View Full Version : What would be the most acceptable way to conclude this season?
10-04-2020, 05:57 PM
If as being mentioned teams have abstained from a vote then does this meant the vot is not counted either way.
The sticking point Championship is 7-2 with I believe ICT not voted yet ..... At this time then the vote is 78 percent yes because only 9 voted do we have to wait 28 days
Do one Inverness
They haven’t abstained as such, I don’t think.
League gave them 48 hours. By the rules, the clubs are entitled to 28 days.
It would appear that the league aren’t aware of their own rules.
At least that’s what I read!
10-04-2020, 06:02 PM
At least that’s what I read!I think the league requested a response for 5.00pm today, but technically everyone had the full 28 days.
10-04-2020, 06:04 PM
At least that’s what I read!
Nothing to suggest they aren't aware of it , they simply can't change it.
10-04-2020, 06:12 PM
The guy on the Beeb said, Premiership- 10-1 yes with 1 still to vote. I thought that Rangers and Aberdeen were both ‘no’.
10-04-2020, 06:13 PM
The guy on the Beeb said, Premiership- 10-1 yes with 1 still to vote. I thought that Rangers and Aberdeen were both ‘no’.
Maybe one of them hasn't voted yet?
I don't think we'll get the numbers in the championship tbh. I think there will be a lot of no's at this stage - probably rightly so unfortunately.
10-04-2020, 06:13 PM
Make this season null and void and create a league with all teams and all play each other once next season
The season after things return to as they were
That helps create interest in the whole game and lower league teams can increase revenue
Any moves should be about ensuring the survival of as many clubs as possible
10-04-2020, 06:14 PM
Aberdeen voted yes
https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/2139748/aberdeen-chief-dave-cormack-reveals-why-club-voted-for-spfl-resolution/
10-04-2020, 06:15 PM
Make this season null and void and create a league with all teams and all play each other once next season
That helps create interest in the whole game and lower league teams can increase revenue
There's no way they'll only have 1 Old Firm game next season.
10-04-2020, 06:16 PM
Aberdeen voted yes
https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/2139748/aberdeen-chief-dave-cormack-reveals-why-club-voted-for-spfl-resolution/
Ok :aok:
10-04-2020, 06:17 PM
Ffs someone tell me wtf is goin on
10-04-2020, 06:17 PM
That’s an absolutely mental idea why do I like it so much
10-04-2020, 06:19 PM
Apparently the missing vote was sent but not received.
10-04-2020, 06:20 PM
Apparently the missing vote was sent but not received.Get it opened live at 9pm
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
10-04-2020, 06:21 PM
Apparently the missing vote was sent but not received.
They post the votes in???
10-04-2020, 06:22 PM
They post the votes in???
No idea mate, was from here:
https://twitter.com/kheredine2018/status/1248675011847753735?s=21
10-04-2020, 06:22 PM
So the clubs that voted against this have got ideas of playing the remaining 8 games?
Thigh this vote wasn’t to establish final positions? Just to confirm the season needs to finish now with relegation etc tk be decided later?
I’m confused.
10-04-2020, 06:24 PM
No idea mate, was from here:
https://twitter.com/kheredine2018/status/1248675011847753735?s=21
He’s the top beeb reporter
10-04-2020, 06:25 PM
Typical of Scottish football to make this a farce and as overly stupid and unclear and complicated. Uncertainty reigns!!
10-04-2020, 06:26 PM
Aberdeen voted yes
So it's either the yams or huns who haven't yet voted from the top flight clubs? Probably some of 'protest'.
10-04-2020, 06:27 PM
Kickback is absolute comedy gold the result comes out just after 5:00pm lots of celebrations slagging Celtic Hibs in fact everyone. Ten minutes later like a VAR challenge all bets are off as news comes out the vote is incomplete :greengrin
Full on seethe commences with threats against all clubs that voted yes and court action against anyone that cares demanding Doncaster is frog marched from the building :LOL::rotflmao::hilarious
The Tv documentary should be TV gold it will surely become a must watch classic :aok:
None of this really matters. There is not a chance that the season will be finished, none. So all these clubs who are voting no are in denial. There is no realistic Plan B that will be supported. They are done, but not willing to accept that with any dignity. Huns and Hearts have no shame but others should be taking a long hard look at themselves. They'll all end up at the same point but many a lot poorer and less relevance than before.
Votes going to fail ICT are saying no.
Greenworld
10-04-2020, 06:29 PM
So the clubs that voted against this have got ideas of playing the remaining 8 games?
Thigh this vote wasn’t to establish final positions? Just to confirm the season needs to finish now with relegation etc tk be decided later?
I’m confused.Yup just a slower death for them and others
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
So it's either the yams or huns who haven't yet voted from the top flight clubs? Probably some of 'protest'.
Boycott started early :greengrin Oh dear, how we miss them :thumbsup:
I’m confused.
Think the vote did decided league one and two.
10-04-2020, 06:30 PM
They may have abstained.
10-04-2020, 06:31 PM
Votes going to fail ICT are saying no.Assuming they hope to come up via playoffs?
Absolutely no chance this season is actually being played to a finish.
We havnt peaked yet and are currently experiencing nearly 1000 hospital deaths per day
10-04-2020, 06:32 PM
Assuming they hope to come up via playoffs?
We havnt peaked yet and are currently experiencing nearly 1000 hospital deaths per day
Seems they are going for that or reconstruction. Neither will happen.
10-04-2020, 06:32 PM
Assuming they hope to come up via playoffs?
They want reconstruction- that will be chucked out - then they will have no alternative to vote yes again. The spfl aren’t going to change their process when there’s one club less the proposal.
10-04-2020, 06:37 PM
85% of clubs want this to happen so it’s going to happen.
Hearts are going down.
Hibs4185
10-04-2020, 06:37 PM
I just read that rangers submitted a resolution but it was rejected for being legally unsound.
They wanted paid out on league positions, but no decisions made.
Absolutely delusional. They must be desperate
Hibs4185
10-04-2020, 06:39 PM
85% of clubs want this to happen so it’s going to happen.
Hearts are going down.
1 club can scupper the wishes of the vast majority. Unfortunately it’s the rules but I can’t believe Scottish football is making such a mess of a basic vote. The clubs have had a few days to decide their stance.
10-04-2020, 06:42 PM
@Kheredine
@Kheredine2018
In yet another twist to the @spfl vote, as if it wasn’t dramatic enough already, am being told the ‘missing’ Championship vote has somehow been sent but not received ? 🤷*♂️ Still expecting it to be a ‘no’ which would give 3 ‘no’ and mean the ‘call the season’ motion would fail
19:11 - 10 Apr 2020
Gloucester Hibs
10-04-2020, 06:43 PM
What a shambles.
10-04-2020, 06:48 PM
What a shambles.
All other leagues vote in favour, but Championship doesn't.
They say they 75% need to vote in favour for it to pass, looks to me like more than 75% of all member clubs have voted to call the season done, 75% of the leagues voted in favour.
Only in Scotland.
10-04-2020, 06:49 PM
1 club can scupper the wishes of the vast majority. Unfortunately it’s the rules but I can’t believe Scottish football is making such a mess of a basic vote. The clubs have had a few days to decide their stance.
There's something a bit strange about the decision to publish the vote before all the votes are in, is there not?
We know how Scottish football works and how many lunatics there are amongst certain supports, on twitter and in boardrooms etc - surely they knew this would lead to a crazy feeding frenzy?
10-04-2020, 06:50 PM
They may have abstained.
Which could also seen as a pathetic 'protest' I guess.
10-04-2020, 06:51 PM
There's something a bit strange about the decision to publish the vote before all the votes were in, is it not?
We know how Scottish football works and how many lunatics there are amongst certain supports, on twitter and in boardrooms etc - surely they knew this would lead to a crazy feeding frenzy?
Seems bizarre why not just make a statement saying all votes not yet received.
10-04-2020, 06:51 PM
All other leagues vote in favour, but Championship doesn't.
They say they 75% need to vote in favour for it to pass, looks to me like more than 75% of all member clubs have voted to call the season done, 75% of the leagues voted in favour.
Only in Scotland.
I thought it was mental too. Why not just have it as a blanket 75% across all 42 clubs? Makes it nice and easy.
10-04-2020, 06:52 PM
Or an expression of one's democratic rights.
If one isn't convinced of the argument for or against, abstention is the only way to go.
It depends on what colour of glasses one's wearing, I spose.:greengrin
10-04-2020, 06:52 PM
Some clubs have been put in an impossible position. They cannot in all fairness vote for something that materially damages them. No one predicted a situation like this and its no surprise given the 75% threshold there's no consensus at this stage. Only at the final hour, after all the thrashing will those that are badly impacted, reluctantly accept their fate.
If Scottish football had a bit more money, the SFA/SPFL could have softened the blow for those who are going to be scuppered - Hearts, ICT, Dundee etc. IMO they deserve to have some financial compensation, so the game can carry on. Yes, Hearts were bottom, probably deserved to go down, but found themselves in last place at the worst time. Some form of compensation payment would be reasonable and would probably resolve this issue.
In the absence of money, time will eventually get us to the place we all know we're heading.
10-04-2020, 06:53 PM
Tom English says abstention as good as a no vote and will mean it is not passed.
10-04-2020, 06:54 PM
I thought it was mental too. Why not just have it as a blanket 75% across all 42 clubs? Makes it nice and easy.
Presumably, because each league has its own particular set of circumstances. A bit like FPTP in elections.
Remember, it's the clubs that set up that process.
10-04-2020, 06:56 PM
Journo from the Dundee area saying they are the club that haven’t voted. If Nelms reckons his bat**** crazy idea is going to work instead then he’s deluded.
10-04-2020, 06:58 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52249263
Shambles - The 17:00 BST vote passed with only 39 out of 42 teams having responded, with the fate of the resolution resting on one Scottish Championship club. However, it has emerged under league rules that clubs actually have 28 days to submit an answer, and that Friday's deadline was a requested cut off.
https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/480/cpsprodpb/137D1/production/_111752897_18278794-1.jpg
10-04-2020, 06:59 PM
Presumably, because each league has its own particular set of circumstances. A bit like FPTP in elections.
Remember, it's the clubs that set up that process.
That makes sense. I’m just raging Hearts aren’t any closer to relegation yet :greengrin
10-04-2020, 07:01 PM
Journo from the Dundee area saying they are the club that haven’t voted. If Nelms reckons his bat**** crazy idea is going to work instead then he’s deluded.
Do you know which one?
I still have a few pals from my time in Dundee in that line of work.
10-04-2020, 07:02 PM
Shambles - The 17:00 BST vote passed with only 39 out of 42 teams having responded, with the fate of the resolution resting on one Scottish Championship club. However, it has emerged under league rules that clubs actually have 28 days to submit an answer, and that Friday's deadline was a requested cut off.
https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/onesport/cps/480/cpsprodpb/137D1/production/_111752897_18278794-1.jpg
That is friggin hilarious :rotflmao:
So the final vote is up for auction ?:greengrin Have checked Ebay but no sign of it yet
10-04-2020, 07:02 PM
I feel sorry for auld Bagpuss she did not sign up for this. She just wanted to wear her maroon tartan with pride and be appreciated by all those in the PBS sad way for it all to end.
10-04-2020, 07:04 PM
Do you know which one?
I still have a few pals from my time in Dundee in that line of work.
This boy...
https://twitter.com/cwoodger93/status/1248684437002506240?s=21
10-04-2020, 07:09 PM
This boy...
https://twitter.com/cwoodger93/status/1248684437002506240?s=21
Dundee waited until the last moment to expose their inflated and warped view of themselves.
Deluded and in Denial from Dundee.
Greenworld
10-04-2020, 07:10 PM
Please let it be Dundee that do it again
CloudSquall
10-04-2020, 07:12 PM
I hope we get Sir Albert Kidd live streaming a Dundee yes vote live on national TV.
10-04-2020, 07:14 PM
Dundee waited until the last moment to expose their inflated and warped view of themselves.
Deluded and in Denial from Dundee.
You're channelling dour Dick Donnelly fae a drab, dismal, dreich Dens Park, Dundee.....:greengrin
10-04-2020, 07:24 PM
I feel sorry for auld Bagpuss she did not sign up for this. She just wanted to wear her maroon tartan with pride and be appreciated by all those in the PBS sad way for it all to end.
She had the chance to get out 2 years, but her ego kept her on
10-04-2020, 07:31 PM
She had the chance to get out 2 years, but her ego kept her on
Bagpuss more of the bear on rainbow who has been defeated
10-04-2020, 07:38 PM
I’m not worried now that I know Hibs voted the right way. Onus is now on those that voted against to put forward an alternative plan that gets close to the amount of votes. If they can’t then I guess there is a long summer with no money handed out. Hibs will cope but many won’t.
10-04-2020, 07:41 PM
Kickback is absolute comedy gold the result comes out just after 5:00pm lots of celebrations slagging Celtic Hibs in fact everyone. Ten minutes later like a VAR challenge all bets are off as news comes out the vote is incomplete :greengrin
Full on seethe commences with threats against all clubs that voted yes and court action against anyone that cares demanding Doncaster is frog marched from the building :LOL::rotflmao::hilarious
The Tv documentary should be TV gold it will surely become a must watch classic :aok:
I'm assuming the main threat is to boycott all top flight league fixtures next season.
10-04-2020, 07:51 PM
Dundee are the club still to vote and wont be voting until monday.
10-04-2020, 07:54 PM
Dundee are the club still to vote and wont be voting until monday.
Dundee to decide after hearts being pumped off St Mirren? Scenes 😂😂
10-04-2020, 07:57 PM
Dundee want United down with them for derby revenue.
NC1875
10-04-2020, 08:17 PM
Hearts and Rangers both saying they voted no but SPFL only have 1 no vote. This is a shambles!!
James Stephen
Hearts and Rangers both saying they voted no but SPFL only have 1 no vote. This is a shambles!!
Maybe the huns are lying?
Hearts apparently were late with their vote. They have now voted no as well.
10-04-2020, 08:19 PM
Maybe the huns are lying?
Financially they need the cash so could vote yes on that basis. Then would vote no to avoid Celtic winning the title. Depends how desperate they are.
10-04-2020, 08:21 PM
There's a decent amount of competition no doubt, but could this be the most bodged palaver in the history of Scottish football?
10-04-2020, 08:29 PM
Hearts apparently were late with their vote. They have now voted no as well.
Unbelievable. Perish the thought but if I were unfortunate enough to be one of them I’d be raging.
10-04-2020, 08:35 PM
I hope we get Sir Albert Kidd live streaming a Dundee yes vote live on national TV.
Wearing a half Celtic/St Mirren top and holding a Hibs scarf above his head .
10-04-2020, 08:36 PM
Dundee want United down with them for derby revenue.
Wouldn’t they make just as much from 400,000 jambo’s visiting their ground and city?
Chorley Hibee
10-04-2020, 08:37 PM
Wearing a half Celtic/St Mirren top and holding a Hibs scarf above his head .
Genuine Lol moment there. 😂😂
10-04-2020, 08:41 PM
Scottish fitba, what a ****ing shambles, it never ceases to amaze. So bloody amateuristic. 😂😂😂
10-04-2020, 08:47 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/dundee-confirm-spfl-resolution-stance-21849097.amp?__twitter_impression=true
Dundee confirm they didn’t vote. So resolution fails. Be interesting to see what those who voted against come up with.
10-04-2020, 08:49 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/dundee-confirm-spfl-resolution-stance-21849097.amp?__twitter_impression=true
Dundee confirm they didn’t vote. So resolution fails. Be interesting to see what those who voted against come up with.
It hasnt failed yet. They can still vote for another 26 days
10-04-2020, 08:51 PM
Hertz r goin doon in 3 weeks, Dundee just want a sweetener
10-04-2020, 08:53 PM
It hasnt failed yet. They can still vote for another 26 days
Dundee voting on Monday. Dundee a big Yes city.
Widhibs
10-04-2020, 09:46 PM
https://twitter.com/Kheredine2018/status/1248723557942771719?s=19
When I said there may be a big twist to this @spfl story , little did I know just HOW much drama was going on. 3 Championship clubs filled out “reject” voting slips. @PartickThistle @ICTFC @DundeeFC Only 2 arrived at the @spfl offices. 1 club is thinking of changing their vote.
10-04-2020, 09:57 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200410/82e38d1782457b4f8c13681b938f2d68.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200410/e3e56d0bd025f593b693bed56f0e140d.jpg
10-04-2020, 10:08 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200410/82e38d1782457b4f8c13681b938f2d68.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200410/e3e56d0bd025f593b693bed56f0e140d.jpg
Never a dull moment in Scottish football
CloudSquall
10-04-2020, 10:18 PM
I'd just love it if it becomes true that Dundee change from a No to a Yes, the seethe and paranoia over on Kickback will be glorious.
10-04-2020, 10:24 PM
I'd just love it if it becomes true that Dundee change from a No to a Yes, the seethe and paranoia over on Kickback will be glorious.
I can truly understand Hearts, Partick and Stranraer’s vote. I can even understand Sevco’s (they’re total morons).
But I’m struggling with ICT and Dundee. What is it that they think could possibly happen that would be better for them? I really can’t understand them?
10-04-2020, 10:31 PM
I can truly understand Hearts, Partick and Stranraer’s vote. I can even understand Sevco’s (they’re total morons).
But I’m struggling with ICT and Dundee. What is it that they think could possibly happen that would be better for them? I really can’t understand them?
League reconstruction and a bigger league.
10-04-2020, 10:40 PM
League reconstruction and a bigger league.
Dundee not third at the moment? Even if they promote 2 from that championship Dundee still wouldn’t go up.
What a shambles.
10-04-2020, 10:43 PM
They’re probably just waiting for Albert Kidd to announce the result of their vote 😂😂😂
10-04-2020, 10:45 PM
Ict want league constitution and to go up with Dundee Utd. **** knows what Dundee’s agenda is though. Their owners will have a chat with Ron and Cormack and vote it through after a wee bit publicity. No way are they and their owners will want to be seen as the club that cash staves many football clubs in the country - especially when you consider how many times they have been almost bust through admin and other clubs saved them. Even Inverness, the SPL let them play home games in Aberdeen to have them promoted before. It’s an almighty gamble for nothing really as season won’t conclude.
10-04-2020, 10:55 PM
Dundee not third at the moment? Even if they promote 2 from that championship Dundee still wouldn’t go up.
What a shambles.
They could hold out for a 16 team league or playoffs to whichever league proposal is in place. They are in a playoff position at the moment. There are various permutations whichever way they vote.
11-04-2020, 12:15 AM
The problem with league reconstruction is it needs 11 premier team to vote for it. If say, Hibs and Celtic don’t want it then they can easily wait it out a lot longer than Dundee with no money coming in. Hibs and Celtic can wait and play the games in August if need be. It would be expensive and could cost us the Sky deal but if needs must, we could last that long. I doubt ICT or Dundee can.
Reconstruction is a dead duck.
Mr Grieves
11-04-2020, 12:22 AM
Scottish fitba, what a ****ing shambles, it never ceases to amaze. So bloody amateuristic. 😂😂😂
Don't ye just ****ing love it! Never a dull moment.
DstN75
11-04-2020, 01:51 AM
Hearts go down obviously. Jesus christ.
11-04-2020, 02:53 AM
Hearts go down obviously. Jesus christ.
And on the third season they rise again
11-04-2020, 05:40 AM
I’ve woken up to see Dundee changed their mind at the last minute and didn’t submit their “No” vote. Tremendous. Get it changed and get Hearts relegated.
TimeForHeroes16
11-04-2020, 05:46 AM
I’ve woken up to see Dundee changed their mind at the last minute and didn’t submit their “No” vote. Tremendous. Get it changed and get Hearts relegated.
You’d think with strachan on the board they’d vote less hunishly
11-04-2020, 06:39 AM
Sitting in 2nd and 3rd I'd guess they're just not prepared to write off what they've worked for all season.
Presumably they want something: Complete the season somehow, a larger top league to include them, a play off system to at least give them a chance when they can play again, financial compensation, something which allows their relative success against the teams below to give them an advantage in getting promoted next year.
What's the benefit to them in voting yes right now? A bit of cash flow injection now rather than down the line. Is that all?
I'm in no doubt that they, along with a lot of clubs, have financial issues but with all the schemes currently available I'm sure they could batten down the hatches and survive in the hope of getting a positive result from voting no.
11-04-2020, 06:55 AM
Sitting in 2nd and 3rd I'd guess they're just not prepared to write off what they've worked for all season.
Presumably they want something: Complete the season somehow, a larger top league to include them, a play off system to at least give them a chance when they can play again, financial compensation, something which allows their relative success against the teams below to give them an advantage in getting promoted next year.
What's the benefit to them in voting yes right now? A bit of cash flow injection now rather than down the line. Is that all?
I'm in no doubt that they, along with a lot of clubs, have financial issues but with all the schemes currently available I'm sure they could batten down the hatches and survive in the hope of getting a positive result from voting no.
The fact is teams voted due to worries about their very future. Dundee aren't going up in a 14 team spl and a 16 team top league is not happening. I really don't know what they are thinking bar being the centre of attention for a few days/weeks. Can't imagine they will be popular with the like of all the league 1 and 2 teams who will run out of money in a few weeks time. It's a free country so they are entitled to vote no but financial reality is the end game here. Sky and bt are now probably more worried about getting next season started anywhere close to on time than Dundee playing their headline grabbing games. Keeps the slavering journos happy as this will be the headline for as long as it lasts. 15 mins of fame.
11-04-2020, 07:02 AM
I can see why Inverness voted no. If they are in severe financial trouble their only hope is a 14 team league. Desperate measure that suggests they could be in real trouble. The vote has exposed just how much trouble a few clubs are in.
11-04-2020, 07:05 AM
I can see why Inverness voted no. If they are in severe financial trouble their only hope is a 14 team league. Desperate measure that suggests they could be in real trouble. The vote has exposed just how much trouble a few clubs are in.
League reconstruction debate was still to be had regardless of what way they voted yesterday I think?!
11-04-2020, 07:11 AM
The fact is teams voted due to worries about their very future. Dundee aren't going up in a 14 team spl and a 16 team top league is not happening. I really don't know what they are thinking bar being the centre of attention for a few days/weeks. Can't imagine they will be popular with the like of all the league 1 and 2 teams who will run out of money in a few weeks time. It's a free country so they are entitled to vote no but financial reality is the end game here. Sky and bt are now probably more worried about getting next season started anywhere close to on time than Dundee playing their headline grabbing games. Keeps the slavering journos happy as this will be the headline for as little Ng as it lasts. 15 mins of fame.
It is pathetic. There's nothing new that needs extra deliberation. They're either doing it as a final GIRY to Dundee Utd, looking for a bit of stroking from Ann Budge or trying to sell the "deciding vote" to the highest bidder.
Longer they hang on with no good reason, the more they'll just piss everyone off.
11-04-2020, 07:15 AM
Complete shambles the terms of the vote should have been agreed before it and not allowing clubs to play games like some have. Hope Dundee reconsider and get this done. If they do Dundee Hearts games in the championship will be tasty.
11-04-2020, 07:24 AM
SFA / SPFL should have arranged some compensation for those clubs financially impacted by the outcome. Those in playoff and relegation positions (after points adjustment) should get a bit of cash to soften the blow - even if it has to come from the Sky deal over time.
Caversham Green
11-04-2020, 07:31 AM
It is pathetic. There's nothing new that needs extra deliberation. They're either doing it as a final GIRY to Dundee Utd, looking for a bit of stroking from Ann Budge or trying to sell the "deciding vote" to the highest bidder.
Longer they hang on with no good reason, the more they'll just piss everyone off.
A lot of Hibs fans were not going to renew their season tickets if our vote 'saved' Hearts. What if a lot of Dundee fans are threatening to do the same if their vote 'promotes' United?
Maybe Dundee are taking the weekend to work out how to sell a yes vote to these fans.
11-04-2020, 07:36 AM
Just wonder if those supporters who state they will not renew there season tickets during this debate will be interested in going to a cup final at hampden or will stand by there choice.
11-04-2020, 07:37 AM
I think a lot of people are not seeing the obvious behind why dundee would be thinking of voting no. Surely it’s because they think Hearts would win the championship next season, making it more difficult to be promoted. If they play the remaining games then still a chance of a lesser club going down.
11-04-2020, 07:38 AM
A lot of Hibs fans were not going to renew their season tickets if our vote 'saved' Hearts. What if a lot of Dundee fans are threatening to do the same if their vote 'promotes' United?
Maybe Dundee are taking the weekend to work out how to sell a yes vote to these fans.
If a dozen or so on a message board equals a lot, then yes you have a point.
11-04-2020, 07:40 AM
United will be promoted no matter what system is used.
The one being voted on, play the season out, or reconstruction.
Simples, get the yes vote in.
11-04-2020, 07:40 AM
Indeed -
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qMxX-QOV9tI
Greenworld
11-04-2020, 07:41 AM
I'm in no doubt that they, along with a lot of clubs, have financial issues but with all the schemes currently available I'm sure they could batten down the hatches and survive in the hope of getting a positive result from voting no.Dan that's fine and well but thats not what this vote is for. It's not a negotiation option all of a sudden like some are saying. The vote should have been in at 5 pm every other club managed it.
They are doing themselves no favours here . They should email in their intentions one way or another right now
Greenworld
11-04-2020, 07:44 AM
I think a lot of people are not seeing the obvious behind why dundee would be thinking of voting no. Surely it’s because they think Hearts would win the championship next season, making it more difficult to be promoted. If they play the remaining games then still a chance of a lesser club going down.That's the very point they won't be playing the remaining games there is no chance and the vast majority of the rest agree
11-04-2020, 07:50 AM
Dan that's fine and well but thats not what this vote is for. It's not a negotiation option all of a sudden like some are saying. The vote should have been in at 5 pm every other club managed it.
They are doing themselves no favours here . They should email in their intentions one way or another right now
They're not options that were being voted on right now, but I think they're reasons they would vote no now and then try to achieve those things for the next proposal.
I'd agree that they should have been able to put their vote in on time though. :agree:
Caversham Green
11-04-2020, 07:54 AM
If a dozen or so on a message board equals a lot, then yes you have a point.
The fans rep's posts on here suggests that he (rightly) conveyed the general feelings of the fanbase - taken from here and other social media - to the board and what looked like it was going to be a no vote (judging by the reaction to LD's interview) turned into a yes. It seems our board listened to the fans' views - surely Dundee's board should do the same.
United will be promoted no matter what system is used.
The one being voted on, play the season out, or reconstruction.
Simples, get the yes vote in.
I agree but there's no logic to the reaction of football fans when it involves their local rivals and it doesn't mean Dundee have to vote for their promotion.
Just to be clear, I don't know what the Dundee fans reaction actually is, but judging from the reaction of some on here it wouldn't surprise me if their fans are making unhappy noises and that would put their board in a difficult position.
11-04-2020, 07:55 AM
I think a lot of people are not seeing the obvious behind why dundee would be thinking of voting no. Surely it’s because they think Hearts would win the championship next season, making it more difficult to be promoted. If they play the remaining games then still a chance of a lesser club going down.
Don't see that logic. Virtually everyone accepts no further games will be played this season. Holding out for a few more days is not going to change that, just makes Dundee (and Scotland) look a bit silly.
Greenworld
11-04-2020, 07:59 AM
Don't see that logic. Virtually everyone accepts no further games will be played this season. Holding out for a few more days is not going to change that, just makes Dundee (and Scotland) look a bit silly.And that is 100% the situation , acting like a 5 year old stamping their feet " im not doing it" embarrassing
11-04-2020, 08:00 AM
Don't see that logic. Virtually everyone accepts no further games will be played this season. Holding out for a few more days is not going to change that, just makes Dundee (and Scotland) look a bit silly.
Im not saying I agree with it , but that surely has to be at the forefront of their thinking. They will see Hearts going down as a bad thing because it hampers their own chances of automatic promotion next season. It has got to be a major part in them thinking of voting no
Whats the alternative really. Wait and play out the season. I do feel sorry for Partick. Hearts were going down anyway.
11-04-2020, 08:08 AM
After the Spfl & SFA statement on Thursday (that no games can be played before 22 July) the only question that counts is:
Can Dundee afford to stay afloat until August, without the sponsors prize money?
Its vote to end the season now...or go bust.
11-04-2020, 08:10 AM
Dundee are 1 of only 6 clubs insured in scotland for loss of earnings.
11-04-2020, 08:16 AM
The fans rep's posts on here suggests that he (rightly) conveyed the general feelings of the fanbase - taken from here and other social media - to the board and what looked like it was going to be a no vote (judging by the reaction to LD's interview) turned into a yes.
Not sure how you can say that with certainty. Lots saw it like that, but I'd suggest that lots more saw it as nothing more than a neutral wait and see statement.
Anyway, this is going back to yesterday so I'll quit early :greengrin
steviehibsleith
11-04-2020, 08:17 AM
Dundee statement asks for money to be paid now to help clubs who may go bankrupt...... really with clubs not agreeing to reasonable proposal for the majority there is still null and void on the table . So SPL pays nothing
teams declared Champions but no relagation or promotion. Apart from SPL the biggest part of being a champion is promotion .. but suits So as not to promote their biggest rivals who have invested heavily for promotion
Cant see there being any other proposal anywhere near this one apart from a miracle to get football back playing so Scottish football in limbo good luck to clubs who need the money
Greenworld
11-04-2020, 08:18 AM
After the Spfl & SFA statement on Thursday (that no games can be played before 22 July) the only question that counts is:
Can Dundee afford to stay afloat until August, without the sponsors prize money?
Its vote to end the season now...or go bust.It would appear so they are one of only 6 to have insurance
11-04-2020, 08:20 AM
In which case, the vote is
Yes to get the prize money in now that is critical for the 36 clubs who could go bust without it,
or
No to be awkward.
If they vote No, expect another club to ask for a fresh vote (within 2 weeks - as otherwise they & others will go out of business)
A No vote doesnt bring any prize money to anyone til late August at the earliest
11-04-2020, 08:24 AM
In which case, the vote is
Yes to get the prize money in now that is critical for the 36 clubs who could go bust without it,
or
No to be awkward.
If they vote No, expect another club to ask for a fresh vote (within 2 weeks - as otherwise they & others will go out of business)
A No vote doesnt bring any prize money to anyone til late August at the earliest
If I was a Dundee fan I'd be wanting the club to vote no. With the Arabs out the way Dundee would be pretty equal favourites to go up you'd think next season. They would definitely fancy their chances of promotion more with Accies or Saints coming down as opposed to Hearts.
Caversham Green
11-04-2020, 08:24 AM
Not sure how you can say that with certainty. Lots saw it like that, but I'd suggest that lots more saw it as nothing more than a neutral wait and see statement.
Anyway, this is going back to yesterday so I'll quit early :greengrin
I'm not saying it with any certainty but the majority reaction on here and in the press following that interview was that Hibs were going to vote no.
And that's me out too.
11-04-2020, 08:26 AM
Just wonder if those supporters who state they will not renew there season tickets during this debate will be interested in going to a cup final at hampden or will stand by there choice.
Just because they are not renewing a season ticket, does this mean they shouldn't attend a final, dinnae think so.
Not renewing a season ticket does mot mean that you are not going to follow Hibs. Your just not giving them all your hard earned cash b4 the season starts.
Caversham Green
11-04-2020, 08:28 AM
It would appear so they are one of only 6 to have insurance
I wonder if they've read the small print on their policy. Insurance companies tend to look for ways out of settling claims and Dundee are refusing the offer of immediate cash income.....
Potty78
11-04-2020, 08:28 AM
Who are the other 5?
11-04-2020, 08:35 AM
It would appear so they are one of only 6 to have insurance
You can bet their insurers will be taking a keen interest in Dundee's decision / procrastination, delaying the settling of prize monies :cb
11-04-2020, 08:37 AM
I wonder if they've read the small print on their policy. Insurance companies tend to look for ways out of settling claims and Dundee are refusing the offer of immediate cash income.....
Exactly. Equivalent of making yourself unemployed :greengrin
11-04-2020, 08:39 AM
Interesting piece about how and when restrictions will be lifted. Anyone thinking they are going to be lifted soon to allow football matches to re-commence are in for a shock.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-52183295
Low risk first including exercising outdoors, which has been restricted in some countries.
Then moderate including letting some non-essential shops re-open or having occasional gatherings with people outside the household. Possibly, behind closed doors matches could come into this category.
Substantial increases could come from lifting advice to work from home, reopening schools or isolating sick people and quarantining households. They don't mention football, but attending matches will come into this category.
11-04-2020, 08:48 AM
Can you add an option to liquidate Hearts, The Rangers and Dundee?
Green Badger
11-04-2020, 08:52 AM
If I was a Dundee fan I'd be wanting the club to vote no. With the Arabs out the way Dundee would be pretty equal favourites to go up you'd think next season. They would definitely fancy their chances of promotion more with Accies or Saints coming down as opposed to Hearts.
This isn’t a dig at you, but I’m interested in why folk seem to think the season being completed in full would mean that hearts would somehow stay up? There is no evidence to back this up, of course there is a chance they would, but it is now probably even less than it was after p*ssing off their players with the wage cut nonsense.
11-04-2020, 08:59 AM
I wonder if they've read the small print on their policy. Insurance companies tend to look for ways out of settling claims and Dundee are refusing the offer of immediate cash income.....[emoji106]
The duty to take reasonable steps to minimise loss, especially if an option is actually available.
11-04-2020, 09:06 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200411/d66e645d8739b2cae42a10783db0524c.plist
11-04-2020, 09:07 AM
Interesting piece about how and when restrictions will be lifted. Anyone thinking they are going to be lifted soon to allow football matches to re-commence are in for a shock.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-52183295
Low risk first including exercising outdoors, which has been restricted in some countries.
Then moderate including letting some non-essential shops re-open or having occasional gatherings with people outside the household. Possibly, behind closed doors matches could come into this category.
Substantial increases could come from lifting advice to work from home, reopening schools or isolating sick people and quarantining households. They don't mention football, but attending matches will come into this category.
In the US live spectator sport is the last thing to be opened. They are aiming for mid November.
11-04-2020, 09:08 AM
This isn’t a dig at you, but I’m interested in why folk seem to think the season being completed in full would mean that hearts would somehow stay up? There is no evidence to back this up, of course there is a chance they would, but it is now probably even less than it was after p*ssing off their players with the wage cut nonsense.
It doesn’t men they would stay up. It would however give them more of a chance than being relegated as things stand. Not that difficult to see surely?
Greenworld
11-04-2020, 09:10 AM
I wonder if they've read the small print on their policy. Insurance companies tend to look for ways out of settling claims and Dundee are refusing the offer of immediate cash income.....That is a very good question I wonder if that was pointed out to them late Friday mmm
That is a very good question I wonder if that was pointed out to them late Friday mmm
Food for thought. Maybe a bit of pressure from the insurance company will indeed change their minds.
From cocky and confident to potentially tails between their legs with their vote??
NC1875
11-04-2020, 11:24 AM
UEFA have now been advised to end this season apparently. By some Belgian virologist who says there is no chance of playing any football anytime soon.
11-04-2020, 11:29 AM
UEFA have now been advised to end this season apparently. By some Belgian virologist who says there is no chance of playing any football anytime soon.
Marc Van Ranst
I can only see the Sun running this story
11-04-2020, 11:47 AM
Marc Van Ranst
I can only see the Sun running this story
Marc Van Ranst, who is virologist and epidemiologist at the Katholieke Universiteit in Leuven and regarded as one of the world's leading authorities on the subject.
Story above from the rag that rhymes wi Hun.
11-04-2020, 02:02 PM
Didn’t realise the SPFL board only had a few top flight clubs in it
You can see, apart from Rangers, why the rest were keen on getting this through
The 2019/20 SPFL Board is made up of Neil Doncaster (CEO), Murdoch MacLennan (Chairman), Karyn McCluskey (non-executive), Alan Burrows (Motherwell), Les Gray (Hamilton Academical), Stewart Robertson (Rangers), Ross McArthur (Dunfermline Athletic), Ewen Cameron (Alloa Athletic), Ken Ferguson (Brechin City) and Peter Davidson (Montrose).
11-04-2020, 02:57 PM
Maybe slipped under the radar a bit (apologies if already posted) but I see out of contract players are already starting to find new clubs:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52244984
Kind of nullifies talk of some sort of blanket contract extensions being enforced by Uefa in order to keep the season alive.
11-04-2020, 06:44 PM
Maybe slipped under the radar a bit (apologies if already posted) but I see out of contract players are already starting to find new clubs:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52244984
Kind of nullifies talk of some sort of blanket contract extensions being enforced by Uefa in order to keep the season alive.
Not just football that's affected, but the issues are the same ie insurmountable
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/52257511
12-04-2020, 05:57 PM
See on Sky sports, that they are saying Real Sociedad are possibly returning to training on Tuesday
Thought the Basque region was badly hit with the virus
12-04-2020, 06:34 PM
is it a Dundeal or a Dundee
12-04-2020, 10:52 PM
is it a Dundeal or a Dundee
Dundeal then all will be united.....
13-04-2020, 08:30 AM
Seems to me that only if the league is null and void can the prize money be split equally (season never happened)
If its based on placings, then it is fairest to have them based on average over the season.
When it comes to players contracts, how are they likely to handle appearance bonus and other bonus figures.
If the cup is played 'next season' what about players of the final teams who are awarded medals? if theyve moved on do they still get a medal for competing in the earlier stages?
13-04-2020, 08:35 AM
Seems to me that only if the league is null and void can the prize money be split equally (season never happened)
If its based on placings, then it is fairest to have them based on average over the season.
When it comes to players contracts, how are they likely to handle appearance bonus and other bonus figures.
If the cup is played 'next season' what about players of the final teams who are awarded medals? if theyve moved on do they still get a medal for competing in the earlier stages?
Answer to the last paragraph is yes.
13-04-2020, 08:45 AM
Answer to the last paragraph is yes.
Think the only players who get medals, are the ones in the match squad on the day
Remember Kevin Thomson not getting a medal in 2016, as he wasn’t stripped
13-04-2020, 09:10 AM
Think the only players who get medals, are the ones in the match squad on the day
Remember Kevin Thomson not getting a medal in 2016, as he wasn’t stripped
Ah true enough.[emoji106] Might be league medals I’m thinking of.
mcfly
13-04-2020, 09:10 AM
Just because they are not renewing a season ticket, does this mean they shouldn't attend a final, dinnae think so.
Not renewing a season ticket does mot mean that you are not going to follow Hibs. Your just not giving them all your hard earned cash b4 the season starts.
Totally correct
The Scottish cup if played is for this season and season ticket holders are valid.
Folk forget that season ticket holders have lost out on this and criticising people for not renewing just now is unfair. Walk up fans have lost nothing.
Season ticket holders from all clubs have never been mentioned at all.
Dr Jimmy
13-04-2020, 10:23 AM
Mass gatherings are going to be one of the last things lifted after the lock down ends. Possibly not even until a vaccine is found.
This season has gone!
13-04-2020, 10:41 AM
See on Sky sports, that they are saying Real Sociedad are possibly returning to training on Tuesday
Thought the Basque region was badly hit with the virus
The main hotspots in Spain have been Madrid and Catalonia (near Barcelona). The Basque region have had around 10,000 cases though so that's a bit of a surprise.
13-04-2020, 12:18 PM
Totally correct
The Scottish cup if played is for this season and season ticket holders are valid.
Folk forget that season ticket holders have lost out on this and criticising people for not renewing just now is unfair. Walk up fans have lost nothing.
Season ticket holders from all clubs have never been mentioned at all.
Your season ticket is not valid for cup games
13-04-2020, 05:42 PM
It’s only a week and a half until UEFA meet again, if they call the leagues at that meeting, the season is over as it stands
You cant please everyone. Just send hearts down like they deserve.
13-04-2020, 06:02 PM
Think there’s an SPFL board meeting tomorrow, hopefully things become a bit clearer after this
13-04-2020, 06:15 PM
I don’t think UEFA will make the decision for individual leagues. They may offer a range of options but that’s it.
13-04-2020, 06:42 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200413/2ebb86a51ebb7a6a9e7e22132c9c3b70.jpg
Barry Ferguson supports calling the leagues as they are and awarding titles.[emoji106]
English football league planning to finish the season starting 6th june after a small pre season.
13-04-2020, 07:43 PM
English football league planning to finish the season starting 6th june after a small pre season.
SFA have already said 10th June or there abouts plus 6 weeks group training i think for us.
Well if these clubs have voted against ending the season with places standing then they must want to finish the season.
They cant then just pick the solution that suits them best. They were in the huge minority to begin with, they cant decide anything.
14-04-2020, 06:46 AM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-8215447/amp/Dundee-offered-friendlies-against-Scottish-Premiership-opposition-bungled-vote-void-season.html?__twitter_impression=true
Yorkshire HFC
14-04-2020, 06:50 AM
SFA have already said 10th June or there abouts plus 6 weeks group training i think for us.
How can football clubs do this? What if we are still in lockdown? What if the infection rate is still increasing?
The SFA just have to wait and see - they're like everyone else. There's no point in setting dates at the moment.
14-04-2020, 06:54 AM
How can football clubs do this? What if we are still in lockdown? What if the infection rate is still increasing?
The SFA just have to wait and see - they're like everyone else. There's no point in setting dates at the moment.
They made it clear that date was a minimum. And the date was given to them by the Scottish government on the advice of their experts.
14-04-2020, 07:02 AM
They made it clear that date was a minimum. And the date was given to them by the Scottish government on the advice of their experts.
Yes sorry i should have made thay clear. No return to football before thay date plus the 6 weeks of training
14-04-2020, 07:04 AM
They can't. English football is beyond stupid. Live in their own little bubble, with a warped sense of reality, where money is their god. Watching the police raiding their grounds when they try to play matches should be entertaining.
14-04-2020, 07:21 AM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-8215447/amp/Dundee-offered-friendlies-against-Scottish-Premiership-opposition-bungled-vote-void-season.html?__twitter_impression=true
I find it almost impossible to read that paper on-line. Every sentence has an advert between them.
For those not willing to clickbait, the headline is "Dundee offered lucrative friendlies against Scottish Premiership opposition amid rumours clubs want to buy their support after bungled vote to void season". Also, "Dundee are believed to have been subjected to strong lobbying from other clubs urging them to support the resolution over the weekend."
14-04-2020, 08:41 AM
They can't. English football is beyond stupid. Live in their own little bubble, with a warped sense of reality, where money is their god. Watching the police raiding their grounds when they try to play matches should be entertaining.
Is something that doesn't happen really entertaining?
murray26
14-04-2020, 08:49 AM
Finish season behind closed doors seems like the best solution.. English premier is certain to do it and German clubs are already back training.. it will save a lot a unnecessary arguing.. you can’t void a season 80% complete anyway..
14-04-2020, 08:52 AM
Finish season behind closed doors seems like the best solution.. English premier is certain to do it and German clubs are already back training.. it will save a lot a unnecessary arguing.. you can’t void a season 80% complete anyway..
You do know that social distancing and peoples health also covers footballers who will be breathing, spitting, coughing in close proximity to each other for all of these "closed doors" matches?
Thats a non starter mate.
14-04-2020, 08:58 AM
You do know that social distancing and peoples health also covers footballers who will be breathing, spitting, coughing in close proximity to each other for all of these "closed doors" matches?
Why are England thinking of going down that route, not having a go at you, just asking
14-04-2020, 09:10 AM
Why are England thinking of going down that route, not having a go at you, just asking
Because English football lives in its own wee world. They have different financial priorities from Scottish football. It’s possible their TV deal is structured differently and they are facing large penalties if they don’t finish.
In the end I think they will do the exact same as us because it’s the solution that makes the most sense.
murray26
14-04-2020, 09:14 AM
If other countries are doing it why not us.. I don’t see any agreement happening otherwise
14-04-2020, 09:18 AM
If other countries are doing it why not us.. I don’t see any agreement happening otherwise
No other countries are doing it though. Not a single one. Show me a single country where their Association and the government of that country have agreed or allowed this.
murray26
14-04-2020, 09:21 AM
No other countries are doing it though. Not a single one. Show me a single country where their Association and the government of that country have agreed or allowed this.
No announcement yet but I think it’s widely acknowledged the English premier will restart in June and with clubs on the continent already back in training it’s safe to assume something is about to happen..
supermcginn
14-04-2020, 09:23 AM
bundesliga starting back 9th of may.
14-04-2020, 09:35 AM
:agree: just read that yesterday. They’re already back in training.
14-04-2020, 09:40 AM
Big leagues can start and play behind closed doors. I dont think thats viable in Scotland. Scottish clubs live off gate reciepts.
14-04-2020, 10:17 AM
We won’t be the only country that does what we are doing but there will be other solutions found that are better for those countries.
Sevco have already said they can’t play behind closed doors and have dug up their pitch so they accept in Scotland we are not playing in the summer.
murray26
14-04-2020, 10:19 AM
We won’t be the only country that does what we are doing but there will be other solutions found that are better for those countries.
Sevco have already said they can’t play behind closed doors and have dug up their pitch so they accept in Scotland we are not playing in the summer.
And what gives them the right to decide that..?
ElginHibbie
14-04-2020, 10:22 AM
Big leagues can start and play behind closed doors. I dont think thats viable in Scotland. Scottish clubs live off gate reciepts.
Exactly, likes of EPL and Bundesliga will have the money to do things like rent out entire hotels to isolate their players until season is done, that we just wouldn't be able to do
14-04-2020, 10:27 AM
Bit harsh that. They are doing the same as Scotland and others by giving out best case scenarios and moving them forwards as the lockdown continues. This is called forward planning and all FAs will keep playing this "what if" game. Being done more in hope than belief I reckon as they look to placate nervous sponsors.
14-04-2020, 10:37 AM
[QUOTE=murray26;6143233]No announcement yet but I think it’s widely acknowledged the English premier will restart in June and with clubs on the continent already back in training it’s safe to assume something is
I don't believe that it's widely acknlowedged that this is what will happen - it is what is wished for. There is no crystal ball revealing the date where safety will be confirmed so all of theses dates/solutions/plans are provisional and fluid until the UK government/medical advisors give the go ahead (not the FAs-it's not their call).
14-04-2020, 10:59 AM
Not can’t - won’t.
They’re putting as many obstacles in the way as possible to lead to a null and void season.
Devonhibs
14-04-2020, 11:02 AM
Next season needs to be saved (if possible) at all costs, it’s a season with the best TV deal we’ve had in a long while based on the current league set up. You can void a season if only 8 games have been played but not if 30 have been played and only 8 remain. You can’t decide the outcome of a season on what may have happened in the 8 remaining games so you need to make a decision based on what actually happened in the 30 games that have actually been played. It is really as simple as that.
Next season (if possible) to be played as planned with the agreed set up,
This season to be finished as it stands based on the majority of games being played. Not ideal but you can’t play the season out with different squads later in the day plus the restrictions next season may have.
So Hibs have to vote for the status quo and placings as they are, which Hearts would have voted for too if they’d been sitting mid table.
This :top marks
14-04-2020, 11:28 AM
Proposed to restart but not given consent by German government.
supermcginn
14-04-2020, 11:32 AM
Proposed to restart but not given consent by German government.
All the teams are back in full training for a reason, dutch league also resumes june 19th. No fans allowed in either league till 2021.
14-04-2020, 11:36 AM
All the teams are back in full training for a reason, dutch league also resumes june 19th. No fans allowed in either league till 2021.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52255077
Based on this?
Where is the government approval confirmed their leagues can restart? They will restart if and when their governments allow not before. They can plan, they can hope nothing more.
Box 17
14-04-2020, 12:37 PM
Many a big golf tournament has been won by whoever was in the lead after 54 holes, the last round having to be abandoned for whatever reason, usually the weather.
Teat matches in cricket also.
14-04-2020, 12:43 PM
Many a big golf tournament has been won by whoever was in the lead after 54 holes, the last round having to be abandoned for whatever reason, usually the weather.
Not in Test matches. It would be a draw if both innings weren't completed. ODIs, yes.
14-04-2020, 12:44 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/52255077
Based on this?
Where is the government approval confirmed their leagues can restart? They will restart if and when their governments allow not before. They can plan, they can hope nothing more.
Indeed. According to this, we won't see any sport return until a vaccine is developed. Best estimates for that appear to be late 2021 which would mean next season will never happen!
https://www.si.com/mlb/2020/04/10/sports-arent-coming-back-soon
Box 17
14-04-2020, 12:45 PM
Not in Test matches. It would be a draw if both innings weren't completed. ODIs, yes.
Yes, I was thinking of Duckworth-Lewis which they use in limited overs matches.
14-04-2020, 12:47 PM
Indeed. According to this, we won't see any sport return until a vaccine is developed. Best estimates for that appear to be late 2021 which would mean next season will never happen!
https://www.si.com/mlb/2020/04/10/sports-arent-coming-back-soon
That’s America which has lost control of the situation over there altogether.
Football will be back in August. There may be interruptions but next season will happen. Life needs to go on. There is a shelf life to this lockdown.
14-04-2020, 12:48 PM
Motorsport would call a winner based on 80% of a race or meeting having taken place as well.
steviehibsleith
14-04-2020, 12:51 PM
This is a proposed date in line either Netherlands govt lockdown which will be reviewed after April 28th
Bit like SPL saying seasons over and start football’s again June 10th . If government says so
Basically look to what the Government of that country says is a better indicator
14-04-2020, 03:19 PM
I can't see how fans are gonna watch any live football this year? I'll be amazed if it happens.
supermcginn
14-04-2020, 03:21 PM
[QUOTE=steviehibsleith;6143480]This is a proposed date in line either Netherlands govt lockdown which will be reviewed after April 28th
Bit like SPL saying seasons over and start football’s again June 10th . If government says so
Basically look to what the Government of that country says is a better indicator[/QUOTE
The government gave the go ahead for full training to commence in germany, quite a bit different to here. The meeting about the bundesliga is this week.
15-04-2020, 11:08 AM
The Spanish PM says life can never return to normal until a vaccine is found:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/world-52289273?ns_mchannel=social&ns_source=twitter&ns_campaign=bbc_live&ns_linkname=5e96d65ba6dd9c06728d957c%26Nothing%20w ill%20be%20the%20same%20until%20we%20find%20vaccin e%20-%20Spanish%20PM%262020-04-15T09%3A45%3A33.592Z&ns_fee=0&pinned_post_locator=urn:asset:3340207b-fb52-4c06-8cff-de46f254757a&pinned_post_asset_id=5e96d65ba6dd9c06728d957c&pinned_post_type=share
I'm increasingly dubious about major sporting events getting the go-ahead within any sort of foreseeable timescale.
supermcginn
15-04-2020, 11:26 AM
The Spanish PM says life can never return to normal until a vaccine is found:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/world-52289273?ns_mchannel=social&ns_source=twitter&ns_campaign=bbc_live&ns_linkname=5e96d65ba6dd9c06728d957c%26Nothing%20w ill%20be%20the%20same%20until%20we%20find%20vaccin e%20-%20Spanish%20PM%262020-04-15T09%3A45%3A33.592Z&ns_fee=0&pinned_post_locator=urn:asset:3340207b-fb52-4c06-8cff-de46f254757a&pinned_post_asset_id=5e96d65ba6dd9c06728d957c&pinned_post_type=share
I'm increasingly dubious about major sporting events getting the go-ahead within any sort of foreseeable timescale.
Yet from the same article this "Earlier this week Spain began to ease some of its restrictions, with manufacturing and construction among the sectors allowed to resume work, subject to strict safety guidelines."
15-04-2020, 11:30 AM
SPFL now saying no football im Scotland until August at the earliest.
A new season could not start until. September if this season's fixtures are played to a conclusion
15-04-2020, 11:31 AM
I can't see how fans are gonna watch any live football this year? I'll be amazed if it happens.
Me too. I think it can only be behind closed doors in a few months time, if at all. The idea that governments (even ours) would allow thousands of people to mill about together in a sports stadium any time soon just seems fanciful to say the least.
15-04-2020, 11:32 AM
A new season could not start until. September if this season's fixtures are played to a conclusion
Where are seeing/hearing this from
15-04-2020, 11:34 AM
https://news.stv.tv/sport/football/spfl-says-football-wont-return-until-august-at-earliest?top
15-04-2020, 11:35 AM
STV reporting this Billy
FOOTBALL
SPFL says football won’t return until August at earliest
The league body advises there are not enough dates in the calendar to complete both the 2019/20 and 2020/21 seasons.
Delay: Scottish football won't resume until August at earliest.SNS
Delay: Scottish football won't resume until August at earliest.
By Raman Bhardwaj
15 Apr 2020 12:25 pm
Share via
The Scottish Professional Football League (SPFL) told member clubs this season’s outstanding fixtures could not take place ahead of the new campaign because there are not enough dates in the calendar to complete both, STV has learned.
Prior to the 42 clubs being asked to cast their vote to bring an end to the season, the SPFL board advised clubs the new campaign was unlikely to begin before August due to the coronavirus outbreak.
On Wednesday last week, the board put forward a resolution recommending clubs to vote in favour of calling an end to the current season in the Championship, League 1 and League 2.
It also asked Premiership clubs to vote on bringing the campaign to an end, but their decision will be used as the basis for further discussions with UEFA.
In the SPFL’s resolution, STV can reveal clubs were advised the new season, which includes league matches and the Betfred Cup, would not begin until mid-September at the earliest if this season’s current fixtures – including play-off matches – were to be played.
The football authorities have been advised by the Scottish government that the restrictions currently in place as a result of the coronavirus pandemic may not be lifted until at least 10 June.
Clubs were asked to submit votes on the SPFL resolution to the league by 5pm on Friday.
For the resolution to be passed, the vote required 75% of Premiership clubs to be in favour, 75% of the Championship sides, and 75% of League 1 and 2 combined.
But the voting has been shrouded in controversy.
While the resolution was overwhelmingly backed by Premiership clubs and clubs in League 1 and 2, one crucial vote remains outstanding in the Championship.
It emerged Dundee voted against the proposal, but then asked for the vote to be withdrawn after it was claimed by the SPFL the vote had not been registered.
After consulting legal advice, Partick Thistle – who would be relegated from the Championship if Dundee changed their vote from no to yes – claimed the Dens Park club’s original vote must stand.
They have also criticised the SPFL board for the voting process and called on the governing body to pay clubs loans rather than final prize money on current league standings.
Dundee said they remain committed to league reconstruction but have yet to clarify their vote.
15-04-2020, 11:36 AM
Ok thanks, nothing really surprising in this
15-04-2020, 11:56 AM
Yet from the same article this "Earlier this week Spain began to ease some of its restrictions, with manufacturing and construction among the sectors allowed to resume work, subject to strict safety guidelines."
Production lines and construction sites would presumably be significantly easier places to maintain some form of social distancing compared to 20,000 fans sitting side by side at a football stadium watching 22 players making regular physical contact with each other.
My take on this has shifted from wondering a few weeks ago whether this season might be under threat to now being doubtful we'll see next season get under way this year.
15-04-2020, 12:43 PM
I assume they've take into consideration time to establish fixture lists for the new season and anything else they need to do.
If so, completing the games and then starting 20/21 in September doesn't seem like a terrible idea. :dunno: The main problem I can see is players and their contracts. Otherwise that would be my preferred route. Not sure there's an easy solution to that one though.
15-04-2020, 01:03 PM
[QUOTE=steviehibsleith;6143480]This is a proposed date in line either Netherlands govt lockdown which will be reviewed after April 28th
Basically look to what the Government of that country says is a better indicator[/QUOTE
The government gave the go ahead for full training to commence in germany, quite a bit different to here. The meeting about the bundesliga is this week.
The German government has not explicitly approved return to training in football. They have adjusted their restriction across the board with allows the Bundesliga teams to resume training as a normal business activity, not as an exception. The German government has not yet authorised mass gatherings and just like the Dutch are participating an a European wide co-ordination.
15-04-2020, 01:09 PM
Production lines and construction sites would presumably be significantly easier places to maintain some form of social distancing compared to 20,000 fans sitting side by side at a football stadium watching 22 players making regular physical contact with each other.
My take on this has shifted from wondering a few weeks ago whether this season might be under threat to now being doubtful we'll see next season get under way this year.
100% correct. I am still working as we as a company have been able to strictly enforce the 2m rule and many other social distancing protocols and it has cost us £00000s to implement and even at that our production rate is about 50% of normal. How can you do that in a football match? Or training? It's just not possible, wishful thinking at best.
supermcginn
15-04-2020, 01:49 PM
Derek Rae
@RaeComm Austrian govt has given permission for the country’s Bundesliga clubs to begin training in small groups of 6 as of Monday. The govt wants to “make possible & not stand in the way” of a return behind closed doors at the end of May. Clubs would have to be responsible for testing.
Quote Tweet
Yet another country aiming for a may return.
15-04-2020, 02:50 PM
Derek Rae
@RaeComm Austrian govt has given permission for the country’s Bundesliga clubs to begin training in small groups of 6 as of Monday. The govt wants to “make possible & not stand in the way” of a return behind closed doors at the end of May. Clubs would have to be responsible for testing.
Quote Tweet
Yet another country aiming for a may return.
Mmm what's Austrian for Tennants Sixes down at Pitz?
Austrian government has also said only publically accessible commercial premises under 400sq.m can re open.
supermcginn
15-04-2020, 03:02 PM
Mmm what's Austrian for Tennants Sixes down at Pitz?
Austrian government has also said only publically accessible commercial premises under 400sq.m can re open.
That's got nothing to do with what I posted, they want football back in may and have opened the door to it happening, yet i'm sure you know better. If they didn't speak German i'd be able to tell you what it is in Austrian. :wink:
15-04-2020, 05:46 PM
German and Belgian leagues not starting until minimum 31 Aug.
murray26
15-04-2020, 06:00 PM
German and Belgian leagues not starting until minimum 31 Aug.
Not allowing spectators until then..
15-04-2020, 06:08 PM
Not allowing spectators until then..
Yep
15-04-2020, 07:42 PM
That's got nothing to do with what I posted, they want football back in may and have opened the door to it happening, yet i'm sure you know better. If they didn't speak German i'd be able to tell you what it is in Austrian. :wink:
I'm only going by what was published on Fortune. Oh and Germans have the same difficulties understanding Austrians that posh english folk have understanding Aberdonians😉