I'm afraid the likes of Boyle, Hanlon, Porteous are done. We have the spine of Jimmy Savile. Totally useless. I'm not spending any more money on Hibs until things change. I'm sick of that team and now the manger.

Ross out.

90% of players out.

Ron Gordon, are you listening?

Utter tripe.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Team he has assembled is rank rotten yet sitting 4th in the league and only 6pts off 2nd, wish we were as rank rotten as this every year

Allez Hibs
24-01-2021, 11:16 AM
Team he has assembled is rank rotten yet sitting 4th in the league and only 6pts off 2nd, wish we were as rank rotten as this every year

Can't beat a team above them or a team in the same league in a cup.

24-01-2021, 11:19 AM
Can't beat a team above them or a team in the same league in a cup.

Yet still sitting 4th, can't argue with yesterday as the players fell to bits after they scored for some reason. If we were as rank rotten as the poster suggested we would not be in the position we are in, currently going through a bad patch, now the team need to show its just a blip

Stokesy's on fire
24-01-2021, 11:21 AM

Agree "there has to be more"

24-01-2021, 11:25 AM

Great Post which covers how I saw things. Doidges presence may also have prevented the two headed goals. Only addition I would add is that due to Newell being missing we needed a set piece taker in the team so i would have had Hallberg in the team instead of Gogic for that purpose. Boylers set pieces were dire and a lot of good scoring opportunities were therefore lost.

24-01-2021, 11:30 AM
Yet still sitting 4th, can't argue with yesterday as the players fell to bits after they scored for some reason. If we were as rank rotten as the poster suggested we would not be in the position we are in, currently going through a bad patch, now the team need to show its just a blip

Is it a bad patch or are other teams fixing problems they had at the start of season? Managers sacked and new ones taking over - Martindale and Hughes being two prime examples. I’d expect based on squad we’ve acquired finishing 4th is absolute minimum, this season more than ever. Emphasis on finishing 4th, not being in 4th. Clubs are struggling with financial constraints and we’re in a far stronger position financially due to size and number of supporters etc. but yet we’ve been humbled by two clubs that have what 2k ST holders at most? Not just beaten 1-0 in a close game. Thrashed.

I honestly don’t think this feels like a blip. Seen this show more than a few times. How many chances does our excellent squad create for Nisbet in a match? 1 if lucky? Apart from Murphy’s chance yesterday we didn’t create many, if any, clear chances. How well does our excellent squad defend when they go behind? Ragged and disjointed is what we normally become unless we are playing Celtic or Rangers.

24-01-2021, 11:33 AM
Is it a bad patch or are other teams fixing problems they had at the start of season? Managers sacked and new ones taking over - Martindale and Hughes being two prime examples. I’d expect based on squad we’ve acquired finishing 4th is absolute minimum, this season more than ever. Emphasis on finishing 4th, not being in 4th. Clubs are struggling with financial constraints and we’re in a far stronger position financially due to size and number of supporters etc. but yet we’ve been humbled by two clubs that have what 2k ST holders at most? Not just beaten 1-0 in a close game. Thrashed.

I honestly don’t think this feels like a blip. Seen this show more than a few times. How many chances does our excellent squad create for Nisbet in a match? 1 if lucky? Apart from Murphy’s chance yesterday we didn’t create many, if any, clear chances. How well does our excellent squad defend when they go behind? Ragged and disjointed is what we normally become unless we are playing Celtic or Rangers.

Hopefully a bad patch but suppose we will need to wait and see, we will see how good(or bad) a manager JR really is in the next few weeks. Defence needs sorted big time for me, the 2 CH's just aren't playing well enough. Going forward we are usually OK but again another forward would be great. Fingers crossed things improve, just a pity we are playing the best team in the country by a mile in our next game

24-01-2021, 11:39 AM
Hopefully a bad patch but suppose we will need to wait and see, we will see how good(or bad) a manager JR really is in the next few weeks. Defence needs sorted big time for me, the 2 CH's just aren't playing well enough. Going forward we are usually OK but again another forward would be great. Fingers crossed things improve, just a pity we are playing the best team in the country by a mile in our next game

If we capitulate against Rangers then it’s done. Shouldn’t be viewed as a free hit. Losing can be understood but if we have no shots on goal and lose 3-0 or more then it’s done.

Players, if they genuinely have pride in their performances, should have rotten confidence at the moment. Humblings by weaker opposition and out 2 cups in that manner. Another mauling and something has to give otherwise this patch will be hard to recover from.

24-01-2021, 11:41 AM
Personally, I'm still happy for Ross to continue for now. Better Hibs managers have lost semi-finals in the past, and we don't win a trophy often. The second half was very poor yesterday and Ross's side aren't great to watch, but I still think he deserves more time. Fourth in the league at this stage is good, and the league is the key issue. Let's find out if he can take this team forward and see where we are at the end of the season. I just think it would be harsh to sack him at this point.

PH91
24-01-2021, 11:42 AM

We weren't bad for the first 30 mins but as good as we have been all season is a stretch.

I don't what you mean by "this is the football everyone was crying out for".

147lothian
24-01-2021, 11:48 AM
Its just a thought but if we get a result on Wednesday will the same people calling for Jack Ross's head be on here saying 'celtic better no steal our manager?'.

24-01-2021, 11:52 AM
Its just a thought but if we get a result on Wednesday will the same people calling for Jack Ross's head be on here saying 'celtic better no steal our manager?'.

No. Celtic won’t want him anyway.

24-01-2021, 11:55 AM

He would need to follow it up with more positive results - in the same way it has taken negative results followed by more negative results to arrive at this point.

Cardinal G
24-01-2021, 11:56 AM

Best post since full time. A degree of common sense amongst all the madness being said from some.

24-01-2021, 12:00 PM

No, I referred to this last night.

For a growing number of fans, it won't now matter what Ross achieves at Hibs, short of a Scottish Cup win and perhaps splitting the Old Firm and consistent derby wins, his position's now untenable.

There's an inevitability about his position that reminds me of how I felt about Heckingbottom just before he left.

24-01-2021, 12:03 PM

For a growing number of fans, it won't now matter what Ross achieves at Hibs, short of a Scottish Cup win and perhaps splitting the Old Firm and consistent derby wins, his position's now untenable.

There's an inevitability about his position that reminds me of how I felt about Heckingbottom just before he left.

A lot of folk won’t take to him because they feel his Hibs team simply aren’t enjoyable to watch at all.

To add to that, we rarely even get the thrill of a win in a big game under him.

In general, the best it gets is a slog of a win against Kilmarnock etc. That’s not good enough.

hibeerealist
24-01-2021, 12:07 PM

I will wager you now Celtic will NOT be stealing our manager, you just making this up??

24-01-2021, 12:08 PM

The team selection was madness. 1st mistake.

The finishing was poor - been like this for weeks.

The defending was basic - no new CB and same players who keep making mistakes. Undroppable as no competition for places.

Conceding 10 mins before half time after dominating for 30 mins is poor mindset alongside bad coaching / average player not being able to stop a run from a corner.

Now..at half time - I would love to hear what was said.

5 mins later..game is over.
1 minute later he changes Cadden for Doidge.

Reactive sub - maybe if he had done this at half time Doidge would have won that header and still been 1-0.

11 mins later we concede again as he doesn’t take Murphy off who has done his hamstring - doesn’t stop cross going in = 3v0.

Then he panics again and brings on Magennis who hasn’t played since 23rd December. That’s a full month !

Then he brings on Scott Allan who hasn’t played since 30th August !!!!! Absolutely madness and high risk both subs could relapse.

Add in dropping Mallan who got us to the semi final with the Alloa performance and Gray who is a leader. Can you imagine the ripple around the squad when this was announced.

There is more depth than it’s just about goals etc - it’s how he continually makes bad choices and there is no co-incidence every team in the league and even league below would fancy playing us as we are a mess.

green with envy
24-01-2021, 12:11 PM
Whether he stays or goes, although my preference would be to go. It does show in big games that he lacks a winning mentality.

24-01-2021, 12:16 PM
A lot of folk won’t take to him because they feel his Hibs team simply aren’t enjoyable to watch at all.

To add to that, we rarely even get the thrill of a win in a big game under him.

In general, the best it gets is a slog of a win against Kilmarnock etc. That’s not good enough.

I was pretty meh about his appointment and have pretty much felt that way throughout his time with us.

I know folk find the whole ‘I just can’t take to him’ thing a bit odd but I just can’t. I can’t even see what type of team he’s trying to build. We seem to be going for a decent quality of player but there just doesn’t seem to be any plan as to how we’re going put them together.

24-01-2021, 12:17 PM
He also lost 2 finals at Sunderland.

If you google his time at Sunderland - several articles which were very similar to his time at Hibs.

https://rokerreport.sbnation.com/2019/8/7/20756522/ithics-fanzine-not-convinced-by-jack-ross-as-sunderland-manager-give-him-ten-games

Lots of draws - 2 big game let downs - penalties and a late goal. Again mindset related at pressure times.

h1bs4life
24-01-2021, 12:19 PM

Agree with that , the fact that we have lost the 2 biggest games that we are likely to have this season to a lower league team and team below us in the league makes there no way back for him.
Come season ticket renewal time there will be lots who unfortunately due to circumstances will not to be able to afford to renew and others who will be but will decide to spend there money elsewhere.

147lothian
24-01-2021, 12:19 PM
I will wager you now Celtic will NOT be stealing our manager, you just making this up??

Its not that long ago that a lot of posters on here were saying that celtic better no try to steal JR Im not making that up.

Allez Hibs
24-01-2021, 12:20 PM
I was pretty meh about his appointment and have pretty much felt that way throughout his time with us.

I know folk find the whole ‘I just can’t take to him’ thing a bit odd but I just can’t. I can’t even see what type of team he’s trying to build. We seem to be going for a decent quality of player but there just doesn’t seem to be any plan as to how we’re going put them together.

He has no personality? The radio interview last night was very bizzare.